Record and brief — Ryan v. Valencia Gonzales

Supreme Court brief2013

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

‘WW SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 10-930 *** CAPITAL CASE ***

Title Charles L. Ryan. Director. Arizona Department of Corrections. Petitioner

V

Ernest Valencia Gonzales

Docketed January 20, 2011

Lower Ct United States Court of Appeais for the Ninth Circuit

Case Nos. (08-72188)

Decision Date October 20 2010

Questions

Presented

~~~Date~~~ ~~~~~~~ Proceedings and Orders~~~~~~~~~~~~ ae

Jan 18 2014 Petition for a writ of certiorari filed. (Response due February 22 2077)

Feb 10 2011 Order extending time to file response to petition to and including April 25. 2011

Feb 212011 Brief amici curiae of Utah, et al. filea.

Apr 25 2011 Brief of respondent Ernest Valencia Gonzales in opposition filed

May 92011 Reply of petitioner Charles L. Ryan Director Arizona Department of Corrections filed

(Distributed)

May 10 2011 DISTRIBUTED for Conference of May 26. 2071

May 31 2011 The Acting Solicitor General is invited to file 2 brief in this case expressing tne views of

the United States.

Feb92012 Brief amicus curiae of United States filed.

Feb 20 2012 Supplemental brief of petitioner Charles L Ryan. Director Arizona Department of

Corrections filed (Distributed)

Feb 22 2012 DISTRIBUTED for Conference of March 16 2072

Mar 142012 Supplemental brief of respondent Ernest Valencia Gonzales filed (Distriputed)

Mar 192012 Petition GRANTED

Apr 20 2012 The time to file the joint appendix and petitioner's brief on the merits is extended to and

including May 25, 2012

. Apr 20 2012 The time to file respondent's brief on the merits is extended to and including July 20

2012

May 25 2012 Brief of petitioner Charies L Ryan. Director. Arizona Department of Corrections filed

May 25 2012 Motion to dispense with printing the joint appendix filed by petitioner Charlies L Ryan

Director, Arizona Department of Corrections.

May 31 2012 Brief amicus curiae of Arizona Voice for Crime Victims filed

Jun ‘12012 Brief amicus curiae of the United States filed (also in 17-218)

Jun 42012 Brief amici curiae of Utah, et al. filed (also in 77-218

Jun 11 2012

Jul 20 2012

Jul 23 2012

Jul 24 2012

Jul 25 2012

Ju! 26 2012

Jul 27 2012

Jul 27 2012

Jul 27 2012

Jul 27 2012

Jul 27 2012

Aug 2 2012

Motion to dispense with printing the joint appendix filed by petitioner GRANTED

Brief of respondent Ernest Valencia Gonzales filed. ‘Distrioutec)

SET FOR ARGUMENT ON Tuesday Octoder 9. 2012

CIRCULATED.

Consent to the filing of amicus curiae briefs. in support of eitner party or of neitner party

received from counse! for the respondent.

Record received from U.S.C.A for Stn Circuit. (7 box)

Motion of the Solicitor General for leave to participate in oral argument as amicus curiae

and for divided argument filed. (also in 11-278)

Brief amici curiae of Retired Federal Juages filed VIDED. (Distributed)

Brief amici curiae of American Psychiatric Association et al filed. VIDED (Distributed)

Brief amici curiae of American Civi! Liberties Union, et a. fled VIDED.

Brief amicus curiae of American Bar Association filec VIDED

Record received from U.S.D.C_ for District of Arizona (3 boxes)

Aug 13 2012 Motion of the Solicitor General for leave to participate in oral argument as amicus curiae

and for divided argument GRANTED

Aug 20 2012 Reply of petitioner Charies L. Ryan. Director. Arizona Department of Corrections filed

Oct 9 2012

(Distributed)

Argued. For petitioner. Thomas C. Horne. Attorney Genera!. Phoenix. Ariz For Unitec

States, as amicus curiae supporting petitioners in Nos. 14-218 & 10-930: Ann O'Connell,

Assistant to the Solicitor General. Department of Justice Washington D C For

respondent Leticia Marquez, Assistant Federal Public Defender Tucson. Ar

PETITION

FOR

WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

REGO) Supreme C

Fil oa vs.

No. 10-930 JAN 18 2011

IN THE OFFICE OF THE CLERK

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

CHARLES L. RYAN, WARDEN

ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,

Petitioner.

VS.

ERNEST VALENCIA GONZALES,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THOMAS C. HORNE

Attorney General

MARY R. O'GRADY

Solicitor General]

KENT E. CATTANI

Chief Counsel

Capital Litigation Section

JOHN PRESSLEY TODD

Assistant Attorney Genera!

(Counsel of Record)

Capital Litigation Section

1275 W. Washington

Phoenix, Arizona 85007—2997

Telephone: (602) 542-4686

john.todd@azag.gov

rw

Lew 3 Weer

5 =e weeny

CAPITAL CASE

QUESTION PRESENTED

Several years after Gonzales’s counsel initiated

federal habeas proceedings and filed an exhaustive

petition seeking relief, counsel asserted that Gonzales

was incompetent to communicate rationally and the

proceedings should be indefinitely stayed pending

possible restoration of competency. Based on 18 U.S.C.

§ 3599(a)(2), the Ninth Circuit agreed, even though

Gonzales’s claims were record-based or purely legal.

Did the Ninth Circuit err when it held that 18

U.S.C. § 3599(a)(2)—-which provides that an indigent

capital state inmate pursuing federal habeas relief

“shall be entitled to the appointment of one or more

attorneys”’—impliedly entitles a death row inmate to

stay the federal habeas proceedings he initiated if he is

not competent to assist counsel?

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW. .............. i

pr OB Ge it, +g Saree renee ili

ITE CRM A TARA BTS 3 Dec 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ...........0000.0000..... 1

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS ............... 1

STATEMENT OF THI CAGES o.<ccccsccevccscesceeceseeseseess. 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT............... 7

CI i cccetins sitshesiecitinsiieneencicnciniiatai alec na ee as 20

APPENDIX A [OPINION RE: PETITION FOR

WRIT OF MANDAMUS} ....00........ cece ceeeeee cece A-l

APPENDIX B [ORDER RE: SUPPLEMENTAL

LAR MARTE REESE ES B-1

APPENDIX C [ORDER DENYING MOTION

FOR COMPETENCY DETERMINATION ]..C-1

APPENDIX D [NINTH CIRCUIT ADVISING OF

FILING OF PETITION FOR WRIT OF

PD seivscvininiconenntinnsninseiannmmmemamamas D-1

APPENDIX E [NINTH CIRCUIT GRANTING

TEMPORARY STAY OF DISTRICT COURT

PD sesrciescnscsconscsicurectatcnemnscananal E-1

PX, | Gk! renee esr F-1

APPENDIX G [AMENDED ORDER]................... G1

APPENDIX H [SECOND AMENDED ORDER] H-1

APPENDIX I [COA DOCKET]...................::cce00e0: I-1

APENDIX J [18 U.S.C.A. § 3599} 0.000.000... J-1

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Adame v. Schriro, No. 07°-99018.......................-......... 6

Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880 (1983) ..........000....... 8

Calderon v. Thompson, 523 U.S. 538 (1998) ........... 19

Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991)............ 15

Connecticut Nat. Bank v. Germain, 503 U.S. 249

ESS OS St ne 10

Demosthenes v. Baal, 495 U.S. 731 (1990).............. 14

Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 (1963).............. 10

Evans v. Chavis, 546 U.S. 189 .......................-......... 18

Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399

EES 9,17, 18, 19

Gates v Woodford, No. CV 88-02779-WHA................ 8

Gonzales v. Arizona, 516 U.S. 1052 (1996).............. 11

Gonzales v. Schriro, 617 ".Supp.2d 849 (D. Ariz.

SERENE SEDI, AS ES Ge 1

Gonzales v. Schriro, CV99-02016-PHX-SMM............ 4

Graham v. Collins, 506 U.S. 461 (1993) ......0.00........ 16

Gusik v. Schilder, 340 U.S. 128 (1950) .........0.......... 14

Harbison v. Bell, 556 U.S.__,

i. ccneneneneneenees 9, 10

Hill v. McDonough, 547 U.S. 573 (2006)..........00...... 18

Holmes v. Buss, 506 F.3d at 578........................ 12,17

Holmes v. Levenhagen, 600 F.3d at 762-63....... 12, 16

In re Blodgett, 502 U.S. 236 (1992)... eee. 18

In re Ernest Valencia Gonzales, 623 F.3d 1242 (9th

| cuniewetebuvensnacve 1

Jones v. Barnes, 463 U.S. 745 (1983)......0000.0000000000.. 11

Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364 (1993)............... 16

1V

Munaf v. Geren, 553 U.S. 674 (1008)........0..0000000000.. 14

Nash v. Ryan, 581 F.3d 1048 (9th Cir. 2009) .1, 10-12

OED D. T, Be, Gi I octecencrccevcnvemceceecessscceess 6

Nelson v. Campbell, 541 U.S. 637 (2004) .....0.......... 19

O’Sullivan v. Boerckel, 526 U.S. 838 (1999)............ 13

Odah v. United States, 611 F.3d 8 (D.C ......000000...... 14

Pace v. DiGuglielmo, 544 U.S. 408 (2005)............... 13

Panetti v. Quarterman, 551 U.S. 930 (2007)........... 17

Pavelic & LeFlore v. Marvel Entertainment Group,

Div. of Cadence Industries Corp., 493 U.S. 120

ne rater arse ree a Ie ter PIO nase arenes 10

Pennsylvania v. Finley, 481 U.S. 551 (1987)............. 7

Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989) ..........0000..... 17

Rhines v. Weber, 544 U.S. 269 (2005)...........0.... 13, 18

Rohan ex rel. Gates, 334 F.3d 803

(Sth Cir. 2002)................ 1, 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 18, 19

Sawyer v. Smith, 497 U.S 227 (1990). ..........000000002.. 16

State v. Gonzales, 892 P.2d 838 (Ariz. 1995)....... 3,11

Vermont v. Brillon, 129 S. Ct. 1283 (2009).............. 15

Whitmore v. Arkansas, 495 U.S 149 (1990) ............ 14

Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 420 (2000) .................. 13

Woodford v. Garceau, 538 U.S. 202 (2003) .......... 7,13

STATUTES

4 f | | LEER ase ree tee ee eee 1, 7,15

ne ee. -nisensneeeliaidiendaneiundinensdi 14

18 U.S.C. § 3660Ce)2)...................... 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 12, 15

Re I ac resieitnlinbnienntlosieenenniint 9

I a enneeneiuenninanmeni 5

| ETT eave nner ea ns ee er mT 14

| TE eae ere TER amis Aer 9,15

ee, Se ED... a seen enesonieeeinnerseieniaeisionsdeds 13

i BI... ocsinciemplipinnncinnsiunnecunnaumendnnns 13

I aeciasatenblnaniailio’ 13

I eo ceaaeennodieiaea 15

S| Sa ae 9

|

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Charles L. Ryan, Director of the Arizona

Department of Corrections (ithe State), petitions for a

writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit (the

Ninth Circuit).

OPINION BELOW

The Ninth Circuit’s opinion is reported as Jn re

Ernest Valencia Gonzales, 623 F.3d 1242 (9% Cir.

2010). (Pet. App. A.) The district court’s unpublished

response to a Ninth Circuit Order is dated August 28,

2008. (Pet. App. B.) The district court’s order denying

a stay is published at Gonzales v. Schriro, 617

F.Supp.2d 849 (D. Ariz. 2008) (Pet. App. C.) Additional

Ninth Circuit unpublished orders are dated May 23,

2008 (Pet. App. D), June 19, 2008 (Pet. App. E), July 7,

2008 (Pet. App. F), amended order July 7, 2008 (Pet.

App. G), second amended order January 5, 2009 (Pet.

App. H). The Ninth Circuit docket (Pet. App. D.

“STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Ninth Circuit entered judgment on October 20,

2010. The jurisdiction of this Court is timely invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The entire provisions of 18 U.S.C. § 3599 are set forth

in the last appendix, Appendix J. The relevant part on

which the Ninth Circuit relied, 18 U.S.C. § 3599(a)(2),

provides:

ty

,(2) In any post conviction proceeding

under section 2254 or 2255 of title 28,

United States Code, seeking to vacate

or set aside a death sentence, any

defendant who is or becomes financially

unable to obtain adequate

representation or investigative, expert,

or other reasonably necessary services

shall be entitled to the appointment of

one or more attorneys and the

furnishing of such other services in

accordance with subsections (b) through

().

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Through 18 U.S.C. § 3599(a)(2), Congress provided

for the appointment of counsel for indigent defendants

in capital habeas proceedings. The Ninth Circuit has

essentially rewritten the statute to impliedly create

two additional nghts: to be competent to assist counsel

during a capital federal habeas proceeding and to

obtain a stay of the proceedings if the petitioner was

incompetent. Rohan ex rel. Gates, 334 F.3d 803, 819 cg" Cir.

2002) (holding that where a state capital prisoner could

“potentially benefit” from his ability to rationally

communicate with counsel, he is entitled to a stay of

his habeas proceedings). The Ninth Circuit extended

these two newly-discovered statutory mghts to apply in

an appeal from a denial of the habeas petition and to

have the case stayed pending a determination of

a

2

competency. Nash v. Ryan, 581 F.3d 1048 (9% Cir.

2009). '

In this case, the court similarly extended those

rights still further by holding that they apply in

district court even where the issues are record-based

and legal in nature. Pet. App.A, at 2.

The Ninth Circuit’s application of Section 3599(a)(2)

is untethered to the language of the statute and is

based on a flawed policy ground — that an indigent

capital defendant’s input can be essential even when

the habeas claims are record-based or legal in nature.

The consequence of this ruling is that capital

defendants in the Ninth Circuit now have a new means

of delaying their proceedings, contrary to Congress’s

stated imtent in enacting the Antiterrorism and

Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 (“AEDPA”) to

reduce delay in capital cases.

A. Relevant State Criminal Proceedings

Respondent Ernest Valencia Gonzales was

convicted of the February 1990 murder of Darrel

Wagner in Phoenix, Arizona, as well as related crimes,

and sentenced to death for the murder. State v.

Gonzales, 892 P.2d 838 (Ariz. 1995). His convictions

and death sentence became final on January 8, 1996.

Gonzales v. Arizona, 516 U.S. 1052 (1996). Gonzales

then exhausted his state-court post-conviction relief

opportunities.

‘ In Nash, the State sought certiorari review in this court, but the inmate’s

death mooted the case.

B. Federal District Court Habeas Proceedings

In November 1999, the federal court stayed

Gonzales’s execution when he initiated a post-AEDPA

federal habeas proceeding seeking relief from the state-

court judgment. Gonzales v. Schriro, CV99-02016-

PHX-SMM, at Docs. 1, 3. His counsel filed a 237-page

amended petition raising 60 claims for federa] habeas

relief. Pet. App. B, at 3. Gonzales returned to state

court in 2001 to pursue a successive state-court post-

conviction relief petition. Jd. In the state proceedings,

his post-conviction relief counsel raised the issue of

Gonzales’s competence to assist counsel, a claim that

the state court found not cognizable. Jd. Then, 3 years

after the appointment of habeas counsel, Gonzales

started to refuse visits from his attorneys. /d.

Following the case’s return to federal district

court, the court, in January 2006, found 31 of

Gonzales’s habeas claims were appropriate for merits

review. Jd. at 4. Because of the 6 years that had

elapsed since habeas counsel had filed Gonzales’s

amended petition, the district court provided an

opportunity for habeas counsel to file up-to-date legal

citations and argument in support of the properly

exhausted claims. Jd. “On the eve of the Court’s

deadline for [Gonzales’s} opening merits brief, counsel

filed a Rohan motion for a competency determination

and a stay.” Jd. at 5. Initially, the district court set the

matter for an evidentiary hearing, but vacated it so

Gonzales could be sent to the state hospital for further

5

evaluation. /d There Gonzales withdrew from a

regimen of anti-psychotic medication despite its

apparently positive effects. Jd.

After additional briefing, review of the mental

health information, the entire state court record and

the remaining habeas claims in light of the Rohan

decision, the district court concluded that Gonzales’s

claims were record-based and involved purely legal

issues and “therefore [Gonzales] would not potentially

benefit from his ability to communicate rationally with

counsel.” Jd. at & The district court declared that,

“lin sum, the Court has endeavored to follow Rohan.

In doing so, the Court accepted [Gonzales’s] contention

that he is not presently competent to communicate

rationally with counsel but found this fact irrelevant

because none of the claims remaining to be decided by

this Court are ones that ‘could benefit from his ability

to communicate rationally.” Jd. at 11 (quoting Rohan).

The district court therefore denied Gonzales’s Motion

for a Competency Determination and to Stay

Proceedings. Pet. App. C, at 27. It further denied

Gonzales’s request for an interlocutory appeal under 28

U.S.C. § 1292(b).

C. Proceedings in the Ninth Circuit

On May 23, 2008, Gonzales filed an emergency

petition for a writ of mandamus and an emergency

motion for a stay of the district court proceedings. In

an order filed June 19, 2008, a Ninth Circuit panel

(Judges Stephen Reinhardt, Marsha S. Berzon, and

Milan D. Smith) stayed the lower court proceedings.

Pet. App. D. The following month, the panel denied

Arizona’s motion for reconsideration. Pet. App. E, F.

6

Months later, in an order filed January 5, 2009, the

panel further stayed the case pending decisions in

Nash v. Schriro, No. 06°99007 and Adams v. Schriro,

No. 07-99018, because those cases involved “related

issues.” Pet. App. G.

Nearly 2 years after the grant of the temporary

stay, over 1 year after the decision in Nash, and nearly

6 months after Arizona filed a request for a ruling,

Judge Reinhardt issued the opinion in this case

granting the petition for a writ of mandamus.’ Pet.

App. A, at 8. The court held that “Nash squarely

controls this case, foreclosing the district court’s

conclusion that a stay under Hohan is categorically

unavailable when a capital habeas petitioner’s claims

consist only of record-based or legal questions.” Jd. at 5

(citing Nash.)

The panel reasoned that because Gonzales had been

represented by several attorneys over the course of his

state-court proceedings, Gonzales’s judicial bias claim

could potentially benefit from the ‘first-hand insight

into the earlier proceedings’ that a competent

petitioner would be able to provide.” Jd. at 5-6 (citing

Nash). In reaching that conclusion, the court

disregarded the district court’s prior finding that “it is

clear from a review of the state court record that the

factual underpinnings of [the judicial bias] claim were

fully developed in state court and the record on the

issue is complete.” Pet. App. B, at 8.

2 Adams died waiting a decision in his case.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Ninth Circuit created a competency right out of

thin air. The Constitution does not provide a right to

counsel on federal habeas corpus review. Pennsylvania

v. Finley, 481 U.S. 551, 555 (1987). This Court has

likewise never found a federal right to be competent to

assist habeas counsel. The Ninth Circuit nonetheless

found that Congress created such a right, even when

the claims presented are entirely record-based or legal

in nature.

The statute upon which the court relied, however,

18 U.S.C. § 3599, does nothing of the sort. Section

3599(a)(2) does not address the defendant’s

competence, and there is no reasoned basis for

concluding that Congress intended that death penalty

habeas proceedings should be stayed, suspending

indefinitely enforcement of a presumptively valid state

court judgment based on a death-sentenced inmate’s

alleged inability to assist counsel.

Moreover, the Ninth Circuit’s line of cases (Rohan,

Nash, Gonzales), based on its interpretation of Section

3599(a)(2), directly undercuts Congress’s purpose in

enacting AEDPA to “reduce delays in the execution of

state and federal criminal sentences, particularly

capital cases.” Woodford v. Garceau, 538 U.S. 202, 206

(2003). Reading a competency requirement into the

statute, when the AEDPA statutory scheme provides

for no such requirement fosters unnecessary delays in

the resolution of capital cases. Furthermore, such a

requirement is inconsistent with this Court’s “next

friend” jurisprudence, which expressly recognizes that

habeas cases can proceed notwithstanding the mental

incapacity of petitioners. And, it creates a two-tiered

system under which indigent capital petitioners have a

statutory right to be competent to assist habeas

counsel while non-indigent capital petitioners do not.

There is no basis to believe Congress intended to create

such a regime.

Additionally, freezing the habeas proceeding

perhaps indefinitely defeats the purpose of federal

habeas review. If constitutional error occurred in the

state court proceedings, it should be identified and

relief granted; if not, the state’s judgment should not

be stymied. Long before enactment of AEDPA, this

Court admonished the lower courts that federal habeas

is not “a means by which a defendant is entitled to

delay an execution indefinitely.” Barefoot v. Estelle,

463 U.S. 880, 887 (1983). If not overruled, the Ninth

Circuit’s ruling will significantly delay capital

proceedings, and thereby frustrate the State’s interest

in proceeding with its judgments. This Court’s review

is necessary to halt further expanding this court-

created impediment to moving capital cases forward.

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION ERRONEOUSLY

REWRITES A FEDERAL STATUTE TO GRANT HABEAS

PETITIONERS IN CAPITAL CASES A RIGHT TO STAY

PROCEEDINGS IF THEY ASSERT THEY ARE NOT COMPETENT

To ASSIST COUNSEL.

The Ninth Circuit, alone among the circuits, has

discovered a right to competence to assist habeas

9

counsel in 18 U.S.C. § 3599(a)(2) This subsection

declares:

In any post conviction proceeding under section

2254 or 2255 of title 28, United States Code,

seeking to vacate or set aside a death sentence,

any defendant who is or becomes financially

unable to obtain adequate representation or

investigative, expert, or other reasonably

necessary services shall be entitled to the

appointment of one or more attorneys ....

The provision does not mention competence to

assist counsel. Rather, it merely grants indigent

habeas petitioners under a sentence of death a right to

be represented by appointed counsel in a proceeding

under 28 U.S.C. §§ 2254 or 2255 and certain additional

post-conviction proceedings.‘ Nothing in the “plain

language” of the statute, see Harbison, 129 S. Ct. at

3 The source of the statutory right discovered in Rohan was 21

U.S.C. § 848(q)(4)(b), enacted 22 years earlier. Rohan, 334 F.3d at

814. That provision has been replaced, effective October 13, 2008,

by § 3599(a)(2), a “materially identical statute.” Nash, 581 F.3d at

1051 n.5; see also Harbison, 556 U.S.__, 129 S. Ct. 1481, 1486

(2009) (“recodified without change”).

“Under a straightforward reading of the statute, subsection

(a)(2) triggers the appointment of counsel for habeas petitioners,

and subsection (e) governs the scope of appointed counsel's

duties.” Harbison, 129 S. Ct. at 1486. Among other duties,

subsection (e) allows federally appointed counsel] to seek stays, to

represent habeas petitioner in a Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399

(1986), competency to be executed hearing, or represent a habeas

petitioner in a state clemency proceeding. Like subsection (a)(2)

the scope of subsection (e) grants no rights beyond representation,

nor did the Ninth Circuit suggest that it did.

10

1486, requires that an indigent state prisoner under a

sentence of death be competent to assist counsel before

his federal habeas may proceed. And nothing in its

plain language provides any right to have the habeas

proceeding stayed when the petitioner might not be

able to communicate rationally with his counsel.

Lacking textual support, the Ninth Circuit instead

relied upon policy for reading a competency

requirement into the provision. See Rohan, 334 F.3d at

812-13 (“Congress has not explicitly required

competence in federal habeas proceedings, but the

common law tradition underlying the right to

competence and its great practical significance in this

context inform our interpretation of the statutes

Congress has enacted.”). Yet this Court has “stated

time and again that courts must presume that a

legislature says in a statute what it means and means

in a statute what it says there. When the words of a

statute are unambiguous, then, this first canon is also

the last: judicial inquiry is complete.” Connecticut

Nat. Bank v. Germain, 503 U.S. 249, 253-54 (1992)

(citations and internal quotation marks omitted). A

court’s “task is to apply the text, not improve upon it.”

Harbison, 129 S. Ct. at 1494 (quoting Pavelic &

LeFlore v. Marvel Entertainment Group, Div. of

Cadence Industries Corp., 493 U.S. 120, 126 (19839)).

The cases subsequent to Rohan have compounded

and extended the error. In Nash, the Ninth Circuit

extended the holding of Rohan to the right to be

competent in a habeas appea/ and to have the appeal

stayed if the appellant/petitioner claims to be no longer

able to communicate with appellate counsel. According

1]

to the Ninth Circuit, “[w]hile an appeal is record-based,

that does not mean that a habeas petitioner in a

capital case is relegated to a nonexistent role.

Meaningful assistance of appellate counsel may

require rational communication between counsel and a

habeas petitioner.” Jd. at 1050. In contrast, this Court

has emphasized that in appellate proceedings it is “the

superior ability of trained counsel in the examination

into the record, research of the law, and marshalling

arguments on [the appellant’s] behalf’ that benefits the

defendant. Jones v. Barnes, 463 U.S. 745, 751 (1983)

(quoting Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353, 358

(1963)). This Court has never held that an appellant’s

assistance is necessary to winnow out weaker

arguments on appeal and to focus on the ones more

likely to prevail. Rather, this has been understood to

be the role of counsel. Jones, 463 U.S. at 751-52.

In the instant case, the Ninth Circuit similarly

extended this non-existent statutory right to apply

“even though Gonzales’s exhausted claims are record

based or legal in nature.” Pet. App. A, at 2. The court

surmised that “Gonzales’s judicial bias claim could

potentially benefit from the ‘first-hand insight into the

earlier proceedings that a competent petitioner would

be able to provide.” Pet. App. A, at 5-6 (citing Nash,

581 F.3d at 1056). However, the court made no

attempt to explain, in light of the existing record, how

Gonzales’s “first-hand insight” might have any legal

significance. Under AEDPA, this is a record-based

claim based on a state-court change of judge for-cause

hearing, a claim that had been exhausted in Gonzales’s

direct appeal. Gonzales, 892 P.2d at 847-48.

12

Since Rohan was decided in 2002, no other federal

circuit has found that Section 3599(a)(2) provides a

death row petitioner with the general right to

rationally communicate with counsel while seeking

relief in a federal habeas proceeding and the right toa

stay of the proceedings if competency is questioned.®

That is hardly surprising, given that Congress did not

speak to competence in the provision. Nonetheless, the

7 states in the Ninth Circuit that impose the death

penalty are now subjected to a punishment-delaying

rule, purportedly decreed by Congress, but which

appears nowhere in the U.S. Code.

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUITS INTERPRETATION OF §

3599(a)(2) CONFLICTS WITH EXISTING LAW AND TREATS

SIMILARLY SITUATED MHABEAS’- PETITIONERS

DIFFERENTLY.

The Ninth Circuit’s decisions in Rohan, Nash, and

this case not only rewrite a federal statute; they

conflict with existing law and mandate a regime that

Congress could not possibly have intended.

A. The Ninth Circuit’s reading of § 3599(a)(2)

undermines Congress's purpose in enacting

AEDPA.

This Court has recognized the practical

considerations facing a habeas petitioner under a

state’s death sentence. Such petitioners “might

deliberately engage in dilatory tactics to prolong their

5 The Seventh Circuit in the case of Eric D. Holmes proceeded

as if such a right existed because the State of Indiana did not

challenge it. Holmes v. Buss, 506 F.3d 576, 578 (7% Cir. 2007); see

also Holmes v. Levenhagen, 600 F.3d 756 (7% Cir. 2010).

a

13

incarceration and avoid execution of the sentence of

death.” Rhines v. Weber, 544 U.S. 269, 277-78 (2005).

Thus, one of AEDPA’s purposes is to reduce the delays

in capital cases on habeas review. Jd. at 276; Garceau,

538 U.S. at 206. Congress designed it to “streamline

and simplify” federal habeas review. Pace v.

DiGuglielmo, 544 U.S. 408, 427 (2005). The Rohan line

of cases undercuts this Congressional purpose by

building into the Ninth Circuit’s habeas review an

unnecessary opportunity for death row prisoners to

stymie progress on the very habeas proceedings they

initiated.

Before a state prisoner may present a claim for

rehef on federal habeas, he must have first fairly

presented his federal claim to the state courts. 28

U.S.C. § 2254(b)(1); see, e.g., O'Sullivan v. Boerckel,

526 U.S. 838, 842 (1999). Under AEDPA, the merits

rulings of the state courts are reviewed only to see if

the state courts reasonably applied this Court's

precedent and if the state court’s decision was

reasonable given the “evidence presented in the State

court proceedings.” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). The ability to

expand the state-court record in the federal

proceedings is very limited. 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(2):;

Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 420, 424 (2000). Thus,

Congress has created a scheme of federal review under

which there is rarely a need to seek information from

the state prisoner. Acourt-created right, that before a

habeas case can proceed, the death row inmate must be

able to rationally communicate with counsel markedly

undermines Congress’s attempt to streamline federal

review in capital cases.

14

B. The Ninth Circuit’s reading of § 3599(a)(2) conflicts

with this Court’s “next friend” jurisprudence.

In Whitmore v. Arkansas, 495 U.S 149, 165 (1990),

this Court acknowledged the availability of “next

friend” standing in limited circumstances if “the real

party in interest is unable to litigate his own cause due

to mental incapacity, lack of access to court, or other

similar disability.” (Emphasis added.) Implicit in that

decision, which addressed a request for “next friend”

standing to pursue a direct appeal in a capital case, is

the recognition that mental incapacity does not require

that an appeal be delayed indefinitely because of a

convicted defendant’s mental incapacity.

“Next friend” standing is a_ well-established

practice. See, e.g., 28 U.S.C. § 2242 (allowing a habeas

petition to be filed “by someone acting” on behalf of the

person seeking relief); Munaf v. Geren, 553 U.S. 674

(1008) (family members filed next-friend habeas

petitions); Demosthenes v. Baal, 495 U.S. 731 (1990)

(parents failed to establish inmate was not competent):

Gusik v. Schilder, 340 U.S. 128 (1950) (father brought

habeas petition on behalf of his minor son); Odah v.

United States, 611 F3d 8 (D.C. Cir. 2010)

(Guantanamo Bay prisoner challenged his custody

though his next friend). This accepted practice is

inconsistent with the Ninth Circuit’s decision to read a

competency mandate into Section 3599(a). The

practice next-friend recognizes that a habeas claim can

proceed even if the petitioner himself is unable to

participate.

15

C. The Ninth Circuit’s reading of § 3599(«)(2)

leads to disparate treatment of indigent and

non-indigent capital petitioners.

There is no constitutional right to the effective

assistance of counsel beyond the direct appeal stage of

a state criminal proceeding. See, e.g., Coleman v.

Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 752 (1991). And 28 U.S.C. §

2254() expressly excludes “ineffectiveness or

incompetence” of federal habeas counsel as a grounds

for relief. Accordingly, there is no dispute that a non-

indigent capital petitioner has no right to effective

counsel and no right to be competent to assist counsel.

Under the Ninth Circuit’s reading of Section

3599(a)(2), however, indigent defendants have been

given that latter right. The Ninth Circuit’s decisions

thus lead to the odd result that indigent and non-

indigent capital petitioners have different rights to

competence and different abilities to obtain stays while

pursing relief in federal habeas.

There is no basis in AEDPA or Section 3599 to

beheve that Congress intended such a twortiered

approach to capital habeas cases. Cf Vermont v.

Brillon, 129 S. Ct. 1283, 1292 (2009) (“We see no

justification for treating defendants’ speedy-trial

claims differently based on whether their counsel is

privately retained or publicly assigned.”). The

provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 2254 apply to all “persons in

custody pursuant to the judgment of a State court,” not

just indigent petitioners. Congress intended Section

3599(a)(2) to place indigent capital petitioners on

comparable footing with non-indigent petitioners — not

to grant them new and superior rights.

16

Ill. THE NINTH CIRCUITS RULING DEFEATS THE

HABEAS GOAL OF CORRECTING UNCONSTITUTIONAL

STATE COURT DECISIONS AND UNDERMINES THE STATES’

INTEREST IN EXECUTING THEIR JUDGMENTS.

The Ninth Circuit’s rule undercuts the very purpose

of federal habeas review of state court judgments as

well as the States’ interest in finality by granting

capital petitioners another means — authorized neither

by the Constitution nor by statute — through which

they can freeze review of their claims. The purpose of

federal habeas review is to ensure that state courts

comply with the United States Constitution in

conducting criminal proceedings. Graham v. Collins,

506 U.S. 461, 467 (1993); Sawyer v. Smith, 497 U.S

227, 234 (1990). In pursuing federal habeas review,

the very purpose of the state prisoner is to overturn the

state-court judgment and thereby obtain relief.

Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364, 373 (1993). Ifa

claim of incompetency is able to halt the federal review

and consign the habeas petitioner to “habeas corpus

limbo indefinitely” the purposes of federal habeas

review have been defeated. See Holmes v. Levenhagen,

600 F.3d at 762-63. “[I]magine a capital defendant who

has a slam-dunk habeas corpus claim that would not

merely get him a new trial, but an acquittal; but

because he is incompetent, he cannot communicate

effectively with his lawyers or they with him.” Jd. at

763. “The implication is profoundly unsatisfactory.”

Id. at 672. Moreover, as Judge Posner observed, it is

simply “odd to think that someone who initiates a

[federal habeas] proceeding can then freeze it by

claiming to be mentally incompetent.” Holmes v. Buss,

506 F.3d at 578.

17

The benefits of the competency and stay right the

Ninth Circuit read into Section 3599 are small. Under

AEDPA, federal review is very limited—generally

confined to federal exhausted record-based or legal

claims. And even when the record is supplemented

during federal habeas, it would be exceedingly unusual

for the state prisoner to be the sole source of

information, given the number of other actors involved

in the criminal justice process. Generally, the

prisoner’s trial attorneys, investigators, and mitigation

specialist are available, as are the prosecutors. Given

the complexity of habeas litigation, it is highly

improbable that the prisoner’s habeas counsel would

require the prisoner’s assistance in district court, much

less on appeal.

Moreover, Gonzales is protected from being

executed if he is found incompetent under the Ford v.

Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399, 409-10 (1986), standard.

Under Ford, inmates sentenced to death may not be

executed if “they are unaware of the punishment they

are about to suffer and why they are to suffer it... .”

Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302, 333 (1989) Gnternal

quotes and cite omitted). That standard applies to all

death row inmates and is universally applied

throughout the federal circuits as well as the state

courts. Because “[aJll prisoners are at risk of

deteriorations in their mental state,” a Ford claim is,

as a general matter, not ripe until an actual execution

is set. See Panetti v. Quarterman, 551 U.S. 930, 943

(2007). The AEDPA statutory bar against successive

habeas petitions does not apply to a Ford claim

brought when the claim is first ripe. /d at 947. Thus,

if Gonzales is incompetent under Ford, he will not be

18

executed. Requiring a higher level of competency

during his federal habeas proceedings adds an

unsupportable additional gloss to the Ford right, and

may deprive Gonzales of the opportunity to obtain

timely relief on a meritorious claim.

By contrast, the costs of the Ninth Circuit’s rule are

great. This Court has repeatedly acknowledged the

States’ strong interest in the timely review of their

death penalty cases in federal habeas. See, e.g., Hill v.

McDonough, 547 U.S. 573, 584 (2006); Mayle v. Felix,

545 U.S. 644, 657, 662 (2005). Nelson v. Campbell, 541

U.S. 637, 649-50 (2004); Calderon v. Thompson, 523

U.S. 538, 655-56 (1998); In re Blodgett, 502 U.S. 236,

239-40 (1992) (per curiam). But as this Court has also

recognized, capital petitioners have an incentive to

adopt delaying tactics to avoid execution. FRhines v.

Weber, 544 U.S. 269, 277-78 (2005); see also Evans v.

Chavis, 546 U.S. 189, 203 n.1 (Justice Stevens,

concurring in judgment). The practical effect of the

Ninth Circuit’s rule is to aid those tactics.

The concrete examples of Rohan and this case

illustrate the costs of the rule. Oscar Gates, the

petitioner in Rohan, filed his federal habeas petition in

July 1988. Gates v. Woodford, No. CV 88-02779-WHA

(N.D. Cal.), at Doc. 1. Following the 2002 Rohan

decision, additional litigation ensued until the case

was stayed indefinitely in September 2004. Jd at

Docs. 531-65. The last entry in the district court’s

docket is in January 2008. Jd. at Doc. 579. Although

the record does not reflect that Gates is incompetent

under Ford v. Wainwright, it does reflect he is

incompetent to assist counsel under Rohan (Doc. 565).

Thus, although there is no clear authority from this

19

Court precluding his execution for his 1979 California

murder, the State of California is effectively barred

from proceeding with its judgment that has never been

shown to be constitutionally infirmed.

In this case, more than 2 years elapsed while the

parties awaited a Ninth Circuit decision on mandamus

review of Gonzales’s incompetent-to-assist-habeas-

counsel claim. Should this Court deny certiorari, and

should Gonzales be found incompetent, another round

of litigation and appeals would Likely follow regarding

whether he can be forced to take medication that would

restore him to competency. All this litigation, delay

and expense are, of course, collateral to the purpose of

federal habeas review as envisioned by Congress. Yet

the case has now been under federal review for over a

decade with untold years of future litigation. And if

Gonzales is permitted to refuse medication, and if he

never regains his competency to assist habeas counsel

without such medication, the state will never be

permitted to impose its judgment upon Gonzales—even

if he would be permitted to be executed under the Jord

standard.

Whether or not that result would be tolerable if

Congress expressly mandated it, the result is

manifestly intolerable at present. Congress has

authorized counsel for indigent capital inmates seeking

federal habeas review. It has not imposed an

additional competency requirement backed by a stay of

proceedings. This Court should not tolerate the Ninth

Circuit's creation of that nght.

20

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfu!l'y submitted

THOMAS C. HORNE

Attorney General

MArY R. O’GRADY

Solicitor Genera!

KENT E. CATTANI

Chief Counsel

Capital Litigation Section

JOHN PRESSLEY TODD

Assistant Attorney General

(Counsel of Record)

Capital Litigation Section

1275 W. Washington

Phoenix, Anzona 85007—2997

Telephone: (602) 542-4686

A-l

APPENDIX A

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

In re: Ernest Valencia Gonzales,

)

)

)

)

Ernest Valencia Gonzales, No. 08-72188

Petitioner,

Vv. ) D.C. No.

United States District Court for ) CV-99-02016-SMM

The District of Arizona, )

Phoenix, )

Respondent, ) OPINION

)

Dora B. Schriro, )

Real-party-in-interest- )

Respondent. )

)

Petition for Writ of Mandamus

Filed October 20, 2010

Before: Stephen Reinhardt, Marsha S. Berzon and

Milan D. Smith, Jr., Circuit Judges

Opinion by Judge Reinhardt

OPINION

REINHARDT, Circuit Judge:

Ernest Valencia Gonzales seeks a writ of mandamus

A-2 i

to stay his district court federal capital habeas

proceedings under Rohan ex rel. Gates v. Woodford,

334 F.3d 803 (Sth Cir. 2003). There, we held that

when a capital habeas petitioner “raises claims that

could potentially benefit from his ability to

communicate rationally,” jd. at 819, his statutory right

to counsel includes the right to competence during

habeas proceedings. The district court denied

Gonzales’s motion for a competency determination

under Rohan because “[Gonzales’s] properly-exhausted

claims are record-based and/or resolvable as a matter

of law, irrespective of [his] capacity for rational

communication with counsel,” and therefore “cannot

benefit from [his] personal input.” Our recent decision

in Nash v. Ryan, 581 F.3d 1048 (9th Cir. 2009), is to

the contrary. In Nasd we held that the prosecution of

a habeas appeal that is record-based and resolvable as

a matter of law can benefit from communication

between client and counsel. Jd. at 1054-55. Because

we conclude that Nash controls this case, we hold that,

although Gonzales’s exhausted claims are record-based

or legal in nature, he is entitled to a stay pending a

competency determination.

I.

In 1991, Gonzales was convicted of first-degree

murder and sentenced to death. After pursuing state

remedies, he sought a writ of habeas corpus in federal

district court in November 1999. On February 23,

2006, after the district court had resolved the

procedural status of Gonzales’s claims and established

a deadline for his merits briefing of non-proceduraLlly

barred claims, Gonzales’s counsel moved to stay the

proceedings pending a competency determination

A-3

pursuant to Hohan, 334 F.3d at 814-15. Gonzales’s

attorneys indicated that their client’s assistance was

essential to a number of his remaining habeas claims,

and that due to a progressive deterioration in

Gonzales’s mental health he had lost the ability to

rationaliy communicate with his counsel and assist

them.

In response, the district court initiated proceedings to

determine Gonzales’s competency and ordered the

parties to submit expert reports on Gonzales’s mental

health. The district court granted the government’s

motion to transfer Gonzales to Arizona State Hospital

for an extended mental health assessment. The

product of that assessment, a report by supervising

psychologist Dr. James Seward, expressed

“reservations concerning the veracity of Mr. Gonzales’s

symptoms,” but concluded that he suffered from a

“genuine psychotic disorder” and was “currently .. .

unable to communicate rationally for any extended

period of time, such as would be required by a legal

proceeding.”

Gonzales’s attorneys submitted to the district court a

list of pending habeas claims that they contended could

benefit from rational communication with their client,

including a claim that Gonzales’s Sixth Amendment

rights were violated because the trial judge was openly

hostile toward Gonzales and refused to recuse himself.

The district court determined that Gonzales was not

entitled to a stay under Rohan even if he had a

psychotic condition rendering him incompetent to

confer with counsel. The district court held that

Gonzales’s claims, including his claim of judicial bias,

were all “record-based and/or resolvable as a matter of

A-4

law,” and accordingly could not benefit from his ability

to communicate rationally with counsel, as required by

Rohan. 334 F.3d at 818-19. Having so ruled, the

district court did not hold a hearing to determine

whether Gonzales was in fact incompetent to

communicate meaningfully with counsel for purposes

of a habeas proceeding.

Gonzales filed an emergency petition for a writ of

mandamus, and we ordered a temporary stay of the

district court’s proceedings to allow us to consider the

petition. We also stayed our own proceedings pending

the resolution of Nash. Having issued our decision in

Nash, we now lift the stay on our proceedings and

address the merits of Gonzales’s petition for

mandamus.

I.

[1] Nash held that the prosecution of a capital habeas

appeal, which is necessarily confined to the record,

could benefit from communication between client and

counsel. 581 F.3d at 1050 (“While an appeal is record-

based, that does not mean that a habeas petition in a

capital case is relegated to a nonexistent role.”).

Specifically, we concluded that Nash’s claim of

ineffective assistance of counsel could benefit from his

ability to communicate rationally with counsel even

though his appeal was record-based. 581 F.3d at 1055.

We held that

[tlhe need for rational communication here is

particularly important because Nash has been

assisted by several attorneys over the years....

The information that Nash possesses would

A-5

provide first-hand insight into the earlier

proceedings, insight that might be helpful in

ways that Nash’s current attorneys cannot

currently identify because of his alleged

incompetence.

Id. at 1055-56.

[2] Nash squarely controls this case, foreclosing the

district court’s conclusion that a stay under Rohan is

categorically unavailable when a capital habeas

petitioner’s claims consist only of record-based or legal

questions. Jd. at 1050. Rather than relying upon

categorical rules, Nash made clear that the “inquiry

should be whether rational communication with the

petitioner is essential to counsel's ability to

meaningfully prosecute” a capital habeas claim. Jd. at

1054. Had the district court undertaken the claim-

specific inquiry required by Nash, he would have been

compelled to conclude that “communication with

[Gonzales] is essential to counsel’s ability to

meaningfully prosecute” Gonzales’s habeasclaims. /d.

Gonzales, like Nash, “has been assisted by several

attorneys over the years” — in fact, he had eleven

different attorneys over the course of his trial and

sentencing, and was self-represented for part of that

time. Gonzales’s claim of judicial bias centers on

events regarding which “counsel may ... need to

communicate with [Gonzales] to understand fully the

significance and context” of key facts so that counsel

can pursue the most persuasive arguments. Nash, 581

F.3d at 1048. Thus, no less than Nash’s claim of

ineffective assistance of counsel, Gonzales’s judicial

bias claim could potentially benefit from the “first-

A-6

hand insight into the earlier proceedings” that a

competent petitioner would be able to provide. Nash,

581 F.3d at 1056.

[3] Nash thus compels the conclusions that Gonzales

has raised at least one claim that could potentially

benefit from rational communication with counsel and

that he is accordingly eligible for a stay under Rohan.

Il.

[4] We consider five factors when deciding whether to

grant mandamus relief: (1) whether the petitioner has

no other adequate means, such as direct appeal, to

secure relief; (2) whether he will suffer damage not

correctable on appeal from final judgment; (3) whether

the district court’s order is clearly erroneous as a

matter of law: (4) whether the order represents an oft-

repeated error by the district court; and (5) whether

the order raises new and important problems or legal

issues of first impression. See Bauman v. U.S. Dist.

Court, 57 F.2d 650, 654-55 (9th Cir. 1977). The five

Bauman factors “serve only as a useful starting point,”

rather than an exhaustive set of considerations. Jn re

Cement Antitrust Litig., 688 F.2d 1297, 1301 (9th Cir.

1982). We may also consider, for example, “whether

there are other compelling factors relating to the

efficient and orderly administration of the district

courts.” Jd.

Rarely if ever will there be a case in which every one

of the five Bauman factors indicates the same result or

is relevant or applicable. See Bauman, 557 F.2d at

655. For example, factors (4) and (5) are in direct

A-7

conflict with each other, and it would appear to be

impossible to meet both criteria in the same case.

Accordingly a showing of less than all of the Bauman

factors, indeed of only one, does not mandate denial of

the writ. See Cole v. United States Dist. Court, 366

F.3d 813, 817 (9th Cir. 2004). While the absence of

clear error ordinarily will defeat a petition for writ of

mandamus, DeGeorge v. United States District Court,

219 F.3d 930, 934 (9th Cir. 2000), when a mandamus

petition “raises an important issue of first impression

... a petitioner need show only ‘ordinary (as opposed to

clear) error.” San Jose Mercury News, Inc. v. United

States District Court, 187 F.3d 1096, 1100 (9th Cir.

1999); see also In re Cement Antitrust Litig., 688 F.2d

at 1307 (“[Wle see no legitimate reason for refraining

from exercising our supervisory authority where we

can determine that an error has been made but cannot,

for whatever reason, characterize the error as ‘clearly’

erroneous’).

[5] This is a supervisory mandamus case, presenting

an issue important to “proper judicial administration

in the federal system.” LaBuy v. Howes Leather Co.,

352 U.S. 249, 259-260 (1957). “Certain concepts

related to the traditional use of mandamus are not

necessarily applicable in supervisory mandamus cases,

or, at the least, are applied differently.” Jn re Cement

Antitrust Litig., 688 F.2d at 1301. Mandamus relief

may be appropriate in supervisory mandamus cases

even if Bauman’s second factor — that the error cannot

be corrected on appeal from the final judgment — is

absent. LaBuy, 352 U.S. at 254-55. “[I]n supervisory

mandamus cases involving questions of law of major

importance to the district courts, the purpose of our

A-8

review — and the reason for our correcting an error

made by a trial judge — is to provide necessary

guidance to the district courts and to assist them in

their efforts to ensure that the judicial system operates

in an orderly and efficient manner.” Jn re Cement

Antitrust Litig., 688 F.2d at 1307.

[6] We conclude that this is the type of case

compelling the exercise of our supervisory mandamus

power, because the district court’s erroneous refusal to

stay proceedings in this capital case raises the prospect

of months, if not years, of habeas proceedings that will

almost certainly be vacated or reversed. The Bauman

factors support this conclusion. As to the first Bauman

factor, it is not clear that Gonzales has any “other

adequate means, such as a direct appeal, to attain the

relief he .. . desires.” Bauman, 557 F.2d at 654.

Although Gonzales could appeal the district court’s

stay denial if his habeas petition were ultimately

denied, in order to succeed on such an appeal he would

have to establish his incompetency retrospectively.

The Supreme Court has emphasized that such

retrospective competency determinations are

inherently difficult even “under the most favorable

circumstances,” Drope v. Missouri, 420 U.S. 162, 183

(1975), and this court views them with disfavor. See,

e.g., Moran v Godinez, 57 F.3d 690, 696 (9th Cir. 1994)

(recognizing that when a court erroneously fails to hold

a contemporaneous competency hearing “it often may

be impossible to repair the damage retrospectively”)

(superseded on other grounds by statute as described

in McMurtrey v. Ryan, 539 F.3d 1112, 1119 (9th Cir.

A-9

2008).' Given the disfavored character of retrospective

competency evaluations, an appeal at the end of

Gonzales’s district court proceedings can hardly be

deemed an adequate alternative means of relief for

Gonzales. The second Bauman factor is satisfied for

similar reasons; while we can only speculate as'to how

the difficulties of retrospective evaluation would affect

Gonzales’s case, to force him to accept a disfavored and

inherently difficult retrospective competency

evaluation, rather than staying proceedings and

conducting a contemporaneous evaluation as required

by Rohan and Nash, would in itself serve to impose

upon him “damage not correctable on appeal.”

Bauman, 557 F.2d at 654. Third, because this is a

supervisory mandamus case, Gonzales need only show

that the district court has committed ordinary legal

error. Jn re Cement Antitrust Litig., 688 F.2d 1297 at

1301.

The petition for a writ of mandamus is GRANTED.

' We recognize that we have allowed retrospective competency

determinations in circumstances where, as here, contemporaneous

medical and psychiatric reports exist. See Moran, 57 F.3d at 696-

98; Odle v. Woodford, 238 F.3d 1084. 1089 (9th Cir. 2001) (citing

de Kaplan v. Enomoto, 540 F.2d 975. 986 & n.11 (9th Cir. 1976)).

But even in such cases, we have emphasized the limitations of

such for a contemporaneous determination.

B-1

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

Ernest Valencia Gonzales,

No. CV-99-2016-

)

)

Petitioner, ) PHX-SMM

)

VS. ) DEATH PENALTY

) CASE

Dora B. Schriro, et al., )

)

Respondents. ) ORDER

)

Pursuant to the Ninth Circuit’s Amended Order

Filed July 17, 2008, in Case No. 08-72188, this Court

has prepared the attached Supplemental Response for

filing in the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Clerk

of Court send the original and three copies of the

attached Supplemental Response to the Clerk of the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, Attn: Pinky Argonza,

U.S. Court of Appeals, P.O. Box 193939, San Francisco,

CA 94119-3939.

DATED this 28* day of August, 2008.

s/

Stephen M. McNamee

United States District Judge

B-2

APPENDIX H

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ERNEST VALENCIA )

GONZALES, ) No. 08-72188

Petitioner, )

Vv. ) D.C. No. 2:99-ev-

) 02016-SMM

UNITED STATES DISTRICT ) D.Ariz.

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT )

OF ARIZONA, )

Respondent, ) DISTRICT COURTS

) SUPPLEMENTAL

) RESPONSE

) PURSUANT

DORA B. SCHRIRO, ) TO NINTH CIRCUIT

Real party in interest. ) AMENDED ORDER

) FILED JULY 17,

) 2008

)

Petitioner Ernest Valencia Gonzales has filed in

the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals an Emergency

Petition for Writ of Mandamus challenging this Court’s

order of April 23, 2008, denying his motion for a

competency hearing pursuant to Rohan ex rel. Gates v.

Woodford, 334 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2003). At the

invitation of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals,

Respondent District Court submits the following

B-3

response to Petitioner’s Supplemental Brief to Fetition

for Mandamus. '

Vv a Oo

Petitioner was convicted of first-degree murder

in 1991 and sentenced to death in 1992. Following

affirmance on direct appeal Petitioner filed a petition

and a supplemental petition for post-conviction relief

(PCR), which were denied by the state courts.

Petitioner initiated this habeas proceeding in 1999 and

in 2000 filed a 237-page amended petition raising sixty

claims for habeas relief. (Dkt. 28.) In 2001, Petitioner,

having withdrawn a number of his habeas claims,

again sought state post-conviction relief. In these

proceedings, PCR counsel raised the issue of

Petitioner's competence to assist counsel, a claim

1 Although the Court questions applicability of the collateral

order doctrine to denial of a Rohan hearing, this Response does

not otherwise address the jurisdictional issues presented by

Petitioner's motion. However, the Court takes this opportunity to

note its view of the significance of the “final decision,” rule, under

which “a party is entitled to a single appeal, to be deferred until

final judgment has been entered, in which claims of district court

error at any stage of the litigation may be ventilated.” Digita/

Equipment Corp. v. Desktop Direct, Inc., 511 U.S. 863, 868 (1994).

In the Court’s estimation, taking into account case management

issues and the use of judicial resources, the final decision rule

fosters continuity and the efficient administration of justice by

preventing fragmentation of the case and piecemeal litigation.

This is especially true for Rohan related allegations where access

to the full district and state court records may be necessary to

resolve the disputed issues.

2 The Court set out a more detailed discussion of this

procedural history in its April 23 order. (Dkt. 187 at 16-18.)

B-4

which the state court rejected as not cognizable. (Dkt.

108, Exs. 2, 3.) In 2002, following the Supreme Court’s

decision in Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 584 (2002), the

Court stayed Petitioner's sentencing-related claims

pending litigation in state court on applicability of

Ring to Petitioner’s case. In 2003, three years after the

appointment of habeas counsel, Petitioner began to

refuse visits from his attorneys. (Dkt. 102, Ex. A.) In

2004, the Supreme Court held in Summerlin v. Schriro,

542 U.S. 348 (2004), that Ring does not apply

retroactively to cases such as Petitioner’s that were

final when Ring was decided.

At the time Petitioner initiated this habeas

proceeding, the District’s practice for all capital cases

was to limit the State’s answer to procedural defenses

so that the Court could first assess whether any of

Petitioner’s claims were procedurally barred before

requiring an answer on the merits of the claims. After

the Supreme Court decided Summerlin, stays were

lifted -n a multitude of cases in this District and the

Court, in January 2006, determined the procedural

status of the claims raised in Petitioner's amended

petition, finding that only thirty-one were appropriate

for merits review. (Dkt. 97.) In view of the length of

time that had passed since Petitioner filed his

amended petition and the petition’s failure to identify

claims for which Petitioner believed further

evidentiary hearing was warranted, the Court provided

Petitioner the opportunity to file an opening merits

brief in which he was to (1) “specifically identify and

apply appropriate AEDPA standards of review” to each

claim for relief and (2) identify the claims requiring

further evidentiary development, the facts or evidence

B-5

sought to be developed, and the reasons these facts

were not developed in state court. (/d. at 36.) The

Court’s intent was to simply provide an opportunity for

up-to-date legal citation and argument in support of

the properly exhausted claims raised in the then-six-

year-old petition, not to provide a second opportunity to

investigate the case in search of claims not raised in

the petition.’

On the eve of the Court’s deadline for

Petitioner's opening merits brief, counsel filed a Rohan

motion for a competency determination and a stay.

Initially, based primarily on counsel’s avowals in the

motion, the Court set the matter for an evidentiary

hearing. (Dkt. 131.) The hearing was vacated when

the Court granted Respondents’ unopposed motion to

3 Petitioner asserts in his supplemental brief that “to go

forward without the capacity for rational communication would

lead to an adjudication of the federal petition that does not include

all material facts or meritorious claims that might entitle

Petitioner to relief or spare him from execution.” (Pet.’s Supp. Br.

at 32-33.) However, the merits brief is not the place to raise new

facts or claims. Rather, Petitioner was obligated under this

Court’s 1999 order, citing McCleskey v. Zant, 499 U.S. 467, 498

(1991), as well as Rule 2 of the Rules Governing Section 2254

Cases, to set forth in his amended petition “every known

constitutional error,” including the legal and factual basis for each

ground for relief. (Dkt. 17.) Counsel subsequently filed an

exhaustive amended petition and at no point indicated that

communication difficulties with Petitioner inhibited this effort. In

light of Petitioner’s opportunities in both state and federal court to

raise claims (prior to the allegation of incompetency in 2001),

there is a strong probability he is foreclosed at this point both

under state law and the AEDPA statute of limitations from raising

any new claims based on facts within his personal knowledge. See

Ariz. R. Crim. P. 32.1 & 32.2; 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d).

B-6

transfer Petitioner to the Arizona State Hospital for

further evaluation. (Dkt. 147.) Thereafter, the issue of

forced medication arose when Petitioner withdrew

from a regimen of anti-psychotic medication despite

the apparently positive effects of that medication. (See

Dkt. 164.) Following the evaluation period, the Court

held status conferences on October 15 and December 3,

2007; the Court then ordered additional briefing,

including on the issue of Rohan’s applicability to

Petitioner's properly-exhausted habeas claims. (Dkt.

180.) Upon reviewing the parties’ briefs and all of the

mental health information, the Court further reviewed

the entire state court record to determine whether,

according to the principles set forth in Rohan, a

competency determination and stay were necessary.

Petitioner complains that the Court executed a

“rapid about-face” when it asked for additional briefing

and failed to reset the competency hearing. (Pet.’s

Supp. Br. at 22.) The Court’s course of action was

dictated by several concerns. First, it was apparent

after the evaluation period that the experts had

reached a tentative consensus regarding Petitioner’s

mental health — z.e., that in the absence of medication

he was largely incapable of communicating rationally

with counsel. Having received such information, the

Court reconsidered the potential utility of holding an

evidentiary hearing, determining that the value of

such a hearing was significantly diminished,

particularly when balanced against the expenditure of

scarce judicial resources. In addition, on October 30,

2007, the Seventh Circuit issued its opinion in Holmes

v. Buss, 506 F.3d 576 (7th Cir. 2007), which provided

further guidance on the application of the Rohan

standard.

The court in Holmes, proceeding on the

assumption that Rohan was correctly decided, echoed

the Ninth Circuit’s distinction between claims that

could potentially benefit from a habeas petitioner's

input and those to which “a lay person has nothing to

contribute.” 506 F.3d at 579. With these

developments in mind and assuming Petitioner's

incompetency, the Court refocused on the nature of

Petitioner's claims and the way they fit into the

framework sketched out in Rohan, a process that

included most significantly, a close review of both

Petitioner’s remaining claims and the state court

record. The Court then issued its order denying a

competency hearing, finding that Petitioner’s claims

were record-based and involved purely legal issues and

therefore would not potentially benefit from his ability

to communicate rationally with counsel. (Dkt. 187.)

Application of Rohan

In Rohan the Ninth Circuit determined that a

prisoner “has a statutory right to competence in his

federal habeas proceedings.” 334 F.3d at 817. The

“relevant question” in determining competence in the

federal habeas context is “whether [the petitioner] now

has the capacity to understand his position and to

communicate rationally with counsel.” Jd at 819.

Thus, “where an incompetent capital habeas petitioner

raises claims that could benefit from his ability to

communicate rationally, refusing to stay proceedings

pending restoration of competence denies him his

statutory right to assistance of counsel, whether or not

B-8

counsel can identify with precision the information

sought.” Jd. (emphasis added).

This Court’s April 23 order was based upon its

understanding of that holding and informed by the few

cases that have interpreted and applied Fodan,

primarily Holmes. As just noted, these cases

distinguish between claims that might potentially

benefit from a habeas petitioners ability to

communicate rationally and those that are “record-

based or non-factual,” Rohan, 334 F.3d at 819 n.11,

and do not implicate a petitioner’s “private knowledge”

or “personal history,” id. at 818. As an example of the

former category of claims, Rohanand Holmes note that

allegations of imeffective assistance of counsel,

particularly in the gathering of mitigation information,

often depend on information outside the record for

which the petitioner might be the only source. Jd. at

818; see Holmes, 506 F.3d at 579-80.

In response to this Court’s orders, Petitioner’s

counse! twice have identified the claims to which they

believe the holding in Rohan apples — 7.e., those which

might benefit from Petitioner’s ability to communicate

rationally. (Dkts. 102, 184.) With one possible

exception, all of these claims are record-based or

involve purely legal issues, such as claims challenging

Arizona’s death penalty statute or the sufficiency of

evidence with respect to aggravating factors; there are

no allegations of ineffective assistance that could

benefit from Petitioner’s personal input, and Petitioner

withdrew his claim of ineffective assistance of counsel

at sentencing. (Dkt. 43.)

B-9

The single exception is Petitioner’s claim of

judicial bias. See Holmes, 506 F.3d at 580

(prosecutorial misconduct claim could potentially

benefit from Petitioner's competence because he may

“be able to convey to his lawyers a better sense of the

alleged misbehavior of the prosecutor and of defense

counsel than the trial transcript and other

documentation provide”). However, as the Court

discussed extensively in its April 23 order, it is clear

from a review of the state court record that the factual

underpinnings of that claim were fully developed in

state court and the record on the issue is complete.

(See Dkt. 187 at 7-11.)

The Court believes that its analysis receives

additional support from the recent holding in United

States v. Paul, No. 05-3431, 2008 WL 2796725 (8* Cir.

Jul. 22, 2008), a § 2255 case in which the Eighth

Circuit denied a certificate of appealability on the issue

of a habeas petitioner’s statutory right to competence.*

4 No other Circuit has adopted the holding in Rodan, and in

Paul the Eighth Circuit expressed skepticism about the existence

of a statutory right to competence for habeas petitioners, noting

that its reaction to the claim is similar to that of the Seventh

Circuit in Holmes:

As a matter of first impression, we might doubt the legal

significance of a person’s lacking the mental competence

to prosecute, or to assist his lawyer in prosecuting, a

federal habeas corpus proceeding. Technically, habeas

corpus is a civil proceeding rather than a criminal one.

Realistically, it is a stage imitiated by the criminal

defendant rather than by the state; and it is odd to think

that someone who initiates a proceeding can then freeze it

by claiming to be mentally incompetent.

(Continued)

B-10

The Eighth Circuit explained:

At least on the facts of this case, we are not

persuaded that the certificate of appealability

should be expanded to encompass Paul's claim of

a statutory right to competence. Paul alleges

that his incompetence arose after his attempted

suicide in November 2003. As of that date,

however, Paul already had filed his 344-page

habeas corpus motion and a 514-page, two-

volume appendix on December 17, 2002. The

government had responded on June 2, 2003, and

the court issued its decision based on those

lengthy pleadings. To the extent counsel needed

assistance from Paul in developing facts outside

the record, that work was completed before

November 2003.

This is not a situation, therefore, where

counsel must speculate about what the

petitioner might have told him if the petitioner

had been competent when the post-conviction

arguments were formulated. Cf Rohan, 334

F.3d at 818. If there is a statutory right to

competency in post-conviction proceedings, the

scope of the right must correspond to what

menta! capabilities the litigant needs to assist

in the conduct of the litigation. See Holmes v.

Buss, 506 F.3d 576, 581 (7th Cir. 2007). Once a

habeas corpus motion is submitted to the court,

(Continued).

Paul, 2008 WL 2796725 at *13 (quoting Holmes, 506 F.3d at

578.

B-11

and the parties are merely awaiting a decision,

there is no need for rational communication

between counsel and client in furtherance of the

motion.

Id. at *12 (footnote omitted).

In Petitioner’s case, eight years passed between

his conviction and sentencing and the filing of his

amended habeas petition in 2000. The request for a

competency determination was not filed until 2006.

During this fourteen-year period, Petitioner,

represented by counsel, proceeded through the direct

appeal and post-conviction processes in state court and

filed a lengthy habeas petition. Based upon this

record, it is difficult to posit the existence of additional

factual allegations or new legal claims which are

dependent upon Petitioner's ability to communicate

rationally with counsel. Like the petitioner in Paul,

Petitioner’s “alleged incompetence did not bar [him]

from presenting his ... claims.” Paul, 2008 WL

2796725 at *12.

In sum, the Court has endeavored to follow

Rohan. In doing so, the Court accepted Petitioner's

contention that he is not presently competent to

communicate rationally with counsel but found this

fact irrelevant because none of the claims remaining to

be decided by this Court are ones that “could benefit

from his ability to communicate rationally.” Rohan,

334 F.3d at 819. In light of that determination, the

Court concluded that there was no valid reason for

delaying resolution of Petitioner’s claims.

B-12

The Court is mindful that the issue of

Petitioner's competency may ultimately need to be

addressed. Thus, if Petitioner fails to obtain relief on

his pending claims, he is not precluded from seeking

relief from his capital sentence pursuant to Ford v.

Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986), as that claim was

expressly dismissed by the Court as premature in its

January 2006 order (Dkt. 97 at 33). See Martinez-

Villareal v. Stewart, 118 F.3d 628, 634 (9th Cir. 1997),

affd, 523 U.S. 637 (1998) (Ford claim raised and

dismissed as premature in first petition may be re-

raised in second or successive petition). Therefore, to

the extent that a final determination concerning

Petitioner's competence is not foreclosed, no prejudice

will accrue to Petitioner from the Court’s handling of

the Rohan issue.

DATED this 28th day of August, 2008.

s/

Stephen M. McNamee

United States District Judge

B-13

A hard copy of this Response was mailed on this

date to the Clerk of Court for the Ninth Circuit, Office

of the Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, P.O. Box 193939,

San Francisco, CA 94119-3939.

Electronic service was provided to the following

parties through the District of Arizona’s ECF System:

JON SANDS

Federal Public Defender

LETICIA MARQUEZ

TIMOTHY GABRIELSON

Assistant Federal Public Defender

407 West Congress Street, Suite 501

Tucson, Arizona 85701-1310

Attorney for Petitioner

JOHN PRESSLEY TODD

Office of the Attorney General

Capital Litigation Section

1275 W Washington St

Phoenix, AZ 85007-2997

602-542-8590

Attorney for Respondents

C-1

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

Ernest Valencia Gonzales,

Z

)

. CV-99-2016-

"SMM

© a2)

mL

SS)

8

Petitioner,

VS.

Dora B. Schriro, et al.,

Respondents.

Before the Court is Petitioner’s Motion for

Competency Determination and to Stay Proceedings.

(Dkt. 102.): For the reasons set forth herein, the

motion is denied.

BACKGROUND

On November 15, 1999, Petitioner, an Arizona

inmate sentenced to death, commenced these

proceedings by filing a petition for a writ of habeas

corpus. (Dkt. 1.) The Court appointed the Federal

Public Defender’s Office to represent Petitioner. (Dkt.

8.) On December 21, 1999, the Court issued a case

management order setting a deadline for the filing of

} “Dkt.” Refers to the documents in this Court’s file.

C-2

an amended petition. (Dkt. 17.) Citing Rule 2 of the

Rules Governing § 2254 Cases, the order required the

amended petition to “include every known

constitutional error or deprivation entitling Petitioner

to habeas relief’ and to “set forth, in a clear and

concise fashion, the legal and factual basis for each

ground for relief. The factual basis shall include full

citations to the appropriate portions of the record.”

(Jd.) On July 17, 2000, Petitioner filed a 237-page first

amended petition raising sixty claims. (Dkt. 28.)

Petitioner subsequently withdrew thirteen

unexhausted claims from the amended petition so that

he could pursue them in state court. (Dkt. 43.) The

parties thereafter completed briefing on the procedural

status of the remaining claims. (See Dkts. 47,48, 54,

59.)

On January 12, 2006, the Court entered its

order regarding the procedural status of the claims

submitted in the amended petition. (Dkt. 97.) The

Court dismissed certain claims and established a

deadline for Petitioner to submit briefing on the merits

of the remaining claims. (/d.) On February 23, 2006,

prior to the deadline for filing his merits brief, counsel

for Petitioner moved to stay this action pursuant to

Rohan ex rel. Gates v. Woodford, 334 F.3d 803 (9th Cir.

2003), contending that Petitioner was no longer

capable of rationally communicating with or assisting

habeas counsel. (Dkt. 102.) The motion indicated that

since October 2003 Petitioner had refused some

twenty-six attempted visits from habeas counsel and

support staff, who wished to “discuss these upcoming

proceedings, including merits briefing and requests for

evidentiary development.” (qd. at 5-6.) Counsel

C-5

indicated that they needed Petitioner’s assistance in

order to brief the merits of a number of claims. (Dkts.

102, 108.) Following Petitioner's Rohan motion, and

based upon the Court’s initial review of the allegations

and evidence concerning Petitioner’s mental state, the

Court allowed an evaluation of Petitioner’s competence

to proceed, and each party enlisted a mental health

expert. (Dkt. 111.)

The parties’ experts, both psychiatrists, reached

conflicting conclusions. Respondents’ expert, Dr. Anna

Scherzer, performed an independent psychiatric

consultation, which included an eight-hour interview

and the administration of a number of assessment

instruments, and prepared a detailed thirty-page

report. (Dkt. 124.) Dr. Scherzer concluded to a

reasonable degree of medical/psychiatric certainty that

Petitioner “has the capacity to understand his legal

position” and “has the capacity to communicate in a

comprehensible manner.” (Jd. at 1.) She noted that

“[als the interview progressed, Mr. Gonzales

demonstrated periods of reflection, normal speech

pattern, conversationally appropriate amplitude and

logical appreciation of the reality of his circumstances,

... demonstrateling] awareness of the central issue of

when the government would carry out the already

imposed death penalty.” (/d. at 29.) Dr. Scherzer also

explained that the results of the instruments she

administered were “consistent with volitional feigning

and malingered exaggeration of symptom [sic] of

mental illness” and “were not consistent with expected

patterns of known psychiatric disorders.” (/d. at 2-3.)

Furthermore, according to Dr. Scherzer, Petitioner

acknowledged that “he has volitionally chosen not to

C-4

communicate with his attorney,” and “he verbalized his

desire to be found incompetent, (and thereby delay or

avoid death by lethal gas).” (Dkt. 124 at 2.) However,

while in Dr. Scherzer’s professional opinion Petitioner

“is knowingly choosing to present himself as severely

mentally ill, this does not exclude the presence of a

psychiatric disorder.” (/d. at 29.) Dr. Scherzer

recommended a period of “locked mental health

observation” to determine if Petitioner’s symptoms

were indeed feigned and, if the symptoms persisted,

treatment with “atypical neuroleptics and mood

stabilizing psychotropic medication.” (Jd. at 30.)

Petitioner’s expert, Dr. Raphael Morris, after

conducting a two-hour “psychiatric interview” and

reviewing various records, diagnosed Petitioner with

Schizophrenia, Disorganized Type and concluded that

he “lacks the capacity to rationally communicate with

counsel due to a disorganized thought process and a

pressured and non-redirectable pattern of speech. In

addition his current grandiose delusions interfere with

his capacity to appreciate his current legal

predicament.” (Dkt. 125 at 2, 10.) Dr. Morris found,

contrary to Dr. Scherzer, that Petitioner “is unable to

have a coherent discussion about even the most benign

topics much less provide input towards the defense

team’s investigations.” (ad at 10.) Dr. Morris

recommended a course of anti-psychotic medication but

characterized Petitioner’s “prognosis for restoration of

competency” as “guarded at best.” (/d. at 2-3, 12).

After receiving the reports from Drs. Scherzer

and Morris, the Court scheduled an evidentiary

hearing. (Dkt. 131.) Prior to the hearing, however,

C-5

Respondents filed a motion requesting that Petitioner

be transferred to the Arizona State Hospital (“ASH”)

for an extended mental health assessment; the Court

granted the motion. (Dkts. 138, 147.) On October 10,

2007, at the end of the ninety-day assessment period,

the supervising psychologist, Dr. James Seward,

submitted a final report. Dr. Seward indicated that he

“continueld] to have reservations concerning the

veracity of Mr. Gonzales’s symptoms” and that

“malingering cannot be ruled out.” (Dkt. 160 at 1, 3.)

Nevertheless, he concluded that Petitioner has a

“genuine psychotic disorder” and is “currently unable

to communicate rationally for any extended period of

time, such as would be required by a legal proceeding.”

(id. at 2). Dr. Seward became persuaded that

Petitioner’s symptoms were genuine after observing an

improvement in Petitioner’s capacity for rational

thought during the brief period when Petitioner was

compliant with a regimen of the antipsychotic

medication, Aripiprazole, which was prescribed by his

treating psychiatrist, Dr. Qureshi. (/d. at 2-3.) Despite

the observations of Drs. Seward and Qureshi, and

Petitioner's self-report that he had experienced “some

benefit .. . regarding his thought processes,” Petitioner

asked to be taken off the medication, complaining of

side effects such as back pain and restlessness.? (/d. at

2 According to Dr. Seward, “full benefit from antipsychotic

medication is expected within four to six weeks after initiation of

treatment.” Petitioner took Aripiprazole for approximately three

weeks before discontinuing treatment. (Dkt. 160 at 3.)

Dr. Seward noted that in his most recent session with

Petitioner, possibly as a result of the antipsychotic mediation,

Petitioner “demonstrated more capacity for rational thought than

he has in our previous meetings.” (/d.) “For the first 30 minutes

(Continued)

C-6

-

2.) Upon receiving Dr. Seward’s report and being

informed that Petitioner had discontinued treatment

with this potentially beneficial medication, the Court

ordered briefing on the issue of involuntary

administration of antipsychotic medication. (Dkt. 164.)

On October 15 and December 3, 2007, the Court

held status hearings to address these latest

developments. At the hearings, the discussion focused

on the holdings in two cases. In Rohan, 334 F.3d at

819, the Ninth Circuit held that capital habeas

proceedings must be stayed, “pending restoration of

competence,” where a petitioner is unable to

communicate rationally with counsel regarding claims

that could benefit from such communication. In Sel/ v.

United States, 539 U.S. 166, 169 (2003), the Supreme

Court addressed the question “whether the

Constitution permits the Government to administer

antipsychotic drugs involuntarily to a mentally ul

criminal defendant — in order to render that defendant

competent to stand trial for serious, but nonviolent,

crimes.” The Court held that in limited circumstances

forcible medication was permissible and established

the analytical framework under which such

determinations are made. Jd.

In briefing completed prior to the December 3

status conference, Petitioner maintained that he was

(Continued).

of this contact he primarily related in a socially appropnate,

rational, and coherent manner, with minimal disorganized and

illogical thoughts.” (/d. at 2.) However, for reasons Dr. Seward

cannot explain, Petitioner then became hostile and irrational.

Ud.)

C-7

incompetent under Hohan and that, pursuant to the

criteria set forth in Se/l/, he could not be restored to

competency through involuntary medication. (Dkt.

177.) Noting that the issue involved - whether a

habeas petitioner, convicted of a violent crime, could

prevent action on his own petition by refusing to be

restored to competence — was one of first impression,

the Court ordered additional briefing on a number of

questions. (Dkt. 180.) The initial question asked

Petitioner to identify the specific claims and types of

assistance “needed from Petitioner — beyond that

already provided and submitted as part of the

Amended Petition — to complete preparation of the

merits brief and any requests for evidentiary

development,” explaining that such “information is

necessary for any determination regarding Petitioner’s

ability to communicate rationally wiih counsel as

required under Rohan. (id. at 2.) That briefing has

been completed. (Dkts. 184, 185, 186.)

DISCUSSION

1. Rohan holding

As noted above, the Ninth Circuit in Rohan

determined that a prisoner “has a statutory right to

competence in his federal habeas proceedings.” 334

F.3d at 817. The “relevant question” in determining

competence in the federal habeas context is “whether

[the petitioner] now has the capacity to understand his

position and to communicate rationally with counsel.”

Id. at 819. Thus, “where an incompetent capital

habeas petitioner raises claims that could benefit from

his ability to communicate rationally, refusing to stay

C-8

proceedings pending restoration of competence denies

him his statutory right to assistance of counsel,

whether or not counsel can identify with precision the

information sought.” Jd Accordingly, in such a

situation, federal habeas proceedings “must be stayed

until [the petitioner] is competent.” Jd. Finally, the

Ninth Circuit was careful to note that “the mere fact

that [a petitioner] does not communicate rationally

does not mean that he is incapabie of doing so.” Jd.

Other circuits have acknowledged the holding in

Rohan, but have not been called upon to approve or

reject it. See Holmes v. Buss, 506 F.3d 576, 578 (7th

Cir. 2007); Mines v. Dretke, 118 Fed.Appx. 806, 812-13

(5th Cir. 2004); see also Clayton v. Roper, 515 F.3d

784, 790 n.2 (8th Cir. 2008). These cases distinguish

between claims for which a petitioner’s personal input

may be beneficial and those that are “record-based or

non-factual,” Rohan, 334 F.3d at 819 n.11, or are

otherwise not susceptible to the contributions of a lay

person. In Rohan, for example, the Ninth Circuit noted

that an ineffective assistance of counsel claim, which

“depends in large measure on facts outside the record,”

could “potentially benefit from [the petitioner’s]

assistance.” 334 F.3d at 818. The court specifically

noted that ineffective assistance claims challenging

counsel’s performance with respect to a defendant’s

competence to stand trial or the gathering of

mitigating evidence may be supported by information

in the petitioner’s “private knowledge” or from his

“personal history.” Jd.; see Hill v. Ayers, No. 4-94-CV-

641-CW, 2008 WL 683422 (N.D. Cal Mar. 10,

2008)(noting that the petitioner “has ‘raised claims

that could benefit from his ability to communicate

C-9

rationally,’ such as claims of innocence and ineffective

assistance of counsel in presenting mitigating evidence

at the penalty phase of his trial”)(quoting Rohan, 334

F.3d at 818). In Holmes, the Seventh Circuit drew a

similar distinction between claims requiring a

petitioner's input and those for which his assistance is

unnecessary:

Federal habeas corpus happens to be one of

the most complex areas of American law. With

respect to many of the issues that arise in

habeas corpus cases, a lay person has nothing to

contribute to his lawyer’s strategy. But it can be

different with respect to other issues, several

presented in this case, notably prosecutorial

misconduct at trial and ineffective assistance by

trial counsel. The petitioner was at his trial; his

current lawyers were not. He may —if mentally

competent — be able to convey to his lawyers a

better sense of the alleged misbehavior of the

prosecutor and of defense counsel than the trial

transcript and other documentation provide.

506 F.3d at 579-80.

II. Claims to which Petitioner contends Rohan

applies

Petitioner argues that Claims 9, 13, 17, 29, 30,

and 34 may potentially benefit from his ability to

communicate rationally with counsel because each are

based on extra-record information that is within his

personal knowledge. (Dkt. 184 at 10-15.) Petitioner

also contends that there are unexhausted claims,

C-10

including the thirteen claims withdrawn from his

amended habeas petition (see Dkt. 43), as well as

potential new claims that are not presently before this

Court, for which his ability to assist habeas counsel] is

required. (Dkt. 184 at 8-9, 15-16.)

Claim 9

Petitioner alleges that his Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendment rights were violated because the trial

judge, who was openly hostile toward Petitioner,

refused to recuse himself. (Dkt. 28 at 62-64.)

Background

Petitioner's first trial ended in a hung jury.

Before his second trial, Petitioner, acting pro se, moved

to disqualify the trial judge, Judge Joseph Howe,

arguing that he was biased and prejudiced against

Petitioner. (ROA 104, 105.)3 Petitioner cited adverse

rulings issued by Judge Howe, particularly the denial

of expert assistance on the issue of eyewitness

identification and on-the-record comments made to

Petitioner by the judge. (ROA 105.) Judge Howe

initially denied the motions (RT 3/25/91 at 7, 9) but

thereafter vacated his ruling (ME 3/25/91). The matter

3 “ROA” refers to the four-volume record on appeal from

trial, including minute entries (“ME”), prepared for Petitioner's

direct appeal to the Arizona Supreme Court (Case No. CR-92-

0154-AP). “RT” refers to the court reporter's transcript. The

original trial transcripts, a certified copy of the record on appeal,

and a set of appellate briefs were provided to this Court by the

Arizona Supreme Court. (Dkt. 23.)

C-1}

was then assigned to Judge Rufus Coulter, who held a

hearing at which Petitioner explained his position:

[Judge Howe] is prejudicing me in a lot of

motions that I bring forward. He just keeps

denying all my motions. And I just feel there is

going to be a big effect in this next trial because

he was present, and he made a lot of decisions in

my last trial. And there was a lot of prejudicial

remarks that he has stated to me in court on

previous hearings on my motions, and he just —

he just keeps determining to just take me to

trial in front of him. He has stated this to me,

that he will not let me go to no other judge, just

in front of him And I’ve made many attempts

to get a change of judge, but he just calls me a

fool. He don’t want to listen to me, whatever I

have to present to him. He says I’m just a

stubborn brat. And I’m just being prejudiced.

There ain’t no way I’m going to get a fair trial

with Judge Howe anymore.

(RT 5/15/91 at 3.) The prosecutor acknowledged that

“there is some type of attitude problem between Judge

Howe and the defendant. I’m not sure why it started,

how it started or what effect it has had on this trial.

Every time we appear in court, they snap and snarl at

each other. And I have no position, nor do I have any

indication as to whether or not that behavior will

deprive the defendant of a fair trial.” (/d. at 4.) Judge

Coulter denied the motion, explaining, “I snap and

snarl at a lot of attorneys, but I simply don’t — it

doesn't mean it’s prejudice. Based on what has been

presented, it will be ordered denying the

C-12

disqualification of Judge Howe.” (/d.)

After his conviction in the second trial, and prior

to sentencing, Petitioner filed another pro se motion

seeking to disqualify Judge Howe. (ROA 150.)

Petitioner again cited adverse rulings and the judge’s

disparaging courtroom comments; in addition to these

criticisms, Petitioner noted that he had now filed a

complaint against Judge Howe with the Judicial

Conduct Commission. (ROA 150.) Judge Ronald

Reinstein denied the motion, finding that the previous

allegations of bias had been ruled on and that the

filing of a complaint against a judge is not a basis for

removal. (ME 10/1/91.)

On direct appeal, Petitioner’s appellate counsel

raised the issue of judicial bias, alleging that

“[tlhroughout the proceedings in this matter, he trial

judge’s impartiality [sic] and bias were apparent” and

citing a number of testy courtroom exchanges between

Judge Howe and Petitioner. (Opening Br. at 56.) The

Arizona Supreme Court rejected Petitioner’s claim,

finding that the reported exchanges between Petitioner

and Judge Howe did not indicate bias:

Gonzales points to several exchanges that he

claims demonstrate the judge’s animosity

toward him, and argues that he was denied a

fair trial and sentencing. But Gonzales was a

difficult litigant, amd while the judge

understandably became impatient with him,

particularly while he was acting pro per, none of

the exchanges would support Gonzales’s claim of

bias. Nor did any of the exchanges take place in

C-13

front of the jury. Other than pointing to the

motions the judge denied and the sentence he

imposed, Gonzales has not shown how he was

prejudiced. See Liteky v. United States, 510

U.S. 540, ----, 114 S.Ct. 1147, 1157, 127 L.Ed.2d

474 (1994) (“Not establishing bias or partiality,

however, are expressions of impatience,

dissatisfaction, annoyance, and even anger, that

are within the bounds of what imperfect men

and women... sometimes display.”) We find

that Judge Coulter properly denied Gonzales’s

motion for disqualification of Judge Howe.

State v. Gonzales, 181 Ariz. 502, 511-12, 892 P.2d

838, 847-48 (1995).

Analysis

In support of his contention that Claim 9 is

subject to Rohan because it could benefit from his

ability to communicate rationally with counsel,

Petitioner asserts that his “substantive judicial bias

claim depends on facts [outside] the record, to wit, the

interaction between Petitioner and the trial court and

Petitioners observations of the trial _ court’s

interactions with others.” [Dkt. 184 at 11.) The Court

disagrees.

Under the AEDPA,* Petitioner is entitled to

habeas relief on Claim 9 only if the Arizona Supreme

Court’s rejection of the claim constituted an

* The Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of

1996.

C-14

unreasonable application of clearly established federal

law, or if it was “based upon an unreasonable

detg®inination of the facts in light of the evidence

presented in the State court proceeding.” 28 U.S.C.

§2254(d); see Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 407

(2000).

The record regarding ibis claim is complete. It

includes all of the comments made by Judge Howe that

Petitioner contended, in his trial motions for

disqualification and on direct appeal, were indicative of

judicial bias. Nevertheless, habeas counsel contend

that Petitioner is entitled to further development of

this claim, for which Petitioner’s input is required.

The Court disagrees. The state court record, which

details the litigation of the judicial bias claim, contains

no suggestion that additional incidents occurred in

which Petitioner made personal observations of the

judge’s behavior; Petitioner’s recusal motions cited only

judicial rulings and on-the-record comments that are

present in the trial transcript.5

In an attempt to demonstrate that he was

5 As the Arizona Supreme Court noted, the record also

reveals that Petitioner was a contentious, even manipulative,

litigant. It further shows, despite the verbal jousting between

Petitioner and the court, that Judge Howe demonstrated

impartiality and concern for the fairness of the trial, both in his

rulings, including his decision that Petitioner's confession was

inadmissible (RT 1/16/91 at 83), and in many of his comments to

Petitioner reiterating the perils of proceeding without counsel. At

the conclusion of a three-day hearing on Petitioner's pro se motion

for a new trial, Judge Howe praised Petitioner for his thoroughly-

researched and well-organized presentation. (RT 12/17/91 at 128.)

C-15

diligent in developing the factual basis of this claim in

state court (and thus 1s entitled to a federal evidentiary

hearing on the claim), Petitioner directs the Court’s

attention to a supplemental petition filed during state

post-conviction (“PCR”) proceedings. (ROA-PCR 500.)

In this document, Petitioner now contends, PCR

counsel “alleged that there were additional facts not of

record that required development with respect to a

claim of judicial bias, and he requested an evidentiary

hearing.” (Dkt. 184 at 10.)

This contention is not well taken. First, the

claim raised in the supplemental PCR petition alleged

that Arizona law failed to provide Petitioner the means

of proving a claim of judicial bias through voir dire of

the judge (ROA-PCR 500 at 2-5), an allegation he re-

urges in habeas Claim 41 (Dkt. 28 at 129-30). Second,

in supporting the claim in state court Petitioner did

not, as he now asserts, “allege[} that there were

additional facts not of record that required

development with respect to a claim of judicial bias.”

(Dkt. 184 at 10.) Instead, Petitioner cited, as he did in

all his previous judicial bias motions, on-the-record

comments indicating antagonism between Petitioner

and the judge, as well as the fact that Judge Howe

presided over the first trial and might therefore have

been biased against Petitioner on retrial. (ROA-PCR

500 at 4.) To the extent that Petitioner alleged the

existence of additional supporting evidence, it was not

information gleaned from his alleged private

observations of or interactions with the judge, but

rather Judge Howe’s feelings toward Petitioner: that is

why the claim alleged a violation of Petitioner’s rights

based upon the lack of an opportunity to voir dire

C-16

Judge Howe.* Under these circumstances, Petitioner

was not diligent in developing this claim in state court.

See Alley v. Bell, 307 F.3d 380, 390-91 (6th Cir. 2002)

(lack of diligence because petitioner knew of and raised

claims of judicial bias in state court, but failed to

investigate all the factual grounds for such claims).

Petitioner's consistent failure to allege the

existence of additional facts in support of his judicial

bias claim, despite adequate opportunities to do so,

convinces the Court that the record is fully developed

and that additional, relevant facts do not exist that are

within Petitioner's private knowledge. In any event,

due to the lack of diligence in state court, Petitioner is

not entitled to further development of the factual basis

of this claim. 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(2); Williams v.

Taylor, 529 U.S. 420, 437 (2000).

The Court therefore concludes that this claim

cannot potentially benefit from Petitioner’s ability to

communicate rationally and is not subject to the

holding in Rohan. Habeas counsel are m a position to

argues the merits of this claim without further input

from Petitioner.

6 The claim was denied, without an evidentiary hearing, on

the grounds that “Arzona law does provide such an effective

means, which was used by this defendant, including the

opportunity, not used, of ‘voir dire’ of the judge in front of another

judge who holds, and in this case held, a hearing on the claim.”

(ME 4/21/98 at 10.)

C-17

Claims 13 and 17

Claim 13 alleges that Petitioner’s rights under

the Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments were violated

by Deborah Wagner’s presence in the courtroom during

jury selection and after her testimony.’ (Dkt. 28 at 70-

71.) Claim 17 alleges that his rights were violated by

the admission of Ms. Wagner’s in-court identification of

Petitioner, which Petitioner claims was tainted by her

exposure to him during the first trial. Ud. at 76-78.)

In support of his argument that further input from

Petitioner is necessary regarding these claims,

Petitioner indicates only that “[i]f evidence is taken at

an evidentiary hearing on Mrs. Wagner’s courtroom

behavior, Petitioner’s presence and competence will be

required because he was an eyewitness to her presence

in the courtroom and to her reactions toward him and

her interactions with others there. Petitioner must be

competent to perform that role.” (Dkt. 184 at 13.)

Claim 13

At Petitioner’s second trial, Ms. Wagner was

present for voir dire, seated in the back of the

courtroom. (See 5/28/91 at 8.) Subsequently, after the

jury had been selected, defense counsel asked the court

to inquire of the jurors whether they had been tainted

by their exposure to Ms. Wagner’s presence. (/d.) the

court declined, explaining that asking such questions

would “do more damage” than good and finding that

7 Ms. Wagner was present when her husband was stabbed

to death. She was seriously injured while struggling with the

assailant in the courtyard of the couple's townhouse.

C-18

there was no evidence of misconduct and that Ms.

Wagner had a right under the Arizona Constitution to

be present. (/d. at 8, 11.) The prosecutor indicated

that, with respect to the remainder of the proceedings,

Ms. Wagner, who had relocated to Colorado, intended

to be present only for the opening statements and her

own testimony — and that she would be the State’s first

witness. (/d. at 10.) Over the prosecutor’s objection,

however, the court did bar Ms. Wagner from the

courtroom during opening statements but ruled that

she could be present after her testimony. (/d. at 13.)

Petitioner raised this claim on direct appeal.

(Opening Br. at 54.) The claim was based upon the

assumption that Ms. Wagner was present in the

courtroom after her testimony — an assumption that,

Petitioner conceded, was supported by nothing in the

record. (Ud at n.19.) The Arizona Supreme Court

rejected the claim:

Gonzales argues that Deborah [Wagner’s]

presence in the courtroom during jury selection

and her possible presence during trial after she

testified prejudiced him and denied him the

right to a fair trial. This argument is without

merit. Deborah had a constitutional right to

attend all criminal proceedings that Gonzales

had the right to attend. Ariz. Const. art. 2,

§ 2.1(A)(3); Rule 9.3(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P. Deborah,

on her own initiative, attended jury selection.

She sat in the back row of the courtroom, and |

neither the court nor counsel knew she was

there until several days later. Nor is there any

evidence that prospective jurors noticed

C-19

Deborah or knew who she was during jury

selection. Gonzales has not shown that

Deborah’s presence during jury selection was

prejudicial. There is no evidence that Deborah

intended to or did remain in the courtroom after

she testified, and therefore we consider the

matter no further. State v. Ethington, 121 Ariz.

572, 574, 592 P.2d 768, 770 (1979).

Gonzales, 181 Ariz. at 512, 892 P.2d at 848.

Petitioner is entitled to relief on Claim 13 only if

the Arizona Supreme Court’s rejection of the claim was

contrary to or based on an unreasonable application of

clearly established federal law or was based upon an

unreasonable determination of the facts in light of the

evidence presented in state court. 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d).

It is not apparent what information Petitioner could

potentially provide that would be relevant to this

determination. His personal input is not necessary to

determine whether Ms. Wagner in fact continued to

attend the second trial after giving her testimony, or to

describe her conduct during voir dire. The record

indicates, for example, that at the time of the defense

request to question the jury, neither the court nor the

parties, all of whom were aware of Ms. Wagner's

presence during voir dire, suggested that her behavior

was inappropriate.

Claim 17

At Petitioner’s first trial, Ms. Wagner testified

C-20

on direct examination that she thought her attacker

was in the courtroom and pointed out Petitioner. (RT

1/21/91 at 61.) On cross-examination, however, she

suggested that her identification of Petitioner had

become more certain, explaining, “I didn’t get any kind

of feelings until I come into this courtroom yesterday

and looked at the man you're trying to defend.” (RT

1/22/91 at 23.) On redirect examination, Ms. Wagner

did not hesitate when asked how certain she was that

Petitioner was the attacker: “That man is the man that

was in our house and killed us (sic).” (/d. at 28.) The

first trial ended in a hung jury. Prior to the second

trial, defense counsel moved to dismiss the charges,

citing the change in the strength of Ms. Wagner's

identification of Petitioner during the first trial] and his

concern that she was “obviously going to identify

[Petitioner] as the perpetrator” at the next trial. (RT

3/25/91 at 3-4.) The court denied the motion. (/d. at 8.)

During her testimony at Petitioner’s retrial, Ms.

Wagner positively identified Petitioner. (RT 5/28/91 at

59.)

Petitioner raised the allegations contained in

Claim 17 on direct appeal, citing Nez/ v. Biggers, 409

U.S. 188 (1972), and Manson v. Braithwaite, 432 U.S.

98 (1977). (Opening Br. at 25-26.) The Arizona

8 Pnor to trial, the court held a so-calied Desserau/t hearing

and determined that Ms. Wagner's exposure to a newspaper

photograph was insufficient to taint her in-court identification of

Petitioner. (RT 1/15/91 at 22-27.)

9 Biggers and Brathwaite establish the framework for

evaluating whether an in-court identification has been irreparably

tainted by a pretrial encounter between a witness and an accused.

A court must determine whether the challenged pretrial

(Contunued)

C-2]

Supreme Court held that the claim was waived

because Petitioner did not object prior to trial and

finding, in the alternative, that the fact that Petitioner

sat at the defense table during the prior trial was not

“unduly suggestive.” Gonzales, 181 Ariz. at 510, 892

P.2d at 846.

This is a record-based claim centering on the

reasonableness of the Arizona Supreme Court's

decision. Petitioner does not explain how his proposed

input —i.e., his personal observations of Ms. Wagner’s

courtroom behavior — is relevant to this Court’s

assessment ofthe Arizona Supreme Court's application

of the principles announced in Biggersand Brathwaite.

Petitioner now speculates, however, that a

Brady violation occurred, with the withheld

information explaining why Ms. Wagner was able to

positively identify Petitioner at the second trial.'°

(Dkt. 184 at 12-13.) This contention is meritless. First,

as already noted, Ms. Wagner ultimately made a

positive courtroom identification of Petitioner during

the first trial (RT 1/22/91 at 28), so any contention that

her testimony changed from the first trial to the second

is factually inaccurate. Next, Claim 17, as properly

(Continued).

encounter was suggestive and then examine the totality of the

circumstances, including several specific factors, to determine

whether the witness’s in-court identification is nonetheless

reliable. Brathwaite, 432 U.S. at 114 (citing Biggers, 409 U.S. at

199-200).

10 Under Brady v. Maryland, a defendant's due process

rights are violated if the prosecution fails to disclose evidence that

is “material either to guilt or to punishment.” 373 U.S. 83, 87

(1963).

C-22

exhausted, alleges only that Ms. Wagner's

identification of Petitioner was tainted and unreliable

“{blecause of the suggestive position of [Petitioner]

during the first trial, seated next to defense counsel”

(Dkt. 28 at 77); it does not assert that the real

explanation for Ms. Wagner’s courtroom identification

of Petitioner in the second trial is contained in

material withheld by the State in violation of Brady.

There is no Brady claim before the Court. Finally,

even if, contrary to the legal and factual bases upon

which Claim 17 relies, the Court were to agree that the

claim somehow incorporates an allegation of a Brady

violation, there is no indication that Petitioner's

participation is required to identify or locate

exculpatory material related to this issue. Therefore,

the claim would not potentially benefit from

Petitioner’s competence.

Claims 29, 30, and 34

Claims 29 and 30 challenge the sufficiency of the

evidence supporting the two aggravating factors —

grave risk of harm to others and pecuniary gain —

found by the trial court and affirmed by the Arizona

Supreme Court." (Dkt. 28 at 100-03.) These are

clearly record-based claims. Further evidence,

including personal input from Petitioner, is not

necessary because there is nothing that can be added

to the facts upon which the state courts’ findings were

11 The claums also assert that Petitioner's constitutional

nghts were violated because the factors were found by the court

rather than a jury. (See Dkt. 28 at 101-03.) That challenge is

foreclosed by Schriro v. Summerlin, 542 U.S. 348, 358 (2004).

C-23

based. See Lewis v. Jeffers, 497 U.S. 764, 780 (1990)

(articulating standard for habeas review of state

court’s application of aggravating factor —i.e., whether

any rational factfinder could have determined that the

factor was proved); Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 319,

322 (1979) (this type of claim almost never necessitates

an evidentiary hearing); Bashor v. Risley, 730 F.2d

1228, 1233 (9th Cir. 1984) (“Whether the evidence was

sufficient ... must be determined from a review of the

evidence in the record in the state proceedings. No

evidentiary hearing was required.”)

Claim 34, which asserts that Arizona’s statutory

death penalty scheme unconstitutionally precludes the

sentencer from considering all mitigating evidence,

consists of an exclusively legal issue, for which input

from a layperson is not potentially beneficial. (/d. at

108-09.)

Unexhausted claims and claims not yet raised

Petitioner contends that the Court, in

considering whether to stay the case based on

Petitioner's incompetence under Rohan, should take

into account Petitioner's capacity to assist counsel with

the thirteen unexhausted claims withdrawn from his

amended petition as well as potential and unnamed

new claims. The Court disagrees.

Background

After Petitioner voluntarily withdrew the

unexhausted claims from his habeas petition, he

returned to state court and initiated successive PCR

C-24

proceedings. The state court appointed counsel to

represent Petitioner; however, before a petition was

filed, Petitioner, acting pro se, requested that his

second state PCR proceeding be withdrawn and his

counsel dismissed so that he could proceed pro se in

federal court. The state court ordered a mental health

examination to determine whether Petitioner was

competent to waive counsel. (See Dkt. 102, Ex. 3.) The

court-appointed expert, Dr. Jack Potts, examined

Petitioner and concluded that he was paranoid and

delusional and incompetent to waive counsel. (/d, Ex.

4 at 3.) Dr. Potts also reported that Petitioner refused

to cooperate with him; had Petitioner cooperated, Dr.

Potts’s “opinion would quite possibly have been

different.” (/d.) Based on Dr. Potts’s conclusions, the

court found Petitioner incompetent to waive counsel

and represent himself. U/d., Ex. 9.)

On the day Petitioner’s successive PCR petition

was due, counsel filed a motion to hold the case in

abeyance until Petitioner became competent to assist

counsel in the successive PCR proceeding. (Dkt. 102,

Ex. 11.) The court denied the motion, finding that

there was no right to a competency determination, that

the claim of legal incompetency at the time of trial and

sentencing was not “cognizable in a second PCR

proceeding in this particular case” under Rules 32.1(e)

and (h) and 32.2(b) of the Arizona Rules of Criminal

Procedure, and that even if the claim was cognizable,

counsel had not set forth “sufficient reasons for not

raising the claim in a previous petition or in a timely

manner or demonstrated why defendant’: competency

is essential to filing the prospective second Rule 32

proceeding.” (d., Ex. 12.)

Despite this ruling, in February 2002 counsel for

Petitioner filed a successive PCR petition asserting

four claims, including claims that Petitioner had a

right to assist counsel in a second PCR proceeding,

that he was entitled to an evidentiary hearing to

determine his current competency, and that he was

incompetent at the time of trial and sentencing. (Dkt.

108, Ex. 1.) Counsel did not raise any of the claims

withdrawn from the amended habeas petition. Cd.)

The state court again denied the petition, explaining,

with respect to the third claim, that Petitioner had

failed to present a “colorable claim .. . that newly

discovered evidence shows defendant was iscompetent

to stand trial.” (Id., Ex. 3.) Counsel filed a petition for

review, which the Arizona Supreme Court denied. (/d,,

Ex. 6.)

Analysis

As an initial matter, it is clear that a number of

the thirteen withdrawn claims are record-based and

resolvable as a matter of law, while others, ike Claims

37, 56, and 58, are plainly meritless or non-cognizable.

All of the claims, including those to which a Rohan

analysis may be applicable ~— e.g., Claim 52, alleging

ineffective assistance of counsel at sentencing — remain

unexhausted because they have never presented to the

state court.

Petitioner argues, pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(b)(1(B), that Arizona’s “corrective process

proved to be futile because of Petitioner’s incompetence

in that forum and the state court’s failure to stay the

C-26

proceedings until Petitioner was restored,” and that his

“incompetence should serve to forgive the failure to

exhaust in state court and permit Petitioner to

supplement the amended petition with the withdrawn

claims.”” (Dkts. 184 at 4, 186 at 15.) The Court

disagrees.

Petitioner was not prevented from raising in

state court the thirteen claims withdrawn from his

habeas petition. He noticed the claims but then failed

to raise them in his second PCR petition, which instead

set forth a different set of claims. Thus, counsel could

have pursued and exhausted the withdrawn claims

during Petitioner’s successive PCR proceedings. At

this point, in addition to being unexhausted, the claims

are no longer before this Court. Consequently,

Petitioner's competency to assist counsel with the

claims is irrelevant.

Finally, counsel for Petitioner speculate that

unknown evidence exists that might “support[] a

colorable claim of actual innocence.”'3 (Dkt. 184 at 16.)

12 The Court notes that Petitioner has not moved to amend

his habeas petition to include the withdrawn claims or the new

claims raised in his successive PCR proceedings.

13 Petitioner has not raised an actual innocence claim. Given

the facts of the case, which include Petitioner's suppressed

confession, eyewitness accounts of the attack and of his presence

near the Wagner home, and circumstantial evidence of guilt,

including physical evidence linking him to the crime scene and

reports that, in the immediate aftermath of the attack, Petitioner

returned home with various injuries and in possession of a purse

matching Ms. Wagner’s, the potential for successfully bringing

(Continued)

C-27

In support of this assertion, they argue that Rohan

stands for the proposition that habeas proceedings

must be stayed whenever a petitioner is incompetent,

because a competent petitioner might have information

in support of a claim of actual innocence. (/d.) The

Court rejects this reading, which is inconsistent with

the holdings of both Rohan, 334 F.3d at 819, and

Holmes v. Buss, 506 F.3d at 579-80, each of which

conditions the right to competence on the presence of

claims that can benefit from the petitioner’s ability to

communicate rationally. This analytical framework

would be a nullity under the interpretation advanced

by Petitioner's counsel because any habeas petitioner

found to be incompetent would be entitled to a stay, no

matter the nature of his claims, simply by asserting

that additional, hypothetical information exists that

the petitioner is presently unable to share with

counsel.

CONCLUSION

Claims 9, 13, 17, 29, 30, and 34 are

distinguishable from the claims discussed in Rohan in

that their presentation in these habeas proceedings

cannot benefit from Petitioner’s personal input.

Petitioner's properly-exhausted claims are record-

based and/or resolvable as a matter of law, irrespective

(Continued).

such a claim is minimal. Similarly, taking into account the

volume of the record, the nearly decade-long period between the

trial and Petitioner's claims of incompetence, and the

thoroughness of the amended petition, the Court views with

skepticism the possible existence of undiscovered constitutional

violations.

C-28

of Petitioner’s capacity for rational communication

with counsel.

In addition, as Respondents note, this case is

different from Aohan in that Petitioner’s claim of

incompetence arose several years after he had filed his

amended petition, which set forth the factual bases for

all of his claims; it is also, unlike Rohan, a post-

AEDPA case, so that Petitioner’s claims are subject to

a “substantially higher threshold for habeas relief.”

Schriro v. Landrigan, 127 S. Ct. 1933, 1939-40 (2007).

While these factors are not dispositive, see Aull v.

Ayers, 2008 WL 683422, the Court believes that they

support its decision not to stay these proceedings.

Finally, while the Court has found it

unnecessary to determine whether Petitioner is

unable, as opposed to unwilling, to communicate

rationally with counsel, the Court notes that its review

of the record, including the reports from Petitioner's

recent stay at ASH, shows that Petitioner possesses at

least a limited capacity for rational communication."

Further, the likelihood exists that this capacity can be

maximized through the use of anti-psychotic

medication. Petitioner at one point availed himself of

the opportunity to enhance his capacity for rational

thought and communication through the use of such

'* While Petitioner refused to meet with counsel] in order to

facilitate the progress of these proceedings, he did agree to meet

with mental health experts in support of his motion to determine

competency and stay the proceedings. As discussed above,

Petitioner was at times able to communicate rationally with Drs.

Scherzer and Seward.

C-29

medication. He may choose to do so again. A contrary

decision will not, however, for the reasons set forth

above, forestall these proceedings.

Based on the foregoing,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Petitioner’s

Motion for Competency Determination and to Stay

Proceedings (Dkt. 102) is DENIED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Petitioner

shall file his Merits Memorandum (see Dkt. 97) no

later than June 20, 2008.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if, pursuant to

LRCiv 7.2(g), Petitioner or Respondents file a Motion

for Reconsideration of this Order, such motion shall be

filed within fifteen (15) days of the filing of this Order.

The filing and disposition of such motion does not toll

the time for the filing of the Merits Memorandum.

DATED this 23" day of April, 2008.

/s/

Stephen M. McNamee

United States District Judge

D-|

APPENDIX D

Molly C. Dwyer 415-355-8000

Clerk of Court

Office of the Clerk

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

95 Seventh Street

Post Office Box 193939

San Francisco, California 94119-3939

May 23, 2008

No. 08-72188 Ernest Gonzales v. USDC-AZP

A petition for writ of mandamus and/or

prohibition has been received in the Clerk’s Office of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit. The U.S. Court of Appeals docket number

shown above has been assigned to this case. Always

indicate this docket number when corresponding with

this office about your case.

If the U.S. Court of Appeals docket fee has not

yet been paid, please make immediate arrangements to

do so. If you wish to apply for in forma pauperis

status, you must file a motion for permission to proceed

in forma pauperis with this court.

Pursuant to Rule 21(b), FRAP, no answer to a

petition for writ of mandamus andor prohibition may

be filed unless ordered by the Court. If such an order

is issued, the answer shall be filed by the respondents

within the time fixed by the Court.

D-2

A copy of the docket sheet case title page is

attached. Please take special note of the case caption,

as it may differ from that shown on the paper

submitted for filing. Pursuant to Circuit Rule 21-2, an

application for writ of mandamus and/or prohibition

shall not bear the name of the district court judge

concerned. Rather, the appropriate district court shall

be named as respondent.

Very truly yours,

Molly C. Dwyer

Clerk of Court

E-1

APPENDIX E

FILED

JUN 19 2008

Molly C. Dwyer, Clerk

U.S. Court of Appeals

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ERNEST VALENCIA )

GONZALES, ) No. 08-72188

Petitioner, )

Vv ) D.C. No.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT )

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT ) CV-99-02016-SMM

OF ARIZONA, ) D. Aiz.

Respondent, )

DORA B. SCHRIRO,

Real-party-in-interest.

ORDER

ee ee ad

Before: REINHARDT, BERZON, and M. SMITH,

Circuit Judges

The State’s expert has agreed that Petitioner,

unmedicated, is incompetent. In hght of the serious

legal issue raised and the hardships tipping sharply in

Petitioner's favor, we grant a temporary stay of the

district court’s proceedings pending resolution of

Petitioner's emergency motion for stay of the district

court’s proceedings and an emergency petition for writ

E-2

of mandamus, filed on May 23, 2008.

By July 18, 2008, Petitioner shall file a

supplemental brief, not to exceed 8400 words,

addressing, inter alia, (a) whether this Court has

collateral order jurisdiction to review the district

court’s April 23, 2008 order and, if so, (b) whether the

district court erred in denying a competency hearing

and denying a stay. Real Party in Interest shall, and

the district court may, file a supplemental response of

no more than 8400 words by August 18, 2008.

Petitioner's supplemental reply, not to exceed 4200

words, is due August 29, 2008.

John Pressley Todd, Esq.

ARIZONA ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE

1275 W. Washington Street

Phoenix, AZ. 85007

F-]

APPENDIX F

FILED

JU1 17 2008

Molly C. Dwyer, Clerk

U.S. Court of Appeals

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ERNEST VALENCIA )

GONZALES, ) No. 08-72188

Petitioner, )

v. ) D.C. No. 2:99-cev-

) 02016-SMM

UNITED STATES DISTRICT ) D Ariz.

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT _ )

OF ARIZONA, )

Respondent, )

)

DORA B. SCHRIRO, ) ORDER

Real-party-in-interest. )

)

)

Before: REINHARDT, BERZON, and M. SMITH,

Circuit Judges

Today, we file contemporaneously with this order,

an “Amended Order,” amending our June 19, 2008

order to add citations to two cases; to state that it was

Dr. Seward, he supervising psychologist at the Arizona

State Hospital where Petitioner was transferred at the

State's request for an extended mental health

F-2

assessment, who found that Petitioner, unmedicated,

is incompetent; and to extend the supplemental

briefing due dates by the number of days the State’s

motion for reconsideration was pending. With these

changes to our June 19, 2008 order, we deny the

State’s motion for reconsideration of our order granting

a temporary stay of district court proceedings.

G-1

APPENDIX G

FILED

JU] 17 2008

Molly C. Dwyer, Clerk

U.S. Court of Appeals

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ERNEST VALENCIA )

GONZALES, ) No. 08-72188

Petitioner, )

v. ) D.C. No. 2:99-cv-

) 02016-SMM

UNITED STATES DISTRICT ) D.Ariz.

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT )

OF ARIZONA, )

Respondent, )

) AMENDED

DORA B. SCHRIRO, ) ORDER

Real-party-in-interest. )

)

)

Before: REINHARDT, BERZON, and M. SMITH,

Circuit Judges

We replace our June 19, 2008 order with this

amended order:

Dr. Seward, the supervising psychologist at the

Anzona State Hospital where Petitioner was

transferred at the State’s request for an extended

G-2

mental health assessment, found that Petitioner,

unmedicated, is incompetent.

In hight of the serious legal issues raised and the

hardships tipping sharply in Petitioner's favor, we

grant a temporary stay of the district court’s

proceedings pending resolution of Petitioner’s

emergency motion for stay of the district court’s

proceedings and an emergency petition for writ of

mandamus, filed on May 23, 2008. See Lopez v.

Heckler, 713 F.2d 1432, 1435 (9% Cir. 1983) (the

standard for granting a stay is a continuum; at one end

of the continuum, a stay is warranted if the moving

party demonstrates that serious legal questions are

raised and the balance of hardships tips sharply in its

favor); see also Golden Gate Restaurant Association v.

City and County of San Francisco, 512 F.3d 1112,

1115-16 (9% Cir. 2008).

By August 1, 2008, Petitioner shall file a

supplemental] brief, not to exceed 8400 words,

addressing, inter alia, (a) whether this Court has

collateral order jurisdiction to review the district

court’s April 23, 2008 order and, if so, (b) whether the

district court erred in denying a competency hearing

and denying a stay. Real Party in Interest shall, and

the district court may, file a supplemental response of

no more than 8400 words by September 5, 2008.

Petitioner’s supplemental reply, not to exceed 4200

words, is due September 16, 2008.

H-]

APPENDIX H

FILED

JAN 5 2009

Molly C. Dwyer, Clerk

U.S. Court of Appeals

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

Real party in interest.

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ERNEST VALENCIA )

GONZALES, ) No. 08°72188

Petitioner, )

v. ) D.C. No. 2:99-cev-

) 02016-SMM

UNITED STATES DISTRICT ) D Ariz.

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT )

OF ARIZONA, )

Respondent, ) SECOND

) AMENDED

DORA B. SCHRIRO, ) ORDER

)

)

)

Before: REINHARDT, BERZON, and M. SMITH,

Circuit Judges

The district court’s independent medical expert

found that Petitioner, unmedicated, is incompetent. In

light of the serious legal issues raised and the

hardships tipping sharply in Petitioner’s favor, we

grant a temporary stay of the district court’s

proceedings pending resolution of Petitioner's

H-2

emergency motion for stay of the district court’s

proceedings and an emergency petition for wrt of

mandamus, filed on May 23, 2008. See Lopez v.

Heckler, 713 F.2d 1432, 1435 (9% Cir. 1983) (the

standard for granting a stay is a continuum; at one end

of the continuum, a stay is warranted if the moving

party demonstrates that serious legal questions are

raised and the balance of hardships tip sharply in its

favor); see also Golden Gate Restaurant Association v.

City and County of San Francisco, 512 F.3d 1112,

1115-16 (9% Cir. 2008).

Because NasA& v. Schriro, No. 06-99007, and Adams

v. Schriro, No. 07-99018, involve related issues that

are likely to affect our decision in the present case, the

proceeding in the Court of Appeals are stayed pending

resolution of Nash and Adams.

IL-1

APPENDIX I

Court of Appeals Docket #: 08-72188 Docketed: |

05/23/2008 |

| Ernest Gonzales v. USDC-AZP Termed: |

10/20/2010 |

| Appeal From: U.S. District Court for |

| Arizona, Phoenix

Fee Status: IFP Pending In COA

| Case Type Information:

} 1) original proceeding

2) mandamus/prohibition

3) null

ee

| 05/23/2008 §~ FILED EMERGENCY PETITION |

| : FOR WRIT OF MANDAMUS AND |

APPENDIX 1-24. DOCKETED |

| CAUSE AND ENTERED |

|

2 pg. 129.96 KB

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL.

NOTIFIED REAL PARTIES IN

INTEREST OF FILING.--[Edited

05/23/2008 by BY] (BY)

—_

| 05/23/2008 r| | Filed Petitioner Ernest Valencia

a Gonzales emergency motion for

| stay of District Court proceedings

| pending determination of

| emergency petition for writ of

|

|

{

‘

|

|

mandamus asserting incompetent |

Capital Petitioner cannot proceed |

in Habeas Under Rohan ex rel.

Gates v. Woodford; served on

05/22/2008. (BY) |

05/23/2008 J~ Ly Filed Petitioner Ernest Valencia

3 Gonzales motion to proceed In

Forma Pauperis. Served on

I-2

|

06/11/2008 f-

|

| 06/12/2008 [-

06/16/2008 [-

06/19/2008 [-

2 pg. 29.11 KB

|

|

|

|

|

05/22/2008. (BY)

Received Petitioner Ernest

Valencia Gonzales supplement to

emergency petition for writ of

mandamus and emergency motion

for stay of district court

proceedings pending

determination of emergency

petition for writ of mandamus and

notice of distrcit court's denial of

permission to appeal. Served on

06/10/2008 (MT)

Filed Real Party in Interest Dora

B. Schnro 's response opposing

Emergency Motion to stay lower

court action. Served on 06/12/2008.

(PA)

Filed Petitioner Ernest Valencia

Gonzales's (Electronic and Fax)

Reply to Respondent's Response to

Emergency Petition for Writ of

Mandamus; served on 06/16/2008.

(DP-Staff/Atty) (PA)

Filed order (STEPHEN R.

REINHARDT, MARSHA S.

BERZON and MILAN D. SMITH,

JR.) The State's expert has agreed

that Petitoner, unmedicated, is

incompetent. in light of the serious

legal issues raised and the

hardships tipping sharply in

Petitioner's favor, we grant a

temporary stay of the district

court's proceedings pending

resolution of Petitioner's

emergency motion for stay of the

district court's proceedings and an

_

I-35

ee Se

07/03/2008 [-

07/03/2008 [~

07/17/2008 f-

1 pg. 24 KB

emergency petition for writ of

mandamus, filed on 5/23/08......

(See

ORDER){Faxed/Served/Phoned

Csl] (PA)

Deleted Incorrect Docket Entry.

(MT)

ENTRY UPDATED. Filed

Respondent USDC-AZP motion for

reconsideration. (DP-Staff/Atty).

Served on 07/02/2008.--[Edited

07/14/2008 by HH]: ENTRY

UPDATED to reflect the

respondent is Dora B. Schriro.

(MT)

Filed order (STEPHEN R.

REINHARDT, MARSHA S.

BERZON and MILAN PD SMITH,

JR.)Today, we file

contemporaneously with this

order, an "Amended Order,”

amending our June 19, 2008 order

to add citations to two cases; to

state that it was Dr. Seward, the

supervising psychologist at the

Arizona State Hospital where

Petitioner was transferred at the

State's request for an extended

mental health assessment, who

found that Petitioner,

unmedicated, is incompetent; and

to extend the supplemental

briefing due dates by the number

of days the State's motion for

reconsideration was pending. With

these changes to our June 19, 2008

order, we deny the State's motion

for reconsideration of our order

1-4

— oon

granting a temporary stay of

district court proceedings.

(Phoned/Faxed/Served Csi) (PA)

07/17/2008 f,- Filed AMENDED order

Li (STEPHEN R. REINHARDT,

MARSHA S. BERZON and MILAN

D. SMITH) We replace our June

19, 2008 order with this amended

order: Dr. Seward, the supervising

psychologist at the Arizona State

Hospital where Petitioner was

transferred at the State's request

for an extended mental health

assessment, found that Petitioner,

unmedicated, is incompetent. In

hght of the serious legal issues

raised and the hardships tipping

sharply in Petitioner's favor, we

grant a temporary stay of the

district court's proceedings

pending resolution of Petitioner's |

emergency motion for stay of the |

district court's proceedings and an

emergency petition for writ of

mandamus, filed on May 23, 2008.

See Lopez v. Heckler, 713 F.2d

1432, 1435 (9th Cir. 1983) (the

standard for granting a stay is a

continuum: at one end of the

continuum, a stay 1s warranted if

the moving party demonstrates |

that serious legal questions are |

raised and the balance of |

hardships taps sharply in its favor); |

see also Golden Gate Restaurant

Association v. City and County of |

San Francisco, 512 F.3d 1112, |

4

2 pg. 35.33 KB

1115-16 (9th Cir. 2008). By August

1, 2008, Petitioner shall file a

1-5

a ote = oy

= ee

ee ----- + — —_——-~. 2

supplemental brief, not to exceed

8400 words, addressing, inter alia, |

(a) whether this Court has

collateral order jurisdiction to

review the district court's April 23, |

2008 order and, if so, (b) whether

the district court erred in denying

a competency hearing and denying

a stay. Real Party in Interest shall,

and the district court may, file a

supplemental response of no more

than 8400 words by September 5,

2008. Petationer's supplemental

reply, not to exceed 4200 words, is

due September 16, 2008.

(phone/faxe/served csl) (PA)

07/18/2008 [- Received Petitioner Ernest

12 Valencia Gonzales supplemental

bnef with appendix. Served on

07/17/2008. (Per Petitioner's Csl on

7/18/08, DOCUMENT IS

DISREGARDED [see 7/17/08

Amended Order]}) (PA)

08/0/2008 [~ Filed origmal and 4 copies of

13 Petitoner Ernest Valencia

Gonmeales's supplmental brief of 36 |

pages or 8,389 words with attached

exhibits. Served on 7/31/08. (DP-

Staff/Arny) (Pa)

OB/28/2008 [~ Filed @rigmmal and copies of

! TS Respondent USDC-AZP

supplmental response bnef of 10

pages pursuant to Court's Order

filed on 7/17/08. Served

electronically om @8/28/2008. (Orag

and copies to be followed by mail.)-

(9/8/08 Rev'd Ong amd additional

copies. of USDC's Supplemental

ee me ee + ee ee ue aaa s oo

a ee = ee meen ce

= _)

1-6

09/05/2008 f-

09/16/2008 [- an

123 pg. 2.7 MB

01/05/2009 [-

Response Brief} (PA)

Filed original and 15 copies of

Respondent -RPI's supplmental

brief of 30 pages or 6692 words in

Opposition to Petiion for Writ of

Mandamus. Served on 09/04/2008.

(DP-Staff/Atty) (PA)

Submitted (ECF) Reply brief for

review and filed Motion to file

oversized bref. Submitted by

Petitioner Ernest Valencia

Gonzales. Date of service:

09/16/2008. [6647684] (LM)

Filed order (STEPHEN R.

REINHARDT, MARSHA S.

BERZON and MILAN D. SMITH,

JR.)The district court's

inéependent medical expert found

that Petitioner, unmedicated, is

imconmmpetent. In hight of the serious

legal issues raised and the

hardships tipping sharply in

Petitioner's favor, we grant a

temporary stay of the district

court's proceedings pending

resolution of Petitioner's

emergency motion for stay of the

district court's proceedings and an

emergency petition for writ of

mandamus. filed on May 23, 2008.

See Lopez v. Heckler, 713 F.2d

1432, 1435 (9th Cir. 1983) (the

standard for granting a stay is a

continuum: at one end of the

continuum, a stay is warranted if

the moving party demonstrates

that serious legal questions are

raised and the balance of

—

J-7

ques eee

- a

04/28/2010 ;~-

5 pg, 39.38 KB

05/11/2010 [-

19

4 pg. 1205 KB

| 10/20/2010 ¢-

14 pg, 428 69 KB

hardships tap sharply in its favor);

see also Golden Gate Restaurant |

Association v. City and County of

San Francisco, 512 F.3d 1112,

1115-16 (9th Cir. 2008). Because

Nash v. Schriro, No. 06-99007, and

Adams v. Schniro, No. 07-99018,

involve related issues that are

hkely to affect our decision in the

present case, the proceedings 1n

the Court of Appeals are stayed

pending resolution of Nash and

Adams. (PA)

Filed (ECF) Respondent Dora B.

Schriro Correspondence: Request

for a Ruling on the Pending 2008

Writ of Mandamus. Date of service:

04/28/2010 [7317441] (JPT)

Filed (ECF) Petitioner Ernest

Valencia Gonzales response to

motion (). Date of service:

05/11/2010. [7332598] (LM)

FILED OPINION (STEPHEN R.

REINHARDT, MARSHA S.

BERZON and MILAN D. SMITH,

JR.) The petition for a writ of

mandamus is GRANTED. FILED

AND ENTERED JUDGMENT.

[7515279] (RP)

tittiidiperarementeinmmseenenntiiieimanlials

J-]

APPENDIX J

18 U.S.C.A. § 3599

(a)(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to

the contrary, in every criminal action in which a

defendant is charged with a crime which may be

punishable by death, a defendant who is or becomes

financially unable to obtain adequate representation or

investigative, expert, or other reasonably necessary

services at any time either--

(A) before judgment: or

(B) after the entry of a judgment imposing a sentence

of death but before the execution of that judgment:

shall be entitled to the appointment of one or more

attorneys and the furnishing of such other services in

accordance with subsections (b) through (f).

(2) In any post conviction proceeding under section

2254 or 2255 of title 28, United States Code, seeking to

vacate or set aside a death sentence, any defendant

who is or becomes financially unable to obtain

adequate representation or investigative, expert, or

other reasonably necessary services shall be entitled to

the appointment of one or more attorneys and the

furnishing of such other services in accordance with

subsections (b) through (f).

(b) If the appointment is made before judgment, at

least one attorney so appointed must have been

admitted to practice in the court in which the

J-2

prosecution is to be tried for not less than five years,

and must have had not less than three years

experience in the actual trial of felony prosecutions in

that court.

(c) If the appointment is made after judgment, at least

one attorney so appointed must have been admitted to

practice in the court of appeals for not less than five

years, and must have had not less than three years

experience in the handling of appeals in that court in

felony cases.

(d) With respect to subsections (b) and (c), the court, for

good cause, may appoint another attorney whose

background, knowledge, or experience would otherwise

enable him or her to properly represent the defendant,

with due consideration to the seriousness of the

possible penalty and to the unique and complex nature

of the litigation.

(e) Unless replaced by similarly qualified counsel upon

the attorney’s own .wwotion or upon motion of the

defendant, each attorney so appointed shall represent

the defendant throughout every subsequent stage of

available judicial proceedings, including pretrial

proceedings, trial, sentencing, motions for new trial,

appeals, applications for writ of certiorari to the

Supreme Court of the United States, and all available

post-conviction process, together with applications for

stays of execution and other appropriate motions and

procedures, and shall also represent the defendant in

such competency proceedings and proceedings for

executive or other clemency as may be available to the

defendant.

(f) Upon a finding that investigative, expert, or other

services are reasonably necessary for the

representation of the defendant, whether in connection

with issues relating to guilt or the sentence, the court

may authorize the defendant's attorneys to obtain such

services on behalf of the defendant and, if so

authorized, shall order the payment of fees and

expenses therefor under subsection (g). No ex parte

proceeding, communication, or request may be

considered pursuant to this section unless a proper

showing is made concerning the need for

confidentiality. Any such proceeding, communication,

or request shall be transcribed and made a part of the

record available for appellate review.

(g)(1) Compensation shall be paid to attorneys

appointed under this subsection at a rate of not more

than $125 per hour for in-court and out-of-court time.

The Judicial Conference is authorized to raise the

maximum for hourly payment specified in the

paragraph up to the aggregate of the overall average

percentages of the adjustments in the rates of pay for

the General Schedule made pursuant to section 5305 of

title 5 on or after such date. After the rates are raised

under the preceding sentence, such hourly range may

be raised at intervals of not less than one year, up to

the aggregate of the overall average percentages of

such adjustments made since the last raise under this

paragraph.

(2) Fees and expenses paid for investigative, expert,

and other reasonably necessary services authorized

under subsection (f) shall not exceed $7,500 in any

J-4

case, unless payment in excess of that limit is certified

by the court, or by the United States magistrate judge,

if the services were rendered in connection with the

case disposed of entirely before such magistrate judge,

as necessary to provide fair compensation for services

of an unusual character or duration, and the amount of

the excess payment is approved by the chief judge of

the circuit. The chief judge of the circuit may delegate

such approval authority to an active or senior circuit

judge.

(3) The amounts paid under this paragraph for services

in any case shall be disclosed to the public, after the

disposition of the petition.

OPPOSITION

BRIEF

No. 10-930

_—_ —_

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

CHARLES L. RYAN, Director,

Arizona Department of Corrections,

Petitioner,

v.

ERNEST VALENCIA GONZALES,

Respondent.

On PETITION FOR A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

States Court oF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Jon M. Sanps

FEDERAL PUBLIC DEFENDER

LETICIA MARQUEZ*

Trmotrnuy M. GABRIELSEN

OFFICE OF THE FEDERAL PUBLIC DEFENDER

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

407 West Congress Street, Suite 501

Tucson, Arizona 85701

(520) 879-7614

Leticia_ Marquez@fd.org

Counsel for Respondent

*Counsel of Record

<<

se ae nema em eS ore eran een

g

COUNSEL PRESS

(800) 274-3321 * (B00) 859-6859

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether certiorari should be denied where the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari overlooks this Court’s

precedent and the Common Law and only seeks error

correction of an interlocutory decision, the foundation of

which is Judge Kozinski’s methodical Rohan* decision,

with which no circuit has disagreed.

* Rohan ex. rel. Gates v. Woodford, 334 F.3d 803 (9th Cir.

2003)

22

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ....

pe es eee

py) OF he Ny 4)) ® - Ree

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ...........

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................

A. District Court Proceedings..............

B. Circuit Court Proceedings............ or

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT............

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ...

I. THE CASE DOES NOT MEET

THIS COURT’S STANDARDS FOR

REVIEW UNDER SUPREME

COURT RULES 10, 11,AND15.........

A. This case is not ripe for review .......

B. Petitioner does not present compelling

SE I UE 5 ccc cccccseccdeces

C. Respondent’s claims are not record-

based; this is merely a factual dispute. .

II.

Ill.

i120

Table of Contents

THE OPINION BELOW IS NOT IN

CONFLICT WITH ANY FEDERAL

STATUTES, DECISIONS OF THIS

COURT, DECISIONS OF THE

COURTS OF APPEALS OR OTHER

LONG-STANDING PRECEDENT,

INCLUDING THE COMMON LAV .....

A. The Circuit’s Opinion is consistent

with this Court’s precedent.........

1. Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S. 312

(1966) (Rees J) and Rees v. Peyton,

386 U.S. 989 (1967) (Rees IT) .....

2. Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399

a exbtreekaccceweussensnss

B. There is no conflict in the circuits.....

C. The Opinion is consistent with the

INL bc ctevensecéeeeesancs

D. The Opinion does not undermine the

AEDPA or 18 U.S.C. § 3599(a)(2) .....

PETITIONER’S CLAIM THAT THE

CIRCUIT COURT’S OPINION HAS

CAUSED SIGNIFICANT DELAYS

ACROSS THE CIRCUITS IS LEGALLY

AND FACTUALLY ERRONEOUS ......

Page

iv

Table of Contents

IV. CERTIORARI SHOULD NOT BE

GRANTED BECAUSE PETITIONER

FAILED TO RAISE SEVERAL POLICY

ARGUMENTS IN THE LOWER

COURT; NONETHELESS THOSE

ARGUMENTS ARE MERITLESS ...... 29

A. Petitioner’s failure to raise arguments

PE SE i kkcceccdcdéenceues 29

B. The Opinion does not create an

equal protection dilemma........... 30

C. The Opinion does not undermine

the “Next Friend” practice .......... 31

GED 6064-00 adh éeeedescisnencocenses 34

Vv

TABLE OF APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

Petitioner’s Motion for Competency

Determination and to Stay Proceedings, No.

99-CV-02016 (D. Ariz. February 23, 2006)... ..

APPENDIX B

Order Denying Motion for Reconsideration, No.

99-CV-02016 (D. Ariz. January 17, 2007).......

APPENDIX C

Status Conference Transcript, No. 99-CV-

02016, (D. Ariz. October 15, 2007) ............

APPENDIX D

Order Denying Permission to Appeal,

No. 99-CV-02016 (D. Ariz. June, 10, 2008). .....

Page

vi

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

CASES

Awkal v. Mitchell,

174 Fed. Appx. 248 (6th Cir. 2006) ............

Anderson v. Commonwealth,

ee Pe GG Es ove oesccctecececss

Anderson v. Kentucky,

ee ED 6 65 SA w RCA dead onwseeeks nas

Anderson v. Kentucky,

ee SIE é-Lccbawuceeusaseesseas

Astoria Federal Sav. & Loan Association v.

Salimino,

I a Cn De 8 a Saal nae

Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and

Enginemen v. Bangor & Aroostock R.R. Co.,

PI 6 oGducsbenvceacuracescess

Bolarinwa v. Williams,

ee ee ee ee Gn Ic oo ccc cctecccensess

Bracy v. Gramley,

oe nh I

California v. Rooney,

ND di i i aU aie

vit

Cited Authorities

Carter v. Bradshaw,

583 F. Supp. 2d 872 (N.D. Ohio 2008)......

Clayton v. Roper,

515 F.3d 784 (8th Cir. 2008) ..............

Crawford v. Washington,

SED We PE < occccccceoseseccesses

Cunningham v. California,

BP Ss GED ocr cccctuccceceeceses

Deck v. Missouri,

BOS UE, Ga Ge «ccc cccccsvocvcceses

Ferguson v. Sec’y for Department of Correct.,

580 F.3d 1183 (11th Cir. 2009) ............

Ford v. Wainwright,

Gee SEED ove seecuwvecscocscces

Gillespie v. U.S. Steele Corp.,

PP a DEP sok onececncessicseses

In re Gonzales,

623 F.3d 1242 (9th Cir. 2010).............

Holland v. Florida,

130 S. Ct. 2649 (2010)... cece eee eeee

viii

Cited Authorities

Holmes v. Buss,

506 F.3d 576 (7th Cir. 2007).............

Holmes v. Levenhagen,

600 F.3d 756 (7th Cir. 2010) .............

Irwin v. Department of Veterans Affairs,

GB Us SGD < ccc cccccsccccccncess

Martinez-Villareal v. Stewart,

118 F.3d 625 (9th Cir. 1997), affd,

SED Welds Ge CURD ccc ccc ccccccccccces

Mata v. Johnson,

210 F.3d 324 (5th Cir. 2000) .............

Mines v. Dretke,

118 Fed. Appx. 806 (5th Cir. 2004) .......

Murray v. Giarratano,

gO Tere ee

Nash v. Ryan,

581 F.3d 1048 (9th Cir. 2009)............

Pace v. DiGuglielmo,

BOG Uh, GE GI oc cc cccccvccccnceess

Paul v. United States,

534 F.3d 832 (8th Cir. 2008).............

ae

Cited Authorities

Pierce v. Blaine,

467 F.3d 362 (3d Cir. 2006)...............

Pollard v. United States,

ee SE OED 6 own decisis cnseeesiaane

Porter v. Singletary,

49 F.3d 1483 (ilth Cir. 1995) .............

Rees v. Peyton,

ee es ED 96 6600 6 Ki wee w an nde’s

Rees v. Peyton,

ee POD hans cand Uasécdn sowie

Rees v. Superintendent of Virginia State

Penitentiary,

Se EEE 96 Se bd sed dacawnndeaes

Rohan ex. rel. Gates v. Woodford,

334 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2003), cert denied,

OEP Wis BOR GED och cp cececksccessasis

Ross v. Moffitt,

Gee ED feo K cdRR ie iWadecsedéas

Rumbaugh v. Procunier,

753 F.2d 395 (5th Cir. 1985)..............

Slack v. McDaniel,

St Se OP ED 8 Ss. wh ecw de wedvaseneds

x

Cited Authorities

Page

State v. Gonzales,

EE | re ee 1

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of

America v. United States,

GR SE Pr ee 30

Ward v. Norris,

S77 F.3d 925 (6th Cir. 2009)... .....cccccccess 19

Whitmore v. Arkansas,

a a ne weeee 31

Youakim v. Miller,

de i ce cushion eueeeaws 30

DOCKETED CASES

Blair James Nelson) v. Cullen,

No. CV 99-6859, 2010 WL 5563896

ae Gs I ceca ebucaesence 27

Gonzales v. Schriro,

No. CV-99-02016 (D. Ariz.) ............00005- 28

Hill v. Ayers, .

No. 4-94-CV-641, 2008 WL 683422

(N.D. Cal. Mawel 10, S008)... 0. ccc cccwccccece 27-28

Holt v. Woodford,

1:97-CV-06210 (B.D. Cal. Nov. 21, 2008) ....... 29

xi

Cited Authorities

Page

Jones v. Wong,

2:97-C V-02167 (E.D. Cal. Aug. 28, 2009) ....... 29

Lewis v. Ayers,

No. CIV S-02-0013, 2010 WL 364504

Se ee IS 6.6 6 6 ke hawk dec ueakes 27

McPeters v. Ayers,

1:95-CV-05108 (E.D. Cal. Sept. 18, 2007)....... 29

Millwee v. Ayers,

2:99-CV-07220 (C.D. Cal. Nov. 21, 2008) ....... 29

Rogers v. McDaniel,

No. 3:02-CV-0342, 2008 WL 820088

Se Se I I sd ch cdcescwxeenass 27

STATUTES

i ioe Sie et he ee bedeetua passim

Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of

1996 (AEDPA), Pub. L. No. 104-132, 110 Stat.

IEP OTT ETS ee eer oes 23, 24, 25

RULES

a Ferrer ee Ter re rere Ter 5, 7, 8

RET ETEE. k a cndsanacdueeeencicucsseacentedy 5, 6

PECAN 64040 6cck Kenaccedcouandesb an ean 5, 10

rrr

Cited Authorities

Page

MISCELLANEOUS

1 Sir Matthew Hale, The History Of The

Pleas Of The Crown, 34-35 (Prof’l

ED so cae ceecueseacews 22

4 Sir William Blackstone, Commentaries

on the Laws of England, 24-25,

SE on ccc cuca ccueemennes 22

Sir John Hawles, Remarks on the Trial of Mr.

Charles Bateman (1719), reprinted in 11 State

Trials 473, 476 (T.B. Howell ed., 1811) ......... 22

]

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Introduction And Summary Of Procedural History

A. District Court Proceedings.

Respondent was convicted of first degree murder

and sentenced to death in 1992. State v. Gonzales, 892

P.2d 838, 849 (Ariz. 1995). The Office of the Federal

Public Defender has represented Respondent since

November 30, 1999. Since that time, Respondent’s ability

to communicate rationally with counsel has incrementally

declined to the point where it has become non-existent.

While the case sat idle in the district court for a number

of years, counsel regularly attempted communication with

Respondent with little or no success.

During this time, state habeas was sought to

exhaust claims for the habeas proceedings. Pet. App. B

at 3. On April 19, 2001, the state post-conviction court

ordered an evaluation to determine whether Respondent

was competent to proceed in his state post-conviction

proceedings. Pet. App. B at 3. Ultimately, the state court

ruled that state law did not require a post-conviction

petitioner to be competent to proceed. Pet. App. B at 3.

The district court then ordered merits briefing and

evidentiary development on a number of issues the court

found were properly exhausted. Pet. App. B at 4-5. At

that point, based on their knowledge and understanding

of Respondent’s condition, habeas counsel] for Respondent

had no choice but to move for a determination of

competency pursuant to Rohan ex rel. Gates v. Woodford,

334 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2003). Resp’t. App. A.

2

Initially, the district court and Petitioner conceded

that Respondent had in fact “identified claims where

[Respondent] potentially will provide beneficial assistance

during briefing of the remaining issues and cited,” a claim

of judicial] bias.'! Resp’t. App. B at 12A, Resp’t. App. C at

15A.

Shortly before a Rohan hearing was to be held,

Respondent was ordered moved by the district court,

at the urging of Petitioner, to a state mental hospital

for an extensive evaluation. Pet. App. A at 3. The state

doctors agreed with Respondent’s counsel’s expert that

Respondent suffered from psychosis and was “unable to

communicate rationally for any extended period of time,

such as would be required by a legal proceeding.” Pet.

App. A at 3 (emphasis added). The district court then

inexplicably ordered additional briefing and reversed its

finding that Respondent’s claims could potentially benefit

from his assistance. Pet. App. C at 27-8. The district court

also ordered merits briefing of Respondent’s additional

claims. Pet. App. C at 29.

Respondent moved the district court for a stay of the

merits briefing and permission to appeal its decision, and

the district court denied both. Resp’t. App. D.

B. Circuit Court Proceedings.

With a merits briefing date approaching, Respondent

moved the Circuit Court for an emergency stay of the

1. Petitioner made that concession at an October 15, 2007,

hearing (“... and obviously there are some [issues] that they need

Mr. Gonzales to answer...”). Resp’t. App. C.

3

merits briefing and filed an Emergency Petition for Writ of

Mandamus requesting review of the district court’s order.

Pet. App. at I-l1. The request for a writ of mandamus

arose from a series of inconsistent district court rulings

that culminated in the denial of Respondent’s request

for a determination of competency, as set forth above.

Rather than proceeding as a nominal party, the district

court personally filed its own opposition to Respondent’s

emergency stay petition. Pet. App. H.

Citing the state hospital’s assessment that Respondent

is incompetent when unmedicated, the Circuit Court

granted Respondent’s request for a temporary stay of

the merits briefing and ordered supplemental briefing.

Pet. App. G. Respondent’s proceedings were then stayed

pending the outcome of two cases raising Rohan claims

which were later consolidated. Pet. App. F. After the

consolidated case was decided, the Circuit Court issued

the decision in this matter. Pet. App. A.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

{Note: Although the Circuit Court cited Nash

v. Ryan, 581 F.3d 1048 (9th Cir. 2009), in its

limited decision to remand Respondent for a

determination of competency, the basis for its

decision is Judge Alex Kozinski’s unanimous

opinion in Rohan ex. rel. Gates v. Woodford,

334 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2003). Because Petitioner

is using this case to attack the Rohan decision

and refers to Rohan and the instant case

interchangeably, Respondent will address the

Rohan decision in this Brief in Opposition.

The Nash Opinion is inapt and nonetheless

4

irrelevant, as it addresses only the limited issue

of competency on appeal.]

Petitioner seeks to have the Court correct what it

perceives to be a legal error in an interlocutory appeal.

Yet, a final judgment could obviate the need for review, as

Respondent’s competency has yet to be determined. As is

evidenced by Petitioner’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

the true object of his rancor is the Rohan decision itself,

a case in which this Court has already denied review.

Woodford v. Rohan, 540 U.S. 1069 (2003).

Petitioner accuses Judge Kozinski of basing Rohan

on “flawed policy grounds, creating a right out of thin air”

that aids delay tactics, and causing disparate treatment

of the financially stable habeas petitioner. Pet. at 3, 7, 18.

Nothing however could be further from the truth. This

case involves a straight-forward application of the prior

decisions of this Court, including Rees v. Peyton, 384 U.S.

312 (1966) (Rees J), Rees v. Peyton, 386 U.S. 989 (1967)

(Rees I), and Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986).

Petitioner presents no compelling reasons warranting

this Court’s review. In finding a right to be competent

at habeas corpus, Judge Kozinski faithfully applied well-

settled principles of habeas corpus jurisprudence and the

Common Law. The unanimous Rohan Opinion neither

conflicts with the precedent of this Court nor with the

decisions of other circuits. In addition, the impact of the

Rohan decision on capital habeas proceedings has proven

to be minimal. The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should

therefore be denied.

5

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. THE CASE DOES NOT MEET THIS COURT’S

STANDARDS FOR REVIEW UNDER SUPREME

COURT RULES 10, 11, AND 15.

A. This case is not ripe for review.

This Court should not accept jurisdiction because

of the possibility that Respondent may be incompetent,

without the district court first determining that question.

The Court is being asked to decide a claim that is not yet

ripe.

The Circuit Court granted Respondent’s emergency

petition for writ of mandamus and lifted the temporary

stay it had ordered of the district court’s proceedings. Pet.

App. A. (dn re Gonzales, 623 F3d. 1242 (9th Cir. 2010)).

The district court must now hold a competency hearing

to determine whether Respondent can meaningfully

communicate with counsel. No final order has been issued

in this case.

This Court very rarely grants review of a non-

final order because doing so may induce inconvenience,

litigation costs, and delay in determining ultimate justice.

Gillespie v. U.S. Steele Corp., 379 U.S. 148, 152-53 (1964).

Petitioner failed to address why this Court should take the

exceptional step of granting certiorari review of a non-

final order. Certiorari is only appropriate if a case “is of

such imperative public importance as to justify deviation

from normal appellate practice and to require immediate

determination in this Court.” Sup. Ct. R. 11; see also Bhd.

of Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen v. Bangor &

6

Aroostock R.R. Co., 389 U.S. 327, 328 (1967) (per curiam)

(denying certiorari where petitioner sought review of an

adverse court of appeals’ ruling because the case had

been remanded to the district court and therefore, was

not ripe for review). Review is also unnecessary because

this case is not far-reaching enough to be of “imperative

public importance.” Sup. Ct. R. 11.

Petitioner fears that if Respondent is incompetent that

will result in an indefinite stay of proceedings. However,

Respondent has yet to be determined incompetent. If

Respondent were found competent in the district court,

habeas proceedings would continue and this would

negate the need for any action by this Court. Not only

has Respondent not been determined incompetent, but

the district court noted that the mental health reports

offered in that court were conflicting with respect to

competency. Pet. App. at C-3. Even if Respondent is

found incompetent, review is further premature because

he would not be entitled to a permanent, indefinite stay

of proceedings. Respondent was already treated with

psychotropic medication at the state hospital, with some

success. This may indicate that even if found incompetent,

Respondent may later regain competency, allowing the

habeas proceedings to continue. Therefore, Petitioner’s

request for certiorari is based on speculation and

hypotheticals.

In sum, the specter of an indefinite stay, argued by

Petitioner, is simply too far removed from the present

litigation to justify immediate intervention by this Court.

Petitioner’s fear of an indefinite stay will only come to

fryition if Respondent is found incompetent; if the district

eourt and the Circuit Court choose not to pursue the

7

appointment of a next friend; and, if Respondent does not

regain competency. “Too many ‘ifs’ must come to pass

before this Court’s review is appropriate. California v.

Rooney, 483 U.S. 307, 313 (1987) (per curiam) (dismissing

review as improvidently granted because the State

argued too many “ifs” and “(elven if everything the

prosecution fears comes to bear, the State will still have

the opportunity to appeal such an order, and this Court

will have the chance to review it”).

The issues raised in Petitioner’s request for certiorari

are not, and may never be, ripe. Because no final order

has issued, and because the issues Petitioner now appeals

may disappear entirely once a final order is issued, this

Court’s review is premature.

B. Petitioner does not present compelling reasons

for review.

Petitioner does not present any compelling reason for

this Court to grant certiorari. Judge Kozinski’s Rohan

Opinion, upon which this decision is based, applied well-

settled principles of habeas corpus jurisprudence and the

Common Law, and did not create a conflict with decisions

frem other circuits or contravene the precedent of this

Court, or otherwise involve a question of exceptional

importance. See Sup. Ct. R. 10.

Thus, the case has not so far departed from “the

accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings” as to

call for this Court’s exercise of its supervisory power.

Sup. Ct. R. 10(a). In fact, the Rohan Opinion relied on

jurisprudence extending back to the English Common

Law for support on judicial practice in capital cases, and

8

found that the right to be competent was crucial to allow

a defendant to defend himself where the punishment was

the death penalty. 334 F.3d at 807-09.

Petitioner has presented no sound reason to distinguish

this case from the many capital cases where state officials

request error correction from this Court based solely on

their disagreement with the conclusion of a lower court.

This Court’s burden and responsibilities are too great to

review and correct every alleged misstep made by a lower

court. See Sup. Ct. R. 10. (This Court will rarely grant

review where the lower court has arguably misapplied

“a properly stated rule of law”). Otherwise, the Court

becomes just another court of appeals, contrary to its

mission. “[{This Court’s] review is discretionary and

depends on numerous factors other than the perceived

correctness of the judgment we are asked to review.” Ross

v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600, 616-17 (1974).

Finally, the Court need not accept this appeal because

it fails to concern an important matter of federal law that

“has not been, but should be, settled by this Court.” Sup.

Ct. R. 10(c). As set forth in Argument III infra, there are

not enough decided cases in the lower federal courts for

this claim to rise to the level of broad national significance.

C. Respondent’s claims are not record-based; this

is merely a factual dispute.

The Circuit Court ruled that although Respondent’s

claims were “record-based or legal in nature, he [was]

entitled to a stay pending a competency determination”

under Rohan. Pet. App. at A-2. The court specifically

found, at a minimum, that Respondent’s counsel could

9

benefit from Respondent’s “first-hand insight into the

earlier proceedings,” which only a competent petitioner

would be able to provide. Pet. App. at A-5. The Circuit

Court identified Respondent’s judicial bias claim as one

requiring rational communication between attorney

and client because Respondent, like Nash, had been

represented by many attorneys over time, including 11 at

trial and sentencing, he represented himself for a portion

of that time, and he was needed to explain events so

counsel would understand their “significance and context.”

Pet. App. at A-5

Regrettably, while the Circuit Court stated that federal

habeas counsel could benefit from rational communication

with Respondent with respect to his claims, all of which

the court described as “record-based or legal in nature,”

not all of Respondent’s claims fall into that category. As

noted in the Statement of the Case, supra, Respondent

demonstrated to the satisfaction of the district court

that his judicial bias claim was not solely record-based, a

point conceded by Petitioner in the district court but not

addressed in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari. Resp’t.

App. B

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — Ryan v. Valencia Gonzales · 568 U.S. 57 | Frix