Amicus Curiae Brief — Camreta v. Greene
Supreme Court brief2011
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
| supreme oun, t)
Pitt
j
DEC 17 2610 |
1] 9 | OE HICE OF PH CLL KE |
Nos. 09-1454 and 09-1478
In the Supreme Court of the United States
bon CAMEETA, PETITIONER
ss
AKAHOGRE ENE. PERSONALLY ANDAS NEXT ERIEND
bok S.4., A MINOR, AND K.G.. A MINOR
IAMES ALFORD, DEPUTY SHERIFF, DESCHUTES
CLOUNTY, OREGON, PETITIONER
f
SARAH GREENE, ET AS
ON WRITS OF CRERTIORAN]
LOTHE UNITED STATES COURT OF ALPIEAT
ROK THE NINTH CIRCUTT
BK FOR TIE UNTPED STATES
AS ASEICUS CURIAR SUPPORTING PETITIONEKS
NEAL KWEMAK KRATYAI
Act ng Nolte ifor CGreneral
C ain eclof itn ref
Painy Wii |
LANNY A back Cihlk
Assistant Attorine ys Greneral
LbONDKA K Kittick)
hoy W Mebrerse ttl
Acting Deputy Nolrector:
Croneral
boat. RRGEN
Assistant to the Solicitor
(st fit ral
PhomMaAS M. BRONDY
SUSHMA SONI
JOUN MO VELL irri nd
Aflorney
Department af Justice
Washington, 110) 20580-0001
SupremeCthriefs@iusdo) got
(202) SLG-2275
\e SY a
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
The court of appeals in this case held that petition-
ers’ interview of a suspected victim of parental abuse at
her school violated the Fourth Amendment. [t further
held that petitioners were entitled to qualified immunity
from damages in respondent’s suit under 42 U.S.C. 198%
because the law poverning such interviews was not
clea wy established. The questions presented are.
1 Whether judgment in) petitioners’ favor on
qualitted-tmmunity prounds precludes them from seek
inp review of the court of appeals’ constitutional ruling.
2 Whether the Fourth Amendment requires a war-
rant, a court order, parental consent, or exigent circu:
stances before officials may interview a suspected vietini
of parental abuse ata public school,
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Interest of the United States ...
Statement
aw @ @ 6.6.9 6° o 2 8°06 S078 © 8 6 6 2 @ © 8 6 Oo Ob 6 6 € 8 2. 2-0 6 A 6
Summary of argument
Arpument
1 ‘Phe court of appeals’ constatutronal ruling: is
reviewable notwithstanding its rulings that
petitioners are entitled to Qualified immunity
A
Il The
Constitutional determinations in qualitied
Homurity cases Impose prospective limita-
tions on the actions of government officials
This Court has jurisdiction to review
a constitutional determination that has
continuing adverse Consequences for a
yovernmment official who prevailed on
qualihed-innmunity grounds
Fourth Amendment permits reasonable
warrantless interviews at public schools of
suspected victims of parental abuse oo...
A
bb
Cloneluston
The law enforcement-related interview
ofa suspect Or witness does not presump
Ovely require either a warrant or probable
a suspected parental-abuse victim in
a public school is Consistent with the
bourth Amendment
(11)
1]
0)
A
—
raf
=!
44
lV
TABLE OF AUTITORERIES
(Cases: Pape
Arizonans for Official Rnglish v. Arizona,
Sy Bb as Me CRED 5 0 see ava ewese eves See lf
Bivens vo Sur Unknown Named Agents of Ped
Bureau of Narcotics, 408 US. 388 A9TID) 0.02... 2 a
Board of Bdue. of Indep. Seh. Dest No. Y2 vy. karts,
BE FE Ge ia oe oe ee ves adie dy nel eee
Brigham City v. Stuart, 547 US. 808 (2006) 2. vO
Brown vo Tewas, 448 US. AT OYTO) |. 22, 2h, 2d
Bunting Vv. Mellen, 5AL USS. L019
(2004) ..... Serre arate) eaten ia .. 12 FS, 2H, Pe, 1D, Ze
Calabretta vo Floyd, Wo 8d SOS (ith Cir, BI 7
Cutyof LA v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95 C)83) ... iM
County of Sacramento v. Lewis, 823 US. 835
(1998)..... eee raves 12, a3
Deposit Guar Nat'l Bank vo Roper, Ado US. 326
(1ON0) rae bh WO ie
District of Colnmobra v. Lleller, L258 S. Cl 2785 (2008). 1s
Dunaway v. New York, 442 US. 200 CNT) . , 27
Electrical Fittings Corp vo Thomas & Betts Co,
eC) OC ERNE 668 seus cessasces . 1th
Fiornido vo Bostick, 5OL US. 420 (ESO)... ae Oe
Florida v. Rodriguez, WO ULS. 1 s4) : oe
Florida vy. Royer, AGO ULS. ADD CESS) ee. A |
Friends of the Karth, lune v. Laidlaw Enotl Servs
(FOO). Fue... KER VB. MT ee i eck cee sess 17
Globe Newspaper Co. vo Supercwor Oe, 457 US. St
(14S2) Te eeer ye
V
Cases Continued Pape
Griffin Vv. Wisconsin, A838 US. SGS CLUST) 0 7,2h
Grok v. Ramirez, AOL S. HHP (2004) 0. 2A
Horlow v, Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (A982) 2.
INS v. Delgado, 466 U.S. 210 (1984) 20 ee. ee, ol
Mlinows Vv. Lidster, S40 US. AVS (2009) 000. 23, 24, 6,27, US
Mlinoisv. McArthur, SV US. 326 2001) 000. 21, ee Pa
Marbrry vy. Madison, & US. OL Cranch) 137 (1803) Is
Michigan v. Fisher, WOS. Ct. 546 (2009) . . Pes |
Michigan vo Sinomers, 42 US. 642 (LOST) Zs, abcd
New Jersenw vy. U.1L.0., 49 US. 825 CLOS8h) 4,203
New York v. Ferber, AOS US. 747 (L082)... 2%
North Carolina v. Alford, WMOULLS 25978. 5
Pacetie Bell Tel. Coiv. LanklLine Commcus, luc
9 ts. Ct. 1108 (2008) «2... oe. 1S
Payton ve New York, 446 US. 575 (LOND) Zz
Pearsowv. Callahan, 1208S. Ct, SUS
ae wisest a's G3, 00, 12. 44. 74
Pennsylvania v. Mimins, 454 US. 106 (1977) at
Ponnsylrvaniay. Ritehee, ASO ULS BOCLOST) ooo. ; ow
Satsonw vy. California, AT US. S48 (2006) ty
Saucier. Walz, 5383 US. 4 (2001) |. 2
Steagald v. United States, a1 US. ZOA CLOSE)... ee
Terry v. Ohio, 302 U.S. 1 (E968) . . 2... =... . 6, 20, 238, 28. 338
United States v. Brigqnonte Ponce, 422 US. STS LNT) 20. 28
United States v. Drayton, 86 US. 194 (2002) 20. ZL ee be
U/nited States v. Hensley, ABO US. 221 OSD) |. Zt
United States v. Knights, 84 US. 112 (2001)
Vi
(laces, Continued: ape
United States v. Montoya de Hernandes, AT US. 551
Sah elec talc eek eee eee se ee Oe
U/ueted States v. Place, AGZ US. GIG (19K) ee 2:5, 20
Uweted States v. Sharpe, AW US. 675 98D) 2. Sd
Uwited States vo United States Dist Ct, 407 US. 297
[| Sea etre lee Aloe are ie Eee rere eee a eee ee 24
United States v. Watson, 423 US. 41 A976) 2... eee. 22
Vernonia Sch Dist 471d. Acton, 515 US. 646
A RA ee ee Res
Wilson v. Lacyne, 526 US. O08 (999) 2... eee 12, 13
Constitution, statute: and reyulations:
US. Const.:
Cte A ot re eet kee kedas tasakes 9, 15, 86, 17, 19
NEE; oS. sa) ote dae subibees Cake nue Os passim
Child Abuse Prevention and Preatraont Act,
ga ee Pe Berrerrr er eee ee eee ee 4
Child Abuse, Domestic Violence, Adoption and
Isnily Services Act of 1992, Pub. LL. No. 102 295,
eS a . re ica c ase wees er 2M
Det ste Ss ER Si aes S eat acea eae eens i rhawee ean en ne Oe
ey I es a wa bs cranecuniee sa tieis sae sane es ae
Se Ae SE as oss ke xo eines 03 oct Pea eae s eee cs 2
ES CER: ED os oda waretenacavceersahees 446049 2,14
Zed UF.25 sc) ED ee wees eee eC RA Zz
Se Cet s E356 2 kta vaccne ws +s ST eRe eT b
Be GP ASG. UN OD 6 ce eave keevecrenanssawceseen a
SE GF 250 BOE oon + o's 00's Tee eC EE ee 9, 15
Vil
Statute and reyvulations —Continued:
MEME MN aio 80s nar ak oes ceaicleices cee eno
Miscellaneous:
Sherry Bohannon etal, CAME Program,
Or. Dep't of Justice, Oregon Interviewing
Csuidelines (Ad ed. 2004), http://www.doj state.
orus/erimey/pdl/orinterviewinppuide pdf oo 0000.
Child Abuse and Neglect: Hearing Before the
Senate Select Comm. on ludian Affairs,
ith Cong., 2 Sees. (9968) ... 2... eee
Children’s Bureau, US. Dep't of Health and Human
Serys., Chald Maltreatment 2008, http://www.
ach hihs pov/proprams/cb/pabs/emO0s/em0s pdf...
Jill Goldman et al, Office on Child Abuse & Neylect,
US. Dep't of Health and Human Servs., A Coord:
vated Response to Child Abuse and Neglect: The
houndation for Practice, htup://www.-childwelfare.
yov/pubs/uscrmanuals/foundation/foundation pdf...
Harborview Ctr. for Sexual Assault and Traumatic
Stress & Wash. State Crim, Justice Training:
Comnvn, Child Interview Guide (2006), bttyp://
centerforchildweltare finhiustedu/kb/ rpi/
ChildA20TnterviewH20Guide pdf ooo 000... ey kt’
Mark Hardin, Legal Barriers in Child Abuse
Investigations: State Powers and ludeidual
Rights, G8 Wash. L. Rev. 519 (988) 220. ee.
» Wayne K. Lebave, Search and Serzure (4th ed.
CACY ab cha 6.b Ss ded wee ROR OY ORR 6 ho nas
i we A.
oe o OD ee
30
23
¢
“+s + hee
Vill
Miscellaneous Continued: Pape
National Ctr. for Prosecution of Child Abuse, Amer
can Prosecators Research list., /avestigation and
Proseention of Child Abuse Cad ed. 2004) 0000000. 2
S. Rep. No. 208, 1OIst Cong., Ist Sess. (1989) 2.2... ..... 14
Robert I. Stern et al, Supreme Court Practice
TS EE Se eS ee aie ae 1 8S Oo eee a ee Ih
rank bk. Vandervort, Videotaping Investigative
Interviews of Children im Cases of Child Sexual
Abuse. One Community’s Approach, 96 J. Cerin,
i. & Crpmanaiogy 0305 (GGG) i... ee eee caens 2y
Jun the Supreme Court of the Cliuited States
No. 09-1454
Bol CAMEBETA, PETITIONER
4)
SARAH GREENE, PERSONALLY AND AS NEXT FRIEND FOR
S.G., A MINOK, AND K.G., A MINOK
No. 09-1478
JAMES ALFORD, DEPUTY SHERKIEE, DESCHUTES
COUNTY, OREGON, PETITIONER
¢).
SARAH GREENE, ETAL.
ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI
TOTHE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
BRIE POR THE UNPPEDSTATES
AS AMICUS CURTAR SUPPORTING PETETIONERS
oe
INTEREST OF THE UNTPED STATES
This case raises questions about the fourth Amend
ment standard applicable to an in-school interview of a
suspected victiin of parental sexual abuse, as well as the
reviewability of a court of appeals’ constitutional ruling
In-an action brought pursuant to 42 ULS.C. 1983 when
the court ultimately enters judgment in favor of the de-
(1)
fendants on the basis of qualified immunity. Phe United
States has a substantial interest in his Court’s resolu
tion of both questions. The United States investipates
and proseeutes crimes involving the abuse and exploita
tion of children, including: child-abuse crimes that occur
in the special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the
United States, 18 ULS.C. 2241(¢), 2244, and in Indian
country, 18 ULS.C. 1158. Federal law expressly autho
rizes warrantless interviews of children on Indian land
without parental consent when there ts “reason to be-
heve the child has been subject to abuse.” 25 US.
3206(a); see 25h U.S.C. 520600) and (d). The United
States Departinent of Health and Human Services also
funds and disseminates research related to clild abuse
and provides substantial funding to state child-abuse
prevention and treatment programs, including funding
for child-abuse investigations. See Child Abuse Preven-
tion and ‘Treatment Act, 42 U.S.C. 5101 ef seq.; 45 CAR.
1340.1-1340.20. Finally, the principles governing the re
viewability of constitutional rulings in Section LOSS ae
lions against state and local officials will also apply in
suits ayainst federal officials pursuant to Biveuws ve Sur
Unknown Named Agents of Fed) Burean of Narcotics,
103 US. 388 (1971).
STATEMENT
boa. On February 12, 2005, police arrested respon
dent’s husband, Nunrod Greene (Greene), on Suspicion
of sexually abusing FLS., a seven-year old boy unrelated
to him. Pet. App. 57." According to FLS., Greene had
touched FLS’s penis over his jeans while drunk in FLS.’s
——— — ———™
' Citations on this brief to the petition appendix refer to the appendix
tothe petition fora writol certiorari in Canereta v. Greene, No. 09-1454
home. Jd at 4. BLS. reported that this had happened
once before. bid.
In the course of investiyating these charpes, the po
hee received information from boss parents suppesting
that Greene may have been sexually abusing his daugh-
ters, nine-year-old S.G. and five-year-old KG. Pet. App.
4-5, 57-58%. boS.’s mother told officers that respondent,
Whois the parks’ mother, “had talked to her about how
she doesn’t like the way |Greene| makes [S.G. and K.G.]
sleepin his bed when he ts intoxteated and she doesn’t
like the way he acts when they are sitting on his lap.”
fd. at 4-5. BLS.’s father told officers that Greene himself
“has made some type of prior comment about how [re
spondent] was accusing him of molesting: his daughters
and [respondent] reportedly doesn’t like the girls haying
in bed with [Greene] when he has been drinkings.” /d. at
&. bS.’s father denied that he or his wife had any direct
knowledge of sexual abuse in the Greene home, but said
that comments to that effect had “come in several ways”
from respondent and Greene. bed.
The Oreyon Department of Human Services (DHS)
received a report of Greene’s possible sexual abuse
of his daughters approximately a week after Greene’s
arrest. Pet. App. 5. The following day, petitioner Bob
Camreta, the child protective services caseworker as
signed to assess the safety of S.G. and K-G., learned that
Greene had been released from jail and was having un
supervised contact with his daughters. /d. at. 57-58.
“Based on his training and experience as a DHS case
worker, Camreta was aware that child sex offenders
often act on impulse and often direct those impulses
against their own ch fdeen, among others. For this rea-
son, he was concerned about the safety and well-being of
Nimrod Greene’s own small children.” /d. at 5 Ganternal
quotation marks and brackets omitted).
b. ‘Three days later, Camreta visited S.G’s clemen-
lary school to interview her about the possible sexual
abuse. Pet. App. 58. “Camreta thought the schoot would
be a good place for the interview because it is a place
Where children feel safe and would allow him ‘to conduct
the interview away from the potential influence of sus-
pects, meladings parents.” /d. at 5 6. In-school inter-
views of this sort, Camreta explained, “are a regular
part of clild protective services practice and are consis-
tent with DHS rules and training.” /d. at 6 (brackets
omitted). Camreta was accompanied by a county deputy
sherfl, petitioner James Alford, who wore a visible fire
arm. /bod. Camreta did not obtain parental consent, a
warrant, or other court order before the interview. bid.
A school counselor retrieved SG. from her class-
room, told her that someone was there to talk with her,
and took her toa private office where petitioners were
wailing. Pet. App. 6 According to respondent, S.G.
stated afterwards that she was scared when the school
counselor left the room, but she did not ask to have the
school counselor or her parents present, did not ery, and
did not ask to call home. 7d. at &, 62. Respondent main
tains that Camreta questioned S.G. for approximately
two hours, allhouph petitioners maintain Chat the inter-
view lasted only about an hour. /d at 6 & nb. Alford
did not ask any questions. /d. at 6. “With respect to Al
ford’s presence, S.G. stated that she is generally com
fortable around police officers, that Alford was nice to
her and did not do anything to scare her, and that she
trusted him.” Jd. at &.
According to Camreta, S.G. told him that Greene had
been touching her private parts (specifically, her chest
and buttock areas on the outside of her clothing) since
she was three; that the incidents would occur after
Greene had been drinking; that the last tncident took
place “just last week,” during which she tried to tell
Greene to stop; that she would po to her room and lock
her door when Greene tried to touch her; and that re-
spondent knew about the touching, which was one of
their seerets “with her little sister, K.G.” Pet. App. 6-7.
S.G. and respondent claim that any such statements
were the result of confusion or involuntary acquiesence
followings repeated questioning. 7d at 7S. Camreta
niaintains that he did not coerce or try to induce accusa
tory responses. /d. at 7.
c Greene was indicted on six counts of felony sexual
assault apainst BLS. and S.G. Vet. App. 9. SG. and K.G.
were removed from the Greene home for approximately
three weeks. /d. at 12. They received a physical exami
nation at a medical center specializing in child sexual
abuse, but the examiners were unable to determine
whether they had been sexually abused. /d. at 12-13. At
the time of the examination, S.G. recanted the state-
mnents she had made duringe her initial tn-school iter
view with Camreta. /d. at 12. DHS remained concerned
about the children’s welfare, but consented to their re
turn to respondent’s custody. /d. at 13.
Greene's trial on the sexual-assaull charpes ended in
a hung jury. Pet. App. 13. ‘Though he maintained his tn-
nocence, he ultimately entered an Alford plea to the al
leyed abuse of LS. /d at 18 & nl; see North Carolina
v. Alford, 400 US. 25 (1970). ‘The charges involving: S.C.
were dismussed. Pet. App. 138.
2. Respondent filed suit under 42 ULS.C. 1983 on
behalf of herself, S-G., and K.G., apainst petitioners and
others. Pet. App. 15-14 & 1.4.) Respondent alleped,
()
amony other things, that petitioners’ in-school interview
of SG. had violated the Fourth Amendment. /d. at 15-
14.
The district court pranted summary judgment for
petitioners. Pet. App. 57. On the Fourth Amendment
claim, the distriet court concluded that the evidence sup
ported a finding that S-G. was seized for Fourth Amend
ment purposes, but that no constitutional violation oc
curred because the seizure was “objectively reasonable.”
fd at 62-64. Applying the framework set forth in Terry
Vv. Ohvo, 392 US. 1 C1968), the court concluded that the
iInferview was “justified at its inception” because peti
tioners had reasonable suspicion that Greene had
abused or was a threat to abuse his children, and that
the interview was “reasonably related in seope” to its
permissible purpose of investiyating that suspicion. Pet.
App. 63-64 (quoting Terry, 392 US. at 20). ‘The district
court alternatively held that even ifa constitutional vio-
lation had occurred, petitioners were entitled to quali-
Hed immunity from damages because a reasonable off}
clalin their position could have believed the interview to
be lawful. /d. at 64-65.
3. The court of appeals affirmed in part, reversed in
part. and remanded. Pet. App. b-54. As relevant here,
it concluded that the tnterview of S-G. did violate the
Fourth Amendment, but that petitioners were entitled
to qualified immunity because the constitutional viola
ion was not clearly established under existing: law. /¢.
aut 16-44. ‘The court acknowledged that tt did not need to
address the primary constitutional question, and could
instead address only qualified immunity, but believed
that addressing both would provide useful puidanee. Ze.
at 16-18 (citing, enter alia, Pearson vo Callahan, 129
S. Ct. SOS, STS (2Z009)).
As an initial matter, the court of appeals agreed with
the distriet court that a seizure had taken place, noting
that petitioners did not dispute the issue. Pet. App. 18-
IO. ‘Phe court then retied on its prior decision in Cala
bretta v. Floyd, 189 F.8d SOS (Sth Cir, 1999), which con-
cerned the warrantless entry of a home to investipate
suspected child abuse, to hold that “the general law of
search warrants apples] to child abuse investigations”
outside, as well as inside, the home. Pet. App. 36 (quot-
ing Calabretta, 189 F.3d at 814). An interview lke the
one in this case, the court concluded, requires a warrant
or an equivalent court order supported by probable
cause, except in cases presenting exigent circumstances
or where officials are able to obtain parental consent,
fd. at 86-37 & nn.17-19.
The court of appeals declined to apply the Verry
framework to the warrantless m-school interview of S_Cr.
Pet. App. 21. ‘The court conchided, in particular, that
this Court’s decision in New Jersey v. 7.1..0., 469 US.
325 (1985), applying Verry’s “reasonableness” standard
to a school official’s warrantless search of a student's
purse, see id. at 328, 341-342, was inapposite because
S.G. wus not seized or interviewed by school officials for
the purpose of maintaining: discipline and preserving
authority at the school. Pet. App. 20-23. ‘The court rea-
soned that 7.7.0. fell within “a line of cases in which the
Supreme Court has lowered traditional fourth Amend-
ment protections ‘when special needs, beyond the nor
mal need for law enforcement, make the warrant and
probable cause requirement impracticable,” and con
cluded that law enforcement purposes and personne!
were too deeply intertwined with S.G.’s serure to justify
applying the special-needs doctrine here. /d. at 20-34
(quoting: Groffon ve Wisconsin, 483 US. 868, 873 (1987)).
S
Although the court of appeals determined that there
was a constitutional violation, it held that petitioners
were entitled to qualified imumunity from damages be
cause the constitutional right at issue was not clearly
established. Pet. App. 38-44. ‘The court observed that
“other cireuits have applied the ‘special needs’ reason
ableness standard to investigations of child abuse,” vd.
at 39, and determined that petitioners’ actions were not
clearly unconstitutional under that standard, «d. at 44.
The court stated, however, that “povernment officials
investigating allegations of child abuse should cease op
erating on the assumption that a ‘special need’ automati
cally justifies dispensing with traditional Fourth
Amendment protections in this context.” Jd at 43.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
The court of appeals erred in creating an intlexible
prerequisite to the interview of a suspected victim of
parental abuse at a public school Tt required no less
than a warrant (or similar court order), parental con-
sent, or exivent circumstances. ‘That requirement finds
no support inthis Court’s cases, and threatens to elimi
nate an essential tool for the detection and prevention of
Child abuse and other child-exploitation crimes. ‘This
Court can and should vacate that portion of the court of
appeals’ opinton and remand for further proceedings.
A. ‘The Court has jurisdiction to review the court of
appeals’ constitutional ruling even though petitioners
successfully asserted a qualitied-inmunity defense in
this suit. Constitutional rulings in qualifted-immunity
Cases are a special class of determinations that by de
sipn have adverse prospective effects on prevailing de
fendants, the governmental agencies that employ them,
and other povernmental entitics. Though petitioners
4)
avoided liability in this case, the court of appeals’ opin-
ion places petitioners, along with other similarly situ
ated officials, on injunction like notice that they will be
personally lable for damages unless they comply with
the court of appeals’ decision. To categorically foreclose
further review in such circumstances would not only
Impose an unwarranted hardship on government offi
Clals and entities, but would also impede one of the pri
Inary purposes served by the court of appeals’ initial
consideration of the constitutional question, namely, the
“development of constitutional precedent.” Pearson v.
Callahan, 1298S. Ct. SOS, STS (2009).
Although, as a matter of practice, this Court pener-
ally declines to entertain requests to review case on
which the petitioning party prevailed, there is no leval
impediment to further review in this case. The Court
has statutory authority to review a court of appeals’ de
cision on the petition of “any party,” and to grant broad
relief, including vacating a lower-court decree and di
recling any necessary further proceedings. 28 USC.
1254(1); see 28 USC. 2106. There is no Article LLL bar
lo exercising that authority on behalf of a prevailing
party where the prevailing party is aggrieved by the
decision below. Petitioners in this case have standing to
Challenge the court of appeals’ constitutional ruling be-
cause it effectively prohibits them from job-related ac
tivities in which they would otherwise engage. ‘This
Court’s review of that ruling is warranted.
Bb. The court of appeals’ constitutional ruling: is in-
correct. When investigative questioning involves a sei
zure, and thereby implheates the Fourth Amendment,
the Court has consistently evaluated the constitutional-
ity of the seizure under a context-specific reasonable
ness standard. Applying that standard, the interview of
1)
a child ina public school based on reasonable sus pieton
of parental abuse complies with the Fourth Amendment,
so lonp as the interview is otherwise conducted ina rea
sonable manner,
Neither a warrant nor probable cause is a necessary
precondition to the reasonableness of an offen inter
view. Lnstead, reasonableness is assessed by balancing
the governmental interests served by the interview, and
the degree to which the interview advances those inter
ests, against the liberty intrusion it occasions. Child
abuse interviews In schools serve the sinificant inter-
ests of protecting children, assuring that they are ina
condition to attend and benetit from school, and entore-
ing important crinunal laws. ‘The interviews advance
those interests because they are often an indispensable
component of child-abuse investigations: since child
abuse happens behind closed doors with the child as the
primary (or only) Witness, investigators will often lick
probable cause before interviewing the child; and when
the suspected perpetrator is a parent, it often may be
impractical or undesirable to seek or obtain parental
consent to an interview. buinally, the interviews are at
most a minor intrusion on the liberty of a child whose
freedom of moverment is already considerably restricted
by virtue of her presence at school. Accordingly, so long
as the interview itself is carried out in a reasonable
manner —an issue that the court of appeals did not reach
With respect to the interview at issue in this case—it ts
constitutional.
1}
ARGUMENT
THE COURPOR APPEALS’ CONSTPEPUPIONAL RULING
IS KEVIEFWABLE NOTWELESTANDING PPS RULING
THAT PRTEPIONE RS ARB ENPIPLED TO QUALIFIED
IMMUNITPY
The court of appeals’ entry of judgment in favor
Of petitioners on qualified-immunity prounds does
not divest this Court of authority to review the court
of appeals’ constitutional determination. ‘Though the
qualified-immunity holding protected petitioners from
damages lability in this particular instance, the consti
tutional ruling has both the purpose and the effeet of
prohibiting similar conduct by petitioners and others in
the future. Review of such rulings is appropriate a:
both a jurisdictional and a practical matter,
A. Constitutional Determinations tn Qualifted-Lmmunity
Cases Impose Prospective Limitations On The Actions
Of Government Officials
“The doctrine of qualified imoiunity protects povern
ment officials ‘from liability for civil damages insofar as
their conduct does not violate clearly established statu
tory or constitutional rights of which a reasonable per
son would have known.” Pearson vo Callahan, 129
S. Ct. S08, S15 (2009) (quoting /larlow v. Fitzgerald, AD?
ULS. S800, SIS (1982)). A state or federal official sued in
his personal capacity under Section LISS or Beeens v.
Sic Unknown Named Agents of Federal Bureau of Nar
cotics, 408 ULS. 388s (1971), for an alleged constitutional
Violation is accordingly entitled to the entry of judgment
in his tavor if either (1) his actions did not in fact violate
the Constitution, or (2) the state of the law at the time
would not have put him on notice that bis actions vie
2
lated the Constitution, Welsonw vo Layne, 526 US. 605,
HOO CPIOD).
Until reeently, courts addressing: motions for jad
mentoon qualificd oamunity prounds were required to
Ganiploy a two step protocol under which they would de
ode whether a constitutional right was violated before
deciding whether any such right was clearly established.
Saucier Vv. Katz, 533 US. 194, ZO1 (2001). In Pearson,
thas Court relaxed that requirement, pivings courts
diccretion to deewde the latter issue without deciding
the former, I9S. Oto at S16. The Court made clear,
however, that atas “often benefreial’ to decide the
constitutional violation question first. /badi; see ad. at
“21 Cobserving: that this procedure i “often, but not al
ways, advanbapeous ’)
As the Court exphiuned in Pearson, a pritnary reason
lor a court to make such an announcement ts to “pro
motel | the development of constitutional precedent.”
IOS Ch at RIK At least in some cases, clarifying the
constitutional rule wall provide useful future purdance
lor povernment officials and the publte at large. See
County of Sacramento vo Lewes, 526 Us. 834, 84) 1
(1098) CLEP the policy of avoidance were always fol
lowedin favor of rabings on quadified tomunity whenever
there was no clearly settled constitutional rate of pri:
noory conduct, standards of official condact would tend
fo remain necertain, to the detriment both of offieial
and madividtuals.”)
Underlying this “development of constitutional
precedent’ rationale a the premise that a plamtillt
favorable com titutional role announced by a court of
appeals an the course of enter ap jadpanent i favor of
the offierl defendant wall bind future courts. See rant
my. Mellen, 641 US. (O19, 1024 CSeaha, J. dissenting
13
from dental of certiorari) (The [two step] procedure
pives rise to- and is destgned to groe rise to —constitu
tional rulings * * * with precedential effect”). Tf that
were not the case, then the announcement would be
pointless, as the same offieral could enyape in the same
conduct apain and credibly claim that the ibeyrality of his
actions stdll was not clearly established. See ad at 1025
1074. ‘These announcements are Cherclore meant to put
not only the particular defendant offieral, but also all
other similarly situated offtetats within the court of ap
peaks gurisdiction, on notice that they will henceforth
face individual damages lability for engaging in certain
conduct. See Wilson, 526 US. at 609 (Deciding the
constitutional question before addressings the qualified
omiuinity question * * * promotes clarity in the legal
standards for offierml conduet.’); Lewes, 525 US. at 841
nf A court of appeals’ constitutional determination in
acace ike this thus has an effect similar to an myunction
ora declaratory pudpiment ayaiost the povernment us a
Whole. Cf. Pearson, 129 5. Ct. at &2Z0 (observing that
“constitutional decisions” Like this “may have a serious
prospective effect” on the “operations” of “affected par
tyes”)
The court of appeals in this case chose to follow the
two step Sawerer protocol in order “to provide purdance
to those charged with the difficult task of protecting
child welfare.” Pet. App. 1s The result was a ruling
that the questioning of a suspeeted child abuse vietin
“inthe absence of a warrant, a court order, exigent cir-
cumistances, or parental consent fis} unconstitutional,”
rdooat 36.37 CQootnotes omitted), and an instruction to
“poverniment offierals investyrating alleyations of child
abuse” that they “should cease operating on the assump
tion that acspecial need’ automatically justifies dispens
Inge With traditional bbourth Amendment protections tn
this context,” vd at 46. That holding affects not only
petitioners, but other state, local, and federal officials
enpayed in similar practices. Tt also casts doubt on fed
erablaw that expressly permits interviews of suspected
child-abuse victims based on less than probable cause,
andain the absence of parental consent. See 25 USO.
$2060) CLL fnterviews of an lndian child alleged to have
been subseet to abuse in Indian country shall be allowed
without parental consent if local child protective ser
viecs or local law enforcement offienls have reason to
heleve the child has been subject to abuse.”); see
S. Rep. No. 208, lOtst Cong, Ist Sess. 3 (1989). Barring
further review by this Court, officials within the court of
appeals’ jurisdiction now have the “unenviable choice” to
“comply with the lower court's” opinion, or else to “defy
the views of the lower court, adhere to practices that
have been declared illegal, and thas invite new suits and
potential punitive damapes.” Pearson, 1295. Ot. at 820
Guiternal quotation marks, citation, and brackets ort
teal)
Ko This Court Has Jurisdiction To Review A Constitutional
Determination That Has Continuing Adverse Conse
quences For A Government Otftieiml Who Prevaited On
Qhaalilied-lmmunity Grounds
An appellate ruling dechuiny that povernment action
Violated the Constitution, and warning officials mot to
enpapye i such conduct in the future, would penerally be
subject to further review. Phere is neither a lepal nor a
practical reason why the court of appeals’ constitutional
roling here should be immune from such review simply
heeause petitioners ultimately avoided personal dam
apes hability at the second step of the Samececr analysis.
I
I. By statute, Congress has yviven this Court author-
ity to review decisions of the courts of appeals on the
petition of a prevailing party. The relevant jurisdic
fional statute provides vaat “Lejases in the courts of ap
peal may be reviewed by the Supreme Court * * +
lbly writ of certiorari pranted upon the petition of avy
party to any civilor criminal ease, before or after rend
tion of judgment or decree.” 28 USC. 125401) Compha
sis added). “The literal language of the §125401) refer-
ence to Sany party’ is broad enough to encompass the
successful or prevailing: party before the court of ap-
peals.” Robert L. Stern et al, Supreme Court Practice
79 (Sth ed. 2002) (Stern & Garessman); see bunting, 541
UES at 1028 (Sealia, J, dissenting from dential of certio
rari) And the expansive appellate remedy statute
Which allows this Court, among other things, to “modify”
or “vacate” a lower court “deerce,” and to “require such
further proceedings to be had as may be just under the
circumstances,” 28 US 2106—pives the Court the
power lo prant the prevailing: party whatever relief may
be appropriate.
Y ‘This Court has previously recopnized that “[ijn an
appropriate case, appeal may be permutted from an ad
verse ralings collateral to Che judpiment on the merits al
the behest of the party who has prevailed on the merits,”
limited only by the constraints of Article TEL. Deposcl
Gruar. Natl Bank v. Roper, 445 U.S. 326, 5454 (1980); see
third (noting: that the prevailings party must “retain | a
stake in the appeal satisfying the requirements of
Artlicle| LID); Arizonans for Official huglish vo Are
cond, O20 US. 45, 64 (1997) C' Phe standing Article TT
requires must be met by persons seeking appellate re
view, just as it must be met by persons appearing: in
courts of first instanee.”).
lt
In Mleetrical Fittings Corp vo Thomas & Betts Co.,
307 US. 241 (1939), this Court considered the review
ability of a district court judgment in favor of the defen
dants ina patent suit, where the district court had held
that the plaintaffs’ patent was valid, but that the defen-
dants had not infringred it. Jd. at 241-242. The defen-
dants, though they had prevailed, “asserted a concern
(hat their success in some unspeciied future litigation
would be tipaired by stare decisis or collateral-estoppel
application of the District Court’s ruling on patent valid-
ity.” Deposit Guar, Nat'l Bark, 445 US. at 837. The
Court held that the defendants could ask the court of
appeals to “entertam fan} appeal, not for the purpose of
passing on the merits, but to direct the reformation of
the decree” to climinate the validity rulings, Alectrical
hittings, 807 US. at 242. The Court “had the question
of mootness before it, yet because policy considerations
permitted an appeal from the District Court’s final yudy
ment and because petitioners alleyed a stake im the out
come, the case was still live and dismissal was not re
quired by Arthiclep IL” Deposit Guar, Nat'l Bank, 445
US. at 435.
The constitutional ruling in this case is “collateral to
the judpament” on qualified-immunity prounds in the
same way that the patent-validity ruling in Alectrical
huttings was “collateral to the judgiment™ on non-
infringement prounds. Deposit Guar Nat'l Bank, 445
US oat 834. And this case is similarly “stilllive” for pur
poses of Article TEL 7d) at 835. Indeed, the adverse con
sequences of the ruling: here which prevents petition
ers from enpyapingy ina “routine investipative technique,”
O9 1478 Pet. 14; 09-1454 Pet. bl—are substantially more
certain and imminent than the concerns about “unspect
fied future litivation”? asserted by the appellants im //ee
17
trical Fittings. See Deposit Guar. Nat'l Bank, 445 US.
at 337; ef. Mreends of the Rarth, Ine v. Laidlaw Hivovtl
Servos. (TOC), litve., 828 US. 167, 183-184 (2000) Crecog
nizing standing: to sue where plaintiffs refrained from
certain activities based upon “reasonable concerns” of
adverse consequences). Finally, to the extent that the
reviewability decision in Wlectrical Fittings was based
on “poliey considerations” (Deposit Guar. Nat'l Bank,
Ads US. at 835), the decision below -which concerns not
the business dealings of private parties but the constitu
tionality of yovernmental activities presents a consid-
erably stronger case for appellate review. See faulting,
Hab US. at 1024 (Seahia, JL, dissentings from denial of
certiorari) C'lt seems to me that [the quatified
immunity} situation is exactly what we had in mind when
we said, in Deposit Guaranty Nat. Bank, that ‘in an ap
propriate case’ a petitioner may appeal an adverse col
lateral ruling despite having secured a favorable judy
ment.) (quoting 445 US. at 3384; one set of brackets
commtbeady.
That petitioners here, unlike the defendants in flee
trical Fittings, seek an appellate opimon not only vacat
ing part of the lower court's ruling, but also addressing
iomerits, is of little moment. The merits question sim
ply bears on the reason why the requested appellate
relief (vacatur of the adverse portion of the lower-court
decision) would be pranted, not on whether this Court
has jurisdiction to prant that relied.
Nor, for Article TEL purposes, ts it sapsnificant that the
validity of the patent at issue in Aleetrical Fittengs may
have been of ongoiny siynificance to the non-appealiny
parties, Whereas this case concerns the constitutionality
of a practice that may or may net be appled to S a.
again. ‘Phe prospective impact of the court’s decision on
Is
(he non-appeating parties played no role in the Court's
decision in Llectrical Fittings. And in any event, this
Court has throughout its history heard and decided nu
merous Cases in which the non-appealing party had little
or no interest in defending the lower court’s judgment,
see, eg, Pacrfie Bell Tel. Co. ve LankLine Comm’'cius,
fne. 1209S. Cb. LLO9, E117 (2009) (refusing to dismiss the
writ of certiorari for “hick of adversarial presentation’
by an interested party” where respondents asked for
vacatur of the lower-court decision in their favor, and
noting that “pradential concerns favor our answering
the question presented’); Destrict of Colombia vy. Heller,
IPs S. Cb. 2785, 2545 (2008) (Stevens, Jd., dissenting) (ob
serving that “only one side appeared and presented ar-
pruments” in Marbury vo Madison, & US. CL Craneh) 137
(1S03)); see also, eg, Stern & Gressman 666 (describing
cases in Which “the Court invites fan} aneecas to present
an argument because for some reason no other counse!
Will be representing that side of the case”); Pepper v.
United States, No. 09 6822 Carpued Dec. 6, 2010) Gaumicus
appointed in light of yovernment’s confession of error).~
lt makes httle sense to conclude that there was a suffi
crent case or controversy below to allow the court of ap
peals to decide the constitutional question notwithstand
my its ultimate determination that petitioners were enti
tled to qualified imimunity, yet conclude that the consti
tutional ruling is unreviewable because that case or con
troversy is absent now
Notably, respondent inthis ease fled a briel in opposition to the
petitions for a wrt of certiorartin which she defended the court ot ap
peak constitutronabruling. See Bron Opp 2 Co Phe Court should deny
the Petition for Writ) of Certiorart because the Ninth Cireunt has cou
rectly stated Che law.")
hy
That is mot to say that constitutional rulings by
courts of appeals in qualified immunity cases will always
be reviewable. Tt may wellbe that an official defendant
who has prevailed on qualified-immunity grounds will
lack standing: to seek further review because there ts an
insufficient Likelihood that he will apain engage in the
practice that has been ruled unconstitutional Cl City
of Lo Aly. Lyons, 461 US. 95, 105-106 (1983). Bat where,
as here, a court of appeals’ constitutional ruling: effec
lively prohibits the official defendants from perforniuny
an important and recurring job related function, Article
H1l permits an appect,
3. Inthe absence of either a constitutionabor a stat
utory bar, the only potential impediment to review in
this case is this Court’s traditional “practice” of dechin-
ing “to entertain an appeal by a party on an issue as to
which he prevailed.” Bronte, 541 ULS. at L028 CSealia,
J., dissenting from denial of certiorary. ‘hat “peneral
rule.” however, “should not apply where a favorable
judgment on qualified-immunity grounds would deprive
a party of an opportunity to appeal the unfavorable Cand
often more significant) constitutional determination.”
lhid
lor reasons already explained, sce pp. bo 14a, sapra,
such constitutional determinations have the potential to
inflict real and serious consequences upon governmental
officials, the institutions that employ Chem, and other
yovernmental avencies. Furthermore, petitions seeking
review of such determinations are likely to reach thts
Court only if (1) the court of appeals deems it usetul te
decide a constitutional issue adversely to Che offical
defendant despite ranting qualified minmunity, and (2)
the assue is important and recurrent enough Chat the
defendant perceives the need for further review despite
20
having won below. A cateyorical refusal to review such
determinations not onty would be “unfair to the litigant
Gand to the institution that the litigant represents)” but
also would “undermine|} the purpose served by initial
consideration of the constitutional question, which is to
clarity constitutional rights without delay.” raorteng,
D4) US. at 1024 (Sealia, J., dissenting: from denial of
certiorari). ‘Phis Court can and should review the court
ofappeals’ Fourth Amendment ruling: in this case.
Ho THE POURTILAMENDMENT PERMIEPS REASONABLE
WARKRKANTELESS INTERVIEWS AT PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF
SUSPECTED VICTIMS OF PARENTAL ABUSE
As this Court’s cases make clear, “|t}he ultimate
touchstone of the Fourth Amendment * * 4
ableness,” and the inquiry into what is reasonable “must
be shaped by * * * context.” Michrganv. Fisher, 10
S. bt. 546, 548 (2009) (per curiam) Gnternal quotation
tharks omitted) (quoting Brigham City vo Stuart, 547
US. 398, 408 (2006)), Terry vo Ohkvo, 802 US. 1, 9 (1968).
The court of appeals in this case erred by retlexively
Hiporting a requirement of a warrant (or a traditional
warrant exception) into a context—olficial question
ing where a warrant issued on probable cause pener
ally has not been a prerequisite for reasonableness. in
deed, outstde the context of an arrest (or its funetional
equivalent), the constitutionality of a seizure related to
official questioning: does met turn on the presence of
probable eause at all, but instead depends on a balancing
of the public and private interests involved. When justi
fed by reasonable suspicion and conducted in a reason
able manner, the warrantless in-school interview of a
suspected victim of parental abuse satisfies such a bal
is reason
arcing? Lest
ot
A. ‘Phe taw-Enforcement-Related Intervie. OFA Suspect
Or Witness Does Not Presumptively Require Either A
Warrant Or Probable Cause
The Fourth Amendment, as interpreted by this
Court, establishes various “rales and prestumptions cle
sipned to control conduct of law enforcement officers
that may significantly intrude upon privacy interests.”
Lilinois v. McArthur, 5351 LS. 826, 830 (2001). “Some
times those rules require warrants,” but the Court hats
also found “that certain peneral, or individual, circum
stances may render a warrantless search or seizure rea-
sonable.” /bid. Official questioning, when implicates
the Fourth Amendment at all, has been one of the “pen
eral cireumstaneces” in which a warrant, ora probable
ecause-based warrant exception such as exipent cireuin
stances, is not presumptively required. Offieral ques
tioning often does not require probable cause, and some
times dees not even require individualized SUSPIClOn
| Asan dnitial matter, official questioning, whether
by the police or otherwise, frequentiy will not amount Co
a “seizure” under the Fourth Amendment, “Even when
law entoreement officers have ao basts for suspect inp? aa
particular individual, (hey tay pose questions, ask for
identification, and request consent to search” the per
con's effects without implicating the Fourth Amend
rhiernt Ll nited States vo Drayton, 536 LIS. 194, ZOl
2002). Such official conduct does not rise to the level of
a seizure so lonp as “a reasonable person would feel tree
to terminate the encounter,” and the Fourth Amend
ment accordingly imposes no threshold requirements
before an officer may enpaye in that conduct lbid
In this case, petitioners have not challenged the low
er courts’ determination that the interview of SG. an
“eo
—
volved a seizure.” See Pet. App. 18, 62. The determina
tion that a seizure oecurred, however, ts the bepinningy,
rather than the end, of the Fourth Amendment inquiry,
which then requires an analysis of whether the seizure
is reasonable. ALy., McArthier, S31 US. at S31.
2. ‘The degree of official justification necessary for
an investiyatory seizure depends upon the nature of the
seiwure. Asmall class of particularly invasive serzures—
namely, arrests of suspects ina private place—require
a warrant supported by probable cause. See Sfeagald v.
United States, 451 ULS. 204, 205-206 (L981): Pauton v.
New York, 445 US. 573, 586 (1980). Most seizures, how
ever, do not. Police officers may, for example, arrest a
suspect in publie without a warrant, so long as the arrest
Is Supported by probable cause. United States vo Wat
son, 428 US. 41, 417-418 C1976).
hor seizures less intrusive than an arrest—a cate
ory that includes most seizures related to official ques
lLiommyr probable cause ts not necessarily required. See
Brown ve Tewas, 448 US. 47, 50 C1979). Rather, the
“reasonableness” of such seizures “depends ‘on a bal-
even assuming that there was a semure mn this case, itis far from
clear that albin-schoot child interviews would be seizures So lompe as
the childs asked Co come to the interview voluntarily, and a reasonable
porsonin the child's position would teel tree to terminate Che interview,
no seimure has ovcurred, See,eg, Florndav. Rodrigues, AOUUES 16
Ci9S) Co Phe mittal contact between the officers and respondent, where
they simply asked if [the suspect} would step aside and talk with them,
was clearly the sortof consensual encounter that imphleates no Fourth
Amendment mterest."); Druyten, S86 ES. at VOL Phe fact that the
child's freedom ts otherwise restricted in the school environment does
not by itself mean that the child is unable to terminate the interview
See if at ZOOS 208 (questioning of passenvers on a bus not a seimure),
INS v. Delgado, GUS PLO, 21S (1984) (questioning of factory work-
ers by ayrents blocking exits not a serure), see also pp SO-S1, cefre
“>?
ad
ance between the public interest and the individual's
right to personal security tree from arbitrary iiterter
ence by law officers.”” Jbid. (quoting: Ponrsyloania v.
Minons, 434 US. 106, 109 (1977)) The Court's seminal
opinion in’ Terry, for example, apphed an interest
balancing approach to conclude that law enforcement
officers may stop and question someone based upon rea
sonable suspicion that he is about to commit a crime,
392 US. at 8-22. The Terry reasoning has since been
extended to permit reasonable suspicion based ques
lioning in other contexts as well. See, cg, United States
Vv. Sharpe, 470 US. 675, BSL CLYSO) (stop Co tivestipate
reasonable suspicion of onvoing criminal activity in vel
cle); United States v. fleusley, 469 U.S. 221, 220 (198d)
(stop to investigate reasonable suspicion of already -com
pleted felony), United States vo Brignont- Ponce, 422
US. 873, SS1-S8S84 (1975) (stop to investipate reasonable
suspicion of alien smuggling at border). An officer with
reasonable suspicion to stop someone for questioning
may detain him for the length of time reasonably neces
sary to confirm or alleviate the suspreron, Michigan v.
Sropomers, 452 iS. 692, TOO ne (LOST): see eg, Oocted
States v. Montoya de Hernandez, A038 US. 5381, b42- O44
Ql9OS5) (upholding: multi-hour airport detention of sus
pected international drug smugeler); Siarpo, 470 US
at GS7-6S8S (upholding 20-minute teraftte stop), et ected
States vo Place, 462 ULS. 696, TO9-710 CL9OSS) CLAT
though we decline to adopt any outside limitation for a
permissible Zerry stop, We have never approved a sel
gure of the person for the prolonged 90 minute period
involved here and cannot do so on the facts presented by
this case.) Mootnote omitted).
The Court’s decision in L/lenors ve Leadster, O40 US.
419 (2004), applied a stmilar balancing approach to per
a |
mit suspicionless seizures of potential witnesses to
crimes. The Courtin Ledster upheld the constitutional
ity ofa cheekpoint established for the purpose of asking
motorists Whether they had information about a fatal
hit-and-run accident that had occurred around the same
time roughly a week before. /d. at 421-422. The check
point stops, the Court held, were constitutional despite
the absence of any sort of individualized suspicion that
the stopped motorists would have any information about
the event. /d at 424-425. ‘The Court recognized the
Importance of such “information-seeking stop{s}.” even
Where accomplished by a seizure. /d. at 425-426
S$. In concluding that a formal warrant requirement
applies to the questioning of a suspected child-abuse
Victimina publ school, the court of appeals misinter
preted this Courts precedents in two critical respects
birst, the court of appeals reled on its precedent con
cerning the warrantless entry of a home, declining to
distinguish for Fourth Amendment purposes between
entry of a home and an interview at school See. eg,
Pot. App. 21. ‘Phis Court, however, has recoynized that
“physical entry of the home ts the chief evil against
Which the wording of the Fourth Amendment is di
reeted.” United States vo United States Dist. Ct., 407
US. 297, 3138 (972). Por that reason, “searches and
seizures inside a home without a warrant are presump
tively unreasonable.” Grok vo Ramirez, 540 UES. 5S),
pod (2004) (citation omitted); see po 22, sapere (noting the
upplication of a warrant requirement to in-home car
rests). No similar reasoning, however, presumptively
requires Warrants for seizures that occur elsewhere
See eg, MecArthar, SOLUS. at 830 C’Temporarily heep
Inge a person trom entering his home, a consequence
whenever police stop a person on the street, is consider
—_———— =<
sor
rare
ably less intrusive than police entry into the home itself
in order to make a warrantless arrest or conduct a
search.) [ndeed, the home-protection rationale os frat
ticularly inappheable to a seizure at a puble school See
Vernonia Sek. Dest. 47d ve Acton, OV US. O46, 654
(1995) (distinguishing the privacy interests of cn maivid
ual in his home from the interests of children who “have
been committed to the temporary custody of the State as
schoolmaster”)
Second, the court of appeals erroneously beheved
that the “direct involvement of law enforcement™ in i
child-abuse investigation militates in faver of requiring
a Warrant or exigent circumstances JUStUILyIng an excep)
tion to the warrant requirement Pet. App ost. Phe
court reached that conclusion by negative inference
from this Court's so-called “special needs” eases. fa at
20. tin those CAusCcs, the Court has addressed careum
stances in which “special needs, beyond the normal need
for law enforcement, make the warrant and probable
cause requirement impracticable” Goreffan ve Wescor
sin, 483 US. S68, 873 C1987) (quoting: New Jersey
7T.L.O., ABO LES. 825, B41 (1985) Blackman, 42. concur
ring inthe judgment)). The court of appeals concluded
that these special-needs cases dietate that when Law en
foreement is involved, “the general low of search war
rants applies.” Pet. App. 36 (brackets and citation omit
ted)
This Court has expressly regected the “dubious Logie”
that its causes upholding special-needs searches and set
zures can be read unplicithy to restrict the scope of per
missible law-enforcement practives (onitid Sfutes \
Anights, A384 US. 112. TUT (2007). Phe Court has ex
plained that a search or seizure may be “otherwise rea
semable within the meaniig of the Fourth Amendment”
MAT)
irrespective of whether itis deemed reasonable under a
special-needs analysis. /d. at 1LL7-11ES8; see, eg., Samson
Vv. California, 547 US. 848, 855 n-4 (2006) (suspicionless
searches may be reasonable in both special-needs and
non special-needs cases). As the many law-enforcement
cases cited above demonstrate, the mere fact that a case
directly involves law enforcement personnel and objec-
tives does not automatically trigger a warrant require-
ment. See pp. 21-24, supra. The court of appeals erred
in concluding otherwise.
I. Reasonable Warrantless Questioning Of A Suspected
Parental-Abuse Victim In A Public School ts Consistent
With The Fourth Amendment
A seizure for the purposes of interviewing a sus-
pected parental-abuse victim at a public school, like
most questioning-related seizures, falls within the class
of seizures “less intrusive than a traditional arrest” that
do not necessarily require probable cause, and to which
this Court applies a balancing test to determine reason-
ableness. Brown, 448 US. at 50. Whereas an arrest
involves accusation and the serious threat of prolonged
incarceration or other punishment, an interview with a
suspected vietum of child abuse does not.” Cf. Lidster,
P40 US. at 425 (distinguishing information-seeking
stops from interropation of suspects). As discussed fur-
ther below, the liberty restrictions in such an interview
(to the extent they exist) arise primarily from the custo-
dial aspects of public schooling, rather than the presence
of law-enforcement officers. See pp. 80-31, tnfra. And
Because S.C. was not herself suspected of committing a crime, this
case provides no occasion to address the circumstances under which an
in-school interview with a suspect would be reasonable.
2d
so long as such interviews take place on school prounds,
do not Involve physical restraint, and do not involve the
commandeering of personal property, they lack the indi.
cia of a custedial arrest. Compare, e.g., Montoya de
Hernandez, 473 ULS. at 544 (prolonged detention of un-
cooperative suspect in private airport office not consid
ered an arrest), with /lorida v. Royer, 460 U.S. 491,
502-505 (1982) (plurality opinion) (functional arrest
where police in airport seized ticket, identification, and
luppagre of suspect waiting to board plane and took him
to private room for interrogation); Danaway v. New
York, 442 U.S. 200, 212 (1979) (functional arrest where
suspect was taken to police station and would have been
restramed had he tried to leave).
To assess the reasonableness of this type of seizure,
this Court looks to “the pravity of the public concerns
served by the seizure, the degree to which the seizure
advances the publie interest, and the severity of the in-
terference with individual liberty.” Lidster, 540 ULS. at
427 (quoting Brown, 448 ULS. at 51). Under that rubric,
a warrantless interview at a public school of a child
whom officials reasonably suspect to be a victim of pa-
rental abuse is constitutional, so long as the interview ts
conducted in a reasonable manner.
lL. Multiple important “publie concerns” are “served
by” the interview of a suspected victim of parental
abuse, part-cularly parental sexual abuse. ‘To begin
with, it is “evident beyond the need for elaboration” that
the governmental “interest in ‘safeguarding the physical
and psychological well-being of a minor’ is ‘compel
ling,” and that “prevention of sexual exploitation and
abuse of children constitutes a government objective of
surpassing importance.” New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S.
747, 7TH6-757 (1982) (quoting Globe Newspaper Co. v.
ws
Supertor Cl, 457 U.S. 596, 607 (1982)); see Child Abuse,
Domestic Violence, Adoption and Family Services Act of
1992, Pub. I. No. 102-295, 8 102 (a), 106 Stat. 189
(“|SJubstantial reductions in the prevalence and inci-
dence of child abuse and neglect and the alleviation of its
consequences are matters of the highest national prior-
ity.”). ‘There is also a related, but distinet, governmental
interest in the public-schooling context in assuring that
the influences a child is under (even if those influences
arise off-campus) do not impede the ability of that child,
or of other children, to participate in school activities.
See Board of Kduc. of Indep. Sch. Dist. No. 92 v. Harts,
636 US. 822, 829-831 (2002) (recognizing a similar inter-
est in relation to drug abuse); Acton, 515 ULS. at 661-662
(same); Jill Goldman et al., Office on Child Abuse &
Neglect, U.S. Dep’t of Health and Human Servs., A Co-
ordinated Response to Child Abuse and Neglect: The
Foundation for Practice 37 (2003) “Research has con-
sistently found that maltreatment inereases the risk of
lower academic achievement and problematic school per-
formance.”), http://www.childwelfare.gov/pubs/
usermanuals/foundation/foundation. pdf.”
2. A seizure of the sort that has been presumed
in this case “advances the public interest” to a signifi-
cant degree. If officials were required to have probable
cause (in support of either a warrant or an exigent-
circumstances exception) to interview a suspected child-
even outside the particular contexts of child abuse and public
school, the federal yovernament and the states have a strong peneral
interest in the detection, prevention, and prosecution of crime. See
Terry, 892 U.S. at 22; see also Lidster, 540 US. at 427 (grave” public
concern in investigation of fatal hit-and-run accident); Place, 462 US
at 708 ('[Pyhe public has a compelling interest in detecting those who
would traffic in deadly drugs for personal profit.) (citation omitted).
*}()
ubuse vielim, at least some child-abuse investigations
could be completely stymied. See penerally Arizona
Amicus Merits Brief. “Because of a lack of physical or
medical evidence in most causes, and because |[child-
serxual-abusel offenses by their nature typically take
place in private, often the statements of the child who is
the alleved vietim are eritically important, and perhaps
the only, evidence.” Frank kL. Vandervort, Videotaping
lnvestigative luterviews of Children in Cases of Child
Sexual Abuse: One Community’s Approach, 96 Jd. Crim,
lL & Criminology 18538, 1854 (2006) (footnote omitted);
see Pennsylvania v. Ritchre, 480 US. 389, 60 (1987)
(“Child abuse is one of the most difficult crimes to detect
and prosecute, in large part because there often are no
Witnesses except the victim.) It will therefore be diffi.
cult, if not impossible, in many cases to obtain probable
cause before interviewing the child. See, ¢.g., Mark
Hardin, Legal Barriers in Child Abuse Investigations:
State Powers and Individual Rights, 63 Wash. L. Rev.
493, 519 (L988); 7d. at 520 1.98; 5 Wayne KR. Lak ave,
Search and Seizure & 10.3(a), at 105 (4th ed. 2004).
The court of appeals’ recognition of an exception to
the warrant requirement where the parent has con-
sented to the questioning tay help officers overcome
those obstacles in some cases. But while there will sure-
ly be many cases in which parental consent can be
sought and obtained, there will be other cases in which
it cannot—for example, cases involving single-parent
families or families where both parents are alleyed to
have participated in the abuse. And even in two-parent
families where only one parent is suspected, the other
parent may not be open to cooperating with investipa-
tors. National Ctr. for Prosecution of Child Abuse,
American Prosecutors Research Inst., Jnvestigation
ov
and Prosecution of Child Abuse 94 (Sd ed. 2004) (APRID
(in cases involving “an abusing and a nonabusing: par-
ent,” the “nonabusing mother may protect the child” or
“pressure the child not to talk about the abuse”); ef. Chil-
dren’s Bureau, U.S. Dep't of Health & Human Servs.,
Child Maltreatment 2008, at 7 (fir. 2-1), 70 (tbl. 5-3) (na-
tional study reporting that parents committed over 80%
of cataloged instanees of mistreatment, but made fewer
than 7% of the cataloged reports of mistreatment),
http://www.act hhs.gov/programs/cb/pubs/em0s/
emO0s.padt. Furthermore, even if there is a possibility
that parental consent might be obtained, there is a risk
that asking for it, and thereby makiny the investigation
known, will give a parent (or others) a chance to thwart
the investigation by pressuring the child. See, e.g.,
APRI 94 (observing that non abusing parent may “per-
suade the child to recant the disclosure so the perpetra-
tor does not face the criminal justice system”); Child
Abuse and Neglect: Hearing Before the Senate Select
Comm. on Indian Affairs, 100th Congy., 2d Sess. 41
(1988) (testimony by U.S. Attorney that colleagues of a
teacher accused of child abuse “bep[aln to work on the
victims so that we clould|n’t get a good statement from
them’).
6. Particularly when balanced against the impor-
tance of investigating child abuse and the impossibility
of doing so if probable cause or parental consent are
required, the “severity of the interference with individ-
ual liberty” of a reasonable in-school interview is not.
preat.
Since a schoolchild already is subject to the custodial
authority of the public school system, any liberty re-
striction imposed by the interview itself is, at most, min-
imal. A child at school, whether interviewed or not,
“lack[s| * * * the right of liberty in its narrow sense,
Le, the right to come and go at will,” because her par-
ents’ authority to “control” her “physical freedom” has
been “delegated” to school authorities. Acton, 5145 US.
at 654-655. Those school authorities can restrict both
the child’s ability to leave school grounds and the child’s
ability to move about school grounds without permission.
Though the interview may require the child Gin order to
protect her privacy) to go to a special room, the inter
view does nothing to change the preexisting restraints
on the child’s freedom that are imposed by the school.
Those restraints, which are ancillary to the interview
itself, do not factor into the Fourth Amendment calen-
lus. CE INS v. Delgado, 466 U.S. 210, 218 (1984) (““Ordi-
narily, when people are at work their freedom to move
about has been meaningfully restricted, not by the ae-
tions of law enforcement officials, but by the workers’
voluntary obligations to their employers.”); Florida vy.
Bostick, 501 US. 429, 436 (1990) (observing that while
bus passenger’s movements “were ‘confined’ in a sense,
* * * this was the natural result of his decision to take
the bus; it says nothing about whether or not the police
conduct at issue was coercive”). Simply put, “Fourth
Amendment rights * * * are different in public schools
than elsewhere,” and “the ‘reasonableness’ inquiry can-
not disregard the schools’ custodial and tutelary respon-
sibility for children.” Acton, 515 ULS. at 656.
4. The reasonableness inquiry does, of course, re-
quire consideration not only of the degree of the seizure,
but also of the manner in which it was conducted, includ-
ing its length and other factors. See, e.g., McArthur,
d3t US. at 352. The court of appeals here, however, did
not squarely address those issues in its constitutional
analysis, instead deciding the Fourth Amendment ques-
yA
tion based upon the application of a threshold warrant
requirement. ‘Phis Court need not decide in the first
instance whether the interview in this case was con-
ducted in a reasonable manner. To resolve this case,
this Court need only hold that officials are not categori-
cally barred from conducting in-school interviews of sus-
pected child-abuse victims in the absence of a warrant
(or equivalent court order), exigent circumstances, or
parental consent.
‘To the extent the Court chooses to address the man-
ner in which the interview was conducted, however, it
bears mention that certain factors that appeared to con-
cern the court of appeals in its quatified-immunity analy-
sis) namely, the presence of an armed police officer,
and the presumed two-hour length of the interview, see,
«g., Pet. App. 40 -did not necessarily render the inter-
view unreasonable. As to the presence of the officer,
this Court has observed that “lolfficers are often re-
quired to wear uniforms and in many circumstances, this
is Cause for assurance, not discomfort,” and that because
it is “well known to the public” that officers are fre-
quently armed, the “presence of a holstered firearm is
* * * unlikely to contribute to the coerciveness of the
encounter absent active brandishing of the weapon.”
Drayton, 536 U.S. at 204-205; ef. Sherry Bohannan et
al., CAMI Program, Or. Dep’t of Justice, Oregon Inter-
viewing Guidelines 43 (2d ed. 2004) (noting that while
some children might be intimidated by a uniformed ofti-
cer, others will be comforted), http://www.doj.state.or.
us/crimev/pdf/orinterviewingguide.pdf; Pet. App. 8 (stat-
ing that S.G. said she was “penerally comfortable around
police officers,” that Alford did not scare her, and that
she “trusted him”). And as to the length of the encoun-
ter, the relevant requirement is simply that any seizure
33
he “reasonably related in scope to the circumstances
which justified the interference in the first place.”
Terry, 392 U.S. at 20. A child-abuse interview, particu-
larly of a young child, may take much longer than a typi
cal Terry stop, because the interviewer cannot necessar-
ily put the questions to the child directly, and instead
needs time to lay the ground rules (including possibly
explaining the difference between telling the truth and
lying), develop a rapport, and delve sensitively into the
subject matter. See generally Harborview Ctr. for Sex-
ual Assault and ‘Traumatic Stress & Wash. State Crim.
Justice Training Comm'n, Child literview Gide (2006),
http://centerforchildwelfare.fmhi.usf.edu/k b/trpi/
Child®20 I nterview%20Guide. pdf. The fact that it may
take some time to “verify or dispel” the reasonable sus-
picion that justifies child-abuse interviews does not
make such interviews unreasonable. Montoya de Her
nandez, 473 U.S. at 544; see, e.g., Summers, 452 US. at
TOO n.b2.
Od
CONCLUSION
This Court should vaeate the judgment of the court
of appeals on respondent’s Fourth Amendment claim
and remand the case with instructions to enter judgment
for petitioners consistent with Fourth Amendment prin-
ciples set forth by this Court.
Respectfully submitted.
NitaAl KUMAR KATYAL
Acting Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
TONY WEST
LANNY A. BREUER
Assistant Attorneys General
LEONDKA RO KRUGER
Roy Wo MoLeesre Il
Acting Deputy Solicitors
General
baie: bP REGEN
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
THOMAS M. BONDY
SUSHMA SONI
JOUN M. PRLLETTIERI
Attorneys
DECEMBER ZOLO
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.