Amicus Curiae Brief — Speaker of the Arizona House of Representatives v. Flores (Nos. 08-294, 08-289)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

4 | Supreme Coun, U.S.

FILED

e~ FEB 25 2009

( > \ (|

‘Xoo ; OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Nos. 08-289, 08-294

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

THOMAS C. HORNE, SUPERINTENDENT,

ARIZONA PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

Petitioners

Vv.

MIRIAM FLORES, ET AL. ,

Respondents

SPEAKER OF THE ARIZONA HOUSE OF

REPRESENTATIVES, ET AL.,

Petitioners

¥.

MIRIAM FLORES, ET AL. ,

Respondents

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Brief of the American Unity Legal Defense

Fund, English Language Political Action

Committee, ProEnglish and the Center for

Equal Opportunity, As Amici Curiae

Supporting Petitioners

BARNABY W. ZALL

Counsel of Record for Amici Curiae

Weinberg & Jacobs, LLP

11300 Rockville Pike, #1200

Rockville, MD 20852

(301) 231-6943

50T if Cur

$1.927

wl

Questions Presented

1. Whether a federal-court injunction seeking to

compel institutional reform should be modified in the

public interest when the original judgment could not

have been issued on the state of facts and law that

now exist, even if the named defendants support the

injunction.

2. Whether compliance with the No Child Left

Behind Act’s extensive requirements for English-

language instruction is sufficient to satisfy the Equal

Educational Opportunities Act’s mandate that States

take “appropriate action” to overcome language

barriers impeding’ students’ access to equal

educational! opportunities.

i

Table of Contents

a eieaaiidannindenenaneoniin iii

I ir IE IID cccissisccicccsccncsccninssemcecenssesonaneinnes 1

I TIO oicciicsccenncesnscrccvcccnsecncossccnsescsscsseds 2

A. “Bilingual Education:” Teaching English

Language Learners in Their Native Languages...3

B. Bilingual Education Was Preferred by Federal

Policies, But Proved Largely Ineffective .............. 4

C. Some Schools Introduced New “English

Immersion” Teaching Methods....................00.c00 7

D. Structured English Immersion Proved More

Successful Than Bilingual Education................. 10

E. Parents and Educators Began Rejecting

Bilingual Education Programs and Advocating for

English Immersion Programs. ......................000000+ 12

F. Federal Policy Preferences Changed to Favor

English Language Acquisition ..................:0cc0eeees 15

I OI res bhacelenemmednndiunnans 17

RIE SE epee HOR OE ATE POE OT RT OD OPEN RC TREE: 19

I. The Decision Below Distorts And

Misapplies The Castaneda Test ................... 19

A. The Equal Educational Opportunities Act .... 19

ii

B. The Fifth Circuit Crafted a Three-Part

Castaneda Test to Evaluate EEOA Claims. ........ 22

C. The Decision Below Distorts and Misapplies

I WI ciiscrtccctadidnbenbiadenmentadeiniinmeaias 26

II. The Decision Below Distorts And

Misapplies The Relationship Between The

EEOA And The NCLB .....0..00.... 0c. cecceccec ce eeeeees 35

A. The Goals of the EEOA and Title III of the

en CC cedeniaiciinabbnwenaednies 35

B. Title III Is An Individually-Focused Civil

STINET 6; 42 isis isiheeices aaeiameaegbasapnideeemadamtauenaaaietn 36

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Approach Could Harm,

EE ER MRM Fea aoe a ees 38

TTT OETA OPTRA Ey POET 39

iil

Table of Authorities

Cases:

Calif. Teachers Ass’n v. State Bd. Of Ed., 271 F.3d

ARIE eS ae a 13, 29

Castaneda v. Pickard, 648 F.2d 989 (5th Cir. 1981)

siocesedaonabioneenaoemakeiiinpiaiboaneilasnseibaisilisieieinesiiaibibei passim

Castaneda by Castaneda v. Pickard, 680 F.2d 456 (5th

a Sc alaeeeneieaniniomniaeeniues 30

Flores v. Arizona, 516 F.3d 1140 (9th Cir. 2008)..........

Lecieseitatsdakdelehatpdgaiiteidiapimiedinamuieniniaunenddeiietinitiidaninbee passim

Gomez v. Illinois State Bd. Of Education, 811 F.2d

I I, scree eaternienibamiioigenianeis 26, 30

Guadalupe Organization, Inc. v. Tempe Elementary

School Dist. No. 3, 587 F.2d 1022 (9th Cir 1978)...

ieee lneicbateeshdeedtiedanirudaenaishiaeieainbpneniesesiieaiaeiaideibitidl 21, 22

Idaho Migrant Council v. Bd. Of Educ., 647 F.2d 69

RRR TREIER SEES. EF ASE ROR 37

Keyes v. School District No. 1, 521 F.2d 465 (10th Cir.

1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1066 (1976) ............ 20

Lau vu. Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974) ....0... 3, 4,5

Serna v. Portales Municipal Schools, 351 F.Supp.

DE LER EA RO a OO 20

iv

Serna v. Portales Municipal Schools, 499 F.2d 1147

CBee Gil. GD cccecresesxsseescisiitiutiiauasmanaen 20

Sorenson v. Secretary of Treasury of U.S., 475 US.

RE CR ies nce nnnnvncesinccssiinincssctnnssensaneessisineeeanaaee 30

United States v. Texas, 342 F.Supp. 24 (E.D.Tex.

1971), aff'd, 466 F.2d 518 (5th Cir. 1972)............ 21

United States v. Texas, 680 F.2d 356 (5th Cir. 1982)

United States v. Texas Education Agency, 532 F.2d

380 (5th Cir.), vacated sub nom. Austin

Independent School District v. United States, 429

COT, GED CID ceccnicnneectsiniunttitninenieciamlinnaaana 21

Valeria v. Davis, 307 F.3d 1036 (9th Cir. 2002)....2, 13

Valeria G. v. Wilson, 12 F. Supp.2d 1007 (N.D. Cal.

BID ccccrssssncsvcescenssescinninissnpinestaisinnnniiiiiaiiimaiiaiaanae 2

Statutes:

Bilingual Education Act of 1974, 20 U.S.C. § 880b et

BO. CEI GED cencescesseccccnsssensopiesventiasiiionsnsenaana 4

Equal Educational Opportunities Act of 1974, 20

Wy ise © BPE vsccesccssecsivsessnieninnaienaaiaaall passim

Title III of the No Child Left Behind Act, 20 U.S.C. §

Ble OP GD, cccovsceessncsnsesnntsnsciamennentiiaaiaae passim

BO UBS. © BG C6 COW cncescccsecveesasteesscesenenmamnan 15

BD UF TIE. B GBB Pace cocenscccsesvescescateeesecssennemiunaaiay 16, 31

Neen csi adacssnensernensenense 4

Teen i dsiiaaieremncenconnensons 10

Nee a casamsnnsnbanceoencvenes 9

NESE 9

147 Cong. Rec. $13328 (Dec. 17, 2001) .............. 15, 38

Miscellaneous:

Accountability Division, Research and Evaluation

Section, Arizona Dept. of Education, “State

Report Cards,” Dec. 29, 2008, available at:

www.ade.az.gov/srcs/statereportcards........... 31, 32

Arizona Dept. of Education, The Effects of Bilingual

Education Programs and Structured English

Immersion Programs on Student Achievement: a

Large-Scale Comparison, July 2004, available at:

http://epsl.asu.edu/epru/articles/EPRU-0408-66-

Cele oi sacccustondanenesesntanccooes 4,9, 10

Keith Baker, et al., Effectiveness of Bilingual

Education: A Review of the Literature, U.S. Dept.

of Education, 1981, available at:

http://www.eric.ed.gov/ERICDocs/data/ericdocs2sq

l/content_storage_01/0000019b/80/32/b7/39. pdf

Paul Berman, et al., Meeting the Challenge of

Language Diversity: An Evaluation of Programs

for Pupils of Limited Proficiency in English, BW

Associates, Berkeley, California, 1992................... 6

vi

Commission on Behavioral and Social Sciences and

Education, National Research Council, Institutes

of Medicine Educating Language Minority

Children, National Academy Press, Washington,

D.C., 1998, available at

http://eric.ed.gov/ERICDocs/data/ericdocs2sql/cont

ent_storage_01/0000019b/80/15/93/9d.pdf............. 7

Comm. On Ed. & the Work Force, “No Child Left

Behind Act of 2001,” H.R. Rep. 107-63, Pt. 1..........

Scssenseiidiigleiclia eM ale is ER ane 12, 38

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Board of Education,

Report No. 5 to the United States District Court,

District of Massachusetts on Boston School

Desegregation, Vol. 2, July 15, 1985..................... 6

Conf.Rep. No. 93-1026, 93d Cong., 2nd Sess. (1974),

reprinted in (1974) U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News

TITTY ss chseschinccisechinacesceadeabchctitaiialinadiasbaieneikanatadiniatanemame 5

Elections Division, State of Massachusetts,

“Massachusetts 2002 Election Ballot Question

Results,” available at:

www.sec.state.ma.us/ele/eleres/questions.htm .... 14

English for the Children of Massachusetts, Ballot

Initiative Campaign Launched to Dismantle

Bilingual Education in Massachusetts, July 31,

2001, available at:

www.onenation.org/0107/pr073101.htm ............. 14

vii

Russell Gersten, et al., Bilingual Immersion: A

Longitudinal Study, READ Institute, Washington,

D.C. 1992, available at:

http://eric.ed.gov/ERICDocs/data/ericdocs2sql/cont

ent_storage_01/0000019b/80/29/b2/e6. pdf............ 10

Daniel Gonzalez, “Arizona Win Encourages Bilingual

Ed Opponents,” Arizona Republic, Nov. 20, 2000,

A-1, available at:

http://www.onenation.org/0011/112000a.htm..... 13

Joanne Jacobs, The Education of J*A*I*M*E

C*A*P*E*L*L*A*N: English Learner Success in

California Schools. Lexington Institute.

Arlington, VA, 2008, available at:

http://lexingtoninstitute.org/docs/Joanne%20Jacob

s%20Paper%20-%20June%202008. pdf .......... 11, 12

Massachusetts Bilingual Education Commission,

Striving for Success: The Education of Bilingual

Pupils: A Report of the Bilingual Education

Commission. Boston, 1994. ............0..0..0..ccccecceeeee es 7

Rita Montero, “A Tale of Two Tongues,” Denver Post,

May 25, 1997, available at:

www.onenation.org/1997/052597.html................ 12

New York City Board of Education, Educational

Progress of Students in Bilingual and ESL

Programs: a Longitudinal Study, 1990-1994,

available at:

http://eric.ed.gov/ERICDocs/data/ericdocs2sql/cont

ent_storage_01/0000019b/80/13/9a/d1.pdf........... 10

Vili

PBS Online Newshour, “Double Talk,” Newshour

Transcript, Sept. 21, 1997, available at

www.pbs.org/newshour/bb/education/july-

dec97/bilingual 9-21. html ...........000 ee 13

Rosalie Pedalino Porter, FORKED TONGUE: THE

POLITICS OF BILINGUAL EDUCATION, 2nd ed. (1996)

Christine Rossell, et al., Bilingual Education in

Massachusetts: The Emperor Has No Clothes,

Pioneer Institute, Boston, Massachusetts, 1996,

available at:

http://eric.ed.gov/ERICDocs/data/ericdocs2sql/cont:

ent_storage_01/0000019b/80/15/3d/04. pdf......... 7,9

Kelly Torrance, Immersion Not Submersion: Lessons

from Three California Districts’ Switch From

Bilingual Education to Structured Immersion,

Vol. II. Lexington Institute, Arlington, VA, 2006,

available at:

http://lexingtoninstitute.org/docs/707.pdf ........... 11

U.S. Dept. of Education, “Title III--Language

Instruction For Limited English Proficient And

Immigrant Students Language Instruction for

Limited English Proficient and Immigrant

Students (II]),” No Child Left Behind: A Desktop

Reference, available at:

www.ed.gov/admins/lead/account/nclbreference/pa

I I sais sili esiineblelapelilgebaibenbiceoicbacgnenasidiaill 16, 36

1

INTEREST OF AMICI

The American Unity Legal Defense Fund is an

independent, national, non-profit educational

organization dedicated to preserving our historical

unity as Americans into the 21st Century.

www.americanunity.org. AULDF has filed amici

curiae briefs in this Court, including in Mohawk

Industries v. Williams, No. 05-465 (brief of the

Immigration Political Action Committee and five

other organizations), and Crawford v. Marion County

Election Board, Nos. 07-21, 07-25.

The English Language Political Action

Committee is an independent, bipartisan national

committee devoted to promoting English as the

Official Language.

ProEnglish is a member-supported, national,

non-profit organization working to educate the public

about the need to protect English as our common

language and to make it the official language of the

United States. www.proenglish.org. ProEnglish has

been active in the courts, including providing

essential support to proponents of an Arizona

initiative to make English the official language.

Arizonans for Official English v. Arizona, No. 95-974.

The Center for Equal Opportunity is a

national, non-profit organization which opposes

1 Pursuant to Rule 37.6, amici certify that no counsel

for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, no such

counsel or party made a monetary contribution intended to fund

the preparation or submission of the brief, and no person other

than the amici curiae or their counsel made such a monetary

contribution. All parties have consented to the filing of this

brief.

2

bilingual education, because it segregates students by

national origin, encourages identity politics, and fails

to teach children English. www.ceousa.org. CEO has

assisted parents of English Language Learners to

challenge ineffective bilingual education programs in

several states.

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

The decision below rests on two fundamental

errors:

« A misunderstanding and misapplication of the

Castaneda test long used to evaluate claims

under the Equal Educational Opportunities

Act (“EEOA”); and,

* A misunderstanding of the _ relationship

between the EEOA and Title III of the No

Child Left Behind Act (“NCLB”).

Both errors, described in more detail below,

stem from the failure of the Ninth Circuit to

understand the evolution in methods for teaching

English Language Learners. Demonstrating the

errors requires a brief description of the three-

decade-long movement from “bilingual education” to

more effective English Immersion instruction.

“(T]he debate is a neutral one, about which

system will provide LEP [Limited English Proficient]

children with the best education to enable them to

function as American citizens and enjoy the

opportunities and privileges of life in the United

States.” Valeria v. Davis, 307 F.3d 1036, 1041 (9th

Cir. 2002), quoting, Valeria G. v. Wilson, 12

F.Supp.2d 1007, 1014-15 (N.D. Cal. 1998) (“This

court cannot discern from the face of Proposition 227

any hidden agenda of racial or national origin

discrimination against any group”).

3

The movement from “bilingual education” to

“English language acquisition” is, to the leading

authorities, a civil rights and enabling issue:

Without competence in the _ standard

language of the society, immigrants... are ata

disabling disadvantage, unable to share in the

economic opportunities of a democratic society.

. .. The sooner this enabling skill is acquired,

the sooner children can join in the full life of

their school and community.

Rosalie Pedalino Porter, FORKED TONGUE: THE

POLITICS OF BILINGUAL EDUCATION, 2nd ed. (1996), at

254

A. “Bilingual Education:” Teaching

English Language Learners in Their

Native Languages:

Before Lau v. Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974),

efforts to teach English Language Learners were

haphazard or non-existent. In Lau, for example, this

Court noted that of 2,856 children of Chinese

ancestry in the San Francisco school system who did

not speak English, 1,800 received no supplemental

instruction to teach them English. Lau, 414 U.S. at

564. California law at the time provided for assistance

to those who could not speak English, but at the

discretion of the school system. 414 U.S. at 565.

Justice Douglas, writing for the Court, found

that the failure to provide at least some assistance

violated Section 601 of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act

of 1964, because it “denies them a meaningful

opportunity to participate in the educational

program.” 414 U.S. at 568. This Court did not

4

mandate any particular form of assistance for

language-minority children:

No specific remedy is urged upon us.

Teaching English to the students of Chinese

ancestry who do not speak the language is one

choice. Giving instructions to this group in

Chinese is another. There may be others.

Petitioners ask only that the Board of

Education be directed to apply its expertise to

the problem and rectify the situation.

414 US. at 564-65.

One early attempt at teaching English

Language Learners was “bilingual education.”

“Bilingual education/native language instruction’

means a language acquisition process for students in

which much or all instruction, textbooks, or teaching

materials are in the child's native language other

than English.” A.R.S. § 15-751.1 (2008) (emphasis

added).

“Bilingual programs make use of students’

native language in the classroom while developing

English.” Arizona Dept. of Education, The Effects of

Bilingual Education Programs and _ Structured

English Immersion Programs on _ Student

Achievement: a Large-Scale Comparison, July 2004,

at 1.

B. Bilingual Education Was Preferred by

Federal Policies, But Proved Largely

Ineffective:

In the Bilingual Education Act of 1974, 20

U.S.C. § 880b et seq. (1976), Congress expressly

directed that the state and local agencies receiving

funds under the Act were free to develop their own

5

programs. Conf.Rep. No. 93-1026, 93d Cong., 2nd

Sess. (1974), reprinted in (1974) U.S.Code Cong. &

Ad.News 4093, 4206.

The federal Department of Health, Education

and Welfare, however, issued the so-called “Lau

Guidelines,” which promoted the use of bilingual

education. “Following the Supreme Court's decision

in Lau, HEW developed the ‘Lau Guidelines’ as a

suggested compliance plan for school districts which,

as a result of Lau, were in violation of Title VI

because they failed to provide any English language

assistance to students having limited English

proficiency.” Castaneda v. Pickard, 648 F.2d 989,

1006 (5th Cir. 1981) (“Castaneda”). “Under the Lau

Guidelines, plaintiffs argue, ‘pressing English on the

child is not the first goal of language remedciation.’”

Id.

The Lau Guidelines were the result of a

policy conference organized by HEW; these

guidelines were not developed through the

usual administrative procedures employed to

draft administrative rules or regulations. The

Lau Guidelines were never published in the

Federal Register. Since the Department itself

in its administrative decision found that

RISD’s [the Raymondville Independent School

District’s] departure from the Lau Guidelines

was not determinative of the question whether

the district complied with Title VI, we do not

think that these guidelines are the sort of

administrative document to which we

customarily give great deference in our

determinations of compliance with a statute.

Id.

6

Nevertheless, most federal funding and school

system pedagogical decisions assumed the Lau

Guidelines as a federal mandate, and suits, including

the landmark Castaneda case, were brought alleging

violations of the Guidelines. Jd.

Over time, these bilingual education programs

proved inadequate to teaching children either English

or subject matter. In 1981, the U.S. Department of

Education concluded that “the case for the

effectiveness of “Transitional Bilingual Education’ is

so weak that exclusive reliance on this instructional

method is clearly not justified.” Keith Baker, et ai.,

Effectiveness of Bilingual Education: A Review of the

Literature, ‘Technical Analysis Report Series, U.S:

Dept. of Education, at 8 (“Dept. of Education Study”).

In 1985, the Massachusetts Board of Education

concluded that “it appears that bilingual programs

both segregate them and fail to teach a substantial

proportion of them the skills which, according to the

Lau decision, are essential.” Commonwealth of

Massachusetts Board of Education, Report No. 5 to

the United States District Court, District of

Massachusetts on Boston School Desegregation, Vol.

2, July 15, 1985, at 74 (emphasis in original).

In 1992, a California State study examined 20

years of bilingual education, and found no evidence

that native language instruction is beneficial, and

also found that students are kept in bilingual

education programs for too many years. Paul

Berman, et al., Meeting the Challenge of Language

Diversity: An Evaluation of Programs for Pupils of

Limited Proficiency in English, BW _ Associates,

Berkeley, California, 1992, at 38.

In 1994, the Massachusetts _ Bilingual

Education Commission analyzed 23 years of bilingual

7

education. eed concluded that there was no evidence

that “transitional bilingual education” programs

produced good results. Massachusetts Bilingual

Education Commission, Striving for Success: The

Education of Bilingual Pupils: A Report of the

Bilingual Education Commission, Boston, 1994.

In 1996, the Rossell/Baker study analyzed 76

reliable research studies on bilingual education,

concluding there is no evidence that bilingual

education programs are superior for teaching either

English or subject matter. Christine Rossell, et al.,

Bilingual Education in Massachusetts: The Emperor

Has No Clothes, Pioneer Institute, Boston,

Massachusetts, 1996 (“Rossell”).

In 1998, the National Research Council of the

National Institutes of Medicine reviewed 29 years of

bilingual education and concluded that there was no

long-term advantage in teaching literacy in a child’s

native language and no negative effects from teaching

English language literacy first. Commission on

Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education,

National Research Council, Institutes of Medicine

Educating Language Minority Children, National

Academy Press, Washington, D.C., 1998.

C. Some Schools Introduced New

“English Immersion” Teaching Methods:

Some schools began using an alternative

method of instruction: “immersing” the students in

English, and providing special assistance in other

languages only when needed. In 1981 the USS.

Department of Education described the rationale:

The commonsense’ observation _ that

children should be taught in a language they

8

understand does not necessarily lead to the

conclusion they should be taught in their home

language. They can be successfully taught in a

second language if it is done right. The key to

successful teaching in the second language

seems to be to insure that the second language

and subject matter are taught simultaneously

so that subject content never gets ahead of

language. Given the American setting, where

the language-minority child must ultimately

function in an _ English-speaking society,

carefully conducted second-language

instruction in all subjects may well be

preferable to bilingual methods.

Dept. of Education Study, at 8.

A 1996 Massachusetts review of 76 studies

describes the English Immersion classroom:

The language of instruction in a structured

immersion program is English at a level the

child can understand in a_ self-contained

classroom of LEP students who are at

approximately the same level of English

language knowledge and the same age. The

children in a structured immersion classroom

do not have to be of the same language

background, but the teacher should be trained

in second language acquisition techniques.

These programs should be fully integrated into

regular schools so that students are exposed to

English speakers on the playground, in the

cafeterias, the halls, assemblies, and other

areas before, during, and after school. LEP

students should probably not remain in self-

contained classrooms for more than a year,

even if the language of instruction is English.

Rossell, supra, at 9.

Arizona law, enacted by Proposition 203,2

defines one such method, known as Structured

English Immersion (“SEI”):

“Sheltered English immersion” or

“structured English immersion” means an

English language acquisition process for young

children in which nearly all classroom

instruction is in English but with the

curriculum and presentation designed for

children who are learning the language. Books

and instructional materials are in English and

all reading, writing, and subject matter are

taught in English. Although teachers may use

a minimal amount of the child's native

language when necessary, no subject matter

shall be taught in any language other than

2 “Proposition 203 largely abolished bilingual education,

replacing it with sheltered English immersion, a_ teaching

method ‘in which nearly all classroom instruction is in English

but with the curriculum and presentation designed for children

who are learning the language.’” Flores v. Arizona, 516 F.3d

1140, 1149 (9th Cir. 2008).

Contrary to the lower court’s assertion about bilingual

education being “abolished,” bilingual education teaching

methods are still available in Arizona. A.R.S. §§ 15-752, 15-753

(2000). Structured English Immersion (“SEI”) is the default

instructional method; children who obtain waivers, based on

educators’ evaluations and parental consent, may be placed in

bilingual education classrooms. Id. Approximately 7,900

students obtained waivers and participated in _ bilingual

education programs in the 2002-03 academic year. Arizona Dept.

of Education, The Effects of Bilingual Education Programs and

Structured English Immersion Programs on_ Student

Achievement: a Large-Scale Comparison, July 2004. (“Arizona

Student Achievement Study”), at Table 1, P. 5. More than

65,000 students participated in SEI programs. Jd.

10

English, and children in this program learn to

read and write solely in English.

A.R.S. § 15-751.5 (2008).

D. Structured English Immersion Proved

More Successful Than Bilingual

Education:

In 1992, the Research in English Acquisition

and Development Institute studied El Paso, Texas’s,

“Bilingual Immersion Project,” and found that, over

the ten-year study period, Limited English

Proficiency children in English immersion classes

consistently outperformed children in _ native

language instruction classes in both learning English

and in subject matter. Russell Gersten, et al.,

Bilingual Immersion: A Longitudinal Study, READ

Institute, Washington, D.C. 1992.

In 1994, the New York City Board of Education

found that students in English as a Second Language

classes (similar to immersion programs) exited their

special program faster and did better in mainstream

classrooms than students taught in their native

language. New York City Board of Education,

Educational Progress of Students in Bilingual and

ESL Programs: a Longitudinal Study, 1990-1994.

The Arizona Department of Education

reported that, in academic year 2002-03, “[TJhose

students in SEI programs significantly outperformed

bilingual students in 24 out of 24 comparisons. .. .

[Bljilingual students are more than a year behind

their SEI counterparts in seventh and eighth grade.”

Arizona Student Achievement Study, at 3.

Similar results were achieved in California.

11

California made headlines across. the

country when test scores were released after

the passage of Proposition 227. Opponents of

the law had predicted it would spell disaster for

English learners. But quite the opposite

occurred. Only a quarter of English learners

scored in the top two proficiency categories on

the California English Language Development

Test (CELDT) in 2001, shortly after

Proposition 227 was implemented, and the first

year the exam was given. By 2005, almost haif

did — 47 percent.

Kelly Torrance, Jmmersion Not Submersion: Lessons

from Three California Districts’ Switch From

Bilingual Education to Structured Immersion, Vol. II.

Lexington Institute, Arlington, VA, 2006, at 4.

In addition, those who completed the program

sometimes outdid native English-speakers in test

performance.

A larger group of students start as English

Learners but achieve proficiency, making them

Reclassified Fluent English Proficient (RFEP).

These students “do just as well as, and, in

some cases, even better than non-EL students

on every state standardized academic test,

including the California Standards Test, the

Stanford Assessment Test and the California

High School Exit Exam,” notes the 2007

Evaluation Report on the California High

School Exit Exam (CAHSEE) by Human

Resources Research Organization.

Joanne Jacobs, The Education of -J*A*I*M*E

C*A*P*E*L*L*A*N: English Learner Success in

California Schools. Lexington Institute. Arlington,

VA, 2008, at 5.

12

“Remarkably, 52 percent of reclassified

students passed the college-prep courses required by

the University of California and California State

University systems in 2003, compared to only 32

percent of students who speak English as thei. first

language.” Jd., at 7.

E. Parents and Educators Began

Rejecting Bilingual Education Programs

and Advocating for English Immersion

Programs:

Given these dramatic differences in success

rates, it was inevitable that parents and caring

educators began clamoring for more successful

programs for English Language Learners. “Over the

past few years, the Committee has heard a growing

number of complaints from parents whose children

have been placed and retained in bilingual education

courses without their permission or knowledge. In

many instances, these parents faced great resistance

in their efforts to remove their children from such

programs.” Comm. On Ed. & the Work Force, “No

Child Left Behind Act of 2001,” H.R. Rep. 107-63, Pt.

1, at 277.

One was Rita Montero, a member of the

Denver, Colorado, School Board, and once a supporter

of bilingual education, who changed her view: “As a

mother whose child was forced to stay in this

program, I know its problems first-hand.”3 Montero’s

son, Camilo, was put into a bilingual education class,

at her request. Her second-grade son had been doing

3 Rita Montero, “A ‘Tale of ‘l'wo Tongues,” Denver Post, May 25,

1997.

13

fractions and adding three digit numbers, but his

bilingual education class was far behind Camilo’s

capabilities: “So I said to the teacher this is it; I want

him to be taken out and put in an English-speaking

class.”4

Similar parent and educator disquiet over

bilingual education’s failures led to successful voter

initiatives in California (1998), Arizona (2000), and

Massachusetts (2002):

Well, the overwhelming practical evidence

is that bilingual education has failed on every

large scale case that's been tried in the United

States, in particular in California. The origins

of this initiative was the case last year of a lot

of immigrant Latino parents in downtown LA,

who had to begin a public boycott of their local

elementary school to try to force the school to

give their children the right to be taught

English, which the school was denying.

“Double Talk,” supra (Statement of Ron Unz). The

Ninth Circuit repeatedly upheld California’s

Proposition 227. Valeria v. Davis, supra; Calif.

Teachers Ass’n v. State Bd. Of Ed., 271 F.3d 1141 (9

Cir. 2001).

The California reform movement stimulated

Arizona’s Proposition 203, which passed with 63% of

the vote on the Nov. 2000 ballot. Daniel Gonzalez,

“Arizona Win Encourages Bilingual Ed Opponents,”

Arizona Republic, Nov. 20, 2000, A-1.

In 2002, Massachusetts voters adopted

Question 2 by a vote of 68% to 32% of those voting.

4 PBS Online Newshour, “Double ‘l'alk,” Newshour Transcript,

Sept. 21, 1997 (“Double Talk”).

14

Elections Division, State of Massachusetts,

“Massachusetts 2002 Election Ballot Question

Results”.

Lincoln Jesus Tamayo, statewide chair of

English for the Children of Massachusetts,

argued that a ballot initiative was the only

solution. “As a Latino immigrant child who

arrived in America speaking no English, I

know the importance of learning that

language. As a high school principal, I have

seen the dismal results of our current so-called

bilingual programs, which teach English much

too slowly. And as Chairman of the

Massachusetts Bilingual Education Advisory

Council, I recognized the hopelessness of

legislative efforts to reform this dreadful

system of Spanish-only instruction. We've

already lost too many generations of Latino

students; the ‘English for the Children’

initiative is their only chance.”

The views of Mr. Tamayo were seconded by

those of Co-Chair Rosalie Pedalino Porter,

herself an immigrant child, former director of

bilingual programs for Newton, MA, and

author of Forked Tongue, a powerful critique

of bilingual education. “I learned English as a

child in school, but was later forced to

administer a system which prevented other

immigrant children from doing the same. After

wasting fifteen years trying to reform bilingual

programs, I’ve decided we must end them

instead.”

English for the Children of Massachusetts, Ballot

Initiative Campaign Launched to Dismantle

Bilingual Education in Massachusetts, July 31, 2001.

15

F. Federal Policy Preferences Changed

to Favor English Language Acquisition:

This evolution in teaching methods gradually

penetrated federal policy, leading to the end of

policies and “Lau guidelines” preferring bilingual

education. In 2001, Congress enacted Title III of the

No Child Left Behind Act, Pub.L. No. 107-110, 115

Stat. 1425 (“NCLB”).

The NCLB reversed the federal educational

priorities for English Language Learners and

promoted English language acquisition. See, e.g.,

Section 1072 of NCLB, replacing “Office of Bilingual

Education and Minority Languages Affairs’’ and

“Office of Bilingual Education” in the Department of

Education Organization Act (20 U.S.C. 3401 et seq.),

with “Office of English Language Acquisition,

Language Enhancement, and Academic Achievement

for Limited English Proficient Students’’.

Yet we know what happened to bilingual

education. It got off track. Instead of kids

learning English, we ended up isolating kids,

took them on a train track that took them to

their language and left them there, put them in

schools and classrooms where they basically

were being taught in their language and they

were not being allowed to learn English

essentially, or they were not being asked to

learn English.

147 Cong. Rec. 513328 (Dec. 17, 2001)(Statement of

Sen. Gregg).

The new Title III of NCLB requires federal

grantees “to help ensure that children who are

limited English proficient, including immigrant

16

children and youth, attain English proficiency,

develop high levels of academic attainment in

English, and meet the same challenging State

academic content and student academic achievement

standards as all children are expected to meet.” 20

U.S.C. § 6812(1).

Thus, where “[uJnder the Lau Guidelines,

plaintiffs argue, ‘pressing English on the child is not

the first goal of language remediation’,” Castaneda,

648 F.2d at 1006, under Title LI] of the NCLB,

attaining English proficiency was the first goal. 20

U.S.C. § 6812(1).

The U.S. Department of Education describes

the new NCLB requirements for schools as:

School districts must use Title III funds to

provide high-quality language _ instruction

programs that are based on scientifically based

research, and that have demonstrated that

they are effective in increasing English

proficiency and student achievement.

Districts are required to provide high-

quality professional development to classroom

teachers, principals, administrators, and other

school or community-based organizational

personnel in order to improve the instruction

and assessment of limited English proficient

students.

Districts are held accountable for making

adequate yearly progress as described in Title I

and meeting all annual achievement objectives.

U.S. Dept. of Education, “Title II] - Language

Instruction For Limited English Proficient And

Immigrant Students Language Instruction for

Limited English Proficient and Immigrant Students

17

(III),” No Child Left Behind: A Desktop Reference

(“NCLB Desktop Reference”).

Thus, America’s methods for teaching English

Language Learners have moved beyond ineffective

bilingual education programs measured by “process”

or “inputs”, toward a result-oriented test of whether

children are succeeding. The decision below missed

this evolution:

If anything, after 2000, when Arizona

moved away from bilingual education and

required most courses to be taught in English,

regardless of students’ language abilities, these

challenges have become greater: a_ tenth

grader, for example, who speaks no English but

must pass a biology course taught entirely in

English will require considerable assistance.

516 F.3d at 1169.

This statement, central to the Ninth Circuit’s

belief that more resources were necessary, does not

reflect an understanding of the Structured English

Immersion program, or its results. The essence of SEI

programs is that students are given the assistance

necessary, but based on an individual student’s

needs, not on an assumption that the student will not

do well in an English-language curriculum.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Ninth Circuit decision below made two

fundamental errors:

* misunderstanding and ~misapplying’§ the

Castaneda test long used to evaluate claims

under the Equal Educational Opportunities

Act; and,

18

* misunderstanding Title III of the No Child Left

Behind Act, and misapplying the relationship

between the EEOA and Title III.

Both errors stem from the same root: a failure

of the Ninth Circuit to understand the evolution in

methods for teaching English Language Learners,

described supra.

The three-part Castaneda test was formulated

to permit courts to evaluate claims under the Equal

Educational Opportunities Act, the post-Lau effort to

insure that school systems made a “good faith” effort

to assist English Language Learners. The Ninth

Circuit attempted to apply the Castaneda test in this

case, but did not understand it. As a result, the Ninth

Circuit changed the Castaneda test from one focused

on results, to one measuring inputs. Because

demands for more money are limitless, this change

mires the Ninth Circuit in inappropriate legislative

decision-making, and contradicts the evolution of

teaching methods now reflected in federal law.

In addition, the Ninth Circuit distorted and

mis-applied the results test which is explicitly part of

the Castaneda test. The lower court recited, but

dismissed evidence that Arizona is achieving the kind

of results sought in the No Child Left Behind Act and

the EEOA.

Similarly, the decision below misunderstood

the relationship between the EEOA and Title III of

the NCLB. In the context of the evolution of teaching

methods, described supra, Title III of the NCLB can

be seen as the legislative ratification of the three-part

Castaneda test. In particular, both the third prong of

the Castaneda test and Title III require measurable

results. The Ninth Circuit could not connect the two

results tests, even though they are essentially the

19

same. Thus, the Ninth Circuit not only failed to

understand the Castaneda test and how it applies to

Arizona’s program, but also how the EEOA and Title

III harmonize toward the same goal.

Adopting the Ninth Circuit’s new formulation

of the EEOA might resurrect one of the chief

criticisms of ineffective bilingual education programs:

that they keep English Language Learners segregated

longer than necessary, not only slowing their English

language acquisition but impeding their ability to

learn school subjects taught in English. Schools which

see ELL assistance programs as means to squeeze

additional funds out of reluctant legislatures would

feel pressure to keep the students in the programs

longer. This would mean that the Ninth Circuit

would be promoting exactly what it purports to solve:

keeping English Language Learners away from

English proficiency.

ARGUMENT

I. THE DECISION BELOW DISTORTS AND

MISAPPLIES THE CASTANEDA TEST.

A. The Equal Educational Opportunities

Act:

The Equal Educational Opportunities Act of

1974, 20 U.S.C. § 1703(f), says, in relevant part: “No

State shall deny equal educational opportunity to an

individual .. . by — (f) the failure by an educational

agency to take appropriate action to overcome

language barriers that impede equal participation by

its students in its instructional programs.”

20

The legislative history of the EEOA “is very

sparse, indeed almost non-existent.” Castaneda, 648

F.2d at 1001. “The EEOA was a floor amendment to

the 1974 legislation amending the Elementary and

Secondary Education Act of 1965, 88 Stat. 338-41.”

Id.

The interpretation of Section 1703(f) has

generally centered on the requirement that schools

take “appropriate action to overcome language

barriers.”

The difficult question presented by

plaintiffs’ challenge to the current language

remediation programs in RISD is really

whether Congress in enacting § 1703(f)

intended to go beyond the _— essential

requirement of Lau, that the schools do

something, and impose, through the use of the

term “appropriate action” a more _ specific

obligation on state and local educational

authorities.

Castaneda, 648 F.2d at 1008.

In Serna v. Portales Municipal Schools, 351

F.Supp. 1279 (D.N.M.1972), aff'd on other grounds,

499 F.2d 1147 (10th Cir. 1974), the district court

found an unconstitutional denial of equal educational

opportunity. The Tenth Circuit affirmed the decision

on the non-constitutional ground of Section 601 of

Title VI. The court further stated that because

Section 601 gives a right to bilingual instruction,

bilingual-bicultural education can be ordered. 499

F.2d at 1154.

The Tenth Circuit, in Keyes v. School District

No. 1, 521 F.2d 465 (10th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423

U.S. 1066 (1976), criticized Serna, refused to order

bilingual-bicultural education as a remedy, and

21

expressly held that a specific program of bilingual-

bicultural education was not required by the

Fourteenth Amendment. On the other hand, in

United States v. Texas Education Agency, 532 F.2d

380, 398 (5th Cir.), vacated sub nom. Austin

Independent School District v. United States, 429 U.S.

990 (1976), a certain form of bilingual-bicultural

education was held to be a proper part of a remedy

fashioned by the district court to eliminate de jure

segregation. A _ similar holding where de jure

segregation had existed was made in United States v.

Texas, 342 F.Supp. 24 (E.D.Tex.1971), aff'd, 466 F.2d

518 (5th Cir. 1972).

The early judicial analysis and application

reached perhaps its deepest point in Guadalupe

Organization, Inc. v. Tempe Elementary School Dist.

No. 3, 587 F.2d 1022 (9th Cir 1978). In Guadalupe,

the Ninth Circuit was asked whether Lau and the

HEW guidelires required Tempe, Arizona, “to

provide all non-English-speaking Mexican-American

or Yaqui Indian students attending district schools

with bilingual-bicultural education” which, inter alia,

“reflects the historical contributions of people of

appellants’ descent to the State of Arizona and the

United States.” Guadalupe, 587 F.2d at 1024.

The Ninth Circuit rejected the request for

bilingual-bicultural education:

We hold that the appellees fulfilled their

equal protection duty to children of Mexican-

American and Yaqui Indian origin when they

adopted measures, to which the appellants do

not object, to cure’ existing language

deficiencies of non-English-speaking students.

‘There exists no constitutional duty imposed by

the Equal Protection Clause to _ provide

22

bilingual-bicultural education such as _ the

appellants request.

587 F.2d at 1026-27. The Ninth Circuit similarly

rejected claims under Section 601 of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964 and under the EEOA. 587 F.2d at 1029-

30.

The Ninth Circuit explained:

Whatever may be the consequences,

good or bad, of many tongues and cultures

coexisting within a single nation-state,

whether the children of this Nation are

taught in one tongue and about primarily

one culture or in many tongues and about

many cultures cannot be determined by

reference to the Constitution. We _ hold,

therefore, that the Constitution neither

requires nor prohibits the bilingual and

bicultural education sought by the

appellants. Such matters are for the people

to decide.

587 F.2d at 1027.

B. The Fifth Circuit Crafted a Three-

Part Castaneda Test to Evaluate EEOA

Claims:

In 1981, the Fifth Circuit handed down the

landmark decision in Castaneda v. Pickard, 648 F.2d

989 (5th Cir. 1981). The Raymondville, Texas,

bilingual education program offered intensive

language instruction, in addition to bilingual content

instruction, for the first three years. “The articulated

goal of the program is to teach students fundamental

reading and writing skills in both Spanish and

English by the end of third grade.” 648 F.2d at 1004-

23

05. After the third grade, all instruction was in

English, with teachers’ aides and other assistance for

language-minority children. Special programs,

including English as a Second Language and special

tutoring, were available to all children, with special

emphasis on students who moved into the school

district after the third grade. 648 F.2d at 1005.

The plaintiffs asserted that the Raymondville

program did not comply with the requirements of

Title VI, the EEOA, and the Lau Guidelines. 648 F.2d

at 1006. “Specifically, plaintiffs contend that the

articulated goal of the Raymondville program to teach

limited English speaking children to read and write in

both English and Spanish at grade level is improper

because it overemphasizes the development of

English language skills to the detriment of the child's

overall cognitive development.” Id.

The Fifth Circuit first swiftly disposed of the

Title VI and Lau Guidelines questions.

Whatever the deficiencies of the RISD's

program of language remediation may be, we

do not think it can seriously be asserted that

this program was intended or designed to

discriminate against Mexican-American

students in the district. Thus, we think it

cannot be said that the arguable inadequacies

of the program render it violative of Title VI.

648 F.2d at 1007.

The Fifth Circuit then turned to the EEFOA

question:

We think Congress’ use of the less specific

term, “appropriate action,” rather’ than

“bilingual education,” indicates that Congress

intended to leave state and local educational

authorities a substantial amount of latitude in

24

choosing the programs and techniques they

would use to meet their obligations under the

EEOA. However, by including an obligation to

address the problem of language barriers in the

EEOA and granting limited English speaking

students a private right of action to enforce

that obligation in § 1706, Congress also must

have intended to insure that schools made a

genuine and good faith effort, consistent with

local circumstances and resources, to remedy

the language deficiencies of their students and

deliberately placed on federal courts the

difficult responsibility of determining whether

that obligation had been met.

648 F.2d at 1009.

The Fifth Circuit then formulated a three-part

test which has guided reviews of bilingual education

programs since its formulation:

In a case such as this one in which the

appropriateness of a particular school system's

language remediation program is challenged

under § 1703(f, we _ believe that the

responsibility of the federal court is threefoid.

First, the court must examine carefully the

evidence the record contains concerning the

soundness of the educational theory or

principles upon which the challenged program

is based... .

The court’s second inquiry would be

whether the programs and practices actually

used by a school system are reasonably

calculated to implement effectively the

educational theory adopted by the school. We

do not believe that it may fairly be said that a

school system is taking appropriate action to

25

remedy language barriers if, despite the

adoption of a promising theory, the system

fails to follow through with practices, resources

and personnel necessary to transform the

theory into reality.

Finally, a determination that a_ school

system has adopted a sound program for

alleviating the language barriers impeding the

educational progress of some of its students

and made bona fide efforts to make the

program work does not necessarily end the

court’s inquiry into the appropriateness of the

system's actions. If a school’s program,

although premised on a legitimate educational

theory and implemented through the use of

adequate techniques, fails, after being

employed for a period of time sufficient to give

the plan a legitimate trial, to produce results

indicating that the language barriers

confronting students are actually being

overcome, that program may, at that point, no

longer constitute appropriate action as far as

that school is concerned. We do not believe

Congress intended that under § 1703(f) a

school would be free to persist in a policy

which, although it may _ have been

“appropriate” when adopted, in the sense that

there were sound expectations for success and

bona fide efforts to make the program work,

has, in practice, proved a failure.

648 F.2d at 1009-10.

The Castaneda test continues to be the

benchmark for evaluating challenges to programs to

aid English Language Learners. The Fifth Circuit

later applied the Castaneda test to a _ statewide

26

system. United States v. Texas, 680 F.2d 356, 371 (5th

Cir. 1982). The Seventh Circuit similarly applied the

Castaneda test. Gomez uv. Illinois State Bd. Of

Education, 811 F.2d 1030, 1041-42 (7th Cir. 1987)

(EEOA applies to state as well as local agencies).

The plaintiffs and the court below used the

Castaneda test in this case. “Flores alleged,

consistent with Castaneda step two, that Arizona had

‘failed to provide financial and other resources

necessary for adequate implementation’ of its ELL

programs.” 516 F.3d at 1146.

C. The Decision Below Distorts and

Misapplies the Castaneda Test:

The lower court’s opinion musquotes and

misunderstands the Castaneda test. Because the

court below apparently did not understand the Fifth

Circuit’s careful analysis in Castaneda, its additions

converted a “good faith” test into a numerical

“resources” test, placing the court in the position of

dictating appropriations, rather than evaluating a

program.

The court below described the Castaneda test

as:

The Castaneda framework is_ three-fold:

First, courts must be satisfied that the “school

system is purs[uing] a program informed by an

educational theory recognized as sound by

some experts in the field or, at least, deemed a

legitimate experimental strategy.” Castaneda,

648 F.2d at 1009. Second, “the programs and

practices actually used by a school system

[must be] reasonably calculated to implement

effectively the educational theory adopted by

27

the school.” Jd., at 1010. There must, in other

words, be sufficient “practices, resources and

personnel ... to transform the theory into

reality.” Id. Third, even if theory is sound and

resources are adequate, the program must be

borne out by practical results. Jd.

516 F.3d at 1146 (emphases added).

The highlighted language is the Ninth Circuit’s

distortion of the Castaneda test. An analysis of the

Arizona programs under the three Castaneda prongs

illustrates the effect of this switch from substantive

analysis to analysis of “process:”

1. THEORY: Proposition 203 Adopted a

Recognized Educational Theory.

The first Castaneda test is whether the

program uses a _ recognized educational theory.

Arizona’s Proposition 203 uses a theory proven

successful in California, and very similar to that

adopted two years later by Congress in Title III of the

NCLB Act. No one in this case disputes that

Arizona’s educational theory is recognized.

2. “GOOD FAITH” IMPLEMEN-

TATION: Arizona Has Implemented the

Program Appropriately.

This second Castaneda prong is the crux of the

plaintiffs’ challenge in this case. 516 F.3d at 1146.

The Ninth Circuit has converted the second prong of

the Castaneda test from one _ focused’ on

implementation of theory into a resources test. “ELL

students need extra help and that costs extra money.”

516 F.3d at 1169.

The Ninth Circuit, using its theory that

“challenges have become greater” under Arizona’s

28

SEI program, 516 F.3d at 1169, didn’t recognize the

differences between the old bilingual education

program and more modern approaches. The Ninth

Circuit excerpted the second prong of the Castaneda

test to look to specific dollar inputs rather than good

faith efforts:

Second, “the programs and _ practices

actually used by a school system [must be]

reasonably calculated to implement effectively

the educational theory adopted by the school.”

Id., at 1010. There must, in other words, be

sufficient “practices, resources and personnel ...

to transform the theory into reality.”

Id., emphasis added.

By removing words, the Ninth Circuit

converted the second prong into a test of whether the

theory could become “reality.” This is a results test.

The only way to keep the lower court’s version of the

second prong from being a superfluous results test

would be if it were construed solely as an “inputs”

test, similar to the old Lau (Guidelines. Yet the

Castaneda court, as noted above, summarily rejected

the Lau Guidelines as a measure to judge compliance

with the EEOA. 648 F.2d at 1007.

The futility of the Ninth Circuit’s “resources”

test can be seen in a comparison of the Nogales

schools and those of “the more affluent Scottsdale

Unified School District [which] spends more than

twice as much money as does [Nogales] for its ELL

students, yet Scottsdale’s ELL 10th graders score

worse on Arizona’s AIMS academic achievement tests

than [Nogales’s}) ELL 10th graders.” Brief of

Petitioner Superintendent (“Superintendent’s Br.”)

at 43 n. 19. Adding more resources is not an adequate

measure of implementation or of results.

29

The second prong is not, in fact, a resources

test. It is a balancing test of implementation. What

Castaneda actually said was that:

Congress also must have intended to insure

that schools made a genuine and good faith

effort, consistent with local circumstances and

resources, to remedy the language deficiencies

of their students. .

The court’s second inquiry would be

whether the programs and practices actually

used by a _ school system are reasonably

calculated to implement effectively the

educational theory adopted by the school.

648 F.2d at 1009 (emphasis added).

Arizona has implemented its Structure English

Immersion program appropriately. It has passed

legislation to implement the voters’ decision. 516 F.3d

at 1167. Nogales schools score in the top ranks of

Arizona schools. Pet. App., at 363a-366a. Even the

Ninth Circuit notes that Arizona has changed its

programs to meet the needs of its English Language

Learners in these new programs. “[MJany of these

specific problems have been solved by better

management in NUSD, and because school funding

has generally increased... .” 516 F.3d at 1168.

The Castaneda test is one of “genuine and

good faith effort.” The Ninth Circuit is familiar with

“good faith” tests regarding the implementation of

English Language Learner programs. California

Teachers Ass’n, 271 F.3d at 1154-55 (upholding

California’s Prop. 227, in part, by looking at a variety

of “good faith” tests).

The Ninth Circuit did not use its own “good

faith” test, or the Castaneda “good faith

implementation” test in this case. Perhaps the Ninth

30

Circuit believed that it could evaluate and disregard

competing resource claims to satisfy the requirements

of the EEOA, but having both ignored the evolution

in education theory and practice and made a flawed

assumption about the resources needed to implement

English immersion programs, the Ninth Circuit was

in no position to judge whether Arizona’s effort was

“genuine” or in “good faith.” Thus, it had to look

solely to a dollar-input test.

The difficulty with the “process mentality”

below was predicted by the Fifth and Seventh

Circuits:

Among these are such questions as how

broad a power of “de novo” review and revision

may be exercised by a district court over

language barrier programs, consistent with the

rule that Congress cannot invest Article III

courts with jurisdiction to “exercise functions

which are essentially legislative or

administrative.”

Castaneda by Castaneda v. Pickard, 680 F.2d 456, 471

n. 24 (5th Cir. 1986); Gomez, 811 F.2d at 1041 (“we

must be careful not to substitute our suppositions for

the expert knowledge of educators or our judgment

for the educational and political decisions reserved to

the state and local agencies”’).

Demands for funds are endless. Schools can

always find a reason to “need” more funds.

Determining appropriations levels by balancing these

competing demands is one of the “quintessentially

legislative” functions. Sorenson v. Secretary of

Treasury of U.S., 475 U.S. 851, 865 (1986).

Because it failed to understand the nature of

the second prong of the Castaneda test, the decision

below both inappropriately muddied the test itself

31

and unnecessarily injected itself into legislative

resources decisions. The Castaneda test was carefully

drawn to avoid separation of powers issues while

protecting English Language Learners; the Ninth

Circuit’s ambiguous rewrite was not.

3. RESULTS: Arizona’s SEI Program is

Achieving Results Better Than Its Prior

Bilingual Education Program.

As shown by the long evolution of English

Language Learner teaching, the third prong of the

Castaneda test is perhaps the most important: does

the program get results?

The EEOA does not establish measures for

determining results. Title III of the No Child Left

Behind Act does: “to help ensure that children who

are limited English proficient, including immigrant

children and youth, attain English proficiency,

develop high levels of academic attainment in

English, and meet the same challenging State

academic content and student academic achievement

standards as all children are expected to meet.” 20

U.S.C. § 6812(1).

Arizona does seem to be getting results.

Arizona’s ELLs who have successfully completed

Arizona’s new “Structured English Immersion”

program perform better on tests of mathematics, and

English language writing and reading skills than do

native-English-speaking children. Accountability

Division, Research and Evaluation Section, Arizona

Dept. of Education, “State Report Cards,” Dec. 29,

2008.

For example, in Fiscal Year 2007, 82% of ELLs

in their second year of classification as English

Proficient (“CFEP2”) passed their Arizona

32

Instrument to Measure Standards (“AIMS”) test in

writing in English, compared to only 78% of native

English speakers. Jd. 71% of the CFEP2 students

passed their AIMS math test, compared to 68% of

native English speakers. Jd. In Fiscal Year 2008, the

achievement figures were comparable between ELLs

and native speakers; for example, the AIMS pass rate

for CFEP2 students was 72% in math, compared to

74% for native English speakers. Jd.

The Ninth Circuit dismissed the evidence of

success, putting these “encouraging” results in a

footnote, 516 F.3d at 1170 n. 38, and claiming that

“the record does not demonstrate that NUSD is

succeeding in rapidly and permanently reclassifying

ELL students, nor on the time it takes to reclassify

students.” 516 F.3d at 1170.

Instead, the lower court simply decried a lack

of resources:

A district in which the majority of ELL

tenth graders fail to meet state achievement

standards while the majority of native English

speakers pass is not one whose performance

demonstrates that the state is adequately

funding ELL programs and so warrants relief

from judgment.

516 F.3d at 1170 (emphasis in the original). Given the

undisputed evidence that graduates of the program

do as well or better than the “majority of English

speakers”, comparing those who haven’t completed

the program is premature at best. Otherwise, the

lower court would be demanding instantaneous

results.

Leaving aside the comparison § between

different groups, this conclusion doesn’t seem to

comport with the record. Pet. App., at 363a-366a

33

(Nogales Unified School District schools rank high on

Arizona test scores); Brief for Petitioners

(“Legislature’s Br.”) at 22, 45-46 (describing new

prog:ams and resources in Nogales schools), 48

(describing ELL performance on tests).

Again, the Ninth Circuit’s position may be

dictated by its misunderstanding and

mischaracterization of the Castaneda test. The

opinion below described the third prong as: “Third,

even if theory is sound and resources are adequate,

the program must be borne out by practical results.”

516 F.3d at 1146.

This is not an accurate description, as it

substitutes “resources are adequate” for what the

Castaneda test actually measures:

Finally, a determination that a_ school

system has adopted a sound program for

alleviating the language barriers impeding the

educational progress of some of its students

and made bona fide efforts to make the

program work does not necessarily end the

court’s inquiry into the appropriateness of the

system's actions. If a school’s program,

although premised on a legitimate educational

theory and implemented through the use of

adequate techniques, fails, after being

employed for a period of time sufficient to give

the plan a legitimate trial, to produce results

indicating that the language barriers

confronting students are actually being

overcome, that program may, at that point, no

longer constitute appropriate action as far as

that school is concerned.

648 F.2d at 1010 (emphasis added).

34

The Castaneda results test does not include the

word “resources,” nor does it measure whether

“resources are adequate.” Instead it measures

whether Arizona has “made bona fide efforts to make

the program work,” and whether, after a reasonable

period of time, the program was “implemented

through the use of adequate techniques.” Not

adequate “resources,” but “adequate techniques.”

And the essential test, described twice in one

paragraph, is whether Arizona had made “bona fide

efforts to make the program work.”

The last sentence of the Castaneda third prong

was not mentioned by the Ninth Circuit: “We do not

believe Congress intended that under § 1703(f) a

school would be free to persist in a policy which,

although it may have been ‘appropriate’ when

adopted, in the sense that there were sound

expectations for success and bona fide efforts to make

the program work, has, in practice, proved a failure.”

648 F.2d at 1010 (emphasis added).

The Castaneda court sought “bona fide efforts”

to ensure that children who are limited English

proficient, including immigrant children and youth,

attain English proficiency, develop high levels of

academic attainment in English, and meet the same

challenging State academic content and student

academic achievement standards as all children are

expected to meet. This is the same standard set by

the NCLB. This is also what language-minority

parents have sought for many years, and, by the

available evidence, this is what Arizona has

apparently provided.

The lower court’s failure to understand and

apply the Castaneda test threatens to confuse schools

and parents about the requirements for teaching

35

English Language Learners, leading to the same sort

of pedagogical morass that followed the Lau

Guidelines. This Court should not permit the decision

below to undermine the needs of English Language

Learners.

Il. THE DECISION BELOW DISTORTS AND

MISAPPLIES THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN

THE EEOA AND THE NCLB.

The decision below. similarly failed to

understand the evolution of federal policy from the

EEOA to Title III of the NCLB. The EEOA required

“appropriate means to overcome language barriers.”

20 U.S.C. § 1703(f). The later-passed Title III of the

NCLB sets specific federal policy for what “means”

are “appropriate” enough to deserve federal funding.

The Castaneda test is the long-standing

measure of whether the EEOA is being satisfied. If

the three goals of the NCLB are the same as the three

prongs of the Castaneda test, then satisfying the

NCLB means satisfying the EEOA. If that is true, the

Ninth Circuit’s opinion is fatally flawed.

A. The Goals of the EEOA and Title LII of

the NCLB Are The Same:

The Castaneda test requires, as shown supra, a

recognized theory. appropriate implementation, and

measurable results:

We also laid down a three-step test for

compliance with section 1703(f): Is the

program based on an educational theory

recognized as sound or at least as a legitimate

experimental strategy by some of the experts

in the field? Is it reasonably calculated to

36

implement that theory? Has it, after being

used for a time sufficient to afford it a

legitimate trial, produced satisfactory results?

United States v. Texas, 680 F.2d at 371.

Title III of the No Child Left Behind Act sets

three goals, which are essentially the same as the

three prongs of the Castaneda test:

* scientifically-based theory;

= adequate implementation, including teacher

development; and

* measurable results.

School districts must use Title III funds to

provide high-quality language instruction

programs that are based on scientifically based

research, and that have demonstrated thai

they are effective in increasing English

proficiency and student achievement.

Districts are required to provide high-

quality professional development to classroom

teachers, principals, administrators, and other

school or community-based organizational

personnel in order to improve the instruction

and assessment of limited English proficient

students.

Districts are held accountable for making

adequate yearly progress as described in Title I

and meeting all annual achievement objectives.

NCLB Desktop Reference, supra.

B. Title III Is An Individually-Focused

Civil Rights Law:

The court below dismissed the requirements of

Title III as only applicable to schools, and not

children:

37

The EEOA is just such a rights-enforcing

law. It requires states “to ensure that needs of

students with limited English language

proficiency are addressed,” Idaho Migrant

Council v. Bd. Of Educ., 647 F.2d 69, 71 (9th

Circ. 1981), by requiring them to remove

barriers to equal participation in educational

programs now rather than later, and it

provides students with a right of action to

enable them to enforce their rights, see, 20

U.S.C. § 1706 . . . The EEOA’s concerns, in

other words, lie fundamentally with the

current rights of individual students, while

NCLB seeks gradually to improve their

schools.

516 F.3d at 1173.

The Ninth Circuit has it backwards. To a

student trapped in an ineffective bilingual education

program, like Rita Montero’s son, Camilo, the NCLB

is a civil rights law, “requir[ing] states ‘to ensure that

needs of students with limited English language

proficiency are addressed,’ .. . by requiring them to

remove barriers to equal participation in educational

programs now rather than later.” 516 F.3d at 1173.

The sponsors of Title III explicitly thought

their changes would aid individual students in

achieving equality in American society:

Our school system should not isolate kids

and not allow them to learn English. So we

change the bilingual program so now the stress

in bilingual education is going to be teaching

kids to learn English so that they can compete

in our world, compete in America, and have a

shot at the American opportunity.

38

147 Cong. Rec. $13328 (Dec. 17, 2001)(Statement of

Sen. Gregg).

In addition, Title III focuses on individual

students. In March 2006, Irene Moreno, head of the

English Acquisition United for the Arizona

Department of Education described the four

strategies she believed accounted ffor’ the

demonstrated success of Nogales schools:

* small Structured English Immersion classes

that emphasized English language

development;

* intervention strategies to assist individual

students who needed special attention;

* tutoring before, during and after school; and

* software-based evaluation providing immediate

feedback on individual students’ needs.

Superintendent’s Br., at 26. These strategies, which

satisfy Title III, are focused on the “current rights of

individual students” rather than “seekling| to

gradually improve their schools.” 516 F.3d at 1173.

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Approach Could

Harm, Not Help, Children:

The Ninth Circuit overlooked one major

purpose of Title III: to insure accountability on the

basis of measurable results. One reason for this

emphasis is that, under the old bilingual education

programs, children were kept in these ineffective

programs far longer than necessary. See, e.g., H.R.

Rep. 107-65, Pt. 1, at 277.

If implemented, the Ninth Circuit’s “input”

approach, measured by dollars spent per English

Language Learner in these programs, could lead to

the old result. Schools would have an incentive to

39

keep students in the programs longer than necessary,

in order to attract more education funding. That

would violate the purposes of both the EEOA and

Title III of the NCLB: to teach children English and

move them into parity with other students as quickly

as possible.

Ironically, this perverse incentive to retain

ELLs in special programs longer would run counter

to the Ninth Circuit’s principal criticism, noted

above, that Arizona’s programs do not “reclassify”

students quickly enough. 516 F.3d at 1170 n. 38. Yet,

history suggests that this is the likely result of the

Ninth Circuit’s own “put more money in” approach.

The Ninth Circuit’s failure to understand the

evolution of ELL education led it to a failure of

analysis. This Court must understand the evolution,

and the consequences, to see how these many

disparate factors have come together to produce a

success, not a failure, in Arizona.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Amici Curiae

respectfully request this Court to reverse the decision

below.

BARNABY W. ZALL

Counsel of Record for Amici Curiae

Weinberg & Jacobs, LLP

11300 Rockville Pike, #1200

Rockville, MD 20852

(301) 231-6943

Nos. 08-294 and No. 08-289

IN THE

Suprene Court of the United States

THOMAS C. HORNE, SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC

INSTRUCTION OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA,

Petitioner

and

SPEAKER OF THE ARIZONA HOUSE OF

REPRESENTATIVES AND PRESIDENT OF THE ARIZONA

SENATE,

Petitioners

Ve

MIRIAM FLORES, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS PARENT OF

MIRIAM FLORES, MINOR CHILD; ROSA RZESLAWSKI,

INDIVIDUALLY AND AS PARENT OF MARIO

RZESLAWSKI, MINOR CHILD; STATE OF ARIZONA; AND

MEMBERS OF THE ARIZONA STATE BOARD OF

EDUCATION IN THEIR OFFICIAL CAPACITIES

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

AMICI CURIAE BRIEF OF ASIAN AMERICAN JUSTICE

CENTER, NATIONAL COUNCIL OF LA RAZA, £'7'AL., IN

SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

KAREN K. NARASAKI ALAN S. GILBERT

VINCENT A. ENG Counsel of Record

MEREDITH S.H. HIGASHI RICHARD M. ZUCKEKMAN

ASIAN AMERICAN KATHERINE J. EVANS*

JUSTICE CENTER CHRISTOPHER H. LEE**

1140 Connecticut Ave., NW JONATHAN P. CHOCK*

Suite 1200 SONNENSCHEIN NATH &

Washington, DC 20036 ROSENTHAL. LLLP

(202) 296-2300 7800 Sears Tower

233 South Wacker Dr.

Chicago, IL 60606-6404

(312) 876-8000

* Admitted only in California

** Admitted onlv in Arizona

Counsel for Amici Curiae

|. 4dditional Amici listed on inside cover

WiILSON-EPES PRINTINGCO . INC — (202) 789-0096 - WasHinGTon DC 20001

ADDITIONAI. AMICI CURIAE

Asian American Institute

Asian Law Caucus

Asian Pacific American Legal Center of Southern

California

Asian Pacific American Legal Resource Center

Boat People SOS

California Rural Legal Assistance Foundation

Child Care Law Center

Coalition of California Welfare Rights Organizations

Empire Justice Center

Isabel Framer

The Fred T. Korematsu Center for Law and Equality

Hmong National Development, Inc.

Japanese American Citizens League

Legal Aid Association of California

National Korean American Service & Education

Consortium

Organization of Chinese Americans, Inc.

Sikh American Legal Defense and Education Fund

South Asian Americans Leading Together

Southeast Asia Resource Action Center

The Watsonville Law Center

TABLE OF CONTENTS

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE..1

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ..................cccccscsssessseees 3

A. CONTINUED ENFORCEMENT OF THE EQUAL

EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES ACT IS CRITICAL

To GIVE ENGLISH LANGUAGE LEARNERS A FAIR

CORADECES TOE CUTER IIIT. ncnsccccccccccsccccccccccsccccscsece: 5

1. Equal Access To Public Education Is A

Fundamental Civil Right. .............00.0.......0..... 6

2. There Is Still A Wide Achievement Gap

Between ELL Students And Native English

ail heel dented daa hctasdeipe endaannes 8

a. Providing Educational Opportunities To

ELL Students Is A National Issue Not

Raémesbed TO A POW BORteG, .c..ccccccscscccccsccse: 8

b. Native English Speakers Continuc To

Outscore ELL Students On Tests............. Ss)

c. Effective ELL Programs Increase The

Number Of High School Graduates. ...... 11

3. Effective ELL Programs Address The Needs

Of The Changing Population of U.S. Schools.

B. EFFECTIVE ENGLISH LANGUAGE LEARNER

PROGRAMS THAT FOCUS ON ENGLISH

il

PROFICIENCY FOR STUDENTS ARE CRITICAL FOR

SUCCESSFUL IMMIGRANT INTEGRATION. ........... 14

1. English Proficiency Is Critical To Social,

Economic And Familial Integration. ........... 14

2. Learning English Is Most Effective When

Children Are Taught As Early As Possible.

echdeiiindineiieaaniiinh dapiaieesupadduitaiamandiiiabadedabaeamaineniniains 15

3. Effective ELL Programs Benefit Society As

SEE Ea OES ATO ee ATES EC at a aC 17

C. THE COURT SHOULD NOT CONSIDER

COMPLIANCE WITH THE NCLB EQUIVALENT TO

COMPLIANCE WITH THE EEOA......0000.0.0o00oo.0.... 20

D. AMICI IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER IMPROPERLY

SEEK TO REFRAME THIS CASE INTO A DEBATE

ABOUT EDUCATIONAL THEORY. ................0...00000- 26

EE stinionpnniteninnvunsineediniianvonieminnmennvnetet 30

EATEN inesortayccudsasensedvenisonvnnorinsniaioonenees 1-A

**-*

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Alliance for Children v. City of Detroit

Public Schools, 475 F.Supp.2d 655

I eeetoaseiiinilinks 21

Brown v. Board of Education,

Be i I GID cecccitrncetivecussennvcdenneaiececsexs 6

Flores v. Arizona, 516 F.3d 1140

re nn. . cenmsesepenees 17, 26, 27

Fresh Start Academy v. Toledo Board

of Education, 363 F.Supp.2d. 910

I 21

Gomez v. Illinois State Bd. of Education,

811 F.2d 1030 (7th Cir. 1987)...................... 21

Lau v. Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974)...... 3, 6, 7

Morales v. Shannon, 516 F.2d 411

I I, BOF ovncceccccceevncavcusueccevesevscccsccessante 21

FEDERAL STATUTES

20 U.S.C. §§ 1701, et seg. (1974) ......... passim

ee Ce ee ee 7,21

oe EE a ee 20, 21

20 U.S.C. § 2000d, et seg. (1964) ...0.000000.... a

NN MI Sethi cneiici ices ewninacidadedewnvened’ 25

Page(s)

20 U.S.C. § 7907(a)

20 U.S.C. §§ 7844.

COREE ETT Tee eee ee

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Bureau of Labor Statistics, Employment

Projections: Pays to Play

EE eee 18

California Department of Education News

Release #08-117, Sept. 9, 2008, tbl.1.....12, 19

Clive R. Belfield and Henry M. Levin, The

Return on Investment for Improving

Calfornia’s High School Graduation Rate

California Dropout Research Project

ee 19

Dr. James Thomas Tucker, Waiting Times for

Adult ESL Classes and the Impact on English

Learners, The National Association of Latino

Elected and Appointed Officials Education

eT csauuuudenvensons 16

Hoyt Bleakley and Aimee Chin, What Holds

Back the Second Generation? The Intergenerational

Transmission of Language Human Capital Among

Immigrants, The Center for Comparative

Immigration Studies, University of California,

IO ccs cccecesncsevenccsessecens 15

vi

Jason Amos, Dropouts, Diplomas, and Dollars:

U.S. High Schools and the Nation’s Economy,

Alliance for Excellent Education

TE SOS SERERSEDISRDARENY Sea aise Poneman e em 19

Jeanne Batalova, Michael Fix, Julie Murray,

Measures of Change-The Demography and

Literacy of Adolescent English Learners,

Carnegie Corporation of New York

SI ckacisdncsdsuienihcacipikionciiiabapiclndl 9, 13, 14, 15

Kenji Hakuta, Yuko Goto Butler, and Daria

Witt, How Long Does it Take English Learners

to Attain Proficiency? The University of

California Linguistic Minority Research

Re ca eS eee 16

M.M. McMillen, P. Kaufman, & S. Klein,

Dropout rates in the United States:

Mellissa Lazarin, A Race Against the Clock:

The Value of Expanded Learning Time for

English Language Learners, Center for

American Progress (Dec. 2008) ....... 10, 11, 18

Michael Fix and Margie McHugh,

Pre K-12 Education of Immigrants and

English Language Learners, Migration

PU TORII Ga ieiseetcicnasencseneriossvsnvcnesesel

National Association for the Education of

Young Children (NAEYC), Screening and

Assessment of Young English-Language

Learners, Supplement to the NAEYC Position

Statement on Early Childhood Curriculum,

Vii

Assessment, and Program Evaluation

ee ——___«CRSER EEE Sete ee ea Oe pt ee 16

National Clearinghouse for English

Language Acquisition and Language

Instruction Educational Programs

The Growing Number of Limited English

Proficient Students: 1995/96-2005/06

REET IETS NCE Se a EEN I Ee 13, 14

New York State Board of Regents,

Graduation Rates: Students Who Started

9th Grade in 2001, 2002 and 2003 and

2006-07 Regents Examination Results

ee a essesiinndkion 12, 18, 19

Richard Fry, £xplaining the English

Language Learner Achievement Gap,

Pew Research Center (June 26, 2008)....... 8, 9

U.S. Census Bureau, Larnings Gap

Highlighted by Census Bureau Data on

Educational Attainment (2007) ..............0006. 18

U.S. Census Bureau, Language Spoken

at Home for the Population 5 Years

and Over, 2006 American Community

a 5

United States Government Accountability

Office, “No Child Left Behind Act: Assistance

from Education Could Help States Better Measure

Progress of Students with Limited English

Proficiency,” GAO-06-815, at 13

(July 26, 2006)...... RTL E Dee Se 11, 23, 24, 25

vill

U.S. Department of Education, Fact Sheet:

NCLB Provisions Ensure Flexibility and

Accountability for Limited English Proficient

Students, (last modified Feb. 19, 2004)....... 23

William Myhill, The State of Public Education

and the Needs of English Language Learners

in the Era of “No Child Lett Behind,” 8

J. Gender Race & Just. 393, 435-436

REET STR CRN CP SOv ee SOOT Pet rN ae 10

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI

CURIAE!

Asian American Justice Center (““AAJC”)

AAJC is a national non-profit, non-partisan

organization whose mission is to advance the human

and civil rights of Asian Americans. AAJC focuses

its work to promote civic engagement, forge strong

and safe communities, and create an inclusive society

on a local, regional, and national level. Collectively,

AAJC and its Affiliates, the Asian American

Institute, Asian Law Caucus, and the Asian Pacific

American Legal Center of Southern California, have

over 50 years of experience in providing legal, public

policy, advocacy, and community education. A

nationally recognized voice on immigration and

immigrants’ rights on behalf of Asian Americans,

AAJC has long spearheaded advocacy and education

in the community on matters affecting immigrant

individuals and families. In particular, AAJC’s

Adult English Language Learning Program strives to

shape legislative and public education policies to

encourage support of English language acquisition

and immigrant integration.

National Council of La Raza (“NCLR”)

NCLR is a private, non-profit, non-partisan

organization established in 1968 to reduce poverty

and discrimination and improve life opportunities for

Hispanic Americans. NCLR works toward this goal

through two primary, complementary approaches:

' No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part.

and no counsel or party made a monetary contribution intended

to fund the preparation or submission of this brief. No person

other than amici: curiae, its members, or its counsel made a

monetary contribution to its preparation or submission. The

parties written consents to the filing of this bnef have been

tiled with the Clerk of the Court.

2

capacity-building assistance to support § and

strengthen Hispanic community-based organizations

and applied research, policy analysis, and advocacy.

NCLR, which has a long history of working on behalf

of English Language Learner (“ELL”) students,

recognizes that enforcement of the Equal

Educational Opportunities Act is critical to the

education of these students. Because 39 percent of

Hispanic students are ELL, NCLR believes that

denying educational opportunities to ELL students

will have a negative effect on the educational

outcomes of a large segment of the Hispanic student

population.

Joining AAJC and NCLR as amici curiae in this

brief are public interest, national advocacy, civil

rights, and legal services organizations whose

members or constituencies are affected on a daily

basis by their ability to access effective ELL

programs. ‘The statements of interest for these

additional amici are included in Appendix A.

3

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The population of students in need of English

language instruction continues to grow, state by

state and nationwide. It is undisputed that English

Language Learners (“ELL”) who are provided with

appropriate English instruction are better equipped

to become productive members of society, by almost

any measure. They are more likely to succeed

academically, obtain a high school diploma, and

facilitate the integration into the broader society of

their families and communities. Despite these

acknowledged benviits of effective English language

instruction, the achievement gap between ELL

students and their native English-speaking peers

continues to grow.

The ability of ELL students to participate equally

in a state’s school system is a civil right, see Lau v.

Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974), and the Equal

Educational Opportunities Act (“‘“EEOA”) provides an

express remedy for an individual student whose

rights are being violated by inadequate English

language instruction. The Ninth Circuit properly

affirmed the district court’s holding that Arizona’s

arbitrary and capricious underfunding of programs

for ELL students continued to violate the EEOA.

While there are many distinctions between the

equality-based structure of the EEOA and the

gradual, remedial framework of the No Child Left

Behind Act (“NCLB”), one important difference is

that the EEOA, a civil rights statute, provides

individual! students the right to rectify insufficient

English language instruction through an express

private right of action. If a state’s compliance with

4

the NCLB were found to constitute compliance with

the EEOA, the right to require a state to take

appropriate action to ensure equal education for all

might be lost. The Ninth Circuit properly held that

the NCLB does not supersede the EEOA, and thus

there was no change in law that justified providing

relief from the district court’s judgment.

Certain amici in support of Petitioners insist that

the court below was influenced by a preference for

bilingual instruction over English-immersion

instruction. There is nothing in the Ninth Circuit’s

opinion that would so indicate. The Court of Appeals

expressed no preference for bilingual education,

clearly acknowledging that determining how to

educate ELL students is within a state’s discretion.

Such attempts to reframe the issues before this

Court should be disregarded.

5

ARGUMENT

A. CONTINUED ENFORCEMENT OF THE

EQUAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES

AcT IS CRITICAL TO GIVE ENGLISH

LANGUAGE LEARNERS A FAIR CHANCE IN

OUR SOCIETY.

In the 2005-06 school year, there were more than

5 million public school students with limited English

proficiency in the United States (“English Language

Learners” or “ELL”)2—today, over three-quarters of

ELL elementary school students and over one-half of

ELL secondary school students are native-born

American citizens. This reflects our multicultural society.

Over 54 million people living in the United States

speak a language other than English at home,* and

nearly 3 million children between ages 5 and 17 live

in households that are deemed to be “linguistically

isolated,” meaning that no member of the household

over age 14 speaks English very well.’ Over 10.8

2 NATIONAL CLEARINGHOUSE FOR ENGLISH LANGUAGE

ACQUISITION AND LANGUAGE INSTRUCTION EDUCATIONAL

PROGRAMS (NCELA), The Growing Number of Limited English

Proficient Students: 1995/96-2005/06 (2007), available at

http://www.ncela.gwu.edu/policy/states/reports/statedata/2005L

EP/GrowingLEP_0506.pdf.

3 Michael Fix and Margie McHugh, Pre A-/2 Education of

Immigrants and English Language Learners. Migration Policy

Institute, at 2 (2008), avaz/able at change.gov/page/-

/open%20government/yourseatatthetable/20081217_mpi2. pdf,

*U.S. CENSUS BUREAU, Language Spoken at Home for the

Population 5 Years and Over, 2006 American Community

Survey, tbl. 52 (2006), available at

http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/tables/09s0052.pdf.

> US. CENSUS BUREAU, Language Spoken at Home for the

Population 5 Years and Over, 2006 American Community

6

million children between ages 5 and 17 (20.3% of the

population for this age group) speak a language other

than English at home, and over 2.8 million of those

children speak English less than “very well.”6

The large number of children with limited

English proficiency presents an enormous challenge

to our school system. Even with the major advances

in equal education rights in the 55 years since Brown

v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954),

inequality persists in America’s public school system

between children who have learned English as their

primary language and children who lack English

proficiency.

Continued enforcement of the Equal Educational

Opportunities Act (““EEOA”) is critical to overcome

this inequality and give English Language Learners

a fair chance in our socicty.

1. Equal Access To Public Education Is A

Fundamental Civil Right.

Since Brown, equal access to education has been

identified as an imperative within America’s public

school systems. While legislatures and executives at

both the state and federal level have recognized the

importance of equal educational opportunity, the

courts have had to play a continuing role to ensure

that progress is made.

In Lau v. Nichols, 114 U.S. 563 (1974), this Court

upheld claims made under the Civil Rights Act of

Survey, tbl.227 (2006), avarlable at

http’//www census.gov/com pendia/statab/tables/09s0227 pdf.

6 Jd

7

1964 by Chinese-American students with limited

English proficiency who were being denied access to

educational opportunities:

[T]here is no equality of treatment merely by

providing students with the same facilities,

textbooks, teachers, and curriculum: for

students who do not understand English are

effectively foreclosed from any meaningful

education ... [blasic English skills are at the

very core of what public schools teach.

Imposition of a requirement that, before a

child can effectively participate in the

educational program, he must already have

acquired those basic skills is to make a

mockery of public education.

Id. at 566. This Court recognized in Lau that a

student’s primary language is so closely related to

his or her national origin that language-based

discrimination is effectively a proxy for national

origin discrimination. /d. at 568.

In the same year as the Lau decision, Congress

enacted the Equal] Educational Opportunities Act of

1974. The EEOA prohibits discrimination against

students, faculty and staff in public schools and

requires that state governments take action to

overcome barriers to students’ equal participation in

public schools. At issue in this case is section 1703(f

of the EEOA, which prohibits States from denying

“equal educational opportunity to an individual on

account of his or her race, color, sex or national

origin by ... the failure [of] an educational agency to

take appropriate action to overcome’ language

barriers that impede equal participation by its

8

students in its instructional programs.” 20 U.S.C. §

1703.

Since its passage, the EEOA has_ been

instrumental in improving educational opportunities

for students who are not native English speakers.

However, while the EEOA requires states to take

appropriate action to overcome language barriers,

states do not always do so of their own accord.

2. There Is Still A Wide Achievement Gap

Between ELL Students And Native English

Speakers.

Notwithstanding passage of the EEOA, an

achievement gap remains between ELL students and

their native-English-speaking peers.

a. Providing Educational Opportunities To

ELL Students Is A National Issue Not

Limited To A Few States.

While the populations of five states (Arizona,

California, Florida, New York and Texas) accounted

for about 70 percent of the nation’s ELL students in

the 2003-04 school year, ELL population growth

varies dramatically by state.’ States with a recent

influx of immigrants are experiencing much higher

increases in their ELL student population than

states that have heretofore had large ELL student

populations. For example, ELL enrollment between

1995 and 2005 increased 26 percent in California, a

state with a long history of receiving iramigrants:

? Richard Fry, £xp/aining the English Language Learner

Achievement Gap, Pew Research Center (June 26, 2008),

available at http://pewresearch org/pubs/882/english-language-

learner.

9

ELL enrollment during the same period expanded by

372 percent in North Carolina, a state only recently

experiencing sharp gains in its immigrant

population.’

b. Native English Speakers Continue To

Outscore ELL Students On Tests.

Assessment data from the states with the highest

populations of ELL students uniformly indicate that

ELL students are much less likely than other

students to score at or above proficient levels in

mathematics, reading, and language arts.?

Advancements in ELL educational programs

have done little to close the achievement gap

between ELL students and native English-speaking

students. In many subjects, this gap continues to

grow. The Stanford Achievement Test, 9t Edition

(the “Stanford 9”), provides for the assessment of

students in grades two through eleven every year in

reading, math and language (as well as other

subjects at targeted grade levels). In 1998, the

national percentile rank of the average ELL student

score on the Stanford 9 reading and language tests

was consistently 20 or more points lower than the

overall student body and 16 points lower in math and

spelling.‘° In social sciences, which is assessed in

% Jeanne Batalova. Michael Fix, Julie Murray, Aleasures of

Change’ The Demography and Literacy of Adolescent English

Learners, Carnegie Corporation of New York, at 12 (2007).

available at

http://www.migrationpolicy.org/pubs/Measures_of_Change.pdf

9 Fry, supra note 7.

'° While reading, language and math skills are tested in grades

2-11. Spelling is only assessed in grades 2-8.

10

grades nine through eleven, the average discrepancy

was 21.2 points.!!

The average achievement gap between ELL

students and all students increased notably between

1998 and 2002. The Stanford 9 results over this five

year period show that the gaps in reading, math and

language scores between ELL students and the

overall student body from grades 6°8 increased by

7.33, 8.33, and 5.67 percentage points respectively.

Older students followed a different trend.

Nationwide, only 30 percent of fourth-grade ELL

students are “at or above basic” in reading, compared

to 71 percent of native English speakers.'2 The gap

is slightly larger among eighth-graders. Similar

double-digit gaps are prevalent in math, though

slightly smaller among students in grade four.'* The

gaps remain relatively unchanged among high school

students where achievement levels decrease over the

entire student body."

'! See William Myhill, The State of Public Education and the

Needs of English Language Learners in the Era of “No Child

Lett Behind,”8 3. Gender Race & Just. 393, 435-436 (2004).

‘2 Mellissa Lazarin, A Race Against the Clock: The Value of

Expanded Learning Time for English Language Learners,

Center For American Progress, at 3 (Dec. 2008) avar/lable at

http://www.americanprogress.org/issues/20U8/12/pdf/ell.pdf.(citi

ng NATIONAL CENTER FOR EDUCATION STATISTICS, The Nation's

Report Card’ Reading 2007, NCES 2007-196 (U.S. Department

of Education, 2007)).

‘3 Jd. (cating NATIONAL CENTER FOR EDUCATION STATISTICS, The

Nation's Report Card: Mathematics 2007, NCES 2007-494 (U.S.

Department of Education, 2007)).

‘4 Jd. (citing NATIONAL CENTER FOR EDUCATION STATISTICS,

“The Nation’s Report Card: 12th-Grade Reading and

11

Similar results are found in the 2006 report on

the No Child Left Behind Act (“NCLB”), conducted by

the United States Government Accountability Office,

which found that students with lhmited English

proficiency were generally lagging behind the

general student population in academic proficiency. '®

On average, only about 1 in every 3 ELL students in

grades 4, 8 and 12 performed at or above the “basic”

level on the National Assessment for Education

Progress in reading, while nearly 3 out 4 non-ELL

students in those grades performed at or above the

“basic” level.'®

The large academic gap between ELL students

and native English speakers indicates that there is a

clear need to implement effective instructional

strategies for ELL students.

c. Effective ELL Programs Increase The

Number Of High School Graduates.

Low test scores are not the only evidence of the

negative impact of ineffective English language

instruction. States with large ELL student

populations report dismal results in high school

graduation rates for ELL students. In California, for

instance, 20 percent fewer ELL students passed the

mandatory exit exam required to obtain a high school

Mathematics 2005,” NCES 2007-468 (U.S. Department of

Education, 2007)).

'5 LINITED STATES GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICE, “No

Child Left Behind Act‘ Assistance from Education Could Help

States Better Measure Progress of Students with Limited

English Proficiency.” GAO-06-815, at 13 (July 26, 2006).

available at http://www.gao.gov/new items/d06815.pdf.

‘6 Lazarin, supra note 12, at 4.

12

diploma than the overall student body.'7 New York

reports even worse results: Only 25-30 percent of

ELL students in New York graduate within four

years of entering high school, compared to 71 percent

of native English speakers. !®

While these numbers paint a bleak picture, it is

important to recognize that where English language

instruction is effective, clear gains have been

demonstrated. New York found that where its school

districts permitted an additional one to two years of

schooling, graduation rates for ELL students jumped

to 38-44 percent. Perhaps the most salient data in

support of effective English instruction is_ that

students who have attained English language

proficiency and exited out of the limited-English

proficient category have even higher graduation

rates than their native English speaking peers (74

percent).!9

3. Effective ELL Programs Address The

Needs Of The Changing Population of

U.S. Schools.

The growing achievement gap for ELL students,

and the failure of inadequate ELL education

programs to close the gap are of particular concern

‘7 California Department of Education News Release #08-117,

Sept. 9, 2008, tbl.1, available at

http://www.cde.ca.gov/nr/ne/yr08/yr08rel 117 .asp#tab1.

'S NEW YORK STATE BOARD OF REGENTS, Graduation Rates.

Students Who Started 9th Grade in 2001, 2002 and 2003 and

2006-07 Regents Examination Results, (Aug. 11, 2008),

available at

http://www.oms.nysed.gov/press/documents/Gradrates06-

O7TFINAL. ppt.

19 See rd.

13

given the rapid growth of ELL students in U.S.

public — schools. According to the National

Clearinghouse for English Language Instruction &

Language Educational Programs (the “NCELA”), the

total kindergarten through 12th grade (K-12)

enrollment in the United States grew less than 4

percent from the 1995-1996 school year to the 2005-

2006 school year. In contrast, enrollment of students

with limited English proficiency increased by over 57

percent during the same time period.2° With the

ELL student population expanding every year, it is

essential that public school systems include effective

ELL programs.

Providing adequate ELL programs is not only

needed for first-generation immigrants in the United

States. Up to 27 percent of all ELL adolescents are

second generation, and 30 percent are third

generation, meaning that many students educated

exclusively in U.S. schools (and whose parents were

educated exclusively in U.S. schools) still cannot

speak English well.2!_ These statistics demonstrate

that poorly managed and underfunded ELL

programs have failed students across multiple

generations.

If states are not held to the standards for equal

opportunity for ELL students the EEOA requires,

the achievement gap will continue to widen as the

ELL population continues to grow. Such an increase

in inequality is precisely what the EEOA was

enacted to prevent.

“9 NCELA, supra note 2.

“1 Batalova, Fix, Murray, supra note 8, at 13.

14

B. EFFECTIVE ENGLISH LANGUAGE LEARNER

PROGRAMS THAT FOCUS ON ENGLISH

PROFICIENCY FOR STUDENTS ARE

CRITICAL FOR SUCCESSFUL IMMIGRANT

INTEGRATION.

For immigrants in the United States, proficiency

in the English language is a necessary condition for

naturalization, effective participation in civic

engagement activities, economic self-sufficiency, and

successful integration in society. A key component of

implementing and effectuating English language

learning and integration is dedicating resources and

efforts to improving educational opportunities and

programs for ELL students. Effective ELL programs

that focus on helping students develop English

language proficiency, as well as the necessary

academic skills in other subjects that are taught in

English, are critical for helping ELL students and

their families become more active, productive and

integrated in society.

1. English Proficiency Is Critical To Social,

Economic And Familial Integration.

As the fastest growing segment of the student

population in the United States,?? the five mullion-

plus limited English proficient students in the

United States?" increasingly require effective ELL

programs in place, to provide ELL students with

opportunities to develop both English language

proficiency and other academic skills. Students who

develop English language proficiency as children will

have greater opportunities when adults to

‘2 Batalova, Fix, Murray. supra note &, at 12

23 NCELA., supra note 2.

15

participate fully in civic engagement activities, make

meaningful contributions to the broader local

community, and become fully-integrated, productive

members of society. The high correlation between

limited English proficiency and poverty rates within

immigrant communities indicates that improved

English skills benefit the individual as well as his or

her community and the nation as a whole.*4

Developing effective English language skills

provide ELL students the opportunity to increase

their future earning potential and achieve economic

self-sufficiency and stability. Further, ELL students

who acquire English language skills will be better

able to assist their non-English speaking family

members in adapting to life in the United States and

integrating into the broader society.25 All of these

potential benefits are dependent on effective ELL

programs.

2. Learning English Is Most Effective

When Children Are Taught As Early As

Possible.

Children who fail to receive an adequate

education in English are unlikely to have a second

opportunity to learn English as adults. Depending

on their background, their prior formal educational

experiences and a host of other factors, it can take

years for ELL students to develop English language

24 Batalova, Fix, Murray, supra note 8, at 31.

25 Hovt Bleakley and Aimee Chin, What Holds Back the Second

Generation? The Intergenerational Transmission of Language

Human Capital Among Immigrants, The Center for

Comparative Immigration Studies, University of California,

San Diego, at 2 (Oct. 2004), ava:lable at http://www.ceis-

uced org/PUBLICATIONS/wrkg104.pdf.

16

proficiency. Acquiring the competency in academic

English necessary for ELL students to perform at the

same academic level as their non-ELL peers takes

between four and seven years.?® Thus it is important

that ELL programs focus on developing an ELL

student’s proficiency as early and as consistently as

possible. The educational experiences and

developmental activities that occur during the earlier

years of a child’s life play a critical role in his or her

overall development.?2?

The lack of widely available and effective adult

ELL programs underscores the importance and

benefits of effective ELL programs aimed at

developing English language proficiency for school-

aged children. A survey of 184 English as a Second

Language (“ESL”) providers found that more than

half of those providers indicated that there was a

waiting list for adult ESL classes ranging anywhere

from a few weeks to more than three years.?8 The

tremendous demand for adult ESL ‘classes in the

26 Kenji Hakuta, Yuko Goto Butler, and Daria Witt, How Long

Does it Take English Learners to Attain Proficicncy? The

University of California Linguistic Minority Research Institute,

at 10 (2000), avarlable at

Attp ‘/caselinks.education.ucsb.edu/casctraincr/CLADContent/C

ladLanguage/node 7/theorv/How Long. pdf

27 See National Association for the Education of Young Children

(NAEYC), Screening and Assessment of Young English-

Language Learners, Supplement to the NAEYC Position

Statement on Early Childhood Curriculum, Assessment, and

Program Evaluation (Summer 2005), avaslable at

http’//www.naecyc.org/about/positions/pdf/ELL_Supplement.pdf.

2’ Dr. James Thomas Tucker, Wasting Times for Adult ESL

Classes and the [Impact on English Learners, The National

Association of Latino Flected and Appointed Officials Education

Fund, at 13 (June 2006). available at

http-//www_naleo.org/downloads/ESLReportLoRes.pdf.

17

United States, coupled with the scarce supply of

available ESL classes underscores the importance of

developing and implementing effective programs in

public schools to ensure that, by the time they

hecome adults, ELL students will have developed the

necessary English language skills and will not have

to rely on adult ELL programs.

3. Effective ELL Programs Benefit Society

As A Whole.

Effective English language instruction not only

can provide tremendous benefit for an individual, but

can have an enormous impact on society as a whole.

The correlation between effective ELL instruction

and the ability of a student to graduate from high

school provides an excellent illustration of this point.

Without effective ELL programs, this educational

gap between ELL students and English-fluent

students will remain, making it difficult for ELL

students to enjoy the same opportunities afforded to

English-proficient students with greater academic

proficiency. Effective ELL programs aimed at

narrowing the educational gap between ELL student

and English-fluent students can also promote greater

unity and integration within a school, as the ELL

students are better able to relate to their English-

proficient peers and better able to assimilate and

integrate into the school environment.

As the Ninth Circuit noted, an ELL student's

problems extend beyond extra assistance with

English. “A tenth grader, for example, who speaks

no English but must pass a biology course taught

entirely in English will require’ considerable

assistance.” Flores v. Arizona, 516 F.3d 1140, 1169

18

(9th Cir. 2008). Until a student is English proficient,

the student will need extra assistance in all

subjects.?9

The educational gap, in turn, results in lower

graduation and matriculation rates for ELL

students,°° which in turn are tied to lower future

earning potential for such ELL students.*! Viewed

strictly from the standpoint of enabling an individual

ELL student to improve his or her quality of life, the

impact is stark: a high school diploma results, on

average, in an additional $8,580 in income per year.*2

The lifelong impact of a failed ELL education has

a financial effect on a student’s community, the state,

and the nation as a whole. As identified supra,

29 “It is not an easy undertaking to learn and excel in math,

reading and language arcs, science, and other core academic

subjects that have become integral to a college and work-ready

curriculum, all while learning a new language.” Lazarin, supra

note 12, at 17.

” See NEW YORK STATE BOARD OF REGENTS, supra note 18

(finding that only 25 to 30 percent of ELL students in New York

graduate within four years of entering high school, compared to

71 percent of non-ELL students); and see a/soM.M. McMillen.

P. Kaufman, & S. Klein, Dropout rates in the United States.

1995, Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, Office of

Educational Research and Improvement, NCES 97-473 (1997)

(finding that, in 1995, students who reported that they did not

speak English well had a 32.9% dropout rate, compared to

19.2% dropout rate for students who reported speaking English

well or very well).

} U.S. CENSUS BUREAU, Earnings Gap Highlighted by Census

Bureau Data on Educational Attainment, (2007), available at

http://www.census.gov/Press-

Release/www/releases/archives/education/009749. html.

42 BUREAU OF LABOR STATISTICS, Employment Projections: Pavs

to Play, (March 6. 2009), available at

http://www bls.gov/emp/emptab7.htm

19

California reports that 20 percent fewer ELL

students passed the mandatory exit exam required to

obtain a high school diploma, when compared to the

overall student body.** California taxpayers lose

$169,000 in additional tax revenues over the lifetime

of an individual who fails to obtain a high school

diploma.*4

Further, the community at large sees a reduced

burden on expenditures relating to crime, health,

and welfare when more students graduate. Only 25-

30 percent of ELL students in New York graduate

within four years of entering high school, compared

to 71 percent of native English speakers. For each

new ELL high school graduate, New York saves

$15,993 in Medicaid and uninsured costs.*® Viewed

another way, a 5 percent increase in male high

school graduates nationwide could result in crime-

related savings of $4,939,017,909 on an annual basis,

in addition to the related intangible benefits of

lowering the crime rate.3"

33 California Department of Education News Release #08-117,

September 9, 2008 tbl.1, avarlable at

http://www.cde.ca.gov/nr/ne/yr08/yr08rel117.asp#tab1.

34 Clive R. Belfield and Henry M. Levin, 7'‘he Heturn on

Investment for Improving California’s High School Graduation

Rate, California Dropout Research Project, at 2 (Aug. 2007)

(affiliated project of University of Califorma Linguistic Minority

Research Institute), available at

http://www.cbcse.org/media/download_gallery/California%20Dro

pout%20Study%20Report%202FINAL pdf.

35 NEW YORK STATE BOARD OF REGENTS, supra note 18.

% Jason Amos, Dropouts, Diplomas, and Dollars’ i" S. High

Schools and the Nation’s Economy, Alliance for Excellent

Education, at 39 app.3 (August 2008), avai/able at

http’//www_all4ed org/files/Econ2008 pdf.

° [d at 38 app.2

20

While an individual ELL student’s right to an

equal education should be reason enough to

implement and maintain~ effective English

instruction, it is important to recognize that a failure

to provide appropriate English instruction has

serious social and economic costs as well.

C. THE COURT SHOULD NOT CONSIDER

COMPLIANCE WITH THE NCLB EQUIVALENT To

COMPLIANCE WITH THE EEOA.

Petitioners argue that the NCLB’s statutory

scheme supplements the purpose of the EEOA and

defines the EEOA’s “appropriate action”

requirement, such that compliance with the NCLB

equates to compliance with the EEOA. Although

both the EEOA and the NCLB attempt to advance

the achievement of ELL students, the two statutes

seek advancement by entirely different means that

cannot be interpreted coterminously. Many of these

reasons are discussed in Respondents’ bniefs.

However, an area of particular importance to amucris

the EEOA’s private right of action, which permits an

individual citizen to bring suit in order to enforce the

rights ensured by the EEOA. The NCLB contains no

such express right, nor should this testing-based law

be burdened with the additional obligation of

protecting the civil rights of ELL students.

The EEOA, in part, ensures that ELL students

have equal access to education by allowing individual

students to bring private causes of action for any

violation of the Act. Section 1706 of the EEOA states

that “an individual denied an equal educational

opportunity...may institute a civil action in an

appropriate district court of the United States

against such parties, and for such rehef, as may be

2!

appropriate.” 20 U.S.C. § 1706. Since the enactment

of the EEOA, ELL students have used this private

cause of action under the statute to guarantee equal

access to education in order to overcome language

barriers. See e.g. Gomez v. Illinois State Bd. of

Education, 811 F.2d 1030 (7th Cir. 1987); Morales

v. Shannon, 516 F.2d 411 (5th Cir. 1975).

Specifically, an ELL student may bring suit

against an educational agency that fails “to take

appropriate action to overcome language barriers

that impede equal participation by its students in its

instructional programs.” 20 U.S.C. § 1703(f).

Conversely, the NCLB does not appear to offer such

method of enforcing individuals’ rights. “The No

Child Left Behind Act does not create a private right

of action.” Alliance for Children v. City of Detroit

Public Schools, 475 F.Supp.2d 655, 657 (E.D. Mich.

2007). “The NCLBI] provides no procedure for

individual entities [] to enforce its requirements: the

Act's only ‘penalties’ provision allows the Secretary of

Education to withhold funds from states that do not

meet the Act's requirements.” Fresh Start Academy

v. Toledo Board of Education, 363 F.Supp.2d. 910,

914 (N.D. Ohio 2005).38

* Petitioner Superintendent states that the NCLB permits

individual students to file an administrative complaint if their

programs are inadequate, which complaint ultimately could be

resolved by the Department of Education. Brief for the

Petitioner Superintendent at n.23. However, the NCLB itself

provides no specific procedures for the resolution of complaints,

leaving that up to the individual states to implement. 20 USCS

§ 7844 (each state will “adopt and use proper methods of

administering each such program, including ... the adoption of

written procedures for the receipt and resolution of complaints

alleging violations of law in the administration of the

programs’). Thus, the procedures, nghts and remedies

22

Further comparisons between the NCLB and the

EEOA confirm the insufficiency of the NCLB to

address the issues contemplated by and addressed in

the EEOA to protect the important educational

rights of each student.3® First, and perhaps most

significantly, states and school districts are not

required to comply with the NCLB. Individual states

or school districts may choose to opt out. See 20

U.S.C. § 7907(a) (“[Inlothing in this Act shall be

construed to authorize an officer or employee of the

Federal Government to ... mandate a State or any

subdivision thereof to spend any funds or incur any

costs not paid for under this Act”). If the EEOA is

overridden and its private right of action eliminated,

students in states that have opted out of the NCLB

(or may do so in the future) will have no recourse

against a discriminatory school system.

Further, technical aspects of the NCLB can

adversely affect ELL students. The NCLB

designates four groups of students for particular

focus, one of which comprises students who are

available to a student to rectify an inadequate ELL program

could vary significantly from state to state and cannot be

considered equivalent to the private right of action under the

KEOA.

39 Petitioners Speaker of the Arizona House of Representatives

and President of the Arizona Senate assert that they are not

arguing for the implicit repeal of the EEOA. Brief for

Petitioners at 60. However, if the Court accepts that a school

district meeting NCLB-standards is de facto complying with the

EEOA, the outcome for underserved ELL students in that

district is an implied repeal of the EEOA’s private right of

action. Petitioners admit as much, stating that the EEOA will

be limited to providing protection “particular schools or school

districts engagling] in /ndividual instances of discrimination”.

Brief for Petitioners at 60. Petitsoners’ argument severely

curtails the purpose of the EEOA.

23

limited in English proficiency. However, ELL

students are only considered to be an “accountability

group” if a “minimum group number” of ELL

students attend a school district where the NCLB

has been adopted.4° That minimum group number is

determined at the school district’s discretion. Thus,

if the school district's group number for ELL

students is 50, but only 49 ELL students attend that

school, NCLB provides no_ accountability for

language access to those 49 children. If the NCLB

were construed to supersede the EEOA, ELL

students could face an untenable circumstance where

they are not receiving adequate English language

instruction, and yet have no ability to require their

school district to improve (or even offer) such

instruction. Perversely, because such a district

would not be accountable for language access

provided to the students who fall outside of the

accountability group, the school district would have

no incentive under the NCLB to offer such programs.

Another example comes from the methods by

which Petitioners contend Arizona's compliance can

now be assessed: mandatory testing pursuant to the

NCLB’s requirements. While the NCLB permits

states to offer native language assessments or

alternative assessments for testing ELL students to

capture better a student's grasp of content, Arizona

declines to offer either accommodation.?!

49 U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, Fact Sheet- NCLB

Provisions Ensure Flexibility and Accountability for Limited

English Proficient Students, (last modified Feb. 19, 2004),

available at

http://www.ed_gov/nclb/accountability/schools/factsheet-

english. html.

1! UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICE, supra

note 15, at 33°34.

24

Appropriate testing and assessment of ELL students

has been controversial, and the alternatives offered

under the NCLB are adopted inconsistently among

the participating states, thus making data

concerning the progress of ELL students impossible

to compare. It appears likely that such issues will

continue to arise. The Government Accountability

Office’s July 2006 Report, “No Child Left Behind Act:

Assistance from Education Could Help States Better

Measure Progress of Students with Limited English

Proficiency,” reports that

[The Department of] Education has issued

little written guidance on how states are

expected to assess and track the English

proficiency of [limited English proficient]

students, leaving state officials unclear about

Education’s expectations ... [MJany of the

state and district officials we interviewed told

us that the current flexibilities do not fully

account for some characteristics of certain

students in this student group... . 42

Further, there is conflict among state officials

over how ELL students should be tested going

forward. Some state officials seek longer exemptions

from testing for ELL students, while others think

that ELL students should be excluded from testing

altogether until they demonstrate appropriate

English skills.4* If the Department of Education

were to permit such accommodations (and they may;

the purpose of the GAO's report was to suggest to the

Department of Education that further

accommodation may be warranted), the NCLB-

‘2 Jd. at Al.

3 Jd. at 48.

25

related testing that Petitioners assure the Court will

satisfy the requirements of the EEOA may disappear

altogether for ELL students.

Finally, under the NCLB, states are permitted to

establish their own academic content, develop their

own tests to measure performance, and set standards

for what constitutes proficiency.44 The process is

completely insular, with minimal oversight or

consequence unless a state’s students fail to meet

those standards. Consequently, a state whose

students are meeting the criteria established by that

state satisfies the requirements set forth by the

NCLB. However, if that state were nonetheless

failing to take appropriate action to overcome

language barriers, the affected students would have

no ability to rectify their situation, as the NCLB

contains no private right of action.

Because the firadamental purpose of the EEOA is

different from the NCLB, compliance with the NCLB

alone cannot constitute compliance with the EEOA.

The NCLB determines compliance by measuring

student performance asa whole. The essence of the

EEOA’s private right of action is to ensure that each

individual student receives equal educational

opportunities, independent of the individual's group

affiliation. That right should not be abrogated. Had

Congress intended to overturn the EEOA, it could

have easily said so, but it did not. Instead, the

NCLB explicitly provides that “(nothing in this part

shall be construed in a manner inconsistent with any

Federal law guaranteeing a civil right.” 20 U.S.C. §

6847. The EEOA guarantees civil rights to

individual students. Having those rights depend

4% /d.at9

26

upon compliance with a gradual performance statute

like the NCLB is inconsistent with the purpose of the

EEOA. The EEOA and the NCLB both serve very

important purposes in advancing ELL instruction in

the United States. However, it is important that

those purposes remain distinct.

D. AMICI IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER IMPROPERLY

SEEK To REFRAME THIS CASE INTO ADEBATE

ABOUT EDUCATIONAL THEORY.

In their briefs in support of Petitioners, amuci

improperly seek to politicize the issues before this

Court by debating the effectiveness of bilingual

education as compared to other theories of teaching

English to non-native speakers. The merits of

bilingual education (as opposed to an English-

immersion style of teaching, currently required by

law in Arizona) are not at issue here. The only

salient consideration is whether the method adupted

by the state provides ELL students with an adequate

education under the EEOA.

The Ninth Circuit did not require that any

particular theory of English education be imposed on

the Nogales school district. Indeed, the school

district is required only to employ an effective means

of English instruction. The Ninth Circuit recognized

that:

Shortly after the injunction lordering Arizona

to prepare a cost study to establish the

proper appropriation to implement ELL

programs], in November 2000, Arizona voters

approved two propositions that altered

Arizona's school funding and ELL programs.

Proposition 203 largely abohshed bhngual

27

education, replacing it with sheltered English

immersion ... Proposition 301 increased

school funding generally in Arizona through

a sales tax increase.

Flores at 1149. Further, the Ninth Circuit focused

its analysis of “changed facts” on policy changes

implemented by the “successful management” of Kelt

Cooper and his successor, Dr. Guilermo Zamudio,

and resultant testing scores, funding issues, and

conditions in comparable districts. The Ninth

Circuit did not base its analysis in any way on the

possible merits of a bilingual education, nor did it

criticize Arizona’s current policy of English-

_immersion education, simply stating that while

“Arizona’s theory of ELL instruction has changed

over the years, the enormous importance of such

programs to students and parents in Nogales has

not.” Flores at 1145.45 The Ninth Circuit's holding

does not rely in any way upon an evaluation of the

method of providing English language instruction to

its students, because neither petitioner nor

respondent focused the Court on the issue. Rather,

the Court’s focus was (appropriately) on whether

ELL programming funds are sufficient (as that was

45 This is not to say that the Ninth Circuit did not recognize

that there had been a policy shift following the passage of

Proposition 203: “[A]fter 2000, when Arizona moved away from

bilingual education and required most courses to be taught in

English, regardless of students’ language abilities, these

challenges have become greater: A tenth grader, for example,

who speaks no English but must pass a biology course taught

entirely in English wall require considerable assistance.” Flores

at 1169. The Ninth Circuit does not criticize English immersion

educational theories, but rather makes a valid point about the

resources required for effectively transforming theory into

reality.

28

the method of compliance originally adopted by the

state). The Ninth Circuit did not review the way in

which ELL students were being educated, leaving

that up to the state’s discretion. Rather, the Court

reviewed whether or not there had been a change of

fact that might relieve Arizona from the final

judgment.

Thus, it is clear that amici are mistaken when

they state that the Ninth Circuit erred as a result of

its alleged “failure to understand the evolution in

methods for teaching English Language Learners,”4¢

and by “substituting its own preference for educating

Arizona’s students for the validly enacted policy of

the people of Arizona.”47 Amucr The Eagle Forum’s

conclusory statement that “prior federal statutory

acceptance of English immersion would support the

appropriateness of Arizona’s academic success’! is

not supported. Rather, these attempts to inflame

passions over immigration or English-only policies

are a disservice to Arizona’s ELL students. Arizona

has failed to take appropriate action to overcome

language barriers that impede equal participation by

its students in educational programs. This is a

violation of the EEOA, regardless of whether the

failure occurs in the process of teaching ELL

students via an English-immersion program or

through bilingual education. The Court should not

6 Brief of the American United Legal Defense Fund, English

Language Political Action Committee, ProEnglish and the

Center for Opportunity, as 4mzc1 Curiae Supporting

Petitioners, at 2.

47 Brief Amicus Curiae of Pacific Legal Foundation and

Evergreen Freedom Foundation in Support of Petitioners, at 3

* Bret Amicus Currae of Kagle Forum Education & Legal

Defense Fund. Inc., In Support of Petitioners, at 5-6.

29

consider these incendiary proclamations by amzyci for

Petitioners, which do not bear on the issues here.

Finally, alarmist stories of disaster resulting

from mistranslations of English phrases‘? do not

inform the issue before the Court, unless it is to

emphasize the importance of adequate programs for

ELL students. To the extent they are relevant at all,

amicis examples highlight the tragic results of

inadequate English language instruction. It is

indeed ironic for these examples to be cited as

examples for why Arizona should be permitted to

continue flaunting the federal judgment in place

against it by continuing to underfund ELL programs.

—

Brief Amicus Curiae of Eagle Forum Education & Legal

Defense Fund, Inc., In Support of Petitioners, at 17-18 n.3.

30

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

KAREN K. NARASAKI

VINCENT A. ENG

MEREDITH S.H. HIGASHI

ASIAN AMERICAN

JUSTICE CENTER

1140 Connecticut Ave.,

NW

Suite 1200

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 296-2300

ALAN GILBERT

Counsel of Record

RICHARD ZUCKERMAN

KATHERINE EVANS*

CHRISTOPHER LEE**

JONATHAN CHOCK*

SONNENSCHEIN NATH &

ROSENTHAL LLP

7800 Sears Tower

233 South Wacker Dr.

Chicago, IL 60606-6404

(312) 876-8000

* Admitted only in

California

** Admitted only in

Arizona

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

APPENDIX

1-A

APPENDIX A

List Of Amici Curiae

Asian American Institute (AAD

AAI is a pan-Asian, non-partisan, not-for-profit

organization located in Chicago, Illinois, whose

mission is to empower the Asian American

community through advocacy, by utilizing coalition

building, education, and research. AAI’s programs

include community organizing, leadership

development, and legal advocacy. Asian Americans

are a diverse and often overlooked community, but

they are one of the fastest-growing populations in the

United States. In today’s diverse society, it is crucial

to eradicate language access barriers faced by the

Asian American community at health care

institutions, polls, and schools. Because AAI

recognizes the importance of effectively educating

English Language Learners, AAI has a strong

interest in the outcome of this case.

Asian Law Caucus (ALC)

Founded in 1972, ALC 1s a non-profit organization

advancing the legal and civil rights of Asian

American and Pacific Islander communities. It is the

nation’s oldest legal organization serving Asian

Americans and is dedicated to the pursuit of equality

and justice for all sectors of society. We advocate for

equal access to all public services regardless of

English language ability and focus on the needs of

Asian immigrants In particular.

Asian Pacific American Legal Center of Southern

California (APALC)

2-A

APALC was founded in 1983 and is the nation's

largest non-profit public interest law firm devoted to

the Asian Pacific American community. Serving

15,000 individuals and organizations each year,

APALC has expertise in workers' rights, anti-

discrimination, immigrant welfare, immigration and

citizenship, voting rights, and hate crimes. APALC

represents and advocates for limited English

proficient individuals through public advocacy,

community education, and litigation to ensure

adequate language services to immigrants.

Asian Pacific American Legal Resource Center

(APALRC)

APALRC is the Capital Region’s non-profit advocate

advancing the legal and civil rights of Asian Pacific

Amcricans through direct services, education, and

advocacy. The APALRC addresses the individual

legal needs of low-income and limited English

proficient Asian Pacific Americans and advocates for

broad-based systemic change on legal and civil rights

issues impacting Asian Pacific Americans. The

APALRC joins amici secking to ensure equal and

meaningful access to education for limited English

proficient individuals.

Boat People SOS (BPSOS)

BPSOS is a national immigrant services organization

serving primarily Victnamesce refugees and

immigrants with 13 branch offices nationwide.

BPSOS’ domestic operation includes a large array of

human and immigration services for Vietnamese

refugees and immigrants. Upon immigrating to the

United States, most older Vietnamese have limited

English proficiency, if any. The children of these

immigrants need the additional assistance in the

3-A

American educational system to learn the language

and to assimilate into American culture and take full

advantage of the opportunities this country has to

offer. It is because of this interest BPSOS

participates in the brief.

California Rural Legal Assistance Foundation

(CRLAF)

CRLAF is a non-profit legal services organization

representing farm workers and other low income

immigrant families in rural California. The majority

of CRLAF clients are not English speakers and are

representative of the diversity of farm workers in

California, speaking not only Spanish, but a variety

of indigenous languages. For over 30 years CRLAF

has advocated for the rights of English learners in

California schools through legislative advocacy and

has represented farm worker families in actions

brought under the EEOA and in writ proceedings

seeking to compel state and local officials to comply

with the independent mandates of the NCLB.

Child Care Law Center (CCLC)

CCLC is a public interest, non-profit law firm that

uses legal tools to make high quality, affordable

early childhood education available to every child,

family and community. As a legal services support

center, CCLC focuses particular attention on families

who face barriers in securing and maintaining

quality early childhood education: low-income

families, limited English proficient parents and their

English Language Learner children, families and

children with disabilities and special health care

needs, and other vulnerable families. CCLC directly

serves clients who are affected by a lack of access to

English language learning in early education

4-A

settings and provides technical assistance to legal

services programs throughout the state of California

working on issues of access and support for young

English Language Learners. CCLC joins this amicus

brief to help ensure English Language Learner and

limited English proficient children have meaningful

access to education.

Coalition of California Welfare Rights Organizations

(CCWRO)

CCWRO is a private, non-profit organization

established in 1982 as a statewide public interest

non-profit law firm which specializes in poverty law,

including civil rights law, and advocates on behalf of

limited English proficient individuals in California to

ensure that they have meaningful access to

government programs, services, and benefits as

required by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

This is vital for refugees and limited English-

speaking persons to become self-sufficient and end

reliance on public benefits.

Empire Justice Center

The Empire Justice Center is a statewide public

interest non-profit law firm which specializes in civil

rights law and advocates on behalf of limited English

proficient individuals in New York to ensure that

they have meaningful access to government

programs, services, and benefits as required by Title

VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. The Empire

Justice Center is a member of the National

Language Access Advocates Network (N-LAAN), a

national organization that supports and engages in

effective advocacy to eradicate discrimination based

on language.

5-A

Isabel Framer

Isabel Framer is CEO of Language Access

Consultants, LLC in Copley, Ohio. Ms. Framer is a

national expert on language access, an Oregon and

Tennessee-certified judiciary interpreter, author, and

Chair of the National Association of Judiciary

Interpreters and Translators. She has served on the

Interpreter Services Subcommittee of the Supreme

Court of Ohio’s Racial Fairness Implementation Task

Force and on the Board of the Racial Fairness Project

in Cleveland, Ohio. Through consulting and policy

work, particularly with regard to court, law

enforcement, domestic violence and other legal and

quasi-legal settings, Ms. Framer seeks to improve

language access for Limited Engiish Proficient

communities. She joins this amicus brief because the

effective education of English Language Learners

has broad implications for their full and equal access

to justice.

The Fred T. Korematsu Center for Law and Equality

(Korematsu Center)

The Korematsu Center is a non-profit organization

based at Seattle University School of Law and works

to advance justice through research, advocacy, and

education. The Korematsu Center is dedicated to

advancing the legacy of Fred Korematsu, who defied

the military orders during World War II that

ultimately led to the internment of 110,000 Japanese

Americans. He took his challenge of the military

orders to the United States Supreme Court, which

upheld his conviction in 1944 on the ground that the

removal of Japanese Americans was justified by

“military necessity.” Fred Korematsu went on to

successfully challenge his conviction and to

champion the cause of civil liberties and civil rights

6-A

for all people. The Korematsu Center, inspired by his

example, works to advance his legacy by promoting

social justice for all. It has a special interest in

safeguarding language rights to ensure educational

and economic opportunities so that everyone can

participate fully in our nation’s democratic

traditions. We note that the Korematsu Center does

not, in this brief or otherwise, represent the official

views of Seattle University.

Hmong National Development, Inc. (HND)

HND is a national, non-profit organization

developing capacity to ensure the full participation of

Hmong in society. HND works with local and

national organizations, public and private entities,

and individuals to promote educational

opportunities, to increase community capacity, and

to develop resources for the well-being, growth, and

full participation of Hmong in society. Historically,

we have provided advocacy on behalf of Hmong

refugees who face barriers to opportunities in society

due to lack of resources and language abilities.

Japanese American Citizens League (JACL)

The JACL, founded in 1929, is the nation's oldest

and largest Asian American non-profit, non-partisan

civil rights organization with 113 chapters

throughout the continental United States, Hawai'i,

and Japan. It consistently strives to uphold the civil

and human rights of Americans of Japanese

Ancestry and of all people. The JACL has held a

prominent role in obtaining redress for Japanese

Americans who were interned during World War LI.

Currently it works to educate against and combat

discrimination on the basis of race, national origin,

age, ethnicity, gender, or disability, and to protect

7-A

the right of all persons to equal participation in

educational programs. Since Brown v. Board of

Education, the JACL has maintained a strong

position in protecting civil rights and protecting

equal educational opportunities. Amuicithus has an

important and substantial interest in this case.

Legal Aid Association of California (LAAC)

LAAC is a statewide membership association of over

80 non-profit public interest law organizations,

which provide free civil legal services to low-income

persons and communities throughout California, and

over 90 individual staff members and supporters of

such programs. The mission of LAAC (which is itself

a non-profit corporation) is to ensure the efficient

and coordinated delivery of legal services to indigent

and disadvantaged persons throughout California,

and to provide an effective and unified voice for its

members on issues of concern to the statewide justice

community. LAAC member organizations provide

legal assistance on a broad array of substantive

issues, ranging from general poverty law to civil

rights to immigration, and also serve a wide range of

poor, disadvantaged, and vulnerable populations.

Many of LAAC’s organizational members serve

chents who are affected by a lack of access to English

language learning. LAAC supports the goals and

missions of N-LAAN.

National Korean American Service & Education

Consortium (NAKASEC)

NAKASEC is a national non-profit organization

based in Los Angeles with a Washington, D.C. office.

NAKASEC’s affiliates are the Korean American

Resource & Cultural Center in Chicago and the

Korean Resource Center in Los Angeles. Founded in

8-A

1994, NAKASEC is a multi-issue civil rights and

human rights organization based in the Korean

American community. NAKASEC’s mission is to

project a national progressive voice for Koreans

Americans and promote their full participation in the

United States. To this end, NAKASEC promotes

equitable and just changes to the political and

legislative systems through a combination of

education and policy advocacy with grassroots

organizing and community mobilization.

Organization of Chinese Americans, Inc. (OCA)

OCA is a 501(c)(3) national non-profit, non-partisan

organization dedicated to advancing the social,

political, and economic well-being of Asian Pacific

Americans in the United States. With over 80

chapters and affiliates across the nation, OCA’s aims

are to advocate for social justice, to promote civic

participation, to advance coalitions and community

building, and to foster cultural heritage. OCA

monitors issues and policies that affect the Asian

Pacific American community. To ensure the progress

of all members of this diverse community, OCA

champions programs that support the inclusion and

integration of those with educational and language

needs.

Sikh American Legal Defense and Education Fund

(SALDEF)

SALDEF is the oldest Sikh American civil rights and

advocacy organization in the United States. Founded

as the Sikh Mediawatch and Resource ‘l'ask Force

(SMART) in 1996, SALDEF empowers Sikh

Americans through legal assistance, educational

outreach, legislative advocacy, and media relations.

SALDEF’s work with other Sikh and minority

9-A

organizations includes’ extensive experience

providing advocacy and community education on

immigration issues. SALDEF has a strong interest

in advancing opportunities for Sikh Americans by

eliminating language barriers.

South Asian Americans Leading Together (SAALT)

SAALT is a national non-profit organization whose

mission is to promote the full and equal civic and

political participation of South Asians in the United

States. More than 2.7 million South Asians reside in

the United States, many of whom speak limited

English and confront linguistic barriers in obtaining

basic services and benefits. SAALT joins this amicus

brief to help ensure that resources are provided to

English Language Learner and limited English

proficient students in order to obtain meaningful

access to education.

Southeast Asia Resource Action Center (SEARAC)

SEARAC is a national non-profit organization

advancing the interests of Southeast Asian

Americans through leadership development, capacity

building and community empowerment. Established

in 1979 to assist with the resettlement of the largest

group of refugees to the United States from

Southeast Asia, SEARAC continues to be a leading

advocate for these communities. SEARAC has been a

strong advocate on student rights, particularly for

English language learners and their access to high

quality instruction and educational services.

Through our work on K-12 education issues with

congressional and federal policy makers and with

Southeast Asian American families who are directly

affected, we recognize the unfair and harmful impact

our current education policies have on our

10-A

communities across the United States. As such, we

support AAJC in its submission of this brief to

highlight the consequences of inadequate resources

for the instruction of non-native English-speaking

students and their families.

The Watsonville Law Center (WLC)

WLC is a private, non-profit, legal services

organization established in 2002 to provide low-

income individuals equal access to the law by

assisting them to understand, exercise and enforce

their rights. WLC serves a primarily monolingual

Spanish-speaking farmworker community in an

agricultural region. WLC addresses legal barriers

faced by immigrant and other low-income individuals

as they strive to access health and financial

sustainability. English language proficiency

increases access to justice, strengthens low-income

families and improves their economic prospects over

time. WLC joins this amuci brief to help ensure the

thousands of children in our community who are

English language learners have the resources and

opportunities necessary to obtain a meaningful

education for a prosperous future.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.