Record and brief — United States v. Hayes

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

SLIP

OPINION

(Slip Opinion) OCTOBER TERM, 2008 l

Syllabus

NOTE: Where it is feasible, a syllabus (headnote) will be released, as is

being done in connection with this case, at the time the opinion is issued.

The syllabus constitutes no of the opinion of the Court but has been

pared by the rter of Decisians for the convenience of the reader.

e United States v. Detroit Timber & Lumber Co., 200 U. S. 321, 337.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Syllabus

UNITED STATES v. HAYES

CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 07-608. Argued November 10, 2008——Decided February 24, 2009

In 1996, Congress extended the federal Gun Control Act of 1968's pro-

hibition on possession of a firearm by convicted felons to include per-

sons convicted of “a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,” 18

U. S. C. §922(g)(9). Responding to a 911 call reporting domestic vio-

lence, police officers discovered a rifle in respondent Hayes’s home.

Based on this and other evidence, Hayes was charged under

§§922(g)(9) and 924(a)(2) with possessing firearms after having been

convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence. The indict-

ment identified as the predicate misdemeanor offense Hayes’s 1994

conviction for battery against his then-wife, in violation of West Vir-

ginia law. Hayes moved to dismiss the indictment on the ground that

his 1994 conviction did not qualify as a predicate offense under

§922(g)(9) because West Virginia's generic battery law did not desig-

nate a domestic relationship between aggressor and victim as an

element of the offense. When the District Court denied the motion,

Hayes entered a conditional guilty plea and appealed. The Fourth

Circuit reversed, holding that a §922(g)(9) predicate offense must

have as an element a domestic relationship between offender and vic-

tim.

Ileld: A domestic relationship, although it must be established beyond a

reasonable doubt in a §922(g)(9) firearms possession prosecution,

need not be a defining element of the predicate offense. Pp. 4-13.

(a) The definition of “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,” con-

tamed in §921(a)(33)(A), imposes two requirements. First, the crime

must have, “as an element, the use or attempted use of physical force,

or the threatened use of a deadly weapon” §921(a)(33)(A)(u1). Sec-

ond, it must be “commutted by” a person who has a specified domestic

relationship with the victim Jbid. The definition does not. however,

UNITED STATES uv. HAYES

Syllabus

require the predicate-offense statute to include, as an element, the

existence of that domestic relationship. Instead, it suffices for the

Government to charge and prove a prior conviction that was, in fact,

for “an offense ... committed by” the defendant against a spouse or

other domestic victim. Pp. 4-9.

(1) As an initial matter, §921(a)(33)(A)’s use of the singular word

“element” suggests that Congress intended to describe only one re-

quired element, the use of force. Had Congress also meant to make

the specified relationship a predicate-offense element, it likely would

have used the plural “elements,” as it has done in other offense-

defining provisions. See, e.g., 18 U. S. C. §3559(c)(2)(A). Treating the

specified relationship as a predicate-offense element is also awkward

as a matter of syntax. It requires the reader to regard “the use or at-

tempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly

weapon” as an expression modified by the relative clause “committed

by.” It is more natural, however, to say a person “commit[s]” an “of-

fense” than to say one “commit[s]” a “use.” Pp. 5-6.

(2) The Fourth Circuit’s textual arguments to the contrary are

unpersuasive. First, that court noted, clause (ii) is separated from

clause (i)—which defines “misdemeanor’—by a line break and a

semicolon, while clause (ii)’s components—force and domestic rela-

tionship—are joined in an unbroken word flow. Such less-than-

meticulous drafting hardly shows that Congress meant to exclude

from §922(g)(9)'s prohibition domestic abusers convicted under ge-

neric assault or battery laws. As structured, §921(a)(33)(A) defines

“misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” by addressing in clause (i)

the meaning of “misdemeanor,” and in clause (ii) “crime of domestic

violence.” Because a “crime of domestic violence” involves both a use

of force and a domestic relationship, joining these features together

in clause (ii) would make sense even if Congress had no design to con-

fine laws qualifying under §921(a)(33)(A) to those designating as

elements both use of force and domestic relationship. A related

statutory provision, 25 U.S. C. §2803(3)(C), indicates that Congress

did not ascribe substantive significance to the placement of line

breaks and semicolons in i8 U.S.C. §921(a)(33)(A). Second, the

Fourth Circuit relied on the “rule of the last antecedent” to read

“conumutted by” as modifying the immediately preceding use-of-force

phrase rather than the earlier word “offense.” The last-antecedent

rule, however, “is not an absolute and can assuredly be overcome by

other indicia of meaning.” Barnhart vy. Thomas, 540 U.S. 20, 26.

Applying the rule here would require the Court to accept the unlikely

premises that Congress employed the singular “element” to encom-

pass two distinct concepts, and that it adopted the awkward con-

struction “commuil|t]" a wse The rule, moreover, would render the

Cite as: 555 U. S. (2009) 3

Syllabus

word “committed” superfluous, for Congress could have conveyed the

same meaning by referring simply to “the use .. . of physical force .. .

by acurrent or former spouse... .” Pp. 6-9.

(b) Practical considerations strongly support this Court’s reading of

§921(a)(33)(A). By extending the federal firearm prohibition to per-

sons convicted of misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence,

§922(g)(9)'s proponents sought to close a loophole: Existing felon-in-

possession laws often failed to keep firearms out of the hands of do-

mestic abusers, for such offenders generally were not charged with,

or convicted of, felonies. Construing §922(g)(9) to exclude the domes-

tic abuser convicted under a generic use-of-force statute would frus-

trate Congress’ manifest purpose. The statute would have been a

dead letter in some two-thirds of the States because, in 1996, only

about one-third of them had criminal statutes specifically proscribing

domestic violence. Hayes argues that the measure that became

§§922(g)(9) and 921(a)(33)(A), though it initially may have had a

broadly remedial purpose, was revised and narrowed during the leg-

islative process, but his argument is not corroborated by the revisions

he identifies. Indeed, §922(g)(9)’s Senate sponsor observed that a

domestic relationship often would not be a designated element of the

predicate offense. Such remarks are “not controlling,” Consumer

Product Safety Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U. S. 102, 118, but

the legislative record is otherwise silent. Pp. 10-12.

(c) The rule of lenity, on which Hayes also relies, applies only when

a statute is ambiguous. Section 921(a)(33)(A)’s definition, though not

a model of the careful drafter’s art, is also not “grievous[ly] am-

bigufous].” Huddleston v. United States, 415 U.S. 814, 831. The

text, context, purpose, and what little drafting history there is all

point in the same direction: Congress defined “misdemeanor crime of

domestic violence” to include an offense “committed by” a person who

had a specified domestic relationship with the victim, whether or not

the misdemeanor statute itself designates the domestic relationship

as an element of the crime. Pp. 12 13.

482 F. 3d 749, reversed and remanded.

GINSBURG, J., delivered the opinion of the Court, in which STEVENS,

KENNEDY, SOUTER, BREYER, and ALITo, JJ., joined, and in which THO.

MAS, -J., joined as to all but Part ITI. Roperts, C. J., filed a dissenting

opinion. in which SCALIA, J., joined.

Cite as: 555 U. S. (2009) 1

Opinion of the Court

NOTICE: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication in the

prelimi print of the United States Readers are requested to

notify the of Decisions, Supreme ourt of the United States, Wash-

ington, D. C. Se ee en ae too Seen Sane Se Gitar

that corrections may be made the preliminary print goes to press.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 07-608

UNITED STATES, PETITIONER v. RANDY EDWARD

HAYES

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

{February 24, 2009]

JUSTICE GINSBURG delivered the opinion of the Court.*

The federal Gun Control Act of 1968, 18 U. S. C. §921 et

seq., has long prohibited possession of a firearm by any

person convicted of a felony. In 1996, Congress extended

the prohibition to include persons convicted of “a misde-

meanor crime of domestic violence.” §922(g)(9). The

definition of “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,”

contained in §921(a)(33)(A), is at issue in this case. Does

that term cover a misdemeanor battery whenever the

battered victim was in fact the offender’s spouse (or other

relation specified in §921(a)(33)(A))? Or, to trigger the

possession ban, must the predicate misdemeanor identify

as an element of the crime a domestic relationship be-

tween aggressor and victim? We hold that the domestic

relationship, although it must be established beyond a

reasonable doubt in a §922(g)(9) firearms possession

prosecution, need not be a defining element of the predi-

cate offense.

* JUSTICE THOMAS joins all but Part ITI of this opimion

2 UNITED STATES vu. HAYES

Opinion of the Court

I

In 2004, law enforcement officers in Marion County,

West Virginia, came to the home of Randy Edward Hayes

in response to a 911 call reporting domestic violence.

Hayes consented to a search of his home, and the officers

discovered a rifle. Further investigation revealed that

Hayes had recently possessed several other firearms as

well. Based on this evidence, a federal grand jury re-

turned an indictment in 2005, charging Hayes, under

§§922(g)(9) and 924(a)(2), with three counts of possessing

firearms after having been convicted of a misdemeanor

crime of domestic violence.

The indictment identified Hayes’s predicate misde-

meanor crime of domestic violence as a 1994 conviction for

battery in violation of West Virginia law.! The victim of

that battery, the indictment alleged, was Hayes’s then-

wife—a person who “shared a child in common” with

Hayes and “who was cohabitating with ... him as a

spouse.” App. 3.2

Asserting that his 1994 West Virginia battery conviction

‘West Virginia’s battery statute provides: “|AJny person [who] unlaw-

fully and intentionally makes physical contact of an insulting or pro-

voking nature with the person of another or unlawfully and intention-

ally causes physical harm to another person, ... shall be guilty of a

misdemeanor.” W. Va. Code Ann. §61—2-—9(c) (Lexis 20085).

2The indictment stated, in relevant part:

“Defendant RANDY EDWARD HAYES’ February 24, 1994 Battery

conviction ... constituted a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence

because:

“a. Battery is a misdemeanor under State law in West Virginia;

“b. Battery has, as an element, the use and attempted use of physical

force;

“ce. Defendant RANDY EDWARD HAYES committed the offense of

Battery against the victim:

“;. who was his current spouse; and

“nn. who was a person with whom he shared a child in common: and

“in. who was cohabitating with and had cohabitated with him as a

spouse.” App. 2-3 (bold typeface deleted).

Cite as: 555 U. S. (2009) 3

Opinion of the Court

did not qualify as a predicate offense under §922(g)(9),

Hayes moved to dismiss the indictment. Section 922(g)(9),

Hayes maintained, applies only to persons previously

convicted of an offense that has as an element a domestic

relationship between aggressor and victim. The West

Virginia statute under which he was convicted in 1994,

Hayes observed, was a generic battery proscription, not a

law designating a domestic relationship between offender

and victim as an element of the offense. The United

States District Court for the Northern District of West

Virginia rejected Hayes’s argument and denied his motion

to dismiss the indictment. 377 F. Supp. 2d 540, 541-542

(2005). Hayes then entered a conditional guilty plea and

appealed.

In a 2-to-1 decision, the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit reversed. A §922(g)(9) predicate

offense, the Court of Appeals held, must “have as an ele-

ment a domestic relationship between the offender and the

victim.” 482 F.3d 749, 751 (2007). In so ruling, the

Fourth Circuit created a split between itself and the nine

other Courts of Appeals that had previously published

opinions deciding the same question.’ According to those

courts, §922(g)(9) does not require that the offense predi-

cate to the defendant's firearm possession conviction have

as an element a domestic relationship between offender

and victim. We granted certiorari, 552 U.S. ___ (2008), to

resolve this conflict.

’See United States v. Heckenliable, 446 F.3d 1048, 1049 (CA10

2006); United States v. Belless, 338 F. 3d 1063, 1067 (CA9 2003); White

v. Department of Justice, 328 F. 3d 1361, 1364-1367 (CA Fed. 2003),

United States v. Shelton, 325 F. 3d 553, 562 (CA5 2003); United States

v. Kavoukian, 315 F. 3d 139, 142-144 (CA2 2002); United States v

Barnes, 295 F. 3d 1354, 1358-1361 (CADC 2002); United States v.

Chavez, 204 F. 3d 1305, 1313-1314 (CA11 2000). United States v

Meade, 175 F. 3d 215, 218-221 (CA1 1999); United States v. Smith, 171

F. 3d 617, 619-621 (CA8 1999)

A UNITED STATES uv. HAYES

Opinion of the Court

Il

Section 922(g)(9) makes it “unlawfu! for any person .

who has been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor

crime of domestic violence ... [to] possess in or affecting

commerce, any firearm or ammunition.” Section

921(a)(33)(A) defines “misdemeanor crime of domestic

violence” as follows:

“(T]he term ‘misdemeanor crime of domestic violence’

means an offense that—

“G) is a misdemeanor under Federal, State, or

Tribal law; and

“@u) has, as an element, the use or attempted use of

physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly

weapon, committed by a current or former spouse,

parent, or guardian of the victim, by a person with

whom the victim shares a child in common, by a per-

son who is cohabitating with or has cohabitated with

the victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian, or by a

person similarly situated to a spouse, parent, or

guardian of the victim” (footnotes omitted).

This definition, all agree, imposes two requirements:

First, a “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” must

have, “as an element, the use or attempted use of physical

force, or the threatened use of a deadly weapon.” Second,

it must be “committed by” a person who has a specified

domestic relationship with the victim. The question here

is whether the language of §921(a)(33)(A) calls for a fur-

ther limitation: Must the statute describing the predicate

offense include, as a discrete element, the existence of a

domestic relationship between offender and victim? In

line with the large majority of the Courts of Appeals, we

conclude that §921(a)(33)(A) does not require a predicate-

offense statute of that specificity. Instead, in a §922(g)(9)

prosecution, it suffices for the Government to charge and

prove a prior conviction that was, in fact, for “an offense

Cite as: 555U.S.__ (2009) 5

Opinion of the Court

... committed by” the defendant against a spouse or other

domestic victim.

We note as an initial matter that §921(a)(33)(A) uses the

word “element” in the singular, which suggests that Con-

gress intended to describe only one required element.

Immediately following the word “element,”

§921(a)(33)(A)(@ii) refers to the use of force (undoubtedly a

required element) and thereafter to the relationship be-

tween aggressor and victim, e.g., a current or former

spouse. The manner in which the offender acts, and the

offender's relationship with the victim, are “conceptually

distinct attributes.” United States v. Meade, 175 F. 3d

215, 218 (CAl1 1999).4 Had Congress meant to make the

latter as well as the former an element of the predicate

offense, it likely would have used the plural “elements,” as

it has done in other offense-defining provisions. See, e.g.,

18 U.S. C. §3559(c)(2)(A) (“[T]he term ‘assault with intent

to commit rape’ means an offense that has as its elements

engaging in physical contact with another person or using

or brandishing a weapon against another person with

intent to commit aggravated sexual abuse or sexual

abuse.”). Cf. Black’s Law Dictionary 559 (8th ed. 2004)

(defining “element” as “[a] constituent part of a claim that

must be proved for the claim to succeed <Burke failed to

prove the element of proximate cause in prosecuting his

‘Hayes observes, see Brief for Respondent 24-25, that Congress has

used the singular “element” in defining a “crime of violence” to require

both an action (the use of force) and its object (the person of another).

See, e.g., 18 U.S.C. §16(a) (defining “crime of violence” as “an offense

that has as an clement the use, attempted use, or threatened use of

physical force against the person or property of another”). Although

one might conceive of an action and its object as separate elements, it 1s

unsurprising that Congress would have chosen to denominate “the use

of foree against another” as a single, undifferentiated element. In

contrast, the two requirements set out mm §921(a)(33)(A)(11)—the use of

force and the emstence of a specified relationship between aggressor

and victim—are not readily conceptualized as a single element.

6 UNITED STATES vu. HAYES

Opinion of the Court

negligence claim>”).®

Treating the relationship between aggresso:

as an element of the predicate offense is also awkward as

a matter of syntax. It requires the reader to regard “the

use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened

use of a deadly weapon” as an expression modified by the

relative clause “committed by.” In ordinary usage, how-

ever, we would not say that a person “commit|s]” a “use.”

It is more natural to say that a person “commit[{s]” an

“offense.” See, e.g., United States v. Belless, 338 F. 3d

1063, 1066 (CA9 2003) (‘One can ‘commit a crime or an

offense, but one does not ‘commit’ ‘force’ or ‘use.””).

In reaching the conclusion that §921(a)(33)(A) renders

both the use of force and a domestic relationship between

aggressor and victim necessary elements of a qualifying

predicate offense, the Fourth Circuit majority relied on

two textual arguments. First, the court noted that clause

(ii) is separated from clause (i) by a line break and a semi-

colon; in contrast, the components of clause (ii)—force and

domestic relationship—are joined in an unbroken word

flow. See 482 F. 3d, at 753.

Had Congress placed the “committed by” phrase in its

own clause, set off from clause (ii) by a semicolon or a line

break, the lawmakers might have better conveyed that

“committed by” modifies only “offense” and not “use” or

“element.” Congress’ less-than-meticulous drafting, how-

ever, hardly shows that the legislators meant to exclude

®Invoking the Dictionary Act, Hayes contends that the singular “ele-

ment” encompasses the plural “elements.” See Brief for Respondent 25

The Dictionary Act provides that, “unless the context indicates other-

wise,” “words importing the singular include and apply to several

persons, parties, or things.” 1 U.S.C. §1. On the rare occasions when

we have relied on this rule, doing so was “necessary to carry out the

evident intent of the statute.” First Nat. Bank in St Louis v Missouri,

263 U.S 640, 657 (1924) As we explain infra, at 1(}+-12, Hayes's

reading of 18 U.S C. §921(a)(33)(A) does not accord with Congress aim

in extending the gun possession ban

Cite as: 555U.S.__ (2009) 7

Opimon of the Court

from §922(g)(9)'s firearm possession prohibition domes-

tic abusers convicted under generic assault or battery

provisions.

As structured, §921(a)(33)(A) defines “misdemeanor

crime of domestic violence” by addressing in clause (i) the

meaning of “misdemeanor” and, in turn, in clause (ii),

“crime of domestic violence.” Because a “crime of domestic

violence” involves both a use of force and a domestic rela-

tionship, joining these features together in clause (ii)

would make sense even if Congress had no design to con-

fine laws qualifying under §921(a)(33)(A) to those desig-

nating as elements both use of force and domestic rela-

tionship between aggressor and victim. See id., at 761

(Williams, J., dissenting). See also United States v. Bar-

nes, 295 F. 3d 1354, 1358-1360, 1361 (CADC 2002) (“The

fact that the Congress somewhat awkwardly included the

‘committed by’ phrase in subpart (ii) (instead of adding a

subpart (iii)) is not significant in view of the unnatural

reading that would result if ‘committed by were construed

to modify ‘use of force.’ ”).

A related statutory provision, 25 U.S. C. §2803(3)(C),

indicates that Congress did not ascribe substantive sig-

nificance to the placement of line breaks and semicolons in

18 U.S.C. §921(a)(33)(A). In 2006, Congress amended

§921(a)(33)(A)Q@) to include misdemeanors under “[t}ribal

law” as predicate offenses. As a companion measure,

Congress simultaneously enacted §2803(3)(C), which

employs use-of-force and domestic-relationship language

virtually identical to the language earlier placed in

§92 1(a)(33)(A)Q), except that §2803(3)(C) uses no semico-

lon or line break.

Section 2803(3)(C) authorizes federal agents to “make

an arrest without a warrant for an offense committed in

Indian country if—

“the offense is a misdemeanor crime of domestic vio-

lence ... and has, as an element, the use or attempted

8 UNITED STATES v. HAYES

Opinion of the Court

use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly

weapon, committed by a current or former spouse,

parent, or guardian of the victim, by a person with

whom the victim shares a child in common, by a per-

son who is cohabitating with or has cohabitated with

the victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian, or by a

person similarly situated to a spouse, parent or guard-

ian of the victim... .”

At the time Congress enacted §2803(3)(C), the Courts of

Appeals uniformly agreed that §921(a)(33)(A) did not limit

predicate offenses to statutory texts specifying both a use

of force and a domestic relationship as offense elements.

Congress presumably knew how §921(a)(33)(A) had been

construed, and presumably intended §2803(3)(C) to bear

the same meaning. See Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith Inc. v. Dabit, 547 U.S. 71, 85-86 (2006) (“[W]hen

‘judicial interpretations have settled the meaning of an

existing statutory provision, repetition of the same lan-

guage in a new statute indicates, as a general matter, the

intent to incorporate its ... judicial interpretations as

well.” (quoting Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 645

(1998))). Relying on spacing and punctuation to hem in

§921(a)(33)(A), while reading §2803(3)(C) to contain no

similar limitation, would create a disjunction between

these two provisions that Congress could not have

intended.

As a second justification for its construction of

§921(a)(33)(A), the Court of Appeals invoked the “rule of

the last antecedent,” under which “a limiting clause or

phrase... should ordinarily be read as modifying only the

noun or phrase that it immediately follows.” Barnhart v.

Thomas, 540 U.S. 20. 26 (2003). The words “committed

by” immediately follow the use-of-force language. the court

observed, and therefore should be read to modify that

phrase, not the earlier word “offense” See 482 F. 3d, at

Cite as: 555 U.S.__ (2009) 9

Opinion of the Court

753-755. The rule of the last antecedent, however, “is not

an absolute and can assuredly be overcome by other indi-

cia of meaning.” Barnhart, 540 U. S., at 26.6

Applying the rule of the last antecedent here would

require us to accept two unlikely premises: that Congress

employed the singular “element” to encompass two distinct

concepts, and that it adopted the awkward construction

“commilt]” a “use.” See supra, at 5-6. Moreover, as the

dissent acknowledges, post, at 4, the last-antecedent rule

would render the word “committed” superfluous: Congress

could have conveyed the same meaning by referring sim-

ply to “the use ... of physical force ... by a current or

former spouse ....” See Tr. of Oral Arg. 29. “Committed”

retains its operative meaning only if it is read to modify

“offense.”

Most sensibly read, then, §921(a)(33)(A) defines “mis-

demeanor crime of domestic violence” as a misdemeanor

offense that (1) “has, as an element, the use [of force],” and

(2) is committed by a person who has a specified domestic

relationship with the victim. To obtain a conviction in a

§922(g)(9) prosecution, the Government must prove be-

yond a reasonable doubt that the victim of the predicate

offense was the defendant's current or former spouse or

was related to the defendant in another specified way.

But that relationship, while it must be established, need

not be denominated an clement of the predicate offense.’

®As the United States points out, the Court of Appeals “itself recog-

mized the flexibility of the rule fof the last antecedent]” Brief for

United States 20, n 7 Under a strict apphcation of the rule, the

“commutted by” phrase would modify only its immediate antecedent,

i.e., “the threatened use of a deadly weapon,” and not the entire phrase

“use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a

deadly weapon.” The court rightly regarded such a reading as implau-

sible See 482 F 3d 749, 755 (CA4 2007)

"We find it not at all “surprising’—indeed, it seems to us “most natu-

ral’ —to read §921(a)(3.3)(A) to convey that a person convicted of batter.

ing a spouse or other domestic victim has committed a ‘cmme of domes-

10 UNITED STATES v. HAYES

Opinion of the Court

Il

Practical considerations strongly support our reading of

§921(a)(33)(A)'s language. Existing felon-in-possession

laws, Congress recognized, were not keeping firearms out

of the hands of domestic abusers, because “many people

who engage in serious spousal or child abuse ultimately

are not charged with or convicted of felonies.” 142 Cong.

Rec. 22985 (1996) (statement of Sen. Lautenberg). By

extending the federal firearm prohibition to persons con-

victed of “misdemeanor crime{s] of domestic violence,”

proponents of §922(g)(9) sought to “close this dangerous

loophole.” Jd., at 22986.

Construing §922(g)(9) to exclude the domestic abuser

convicted under a generic use-of-force statute (one that

does not designate a domestic relationship as an element

of the offense) would frustrate Congress’ manifest purpose.

Firearms and domestic strife are a potentially deadly

combination nationwide. See, e.g., Brief for Brady Center

to Prevent Gun Violence et al. as Amici Curiae 8—15; Brief

for National Network to End Domestic Violence et al. as

Amici Curiae 2-8. Yet, as interpreted by the Fourth

Circuit, §922(g)(9) would have been “a dead letter” in some

two-thirds of the States from the very moment of its en-

actment. 482 F. 3d, at 762 (Williams, J., dissenting).

As of 1996, only about one-third of the States had crimi-

nal statutes that specifically proscribed domestic violence.

See Brief for United States 23, n. 8.4 Even in those States,

domestic abusers were (and are) routinely prosecuted

under generally applicable assault or battery laws. See

Tr. of Oral Arg. 19. And no statute defining a distinct

tic violence,” whether or not the statute of conviction happens to con-

tain a domestic -relahionship element Cf post, at 2

* Additonal States have enacted such statutes since 1996. but about

one-half of the States still prosecute domestc violence exclusively

under generally applicable criminal laws See Brief for United States

23-24, andn 9

Cite as: 555 U. S. (2009) 11

Opinion of the Court

federal misdemeanor designated as an element of the

offense a domestic relationship between aggressor and

victim. Yet Congress defined “misdemeanor crime of

domestic violence” to include “misdemeanor/s] under

Federal ... law.” §921(a)(33)(A)(i). Given the paucity of

state and federal statutes targeting domestic violence, we

find it highly improbable that Congress meant to extend

§922(g)(9)’s firearm possession ban only to the relatively

few domestic abusers prosecuted under laws rendering a

domestic relationship an element of the offense. See

Barnes, 295 F. 3d, at 1364 (rejecting the view that “Con-

gress remedied one disparity—between felony and misde-

meanor domestic violence convictions—while at the same

time creating a new disparity among (and sometimes,

within) states”).°

The measure that became §922(g)(9) and §921(a)(33)(A),

Hayes acknowledges, initially may have had a broadly

remedial purpose, see Brief for Respondent 28-29, but the

text of the proposal, he maintains, was revised and nar-

rowed while the measure remained in the congressional

hopper. ‘The compromise reflected in the text that gained

passage, Hayes argues, restricted the legislation to of-

fenses specifically denominating a domestic relationship

as a defining clement. ‘The changes Hayes identifies,

however, do not corroborate his argument.

Congress did revise the language of §921(a)(33)(A) to

spell out the use-of-force requirement. The proposed

legislation initially described the predicate domestic-

violence offense as a “crime of violence . .. committed by” a

person who had a domestic relationship with the victim.

142 Cong. Rec. 5840 The final version replaced the un-

*Generally, as in this case, it would entail no “elaborate factfinding

process, cf post, at 7, to determine whether the victim of a molent

assault was the perpetrators “current or former spouse” or bore one of

the other domestic relationships specified in §921(a)(33)(A)(1) to the

perpetrator

12 UNITED STATES v. HAYES

Opinion of the Court

elaborated phrase “crime of violence” with the phrase “has,

as an element, the use or attempted use of physical force,

or the threatened use of a deadly weapon.” This appar-

ently last-minute insertion may help to explain some of

the syntactical awkwardness of the enacted language, but

it does not evince an intention to convert the “committed

by” phrase into a required element of the predicate

offense.

Indeed, in a floor statement discussing the revised

version of §922(g)(9), Senator Frank Lautenberg, the

sponsor of the provision, observed that a domestic rela-

tionship between aggressor and victim often would not be

a designated element of the predicate offense:

“|C]jonvictions for domestic violence-related crimes of-

ten are for crimes, such as assault, that are not explic-

itly identified as related to domestic violence. There-

fore, it will not always be possible for law enforcement

authorities to determine from the face of someone's

criminal record whether a particular misdemeanor

conviction involves domestic violence, as defined in

the new law.” /d., at 26675.

The remarks of a single Senator are “not controlling,”

Consumer Product Safety Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc.,

147 U.S. 102, 118 (1980), but, as Hayes recognizes, the

legislative record is otherwise “absolutely silent.” See Tr.

of Oral Arg. 32, 35. It contains no suggestion that Con-

gress intended to confine §922(g)(9) to abusers who had

violated statutes rendering the domestic relationship

between aggressor and victim an element of the offense.

IV

The rule of lenity, Hayes contends, provides an addi-

tional reason to construe §922(g)(9) and §921(a)(33)(A) to

apply only to predicate offenses that specify a domestic

relauonship as an element of the crime. “|T]he touchstone

Cite as: 555 U. S. (2009) 13

Opinion of the Court

of the rule of lenity is statutory ambiguity.” Bifulco v.

United States, 447 U.S. 381, 387 (1980) (internal quota-

tion marks omitted). We apply the rule “only when, after

consulting traditional canons of statutory construction, we

are left with an ambiguous statute.” United States v.

Shabani, 513 U.S. 10, 17 (1994). Section 921(a)(33)(A)’s

definition of “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,” we

acknowledge, is not a model of the careful drafter’s art.

See Barnes, 295 F. 3d, at 1356. But neither is it “griev-

ous[ly] ambigufous].” Huddleston v. United States, 415

U.S. 814, 831 (1974). The text, context, purpose, and

what little there is of drafting history all point in the same

direction: Congress defined “misdemeanor crime of domes-

tic violence” to include an offense “committed by” a person

who had a specified domestic relationship with the victim,

whether or not the misdemeanor statute itself designates

the domestic relationship as an element of the crime.

- * ~

For the reasons stated, the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit is reversed,

and the case is remanded for further proceedings consis-

tent with this opinion.

It is so ordered.

Cite as: 555 U. S. (2009) 1

ROBERTS, C. J., dissenting

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 07-608

UNITED STATES, PETITIONER v. RANDY EDWARD

HAYES

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

[February 24, 2009]

CHIEF JUSTICE ROBERTS, with whom JUSTICE SCALIA

joins, dissenting.

A person convicted of a “misdemeanor crime of domestic

violence” is prohibited from possessing a firearm. 18

U.S.C. §922(g)(9). The question before the Court is

whether the definition of “misdemeanor crime of domestic

violence” in §921(a)(33)(A) includes misdemeanor offenses

with no domestic-relationship element.

Section 921(a)(33)(A) provides:

“(T]he term ‘misdemeanor crime of domestic violence’

means an offense that—

“G) is a misdemeanor under Federal, State, or

Tribal law; and

“(u) has, as an element, the use or attempted use of

physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly

weapon, committed by a current or former. spouse,

parent, or guardian of the victim, by a person with

whom the victim shares a child in common, by a per-

son who is cohabitating with or has cohabitated with

the victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian, or by a

person similarly situated to a spouse, parent, or

guardian of the victum.” (Footnote omitted.)

The majority would read the “committed by” phrase in

clause (ii) to modify the word “offense” in the opening

2 UNITED STATES v. HAYES

ROBERTS, C. J., dissenting

clause of subparagraph (A), leapfrogging the word “ele-

ment” at the outset of clause (i). That reading does not

require the specified domestic relationship in clause (ii) to

be an element of the predicate misdemeanor statute.

Individuals convicted under generic use-of-force statutes

containing no reference to domestic violence would there-

fore be subject to prosecution under §922(g)(9).

The Court of Appeals held to the contrary that “commit-

ted by” modifies the immediately preceding phrase: “the

use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened

use of a deadly weapon.” §921(a)(33)(A); 482 F. 3d 749,

753-754 (CA4 2007). Read that way, a domestic relation-

ship is an element of the prior offense.

That seems to be the most natural reading right off the

bat. The term at issue is “misdemeanor crime of domestic

violence.” That is a defined term—so the definition cer-

tainly must be parsed—but it would be at least surprising

to find from that parsing that a “misdemeanor crime of

domestic violence” need not by its terms have anything to

do with domestic violence.

1. The grammatical rule of the last antecedent indicates

that the domestic relationship is a required element of the

predicate offense. That rule instructs that “a limiting

clause or phrase . . . should ordinarily be read as modify-

ing only the noun or phrase that it immediately follows.”

Barnhart v. Thomas, 540 U.S. 20, 26 (2003). Pursuant to

that rule, the “committed by” phrase in clause (ii) is best

read to modify the preceding phrase “the use or attempted

use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly

weapon.” See 482 F. 3d, at 754-755. By not following the

usual grammatical rule, the majority's reading requires

jumping over two line breaks, clause (i), a semicolon, and

the first portion of clause (ii) to reach the more distant

antecedent (‘offense’). Due to the floating “that” after

“offense,” if “committed by” modified “offense” the text

would read “offense that committed by.”

Cite as: 555 U. S. (2009) 3

ROBERTS, C. J., dissenting

The majority counters that people do not ordinarily say

someone “commit|s]” a “use” of force. See ante, at 6. True

enough, but only because “use” of force is a term that

encompasses a variety of conduct, which if listed sepa-

rately would not pose the objection the majority raises

(e.g., commits a battery, robbery, or kidnaping). There is

no reason to believe that the reasonable drafting decision

to insert “use” of force rather than coming up with a laun-

dry list of offenses was meant to alter the meaning of the

statute.

The majority also relies on Congress’s use of the word

“element” in the singular. From that, the majority infers

that Congress intended to describe only one required

element—the use of force. Ante, at 5. In its view, Con-

gress would have used the plural “elements” if it meant to

encompass both the use of force and the offender's rela-

tionship with the victim. /bid.

That argument is contrary to the Dictionary Act, which

specifies that unless the context indicates otherwise,

“words importing the singular include and apply to several

persons, parties, or things.” 1 U.S.C. §1; see Rowland v.

California Men’s Colony, Unit IT Men’s Advisory Council,

506 U.S. 194, 200 (1993). More significantly, reading

“element” as limited to the singular does not resolve what

that element is. See United States v. Barnes, 295 F. 3d

1354, 1369 (CADC 2002) (Sentelle, J., dissenting). A

single element often contains multiple components. In the

very provision at issue, the “threatened use of a deadly

weapon” includes three concepts: (1) the threatened use (2)

of a weapon (3) that is deadly.

In other statutes, Congress has used the word “element”

in the singular to refer to the use of force and its object.

See, e.g., 18 U.S. C. §16(a) (defining “crime of violence” as

“an offense that has as an element the use, attempted use,

or threatened use of physical force against the person or

property of another”). The majority finds it “unsurprising”

A UNITED STATES v. HAYES

ROBERTS, C. J., dissenting

that Congress would have chosen to combine the mode of

aggression and its object in a “single, undifferentiated

element.” Ante, at 5, n. 4. It asserts, however, that Con-

gress would not have so joined the use of force and the

offender's relationship with the victim, because those

requirements “are not readily conceptualized as a single

element.” Jbid. ‘That distinction is elusive; both 18

U.S. C. §16(a) and the provision at issue here contain as

distinct components the act (use of force) and the target

(person or property in the former case, domestic relation-

ship victim in the latter).

The majority also points out that interpreting “commit-

ted by” to modify the “use” of force would render the word

“committed” superfluous. That may be so, but as shown,

reading “committed by” to modify “offense” has its own

flaws. All this goes to show that the statute is not an

example of elegant syntax under either reading. The

majority properly acknowledges that, under its view, the

statutory language reflects “less-than-meticulous drafting”

and “syntactical awkwardness,” and “is not a model of the

careful drafter’s art.” Ante, at 6, 12, 13. | am willing to

acknowledge the same with respect to my reading. But I

conclude from such reciprocal shortcomings that the text

is at least ambiguous.

2. That brings us to the structure of the statute. The

most natural reading of the statute, as it is laid out, is

that the underlying misdemeanor must have as an ele-

ment the use of force committed by a person in a domestic

relationship with the victim. ‘The definition of “misde-

meanor crime of domestic violence” is twice qualified: first,

by the relative clause “is a misdemeanor under Federal,

State, or Tribal law”; and second by the relative clause

“has, as an element, the use or attempted use of physical

force, or the threatened use of a deadly weapon, committed

by [a person in a specified domestic relationship with the

victim].” §921(a)(33)(A) (footnote omitted). The fact that

Cite as: 555U.S.___ (2009) 5

ROBERTS, C. J., dissenting

Congress included the domestic relationship language in

the clause of the statute designating the element of the

predicate offense strongly suggests that it is in fact part of

the required element.

The majority's contrary reading requires restructuring

the statute and adding words. The majority first must

place the “committed by” phrase in its own clause—set off

by a line break, a semicolon, or “(iii)”"—to indicate that

“committed by” refers all the way back to “offense.” And,

as noted, because the word “that” appears at the end of

subparagraph (A), the statute would then read “an offense

that committed by.” To arrive at its reading, the majority

must ignore the floating “that” or add “and is” before

“committed by.”

The Government would define “misdemeanor crime of

domestic violence” as “an offense, committed by a person

with a domestic relationship with the victim, that is a

misdemeanor and has, as an element, the use or at-

tempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a

deadly weapon.” Brief for United States 13; see also Tr. of

Oral Arg. 8-9. That reading also requires rearranging the

statute. The “committed by” phrase would have to be

severed from clause (ii) and moved up to appear after the

word “offense” in subparagraph (A). Changing and rear-

ranging the wording as the Government does to explain

what the actual words mean is, in any event, not a compe!l-

ling line of argument.

The majority attempts to diminish the magnitude of

these alterations by stating that the lawmakers might

have better conveyed their intent by setting off the “com-

mitted by” phrase with “a semicolon” or “a line break.”

Ante, at 6. But those are not insignificant revisions; they

alter the structure of the statute, and we have recognized

that structure is often critical in resolving verbal ambigu-

ity. See Castillo v. United States, 530 U.S. 120, 124

(2000) (“The statute's structure clarifies any ambiguity

6 UNITED STATES uv. HAYES

RoBER!S, C. J., dissenting

inherent in its literal language”). | therefore respectfully

disagree with the majority that “misdemeanor crime of

domestic violence” is most sensibly read as including

misdemeanor offenses without a domestic-relationship

element.

3. Moving beyond text and structure, the majority rec-

ognizes that there is “little .. . drafting history,” ante, at

13, but gamely trots out what there is: a statement on the

floor of the Senate by the bill’s sponsor, see ante, at 12.

Such tidbits do not amount to much. See Consumer Prod-

uct Safety Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102,

118 (1980). This is especially true here where the state-

ment was delivered the day the legislation was passed and

after the House of Representatives had passed the perti-

nent provision. See Exxon Mobil Corp. v. Allapattah

Services, Inc., 545 U.S. 546, 568 (2005); see also Brief for

Respondent 33. The majority nonetheless looks to the

floor statement because “the legislative record is otherwise

‘absolutely silent.’” Ante, at 12. But that is no reason to

accord the statement significance: We dismiss the value of

such statements due to their inherent flaws as guides to

legislative intent, flaws that persist (and indeed may be

amplified) in the absence of other indicia of intent.

The majority also finds it “highly improbable that Con-

gress meant to extend §922(g)(9)'s firearm possession ban

only to the relatively few domestic abusers prosecuted

under laws rendering a domestic relationship an element

of the offense.” Ante, at 11. In its view, construing

§$922(g)(9) to exclude persons convicted under a generic

use-of-force statute would “frustrate Congress manifest

purpose,” ante, at 10, of keeping guns out of the hands of

domestic abusers. See anie, at 10 (quoting statement of

Sen. Lautenberg, 142 Cong. Rec. 22985 (1996)).

Invoking the sponsor's objective as Congress's manifest

purpose, however, “ignores the complexity of the problems

Congress is called upon to address and the dynamics of

Cite as: 555 U. S. (2009) 7

RoseERrTsS, C. J., dissenting

legislative action.” Board of Governors, FRS v. Dimension

Financial Corp., 474 U.S. 361, 373-374 (1986). Legisla-

tive enactments are the result of negotiations between

competing interests; “the final language of the legislation

may reflect hard-fought compromises.” /d., at 374. Even

if there were sufficient sentiment to extend the gun ban,

individual legislators might have disagreed on the appro-

priate reach of the new provision. See ibid. Some mem-

bers might well have been willing to extend the ban be-

yond individuals convicted of felonies, but only if the

predicate misdemeanor by its terms was addressed to

domestic violence.

4. The majority's approach will entail significant prob-

lems in application. Under the interpretation adopted by

the court below, it is easy to determine whether an indi-

vidual is covered by the gun ban: Simply look to the record

of the prior conviction. Under the majority's approach, on

the other hand, it will often be necessary to go beyond the

fact of conviction and “engage in an claborate factfinding

process regarding the defendant's prior offens[e],” Taylor

v. United States, 495 U.S. 575, 601 (1990), to determine

whether it happened to involve domestic violence.

That is one reason we adopted a categorical approach to

predicate offenses under the Armed Career Criminal Act,

18 U.S. C. §924(e)(1), “looking only to the statutory defim-

tions of the prior offenses, and not to the particular facts

underlying those convictions.” Taylor, supra, at 600; see

Shepard v. United States, 544 U.S. 13, 19 (2005) (Court

considered “predicate offens|c| in terms not of prior con-

duct but of prior ‘convictions and the ‘element|s] of

crimes”). As we warned in Taylor and reaffirmed in

Shepard, “the practical difficulues and potential unfair-

ness of a factual approach are daunting.” Taylor, sup, at

601; see Shepard, supra, at 20. Those same concerns are

implicated here. given that the majority would require

juries and courts to look at the parucular facts of a prior

8 UNITED STATES vu. HAYES

ROBERTS, C. J_, dissenting

conviction to determine whether it happened to involve

domestic violence, rather than simply looking to the ele-

ments of the predicate offense. See ante, at 4-5.

5. Taking a fair view, the text of §921(a)(33)(A) is am-

biguous, the structure leans in the defendant's favor, the

purpose leans in the Government's favor, and the legisla-

tive history does not amount to much. This is a textbook

case for application of the rule of lenity.

“Because construction of a criminal statute must be

guided by the need for fair warning, it is rare that legisla-

tive history or statutory policies will support a construc-

tion of a statute broader than that clearly warranted by

the text.” Crandon v. United States, 494 U.S. 152, 160

(1990). It cannot fairly be said here that the text “clearly

warrants the counterintuitive conclusion that a “crume of

domestic violence” need not have domestic violence as an

element. That leaves the majority's arguments about

legislative history and statutory purpose. This is not the

“rare” case in which such grounds provide “fair warning,”

especially given that there is nothing wrong with the

conduct punished—possessing a firearm—if the prior

misdemeanor is not covered by the statute.

If the rule of lenitv means anything, it is that an indi-

vidual should not go to jail for failing to conduct a 50-state

survey or comb through obscure legislative history. Ten

vears in jail is too much to hinge on the will-o-the-wisp of

statutory meaning pursued by the majority.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — United States v. Hayes · 555 U.S. 415 | Frix