Record and brief — 14 Penn Plaza LLC, et al v. Steven Pyett, et al

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Jan 292008 Rey yf petitioners |4 Penn Plaza LLC. et al. filed. (Distnbuted)

Jan 30 2008 DISTRIBUTED tor Conterence of

Feb 19 2008 Petition GRANTED

—

T

t

€

&

Ay

to

F

O$ Bret of petitioners 14 Penn Plaza LLC. et al filed

May 12 2008 Bret amicus curiae of Chamber of Commerce ot the United States

May 12 2008 Bnet amicus curiae of Equal Employment Advisory Council filed

Jul 3 2008 lhe time within which to file respondents’ bnet on the merits 1s further

extended to and including July 14. 2008

Jul 32008 Consent to the filing of amicus curiae briefs in support of either party o1

| eitl | party rece ,ed Irom ¢ yunsel for the respe ndents

Jul 102 ‘ Bret amicus cunae ot Service En pl vees International Lnion. Loca] 32B]

Jul 142 Ss Bnet ot respondents Steven Pvett. et a! filed

T

Jul 1S 2008 Bnet amicus curiae of National Right to Work Legal Defense Foundatior

Jul 18 2008 Bnet amici cunae of American Federation ot Labor and Congress of

Motion of the Acting Solicitor General tor leave to participate

rgument as amicus curiae and for divided argument GRANTED

SET FOR ARGUMENT ON Monday. December |. 2008

CIRCLLATED

\rgued For petitioners Paul Sa atore. New York. N.Y. For res} ndents

) i ( Freder ch Washit ul n. DC il d ( UTTIS E G annon. Assistant to

the Solicitor General. Department of Justice. Washington. D C_ (for United

States. as amicus curia

Guy

PETITION

FOR

WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

G L¥SS O Supreme Court US.

"\\ No. 07- 07-581 0CT 30 20?

is OFFICE OF THE CLERK

N TH

Supreme Court of the Wnited States

14 PENN PLAZA LLC and

TEMCO SERVICE INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Petitioners,

v

STEVEN PYETT, THOMAS O'CONNELL,

and MICHAEL PHILLIPS,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED StaTeEs Court oF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES F: BERG Pau SALVATORE*

HowakD ROTHSCHILD Mark D. Harris

REALTY ADVISORY BoaRD ON LABOR BRIAN S. RAUCH

RELATIONS, INC. TAN C. SCHAEFER

292 Madison Avenue PROSKAUER Rose [LLP

New York, NY 10017 1585 Broadway

(212) 889-4100 New York, NY 10036

¢ 9 a

Counsel for Petitioner (212) 969-3000

Temco Service Industries, Ine. Counsel for Petitioner

14 Penn Plaza LLC

* Counsel of Record

211272 @

“OUNSEL PRESS

800) 274-4321 + (500) 349 6859

a

QUESTION PRESENTED

Is an arbitration clause contained in a collective

bargaining agreement, freely negotiated by a union and

an employer, which clearly and unmistakably waives the

union members’ right to a judicial forum for their

statutory discrimination claims, enforceable?

i1

LIST OF PARTIES

Pursuant to Rule 14.1(b), the only party appearing

before the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

whose name does not appear in the caption of the Petition

for a Writ of Certiorari is the Pennsylvania Building

Company.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to Rule 29.6, Petitioners state as follows:

14 Penn Plaza LLC has no parent corporation and

no publicly-held cerporation owns 10% or more of its

stock.

Temco Services Industries, Inc. is a publicly traded

company. It has no parent corporation and no publicly-

held corporation owns 10% or more of its stock.

til

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

EE bc i vo voswadvaseneesheetsws i

ET cs. tnnscweed abused awivedewensas ii

Corporate Disclosure Statement ............... ii

EE ks bv W sec deenkseeeecdatuces iii

ded cewadmas eats sae Vv

Table of Cited Authorities .................... vi

EE 9c ndinnd dened c0bsess ceeneubasle< l

Statement of Jurisdiction .................... l

Constitutional and Statutory. Provisions

ED Sa oddncdipan ckcsckontsseksuneneunes 1

ORIGINS GE CRO CBOE noone ccceecciccsccceescs 2

A. FUCUMG OGMBTOUMG 2. wn cc cc ccc cccceess 2

BD. PUCCRMGIII BGT og cccccvccccccccesss 6

Reasons for Granting the Petition ............. 9

I. There Is A Fundamental Conflict In The

Lower Courts Over The Enforceability Of

Union-Negotiated Waivers Of A Judicial

PE aGsantusenesske. (Nokeace cokes 10

iv

Contents

Page

A. This Court Has Acknowledged An

“Obvious[] ... Tension” In Its

Jurisprudence And Has Not Resolved

Tk -whnseaaeeadeusenedateodeniueviee 1]

B. The Lower Federal Courts are in

Irreconcilable and Acknowledged

SE AS avad eden éannceadehennsee 18

C. State Courts Are In Conflict With

oo eer ee 23

Il. Uncertainty About The Enforceability Of

Arbitration Agreements Creates Serious

og er er ere 25

A. The Adverse Effect on Employers,

Unions, and Unionized Employees ... 25

B. The Adverse Effect on Labor-

Management Relations. ............ 27

EEE ERE RDI oe Pe OE ee 29

Vv

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States

Court Of Appeals For The Second Circuit

DOSIGGS BME b, TOUT occ vccccccccsscccecs

Appendix B — Memorandum And Order Of The

United States District Court For The Southern

District Of New York Filed June 1, 2006.....

Appendix C — Opinion Of The United States

District Court For The Southern District Of

New York Filed February 22, 2006 ..........

Appendix D — Affidavit Of Larry Engelstein

Dated November 21, 2005 ..................

Appendix E — Excerpts From The 2005

Contractors Agreement ....................

Appendix F —9 U.S.C. §§3 &4 ..............

Appendix G — 29 U.S.C. §§ 621, 623(a),

DED cc cackveecsedsekden seein ene

vi

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int'l

v. Northwest Airlines, Inc.,

211 F.3d 1312 (D.C. Cir.),

cert. denied, 121 S. Ct. 565 (2000) ........... 22

Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int'l

v. Northwest Airlines, Inc.,

199 F.3d 477 (D.C. Cir. 1999) ............ 22, 27, 28

Albertson’s, Inc. v. United Food

& Commercial Workers Union,

157 F.3d 758 (9th Cir. 1998),

cert. denied, 528 U.S. 809 (1999) ............ 22, 25

Aleman v. Chugach Support Servs., Inc.,

485 F.3d 206 (4th Cir. 2007) ................. 21

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co.,

EE de cudénescceccecéocses se passim

Austin v. Owens-Brockway Glass Container, Inc.,

78 F.3d 875 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 519 U.S. 980 (1996) ... 9, 18, 19, 20, 22

Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight Sys., Inc.,

eke <5 sabe eeReces ee cee 12

vii

Cited Authorities

Page

Bratten v. SST Servs., Inc.,

185 F:3d 625 (6th Cir. 1999) ................. 22, 24

Brisentine v. Stone & Webster Eng’g Corp.,

117 F.3d 619 (11th Cir. 1997) ............62.. 22

Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen

v. Akron & Barberton Belt R.R. Co.,

385 F.2d 581 (D.C. Cir. 1967) ...........c000- 27

Brown v. ABF Freight Sys., Inc.,

183 F.3d 319 (4th Cir. 1999) .............0... 21

Carson v. Giant Food, Inc.,

175 F.3d 325 (4th Cir. 1999), :

cert. denied, 540 U.S. 1074 (2000) ........... 20

Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Adams,

I oc det edinecumkunen 15

Collins v. New York City Transit Auth.,

- oy Bilt, ie 2 | re 16

E.. Associated Coal Corp. v. Massey,

373 F.3d 530 (4th Cir. 2004) .......... 220008. 20

FEOC v. Waffle House, Inc.,

gE ree 16

Garcia v. Bellmarc Prop. Mgmt.,

745 N.Y.S.2d 13 (App. Div. 2002) ............ 24

viii

Cited Authorities

Page

Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp.,

Se EE tia cncnatnseedvandsnene passim

Granados v. Harvard Maintenance, Inc.

No. 05 Civ. 5489, 2006 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6918

GRAS ED oc cccccccccscesesecss 1

Harrison v. Eddy Potash, Inc.,

112 F.3d 1437 (10th Cir. 1997) ............... 22

J.J. Case Co. v. NLRB,

ns oc nein neneeudneecens 27

Lewandowski v. Collins Bldg. Servs., Inc.,

Docket No. 104657/00

(Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co. Dec. 6, 2000) ............. 24

Marquez v. Screen Actors Guild,

EE cad sUbdventsdsceeseunes’s 16

Martin v. Dana Corp.,

114 F.3d 421 (3d Cir. 1997) .........0..20008. 22

Martin v. Dana Corp.,

135 F.3d 765 (3d Cir. 1997),

reported in full at 156 L.R.R.M. (BNA) 3137

Se SO I so cs od ekccececenecevas 23

Matthews v. Rollins Hudig Hail Co.,

72 F.3d 50 (7th Cir. 1995) .......... ccc c eee 17

ix

Cited Authorities

Page

McDonald v. West Branch,

ee ok cewncdcocnsddonesnceys 12

Metropolitan Edison Co. v. NLRB,

SEE Soebbucecusesssccccasecds 17

Minnick v. City of Middleburg Heights,

No. 81728, 2003 Ohio App. LEXIS 4569

Ge, BA BA Ts EE Poon vccsectccccesces 24

Moses H. Cone Mem’l Hosp. v. Mercury Constr.,

| RS Eye ee ree 13

NLRB v. Wooster Div. of Borg-Warner Corp.,

ED inet beuncdueneeneneases 27

Pryner v. Tractor Supply Co.,

109 F:3d 354 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, S22 U.S. (1997) ..... ccc cccces 22

Rodriguez de Quijas

v. Shearson/American Express, Inc.,

KR ne er 12

Rogers v. New York Univ.,

220 F.3d 73 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1036 (2000) ....... 7, 8,9, 20

Safrit v. Cone Mills Corp..,

248 F.3d 306 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 534 U.S. 995 (2001) ............ 21

x

Cited Authorities

Seus v. John Nuveen & Co.,

146 F-3d 175 (8d Cir. 1998) .........

Singletary v. Enersys, Inc.,

57 F. Appx. 161 (4th Cir. 2003) .....

Sum v. Tishman Speyer Props., Inc.

Docket No. 11079-2005

(Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co. Dec. 2, 2005) ....

Vaca v. Sipes,

Be EOE COREE! se vccsvccsceses

Wilko v. Swan,

oe et ee

Wright v. Univ. Maritime Serv. Corp.,

PP RP DP CMEEED ccccccsncsececes

Yellow Freight Sys., Inc. v. Donnelly,

494 U.S. 820 (1990) ...............

Zavala v. Scott Bros. Datry, Inc.,

49 Cal. Rptr. 3d 503 (Ct. App. 2006)

Page

xi

Cited Authorities

Page

STATUTES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

PEED ahs Cenddesesceevwesesd socesesates 1

ED. Sev chudeenesccdescdestvdsescusnns 7

9 U.S.C. § 4 eat iebeeueeseknusaueusseuses 7

—, & Serer ee l

EEE Shnectenckktsntsectssaccannes 1

EE nnws bneccecbsses bevseuceds 17

SPIE wabeebensdcuecenceeencesenees 12

N.Y.C. Admin. Code § 8-107 .................. 7

Fs ED pct veni.c st tb cvnctsessues 7

Civil Rights Act of 1991,

Pub. L. 102-166, 105 Stat. 1071 ............. 17

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit is reported at 498 F.3d 88 (2d Cir.

2007). App. lz... The Second Circuit affirmed the decision

of the United States District Court for the Southern

District of New York, which is reported at 04 Civ. 7536,

2006 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 35952 (S.D.N.Y. June 1, 2006).

App. 13a. The District Court explained its reasoning in

its prior decision in Granados v. Harvard Maintenance,

Inc:, which is reported at No. 05 Civ. 5489 (NRB), 2006

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6918 (S.D.N.Y. Feb. 22, 2006).

App. 23a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on August 1, 2007. App. la. The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the application of the Federal

Arbitration Act (“AA”), 9 U.S.C. § 1, et seq.

Respondents filed this action pursuant to the Age

Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (“ADEA”),

29 U.S.C. §§ 621, et seg. The pertinent provisions of each

statute are reproduced at 49a-5la and 52a-66a.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case presents an issue of exceptional

importance to organized labor, management, and union

members: whether, to achieve all the mutual benefits that

arbitration offers over litigation, a union can agree with

an employer to the arbitration of its members’ claims

under the ADEA and other statutes. This Court has

previously acknowledged that this question is undecided

under its precedents. See Wright v. Universal Maritime

Serv. Corp., 525 U.S. 70, 82 (1998).

In the decision below, the Second Circuit held that

no union-negotiated arbitration agreement — no matter

how clear and explicit —- is ever enforceable. The Fourth

Circuit, how~->r, has long held precisely the opposite,

routinely enforcing such clear and unmistakable

agreements. This conflict in the circuits — and between

state courts and federal courts - necessitates the

intervention of this Court to resolve the question.

A. Factual Background

1. For many decades, Local 32BJ of the Service

Employees International Union (“Local 32BJ” or the

“Union”), which represcnts over 85,000 employees

nationwide in the building services industry, and the

Realty Advisory Board on Labor Relations, Inc. (the

“RAB”), the New York City real estate industry’s multi-

employer bargaining association, have engaged in

industry-wide collective bargaining. Over this period, the

parties have agreed to, and continually have revised,

their Collective Bargaining Agreement for Contractors

(the “CBA”). Among other provisions, the CBA prohibits

3

discrimination in employment — an important goal for

labor, management, and employees in the “melting pot”

of the New York City labor market.

Beginning in 1999, the parties agreed to a CBA

provision that expressly requires employees to submit

any claims of employment discrimination, including

claims of age discrimination arising under federal, state,

and city law, to binding arbitration under the CBA’s

grievance and dispute resolution procedures.

The provision states:

There shall be no discrimination against any

present or future employee by reason of race,

creed, color, age, disability, national origin, sex,

union membership, or any characteristic

protected by law, including, but not limited to,

claims made pursuant to Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act, the Americans with Disabilities

Act, the Age Discrimination in Employment

Act, the New York State Human Rights Law,

the New York City Human Rights Code, ...

or any other similar laws, rules or regulations.

All such claims shall be subject to the

grievance and arbitration procedure (Articles

V and V1) as the sole and exclusive remedy

for violations. Arbitrators shall apply

appropriate law in rendering decisions based

upon claims of discrimination.

App. 48a.'

' In addition to the CBA, the RAB negotiates and

administers several other collective bargaining agreements with

Local 32BJ and other unions, covering approximately 65,000

(Cont'd)

4

The bargaining parties specifically crafted this

language to track this Court’s requirement, set forth in

Wright, that any waiver of rights to adjudicate statutory

claims be “clear and unmistakable.” It is undisputed that

the CBA’s waiver is clear and unmistakable in its

language and intent. App. 6a, 21a, 37a-38a.

2. This arbitration provision was heavily negotiated

by Local 32BJ and the RAB. As part of the bargaining

leading to this clause, the Union gained sizable wage and

benefit enhancements, as well as other favorable

provisions. Furthermore, the arbitration provision itself

was advantageous to the Union and its members.

Without it, many of the Union-represented building

service workers would be compelled to become pro se

federal court plaintiffs to bring their discrimination

claims. This would be a daunting task for any individual,

but especially for the large percentage of immigrant

building service workers for whom English is their

second language. Similarly, those employees with the

means to retain an attorney would be required to pay

fees or a percentage of any award.

In contrast, under the arbitration provision, these

same employees receive a skilled attorney from the

Union at no cost to them, and are not required to pay

any administrative fees (7.e., arbitrator or forum fees),

(Cont'd)

employees and approximately 4,000 commercial and residential]

buildings in the New York City area. Those agreements contain

arbitration provisions that are virtually identical to the provision

at issue here and similarly require the arbitration of statutory

discrimination claims.

5

which are instead shared equally by the RAB and the

Union. If, for some reason, the employee would prefer

to retain private counsel, the Union permits the

employee to pursue the discrimination claims in the

arbitral forum with his or her attorney. App. 42a.

Arbitration of discrimination disputes is also

appealing to both Local 32BJ and New York City’s real

estate employers because it minimizes duplication of

efforts, and resolves disputes quickly, inexpensively,

fairly, and effectively. Most, if not all, discrimination

claims arise out of the same facts and circumstances as

contractual grievances alleging CBA violations.

For example, an employee asserting a claim of a

discharge without just cause (a contractua)] claim) can

also assert a claim of discriminatory discharge (a

statutory claim). Consolidating the process allows one

fact finder —- an employment attorney serving as

arbitrator — to consider the facts and circumstances that

encompass both claims, and make both determinations.

The ability to consolidate the actions results in economies

of scale for all parties involved, and ensures consistent

rulings on the related issues, while providing employees

and employers with the full scope of remedies and

defenses available under the anti-discrimination laws.

3. Respondents are employees and former

employees of Temco Service Industries, Inc. (“Temco”),

a building service and cleaning contractor. Prior to

August 2003, they worked as night watchmen/porters in

14 Penn Plaza LLC’s (the “Company”) commercial office

building located at 225 West 34th Street in New York

City. They are all members of Local 32BJ, covered under

the CBA with the RAB.

6

In or about August 2003, in an effort to improve

building security in response to post-9/11 security

concerns, the Company engaged Spartan Security, a

unionized security services contractor, to provide

trained, licensed security guards to staff the front lobby

desk and the rear entrance of the building. As a result,

Temco’s services were no longer needed in these

locations. In compliance with the CBA, Temco reassigned

Respondents to equivalent duties in other locations in

the building. Respondents were unhappy with these

reassignments and alleged, among other things, that

they violated the CBA and were based on age

discrimination.

B. Proceedings Below

Local 32BJ filed a grievance about the

reassignments under the CBA’s dispute resolution

procedures, raising both contractual and statutory

claims. Prior to the arbitration hearing, the portion of

the grievance alleging age discrimination was

withdrawn. Respondents (accompanied by their private

attorney, in addition to Union-provided counsel) did not

raise their age discrimination claims at any time during

the arbitration proceedings. After a four-day hearing,

the arbitrator denied all their contractual claims in a 19-

page opinion.

Despite the fact that their personal attorney was

present for the entire arbitration hearing and could have

raised their age discrimination claims before the

arbitrator, Respondents instead filed a lawsuit in federal

court alleging that their transfers violated federal, state,

7

and city laws prohibiting age discrimination.* The

Company moved to dismiss Respondents’ lawsuit or,

alternatively, to compel arbitration of their claims

pursuant to Sections 3 and 4 of the FAA (9 U.S.C. §§ 3

and 4), based on the clear agreement to arbitrate such

claims contained in the CBA. The district court denied

the motion to compel arbitration based on its own recent

decision in another case, where it recognized that “the

Supreme Court has not spoken clearly on this issue,”

but held that it was “constrained” to follow the Second

Circuit’s precedents and judicially void the arbitration

provision. App. 39a n.7.

On appeal, the Second Circuit likewise acknowledged

that this Court’s precedents left unresolved the central

question. Indeed, as it noted, those precedents are

themselves in “tension,” and other circuits have reached

different conclusions. App. 6a n.3, 10a n.4. But it

considered itself bound by its earlier decision in Rogers

v. New York Univ., 220 F.3d 73 (2d Cir.) (per curiam),

cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1036 (2000), that held such

agreements unenforceable.

Rogers involved a collective bargaining agreement

that — unlike the CBA - did not clearly incorporate

statutory claims. The court found that it did not meet

Wright’s “clear and unmistakable” test, and was not

* Respondents filed these claims under the ADFA, the New

York State Human Rights Law, N.Y. Exec. Law § 290, et seq.,

and the New York City Administrative Code, N.Y.C. Admin. Code

§ 8-107. In a separate, related action, Respondents also alleged

a violation of the duty of fair representation against the Union,

inter alia, for failing to arbitrate the age discrimination claims,

but subsequently withdrew that action with prejudice.

8

enforceable for that reason. But Rogers went on to hold,

as an alternate ground, that even a clear arbitration

provision was not “always enforceable.” Jd. at 75. In

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 (1974),

another case in which the arbitration clause of the

collective bargaining agreement between a company and

a union did not cover statutory anti-discrimination

claims, this Court held that the clause could not preclude

later assertions of such claims in a judicial forum. From

Gardner-Denver’s narrow holding (which Rogers

recognized was narrowed further in later cases, see 220

F.3d at 75), Rogers inferred that any collective

bargaining agreement clause negotiated by a union could

not bar the employees’ right to a judicial forum — whether

the parties had deliberately negotiated such a waiver or

not.

Rogers acknowledged, as did the decision below, that

this blanket negation of any and all arbitration clauses

did not square with later Supreme Court precedents,

which “could be taken to suggest that, under certain

circumstances, a union negotiated waiver of an

employee's statutory right to a judicial forum might be

enforceable.” App. 9a-lla (quotations omitted). But

neither Second Circuit decision offered any account of

what those circumstances might be.

Indeed, it is clear that under the Second Circuit’s

holdings, there is no situation — however clear the

language in the collective bargaining agreement — that

would make such an arbitration agreement binding. Nor

did either decision take serious account of this Court’s

ruling in Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500

U.S. 20 (1991), which upheld an agreement to arbitrate

9

entered into by an individual employee, and

distinguished earlier cases that were not governed by

the FAA (as this one is), and where there was no “clear

and unmistakable” arbitration provision (as there is

here).

Rogers noted that the Fourth Circuit had rejected

its conclusion — acknowledging the conflict between the

circuits. See 220 F.3d at 75 (citing Austin v. Owens-

Brockway Glass Container, 78 F.3d 875, 880-86 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 519 U.S. 980 (1996)). The decision below

did the same, see App. 10a n.4, but adhered to its own

view that “nothing had changed” in the law since Rogers

was decided. /d. at lla.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This Conrt has recognized that there is an

unresolved conflict in its own jurisprudence concerning

the enforceability of union-negotiated arbitration

agreements. An older line of precedent beginning with

Gardner-Denver viewed arbitration unfavorably and

held that an arbitration proceeding cannot preclude the

assertion of statutory claims in a judicial forum. A more

recent line of precedent, typified by Gilmer, takes a far

more positive view of arbitration and holds that

arbitration provisions are enforceable so long as their

forum selection language is “clear and unmistakable.”

This uncertainty has generated a marked conflict in the

federal circuits, and between federal and state courts,

leading some to hold that union-negotiated arbitration

clauses are never enforceable, and others to hold that

they are enforceable if the waiver language is clear. That

conflict provides a powerful reason for this Court to

grant review.

10

The conflict also creates a host of public policy

concerns. First, neither employers nor unions are able

to know or predict whether their particular provision is

valid, making both the bargaining and administration of

multi-jurisdictional collective bargaining agreements

exceedingly difficult. Second, unionized employees

working in jurisdictions that do not enforce union-

negotiated arbitration clauses may be induced to sign

individual waivers as a condition of continued

employment — effectively removing unions from the

negotiation of an important term and condition of

employment. In sum, for effective employer and union

operations, for productive collective bargaining, and to

protect the rights of employees who are union members,

there must be a consistent rule of law for the entire

country — and that rule only can come from this Court.

I. THERE IS A FUNDAMENTAL CONFLICT IN

THE LOWER COURTS OVER THE ENFORCE-

ABILITY OF UNION-NEGOTIATED WAIVERS

OF A JUDICIAL FORUM.

There is a pressing need for this Court to clarify the

circumstances under which a union-negotiated

arbitration agreement may be enforced. Until now, Wiis

Court has expressly declined to answer that question.

As aresult, the lower federal and state courts have been

forced to rely on conflicting precedents, resulting in

diametrically opposite conclusions.

1]

A. This Court Has Acknowledged An “Obvious[ ]

... Tension” In Its Jurisprudence And Has Not

Resolved It.

The Second Circuit held that union-negotiated

arbitration agreements are not enforceable based on this

Court’s 1974 decision in Gardner-Denver. The issue,

Petitioners respectfully submit, cannot be so rotely

resolved — as this Court itself has acknowledged.

In Wright, the Court recognized that whether a

collective bargaining agreement can waive employees’

statutory rights to a judicial forum calls into question

“two lines” of its own cases that are “obviously [in] some

tension.” Wright, 525 U.S. at 76. Wright deferred

resolution of that question because it found the particular

language in the collective bargaining agreement there

too vague and unspecific to constitute a waiver of rights.

See id. at 77, 80. Since the instant CBA was specifically

drafted to track Wright’s “clear and unmistakable”

requirement, and the district court found that it was clear

and unmistakable, App. 2la, the issue is squarely

presented here.

According to Wright, the Gardner-Denver line of

cases concerns the preclusive effect of prior contractual

erbitrations on an employee’s right to litigate certain

related statutory claims. In Gardner-Denver, the Court

addressed the question of whether an employee whose

grievance had been arbitrated pursuant to a general

grievance and arbitration provision in a collective

bargaining agreement was subsequently barred from

instituting a Title VII court action. The Court held that

a general contractual grievance arbitration proceeding

12

does not bar a subsequent related Title VII federal court

action. In other words, a contract arbitration is not res

judicata to a Title VII litigation. The Court applied this

principle in later cases to permit similar post-arbitration

litigation under other statutes. See Barrentine v.

Arkansas-Best Freight Sys., Inc., 450 U.S. 728 (1981)

(Fair Labor Standards Act); McDonald v. West Branch,

466 U.S. 284 (1984) (42 U.S.C. § 1983).

Gardner-Denver dealt with a purely contractual

arbitration process, where the arbitrator sat only as “the

proctor of the bargain.” 415 U.S. at 53. The arbitrator

was not able to re'y on external law, and thereby was

foreclosed from adjudicating statutory employment

claims. The Gardner-Denver Court expressed the now-

rejected view that the arbitral fact-finding process is not

comparable to judicial fact-finding, and that the

“informal” nature of arbitrations rendered them

inappropriate for the resolution of Title VII claims.

Id. at 57-58 (citing Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. 427 (1953)).

But in the thirty years since, the Court has disavowed

this antiquated view of arbitral inferiority. See Rodriguez

de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S.

477 (1989); Gilmer, 500 U.S. 20 (1991).

According to Wright, the other relevant line of cases

involves individual agreements to arbitrate employment

disputes. In Gilmer, the Court required an individual

non-unionized plaintiff to arbitrate his claim under the

ADEA because he had signed a securities industry

registration agreement consenting to arbitrate any

claims arising out of his employment. /d. at 35. The Court

emphasized that “questions of arbitrability must be

addressed with a healthy regard for the federal policy

13

favoring arbitration.” Jd. at 26 (quoting Moses H. Cone

Mem’! Hosp. v. Mercury Constr., 60 U.S. 1 (1983)).

It held that arbitration of, and hence waiver of the right

to proceed in court with respect to, statutory

discrimination claims was not “inconsistent with the

statutory framework and purposes of the ADEA.”

Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 27. In so doing, it rejected old-

fashioned notions that arbitration suffers from tribunal

bias, insufficient discovery procedures, and inadequate

remedies. Specifically, the Court stated that “[w]e are

well past the time when judicial suspicion of the

desirability of arbitration and of the competence of

arbitral tribunals inhibited the development of

arbitration as an alternative means of dispute

resolution.” Jd. at 34.

In Wright itself, when this Court faced the question

whether union-negotiated waivers of employees’ rights

to a judicial forum are enforceable, it acknowledged that

Gardner-Denver and Gilmer are in tension — for Gilmer

allowed waivers of rights under anti-discrimination

statutes that Gardner-Denver had stated were

unwaivable by anyone. Wright, 525 U.S. at 76-77.

Moreover, the Court itself adverted to the change in its

own receptivity to arbitration, with Gilmer being a

prominent example. Jd. Nonetheless, the Wright Court

left this conflict unresolved, and decided the case before

it on a different, narrower ground. /d.

In the absence of further guidance from this Court,

the Second Circuit plainly erred in relying on Gardzer-

Denver rather than Gilmer. Gilmer drew three

distinctions between itself and the Gardner-Denver l\ine

14

of cases, all of which made it, not Gardner-Denver,

controlling here. First and foremost, in Gardner-Denver,

the union and the company could arbitrate only

contractual grievances, as they had no agreement to

arbitrate statutory claims. In fact, the arbitrator did not

even have the authority to resolve such claims, being

only a “proctor of the [collective bargaining agreement)].”

Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S. at 53. Thus, the only question

presented in that case (and its progeny) was whether

arbitration of the employee’s contract-based claims

would be held to preclude later statutory discrimination

actions arising out of the same facts. See Gilmer, 500

U.S. at 48. Under those circumstances, Gardner-Denver

correctly held that there was no preclusion.

Here, in stark contrast, there is an agreement that

expressly requires arbitration of any and all statutory

claims, and the legally-trained arbitrators are

empowered (and, indeed, obligated) to decide such claims

“applyling] appropriate law.” App. 48a. The question,

therefore, is one of enforceability of forum selection

clauses, not preclusion.

Second, Gilmer emphasized the fact that unlike

Gardner-Denver, it was decided under the FAA.

See Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 35. The FAA was enacted to place

arbitration agreements upon the same footing as other

commercial contacts. To that end, it provides for stays

of proceedings in federal courts when an issue is

referable to arbitration, zd. § 3, and for orders compelling

arbitration when one party has failed, neglected, or

refused to comply with an arbitration agreement,

id. § 4. In finding that the employee’s ADEA claims

should be compelled to arbitration, Gilmer cited to a

litany of decisions by this Court holding that by agreeing

15

to arbitrate a statutory claim, a party does not forgo any

substantive rights afforded by the statute. /d. This Court

has since further bolstered support for arbitration of

statutory discrimination claims in Circuit City Stores,

Inc. v. Adams, 532 U.S. 105 (2001), holding that

agreements to arbitrate employment disputes are fully

enforceable pursuant to the FAA. After Circuit City, it

is clear that clauses like the instant one are best treated

under the FAA, as the decision below understood.

Finally, as a third distinction between itself and

Gardner-Den»ver, Gilmer explained that since the

arbitration in Gardner-Denver arose in the context of a

collective bargaining agreement, where the claimant was

represented by his union, that case presented a “tension

between collective representation and individual

statutory rights.” Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 35. The decision

below echoed the same concern, that if “the Union

refused to submit the wrongful transfer claims to

arbitration because the Union had agreed to the new

contract, the interests of the Union and the interests of

[Respondents] are clearly in conflict.” App. lla n.5.

But the Second Circuit ignored a critical distinction

between the agreement at issue in Gardner-Denver and

the CBA: under the CBA, Respondents retained at all

times the right to bring their statutory claims to

arbitration on their own - without the need for Union

consent. App. 42a. Hence, Respondents enjoyed the same

access to the arbitration process as the non-union

employees in Gilmer, in which arbitration was upheld.

Moreover, in the thirty years since Gardner-Denver,

other judicial protections of the individual union member

16

have developed. First, an employee who believes the

union acted unfairly (in not processing, or improperly

handling, a discrimination claim) can bring a duty of fair

representation action against it. See Marquez v. Screen

Actors Guild, 525 U.S. 33, 44 (1998); Vaca v. Sipes, 386

U.S. 171, 190 (1967).* Similarly, in those relatively rare

cases where a union member may wish to challenge the

fairness of the arbitration process, courts are empowered

to determine whether the process was in fact fair, and

whether the decision was rendered by a neutral,

unbiased adjudicator. See Collins v. New York City

Transit Auth., 305 F.3d 113, 119 (2d Cir. 2002). Finally,

under existing law, an agreement to arbitrate statutory

discrimination claims by an employee does not waive an

employee’s right to file a charge of discrimination with

the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

(EEOC), and does not prohibit the EEOC from

commencing a lawsuit in response to the charge.

See EEOC v. Waffle House, Inc. , 534 U.S. 279 (2002).

In addition to disregarding these critical distinctions,

placing the instant case closer to Gilmer than to

Gardner-Denver, the Second Circuit simply failed to

appreciate that Gilmer and its progeny have undermined

Gardner-Denver’s precedential weight. One of Gardner-

Denver's animating reasons for opposing arbitration

agreements was its view that “there can be no

prospective waiver of an employee’s rights under Title

VII.” /d. at 51. Gilmer flatly rejected this principle,

holding that arbitration of (and hence waiver of a judicial

forum regarding) statutory discrimination claims was

not inconsistent with the framework and purposes of the

anti-discrimination laws. See Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 27.

* Indeed, Respondents brought such a claim here, but then

withdrew it. See note 2 supra.

17

In particular, the ADEA directs the EEOC to pursue

“informal methods of conciliation, conference, and

persuasion” in its enforcement procedures. 29 U.S.C.

§ 626(b). Congress’ grant of concurrent jurisdiction over

ADEA claims to state and federal courts also evidences

an objective of allowing multiple fora for resolving

disputes. Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 30. Finally, Congress has

never explicitly precluded arbitration of ADEA claims.‘

For all these reasons, arbitration of age discrimination

claims is not only permissible, but encouraged.

As to union-negotiated waivers in particular,

Gardner-Denver stated that a union cannot waive

individual employee rights, but only “certain statutory

rights related to collective activity,” 415 U.S. at 51. That

view was subsequently called into question by the Court’s

decision in Metropolitan Edison Co. v. NLRB, 460 U.S.

693, 706-07 (1983), which held that a union can waive an

individual employee’s right under the National Labor

Relations Act to be free of discrimination based on union

activity. The Court decided that as long as the union-

negotiated waiver is “clear and unmistakable,” it would

be enforced. Not coincidentally, this is the same standard

the Wright Court used to evaluate union-negotiated

arbitration agreements.

‘ Indeed, in further support of arbitration, Congress passed

the Civil Rights Act of 199' which provided that “the use of

alternative dispute resolution, including ... arbitration, is

encouraged to resolve disputes arising under [Title VII and the

ADEA\|.” Pub. L. 102-166, § 118, 105 Stat. 1071, 1081 (reprinted

in notes to 42 U.S.C. § 1981). On its face, Section 118 evinces a

clear Congressional intent to encourage arbitration of ADEA

claims, not to preclude such arbitration. See Seus v. John Nuveen

& Co., 146 F.3d 175, 182 (3d Cir. 1998); Matthews v. Rollins Hudig

Hall Co., 72 F.3d 50, 54 n.4 (7th Cir. 1995).

18

At a more fundamental level, decisions after

Gardner-Denver rejected its idea that the right te a

judicial forum was a substantive right. As Gilmer held,

“by agreeing to arbitrate a statutory claim, a party does

not forgo the substantive rights afforded by the statute;

it only submits to their resolution in an arbitral, rather

than a judicial forum.” Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26. For that

reason, and the others expressed above, much of the

underlying motivation for Gardner-Denver’s hostility to

arbitration has simply faded away as the law has evolved

over the last thirty years.

B. The Lower Federal Courts are in

Irreconcilable and Acknowledged Conflict.

The decision below directly and irreconcilably

conflicts with the Fourth Circuit’s rulings that union-

negotiated arbitration agreements are enforceable. The

Fourth Circuit has been steadfast in its position, both

pre- and post-Wright, applying the rationale of Gilmer

rather than Gardner-Denver to collective bargaining

agreements. The ;sidance and drafting instructions

detailed in its decisions have become a primer for labor-

relations practice throughout the country.

Even before Wright, the Fourth Circuit definitively

ruled that union-negotiated waivers of an individual’s

right to proceed in a judicial forum for statutory

discrimination claims are enforceable. In Austin v.

Owens-Brockway Glass Container, Inc. , 78 F.3d 875 (4th

Cir.), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 980 (1996), the Fourth Circuit

determined that Gardner-Denver could not survive

Gilmer. Reasoning that Gilmer “recognized that

19

arbitration of a statutory claim is not equal to giving up

any right under a statute, [but] simply another forum in

which to resolve the dispute,” id., the Fourth Circuit held

that Gilmer had rejected the principal basis of Gardner-

Denver, that “arbitration is an inappropriate forum for

the resolution of [anti-discrimination] statutory [rights].

...” Id. Following Gilmer, Austin noted that there was

no evidence of a Congressional intent to prohibit

arbitration of these matters, and therefore no reason to

block enforcement of such an agreement. Jd. at 880-81.

The Fourth Circuit’s decision was grounded in the

recognition that the mechanism for resolving

employment disputes is a natural and appropriate

subject of collective bargaining, and one over which a

union — as the exclusive bargaining representative of its

membership — has “the right and duty” to negotiate.

As the court observed, the right to arbitrate is as much

a term and condition of employment as any other

protected by statute. Jd. at 885. Waivers of such rights

are effective because they rest on the premise of fair

representation through the union.

Accordingly, the Fourth Circuit drew no distinction

between the individual agreement to arbitrate upheld

in Gilmer and the union-negotiated arbitration

agreement at issue in Austin. The court held:

Whether the dispute arises under a contract

of employment growing out of securities

registration application, a simple employment

contract, or a collective bargaining agreement,

an agreement has yet been made to arbitrate

20

the dispute. So long as the agreement is

voluntary, it is valid, and we are of the opinion

it should be enforced.

Id. The Fourth Circuit thus rejected the precise grounds

on which the Second Circuit rested its decision. To the

Second Circuit, the identity of the party negotiating the

waiver is determinative of whether the waiver is valid.

Rogers, 220 F.3d at 75. To the contrary, Austin announced

a uniform policy — so long as the agreement to waive a

judicial forum was made voluntarily, in¢cividual

agreements and collectively-bargained agreemeuts are

equally valid. Austin, 78 F.3d at 885.

In later cases, the Fourth Circuit has fortified and

elaborated on its Austin holding, articulating the precise

circumstances under which union-negotiated arbitration

clauses are enforceable. In Carson v. Giant Food, Inc.,

175 F.3d 325, 331 (4th Cir. 1999) (Wilkinson, J.), cert.

denied, 540 U.S. 1074 (2000), the Fourth Circuit found

two ways to meet Wright’s “clear and unmistakable” test:

one, by drafting an explicit arbitration clause whereby

employees agree to submit to arbitration all federal

causes of action arising out of their employment; and

the other, by explicitly incorporating statutory anti-

discrimination requirements elsewhere in the contract.

This explicit drafting advice signals the court’s

continuing commitment to the enforcement of such

agreements. See, e.g., EF. Associated Coal Corp. v.

Massey, 373 F.3d 530, 533 (4th Cir. 2004) (“We have

consistently held that a union-negotiated CBA may waive

an employee’s statutory right to litigate his employment

discrimination claims in a judicial forum.”); Singletary

v. Enersys, Inc., 57 F. Appx. 161 (4th Cir. 2003);

21

Brown v. ABF Freight Sys., Inc., 183 F.3d 319, 321 (4th

Cir. 1999) (Luttig, J.).°

In its most recent decision on point, Aleman v.

Chugach Support Servs., Inc., 485 F.3d 206, 215 (4th Cir.

2007) (Wilkinson, J.), the Fourth Circuit went so far as

to describe the method of dispute resolution as a

“preeminent” term and condition of employment as to

which unions were entitled to strike bargains. /d. at 216.

It expressly rejected the idea that there was any

statutory basis or precedent for inventing a rule that

clear and unmistakable waivers require a “meeting of

the minds” between the employer and individual union

members. Indeed, it commented that to hold that

Congress had placed the resolution of civil rights claims

beyond the reach of arbitration “would be too much an

exercise in judicial implication” — an exercise that would

“change the nature of collective bargaining over

conditions of employment and ... read judicial

exceptions into the National Labor Relations Act.” /d.

at 216-217. See also Safrit v. Cone Mills Corp., 248 F.3d

306, 308-09 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 534 U.S. 995 (2001)

(“[A]n agreement to arbitrate statutory claims is part

of the natural tradeoff that a union must make in

exchange for other benefits. ... To redact one clause

from a CBA would in effect alter the agreement reached

during the often-difficult collective bargaining

process.”).

Despite the sea change in this Court’s jurisprudence

in the thirty years since Gardner-Denver, and the Fourth

Circuit’s insightful and practical holdings, most other

* The CBA clause at issue here incorporates both concepts

in evincing its clear and unmistakable waiver. App. 43a-48a.

22

circuits that have addressed the issue have aligned

themselves with the Second Circuit — albeit while

expressing uncertainty about the state of the law. See

Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int'l v. Northwest Airlines, Inc.,

211 F.3d 1312 (D.C. Cir.) (en banc) (per curiam),

reinstating 199 F.3d 477, 484 (D.C. Cir. 1999) (“Whatever

the Supreme Court said — or more precisely, refrained

from saying — in Wright, we do not understand the Court

in Gilmer to have overruled Gardner-Denver. We

therefore leave to the Court itself the prerogative of

overruling its own precedent (if it will); we apply the

law as it stands.’’), cert. denied, 121 S. Ct. 565 (2000);

Pryner v. Tractor Supply Co., 109 F.3d 354, 365 (7th Cir.)

(Posner, J.) (acknowledging a “circuit split” and stating

that “[o]n balance our case is closer to Alexander; but is

enough left of Alexander to compel a decision in favor of

plaintiff?”), cert. denied, 522 U.S. (1997); Bratten v. SSI

Servs., Inc., 185 F.3d 625 (6th Cir. 1999) (holding,

anomalously, that this Court’s decision in Wright

“implicitly overruled” the Fourth Circuit’s holding ir

Austin); Albertson’s Inc. v. United Food & Commercial

Workers Union, 157 F.3d 758 (9th Cir. 1998), cert. denied,

528 U.S. 809 (1999); Harrison v. ¥ddy Potash, Inc., 112

F.3d 1437, 1453-54 (10th Cir. 19$%) (following Gardner-

Denver); Brisentine v. Stone & Webster Eng’g Corp., 117

F.3d 519, 526 (11th Cir. 1997) (same).

The Third Circuit is a likely exception. In Martin v.

Dana Corp., 114 F.3d 421 (3d Cir. 1997), a divided panel

agreed with Austin that a union-negotiated arbitration

clause could supplant an individual worker’s right to a

judicial forum. The en banc court vacated that opinion

and referred the case back to the panel to determine

whether the plaintiff could arbitrate without the

23

assistance of the union. After determining that the

agreement in that case did not grant that right, the

original panel reversed its decision, ruling that the

collective bargaining agreement did not bar the

plaintiff’s suit. See Martin v. Dana Corp., 135 F.3d 765

(3d Cir. 1997), reported in full at 156 L.R.R.M. (BNA)

3137 (3d Cir. Dec. 16, 1997). Because the issue of the

claimant’s right to arbitrate without the consent of the

union was “the sole issue ... upon which [the] appeal

turn[ed],” id. at *2, it appears that the Third Circuit

would uphold the CBA here, as Local 32BJ union

members have the right to bring their own attorneys

into the arbitral forum. App. 42a.

In sum, the lower federal courts are in irreconcilable

conflict over whether a union-negotiated arbitration

clause may be enforceable. In addition to the sharp split

between the positions of the Second and Fourth Circuit,

other circuits have expressed deep-seated confusion

regarding the enforceability of these waivers. Even

courts that continue to apply Gardner-Denver do so while

questioning its continued viability. This Court’s review

is needed to resolve the conflict.

C. State Courts Are In Conflict With Federal

Courts.

The unsettled nature of the law has produced not

only a federal circuit split, but also a split between

several federal and state courts sitting in the same

geographic location. Since state courts have the authority

to decide federal discrimination claims, see Gilmer

(holding that concurrent jurisdiction exists in state and

federal courts to decide ADEA claims); Yellow Freight

24

Sys., Inc. v. Donnelly, 494 U.S. 820 (1990) (same for Title

VII claims), this conflict raises the specter that the law

could be applied in inconsistent ways — depending on

whether the claim was brought in federal or state court.

In reliance on this Court’s precedents, New York

State courts have held under the FAA that clear and

unmistakable union-negotiated agreements to arbitrate

statutory discrimination claims are enforceable.

See, e.g., Garcia v. Bellmarc Prop. Mgmt., 745 N.Y.S.2d

113 (App. Div. 2002) (enforcing an arbitration agreement

drafted by the same parties to this action and containing

waiver language identical to the CBA because “Gardner-

Denver ... was not decided under the FAA, and does

not reflect modern Federal policy favoring arbitration”)

(citing Gilmer); Sum v. Tishman Speyer Props., Inc.,

Docket No. 11079-2005 (Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co. Dec. 2, 2005);

Lewandowski v. Collins Bldg. Servs. Inc., Docket No.

104657/00 (Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co. Dec. 6, 2000). These holdings

place New York State courts in direct conflict with the

Second Circuit.

Similarly, the Ohio State courts are in conflict

with the Sixth Circuit. Compare Minnick v. City of

Middleburg Heights, No. 81728, 2003 Ohio App. LEXIS

4569 (Ohio Ct. App. Sept. 25, 2003) (holding, in

accordance with Wright, that clear and unmistakable

union-negotiated waivers of statutory claims are

enforceable), with Bratten, 185 F.3d 625. In California,

the state courts are in conflict with the Ninth Circuit.

Compare Zavala v. Scott Bros. Dairy, Inc., 49 Cai. Rptr.

3d 503, 511 n. 9 (Ct. App. 2006) (acknowledging that a

union may waive its members’ rights to a judicial forum

25

for employment discrimination claims pursuant to

Wright), with Albertson’s, 157 F.3d 758.

To have federal and state courts sitting in the same

locality apply the same law inconsistently undermines

uniformity and raises the specter of forum shopping.

These dangers reinforce the need for this Court’s review.

II. UNCERTAINTY ABOUT THE ENFORCE-

ABILITY OF ARBITRATION AGREEMENTS

CREATES SERIOUS POLICY CONCERNS.

A. The Adverse Effect on Employers, Unions, and

Unionized Employees.

Continued conflict regarding the enforceability of

union-negotiated arbitration agreements hampers the

day-to-day operations of businesses and labor

organizations. Many of this country’s industries, such

as the real estate and building services industry, operate

in more than one federal circuit. In particular, many of

the building service companies covered under the CBA

operate throughout the country, including in both New

York City (Second Circuit) and Virginia (Fourth Circuit).

These multi-circuit businesses must adhere to different

collective bargaining obligations and employee policies

in circuits whose rulings are in conflict.

Labor organizations are also compelled to alter

bargaining strategies and modify practices to administer

collective bargaining agreements across jurisdictions.

Following the lead of corporate America, unions are

26

consolidating. For example, New York City-based Local

32BJ now has jurisdiction for building service employees

all along the East Coast. Absent this Court establishing

a uniform position for all circuits to follow, the prospect

of devising a standard dispute resolution procedure for

an entire region is exceedingly remote.

Further, as many current collective bargaining

agreements cover employees located in more than one

judicial circuit, an absence of uniformity among the

circuits causes confusion within bargaining relationships.

For example, the CBA covers employees in New York

(Second Circuit) and New Jersey (Third Circuit). Absent

this Court’s guidance, the clause presently might be

enforceable with respect to employees working in the

latter but not the former, even though all these

employees are working for the same employer and are

represented by the same union.

Sound policy should support the ability of business

to apply consistent practices across federal judicial

circuits; the ability of labor organizations to advance

consistent goals across federal judicial circuits; and the

ability of labor and management to pursue mature

relationships, such as the one between Local 32BJ and

the RAB, whereby they can resolve employee disputes

without disruption.

27

B. The Adverse Effect on Labor-Management

Relations.

The Second Circuit’s decision could prove highly

detrimental to labor-management relations. In circuits

that do not enforce union-negotiated waivers, an

employer would seemingly be able to bypass the union

as the employees’ bargaining agent. Employers could

require unionized employees to sign individual

arbitration agreements as a condition of employment —

in the same manner that non-unionized employees can

be compelled to do under Gilmer and its progeny.

In particular, if a union cannot agree to an arbitration

clause relating to statutory discrimination claims, it is

well-established under labor law that such a term of

employment becomes a non-mandatory subject of

bargaining. See Air Line Pilots Ass'n, Int'l v. Northwest

Airlines, Inc., 199 F.3d 477, 485 (D.C. Cir. 1999) (“[A]

proposal to trade that which is not one’s to give cannot

be a mandatory subject of bargaining.”) (citing

Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen v. Akron & Barberton

Belt R.R. Co., 385 F.2d 581, 603 (D.C. Cir. 1967) (holding

proposal to bargain over effects of job terminations,

normally a mandatory subject, non-mandatory because

union “could not bargain away any part of the rights that

accrued to employees under the [arbitral] Award”));

see also NLRB v. Wooster Div. of Berg-Warner Corp.,

356 U.S. 342 (1958) (distinguishing between mandatory

and non-mandatory subjects of bargaining). As with all

non-mandatory subjects of bargaining, an employer

would be permitted to present the arbitration agreement

directly to its employees — bypassing the union. J.J. Case

Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 332 (1944). The employer,

28

therefore, may be able to require its employees to sign

the arbitration agreement in exchange for continued

employment. Gilmer, 500 U.S. 20.

Following the Second Circuit’s rule could strip

unionized employees of their leverage that is only

available through collective bargaining. An individual

agreement to arbitrate clearly would be lawful under

Gilmer, and the concept of bypassing the union to

implement such an agreement unilaterally already has

been approved by the District of Columbia Circuit in the

context of the Railway Labor Act. Air Line Pilots Ass’n,

Int'l, 199 F.3d at 486. Marginalizing the union would

prove highly destabilizing to labor-management

relations, and would in no way serve the ultimate ends

of the ADEA or other anti-discrimination statutes.

29

CONCLUSION

For all the aforementioned reasons, the petition for

a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES F. BERG PAuL SALVATORE*

HowAarRD ROTHSCHILD Mark D. Harris

REALTY ADvisORY BOARD ON Brian S. RAUCH

Labor RE.ATIons, INC. Tan C. SCHAEFER

292 Madison Avenue PROSKAUER Rose LLP

New York, NY 10017 1585 Broadway

(212) 889-4100 New York, NY 10036

Counsel for Petitioner (212) 969-3000

Temco Service Industries, Inc. Counsel for Petitioner

14 Penn Plaza LLC

* Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SECOND CIRCUIT DECIDED AUGUST 1, 2007

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND CIRCUIT

Docket Nos. 06-3047-CV(L), 06-3106-CV(CON )

Steven PYETT, Thomas O’Connell,

and Michael Phillips,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

V.

PENNSYLVANIA BUILDING COMPANY, 14 Penn

Plaza, LLC, and Temco Service Industries, Inc.,

Defendants-Appellants.

Argued: June 27, 2007.

Decided: Aug. 1, 2007.

Before CABRANES and RAGGI, Circuit Judges, and

KORMAN,' District Judge.

JOSE A. CABRANES, Circuit Judge.

1. The Ilonorable Edward R. Korman, of the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of New York, sitting by

designation.

2a

Appendix A

In this appeal, defendants challenge an order of the

United States District Court for the Southern District

of New York (Naomi Reice Buchwald, Judge ) denying

their motion to compel arbitration of plaintiffs’ age

discrimination claims in accordance with the collective

bargaining agreement between plaintiffs’ union and their

employer. Defendants argue that the District Court,

which relied on the Supreme Court’s decision in

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36, 94 S.Ct.

1011, 39 L.Ed.2d 147 (1974), and our Court’s decision in

Rogers v. New York University, 220 F.3d 73 (2d Cir.2000),

failed to take into account the Supreme Court’s decisions

in Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S.

20, 111 S.Ct. 1647, 114 L.Ed.2d 26 (1991), and Wright »v.

Universal Maritime Service Corp., 525 U.S. 70, 119 S.Ct.

391, 142 L.Ed.2d 361 (1998). We disagree, and reaffirm

our decision in Rogers that mandatory arbitration

clauses in collective bargaining agreements are

unenforceable to the extent they waive the rights of

covered workers to a judicial! forum for federal statutory

causes of action.

BACKGROUND

The following facts are not disputed by the parties.

Plaintiffs are employees of Temco Services

Industries (“Temco”), a building service and cleaning

contractor. Before August 2003, they worked as night

watchmen in a commercial office building owned by

Pennsylvania Building Company and 14 Penn Plaza LLC

(jointly, the “Company”). Since that time, they have been

3a

Appendix A

working as night porters and light duty cleaners in the

same building.

Plaintiffs are members of Local 32BJ of the Service

Employees International Union (“Union”), and they are

covered by the collective bargaining agreement (“CBA”)

between the Union and the Realty Advisory Board on

Labor Relations, Inc. (“RAB”), the multi-employer

bargaining association of the New York City real estate

industry. The CBA contains a mandatory arbitration

clause for discrimination claims, which provides as

follows:*

There shall be no discrimination against any

present or future employee by reason of race,

creed, color, age, disability, national origin, sex,

union membership, or any characteristic

protected by law, including, but not limited to,

claims made pursuant to Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act, the Americans with Disabilities

Act, the Age Discrimination in Employment

Act, the New York State Human Rights Law,

the New York City Human Rights Code, New

Jersey Law Against Discrimination, New

Jersey Conscientious Employee Protection

Act, Connecticut Fair Employer Practices Act,

or any other similar laws, rules or regulations.

All such claims shall be subject to the

grievance and arbitration procedure (Articles

2. From 1999 on, each CBA between the Union and the RAB

has included a mandatory arbitration clause for discrimination

claims.

4a

Appendix A

V and VI [of the CBA] ) as the sole and

exclusive remedy for violations. Arbitrators

shall apply appropriate law in rendering

decisions based upon claims of discrimination.

In or about August 2003, the Company engaged

Spartan Security, a security services contractor and

affiliate of Temco, to provide certain security personnel,

including night watchmen, for the building. Spartan

brought in new employees, and plaintiffs, who had been

employed as night watchmen, were reassigned to

different locations and less desirable positions as night

porters and light duty cleaners within the building.

Plaintiffs filed grievances with the Union under the

CBA. They claimed that, as the only building employees

over the age of 50, they were wrongfully transferred and

denied overtime in violation of various provisions of the

CBA, including the provision that prohibited

discrimination on the basis of age. Plaintiffs’ grievances

were submitted to arbitration before the Contract

Arbitrator, Ear] Pfeffer, who held hearings on eight

occasions between February 2, 2004 and March 7, 2005.

Shortly after arbitration began, the Union declined to

pursue plaintiffs’ claims of wrongful transfer and age

discrimination, electing to pursue only the claims

regarding denial of overtime on behalf of all plaintiffs

and wrongful denial of promotion on behalf of plaintiff

Pyett. According to plaintiffs, the Union’s counsel

explained to them that “since the Union had consented

to Spartan Security being brought into the building,”

the Union could not contest their replacement as night

Sa

Appendix A

watchmen by personnel of Spartan Security. On August

10, 2005, the Contract Arbitrator issued his Opinion and

Award, denying plaintiffs’ arbitrated claims in their

entirety.

On May 26, 2004, while the arbitration was ongoing,

but after the Union declined to submit the age

discrimination claims, plaintiffs filed charges of

discrimination with the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission (“EEOC”). The EEOC issued a Dismissal

and Notice of Rights on June 29, 2004 for plaintiffs

Phillips and O’Connell and on September 14, 2004 for

plaintiff Pyett. In each case, the EEOC determined that

its “review of the evidence . . . fail[ed] to indicate that a

violation ha[d] occurred,” and notified each plaintiff of

his right to sue. On September 23, 2004, plaintiffs

commenced this action against the Company and Temco

in the District Court, pursuing those claims that the

Union did not submit to arbitration. Plaintiffs alleged

that they had been transferred from their positions and

replaced by younger security officers in violation of the

Age Discrimination in Employment Act (“ADEA”),

29 U.S.C. § 621 et seq. , the New York State Human

Rights Law, N.Y. Exec. Law § 290 et seg. , and the New

York City Administrative code, N.Y.C. Admin. Code

§ 8-107.

Defendants moved for dismissal for failure to state

a claim upon which relief can be granted, pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6), and, in the alternative, to compel

arbitration, pursuant to 9 U.S.C. §§ 3 and 4. In an order

dated May 31, 2006, the District Court denied both

6a

Appendix A

motions. With respect to defendants’ motion to compel

arbitration, the District Court referred to its decision

in Granados v. Harvard Maintenance, Inc., No. 05 Civ.

5489, 2006 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6918 (S.D.N.Y. Feb. 22,

2006), where it “concluded based largely on binding

Second Circuit precedent that even a clear and

unmistakable union-negotiated waiver of a right to

litigate certain federal and state statutory claims in a

judicial forum is unenforceable.” Pyett v. Pennsylvania

Building Co., 04 Civ. 7536, 2006 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 35952,

*11 (S.D.N.Y. June 1, 2006). In Granados, the District

Court relied principally on our Court’s opinions in F'ayer

v. Town of Middlebury, 258 F.3d 117 (2d Cir.2001), and

Rogers.’ The District Court recognized the distinction

3. Gardner-Denver held that a collective bargaining

agreement could not waive covered workers’ rights to a judicial

forum for causes of action created by Congress-in that case, a

cause of action created by Title VII. See Gardner-Denver, 413

U.S. at 49-51. Gilmer held that an individual employee who had

agreed individually to waive his right to a federal forum could

be compelled to arbitrate a federal age discrimination claim. See

Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 33-35. In Wright, the Supreme Court held

that a collective bargaining agreement could not waive covered

employees’ “rights to a judicial forum for federal claims of

employment discrimination” absent a “clear and unmistakable

waiver” of those rights. /d. at 82. It declined to resolve the tension

between Gardner- Denver and Gilmer, however, instead deciding

that it would “not reach the question whether such a [clear and

unmistakable] waiver would be enforceable.” /d.

In Rogers, we applied Wright to hold that an arbitration

provision in a collective bargaining agreement could not waive

an employee’s right to assert local, state, and federal statutory

(Cont'd)

Ta

Appendix A

our Court has drawn between arbitration clauses in

individual contracts, which are governed by a line of

Supreme Court cases represented by Gilmer v.

Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 111 S.Ct.

1647, 114 L.Ed.2d 26 (1991), and arbitration clauses in

CBAs, which are governed by a line of Supreme Court

cases represented by Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co.,

415 U.S. 36, 94 S.Ct. 1011, 39 L.Ed.2d 147 (1974). See

Granados, 2006 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6918, at *11-14 (citing

Fayer, 258 F.3d at 122). The District Court, following

Rogers, held that union-negotiated waivers of statutory

rights in CBAs were unenforceable and denied

defendants’ motion to dismiss. /d. at *15-22. Pursuant

to 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(1)(A) and (B), defendants timely

appealed the District Court’s May 31, 2006 order denying

their motion to compel arbitration.

DISCUSSION

Defendants argue that Rogers left open the question

of whether an arbitration clause in a CBA that clearly

waives a covered worker’s right to a judicial forum with

respect to statutory claims is enforceable. They contend

that such waivers are enforceable under Gilmer, which,

they argue, overturned the holding in Gardner-Denver.

(Cont'd)

employment discrimination claims in federal court. See 220 F.3d

at 75-77. In Fayer, we held that, under Wright, a collective

bargaining agreement could not bar a covered employee from

pursuing a First Amendment claim in federal court because it

did not clearly and unmistakably waive the employee's right to

pursue the claim. See 258 F.3d at 123.

8a

Appendix A

While conceding that in Gilmer the Supreme Court dealt

only with contracts signed by individuals and not CBAs,

defendants claim, see Appellants’ Br. 12, that in Wright

the Supreme Court made clear its abandonment of

Gardner-Denver’s rule that a union may only “waive

certain statutory rights related to collective activity, such

as the right to strike,” Gardner-Denver, 415 US. at 51,

94 S.Ct. 1011. We disagree. Our Court in Rogers squarely

decided that a union-negotiated mandatory arbitration

agreement purporting to waive a covered worker’s right

to a federal forum with respect to statutory rights is

unenforceable. We took full account of both Gilmer and

Wright and concluded that the Supreme Court’s decision

in Gardner-Denver remains good law. Our conclusion in

Rogers was an alternative holding, not dicta, and

continues to bind our Court. In any event, none of the

cases relied upon by defendants persuades us that this

holding in Rogers was incorrect.

In Rogers, we considered two issues: whether a

mandatory arbitration clause in a CBA is enforceable

generally, and whether the language of the particular

clause at issue was a “clear and unmistakable waiver”

under Wright, 525 U.S. at 80, 119 S.Ct. 391. We held first

that Gardner-Denver still governed arbitration

provisions in CBAs, notwithstanding the Supreme

Court’s holding in Gilmer that an employee who agreed

to waive his individual right to a federal forum could be

compelled to arbitrate an age discrimination claim.

See Rogers, 220 F.3d at 75 (discussing Gilmer, 500 U.S.

at 23). Second, we held that the language of the waiver

at issue in that case was not “clear and unmistakable”

9a

Appendix A

under Wright. See id. at 77. We explained that Gardner-

Denver had not been overruled by Wright. Rogers, 220

F.3d at at 75 (“[W hile Wright may have called Gardner-

Denver into question, it did not overrule it.”); see also

Wright, 525 U.S. at 82, 119 S.Ct. 391 (“We do not reach

the question whether such a waiver [under a CBA] would

be enforceable.”).

Defendants focus on our comment in Hogers that

Wright “could be taken to suggest that, under certain

circumstances, a union negotiated waiver of an

employee’s statutory right to a judicial forum might be

enforceable.” Appellants’ Br. 13 (quoting Rogers, 220

F3d at 75). But they ignore our holding, in reliance on

Wright and Gardner- Denver, that arbitration provisions

contained in a CBA, which waive employees’ rights to a

federal forum with respect to statutory claims, are

unenforceable. Defendants argue that our statements

regarding the enforceability of arbitration provisions in

CBAs were dicta because we also concluded that the

clause at issue in Rogers was not “clear and

unmistakable.” This argument is without merit. We

explicitly stated in Rogers that “the rule in Gardner-

Denver was sufficient” to decide the case. Rogers, 220

F.3d at 75. An alternative conclusion in an earlier case

that is directly relevant to a later case is not dicta; it is

an entirely appropriate basis for a holding in the later

case. Our reliance on Gardner-Denver in Rogers was an

alternative holding; it was thus not dicta. See

MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo, 477

U.S. 340, 346 n. 4, 106 S.Ct. 2561, 91 L.Ed.2d 285 (1986)

(“(S}inece the Superior Court did not rest its holding on

10a

Appendix A

only one of its two stated reasons, it is appropriate to

treat them as alternative bases of decision [rather than

dicta].”); United States v. Fulks, 454 F.3d 410, 434-35

(4th Cir.2006) (stating that an alternative conclusion in

a prior case that bears directly on a subsequent case

cannot be dismissed as dicta).

None of the other Supreme Court cases on which

defendants rely casts doubt on our holding in Rogers.

For example, they draw our attention to Metropolitan

Edison Co. v. N.L.R.B., 460 U.S. 693, 103 S.Ct. 1467, 75

L.Ed.2d 387 (1983), and Circuit City Stores, Inc. v.

Adams, 532 U.S. 105, 121 S.Ct. 1302, 149 L.Ed.2d 234

(2001). Metropolitan Edison held that union officials may

be bound by union-negotiated agreements to enforce no-

strike agreements, and thus waive their right,

guaranteed by the National Labor Relations Act

§ 8(a)(3), 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(3), to be free of anti-union

discrimination. Metropolitan Edison, 460 U.S at 708.

However, rather than supporting the notion that

individual rights may be waived by CBAs, as defendants

claim, that holding is in line with the Supreme Court’s

observation in Gardner-Denver that unions “may waive

certain statutory rights related to collective activity,

such as the right to strike.” Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S.

at 51 (emphasis added). Circuit City addressed an

individual’s employment contract, rather than a CBA,

and therefore likewise does not address the issue before

us now.’

4. After Wright, our sister circuits have not stepped much

beyond Gardner-Denver's holding with regard to the

(Cont'd)

lla

Appendix A

In short, there is nothing that has changed in the

nine years since Wright or the seven years since Rogers

that compels us to reverse our ruling in Rogers that

arbitration provisions contained in a CBA, which purport

to waive employees’ rights to a federal forum with

respect to statutory claims, are unenforceable.°®

(Cont'd)

enforceability of arbitration provisions in CBAs. See, e.g., O’Brien

v. Town of Agawam, 350 F.3d 279, 285 (1st Cir.2003) (“The Wright

Court declined to resolve this tension [between enforceability of

mandatory arbitration clauses in individual contracts and those

in CBAs], holding that even assuming a CBA can waive an

employee’s right to a federal forum, any such waiver must at a

minimum be ‘clear and unmistakable.’ ”); Mitchell v. Chapman,

343 F.3d 811, 824 (6th Cir.2003) (“Assuming arguendo, that the

CBA mandates binding arbitration, it is well-established that the

CBA must contain a ‘clear and unmistakable waiver’ of Mitchell’s

[Family and Medical Leave Act] rights to foreclose his

entitlement to a judicial forum.”); Tice v. Am. Airlines, Inc., 288

F.3d 313, 317 (7th Cir.2002) (citing Gardner-Denver, but noting

the ambiguity in the CBA language); EEOC v. Ind. Bell Tel. Co.,

256 F.3d 516, 522 (7th Cir.2001) (holding that “a union cannot

surrender employees’ rights under Title VII”). But see E.

Associated Coal Corp. v. Massey, 373 F.3d 530, 533 (4th Cir.2004)

(“{A] union-negotiated CBA may waive an employee’s statutory

right to litigate his employment discrimination claims in a judicial

forum.”).

5. The case before us illustrates why the Supreme Court

may be reluctant to treat arbitration provisions in CBAs the same

as arbitration provisions in individual contracts. If, as plaintiffs

allege, the Union refused to submit the wrongful transfer claims

to arbitration because the Union had agreed to the new contract,

(Cont'd)

12a

Appendix A

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the order of the District

Court is affirmed.

(Cont'd)

the interests of the Union and the interests of plaintiffs are

clearly in conflict. See Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S. at 58 n. 19, 94

S.Ct. 1011 (“| T]he interests of the individual may be subordinated

to the collective interests of all employees in the bargaining

unit.”).

I3a

APPENDIX B — MEMORANDUM AND ORDER OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

FILED JUNE 1, 2006

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

No. 04 Civ. 7536 (NRB)

STEVEN PYETT, THOMAS O’CONNELL,

and MICHAEL PHILLIPS,

Plaintiffs,

- against -

PENNSYLVANIA BUILDING COMPANY,

14 PENN PLAZA LLC, and

TEMCO SERVICE INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

NAOMI REICE BUCHWALD

UNITED STATES DISTRIC? JUDGE

Steven Pyett, Thomas O’Connell, and Michael

Phillips (collectively, “plaintiffs”), all of whom are over

50 years of age, bring this action against Pennsylvania

Building Company (“PBC”), 14 Penn Plaza LLC

14a

Appendix B

(collectively, “the Company”), and Temco Service

Industries, Inc. (“Temco”) (collectively, “defendants”) for

age discrimination. Defendants now move to dismiss or

compel arbitration and for sanctions. For the reasons

set forth below, defendants’ motions are denied.

BACKGROUND!

Plaintiffs are or were longstanding employees in the

office building at 14 Penn Plaza, New York, New York

(the “building”), who allege that in 2003 they were

reassigned to less desirable positions because of their

age.” Plaintiffs’ Amended Complaint alleges that

defendants engaged in age discrimination, in violation

of the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967,

as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 621 et seq. (“ADEA”), the New

York State Human Rights Law, N.Y. Exec. Law § 290,

et seq. (McKinney 2005), and the New York City

Administrative Code, N.Y.C. Admin. Code § 8-107.

Employment History

Pyett began working at the building in or about 1970,

and since then he has been continuously employed there

1. The following facts are drawn from plaintiffs’ complaint

and, as is appropriate when considering a motion to dismiss under

Fed.R.Civ.P 12(b)(6), are assumed herein to be true.

2. Plaintiffs Pyett and Phillips are still employed at the

building, while O’Connell left employment in 2004. First

Amended Complaint (“Amended Complaint” or “Am. Compl.”)

V9 14, 18, 22.

15a

Appendix B

in various positions. Until his reassignment to work as a

night porter in 2003, he had worked since 1989 as a night

watchman. Am. Compl. 17 13, 14. O’Connell began

working at the building in or about 1969 and was

continuously employed there until he retired in 2004.

Id. at 117. O’Connell also worked in numerous positions,

and before his reassignment to work as a night porter

in 2003, he had been working as a night watchman

starting in 1992. /d. at 118. Phillips began working at

the building in or about 1995 and had worked as a night

starter until he was reassigned in 2003 to work as a light

duty cleaner.’ /d. at 1 35.

All three plaintiffs were and still are members of

Local 32B-32J Service Employees International Union

(“Local 32B-J”). Jd. at 19 15, 19, 22. In addition, plaintiffs

allege that at all relevant times, PBC and Temco were

and are parties to a collective bargaining agreement

(“CBA”) with Local 32B-J covering the terms and

conditions of plaintiffs’ employment. /d. at 1 27.

Plaintiffs allege that in or about 1982 defendant

Temco was engaged by defendant PBC to provide

maintenance and cleaning services at the building. /d.

at 123. At or about the same time, Pyett and O’Connell

were transferred from the payroll of PBC to that of

Temco. /d. at 1 24. Notwithstanding this payroll change,

plaintiffs allege that they continued to receive their work

3. We note that elsewhere, the Amended Complaint states

that Phillips is currently employed as a night porter. See id.

at 4 22.

l6a

Appendix B

assignments and were still supervised by PBC

employees, including the building owner. /d. at 1 25.

Plaintiffs assert that in or about August 2008,

Spartan Security’ was engaged by PBC to provide

security services at the building. /d. at 1 26. Shortly

before this date, on or about July 23, 2003, plaintiffs

Pyett and O’Connell were informed by PBC and Temco

that they were being reassigned as night porters, while

Phillips was told he would be reassigned as a light duty

cleaner. Jd. at 11 28, 32, 35. Plaintiffs allege that they

were reassigned to “substantially less desirable”

positions. /d. at 191 29, 36. In addition, Pyett and

O’Connell allege that their reassignments led to

“a substantial loss of income.” /d. at 1% 30, 33. In all three

cases, plaintiffs allege that their former positions were

given to Spartan employees who were much younger and

had much less seniority at the building than them. /d. at

1% 31, 34, 37.

Procedural History

In or about August 2003, plaintiffs filed grievances

against defendants under the CBA, alleging that: (i) they

had been reassigned to less desirable positions in

violation of provisions which prohibited age

discrimination; (ii) the Company violated seniority

4. Plaintiffs allege that Spartan is a company “engaged in

the business of providing building security services at various

buildings located in the City of New York, and a subsidiary,

department, related or affiliated company of the defendant

Temco.” 7d. at 4 11.

17a

Appendix B

policies when it failed to promote either Pyett or

O’Connell to the assistant mechanic position; and (iii)

the Company failed equitably to rotate overtime. /d. at

1 38; Def. Mem. at 4. While all these grievances were

initially submitted by Local 32B-J to arbitration, the

union subsequently withdrew plaintiffs’ age

discrimination claim from arbitration by letter dated

February 23, 2004, Am. Compl. 1% 39 and 40, and

proceeded with the remaining claims.

On or about August 21, 2004, plaintiffs filed an action

(No. 04 Civ. 6769(N RB)) in this Court against Local 32B-

J and defendants, alleging that Local 32B-J had

breached its duty of fair representation toward them by

withdrawing their age discrimination grievance from

arbitration. /d. at 7 41.

On or about May 18, 2004, plaintiffs jointly filed a

complaint of age discrimination against defendants with

the United States Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission (“EEOC”). /d. at 1 42. The EEOC

subsequently issued right to sue letters to plaintiffs, 2d.

at 111 44-46, and on November 1, 2004 plaintiffs filed the

Amended Complaint against defendants.°

On August 10, 2005, the arbitrator issued an Opinion

and Award which denied the remaining grievances of

Local 32B-J. See Plaintiffs’ Letter dated September 12,

2005 (“Sept. 12, 2005 Letter”). Following the arbitrator’s

decision, plaintiffs discontinued their action (No. 04 Civ.

5. Defendants answered the Amended Complaint in March

2005.

18a

Appendix B

6769(NRB)) against Local 32B-J and defendants.

However, plaintiffs maintain that their claims in the

instant action remain viable notwithstanding the

arbitrator’s decision. See Sept. 12, 2005 Letter.

Defendants subsequently filed their motion on

November 23, 2005.

DISCUSSION

I. Motion to Dismiss

In considering a motion to dismiss,® the Court must

accept as true all material factual allegations in the

complaint. Levy ex rel. Immunogen Inc. v. Southbrook

Int'l Invs., Ltd., 263 F.3d 10, 14 (2d Cir.2001). However,

“(cjonclusory allegations or legal conclusions

masquerading as factual conclusions will not suffice to

prevent a motion to dismiss.” Smith v. Local 819 I.B.T.

Pension Plan, 291 F.3d 236, 240 (2d Cir. 2002) (quoting

Gebhardt v. Allspect, Inc., 96 F.Supp.2d 331, 333

(S.D.N.Y. 2000)). A motion to dismiss may be granted

only where “it appears beyond doubt that the plaintiff

can prove no set of facts in support of his claim which

would entitle him to relief.” Still v. DeBuono, 101 F.3d

888, 891 (2d Cir. 1996) (quoting Conley v. Gibson, 355

U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957)).

—-——__ asi a —- —_—_—————— - -——

6. Because we do not rely on any material outside the

complaint in ruling on the motion, we decline to convert this

motion into one for summary judgment. See Friedl v. City of

New York, 210 F.3d 79, 83 (2d Cir. 2000).

19a

Appendix B

Defendants assert in their papers that we should

undertake the three-step burden shifting analysis

established in McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411

U.S. 792, 802-04 (1973), in deciding their motion to

dismiss. However, “(t]he prima facie case under

McDonnell Douglas ... is an evidentiary standard, not

a pleading requirement.” Swierkiewicz v. Sorema N.A.,

534 U.S. 506, 510, 122 S.Ct. 992, 997 (2002).’ Accordingly,

the Supreme Court has unanimously held that “an

employment discrimination complaint need not include

{specific facts establishing a prima facie case of

discrimination] and instead must contain only ‘a short

and plain statement of the claim showing that the pleader

is entitled to relief.” ’ Leibowitz v. Cornell University,

445 F.3d 586, 591 (2d Cir.2006) (quoting Swierkiewicz,

534 U.S. at 508) (brackets in original); see also Galvez v.

New York Mortgage Co., No. 05 Civ. 2365(DLC), 2005

WL 2124112, at *4 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 1, 2005)

(“[Defendant’s] insistence that [plaintiff] must state a

prima facie claim of race discrimination to survive a

motion to dismiss must be rejected in light of

Swierkiewicz.” ).

Therefore, our inquiry at this stage in the litigation

is limited to whether the Amended Complaint provides

defendants with fair notice of what the plaintiffs’ claims

are and the grounds upon which they rest.

See Swierkiewicz, 534 U.S. at 512. Under this “simplified

standard for pleading, ‘{[a] court may dismiss a complaint

only if it is clear that no relief could be granted under

7. Defense counsel subsequentiy acknowledged the

applicability of Swierkiewicz during oral argument.

20a

Appendix B

any set of facts that could be proved consistent with the

allegations.’” 7d. at 514 (quoting Hishon v. King &

Spalding, 467 U.S. 69, 73, 104 S.Ct. 2229 (1984)); see

Braphman-Bines v. New York City Police Dept., No. 03

Civ. 10207(/KMK), 2005 WL 22843, at *3 (S.D.N.Y. Jan.

3, 2005) (“Under Swierkiewicz, Rule 8 pleading is

extremely permissive.”) (quoting Wynder v. McMahon,

360 F.3d 73, 77 (2d Cir.2004)). “This simplified notice

pleading standard relies on liberal discovery rules and

summary judgment motions to define disputed facts and

issues and to dispose of unmeritorious claims.”

Swierkiewicz 534 U.S. at 512.

We find that plaintiffs have satisfied these lenient

standards, as they allege that plaintiffs were over the

age of 40, that they were reassigned to positions which

led to substantial losses in income,® and that their

replacements were both younger and had less seniority

at the building. Cf Vallone v. Banca Nazionale del

Lavoro, N.Y. Branch, No. 02 Civ. 6064( RCC), 02 Civ. 7102

(RCC), 2004 WL 2912887, at *3 (S.D.N.Y. Dec. 14, 2004).

Although plaintiffs clearly will need evidence supporting

these allegations to survive summary judgment, we

cannot say that they have failed to meet the notice

pleading standard required at this stage. Therefore,

defendants’ motion to dismiss is denied.

8. In the case of plaintiff Phillips, the Amended Complaint

alleges that he was assigned to a “substantially less desirable

position.” Am. Compl. 1 36.

2la

Appendix B

II. Motion to Compel Arbitration

Defendants alternatively move to compel arbitration

in this matter, arguing that plaintiffs are bound by the

terms of the CBA to arbitrate their claims. Plaintiffs

assert that they are not bound by these union-negotiated

terms and are free to litigate their claims before this

Court. We recently addressed this very issue in

Granados v. Harvard Maintenance, Inc., No. 05 Civ.

5489(NRB), 2006 WL 435731 (S.D.N-Y. Feb. 22, 2006).

There, we concluded based largely on binding Second

Circuit precedent that even a clear and unmistakable

union-negotiated waiver of a right to litigate certain

federal and state statutory claims in a judicial forum is

unenforceable. In light of our reasoning in that case,

defendants’ motion to compel arbitration is denied.

III. Motion for Sanctions

In light of these conclusions, imposition of sanctions

against plaintiffs would not be appropriate. Therefore,

defendants’ motion for sanctions is denied.

22a

Appendix B

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, defendants’ motion

to dismiss or compel arbitration is denied, and their

motion for sanctions is denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: New York, New York

May 31, 2006

23a

APPENDIX C — OPINION OF THE UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

FILED FEBRUARY 22, 2006

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

05 Civ. 5489 (NRB)

LUZ GRANADOS,

Plaintiff,

- against -

HARVARD MAINTENANCE, INC.,

Defendant.

February 22, 2006, Decided

February 22, 2006, Filed

JUDGES: NAOMI REICE BUCHWALD, UNITED

STATES DISTRICT JUDGE.

OPINION BY: NAOMI REICE BUCHWALD

OPINION

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

24a

Appendix C

NAOMI REICE BUCHWALD

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Plaintiff Luz Granados (“plaintiff” or “Granados”),

an office cleaner, has brought this action against her

current employer, Harvard Maintenance, Inc.

(“defendant” or “HMI”), which provides cleaning and

maintenance services to commercial properties. Plaintiff

alleges that defendant subjected her to disparate

treatment based on her race, age, national origin, and

gender and also retaliated against her in response to her

request for leave pursuant to the Family and Medical

Leave Act of 1993 (“FMLA”) as well as her complaints

of discrimination. Defendant now moves pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(1) & (6) to dismiss plaintiff’s

complaint. For the reasons set forth herein, defendant’s

motion is denied.

BACKGROUND’

Plaintiff is a 54 year old Hispanic woman who has

been employed as an office cleaner by HMI since 2002.

Compl. at 1 6. Plaintiff asserts claims under the FMLA;

the New York State Human Rights Law, N.Y. Exec. Law

§ 290, et seq. (McKinney 2005); and the New York City

Administrative Code, N.Y.C. Admin. Code § 8-107.

Plaintiff alleges that she has been subjected to a hostile

1. The following facts are drawn from plaintiff’s complaint

and, as is appropriate when considering a motion to dismiss under

Fed.R.Civ.P 12(b)(6), are assumed herein to be true.

25a

Appendix C

work environment and has suffered adverse employment

actions based on her race, age, national origin, and

gender. She also alleges that adverse actions were taken

against her for requesting leave pursuant to the FMLA

and in retaliation for her complaints of discrimination.

Id. at % 7.

I. Disparate Treatment and Harassment

Plaintiff alleges that since 2003 and continuing to

the present day, defendant has taken various actions

against her which it did not take against other, similarly

situated employees. Jd. at 1 8. Specifically, plaintiff

alleges that her male, Albanian supervisor, Al (last name

unknown), regularly used derogatory language in her

presence. On a monthly basis, Al referred to Hispanics

as “Spic.” On a weekly basis, he referred to plaintiff as

“dumb Hispanic.” Virtually every day, he referred to

plaintiff as an “old, weak woman” and referred to older

male employees as “old and weak.” On July 20, 2003, in

front of several other employees, Al allegedly called

plaintiff an “old Mexican woman” and a “clown” while

using plaintiff’s work cart to imitate an old woman. /d.

In addition, plaintiff asserts that during weekly

inspections, defendant regularly allows three to four

Albanian employees to work together to clean sites of

comparable size to those which it requires one Hispanic

employee to clean alone. Plaintiff and other Hispanic

employees allegedly are then reprimanded for failure

to do as good a job as the Albanians, even when this is

not the case. On July 10, 2003, plaintiff alleges that she

26a

Appendix C

alone was suspended without pay for failing to properly

clean her assigned area despite the fact that two

Albanian women were working on the same area with

her. Jd.

From 2003 until the present, plaintiff alleges that

defendant has forced her to vacuum nearly every day,

even though Albanian employees were not required to

do so. Plaintiff at one point allegedly produced a doctor’s

note stating that she should refrain from vacuuming

because it was causing damage to her hands.

Irregardless, defendant did not assign an Aibanian co-

worker assigned to the same work area to vacuum but

instead forced plaintiff to continue vacuuming. Jd.

Plaintiff alleges that on several occasions she

complained both to HMI management and to her union

that defendant subjected Hispanic employees to

disparate treatment. In response, she alleges that she

was told by management to “shut up and mind her own

business.” Plaintiff alleges that approximately twice a

month thereafter, defendant harassed her and

threatened her employment. /d. at 7 9.

Il. FMLA Leave Request

On August 26, 2003, plaintiff requested two weeks

of unpaid leave (which she alleges was the equivalent of

FMLA leave), as well as two weeks of accrued vacation

time in order to visit her terminally ill father in Colombia.

Despite the fact that plaintiff’s union delegate, Paul

Romero (“Romero”), had “approved [her] paperwork”

27a

Appendix C

defendant denied the request. Plaintiff alleges that

Romero told her the request was denied because she was

Hispanic rather than Albanian. Romero then advised

plaintiff to see Murat Mela (“Mela”), an Albanian who

was the Assistant Vice President of HMI. /d. at 1 10.

Plaintiff alleges that when she went to Mela’s office

accompanied by her husband, Mela allegedly told

plaintiff that she was a “troublemaker” and that she was

“now going to be on [Mela’s] troublemakers list.” He then

allegedly stated that he “[got] rid of [troublemakers]”

and that plaintiff should not complain to the union about

discrimination or FMLA leave because “all problems

remain in house and anybody who goes outside is a

troublemaker.” /d. at 9111.

III. Subsequent Events

On October 6, 2003 (presumably after she returned

from her visit to her father), Al allegedly told plaintiff

that she could not start her shift until she provided a

copy of her father’s death certificate to Mela. /d. at 112.

Plaintiff produced one the following day, but she was then

told that she would not be allowed to return to work until

she provided a notarized English translation of the death

certificate. Jd. at 4 13.

Plaintiff eventually was allowed to return to work

but then discovered that an Albanian woman had

replaced her while she was away. Plaintiff also learned

that the Albanian woman was allowed eight hours to

28a

Appendix C

complete the same job that plaintiff was required to

perform within 7.5 hours.’ /d. at 9 14.

In October 2003, during an inspection in which

plaintiff and an Albanian woman were both assigned the

same work area, Al reprimanded plaintiff because he

claimed the area was not clean. Plaintiff alleges that only

she was reprimanded, despite the fact that Al saw the

Albanian woman sitting in an office instead of working.

Plaintiff alleges that when she complained to Al about

this, he told the Albanian woman, “(t|his Spanish bitch

thinks she’s going to do what she wants. I’m going to

make her life miserable and if she says anything else I

have oraers from the office to get rid of her. I can get

rid of her for anything. She’s an old woman and a

troublemaker.” /d. at 4 15.

During the same month, Al again complained that

plaintiff’s work area was not properly cleaned. Plaintiff

allegedly explained to him that her Albanian coworker

refused to clean her portion of the assigned area.

Although Al saw that the Albanian woman was not

working, he told plaintiff to “mind her own business”

and said that the Albanian woman could “do whatever

she wants.” Al allegedly threatened to issue a written

reprimand to plaintiff if the floor was not cleaned when

he returned. /d. at 9 16.

2. Defendant allegedly compensates employees on an hourly

basis,:d at 714, but it is not clear whether the Albanian woman

was paid at the same rate as plaintiff.

~

29a

Appendix C

On March 11, 2005, plaintiff was suspended for three

days fer poor work performance. She alleges that when

giving her the suspension, Al stated to her, “I told you I

would get you. We are going to make an example out of

you. This is coming from the office. Those were my

orders.” Jd. aL 417. During the same month, Al allegedly

admitted to plaintiff that he had been ordered to make

her life miserable. /d. at 7 18.

On Apr* 12, 2005, plaintiff was suspended for one

week for failing to properly clean her worksite. However,

defendant failed to suspend plaintiff’s “similarly-

situated employees who were outside her protected

class.” In addition, Al allegedly stated to plaintiff that

“[yjou Hispanic people do not know how to clean.

My people are perfect.” Al also allegedly stated that if

plaintiff went to the union she would be fired. /d. at

1 19. On April 15, 2005, while plaintiff was still

serving her suspension, defendant suspended her again.

Id. at I 20.

On May 5, 2005, Al ordered plaintiff to lift heavy

trash bags. When she asked him to assign someone else

to assist her, he allegediy refused and threatened to “get

your Hispanic ass out of this building.” Fearful of losing

her job, plaintiff complied, subsequently injuring her

hand and foot as a result. /d. at 9 21.

Plaintiff alleges that as a result of her treatment,

she has suffered and continues to suffer a loss of

monetary and other benefits. She also alleges physical

and emotional damages. /d. at "23.

30a

Appendix C

IV. Collective Bargaining Agreement*

Throughout her employment with HMI, plaintiff has

been represented for purposes of collective bargaining

by Local 32B-32J, Service Employees International

Union (“Local 32B-32J” or the “Union”). A collective

bargaining agreement (“CBA” or “Agreement”) between

IiMI and Local 32B-32J is in place which governs wages,

hours, and other terms and conditions. The CBA directly

references and requires compliance with the FMLA.‘ In

addition, the CBA requires arbitration of disputes

“arising between the parties as to interpretation,

application or performance of any part of this Agreement

and such other issues as the parties are expressly

required to arbitrate ... under the terms of this

Agreement.” Affidavit of Perry S. Heidecker, Esq. dated

August 15, 2005 (“Heidecker Aff.”) Ex. A at 6. The CBA

also contains an anti-discrimination clause which states

that:

There shall be no discrimination against

any present or future employee by reason of

race, creed, color, age, disability, national

3. The facts in this section, though not included in the

complaint, are drawn from the contents of the CBA, of which we

appropriately take judicial notice. See Kramer v. Time Warner,

Inc., 937 F.2d 767, 773 (2d Cir. 1991).

4. The Agreement states that “[aJny Employer who is

required by law to comply with the provisions of the Family

Medical and Leave Act (FMLA) shall comply with the

requirements of said act.” Heidecker Aff. Ex. A at 36.

3la

Appendix C

origin, sex, sexual orientation, union

membership, or any characteristic protected

by law, including, but not limited to, claims

made pursuant to Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the

Age Discrimination in Employment Act, the

New York State Human Rights Law, the New

York City Human Rights Code, or any other

similar laws, rules or regulations. All such

claims shall be subject to the grievance and

arbitration procedure (Articles V and VI) as

the sole and exclusive remedy for violations.

Id. at 41 (emphasis added).

Defendant has moved to dismiss the complaint in its

entirety. For the reasons set forth below, defendant's

motion is denied.

DISCUSSION

In considering a motion to dismiss, the Court must

accept as true all material factual allegations in the

complaint. Levy ex rel. Immunogen Inc. v. Southbrook

Int'l Invs., Ltd., 263 F.3d 10, 14 (2d Cir. 2001). However,

“fejonclusory allegations or legal conclusions

masquerading as factual conclusions will not suffice to

prevent a motion to dismiss.” Smith v. Local 819 1. B.T:

Pension Plan, 291 F.3d 236, 240 (2d Cir. 2002) (quoting

Gebhardt v. Allspect, Inc., 96 F.Supp.2d 331, 333

(S.D.N.Y. 2000)). A motion to dismiss may be granted

only where “it appears beyond doubt that the plaintiff

32a

Appendix C

can prove no set of facts in support of his claim which

would entitle him to relief.” Still v. DeBuono, 101 F.3d

888, 891 (2d Cir.1996) (quoting Conley v. Gibsor.,, 355 U.S.

41, 45-46 (1957)).

I. Waiver of Rights Generally

Defendant argues that plaintiff’s complaint should

be dismissed because the union-negotiated CBA

designates arbitration as the sole and exclusive remedy

for any disputes involving the subject matter of

plaintiff’s claims. As detailed in numerous cases, see, e.g.,

Fayer v. Town of Middlebury, 258 F.3d 117, 121-22 (2d

Cir.2001), there has been some uncertainty about the

enforceability of such provisions in light of two different

lines of Supreme Court precedent. For purposes of this

discussion, we summarize them briefly below.

The first line of cases involves “the preclusive effect

of arbitrations conducted under collective bargaining

agreements on subsequent litigation arising out of the

same underlying facts.” /d. at 121. This line is

represented by Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415

U.S. 36, 49 (1974), in which the Court held that an

individual is not barred from bringing a Title VII action

even if, pursuant to a nondiscrimination clause of a

collective bargaining agreement, he previously

arbitrated a grievance involving the same conduct.

The second line of cases deals with “the

enforceability of individually executed predispute

arbitration agreements on federal statutory and

33a

Appendix C

constitutional claims.” Fayer, 258 F.3d at 122. This line

is represented by Gilmer wv. Interstate/Johnson Lane

Corp ., 500 U.S. 20, 27 (199!), in which the Court held

that a claim under the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA) could be subjected to

compulsory arbitration pursuant to an arbitration

agreement in a securities registration form, thus waiving

the plaintiff’s right to a federal judicial forum. There,

the Court stated that “[iJ]t is by now clear that statutory

claims may be the subject of an arbitration agreement,

enforceable pursuant to the FAA .” Gilmer, at 26.

Subsequently, in Wright v. Universal Maritime Svc.

Corp 525 U.S. 70, 72 (1998), the Supreme Court

considered “whether a general arbitration clause in

a{CBA] requires an employee to use the arbitration

procedure for an alleged violation of the Americans with

Disabilities Act of 1990(ADA).” Although the Court

ultimately concluded that the employee was not obliga’ed

to use the arbitration procedure, it did not explicitly

decide whether or not such a union-negotiated waiver of

the employee’s right to a judicia! forum was valid. /d. at

77 (“we find it unnecessary to resolve the question of

the validity of a union-negotiated waiver, since it is

apparent to us ... that no such waiver has occurred”).

Rather, it held that the waiver in question was not

sufficiently clear and unmistakable such that, even

assuming such waivers were enforceable, it would be

valid. Jd. at 80. In reaching its conclusion, the Court

acknowledged the tension between the two prior lines

of cases but did not resolve it.

34a

Appendix C

Absent more explicit guidance from the Supreme

Court, lower courts, including the Second Circuit, have

distinguished these two lines of cases by asserting that

the second line of cases “deal[s] not with arbitration

clauses in collective bargaining agreements but with

employees’ own agreements to arbitrate specified

disputes.” Frayer, 258 F.2d at 122; Rogers v. New York

University, 220 F.3d 73, 75 (2d Cir. 2000).

In addition, the Second Circuit has since considered

the enforceability of an arbitration provision in a union-

negotiated CBA. The Second Circuit concluded that the

provision was not enforceable against the plaintiff’s

claims under the ADA, the FMLA, and New York State

and City human rights laws. Rogers, 220 F:3d at 75 (“The

arbitration provision in the instant case, by which

employees purport to waive their right to a federal forum

with respect to statutory claims, is contained in a union-

negotiated CBA.... [SJuch provisions are not

enforceable.”). In reaching this conclusion, the Court

stated that “the Gardner-Denver rule is sufficient to

decide this case” and noted that “while Wright may have

called Gardner-Denver into question, it did not overrule

it.” Jd.

However, as an alternative rationale, it also affirmed

the district court’s conclusion that even if such provisions

were enforceable as a general matter, the alleged waiver

in that case was not sufficiently clear. /d. at 75-77. In

reaching this conclusion, the Court articulated a two-

step analysis of whether a waiver of statutorily conferred

rights in a CBA is clear and unmistakabie. Specifically,

35a

Appendix C

it held that a waiver in a CBA will be deemed sufficiently

clear and unmistakable if either of two conditions is met.

Id. at 76. “First, a waiver is sufficiently explicit if the

arbitration clause contains a provision whereby

employees specifically agree to submit all federal causes

of action arising out of their employment to arbitration.”

Id. “Second, a waiver may be sufficiently clear and

unmistakable when the CBA contains an explicit

incorporation of the statutory anti-discrimination

requirements in addition to a broad and general

arbitration clause.” /d.

Applying the two rationales of Rogers, we find that

the arbitration provision at issue here is not enforceable

as to any of plaintiff’s statutory claims.

A. FMLA Claim

Broadly, the Second Circuit has already held that a

union-negotiated arbitration clause in a CBA is

unenforceable. See Rogers, 220 F.3d at 75; F'ayer, 258 F.3d

at 123 n. 2 (“In this Circuit, we have reached the question

left open by Wright and held that an arbitration clause

in a union collective bargaining agreement is not

enforceable against an individual employee’s ADA and

Family and Medical Leave Act claims.”); see also Fowler

v. Transit Supervisors Org., 96 Civ. 6796 (JGK), 2000

WL 1726687, at *1 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 6, 2000) (noting that

Second Circuit has “expressly held that collective

bargaining agreement mandatory arbitration provisions

cannot bar union members from bringing federal claims

to court”). This binding precedent is sufficient to find

36a

Appendix C

that the arbitration clause in this case is unenforceable

against plaintiff’s FMLA claim. See Rogers, 220 F.3d at

75 (noting that “the Gardner-Denver rule is sufficient

to decide this case”); Beljakovic v. Melohn Props., Inc.,

04 Civ. 3694(RJH), 2005 WL 2709174, at *1 (S.D.N.Y. Oct.

17, 2005) (finding that language requiring arbitration was

“clear and unequivocal” but concluding that because

CBA was negotiated between plaintiff’s union and his

employer, the arbitration provision was unenforceable).

Moreover, even assuming such an arbitration clause

were enforceable, the provision in this case is not

sufficiently explicit to waive plaintiff’s right to assert

her claim under the FMLA in federal court. The

provision in relevant part states that it includes

claims made pursuant to Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act, the Americans with

Disabilities Act, the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act, the New York State Human

Rights Law, the New York City Human Rights

Code, or any other similar laws, rules or

regulations.

Heidecker Aff. Ex. A at 41 (emphasis added). Although

the provision references both federal and state statutory

rights, it does not specifically incorporate claims made

under the FMLA and also falls short of “a specific

agreement to submit all federal claims t~ arbitration.”®

Rogers, 220 F.3d at 76 (emphasis addea).

5. We do not consider the reference to “any other similar

laws, rules or regulations” to be sufficiently explicit to

(Cont'd)

37a

Appendix C

In addition, while the requirement in the CBA to

abide by the FMLA may “creat [e] a contractual right

that is coextensive with the federal statutory right,”

doing so does not necessarily “mak[{e] compliance with

the [federal statute] a contractual commitment that

would be subject to the arbitration clause.” Wright, 525

U.S. at 79, 81. In this case, the CBA’s FMLA compliance

provision and a separate provision for arbitration of

disputes “arising between the parties as to

interpretation, application or performance of any part

of this Agreement and such other issues as the parties

are expressly required to arbitrate ... under the terms

of this Agreement,” Heidecker Aff. Ex. A at 6, are

insufficient to constitute a clear waiver. See Rogers, 220

F.3d at 76 (noting that although the CBA expressly

provided for FMLA compliance and elsewhere contained

a general arbitration clause, it did not thereby make

compliance with the FMLA a contractual commitment

subject to arbitration). In light of the above, we find that

the arbitration provision is unenforceable against

plaintiff’s F MLA claim, and she is entitled to bring this

claim in federal court. Defendant’s motion as to

plaintiff’s FMLA claim therefore is denied.

B. State Statutory Claims

Because the Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”),

9 U.S.C. § 1 et seq., applies to this case, federal law

(Cont'd)

incorporate the FMLA. We also note that in light of the fact that

the drafters chose to specify certain federal claims, the exclusion

of the FMLA is especially significant.

38a

Appendix C

controls the analysis of whether the arbitration provision

is enforceable against plaintiff’s state statutory claims.°®

See Fletcher v. Kidder, Peabody & Co., 81 N.Y.2d 623,

631, 601 N.Y.S.2d 686, 689 (N.Y. 1993) (noting that “where

the FAA is applicable, it preempts State law on the

subject of the enforceability of arbitration clauses”).

In the case of plaintiff’s state statutory claims, the

waiver contained in the CBA is sufficiently clear. The

prevision explicitly states that “claims made pursuant

to... the New York State Human Rights Law/[ |[and]

the New York City Human Rights Code ... shall be

subject to the grievance and arbitration procedure

(Articles V and VI) as the sole and exclusive remedy for

violations.” Heidecker Aff. Ex. A at 41.

Therefore, we now confront an issue that many

courts before us have been able to avoid. That is, in

addressing plaintiff's state statutory claims, we must

answer the question of whether a clear and unmistakable

union-negotiated waiver is enforceable. As discussed

above, the Supreme Court has not spoken clearly on this

issue. However, we understand Rogers to hold that such

6. Neitler party disputes that the FAA applies to this case.

Because plaintiff “is an employee in a service industry which

affects commerce, and is not engaged in the transportation

industry” we agree. Rogers v. New York University, 98 Civ.

2089(WHP), 1999 WL 710777, at *2 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 10, 1999),

aff'd, 220 F:3d 73 (2d Cir. 2000); see Maryland Cas. Co. v. Realty

Advisory Bd. on Labor Relations, 107 F.3d 979, 982 (2d Cir.1997)

(“Since collective bargaining agreements are c.; tracts entailing

transactions in commerce, the bargaining agreement in the

instant case falls within the purview of the [FAA, ’).

all

39a

Appendix C

union-negotiated waivers are unenforceable under the

reasoning of Gardner-Denver. Therefore, in the absence

of more explicit guidance from the Supreme Court, and

in light of the Second Circuit’s holding in Rogers that

arbitration provisions contained in a union-negotiated

CBA are unenforceable against statutory claims

(including New York State and City human rights laws),

we apply the reasoning of Gardner-Denver and find that

such a waiver is unenforceable.’ See Rogers, 220 F.3d at

75 (“When the arbitration provision has been negotiated

by a union in a CBA, these courts have held that

Gardner-Denver applies. The Second Circuit is no

7. We decline to adopt the approach set forth in Fletcher, 81

N.Y.2d at 632, 601 N.Y.S.2d at 690 (applying approach of Gilmer

in case involving union-negotiated waiver because FAA applied

to agreement at issue), which was decided before the Supreme

Court’s decision in Wright. Rather, we agree with the majority

of courts applying Wright that the basis for the distinction

between Gardner-Denver and Gilmer was not so much whether

or not the FAA applied but the identity of the party negotiating

the waiver. See, e.g., Rogers, 220 F.3d at 75 (noting that “most

lower courts have focused on the party negotiating the waiver of

rights”).

While some state courts have found such provisions to be

enforceable against state statutory claims, see, e.g., Garcia v.

Bellmarc Property Mgmt., 295 A.D.2d 233, 745 N.Y.S.2d 13 (1st

Dep’t 2002); Torres v. Four Seasons Hotel of New York, 277

A.D.2d 23, 715 N.Y.S.2d 28 (1st Dep’t 2000), they did so based on

their interpretation of the Supreme Court’s holding in Wright.

Until the Supreme Court speaks more clearly on this issue,

however, we are constrained to adopt the Second Circuit’s holding

in Rogers.

40a

Appendix C

exception.”); Beljakovic, 2005 WL 2709174, at *3

(“Simply put, there is no compelling authority for the

proposition that Gilmer overruled Alexander, and until

the Supreme Court clarifies that it has, this Court will

apply the law as it stands.” (citations and quotations

omitted)); see also Fowler, 2000 WL 1726687, at *1 (“The

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, however, has

expressly held that collective bargaining agreement

mandatory arbitration provisions cannot bar union

members from bringing federal claims to court”).

Defendant’s motion to dismiss plaintiff’s state

statutory claims therefore is denied.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, defendant’s motion

to dismiss is denied. Counsel are directed to appear for

a conference on March 19, 2006 at 2:30pm.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: New York, New York

February 22, 2006

NAOMI REICE BUCHWALD

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

4la

APPENDIX D — AFFIDAVIT OF

LARRY ENGELSTEIN

DATED NOVEMBER 21, 2005

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

04 CIV. 07536 (N RB)

STEVEN PYETT, THOMAS O’CONNELL AND

MICHAEL PHILLIPS,

PLAINTIFFS,

V.

PENNSYLVANIA BUILDING COMPANY,

14 PENN PLAZA LLC, AND

TEMCO SERVICE INDUSTRIES, INC.

DEFENDANTS.

STATE OF NEW YORK _)

)

COUNTY OF NEW YORK )

ECF CASE

AFFIDAVIT OF

LARRY ENGELSTEIN

42a

Appendix D

LARRY ENGELSTEIN, ESQ., being duly sworn,

deposes and says:

1. I am currently employed as General Counsel] of

Local 32BJ, Service Employees International Union (the

“Union”). As such, I am familiar with the circumstances

of the arbitration before Arbitrator Pfeffer in the above

identified matter and make this affidavit upon

information directly known by me.

2. The Union withdrew any contractual grievance

related to Plaintiffs’ age discrimination claim before the

arbitration hearing concluded.

3. The Union consents to the use of the Office of the

Contract Arbitrator (OCA), created under the Collective

Bargaining Agreement between the Realty Advisory

Board of Labor Relations, Inc. and the Union, as the

forum for Plaintiffs’ private attorney to pursue Plaintiffs’

statutory age discrimination claims, as long as the

parties to this lawsuit, and not the Union, pay the costs

associated with the arbitration.

s/ Larry Engelstein

Larry Engelstein, Esq.

43a

APPENDIX E — EXCERPTS FROM THE

2005 CONTRACTORS AGREEMENT

2005

Contractors

AGREEMENT

BETWEEN

Service Employees

International Union

Local 32BJ AFL-CIO

AND

THE REALTY ADVISORY

BOARD ON LABOR

RELATIONS INC.

EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 1, 2004

TO DECEMBER 31, 2007

* * *

ARTICLE VI

Arbitration

1. There shall at all times be a Contract Arbitrator

to decide all differences arising between the parties as

to interpretation, application or performance of any part

of this Agreement and such other issues as the parties

are expressly required to arbitrate before him under the

terms of this Agreement.

44a

Appendix E

2. The fee of the Contract Arbitrator and all

reasonable expenses involved in his functions shall be

borne fifty percent (50%) by tne Employer and fifty

percent (50%) by the Union, except that in the event the

Employer is in violation of any obligation under the

provisions relating to the Health, Pension, Training,

Legal and/or SRSF Funds, wages, dues and initiation

fees, or any other violations involving damages, then the

Employer shall pay the full fee of the Contract Arbitrator

and all expenses in connection with the arbitration of

the dispute, including, but not limited to, counsel fees,

auditor’s fees, arbitration costs and fees and court costs,

plus a minimum of fifteen percent (15%) per annum on

all monies awarded by the Contract Arbitrator.

3. The Arbitrator shall initially schedule a hearing

after either party has served written notice upon the

other that the grievance procedure has not resulted in

an adjustment. The oath-taking and the period and the

requirements for service of notice in the form prescribed

by statute are hereby waived. The Arbitrator’s award

shall be made within thirty (30) days after the hearing

closes. If the Arbitrator shall fail to render his written

award within said thirty-day period, either party may

serve a written demand upon him that the award must

be made within ten (10) days after said demand. The

decision shall be rendered within such additional ten (10)

day period unless the parties consent to an extension in

writing or an illness of the Arbitrator delays such

decision. By mutual consent, the time of both the hearing

and decision may be extended in a particular case. In

the event of a willful default by either party in appearing

45a

Appendix E

before the Arbitrator, after due written notice shall have

been given to him, the Arbitrator is authorized to render

his award upon the testimony of the adversary party.

Due written notice means mailing, faxing,

telegraphing or hand delivery to the address of the

employer furnished to the Union by the RAB.

4. The procedure herein outlined in respect to

matters over which the Contract Arbitrator has

jurisdiction shall be the sole and exclusive method for

the determination of all such issues, and said Arbitrator

shall have the power to grant any remedy required to

correct a violation of this Agreement, including, but not

limited to, damages and mandatory orders, and said

Arbitrator shall have the further power in cases of willful

violations (violations reflective of a deliberate intent to

violate this Agreement) to award appropriate remedies,

including, but not limited to, damages, all costs and

expenses incurred by the Union in the processing of the

grievance and arbitration proceedings, and to issue

mandatory orders, the award of the Arbitrator being

final and binding upon the parties and the employee(s)

involved; provided, however, that nothing herein shall

be construed to forbid either of the parties from

resorting to court for relief from, or to enforce rights

under, any arbitration award.

5. If any proceeding to confirm an award, service

may be made by registered or certified mail within or

without the State of New York as the case may be.

46a

Appendix E

6. Should either party fail to abide by an arbitration

award within two (2) weeks after such award is sent by

registered or certified mail to the parties, either party

may, in its sole and absolute discretion, take any action

necessary to secure such award, including, but not

limited to, suits at law. Should either party bring such

Suit, it shall be entitled, if it succeeds, to receive from

the other party all expenses for counsel fees and court

costs.

7. Grievants attending grievances and arbitrations

during their regularly scheduled hours shall be paid

during such attendance. If a grievant requires any

employee of the building to be a witness at the hearing

and the Employer adjourns the hearing, the employee

witness shall be paid by the Employer for his regularly

scheduled hours during attendance at such hearing. This

provision shall] be limited to one employee witness.

No more than one adjournment per party shall be

granted by the Arbitrator without the consent of the

opposing party.

All Union claims are brought by the Union alone,

and no individual shall have the right to compromise or

settle any claim without the written permission of the

Union.

In the event that the Union appears at an arbitration

without the grievant, the Arbitrator shall conduct the

hearing provided it is not adjourned. The Arbitrator shall

decide the case based upon the evidence adduced at the

hearing.

47a

Appendix F.

There is presently an Office of the Contract

Arbitrator-Building Service Industry as contract

arbitrator for all disputes. It is agreed by the parties

hereto that the arbitrators serving such office shall also

serve as contract arbitrators under this Agreemert. The

arbitrators currently are:

John Anner, Stuart Bauchner, Noel Berman,

Nicholas Cooney, John Dorsey, Howard Edelman,

Robert Herzog, Theodore Lang, Marilyn Levine, Randi

Lowitt, Earl Pfeffer and Bernard Young.

Upon thirty (30) days written notice to each other,

either the Union or the RAB may terminate the services

of any Arbitrator on the panel. Successor or additional

Arbitrators shall be appointed by mutual agreement of

the Union and the RAB. In the event of the removal,

death or resignation of all of the Arbitrators, the

successors or temporary substitute shall be chosen by

the Union and the RAB. If the parties are unable to agree

on asuccessor, then the Chairman of the New York State

Employment Relations Board shall appoint a successor

after consultation with the parties.

The costs of the Office of the Contract Arbitrator

shall be shared equally in a manner determined by the

Union and the RAB.

48a

Appendix E

30. NO DISCRIMINATION

There shall be no discrimination against any present

or future employee by reason of race, creed, color, age,

disability, national origin, sex, union membership, or any

characteristic protected by law, including, but not limited

to, claims made pursuant to Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Age

Discrimination in Employment Act, the New York State

Human Rights Law, the New York City Human Rights

Code, New Jersey Law Against Discrimination, New

Jersey Conscientious Employee Protection Act,

Connecticut Fair Employer Practices Act, or any other

similar laws, rules or regulations. All such claims shall

be subject to the grievance and arbitration procedure

(Articles V and VI) as the sole and exclusive remedy for

violations. Arbitrators shall apply appropriate law in

rendering decisions based upon claims of discrimination.

* * ~ +

49a

APPENDIX F — 9 U.S.C. 88 3 & 4

9 U.S.C. § 3

§ 3. Stay of proceedings where issue therein referable

to arbitration

If any suit or proceeding be brought in any of

the courts of the United States upon any issue

referable to arbitration under an agreement

in writing for such arbitration, the court in

which such suit is pending, upon being

satisfied that the issue involved in such suit

or proceeding is referable to arbitration under

such an agreement, shall on application of one

of the parties stay the trial of the action until

such arbitration has been had in accordance

with the terms of the agreement, providing the

applicant for the stay is not in default in

proceeding with such arbitration.

50a

Appendix F

9U.S.C.§ 4

§ 4. Failure to arbitrate under agreement; petition to

United States court having jurisdiction for order to

compel arbitration; notice and service thereof; hearing

and determination

A party aggrieved by the alieged failure,

neglect, or refusal of another to arbitrate

under a written agreement for arbitration may

petition any United States district court

which, save for such agreement, would have

jurisdiction under Title 28 [28 USCS §§ 1

et seq.], in a civil action or in admiralty of the

subject matter of a suit arising out of the

controversy between the parties, for an order

directing that such arbitration proceed in the

manner provided for in such agreement. Five

days’ notice in writing of such application shal]

be served upon the party in default. Service

thereof shall be made in the manner provided

by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

[USCS Rules of Civil Procedure]. The court

shall hear the parties, and upon being satisfied

that the making of the agreement for

arbitration or the failure to comply therewith

is not in issue, the court shall make an order

directing the parties to proceed to arbitration

in accordance with the terms of the agreement.

The hearing and proceedings, under such

agreement, shall be within the district in which

the petition for an order directing such

Sla

Appendix F

arbitration is filed. If the making of the

arbitration agreement or the failure, neglect,

or refusal to perform the same be in issue, the

court shall proceed summarily to the trial

thereof. If no jury trial be demanded by the

party alleged to be in default, or if the matter

in dispute is within admiralty jurisdiction, the

court shall hear and determine such issue.

Where such an issue is raised, the party

alleged to be in default may, except in cases of

admiralty, on or before the return day of the

notice of application, demand a jury trial of

such issue, and upon such demand the court

shall make an order referring the issue or

issues to a jury in the manner provided by the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure [USCS Rules

of Civil Procedure], or may specially call a jury

for that purpose. If the jury find that no

agreement in writing for arbitration was made

or that there is no default in proceeding

thereunder, the proceeding shall be dismissed.

If the jury find that an agreement for

arbitration was made in writing and that there

is a default in proceeding thereunder, the court

shall make an order summarily directing the

parties to proceed with the arbitration in

accordance with the terms thereof.

52a

APPENDIX G — 29 U.S.C. $§ 621, 623(a), 626, 630

29 U.S.C. § 621

§ 621. Congressional statement of findings and purpose

(a) The Congress hereby finds and declares

that—

(1) in the face of rising productivity and

affluence, older workers find themselves

disadvantaged in their efforts to retain

employment, and especially to regain

employment when displaced from jobs;

(2) the setting of arbitrary age limits

regardless of potential for job performance

has become a common practice, and certain

otherwise desirable practices may work to

the disadvantage of older persons;

(3) the incidence of unemployment,

especially long-term unemployment with

resultant deterioration of skill, morale, and

employer acceptability is, relative to the

younger ages, high among older workers;

their numbers are great and growing; and

their employment problems grave;

(4) the existence in industries affecting

commerce, of arbitrary discrimination in

employment because of age, burdens

commerce and the free flow of goods in

commerce.

S3a

Appendix G

(b) It is therefore the purpose of this Act

[29 USCS §§ 621 et seq.;] to promote

employment of older persons based on their

ability rather than age; to prohibit arbitrary

age discrimination in employment; to help

employers and workers find ways of meeting

problems arising from the impact of age on

employment.

29 U.S.C. § 623

§ 623. Prohibition of age discrimination

(a) Employer practices. It shall be unlawful

for an employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to

discharge any individual or otherwise

discriminate against any individual with

respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment,

because of such individual’s age;

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his

employees im any way which would deprive

or tend to deprive any individual of

employment opportunities or otherwise

adversely affect his status as an employee,

because of such individual’s age; or

(3) to reduce the wage rate of any

employee in order to comply with this Act.

S4a

Appendix G

29 U.S.C. § 626

§ 626. Recordkeeping, investigation, and enforcement

(a) Attendance of witnesses; investigations,

inspections, records, and homework

regulations. The Secretary [Commission]

shall have the power to make investigations

and require the keeping of records necessary

or appropriate for the administration of this

Act in accordance with the powers and

procedures provided in sections 9 and 11 of

the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as

amended (29 U.S.C. 209 and 211).

(b) Enforcement; prohibition of age

discrimination under fair labor standards;

unpaid minimum wages and unpaid overtime

compensation; liquidated damages; judicial

relief; conciliation, conference, and persuasion.

The provisions of this Act shall be enforced in

accordance with the powers, remedies, and

procedures provided in sections 11(b), 16

(except for subsection (a) thereof), and 17 of

the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as

amended (29 U.S.C. 211(b), 216, 217), and

subsection (c) of this section. Any act

prohibited under section 4 of this Act

[29 USCS § 623] shall be deemed to be a

prohibited act under section 15 of the Fair

Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended

(29 U.S.C. 215). Amounts owing to a person

=

55a

Appendix G

as a result of a violation of this Act shall be

deemed to be unpaid minimum wages or

unpaid overtime compensation for purposes of

sections 16 and 17 of the Fair Labor Standards

Act of 1938, as amended (29 U.S.C. 216, 217):

Provided, That liquidated damages shall be

payable only in cases of willful violations of this

Act In any action brought to enforce this Act

the court shall have jurisdiction to grant such

lega! or equitable relief as may be appropriate

to effectuate the purposes of this Act,

including without limitation judgments

compelling employment, reinstatement or

promotion, or enforcing the liability for

amounts deemed to be unpaid minimum wages

or unpaid overtime compensation under this

section. Before instituting any action under

this section, the Secretary [Commission] shall

attempt to eliminate the discriminatory

practice or practices alleged, and to effect

voluntary compliance with the requirements

of this Act through informal methods of

conciliation, conference, and persuasion.

(ec) Civil actions; persons aggrieved;

jurisdiction; judicial relief; termination of

individual action upon commencement of

action by Secretary [Commission]; jury trial.

(1) Any person aggrieved may bring

a civil action in any court of competent

jurisdiction for such legal! or equitable

56a

Appendix G

relief as will effectuate the purposes of this

Act: Provided, That the right of any person

to bring such action shall terminate upon the

commencement of an action by the Secretary

[Commission] to enforce the right of such

employee under this Act.

(2) In an action brought under

paragraph (1), a person shall be entitled to a

trial by jury of any issue of fact in any such

action for recovery of amounts owing as a

result of a violation of this Act, regardless of

whether equitable relief is sought by any

party in such action.

(d) Filing of charge with Secretary

[Commission]; timeliness; conciliation,

conference, and persuasion. No civil action may

be commenced by an individual under this

section until 60 days after a charge alleging

unlawful discrimination has been filed with the

Secretary [Commission]. Such a charge shall be

filed—

(1) within 180 days after the alleged

unlawful practice occurred; or

(2) in a case to which section 14(b)

(29 USCS § 633(b)] applies, within 300 days

after the alleged unlawful practice occurred,

or within 30 days after receipt by the

individual of notice of termination of

proceedings under State law, whichever is

earlier.

57a

Appendix G

Upon receiving such a charge, the Secretary

[Commission] shall promptly notify all persons

named in such charge as prospective defendants

in the action and shall promptly seek to eliminate

any alleged unlawful practice by informal

methods of conciliation, conference, and

persuasion.

(e) Reliance on administrative rulings; notice of

dismissal or terminav.on; civil action after receipt

of notice. Section 10 of the Portal-to-Portal Act

of 1947 [29 USCS § 259] shall apply to actions

under this Act. If a charge filed with the

Commission under this Act is dismissed or the

proceedings of the Commission are otherwise

terminated by the Commission, the Commission

shall notify the person aggrieved. A civil action

may be brought under this section by a person

defined in section 1l(a) [29 USCS §$ 630(a)]

against the respondent named in the charge

within 90 days after the date of the receipt of

such notice.

(f) Waiver.

(1) An individual may not waive any

right or claim under this Act unless the

waiver is knowing and voluntary. Except as

provided in paragraph (2), a waiver may not

be considered knowing and voluntary unless

at a minimum—

(A) the waiver is part of an agreement

between the individual and the employer

58a

Appendix G

that is written in a manner calculated to be

understood by such individual, or by the

average individual eligible to participate;

(B) the waiver specifically refers to

rights or claims arising under this Act;

(C) the individual does not waive rights

or claims that may arise after the date the

waiver is executed;

(D) the individual waives rights or

claims only in exchange for consideration

in addition to anything of value to which the

individual already is entitled;

(E) the individual is advised in writing

to consult with an attorney prior to

executing the agreement;

(F) (i) the individual is given a period

of at least 21 days within which to consider

the agreement; or

(ii) if a waiver is requested in

connection with an exit incentive or other

employment termination program

offered to a group or class of employees,

the individual is given a period of at least

45 days within which to consider the

agreement;

(G) the agreement provides that for a

period of at least 7 days following the

59a

Appendix G

execution of such agreement, the individual

may revoke the agreement, and the

agreement shall not become effective or

enforceable until the revocation period has

expired;

(H) if a waiver is requested in

connection with an exit incentive or other

employment termination program offered

to a group or class of employees, the

employer (at the commencement of the

period specified in subparagraph (F))

informs the individual in writing in a

manner calculated to be understood by the

average individual eligible to participate, as

a

(i) any class, unit, or group of

individuals covered by such program, any

eligibility factors for such program, and

any time limits applicable to such

program; and

(ii) the job titles and ages of all

individuals eligible or selected for the

program, and the ages of all individuals

in the same job classification or

organizational unit who are not eligible

or selected for the program.

(2) A waiver in settlement of a

charge filed with the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission, or an action filed

60a

Appendix G

in court by the individual or the individual’s

representative, alleging age discrimination

of a kind prohibited under section 4 or 15

{29 USCS § 623 or 633a] may not be

considered knowing and voluntary unless at

a minimum—

(A) subparagraphs (A) through (E) of

paragraph (1) have been met; and

(B) the individual is given a

reasonable period of time within which to

consider the settlement agreement.

(3) In any dispute that may arise over

whether any of the requirements, conditions,

and circumstances set forth in subparagraph

(A), (B), (C), (D), CE), (F), (G), or (AH) of

paragraph (1), or subparagraph (A) or (B) of

paragraph (2), have been met, the party

asserting the validity of a waiver shall have

the burden of proving in a court of competent

jurisdiction that a waiver was knowing and

voluntary pursuant to paragraph (1) or (2).

(4) No waiver agreement may affect the

Commission’s rights and responsibilities to

enforce this Act. No waiver may be used to

justify interfering with the protected right

of an employee to file a charge or participate

in an investigation or proceeding conducted

by the Commission.

6la

Appendix G

29 U.S.C. § 630

§ 630. Definitions

For the purposes of this Act [29 USCS §§ 621 et seq.]—

(a) The term “person” means one or more

individuals, partnerships, associations, labor

organizations, corporations, business trusts,

legal representatives, or any organized groups

of persons.

(b) The term “employer” means a person

engaged in an industry affecting commerce who

has twenty or more employees for each working

day in each of twenty or more calendar weeks in

the current or preceding calendar year:

Provided, That prior to June 30, 1968, employers

having fewer than fifty employees shall not be

considered employers. The term also means

(1) any agent of such a person, and (2) a State or

political subdivision of a State and any agency

or instrumentality of a State or a political

subdivision of a State, and any interstate agency,

but such term does not include the United

States, or a corporation wholly owned by the

Government of the United States.

(c) The term “employment agency” means any

person regularly undertaking with or without

compensation to procure employees for an

employer and includes an agent of such a person;

but shall not include an agency of the United

States.

62a

Appendix G

(d) Theterm “labor organization” means a labor

organization engaged in an industry affecting

commerce, and any agent of such an

organization, and includes any organization

of any kind, any agency, or employee

representation committee, group, association, or

plan so engaged in which employees participate

and which exists for the purpose, in whole or in

part, of dealing with employers concerning

grievances, labor disputes, wages, rates of pay,

hours, or other terms or conditions of

employment, and any conference, general

committee, joint or system board, or joint council

so engaged which is subordinate to a national or

international labor organization.

(e) A labor organization shall be deemed to be

engaged in an industry affecting commerce if

(1) it maintains or operates a hiring hall or hiring

office which procures employees for an employer

or procures for employees opportunities to work

for an employer, or (2) the number of its

members (or, where it is a labor organization

composed of other labor organizations or their

representatives, if the aggregate number of the

members of such other labor organization) is

fifty or more prior to July 1, 1968, or twenty-

five or more on or after July 1, 1968, and such

labor organization—

(1) is the certified representative of

employees under the provisions of the

63a

Appendix G

National Labor Relations Act, as amended,

or the Railway Labor Act, as amended; or

(2) although not certified, is a national

or international labor organization or a local

labor organization recognized or acting as

the representative of employees of an

employer or employers engaged in an

industry affecting commerce; or

(3) has chartered a local labor

organization or subsidiary body which is

representing or actively seeking to

represent employees of employers within

the meaning of paragraph (1) or (2); or

(4) has been chartered by a labor

organization representing or actively

seeking to represent employees within the

meaning of paragraph (1) or (2) as the local

or subordinate body through which such

employees may enjoy membership or

become affiliated with such labor

organization; or

(5) is aconference, general committee,

joint or system board, or joint council

subordinate to a national or international

labor organization, which includes a labor

organization engaged in an industry

affecting commerce within the meaning of

any of the preceding paragraphs of this

subsection.

64a

Appendix G

(f) The term “employee” means an individual

employed by any employer except that the term

“employee” shall not include any person elected

to public office in any State or political

subdivision of any State by the qualified voters

thereof, or any person chosen by such officer to

be on such officer’s personal staff, or an

appointee on the policymaking level or-an

immediate adviser with respect to the exercise

of the constitutional or legal powers of the office.

The exemption set forth in the preceding

sentence siiall not include employees subject to

the civil service laws of a State government,

governmental agency, or political subdivision.

The term “employee” includes any individual

who is a citizen of the United States employed

by an employer in a workplace in a foreign

country.

(g) The term “commerce” means trade, traffic,

commerce, transportation, transmission, or

communication among the several States; or

between a State and any place outside thereof;

or within the District of Columbia, or a

possession of the United States; or between

points in the same State but through a point

outside thereof.

(h) The term “industry affecting commerce”

means any activity, business, or industry in

commerce or in which a labor dispute would

hinder or obstruct commerce or the free flow of

6Sa

Appendix G

commerce and includes any activity or industry

“affecting commerce” within the meaning of the

Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure

Act of 1959.

(i) The term “State” includes a State of the

United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto

Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa,

Guam, Wake Island, the Canal Zone, and Outer

Continental Shelf lands defined in the Outer

Continental Shelf Lands Act.

(j) The term “firefighter” means an employee,

the duties of whose position are primarily to

perform work directly connected with the

control and extinguishment of fires or the

maintenance and use of firefighting apparatus

and equipment, including an employee engaged

in this activity who is transferred to a

supervisory or administrative position.

(k) The term “law enforcement officer” means

an employee, the duties of whose position are

primarily the investigation, apprehension, or

detention of individuals suspected or convicted

of offenses against the criminal] laws of a State,

including an employee engaged in this activity

who is transferred to a supervisory or

administrative position. For the purpose of this

subsection, “detention” includes the duties of

employees assigned to guard individuals

incarcerated in any penal institution.

66a

Appendix G

(1) The term “compensation, terms, conditions,

or privileges of employment” encompasses all

employee benefits, including such benefits

provided pursuant to a bona fide employee

benefit plan.

OPPOSITION

BRIEF

FILED

JAN 1 6 2008

S| No. 07-581 one

RT, U.S.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

14 PENN PLAZA LLC and

TEMCO SERVICE INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Petitioners,

v.

STEVEN PYETT, THOMAS O’CONNELL,

and MICHAEL PHILLIPS,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UnitTepD STATES Court OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

—- ——

ee —

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JEFFREY L. KREISBERG

KREISBERG & MAITLAND, LLP

116 John Street, Suite 1120

New York, New York 10038

(212) 629-4970

Counsel for Respondents

, '

214490 cr

rN SS wor

bed ,

SiAt) 444 eM

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Court should grant the Petition herein

to resolve the question of whether Respondents’ union’s

third-party waiver of their right to sue in federal court

for violation of federal, state and city anti-discrimination

statutes, contained in the arbitration provision of the

collective bargaining agreement by which they were

covered, is enforceable, where the union did not submit

their age discrimination claims to arbitration?

l

INTRODUCTION

This is not the appropriate case for the Court to

determine whether a union negotiated waiver of its

members’ right to sue in federal court for alleged

violation of federal, state and city anti-discrimination

statutes, by requiring that such claims be submitted to

arbitration, is enforceable, since, in this case, the union,

after having initially submitted Respondents’ age

discrimination claims to arbitration, along with their

other contractual claims, withdrew the age

discrimination claims from arbitration. Then, after

Respondents filed their Federal lawsuit herein, the union

granted Respondents permission to litigate their age

discrimination claims before the same arbitrator who

heard their other contractual claims, but at their sole

cost and expense, and with their own attorney. Since

Respondents’ age discrimination claims were withdrawn

from arbitration by the union, the question of whether

Respondents are required to pursue those claims in

arbitration, rather than in a judicial forum, is not

properly raised and should not be considered by this

Cuurt.

Any determination by the Court of whether it should

go beyond its decision in Wright v. Universal Maritime

Service Corp., 525 U.S. 70 (1998), and hold that a clear

and unequivocal union negotiated waiver of an

employee’s rights to litigate federal statutory age

discrimination claims in a judicial forum contained in an

arbitration provision of a collective bargaining

agreement is enforceable against the covered employee,

should be made only in a case where the union has

actually submitted the discrimination claim for binding

arbitration under the clause, and not, as here, where the

2

claim was withdrawn from arbitration by the union prior

to decision by the arbitrator. The permission granted

by the union to Respondents, after they had already

commenced their federal court action, to pursue their

claims before the same arbitrator who heard their other

contractual claims, but at their own cost and expense,

and with their own privately retained counsel, merely

afforded Respondents an option as to whether to proceed

in court or before the arbitrator, but did not constitute

an exercise by the union of the collectively bargained

arbitration provision, thereby triggering the claimed

waiver contained therein. Under these circumstances,

the Court should deny the Petition and wait to resolve

the issue of the enforceability of a union negotiated

waiver contained in a mandatory arbitration provision

of a collective bargaining agreement for a case in which

arbitration has actually been invoked by the union to

resolve the discrimination claim.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondents, long term employees of Petitioners at

the Pennsylvania Building, known as 14 Penn Plaza, New

York, New York, on September 23, 2004, brought this

‘ claim under the Age Discrimination in Employment Act

of 1967, 29 U.S.C. § 621-634 (“ADEA”), the New York

State Human Rights Law, N.Y. Exec. Law § 290 et seg.,

and the New York City Administrative Code, N.Y.C.

Admin. Code § 8-107, alleging that they were

discriminated against in the terms and conditions of their

employment because of their age. Respondents alleged

that they were wrongfully replaced by much younger

workers, transferred to less desirable positions, and

suffered significant loss of income.

3

Petitioners moved in the district court to dismiss the

complaint for failure to state a claim, or in the alternative

to compel Respondents to litigate their age

discrimination claims under the arbitration provision of

the collective bargaining agreement between their union,

Local 32BJ Service Employees International Union, and

the Petitioners’ employer associations.

On May 31, 2006, the district court issued its

Memorandum and Order denying Petitioners’ motion to

dismiss or to compel arbitration. Petitioners then

appealed only the denial of their motion to compel

arbitration to the Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit.

On August 1, 2007, the court of appeals affirmed the

district court’s denial of Petitioners’ motion to compel

arbitration, holding that under its determination in

Rogers v. New York University, 220 F:3d 73 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 531 U.S. 1036 (2000), the union’s third-party

waiver of Respondents’ right to bring their claims for

age discrimination under the ADEA, state and city laws

in federal court, was unenforceable. Rogers relied upon

this Court’s decision in Alerander v. Gardner-Denver

Co., 415 U.S. 5° (1974), for its holding.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

Prior to commencing their federal! court action,

Respondents filed grievances with their union alleging

that their replacement by younger employees and

transfer to other positions violated several provisions of

the collective bargaining agreement, including the

provision which prohibited discrimination based upon

age. The union initially submitted all of Respondents’

grievances, including their claims of age discrimination,

4

to arbitration. However, shortly after the arbitration

hearing began, counsel for the union notified the

arbitrator and Respondents that their age discrimination

claims were withdrawn. Respondents’ remaining claims

proceeded to decision by the arbitrator, and were denied

by him.

After the union’s withdrawal of their age

discrimination claims from arbitration, Respondents

filed this action in the district court, alleging violation

by Petitioners of the ADEA, N.Y. Exec. Law and N.Y.C.

Admin. Code. In support of their motion in the district

court to compel arbitration, Petitioners submitted an

affidavit of Larry Engelstein, counsel for the union. The

affidavit confirmed that the union withdrew the

contractual grievance related to Respondents’ age

discrimination claims before the arbitration hearing

concluded. The affidavit also stated that

“(t]he Union consents to the use of the Office

of the Contract Arbitrator (OCA), created

under the Collective Bargaining Agreement

between the Realty Advisory Board of Labor

Relations, Inc. and the Union, as the forum

for Plaintiffs’ statutory age discrimination

claims, as long as the parties to this lawsuit,

ani not the Union, pay the costs associated

with the arbitration.”

Thus, it is clear that the union did not ultimately

submit Respondents’ age discrimination claims to

arbitration under the union negotiated arbitration

provision of the collective bargaining agreement. It is

only the union which is empowered to invoke the

arbitration provision of the collective bargaining

5

agreement, and it is only the submission of a dispute to

arbitration by the union which would trigger the

collective bargaining agreement waiver, even if the

waiver is found to be enforceable.

Since the union never submitted Respondents’ age

discrimination claims to arbitration, the union negotiated

collective bargaining agreement waiver of their right to

sue in court for alleged violations of the ADEA, state

and city anti-discrimination statutes, is clearly

unenforceable herein, and may not be relied upon by

Petitioners to preclude them from litigating their age

discrimination claims in a judicial forum.

Under these circumstances, this is not the

appropriate case in which to determine whether a union

negotiated waiver of its members’ right to sue under

federal anti-discrimination statutes contained in an

arditration provision of a collective bargaining

agreement is enforceable against them.

CONCLUSION

Petitioners have not demonstrated that it is

appropriate for this Court to grant the Petition.

Therefore, Respondents respectfully request that the

Petition be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

JEFFREY L. KREISBERG

KREISBERG & MaiTLanp, LLP

116 John Street, Suite 1120

New York, New York 10038

(212) 629-4970

Counsel for Respondents

No. 07-581

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United State

14 PENN PLAZA LLC and

TEMCO SERVICE INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Petitioners,

v.

STEVEN PYETT, THOMAS O’CONNELL,

and MICHAEL PHILLIPS,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED StaTES Court OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF

|

JAMES F: BERG PAUL SALVATORE*

HOWARD ROTHSCHILD Mark D. Harris

REALTY ADVISORY BOARD ON LaBoR BRIAN S.. Raucu

RELATIONS, INC. IAN C. SCHAEFER

292 Madison Avenue PROSKAUER Rose LLP

New York, NY 10017 1585 Broadway

(212) 889-4100 New York, NY 10036

Counsel for Petitioner (212) 969-3000

Temco Service Industries, Inc. Counsel for Petitioner

14 Penn Plaza LLC

* Counsel of Record

213739 g

COUNSEL PRESS

(800) 274.332. + (800) 359-6859

i

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Petitioners’ Corporate Disclosure Statement was set

forth at page 7 of its Petition for a Writ of Certiorari,

and there are no amendments to that Statement.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT . i

pe ge): rere ii

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ......... iil

EE nk cb chases cduseadanensicdclaens 1

I. It Is Undisputed That Whether Union-

Negotiated Arbitration Agreements Are

Enforceable Is A Critical Question. ..... 1

II. This Case Is An Excellent Vehicle To

Decide Whether A Union-Negotiated

Agreement To Arbitrate Statutory Claims

PE, ndaceuenceececeeens san ax 3

EE Sitvides Kcneddniesesanaeaewes 7

iil

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

\

CASES |

Aleman v. Chugach Support Servs., Inc.,

485 F.3d 206 (4th Cir. 2007) ................

Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp.,

ES db cae tudeenduchade+sans

Howsani v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc.,

ee ee PD hn ade waeKeshnustscseeve

Kravar v. Triangle Servs., Inc.,

509 F. Supp. 2d 407 (S.D.N.Y. 2007) ........

Manigault v. Macy’s East, LLC,

506 F. Supp. 2d 156 (E.D.N.Y. 2007) ........

Marquez v. Screen Actors Guild,

SP PED oS hhdbanecesesseccadeaves

Selmanovic v. NYSE Group, Inc.,

No. 06 Civ. 3046, 2007 U.S. Dist. LEXTS 94963

ive eeewne

Vaca v. Sipes,

8 ey 0, rr re

Page

hw

iv

Cited Authorities

Page

STATUTES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

or

sR | PPP COP TOT TYTTTerTe Teer

Transcribed Recording of Oral Argument

Before the Second Circuit,

Pyett v. Pa. Bldg. Co., 06-3047-cv(L),

ee 2

1

Nothing in Respondents’ brief challenges the

fundamental importance or the timeliness of the question

presented by this case: Whether unions may waive their

members’ rights to a federal forum for their statutory

discrimination claims in exchange for other benefits

offered by employers. Respondents’ only argument is

that they believe this is not an appropriate case to decide

that question, although their reasons are unclear. In fact,

none of Respondents’ arguments calls into question the

certworthiness of this case.

ARGUMENT

I. ItIs Undisputed That Whether Union-Negotiated

Arbitration Agreements Are Enforceable Is A

Critical Question.

Respondents do not dispute that whether union-

negotiated arbitration agreements are enforceable is a

fundamental and urgent question this Court should

resolve. They do not dispute that there is a deep and

irreconcilable split between the Circuits on this issue —

which has lasted for more then a decade — with the Fourth

Circuit repeatedly holding that such agreements are

enforceable so long as the waiver language is clear and

unmistakable, and the Second and some other Circuits

ruling that such agreements are never enforceable under

any circumstances. Respondents do not deny that there

is an unresolved tension in this Court’s own precedents

as this Court itself has recognized. And they do not

question that the conflict among the lower courts has

adversely affected labor relations among employers,

2

unions, and unionized employees, who currently must

bargain against a backdrop of uncertainty about the law.!

There is no reason to expect that the conflict will

diminish over time or that the issue will not recur. In

the short time since the Second Circuit’s decision below,

two district courts have blocked similar arbitration

agreements from taking effect. See Selmanovic v. NYSE

Group, Inc., No. 06 Civ. 3046, 2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

94963, at *24(S.D.N.Y. Dec. 20, 2007); Kravar v. Triangle

Servs., Inc., 509 F. Supp. 2d 407 (S.D.N.Y. 2007) (holding

that even pendent state-law discrimination claims that

would be arbitrable in the New York State courts may

not be the subject of a union-negotiated waiver of a

federal judicial forum); see also Manigault v. Macy’s

East, LLC, 506 F. Supp. 2d 156, 160 (E.D.N.Y. 2007)

(citing holding in decision below in non-collective

bargaining context). As these cases demonstrate, the

Second Circuit’s decision continues to disrupt the

legitimate expectations of parties to the collective

bargaining process. Only a ruling from this Court can

settle this matter.

—_——-—— — —_—_— —

' Indeed, at oral argument before the Second Circuit,

counsel for Respondents candidly remarked: “Whether or not

the table is or is not set for changing the law - it is only the

Supreme Court that can eat at that table.” Transcribed

Recording of Oral Argument Before the Seeond Circuit, Pyett v

Pa. Bidg. Co. , 06-3047-ev( L) (2d Cir. June 27, 2007).

3

II. This Case Is An Excellent Vehicle To Decide

Whether A Union-Negotiated Agreement To

Arbitrate Statutory Claims Is Enforceable.

Unable to deny that the legal question at stake is

critically important, Respondents instead claim that this

case is somehow not the right vehicle for resolving that

question because of its procedural history. In August

2003, Respondents filed their grievances with the Union

under the collective bargaining agreement (“CBA”),

alleging both statutory age discrimination and

contractual violations, which grievances were submitted

to arbitration. App. 4a. In February 2004, shortly after

arbitration began, the Union withdrew their age

discrimination claims. While the remaining claims were

still pending before the arbitrator, Respondents filed the

instant action in federal court alleging age

discrimination. The arbitrator denied all contractual

claims in August 2005. Jd. at 5a.

Based on this chronology, Respondents assert that

the mandatory arbitration requirement of the CBA was

not “triggered,” because at the time Respondents filed

their federal complaint, the Union had already

withdrawn their age discrimination claims. Although the

crux of their argument is far from clear, Respondents

seem to believe that the arbitration requirement is

optional — if the Union chooses not to arbitrate, then

its members are not bound by the provision. Thus,

Respondents argue that this case is not a good vehicle

for resolution of the ultimate legal question, because even

if the arbitration provision is enforceable, it did not apply

to them.

4

This argument is factually and logically flawed. First,

there is no basis whatsoever for Respondents’ ipse dixit

that the mandatory arbitration provision only applies

when the Union submits claims before the arbitrator.

As quoted in the Petition, the CBA states: “All such

claims (of discrimination under federal, state, and local

law] shall be subject to the grievance and arbitration

procedure ... as the sole and exclusive remedy for

violations.” App. 48a (emphasis supplied). There is no

reference in the CBA to any “trigger” before the right

to a judicial forum is waived, and Respondents do not

cite any contractual language in support of their bald

claim. Neither court below found that the Union must

submit grievances to arbitration before judicial claims

are foreclosed. Indeed, Respondents’ perverse reading

of the CBA would undermine the very purpose of having

an arbitration provision in the first place. If the effect of

the Union declining to arbitrate grievances is that the

employees may litigate in federal court, then a judicial

forum waiver has little value. Respondents’ argument,

untethered to case law or contractual language, would

fundamentally alter the “preeminent” term and condition

of their employment. Aleman v. Chugach Support Servs.,

Inc., 485 F.3d 206, 215 (4th Cir. 2007) (Wilkinson, J.).”

oe

* If Respondents felt the Union’s withdrawal of their

discrimination claims was somehow unfair, the proper course of

action was to file a Duty of Fair Representation claim against

the Union, not to disregard their obligations pursuant to the

arbitration provision. See Marquez v. Sereen Actors Guild, 525

U.S. 33, 44 (1998); Vaea v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 190 (1967). In

fact, Respondents did precisely that, only to later withdraw that

claim with prejudice. App. 17a-18a.

5

Second, the possibility that there is such a “trigger”

would not make this case any less certworthy. The upshot

of Respondents’ argument is that if this Court were to

find the arbitration provision enforceable, they would

still have a defense that the provision did not apply to

them. But a holding by this Court as to the enforceability

of such a provision would still be binding precedent for

all future cases. Ordinarily, the fact that another legal

defense exists at the trial level is not a reason to deny

certiorari, especially where the proceeding is under the

Federal Arbitration Act, which specifically contemplates

the immediate appeal of a denial of a motion to compel

arbitration, see 9 U.S.C. § 16(a)(1).

Respondents’ prudential argument is particularly

inappropriate in this context because the scope of an

enforceable arbitration agreement is a matter in the first

instance for the arbitrator, not for a court. That is,

questions of procedural arbitrability are not subject to

judicial review but instead are properly submitted to

an arbitrator as part of the grievance/arbitration

mechanism. As this Court has stated:

“tI]n the absence of an agreement to the

contrary, issues of substantive arbitrability . . .

are for a court to decide and issues of

procedural arbitrability, 7.e., whether

prerequisites such as time limits, notice,

laches, estoppel, and other conditions

precedent to an obligation to arbitrate have

been met, are for the arbitrators to decide.”

Howsam v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc., 537 U.S. 79, 85

(2002). Out of respect for the different roles played by

6

judicial actors and arbitrators, this Court should address

the important substantive arbitrability issue squarely

presented in the instant case without regard to any

arguments pertaining to procedural arbitrabilit; that

Respondents may make to an arbitrator in the course of

a later arbitration proceeding.

Contrary to Respondents’ suggestion, the

circumstances of this case in fact make it an ideal vehicle

for this Court to decide the question presented. The

union-negotiated arbitration agreement at issue clearly

and unmistakably waived their right to bring statutory

claims in

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — 14 Penn Plaza LLC, et al v. Steven Pyett, et al · 556 U.S. 247 | Frix