Amicus Curiae Brief — Indiana Democratic Democratic Party v. Rokita (Nos. 07-25, 07-21)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

14 gi oe

a a NOY 18 2007

SOPSP Nos 07-21 & 07- | pol tie

IN THE ries fe thy i

Supreme Court of the Anited eiites

WILLIAM CRAWFORD, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

v.

MARION COUNTY ELECTION BOARD, ET AL.,

Respondents.

INDIANA DEMOCRATIC PARTY, ET'AL.,

Petitioners,

v.

TODD ROKITA, ET AL.,

Respondents.

On Writs of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE THE BRENNAN CENTER

FOR JUSTICE; DEMOS: A NETWORK FOR IDEAS &

ACTION; LORRAINE C. MINNITE; PROJECT VOTE;

AND PEOPLE FOR THE AMERICAN WAY

FOUNDATION IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

[PHOTO ID LAW LACKS JUSTIFICATION]

WENDY R. WEISER SIDNEY S. ROSDEITCHER

JUSTIN LEVITT Counsel of Record

RENEE PARADIS J. ADAM SKAGGS

BRENNAN CENTER FOR JUSTICE PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND,

AT NYU SCHOOL OF LAW WHARTON & GARRISON LLP

161 Avenue of the Americas 1285 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10013 New York, New York 10019

(212) 998-6730 (212) 373-3000

Counsel for Amici Curiae

November 13, 2007

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

pe OF dt iby 8 yy | - Sree ill

SOU RS SOW SOU FUE ccccsccccvecscscscerosoepsscocsveseneoes 1

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT................ccesceeseeees 3

TEE, Keiiicnstiiiniciiapininsisitetepiininamibiitanhiiwiiasinianil 6

INDIANA’S PHOTO ID REQUIREMENT

IS AN UNNECESSARY RESPONSE

TO THE EXTREMELY UNLIKELY

AND UNSUBSTANTIATED THREAT

OF POLLING-PLACE IMPERSONATION

A. Polling-Place Impersonation Fraud Is Highly

Unlikely And Exceedingly Rare...................... 11

1. None of the Examples Cited by the

Court of Appeals Indicates That

Polling-Place Impersonation Fraud

Is a Genuine Problem ........................665 11

2. The Additional Evidence Cited by the

District Court and Other Studies Show

That Polling-Place Impersonation

Fraud Is Not A Genuine Problem ........ 18

B. Alleged Perceptions Or Fears of Voter

Fraud Do Not Justify Indiana’s

PROD FP CII occ ccccccccsssessiccocssessssscoses 28

C. A Photo ID Requirement Is Not Needed To

Prevent Possible Impersonation Fraud.......... 31

1. Indiana’s Policies for Identifying Voters

Prior to the Adoption of the Photo ID

Requirement Provided an Adequate

Alternative to Photo ID ..................... 32

2. Less Onerous Methods of Voter

Identification in Other States Provide

Adequate Alternatives to Photo ID......33

IIE cicnscsviaciisviciiniinichetsierenitideaiiiensiuniianiasanédionenta 39

il

<

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

FEDERAL CASES

Buckley v. Valeo,

a I Aan I icine nendindaigsinenpeiiliags 29, 30

Burdick v. Takushi,

Se i cscninestetehpiicndeicusieltaigsomiansticniindiiad 6,7

Clingman v. Beaver,

4g I cae nn nee en 10

Common Cause /Georgia v. Billups,

406 F. Supp. 2d 1326 (N.D. Ga. 2005)...........0..... 36

Common Cause/Georgia v. Billups,

504 F. Supp. 2d 1333 (N.D. Ga.), appeal filed

No. 07-14664C (11th Cir. 2007)..............0...... 15, 36

Crawford v. Marion County Ele-tion Bd.,

472 F.3d 949 (7th Cir. 2007)...............cceseeeees passim

Crawford v. Marion County Election Bd.,

484 F.3d 436 (7th Cir. 2007)....................scseeeeseeeees 5

Indiana Democratic Party v. Rokita,

458 F. Supp. 2d 775 (S.D. Ind. 2006) ........... passim

Lucas v. Forty-Fourth Gen. Assembly of Colo.,

ee ee Te ctehtciainchiehitiisinictesisibiciainainihpuiiitcipainis 31

iil

McConnell v. Fed. Election Comm’n,

ER a aN a Ra RR DEC 29

McLaughlin v. N.C. Bd. of Elections,

fF 8 LL | ne Suen 6

Munro v. Socialist Workers Party,

OD | aa: eT 10

New Alliance Party v. Hand,

933 F.3d 1668 (llth Cir. 1901)....................0000000.. 7

Purcell v. Gonzalez,

I 7, 25, 30

Reform Party of Allegheny County v. Allegheny

County Dep’t of Elections,

ee ee Is IE hccviinsisvcccscncsctscnrsosnasescote 6

Timmons v. Twin Cities New Party,

SIL So ne 10

United States v. Carolene Products Co.,

Lg ETE en nee rr 9

United States v. Missouri, No. 05-4391-CV-C-NKL,

2007 WL 1115204 (W.D. Mo. Apr. 13, 2007)....... 16

Vieth v. Jubelirer,

alate 8

Williamson v. Lee Optical of Oklahoma,

I licen caritnsnanandonnnbounete 7

iV

STATE CASES

Borders v. King County,

No. 05-2-00027-3 (Wash. Super. 2005),

reprinted in 4 Election L.J. 418 (2005) ............... 17

In re the Protest of Election Returns & Absentee

Ballots in the Nov. 4, 1997 Election for

the City of Miami, 707 So. 2d 1170

(Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1998) ................ sisiebieuiinseiiiaae 12

Weinschenk v. State of Missouri,

203 S.W. 3d 201 (Mo. 2006).................00. 16, 17, 30

FEDERAL STATUTES

I Ties © Fa vccccensccsaninttonsantinnniingaiaamneiial 26

Ge WES. ©] Bribe C8 GUN, ccciscscnscrinccrnensnisisnibiiianaianion 32

SP A. F Bi iscecsecicesccestictnnsencisiitaiienaieadman 18

GD BABE. F TERG III sccincccsscesesnssisincsiensicitananmsiedamenianin 33

STATE STATUTES

ES S| ae eerae 36

SP TR, © DI ID coecencicsicasnsssstisessasesensieamuamaine 38

IPO. RGR. & De sccvscncisccccmisniinsnceitsuihdnilenieesiuiais 38

KS Sa 37

ERE ESTE a Pe ET 26

Ind. Code § 3-11-8-25 (2002) ......... cece eee eeeeeeeees 32

Ind. Code § 3-11-8-25 (2004) .................. eee eeeeeeeees 33

Ind. Code § 3-11-8-22 (2002) 0.0.0... eee eeeeeee 32

Ind. Code § 35-50-2-7(a) (2002)... 0. .cccccccccseeseeeeeeees 26

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18:562(A)(2)....0...0....ccc eee 37

Mich. Comp. Laws § 168.523 ................ccccocccesscsccceees 37

Mass. Gen. Laws Chapter 54, § 76.................c0.2c0000 35

Pils CI, GUNN, BH CROP ccccccccccccecescccsccssssecessssssseses 35

Ms Oe III cisinctcccccssceconssousetseonsessessonsouee 35

BE Ue IIIS UF IIE © cpeccccecccesesscvecccccecoceeessonsescoes 35

I TT isi see dnapemnnechentingteonesnemnetennsasoontes 36

LS Ens e D TT EIT 36

S.D. Codified Laws § 12-18-6.2 .0............ cee eeceeeeeeeeee 37

Utah Code Ann. § 20A-3-104 00.0.0... eeeeeeeeeeeeee 35

Vi

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

148 Cong. Rec. S10491 (2002)

(Statement of Sen. Bond)...................cccccee eee

BONE. PDs, BEDS GO, © BBG cccescceccensescescscccscoessescsnees

MISCELLANEOUS AUTHORITIES

Matt A. Barreto, et al., Voter ID Requirements

and the Disenfranchisements of Latino,

Black and Asian Voters, 2007 American

Political Science Ass’n Annual Conference,

es is ET ecicsishcenseinihinideidaiinaisninabaiiaindabaipacciieinnenes

Greg Borowski, A New Push To Repair

Elections, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel,

ee es iicnakadeinleviddidtndaiaipiseiiuiiidesioneinciin

Brennan Center & Michael McDonald,

Analysis of the September 15, 2005 Voter

Fraud Report Submitted to the New Jersey

Attorney General (Dec. 2005)...............ccceeeeeees

Brennan Center & Spencer Overton, Response

to the Report of the 2005 Commission on

Federal Election Reform (Sept. 19, 2005).......

Jimmy Carter and James A. Baker III, Voting

Reform Is in the Cards, N.Y. Times, Sept.

SE SMUD iscincisncniisincenitinntininemnianidtanpeanineinpetaatantitinne

Vil

Kelly Chesney, Special Letter: Claims That the

“Dead” Voted Were Wrong, Detroit News,

eNO oe ete ne 14

Coalition of Homelessness and Housing in

Ohio & League of Woman Voters Coalition,

Let the People Vote (2005)..............:cceseeeeeeeeess 24, 25

Lisa Collins, In Michigan, Even Dead Vote,

Detroit News, Feb. 26, 2006 ..............0..0ce ee. 14

Commission on Federal Election Reform,

Building Confidence in U.S. Elections

RRR Re Fo 22

Secretary of State Cathy Cox, The 2000

Election: A Wake-Up Call for Reform and

I SEI siciisscivtsiniiniociieioniidtietiitcinaiidncansinate 15

DOJ, Election Fraud Prosecutions &

Convictions, Oct. 2002 — Sept. 2005............... 20, 26

Electionline.org, Election Reform: What’s

Changed, What Hasn’t and Why 2000-2006

RSE ewe IR rare ree nT Re ene 32, 34, 35

Electionline.org, Voter ID Laws

es Ses A sceciisiensiinsnseielinescmnicennisessignbeeneie’ 34, 35, 36

Hawaii Office of Elections, Chairperson and

Voter Assistance Official’s Manual (2006).......... 37

Hawaii Office of Elections, How to Vote at the

Polling Place (Nov. 9, 2007) ..................cccceceeeeeees 37

Vill

M.V. Hood & Charles S. Bullock, Worth a

Thousand Words? An Analysis of Georgia’s

Voter Identification Statute (Apr. 2007)................ 8

John Fund, Stealing Elections (2004)............ 15, 21, 22

Justin Levitt, The Truth About Voter Fraud

I a la ah 1, 16

Phuong Cat Le & Michelle Nicolosi, Dead

Voted in Governor’s Race, Seattle Post-

Intelligencer, Jan. 7, 2005....................cceeeeee 17, 18

Eric Lipton & Ian Urbina, Jn 5-Year Effort,

Scant Evidence of Voter Fraud, N.Y. Times,

Sc EET sibiuiihinendianihitcichalinciidiniiommaniinenbiiindlainiiedl 20

Lorraine C. Minnite, An Analysis of Voter

SN i SC ik icicisictnccctscicitacdslinininsiante 2,16

Lorraine C. Minnite and David Caliahan,

Securing the Vote: An Analysis of Election

I acininicesissiniitiattiatnindninsinntdbaiegleilanaplininia passim

Media Matters, John Fund’s Book on Voter

Fraud Is a Fraud (Oct. 31, 2004) .............cc eee. 22

National Conference of State Legislatures,

State Requirements for Voter Identification

I Sea aciiiishicisiashiiteiiiebniibataaninentitantiiiiaiainloaniede 34, 37

Spencer Overton, Establishing Procedures for

Credible Advisory Commissions (2005)............... 23

Greg Palast, The Wrong Way to Fix the Vote,

Pe ns IY I 15

iX

John Pawasarat, The Drivers License Status of

the Voting Age Population in Wisconsin,

University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee (2005).....

Press Release, DOJ, Fact Sheet: Department of

Justice Ballot Access and Voting Integrity

Initiative (July 26, 2006)............. eee eeeeceeeeee eens

Preliminary Findings of Joint Task Force

Investigating Possible Election Fraud

“SD "SSS se

Larry J. Sabato & Glenn R. Simpson,

Dirty Little Secrets (1996)...............ccccseeeseeeeeeeees

Steve Schultze, No Vote Fraud Plot Found,

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel, Dec. 5, 2005.......

Wendy Simmons, Black Americans Feel

Cheated by Election 2000, Gallup News

Service, Dec. 20, 2000 ...................cccceeeeeeeeeceeceees

Van Smith, Election Nights of the Living Dead,

Baltimore City Paper, June 22, 2005................

Ian Urbina, Panel Said To Alter Finding on

Voter Fraud, N.Y. Times, Apr. 11, 2007 ...........

Tova Wang, A Rigged Report on U.S. Voting?,

Wash. Post, Aug. 30, 2007 200.0... cece ceeeeeeeeeeeees

INTEREST OF THE AMICI’

The Brennan Center for Justice at NYU School

of Law (the “Brennan Center”) is a nonpartisan

institute dedicated to a vision of effective and

inclusive democracy. Through its Voting Rights and

Elections project, the Brennan Center seeks to

protect rights to equal electoral access and full

political participation. The project has extensively

addressed issues relating to alleged voter fraud and

methods for preventing it, tracking the national

experience with legislation relating to election fraud,

co-authoring three major reports on the subject,’ and

Pursuant to Rule 37.6, amici curiae certify that no

counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or

in part and that no person or entity, other than

amici curiae and their counsel, made a monetary

contribution to its preparation or submission. The

parties have filed letters consenting to the filing of

any amicus curiae brief with the Clerk of the

Court.

See Justin Levitt, The Truth About Voter Fraud

(Oct. 2007), http://www.truthaboutfraud.org/pdf/

TruthAboutVoterFraud.pdf (“Truth About Voter

Fraud”); Brennan Center & Michael McDonald,

Analysis of the September 15, 2005 Voter Fraud

Report Submitted to the New Jersey Attorney

General (Dec. 2005), http://www.brennancenter.

org/dynamic/subpages/download_file_35010.pdf;

Brennan Center & Spencer Overton, Response to

the Report of the 2005 Commission on Federal

Election Reform (Sept. 19, 2005), available at

participating as counsel or amicus in a number of

federal and state cases involving voting and election

issues. The Brennan Center has participated as

amicus in constitutional challenges to statutes

requiring photo identification (“photo ID”) as a

condition for in-person voting in Georgia and

Albuquerque, New Mexico, as well as before the court

of appeals in this case.

Demos: A Network for Ideas & Action

(“Demos”) is a non-partisan public policy research

and advocacy center. Its Democracy Program focuses

on removing barriers to political participation,

especially those affecting traditionally disfranchised

populations such as communities of color and low-

income citizens. In 2003 Demos published a report by

Lorraine C. Minnite and David Callahan entitled

Securing the Vote: An Analysis of Election Fraud

(updated most recently in September 2007) that is

widely recognized as the most comprehensive survey

available of the extent of voter fraud in U.S. elections.

Lorraine C. Minnite is an assistant professor

in the Department of Political Science, Barnard

College, Columbia University in New York City. She

has written and provided testimony on the incidence

of fraud in elections, and is currently finishing a book

on the subject. She is co-author of the voter fraud

study published by amicus Demos, referred to above,

and cited by the district court in this case.

http://www.brennancenter.org/dynamic/subpages/

download_file_47903.pdf.

tl

Project Vote is a non-partisan, non-profit

organization dedicated to voter participation in the

election process. It assists low-income, minority

citizens to register to vote. It has a strong interest in

ensuring that the individuals it registers are able to

vote and has actively worked to reduce barriers

eligible voters face when attempting to register and

vote.

People for the American Way Foundation

(“PFAWF”) is a nonpartisan citizens’ organization

established to promote and protect civil and

constitutional rights. It has been actively involved in

efforts nationwide to combat discrimination and

promote equal rights, including efforts to protect the

voting rights of all eligible citizens. PFAWF

regularly participates in civil rights litigation, and

has participated in litigation to protect the right to

vote and prevent the disenfranchisement that occurs

when restrictive voter ID laws are enforced.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The district court and court of appeals, while

acknowledging that Indiana had no record of voter

impersonation fraud at the polls, erroneously relied

upon unfounded assertions about the existence of

such voter impersonation fraud elsewhere in the

nation as a basis to uphold Indiana’s photo ID

requirement. In this brief, amici examine the reports

relied on by the district court and the court of

appeals, as well as nationwide studies of voter fraud.

We show that, in fact, there is no more evidence that

polling-place impersonation fraud is a_ problem

outside Indiana than there is in Indiana.

Prior to its enactment of the photo ID law,

Indiana already had in place less onerous and more

appropriately tailored identification methods, as well

as severe criminal penalties to deter impersonation

fraud. Moreover, forty-eight states, the District of

Columbia and the federal government currently use

identification methods that provide less onerous

alternatives to photo identification. Absent evidence

that polling-place impersonation fraud is a problem

in Indiana or anywhere else, Indiana cannot show

that there was any need to impose the additional

burdens of a photo ID requirement to prevent such

fraud.

As the court of appeals acknowledged, a photo

ID requirement imposes burdens mainly on Indiana’s

most disadvantaged citizens—people “low on the

economic ladder” —who make up most of the citizens

who do not already possess a driver’s license or other

acceptable photo identification, and at least some of

whom, the court of appeals notes, will be deterred

from voting by these burdens. As the court also

acknowledged, voters in this demographic group “are

more likely to vote for Democratic than Republican

candidates.” Hence, careful scrutiny of Indiana’s

asserted interest was needed to ensure that the photo

ID requirement is not simply the latest device in a

* Crawford v. Marion County Election Bd., 472 F.3d

949, 951 (7th Cir. 2007).

‘Id.

° Td.

long history of voting requirements aimed at

suppressing the vote of politically weak or voiceless

minorities and a pretext for obtaining a partisan

electoral benefit.

The district court and court of appeals failed to

provide anything approaching careful scrutiny—

whether denominated “strict” or “heightened”—to

Indiana's claimed need to require photo ID to prevent

impersonation fraud. Instead, they relied on

documents that in fact refute the existence of

impersonation fraud; unconfirmed hearsay reports

that have been discredited by formal investigations;

unsupported speculation; and supposed “perceptions”

and fear of voter fraud that are unsupported by any

evidence and that are easily manipulated. Under our

constitutional system the fundamental right to vote

cannot be taken away by unfounded “perceptions” of

a majority, whether measured by vote or by opinion

poll.

As Judge Wood observed in dissenting from the

court of appeals’ denial of en banc rehearing, “the

‘facts’ asserted by the state in support of its voter

fraud justification were taken as true without

examination to see if they reflected reality.”

This brief shows that in reality, polling-place

impersonation fraud is not a problem and that a

photo ID requirement is not needed to prevent it.

° Crawford v. Marion County Election Bd., 484 F.3d

436, 437 (7th Cir. 2007) (en banc) (Wood, J.,

dissenting from denial of en banc reconsideration).

ARGUMENT

INDIANA’S PHOTO ID REQUIREMENT

IS AN UNNECESSARY RESPONSE

TO THE EXTREMELY UNLIKELY AND

UNSUBSTANTIATED THREAT OF POLLING-

PLACE IMPERSONATION FRAUD

Burdick v. Takushi, 504 U.S. 428 (1992),

requires that, in assessing the constitutionality of

election regulations, courts must balance “the

character and magnitude” of the burdens on

plaintiffs’ voting rights “against the precise interests

put forward by the State” and “the extent to which

those interests make it necessary to burden the

plaintiffs’ rights.” 504 U.S. at 434 (quotation marks

and citation omitted) (emphasis added). Election

laws that impose severe burdens on voters are

subjected to strict scrutiny. See id. But even when a

law’s burdens are jess than severe, Burdick does not

contemplate application of the deferential “rational

basis” test applicable to social and economic

legislation.’ Rather, in such circumstances, Burdick

See, e.g., Reform Party of Allegheny County v.

Allegheny County Dep’t of Elections, 174 F.3d 305,

315 (3d Cir. 1999) (en banc) (election laws

imposing less than severe burdens are analyzed

under an “intermediate level of scrutiny”);

McLaughlin v. N.C. Bd. of Elections, 65 F.3d 1215,

1221 n.6 (4th Cir. 1995) (“a regulation which

imposes only moderate burdens could well fail the

|Burdick| balancing test when the interests that it

serves are minor, notwithstanding that the

requires the state to demonstrate an “important

regulatory interest” and that regulations addressing

this interest are “reasonable” and

“nondiscriminatory.” 504 U.S. at 434."

States, of course, have “a compelling interest in

preventing voter fraud.” Purcell v. Gonzalez, 127 S.

Ct. 5, 6-7 (2006). But the broad concept of voter fraud

is not the “precise interest” that Burdick requires be

evaluated here. A photo identification requirement

addresses only one type of alleged voter fraud: the

impersonation of a registered voter at the polls. It is

not a remedy for absentee ballot fraud, ballot

tampering, voting from two addresses, vote buying or

other voter fraud. This critical distinction was

repeatedly ignored by the courts below. Moreover,

because Indiana already had voter identification

methods in place before it enacted the photo ID

requirement in 2005, the issue is whether Indiana’s

interest in preventing polling-place impersonation

regulation is rational”); New Alliance Party v.

Hand, 933 F.2d 1568, 1576 (11th Cir. 1991)

(“Although . . . the burden imposed .. . is not

insurmountable, . . . plaintiffs are due to be

granted the relief requested because the interests

put forth by the defendant do not adequately

justify the restriction imposed.”).

For this reason, the district court’s use of the

deferential test of Williamson v. Lee Optical of

Oklahoma, 348 U.S. 483, 489 (1955), to evaluate

the Indiana voter ID law was error. See Indiana

Democratic Party v. Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d 775,

829 (S.D. Ind. 2006).

fraud justified replacing those earlier methods with a

more stringent identification requirement that

increases the burdens especially for eligible voters

who currently lack a photo ID and must obtain one to

vote.

The circumstances here warrant careful

examination of that interest. Absent evidence that

Indiana’s prior identification methods were in-

sufficient to prevent polling-place impersonation

fraud, and that it was therefore “necessary” to place

additional burdens on voters, the interest advanced

by Indiana is suspect. As the court of appeals

recognized, the burdens of the photo ID requirement

fall mainly on low-income citizens who are the most

likely to lack such IDs. See Crawford, 472 F.3d at

951. And as the court of appeals also acknowledged,

the photo ID requirement will discourage at least

some ef those people from voting. Jd. This disparate

impact on the voting rights of low-income citizens—a

group that is disproportionately made up of people of

color —increases the need for caution. See Vieth v.

See, e.g., Matt A. Barreto, et al., Voter ID

Requirements and the Disenfranchisements of

Latino, Black and Asian Voters, 2007 American

Political Science Ass’n Annual Conference 1

(Sept. 1, 2007) (on file with the author)

(“ammigrant and minority voters were consistently

less likely to have each form of identification”

required under voter ID laws); M.V. Hood &

Charles S. Bullock, Worth a Thousand Words? An

Analysis of Georgia’s Voter Identification Statute

19 (April 2007), http://electionlawblog.org/

Jubelirer, 541 U.S. 267, 311 (2004) (Kennedy, J.,

concurring) (when laws threaten to exclude minority

groups from the political process, courts should “err

on the side of caution”); United States v. Carolene

Products Co., 304 U.S. 144, 152 n4 (1938)

(heightened scrutiny is appropriate when laws

distinctly burden “discrete and insular” minority

groups that lack sufficient numbers or power to seek

redress through the political process).

Moreover, as the court of appeals

acknowledged, a significant majority of such low

income citizens vote Democratic. See Crawford, 472

F.3d at 951. In such circumstances, “applying

heightened scrutiny helps to ensure that .

archives/GA%20Voter%201ID%20%28Bullock%20%

26%20H00d%29.pdf (“Registered voters are

significantly less likely to possess a driver's

license if they are from minority groups, especially

blacks and Hispanics, and if they are older.”);

John Pawasarat, The Drivers License Status of the

Voting Age Population in Wisconsin, University of

Wisconsin—Miwaukee (2005), http://www.uwm.

edu/Dept/ETVbarriers/DriversLicense.pdf (noting

that “[lJess than half (47 percent) of Milwaukee

County African American adults and 43 percent of

Hispanic adults have a valid drivers license

compared to 85 percent of white adults”; that

“only 26 percent of African Americans and 34

percent of Hispanics [have] a valid license

compared to 71 percent of young white adults”;

and that “23 percent of persons aged 65 and over

do not have a... drivers license or a photo ID”).

lelectoral] limitations are truly justified and that the

State’s asserted interests are not merely a pretext for

exclusionary or anticompetitive restrictions.”

Clingman v. Beaver, 544 U.S. 581, 603 (2005)

(O’Connor, J., concurring in part and concurring in

the judgment).

Careful scrutiny of Indiana’s asserted interest

shows that polling-place impersonation fraud is not a

Neither Timmons v. Twin Cities New Party, 520

U.S. 351 (1997), nor Munro v. Socialist Workers

Party, 479 U.S. 189 (1986), supports a different

conclusion. Timmons held that “elaborate,

empirical evidence of the weightiness of a state’s

interest” was not needed to justify a ballot-access

restriction that “did not restrict the right of a

[party] or its members to vote for anyone they

like.” 520 U.S. at 363, 364. But here Indiana

provides no empirical justification for a law that

does directly restrict the right to vote of its most

disadvantaged citizens. Munro sustained a ballot-

access restriction, despite no evidence that it

addressed an_ existing problem, because

“(ljegislatures .. . should be permitted to respond

to potential deficiencies in the electoral process

with foresight, rather than reactively, provided

that the response is reasonable and does not

impinge on constitutionally protected rights.” 479

U.S. at 195-96 (emphasis added). Indiana’s law

does “impinge on constitutionally protected rights”

and, as we show, is not reasonable because less

burdensome laws have proven adequate to

prevent polling-place impersonation fraud.

10

problem and that Indiana’s photo ID requirement is

not needed to prevent it.

A. Polling-Place Impersonation Fraud Is

Highly Unlikely And Exceedingly Rare

The record contains no evidence of polling-

place impersonation fraud in Indiana: the State

conceded that it was unaware of any incidents of

attempted or successful impersonation fraud in

Indiana; that no one in Indiana history has been

indicted for impersonation fraud; and that no

evidence of impersonation fraud was presented to the

Indiana legislature during the debate over the photo

ID law. See Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d at 792-93.

Without citing a single fact, the court of

appeals nevertheless concluded that the “notorious

examples of Florida and Illinois,” as well as

Michigan, Missouri and Washington State, provide

evidence—“though not much”—that polling-place

voter impersonation is a problem and that it is no less

likely to occur in Indiana. Crawford, 472 F.3d at 954.

But the record, in fact, demonstrates that such fraud

is not a problem in the states listed by the court of

appeals or anywhere else in the United States.

1. None of the Examples Cited by the Court

of Appeals Indicates That Polling-Place

Impersonation Fraud Is a Genuine

Problem

FLORIDA: The court of appeals never

explains why Florida is a “notorious” example.

Perhaps this refers to Florida’s problems in the 2000

Presidential election. But those problems had

nothing to do with impersonation fraud: Florida was

“notorious,” among other things, for poor ballot

design, antiquated election machinery, and the

exclusion of eligible voters from the registration rolls.

There are only two references to Florida in the

record. The first is an article from the Miami Herald

discussing extensive problems with absentee ballot

fraud, vote buying, and voting by ineligible non-

residents in a 1997 Miami election. The only

suggestions of impersonation fraud in the article are

statements by voters confronted with allegations that

they voted in districts where they did not reside, and

who responded by saying someone must have voted in

their names. The article offers no suggestion that

these unconfirmed allegations of impersonation

involved polling-place impersonation, rather than

absentee ballot fraud or clerical errors. See Rokita,

458 F. Supp. 2d at 826 & n.78 (citing, inter alia,

State’s Ex. 10 (R. 83, Att. 2)). Tellingly, this 1997

election was overturned on the basis of absentee

ballot fraud, without any reference to polling-place

impersonation. In re the Protest of Election Returns

& Absentee Ballots in the Nov. 4, 1997 Election for the

City of Miami, 707 So. 2d 1170, 1172 (Fla. Dist. Ct.

App. 1998).

The second reference to Florida is a citation to

a study by Lorraine C. Minnite and David Callahan

entitled Securing the Vote: An Analysis of Election

Fraud (2003) (“2003 Minnite Study”). See Rokita, 458

F. Supp. 2d at 794 (citing State Ex. 6 (R. 82, Att. 3)).

This study contains no reference to polling-place

12

impersonation fraud in Florida; it discusses absentee

ballot fraud in Miami’s 1997 mayoral primary and

refers to Floridas massive disenfranchisement of

eligible, mostly African-American voters in the 2000

Presidential election whose names were erroneously

put on felony lists. See id. at 39-40.

ILLINOIS: The court of appeals never

explains why Illinois is “notorious.” The only item in

the record concerning Illinois is a 1982 newspaper

article describing allegations of fraud in the 1982

gubernatorial election. See Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d at

794 (citing State Ex. 13 (R. 83, Att. 5)). The article’s

main focus is absentee ballot fraud and ballot

tampering by election officials. While this article

from a quarter of a century ago refers to allegations

of voting in Chicago in the name of deceased

persons—so-called “ghost voting”—the article gives

no specific examples of any ghost votes and does not

indicate whether the unproven Allegations involved

in-person, rather than absentee voting, or are a

reflection of clerical errors. (See the discussion of

Michigan, immediately below.)

MICHIGAN: There is nothing in the record or

the district court’s opinion about any election fraud in

Michigan. There were reports of voting irregularities

in Michigan in 2004 (not reflected in the record), but

these reports indicate the unreliability of reports of

impersonation fraud. They include allegations of 132

votes allegedly cast by dead people. However, a

follow-up investigation to the initial report indicated

that all of these votes involved absentee ballots, 124

of the 132 incidents were incorrectly reported, and no

ballots were actually cast by a deceased voter after

13

the voter had died. See Kelly Chesney, Special Letter:

Claims That the “Dead” Voted Were Wrong, Detroit

News, Mar. 5, 2006. Moreover, it appears that in

Michigan, as elsewhere, claims of ghost voting are

often the result of clerical errors, as when election

clerks mistakenly record a vote under the wrong

name in post-election record keeping, or have a voter

sign the poll book entry of a voter with a similar

name. See Lisa Collins, In Michigan, Even Dead

Vote, Detroit News, Feb. 26, 2006 (“It’s impossible to

say whether [purported cases of ghost voting] are

names used by someone else to cast fraudulent votes

or whether they simply represent clerical errors... .

Among the most common mistakes occur when

election workers record a vote under a similar name,

or confuse voters with their parents or other

relatives.”); see also Van Smith, Election Nights of the

Living Dead, Baltimore City Paper, June 22, 2005

(discussing likely mistakes involving, e.g., voters with

different middle initials and a son confused with his

deceased father of the same name)."’

" That publicized cases of alleged impersonation

fraud often prove baseless upon investigation is

illustrated by the district court’s reliance on

reports of ghost voting in Georgia. See Rokita, 458

F. Supp. 2d at 493 (citing State Ex. 12 (R. 83, Att.

4)). The newspaper article relied on by the district

court recounted lurid tales of ballots cast from the

grave, including a vote by one Alan Jay Mandel.

Further investigation revealed no fire behind the

smoke, however: the Georgia Secretary of State

determined, in fact, that the votes attributed to

14

MISSOURI: The district court cited stories

concerning voter fraud in Missouri. See, e.g., Rokita,

458 F. Supp. 2d 794 (citing State Ex. 13 (R. 83, Att.

5)). None of the sources cited by the district court,

however, points to any evidence that the alleged

impersonation fraud in Missouri was accomplished

in-person rather than absentee. See John Fund,

Stealing Elections 64 (2004) (State Ex. 2 (R. 79, Att.

1)); 2003 Minnite Study at 43 (State Ex. 6 (R. 82, Att.

3)); Statement of Sen. Kit Bond (State Ex. 7 (R. 82,

Att. 4)). Moreover, these allegations were part of a

litany of claims of widespread voter fraud in the 2000

election in St. Louis that since have been shown to be

almost entirely specious. According to the 2003

Minnite Study, the Missouri Secretary of State’s

investigation and an investigation by the St. Louis

Post Dispatch disclosed such massive errors in official

records and so many wrongful accusations of fraud

that the “alleged voter fraud scandal in St. Louis

Mr. Mandel had actually been cast by one Alan

Jay Mandell, who was alive and well. As the

Secretary stated, “a subsequent check of the

records by Fulton County staff revealed that the

media account was erroneous.” Secretary of State

Cathy Cox, The 2000 Election: A Wake-Up Call

for Reform and Change 11 n.3 (Jan. 2001),

http://www.sos.state.ga.us/acrobat/elections/2000_

election_report.pdf; see also Greg Palast, The

Wrong Way to Fix the Vote, Wash. Post, June 10,

2001; Common Cause/Georgia v. Billups, 406 F.

Supp. 2d 1326, 1366 (N.D. Ga. 2005) (noting

absence of evidence of polling-place impersonation

fraud in Georgia).

15

looks more like a case of managerial ineptitude and

under-funding, and poor implementation of the

[National Voter Registration Act) [by] St. Louis and

Missouri election officials.” 2003 Minnite Study at

42-43. This conclusion was later dramatically

confirmed. After completion of an _ F.B.I.

investigation, the Department of Justice issued no

indictments for voter fraud of any kind. Instead,

“[t]he Justice Department threatened the Board [of

Elections] with a lawsuit for abusing the voting

rights of thousands of eligible St. Louis voters by

illegally purging their registration records in

violation of the National Voter Registration Act. It

was these illegal purges that created ... the

appearance of election irregularities.” Lorraine C.

Minnite, An Analysis of Voter Fraud in the U.S. 16

(2007), http://www.demos.org/pubs/analysis_voter_

fraud.pdf; see also Truth About Voter Fraud at 24-26.

Most recently, the Supreme Court of Missouri,

in striking down a photo ID law under the state

constitution, quoted with approval the findings of the

trial court that:

No evidence was presented that

voter impersonation fraud exists to

any substantial degree in Missouri.

In fact, the evidence that was

presented indicates that voter

impersonation fraud is not a

problem in Missouri.

Weinschenk v. State of Missouri, 203 S.W. 3d 201, 217

(Mo. 2006); see also United States v. Missouri, No. 05-

4391-CV-C-NKL, 2007 WL 1115204, at *10 (W.D. Mo.

16

Apr. 13, 2007) (noting that the United States had not

“shown that any voter fraud has occurred” in

Missouri in action alleging violations of National

Voter Registration Act).

The Missouri Supreme Court concluded that

the “[pJhoto ID requirement could only prevent a

particular type of fraud that does not occur in

Missouri.” Weinschenk, 203 S.W. 3d at 218.

WASHINGTON STATE: A comprehensive

investigation of alleged voter fraud was conducted in

Washington State after the bitterly contested 2004

gubernatorial election. See Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d at

793, 826 (citing State Ex. 3 (R. 79, Att. 2)); Borders v.

King County, No. 05-2-00027-3 (Wash. Super. Ct.

2005), reprinted in 4 Election L.J. 418 (2005). But

this investigation refutes—rather than supports—

claims that polling-place impersonation fraud is a

problem. Out of 2,812,675 ballots cast, the

investigation uncovered only 19 incidents that could

conceivably have involved impersonation fraud,

involving alleged voting in the name of the deceased.

Id. at 420, 423. Subsequent investigations indicated

that most of these ghost voting incidents involved

absentee ballots—not polling-place impersonation

fraud—and therefore would not have been prevented

by a photo ID requirement. See Phuong Cat Le &

Michelle Nicolosi, Dead Voted in Governor’s Race,

Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Jan. 7, 2005 (noting that

only one of eight investigated cases of ghost voting

involved a voter actually voting at the polls, while the

other seven cases involved absentee ballots). A

17

county official stated that the cases. being

investigated were “not indications of fraud.” Id.”

Furthermore, even if one or two ghost voting

incidents did involve polling-place impersonation

fraud, such incidents can be prevented by each State

updating its voter rolls on a regular basis as required

by federal law.’ Another article cited by the district

court indicates that election officials in Washington

had not yet regularly updated the voter rolls by 2004.

See Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d at 826 n.78 (citing State

Ex. 15 (R. 83, Att. 7)).

2. The Additional Evidence Cited by the

District Court and Other Studies Show

That Polling-Place Impersonation Fraud

Is Not A Genuine Problem

The additional evidence relied on by the

district court and other studies also show that

polling-place impersonation fraud is not a problem

anywhere in the nation.

MINNITE STUDY: The district court’s

reliance on the 2003 Minnite Study is puzzling. See

12

As noted, claims of in-person impersonation fraud

are frequently shown to merely reflect clerical

errors and poor record keeping. See supra at 12.

Under the Help America Vote Act of 2002

(“HAVA”), states are required to implement

centralized registration lists, update them

regularly, and remove ineligible registrants. See

42 U.S.C. § 15483(a)(4).

18

Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d at 793-94 (citing State Ex. 6

(R. 82, Att. 3) (2003 Minnite Study)). That study is

one of the most comprehensive studies of voter fraud

allegations to date,’ but it compels a conclusion

exactly opposite to that reached by the district court.

The study found that voter fraud of any kind is “very

rare,” is not more than a “minor problem” and “rarely

affects election outcomes.” 2003 Minnite Study at 4,

17. Notably absent from the study is any evidence of

polling-place impersonation fraud. According to the

study, even where election fraud allegations have

received significant attention in the news media, the

allegations almost invariably proved baseless. Id. at

17, 40-43.

To the limited extent fraud has been detected,

the study concludes, it generally takes the form of

organized fraud such as vote buying, use of

fraudulent absentee or mail-in ballots, ballot box

stuffing, or wrongful purging of registration rolls to

exclude eligible voters. Jd. at 14-15. Instances of

these types of fraud far outweigh incidents of

individual fraud. Jd. Most importantly, the study

concludes that the wrongful disenfranchisement of

voters is a “far bigger problem” than voter fraud. Id.

at 15.

14

In the study, Minnite and Callahan reviewed

news and legal databases and _ interviewed

attorneys general and secretaries of state in 12

states, representing about half of the national

electorate, about incidences of election fraud from

1992 to 2002.

19

DOJ REPORT: £The district court also

mistakenly relied on a Department of Justice (“DOJ”)

report on voting fraud. See Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d at

793 (citing State Ex. 2 (R. 79, Att. 1)). The report

does not contain a single reference to impersonation

fraud. An updated version of that report, which

describes DOJ’s investigation of election fraud since

2002, confirms that impersonation fraud is not a

threat to the integrity of elections. See Press Release,

DOJ, Fact Sheet: Department of Justice Ballot Access

and Voting Integrity Initiative (July 26, 2006),

available at http://www.usdoj.gov/opa/pr/2006/July/

06_crt_468.html (“DOJ Report”). The DOJ Report

describes 86 convictions ffor _ election-related

misconduct over a nearly five-year period, but not a

single one of these convictions involved

impersonation fraud. See id.; see also Eric Lipton &

Ian Urbina, In 5-Year Effort, Scant Evidence of Voter

Fraud, N.Y. Times, Apr. 12, 2007. The report

describes incidents of vote buying, improper use of

personal information by local officials, various

campaign finance convictions, and harassment to

keep voters from the polls. None of these crimes

could be prevented by requiring voters to show a

photo ID.

WISCONSIN: The district court cited a year-

long joint federal and state investigation into an

alleged scheme to alter the result of the 2004 election

See also DOJ, Election Fraud Prosecutions &

Convictions, Oct. 2002 — Sept. 2005, available at

http://www.truthaboutfraud.org/pdf/doj%20electio

n%20fraud%20prosecutions. pdf.

20

in Wisconsin, but this investigation also disclosed no

evidence of impersonation fraud. See Rokita, 458 F.

Supp. 2d at 793-94 (citing State Ex. 4 (R. 79, Att. 3)

(Preliminary Findings of Joint Task Force

Investigating Possible Election Fraud (May 10, 2005),

available at http://www.wispolitics.com/1006/election

fraud.pdf)). Indeed, the investigation showed very

little evidence of any other type of voter fraud,

although it did turn up severe administrative and

record keeping problems with the Milwaukee

elections board. See id. at 1; see also Greg Borowski,

A New Push To Repair Elections, Milwaukee Journal-

Sentinel, May 15, 2005 (administrative problems and

“jumbled records made confirmation [of voter fraud

allegations] a near impossibility”). The few incidents

that were substantiated involved registration fraud,

double voting and voting by ineligible persons with

felony convictions, not impersonation fraud at the

polis. See Steve Schultze, No Vote Fraud Plot Found,

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel, Dec. 5, 2005.

SABATO AND FUND: The district court

cited two books discussing allegations of voter fraud

generally, see Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d at 793-94

(citing Sabato & Simpson, Dirty Little Secrets 292

(1996) (“Sabato”); Fund, Stealing Elections 64 (2004)

(“Fund”)), but these books contain few allegations of

voting irregularities that could even conceivably have

been remedied by a photo ID requirement. Sabato,

for example, describes thousands of incidents of

possible absentee ballot fraud and numerous

problems plaguing California’s registration rolls.

Sabato at 291-92. But it cites only a single hearsay

allegation of attempted polling-place impersonation

fraud—and that was foiled without a photo ID

requirement. Id. at 292.

Likewise, Fund retails numerous reports of

voting by ineligible persons with felony convictions

and double voting—problems for which requiring a

photo ID is no solution. Fund at 64. And, as noted,

see supra at 13, though Fund parrots allegations of

alleged voting in the name of deceased persons in

Missouri, he offers no evidence that any of these

involved in-person, rather than absentee, voting or

that they were not the result of clerical errors. Fund

at 64. Moreover, allegations of impersonation fraud

in Missouri have been thoroughly discredited. See

supra at 13.

CARTER-BAKER COMMISSION: The

district court also relied on the report of the Carter-

Baker Commission on Federal Election Reform" for

the proposition that impersonation fraud occurs, and

that photo ID requirements are necessary to prevent

it. See Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d at 794 (citing State

Ex. 1 (R. 82, Att. 1) (Commission on Federal Election

16

A review characterizes Fund’s book as filled with

“distortions and half truths” and provides a point-

by-point refutation of many of Fund’s claims. See

Media Matters, John Fund’s Book on Voter Fraud

Is a Fraud (Oct. 31, 2004), http://mediamatters.

org/items/printable/200411010001.

“The Carter-Baker Commission was not a

commission of the federal government; it was an

independent project organized by American

University.

79

Reform, Building Confidence in U.S. Elections (Sept.

2005) (“Carter-Baker Report”))). The Commission

cites no credible evidence of impersonation fraud,

instead simply referring to the since-discredited

reports of such fraud in Milwaukee and Washington

State. Compare Carter-Baker Report at 2-4, 18 with

supra at 14-15, 17-18. Moreover, as one of the

dissenters notes, the Commission “did not call as

witnesses many of the most established experts on

the issue [of voter ID requirements]. A commission’s

reliance on anecdotes and political sound bites—

rather than empirical data, testimony by top experts,

and rigorous analysis—undermines its credibility.”

Spencer Overton, Establishing Procedures for

Credible Advisory Commissions (2005),

http://www.carterbakerdissent.com/procedure.php. "

Finally, reliance on the Carter-Baker Report

for support of Indiana’s photo ID law is misplaced:

the Commission’s co-chairs, President Carter and

Is

Deficiencies are found in every other article and

report cited by the district court. See Rokita, 458

F. Supp. 2d at 793-94 (citing State Exs. 2-18 (R.

79; R. 82, R. 83)); id. at 826 (citing State Exs. 3-

18). Many are newspaper reports of “double

voting” by voters at multiple addresses. See, e.g.,

State’s Exs. 5, 8 (R. #2 Atts. 2,5). Other exhibits

detail voting by persons with felony convictions,

some of whom may have been ineligible. See, e.g.,

State’s Exs. 3, 4, 7 & 9 (R. 79, Att. 3; R. 82 Att. 4;

R. 83, Att. 1). These problems can only be

prevented by an accurate registration list, not by a

photo ID requirement.

23

Secretary Baker, condemned Georgia’s initial photo

ID law as “discriminatory” because “it was costly or

difficult for poor Georgians.” Jimmy Carter and

James A. Baker III, Voting Reform Is in the Cards,

N.Y. Times, Sept. 23, 2005. While they proposed a

nation-wide, uniform photo ID, known as the REAL

ID, as a requirement for in-person voting, they did so

in the hope of remedying the problems created by

allowing individual states—like Georgia—to impose

ID requirements. They hoped that the discriminatory

burdens of a photo ID requirement could be

eliminated if states were obliged “to seek out citizens

to both register voters and provide them with free

ID’s that meet federal standards,” through a host of

aifirmative and energetic activities. Jd. President

Carter’s and Secretary Baker’s vision ignores the

burdens on low-income voters even if the ID itself is

free.” In any event, the Indiana law—which is even

more stringent than Georgia’s—is the antithesis of

their vision.”

COHHIO STUDY: A study of alleged fraud in

Ohio which is not in the record further confirms that

impersonation fraud is not a problem. See Coalition

of Homelessness and Housing in Ohio & League of

19

See Indiana Democratic Party Petitioners’ Br. at

13-16.

For a full critique of the Carter-Baker Report,

including its endorsement of REAL IDs, see

generally Brennan Center & Spencer Overton,

Response to the Report of the 2005 Commission on

Federal Election Reform (Sept. 19, 2005).

20

24

Women Voters Coalition, Let the People Vote 1 (2005),

http://www.cohhio.org/alerts/Election%20Reform%20

Report.pdf. Researchers interviewed the Director or

Deputy Director of each of the state’s 88 county

Boards of Elections and concluded that voter fraud as

a whole was an “exceedingly rare” occurrence, as

evidenced by the fact that, out of a total of 9,078,728

votes cast, there were only four reported instances of

ineligible persons voting or attempting to vote in

2002 and 2004, confined to three of the state’s 88

counties. Jd. at 2. The report does not indicate why

the four persons were ineligible, or whether polling-

place impersonation fraud was involved.

* * *

In sum, the national evidence—including the

very evidence relied on by the courts below—suggests

that the type of voting fraud that may be remedied by

a photo ID requirement is virtually nonexistent: the

“problem” of voter impersonation is not a real

problem at all.

The court of appeals nevertheless speculated

that the absence of evidence of impersonation fraud

might be explained by the “endemic

underenforcement of minor criminal! laws” and the

“difficulty of apprehending a voter impersonator.”

Crawford, 472 F.3d at 953. But guesswork is

misplaced where fundamental rights are at stake:

courts should decide voting-rights cases on the basis

of “facts rather than speculation.” Purcell, 127 S. Ct.

at 8 (2006) (Stevens, J., concurring). Further, the

more reasonable explanation for the absence of

evidence of polling-place impersonation fraud is that,

because such fraud is extremely risky, exposes the

perpetrator to severe penalties,” and has very little

payoff, it rarely occurs.”

21

2

oe

The court of appeals’ statement regarding the

“underenforcement of minor criminal laws” is

contradicted by the fact that, since 2002, the

Department of Justice has given priority to, and

devoted vast resources to, the investigation and

prosecution of voter fraud. See DOJ Report

(noting establishment in 2002 of initiative

requiring “expanded efforts to address election

crimes” and placing “a high priority on the

investigation and prosecution of election crimes”).

In spite of these efforts, DOJ has found not one

instance of polling-place impersonation.

Voter impersonation in a federal election can

result in five years’ maximum imprisonment and

$10,000 maximum fines. See 42 U.S.C. § 1973i(c).

Under Indiana law, impersonation fraud is

punishable as a Class D felony by three years

maximum imprisonment, and $10,000 maximum

fines. See Ind. Code §§ 3-14-2-12, 35-50-2-7(a).

Notably, the court of appeals posited that some

voters are likely to be discouraged from voting

rather than incur the time and trouble to obtain a

photo ID, because a single vote supposedly has a

low “instrumental value”—i.e., voters believe their

individual vote will not determine the election’s

outcome. See Crawford, 472 F.3d at 951. But if

26

The court of appeals also opined that Indiana’s

inflated voter registration rolls created an “acute

danger” of impersonation fray.d. Crawford, 472 F.3d

at 953. But central to Congress’s enactment of HAVA

was the conviction that states’ maintenance of

accurate, updated registration lists is the best

remedy for the dangers created by inflated, outdated

registration lists. Indiana citizens should not be

burdened with photo ID requirements to remedy a

speculative threat created by Indiana’s failure to

comply with federal law. The court of appeals

dismissed Congress’s remedy as ineffectual, without

any basis in fact and contrary to the views of

Congress and election experts. See, e.g., 148 Cong.

Rec. S10491 (2002) (statement of Sen. Bond) (noting

that HAVA “requires states to set up a computerized,

statewide voter registration system to maintain the

names of all registered, eligible voters [and eliminate

the risk that rolls will contain] the names of people

who have left the jurisdiction, who are not eligible to

vote because of their status as a felon, who are

deceased or who are not eligible to vote in that

jurisdiction for any number of reasons”).

that is true, impersonation fraud is likely to be

discouraged by the severe penalties for such

conduct, because there would be little reason to

incur such great risks for a payoff of such low

“instrumental! value.”

27

B. Alleged Perceptions Or Fears of Voter

Fraud Do Not Justify Indiana’s Photo ID

Requirement

The district court advanced an alternative

justification for the photo ID requirement that is

equally unpersuasive: Indiana’s interest in

responding to public perceptions or fears of voter

fraud. In upholding the photo ID requirement, the

district court credited “several polls indicating voter

concern about election fraud and support for photo

identification requirements at the polls.” Rokita, 458

F. Supp. 2d at 794. The court’s reliance on these

public opinion polls was wrong for several reasons.

First, none of the cited polls reflects any public

concern with polling-place impersonation fraud. See

Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d at 794 (citing State Exs. 22 —

24 (R. 84, Atts. 2-4)). A Gallup poll relied on by the

district court showed that two-thirds of Americans

had little confidence in the fairness of the 2000

Presidential election—and that 68% cof African

Americans felt “cheated” after that election. See

Rokita, 458 F. Supp. 2d at 794 (citing State Ex. 23 (R.

84, Att. 3) (Wendy W. Simmons, Black Americans

Feel Cheated by Election 2000, Gallup News Service,

Dec. 20, 2000)). Much of this sentiment reflected

concerns that valid votes would not be counted and

was entirely unconnected to any threat of

impersonation fraud. See Simmons at 6. The only

poll relied on by the district court which manifested

public support for photo ID laws does not identify

which of those surveyed were voters who already had

drivers licenses and other acceptable photo IDs and

for whom a photo ID requirement imposes virtually

28

no burden, and which, if any, were disadvantaged

voters who do not have photo IDs and who must incur

the burdens of obtaining one to vote. See Rokita, 458

F. Supp. 2d at 794 (citing State Ex. 22 (R. 84, Att. 2)).

The majority of voters already have acceptable photo

IDs. It is therefore not surprising that many of them

would unthinkingly support such a requirement

without considering the effects it might have on

voting by disadvantaged citizens who lack photo [Ds.

Second, “perceptions” and fears of voter fraud

are subject to manipulation and hence unreliable.*

24

The perception of voter fraud is very different

than the appearance of corruption that is the basis

for upholding campaign finance restrictions. As

this Court recognized, the ability to regulate

activity protected by the First Amendment must

be supported by evidence justifying the precise

fear, which must in turn justify the regulation. In

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976), and then later

in McConnell v. Federal Election Commission, 540

U.S. 93 (2003), the Court repeatedly cited the

extensive factual record of corruption that

Congress had compiled to justify the regulation of

particular acts of campaign finance, and even then

it sufficed only where it imposed merely a

“marginal restriction” on protected activity. See

Buckley, 424 U.S. at 20-21; McConnell, 540. U.S. at

124-25, 129-31, 145-50. In contrast, there is no

factual record of any impersonation fraud

supporting an appearance of such fraud that

would justify Indiana’s regulation. Moreover,

with respect to campaign finance regulation, the

“appearance of corruption is inherent in a system

29

As the Missouri Supreme Court held in striking down

Missouri's photo [ID law, even where such perceptions

are real, if it upheld the law based on “the mere

perception of a problem in this instance, then the

tactic of shaping public misperception could be used

as a mechanism for further burdening the right to

vote or other fundamental rights.” Weinschenk, 203

S.W. 3d at 218.

This Court has stated that “[clonfidence in the

integrity of our electoral process is essential to the

functioning of our participatory democracy” and that

“voters who fear their legitimate votes will be

outweighed by fraudulent ones’ will feel

disenfranchised.” Purcell, 127 S. Ct. at 6. But

nothing could be more damaging to confidence in the

integrity of our electoral process than if such fears

were generated by baseless claims of voter fraud that

are being exploited to gain support jor unnecessarily

stringent identification requirements that suppress

voting by low income and minority citizens and are

seen as a “not-too-thinly-veiled attempt to discourage

election day turnout by certain folks believed to skew

Democratic.” Crawford, 472 F.3d at 954 (Evans, J.

dissenting).”’

permitting unlimited financial contributions.”

Buckley, 424 U.S. at 27. But there is no inherent

appearance of impersonation fraud in voting by

eligible voters who lack photo IDs but have other

identification acceptable in virtually every state.

For concerns about the manipulation of claims

about voter fraud, see, e.g., Tova Wang, A Rigged

30

Finally, under our Constitution, the

fundamental rights of the most vulnerable members

of our society may not be stripped away by majority

vote or opinion polls. See, e.g., Lucas v. Forty-Fourth

Gen. Assembly of Colo., 377 U.S. 713, 736-37 (1964)

(“[F ]undamental rights may not be submitted to vote;

they depend on the outcome of no elections. A

citizen’s constitutional rights can hardly be infringed

simply because a majority of the people choose that it

be.”) (quotation marks omitted); id. at 737 n.30 (“It is

too clear for argument that constitutional law is not a

matter of majority vote.”) (quotation marks and

citation omitted).

C. APhoto ID Requirement Is Not Needed

To Prevent Possible Impersonation Fraud

Forty-eight states and Congress have adopted

laws for identifying voters that provide less onerous

alternatives to a photo ID, as did Indiana’s laws until

2005. The absence of evidence of impersonation

fraud shows that these laws, together with criminal

laws severely penalizing such fraud, are adequate to

prevent impersonation fraud. Hence, Indiana has

neither a compelling nor an important interest

justifying the added burden that acquiring the

requisite photo ID imposes on the vulnerable voters

most likely to lack one.

Report on U.S. Voting?, Wash. Post, Aug. 30, 2007;

see also lan Urbina, Panel Said To Alter Finding

on Voter Fraud, N.Y. Times, Apr. 11, 2007.

31

1. Indiana’s Policies for Identifying Voters

Prior to the Adoption of the Photo ID

Requirement Provided an Adequate

Alternative to Photo ID

Prior to 2002, most states, including Indiana,

did not require any documentary proof of identity.

See, e.g., Electionline.org, Election Reform: What's

Changed, What Hasn’t and Why 2000-2006 13 (2006),

available at http://www.electionline.org/Portals/1/Pub

lications/2006.annual.report.Final.pdf (“Electionline

Study”). Under Indiana’s voting procedures, any

questions about identity were addressed by

comparing the voter’s signature at the polls to a

photocopy of her signature in the registration records.

See Ind. Code § 3-11-8-25 (2002). If her signature

were challenged, the voter could affirm by affidavit

that she was qualified to vote in that precinct and

then cast a regular ballot. Jd. § 3-11-8-22.

Indiana revised its election code in 2003

(effective in 2004), see Ind. P. L. 209-2003, § 134, in

response to the federal Help America Vote Act of

2002 (“HAVA”), see generally 42 U.S.C. § 15301, et

seq. Congress passed HAVA in response to the deeply

flawed 2000 election and the widespread problems

that occurred when administrative errors resulted in

eligible voters being left off the registration rolls—

and denied the right to vote. Among other provisions,

HAVA requires that first-time voters who register by

mail, and whose registration information cannot

otherwise be verified against other government

databases, must confirm their identities through a

variety of widely available documents: a current and

valid photo ID, a current utility bill, bank statement,

government check or paycheck, or another

government document that shows the name and

address of the voter. See id. § 15483(b)(2), b(3)(B).

In 2003, Indiana adopted HAVA’s

requirements for first-time voters who register by

mail, who were then required to provide some form of

documentary identification—including a range of

non-photo ID showing the name and address of the

voter. See Ind. Code § 3-11-8-25 (2004). Despite the

lack of any evidence of actual or threatened

impersonation fraud rendering these ID provisions

inadequate to prevent such fraud, just two years

later, in 2005, the Indiana legislature mandated that

all in-person voters (except nursing home residents

voting in their nursing homes) display a photo ID

issued by the state or federal government and

bearing an expiration date. The absence of polling-

place impersonation fraud shows that the imposition

of a new, stringent photo ID requirement is not

needed to prevent polling-place impersonation fraud.

It is also pertinent that Indiana’s law is at

odds with less burdensome alternatives adopted by

the federal government in HAVA, and by forty-eight

of Indiana’s sister states and that these states, like

Indiana, have not had an impersonation fraud

problem.

2. Less Onerous Methods of Voter

Identification in Other States Provide

Adequate Alternatives to Photo ID

In 48 states and the District of Columbia, a

photo ID is not the exclusive requirement for casting

33

a ballot that will count. These states provide

alternative means for confirming voters’ identities,

and as the absence of any meaningful evidence of

impersonation fraud indicates, these alternatives are

sufficient to protect the integrity of elections.

As noted, prior to 2002, most states did not

require voters to show any documentary

identification before voting in person. See supra at

27. And although all states have now implemented

HAVA’s identification requirements and _ request

some form of documentary identification—including

non-photo [D—from first-time voters who registered

by mail and have not been “matched” against

government databases, see Electionline Study at 17;

supra at 27-28, besides Indiana, only one other

state—Georgia—currently requires all voters to

produce photo identification before their ballots will

be counted. See generally National Conference of

State Legislatures, State Requirements for Voter

Identification (Feb. 1, 2007), http://www.ncsl.org/pro

grams/legismgt/elect/taskfe/voteridreg.htm (“NCSL

Study”).

Twenty-three states and the District of

Columbia require the documentation enumerated in

HAVA only from first-time voters registering by mail,

see NCSL Study; see also Electionline Study at 17,°

26

These states utilize a variety of mechanisms to

verify the identities of other voters. See generally

Electionline.org, Voter ID Laws (Oct. 17, 2006),

available at http://www.electionline.org/Default.

aspx?tabid=364 (“Voter ID Laws”); NCSL Study.

34

while Kansas and Pennsylvania require the ID

specified in HAVA from all first-time voters.

The remaining twenty-five states require all

voters—whether first-time or “repeat” voters—to

produce some documentary ID. Eighteen of these

states’ request that all voters produce some form of

documentary identification, but accept both photo

and non-photo ID. See generally Electionline Study

at 17; Voter ID Laws.” Only seven states—Florida,

27

28

Some states permit these voters to verify identity

by signing a registration card or book for

comparison with a signature on a master list. See,

e.g., Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.277; N.J. Stat. Ann.

§ 19:3la-8. Other states confirm voters’ identities

by having the voter orally recite or affirm

identifying information. See, e.g., Mass. Gen.

Laws ch. 54, § 76; Neb. Rev. Stat. § 32-914; Utah

Code Ann. § 20A-3-104.

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado,

Connecticut, Delaware, Kentucky, Missouri,

Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, South

Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and

Washington.

The list of acceptable forms of ID varies, but

almost every state’s list includes options for voters

that are either contained in the text of HAVA, or

closely related to its model. See generally Voter

ID Laws. Various states have augmented HAVA’s

list of acceptable IDs with additional, widely

available alternative forms of documentary proof.

See id. Moreover, in many states, voters lacking

documentary identification can prove identity

35

Georgia, Hawaii, Indiana, Louisiana, Michigan, and

South Dakota—require voters to display a photo ID

when they vote in person, but five of these seven

states provide meaningful alternatives that allow

voters lacking photo IDs to cast votes that are

counted. Only Indiana and Georgia fail to provide a

non-photo ID alternative to voters lacking a photo

ID.”

The five remaining states with laws that

request photo IDs of all voters provide voters who

29

through non-documentary means, such as reciting

unique identifying information or signing an

affidavit. See generally Voter ID Laws; NCSL

Study; see also, e.g., N.M. Stat. §§ 1-12-7.1, 1-1-24;

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 9-261(a).

After initially enjoining Georgia’s original photo

ID law, see Common Cause/Georgia v. Billups,

406 F. Supp. 2d 1326 (N.D. Ga. 2005), a federal

district court subsequently rejected the litigants’

standing to challenge an amended version of the

law, see Common Cause/Georgia v. Billups, 504

F. Supp. 2d 1333 (N.D. Ga.), appeal filed No. 07-

14664C (11th Cir. 2007). The court nevertheless

opined in dicta that the amended law was

onstitutional, noting, inter alia, that Georgia had

amended the law in an attempt to minimize the

burdens on voters; did not require voters to

provide birth certificates to obtain free IDs; and

conducted an extensive outreach and education

campaign targeting voters likely to lack photo

IDs—measures absent in Indiana. See Common

Cause /Georgia, 504 F. Supp. 2d at 1378-80.

lack photo ID with various less burdensome

alternatives. A Michigan voter lacking a photo ID

may sign “an affidavit to that effect before an election

inspector and [will] be allowed to vote” a regular

ballot. Mich. Comp. Laws § 168.523. South Dakota

voters without a photo ID may also vote after

completing an affidavit. See S.D. Codified Laws § 12-

18-6.2. And in Louisiana, a voter lacking photo ID

may vote after signing an affidavit so long as she

provides either a current voter registration certificate

or other information requested by the election

commissioners of her precinct. See La. Rev. Stat.

Ann. § 18:562(A)(2).

Hawaii's voter identification statute provides

that “[e]very person shall provide identification if so

requested,” Haw. Rev. Stat. § 11-136, and the website

of Hawaii’s Office of Elections makes clear that all

voters “will be asked to. . . verify . . . identity with a

picture ID.” Hawaii Office of Elections, How to Vote

at the Polling Place (Nov. 9, 2007), http://www. hawaii

.gov/elections/voters/howtovote.htm. Hawaii's official

manual for polling-place procedures, however, directs

poll workers to accept various forms of non-photo ID,

and makes clear that if a voter is unable to produce

documentary ID, she is simply asked to recite her

date of birth and home address, and if the voter's

responses match the information contained in the poll

book, she may vote a regular ballot. See Hawaii

Office of Elections, Chairperson and Voter Assistance

Official’s Manual 58-59 (2006); NCSL Study.

Finally, in Florida, voters lacking photo ID

may sign an affidavit, and Florida will count the

ballot if the signature on the affidavit matches that

37

on the registration form: the voter is not required to

make an additional trip to an election office or to

return to the polls with ID, as in Indiana. See Fla.

Stat. §§ 101.043(2), 101.048(2)(b).

* * *

There is no evidence that polling-place

impersonation fraud represents a genuine problem

anywhere in the United States, and less onerous

alternatives have proven more than adequate to

prevent it. The additional hurdle to voter

participation erected by Indiana’s photo ID

requirement cannot be justified as a reasonable,

nondiscriminatory remedy to prevent impersonation

fraud. Indiana’s imposition of this additional obstacle

to electoral participation that primarily burdens

disadvantaged voters is an unnecessary and

unreasonable means of preventing impersonation

fraud. It, therefore, violates the First and Fourteenth

Amendments.

38

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the

court of appeals should be reversed.

November 13, 2007

Respectfully Submitted,

WENDY R. WEISER SIDNEY S. ROSDEITCHER

JUSTIN LEVITT COUNSEL OF RECORD

RENEE PARADIS J. ADAM SKAGGS

BRENNAN CENTER FOR PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND,

JUSTICE AT NYU WHARTON & GARRISON LLP

SCHOOL OF LAW 1285 AVENUE OF THE AMERICAS

161 AVENUE OF THE AMERICAS NEW YORK, NY 10019

NEW YORK, NY 10013 (212) 373-3000

(212) 998-6730

Counsel for Amici Curiae

39

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.