Amicus Curiae Brief — Spector v. Norwegian Cruise Line Ltd.

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Court, U.S.

, ILED

a Vara

No. 03-1388 OFFICEOF THE CLERK |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

DOUGLAS SPECTOR, et al.,

Petitioners,

v.

NORWEGIAN CRUISE LINE LTD.,

Respondent.

On Writ oF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED StaTEs Court OF APPEALS

FOR THE FirtrH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE

JONATHAN M. GUTOFF

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

—--— —

Davip M. ZLOTNICK

ROGER WILLIAMS UNIVERSITY

SCHOOL OF LAw

10 Metacom Avenue

Bristol, Rhode Island 02809

(401) 254-4614

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

191312 g

COUNSEL PRESS

(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

oreign-flag

fi

that operate

QUESTION PRESENTED

ships with

l

:

al

| hee

are

LF

E

A

=

=

(“Title III’), applies to

cruise

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ....ccccsccscccccess

TABLES OF COINSEIINED oc ccccecedentesubenne

I.

FLAGS OF CONVENIENCE GRANTED BY

NATIONS WITH OPEN REGISTRIES

REPRESENT A COMMER-CIAL DECISION

BY VESSEL OWNERS RATHER THAN

A SOVERIGN INTEREST OF THE

FLAGGING NATION. .................

A. Background of Flags of Convenience. . .

B. The Mechanics of Open Registries and

Flags of Comvemiemce .........ccee0.

1. National and Open Registries

eo eee

2. The Role of Classification

Societies—The Privatization of

Sovereign Authority. ............

C. Flags of Convenience and the Cruise Ship

Pe”

11

13

II.

ill

Contents

BECAUSE THE DISCRIMINATION

ALLEGED BY MR. SPECTER COMES

WITHIN THE ADMIRALTY JURISDICTION

OF THE FEDERAL COURTS WELL-

ESTABLISHED ADMIRALTY OF CHOICE-

OF-LAW PRINCIPLES APPLY TO HIS

Ci CCCUeb eee ebeesceseesec cons

A. Mr. Spector’s Claim is Within the

Admiralty and Maritime Jurisdiction of

Cg eee

B. Admiralty Choice of Law Principles

Involve a Consideration of a Variety of

Factors in Addition to The Flag of the

Vessel and Applies to Laws the Have the

Potential to Affect the Structure of A

Vessel, As Opposed to Labor-Manage-

EE

1. Admiralty Choice of Law Principles

Involve More than Consideration of

the Flag of a Vessel. ............

2. The Lauritzen-Romero-Rhoditis

Choice of Law Analysis is Applicable

to Claims Relating to Ship

Management and Construction. ...

C. Congress Was Aware of the Lauritzen-

Romero-Rhoditis Test When It Enacted

SEG

Cin cab Wancecsvccesececes:

Page

17

17

20

20

22

27

29

iv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Constitutional Provisions

U.S. Const. Art. Ill, §2,cl.1 .............. 17

Statutes

Act of Dec. 29, 1982, P.L. 97-389. Tit]

96 Stat.1955 ......... tees oe 28

An Act to Establish the Judicial Courts of the United

States, ch. 20, § 9, 1 Stat. ee li) | 18

28 U.S.C. § 1333(1) I eg ed ie os Pei. 18

42 U.S.C. §§ 12181-12187 (2000) (“Title III”) .... passim

46 U.S.C. app. § 289 (2000) ................... 14

46 U.S.C. app. § 688 (2000) (the “Jones gS 20, 28

46 U.S.C. § 8103 (2000) ...................... 8

46 U.S.C. § 12102 (2000) ..................... 8

Legislative Materials

128 Cong. Rec.H. 7,631 (daily ed. Sept. 28, 1982)

(+000 euwie concede abe eee bsWabale ih bodes 28

H.R. 3942, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. ee 28

H.R. 4863, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. a 28

H.R. Rep. No. 97-863, 97th Cong., 2d Sess., 1982 .. 28

Cited Authorities

Page

Treaties and Conventions

International Convention on Load Lines, April 5,

1966, 18 U.S.T. 1857 (with 1988 Protocol) .... 12

International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea,

1974 (with 1978 and 1988 Protocols), 14 I.L.M.

959 (“SOLAS”) ..... cc ccccccccercccccccees 12, 15

International Convention on Tonnage Measurement

of Ships, June 23, 1969, TIAS 10490, 34 U.S.T.

ec ick cs uedcdaeteevensssnneveesaeWons 12

Supreme Court Cases

Boudin v. Lykes Brothers Steamship Co., 348 U.S. 336

CORED 6 cke cn dcsnsecsaprerssenscoeswenesse 24

Benz v. Compania Naviera Hidalgo,S.A. , 353 U.S.

REGIE a vc vcccccnncecscsscesccececssees 22, 26

Crumady v. The Joachim Hendrik Fisser, 358 U.S.

ot, errr rrr errr rae rere trier. 24, 25

Cunard S.S. Co. v. Mellon, 262 U.S. 100 (1923) .. +

East River S.S. Corp. v. Transamerica Deleval, Inc.,

476 U.S. 858 (1986) ...... cece ee eee eee ees 24

Ferguson v. Moore-McCormack Lines, Inc., 352 USS.

23

FT) 2) ee err ere ee eee ee ee

vi

Cited Authorities

Page

Hellenic Lines Ltd. v. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306 (1970)

Ee eT eT TPO SET TET SOOO Tee passim

Italia Societa per Azioni di Navigazione v. Oregon

Stevedoring Co, 376 U.S. 315 (1964) ......... 24

Jerome B. Grubart, Inc. v. Great Lakes Dredge & Dock

ee | ae 18, 19

Keremec v. Compagnie Transatlantique 358 U.S. 625

Ce ee a a Pr 18, 24

Kernan v. American Dredging Co., 355 U.S. 426

SUE wh oe 54 6600 4c kek dbo eee eneasein 23

Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 571 (1953) ........ passim

Lewis v. Lewis and Clark Marine, Co., 531 U.S. 438

NE Kc 000s bide dines been ube baba tee dcoes l

Mahnich v. Southern S.S. Co., 321 U.S. 96 (1944) ... 23

McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros

de Honduras, 372 U.S. 10 (1963) ............. 26, 27

Michalic v. Cleveland Tankers, Inc. 364 U.S. 325

ee + V becdadhcaswecssgenkes Hissin 24, 25

Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19 (1990) ...26, 27

Mitchell v. Trawler Racer, Inc., 362 U.S. 539 (1960)

vil

Cited Authorities

Page

Moragne v. States Marine Line, Inc., 398 U.S. 375

SEED v cecdenccedicesecevssisecudssepes es 23

The Moses Taylor, 71 U.S. 411 (1866) id eidaeds 18

Norfolk Shipbuilding & Drydock Corp. v. Garris,

or gid BolT, | rere rrr errr rr 25-26

Norfolk Southern Ry. Co. v. Kirby, 125 S. Ct. 385

Pr rrrerrrrrrrrrrt iret tier ie 18

Pope & Talbot, Inc. v. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406 (1953) .. 18

Romero v. International Terminal Operating Co., |

SOB UD. TOG CHGS) wc ccc cccceseccccccsccss passim

Sission v. Ruby, 497 U.S. 358 (1990) ........... 18

Waldron v. Moore-McCormick Lines, 386 U.S. 724

BUTE cc aneerectcecceeseceueauasdseeseses 24

Lower Court Cases

Alpert v. Zim Lines, 370 F.2d 115 (3d Cir. 1966) ... 19-20

American President Lines, v. Lundstrom, 323 F.2d 817

SOU GEE, TIE onc sv ccccccccvccvcsecccousess 20

Beretta v. Home Lines, Inc., 1990 A.M.C. 1857

(S.D.N.Y. 1990) ....... cece ccc e eee eeeneees 24

Chamberlin v. Chandler, 5 F.Cas. 412 (C.C.D. Mass.

Coo) ky). Serene i9

Vill

Cited Authorities

Chicago, D. & GB. Transit Co. v. Moore, 259 F. 490

(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 251 U.S. 553 (1919) ...

Defrier v. The Nicaragua, 81 F. 745 (S.D. Ala. 1897)

ee 26 8 @-e

se.

"Ve 898 02666068 6 6 6 6

i. £ es S

i |

Friedman v. Cunard Line Ltd., 996 F

be Supp.

(S.D.N.Y. 1998) upp. 303

a. is

7VVACee Cae eve Owe ee

“ef © @ «©

Harnesk v. Carnival Cruise Lines, 1992

’ A.M. .

(S.D. Fla. 1991) C. 1857

Karvelis v. Constellation Lines S.A., 806 F.2d 49 (2d

Cir. N.Y. 1986), cert. denied sub nom.,

Constellation Lines, S. A. yv. Ka lise

a3 olen rvelis, 481 U.S.

is Fe se Fy

eee ec eee eee ep eeese eee

*_e* ef @ «

Kornberg v. Carnival Cruise Lines, 74

, 41 F.

(11th Cir. 1984) 2d 1332

Keefe v. Bahama Cruise Lines, Inc., 715 F. Supp. 1069

(M.D. Fla. 1989), aff’d, 902 F.2

ame uff .2d 959 (11th Cir.

’ ,

Oispuk v. Oceanic Steam Navigati

gation Co., 58 F.2

(S.D.N.Y. 1932) win

Page

19

19

19

24

21

19

24

24

19

ix

Cited Authorities

Page

Pandazopoulos v. Universal Cruise Line, Inc.,

365 F. Supp. 208 (S.D.N.Y. 1973) .......+++:: 22

Silivanch y. Celebrity Cruises, Inc., 171 F. Supp. 2d

241 (S.D.N.Y. 2001), app. dismissed, 333 F.3d 355

(2d Cir. 2003), cert. denied sub. nom., Essef Corp.

v. Silivanch, 124 S. Ct. 1047 (2004) ........... 24-25

Spector v. Norwegian Cruise Line, Ltd., 356 F.3d 641

(Sth Cir. 2004) ........ ce eee ee cere reer eens 22

Sundance Cruise Corp. v. American Bureau of

Shipping, 7 F.3d 1077 (2d Cir. 1993) ........- 12

Books and Reports

10 Benedict on Admiralty (7th rev. ed. 2003) ..... 14

Committee of Inquiry into Shipping: London,

H.M.S.O. 1970, Cmnd 4337 .........--00 005: 6

Richard H. Fallon, et al., Hart and Wechsler’s Federal

Courts and the Federal System (Sth ed. 2003) .. l

Grant Gilmore & Charles L. Black, Jr., The Law of

Admiralty (2d ed. 1975) ......--0e esse ener 21

International Ship Registry Review, The Official

Guide to Ship Registries, 233 (2002) ......... 8,9, 10

William Langweische, The Outlaw Sea (2004) .... 4

N.P. Ready, Ship Registration (1991) ........... 3

x

Cited Authorities

Robert Rienow, Test of the Nationality of a Merchant

eT Te eee kee ee

Kay Showker & Bob Schlinger, The Unofficial Guide

Ss ED oon. cn dGdewencevdscuex

United Nations Consolidated Appeal Process , Liberia:

Mid-Year Review (2004) .................4.

Articles

H. Edward Anderson III, The Nationality of Ships and

Flags of Convenience: Economics, Politics, and

Page

14

Alternatives 21 Tul Mar. L.J. 139 (1996) .... 4

Leslie J. Buglass, Marine Insurance and General

Average in the United States, 30-31 (1981) .... 11

James Book, Landlocked Mongolia’s Seafaring

Tradition, N.Y. Times, Jul. 2, 2004, sec. W, p.1 col.3

(5:0 6beeeeneer enn Gandsneseeakd be kebne deen 5

Richard H. Fallon, et a/., Hart and Wechsler’s Federal _

Courts and the Federal System, 737, 738, 931

SE Gibk haben eney eda eceleeeees es l

Machael A. Miller, Liability of Calssification Societies

from the Perspective of Untied States Law,

22 Mar. Law. 75, 84(1997) ............... 11-12, 13

xi

Cited Authorities

Somini Sengupta, Young Guns for Hire, Warriors in

West Africa Need Jobs As Well as Peace

Treaties, N.Y. Times, May 23, 2004 sec.1 p.5S col.1

Stephen Thomas, Jr., State Regulation of Cruise Ship

Pollution: Alaska's Commercial Passenger Vessel

Compliance Program as a Model for Florida,

13 J. Transnat’! L. & Pol’y 533 (2004) .........

Websites

http://www.access-board.gov/pvaac/guideline.htm

(last visited Nov. 29, 2004) ................

http://www. guidetoshipregistries.com (last visited

ee ae re

http://www. guidetoshipregistries.com /Private/Flags/

Bermuda/Bermuda%20Crewing.htm (last visited

ee aa eak ghee bau edwen kas baens we

http://www. guidetoshipregistries.com/

Private/Flags/Bermuda

Bermuda%20Shipowner%20Eligibility.htm

(last visited Nov. 29, 2004) ~-................

http://www. guidetoshipregistries.com/Private/Flags/

BermudaBermuda%20Vessel%20Eligibility

%20&%20Survey%20 Requirements.htm (last

SED 6 eed necccweccesdeecens

Page

10

9,10

xii

Cited Authorities

http://www. guidetoshipregistries.com/ Private/Flags/

Bermuda/Bermuda%20Taxation.htm (last visited

FEE Heb UD 0b chk os ec kiveedeess oeesdesas

http://www. itf.org.uk/English/flagsconvenience/

countries (last visited Oct. 16, 2004) ..........

http://www. liscr.com (last Visited Nov. 19, 2004) ...

http://www.ncl.com/ destinations/hawaii/ index.htm

es PE CUE SU ED 0 6o-6 cdc ewscsideds

http://www.oduport.org/REGULATORYISSUES.htm

(last visited Nov. 28, 2004) .................

Page

l

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

Amicus Curiae is an Associate Professor of Law at Roger

Williams University School of Law in Bristol, Rhode Island.

His main teaching and research interests are maritime practice

procedure. Professor Gutoff’s courses include Admiralty, Marine

Pollution, Maritime Practice and Procedure and Salvage. For

three years, from 2001-2003, he was Acting Director of the

Marine Affairs Institute at Roger Williams, which, with the

University of Rhode Island’s Sea Grant program, sponsors

symposia, research, community outreach and a joint J.D.-Master

of Marine Affairs program. In addition to various presentations

at symposia sponsored by the Marine A ffairs Institute, Professor

Gutoff has presented his work at conferences and symposia

sponsored by the Universities of Pisa and Genoa, the Luso-

American Foundation and the Association of American Law

Schools. Professor Gutoff’s work has been widely cited in

articles on maritime law and international law. In addition his

works have been cited by courts, including this Court, see Lewis

v. Lewis and Clark Marine, Co., 531 U.S. 438, 444 (2001), and

by scholarly works on federal jurisdiction. See, e.g., Richard H.

Fallon, et a/., Hart and Wechsler’s Federal Courts and the Federal

System, 737, 738, 931 (Sth ed. 2003). As a teacher of, and writer

on, maritime law, Professor Gutoff has an interest in the

consistent and principled application of that body of law in

accord with the realities of the maritime industry.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMEP'T

First, since the end of the Second World War, the maritime

world has seen various nations open their vessel registries to

vessel owners of all nations, no matter the lack of connection

between the vessel being registered and the nation operating

1. No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part.

No person or entity, other than the Roger Williams University School of

Law, which paid for the printing of this brief through Professor Gutoff’s

research account, made a monetary contribution to the preparation or

submission of this brief. This brief is filed with the written consent of

the parties, reflected in letters on file with the Clerk.

2

the registry. These so-called “open registries” or “flags of

convenience” generally give over their obligation to inspect and

regulate vessels registered with them to private classification

societies, which inspect vessels for their compliance with various

requirements to ensure their safety at sea. Accordingly, nations

with open registries do not have their sovereignty wrapped up

with the vessels in their registries. Some nations with open

registries do not have a strong sovereign presence at sea, and,

some cannot be said to be fully functioning sovereign nations.

Accordingly, the presumption, employed by the court below,

that United States law applied to a foreign flagged vessel within

United States waters would impinge the sovereignty of the

flagging nation makes no sense in light of the current reality of

the shipping industry in general and the cruise ship industry in

particular; for, the vast majority of cruise ships fly flags of

convenience and are under control not of sovereign nations,

but of commercial classification societies.

Second, because a claim of discrimination by a cruise ship

passenger aboard the vessel involves a claim arising out of a

maritime contract and a maritime tort, the choice of law involved

for such a case should be the choice of law principles established

by this Court. Under these principles the law of the flag of the

vessel involved is only one factor, of at least eight, to be

considered. Where the flag is a flag of convenience the law of

the flag should not be given very much import. Because the

requiements of Title III are very much like duties imposed by

the general maritime law and do not regulate the relation between

employers and employee, or between the officers and crew, of

foreign vessels, the general maritime law principles of choice

of law should determine whether Title III applies to a foreign

flagged vessel.

3

ARGUMENT

I.

FLAGS OF CONVENIENCE GRANTED BY NATIONS

WITH OPEN REGISTRIES REPRESENT A COMMER-

CIAL DECISION BY VESSEL OWNERS RATHER THAN

ASOVERIGN INTEREST OF THE FLAGGING NATION.

The decision of the Fifth Circuit below was based, in part,

on the consideration that to apply Title III to foreign flagged

cruise ships in United States waters would impinge upon the

sovereignty of the nations providing those vessels with a flag.

This holding is based on a misperception of the maritime

industry in general and the cruise ship industry in particular.

Today, many nations open their ship registries to vessel owners

from around the world. These nations, for the most part, delegate

their control over their merchant marine to a variety of

classification societies, organizations that were founded to serve

the insurance industry and provide certificates of compliance

with various safety regulations. The decision of a vessel owner

on where to flag its vessel is based on commercial convenience.

This is especially true of the United States cruise ship industry,

cruise ships operating out of the United States are, with one

exception, only nominally connected to the nations whose flags

they fly.

A. Background of Flags of Convenience.

The registration of a ship with a particular nation gives that

vessel the protection, indicated by the flag, of the registering

nation in return for an agreement by the owner and operator of

the vessel to follow the registering nation’s law. N.P. Ready,

Ship Registration 8-9 (1991). Until recently the purpose of a

nation state in maintaining a registry of merchant vessels was

to be able to take advantage of their shipping capacity in time

of war. Robert Rienow, Test of the Nationality of a Merchant

Vessel 155- 57 (1937). It is therefore interesting, if not ironic,

that the practice of registering ships with nations other than

that of their owner or their base of operation has its modern

4

origins in the period preceding this country’s entry in the Second

World War. The federal government encouraged carriers

bringing war material to the United Kingdom to register their

vessels in Panama to avoid United States neutrality law. William

Langweische, The Outlaw Sea 5 (2004).?

Following the Second World War, United States vessel

owners became aware of the great cost savings of Panamanian

registry as it freed them from United States shipping regulations.

Id. Similarly, with encouragement from the State Department

the Liberian registry was created by American oil companies

for their tankers both as a means of avoiding United States

regulations and a tool for foreign aid. /d. at 6. As this Court

observed in 1953, “it is common knowledge that in recent years

a practice has grown, particularly among American shipowners,

to avoid stringent shipping laws by seeking foreign registration

eagerly offered by some countries.” Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345

U.S. 571, 587 (1953).

In the 1980s a large number of other nations started opening

up their registries to the owners of vessels from around the world.

Since then the number of open registries and vessels flying those

registries flags has continued to grow. The nations providing

open registries gain income from the registration fees and any

taxes they may impose. The vessel owners gain freedom from

regulation and, very often, taxes from the countries in which

they are located or where they base their operations. Vessel

owners shop around for registries that will provide them with

the best possible conditions in terms of fees, regulation and

access to various markets, and registries compete with each other

2. Some trace the origins to the desire of vessel owners to avoid

the prohibition-era ban on the sale of alcohol aboard U.S.-registered

vessels. See H. Edward Anderson III, The Nationality of Ships and Flags

of Convenience: Economics, Politics, and Alternatives 21 Tul Mar. L.J.

139, 156 (1996). This Court has held, however, that the national

prohibition against alcoholic beverages applied to foreign flagged vessels

voluntarily entering United States waters. Cunard S.S. Co. v. Mellon,

262 U.S. 100 (1923).

5

for the business of vessel owners. Indeed there is a commercial

website on which subscribers can, with the click of a mouse,

comparison shop among various ship registries to find the

registry best suited, in terms of cost and regulatory environment,

for a vessel owner. See http://www.guidetoshipregistries.com

(last visited Nov. 20, 2004).

For example, one nation that has recently started providing

an open registry is landlocked Mongolia. Its maritime code was

drafted by a Mongolian scholarship student in the Soviet Union

who had accidentally been directed to study deep sea fishing,

rather than fish farming. The law went into effect in 1999 and

the registry opened for business in 2003. According to the

administrator of Mongolia’s registry, the registry earned

Mongolia about $200,000 in 2003 and this year Mongolia is

receiving 20-30 new registrations per month. James Book,

Landlocked Mongolia’s Seafaring Tradition, N.Y. Times,

Jul. 2, 2004, sec.W, p.1 col.3.

A more troubling example is that of Liberia, whose registry

contains more vessels than that of any other nation. Liberia

currently administers its registry though International Registries,

a firm located in Vienna, Virginia, and has its headquarters in

New York. While the Liberian registry is notably successful in

attracting vessel owners, it can hardly be said to represent the

sovereign control of Liberia over the vessels registered in its

name; for Liberia has only recently concluded a violent civil

war in which large numbers of the populace were displaced and

subject atrocities. See generally United Nations Consolidated

Appeal Process , Liberia: Mid-Year Review (2004) (describing

the current conditions in Liberia and the need for humanitarian

aid). Currently, the United Nations is attempting to disarm and

relocate over 50,000 armed men and women, and as of the

middle of this year the U.N. had received only one-third of the

estimated 12-20 million dollars needed to complete the initial

stage of disarmament. Somini Sengupta, Young Guns for Hire,

Warriors in West Africa Need Jobs As Well as Peace

Treaties, N.Y. Times, May 23, 2004 sec.1 p.5 col.1. To be sure

6

the money gained by Liberia from its registry provides much

needed foreign exchange for that country; however, aside from

the controls of provided by its offices in the United States,

Liberia cannot, and does not, exercise any effective control over

the vessels in its merchant marine.

B. The Mechanics of Open Registries and Flags of

Convenience.

The current understanding of a flag of convenience is

the nationality provided to a vessel by_an open registry.

The characteristics of these registries were first comprehensively

articulated in 1970 by the United Kingdom in what is generally

known as the “Rochedale Report.” See generally Committee of

Inquiry into Shipping: London, H.M.S.O. 1970, Cmnd 4337.

According to the Rochedale Report there are six characteristics

of a flag of convenience:

(1) the country of registry allows ownership and/or

control of its merchant vessels by non-citizens;

(2) access to the registry is easy; ship may usually

be registered at a consulate abroad and, equally

important, transfer from the registry at the owner’s

option is not restricted;

(3) taxes on the income from the ships are either

not levied locally or are very low, and registry fees

and an annual fee, based on tonnage, are normally

the only charges made;

(4) the country of registry is a small power with no

national requirement under any foreseeable

circumstances for all the shipping registered, but

receipts from very small charges on a large tonnage

may produce a substantial effect on its national

income and balance of payments;

(5) crewing of ships by non-nationals is freely

permitted; and

7

(6) the country of registry has neither the power nor

the administrative machinery effectively to impose

any governmental or international regulations; nor

has the country even the wish or the power to control

the companies themselves.

Id. at 151.

1. National and Open Registries Compared.

A comparison between the flagging requirements of the

United States and the four registries providing flags of

convenience for the major cruise lines operating out of the

United States—Bahamas, Bermuda, Liberia and Panama’ — will

provide a ready illustration of how a flag of convenience differs

from a flag issued by a national registry. The United States

requires a registered vessel to be over 5 tons and is open only to

(1) an individual who is a citizen of the United

States;

(2) an association, trust, joint venture, or other

entity—

(A) all of whose members are citizens of

the United States; and

(B) that is capable of holding title to a

vessel under the laws of the United States

or of a State;

(3) apartnership whose general partners are citizens

of the United States, and the controlling interest in

the partnership is owned by citizens of the United

States;

’

3. There are many more open registries. The International Transport

Workers’ Federation lists 28 registries as providing flags of convenience:

Antigua and Barbuda; Bahamas; Barbados; Bermuda; Bolivia; Burma;

Cambodia; Cayman Islands; Comoros; Cyprus; Equatorial Guinea; the

German International Ship Registry; Gibraltar; Honduras; Jamaica;

Lebanon; Liberia; Malta; Marshall Islands; Mauritius; Mongolia;

Netherlands Antilles; Panama; Sao Tome and Principe; St Vincent; Sri

Lanka; Tonga; and Vanuatu. See http://www.itf.org.uk/English/

flagsconvenience/countries (last visited Oct. 16, 2004).

8

(4) acorporation established under the laws of the

United States or of a State, whose president or other

chief executive officer and chairman of its board of

directors are citizens of the United States and no

more of its directors are non-citizens than a minority

of the number necessary to constitute a quorum;

(5) the United States Government; or

(6) the government of a State.

46 U.S.C. § 12102 (2000). In addition Congress has imposed

strict crewing requirements. If a vessel is built with United States

subsides then all of the crew must be United States Nationals,

and, in any event one-quarter of a U.S. registered vessel’s crew

must be citizens of this country. 46 U.S.C. § 8103(b)(1)(B)

(2000). Moreover, the master, chief engineer, radio operator,

and all deck and engineering watch officers must be citizens of

this country.46 U.S.C. § 8103(a) (2000). United States ships

are subject to inspection by the Coast Guard for compliance

with United States shipping law and regulations. All this is in

great contrast to requirements offered by flags of convenience.

Liberia officially requires vessels in its registry to be owned

by a Liberian national entity, however, that entity may be a

corporation. See International Ship Registry Review, The

Official Guide to Ship Registries, 233 (2002). Incorporation in

Liberia is task that may be accomplished in a single day. See

http://www.liscr.com (last visited Nov. 19, 2004). Moreover,

the ownership requirements may be waived when the owner

qualifies and secures registration as a Foreign Maritime Entity.

The Official Guide to Ship Registries at 233. Vessels up to twenty

years of age may be registered, although the age limit may be

waived. The Official Guide to Ship Registries at 236, and

Liberia, allows vessels in its merchant marine to be inspected

9

by 10 separate classification societies. See http://www. liscr.com

(last visited Nov. 19, 2004). ¢

Registration in the Bahamas, with the Bahamas Maritime

Authority in London, England, requires neither corporate nor

beneficial local ownership, The Official Guide to Ship Registries

at 22, and there are no crewing requirements. /d. at 25. The

minimum wage of crew members and union recognition is up

to the vessel owner. /d. The Bahamas imposes no corporate

tax and international business corporations are exempt from

capital gains, real estate, inheritance, sales and customs taxes.

Id. at 23. Income from vessels and capital gains on vessel sales

is tax free. Jd. Bahamas offers registration to vessels over 1,600

tons and less than twelve years old; however, exemptions may

be granted. /d. at 24-25. Eight classification societies are

authorized to inspect vessels for the Bahamas’, and initial

registration requires a vessel to be surveyed by a number of

private surveyors located around the world. /d.

The Bermuda Registry of Shipping, located in Bermuda,

requires that corporate vessel owners be incorporated in the

United Kingdom or its territories, and that individual be

British, Irish, European Union or NATO-member state nationals.

See http://www. guidetoshipregistries. com/Private/Flags/

Bermuda/Bermuda%20Shipowner%20Eligibility.him (last

visited Nov. 29, 2004). The master of the vessel must meet the

same citizenship requirement as an individual owner, but there

is no other nationality-based crewing requirement. See hAttp://

www. guidetoshipregistries.com/Private/Flags/Bermuda/

4. American Bureau of Shipping; Bureau Veritas; China

Classification Society; Det Norske Veritas;Germanischer Lloyd; Korean

Register of Shipping; Lloyd’s Register; Nippon Kaiji Kyokai; Registro

Italiano Navale; and Russian Maritime Register. http://www.|liscr.com

(last visited Nov. 19, 2004).

5. American Bureau of Shipping; Bureau Veritas; Det Norske

Veritas; Germanischer Lloyd; Korean Regisry of Shipping; Lloyd’s

Register; Nippon Kaiji Kyokai; and Registro Italiano Navale. The Official

Guide to Ship Registries at 25.

10

Bermuda%20Crewing.htm(last visited Nov. 30, 2004).

Bermuda does not impose corporate, income, capital gains, or

any withholding tax. See http://www. guidetoshipregistries.com/

Private/Flags/Bermuda/Bermuda%20Taxation.htm (last

visited Nov. 30, 2004). Most attractive to owners of smaller or

older vessels, Bermuda does not impose any size~

or age restrictions on vessels in its registry. See http://

www. guidetoshipregistries.com/Private/Flags/Bermuda/

Bermuda%20Vessel%20Eligibility%20&%20Survey%20

Requirements.htm (last visited Nov. 30, 2004). Bermuda

authorizes six classification societies to inspect its vessels.°

The Panama Maritime Authority, whose offices are in

New York City, The Official Guide to Ship Registries at 319,

imposes no nationality requirements for the ownership, id. at

317, or crewing, id. at 321, of its vessels. Panama imposes no

income or withholding tax for non-resident shipping companies

when the income is derived from activity outside Panama. /d.

at 317. Panama will allow registration of any size or age vessel,

but vessels older than 20 years are subject to special inspection.

Id. at 321. Panama authorized 24 classification societies’ to

inspect its vessels. /d. at 321

6. American Bureau of Shipping; Bureau Veritas; Det Norske

Veritas; Germanischer Lloyd’s Register; and Registro Italiano Navale.

See http://www. guidetoshipregistries.com/Private/Flags/Bermuda/

Bermuda%20 Vessel%20Eligibility%20&%20Survey%20Requirements.

htm.

7. American Bureau of Shipping; Bureau Veritas; China

Classification Society; China Corporation Register of Shipping; Det

Norske Veritas; Germanischer Lloyd; Hellenic Register of Shipping;

Honduras International Naval Surveying and Inspection Bureau; Isthmus

Bureau of Shipping; Korean Register of Shipping; Lloyd’s Register;

National Shipping Adjusters; Nippon Kaiji Kyokai; Panama Bureau of

Shipping; Panama Marine Survey and Certification Services; Panama

Maritime Documentation Services; Panama Maritime Survey Bureau;

Panama Register Corporation; Registro Italiano Navale; Registro

Internacional Naval, S.A.; and the Russian Maritime Register. See The ~

Official Guide to Ship Registries at 321.

11

2. The Role of Classification Societies—The

Privatization of Sovereign Authority.

Because nations offering flags of convenience generally do

not have the resources to police their own merchant marines,

they typically rely on classification societies to inspect vessels

on their behalf. While there is nothing necessarily wrong with

the inspection performed by the classification societies, and they

perform a vital function in the maritime industry by facilitating

the issuance of various forms of marine insurance, classification

societies are private commercial entities that compete for

business. By delegating their inspection function to classification

societies, open registries allow vessel owners to shop not oaly

among flagging nations, but also, and primarily, among private

inspecting entities. While there may be much to be said about

fostering a free market in vessel inspections and insurance, that

vessel owners may choose to take advantage of one market

player, by choosing to register with a particular flag and choose

a particular classification society, does not indicate deep

sovereign interest on the part of the registering nation.

Classification societies have their origins in the world of

marine insurance. Issuers of hull insurance, that is insurance

payable to a vessel owner in case of damage to or loss of a

vessel, need a means of evaluating the seaworthiness of a vessel

for a particular purpose. For instance, a vessel meant to carry

bulk cargo in the North Atlantic will have very different

structural requirements than a vessel intended to carry passengers

in the Gulf of Mexico.

Classification societies set out, and inspect for, various

requirements for different types, or classes of vessels. Before

deciding whether to issue insurance, and at what rates, a hull

insurer will look to make sure that a vessel has met its class

requirements. See Leslie J. Buglass, Marine Insurance and

General Average in the United States, 30-31 (1981). Similarly,

issuers of protection and indemnity, so-called “P&I,” insurance,

which covers a vessel owner’s liability to third parties, will

require a vessel to be in class. See Machael A. Miller, Liability

12

of Calssification Societies from the Perspective of Untied States

Law, 22 Mar. Law. 75, 84 (1997) (hereinafter “Miller’’). Also,

while underwriters of cargo insurance will usually not require

proof of classification of a carrier’s vessel, underwriters will

remove coverage on learning that a vessel carrying the cargo

has lost coverage and shippers will check for classification.

Id. at 85.

For vessels flying flags of convenience, classification

societies also have a quasi-public function. They inspect for

compliance with a variety of international conventions, most

importantly the International Convention for the Safety of Life

at Sea, 1974 (with 1978 and 1988 Protocols), 14 I.L.M. 959

(“SOLAS”), and the International Convention on Load Lines,

April 5, 1966, 18 U.S.T. 1857, (with 1988 Protocol), and issue

certificates under The International Convention on Tonnage

Measurement of Ships, June 23, 1969, TLAS 10490, 34 U.S.T.

2363, which shows the weight of the vessel as measured under

international standards. See Sundance Cruise Corp. v. American

Bureau of Shipping, 7 F.3d 1077, 1078 (2d Cir. 1993) (describing

an agreement between a vessel owner and classification society

for inspection of a vessel registered in the Bahamas).

Because vessel owners pay for classification societies to

inspect them, and there are different societies, societies are under

economic pressure to classify vessels without causing a vessel

owner to incur great costs. As one marine economist has put it:

Classification societies have no legal authority.

Consequently, they compete with each other for

shipowner clients, thereby raising doubts about their

safety enforcement performance—given the

insoluble conflict of interest between themselves and

shipowners that arises when hired by shipowners to

class their ships. If a society requires a shipowner to

incur expenses to class his ships, the shipowner’s

profits will decline, all else held constant. In a

competitive environment for shipowner clients, and

when shipowners themselves are facing stiff

13

competition, societies are under pressure to reduce

their safety demands, possibly classing non-

seaworthy ships.

Wayne K. Talley, Regulatory Issues: The Role of International

Maritime Institutions, available at http://www.oduport.org/

REGULATORYISSUES.htm (last visited Nov. 28, 2004).°

Whether or not private classification societies provide

generally effective regulation, their use by open registries for

compliance with national requirements allows vessel owners

to shop twice, once for the registry with the most favorable

terms, and again among classification societies approved by the

registry.

C. Flags of Convenience and the Cruise Ship Industry

Because the cruise ship industry provides what are, in many

instances, domestic \ ‘sation services and because the cruise

ship industry relies heavily upon flags of convenience, to allow

foreign registry of a vessel automatically to defeat the application

of Title III of the ADA to cruise ships in domestic waters would,

allow a large part of the leisure industry, essentially under

regulation by no sovereign, to avoid United States policy by a

simple commercial choice—where to flag a cruise ship. For

8. To be sure, the economic pressures on classification societies

are not one-sided. If insurers and shippers cannot trust a classification

they will not insure or ship with vessel classed by untrustworthy societies.

Ten classification societies, as members, and two others as associate

members now form [nternational Association of Classification Societies

(“IACS’), to for prescribe minimur:: standards for members. These

standards are designed to prevent “classification society shopping.”

Miller, 22 Mar. Law.at 77. The members of the IACS are American

Bureau of Shipping, Bureau Veritas, China Classification Society, Det

Norske Veritas, Germanisher Lloyd, Korean Register of Shipping,

Lloyd’s Register, Nippon Kaiji Kyokai, Registro Italiano Navale, and

the Russian Maritime Register. The associate members are the Croatian

Register of Shipping and the Indian Register of Shipping. See http://

iacs.org.uk/members.htm (last visited Nov. 29, 2004). There are,

however, over 50 classification societies.

14

most nations offering flags of convenience all extent of control

is checking that a vessel owner has paid its fees and that

certificates have been issued by a private organization hired by

the vessel owner. And this is the extent of sovereign control

under which most cruise ships operate.

As their name implies, many United States cruise voyages

depart and return from the same port. Many others, notably the

cruises of the Alaskan coast spend most of their time in United

States waters. The Passenger Services Act of 1886, 46 U.S.C.

app. § 289 (2000), prohibits foreign-flagged vessels from

transporting passengers between United States ports. These so-

called cabotage regulations were designed to protect the United

States merchant marine. Whatever their benefits to the domestic

passenger ferry industry, the cabotage rules have little impact

on the cruise industry. They do not prevent foreign-flagged

vessels going from a United States port and back. Similarly the

cabotage rules do not prevent a vessel owner from taking

passenger on a cruise from a United States port and returning

them by air, or from flying passengers to foreign ports and then

taking them on a cruise to a United States port. See Kay Showker

& Bob Schlinger, The Unofficial Guide to Cruises 1999, at 9

(1999) (stating that “the spectacular growth in cruise vacations

really took off . .. when cruise lines discovered the benefits of

joining forces with airlines.) Even in Alaskan cruises, where

the ship will ply the coastal waters of Alaska allowing passengers

to see and visit that State’s spectacular coast line, owners are

able to avoid United States cabotage laws by bussing their

passengers from Seattle to Vancouver, 3ritish Columbia, to

board their vessels. See 10 Benedict on Admiralty § 2.02 at 2-2

(7th rev. ed. 2003). As a result there is no effective requirement

that cruise ships serving the United States market be registered

in this country. a

Thus, nearly “all of the major cruise lines operating in the

North American market from ports in the U.S. register

their ships with ‘flags of convenience.’” Stephen Thomas, Jr.,

State Regulation of Cruise Ship Pollution: Alaska’s Commercial

15

Passenger Vessel Compliance Program as a Model for Florida,

13 J. Transnat’! L. & Pol’y 533 , 540 (2004). Starting this year,

Norwegian Cruise Lines has had one, and, in 2005, plans to

have another, United States-registered vessel; however, the

vessels are for the coastwise market in Hawaii, and Norwegian

Cruise Lines still runs foreign-flagged vessels out-of Hawaii to

Fanning Island, in the Republic of Kiribati. See http://

www.ncl.com/ destinations/hawaii/ index.htm (last visited Nov.

29, 2004).

To hold that a foreign flag, per se, exempts a vessel owner

from compliance with Title III would exempt the cruise ship

industry, a large part of the United States leisure market, from

compliance with the statute. And in most, if not all cases, no

great competing interest of a foreign sovereign would be served

by this exemption. For example, in the case of a Alaskan tour

operator bussing United States passengers from Seattle to

Vancouver for a cruise in United States waters off the coast of

Alaska in a vessel registered in Liberia, the Seattle hotel in which

the passengers might stay for a day would have to comply with

Title III, as would the bus carrying passengers for a few hours;

however under the Fifth Circuit’s holding the vessel in which

United States passengers might spend two weeks in United States

waters would be exempt. To hold that Liberia has a greater

interest in the non-application of Title III a United States

Passenger to a vessel operated in United States waters than the

United States has in its application simply because the vessel is

registered in Liberia’s offices in the United States and is

inspected by a private organization approved of by Liberia

makes no sense.

Similarly, no classification society has anything to say about

disability access, so classification is not contrary to any

requirements imposed by Title II], and nothing inTitle III is

directly contrary either to SOLAS or to the requirements of

classification. To be sure, some international safety requirements

might mean that a cruise ship might not be made as accessible

to persons with certain disabilities as are similar land based

16

structures, like hotels. For example, because a vessel needs to

have a water tight and compartmentalized (that is, requiring

raised thresholds in the doorways) bulkhead deck to restrict

flooding in a vessel, an entire vessel might not able to be made

accessible to persons confined to wheelchairs. Indeed, the

recent proposed Title III regulations for passenger vessels take

into account the requirements of a watertight bulkhead deck.

See Draft Passenger Vessel Accessibility Guideline and

Supplementary Information, V206.2, Exception 4, available at

http://www.access-board.gov/pvaac/ guideline.htm (last visited

Nov. 29, 2004). That does not mean, however, that a vessel’s

upper decks cannot, and should not be make as accessible as

possible.’

This is not to say that a foreign flag, even a flag of

convenience, should be ignored in considering the application

of Title III or other United States law. Rather, the interest of the

sovereigns with a stake in the outcome of the case should be

intelligently balanced. Happily, for maritime cases, this Court

has developed a methodology for choice of law that takes into

account not just the flag of a vessel, but also the other various

interest involved in an action where a plaintiff seeks to apply

United States law to the owners of a foreign vessel. It is this

methodology that should apply to the applicability of the Title

III to foreign flagged vessels in United States waters.

9. Of course, were Title III to render either SOLAS compliance

or classification impossible none of the many passenger and car ferries

that ply United States waters and are registered in the United States

would be able to pass inspection or to obtain insurance.

17

BECAUSE THE DISCRIMINATION ALLEGED BY MR.

SPECTER COMES WITHIN THE ADMIRALTY

JURISDICTION OF THE FEDERAL COURTS WELL-

ESTABLISHED ADMIRALTY OF CHOICE-OF-LAW

PRINCIPLES APPLY TO HIS CLAIM.

Mr. Spector’s claim of discrimination arises out of a

maritime contract, contract of passage. Also, the treatment

Norwegian Cruise Lines gave to Mr. Specter occurred on the

navigable waters of the United States, arises out of a traditional

maritime activity—the carriage of passengers, and poses a threat

to maritime commerce by inhibiting the ability of disabled

passengers to take advantage of cruise ship services. Thus, it

constitutes a maritime tort. From the very beginning of this

country’s judiciary the federal courts have had jurisdiction over

maritime torts and contracts. The general maritime law of the

United States has a variety of doctrines that protect the life and

safety of seamen and passengers at sea. These doctrines, which

include the warranty of seaworthiness to seamen, as well as

negligence and products liability for all at sea, impose

requirements for vessel safety—including construction,

equipping and crewing—to all to whom they apply. Nonetheless,

this court has concluded that these doctrines may apply to foreign

flagged vessels, and has established a methodology for deciding

when federal maritime law applies to cle:ms arising under the

federal admiralty jurisdiction. Because shipboard claims of

disability-based discrimination against a passenger fall within

the admiralty jurisdiction, this-Court’s this methodology for

admiralty choice of law should apply.

A. Mr. Spector’s Claim is Within the Admiralty and

Maritime Jurisdiction of the District Courts.

Article III of the Constitution extends the judicial power of

the United States to, among other matters, “all cases of admiralty

and maritime jurisdiction.” U.S. Const. Art. III, § 2, cl. 1. The

First Congress gave the District Courts “exclusive jurisdiction

18

in all civil cases of admiralty and maritime jurisdiction, saving

to suitors all remedies to which they are entitled at common

law.” An Act to Establish the Judicial Courts of the United States,

ch. 20, § 9, 1 Stat. 73, 77 (1789). That grant now exists in

28 U.S.C. § 1333(1) (2000), which extends the jurisdiction of

the District Courts to any “civil case of admiralty and maritime

jurisdiction saving to suitors all other remedies to which they

are otherwise entitled.” When a case falls within the admiralty

jurisdiction, whether or not it is brought pursuant to that

jurisdiction in federal court, and even if it is brought in state

court, maritime choice of law principles will apply. See Keremec

v. Compagnie Transatlantique 358 U.S. 625, 628-29 (1959),

see also Pope & Talbot, Inc. v. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406, 411 (1953)

(“{S]ubstantial rights . . . are not to be determined differently

whether [a] case is labelled ‘law side’ or ‘admiralty side’ on a

district court’s docket”), quoted in Norfolk Southern Ry. Co. v.

Kirby, 125 S. Ct. 385, 392 (2004).

The admiralty jurisdiction extends to all contracts that ar<

of a maritime nature, Kirby, 125 S. Ct. at. 393 (citing cases),

and, as this Court held in The Moses Taylor, 71 U.S. 411 (1866),

a contract of carriage of a passenger is subject to the admiralty

jurisdiction of the federal court. /d. at 427. Accordingly, the

contract between Mr. Specter and Norwegian Cruise Lines was

a maritime contract.

In tort the grant of admiralty jurisdiction in 28 U.S.C.

§ 1333(1) extends to those torts occurring on the high seas and

on the navigable waters of the United States and, at least where

the tort occurs on the navigable waters of the United States, this

Court has required that there be a connection with traditional

maritime activity such that the tort have a significant connection

with traditional maritime activity and there be a threat of

disruption to maritime commerce. See Sission v. Ruby, 497 U.S.

358, 363-65 (1990); Jerome B. Grubart, Inc. v. Great Lakes

Dredge & Dock Co., 513 U.S. 527, 534 (1995). While not all

cases that occur on a vessel in navigable waters will come within

the admiralty jurisdiction this court has explained that they

19

usually will. See Grubart 513 U.S. at 541-42. In this case there

can be no doubt that the discrimination suffered by Mr. Specter

comes within the admiralty jurisdiction. The carriage of

passengers is a traditional maritime activity, and, as one District

Court has noted, “opulent cruise ships have been part of the

world’s maritime tradition at least since the launching of

Cleopatra’s barge.” Friedman v. Cunard Line Lid., 996 F. Supp.

303, 307(S.D.N.Y. 1998). Moreover, discrimination against and

mistreatment of passengers of a particular class threatens to

disrupt that class’s ability to take part in the maritime commerce.

Indeed, claims of discrimination against passengers have

long been recognized as part of the law of admiralty.

In Chamberlin v. Chandler, 5 F.Cas. 412 (C.C.D. Mass. 1823)

(No. 2,575) the court considered the case of a woman who had

booked passage on a vessel from Hawaii to Boston and who

was subjected to treatment that caused her to confine herself to

her cabin. In the course of awarding punitive damages for the

defendant’s tortuous conduct, Justice Story, sitting on circuit,

explained the nature of a contract of passage as being:

not for mere ship room, and personal existence, on

board; but for reasonable food, comforts,

necessaries, and kindness. It is a stipulation, not for

toleration merely, but for respectful treatment, for

that decency of demeanor, which constitutes the

charm of social life, for that attention, which

mitigates evils without reluctance, and that

promptitude, which administers aid to distress.

Id. at 414. Accord, Kornberg v. Carnival Cruise Lines, 741 F.2d

1332, 1334 (11th Cir. 1984); Chicago, D. & GB. Transit Co. v.

Moore, 259 F. 490 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 251 U.S. 553 (1919);

The Oregon, 133 F. 609, 617-18 (9th Cir.1904); Defrier v. The

Nicaragua, 81 F. 745 (S.D. Ala. 1897). Thus, without reference

to the ADA the general maritime law gives relief to disabled

passengers where a vessel owner knew or should have known

of the passenger’s disability and failed reasonably to

accommodate that disability. See Alpert v. Zim Lines, 370 F.2d

20

115, 116 (3d Cir. 1966); American President Lines, v. Lundstrom,

323 F.2d 817, 818 (9th Cir. 1963).

Because this case arises out of a maritime contract and

involves a tort on the navigable waters which bears a significant

relation to traditional maritime activity and has a potential to

disrupt maritime commerce it falls within the admiralty

jurisdiction of the federal courts. Therefore, the choice of law

principles articulated by this Court for admiralty cases should

apply.

B. Admiralty Choice of Law Principles Involve a

Consideration of a Variety of Factors in Addition

to The Flag of the Vessel and Applies to Laws the

Have the Potential to Affect the Structure of A

Vessel, As Opposed to Labor-Management

Relations.

1. Admiralty Choice of Law Principles Involve

More than Consideration of the Flag of a

Vessel.

In a series of three cases this Court has articulated the

principles for choice of law in cases subject to the admiralty

jurisdiction of the district courts. In Lauritzen v. Larsen,

345 U.S. 571 (1953), this Court considered whether the of the

Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. app. § 688 (2000), which by its terms

authorizes “any seaman” to bring an action against a “defendant

employer” for negligence, applies to an injury to an alien seaman

on a foreign-flagged vessel. The court set out seven factors to

be considered: (1) the place of the wrongful act; (2) the law of

the flag; (3) the allegiance or domicile of the injured party; (4)

the allegiance of the ship owner; (5) the place of the contract;

(6) the inaccessibility of the foreign forum; and (7) the law of

the forum. /d. at 583-91.'°

10. The Lauritzen Court distinguished that case from one where

an injured United States citizen would seek relief, noting that “each

nation has a legitimate interest that its nationals and permanent

(Cont'd)

21

Subsequently, in Romero v. International Terminal

Operating Co., 358 U.S. 354 (1959), the Court decided that not

_only claims under the Jones Act, but also those arising under

the general maritime law should be subject to the Lauritzen

¢.io0ice of law analysis. /d. at 381.

Finally, in Hellenic Lines Ltd. v. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306

(1970) this Court cautioned that the factors listed in Lauritzen

were meant neither to be applied mechanically nor to be

exclusive. Jd. at 309. Rather, the court concluded that the ships

base of operations, along with other possible factors, was another

factor to be considered. /d. at 308-09.

Accordingly, under the Lauritzen-Romero-Rhoditis trilogy

there are at least eight factors to be considered in determining

whether foreign or domestic law will apply in an action within

the admiralty jurisdiction. The flag of the vessel involved is

only one. Thus in Rhoditis the Court concluded that United States

law should apply to an action by a seaman of Greek nationality

who had signed an employment agreement in Greece for work

aboard a Greek owned and flagged vessel, and who was injured

on that vessel, where the injury took place in United States

waters, the vessel owner was a resident alien of the United States,

and had his base of operations in New York, and the owners

vessels had their major source of income from shipping to and

from the United States. Accordingly, after Rhoditis lower courts

have applied the general maritime law of the United States to

foreign seamen on foreign vessels. See, e.g., Karvelis v.

Constellation Lines S.A., 806' F.2d 49, 50-51 (2d Cir. 1986),

cert. denied sub nom., Constellation Lines, S. A. v. Karvelis,

481 U.S. 1015 (1987). Indeed even though the Lauritzen Court

(Cont'd)

inhabitants be not maimed or disabled from self-support.” 345 U.S. at

586. As the authors of a leading work on maritime law have explained,

“the fair implication of [the language in Lauritzen] is that American law

applies to Ameican citizens . . . whether they serve on American-flag or

foreign flag ships. . . .” Grant Gilmore & Charles L. Black, Jr., The Law

of Admiralty 476 (2d ed. 1975).

22

stated that the law of the flag-state “must prevail unless some

heavy counterweight appears,” 345 U.S. at 586, the Lauritzen

Court itself, see 345 U.S. at 587, and various lower courts have

made “equally clear that the law of a flag of convenience state

is not entitled to the same conclusive effect as that of a

‘legitimate’ flag state and cannot be used to oust otherwise

applicable law.” Pandazopoulos v. Universal Cruise Line, Inc.,

365 F. Supp. 208, 214 (S.D.N.Y. 1973) (citations omitted).

While the proper application of the Lauritzen-Romero-

Rhoditis factors depends on a case by case analysis—the injury

to an a United States citizen aboard a round-the-world bound

vessel based in a foreign country and simply stopping to pick

up passengers in a United States port, might result in a different

conclusion from that where a United States Citizen is injured

on board a United States-based vessel that departs and returns

to a port in this country—exclusive reliance on vessel’s flag,

without any consideration of the nature of that flag or the other

factors outlined in Lauritzen and Rhoditis is contrary to the

proper analysis this Court has established for maritime cases.

2. The Lauritzen-Romero-Rhoditis Choice of Law

Analysis is Applicable to Claims Relating to

Ship Management and Construction.

The Fifth Circuit below relied on this Court’s decisions in

Benz v. Compania Naviera Hidalgo, S.A. , 353 U.S. 138 (1957)

and McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de

Honduras, 372 U.S. 10 (1963) to conclude that Title III of the

ADA could not apply to foreign flag vessels because there was

no express intent by Congress to apply the ADA extraterritorially.

See Spector v. Norwegian Cruise Line, Ltd., 356 F.3d 641, 644-

45 (Sth Cir. 2004). According to the Fifth Circuit, the structural

changes mandated by Title III would have a permanent, extra-

territorial effect on the structure of a foreign-flagged vessel,

which would impinge on the sovereignty of the flagging nation.

Id. at 648. As explained above, that argument has no foundation.

Moreover, it proves too much; for, if no law having an impact

on the structure on vessel were applicable to foreign flagged

23

vessels, then neither the Jones Act, nor large portions of the

general maritime law would be applicable to foreign flagged

vessels.

As this Court held in Lauritzen, the question of whether

the Jones Act is applicable aboard foreign flagged vessels

involves a balancing test, and whether the general maritime law

of the United States applies to claims involving foreign flagged

vessels should be analyzed under the standards set out in

Lauritzen. See Romero 358 U.S. at 381. Both the Jones Act and

the general maritime law of the United States provide ample

basis for imposing on vessel owners and operators changes in

the structure and management of their vessels to insure the safety

of passengers and crew.

As explained above, the Jones Act, provides “any seamen”

with an action for negligence against the seaman’s employer.

While a Jones Act action may be based on violation of a statutory

duty, see Kernan v. American Dredging Co., 355 U.S. 426, 432

(1958), it may also be based on breach of a non-statutory

duty of care, such as the requirement to furnish a seaman with

proper equipment to perform a task the employer could have

anticipated. See, e.g., Ferguson v. Moore-McCormack Lines,

Inc., 352-U.S. 521, 522-23 (1957) (concluding that failure to

furnish a shipboard baker with an implement safely to serve

hard-frozen ice cream may result in Jones Act liability).

In addition to the Jones Act, the general maritime law

provid :eamen with an action for seaworthiness. The doctrine

of seaworthiness imposes on a vessel owner the non-delegable

duty of providing to seamen a vessel that is fit for its intended

voyage. See Mitchell v. Trawler Racer, Inc., 362 U.S. 539, 548-

49 (1960); Mahnich v. Southern S.S. Co., 321 U.S. 96, 100-101

(1944). As a form of strict liability, seaworthiness had, by the

middle of the twentieth century, become the primary vehicle

for recovery by injured seamen. Moragne v. States Marine Line,

Inc., 398 U.S. 375, 399 (1970). The warranty of seaworthiness

applies to the hull of a ship, the ship’s cargo-handling machinery,

24

hand tools aboard the ship, ropes and tackle and to all other

equipment either belonging to the ship or brought aboard by

stevedores. See Italia Societa per Azioni di Navigazione vy.

Oregon Stevedoring Co, 376 U.S. 315, 322-23 (1964); Michalic

v. Cleveland Tankers, Inc. 364 U.S. 325, 328 (1960); Crumady

v. The Joachim Hendrik Fisser, 358 U.S. 423, 427 (1959).

Moreover, the crew itself is warranted as seaworthy. See Waldron

v. Moore-McCormick Lines, 386 U.S. 724, 726 (1967); Boudin

v. Lykes Brothers Steamship Co., 348 U.S. 336, 339-40 (1955).

While there has been general agreement that the warranty

of seaworthiness does not extend to passengers, see Kermarec,

358 U.S. at 628, passengers are owed a duty of reasonable care.

Id. at 630. Fulfilling that duty may require that a vessel owner

to make modifications to the structure of vessel where the owner

knows, or has reason to know that the vessel is unsafe.

See Harnesk v. Carnival Cruise Lines, 1992 A.M.C. 1857 (S.D.

Fla. 1991) (holding a vessel owner liable for a negligently

constructed bathroom); Beretta v. Home Lines, Inc., 1990

A.M.C. 1857 (S.D.N.Y. 1990) (same); Keefe v. Bahama Cruise

Lines, Inc., 715 F. Supp. 1069 (M.D. Fla. 1989) (holditig vessel _

owner liable for injury caused by a slippery, uncovered outdoor

dance floor), aff'd 902 F.2d 959 (11th Cir. 1990); Oispuk v.

Oceanic Steam Navigation Co., 58 F.2d 673 (S.D.N.Y. 1932)

(holding vessel owner liable for negligently failing to provide

an outside door with a vestibule or to furnish a control to slow

down the door’s closing).

Finally, the general maritime law recognizes the doctrine

of products liability. See East River S.S. Corp. v. Transamerica

Deleval., Inc., 476 U.S. 858, 873-74 (1986). The ability to hold

a manufacturer or vendor strictly liable for the products it puts

into commerce doctrine may not impose liability directly on a

vessel owner. However, the ability of passengers to bring an

action for unreasonably dangerous product aboard a vessel will

have an effect on the construction of the vessel and the fittings

with which it is equipped. Cf. Silivanch v. Celebrity Cruises,

Inc., 171 F. Supp. 2d 241 (S.D.N.Y. 2001) (entering judgment

25

on passengers’ claims of strict products liability and negligence

against filter manufacturer and negligence against vessel owner

for a whirlpool spa that caused a shipboard outbreak of

legionnaire’s disease), app. dismissed 333 F.3d 355 (2d Cir.

2003), cert. denied sub. nom., Essef Corp. v. Silivanch, 124 S.

Ct. 1047 (2004).

Accordingly, both the Jones Act and the general maritime

law have potential to require permanent alteration in a ship’s

structure and equipment. For example, the law of seaworthiness

may require a vessel owner to change the way it maintains

equipment on board, see Crumady, 328 U.S. 427-28, or to alter

the type of tools it makes available to the crew of the vessel.

See Michalic, 364 U.S at 328-29. These duties do not differ in

their level of internal interference with a vessel’s operations

from those imposed by Title III, and there is no reason why

passengers complaining of the safety of a bathroom or a

whirlpool spa should be able to take advantage of United States

law, but those denied access to same facilities should be, per se,

barred from that law’s protection.

Because the Fifth Circuit’s holding prohibits application

of domestic law that could require the alteration of the structure

of a vessel, the Jones Act, the doctrine of seaworthiness, and

the United States maritime law of negligence and products

liability could never be applicable to foreign flagged vessels,

and that is clearly contrary to the point of the Lauritzen-Romero-

Rhoditis trilogy, which is to decide whether or not claims under

the Jones Act and the General Maritime Law of the United States

should apply to foreign flagged vessels. ''

11. If Romero’s understanding of choice of law and the Fifth

Circuit’s holding are both to survive, it would result in the odd situation

of the general maritime law regarding vessel safety and conditions, which

has been fashioned by the judiciary, being applicable to foreign flagged

vessels, but, absent some specific declaration of Congress, Congressional

enactments would never applicable. Indeed, given this Court’s deference

to Congressional action in the area of maritime law, see Norfolk

(Cont'd)

26

A much better reading of Benz and McCulloch in

conjunction with Romero would be to hold that the “internal

affairs” of a vessel constitutes labor-management relations, and

that absent some specific statement from Congress, laws relating

to labor relations would not have any applicability to foreign

flagged vessels; however, where a statute concerns areas

presently addressed by the general maritime law, including the

treatment of passengers, it should be treated under the usual

maritime choice of law analysis. The Court’s opinion in

McCulloch and subsequent case law demonstrate that this is

the correct reading.

The McCulloch Court considered the use of the balancing

test proposed by the National Labor Relations Board (the

“NLRB”) to see whether it had jurisdiction over an attempt to

organize by foreign seamen working on a foreign vessel.

372 US. at 15. The court held that the foreign flag of the vessel

per se excluded the NLRB’s jurisdiction over the effort by the

foreign seamen to organize. The court emphasized that a

balancing test would rot be appropriate in dealing with the

“internal discipline and order” of a foreign vessel, id. at 19, and

concluded that there it would not infer the authority to interfere

with the “management and internal affairs” of a foreign vessel.

Id. at 20. In the context of the case the only reasonable reading

of “management and internal affairs” is labor-management

relations, not the sort of vessel conditions covered by doctrines

of negligence, under the Jones Act, and seaworthiness and

regulated by Title III. Thus the Court acknowledged that its

conclusion does not foreclose such a procedure in

different contexts, such as the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C.

§ 688, where the pervasive regulation of the internal

order of a ship may not be present.

(Cont'd)

Shipbuilding & Drydock Corp. v. Garris, 532 U.S. 811, 820 (2001);

Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19, 21 (1990), such a position

would make no sense.

27

372 U.S. at 19 n.9. The Court defined “management and internal

affairs” of a vessel by associating it with “internal order” in

opposition to the physical conditions regulated by the Jones

Act.

To be sure the Court went on to note that for the Jones Act

the Lauritzen Court had emphasized the “cardinal importance

of the law of the flag.” Jd. (citing Lauritzen). Nonetheless, only

four years after McCulloch, in Rhoditis, this Court expanded

the reach of the Jones Act by adding the base of operations as

another, and in that case determinative factor, to its choice of

law balancing test. Rhoditis demonstrates that McCulloch did

not change this Court’s understanding set out in Lauritzen and

Romero that claims under for negligence under the Jones Act

and unseaworthiness under the general maritime law, both of

which could effect the structure of a vessel, could be brought

for clain arising on a vessel with a foreign flag.

In this case Title III, like the Jones Act and the law of

seaworthiness negligence and products liability speaks, only to

the physical conditions on a vessel—in Title III's case for

passengers—not to the master, owner, or employer’s managerial

relations with the crew, and should be + .bject to a similar choice

of law test. Moreover, Congress can he assumed to have been

aware of the applicability of the Lauritzen-Romero-Rhoditis test

at the time it enacted Title III.

C. Congress Was Aware of the Lauritzen-Romero-

Rhoditis Test When It Enacted Title III.

This Court has explained that it will assume that Congress

is familiar with the law when it enacts legislation, no less in

maritime cases than in any other. See Miles v. Apex Marine Corp.,

498 U.S. 19, 32 (1990). In this case, an assumption that Congress

was aware of this Court’s maritime choice of law jurisprudence

at the time of Title III’s enactment would be especially valid;

for, prior to the enactment of Title III Congress had legislated

in response to the application of that jurisprudence in the lower

courts.

28

In 1982 Congress amended the Jones Act to add what is

now 46 U.S.C. app. § 688(b), which excludes from the act’s

coverage aliens working in energy and mineral exploration in

the waters, or above the continental shelf of foreign countries.

See Act of Dec. 29, 1982, P.L. 97-389, Title V, § 503(a),

96 Stat. 1955. The 1982 amendments were enacted along with

the rest of a House Bill, the Fisheries Amendments of T982,

H.R. 3942, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. (1982). The Jones Act

amendments provision of that bill, section 503, was adopted

from H.R. 4863, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. (1982). See 128 Cong.

Rec.H. 7,631 (daily ed. Sept. 28, 1982). The committee report

on H.R. 4863, H.R.Rep. No. 97-863, 97th Cong., 2d Sess., 1982,

explained the purpose of the amendment:

The courts have generally found that the substantive

rights granted by the Jones Act do not extend to

foreign nationals who lack sufficient contacts with

the United States. These court decisions are not a

denial of equal access but rather a determination of

lack of standing. The decisions generally hold that

the litigant has no right which can be enforced in a

U.S. court. H.R. 4863 codifies this case law and

clarifies that the substantive rights granted by the

Jones Act do not extend to foreiga offshore workers.

The legislation is in accord with customary

international law and international agreements in that

it recognizes the rights of a nation to regulate activity

within its territorial waters and in the Outer

Continental Shelf adjacent to the coast of that nation.

The present situation whereby domestic United

States law is applied to actions and occurrences

within the jurisdiction of a sovereign foreign nation

is an unwarranted application and extraterritorial

extension of U.S. law and not in accord with our

treaties of friendship and navigation.

Id. at 7. Congress was, in fact, aware of the efforts by foreign

seamen to extend the Jones Act, along with the general maritime

29

law of the United States, to foreign seamen in foreign waters.

While Congress did not approve of such an extension, and

codified its rejection by the lower courts, it did nothing to change

the avoid the result in Rhoditis, which concluded that a foreign

plaintiff injured on a foreign vessel in United States waters could

recover under the Jones Act. A fortiori, it would appear that

Congress approved of recovery by a United States plaintiff

injured aboard a foreign vessel in United States waters.

Congress’ understanding of the Jones Act should be read

as background to the passage of Title III; for, as noted above,

Title Ill, like the Jones_Act does not interfere with labor

management relations aboard a ship. Indeed, because it does

not apply to employees Title III is less intrusive on a vessel’s

“management and internal affairs” than the Jones Act. The

foreign status of a vessel should not, per se, preclude recovery

under Title III; rather the applicability of Title III should be

____ determined by the familiar Laruitzen-Romero-Larsen test.

CONCLUSION

For all the forgoing reasons, this Court should reverse the

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Davip M. ZLOTNICK

RoGer WILLIAMS UNIVERSITY

ScHOOL OF Law

10 Metacom Avenue

Bristol, Rhode Island 02809

(401) 254-4614

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.