Petitioners Brief — Johnson v. California

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(y) Bee

z | JUN 3 - 2004

No. 03-636 LOFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

GARRISON S. JOHNSON,

Petitioner,

Vv.

CALIFORNIA, et al.,

Respondents.

On Writ oF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

Court OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

Bert H. DEIxLer

Counsel of Record

Cuar-es S. Sims

Lois D. THOMPSON

AARON P. ALLAN

TANYA L. FORSHEIT

Lee K. CRAWFORD

PROSKAUER Rose LLP

2049 Century Park East

Suite 3200

Los Angeles, California 90067

(310) 557-2900

Counsel for Petitioner

187735 g

COUNSEL PRESS

(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859 -

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is a state’s practice of routine racial segregation of

state prisoners for at least a 60-day period subject to the same

strict scrutiny generally applicable to all other challenges to

intentional racial segregation, or is it excused from such

scrutiny and subject only to the more relaxed review afforded

under Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987)?

2. Does California’s practice of routine racial

segregation of state prisoners for at least a 60-day period

violate the Equal Protection Clause?

ul

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to this proceeding are petitioner Garrison S.

Johnson and respondents the State of California, James H.

Gomez, and James Rowland.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .....cccccccccccess

DE chasesecececeecescoocceces

i cotuceddecccececesvces

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ............

DE, c6Guleudcoccecéceecvccess

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION .. ..........

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED .................

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .................

A.

The CDC’s Policy of Routine Racial

tt Siete ees eseccssceeeecees

Garrison Johnson’s Experience of Racial

Segregation in CDC Facilities ...........

Garrison Johnson’s Equal Protection Claims

and the First Appeal Addressing His

DT ohshbaebesSeeececeescccesces

The District Court Proceedings ..........

The Ninth Circuit’s Decision ............

The Ninth Circuit’s Denial of Rehearing and

DE eehebekdoeuees coecedccece<

10

10

iv

Contents

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT .............

GUE a cntecudseccecechsadetsensaaens

RACE-BASED PRISON CELL ASSIGN-

MENTS, LIKE ALL OTHER RACE-BASED

GOVERNMENT CLASSIFICATIONS, ARE

SUBJECT TO STRICT SCRUTINY ......

A. This Court Has Repeatedly Held That All

Government Race-Based Classifications

Are Invalid Unless They Survive the

Court’s Most Rigid Scrutiny .........

B. Lee v. Washington Demands That Courts

Strictly Scrutinize Prison-Based Racial

Equal Protection Claims ............

C. Turner v. Safley Created No Exception

to Lee v. Washington or the Unitary

Standard of Review Mandated by the

Court’s Other Racial Equal Protection

PD ecccceudcecdunseddeamhant

Page

11

15

15

15

20

24

Il.

Contents

THE CDC’S POLICY OF SEGREGATING

ALL ARRIVING INMATES BY RACE

AND ETHNICITY VIOLATES THE

EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE ........

A. The CDC’s Implementation of Racial

Segregation Is Not Narrowly Tailored to

Serve a Compelling State Interest, or

BTS can 000 cécnbeckusedass

Because the CDC’s Arbitrary Racial

Segregation Is an Exaggerated Response

to Unsubstantiated Fears, It Does Not

Even Withstand Scrutiny Under

Pe . ccccevuseenkavenseeeeeneas

CEES cc cc ccccoccactvscosanecééusanne

Page

32

33

vi

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena,

CB rere Hee passim

Bell v. Wolfish,

ee ee ED. ncuncnsdubeckedesecesets 25

Black v. Lane,

824 F.2d 561 (7th Cir. 1987) ................ 24

Blevins v. Brew,

593 F. Supp. 245 (W.D. Wisc. 1984) .......... 24

Block v. Rutherford,

ED oc nnn cadcunseusdeuvenen 25

Brown v. Board of Education,

Dee ED necdcecocencenskedeess passim

Buchanan v. Warley,

ES oo an aie waning core ee eae 18

Cohens v. Virginia,

ED ot shedidnsel enema denne 11

Cruz v. Beto,

ee rn 20

Fullilove v. Klutznick,

Ge ED ovccdecdécecsnnedésecesas 16, 31

vil

Cited Authorities

; Page

Gayle v. Browder,

ee SPD kcvcncecewssdeskndeeues 21

Gratz v. Bollinger,

Se ee OD occ cncdececceduatesecs passim

Grutter v. Bollinger,

Fe SEED cdksucandvisedtesséions passim

Harris v. Thigpen,

941 F.2d 1495 (11th Cir. 1991) .............. 41

Hirabayashi v. United States,

Ps EP ED. nkn-s ese duddeusadtetabinl 17, 32

Holmes v. City of Atlanta,

Pe 21

Hudson v. McMillian,

SPE PEED esceccesesvecadanctessues 29

Hudson v. Palmer,

GE es SET ED 06 csedccccccdencicctaes 22

Johnson v. California, ;

207 F.3d 650 (9th Cir. 2000) ................ 5

Johnson v. Virginia,

POP Ee ED sceccbdkccencncsceusucks 21

vill

Cited Authorities

Page

Jones v. North Carolina Prisoners’ Union,

TP a EE ocboned ceeds paneteeoess 25

Koremats:: v. United States,

Pe a ED ce cncecceseceeccecsea 3, 16, 17

Lee v. Washington,

ED Seudutasunsdiedaccess passim

Lewis v. Casey,

518 U.S. 343 (1996) ..... ee éuueeeaeenudew’s 26

Loving v. Virginia,

PED u“Jitnundecbiueedasuoasule 16, 19

Madrid v. Gomez,

889 F. Supp. 1146 (N.D. Cal. 1995) .......... 6

Mayor of Baltimore v. Dawson,

ey ccuecocedcecaskicesiuae 21

McClelland v. Sigler,

327 F. Supp. 829 (D. Neb. 1971) ............. 24

Metro Broadcasting, Inc. v. FCC,

Cy PGND cevssccccestcccéenecess 16

Miller-El v. Cockrell,

re re 38

oe

ix

Cited Authorities

Page

Morrison v. Garraghty,

239 F.3d 648 (4th Cir. 2001) ................ 24

Muir v. Louisville Park Thearical Association,

og 8 re rrr Tory 21

Nelson v. Campbell,

No. 03-6821, 2004 U.S. Lexis 3680

SE ED Sabb vou cescbcecbaveecectess 29

New Orleans City Park Improvement

Association v. Detiege,

TT TY TTT 21

O'Lone v. Shabazz,

4 Be eer eee 27

Overton v. Bazetta,

SPE: SED cctbcdavdaseecnassaeese 26

Palmore v. Sidoti,

Ss GD occ ctcccvececesedncdas 18, 37

Pell v. Procuinier,

GBF es SE GOED okv cc nnccevesésotonscave 25

Pitts v. Thornburgh,

866 F.2d 1450 (D.C. Cir. 1989) .............. 40

Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pa. v. Casey,

ut Ree rere yer 28

x

Cited Authorities

Page

Plessy v. Ferguson,

Se Gs ST EE: 604k s0encnsenerasddunes 19

Powers v. Ohio,

Se ees EE 400000 ehencnsnecéasceay 19

Reed v. Faulkner,

842 F.2d 960 (7th Cir. 1988) ................ 38

Regents of University of Cal. v. Bakke,

ee Ce RUPUED ee ccbevekeueeceavas 17, 30, 34

Richmond vy. J.A. Croson Co., -

Gee ee EE bCieedocenenasteanceas passim

Rodriguez de Quijas v.

Shearson/American Express, Inc.,

ee ee ED <b dedeecenagnseecedsdes 28

Saucier v. Katz,

Se es SEY 0 esacndveuncescenieeeb ss 9

Schiro v. Bynum,

ED 0.0 00osédeucsisssaiinces 21

Shaw v. Murphy,

See ek eT EE” 6c hnkk0 oe Kes wee cses 26, 27, 39

Shaw v. Reno,

Pe a UD: cis ct edGivnveseeucens 20, 24

xi

Cited Authorities

Page

Sockwell v. Phelps,

20 F.3d 187 (Sth Cir. 1994) ................. 24

Spain v. Procunier,

600 F.2d 189 (9th Cir. 1979) ................ 29

State Athletic Commission v. Dorsey, |

Se ee a EE oeb.60ndsadeocseektanns 21

Stewart v. Rhodes,

473 F. Supp. 1185 (S.D. Ohio 1979) .......... 24

Thornburgh v. Abbott,

Gs NOD 6.60 6e cb chindcecvcéenss 26

Turner v. City of Memphis,

969 U.S. 350 (19GZ) once ccccccccseccccccees Sh

Turner v. Safley,

ee ah PEED evbcecdecesacesetesesaes passim

United States v. Wyandotte County, A

480 F.2d 969 (10th Cir. 1973) ............4.. 24

Vester v. Rogers,

Ge Ce POEROETD knv neue a cnccvtcncaccess 27

Washington v. Harper,

Pe ee EOE 606 0b006escdescceedanes 26, 27

xii

- Cited Authorities

Washington v. Lee,

263 F. Supp. 327 (M.D. Ala. 1968) ...........

White v. Morris,

832 F. Supp. 1129 (S.D. Ohio 1993) ..........

Wilson v. Seiter,

et Se ED «5644 seGeasenbaseweawer

U.S. CONSTITUTION

ees Ge, SL GEE OPO wr edduceccecdducucéd

FEDERAL STATUTES

a EEE, SK code eden cvissadvecencest

Se OEE acdeneasecacusdavsessedesess

Gas EE 8-0. 60 Vaden Kosvaesscndiedsddes

MISCELLANEOUS

Alan Elsner, Gates of Injustice: The Crisis in

America’s Prisons 41-42 (2004) ..............

Federal Bureau of Prisons Program Statement

1040.4, Policy § 551.90 (1999) ..............

Page

22

24

29

xili

Cited Authorities

Page

David Grann, The Brand: How the Aryan

Brotherhood became the most murderous prison

gang in America, The New Yorker, Feb. 16, 2004,

GE ccncweswaccidsctbduendeukeces eeu 43

Martha L. Henderson, et al., Race, Rights, and Order

in Prison: A National Survey of Wardens on the

Racial Integration of Prison Cells, 80 The Prison

SOS ee SE | No sckcaeunscevecoeines 8, 36, 42

Brief for Appellants, Lee v. Washington,

390 U.S. 333 (1968) (No. 75) ............... 28

Appellants’ Reply Brief, Lee v. Washington,

390 U.S. 333 (1968) (No. 75) .............4.. 30

Larry Meachum, Prisons: Breeding Grounds for

Hate?, Corrections Today, Dec. 2000, at 130 ... 6

Lee Nichols, Breakthrough on the Color

Pe 6 GE die tntdebendedcunusyn coneetes 34, 35

Chad Trulson & James W. Marquart, The Caged

Melting Pot: Toward an Understanding of the

Consequences of Desegregation in Prisons,

36 Law & Soc’y Rev. 743 (2002) ........... 8, 42, 44

]

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit is reported at 321 F.3d 791 (9th Cir. 2003).

Pet. App. la-3la. The Ninth Circuit affirmed the July 30,

2001, decision of the United States District Court for the

Central District of California, which is unreported. Pet. App.

32a-35a. The Ninth Circuit’s opinion denying a petition for

rehearing with suggestion for rehearing en banc (with four

judges dissenting) is reported at 336 F.3d 1117 (9th Cir.

2003). Pet. App. 36a-50a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The court of appeals’ judgment was entered on February

25, 2003. J.A. 8a. A timely petition for rehearing with

suggestion for rehearing en banc was denied on July 28, 2003.

J.A. 9a. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides in pertinent part: “No State shall make

or enforce any law which shall . . . deny to any person within

its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.” U.S. Const.

amend. XIV, § 1.

Title 42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides, in pertinent part:

Every person who, under color of any statute,

ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any

State or Territory or the District of Columbia,

2

subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of

the United States or other person within the

jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party

injured in an action at law, suit in equity, or other

proper proceeding for redress. . . .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The California Department of Corrections (“CDC”)

automatically segregates by race all prisoners upon their

initial assignment to a CDC facility for a 60-day period, and

for another 60-day period upon each transfer. Petitioner

Garrison Johnson (“Johnson”), an African-American, has

been racially segregated in his cell assignments at least five

times — once on arrival, and at least four more times upon

transfer between CDC facilities.' The Ninth Circuit rejected

Johnson’s claim that this CDC policy has violated his right

to equal protection under the Fourteenth Amendment.

In upholding the CDC’s racial segregation policy, the

Ninth Circuit refused to follow this Court’s holding in Lee v.

Washington, 390 U.S. 333 (1968), that racial segregation in

prisons is unlawful, and declined to subject the CDC’s policy

to strict scrutiny despite this Court’s consistent application

of such scrutiny to all state actions discriminating on the

basis of race. E.g., Grutter v. Bollinger, 539 U.S. 306 (2003);

Gratz v. Bollinger, 539 U.S. 244 (2003); Adarand

Constructors, Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S. 200 (1995); Richmond

1. Given that Johnson already has been transferred four times

in 17 years, it is highly likely he will be transferred again, and

subjected again to the admittedly segregationist policy, in the eight-

plus years remaining in his sentence of 25 years to life.

3

v. J.A. Croson Co., 488 U.S. 469 (1989); Korematsu v. United

States, 323 U.S. 214 (1944).

Instead, the Ninth Circuit applied a standard articulated

in Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987), which evaluated

whether certain prison regulations having nothing to do with

race were “reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests.” Pet. App. 12a-13a. Noting that the standard of

review in this case is “paramount” — that is, outcome-

determinative — the Ninth Circuit nonetheless declined to

apply the strict scrutiny previously accorded all governmental

racial classifications and then upheld California’s race-based

assignment policy. Pet. App. 1 la-13a.

A. The CDC’s Policy of Routine Racial Segregation

For more than 25 years, the CDC has segregated

prisoners by race when assigning them to double-cell housing

upon their arrival at prison, and again upon transfer to another

prison. J.A. 182a-183a, 185a [Deposition of Linda L.

Schulteis (“Schulteis Depo.”)]; J.A. 197a-198a, 203a

[Deposition of Steven Cambra (“Cambra Depo.”)}; J.A. 302a-

307a [Declaration of S. Cambra (“Cambra Decl.”), #4 8, 10,

12); J.A. 308a-312a [Declaration of L. Schulteis (“Schulteis

Decl.”), ¥ 5]. Arriving inmates are immediately classified by

the CDC as “black, white, Asian, and other.” Pet. App. 3a.

Prisoners are placed into cells with other prisoners of their

same “ethnic race.” J.A. 213a(¥ 18); 249a (¥ 5); Opposition

to Petition for Certiorari at 2.

Race is concededly the decisive factor in determining

with whom new inmates will be housed. J.A. 182a-183a,

185a, 197a-198a, 203a, 302a-307a (FF 8, 10, 12), 308a-312a

(¥ 5). In making cell assignments, the CDC uses a form

4

(CDC-135) that provides only three pieces of information:

Name/Number, Security/Custody Level, and Ethnicity/Race.

J.A. 207a. The CDC “use[s] ... race as the predominant

factor” to determine double-cell housing assignments in the

reception center. Pet. App. 20a (emphasis added); see also

Pet. App. 3a.

B. Garrison Johnson’s Experience of Racial

Segregation in CDC Facilities

Johnson has been incarcerated in CDC institutions

since 1987 when he was convicted of murder. J.A. 255a-

256a. When Johnson first arrived at a CDC institution, CDC

personnel told him that he had to be placed in a “black cell.”

J.A. 174a. The CDC has transferred Johnson at least four

times during his tenure in the California prison system. J.A.

80a-82a. Each time, he was placed in a cell with another

African-American. J.A. 173a-177a. In his more than 15 years

of observing CDC practices, Johnson has noted that every

arriving prisoner has been placed in a cell with a prisoner of

the same race. J.A. 178a.

C. Garrison Johnson’s Equal Protection Claims and .

the First Appeal Addressing His Complaint

Having suffered the humiliation of forced racial

segregation multiple times, Johnson filed a complaint in

federal district court on February 24, 1995, in pro per,

alleging that the CDC’s policy violated his right to equal

protection under the Fourteenth Amendment. J.A. 15a.

Nearly three years later, on January 8, 1998, the United States

District Court for the Central District of California dismissed

5

Johnson’s Third Amended Complaint without leave to amend.

J.A. 26a.

On March 21, 2000, the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit reversed in part and remanded, holding

that Johnson’s allegations were sufficient to state a claim for

racial discrimination in violation of the Fourteenth

Amendment. Johnson v. California, 207 F.3d 650, 655

(9th Cir. 2000). J.A. 158a-168a.

D. The District Court Proceedings

On remand, the district court appointed counsel for

Johnson and granted leave to file a Fourth Amended

Complaint, in which Johnson sought monetary damages and

injunctive relief. J.A. 28a-29a; 45a-S5a. Discovery was |

conducted, and all parties sought summary judgment on the

equal protection claims. J.A. 130a-277a.

In moving for summary judgment, the CDC contended

that security concerns related to possible violence among

inmates have necessitated its 25-year segregationist policy.

J.A. 302a-312a [Schulteis Decl. 4] 5, 10, 11; Cambra Decl.

{4 13-14). In support of its policy, however, the CDC offered

no evidence, because it had none, of violence, security

breaches, or disorder resulting from integration of two-person

cells. Instead, the CDC stated a belief that “race is very

important to inmates and ... plays a significant role in

antisocial behavior” (J.A. 302a-307a [Cambra Decl. 4 9]),

but offered no data, surveys, academic literature, or other

evidence demonstrating that its belief justifies racial

segregation. Rather, the CDC relied on subjective fears of

racial violence and generalized accounts of conflicts at

Pelican Bay, a unique facility housing notoriously violent

6

convicts, where Johnson has never resided.” The CDC made

no attempt in any of their summary judgment papers to

establish a connection between housing assignments and the

outbreak of violence.’

Mn

2. The Security Housing Unit of Pelican Bay, commonly

referred to as the “SHU,”

has gained a well-deserved reputation as a place which,

by design, imposes conditions far harsher than those

anywhere else in the California prison system... .

[A]ssignment to the SHU is not based on the inmate’s

underlying offense; rather, SHU cells are reserved for

those inmates in the California prison system who

~ become affiliated with a prison gang or commit serious

disciplinary infractions once in prison. They represent

.. “the worst of the worst.”

Madrid v. Gomez, 889 F. Supp. 1146, 1155 (N.D. Cal. 1995).

The CDC admits that the Pelican Bay facility was specifically

designed to house notoriously violent male convicts. [Cambra Depo.,

17:17-19, attached as Exhibit 1 to Defendants’ Response to Plaintiff's

“Statement of Uncontroverted Fact [sic] and Conclusions of Law”

(“[{A}t Pelican Bay, we have some of the most violent men in the — in

the California prison system. . . .”).]

3. Nor did the CDC address the potential that integrated housing

assignments of incoming prisoners might even help to avoid the

outbreak of racial violence. See Larry Meachum, Prisons: Breeding

Grounds for Hate? , Corrections Today, Dec. 2000, at 130. Corrections

officials and hate crimes experts participating in a roundtable in 1999,

hosted by the United States Department of Justice Office of Justice

Programs and the Corrections Program Office, agreed that in order

to prevent prisons from catalyzing racial hatred, “[p)rinciples of

acceptance and tolerance should be integrated into existing programs

and population management practices,” that prison “administrators

must be deliberate about strategies to promote diversity in housing

_.. 3” and that allowing even natural social self-segregation to occur

may unnecessarily allow racial prejudice to flourish. /d. at 131-32.

7

The testimony of the CDC’s o vn prison officials

demonstrated that the CDC segregation policy rests on

anecdotally-based assumptions that inmates of one race will

always tend to be violent toward inmates of otaer races rather

than any quantitative data or other specific information.

The entirety of the evidence relied upon by the CDC consisted

of: (a) four declarations, totaling 28 pages, describing and

attempting to justify the CDC’s segregated housing policy;*

(b) short excerpts from the depositions of two of

the declarants providing similar opinion testimony

(J.A. 313a-316a; Cambra Depo. excerpts attached as Exhibit

1 to Defendants’ Response to Plaintiff’s “Statement of

Uncontroverted Fact [sic] and Conclusions of Law”);

and (c) 14 pages of testimony from Johnson’s deposition (J.A.

21la, 216a-217a). The CDC presented no empirical studies,

no guidelines or regulations from the Federal Bureau of

Prisons or any correctional association, no expert testimony,

and no policies or practices from any other state that

4. The CDC provided declarations from Steven Cambra, at the

time the Acting Director of the CDC (“Cambra”) (J.A. 302a-307a),

and Linda Schulteis, the Associate Warden of California State Prison

~ Lancaster (“Schulteis”) (J.A. 308a-312a). As Acting Director of

the CDC, Cambra oversaw all of the California prisons and was

familiar with the CDC’s policies regarding housing decisions.

J.A. 302a-303a. Schulteis, who at the time of her deposition had

been employed with the CDC for 24 years, testified on behalf of

CDC as the person most knowledgeable at the Lancaster facility

(where Johnson resided at the time) regarding cell housing assignment

policies and procedures. J.A. 18la-195a. A third declaration was

supplied by Barry O'Neill, at the time the Associate Warden at Pelican

Bay State Prison. J.A. 296a-30la. The fourth declaration was

submitted by counsel of record for the CDC, Deputy Attorney General

Sara Turner, to introduce and authenticate certain documents.

J.A. 253a-254a.

8

demonstrate racial segregation of newly arriving prisoners

for two months is necessary or even helpful in averting prison

violence.°

The support the CDC offered to justify its policy

was conclusory and merely anecdotal, relying on “feelings”

and “beliefs”:

[A]s to the initial housing assignment, if we were

not to consider race and gang affiliation in the

initial double-cell housing decision, I am certain

that there will be conflicts both in the cells and

the conflict will flow onto the yards. . . . [I]f we

were to disregard the initial housing placement

being done [by housing an inmate with another

inmate of his same ethnic race], then I am certain

there would be serious violence among inmates.

J.A. 308a-312a (Schulteis Decl. ¥¥ 10, 11). As Cambra

5. The few studies that do exist have demonstrated that the

rate of violence among inmates segregated by race in double cells

_ Surpasses the rate of violence among inmates who are racially

integrated. See, e.g., Chad Trulson & James W. Marquart, The Caged

Melting Pot: Toward an Understanding of the Consequences of

Desegregation in Prisons, 36 Law Soc’y Rev. 743, 769 (2002) (study

of the Texas prison system in the aftermath of federal court

intervention requiring desegregation of two-man cells, which “found

that equal status contact via desegregation did not result in more

violence compared to violence among inmates who were segregated”

and that “the rate of racially motivated assaults among integrated

cell partners decreased as integration increased”) (emp? asis added);

Martha L. Henderson, et al., Race, Rights, and Order in Prison:

A National Survey of Wardens on the Racial Integration of Prison

Cells, 80 The Prison Journal 295, 304 (2000). See discussion

infra p. 36.

9

similarly stated in his declaration:

If race were to be disregarded entirely, ... 1 am

certain, based upon my experience with CDC

prisoners, that there will be problems within the

individual cells. These will be problems that the

staff will have a difficult time in controlling.

I believe there will be fights in the cells and the

problems will emanate onto the prison yards. With

respect to inside individual cells, / do not feel that

prison housing staff are adequately able to deal

with the problems that could arise... . Because

of the problems we have on the yards, which are

open and easily observable areas, with respect to

racial conflicts including riots, which have led to

serious injury and deaths, / believe that the same

problems could and will surface inside of the

individual cells.

J.A. 302a-307a (Cambra Decl. 44 13-14) (emphasis added).

Among other obvious deficiencies, the declarations did not

even attempt to justify the application of the segregationist

policy to prisoners more than once, i.e., when they have

already been observed by CDC personnel for an initial 60-

day period and are later moved from one institution to

another.

On June 11, 2001, the district court denied the summary

judgment motions. J.A. 420a-425a. After this Court decided

Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194 (2001), however, respondents

Rowland and Gomez successfully moved for reconsideration

of the denial of their motion for summary judgment based

on qualified immunity. Pet. App. 7a. Johnson appealed.

J.A. 40a.

10

E. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the district

court on different grounds, holding that the CDC’s autem tic

racial segregation policy is entitled to a presumpiion of

constitutionality and that Johnson had not rebutted that

presumption. Pet. App. 31a.

The panel concluded that the standard of scrutiny would

be determinative, perceiving that the justification proffered

by California was far too slim to prevail if the policy were

subjected to strict scrutiny. Pet. App. 11a. Notwithstanding

Lee v. Washington, 390 U.S. 333 (1968), and the Supreme

Court’s repeated holdings that a// state racial classifications

are presumptively unlawful and may be upheld, if at all, only

if able to withstand strict scrutiny, the Ninth Circuit carved

out a wholesale “prison exception.” It held that the more

relaxed review of Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987), should

be applied to any intentional racial segregation undertaken

by prison administrators. The court upheld California’s policy

on that relaxed review, concluding that Johnson had not met

his burden of refuting a “common-sense connection” between

the government’s objective and the CDC’s racial segregation

policy. Pet. App. 19a, 21a. According to the Ninth Circuit

panel, in order to prevail, Johnson would have to offer

evidence showing that, in the absence of the CDC’s racial

segregation policy, racial violence would not increase. Jd.

F. The Ninth Circuit’s Denial of Rehearing and the

Dissent

Johnson petitioned unsuccessfully for rehearing with a

suggestion for rehearing en banc. Pet. App. 36a-37a.

Four judges dissented from the denial of rehearing. Pet. App.

11

38a-50a. The dissenting judges argued that this Court has

not overruled Lee, and distinguished Turner because it was

not a case involving racial segregation:

“[G]Jeneral expressions, in every opinion, are to

be taken in connection with the case in which

those expressions are used. If they go beyond the

case, they may be respected, but ought not to

control the judgment in a subsequent suit when

the very point is presented for decision.”

Pet. App. 41a n.1 (quoting Cohens v. Virginia, 19 U.S. 264,

399 (1821)). The dissent also noted that “[bJoth the Fifth

and Seventh Circuits have refused to accord such extreme

deference [to racial segregation by prison administrators],

recognizing that, in the context of race, more must be

required.” Pet. App. 44a. The dissenting judges found Lee

controlling, especially in light of this Court’s recent and

repeated command that lower courts apply strict scrutiny to

all race-based classifications. Pet. App. 38a-42a, 50a.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Thirty-six years ago, this Court held in Lee that racial

segregation which is constitutionally prohibited outside of

prisons is equally prohibited inside prison walls. The Court’s

opinion affirmed, and found “unexceptionable,” the decision

of a three-judge court that rejected an argument essentially

indistinguishable from that advanced by California here,

namely that “the practice of racial segregation in penal

facilities is a matter of routine prison security and discipline.”

Lee requires application of strict scrutiny and the reversal of

the Ninth Circuit’s judgment that California’s routine

12

segregation of prisoners by race and ethnicity is not subject

to strict scrutiny and does not violate the Equal Protection

Clause.

This Court has repeatedly held, and repeated

unanimously just last year, that every governmental use of

race to classify individuals or assign them benefits or burdens

is subject to strict scrutiny and is permissible only if the

government proves its use of race necessary and narrowly

tailored to advance compelling governmental objectives.

California’s policy, by which all initial cell assignments —

on arrival and on every subsequent transfer — are determined

by race or ethnicity, is subject to that rule. This is so regardless

of the professed motivation (protection of inmates against

violence) that underlies the policy.

The Ninth Circuit erred in disregarding Lee and

concluding that it was overruled sub silentio by Turner.

The holdings that all governmental segregation and racial

classification is permissible, if at all, only upon strict scrutiny,

are more recent, more carefully considered, more relevant

(reached as they were in cases involving racial

discrimination), and more fundamental than the dicta cited

from Jurner and its progeny. The 7urner standard was not

formulated in a case involving intentional racial

discrimination, and has never been applied by this Court in

any case involving racial discrimination. The same reasons

that have led the Court to apply Eighth Amendment review

(rather than Turner review) to claims alleging violation of

Eighth Amendment rights also require application of

Fourteenth Amendment strict scrutiny to the intentional racial

segregation of prisoners. Further, the policy reasons that

underlie Turner — the need to preserve for prison

administrators a full range of discretion to operate prisons

13

in the interests of community and prisoner safety — do not

extend to cases challenging routine racial segregation,

because prison administrators do not need, and are ordinarily

not supposed to have, the discretion to engage in racial

segregation. To put it another way, under the Fourteenth

Amendment, racial discrimination generally, and racial

segregation in particular, are not “tools” that prison

administrators should routinely use to protect prisoners and

the public. Point J.

Under the strict scrutiny required by Lee and all other

cases examining government racial classifications from

Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954), to Grutter

v. Bollinger, 539 U.S. 306 (2003), the CDC’s routine,

automatic, and unexamined segregation policy is invalid.

Assuming arguendo that routine racial segregation ever

could be justified for long-term prison management — as

distinct from its imposition in connection with some specific

event such as a post-race-riot emergency — respondents utterly

failed to provide the kind of proof necessary to survive strict

scrutiny. The CDC pointed to no particularized circumstances

requiring the permanent enshrinement of its racial segregation

policy; adduced no empirical data or statistical analyses to

support the notion that housing together members of different

races will always and necessarily lead to violence; and

presented no expert testimony or other evidence establishing

that its policy was necessary and narrowly tailored to advance

compelling state interests. The policy has continued through

bureaucratic inertia for twenty-five years without ever being

given a hard look. The CDC rested its justification

exclusively on anecdotal beliefs and the “feelings” of a

handful of administrators, which lack any support and have

never been tested or subjected to careful review.

14

The justification it advanced was no more specific or sound

than the justifications advanced in this Court, always

unsuccessfully, for numerous “Jim Crow” laws, including

those restricting integration in housing, on buses, on golf

courses, in restaurants, and in courtrooms. The state’s reliance

on race or ethnicity categorically, rather than as part of an

individualized assessment of each inmate’s particular history

of racial animosity and pattern of racial violence, violates

the Equal Protection Clause. Compare Grutter, 539 U.S. 306,

with Gratz, 539 U.S. 244. Point IIA.

The CDC’s policy would be invalid even if the more

relaxed standard of Zurner applied. The policy rests on

premises (that inmates of different backgrounds will tend to

be violent with one another, and that segregated cells will

tend to reduce prison violence) that lack any rational support;

it causes precisely the full harm that the Equal Protection

Clause was intended to eliminate; it is not justifiable as

conserving scarce administrative or economic resources; and

there are ready alternatives that fully accommodate the state’s

interests while affording inmates the equal protection and

elimination of state-imposed segregation that the Constitution

guarantees. Prison officials do not need discretion to routinely

segregate prisoners by race and ethnicity. They are required

to run prisons, while protecting the public and inmates alike,

by means other than routine racial segregation. Point JIB.

15

ARGUMENT

I. RACE-BASED PRISON CELL ASSIGNMENTS,

LIKE ALL OTHER RACE-BASED GOVERN-

MENT CLASSIFICATIONS, ARE SUBJECT TO

STRICT SCRUTINY

A. This Court Has Repeatedly Held That All

Government Race-Based Classifications Are

Invalid Unless They Survive the Court’s Most

Rigid Scrutiny

Over the last 60 years, this Court has consistently held

that government racial classifications must be strictly

scrutinized to determine whether such classifications are

permissible under the Fourteenth Amendment. The Ninth

Circuit’s refusal to apply that settled rule, and decision to

apply instead the more relaxed standard provided in Turner,

is grave error, mandating reversal.

The Court recently reaffirmed its deeply rooted holding

that “all racial classifications imposed by government ‘must

be analyzed by a reviewing court under strict scrutiny.’””

Grutter, 539 U.S. at 326; Gratz, 539 U.S. at 270 (“It is by

now well established that ‘a// racial classifications reviewable

under the Equal Protection Clause must be strictly

scrutinized.’”) (quoting Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena,

515 U.S. 200 (1995)) (emphasis added). Although the Court

split over the constitutionality of the admissions policies at

issue, all nine Justices were in agreement that strict scrutiny

applies whenever the government classifies based on race.

Grutter, 539 U.S. at 326 (O’Connor, J., for the Court, joined

by Stevens, Souter, Ginsburg, and Breyer, JJ.) (“We apply

strict scrutiny to all racial classifications... .”); id. at 378

16

(Rehnquist, C.J., dissenting, joined by Scalia, J., Kennedy,

J., and Thomas, J.) (“[I]n the limited circumstance when

drawing racial distinctions is permissible, the government

must ensure that its means are narrowly tailored to achieve a

compelling state interest.”) (citation and internal quotation

omitted); id. at 388 (Kennedy, J., dissenting) (relying on the

Court’s repeated reaffirmation of “the absolute necessity of

strict scrutiny when the state uses race as an operative

category’).

The unanimous holding last year in Grutter by every

current member of this Court that every governmental

intentional classification on the basis of race be justified, if

at all, on a showing by the government that the practice is

necessary and narrowly tailored to serve compelling

governmental ends, was not novel. It reflected the Court’s

longstanding understanding of constitutional imperative.

Enforcement of the cqual protection guarantees requires strict

scrutiny for a// rules classifying by race, and this has been

the Court’s view for decades prior to Grutter and Gratz. See

Adarand, 515 U.S. 200; Richmond v. J.A. Croson Co., 488

U.S. 469 (1989); Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967);

Korematsu v. United States, 323 U.S. 214 (1944). The Court

has consistently held that strict scrutiny is required for

governmental racial classification “regardless of the

government’s purported reason for using race and regardless

of the setting in which race was being used.” Grutter, 539

U.S. at 379 (Rehnquist, C.J., dissenting, joined by Scalia,

Kennedy, and Thomas, JJ.).°

6. It was uncertain, for a time, whether that same rule applied

to remedial classifications — those intended to remedy the effects of

prior state segregation. See, e.g., Metro Broadcasting, Inc. v. FCC,

497 U.S. 547 (1990); Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448 (1980);

(Cont'd)

17

The unwavering application of strict scrutiny to

governmental racial or ethnic classifications derives from

the Fourteenth Amendment’s history and core purposes.

Shortly after it recognized in Hirabayashi v. United States,

320 U.S. 81, 100 (1943), that “[d]istinctions between citizens

solely because of their ancestry are by their very nature odious

to a free people whose institutions are founded upon the

doctrine of equality,” the Court first decided that the Equal

Protection Clause demands that racial classifications be

subjected to “the most rigid scrutiny.” Korematsu, 323 U.S.

at 216. The Court held that if racial classifications are to be

sustained, they must be shown to be necessary to the

accomplishment of a compelling or overriding state objective.

Id. at 216; see also Adarand, 515 U.S. at 223-24 (“[A]ll racial

classifications reviewable under the Equal Protection Clause

must be strictly scrutinized,” and “any preference based on

racial or ethnic criteria must necessarily receive the

most searching examination.”) (emphasis added, citations

omitted).

Strict scrutiny is no less required in the face of odious

government racial distinctions made among prisoners.

As Justice Scalia has written:

The benign purpose of compensating for social

dise jvantages, whether they have been acquired

by reason of prior discrimination or otherwise, can

no more be pursued » y the illegitimate means of

racial discrimination than can other assertedly

(Cont'd)

Regents of Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978). More recent

decisions of this Court dispelled that uncertainty. See Adarand,

515 U.S. 200; Grutter, 539 U.S. 306.

18

benign purposes we have repeatedly rejected.

See, e. g., Lee v. Washington, 390 U.S. 333 (1968)

(per curiam) (permanent racial segregation of all

prison inmates, presumably to reduce possibility

of racial conflict).

Croson, 488 U.S. at 520 (Scalia, J., concurring in judgment)

(citations omitted).

Strict scrutiny applies to review all claims challenging

intentional governmental racial discrimination for three

reasons. First, only a narrow tailoring requirement can

“ensure that ‘the means chosen “fit” . . . the compelling goal

so closely that there is little or no possibility that the motive

for the classification was illegitimate racial prejudice or

stereotype.’” Grutter, 539 U.S. at 331 (quoting Croson, 488

U.S. at 493 (plurality opinion)) (alteration in original).

This first rationale serves a “core purpose of the Fourteenth

Amendment,” that is “to do away with all governmentally

imposed discrimination based on race.” Grutter, 539 U.S.

at 341 (quoting Palmore v. Sidoti, 466 U.S. 429, 432 (1984)).

Second, racial classifications threaten to cause stigmatic

harm, to promote notions of racial inferiority, and to incite

racial hostility. Croson, 488 U.S. at 494 (plurality opinion).

Never has the Court accepted the contention that the

government can constitutionally resort to racial segregation

or classification to quell racial hostility. “The Constitution

cannot control [individual] prejudices but neither can it

tolerate them. Private biases may be outside the reach of the

law, but the law cannot, directly or indirectly, give them

effect.” Palmore, 466 U.S. at 433; see also Buchanan yv.

Warley, 245 U.S. 60, 81 (1917) (“It is urged that this proposed

segregation will promote the public peace by preventing race

19

conflicts. Desirable as this is, and important as is the

preservation of the public peace, this aim cannot be

accomplished by laws or ordinances which deny rights

created or protected by the Federal Constitution.”).

Race-based government classification is presumptively

unlawful and invariably subject to strict scrutiny even if

applied equally. Loving, 388 U.S. at 9; Brown, 347 U.S. 483.

The suggestion that racial classifications may

survive when visited upon all persons is no more

authoritative today than the case which advanced

the theorem, Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537

(1896). This idea has no place in our modern equal

protection jurisprudence. It is axiomatic that racial

classifications do not become legitimate on the

assumption that all persons suffer them in equal

decree.

Powers v. Ohio, 499 U.S. 400, 410 (1991) (parallel citations

omitted).

Third, the bloody history that resulted in the Fourteenth

Amendment’s goal of a colorblind society demands a higher

threshold of proof for any governmental racial classification.

The forced separation of citizens based on race is odious to

this equal protection principle.

[T]he Constitution abhors classifications based on

race, not only because those classifications can

harm favored races or are based on illegitimate

motives, but also because every time the

government places citizens on racial registers and

makes race relevant to the provision of burdens

or benefits, it demeans us all.

20

Grutter, 539 U.S. at 353 (Thomas, J., dissenting). See also

Croson, 488 U.S. at 518 (“The moral imperative of racial

neutrality is the driving force of the Equal Protection

Clause.”) (Kennedy, J., concurring); id. at 520 (Scalia, J.,

concurring in judgment). To permit review of any racial

classification without strict scrutiny would “reinforce and

preserve for future mischief the way of thinking that produced

race slavery, race privilege and race hatred.” Adarand, 515

U.S. at 239 (Scalia, J., concurring).

For these reasons, a “racial classification, regardless

of purported motivation, is presumptively invalid and

can be upheld only upon an extraordinary justification.”

Shaw v. Reno, 509 U.S. 630, 643-44 (1993) (citation and

internal quotation omitted) (applying strict scrutiny to racial

gerrymanders).

B. Lee v. Washington Demands That Courts Strictly

Scrutinize Prison-Based Racial Equal Protection

Claims

The appropriate standard of review here is mandated not

only by the repeated holdings in Grutter and its predecessors,

but also by the specific holding in Lee, where the Court

affirmed that racial segregation of prison inmates violates

the Fourteenth Amendment and is presumed invalid unless

it survives strict scrutiny. 390 U.S. 333. “[R]acial segregation,

which is unconstitutional outside prisons, is unconstitutional

within prisons, save for ‘the necessities of prison security

and discipline.”” Cruz v. Beto, 405 U.S. 319, 321 (1972)

(citing Lee, 390 U.S. at 334) (emphasis added).

Like many of the decisions applying Brown 5s invalidation

of separate but equal, the Court’s decision in Lee was a

21

short per curiam opinion, recognizing the simple proposition

that state statutes imposing racial segregation in

prisons violate the Fourteenth Amendment.’ Affirming the

desegregation decree of the court below, the Court found it

“unexceptionable.” 390 U.S. at 334. The argument advanced

by Alabama to justify its policies which the lower court

categorically rejected was, as described, virtually identical

to the argument modeled on Jurner made by California here

(and accepted by the Ninth Circuit): “The only defense

offered to the contention that the statutes involved herein

... violate the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States is that

the practice of racial segregation in penal facilities is a matter

of routine prison security and discipline.” Washington v. Lee,

263 F. Supp. 327, 331 (M.D. Ala. 1968) (three-judge court).

The judgment affirmed by the Supreme Court rejected an

attempt to subject governmental racial discrimination in

prisons to lesser scrutiny than is applied to such

discrimination elsewhere, noting that “the case was governed

by Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954), and

the numerous cases implementing that decision, [which

made] unmistakably clear that racial discrimination by

7. See, e.g., Mayor of Baltimore v. Dawson, 350 U.S. 877

(1955) (public beaches and bathhouses); Holmes v. City of Atlanta,

350 U.S. 879 (1955) (municipal golf courses); Gayle v. Browder,

352 U.S. 903 (1956) (public transportation); Muir v. Louisville Park

Theatrical Ass'n, 347 U.S. 971 (1954) (parks); New Orleans City

Park Improvement Ass'n v. Detiege, 358 U.S. 54 (1958) (parks);

State Athletic Comm'n v. Dorsey, 359 U.S. 533 (1959) (athletic

contests); Turner v. City of Memphis, 369 U.S. 350 (1962) (airport

restaurants); Johnson v. Virginia, 373 U.S. 61 (1963) (courtroom

seating); Schiro v. Bynum, 375 U.S. 395 (1964) (municipal

auditoriums).

22

governmental authorities in the use of public facilities cannot

be tolerated.” Washington v. Lee, 263 F. Supp. at 331.

The three-judge court added that it could

conceive of no consideration of prison security or

discipline which will sustain the constitutionality of

state statutes that on their face require complete and

permanent segregation of the races in all the Alabama

penal facilities. We recognize that there is merit in

the contention that in some isolated instances prison

security and discipline necessitates segregation of

the races for a limited period. However, recognition

of such instances does nothing to bolster the statutes

or the general practice that requires or permits prison

or jail officials to separate the races arbitrarily.

Such statutes and practices must be declared

unconstitutional in light of the clear principles

controlling.

Id. at 331-32.

The references to Lee, 390 U.S. 333, in subsequent

opinions suggest without exception that it remains very good

law, and do not suggest any overruling of its holding that

Strict scrutiny, rather than any special exception to it for

prisons generally, is the constitutionally mandated standard

that must be applied to all prison racial classifications. For

example, in Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S. 517, 523 (1984),

the Court cited and quoted Lee for the holding “that invidious

racial discrimination is as intolerable within a prison as

outside, except as may be essential to ‘prison security and

discipline.’”

23

The Court cited Lee again in Turner, 482 U.S. at 84, as

authority for the point that inmates retain constitutional

protections in prison, including protection from race

discrimination. The Court did not suggest in any way that

the application of strict scrutiny to a race-based equal

protection claim in Lee had been called into question.

Justice Scalia’s 1989 concurrence in Croson cited Lee

in the course of recognizing that only “a social emergency”

imminently threatening “life and limb” could justify limited

racial segregation of inmates. Croson, 488 U.S. at 520-21

(Scalia, J., concurring in judgment). Last year, after first

explaining that “pressing public necessity” is synonymous

with “compelling governmental interest” under the strict

scrutiny standard, Justice Thomas cited Lee for the holding

that prison racial segregation can be justified, if at all, only

if it survives strict scrutiny:

I conclude that only those measures the State must

take to provide a bulwark against anarchy, or to

prevent violence, will constitute a “pressing public

necessity.” Cf. Lee v. Washington, 390 U. S. 333,

334 (1968) (per curiam) (Black, J., concurring) ©

(indicating that protecting prisoners from violence

might justify narrowly tailored racial

discrimination) ... .

Grutter, 539 U.S. at 353 (Thomas, J., concurring in part and

dissenting in part) (parallel citations omitted) (emphasis

added).

The holding of Lee, in common with the holding of

post-Brown cases generally, is plain: the cell-segregation

policy challenged here is presumptively unlawful and may

24

be upheld, if at all, only if the state has carried its burden of

proving that policy necessary and narrowly tailored to

advance compelling governmental purposes. Shaw v. Reno,

509 U.S. at 643-44; Lee, 390 U.S. 333.8

C. Turner v. Safley Created No Exception to Lee v.

Washington or the Unitary Standard of Review

Mandated by the Court’s Other Racial Equal

Protection Holdings

In neither 7urner nor its progeny has this Court departed

from its unbroken line of precedents applying strict scrutiny

to intentional governmental racial segregation.

1. In Turner, the Court considered an inmate class action

challenging state prison regulations that restricted

8. Numerous lower courts applying Lee both before and after

Turner have strictly scrutinized prison racial segregation policies and

practices, invalidating them unless prison officials provide a

compelling and narrowly tailored justification for their racial

classifications. See, e.g., Sockwell v. Phelps, 20 F. 3d 187 (Sth Cir.

1994) (strict scrutiny applied under Lee to invalidate Texas prison

racial segregation); Black v. Lane, 824 F.2d 561 (7th Cir. 1987) (strict

scrutiny invoked to reverse summary judgment on prisoner’s race

discrimination claim); United States v. Wyandotte County, 480 F.2d

969 (10th Cir. 1973) (a vague fear of racial violence was insufficient

to justify a racial segregation policy); Blevins v. Brew, 593 F. Supp.

245 (W.D. Wisc. 1984) (under Lee, to justify even temporary initial

racial segregation for one night, officials must show the practice is

necessitated by extreme or exigent circumstances involving racial

conflict); Stewart v. Rhodes, 473 F. Supp. 1185 (S.D. Ohio 1979)

(vague fear that integration will result in violence held insufficient

to justify segregation); McClelland v. Sigler, 327 F. Supp. 829

(D. Neb. 1971) (the argument that integration would endanger internal

prison security did not justify racial segregation); but see, Morrison

v. Garraghty, 239 F.3d 648, 655 (4th Cir. 2001); White v. Morris,

832 F. Supp. 1129 (S.D. Ohio 1993).

25

correspondence between inmates and restricted inmate

marriage. 482 U.S. at 81. Before addressing the inmates’

specific First Amendment and Fourteenth Amendment due

process claims, the Court articulated a standard of review

for those claims that would be responsive to two relevant

principles. /d. at 85. On the one hand, “[p]rison walls do not

form a barrier separating prison inmates from the protections

of the Constitution.” /d. at 84. Because prison inmates remain

protected by the Constitution, “federal courts must take

cognizance of valid constitutional claims of prison inmates.”

Id. The Court cited Lee among other cases in support of the

principle that prisoners retain constitutional rights. On the

other hand, separation of powers and federalism counsel

deference to state prison authorities, who are better equipped

than federal courts to deal with the problems of prison

administration or reform. Because certain “complex and

intractable” problems that bedevil America’s prisons are

“not readily susceptible of resolution by decree[,]” the

“expertise, planning, and the commitment of resources”

necessary to run a prison “are peculiarly within the province

of the legislative and executive branches of government.”

Id. at 84-85.

Consistent with these principles, the Court formulated a

standard of review based on four of the Court’s prior

prisoners’ rights decisions which, like Turner, did not involve

any claimed violation of the right to racial equal protection.’

The Court did not cite Lee or any cases involving equal

protection, race, or any other suspect classifications as a basis

9. See Turner, 482 U°S. at 86-87 (citing Block v. Rutherford,

468 U.S. 576 (1984); Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979); Jones v.

North Carolina Prisoners’ Union, 433 U.S. 119 (1977); and Pell v.

Procuinier, 417 U.S. 817 (1974)).

26

for the “reasonably related to legitimate penological interests”

standard it adopted. Turner, 482 U.S. at 84.'°

The Court has since applied the 7urner standard to

inmate challenges to prison regulations that arguably

impinged on First Amendment rights of free association, free

speech, and free exercise, the right to substantive due process

under the Fourteenth Amendment, and the constitutional nght

to access the courts.'' Moreover, it has written, in dicta, that

10. Turner summarizes the standard as follows: “[W]hen a

prison regulation impinges on inmates’ constitutional rights, the

regulation is valid if it is reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests [and is not] an ‘exaggerated response’ to prison concerns.”

Turner, 482 U.S. at 89, 90. Turner identifies four factors that should

be considered under this standard: (1) whether there is a valid, rational

connection between the prison regulation and a neutral, legitimate

government interest put forward to justify it; (2) whether alternative

means of exercising the asserted constitutional right remain open to

the inmate; (3) whether and to what extent accommodation of the

asserted right will have an impact on prison personnel, inmates, and

the allocation of prison resources; and (4) whether a ready alternative

to the challenged practice exists that will fully accommodate the

prisoners’ interest at de minimis cost to valid penological interests.

Id. at 89-91.

11. Overton v. Bazetta, 539 U.S. 126 (2003) (upholding a prison

system’s limitations on non-contact visits regardless of whether a

right to association survived incarceration); Shaw v. Murphy,

532 U.S. 223 (2001) (prisoners have no First Amendment right to

provide legal assistance to others); Lewis v. Casey, 518 U.S. 343

(1996) (lower court failed to accord sufficient deference to prison

restrictions on inmates’ access to law libraries); Washington v. Harper,

494 U.S. 210 (1990) (upholding administration of anti-psychotic

drugs to inmates against their will); Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S.

401 (1989) (prison regulations governing what publications inmates

(Cont’d)

27

the Turner standard “applies to all circumstances in which

the needs of prison administration implicate constitutional

rights.” Washington v. Harper, 494 U.S. 210, 223-24 (1990);

see also Shaw v. Murphy, 532 U.S. 223, 229 (2001). But the

Court has never applied 7Jurner in a case involving equal

protection of suspect classes, much less held that the more

relaxed standard of review applied in Turner — rather than

the strict scrutiny accorded to racial equal protection claims

under Lee and the Court’s subsequent cases — applies to

allegations that prison officials segregate or otherwise classify

prisoners by race.

2. Notwithstanding Lee and the subsequent repeated

holdings (by every member of the present Court, and as

recently as June 2003) that a// governmental racial

classifications require strict scrutiny, the Ninth Circuit

refused to subject California’s policy to that demanding

standard. In substituting the relaxed review of Turner, it erred,

for Turner and its progeny” neither overturned Lee nor

created a prison exception to strict scrutiny for governmental

racial discrimination. At least five considerations support the

conclusion that the rule of Lee, Croson, and Grutter — not

Turner — governs this case.

(Cont’d)

may receive must be reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests); O’Lone v. Shabazz, 482 U.S. 342 (1987) (a prison

regulation that impinges upon inmates’ free exercise rights is

constitutionally valid if it is reasonably related to legitimate

penological interests); Vester v. Rogers, 482 U.S. 916 (1987) (denying

review of challenge to restriction on prisoner-to-prisoner

correspondence with citation to Turner).

12. Shaw v. Murphy, 532 U.S. 223; Washington, 494 U.S. 210;

O’'Lone, 482 U.S. 342.

28

First, the present case is squarely governed by a specific

decision of this Court which has not been overruled.

Lee was decided under the rule of strict scrutiny applied in

Brown and its progeny. Lee rejected a position advanced by

Alabama that would have created a prison exception to the

strict scrutiny otherwise governing all intentional

governmental racial segregation.'’ But Alabama’s archaic

position — rejected in Lee — would have to be embraced here

if Turner were applied to governmental action involving

racial discrimination. The case is therefore governed by

precedent, see Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pa. v.

Casey, 505 U.S. 833, 854-55, 862-84 (1992), and by the rule

that the Court’s prior decisions are not subject to overruling

by implication. Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American

Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477, 484 (1989)."*

Second, the Croson-Grutter rule was formulated in cases

involving racial discrimination — the very issue presented

here. The reference to Lee in both Croson and Grutter makes

plain that racial classifications in prison are included in the

class of “all racial classifications” that are subject to strict

scrutiny. By contrast, the Turner standard was formulated in

a case not involving racial discrimination, and has never been

applied in a racial classification case by this Court.

13. In the Brief for Appellants, filed by Alabama with this Court

in Lee, the state unsuccessfully argued that “[t}he same rules relating

to race which have been judicially applied since 1954 to public parks,

schools and similar public facilities are not applicable to and should

not be applied to prisons and jails.” Brief for Appellants at 10,

Lee, 390 U.S. 333 (No. 75).

14. Lee was not a summary affirmance. It was subject to oral

argument; thereafter, the Court issued a per curiam opinion, and three

justices wrote a concurring opinion.

29

Third, if there is any conflict between the broad,

categorical rule stated in Grutter and its predecessors

(for racial discrimination) and the rule stated in Turner and

its progeny (for prison regulations), the Grutter rule is more

fundamental and specifically applicable. Strict scrutiny for

all racial classifications is rooted in the history of slavery,

the Civil War amendments and the constitutional commitment

to achieving a colorblind society. Strict scrutiny of

government racial classifications has been repeatedly and

carefully considered by this Court; has been reiterated more

recently than has the Jurner rule; and is demonstrably correct

as stated. The dicta in Turner, and repeated subsequently,

suggesting a general application of its holding to prison cases,

does not apply to rules segregating prisoners by race or

“ethnic race” (the term used by the CDC [Opposition to

Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 2}), just as it does not apply

to cruel or unusual punishment meted out by prison officers.

That Turner s dicta does not trump settled holdings in

other areas is shown by the Court’s subsequent Eighth

Amendment jurisprudence. Claims under the Eighth

Amendment that prisoners have been subject to cruel or

unusual punishment are subject to the Eighth Amendment’s

own sui generis standard, not the broadly deferential Turner

rule. See Nelson v. Campbell, No. 03-6821, 2004 U.S. Lexis

3680, *14-15 (May 24, 2004) (analyzing prisoner’s

claim that his constitutional rights were impinged with no

reference to Turner); Hudson v. McMillian, 503 U.S. 1 (1992)

(same); Wilson v. Seiter, 501 U.S. 294 (1991) (same);

Spain v. Procunier, 600 F.2d 189, 194 (9th Cir. 1979)

(Kennedy, J.) (“The whole point of the amendment is to

protect persons convicted of crimes. Eighth amendment

protections are not forfeited by one’s prior acts. Mechanical

deference to the findings of state prison officials in the

30

context of the eighth amendment would reduce that provision

to a nullity in precisely the context where it is most

necessary.”). Claims involving intentional racial segregation

are equally subject to the Equal Protection Clause’s

controlling standard of review, and deference to the beliefs

of the CDC in this context would similarly reduce the

protections of the Fourteenth Amendment to a nullity."

Fourth, this Court has expressly rejected the argument

that government representatives — whether in the legislative

or executive branch of local, state, or federal government —

are entitled to judicial deference when racial classifications

are involved. Adarand, 515 U.S. at 235-36.'° Even Congress

is not entitled to deference that would permit the Court to

15. When the government brings an enforcement action under

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000d, the

question whether the state program discriminates on the basis of race

is subject to strict scrutiny. Regents of Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke, 438

U.S. 265, 290-91 (1978); see also Gratz, 539 U.S. at 276 n.23. It is

therefore inconceivable that the same question, when examined in

the context of a suit brought under the Equal Protection Clause by

the victim of such discrimination, would be subject to some more

relaxed standard.

16. This argument was also made, and rejected, in Lee, wherein

the state of Alabama unsuccessfully argued in its reply brief that

[w]e have in this case an illustration of a legitimate area

for the exercise of administrative discretion. It would

be wrong, and even dangerous, for this court to upset

the time honored, judicially recognized, principle

permitting wide administrative discretion in an effort to

stop one alleged invidious practice, particularly when

you can insure the end of that alleged practice by a simple

and clear declaration of the law.

Appellants’ Reply Brief at 2, Lee, 390 U.S. 333 (No. 75).

31

use a relaxed standard of scrutiny when reviewing

assertedly benign classifications based on race or ethnicity.

Id. at 223-24, rev'g, Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448

(1980). The legislative and executive branches may be

generally better equipped than the judiciary to determine how

to manage prisons with respect to the vast generality of prison

rules or prison administrator conduct, but the judiciary is

best suited to evaluate racial protection claims and to

scrutinize carefully any claimed necessity to segregate

prisoners by race. Croson, 488 U.S. at 490-91 (plurality

ren see Grutter, 539 U.S. at 326; Adarand, 515 U.S. at

Finally, the Turner rationale does not reach, and has no

logical application to, official, regularized state-sanctioned

racial segregation or other discrimination. Rooted as it is in

the recognition that prison administration is difficult and

within the peculiar province of prison officials (see Turner,

482 U.S. at 85), Turner neither afforded nor was intended to

foster or protect the discretion to treat prisoners differently

because of their race or ethnic background. Under the law,

prison administrators must first find ways other than racial

classifications to advance compelling state interests.

“[OJnly a social emergency rising to the level of imminent

danger to life and limb — for example, a prison race riot,

requiring temporary segregation of inmates, cf. Lee v.

Washington, supra — can justify an exception to the

principle .. . that our Constitution is colorblind.” Croson,

488 U.S. at 520-21 (Scalia, J., concurring in judgment)

(citation and internal quotation omitted).

Freedom from racial segregation is qualitatively different

from the rights to which the Court has applied 7urner.

See supra note 11. The right to freedom from racial

32

segregation implicates not only all the historic concerns

inherent in the Court’s racial protection jurisprudence, but

also the very legitimacy of the penal system, an institution

which was “founded upon the doctrine of equality.”

Hirabayashi v. United States, 320 U.S. 81, 100 (1943). Given

the significant societal harms posed by the threat of

government-created racial classifications, and the rare and

highly unusual circumstances in which segregating prisoners

by race might ever be temporarily necessary, strict scrutiny

is necessary to determine whether the CDC is using race

illegitimately, unnecessarily classifying and segregating

prisoners by race when compelling governmental goals can

be advanced just as well, and almost certainly far better, by

colorblind means.

ll. THE CDC’S POLICY OF SEGREGATING ALL

ARRIVING INMATES BY RACE AND ETHNICITY

VIOLATES THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE

The CDC presented no evidence that its policy of racially

segregating two-man cells in all CDC facilities for all

incoming inmates and a// transferred inmates (regardless of,

inter alia, the length of their tenure and prior conduct) is

necessary to protect against inmate violence. Nor did the CDC

present evidence that it had ever questioned, reviewed, or

assessed the need for the policy during its 25-plus year

history. The CDC offered no testimony or other evidence

demonstrating that a mixed-race cell assignment had led to

any violence at any CDC institution, at any time, much less

that its policy is necessary and narrowly tailored to avert such

violence. Nor did the CDC offer any expert testimony to

support the notion that its policy of automatic segregation

by race minimizes the risk of prison violence. A generalized

fear of racial violence is the only basis on which the CDC’s

policy of racial segregation rests.

33

Whether the policy is subjected to strict scrutiny under

Lee, or even the more relaxed standard employed in Turner,

the CDC’s automatic, blanket segregation policy does not

withstand scrutiny under the Equal Protection Clause.

A. The CDC’s Implementation of Racial Segregation

Is Not Narrowly Tailored to Serve a Compelling

State Interest, or Any Interest

Under standards advocated by Justices Scalia and

Thomas, it is doubtful that the daily management of the

California prison system — as distinct from some particular

situation constituting an emergency — presents a sufficiently

“compelling necessity” that might merit further analysis

under strict scrutiny. Croson, 488 U.S. at 521 (Scalia, J.,

concurring in judgment); Grutter, 539 U.S. at 352-53

(Thomas, J., concurring and dissenting). Even if the routine

use of racially segregated cell assignments of all arriving

prisoners for 60 days so as to minimize inmate violence to

other inmates could present a “compelling governmental

interest” in justifying routine racial segregation under a strict

scrutiny analysis, the CDC entirely fails to meet its burden

of showing that its policy is necessary to advance that interest

or is narrowly tailored to do so.

. The CDC’s policy of routinely subjecting arriving

inmates to racially segregated cells is the antithesis of

narrowly tailored. It is an overbroad, blanket approach that

has been mechanically applied for more than 25 years, and

is applied today in the face of empirical data (see supra

note 5) suggesting it is the wrong policy to address any need

asserted by the CDC. No individualized consideration is

given to assess whether the policy is necessary for each newly

incarcerated prisoner. No individualized consideration is

34

given to assess whether segregation is necessary for each

transferred prisoner. Compare Grutter, 539 U.S. at 333-34,

and Bakke, 438 U.S. at 315-18 (consideration of race

on an individualized basis, together with other factors,

held permissible) with Gratz, 539 U.S. at 269-76

(holding unconstitutional the mechanical, un-individualized

consideration of race).

Nor has the CDC proffered anything but ipse dixit to

support its contention that such a blanket, arbitrary policy is

necessary to prevent violence. The CDC has proffered

nothing more than its untested assumption that all prisoners

will be violent with other prisoners of a different race or

national origin. See supra pp. 8-9, 13. The entire CDC record

comprises the speculation of two CDC witnesses that they

(and therefore by extension the CDC) are “certain” that “there

will be conflicts” and “serious violence among inmates,” and

that “there will be conflicts both in the cells and the conflict

will flow onto the yards,” if race “were disregarded entirely.”

J.A. 308a-312a [Schulteis Decl. 4 10-11 (emphasis added)];

J.A. 302a-307a [Cambra Decl. 4 13-14]. Courts uniformly

hold the kinds of unquantitative, conclusory assertions

offered here insufficient to justify racial classification under

strict scrutiny. See, e.g., Gratz, 539 U.S. at 269-276; Adarand,

515 U.S. at 238; Croson, 488 U.S. at 498-506."’

17. The CDC’s time-worn arguments of racial violence

stemming from integration have been made repeatedly by

segregationists, in several contexts, over the past century. When the

Army began to desegregate its ranks in 1950, there were “general

predictions of ruined efficiency, wrecked morale, even bloody revolt

....” Lee Nichols, Breakthrough on the Color Front 7 (1954).

In addition to objections from the enlisted men, Army officials

predicted serious trouble based on past experience with serious

(Cont'd)

35

As noted by the four judges dissenting from the

Ninth Circuit’s denial of rehearing, “[t}he prison official

affidavits . . . do not cite one concrete instance or statistical

example of racial violence, instead referring only to the

unsubstantiated ‘beliefs’ of prison officials about what they

presume will happen.” Pet. App. 43a n.3.

Moreover, carefully read, the depositions and

declarations proffered by the CDC do not support its policy

under the 7urner factors, for they are curiously phrased to

predict harm “if race were to be disregarded entirely.”

J.A. 302a-307a [Cambra Decl. 4 13]. But that is not the issue

posed by Johnson’s challenge to the CDC’s policy. Race is

at present the dominant factor; as the Ninth Circuit noted,

“the chances of an inmate being assigned a cell mate of

another race is ‘[p]retty close’ to zero percent.” Pet. App. 3a

(alteration in original).'* Accordingly, the question presented

here is not whether race must be disregarded entirely, but

whether it is constitutional for the state to effectively ignore

or subordinate all other factors in favor of a single-minded

(Cont’d)

racial disturbances, and even full-scale race riots. Jd. at 58-59.

The experience of the Army, however, once the desegregation process

had actually begun was quite different, according to Nichols:

“Detailed official analysis by statements of hundreds of field

commanders, showed that racial conflict — once a critical military

problem that led to repeated bloody riots, had all but vanished.

With Negroes and whites no longer grouped separately, there was

apparently little motive for racial ‘gang’ conflict.” Jd. at 7.

18. See also J.A. 183a [Schulteis Depo.] (Q: “Why as a

practice do you put a black with a black and a white with a white?

~ A: Ora Hispanic with a Hispanic? Q: Or a Hispanic with a Hispanic?

A: My whole career we’ve done that. My whole entire 24 years with

the department. It is what the department has done.”).

36

consideration of race as the predominant factor governing

initial 60-day placements. The declarations do not assert that

there would be harm in the CDC’s prisons if race were no

longer the controlling, overwhelmingly dominating factor,

only (in conclusory terms) that there would be harm if it were

“disregarded entirely.” Pet. App. 25a; J.A. 302a-307a

{Cambra Decl. ¥ 13].

The few available published studies implicitly condemn

the CDC’s policy by demonstrating that the rate of violence

between inmates segregated by race in double cells surpasses

the rate of violence among inmates in cells that are racially

integrated. See supra note 5; cf. Martha L. Henderson, et al.,

Race, Rights, and Order in Prison: A National Survey of

Wardens on the Racial Integration of Prison Cells, 80 The

Prison Journal 295, 304 (2000) (in a 1997 nationwide survey,

88.5% of maximum-security wardens responding were of the

opinion that integrated cells have a similar or lesser level of

conflict than segregated cells).

The CDC’s attempt to justify segregation based on its

perception of typical beliefs, gang affiliations, hostilities and

prejudices of the inmates falls far short of the kind of showing

that could justify the policy on strict scrutiny. The CDC

asserts that the reason arriving prisoners must be segregated

by race is that “inmates believe race to be an important

issue . . . [which] stems from the identification that prisoners,

particularly male prisoners, make of themselves .. . [and]

from the gang involvement that is a part of many of the

inmates’ backgrounds and is generally found to play a role

in those inmates’ anti-social, criminal behavior.” J.A. 302a-

307a [Cambra Decl. ¥ 9]. But an assertion of that generality

does not begin to justify routine 60-day racial segregation of

all incoming inmates, regardless of their crimes or the

37

character of information already available to the CDC about

any given inmate; it does not begin to justify the automatic

assignment of Johnson, upon each of four transfers after years

of observation by CDC personnel, to a racially segregated

cell; and it does not explain why cell assignments that are

deemed safe on day 61 are presumptively unsafe on day 59

(or day 30, or day 10); or why a prisoner who has been

segregated for 2 months already and can therefore safely be

celled with those of any “ethnic race” must be re-segregated

for another two months merely because the CDC has decided

for its own administrative convenience to transfer him to a

different CDC institution.

That some inmates may indulge in race-based hatreds

and stereotypes does not suggest that the CDC should

condone or support such biases as a matter of policy and

practice. See, e.g., Palmore, 466 U.S. 429 (the state cannot

justify removal of a child from its mother’s custody based

on effects of racial prejudice expected to result from mother’s

marriage to a man of a different race).

B. Because the CDC’s Arbitrary Racial Segregation

Is an Exaggerated Response to Unsubstantiated

Fears, It Does Not Even Withstand Scrutiny

Under Turner

Even assuming arguendo that Turner rather than Lee

should be applied to the CDC’s racial segregation policy,

the Court’s deference to prison administrators’ judgment

under that standard is not absolute, and the CDC’s showing

fails even that lesser scrutiny, properly applied. Cf Turner,

482 U.S. at 100 (Stevens, J. concurring in part and dissenting

in part) (“How a court describes its standard of review when

a prison regulation infringes fundamental constitutional nghts

38

often has far less consequence for the inmates than the actual

showing that the court demands of the State in order to uphold

the regulation.”); Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 340

(2003) (“[D]eference does not imply abandonment or

abdication of judicial review.”).

The CDC has failed to satisfy the first, and most

important, prong of the 7urner test — “a regulation cannot be

sustained where the logical connection between the regulation

and the asserted goal is so remote as to render the policy

arbitrary or irrational.” Turner, 482 U.S. at 89-90. The CDC

failed to provide any evidence supporting a valid, logical

connection between the CDC’s racial segregation policy and

the concededly legitimate penological interest of preserving

prison security, and the Equal Protection Clause prevents the

courts from presuming any such support. The CDC presented

no documented cases of prison violence stemming from

integration of a two-man cell, no empirical evidence of

increased violence resulting from the integration of cells in

other prison systems, and no expert testimony tending to

support a heightened risk of violence or lack of discipline

stemming from such integration. Indeed, as discussed above,

the CDC offered nothing more than unsupported conjecture

in support of its assertion that integration would lead to

increased violence.'? On the record in the district court

19 Compare Reed v. Faulkner, 842 F.2d 960, 963 (7th Cir. 1988)

(Posner, J.), in which a rule barring dreadlocks did not survive

scrutiny under 7urner.

No evidence of ... a danger [of racial conflict] was

presented. . . . One prison administrator testified “that a

person who is wearing the symbol of the dreadlock might

indeed be wearing something as a symbol” that blacks

(Cont'd)

39

(and here), the CDC’s policy is nothing more than an

“exaggerated response” to its subjective fears of racial

violence. Turner, 482 U.S. at 87. Because the CDC’s policy

cannot satisfy the first and most important 7urner factor, it

should be invalidated “irrespective of whether the other

[ Turner] factors tilt in its favor.” Shaw v. Murphy, 532 U.S.

at 229-30. :

The CDC’s automatic racial segregation policy fails the

remaining 7urner factors as well. First, the inmates do not

have available alternative means to exercise the abridged

constitutional right to be free from racial discrimination.

The Ninth Circuit’s finding that Johnson has a “reasonable

alternative” to exercise his right to be free from

discrimination because he is not subject to segregation during

meals and recreational time and because the practice is

temporary (Pet. App. 22a-24a) inaccurately suggests that

this Court’s jurisprudence permits judicial endorsement of

state-sponsored discrimination provided that the

discrimination is applied only part-time. The evils of state

(Cont'd)

are superior to whites, and apparently it was this

testimony that became transmogrified in the district

court’s opinion into “a security concern for potential

racial conflict from the professed Rastafarian belief that

dreadlock symbolizes black superiority.” Actually there

was no evidence that the dreadlock symbolizes black

superiority, as distinct from being a conspicuous outward

manifestation of Rastafarianism, a faith that does teach

black superiority; however, as such a manifestation it

might remind white inmates of the Rastafarian belief in

black superiority. Yet this is pure conjecture, and to

suppose that the wearing of dreadlocks would lead to

racial violence is, on this record, the piling of conjecture

upon conjecture.

40

racial segregation do not dissipate merely because it is doled

out only in successive 60-day intervals, or because the inmate

is not locked in a segregated cell for 24 hours a day.”°

Not only is the time spent by inmates in dining halls and on

the yard inconsequential as compared to the time spent living

and sleeping in racially segregated two-man cells, but the

whole argument is flawed, and

[a]kin to asserting that if a school-child only has

to go to a segregated school one-third of the year,

the requirements of Brown v. Board of Education

are met. As the District of Columbia Circuit stated

in Pitts v. Thornburgh, the right to be free from

discrimination is the right to be free from a

particular, definite, constitutional harm, not the

right to engage in a particular activity or associate

with particular persons.

Pet. App. 46a [Denial of Rehearing (dissenting opinion)}.

See also Adarand, 515 U.S. at 229-30 (“[W]henever the

government treats any person unequally because of his or

her race, that person has suffered an injury that falls squarely

within the language and spirit of the Constitution’s guarantee

of equal protection.”).

The right to be free of racial discrimination does

not lend itself to alternative channels of expression.

20. The Ninth Circuit’s perception that the automatic

segregation policy lasts for only 60 days is contrary to the record,

which demonstrates that the automatic segregation policy is applied

again upon transfer of any inmate. Pet. App. 2a, J.A. 302a-307a

{Cambra Decl. 4 12]. As noted by the panel itself, “[i]f the inmate is

transferred, he again goes through the initial housing screening

process.” Pet. App. 4a-Sa.

41

Racial discrimination either occurs or it does not. Cf. Harris

v. Thigpen, 941 F. 2d 1495, 1517 (11th Cir. 1991).

[A]ny privacy right claimed here by the

scropositive inmates in their medical status is a

“passive” one. It is difficult to talk of “alternative

means” of protecting such a right, since, unlike

the first amendment context, there is no range or

continuum of other affirmative activity against

which to measure the encroachment of a given

prison restriction. Just as one cannot be “a little

bit pregnant,” disclosure of one’s HIV status either

occurs or it does not. Thus, in our case, this

particular factor of the Turner calculus does little

to channel our inquiry into the reasonableness of

the segregation policy as a restriction on

seropositive inmates’ right to privacy in disclosing

their medical diagnoses.

Id. Because all prisoners are subject to the automatic

segregation policy — there is no alternative — this Turner factor

also weighs against the CDC policy.

Under Turner, the Court would also examine whether

the CDC’s automatic segregation policy may be justified as

necessary to avoid a detrimental impact on prison resources.

With respect to this factor, the CDC’s entire argument below

rested on the premise that initial cell assignments made

without regard to race will inevitably lead to increased

violence, but the CDC supplied no evidence to support this

faulty premise. Other than a mere assertion of inevitable

violence, nothing has been offered to support the notion that

avoiding race-based criteria will cause more violence or any

consequential strain on prison resources, and the experiences

42

of other jurisdictions suggest otherwise. The CDC produced

no evidence to suggest that integration will create a ripple

effect endangering staff and other prisoners, or require greater

expenditure of scarce resources - and again, the empirical

evidence from other prison systems suggests, to the contrary,

that the level of violence will decrease with integration.

See Trulson, supra note 5; Henderson, supra note 5.

This Turner factor also condemns the CDC racial segregation

policy.

The remaining 7urner factor examines whether there

exist “obvious, easy alternatives” that could achieve the same

security purposes as the automatic segregation policy at

de minimis cost to valid penological interests. Turner,

482 U.S. at 90-91. Here, such “obvious, easy alternatives”

are plain. First, for all assignments subsequent to the first,

the “obvious, easy alternative” is to look at the inmate’s file

and assign him to housing based on his own demonstrated

character and conduct.?' Second, even for the first

assignment, the same alternatives applied by the Federal

Bureau of Prisons and other states — looking at the pre-

sentence report, or such other information as is made

available to the prison system for every arriving inmate, and

using any of the remaining tools of prison administration —

suffice.

To the extent that the CDC repeatedly professes that its

race-based policy is designed to avoid violent encounters

between members of rival gangs, and believes that it is

important to segregate prison cells by race because of “the

gang involvement that is a part of many of the inmates’

21. Even those inmates who have not been incarcerated by the

CDC previously will have jail records.

43

backgrounds” (J.A. 302a-307a [Cambra Decl. 4 9]), those

goals can easily be achieved by screening inmates on the

basis of easily observed signifiers of gang affiliation rather

than by the color of their skin. In fact, this goal would be

better achieved without using race-based criteria at all, given

that many rival gang members are members of the same race

(and many members of any race are not gang members).”

In furtherance of its stated goal of maintaining prison security,

the CDC could also refer to psychological profiles received

when an inmate arrives at, or is transferred to, a CDC facility,

indicating racial animus or a history of interracial violence.

There is no need to make the unlawful and offensive

assumption that all members of a particular race will become

violent toward members of other racial groups, but not their

own, if housed with inmates of other races. By minimally

altering the screening criteria in this fashion away from a

strictly race-based test, the same goals can be better achieved.

The Court has previously looked to well-run prison

systems in other states, and the Federal Bureau of Prisons,

in determining whether obvious, easy alternatives exist that

do not unnecessarily impinge on inmates’ rights. As noted

22. The CDC’s assumption that merely being of the same race

is a good proxy for compatibility is belied by the realities of prison

gang violence. For example, members of the Aryan Brotherhood target

and kill other members of the Aryan Brotherhood for reasons that

have nothing to do with race. See David Grann, The Brand: How the

Aryan Brotherhood became the most murderous prison gang in

America, The New Yorker, Feb. 16, 2004, at 157. Nor do prison gangs

operate along strict racial lines. There are mixed-race prison gangs

and alliances between gangs of different races. Alan Elsner, Gates of

Injustice: The Crisis in America’s Prisons 41-42 (2004). For instance,

the Aryan Brotherhood has a working relationship with the Mexican

Mafia, and the Black Guerilla Family has been known to work with

La Nuestra Familia. /d.

44

by the Court in evaluating 7urner’s restrictions on

First Amendment rights, “[o]ther well-run prison systems,

including the Federal Bureau of Prisons, have concluded that

substantially similar restrictions on inmate correspondence

were necessary to protect institutional order and security.”

Turner, 482 U.S. at 93. The Federal Bureau of Prisons

Program Statement 1040.04, Policy § 551.90 (1999), states

that “Bureau staff shall not discriminate against inmates on

the basis of race ... [t]his includes the making of

administrative decisions and providing access to work,

housing, and programs.” (Emphasis added.) Further, as

mentioned above, other states that have desegregated two-

man cells have found that racially motivated violence has

decreased. See Trulson, supra note 5.

In short, the CDC’s policy of racially segregating inmate

cell assignments would fail even 7urner review, were it

applicable. The policy rests on premises (that inmates of

different races will tend to be violent with one another, and

that segregated cells will tend to reduce prison violence) that

lack any rational support; it causes precisely the full harm

that the Equal Protection Clause was intended to eliminate;

it is not justifiable as conserving scarce administrative or

economic resources; and there are ready alternatives that fully

accommodate penological interests while affording inmates

the equal protection and elimination of state-imposed

segregation that the Constitution guarantees. State prison

officials do not need discretion to routinely segregate

prisoners by race and ethnicity. The discrimination tool is

not one that prison officials ought to have.

45

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, the judgment below should

be reversed, and the case remanded for further proceedings

in accordance with the Court’s decision.

Respectfully submitted,

Bert H. DEIxLer

Counsel of Record

Cuar_es S. Sims

Lois D. THOMPSON

AARON P. ALLAN

TANYA L. FoRSHEIT

Lee K. CRAWFORD

PROSKAUER Rose LLP

2049 Century Park East

Suite 3200

Los Angeles, California 90067

(310) 557-2900

Counsel for Petitioner

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.