Amicus Curiae Brief — Sosa v. Alvarez-Machain

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

OMT

No. 03-339

Supreme Court of the United States

JOSE FRANCISCO SOSA,

Petitioner,

VS.

HUMBERTO ALVAREZ-MACHAIN, et al.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

~ FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

NATIONAL AND FOREIGN LEGAL SCHOLARS

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

DAVID S. WEISSBRODT WILLIAM J. ACEVES

Professor of Law Counsel of Record

UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA Professor of Law

LAW SCHOOL CALIFORNIA WESTERN

434 Mondale Hall SCHOOL OF LAW

_ 229-19th Avenue South 225 Cedar Street

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455 San Diego, California 92101

(612) 625-5027 (619) 515-1589

Counsel for Amici Curiae

NATIONAL AND FOREIGN LEGAL SCHOLARS

Lawyers + Appellate Brief Printers © (213) 613-1013 » (949) 720-1510

i BEST AVAILABLE COPY

No. 03-339

Supreme Court of the United States

JOSE FRANCISCO SOSA,

Petitioner,

vs.

HUMBERTO ALVAREZ-MACHAIN, et al.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT -

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

NATIONAL AND FOREIGN LEGAL SCHOLARS

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

DAVID S. WEISSBRODT WILLIAM J. ACEVES

Professor of Law Counsel of Record

UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA Professor of Law

LAW SCHOOL CALIFORNIA WESTERN

434 Mondale Hall SCHOOL OF LAW

229-19th Avenue South 225 Cedar Street

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455 San Diego, California 92101

(612) 625-5027 (619) 515-1589

Counsel for Amici Curiae

NATIONAL AND FOREIGN LEGAL SCHOLARS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

L THE ALIEN TORT CLAIMS ACT

PROVIDES SUBJECT MATTER

JURISDICTION AND A CAUSE OF

ACTION FOR SERIOUS VIOLATIONS

OF INTERNATIONAL LAW ................ 3

A. This Approach is Consistent with the

Language and History of the Alien

a 4

B. This Approach is Consistent with the

United States Government’s Prior

Interpretations of the Alien Tort

Ee 11

od This Approach is Consistent with the

Torture Victim Protection Act of

THE ALIEN TORT CLAIMS ACT DOES

NOT ENFORCE UNRATIFIED TREATIES

OR NON-BINDING U.N. RESOLUTIONS ....

ALIEN TORT CLAIMS ACT LITIGATION

IS NOT BARRED BY THE GENERAL

PRESUMPTION AGAINST THE

EXTRATERRITORIAL APPLICATION

ALIEN TORT CLAIMS ACT LITIGATION

SHOULD NOT BE PRESUMPTIVELY

BARRED BY ALLEGED “SEPARATION

OF POWERS CONCERNS.” .............

“eee eeeeeneeeeeeeeneeeeeeeeeeeee

17

.. 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Abebe-Jira v. Negewo,

72 F.3d 844 (11th Cir. 1996) ............. 4,9, 15, 19

Aguinda v. Texaco, Inc.,

303 F.3d 470 (2d Cir. 2002) ............... 19, 20, 27

Al Odah v. United States,

321 F.3d 1134 (D.C. Cir. 2003) ............... 10, 26

Alvarez-Machain v. Sosa,

eS eee 2

Amerada Hess Shipping Corp. v. Argentine Republic,

GSO F208 428 GO Cie, BGBT) . ww cc ccccccccccccccs 2

American Insurance Association v. Garamendi,

I 60s bdudcbsdaccdececencece 15

Amilon Metals, Inc. v. FMC Corp.,

775 F. Supp. 668 (S.D.N.Y. 1991) ................ 20

Anderman v. Federal Republic of Austria,

256 F. Supp.2d 1098 (C.D. Cal. 2003) ............. 26

Baker v. Carr,

CI oo i oo 10, 26, 27

-iV-

Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino,

PO SEED cccccccccccccccosencoces 23, 27

Beanal v. Freeport-McMoran, Inc.,

Se Wee Oe GEG BUUED ccccccccvcccceecs 18, 20

Bolchos v. Darrel,

3 Fed. Cas. $10 (D. S. Car. 1795) ... 0. ccc cecccccce: 4

Cabello v. Fernandez-Larios,

157 F. Supp. 2d 1345 (S.D. Fla. 2001) .............. i]

Canadian Overseas Ores, Ltd. v. Compania de Acero

del Pacifico S.A.,

$28 F. Supp. 1337 (S.D.N.Y. 1962) ........ccccecs 20

Cohen v. Hartman,

SP GD GED cocccccocccoceoecces 20

Davis v. Passman,

I i i ee 7

De Wit v. KLM Royal Dutch Airlines,

570 F. Supp. 613 (S.D.N.Y. 1983)................ 20

Doe v. Exxon Mobil Corp.,

BSE ESS7 GOL. Cis. FEED oc ccccccccccccvcccece 2

Doe v. Islamic Salvation Front (FIS),

Ss Eh Pe CEE occ cccccccoseosesies 10

ia i tl

-y-

Doe v. Unocal,

963 F. Supp. 880 (C.D. Cal. 1997) ................ 19

Estate of Cabello v. Fernandez-Larios,

er NED coccbenetcoesécscccséesées 19

Estate of Rodriquez v. Drummond Company,

256 F. Supp. 2d 1250 (N.D. Ala. 2003) ..... 4, 8, 18, 19

Filartiga v. Pena-lrala,

630 F.2d 876 (2d Cir. 1980) ................. passim

Flores v. Southern Peru Copper Corp.,

343 F.3d 140 (2d Cir. 2003) .................. 19, 20

~=

Food and Drug Administration v. Brown & Williamson,

SPT dec usadiedsdebheddentiavade 16

Forti v. Suarez-Mason,

672 F. Supp. 1531 (N.D. Cal. 1987),

reconsidered on other grounds,

694 F. Supp. 707 (N.D. Cal. 1988) ......... 7,9, 19, 20

Ge v. Peng,

201 F. Supp. 2d 14 (D.D.C. 2000) ................. 4

Guinto v. Marcos,

654 F. Supp. 276 (S.D. Cal. 1986) ................ 20

Hamid v. Price Waterhouse,

51 F.3d 1411 (9th Cir. 1995) .................... 20

Hilao v. Estate of Marcos,

25 F.3d 1467 (9th Cir. 1994),

cert. denied, 513 U.S.1126 (1995) ......... 7, 8, 15, 19

Iwanowa v. Ford Motor Co.,

67 F. Supp. 2d 424 (D.N.J. 1999) . 0.0... cece cece. 9

Jama v. INS,

22 F. Supp. 2d 353 (D.N.J. 1998) ....... 0. eee eeee 4,9

Japan Whaling Association v. American Cetacean Society,

GP Ss SE ED ccccececcecesccscesccesoncs 27

Jones v. Petty Ray Geophysical Geosource, Inc.,

722 F. Supp. 343 (S.D. Tex. 1989) ..........00 005. 20

Kadic v. Karadzic,

70 F.3d 232 (2d Cir. 1995) .......ccecesceees passim

’ McKenna v. Fisk,

SEED bb codecdcrneddéceseoaeasacas 23

Mehinovic v. Vuckovic,

198 F. Supp. 2d 1322 (N.D. Ga. 2002) ............. 19

Mostyn v. Fabrigas,

1 Cowp. 161 (K.B. 1774) ... 0... ccc cece cece eee 22

Moxon v. The Fanny,

BF We Gs See Gk Ob DIRE cc ccccccccvecsecccces 21

Mushikiwabo v. Barayagwiza,

1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4409 (S.D.N.Y. 1996) ....... 19

-Vii-

National Coalition Gov't of Burma v. Unocal, Inc.,

176 F.R.D. 329 (C.D. Cal. 1997) ................5. 2

Papa v. United States,

281 F.3d 1004 (9th Cir. 2002) ............00.002., 9

Paul v. Avril,

812 F. Supp. 207 (S.D. Fla. 1993) .............. 9,19

Piper Aircraft Co. v. Reyno,

A in od tc anton wsapeteeuntes 27

Presbyterian Church of Sudan v. Talisman Energy, Inc.,

244 F. Supp. 2d 289 (S.D.N.Y. 2003)......... 8, 19, 25

Sarei v. Rio Tinto PLC,

221 F. Supp. 2d 1116 (C.D. Cal. 2002) ......... 20, 27

Shanker Hedge v. British Airways,

1982 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 16469 (N.D. Ill. 1982)....... 20

Stout v. Wood,

1 Blackf. 71 (Ind. Circ. Ct. 1820) ................. 22

Tachiona v. Mugabe,

234 F. Supp. 2d 401 (S.D.N.Y. 2002).............. 19

Tamari v. Bache & Co. S.A.L.,

TIO P.26 1103 (7a Cir. 1964) 0... cc ccc ccc cccccs 20

Tel-Oren v. Libyan Arab Republic,

726 F.2d 774 (D.C. Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 470 U.S. 1003 (1985) ...... 2, 8-10, 13, 14

-Vili-

The Nereide,

13 U.S. (9 Cranch) 388 (1815) ........ 02 eee eee eee 17

The Paquete Habana,

STS UB. GFE CIBSGD ccccccccvccccccccccccces 17, 24

Trajano v. Marcos,

978 F.2d 493 (9th Cir. 1992) ............. 2, 8, 20, 25

United States v. La Jeune Eugenie,

26 F. Cas. 832 (C.C.D. Mass. 1822) ............4. 23

United States v. Smith,

SD Ue Ge PD CO GREED ccc ccccccccccsccens 17

United States v. Yousef, |

327 F.3d 56 (2d Cir. 2003) «0.6... e cece e eee e eee 21

W.S. Kirkpatrick v. Environmental Tectonics,

GE PED cecccccesecccccessstesscess 28

Ware v. Hylton,

DUS. BB) TIP TD ccccccccccccccesvceens 24

Watts v. Thomas,

5 Ky. (2 Bibb) 458 (1811) 2... cece eee eee ees 22

Wiwa v. Royal Dutch Petroleum Company,

226 F.3d 88 (2d Cir. 2000) ......... cece eeeeee 15, 19

Xuncax v. Gramajo,

886 F. Supp. 162 (D. Mass. 1995) ...........4. 9,19

-ix-

Zapata v. Quinn,

Pe SE os Kav eeacdcedwedeces 19

STATUTES

18 U.S.C. § 2333 ... pices biiceecssaeeuekads 29

NEE 9b 444 bok bUAdA CREE EiNadeweael 4,21

EEE ged iicde gry pie tunduavienis passim

OPINIONS OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

Abduction and Restitution of Slaves,

Pe TENE ccocevasbecesbexeccedacs 5

Breach of Neutrality,

FS A PNUD cc dc cdvccucosecucees 5, 22

Mexico Boundary — Diversion of the Rio Grande,

SOG AY Gat, FIO CIGS) occ cccccccccccceccecs 5

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Anne-Marie Burley, “The Alien Tort Statute and the

Judiciary Act of 1789: A Badge of Honor,”

83 Am. J. Int'l L. 461 (1989) .............4.. 6, 23, 24

-J-

Anthony D’ Amato, “Judge Bork’s Concept of the

Law of Nations is Seriously Mistaken,”

79 Am. J. Int'l L. 92 (1985) 2.0... cee ee ee eee eens 6

Anthony D’ Amato, “The Alien Tort Statute and the

Founding of the Constitution,”

82 Am. J. Int’l L. 62 (1988)... 6... eee eee eee eee 6,7

Brief of the United States as Amicus Curiae Filed in

Opposition to Petition for Certiorari, Tel-Oren v.

Libyan Arab Republic, No. 83-2052 (January 1985) .. 10

Cheshire's Private International Law,

(Bth ed. 1970) .... cc ccccccccccceccccccccscces 22

Edwin D. Dickinson, “The Law of Nations as

Part of the National Law of the United States,”

O00 OF Bin, £, Bigm, BE CIGGED cw cccccsccccccvoceces 5

H.R. Rep. No. 367, 102d Cong., Ist Sess., pt. 1 (1991) . 14

Jeffrey M. Blum & Ralph G. Steinhardt,

“Federal Jurisdiction Over International Human

Rights Claims: The Alien Tort Claims Act After

Filartiga v. Pena Irala,”

22 Harv. Int'l L.J. 53 (1981) 2... ee ee 26

Jordan Paust, International Law as Law of the United

States (2d ed. 2003)... 2. ccccccccccceee 4,6,7,17

Louis Henkin, Foreign Affairs and the U.S. Constitution

BAG CBG OE. GDB) .n nc ccccccccccccccccscccseces 28

-Xi-

Louis Henkin, “International Law as Law in the United

States,”

82 Mich. L. Rev. 1555 (1984) ................ 5, 8, 28

M.W. Janis, “Jeremy Bentham and the Fashioning of

‘International Law,””

78 Am. J. Int’l L. 405 (1984)... 0... eee eee. 4

Memorandum for the United States as Amicus Curiae,

Filartiga v. Pena-Irala, (2d Cir. 1980), reprinted in

19 Int'l Legal Materials 585, 606 (1980) ....... passim

Restatement (Third) of the Foreign Relations

Law of the United States (1987) .............0055. 17

S.Rep. No. 249, 102d Cong., Ist Sess. (1991) ......... 14

Statement of Interest of the United States, Kadic v.

Karadzic, No. 94-9035 (2d Cir. 1995) .......... 12, 18

The Documentary History of the Supreme Court of the

United States,

1789-1800 (Maeva Marcus, ed. 1988) .............. 6

U.N. Committee against Torture, Consideration of

Reports Submitted by States Parties Under Article 19

of the Convention: United States of America,

U.N. Doc. CAT/C/28/Add.5 (2000) ............... 11

U.N. Commission on Human Rights, Question of the

Human Rights of All Persons Subjected to Any Form

of Detention or Imprisonment, U.N. Doc.

E/CN.4/1996/29/Add.2 (1996) ................ 11,12

-Xli-

U.N. Convention on Torture, Hearings before the

Committee on Foreign Relations, U.S. Senate, 100th

Cong., 2d Sess. (Jan. 30, 1990) .... 1... ee ee ee eeees 25

William Dodge, “The Constitutionality of the

Alien Tort Statute: Some Observations on

Text and Context,”

42 Va. J. Int’l L. 687 (2002) ....... 0c cece eee eees 24

William S. Dodge, “The Historical Origins of the

Alien Tort Statute: A Response to the ‘Originalists’,”

19 Hastings Int'l & Comp. L. Rev. 221 (1996) ........ 6

132 Cong. Rec. S 7062 (June 6, 1986) .......---+++: 6

—_————-—— ~ - -

|

INTEREST OF THE AMICI

This Brief of Amici Curiae is respectfully submitted

jointly by two groups: (1) United States scholars; and (2)

foreign scholars.' Each of the scholars has studied or written

extensively on subjects pertaining to international law, human

rights law, or foreign affairs law.’

Amici believe that efforts to restrict the nature and scope

of the Alien Tort Claims Act (“ATCA”) conflict with the text

of the statute, the historical record, and well-established case

law. Since the seminal ruling of Filartiga v. Pena-Irala, 630

F.2d 876 (2d Cir. 1980), federal courts have applied the

ATCA to impose civil liability for only the most serious

violations of international law. For the past twenty-four

years, federal courts have adopted a balanced interpretation

and application of the ATCA. Amici support this nuanced

approach to ATCA litigation.’

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Alien Tort Claims Act explicitly authorizes civil

actions brought by aliens for torts committed in violation of

the law of nations or a treaty of the United States. 28 U.S.C.

§ 1350. Courts construing the plain wording of the statute in

' No counsel for either party authored the brief in whole or in part. No

person or entity, other than amici curiae, its members, and counsel,

made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of the

brief. All parties have consented to the filing of this brief. Their

consents have been filed with the Court.

? Amici consist of over 75 scholars from throughout the world, including

Australia, Canada, Ireland, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the

United Kingdom, and the United States. A complete list of amici is

located in the Appendix.

* Amici take no position on the other issues raised in this litigation.

2

its historical and doctrinal context have concluded that it

provides subject matter jurisdiction and a cause of action for

serious violations of international law, including human rights

abuses.

The Petitioner and the Justice Department have sought

to undermine this well-established understanding of the

ATCA. First, they argue that the Alien Tort Claims Act is

purely a jurisdictional statute. Second, they assert that U.S.

courts may not consider unratified treaties or non-binding

U.N. resolutions in construing the status of customary

international law. Third, they allege that the ATCA cannot be

applied extraterritorially. Finally, they suggest that ATCA

litigation raises separation of powers concerns.

Taken together, these submissions offer no coherent

vision of the ATCA. Indeed, the Justice Department’s most

recent analysis flatly contradicts the positions it expressed in

Filartiga v. Pena-Irala, 630 F.2d at 876, Kadic v. Karadzic,

70 F.3d 232 (2d Cir. 1995), and National Coalition Gov't of

Burma v. Unocal, Inc., 176 F.R.D. 329 (C.D. Cal. 1997).* In

* The Justice Department Brief is at least the eighth filing since 1980 in

which the Government has offered its interpretation of the ATCA. The

United States has also filed briefs addressing the scope of the ATCA in

Filartiga v. Pena-lrala, 630 F.2d 876 (2d Cir. 1980) (supporting

jurisdiction); Tel-Oren v. Libyan Arab Republic, 726 F.2d 774 (D.C.

Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 470 U.S. 1003 (1985) (opposing certiorari);

Amerada Hess Shipping Corp. v. Argentine Republic, 830 F.2d 421 (2d

Cir. 1987) (arguing that the ATCA does not provide jurisdiction over

foreign sovereign); Trajano. v. Marcos, 978 F.2d 493 (9th Cir. 1992)

(offering restrictive interpretation of the ATCA); Kadic v. Karadzic, 70

F.3d 232 (2d Cir. 1995) (supporting jurisdiction); Alvarez-Machain v.

Sosa, 331 F.3d 604 (9th Cir. 2003) (en banc) (opposing jurisdiction);

Doe v. Exxon Mobil Corp., 1-01-CV-1357 (D.C. Cir. 2003) (opposing

jurisdiction).

3

stark contrast, the judiciary has developed a coherent and

consistent body of ATCA jurisprudence for twenty-four years.

The arguments set forth by the Petitioner and the Justice

Department are unpersuasive; they comtradict the express

terms of the statute and do not comport with the historical

record. They invite the courts to amend the statute without

considering the views of Congress, which not only adopted

the ATCA in 1789 but which extended it in the Torture

Victim Protection Act of 1991. Additionally, they threaten to

usurp the constitutional role of the courts to decide cases and

controversies properly presented to them.

~ Forthese reasons, the Court should reject the arguments

of the Petitioner and the Justice Department and affirm the

long-recognized (and balanced) interpretation of the Alien

Tort Claims Act.

ARGUMENT

Il. THE ALIEN TORT CLAIMS ACT PROVIDES

SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION AND A

CAUSE OF ACTION FOR SERIOUS

VIOLATIONS OF INTERNATIONAL LAW.

Enacted as part of the First Judiciary Act of 1789, the

Alien Tort Act provides: “(t]he district courts shall have

original jurisdiction of any civil action by an alien for a tort

only, committed in violation of the law of nations or a treaty

of the United States.” 28 U.S.C. § 1350. Since Filartiga v.

Pena-lrala, the ATCA has been interpreted to establish

subject matter jurisdiction and a cause of action for serious

violations of international law, including violations of human

rights norms.

4

A. This Approach is Consistent with the Language

and History of the Alien Tort Claims Act.

By its terms, the ATCA covers lawsuits: (1) by an alien;

(2) for a tort; (3) committed in violation of the law of nations

or a treaty of the United States.* See Estate of Rodriquez v.

Drummond Company, 256 F. Supp. 2d 1250, 1259-1260

(N.D. Ala. 2003); Ge v. Peng, 291 F. Supp. 2d 14, 19-20

(D.D.C. 2000); Jama v. INS, 22 F. Supp. 2d 353, 363 (D.N.J.

1998); Abebe-Jira v. Negewo, 72 F.3d 844, 847 (11th Cir.

1996); Kadic v. Karadzic, 70 F.3d 232 at 238. The statute

contains no additional reference to Congressional

incorporation or to a case “arising under” federal law. Cf. 28

U.S.C. § 1331. -

This was clearly understood by eighteenth-century

courts, as suggested in the first reported case involving the

ATCA.® In Bolchos v. Darrel, 3 Fed. Cas. 810 (D. S. Car.

1795), a French plaintiff sought restitution for the seizure and

sale of slaves who had been taken from a captured Spanish

prize vessel. Jurisdiction was premised on the ATCA. The

court found that it had jurisdiction, dismissing “all doubt

upon this point.” /d. At no time did the court indicate that

independent congressional authorization was necessary to

allow the lawsuit to proceed.

This approach to the ATCA is also found in the

opinions of the Attorney General. In 1795, Attorney General

William Bradford addressed a situation in which American

citizens trading off Sierra Leone were alleged to have joined

5 The term “law of nations” is now synonymous with international law.

See Jordan Paust, International Law as Law of the United States, 63,

229-236, 311-312 (2d ed. 2003); M.W. Janis, “Jeremy Bentham and the

Fashioning of ‘International Law,"” 78 Am. J. Int'l L. 405 (1984).

® See generally Paust, supra, at 7-9, 233-234, 286-288, 391-392.

5

a French fleet in attacking and plundering British property on

that coast. The opinion, only six years removed from the

adoption of the First Judiciary Act, provides some insight into

the contemporary understandings of the ATCA. After

discussing the availability of criminal prosecution, the

Attorney General addressed the ATCA.

[T]here can be no doubt that the company or

individuals who have been injured by Uiese

acts of hostility have a remedy by a civil suit

in the courts of the United States; jurisdiction

being expressly given to these courts in all

cases where an alien sues for a tort only, in

violation of the law of nations, or a treaty of

the United States; . . .

Breach of Neutrality, 1 Op. Att'y Gen. 57, 59 (1795)

(emphasis in original). See also Mexico Boundary —

Diversion of the Rio Grande, 26 Op. Att'y Gen. 250, 253

(1907) (“I repeat that the statutes thus provide a forum and a

right of action.”); Abduction and Restitution of Slaves, | Op.

Att'y Gen. 29, 30 (1792) (apparent reference to a possible

civil action under the ATCA where the defendant had

committed piracy by stealing slaves from a Frenci colony).

The reason for this uniformity of urderstanding

regarding the ATCA is evident: the law of nations was

considered a part of the common law. See Louis Henkin,

“International Law as Law in the United States,” 82 Mich. L.

Rev. 1555 (1984); Edwin D. Dickinson, “The Law of Nations

as Part of the National Law of the United States,” 101 U. Pa.

L. Rev. 26 (1952). Thus, “the First Congress understood that

torts in violation of the law of nations would be cognizable at

6

common law, just as any other tort would be.”” William S.

Dodge, “The Historical Origins of the Alien Tort Statute: A

Response to the ‘Originalists’,” 19 Hastings Int'l & Comp. L.

Rev. 221, 239 (1996). In cases alleging violations of the law

of nations, the courts of the fledgling nation should be open

to aliens seeking a remedy.*

Thus, the arguments raised by the Petitioner and the

Justice Department, that the ATCA requires explicit statutory

authorization and an express right of action to implement its

provisions, are contrary to the historical record. Indeed, these

additional requirements would necessarily defeat the

application of the law of nations in domestic courts by

erecting a test that no case can pass, thus rendering the ATCA

. See also Paust, supra, at 14-15, 229-236, 311-312; Anthony D'Amato,

“Judge Bork’s Concept of the Law of Nations is Seriously Mistaken,

79 Am. J. Int'l L. 92 (1985).

* In 1790, Chief Justice John Jay made this point in a grand jury charge:

We had become a Nation — as such we were responsible to others

for the observance of the Laws of Nations; and as our national

Concerns were to be regulated by national Laws [,] national

Tribunals became necessary for the Interpretation & Execution

of them both.

“John Jay’s Charge to the Grand Jury of the Circuit Court for the District

of New York, April 12, 1790,” in 2 The Documentary History of the

Supreme Court of the United States, 1789-1800 25, 27 (Maeva Marcus,

ed. 1988) (emphasis added). See generally Anthony D’ Amato, “The Alien

Tort Statute and the Founding of the Constitution,” 82 Am. J. Int'l L. 62

(1988); Anne-Marie Burley, “The Alien Tort Statute and the Judiciary Act

of 1789: A Badge of Honor,” 83 Am. J. Int'l L. 461 (1989).

eo er

meaningless.”

In addition, the Petitioner’s position rests on a self-

serving anachronism. The concept of a “cause of action” only

“became a legal term of art when the New York Code of

Procedure of 1848 abolished the distinction between actions

at law and suits in equity and simply required a plaintiff to

include in his complaint ‘{a] statement of the facts

constituting the cause of action."” Davis v. Passman, 442

U.S. 228, 237 (1979). Thus, the Petitioner apparently

believes that the ATCA lay dormant from the day of its

passage in 1789 until sometime in the nineteenth century

when it suddenly sprang into meaning with the arrival of the

cause of action con-<pt.'°

Every court that has considered the issue found that the

ATCA establishes subject matter jurisdiction and a cause of

action. In Hilao v. Estate of Marcos, 25 F.3d 1467 (9th Cir.

1994), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1126 (1995), for example, the

Ninth Circuit explicitly held that the ATCA provides both

subject matter jurisdiction and a cause of action. Its opinion

* As noted by the court in Forti v. Swarez-Mason, 672 F. Supp. 1531,

1539 (N.D. Cal. 1987), reconsidered on other grounds, 694 F. Supp.

707 (N.D. Cal. 1988):

It is unnecessary that plaintiffs establish the existence of an

independent, express right of action, since the law of nations

clearly does not create or define civil actions, and to require such

an explicit grant under international law would effectively nullify

that portion of the statute which confers jurisdiction over tort

suits involving the law of nations.

= This “rather late arrival of the term [cause of action] upon the legal

scene raises at least a question when it is applied to interpret the alien

tort statute... .” D’ Amato, supra, at 95 (citation omitted); Paust, supra,

at 224-236.

carefully examined the ATCA and distinguished it from other

jurisdictional statutes:

[I}n contrast to section 1331, “which requires

that an action ‘arise under’ the laws of the

United States, section 1350 does not require

that the action ‘arise under’ the law of nations,

but only mandates a ‘violation of the law of

nations’ in order to create a cause of action.”

Tel-Oren v. Libyan Arab Republic, (726 F.2d

774, 779] (D.C. Cir. 1984) (Edwards, J.,

concurring), cert. denied, 470 U.S. 1003

(1985). It is unnecessary that international

law provide a specific right to sue.

International law “does not require any

particular reaction to violations of law... .

Whether and how the United States wished to

react to such violations are domestic

questions.” Jd. at 777-78 (quoting Louis

Henkin, Foreign Affairs and the Constitution

224 (1972). “Nothing more than a violation of

the law of nations is required to invoke section

1350.” Id. at 779.

Id. at 1475. See also Trajano v. Marcos, 978 F.2d 493

emphasis in original).

— federal courts have consistently supported this

interpretation of the ATCA. See, e.g., Estate of Rodriquez

v. Drummond Company, 256 F. Supp.2d at 1250 (N.D. Ala.

2003) (“{T]he ATCA ‘creates both subject matter jurisdiction

and a private right of action’”); Presbyterian Church of Sudan

v. Talisman Energy, Inc., 244 F. Supp. 2d 289, 320 (S.D.N.Y.

2003) (“ATCA provides a cause of action in tort for breaches

9

of international law”), Papa v. United States, 281 F.3d 1004,

1013 (9th Cir. 2002) (rejecting contention that ATCA only

provides jurisdiction); Cabello v. Fernandez-Larios, 157 F.

Supp. 2d 1345, 1365 (S.D. Fla. 2001) (ATCA provides a

cause of action to aliens for violations of international law);

Iwanowa v. Ford Motor Co., 67 F. Supp. 2d 424, 441 (D.N.J.

1999) (“[T]he ATCA provides both subject matter

jurisdiction and a private right of action for violations of the

law of nations.”); Jama v. 1.N.S., 22 F. Supp. 2d at 363

(ATCA provides both jurisdiction and a cause of action);

Abebe-Jira v. Negewo, 72 F.3d 844 at 848 ( “{T]he Alien

Tort Claims Act confers toth a forum and a private right of

action to aliens alleging a violation of internationa! law.");

Kadic v. Karadzic, 70 F.3d at 241 (ATCA provides

jurisdiction and a cause of action); Paul v. Avril, 812 F. Supp.

207, 212 (S.D. Fla. 1993) (“The plain language of the

[ATCA] and the use of the words ‘committed in violation’

strongly implies that a well pled tort{,] if committed in

violation of the law of nations, would be sufficient [to give

rise to a cause of action]”); Xuncax v. Gramajo, 886 F. Supp.

162, 179 (D. Mass. 1995) (ATCA “yields both a jurisdictional

grant and a private right to sue for tortious violations of

international law .. . .”); Forti v. Suarez-Mason, 694 F. Supp.

707, 709 (N.D. Cal. 1988) (“[T]he Alien Tort Statute

provides a cause of action for ‘international torts,’ . . . .”).

In contrast, only two judges (not courts) have challenged

this mainstream view of the ATCA. In Tel-Oren v. Libyan

Arab Republic, 726 F.2d 774 (D.C. Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

470 U.S. 1003 (1985), the D.C. Circuit dismissed an ATCA

lawsuit in a per curiam decision, with each judge issuing

10

separate concurring opinions.'' Judge Robb declined

jurisdiction on the grounds that the court was presented with

a non-justiciable political question.'? Judge Edwards

proclaimed his adherence to the legal principles established in

Filartiga but distinguished that case on factual grounds.

Judge Bork took a determinedly different approach. He stated

that the ATCA was merely a jurisdictional statute and could

not be considered a grant of a cause of action.”

In Al Odah v. United States, 321 F.3d 1134 (D.C. Cir.

2003), the D.C. Circuit dismissed a habeas corpus action on

jurisdictional grounds. The court also dismissed additional

claims filed under the ATCA. While Judge Randolph issued

a concurring opinion seeking to resurrect Judge Bork’s view

on the ATCA, the other members of the panel found the issue

irrelevant and declined to consider it.

Judges Bork and Randolph are forceful advocates of

judicial abnegation in this area, but their views do not reflect

'! Given the fractured nature of the opinion, the Justice Department has

previously referred to Tel-Oren as having “little, if any, precedential

value.” Brief of the United States as Amicus Curiae Filed in Opposition

to Petition for Certiorari, Tel-Oren v. Libyan Arab Republic, No. 83-

2052 (January 1985), at 9. Even Judge Bork himself admitted that the

divisions within Tel-Oren made “it . . . impossible to say even what the

law of this circuit is.” Tel-Oren v. Libyan Arab Republic, 726 F.2d at

823 (Bork, J., concurring).

2 Inexplicably, Judge Robb never cited Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186

(1962), the Supreme Court's leading decision on the political question

doctrine.

'S Not a single court has embraced Judge Bork’s argument in Tel-Oren.

Even district courts within the D.C. Circuit have declined to follow

Judge Bork’s approach to the ATCA. See, e.g., Doe v. Islamic

Salvation Front (FIS), 993 F. Supp. 3 (D.D.C. 1998).

11

established principles of law. To date, not a single federal

court has accepted this restrictive interpretation of the First

Judiciary Act.

B. This Approach is Consistent with the United

States Government’s Prior Interpretations of the

Alien Tort Claims Act.

The Petitioner’ s brief and the Justice Department’s most

recent filing mark a striking departure from the United States

Government’s previous comments and _ submissions

concerning the nature and scope of the Alien Tort Claims Act.

In 2000, for example, the State Department declared to

the U.N. Committee against Torture that:

U.S. law provides statutory rights of action

for civil damages for acts of torture occurring

outside the United States. One statutory basis

for such suits, the Alien Tort Claims Act. . .

represents an early effort to provide a judicial

remedy to individuals whose rights have been

violated under international law.

U.N. Committee against Torture, Consideration of Reports

Submitted by States Parties Under Article 19 of the

Convention: United States of America, U.N. Doc.

CAT/C/28/Add.5 (2000), at para. 277 (emphasis added). In

1996, the State Department declared in its submission to the

U.N. Commission on Human Rights that the “statute was

originally enacted to provide a remedy to individuals who

suffered a ‘tort’ at the hands of privateers seeking prize

money under the law of admiralty. More recently, it has been

applied to cases of human rights violations.” U.N.

Commission on Human Rights, Question of the Human

12

Rights of All Persons Subjected to Any Form of Detention or

Imprisonment, U.N. Doc. E/CN.4/ 1996/29/Add.2 (1996), at

para. 15 (emphasis added). Both these statements represent

the official position of the United States Government in its

dealings with the international community.

The State Department interpretation of the ATCA is not

unique. The Justice Department has taken a similar approach

in ATCA litigation. In Filartiga v. Pena-Irala, for example,

the Justice Department noted that some violations of

international law are judicially cognizable as torts “within the

meaning of Section 1350.”'* See Memorandum for the

United States as Amicus Curiae, Filartiga v. Pena-Irala, (2d

Cir. 1980), reprinted in 19 Int’l Legal Materials 585, 601-602

(1980). Indeed, the Justice Department indicated that “a

refusal to recognize a private cause of action in these

circumstances might seriously damage the credibility of our

nation’s commitment to the protection of human rights.” /d.

at 604. See also Statement of Interest of the United States,

Kadic v. Karadzic, No. 94-9035 (2d Cir. 1995) (affirming the

ATCA and the Filartiga litigation).

C. This Approach is Consistent with the Torture

Victim Protection Act of 1991.

The Torture Victim Protection Act of 1991 (“TVPA”),

which allows victims of torture and summary execution to sue

'* In its Filartiga submission, the Justice Department also dismissed

challenges to the constitutionality of the ATCA. “Customary

international law is federal law, to be enunciated authoritatively by the

federal courts. An action for tort under international law is therefore a

case ‘arising under . . . the laws of the United States’ within Article III

of the Constitution.” Memorandum for the United States as Amicus

Curiae, Filartiga v. Pena-Irala, (2d Cir. 1980), reprinted in 19 Int'l

Legal Materials 585, 606 (1980).

ia

13

the perpetrators of such atrocities, supports this approach to

the Alien Tort Claims Act. 28 U.S.C. § 1350 note.

The TVPA was first introduced in 1986. In submitting

the bill to the Senate, Senator Arlen Spector stated:

The landmark case of Filartiga v. Pena-Irala

confirmed that official torture is in fact a

violation of the law of nations. . . . In holding

that the court had jurisdiction over this suit,

Judge Irving Kauffman [sic] reviewed the

accepted sources of international law — the

usage of nations, judicial opinions and the

works of jurists — and concluded that official

torture of both aliens and citizens violates the

law of nations and raises a cause of action for

damages under the Alien Tort Claims Act, 28

U.S.C. Section 1350... . Since that holding,

several recent decisions have questioned

whether this statute provides a clear basis for

future suits in U.S. federal courts. In Tel-Oren

v. Libyan Arab Republic, for example, judges

dismissed an action brought under Section

1350 and noted the lack of clear congressional

guidance on the subject. . . . The legislation I

am introducing today . . . seeks to clarify this

area of law.

132 Cong. Rec. S 7062 (June 6, 1986) (citations omitted).

Five years later, the bill was reintroduced in Congress.

The House and Senate reports on the TVPA described the

Filartiga opinion, which met with congressional approval,

and the Tel-Oren opinion, which did not. According to the

House Report:

14

{In Tel-Oren,] Judge Bork questioned the

existence of a private right of action under the

Alien Tort Claims Act, reasoning that

separation of powers principles required an

explicit and preferably contemporary grant by

Congress of a private right of action before

U.S. courts could consider cases likely to

impact on foreign relations... . The TVPA

would provide such a grant, and would also

enhance the remedy already available under

section 1350 in an important respect: While

the Alien Tort Claims Act provides a remedy

to aliens only, the TVPA would extend a civil

remedy also to U.S. citizens who may have

been tortured abroad. Official torture and

summary executions merit special attention in

a statute expressly addressed to those

practices. At the same time, claims based on

torture or summary executions do not exhaust

the list of actions that may appropriately be

covered by section 1350. That statute should

remain intact to permit suits based on other

norms that already exist or may ripen in the

future into rules of customary international

law.

H.R. Rep. No. 367, 102d Cong., Ist Sess., pt. I, at 4 (1991)

(emphasis added). The Senate Report contained similar

language of support for the ATCA and the Filartiga

precedent. See S.Rep. No. 249, 102d Cong., Ist Sess., at 3

(1991) (“The TVPA would establish an unambiguous basis

for a cause of action that has been successfully maintained

under an existing law, section 1350... . Section 1350 has

15

other important uses and should not be replaced.”).

In sum, Congress has considered the nature and scope

of the ATCA and the Filartiga precedent and has affirmed

their status through the adoption of the Torture Victim

Protection Act.'° See Wiwa v. Royal Dutch Petroleum

Company, 226 F.3d 88, 104 (2d Cir. 2000); Abebe-Jira v.

Negewo, 72 F.3d at 848; Hilao v. Marcos, 25 F.3d at 1475-

1476.

The Petitioner and the Justice Department argue that it

is the intent of the enacting Congress, and not a subsequent

Congress, that controls the scope and meaning of the ATCA.

Petitioner’s Brief, at 44; Justice Department’s Brief, at 27.

According to their position, the legislative history of the

TVPA is “entitled to no weight.” Justice Department Brief,

at 27. This approach, however, disregards established

principles of statutory interpretation.

At the time a statute is enacted, it may have a

range of plausible meanings. Over time,

however, subsequent acts can shape or focus

those meanings. The “classic judicial task of

reconciling many laws enacted over time, and

getting them to ‘make sense’ in combination

necessarily assumes that the implications of a

'S While the TVPA affirms and extends the Filartiga precedent, it does

not appear that any bill has ever been introduced in Congress seeking to

limit the nature and scope of the ATCA. Such congressional silence

should also be considered by this Court. Cf. American Insurance

Association v. Garamendi, 123 S. Ct. 2374, 2394 (2003) (“Indeed, it is

worth noting that Congress has done nothing to express disapproval of

the President's policy. Legislation along the lines of HVIRA has been

introduced in Congress repeatedly, but none of the bills has come close

to making it into law.”’).

16

statute may be altered by the implications of a

later statute.” [citation omitted] This is

particularly so where the scope of the earlier

statute is broad but the subsequent statutes

more specifically address the topic at hand.

Food and Drug Administration v. Brown & Williamson, 529

U.S. 120, 143 (2000). As a related statutory enactment, the

TVPA sheds light on the ATCA and should be considered by

this Court.

Finally, the Petitioner argues that the TVPA supports its

position because if the ATCA “already granted aliens the right

to sue for all tortious violations of binding international legal

norms, then Congress did not need to create an express cause

of action for aliens that covers a very narrow category of such

violations.” Petitioner’s Brief, at 44 (emphasis in original).

This argument fails to recognize a significant difference

between the ATCA and the TVPA — the ATCA is limited to

aliens whereas the TVPA applies to all individuals, including

U.S. citizens.'®

‘© See also U.N. Committee against Torture, Consideration of Reports

Submitted by States Parties Under Article 19 of the Convention: United

States of America, U.N. Doc. CAT/C/28/Add.5 (2000), at para. 281

(“The remedies available under the Alien Tort Claims Act have been

supplemented by the 1992 Torture Victims Protection Act. (citation

omitted] While the Alien Tort Claims Act only provides a remedy to

foreign nationals, the 1992 Torture Victims Protection Act allows both

foreign nationals and United States citizens to claim damages against

any individual who engages in torture or extrajudicial killing . . . hy

: ae

17

Il. THE ALIEN TORT CLAIMS ACT DOES NOT

ENFORCE UNRATIFIED TREATIES OR NON-

BINDING U.N. RESOLUTIONS.

By its terms, the ATCA requires federal courts to

determine the content of international law. While this

requires courts to carefully examine the status of international

law, it does not allow courts to create law out of unratified

treaties or non-binding U.N. resolutions. Petitioner’s Brief,

at 45; Justice Department's Brief, at 28. Rather, these sources

ve consulted because they offer evidence of international

aw.

Customary international law arises out of a consistent

state practice recognized out of a sense of legal obligation

(opinio juris). Evidence of both the objective element and the

subjective element can take many forms, so long as it reflects

State practice and a sense of legal obligation. Sve, e.g.,

Restatement (Third) of the Foreign Relations Law of ine

United States § 102(2) (1987). See also United States v.

Smith, 18 U.S. (S Wheat.) 153 (1820); The Nereide, 13 U.S.

(9 Cranch) 388 (1815). The Supreme Court has identified the

sources that courts should consult for evidence of customary

international law: “where there is no treaty, and no controlling

executive or legislative act or judicial decision, resort must be

had to the customs and usages of civilized nations... .” The

Paquete Habana, 175 U.S. 677, 700 (1900).

__ In Filartiga, for example, the Second Circuit concluded

that torture was a violation of customary international law by

By enacting the ATCA as a means for determini

ning what claims are

St ee ae chose to exercise its power to

ncorporate international law by reference. See Paust, supra, at 12-14

64-65, 391. See also United States v. Smith, 18 U.S

—eneum . S. (S Wheat.) 153,

18

reviewing several sources — multilateral and regional treaties,

a draft convention prohibiting torture, domestic laws of

several countries, resolutions of international organi-ations,

and the writings of publicists. Filartiga, 630 F.2d at 882-84.

In its own submission in Filartiga, the Justice Department

used the same sources to conclude that customary

international law ibited torture. These sources were

consulted because ave they provided evidence that

torture was a violation of international law.'*

To date, the federal courts have engaged in a careful and

measured analysis of the individual claims raised in ATCA

cases, accepting only well-established, universally recognized

norms of international law." Contrary to Petitioner's

assertions, the federal courts have functioned as effective

gatekeepers in ATCA cases, allowing only claims that are

well-established under customary international law (and

'§ In Kadic v. Karadzic, the Justice Department referenced a variety of

sources, including non-self-executing treaties because “they are

probative of the content of the law of nations.” Statement of Interest of

the United States, Kadic v. Karadzic, No. 94-9035, at 16 (2d Cir. 1995).

- courts have also dismissed claims involving well-

Pi A yore A and norms of international law when the

pleadings fail to support the essential elements of the claim. See, €.g.,

Estate of Rodriquez v. Drummond Company, 256 F. Supp. 2d 1250,

1261 (N.D. Al. 2003) (genocide claim unavailable where plaintiffs

failed to allege that persecution was due to national, ethnical, racial, or

religious reasons); Beanal v. Freeport-McMoran, Inc., 197 F.3d 161,

168 (Sth Cir. 1999) (genocide claim unavailable when pleadings “are

devoid of discernable means to define or identify conduct that

constitutes a violation of international law’).

19

recognized by the United States) to proceed.”

For example, courts have recognized the viability of

ATCA suits for such claims as: genocide - Kadic v. Karadzic,

70 F.3d at 232; Presbyterian Church of the Sudan v. Talisman

Energy, Inc., 244 F. Supp. 2d at 289; Mehinovic v. Vuckovic,

198 F. Supp. 2d 1322 (N.D. Ga. 2002); Mushikiwabo v.

Barayagwiza, 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4409 (S.D.N.Y. 1996);

summary execution - Estate of Rodriquez v. Drummond

Company, 256 F. Supp. 2d at 1250; Tachiona v. Mugabe, 234

F. Supp. 2d 401 (S.D.N.Y. 2002); Estate of Cabello v.

Fernandez-Larios, 157 F. Supp.2d at 1345; Wiwa v. Royal

Dutch Petroleum Company, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 3293

(S.D.N.Y. 2002); Xuncax v. Gramajo, 886 F. Supp. at 162;

Forti v. Suarez-Mason, 672 F. Supp. 1531 (N.D. Cal. 1987),

reconsidered on other grounds, 694 F. Supp. 707 (N.D. Cal.

1988); torture - Presbyterian Church of the Sudan v.

Talisman Energy, Inc., 244 F. Supp. 2d at 289; Wiwa v. Royal

Dutch Petroleum Company, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS at 3293:

Tachiona v. Mugabe, 234 F. Supp. 2d at 401; Mehinovic v.

Vuckovic, 198 F. Supp. 2d at 1322; Abebe-Jira v. Negewo, 72

F.3d at 844; Kadic v. Karadzic, 70 F.3d at 232; Xuncax v.

Gramajo, 886 F. Supp. at 162; Doe v. Unocal, 963 F. Supp.

880 (C-D. Cal. 1997); Hilao v. Estate of Marcos, 25 F.3d at

1467; Paul v. Avril, 901 F. Supp. 330 (S.D.Fla. 1994);

* The Petitioner cites three cases in support of his argument expressing

concern with the range of putative offenses that could give rise to

ATCA litigation. Petitioner's Brief, at 45. See Flores v. Southern Peru

Copper Corp., 343 F.3d 140 (2d Cir. 2003); Aguinda v. Texaco, Inc.,

303 F.3d 470 (2d Cir. 2002); Zapata v. Quinn, 707 F.2d 691 (2d Cir.

1983). Petitioner fails to note, however, that each case was dismissed.

Indeed, the Second Circuit imposed double costs on the appellant and

her attorney in Zapata because of the vexatious nature of the lawsuit,

further evidencing the ability of the courts to manage such litigation.

20

Trajano v. Marcos, 978 F.2d at 493; Forti v. Suarez-Mason,

672 F. Supp. at 1531. Similar findings have been made with

respect to war crimes, including rape and other forms of

sexual violence, slavery and forced labor, forced

disappearance, and crimes against humanity. The United

States has never argued, nor could it, that such acts do not

constitute violations of the law of nations.

At the same time, federal courts have firmly rejected

claims that they believe are not based on well-established

norms of customary international law. At present, these

claims include: environmental harms - Amlon Metals, Inc.

v. FMC Corp., 775 F. Supp. 668 (S.D.N.Y. 1991); Flores v.

Southern Peru Copper Corp., 343 F.3d 140 (2d Cir. 2003);

Sarei v. Rio Tinto PLC, 221 F. Supp. 2d 1116, 1160-1161

(C.D. Cal. 2002); Beanal v. Freeport-McMoran, Inc., 197

F.3d 161 (Sth Cir. 1999); Aguinda v. Texaco, Inc., 1994 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 4718 (S.D.N.Y. 1994); censorship - Guinto v.

Marcos, 654 F. Supp. 276, 280 (S.D. Cal. 1986); commercial

torts - De Wit v. KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, 570 F. Supp.

613, 618 (S.D.N.Y. 1983); Canadian Overseas Ores, Lid. v.

Compania de Acero del Pacifico S.A., 528 F. Supp. 1337,

1347 (S.D.N.Y. 1982); conversion - Cohen v. Hartman, 634

F.2d 318, 320 (Sth Cir. 1981); fraud - Hamid v. Price

Waterhouse, 51 F.3d 1411, 1418 (9th Cir. 1995); Tamari v.

Bache & Co. S.A.L., 730 F.2d 1103, 1104 (7th Cir. 1984);

negligence resulting in personal injury or death - Jones v.

Petty Ray Geophysical Geosource, Inc., 722 F. Supp. 343,

348 (S.D. Tex. 1989); Shanker Hedge v. British Airways,

1982 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 16469 (N.D. Ill. 1982).

As rightly noted, “courts must proceed with

extraordinary care and restraint” when determining the status

of customary international law. Flores v. Southern Peru

Copper Corp., 343 F.3d at 154. To date, the courts have

21

heeded this admonition.”!

Ultimately, the Petitioner and the Justice Department

seek to limit actionable wrongs under the ATCA to violations

of self-executing treaties that have been signed and ratified by

the United States and which explicitly create a right of action.

To do so, however, would deprive the ATCA of any force

because the “law of nations” component would never apply

and the “treaty of the United States” component would only

apply to claims already within the scope of 28 U.S.C. § 1331.

But only Congress can rewrite the statute in such a

fundamental way.

Ill. ALIEN TORT CLAIMS ACT LITIGATION IS

NOT BARRED BY THE GENERAL

PRESUMPTION AGAINST THE

EXTRATERRITORIAL APPLICATION OF

FEDERAL STATUTES.

The Petitioner and the Justice Department assert that the

ATCA cannot be applied to extraterritorial acts and urge the

Court to graft a territorial requirement onto the ATCA.

Petitioner’s Brief, at 37; Justice Department's Brief, at 54-57.

Respectfully, the Court should decline this invitation to do

so.

= See also United States v. Yousef-327 F.3d 56 (2d Cir. 2003) (engaging

in a careful and measured analysis of customary international law).

% The Petitioner and the Justice Department conflate a sufficient

condition for ATCA jurisdiction with a necessary one. If an alien were

injured by a tortious violation of international law in the United States,

subject matter jurisdiction under the ATCA would be established. See,

e.g., Moxon v. The Fanny, 17 F. Cas. 942 (D. Pa. 1793). But it hardly

follows that territoriality is a precondition for all exercises of

jurisdiction under the ATCA.

22

As a preliminary matter, the historical record does not

support this approach to the ATCA. For example, Attorney

General Bradford noted in 1795 that British citizens injured

in a French raid on a British colony “have a remedy by a civil

suit in the courts of the United States; jurisdiction being

expressly given to these courts in all cases where an alien sues

for a tox only, in violation of the law of nations, or a treaty of

the United States.” 1 Op. Att'y Gen. at 59. At no time did the

Attorney General identify a locus requirement as a necessary

condition for ATCA litigation.

The basic error in calling for a locus requirement is that

it fails to recognize the transitory nature of torts. The Framers

understood that civil actions sounding in tort were considered

transitory because the tortfeasor’s wrongful act created an

obligation that could follow him or her across national

boundaries.” This understanding of tort was also well-

recognized in the early case law of the Supreme Court.

[T]he courts in England have been open in

cases of trespass other than trespass upon real

property, to foreigners as well as to subjects,

and to foreigners against foreigners when

found in England, for trespass committed

within the realm and out of the realm, or

within or without the king's foreign

dominions.

McKenna v. Fisk, 42 U.S. 241, 248 (1843). Indeed, the

transitory nature of torts reflects the general acceptance that

2 See Cheshire's Private International Law, 257-261 (8th ed. 1970);

Watts v. Thomas, 5 Ky. (2 Bibb) 458 (1811); Stout v. Wood, | Blackf.

71 (Ind. Cire. Ct. 1820); Mostyn v. Fabrigas, 1 Cowp. 161 (K.B. 1774).

23

“a state or nation has a legitimate interest in the orderly

resolution of disputes within its borders.” Filartiga, 630 F.2d

at 885. .

One reason that the drafters of the First Judiciary Act

sought federal review of transitory torts involving claims of

international law was to ensure uniformity in matters

pertaining to foreign affairs. According to the Justice

Department in its Filartiga submission, the ATCA “‘is one of

several provisions of the Judiciary Act ‘reflecting a concern

for uniformity in this country’s dealings with foreign nations

and indicating a desire to give matters of international

significance to the jurisdiction of federal institutions.’”

Memorandum for the United States as Amicus Curiae,

Filartiga v. Pena-lrala, 19 Int'l Legal Materials at 588

(quoting Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S.

398, 427 (1964).

There is another reason to suggest that the drafters of the

First Judiciary Act intended for the ATCA to regulate

transitory torts that raised international concerns. Considered

in its historical context, the ATCA was a direct and natural

“response to what the Founders understood to be the nation’s

duty to propagate and enforce those international law rules

that directly regulated individual conduct.” Anne-Marie

Burley, “The Alien Tort Statute and the Judiciary Act of

1789: A Badge of Honor,” 83 Am. J. Int’l L. 461, 475 (1989).

It is certainly not fatal to ATCA litigation that

international norms have evolved since 1789 and now

regulate such acts as torture, slavery, or genocide.” By its

* See United States v. La Jeune Eugenie, 26 F. Cas. 832, 846 (C.C_D.

Mass. 1822) (No. 15,551) (“It does not follow . . . that because a

principle cannot be found settled by the consent or practice of nations

at one time, it is to be concluded, that at no subsequent period the

24

nature (and like the common law), international law is

evolutionary.2> Although “[t]he Framers might not have

anticipated the fact that the law of nations would come to

prohibit one alien from torturing another, . . . it is unrealistic

to think that they would have wanted the federal courts to

shrink from enforcing the law of nations ‘in its modern state

of purity and refinement.’”” William Dodge, “The

Constitutionality of the Alien Tort Statute: Some

Observations on Text and Context,” 42 Va. J. Int’l L. 687,

701 (2002). See also Burley, supra, at 482 (ATCA was

adopted as “a moral imperative —- a matter of national

honor.”). As several courts have properly observed,

“Tb]ecause of the nature of the alleged acts, the United States

has a substantial interest in affording alleged victims of

principle can be considered as incorporated into the public code of

nations.”). See also The Paquete Habana, 175 U.S. 677 (chronicling

the development of the law of nations); Ware v. Hylton, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.)

199 (1796) (distinguishing between “ancient” and “modern” law of

nations). “Thus it is clear that courts must interpret international law not

as it was in 1789, but as it has evolved and exists among the nations of

the world today.” Filartiga, 630 F.2d at 881.

This was the position of the Justice Department in the Filartiga

litigation. “The law of nations in Section 1350 refers to the law of

nations as that body of law may evolve. There is no reason to believe

that Congress intended to freeze the meaning of the law of nations in

this statute as of 1789, any more than it intended the simultaneous grant

of jurisdiction over maritime actions to be limited to maritime law as it

then existed. Since the law of nations had developed in large measure

by reference to evolving customary practice, the framers of the first

Judiciary Act surely anticipated that international law would not be

static after 1789." Memorandum for the United States as Amicus

Curiae, Filartiga v. Pena-lrala, 19 Int'l Legal Materials at 588.

25

atrocities a method to vindicate their rights.””° Presbyterian

: — of Sudan v. Talisman Energy, Inc., 244 F. Supp. 2d at

It is not surprising, therefore, that efforts to add a locus

requirement to the ATCA have been explicitly rejected by the

courts. See, e.g., Trajano v. Marcos, 978 F.2d at 500 (“We

are constrained by what § 1350 shows on its face: no

limitations as to the citizenship of the defendant or the locus

of the injury”).

IV. ALIEN TORT CLAIMS ACT LITIGATION

SHOULD NOT BE PRESUMPTIVELY BARRED

BY ALLEGED “SEPARATION OF POWERS

CONCERNS.”

Both the Petitioner and the Justice Department argue

that ATCA cases inherently pose separation of powers

concerns. Petitioner’s Brief, at 8; Justice Department’s Brief,

at 46. In support of this assertion, they allege that ATCA

litigation will create tensions with other nations and

© See also Testimony of Abraham Sofaer, the State Department's Legal

Adviser, with respect to the Convention against Torture.

The Administration . . . believes . . . that, as a member of the

international community, we must stand with other nations in

pledging to bring to justice those who engaged in torture,

whether in U.S. territory or in the territory of other countries.

U.N. Convention on Torture, Hearings before the Committee on Foreign

Relations, U.S. Senate, 100th Cong., 2d Sess. (Jan. 30, 1990), at 8

(emphasis added).

26

undermine the war on terrorism.” Their arguments suggest

that courts are incapable of regulating ATCA litigation and

that a permanent barrier is needed to deter these lawsuits.

Despite such broad assertions, it is inaccurate to suggest

that the federal courts cannot protect the United States from

abusive litigation. The courts have developed several

doctrines of judicial abstention to ensure respect for

separation of powers, including the political question

doctrine, the act of state doctrine, and the doctrine of forum

non conveniens. Other judicial doctrines — from standing

requirements to statutes of limitations — also impose rigorous

requirements on ATCA litigation. But these doctrines

require the courts to consider them on a case-by-case basis.”

For example, the political question doctrine constitutes

one form of judicial abstention that allows courts to protect

the separation of powers. Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 217

(1962). See, e.g., Anderman v. Federal Republic of Austria,

256 F. Supp.2d 1098 (C.D. Cal. 2003) (dismissal pursuant to

political question doctrine). The act of state doctrine serves

2” In support of its assertion that ATCA cases could have serious

implications for the current war on terrorism, Justice Department cites

Al Odah v. United States, 321 F.3d 1134 (D.C. Cir. 2003). Justice

Department’s Brief, at 52-53. But it is unclear how Al Odah could

possibly be viewed as having “serious implications for our current war

on terrorism,” especially when the case was dismissed by the D.C.

Circuit Court of Appeals. If anything, Al Odah confirms that the federal

courts are fully capable of dismissing ATCA claims if these cases do not

meet the exacting standards of the statute. Al Odah’s connection to the

ATCA is unclear in any event, since two members of the three-judge

panel concluded that the ATCA was irrelevant to the case.

8 See Jeffrey M. Blum & Ralph G. Steinhardt, “Federal Jurisdiction Over

International Human Rights Claims: The Alien Tort Claims Act After

Filartiga v. Pena-lrala,” 22 Harv. Int'l LJ. 53 (1981).

27

a related function, precluding courts “from inquiring into the

validity of the public acts of a recognized foreign sovereign

power committed within its own territory... .” Banco

Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398, 401 (1964).

See, e.g., Sarei v. Rio Tinto PLC, 221 F. Supp. 2d at 1116

(dismissal pursuant to act of state doctrine). The doctrine of

forum non conveniens provides yet another form of judicial

abstention that allows the federal courts to dismiss lawsuits

that are more properly litigated in a foreign jurisdiction.

Piper Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235 (1981). See, e.g.,

Aguinda v. Texaco, Inc., 303 F.3d at 470 (dismissal pursuant

to doctrine of forum non conveniens).

The Petitioner and Justice Department appear to

disregard these judicial doctrines when they imply that the

federal courts are incapable of addressing separation of

powers concerns in ATCA litigation. But overbroad concerns

such as these have been dismissed by this Court before.

There are sweeping statements to the effect

that all questions touching foreign relations

are political questions. ... Yet it is error to

suppose that every case or controversy which

touches foreign relations lies beyond judicial

cognizance. Our cases in this field seem

invariably to show a discriminating analysis of

the particular question posed, in terms of the

history of its management by the political

branches, of its susceptibility to judicial

handling in the light of its nature and posture

in the specific case, and of the possible

consequences of judicial action.

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. at 211-212. See also Japan Whaling

28

Association v. American Cetacean Society, 478 U.S. 221,230

(1986) (“Under the Constitution, one of the Judiciary's

characteristic roles is to interpret statutes, and [it] cannot shirk

this responsibility merely because our decision may have

significant political overtones.”). And as this Court noted in

W.S. Kirkpatrick v. Environmental Tectonics, 493 U.S. 400,

409 (1990), courts “[h]ave the power, and ordinarily the

obligation, to decide cases and controversies properly

presented to them.”

In short, “[t}here is, then, no Supreme Court precedent

for extraordinary abstention from judicial review in foreign

affairs cases.” Louis Henkin, Foreign Affairs and the U.S.

Constitution 146 (2d ed. 1996). Rather, ATCA lawsuits

should be considered on a case-by-case basis.” “We believe

a preferable approach is to weigh carefully the relevant

considerations on a case-by-case basis. This will permit the

judiciary to act where appropriate in light of the express

legislative mandate of the Congress in section 1350, without

compromising the primacy of the political branches in foreign

In its Filartiga submission, the Justice Department acknowledged that

courts in ATCA litigation must engage in a careful analysis of the

underlying international norms before allowing such lawsuits to

proceed.

[Before entertaining a suit alleging a violation of human rights,

a court must first conclude that there is a consensus in the

international community that the right is protected and that there

is a widely shared understanding of the scope of this protection.

[citation omitted] When these conditions have been satisfied,

there is little danger that judicial enforcement will impair our

foreign policy efforts.

Memorandum for the United States as Amicus Curiae, Filartiga v. Pena-

Irala, \9 Int'l Legal Materials at 604.

29

affairs.” Kadic v. Karadzic, 70 F.3d at 249.

The final irony is that the Petitioner and Justice

Department suggest that ATCA litigation would undermine

the war on terrorism and the fight against international crime.

But the opposite is true: it is precisely through civil litigation

that victims of international crimes, including terrorism, can

seek compensation for their injuries and punish perpetrators

of these atrocities.” It would be wrong to create blanket

immunity for defendants accused of such horrific acts and, in

the process, to take away the one (and perhaps only) weapon

available to victims of serious human rights abuses.

CONCLUSION

The Alien Tort Claims Act plays a critical role in

upholding fundamental principles of international law and has

done so for almost a quarter-century. It provides victims of

serious human rights abuses — from slavery and genocide to

torture and terrorism — with the ability to seek redress for their

injuries in U.S. courts.

The Petitioner and the Justice Department should not

be allowed to eviscerate a statute that has been affirmed by

the three branches of government on numerous occasions. To

do so would cause further injury to victims of serious human

rights abuses and would send the wrong message to

perpetrators of such egregious acts.

* Cf. The Anti-Terrorist Act of 1990, 18 U.S.C. § 2333.

February 26, 2004

30

Respectfully Submitted,

William J. Aceves

Counsel of Record

Professor of Law

California Western School of Law

225 Cedar Street

San Diego, CA 92101

David S. Weissbrodt

Professor of Law

University of Minnesota

Law School

434 Mondale Hall

229-19th Avenue South

Minneapolis, MN 55455

Counsel for Amici Curiae

TE on

Al

APPENDIX

LIST OF AMICI’

Wendy A. Adams is an Assistant Professor of Law at McGill

University in Canada.

Philip Alston is a Professor of Law at New York University

School of Law.

Jose E. Alvarez is a Professor of Law at Columbia Law

School.

Diane Marie Amann is a Professor of Law at the University of

California, Davis, School of Law.

Penelope Andrews is a Professor of Law at the City University

of New York School of Law.

Deborah Anker is Director of the Harvard Immigration and

Refugee Clinical Program at Harvard Law School.

Bridget Arimond is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Law and

Assistant Director of the Center for International Human Rights

at Northwestern University School of Law.

Jeffery Atik is a Professor of Law and Sayre Macneil Fellow

at Loyola Law School.

M. Cherif Bassiouni is the President of the International

Human Rights Law Institute and a Professor of Law at the

DePaul University College of Law.

' Institutional references provided for identification purposes only.

A2

Richard Bilder is the Foley & Lardner-Bascom Professor of

Law at the Universit. ©” Wisconsin (Madison).

Christopher Blakesley is a Professor of Law at the University

of Nevada, Las Vegas, Boyd School of Law.

Carolyn Patty Blum is a Clinical Professor of Law (Emeritus)

at the University of California, Berkeley, Boalt Hall School of

Law, and an Adjunct Professor of Law at Columbia Law

School.

Kathryn Lee Boyd is an Associate Professor of Law at

Pepperdine University School of Law.

Rosa Ehrenreich Brooks is an Associate Professor of Law at

the University of Virginia School of Law.

Bartram S. Brown is the Co-Director of the Program in

International and Comparative Law and a Professor of Law at

Chicago-Kent College of Law.

Peter Burns is a Professor of Law at the University of British

Columbia.

Andrew Byrnes is the Director of the Graduate Program and

a Professor of Law at The Australian National University.

Douglass W. Cassel is a Clinical Professor of Law at

Northwestern University School of Law.

Hilary Charlesworth is a Professor of Law and the Director

of the Centre for International and Public Law at The

Australian National University.

A3

Christine M. Chinkin is a Professor of Law at the London

School of Economics and Political Science, and an Affiliated

Overseas Professor at the University of Michigan Law School.

Roger S. Clark is the Board of Governors Professor of Law at

Rutgers University School of Law (Camden).

Sarah Cleveland is a Professor of Law at the University of

Texas (Austin).

Marjorie Cohn is a Professor of Law at Thomas Jefferson

School of Law.

James M. Cooper is an Assistant Dean for Mission

Development and an Adjunct Professor of Law at California

Western School of Law.

Alberto Costi is a Senior Lecturer at Victoria University in

New Zealand.

Rhonda Copelon is a Professor of Law and Director of the

International Women’s Human Rights Law Clinic at the City

University of New York School of Law.

Anthony D’Amato is the Judd & Mary Morris Leighton

Professor of Law at Northwestern University School of Law.

Lori Fisler Damrosch is the Henry L. Moses Professor of

International Law and Organization at Columbia Law School.

Constance de la Vega is a Professor of Law at the University

of San Francisco School of Law.

A4

Laura Dickinson is an Associate Professor of Law at the

University of Connecticut School of Law.

Robert F. Drinan, S.J. is a Professor of Law at Georgetown

University Law Center.

Paul R. Dubinsky is an Associate Professor of Law at New

York Law School.

George E. Edwards is a Professor of Law and Director of the

Program in International Human Rights Law at Indiana

University School of Law (Indianapolis).

Stephanie Farrior is a Professor of Law at the Pennsylvania

State University, Dickinson School of Law.

*

Gregory H. Fox is a Professor of Law at Wayne State

University Law School.

Robert K. Goldman is a Professor of Law and Louis C. James

Scholar at American University, Washington College of Law.

Jose A. Guevara is a Professor of Law and Head of the

Human Rights Program at the Ibero Americana University in

Malvina Halberstam is a Professor of Law at the Cardozo

School of Law at Yeshiva University.

Gunther Handi is the Eberhard Deutsch Professor of Public

International Law at Tulane Law School.

AS

Hurst Hannum is a Professor of International Law and Co-

Director of the Center for Human Rights & Conflict Resolution

at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts

University.

Laurence R. Helfer is a Professor of Law and Lloyd Tevis

Fellow at Loyola Law School, and a Visiting Research Scholar

at the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International

Affairs at Princeton University.

Mark W. Janis is the William F. Starr Professor of Law at the

University of Connecticut School of Law.

Menno T. Kamminga is a Professor of Law and Co-Director

of the Maastricht Centre for Human Rights at Maastricht

University in the Netherlands.

Linda M. Keller is an Assistant Professor of Law at Thomas

Jefferson School of Law. ——

Jules Lobel is a Professor of Law at the University of

Pittsburgh School of Law.

Bert B. Lockwood is a Professor of Law and Director of the

Urban Morgan Institute for Human Rights at the University of

Cincinnati College of Law.

Ellen Lutz is a Senior Research Fellow in International Law at

the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University.

Beth Lyon is an Assistant Professor of Law at Villanova

University School of Law.

A6

Linda A. Malone is the Marshall- Wythe Foundation Professor

of Law at the College of William and Mary School of Law.

Jennifer Martinez is an Assistant Professor of Law at Stanford

Law School.

Garth Meintjes is Associate Director of the Center for Civil

and Human Rights and Concurrent Associate Professional

Specialist in Law at Notre Dame Law School.

Juan E. Méndez is the Director of the Center for Civil and

Human Rights and a Professor of Law at Notre Dame Law

School.

Mayo Moran is an Associate Professor of Law at the

University of Toronto.

James A.R. Nafziger is the Thomas B. Stoel Professor of Law

and Director of International Programs at Willamette University

School of Law.

John Noyes is a Professor of Law at California Western School

of Law.

Mary Ellen O’Connell is a Professor of Law at The Ohio State

University, Moritz College of Law.

Diane Orentilicher is a Professor Law at American University,

Washington College of Law.

Hari Osofsky is an Assistant Professor of Law and Director of

the Center for International and Comparative Law at Whittier

Law School.

nee he ee

A7

Jordan J. Paust is the Foundation Professor of Law and the

Director of the International Law Institute at the University of

Houston Law Center.

John Quigley is a Professor of Law at The Ohio State

University, Moritz College of Law.

Jane Rocamora is a Supervising Attorney at the Harvard

Immigration and Refugee Clinic at Harvard Law School.

Naomi Roht-Arriaza is a Professor of Law at the University of

California, Hastings College of the Law.

Leila Nadya Sadat is a Professor of Law at Washington

University School of Law.

William A. Schabas is a Professor of Law and Director of the

Irish Centre for Human Rights at the National University of

Ireland (Galway).

Paul Schiff Berman is a Professor of Law at the University of

Connecticut School of Law.

Craig Scott is a Professor of Law at Osgoode Hall Law School

at York University in Canada.

James Silk is the Executive Director of the Orville H. Schell,

Jr. Center for International Human Rights and Director of the

Allard K. Lowenstein International Human Rights Clinic at Y ale

Law School.

A8

Edwin M. Smith is the Leon Benwell Professor of Law,

International Relations, and Political Science, and the Academic

Director of International Programs at the University of

Southern California Law Center.

David Sloss is an Assistant Professor of Law at St. Louis

University School of Law.

Henry J. Steiner is the Jeremiah Smith, Jr. Professor of Law

and Director of the Human Rights Program at Harvard Law

School.

Fernando R. Tesé6n is the Tobias Simon Eminent Scholar and

a Professor of Law at Florida State University.

Jon M. Van Dyke is a Professor of Law at the University of

Hawaii.

Beth Van Schaack is an Assistant Professor of Law at the

Santa Clara University School of Law.

Ana Vega is a Professor in the Human Rights Program at the

Ibero Americana University in Mexico City, Mexico.

Penny M. Venetis is a Clinical Professor of Law at Rutgers

University School of Law (Newark).

Graham J. Virgo is Reader in English Law at the Faculty of

Law at the University of Cambridge.

David S. Weissbrodt is the Fredrikson and Byron Professor of

Law at the University of Minnesota Law School.

A9

Richard J. Wilson is a Professor of Law and Director of the

International Human Rights Law Clinic at American University,

Washington College of Law. x

Jeanne M. Woods is the Henry F. Bonura, Jr. Distinguished

Professor of Law at Loyola University School of Law.

Eric Yamamoto is a Professor of Law at the University of

Hawaii.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.