Amicus Curiae Brief — Rasul v. Bush
Supreme Court brief2004
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
rm ne ree eee
aes Ue
Nos. 03-334, CD) (w) MAR 3 ~ 200+
=—=_ —=—=—_ EE -~c
In The
Supreme Court of the Gnited States
Sd
SHAFIQ RASUL, et al.,
Petitioners,
Vv.
GEORGE W. BUSH
PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES, et ai.,
Respondents.
+
FAWZI KHALID ABDULLAH FAHAD AL ODAH, et ai.,
Petitioners,
Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et ai.,
Respondents.
¢
On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The District Of Columbia Circuit
S
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF LAW PROFESSORS,
FORMER LEGAL ADVISERS OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF STATE AND AMBASSADORS,
RETIRED JUDGE ADVOCATES GENERAL AND
RETIRED MILITARY COMMANDERS, AND
OTHER INTERNATIONAL LAW SPECIALISTS
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
S
DAVID B. RIVKIN, JR. RUTH WEDGWOOD
Counsel of Record CHARLES FRIED
LEE A. CASEY MAX KAMPELMAN
DARIN R. BARTRAM Counsel for Amici Curiae
BAKER & HOSTETLER LLP
1050 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 861-1731
| BEST AVAILABLE COPY —
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether the statutory writ of habeas corpus extends
to foreign enemy combatants captured abroad in the
course of United States military operations against al
Qaeda and the Taliban, who are interned, at Guantanamo
Bay Naval Base and other locations outside the United
States, as combatants during the ongoing conflict.
ii
LIST OF AMICI AND COUNSEL*
Kenneth Anderson is Professor of Law at the Washing-
ton College of Law, American University. He was General
Counsel of the Open Society Institute and the Soros
Foundations from 1994-1996, and Director of the Arms
Project, Human Rights Watch, from 1992-1994.
Carl A. Auerbach is the Distinguished Professor of Law
at the University of San Diego School of Law. He taught
for more than 30 years at the Universities of Wisconsin
and Minnesota. He is a member of the American Law
Institute and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
Stewart A. Baker is a partner and head of the Technol-
ogy Department of Steptoe & Johnson in Washington, D.C.
He was General Counsel of the National Security Agency
from 1992-1994.
Darin R. Bartram is a partner in the law firm of Baker &
Hostetler, LLP.
Marshall J. Breger is Professor of Law at the Columbus
School of Law, The Catholic University of America. He
served as Solicitor, Department of Labor, from 1992-1993.
During 1987-1989 he served as alternate delegate of the
U.S. to the U.N. Human Rights Commission in Geneva,
and from 1986-1990 served on the Secretary of State’s
Advisory Committee on International Law.
* Affiliations of amici and their counsel listed for identification
purposes only.
ili
LIST OF AMICI AND COUNSEL - Continued
Lee A. Casey is a partner in the firm of Baker &
Hostetler, LLP, and served in the Office of Legal Counsel
in the U.S. Department of Justice.
Robert A. Destro is Professor of Law at the Columbus
School of Law, The Catholic University of America and
served as Interim Dean from 1999-2001. From 1983 to
1989, he served as a commissioner on the U. S. Commis-
sion on Civil Rights.
John C. Eastman is Professor of Law at Chapman
University School of Law, specializing in Constitutional
Law and Legal History. He is also the Director of the
Center for Constitutional Jurisprudence, a public interest
law firm affiliated with the Claremont Institute for the
Study of Statesmanship and Political Philosophy.
Samuel Estreicher is Charles L. Denison Professor of
Law at New York University School of Law. He is co-
director of the Institute of Judicial Administration.
General Ron Fogleman, U.S. Air Force, Retired, is the
chairman and CEO of an international aviation consulting
firm. He is former Chief of Staff of the U.S. Air Force.
Charles Fried is the Beneficial Professor of Law at
Harvard Law School. He served as U.S. Solicitor General
from 1985-1989, and was an Associate Justice of the
Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts from 1995-1999.
Robert P. George is McCormick Professor of Jurispru-
dence and Director of the James Madison Program in
American Ideals and Institutions at Princeton University.
He served on the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.
iv
LIST OF AMICI AND COUNSEL - Continued
Mary Ann Glendon is the Learned Hand Professor of
Law at Harvard Law School.
Gidon Gottlieb is the Leo Spitz Professor of Interna-
tional Law and Diplomacy Emeritus at the University of
Chicago School of Law, and Distinguished Visiting Fellow,
Hoover Institution, Stanford University.
Malvina Halberstam is Professor of Law at the Benja-
min N. Cardozo School of Law, Yeshiva University. She has
served as Counselor on International Law, U.S. Depart-
ment of State.
Admiral Bruce Harlow, U.S. Navy, Retired, served for
28 years in the Judge Advocate General Corps. He served
as Vice Chairman of the U.S. Delegation to the Third
United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea, and is
presently a consultant to the U.S. Air Force on interna-
tional law, lecturing at the Air Force Special Operations
School on the law of war.
General Charles Horner, U.S. Air Force, Retired, is
former Commander-in-Chief, North American Aerospace
Defense Command, and U.S. Space Command. He also
commanded the United States Central Command Air
Forces. During Operation Desert Storm and Desert Shield,
he commanded all U.S. and allied air assets.
Mark Janis is the William F. Starr Professor of Law at
the University of Connecticut, and co-author of a casebook
on European Human Rights Law.
Ambassador Max M. Kampelman is Of Counsel at
Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson. He was twice
named, by Presidents Carter and Reagan, to serve as
v
LIST OF AMICI AND COUNSEL - Continued
Ambassador and Head of the U.S. Delegation to the
Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (the
Helsinki process). He has chaired the United Nations
Association, Georgetown University’s Institute for the
Study of Diplomacy, Freedom House, and the American
Academy of Diplomacy. In 1989, he was awarded the
Presidential Citizens Medal by President Reagan. In 1999,
he was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom by
President Clinton.
General John Keane, U.S. Army, Retired, is former Vice
Chief of Staff of the Army. He has also commanded the
18th Airborne Corps and the 101st Airborne Division, and
served as the Deputy Commander-in-Chief of the U.S.
Atlantic Command. He was featured in Tom Clancy’s book,
Airborne, and is the recipient of an honorary Ph.D. in Law
from Fordham University.
Michael I. Krauss is Professor of Law at George Mason
University School of Law. He served for five years on
Quebec’s Human Rights Commission.
John O. McGinnis is Professor of Law at Northwestern
University School of Law. From 1991 to 2002 he was on
the faculty of the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law,
Yeshiva University. He is a former attorney-adviser and
Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Office of Legal Coun-
sel, U.S. Department of Justice, where his work included
national security matters.
Geoffrey P. Miller is the William T. and Stuyvesant P.
Comfort Professor of Law at New York University School
of Law.
LIST OF AMICI AND COUNSEL - Continued
Major General Michael J. Nardotti, Jr., U.S. Army,
Retired, was the Judge Advocate General of the Army from
1993-1997, the senior military legal advisor to the Army’s
civilian and military leadership and the officer principally
responsible for the administration of military justice and
the delivery of comprehensive legal services to the Army
world-wide.
Michael F. Noone, Jr. is Professor of Law at the Colum-
bus School of Law, The Catholic University. He served
twenty years as a Judge Advocate in the U.S. Air Force.
Philip D. Oliver is Ben J. Altheimer Distinguished
Professor of Law at William H. Bowen School of Law,
University of Arkansas at Little Rock.
Antonio F. Perez is Professor of Law at the Columbus
School of Law, The Catholic University. He served for
several years in the Office of the Legal Adviser of the U.S.
Department of State.
Stephen B. Presser is the Raoul Berger Professor of
Legal History at Northwestern University School of Law.
Michael Ramsey is Professor of Law at the University of
San Diego School of Law, where he teaches international
law.
David B. Rivkin, Jr., is a partner in the law firm of
Baker & Hostetler, LLP, and was Deputy Director, Office
of Policy Development, U.S. Department of Justice, and
served in the White House Counsel’s Office.
Ronald D. Rotunda is the George Mason University
Foundation Professor of Law at George Mason University
——- are ee eae titi
Se —_—- —
vil
LIST OF AMICI AND COUNSEL - Continued
School of Law. He was formerly Albert E. Jenner Professor
of Law at the University of Illinois.
Rear Admiral William L. Schachte, Jr., U.S. Navy,
Retired, was Acting Judge Advocate General, the Navy’s
senior uniformed lawyer. He has served as Director, Navy
International Legal Division, and received an LL.M. in
International and Comparative Law (with highest honors)
from the George Washington University Law School.
Mortimer Sellers is Regents Professor of the University
System of Maryland and Director, Center for International
and Comparative Law.
Major General Nolan Sklute, U.S. Air Force, Retired,
was Judge Advocate General of the Air Force from 1993-
1996. As the senior military legal advisor to the Air Force’s
civilian and military leadership, he was responsible for the
administration of military justice throughout the Air
Force.
Abraham D. Sofaer is the George P. Shultz Distin-
guished Scholar and Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institu-
tion, Stanford University. He served as Legal Adviser of
the U.S. Department of State from 1985-1990.
Richard Steinberg is Professor of Law at the University
of California at Los Angeles School of Law. He serves on
the editorial board of International Organization.
Paul B. Stephan is the Lewis F. Powell, Jr., Professor of
Law at the University of Virginia School of Law.
Rear Admiral Everette D. Stumbaugh, U.S. Navy,
Retired, was Judge Advocate General of the Navy from
Vili
LIST OF AMICI AND COUNSEL - Continued
1988-1990. Earlier in his career, he received an LL.M. in
Public International Law and Comparative Law (with
highest honors) from the George Washington University
Law School. He also served as International Law Advisor
in the Office of the Chief of Naval Operations, Department
of Defense Oceans Policy Coordinator, and Deputy Judge
Advocate General of the Navy.
Robert Turner is former Charles H. Stockton Professor of
International Law at the U.S. Naval War College, and co-
editor of the casebook National Security Law.
Ruth Wedgwood is the Edward B. Burling Professor of
International Law and Diplomacy, School of Advanced
International Studies, Johns Hopkins University. She was
formerly Professor of Law at Yale Law School. She has
served on the Secretary of State’s Advisory Committee on
International Law since 1993, and chaired the Council on
International Affairs of the Association of the Bar of the
City of New York from 1992-1995.
Brigadier General Michael C. Wholley, U.S. Marine
Corps, Retired, is the former Staff Judge Advocate to the
Commandant of the Marine Corps. He served over thirty
years on active duty, including extensive combat duty in
Vietnam as an F-4 Phantom pilot, as Staff Judge Advocate
to several operational commands, and as Chief Judge of
the Navy-Marine Corps Judiciary.
Richard G. Wilkins is Professor of Law at Brigham
Young University. He served as assistant to the Solicitor
General of the U.S. from 1981-1984.
ix
LIST OF AMICI AND COUNSEL - Continued
General Michael J. Williams, U.S. Marine Corps,
Retired, was Assistant Commandant of the Marine Corps
from 2000-2002. He commanded Marine Air Group 26
during Desert Shield and Desert Storm. |
Edwin D. Williamson is a partner at Sullivan & Crom-
well, Washington, D.C. He served as Legal Adviser of the
U.S. Department of State from 1990-1993.
x
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
ee 6 Ie ee cccectcscscsscscevscsscssescssessesceesnenss i
LIST OF AMICI AND COUNSEL .........cccccccceccseeeeeeeeees ii
Cle ED cstcinarensascccecenrectscenensenessensncentes x
Ee Ge GakF CU IE SUE ccs ccccencccnncceccoscceccensscvovevencses xi
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE..............:cssecscseseeseeeeeees 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ...............ccccsceceeeeeeeeeeeseees 1
TET cctscnasssiccdentiniiniananaieseveistinenemntienanaiauveiinns 3
I. The Law of Armed Conflict Applies to the
Conflict Between the United States and al
Cs Ge Ge ccecccccenernscnensccssnsentonersmne: 3
II. The Law of Armed Conflict and Its Scope......... 5
III. Al Qaeda and the Taliban are Unlawful and
Unprivileged Combatants, and Cannot Claim ~
the Full Privileges of the Geneva Conventions.. 8
IV. United States Policy is Consistent with the
Laws and Customs of War ..............cccccsseseeeeeeeees 14
A. The Right to Intern Captured Combat-
ants, and Permissible Locations................. 15
B. Screening Combatants: The Safeguards
FEES TIO ccccccsnsccvsescnssecscenseeeesenecenses , 17
C. How Long Can Unlawful Combatants Be ©
TINT ssisssicstiininieaeniinadiialipiaaneniineumedmeieiedeeiunne 24
D. Trial of Unlawful Combatants in Military
ID icitrcnictnnninatesnnsinenmnacnnnmmentnnnnsene 25
i iiincienscnnscnctetunnnincnenntenierindienenetnes 29
—— _ ———. —
xi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
. Page
FEDERAL CASES
Al Odah v. United States, 321 F.3d 1134 (D.C. Cir.
LA aN ee en ERR TT Fer ee MMO PANT 23
Bas v. Tingy, 4 U.S. (4 Dall.) 37 (1800) ........ eee eeeeeeees 6
Dalton v. Specter, 511 U.S. 462 (1994)....... 0... cccccccceceeeeeeees 23
Franklin v. Massachusetts, 505 U.S. 788 (1992)............... 23
Johnson v. Eisentrager,; 339 U.S. 763 (1950)....... ...... 24, 29
Ex Parte Quirin, 317 U.S. 1 (1942) ...........ccccccccccscccscrereeees 15
Talbot v. Seeman, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 1 (1801)..............000.... 6
In re Territo, 156 F.2d 142 (9th Cir. 1946) ........0...cc ee 16
The Paquete Habana, 175 U.S. 677 (1900) ...................00008 7
Totten v. United States, 92 U.S. 105 (1875) ..............cccc eee 2
United States v. Ramzi Yousef, 327 F.3d 56 (2d Cir.
ETSI gens meneareeeva kn pee UR ere Or aM 7
OTHER CASES
Furly v. Newnham, 2 Doug. K.B. 419 (1780).................... 16
Legality of the Threat or Use of Nuclear Weapons,
I i eieeeeiininiiie 5
Mohamed Ali and Another v. Public Prosecutor, 3
All E.R. 488 (P.C. 1968), reprinted in HOWARD
LEVIE, ED., DOCUMENTS ON PRISONERS OF WAR
757 (U.S. Naval War College 1979)..............cccccceceeseeees 10
Rex v. Knockaloe Camp Commandant, 87 L.J.K.B.
| ESEERRESAReneanrar a ves teo rs aT Nore Tn cna es ne naEENE 16
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued
Page
Velasquez-Rodriguez Case (Honduras), Inter-Am.
Ct. H.R. (ser. C, no. 4) (1988), reprinted in 9
Hum. Rts. L.J. 212 (1988), and in 28 I.L.M. 291
EERE SESE EAE PSEC CEERI A eae eee Sete, TES Oe ee oe 8
FEDERAL STATUTES
| EEE tonne a= mn aoa eT aE eT 24
ET een eS Bn ere 24
Een ene ae Bae ate ee 24
REI ene er aaa a ene ETE ome 26
Articles of War, Pub. L. No. 242, ch. 227, 41 Stat.
EE aU en oe a Oe OR eee 26
Authorization for Use of Military Force, Pub. L. No.
ER 4
TREATIES
European Convention for the Protection of Human
Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, Nov. 4, 1950,
a Ee Ce erincecsiininisciianicieetnceantininniiadnniianinnsnscness 6
Geneva Convention (III) Relative to the Treatment
of Prisoners of War, Aug. 12, 1949, 6 U.S.T. 3316,
ie TEED Sie censnicnseisasiannecmnecaninaeniianmenninseesieipiasaiibinihion passim
Geneva Convention (IV) Relative to the Protection
of Civilian Persons in Time of War, Aug. 12, 1949,
art. 78, 6 U.S.T. 3516, 75 U.N.T:S. 287..........00..... passim
[Hague] Convention (IV) Respecting the Laws and
Customs of War on Land, with Annex of Regula-
tions, Oct. 18, 1907, 36 Stat. 2277, 1 Bevans 631.....8, 15
-——-_ CoC -_.-
er en ce
Le bs
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page
International Covenant on Civil and Political
Rights, Dec. 19, 1966, art. 4, 999 U.N.T.S. 171............... 6
Protocol I Additional to the Geneva Conventions of
Aug. 12, 1949, and Relating to the Protection of
Victims of International Armed Conflicts, Dec.
| eR RINNE RE SSE Loe ry ieee 28
UNITED NATIONS RESOLUTIONS
U.N.S.C. Res. 1333 (Dec. 19, 2000), available at
<http://www.un.org/docs/scres/2000/sc2000.htm> ........ 12
U.N.S.C. Res. 1368 (Sept. 12, 2001), available at
<http://www.un.org/docs/scres/2001/sc2001.htm> .......... 4
U.N.S.C. Res. 1373 (Sept. 28, 2001), available at
<http://www.un.org/docs/scres/2001/sc2001.htm> ......... 4
BOOKS, TREATISES, OTHER MATERIALS
Major R.A. Baxter, So-called Unprivileged Belliger-
ency: Spies, Guerillas and Saboteurs, BRITISH
YEARBOOK OF INTERNATIONAL LAW 1951................:000000 14
Raymond Bonner, Threats and Responses: Detain-
ees; Singapore Announces Arrest of 21 Men
Linked to Planned Attacks on U.S. Targets, N.Y.
pee 5
Briefing by Paul Butler, Principal Deputy Assistant
Secretary of Defense for Special Operations and
Low Intensity Conflict, and Army Major General
’ Geoffrey D. Miller, Commander, Joint Task Force
Guantanamo, Feb. 13, 2004, transcript available
at <http://www.defenselink.mil/transcripts/2004/tr
IT ininicentnransenniinenesennitininbiilannsenn 18, 21
xiV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
CORNELIUS VAN BYNKERSHOEK, A TREATISE ON THE
LAW OF WAR 127 (Peter DuPonceau, trans. & ed.)
I STII scasticnicreinsscesmisesenscnntisnneusinpuecienmamveseses
CUMULATIVE DIGEST OF U.S. PRACTICE IN INTERNA-
TIONAL LAW, 1981-1988 3455 (Marian Nash
lacie enanianami
Department of Defense Briefing, Dec. 30, 2003,
available at <http://www.defenselink.mil/tran
scripts/2003/tr20031230-1081.html> ...............cceeeeeeees
Department of Defense Military Commission Order
No. 1, Procedures for Trials by Military Commis-
sions of Certain Non-United States Citizens in the
War against Terrorism, Mar. 21, 2002, available
at <http://www.defenselink.mil/news/Mar2002/
ID ienitcnstpsnsnniiicnncemsictinimteniantammenanes
Department of Defense Military Commission
Instruction No. 2, Crimes and Elements for Trials
by Military Commission, Apr. 30, 2003, available
at <http://www.defenselink.mil/news/May2003/
d20030430milcominstn02. pdf> .............cceceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees
Department of Defense Military Commission
Instruction No. 9, Review of Military Commission
Proceedings, Dec. 26, 2003, available at <http://
www.defenselink mil/news/Jan2004/d20040108mil
I sccetdnisiintcsnndsslnenstninniniinteentneneienmenesmeis
Knut Dormann, The Legal Situation of Unlaw-
ful/Unprivileged Combatants, 85 INT'L REV. RED
Si Gn SP iceentinsstccctnsnsnenenncccstncnenesmmesmeseses
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page
Colonel G.L.A.D. Draper, “The Legal Classification
of Belligerent Individuals” (Paper delivered at
University of Brussels, 1970), reprinted in RE-
FLECTIONS ON LAW AND ARMED CONFLICTS—
SELECTED WORKS ON THE LAWS OF WAR BY THE
LATE PROFESSOR COLONEL G.I.A.D. DRAPER,
O.B.E. 196, 199-200 (Michael A. Meyer and
Hilaire McCoubrey, eds., 1998) ................c:eeeeeeees 7, 21,
Enemy Prisoners of War, Retained Personnel,
Civilian Internees and Other Detainees, Army
Regulation 190-8, OPNAVINST 3461.6, AFJI 31-
SE 9S ea ne
Final Record of the Diplomatic Conference of
gL 13,
DIETER FLECK (ED.), THE HANDBOOK OF INTERNA-
TIONAL HUMANITARIAN LAW (commentary on Joint
Services Regulation 15/2 of the German Bundes-
a es Pee ERI ercccenenniesessscsssccteninnenccensessesses
Ari Fleischer, White House Spokesman, Special
White House Announcement Re: Application of
Geneva Conventions in Afghanistan (Feb. 7,
2002), at LEXIS, Legis Library, Fednew File................
L.C. GREEN, THE CONTEMPORARY LAW OF ARMED
22
ER ER Ee a a er 13, 23
HENRY W. HALLECK, INTERNATIONAL LAW; OR RULES
REGULATING THE INTERCOURSE OF STATES IN
PRAGE ASTD WAR BES CABG) ccccccccccccsccscccssccsccosccccsscscsesece
9 HALSBURY’S LAWS OF ENGLAND pp. 710-11, J 1212
IIE TiIITTITITTITecdeehiiaiacpeeiiinetietstiipenmmmmmenentenseresee
xvi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE OF THE RED CROSS, THE
GENEVA CONVENTIONS OF 12 AUGUST 1949 —-
COMMENTARY, GENEVA CONVENTION (III) RELA-
TIVE TO THE TREATMENT OF PRISONERS OF WAR 62-
63 (Jean S. Pictet & Jean de Preux eds., 1969)............ 10
Harold Koh, The Case Against Military Commis-
sions, 96 AM. J. INT. L. 337 (2002)..........ccccccccsssccesceoeeees 26
Jean-David Levitte, Setting the Record Straight,
CosMos CLUB BULLETIN, Feb. 2004, at 15....................04 3
Lieber Code, Instructions for the Government of
the Armies of the United States in the Field,
arts. 82-85 (Apr. 24, 1863), available at <http://
www.au.af.mil/au/awc/awcgate/law/liebercode.htm>........ 10
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO),
Statement by the North Atlantic Council (Sept.
12, 2001), reprinted in 40 I.L.M. 1267 (2001)................. 4
Office of the White House Press Secretary, Fact
Sheet, Status of Detainees at Guantanamo (Feb.
7, 2002), available at <http://www.whitehouse.
gov/news/releases/2002/02/20020207-13.html>.............. 9
2 LASSA OPPENHEIM, INTERNATIONAL LAW § 254 (H.
Lauterpacht ed., 7th ed. 1952) ................sssssssssssesssseeeees 11
Organization of American States, press release E-
194/01, Sept. 21, 2001, available at <http://www.
oas.org/OASpage/press2002/en/press2001/sept01/
196 DAGRD .. cocccccccccccccecccscosecsccccssnanensnennsnnaiaannannn 4
W. Hays Parks, Special Forces’ Wear of Non-
Standard Uniforms, 4 CHI. J. INT. L. 493 (2003).......... 11
——s
—s
ae nd a a
es
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
PRESERVING OUR INSTITUTIONS — THE FIRST REPORT
OF THE CONTINUITY OF GOVERNMENT COMMISSION
(2003), available at <http://www.continuityof
government.org/pdfs/FirstReport.pdf>.........................6+. 3
Remarks by Alberto R. Gonzales, Counsel to the
President, before the American Bar Association
Standing Committee on Law and National Secu-
rity, Washington, D.C., Feb. 24, 2004, available
at <http://www.abanet.org/natsecurity/judge_
TE 15
Remarks of Secretary of Defense Rumsfeld to Greater
Miami Chamber of Commerce, Feb. 13, 2004, tran-
script available at <http://www.defenselink.mil/
transcripts/2004/tr20040213-0445.html>......... 18, 19, 20
Kenneth Roth, The Law of War in the War on
Terror, FOREIGN AFFAIRS 7 (Jan.-Feb. 2004).................. 26
MARCO SASSOLI AND ANTOINE A. BOUVIER, How
Dogs LAW PROTECT IN WAR? CASES, DOCUMENTS,
AND TEACHING MATERIALS ON CONTEMPORARY
PRACTICE IN INTERNATIONAL HUMANITARIAN LAW
(International Committee of the Red Cross 1999)........ 23
Statement by State Department Spokesman
Richard Boucher, U.S. Department of State Press
Briefing (Feb. 8, 2002), available at <http://
www.state.gov/r/pa/prs/dpb/2002/7918.htm>................ 18
JULIUS STONE, LEGAL CONTROLS OF INTERNATIONAL
EEE ET 14
William Taft, Guantanamo Detention is Legal and
Essential, FINANCIAL TIMES, Jan. 12, 2004, at 19... 17, 25
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
Two Guantanamo Detainees Charged, United
States Department of Defense News Release No.
122-04, Feb. 24, 2004, available at <http://www.
defenselink.mil/releases/2004/nr20040224-0363.
United States Military Assistance Command
Vietnam, Directive No. 381-46, Military Intelli-
gence: Combined Screening of Detainees (Dec.
Is TI cesar rneencnaiaentaectadan cee aeaireactataeliidiialaiasiaaiianei 17
EMMERICH DE VATTEL, THE LAW OF NATIONS 591, bk.
3, ch. 15 (Dublin, Luke White ed. 1792) (1758) ............ ll
Ruth Wedgwood, Al Qaeda and American Self-
Defense, (Appendix) in SEPTEMBER 11, TERRORIST
ATTACKS, AND U.S. FOREIGN POLicy 176-78 (De-
metrios James Caraley, ed., The Academy of Po-
litical Science, 2002) (reprinting Joint Statement
of Individual High-Level Advisors to the Secre-
Rear CE TID cccssvesssscesnscsnssnnsesenenesenssensnenssemsenssmneneses 28
Ruth Wedgwood, Al Qaeda, Terrorism, and Military
Commissions, 96 AM. J. INT. L. 328 (2003) ................... 26
AMEUR ZEMMALI, COMBATTANTS ET PRISONNIERS DE
GUERRE EN Droit ISLAMIQUE ET EN DROIT HUMA-
NITAIRE (Editions Pedone, Paris 1996) (Ph.D.
thesis, Faculty of Law, University of Geneva).............. 22
—— —— ram —— li
1
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE
This brief amicus curiae is respectfully submitted’ by
law professors, former State Department Legal Advisers
and Ambassadors, retired Judge Advocates General and
combatant commanders, and other international law
specialists. Amici believe that the United States Court of
Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit correctly
decided that the statutory writ of habeas corpus is not
available to foreign enemy combatants captured and held
outside of the United States.
Although the immediate question is jurisdictional, it
touches upon the law of armed conflict, and its relationship
to constitutional, administrative, and public international
law. As lawyers, diplomats, and military professionals who
have gained expertise in these matters, we are concerned
that the choice of the appropriate legal paradigm may
profoundly affect America’s ability to defeat al Qaeda’s
terror campaign against the United States.
¢
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Following the September 11 attacks, Congress author-
ized the President to use military force against al Qaeda
and such “nations, organizations, or persons he deter-
mines” assisted al Qaeda’s acts of war against the United
States. In the midst of a continuing conflict, and in an
effort to regulate the President’s conduct of the war
abroad, petitioners ask the Court to invent an unprece-
dented and unfounded extraterritorial extension of habeas
corpus. Their proposed test of “complete jurisdiction and
* Letters of consent have been filed with the Clerk. Pursuant to
Rule 37.6, amici state that no counsel for any party authored this brief
in whole or in part,‘nor did any party to this action before the Court, or
any other person or entity, other than the undersigned amici, make a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.
2
control,” as the new limit for the writ, could extend to
American military installations around the world, occu-
pied territory, and even to combat zones such as Iraq, as
well as to other informal and even confidential arrange-
ments between the United States and foreign govern-
ments.” There would be no apparent limit to this
“globalization” of the writ of habeas corpus.
The motive for this proposed legal usurpation is
petitioners’ assertion that the President’s conduct of the
war has violated international law, particularly through
the capture and wartime internment of enemy combatants
at the Guantanamo Bay Naval Station in Cuba. Therefore,
the Court’s consideration of this case may be assisted by
having available the historical and specialized materials
that demonstrate the consistency of the President’s actions
with the principles of international law, including the
tradition of the Geneva Conventions.
Claims made that Guantanamo is a “legal black hole”
or “rights-free zone” unaccountably ignore the settled rules
of the law of armed conflict. That law permits nations to
defend their citizens through the use of military force,
including the capture and detention of enemy combatants
throughout the conflict. Application of these rules does not
depend on whether Congress has “declared war” so long as
an armed conflict is still in progress. Suggestions that the
courts should regulate the capture and detention of foreign
combatants abroad would interpose the judiciary in an
area the Constitution reserves to the political branches.
Neither an activist reading of international law, nor
political criticism of the President’s wartime strategy,
warrants the suggested overthrow of the bright line rule
* Compare Totten v. United States, 92 U.S. 105, 106-107 (1875)
(“public policy forbids the maintenance of any suit in a court of justice,
the trial of which would inevitably lead to the disclosure of matters
which the law itself regards as confidential” including “all secret
employments of the government in time of war”).
3
that limits the statutory remedy of habeas corpus to
matters affecting American citizens and matters occurring
on American sovereign territory.
+
ARGUMENT
I. The Law of Armed Conflict Applies to the
Conflict Between the United States and Al
Qaeda and the Taliban.
The United States has been “at war” at least since
September 11, 2001, when agents of the al Qaeda terrorist
organization seized four American passenger aircraft, and
carried out attacks against the World Trade Center and
the Pentagon.’ Nearly three thousand people were killed;
many hundreds more were wounded; the vast majority of
the victims were civilians. Al Qaeda reportedly hoped to
use the fourth airplane (which crashed in Pennsylvania) to
attack the United States Capitol or the White House. The
gravity of al Qaeda’s attempt to decapitate the American
national government in a coordinated set of attacks has
led to new post-Cold War consideration of how to preserve
the continuity of American democratic government.‘
Congress responded to these extraordinary acts of war
by authorizing the President “to use all necessary and
appropriate force against those nations, organizations, or
* As the French Ambassador to the United States recently said, his
government “immediately viewed [the September 11 attack] as an act of
war” and within an hour, “a French resolution was approved by the
Security Council branding the act as such and calling for pursuit of the
terrorist leaders.” Jean-David Levitte, Setting the Record Straight,
Cosmos CLUB BULLETIN, Feb. 2004, at 15 (reporting the Ambassador's
Dec. 1, 2003 discussion at the Cosmos Club).
* See PRESERVING OUR INSTITUTIONS-THE FIRST REPORT OF THE
CONTINUITY OF GOVERNMENT COMMISSION (2003), ‘available at
<http//www.continuityofgovernment.org/pdfs/FirstReport. pdf>.
4
persons he determines planned, authorized, committed, or
aided the terrorist attacks that occurred on September 11,
2001, or harbored such organizations or persons.” See
Authorization for Use of Military Force, Pub. L. No. 107-
40, 115 Stat. 224 (2001) (emphasis added). Determining
that al Qaeda was responsible for the September 11
attacks, and that the Taliban militia continued to harbor
al Qaeda personne] and training camps, the President
deployed American military forces to Afghanistan. The
legality of the American resort to armed force against al
Qaeda and the Taliban was endorsed by the North Atlantic
Treaty Organization, the United Nations Security Council
(acting under Chapter VII of the U.N. Charter), and the
members of the Rio and ANZUS Pacts.*
In fact, al Qaeda has targeted American military and
diplomatic personnel and American civilians for over a
decade. Beginning in 1992, bombing American peacekeep-
ers in Aden, Yemen, al Qaeda rapidly escalated with the
1993 truck-bomb attack on the World Trade Center. This
was followed by a 1994 car bomb attack on American
soldiers at the Riyadh training center, a 1995 truck bomb
attack on the “Khobar Tower” barracks in Saudi Arabia,
killing 19 and wounding 372 American soldiers, and the
massive 1998 truck bomb attacks on the American Embas-
sies in Kenya and Tanzania, killing 212 and wounding
4500 persons. In January, 2000, al Qaeda attempted
(unsuccessfully) to bomb the U.S.S. The Sullivans, then
* North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Statement by the
North Atlantic Council (Sept. 12, 2001), reprinted in 40 1.L.M. 1267
(2001); U.N.S.C. Res. 1368 (Sept. 12, 2001), available at <http://www.
un.org/docs/scres/200 1/sc2001.htm>; U.N.S.C. Res. 1373 (Sept. 28, 2001),
available at <http://www.un.org/docs/scres/200 1/sc2001.htm>. The North
Atlantic Council invoked Article 5 of the NATO Treaty for the first time
in its fifty year history. Similarly, the OAS Foreign Ministers invoked
the Inter-American Treaty of Reciprocal Assistance (1947). See OAS
press release E-194/01, Sept. 21, 2001, available at <http://www.oas.org/
OASpage/press2002/en/press200 l/sept01/194.htm>.
5
refueling in Aden harbor, and successfully attacked the
U.S.S. Cole, nine months later in the same port. Since
September 11, 2001, even after the battlefield successes of
American and allied troops in Afghanistan, al Qaeda has
continued to target America and its allies around the
world.* The Taliban has continued to fight American forces
in southeastern Afghanistan, despite the formation of a
new government in Kabul under Hamid Karzai. Osama
bin Laden’s 1998 “fatwa” declaring war against all Ameri-
cans, all Jews, all Christians, and all “apostate” Muslims,
still remains in effect, and the United States is still
battling al Qaeda around the world.
II. The Law of Armed Conflict and Its Scope.
The law of armed conflict is lex specialis, a distinctive
branch of international law that takes account of the
unique problems of warfare.’ Sometimes called “interna-
tional humanitarian law,” it draws upon the same norma-
tive and ethical commitments as human rights law,
attempting to spare innocent civilians and to mitigate the
hardship of warfare. However, in weighing the balance, it
must also take account of the catastrophic effect of enemy
attacks upon the safety and the survival of a nation’s
civilians. It recognizes that, during war, a state must
weigh a complex set of interests — including the need to
protect its society and population against physical harm
and destruction. As a result, the law of armed conflict
permits acts that would be forbidden during peacetime,
including killing enemy soldiers in combat, capturing and
detaining enemy soldiers on the battlefield, and interning
* See, e.g., Raymond Bonner, Threats and Responses: Detainees;
Singapore Announces Arrest of 21 Men Linked to Planned Attacks on
U.S. Targets, N.Y. TIMES, Sept. 17, 2002, at A17.
" See Legality of the Threat or Use of Nuclear Weapons, 1996 1.C.J.
226, at J 25 (1996). .
6
enemy soldiers for the duration of the conflict to prevent
their return to the fight.’
The law of armed conflict’s applicability does not
depend on whether “war” has been formally declared. See
Bas v. Tingy, 4 U.S. (4 Dall.) 37, 43 (1800); Talbot v.
Seeman, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 1, 28 (1801); see also, Geneva
Convention (III) Relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of
War, Aug. 12, 1949, common art. 2, 6 U.S.T. 3316, 75
U.N.T.S. 135 (entered into force Oct. 21, 1950) (““Conven-
tion shall apply to all cases of declared war or any other
armed conflict which may arise between two or more of the
High Contracting Parties, even if the state of war is not
recognized by one of them”) (emphasis added) [hereinafter
Geneva III]. Indeed, many countries no longer formally
declare war as such, because of the limitations of the
United Nations Charter, but a state of war exists when-
ever a foreign foe has committed an act of war or aggres-
sion. In the Vietnam conflict, the 1991 Persian Gulf War,
and the 2003 allied intervention against Saddam Hussein
in Iraq, Congress did not formally declare war, but author-
ized the use of force against foreign foes. Congress also
authorized the use of force against al Qaeda and the
Taliban.
The law of armed conflict’s substantive rules depend
both on custom and treaty. Customary law develops from
the practice of states recognized as legally obligatory.
Especially in this area so important to the survival of
* The rights and duties of participants in war and armed conflict
are governed by the law of armed conflict. But it is pertinent to note
that international human rights law also acknowledges that a “public
emergency threatening the life of the nation” may warrant adaptation
of the law to meet the emergency. See International Covenant on Civil
and Political Rights, Dec. 19, 1966, art. 4, 999 U.N.T.S. 171 (entered
into force for the United States, Sept. 8, 1992); European Convention
for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, Nov.
4, 1950, art. 15, 213 U.N.TS. 221.
7
states, customary law crucially depends upon the practice
of states. It is not invented by the opinions of individual
moralists or law professors.”
There is no comprehensive treaty text addressing
every wartime issue, and customary law changes in the
face of new problems. Multilateral conferences of states
crafting treaty texts may unavoidably “fight the last
war.” The Hague Conventions of 1899 and 1907 foresaw,
in the so-called “Martens Clause,” that the community of
states would not be able to agree on a detailed text to
codify a solution to all of the problems of war. (For exam-
ple, the 1949 Geneva Conventions apply only to conflicts
“between two or more of the High Contracting Parties.”)"
Accordingly, the Martens Clause calls upon states to
recognize that:
[uJntil a more complete code of the laws of war
has been issued, ... in cases not included in the
Regulations adopted by them, the inhabitants
and the belligerents remain under the protection
and the rule of the principles of the laws of
* See United States v. Ramzi Yousef, 327 F.3d 56, 100-03 (2d Cir.
2003) (“Some contemporary international law scholars assert that they
themselves are an authentic source of customary international law,
perhaps even more relevant than the practices and acts of States ....
[This assertion] may not be unique, but it is certainly without merit.”).
Accord The Paquete Habana, 175 U.S. 677, 700 (1900).
* Law of war authority Colonel G.1.A.D. Draper noted this
problem: “The Geneva Conventions of 1949 are excellent instruments of
humanitarian law but they were unfortunately backwards-looking to
the experience of World War II.” See Colonel G.I.A.D. Draper, The Legal
Classification of Belligerent Individuals (Paper delivered at University
of Brussels, 1970), reprinted in REFLECTIONS ON LAW AND ARMED
CONFLICTS-SELECTED WORKS ON THE LAWS OF WAR BY THE LATE
PROFESSOR COLONEL G.I.A.D. DRAPER, O.B.E. 196, 199-200 (Michael A.
Meyer and Hilaire McCoubrey, eds., 1998).
" Geneva III, supra, art. 2. Al Qaeda, of course, is not a Geneva
party.
8
nations, as they result from the usages estab-
lished among civilized peoples, from the laws of
humanity, and the dictates of the public con-
science.
See Convention (IV) Respecting the Laws and Customs of
War on Land, with Annex of Regulations, Oct. 18, 1907,
preamble, 36 Stat. 2277, 1 Bevans 631 [hereinafter Hague
Regulations].
Of course, the attempt to fit the principles of the
Geneva tradition to the raw facts of a terrorist adversary
involves human interests on both sides of the equation.”
The protection of innocent civilians from car bomb attacks
is a human rights interest, just as is the protection of
combatants caught on the battlefield. Nevertheless, the
President has undertaken to treat captured al Qaeda and
Taliban detainees humanely and, in accord with the
principles of Geneva, without conceding that the Geneva
Conventions would apply in all their particulars.
Ill. Al Qaeda and the Taliban are Unlawful and
Unprivileged Combatants, and Cannot Claim
the Full Privileges of the Geneva Conven-
tions.
As Commander-in-Chief, President Bush has deter-
mined that the al Qaeda and Taliban fighters detained at
° The Inter-American Court of Human Rights embraced this point
in the Velasquez-Rodriguez Case (Honduras), Inter-Am. Ct. H.R. (ser. C,
no. 4) (1988), { 172, reprinted in 9 Hum. Rts. L.J. 212 (1988), and in 28
1.L.M. 291 (1989). When the Honduran government disclaimed respon-
sibility by arguing that it was not itself running the death squads, the
Inter-American Court replied that each government has an affirmative
duty to protect the human rights of its citizens, in particular, to guard
against the arbitrary deprivation of life by private groups. So, too, the
United States government has an affirmative duty, under the laws of
war and the principles of human rights, to effectively protect innocent
civilians from the private violence of al Qaeda.
9
Guantanamo Bay are “unprivileged” or “unlawful” com-
batants. Because of this determination, the detainees are
not entitled to the full rights and privileges of prisoners-of-
war (“POWs”) under the Geneva Conventions. The Presi-
dent properly based this conclusion on the traditional
prerequisites of lawful belligerency, as recognized by the
Geneva Conventions. Al Qaeda is “an international terror-
ist group and cannot be considered a state party to the
Geneva Convention,” and both al Qaeda and the Taliban
have failed to satisfy the traditional four-part test of
having a responsible commander, wearing a uniform or
distinctive insignia, carrying arms openly, and conducting
military operations “in accordance with the laws and
customs of war.” See Ari Fleischer, White House Spokes-
man, Special White House Announcement Re: Application
of Geneva Conventions in Afghanistan (Feb. 7, 2002), at
LEXIS, Legis Library, Fednew File.
Nonetheless, the President has undertaken to treat all
internees humanely. See Office of the White House Press
Secretary, Fact Sheet, Status of Detainees at Guantanamo
(Feb. 7, 2002), available at <http://www.whitehouse.gov/
news/releases/2002/02/20020207-13.html> (“The United
States is treating and will continue to treat all of the
individuals detained at Guantanamo humanely and, to the
extent appropriate, and consistent with military necessity,
in a manner consistent with the principles of the Third
Geneva Convention of 1949.”).
It must be emphasized that President Bush did not
invent the classification of unprivileged or unlawful
combatant for the war against al Qaeda and the Taliban.
The first modern effort to codify the law of armed conflict,
Union Army General Order No. 100, gave prime attention
to “unlawful” and “unprivileged” belligerency. General
Order No. 100 was drafted by Columbia University law
professor Francis Lieber, and promulgated by President
Lincoln in 1863. It includes four different categories of
unlawful combatants: “armed prowlers,” “spies,” “highway
10
robbers or pirates,” and “war-rebels.”” In the Lieber Code,
unlawful belligerency meant, at a minimum, that the
fighter was “not entitled to the privileges of prisoners of
war.”
The status of unlawful belligerent or combatant was
recognized throughout the nineteenth and twentieth
centuries, in the Brussels Declaration of 1874, and again
in the Hague Rules of Land Warfare of 1907, and its key
distinctions have been preserved in the modern Geneva
tradition. See Geneva III, supra, art. 4. As noted in the
official Geneva commentary of the International Commit-
tee of the Red Cross, the very definition of “armed forces”
depends upon these “material characteristics” and “attrib-
utes”: “they wear uniform[s], they have an organized
hierarchy and they know and respect the laws and cus-
toms of war.”
The President’s conclusion that the members of al
Qaeda, and the Taliban, are unlawful combatants is
clearly correct. Neither group satisfied the four critical
criteria. Indeed, al Qaeda is nothing but a private organi-
zation. The law of armed conflict does not authorize
* See Lieber Code, Instructions for the Government of the Armies
of the United States in the Field, arts. 82-85 (Apr. 24, 1863), available
at <http//www.au.af.mil/au/awc/awcgate/law/liebercode.htm>.
* Id.
* INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE OF THE RED Cross, THE GENEVA
CONVENTIONS OF 12 AUGUST 1949-COMMENTARY, GENEVA CONVENTION
(III) RELATIVE TO THE TREATMENT OF PRISONERS OF WAR 62-63 (Jean S.
Pictet & Jean de Preux eds., 1969). See also Mohamed Ali and Another
v. Public Prosecutor, 3 All E.R. 488 (P.C. 1968), reprinted in HOWARD
LEVIE, ED., DOCUMENTS ON PRISONERS OF WAR 757, 763 (U.S. Naval War
College 1979) (“It would be anomalous if the requirements for recogni-
tion of a belligerent with its accompanying right to treatment as a
prisoner of war, only existed in relations to members of [militias or
volunteer corps] and there was no such requirement in relation to
members of the armed forces.”).
11
violence by private individuals, and private groups are not
entitled to the privileges of belligerency — regardless of
whether the motivation is ideological, religious, or politi-
cal. See 2 LASSA OPPENHEIM, INTERNATIONAL LAW § 254 (H.
Lauterpacht ed., 7th ed. 1952) (“Private individuals who
take up arms and commit hostilities against the enemy do
not enjoy the privileges of armed forces . . . ”); CORNELIUS
VAN BYNKERSHOEK, A TREATISE ON THE LAW OF WAR 127
(Peter DuPonceau, trans. & ed.) (Philadelphia 1810) (“We
call pirates and plunderers (praedones) those, who, with-
out authorization of any sovereign, commit depredations
by sea or land.”); DIETER FLECK (ED.), THE HANDBOOK OF
INTERNATIONAL HUMANITARIAN LAW (commentary on Joint
Services Regulation 15/2 of the German Bundeswehr),
§ 304, 71-72 (1995) (“Only states or other parties which
are recognized as subjects of international law can be
parties to an international armed conflict .... combatants
are privileged solely by that entitlement .. . ”).”*
The Taliban’s status also presents anomalous facts.
Although Afghanistan is a party to the 1949 Geneva
Conventions, the Taliban was not its legal government or
“armed forces.” Indeed, the Taliban militia “never claimed
to be the Afghanistan government or armed forces” and
“exercised none of the usual activitie- of a governinent,
other than the negative one of closing down all schools.””
“ See also HENRY W. HALLECK, INTERNATIONAL LAW; OR RULES
REGULATING THE INTERCOURSE OF STATES IN PEACE AND WAR 348 (1861)
(“individual is liable to punishment” for “any act [otherwise] within the
rules of war, not authorised or assumed by his government, as the act of
the state”); EMMERICH DE VATTEL, THE LAW OF NATIONS 591, bk. 3, ch.
15 (Dublin, Luke White ed. 1792) (1758) (“The right of making war...
belongs alone to the sovereign power, which not only decides whether it
be proper to undertake the war, and declare it, but likewise directs all the
operations .... Therefore subjects cannot act herein of themselves, and
without the sovereign’s order they are not to commit any hostility.”).
" W. Hays Parks, Special Forces’ Wear of Non-Standard Uniforms,
4 Cut. J. INT. L. 493, 506 n.21 (2003). Colonel Parks, of the U.S. Marine
(Continued on following page)
12
Neither the United States, the United Nations, the League
of Islamic Nations, nor Switzerland (as the treaty deposi-
tory for the Geneva Conventions) ever recognized the
Taliban as Afghanistan’s government. The Taliban did not
claim Afghanistan’s seat in the U.N. General Assembly,
and the Security Council openly debated whether a bind-
ing Council resolution could be issued against a “non-state
entity” such as the Taliban. See, e.g., U.N.S.C. Res. 1333
(Dec. 19, 2000), available at <http://www.un.org/docs/scres/
2000/sc2000.htm> (condemning “continuing use of areas of
Afghanistan under the control of the Afghan faction known
as Taliban”) (emphasis added). As one widely-respected
military law expert has noted, the Taliban was at most “a
faction engaged in a civil war in a failed state.””
Moreover, even if the Taliban had been a legitimate
government, it did not prosecute war in a legitimate way.
Taliban combatants targeted civilians, killed journalists,
and used civilians and mosques as shields. They acted
with perfidy by pretending to surrender — for example,
= the Taliban/al Qaeda rebellion at the Mazar-i-Sherif
ortress.
The anomalous nature of the parties in the conflict in
Afghanistan has important consequences for the applica-
tion of the Geneva Conventions, and the legal status of the
al Qaeda and Taliban members captured by the United
States. Unlawful combatants are certainly not entitled to
be set at liberty while a war is ongoing, for even lawful
combatants may be captured and held for the duration of
the armed conflict — including follow-on operations against
hold-outs. Unlawful combatants retain protections under
Corps Reserve (Retired), formerly served as the Special Assistant for
Law of War Matters to the Judge Advocate General of the Army.
* Id. Prior to September 11, 2001, only three governments — Saudi
Arabia, Pakistan, and the United Arab Emirates -— recognized the
Taliban, and each withdrew its recognition following September 11.
13
the basic norms of customary international law, the
Martens Clause, and norms comparable to those in com-
mon Article 3 of the Geneva Conventions (applicable to
insurgents in civil wars).'* However, as unlawful combat-
ants, they do not enjoy the full rights and privileges of
Geneva POWs.” Unlawful combatants are denied the full
” Without dispute, all detainees are entitled to humane treatment.
Under the rules of Geneva III, however, lawful combatants would enjoy
a number of privileges — such as the right to military pay, the right to
have free run of the detention camp and the right to gather en masse -—
that are clearly inappropriate or dangerous in the case of al Qaeda and
the Taliban. In addition, under Geneva, lawful combatants may not
gain any advantage because they are cooperating. This could pose an
obstacle to effective collection of intelligence essential in thwarting
future attacks by al Qaeda. Also, classification as a lawful combatant
could potentially immunize a non-state-actor from criminal liability for
terrorist attacks against American military installations and personnel.
* Some writers have suggested that, to assure a “seamless” treaty
regime, any unlawful combatant who falls outside the full statutory
privileges of Geneva III should automatically gain the privileges and
protections of Geneva Convention (IV) Relative to the Protection of
Civilian Persons in Time of War. See Knut Dormann, The Legal
Situation of Unlawful/Unprivileged Combatants, 85 INTL REV. RED
Cross 45 (Mar. 2003). But this was not the view of many States Parties.
See, e.g., Final Record of the Diplomatic Conference of Geneva of 1949,
Vol. II-A, at p. 621 (remarks of U.K. delegate: “The whole conception of
the Civilians Convention was the protection of civilian victims of war
and not the protection of illegitimate bearers of arms, who could not
expect full protection under the laws of war to which they did not
conform.”) See also L.C. GREEN, THE CONTEMPORARY LAW OF ARMED
CONFLICT 189 (1998) (“Not all those falling into the hands of a belliger-
ent become prisoners of war or are entitled to prisoner of war status.
Enemy civilians, for example, when taken into custody or interned do
not fall into this category, and if captured are entitled to treatment in
accordance with Geneva Convention IV, 1949, unless they have taken
part in hostile activities when they may be regarded as unlawful
combatants and treated accordingly.”) (Emphasis added).
Nonetheless, it is worth recalling that even the Fourth Geneva
Convention reflects the exigencies of war. Under Article 5 of that
Convention, civilians of the opposing power who are “in occupied
(Continued on following page)
14
rights of lawful belligerents so as to create an incentive
system for appropriate behavior in wartime. Unlawful
combatants cannot exploit legal asymmetry, demanding
the privileges that they fail to accord to their adversary.
The matter was put plainly by Professor Richard Baxter of
Harvard: “International law deliberately neglects to
protect unprivileged belligerents because of the danger
their acts present to their opponents.” See Major R.A.
Baxter, So-called Unprivileged Belligerency: Spies, Guer-
rillas and Saboteurs, BRITISH YEARBOOK OF INTERNATIONAL
LAW 1951, at 343. “Unlawful belligerency,’” noted Baxter,
“is actually ‘unprivileged belligerency.’”™
IV. United States Policy Is Consistent With the
Laws and Customs of War.
Although the Guantanamo detainees are not entitled
to the full privileges of Geneva POWs, there are several
other practical and legal questions related to their treat-
ment and, with respect to each of these, we believe that
— policy is consistent with international law and
ethics.
territory” or “in the territory of an adversary” are subject to internment
by decision of the detaining power where they are “definitely suspected
of or engaged in activities hostile to the security of the State.” Thus, an
enemy civilian who is suspected of plotting violence, even if he is not
technically a “combatant,” could be interned for the duration of the
conflict. See Geneva Convention (IV) Relative to the Protection of
Civilian Persons in Time of War, Aug. 12, 1949, art. 78, 6 U.S.T. 3516,
75 U.N.T.S. 287.
™ Accord JULIUS STONE, LEGAL CONTROLS OF INTERNATIONAL
CONFLICT 549 (1954) (the distinction between “privileged”/“protected”/
“lawful” belligerents or combatants, and “unprivileged”“unprotected”/
“unlawful” belligerents or combatants, “draws the line between those
personnel who, on capture, are entitled under international law to
certain minimal treatment as prisoners of war, and those not entitled to
such protection”).
15
A. The Right To Intern Captured Combatants,
and Permissible Locations
All captured combatants (lawful and unlawful) are
legally subject to detention or internment throughout the
duration of an armed conflict. See Ex Parte Quirin, 317
U.S. 1, 31 (1942); see also, Geneva III, supra, art. 21 (“The
Detaining Power may subject prisoners of war to intern-
ment.”); Hague Regulations, supra, arts. 4-5 (“Prisoners of
war are in the power of the hostile Government ....
Prisoners of war may be interned in a town, fortress,
camp, or other place, and bound not to go beyond certain
fixed limits .... ”). This internment is not punishment,
but a prophylactic measure, the primary purpose of which
is to keep a prisoner from returning to the fight. Allowing
internment, in fact, strengthens the “life-or-death” battle-
field guarantee — that combatants should be permitted to
surrender, and that their opponents must accept the
surrender and “give quarter.” In real world settings, many
armies would not take prisoners if they knew that the
captured enemy would immediately be released, frustrat-
ing efforts to defeat the opposing force.
Further, alien enemy combatants have not been
entitled to challenge their detention in court.” During
World War Two, some 400,000 German and Italian prison-
ers of war were captured and transported to the continen-
tal United States for internment, and were repatriated
only at the end of the war. Initially, their internment was
“indefinite,” since neither they nor their captors knew
when the war would end. Nevertheless, so far as the case
™ Here, citizenship makes a difference of quality and kind.
Americans who have fought for a foreign enemy may seek review of any
capture and detention by habeas corpus. See Remarks by Alberto R.
Gonzales, Counsel to the President, before the American Bar Associa-
tion Standing Committee on Law and National Security, Washington,
D.C., Feb. 24, 2004, available at <http://www.abanet.org/natsecurity/
judge_gonzales. pdf>.
16
reports reveal, the federal courts did not entertain any
habeas petitions challenging this civil internment, which
is simply a normal prerogative of war. The only reported
exception is Jn re Territo, 156 F.2d 142 (9th Cir. 1946),
which concerned an Italian-American enemy combatant
who unsuccessfully asserted that his citizenship should
prevent his detention. This dearth of litigation is consis-
tent with the history of the common law. In English
common law, alien enemy combatants and alien prisoners
of war were plainly excluded from access to the writ of
habeas corpus, no matter where they were detained. See,
e.g., 9 HALSBURY’S LAWS OF ENGLAND pp. 710-11, 4 1212
(2d Ed. 1931-1942) (the writ “will not be granted . . . to an
alien enemy who is a prisoner of war”).”
Although many enemy combatants were transferred
to the United States during World War Two, this is not
required. Under customary law, and the 1949 Geneva
Conventions, the capturing power is merely required to
hold detainees at a safe distance from the fighting, lest
they “be exposed to the fire of the combat zone.” See
Geneva III, supra, art. 23. Captives cannot be held in
penitentiaries or detained on naval vessels (to avoid the
infamous practice of “prison hulks”). They should be
interned in a favorable climate. Jd. But the detaining
power is permitted to choose a place where available
security arrangements will discourage any escape or
rescue attempts.”
* Accord Rex v. Knockaloe Camp Commandant, 87 L.J.K.B. 43, 46
(1917) (Avery, J.) (“There is clear authority that a person who is an
alien enemy prisoner of war is not entitled to apply to the Court for a
writ of habeas corpus.”); Furly v. Newnham, 2 Doug. K.B. 419 (1780)
(“The Court will not grant a habeas corpus ad testificandum to bring up
a prisoner of war.”).
™ These constraints may help to explain the choice of Guantanamo
as a locale.
17
B. Screening Combatants: The Safeguards
Against Mistakes
No one wishes to have non-combatants, of any nation-
ality, subject to mistaken detention as a combatant. A
battlefield can be confusing, and the United States ob-
tained custody of some detained combatants from the
Afghan Northern Alliance and other allied groups. To
safeguard against mistakes, there has been a careful
ongoing process of interviews, screening, and review by
American military and intelligence teams, to assure that
each person was in fact a combatant. According to the
Department of State’s Legal Adviser, more than 10,000
detainees were screened in Afghanistan. The “vast major-
ity” were released. See William Taft, Guantanamo Deten-
tion is Legal and Essential, FINANCIAL TIMES, Jan. 12,
2004, at 19. Only a small number were transferred to
Guantanamo. As Mr. Taft noted, American policy “was,
and is, that only enemy combatants who pose special
security, intelligence or law enforcement concerns are
transferred to Guantanamo.” /d.
Screening teams and review panels are the traditional
method used to categorize combatants (widely used, for _
example, in Vietnam and the Gulf War, see, e.g., United
States Military Assistance Command Vietnam, Directive
No. 381-46, Military Intelligence: Combined Screening of
Detainees (Dec. 27, 1967)). The screening and review
process for combatants captured in the ongoing conflict in
Afghanistan has involved four layers of assessment and
review before a person may be transferred to Guantanamo.
There is an assessment in the field, then another by a
military screening team at a central holding area, then a
third review by a general officer designated by the com-
batant commander of Central Command, and then a
fourth review by an internal Department of Defense
18
review panel, including legal advisors and members of the
Joint Staff.”
Every internee transferred to Guantanamo is again
formally reassessed upon arrival, with another review by
the Southern Command and then by a panel of experts
from the Pentagon, including officials from the General
Counsel’s office and the Joint Staff. A recommendation is
made “whether the detainee should be released, trans-
ferred to the custody of a foreign government or continue
to be detained.”” The recommendation is next sent out to
an interagency experts group, including officials of the
Department of Justice, and then is sent up to the Secre-
tary of Defense or his designee for review.” Foreign gov-
ernments may also be asked for further information
concerning their citizens who were captured in the fight-
ing. Even after the completion of this administrative
review, it remains a prime objective throughout interviews
conducted for military intelligence purposes to revisit the
identity of the person, any aliases he may have used (one
internee had 13 aliases), and the nature of his martial
conduct in Afghanistan and elsewhere. The government
has also stated that it will revisit and re-determine status
whenever any doubt may newly arise in individual cases.”
* See Secretary Rumsfeld Remarks to Greater Miami Chamber
of Commerce, Feb. 13, 2004, transcript available at <http//www.
defenselink.mil/transcripts/2004/tr20040213-0445.html>, and Briefing
by Paul Butler, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for
Special Operations and Low Intensity Conflict, and Army Major
General Geoffrey D. Miller, Commander, Joint Task Force Guantanamo,
February 13, 2004, transcript available at <http://www.defenselink mil/
transcripts/2004/tr20040213-0443.html>.
* Butler Briefing, supra.
” Id.
* See Statement by State Department Spokesman Richard
Boucher, U.S. Department of State Press Briefing (Feb. 8, 2002),
available at <http://www.state.gov/r/pa/prs/dpb/2002/7918.htm>.
19
Of course, the screening process is more complicated
than in other wars. Al Qaeda and the Taliban do not issue
identity cards or dog tags, or assign military ranks. There
are no official rosters of membership, or records of their
deployments. Confirming the captive’s status may require
his interrogation (permissible under Geneva III), scrutiny
of intelligence sources (such as statements of other battle-
field detainees, captured documents, or records taken from
al Qaeda safe houses and training camps), and even more
sensitive sources such as the statements of senior al
Qaeda who have begun to cooperate with the United
States and its allies. As Secretary of Defense Rumsfeld
recently noted, “it takes time to check stories, to resolve
inconsistencies, or in some cases even to get the detainee
to provide any useful information to help resolve the
circumstance.””
To supplement the investigative processes and screen-
ing, the Secretary of Defense recently announced that he
will institute an additional set of safeguard procedures,
through administrative review panels.” These panels will
provide an independent review of each detainee at least
annually, to see whether he can appropriately be trans-
ferred or released. The inquiry will determine whether the
detainee “continues to pose a threat to the United States,”
but of course, any new information concerning his identity
or pre-capture conduct would be pertinent to that deter-
mination. The detainee will have the opportunity to
appear in person. His foreign government can submit
information pertinent to the review, including information
on his behalf. Some form of ombudsman, perhaps a lawyer,
will be made available “to help the detainee understand
what the process and procedures are.” The structure of
the independent panel, additional review of the panel’s
* See Rumsfeld Remarks, supra.
” Id.
20
determination, and methods of assuring that any leads
provided by the detainee are appropriately followed-up,
are issues presently under consideration.” It will be
guided by the commitment that the “United States has no
desire to hold enemy combatants any longer than is
absolutely necessary.”
This is a rigorous process, with administrative checks
and balances far exceeding the single military field-
screening used in many prior conflicts. Compare CUMULA-
TIVE DIGEST OF U.S. PRACTICE IN INTERNATIONAL Law,
1981-1988, at 3455 (Marian Nash Leich, ed. 1995) (“De-
termination of precise status is accomplished through
screening by the capturing or detaining unit commander;
in this case, the U.S. Army ground force commander.”).
This careful and continuous process provides the substan-
tive scrutiny contemplated by the Geneva III treaty.
Although the screening has not been called an “Article 5”
proceeding, in the language of Geneva III, it provides a
searching factual inquiry to protect any person who might
have been swept up in a conflict, while protecting the
" One or more amici have recommended to the Department of
Defense that the administrative review boards should be implemented
in a way that permits a hearing, once intelligence collection and
investigation is complete, at intervals that may be shorter than a year —
upon the request of a detainee and the proffer of any new and relevant
information. In addition, these amici have recommended that the
detainee should be given the assistance of a military lawyer or other
counselor where necessary to organize or present any information on
his behalf. It is a practical challenge to structure a review process,
because some information pertinent to a detainee’s alleged membership
in al Qaeda or the Taliban may derive from highly sensitive sources and
methods. The virtue of using a military review board is that it provides
the greatest chance of a workable accommodation between the compet-
ing claims of the detainee to careful fact-checking, and the public to the
protection of intelligence sources needed to thwart future attacks.
* Rumsfeld Remarks, supra.
- 21
public against the careless release of dangerous combat-
ants who will kill more innocent civilians.”
There are several misconceptions about the nature
and role of so-called Article 5 determinations under
Geneva III applicable to conventional wars and lawful
belligerency. First, there is no requirement that every
combatant detainee should have an Article 5
determination. Rather, in accordance with the treaty’s
language, Article 5 determinations are used only where,
after screening, the detaining power has a remaining
“doubt” about a person’s legal status. As British law of
war authority Colonel G.I.A.D. Draper has noted, “the
Detaining Power seems to be the sole arbiter, in good faith,
of whether a doubt occurs as to the status of the individual
concerned.” See G.I.A.D. Draper, supra, at 220-21 n.23.
The same conclusion is reached by Dr. Ameur Zemmali,
a Francophone scholar of Islamic law and modern
humanitarian law who currently serves as a legal advisor
to the International Committee of the Red Cross. Dr.
Zemmali has noted, “(t]he doubt envisaged by [Article 5] is
an element of which appreciation, subjective by nature, is
* Casual release of an al Qaeda combatant may be far more
dangerous than the release of a foot soldier in a traditional war, since al
Qaeda combatants have been schooled in methods of killing scores of
civilians, and have been taught that this is lawful conduct under the
fatwas of bin Laden. Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense Paul
Butler, who was formerly an Assistant United States Attorney in the
Southern District of New York and a prosecutor in the 1998 Embassy
Bombings trial, has noted that “[e]Jnemy combatants at Guantanamo
include not only rank-and-file jihadists who took up arms against the
United States, but also senior al Qaeda operatives and leaders, and
Taliban leaders.” Butler Briefing, supra. One example, Mr. Butler has
noted, is an “al Qaeda member who was plotting to attack oil tankers in
the Persian Gulf using explosive-laden fishing boats.” Jd.
22
left implicitly at least, to the detaining power. The point of
view of the adverse Party is not considered.”™
Second, Article 5 determinations are focused on legal
status, rather than a reconstruction of battlefield conduct.
Article 5 speaks of “any doubt ... as to whether persons,
having committed a belligerent act and having fallen into
the hands of the enemy, belong to any of the categories
enumerated in Article 4 [of Geneva III].” A typical question
concerning legal status would be a deserter from a mili-
tary unit. In contrast, in the case of the war in Afghani-
stan, the disqualification from lawful belligerency turns
upon the overall characteristics of the Taliban and al
Qaeda, not individual conduct. Such an overall determina-
tion is properly made by the Commander-in-Chief, not by
the varying opinions of field grade officers. The President,
as Commander-in-Chief, has found, inter alia, that al
Qaeda and Taliban fighters systematically failed to follow
the laws of war, and hence did not qualify for lawful
combatancy.
Third, Article 5 determinations are not assigned to
civilian courts or international tribunals, but rather are
made by the military. “No representative of the Protecting
Powers appears to have the right to be present,” notes
Colonel Draper, and there is “no definition of a ‘competent
tribunal.’” See G.LA.D. Draper, supra, at 220-21 n.23. A
“properly constituted tribunal” under Article 5 “need not
... be a court,” agrees Canadian authority L.C. Green,
who was a British war crimes prosecutor in World War
* See AMEUR ZEMMALI, COMBATTANTS ET PRISONNIERS DE GUERRE
EN DROIT ISLAMIQUE ET EN DROIT HUMANITAIRE (Editions Pedone, Paris
1996) (Ph.D. thesis, Faculty of Law, University of Geneva) (“Le ‘doute’
envisagé par [Article 5] est un élément dont |’appréciation, subjective
par nature, est laissée implicitement au moins, a la Puissance déten-
trice. Le point de vue de la Partie adverse n’est pas considéré.”). The
translation in the text above is rendered by counsel to amici.
23
Two.” Article 5 panels in U.S. practice typically consist of
three military officers. The proceedings are administrative
in nature, not civil or criminal, and, under established
U.S. practice, the combatant has no right to counsel.
Petitioners Al Odah, et al., offer the remarkable
suggestion that the Administrative Procedure Act forbids
the President from deciding how to implement the law of
war in light of the nature of the conflict, and in particular
suggest that it is “arbitrary and capricious” to supplement
the Department of Defense joint service rules used for
Article 5 determinations in a conventional war,” with
procedures better suited to an unconventional war.”
But this Court’s precedents make clear that the
President is not considered an “agency” regulated by the
APA. See Franklin v. Massachusetts, 505 U.S. 788, 800-01
(1992); Dalton v. Specter, 511 U.S. 462, 470-74 (1994).”
* L.C. Green, supra, at 190. See also Final Record of the Diplo-
matic Conference of Geneva of 1949, Vol. II-A, at p. 563: “In the opinion
of certain Delegations only a regular Court should be authorized to take
a decision in such cases. The majority of the Committee, in spite of its
sympathy with this point of view, was unable however to accept it.” Cf.
Marco SASSOLI AND ANTOINE A. BOUVIER, How Does LAW PROTECT IN
WAR? CASES, DOCUMENTS, AND TEACHING MATERIALS ON CONTEMPORARY
PRACTICE IN INTERNATIONAL HUMANITARIAN Law 783-84 (International
Committee of the Red Cross 1999) (asking students to consider whether
a screening center, such as the Combined Tactical Screening Centers in
Vietnam, would as such “satisfy Art. 5(2) of Convention III”).
“ See Enemy Prisoners of War, Retained Personnel, Civilian
Internees and Other Detainees, Army Regulation 190-8, OPNAVINST
3461.6, AFJI 31-304, and MCO 3461.1, at 1-6.
*” See Fawzi Khalid Abdullah Fahad Al Odah, et al. v. United
States, Nos. 03-334, 03-343 (Brief on the Merits) at pp. 5, 22 (Jan. 14,
2004).
* Petitioners “do not identify which ‘agency’ of the United States
they have in mind.” Al Odah v. United States, 321 F.3d 1134, 1149 (D.C.
Cir. 2003) (Randolph, J., concurring).
24
The capture and internment of enemy prisoners is also the
archetype of “military authority exercised in the field in
time of war,” and thus is expressly excluded by the APA
from judicial review. See 5 U.S.C. § 701(b)(1)(G); see also 5
U.S.C. § 551(1)(G). The rulemaking requirements of the
APA — which petitioners apparently would like to apply
to the implementation of the Geneva Convention and
international customary law — expressly do not apply to
“military or foreign affairs function|[s].” See 5 U.S.C.
§ 553(a)(1).”
Petitioners equally ignore this Court’s settled conclu-
sion in Johnson v. Eisentrager, 339 U.S. 763 (1950), that
the Geneva Conventions are not subject to direct enforce-
ment in the federal courts. As the Court noted, “[t]he
obvious scheme of the Agreement [is] that responsibility
for observance and enforcement of these rights is upon
political and military authorities.” Jd. at 789 n.14.
C. How Long Can Unlawful Combatants Be
Interned?
The Court’s intervention is also sought because some
detainees were captured more than two years ago. But
active hostilities still continue in Afghanistan, with Tali-
ban infiltration in the southeast, and al Qaeda continues
to target Americans and U.S. allies around the world. The
difficulty in stating when this war will end, of course, is
exacerbated because the principal adversary is a non-
state-entity. There is no government that can enter into a
peace agreement or order its soldiers to demobilize. In-
deed, Osama bin Laden has taught al Qaeda recruits that
continuing to wage a violent jihad against Americans,
Christians, Jews, and “apostate” Muslims is a religious
duty.
* There is a parallel exemption for the decisions of “military
commissions.” See 5 U.S.C. § 701(bX1XF) and (G).
25
Nonetheless, the law of armed conflict permits cap-
tured al Qaeda and Taliban members to be held until the
close of active hostilities, compare Geneva III, supra, art.
118, and it would make little sense to require the release
of combatants who openly boast that they will continue to
attack Americans whenever the opportunity arises. As
State Department Legal Adviser William Howard Taft IV
has noted, “All wars last too long. Releasing captured
combatants to return to the fight would make them last
longer.”
Moreover, the periodic administrative reviews of
status, instituted by the United States, will permit the
identification of individuals who are less likely to continue
the fight if released, and as the backbone of the al Qaeda
organization is broken, many more al Qaeda and Taliban
recruits may be willing to rethink their positions.
D. Trial of Unlawful Combatants in Military
Commissions
Claims that the Guantanamo detainees have been
consigned to a legal “black hole” are further undercut by
the President’s order of November 13, 2001, and the
implementing rules of March 2002, providing for the trial
of certain members of al Qaeda in military commissions.
These criminal prosecutions are distinct from the civil
internment of a combatant until the end of a conflict. The
President has a duty, as a commander, to enforce the law
of war, and it is a long-standing practice to try war crimes
in a military commission. This was the venue used for
criminal trial of enemy combatants in World War Two. The
Nuremberg Trials took place in a military tribunal, and
Geneva III Article 84 actually requires that the trials of
“ Taft, supra.
26
traditional prisoners of war must take place in military
tribunals, rather than civilian courts.
Congress has recognized and acknowledged the
President’s power to convene military commissions, in the
course of its revision of the code of military courts-martial
in 1920 (then called the “Articles of War”), in the passage
of the Uniform Code of Military Justice in 1950, and in the
passage of the 1996 War. Crimes Act.” Article 15 of the
1920 Articles of War stated that “[t]he provisions of these
articles conferring jurisdiction upon courts-martial shall
not be construed as depriving military commissions ... of
concurrent jurisdiction in respect of offenders or offenses
that by statute or by the law of war may be triable by such
commissions.” Articles of War, art. 15, in Pub. L. No. 242,
ch. 227, 41 Stat. 787, 790 (1920) (emphasis added). The
military commissions of World War Two were conducted
without any further specific legislative authority from the
Congress, though some observers have been misled on this
point by the use of the phrase “Articles of War” for the
general revision of the military criminal code in 1920.“
The language of Article 15 was carried forward into 10
U.S.C. § 821, as part of the 1950 Uniform Code of Military
Justice, and provides equally strong authority for the
commissions established by President Bush.
“ See generally, Ruth Wedgwood, Al Qaeda, Terrorism, and
Military Commissions, 96 AM. J. INT. L. 328 (2003).
© See Shafiq Rasul et al., v. Bush, et al., No. 03-334 (Brief on the
Merits), at 30-31 (Jan. 14, 2004); Kenneth Roth, The Law of War in the
War on Terror, FOREIGN AFFAIRS 7 (Jan.-Feb. 2004) (“[T]he government
in Quirin was operating under a specific grant of authority from
Congress ....”); Harold Koh, The Case Against Military Commissions,
96 Am. J. INT. L. 337, 340 & n.20 (2002) (“In Quirin, Congress .. . had
specifically authorized the use of military commissions in its Articles of
War.”).
27
The Secretary of Defense has published detailed rules
for the conduct of such trials, with careful procedural
protections, including proof beyond a reasonable doubt,
presumption of innocence, the defendant's right to cross-
examine witnesses, the right to call defense witnesses, the
right to production of exculpatory evidence, the right to
choice of military defense counsel, the right to retain
civilian counsel, and the right of appeal to an independent
appellate panel.” The trials will be open, except on occa-
sions when classified evidence must be presented, and
military defense counsel will be present whenever any
evidence is considered. The appellate panel has independ-
ent authority to reverse and remand a conviction for
serious errors of law in the conduct of the trial.“ Current
appellate panel appointments include a former U.S.
Attorney General, a former Cabinet officer, a state chief
justice, and a former state attorney general.
To be sure, the military tribunals’ rules permit the
consideration of a broader range of evidence than is
permitted in federal jury trials (namely, any evidence that
has “probative value to a reasonable person”), but that is
also the standard for admissibility used by European
courts and the United Nations war crimes tribunals. The
“ The procedural rules for commission trials are published on the
Internet. See Department of Defense Military Commission Order No. 1,
Procedures for Trials by Military Commissions of Certain Non-United
States Citizens in the War against Terrorism, Mar. 21, 2002, available at
<http://www.defenselink.mil/news/Mar2002/d20020321ord.pdf>.
“ In announcing the appellate rules, a senior de’ense department
official reaffirmed that, “(t]he opinions of the review panel, when the
review panel sends a case back down for further proceedings or for
dismissal of charges, those are binding.” See Department of Defense
Briefing, Dec. 30, 2003, available at <http//www defenselink.mil/
transcripts/2003/tr20031230-1081.html>. See also Department of
Defense Military Commission Instruction No. 9, Review of Military
Commission Proceedings, Dec. 26, 2003, available at <http://www.
defenselink mil/news/Jan2004/d20040 108milcominstno9.pdf>.
28
weight of the evidence must still satisfy the demanding
standard of proof beyond a reasonable doubt. With the
publication of carefully-drawn “Elements of Crimes,” and
the designation of a widely-respected Army Major-General
(Retired) as Appointing Authority, preparations for the
beginning of a trial process are complete. The time taken
in framing fair procedural rules will serve well,“ and
several battlefield detainees have been referred for possi-
ble prosecution, with the appointment of defense counsel.
Two prosecutions have now begun.” The vigor of the
defense that can be expected from military defense counsel
before the military commissions is shown by the amicus
brief filed by several of those defense counsel in the
instant case before this Court.
“ See Department of Defense Military Commission Instruction
No. 2, Crimes and Elements for Trials by Military Commission, Apr.
30, 2003, available at <http://www.defenselink.mil/news/May2003/
d20030430milcominstno2.pdf>.
“ See Ruth Wedgwood, Al Qaeda and American Self-Defense,
(Appendix) in SEPTEMBER 11, TERRORIST ATTACKS, AND U.S. FOREIGN
POLICY 176-78 (Demetrios James Caraley, ed., The Academy of Political
Science, 2002) (reprinting Joint Statement of Individual High-Level
Advisors to the Secretary of Defense).
The procedural rules are consistent with the standards for fair trial
set out in Geneva Convention IV, supra, arts. 72-75, and with Protocol I
Additional to the Geneva Conventions of Aug. 12, 1949, and Relating to
the Protection of Victims of International Armed Conflicts, Dec. 12,
1977, 1125 U.N.TS. 3, art. 75 (albeit the United States is not a party to
Protocol 1). It should be noted that military commissions are, in
principle, a venue in which any member of the armed forces can be
tried for war crimes, although the prevailing practice is to use courts-
martials. Cf Geneva III, supra, art. 102.
“ On February 24, 2004, Guantanamo detainees Ali Hamza Ahmed
Sulayman al Bahlul of Yemen and Ibrahim Ahmed Mahmoud a! Qosi of
Sudan were charged with conspiracy to commit war crimes. See Two
Guantanamo Detainees Charged, United States Department of Defense
News Release No. 122-04, Feb. 24, 2004, available at <http,//www.
defenselink mil/releases/2004/nr20040224-0363 html>.
V. Conclusion
The political branches inevitably play a central role in
shaping the content of international law — both in framing
the state practice that aids the evolution of customary
international law, and in the application of treaties in a
world where foreign adversaries may not respect the same
norms. The power of the Presidency to make battlefield
decisions is essential in protecting the United States
against an adaptable foe that has recruited and trained
young men to conduct a violent jihad against innocent
civilians. This power of the Commander-in-Chief includes
the traditional prerogative of restraining captured enemy
forces who would otherwise return to the fight.
As this Court recognized in Eisentrager, the Geneva
Conventions are not subject to direct enforcement in the
federal courts. “[T]he obvious scheme of the Agreement [is]
that responsibility for observance and enforcement of
these rights is upon political and military authorities.” 339
U.S. at 789 n.14. This sound judgment recognizes that the
primary engine of enforcement must remain the reciprocal
interest shared by all states in the humane conduct of war.
After careful consideration, the President concluded that
al Qaeda and the Taliban were unlawful combatants in
their fight to maintain control of Afghanistan, and this
was a reasonable judgment.
The American commitment to the decent treatment of
all persons in its custody remains a centerpiece of our
foreign policy, including in the war against terrorism. The
struggle against terrorism will be won in large part by our
devotion to the ideals of this country’s founding. But we
must also win on the battlefield. Even lawful foreign
enemy combatants are not entitled to use the courts of
their adversary in order to fight the war. It would be an
extraordinary extension of the judicial role for the courts
to create a roving supervisory jurisdiction over the conduct
30
of American foreign policy and military operations around
the globe. The President’s determination to abide by the
principles of Geneva gives no occasion for this Court to
revolutionize the reach of statutory habeas corpus.
For the foregoing reasons, this Court should affirm
the judgment of the Court of Appeals.
Respectfully submitted,
DaviD B. RIVKIN, JR. RUTH WEDGWOOD
Counsel of Record CHARLES FRIED
LEE A. CASEY Max KAMPELMAN
DARIN R. BARTRAM Counsel for Amici Curiae
BAKER & HOSTETLER LLP
1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 861-1731
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.