Supplemental Appendix — McConnell v. Federal Election Commission

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

7 )

No. 02-1674 et al.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

MITCH MCCONNELL et ai.,

Appellants,

V.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION et al.,

Appellees.

On Appeal From The United States

District Court For The District of Columbia

SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX

TO JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENTS

VOLUME I

FLOYD ABRAMS KENNETH W. STARR

SUSAN BUCKLEY Counsel of Record

BRIAN MARKLEY EDWARD W. WARREN

CAHILL GORDON & KANNON K. SHANMUGAM

REINDEL LLP KIRKLAND & ELLIS

80 Pine Street 655 Fifteenth Street, N.W.

New York, NY 10005 Washington, DC 20005

(212) 701-3000 (202) 879-5000

(additional counsel on inside cover)

—_—-

RECEIVED

June 2003

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON,

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

—_—_—_-- =~» er eee

KATHLEEN M. SULLIVAN

559 Nathan Abbott Way

Stanford, CA 94305

(650) 725-9875

JAN WITOLD BARAN

THOMAS W. KIRBY

LEE E. GOODMAN

WILEY, REIN & FIELDING LLP

1776 K Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 719-7000

VALLE SIMMS DUTCHER

L. LYNN HOGUE

SOUTHEASTERN LEGAL FOUNDATION, INC.

3340 Peachtree Road, N.E.

Suite 3515

Atlanta, GA 30326

(404) 365-8500

G. HUNTER BATES

1215 Cliffwood Drive

Goshen, KY 40026

(502) 473-7557

Counsel in No. 02-1674

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Volume I

Per Curiam Opinion...0..........-cccescsssesssssseescesseeeeeseeeeccccc... Isa

Opinion of Judge Henderson .............c-cccccecceeeooese-c..... 160sa

Volume II

Opinion of Judge Kollar-Kotelly..........cccccccesecceoeecesss. 479sa

Volume III

Opinion of Judge Kollar-Kotelly (continued) .............. 776sa

Volume IV

Opinion of Judge Leon eo... cecccccscecsscsssseeseeeeseecse.. 1082sa

FOS II sscccnccseninsevessevenniinvinsiinisiie tee 1381sa

a

——<—-—-- — .

lsa

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

[May 1, 2003]

No. 02-582 CKK,KLH,RJL, 02-581 CKK,KLH.RIL.

02-633 CKK,KLH,RJL, 02-751 CKK,KLH, RIL.

02-753 CKK,KLH,RJL, 02-754 CKK,KLH.RJL.

02-781 CKK,KLH,RJL, 02-874 CKK, KLH.RIL,

02-875 CKK,KLH,RJL, 02-877 CKK, KLH, RJL.

02-881 CKK, KLH, RJL

SENATOR MITCH MCCONNELL, et al..

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, ef al.,

Defendants.

NATIONAL RIFLE ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, ef al.,

Defendants.

EMILY ECHOLS, a minor child, by and through her next

friends, TIM AND WINDY ECHOLS, et ai..

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, et al..

Defendants.

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED STATES, et al..,

Plaintiffs,

e Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, et al..

Defendants.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF BROADCASTERS,

Plaintiff,

Ve

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, et ail.

Defendants.

2sa

AMERICAN FEDERATION OF LABOR AND CONGRESS OF

INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATIONS, e! al., 7

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, el al.,

Defendants.

CONGRESSMAN RON PAUL, ef al., ~

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, ef al.,

Defendants.

REPUBLICAN NATIONAL COMMITTEE, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, ef al.

Defendants.

CALIFORNIA DEMOCRATIC PARTY, ef al., -

Plaintiffs,

V.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, eé! al.,

Defendants.

VICTORIA JACKSON GRAY ADAMS, ef al., ;

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, ef al.,

Defendants.

REPRESENTATIVE BENNIE G. THOMPSON, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, ef al.,

Defendants.

3sa

MEMORANDUM OPINION

PER CURIAM '

Presently before this three-judge District Court are eleven

consolidated actions challenging as unconstitutional the

Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002, Pub. L. No. 107-

155, 116 Stat. 81 (2002) (“BCRA”) and seeking declaratory

and injunctive relief to prohibit its enforcement. The wide

range of legal challenges raised by this litigation are highly

complex, interrelated, and raise issues of fundamental

importance not only to the conduct and financing of federal

election campaigns but to the other rights involved that we

enjoy under the Constitution. Because of the complexity of

our positions, this per curiam opinion, by Judge Kollar-

Kotelly and Judge Leon, includes a schematic description of

the three-judge panel’s conclusions in regard to each of

BCRA’s challenged provisions and a chart as to the rulings

on each provision’s constitutionality. The per curiam opinion

also includes: (1) a brief history of campaign finance

regulation in the United States (pp. 16-42); (2) the legislative

history behind BCRA’s enactment (pp. 42-50); (3) a proce-

dural history of the litigation in this case (pp. 50-57); (4) a

description of the specific provisions in BCRA at issue in

these lawsuits (pp. 57-80); (5) certain Findings of Fact

relating to the identities of the parties and BCRA’s disclosure

provisions (pp. 80-106); and (6) conclusions of law relating to

claims of the Paul Plaintiffs and most of BCRA’s disclosure

provisions (pp. 106-170). The separate opinions of each judge

hearing this matter follow thereafter.

I. DESCRIPTION AND CHART OF THE

COURT’S RULINGS

In light of the number of provisions in BCRA being

challenged, the complexity of the issues presented by each

' Judge Henderson does not join this opinion.

4sa

challenge, and the variety of positions and voting combina-

tions taken by the three judges on this District Court, we set

forth a brief description and a chart, on a section by section

basis, of the various rulings

A. Title 1

Section 323(a) of BCRA bans national parties from

soliciting, receiving, directing, transferring, and spending

nonfederal funds (i.e., soft money). Judge Henderson strikes

this section down as unconstitutional in its entirety. Judge

Leon, for different reasons, files a concurrence, joining with

Judge Henderson, except with respect to the ban on national

parties from using (i.e., “directing,” “transferring,” and

“spending”) nonfederal funds (i.e., soft money) for “federal

election activity” of the type defined in Section

301(20)(A)(iii). As to that type of conduct, Judge Leon

upholds the constitutionality of Congress’s ban on the use of

nonfederal funds by national parties for Section 301(20)(A)

(iii) communications. Judge Kollar-Kotelly upholds Section

323 (a) in its entirety. Accordingly, Judge Leon’s decision

regarding Section 323(a) controls.

Section 323(b) prohibits state parties from using nonfederal

money for “federal election activities” as defined in Section

301(20)(A) of BCRA. Judge Henderson strikes these sections

down as unconstitutional in their entirety. Judge Leon, for

different reasons, joins Judge Henderson in a_ separate

concurrence, but only with respect to those party activities set

forth in Subsections (i), (ii), and (iv) of Section 301(20)(A).

As to Section 301(20)(A)(iii), Judge Leon upholds the

constitutionality of Congress’s prohibition on state and local

parties from spending nonfederal funds for communications

that promote, oppose, attack or support a specific federal

candidate. In a separate opinion, Judge Kollar Kotelly finds

Section 323(b) constitutional and concurs with Judge Leon’s

discussion of Section 301 (20)(A)(i1i).

Ssa

Section 323(d) prohibits national, state, and local parties

from soliciting funds for, or making donations, to § 501(c)

organizations that make expenditures, or disbursements, in

connection with federal elections, or to § 527 national

organizations. Judge Henderson strikes this section down as

unconstitutional in its entirety. Judge Leon, for different

reasons, joins in that conclusion in a separate concurrence.

Judge Kollar-Kotelly files a separate dissent in which she

finds the entire section constitutional.

Section 323(e) prohibits, but for certain enumerated

exceptions, federal officeholders and candidates from

soliciting, receiving, directing, transferring, or spending,

nonfederal money in connection with any local, state, or

federal election. Judge Henderson and Judge Kollar-Kotelly,

for different reasons, in separate opinions uphold the

constitutionality of this section in its entirety. Judge Leon

concurs with respect to the restriction on federal officeholders

and candidates receiving, directing, transferring or spending

any nonfederal funds in connection with any federal or state

election, but files a separate dissent with regard to any

prohibitions on a federal candidate, or officeholder, from

soliciting funds for the national parties.

Section 323(f) prohibits state officeholders and candidates

from using nonfederal funds for public communications that

refer to a clearly identified candidate for federal office and

that promote, oppose, attack, or support a candidate for this

office. Judge Leon upholds this section in its entirety. Judge

Kollar-Kotelly concurs with Judge Leon’s opinion. Judge

Henderson, dissents and finds the entire section

unconstitutional.

B. Title Il

Section 201 of BCRA sets forth a primary, and “backup”

definition, of an “electioneering communication” (i.e., so-

called “issue ads”). In addition, it sets forth certain disclosure

6sa

requirements for those who fund these electioneering

communications. Judge Henderson strikes down both the

primary and backup definition as unconstitutional. Judge

Leon, for different reasons, concurs in her judgment with

respect to the primary definition. Judge Kollar-Kotelly

dissents and upholds the primary definition as constitutional

as discussed in her separate opinion. With respect to the

backup definition, Judge Leon, who writes a separate opinion,

upholds its constitutionality with its final clause severed.

Judge Kollar-Kotelly, as expressed in her opinion, concurs in

that conclusion solely as an alternative to this Court's finding

that the primary definition is unconstitutional. Finally, with

regard to Section 201’s disclosure requirements, Judge

Kollar-Kotelly and Judge Leon, for the reasons set forth in

the per curiam opinion, uphold their constitutionality with

one exception. Judge Henderson strikes down the disclosures

requirements in a separate dissent.

Section 202 provides that disbursements by persons for

electioneering communications, or contracts to purchase the

same, that are coordinated with either a federal candidate or a

candidate committee, or a political party committee will be

treated as contributions to that candidate’s campaign or

political party committee. Judge Kollar-Kotelly and Judge

Leon, for the reasons set forth in the per curiam opinion, find

this section constitutional. Judge Henderson, in a separate

dissent concludes that this Section is unconstitutionally

overbroad.

Section 203 of Title II prohibits labor unions, corporations

and national banks from using money from their general

treasury to fund “electioneering communications,” as defined

by Section 201. Instead, under Section 203, such

communications must be paid from a separately segregated

fund (“SSF”). Section 203 also includes an exception from

the SSF requirement for certain nonprofit corporations (i.e.,

the “Snowe-Jeffords exception”). Judge Kollar-Kotelly

7sa

upholds this section as constitutional. Judge Leon joins Judge

Kollar-Kotelly’s opinion upholding the constitutionality of

this section as it applies to the backup definition in Section

201. Judge Henderson strikes down this Section as

unconstitutional in its entirety. Judge Kollar-Kotelly and

Judge Leon additionally uphold the disclosure and SSF

requirements as well as the Snowe- Jeffords exemption

provision for certain nonprofit corporations organized under

Sections 501(c)(4) and 527 of the Internal Revenue Code in

their respective opinions.

Section 204 (“The Wellstone Amendment”), in effect,

withdraws the Snowe- Jeffords exception of Section 203.

Judge Henderson strikes down Section 204 in its entirety.

Judge Leon concurs in her result as it applies to MCFL

exempt organizations only. As to nonprofit corporations that

do not qualify for the MCFL exemption, Judge Leon concurs

with Judge Kollar-Kotelly’s conclusion, but for different

reasons, in upholding Section 204 as it applies to non MCFL

organizations.

Section 212 provides certain reporting requirements for

independent expenditures. Judge Kollar-Kotelly and Judge

Leon, for the reasons set forth in the per curiam opinion,

conclude that challenge to this provision is not ripe for

review, and therefore hold that the Court does not have

jurisdiction to resolve the plaintiffs’ challenges at this time.

Judge Henderson dissents from this view and finds Section

212 unconstitutional in its entirety.

Section 213 requires national parties, in essence, to choose

between making coordinated expenditures under the Party

Expenditures Provision or unlimited independent

expenditures on behalf of their federal candidates. All three

judges concur that this section is unconstitutional. Judge

Henderson’s opinion includes a discussion of her separate

reasons. Judge Kollar-Kotelly concurs in Judge Leon’s

separate opinion on this section.

8sa

Section 214 addresses coordinated expenditures paid for by

persons other than party committees and candidate

committees. Section 214 repeals the current FEC regulations

on coordinated expenditures, and directs the FEC to

promulgate new regulations that do not require “an agreement

or formal collaboration to establish coordination.” Judge

Kollar-Kotelly and Judge Leon, for the reasons set forth in

the per curiam opinion, find that the plaintiffs” challenge

under Section 214(b) and Section 214(c) is nonjusticiable and

the Court therefore lacks jurisdiction to consider their

challenge. As to Sections 214(a) and 214(d), however, they

find those sections constitutional for the reasons set forth in

the per curiam opinion. Judge Henderson dissents, finding the

Section unconstitutional in its entirety.

C. Title Ill and V

Sections 304, 316, & 319, collectively known as the

“Millionaire Provisions,” allow opponents of self-financed

candidates, and in certain circumstances, to raise money in

larger increments and accept unlimited coordinated party

expenditures. All three judges conclude, for the reasons set

forth in Judge Henderson’s opinion, that this Court lacks

standing to entertain challenges to these provisions.

Section 305 denies a candidate the “lowest unit charge” for

broadcast advertisements on radio and television unless the

candidate promises not to refer to another candidate in his or

her advertisements. For the reasons set forth in Judge

Henderson's opinion, all three judges conclude that this Court

lacks standing to entertain the plaintiffs’ challenge at this

time.

As explained in Judge Henderson’s opinion, the Court

similarly finds that the plaintiffs do not have standing to

challenge Section 307, which increases and _ indexes

contribution limits.

9sa

Section 311 establishes certain disclosure requirements for

the sponsors of electioneering communications. Judge Kollar-

Kotelly and Judge Leon, for the reasons set forth in the per

curiam opinion, uphold this provision as constitutional. J udge

Henderson, dissents, and finds this section unconstitutional

for the reasons set forth in her opinion.

Section 318 prohibits donations by minors to federal

candidates, or to a committee of a political party. All three

judges agree that this section is unconstitutional. Each judge

writes a separate concurrence setting forth his/her reasoning

as to this section.

Section 504 requires broadcast licenses to collect and

disclose records of any request to purchase broadcast time for

communications that “is made by or on behalf of a legally

qualified candidate for public office” or that relates “to any

political matter of national importance,” including

communications relating to “a legally qualified candidate,”

“any election to federal office,” and “a national legislative

issue of public importance.” Judge Henderson finds this

section unconstitutional. Judge Leon and Judge Kollar-

Kotelly, concur in that result, but not in her reasoning. Judge

Kollar-Kotelly concurs in Judge Leon’s separate opinion on

this section.

|

Ilsa

salepipurs

UOJ] 25pne | aris uo SUONOLSas

UOSIOPUdH dspne A]JAOY-se]]oy aspne | puny [P1Ipajuou “MeEze

Spuny [esapoy —

“uou = JO UONRTDI0s

(spunj [P49pay | 1dd9x9) uo] =aspne Soepipury

“you JO uONRNDI}0s A[[210y-1e]]0y aspne | jesapay uo suonouisas

01 se Ajuo) uoay aspne UOSJOpUd}H aspne

Punj [es9pajuou x(a)yeze

suoneziursio }dwaxs

10sa

uos] a8pnr ~xP} UO SUONILISaI puny

UOSJOPUdH spn A|[0Y-se]}0y apn {| [e4apayuou (Pez E

a1qe1ousnfuoy /PuUOHNINsuooU jeuonninsuoy UOISIAQIG WY 4

(CADCUYCOCW OZ) LOE ((UDCY MOT) LOE Anan

01 se AjUo) UOT] dspnz | O1 se A[UO) UOT] aspnf | uonsaj9 = [ruapay,, jo

uosiapuay aspne uOnULpap (OT)LOE

A[[ANOY-1e][OY aspne

(SONIANOR

(AID (DCY MOT IOE 01

se AjUO) uoay] aspne

UOSJOPUDH{ Ispn¢

SOMMANIB (HCY MOT) LOE

01 se AjUO) UOT] adpne

A|[NOY-se]JOY adpne

———_-—_4

saiued jroo] pur aris

Aq. AMANDR = UoNDa}a

[PJOpoj,, UO suUONOLISaL

puny jesapajuou (q)¢ez¢

a

SOMIANIB (HDC Y OZ) LOE

JO} spunj |eiapayuou

Suisn 0 se idaoxa)

uod] Idpn¢r

UOSJOPUdH spne

SOTIATOP

(UDCY MOT) LOE 405 spuny

jeJopajuou =suisn— ot

se A[UO) uox] aspne

A[[AOY-se]JOY aspne

sound |

jPuOHRU UO SsUOIdUISaL

puny [Psopajuou s(eyeze

a/qelonsnfuoy

jPUOLIMNSUOIU

jeuonnNsuo >

UOISIAOId WYO |

S3u

NY S,UNOD ay yo ueYD

|2sa

13sa

uoa] dspne

A|[M1OY-se]]oOy adpne¢

UOSJOPUdH Ispne

saunyipusdxd paieuip

“4009 pur jUuapuadapul

UIIMIIG ADNOYD EI Z

uoy] s8pn¢r uaddx ron

- B) 1 ad

Aj[AOY-se]]oy spn UOSJOPUdSH spn¢ 7 pn me

Vs! "CIC

(sdnoi3 749W (sdnois 7.49W (, JUSWIpPUsWIY dUOIs

Ol se) uox]T aspnfe | -uoU oO} se) UOT] aBpne “119M,,) UONddoxa UOKR

UOSJOPUdSH ISpne

A[[NOY-sIe[JoY sSpne

-Z1Uk3IO WYOIduOU :pPQZ

UOSJOPUdH Ispne

(uonIUuap dnyorg

0) se) Uuoxy dspne

A[JNOY-sIe[]OY a3pne

suolun pur suone

-lodiod Aq , suonrdiunu

-WOd SULIZ9UONDII—,,

jo uonigiyoid —_:¢Qz

21qe1onsnfuon jPuOHNINsUuOsUy

jeuonninsuoy

UOISIAQd WYO

uosJapudsH sspn¢

uoa] sspne

AyJOY-se|]OY s9spne

suonng

-1U0d se | suOolRotUNU

-WOd SULIDDUONIII9,,

poeUuIpsood TO7

(AjuO (¢)

uondasqns) uoy] sspne

(A[uo (¢) UOINDasqns)

A|Ja1Oy-se]JOY adpne

uOSsJOpUd}{ WSpn¢

((¢) uoNdasqns

BULIDAIWS) UOX] ssdpne

((¢) UONDaSqns BULIDAaS)

A}Ja1OY-se\JOY sspne

_SUOHRITUNWIWOS

SULIZDUOIIIII9,,

JO dNsOy SIP 107

(uontuyap Asewud

01 se Ajuo) uoy] aspne

(suontuyap

dnyoeq pue Asewud)

uosJopuspy ospne

(AjuO UONIULJap

uoy] ds3apne

(uoniuiyap dn

-yorq “danewaiye oy) ul

‘pure uoniuyop Asewud)

A[[AOY-se|]OH Ispnf

dnyorq)

UONULJOp

_ UOHPOTUNWIWOS

SULIIDUOIIIII9,, “L0C

ajqeionsnfuon jeuoNMINsuOsUyA)

jpuonnnsuoy

UOISIADId YAO

1Ssa

l4sa

—~s

= >

nN » = =

— wae Es) Vv

So-rse = cs

So. = 5S av)

ZL “1 Fx Pz

£ g#-= 96 OS3c zesg

Sis 3 c= =

= “~Yv a?) = =x

5 os ovo Y ov VY

SitzeZé IS3S3E (S55

an Cc

a|§

ois

- |v

sic

= 5)

Z |=

S | &

2\ic

eis

~ i=

3

5+

mn —

= N

$s &

a\¥= 3

3 =~ —

5 a” c=

2|5 ~%F

= a =

Sie cw Ur

St ~~ OD

Elgz 3

O|S Sas 8

' > ee ¢

S-: z 6g¢-

= ro. ob

c E = a

Ss eE — S&éeE

= - & = & -

eis & a So asi 2 6

ro) c Y -— = 75 =

= \= a = a

= 19 Py) E= 2

2 is ZV a —c vs

eo - no)

4 3 . 3 38 ¢é

a. = cos s 3

Sc -z = =o

< —= «= ni = SF -=

a i.e Ss ° wz fvze

: +s= x= Ss cs

Vi-Z48 = — a

|= ano 8 om 3 here -

BCRA Constitutional | Unconstitutional | Nonjusticiable

Provision

307: Judge

increased Henderson

contribution Judge Kollar-

limits and Kotelly

indexing of Judge Leon

limits :

311: Judge Kollar- | Judge

identification | Kotelly Henderson

of sponsors Judge Leon

318: Judge

prohibition Henderson

of donations Judge Kollar-

by minors Kotelly

Judge Leon

504: Judge

disclosure of Henderson

broadcasting Judge Kollar-

records Kotelly

Judge Leon

Il. BACKGROUND

It is necessary to canvass the history of federal campaign

finance regulation in order to provide the appropriate context

for understanding the structure and practices of federal

campaign finance that Congress confronted when it enacted

BCRA. See United States v. VAW-CIO, 352 U.S. 567, 570

(1957) (“UAW"’) (“Appreciation of the circumstances that

begot this statute is necessary for its understanding, and

understanding of it is necessary for adjudication of the legal

16sa

problems before us.”). Following this overview, the ae

will move to a discussion of the legislation enacted by

Congress to resolve the perceived shortcomings of the se

BCRA campaign finance structure and a procedural history 0

the litigation in this case.

“4 The Framework of Federal €ampaign Finance

Regulation

One might be tempted to agree with Plaintiffs’ annnean

that the history of federal campaign finance mp is

“relatively short,” McConnell Br. at 9, if one were ae

it to the history of Western civilization. In the poignant a

Judge Kollar-Kotelly and Judge Leon, however, the vemigtd :

federal campaign finance regulation, having tts origins In the

Administration of President Theodore Roosevelt, is a long-

standing and recurring problem that has chalenged our

government for nearly half of the life of our Republic.

At the close of the nineteenth century, the concentration of

the nation’s wealth in the hands of a “small Portion of the

population” began to threaten the stability and integrity of =

political system. UAW, 352 U.S. at 570 (quoting 2 riageng

and Commager, The Growth of the American Republic al -

(4th ed. 1950)). At the time, the widely accepted view rn

that “aggregated capital unduly influenced politics, an - u-

ence not stopping short of corruption. Id. To that end, many

states began experimenting with disclosure laws requiring

candidates and their political committees to make public the

sources and amounts of contributions to their campaigns and

the amounts of their campaign expenditures. /d. at 570-571.

These laws proved to be largely futile. /d. at 571.

Concern with both the size and source of campaign a

relating to the 1904 presidential campaign — te

popular sentiment for federal action to purge nationa Pe a

of what was conceived to be the pernicious ae “ ig

money’ campaign contributions.” /d. at 571-72. President

17sa

Roosevelt’s presidential messages to Congress in both 1905

and 1906, strongly encouraged Congress to enact a law

prohibiting political contributions by corporations. 40 Cong.

Rec. 96 (1905); 41 Cong. Rec. 22 (1906). In response to these

concerns, Congress enacted the Tillman Act, Ch. 420. 34 Stat.

864, which prohibited corporations from making any

contribution in connection with any election for federal office

and which represented “the first concrete manifestation of a

continuing congressional concern for elections free from the

power of money.” UAW, 352 U.S. at 575 (internal quotation

marks and citation omitted). The Tillman Act demarcates the

beginning of the “modern era” of federal campaign finance

regulation and is the predecessor of the prohibition on

corporate and labor union contributions and expenditures in

connection with any federal election from their general

treasuries that appears in the Federal Election Campaign Act

(“FECA”). Buckley v. Valeo, 519 F.2d 821, 904 (D.C. Cir.

1975), aff'd in part, rev'd in part, 424 U.S. 1 (1976). The

“underlying philosophy” of the Tillman Act was “to sustain

the active, alert responsibility of the individual citizen in a

democracy for the wise conduct of government.” UAW, 352

U.S. at 575,

In 1909, Congress endeavored to broaden the Tillman Act

by including within the Act’s scope, state legislative races

and in-kind contributions. See id. While this effort ended in

failure, in 1910, Congress “translated popular demand for

further curbs upon the political power of wealth into a

> The ban on corporate and labor union contributions and expenditures

was eventually codified at 18 U.S.C. § 610, and later transferred to the

Federal Election Campaign Act, 2 U.S.C. 441b, when Congress _re-

evaluated the Act in the aftermath of the Supreme Court's decision in

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976). Federal Election Campaign Act

Amendments of 1976, P.L. 94-283, 90 Stat. 475. See also S. Rep. No.

677, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 2-3 (1976), reprinted in 1976 U.S.C.C.AN.

929, 930-31. .

18sa

publicity law that required committees operating to poor

the results of congressional elections in two or more pemnon

report all contributions and disbursements and to i enti y

contributors and recipients of substantial sums. poke.

Act of June 25, 1910, ch. 392, § § 5-6, 36 Stat. 822, nn

(disclosure required of all transactions greater than $

The 1910 law further directed the reporting of expenditures

exceeding $50, made independently of a political ee

for the purpose of influencing congressional elections dl :

than one State. Act of June 25, 1910, ch. 392, § § 7, =

824. In 1911, Congress further amended the 1910 rn

for the first time, included overall expenditure a ne

campaigns for the House ($5,000) and for the mae

($10,000). Buckley, 519 F.2d at 904-905 (citing Act 0 z .

19. 1911, ch. 33, § 2, 37 Stat. 26). Additionally, - ‘

provisions required all candidates for the Senate — ne

House of Representatives to make detailed ee

respect to their nominating and election campugys. -

352 U.S. at 576. Hence, candidate disclosures inclu oe

primary, convention, and other pre-nomination a ) :

Buckley, 519 F.2d at 905. The 1911 law also joan —"

candidates from promising employment for ay ew i

securing an individual's support. UAW, 352 a i:

(citing 37 Stat. 25). In 1918, Congress again amendec , ‘ wd

and added criminal penalties for offering anything of va ~~

influence voting. /d. (citing Act of Oct. 16, 1918, ch. 187,

Stat. 1013).

In the only instance of a criminal prosecution mane yo

Act, Truman Newberry was convicted in Michigan boc

violating the expenditure ceiling in his “ at

campaign for the United States Senate. ew “ y

conviction was overturned by the Supreme Court in -.

The Court invalidated the law insofar as it 4 to “en

primary elections. Newberry v. United States, = US. 2 :

258 (1921) (“We cannot conclude that authority 4 angen

party primaries or conventions for designating candidates was

- i Ae 2 aus

19sa

bestowed on Congress by the grant of power to regulate the

manner of holding elections.”). Four Justices of the Court

held that primaries were intra-party affairs not amenable to

congressional regulation under the Elections Clause. /d.

Justice Joseph McKenna, who provided the crucial fifth vote

for judgment, limited the reach of the decision to the facts by

concluding that the statute under consideration was enacted

prior to the Seventeenth Amendment and. therefore, left open

the question of whether that Amendment gave Congress

authority to regulate Senate primary elections. /d.

In 1925, in the wake of Newberry, Congress passed the

Federal Corrupt Practices Act of 1925, ch. 368, tit. III, 43

Stat. 1070, which was a comprehensive amalgamation of the

surviving provisions of the existing campaign finance laws.

UAW, 325 U.S. at 576. The Federal Corrupt Practices Act

strengthened the Tillman Act by broadening the definition of

contribution, extending the ban on corporate contributions to

Delegates and Resident Commissioners that were elected to

Congress, and punishing the recipient of any_ illegal

contribution in addition to the contributor. /d. at 577. The law

also generally broadened disclosure provisions. Buckley, 519

F.2d at 905.

The Supreme Court upheld the Federal Corrupt Practices

Act in the Burroughs case of 1934:

The power of Congress to protect the election of Presi-

dent and Vice President from corruption being clear, the

choice of means to that end presents a question primarily

addressed to the judgment of Congress. If it can be seen

that the means adopted are really calculated to attain the

end, the degree of their necessity, the extent to which

they conduce to the end, the closeness of the relationship

between the means adopted, and the end to be attained,

are matters for congressional determination alone. Con-

gress reached the conclusion that public disclosure of

political contributions, together with the names of con-

tributors and other details, would tend to prevent the

20sa

corrupt use of money to affect elections. The a oe

this conclusion reasonably cannot be denied. ony

this is added the requirement contained in secon 244,

that the treasurer’s statement shall include full a.

lars in respect of expenditures, It seems plain t =

statute as a whole is calculated to discourage the making

and use of contributions for purposes of corruption.

Burroughs v. United States, 290 U.S. 534, oe nati

(internal citation omitted). As is obvious from gerne ene

the Burroughs opinion provided Congress with eer

discretion to regulate federal elections including the financing

of campaigns. |

The next instance of congressional action in the _ .

campaign finance was in 1940 when Congress pg it :

Hatch Act, a law which placed restrictions on the po ou

activities of the civil service, by making it unlawful for any

political committee to receive contributions totaling —

than $3,000,000 or to make expenditures of more than that

amount in any calendar year. UAW, 352 U.S. at 577 ae

Act of July 19, 1940, ch. 640, 54 Stat. 767). The Hatch /

amendments also limited gifts to candidates or see

committees to $5,000 in any calendar year. Buckley, 519 F.2

at 905 (citing Act of July 19, 1940, ch. 640, 54 Stat. 767).

One year later, the Supreme Court again remenyy ws a

question it had squarely addressed in Mewnerry: he y

whether congressional power under the Elections C mane

extended to the pre-election period. United States v. og

313 U.S. 299 (1941). This time, the Count upheld si

congressional enactment holding that the at hs

Congress, given by {Article I, section al. bw as

authority to regulate primary elections when, as in ——

they are a step in the exercise by the people of on c ou :

representatives in Congress.” /d. at 317. The case Invo "i |

Louisiana Democratic primary for the House of angn-yarnd

tives, which history showed was the determinant of who

Dee ecietine Mee A ener em

2Isa

would win the general election. /d. at 314. The Supreme

Court in Classic disregarded Newberry because only four

Justices in Newberry had adopted the view that the Elections

Clause forbade congressional regulation of primary elections.

Consequently, as the issue had never “been prejudged by any

decision of [the Supreme] Court,” Classic overruled the

Newberry plurality. Id. at 317; see also id. at 325 n.& (“No

conclusion is to be drawn from the failure of the Hatch Act,

to enlarge § 19 by provisions specifically applicable to

primaries. Its failure to deal with the subject seems to be

attributable to constitutional doubts, stimulated by Newberry

v. United States, which are here resolved.”) (internal citations

omitted). Under Classic, Congress was given authority to

impose criminal penalties for activities of state officials

conducting a primary election for federal candidates under the

auspices of state law. See id. at 307.

Following the rise of organized labor during World War II,

in 1943, Congress passed the Smith-Connally Act which

included a section that extended the Federal Corrupt Practices

Act to organized labor. UAW, 352 U.S. at 578 (citing War

Labor Disputes Act (Smith-Connally Act), ch. 144, § 9, 57

Stat. 163, 167) (“Wartime strikes gave rise to fears of the new

concentration of power represented by the gains of trade

unionism. And so the belief grew that, just as the great

corporations had made huge political contributions to

influence governmental action or inaction, whether covi-

sciously or unconsciously, the powerful unions were pursuing

a similar course, and with the same untoward consequences

for the democratic process.”). Congressman Gerald Landis,

the author of this provision in the Smith-Connally Act

observed that “(t]he public was aroused by many rumors of

huge war chests being maintained by labor unions, of

enormous fees and dues being extorted from war workers. of

political contributions to parties and candidates which later

were held as clubs over the head of high Federal officials.”

Id. at 579 (quoting Hearings before a Subcommittee of the

d7sa

House Committee on Labor on H.R. 804 and H.R. 1483, 78th

Cong., Ist Sess. 1, 2, 4).

Despite the provision in the Smith-Connally Act nnens

the reins on political activity of labor unions, pn oalige

prompted to investigate “enormous financial out me y

some unions in connection with the 1944 national elections.

Id. The Senate’s Special Committee on Campaign Expent-

tures investigated and concluded that while there “_ bo

clear-cut violation of the Corrupt Practices Act, i id. : ,

(quoting S. Rep. No. 101, 79th Cong., Ist Sess. 23), the a

was being evaded by large scale spending by ta poring

expenditures (as opposed to contributions), ne = “we

explicitly prohibited by the Federal Corrupt Practices wo

Congress, it appears, considered a prohibition on — es

tions to be equally applicable to expenditures. Id. * 582

("The committee is firmly convinced, after a thorough a

of the provisions of the act, the legislative history 0 m0

same, and the debates on the said provisions when it was

pending before the House, that the acl was yng ba

prohibit such expenditures.””) (quoting H.R. Rep. 9 ae

79th Cong., 2d Sess. 40). In commenting on how this morn

tion threatened to eviscerate the Federal Corrupt mrp

Act, the House Committee studying this problem stated me

“(t]he intent and purpose of the provision of the act

‘A sampling of the extraordinary size of the expenditures by maw x

federal elections demonstrates that “One [labor organization | = a oo

have an annual budget for ‘educational’ work approximating . , gorse

and among other things regularly supplies over 500 radio onacind bros

‘briefs for broadcasters.” Another, with an annual budget of eo a a

for political ‘education,’ has distributed some hyasaypaane ceo

literature, including a quarter million copies of one ve 2 a8

representing an organized labor membership of 5,000,06 2 as on

$700,000 for its national organizations in union meranpesuel ue - ~

‘education’ in a few months, and a great deal more has seen ag “ "

same purpose and expended by its local ae me , 352 US.

at 580-81 (quoting H.R. Rep. No. 2093, 78th Cong.. 2d Sess. 3).

8k ee et ete =

ee ee ane

23sa

prohibiting any corporation or labor organization making any

contribution in connection with any election would be wholly

defeated if it were assumed that the term ‘making any

contribution’ related only to the donating of money directly to

a candida’e, and excluded the vast expenditures of money in

the activities herein shown to be engaged in extensively. Of

what avail would a law be to prohibit [directly] contributing

to a candidate and yet permit the expenditure of large sums in

his behalf?” /d. at 581 (quoting H.R. Rep. No. 2739, 79th

Cong., 2d Sess. 40).

Therefore, in order to prevent further “evasion” and to

“plug the existing loophole,” Congress “again acted to protect

the political process from what it deemed to be the corroding

effect of money employed in elections by aggregated power.”

fd. at 582 (internal quotation and citations omitted). Accord-

ingly, in 1947, Congress passed the Taft-Hartley Act of 1947,

ch. 120, 61 Stat. 136, which amended the Federal Corrupt

Practices Act “to proscribe any ‘expenditure’ as well as ‘any

contribution’ [and] to make permanent [its] application to

labor organizations” in addition to corporations. /d. at 582-83.

The Taft-Hartley Act implemented Classic by applying its

provisions to primary elections. Buckley, 519 F.2d at 906.

Following the Taft-Hartley Act, from the late 1940's

through the end of the 1950's, Congress sought unsuccess-

fully to amend the dollar expenditure limits to reflect more

“realistic” costs, but no action was taken. /d. In 1960. the

Senate passed a bill that strengthened reporting requirements

for candidates and political committees. adopted individual

contribution limits, rationalized current expenditure limits,

and placed ceilings on Presidential campaigns. /d. The bill,

however, died for lack of a companion in the House of

Representatives. /d. In 1962, President Kennedy's Commis-

sion on Campaign Costs recommended “tax incentives and

credits for small political contributions, realistic ceilings, and

Suspension of the equai time provision as to media debates.”

24sa

Id. In 1966, Congress passed a one dollar tax arenes to

provide public funding for Presidential general elections,

which was later repealed in 1967. /d.

Late in 1971, Congress reinstituted the tax form agp

to finance Presidential general elections and, in early oy

passed the Federal Elections Campaign Act of 1971, Pub. , ;

No. 92-255, 86 Stat. 3 (“FECA”), requiring disclosure ot al

contributions in excess of $100 and disclosure ot nena

tures by all candidates and political committees apenaing

more than $1000 per year. /d. The 1971 law also yer

provided corporations and unions with the ability to ommeag

and administer separate, segregated funds tor the prong -

making political contributions and expenditures. a ae

Local Union No. 562 v. United States, 407 U.S. 385,

410 (1972).

Despite passage of FECA, the “infinite my :

“eviscerate|] statutory limitations on contributions and

expenditures,” which amounted to “wholesale ecerage-sne

became a source of further congressional concem. Buc ey.

$19 F.2d at 837. Congress concluded that costs for federal

elections had increased at an “‘alarming rate. ~ se

H.R. Rep. No.93-1239, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 3 ( | (hiniadiota ,

Code Cong. & Admin. News 1974, p. 5587). gg -avadhnten

further troubled by the “interaction” between large-scale

campaign expenditures and a reliance “on large enna

from monied and special interests.” /d. In Buckley, it =

undisputed that “one percent of the people enrggeni ~s ,

percent of the dollars contributed i) federal nee “_

political parties and committees. Id. (citing | agree a

Findings of Fact). It was also undisputed that illegal pe “dl

tions to both parties were made in 1972 by Gulf Oil an ’

American Milk Producers, Inc., a large dairy conperative. Id.

at 838. Notably, the circuit court in Buckley concluded:

Large contributions are intended to, and do, gain access

to the elected official after the campaign for considera-

.

i]

:

4

2

.

:

.

25sa

tion of the contributor’s particular concerns. Senator

Mathias not only describes this but also the corollary,

that the feeling that big contributors gain special

treatment produces a reaction that the average American

has no significant role in the political process.

Id.; see also id. n.32 (“Congress found and the District Court

confirmed that such contributions were often made for the

purpose of furthering business or private interests by

facilitating access to government officials or influencing

governmental decisions, and that, conversely, elected officials

have tended to afford special treatment to large

contributors.”’) (citations omitted). Indeed, the lower Buckley

court documented the “lavish contributions by groups or

individuals with special interests to legislators from both

parties.” /d. at 840 n.37.

In 1974, in direct response to the 1972 elections which

were a “watershed for public confidence in the electoral

system,” id. at 840, and the “shock of its aftermath.” id. at

837, Congress enacted and President Gerald Ford signed the

sweeping FECA Amendments of 1974. /d. Broadly speaking,

the amendments imposed dollar limitations on contributions

by individuals and by political committees to candidates for

federal office, to political party committees, and to

independent political committees. 2 U.S.C. § 44]a(a). The

1974 amendments also imposed limits on expenditures that

individuals, candidates, political committees, and political

parties could spend to help federal candidates win elections.

Moreover, the law treated expenditures that were

“coordinated” with a candidate as contributions. 2 U.S.C.

441a(a)(7)(B)(i) (“[E]xpenditures made by any person in

cooperation, consultation, or concert, with, or at the request

Or suggestion of, a candidate, his authorized political

committees, or their agents, shall be considered to be a

contribution to such candidate.”). The amendments also

included a_ variety of recordkeeping and disclosure

requirements. See 2 U.S.C. § § 432-434. The Federal Election

26sa

Commission was also created by the amendments and ann

with monitoring and enforcing the campaign finance 9

See generally 2 U.S.C. § § 437¢e(b)C), 437d(a), 4378. Final J

the law, as amended, provided public funding primarily for

qualified presidential candidates and some pase funding tor

nominating conventions of major political parties.

The first day after the FECA amendments went into anes,

the law was challenged. Buckley, 519 F.2d al _. me

lengthy opinion, the United States Court of Appeals tor on

District of Columbia Circuit found all but one of ‘ e

provisions of FECA constitutional. /d. at 843-44 ——

down disclosure provision 2 U.S.C. § 4374). In 1976, the

Supreme Court affirmed in part and reversed in ape Ye

Circuit's ruling in its decision in Buckley v. Valeo, 424 all

(1976). Generally speaking, in examining FECA s rage

against the free speech and association provisions of the -

Amendment the Supreme Court found comes FEC . ;

contribution limitations, Buckley, 424 U.S. at 23-38, on

unconstitutional those provisions of FECA that impose

expenditure limitations, id. at 39-59. The eg to

expenditure dichotomy first developed im 0 “4 )

grounded in the Supreme Court's view that ) [a] ome on

serves as a general expression of support for the candi ors

and his views, but does not communicate ine aps gi

for the support.” /d. at 21 (observing that ‘[t}he quantity 0

communication by the contributor does not ncesans parenye

bly with the size of his contribution, since the expression “4

solely on the undifferentiated, symbolic act “ recta | :

Expenditure restrictions, on the other hand, ‘while neutra Y

to the ideas expressed, limit political expression at the core «

our electoral process and of the First Amendment freedoms.

/d. at 39 (internal quotation marks and citation omitted).

er

ee Poe

27sa

In Buckley, the Supreme Court upheld as well the general

disclosure provisions contained in FECA. /d. at 60-84.* The

Supreme Court likewise found constitutional the public

funding scheme for presidential candidates. /d. at 85-109.

Finally, the Supreme Court struck down the structure of the

FEC as it was constituted under FECA in violation of the

Appointments Clause of the Constitution. /d. at 109-143.

Hence, in the aftermath of Buckley, it was FECA’s

contribution restrictions that remained intact. while its

expenditure provisions were vitiated.” Under FECA. as it

emerged from Buckley, no “person”® was permitted to

contribute in excess of $1,000 to a candidate for federal

office, 2 U.S.C. § 441a(a)(1)(A): no person could contribute

to the political committees established and maintained by a

national political party, in any calendar year which, in the

aggregate, exceed $20,000, 2 U.S.C. § 441a(1)(B): and no

person could contribute to any other political committee in

any calendar year which, in the aggregate, exceed $5,000,2

U.S.C. § 441a(a(1)(C).” In addition, no multicandidate politi-

* The D.C. Circuit's decision striking down 2 U.S.C. § 437a was not

appealed to the Supreme Court. Buckley, 424 U.S. at 11 n.7.

: Following Buckley, there have been a number of important Supreme

Court opinions that have addressed application of Buckley in other

contexts. It is more appropriate to discuss these cases in the context of

each Judge's separate opinion.

“FECA defines “person” as “an individual, partnership, committee,

association, corporation, labor organization, or any other organization or

group of persons, but such term does not include the Federal Government

or any authority of the Federal Government.” 2 U.S.C. § 431(11).

” Under BCRA, these contribution limits have been raised. Persons can

now contribute $2,000 to candidates and $25,000 to national political

party committees. BCRA § § 307(a)(1), 307(a)(2); FECA § 315(ay(1): 2

U.S.C. § 441a(a)(1). Also under BCRA, C ongress has carved s*ste party

committees out of § 44 1a(a)(1)(C) and increased the contribution limit for

state party committees from $5,000 to $10,000. BCRA § 102; FECA §

315(ay1); 2 U.S.C. § 441a(a\1). Moreover, the contribution limits

28sa

cal committee could contribute in excess ot ee " a

candidate for federal office, 2 U.S.C. § 441aaX2KA); no

multicandidate political committee could contribute in —

of $15,000 to the political committees errs and

maintained by a national political party, - US.C . 5.

441a(a)(2)(B);and finally, no multicandidate ee

committee could contribute to any other political poner

in any calendar year which, in the aggregate, mn

$5,000, 2 U.S.C. § 441a(ay(2\C). In order to proven

evasion” of these limitations Buckley upheld the ame

$25,000 limitation on total contributions during y epapagel

year. Buckley, 424 U.S, at 38. As a result, under 2 U.S.C. S

441a(a)(3), no individual was permitted to make Pe oernee

aggregating more than $25,000 in any erry year. 2 _ 7

§ 441a(ay3)." In addition, under 2 U.S.C. § =

corporations and labor unions are prohibited from etd el

general treasury funds to “make a contribution or pen —_

in connection with any election to any political rene 2

U.S.C. § 441 b(a). In sum, the Supreme Court found that:

The overall effect of the Act's contribution ceilings is

merely to require candidates and political eagle to

raise funds from a greater number ot persons an to

compel people who would otherwise contribute —

greater than the statutory limits to expend such = s a

direct political expression, rather than to reduce the tota

amount of money potentially available to promote

political expression.

applicable to candidates and national party comaniem have _— re

to the consumer price index and will increase with inflation.

§ 307(d); FECA § 315(c); 2 U.S.C. § 44 late). hi

* BCRA has increased the aggregate limit on individual Papeete

from $25,000 per year to $95,000 per two-year election cycle, a“ he a

$37,500 may be contributed to candidates. BCRA § 307(b); FE

§ 315(ay(3); 2 U.S.C. § 441 a(ay(3).

we

29sa

Buckley, 424 U.S. at 21-22. Indeed, what emerged from

Buckley was a tightly focused regime whereby contributions

(and coordinated expenditures) to candidates and political

parties and committees were limited or even banned (in the

case of corporate and union treasury funds) and independent

political advocacy was left unimpeded.

Contribution is defined in FECA as including, “any gift,

subscription, loan, advance, or deposit of money or anything

of value made by any person for the purpose of influencing

any election for Federal office.” 2 U.S.C. § 431(8)(A)(i).

Since the adoption of FECA, it is clear that the

Commission has struggled with interpreting the phrase “for

the purpose of influencing any election for Federal office.”

2 U.S.C. § 431(8)(A)(i). In 1975, the FEC examined the case

of a local party committee that had established separate

accounts for federal funds and for corporate contributions

which were permitted under state law, but which were

prohibited by federal law for use in connection with federal

elections. In Advisory Opinion 1975-21, the Commission

determined that the appropriate course was to have the local

party allocate both its administrative expenses and its voter

registration drives between the two accounts. given that these

expenses had an impact on both state and federal elections.

FEC Advisory Op. 1975-21 (allocation based on the ratio of

“the total amount which the [local party] directly contributes

to and expends on behalf of Federal candidates, to . . . the

total of all direct contributions to and expenditures on behalf

of all candidates-Federal, State, and local”). The FEC slightly

reversed course, in Informational Letter 1976-72, where it

determined that voter registration efforts could not be paid

for from an account containing funds raised from corporate

and union general treasuries. FEC Informational Letter 1976-

72 (“Thus, even though the Illinois law apparently permits

corporate contributions for State elections, corporate/union

treasury funds may not be used to fund any portion

30sa

of a registration or get-out-the-vote drive conducted by a

political party.”). |

However, in its 1977 rulemakings implementing a.

the Commission permitted any political committee to make .

choice between creating a separate federal mee - its

federal election activities, or to establish a —— an

containing only funds subject to the federal mee epesi

limits to finance all of its activities with respect to both s :

and federal elections. 11 C.F.R. § 102.6(a)(2) (1977). To t .

extent that segregated accounts were created, the asetgy

were required to “allocate administrative go :

reasonable basis between their Federal and non- meg

accounts in proportion to the amount of funds engenes , =

Federal and non-Federal elections, or on another ose “

basis.” 11 C.F.R. § 106.1(e)(1977) (emphasis sao pial one

following year, the Commission essentially reversed od pe

advisory opinion and in Advisory | ayanen : ‘

determined that “the costs of [voter] registration - aged

the-vote drives” by a state party committee —_ ‘

allocated between” federal and nonfederal accounts in =

same manner as other general party expenditures yon .

Commission’s 1977 regulations. FEC Advisory Op. ste :

In Advisory Opinion 1979-17, the Commission repeeen ee e

conclusions reached in Advisory Opinion 1978-10 —_—

separate accounts to the national party preston a

Advisory Op. 1979-17 (“[Regulations] thus woul vainpd ;

RNC to establish and administer separate, engages a

accounts through an auxiliary organization of the yer

party which accounts could be used for the vere

disbursement of funds designated specifically and exc sg

to finance national party activity limited to influencing ; e

nomination or election of candidates for public office other

than elective ‘Federal office.”*) (citation omitted).

Accordingly, by the middle of 1979, the FEC permitted

national and state party committees to solicit and accept

i. OMe caine ee ee

i

31sa

donations outside of FECA’s source and amount limitations

(“nonfederal money”)” provided that these monies were

placed in separate accounts from the federal funds. In other

words, political committees were permitted to establish two

sets of accounts-one for federally- regulated money (federal

accounts) and one for non-federally regulated money

0

(nonfederal accounts). '

” There is a degree of skirmishing in the briefs over the appropriate

terminology for “nonfederal money.” Defendants use the phrase “soft

money.” Plaintiffs refer to “soft money” as “state-regulated” or

“nonfederal” money. The Court has, for the most part, adopted the

nomenclature “nonfederal” money because that is the term that the FEC

has used during the rulemaking process implementing BCRA, Prohibited

and Excessive Contributions: Non-Federal Funds or Soft Money, 67 Fed.

Reg. 49064 (July 29, 2002) (“Because the term ‘soft money’ is used by

different people to refer to a wide variety of funds under different

circumstances, the Commission is using the term ‘non-Federal funds’ in

the final rules rather than the term ‘soft money.”*), even though BCRA

uses the term “soft money,” BCRA § 10] (entitled “Soft money of

political parties”) (emphasis added) and even though on occasion the

Supreme Court has also used the phrase “soft money,” see, e.g., Colorado

Republican Federal Campaign Committee v. FEC (“Colorado I”), 518

U.S. 604, 616 (1996) (“Unregulated ‘soft money’ contributions may not

be used to influence a federal campaign, except when used in the limited,

party-building activities specifically designated in the statute.”), Despite

the references in the case law and the statute to the term “soft money,” for

the sake of clarity in an area of law that demands absolute precision, the

Court generally eschews the phraseology “hard money” or “soft money”

in favor of “federal funds” or “nonfederal funds.” Federal funds are those

monies regulated under FECA, as amended, and nonfederal funds are

those monies that may or may not be regulated under state law, but not

federal law.

In 1979 Congress again amended FECA to exempt two new sets of

activities from the definition of contribution and expenditure. First, state

and local party disbursements for campaign materials such as pins,

bumper stickers, and yard signs used in connection with volunteer

activities on behalf of the party’s nominees were exempted from FECA’s

contribution limits provided that the activity was paid for with federal

money. 2 U.S.C. § § 431(8)(B)(ix), 9(B)(viii). The second exemption

32sa

Essentially, the FEC’s opinions and rulemakings se

state and national party committees to pay for the easrmangete

portion of their administrative costs and voter nna

turnout programs with monies raised under relevant mings

(not FECA), even if those state laws: were in weet

contravention of FECA, such as permitting rerapeas

from corporate and labor union general treasury funds. ae ~

result, national and state parties began to raise so-called so ,

money,” which described these nonfederal funds, not ye

to FECA limits and restrictions, that were used to pay for

these administrative and generic voter drive expenses.

With these developments, nonfederal funds became an

increasingly important means of party financing. During the

1980 election, the RNC spent approximately $15 million in

nonfederal funds and the DNC spent roughly $4 aresnn

constituting 9% of the national parties total sponding. a

Expert Rep. at 12.'' In 1984, the national parties spent

collectively an estimated $21.6 million in nonfederal money,

which accounted for 5% of their total spending. /d. By 1988,

related to a state party's payment for “the costs of voter magus oe

{|GOTV] activities” conducted on behalf of the party S mage - =

2 USC. § § 431(8)B)(xi), (9)(B)Ux). This mmypen was =

conditioned on the use of federal money for the activity. reap for

of these activities unlimited federal money could be used to pay fort =

because they were exempted from the definition of gence ee

“expenditure.” For state and local parties that opted to use nonfede

funds to pay for these activities, allocation was still permitted. 7

'' As Defense Expert Mann plainly concedes, “Just what amount “ “

money activity the parties pursued in the 1980s is wen certain oamaetee

‘{njonfederal’ funds were not subject to federal wansngeeend a “0

only to the disclosure laws in states where soft money ago ase

Expert Report at 12. It was not until 1992 that the oa - c oo

official data on national parties use of nonfederal funds, so ” prc

pinpointing the amount of nonfederal funds spent by the national p a

before 1992 are estimates. Notably, Plaintiffs do not pene any 0 :

pre-1992 estimates (or any of the post-1992 data collected by the

Commission). Therefore, the Court relies on these statistics.

ee ee eee ae

To

33sa

national party nonfederal money had increased to an

approximate $45 million, or 11% of national party spending.

Id.

In 1990, the FEC promulgated regulations to provide for

some consistency in the methods used to determine the

relative portions of federal and nonfederal money to be used

in financing these generic party activities. Prior to 1990, the

regulations specified that the allocation ~fate hetween

nonfederal and federal accounts was to be done on a

“reasonable basis.” 11 C.F.R. § 106.1(e) (1977). The regula-

tions promulgated by the Commission were designed to give

certainty to this subjective standard and were in response to a

district court's decision which held that the allocation rules

required specific guidance from the Commission. Common

Cause v. FEC, 692 F. Supp. 1391, 1396 (D.D.C. 1987)

(“Indeed, it is possible that the Commission may conclude

that no method of allocation will effectuate the Congressional

goal that all monies spent by state political committees on

those activities permitted in the 1979 amendments be ‘hard

money’ under the FECA. That is an issue for the Commission

to resolve on remand.”).'* Under the new regulations,

national party committees (other than Senate and House

national party committees) were required to allocate at least

65% of their administrative and generic voter drive expenses

to their federal accounts in presidential election years

° The Court observes that Common Cause v. FEC demonstrates that as

early as 1984, before any official statistics on nonfederal funds were kept

by the Commission, there was concern over the influence of these monies

on federal elections. However, the Commission in 1984 determined that,

“Common Cause has not presented evidence of instances in which ‘soft

money’ has been used to influence federal elections sufficient to justify

the stringent rules proposed in its petition.” Common Cause, 692 F. Supp.

at 1393 (citing the Commission's April 17, 1986, Notice of Disposition).

'’ The Commission permitted, inter alia, the following expenses to be

allocated: administrative expenses, which included rent, utilities, office

supplies, and salaries, 11 C.F.R. § 106.5(a)(2)i) (1991 ), the direct costs of

34sa

and 60% in non-presidential election years. I] Cre.

§ § 106.5(b)(2)(i), (ii)(1991). Senate and House cig pe

were to allocate these expenses on the basis of the oH .

federal expenditures to total federal and ae we

disbursements made by the committee during the igo

federal election cycle. 11 C.F.R. § 106.5(c)(). For “—_ ie

local” parties, the allocation between the tedera’ Pp

nonfederal accounts for these expenses were guage cd

the proportion of federal offices to all grr a seth

general election ballot. 11 C.F.R. § an a * ;

Generally, the state parties’ allocation rate was substantially

lower than the national party allocation rate. Mann —

Rep. at 14. The new rules also mandated that the oon

party committees disclose the details of their nontede

accounts. 11 C.F.R. § § 104.8(€), (f) (1991) —

national parties to report for nonfederal and oma 0H

accounts the donating individual’s name, mailing a weve

occupation or type of business, and the date ot my an

amount of any such donation). State parties, ee ee

exempted from these disclosure requirements. i

§ 104.9%(a) (1991) (reporting committees required od iscle on

information pertaining to “the committee 's federal oo

only”). The Commission's regulations, therefore, ge

the national parties with an incentive to wae —

expenditures through state party ee se “

approach generally permitted more nonfederal do yore

spent than if a national party spent the money wi

disclosing the sources of the funds.

In 1992, spending on nonfederal money by the national

parties reached $80 million, or 16% of the national parties

a fundraising program or event, where federal and pene hr ~

, 106.5(a)(2)(ii) (1991); an

; - by one committee, 11 C.F.R. § , i)

nt aa drives.” which included voter identification, —

caiman and get-out-the-vote (“GOTV”) = np ig specific

candidate was not mentioned. 11 C.F.R. § 106.5(a)(2 liv) 1 ).

sone 8

om

DOSS atata nts oy end ents bn lave ve

——

35sa

total spending. Mann Expert Rep. at 15 (citing to official

figures from the FEC). Of that total amount. the national

parties contributed only $2 million directly to state and local

candidates. Mann Expert Rep. at 16. In addition. the two

national parties transferred over $15 million to state party

committees-two thirds of which was transferred to presiden-

tial election battleground states. /d. Along these lines, the

national parties expended $14 million in nonfederal funds for

“generic” party advertising, consisting predominantly of

television advertisements that did not mention candidates

names, but urged viewers to simply vote for a particular party

or stressed themes from the presidential campaigns. /d.

Although the Commission had only approved the use of

nonfederal funds by the national parties “for the exclusive

and limited purpose of influencing the nomination or election

of candidates for nonfederal office,” by 1992, with the new

allocation rules firmly in place, national parties were using

nonfederal money to impact federal elections as permitted by

the Commission. FEC Advisory Op. 1979-17.

With the 1996 election cycle, the national parties’ total

nonfederal funds spending reached $272 million, which was

30% of the national party committees’ total spending. Mann

Expert Rep. at 21. Starting in the Fall of 1995 and continuing

through 1996, Democratic party committees used soft money

to fund advertisements that either promoted President

William J. Clinton by name or criticized his opponent by

name, while avoiding words that expressly advocated either

candidate's election or defeat.'* /d. at 18. In May of 1996, the

‘The argument that such advertisements could be paid for with

nonfederal funds had its origins in Buckley. The Supreme Court in

Buckley, in an attempt to save from unconstitutional vagueness the

independent expenditure prohibitions, narrowed them to apply “only to

expenditures for communications that in express terms advocate the

election or defeat of a clearly identified candidate for federal office.”

Buckley, 424 U.S. at 44. In a footnote. the Buckley Court found that “(this

[narrowing] construction would restrict the application of § 608(e)(1) to

36sa

Republican National Committee announced its plans to spend

$20 million onan “issue advocacy” campaign. /d. at 20.

Although many of the advertisements featured the

presidential candidates, none of the costs of these advertise-

ments were charged as coordinated expenditures on behalf of

the candidate’s campaign, which would have subjected the

expenditure to FECA’s contribution limits. Instead, the

parties paid the full cost, with a mix of federal and nonfederal

funds as permitted by FEC allocation rules. Often the

advertisements were paid for by state party committees,

where the allocation rules permitted greater spending of soft

money. Mann Expert Report at 22 (noting over $115 million

was transferred from the national parties to the state party

committees). In fact, state party nonfederal funds for political

communication/advertising went from $2 million in 1992 to

communications containing express words of advocacy of election or

defeat, such as ‘vote for,’ ‘elect,’ ‘support,’ ‘cast your ballot for,’ ‘Smith

for Congress,” ‘vote against,’ ‘defeat,’ “reject.” Id. at 44 n.52. oan

though the Supreme Court narrowed the provision of the law, it wen

down the expenditure provision as unconstitutional as written and as

narrowed by the Court. /d. at 44.

It was based on this language that the national parties in 1995 and 1996

argued that as long as they ran advertisements that did not mention

“express words of advocacy of election or defeat,” they could use

nonfederal money to run advertisements that supported their presidential

candidate or attacked his opponent.

'’ The FEC had previously ruled that party committees could sponsor

issue advocacy advertisements that did not feature a federal candidate and

pay for these advertisements with a combination of federal and nontederal

dollars as permitted under the allocation regulations. FEC Advisory Op.

1995-25 (discussing that allocation rules were permissible to allocate

funding for “RNC plans to produce and air media advertisements on a

series of legislative proposals being considered by the U.S. Congress,

such as the balanced budget debate and welfare reform”). The national

parties used this advisory opinion as justification for their issue advocacy

campaigns featuring candidates for federal office and paid for with

nonfederal money.

A Nt

37sa

$65 million in 1996. /d. at 22; see also La Raja Expert Report

at 18. A similar strategy was also used by the parties to

Support their candidates for congressional office. Mann

Expert Report at 20. Following the 1996 election, the FEC

began a series of investigations over the parties’ 1996

election practices. Statement of Reasons of Commissioner

Scott E. Thomas for MURs 4553 and 4671, 4713, 4407 and

4544 at 2-5 [DEV 51]. In 2000, the FEC deadlocked over

whether there was reason to believe that the national parties

advertising program constituted an excessive in-kind

contribution to the presidential campaigns. /d. at 5.

The Senate and House also conducted extensive

investigations into the 1996 federal elections. Both the

majority and minority reports in the Senate investigation

concluded that permitting nonfederal donations to political

parties eviscerated FECA’s longstanding ability to prevent

corporate and labor union treasury funds from influencing

federal elections. Investigation of Illegal or Improper

Activities in Connection with 1996 Federal Election

Campaigns, S. Rep. No. 105-167 (6 vols.), Mar. 10, 1998.

(“Thompson Committee Report”); id. at 4468 (majority

report) (“[S]oft money spending by political party committees

eviscerates the ability of the FECA to limit the funds

contributed by individuals, corporations, or unions for the

defeat or benefit of specific candidates.”); id. at 4572

(minority report) (“The soft money loophole undermines the

campaign finance laws by enabling wealthy private interests

to channel enormous amounts of money into political

campaigns.”). In the House, the Committee on Government

Reform and Oversight conducted a wide ranging

investigation, which culminated in public hearings during

1997, into, inter alia, campaign fundraising by political

parties from foreign sources. See Campaign Finance

Investigation: Hearings Before the House Committee on

Government Reform and Oversight, 105th Cong. 6 (October

8, 1997) (statement of Chairman Dan Burton) (“This

38sa

Committee’s hearings will cover many subjects . . . . Our

initial focus has been how political parties took or raised

contributions from foreign sources. I am gravely concerned

about foreign governments, foreign companies or foreign

nationals trying to influence our electoral processes.”);

Conduit Payments to the Democratic National Committee:

Hearings Before the House Committee on Government

Reform and Oversight, 105th Cong. 6 (October 9, 1997)

(statement of Chairman Dan Burton) (“Today, marks the first

day of hearings into illegal foreign fundraising and other

violations of law during recent campaigns.’’).

Nevertheless, without any congressional action, nonfederal

funds emerged as a significant source of party resources.

With these strategies firmly in place, the national parties

spent $221 million of nonfederal money on the 1998 midterm

elections, or 34% of their total spending, which was more

than double the amount of nonfederal funds spent during the

previous midterm election. Mann Expert Report at 23. With

the 2000 elections, the national parties spent $498 million

worth of nonfederal funds,which was 42% of their total

spending. /d. at 24.

The use of nonfederal funds by the political parties was

paralleled to some degree by a similar development in the rise

of issue advocacy by corporations and labor unions. Aside

from the political parties making advertisements that

supported their candidates or attacked the opponent without

using words of direct “express advocacy,” unions and

corporations began to mount “issue advocacy” campaigns,

particularly beginning with the 1996 election, that were paid

directly from their general treasuries. For example, in 1996

the AFL-CIO ran the following advertisement from

September 26 to October 9 in the district of House

Republican incumbent Steve Stockman:

[Narrator] What’s important to America’s families?

[Middle-aged man] “My pension is very important

ae en ee

ee

39sa

because it will provide a significant amount of my

income when I retire.” [Narrator] And where do the

candidates stand? Congressman Steve Stockman voted

to make it easier for corporations to raid employee

pension funds. Nick Lampson opposes that plan. He

Supports new safeguards to protect employee pension

funds. When it comes to your pension, there is a

difference. Call and find out.

AFL-CIO 000593; [DEV 124] (emphasis added); see also

AFL-CIO 000602.

Advertisements such as the above illustration were

permitted by the Supreme Court’s ruling in FEC v. Massa-

chusetts Citizens for Life, Inc. In that case, the Supreme Court

found that the prohibition on corporate and union treasury

spending on expenditures found in 2 U.S.C. § 441(b) needed

to be narrowly construed to only apply to express advocacy.

FEC v. Massachusetts Citizens for Life, Inc., 479 U.S. 238,

249 (1986) (“MCFL’’) (“We therefore hold that an expendi-

ture must constitute ‘express advocacy’ in order to be subject

to the prohibition of § 441b.”). As a result, corporations and

labor unions were free to use general treasury funds to

finance issue advocacy campaigns. It does not appear that

prior to 1996, the practice of using issue advertising to

influence federal elections was a widespread practice.

In addition, the issue advocacy campaigns by corporations

and labor unions were. free from the disclosure provisions

upheld in Buckley because they were considered outside of

FECA’s regulatory purview. This lack of disclosure permitted

various interest groups to conceal the true identity of the

source behind the advertisement. Thus, following both the

1996 and 2000 elections, corporations and unions used their

general treasury funds to run advertisements apparently

aimed at influencing federal elections and avoiding FECA’s

longstanding disclosure provisions.

40sa

With regard to both political party spending of nonfederal

funds and political party, corporate, and labor union issue

advocacy, there does not appear to be any dispute among the

litigants to the fact that much of this behavior was not

regulated or was permitted by the FEC. Rather, the dispute

between the parties centers around the effect of engaging in

these tactics, whether the measures needed addressing, and

how Congress ultimately remedied what it perceived to be a

problem. It is the congressional response to which the Court

now turns.

B. The Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002

In response to what it perceived were burgeoning problems

with federal campaign finance laws, Congress began to

consider reform legislation over six years ago, during the

105th Congress.'® The overhaul of our Nation’s existing

campaign finance laws—culminating with the enactment of

BCRA—would consume the attention of three separate

Congresses '7 and require navigation through atypical

parliamentary procedures. .

During the 105th Congress, the House of Representatives

considered House Bill 2183, the Bipartisan Campaign Integ-

rity Act of 1997, offered by Representative Asa Hutchinson.

The bill was first considered on May 22, 1998. 144 Cong.

'° See Bipartisan Campaign Finance Reform Act of 1998, H.R. 2183,

105th Cong. (1998), available at http://thomas.loc.gov.

'’ See id.; Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 1999, H.R. 417, 106th

(1999); Bipartisan Campaign Finance Reform Act of 2002, H.R. 2356,

116 Stat. 81 (2002).

'* According to Congressional Quarterly reporter David Mark, the

House Leadership only allowed floor consideration of House Bill 2183

after it appeared that supporters of the bill had nearly secured the requisite

218 signatures on a discharge petition to automatically bring the bill to the

floor, which did not require the consent of the leadership. See David

Mark, Campaign Finance Discharge Petition Off to Fast Start,

Congressional Quarterly Daily Monitor (July 31, 2001).

4lisa

Rec. H3774 (daily ed. May 22, 1998). On August 3, 1998,

during consideration of Representative Hutchinson’s bill on

the House floor, the Committeé of the Whole '” adopted an

amendment in the nature of a substitute offered by

Representatives Christopher Shays and Martin Meehan.’ 144

Cong. Rec. H6947 (daily ed. Aug. 3, 1998). Finally, on

August 6, 1998, the House passed House Bill 2183, as

amended (the Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 1998), by

a vote of 252-179. 144 Cong. Rec. H7330 (daily ed. Aug. 6,

1998). The bill was referred to the Senate on September 9,

1998, 144 Cong. Rec. $10, 114 (daily ed. Sept. 9, 1998), but

was not considered prior to adjournment, sine die, on October

21, 1998. As a result, the Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of

1998 died in the Senate during the 105th Congress.

When considering most major legislation, the House of

Representatives typically adopts a rule, in the form of a House Resolution,

that governs, and generally limits, debate on the underlining bill. In order

to expedite consideration of the underlining bill, the rule suspends the

proceedings of the House of Representatives, and the body operates as one

large committee, the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the

Union (“Committee of the Whole”). Walter J. Oleszek, Congressional

Procedures and the Policy Process 151-53 (Sth ed., CQ Press 2001). This

parliamentary mechanism enables the House to act with a quorum less

than the requisite 218 members; only 100 members are needed to

constitute a quorum in the Committee of the Whole. /d. at 152. (There are

numerous other technical distinctions between the Committee of the

Whole and the House of Representatives that enable expeditious

consideration of legislation). /d. at 152-53. After the Committee of the

Whole considers the underlining legislation, generally, the rule governing

debate automatically dissolves the Committee of the Whole, and the

House of Representatives reconvenes to vote on the underlining bill for

final passage.

- Beyond making numerous substantive changes to the underling bill,

the Shays-Meehan substitute amendment changed the title of the bill from

the “Bipartisan Campaign Integrity Act of 1997,” 144 Cong. Rec. H3774

(daily ed. May 22, 1998), to the “Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of

1998,” 144 Cong. Rec. H4790-96 (daily ed. June 18, 1998).

° 42sa

On January 19, 1999, during the 106th Congress,

Representative Shays introduced House Bill 417, the

Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 1999, which attracted

the support of 96 original cosponsors. See H.R. 417, 106th

Cong. (1999). Upon introduction, the bill was referred to the

Committee on House Administration, where it received an

unfavorable report. H.R. Rept. 106-297, pt. 1, at 17 (1999).

Nonetheless, the proponents of campaign finance reform

secured floor consideration through the threat ofa discharge

petition. See David Mark, Campaign Finance Discharge

Petition Off to Fast Start, Congressional Quarterly Daily

Monitor (July 31, 2001). When the Bipartisan Campaign

Reform Act of 1999 reached the floor for a vote, it passed

comfortably, by a vote of 252-177. 145 Cong. Rec. H8286

(daily ed. Sept. 14, 1999). On September 16, 1999, the Senate

received House Bill 417, and on September 29, the Senate

referred it to the Senate Committee on Rules and

Administration, 145 Cong. Rec. $11,638 (daily ed. Sept. 29,

1999), where it would remain for the balance of the 106th

Congress. The Senate responded to the House's action by

considering Senate Bill 1593, also titled the Bipartisan

Campaign Reform Act of 1999, which was introduced on

September 16, 1999, by Senators McCain and Feingold,

shortly after House Bill 417 secured passage. S. 1593; see

also 145 Cong. Rec. H8286 (daily ed. Sept. 14, 1999). The

Senate, however, failed to invoke cloture,”’ thereby failing to

2! While debate on the Senate floor does not always lead to an all-out

filibuster, on conttoversial legislation, the Senate typically invokes cloture

to end the threat of unlimited debate or simply to gauge support for the

underlining bill. See Walter J. Oleszek, Congressional Procedures and the

Policy Process 231-34 (Sth ed., CQ Press 2001). Under Rule XXII of the

Standing Rules of the Senate, if “three-fifths of the Senators duly chosen

and sworn” (60 Senators if the Senate is at its full membership) vote in the

affirmative on a motion for cloture, further debate on the question shall be

limited to no more than one hour for each Senator, and the time for

consideration of the matter shall be limited to 30 additional hours, unless

~~.

EE ———CiCitCeencna

43sa

limit debate on two separate amendments to Senate Bill 1593,

and the bill floundered. 145 Cong. Rec. $12,800 (daily ed.

Oct. 19, 1999); id. at $12,803. As a result, for the second time

in as many years, the campaign finance reform bill died in the

Senate.

. Circumstances changed during the 107th Congress; this

time it was the Senate that acted first and passed campaign

finance reform legislation, Senate Bill 27,7 by a vote of 59-

41. 147 Cong. Rec. $3258 (daily ed. Apr. 2, 2001). The bill

was then transferred to the House of Representatives.

Representatives Shays and Meehan had already introduced

House Bill 380, the Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of

2001, when the Senate secured passage of Senate Bill 27. See

H.R. 380, 106th Cong. (1999). On June 28, 2001, in an effort

to make their legislation conform with the Senate-passed

bill, Representatives Shays and Meehan introduced new

legislation, House Bill 2356, also titled the Bipartisan

Campaign Reform Act of 2001. The House Leadership

which, through the Speaker of the House, controls access to

_—

increased by another three-fifths vote. See Standing Rules of the Senate,

Rule XXII, available at http:// rules.senate.gov/senaterules/rule22.htm.

2p:

Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 2

pm. of 2001, S. 27, 107th Cong.

*’ Raced with the fact that Senate Bill 27 was unlikely to garner the

support of a majority of the House, and given the fact that House Bill 380

differed from Senate Bill 27, Representatives Shays and Meehan met with

members of the Senate to work out a compromise bill. The agreement

they reached was reflected in House Bill 2356. See David Mark & John

Cochran, House Panel to Mark Up Dueling Campaign Finance Bills

Congressional Quarterly Daily Monitor (June 27, 2001) (“The revisions

are designed to encourage the Democratic-controlled Senate to accept a

House-passed bill, thus avoiding the need for a conference committee

We re trying to pre- conference with supporters of the bill, rather than

going to conference with opponents,’ Shays said.”).

44sa

the House floor,’ agreed to consider House Bill 2356.

However, in a last minute effort to tseak the legislation,

Representatives Shays and Meehan proposed several

amendments. John Cochran, Not Victory but Vitriol for

Campaign Finance Bill, Congressional Quarterly Weekly

(July 13, 2001). The package of amendments offered by

Shays and Meehan reflected the need for additional changes

to ensure that House Bill2356, if passed by the House, would

be considered without amendment by the Senate, thereby

eliminating the need for a conference committee.” See id. In

addition, Shays and Meehan requested that the Rules

Committee write a rule for consideration and debate on the

House floor that would treat this package as a single

amendment, which could be considered in one vote. /d. The

Rules Committee refused, drafting a resolution for

consideration and debate that would treat each change,

“* The Speaker of the House picks the 9 majority-party members that

serve on the powerful House Committee on Rules—the gateway to the

House floor. The Rules Committee writes the rules that govern debate and

determines which amendments will be considered. The committee

currently consists of 13 members, 9 majority-party members chosen by

the Speaker of the House and 4 minority-party members chosen by the

House Minority Leader. See Walter J. Olsezek, Congressional Procedures

and the Policy Process 119 (Sth ed., CQ Press 2001).

5 Members of a conference committee are formally appointed by the

Speaker of House and the presiding officer of the Senate. Walter J.

Oleszek, Congressional Procedures and the Policy Process 252-54 (Sth

ed., CQ Press 2001). In the House, after initial appointment, the Speaker

retains the authority to add and remove members. /d. at 254. Although the

House rules provide that the Speaker shall “appoint no less than a

majority [of conferees] who generally supported the House position [on

the legislation] as determined by the Speaker,” Rules of the House of

Representatives, 108th Cong. (2003) available at http://www. house.gov/

rules/house_rules.htm, in practice, the Speaker is vested with significant

discretion to ensure that the House delegates are amicable to the

leadership’s position. See Walter J. Oleszek, C ongressional Procedures

and the Policy Process 252-54 (Sth ed., CQ Press 2001).

: 45sa

fourteen in total, as separate amendments. /d.; see also

Res. 188, 107th Cong. (2001). Shays, Meehan, and “"

supporters opposed the rule, claiming that the House

Leadership used “technicalities” to defeat the bill, and called

upon their colleagues to reject the rule. 147 Cong. Rec

H3984 (daily ed. July 12, 2001) (statement of Rep. Meehan).

The House voted and the rule failed.”° In the aftermath

however, the bill’s proponents and the House Leadership

were unable to come to an agreement over a compromise rule

for the consideration and debate of House Bill 2356. John

Cochran, Not Victory but Vitriol for C ampaign F inance Bill

Congressional Quarterly Weekly (July 13, 2001), and the bill

was pulled from the House Floor.

On July 30, 2001, Representative Jim Turner filed a

discharge petition to bring House Bill 2356 to the floor for

consideration. H.R. Discharge Pet. No. 3, available at

http://clerkweb.house.gov/107/Irc/pd/Petitions/Dis3.htm. As

congressional procedure scholar Walter J. Oleszek noted:

[t]he discharge procedure, adopted in 1910, provides th:

if a bill has been before a standing smntien for hoy

legislative . .. days, any member can introduce a motion

to relieve the panel of the measure . . . . If the requisite

number of members (218) sign the petition, this

procedure permits a majority of the House to bring a bill

to the floor even if it is opposed by the committee that

has jurisdiction over the measure, the majority

leadership, and the Rules Committee.

Walter J. Oleszek, Congressional Procedures and the

Policy Process 138 (Sth ed., CQ Press 2001). While the

discharge petition permits a majority of the House to

circumvent a stacked committee or the House Leadership, it

26 ry

This marked the first occasion in which Speaker J. Dennis Hastert

lost a vote on a rule during his first two years as Speaker of the House.

Karen Foerstel, A Bitter Da ;

: 'y for the GOP, Co '

Weekly (July 13, 2001). Congressional Quarterly

46sa

has not been a highly effective tool for passing legislation, let

alone securing its enactment into law. As Walter Oleszek

went on to observe:

Few measures are discharged from committee. From

1931 through 1994 (approximately the period during

which the modern version of the rule has been in effect),

more than five hundred discharge petitions were filed,

but only forty-six attracted the required signatures

and only nineteen bills were discharged and passed by

the House. Of those, only two became law: the Fair

Labor Standards Act of 1938 and the Federal Pay Raise

Act of 1960.

Id. at 139. Despite this history of failure, on January 24, 2002,

Representative Turner’s petition attracted 218 signatures, the

requisite number to achieve discharge. See H.R. Discharge

Pet. No. 3. Consequently, the bill was sent to the floor and

scheduled for debate. See H.R. Res. 203, 107th Cong. (2001);

H.R. Res. 344, 107th Cong. (2002); 148 Cong. Rec. wane

(daily ed. Feb. 12, 2002). On February 13, 2002, the House

began to consider House Bill 2356. During consideration,

the House rejected three substitute amendments—one

offered by House Majority Leader Dick Armey and two

offered by House Administration Committee Comsman

Robert Ney **—before agreeing to Representative Shays

substitute amendment by a vote of 240-191, 148 Cong. Rec.

H411 (daily ed. Feb. 13, 2002). Like the earlier ements

package, the Shays Substitute was designed to avoid a

conference committee, where opponents would have

2” The Armey Substitute, Amendment 415, failed by a vote of 179-249.

148 Cong. Rec. H376-77 (daily ed. Feb. 13, 2002).

°* The first Ney Substitute, Amendment 416, failed by a vote of 53-

377. 148 Cong. Rec. H392 (daily ed. Feb. 13, 2002). The second Ney

Substitute, Amendment 430, failed by a vote of 181-248. /d. at H464-65.

;

|

’

:

:

47sa

another opportunity to scuttle the bill,” by making changes

likely to garner the support of a majority of the Senate

without forcing them to alter the text of the House-passed

bill. See 148 Congr. Rec. H402 (daily ed. Feb. 13, 2002)

(statement of Rep. Shays) (observing that the Shays substitute

amendment was drafted after having “met with Senators from

both sides of the aisle to learn what was needed in that bill in

order to pass [BCRA]"’).*’ After considering a series of

amendments to the newly amended, underlining bill (House

Bill 2356), the House passed BCRA by a vote of 240-189.

148 Cong. Rec. H465-66 (daily ed. Feb. 13, 2002). On March

20, 2002, the Senate followed suit, passing BCRA by a vote

of 60-40. 148 Cong. Rec. $2160-61 (daily ed. Mar. 20, 2002).

On March 27, 2002, President George W. Bush signed

BCRA into law; the first major overhaul of the Federal

Election Campaign Act since the 1974 Amendments and their

revision following Buckley. Broadly speaking, Title |

attempts to regulate political party use of nonfederal funds.

while Title II seeks to prohibit labor union and corporate

treasury funds from being used to run issue advertisements

that have an ostensible federal ciectioneering purpose.

C. Procedural History of the Litigation of this Case

On the morning of March 27, 2002, President Bush signed

BCRA into law. Within hours, Senator McConnell and the

” The process of going to conference creates three additional hurdles

to the enactment of legislation. First, the conferees must come to an

agreement, and in addition, the Conference Report must pass both the

House and the Senate. Moreover, the House and Senate Leadership

appoint members to the conference committee and enjoy considerable

discretion over its composition. See Walter J. Oleszek Congressional

Procedures and the Policy Process 252-54 (5th ed., CQ Press 2001); see

also supra note 25.

” The Shays Substitute, Amendment 417, also amended the title of the

bill to its present form: the “Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act (BCRA) of

2002.” 148 Cong. Rec. H393 (daily ed. Feb. 13, 2002).

48sa

National Rifle Association (“NRA”) filed complaints chal-

lenging the constitutionality of various provisions in BCRA.

On April 16, 2003, pursuant to Congress’s directive, BCRA

§ 403(a)(1),°' those cases were assigned to a district court of

three judges consisting of District Court Judge Colleen

Kollar-Kotelly, District Court Judge Richard J. Leon, and

Circuit Court Judge Karen LeCraft Henderson. A week later,

on April 23, 2002, the three-judge court held a status confer-

ence, in which it heard the parties’ proposals on consolida-

tion, intervention, discovery, and the filing of motions.

The primary issue confronting the Court at the status

conference was the scope of discovery required to develop a

satisfactory factual record. The defendants, in their pleading,

argued that “wide-raging discovery” was necessary “even in

the context of a facial challenge, . . . [in order to] look to

the record of the case for evidence substantiating the

governmental interests asserted in support of legislation said

to violate the First Amendment.” Def.’s Report in Response

to the Court’s Order of April 16, 2002, at 9 (quoting Turner

Broadcasting Sys. v. FCC, 512 U.S. 622, 664-68 (1994);

Colorado Republican Fed. Campaign Comm. v. FEC

(“Colorado I”), 518 U.S. 604, 618-19 (1996) (plurality

opinion)).° ? Mindful that the Supreme Court remanded a First

*' BCRA § 403(a)(1) states: “The action shall be filed in the United

States District Court for the District of Columbia and shall be heard by a

3-judge court convened pursuant to section 2284 of title 28, United States

Code.”

° The plaintiffs did not disagree that some discovery was necessary:

JUDGE KOLLAR-KOTELLY: So, as I understand it, then,

everybody wants to do depositions, everybody wants to do some

exchange of expert reports, and everybody wants to have some sort

of lay statement, affidavits or statements. Is that accurate? .. . If

somebody disagrees with that, let me know.

MR. ABRAMS: That’s entirely accurate from our point of view,

Your Honor.

49sa

Amendment case to a three-judge district court in Turner

Broadcasting to “permit the parties to develop a more

thorough factual record,” 512 U.S. at 668,** this Court agreed

with the defendants that extensive discovery was necessary“

to review the evidentiary grounds for BCRA, and in part, to

avoid the “disaster” of remand. Status Conference Tr., April

23, 2002, at 51 (statement of James Gilligan).*° Notwith-

Status Conference Tr., April 23, 2002, at 13; see also Status Report and

Proposed Schedule of Plaintiffs Senator Mitch McConnell et al., April 22,

2002 (stating that their proposed schedule “is designed to ensure that a

full record is compiled for submission to this Court, and ultimately to the

United States Supreme Court”).

** At issue in Turner was a constitutional challenge to the “must-

carry” provisions that required carriage of local broadcast stations on

cable systems. The Supreme Court remanded the case to the three-judge

district court, explaining that in order to assure that Congress drew

“reasonable inferences based on substantial evidence” that a harm truly

existed, the Court needed “substantial elaboration in the District Court of

the predictive or historical evidence upon which Congress relied, or the

introduction of some additional evidence.” Id. at 667 (emphasis added).

Because of the “paucity of evidence” and “lacking” of findings on the

effect of the regulations, the Court could also not undertake the narrow

tailoring step: “unless we know the extent to which the must-carry

provisions in fact interfere with protected speech, we cannot say whether

they suppress ‘substantially more speech . . . than necessary’ to ensure the

- viability of broadcast television.” Jd. at 667-68. What followed was

“another 18 months of factual development on remand” to the three-judge

panel, Turner Broadcasting Sys., Inc. v. FCC, 520 U.S. 180, 187 (1997)

(citation and internal quotations omitted), and, here, the defendants in this

case warned that “[t}he factual inquiry . . . could be on a scale similar to

that of Turner,’ Status Conference Tr., April 23, 2002, at 48 (statement of

James Gilligan).

“ This Court recognizes that “we've got to have an adequate factual

record.” Status Conference Tr., April 23, 2002, at 10 (statement of Judge

Henderson).

** In Colorado 1, the Supreme Court remanded the issue of whether

coordinated party expenditures are constitutional, Colorado 1, 518 U.S. at

623-26; see also 2 U.S.C. § 441a(d)(3), and the Tenth Circuit subse-

quently passed the case on to the district court, stating that

5Osa

standing Congress’s directive “to expedite to the greatest

possible extent the disposition of the action and appeal,

BCRA § 403(a)(4), it was also clear from the legislative re-

cord that Congress did not want this Court to “compromise

informed and deliberate judicial decision-making in the

process.” See Def.’s Report in Response to the Court's Order

of April 16, 2002, at 8. Indeed, Senator Feingold, one of

the principal Senate sponsors, explained during the

Senate debate:

Finally, and most importantly, | although [Section

403(a)(4)] provides for the expedition of these cases to

the greatest possible extent, we do not intend to suggest

that the courts should not take the time necessary to

develop the factual record . . . This case will be one e

the most important that the Court has heard in decades,

with ramifications for the future of our political system

for years to come. By expediting the case, we in no way

want to rush the Court into making its decision without

the benefit of a full and adequate record.

147 Cong. Rec. $3189 (March 30, 2001) (statement of Sen.

Feingold); see also id. at S3189-90 (statement of Sen. Dodd)

(supporting the expedition provision, but stating “I do not

[T]he issues are too important to be resolved in haste. It seems

inevitable that not only this court but the Supreme Court itself will

have to address these issues. We will both benefit by the parties

fleshing out the record with any evidence they and the district court

deem relevant to the issues’ resolution.

FEC y. Colorado Republican Fed. Campaign Comm., 96 F.3d 471, 473

(1996). The district court then allowed the parties to conduct discovery for

eleven and a half months, significantly longer than our total discovery

schedule for many issues of similar complexity. Status Conference Tr.,

April 23, 2002, at 63 (statement of James Gilligan); cf. F EC v.C magend

Republican Fec Campaign Comm., 41 F. Supp.2d 1197 (D.Co. 1999); see

also 213 F.3c 1221, 1225 (10th Cir. 2000) (stating that the parties

“compiled an extensive record”).

Slsa

want to suggest that the Court should not take adequate time

to review any such challenge”).*©

Accordingly, the next day, the Court issued a unanimous

order outlining a discovery and briefing schedule, which

allowed for over five months of discovery and almost an

additional month for cross-examination of fact and expert

witnesses; set May 7, 2002, as a deadline by which all other

actions would be filed; and decided that briefing was to take

place between November 4 and November 25, 2002. In a

highly unusual accommodation to Congress’s request for

expedition, the Court set oral arguments to begin on

December 4, 2002, just over a week after the parties

submitted their final briefs. See Scheduling Order of April 24,

2002. By May 10, 2002, 101 parties were involved in the

consolidated action, with the eighty-four plaintiffs

challenging twenty-three provisions of BCRA.’ After the

* Judge Henderson maintains that the Buckley case was handled with

much greater efficiency than the three-judge pane! here. Henderson Op. at

6 n.1. In Buckley v. Valeo, the lawsuit was filed on January 2, 1975, but a

decision was not issued by the D.C. Circuit until seven and a half months

later on August 15, 1975. Buckley, 519 F.2d at 821, 901. While this case

required thirteen months from filing to disposition, the parties also under-

took six months of discovery-at least four months of discovery and fact-

finding more than that undertaken in Buckley. Id. at 902-03. That four

months of discovery alone accounts for most of the discrepancy in the

two expedited, yet complicated, campaign finance cases. Moreover, given

the vast record developed through the six months of discovery in this case,

it is not surprising that this Court required a few more months than

the Buckley court to arrive at a decision after the arguments-for only

careful consideration of the record before us could reduce the risk of

committing clear error in our findings. See Easley v. Cromartie, 532 U.S.

234, 242 (2001).

” On May 10, 2002, the Court consolidated all cases that were not

consolidated on April 24, 2002, see Order, May 10, 2002: Order

Consolidating Cases, April 24, 2002, and also permitted Senator John

McCain, Senator Russell Feingold, Representative Christopher Shays,

Representative Martin Meehan, Senator Olympia Snowe, and Senator

52sa

Court dismissed seven plaintiffs from the suit without

prejudice, see infra note 55, seventy-seven plaintiffs and

seventeen defendants remained. See id. (listing all plaintiffs

and defendants).

During the discovery process, the parties filed a total of

twenty-three motions with the Court, including motions to

compel responses to document requests,. motions to compel

responses to interrogatories, and motions for protective

orders. At a hearing on. July 25, 2002, the Court heard

arguments as to many of the discovery disputes. Thereafter,

the Court resolved the disputes with memorandum opinions.

See, e.g., Order Denying Federal Election Commission's

Motion for Entry of Protective Orders, August’ 12, 2002;

Order Denying in Part and Granting in Part Plaintiffs’

Motions to Compel Interrogatory Responses, August 15,

2002; Order Denying Adams Plaintiffs’ Motion to Compel

Intervenors to Respond to Interrogatories and Produce

Documents, September 10, 2002.

On October 7, 2002, the Court ordered the parties to meet

and confer and to deliver a proposed format on the briefing

and proposed findings of fact. See Order, October 7, 2002. In

their joint response, the plaintiffs (absent the Adams and

Thompson plaintiffs) requested 751 pages, the Adams

Plaintiffs requested 115 pages, and the defendants requested

750 pages. See Joint Submission in Response to the Court's

Order of October 7, 2002. The Court ordered that the

plaintiffs, including the Adams and Paul plaintiffs, submit

three rounds of briefs not to exceed 840 pages and that the

defendants’ briefs submit three rounds of briefs (/.e., opening,

opposition, and reply) not to exceed 820 pages.» The Court

James Jeffords to intervene as defendants supporting the constitutionality

of BCRA, see Order, May 10, 2002.

* Each side was originally given an aggregate of 820 pages, however,

the Court, in an Order dated October 29, 2002, granted the Adams and

“a

Tore ©

53sa

also directed the plaintiffs collectively, and the defendants

collectively, to each submit proposed findings of fact of no

more than 300 pages. Briefing Order, October 15, 2002;

Order, October 19, 2002.

On November 25, 2002, a little over a week before oral

arguments were scheduled to begin, the parties filed their last

round of briefs, bringing the total briefing to 1,676 pages (not

including amicus curiae briefs). A day later, the parties

submitted 576 pages of proposed findings of fact. The eviden-

tiary submissions themselves included forty-one boxes (plus

thirteen additional binders), which, by a conservative estima-

tion, comprised the testimony and declarations of over 200

fact and expert witnesses and over 100,000 pages” of

material.“” With the record and pleadings before it, the Court

commenced oral arguments on December 4, 2002. The Court

heard six hours of arguments that day, and three hours of oral

Thompson Plaintiffs the ability to file their own independent briefing

which increased the aggregate page amount for Plaintiffs.

” See Joint Submission in Response to the Court’s Order of October 7,

2002.

“The record in this case was described by one advocate during the

oral argument as “elephantine.” Oral Argument Tr. at 152 (statement of

Floyd Abrams); see also id. at 279-80. We agree. Both sides should be

commended for their extraordinary efforts in gathering and organizing the

evidence in such a short period of time. We agree with Seth Waxman,

attorney for the Intervenor-Defendants, who urged us to carefully review

the record before us:

I think it’s very, very important for the court to look carefully at the

record... . We have worked, all of us on both sides of this case

have worked harder than I ever believed I could be made to work in

order to give you this record .. . . I think the ads itself and the

reports and affidavits that have been submitted I think are very, very

important. I know everybody feels that way.

Id. at 279-80 (statement of Seth Waxman).

54sa

arguments the following day, from a total of twenty-

four attorneys.”

D. Description of the Specific Provisions in BCRA At Issue

in These Lawsuits

The Court briefly next sets forth the provision of the law

that are at issue in the litigation.

1. Title I: Reduction of Special Interest Influence

a. The National Party Soft Money Ban: Section 323(a)

The first provision of Title I involves the addition of a new

section to FECA, section 323, entitled “Soft Money Of

Political Parties.” Section 323(a) states that national party

committees (including national congressional campaign

committees) “may not solicit, receive, or direct to another

person a contribution, donation, or transfer of funds or any

other thing of value, or spend any funds, that are not subject

to the limitations, prohibitions, and reporting requirements of

this Act.” BCRA § 101(a); FECA § 323(a)(1); 2 U.S.C.

§ 441i(a)(1). The law applies to “any . . . national committee,

any officer or agent acting on behalf of such a national

committee, and any entity that is directly or indirectly

established, financed, maintained, or controlled by such a

national committee.” BCRA § 101(a); FECA § 323(a)(2);

2 U.S.C. § 441i(a)(2). The clear import of this provision is

*' We disagree with Judge Henderson’s statement that “there was a

consensus [at the hearing] that the [Supreme] Court had to receive the

case no later than early February.” Henderson Op. at 6 n.1. A fair reading

of former Solicitor General Waxman’s colloquy with Judge Henderson,

prompted by her questions, in our judgment, would be that the Supreme

Court has the ability to adjust the briefing and oral argument schedule,

and has done so in the past, to hear cases exactly such as this one. In short,

neither former Solicitor General stated his conclusion in categorical

terms, and neither provided an estimate of how long after a hearing the

Supreme Court would need to issue its opinion. See generally Tr. at 18-

20; 277-280.

55sa

that national party committees are banned from any

involvement with nonfederal money.

b. The State and Local Party Soft Money Ban: Section

323(b) ,

In summary terms,-Section 323(b) provides, that subject to

certain exceptions, a State, district, or local committee of a

political party may not use nonfederal funds to pay for

“Federal election activity.” BCRA § 101(a); FECA § 323(b);

2 U.S.C. § 441i(b).

In general, section 323(b)(1) prohibits state and local

political parties from spending any money not raised in

accordance with FECA on “Federal election activity.” BCRA

§ 101(a); FECA § 323(b)(1); 2 U.S.C. § 441i(b)(1). Federal

election activity is defined by the Act as:

(i) voter registration activity during the period that

begins on the date that is 120 days before the date a

regularly scheduled Federal election is held and ends on

~ the date of the election; (ii) voter identification, get-out-

the-vote activity, or generic campaign activity conducted

in connection with an election in which a candidate for

Federal office appears on the ballot (regardless of

whether a candidate for State or local office also appears

on the ballot); (iii) a public communication that refers to

a clearly identified candidate for Federal office

(regardless of whether a candidate for State or local

office is also mentioned or identified) and that promotes

or supports a candidate for that office, or attacks or

opposes a candidate for that office (regardless of

whether the communication expressly advocates a vote

for or against a candidate); or (iv) services provided

during any month by an employee of a State, district, or

local committee of a political party who spends more

than 25 percent of that individual’s compensated” time

during that month on activities in connection with a

Federal election.

56sa

BCRA § 101(b); FECA § 301(20)(A); 2 U.S.C.

§ 431(20)(A). Federal election activity does not include:

(i) public communication that refers solely to a clearly

identified state or local candidate (unless the

communication otherwise qualifies as Federal election

activity, for instance, as GOTV); (ii) a contribution to a

state or local candidate (unless designated to pay for

some other kind of Federal election activity); (iii) a state

or local political convention; or (iv) grassroots campaign

materials (stickers, buttons, etc.) that name only a state

or local candidate.

BCRA §& 101(b); FECA § 301(20)(B); 2 U.S.C. § 431(20)(B).

1) The Levin Amendment

Section 323(b)(2)-commonly referred to as the “Levin

Amendment’’-carves out an exception to the general rule in

section 323(b)(1). BCRA § 101(a); FECA § 323(b)(2); 2

U.S.C. § 441i(b)(2). Section 323(b)(2) permits state and local

parties to use an allocation of nonfederal money (“Levin

money” or “Levin funds”) for voter registration, voter

identification, and GOTV activities provided that certain

specified conditions are met. First, the permitted activities

may not refer to a clearly identified federal candidate.

Second, those activities may not involve any broadcast

communication except one that refers solely to a clearly

identified state or local candidate. Third, no single donor may

donate more than $10,000 to a state or local party annually

for those activities. Finally, all money (federal and Levin

money alike) spent on such activities must be “homegrown”-

i.e., raised solely by the spending state or local party-and may

not be transferred from or raised in conjunction with any

national party committee, federal officeholder or candidate,

_or other state or local party. See BCRA § 101(a); FECA

§ § 323(b)(2)(B), 323(b)(2)(C); 2 U.S.C. § § 441i(b)(2)(B),

4411 (b)(2)(C).

57sa

_ ¢. Fundraising Costs: Section 323(c)

Section 323(c) requires national, state, and local parties to

use federally- regulated funds to raise any money that will be

used on “federal election activities,” as defined in the statute.

BCRA § 101(a); FECA § 323(c); 2 U.S.C. § 441i(c).

d. Tax Exempt Organization Soft Money Ban: Section

323(d)

Section 323(d) prohibits any political party committee-

national, state, or local-or its agents from “solicit[ing]’’ funds

for or “mak[ing] or direct [ing]’’ any donations to either: (i)

any tax-exempt section 501 organization, see 26 U.S.C.

§ S5O0l(c), that spends any money “in connection with an

election for Federal office (including expenditures or

disbursements for Federal election activity)”; or (ii) any

section 527 organization, see 26 U.S.C. § 527, (other than a

state or local party or the authorized campaign committee of a

candidate for state or local office). BCRA § 101(a); FECA

§ § 323(d)(1), 323(d)(2); 2 U.S.C. § § 441i(d)(1), 441i(d)(2).

A section 501(c) organization is an organization that is tax

exempt as described in that section of the tax code-a good

example of which is a charity. A section 527 organization is a

political committee that is exempt from taxation. See 26

U.S.C. § 527(a) (“A political organization shall be subject to

taxation under this subtitle only to the extent provided in this

section. A political organization shall be considered an

organization exempt from income taxes for the purpose of

any law which refers to organizations exempt from income

taxes.”); see also 26 U.S.C. § § 527(e)(1) and (2) (defining a

“political organization” as an organization that is “organized

and operated primarily for the purpose of directly or

indirectly accepting contributions or making expenditures, or

both, for . . . the function of influencing or attempting to

influence the selection, nomination, election, or appointment

of any individual to any Federal, State, or local public office

a

58sa

or office in a political organization, or the election of

Presidential or Vice- Presidential electors”).

e. Federal Officeholder and Candidate Soft Money

Ban: Section 323(e)

Section 323(e) generally prohibits federal officeholders and

candidates from soliciting, receiving, directing, «transferring,

or spending any soft money” (i) in connection with a federal

election or (ii) in connection with a state or local election.

BCRA § 101(a); FECA § 323(e)(1); 2 U.S.C. § 441(e)(1).

There are, however, several exceptions to the general

prohibition in section 323(e). First, a federal officeholder or

candidate may solicit money for state and local candidates

from sources and in amounts that would be allowed by

Federal law. BCRA § 101(a); FECA § § 323(e)(1)(B)(i),

323(e)(1)(B)(ii); 2 U.S.C. § § 441i(e)(1)(BYD, 441i)

(B)(ii). Second, the federal officeholder or candidate ban on

nonfederal funds does not apply to the solicitation, receipt, or

spending of funds by an individual who is also a candidate for _

state or local office solely in connection with such election.

BCRA § 101(a); FECA § 323(e)(2); 2 U.S.C. § 441i(e)(2).

Third, a federal officeholder or candidate may attend or speak

at a fundraising event for a state or local political party.

BCRA § 101(a); FECA § 323(e)(3); 2 U.S.C. § 441i(e)(3).

Fourth, a federal officeholder or candidate may solicit such

funds on behalf of any tax- exempt section 501 organization

that spends money in connection with federal elections in

“If the federal candidate or officeholder is soliciting, receiving,

directing, transferring, or spending funds in connection with an election

for federal office, the funds must “be subject to the limitations,

prohibitions, and reporting requirements of this Act.” 2 U.S.C. § 441(e)

(1)(A). However, if the candidate is doing so in connection with a state or

local election, then the funds must be “not in excess of the amounts

permitted with respect to contributions to candidates and political

committees” and “not from sources prohibited by the Act from making

contributions in connection with an election for Federal office.” 2 U.S.C.

§ 441(e)(1)(B).

59sa

either of two instances: (i) he or she may solicit unlimited

funds for a section 501 organization whose “principal

purpose” is not voter registration, voter identification, or

GOTV activity, so long as the solicitation does not specify

how the funds will be spent; and (ii) he or she may solicit up

to $20,000 per person per year specifically for voter

registration, voter identification, or GOTV activity, or for an

organization whose “principal purpose” is to conduct any or

all of those activities. See BCRA § 101(a); FECA § § 323(e)

(4); 2 U.S.C. § 441i(e)(4).

f. State Candidate Soft Money Ban: Section 323(f)

Lastly, Section 323(f) generally prohibits state office-

holders or candidates from spending soft money (that is,

money not raised pursuant to FECA’s regulations) on any

public communication that “refers” to a clearly identified

candidate for federal office and “promotes,” “supports,”

“attacks,” or “opposes” a candidate for that office. BCRA

§ 101(a); FECA § 323(f); 2 U.S.C. § 441i(f).

2. Title Il: Noncandidate Campaign Expenditures

a. Definition of Electioneering Communication:

Section 201 -

Section 201*° of BCRA amends section 304 of FECA by

adding the following definition of an “electioneering

communication”:

(i) The term “electioneering communication” means any

broadcast, cable, or satellite communication which—

(I) refers to a clearly identified candidate for Federal

office;

(II) is made within—

(aa) 60 days before a general, special, or runoff

election for the office sought by the candidate; or

** Section 201 also contains disclosure provisions which are

discussed infra.

60sa

(bb) 30 days before a primary or preference

election, or a convention or caucus of a political

party that has authority to nominate a candidate, for

the office sought by the candidate; and

(III) in the case of a communication which refers to a

candidate for an office other than President or Vice

President, is targeted to the relevant electorate.

BCRA § 201(a); FECA § 304(f)(3)(A); 2 U.S.C. § 434(f)

(3)(A).** Under this definition, in order to constitute an

electioneering communication, therefore, the communication

(a) must be disseminated by cable, broadcast, or satellite,

(b) must refer to a clearly identified Federal candidate, (c)

must be distributed within certain time periods before an

election, and (d) must be targeted to the relevant electorate.

Id. The fact that the communication must be “targeted to the

relevant electorate,” means that, in the case of House and

Senate races, the communication will not constitute an

“electioneering communication” unless 50,000 or more

individuals in the relevant congressional district or state that

the candidate for the House or Senate are seeking to represent

can receive the communication. BCRA § 201; FECA

§ 304(f)(3)(C); 2 U.S.C. § 434(f)(3)(C). For example, if a

broadcast advertisement refers to a federal House candidate

within 60 days of the general election, but can only be

received by 30,000 individuals, it is not an electioneering

communication and permissibly could be made with- funds

from the general treasury of a corporation or labor union.

“The regulations implementing this definition clarify that the

operative event for making an electioneering communication is the

“dissemination of the communication, rather than the disbursement of

funds related to creating a communication.” Electioneering Communica-

tions, 67 Fed. Reg. 65190, 65191 (Oct. 23, 2002).

61sa

In the event that a court of competent jurisdiction finds the

definition of electioneering communication to be constitution-

ally infirm, the statute provides a backup definition:

(ii) If clause (i) is held to be constitutionally insufficient

by final judicial decision to support the regulation

provided herein, then the term “electioneering commu-

nication” means any broadcast, cable, or satellite

communication which promotes or supports a candidate

for that office, or attacks or opposes a candidate for that

office (regardless of whether the communication ex-

pressly advocates a vote for or against a candidate)

and which also is suggestive of no plausible meaning

other than an exhortation to vote for or against a

specific candidate.

BCRA § 201(a); FECA § 304(f)(3)(A)(ii); 2 U.S.C.

§ 434(f)(3)(A)(ii). With the exception of the final clause, the

fallback definition essentially tracks the language found in

section 301(20)(A)(iii) of FECA which addresses one of the

four activities which fall within the definition of the term

Federal Election Activity. BCRA § 101(b); FECA § 301(20).

(A)(iii); 2 U.S.C. § 431 (20)(A)(iii).

b. Prohibition of Corporate and Labor Union General

Treasury Fund Disbursements for Electioneering

‘Communications: Section 203 Rules Relating to

Certain Targeted Electioneering Communications:

Section 204

Section 203 of BCRA extends the prohibition on corporate

and labor union general treasury funds being used in

connection with a federal election to cover electioneering

communications. BCRA § 203; FECA § 316(b)(2); 2 U.S.C.

§ 441b(b)(2) (“[T]he term ‘contribution or expenditure’

includes a contribution or expenditure, as those terms are

defined in [FECA], and also includes any direct or indirect

payment, distribution, loan, advance, deposit, or gift of

money, or any services, or anything of value . . . to any

62sa

candidate, campaign committee, or political party or organi-

zation, in connection with any election to any of the offices

referred to in-this section or for any applicable electioneering

communication.”’ (emphasis added). The prohibition on elec-

tioneering communications only applies to the general

treasury funds of national banks, corporations, and labor

unions, or any other person using funds donated by

these entities.

Like the original prohibition in section 441b, Section 203

of BCRA, is not an absolute ban on corporate and labor union

spending on “electioneering communication.” FECA ex-

pressly permits corporations and labor unions to create

“separate segregated fund[s] to be utilized for political

purposes.” 2 U.S.C. § 441b(b)(2)(C). These segregated funds

are known as political committees under the Act (or PACs). 2

U.S.C. § 431(4)(B) (A political committee is “any separate

segregated fund established under the provisions of section

441b(b) of this title.”). These segregated accounts are subject

to the source and amount limitations contained in FECA. See,

e.g., 2 U.S.C. § 441a(a)(1)(C) (providing that no person shall

make contributions “to any other political committee in any

calendar year which, in the aggregate, exceed $5,000"). To

fund the segregated account, a corporation is permitted to

solicit contributions from “its stockholders and their families

and its executive or administrative personne! and their

families.” 2 U.S.C. § 441b(b)(4)(A)(i).” Likewise, in estab-

lishing their segregated funds, labor unions are allowed to

solicit contributions to the fund from their members and their

families. 2 U.S.C. § 441b(b)(4)(A)(ii). From these accounts,

corporations and labor unions are permitted to make

contributions to federal candidates and spend unlimited

amounts of segregated funds on electioneering communica-

*° For membership organizations, cooperatives, or corporations without

capital stock, solicitations of the membership are permitted to fund the

segregated account. 2 U.S.C. § 441b(b)(4)(C).

63sa

tions and independent expenditures, provided that federal

funds are used to pay for these activities.

Snowe-Jeffords Provision

BCRA Section 203 provides an exception to certain types

of nonprofit corporations from the requirement that

corporations, labor unions, and national banks must use

separately segregated funds*°—and not general treasury funds

to pay for electioneering communications. However, this

exception, commonly known as the “Snowe-Jeffords

Provision” after its sponsors, was later, in effect, withdrawn

by Section 204, known as the “Wellstone Amendment,” see

infra at 69; compare BCRA § 203; FECA § 316(c)(2);

2 U.S.C. § 441b(c)(2) (Snowe-Jeffords Provision) with

BCRA § 204; FECA § 316(c)(6)(a); 2 U.S.C. § 441b(c)(6)(A)

(Wellstone Amendment).

The Snowe-Jeffords Provision permits nonprofit

organizations to use their general treasury funds to pay for

electioneering communications if they are incorporated under

Section 501(c)(4) and/or Section 527(e)(1) of the Internal

Revenue Code. This exception for nonprofit corporations is

“As discussed supra, FECA section 304(f)(2)(E) refers to a

segregated bank account made up of contributions for electioneering

communications from United States citizens, nationals, or permanent

residents where all the names and addresses of all contributors who

contribute an aggregate amount of $1,000 or more to the account is

disclosed. Also as discussed supra, FECA section 304(f)(2)(F) refers to

electioneering communications paid from a general treasury. If an

electioneering communication is paid for with general treasury funds

under section 304(f)(2)(F), then all contributors f more than $1,000 in a

calendar year have to disclose their name and address. Hence, under the

Snowe-Jeffords Provision, SOl(c)4) organizations and 527(e)(1)

organizations, who are permitted to make electioneering communications

with money contributed by individuals, must disclose the names and

addresses of those individuals who contributed the funds to pay for the

electioneering communication. BCRA § 203; FECA § 316(c)(2); 2 U.S.C.

§ 441 b(c)(2).

64sa

an expansion of the law as it existed prior to BCRA. While

FECA did not provide an exception from its separately

segregated fund requirement for nonprofit corporations, the

Supreme Court in FEC v. Massachusetts Citizens for Life,

Inc., 479 U.S. 238 (1986)(“MCFL’’) had provided an as-

applied exception for nonprofit corporations which satisfied

certain criteria set forth by the Suprerm:e Court.*’ Under

BCRA, it is not necessary that a nonprofit corporation

establish that it has met the three criteria of MCFL in order to

use its general treasury funds to pay for electioneering

communications; instead, it may do so under Snowe- Jeffords

simply by virtue of being incorporated under Sections

501(c)(4) or 527(e)(1).

While a nonprofit corporation under Snowe-Jeffords is

permitted to use general treasury funds for electioneering

communications, it is important to note that these

corporations are not permitted to use funds donated by a

corporation, labor union, or national bank to purchase them.

Under Snowe-Jeffords, a nonprofit corporation may only use

funds donated by individuals to pay for electioneering

communications. If a nonprofit corporation, for example, has

accepted corporate contributions and mixed _ those

contributions with general treasury funds that contained

individual donations, the nonprofit corporation would not be

permitted to use their general treasury funds to engage in

electioneering communications. -

Finally, although Snowe-Jeffords exempts nonprofit

corporations from the separately segregated fund require-

“That is, 1) whether the corporation is “formed for the express

purpose of promoting political ideas, and cannot engage in business

activities”; 2) “has no shareholders or other persons affiliated,” so that

members have “no economic disincentive for disassociating with it if they

disagree with its political activity; and 3) the corporation “was not

established by a business corporation,” and has a policy of refusing

“contributions from such entities.” MCFL at 264.

65sa

ment, they are not similarly exempted from the disclosure

requirements set forth in Section 201. Nonprofit corporations,

like any other entity engaging in electioneering communica-

tions, must make public the names and addresses of all

contributors who contributed over $1,000 to the account from

which the corporation paid for the communications.

The Wellstone Amendment

Despite drafting and including the Snowe-Jeffords’

provision in the Act, an amendment offered by Senator Paul

Wellstone and adopted by the Senate effectively eviscerates

the Snowe-Jeffords’ Provision from the Act. The “Wellstone

Amendment,” codified in section 204 of BCRA states that the

exemption created by the Snowe-Jeffords Provision for

section 50l(c)(4) corporations and section 527(e)(1)

corporations is inapplicable “in the case of a targeted

communication.” BCRA § 204; FECA § 316(c)(6)(A);

2 U.S.C. § 441b(c)(6)(A). The Wellstone Amendment

describes a “targeted communication” as “an electioneering

communication” that is “distributed from a television or radio

broadcast station or provider of cable or satellite television

service and, in the case of a communication which refers to a

candidate for an office other than President or Vice President,

is targeted to the relevant electorate.” BCRA § 204; FECA

§ 316(c)(6)(B); 2 U.S.C. § 441b(c)(6)(B). The direct conse-

quence of the Wellstone Amendment is that organizations

organized under section 501(c)(4) and section 527(e)(1) of

the Internal Revenue Code, or those entities who have re-

ceived funds from corporations, are not permitted to use their

general treasury funds for electioneering communications.

The Wellstone Amendment was codified in a separate

section of BCRA in order to preserve severability: hence, if

the Court finds the inclusion of section SOI(c)(4)

organizations and section 527 organizations within the ban on

electioneering communications to be unconstitutional, the

Wellstone Amendment can be cleanly struck from the law

66sa

and the original Snowe-Jeffords exception for these groups

will be restored. See BCRA § 401 (discussing that BCRA is

subject to severability).

* * *

To briefly summarize, section 201 provides two definitions

of “electioneering communication,” a primary one and a

backup definition in the event a court finds the main

definition unconstitutional. Section 203, in conjunction with

section 204, prohibits corporations and unions from using

general treasury funds to pay for an_ electioneering

communication, Corporations and unions need to establish

political action committees if they want to engage in

electioneering communication.

c. Disclosure of Electioneering Communications:

Section 201

Section 201 amends Section 304 of FECA, 2 U.S.C. § 434,

by requiring disclosures related to electioneering

communications. Section 201’s disclosure requirements

mandate the reporting of “disbursements” for the “direct costs

of producing and airing electioneering communications”

aggregating more than $10,000 during any calendar year.

BCRA 201(a); FECA § 304(f)(1); 2 U.S.C. § 434(N(1). The

reports must be made to the Commission within 24 hours of

each “disclosure date.” /d. The statute defines “disclosure

date” as the first time during the calendar year a person's

electioneering communication disbursements exceed $10,000,

and each subsequent aggregation of $10,000 in electioneering

communication disbursements made in the same calendar

year. BCRA § 201(a); FECA § 304(f)(4); 2 U.S.C.

§ 434(f)(4). “Disbursements” under Section 201 include

executed contracts to make disbursements for electioneering

67sa

communications. BCRA 201(a); FECA § 304(f)(5); 2 U.S.C.

§ 434(f)(5).""

The section requires the reports, made under penalty of

perjury, to include the following information:

* the identities of the person making the disbursement,

any person sharing or exercising direction or control

over that person, and the custodian of the books and

accounts of the person making the disbursement;

*the person's principal place of business, if not an

individual;

* the amount of each disbursement over $200 during the

statement’s period and the identity of the person who

received the disbursement;

* the elections to which the electioneering communica-

tions pertain and the names of the candidates identified

in the communications, if known;

*if the disbursements are made from a segregated

account funded solely by direct contributions by

individuals for the purpose of making electioneering

communication disbursements, the names and addresses

of all persons who contributed over $1,000 to the

account during the calendar year; and

¢ if the disbursements are made from a different source,

the names and addresses of all contributors to that source

who contributed over $1,000 during the calendar year.

BCRA 201(a); FECA § 304(f)(2); 2 U.S.C. § 434(f)(2).

“ The provision states, “For purposes of this subsection, a person shall

be treated as having made a disbursement if the person has executed a

contract to make the disbursement.” BCRA 201(a); FECA § 304(f)(5);

2 U.S.C. § 434(f)(5).

68sa

d. Coordinated Communications as Contributions:

Section 202

Section 202 of BCRA amends Section 315(a)(7) of FECA,

2 U.S.C. 441 a(a)(7) by adding the following language:

If—

(i) any person makes, or contracts to make, any

disbursement for any electioneering communication . . . ; and

(ii) such disbursement is coordinated with a candidate or arr

authorized committee of such candidate, a Federal, State, or

local political party or committee thereof, or an agent or

official of any such candidate, party, or committee;

such disbursement or contracting shall be treated as a

contribution to the candidate supported by the electioneering

communication or that candidate’s party and as an

expenditure by that candidate or that candidate’s party

BCRA § 202; FECA § 315(a)(7)(C); 2 U.S.C. § 441a(a)

(7)(C). Section 202 essentially makes clear the import of the

definitions of “electioneering communication” and “coordi-

nation” in Sections 201 and 214; coordinated electioneering

communications constitute contributions.

e. Reporting Requirements for Certain Independent

Expenditures: Section 212

Section 212 amends Section 304 of FECA (2 U.S.C. § 434)

by adding certain disclosure requirements for independent

expenditures.” The provision requires persons, including

* Section 211 defines “independent expenditure” as:

an expenditure by a person—

(A) expressly advocating the election or defeat of a clearly

identified candidate; and

(B) that is not made in concert or cooperation with or at the

request or suggestion of such candidate, the candidate s

69sa

political committees, to report independent expenditures, or

contracts to make such expenditures, aggregating $1,000 or

more after the twentieth day before the date of an election.”

BCRA § 212; FECA § 304(g)(1)(A); 2 U.S.C. § 434(g)

(1)(A). These reports must be made within 24 hours of

making the expenditure. or the contract to make the

expenditure. /d. Such reports must be supplemented within 24

hours of making additional expenditure contracts or

expenditures aggregating an additional $1,000 toward the

same election. BCRA § 212; FECA § 304(g)(1)(B); 2 U.S.C.

§ 434(g)(1)(B). For expenditure contracts or expenditures

made more than twenty days berore an election, persons must

also file reports but only after the expenditures aggregate to

$10,000 or more and they have 48 hours in which to file their

disclosure. BCRA § 212; FECA § 304(g)(2)(A); 2 U.S.C.

§ 434(g)(2)(A). These reports must also be supplemented

authorized political committee, or their agents, or a political

party committee or its agents.

BCRA § 211; FECA § 301; 2 U.S.C. § 431(17).

“ The reports must be filed with the FEC and must include “the name

of each candidate whom an expenditure is intended to support or oppose,”

BCRA § 212; FECA § 304; 2 U.S.C. § 434(g)(3)(B), as well as the name

and address of each

person who receives any disbursement during the reporting period

in an aggregate amount or value in excess of $200 within the

calendar year (or election cycle, in the case of an authorized

committee of a candidate for Federa! office), in connection with an

independent expenditure by the reporting committee, together with

the date, amount, and purpose of any such independent expenditure

and a statement which indicates whether such independent

expenditure is in support of, or in opposition to, a candidate, as well

as the name and office sought by such candidate, and a certification,

under penalty of perjury, whether such independent expenditure is

made in cooperation, consultation, or concert, with, or at the request

or suggestion of, any candidate or any authorized committee or

agent of such committee

2 U.S.C. § 434(b)(6)(B (iii).

70sa

whenever additional expenditure contracts or expenditures

aggregate an additional $10,000 toward the same election.

BCRA § 212; FECA § 304(g)(2)(B); 2 U.S.C. § 434(g)(2)(B).

f. Coordination with Candidates or Political Parties:

Section 214

The Supreme Court has found treating coordinated

expenditures as contributions constitutionally justifiable

under the rationale of preventing circumvention. Buckley, 424

U.S. at 47 (“[C]Jontribution ceilings . . . prevent attempts to

circumvent [FECA] through prearranged or coordinated

expenditures amounting to disguised contributions.”). Section

214 makes changes to FECA’s coordinated expenditure

regime.

Section 214(a) amends Section 315(a)(7)(B) of FECA, 2

U.S.C. § 441a(a)(7)(B), by adding the following provision:

(ii) expenditures made by any person (other than a

candidate or candidate’s authorized committee) in

cooperation, consultation, or concert with, or at the-

request or suggestion of, a national, State, or local

committee of a political party, shall be considered to be

contributions made to such party committee

BCRA § 214(a); FECA § 315(a)(7)(B)(ii); 2 U.S.C.

§ 441a(a)(7)(B)(ii). This language is virtually identical to that

in 2 U.S.C. § 441a(a\(7)(B)(i) *', passed in 1976 as an

amendment to FECA, which defines expenditures made in

coordination with candidates.”

71sa

Section 214 also repeals the FEC’s regulations “on

coordinated communications paid for by persons other than

candidates, authorized committees of candidates, and party

committees,” and requires the FEC to promulgate new

regulations. BCRA § 214(b), (c). Congress instructed that the

new regulations “shall not require agreement or formal

collaboration to establish coordination.” BCRA § 214(c);

2 U.S.C. § 441la note. Congress also instructed that the

regulations should address

(1) payments for the republication of campaign

materials;

(2) payments for the use of a common vendor;

(3) payments for communications directed or made by

persons who previously served as an employee of a

candidate or a political party; and

(4) payments for communications made by a person

after substantial discussion about the communication

with a candidate or a political party.

Id.

Lastly, Section 214 amends Section 316(b)(2) of FECA, 2

U.S.C. 441b(b)(2), to include within the meaning of

“contributions or expenditures by national — banks,

corporations, or labor organizations,” the definitions of

“contribution or expenditure” found in Section 301 of FECA,

2 U.S.C. § 431(8), (9). BCRA § 214(d).

‘' In FEC v. Colorado Republican Federal Campaign Comm., 533 U.S.

431 (2001) ("Colorado I), the Supreme Court considered the

applicability of Section 441a(a)(7)(B)(i) to political party expenditures.

Despite the fact that four Justices found the provision overbroad,

Colorado I, §33 U.S. at 467 (Thomas, J., dissenting), the majority found

that Section 441a(a)(7)(B)(i) applied to political party expenditures

coordinated with candidates, id at 465.

Or suggestion of, a candidate, his authorized political committees, or their

agents, shall be considered to be a contribution to such candidate”.

2 U.S.C. § 441a(ay(7)(B i).

* As presently codified, the provision states: “expenditures made by

any person in cooperation, consultation, or concert, with, or at the request

72sa

3. Title III: Miscellaneous

a. Use of Contributed Amount for Certain Purposes:

Section 301

Section 301 sets forth the permitted and prohibited uses of

contributions. For example, a candidate can transfer contribu-

tions to political parties but cannot convert contributions to

personal use. BCRA § 301; FECA § 313; 2 U.S.C. § 439a.

b. “The Millionaire Provisions”: Sections 304, 316,

& 319

In Sections 304, 316, and 319 of BCRA, Congress allowed

opponents of self-financed candidates to raise money in larger

increments and, in certain circumstances, to accept unlimited

coordinated party expenditures. Specifically, the provisions

state that if a self-financed candidate’s “opposition personal

fund amount” >? exceeds a threshold amount,” then the

candidate’s opponent can raise funds through increased

contribution limits. BCRA § 304(a); FECA § 315(i); 2 U.S.C.

§ 441a(i); BCRA § 319; FECA § 315A; 2 U.S.C. § 44la-l.

Moreover, if the opposition personal fund amount is ten times

the threshold amount in Senate races, or merely exceeds the

*’ The “opposition personal funds amount” is not simply the amount of

personal funds expended by a self-financed candidate. It also takes into

account the gross receipts advantage of both candidate’s authorized

committees so that incumbents with large war chests will not be able to

take advantage of the new law unless the self-financed candidate expends

an even greater amount of personal funds. BCRA § § 304(a)(ii); FECA

§ 315(i(1(D); 2 U.S.C. § 441a(i1(D); BCRA § 316; FECA

§ 315(i 1 (E); 2 U.S.C. § 441 a(i)(1)(E); see also BCRA § 319(a); FECA

§ 315A(a)(2); 2 U.S.C § 441a-1(a)(2).

“The threshold amount in Senate races is equal to the sum of

$150,000 plus $.04 multiplied by the voting age population in the

candidate’s state, BCRA § 304(a)(2); FECA § 315(i)(1)(B); 2 U.S.C.

§ 441a(i)(1)(B), while in House races the threshoid amount is simply

$350,000. BCRA § 319(a)(1); FECA § 315A(a)(1); 2 U.S.C. § 441a-

1(a)(1).

73sa

$350,000 threshold for House races, the self-financed

candidate’s opponent can also be exempted from limits on

coordinated party expenditures imposed by 2 U.S.C.

§ 441a(d). Any contributions or party expenditures under the

increased limits is capped to the amount spent by the self-

financed candidate: the enhanced contributions cannot exceed

110% and 100% of the opposition personal funds amount for

Senate and House races respectively.

c. Lowest Unit Charged: Section 305

In the 1972 FECA legislation, Congress added the “lowest

unit charge” provision to the Communications Act of 1934.

The provision states that, for forty-five days before a primary

or sixty days before a general election, the broadcast stations

have to sell a qualified candidate the “lowest unit charge of

the station for the same class and amount of time for the same

period.” 47 U.S.C. 315(b)(1). BCRA Section 305, however,

denies a candidate the lowest unit charge for broadcast

advertisements on radio and television unless the candidate

“provides written certification to the broadcast station that the

candidate (and any authorized committee of the candidate)

shall not make any direct reference to another candidate for

the same office” in any broadcast. BCRA § 305; FECA

§ 315(b); 47 U.S.C. § 315(b). The candidate can be exempted

from this provision, and thus be eligible for the lowest unit

charge without such a promise, if the candidate clearly

identifies himself at the end of the broadcast and states that he

approves of the broadcast. In a television broadcast, this

message must include the candidate’s image for at least four

seconds. /d.

d. Increased Limits for Contributions and Indexing of

Limits: Section 307

Section 307(a)(1) increases the amount individuals can

contribute to candidates per election from $1000 to $2000.

BCRA § 307(a)(1); FECA § 315(a)(1)(A); 2 U.S.C. § 441a(a)

74sa

(1)(A). It also changes the aggregate amount of contributions

a donor can give to candidates and political committees

(including parties) from $25,000 in a calendar year to

$37,500 in a two-year period to candidates and $57,500 in a

two-year period to political committees. BCRA § 307(b);

FECA § 315(a)(3)(A); 2 U.S.C. § 441a(3)(A). Congress also

increased the limits to a national party committee by $5,000

and doubled the amount of money individuals can donate to a

state party committee, so that individuals may now contribute

no more than $25,000 per calendar year to a national party

committee, no more than $10,000 per calendar year to a state

committee, and no more than $5,000 per calendar year to a

local committee. BCRA § § 102, 307(a)(2); FECA § 315(a)

(1)(B), (D); 2 U.S.C. 441a(a)(1)(B), 441 a(ay(1(C), 44 1a(a)

(1)(D). Finally, Congress also indexed all contributions for

inflation, except for limits on contributions to state and local

party committees. BCRA § 307(d); 2 U.S.C. § 44 1a(c).

e. Identification of Sponsors: Section 311 —

Section 311 requires that “whenever any person . . . makes

a disbursement for an electioneering communication,” the

communication, if it was authorized by a candidate or the

candidate’s political committee, must clearly identify the

candidate or the candidate’s political committee. If the

communication was not authorized by the candidate or the

candidate’s political committee, then the communication

“shall clearly state the name and permanent street address,

telephone number, or World Wide Web address of the person

who paid for the communication and state that the

communication is not authorized by any candidate or

candidate’s committee.” BCRA § 311; FECA § 318(a)(3);

2 U.S.C. § 441d(a)(3).

f. Prohibition of Donations by Minors: Section 318

In Section 318, Congress prohibited minors, defined as any

children under eighteen years of age, from making donations,

75sa

regardless of the amount, to candidates or politi ies

, political parties.

BCRA § 318; FECA § 324; 2 U.S.C. § 441k. P

4. Title V: Additional Disclosure Provisions

a. = Access to Broadcasting Records: Section

In Section 504, Congress requires broadcast licensees to

collect and disclose records of any “request to purchase

broadcast time” that “is made by or on behalf of a legally

qualified candidate for public office” or that relates “to any

political matter of national importance,” including

communications relating to “a legally qualified candidate,”

“any election to Federal office,” and “a national legislative

issue of public importance.” BCRA § 504; FECA § 315(e)(1):

47 U.S.C. § 315(e)(1). The record must include whether the

request to purchase was accepted or rejected; the rate charged

for the broadcast; the date and time on which the

communication aired; the class of time that is purchased; the

name of the candidate to which the communication refers and

the office to which the candidate is seeking election, the

election to which the communication refers, or the issue to

which the communication refers; in the case of a request on

behalf of a candidate, the name of the candidate, the

authorized committee, and the treasurer of the committee: and

in the case of any other request, the name of the person

purchasing the time, the name and contact’ information for

such person, and a list of chief executive officers or members

of the executive committee or board of directors. /d.

III. FINDINGS OF FACT

The Findings of Fact include a description of the identities

of the parties and include findings related to the disclosure

provisions included in this per curiam opinion.

76sa

A. Parties to the Litigation ”

* As of the May 7, 2002, deadline for amendment of pleadings,

intervention orjoinder of additional parties and consolidation of additional

cases, see Scheduling Order of 4/24/02, 84 plaintiffs were parties to the

consolidated actions. Since then, seven plaintiffs-the Alabama Republican

Executive Committee, Martine J. Connors, the Jefferson County

Republican Executive Committee, the Christian Coalition of America,

Inc., the Libertarian Party of Illinois, Inc., the DuPage Political

Action Council, Inc., and the National Association of Wholesaler-

Distributors-have been dismissed from the suit without prejudice. See

generally Orders of 8/15/02, 9/13/02, 9/18/02, and 9/30/02 Dismissing

Pls. Without Prejudice.

Remaining in the suit are 77 plaintiffs in 11 actions: in No. 02-CV-

0582 are Senator Mitch McConnell, Representative Bob Barr,

Representative Mike Pence, Alabama Attorney General William H. Pryor,

the Libertarian National Committee, Inc., the American Civil Liberties

Union, Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc., Associated Builders

and Contractors Political Action Committee, the Center for Individual

Freedom, Club for Growth, Inc., Indiana Family Institute, Inc., the

National Right to Life Committee, Inc., National Right to Life

Educational Trust Fund, National Right to Life Political Action

Committee, the National Right to Work Committee, 60 Plus Association,

Inc., Southeastern Legal Foundation, Inc., U.S. d/b/a ProEnglish, Thomas

McInerney, Barret Austin O’Brock and Trevor M. Southerland

(collectively, the McConnell plaintiffs); in No. 02-CV-O581 are the NRA

and National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund (collectively, the

NRA plaintiffs); in No. 02-CV-0633 are Emily Echols, Hannah McDow,

Isaac McDow, Jessica Mitchell, Daniel Solid and Zachary C. White

(collectively, the Echols plaintiffs); in No. 02-CV-0751 are the Chamber

of Commerce of the United States, the National Association of

Manufacturers, National Association of Wholesaler-Distributors, and U.S.

Chamber Political Action Committee (collectively, the Chamber of

Commerce plaintiffs); in No. 02-CV-0753 is the National Association of

Broadcasters; in No. 02-CV-0754 are the American Federation of Labor

and Congress of Industrial Organizations and AFL-CIO Committee on

Political Education Political Contributions Committee (collectively, the

AFL-CIO plaintiffs); in No. 02-CV-0781 are Congressman Ron Paul, Gun

Owners of America, Inc., Gun Owners of America Political Victory Fund,

RealCampaignReform.org, Citizens United, Citizens United Political

Victory Fund, Michael Cloud and Carla Howell (collectively, the Paul

77sa

1. Senator Mitch McConnell is the senior United States

Senator from the Commonwealth of Kentucky and is a

member of the Republican Party. McConnell Aff. J 1. He has

long been active in the Republican Party at the national, state

and local levels. /d. § 2. Senator McConnell was first elected

in 1984, was reelected in 1990, 1996, and was a candidate for

election in 2002. /d. 4 7.

plaintiffs); in No. 02-CV-0874 are the Republican National Committee,

Mike Duncan, Republican Party of Colorado, Republican Party of Ohio,

Republican Party of New Mexico, and Dallas County (lowa), Republican

Central Committee (collectively, the RNC plaintiffs); in No. 02-CV-0875

are the California Democratic Party, Art Torres, Yolo County Democratic

Central Committee, California Republican Party, Shawn Steel, Timothy J.

Morgan, Barbara Alby, Santa Cruz County Republican Central

Committee, and Douglas R. Boyd, Sr., (collectively, the CDP plaintiffs);

in No. 02-CV-0877 are Victoria Jackson Gray Adams, Carrie Bolton,

Cynthia Brown, Derek Cressman, Victoria Fitzgerald, Anurada Joshi,

Nancy Russell, Kate Seely-Kirk, Peter Kostmayer, Rose Taylor,

Stephanie L. Wilson, California Public Interest Research Group,

Massachusetts Public Interest Research Group, New Jersey Public Interest

Research Group, United States Public Interest Research Group, the Fannie

Lou Hamer Project, and Association of Community Organizers for

Reform Now (collectively, the Adams plaintiffs); and in No. 02-CV-0881

are Representative Bennie G. Thompson and Representative Earl F.

Hilliard (collectively, the Thompson plaintiffs).

The 17 defendants in these consolidated actions are the Federal

Election Commission; the United States of America; the United States

Department of Justice; the Federal Communications Commission; John

Ashcroft, in his official capacity as Attorney General of the United States

of America; David M. Mason, Karl J. Sandstrom, Danny L. McDonald,

Bradley A. Smith, Scott E. Thomas and Michael E. Toner, in their official

Capacities as Commissioners of the FEC; and Senators John McCain,

Russell Feingold, Olympia Snowe and James Jeffords and Representatives

Christopher Shays and Martin Meehan (collectively, the Intervenors), as

intervening defendants.

The Court finds it unnecessary to make findings with respect to all 77

Plaintiffs and 17 Defendants in these actions and therefore the Findings of

Fact reflect the primary parties in this litigation.

78sa

2. William H. Pryor, Jr. is Alabama Attorney General and

was a candidate for reelection as Alabama Attorney General

in 2002. Pryor Decl. § 2.

3. The Libertarian National Committee, Inc. (“LNC’) is the

governing body of the Libertarian Party at the national level.

Dasbach Decl. § 4. The LNC is a non-profit corporation

incorporated in the District of Columbia and governed by

section 527 of the Internal Revenue Code. /d. The LNC

represents and advocates the principle that all individuals

have the right to live in whatever manner they choose so long

as they do not forcibly interfere with the right of others to do

the same. /d.

4. The American Civil Liberties Union (“ACLU”) is a tax-

exempt corporation incorporated in the District of Columbia

and is governed by section 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue

Code. Romero Decl. ¥ 1. The ACLU is a nationwide, non-

profit, non-partisan organization with approximately 300,000

members “dedicated to the principles of liberty and equality

embodied in the Constitution.” /d.

_

5. Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc. (“ABC”) is a

non-profit tax- exempt organization governed by section

50l(c)(6) of the Internal Revenue code, incorporated in

Maryland, and is funded primarily by membership dues.

Monroe Direct Test. § 3. It is a national trade association

representing more than 23,000 contractors and related firms

in the construction industry. /d.. ABC’s members, which

include both unionized and non-union employers, “share the

philosophy that construction work should be awarded and

performed on the basis of merit, regardless of labor

affiliation.” /d.

6. Associated Builders and Contractors Political Action

Committee (“ABC PAC”) is a connected political committee

governed by 2 U.S.C. § 431(4) and section 527 of the Internal

Revenue Code and is a separate segregated fund of ABC

79sa

pursuant to 2 U.S.C. § 441b(b). /d..4 22. ABC PAC makes

contributions to federal candidates who support the principles

of ABC and funds independent expenditures for communica-

tions on their behalf. /d.

7. The Club for Growth, Inc. (“The Club”) is a nationwide

membership organization dedicated to advancing public

policies that promote economic growth. Keating Decl. § 5.

The Club is a Virginia corporation organized under section

527 of the Internal Revenue Code. McConnell Second Am.

Compl. 4 29. The Club “is dedicated to promoting the

election of pro-growth, pro-freedom candidates through the

bundling of political contributions and issue advocacy

campaigns.” Keating Decl. | 6. The Club for Growth advo-

cates tax rate reduction, fundamental tax reform, tax

simplification, capital gains tax reduction, estate tax repeal,

overall reduction in government spending, school choice, and

personal investment of Social Security. /d. 4 5.

8. The National Right to Life Committee (“NRLC”) is a

tax-exempt corporation incorporated in the District of

Columbia and is governed by section 501(c)(4) of the Internal

Revenue Code. O’Steen Decl. § 4. The NRLC is a nation-

wide, non-profit, non-partisan organization with approxi-

mately 3,000 local chapters and fifty state affiliates dedicated

to “promoting respect for the worth and dignity of all human

life from conception to natural death.” /d. 4 4 5, 3.

9. The National Right to Life Educational Trust Fund

(“NRL-ETF”) is an organization governed by section

501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue code. /d. § 16. NRL-ETF

sponsors educational advertising and develops materials

detailing “fetal development, abortion’s impact on America,

and the threat of euthanasia.” /d. 4 17.

10. The National Right to Life Political Action Committee

(“NRL PAC”), organized in 1979, is an internal § 527 fund of

80sa

NRLC that is registered with the FEC as a PAC subject to

FECA. O’Steen Decl. ¥ 24.

11. Thomas E. McInerney is a U.S. citizen, a registered

voter in the State of New York and a member of and

contributor to various Republican Party organizations and

committees at the national, state and local levels. McInerney

Aff. 4 1.

12. Barret Austin O’Brock is a U.S. citizen and a resident

of the State of Louisiana. O’Brock Decl. { |. He is fourteen

years of age and intends to make contributions to federal

candidates in future elections, including the 2004 election. dd.

q § 2-3.

13. The National Rifle Association (“NRA”) is a tax-

exempt corporation governed by section 501(c)(4) of the

Internal Revenue Code and incorporated in the State of New

York. NRA Compl. § 8. The primary purpose of the NRA is

to preserve and protect the Second Amendment's guarantee

that individuals shall have the right to “keep and bear arms.

LaPierre Decl. § 2. In addition, the NRA promotes public

firearm safety, trains law enforcement agencies In the use “

firearms, sponsors shooting competitions, and advances

hunter safety. Jd. The NRA has approximately four million

members and represents their views on legislative and public

policy issues before federal, state and local officials and the

general public. NRA Compl. { 8.

14. The National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

(“NRA PVF”) is a connected political committee governed by

2 U.S.C. § 431(4) and section 527(e)(1) of the Internal

Revenue Code and is a separate segregated fund of the NRA

pursuant to 2 U.S.C. § 441b(b). NRA Compl. q 9.

13. Emily Echols, Hannah and Isaac McDow, Zachary

White, Daniel Solid and Jessica Mitchell are U.S. citizens

who range in age from twelve to sixteen. Echols Pls.

Proposed Findings of Fact § 45. They intend to seek out

8lsa

and contribute to federal candidates “who represent their

views and beliefs on important questions like the right to life

of children before birth, and on the size of government.”

Id. 4 44.

14. The Chamber of Commerce (“The Chamber”) is a tax-

exempt corporation governed by section 501(c)(6) of the

Internal Revenue Code. Josten Direct Trial Test. q 3. The

Chamber is the world’s largest not-for-profit business federa-

tion, representing over 3,000,000 businesses and business

associations. /d.

15. The U.S. Chamber Political Action Committee (“U.S.

Chamber PAC”’) is a connected political committee organized

under section 527(e)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code and is

registered with the FEC. Josten Direct Trial Test. 4 26. U.S.

Chamber PAC is funded by contributions voluntarily made by

individual Chamber of Commerce executives, administrative

employees, members and their families. /d. § 27.

16. The National Association of Manufacturers (“NAM”)

is a tax-exempt corporation governed by section 501(c)(6) of

the Internal Revenue Code and is the oldest and largest broad-

based industrial trade association in the United States. Huard

Direct Trial Test. § 2. Its membership comprises 14,000

companies and 350 member associations. /d.

17. The National Association of Broadcasters (“NAB”) is a

non-profit corporation that serves as a trade association of

radio and television stations and broadcasting networks in the

United States. Goodman Decl. § 3. NAB serves and repre-

sents the American broadcasting industry, composed of

approximately 7,300 member stations. /d. All of NAB’s

voting members are broadcast licensees within the meaning

of the Communications Act. /d.

i8. The American Federation of Labor and Congress of

Industrial Organizations (“AFL-CIO”) is a national labor

federation comprised of 66 national and international labor

82sa

unions that, collectively, have a total of approximately 13

million members. G. Shea Decl. § 3. The AFL-CIO is a tax-

exempt organization under Section 501(c)(5) of the Internal

Revenue Code. Id. The AFL-CIO also includes 51 state labor

federations, nearly 580 area and central labor councils and

numerous trade and industrial departments. /d. ¥ § 6,7, 9. One

of the four major missions of the AFL-CIO is to provide “an

effective political voice to workers on public issues that affect

their lives.” /d. ¥ 4b.

19. Congressman Ron Paul is a Member of the United

States House of Representatives from the Fourteenth

Congressional District of Texas and is a member of the

Republican Party. Paul Decl. § 1. He was first elected to

represent the Fourteenth Congressional District of Texas in

1996, id., and also served as a Member of the House of

Representatives for the Twenty-Second Congressional

District of Texas, first elected in 1976 and to successive terms

until 1984, id. ¢ 2. Congressman Paul is a registered voter in

the state of Texas, a donor to the campaigns of candidates for

federal office, and a fundraiser and recipient of campaign

contributions. Paul Pls.” Compl. § 11. He will face reelection

in 2004. Paul Decl. ¢ 1.

20. Gun Owners of America, Inc. is a not-for-profit, tax-

exempt corporation governed by section 501(c)(4) of the

Internal Revenue Code. Pratt Decl. § 2. It is dedicated

primarily to defending the rights that its members believe are

guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the Constitution; its

principal function is the dissemination of information

concerning such rights through educational programs and

advocacy. Id. ¥ 3.

21. Gun Owners of America Political Victory Fund is a

connected political committee governed by 2 U.S.C. § 431

and is a separate segregated fund of Gun Owners of America.

Id. 4 4.

83sa

22. RealCampaignFinance.Org is a not-fo

exempt corporation governed by section mene a he

Internal Revenue Code. Babka Decl. { 2. It is dedicated to

defending the campaign and election-related rights its

members believe are guaranteed by the First Amendment to

the Constituti

14.93. itution through educational programs and advocacy.

23. Citizens United is a not-for-profit

corporation governed by section S010cK4) of ra Sales

Revenue Code. Bossie Decl. 4 2. It is dedicated to the

principles of limited government and national soverei nt

and to defending the rights its members believe are aa in

the United States Constitution: its principal function is in

dissemination of informatio ;

advocacy. Id. ¥ 3. © conceming such beliefs and

24. Citizens United Political Vic i

4 tory Fund is a

political committee governed by 2 U.S.C. § as aid toe

separate segregated fund of Citizens United. /d. 4 4. |

25. Michael Cloud was the Libertarian Party’s candidate

or United States Senate from the Commonwealth of

Massachusetts in t : : ;

Cloud Decl. 4 7 ne 2002 election and is 2 registered voter.

26. Carla Howell was the Libertari

arian Party’s candidate f

ye of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in the 2002

: or and is a registered voter. Howell Decl. § § 1-2. She

ee - the Libertarian Party’s candidate for election to the

a States Senate for the Commonweaith of

assachusetts in the 2000 election. /d. qq 2-3.

27. The Republican National Commi : ") i

unincorporated association created vi palace “The

a of te Republican Party. Josefiak Decl. q 13. It A

- three members from the Republican Party in each of the

ifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, America

Somoa, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Duncan Decl. 4 4:

84sa

see also Josefiak Decl. 9 15. Each state and territorial

Republican Party elects a national commitieeman and a

national committeewoman. Duncan Decl. 4 4; Josefiak Decl.

q 15. In addition, the state and territorial Republican Party

chairmen serve as members of the RNC. Duncan Decl. at 4 4;

Josefiak Decl. 4 15.

28. Mike Duncan is a member of the RNC from the State

of Kentucky and currently serves as the General Counsel of

the RNC. Duncan Decl. 4 5. Prior to becoming General

Counsel, he was Treasurer of the RNC and in that capacity

signed all RNC reports filed with the FEC. See id. In both his

official capacity as an officer of the RNC and in his personal

capacity, Duncan has participated in and (unless prohibited

by BCRA) will continue to participate in national, state and

local political party activities. /d. | ¥ 6, 9. He will also (unless

prohibited by BCRA) continue to solicit, receive, or direct

non- federal funds to other persons. See id. 4 { 8-9.

29. The Republican Party of New Mexico is the state party

committee of the Republican Party in New Mexico. See

Dendahl Decl. § § 3-4. It supports federal, state and local

candidates for office in New Mexico and promotes

Republican positions on public policy issues. /d. Under New

Mexico law, the Republican Party of New Mexico is

permitted to raise and spend corporate, labor union and

individual funds in unlimited amounts in support of state and

local candidate

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Supplemental Appendix — McConnell v. Federal Election Commission · 539 U.S. 938 | Frix