Amicus Curiae Brief — McConnell v. Federal Election Commission
Supreme Court brief2003
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
=~ i
oa ‘ i Supreme Court. US
FILED
No. 02-1674 & Consolidated Cases : f
2003
IN THE OFFICE OF THE. CLERK }
Supreme Court of the United States
SENATOR MITCH MCCONNELL, et a/..
Appellants/Cross-Appellees,
V.
FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION, et a/.,
Appellees/Cross-Appellants.
On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Columbia
BRIEF OF COMMON CAUSE AND AARP AS
AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE
CONSTITUTIONALITY OF THE BIPARTISAN
CAMPAIGN REFORM ACT OF 2002
Of Counsel: DONALD J. SIMON *
SONOSKY, CHAMBERS, SACHSE
ENDRESON & PERRY LLP
1425 K Street NW, Suite 600
DANIEL B. KOHRMAN
AARP FOUNDATION
LITIGATION .
MICHAEL SCHUSTER Wasnmgton, DC 20005
AARP (202) 682-0240
601 E Street, N.W. Counsel for Amici Curiae
Washington, D.C. 20049 Common Cause and AARP
(202) 434-2060
August 5, 2003 * Counsel of Record
EE TT
WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001
TABLE OF CONTENTS
ee Ee (qeveseneenecenemnens
I.
II.
IV.
ERS oe eo ee
The Court Has Long Recognized That Anti-
Circumvention Measures Serve A Compelling
Purpose in Ensuring That The Campaign
Finance Laws Are Effective..................:cccceseeeees
Over the Last 25 Years, the Soft Money
System Has Evolved into a Massive Scheme
for Political Parties, Federal Candidates and
Campaign Donors to Circumvent the Federal
Campaign Finance Lawg..................csscccsseseeeees
A. Phase One: 1978-1988—The creation of
the soft money system based on the fiction
that soft money does not affect federal
I a iiccinsnntstrtnciontinaeoninivetnesinsnninaen
B. Phase Two: 1988-1996—The integration
of soft money into the presidential
I scctinereereenntienenimennenionsinnnne
C. Phase Three: 1996-2002—The expansion
of the soft money system from the “ground
ggg MERIEU ET DU EEE
Congress Crafted BCRA’s Soft Money Ban To
Ensure That It Would End the Circumvention
of the Campaign Finance Laws......................00
(i)
11
13
17
26
ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page
A. The total ban on national party soft money
1S ROOSEBETY ncccccessc1sesesesinsamennnnnmaentiataa 27
B. The ban on state party soft money for
“Federal election activities” is necessary..... 27
C. The coverage of “voter mobilization”
QCHIVILIES 1S MECESBATY .........ccccresccccsseccssesccess 29
NC LLIUTBIOIN .xccccsccncsccscssccscscesssennesesnsessnmnensntennnnannnsas 30
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Austin v. Michigan State Chamber of Commerce,
I I I on cccnisnscesccunsosoncosenssecccosvecse 9
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) .......:.cccccccceeeee passim
California Medical Association v. FEC, 453 U.S.
aie ie terendsciteincatansananesenennence 7
Common Cause v. FEC, 692 F. Supp. 1391
a 12, 13
Common Cause v. FEC, 692 F.Supp. 1397
EEE a 13
FEC v. Beaumont, 123 S. Ct. 2200 (2003) =.......... passim
FEC v. Colorado Republican Federal Campaign
Committee, 533 U.S. 431 (2001) «0.0.0... 1,2,7
FEC v. National Right to Work Committee, 459
i icncstacaccncncnncadasensenscnenace 9
Nixon v. Shrink Missouri Government PAC, 528
ETA 1,2
STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND
AGENCY MATERIALS
Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971, Pub. L.
I i cicnesncischacsssacsncnsantence passim
| ee 12
nas sncessennnsnssesccccensovsoses 12
so csssccrnccnncontconeneceesoosccees 29
es OOo ccsscsccbsncasencvsunceseseocscscscses 29
is ee TE TID ccccnccccnccesnccssccsscssoscoes 9
ee 9
se 7,8
Be Oe MET TED cccccsconceccscessesescesecceeooss 29
Eee 28
as tt TT eccrasasaccnsesessousevscessonsecess 9
eT 12, 28
iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
BUBB. QOD recccarecnseccsnsccesensnssessnnsssnsrssasesons 4,9
2 UBL. GORI cccccccctcsrerennecncessersemnnninemaneene 28
Bipartisan Camraign Reform Act of 2002, Pub.
L. No. 107-155, £16 Stat. Bl ....cccccccccccccccesccceseses passim
RI cecctsicrccsnssccocssicsnnavsiteentnssensncssesensensssvensnnets 28
BEB cancccncenssscescesnsinentsnseesensanevesomenssonssessasestiontes 29
B FEIN ED csccccccscencvessesesesesssnesesnesneseonannenseinsacss 9
1 SEI oecccccescsssscaseenocessensrensssasemnsetetenenteseesnin 9
0 SO snceseseevescnnscisnencnennesnseniocionnonimcnsuoneinsatonsen 9
Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of
1974, Pub. L. No. 93-443, 88 Stat. 1263 ........... 8, 10
Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of
1979, Pub. L. No. 96-187, 93 Stat. 1339 ........... 12
BG UBL. 9 SERIE cnccrsesscscessccsccccncssescssscvssseseee 17
11 C.F.R. § 104.8(€) (2002).................cscccrreeeees 13
ies 8) 8”. 11
Toes Be | eee 13
Tees SP 8k le: 21
Ties eet ly: en 21
FEC Rulemaking Petition: Notice of Avail-
ability, 50 Fed. Reg. 477 (Jan. 4, 1985)............. 12
FEC Rulemaking Petition: Notice of Disposi-
tion, 51 Fed. Reg. 15,915 (April 29, 1986)........ 12
Methods of Allocation Between Federal and
Non-Federal Accounts; Payments; Reporting,
55 Fed. Reg. 26,058 (June 26, 1990).............04+ 13
Response to FEC Advisory Opinion Request
1976-72 (October 6, 1976)..........ccsssseeereeeeeeeees |
Response to FEC Advisory Opinion Request
1976-83 (October 12, 1976)..........:cccceseeereeeeeees 11
FEC Advisory Opinion 1978-10 (August 29,
DFID scciesvesesnnststinsnsteennensamdasianinndaianiananiananinn 11
~e;,
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
FEC Advisory Opinion 1979-17 (July 16, 1979)...
FEC Advisory Opinion 1995-25 (August 24,
PUTED Schinccniedcinaniciitaiiiniditbinduiiemmpeunnatenineiensinninietie
Statement of Reasons of Comm. Scott E. Thomas
in Jn the Matter of Dole for President, Inc. et
al., MURs 4553 & 4671 (FEC May 25, 2000)..
Statement of Reasons of Comm. Scott E. Thomas
in Jn the Matter of Ashcroft Victory Committee
et al., MUR 4994 (FEC Dec. 19, 2001).............
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
The Final Report of the Senate Select Committee
on Presidential Campaign Activities, S. Rep.
No. 93-981, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974)............
Investigation of Illegal or Improper Activities in
Connection with 1996 Federal Election Cam-
paigns: Hearings Before the Senate Committee
on Governmental Affairs, 105th Cong., S. Hrg.
Page
12
18
23
i Ee 4, 19, 20, 22
Investigation of Illegal or Improper Activities in
Connection with 1996 Federal Election
Campaigns, Final Report of the Committee on
Governmental Affairs, S. Rep. No. 105-167,
105th Cong., 2d Sess. (1998)...............cccscccssseees
NEWS ARTICLES
Brooks Jackson, Bush and Dukakis Presidential
Campaigns Each Spent More than $100
Million, Wall St. J., Dec. 11, 1988.......0000..0..
Brooks Jackson, Democrats’ Coffers Fill Up as
Fat Cats Seek Bigger Role in Party, Walf St.
ES IE iieriiniiedntaaieiiineenteninnsiminaaninniniie
passim
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Brooks Jackson, GOP Is Aiming New Fund Drive
at Big Donors, Wall St. J., Aug. 17, 1988 .........
Charles Babcock, $/00,000 Donations Plentiful
Despite Post-Watergate Restrictions, Wash.
Prat, Sat. ZZ, IDG cccccesevesssscveseosscosesssscesscvsnnsece
Charles Babcock, DNC Diverted Controversial
Donations, Wash. Post, Apr. 13, 1997..............
Charles Babcock, Fund-Raisers Gear Up for Fall
Race, Wash. Post, June 27, 1988 ...................004
George Archibald, Banana Baron Peeled off Half
a Mil; White House Paid Back in WTO Fight,
Warts. Tienes, Ame, Fay FOGG cccccccscsecssssscsssssscsssee
Howard Kurtz, DNC Issue Spot Touts Gore's
Medicare Plan, Wash. Post, Jun. 8, 2000..........
Howard Kurtz, GOP Launches Its First Salvo in
‘Issue’ Ad War, Wash. Post, Jun. 11, 2000........
Ira Chinoy, DNC Donors Also Gave to State
Groups, Wash. Post, Jan. 26, 1997 .........:c0ce00+
John M. Broder, Democrats Able to Circumvent
Donation Limit, N.Y. Times Dec. 22, 1999.......
Marc Lacey, House Subpoenas Torrance Busi-
nessman, L.A. Times, Nov. 8, 1997...............0
Michael Weisskopf, The Busy Back-Door Men,
eR: TE, Dig GG eicicncnitntnnnneviincinnntnecinnen
Neil A. Lewis, The 2000 Campaign: The Dona-
tions; 2 Groups Ask Justice Dept. To Investi-
gate Parties’ Ads, N.Y. Times, Jul. 28, 2000....
Peter Marks, Some Soft Money to Pay for Gore
Ad Blitz, N.Y. Times, Jun. 7, 2000 ....................
Richard Berke, Big Money's Election Year
Comeback, N.Y. Times, Aug. 7, 1988..............
Page
Vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Richard Berke, Contributors Help Dukakis by
Avoiding Limits He Set, N.Y. Times, Oct. 31,
Richard Berke, /n Election Spending, Waich
Ceiling and Use a Loophole, N.Y. Times, Oct.
SEE rete ene no Soi RO aC 16
Thomas Edsall, GOP Plans Big-Donor Drive,
Wash. Post, Aug. 16, 1988..........cccccccceeeeeeeeeeee 15, 16
Thomas Edsall, Soft Money Competition: GOP
Seeking $50 Million from Big Donors, Wash.
RI, SN TT tice iesietteradscarteiiiscceciceiiitaiiaeas 15
Thomas Edsall, ‘Victory Fund’ Raises Millions
for Party, Wash. Post, July 19, 1988.00.00... 15, 16
MISCELLANEOUS
Brooks Jackson, Broken Promise: Why the Fed-
eral Election Commission Failed (1990)........... 15
Common Cause, The Soft Money Finale!, Follow
the Dollar Report (Apr. 7, 2003)...........0.c0cc00. 10.
Common Cause, “National Parties Raise Record
$470.6 Million In Soft Money During The
2001-2002 Election Cycle Before New Law
Takes Effect” (Jan. 6, 2003) ............ccccccccceeeeeeeee 25
Common Cause, TJhe Money Trail: The
ET a Ca oo eC 20
Common Cause, The Money Trail: The
EER SE Se TEE 20
Notification to the Court Pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§592(b) of the Results of Preliminary Inves-
tigation filed in In re William Jefferson Clinton
(D.C. Cir. Dec. 7, 1998) (Independent Counsel
EE Er ee Cae vee 22
Sebastian Junger, The Perfect Storm (1997).......... 18
Expert Report of Thomas E. Mann.................... 14, 17, 26
i i
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE '
Common Cause is a nonprofit, nonpartisan citizens’ orga-
nization with approximately 200,000 members and supporters
nationwide. Common Cause has had a longstanding concern
with the growing problem of soft money in the federal
political process, and has publicly advocated for con-
gressional action to ban soft money in order to restore
integrity to the electoral system. Common Cause was a strong
advocate for congressional enactment of the Bipartisan
Campaign Reform Act of 2002, Pub. L. No. 107-155, 116
Stat. 81 (BCRA).
AARP is a nonprofit membership organization with more
than thirty-five million persons age 50 and older that is
dedicated to addressing the needs and interests of older
Americans. AARP is nonpartisan and does not support or
oppose any candidate for public office. Nor does it contribute
money to political candidates’ campaigns or to political
parties. Older Americans have made clear their interest in
promoting and protecting the integrity of our nation’s
electoral processes. Because of the significance of campaign
finance reform to its members, AARP was active in
supporting enactment of the BCRA, including through
grassroots efforts across the nation.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
BCRA serves compelling governmental interests not only
in “preventing corruption and the appearance of it that flows
from munificent campaign contributions,” Nixon v. Shrink
Missouri Gov't PAC, 528 U.S. 377, 390 (2000), but also in
closing the enormous loopholes in the law that have been
used for “circumvention of [valid] contribution limits,” FEC
v. Beaumont, 123 S. Ct. 2200, 2207 (2003), quoting FEC v.
' Letters of consent to the filing of this brief from all parties have been
lodged with the Clerk. No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole
or in part, and no person or entity, other than the amici curiae, made a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.
2
Colorado Republican Federal Campaign Comm., 533 U.S.
431, 456 (2001) (Colorado Republican II).
The soft money system?--addressed by Title I of BCRA--
grew over time into nothing less than a massive scheme for
circumventing the contribution limits and source prohibitions
of the federal campaign finance laws--measures that, over the
last hundred years, have been enacted by Congress and
sustained by this Court as necessary to preserve “the will-
ingness of voters to take part in democratic governance.”
Shrink Missouri, 528 U.S. at 390.
Soft money was not created by Congress. Rather, it was a
loophole opened in the law by the Federal Election Com-
mission in 1978, through administrative interpretations that
allowed first, state parties, and then national parties, to raise
and spend funds not subject to federal contribution limits and ~
source prohibitions for voter activities--such as voter
registration and get-out-the-vote drives--that clearly affected
federal elections.
The soft money system changed character and scale in
1988 when it became an integrated part of that year’s presi-
dential campaign. Both presidential candidates, working
closely with their national party committees, organized
$100,000 donor clubs, and incorporated the raising and .
spending of soft money into their presidential campaign
strategies. This new organizing focus doubled the amount of
soft money raised, and injected it directly into the presidential
campaign in a major fashion.
The soft money system changed yet again in the 1996
election, this time even more catastrophically, when it mu-
tated from paying for just the “ground” war of grassroots
voter activities to also paying for the “air” war of mullti-
million dollar television campaigns that promoted the
? Soft money, simply put, is money that does not comply with the
contribution limits, source prohibitions and reporting requirements of
federal law.
enh Se
3
presidential candidates. An- unprecedented quarter of a
billion dollars of soft money was raised by the national
parties, much of it by the presidential candidates themselves.
Tens of millions of dollars of soft money was channeled
through state party accounts to pay for candidate-specific
broadcast ads controlled by the presidential campaigns, in
what amounted to a sophisticated scheme for evasion of the
law. In so doing, the presidential candidates also dodged the
spending limits they had agreed to as a condition of their
receipt of public funds, thus undermining key aspects of the
presidential public financing system as well.
During the 1990’s, the soft money system spread also to
the congressional level where, in an innovation that emerged
by the end of the decade, “joint fundraising committees” were
developed as vehicles for congressional candidates to raise
soft money in their own names, and then funnel those funds
through party accounts to be spent on candidate-specific ads
promoting their congressional campaigns.
By 2002, the last election conducted prior to the effective
date of BCRA, the soft money system had grown to half a
billion dollars—all of it from sources or in amounts that may
not be contributed or spent to influence federal elections.
Soft money became not just a loophole in the law, but a
systemic circumvention so massive as to virtually overwhelm
the law.
The enactment of BCRA was a necessary congressional
response to this evisceration of the federal election laws, not
just as a step to address the corruption and appearance of
corruption caused by soft money, but also as an anti-
circumvention measure intended to repair and restore laws
that this Court has deemed “critical . . . if confidence in the
system of representative Government is not to be eroded to a
disastrous extent.” Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 27 (1976),
4
quoting Civil Service Comm'n v. Nat'l Ass'n of Letter
Carriers, 413 U.S. 548, 565 (1973).°
ARGUMENT
I. Introduction
In 1997, in the midst of a major congressional investigation
of the campaign finance abuses that occurred during the 1996
presidential election, Democratic National Committee (DNC)
fundraiser Johnny Chung was quoted as saying, “The White
House is like a subway: You have to put in coins to open
the gates.”
Chung was in a position to know. According to the final
report of the investigation conducted by the Senate Govern-
mental Affairs Committee (“Thompson Committee”), Chung
made soft money donations totaling $366,000 to the DNC
from August 1994 through August, 1996.° And in the two
year period ending in February, 1996, Chung obtained access
to the White House on 49 occasions—“access that he used. . .
to further his interests with foreign business clients . . . .”°
Further, according to the Thompson Committee,
> Although this brief focuses on the circumvention of the campaign
finance laws caused by soft money, and addressed by Title | of BCRA, the
amici also strongly support the other provisions of BCRA, including Title
ll, which responds to the equally serious problem of sham “issue”
advocacy that has been used as a means for corporations and labor unions
to circumvent, on a massive scale, the longstanding prohibition on the
spending of corporate and labor treasury funds “in connection with”
federal elections. 2 U.S.C. § 441b.
* Mare Lacey, House Subpoenas Torrance Businessman, L.A. Times,
Nov. 8, 1997, at Al2, quoted in Investigation of Illegal or Improper
Activities in Connection with 1996 Federal Election Campaigns, Final
Report of the Committee on Governmental Affairs, S. Rep. No. 105-167,
105th Cong., 2d Sess. (1998) (“Thompson Committee Report”) at 783.
* Thompson Committee Report, supra note 4, at 783, 795.
° Jd. at 783. The Report notes that in a newsletter to his company’s
shareholders, Chung “boasted of his political clout, claiming that he /had
‘built up connections to easily arrange visitations to the White House and
meetings with the President.’” /d. at 785.
5
There can be no question that Chung’s contributions to
the DNC helped give him this access to the President
and the First Lady. So close was the nexus between
Chung’s donations and his visits, in fact, that White
House officials actually collected money from him in the
First Lady’s office in exchange for allowing him to bring
a delegation of his clients to White House events.’
Johnny Chung’s analogy of the White House to little more
than a coin-operated gateway for the sale of access and
influence is a fitting epitaph for the debasing effect of soft
money on the American political process.
An equally dispiriting picture was painted by Roger
Tamraz, another DNC donor who figured prominently in
the Thompson Committee investigation. Described by the
Committee as “an unrepentant access-purchaser,” id. at 2907,
Tamraz donated a total of $300,000 of soft money to the
DNC and various state party committees or campaigns
between July 1995 and March 1996, all at the DNC’s request.
Id. at 2913-14. In apparent exchange for these donations,
Tamraz sought, and received, access to an array of DNC and
government officials in an effort to win U.S. backing for an
oil pipeline project he was promoting in central Asia.” DNC
chairman Don Fowler personally interceded with officials at
the Central Intelligence Agency and the National Security
Council in an effort to help Tamraz, id. at 2917-18, who
attended six events with President Clinton from September
1995 through June 1996. /d. at 2920. Tamraz spoke on
several occasions with the President, who directed his chief of
staff, Mack McLarty, “to follow up” on Tamraz’s requests.
Id. at 2920, 2929. McLarty did so in numerous ways,
” Id. at 783.
* When asked at the hearings if “one of the reasons” he gave this
money was to get access to government officials, Tamraz replied,
“Senator, I’m going even further. It’s the only reason--to get access. . . .”
Id. at 2913, n.46.
6
enlisting officials from the Department of Energy in the effort
to promote Tamraz’s mission. /d. at 2925-28.
Although Tamraz clearly succeeded in buying access to the
highest levels of government in exchange for his $300,000 of
donations, he did not ultimately succeed in his goal of
obtaining government support for his project. But his own
conclusion was not that money fails to buy policy, but rather
that he had not given enough money. He told the Thompson
Committee, “I think next time, I'll give 600,000 [dollars].”
Id. at 2930.
The Thompson Committee investigation followed months
of front-page headlines about a wide range of scandals arising
out of the fundraising practices of the 1996 campaign. These
scandals included:
* The “sale” of White House access to major donors
through “coffees,” overnight stays in the Lincoln Bed-
room and other presidential events. /d. at 191-499.
¢ The funneling of funds into U.S. elections from foreign
nationals to influence U.S. policy through political
contributions. /d. at 2499-2517.
¢ The influence that political donations may have had on
federal review of Indian casino operations. /d. at 3165-
3547.
* The use of non-profit groups as “fronts” for funneling
party soft money into federal campaigns. /d. at 5974-81
(Minority Rpt.). \
Although diverse stories, these scandals of the 1996 cam-
paign are unified by a common thread-—soft money.
Protections against the pernicious influence on federal
elections of corporate and union donations, and of unlimited
individual contributions, had been put in place by Congress
over time since the beginning of the last century. These laws
were enacted precisely in order to prevent the same reality
and appearance of corruption and influence-peddling that
were graphically on display in the 1996 campaign. But by
that campaign, the rise of soft money as a means to
eo. ‘
7 :
circumvent the federal campaign finance laws had become so
dominant that the longstanding regulatory regime had all but
collapsed. The result, as stated by the Thompson Committee,
was that the President and his aides “left themselves open to
strong suspicion that they were selling not only access to high
ranking officials, but policy as well.” /d. at 3.
Il. This Court Has Long Recognized that Anti-
Circumvention Measures Serve a Compelling
Purpose in Ensuring that the Campaign Finance
Laws Are Effective.
Last Term, in Beaumont, this Court once again recognized
the important role played by anti-circumvention measures in
protecting the integrity of the campaign finance laws. In
upholding a ban on corporation contributions, the Court said
that “[q]uite aside from war-chest corruption and the interests
of contributors and owners,” the restriction on corporations
was separately justified because it “hedges against their
use as conduits for ‘circumvention of [valid] contribution
limits.” 123 S. Ct. at 2207, quoting Colorado Republican II,
533 U.S. at 456. As the Court noted in Colorado Republican
II, “all Members of the Court agree that circumvention is a
valid theory of corruption. . . .” 533 U.S. at 457.
Precisely because “substantial evidence demonstrates how
candidates, donors and parties test the limits of the current
law,” id., anti-circumvention measures are necessary. While
corporations were the vehicle threatening circumvention in
Beaumont, it was the political parties that posed the same
danger in Colorado Republican Il. There, the Court upheld
limits on party coordinated expenditures in order to prevent
the use of parties “as conduits for contributions meant to
place candidates under obligation,” id. at 452, and to forestall
their “exploitation as channels for circumventing contribution
and coordinated spending limits. ... ,” id. at 455.
Similarly, in California Medical Ass'n. v. FEC, 453
U.S. 182, 197-98 (1981), the Court upheld the limit on con-
tributions to multi-candidate political committees, 2 U.S.C.
8
§ 441a(a)(1)(C), in order “to prevent circumvention of the
very limitations on contributions that this Court upheld in
Buckley.” And in Buckley, the Court sustained the aggregate
anaual limit on contributions by an individual, because it
“serves to prevent evasion of the $1,000 contribution limita-
tion by a person who might otherwise contribute massive
amounts of money to a particular candidate through...huge
contributions to the candidate’s political party.” Buckley, 424
U.S. at 38.
BCRA is, at bottom, an anti-circumvention measure. By
1996, the growth of soft money had caused, in-the words of
the Thompson Committee, “the erosion of safeguards in U.S.
election law designed to guard against political corrup-
tion... .”’ BCRA was enacted precisely to close the soft
money loophole, to repair this erosion, and to prevent the
continued evasion of current law.
Ill. Over the Last 25 Years, the Soft Money System
Has Evolved into a Massive Scheme for Political
Parties, Federal Candidates and Campaign Donors
to Circumvent the Federal Campaign Finance
Laws. ,
The enactment of the Federal Election Campaign Act
Amendments of 1974, Pub. L. 93-443, 88 Stat. 1263 (FECA),
was 2 milestone in the effort to limit the deleterious influence
of large campaign contributions on the federal political
process. Based on evidence of serious improprieties resulting
from the flow of campaign contributions in the 1972 presi-
dential election, and the concomitant public concerns arising
out of the Watergate investigation, '° Congress enacted FECA
in order to, inter alia, limit the amount of money that donors
* Thompson Committee Report, supra note 4, at 33.
' The Final Report of the Senate Select Committee on Presidential
Campaign Activities, S. Rep. No. 93-981, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974).
9
could give to federal candidates, and to political commit-
tees, including party committees.'? These contribution limits
were upheld in Buckley because they serve a compelling
governmental interest in dealing “with the reality or appear-
ance of corruption inherent in a system permitting unlimited
financial contributions, even when the identities of the
‘ contributors and the amounts of their contributions are fully
disclosed.” 424 U.S. at 28.
So too, FECA re-codified the longstanding prohibition on
contributions and expenditures by corporations and labor
organizations in connection with federal elections.'? “The
overriding concern behind the enactment” of this prohibition
“was the problem of corruption of elected representatives
through the creation of political debts. The importance of the
governmental interest in preventing this occurrence has never
been doubted.” FEC v. Nat'l Right to Work Comm., 459 U.S.
197, 208 (1982), quoting First Nat'l Bank of Boston v.
Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 788 n. 26 (1978); see also Beaumont,
123 S. Ct. at 2206. These provisions also seek “to eliminate
the distortion caused by corporate spending” in the political
process, Austin v. Mich. State Chamber of Commerce, 494
U.S. 652, 660 (1989), and to protect shareholders and union
members from having their funds “used to support political
candidates to whom they may be opposed,” Nat'l Right to
Work, 459 U.S. at 208.
''2 U.S.C. § 441a(a)(1)(A) (limit of $1,000 per election). This amount
was increased by BCRA to $2,000 per election. See BCRA § 307(a)(1).
2 2USC. § 441a(a)(3) (2002) (aggregate individual limit of $25,000
per year to all candidates and committees). This limit was increased by
BCRA to $95,000 per two-year election cycle. See BCRA § 307(b). In
the 1976 FECA Amendments, contributions to national party committees
were made subject to a limit of $20,000 per year, 2 U.S.C. § 44la(a)
(1)(B), an amount now increased by BCRA to $25,000 per year. BCRA
§ 307(a)(2).
'' 2 U.S.C. § 441b. For a history of this prohibition, see generally FEC
v. Nat'l Right to Work Comm., 459 U.S. 197, 208-09 (1982).
10
Shortly after the enactment of the 1974 FECA Amend-
ments, the soft money system developed as a means to evade
these contribution limits and source prohibitions.
Over the last 25 years, and until the effective date of
BCRA, soft money donations have consisted of the unlimited
sums--in some cases considerably more than $1 million from
a single donor--given to the national or state political parties
by corporations, labor organizations and wealthy individuals,
and then spent by the parties, in conjunction with their federal
candidates, on activities that were intended to influence, and
that had the effect of influencing, federal elections."
The soft money system, which began in 1978, just four
years after passage of the FECA, developed slowly at first,
but then grew with escalating velocity. By the 1996
presidential election cycle, the soft money system had
become little more than a massive scheme for circumventing
the federal election laws.
'* For instance, the American Federation of State, County and Munic-
ipal Employees (AFSCME) gave $7.4 million in the period January 1,
2001 through November 5, 2002, virtually all of it to the Democratic
Party. The Pharmaceutical Research & Manufacturers of America
(PhRMA) in the same period gave $3.4 million, virtually all to the
Republican Party. The two major parties together collected a total of
$470 million in soft money in that period. See Common Cause, The Soft
Money Finale!, Follow the Dollar Report (April 7, 2003), available at
http://www.commoncause.org/publications/april03/040703.htm.
The most cynical form of soft money comes from “double givers”--
those who make large contributions to both parties in the same election
cycle. In the 2002 cycle, there were 37 donors who gave $250,000 or
more to both political parties. These included AT&T, which gave $1.5
million to the Democrats, and $1.7 million to the Republicans; the Philip
Morris Companies, which gave $625,000 to the Democrats and $2.2
million to the Republicans, and Microsoft, which gave $2.7 million to the
Democratic party committees and $852,000 to the Republican com-
mittees. /d.
a8 SE Te et ee
ee eee
A. Phase One: 1978-1988--The creation of the soft
money system based on the fiction that soft
money does not affect federal elections.
The soft money system was founded on a regulatory fiction
promulgated by the Federal Election Commission-that
spending by the political parties on “mixed” activities such as
voter registration or get-out-the-vote drives which, by their
nature, affect federal, as well as non-federal, elections, can be
parsed into those separate components, and that the non-
federal portion can be funded by soft money without those
funds affecting federal elections.
This conclusion was first set out by the FEC in a 1978
advisory opinion that reversed a position the Commis«.o° had
taken just two years earlier. In the earlier opinion, the FEC
had held that state parties had to pay for “mixed” voter
activities using solely hard money, i.e., monies raised under
the federal law rules, because those activities affected federal
elections, even in part.'°
But in its 1978 advisory opinion, the FEC opened the door
to soft money in federal elections by reversing itself and
holding that such mixed activities could be financed with a
combination of federal and non-federal funds.'°- The Com-
mission left it up to the discretion of the parties to decide on
the proper mixture of such funds, requiring only that the
allocation be made on a “reasonable basis.”'’ This ruling
allowed state parties to spend soft money on activities that
would affect federal elections."
'S Response to FEC Advisory Opinion Request 1976-72 (Oct. 6, 1976);
see also Response to FEC Advisory Opinion Request 1976-83 (Oct. 12,
~ 1976).
'° See FEC Advisory Opinion 1978-10 (August 29, 1978).
'” See 11 C.F.R. § 106.1(e) (1978) (permitting allocation to be made
“in proportion to the amount of funds expended on federal and nonfederal
elections, or on another reasonable basis”).
'’ This included not only get-out-the-vote and voter registration drives,
but also “generic” party activities, such as ads that say “Vote Republican.”
12
Not surprisingly, the national parties soon followed suit. In
1979, the FEC opined that the national parties, as well, could
open non-federal accounts to raise soft money, and that the
same allocation principles would apply to national party
expenditures. -
In November 1984, Common Cause petitioned the FEC to
institute a rulemaking to reverse these administrative inter-
pretations, arguing that soft money was being used in a
wholesale manner to influence federal elections.”” After a
two-year consideration of the petition, the Commission
denied the request.”' Common Cause then sued the FEC for
abuse of discretion.
'° See FEC Advisory Opinion 1979-17 (July 16, 1979). In 1979, Con-
gress amended the FECA to encourage state parties to spend money on
grassroots activities such as voter registration and get-out-the-vote
drives. See Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of 1979, Pub. L.
No. 96-187, 93 Stat. 1339. Contrary to the belief of some, these
Amendments did not authorize the soft money system. Although the 1979
Amendments provided that money spent by state parties on certain
grassroots activities was exempt from the definition of “expenditure,” and
thus exempt from the overall limit on party spending in 2 U.S.C.
§ 441a(d), the law expressly stated that the money spent for these
activities is subject to federal contribution limits and source prohibitions.
2 U.S.C. § 431(9)(B){ viii), (ix) (exempting certain voter activities from
the definition of “expenditure” provided “such payments are made from
contributions subject to the limitations and prohibitions of this Act”).
Thus, the importance of the 1979 amendments was to provide greater
room for state parties to spend money on grassroots voter activities, but
not to authorize that spending be done with non-federal funds. See
Thompson Committee Report, supra note 4, at 4463-4.
0 See FEC Rulemaking Petition: Notice of Availability, 50 Fed. Reg.
477 (Jan. 4, 1985) (citing Letter of November 5, 1984 from Fred Wer-
theimer, President of Common Cause, to Lee Ann Elliott, chair, Federal
Election Commission). ;
7! FEC Rulemaking Petition: Notice of Disposition, 51 Fed. Reg.
15,915 (April 29, 1986), quoted in Common Cause v. FEC, 692 F. Supp.
1391, 1393 (D.D.C. 1987).
eee
13 -
The district court ordered the FEC to issue new regulations,
finding that the agency had acted contrary to law by allowing
the parties too much discretion in determining the miature of
hard and soft money to spend on mixed activities.” After a
year passed without action by the Commission, the court
again ordered the agency to act, noting that “it is undisputed
that there is a public perception of widespread abuse,
suggesting that the consequences of the regulatory failure
identified a year ago are at least as unsettling now as then.””°
Finally, three years later, in 1991, the FEC promulgated new
regulations on soft money, but in effect only codified the
existing soft money system by establishing specific per-
centages for the allocation of hard and soft money in different
scenarios.” In addition, the regulations, for the first time,
required the national parties to disclose their soft money.”
B. Phase Two: 1988-1996--The integration of soft
money into the presidential campaigns.
While the FEC was engaged in its protracted rulemaking
process, the use of soft money in federal campaigns under-
went dramatic change in the 1988 presidential campaign. The
nascent soft money system had operated at a comparatively
modest level in prior election cycles, with both national
parties raising and spending a total of about $20 million in
*? 692 F. Supp. at 1396. In fact, the court noted that the Commission
might reasonably conclude “that no method of allocation will effectuate
the Congressional goal” that only hard money be spent on activities
influencing federal elections. /d. (emphasis in original).
> Common Cause v. FEC, 692 F. Supp. 1397, 1399 (D.D.C. 1988).
** See Methods of Allocation Between Federal and Non-Federal Ac-
counts; Payments; Reporting, 55 Fed. Reg. 26,058 (June 26, 1990)
(codified at 11 C.F.R. § 106.5 (1991)) (establishing several methods and
formulae for allocation that depend on whether the spending is by a
national or state party committee, whether the spending is in a presidential
or non-presidential election year, and whether the activity being funded is
party administrative costs, generic voter drives, or fundraising).
*° Id.; see also 11 C.F.R. § 104.8(e)(2002).
14
non-federal funds in each of the 1980 and 1984 campaigns.”°
In 1988, however, this amount doubled--to a total of $45
million.”’
Soft money in the 1988 cycle for the first time became an
integrated part of the major party presidential campaigns,
organized and directed by the top strategists and fundraisers
of those campaigns. Democratic nominee Governor Michael
Dukakis and Republican nominee Vice President George
Bush, in conjunction with their national parties, system-
atically solicited individuals for six figure contributions to
their respective political partics—-amounts far in excess of
federal contribution limits.
The spiral of soft money fundraising began with the
Dukakis campaign which, led by its treasurer and chief
fundraiser Robert Farmer, initiated a program to solicit
$100,000 contributions from wealthy individual donors.” At
© Expert Report of Thomas E. Mann, available in the record at DEV
(Defendants’ Evidentiary Volume) |, Tab 1, at Table 1, National Political
Party Spending, 1976-2000.
27 ng
78 See Charles Babcock, $/00,000 Donations Plentiful Despite Post-
Watergate Restrictions, Wash. Post, Sept. 22, 1988, at A27 (“Spurred by
competition between presidential fundraisers, the number of $100,000
donors in this election year has already surpassed that in the 1972
Watergate era, when alleged abuses triggered reform in federal election
financing.”); Brooks Jackson, Democrats’ Coffers Fill Up as Fat Cats
Seek Bigger Role in Party, Wall St. J., July 19, 1988, at 60 (“Fat cats are
back, more numerous and playing a bigger role in Democratic politics
.... More than 200 people have become Democratic Party ‘trustees’ by
agreeing to give $100,000 for the fall campaign, or to raise such an
amount from others.”’).
’ Brooks Jackson, GOP Is Aiming New Fund Drive at Big Donors,
Wall St. J., Aug. 17, 198, at 44 (“The see-sawing spending war was
touched off weeks ago by Michael Dukakis’s chief fundraiser, Robert
Farmer . . . Mr. Farmer stunned the political community by announcing
his intention to raise a total of $50 million in party funds, including much
soft money, to be spent in addition to the $36 million in public funds to be
spent directly by the Dukakis campaign.”). See also Charles Babcock,
15
first, the Bush campaign attacked the Dukakis soft money
operation as, according to deputy campaign manager Richard
Bond, “illegal on its face.””’ Shortly thereafter, however,
when it failed to stop the Dukakis soft money effort, the Bush
campaign moved to match, and then out-raise it.°' The Bush
“Team 109” fundraising campaign of $100,000 soft money
donors was headed by Robert Mosbacher, who had been
serving as the chief fundraiser for the Bush presidential
campaign.”
Thus, the chief fundraiser for each presidential candidate
headed each party’s soft money fundraising drive. According
to The Wall Street Journal, 267 individuals and corporations
made contributions of up to $100,000 to the Bush effort,
while a top Dukakis fundraiser said “his $100,000 club
numbered 130 individuals.””’ Ultimately, each presidential
campaign raised more than $20 million in soft money.**
Fund-Raisers Gear Up for Fall Race, Wash. Post, June 27, 1988, at Al;
Thomas Edsall, ‘Victory Fund’ Raises Millions for Party, Wash. Post,
July 19, 1988, at A21 (Edsall, Victory Fund).
*° Thomas Edsall, GOP Plans Big-Donor Drive, Wash. Post, Aug. 16,
1988, at Al (Edsall, Big Donor Drive). See also Brooks Jackson, Broken
Promise: Why the Federal Election Commission Failed 52 (1990)
(Jackson, Broken Promise).
*' Richard Berke, Big Money's Election Year Comeback, N.Y. Times,
Aug. 7, 1988, at ES (“‘The Democrats are saying that they’re going for the
big money,’ said Robert A. Mosbacher, Jr., finance chairman of the Bush
campaign. ‘And I don’t think there’s much we can do about it but match
them.’”); Thomas Edsall, Soff Money Competition: GOP Seeking $50
Million from Big Donors, Wash. Post, Aug. 16, 1988, at Al (Edsall, Soft
Money) (“For the GOP, the decision to go with Team 88 represents a
major policy change. As recently as three weeks ago, top officials of Vice
President Bush’s campaign described the almost identical Democratic
program as blatantly illegal. . . . According to Mosbacher, ‘We intend to
match the Democrats plus $1.””).
*? Edsall, Soft Money, supra note 31.
* Brooks Jackson, Bush, Dukakis Presidential Campaigns Each Spent
More than $100 Million, Wall St. J., Dec. 11, 1988.
4 Jackson, Broken Promise, supra note 30, at 54.
16
The 1988 presidential campaigns were involved not only in
raising soft money but in spending it as well. A spokesperson
for the RNC soft money effort said “the decision on how to
spend Team 88 money will be made primarily by key
officials of the Bush campaign, including Lee Atwater, the
campaign manager and [Richard] Bond [the deputy campaign
manager] . . . [T]he basic criterion in picking states to benefit
from the fund will be the closeness of the presidential race.””°
Soft money was used in the 1988 election to perform vital
“ground war” functions for the presidential campaigns--such
as get-out-the-vote and other field operations.”*° In Illinois,
for example, The New York Times reported that the Dukakis
campaign had only five paid staff members. But it shared
office space with Campaign °88, a “state party” operation
organized by the DNC and employing 115 workers across the
state, paid for with a budget of $2 million in soft money.
Peter Kelly, chairman of the California Democratic Party,
told the Times that the “whole theory behind” the 1988 soft
money effort was to raise enough money to help Dukakis win
the state.°* In short, the 1988 presidential campaigns were
structured as two parallel operations--an official campaign
receiving public funds and subject to a spending limit, and an
*> Edsall, Big Donor Drive, supra note 30.
© T. Edsall, Victory Fund, supra note 29 (“The money raised by the
Victory Fund and Victory 88 will be used to finance what is known as the
‘ground war’ of the campaign: get-out-the-vote drives, voter registration,
direct mail and voter list development. To the degree a soft money
campaign is successful, it permits the presidential campaign to spend a
high percentage of the $46.1 million in federal money each nominee
receives on the ‘air war’--television advertising and moving the
candidates around the country.”).
*? Richard Berke, /n Election Spending, Watch Ceiling and Use a
Loophole, N.Y. Times, Oct. 3, 1988, at A23.
*® Richard Berke, Contributors Help Dukakis by Avoiding Limits He
Set, N.Y. Times, Oct. 31, 1988, at BS.
anna!
17
unofficial campaign raising and spending unlimited amounts
of soft money.”
C. Phase Three: 1996-2002--The expansion of the
soft money system from the “ground war” to
the “air war.”
If the 1988 campaign saw soft money being used to pay for
presidential “ground war” activities, the 1996 campaign saw
soft money spent to finance presidential “air war” efforts as
well. Beginning in late 1995, President Clinton’s reelection
campaign used millions of dollars of soft money to fund so
called “issue” ads run through the DNC or Democratic state
parties. In reality, those ads were nothing more than
candidate-specific campaign ads promoting the President’s
re-election effort. By early 1996, the presidential campaign
of Senator Robert Dole followed suit.
The explosive growth of soft money in the 1996 cycle--
from a total of $80 million in 1992 (itself a near-doubling
from the amount in the 1988 cycle) to more than triple that
amount, over $271 million, in 1996*°--was fueled by the
* This dichotomy illustrates another major harm caused by the soft
money system--the subversion of not only the contribution limits and
source prohibitions of federal law, but the spending limits of the public
financing system as well. Under 26 U.S.C. § 9003(b), a major party
nominee who receives public funds is prohibited from raising or spending
any additional funds for his or her general election campaign. But since
1988, while party nominees have made a binding commitment to limit
their general election spending to the amount of the public grant, they
have then solicited soft money donations to their political parties and
controlled the spending of that money through their parties to advance
their campaigns. The spending limit on which the grant of public funds is
conditioned has become largely meaningless. Thus, the injection of scft
money into the middle of presidential campaigns has dramatically under-
mined key purposes of the presidential public financing law--“to reduce
the deleterious influence of large contributions on our political process . . .
and to free candidates from the rigors of fundraising.” Buckley, 424
U.S. at 91.
* Mann Expert Report, supra note 26, at Table!. -
18
collision of the soft money loophole with the sham “issue” ad
loophole, in a “perfect storm” that effectively destroyed the
barriers between hard money and soft money spending in
federal elections.*' In short, the political parties, working in
close conjunction with their presidential candidates, started to
spend soft money to pay for the broadcast of candidate-
specific campaign ads that simply avoided the use of express
advocacy phrases like “vote for” or “vote against.”
There was no foundation in law for this development. In
Buckley, this Court made clear that the “express advocacy”
test was intended to address a problem of vagueness en-
countered in regulating the political activities of “an individ-
ual other than a candidate or a group other than a political
committee,” Buckley, 424 U.S. at 79. Thus, the “express
advocacy” test was not meant to apply to spending by
candidates and political parties, whose expenditures, this
Court said, do not present comparable issues of vagueness
because their activities “can be assumed to fall within the
core area sought to be addressed by Congress. They are, by
definition, campaign related.” Id.”
Nonetheless, in late 1995, the DNC, working under the
direction and control of the Clinton re-election campaign,
began to use soft money to fund an aggressive nationwide
program of TV ads promoting President Clinton and his
*' Sebastian Junger, The Perfect Storm (1997).
* The DNC claimed that its new use of soft money was permitted
under FEC Advisory Opinion 1995-25 (Aug. 24, 1995), which held that
“legislative advocacy media advertisements” run by a national party
committee could be funded with an allocated mixture of hard and soft
money. But this claim was wrong: the Commission’s opinion was
explicitly based on the condition that the ads would not refer to a federal
candidate, or if they did so at all, would not contain any “electioneering
message.” See FEC Advisory Opinion 1995-25, n.1.
19
policies, or criticizing Senator Dole.*’ These ads were
written, edited, produced, directed and targeted by Clinton
campaign officials, and the President himself was personally
involved in the effort. The ads were run in key “battle-
ground” states for the 1996 presidential election.”
By early 1996, Republican nominee Senator Robert Dole
and the RNC began running a similar TV ad campaign, using
soft money to promote Dole’s candidacy.*° That effort was
coordinated by the Dole campaign.*’
* A typical Clinton/DNC soft money ad was called “Finish,” and
promoted President Clinton while criticizing Senator Dole:
Head Start. Student loans. Toxic cleanup. Extra police. Anti-drug
programs. Dole, Gingrich wanted them cut. Now they’re safe.
Protected in the "96 budget--because the President stood firm. Dole,
Gingrich? Deadlock. Gridlock. Shutdowns. The president’s plan?
Finish the job, balance the budget. Reform welfare. Cut taxes.
Protect Medicare. President Clinton says get it done. Meet our
challenges.
See Thompson Committee Report, supra note 4, at 4478. See also
Investigation of Illegal or Improper Activities in Connection with 1996
Federal Election Campaigns: Hearings Before the Senate Committee on
Governmental Affairs, 105th Cong., S. Hrg. No. 105-300 Part VIII (1997)
(“Thompson Committee Hearings”) 277-317 at 301 (letter from Ann
McBride, President of Common Cause, to Attorney General Janet Reno
(October 9, 1996) (“Common Cause Letter’) at 25).
“ See Thompson Committee Report, supra note 4, at 107-129.
* The evidence discussing the efforts by the Clinton and Dole cam-
paigns to promote their candidates using ads run through their respective
political parties and paid for with soft money is extensively discussed in
the letter of October 9, 1996 sent by Common Cause to the Department of
Justice seeking an investigation of these practices as violations of the
campaign finance laws. See Common Cause Letter, supra note 43.
*° Id. A typical Dole/RNC soft money ad was called “Stripes,” and
criticized President Clinton:
Bill Clinton, he’s really something. He’s now trying to avoid a
sexual harassment lawsuit claiming he is on active military duty.
Active duty? Newspapers report that Mr. Clinton claims as
commander in chief he is covered under the Soldiers and Sailors
Relief Act of 1940, which grants automatic delays in lawsuits
‘
20
The two presidential campaigns and their parties ultimately
spent more than $60 miliion during the 1996 election on ads,
funded in substantial part with soft money, that praised their
candidate or criticized the opposing candidate by name.
Much of this money was solicited by the presidential
candidates or their campaign fundraisers, and donated to the
national party committees, which then transferred a mixture
of hard and soft money funds to particular state parties. The
state parties immediately transferred the same funds back to
the Washington, DC-based media consultants for the
presidential campaigns, who then placed the ads in the name
of the state party.”*
This flow of funds highlights the integral role in the
soft money system played by the state parties, which acted as
little more than conduits for injecting soft money into the
against military personnel until their active duty is over. Active
duty? Bill Clinton, he’s really something.
Common Cause Letter, supra note 43, at 36.
*’ See Thompson Committee Report, supra note 4, at 8294-8305
(Minority Rpt.).
** To trace just two of several hundred similar transactions documented
in the evidence compiled by Common Cause, the DNC on November 17,
1995 transferred $81,070 in soft money to the California Democratic
Party, and on November 21, 1995 transferred $39,930 in hard money. On
November 22, 1995, the California Democratic Party transferred $81,070
in soft money and $39,930 in hard money to Squier, Knapp, Ochs
Communications, a media consultant for the Clinton presidential commit-
tee, to pay for a broadcast ad aired in the name of the state party.
Similarly, on June 24, 1996, the RNC transferred $780,870 in soft money
to the California Republican State Party, and on June 25, 1996, it
transferred $384,608 in hard money. On June 25, 1996, the California
state party sent $780,870 in soft money and $384,608 in hard money to
Multi-Media Services Corp., a media buyer in Alexandria, Virginia that
made the media buys for the Dole campaign and was headed by the chief
pollster for Dole. See Common Cause, The Money Trail: The Democrats
(1996) and The Money Trail: The Republicans (1996), in the record at
DEV 36, Tab 9 and Tab 10; see also Thompson Committee Report, supra
note 4, at 4467.
21
presidential campaigns. Most of the soft money deployed in
the 1996 campaign by the national parties was routed through
the state parties and then paid out to the media consultants for
the presidential campaigns. This was done in order to
maximize the amount of soft money that could be used to
fund the ads.*”
But substantial amounts of soft money also were donated
directly to the state parties at the behest of national party
officials, thus bypassing the national party accounts in order
to avoid federal reporting requirements.’ Thus, for instance,
at the same time that “Vice President Gore was attacking the
Republican National Committee as ‘just about a wholly
owned subsidiary of the tobacco industry,” DNC fundraisers
asked R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. to make campaign con-
tributions through state Democratic parties.””'
And there are many other examples. Roger Tamraz, for
instance, made most of his contributions directly to Demo-
cratic state parties, at the direction of DNC officials,
including $100,000 to the Virginia state party and $25,000 to
the Louisiana state party.’ Another controversial DNC fund-
raiser, John Huang, solicited $482,500 in soft money that was
* FEC allocation regulations more leniently regulated state parties, and
allowed them to spend a greater proportion of soft money on an ad, than
could the national party in airing the same ad. Compare 11 C.F.R.
§ 106.5(b) (2002) (allocation of expenses between federal and non-federal
activities by national party committees) with id at § 106.5(d) (2002)
(allocation by state and local party committees).
* See Charles Babcock, DNC Diverted Controversial Donations,
Wash. Post, April 13, 1997, at Al (“Democratic National Committee
officials channeled millions of dollars in campaign donations to state
Democratic parties last year, effectively hiding big contributions from
tobacco, gambling and other special interests . .. Because the money was
not deposited in the accounts of the national party, the identities of the
es not appear on the DNC’s federal disclosure reports.”).
I
*? See Thompson Committee Report, supra note 4, at 2913-14.
22
given directly to Democratic state parties in 1996.° Carl
Lindner, chairman of Chiquita Brands and a longtime
Republican donor, “quietly gave $415,000 to about two dozen
Democratic state parties . . . in April 1996, only hours after
the [Clinton] administration formally challenged European
Union trade sanctions against Central American bananas
grown by Chiquita.”
In October, 1996, Common Cause filed a complaint with
the Justice Department that urged the appointment of an
independent counsel to conduct a criminal investigation into
the “knowing and willful” violation of the federal election
laws arising from the use of soft money by both parties and
both presidential campaigns in the 1996 election.” A parallel
complaint was filed with the FEC, calling on the agency to
pursue civil violations of the law.
After a two year criminal investigation, the Attorney
General ultimately closed the Justice Department’s inquiry
without taking action,” and referred the matter for civil
*? See Ira Chinoy, DNC Donors Also Gave to State Groups, Wash.
Post, Jan. 26, 1997, at Al.
“George Archibald, Banana Baron Peeled off Half a Mil; White
House Paid Back in WTO Fight, Wash. Times, Aug. 25, 1997, at Al.
According to Time, “DNC officials instructed Lindner to give directly to
state party coffers, which are subject to far less public scrutiny than
federal election accounts.” Michael Weisskopf, The Busy Back Door
Men, Time, March 31, 1997, at 40.
*> See Common Cause Letter, supra note 43.
© Notification to the Court Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 592(b) of the
Results of Preliminary Investigation filed in In re William Jefferson
Clinton (D.C. Cir. Dec. 7, 1998) (Independent Counsel Division). The
Attorney General did not conclude that the soft money advertising was
lawful, but only that the campaigns acted pursuant to advice of counsel,
and therefore lacked the requisite specific intent to commit a criminal
violation of the law. /d. at 8.
hr POLO EE gE eR He
23
enforcement to the FEC which also--contrary to the advice of
its staff--failed to act.°”
In the absence of any law enforcement action, the abuses of
1996 became the established practices of subsequent cam-
paigns. Both presidential candidates in the 2000 election
cycle raised soft money, which was funneled through national
party accounts to state party accounts and then used to fund
so-called “issue” ads promoting their campaigns.”®
*’ See Statement of Reasons of Comm. Scott E. Thomas in In the
Matter of Dole for President, Inc. et al., MURs 4553 and 4671 (FEC May
25, 2000) at 2-5, available at http://www.fec.gov/members, thomas/
Thomasstatement05.htm (recounting procedural history of the FEC’s
consideration of the audit and enforcement actions involving the 1996
presidential campaign spending). On most of the series of votes about
whether to proceed with the enforcement actions, the Commission
deadlocked by a vote of 3-3, thus resulting in the closure of the
matters. /d.
8 See e. g., Howard Kurtz, DNC Issue Spot Touts Gore's Medicare
Plan, Wash. Post, June 8, 2000, at A4:
The Democratic National Committee unveiled its first issue ad
designed to boost Vice President Gore’s campaign yesterday,
featuring Gore calling for expanded Medicare benefits to shield the
elderly from “ridiculously high prices for prescription medicines.”
While Democratic National Chairman Joe Andrew ... described
the commercial as a “party-building” spot, it never mentions the
Democratic Party. Instead, the 30 second ad spotlights Gore and a
Web site touting “the Gore Plan,” and is produced by Gore’s media
consultants, including Carter Eskew and Robert Shrum. . . .
The ad is financed in part by controversial “soft money” dona-
tions to the party that are supposed to be used to generate support
for the party and not to explicitly promote a specific candidate.
See also Peter Marks, Some Soft Money to Pay for Gore Ad Blitz, N.Y.
Times, June 7, 2000, at A28. The RNC shortly followed suit, running
similar ads praising its nominee, George Bush. See Howard Kurtz, GOP
Launches Its First Salvo in ‘Issue’ Ad War, Wash. Post, June 11, 2000,
at A4.
Common Cause (joined by Democracy 21) again filed complaints with
the Department of Justice and the FEC arguing that this use of soft money
was illegal. Neil A. Lewis, The 2000 Campaign: The Donations; 2
24
During the 1990’s, soft money also migrated from the
presidential to the congressional level, where it was raised by
congressional candidates and used, first, for grassroots
activities and then, for broadcast ads to promote congres-
sional candidates.
There is no clearer illustration of this point than in the
growth of soft money raised by the congressional campaign
committees of both parties. These committees are national
party entities that consist in their entirety of sitting Members
of Congress in both Houses, and that have the purpose of
electing candidates of each party to the House and Senate.””
Notwithstanding this exclusively federal campaign func-
tion, all four congressional committees have raised and spent
huge sums of soft money, exposing the myth that soft money
is used only for non-federal purposes. In the 2002 election
cycle, for instance, the DCCC raised $53.7 million in soft
money, more than three times what it had raised in the 1998
cycle. The NRCC similarly tripled its 1998 soft money total,
to $60.7 million in the 2002 cycle. The two Senate campaign
Groups Ask Justice Dept. To Investigate Parties’ Ads, N.Y. Times, July
28, 2000, at Al6. Both complaints were ultimately dismissed without
action.
*° The Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee (DCCC), for
instance, describes itself as “the only national party committee whose
principal mission is to elect Democrats to the House of Representatives.”
See DCCC website at http://www.dccc.org/about/. Similarly, the
Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee (DSCC) describes itself as
“the national committee of the Democratic Party formed to elect
Democratic members of the United States Senate.” See DSCC website at
http://www.dscc.org/information/about/. To the same effect, the National
Republican Senatorial Committee (NRSC) says on its website, “It is our
sole responsibility to make sure that Republican Senate candidates are
elected to the United States Senate.” See NRSC.org website at http://
www.nrsc.org/nrscweb/aboutus/. The National Republican Congressional
Committee (NRCC) describes itself as “governed by its chairman, U.S.
Rep. Tom Reynolds (NY-26), and an executive committee composed of
Republican members of the U.S. House of Representatives.” See NRCC
website at http://nrec.org/nrcccontents/issuesagenda/overview.shtml.
25
committees did even better. The DSCC raised a total of
$85.9 million in soft money in 2002, over four times what it
raised in 1998. The NRSC increased its soft money from
$23.2 million to $54.1 million.” With regard to the soft
money practices of the party congressional campaign com-
mittees, the Thompson Committee Minority Report noted:
Like the national party committees, the parties’ national
senatorial and congressional campaign committees raise
and spend soft money in ways that render prohibitions
on corporate and union contributions virtually mean-
ingless. Senatorial and congressional campaign commit-
tees are intended, as their names imply, to help elect
United States Senators and Representatives. . . . The
amounts of soft money raised [in 1996] by the House
and Senate committees increased dramatically over
previous years, demonstrating the greater importance of
soft money in the last election cycle.”
But the apotheosis of the soft money infiltration into
congressional campaigns came with the development of
congressional “joint fundraising committees”--which were in
essence nothing more than dedicated soft money accounts for
specific congressional candidates. These joint committees,
used by more than 20 Senate campaigns in 2000, were typic-
ally formed between the candidate’s campaign committee and
the senatorial campaign committee of the candidate’s national
party. A Senate candidate typically solicited both soft and
hard money for his or her designated joint committee. The
hard money contributions would be disbursed to the
* See Common Cause, “National Parties Raise Record $470.6 Million
In Soft Money During The 2001-2002 Election Cycle Before New Law
Takes Effect” (Jan. 6, 2003), available at http://www.commoncause.org/
news/default.cfm? ArtID=83.
*' Thompson Committee Report, supra note 4, at 7518 (Minority Rpt.).
The report also states: “Experts agree that soft money into the House and
Senate campaign committees stretches to the limit the credibility of the
argument that the money is being used only for party building and not to
elect federal candidates.” /d. at 7527, n. 27.
26
candidate’s authorized campaign committee, and the soft
money would be sent to the party senatorial committee, which
would place the money in party soft money accounts. The
party committee would then typically transfer the soft money
to the state party of the Senate candidate who raised the
money, which would then spend it for candidate-specific
“issue ads” and other voter activities to support the Senate
candidate.” In effect, these joint fundraising committees
allowed Senate candidates to raise soft money in their own
name and for their own campaigns. All pretense of doing
anything else was dropped.”
The growing use of soft money in congressional races in
the 2000 cycle, combined with its continuing use in the
presidential campaign, resulted yet again in the near doubling
of the soft money raised, from $271 million in 1996 to $498
million in 2000. The soft money system had now
mushroomed into a loophole of nearly half a billion dollars.
IV. Congress Crafted BCRA’s Soft Money Ban To
Ensure That It Would End the Circumvention of
the Campaign Finance Laws.
Congress wrote Title | of BCRA in light of this history of
how the soft money system actually evolved, and how it
actually worked. Practical experience shows that the
-provisions of Title I are each necessary to close the soft
money loophole. Three points in particular are crucial.
® See John M. Broder, Democrats Able to Circumvent Donation Limit,
N.Y. Times, Dec. 22, 1999, at Al.
* In April 2000, Common Cause and Democracy 21 filed a complaint
with the FEC, alleging that these joint fundraising committees were
illegal. The FEC ultimately dismissed the complaint without action. See
Statement of Reasons of Comm. Scott E. Thomas in /n the Matter of
Ashcroft Victory Committee et al., MUR 4994 (FEC Dec. 19, 2001)
available at http://www.fec.gov/members/thomas/thomasstatement4 | .html.
* Mann Expert Report, supra note 26, at Table 1.
a, _
ee we eyes
27
A. The total ban on national party soft money is
necessary.
Experience shows, as this Court has recognized, that
parties act as agents “on behalf of those who seek to produce
obligated officeholders.” Colorado Republican II, 533 U.S.
at 452. The relationship between national parties and federal
officeholders is so inextricably intertwined--as noted above,
four of the six national party committees are in fact nothing
more than associations of federal officeholders--that to serve
anti-corruption purposes effectively, a soft money ban must
preclude the national parties from raising or spending any soft
money, for any purpose. Otherwise, national party officials
will continue, as they have, to broker access to and influence
with federal officeholders for those who donate large amounts
of soft money to the national parties, even if the parties spend
that money for purportedly non-federal purposes. Likewise,
national party officials will continue, as they have, to direct
donors like Roger Tamraz or Carl Lindner to make large
contributions directly to state parties or candidates in a cor-
rupt relationship that exchanges money for access to, or
benefits from, federal officeholders. With regard to the
national parties, Congress correctly recognized that the nub of
the issue is how the money is raised, not how it is spent.
B. The kan on state party soft money for “Federal
election activities” is necessary.
The history of the soft money system recounted above
demonstrates why Congress was correct to extend Title I of
BCRA to the state parties, which have been integral par-
ticipants in the funneling of soft money into federal elections.
The state parties have been the willing vehicles through
which national parties and federal candidates have operated--
to transfer, direct and spend soft money funds for federal
electora! purposes. Indeed, as the flow of funds in the 1996
campaign shows, the state parties have been used as eager
conduits to “game” the allocation rules specifically in order
to maximize the amount of soft money that could be spent. If
28
Congress had failed to take account of the role of the state
parties in this history, and had banned soft money only for
national party committees, the entire soft money system
would simply have shifted to the state party level and re-
created itself there.
But this history also shows that the objections to BCRA by
the Political Party Appellants are based on little more than
hyperbole. BCRA is not the radical new regulatory regime
they describe. State parties have for decades operated under
federal rules that, inter alia, require them to use exclusively
hard money for ads that expressly advocate the election of
federal candidates, and to limit their contributions to, or
spending in coordination with, federal candidates.
Moreover, since 1978, the state parties had operated under
a federal allocation system that required them to use hard
money to pay at least part of the costs of voter mobilization
activities that affected federal elections (even if these activ-
ities also affected state and local elections)--a federal regula-
tory regime that Congress ultimately found was inadequate to
protect compelling federal interests.
Thus, BCRA does not suddenly impose federal rules on
state parties where none had existed before. Instead, it simply
defines, by statute, certain state party activities that Congress
correctly deemed to affect federal elections, and substitutes
one allocation system for another: instead of funding these
activities with a mixture of hard money and soft money, the
parties are now to fund them with a mixture of hard money
and limited soft money funds raised pursuant to the Levin
Amendment.” If a state party wishes to avoid the conditions
° 2 'U.S.C. § 441a(a)(2)(A) (contribution limit); 2 U.S.C. § 441a(d)
(coordinated spending limit).
6 2 U.S.C. § 441i(b)(2) (added by BCRA § 101(a)) (Levin Amend-
ment). The Levin Amendment illustrates the particular care that Congress
took in balancing the need to protect federal interests in preventing
corruption, against its concern that state parties continue to have adequate
resources to engage in grassroots voter drive activities. Not only did
- ———
29
placed on the use of Levin funds, it is free to spend entirely
hard money for these activities. The state party has the
choice. And by the same token, Congress has left wholly
unregulated by federal law a wide range of state party
activities that are directed solely to state and local elections.°
C. The coverage of “voter mobilization” activities
is necessary.
Prior to the 1996 campaign, the soft money system oper-
ated exclusively through party spending on voter mobilization
activities such as voter registration and GOTV drives, and
generic campaign ads. That kind of spending--as the vivid
experience of the 1988 presidential campaign shows--was
how the soft money system worked. If Congress had failed to
cover these activities in BCRA, the reform law would do little
more than codify the pre-1996 soft money system, which was
already a system awash in “Team 100” type donors who were
solicited by the presidential campaigns for donations then
spent on the “ground war” to affect federal elections.
This history alone refutes the district court’s conclusion
that such voter mobilization activities do not directly or
sufficiently affect federal elections. Common sense also
Congress double the individual contribution limit on hard money dona-
tions to state parties, BCRA § 102 (codified at 2 U.S.C. § 441a(a)(1)(D)),
but in the Levin Amendment, it also provided state parties with an option
to raise funds under more liberal rules for certain voter mobilization
activities, in order to ameliorate the impact of BCRA on state parties.
*’ BCRA itself expressly excludes from the definition of “Federal
election activity” essential state party functions such as making contribu-
ions to state and local candidates, all “public communications” (such as
party-funded campaign ads) referring to state or local candidates if the
communications are not otherwise “Federal election activity,” the costs
of state and local conventions, and the costs of grassroots campaign
materials that name only state or local candidates. 2 U.S.C. § 431(20)
(B){i)-(iv). In addition, any other state party spending that is not within
the definition of “Federal election activity,” 2 U.S.C. § 431(20)(A), is also
excepted, such as voter registration drives prior to 120 days before a
federal election, or party administrative costs.
30
counsels that when state parties spend money to register their
core voters and get them to the polling booth where they will
cast votes on ballots that contain federal candidates, such
spending will necessarily and substantially benefit federal
candidates and affect those federal elections. Even if the
party’s “message” in turning out voters is a generic one that
promotes the party without mentioning any candidates, or is
one directed solely to state and local races, there is no doubt
that the voters who are brought to the polls then cast their
ballots in federal races as well. That impact, and the history
of circumvention which is the defining characteristic of the
soft money system, amply justify Congress’ judgment to
include such spending within the definition of “Federal
election activity.”
CONCLUSION
The Court should sustain the constitutionality of BCRA as
a measure necessary to address the dangers of corruption and
the appearance of corruption caused by the rise of soft money
in American campaigns, and as a necessary anti-circum-
vention measure to close the soft money loophole.
The Party Appellants erroneously equate a loss of soft money
funding for their voter mobilization activities with a limit (or even, ban)
on the activities themselves. Nothing could be further from the truth.
Although the Party Appellants repeatedly refer to Title | as a “spending
limit,” e.g., Br. at 48, 50, or even, a “pure expenditure limit,” id at 39,
that is a clear mischaracterization. The state parties are free to engage in
as much voter mobilization activity as they wish, and to spend as much as
they want on such activities, so long as they use hard money, or funds
otherwise permitted by the Levin Amendment. This is no “spending
limit.” See Buckley, 424 U.S. at 21-22 (contribution limits upheld because
their effect “is merely to require candidates and political committees to
raise funds from a greater number of persons . . .”).
a,
Of Counsel:
DANIEL B. KOHRMAN
AARP FOUNDATION
LITIGATION
MICHAEL SCHUSTER
AARP
601 E Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20049
(202) 434-2060
August 5, 2003
Respectfully submitted,
DONALD J. SIMON *
SONOSK Y, CHAMBERS, SACHSE
ENDRESON & PERRY LLP
1425 K Street NW, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 682-0240
Counsel for Amici Curiae
Common Cause and AARP
* Counsel of Record
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.