Amicus Curiae Brief — Central Laborers' Pension Fund v. Heinz

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

—

No. 02-891

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

CENTRAL LABORERS’ PENSION FUND, PETITIONER

THOMAS E. HEINZ AND RICHARD J. SCHMITT, JR.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS

AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

THEODORE B. OLSON

Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

EILEEN J. O'CONNOR

Assistant Attorne y General

EDWIN S. KNEEDLER

Deputy Solicitor General

JOHN P. ELWOOD

Assistant to the Solicito?

General

KENNETH L. GREENE

JOHN A. DUDECK, JR.

Attorneys

De part» ent of Justice

Washi gton, D LZO5 380-000]

i ? } ,)

LOE) 1g -2 21;

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTION PRESENTED

The “anti-cutback” rule in Section 204(g) of the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 U.S.C.

1054(g), generally prohibits any amendment of a qualified

pension plan that has the effect of eliminating or reducing an

early retirement benefit attributable to services provided by

a participant before the amendment.

The question presented is whether an amendment to a

multiemployer pension plan that provides for the suspension

of the payment of early retirement benefits during periods

that a participant, after retiring, is again employed in the

same industry is a prohibited elimination or reduction of

benefits when applied to employees who retired before adop-

tion of the amendment.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the United States

Statement

Summary of argument

Argument:

An amendment to a multiemployer pension plan

that expands the types of post-retirement employ-

ment that trigger suspension of benefit payments

within the limits permitted by ERISA Section

203(a)(3)(B) may be applied to participants who

retired before the amendment without violating

CCRC DOGG occcscsccczccnszcscsscsssecccsecasscvecscenseceossvessssscessacocoes

A. The text and structure of ERISA establish

that a plan may apply amended suspension

provisions to current retirees without “reduc-

ing” benefits in violation of Section 204(g) .............

B. The legislative history of the Retirement

Equity Act of 1984 confirms that Congress

did not intend Section 204(g) to prohibit

amendments to disqualifying employment

ND ctrcecenennenscssssnscsnesassnsssemacnnesseqnecnsnsecotnenmessees

C. The Department of the Treasury has long taken

the position that a suspension of benefit pay-

ments authorized by Section 203(a)(3)(B) does

not reduce benefits, and that application of

amended suspension-of-payment provisions

to benefits attributable to service prior to the

amendment does not violate Section 204(g) ...........

D. The court of appeals’ rule would create un-

warranted administrative burdens and harm

(III)

oie

—

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Alaska Dep't of Envtl. Conservation v. EPA,

No. 02-658 (Jan. 21, 2004) 26

Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504

(1981) 10, 11, 15, 25

Amato v. Western Union Int'l, 773 F.2d 1402

(2d Cir. 1985) 20

Bellas v. CBS, Inc., 221 F.3d 517 (3d Cir. 2000) .............. 17

Bencivenga v. Western Pa. Teamsters & Employers

Pension Fund, 763 F.2d 574 (3d Cir. 1985) .........0000ese0 20-21

Boeing Corp. v. United States, 537 U.S. 437

ED ccnemmmnnnee 25

Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624 (1998) ........c.cccccccssesesereee 26

Davis v. Michigan Dep't of Treasury, 489 U.S.

ee 9

Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1

GREED enensnsseneeene 14

Gade v. National Solid Wastes Mgmt. Ass'n,

Des Gn ED ereeestnentemnseimemmen 10

Great-West Life & Annuity Ins. Co. v. Knudson,

Ce )

Heath v. Varity Corp., 71 F.3d 256 (7th Cir. 1995) .......... 30

Hughes Aircraft Co. v. Jackson, 525 U.S. 432

REE Aes ae OE 6-7, 17, 18

Inter-Modal Rail Employees Ass'n v. Atchison,

Topeka & Santa Fe Ry., 520 U.S. 510 (1997) ............00.. 30

Mead Corp. v. Tilley, 490 U.S. 714 (1989) ..........ccccccceeeeee 17

Smith v. CMTA-IAM Pension Trust, 654 F.2d 650

Ge Ge SED exnenseemensnne 15

Spacek v. Maritime Ass'n, ILA Pension Plan,

134 F.3d 283 (5th Cir. 1998) ...........ccccccceeees 4, 7, 19, 21, 22, 24

Thomas Jefferson Univ. v. Shalala, 512 U.S. 504

Ne 27

V

Cases—Continued: Page

Washington State Dep't of Soc. & Health Servs. v.

Guardianship Estate of Keffeler, 537 U.S. 371

(2003) 27

Statutes and regulations:

- Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,

29 U.S.C. 1001 et seq.:

Tit. I, 88 Stat. 832 (29 U.S.C. 1001 et seq.) 1, 10

29 U.S.C. 1002(2)(A) 16

29 U.S.C. 1002(19) ll

29 U.S.C. 1002(23) 16, 17

29 U.S.C. 1002(24) 12

29 U.S.C. 1053 (§ 203) 11, 18, 20, 21, 23

29 U.S.C. 1053(a) (§ 203(a)) 11, 12, 13

29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(1) ($ 203(a)(1)) 11,18

29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3) (§ 203(a)(3)) 12, 13

29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(A) 12

29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(B) (§ 203(a)(3)(B)) ............ passim

29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(B)(ii) 13

29 U.S.C. 1053(a(3)(C) 12

29 U.S.C. 1053(aX(3)(D) 12

29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(E (ii) 13

29 U.S.C. 1053(aX(3F) , 12

29 U.S.C. 1053(c)(1)(A) 20

29 U.S.C. 1053(e)(1)(B) 20

29 U.S.C. 1054 (§ 204) 10

29 U.S.C. 1054(b)(1) 10

29 U.S.C. 1054(g) (§ 204(g)) passim

29 U.S.C. 1054(g)(1) (§ 204(g)(1)) .. 2, 28

29 U.S.C. 1054(g)(2) (§ 204(g)(2)) passim

29 U.S.C. 1054(g)(2)(A) 4

29 U.S.C. 1082(¢)(2) 28

29 U.S.C. 1083(b)(4) 28

29 U.S.C. 1132 (§ 502) 4

Tit. II, 88 Stat. 898 1,10

VI

Statutes and regulations—Continued: Page

Tit. IV, 88 Stat. 1003 (29 U.S.C. 1301 et seq.):

29 U.S.C. 1341a(d) 13

29 U.S.C. 1342(d)(1 (Av) 13

29 U.S.C. 1426 12, 20

29 U.S.C. 1441 12, 13, 20

29 U.S.C. 1441 (a) ..... 13

29 U.S.C. 1441(d)(1) 14

Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S.C.):

Section 411(a) .......c.cceseseseeeee 12

a 11

ee ee 11

Section 411(a)(3) ..........ccececersscerereees ssinsaeniaiaaiiimeaiiaaaniias 12

ETERS rae ae Te OCU 2

TERENCE ae ee aE 14

TTT Ne caer a 12

| TTT Ne ae nee 10

a iia initiaited 2, 11, 21, 26, 27

I races ici eaaan inner iienitineeaietaenenes 21

TTT ee ee 4

TE TE TTR eee a ee TA ern TO EEE 14, 20

Retirement Equity Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-397,

Is, TIT iceieeesintiheiihiatinnietniteiiiieabuianlbicaald adaiaasaatonenerits 7

I ona nnsecictaitiahtement asta cacineeteeerints 21

CE 11,17

TEE TTT ENE eI 28

26 C.F.R.:

I 23

SE aon enn eae eo 27

29 C.F.R.:

LRTI ne ete eae NLL eT 20

Hn 19

Reorg. Plan No. 4 of 1978, § 101, 92 Stat. 3799 .............. 1, 2, 24

Miscellaneous:

130 Cong. Rec. (1984):

IG ceenmssesscsssssemenecensssmseremmmnamenassessemenmmemammammaninsssen 22

IED cremesmnsnsenmenneanmmmetniennemmmmmmannsten 22

en

Vil

Miscellaneous—Continued:

Defined Benefit Listing of Required Modifications

and Information Package:

(1984) ‘

(1987)

(2000) <http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-tege/db_Irm.

pdf>

42 Fed. Reg. (1977):

p. 42,318

p. 42,339

53 Fed. Reg. (1988):

p. 26,050

p. 26,053

65 Fed. Reg. (2000):

Sg yyy :

p. 53,902

H.R. Rep. No. 655, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. (1984) 20...

IR-82-139, 1982 WL 210486 (Dec. 3, 1982) ........ccccessseeeeeeees

I.R.S. Notice 82-23, 1982-2 C.B. 752 ..........csscsseresserseseesersevees

John H. Langbein & Bruce A. Wolk, Pension.and

Employee Benefit Law (3d ed. 2000) .........csesseceevees

Multiemployer Plan Examination Guidelines

(2001) (available at WESTLAW, RIA-IRM

GURTREND cence

1 Richard J. Pierce, Jr., Administrative Law

ee En

Rev. Rul. 81-140, 1981-1 C.B. 180 ..........ccsessssssssscseseseneneeenees

S. Rep. No. 575, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. (1984)...

3 Staff of the Subcomm. on Labor of the Senate

Comm. on Labor and Public Welfare, 94th Cong., _

2d Sess., Legislative History of the Employee Retire-

ment Income Security Act of 1974 (Comm. Print

BPCED cnnsenmsnssssspemmesemenssenenmesnsememnemesnsmmannanans

T.D. 7501, 1977 WL 52383 (Apr. 25, 1977) .......cccesesesereereneee

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary

:

SSS SS BS

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 02-891

CENTRAL LABORERS’ PENSION FUND, PETITIONER

Vv.

THOMAS E. HEINZ AND RICHARD J. SCHMITT, JR.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS

AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case presents the question whether an amendment to

a multiemployer pension plan that permits the plan to sus-

pend payment of early retirement benefits during periods

that a retired participant is again employed in the same

industry constitutes a reduction of benefits prohibited by

Section 204(g) of the Employee Retirement Income Security

Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. 1054(g). With certain

exceptions, the Secretary of the Treasury has authority to

interpret and administer the provisions of Title I of ERISA

relating to the vesting and accrual of benefits under qualified

pension plans, as well as the corresponding provisions of

Title Il of ERISA relating to the qualification of pension

plans for favorable tax treatment. See Reorg. Plan No. 4 of

1978, § 101, 92 Stat. 3790. That authority encompasses both

(1)

2

» 204.) of ERISA and its counterpart in the Internal

ode (Code), 26 U.S.C. 411(d)(6), which imposes

. requirements. The Secretary of Labor has more

ropera. authority to interpret and administer Title I of

LISA, ineluding Section 203(a)(3)(B), 29 U.S.C.

13) B), and its Code counterpart, 26 U.S.C.

lia 8), which govern the suspension of benefit pay-

luring periods in which retired participants are

employed in certain capacities. See 92 Stat. 3790. The

nited States filed an amicus curiae brief in this case at the

petition stage in response to this Court’s order inviting the

Soheitor General to express the views of the United States.

STATEMENT

Section 204(g) of the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. 1054(g), provides

that an amendment to a pension plan may not decrease the

“accrued benefit” of a pension plan participant, and further

provides that a plan amendment that has the effect of

“eliminating or reducing” an early retirement benefit

attributable to-service before the amendment shall be

treated as a prohibited decrease of accrued benefits. 29

U.S.C. 1054(g)(1) and (2). A separate provision of ERISA,

Section 203(a)(3)(B), 29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(B), authorizes a

multiemployer pension plan to provide for the suspension of

the payment of benefits to retirees during periods in which

they are employed in the same industry, trade or craft, and

geographic area covered by the plan. This case presents the

question whether an amendment to a niultiemployer pension

plan that permits the pian to suspend payment of early re-

tirement benefits during periods that a participant, after

retiring, is again employed in the same industry constitutes

a prohibited reduction of the benefits themselves under

Section 204(g). In the judgment of the United States,

amendments permitting such suspensions or expanding the

3

scope of employment triggering such suspensions may be

applied to current retirees without violating Section 204(g).

The language and structure of ERISA show that Congress

distinguished between temporary suspension of benefit

payments authorized by Section 203(a)(3)(B) and reductions

in the accrued benefits themselves (that is, the participant’s

entitlement under a plan, ordinarily based on his years of

service and compensation history and ordinarily expressed

as a defined periodic payment at normal retirement age).

Accordingly, a suspension of benefit payments permitted by

Section 203(a)(3)(B) does not reduce a participant’s accrued

benefits under the plan. A plan amendment that permits

such a suspension or expands the scope of employment that

will trigger a suspension likewise does not constitute a

prohibited reduction in benefits.

1. Respondents are participants in a multiemployer de-

fined benefit pension plan that is administered by petitioner

Central Laborers’ Pension Fund. Respondents retired in

1996, when they were each 39 years old. Upon retirement,

they began receiving monthly benefit payments under a so-

called “service only” pension (i.e., a pension supplying bene-

fits calculated only on their length of service and supported

entirely by employer contributions). Those payments were

available to plan participants who retired at any age, so long

as they had earned a threshold number of pension credits.

Under the plan, the monthly early retirement benefit

payments were the same as the payments available at

normal retirement age. Thus, the pension provided a “sub-

sidized” retirement benefit, in that payments were not

actuarially reduced to take into account the fact that pay-

ments began earlier and would likely continue over a longer

period. Pet. App. 4a. Under the plan, monthly benefit

payments for persons who retire before age 60 are sus-

pended during periods when the retirees thereafter work in

certain “disqualifying employment.” At the time respon-

4

dents retired, the plan defined “disqualifying employment”

as employment “in a job classification of any type specified

and covered in a collective bargaining agreement or in any

occupation or job classification where contributions are to be

made to the Fund pursuant to a written agreement (either

as a union or non-union construction worker).” Jbid.

After their retirement, respondents obtained jobs as

supervisors in the construction industry. That type of

employment was not then “disqualifying employment” under

the plan, and respondents therefore continued to receive

their monthly payments. Two years after respondents

retired, the plan was amended to expand the definition of

“disqualifying employment” to include (for participants who

retire before age 53) work “in any capacity in the construc-

tion industry (either as a union or non-union construction

worker).” Pet. App. 5a. The plan construed the amended

definition of “disqualifying employment” to encompass the

supervisory work performed by respondents. Accordingly,

after providing respondents notice, the plan suspended their

monthly benefit payments. /bid.

2. Respondents brought this action against the plan

under Section 502 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 1132, to obtain

payment of the suspended benefits. Respondents claimed

that the plan amendment defining “disqualifying employ-

ment” to include supervisory work violates Section 204(g) of

ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 1054(g), by “reducing an early retirement

benefit.” 29 U.S.C. 1054(g)(2)(A); 26 U.S.C. 411(d)(6)(B)(i).

The district court ruled in favor of the plan. Pet. App.

33a-45a. Relying on Spacek v. Maritime Ass’n, ILA Pension

Plan, 134 F.3d 283 (5th Cir. 1998), the court held

hat the amendment to the plan did not violate Section 204(g)

because it involved a “suspension of benefit payments”

expressly authorized by ERISA rather than a prohibited

“reduction of benefits.” Pet. App. 37a-38a. The court ex-

plained that, “unlike a reduction in benefits situation, * * *

5

the suspension is temporary in nature and completely under

the control of the retirees who can avoid or terminate

suspension of benefit payments by declining or terminating

disqualifying employment.”’ Jd. at 38a.

3. A divided panel of the court of appeals reversed. Pet.

App. 3a-3la. The court recognized that the “suspension” of

benefit payments during respondents’ employment as super-

visors was only temporary under the plan (ibid.), and

acknowledged that suspension under “a pre-existing plan

provision * * * would not decrease accrued benefits.” Jd.

at 20a; accord id. at 14a n.10. The majority nevertheless

concluded that the amendment permitting suspension of

benefit payments effected a permanent “reduction” of re-

spondents’ total early retirement benefits because respon-

dents would “never recover[] the payments lost during the

employment period.” Jd. at 10a. The majority also noted

that respondents had “lost * * * the right to continue to

work in the industry while receiving monthly benefit

payments” (ibid.), and suggested that the loss of that right

also “was a reduction of early retirement benefits within the

plain meaning of [Section 204(g)(2)].” bid.

Judge Cudahy dissented. Pet. App. 24a-3la. He con-

cluded that an amendment permitting “suspension” of bene-

fit payments authorized by Section 203(a)(3)(B) does not

violate Section 204(g)’s prohibition on the “reduction” of

benefits (id. at 24a-26a), finding that conclusion to be “firmly

support[ed]” (id. at 26a) by the legislative history of Section

204(g)(2) and administrative interpretations of ERISA’s

benefit accrual provisions. Judge Cudahy also reasoned that

“the broadening of the ban on ‘double dipping’ ”—drawing a

pension funded by the construction industry while still

1 The district court also rejected respondents’ contention that peti-

tioner acted arbitrarily and capriciously by construing the amended defini-

tion of “disqualifying employment” to encompass supervisory work. Pet.

App. 38a-45a. That issue is not before the Court.

6

working in that industry—“seems not inequitable,” id. at

25a, because “the suspension of pension payments does not

reduce the recipient’s current income because the temporar-

ily lost pension income is replaced by earned income * * *

from the very same construction industry.” [bid.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The court of appeals erred in holding that Section 204(g)

of ERISA prohibits applying to current retirees (and

existing benefit accruals) a plan amendment that expands

the types of post-retirement employment that trigger tem-

porary suspension of early retirement benefit payments.

The language and structure of ERISA show that Con-

gress did not consider the temporary suspension of benefit

payments authorized by Section 203(a)(3)(B) to constitute a

“reduc[tion]” in benefits. It follows from that conclusion that

a plan amendment permitting the suspension of benefit pay-

ments under Section 203(a)(3)(B) likewise would not result in

a reduction of benefits prohibited by Section 204(g). ERISA

consistently distinguishes between a “reduction of benefits”

and an authorized “suspension of benefit payments.” In this

case, that distinction reflects the particular purpose served

by the suspension of benefit payments during disqualifying

reemployment under Section 203(a)(3)(B). Congress ex-

pressly authorized plans to suspend benefit payments during

periods of reemployment for the purpose of preventing par-

ticipants from engaging in “double-dipping” through post-

retirement employment in the same industry, so that current

employees will not be required to fund the benefits of re-

tirees while competing against them for wages, and to avoid

the diversion of plan resources from those who have fully

retired to those who continue to earn income by working.

Such suspensions do not constitute reductions in benefits

because, unlike reductions, they are by definition temporary,

and they do not affect the “defined level of benefits” (Hughes

4

Aircraft Co. v. Jacobson, 525 U.S. 432, 440 (1999)) to which a

participant is entitled under the plan. As soon as respon-

dents cease disqualifying employment, their pension pay-

ments will resume at precisely the same defined level as

before. In addition, Congress provided that although such

suspensions result in the permanent loss of individual pay-

ments during the months an employee is engaged in dis-

qualifying employment, the suspension does not effect a

prohibited forfeiture of the participant’s “right to an accrued

benefit.” 29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(B). As the Fifth Circuit

properly concluded, “an amendment authorizing such a sus-

pension does not serve to decrease a participant’s accrued

benefits, and thus cannot violate [Section 204(g)].” Spacek v.

Maritime Ass’n, ILA Pension Plan, 134 F.3d 283, 291 (1998).

The legislative history of the Retirement Equity Act of

1984 (REA), Pub. L. No. 98-397, 98 Stat. 1426, which made

clear that Section 204(g) applies to early retirement benefits,

confirms that understanding. To begin with, REA was

designed simply to clarify that Section 204(g) applies to both

normal retirement benefits and early retirement benefits,

and did not change the basic meaning of the word “benefit.”

Because an amendment expanding the types of disqualifying

employment under a suspension provision consistent with

Section 203(a)(3)(B) would not violate the anti-cutback rule if

it were applied to suspend fully accrued normal retirement

benefits, it would not violate the rule if similarly applied to

early retirement benefits. In addition, the principal House

sponsor of the legislation explicitly stated that it would in no

way affect suspension of benefit payments under Section

203(a)(3)(B).

Two decades of regulatory practice support the conclusion

that application of amended suspension-of-payment pro-

visions to current retirees and existing accruals does not

violate the anti-cutback rule. Regulations issued by the

Department of the Treasury have long provided that plans

8

need not adjust the accrued benefit of participants to account

for suspensions of payments under Section 203(a)(3)(B),

because ERISA deems that the withholding of such benefit

payments does not effect a prohibited forfeiture of those

accrued benefits. In addition, Internal Revenue Service

(Service) documents published as sample plan language for

employers since at least 1984 have said that plan sponsors

may adopt amendments that introduce suspensiom pro-

visions, without indicating that such amendments must be

limited to benefits accruing in the future. Consistent with

those documents, the Service has routinely approved such

plan amendments. The Service recently incorporated that

view into the Internal Revenue Manual, which explicitly

provides that an amendment that suspends benefit payments

“on account of [Section] 203(a)(3)(B) service does not violate

[the anti-cutback rule].” Multiemployer Plan Examination

Guidelines 4.72.14.3.5.3(7) (2001) (available on WESTLAW,

RIA-IRM database).

Finally, the court of appeals’ rule would disadvantage plan

participants, by diverting plan resources from those who

have fully retired, by requiring current employees to

continue to fund the benefits of early retirees while com-

peting with them for wages, and by giving plans the incen-

tive to adopt and retain the most stringent disqualifying

employment provisions. The court of appeals’ rule also

would impose significant administrative burdens on plan

administrators by requiring them to track which suspension

provisions apply to which accruals.

ARGUMENT

AN AMENDMENT TO A MULTIEMPLOYER PEN-

SION PLAN THAT EXPANDS THE TYPES OF POST-

RETIREMENT EMPLOYMENT THAT TRIGGER

SUSPENSION OF BENEFIT PAYMENTS WITHIN

THE LIMITS PERMITTED BY ERISA SECTION

203(a)(3)(B) MAY BE APPLIED TO PARTICI-

PANTS WHO RETIRED BEFORE THE AMEND-

MENT WITHOUT VIOLATING SECTION 204(g)(2)

A. The Text And Structure Of ERISA Establish That A

Plan May Apply Amended Suspension Provisions To

Current Retirees Without “Reducing” Benefits In

Violation Of Section 204(g)

The court of appeals held that “a pension plan amendment

which expands the types of post-retirement employment

that trigger mandatory suspension of early retirement

benefits violates ERISA’s ‘anti-cutback’ rule * * * when

applied to” persons who retired before the date of the

amendment. Pet. App. 3a. Indeed, the court indicated that

its holding extended to the suspension of benefits that are

attributable to service before the date of the amendment,

even if the participant had not yet retired at the time of the

amendment. Jd. at 10a n.6. The court reached those

conclusions based on its understanding of the “plain mean-

ing” of Section 204(g)’s prohibition on “reducing a[] * * *

benefit” (29 U.S.C. 1054(g)(2)), viewing the provision in

isolation. See Pet. App. 7a- 10a. The court failed to consider

Section 204(g) within the context of the “comprehensive and

reticulated” (Great-West Life & Annuity Ins. Co. v. Knud-

son, 534 U.S. 204, 209 (2001)) scheme enacted by Congress.

See generally Davis v. Michigan Dep't of Treasury, 489 U.S.

803, 809 (1989) (“It is a fundamental canon of statutory con-

struction that the words of a statute must be read in their

context and with a view to their place in the overall

10

statutory scheme.”). While the court of appeals’ interpreta-

tion of Section 204(g) “might be plausible were [this Court]

to interpret that provision in isolation, * * * it simply is not

tenable in light of [ERISA’s] surrounding provisions.” Gade

v. National Solid Wastes Mgmt. Ass’n, 505 U.S. 88, 99 (1992)

(opinion of O’Connor, J.). Read in context, Section 204(g)

does not prohibit application of amended suspension-of-pay-

ment provisions to participants who have already retired or

to the benefits of future retirees attributable to service

before the amendment.

1. ERISA prescribes distinct rules governing the accrual

and vesting of pension benefits, which operate to “assur[e]

that employees obtain rights to at least portions of their

normal pension benefits even if they leave their positions

prior to retirement.” Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc.,

451 U.S. 504, 510 (1981).

a. ERISA’s benefit-accrual rules, set forth in Section 204

of the Act, 29 U.S.C. 1054, set minimum requirements for the

rate at which plan participants earn benefits, esseatially to

ensure that accrual is not so “backloaded” (delayed) as to

make the nominal legal right under a plan to a pension of

little value because limited or no benefits have actually

accrued by the time the participant retires. See generally

John H. Langbein & Bruce A. Wolk, Pension and Employee

Benefit Law 153-154 (3d ed. 2000). Section 204(b) requires

that defined benefit plans satisfy one of three alternative

minimum benefit-accrual formulas. See 29 U.S.C. 1054(b)(1);

see also 26 U.S.C. 411(b)(1).2 Section 204(g), at issue here,

2 Title II of ERISA amended various provisions of the Internal

Revenue Code involving the qualification of pension plans for special tax

treatment in order to conform those provisions to the substantive require-

ments established by Title I of ERISA. The Internal Revenue Code thus

contains counterparts to many provisions of Title I of ERISA, including

both Sections 203 and 204. See generally Pension and Employee Benefit

Law, supra, at 91 (noting that tax provisions contained in “Titie II of

ERISA|] tend[} to duplicate the substantive regulation of ERISA’s [Title

a OOOO ee net AMI gal MN ge A me -

— a

11

provides that the benefits a participant has accrued in the

pension plan may not be decreased by an amendment to the

plan. As revised by the Retirement Equity Act of 1984

(REA), Pub. L. No. 98-397, § 301(a), 98 Stat. 1451, Section

204(g) further provides that a plan amendment that has the

effect of eliminating or reducing an early retirement benefit

attributable to service before the amendment “shall be

treated as reducing accrued benefits.” 29 U.S.C. 1054(g)(2);

see also 26 U.S.C. 411(d)(6).

b. ERISA also prescribes minimum requirements for the

“doctrinally distinct” (Pension and Employee Benefit Law,

supra, at 122) subject of the vesting of benefits. ERISA’s

vesting rules, set forth in Section 203 of the Act, 29 U.S.C.

1053, govern the time in which an employee’s claim to

accrued benefits becomes “nonforfeitable,” meaning “uncon-

ditional” and “legally enforceable against the plan.” 29

U.S.C. 1002(19). ERISA’s vesting rules thereby prevent

“practices unduly delaying an employee’s acquisition of a

right to enforce payment of the portion of benefits already

accrued.” Alessi, 451 U.S. at 513. They also restrict the

ability of plans to forfeit that right once it is acquired,

thereby preventing pension benefits from being forfeited as

a sanction “for quitting, for misconduct, or upon discharge.”

Pension and Employee Benefit Law, supra, at 121. Section

203(a) provides that an employee’s rights in his accrued

benefit derived from his own contributions are nonforfeitable

(i.e., vested) immediately as they accrue, and also establishes

alternative minimum schedules for the vesting of accrued

benefits derived from employer contributions. 29 U.S.C.

1053(a)(1) and (2); 26 U.S.C. 411(a)(1) and (2). Section 203(a)

also requires a pension plan to provide that a participant

must have a right to receive his normal retirement benefit

I} on such matters as funding and vesting”); id. at 235-237 (listing Code

sections that are counterparts to ERISA Title I provisions).

12

when he attains normal retirement age, 29 U.S.C. 1053(a);

see also 26 U.S.C. 411(a), which typically is 65 years of age.

29 U.S.C. 1002(24); 26 U.S.C. 411(aX(8). ERISA contains no

analogous rules regarding the vesting of early retirement

benefits. Thus, many plans provide for early retirement

benefits that are subject to various conditions, such as

service conditions that exceed the normal service conditions

for vesting of the accrued benefit, age conditions, and a wide

range of contingencies.

Section 203(a)(3) sets forth several exceptions to these

general rules of nonforfeitability. These exceptions provide

that a participant’s “right to an accrued benefit” derived

from employer contributions “shall not be treated as

forfeitable” solely because the plan provides that the benefit

is not payable or the payment of benefits is suspended or

reduced in specified circumstances. See 29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3).

The exception at issue here, Section 203(a)(3)(B), provides

that a right to accrued benefits derived from employer con-

tributions shall not be treated as forfeitable if the plan

provides that “the payment of benefits is suspended for

such period as the [participant] is employed, subsequent to

the commencement of payments of such benefits,” during

periods of specified employment.’ 29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(B).

For single-employer plans, disqualifying employment is

limited to reemployment for the same company. For multi-

3 In addition to authorizing suspension of benefit payments during

periods of disqualifying employment, Section 203(a)(3) also provides that a

right to an accrued benefit shall not be treated as forfeitable if benefits are

not paid: (1) because of the participant’s death (29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(A));

(2) because of a retroactive plan amendment on account of substantial

business hardship (29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(C)); (3) because of the participant’s

withdrawal of his mandatory employee contributions from a plan that

provides for such contributions (29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(D)); or (4) because

the plan is amended to reduce benefits or payment of benefits is sus-

pended under 29 U.S.C. 1426 and 1441 as part of the termination of a

multiemployer plan (29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(F)); see also 26 U.S.C. 411(a)(3).

|

13

employer plans of the sort at issue here, receipt of benefit

payments may be conditioned on the participant’s refraining

from employment “in the same industry, in the same trade or

craft, and the same geographic area covered by the plan.” 29

U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(B)ii). Section 203(a)(3)(B) authorizes the

Secretary of Labor to prescribe such regulations as may be

necessary to carry out its purposes.

2. The language and structure of ERISA show that

Congress did not consider the temporary suspension of bene-

fit payments authorized by Section 203(a)(3) to constitute a

“decrease” or “reduction” in the participant’s accrued bene-

fits under the plan, which will once again be paid to him if he

leaves disqualifying employment. Those provisions likewise

show that a plan amendment permitting such a suspension of

payments does not reduce the participant’s benefits in vio-

lation of Section 204(g). ——s

a. The language of ERISA consistently distinguishes be-

tween a “reduction of benefits” and a “suspension of benefit

payments.” See, e.g., 29 U.S.C. 1341a(d) (plan sponsor of

terminated plan “shall reduce benefits and suspend benefit

payments in accordance with [29 U.S.C.] 1441”) (emphasis

added); 29 U.S.C. 1342(d)(1A)(v) (providing trustee ap-

pointed to terminate plan with power “in the case of a multi-

employer plan, to reduce benefits or suspend benefit

payments under the plan”) (emphasis added). Several pro-

visions also specifically distinguish between an authorized

suspension of benefit payments and amendments undertaken

to reduce benefits. Indeed, one such provision appears in

Section 203(a) itself. See 29 U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(E)(ii) (stating

that a participant’s right to an accrued benefit under a multi-

employer plan shall not be treated as forfeitable solely

because “the plan is amended to reduce benefits under

section 1425 or 1441 of this title, or * * * benefit payments

under the plan may be suspended under section 1426 or 1441

of this title”) (emphasis added); see also 29 U.S.C. 1441(a)

14

(providing that in certain situations involving terminated

benefit plans, the plan sponsor “shall amend the plan to

reduce benefits, and shall suspend benefit payments, as

required by this section”) (emphasis added); 26 U.S.C.

411(a)(3)(F). The text of ERISA thus reflects that Congress

drew a distinction between a reduction of a participant’s

benefits as calculated under the rules of the plan and an

authorized suspension of benefit payments to a participant

and treated them differently. Cf. Fort Halifax Packing Co.

v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, 8 (1987) (“The words ‘benefit’ and ‘plan’

are used separately throughout ERISA, and nowhere in the

statute are they treated as the equivalent of one another.

Given the basic difference between a ‘benefit’ and a ‘plan,’

Congress’ choice of language is significant in its pre-emption

of only the latter.”).

The court of appeals found this textual distinction

insignificant. In its view, although the words had distinct

meanings in some applications, that did not mean that a plan

amendment permitting suspensions of benefit payments

would not “reduce benefits” within the meaning of Section

204(g). Pet. App. 12a-14a; see also Br. in Opp. 16. However,

there is nothing in the text of ERISA to suggest that an

amendment respecting authorized suspension of benefit

payments is to be treated as a reduction of accrued benefits

within the meaning of Section 204(g). Indeed, the only

provision of ERISA of which we are aware that speaks of

suspension of benefit payments having the effect of a

- reduction does not speak of a reduction of benefits—the

language used by 204(g)(2)—but a reduction of “the sum of

such payments.” 29 U.S.C. 1441(d)(1) (emphasis added); see

also 26 U.S.C. 418E(a) (payments shall be suspended “to the

extent necessary to reduce the swum of such payments and

the payments of such basic benefits”) (emphasis added).

b. This distinction ERISA draws between reductions in

benefits and suspension of benefit payments is not merely a

15

semantic one. In this case, for example, it reflects the special

purposes served by the suspension of benefit payments per-

mitted by Section 203(a)(3)(B). Congress expressly author-

ized the suspension of benefit payments during periods of

reemployment to prevent “double-dipping” through post-

retirement employment in the same industry, trade or craft,

and geographic area. As Congress clearly recognized, such

“double-dipping” disadvantages the employees who must

continue to fund the benefits of retirees, while competing

with them for the same wages; indeed, retirees may be able

to undercut active employees because they can afford to

work at lower salaries because of their pension income. See,

e.g., 3 Staff of the Subcomm. on Labor of the Senate Comm.

on Labor and Public Welfare, 94th Cong., 2d Sess.,

Legislative History of the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act of 1974, at 4376 (Comm. Print 1976) (ERISA

Leg. Hist.) (statement of Sen. Williams); id. at 4772 (state-

ment of Sen. Javits); see also Smith v. CMTA-IAM Pension

Trust, 654 F.2d 650, 658 n.9 (9th Cir. 1981). Double-dipping

also diverts plan resources from those who have fully retired

to those who continue to earn income by working. Cf. Alessi,

451 U.S. at 514 (noting that offsetting payments to a

participant also receiving Social Security benefits “would

advantage all participants [and) * * * would permit a

higher average pension payout for each participant”). To

permit plans to prevent double-dipping, Congress

specifically provided that they may suspend benefit

payments during periods of disqualifying employment

without the suspension constituting a prohibited forfeiture of

the benefits the participant has accrued under the plan.

Moreover, the congressional debates preceding enactment of

ERISA evinced a desire that “a plan’s provisions concerning

suspension [could] take into account” various factors about

industrial conditions that necessarily are not static: “the

particular facts and circumstances of the industry; the

16

objectives of industrial stability; [and] the conditions of

employment and earnings in the industry.” 3 ERISA Leg.

Hist. 4669 (statement of Rep. Dent). These considerations

suggest that Congress envisioned that suspension provisions

would be subject to amendment.

ce. In addition, the language Congress chose in Section

203(a)(3)(B) and Section 204(g) reflects two fundamental

differences between a “suspension of benefit payments” and

a “reduction of benefits.” First, a “suspension”—like the

suspension at issue here—ordinarily is temporary (see

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary 2303 (1993)

(“temporary withholding”)), while a “reduction” has no such

temporal limitation and is typically permanent or of

indefinite duration. See id. at 1905. The court of appeals

considered the temporary suspension at issue here to be a

permanent reduction only because it overlooked the second

fundamental difference—that between an “accrued benefit”

and a “benefit payment”—and thus erroneously held that

the temporary suspension “reduce[d] the participant’s total

early retirement benefits by an amount determined by how

long the disqualifying work continues.”* Pet. App. 10a.

4 The court of appeals also erred to the extent it held that respondents

had lost the “right” to continue to work in the construction industry while

receiving retirement payments from that industry. Pet. App. 10a. To

begin with, such a “right” would not be within the scope of benefits

ERISA was designed to regulate or the ordinary understanding of

ERISA benefits. See 29 U.S.C. 1002(2)(A) (stating that an “employee

pension benefit plan” is designed to “provide[] retirement income to em-

ployees”), 1002(23) (defining “accrued benefit”). In any event, respon-

dents lacked a statutorily protected right to receive such payments while

working, for the plan retained the right to amend its “disqualifying

employment” provision in the manner authorized by Section 203(a)(3)(B).

See J.A. 37. Since the plan’s amendment provision authorizes the plan to

adopt a “disqualifying employment” provision under which “the payment

of benefits is suspended” during periods of specified post-retirement

employment, the adoption of such a provision does not result in the loss of

any legally cognizable “right” to work in disqualifying employment while

receiving benefits or the loss (or reduction) of an “accrued” benefit.

17

Contrary to the court of appeals’ belief,-a participant’s

“accrued benefit” under a plan is not defined as the total sum

of the payments he or she actually receives over the course

of retirement. Rather, a participant’s “accrued benefit” rep-

resents his available entitlement under the plan (ordinarily

based on the participant’s years of service and compensation

history), which is typically expressed in terms of a defined

level of periodic payments at normal retirement age. See 29

U.S.C. 1002(23) (defining “accrued benefit” as “the in-

dividual’s accrued benefit determined under the plan and

* * * expressed in the form of an annual benefit com-

mencing at normal retirement age”); see also Hughes Air-

craft Co. v. Jacobson, 525 U.S. 432, 440 (1999) (describing

“accrued benefits” as “a right to a certain defined level of

benefits”); cf. Mead Corp. v. Tilley, 490 U.S. 714, 717 (1989)

(stating that a defined benefit plan provides “a fixed level of

benefits”).

d. When Congress amended Section 204(g) as part of the

REA to make clear that the provision applies to early retire-

ment benefits, it did so by prohibiting plan amendments

having the effect of eliminating or reducing an early retire-

ment “benefit” (rather than “accrued benefit”), see REA

§ 301(a), 98 Stat. 1451; 29 U.S.C. 1054(g)(2). That difference

in terminology, however, reflects no difference in substance,

because the amendment was simply added to address

uncertainty about whether early retirement benefits are

accrued benefits. See pp. 20-21, infra. And Congress

explicitly equated “benefits” and “accrued benefits” for these

purposes by providing that an amendment that has the effect

of reducing an early retirement benefit will be treated as

reducing “accrued benefits.” 29 U.S.C. 1054(g)(2). The

amendment thus did not expand the basic scope of what

Section 204(g) protects. Cf. Bellas v. CBS, Inc., 221 F.3d

517, 523 (3d Cir. 2000) (while “Congress did modify section

204(g) in [the REA] to the end that early retirement benefits

18

and retirement-type subsidies were defined as being accrued

for purposes of ERISA’s anti-cutback provisions,” “the

definition of an accrued benefit has not been modified”).

e. A benefit payment is a single periodic (typically

monthly) payment. The nonreceipt of periodic payments

because of a suspension authorized by Section 203(a)(3)(B)

does not result in a “reduction of benefit” if the participant’s

entitlement to “a certain defined level of benefits” (Hughes

Aircraft, 525 U.S. at 440) remains the same under the plan.”

Under that understanding, suspension of respondents’ bene-

fit payments pursuant to Section 203(a)(3)(B) does not re-

duce their benefits. As soon as respondents cease their dis-

qualifying employment—either by fully retiring, by entering

a different industry or trade, or by leaving central Illinois

—their pension payments will resume at precisely the same

defined level as before.°

3. The text of Section 203 itself confirms that suspension

of benefit payments during periods of disqualifying employ-

ment does not reduce a participant’s accrued benefit—and

that an amendment permitting such suspensions does not do

so either. Although the suspension of benefit payments

during periods of disqualifying employment results in the

° Thus, for example, if two participants of the same age and com-

pensation history had the same years of service with a company, and

therefore had the same “accrued benefit,” their “benefits” would be

considered the same although one had had payment of benefits suspended

during several months of disqualifying employment. By the same token,

the two employees would have the same “benefits” if one employee died

shortly after retirement and ceased receiving payments and the other

lived for thirty years after retirement.

6 Indeed, if the pension plan at issue here involved sufficient employee

contributions, instead of exclusively employer contributions, the benefit

payments would increase slightly. Because the participant retains an

absolute entitlement to recover his own contributions, see 29 U.S.C.

1053(a)(1), future payments would have to be increased to offset any loss

of payments derived from his own contributions during the period of

suspension.

19

plan “permanently withhold[ing}” payments that otherwise

would have been made during those months, I.R.S. Notice

82-23, 1982-2 C.B. 752; accord 29 C.F.R. 2530.203-3(d)(1)

(payment is “withheld permanently”), Section 203(a)(3)(B)

explicitly provides that the loss of those payments because of

disqualifying employment will not be deemed to effect a for-

feiture of a participant’s “right to an accrued benefit” (29

U.S.C. 1053(a)(3)(B)). Thus, Section 203(a)(3)(B) treats the

“accrued benefit” as remaining constant, and identifies the

potential issues resulting from a suspension of payments as

one of forfeiture of the right to that accrued benefit. Thus,

the text of Section 203(a)(3)(B) itself establishes that a parti-

cipant’s accrued benefit is not reduced by a suspension of

benefit payments during periods of disqualifying employ-

ment. It follows that “an amendment authorizing such a

suspension does not serve to decrease a participant’s accrued

benefits, and thus cannot violate [Section 204(g)].” Spacek,

134 F.3d at 291; accord Pei. App. 30a (Cudahy, J., dissenting)

(“To change the rules governing suspensions is merely to

create a suspension with a little different design than an

earlier one. The rules addressing the consequences of in-

voking a suspension necessarily encompass changes leading

to a new form of suspension.”). And because an amendment

expanding the types of disqualifying employment under a

suspension provision censistent with Section 203(a)(3)(B)

would not violate the anti-cutback rule of Section 204(g) if it

were applied to suspend fully accrued normal retirement

benefits, it would not violate the rule if similarly applied to

early retirement benefits.’ As set forth more fully below,

7 Respondents contend that under this reading of ERISA, “a plan

would be entitled to promulgate an amendment ‘suspending’ all early

retirement benefits for 18 months, without violating the cutback rule.”

Br. in Opp. 15. Respondents’ concerns about a lack of protection against

such an amendment are unfounded. ERISA and its implementing

regulations explicitly authorize suspension of benefit payments under only

20

giving early retirement benefits greater protection than

normal retirement benefits would be contrary to Congress’s

plain intent in enacting the REA.

Moreover, Section 203 contains its own prohibition on

certain types of plan amendments that affect benefit vesting

that parallels the protection of Section 204(g) for benefit

accrual. Section 203(c) prohibits plan amendments that alter

vesting schedules and that have the effect of reducing parti-

cipants’ nonforfeitable percentage of accrued benefits, unless

the amendment gives participants the option of having their

nonforfeitable percentage calculated under the pre-amend-

ment vesting schedule. See 29 U.S.C. 1053(c)(1)(A) and (B).

Because Section 203 contains its own limitation on plan

amendments—which does not apply ta amendments pro-

viding for suspension of payments as permitted by Section

203(a)(3)(B)—there is particular reason to conclude that

amendments involving suspension-of-payment provisions are

not governed by a separate limitation on plan amendments

contained in another section of ERISA addressing the dis-

tinct subject of the accrual of benefits.

B. The Legislative History of the Retirement Equity Act

of 1984 Confirms That Congress Did Not Intend

Section 204(g) To Prohibit Amendments To Dis-

qualifying Employment Provisions

Under ERISA as originally enacted, it was uncertain

whether early retirement benefits were “accrued benefits.”

See, e.g., Amato v. Western Union Int'l, 773 F.2d 1402, 1407,

1414 (2d Cir. 1985) (holding that early retirement benefits

are “accrued” for purposes of anti-cutback rule); Bencivenga

v. Western Pa. Teamsters & Employers Pension Fund, 763

F.2d 574, 577-578 (3d Cir. 1985) (“Case law also supports the

two circumstances—during periods of disqualifying employment and

during plan termination or insolvency. See, e.g., 29 U.S.C. 1426, 1441; 26

U.S.C. 418E(a); 29 C.F.R. 2530.203-3.

21

conclusion that early retirement benefits are not accrued

benefits under ERISA.”). It was also unclear, therefore,

whether Section 204(g) as originally enacted prevented plans

from decreasing early retirement benefits. See Pension and

Employee Benefit Law, supra, at 164. In 1984, Congress

enacted the Retirement Equity Act, which made clear that

early retirement benefits are protected by Section 204(g)

against reduction by plan amendment. See REA § 301, 98

Stat. 1451. The REA added language to both ERISA

Section 204(g) and its Internal Revenue Code counterpart

(26 U.S. 411(d)(6)) providing that a plan amendment that has

the “effect of eliminating or reducing an early retirement

benefit or a retirement-type subsidy * * * with respect

to benefits attributable to service before the amendment

shall be treated as reducing accrued benefits.” 29 U.S.C.

1054(g)(2) (emphasis added); see also 26 U.S.C. 411(d)(6)(B).

As the language of the provision itself indicates, the

amendment was enacted for the purpose of affording early

retirement benefits “the same form of protection from reduc-

tion by amendment accorded to accrued benefits.” Spacek,

134 F.3d at 291. The Committee Reports emphasized that

the new language of Section 204(g)(2) merely “clarifies the

scope of the prohibition against [benefit] decreases” and

“would not affect the application of any other provision of

the Code.” S. Rep. No. 575, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. 28 (1984);

accord H.R. Rep. No. 655, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. 25-26 (1984)

(stating that Section 204(g)(2) “codifies present law”).

Nothing in the REA suggests an intent to intrude upon the

nonforfeitability rules and exceptions that Congress had

already established in Section 203, or to depart from the

understanding that a suspension of benefit payments pur-

suant to a plan provision authorized by Section 203(a)(3)(B)

does not result in a decrease of accrued benefits. As the

Spacek court concluded, because the amendment of a dis-

qualifying-employment provision of a plan permitted by

22

Section 203(a)(3)(B) does not abridge the “accrued benefits”

of plan participants with respect to normal retirement bene-

fits, “then it also cannot violate [Section 204(g)] if applied to

early retirement benefits.” 134 F.3d at 291.

Representative William Clay, the “principal sponsor” (130

Cong. Rec. 23,488 (1984)) of the House bill that embodied the

amendment to Section 204(g), made this point clear during

the congressional debates (id. at 23,487 (emphasis added)):

I wish to further clarify the anti cutback provisions of

Section 301 of the bill. Those provisions are not intended

to apply to benefit changes authorized by existing law.

* * * Nor do those provisions in any way apply to or

affect the provisions of ERISA section 203(a)(3)(B) and

[Internal Revenue Clode section 411(a)(3)(B) relating to

the suspension of benefits for postretirement employ-

ment, including the authorization for multiemployer

plans to adopt stricter rules for the suspension of

subsidized early retirement benefits.

As the court emphasized in Spacek, Representative Clay’s

statement indicates that Section 203(a)(3)(B) of ERISA

“authorizes the very type of [plan] amendment at issue in

this case [for employees who retire under a qualified plan],

and * * * [Section 204(g)] in no way limits this authoriza-

tion.” 134 F.3d at 290.

The court of appeals found Representative Clay’s remarks

to be “ambiguous at best” (Pet. App. 16a) and discounted

them because it could identify no other support in the

legislative history for Representative Clay’s explanation of

the amendment. Jbid. As the dissent below correctly ob-

served, however, the “effort of the majority to explain away

this comment is unconvincing” (id. at 26a), because the

“legislative history * * * fits so closely with the interpreta-

tion founded on plain meaning.” Ibid. Respondents likewise

err in contending (Br. in Opp. 18) that Representative Clay’s

23

statements “merely stressed * * * that REA did not alter

Section 203’s distinction between what forms of suspensions

may be promulgated for ‘normal’ retirement benefits as

compared to early-retirement benefits.” There would have

been no need for Representative Clay to make a statement

having the meaning that respondents attribute to it. By its

own terms, Section 204(g)(2) applies only to “plan amend-

ment{s]” (29 U.S.C. 1054(g)(2)), and would have no applica-

tion to an unamended suspension provision of a plan that

differentiated between suspension of normal retirement

benefits and early retirement benefits.

C. The Department Of The Treasury Has Long Taken

The Position That A Suspension Of Benefit Payments

Authorized By Section 203(a)(3)(B) Does Not

Reduce Benefits, And That Application Of Amended

Suspension-Of-Payment Provisions To Benefits Attri-

butable To Service Prior To The Amendment Does

Not Violate Section 204(g)

1. More than two decades of regulatory practice supports

the conclusion that application of amended suspension-of-

payment provisions to current retirees and existing accruals

does not violate the anti-cutback rule. Since 1977, the

Department of the Treasury has taken the position in formal

regulations that “[nJo adjustment to an accrued benefit is

required on account of any suspension of benefits if such

suspension is permitted under [ERISA] § 203(a)(3)(B).” 42

Fed. Reg. 42,318, 42,339 (1977); 26 C.F.R. 1.411(c¢)-1(f).°

8 Although this regulation is codified in Title 26 of the Code of Federal

Regulations, the Department of the Treasury has made clear that its regu-

lations implementing the Internal Revenue Code provisions of ERISA

also apply to the corresponding sections in Title I of ERISA. See, e.g., 53

Fed. Reg. 26,050, 26,053 (1988) (“The regulations under section 411 are

also applicable to provisions of Title I [of ERISA).”); see also 65 Fed.

Reg. 53,901, 53,902 (2000) (“Treasury regulations issued under section

411(d)(6)(B) of the Code apply as well for purposes of Section 204(g)(2) of

24

Accord T.D. 7501, 1977 WL 52383 (Apr. 25, 1977) (explaining

the addition of paragraph (f)); Rev. Rul. 81-140, 1981-1 C.B.

180 (stating that when a retiree is employed “in section

203(a)(3)(B) service, the nonforfeitability requirements are

not violated even though actuarial adjustments to the

employee’s accrued benefit in a defined benefit plan are not

made”). The Department has explained that no such adjust-

ment is required in the case of suspensions of benefit

payments under Section 203(a)(3)(B) because under the text

of ERISA, “a plan may permanently withhold a participant’s

pension payment (without a prohibited forfeiture [of bene-

fits} resulting) for any month in which the participant is

employed in ‘section 203(a)(3)(B) service.’” I.R.S. Notice 82-

23, supra; accord [R-82-139, 1982 WL 210486 (Dec. 3, 1982).

As the Fifth Circuit correctly concluded in Spacek, “because

the reduction in total benefits paid over the lifetime of the

plan participant as a result of the suspension need not be

accounted for actuarially in computing the participant’s

accrued benefit under [29 U.S.C.] § 1054(c)(3),” an amend-

ment authorizing such a suspension “does not serve to de-

crease the participant’s accrued benefits, and thus cannot

violate [Section 204(g)].” 134 F.3d at 291.

The court of appeals majority found that Treasury regula-

tion unpersuasive. See Pet. App. 17a-2la. In the court’s

view, it is “irrelevant” (id. at 19a) that suspension of normal -

retirement benefit payments during periods of disqualifying

employment is not deemed to affect accrued benefits,

because under Section 204(g)(2), amendments that have the

effect of reducing early retirement benefits shall “be treated

as reducing accrued benefits.” Jd. at 18a; see also Br. in Opp.

18-19. The court erred. First, the court failed to appreciate

the import of the regulation, which is that because the mere

ERISA.”). See generally Reorganization Plan No. 4 of 1978, § 101, 92 Stat.

3790.

25

suspension of benefit payments 1s not deemed to cause a

reduction in the accrued benefit of a participant under the

plan, an amendment permitting such a suspension would not

result in a “reduction.” Congress presumably was aware of

this regulation when it enacted the REA in 1984, and

expected that a suspension of early retirement benefit

payments would no more constitute a reduction in such

“benefits” than a suspension of normal retirement benefit

payments would result in a decrease in “accrued benefits.”

Cf. Boeing Corp. v. United States, 537 U.S. 437, 457 (2003)

(Congress’s failure to reject interpretation of statute set

forth in regulations during subsequent enactments “is

persuasive evidence that Congress regarded that regulation

as a correct implementation of its intent.”); Alessi, 451 U.S.

at 519 (noting that “when it enacted ERISA, Congress knew

of the IRS rulings permitting integration and left them in

effect”). Second, the court of appeals’ reading would have

the perverse result of giving early retirement benefits

protection under Section 204(g) superior to that granted

normal retirement benefits, contrary to Congress’s clear

intent of merely extending them equivalent protection.

2. In addition, the Department of the Treasury’s practice

for nearly twenty years has reflected its view that plan

amendments that introduce suspension provisions or expand

the scope of disqualifying post-retirement employment

under Section 203(a)(3)(B) can be applied to benefits attri-

butable to service prior to the amendment. The Internal

Revenue Service (Service) periodically publishes a Listing

of Required Modifications (LRM) setting forth “samples of

plan provisions that have been found to satisfy cer-

tain specific requirements of the Internal Revenue Code,” so

as “to assist sponsors [of pension plans] who are drafting or

redrafting plans to conform to applicable law and

regulations.” Defined Benefit Listing of Required Modifica-

tions and Information Package cover page (2000)

<http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-tege/db_Irm.pdf>. Since at least

1984, the Service has explicitly stated in its LRMs that

existing plans may adopt a suspension-of-payment provision

under Section 203(a)(3)(B), without indicating that such an

amendment must be limited to new plans or new accruals.

See, e.g., id. at 111; Defined Benefit Listing of Required

Modifications and Information Package 44-46 (1987); De-

fined Benefit Listing of Required Modifications and Infor-

mation Package 44-45 (1984). The Service reports that

during that period, it has consistently approved plan amend-

ments that introduced suspension provisions or expanded

the scope of disqualifying employment without requiring the

plans to apply those provisions to new accruals only.

More recently, and after notice and comment, the Internal

Revenue Service incorporated its longstanding view into its

Multiemployer Plan Examination Guidelines, a manual that

sets forth technical guidance for Service field personnel. The

Guidelines state that “[aJn amendment that reduces IRC

411(d)(6) protected benefits on account of [Section]

203(a)(3)(B) service does not violate IRC 411(d)(6).” Multi-

employer Plan Examination Guidelines 4.72.14.3.5.3(7) (2001)

(available on WESTLAW, RIA-IRM database). This posi-

tion is entitled to deference as the considered judgment of

the agency charged with administering and implementing

both Section 204(g), its Code counterpart, 26 U.S.C.

411(d)(6), and most of the other accrual and vesting pro-

visions of ERISA, based on its long experience and

confirmed after public notice and comment. The “‘well-

reasoned views’ of an expert administrator rest on ‘a body

of experience and informed judgment to which courts and

litigants may properly resort for guidance.” Alaska Dep’t

of Envtl. Conservation v. EPA, No. 02-658 (Jan. 21, 2004),

slip op. 21 (quoting Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 642

(1998)); id. at 22 (“Cogent ‘administrative interpretations

. . not [the] products of formal rulemaking . . . neverthe-

27

less warrant respect.”) (quoting Washington State Dep't of

Soc. & Health Servs. v. Guardianship Estate of Keffeler, 537

U.S. 371, 385 (2003)) (alterations in original). Such views

warrant “serious consideration” because of the agency’s

“unique advantages” stemming from its “day-to-day efforts

to implement its statutory mission.” 1 Richard J. Pierce, Jr.,

Administrative Law Treatise § 6.4, at 334 (4th ed. 2002).

3. The court of appeals erred (Pet. App. 21a) in

concluding that a Treasury regulation implementing the

Internal Revenue Code counterpart of the anti-cutback rule

(26 U.S.C. 411(d)(6)) supports its conclusion in this case.

That regulation specifies that a plan may not be amended to

add new conditions that restrict the availability of a “section

411(d)(6) protected benefit that has already accrued.” 26

C.F.R. 1.411(d)-4 Q&A-7. By its own terms, however, that

regulation has no relevance to plan amendments that pro-

vide for suspension of benefit payments in accordance with

Section 203(a)(3)(B). Because a participant does not have a

right to be free from a post-retirement employment-dis-

qualification provision that (as in this case) conforms to

Section 203(a)(3)(B), he is not “protected” against the re-

sulting suspension of benefit payments. The regulation on

which the court of appeals relied therefore is simply

inapplicable to this case. Moreover, the Service does not

construe this regulation to prohibit plan amendments per-

mitting suspension of benefit payments under Section

203(a)(3)(B), but rather, as explained above, has explicitly

concluded that amendments permitting suspension of pay-

ments “on account of 203(a)(3)(B) service does not violate

{the anti-cutback rule].” Multiemployer Plan Examination

Guidelines 4.72.14.3.5.3(7). Cf. Thomas Jefferson Univ. v.

Shalala, 512 U.S. 504, 512 (1994) (“We must give substantial

deference to an agency’s interpretation of its own regula-

tions.”).

D. The Court Of Appeals’ Rule Would Create Unwar-

ranted Administrative Burdens And Harm Plan Parti-

cipants

Because plan investments, retirement rates, and industry

conditions are not static, trustees of multiemployer pension

plans historically have been permitted to revise the terms of

disqualifying-employment provisions to promote industrial

stability and the actuarial soundness of pension plans. See

Br. Amicus Curiae for Nat’] Coord. Comm. for Multi-

employer Plans at Pet. Stage (NCCMP Cert. Amicus Br.) 2-

8, 9-12. Thus, for example, plans have amended the

definition of “disqualifying employment” to relax restrictions

on reemployment when unemployment rates in an industry

are low to encourage retirees to return to the workforce, and

to reinstate more restrictive suspension provisions during

economic downturns, when active workers are having dif-

ficulty finding employment and plan investments are

performing more poorly. The traditional flexibility to make

such adjustments has permitted plan trustees better to

control the financial soundness of the plan on whose solvency

all participants depend, in the face of underperforming plan

investments or reductions in plan funding stemming from

declining employment. Plan boards of trustees—which

under federal law must be composed equally of repre-

sentatives of labor and management, see 29 U.S.C.

186(c)(5)(B)—are well situated to evaluate current circum-

stances and tailor plan amendments to address them fairly.’

See generally NCCMP Cert. Amicus Br. 5-6.

® The court of appeals suggested (Pet. App. 11a n.6) there was no need

for such flexibility, saying that Congress afforded plans all the relief

necessary by permitting plan amendments that reduce accrued benefits in

the case of “substantial business hardship.” 29 U.S.C. 1082(c)(2); see 29

U.S.C. 1054(g)(1). However, amendments are possible under the “sub-

stantial business hardship” provision only when the plan is on the verge of

insolvency. See 29 U.S.C. 1083(b)(4). There is no reason to believe that

The court of appeals’ construction of Section 204(g) would

impose unjustified burdens on both multiemployer plan

participants and administrators by eliminating plans’ long-

standing flexibility to adjust reemployment restrictions in

light of local economic conditions and the state of plan

finances. Affirmance of the court of appeals’ decision would

have the effect of locking current reemployment restrictions

in place for all benefits attributable to service prior to the

amendment, and would on balance divert plan resources

away from future retirees and persons who have fully

retired in favor of current retirees who are still earning

income by working within the same industry. The diversion

of resources is particularly difficult to justify where, as here,

participants essentially have “retired” into a job promotion,

moving from employment as a construction worker into a

supervisory position. Furthermore, because the court of

appeals’ rule essentially would prohibit changes that affected

already accrued benefits (regardless of whether the partici-

pant had already retired), see Pet. App. 10a n.6, it would be

extremely burdensome for pension plans that do amend their

suspension provisions to track which suspension provisions

apply to which accruals.

A holding that plans lack the flexibility to apply an

amendment to suspension provisions to benefits of current

retirees and other benefits attributable to service prior to

the amendment would in the long run disadvantage workers,

because plans would have incentives to adopt the most

restrictive reemployment conditions at the outset to avoid

administrative burdens and potentially crippling outlays. As

this Court noted in the related context of employee welfare

benefit plans, “(giving [funds] th{e] flexibility [to amend

Congress intended to reserve the flexibility to use a mechanism with

relatively mild effects on retirees who necessarily are currently employed

for situations in which there is a prospect that a multiemployer plan will

fail and adversely affect tens of thousands of employees and retirees.

30

their plans] also encourages them to offer more generous

benefits at the outset, since they are free to reduce benefits

should economic conditions sour. If employers were locked

into the plans they initially offered, ‘they would err initiaily

on the side of omission.’” Jnter-Modal Rail Employees

Ass’n v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry., 520 U.S. 510, 515

(1997) (quoting Heath v. Varity Corp., 71 F.3d 256, 258 (7th:

Cir. 1995)).

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

THEODORE B. OLSON

Solicitor General

EILEEN J. O’CONNOR

Assistant Attorney General

EDWIN S. KNEEDLER

Deputy Solicitor General

JOHN P. ELWooD

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

KENNETH L. GREENE

JOHN A. DUDECK, JR.

Attorneys

JANUARY 2004

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.