Amicus Curiae Brief — Nike, Inc. v. Kasky

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

nh

,

No. 02-575 | FEB 28 2005

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

SJ

NIKE, INC., et ai.,

Petitioners,

MARC KASKY,

Respondent.

On Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of California

¢

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE PRODUCT

LIABILITY ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC.

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Of Counsel: STEVEN G. Bropy*

HUGH F. YOUNG, JR. JEANETTE M. VIGGIANO

PRODUCT LIABILITY ADVISORY KING & SPALDING LLP

COUNCIL, INC. 1185 Avenue of the

1850 Centennial Park Drive Americas

Suite 510 New York, NY 10036

Reston, VA 20191 (212) 556-2100

(103) 304-S500 *Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

STATEMENT OF INTEREST...................ccessecssseeeeees 1

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT....................ccceeeeeseeeeeeee 2

SP IIITTET cthensecincnsuidainieiusindanniiiienieseiandieseseseneesente 5

I. THIS COURT SHOULD REITERATE AND

II.

REINFORCE ITS DEFINITION OF COM-

MERCIAL SPEECH AS “SPEECH THAT

DOES NO MORE THAN PROPOSE A COM-

MERCIAL TRANSACTION?” ...........cccccceseeeeeees

A. Precedent Supports Continued Use of the

“No More Than” Definition, and Provides

No Justification for the California Court’s

ERE re ae eo ne

B. The “No More Than” Definition Serves the

Underlying Purpose of the Commercial

I isis nciaci ttn aiaiiaiitansionesines

C. The “No More Than” Definition Properly

Excludes Speech that Is Part of a Public

Discussion or Debate ..................:scceeeeeeeeee

D. Reaffirmation of the “No More Than”

Definition Will Not Unduly Restrict Gov-

ernment’s Regulation of Health and Safety

iis eceeetnnielindenaaadiasineniinos

THE CALIFORNIA COURT'S DECISION, IF

UPHELD, WILL PROVIDE AN UNACCEPT-

ABLE BOON TO THE PLAINTIFFS’ BAR ......

A. The Decision Below Creates a New Cate-

gory of Lucrative Lawsuits that Primarily

Will Benefit Plaintiffs’ Lawyers.................

12

14

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

B. The Decision Below Encourages the Plain-

tiffs’ Bar to Increase Its Use of the Media

to Influence the Outcome of Litigation ...... 17

1. Examples of Prior Use of the Media by

the Plaintiffs’ Bar to Influence Litiga-

CBSED ...ccoccccescossccecescosesennsussnennneeeenanl 18

a. “Sudden Unintended Acceleration”

bay Ami Cag 8 ...cccoscccoccescscecscsnossosste 18

b. Silicone Breast Implants.............. 20

C. NMeapbawnd...cocccccosccscccsssccscsscosnesssenee 23

CONCLAJBIOIN 0..cccccscoccsesssccscsccssccssccnsscncnnnsensnnennn 25

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

44 Liquormart, Inc. v. Rhode Island, 517 U.S. 484

SITTTIaTINT asc rcrcrrrdectnenennnennncnenenennennnnenccoesoess 8

In re Bridgestone/Firestone, Inc., 288 F.3d 1012

(7th Cir. 2002), cert. denied sub nom. Gustafson

v. Bridgestone/Firestone, Inc., 123 S.Ct. 870

ce ncecntnersnensnsnannnnnsonansensees 15

CPC Int'l, Inc. v. Skippy, Inc., 214 F.3d 456 (4th Cir.

aia ccenennensnnnnsssgnnnsnosensannneeect 6

City of Cincinnati v. Discovery Network, Inc., 507

a ces caeernnmmnonnsnneqeuess 5

Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15 (1971) ..............cccccccccceeees 9

Consol. Edison Co. of N.Y, Inc. v. Pub. Serv.

Comm’n of N.Y., 447 U.S. 530 (1980).................c000000 9,11

First Nat'l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765

Teer rccrcecncceniineennsnentnccnneneseecsoceets 11

Goldberg v. Cablevision Sys. Corp., 261 F.3d 318

CC EE 6

Kasky v. Nike, Inc., 27 Cal. 4th 939 (Cal. 2002)............... 6,7

Mattel, Inc. v. MCA Records, Inc., 296 F.3d 894 (9th

relic cnntecennnennnenensueusnscsssensesseees 5

NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) ..........0.c. 10, 11

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964)........ 10

In re Norplant Contraceptive Prods. Liab. Litig.,

215 F. Supp. 2d 795 (E.D. Tex. 2002).................ccccceceeeee 24

Pac. Gas & Elec. Co. v. Pub. Utils. Comm’n of Cal.,

nrc ser rs enerensrennsncanens 10

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

RAV. v. City of St. Paul, Minn., 505 U.S. 377

Ic cnchreheedaiaednertiaaectnatitea tala atari 8

S.0.C., Inc. v. County of Clark, 152 F.3d 1136,

amended by 160 F.3d 541 (9th Cir. 1998) ....................... 6

Thompson v. W. States Med Ctr., 535 U.S. 357, 122

I Nettie anette eee camara taal 5, 12

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940)................ccccc000 10

U.S. West, Inc. v. FCC, 182 F.3d 1224 (10th Cir.

Ia icresesemsciencastesiteetetnarieetciteniticienebatletatlahatiaiialaendidiniammaaaediniaaidanial 6

United States v. United Foods, Inc., 533 U.S. 405

TIT cnrrsoeneisneeictenenssiaininilinininniiiedaiuatdemeabiainibiesinoeaiteedieianiaadl 5,12

Virginia State Bd. of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens

Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748 (1976)........ 5, 8,14

Wood v. Wyeth-Ayerst Labs., 82 S.W.3d 849 (Ky.

cinched need iil ah ac ial al 15

Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705 (1977) ..............ccccceeeeeees 13

STATUTES:

Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 17204 (West 2003) ..................... 16

Cal. Code of Civ. Proc. § 1021.5 (West 2003)..................... 17

MISCELLANEOUS:

A “Sleazy” Attack, Wall St. J. Eur., Feb. 19, 1997, at

10, available at 1997 WL-WSJE 3806723 ..................... 21

Ann Davis, Plaintiffs: We'll Junk “Junk Science”

Tag, Nat'l L.J., Dec. 2, 1996, at A6, available at

LEXIS, News Library, Papers File ............................00+. 21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Bonner R. Cohen, Scaring Up Money with False

Attacks on Science, Knight Ridder/Trib. Bus.

News, Sept. 20, 2000, available at LEXIS, News

eee

Charles Ornstein, Norplant Company Agrees to

Settle Suits, Dallas Morning News, Aug. 26,

1999, available at LEXIS, News Library, Papers

David K. Martin, Truth Prevails Over “Junk Sci-

ence”, Chi. Trib., Sept. 2, 1998, at 25, available at

Gina Kolata, Panel Confirms No Major Illness Tied

to Implants, N.Y. Times, June 21, 1999, at Al,

available at 1999 WL 30483238 ..............ccccscseeeeeeees

Gina Kolata, Will the Lawyers Kill Off Norplant?,

N.Y. Times, May 28, 1995, § 3, at 1, available at

LEXIS, News Library, Northeast File .....................

James R. Healey & David Kiley, PR Company

Comes Up with 2 Campaigns Taking SUVs to

Task, USA Today, Jan. 24, 2003, at 3B, available

at LEXIS, News Library, Major Papers File ...........

Leslie Laurence, Your Perfect Birth Control ...

Blocked?, Glamour, Sept. 1999 ..............cccccccceeeeeeeees

Michael Fumento, A Confederacy of Boobs: How

Special Interests, Assorted Ideologues, and a Sen-

sationalist Press Torpedoed Breast Implants and

Now Threaten Other Medical Devices, Reason

Page

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Michael Fumento, Dwindling Implant Returns,

Wash. Times, Dec. 28, 1998, at Al7, available at

gg eee 21

Michael Fumento, The FDA’s Panel Did Not Rec-

ommend the Ban of Silicone Breast Implants,

Wash. Times, Jan. 21, 1999, at A18, available at

gE 21

Peter W. Huber, Galileo’s Revenge: Junk Science in

the Courtroom (Basic Books 1991) ...............c.cccceeeeeeeeees 19

Peter W. Huber, Junk Science in the Courtroom,

Forbes, July 8, 1991, at 68, available at 1991 WL

Peter W. Huber, Manufacturing the Audi Scare,

Wall St. J., Dec. 18, 1989, available at 1989 WL-

i aicrincccintiiatiacetenaaiiaticaaiaticeicaaeeainlaieiataainieteetanls 19

Walter Olson, Jt Didn't Start with Dateline NBC,

Nat'l Review, June 21, 1993, available at http://

www. walterolson.com/articles/crashtests. htm] ............. 19

1

STATEMENT OF INTEREST"

The Product Liability Advisory Council, Inc. (“PLAC”)

is a non-profit association with 129 corporate members

representing a broad cross-section of American and

international product manufacturers. These companies

seek to contribute to the improvement and reform of law

in the United States and elsewhere, with emphasis on the

law governing the liability of manufacturers of products.

PLAC’s perspective is derived from the experiences of a

corporate membership that spans a diverse group of

industries in various facets of the manufacturing sector. In

addition, several hundred of the leading product liability

defense attorneys in the country are sustaining (non-

voting) members of PLAC. Since 1983, PLAC has filed

over 600 briefs as amicus curiae in both state and federal

courts, including this Court, to present the broad perspec-

tive of product manufacturers seeking fairness and bal-

ance in the application and development of the law,

particularly as it affects product liability A list of PLAC’s

corporate members is appended to this brief.

This case does not concern product liability law per se,

but nonetheless is of particular importance to PLAC’s

members. Like all large institutions, PLAC’s members

have critics (and supporters) both in the public and in the

press corps. The business of PLAC’s members frequently

becomes the focus of media attention. PLAC’s members

* No counsel for any party authored this brief in whole or in part,

and no person or entity, other than the amicus curiae, its members, or

its counsel, made a monetary contribution to the preparation or

submission of the brief. The written consent of the parties to the filing

of this brief has been filed with the Clerk of Court.

2

also from time to time are defendants in high-profile

lawsuits.

PLAC’s members must be able to respond to the

attacks made on them in the press and elsewhere. If those

responses could routinely give rise to lawsuits, much like

the lawsuit here, PLAC’s members would be deterred from

responding to public attacks, even when those attacks are

frivolous. Such chilling of corporate speech not only would

deprive PLAC’s members of their constitutional right to

speak in their own defense, but also would impoverish the

public debate on important issues.

¢

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

PLAC submits this brief for two purposes. First,

PLAC explains why the Court should adhere to its estab-

lished definition of commercial speech as “speech that does

no more than propose a commercial transaction.” (That

definition will be referred to herein as the “no more than”

definition.) Second, PLAC describes how the California

court’s decision, unless reversed, will be abused by the

plaintiffs’ bar. PLAC is uniquely qualified to present an

analysis relating to plaintiffs’ lawyers, as much of its work

during the past two decades has involved advocacy against

certain strategies and tactics used by the plaintiffs’ bar.

This case provides an opportunity for the Court to

reinforce its adherence to the “no more than” definition.

Plaintiff conceded below that, if Nike’s challenged state-

ments are not commercial speech, then his complaint

should be dismissed. Nike’s statements could not be

characterized as commercial speech under this Court’s “no

more than” definition. The Supreme Court of California,

3

however, disregarded that definition. Instead, it created a

new definition that expands the commercial speech cate-

gory to include virtually any statement that a company

makes about itself, its products or its services, regardless

of the venue in which the statement is made. This case

should be resolved by rejecting the California court’s

unprecedented definition, and by reaffirming the “no more

than” definition.

The “no more than” definition is broad enough so that

it serves the underlying purpose of the commercial speech

exception to general First Amendment principles. Com-

mercial speech receives less than full constitutional

protection because it is inextricably tied to commercial

transactions, an area traditionally subject to the police

power. Thus, it is perfectly logical that the commercial

speech exception should extend only to «peech that does no

more than propose a commercial transaction.

Further, the “no more than” definition is narrow

enough so as to not lead to inadvertent suppression of

speech deserving of full First Amendment protection. In

particular, that definition excludes speech that is part of

the public discourse. The First Amendment forbids gov-

ernment from silencing voices in the public discourse,

regardless of whether the speakers are commercial or

noncommercial entities.

Moreover, reaffirmation of the “no more than” defini-

tion will not compromise government’s legitimate exercise

of its power to regulate health and safety statements on

products. Members of this Court recently have expressed

concern about whether that power will be limited unduly

by commercial speech law. To the contrary, reinforcement

of the “no more than” definition will enhance public

4

knowledge about product health and safety issues, by

ensuring that the public hears from all knowledgeable and

interested parties on those issues.

Turning to the second purpose of this brief, PLAC

describes below how the California court's decision will

provide an unacceptable boon to the plaintiffs’ bar. Unless

that decision is reversed, the plaintiffs’ bar will release a

torrent of abusive claims under California’s Unfair Compe-

tition Law. Those claims will not benefit anyone but the

plaintiffs’ bar, and will cost our nation both socially and

economically.

The decision below also should be reversed because it

otherwise will cause the plaintiffs’ bar to increase its

extrajudicial use of the media to gain an advantage in

litigation. The plaintiffs’ bar has a long-standing practice

of using the media to influence judges, potential jurors,

and regulators on product safety issues. With the knowl-

edge that the California court’s decision will chill the

countervailing speech of corporate speakers, the plaintiffs’

bar will feel free to step up its use of the media.

In short, the decision below contradicts this Court’s

commercial speech law, will impoverish the public dis-

course on important issues, and will benefit nobody except

plaintiffs’ lawyers. The decision should be reversed.

¢

5

ARGUMENT

I. THIS COURT SHOULD REITERATE AND

REINFORCE ITS DEFINITION OF COMMER-

CIAL SPEECH AS “SPEECH THAT DOES NO

MORE THAN PROPOSE A COMMERCIAL

TRANSACTION”

A. Precedent Supports Continued Use of the

“No More Than” Definition, and Provides

No Justification for the California Court’s

Definition

A consistent definition of “commercial speech” has

emerged from this Court and the federal circuit courts.

Commercial speech is “speech that does no more than

propose a commercial transaction.”

The Court adopted the “no more than” definition in its

seminal commercial speech case, Virginia State Board of

Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens Consumer Council, Inc., 425

U.S. 748, 762 (1976). Although the Court has experi-

mented with other definitions, it returned to and settled

on the “no more than” definition in its two most recent

commercial speech decisions. Thompson v. W. States Med.

Ctr., 535 U.S. 357, 122 S. Ct. 1497, 1503 (2002); United

States v. United Foods, Inc., 533 U.S. 405, 409 (2001)

(stating commercial speech is “usually defined as speech

that does no more than propose a commercial transac-

tion”); see also City of Cincinnati v. Discovery Network,

Inc., 507 U.S. 410, 422-23 (1993).

The federal circuit courts, obligated as they are to

follow this Court, generally have understood the “no more

than” definition to be controlling. See, e.g., Mattel, Inc. v.

MCA Records, Inc., 296 F.3d 894, 906 (9th Cir. 2002) (“If

speech is not ‘purely commercial’ — that is, if it does more

6

than propose a commercial transaction — then it is entitled

to full First Amendment protection.”); Goldberg v. Cablevi-

sion Sys. Corp., 261 F.3d 318, 326 (2d Cir. 2001); CPC Int'l,

Inc. v. Skippy, Inc., 214 F.3d 456, 462 (4th Cir. 2000); U.S.

West, Inc. v. FCC, 182 F.3d 1224, 1232-33 (10th Cir. 1999);

S.0.C., Inc. v. County of Clark, 152 F.3d 1136, 1143-44,

amended by 160 F.3d 541 (9th Cir. 1998).

The California court, however, disregarded this

Court’s definition and instead invented a complicated

three-part test. Under that test, three elements must be

considered: the speaker, the intended audience, and the

content of the message. All three elements are described in

extraordinarily broad terms by the court.

First, the “speaker” element of the test will be met

whenever the speaker is “someone engaged in commerce”

or “someone acting on behalf of a person so engaged.”

Kasky v. Nike, Inc., 27 Cal. 4th 939, 960 (Cal. 2002).

The second element — the “intended audience” for the

speech — is similarly broad. This element is satisfied if the

intended audience is “likely to be actual or potential

buyers or customers of the speaker’s goods or services, or

persons acting for actual or potential buyers or customers,

or persons (such as reporters or reviewers) likely to repeat

the message to or otherwise influence actual or potential

buyers or customers.” Jd.

The third element — the “content” of the speech — is

satisfied if the “speech consists of representations of fact

about the business operations, products, or services of the

speaker (or the individual or company that the speaker

represents), made for the purpose of promoting sales of, or

other commercial transactions in, the speaker’s products

or services.” Jd. at 961. All a plaintiff’s lawyer would have

7

to allege is that every statement made by a corporation is

for the ultimate purpose of promoting sales.

Practically speaking, the California court’s test would

include virtually any statement made by a commercial

enterprise concerning itself, or its products or services,

that likely will be heard by, or repeated to, potential

customers. That definition arguably would cover a wide

range of statements that have nothing to do with the

proposal of a commercial transaction — such as a com-

pany’s statements about the effect of proposed regulations

on its business, its responses to a reporter writing a story

about the environmental or health impact of the com-

pany’s manufacturing processes, and its statements to the

press about a pending lawsuit. As Justice Chin explained

in his dissent below, the majority’s broad definition of

commercial speech impermissibly contradicts this Court’s

“no more than” definition. Jd. at 973-74.

In sum, the overwhelming weight of authority sup-

ports application of the “no more than” definition in this

case, and rejection of the California court’s unprecedented

definition. The next section of this brief explains why the

“no more than” definition is not only controlling, but also

correct.

B. The “No More Than” Definition Serves the

Underlying Purpose of the Commercial

Speech Doctrine

In order to understand why the “no more than”

definition makes sense, it is necessary to consider the

underlying justification for the commercial speech doc-

trine. That doctrine is an exception to the usual rule that

all content-based restrictions on speech are presumed

8

unconstitutional and reviewed under a strict scrutiny

standard. R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul, Minn., 505 U.S. 377,

387-88 (1992). Justice Stevens summarized the reasons for

that exception in the principal opinion in 44 Liquormart,

Inc. v. Rhode Island, 517 U.S. 484, 499 (1996):

[T]he State’s power to regulate commercial

transactions justifies its concomitant power to

regulate commercial speech that is “linked inex-

tricably” to those transactions. [Friedman uv.

Rogers, 440 U.S. 1, 10 n.9 (1979); Ohralik v. Ohio

State Bar Ass’n, 436 U.S. 447, 456 (1978)]

(commercial speech “occurs in an _ area

traditionally subject to government regulation”).

As one commentator has explained: “The entire

commercial speech doctrine, after all, represents

an accommodation between the right to speak

and hear expression about goods and services

and the right of government to regulate the sales

of such goods and services.” [Laurence H. Tribe,

American Constitutional Law § 12-15, at 903 (2d

ed. 1988)).

Thus, the sole justification for government’s extraor-

dinary power to regulate commercial speech is the relation

of that speech to commercial transactions. The “no more

than” definition fits perfectly with that justification.

Speech is covered by the “no more than” definition only

when it is part and parcel of a commercial transaction.

The classic example of speech that falls within the “no

more than” definition is set forth in Virginia State Board:

“‘T will sell you the X prescription drug at the Y price.’”

425 U.S. at 761. Such speech is integral to the proposed

commercial transaction. The likely response to the exam-

ple from Virginia State Board is purely economic conduct —

the consumer either will buy or not buy that prescription

9

drug. As discussed below, however, speech that goes

beyond the mere proposal of a commercial transaction is

more likely to be responded to with additional speech, not

just economic conduct, and so must receive full constitu-

tional protection.”

C. The “No More Than” Definition Properly

Excludes Speech that Is Part of a Public

Discussion or Debate

Fundamental First Amendment values are put at risk

by a definition of commercial speech broader than the “no

more than” definition. When a speaker’s message does

more than propose a commercial transaction, that message

may be the first step in a public discussion. Protection of

such discussion is at the heart of the First Amendment.

See Consol. Edison Co. of N.Y., Inc. v. Pub. Serv. Comm’n

of N.Y., 447 U.S. 530 (1980). As this Court has explained,

the First Amendment removes “governmental restraints

from the arena of public discussion, putting the decision as

to what views shall be voiced largely into the hands of

each of us, in the hope that use of such freedom will

ultimately produce a more capable citizenry and more

perfect polity.” Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15, 24 (1971).

This case provides a helpful illustration of these

principles. Plaintiff does not dispute that Nike’s state-

ments do more than propose a commercial transaction.

Those statements are part of a public discussion between

* Because PLAC believes Nike’s speech is noncommercial, it does

not express an opinion herein as to whether commercial speech should

receive full constitutional protection.

10

Nike, its critics, and its supporters about labor conditions

in overseas factories where Nike’s products are manufac-

tured and, more generally, about the impact of American

corporations on labor conditions in the developing world.

Such public discussion clearly warrants full First Amend-

ment protection. As this Court has stated, “[f]ree discus-

sion concerning the conditions in industry and the causes

of labor disputes appears to us indispensable to the effec-

tive and intelligent use of the processes of popular gov-

ernment to shape the destiny of modern industrial

society.” Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88, 103 (1940).

The California court, however, has created a new

definition of commercial speech that would allow judges in

California to interfere with public discussion based on

their view of truth and falsity. In this case, plaintiff asks

the California judiciary to restrain Nike’s speech based on

plaintiff’s allegations that Nike has introduced false

statements into the public debate about overseas labor

conditions. But this Court has declared that, “erroneous

statement is inevitable in free debate, and ... must be

protected if the freedoms of expression are to have the

‘breathing space’ that they ‘need . . . to survive.’” New York

Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 271-72 (1964) (quoting

NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 433 (1963)).

Moreover, the constitutional presumption against

governmental interference with public debate does not

vary based on the commercial motivation of a participant

in that debate. No doubt, Nike has a commercial motiva-

tion in defending its labor practices. But “(corporations

and other associations, like individuals, contribute to the

‘discussion, debate, and the dissemination of information

and ideas’ that the First Amendment seeks to foster.” Pac.

Gas & Elec. Co. v. Pub. Utils. Comm’n of Cal., 475 U.S. 1,

~~ ee oe

11

8 (1986) (quoting First Nat’l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435

U.S. 765, 783 (1978)). If statements from a commercial

speaker are deserving of less weight, that is for the audi-

ence to decide, not the government. “(T]he people in our

democracy are entrusted with the responsibility for judg-

ing and evaluating the relative merits of conflicting

arguments. They may consider, in making their judgment,

the source and credibility of the advocate.” Bellotti, 435

U.S. at 791-92; see also Consol. Edison, 447 U.S. at 534.

The threat posed by plaintiff’s argument is not

limited to direct interference with ongoing public debate,

but also includes the danger that commercial entities will

be deterred from even entering the debate. See Button, 371

U.S. at 433 (“The threat of sanctions may deter . . . almost

as potently as the actual application of sanctions”). The

speech of corporations, just like that of individuals, is

chilled by the risk of court-imposed liability for that

speech. Bellotti, 435 U.S. at 786 n.21. Management often

would choose not to take such a risk and “[m]uch valuable

information which a corporation might be able to provide

would remain unpublished.” Jd. “(T]he free dissemination

of ideas [might] be the loser.” Jd. (brackets in original;

citations omitted).’

In sum, the “no more than” definition of commercial

speech appropriately excludes speech that is critical to

public dis.ussion and debate. If this Court -vere to abandon

that definition, it would become far easier for government —

* Importantly, PLAC does not argue that commercial entities

should be immune from liability for their false advertising. Companies

ne ene eee SER, Oe Lashom Ant or Gn

12

and plaintiffs’ lawyers acting in the name of government —

to silence the voices of commercial entities, voices that are

particularly important in our free market economy. For

this reason alone, the California court’s unprecedented

and overbroad definition of commercial speech should be

rejected.

D. Reaffirmation of the “No More Than” Defi-

nition Will Not Unduly Restrict Govern-

ment’s Regulation of Health and Safety

Statements

One aspect of the definitional issue, although not

implicated directly by this case, merits special attention.

Members of this Court have expressed concern recently

about the interaction between the commercial speech

doctrine and the government's ability to regulate health

and safety statements on products. See W. States Med.

Ctr., 122 S. Ct. at 1509-10 (Breyer, J., dissenting); United

Foods, 533 U.S. at 428 (Breyer, J., dissenting). Reaffirma-

tion of the “no more than” definition, however, will en-

hance, not reduce, public knowledge about the health and

safety of products.

A question that could be raised about the “no more

than” definition is whether corporate statements about

health and safety will be deemed to fall outside that

definition, and instead be categorized as fully protected

speech. The answer is that most corporate statements

about health and safety, when made in the context of a

commercial transaction, should qualify as commercial

speech under the “no more than” definition. Put another

way, and as discussed more fully below, commercial speech

law generally should apply to both regulations that restrict

what companies can say and regulations that require

me

at

. Vw

oe.

13

disclosures by companies about health and safety issues.

These two types of regulations will be considered in turn.

The “no more than” definition, by its terms, includes

statements that a company makes to consumers to per-

suade them to buy a particular product. Such statements

are part of the proposal of a commercial transaction. Thus,

when a company tells consumers something about the

health or safety of its product in connection with its

proposal that they buy the product, those statements

qualify as commercial speech. It follows that government

could regulate such statements, to make sure that they

are not actually or potentially misleading, subject to the

lesser First Amendment scrutiny accorded commercial

speech under the Central Hudson test.

The same result should apply to governmental regula-

tions designed to prevent misleading omissions of health

or safety information. The analysis would be that, absent

the mandated disclosure, the proposal of the commercial

transaction will be misleading. Again, such mandated

disclosures should be reviewed by the courts under Central

Hudson.*

Strict scrutiny, and not Central Hudson, should apply,

however, when government attempts to restrict what a

corporation says about health and safety issues outside of

* This analysis assumes that the mandated disclosure is not a

matter of common knowledge. If the disclosure were common knowl-

edge, then it would not serve to protect the public from being misled.

Any attempt by government to require a company to make a disclosure

that either is common knowledge, or that is otherwise not designed to

protect the public from being misled, should be reviewed under strict

scrutiny. See Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705 (1977).

14

the context of the proposal of a commercial transaction.

For example, government should have to satisfy strict

scrutiny review if it wishes to prohibit companies from

answering press inquiries about product safety issues.

By excluding such speech from the category of com-

mercial speech, the “no more than” definition serves to

enhance public knowledge about health and safety issues.

An uninhibited debate about those issues that includes all

interested and knowledgeable participants will lead, our

constitutional system assumes, to the discovery of truth.

See Virginia State Bd., 425 U.S. at 770. For example, in

the instant case, the public’s search for truth will be aided

by hearing the views of both Nike and its opponents with

respect to the safety of labor conditions in overseas facto-

ries.

Thus, this Court’s continued reliance on the “no more

than” definition will not limit unduly the government's

ability to regulate health and safety information and, in

fact, will enrich the public discourse on those issues. The

next section discusses an additional reason why the Court

should adhere to the “no more than” definition — the

inevitability that any broader definition would lead to

abusive conduct and litigation by the plaintiffs’ bar.

Il. THE CALIFORNIA COURT’S DECISION, IF

UPHELD, WILL PROVIDE AN UNACCEPT-

ABLE BOON TO THE PLAINTIFFS’ BAR

The California Court’s decision bolsters plaintiffs’

lawyers in two unacceptable ways. First, the decision

expands the ability of plaintiffs’ lawyers to commence

frivolous, yet potentially lucrative, lawsuits under Califor-

nia’s Unfair Competition Law (“UCL”). Second, and no less

15

importantly, the decision below enables the plaintiffs’ bar

to step up its practice of trying its lawsuits in the media.

A. The Decision Below Creates a New Cate-

gory of Lucrative Lawsuits that Primarily

Will Benefit Plaintiffs’ Lawyers

Too many lawsuits in America are brought by lawyers

seeking to line their own pockets, rather than serve the

interests of the named plaintiffs. See, e.g., In re Bridge-

stone / Firestone, Inc., 288 F.3d 1012 (7th Cir. 2002), cert.

denied sub nom. Gustafson v. Bridgestone / Firestone, Inc.,

123 S. Ct. 870 (2003) (decertifying class of purchasers of

allegedly defective tires who had not suffered any physical

injuries and who already had received free replacement

tires); Wood v. Wyeth-Ayerst Labs., 82 S.W.3d 849 (Ky.

2002) (rejecting class action claim seeking “medical moni-

toring” of users of Phen-Fen who had no present physical

injury). The decision below, if upheld, will enable plaintiffs’

lawyers to churn out, with relative ease, numerous new

lawsuits alleging false commercial speech in violation of

the UCL.

Opportunistic plaintiffs’ lawyers should have no

problem finding Kasky-like claims to file. Corporations

routinely speak in the press about controversial issues

(although their speech likely will be chilled by the decision

below). A creative plaintiffs’ lawyer should be able to read

a few newspapers in the morning and come up with at

least one possible UCL claim to file by lunchtime.

The plaintiffs’ bar will rely on Kasky not only to file

stand-alone UCL claims, but also as an adjunct to their

product liability lawsuits. The chain of events is easily

foreseeable. First, a plaintiffs’ firm will attract media

16

attention to its product liability lawsuits, in order to

influence the potential jury pool and find additional

plaintiffs whom it can represent. Next, the targeted

corporation, like any person who is attacked in the press,

will seek to defend itself (unless its speech has been

chilled) by making its own truthful statements to the

media. Corporations feel compelled to defend themselves

because, if they do not, a portion of the public will presume

that they are guilty, and shareholders could suffer a

decline in the value of their investment.

After the corporation defends itself, the California

court’s decision will come into play. Empowered by that

decision, the plaintiffs’ firm will add a UCL claim to its

complaint against the corporation, alleging that the

corporation’s statements to the media were false. It will

add that claim with two unacceptable goals in mind — to

deter the corporation from communicating with the public

and as an additional pressure point to extract a settlement

from the corporation. Unfortunately, both of those goals

likely will be accomplished under current California law

as articulated by the court below.

As a separate matter, the nature of the UCL will make

it easy for plaintiffs’ lawyers, emboldened by the Kasky

decision, to file copycat actions. Unlike the “little FTC

Acts” in most states, California’s UCL allows citizens to

act as private attorneys general. Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code

§ 17204 (West 2003). In other words, the UCL allows

plaintiffs’ lawyers to commence lawsuits even when they

cannot locate a claimant who actually has been deceived or

harmed by the allegedly false advertising. Plaintiff Kasky,

for example, explicitly alleges in his complaint that he has

suffered no damage whatsoever as a result of Nike’s

statements.

17

Moreover, a plaintiff who successfully prosecutes a

UCL action in a representative capacity could seek an

award of attorney's fees. Under section 1021.5 of the

California Code of Civil Procedure, the courts are empow-

ered to award attorneys fees to “a successful party ... in

any action which has resulted in the enforcement of an

important right affecting the public interest.” The possibil-

ity of a fee award will, no doubt, provide an additional

incentive to the plaintiffs’ bar to identify and file UCL

claims that rely on the California Supreme Court’s broad

definition of commercial speech. It comes as no surprise

that this lawsuit was brought by some of the most promi-

nent plaintiffs’ class action lawyers in the nation.

This Court, by reversing the California court’s deci-

sion, will prevent the plaintiffs’ bar from releasing a

torrent of abusive UCL claims — claims that rarely would

benefit anyone outside the plaintiffs’ bar, and that would

cost our nation both economically and socially. As ex-

plained below, a reversal also is necessary because the

California court’s decision enhances the ability of plain-

tiffs’ lawyers to manipulate the media.

B. The Decision Below Encourages the Plain-

tiffs’ Bar to Increase Its Use of the Media to

Influence the Outcome of Litigation

Plaintiffs’ lawyers have become increasingly adept at

using the media to advance their lawsuits. To be fair, they

sometimes publicize legitimate issues concerning product

safety. But many times, allegations concerning product

safety that are made by the plaintiffs’ bar turn out to be

false or misleading.

18

The history of use of the media by plaintiffs’ lawyers

provides a basis for predicting how they will take advan-

tage of the decision below. In case after case, the plaintiffs’

bar has turned to the media to influence potential jurors,

the judiciary and regulators. While there certainly are

lawyers of integrity in the plaintiffs’ bar, there also are

some who are more concerned about a payday than learn-

ing the truth about product safety issues. If the California

court’s decision is allowed to stand, these lawyers will not

only continue to use the media to influence the outcomes

of their lawsuits, but will be emboldened to step up their

media campaigns, knowing that the threat of a UCL claim

will chill the countervailing voices of manufacturers.

Numerous examples exist of product safety claims

that were pushed forward in the media by the plaintiffs’

bar and that ultimately were proven meritless — from

“sudden unintended acceleration” in Audi cars, to the

alleged dangers of silicone breast implants, Norplant, Alar,

Bendectin, and power lines. The first three of these exam-

ples will be explored in more detail below so as to show the

history of extrajudicial use of the media by plaintiffs’

lawyers, and to foreshadow the sort of conduct that will

occur if the California court’s decision is not overturned.

1. Examples of Prior Use of the Media by

the Plaintiffs’ Bar to Influence Litigation

a. “Sudden Unintended Acceleration”

by Audi Cars

During the summer of 1986, a few lawsuits were filed

alleging that the Audi 5000 had a design defect that

caused the cars to accelerate suddenly when the transmis-

sion was shifted out of park, even when the driver was

19

pressing on the brake. Those claims entered the national

consciousness later that fall when a now notorious seg-

ment of “60 Minutes” was aired. The segment featured an

Ohio mother who accidentally and tragically had run over

her six-year-old son with her Audi 5000, and who claimed

that she had her foot on the brake the whole time.’

Unbeknownst to the viewers, plaintiffs’ lawyers were

lurking behind the scenes of the “60 Minutes” segment.

The broadcast relied heavily on an “expert” on automobile

safety named William Rosenbluth. But Rosenbluth did not

disclose in the segment that he already had been retained

by lawyers who were representing the Ohio family in its

lawsuit against Audi. Moreover, Rosenbluth misled view-

ers when he performed a demonstration on “60 Minutes” of

an accelerator pedal moving down apparently by itself.

Rosenbluth, the expert hired by a plaintiffs’ firm, had

drilled a hole in the car’s transmission and pumped in air

or fluid so that the accelerator pedal would be depressed

without the assistance of a human foot.*

The “60 Minutes” program created tremendous

publicity and sympathy for the “sudden unintended

acceleration” theory. By 1989, Audi was facing more than

one hundred lawsuits seeking combined damages totaling

* See Peter W. Huber, Manufacturing the Audi Scare, Wall St. J.

Dec. 18, 1989, available at 1989 WL-WSJ 457495; Peter W. Huber,

— Revenge: Junk Science in the Courtroom 559-62 (Basic Books

7 See id.; Walter Olson, It Didn't Start with Dateline NBC, Nat’!

Review, June 21, 1993, available at http//www.walterolson.com/articles/

crashtests.html.

20

$5 billion.’ Demand for Audi vehicles plummeted and some

dealers went out of business.

Eventually, the real facts came out. Comprehensive

reviews by the National Highway Traffic Safety Admini-

stration and its counterparts in Canada and Japan con-

cluded that the cause of sudden acceleration in the Audi

5000 was not a design defect, but drivers who accidentally

placed their feet on the wrong pedal.”

Because the “sudden unintended acceleration” claims

were made in the pre-Kasky era, Audi did not hesitate to

refute the claims in the press. If the California court’s

decision were on the books at that time, however, Audi

might have been chilled from expressing its views for fear

that its comments could give rise to a UCL claim. Like-

wise, unless the decision below is reversed, unscrupulous

plaintiffs’ lawyers will be encouraged by that decision to

continue their misleading submissions to the media,

believing that the party best suited to rebut misleading

claims about a product’s safety — the manufacturer — will

choose silence rather than risk a UCL claim.

b. Silicone Breast Implants

Silicone breast implants were the subject of a health

scare throughout the 1990s. The scare started in 1990

when Connie Chung ran a segment on her show alleging

” Peter W. Huber, Junk Science in the Courtroom, Forbes, July 8,

1991, at 68, available at 1991 WL 2802206.

* Id.; James R. Healey & David Kiley, PR Company Comes Up with

2 Campaigns Taking SUVs to Task, USA Today, Jan. 24, 2003, at 3B,

available at LEXIS, News Library, at Major Papers File.

Be nee nn

iS

21

that the implants cause autoimmune, neurological and

other diseases. Within the following four years, an ava-

lanche of lawsuits was filed against the various manufac-

turers of the implants. For example, Dow Corning was

named as a defendant in approximately 20,000 lawsuits.°

But by the mid-1990s, the plaintiffs’ lawyers had a

problem. The public was becoming increasingly convinced

that the breast implant litigation rested on “junk sci-

ence.””” To save their lawsuits, the plaintiffs’ bar launched

a nationwide media campaign designed to combat the

“junk science” accusation.” They retained under a multi-

million dollar contract a public relations firm named

Fenton Communications.” Fenton had the right qualifica-

tions for the job, as it previously had been successful in

attracting media attention and fomenting fear with

respect to the Alar scare.”

* Michael Fumento, A Confederacy of Boobs: How Special Interests,

Assorted Ideologues, and a Sensationalist Press Torpedoed Breast

Implants and Now Threaten Other Medical Devices, Reason Magazine,

Oct. 1995, available at LEXIS, News Library, Magazine File.

* Ann Davis, Plaintiffs: We'll Junk “Junk Science” Tag, Nat’ L.J.,

Dec. 2, 1996, at A6, available at LEXIS, News Library, Papers File.

" Id.

* Id.; David K. Martin, Truth Prevails Over “Junk Science,” Chi.

Trib., Sept. 2, 1998, at 25, available at 1998 WL 2891543; Michael

Fumento, The FDA’s Panel Did Not Recommend the Ban of Silicone

Breast Implants, Wash. Times, Jan. 21, 1999, at Al8, available at 1999

WL 3076271; Michael Fumento, Dwindling Implant Returns, Wash.

Times, Dec. 28, 1998, at A17, available at 1998 WL 3467312; A “Sleazy”

Attack, Wall St. J. Eur., Feb. 19, 1997, at 10, available at 197 WL-WSJE

3806723.

* A “Sleazy” Attack, supra note 12, at 10; Bonner R. Cohen,

Scaring Up Money with False Attacks On Science, Knight Ridder/Trib.

(Continued on following page)

22

The substantial financial investment made by the

breast implant lawyers in their media campaign paid

dividends. After hiring Fenton, the plaintiffs’ lawyers

dramatically improved their success rate in defending

Daubert motions, and filled their pockets with million of

additional dollars from settlements and judgments.

While the media campaign launched by the plaintiffs’

bar served them well, it could not ultimately prevent the

truth from being established. In 1999, Congress received a

report from the Institute of Medicine, which it had asked

to study the breast implant issue. The independent panel

of 13 scientists reported that there is no reason to believe

that the implants are toxic, cause harmful effects on the

immune system, or give rise to a unique disease syn-

drome.*

The history of the breast implant litigation illustrates

why the California court erred in depriving companies of

the same level of First Amendment as is received by their

attackers. No matter how much the plaintiffs’ bar tries to

characterize its tort lawsuits against large corporations as

“David versus Goliath” stories, the truth is that the

plaintiffs’ bar is a gigantic industry unto itself. The plain-

tiffs’ bar does not blink at spending millions of dollars on

media efforts to support its lawsuits. Basic principles of

fairness, as well as the public’s interest in learning the

truth, require that manufacturers receive the same level of

Bus. News, Sept. 20, 2000, available at LEXIS, News Library, Papers

File (characterizing Fenton Communications as an expert at “fomenting

fear among consumers” and noting its involvement in the Alar scare).

“ Gina Kolata, Panel Confirms No Major Illness Tied To Implants,

N.Y. Times, June 21, 1999, at Al, available at 1999 WL 30483238.

23

constitutional protection for their responses as do the

plaintiffs’ lawyers who sponsor those attacks.

c. Norplant

After the plaintiffs’ lawyers put Dow Corning out of

business, they targeted another product — Norplant. When

it was launched in the early 1990s, Norplant — six tiny

hormone-releasing rods that are implanted under the skin

— was heralded as a breakthrough in contraception due to

its 99 percent effectiveness in preventing pregnancy. But

the tort lawyers soon swarmed around Norplant, bringing

along with them many of the same medical experts and

laboratories that had made money in the breast implant

litigation.”

The plaintiffs’ lawyers had honed their media strategy

by the time they zeroed in on Norplant. They used bill-

boards, television advertisements and media scare cam-

paigns to recruit 50,0000 women to sue the manufacturer.”

The expense associated with this media campaign was not

a problem for the plaintiffs’ lawyers, as they had accumu-

lated a sizable war chest from their previous lawsuits.

The media hype, however, could not be justified by the

“scientific” evidence collected by the plaintiffs’ lawyers.

The results in the litigation attest to the shoddy quality of

that evidence. As of 1999, the manufacturer of Norplant

* Gina Kolata, Will the Lawyers Kill Off Norplant?, N.Y. Times,

May 28, 1995, § 3, at 1, available at LEXIS, News Library, Northeast

File.

* Leslie Laurence, Your Perfect Birth Control ... Blocked?,

Glamour, Sept. 1999.

24

had won three jury verdicts, 20 pretrial judgments, and

the dismissal of 14,000 claims.” Last year, a United States

District Judge sitting in Texas dismissed the claims of

most remaining class members, finding that, “Plaintiffs

have not produced a shred of evidence or expert testimony

that supports an association between Norplant” and the

diseases in question.”

The ongoing Norplant litigation shows that the

plaintiffs’ bar has not stopped using the media as part of

its case strategy, and remains willing to commence mas-

sive tort litigation without solid scientific support for its

claims. In this environment, it is especially important that

the public hear the voices of those persons best suited to

answer the allegations of the plaintiffs’ bar. This is not the

time for silencing the companies that have the incentive

and knowledge to rebut junk science.

As demonstrated by the three examples discussed

above, plaintiffs’ attorneys consider extrajudicial use of the

media to be one of the tools of their trade. Unless the

California court’s decision is vacated, plaintiffs’ attorneys

can be expected to ramp up their use of the media, know-

ing that their public statements are less likely to be

challenged by the companies whom they sue. For the sake

of promoting robust debates that ultimately reveal the

" Charles Ornstein, Norplant Company Agrees to Settle Suits,

Dallas Morning News, Aug. 26, 1999, available at LEXIS, News

Library, Papers File.

‘* In re Norplant Contraceptive Prods. Liab. Litig., 215 F. Supp. 2d

795, 833 (E.D. Tex. 2002).

25

truth about the health and safety of products, the decision

below should be reversed.

¢

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amicus curiae Product

Liability Advisory Council, Inc. respectfully asks this

Court to reject the Supreme Court of California’s unduly

broad definition of commercial speech, reverse the decision

below, and, in so doing, reiterate and reinforce its defini-

tion of commercial speech as “speech that does no more

than propose a commercial transaction.”

Respectfully submitted,

STEVEN G. Bropy*

JEANETTE M. VIGGIANO

KING & SPALDING LLP

1185 Avenue of the Americas

New York, NY 10036

(212) 556-2100

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

Product Liability Advisory

Council, Inc.

*Counsel of Record

Of Counsel:

HUGH F. Youn, JR.

PRODUCT LIABILITY ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC.

1850 Centennial Park Drive, Suite 510

Reston, VA 20191

(703) 264-5300

App. 1

CORPORATE MEMBERS/PRODUCT LIABILITY

ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC.

23-Jan-03

3M BP Amoco Corporation

Allegiance Healthcare Bridgestone/Firestone,

Corporation Inc.

Altec Industries Briggs & Stratton

American Suzuki Motor Corporation

Corporation Bristol-Myers Squibb

Andersen Corporation Company

Anheuser-Busch — and Williamson

Companies —

Ansell Healthcare, Inc. 2Y0W2-Forman

Corporation

Appisten Papers, ine. Brunswick Corporation

— Pharmaceuticals, Caterpillar Inc.

FASF Corporation Centerpulse USA Inc.

Baxter International, Inc. ©®¢¥Fo™ Corporation

Bayer Corporation Compaq

Continental Tire North

Beretta U.S.A. Corp. Amnavien, tno.

Bel Conpevation Cooper Tire and Rubber

Biro Manufacturing Company

Company, Inc. Coors Brewing

Black & Decker (U.S.) Inc. Company

BMW of North America, Crown Equipment

LLC Corporation

Bombardier Recreational DaimlerChrysler

Products Corporation

App. 2

Dana Corporation Guidant Corporation

Deere & Company Harley-Davidson

Delphi Corporation Motor ranwaatond

Dorel Juvenile Group, get ry ele

Inc. Group

E & J Gallo Winery Honda North America,

E. I. DuPont de Nemours Inc.

and Company Hyundai Motor

Eaton Corporation America

Eli Lilly and Company ICON Health & Fitness,

Emerson Electric Co. Inc.

Engineered Controls — Truck

International, Inc. and Engi _

Corporation

Estee Lauder Companies Senan SOetene Amnesten.

ExxonMobil Corporation Inc.

FMC Corporation Johnson & Johnson

Ford Motor Company Johnson Controls, Inc.

General Electric Company Joy Global Inc.

General Motors Kawasaki Motors Corp.,

Corporation U.S.A.

Georgia-Pacific Kia Motors America,

Corporation Inc.

GlaxoSmithKline Kolcraft Enterprises,

GLOCK, Inc. Inc.

Great Dane Limited Kraft Sag North

Partnership America, Inc.

App.

Mazda (North America),

Inc.

McNeilus Truck and

Manufacturing, Inc.

Medtronic, Inc.

Mercedes-Benz of North

America, Inc.

Michelin North America,

Inc.

Miiler Brewing Company

Mitsubishi Motor Sales

of America, Inc.

Niro Inc.

Nissan North America, Inc.

Novartis Pharmaceuticals

Corporation

PACCAR Inc.

Panasonic

Pentair, Inc.

Pfizer Inc.

Pharmacia Corporation

Philip Morris Companies

Inc.

Polaris Industries, Inc.

Porsche Cars North

America, Inc.

3

Purdue Pharma L.P.

Raytheon Aircraft

Company

Remington Arms

Company, Inc.

Rheem Manufacturing

RJ Reynolds Tobacco

Company

Schindler Elevator

Corporation

SCM Group USA Inc.

Sears, Roebuck and Co.

Shell Oil Company

Siemens Corporation

Smith & Nephew, Inc.

Snap-on Incorporated

Sofamor Danek,

Medtronic Inc.

Solutia Inc.

Sturm, Ruger &

Company, Inc.

Subaru of America, Inc.

Sunbeam Corporation

Synthes (U.S.A.)

Textron, Inc.

The Boeing Company

App.

The Dow Chemical

Company

The Goodyear Tire &

Rubber Company

The Heil Company

The Lincoln Electric

Company

The Procter & Gamble

Company

The Raymond Corporation

The Sherwin-Williams

Company

The Toro Company

Thomas Built Buses, Inc.

Toshiba America

Incorporated

Toyota Motor Sales, USA,

Inc.

TRW Inc.

UST (U.S. Tobacco)

Volkswagen of America,

Inc.

Volvo Cars of North

America, Inc.

Vulcan Materials Company

4

Water Bonnet

Manufacturing, Inc.

Whirlpool Corporation

Wilbur-Ellis Company

Wyeth

Yamaha Motor

Corporation, U.S.A.

Zimmer, Inc.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.