Amicus Curiae Brief — Raymond B. Yates, MD, PC Profit Sharing Plan v. Hendon

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

: |

No. 02-458 AUG | [ a S |

Ne OTe

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

RAYMOND B. YATES, M.D., P.C. PROFIT SHARING

PLAN AND RAYMOND B. YATES, TRUSTEE,

Petitioners,

Vv.

WILLIAM T. HENDON, TRUSTEE,

Respondent.

¢

On Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals

For The Sixth Circuit

¢

BRIEF OF UNUMPROVIDENT CORPORATION AS

AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

¢

WILLIAM J. KAYATTA, JR. MARK E. SCHMIDTKE*

BYRNE J. DECKER *Counsel of Record

PIERCE ATWOOD HOEPPNER WAGNER &

One Monument Square Evans LLP

Portland, ME 04101 103 East Lincolnway

(207) 791-1100 Valparaiso, IN 46384

(219) 465-7368

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Amicus will address the following question:

Whether a working owner (in this case, a sole share-

holder of a corporate employer) is a participant in a plan

governed by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act

of 1974, as amended, 29 U.S.C. §1001, et seg. (“ERISA”)

where non-owner employees of the corporation are also

covered under the same plan.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED...................ssssssssccscsesessees i

BN SII ccccscscscccccenesevvesesescoesescoceseses ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..................ccccsssseeecveceeees iv

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE.................... 1

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.......0.........ccccceceseeseeeeeees 3

SITET sith isnstitdnimincotaciiednnninensenseeneqsenes 4

A. A BENEFIT CLAIMANT’S STATUS AS A

PARTICIPANT OR BENEFICIARY IMPACTS

MULTIPLE ISSUES UNDER ERISA SUCH

AS STANDING TO SUE, THE AVAILABILITY

OF ERISA REMEDIES, AND PREEMPTION

OF STATE LAW REMEDIEG. ...................000088

B. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR DETER-

MINED LONG AGO THAT WORKING OWN-

ERS ARE PARTICIPANTS WHERE THEY

ARE COVERED BY AN EMPLOYEE BENE-

FIT PLAN THAT INCLUDES NON-OWNER

SIE IEIIIIID ccnenscsshieeveseesecessccossosscosssccosecsocse

C. THE MAJORITY OF CIRCUIT COURTS

HOLD THAT WORKING OWNERS HAVE

STANDING TO SUE FOR PLAN BENEFITS

UNDER ERISA, CONCLUDING THAT SUCH

A RESULT IS NECESSARY TO ENSURE

UNIFORM REGULATION OF EMPLOYEE

BENEFIT PLANS AND CONSISTENT AP-

PLICATION OF PLAN TERMG................000008

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

D. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT DECISION ON RE-

VIEW CREATES INCONSISTENCY IN THE

REGULATION OF ERISA PLANS AND IN

THE APPLICATION OF ERISA PLAN

TERMS, CONTRARY TO THE INTENT OF

GISUEEEEEEEIS cccccccccccsescccccceseccosecrcncessocoososesseoes 17

1. Congress Enacted ERISA To Establish

Uniform Regulation Of Employee Benefit

Plans In Order To Reduce The Costs Of

Administering Such Plans And To

Thereby Make Such Plans Available To A

Greater Number Of Employees. .............. 17

2. The Decision Below Creates Inconsis-

tency In The Regulation And Application

Of ERISA Plan Terms And Is Contrary

To Congressional Intent For Uniform

Regulation And Lower Benefit Costs. ...... 18

E. A “BRIGHT LINE” RULE THAT WORKING

OWNERS ARE PARTICIPANTS IS THE

ONLY APPROACH CONSISTENT WITH THE

STATUTORY LANGUAGE OF ERISA, THIS

COURTS PRECEDENTS AND CONGRESS’

INTENT TO PROVIDE PLAN ADMINISTRA-

TORS WITH CONSISTENCY AND PRE-

DICTABILITY IN DETERMINING WHO IS A

PARTICIPANT UNDER THE PLAN. .............. 22

CFR cocccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccvcccsscccseoonossoooesss 29

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Agrawal v. Paul Revere Life Ins. Co., 205 F.3d 297

REE LA eee ae nly 2,7,17

Black & Decker Disability Plan v. Nord, __ U.S. __,

123 S.Ct. 1965, 155 L.Ed.2d 1034 (2003) .........ccccceeeeeeeees 11

Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) ...........ccccccccceceseeseeeee 11, 12

Clackamas Gastroenterology Assocs., P.C. v. Wells, ___

US. __, 123 S.Ct. 1673, 155 LEd2d 615

Pieri stciiisnchasiccsiestsantiietaniadenniinttetmatiaiitaiasenaetiaiiaiaianinn! 12, 24, 25, 26, 27

Cvelbar v. CBI Illinois, 106 F.3d 1368 (7th Cir.), cert.

Sr ie 12

Engelhardt v. The Paul Revere Life Ins. Co., 139 F.3d

I 3, 7, 16

Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101

Seachem lita tensa ibaa 20

Ft. Halifax Packing Co., Inc. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1

Siar erectile ialaattiiaaiatniaaiaiti 17

Fugarino v. Hartford Life and Acc. Ins. Co., 969 F.2d

178 (6th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 507 U.S. 966

Siar censetcessacenianiieiiiiteneniitatieceatataenidettataataataaiataaaaiatasitaaiaceaal 1, 6,7

Giardono v. Jones, 867 F.2d 409 (7th Cir. 1989)...........cccccccccoee 7

Gilbert v. Alta Health & Life Ins. Co., 276 F.3d 1292

ee a tian nities neniientenincinienttibenneceatiaiei 14, 15

Harper v. American Chambers Life Ins. Co., 898 F.2d

IIIT TTT isnsesiscsesisiinndinsinesnnieniesiadenenensteisiiieiaiiaanianiadi 7,15

Hendon v. Yates, 287 F.3d 521 (6th Cir. 2002).................... 2,16

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Kwatcher v. Mass. Service Employees Pension Fund,

ge 2, 6,7

Lockheed Corporation v. Spink, 517 U.S. 882 (1996) ............ 25

Madonia v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Virginia, 11

F.3d 444 (4th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 511 U.S. 1019

TTT ccncnpatesaniiiiienentdemuspeeinmaiaeininaieemteimemeel 7, 12, 13, 14, 27

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 54

ITT ososechiciiiaheh chats nmmaerassiat ieee iiabaaesaibae 3,6

Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. v. Darden, 503 U.S. 318

eee ae 23, 24, 25, 27, 28

Norris v. Citibank, NA Disability Plan, 308 F.3d 880

21

Perlman v. Swiss Bank Long Term Disability Plan,

oe ft, > 21

Peterson v. American Life & Health Ins. Co., 48 F.3d

404 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 942 (1995)............ 7,15

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41 (1987)............... 3,6

Prudential Ins. Co. of America v. Doe, 76 F.3d 206 (8th

eee 7, 14,15

Ritter v. Massachusetts Cas. Ins. Co., 439 Mass. 214,

Cf 6

Robinson v. Linomaz, 58 F.3d 365 (8th Cir. 1995)........ 7, 14, 15

Rush Prudential HMO, Inc. v. Moran, __ U.S. __,

122 S.Ct. 2151, 153 L.Ed.2d 375 (2002) ...............cceceeeeees 3,6

Santino v. Provident Life and Acc. Ins. Co., 276 F.3d

Se 7,16

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, 463 U.S. 85 (1983) ........ 17, 18, 19, 26

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Sipma v. Massachusetts Cas. Ins. Co., 256 F.3d 1006

a eh eiiteinihicesintiticbinaicinieienlasieiiaibaaiiitsitiailiasistarteaiaia 2,7

Varity Corporation v. Howe, 516 U.S. 489 (1996)............ 17,18

Vega v. National Life Ins. Services, Inc., 188 F.3d 287

TE eS 7, 13,14

Wolk v. Unum Life Ins. Co. of America, 186 F.3d

352 (3d Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 1076

Sua hasrsnecrnnannnsiesesinmnnmesnnmenemmmnenaiomseieanimenatel 2,7, 14,15

STATUTES:

TTT 15

ee TE inssnnernicrrninistnerrnienntennianinticipsinansaaiinaslnbatatanaisasii 5

TE 22

ES nn ee a EE 10

es I rnirecscersicicitnainienenertiiatrinanaianserpersiapsaniaaisenmaaissl 8

I eicceaniansinsineetasenreseseniriicentialeniniaceatatenteditii 9

TT 23

RULES:

INUIT cxsnintsinenshinnitacicmeniantenieseiemeeneinmnaietieess 1

Ie 1

MISCELLANEOUS:

DOL Reporting and Disclosure Regulations, 40 Fed.

Reg. 34525, 34528 (August 15, 1975).............ccccessseesesseeeeees 10

1

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE'

UNUMProvident Corporation is the parent holding

company of UNUM Life Insurance Company of America,

The Paul Revere Life Insurance Company, and Provident

Life and Accident Insurance Company (collectively, the

“UNUMProvident Companies”). The UNUMProvident

Companies are three of the largest disability insurance

carriers in the United States. They are authorized to issue

individual and group disability policies in all 50 States.

Hundreds of small employers purchase group and/or

individual disability policies from the UNUMProvident

Companies for the purpose of funding their ERISA-

governed employee disability plans. In most cases, the

business owner is covered under the same policy and/or

the same policy form as the non-owner employees.

When there is a dispute over the payment of benefits

under these policies, some jurisdictions (including the

Sixth Circuit) hold that claims by working owners are

governed by state law whereas ERISA preempts these

same state law claims when they are brought by non-

owner employees to recover benefits under the same plan.

See, e.g., Fugarino v. Hartford Life and Acc. Ins. Co., 969

F.2d 178 (6th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 507 U.S. 966 (1993)

(sole proprietor does not have standing to sue for benefits

' Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3, the parties have consented

to the filing of this Brief amicus curiae. Their letters of consent have

been filed with the Clerk of this Court. Pursuant to Supreme Court

Rule 37.6, Amicus states that this brief was not authored in whole or in

part by counsel for a party, and no person or entity, other than Amicus,

made a monetary contribution for the preparation or submission of this

brief.

2

under ERISA even though he participated in ERISA-

governed health benefit plan that also covered non-owner

employees); Kwatcher v. Mass. Service Employees Pension

Fund, 879 F.2d 957 (1st Cir. 1989) (same result involving

sole shareholder). The application of disparate bodies of

state and federal law to the same benefit plan results in

the potential for inconsistent and even conflicting applica-

tions of the same policy terms. Inconsistent and conflicting

regulation ultimately increases the administrative and

litigation costs of these plans, thereby harming the very

employees that Congress sought to protect when it enacted

ERISA.

This case arose out of a bankruptcy dispute and

involves the question of whether Dr. Yates had standing to

enforce the anti-alienation provision in his ERISA plan.

Hendon v. Yates, 287 F.3d 521, 525 (6th Cir. 2002). How-

ever, this Court’s decision will also determine whether a

working owner has standing under ERISA, §502(a)(1)(B)

to recover benefits under an ERISA-governed plan and

whether any state law claims asserted by the working

owner are preempted by ERISA. This is the issue that the

UNUMProvident Companies and the employee benefit

plans that they insure face on an ongoing basis in the

lower federal and state courts. Indeed, several of the

circuit court holdings that the petitioners relied on to

establish a split in circuit court authority justifying a writ

of certiorari involved claims for benefits under disability

policies issued to ERISA plans by one of the UNUMProvi-

dent Companies or by other disability insurance carriers.

See, e.g., Sipma v. Massachusetts Cas. Ins. Co., 256 F.3d

1006 (10th Cir. 2001); Agrawal v. Paul Revere Life Ins. Co.,

205 F.3d 297 (6th Cir. 2000); Wolk v. Unum Life Ins. Co. of

America, 186 F.3d 352 (3d Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 528 U.S.

Poy

3

1076 (2000); Engelhardt v. The Paul Revere Life Ins. Co.,

139 F.3d 1346 (11th Cir. 1998). By virtue of their extensive

involvement in providing insured benefits to ERISA-

governed disability plans, the UNUMProvident Compa-

nies have a strong interest in preserving the uniform

regulation of the employee welfare benefit plans that they

insure.

+

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The primary purpose of Congress in enacting ERISA

was to regulate employee benefit plans under a uniform

body of federal law. Congress accomplished this purpose in

two principal ways. First, it included a broad preemption

clause which was “designed to ‘establish pension plan

regulation as exclusively a federal concern.’” Pilot Life Ins.

Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 46 (1987). Second, Congress

created a “comprehensive civil enforcement scheme” that

is “one of the essential tools for accomplishing the stated

purposes of ERISA.” Jd. at 52. This Court has held on

several occasions that ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme is

the exclusive means to remedy disputes arising from the

processing of ERISA benefit claims. Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at

54; Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 54 (1987).

Most recently, this Court noted that the civil enforcement

scheme of ERISA is an example of an “overpowering

federal policy” that employee benefit plan regulation be

uniformly federal in character. Rush Prudential HMO, Inc.

v. Moran, __ U.S. ___, 122 S.Ct. 2151, 2164, 153 L.Ed.2d

375, 396 (2002).

The decision below that working owners are not

participants under ERISA and that they have no standing

4

to sue under ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme, violates

congressional intent for uniform federal regulation of

employee benefit plans. In the context of a suit for plan

benefits, the holding results in a disparity between the

state law remedies that are available to the working

owner and the federal law remedies that are available to

non-owner employees. This is exactly what Congress

sought to avoid: regulation of the same plan by multiple

bodies of potentially conflicting laws. Fractured and

conflicting regulation of employee benefit plans also leads

to another result that Congress sought to avoid — in-

creased costs of administering ERISA plans and the

possibility that such plans will become so expensive that

employers will cease to provide them in the first place. All

of these problems are cured when working owners are

considered participants under ERISA and have the same

remedies as non-owner employees who are covered under

the same benefit plan and who are subject to the same

plan terms. The Sixth Circuit decision should be reversed.

+

ARGUMENT

A. A BENEFIT CLAIMANT’S STATUS AS A PAR-

TICIPANT OR BENEFICIARY IMPACTS MUL-

TIPLE ISSUES UNDER ERISA SUCH AS

STANDING TO SUE, THE AVAILABILITY OF

ERISA REMEDIES, AND PREEMPTION OF

STATE LAW REMEDIES.

Dr. Yates’ status as a participant under ERISA con-

trols whether the anti-alienation provision of his ERISA

plan applies to his interest in the plan. However, the

question of a working owner’s status as a participant or a

beneficiary also arises in the context of whether the owner

has standing to sue for ERISA plan benefits and the

——— ir

5

related question of whether any state law claims brought

by the owner are preempted by ERISA. Thus, a decision

regarding Dr. Yates’ participant status in the context of his

bankruptcy dispute will also determine a working owner’s

participant status as it affects the administration of

benefits under thousands of ERISA plans on a daily basis.

Standing to sue under ERISA is crucial to determin-

ing what federal remedies are available to a working

owner. ERISA provides federal courts with jurisdiction of

ERISA suits, but only where the plaintiff has a specific

status under the statute, such as status as a participant or

beneficiary. ERISA, §502(e)(1).2 Section 502(a\1)(B)

provides an express cause of action for the recovery of plan

benefits, but such a cause of action is expressly reserved

only to participants and beneficiaries.’ Some lower courts

? Section 502(e)(1) (29 U.S.C. §1132(e)(1)] states in pertinent part

that “[e)xcept for actions under subsection (a)(1)(B) of this section, the

district courts of the United States shall have exclusive jurisdiction of

civil actions under this title brought by the Secretrary or by a partici-

pant, beneficiary, fiduciary, or any person referred to in section

101(f(1). State courts of competent jurisdiction and district courts of

the United States shall have concurrent jurisdiction of actions under

paragraphs (1)(B) and (7) of subsection (a) of this section.”

* The statute provides that “(a] civil action may be brought — by a

participant or beneficiary ... to recover benefits due to him under the

terms of his plan, to enforce his rights under the terms of the plan, or to

clarify his rights to future benefits under the terms of the plan.” ERISA,

§502(a1B) (emphasis added). The statute defines a “participant” as:

“any employee or former employee of an employer ... who is or may

become eligible to receive a benefit of any type from an employee

benefit plan which covers employees of such employer. ... ” ERISA,

§3(7). The statute defines a “beneficiary” as: “a person designated by a

participant, or by the terms of an employee benefit plan, who is or may

become entitled to a benefit thereunder.” ERISA, §3(8). The language of

the statute makes it clear that status as either a participant or a

(Continued on following page)

6

that have held that working owners do not have standing

to sue for benefits under ERISA also hold that ERISA

simply does not apply to these claims even though they

arise out of an ERISA-governed benefit plan. See, e.g.,

Fugarino v. Hartford, 969 F.2d at 186; Kwatcher, 879 F.2d

at 965-66.

These same courts have also held that a working

owner’s standing to sue under ERISA controls what state

law remedies are available to the working owner. Where a

dispute arises out of the administration of benefits under

an ERISA plan, this Court has held that ERISA’s remedies

are exclusive. See, e.g., Moran, supra; Pilot Life, supra;

Taylor, supra. Any state law claims that purport to sup-

plement or supplant ERISA’s exclusive remedies are

preempted, even where they are otherwise “saved” from

preemption under ERISA’s express preemption clause. Id.

Even so, according to some lower courts, where a working

owner does not have standing to sue under ERISA’s civil

enforcement scheme, state law remedies are not pre-

empted by ERISA. Fugarino, supra; Kwatcher, supra. See

also Ritter v. Massachusetts Cas. Ins. Co., 439 Mass. 214,

786 N.E.2d 817 (2003) Goint shareholder did not have

standing to sue for disability benefits under ERISA and

her state law claims against ERISA plan insurer were not

preempted).

In summary, although not directly presented by the

decision on review, the broader question of a working

owner’s standing to sue for plan benefits under

beneficiary is sufficient to grant standing to pursue a suit for plan

benefits.

7

§502(a)(1B) must be considered in this case. A working

owner's standing to sue for plan benefits under ERISA is

the most common context in which the standing issue

arises. Compare Santino v. Provident Life and Acc. Ins.

Co., 276 F.3d 772 (6th Cir. 2001) (joint shareholder had

standing to sue for benefits as participant); Sipma v. Mass.

Casualty, supra (same); Vega v. National Life Ins. Services,

Inc., 188 F.3d 287 (5th Cir. 1999) (en banc) (husband and

wife, as sole shareholders, had standing to sue for benefits

as participants); Engelhardt v. Paul Revere, supra (joint

shareholder has standing to sue for benefits as benefici-

ary); Wolk v. UNUM, supra (partner had standing to sue

for plan benefits as beneficiary); Prudential Ins. Co. of

America v. Doe, 76 F.3d 206 (8th Cir. 1996) (joint share-

holder has standing to sue for benefits as beneficiary);

Robinson v. Linomaz, 58 F.3d 365 (8th Cir. 1995) (husband

and wife, as sole shareholders, had standing to sue for

benefits as beneficiaries); Peterson v. American Life &

Health Ins. Co., 48 F.3d 404 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 516

U.S. 942 (1995) (partner has standing to sue for benefits

as beneficiary); Madonia v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield of

Virginia, 11 F.3d 444 (4th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 511 US.

1019 (1994) (sole shareholder had standing to sue for plan

benefits as participant); Harper v. American Chambers

Life Ins. Co., 898 F.2d 1432 (9th Cir. 1990) (partner has

standing to sue for plan benefits as beneficiary) with

Agrawal v. Paul Revere, supra (sole shareholder does not

have standing to sue for plan benefits, either as partici-

pant or as beneficiary); Fugarino v. Hartford, supra

(proprietor does not have standing to sue for plan benefits

as participant); Kwatcher v. Mass. Service, supra (sole

shareholder does not have standing to sue for plan bene-

fits as participant); Giardono v. Jones, 867 F.2d 409 (7th

Cir 1989) (proprietor does not have standing to sue for

8

plan benefits as participant). This standing issue affects

every ERISA plan that covers working owners.

B. THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR DETERMINED

LONG AGO THAT WORKING OWNERS ARE

PARTICIPANTS WHERE THEY ARE COVERED

BY AN EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLAN THAT IN-

CLUDES NON-OWNER EMPLOYEES.

Unlike some federal discrimination statutes such as

the Americans With Disabilities Act, ERISA does not

include any “small employer exemption” nor is there any

evidence that Congress intended to exclude small employ-

ers from ERISA. Consistent with congressional intent that

ERISA have broad application to employers of all sizes, the

Department of Labor (“DOL”) issued a regulation defining

the term “employee benefit plan” under ERISA. Under the

regulation, plans with as few as one employee-participant,

are governed by ERISA:

For purposes of Title I of the Act and this chap-

ter, the term ‘employee benefit plan’ shall not in-

clude any plan, fund, or program . . . under which

no employees are participants covered under the

plan ... For example, a so-called ‘Keogh’ or ‘H.R.

10’ plan under which only partners or only a sole

proprietor are participants covered under the

plan will not be covered under Title I. However, a

Keogh plan under which one or more common

law employees in addition to the self-employed

individuals are participants covered under the

plan, will be covered under Title I.

29 C.F.R. §2510.3-3(b) (emphasis added). For purposes of

determining whether a plan covers at least one employee,

ses

9

a sole owner and his/her spouse are not considered em-

ployees under the regulation:

For purposes of this section ... [aJn individual

and his or her spouse shall not be deemed to be

employees with respect to a trade or business,

whether incorporated or unincorporated, which

is wholly owned by the individual or by the indi-

vidual and his or her spouse... .

Id. at §2510.3-3(c) (emphasis added).

Once an ERISA plan is established, the DOL has

consistently concluded that all persons covered by the ~

plan, including working owners, are considered partici-

pants in the plan. For example, the DOL was presented

with the issue of whether a partner or sole proprietor is

subject to ERISA’s civil enforcement provision:

[W]Jhether Title I [including the preemption and

claims review procedures] of ERISA applies to

group medical programs which provide medical

coverage to a sole proprietor or a partner in an

unincorporated business, as well as common law

employees, and whether the claims made by such

a sole proprietor or partner would be subject to

the ERISA claims procedure.

[Letter from Robert J. Doyle, Director of Regulations and

Interpretations, Department of Labor, to Susan Katz

Hoffman, at 1 (July 31, 1992) (emphasis added) (attached

as Appendix (“App.”) 1).] After reviewing the breadth of

ERISA preemption, the DOL stated that, although sole

proprietors and partners are not considered “employees”

for purposes of deciding whether a benefit plan has been

established, once a plan is established (because other

employees are covered by the plan in addition to the sole

proprietor or partner), sole proprietors and partners are

10

participants and beneficiaries of the plan and are bound

by Title I of ERISA, including the preemption and claims

review provisions. Jd. In other words, once a plan has been

established, sole proprietors, partners, and other owners

who are covered under the plan are subject to ERISA’s

claims procedures and are considered beneficiaries and/or

participants for purposes of those claims. See DOL Report-

ing and Disclosure Regulations, 40 Fed. Reg. 34525, 34528

(August 15, 1975) (definition of “employee” in §2510.3-3 is

for the limited purpose of determining whether a plan has

any employees, and thus whether an ERISA plan exists;

hence, the regulations are revised to expressly limit the

definition of “employee” to §2510.3-3 in order to avoid

excluding the “self-employed” from ERISA).

The 1992 DOL information letter is consistent with

~ previous agency opinions on the issue. In DOL Advisory

Opinion 79-8A (attached as App. 19), the agency stated

that the wife of a partner in a partnership whose employ-

ees participated in a multi-employer pension plan was not

automatically excluded from participation in the plan

merely because the definition of an “employee” in §2510.3-

3 is somewhat restrictive. The agency stated that the

regulatory definition of “employee” was not intended to

dictate a person’s status under a plan once an ERISA plan

is established. Likewise, in DOL Advisory Opinion 81-54A

(attached as App. 14), the DOL advised as to which indi-

viduals would be counted as participants and/or benefici-

aries in a scholarship fund for purposes of ERISA’s

reporting and disclosure requirements. Again, the agency

read the terms “participant” and “beneficiary” broadly. It

concluded that the term “beneficiary” would include the

children of eligible individuals who may become entitled to

a scholarship from the fund and that all individuals

11

meeting the eligibility criteria “of the Fund” would be

participants and/or beneficiaries in accordance with

ERISA. In other words, it was the eligibility criteria “of

the Fund” that controlled participant and beneficiary

status.

Most recently, the DOL reaffirmed its longstanding

position that “the statutory provisions of ERISA, taken as

a whole, reveal a clear Congressional design to include

‘working owners’ within the definition of ‘participant’ for

purposes of Title I of ERISA.” DOL Advisory Opinion 99-04

(attached as App. 4).

The DOL’s regulatory interpretation of ERISA is

entitled to deference. In Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural

Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984), this

Court held that where an administrative agency is author-

ized to regulate a particular statute and where the

agency’s regulation is a “permissible construction” of the

statute, a court must defer to the agency’s interpretation.

Id. at 843-44 (“[w]e have long recognized that considerable

weight should be accorded to an executive department’s

construction of a statutory scheme it is entrusted to

administer”). In reviewing an agency’s interpretation, “the

question before [the court is] not whether in its view the

concept is ‘inappropriate’ in the general context of a

program ... but whether the Administrator’s view that it

is appropriate in the context of this particular program is

a reasonable one.” Jd. at 844. Thus, the DOL’s regulation

that a benefit plan is governed by ERISA where it covers

at least one employee is entitled to deference. See, e.g.,

Black & Decker Disability Plan v. Nord, ___ U.S. ___, 123

S.Ct. 1965, 155 L.Ed.2d 1034 (2003) (deferring to DOL

claim regulations in holding that the treating physician

rule does not apply to ERISA disability benefit determina-

tions).

12

While the DOL’s subsequent advisory opinions inter-

preting its regulation may not be entitled to Chevron-style

deference per se, DOL opinions interpreting its own

regulation should certainly be persuasive. Clackamas

Gastroenterology Assocs., P.-C. v. Wells, __ U.S. __, 123

S.Ct. 1673, 155 L.Ed.2d 615 (2003) (EEOC guidelines

under the ADA are persuasive). See also Cvelbar v. CBI

Illinois, 106 F.3d 1368, 1375 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 522

U.S. 812 (1997) (“Although the position of the Secretary [of

Labor], even when contained in an opinion letter of the

Department, is not binding upon this court, the views of

the agency charged with the administration of the statute

carry considerable weight.”). The DOL’s “bright line”

definition that working owners are “participants” is

certainly a “permissible construction” of ERISA. Whether

entitled to deference under the Chevron doctrine or

whether it is merely persuasive, the DOL’s position on this

issue lends much needed consistency and predictability to

the statute as well as to the administration of ERISA-

governed plans.

C. THE MAJORITY OF CIRCUIT COURTS HOLD

THAT WORKING OWNERS HAVE STANDING

TO SUE FOR PLAN BENEFITS UNDER ERISA,

CONCLUDING THAT SUCH A RESULT IS NEC-

ESSARY TO ENSURE UNIFORM REGULATION

OF EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLANS AND CON-

SISTENT APPLICATION OF PLAN TERMS.

The majority of circuits have interpreted ERISA to

grant standing to working owners, including sole share-

holders of corporate employers. For example, in Madonia,

supra, the Fourth Circuit held that a sole shareholder of a

medical corporation had standing to sue as a participant

under ERISA. Among other things, the Fourth Circuit held

— -_——o

~_—_ =

13

that a working owner’s standing to sue under ERISA was

consistent with congressional intent for uniform federal

regulation of employee benefit plans:

By concluding that sole shareholders can be con-

sidered ‘participants’ in their companies’ em-

ployee welfare benefit plans, we likewise avoid

the situation in which two separate bodies of law

would govern a corporation’s employee benefits

claims. In this particular case, it would seem

anomalous to have [the shareholder] seeking re-

covery under state law theories and [other em-

ployees] suing under ERISA. In enacting ERISA,

Congress drafted its ‘most sweeping federal pre-

emption statute’ in order to achieve uniformity

and consistency in the law governing employee

benefits ... Disallowing shareholders such as

[the plaintiff) from being plan ‘participants’

would result in disparate treatment of corporate

employees’ claims, thereby frustrating the statu-

tory purpose of ensuring similar treatment for all

claims relating to employee benefit plans.

Id. at 450.

The Fifth Circuit, sitting en banc, has held that where

a corporate employer is owned by a husband and wife, and

where the corporation sponsors an ERISA health benefits

plan, the shareholders are participants under ERISA with

standing to sue for plan benefits. Vega v. National Life Ins.

Services, supra. As in Madonia and the present case, the

Fifth Circuit held that the health plan was governed by

ERISA because it covered at least one employee in addi-

tion to the spouse/shareholders. Once an ERISA plan was

established, the Fifth Circuit held that the shareholders

were considered participants in the plan. The Fifth Circuit

was “persuaded by the reasoning in Madonia”, including

14

that court’s statement that such a result “promoted Con-

gress’ objective of achieving uniformity through the en-

actment of ERISA because it fostered consistency in the

law governing employee benefits.” 188 F.3d at 294.

Vega and Madonia are part of a long line of circuit

court authority holding that working owners of ERISA

plan sponsors have standing to sue for plan benefits under

ERISA in large part because a contrary holding would

frustrate Congress’ objective of creating uniform regula-

tion of employee benefit plans. See, e.g., Gilbert v. Alta

Health & Life Ins. Co., 276 F.3d 1292, 1303-04 (11th Cir.

2001) (“This conclusion [that a sole shareholder has

standing to sue under ERISA] also comports with common

sense ... If we accepted [the shareholder’s) reading of the

[DOL] regulation, then he and his wife would have a

different set of rights and remedies than the other em-

ployees covered by the same plan.”); Wolk v. Unum Life

Ins. Co. of America, 186 F.3d at 357 (“As several courts of

appeals have noted, ‘to hold otherwise would create the

anomaly of requiring some insureds to pursue benefit

claims under state law while requiring others covered by

the identical policy to proceed under ERISA. Such a

scenario would frustrate Congress’ intent of achieving

uniformity in the law governing employment benefits.”);

Prudential v. Doe, 76 F.3d at 209 (a working owner’s

standing to pursue ERISA remedies was supported by the

policy rationale that avoided the “anomaly of requiring

some insureds to pursue benefit claims under state law

while requiring others covered by the identical policy to

proceed under ERISA”); Robinson v. Linomaz, 58 F.3d at

369 (noting that its holding that working owners have

standing under ERISA once an ERISA plan is established

is consistent with congressional intent and that “it would

ee ee qs SE ae so eee -

15

be anomalous to have those persons benefiting from [the

plan] governed by two disparate sets of legal obligations”);

Peterson v. American Health, 48 F.3d at 409 (“To hold [that

a working owner does not have standing to sue under

ERISA] would create the anomaly of requiring some

insureds to pursue benefit claims under state law while

requiring others covered by the identical policy to proceed

under ERISA. Such a scenario would frustrate Congress’

intent of achieving uniformity in the law governing em-

ployment benefits.”); Harper v. American Chambers, 898

F.2d at 1434-35 (“[OJur construction of the statutes defin-

ing the [working owners] as ERISA beneficiaries is conso-

nant with the ERISA statutory scheme.”).‘ Even the Sixth

* Several of the circuit court holdings that working owners have

standing to sue under ERISA are based on the owner’s status as a

beneficiary, apart from his or her status as a participant. These

decisions are based on the plain language of ERISA’s definition of a

beneficiary, which includes not only persons who are designated by a

participant to receive plan benefits (e.g., such as in a life insurance

policy), but also includes “a person ... designated by the terms of an

employee benefit plan, who is or may become entitled to a benefit

thereunder.” ERISA, §3(8) [29 U.S.C. §1002(8)). These courts have held

that this definition is clear and unambiguous and includes working

owners who are otherwise covered under the terms of the ERISA plan.

See, e.g., Gilbert v. Alta Health, 276 F.3d at 1295 (a sole shareholder has

standing as a beneficiary under an ERISA plan where he alleges that

he is entitled to benefits under the terms of the plan); Wolk v. Unum,

186 F.3d at 356 (a plain language interpretation of ERISA dictates that

a partner who alleges that he is entitled to benefits under the terms of

an ERISA plan has standing as a beneficiary of that plan); Prudential v.

Doe, 76 F.3d at 209-10 (a joint shareholder is a beneficiary where he

alleges that he is entitled to benefits under an ERISA plan); Robinson v.

Linomaz, 58 F.3d at 369 (the plain language of the statute dictates that

a joint shareholder is a beneficiary); Peterson v. American Life, 48 F.3d

at 409 (because a partner is designated to receive benefits under an

ERISA plan, the plain language of the statute dictates that the partner

is a beneficiary of the plan); Harper v. American Chambers, 898 F.3d at

(Continued on following page)

16

Circuit, which is one of two circuits to preclude sole share-

holders from participant status under ERISA,’ has ac-

knowledged the patent inconsistency in doing so:

When self-employed individuals are excluded

from classification as participant or beneficiary,

the self-employed lack standing to enforce their

rights under ERISA and can sue under state law

theories. ERISA was originally put into place to

protect the interests of employees by imposing

duties on those who fund and administer the

employee benefit plans; with these protections

come limitations on employees’ rights to recover

state law remedies. Although self-employed indi-

viduals may not need the protections offered by

ERISA, because they are likely to look out for

themselves in the administration of the plan, it

does not follow that once a self-employed person

chooses to participate in an ERISA plan and gain

benefits thereunder, she should be free from the

1434-35 (same). See also Engelhardt v. Paul Revere, 139 F.3d at 1351 (a

joint shareholder is a beneficiary where he is designated to receive

benefits under an ERISA plan). Because ERISA’s civil enforcement

provision permits suits for plan benefits by both participants and

beneficiaries, these cases hold that working owners have standing to

sue under ERISA as beneficiaries even if for some reason they are not

considered participants. ERISA, §502(a\(1B). If this Court holds that

working owners are considered participants, the question of their status

as beneficiaries would be moot in most cases. Even so, the question of

beneficiary status is not presented in the petition before this Court and

is not at issue in this case.

* The Sixth Circuit has held that joint shareholders of a corporate

plan sponsor are participants under ERISA, even though sole share-

holders, such as Dr. Yates, are not considered participants. Compare

Santino v. Provident, supra (joint shareholders covered under an ERISA

plan are considered participants) with Hendon v. Yates, supra (a sole

shareholder is not a participant).

a ae ae

— “~~ ——

17

limitations imposed upon her employees. Under

Fugarino, a self-employed individual who par-

ticipates in a disability plan that covers him and

all of his employees will have a unique advan-

tage: the self-employed individual can pursue a

parade of state law claims that are withheld from

his employees by preemption.

Agrawal v. Paul Revere, 205 F.3d at 303.

D. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT DECISION ON REVIEW

CREATES INCONSISTENCY IN THE REGULA-

TION OF ERISA PLANS AND IN THE APPLICA-

TION OF ERISA PLAN TERMS, CONTRARY TO

THE INTENT OF CONGRESS.

1. Congress Enacted ERISA To Establish Uni-

form Regulation Of Employee Benefit Plans

In Order To Reduce The Costs Of Administer-

ing Such Plans And To Thereby Make Such

Plans Available To A Greater Number Of Em-

ployees.

Congress enacted ERISA in order to promote a cost-

effective private employee benefit plan system through

uniform fiduciary standards and remedies. A single regu-

latory framework allows simplicity in plan administration.

See, e.g., Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, 463 U.S. 85, 99 n. 20

(1983). See also Ft. Halifax Packing Co., Inc. v. Coyne, 482

U.S. 1, 9 (1987) (simplicity in plan administration is

achieved by establishing “a uniform administrative

scheme, which provides a set of standard procedures to

guide processing of claims and disbursement of benefits”).

A uniform system of benefit plan regulation leads to lower

administrative costs and broader availability of benefits to

employees. As this Court stated in Varity Corporation

v. Howe, 516 U.S. 489 (1996), one of the “competing

18

purposes” of Congress was “its desire not to create a

system that is so complex that administrative costs, or

litigation expenses, unduly discourage employers from

offering welfare benefit plans in the first place.” Jd. at 497.

The importance of regulatory uniformity within an

employee benefit plan is amply illustrated by the decision

in Shaw, supra. One of the issues in that case was

whether state-mandated disability benefits that were

otherwise expressly exempted from ERISA fell within

federal ERISA regulation where they were administered

as part of a plan that also included ERISA-governed

benefits. 463 U.S. at 107-08. This Court noted that ERISA

was enacted to avoid situations where “one portion of a

multibenefit plan would be subject only to state regula-

tion, while other portions would be exclusively within the

federal domain.” Jd. at 107. Shaw recognized that “[tJhe

administrative impracticality of permitting mutually

exclusive pockets of federal and state jurisdiction within a

plan is apparent.” Jd. at 107-08. Accordingly, Shaw held

that the entire plan was regulated by ERISA, including

the “non-ERISA” benefits. 463 U.S. at 108.

2. The Decision Below Creates Inconsistency In

The Regulation And Application Of ERISA

Plan Terms And Is Contrary To Congres-

sional Intent For Uniform Regulation And

Lower Benefit Costs.

Exclusion of working owners from ERISA’s civil

enforcement scheme creates a serious dysfunction within

ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme. This schism permits

working owners to sue plan fiduciaries, who are required

to administer the entire plan under federal law, for viola-

tions of state law. Other covered employees are required to

|

j

}

}

|

!

19

sue under federal law. Allowing working owners to main-

tain state law causes of action outside of ERISA’s preemp-

tive sphere creates the “mutually exclusive pockets of

federal and state jurisdiction within a plan,” against which

this Court warned in Shaw. Such multiplicity of regula-

tion and open-ended administrative and financial burdens

are precisely the problems that ERISA was intended to

avoid.

Exclusion of working owners from ERISA’s civil

enforcement scheme also creates an irony that was cer-

tainly not anticipated by Congress: because owners would

have access to state law damages remedies that are not

available under ERISA, working owners would have

broader remedies than are available to non-owner employ-

ees. The availability of state law damages increases the

cost of providing benefits, eventually reaching the point of

discouraging these same owners from providing benefits to

their employees in the first place. This is certainly con-

trary to the “protection” that Congress intended ERISA to

afford working men and women.

Exclusion of working owners from ERISA’s civil

enforcement scheme also creates a dysfunction between

the civil enforcement scheme and ERISA’s other regula-

tory provisions. The petitioner and the United States, as

amicus curiae, have demonstrated that multiple provisions

of the statute and the Internal Revenue Code provide that

working owners who participate in ERISA plans are

regulated by ERISA. It would make no sense if some

portions of ERISA regulated these owners’ participation in

employee benefit plans yet the civil enforcement provi-

sions were found not to regulate the owners’ claims for

benefits under the same plans.

20

Exclusion of working owners from ERISA’s civil

enforcement scheme also results in inconsistent applica-

‘tion of the same plan terms, as demonstrated by the

following scenarios:

> Assume that a small corporation purchases long term

disability insurance for its full-time employees, includ-

ing the sole shareholder. Assume also that the plan

expressly provides discretion to the insurer to deter-

mine eligibility for benefits. If a non-owner employee

applies for benefits and the insurer denies the claim

based on a determination that the emplovee’s medical

records do not evidence sufficient restrictions and

limitations to qualify for the employee to be consid-

ered disabled under the policy, the employee would be

required to sue under ERISA. Under Firestone Tire &

Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101 (1989), the review-

ing court would defer to the insurer’s factual determi-

nation and affirm that determination unless the

employee proved that it was an abuse of discretion.

However, if the same claim was filed by the sole share-

holder and the shareholder was permitted to sue

under state law, the abuse of discretion standard

would most likely not apply and the court would be

required to determine whether the insurer was correct

in denying benefits. Depending on the evidence, the

reviewing court could determine under state law that

the denial of the owner’s claim was wrong and should

be overturned whereas, in the case of the non-owner

employee, the same court might determine under ER-

ISA that, based on the same evidence, the decision

was not an abuse of discretion and should be affirmed.

> Assume the same facts as above, except that the

disability benefit claim is denied based on the in-

surer’s interpretation of a plan term. In the case of the

non-owner employee’s claim, a reviewing court would

be required to uphold the insurer’s interpretation if it

a RD GR =

21

was reasonable, even if the court would have applied a

different interpretation. In the case of the share-

holder’s claim, the reviewing court would be in the po-

sition of applying its own interpretation of the plan

term that would be contrary to the interpretation ap-

plied by the insurer. In other words, the same term in

the same policy could be subject to conflicting inter-

pretations solely because one claim is brought by the

shareholder under state law and the other claim is

brought by a non-owner employee under ERISA. The

non-owner employee would be denied benefits

whereas the shareholder would collect benefits even

though both denials were based on the same plan

terms.

Assume the same facts as above, except that neither

the working owner nor the non-owner employee ex-

haust administrative appeal procedures before filing

suit. Because the non-owner’s claim is governed by

ERISA, he or she would be required to exhaust the

plan’s administrative remedies before pursuing the

lawsuit. See, e.g., Norris v. Citibank, NA Disability

Plan, 308 F.3d 880 (8th Cir. 2002) (discussing exhaus-

tion requirement under ERISA). If the working

owner’s claim is governed by state law, there is no cor-

responding exhaustion requirement, allowing the

working owner to bypass administrative remedies at

his or her discretion. Similarly, once the case reaches

court, the non-owner’s ERISA claim will be limited to

a review of the administrative record, a requirement

also not found under state law. See, e.g., Perlman v.

Swiss Bank Long Term Disability Plan, 195 F.3d 975

(7th Cir. 1999) (discussing limited scope of review un-

der ERISA). Pre-trial discovery is also limited under

ERISA whereas there is no limitation under state law.

See, e.g., Perlman v. Swiss Bank, supra.

22

The above examples illustrate the most fundamental

defect in the decision below: exclusion of working owners

from ERISA’s remedies results in inconsistent and conflict-

ing applications of plan terms and plan fiduciary benefit

decisions. It certainly was not Congress’ intent that ERISA

should be so narrow that it allows working owners who are

covered under the same benefit plan as other employees to

have a better opportunity to collect benefits than their

non-owner employees. The intent of Congress was that if

the same plan terms apply to all persons covered under

the plan, those terms should be applied consistently to all

persons covered by the plan. No other result makes any

sense.

E. A “BRIGHT LINE” RULE THAT WORKING OWN-

ERS ARE PARTICIPANTS IS THE ONLY AP-

PROACH CONSISTENT WITH THE STATUTORY

LANGUAGE OF ERISA, THIS COURT’S PRECE-

DENTS AND CONGRESS’ INTENT TO PROVIDE

PLAN ADMINISTRATORS WITH CONSISTENCY

AND PREDICTABILITY IN DETERMINING WHO

IS A PARTICIPANT UNDER THE PLAN.

In addition to determining whether working owners

have standing to sue for benefits under ERISA, the status

of working owners as plan participants also governs

whether ERISA-mandated claim procedures apply to

benefit claims filed by working owners. ERISA, §503 [29

U.S.C. §1133] requires a two-stage process whereby the

claims administrator makes an initial determination of

benefit eligibility and where the participant is guaranteed

at least one level of review. Jd. The DOL has issued

lengthy and detailed regulations governing the time

periods applicable to these administrative reviews, the

notice requirements applicable to benefit denials, what

— ET

23

persons are required to review the claim (including medi-

cal personnel where appropriate), and related issues. 29

C.F.R. §2560.503-1. As discussed above, the DOL has also

issued multiple opinions that where a working owner is

covered under a plan that also covers non-owner employ-

ees, claims for benefits filed by the working owner are

subject to ERISA.

The DOL’s “bright line” determination that working

owners are participants is directly consistent with the

language of ERISA and the manner in which this Court

has required that language to be interpreted. Importantly,

the DOL’s approach also lends regulatory uniformity and

predictability to the claims process, thereby further

ensuring lower costs of maintaining ERISA plans.

It is well settled that the starting point for proper

statutory construction is the language of the statute itself.

Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. v. Darden, 503 U.S. 318 (1992).

Here the DOL’s position is grounded on multiple provi-

sions of ERISA as well as related provisions of the tax

code. See, e.g., DOL Advisory Opinion 99-04A (App. 4.)

These statutory provisions include working owners as

participants under ERISA and alleviate any need to resort

to the common law, as this Court did in Darden.

In Darden, this Court was charged with interpreting

the term “employee” in ERISA vis a vis independent

contractors. 503 U.S. at 324. Looking to the statute on that

specific point, the Court held that “Darden does not cite,

and we do not find, any provision either giving specific

guidance on the term’s meaning or suggesting that con-

struing it to incorporate traditional agency law principles

would thwart the congressional design or lead to absurd

results.” Jd. Thus, in the absence of any statutory

24

provisions that clarified whether or not an independent

contractor was a participant under ERISA, and faced with

two previous situations where the Court had defined the

term “employee” broadly in the absence of such legislative

guidance, only to see Congress subsequently amend the

statute to specify a common law meaning, the Court

reasonably applied a common law definition to the term.

Id. at 324-25.

Likewise, in Clackamas, supra, this Court incorpo-

rated common law principles into the ADA to determine

the employee status of corporate shareholders. In that

case, although no ADA provisions specifically resolved the

question, the statutory provisions the Court found most

relevant, (the ADA’s exemption for small employers)

actually mitigated against adopting a broader definition

for the term than that dictated by common law. 123 S.Ct.

at 1678-79.

Unlike the independent contractor issue in Darden

and the ADA issue in Clackamas, there are statutory

provisions in both ERISA and corresponding tax code

provisions that do explain the participant status of work-

ing owners and that do require that working owners be

considered participants when they participate in ERISA-

governed plans with other non-owner employees. Unlike

Darden and Clackamas, then, there is no reason to resort

to the common law te resolve the issue in this case. And

unlike Darden and Clackamas, resort to common law here

would both “thwart the congressional design [and] lead to

absurd results.” Darden, 503 U.S. at 323.

There are also other considerations that distinguish

this case from Darden and Clackamas. First, both Darden

and Clackamas anticipate that each issue must be

eee —.

25

addressed on its own and that even if a common law test is

utilized, the applicable criteria may differ from situation

to situation. For example, this Court applied different

factors for determining employer-employee status under

the ADA in Clackamas than it did for determining inde-

pendent contractor-employee status in Darden. Clacka-

mas, 123 S.Ct. at 1678 n. 4 (noting that the Darden

common law “factors are not directly applicable to this

case because we are not faced with drawing a line between

independent contractors and employees”). Neither case

mandates a hard and fast rule that must be applied under

all circumstances where the question is whether someone

is a participant or an “employee.” Neither case mandates a

common law test in all situations under ERISA.

Second, unlike the ADA where a person cannot be

both an employer and an employee, ERISA anticipates the

possibility in several contexts that a person may “wear two

hats.” For example, this Court has held that an employer

may be a fiduciary of an ERISA plan with duties to par-

ticipants and beneficiaries for some purposes even though

the same employer may act as an employer with the right

to act in its own interests for other purposes, even if those

interests are detrimental to participants and beneficiaries.

See, e.g., Lockheed Corporation v. Spink, 517 U.S. 882, 890

(1996) (employer, who is a fiduciary for some purposes,

may amend plan terms to reduce available benefits be-

cause in making plan design decisions, the employer does

not act as a fiduciary). Thus, the possibility that a working

owner may act as an employer in some situations with

respect to an ERISA plan and as a participant-employee in

other situations with respect to the same ERISA plan is

not at all surprising or inconsistent with the statutory

design.

26

Third, the considerations in Clackamas that counseled

in favor of adopting a multi-factor common law test are not

applicable in this case. As stated, the ADA incorporates an

exemption for small employers, evidencing congressional

intent that a large group of potentially covered entities

will not be subject to regulation under the ADA. Clacka-

mas, 123 S.Ct. at 1678-79. This Court specifically cited the

exemption as a “countervailing consideration” mitigating

against adopting a definition broader than the common

law. Id.

Here there is no such “countervailing consideration.”

ERISA has no small employer exemption. To the contrary,

ERISA anticipates broad application, even to plans that

cover only one employee. And as noted above, while ERISA

may be silent as to whether its broad application applies

to independent contractors, the same cannot be said with

respect to “working owners.” Furthermore, Clackamas

places substantial weight on the opinions of the EEOC in

regulai.ng the ADA. As noted above, similar weight should

be placed on the DOL in regulating ERISA.

Finally, unlike the ADA, this Court has already

recognized that the congressional policy of uniformity in

the regulation of ERISA plans overrides even explicit

statutory exemptions. This Court has held that even

where certain benefits are expressly excluded from ERISA,

they are governed by ERISA where they are administered

as part of an ERISA benefit program. Shaw, supra. Shaw

provides substantial guidance in determining the result in

this case. Even if a working owner would not be considered

an “employee” generally under one or another common law

test, the working owner should be regulated by ERISA as

27

a participant where he or she participates in an ERISA-

governed plan that covers non-owner employees. No other

result can satisfy the need for uniform regulation.

The petitioner suggests that the common law supports

participant status for Dr. Yates. This is certainly true with

respect to a shareholder of a corporation. For example, in

Madonia, supra, the Fourth Circuit held that common law

principles supported the conclusion that a sole shareholder

was an employee of the corporation where the shareholder

was subject to the same treatment as non-owner employ-

ees with respect to compensation and taxes, and where the

common law recognized the distinction between a corpo-

rate entity and its owner. 11 F.3d at 449. In the context of

corporate shareholders, application of the common law

rule which respects the corporate form and includes as an

“employee” any individual who chooses to accept the

benefits and burdens of such a corporate form, makes

emminent sense and promotes the interests of uniformity

to a greater extent than a “multi-factor” common law test

such as the one adopted in Clackamas and Darden.

However, such a common law test is problematic with

respect to other working owners such as proprietors and

partners. Frequently, proprietors and partners are treated

differently from non-owner employees with respect to

compensation and there is no corresponding distinction in

the common law between proprietors and partners on the

one hand and their business entities on the other hand.

Yet, where proprietors and partners are covered under the

same ERISA-governed plan as non-owner employees,

there is the same potential for varied and conflicting

regulation within a plan as where the working owner is a

shareholder.

28

Thus, it is clear that importation of the common law

to resolve the issue at hand will inevitably “thwart the

congressional design” which not only specifically contem-

plates working owners as employees but also requires both

uniformity and predictability. Darden, 503 U.S. at 326

(rejecting lower court’s analysis because the analysis was

“unable to furnish predictable results”). Resorting to a

multi-factor test implies that some working owners will be

excluded from participant status, leaving the plans in

which they participate along with non-owner employees

subject to varied and potentially conflicting laws, as

discussed above. Application of multiple fact. ‘ensitive

criteria to determine participant status will also destroy

predictability. This type of analysis might be practical

when one is dealing with issues that are resolved in

litigation, such as whether an employer meets the mini-

mum threshold requirement of the ADA. However, it does

not make sense when laypersons must determine partici-

pant status in a pre-litigation administrative environment

in order to determine what procedures are applicable to a

working owner’s claim for plan benefits. In fact, the time

periods for making claim decisions under ERISA plans,

some of which are as short as 24 hours, make it impossible

for an ERISA plan claims administrator to make such a

determination based on a multi-factor common law test.

The ADA does not incorporate an administrative process

that is similar to ERISA’s claim process. In the ERISA

claim administration environment, only a “bright line” test

will suffice. Otherwise, hundreds of claim administrators

would be required to conduct what would amount to full

discovery, just to determine whether or not ERISA claim

procedures are applicable in the first place. This would

amount to the type of “absurd results” this Court warned

against in Darden. 503 U.S. at 323.

a ae ae

2s" 2228. es 2

29

Certainly Congress did not intend the claim review

process required by section 503 to be such a complicated,

expensive and unpredictable process. If claim administra-

tors can apply the same administrative procedures to all

persons making claims under the same plan, including

working owners, the entire process is simplified and

uniform. This is exactly what Congress intended.

+

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, this Court should

reverse the ruling below.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM J. KAYATTA, JR. MaRK E. SCHMIDTKE*

BYRNE J. DECKER *Counsel of Record

PIERCE ATWOOD HOEPPNER WAGNER &

One Monument Square Evans LLP

Portland, ME 04101 103 East Lincolnway

(207) 791-1100 Valparaiso, IN 46384

(219) 465-7368

August 11, 2003

App. 1

U.S. Department of Labor

Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration

Washington, D.C. 20210

July 31, 1992

[SEAL]

Ms. Susan Katz Hoffman

Pepper, Hamiltan & Scheetz

3000 Two Logan Square

Eighteenth & Arch Streets

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103-2799

Dear Ms. Hoffman:

This is in reply to your request for an information

letter regarding the applicability of title I of the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA). Specifi-

cally, you ask whether title I of ERISA applies to group

medical programs which provide medical coverage to a sole

proprietor or a partner in an unincorporated business, as

well as common law employees, and whether the claims

made by such a sole proprietor or partner would be subject

to the ERISA claims procedure.

Section 4(a) of title I of ERISA generally provides that

any employee benefit plan established or maintained by an

employer engaged in commerce or in any industry or

activity affecting commerce, by any employee organization

representing employees engaged in commerce or in any

industry or activity effecting commerce, or by both will be

covered by that title unless excluded in subparagraph (b).

A program providing medical coverage would generally be

considered to be providing benefits among those included

in the definition of an employee welfare benefit plan.

App. 2

The definition of the term “employee benefit plan”

contained in section 3(3) of title I of ERISA includes both

employee welfare benefit plans and employee pension

benefit plans. In regulation 29 CFR 2510.3-3, the Depart-

ment of Labor (the Department) clarified the definition of

the term “employee benefit plan” for the purposes of title I

of ERISA. Paragraph (b) of §2510.3-3 provides that “the

term ‘employee benefit plan’ shall not include any plan,

fund or program, other than an apprenticeship or other

training program, under which no employees are partici-

pants covered under the plan ...” For purposes of the

regulation, paragraph (c) of §2510.3-3 provides that

certain individuals shall not be deemed to be employees.

Specifically §2510.3-3(c) provides that:

(c) Employees. For purposes of this section:

(1) An individual and his or her spouse

shall not be deemed to be employees with respect

to a trade or business, whether incorporated or

unincorporated, which is wholly owned by the

individual and his or her spouse, and

(2) A partner in a partnership and his or

her Spouse shall not be deemed to be employees

with respect to the partnership.

If a benefit program were limited to individuals

identified in §2510.3-3(c), the benefit program would not

constitute an employee benefit plan described in section

3(3) of title I of ERISA and, therefore, would not be cov-

ered by that title. If, on the other hand, the benefit pro-

gram includes one or more common law employees as well

as an individual described in §2510.3-3(c), such program

would be an employee benefit plan within the meaning of

section 3(3) of title I of ERISA.

App. 3 a

Employee benefit plans covered Under title I of ERISA

must comply with the claims procedure provisions of

section 503 of title I of ERISA and the Department’s

regulation concerning claims procedures, 29 CFR

2560.503-1. A plan’s claims procedure applies to any

participant or beneficiary covered under the employee

benefit plan, including any participant or beneficiary

described in §2510.3-3(c).

We hope this information will be helpful to you.

Sincerely,

/s/ Robert J. Doyle

ROBERT J. DOYLE

Director of Regulations

and Interpretations

App. 4

Department of Labor

Pension & Welfare Benefit Programs

OPINION 99-04 A

— February 4, 1999

REQUEST BY:

John P. Counts, Esq.

David Potts-Dupre, Esq.

Counts & Kanne

Suite 444

1125 15<th> Street, NW

Washington, D.C. 20005

OPINION:

This is in response to your request for an advisory

opinion concerning the definition of “participant” provided

in section 3(7) of Title I of the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA). Specifically, you ask

whether individuals who own business enterprises, either

wholly or in part, and who provide personal services to

those businesses may be “participants,” within the mean-

ing of section 3(7) of ERISA, in a multiemployer employee

benefit plan. You state that the business enterprises that

are the subject of this request include businesses that are

operated as corporations, sole proprietorships, and part-

nerships.

You submit your request on behalf of the National

Electrical Benefit Fund (the NEBF), a multiemployer

pension plan established jointly by the International

Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) and the Na-

tional Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) pursuant

App. 5

to collective bargaining. You describe the NEBF as the

largest construction industry fund in the United States,

with approximately 375,000 participants, over 14,000

contributing employers, and plan assets of almost five

billion dollars.

The documents that you have submitted indicate that

an individual can become eligible to participate in the

NEBF only as a result of an employer’s having executed a

participation agreement with the NEBF, obligating the

employer to make contributions on behalf of at least some

of its employees. See Restated Employees Benefit Agree-

ment and Trust for the National Electrical Benefit Fund

(hereinafter Trust Agreement), Part I, Provision 4; sections

1.7, 1.8, 1.18, 6.3.3. An employer must agree at a mini-

mum to make contributions on behalf of its bargaining

unit employees. Id. section 6.3.1. Such an employer may

elect, in addition, to contribute on behalf of its “non-

bargaining unit employees.” An employer may contribute

on behalf of all “non-bargaining unit employees” or only

those non-bargaining unit employees who were formerly

bargaining unit members (“alumni”). Id.

With respect to bargaining unit employees, a partici-

pating employer must contribute to the NEBF an amount

equal to three percent of “all wages and other compensa-

tion paid to, or accrued by, the Covered Employees in the

... bargaining unit for services performed for the Covered

Employer.” Id. section 6.2.1. For non-bargaining unit

employees, the employer must contribute to the NEBF an

amount equal to the lesser of

“(a) 3% of all wages and other compensation

which the Covered Employer would pay, or which

the [non-bargaining unit] Covered Employees

App. 6

would accrue, if the Covered Employees were re-

ceiving the wage rate received by the highest

number of employees in the appropriate . . . bar-

gaining unit and working the normal straight

time hours provided for in the appropriate labor

agreement, or (b) 3% of all wages and other com-

pensation paid to, or accrued by, the [non-

bargaining unit] Covered Employees for services

performed for the Covered Employer... .”

Id. Section 6.2.2.

The documents that you have supplied indicate that

the NEBF provides a pension benefit, which may be paid

as an early retirement pension or a normal retirement

pension, and a disability benefit. A participant becomes

vested in his or her pension benefit upon earning at least

five vesting service credits.’ Pension benefits for vested

participants are calculated by multiplying the partici-

pant’s benefit service credits’ by fixed dollar amounts that

are specified in the plan. As a result, the amount of a

participant’s monthly pension benefit is not dependent

upon the participant’s actual income prior to retirement or

the actual amount of contributions that an employer made

on his or her behalf, but rather upon seniority in the

NEBF.

* One vesting service credit is earned for each year after 1965 in

which a participant is credited with 1000 hours of covered service for

covered employment (employment during a period for which an

employer is obligated to make contributions for that employee).

* One benefit service credit is similarly earned for each year after

1965 in which a participant is credited with 1000 hours of covered

employment.

atic 5 cates

App. 7

You represent that the trustees of the NEBF currently

interpret its plan documents to permit “working owners”

to be treated as employees eligible to participate in the

NEBF and therefore to become participants in the NEBF”

The eligible “working owners” include any “owner that

earns wages or self-employment income from a company,”

including sole proprietors of unincorporated businesses.

You indicate that the working owners who currently

participate in the NEBF are journeyman electricians who

had worked initially as bargaining unit members for other

employers that contributed to the NEBF on their behalf.

They subsequently acquired ownership interests in those

employers or started their own electrical businesses,

sometimes in partnership with other similarly situated

individuals, sometimes by creating wholly-owned corpora-

tions, and sometimes operating as sole proprietors. They

continue to work as electricians and in some cases employ

other union members covered by the NEBF. Most of these

working owners had earned vested pension benefits in the

NEBF based on their previous service as bargaining unit

employees, and they began accruing additional service

* By the term “working owner,” you apparently mean any individ-

ual who has an equity ownership right of any nature in a business

enterprise and who is actively engaged in providing services to that

business, as distinguished from a “passive” owner, who may own shares

in a corporation, for example, but is not otherwise involved in the

activities in which the business engages for profit.

* This current practice has been followed only since January, 1994.

In the course of its history (since its creation in the early 1960's), the

NEBF’s practices have varied regarding participation by individuals

who have equity ownership rights in business enterprises that operate

in the industry covered by the IBEW.

App. 8

credits when the NEBF changed its eligibility rules in

1994 to permit working owners to participate.

You represent that the employer’s payroll reports,

submitted monthly to the NEBF, are used to determine an

employer’s contributions, based on the working owner’s

reported “wages,” and a working owner’s service credits,

based on the working owner’s reported hours of service.

You further represent that reporting employers determine

a working owner’s “wages” by determining the greater of

the working owner’s actual gross earnings subject to

employment tax for that month or the amount the working

owner would have earned if he had worked at normal

straight-time hours for the month at the applicable jour-

neyman’s rate. The working owner’s hours of service are

reported as the actual hours the working owner worked for

the business during the month.

Section 3(7) of Title I of ERISA provides that a “par-

ticipant” is “any employee or former employee of an

employer, or any member or former member of an em-

ployee organization, who is or may become eligible to

receive a benefit of any type from an employee benefit plan

which covers employees of such employer or members of

such organization, or whose beneficiaries may be eligible

to receive any such benefit.” Section 3(6) in turn defines an

“employee” as “any individual employed by an employer.”

Finally, section 3(5) defines “employer” as “any person

acting directly as an employer, or indirectly in the interest

of an employer, in relation to an employee benefit plan;

and includes a group or association of employers acting for

an employer in such capacity.”

Title I of ERISA contains multiple indications, albeit

indirect, that Congress assumed that a “working owner”

ae

App. 9

could be a “participant” in an employee benefit plan

sponsored by the business in which that working owner

held an ownership right, regardless of the legal form in

which the business was operated. For example, section

401(aX2) exempts certain partnership agreements from

the fiduciary provisions of Part 4. This exemption would

be meaningless if the partnership agreements themselves

(which cover only partners, one of the categories of “work-

ing owners”) were not otherwise plars covered by Title I.

Further, section 403(bX3)A) specifically exempts from the

trust requirement of section 403(a) a plan “some or all of

the participants of which are employees described in

section 401(cX1) of the Code [emphasis added).” This

exemption takes as its basis the assumption that the

employees described in Code section 401(c\(1), namely self-

employed individuals (including “working owners”), are

legitimate “participants” within the meaning of Title I.

Also, section 408(bX 1) exempts from section 406’s prohibi-

tion of specified transactions certain non-discriminatory

loans made to plan participants, including highly compen-

sated employees, but section 408(d\1) eliminates that

exemption for owner-employees as defined in section

401(cX3) of the Code. Inasmuch as the owner-employers

described in Code section 401(c\3) are sole proprietors and

more than ten-percent partners, it is clear that the provi-

sions in section 408 of Title I assume that such “working

owners” are “participants” in the plans from which those

loans would be made.

These indications of Congressional intent are supported

and reinforced by the treatment of “working owners” under

App. 10

the provisions of Title II and Title IV of ERISA.* Section

401(c) of the Internal Revenue Code (the Code) provides

that self-employed individuals are included as “employees”

under Code section 401(a) to the extent that they have

earned income “with respect to a trade or business in

which personal services of the [individual] are a material

income-producing factor.” Code section 401(cX2\A). Code

section 401(c) further imposes specific additional require-

ments on tax-qualified pension plans that provide benefits

to “owner-employees,” a term defined in Code section

401(cX3) to include employees who own the entire interest

in an unincorporated trade or business or more than 10

percent of a partnership. It is thus patently clear that

Title II of ERISA permits “working owners” to receive the

tax benefits that flow from participation as “participants”

in pension plans that meet the qualification requirements

of Code section 401(a).

Title IV of ERISA (the termination insurance provi-

sions) also expressly includes “working owners” among the

“participants” who receive its protections. See ERISA

section 4001(bX1) (“an individual who owns the entire

interest in an unincorporated trade or business is treated

as his own employer, and a partnership is treated as the

employer of each partner who is an employee within the

meaning of [Code] section 401(cX1) . . .”). Section 4021(bX9)

of ERISA excludes from coverage under Title IV only those

* Although we rely on certain provisions of Title II and Title IV in

reaching the conclusions expressed in this opinion, nothing in this

opinion should be construed as interpreting the provisions of those

Titles that lie within the interpretive jurisdiction of the Department of

the Treasury and the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation.

‘A .

App. 11

pension plans that are “established and maintained

exclusively for substantial owners,” i.e., sole proprietors

and more than ten-percent owners of partnerships and

corporations. See ERISA section 4022(bX5XA) (defining

“substantial owner”). Title IV limits the amount of benefits

that the PBGC guarantees to “substantial owners” who

participate in single employer plans, but nonetheless

provides a basic guarantee of such owners’ pension bene-

fits.-Such a guarantee would be meaningless if Title I did

not permit such owners to be participants in ERISA-

covered pension plans.

In our view, the statutory provisions of ERISA, taken

as a whole, reveal a clear Congressional design to include

“working owners” within the definition of “participant” for

purposes of Title I of ERISA. Congress could not have

intended that a pension plan operated so as to satisfy the

complex tax qualification rules applicable to benefits

provided to “owner-employees” under the provisions of

Title II of ERISA, and with respect to which an employer

faithfully makes the premium payments required to

protect the benefits payable under the plan to such indi-

viduals under Title IV of ERISA, would somehow trans-

gress against the limitations of the definitions contained

in Title I of ERISA. Such a result would cause an intoler-

warned against in Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. v.

Darden, 503 U.S. 318 (1992)

* In Darden, the United States Supreme Court held that the

definition of “employee” provided in section 3(6) of Title I did not

include an individual who was an independent contractor to the

(Continued on following page)

App. 12

Therefore, it is the view of the Department that there

is nothing in the definitions of Title I of ERISA that would

preclude a pension plan, including the NEBF, from extend-

ing plan coverage to “working owners,” as described in

your submission, where such coverage is otherwise consis-

tent with the documents and instruments governing the

plan and does not violate any other provisions of Title I.’

ERISA's fiduciary standards, however, require compli-

ance with any other applicable federal law. Pursuant to

ERISA section 514(d), nothing in Title I of ERISA shall be

employer that established and maintained the plan. In reaching this

conclusion, the Court first sought to determine whether ERISA

contained any provision “either giving specific guidance on the term’s

meaning or suggest.ng that construing it to incorporate traditional

agency law principles would thwart the congressional design or lead to

absurd results.” Jd. at 323. Finding no guidance in the statute itself, the

Court concluded that, “where Congress uses terms that have accumu-

lated settled meaning under ... the common law, a-court must infer,

unless the statute otherwise dictates, that Congress means to incorpo-

rate the established meaning of these terms.” 503 U.S. at 322. We

follow here the Court’s analysis in Darden, although with a different

result, inasmuch as we find ample guidance in ERISA as to Congress’

specific intent to treat “working owners” as “participants.”

" In its regulation at 29 C.F.R. 2510.3-3, the Department clarified

that the term “employee benefit plan” as defined in section 3(3) of Title

I does not include a plan the only participants of which are “an individ-

ual and his or her spouse ... with respect to a trade of business,

whether incorporated or unincorporated, which is wholly owned by the

individual or by the individual and his or her spouse” or “{a) partner in

a partnership and his or her spouse.” The regulation further specifies,

however, that a plan that covers as participants “one or more common

law employees, in addition to the self-employed individuals” will be

included in the definition of “employee benefit plan” under section 3(3).

The conclusion of this opinion, that such “self-employed individuals” are

themselves “participants” in the covered plan, is fully consistent with

that regulation.

App. 13

construed to alter, amend, modify, invalidate, impair, or

supersede any federal law or any rule or regulation issued

pursuant to such federal law. Such federal laws include

any requirements applicable to multiemployer benefit

plans under the Labor Management Relations Act

(LMRA). Several federal courts interpreting the LMRA

have upheld decisions by plan trustees to exclude owner-.

employees on the ground that their inclusion would violate

the LMRA. See, e.g., Todd v. Benal Concrete Const. Co.,

Inc., 710 F.2d 581 (9th Cir. 1983); Aitken v. GCU-Employer

Retirement Fund, 604 F.2d 1261 (9th Cir. 1979). The

Department is not authorized to issue opinions regarding

the LMRA. Accordingly, the fiduciary of a plan subject to

the LMRA that includes “working owners” should seek

legal advice regarding the propriety of the participation of

“working owners” in such plan under the LMRA.

This letter constitutes an advisory opinion under

ERISA Procedure 76-1. Accordingly, it is issued subject to

the provisions of that procedure, including section 10

thereof relating to the effect of advisory opinions.

Susan G. Lahne

Acting Chief

Division of Fiduciary Interpretations

Office of Regulations and Interpretations

App. 14

Department of Labor.

Pension & Welfare Benefit Programs.

OPINION 81-54A

June 22, 1981

REQUEST BY:

Mr. Richard M. Cosgrove

Executive Director

Lansing Mechanical Contractors Association

421 Seymour Avenue

Lansing, Michigan 48933

OPINION:

This is in response to your letter of February 15, 1980

regarding the Arthur J. Faggion Scholarship Fund (the

Fund) requesting an advisory opinion from the Depart-

ment of Labor (the Department) with respect to certain

reporting and disclosure requirements under the Em-

ployee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA)

for the Fund, which you recognize as an employee welfare

benefit plan under ERISA. Specifically, you request that

the department provide an advisory opinion as to (1)

which individuals should be counted as participants in the

Fund, and (2) whether the Fund is exempt from certain

reporting and disclosure requirements under ERISA.

Your request and the materials submitted therewith

- include the following facts and representations:

1. The Fund is a scholarship trust established by a

trust agreement between the Plumbers and Pipefitters

Union #338 (the Union), its members, and the Lansing

Mechanical Contractors Association (the Association). The

purpose of the Fund is to provide scholarship benefits to

= 6 em. ee ee

ae

App. 15

children of the dues-paying members of the Union and

certain employers or shareholder-employees of employers.

2. The Fund receives funds from employer contribu-

tions pursuant to a collectively bargained union contract

at the rate of 4 cents per hour worked for each Union

member.

3. Scholarship awards may be granted only to the

children of eligible individuals. Eligibility in the Fund is

limited to an individual who is:

(a) a dues paying Union member who was not

delinquent in paying dues as of December 31 of the prior

year and had 3,000 hours of work under the collectively

bargained agreement during the three years ending with

that date,

(b) an employer or shareholder-employee of the

employer on December 31 of the prior year who paid wages

to a member or members of the Union under the collec-

tively bargained agreement for at least 3,000 hours during

the three years ending with that date, or

(c) a deceased individual who at the time of death

met the requirements of (a) or (b).

4. The duties of the Fund trustees include:

(a) designating a bank or trust company as-deposi-

tory of the monies of the Fund and providing for the

withdrawal of such monies;

(b) receiving and depositing in the name of the Fund

such monies as are received pursuant to the collective

bargaining agreement;

App. 16

(c) paying out such monies to the designated recipi-

ents of the awards;

(d) paying the reasonable costs and expenses of

maintaining and administering the Fund;

(e) investing any unused portion of the monies as it

deems appropriate in obligations of the federal and state

governments and in obligations of banks, savings and loan

and building and loan institutions.

With respect to your inquiry concerning which indi-

viduals should be counted as participants in the Fund,

section 3(7) of ERISA defines a participant to be “any

employee or former employee of an employer, or any

member or former member of an employee organization,

who is or may become eligible to receive a benefit of any

type from an employee benefit plan which covers employ-

ees of such employer or member of such organization, or

whose beneficiaries may be eligible to receive any such

benefit.” Section 3(8) of ERISA defines a beneficiary to be

“a person designated by a participant, or by the terms of -

an employee benefit plan, who is or may become entitled to

a benefit thereunder.”

In accordance with the statements you submitted and

consistent with the language of section 3(8) of ERISA, we

believe those children of eligible individuals who are or

may become entitled to a benefit (scholarship) by the

terms of the Fund would be beneficiaries. We further

believe that those individuals meeting the elibigibility

criteria of the Fund would be participants in accordance

with section 3(7) of ERISA.

With respect to your inquiry concerning whether the

Fund is exempt from certain reporting and disclosure

App. 17

requirements of contain a limited reporting exemption for

certain dues financed welfare benefit plans as noted in

your letter. However, this regulation applies “only to

welfare benefit plans maintained by an employee organi-

zation ... paid for out of the employee organization’s

assets, which are derived wholly or partly from member-

ship dues...”

Since scholarship benefits, as provided by the Fund,

are funded by regular contributions and are held in trust,

we believe the limited exemption provided by section

2520.104-26 does not apply. Therefore we are of the opin-

ion that the Fund, as currently administered, would not be

exempt from complying with the Department’s regulations

regarding the summary plan description, summary of

material modifications, annual report and summary

annual report. However, if the Fund has fewer than 100

participants it may be eligible for the waiver of certain

requirements provided by section 2520.104-46 of the

annual reporting regulations (copy enclosed). This section

provides that the plan administrator of an employee

benefit plan that covers fewer than 100 participants at the

beginning of the plan year is not required to —

(1) Engage an independent qualified public account-

ant to conduct an examination of the financial statements

of the plan;

(2) Include within the annual report the financial

statements and schedules prescribed in section 103(b) of

the Act and §§ 2520.103-1, 2520.103-2, and 2520.103-10;

and

(3) Include within the annual report a report of an

independent qualified public accountant as prescribed in

section 103(a)(3)A) of the Act and § 2520.103-1.

App. 18

This letter constitutes an advisory opinion under

ERISA Procedure 76-1. Accordingly, this letter is issued

subject to the provisions of the procedure, including

section 10 thereof relating to the effect of advisory opin-

ions.

Ian D. Lanoff

Administrator

Pension and Welfare Benefit Programs

App. 19

Department of Labor.

Pension & Welfare Benefit Programs.

OPINION 79-8 A

January 30, 1979

REQUEST BY:

Mr. Robert W. Gilbert

Suite 305

400 South Beverly Drive

Beverly Hills, California 90212

Mr. Joseph M. McLaughlin

McLaughlin and Irvin

Suite 300

800 West Sixth Street

Los Angeles, California 90017

OPINION:

This is in reply to your letter of November 9, 1978,

requesting an advisory opinion concerning the eligibility of

Mrs. Joan Adams for participation in the Southern Cali-

fornia Retail Clerk Unions and Food Employers Council

Joint Pension Trust Fund (the Fund). Specifically, you ask

whether Mrs. Adams must be automatically precluded

from participating in the Fund by section 403(c)(1) of the

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ER-

ISA).

You represent that the Fund is a multiemployer fund

jointly managed by employer and employee representa-

tives and is subject to title I of ERISA. You also represent

that Mrs. Adams, who participated in the Fund from

September, 1971, until May, 1977, is the wife of the owner

of a 12 1/2 percent partnership interest in Vicente Foods,

where Mrs. Adams is employed and which contributes to

App. 20

the Fund on her behalf. You assert that Mr. Adams owns

his partnership interest as separate property, not as

community property.

The Department of Labor is of the opinion that Mrs.

Adams is not precluded from participating in the Fund by

section 403(cX1). Section 403(c)(1) of ERISA provides

generally that the assets of a plan shall never inure to the

benefit of any employer and shall be held for the exclusive

purpose of providing benefits to participants in the plan

and their beneficiaries and defraying reasonable expenses

of administering the plan. The term “participant,” as it is

used in ERISA section 403(c)(1), is defined in ERISA

section 3(7) to include “any employee ... of an employer

... who is or may become eligible to receive a benefit of

any type from an employee benefit plan which covers

employees of such employer . . . or whose beneficiaries may

be eligible to receive any such benefit.” ERISA section 3(6)

defines the term “employee” as “any individual employed

by an employer.” Regulation section 2510.3-3, which

interprets section 3(3) of ERISA for purposes of title I

thereof, provides, in part, that “[flor purposes of this

[regulation,] ... a partner in a partnership and his or her

spouse shall not be deemed to be employees with respect to

the partnership.” However, that regulation is not intended

to construe “employee” as that term is used in section 3(6)

of ERISA. Rather, the regulation defines “employee” only

for the limited purpose of determining whether a plan has

any employees, in connection with determining whether a

plan exists within the meaning of title I of ERISA. Since

the Fund appears to cover a number of employees and its

status as a plan under title I does not appear to be in

doubt, the definition of “employee” in regulation section

2510.3-3 has no relevance to the question of Mrs. Adams’

er aren ee

App. 21

status under the plan. Thus, Mrs. Adams, the wife of a

partner in the firm employing her, is a participant in the

Fund for purposes of section 403(c)(1) if she is employed by

a contributing employer and is otherwise eligible to

participate under the terms of the Fund as properly

administered according to all applicable laws and plan

documents.

This letter is not intended to interpret or express any

opinion concerning the Labor Management Relations Act

to which you referred in your inquiry or concerning any

other statute (other than ERISA title I and regulations

pursuant thereto).

This letter constitutes an advisory opinion under

ERISA Procedure 76-1. Accordingly, this letter is issued

subject to the provisions of the procedure, including

section 10 thereof relating to the effect of advisory opin-

ions.

Ian D. Lanoff

Administrator of Pension and Welfare Benefit Programs

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.