Amicus Curiae Brief — Beneficial Nat. Bank v. Anderson

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

o

BENEFICIAL NATIONAL BANK AND

BENEFICIAL TAX MASTERS, INC.,

Petitioners

v.

MARIE ANDERSON, et al.

¢

On Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eleventh Circuit

o

BRIEF FOR THE AMERICAN BANKERS

ASSOCIATION, AMERICA’S COMMUNITY

BANKERS, CONSUMER BANKERS ASSOCIATION,

AND FINANCIAL SERVICES ROUNDTABLE,

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

o

Drew S. Days, III

Counsel of Record

BETH S. BRINKMANN

SETH M. GALANTER

MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP

2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 887-1500

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ee ae ED cccpecicncnnnsniecsuniniinienusiiaiitiinans i

ee Oe Be EE etiecsceticictnninniannriaiennginian iv

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ...............ccccccceeeeeeeseeees 1

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.....................cccceeeeeeeeeees 2

STE tisicesiesctiinctesniniesiniuiiinitniaiianpeiaiatuntiaiidasiaatai dias 6

A COMPLAINT ALLEGING THAT THE RATE OF

INTEREST PAID TO A NATIONAL BANK IS

UNLAWFUL NECESSARILY “ARISES UNDER”

FEDERAL LAW BECAUSE CONGRESS CREATED

AN EXCLUSIVE FEDERAL CAUSE OF ACTION

FOR SUCH CLAIMS AS PART OF A BROADER

SCHEME TO PROMOTE AND PROTECT THE

FINANCIAL SOUNDNESS OF NATIONAL BANKS ..

A. A Complaint That Challenges The Rate Of

Interest Paid To A National Bank “Arises

Under” The National Bank Act And Is Re-

movable To Federal Court...............cccccceceeeeees

1. Congress provided in the National Bank

Act that the rate of interest charged for

loans by national banks shall be gov-

erned only by federal law ....................0668

2. Congress created a federal cause of ac-

tion in the National Bank Act for indi-

viduals who have paid interest rates that

are in excess of those allowed under fed-

eral law, and intended that it be an ex-

I a iisicticcinicicitbibaindiidbanitsiniceneermnens

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

3. Respondents’ complaint “arises under”

the National Bank Act and was properly

removed to federal court............::ccsseceeeees

B. A Complaint Necessarily “Arises Under”

Federal Law Even If It Expressly Invokes

Only A State Cause Of Action And Fails To

Cite The Exclusive Federal Cause Of Action

That Was Enacted In Its Stead...................065

1. Federal courts are not bound by the face

of the pleadings in determining federal

FUTIORICCION ......0000ccrccccccccerccvcccsecesseesecescoes

2. A complaint alleging a state law claim

and seeking a state law remedy that has

been displaced by a federal cause of ac-

tion necessarily “arises under” federal

TiAl ic india nenapenpuseneuneenveqneuensent

Removal To Federal Court Of Complaints

Challenging The Rate Of Interest Charged

By National Banks Furthers The Compre-

hensive Regulatory Scheme Established By

Congress Over National Banks By Promoting

1. The OCC engages in extensive examina-

tions of each national bank to ensure

compliance with federal law, including

federal limits on interest rates, and re-

quires corrective action whenever viola-

BEND GO TRTIING occecccccccccccsescsccccccccesccecsesees

12

14

16

17

20

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Litigation in state courts involving the in-

terest rates paid to national banks is

likely to lead to a lack of uniformity con-

cerning the requirements of the National

Bank Act and the propriety of determina-

tions by the OCC, thereby increasing the

costs and uncertainty of litigation .............. 23

CONCLUSION .0000.0.o.ecceccccccccsssessscessceseeeeceseceseceseees 30

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Ament v. PNC Nat'l Bank, 825 F. Supp. 1243 (W.D.

OO 24

American Well Works Co. v. Layne & Bowler Co.,

Et | of) is eieesinasiannidciinde 13

Atherton v. FDIC, 519 U.S. 213 (1997) ........ccccccceeeeeeeeeenerees i]

Avco Corp. v. Aero Lodge No. 735, 390 U.S. 557

, SS 4,18

Barnet v. National Bank, 98 U.S. 555 (1878).............. 12, 24

Bartholet v. Reishauer A.G., 953 F.2d 1073 (7th Cir.

OT... .ncincunssnenmsanndsiemmemennnneneinmiuiinmsmametnnmannmininents 15

Beeman v. MBank Houston, N.A., 691 F. Supp. 1027

CS ) a 24

Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678 (1946) ..........cccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeneneeees 14

Burnham v. Superior Ct., 495 U.S. 604 (1990)............000 20

Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386 (1987)............-. 17

Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Ry. Co. v. Schwy-

hart, 227 U.S. 184 (1913)..... curianabemnmmnieseninadimmeneietiite 16

City of Indianapolis v. Chase Nat'l Bank, 314 U.S.

EE 16

Copeland v. MBNA Am., N.A., 820 F. Supp. 537 (D.

OO Ee 24

Cutler v. Rae, 48 U.S. (7 How.) 729 (1849) ...........cccceeceeees 15

Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228 (1979) ...........ccccseeeeeeeeeeees 15

Evans v. Nat'l Bank of Savannah, 251 U.S. 108

COTE... xcccnssetesisttaimssnsintaciaennammecsuaennnenianntnenentiinnitn 12

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Farmers’ & Mechanics’ Nat'l Bank v. Dearing, 91

Se nt anicineintiaeinnatsiniattaiariteaitaieattientattaiamiinnineaal 9, 11, 24

Federated Dep't Stores v. Moitie, 452 U.S. 394

Sere cstteeereetcstansineeaerenenaannaiataitiaiannaistesataattatastatatsitassiatinintaliaaiais 17

Fortenberry v. Southtrust Bank of Ala., N.A., 1996

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 21685 (N.D. Ala. Mar. 21, 1996)........ 24

Franchise Tax Bd. v. Construction Laborers Vaca-

tion Trust, 463 U.S. 1 (1983).............ccccccccceeeeeeee 13, 18, 19

Goehl v. Mellon Bank, 825 F. Supp. 1239 (E.D. Pa.

Sara acieitaitensenaineniipteninitnicenciiciaaatiettniaaiaaatinastatiiasiiital tata! 24

Grand Trunk Western Ry. Co. v. Lindsay, 233 U.S.

ee tncsresenetencensterieleniesieietieatataciaseaceeeaitiiintaaaaai caitlin 15

Heaton v. Monogram Creditcard Bank of Ga., 297

I iia 28, 29

Heaton v. Monogram Creditcard Bank of Ga., No.

98-8275 (La. Civ. Dist. Ct., Orleans Parish July

Se niaiinicseptriiiaiiniiaa a a 28, 29

Hunter v. Rich’s Dep't Stores, 945 F. Supp. 1500

RRR SR eie ato a a Se Re 24

Jones v. BankBoston, N.A., 115 F. Supp. 2d 1350

NI aeincitiiitia e 24

Koster v. Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co., 330 U.S. 518

Saree ecrccstninitnccemenncecainethinainiataseaatanasemnatisdtcetaenis armenia 16

Lapides v. Board of Regents, 122 S. Ct. 1640 (2002)......14, 20

M. Nahas & Co. v. First Nat'l Bank of Hot Springs,

739 F. Supp. 1338 (W.D. Ark. 1990), aff’d, 930

In, 24

Marquette Nat'l Bank of Minn. v. First of Omaha

Serv. Corp., 439 U.S. 299 (1978) .........ccccccccceeceeseeeeee 10, 11

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Matheis v. May Dep't Stores Co., 1999 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 21917 (E.D. Mo. May 21, 1999), rev’d, 218

F.3d 919 (Sth Cir. 2000)..............csscscccesscrerseereeseeessesesees 24

Mazaika v. Bank One, Columbus, N.A., 653 A.2d

640 (Pa. Super. Ct. 1994), rev’d, 680 A.2d 845

RRR eerrenne eee ener. 25

McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316

TIT sscseernasietnitn dial ateasnpedeaacaienemcabiimemenennemeeneennemnnnntin 7

Mercantile Nat'l Bank v. New York, 121 U.S. 138

TTT on aniceaticin tanita tiaaalaneiinlaebiialibiniinn 7

Merrell Dow Pharm., Inc. v. Thompson, 478 U.S.

ian tata aliedatieaclatatinde 20, 29

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58

ana ineceh niet ate tlinrinseeeeamaiaaiaieanmandaiaiids 19

Moss v. SouthTrust Mobile Servs., Inc., 1995 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 21770 (N.D. Ala. Sept. 22, 1995)............... 24

National State Bank v. Long, 630 F.2d 981 (3d Cir.

sac achalasia aati aaeaed aati ieaiinmmnietninss 8

Nelson v. Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., 794 F.

Supp. 312 (D. Mimn. 1992).............:cccccsesseeeeeeeeneneeeeeennees 24

Partin v. Cableview, Inc., 948 F. Supp. 1046 (S.D.

SS SES en ee ee ne 24

Rivet v. Regions Bank of La., 522 U.S. 470 (1998)...... 15, 17

Sherman v. Citibank, N.A., 679 A.2d 652 (NJ.

elias ) ee 13

Smiley v. Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., 517 U.S.

acne eaeaenlarelie 3, 9, 10, 24, 28

Tarble’s Case, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 397 (1871)...........cccceeeees 29

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Pa

The Fair v. Kohler Die & Specialty Co., 228 U.S. 22 _

SSRI cineca ini itt 17

Tiffany v. Nat'l Bank of Mo., 85 U.S. (18 Wall.) 409

ee 7, 8, 29

United States v. Philadelphia Nat'l Bank, 374 U.S.

a area ei icersicictnorsctonrncensiieneiaebaanataitaaeamatataacaiaaaasiatae 21, 23

Watson v. First Union Nat'l Bank of S.C., 837 F.

Supp. 146 (D.S.C. 1998)............cccccccoccccssccossscsssseccececeeces 24

STATUTES, REGULATIONS, AND RULES:

National Bank Act, 12 U.S.C. §§ 1 et seq.

STC Ticishispiioehinneiieiatiaiaiaek aia 8

SSSmreTctaiiiesbebiiiniiaeiiae iii 8

ne vee a en ETS 8

SS iiionilesibaiainieiiitetiente iliac al 8

Ee a Te eT Ea passim

ci Te passim

ee ee, 8

See isirsesiicnctaitecienpcanianianinanisiatetiatiaitaininasiaial tanita 21, 23

Sp ee esteiceceiitanieniecaiieiiitininaatiaaratiaaiiaiiaaiie 8, 21

i) eee cicatricial aisha aad 8

SU isiissiceiitdiliiehiniietieenieiiidiaaiihataiaaa ities itl 8, 21

SSID aiineitisteliiiiinineiiiiaaaaasia ise 8, 22

SU alae al 8

i EN ee ane CR MS SET 21

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

I Be iccciecereiceciicniniticnsiniin ideiandilaal 8, 21

es Se I ss cecscnnecnintiieannsiltimnsiiiiiamaratidnninbninniddiniiidediaiitl 28

es Gr Tt icninnictencistcieinennnintanenvendiiinuinntnetiotimmmnsinenion 8

IS 0 STII Ol inrnsrenenninncsianneneasenaiiosmiemunannibeniotmemniadeiies 8

i nny ITT rainicsicinetacinaninninhicheinatenibecennmtennanainaiitinaiiaiisainaiieiia 8

Be te Uy Ei iicenseeninnidecmmniementaunterninnieninmianenaies passim

FE ITU III 0 IIIT cscsiisnsnninnnsiniendinmienntetenianninniianinueiaideinidl 16

SP 0) IED cnecenesemenmmuenennenneninninneinannicmiion 13

28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3) ............. WD sccsunhintectdenitesiinnahiaitimneniiitaaioianinii —

ge 3, 6, 12

Sy REG: UID sinsinsiipnicinnengntienenncdenemimmnsincnitniaieianiinanedl 12

een 20

Employee Retirement Income Security Act, 29

re Oe ell inuninnsemmneseneninnnsntanimemmninient 19

Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, § 301, 29

eas UF tl einicrrentntesdsnnneemenennietieniimmaietemmmnets 18

National Bank Act, ch. 106, 13 Stat. 99 (1864).................. 7

12 C.F R.:

WD, Barcevnsecsssssennsersssecssssmnsnseeesesnenanmnnenammnnumenemnaeene 9

STE hasticepenneteaninnneemnnmnenrmuieenieminnnen) 22

I TNT vetcnscecitenarnpesetpianattpeeenetatamanaiiniesenaniiamenpiibiimmaeend 9

TD. Tip viervnsnsicmessenesnsnesseevemenseniermmmnnnennneneesmnenmaanantigin 9

1, Ti ienussessennunennsnienbetenmammmenieinetenieniuidsaiemmenmenaneids 9

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

DD, TERS ccsnspessscnnsnesnnesnsensenennenenenntecndianamneansiesanencmnienapinsis 9

WR, GiB cssnsssusssennenenniessenmneenemmeneenennnmietnesinenenneneiininits 9

68 Fed. Reg. 6363, 6366-6370 (Feb. 7, 2003)................. 8, 22

a Sak, Sa Ce incercerssierrssiesenticiinesariccinsiiitiaieiniibbiaginidameaasiaaaiie 1

MISCELLANEOUS:

American Law Inst., Study of the Division of

Jurisdiction Between State and Federal Courts

Kevin M. Clermont & Theodore Eisenberg, Do Case

Outcomes Really Reveal Anything About the Le-

gal System: Win Rates and Removal Jurisdiction,

83 Cornell L. Rev. 581 (1988).............cccccssesessssreeeeeeeeeees 25

Comptroller of Currency, Comptroller’s Handbook:

Assets: Loan Portfolio Management (Apr. 1998)............ 22

Bank Supervision and Examination Process:

ee er Se taccnttctcsicninenntiniiienienintninineniicintl 22

Consumer Compliance Examination: Community

Bank Consumer Compliance (Nov. 2000) ................00006 23

Consumer Compliance Examination: Other

Consumer Protection Laws and Regulations (Oct.

Sarre ei ieccssencciteisaiieisuiaieniasicibeicnnieteheenimniehiiadatabiniibieatacininmineimaien 22, 23

Consumer Compliance Examination: Overview

SETI TE sinsiesiciisehceccihaiieiaesaipaataiinaihgmnaniadinenibiniiinaiaiaaniniannceninll 23

Liquidity and Funds Management: Interest Rate

I TTI saiticisirntaseseeetastesbitlahet entinshdeeharariannaasangrarmenanel 22

Other Areas of Examination Interest: Litigation

and Other Legal Matters (Feb. 2000)..............ccccccceecee0s 26

xX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Comptroller of Currency, John D. Hawke, Remarks

before the Risk Management Association’s Capi-

tal Management Conference (June 6, 2002) .........::2:00++ 22

Comptroller of Currency, Performance and Ac-

countability Report: Fiscal Year 2002 (2002)........... 21, 22

Cong. Globe, 38th Cong., 1st Sess. 1393 (1864) ............++++ 7

Thre Weeder lial .....0.<ccccccscccesccccssecsessececsseseccccecsosessorssssssessoees 27

Karen A. Jordan, The Complete Preemption Di-

lemma, 31 Wake Forest L. Rev. 927 (1996) .........:2:0+++ 25

Arthur R. Miller, Artful Pleading: A Doctrine in

Search of a Definition, 76 Tex. L. Rev. 1781

(2DBB) .ccrercrnccecscesesccscccssoosesesovecsoososscosessconsssssssocosoooncsssees 27

Charles Warren, The Supreme Court in United

States History (rev. Cd. 1926) ........::ccccceeeseeessereesseeeneenees 7

Charles Alan Wright & Arthur R. Miller, Federal

15, 16

Practice and Procedure (2d ed. 1990) .........::seceeeeeee

1

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE’

Amici American Bankers Association, America’s

Community Bankers, Consumer Bankers Association, and

Financial Services Roundtable are national trade associa-

tions whose members include national banks chartered by

the United States Department of the Treasury, Office of

the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC), as well as other

types of financial institutions that are closely regulated by

federal law.

The American Bankers Association is the largest

national trade association of the banking industry in the

United States, representing approximately 90 percent of

the domestic assets of all American banks. America’s

Community Bankers is an independent national trade

association that represents the nation’s nearly 1,200

community banks of all charter types. The Consumer

Bankers Association represents more than 750 federally

insured banks and other financial institutions that collec-

tively hold nearly 80 percent of all consumer deposits and

about 70 percent of all consumer credit held by federally-

insured depository institutions. The Financial Services

Roundtable represents 100 of the largest integrated finan-

cial services companies providing banking, insurance, and

investment products and services to American consumers.

National banks, including those that are members of

the amici associations, participate in a highly regulated

industry. The OCC provides extensive oversight of

‘ Letters from the parties consenting to the filing of this brief are

being filed with the Clerk of this Court along with this brief, pursuant

to Supreme Court Rule 37.3(a). No counsel for a party authored this

brief in whole or in part, and no person or entity, other than the amici

curiae, their members, or their counsel, made a monetary contmbution

to the preparation or submission of this brief.

2

national banks, including decisions about how many loans

to grant, to whom, and at what interest rates. It is not

uncommon for amici’s members to be the targets of state

law litigation involving interest rates on loans, despite

this Court’s consistent holdings, stretching back 125 years,

that the rate of interest that national banks charge can be

challenged only through the express federal cause of

action found in the National Bank Act, 12 U.S.C. § 86.

Such litigation, although baseless, often costs national

banks substantial sums of money, money that must be

diverted from the funds available to ensure the financial

soundness of the bank. Given the burden of such litigation

on the safe and sound operation of national banks, amici

have a strong interest in the proper resolution of the

question presented in this case.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Usury claims against national banks arise under the -

National Bank Act because that statute establishes a

federal interest rate that preempts state interest rates as

applied to national banks and creates an exclusive federal

cause of action to redress violations of that rate. Respon-

dents’ apparent attempt to avoid that federal cause of

action by purportedly pressing only a plainly preempted

state law claim must be rejected. Interest-bearing loans

typically constitute the predominant assets on a national

bank’s balance sheet and are a primary component of

virtually every national bank’s income. Consequently,

lawsuits under state law usury causes of action in state

court that challenge the interest rate paid to a national

bank can be a significant impediment to the proper func-

tioning of the national bank.

A. In 1864, Congress created an exclusive and

comprehensive federal regulatory regime in the National

Bank Act to govern the financial practices of national

banks, including the rate of interest charged for loans, and

3

vested regulatory enforcement authority in the United

States Department of Treasury, Office of the Comptroller

of the Currency (OCC). The federal government’s exclusive

regulation of national banks was, in part, a response to

certain States’ hostility to them. That regulation extends

to the rate of interest a national bank may charge. As a

matter of federal law, see 12 U.S.C. § 85, national banks

are authorized to charge interest at the highest of three

possible rates. Depending on the location of the national

bank, it may be that none of those rates is a rate

authorized by the law of the State where the borrower is

located. Thus, as this Court has recognized, there is “no

doubt” that Section 85 preempts state law usury

limitations as applied to national banks. Smiley v.

Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., 517 U.S. 735, 744 (1996).

But Congress did more than just create a federal night

for a national bank to charge interest up to a federally-

prescribed ceiling. Congress also created an express

private cause of action against national banks in 12 USC.

$ 86 for violations of Section 85. This Court has recognized

repeatedly that Congress intended the Section 86 cause of

action to be the exclusive means of private redress. Re-

spondents’ state court challenge to the rate of interest paid

to a national bank necessarily arises under that federal

cause of action created by the National Bank Act, which

preempted and replaced state law usury claims against

national banks. The claim thus is one “arising under” the

federal cause of action established in Section 86 and,

therefore, the action is within the original “arising under”

jurisdiction of federal district courts, 28 U.S.C. § 1331, and

is removable to federal court under 28 U.S.C. § 1441.

B. That respondents cite only state law in their

complaint does not deprive the allegations of the com-

plaint of their federal character. In determining its juris-

diction, a federal court is not bound by the complaint’s

legal averments but, instead, must look behind the face of

the pleadings. That is the settled rule in diversity cases,

+

where federal courts must exercise jurisdiction over cases

in disregard of the face of the complaint when an assess-

ment of the true nature of the case shows that complete

diversity exists. The power and obligation of the federal

courts to look beyond the pleadings is no different when

determining whether a federal court has jurisdiction over

a case on the basis that a claim alleged “arises under”

federal law.

Plaintiffs are free to choose between a state and a

federal cause of action when both exist. But when a

plaintiff’s state law cause of action and remedy are

preempted by federal law and Congress has created an

exclusive federal cause of action in their stead, a plaintiff

has no choice but to invoke the federal cause of action if he

wishes to challenge the underlying conduct. In such

circumstances, a complaint nominally alleging violations

of the displaced state cause of action can be viewed only as

a claim arising under the remaining federal cause of

action. See Avco Corp. v. Aero Lodge No. 735, 390 U.S. 557

(1968). Although sometimes described as a doctrine of

“complete preemption,” the circumstances under which a

district court may treat a purportedly state law claim as

arising under federal law are not predicated upon the

substantive breadth of the statute’s preemption. The

critical question is whether Congress created a federal

cause of action to replace any state cause of action, thereby

transforming a state cause of action into one “arising

under” federal law. Because Section 86 of the National

Bank Act does precisely that by creating an exclusive

federal cause of action for persons who allegedly paid a

national bank an interest rate greater than that allowed

by Section 85, claims challenging the rate of interest paid

to a national bank necessarily arise under federal law.

C. The nature of the federal interests at stake in

adjudicating usury claims against national banks also

weighs heavily in favor of federal jurisdiction. The OCC

engages in frequent and extensive examinations of every

— a

5

national bank to ensure compliance with federal law,

including the federal limit on interest rates, and requires

corrective actions whenever violations are found. These

OCC examinations, performed as a component of the

OCC’s exclusive regulatory and supervisory authority and

backed by the threat of significant civil penalties, substan-

tially reduce the risk of national banks engaging in any

systemic violations of Section 85 and promote a uniform

interpretation of federal law.

Despite the fact that it has been settled for 125 years

that state law causes of action challenging the interest

paid to a national bank are preempted, such suits in state

court are not uncommon. The failure of a court promptly to

dismiss such a suit as preempted increases the risk of

uncertainty and the cost of the suit, which are both harms

that are particularly injurious to national banks intent on

limiting financial and reputational risks. It is the experi-

ence of amici and their member institutions that such a

prompt dismissal is less likely to occur in state trial

courts. The efforts of the plaintiffs’ bar to keep such cases

in state court through a variety of not-so-subtle pleading

stratagems suggests that they share the understanding

that federal courts are more likely to analyze preemption

questions correctly more often, and thus dismiss plaintiffs’

claims before the costs and burdens of litigation enable a

plaintiff to extract a settlement from a national bank.

Although erroneous state trial court decisions on preemp-

tion can be appealed, such appeals are generally available

only after the costs of discovery and litigation have been

expended.

Litigation in state courts involving the interest rates

paid to national banks is more likely than federal court

litigation to lead to a lack of uniformity concerning the

requirements of the National Bank Act and the propriety

of determinations by the OCC, to the detriment of the

national banking system. Although this Court ultimately

6

remains available to resolve any conflicts between the

state and federal courts, the uncertainty of such a discre-

tionary avenue of relief at the end of the litigation defeats

Congress's intent to preempt entirely state causes of action

challenging interest rates of national banks in favor of a

singular federal remedy.

ARGUMENT

A COMPLAINT ALLEGING THAT THE RATE OF

INTEREST PAID TO A NATIONAL BANK IS

UNLAWFUL NECESSARILY “ARISES UNDER”

FEDERAL LAW BECAUSE CONGRESS CREATED

AN EXCLUSIVE FEDERAL CAUSE OF ACTION

FOR SUCH CLAIMS AS PART OF A BROADER

SCHEME TO PROMOTE AND PROTECT THE

FINANCIAL SOUNDNESS OF NATIONAL BANKS

Although sometimes described as a doctrine of

“complete preemption,” the circumstances under which a

district court must treat a purportedly state law claim as a

claim “arising under” federal law, and therefore within the

district court’s original jurisdiction, 28 U.S.C. § 1331, 1s

not predicated upon the breadth of a federal statute's

preemption. Instead, the critical question is whether

Congress has created a federal cause of action to take the

place of the purportedly state law cause of action. When

Congress has done so, a complaint that invokes the

displaced state cause of action necessarily arises under the

exclusive federal cause of action and can be removed to

federal court by a defendant sued in state court, 28 U.S.C.

§ 1441. Congress has done just that in Section 30 of the

Nationa! Bank Act, 12 U.S.C. $§ 85, 86.

Congress intended for usury claims against national

banks to arise under the National Bank Act because of the

potential adverse effect on the national banking system that

could result if suits challenging a critical component of a

national bank’s operations — its granting of interest-bearing

—<--

7

loans — were left in the hands of state courts at the sole

discretion of plaintiffs. National banks such as amici’s

members are subject to comprehensive federal regulatory

supervision of their interest rates and loan practices. The

federal interest in the safety and soundness of such

institutions that led to such supervision confirms that

Congress intended that challenges to such rates arise

under federal law.

A. A Complaint That Challenges The Rate Of

Interest Paid To A National Bank “Arises Un-

der” The National Bank Act And Is Removable

To Federal Court

In 1864, in the midst of the Civil War, Congress

enacted the National Bank Act, ch. 106, 13 Stat. 99 (1864).

The Act authorized the creation of national banks “for the

purpose, in part, of providing a currency for the whole

country, and in part to create a market for the loans of the

General government.” Tiffany v. Nat'l Bank of Mo., 85 U.S.

(18 Wall.) 409, 413 (1874); see also Mercantile Nat'l Bank

v. New York, 121 U.S. 138, 154 (1887) (“The object of the

[Act] was to establish a system of national banking insti-

tutions, in order to provide a uniform and secure currency

for the people, and to facilitate the operations of the

Treasury of the United States.”).

Congress expected States and their regulators to be

hostile to national banks. See, eg., Cong. Globe, 38th

Cong., lst Sess. 1393 (1864) (Rep. Washburn) (“it will not

do to place (the national banking system] in the power of

the States, otherwise you place it in the power of any State

which may be opposed to the system to cripple and destroy

it”). That expectation was rooted in the attempts by some

States to disrupt the operations of previously established

national banks. See, e.g, McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 US

(4 Wheat.) 316 (1819) (discriminatory stamp tax targeted

at national bank); 1 Charles Warren, The Supreme Court

8

in United States History 505 (rev. ed. 1926) (giving exam-

ples of state laws outlawing national bank). Congress

therefore created a comprehensive federal regulatory

regime to promote the national banking system and

excluded state laws and regulators.

1. Congress provided in the National Bank

Act that the rate of interest charged for

loans by national banks shall be governed

only by federal law

From the outset, Congress vested complete regulatory

authority over national banks in the United States De-

partment of the Treasury, Office of the Comptroller of the

Currency (OCC). Congress has granted the OCC the

exclusive power to authorize the creation of new national

banks, see 12 U.S.C. §§ 26-27, to establish substantive

standards to ensure financial safety and soundness, see 12

U.S.C. §§84,183lo, 183lp-1, 3907, to require regular

reports from the national banks, see 12 U.S.C. § 161, and

to redress and punish any violations of the law, or the

OCC’s regulations or orders, see 12 U.S.C. §§ 93, 164,

1818. Congress also required federal regulators and

supervisors tc engage in regular examinations of national

banks for compliance with all banking laws, see 12 U.S.C.

$§ 481, 1820(d), and provided them substantially exclusive

visitorial authority, see 12 U.S.C. § 484; 68 Fed. Reg. 6363,

6366-6370 (Feb. 7, 2003). That scheme of exclusively

federal regulation was designed to protect national banks

from “the hazard of unfriendly legislation by the States.”

Tiffany, 85 U.S. (18 Wall.) at 413. Indeed, even when the

substance of a state law is not preempted, the OCC is the

only regulatory agency that may enforce the state law

against national banks. See, e.g., 12 U.S.C. § 36(f 1 B)

(“The provisions of any State law to which a branch of a

national bank is subject under this paragraph shall be

enforced, with respect to such branch, by the Comptroller

of the Currency.”); National State Bank v. Long, 630 F.2d

9

981, 989 (3d Cir. 1980) (“[E)nforcement of the state statute

is the responsibility of the Comptroller of the Currency

rather than the State Commissioner.”). Of course, not

every state law that incidentally applies to national banks

is preempted by federal law, see Atherton v. FDIC, 519

U.S. 213, 222-223 (1997), but Congress clearly delegated

the authority to govern the financial workings of national

banks solely to federal regulators.

Interest-bearing loans typically constitute the

predominant assets on a national bank’s balance sheet and

are a primary component of virtually every national bank’s

income. The OCC extensively regulates most aspects of a

national bank’s program to loan money, including the

amount of money the national bank may lend and the

appropriate combination of loans it can make at different

rates of interest to account for risk. See, e.g., 12 C.F.R. pts.

3, 25, 30, 32.1, 34. Since the inception of the national

banking system, federal law has governed the rate of

interest a national bank may charge as part of the federal

regulatory scheme. See Farmers’ & Mechanics’ Nat'l Bank

v. Dearing, 91 U.S. 29, 34 (1875). In doing so, Congress

intended that interest include the full range of payments

“compensating a creditor or prospective creditor for an

extension of credit, making available a line of credit, or

any default or breach by a borrower of a condition upon

which credit was extended,” such as “late fees, not suffi-

cient funds (NSF) fees, over-limit fees, annual fees, cash

advance fees, and membership fees.” Smiley v. Citibank

(South Dakota), N.A., 517 U.S. 735, 740, 747 (1996) (up-

holding OCC’s regulation, 12 C.FR. §7.400l(a), as a

reasonable interpretation of the statute). Under 12 U.S.C.

§ 85, national banks are authorized to charge interest at

the greatest of three rates: (1) the rate that state banks

are allowed to charge in the State where the national bank

is located; (2) under the “most favored lender” doctrine, the

rate that any other lender is allowed to charge in the State

where the national bank is located; or (3) “a rate of 1 per

10

centum in excess of the discount rate on ninety-day com-

mercial paper in effect at the Federal reserve bank” in the

district where the national bank is located. See Marquette

Nat'l Bank of Minn. v. First of Omaha Serv. Corp., 439

U.S. 299, 308 n.19, 309-311, 318 n.31 (1978).”

There is “no doubt” that Section 85 preempts state law

usury limits as applied to national banks. Smiley, 517 U.S.

at 744; see also Marquette, 439 U.S. at 308 (“The interest

rate that [a national bank] may charge *** is ***

governed by federal law.”). In all instances, state usury

limits are preempted; the rates set by a State’s law are

only relevant to the extent they are incorporated by the

National Bank Act. Indeed, in certain circumstances,

national banks may legally charge interest rates higher

than those allowed to other lenders under state law. For

* Section 85 provides in relevant part:

Any association may take, receive, reserve, and charge on

any loan or discount made, or upon any notes, bills of ex-

change, or other evidences of debt, interest at the rate al-

lowed by the laws of the State, Territory, or District where

the bank is located, or at a rate of 1 per centum in excess of

the discount rate on ninety-day commercial paper in effect

at the Federal reserve bank in the Federal reserve district

where the bank is located, whichever may be the greater,

and no more, except that where by the laws of any State a

different rate is limited for banks organized under State

laws, the rate so limited shall be allowed for associations

organized or existing in any such State under this title.

When no rate is fixed by the laws of the State, or Territory,

or District, the bank may take, receive, reserve, or charge a

rate not exceeding 7 per centum, or 1 per centum in excess

of the discount rate on ninety day commercial paper in ef-

fect at the Federal reserve bank in the Federal reserve dis-

trict where the bank is located, whichever may be the

greater, and such interest may be taken in advance, reckon-

ing the days for which the note, bill, or other evidence of

debt has to run.

wa

11

example, if the rate based on the Federal Reserve’s

discount rate is higher than the state rate, national banks

may charge the higher rate. Also, because national banks

serve customers across state lines, a national bank located

in one State is authorized to charge residents of another

State the interest rate allowed in the State where the

bank is located, even if that rate is higher than the rate

permitted under the laws of the customer’s State. See

Marquette, 439 U.S. at 317-318.

2. Congress created a federal cause of action in

the National Bank Act for individuals who

have paid interest rates that are in excess of

those allowed under federal law, and in-

tended that it be an exclusive remedy

Congress did more than just create a federal right for

a national bank to charge interest up to a federally-

prescribed ceiling. Congress also created an express

private cause of action for violations of Section 85 by

national banks. Congress provided that a person who has

paid an interest rate greater than that allowed by Section

85 “may recover back, in an action in the nature of an

action of debt, twice the amount of the interest thus paid

from the association.” 12 U.S.C. § 86. In doing so, Congress

also established a federal limit on the scope of relief

available against a national bank for violation of Section

85. Moreover, Congress specified that that federal cause of

= is governed by a two-year statute of limitations.

id.

This Court has recognized repeatedly that Congress

intended that the Section 86 cause of action be the exclu-

sive means of private redress against a national bank that

violates the interest rate limits set forth in Section 85. See

Farmers’ & Mechanics’ Nat'l Bank, 91 U.S. at 35 (“the

12

power to supplement [Sections 85 and 86] by State legisla-

tion is conferred neither expressly nor by implication” and

“would be unreason[able], and contrary to the manifest

intent of Congress”); Barnet v. National Bank, 98 U.S. 555,

559 (1878) (“The statute which gives the right prescribes

the redress, and both provisions are alike obligatory upon

the parties.”); Evans v. Nat'l Bank of Savannah, 251 U.S.

108, 109 (1919) (“whether transactions by [a national

bank] are usurious, and the consequent penalties therefor,

must be ascertained upon a consideration of the National

Bank Act”). Thus, by creating the exclusive cause of action

in Section 86, Congress displaced state law usury claims

against national banks with a uniform federal remedy.

3. Respondents’ complaint “arises under” the

National Bank Act and was properly re-

moved to federal court

A defendant seeking to remove a case from state to

federal court need not establish specific congressional

intent that a particular federal cause of action be remov-

able, contrary to respondents’ suggestion. Br. in Opp. 9.

Instead, Congress granted defendants a general right to

remove an action to federal court under Section 1441 of

Title 28, which specifies that “any civil action brought in a

State court of which the district courts of the United

States have original jurisdiction, may be removed by the

defendant or the defendants, to the district court of the

United States for the district and division embracing the

place where such action is pending.” 28 U.S.C. § 1441(a).

Because Congress has granted the district courts “original

jurisdiction” over all civil actions “arising under the

Constitution, laws, or treaties of the United States,” 28

U.S.C. § 1331, Congress has evidenced all the intent that

is necessary that a state court civil action may be removed

to federal court if the action arises under federal law.

13

As a general rule, a “suit arises under the law that

creates the cause of action.” Franchise Tax Bd. v. Con-

struction Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 8-9 (1983)

(quoting American Well Works Co. v. Layne & Bowler Co.,

241 U.S. 257, 260 (1916)). In the instant case, the National

Bank Act creates the cause of action for the underlying

conduct alleged in respondents’ complaint. That complaint

alleges that petitioner Beneficial National Bank, a na-

tional bank, and its corporate affiliate charged “excessive

interest” on loans made to respondents in violation of

Alabama statutory and common law limits on interest,

and that respondents “have been injured and damaged” by

petitioners’ actions. Comp. 7{ 59-60. Respondents’ allega-

tion that petitioners violated Alabama’s authorized inter-

est rate necessarily alleges a violation of federal law -

Section 85 — which makes interest charges in excess of

state law illegal, at least to the extent that the State in

question is the location of the national bank (a fact con-

tested by petitioners, which maintain that they are located

in Delaware) and the state law rate is not less than any of

the alternative rates authorized in Section 85.’ That

challenge to the rate of interest paid to a national bank

necessarily arises under the federal cause of action created

by the National Bank Act — Section 86 — that preempts

* Respondents’ complaint includes other counts that are based on

related allegations concerning the rate of interest charged by petition-

ers. Comp. 99 38-57, 63-68. Those claims would also fall within the

preemptive scope of the National Bank Act, cf Sherman v. Citibank,

N.A., 679 A.2d 652 (N.J. 1996), reinstating 640 A.2d 325 (N.J. Super. Ct.

App. Div. 1994) (holding that state cause of action for failing to disclose

that state law prohibited late fee charges was preempted by Section 85),

but the Court need not address those other counts. If the district court

had original jurisdiction over the usury count, then the court could

exercise supplemental jurisdiction over all other claims and parties

arising from the same case or controversy. See 28 U.S.C. § 1367(a).

l4

and replaces state law usury claims against national

banks.

Indeed, it is clear that such a claim “arises under”

federal law within the federal district court’s original

jurisdiction because, if respondents’ complaint had origi-

nally been filed in federal court, it could not have been

dismissed for lack of “arising under” jurisdiction.‘ There-

fore, removal of the civil action to federal court at petition-

ers’ request was proper.’

B. A Complaint Necessarily “Arises Under” Fed-

eral Law Even If It Expressly Invokes Only A

State Cause Of Action And Fails To Cite The

Exclusive Federal Cause Of Action That Was

Enacted In Its Stead

Respondents did not cite the National Bank Act as the

basis for their usury claim against the national bank, but

that omission on respondents’ part does not negate federal

* An action can “arise under” Section 1331 even if the allegations of

the complaint do not state a claim upon which relief can be granted

under federal law, so long as the claim is not wholly insubstantial and

frivolous. See Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678, 681-682 (1946). If respondents’

claims under Section 86 are subsequently dismissed, either because

they did not allege a violation of Section 85 or later proceedings show

that petitioners in fact did not violate Section 85, the district court

would then have discretion to retain or remand whatever state law

claims remained, if any. See 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c\3); Lapides v. Board of

Regents, 122 S. Ct. 1640, 1643 (2002) (“the law commits the remand

question, ordinarily a matter of discretion, to the Federal District Court

for decision in the first instance”).

* If a defendant does not exercise its right to remove the civil action

to federal court, the case can proceed in state court. For although it is

clear that Congress intended challenges to the interest rates paid to

national banks to be brought exclusively under federal law, Congress

did not evidence an intent to create exclusive federal court jurisdiction.

oe «.

15

jurisdiction. See Grand Trunk Western Ry. Co. v. Lindsay,

233 U.S. 42, 48 (1914) (rejecting the argument that a

federal statute “may not be applied to a situation which is

within its provisions unless, in express terms, the provi-

sions of the act be formally invoked” in the complaint as

“manifest{ly] unsound[ ]”). By adopting the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure, the Court expressly declined to adopt

common law or “code” pleading rules that require a com-

plaint to allege a “cause of action” or a “theory of the

pleadings.” See Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228, 237

(1979); 5 Charles Alan Wright & Arthur R. Miller, Federal

Practice and Procedure § 1219, at 188-194 (2d ed. 1990):

see also Bartholet v. Reishauer A.G., 953 F.2d 1073, 1078

(7th Cir. 1992) (Easterbrook, J.) (“Instead of asking whether

the complaint points to the appropriate statute, a court

should ask whether relief is possible under any set of facts

that could be established consistent with the allegations.”).

Moreover, the fact that respondents cited only Ala-

bama state law (Comp. 4936, 60) and expressly dis-

claimed any federal cause of action (Comp. 9 31), cannot

deprive the allegations of the complaint of their federal

character. A federal court is not bound by the complaint’s

legal averments in determining its jurisdiction. Just as a

federal court cannot exercise subject-matter jurisdiction by

consent or stipulation, see Cutler v. Rae, 48 U.S. (7 How.)

729, 731 (1849), neither can a federal court be deprived of

jurisdiction based on “artful” pleadings, i.e., pleadings that

are drafted in a manner to avoid an exclusive federal

cause of action. See Rivet v. Regions Bank of La., 522 U.S.

470, 475-476 (1998) (collecting cases). Federal courts have

the obligation to look behind the face of the pleadings

when determining jurisdiction.

16

1. Federal courts are not bound by the face of

the pleadings in determining federal juris-

diction

Federal courts often are presented with jurisdictional

questions that require them to look beyond the manner in

which a complaint characterizes an issue or a party. For

example, in order to exercise diversity jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. § 1332, a federal court must determine that

there is “complete diversity” between each plaintiff and all

the defendants. In making that determination, a federal

court may disregard the plaintiff's designation in the

caption and text of the complaint of which parties are

defendants or plaintiffs and, as a matter of federal law,

“realign the parties for jurisdictional purposes according to

their real interests.” Koster v. Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co.,

330 U.S. 518, 523 (1947). “Diversity jurisdiction cannot be

conferred upon the federal courts by the parties’ own

determination of who are plaintiffs and who defendants.”

City of Indianapolis v. Chase Natl Bank, 314 U.S. 63, 69

(1941). It is the duty of the federal courts “to ‘look beyond

the pleadings and arrange the parties according to their

sides in the dispute.’” Jbid. Similarly, a federal court can

exercise diversity jurisdiction over a civil action even if one

of the defendants named in the complaint shares the same

citizenship as the plaintiff, so long as the federal court

finds that no colorable claim for relief is available against

that particular defendant under state law and all the

remaining defendants are diverse from the plaintiff. See

Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Ry. Co. v. Schwyhart, 227

U.S. 184, 193-194 (1913); 14 Wright & Miller, supra,

§ 3641, at 173-175. Thus, a non-colorable state law claim

alleged in a complaint must be disregarded in determining

whether the federal court has jurisdiction over the

complaint.

The power of the federal courts to look beyond the

pleadings is no different when determining whether a

federal court has jurisdiction over a case on the basis that

17

the claim alleged arises under federal law. This Court

explained in Federated Department Stores v. Moitie. 452

US. 394 (1981), that it was a “settled principle” that a

district court assessing whether a complaint can be re-

moved from state to federal court must “‘seek to determine

whether the real nature of the claim is federal. regardless

of plaintiff's characterization.’” Jd. at 397 n.2: see id. at

408 (Brennan, J., dissenting) (“The federal court must

therefore scrutinize the complaint in the removed case to

determine whether the action, though ostensibly grounded

solely on state law, is actually grounded on a claim in

which federal law is the exclusive authority.”). Although

the Court later confined the result reached in Moitie to its

particular facts, see Rivet, 522 U.S. at 472, the Court at

the same time reaffirmed the principle relevant to this

case — “[i]f a court concludes that a plaintiff has ‘artfully

pleaded’ claims * * *, it may uphold removal even though

no federal question appears on the face of the plaintiff's

complaint.” Jd. at 475.

2. A complaint alleging a state law claim and

seeking a state law remedy that has been

displaced by a federal cause of action nec-

essarily “arises under” federal law

Once Congress creates an exclusive federal cause of

action to replace an existing state law cause of action, “any

claim purportedly based on that pre-empted state-law

claim is considered, from its inception, a federal claim. and

therefore arises under federal law.” Rivet, 522 U.S. at 476

(quoting Caterpillar Inc. ». Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 393

(1987)). Although plaintiffs are free to choose between a

state and a federal cause of action when both exist and

may be “masters” of their complaints by bringing their suit

under only the state cause of action, see The Fair v. Kohler

Die & Specialty Co., 228 U.S. 22, 25 (1913), that is not so

when a plaintiff’s state law claim is preempted by federal

18

law and Congress has created an exclusive federal cause of

action in its stead. In such circumstances, a complaint

alleging violations of the displaced state cause of action

can be viewed only as a claim arising under the remaining

federal cause of action.

For example, in Avco Corp. v. Aero Lodge No. 735, 390

U.S. 557 (1968), an employer filed suit in state court

seeking an injunction based on the allegation that a union

had breached a collective bargaining agreement. Although

the employer could have brought its suit under § 301 of

the Labor Management Relations Act of 1947 (LMRA), 29

U.S.C. § 185, which creates a federal cause of action for

“violation{s] of contracts between an employer and a labor

organization representing employees in an industry

affecting commerce,” the employer did not invoke that

cause of action but alleged only a state breach of contract

claim. See Franchise Tax Bd. v. Construction Laborers

Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 23 (1983) (describing complaint

in Avco). This Court, nonetheless, sustained the removal of

the claim to federal court because an action enforcing a

collective bargaining agreement “is controlled by federal

substantive law even though it is brought in a state court.”

Aveo, 390 U.S. at 559. Because a claim to enforce a

collective bargaining agreement could be brought only

under the LMRA’s cause of action, it was “clear” that the

claim under the collective bargaining agreement was “one

arising under the ‘laws of the United States’ within the

meaning of the removal statute.” Jbid.

That is not to suggest, as do respondents (Br. in Opp.

18), that the “artful pleading” doctrine applies only when a

federal statute has a broad preemptive scope. Although

sometimes described as a doctrine of “complete preemption,”

the circumstances under which a district court may treat a

purportedly state law claim as arising under federal law

are not predicated upon the substantive breadth of the

statute’s preemption. Indeed, as this Court’s cases under

19

the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), 29

U.S.C. § 1001 et seg., make clear, the critical question is

whether Congress provided the plaintiff with a federal

cause of action against the defendant to replace the state

cause of action. Thus, in Franchise Tax Board, the Court

held that certain state law claims did not “arise under”

federal law even though it “may well be” that ERISA

preempted the challenged state conduct. The Court

explained that the complaint did not “arise under” federal

law because ERISA did “not provide anyone * * * with an

express cause of action for a declaratory judgment on the

issues in this case.” 463 U.S. at 26. By contrast, in

Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58

(1987), the Court held that when a plaintiff's common law

contract and tort claims against his employer relating to

an employee benefit plan were preempted by ERISA and

ERISA also “provides an exclusive federal cause of action

for resolution of such disputes,” id. at 62, then the “suit,

although it purports to raise only state law claims, is

necessarily federal in character” and is “removable to

federal court by the defendants,” id. at 67.

Thus, this Court’s cases establish that, where federal

law provides the exclusive cause of action by preempting

state causes of action and by creating a federal private

right of action, a federal court must treat as federal a

complaint purportedly raising only the displaced state

cause of action. As discussed above, see pages 8-12, supra,

the National Bank Act does precisely that by preempting

all state causes of action for persons who allege they paid

a national bank an interest rate greater than that allowed

by Section 85, and by creating in Section 86 a federal

cause of action for the claim.

20

C. Removal To Federal Court Of Complaints

Challenging The Rate Of Interest Charged By

National Banks Furthers The Comprehensive

Regulatory Scheme Established By Congress

Over National Banks By Promoting Uniformity

And Reducing The Costs Of Litigation

As demonstrated above, the straightforward test

established by this Court to determine “arising under”

jurisdiction when a plaintiff attempts to rely on a state

law claim rather than a federal cause of action 1s whether

that federal law preempts the state cause of action and

creates a private federal cause of action in its place. That

test, met here, comports with the Court’s insistence that

“jurisdictional rules * * * be clear,” so that judicial and

litigation resources are not unnecessarily expended on

procedural matters. Lapides v. Board of Regents, 122

S. Ct. 1640, 1645 (2002); see also Burnham v. Superior Ct.,

495 U.S. 604, 626 (1990) (plurality opinion of Scalia, J.).

The need for such clarity is particularly important in the

removal setting, where a district court's determination

that removal is not proper is rarely subject to appellate

review. See 28 U.S.C. § 1447\d).

The Court also has suggested that the question

whether an action “arises under” federal law may include

a consideration of “the nature of the federal interest at

stake” in light of “the demands of reason and coherence,

and the dictates of sound judicial policy,” and “with an eye

to practicality and necessity.” Merrell Dow Pharm., Inc. v.

Thompson, 478 U.S. 804, 814 n.12, 810 (1986). Although

amici believe that such a factor is not pertinent here

because the statutory language of the National Bank Act

is so clear, to the extent such considerations are relevant,

the nature of the federal interest at stake in adjudicating

usury claims against national banks in federal court

weighs heavily in favor of federal jurisdiction.

—"

1. The OCC engages in extensive examinations of

each national bank to ensure compliance with

federal law, including federal limits on inter-

est rates, and requires corrective action

whenever violations are found

There are more than 2,100 national banks throughout

the country. Those institutions are responsible for more

than 58 percent ($3.8 trillion) of the total assets of all

banks in the United States. See Comptroller of Currency,

Performance and Accountability Report: Fiscal Year 2002,

at 1 (2002). Although each national bank is a private

association with shareholders that is operated for profit,

each national bank also is a federal instrumentality

closely supervised and regulated by the OCC to ensure

that the bank engages in safe and sound financial prac-

tices. See 12 U.S.C. $$ 93(b), 1818(b). That degree of

regulation is, of course, of paramount importance to the

Nation’s economy, which relies on the financial safety and

soundness of those institutions.

Perhaps the “most effective” tool for federal regulation

of banking is “the broad visitorial power of federal bank

examiners.” United States v. Philadelphia Natl Bank, 374

U.S. 321, 329 (1963). Whenever the OCC deems it neces-

sary, but in most cases at least once each year, see 12

U.S.C. § 1820/d), it may order “a thorough examination of

all the affairs” of a national bank. 12 U.S.C. § 481. During

Fiscal Year 2002, the OCC conducted more than 3,100

examinations of national banks. See Performance and

Accountability Report, supra, at 9. In addition, national

banks are required to furnish detailed periodic reports of

their operations. See 12 U.S.C. $161. “In this way the

(federal regulatory] agencies maintain virtually a day-to-

day surveillance of the American banking system.” Phila-

delphia Natl Bank, 374 U.S. at 329. Indeed, for the largest

national banks, the concept of day-to-day oversight is

literally true, as the OCC has placed “full-time teams of

resident examiners on site at the largest banks — as many

22

as 40 or 50 examiners at the very largest.” Comptroller

John D. Hawke, Remarks before the Risk Management

Association's Capital Management Conference (June 6, 2002)

‘available at www.occ.treas.gov/ftp/release/2002-49 txt); see

also Performance and Accountability Report, supra, at 10

(describing distribution of examiners based on bank size

and assets). This system of federal supervision is exclu-

sive. Except under very narrowly defined circumstances,

state regulators may not examine the records of a national

bank, see 12 U.S.C. § 484; 68 Fed. Reg. 6363, 6366-6370

(Feb. 7, 2003), and cannot review the OCC’s examination

reports except at the Comptroller's “sole discretion,” 12

C.F.R. § 4.37(c).

Significantly for purposes of this case, the OCC’s bank

examiners monitor loans granted by national banks,

including the interest charged on those loans, as part of

their general safety and soundness examinations. See

generally Comptroller of Currency, Comptroller's Hand-

book: Assets: Loan Portfolio Management ‘Apr. 1998);

Comptroller of Currency, Comptroller's Handbook: Liquid-

ity and Funds Management: Interest Rate Risk (June

1997). In addition, as part of each national bank’s con-

sumer compliance review, the records of the national bank

are examined “[t]o determine the bank’s compliance with

Interest on Loans” requirement by “reviewling] loan

reports or a sample of loans (originated since the preced-

ing examination) to determine that the rates charged

comply with 12 USC 85.” Comptroller of Currency, Comp-

troller’s Handbook: Consumer Compliance Examination:

* The Comptroller's Handbook is a series of publications issued by

the OCC that “was developed primarily for national bank examiners to

use in supervising banks, but has grown to serve other users as well. It

educates readers about bank activities and provides a guide to how the

OCC expects banks to conduct different activities.” Comptroller of

Currency, Comptroller's Handbook: Bank Supervision and Examination

Process. Introduction 5 (July 1994).

23

Other Consumer Protection Laws and Regulations 3, 6

(Oct. 1996); see also Comptroller of Currency, Comptrol-

ler’s Handbook: Consumer Compliance Examination:

Community Bank Consumer Compliance 11, 44 (Nov. 2000)

(similar).

When “violations of law or regulations are identified,”

national banks must take “corrective action.” Other Con-

sumer Protection Laws, supra, at 3, 7; see also Comptroller

of Currency, Comptroller's Handbook: Consumer Complt-

ance Examination: Overview 4, 15-16 (Aug. 1996). In

addition, the OCC has the authority to impose civil penal-

ties for each day during which a violation of Section 85

continues, ranging from $5,000 a day for an unintentional

violation to $1,000,000 a day for knowingly committing

such a violation for substantial pecuniary gain. See 12

U.S.C. § 93\b). The “frequent and intensive” examinations,

Philadelphia Nat'l Bank, 374 U.S. at 330, performed by

the OCC significantly reduce the risk of national banks

engaging in any systemic violations of Section 85, while

ensuring a uniform interpretation of federal law through a

unified enforcement scheme.

2. Litigation in state courts involving the in-

terest rates paid to national banks is likely

to lead to a lack of uniformity concerning

the requirements of the National Bank Act

and the propriety of determinations by the

OCC, thereby increasing the costs and un-

certainty of litigation

a. Unfortunately, civil actions in state courts against

national banks concerning the rates of interest paid, such

as the one brought by respondents, are not uncommon

occurrences. Such cases rarely generate reported opinions

in state courts, however, because most state trial court

opinions are unpublished and, for the reasons discussed

below, most such cases are settled if they are not disposed

24

of early at the trial level.’ Such suits are often brought

purportedly under state causes of action to recover dam-

ages in excess of those available under the federal cause of

action or to challenge conduct authorized by federal law,

even though it has been clear for more than 125 years that

such state causes of action are preempted as applied to

national banks. See Farmers’ & Mechanics’ Nat'l Bank v.

Dearing, 91 U.S. 29, 35 (1875); Barnet v. National Bank,

98 U.S. 555, 558 (1878); Smiley v. Citibank (South Da-

kota), N.A., 517 U.S. 735, 744 (1996). Despite the baseless

nature of the suits as a matter of federal law, the failure of

a state court to dismiss immediately a case as preempted

may compel a national bank, ever-conscious of the need to

limit risk, to enter into settlements.

It is the experience of amici and their member institu-

tions that a prompt dismissal on preemption grounds is

unlikely to occur in state trial courts. Amici do not suggest

that all state trial courts will incorrectly refuse to dismiss

preempted claims and remedies, or that all federal district

’ For examples of complaints filed in state courts against national

banks concerning the rate of interest charged that were removed (even

if only briefly) to federal court, see, e.g., Jones v. BankBoston, NA., 115

F. Supp. 2d 1350 (S.D. Ala. 2000); Matheis v. May Dep't Stores Co., 1999

US. Dist. LEXIS 21917 (E.D. Mo. May 21, 1999), rev'd, 218 F.3d 919

‘Sth Cir 2000); Partin v. Cableview, Inc., 948 F. Supp. 1046 (S.D. Ala.

1996); Fortenberry v. Southtrust Bank of Ala., N.A., 1996 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 21685 (N.D. Ala. Mar. 21, 1996); Hunter v. Rich's Dep't Stores,

945 F. Supp. 1500 (N.D. Ala. 1995); Moss v. SouthTrust Mobile Servs.,

Inc., 1995 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 21770 (N.D. Ala. Sept. 22, 1995); Watson v.

First Union Nat'l Bank of S.C., 837 F. Supp. 146 (D.S.C. 1993); Goehl v.

Mellon Bank, 825 F. Supp. 1239 (E.D. Pa. 1993); Copeland v. MBNA

Am., N.A., 820 F. Supp. 537 (D. Colo. 1993); Ament v. PNC Nat! Bank,

825 F. Supp. 1243 (W_D. Pa. 1992); Nelson v. Citibank (South Dakota),

N.A., 794 F. Supp. 312 (D. Minn. 1992); M. Nahas & Co. v. First Natl

Bank of Hot Springs, 739 F. Supp. 1338 (W.D. Ark. 1990), aff'd, 930

F 2d 608 (8th Cir. 1991); Beeman v. MBank Houston, NA., 691 F. Supp.

1027 (S.D. Tex. 1988).

25

courts will always resolve preemption questions correctly.

Amici’s experience, however, has been that federal courts

are more likely to analyze preemption questions correctly

more often, an experience that may be explained by the

differing structural incentives faced by state courts. See

Karen A. Jordan, The Complete Preemption Dilemma, 31

Wake Forest L. Rev. 927, 990 (1996) (“state courts may be

less inclined to give full effect to a federal preemption

provision” because “a federal preemption provision may

harm state citizens by eradicating a state right to a

remedy”); cf. Mazaika v. Bank One, Columbus, N.A., 653

A.2d 640, 642 n.3 (Pa. Super. Ct. 1994) (finding no pre-

emption of usury claim against national bank and likening

the interest rate charged by a national bank in compliance

with the National Bank Act to the conduct of Don Cor-

leone, a fictional organized-crime figure and loan shark),

rev'd, 680 A.2d 845 (Pa. 1996).

Whatever the reasons, amici’s perception that state

courts are more amenable to plaintiffs’ claims against

national banks also appears to be shared by the plaintiffs’

bar. Many suits against national banks are initially

brought in state court and are carefully drafted, as was

the complaint in this case, with the apparent goal of

preventing removal to federal court based on diversity

jurisdiction by limiting the amount in controversy just

below $75,000. Comp. ¥ 62 (demanding damages “not to

exceed $74,900 per named Plaintiff”); Br. in Opp. App. lla

(same demand in different lawsuit against national bank).

In addition, cases removed from state to federal court

on the basis of federal question jurisdiction (excluding

prisoner suits) are dismissed before trial 72% of the time,

compared with a 31% dismissal rate for federal question

suits originally filed in federal court. See Kevin M. Cler-

mont & Theodore Eisenberg, Do Case Outcomes Really

Reveal Anything About the Legal System: Win Rates and

Removal Jurisdiction, 83 Cornell L. Rev. 581, 594 tbl.

26

1 (1988) (describing data and suggesting various explana-

tions). That substantial disparity suggests that cases with

weaker federal claims are originally brought in state

court, perhaps in the belief that state courts are less likely

to dismiss a plaintiff’s claims, which in turn increases the

possibility of extracting a settlement from the defendant.

b. The mere existence of a state court decision refus-

ing to find preempted state substantive laws and remedies

concerning the rate of interest paid to national banks can

create uncertainty and thus add to various forms of risk

that are the subject of federal regulation and frequent

federal examination. The OCC has concluded that, even if

a national bank ultimately prevails in litigation of a claim,

the mere act of litigating the claim “can disrupt the

operations of a bank, possibly reducing the institution's

earnings and capital,” by causing “foregone business

opportunities, loss of corporate focus, or diminished

reputation in the community.” Comptroller of Currency,

Comptroller’s Handbook: Other Areas of Examination

Interest: Litigation and Other Legal Matters 1 (Feb. 2000).

Additionally, according to the OCC, “depositor confidence

in an institution may be shaken by litigation against the

bank, and may lead to unanticipated loss of both deposits

and capital.” Jd. at 3. Because “[rjeal or threatened litiga-

tion can pose significant costs to banking organizations,”

the OCC requires its examiners “to identify any pending or

threatened litigation involving the bank, assess the

liabilities and any impact from those legal matters, and

determine whether the bank is effectively identifying,

measuring, monitoring, and controlling those risks.” Jd. at

1. Considering the “likelihood of an unfavorable outcome,”

the “estimated cost of defending the claim,” and “an

estimate of the amount or range of potential loss,” the

examiner must “(djetermine whether threatened or pend-

ing litigation [or] claims * * * against the bank exist and

quantify their potential effect on capital, earnings, and

financial soundness.” Jd. at 11, 12, 13.

27

Permitting a national bank to remove to federal court

a case concerning the rate of interest it charged reduces

the likelihood of error, confusion, and delay and thus

reduces the potential effect of such a case on the financial

soundness of an institution in an exclusively federally-

regulated industry. See American Law Inst., Study of the

Division of Jurisdiction Between State and Federal Courts

4 (1969) (“Federal question jurisdiction is necessary to

preserve uniformity in federal law and to protect litigants

relying on federal law from the danger that state courts

will not properly apply that law, either through misunder-

standing or lack of sympathy.”); The Federalist No. 80, at

476 (Alexander Hamilton) (Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961)

(“The mere necessity of uniformity in the interpretation of

the national laws, decides the question. Thirteen inde-

pendent courts of final jurisdiction over the same causes,

arising upon the same laws, is a hydra in government,

from which nothing but contradiction and confusion can

proceed.”).

Although erroneous state trial court decisions on

preemption can be appealed, such appeals are generally

available only after the costs of discovery and litigation

have been expended and a final judgment has been en-

tered. National banks are thereby denied one of the

primary benefits of preemption - a quick dismissal of

preempted state law claims as a matter of law. And al-

though this Court ultimately remains available to resolve

any conflicts between the state and federal courts, the

uncertainty of such a discretionary avenue of relief at the

end of the litigation defeats Congress’s intent to preempt

state causes of action challenging interest rates of national

banks in favor of a singular federal remedy. See Arthur R.

Miller, Artful Pleading: A Doctrine in Search of a Defini-

tion, 76 Tex. L. Rev. 1781, 1821-1822 (1998) (“One of the

purposes of complete preemption is to vindicate Congress's

purported desire not to allow any causes of action in a

particular substantive area other than federal causes of

28

action. Assuming that this intent can be found, it is not

enough to respond *** that the Supreme Court can

vindicate the underlying statutory purpose through

appellate jurisdiction because this will not satisfy the

congressional desire to abrogate state causes of action.”).

Nor does it create the level of certainty necessary for the

optimal functioning of a national banking system.

c. In addition, national banks, subject to the pervasive

federal oversight of the OCC, have a particular interest in

not having state courts second-guess federal agency

determinations regarding issues that may affect the

national banks’ financial safety and soundness. Because

the OCC is charged with exclusive governmental enforce-

ment of Section 85, its determination about the scope and

meaning of the statute is accorded great deference. See

Smiley v. Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., 517 U.S. 735,

739-741 (1996). Allowing suits in state court to proceed

against a national bank on necessarily federal claims over

the objection of the national bank could interfere with the

OCC’s exclusive regulatory jurisdiction by permitting, in

essence, collateral attacks on the OCC’s determinations.

A case currently pending in Louisiana state court

reveals the problems that can result when a state court

sits to review bank conduct that is sanctioned by a federal

regulatory body. In Heaton v. Monogram Creditcard Bank

of Georgia, No. 98-8275 (La. Civ. Dist. Ct., Orleans Par-

ish), the plaintiffs brought a class action suit against a

defendant alleging violations of state usury laws. See

Heaton v. Monogram Creditcard Bank of Ga., 297 F.3d

416, 419 (5th Cir. 2002) (describing litigation). The Federal

Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) had previously

certified that the defendant was a “bank” for purposes of

the Federal Deposit Insurance Act, which determination,

inter alia, entitled it to deposit insurance, subjected it to

federal regulation, and preempted certain state usury

laws, 12 U.S.C. § 1831d(a). See 297 F.3d at 424. The state

court refused to accept the FDIC's certification and held

29

that whether the defendant was a “bank” entitled to the

federal preemption defense was a factual question to be

determined by a jury. Heaton v. Monogram Creditcard

Bank of Ga., No. 98-8275, Judgment at 3-4 (La. Civ. Dist.

Ct., Orleans Parish July 9, 2001). The state court also

refused to allow the FDIC to intervene in the litigation tw

defend its actions. See Heaton, 297 F.3d at 423 n.10. On

removal by the defendant, the federal district court re-

manded for lack of jurisdiction, but on appeal, the order

was reversed after the intervention of the FDIC in the

litigation. See id. at 420. (The case is still pending in state

court because the federal court of appeals’ mandate has

not issued due to a pending petition for rehearing). That

litigation has been pending for five years, incurring

substantial and unnecessary fees and costs, because of the

failure of the state court promptly and properly to resolve

the question of federal preemption.

While certainly an unusual case procedurally, similar

difficulties would arise were a state court to conclude that

a practice that was approved by the OCC during the

course of its examination of a national bank nonetheless

violated the National Bank Act as interpreted by a state

court. To maintain the proper roles of federal and state

courts, national banks should be permitted to invoke

federal court jurisdiction so that inquiry into the sound-

ness of the OCC’s judgment can be made, if at all, by

federal trial and appellate courts. Cf Tarble’s Case, 80

U.S. (13 Wall.) 397 (1871).

From their inception, “National banks have been

National favorites.” Tiffany v. Nat'l Bank of Mo., 85 US.

(18 Wall.) 409, 411 (1874). In furtherance of its policies of

competitive and financially sound national banking

system, Congress preempted state law usury causes of

action against national banks and replaced them with a

single federal cause of action. The “practicality and neces-

sity,” Merrell Dow Pharm., 478 U.S. at 810, of a federal

forum to vindicate those national policies complements the

30

legal analysis that demonstrates that civil actions chal-

lenging the rate of interest paid to a national bank neces-

sarily “arise under” federal law.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

Drew S. Days, III

Counsel of Record

BETH S. BRINKMANN

SETH M. GALANTER

MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP

2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 887-1500

Attorneys for Amict Curiae

MARCH 2003

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.