Amicus Curiae Brief — Grutter v. Bollinger
Supreme Court brief2003
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
pay oe “.
PIL ED
——
“FP
jt | FEB LS 2003
Nos. 02:241 and 02-516 —
In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States
BARBARA GRUTTER, Petitioner,
and
JENNIFER GRATZ AND PATRICK HAMACHER, Petitioners,
Vv.
LEE BOLLINGER, ef al., Respondents.
On Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
BRIEF OF GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
THOMAS A. GOTTSCHALK KENNETH S. GELLER
Executive Vice President | Counsel of Record
& General Counsel EILEEN PENNER
FRANCIS S. JAWORSKI Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw
General Motors Corp. 1909 K Street, NW
M/C 482-C25-D81 Washington, DC 20006
300 Renaissance Center (202) 263-3000
P.O. Box 300
Detroit, MI 48265-3000
Counsel for General Motors
Corporation
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
ee as scabsnsmmplottilieempbii
TASES COR ATT I I ice ciesctcnensceceecrccnencovene iii
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE......cccssessssseessssesssssseeeesee 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.......cssssscssssssssseecssnecssnscssensese 2
PRAIRIES PE ENS: Ae NO ea eee 2.3
I. CONSIDERATION OF RACE AND
ETHNICITY IN UNIVERSITY ADMISSIONS
FURTHERS A COMPELLING INTEREST IN
EDUCATING STUDENTS AND TRAINING
THEM TO COMPETE IN THE GLOBAL
A. Institutions Of Higher Education Have A
Compelling Interest In Selecting Diverse
B. Success In Today’s Business World Demands
Cross-Cultural Competence And The Ability
To View Problems From Multiple
Perspectives — Skills Best Learned In
Diverse Academic Environments...............-0--sseesse+ 12
1. To Achieve Excellence In The New,
Diverse Global Economy, Employees Of
Any Race, Culture, Or Ethnicity Must
Possess Cross-Cultural Competence ............--.-+- 12
2. Diversity In Academic Institutions
Augments The Skills — Cross-Cultural
Competence And Complex Thinking —
That Studénts Need To Help Lead Our
Country’s Economic Future
TABLE OF CONTENTS -— continued
3. Institutions Of oy here a
Ideally Equipped To
Exposure To Diversity, Development Of
Cross-Cultural Competence, And Critical
Thinking Skills That Graduates Need To
Thrive In The Business World ...........-----0-+-++00++ 19
_ ELIMINATION OF AFFIRMATIVE ACTION
: IN EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS LIKELY
WOULD DEPRIVE BUSINESSES OF WELL
TRAINED MINORITY CANDIDATES WHO
ARE ESSENTIAL TO OUR NATION’S
ECONOMIC SUCCESS .......--:++s++++eseeensnnnnenennnnnenennnnenens
CONCLUSION .....-0:eccecssssrcsssssenesttensnennnnnnnnnnsnnsnensenennsnannnnee#
—_ ee
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
CASES
Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S. 200
a 7
Brown v. Board of Educ., 347 U.S. 483 (1954) .....cccccccccseee 12
Gratz v. Bollinger, 122 F. Supp.2d 811
RE TS 5, 7,18
Grutter v. Bollinger, 288 F.3d 732 (6th Cir. 2002)
EES. SSE ae a passim
Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589
GR i errancnntiteraicetesstnecennenestsishnisthidiinpentatiaanatiadatinieemans 5, 12,21
Metro Broadcasting, Inc. v. FCC, 497 U.S. 547 (1990) ...7, 8
North Carolina Bd. of Educ. v. Swann, 402 U.S. 43
SPITE cherhtinnnesciinenicenenenibasiienstdiisasibintanatttesedinintaniatastes ll
Regents of University of Cal. v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265
PS es ea passim
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Educ., 402 U.S. 1
0 EAS ee ee re ll
Sweatt v. Painter, 339 U.S. 629 (1950) .........cccccc0e 11, 12,22
Sweezy v. New Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234 (1957) ......ccccccceseeee 6
Washington v. Seattle Sch. Dist. No. 1, 458 U.S. 457
PEED cttcinicnsidainnacicenticrnmnicnisciitinstinismmininnintninsumibihtesatpinn ll
STATUTES, RULES AND REGULATIONS
SES SRE AS CGAL SSNS ee |
Rule 37.6 ........ AB Ee AOE, A rhe l
iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued
Page(s)
MISCELLANEOUS
Akhil R. Amar & Neal K. Katyal, Bakke 's Fate, >
43 U.C_L.A. L. REV. 1745 (1996) ....-.-c-cecereereneenees 21, 23
GORDON W. ALLPORT, THE NATURE OF PREJUDICE
(1954) .n.ccecceecessvsevesnsenesnssnssnssnnsnnsnennenessnsssnvennsnnennenssnensaes 20
T.K. Bison & S.A. Law, RAND REPORT ON
GLOBAL PREPAREDNESS AND HUMAN
RESOURCES: COLLEGE AND CORPORATE
PERSPECTIVES (1994) ......-.-seeseeseveesrsensnensnensenenenenens 3, 4,12
William G. Bowen, Admissions and the Relevance
of Race, PRINCETON ALUMNI WEEKLY 7
(Sept. 26, 1977) ...--.--e-s-sseesvsersnesnenesnennenneennnsnnnnennes 6, 10, 20
WILLIAM G. BOWEN & DEREK BOK, THE SHAPE
OF THE RIVER (1998) ........-:-s-e:ssssseresenenennsnsnsenenensnsnsnensnens &
ORGANIZATIONS: THEORY, RESEARCH, AND
Taylor H. Cox, Jr. & Stacy Blake, Managing Cultural
C 5 ACADEMY OF MANAGEMENT
EXECUTIVE No. 3, at 45 (1991) -..-----ceceeceseeeenennennenes 13, 15
Rohit Deshpande et al., The Intensity of Ethnic
Affiliation: A Study of the Sociology of Hispanic
13 JOURNAL OF CONSUMER
RESEARCH No. 2, at 214 (1986) ......--------serereereereenenenenes 13
EXECUTIVE COUNCIL 1998 .........:-cc-cesereseresessnsnnenennnenenensnens 25
OE ee
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued
Page(s)
General Motors, Workplace Diversity — The Competitive
Advantage, at http://www.gm.com/company/gmability/
diversity/people/workforce tml 2.0.0.0... .coccccceeeceeseoes.-. 24
HARVARD UNIVERSITY, THE PRESIDENT’S REPOR
SI hiiceciildhiinittnienistetatni tee adince’ : ; : 21
Janine S. Hiller & Stephen P. Ferris, Separ
Myth From Reality: An Beenemie eats
Voluntary Affirmative Action Programs
23 MEMPHIS ST. U. L. REV. 773 (1993) eccccooeooc--... 25
JOHN P. FERNANDEZ, THE DIVERSITY ADVANTAGE
REESE A Se ec 24
JOHN P. FERNANDEZ, RACE, GENDER AND RHETORIC:
THE TRUE STATE OF RACE AND GENDER RELATIONS
IN CORPORATE AMERICA (1998) 0000... cccccccccsceeeee. 14, 15
ROSABETH Moss KANTER, THE CHANGE MASTERS:
INNOVATIONS FOR PRODUCTIVITY IN THE
AMERICAN CORPORATION (1983) o....0..--cccccccceccccseeoeeceoee 24
Kenneth Labich, Employees Must Reflect
the Dive
World, FORTUNE, Mar. 26, 1990, at 56............ os hesiihtin 25
WILLIAM G. LEE, MAVERICKS IN THE WORKPLA
CE:
HARNESSING THE GENIUS OF AMERICAN WORKERS
Gareth Morgan, Endangered Species: New Ideas
133 BUSINESS MONTH No. 4, at 75 (1989)...
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— continued
/ Page(s)
Charlan J. Nemeth, Differential Contributions
of Majority and Minority Influence, 93
PSYCHOLOGICAL REVIEW No. 1, at 23 (1986) ...........---. 24
DIVERSITY CHALLENGED: EVIDENCE ON THE IMPACT OF
AFFIRMATIVE ACTION (Gary Orfield ed., 2001) ........ 9,19
Sumita Raghuram & Raghu Garud, The Vicious and
Virtuous Facets of Workforce Diversity, in
SELECTED RESEARCH ON WORK TEAM DIVERSITY
155 (Marian N. Ruderman et al. eds., 1996) ............-----
'§.G. Redding, Cultural Effects on the Marketing
Process in Southeast Asia, 24 JOURNAL OF
MARKET RESEARCH SOC’Y No. 2, at 98 (1982) .........---.
Robert A. Rosenblatt, PG&E Wins Federal
Affirmative Action Award, L.A. TIMES,
Dec. 19, 1989, at D2.........-cecereressesersnsenssenenensnsnnsnsnennnnsess 25
Walter G. Stephan & John C. Brigham, Jntergroup
Contact: Introduction, 41 J. Soc. IssuES No. 3,
21
At 1 (1985S) ..ececsecesvseseenesessnenssnsensnsnesnsnssnsnsensenenensansnsesees
David K. Tse et al., Does Culture Matter? A Cross-
Cultural Study of Executives’ Choice, Decisiveness,
and Risk Adjustment in International Marketing
52 JOURNAL OF MARKETING No. 4, et 81 (1988) ......... 13
BRIEF OF GENERAL MOTORS
CORPORATION
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
receive profoundly affects the ability of General
indeed all major American Amin —egopeas
—
2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
General Motors files as amicus curiae in this case to
explain that the Nation’s interest in safeguarding the freedom
of academic institutions to select racially and ethnically
diverse student bodies is indeed compelling: the future of
American business and, in some measure, of the American
economy depends upon it.
In General Motors’ experience, only a well educated,
diverse work force, comprising people who have learned to
work productively and creatively with individuals from a
multitude of races and ethnic, religious, and cultural
backgrounds, can maintain America’s competitiveness in the
increasingly diverse and interconnected world economy.
- Diversity in academic institutions is essential to teaching
students the human relations and analytic skills they need to
succeed and lead in the work environments of the twenty-
first century. These skills include the abilities to work well
with colleagues and subordinates from diverse backgrounds,
to view issues from multiple perspectives; and to anticipate
and to respond with sensitivity to the cultural differences of
highly diverse customers, colleagues, employees, and global
business partners.
General Motors speaks from first-hand experience
regarding the importance of such cross-cultural skills. As
General Motors’ global enterprises expand, it is increasingly
critical that employees at every level of its operations utilize
these skills in their daily tasks. General Motors now
maintains major presences in more than 200 different
countries on six continents. General Motors’ employees,
customers, and business partners thus could scarcely be more
racially, ethnically, and culturally diverse.
A ruling proscribing the consideration of race and
reduce diversity at our Nation’s top institutions and thereby
deprive the students who will become the corps of our
3
Nation’s business elite of the interracial and multicultural
interactions in an academic setting that are so integral to their
acquisition of cross-cultural skills. Such a ruling also likely
would reduce racial and ethnic diversity in the pool of
employment candidates from which the Nation’s businesses
can draw their future leaders, impeding businesses’ own
efforts to obtain the manifold benefits of diversity in the
managerial levels of their work forces. Each of these results
may dimirish the ability of American businesses to utilize
fully the opportunities of the global market.
ARGUMENT
The ability of American businesses to thrive in the
twenty-first century will depend in large measure on our
Nation’s responses to two inevitable forces: the increasingly
global and interconnected nature of the world economy (see,
e.g., T.K. BIKSON & S.A. Law, RAND REPORT ON GLOBAL
PREPAREDNESS AND HUMAN RESOURCES: COLLEGE AND
CORPORATE PERSPECTIVES (1994) (“RAND REPORT”)) and
the increasing diversity of our own population (see, e.g.,
MINORITY BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT AGENCY, U.S. DEp’T OF
COMMERCE, DYNAMIC DIVERSITY: PROJECTED CHANGES IN
U.S. RACE AND ETHNIC COMPOSITION 1995 To 2050 (1999)
(“DYNAMIC DIVERSITY”)). The vast majority of businesses in
the Fortune 500 currently maintain operations or do business
in countries outside of the United States. Technological
telecommunications tools, are creating a truly global,
interlinked world economy. See RAND REPORT, supra, at 1-
2. Global mergers and business expansion are continually
increasing the diversity of American businesses’ customer
bases and business partners.
Nationally, our own population is also becoming
increasingly diverse: by the year 2050, almost half of all
Americans — 47% — will be African American, Hispanic,
Asian American, or Native American. See DYNAMIC
4
DIVERSITY, supra, at 8. After 2050, that “minority”
population is projected rapidly to surpass the non-Hispanic
white population in size. Jd. at 11; see also id. at 1.
To succeed in this increasingly diverse environment,
American businesses must select leaders who Possess cross-
cultural competence — the capacities to interact with and to
understand the experiences of, and multiplicity of
perspectives held by, persons of different races, ethnicities,
and cultural histories. Numerous authorities concur that
“(c]rosscultural competence” is “the most important new
attribute for future effective performance in a global
marketplace.” RAND REPORT, supra, at 51; see also id. at 24
(identifying “crosscultural competence” as “the critical new
human resource requirement for corporations that have
espoused a global business strategy”) (emphasis in original).
Thus, it is essential that the selective academic institutions
that prepare students to enter the business and professional
worlds adequately equip them with this skill. Jd. at 51-52.
Much research confirms what is intuitively obvious:
students are likely to acquire greater cross-cultural
competence in a multicultural and multiracial academic
environment, in which students and faculty of different
cultures and races interact, than they are in a homogeneous
one, in which cross-cultural communication is merely a
theoretical construct. See pp. 17-18, infra.
The Court is presented with the question whether state
universities have a compelling interest in ensuring that
students receive these educational benefits. The answer to
that question, originally provided by Justice Powell’s opinion
in Regents of University of California v. Bakke, 438 US. 265
(1978), and confirmed by the experience of the business
community and academic institutions in the decades since
Bakke was decided, is a resounding “yes,” as the Sixth
Circuit, sitting en banc, correctly concluded. Grutter v.
Bollinger, 288 F.3d 732, 742 (6th Cir. 2002) (en banc); see
a
5
also Gratz v. Bollinger, 122 F. Supp.2d 811, 820 (E.D. Mich.
2000). °
I. CONSIDERATION OF RACE AND ETHNICITY
IN UNIVERSITY ADMISSIONS FURTHERS A
COMPELLING INTEREST IN EDUCATING
STUDENTS AND TRAINING THEM TO
COMPETE IN THE GLOBAL MARKETPLACE
A. Institutions Of Higher Education Have A
Compelling Interest In Selecting Diverse Student
Bodies
Justice Powell presciently declared in Bakke that “the
‘nation’s future depends upon leaders trained through wide
exposure’ to the ideas and mores of students as diverse as
this Nation of many peoples.” 438 U.S. at 313 (quoting
Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589, 603 (1967)). A
majority of the Court held in Bakke that the University of
California had “a substantial interest that legitimately may be
served by a properly devised admissions program involving
the competitive consideration of race and ethnic origin.” Jd.
at 320 (opinion of Powell, J., joined by Brennan, White,
Marshall, and Blackmun, JJ.). In his opinion, Justice Powell
explained that “attainment of a [racially and ethnically]
diverse student body * * * clearly is a constitutionally
permissible goal for an institution of higher education” (id. at
311-312) because it augments the educational process in two
ways.
First, racial and ethnic diversity in an academic
institution teaches students skills that will improve their
performance as leaders and professionals in a heterogeneous
> We leave to the parties, who possess greater familiarity with the
details of the University’s program, the question whether the
program is narrowly tailored to achieve the above-described
compelling interest.
6
iety. 438 U.S. at 313. Immersion in a multiracial
mor environment enhances students’ knowledge of
different cultures and their understanding of perspectives that
are influenced by race. That augmented understanding in
tur prepares students, upon graduation, to work
cooperatively in multiracial environments and to e*
multiracial clienteles. As Justice Powell observed, os
example, racial diversity in a medical school enrich[es}
training of its student body(,) * a better equip(ping] its
graduates to render with understanding their vital service” to
a “heterogeneous population.” Jd. at 314.
Second, racial and ethnic diversity promotes
““speculation, experiment, and creation,”” thinking > ae
that are “essential to the quality of higher educauon. -
U.S. at 312 (quoting Sweezy v. New Hampshire, 354 US.
234, 263 (1957) (Frankfurter, J., concurring)). Differences
among students allow them to ““stimulate one another to
reexamine even their most deeply held assumptions about
themselves and their world,’” teaching them to view issues
from myriad perspectives. Jd. at 312 & n.48 (quoting
William G. Bowen, Admissions and the Relevance of Race,
PRINCETON ALUMNI WEEKLY 7, 9 (Sept. 26, 1977)).
ircul ice Powell’s
The en banc Sixth Circuit concluded that Justice vel”
opinion in Bakke is controlling.’ Its decision that diversity is
‘ Petitioners and amici assert that this aspect of the Bakke opinion
is prema because only Justice Powell's opinion “yo
an interest in fostering diverse student bodies is compelling. a
Grutter Brief at 26-27 (Jan. 16, 2003); Gratz Brief at 31-32 ( e
16, 2003); Cato Inst. Brief at 15 (Jan. 16, 2003); Nat’! Ass no
Scholars Brief (Grutter) at 16-17 (Jan. 15, 2003). Because ~—
Powell’s holding that diversity is a compelling state interest is th
narrowest ground offered in support of the Bakke judgment, it's
controlling. In any case, as the Sixth Circuit oo ty Bano
Brennan’s opinion contains implicit support for Justice
“diversity conclusion.” Grutter, 288 F.3d at 742.
EEO
7
a compelling interest is supported by a mass of unrefuted
evidence presented in the trial courts below, substantiating
both of Justice Powell’s statements regarding the ways in
which racial and ethnic diversity enhance students’
intellectual and social growth. Reviewing this evidence,
Judge Duggan found that the University had presented “solid
evidence regarding the educational benefits that flow from a
racially and ethnically diverse student body” and, guided by
Justice Powell’s opinion, concluded that the University’s
interest in achieving these benefits is compelling. Gratz, 122
F. Supp.2d at 822, 824.
Petitioners and their amici’ attack the Sixth Circuit’s
holding, arguing that the contention that racial diversity
among students enhances educational diversity “reflect[s] * *
* racial stereotyping about how people will (or should) think
or behave on account of their skin color or ethnicity.” Cato
Inst. Brief at 3 (Jan. 16, 2003). But in Metro Broadcasting,
Inc. v. FCC, 497 U.S. 547 (1990), the Court explicitly
endorsed Justice Powell’s view that racial diversity tends to
promote a healthy and educational diversity of viewpoints.
The Court explained: “[t]he predictive judgment about the
overall result of minority” representation “is not a rigid
assumption about how minorit[ies] * * * will behave in every
case but rather” merely recognizes “that greater admission of
minorities would contribute, on average, ‘to the robust
exchange of ideas.” Jd. at 579 (quoting Bakke, 438 U.S. at
313).
> £E.g., Grutter Brief at 34-35; Gratz Brief at 29-30; Ctr. For New
Black Leadership Brief at 3-4 (Jan. 15, 2003); Nat’! Ass’n of
Scholars Brief (Grutter) at 12-13; Pac. Legal Found. Brief
(Grutter) at 16-18 (Jan. 14, 2003); W. Connerly Brief at 23-24
(Jan. 16, 2003).
* In Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S. 200, 225-227
(1995), the Court overruled Metro Broadcasting on a different
ground — specifically, that a race-conscious federal government
That conclusion is plainly correct. Although persons of a
particular race or ethnicity of course do not necessarily share
a common perspective, race and ethnicity are as likely as any
other experience to influence an individual's own, unique
perspective. Just as growing up in a particular region, living
with a disability, or having particular professional
experiences are likely to affect an individual's views, so too
is one’s experience of being a member of a racial minority in
a society, like ours, in which, unfortunately, race still matters.
See WILLIAM G. BOWEN & DEREK BOK, THE SHAPE OF THE
RIVER 278-279 (1998).
Numerous amici and Judge Boggs in his dissent all
acknowledge that admitting students with diverse
experiences is a valid academic goal because diverse
experiences lead to divergent world views, which in turn
enhance the quality of debate and promote learning among
students. But they contend that pursuing “true experiential
diversity” without direct reference to race would equally
accomplish this goal. Grutter, 288 F.3d at 791-792 (Boggs,
J., dissenting); see also, e.g., Cato Inst. Brief at 3-4; Ctr. for
Equal Opportunity Brief at 19-20 (Jan. 16, 2003); Ctr. -for
New Black Leadership Brief at 3-5 (Jan. 15, 2003); Law
Professors Brief at 13 (Jan. 16, 2003); Mich. Ass’n of
Scholars Brief at 14 (Jan. 16, 2003); United States Brief
(Grutter) at 8 (Jan. 16, 2003); United States Brief (Gratz) at
10-11 (Jan. 16, 2003); cf. Grutter Brief at 44; Gratz Brief at
13, 17. Petitioners and amici ignore, however, that the mere
fact of being a member of a racial or ethnic minority in this
society — standing alone — is itself an experience that
creates unique perspectives. As Judge Clay explained in his
concurrence, an individual can only experience racial or
program need only be reviewed under intermediate, rather than.
strict, scrutiny. The Court in Adarand did not revisit its holding in
Metro Broadcasting that racial and ethnic diversity tends to
promote a diversity of viewpoints.
1 a
9
ethnic discrimination based on his or her race or ethnicity;
and endeavoring to include in a law school class individuals
who have actually experienced the kind of racial or ethnic
discrimination being discussed in class requires consideration
of race in admissions. Grutter, 288 F.3d at 764-765 (Clay, J.,
concurring). Indeed, Judge Boggs acknowledged as much in
his dissent. Jd. at 791 (Boggs, J., dissenting) (stating that the
minorities who are admitted “all, on average, have had some
experience with being the object of racial discrimination” and
that “[flor law students, this might bring an understanding of
the purposes behind the antidiscrimination laws that they
might study”) (emphasis in original). Thus, it is no answer, as
Judge Boggs suggests, to favor in admissions students who
attended “an under-funded public school, struggl[ed] with
relative poverty, [or spent] a childhood * * * in urban rather
than suburban areas” (id. (Boggs, J., dissenting)); these are
insufficient proxies for the experience of being a member of
a racial or ethnic minority in America, regardless of class or
income. See id. at 764-765 (Clay, J., concurring).’
Several amici contend that exposure to a broad reading
list and to popular culture’s purportedly “ubiquitous”
message of tolerance are alternative means of achieving the
educational effects of diversity. See, e.g., Ctr. for Equal
Opportunity Brief at 20-21 (arguing that “the educational
effects of random interracial conversations” can be gained,
inter alia, from reading works by under-represented
minorities or from popular culture); Law Professors Brief at
14 (arguing that “surely a sufficiently diverse reading list
” See also Gary Orfield, Introduction, in DIVERSITY
CHALLENGED: EVIDENCE ON THE IMPACT OF AFFIRMATIVE
ACTION 26 (Gary Orfield ed., 2001) (“DIVERSITY CHALLENGED”)
(“[M]any racial problems have a serious impact on people who are
not poor. * * * Middle-class blacks are actually more likely to
perceive discrimination in their lives than are poor blacks, perhaps
because they have more interaction with the white world.”).
10
would suffice” to instill lessons learned by a ne
minority students) (emphasis 1n original), Nat ss =
Scholars Brief (Gratz) at 17-18 (arguing that [s]tudents -
listen to ‘multiple perspectives’ and learn to be ant =
others with or without a racially diverse student | heen
it is self-evident that requiring Students to a
authored by under-represented minorities, or ; ving a
watch a movie about “the black experience —wi
actually interacting with people of color — is gross ~d
insufficient to expand the limited world views ag io
lifetimes spent in a largely segregated world. See PP. ae
infra. If the goal is to ee vagy ———
ili function in ‘ actual
eters Ao with peers of different races is far seam
merely reading or watching a movie about racial ag oo
example, a student could too easily dismiss Martin —_
King’s writings as reflecting a different, ee
time; that same student would have a harder time a
the struggles of her classmates with race and identity 1
on campus.
, it is not only in class discussions that these
ougitteenehen occur. As Justice Powell noted, quoting
the comments of the then-president of Princeton University:
““f A) great deal of learning occurs informally . —_
interactions among students * * * of different ~<)
are able, directly or aed’ os, = re « fferences.
* * studen , anned casual
‘iaiieaaiie corn cow andl fellow sufferers in —
chemistry class, student workers in the library, —— ~
a basketball squad, or other participants in class ——
student government can be subtle and yet —_ _—
of improved understanding and personal growth. be
438 U.S. at 313 n.48 (quoting Bowen, Admissions
Relevance of Race, supra, at 7, 9).
aaa
Petitioners’ suggestion (Grutter Brief at 16-17, 22; Gratz
Brief at 13) that the Sixth Circuit’s holding lacks support in
this Court’s precedents, save for Justice Powell’s opinion in
Bakke, also misses the mark. The Court often has recognized
that racial and ethnic academic diversity promotes vital
educational goals, and that achieving diversity through race-
conscious decisionmaking accordingly is within the
prerogative of state educational institutions. In Swann vy.
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 402 US. |
(1971), for example, the Court observed that, even absent any
constitutional violation, it would be “within the broad
discretionary powers of [elementary and secondary] school
authorities” to “conclude” as an “educational policy * * *
that in order to prepare students to live in a pluralistic society
each school should have a prescribed ratio of Negro to white
Sweatt v. Painter, 339 U.S. 629, 634 (1950) (recognizing the
educational value of diversity in ordering the desegregation
of a law school).
using diversity to hone young minds and to “prepar{e] * * *
12
473 (internal quotation marks omitted)), leaders (Keyishian,
385 U.S. at 603), and professionals (Brown v. Board of
Educ., 347 U.S. 483, 493 (1954); Sweatt, 339 U.S. 634) in
our increasingly heterogeneous society. Bakke, 438 U.S. at
313.
B. Success In Today’s Business World Demands
Cross-Cultural Competence And The Ability To
View Problems From Multiple Perspectives —
Skills Best Learned In Diverse Academic
Environments
The business world has learned that, just as Justice
Powell observed, “the nation’s future does indeed depend [ ]
upon leaders trained” in diverse academic environments.
Bakke, 438 U.S. at 313 (opinion of Powell, J.) (internal
quotation marks omitted). The capacities to work easily with
persons of other races and to view problems from multiple
perspectives are essential skills in the business world of the
twenty-first century. Indeed, the cross-cultural competence
of a business’ work force directly affects its bottom line.
Academic institutions with diverse student bodies offer the
best — and for many students, the only — opportunity to
acquire these crucial skills.
1. To Achieve Excellence In The New, Diverse
Global Economy, Employees Of Any Race,
Culture, Or Ethnicity Must Possess Cross-
Cultural Competence
Demographic changes in the racial and ethnic
composition of business work forces, customer bases, and
pools of potential business partners increasingly necessitate
that entrants into the managerial levels of the business world
persons of any race, ethnicity, or culture and to understand
views influenced by those traits. See, e.g, RAND REPORT,
supra, at 16-18, 24-27. Such cross-cultural competence
affects a business’ performance of virtually all of its major
13
tasks: (a) identifying and satisfying the needs of diverse
customers, (b) recruiting and retaining a diverse work force
sn inepiing that work fore to work together to develop and
ent innovative i ; and (c) forming and fostering
productive w relationshi
subsidiaries oem globe.® ‘teaeaaeaies
Creating and Selling Products to a Diverse Population.
Racial minonities in the United States presently wield an
impressive $600 billion in annual purchasing power (Expert
Report of William G. Bowen, at 14 (Dec. 9, 1998)) — a
number that is Increasing exponentially with expanding
minority populations. Moreover, with the global expansion
of many businesses and the advent of internet shopping, the
customer bases of many businesses now include people from
many races and diverse cultures around the world.
Having high-level employees who possess cross-c
competenas to canna for 0 tuntnans to pooitt fam Gun
vast market opportunities. It is undeniable that consumers’
cultures can and often do influence their purchasing
preferences.” Businesses whose employees are able to
* In light of the importance of diversi success,
of Iversity to a business’ it i
not surprising that many businesses fteve fone geemeted 0
commitment to diversity among their ranks. General Motors, for
instance, made diversity a “core business objective” in 1995.
9
See, e.g., Taylor H. Cox, Jr. & Stacy Blake Managing C
. . . . ; ‘ ulnwal
Diversity: Implications for Organizational Competitiveness, 5
ACADEMY OF MANAGEMENT EXECUTIVE No. 3, at 45, 49 (1991);
David K. Tse et al., Does Culture Matter? A Cross-Cultural Study
of Executives’ Choice, Decisiveness, and Risk Adjustment in
International Marketing, 52 JOURNAL OF MARKETING No. 4, at
81-95 (Oct. 1988); Rohit Deshpande er al., The Intensity of Ethnic
Affiliation: A Study of the Sociology of Hispanic Consumption, 13
JOURNAL OF CONSUMER RESEARCH No. 2, at 214-220 (Sept.
> Saetinas deta, 2 teeneus OF ms basaast Penne tee
in Asia, 24 JOURNAL OF THE MARKET F
No. 2, at 98-114 (1982). —
14
identify and cater to these market preferences will prosper,
those whose employees lack the sensitivity and domain
knowledge to meet these diverse market demands will not.
To meet the challenge, businesses require managers and
employees who understand that people from diverse
backgrounds manifest diverse interests and who know how to
translate that understanding into creative product
development, community outreach, and marketing and
advertising campaigns. Examples of such successful
identification and satisfaction of the needs of culturally
diverse populations abound. See, e.g., TAYLOR H. Cox, JR.,
CULTURAL DIVERSITY IN ORGANIZATIONS: THEORY,
RESEARCH, AND PRACTICE 30-31 (1993) (citing, among other
examples, a company’s successful development of a
cosmetics line designed for women of color and another
company’s success in turning around poor performance in
inner cities by assigning management of those market areas
to black and Hispanic managers sensitive to local consumer
preferences).
community. JOHN P. FERNANDEZ, RACE, GENDER AND
RHETORIC: THE TRUE STATE OF RACE AND GENDER
RELATIONS IN CORPORATE AMERICA 224 (1999).
~~
ne sill
15
offending them. See id at 220-221 (enumerating notable
mishaps and obstacles).
Relationships in the Workplace. \n the year 2000, more
than one-third of all new labor force entrants in the United
States were minorities. See Expert Report of Bowen, at 5;
see also FEDERAL GLASS CEILING COMM’N, A SOLID
INVESTMENT: MAKING FULL USE OF THE NATION’S HUMAN
CAPITAL 1 (1995) (Message From The Chair) (“GLASS
CEILING COMM’N REPORT”). Over the next 50 years, that
percentage is projected to exceed the percentage of
Caucasian work force entrants. See pp. 3-4, supra.
Businesses also employ citizens of other nations to staff their
global manufacturing and production operations. General
Motors, for example, employs citizens of 53 different
countries, many of whom are non-Caucasians.
The capacity of many businesses to recruit and retain
talented labor — a critical resource — therefore increasingly
will depend upon the sensitivity of their managers to
interracial and multicultural issues. “Companies with strong
records for developing and advancing minorities and women
will find it easier to recruit [and retain] members of those
groups.” GLASS CEILING COMM’N REPORT, supra, at 4.
Indeed, companies that manage diversity well already are
proving more successful in attracting and retaining top-
quality workers. See Taylor H. Cox, Jr. & Stacy Blake,
Managing Cultural Diversity: _Implications _for
Organizational Competitiveness, 5 ACADEMY OF
MANAGEMENT EXECUTIVE No. 3, at 45, 48-49 (1991). The
need to make work environments more hospitable to non-
Caucasian workers is apparent: at present, minorities in
general experience higher turnover rates and levels of job
dissatisfaction. See, e.g., id. at 45, 46.
Managers’ and employees’ cross-cultural competence
augments not only recruiting and retention of employees, but
also work force creativity and productivity. The best ideas
16
and products are created by teams of people who can work
together without prejudice or discomfort. Cf. Gareth
Morgan, Endangered Species: New Ideas, 133 BUSINESS
MONTH No. 4, at 75-77 (1989) (cooperation and conflict
management are essential to innovation). The absence of
such obstacles is of special import in the new work
environments of cutting-edge businesses, which stress
teamwork and the free movement of ideas between people.
See, e.g., WILLIAM G. LEE, MAVERICKS IN THE WORKPLACE:
HARNESSING THE GENIUS OF AMERICAN WORKERS 4 (1998).
General Motors, for example, strives for a “walls down”
work environment to foster “idea flow” — an interactive
process of creative brainstortming unhindered by titles and
positions. Idea flow cannot be achieved across barriers of
racial and cultural discomfort or among team members who
are unable to accept diverse views.
A corporate management comprising individuals who
have never before experienced the challenges of interra-ial
and cross-cultural interactions that they will confront in the
workplace poses great risks to efficiency and productivity.
First, low-level unease between managers and employees of
different races, ethnicities, and cultures may impede
productivity and prevent the formation of the close working
relationships that make a business “hum.” Second, managers
unskilled in considering diverse perspectives may fail to
recognize excellent ideas when they come from unexpected
sources. Third, a lack of exposure to persons of different
races and ethnicities may result in economically inefficient,
aid improper, hiring and promotion decisions, influenced by
false stereotypes rather than an objective assessment of true
merit. Such decisions not only destroy morale, but deprive
the business of the benefit of excellent workers’ untapped
potential. In a worst-case scenario, insensitivity to issues of
race or ethnicity could produce intense conflict or render a
business vulnerable to costly and disruptive discrimination
lawsuits.
ee gt amyl
17
In sum, the graduates whom businesses recruit from top
academic institutions, such as the University of Michigan, to
serve as managers and professionals will shape the corporate
cultures and reputations for diversity of those businesses in
the years to come. Graduates who lack sensitivity to
perspectives influenced by race and ethnicity will be ill-
equipped to meet the fundamental challenge of attracting,
retaining, and managing the human capital that businesses
need to survive.
Forming and Maintaining Relationships With Global
Business Partners. Expanding global presences also mean
that businesses increasingly transact with potential
commercial partners from diverse races and cultures.
General Motors, for example, has business partners and
subsidiaries in many different countries and is constantly
seeking to expand its operations and sales throughout the
world. The company’s global business objectives thus dictate
that many of its managers and employees engage daily in
transnational, cross-cultural, and interracial contacts. Such
contacts occur at every level, from the business people to the
engineers, who must work across national lines to develop
and market the very best products.
Establishing trust across racial and cultural lines is a
serious corporate challenge for all businesses that have
international aspirations. Graduates from our Nation’s elite
academic institutions who have been immersed in cross-
pe learning environments will be better prepared to
it.
2. Diversity In Academic Institutions Augments
The Skills — Cross-Cultural Competence And
Complex Thinking — That Students Need To
Help Lead Our Country's Economic Future
Abundant research has verified Justice Powell’s
conclusion that racial and ethnic diversity in institutions of
higher education assists students in developing the skills that,
18
as we have just explained, are so essential to their success in
the business world: (1) understanding the views of persons
from different cultures and (2) addressing issues from
multiple perspectives.
Open-mindedness and complex thinking are skills best
honed through exposure to multiple ideas and challenging
debate in an educational environment. Academics attest, and
researchers confirm, that racial and ethnic diversity enhances
this process, elevating the level of discourse in institutions ~
higher education by exposing students to a broader range 0
perspectives. Students emerge from 4 diverse oo
experience with greater tolerance and ability to interact Wi
persons of other cultures, far less parochial views, and more
highly developed cognitive abilities.
We do not undertake to catalogue the abundant research
establishing the causal relationship _ between academic
diversity and development of these cognitive and social skills
— a task that other amici, representing numerous
associations of university educators, have performed. We
note only that Judge Duggan had ample basis for his
conclusion that “solid evidence” establishes that educational
benefits * * * flow from a racially and ethnically diverse
student body.” Gratz, 122 F. Supp.2d at 822.
7 to petitioner’s argument, the point that an education in
a diverse setting results in “benefits accruing to students after they
have graduated from college” (Gratz Brief at 41) does not
“demonstrate that there is no principle that confines the interest to
the education context” and thereby enable diversity to “become a
justification for using race to treat people differently in many
walks of life.” Jd. Rather, it simply means that diversity in
education benefits students long after their four years spent on a
college campus. |
"Professor Patricia Gurin’s research provides especially powerful
empirical support for the proposition that — who
“participated in interactions with diverse peers, were ortable
19
3. Institutions Of Higher Learning Are Ideally
Equipped To Provide The Exposure To
Diversity, Development Of Cross-Cultural
Competence, And Critical Thinking Skills That
Graduates Need To Thrive In The Business
World
Businesses depend upon institutions of higher learning to
teach students the cross-cultural competence and cognitive
skills they will need to perform at a high level in the business
world. Higher education is the best, and for many students
the only, opportunity to acquire these skills.
Selective academic institutions offer a large percentage of
white students their first and last opportunity for significant
contact with persons of other races and cultures prior to
entering the working world. See Expert Report of Thomas J.
Sugrue, at 3, 22, 37-44 (Dec. 15, 1998) in Ct. App. Joint
Appendix at 2522; Gary Orfield & Dean Whitla, Diversity
and Legal Education: Student Experiences in Leading Law
Schools, in DIVERSITY CHALLENGED, supra, at 154-158 &
Tables 2-7 (50% of the white students at Harvard Law
School and University of Michigan Law School had little or
no interracial contact prior to entering college or law school).
Despite our Nation’s increasing racial diversity, historical
patterns of de facto segregation in housing, and hence, also in
primary and secondary education, persist. See Orfield &
Whitla, supra, at 155-156. For many students, then, the
college or umiversity experience presents the first
“opportunity to disrupt an insidious cycle of lifetime
Segregation.” Expert Report of Patricia Gurin, at 33 (Dec.
15, 1998) in Ct. App. Joint Appendix at 2316.
and prepared to live and work in a diverse society.” Expert Report
of Patricia Gurin, at 33 (Dec. 15, 1998) in Ct. App. Joint Appendix
at 2316; see also Gary Orfield & Dean Whitla, Diversity and Legal
Education: Student Experiences in Leading Law Schools, in
DIVERSITY CHALLENGED, supra, at 143.
20
is also the best such opportunity. Of course, matriy
cinta, including General Motors, can and do provide
extensive diversity training to workers after their arrival in
the work force. But these courses are designed _ to
supplement, not substitute for, trainin g and ap soe
employees should have received earlier. Shoul mo :
selective institutions of higher education return to a wd rd
de facto segregation — as research indicates most will “oh
the Court were to overrule Bakke and prohibit them --
considering race in admissions decisions “ — businesses
be ill-equipped to bridge the gap. |
A diminution of diversity in institutions of higher
education would mean that a huge percentage of their
graduates would arrive in the workplace having grown up ce
racially and ethnically homogeneous or am aye Sor
attended racially and ethnically homogeneous schools:
environments that empirical studies show breed _
and stereotypes.'? Having been “‘surrounded only by
likes of themselves,”” such students are likely to hold “ey
parochial and limited perspectives. Bakke, 438 US. at or
n.48 (opinion of Powell, J.) (quoting Bowen, Admissions
the Relevance of Race, supra, at 9). They may lack the —
mindedness of students who have had more interactions wi
persons of other races.
It would be exceedingly difficult for businesses to play
basic social and
catch-up — to teach college graduates
cognitive skills and values they should have acquired prior to
. 15, 1998) in
2 See, e.g., Expert Report of Derek Bok, at 5-6 (Dec. 15,
Ct App. Joint Appendix at 2240 (absent consideration of race in
admissions, the representation of blacks in the Nation’s premier
law schools would sink to a de minimis level — in one calculation,
0.4%).
. ., Expert Report of Sugrue, at 44; cf. GORDON W.
JR ty NATURE OF PREJUDICE 271-272 (1954).
<a
21
entry into the workplace. F irst, businesses lack the
pedagogical resources, including faculty, of academic
institutions to provide the same training in these arenas.
Businesses are primarily commercial, not educational,
entities, incapable of replicating the safe academic
environments that foster the “robust exchange of ideas which
discovers truth out of a multitude of tongues.” Keyishian, 385
U.S. at 603 (internal quotation marks omitted). Second,
research suggests that interracial and cross-cultural contacts
diminish prejudice and promote greater understanding
primarily when they occur among individuals of equal status.
See, e.g., Walter G. Stephan & John C. Brigham, /ntergroup
Contact: Introduction, 41 J. Soc. IssUES No. 3, at 1, 2
(1985); Expert Report of Gurin, at 20. Only schools, not
businesses, offer a forum for cross-cultural contact among a
society of equals, free of hierarchy. Finally, students tend to
exhibit greater openness to such lessons at earlier Stages of
their development. “Students come to universities at a
critical stage, * * * a time during which they define
themselves in relation to others and experiment with different
social roles.” Expert Report of Gurin, at 4.
Accordingly, universities, not businesses, “are [the] ideal
institutions to foster” the skills and values necessary for
participation in a heterogeneous society. See id. at 9
(emphasis omitted). See generally HARVARD UNIVERSITY,
THE PRESIDENT’S REPORT 1993-1995, at 43. As two
constitutional scholars recently observed: “If a far-flung
democratic republic as diverse — and at times divided — as
[modern] America is to survive and flourish, it must cultivate
some common spaces where citizens from every corner of
society can come together to learn how others live, how
others think, how others feel. If not in public universities,
where?” Akhil R. Amar & Neal K. Katyal, Bakke 's Fate, 43
U.C.L.A. L. Rev. 1745, 1749 (1996).
In sum, institutions of higher learning have a compelling
interest in selecting diverse student bodies: to enhance the
22
educational experiences of students of all races and to equip
them with the skills they need to thrive and lead our Nation
as citizens and in the new global marketplace.
Il. ELIMINATION OF AFFIRMATIVE ACTION IN
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS LIKELY
WOULD DEPRIVE BUSINESSES OF WELL
TRAINED MINORITY CANDIDATES WHO ARE
ESSENTIAL TO OUR NATION’S ECONOMIC
SUCCESS
Institutions of higher learning have a compelling interest
in considering race and ethnicity in admission decisions, not
only because diversity enhances the quality of education, but
because diversity enhances the many enterprises students will
undertake following graduation. Selective universities and
colleges serve as training grounds for and gateways to the
higher echelons of all realms of American society, including
corporate America.
Businesses hire from selective academic institutions not
only because they tend to select the students with greatest
potential, but also because they tend to prepare their students
well to perform in the top levels of the work force. Utilizing
the highest quality faculty, most effective curricula, superior
programs and facilities, and most powerful alumni and
community contacts, these universities and colleges offer
unparalleled training opportunities. Cf. Sweatt, 339 U.S. at
634. The graduating classes of these institutions therefore, to
some extent, define the pool from which future leaders and
managers of the business world will emerge.’ Selective
institutions of higher learning bear a special responsibility to
make admissions decisions that will not merely reward the
* As such, it is no answer that minority “students who, because of
nonpreferential policies, are not admitted to a more selective
school will assuredly be admitted elsewhere.” Ctr. for Equal
Opportunity Brief at 28.
- er
23
past academic performance of individual students, but will
enhance our Nation’s economic future.
To accomplish that goal, academic institutions must be
permitted to continue to consider, as one factor among many
in their selection decisions, the race and ethnicity of
applicants. Absent such consideration, the evidence suggests
that the number of minorities admitted to and graduating
from these selective institutions will plummet. See p. 20
n.12, supra. Any reduction in diversity at these institutions
accordingly would reduce the diversity of the pool of
candidates from which businesses could select top corporate
managers and professionals. That, in turn, threatens to
deprive businesses of the manifold benefits of having a
critical mass of people of color and persons of different
ethnicities in their upper ranks and would strike a harmful
blow to our Nation’s economic well-being.
In this regard, it is notable that “[h]igher education, by
making up for educational inequities at early stages in life,
can be the ramp up to a level playing field — with no further
affirmative action — for the rest of one’s future.” Amar &
Katyal, supra, 43 U.C.L.A. L. Rev. at 1749. indeed, as the
United States recognizes, “[i]f undergraduate and graduate
institutions are not open to all individuals and broadly
inclusive to our diverse national community, then the top
jobs * * * will be closed to some.” United States Brief
. (Grutter) at 13. If courts prohibit institutions of higher
learning from performing this function, businesses will find it
more difficult to hire superbly trained minority candidates.
There can be little doubt that racial and ethnic diversity in
the senior leadership of the corporate world is crucial to our
Nation’s economic prospects. In a country in which
minorities will soon dominate the labor force, commensurate
diversity in the upper ranks of management is increasingly -
important. A stratified work force, in which whites dominate
the highest levels of the managerial corps and minorities
24
dominate the labor corps, may foment racial divisiveness. It
also would be retrogressive, eliminating many of the
productivity gains businesses have made through intensive
efforts to eradicate discrimination and improve relations
among workers of different races.
Instead of finding that the consideration of diversity leads
to racial tension and stigmatization, as petitioner and amici
argue (e.g., Grutter Brief at 34-35; Ctr. for Equal Opportunity
Brief at 17-19; Nat’l Ass’n of Scholars Brief (Gratz) at 23-
24; W. Connerly Brief at 13-15), businesses have discovered
just the opposite: valuing diversity has helped their bottom
line. Abundant evidence suggests that heterogeneous work
teams create better and more innovative products and ideas
than homogeneous teams. Homogeneity often causes teams
to suffer from lock-step “group think.” See, e.g., Charlan J.
Nemeth, Differential Contributions of Majority and Minority
Influence, 93 PSYCHOLOGICAL REVIEW No. 1, at 23-32
(1986); Sumita Raghuram & Raghu Garud, The Vicious and
Virtuous Facets of Workforce Diversity, in SELECTED
RESEARCH ON WORK TEAM Diversity 155, 156, 160
(Marian N. Ruderman et al. eds., 1996); JOHN P. FERNANDEZ,
THE DIVERSITY ADVANTAGE 284-285 (1993). The most
innovative companies therefore deliberately establish
heterogeneous teams in order to “‘create a marketplace of
ideas,’ recognizing that a multiplicity of points of view need
to be brought to bear on a problem.” ROSABETH Moss
KANTER, THE CHANGE MASTERS: INNOVATIONS FOR
PRODUCTIVITY IN THE AMERICAN CORPORATION 167 (1983).
In short, as GM President and CEO Jack Smith has said,
“Having people of different ethnic, racial, and social
backgrounds in our corporation has not slowed our pursuit of
excellence — it has accelerated it.” General Motors,
Workplace Diversity - The Competitive Advantage, at
http://www.gm.com/company/gmability/diversity/people/wor
kforce.html (last visited Feb. 15, 2003). The chief executive
officers of numerous Fortune 500 companies agree. As
25
Robert J. Eaton, then-Chairman and CEO of
Corporation, explained, “workforce diversity is a ae
advantage. Our success as a global community is as
dependent on utilizing the wealth of backgrounds, skills, and
opinions that a diverse workforce offers, as it is on raw
materials, technology and ”
1998. at 10.'5 gy and processes.” EXECUTIVE COUNCIL
Empirical research buttresses
corporate executives and industry ther omg —
force . diversity is important to effective competition in
today $s market. The federal Glass Ceiling Commission, for
instance, reported that “[iJndependent research has shown
that companies that go the extra mile in hiring and promoting
a and women are more profitable.” GLASS CEILING
OMM’N REPORT, at 2. Other studies have reached similar
conclusions. See, e.g., Janine S. Hiller & Stephen P. Ferris
Separating Myth From Reality: An Economic Analysis of
“ue in business circles that diversity is
26
Voluntary Affirmative Action Programs, 23 MEMPHIS ST. U.
L. REV. 773, 794-795 (1993).
General Motors strongly believes that the future of
American businesses depends upon the availability of a
diverse group of well-trained graduates. Only with the
contributions of the best and brightest of every race,
ethnicity, and culture can American businesses continue to
create the world’s most innovative products, manage the
world’s most productive work forces, and expand their
operations across the globe. For the sake of the Nation’s
collective economic future, institutions of higher learning
must be permitted to continue to achieve the diversity that
enhances both the education of these individuals and the
endeavors that they will undertake as graduates.
CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated, the Court should hold that the
government has a compelling interest in achieving the
educational benefits of diversity in higher education and that
admissions parameters that are narrowly tailored to ensure a
diverse, heterogeneous student body are permissible under
the Constitution.
Respectfully submitted.
THOMAS A. GOTTSCHALK KENNETH S. GELLER
Executive Vice President Counsel of Record
& General Counsel EILEEN PENNER
FRANCIS S. JAWORSK! Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw
General Motors Corp. 1909 K Street, NW
M/C 482-C25-D8] Washington, DC 20006
300 Renaissance Center (202) 263-3000
P.O. Box 300
Detroit, MI 48265-3000
Counsel for General Motors
FEBRUARY 2003 Corporation :
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.