Petition for Writ of Certiorari — PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc. v. Book

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

) FILED

02 215 Aue 62002

No. 02-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

IN RE HUMANA INC. MANAGED CARE LITIGATION

PACIFICARE HEALTH SYSTEMS, INC.., et ai.,

Petitioners,

v.

JEFFREY BOOK, D.O.., et al.,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES W. QUINN, Esq. WILLIAM E. GRAUER

JEFFREY S. KLEIN, Esq. (Counsel of Record)

WEIL, GOTSHAL & MANGES,LLP CHRISTOPHER R.J. PACE

767 Fifth Avenue COOLEY GODWARD LLP

New York, New York 10153 4401 Eastgate Mall

(212) 310-8000 San Diego, California 92121

(858) 550-6000

EDWARD SOTO, Esq.

WEIL GOTSHAL & MANGES, LLP Attorneys for Petitioners

701 Brickell Avenue PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc.

Suite 2100 and PacifiCare Operations, Inc.

Miami, Florida 33132

(305) 577-3100

Attorneys for Petitioners

UnitedHealthcare, Inc. and

UnitedHealth Group

Incorpcrated

ts Tl A RT.

eevee ¥en. = the eee senate

i

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether a district court must compel arbitration of.

a plaintiff's RICO claims under a valid arbitration

agreement even if that agreement does not allow an

arbitrator to award punitive damages, leaving to the

arbitrator in the first instance the decision of what

remedies are available to the RICO plaintiff in

arbitration.

ii

PARTIES TO PROCEEDINGS BELOW AND CORPORATE

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The parties to the proceedings in the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit were (a) plaintiffs-

appellees Jeffrey Book, D.O., Dennis Breen, M.D., Michael

Burgess, M.D., Edward L. Davis, D.O., Glenn L. Kelly,

M.D., Manual Porth, M.D., and Charles B. Shane, M.D., and

(b) defendants-appellants Foundation Health Systems, Inc.,

n/k/a Health Net, Inc., PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc.,

PacifiCare Operations, Inc., n/k/a PacifiCare Health Plan

Administrators, Inc., The Prudential Insurance Company of

America, UnitedHealth Group Incorporated, f/k/a United

HealthCare Corporation, UnitedHealthcare, Inc. and

WellPoint Health Networks Inc. This petition is being filed

on behalf of PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc., PacifiCare

Operations, Inc., UnitedHealth Group Incorporated, and

UnitedHealthcare, Inc. No publicly held companies owns

10% or more of PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc. or

UnitedHealth Group Incorporated. PacifiCare Operations,

Inc., n/k/a PacifiCare Health Plan Administrators, Inc., is

owned 100% by PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc., a publicly

held company, and UnitedHealthcare, Inc. is owned 100% by

United HealthCare Services, Inc., which in turn is owned

100% by UnitedHealth Group Incorporated, a publicly held

company.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Question Presented for REVIEW .............ccccccccecseeseceesceseeeeeneeeens i

Parties to Proceedings Below and Corporate

Disclosure Statement ...............0ccccccccccecoscececeeeeseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees ii

TE ee iii

Table of Cited Authorities .0.....000. 0. cccccccccccccccceccccececeeeeeceeseeee Vv

Citation of Court of Appeals and District Court Opinions.....1

Statement of the Basis for Jurisdiction ................................... l

Federal Statutes Involved in This Case..............ccccccc00c00000-..- 2

I. STATEMENT OF THE CASE... cccccccccccccccccceeee 3

Il. REASONS FOR GRANTING PETITION.................... 7

A. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION

CONFLICTS WITH THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT’S

DECISION IN LARRY’S UNITED SUPER, INC. V.

ET x

B. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION ADDRESSES

AN ISSUE OVER WHICH THERE Is A SPLIT

AMONG THE FIRST, THIRD, FIFTH, EIGHTH,

NINTH AND ELEVENTH CIRCUITS. ....ccccccccccccecooeee 10

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(CONTINUED)

PAGE

C. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION CANNOT

D. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION

UNDERMINES THE CRITICAL ROLE THAT THE

FAA PLAYS IN PROMOTING ALTERNATIVE

DISPUTE RESOLUTION. ...........ss0ssssssssssssssseseseenees 18

E. ATA MINIMUM, THIS PETITION SHOULD BE

HELD PENDING THE COURT’S DECISION IN

HOWSAM V. DEAN WITTER REYNOLDS, INC............ 24

TR, COICTLILIIIIIIN, cccccccecesccscessscccssscsessssnsssrssescsecssnsssssssess 26

v

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

PAGE

CASES

Arkcom Digital Corp. v. Xerox Corp.,

289 F.3d 536 (8th Cir. 2002) .0..........cccccecsecescenseneee 11,15

Baravati v. Josephthal, Lyon & Ross, Inc.,

a 13

Buckley v. Valeo,

ee 19

Cole v. Burns Int'l Security Servs.,

OU 14

CSC v. Letter Carriers,

es Se irentenrenenineensnnicnnntenicnenenniumeniemin 19

Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp.,

es ee ennterterisenntiinmenintenenmenenn 20, 23, 24

Graham Oil Co. v. ARCO Prods. Co.,

43 F.36 13464 (BGs Cis. 1995S) ..20cccccccccccccssccccececceseses 10, 11

Great Western Mortgage Corp. v. Peacock,

110 F.3d 222 (3rd Cir. 1997) ..0..........c.ccceeee 11, 12, 13,15

Green Tree Fina. Corp. v. Randolph,

ee ee Pe icentenscinttannnpninnnennneeneemnnis 22, 23

Howsam v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc.,

SoUns Tanna cocieebatenebnbctnenieniailasticihpeneitinsmemieninedes 8, 24, 25, 26

vi

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

(CONTINUED)

PAGE

Investment Partners v. Glamour Shots Licensing, Inc.,

__ F.3d __, 2002 WL 1498721

(Sth Cir. July 15, 2002) ............cccecceeseees 10, 16, 17, 18, 24

John Wiley & Sons v. Livingston,

ee 22

Larry's United Super, Inc. v. Werries,

253 F.3d 1083 (8th Cir. 2001) ............ccecceeseeeeeeees passim

Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc.,

SOOT Bee enneeemmemnee 12, 21

McCaskill v. SCI Mgmt. Corp.,

SP ee 14

MCI Telecomm. Corp. v. Matrix Commun. Corp.,

SA bo 11, 12,15

Metro East Center for Conditioning & Health v. Qwest

Commun. Int'l, Inc., _ F.3d __, 2002 WL 1378752

SG, SD ie CEE ceetmnasremeeeencenen 10, 13, 19

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-

Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985) ..........-..000 9, 19, 20, 23

National R.R. Passenger Corp. v. Consolidated

Rail Corp.,892 F.2d 1066 (D.C. Cir. 1990) .0.......cccccceeceeeee 14

Paine Webber Inc. v. Elahi,

ge en 11

vii

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

(CONTINUED)

PAGE

Paladino v. Avnet Computer Tech., Inc.,

134 F.3d 1054 (11th Cir. 1998) 0000000... 5, 6, 7, 10, 20

Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg. Co.,

eS ee icrircnennenienscervecmenecnseninntennteneremets 10

Raytheon Co. v. Automated Bus. Sys.,

i 11

Roby v. Corporation of Lloyd's,

996 F.2d 1353 (2nd Cir. 1993)..........ccccccceeeseeee 15, 16, 24

Shearson/Am. Express, Inc. v. McMahon,

ge 9, 16, 20, 22, 23

Snepp v. United States,

ne A CITE rictinititietniciirtnininieniastinanienennnnsiiantiaineenaiii 19

United States v. Krilich,

ee 19

United States v. Mezzanatto,

eens REET snihissicthiihisiinisiciaiiiecieinpeinincniicanninnimmvnnasin 19

Volt Info. Sciences, Inc. v. Board of Trustees of Leland

Stanford Jr. Univ., 489 U.S. 468 (1989) .00......cccccccceeeeeeeees 20

viii

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

(CONTINUED)

PAGE

STATUTES AND REGULATION

Federal Arbitration Act,

Fete i OI ccecsenserestssseerseeseesnetennmnmenenenn 2

Fie Si reresncsnsennssmnesnnsensseesnseeeeeiememnenaremenenenets 2, 23

DF Cee Si Pesnccscemeosssvesrseneseceemnecsnmmmmmnnnecnseerectnennnassente 2

Frese Cie i crsnserssssnsterscntsnmeunnemtennessecerqennmeien 7

ar te GP iciirerernnerscertectenesoniemmessiinies 16

Be eeelie iS ccnsncsvasnesnssenpececinasstsnenstanenenvensstenenesesstneseneaneees 4

Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act,

ee ere: Cees SII crncransscecsnsensenenesesmemenenmeumesemecs 2

Sa ee Ue i nicrrenstnnsensenssecenseneneseennntmenenonsmnsenenns 3,4

BF eee ee rscsncsnsnnnsumsseceeenennnnesenmmeanneetauentorn 2,3

te SEI Picennsncrersccnsinasnarectnmncnneceanensnanenccnmtenteiemntunsentaie l

BD Clas CIR cacsreccsemmmntnensnentermnnnssccienneeeneementennmemeeee 3

> Gs Fee ccneceveensneresnessestritnmnnnnitumnmmenpenenienee 4

Employee Retirement Income and Security Act,

ie Se ectsccecemecennemtensneemnnncstannieterenenmeienees 4

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 4 00.............ccccccceceseeseees 7

ix

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

(CONTINUED)

PAGE

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Stern, Gressman, Shapiro & Geller, Supreme Court

Preathes CH GB. BOGS) vccccccescccccescecesccccccscccscscsscossessscevsscoees 26

l

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc., PacifiCare

Operations, Inc., UnitedHealthcare, Inc. and UnitedHealth

Group Incorporated respectfully petition this Court to issue a

writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit-in Jn re Humana

Inc. Managed Care Litigation.

CITATION OF COURT OF APPEALS AND

DISTRICT COURT OPINIONS

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 285

F.3d 971. App. 1. The order denying the petition for

rehearing and rehearing en banc is unreported. App. 55.

The first opinion of the District Court for the Southern

District of Florida, which the Court of Appeals adopted as its

opinion, is reported at 132 F. Supp.2d 989. App. 11. The

second opinion of the District Court, which modified its first

opinion in part, is reported at 143 F. Supp.2d 1371. App. 47.

STATEMENT OF THE BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction over this petition pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1) because the petition asks the Court to

issue a writ of certiorari to review a case in the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit. The Court of

Appeals issued its decision on March 14, 2002 and denied a

petition for rehearing or rehearing en banc on June 21, 2002.

This petition is being filed with the Clerk of this Court

within 90 days from the date of the denial of the petition for

rehearing.

FEDERAL STATUTES INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

This petition involves Sections 2 and 4 of the Federal

Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §1, et seg. (“FAA”), and Section

2

1964 of the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations

Act, 18 U.S.C. §1961, et seg. (“RICO”). Those sections are

set forth in full in the Appendix. App. 57. Section 2 of the

FAA states in relevant part:

3

shall proceed summarily to the trial thereof. ... Jf

the jury find that an agreement for arbitration

was made in writing and that there is a default in

proceeding thereunder, the court shall make an

A written provision in ... a contract evidencing a

transaction involving commerce to settle by

arbitration a controversy thereafter arising out of

such contract or transaction, or the refusal to

perform the whole or any part thereof, ... shall be

valid, irrevocable, and enforceable, save upon

such grounds as exist at law or in equity for the

revocation of any contract.

Section 4 of the FAA states in relevant part (with

emphasis added):

A party aggrieved by the alleged failure, neglect,

or refusal of another to arbitrate under a written

agreement for arbitration may petition any United

States district court which, save for such

agreement, would have jurisdiction under title 28,

in a civil action or in admiralty of the subject

matter of a suit arising out of the controversy

between the parties, for an order directing that

such arbitration proceed in the manner provided

for in such agreement. ... The court shall hear

the parties, and upon being satisfied that the

making of the agreement for arbitration or the

failure to comply therewith is not in issue, the

court shall make an order directing the parties to

proceed in arbitration in accordance with the

terms of the agreement. ... If the making of the

arbitration agreement or the failure, neglect, or

refusal to perform the same be in issue, the court

order summarily directing the parties to proceed

with the arbitration in accordance with the terms

thereof.

Section 1964(c) of RICO states in relevant part:

Any person injured in his business or property by

reason of a violation of section 1962 of this

chapter may sue therefor in any appropriate

United States district court and shall recover

threefold the damages he sustains ....

1. STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

On August 14, 2000, plaintiffs Dennis Breen, Jeffrey

Book, Manual Porth and Glenn Kelly (“Plaintiffs”), along

with several other individuals, filed a ten-count complaint

against fifteen defendants, including PacifiCare Health

Systems, Inc. and PacifiCare Operations, Inc. (collectively,

“PacifiCare”), and UnitedHealthcare, Inc. and UnitedHealth

Group Incorporated (collectively, “United”). Several of the

counts in the complaint allege that PacifiCare and United

violated various provisions of the RICO statute (or aided and

abetted violations of that statute). The District Court had

jurisdiction over the complaint pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1331

because Plaintiffs’ RICO claims arose under the laws of the

United States.’

' Plaintiffs’ substantive causes of action were for violations of RICO,

see 18 U.S.C. §1962(a) & (c), the Employee Retirement Income and

Security Act (“ERISA”), see 29 U.S.C. §1132(aX(1) & (3), a federal

4

At all times relevant to the complaint, Drs. Breen and

Book were bound by contract to arbitrate disputes with

PacifiCare, and hence PacifiCare filed motions to compel

Drs. Breen and Book to arbitrate their claims against

PacifiCare. Likewise, Drs. Porth and Kelly also were bound

by contract to arbitrate their disputes with United, so United

filed a similar motion to compel Drs. Porth and Kelly to

arbitrate their claims against United.’

On December 11, 2000 and April 26, 2001, the District

Court ruled on PacifiCare and United’s motions to compel.

The District Court found that enforceable arbitration

agreements existed between PacifiCare and Drs. Breen and

Book as well as between United and Drs. Porth and Kelly.

See 143 F. Supp.2d at 1375; 132 F. Supp.2d at 1000-01 &

1005. The District Court also held that those arbitration

agreements required Plaintiffs to arbitrate at least some of

their claims against PacifiCare and United. The District

Court, however, stopped short of ordering Plaintiffs to

arbitrate a// of their claims against PacifiCare and United. In

particular, the District Court held that Plaintiffs did not have

to arbitrate their RICO claims because all of the relevant

arbitration agreements limited the damages that an arbitrator

could award in arbitration: Both PacifiCare agreements

Medicare prompt-pay regulation, see 42 C.F.R. §417.500(a)(6), and

various State prompt-pay statutes, as well as for breach of contract,

quantum meruit, and unjust enrichment. Plaintiffs also included in their

complaint causes of action for conspiring to violate RICO, see 18 U.S.C.

§1962(d), and for aiding-and-abetting RICO violations (in alleged

violation of 18 U.S.C. §2). Plaintiffs amended their complaint while

PacifiCare and United’s appeal was pending in the Court of Appeals.

The amended complaint still includes all Plaintiffs, all defendants

(including PacifiCare and United), and most of the causes of action

(including all of the RICO causes of action) from the original complaint.

Additional motions to compel arbitration were filed in the District

Court, but they are not the subject of this petition.

5

stated that an “arbitrator shall have the power to grant all

legal and equitable remedies and award compensatory

damages provided by [State] law, except that punitive

damages shall not be awarded,” United’s agreement with

Kelly stated that “arbitrators ... shall have no authority to

award any punitive or exemplary damages,” and United’s

agreement with Porth stated that “arvitrators ... shall have no

authority to award extracontractual damages of any kind,

including punitive or exemplary damages.” App. 60-63.

While none of these damages limitations expressly

addressed RICO trebled damages, the District Court

interpreted the limitations as prohibiting arbitrators from

awarding Plaintiffs RICO trebled damages. See 132 F.

Supp.2d at 1001. Such prohibitions, the District Court held,

prevented Plaintiffs from obtaining meaningful relief on their

RICO claims in arbitration, and thus Plaintiffs were not

required to arbitrate their RICO claims against PacifiCare

and United pursuant to the Court of Appeals’ earlier decision

in Paladino v. Avnet Computer Tech., Inc., 134 F.3d 1054,

1062 (11 Cir. 1998).2 Typical of the District Court’s

analysis was its discussion of the two arbitration agreements

between PacifiCare and Dr. Breen:

> The District Court also refused to compel arbitration of Drs. Porth

and Kelly’s ERISA and State prompt-pay statutory claims against United

even though punitive or multiple damages is not a remedy available for

either claim. The District Court did so, at least in part, because the

relevant arbitration agreements required that arbitrations be commenced

within a year after one party notifies the other in writing of a dispute.

App. 62-63. The District Court incorrectly construed this notice

requirement as altering the statute of limitations on Drs. Porth and

Kelly’s ERISA and prompt-pay claims, which the District Court held

was impermissible and rendered the ERISA and prompt-pay claims

inarbitrable. See 132 F. Supp.2d at 1000.

6

Both arbitration agreements contain broad

language indicating that the parties intended for

“any controversy, dispute, or claim arising out of

the agreement” to be arbitrated. However, both

agreements prohibit the arbitrator from awarding

punitive damages. Thus, we are faced with a

potential Paladino situation, discussed earlier

with the context of United’s motion to compel

arbitration (Section II(A)), where the plaintiff may

not be able to obtain meaningful relief for

allegations of statutory violations in an arbitration

forum. ...

Accordingly, the Court will not compel Dr. Breen

to arbitrate his RICO claims against PacifiCare

due to the arbitrator’s inability to impose punitive

(treble) damages. All other statutory and non-

statutory claims shall be arbitrated, except for the

conspiracy and aiding and abetting claims that

stem from contractual relationships with other

managed care companies.

132 F. Supp. 2d at 1005.‘

PacifiCare and United appealed the District Court's

decisions to the Court of Appeals, which had jurisdiction

over the appeals pursuant to 9 U.S.C. §16(a)(1).° In a

* As reflected in the quote in text, the District Court also held that

Plaintiffs did not have to arbitrate their conspiracy and aiding-and-

abetting claims against PacifiCare and United that “stem from contractual

relationships with other managed care companies.” 143 F. Supp.2d at

1375; 132 F. Supp.2d at 1007. The Court of Appeals affirmed this

holding. See 285 F.3d at 974-977.

* The District Court denied in part PacifiCare’s motion to compel Dr.

Breen to arbitrate and United’s motion to compel Drs. Porth and Kelly to

arbitrate on December 11, 2000. PacifiCare filed its notice of appeal on

7

published opinion, the Court of Appeals affirmed the District

Court’s holding that Plaintiffs did not have to arbitrate their

RICO claims because the relevant arbitration agreements did

not allow arbitrators to award punitive damages. See 285

F.3d at 973-74. In so doing, the Court of Appeals expressly

adopted the reasoning used by the District Court to reach its

holding: “We affirm in its entirety the district court’s order

for the reasons set forth in its comprehensive opinion found

at 132 F. Supp.2d 989 (S.D.Fla. 2000).” 285 F.3d at 973-74.

II. REASONS FOR GRANTING PETITION.

The Court of Appeals’ decision, especially when read

in conjunction with its earlier decision in Paladino v. Avnet

Computer Technologies, is crystal clear: A district court in

the Eleventh Circuit is authorized to refuse to compel

arbitration of any RICO cause of action if the relevant

arbitration agreement does not allow an arbitrator to award

punitive damages. That decision (a) patently conflicts with

the law of the Eighth Circuit, (b) addresses an issue over

which there is a deep split among the First, Third, Fifth,

Eighth, Ninth and Eleventh Circuits, (c) cannot be reconciled

with opinions from the First, Second, Third, Fifth and Eighth

Circuits, and (d) undermines the critical role that the FAA

plays in promoting alternative dispute resolution. The Court

of Appeals’ decision also addresses an issue closely related

to the issue presented in Howsam v. Dean Witter Reynolds,

Inc., No. 01-800, which this Court will decide during the

January 5, 2001 and United filed its notice of appeal on January 9, 2001.

Both notices were timely under Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure

(“FRAP”) 4(aX(1)(A). The District Court denied in part PacifiCare’s

motion to compel Dr. Book to arbitrate on April 26, 2001, and PacifiCare

filed its notice of appeal on May 4, 2001. The notice was timely under

FRAP 4(a)(1)(A). The Court of Appeals consolidated these appeals on

July 10, 2001.

October 2002 Term. For all of these reasons, the Court

A. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Conflicts

Wis 7 he Eighth Circuit’s Decision In Larry’s

United Super, Inc. v. Werries.

The most obvious reason for the Court to grant this

petition is that the Court of Appeals’ decision is in

undeniable and irreconcilable conflict with the decision of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in

Larry's United Super, Inc. v. Werries, 253 F.3d 1083 (8”

Cir. 2001). The relevant factual and procedural settings of

both appeals are in perfect parallel: As in this case, the

Werries defendants moved to compel arbitration of the

plaintiffs’ RICO claims under the FAA because the parties

were bound by arbitration agreements. Also as in this case,

the District Court held that the plaintiffs did not have to

arbitrate their RICO claims because the agreements at issue

did not allow arbitrators to award punitive damages.

Compare Werries, 253 F.3d at 1084-85 with In re Humana,

285 F.3d at 973-74 & n.3 and In re Managed Care, 132 F.

-Supp.2d at 1000-01 & 1005.

Based on these operative facts, the Werries Court

reversed the judgment of the District Court and held that a

plaintiff was required to arbitrate RICO claims even if the

of punitive damages — a conclusion that stands in diametric

opposition to the Court of Appeals’ decision here. More

specifically, the Werries Court reasoned:

At this juncture, our jurisdiction extends only to

determine whether a valid agreement to arbitrate

exists, not to determine whether public policy

9

conflicts with the remedies provided in the

arbitration clause. There exists a valid agreement

to arbitrate the RICO claims in this case, and the

Supreme Court in [Shearson/Am. Express, Inc. v.]

McMahon{, 482 U.S. 220 (1987)] has already

determined that RICO claims are arbitrable, 482

U.S. at 242, 107 S.Ct. 2332; thus, there exists no

“legal constraints external to the parties’

agreement foreclos[ing] the arbitration” of this

RICO dispute. Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler

Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 628, 105

S.Ct. 3346, 87 L.Ed.2d 444 (1985). Whether a

prospective waiver of punitive damages violates

the public policy underlying RICO’s treble

damages provision is a matter for the arbitrators in

the first instance when fashioning an appropriate

remedy if a RICO claim is proven to the

arbitrators’ satisfaction, and we express no views

on the issue at this time. We are limited to

determining whether the matter is arbitrable. We

hold that it is.

253 F.3d at 1086.

The Court of Appeals’ decision and the Werries

decision cannot both be correct: Either the FAA requires

district courts to compel arbitration of RICO claims under

arbitration agreements that prohibit punitive damages (as is

the law in the Eighth Circuit under Werries) or it does not (as

is the law in the Eleventh Circuit under Jn re Humana). This

Court should intercede to resolve this otherwise

irreconcilable conflict.

10

B. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Addresses An

Issue Over Which There Is A Split Among The

First, Third, Fifth, Eighth, Ninth and Eleventh

Circuits.

The specific and direct conflict between the Court of

Appeals’ decision and Werries reflects a deeper and more

general conflict among the Courts of Appeals. A

fundamental premise of the Court of Appeals’ decision is

that it is for a district court to determine, before ordering

arbitration, whether a limitation on remedies contained

within an arbitration agreement is valid. If the district court

determines that it is not, the district court simply refuses to

order arbitration, and the matter never reaches an arbitrator.

See 285 F.3d at 973-74; 132 F. Supp.2d at 1005. This

premise is well established in the Eleventh Circuit, see

Paladino, 134 F.3d at 1062, and is also an accepted premise

in the Fifth Circuit, see Investment Partners v. Glamour

Shots Lic., Inc., _ F.3d _, 2002 WL 149872, at *2 (5" Cir.

July 15, 2002), and the Ninth Circuit, see Graham Oil Co. v.

ARCO Prods. Co., 43 F.3d 1244, 1247-49 (9 Cir. 1995).

On the other side of the divide, as recently recognized

by the Seventh Circuit, are at least the First, Third and

Eighth Circuits. Those “[t]hree courts of appeals have held

that under Prima Paint (Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg. Co.,

388 U.S. 395 (1967),] the arbitrator determines whether

contractual limitations on remedies fin arbitration

agreements] are valid.” Metro East Center for Conditioning

& Health v. Qwest Commun. Int'l, Inc., _ F.3d __, 2002

WL 1378752, at *6 (7™ Cir. June 27, 2002) (citing Werries,

253 F.3d 1083; MCI Telecomm. Corp. v. Matrix Commun.

Corp., 135 F.3d 27 (1* Cir. 1998); Great Western Mortgage

Corp. v. Peacock, 110 F.3d 222 (3™ Cir. 1997)).

11

The Eighth Circuit reached this holding (as discussed

above) in Werries. It recently reaffirmed this holding in

Arkcom Digital Corp. v. Xerox Corp., 289 F.3d 536, 539 (8”

Cir. 2002).

The First Circuit held that arbitrators, not district

courts, initially decide what remedies are available in

arbitration in MCI. The First Circuit reasoned:

Equally unavailing is Matrix’s new contention

that the Agent Agreement’s arbitration clause is

invalid because the Tariff arbitration rules

foreclose remedies, such as multiple damages, to

which it is entitled. Putting aside the question of

waiver, this argument must be brought to the

arbitrator because it does not go to the

arbitrability of the claims but only to the nature of

the available relief. See Great Western Mortgage

Corp. v. Peacock, 110 F.3d 222, 230-31 (3" Cir.

1997) [parenthetical omitted]; PaineWebber Inc.

v. Elahi, 87 F.3d 589, 599 (1" Cir. 1996)

[parenthetical omitted]. Matrix’s reliance on

Graham Oil Co. v. ARCO Products Co., 43 F.3d

1244 (9" Cir. 1994), is misplaced because, unlike

the plaintiffs there, Matrix’s claims are not

brought under a statute specifically designed to

protect bargaining rights. The applicable

precedent in our circuit is instead that parties may

contract to limit remedies in arbitration. See

Raytheon Co. v. Automated Bus. Sys., 882 F.2d 6,

12 (1* Cir. 1989); see also Mastrobuono v.

Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 514 U.S. 52, 60-

62, 115 S.Ct. 1212, 1217-19, 131 L.Ed.2d 76

(1995) [parenthetical omitted].

12

MCI, 135 F.3d at 33 n.12.

The Third Circuit held that arbitrators, not district

courts, initially decide what remedies are available in

arbitration in Great Western, a case that served as the

foundation for both Werries, see 253 F.3d at 1085-86, and

MCI, see 135 F.3d at 33 n.12. In Great Western, the plaintiff

argued that her arbitration agreement was invalid because,

among other reasons, it “deprive{d her] of ... punitive

damages.” 110 F.3d at 226. The Third Circuit approached

this argument by first setting forth the proper division of

authority between district courts and arbitrators:

Under the FAA the district court must be satisfied

that the parties entered into a valid arbitration

agreement. In conducting this inquiry the district

court decides only whether there was an

agreement to arbitrate, and if so, whether the

agreement is valid. In so deciding, the district

court is not to consider the merits of the claims

giving rise to the controversy, but is only to

determine, as we have stated, whether there is a

valid agreement to arbitrate. Once such an

agreement is found, the merits of the controversy

are left for disposition to the arbitrator.

Moreover, there is a strong presumption in favor

of arbitration, and doubts “concerning the scope

of arbitrable issues should be resolved in favor of

arbitration.”

Id. at 228 (citations and footnotes omitted).

After laying this groundwork, the Third Circuit rejected

the plaintiff's argument that the (alleged) prohibition on

13

punitive damages in her arbitration agreement allowed her to

avoid arbitration:

The availability of punitive damages is not

relevant to the nature of the forum in which [the

plaintiff's] complaint will be heard. Thus, the

availability of punitive damages cannot enter into

a decision to compel arbitration. [The New Jersey

Law Against Discrimination] provides that a

victim of unlawful discrimination may be

awarded punitive damages, but the issue of

whether this right has been waived is separate and

apart from the issue of whether an employee has

agreed to an arbitral forum, and hence, is for the

arbitrator to decide.

Id. at 232 (citations omitted).

Finally, the Seventh Circuit also appears to be in

accord with the First, Third and Eighth Circuits. Like the

First Circuit, the Seventh Circuit has held that contracting

parties have the right to prohibit the award of punitive

damages in arbitration by express agreement. See Baravati

v. Josephthal, Lyon & Ross, Inc., 28 F.3d 704, 709-10 (™

Cir. 1994). That Circuit has also recognized that parties

generally can waive statutory rights as part of their

arbitration agreements absent a federal statutory provision to

the contrary. See Metro East, 2002 WL 1378752, at *5.

These precedents strongly suggest that a district court in the

Seventh Circuit cannot refuse to compel arbitration simply

because an arbitration agreement prohibits an arbitrator from

14

awarding punitive damages or otherwise limits the

arbitrator’s remedial powers.°

In sum, there is a clear and mature split among the

Circuits over who first decides the meaning and significance

of a damages limitation contained in an arbitration

agreement: Is it a district court when deciding whether to

compel arbitration, or is it an arbitrator during arbitration

proceedings (subject, of course, to district court review when

the arbitrator’s award is being enforced)?’ The Court should

grant this petition and resolve this irretractable Circuit split.

C. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Cannot Be

Reconciled With Opinions From The First,

Second, Third, Fifth And Eighth Circuits.

As explained in the preceding section, the Court of

Appeals’ primary holding — that a district court can deny a

® In McCaskill v. SCI Mgmt. Corp., 285 F.3d 623 (7 Cir. 2002), the

Seventh Circuit initially held that a district court could deny arbitration

of a Title VII claim if the relevant agreement did not allow an arbitrator

to award attorneys’ fees, but the Seventh Circuit vacated that opinion

days before Metro East was published. See 294 F.3d 879 (7 Cir. 2002).

’ On which side of the divide the D.C. Circuit falls is unclear. In Cole

v. Burns Int'l Security Servs., 105 F.3d 1465, 1482 (D.C. Cir. 1997), the

D.C. Circuit implied, but did not hold, that a district court could refuse to

compel arbitration of a Title VII claim if an arbitration agreement limited

the Title VII remedies that a plaintiff could obtain. In an earlier case,

however, the D.C. Circuit held that a district court cannot refuse to

compel arbitration on public policy grounds: “In sum, if parties have

validly agreed to submit a dispute to arbitration, we see no reason not to

enforce that agreement. If the arbitrator construes the contract so as to

require someone to commit an illegal act, a court can then refuse to

enforce the arbitrator’s decision. A court cannot, however, bypass the

arbitration process simply because a public policy issue might arise.”

National R.R. Passenger Corp. v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 892 F.2d

1066, 1071 (D.C. Cir. 1990).

15

motion to compel arbitration based on its belief that the

remedies available in arbitration are inadequate — cannot be

reconciled with published opinions from the First, Third and

Eighth Circuits. See Arkcom Digital, 289 F.3d at 539;

Werries, 253 F.3d at 1086; MCI, 135 F.3d at 33 n.12; Great

Western, 110 F.3d at 232. In addition, the Court of Appeals’

subsidiary holding — that an arbitration agreement barring

punitive damages provides inadequate remedies to a RICO

plaintiff — further conflicts with published opinions from the

Second and Fifth Circuits.

In Roby v. Corporation of Lloyd’s, 996 F.2d 1353,

1356-58 (2™ Cir. 1993), the defendants moved to dismiss

securities and RICO claims brought by investor plaintiffs

because those plaintiffs had agreed by contract to resolve all

claims through arbitration in England. The plaintiffs

opposed the dismissal by claiming, among other things, that

the arbitration would be inadequate due to the fact that an

English arbitrator could not award them RICO trebled

damages. The Second Circuit summarily rejected this view:

That RICO provides treble damages and seeks to

deter persistent misconduct does not dissuade us

from our view that the [plaintiffs’] contract

clauses must be enforced. As we have explained,

the [plaintiffs] have adequate potential remedies

in England and there are significant disincentives

to deter English issuers from unfairly exploiting

American investors. Although the remedies and

disincentives might be magnified by the

application of RICO, we cannot say that

application of English law would subvert the

policies underlying that statute.

16

The Court of Appeals’ ision even directl

clashes with the Fifth Circuit’s recent ptm Poca

decision. Similar to Plaintiffs here, the Investment Partners

——s ein it should not have to arbitrate a federal

use O on allowing for trebled damages (in

Clayton Act claim) because its arbitration tere ard

that “arbitrators shall not award punitive damages.” 2002

WL 1498721, at *1. The Fifth Circuit agreed with the Court

of Appeals that it was for a district court, not an arbitrator, to

decide initially whether the remedies available in arbitration

were adequate. See id. at *2. Thereafter, however, the Fifth

Circuit held — in direct conflict with Jn re Humana — that the

plantiff nevertheless had to arbitrate its Clayton Act claims

because “the prohibition in the parties’ arbitration agreement

against awarding ‘punitive damages’ does not extend to {bar

the award of] statutory treble damages” for two reas ons:

that RICO trebled damages were designed to be og

plaintiffs to pursue RICO claims that would advance society's fighe

17

First, the task in this case is to construe “punitive”

in a private parties’ arbitration agreement, which

the Supreme Court has clearly said we interpret

broadly to permit arbitration as far as possible.

Second, it makes sense to draw the distinction,

from the standpoint of the parties’ expectations

when they entered the arbitration agreement,

between statutory treble damages and common

law punitive damages. That is, punitive damages

are awarded under notoriously open-ended legal

standards and a broadly defined constitutional

limit concerning the amount awarded. Treble

damages, however, represent a mere mathematical

expansion of the actual damages calculated by the

arbitrator. While private parties might well

exclude common law punitive damages, with all

their uncertainty, from the arbitrator’s authority,

the riskiness of committing antitrust damages to

the arbitrator is much smaller. Thus, antitrust

treble damages may indeed be “punitive” simply

because they exceed the actual damages that have

been inflicted on the victim of violative conduct,

but they are not “punitive” for purposes of

interpreting the scope of an arbitration clause.

Id. at *3.

Following Investment Partners, if a plaintiff wants to

sue a defendant for violating RICO but has an arbitration

agreement with the defendant barring punitive damages, the

validity and effect of that agreement changes dramatically as

she travels across the country looking for a place to file suit:

If she sues the defendant in Little Rock, Arkansas (in the

Eighth Circuit), she will be required to arbitrate her RICO

claim and the arbitrator will decide whether she can recover

18

RICO trebled damages; if she sues in Oxford, Mississippi (in

the Fifth Circuit), she will again be required to arbitrate her

RICO claim, but the arbitrator will have to allow her to

recover RICO trebled damages; finally, if she sues in

Birmingham, Alabama (in the Eleventh Circuit), she will be

able to litigate her RICO claim in court and will be allowed

to recover RICO trebled damages in court. Compare

Werries, 253 F.3d at 1086 (Eighth Circuit) with Investment

Partners, 2002 WL 1498721, at *2-3 (Fifth Circuit) with In

re Humana, 285 F.3d at 973-74 & n.3 (Eleventh Circuit)

(adopting District Court’s opinion). Because such disparities

can only promote intolerable forum shopping by plaintiffs,

this Court should intercede to remedy this imbalance.

D. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Undermines

The Critical Role That The FAA Plays In

Promoting Alternative Dispute Resolution.

Even if there were not a mature split among the

Circuits over the question presented by this petition, the

Court of Appeals’ decision would still merit review by this

Court because it is a dangerous precedent antithetical to the

effective operation of the FAA for the following reasons:

. 1. An unspoken, but necessary, assumption

underlying the Court of Appeals’ decision is that a federal

court can decide that certain statutory rights cannot be

waived in arbitration even when the legislative body that

created the nghts did not make them unwaivable. Only by

embracing this assumption could the Court of Appeals hold

that Plaintiffs were not required to arbitrate their RICO

Claims despite the facts that (1) Plaintiffs agreed to arbitrate

their disputes, including statutory disputes, with PacifiCare

and United under arbitration agreements that expressly

limited remedies in arbitration, and (2) no provision of RICO

19

suggests that its rights and remedies are unwaivable.

The Court of Appeals’ assumption, however, is

incompatible with this Court’s precedents broadly

recognizing the authority of private parties to waive statutory

rights. See United States v. Mezzanatto, 513 U.S. 196, 201

(1995) (“absent some_ affirmative indication of Congress’

intent to preclude waiver, we have presumed that statutory

provisions are subject to waiver by voluntary agreement of

the parties”). As the Seventh Circuit noted in Metro East:

As far as we know, the Supreme Court has never

held that any entitlement is outside the domain of

contract, unless the statute forbids waiver (as

§206 of the Communications Act does not).

Every day criminal defendants waive the most

fundamental rights, such as the right to jury trial

and proof beyond a reasonable doubt, in exchange

for lower sentences or other benefits. See United

States v. Krilich, 159 F.3d 1020 (7 Cir. 1998)

(collecting authority). Public employees can and

do waive constitutional rights — including the right

of political speech — in exchange for employment.

See, e.g., CSC v. Letter Carriers, 413 U.S. 548

(1973); Snepp v. United States, 444 U.S. 507

(1980). Political candidates can [even] surrender

some of their speech rights in exchange for a

federal subsidy. See Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1,

57 n.65 (1976). ;

p

Metro East, 2002 WL 137852, at *5 (emphasis in original).

See also Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 628 (“Having made the

bargain to arbitrate, the party should be held to it unless

Congress itself has evinced an intention to preclude a waiver

of judicial remedies for the statutory rights at issue’’).

20

By concluding that federal courts can override the

decisions of private parties to forego certain rights or

remedies as part of an arbitration agreement, the Court of

Appeals has undermined a basic premise of the FAA — that

parties can contract to resolve their disputes in arbitration on

such terms as they see fit. See Volt Info. Sciences, Inc. v.

Board of Trustees of Leland Stanford Jr. Univ., 489 U.S.

468, 479 (1989).? This interference is troublesome in its

own right, but it is made all the more troublesome in the

context of this case. The arbitration agreement that binds Dr.

Book and PacifiCare, to take one example, is an agreement

between commercial actors that allows all parties to receive

the full range of compensatory relief in arbitration (so that

they can be “made whole”) but also frees all parties

(including Dr. Book and his affiliated doctors) from the risk

of having punitive damages assessed against them. There is

no reason that commercial actors should not be allowed to

resolve their commercial disputes without resort to punitive

damages, but that is exactly the outcome outlawed by the

* — This Court has remarked that “‘[b]y agreeing to arbitrate a statutory

claim, a party does not forgo the substantive rights afforded by the

statute; it only submits to their resolution in an arbitral, rather than a

judicial, forum.”” Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20,

26 (1991) (quoting Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 628). See also McMahon,

482 U.S. at 242 (stating that litigants can “effectively vindicate their

RICO claim in an arbitral forum”). But it does not follow from this

general proposition, which explains why statutory claims are generally

arbitrable, that a party may mever agree to waive statutory remedies as

part of a valid agreement to arbitrate, or as the Court of Appeals phrased

it in an earlier decision, that “the arbitrability of [statutory] claims rests

on the assumption that the arbitration clause permits relief equivalent to

court remedies.” Paladino, 134 F.3d at 1062. The Court has never

reached that much broader holding, which would require a special

exception in the arbitration context from the rule that parties may validly

agree to relinquish statutory rights. Such an exception would be wholly

anomalous given that the arbitration setting is one deeply rooted in, and

indeed premised on, private agreement. See Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 625.

21

Court of Appeals, in contravention of this Court’s

precedents. Cf Mastrobuono, 514 U.S. at 58 (whether a

claim for punitive damages is arbitrable “comes down to

what the contract has to say about the arbitrability of ... [a]

claim for punitive damages” (emphasis added)).'°

2. This case also highlights well the danger of

allowing district courts to resolve, at the motion to compel

arbitration stage, whether damages limitations in an

arbitration agreement are enforceable. No arbitration

agreement at issue here expressly limits either trebled

damages or RICO remedies; instead, all but one of the

agreements simply prohibit arbitrators from awarding

“punitive damages,” while the remaining agreement does not

allow an arbitrator to award “extracontractual damages”

(which United explained to the Court of Appeals did not

restrict an arbitrator’s ability to award remedies on statutory

causes of action).

Interpreting the meaning of these arbitration

provisions, of course, is a task uniquely suited for the

decisionmaker whom the parties selected to resolve their

disputes — namely, a duly appointed arbitrator. To refuse

arbitration in this case, however, the District Court and the

Court of Appeals were required to usurp the arbitrator’s

authority and grarit to themselves the power to decide

whether RICO trebled damages were “punitive” or

“extracontractual.” Moreover, they were required to exercise

this power without knowing whether Plaintiffs even have a

legitimate claim against PacifiCare or United for RICO

trebled damages (which cannot be known until the

10 The District Court expressly found as a factual matter that the parties

to the instant dispute are sophisticated actors. See 132 F. Supp.2d at 998.

Sophisticated commercial actors should be given considerable latitude in

structuring their relationships and allocating risks.

22

appropriate decisionmaker — i.e., an arbitrator — addresses the

merits of whether PacifiCare or United violated RICO).

Nothing in this Court’s precedents supports this outcome; to

the contrary, the outcome is inconsistent with the Court’s

decision in John Wiley & Sons v. Livingston, 376 U.S. 543,

557 (1964), which held that “[o]nce it is determined ... that

the parties are obligated to submit the subject matter of a

dispute to arbitration, ‘procedural’ questions which grow out

of the dispute and bear on its final disposition should be left

to the arbitrator.”

3. As if the above reasons were not enough to

show how the Court of Appeals’ decision endangers

effective, uniform enforcement of the FAA, an additional

flaw taints the decision. In holding that Plaintiffs did not

have to arbitrate their RICO claims, neither the District

Court nor the Court of Appeals required Plaintiffs to make

any showing whatsoever that they would be unable to

vindicate their rights in arbitration; the courts simply

assumed Plaintiffs could not do so and thus released

Plaintiffs from their binding commitments to arbitrate with

PacifiCare and United. Just two Terms ago, however, this

Court (in reviewing another arbitration decision by the

Eleventh Circuit) clearly instructed federal and State courts

that the party seeking to escape arbitration under the FAA

bears the burden of proving that an arbitration agreement is

invalid in the specific context of that party’s dispute. See

Green Tree Fina. Corp. v. Randolph, 531 U.S. 79, 91-92

(2000). By presuming both (a) that the PacifiCare and

United arbitration agreements prohibited RICO trebled

damages when no agreement expressly so stated, and (b) that

this prohibition crippled Plaintiffs’ ability to obtain adequate

RICO relief, when no Plaintiff offered proof to this effect,

the District Court and the Court of Appeals turned Green

Tree on its head. See also McMahon, 482 U.S. at 227 (“The

23

burden is on the party opposing arbitration, however, to

show that Congress intended to preclude a waiver of judicial

remedies for the statutory rights at issue”).''

When confronted with a motion to compel arbitration

of statutory claims, a federal court conducts a simple and

straightforward analysis: It first asks “Is there an agreement

to arbitrate between the parties that covers the statutory

claims?” If so, it then asks “Is there any external legal

constraint that forecloses arbitration of the claims?” See

Green Tree, 531 U.S. at 90; Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26;

Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 627-28. Here, the District Court

found (and the Court of Appeals agreed when it adopted the

District Court’s opinion) that Plaintiffs had arbitration

agreements with PacifiCare and United and that those

agreements covered Plaintiffs’ RICO claims. This Court has

settled the issue that Congress has not imposed a legal

constraint against arbitrating RICO claims, see McMahon,

482 U.S. at 242, and the District Court did not find any

“grounds as @xist at law or in equity for the revocation of any

contract” (9 U.S.C. §2) that voided the parties’ arbitration

agreements. See 132 F. Supp.2d at 997-1000. At this point,

the FAA-mandated analysis was complete and Plaintiffs’

RICO claims should have been sent to arbitration. That the

District Court and Court of Appeals did not stop there and

instead grafted a third prong to the FAA analysis — “Are the

‘| Relieving Plaintiffs of this burden is especially unwarranted in this

case because Plaintiffs conceded on appeal that they will not pursue any

claim sent to arbitration, including the RICO claims of other defendants

that the District Court ordered to arbitration. See, e.g., Appellees’ Br. in

11 Circuit Appeal No. 01-10247-CC, at 21 (“Plaintiffs are not going

forward with any claim referred to arbitration”). Plaintiffs should not be

allowed to avoid arbitration by contending that arbitral remedies are

inadequate when they heve no intention of going forward with arbitration

regardless of the available remedies.

24

parties’ agreed-to remedies adequate?” — turns the otherwise

administrable question of whether to compel arbitration into

a judicial quagmire. It forces judges to decide what remedies

an arbitration agreement permits, how those remedies apply

to a plaintiff's claims," and whether those remedies are

somehow “adequate.”’> Bogging down motions to compel

arbitration with such issues rather than leaving them to be

addressed in the first instance by the arbitrator charged with

resolving the parties’ disputes destroys the twin goals of the

FAA (to put arbitration agreements on par with other

contracts and to promote their efficient enforcement). See

Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 24.

E. At A Minimum, This Petition Should Be Held

Pending The Court’s Decision In Howsam v.

Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc.

The question presented in this case addresses a pure

question of law relating to the proper allocation of authority

between a district court and an arbitrator: “Whether a district

court must compel arbitration of a plaintiffs RICO claims

under a valid arbitration agreement even if that agreement

does not allow an arbitrator to award punitive damages,

leaving to the arbitrator in the first instance the decision of

what remedies are available to the RICO plaintiff in

arbitration.” Page i, supra. This question parallels the

'2 Compare Investment Partners, 2002 WL 1498721, at *3 (arbitration

clause not allowing for recovery of punitive damages still allows for

recovery of trebled damages) with In re Humana, 285 F.3d at 973-74 &

n.3 (arbitration clause not allowing for recovery of punitive damages also

does not allow for recovery of trebled damages).

‘3 Compare Roby, 996 F.2d at 1366 (arbitration provides for “adequate

potential remedies” even if it does not allow for recovery of RICO

trebled damages) with In re Humana, 285 F.3d at 973-74 & n3

(arbitration remedies not adequate if they do not allow for recovery of

RICO trebled damages).

25

question presented in Howsam v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc.,

No. 01-800: “[W]hether a court or the arbitrators should

decide if claims are eligible for arbitration under a self-

regulatory organization’s arbitration code provision that

‘{njo dispute, claim, or controversy shall be eligible for

submission to arbitration under this Code where six (6) years

have elapsed from the occurrence or event giving rise to the

act or dispute, claim or controversy’” (emphasis added).

This Court granted the petition for certiorari to review

Howsam (a decision by the Tenth Circuit) on February 25,

2002 and will decide Howsam during the October 2002

Term. The Court’s decision will inevitably address the

proper allocation of authority between a court asked to

compel arbitration versus an arbitrator selected by the parties

to arbitrate their substantive disputes. If the Court reverses

the Tenth Circuit’s judgment in Howsam, its rationale will

almost certainly require the reversal of the judgment by the

Court of Appeals in Jn re Humana as well. Howsam, after

all, involves a question of whether a court or an arbitrator

decides if a plaintiff's claim is time-barred, which is an issue

normally addressed before a decisionmaker reaches the

merits of a dispute. If a court at the motion to compel stage

is required to leave such an issue to an arbitrator to decide,

the court also must leave for an arbitrator the issue of

whether the parties’ a -to remedies are adequate, since

that issue can only be addressed after a decisionmaker

reaches (and resolves) the merits of a dispute.

If this Court is not inclined to grant the current petition

based on the reasons set forth in the preceding sections, then

at the least the Court should hold this petition until it

resolves Howsam. When the Court’s resolution of a case

already set for argument is likely to address issues germane

to a pending petition for certiorari, it is consistent with Court

26

practice to hold the petition until the Court decides the case

and thereafter to grant the petition, vacate the judgment on

which the petition is based, and remand the matter to the

court that originally issued the judgment for reconsideration

in light of the Court’s recent decision. See Stern, Gressman,

Shapiro & Geller, Supreme Court Practice 192-93 (7" ed.

1993). The Court should follow this well-charted course

here if it believes that full review of the Court of Appeals’

decision is unnecessary.

III. CONCLUSION.

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioners PacifiCare

Health Systems, Inc., PacifiCare Operations, Inc., United

HealthCare, Inc. and UnitedHealth Group Incorporated

respectfully requests that this Court grant this petition and

issue a writ of certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit to review its judgment in Jn

re Humana Inc. Managed Care Litigation. Alternatively,

Petitioners respectfully request that this Court hold this

petition pending its decision in Howsam v. Dean Witter

Reynolds, Inc., No. 01-800, and, after that decision is issued,

grant this petition, vacate the Court of Appeals’ judgment,

and remand this matter to the Court of Appeals for further

proceedings consistent with Howsam.

27

DATED: August 6, 2002.

Respectfully Submitted,

William E. Grauer

(counsel of record)

Christopher R.J. Pace

COOLEY GODWARD LLP

4401 Eastgate Mall

San Diego, California 92121

Telephone: 858.550.6000

Facsimile: 858.550.6420

Attorneys for Petitioners

PACIFICARE HEALTH SYSTEMS, INC.

and PACIFICARE OPERATIONS, INC.

James W. Quinn, Esq.

Jeffrey S. Klein, Esq.

WEIL, GOTSHAL & MANGES, LLP

767 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10153

Telephone: 212.310.8000

Facsimile: 212.310.8007

Edward Soto, Esq.

WEIL, GOTSHAL & MANGES, LLP

701 Brickell Avenue, Suite 2100

Miami, Florida 33132

Telephone: 305.577.3100

Facsimile: 305.374.7159

Attorneys for Petitioners

UNITEDHEALTHCARE, INC. and

UNITEDHEALTH GROUP

INCORPORATED

A-1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 01-10247 & 01-12596

In ic: HUMANA INC. MANAGED CARE LITIGATION

Price Plaintiffs, Price, Sessa, Katz & Yingling, Sandra

Johnson, Patricia Freyre, Regina Joi Price, Anthony Sessa,

Arnold Katz, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

V.

Humana Insurance Company, Coventry Health Care of

Georgia, Inc., f.k.a. Principal Health Care of Georgia, Inc.,

Principal Health Care, Inc., et al.,

Defendants,

PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc., PacifiCare Operations, Inc.,

United Health Care, United Health Group, Foundation

Health Systems, Inc., Wellpoint Health Networks, Inc.,

Prudential Insurance Company of America,

Defendants-Appellants.

Leonard J. Klay, M.D., Price Plaintiffs, Price, Sessa, Katz &

Yingling, Sandra Johnson, Patricia Freyre, Regina Joi Price,

Anthony Sessa, Arnold Katz, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

Vv.

Humana, Inc., et al.,

Defendants,

PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc., PacifiCare Operations, Inc.,

Defendants-A ppellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida.

Wa Lak ae it le NS I EP sal al TO ba ye

oe

A-2

Filed March 14, 2002

Before BARKETT, FAY and WINTER, Circuit Judges.

BARKETT, Circuit Judge:

placed limitations on the sort of damages

an arbitrator ma

award. The task facing the district court on, io deen. ©

Honorable Ralph K. Winter, U.S. Circui

Circuit, sitting by designati - Circuit Judge for the Second

For example, plaintiff Dr. Breen is sui , ,

: ' suing Prudential, PacifiCare,

“that punitive damages shall not be awarded.” ——

with United (although plaintiffs Porth and Kelly do). we

A-3

determine which of the various legal claims must be resolved

through arbitration.

The district court made four rulings related to this

appeal. First, the court held that claims between plaintiffs

and defendants who are both signatories to contracts

containi enforceable arbitration clauses must be

arbitrated.“ Second, relying primarily on our opinion in

Paladino v. Avnet Computer Technologies, Inc., 134 F.3d

1054 (11th Cir. 1998), the court found that those arbitration

clauses that exclude punitive damages are unenforceable in

this suit because they preclude recovery of treble damages

under RICO; therefore, an HMO may not compel arbitration

of a RICO suit under such an arbitration clause.’ Third, the

court determined that an HMO may not invoke its arbitration

clause to compel arbitration of an aiding-and-abetting charge

regarding a doctor’s contractual rights with a different

HMO.‘ Fourth, the court held that exceptions to the general

rule that a non-party to a contract may not invoke the

contract — exceptions we described in MS Dealer Corp. v.

Franklin, 177 F.3d 942 (11th Cir. 1999) — do not apply in the

present case; thus an HMO that is not a signatory to a

2 Thus, following the above example, Breen’s suit against Prudential

must be arbitrated.

> Again following the above example, PacifiCare may not compel

Breen to arbitrate his RICO claim against PacifiCare because the contract

between them prevents the arbitrator from awarding punitive damages.

* This means, for example, that Prudential may not compel Breen to

arbitrate a claim in which Breen alleges that Prudential conspired with

PacifiCare to impair PacifiCare’s contractual obligations to Breen (i.c.,

concerning care of Breen’s patients covered under a PacifiCare plan).

However, Prudential may compel Breen to arbitrate his claims related to

its own contractual relationship with Breen (i.e., regarding Breen’s

patients covered under a Prudential plan). .

A-4

particular contract may not invoke that contract’ itrati

clause to compel arbitration.° operons

We affirm in its entirety the district court’s

the reasons set forth in its tee dene

132 F.Supp.2d 989 (S.D. Fla. 2000). We agree that under

the circumstances here MS Dealer does not compel

application of equitable estoppel. In MS Dealer the

plaintiff, Franklin, bought a car pursuant to a “Buyers

Contract” with Jim Burke Motors. The Buyers Contract

incorporated by reference a retail installment contract, in

which Franklin was charged $990.00 for a service contract

through MS Dealer. Franklin subsequently sued both Jim

Burke and MS Dealer for conspiracy and fraud. MS Dealer

4 nonsignatory to the Buyers Contract, attempted to invoke

that contract’s arbitration clause to compel arbitration.

Noting that “there are certain limited exceptions, such as

equitable estoppel, that allow[ ] non signatories to a contract

to compel arbitration,” this Court found that MS Dealer

could compel arbitration. Jd. at 947. In discussing those

exceptions, MS Dealer relied primarily on Sunkist Soft

Drinks, Inc. v. Sunkist Growers, Inc., 10 F.3d 753 (11th Cir.

1993) and Boyd v. Homes of Legend, Inc., 981 F

(M.D. Ala. 1997), a

In Sunkist, the plaintiff, Sunkist Growers, Inc. (SGI)

sought to avoid arbitration as provided by the contractual

agreement between SGI and Sunkist Soft Drinks, Inc. (SSD).

Subsequent to the agreement between the SGI and SSD, Del

Monte purchased SSD. When SGI sued Del Monte over the

terms of the agreement between SGI and SSD, Del Monte

5 .

_This means, for example, that in Breen’s suit against Prudential,

PacifiCare and United, United may not compel Breen to arbitrate based

on his enforceable arbitration provision with Prudential.

A-5

sought arbitration pursuant to that agreement. SGI argued

that Del Monte could not compel arbitration because it was

not a signatory to the contract. This Court held that SGI was

equitably estopped from avoiding arbitration because SGI

was suing under the same contract that provided for

arbitration and, thus, should not be permitted to rely on some

contractual terms but avoid others. Sunkist at 758. We noted

that Del Monte was the parent company of SSD, and that

after the purchase of SSD, Del Monte had ceased operating it

as an independent enterprise. Jd. Thus, the direct nexus

between all of SGI’s claims and the agreement as well as the

integral relationship between SSD and Del Monte led us to

conclude that SGI’s claims were intimately founded in and

intertwined with the agreement, and the plaintiff was thus

equitably estopped from denying . the non-signatory

defendant’s right to compel arbitration. /d.

In Boyd, plaintiffs purchased mobile homes from

several mobile home dealers, homes which had been

manufactured by Homes of Legend (Homes). The purchases

were made pursuant to retail installment and security

agreements between the plaintiffs and the dealers,

agreements that contained arbitration clauses. Homes was

not a party to nor mentioned in these contracts for sale. The

plaintiffs sued Homes, inter alia, for breach of their written

express warranties on the mobile homes, alleging defects in

materials and workmanship. They also alleged that their

homes were covered under a myriad of state and federal

consumer warranties— including implied and non-written

warranties of merchantability, habitability, and freedom from

defects- and that Homes’ conduct violated the those

warranties as well as the consumer protection provisions of

the Magnuson-Moss Act. Some plaintiffs also sued the

dealers. Homes attempted to compel arbitration based on the

A-6

arbitration clauses in the retail installment contracts between

the various plaintiffs and dealers.

The Boyd court ruled that Homes could not compel

arbitration by invoking plaintiffs’ arbitration agreements

with the dealers, in part, because plaintiffs did not “advance

the theory that the [dealer] defendants acted as Homes of

Legend’s front in committing the alleged frauds,” but, rather,

“pursue[d] parallel claims of fraudulent conduct against two

separate commercial entities who have common, but

decidedly distinct, duties toward them ....” Boyd at 1434.

Boyd observed that this scenario was completely distinct

from two previous cases in which it had applied equitable

estoppel:

In both instances, this court applied the

doctrine of equitable estoppel, concluding that

the plaintiffs’ allegations of such pre-

arranged, collusive behavior established that

their claims against the imsurers were

intimately founded in and intertwined with

the obligations imposed by the underlying

loan agreements .... In Staples, this court

emphasized that the plaintiff's “claims against

the [the insurers were] derivative of, and

predicated on, her claims against [the lender];

if she had no claim against [the lender], she

had no claim against [the insurers].” 936

F.Supp. at 859. In Roberson, this court

emphasized that the holding was a result of

the plaintiffs’ allegations of “common

breaches of duties by all defendants working

hand-in-hand,” essentially acting on behalf of

each other to commit a common and

A-7

conspiratorial fraud. 954 F.Supp. at 1522,

1529.

Boyd at 1433.

In Sunkist, because the plaintiff's claims against the

nonsignatory defendant were based upon, and inextricably

intertwined with, the written agreement of the parties, we

compelled arbitration. In Boyd, the plaintiff's causes of

action against Homes were based on duties separate and

apart from those arising out of the retail installment contract

between the plaintiffs and the dealers, and did not allege

collusion between the defendants to defraud the plaintiffs as

to the terms of that contract. Thus, the nonsignatory

defendant was not entitled to compel arbitration. Applying

[Franklin] specifically alleges that MS Dealer

worked hand-in-hand with Jim Burke ... in

this alleged fraudulent scheme. Her

“allegations or such pre- arranged, collusive

behavior establish{ ] that [her] claims against

[MS Dealer are] intimately founded in and

intertwined with the obligations imposed by

the [Buyers Order].”

Id. (quoting Boyd at 1433).

A plaintiff's allegations of collusive behavior between

the signatory and nonsignatory parties to the contract do not

A-8

automatically compel a court to order arbitration of all of the

plaintiff's claims against the nonsignatory defendant; rather,

such allegations support an application of estoppel only

when they “establish{ ] that [the] claims against [the

nonsignatory are] intimately founded in and intertwined with

the obligations imposed by the [contract containing the

arbitration clause].” Jd. The HMOs nonetheless direct our

attention to more general language from MS Dealer, which

notes that equitable estoppel may be appropriate “when the

signatory [to the contract containing the arbitration clause]

raises allegations of . . . substantially interdependent and

concerted misconduct by both the nonsignatory and one or.

more of the signatories to the contract.” Jd. (quoting Boyd at

1433). The HMOs contend that this language mandates an

application of equitable estoppel in this case simply because

the doctors allege a RICO conspiracy.

This contention is only tenable if the passage is read

completely out of context. MS Dealer “is not a rigid test,

and each case turns on its facts.” Hill v. G E Power Systems,

Inc., __ F.3d __ (Sth Cir. 2002) (holding that district court

did not abuse its discretion in declining to apply doctrine of

equitable estoppel even though complaint alleged collusive

scheme to defraud). In all cases, “‘the lynchpin for equitable

estoppel is equity,’ and the point of applying it to compel

arbitration is to prevent a situation that ‘would fly in the face

of fairness."” Jd. at ___ (quoting Grigson v. Creative Artists

Agency, L.L.C., 210 F.3d 524, 527 (Sth Cir. 2000)). The

purpose of the doctrine is to prevent a plaintiff from, in

effect, trying to have his cake and eat it too; that is, from

“rely[ing] on the contract when it works to [his] advantage

[by establishing the claim], and repudiat[ing] it when it

works to [his] disadvantage [by requiring arbitration].”

Tepper Realty Co. v. Mosaic Tile Co., 259 F.Supp. 688, 692

A-9

(S.D.N.Y. 1966). The plaintiff's actual dependence on the

underlying contract in making out the claim against the

nonsignatory defendant is therefore always the sine qua non

of an appropriate situation for applying equitable estoppel.

In light of the foregoing, we agree with the district

court that the present RICO suit does not present an

appropriate circumstance for equitable estoppel, and even if

we did not agree, we would be hard pressed to identify any

abuse of discretion in the court’s decision to forego

application of the doctrine. See Grigson at 528 (“whether to

utilize equitable estoppel in this fashion is within the district

court’s discretion; we review to determine only whether it

has been abused.”). Here, the doctors’ suit does not rely

upon or presume the existence of an underlying contract; the

RICO claims in this case are based on a statutory remedy

Congress has provided to any person injured as a result of

illegal racketeering activities.° This remedy stands apart

from any available remedies for breach of contract, and

clearly is not “intimately founded in and intertwined with the

underlying contract obligations.” McBro Planning and

Development Co. v. Triangle Const. Co., Inc., 741 F.2d 342,

344 (1lth Cir. 1984) (quoting Hughes Masonry Co. v.

Greater Clark County School Bldg. Corp., 659 F.2d 836, 841

n.9 (7th Cir. 1981)). Thus, the doctors in the present suit are

not effectively “attempting to hold [a non-signatory HMO]

to the terms of [a signatory HMO’s] agreement.” Hughes

Masonry at 838.

6 148 U.S.C. § 1964(c) provides, in relevant part, that “ Any person

injured in his business or property by reason of a violation of section

1962 of this chapter may sue therefor in any appropriate United States

district court and shall recover threefold the damages he sustains and the

cost of the suit, including a reasonable attorney’s fee ....

A-10

Moreover, although the doctors in this case do claim

fraudulent collusive behavior by the HMOs, they make no

suggestion that the contracts containing arbitration clauses

are themselves the product of, or in any way related to, the

HMO’s conspiratorial behavior. This situation is different

from MS Dealer, in which the plaintiffs alleged that the

signatory and nonsignatory defendants had colluded to

defraud by including an excessively expensive installment

contract in a buyers order (sharing in the illicit profits), and

the only claims against the nonsignatory defendant were

related to that retail installment contract. In contrast, here

the alleged fraudulent scheme does not differentiate between

doctors with contracts and those without, and the RICO

claims are unrelated to any of the contractual relationships

that exist between the doctors and the HMOs. Therefore, the

fact that the doctors’ complaint alleges a RICO conspiracy

provides no basis in equity for allowing a nonsignatory

HMO to avail itself of an arbitration agreement that a

coconspirator signatory HMO happens to have with a

plaintiff doctor.

AFFIRMED.

A-11

United States District Court

Southern District of Florida

Miami Division

In re: MANAGED CARE LITIGATION

This Document Relates To All Cases.

No. MDL 1334

No. 00-1334-MD

Filed Dec. 11, 2000

ORDER GRANTING IN PART AND DENYING IN

PART VARIOUS DEFENDANTS’ MOTIONS TO

COMPEL ARBITRATION

MORENO, District Judge.

This multi-district litigation involves two separate

categories of plaintiffs who have filed suit against various

insurance companies that provide managed care. One group

of plaintiffs consists of subscribers (patients) who allege

causes of action against managed care companies

RICO, ERISA, and common law civil conspiracy. The other

group of plaintiffs consists of providers (doctors) who allege

causes of action against managed care companies

various legal theories, including RICO, ERISA, quantum

meruit, breach of contract, federal clean claim payment

regulations, unjust enrichment, and state prompt pay statutes.

Certain defendants seek to compel certain plaintiffs to

arbitrate the issues raised in this lawsuit, based upon

arbitration clauses contained in the contracts that form the

basis of the plaintiffs’ claims. This Order shall determine

A-12

which plaintiffs are bound by contract to use arbitration as

the forum to resolve certain claims asserted against certain

managed care companies.

WHETHER TO COMPEL ARBITRATION

I. THRESHOLD MATTERS TO BE RESOLVED PRIOR TO

ANALYZING EACH ARBITRATION CLAUSE

Prior to deciding each of the defendants’ motions to

compel arbitration individually, the Court must address

certain threshold matters that relate to all of the motions to

compel arbitration. These are: (A) the Federal Arbitration

Act’s (the “FAA’s” or the “Act’s”) strong presumption in

favor of arbitration, (B) whether ERISA claims may be

arbitrated, (C) whether allegations of conspiracy and aiding

and abetting may be arbitrated, absent a contract to arbitrate

between the parties, (D) whether a nonsignatory to an

arbitration clause may be compelled to arbitrate due to the

relationship between the nonsignatory and a signatory to the

arbitration agreement, (E) the impact of the Eleventh Circuit

decisions in Paladino v. Avnet Computer Tech., Inc., 134

F.3d 1054 (11th Cir.1998), and Randolph v. Green Tree Fin.

Corp., 178 F.3d 1149 (11th Cir.1999) rev'd in part Green

Tree Fin. Corp. v. Randolph, 531 U.S. 79, 121 S.Ct. 513,

148 L.Ed.2d 373 (2000), (F) whether class action

implications affect whether to compel arbitration, and (G)

whether the doctrine of unconscionability is useful in

determining the validity of the arbitration clauses at issue.

After addressing each of these matters, the Court shall

analyze each motion to compel separately to determine

which, if any, claims must be arbitrated.

A-13

A. The Federal Arbitration Act’s Presumption in

Favor of Arbitration

Section 4 of the FAA provides in relevant part:

A party aggrieved by the alleged failure, neglect or

refusal of another to arbitrate under a written

agreement for arbitration may petition any United

States district court ... for an order directing that

such arbitration proceed in the manner provided for

in such agreement.... [T]he court shall make an

order directing the parties to proceed to arbitration

in accordance with the terms of the agreement.

9 U.S.C. § 4.

The FAA establishes a strong federal policy in favor of

arbitration and creates “a body of substantive law of

arbitrability, applicable to any arbitration agreement within

the coverage of the act.” Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp. v.

Mercury Contr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24, 103 S.Ct. 927, 74

L.Ed.2d 765 (1983). The scope of the Act’s provisions

concerning the validity of arbitration clauses reaches to the

farthest limits of Congress’ power under the Commerce

Clause. Paladino, 134 F.3d at 1060. There is no dispute that

the defendants in this action are engaged in interstate

commerce, and accordingly, the Act applies to the present

motions to compel arbitration.

Section 2 of the FAA provides that an arbitration

agreement “shall be valid, irrevocable, and enforceable, save

upon such grounds as exist at law or in equity for the

revocation of any contract.” 9 U.S.C. § 2. As the Supreme

Court in Cone instructs, this language reflects “a liberal

federal policy favoring arbitration agreements,

A-14

notwithstanding any state substantive or procedural policies

to the contrary.” Cone, 460 U.S. at 24, 103 S.Ct. 927. “Any

doubts concerning the scope of arbitrable issues should be

=r in favor of arbitration....” Jd. at 24-25, 103 S.Ct.

7.

The strong federal policy in favor of arbitration applies

to statutory claims with equal force. E.g., Mitsubishi Motors

Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 625-

26, 105 S.Ct. 3346, 87 L.Ed.2d 444 (1985). If the plaintiffs’

allegations “touch matters” covered by the arbitration

agreement, then those claims must be arbitrated, irrespective

of how the allegations are labeled. Jd. at 625 n. 13. This

approach furthers the Act’s strong presumption in favor of

arbitration. Jd. at 626, 105 S.Ct. 3346 (“{Tjhe parties’

intentions control, but those intentions are generously

construed as to issues of arbitrability.”’).

B. Whether ERISA Claims Are Subject to

Arbitration

The first threshold issue presented by the various

motions to compel arbitration, raised in both provider and

subscriber track motions to compel, is whether ERISA

claims may be arbitrated. While the Supreme Court has

ruled that RICO and antitrust claims are subject to

arbitration, Shearson/American Express v. McMahon, 482

U.S. 220, 107 S.Ct. 2332, 96 L.Ed.2d 185 (1987) (holding

RICO claims arbitrable); Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. 614, 105 S.Ct.

3346, 87 L.Ed.2d 444 (holding antitrust claims arbitrable),

there has been no such determination with respect to ERISA

claims. The Eleventh Circuit has not yet ruled upon the

issue, but many circuit courts have ruled that ERISA claims

are arbitrable. Williams v. Imhoff, 203 F.3d 758 (10th

Cir.2000); Kramer v. Smith Barney, 80 F.3d 1080 (Sth

A-15

Cir.1996); Pritzker v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith, 7 F.3d 1110 (3rd Cir.1993); Bird v. Shearson

Lehman/American Express, Inc., 926 F.2d 116 (2nd

Cir.1991); Arnulfo P. Sulit, Inc. v. Dean Witter Reynolds,

847 F.2d 475 (8th Cir.1988).

Plaintiffs argue that the Eleventh Circuit would follov.

the Ninth Circuit decision, Amaro v. Continental Can Co.,

724 F.2d 747 (9th Cir.1984), which holds that ERISA claims

are not arbitrable. The Amaro ruling rests upon the

assumption that “{a}rbitrators, many of whom are not

lawyers, ... lack the competence to interpret and apply

statutes as Congress intended.” Jd. at 750 (citation omitted).

This Court rejects the plaintiffs’ argument and finds

that ERISA claims are subject to arbitration, in view of the

Act’s strong presumption in favor of arbitration discussed

above. The Court also finds persuasive Supreme Court

rulings finding that arbitration is an appropriate forum for

RICO and antitrust injuries to be vindicated. An arbitrator

can resolve ERISA claims with the same skill, precision, and

competence as RICO or antitrust claims. Moreover, there is

no language in ERISA that leads to a finding that Congress

did not intend to have ERISA claims arbitrated.

The limiting factor with respect to this ruling that

ERISA claims are subject to arbitration is that the arbitration

clause at issue must afford the plaintiffs the opportunity of

meaningful relief in an arbitration proceeding. Paladino,

134 F.3d at 1062. This limiting factor will be addressed

below in Section I(E), where the Court will address the

impact of two Eleventh Circuit decisions, Paladino and

Randolph, upon the instant motions to compel arbitration.

This limiting factor also will be addressed with respect to

A-16

certain arbitration clauses individually in Section II of this

Order.

C. Whether Allegations of Conspiracy and

Aiding and Abetting May Be Arbitrated

Where There is No Contract to Arbitrate

Between the Parties

The next threshold issue presented by both subscriber

and provider track motions to compel arbitration is whether

conspiracy and aiding and abetting allegations may be

arbitrated where there is no contract to arbitrate between the

parties. This scenario occurs, for example, where Plaintiff A

sues Defendants B, C, and D alleging conspiracy to violate

18 U.S.C. § 1962(a) and (c) in violation of 18 U.S.C. §

1962(d), and for seeking to aid and abet and for aiding and

abetting violations of 18 U.S.C. § 1962(a) and (c) within the

meaning of 18 U.S.C. § 2. Plaintiff A has agreed to resolve

such claims with Defendant B through arbitration, but has no

contractual relationship with Defendants C and D — who

have no relation to Defendant B except that all three

defendants are separate operators of separate managed care

companies.

Plaintiffs posit that there can be no arbitration of the

conspiracy and aiding and abetting claims against

nonsignatories (Defendants C and D in the above example)

because the plaintiffs have not contracted with these parties

to arbitrate such disputes. E.g., Morewitz v. West of

England, 62 F.3d 1356, 1363 (11th Cir.1995) (quoting In re

Talbott Big Foot, Inc., 887 F.2d 611, 612 (Sth Cir.1989)

(“We are unaware of any federal policy that favors

arbitration for parties who have not contractually bound

themselves to arbitrate their disputes.”)). Defendants argue

that these claims must be arbitrated, relying upon the

A-17

Eleventh Circuit reasoning in MS Dealer Service Corp. v.

Franklin, 177 F.3d 942 (1 1th Cir.1999).

Notwithstanding the general rule that only parties who

agree to arbitrate may be compelled to do so, the Eleventh

Circuit has ruled that there exist limited circumstances where

a matter will be compelled to arbitration, absent a signed

agreement between the parties. Jd. at 947 (citing Sunkist Soft

Drinks, Inc. v. Sunkist Growers Inc., 10 F.3d 753 (11th

Cir.1993)). These are: (1) equitable estoppel, (2) agency or

related principles concerning signatory defendants and

nonsignatory defendants, and (3) third party beneficiary

relationships. MS Dealer, 177 F.3d at 947.

Defendants’ reliance on MS Dealer, where the court

found equitable estoppel existed, is misplaced. That case

involved a consumer transaction where Ms. Franklin

executed a “Buyers Order” to purchase a vehicle from Jim

Burke Motors, Inc. The Buyers Order incorporated by

. reference a Retail Installment Contract, which Ms. Franklin

purchased for $990.00, and also contained a valid arbitration

clause. Ms. Franklin filed suit after purchasing the car,

asserting claims for breach of contract, breach of warranty,

fraud, and civil conspiracy between signatory defendant Jim

Burke Motors Inc. and nonsignatory defendant MS Dealer.

Among other allegations, Ms. Franklin claimed that both

parties shared in the excessive profits from the Retail

Installment Contract. The only claims asserted against MS

Dealer related to the Retail Installment Contract. MS Dealer

moved to compel arbitration, based upon the Buyers Order

arbitration clause, and Ms. Franklin objected on the ground

that there was no signed agreement to arbitrate between

herself and MS Dealer. Jd. at 944-45.

A-18

The MS Dealer court found that Ms. Franklin was

equitably estopped from objecting to arbitration of the

dispute under both circumstances where equitable estoppel

arises. First, equitable estoppel arises where a signatory to a

written agreement must rely on the terms of the agreement in

asserting its claims against the nonsignatory. Jd. at 947

(citing Sunkist, 10 F.3d at 757). Under this form of equitable

estoppel, there also must be a close relationship between

nonsignatory and signatory defendants, which did exist

between signatory defendant Jim Burke Motors Inc. and

nonsignatory defendant MS Dealer. See Sunkist, 10 F.3d at

757. Second, equitable estoppel applies where there is

interdependence and concerted misconduct between the

nonsignatory and signatory defendants. Otherwise, the

arbitration proceeding between the two signatories would be

rendered meaningless and the federal policy in favor of

arbitration thwarted. MS Dealer, 177 F.3d at 947.

In the instant action, the plaintiffs allege violations

against parties bound to arbitrate (“signatories”) and seek to

hold nonsignatories liable for conspiracy and aiding and

abetting. Some signatory defendants have valid arbitration

clauses that will be enforced, while other signatory

defendants will litigate before the undersigned either for lack

of an arbitration agreement or an invalid arbitration

agreement. The issue before the Court is whether the

nonsignatory defendants may compel arbitration, relying

upon the doctrine of equitable estoppel.

With respect to the first way to find equitable estoppel

discussed above, there is a distinguishing factor between this

case and MS Dealer and Sunkist; namely, the relationship

between signatory defendants and nonsignatory defendants.

In MS Dealer, the defendants worked in concert to sell

vehicles with retail installment contracts included in the

A-19

purchase agreement for the vehicle. In Sunkist, which

involved licensing issues, the nonsignatory, Del Monte,

acquired all of the stock of signatory Sunkist Soft Drinks.

The instant action is distinguishable because the signatory

managed care company and nonsignatory manage care

companies do not have the requisite “close relationship”

needed to find equitable estoppel. Sunkist, 10 F.3d at 757.

With respect to the second way to find equitable

estoppel, this Court finds the doctrine inapplicable to the

current action. The MS Dealer court was concerned with

thwarting the FAA by a scenario where the nonsignatory -

defendant would litigate the same action in federal court that

the signatory defendant would arbitrate concurrently. The

present action is much more complex, involving many more

parties. The concern that the FAA will be thwarted does not

exist in the present scenario. In fact, this Court is

painstakingly following the FAA’s mandate to arbitrate

whatever the parties agree to arbitrate, even though it will

lead to concurrent proceedings. While the Court believes

that it would be most efficient to have all claims heard either

in Federal court or in front of an arbitrator due to the strong

likelihood of concurrent proceedings before itself and

multiple arbitrators, the Supreme Court has instructed

otherwise. Dean Witter Reynolds Inc. v. Byrd, 470 U.S. 213,

217, 105 S.Ct. 1238, 84 L.Ed.2d 158 (1985) (holding that

Federal Arbitration Act requires district courts to compel

arbitration of pendent arbitrable claims, “even where the

result would be the possibly inefficient maintenance of

separate proceedings in different forums.”). As such, the

Court will compel arbitration of whichever claims are

claims, while the same claims will be litigated before

undersigned concurrently. _ This Court will be hearing

the plaintiffs, or whose arbitration clauses are ruled invalid.

By way of example, Humana either does not have an

contractual relationship with the plaintiffs. All nonsignatory

defendants to the Humana agreements will be forced to

defend the conspiracy and aiding and abetting claim in front

of the undersigned. Accordingly, this Court does not find the

justification necessary (i.e. the thwarting of the FAA) to

allow nonsignatories to an arbitration agreement to compel

arbitration based upon the doctrine of equitable estoppel.®

? Moreover, as the Eleventh Circuit instructs in Protective Life Ins.

Corp. v. Lincoln Nat'l Life Ins. Corp., 873 F.2d 281 (11th Cir.1989),

each party shall have individualized arbitration. There shall be no

bundling of the various named plaintiffs’ claims that this Court deems

arbitrable, unless an arbitrator rules otherwise. The Court takes no

position on whether any of these arbitrations may become class actiun

arbitrations.

* The Court also does not find an agency or third party beneficiary

relationship present to compel arbitration between the nonsignatories.

MS Dealer, 177 F.3d at 947.

A-21

D. Whether a Nonsignatory to an Arbitration

Agreement May Be Compelied to Arbitrate

A related issue concerning nonsignatories to arbitration

agreements arises (1) where a plaintiff sues a parent

company, concerning an agreement between the plaintiff and

the parent’s subsidiary (or affiliate), where only the

subsidiary has contracted with the litigant to arbitrate; and

(2) where a nonsignatory plaintiff sues a signatory defendant,

based upon an agreement (that contains an arbitration clause)

between the defendant and a third party to whom the plaintiff

is affiliated. The principles enumerated by the Eleventh

Circuit in MS Dealer for justifying a nonsignatory to

arbitrate discussed above apply with equal force to these

issues, but lead to a different result. MS Dealer, 177 F.3d at

947.

The Court finds that under either theory of equitable

estoppel, as well as under the agency and third party

beneficiary exceptions, a nonsignatory parent should be

compelled to arbitrate where either (a) the signatory

subsidiary or affiliate is compelled to arbitrate, or (b) the

nonsignatory parent benefits from the contractual relations of

its subsidiary’s relationship with the plaintiffs — irrespective

of whether the subsidiary is a party to the lawsuit. Likewise,

the Court finds that a nonsignatory plaintiff is bound to

arbitrate disputes against a signatory defendant, where the

plaintiff brings suit based upon an agreement between the

defendant and a third party to whom the defendant is

affiliated.

The next issue before the Court is the Eleventh

Circuit’s rulings in Paladino v. Avnet Computer

Technologies, Inc., 134 F.3d 1054 (11th Cir.1998), and

Randolph v. Green Tree Fin. Corp., 178 F.3d 1149 (11th

Cir.1999) rev'd in part Green Tree Fin. Corp. v. Randolph,

531 U.S. 79, 121 S.Ct. 513, 148 L.Ed.2d 373 (2000). Not

surprisingly, these cases have received quite a bit of attention

from the litigants in this action. Based upon the holdings in

these two cases, the plaintiffs seek to negate contractual

obligations to arbitrate disputes between the parties because

the arbitration forum does not provide meaningful relief for

the plaintiffs’ statutory claims. Defendants argue that the

cases are distinguishable and that an arbitration forum can

meaningfully resolve all of the plaintiffs’ claims.

Despite the FAA’s strong presumption in favor of

arbitrating all disputes as agreed between the parties, the

Eleventh Circuit has refused to permit arbitration of certain

statutory disputes under limited circumstances. See

Paladino, 134 F.3d at 1062 (“[{Tjhe arbitrability of such

claims rests on the assumption that the arbitration clause

permits relief equivalent to court remedies.”). In Paladino,

the court refused to enforce the parties’ employment

agreement to arbitrate all disputes between the parties. In

relevant part, the arbitration agreement permitted the

arbitrator to award damages for breach of contract, but

prohibited the arbitrator from awarding any other type of

damages. Jd. at 1056.

The Paladino court based its holding on two grounds.

First, the court found that the clause prohibiting extra

contractual damages denied the plaintiff of any meaningful

- A-23

relief for her Title VII claims. “This clause defeats the

statute’s remedial purposes because it insulates Avnet from

Title VII damages and equitable relief.” Jd at 1062.

Second, the court found that the statutory policy behind Title

VII would be frustrated further by the parties’ agreement to

arbitrate through the American Arbitration Association

(“AAA”), which charges high fees — $2,000 in this case.

“{A] clause such as this one that deprives an employee of

any hope of meaningful relief, while imposing high costs on

the employee, undermines the policies that support Title

VII.” Id.

In Randolph, the plaintiff alleged violation of the Truth

in Lending Act (“TILA”) because the defendant required her

to obtain “vendor’s single interest” insurance in connection

with the financing of the purchase of her mobile home, but

did not include the requirement in its TILA disclosure. The

arbitration clause in the retail installment agreement

governed all disputes between the parties, and granted the

arbitrator authority to award money damages, declaratory

relief, and injunctive relief. However, the arbitration clause

made no mention of what organization shall conduct the

arbitration, whether the parties were to share the expenses of

the arbitration, or what the filing fees of the arbitration

would be. Randolph, 178 F.3d at 1151.

In holding the arbitration clause unenforceable, the

Randolph court was concerned that the plaintiffs statutory

rights under TILA would not be vindicated in an arbitration

forum due to the exorbitant cost of initiating arbitration as

compared to the “small sum” of plaintiff's claims. Jd. at

1158 (“{Tjhe arbitration clause .. fail[ed] to provide

minimum guarantees required to ensure that Randolph’s

ability to vindicate her statutory rights will not be undone by

steep filing fees, steep arbitrator’s fees, or other high costs of

A-24

arbitration.””). Perhaps realizing the potentially far reaching

effect of its holding, the court distinguished this ‘'small

consumer transaction,” as well as the employment agreement

in Paladino, from other contexts, such as commercial

franchise agreements. Jd. at 1159.

The issue before this Court is how these cases relate to

both the provider track and subscriber track agreements to

arbitrate. Beginning with the provider track plaintiffs, they

argue that their statutory rights under RICO and ERISA will

not be vindicated in an arbitration forum, and that they will

not be able to obtain meaningful statutory relief through

arbitration. The burden of establishing this proposition rests

with the provider plaintiffs. Green Tree Fin. Corp. v.

Randolph, 531 U.S. 79, 121 S.Ct. 513, 522, 148 L.Ed.2d 373

(2000): see also Shearson/American Express, 482 U.S. at

225-26, 107 S.Ct. 2332.

The issues raised by Paladino concerning limitation of

an arbitrator’s authority to award extra contractual damages

will be addressed individually below in Section II, where the

Court will determine whether any of the arbitration

agreements at issue prevent meaningful relief in an

arbitration forum due to a limitation on extra contractual

damages.

With respect to the Randolph (and to a lesser extent

Paladino.) concern that steep filing fees and costs of

arbitration will prevent meaningful relief through arbitration,

the Court declines the provider track plaintiffs’ invitation to

expand the Eleventh Circuit holdings. The Eleventh Circuit

decision in Randolph made clear that its holding was limited

to small consumer transactions concerning small sums of

money, as well as Title VII claims in employment

relationships. This Court finds the relationship between

A-25

sophisticated groups of doctors and managed care —

companies, where the doctors contract to provide health care

to large groups of patients, quite distinguishable.

Another distinguishing factor between Randolph and

the instant action is the alleged amount in controversy. In

Randolph, the amount in controversy was a “small amount”

stemming from a failure to disclose a requirement to

purchase vendor insurance in connection with the purchase

of a mobile home. In the instant action, the provider

plaintiffs attempt to persuade the court that their statutory

claims are too small to combat the hefty costs of arbitration.

This argument is unpersuasive because each provider

plaintiff alleges multiple instances of statutory violations

over an extended period of time. In aggregate, each provider

plaintiff allegedly has suffered considerable harm. These

aggregate claims may be arbitrated by each plaintiff who has

signed a valid and enforceable arbitration agreement.

Moreover, today the Supreme Court reversed in part

the Randolph decision, ruling that an arbitration agreement

that is silent with respect to arbitration costs does not render

the agreement unenforceable. Green Tree Fin. Corp. v.

Randolph, 531 U.S. 79, 121 S.Ct. 513, 521-22, 148 L.Ed.2d

373 (2000) (“The ‘risk’ that Randolph will be saddled with

prohibitive costs is too speculative to justify the invalidating

of an arbitration agreement.””). While the Supreme Court did

acknowledge that “the existence of large arbitration costs

could preclude a litigant ... from effectively vindicating her

federal statutory rights in the arbitral forum[,]” id. at 10, the

Court was “mindful of the FAA’s purpose to reverse the

longstanding judicial hostility to arbitration agreements and

to place arbitration agreements upon the same footing as

other contracts.” Jd. at 9 (quotation and citation omitted).

A-26

In total, the doctors are sophisticated individuals, not

consumers alleging TILA violations in connection with the

purchase of a mobile home or employees suing under Title

VII. The Court is unpersuaded that the provider track

plaintiffs’ statutory claims will not be vindicated in an

arbitration forum due to excessive filing fees and costs.

Green Tree Fin. Corp., 531 U.S. 79, 121 S.Ct. 513, 522, 148

L.Ed.2d 373 (stating that the party resisting arbitration bears

the burden of proving that the claims at issue are unsuitable

for arbitration); see also Williams v. Cigna, 197 F.3d 752,

763-64 (Sth Cir.1999) (enforcing arbitration clause absent

evidence that plaintiff cannot afford to pay half the filing

fees). To rule otherwise would expand the Eleventh

Circuit’s holdings and frustrate the FAA's strong

presumption in favor of arbitration.

In contrast, the subscriber plaintiffs are in beter

; pe

sition to argue that their claims are analogous

mee transaction or employment relationships addressed

by the Eleventh Circuit. The subscriber plaintiffs are

individuals who have contracted, through their employer, to

receive managed care from the defendants. They allege

statutory violations stemming from being mines ne

the price of their managed care due to misrepresentations

omissions. Because there is only one subscriber defexdant

who seeks to compel arbitration, it is most efficient for the

Court to acknowledge the potential analogy, and determine

whether Plaintiff Hitsman may avail herself of the Randolph

holding now. (All other issues concerning Plaintiff

Hitsman’s arbitration clause will be addressed below in

Section III.)

Plaintiff Hitsman argues that her agreement to arbitrate

disputes with PacifiCare-Oklahoma will deny her the ability

to vindicate her statutory claims. However, in contrast to the

A-27

Randolph arbitration agreement that did not discuss which

organization would arbitrate or how costs would be shared,

Plaintiff Hitsman’s arbitration agreement is governed by

JAMS/Endispute and states that the fees and expenses of the

arbitrator and neutral administrator will be divided equally.

The filing fee for a JAMS/Endispute arbitration is $250.

Accordingly, the concerns raised in Randolph involving

steep filing fees and uncertainty as to whom shall bear the

brunt of these unknown fees do not exist here. Moreover,

the Court is unpersuaded that the amount in controversy for

Plaintiff Hitsman is such a “small sum” as the plaintiff's

injury in Randolph. Plaintiff Hitsman has failed to meet her

burden on this point, as well as her burden of establishing

that her statutory rights will not be vindicated in an

arbitration forum due to excessive filing fees. The Randolph

holding will not assist Plaintiff Hitsman in opposing the

motion to compel arbitration.

F. Whether Class Action Implications Affect

Whether to Compel Arbitration

The next issue concerning both subscriber and provider

cases concerns the potential that this Court may certify this

case as a class action. Named plaintiffs who may be forced

to arbitrate their claims seek to prevent arbitration on the

ground that this multi-district litigation is a class action, and

that other, unnamed plaintiffs will surface who are not

required to arbitrate. Following this argument, the Court

should not compel arbitration for the named plaintiffs who

agreed to arbitrate.

This argument is misguided. The Court is only

concerned with deciding the issues before it presently, not

the issues of hypothetical plaintiffs in a potential class action

lawsuit. O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 494, 94 S.Ct.

| alii

A-28

669, 38 L.Ed.2d 674 (1974). If other plaintiffs come forward

who are not bound by an agreement to arbitrate, the Court

Moreover, class action allegations do not prevent the

named plaintiffs from being forced to compel arbitration

when such plaintiffs have agreed to arbitrate all of their

disputes with the defendants. Caudle v. American

Arbitration Ass'n, 230 F.3d 920 (7th Cir. 2000) (“A

procedural device aggregating multiple persons’ claims in

litigation does not entitle anyone to be in litigation; a

contract promising to arbitrate the dispute removes the

person from those eligible to represent a class of litigants.”);

see also Johnson v. West Suburban Bank, 225 F.3d 366, 368

(3rd Cir. 2000) (holding that arbitration of plaintiff's

statutory claims is required even where the arbitration

clauses may prevent the bringing of class action lawsuits).

G. Whether the Doctrine of Unconscionability is

Useful in Determining the Validity of the

Arbitration Clauses at Issue

Lastly, at oral argument on October 26, 2000, there

was discussion of whether the arbitration clauses at issue are

unconscionable contracts of adhesion. To prevail on this

argument, the plaintiffs must show that the clauses are both

procedurally and substantively unconscionable for the

clauses to be deemed unenforceable. Golden v. Mobil Oil

Corp., 882 F.2d 490, 493 (lith Cir.1989). “Procedural

unconscionability exists when the individualized

circumstances surrounding the transaction reveal that there

was no ‘real and voluntary meeting of the minds’ of the

contracting parties. Substantive unconscionability exists

when the terms of the contractual provision are unreasonable

and unfair.” Jd. (citations omitted).

A-29

Plaintiffs’ unconscionability argument must be

summarily dismissed because the Court finds there is

nothing substantively unconscionable with an arbitration

ym ee Coleman v. Prudential Bache Securities, Inc.,

1350, 1351 (11th Cir.1986) (“{TJhere is no

inherently unfair or oppressive about arbitration aemtt

As discussed_above, the Court intends to examine each

arbitration clause to determine whether it is enforceable.

The Court need not rule upon whether each arbitration clause

is substantively unconscionable because an unfair or

oppressive clause will not be enforceable under existing

Supreme Court and Eleventh Circuit precedent governing

arbitration clauses, irrespective of whether the clause is

procedurally unconscionable.

With these threshold issues addressed, the Court now

examines each of the defendants’ motions to compel

arbitration.

Il. ANALYSIS OF INDIVIDUAL ARBITRATION CLAUSES

TO DETERMINE WHETHER To COMPEL

ARBITRATION IN PROVIDER TRACK CASES

A. United

UnitedHealthcare, Inc. and UnitedHealth Group

Incorporated f/k/a United HealthCare Corporation (“United”)

seek to compel arbitration of all claims raised by provider

plaintiffs Manual Porth, M.D. and Glenn L. Kelly, M.D.

With respect to Dr. Porth, the United Defendants proffer a

United HealthCare of Florida Medical Group Participation

Agreement between United HealthCare of Florida and

A-30

Community Orthopaedics and Pain Management, Inc.” The

arbitration clause provides in relevant part that all matters

arising from the agreement shall be arbitrated, but limits the

arbitrator’s authority by preventing the arbitrator from

awarding extra contractual damages, including punitive or

exemplary damages. Moreover, the arbitration agreement

includes a one year statute of limitations to bring the claims

in arbitration once there is written notice of the dispute.

The prohibition on extra contractual damages is

precisely the type of arbitration agreement that was found

unenforceable in Paladino. Such an arbitration agreement

prevents Dr. Porth from obtaining any meaningful relief for

his statutory claims. Additionally, the one year statute of

limitations raises grave concerns that Dr. Porth’s statutory

claims will not be adjudicated appropriately in an arbitration

forum. Paladino, 134 F.3d at 1058 (citing Graham Oil Co.

v. ARCO Products Co., 43 F.3d 1244 (9th Cir.1994)).

Accordingly, the Court will not compel arbitration of

Dr. Porth’s claims arising under RICO, ERISA, federal clean

claim payment regulations, state prompt pay statutes, unjust

enrichment, and state prompt pay statutes. However, the

Court is not persuaded that the statute of limitations

provision is a strong enough factor, on its own, to overcome

the FAA’s strong presumption in favor of arbitration. Thus,

the Court will compel arbitration of Dr. Porth’ breach of

contract and quantum meruit claims, as these claims, if

successful, would lead to contractual damages.

% For the reasons discussed in Section I(D), Dr. Porth may not

frustrate the agreement to arbitrate by claiming that he is a nonsignatory

to the agreement. Dr. Porth’s allegations “touch matters” relating to this

arbitration agreement, and Dr. Porth is affiliated with Community

Orthopaedics of Pain and Management, Inc. Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 625

n. 13, 105 S.Ct. 3346; MS Dealer, 177 F.3d at 947.

A-31

United moves to compel Dr. Kelly to arbitrate based

upon a United HealthCare of Colorado, Inc. Physician

Participation Agreement between United HealthCare of

Colorado and Dr. Kelly.'° The arbitration provision is

identical to the United arbitration agreement discussed above

concerning Dr. Porth, except that Dr. Kelly’s arbitration

clause only prevents the arbitrator from granting punitive or

exemplary damages. The arbitrator may award extra

contractual damages.

The Court finds that the limitation on punitive or

exemplary damages serves as a limitation on the types of

statutory claims that may be adjudicated before an arbitrator.

Paladino, 134 F.3d at 1062 (“{T)he arbitrability of such

claims rests on the assumption that the arbitration clause

permits relief equivalent to court remedies.”). Dr. Kelly

alleges RICO violations, which provide for treble damages.

Treble damages are a form of punitive damages. Gentry v.

Resolution Trust Corp., 937 F.2d 899, 910-11 (3rd

Cir.1991); Pine Ridge Recycling, Inc. v. Butts County,

Georgia, 855 F.Supp. 1264, 1273 (M.D.Ga.1994); of.

Shearson/American Express, 482 U.S. at 240-41, 107 S.Ct.

2332 (indicating in dicta that treble damages are primarily

remedial and secondarily punitive). The Court also finds

that the one year statute of limitations serves the function of

limiting the ability for Dr. Kelly to obtain meaningful relief

in an arbitration forum for his other statutory claims. Thus,

the Court shall only compel arbitration of Dr. Kelly’s breach

of contract and quantum meruit claims.

There is one final contention raised by United that must

be addressed. In an effort to compel arbitration and dismiss

‘0 Dr. Kelly’s allegations against United “touch matters” relating to

this agreement. Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 625 n. 13, 105 S.Ct. 3346.

A-32

the instant action against Drs. Porth and Kelly, United has

expressed a willingness to waive the arbitration clauses’

limitations that prevent an arbitrator from awarding extra

contractual damages and punitive or exemplary damages. ''

Principles of justice and fair play, however, lead to the

conclusion that one party unilaterally cannot alter post litem

motam terms of an agreement so that a case is dismissed. Cf

Mastrobuono v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 514 U.S. 52,

56-57, 115 S.Ct. 1212, 131 L.Ed.2d 76 (1995) (“{I}f the

contract says ‘no punitive damages,’ that is the end of the

matter, for courts are bound to interpret contracts in

accordance with the expressed intentions of the parties —

even if the effect of those intentions is to limit arbitration.”).

The Court rejects United’s attempted waiver.

B. Foundation

Foundation Health Systems, Inc. (“Foundation”)

references four agreements that contain arbitration clauses in

moving to compel plaintiff Dennis Breen, M.D. to arbitrate.

Because three of the four agreements are enforceable, the

Court shall compel Dr. Breen to advance all of his claims,

except the conspiracy and aiding and abetting claims that

stem from contractual relationships with other managed care

companies, in accordance with the parties’ contracted

arbitration agreement.

Foundation argues that an arbitration clause in the

Sutter Agreement, entered into between Health Net and

Sutter Independent Physicians as a Participating Medical

'! No such waiver has been proffered concerning the statute of

enieeel ro

A-33

Group, requires that Dr. Breen’s claims be arbitrated.'? This

agreement calls for arbitration of all grievances between the

parties. Costs are split between the parties, unless assessed

differently by an arbitrator. Fees are advanced by the

initiating party.

The one potentially objectionable part of this

agreement. is the mandate that fees are advanced by the

initiating party. The initiate fee mandate may result in the

concern raised in Paladino and Randolph that hefty fees

because there are two other enforceable arbitration clauses

withor * a provision mandating that the fees be advanced by

under the other two agreements so that Dr. Breen is not

required to advance the fees as the initiating party.

The two other agreements that contain an arbitration

clause are: (1) Physicians Services Agreement between

Health Net and Foundation Health Systems Affiliates and

Dr. Breen, and (2) Champus/Tricare Prime and Extra

Professional Provider Agreement between Foundation

Health Systems Affiliates and Dr. Breen. The Physicians

Services Agreement calls for arbitration of claims arising in

tort, contract, or otherwise. The arbitration shall be

governed by the California Arbitration Act. The

Champus/Tricare Agreement states that any problems or

For the reasons discussed in Section I(D), Dr. Breen may not

frustrate the agreement to arbitrate by claiming that he is a nonsignatory

to the agreement. Dr. Breen’s allegations “touch matters” relating to this

arbitration agreement, aad Dr. Breen is affiliated with Sutter

Physicians. Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 625 n. 13, 105 S.Ct. 3346; MS

Dealer, 177 F.3d at 947. Likewise, the Foundation Defendants are

ee eT en ay ay er ome

A-34

disputes relating to the agreement are to be arbitrated. The

prevailing or substantially prevailing party’s costs shall be

Dr. Breen’s allegations against Foundation are

Champus/Tricare Agreement. Accordingly, the Court shall

compel Dr. Breen to arbitrate all of his claims against

Foundation, excluding conspiracy and aiding and abetting

claims that stem from contractual relationships with other

managed care companies.

Lastly, for purposes of clarity to the future arbitrator,

the Court finds unenforceable the fourth arbitration clause

proffered by Foundation, located in the CHW Agreement

between Foundation Health Systems Affiliates and CHW

Medical Foundation as a Participating Medical Group. This

arbitration agreement provides for a six month statute of

limitations to bring arbitration, and divests the arbitrator of

the ability to award punitive damages. For the various

reasons addressed above, an arbitration clause with these

limitations is unenforceable. Nonetheless, the Court will

in the Physicians Services Agreement and the

Champus/Tricare Agreement. .

C. WellPoint

WellPoint Health Networks Inc. (“WellPoint”) seeks to

compel arbitration of Dr. Breen’s allegations against it based

upon an arbitration agreement found in a Provider

Agreement between Dr. Breen and WellPoint’s subsidiary,

Blue Cross of California. The arbitration clause provides

first for a meet-and-confer process followed by arbitration.

The clause governs any problems or disputes concerning the

A-35

agreement. The arbitration shall be governed by AAA, and

there is no limitation on damages or the types of disputes that

may be brought.

The Court finds nothing objectionable with this

arbitration clause, in view of the Court’s holdings in Section

I. Dr. Breen’s allegations against WellPoint arise from this

agreement. There are no impediments that this Court is

aware of that would prevent Dr. Breen from having all of his

claims against WellPoint meaningfully resolved in an

arbitration forum, except for conspiracy and aiding and

abetting claims that stem from contractual relationships with

other managed care companies.

D. Prudential

Prudential Insurance Company of America

(“Prudential”) moves to compel arbitration of Dr. Porth’s

claims against it based upon a Participating Physician

Agreement between Dr. Porth and Prudential Health Care

Plan, Inc. and/or its affiliates. Dr. Porth opposes this motion

on the ground that the arbitration mandate in this agreement

is optional. An examination of this arbitration clause

indicates that both parties should have proceeded differently

in handling this dispute, but ultimately leads to the

conclusion that Dr. Porth must follow the dispute resolution

procedures agreed upon between the parties. For the reasons

discussed below, Dr. Porth must mediate or arbitrate the

allegations against Prudential presently before the Court,

except for conspiracy and aiding and abetting allegations that

companies.

Article IX of the Participating Physician Agreement,

titled “Arbitration,” contains three subsections. Section A

A-36

provides that the exclusive methods for resolving disputes

concerning the parties’ agreement are “negotiation,

mediation, and/or arbitration.” Section B, “Mediation,”

states that if a dispute arises and the parties cannot settle the

dispute through negotiation, then either party may elect to

submit the dispute to a sole mediator. If the parties cannot

resolve the dispute within sixty days from the start of

mediation, “either party may elect to submit the dispute to

binding arbitration.” Lastly, Section C, “Arbitration,”

provides the ground rules for arbitration, none of which lead

to a finding that the arbitration clause is unenforceable.

Dr. Porth bases his argument that the arbitration clause

is optional on the use of “and/or” language in Section A, as

well as the preamble to Section C, which states “If the

parties agree to binding arbitration...”

The Court finds that this agreement provides for three

different forms of dispute resolution to be the exclusive

use of “and/or” language in Section A documents that these

forms of dispute resolution are options; an aggrieved party is

not required by this agreement to avail himself of all three

options. Either party may initiate the dispute resolution

procedures through negotiation, or both parties can agree at

the onset to arbitration. In the present scenario, neither party

of how both parties chose to proceed is instructive in

determining how to resolve Prudential’s motion to compel

A-37

avail itself of the dispute resolution procedures discussed

above. Rather, Prudential unilaterally sought to compel

both parties to agree to arbitrate. The only unilateral power

Prudential possessed was to compel mediation after

negotiation proved unsuccessful. A more prudent approach

for Prudential, based upon the parties’ agreement, would

have been to initiate negotiation. While negotiation probably

would have been futile, it would have given Prudential

unilateral power to submit the dispute to mediation. If

mediation proved unsuccessful after sixty days, then

Prudential would have the unilateral power to force

arbitration, as per the parties’ agreement.

Likewise, Dr. Porth did not follow the parties’ agreed

upon dispute resolution procedures. Dr. Porth would have

ssn aiibepeutintiarinedbaltth dine extuiien én

conspiracy and aiding and abetting allegations stemming

from contractual relationships with other managed care

companies, by following the agreed upon dispute resolution

procedures. If negotiations proved futile, Dr. Porth could

have unilaterally compelled mediation. If mediation was

unsuccessful after sixty days, then Dr. Porth would have had

the unilateral power to compel arbitration.

At bottom, both parties agreed to have the

aforementioned dispute resolution procedures exclusively

govern their disputes. Accordingly, the Court must honor

this commitment. Dr. Porth is ordered to foliow the agreed

procedurés to resolve the present dispute, excluding

conspiracy and aiding and abetting allegations that stem

from contractual relationships with other managed care

companies, which this Court retains jurisdiction to hear. Dr.

Porth is free to attempt to negotiate. If such negotiation is

unsuccessful, Dr. Porth is free to compel mediation or

A-38

arbitration. Prudential already has consented to arbitration,

but Dr. Porth has the option of mediation or arbitration--as

the parties agreement only permits arbitration at this stage of

the dispute resolution process by mutual agreement.

E. CIGNA

CIGNA Corporation, Connecticut General

Corporation, and CIGNA Health Corporation (“CIGNA”)

move to compel both Drs. Porth and Kelly to arbitrate their

disputes with CIGNA. Dr. Porth consented to arbitration in

a Physician Managed Care Agreement between Dr. Porth

and CIGNA HealthCare of Florida, Inc.'’ Section O(2) of

the agreement states that “(a]rbitration shall be the exclusive

remedy for the settlement of disputes arising under this

Agreement.” There is no language limiting the authority of

the arbitrator to award damages; fees and costs shall be split

between the parties, and AAA governs. .

The Court finds that Dr. Porth has agreed to arbitrate

raise any concerns with respect to its enforceability. There is

no reason for this Court to frustrate the parties’ agreement.

All of Dr. Porth’s claims can be meaningfully adjudicated in

an arbitration forum, except for conspiracy and aiding and

abetting claims that stem from contractual relationships with

other managed care companies, which the Court retains

jurisdiction to hear.

With respect to Dr. Kelly, CIGNA proffers two

agreements that allegedly contain arbitration clauses in

moving to compel arbitration. CIGNA directs the Court’s

2 Dr. Porth’s allegations against CIGNA “touch matters” relating to

this agreement. Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 625 n. 13, 105 S.Ct. 3346.

A-39

attention to a Physician Managed Care Agreement between

Dr. Kelly and CIGNA HealthCare of Colorado, Inc., and a

Specialist Physician Agreement between Dr. Kelly and

CIGNA HealthCare of Colorado, Inc.'*

The Physician Managed Care Agreement contains a

dispute resolution section that states that all grievances and

complaints between the parties shall be resolved in

accordance with the dispute resolution procedures in the

applicable Program Requirements. The Program

Requirements mandate that the parties negotiate to resolve

disputes. If negotiation fails, the parties are referred back to

the Physician Managed Care Agreement, which does not

give any direction as to how to proceed if negotiation does

not resolve the dispute.

The Specialist Physician Agreement does not suffer

from the same infirmity. Section G of this agreement states

that any dispute that arises concerning this agreement shall

be sent to arbitration. AAA governs, and each party pays

half the costs of the proceeding.

Thus, the Court is faced with a scenario where the

Physician Managed Care Agreement does not require

arbitration, while the Specialist Physician Agreement

requires arbitration. Accordingly, Dr. Kelley’s claims that

relate to the Specialist Physician Agreement shall be

arbitrated, except for conspiracy and aiding and abetting

allegations that stem from contractual relationships with

other managed care companies. Dr. Kelly’s claims that

relate to the Physician Managed Care Agreement may

proceed before this Court.

'* Dr. Kelly’s allegations “touch matters” relating to these agreements.

Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 625 n. 13, 105 S.Ct. 3346.

A-40

F. PacifiCare

PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc. and PacifiCare

Operations, Inc. (“PacifiCare”) seek to compel Dr. Breen to

arbitrate his claims against PacifiCare, and bases its

argument on two agreements: (1) Term Sheet between

Sutter Health and PacifiCare of California, and (2) PMG

Commercial Risk Agreement between Sutter Independent

Physicians and PacifiCare of Florida. Dr. Breen counters by

arguing that the Term Sheet does not apply to his claims

against PacifiCare.

While the Court disagrees with Dr. Breen’s contention,

this issue is nondispositive of PacifiCare’s motion to compel

arbitration because the PMG Commercial Risk Agreement

contains substantially the same language in its arbitration

clause as the Term Sheet’s arbitration clause.'° 4s such,

analysis of the PMG Commercial Risk Agreement’ will be

dispositive of whether Dr. Breen’s claims shall be arbitrated

or litigated in front of the undersigned.

Both arbitration agreements contain broad language

indicating that the parties intended for “any controversy,

dispute, or claim arising out of the agreement” to be

arbitrated. However, both agreements prohibit the arbitrator

from awarding punitive damages. Thus, we are faced with a

potential Paladino situation, discussed earlier within the

context of United’s motion to compel arbitration (Section

'S For the reasons discussed in Section I(D), Dr. Breen may not

frustrate the agreement to arbitrate by claiming that he is a nonsignatory

to the PMG Commercial Risk Agreement, or the Term Sheet for that

matter. Dr. Porth’s allegations “touch matters” relating to both of these

arbitration agreements, and he is affiliated with Sutter Independent

Physicians. Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 625 n. 13, 105 S.Ct. 3346; MS

Dealer, 177 F.3d at 947.

A-41

II(A)), where the plaintiff may not be able to obtain

meaningful relief for allegations of statutory violations in an

arbitration forum. However, this agreement is

distinguishable from the United scenario because the

PacifiCare agreements do not impose a shortened statute of

limitations.

Accordingly, the Court will not compel Dr. Breen to

arbitrate his RICO claims against PacifiCare due to the

arbitrator’s inability to impose punitive (treble) damages.

All other statutory and non-statutory claims shall be

arbitrated, except for the conspiracy and aiding and abetting

claims that stem from contractual relationships with other

managed care companies.

Ill. ANALYSIS OF INDIVIDUAL ARBITRATION CLAUSE TO

DETERMINE WHETHER TO COMPEL ARBITRATION IN

SUBSCRIBER TRACK CASE INVOLVING PACIFICARE

PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc. (“PacifiCare”) also

moves to compel subscriber track plaintiff Debbie Hitsman

to arbitrate her claims raised in the instant litigation.

PacifiCare bases its argument on an arbitration clause in a

Master Group Service Agreement between MCI-WorldCom,

Inc. (“MCT”) and PacifiCare- Oklahoma. Plaintiff Hitsman,

as an MCI employee, became bound by the terms of the

agreement when she enrolled in PacifiCare HMO.

The dispute resolution process in the Master Group

Service Agreement provides in § 7.01 that a dispute “relating

to the performance of this Agreement by PacifiCare and

Member” shall first be submitted to an internal dispute

resolution process to resolve the dispute in a non-

adjudicative setting. § 7.02 provides that any dispute that is

not resolved through the dispute resolution process described

A-42

in § 7.01 “shall have the matter resolved by binding

arbitration by a single arbitrator.” JAMS/Endispute shall

arbitrate, and its rules shall govern. The fees and expenses

of the arbitrator and neutral administrator shall be divided

equally among the disputants. Oklahoma law governs, and

the Federal Arbitration Act also applies.

Plaintiff Hitsman raises various defenses to

enforcement of the arbitration clause: (1) the arbitration

clause is invalid under Oklahoma law, (2) the present dispute

is beyond the scope of the arbitration clause, (3) ERISA

claims are not subject to arbitration, and (4) the clause is

unenforceable under Randolph and Paladino. For the

reasons discussed in Sections 1(B) and I(E) above, the

ERISA and Randolph and Paladino arguments are rejected.

With respect to the issue of invalidity under Oklahoma

law, the Court rejects that argument as well. Plaintiffs rely

upon Cannon v. Lane, 867 P.2d 1235 (Okla.1993), where the

Oklahoma Supreme Court invalidated an arbitration clause in

an HMO contract because it was a contract with reference to

insurance. Oklahoma law does not permit arbitration of

claims between an insurer and the insured, “except where

both the insured and insurer are insurance companies.” 15

Okla. Stat. §§ 801-18.

In Cannon, a state employee sued PacifiCare of

Oklahoma for failure to certify him for hemorrhoid surgery.

The court relied upon the Oklahoma statute, as well as the

common law policy that “agreements to submit future

controversies to arbitration are contrary to public policy(,]”

in refusing to enforce the arbitration clause. /d. at 1238.

The instant action is distinguishable from Cannon.

That case dealt with Oklahoma state law issues, while this

A-43

case deals with federal claims pursuant to the FAA. The

Supreme Court has addresses this issue squarely in Perry v.

Thomas, 482 U.S. 483, 107 S.Ct. 2520, 96 L.Ed.2d 426

(1987). In Perry, the Court distinguished state laws that

concern the validity, revocability, and enforceability of

contracts generally, and state laws that take their meaning

precisely from the fact that a contract to arbitrate is at issue.

The FAA must defer to the former, but preempts the latter.

Id. at 491, 107 S.Ct. 2520 (“This clear federal policy places §

2 of the [FAA] in unmistakable conflict with California’s

§ 229 requirement that litigants be provided a judicial forum

for resolving wage disputes. Therefore, under the

Supremacy Clause, the state statute must give way.”). For

example, a federal court would apply state law regarding

duress and inducement in determining the validity of an

arbitration clause because it concerns the validity and

enforceability of the contract; however, the court would not

concern itself with a state law that invalidates a specific class

of cases, such as stock fraud or insurance claims. Jd. at 489,

107 S.Ct. 2520. Accordingly, the Oklahoma statute that

prevents arbitration of insurance claims is of no assistance to

Ms. Hitsman in the instant action.

Plaintiff's remaining argument, that the dispute is

beyond the scope of the arbitration clause, is also rejected.

Plaintiff argues, by focusing on the language of § 7.01, that

the arbitration clause is limited to the denial of claims

relating to the performance of the agreement. § 7.02 only

mandates arbitration for disputes “not resolved by the above

appeals and dispute resolution processes....” Plaintiff posits

that her allegations concerning systemic violations by

PacifiCare (that speak to violations of RICO and ERISA) are

not covered by the arbitration clause. PacifiCare counters by

A-44

highlighting the preamble of § 7.02, “Any claim,

controversy, dispute or disagreement...”

The difficulty with Plaintiff's argument is two-fold.

First, this Court is not persuaded that the arbitration clause at

issue is limited only to denial of claims, particularly in view

of the broad, all-encompassing preamble of § 7.02. Second,

and perhaps more importantly, the FAA has a presumption in

favor of arbitration, as propounded by the Supreme Court.

Moses H. Cone Memo. Hosp. v. Mercury Const. Corp., 460

US. 1, 103 S.Ct. 927, 74 L.Ed.2d 765 (1983). This Court is

required to resolve any doubt “concerning the scope of

arbitrable issues ... in favor of arbitration...” Id. at 24-25,

103 S.Ct. 927. Accordingly, this argument is rejected as

well.

The parties entered into a valid arbitration agreement to

resolve all disputes concerning the Master Group Service

Agreement. Plaintiff must have all of her claims agains’

PacifiCare resolved through arbitration.

CONCLUSION

Therefore, it is

ADJUDGED that PacifiCare’s Motion to Compel

Arbitration of Subscriber Track Plaintiff Debbie Hitsman’s

claims (D.E. No. 76), filed on July 14, 2000, is GRANTED.

All of Ms. Hitsman’s claims against PacfiCare shall be

arbitrated. It is also

ADJUDGED that PacifiCare’s Motion to Compel

Arbitration of Provider Track Plaintiff Dennis Breen, M.D.’s

claims against PacifiCare (D.E. No. 257), filed on

September 8, 2000, is GRANTED in part and DENIED in

A-45

part. All of Dr. Breen’s claims against PacfiCare shall be

arbitrated, except for (1) RICO claims and (2) conspiracy

and aiding and abetting claims that stem from contractual

relationships with other managed care companies. It is also

ADJUDGED that Prudential’s Motion to Compel

Arbitration of Provider Track Plaintiff Manual Porth, M.D.’s

claims against Prudential (D.E. No. 313), filed on September

22, 2000, is GRANTED in part and DENIED in part. All of

Dr. Porth’s claims against Prudential shall be arbitrated,

except for conspiracy and aiding and abetting claims that

stem from contractual relationships with other managed care

companies. It is also

ADJUDGED that Foundation’s Motion to Compel

Arbitration of Provider Track Plaintiff Dennis Breen, M.D.’s

claims against Foundation (D.E. No. 314), filed on

September 22, 2000, is GRANTED in part and DENIED in

part. All of Dr. Breen’s claims against Foundation shall be

arbitrated, except for conspiracy and aiding and abetting

claims that stem from contractual relationships with other

managed care companies. It is also

ADJUDGED that United’s Motion to Compel

Arbitration of Provider Track Plaintiffs Manual Porth,

M.D.’s and Glen L. Kelly, M.D.’s claims against United

(D.E. No. 319), filed on September 22, 2000, is GRANTED

in part and DENIED in part. The only claims that shall be

arbitrated are Dr. Porth’s and Dr. Kelly’s claims concerning

breach of contract and quantum meruit. All other claims

shall be litigated before the undersigned. It is also

ADJUDGED that CIGNA’s Motion to Compel

Arbitration of Provider Track Plaintiffs Manual Porth,

M.D.’s and Glen L. Kelly, M.D.’s claims against CIGNA

A-46

(D.E. No. 323), filed on September 26, 2000, is GRANTED

in part and DENIED in part. All of Dr. Porth’s claims

against CIGNA shall be arbitrated, except for conspiracy and

relationships with other managed care companies. All of Dr.

Kelly’s claims against CIGNA stemming from the Specialist

Physician Agreement shall be arbitrated, except for

conspiracy and aiding and abetting claims that stem from

contractual relationships with other managed care

companies. However, all of Dr. Kelly’s claims against

CIGNA stemming from the Physician Managed Care

Agreement shall be litigated before the undersigned. It is

also ,

ADJUDGED that WellPoint’s Motion to Compel

Arbitration of Provider Track Plaintiff Dennis Breen, M.D.’s

claims against WellPoint (D.E. No. 457), filed on October

25, 2000, is GRANTED in part and DENIED in part. All of

Dr. Breen’s claims against WellPoint shall be arbitrated,

except for conspiracy and aiding and abetting claims that

stem from contractual relationships with othér managed care

companies.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at Miami,

Florida, this 11" day of December, 2000.

A-47

United States District Court

Southern District of Florida

Miami Division

In re: MANAGED CARE LITIGATION

This Document Relates to Provider Track Cases

No. MDL 1334

No. 00-1334-MD

Filed April 26, 2001

ORDER GRANTING IN PART PACIFICARE’S

MOTION TO COMPEL, AND ORDER MODIFYING

PRIOR ARBITRATION ORDER CONCERNING

FOUNDATION’S MOTION TO COMPEL

MORENO, District Judge.

THIS MATTER came before the Court upon

Defendants PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc. and PacifiCare

Operations, Inc.’s (“PacifiCare’s”) Contingent Supplemental

Motion to Compel Arbitration (D.E. No. 888), filed on

January 26, 2001.

THE COURT has considered the motion, responses,

and the pertinent portions of the record, and being otherwise

fully advised in the premises, it is

ADJUDGED that the motion is GRANTED in part for

the reasons addressed below. It is also

ADJUDGED that the Court’s prior arbitration order

(“Order”) dated December 11, 2000 is MODIFIED with

A-48

respect to Foundation’s motion to compel arbitration for the

reasons addressed below.

contractual relationships with other managed care

companies. The RICO claims were deemed non-arbitrable

because the Sutter Agreement (PacifiCare) prevented the

arbitrator from awarding punitive (treble) damages.

PacifiCare now has filed a “Contingent Supplement Motion

to Compel Arbitration” based upon Dr. Breen’s affiliation

with Mercy Medical Foundation through Golden State

Physicians (the “Mercy Agreement”), as well as for other

reasons addressed in Part II.

1. ARBITRATION OF DR. BREEN’S CLAIMS AGAINST

PACIFICARE UNDER MERCY AGREEMENT, AND

MODIFICATION OF ORDER CONCERNING

FOUNDATION’S MOTION TO COMPEL ARBITRATION

clause does not prevent an arbitrator from awarding punitive

damages. Thus, PacifiCare moves the Court to compel

A-49

Dr. Breen to arbitrate all claims arising out of the Mercy

Agreement.

The Court now is presented with a situation where the

litigants have entered into two different contracts that

faced with precisely the same scenario in its prior Order with

respect to Dr. Kelly’s claims against CIGNA, as well as a

somewhat similar scenario concerning Dr. Breen and

Foundation. After reviewing its prior Order, it appears that

the Court did not resolve these two matters consistently.

With CIGNA there was a Specialist Physician Agreement

(“Specialist Agreement”) and a Physician Managed Care

Agreement (“Physician Agreement”). The Specialist

Agreement mandated arbitration for the majority of

Dr. Kelly’s claims, while the Physician Agreement did not

mandate arbitration. The Court ruled that Dr. Kelly’s claims

that stem from the Specialist Agreement shall be arbitrated,

while his claims that stem from the Physician Agreement

shall be litigated before the undersigned.

However, with Foundation and Dr. Breen the Court

analyzed four agreements between the litigants: (1) Sutter

Agreement between Health Net and Sutter Independent

Physicians as a Participating Medical Group (“Sutter

Agreement (Foundation)”), (2) Physicians Services

Agreement between Health Net and Foundation Health

Systems Affiliates and Dr. Breen (“Physicians Services

Agreement”), (3) Champus/Tricare Prime and Extra

Professional Provider Agreement between Foundation

Health Systems Affiliates and Dr. Breen (“Champus/Tricare

Agreement”), and (4) CHW Agreement between Foundation

‘© Except as modified by this Order, the Court incorporates by

reference its prior arbitration Order.

Sutter Agreement (Foundation) that required Dr. Breen to

advance the arbitration fees as the initiating party, in view of

the Eleventh Circuit’s concern that steep filing fees and costs

could prevent meaningful relief through arbitration.

y. Green Tree Fin. Corp., 178 F.3d 1149 (llth

Cir.1999) rev'd in part Green Tree Fin. Corp. v. Randolph,

§31 U.S. 79 (2000). The Court found the arbitration clauses

in the Physicians Services Agreement and the

arbitratc; from awarding punitive damages and a six month

statute of limitations to institute arbitration. But the Court

did not, at that time, retain jurisdiction over Dr. Breen 's

claims that stemmed from the Sutter Agreement

AT &T Tech. v. Communications Workers of Am., 475 US.

643, 648-49 (“[A]rbitration is a matter of contract and @

A-51

party cannot be required to submit to arbitration any dispute

which he has not agreed so to submit.”) (citation omitted);

Morewitz v. West of England, 62 F.3d 1356, 1365 (11th

Cir.1995) (expressing reluctant to mandate arbitration where

the parties did not bargain to do so); Goldberg v. Bear

Stearns & Co., 912 F.2d 1418, 1419 (ilth Cir.1990)

(holding that parties will not be required to arbitrate disputes

that they have not agreed to arbitrate, despite federal

presumption in favor of arbitration).

Accordingly, Dr. Breen’s claims against PacifiCare

that stem from the Mercy Agreement, including RICO

claims, shall be arbitrated. However, Dr. Breen’s RICO

claims against PacifiCare that stem from the Sutter

Agreement (PacifiCare) shall be litigated before the

undersigned, as ruled upon in the Court’s pnor Order,

because the arbitrator may not award punitive damages

under that arbitration agreement. This holding has no impact

on the Court’s prior ruling that aiding and abetting and

conspiracy claims lodged against PacifiCare that stem from

contractual relationships with other managed care companies

are to be litigated before the undersigned.

In view of the Court’s holding today, the Court now

must modify its prior Order with respect to Foundation’s

motion to compel arbitration. As discussed above, the Court

compelled Dr. Breen to arbitrate all of his claims against

Foundation based upon two arbitration agreements. The

to determine whether to compel arbitration of Dr. Breen’s

claims that stem from the Sutter Agreement (Foundation)

and CHW Agreement.

In view of the Supreme Court’s holding in Green Tree

Fin. Corp. v. Randolph, 531 U.S. 79 (2000), the Court’s

compel Dr. Breen to arbitrate all claims that stem from the

Sutter Agreement (Foundation). However, the concerns

claims that stem from the CHW Agreement due to the

arbitrator’s inability to award punitive (treble) damages. All

of Dr. Breen’s other claims stemming from this agreement

shall be arbitrated. This ruling likewise has no impact on the

Court’s prior holding that aiding and abetting and conspiracy

claims lodged against Foundation that stem from contractual

relationships with other managed care companies are to be

litigated before the undersigned.

Il. WHETHER TO COMPEi ARBITRATION OF DRS.

BURGESS, KELLY, BOOK, AND Davis’ CLAIMS

AGAINST PACIFICARE

PacifiCare also files the instant motion to compel

arbitration with respect to Drs. Burgess, Kelly, Book, and

Davis’ claims against PacifiCare. PacifiCare has reviewed its

Amended Complaint (the “Complaint”) indicates that, with

one exception, none of these doctors have lodged any claims

against PacifiCare that stem from the parties’ agreements.

Rather, these doctors only allegations against PacifiCare

A-53

from contractual relationships with other managed care

companies. Thus, the Court finds no justification to compel

arbitration between these doctors and PacifiCare based upon

the parties’ agreements, which are not at issue in the instant

lawsuit.

However, Dr. Book alleges in the Complaint a

contractual relationship with PacifiCare, and PacifiCare

proffers the parties’ Southwest Florida Agreement, which

contains an arbitration clause, to support its motion to

compel arbitration. This agreement prevents an arbitrator

from awarding punitive (treble) damages. Thus, the Court

finds this agreement quite similar to the agreement discussed

above between PacifiCare and Sutter Health involving

Dr. Breen. Accordingly, the Court shall compel arbitration

of all of Dr. Book’s claims against PacifiCare, except for

RICO claims and aiding and abetting and conspiracy claims

that stem from contractual relationships with other managed

care companies.

Lastly, as is apparent from the Court’s rulings today,

the Court declines PacifiCare’s invitation to revisit the issue

of whether the Court should compel arbitration of aiding and

abetting and conspiracy allegations that stem from

contractual relationships with other managed care

companies. These claims shall be litigated before the

undersigned, as there is no arbitration agreement between the

parties concerning these types of claims and the justification

for invoking the doctrine of equitable estoppel is not present

here. Moreover, the Court will not stay this lawsuit pending

appellate review of a portion of its prior Order or the

resolution of any arbitrations that either are occurring

presently or may occur in the future.

A-54

III. CONCLUSION

In sum, Dr. Breen’s claims against PacifiCare that stem

from the Mercy Agreement shall be arbitrated, including

RICO claims. The prior arbitration Order is modified so that

Dr. Breen’s claims against Foundation that stem from the

Sutter Agreement (Foundation) shall be arbitrated, but the

Court retains jurisdiction to hear Dr. Breen’s RICO claims

against Foundation that stem from the CHW Agreement.

Dr. Book’s claims against PacifiCare, except RICO claims

and aiding and abetting claims that stem from contractual

relationships with other managed care companies, shall be

arbitrated. Today’s ruling does not impact the Court’s pnor

holding that aiding and abetting and conspiracy claims that

stem from contractual relationships with other managed care

companies shall be litigated before the undersigned. There

shall be no stay of this multi-district litigation while certain

defendants appeal the Court’s ruling concerning partial

denial of motions to compel certain plaintiffs to arbitrate

their allegations lodged against them, nor shall there be a

stay while certain defendants arbitrate a portion of certain

plaintiffs’ allegations.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at Miami,

Florida, this 25" day of April, 2001.

A-55

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 01-10247-CC & 01-12596-CC

In re: HUMANA INC. MANAGED CARE L!ITIGATION

Price Plaintiffs, Price, Sessa, Katz & Yingling, Sandra

Johnson, Patricia Freyre, Regina Joi Price, Anthony Sessa,

Amold Katz, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

Vv.

Humana Insurance Company, Coventry Health Care of

Georgia, Inc., f.k.a. Principal Health Care of Georgia, Inc.,

Principal Health Care, Inc., et al.,

Defendants,

PacifiCare Health Systems, Inc., PacifiCare Operations, Inc.,

United Health Care, United Health Group, Foundation

Health Systems, Inc., Wellpoint Health Networks, Inc.,

Prudential Insurance Company of America,

Defendants-Appellants.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Florida.

Filed June 21, 2002

Before: BARKETT, FAY and WINTER, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no Judge in

regular active service on the Court having requested that the

Court be polled on rehearing en banc (Rule 35, Federal Rule

of Appellate Procedure), the Petition(s) for Rehearing En

Banc are DENIED.

* _ Honorable Ralph K. Winter, U.S. Circuit Judge for the Second

Circuit, sitting by designation.

A-57

FEDERAL STATUTES INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

9 U.S.C. §2. Validity, irrevocability, and enforcement of

agreements to arbitrate

A written provision in any maritime transaction or a contract

evidencing a transaction involving commerce to settle by

arbitration a controversy thereafter arising out of such

contract or transaction, or the refusal to perform the whole or

any part thereof, or an agreement in writing to submit to

arbitration an existing controversy arising out of such a

contract, transaction, or refusal, shall be valid, irrevocable,

and enforceable, save upon such grounds as exist at law or in

equity for the revocation of any contract.

9 U.S.C. §4. Failure to arbitrate under agreement;

petition to United States court having

jurisdiction for order to compel

arbitration; notice and service thereof;

hearing and determination

A party aggrieved by the alleged failure, neglect, or refusal of

another to arbitrate under a written agreement for arbitration

may petition any United States district court which, save for

such agreement, would have jurisdiction under Title 28, in a

civil action or in admiralty of the subject matter of a suit

arising out of the controversy between the parties, for an

order directing that such arbitration proceed in the manner

provided for in such agreement. Five days’ notice in writing

of such application shall be served upon the party in default.

Service thereof shall be made in the manner provided by the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The court shall hear the

parties, and upon being satisfied that the making of the

agreement for arbitration or the failure to comply therewith is

not in issue, the court shall make an order directing the

A-58

parties to proceed to arbitration in accordance with the terms

of the agreement. The hearing and proceedings, under such

agreement, shall be within the district in which the petition

for an order directing such arbitration is filed. If the making

of the arbitration agreement or the failure, neglect, or refusal

to perform the same be in issue, the court shall proceed

summarily to the trial thereof. If no jury trial be demanded

by the party alleged to be in default, or if the matter in

dispute is within admiralty jurisdiction, the court shall hear

and determine such issue. Where such an issue is raised, the

party alleged to be in default may, except in cases of

admiralty, on or before the return day of the notice of

application, demand a jury tral of such issue, and upon such

demand the court shall make an order referring the issue or

issues to a jury in the manner provided by the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure, or may specially call a jury for that

purpose. If the jury find that no agreement in writing for

arbitration was made or that there is no default in proceeding

thereunder, the proceeding shall be dismissed. If the jury

find that an agreement for arbitration was made in writing

and that there is a default in proceeding thereunder, the court

shall make an order summarily directing the parties to

proceed with the arbitration in accordance with the terms

thereof.

18 U.S.C. §1964. Civil remedies

(a) The district courts of the United States shall have

jurisdiction to prevent and restrain violations of section 1962

of this chapter by issuing appropriate orders, including, but

not limited to: ordering any person to divest himself of any

interest, direct or indirect, in any enterprise; imposing

reasonable restrictions on the future activities or investments

of any person, including, but not limited to, prohibiting any

person from engaging in the same type of endeavor as the

A-59

enterprise engaged in, the activities of which affect interstate

or foreign commerce; or ordering dissolution or

reorganization of any enterprise, making due provision for

the rights of innocent persons.

(b) The Attorney General may institute proceedings

under this section. Pending final determination thereof, the

court may at any time enter such restraining orders or

prohibitions, or take such other actions, including the

acceptance of satisfactory performance bonds, as it shall

deem proper.

(c) Any person injured in his business or property by

reason of a violation of section 1962 of this chapter may sue

therefor in any appropriate United States district court and

shall recover threefold the damages he sustains and the cost

of the suit, including a reasonable attorney’s fee, except that

no person may rely upon any conduct that would have been

actionable as fraud in the purchase or sale of securities to

establish a violation of section 1962. The exception

contained in the preceding sentence does not apply to an

action against any person that is criminally convicted in

connection with the fraud, in which case the statute of

limitations shall start to run on the date on which the

conviction becomes final.

(d) A final judgment or decree rendered in favor of the

United States in any criminal proceeding brought by the

United States under this chapter shall estop the defendant

from denying the essential allegations of the criminal offense

in any subsequent civil proceeding brought by the United

States.

A-60

ARBITRATION AGREEMENTS BINDING BREEN AND

PACIFICARE REFERENCED IN 132 F. SUPP.2D 989.

Arbitration. Any controversy, dispute or claim arising

out of this Agreement which is not resolved pursuant to the

Provider Dispute Resolution Procedure specified above shall

be resolved by binding arbitration at the request of either

Party, in accordance with the Commercial Rules of the

American Arbitration Association. Such arbitration shall

occur in Sacramento, California, unless the Parties mutually

agree to have such proceeding in some other locale. The

arbitrator shall apply California substantive law and federal

substantive law where state law is preempted. Civil

discovery for use in such arbitration may be conducted in

accordance with the provisions of California law, and the

arbitrator selected shall have the power to enforce the rights,

remedies, duties, liabilities and obligations of discovery by

the imposition of the same terms, conditions and penalties as

can be imposed in like circumstances in a civil action by a

court of competent jurisdiction of the State of California.

California Civil Code Section 1283.05, the provisions of

California law concerning the right to discovery and the use

of depositions in arbitration are incorporated herein by

reference and made applicable to this Agreement.

The arbitrator shall have the power to grant all legal

and equitable remedies and award compensatory damages

provided by California law, except that punitive damages

shall not be awarded. The arbitrator shall prepare a decision

in writing.

Notwithstanding the above, in the event either Medical

Group or PacifiCare wishes to obtain injunctive relief or a

temporary restraining order, such Party may initiate an action

for such relief in a court of general jurisdiction in the State of

A-61

California. The decision of the court with respect to the

requested injunctive relief or temporary restraining order

shall be subject to appeal only as allowed under California

law. However, the courts shall not have the authority to

review or grant any request or demand for damages.

S.D.Fla. Docket #1000, Ex. A, at pp. 12-13 & Ex. B, at p. 20

(included in 11" Circuit Excerpts of Record for Appeal No.

01-10247-CC).

ARBITRATION AGREEMENT BINDING BOOK AND

PACIFICARE REFERENCED IN 143 F. SupP.2D 1371.

10.03 ARBITRATION - Any controversy or claim

arising out of, or relating to, this Agreement, or the breach

thereof, or with respect to any of the documents executed in

conjunction herewith, that cannot be resolved through the

PacifiCare Provider Grievance Process as spelled out in the

PacifiCare Provider Policy and Procedure Manual or that

cannot be resolved using the state of Florida’s Benefit and

Payment Policy, shall be settled by Arbitration in accordance

with the commercial rules of the American Arbitration

Association. Such arbitration shall occur in Lee County,

Florida, unless the parties mutually agree to have such

proceeding in some other locale. Civil discovery shall be

permitted under the term [sic) of Florida law.

Upon submission of a dispute to the American

Arbitration Association, PacifiCare and PHYSICIAN agree

to be bound by the rules of procedure and decision of the

American Arbitration Association. The arbitrator shall have

the power to grant all legal and equitable remedies and

award compensatory damages provided by Florida law, but

shall not have the power to award punitive damages. The

arbitrator shall prepare in writing and provide the parties an

A-62

award including factual findings and the legal basis and other

reasons on which the award is based. The arbitrator shall not

have the power to commit errors of law or legal reasoning.

Judgment upon the award rendered may be entered in any

court having jurisdiction thereof.

S.D.Fla. Docket #1075, Leal Dec. Ex. A, at p. 20 (included

in 11 Circuit Excerpts of Record for Appeal No. 01-12596-

CC).

ARBITRATION AGREEMENT BINDING KELLY AND UNITED

REFERENCED IN 132 F. SuUPP.2D 989.

Plan or Payor and Physician will work together in good

faith to resolve any disputes about their business

relationship. If the parties are unable to resolve the dispute

within 30 days following the date one party sent written

notice of the dispute to the other party, and if Plan,

Physician, or any Payor that has consented in writing to

binding arbitration wishes to pursue the dispute, it shall be

submitted to binding arbitration in accordance with the rules

of the American Arbitration Association. In no event may

arbitration be initiated more than one year following the

sending of written notice of the dispute. Any arbitration

proceeding under this Agreement shall be conducted in

Arapahoe County, Colorado. The arbitrators may construe

or interpret but shall not vary or ignore the terms of this

Agreement, shall have no authority to award any punitive or

exemplary damages, and shall be bound by controlling law.

If the dispute pertains to a matter which is generally

administered by certain Plan procedures, such as

credentialing or quality improvement plan, the procedures

set forth in that plan must be fully exhausted by Physician

before Physician may invoke his or her right to arbitration

under this section. The parties acknowledge that because

A-63

this Agreement affects interstate commerce the Federal

Arbitration Act applies.

S.D.Fla. Docket #321, Ex. C, at §8 (included in 11" Circuit

Excerpts of Record for Appeal No. 01-10247-CC).

ARBITRATION AGREEMENT BINDING PORTH AND UNITED

REFERENCED IN 132 F. SuPP.2D 989.

The parties shall work together in good faith to resolve

any disputes about their business relationship. If the parties

are unable to resolve the dispute within 30 days following

the date one party sent written notice of the dispute to the

other party, and if either party wishes to pursue the dispute, it

shall be submitted to binding arbitration in accordance with

the rules of the American Arbitration Association. In no

event may arbitration be initiated more than one year

following the sending of written notice of the dispute. Any

arbitration proceeding under this Agreement shall be

conducted in Dade County, Florida. The arbitrators may

construe or interpret but shall not vary or ignore the terms of

this Agreement, shall have no authority to award

extracontractual damages of any kind, including punitive or

exemplary damages, and shall be bound by controlling law.

If the dispute pertains to a matter which is generally

administered by certain Plan procedures, such as

credentialing or quality improvement plan, the procedures

set forth in that plan must be fully exhausted by Medical

Group before Medical Group may invoke its right to

because this Agreement affected interstate commerce the

Federal Arbitration Act applies.

S.D.Fla. Docket #321, Ex. A, at §8 (included in 11" Circuit

Excerpts of Record for Appeal No. 01-10247-CC).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.