Amicus Curiae Brief — Lawrence v. Texas

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

2)

No. 02-102

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

JOHN GEDDES LAWRENCE AND TYRONE GARNER.

Petitioners.

Vv.

TEXAS,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Texas Court of Appeals Fourteenth District

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE CONSTITUTIONAL LAW

PROFESSORS BRUCE A. ACKERMAN, JACK M.

BALKIN, DERRICK A. BELL, JR., PAUL BREST,

EVAN CAMINKER, ERWIN CHEMERINSKY, DAVID

D. COLE, DAVID B. CRUZ, THOMAS C. GREY,

PAMELA S. KARLAN, KENNETH L. KARST,

ANDREW KOPPELMAN, SANFORD LEVINSON,

FRANK MICHELMAN, WILLIAM B. RUBENSTEIN,

STEVEN H. SHIFFRIN, GEOFFREY R. STONE, AND

KENJI YOSHINO IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

WILLIAM B. RUBENSTEIN PAMELA S. KARLAN

405 Hilgard Avenue Counsel of Record

Los Angeles, California 90095 559 Nathan Abbott Way

(310) 206-7145 Stanford, California 94305

(650) 725-4851

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. BECAUSE OF THE IMPORTANT INDI-

VIDUAL INTERESTS INVOLVED, THIS

' CASE CALLS FOR A LESS DEFERENTIAL

FORM OF RATIONALITY REVIEW

A. This Court Has Been More Likely to Find

Equal Protection Violations When Sig-

nificant Liberty Interests Are Involved,

Even When Those Interests Are Not Inde-

pendently Considered to Be Fundamental ...

. Statutes That Criminalize Private, Con-

sensual Homosexual Activity Interfere

With Significant Liberty Interests

. 1. Section 21.06 Interferes with the Inti-

x a mate Relationships of Lesbians, Gay

Men, and Bisexuals

. Section 21.06 Undermines the Parental

Relationships of Lesbians, Gay Men,

and Bisexuals

. Section 21.06 Restricts Employment

| Opportunities For Lesbians, Gay Men,

$ and Bisexuals

. Section 21.06 Threatens the Sanctity of

the Homes of Lesbians, Gay Men, and

Bisexuals

il ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page CASES Page

Il. SECTION 21.06 IS NOT RATIONALLY Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S.

RELATED TO A LEGITIMATE GOVERN- EE ee ae 5-6

MENT INTEREST .........::0eseeseeeeeeeerserseeneneenees 18 Anderson v. Martin, 375 U.S. 399 (1964)............... 6-7

A. Section 21.06 Does Not Serve a Legitimate Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 532 U.S. 318

Government Purpose........sseeereeeeeeereeeeeeerses 19 (GEES Porsexensonsnensusssnssesevensseestessnecesatescnescssescensevsens 26-27

Barnes v. Glen Theatre, Inc., 501 U.S. 560

B. Even If This Court Were To Find the SE eS 20

Presence of a Legitimate State Interest in Baker v. Wade, 553 F. Supp. 1121 (N.D. Tex.

This Case, Section 21.06 Still Would Not 1982), rev'd, 769 F.2d 289 (Sth Cir. 1985) (en

Be Rationally Related to Achieving That banc), cert. denied, 478 U.S. 1022 (1986).......... 4,23

PULPOSE........csceseseerereseensnennssnesensenetnenennenenenes 22 Baker v. Wade, 769 F.2d 289 (Sth Cir. 1985) (en

" banc), cert. denied, 478 U.S. 1022 (1986)......... 25

. “ oe aaa ge toony pea Bearden v. Georgia, 461 U.S. 660 (1983).............

Expressions of Constitutionally Imper- Blackburn v. Snow, 771 F.2d 556 (1st Cir. 1985). 28

missible AMiMUS..........sseeeessssssseeessesesee 24 Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986) ........... 2, 10

, Braschi v. Stahl Assoc. Co., 543 N.E.2d 49 (N.Y.

2. Vigorous Enforcement of Laws Like Ae Nn ae 13

Section 21.06 Would Involve Consti- Bush v. Gore, 531 U.S. 98 (2000) ....ccccccccccsssssseeoee 3,8

tutionally Repugnant Methods............... 26 City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, Inc..

seemnesentocutene 30 473 U.S. 432 (1985)............cccceeseeeeeeeed, 4, 9, 10, 18, 20

CONCLUSION ........csscccsssssseserereseresesereosnnees City of Dallas v. England, 846 $.W 24 (Tex. Cr

APPENDIX. .............cccccccsccesssesscssceosecsccsesessrenssssesssosnnsees la | en maeraeieneealaaemarins 16

City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc., 475

8 ee 20

Connecticut v. Doehr, 501 U.S. 1 (1991) .occcc.. 3

Cruzan v. Director, Missouri Dept. of Health,

nae 13

Department of Agriculture v. Moreno, 413 U.S.

ee 4,19

Department of Housing and Urban Development

v. Rucker, 122 S.Ct. 1230 (2002) .......cccccccccceeeees 23

Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972) ....cccccccce.

Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972).............. 12-13

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Ex parte D.W.W., 717 So.2d 793 (Ala. 1998)........ 14-15

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 US. 479

( 19GS) ..ccccceccesecesecesessecessoosscnsssossssssnssonssooooossess 18, 27-28

Head v. Newton, 596 S.W.2d 209 (Tex. Ct. Civ.

App. 1980) .....ccecvsseressenesnsnsnesnsnsnsnenenennensnenensnees 25, 27

Hill v. Colorado, 530 U.S. 703 (2000) ..........-e0-e0+ 12

Hunter v. Underwood, 471 U.S. 222 (1985).......... 22

Kyllo v. United States, 533 U.S. 27 (2001)... 17, 28

Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982) ........-v0-0+ 12

Lassiter v. Department of Social Services, 452

U.S. 18 (19B1)........cccceccccccsscsscssecssesersssnsnsessneesees 9

Lawrence vy. State, 41 S.W.3d 349 (Tex. Ct. App.

BOON ) cccecocecececceccsoccccsscnssessessosssnsssosssesssoososooosoooses 20

M_L.B. v. S.LJ., 519 U.S. 102 (1996) .......cccceeeneees 3,8,9

Mary Beth G. v. City of Chicago, 723 F.2d 1263

(7th Cir. 1983)........cccccccccccscesssrseeneseeneresnenssensenees 28

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976).......00++ 3

Mayer v. City of Chicago, 404 U.S. 189 (1971).... 9

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) ...--.----0++ 15

Michael M. v. Superior Court of Sonoma County,

450 U.S. 464 (1981) ....cccccccerseeesseeenenenennenennnnnene 20-21

Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S. 385 (1978)....----s-+e-0+ 17

Mississippi Univ. for Women v. Hogan, 458 US.

T1B (19B2) ..cccccocccscccsccccccsrcccesssccssssosorscssscsssossososs 6

Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 43\ U.S. 494

(1977) ..ccccorecescescccscescecseessssoesocssscsessosssssoosscsoooooses 13

National Coalition for Gay and Lesbian Equality

v. Minister of Justice, 1998 S.A.L.R. (S. Afr.

Const. Ct. Oct. 9, 1998) .......cccccceeeeeeeenennnenennnnnees 18

Nordlinger v. Hahn, SOS U.S. 1 (1992) ...-.-0---0-000 10

O’ Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 (1975)... 4, 19-20

Palmore v. Sidoti, 466 U.S. 429 (1984) ......c-eceeeees 21

Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, 413 US. 49

(1973) ..cccceccccscccccccccescecsrcesosssssscesoosesonssssoososoes 13, 17-18

ee

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573 (1980)... 17

Plumley v. Landmark Chevrolet, 122 F.3d 308

_~ -naaeagieD 25,27

Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982)...................... 3.7.8

Poe v. Ullman. 367 U.S. 497 (1961 )ooccscceeeseoscee.., 24, 26

olice Department Chi

US. 92 a oe se 3

Powell v. State, 510 S.E.2d 18 (Ga. 1998)... 12

Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. New York 336

U.S. 106 (1949) .occcecccccssssesssceeeeeeeeseece... 12

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71 (1971)... 7

Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660 (1962) Pe 22

Roe v. Roe, 324 §.E.2d 691 (Va. 1985)... 15

Rodriques v. Furtado, 950 F.2d 805 (ist Cir.

Shien . 2

Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 ( “=

Salinas v. Breier, 695 F.2d 1073 (7th Cir. 1982 )

cert. denied, 464 U.S. 835 (1983)................... . 2

San Antonio Independent School District y ;

Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973) coco... =<

Shahar v. Bowers, 114 F.3d 1097 (1ith Cir.

1997) (€M ANC) oceecccccscsessessssssseeeeeeeesssccce. ——

Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 ( 1969) cocccocssooee 17,21

State v. Morales, 869 S.W.2d 941 (Tex. 1994)... 24

Swain v. Spinney, 117 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 1997)......... 28

Thomas v. Bynum, 2002 WL 31829509 (Tex. Ct.

App. 4th Dist., Dec. 18, 2002) .occccccccccsscscsssssssee 25

Tucker v. Tucker, 910 P.2d 1209 (Utah 1996)... 15

United States v. Husband, 2002 USS. App .

LEXIS 22851 (7th Cir., Nov. 4, 2002) _ 28

United States v. Virginia, 518 U.S. 515 (1996)... 6

Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753 (1985)... 28-29

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

STATUTES Page

Ala. Code 1975, § 13A-6-65(a)(3)..........cccccceeeeeees 15

Ala. Code 1975, § 13A-6-G0(2) .........cccccccceeeeeeeneees 15

Colo. Const. Art. Il, § 30b (“Amendment 2”) ....... 10, 22

DO ) EE 17

Tex. Occupational Code, § 164.051(a)(2)(B)........ 17

Tex. Occupational Code, § 301.409(a)(1)(B)........ 17

, — EEE 26

. 8, fh) | 12

Tex. Penal Code § 21 .06............cc.sccccssssersrsserrereneees passim

Tex. Penal Code § 21.07(a)(2).............sececccceeeseeeees 21

Ne 21

Tex. Penal Code § 22.01 1(a)( 1) ...........ccccccceeeeeeeeees 21

Tex. Penal Code § 22.01 1(a)(2) .........ccccccceeeeeeeenees 21

Tex. Penal Code, art. 524 (adopted 1943) ............. 11

OTHER MATERIALS

Developments in the Law—Sexual Orientation

and the Law, 102 Harv. L. Rev. 1508 (1989)... 14

Robert C. Farrell, Successful Rational Basis

Claims in the Supreme Court from the 1971

Term Through Romer v. Evans, 32 Ind. L.

Rev. S57 (IDID) ncccccccseccesescrsccesssnvescssssssvessssesseses 6

Suzanne B. Goldberg, Equality Without Tiers, 57

U. Miami L. Rev. ____ (2003) .......-cccereeeeenenennes 6

Malcolm M. Feeley, The Process Is the Pun-

Le 26

Diana Hassel, The Use of Criminal Sodomy Laws

in Civil Litigation, 79 Tex. L. Rev. 813 (2001). 16

Nan D. Hunter, Life After Hardwick, 27 Harv.

C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 531 (1992) .....cccccceeeeneenennnens 11

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Christopher Leslie, Creating Criminals: The

Injuries Inflicted by “Unenforced” Sodomy

Laws, 35 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 103 (2000)... 16

Model Penal Code §213.2 Comment 2 (1962,

Comments Revised 1980) .........cccccccccccccccecceoeeee. 27, 29

William B. Rubenstein, Cases and Materials

on Sexual Orientation and The Law (2d ed.

1997)

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The law professors named below teach and write about

constitutional law. Both basic and advanced constitutional

law courses, as well as a wide range of scholarship on con-

stitutional issues, regularly consider the rights of gay men and

lesbians. Amici are among the many scholars who have spent

a considerable amount of time thinking, writing, and teaching

about the issues before the Court in this case. A selected list

of their scholarship on these issues is contained in an

Appendix to this brief.

Based on this expertise, and on careful review of this

Court's decisions, amici argue in this brief that Texas Penal

Code § 21.06 violates the equal protection clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment. Amici join this brief solely on their

own behalf and not as representatives of their universities. '

Amici are:

Bruce A. Ackerman, Sterling Professor of Law and

Political Science, Yale University

Jack M. Balkin, Knight Professor of Constitutional Law

and the First Amendment, Yale University

Derrick A. Bell, Jr., Visiting Professor of Law, New

York University :

Paul Brest, Professor of Law Emeritus, Stanford

University

Evan Caminker, Professor of Law, University of

Michigan

Erwin Chemerinsky, Sydney M. Irmas Professor of

Public Interest Law, Legal Ethics and Political Science,

University of Southern California

' The parties have consented to the filing of this brief. Their letters of

consent have been filed with the Clerk of this Court. Pursuant to this

Court's Rule 37.6, none of the parties authored this brief in whole or in

part and no one other than amici or counsel contributed money or services

to the preparation and submission of this brief.

2

David B. Cruz, Professor of Law & History, University

of Southern California

David D. Cole, Professor of Law, Georgetown

University

Thomas C. Grey, Nelson Bowman Sweitzer & Marie B.

Sweitzer Professor of Law, Stanford University

Pamela S. Karlan, Kenneth & Harle Montgomery

Professor of Public Interest Law, Stanford University

David G. Price & Dallas P. Price

Selameat pring oly University of California at

Los Angeles ae ;

, Associate Professor o w an

Polina ‘Soeee eee George C. Dix . Professor of

Constitutional Law, Northwestern University

Sanford Levinson, W. St. John Garwood & W. St. John

Garwood Jr. Regents Chair, University of Texas

Frank Michelman, Robert Walmsley University

Professor, Harvard University

William B. Rubenstein, Professor of Law, University of

California at Los Angeles

Steven H. Shiffrin, Professor of Law, Cornell University

Geoffrey R. Stone, Harry Kalven Jr. Distinguished

Service Professor, University of Chicago

Kenji Yoshino, Associate Professor of Law, Yale

University

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

e petition for certiorari presents the question whether

Pd Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986), should be over-

ruled. Amici support petitioners’ position. But this Court

need not reach that question—nor hold that heightened

scrutiny is required for statutes that discriminate on the basis

of sexual orientation—in order to conclude that Texas Penal

Code § 21.06 violates the equal protection clause. The statute

—

3

fails conventional equal protection analysis because it is

not rationally related to the achievement of a legitimate

State interest.

In equal protection cases, the nature of the interests

affected by a particular classification helps determine the

nature of this Court’s review. When classifications burden

rights protected by the Constitution as “fundamental,” this

Court applies heightened judicial scrutiny. See, e.g., Police

Department of Chicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972). When

classifications restrict the enjoyment of other liberty interests

unequally, by restricting the freedom of some citizens, but not

of others, the nature and importance of the interest involved

also weighs in the Court’s constitutional appraisal.” In cases

such as Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982), City of Cleburne

v. Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S. 432 (1985), Romer vy.

Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996), M.L.B. v. S.LJ., 519 U.S. 102

(1996), and Bush v. Gore, 531 U.S. 98 (2000), this Court has

found violations of the equal protection clause in part because

of the way in which the challenged state action infringed on

individuals’ ability to participate in the “transactions and

endeavors that constitute ordinary civic life in a free society.”

Romer, 517 U.S. at 631. :

Section 21.06 and statutes like it similarly affect important

liberties. The impact of these laws is not limited to those few

individuals who are actually convicted of violating them and

thus subject to the punishment and collateral consequences

that flow from a criminal conviction. Rather, these statutes

are used to undermine the “undeniably important” interest in

“family association,” M.L.B., 519 U.S. at 117, that gay people

possess. They are used to restrict employment opportunities

for gay people, even when individuals have never been

? Cf. Connecticut v. Doehr, 501 U.S. 1, 11 (1991) (taking into account

the nature of a real property owner’s “significant,” but nonfundamental,

interests in finding a violation of the due process clause test set forth in

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 335 (1976)).

4

charged with—let alone convicted of—violating any law.

And they impinge on important Fourth Amendment interests

in the privacy of the homes and persons of gay men, lesbians,

and bisexuals.

Part I of this brief sets out this Court’s longstanding

practice of considering the quality of the interests affected by

a particular classification, even when it is conducting ration-

ality review. It shows that the interests that § 21.06 impacts

are vitally important to the individuals involved and thus

counsel sensitive review.

Part II of this brief shows that § 21.06 is unconstitutional

because it is not sufficiently related to the achievement of any

legitimate government purpose. Section A demonstrates that

§ 21.06 does not even serve a legitimate government purpose.

This Court has squarely held that the straightforward desire to

harm a politically unpopular group cannot be a legitimate

governmental interest. Department of Agriculture v. Moreno,

413 U.S. 528 (1973); O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563

(1975); City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S.

432 (1985); Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996). Section

21.06 conveys precisely this form of intolerance. Texas has

identified no rationale for why it has condemned the acts

prohibited by § 21.06 beyond its lawyers’ declaration that the

law reflects a choice about the morality of those acts.’ Given

the way § 21.06 actually operates, it does not serve as a

means of preventing these acts. It can be explained only as a

means of singling out gay people for burdens not imposed on

other individuals. The law can and is used as an excuse to

persecute gay people, even if it is seldom directly enforced.

? In an earlier challenge to § 21.06, Texas's attorney general offered a

different defense of the law and did not claim that the statute promoted

morality. Baker v. Wade, 553 F. Supp. 1121, 1142 n.55 (N.D. Tex. 1982)

(quoting the brief filed by the attorney general), rev'd, 769 F.2d 289 (Sth

Cir. 1985) (en banc), cert. denied, 478 U.S. 1022 (1986).

5

Section B argues that even if this Court were to conclude

that respondent is entitled to express a moral judgment about

homosexuality, § 21.06 would still fail scrutiny under the

equal protection Clause because it is not rationally related to

achieving this purpose. The best evidence that the state’s

chosen means—criminalization—is not rationally related to

its end is that the state rarely ever employs these. means.

Thus, because § 21.06 is not actually enforced, it operates

only to express constitutionally impermissible animus. Yet

given the nature of the acts involved, if Texas were permitted

to enforce § 21.06 as a criminal statute, this would pose

unacceptable risks that constitutionally repugnant behavior

would occur in the course of enforcing the statute.

ARGUMENT

I, BECAUSE OF THE IMPORTANT INDIVIDUAL

INTERESTS INVOLVED, THIS CASE CALLS

FOR A LESS DEFERENTIAL FORM OF

RATIONALITY REVIEW

In reviewing state action under the equal protection clause,

this Court generally asks three questions: First, what is the

basis on which the government has distinguished among

individuals? Second, how weighty is the governmental inter-

est purportedly served by the challenged law or practice?

Third, how well does the challenged law or practice serve

that interest?

The answer to the first question channels the second and

third inquiries. In cases where the government has used a

Suspect or quasi-suspect criterion, such as race or sex, the

challenged law will survive equal protection review only if it

is closely related to a particularly significant government

purpose.” By contrast, in cases that do not involve a suspect

‘In cases involving racial classifications, this is generally expressed

as requiring that the challenged measure be “narrowly tailored” to achieve

6

or quasi-suspect classification, or a restriction on a “fun-

damental” interest, the challenged law will survive as long as

it is rationally related to a legitimate government purpose—a

more deferential standard.

It would be a serious misreading of this Court’s precedents

to conclude that rationality review is invariably toothless.

The Court has repeatedly struck down statutes using

rationality review. See generally Robert C. Farrell,

Successful Rational Basis Claims in the Supreme Court from

the 1971 Term Through Romer v. Evans, 32 Ind. L. Rev. 357,

370 (1999) (listing various examples); Suzanne B. Goldberg,

Equality Without Tiers, 57 U. Miami L. Rev. __ (2003)

(same). Some of these laws have run afoul of the purpose

prong of rationality review because they expressed nothing

more than prejudiced or stereotypical thinking about the

individuals involved. In other cases, where states were pur-

suing some legitimate purpose, classifications were nonethe-

less judged to be an ill-conceived means of achieving that

end. And often both the means and the ends are deemed

problematic: the cases in which the Court has most often

found that laws fail rationality review are those in which

concerns with the logic of a law’s means reinforce questions

about the legitimacy of its ends.”

7 lling governmental interests.” Adarand Constructors, Inc. v. Pena,

$15 US. 200, 227 (1995). In cases involving gender-based classifica-

tions, the defendant must provide an “exceedingly persuasive justifi-

cation for the challenged practice, United States v. Virginia, 318 U.S. 515,

533 (1996), by showing that the challenged law is at least substantially

related” to the achievement of “important governmental objectives,

Mississippi Univ. for Women v. Hogan, 458 U.S. 718, 724 (1982).

’ _ it is worth remembering that, until the emergence of three-

eamena protection in the mid-1970’s, the Court regularly employed

the language of rationality review even in race and gender cases. See,

e.g., Anderson v. Martin, 375 U.S. 399, 403 (1964) (striking down a

statute that required a candidate's race be indicated on the ballot because

it was not “reasonably designed to meet legitimate governmental interests

J

A. This Court Has Been More Likely to Find

Equal Protection Violations When Significant

Liberty Interests Are Involved, Even When

Those Interests Are Not Independently Consid-

ered to Be Fundamental

When the basis for a state’s decision on how to Classify

individuals is not a suspect or quasi-suspect one, the nature

of the interest at issue nonetheless helps to determine the

nature of the Court’s analysis. Where a state classification

unequally burdens a right deemed by the Constitution to be

fundamental, this Court applies heightened scrutiny. See,

e.g., Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 337 (1972) (applying

strict scrutiny under the equal protection clause to state laws

that deny some citizens the right to vote). In the absence of

such a fundamental right, the Court tends to defer to the state.

Yet this Court’s application of rationality review in equal

protection cases has been noticeably more assertive where the

Classification at issue unequally restricts individuals’ ability

to participate fully in one of the particularly significant

“transactions and endeavors that constitute ordinary civic life

in a free society.” Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. at 631. This is

true even when the interests involved are not themselves so

“fundamental” as to require heightened protection against

government restrictions that apply to all citizens alike.

In Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982), for example, this

Court confronted a Texas statute that authorized local school

districts to deny enrollment to children who were not legally

admitted to the United States. The Court rejected the claim

that “illegal aliens” are a suspect class entitled to heightened

scrutiny. Jd. at 219 n.19. It also recognized that public

in informing the electorate as to candidates”); Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71.

76 (1971) (striking down a statute that automatically preferred male to

female relatives as administrators of estates because it did not “bea[r] a

rational relationship to a state objective” but instead “ma{d]e the very kind

of arbitrary legislative choice forbidden by the Equal Protection Clause”).

8

education is not a fundamental “‘right’ granted to individuals

by the Constitution.” /d. at 221; see San Antonio Independent

School District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1, 35 (1973). None-

theless, the Court struck down the statute as 4 violation of the

equal protection clause, finding that the lasting impact on a

child’s life of denying him or her access to public education

distinguished education “from other forms of social welfare

legislation.” Plyler, 457 U.S. at 221.

Plyler is one of a number of cases in which ideas of

equality and liberty reinforce one another. Several of this

Court’s recent equal protection decisions follow a similar

pattern, striking down governmental decisions as violations of

the equal protection clause in part because of the importance

of the underlying interest affected, even when that interest

does not independently constitute a fundamental right. Most

recently, in Bush v. Gore, 531 U.S. 98 (2000) (per curiam),

this Court held that Florida’s use of different standards for

counting ballots during a statewide recount violated the equal

protection clause even though an “individual citizen has no

federal constitutional right to vote for electors for the

President of the United States.” /d. at 104. While the abstract

right to vote for electors was not itself a fundamental right,

this Court held that once the legislature has provided for

popular election, each voter is entitled to be treated with

“equal dignity.” /d. |

In MLB. v. SLJ., 519 U.S. 102 (1996), this Court

addressed the constitutionality of a go — o

i llants to prepay substantial costs in

aie os power The Court reiterated the longstanding

rule that the Constitution does not “independently require that

the State provide a right to appeal” judicial determinations.

Id. at 120, But, as the Court explained, in cases “concerning

access to judicial processes .. . . ‘due process and equal

protection principles converge.’” /d. (quoting Bearden v.

Georgia, 461 U.S. 660, 665 (1983)). In these cases,

this Court’s equal protection inquiry has repeatedly been

9

informed by the nature of the interest at issue in the

underlying judicial proceeding. In M.L.B., the underlying

case involved a parental termination proceeding. The interest

at issue was the appellant's relationship with her child.

Because parental “termination decrees ‘work a unique kind of

deprivation,’” 519 U.S. at 127 (quoting Lassiter vy. Depart-

ment of Social Services, 452 U.S. 18, 27 (1981)), the Court

held that it violated the equal protection clause to deny

M.L.B. the ability to appeal enjoyed by non-indigent parents.

M.L.B.’s reliance on Mayer v. City of C hicago, 404 U.S.

189 (1971), see M.L.B., 519 U.S. at 111-12 & 121-22, shows

how other, seemingly less draconian, deprivations of liberty

can also form the basis for finding equal protection violations.

Mayer involved an impecunious medical student who was

charged with disorderly conduct and interference with a

police officer—two non-felony, non-jailable offenses. Mayer

was convicted and given a $500 fine. He challenged the

state's refusal to provide him with a free trial transcript. This

Court held that the state's refusal to provide the transcript

violated the equal protection clause. As the M.L.B. Court

explained, even though Mayer faced no term of confinement.

the conviction “could affect his professional prospects and,

possibly, even bar him from the practice of medicine. . . . The

State's pocketbook interest . . . was unimpressive when

measured against the stakes for the defendant.” M.L.B.. 519

U.S. at 121.

In City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S.

432 (1985), this Court struck down an application of a munic-

ipal zoning regime that treated group homes for the mentally

retarded differently from other group living arrangements. It

held that the city’s decision reflected nothing beyond an

“irrational prejudice against the mentally retarded,” id. at 450,

which negatively affected their undeniably important interest

in living in the community, see id. at 438, 444 (opinion of

10

the Court); id. at 461 (Marshall, J., joined by Brennan and

Blackmun, JJ.) (describing the importance of group homes to

retarded individuals).

Finally, Romer itself offers a particularly salient example

of the way in which the nature of the liberty interests at stake

can inform rationality review under the equal protection

clause. The provision this Court struck down—Colo. Const.

Art. Il, § 30b (“Amendment 2”)}—interfered with gay peo-

ple’s “right to seek specific protection from the law.” Romer,

517 U.S. at 633. The way Amendment 2 foreclosed this right

was to wipe out protections gay people and their allies had

already achieved through the political system and to make

future gains impossible. Thus, Amendment 2 impaired the

ability of gay people to participate in one of the most

protected aspects of “civic life in a free society,” id. at 631—

concerted political activity to persuade elected officials to

adopt helpful policies. The impermissibility of the classifi-

cation Colorado drew was driven home by the extraordinary

way in which it disabled gay men, lesbians, and bisexuals.

The Romer decision also recognizes that gay people form

an identifiable class that cannot constitutionally be targeted

for status-based animus. /d. at 635. In so holding, the Court

implicitly acknowledged that one’s choice to identify as a gay

person implicates some species of liberty interest. This Court

was not required to overrule Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S:

186 (1986), to reach that conclusion. Romer is thus a good—

but hardly the only—example of how this Court's rationality

review varies with the importance of the individual inter-

ests involved.

In short, just as this Court's rationality review has been

“especially deferential” in some contexts, such as “classifi-

cations made by complex tax laws,” Nord/inger v. Hahn, SOS

U.S. 1, 11 (1992), it has been noticeably more vigorous in

contexts where the classification touches upon important

individual interests. And Romer shows that one of those

and bisexuals in Texas a ri

in Texas, “because the al i

e | y already have [it], R ,

S. at 631—the right to make decisions about Boner

their private, consensual sex

» COF ual relationships with other

free from state interference. Until a —

ion against gay men, lesbians,

on their ability to Participate as

contexts involves discriminat

and bisexuals that touches

equal citizens in daily life.

ate, Consensual

Activity Interfere With Significant

| But

Operates in a quite similar fashion. Like jaan 2

§ 21.06 strips gay men, lesbians, and bisexuals of “the safe-

} Oe , (OF may seek without constraint.”

many A sa ya against exclusion from an peweor—ard

a rer of transactions and endeavors that constit

nary civic life in a free society.” Romer, 517 US. at 631,

At the most basic level,

12

partners of the same sex. The heterosexual majority, by

contrast, has the right to engage in precisely the same acts—

defined by Texas law as “(A) any contact between any part of

the genitals of one person and the mouth or anus of another

person; or (B) the penetration of the genitals or the anus of

another person with an object,” Tex. Penal Code § 21.01(1)}—

without fear of criminal punishment and the ensuing civil and

social disabilities that come from being branded a criminal.°

Section 21.06 is a paradigmatic example of the evil that

concerned Justice Robert Jackson in his often-cited concur-

rence in Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. New York, 336 U.S.

106 (1949):

The framers of the Constitution knew, and we should not

forget today, that there is no more effective practical

guaranty against arbitrary and unreasonable government

than to require that the principles of law which officials

would impose upon a minority must be imposed gen-

erally. Conversely, nothing opens the door to arbitrary

action so effectively as to allow those officials to pick

and choose only a few to whom they will apply legis-

lation and thus to escape the political retribution that

might be visited upon them if larger numbers were

affected. Courts can take no better measure to assure that

laws will be just than to require that laws be equal

in Operation.

Id. at 112-13 (Jackson, J., concurring); see also Hill v.

Colorado, 530 U.S. 703, 731 (2000); Larson v. Valente, 456

U.S. 228, 245-46 (1982); Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438,

° The Texas statute differs in this significant respect from the Georgia

statute at issue in Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986), which

applied to acts of oral or anal sex regardless of the identity of the

participants. When confronted with a case where that statute was applied

to participants of the opposite sex, the Georgia Supreme Court declared

the statute unconstitutional in its entirety as a matter of state law, Powell

v. State, 510 S.E.2d 18 (Ga. 1998), and the Georgia Legislature did not

attempt to replace the statute with one covering only homosexual activity.

SE ee

13

454-55 (1972); cf. Cruzan v. Director, Missouri Dept. of

Health, 497 U.S. 261, 300 (1990) (Scalia, J., concurring)

(“Our salvation is the Equal Protection Clause, which

requires the democratic majority to accept for themselves and

their loved ones what they impose on you and me.”)

By interfering with the interest gay people share with all

other adults in making choices about their private consensual

sexual activity, § 21.06 also interferes with the relationships

gay couples develop. As this Court has long acknowledged,

sexual intimacy contributes to “a sensitive, key relationship

of human existence, central to family life, community

welfare, and the development of human personality.” Paris

Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49, 63 (1973). This is true

for gay people no less than for heterosexuals.

Gay people form couples and create families that engage in

the full range of everyday activities, from the most mundane

to the most profound. They shop, cook, and eat together,

celebrate the holidays together, and share one another's

families. They make financial and medical decisions for one

another. They rely on each other for companionship and sup-

port. See generally Braschi v. Stahl Assoc. Co., 543 N.E.2d

49 (N.Y. 1989) (finding that a gay couple constituted a

family). Many gay couples share “the duties and the satis-

factions of a common home.” Moore v. City of East Cleve-

land, 431 U.S. 494, 505 (1977) (plurality opinion).’

Section 21.06 denies gay men and lesbians the discrete,

undeniably important right all other adults in Texas enjoy to

"The Moore plurality’s understanding of what “family” meant was

informed by census data “bear{ing] out the importance of family patterns

other than the prototypical nuclear family,” including the fact that a rising

number “of all families contained one or more members over 18 years of

age, other than the head of household and spouse.” /d. at 504 n.14.

Similarly, this Court’s consideration of § 21.06 should be informed by

data from the 2000 census showing that nearly 43,000 same-sex couples

live together in Texas.

14

control the nature of their intimate relationships. Because of

this alone, § 21.06 warrants the kind of sensitive scrutiny that

this Court accorded the state’s practices in cases like Plyler,

Cleburne, M.L.B., and Romer. Yet this is not the sole liberty

interest impacted by § 21.06.

2. Section 21.06 Undermines the Parental

Relationships of Lesbians, Gay Men, and

Bisexuals

This Court has long recognized that parents’ relationships

with their children are “undeniably important,” M.L.B., 519

U.S. at 117. Thus, under the equal protection clause, when

states intrude on family relationships, this Court “has exam-

ined closely and contextually the importance of the govern-

mental inte st advanced in defense of the intrusion.” /d.

at 116.

Courts in most states have recognized that sexual orien-

tation is unrelated to parenting ability. Thus, they have

generally rejected the view that sexual orientation can be used

to curtail a parent's relationship with his or her children. See

William B. Rubenstein, Cases and Materials on Sexual Orien-

tation and The Law 810-11 (2d ed. 1997); Developments in

the Law—Sexual Orientation and The Law, 102 Harv. L.

Rev. 1508, 1636 (1989).

However, courts in states with sodomy laws unreasonabl y

rely on these laws to restrict parental rights. For example, in

Ex parte D.W.W., 717 So.2d 793 (Ala. 1998), the Alabama

Supreme Court upheld restrictions on a divorced mother’s

visitation with her children. The trial court ordered that the

mother’s visits take place only under the supervision of the

children’s grandparents. Part of the court’s basis for restrict-

ing the mother’s visitation rights was the Court’s observation

that “the conduct inherent in lesbianism is illegal in Alabama.

.. . R.W., therefore, is continually engaging in conduct that

15

violates the criminal law of this state.” /d. at 796." Similarly,

in Tucker v. Tucker, 910 P.2d 1209 (Utah 1996), one of the

bases for the trial court’s determination to award custody to

the father was the fact that the mother was in a “monogamous

intimate relationship” with another woman. /d. at 1213. The

trial court found that this conduct “demonstrates a lack of

moral example to the child and a lack of moral fitness. This

conduct is unlawful in the State of Utah.” /d. And in Roe v.

Roe, 324 S.E.2d 691 (Va. 1985), the Virginia Supreme Court

concluded that a gay father was unfit for joint custody

because “the conduct inherent in the father’s relationship is

punishable as a class six felony” and his behavior meant that

“the conditions under which this child must live daily are . . .

unlawful.” /d. at 694.

In these, and many similar cases, the mere existence of

sodomy laws directly affected gay people's parenting rights.

3. Section 21.06 Restricts Employment Opportw

nities For Lesbians, Gay Men, and Bisexuals

The right of an individual “to engage in any of the common

occupations of life” is part of the liberty guaranteed by the

Fourteenth Amendment. Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390,

399 (1923). Even though access to government employment

is not a fundamental right entitled to protection under the

substantive component of the due process clause, it is

nonetheless an important interest for many individuals. Here,

too, statutes like § 21.06 have been used to restrict the

opportunities of gay men, lesbians, and bisexuals.

* The statute cited by the Court, Ala. Code 1975, § 13A-6-65(a)(3),

defined the crime of “sexual misconduct” to include consensual “deviate

sexual intercourse.” Alabama defines “deviate sexual intercourse” to

include “[a)ny act of sexual gratification between persons not married to

each other involving the sex organs of one person and the mouth or anus

of another.” Ala. Code 1975, § 13A-6-60(2).

16

The Dallas Police Department, for example, has had a

policy of denying jobs to applicants ho have engaged in

violations of § 21.06, without regard to whether they have

ever been charged with, or convicted of, any crime. See City

of Dallas v. England, 846 S.W.2d 957, 958 (Tex. Ct. App.

1993). By contrast, the department did not disqualify from

consideration heterosexual applicants who engaged in oral or

anal sex.

Similarly, in Shahar v. Bowers, 114 F.3d 1097 (11™ Cir.

1997) (en banc), the Eleventh Circuit concluded that the state

attorney general could rescind a job offer to an attorney

who had received excellent evaluations as a summer intern

because she participated in a religious marriage ceremony

with another woman. The court of appeals found the rescis-

sion justified because “reasonable persons may suspect that

having a Staff Attorney who is part of a same-sex ‘marriage’

is the same thing as having a Staff Attorney who violates the

State’s law against homosexual sodomy.” /d. at 1105 n.17.

Thus, the court of appeals found it unnecessary to decide

whether the plaintiff “has engaged in sodomy within the

meaning of Georgia law.” Jd. The mere existence of a

sodomy law became the legal justification for Shahar’s dis-

charge. See generally Diana Hassel, The Use of Criminal

Sodomy Laws in Civil Litigation, 79 Tex. L. Rev. 813, 828-

33, 835-38 (2001) (discussing cases in which courts or

employers presume violations of sodomy statutes from a

litigant’s or applicant’s sexual orientation); Christopher

Leslie, Creating Criminals: The Injuries Inflicted by “Unen-

forced” Sodomy Laws, 35 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 103

(2000) (discussing the various ways in which formally unen-

forced sodomy statutes lead to discriminatory treatment of

gay people generally).

Moreover, individuals who are actually convicted of violat-

ing consensual sodomy statutes can find their ability to pur-

sue their careers sharply curtailed by state licensing laws that

deny individuals with criminal convictions, even convictions

17

for misdemeanors like § 21.06, the right to practice certain

professions. In Texas, for example, persons convicted of

violating § 21.06 may lose their license to practice as a

physician or registered nurse, see Tex. Occupational Code,

§§ 164.051(a)(2)(B), 301.409(a)(1)(B), or their jobs as school

bus drivers, Tex. Educ. Code § 22.084(b),(d).

4. Section 21.06 Threatens The Sanctity of the

Homes of Lesbians, Gay Men, and Bisexuals -

An “overriding respect for the sanctity of the home . . . has

been embedded in our traditions since the origins of the

Republic.” Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573, 601 (1980).

This value finds its most explicit expression in the Fourth

Amendment, which “reflects the view of those who wrote the

Bill of Rights that the privacy of a person’s home and prop-

erty may not be totally sacrificed in the name of maximum

simplicity in enforcement of the criminal law.” Mincey v.

Arizona, 437 U.S. 385, 393 (1978). As this Court recently

reemphasized, “[iJn the home, . . . all details are intimate

details, because the entire area is held safe from prying

government eyes.” Kyllo v. United States, 533 U.S. 27,

37 (2001)

Fourth Amendment values not only play a role in deciding

how police may conduct investigations. They also limit the

conduct the state may criminalize. Stanley v. Georgia, 394

U.S. 557 (1969), shows that concerns about the privacy of the

home can limit a state’s ability to criminalize behavior that

implicates an individual’s “right to satisfy his intellectual and

emotional needs in the privacy of his own home.” /d. at 565.

See Paris Adult Theatre, 413 U.S. at 66 (explaining that

Stanley cannot be justified solely on the basis of First

Amendment interests, since Stanley was charged with

possession of constitutionally unprotected obscene materials).

As this Court observed in Paris Adult Theatre, “marital inter-

course On a street corner or a theater stage” is simply a

18

different act than sexual intimacy that takes place within the

specially protected confines of the home. /d. at 66 n.13; see

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965).

Statutes that make consensual homosexual conduct a crime

even when it occurs within an individual’s home clearly deny

gay men, lesbians, and bisexuals the ability to pursue their

most intimate relationships in the privacy of their own homes.

Moreover, by-making behavior in the home a crime, these

statutes authorize wholesale intrusion into the homes of gay

men, lesbians, and bisexuals, as amici explain in Section

I1.B.2 of this brief.

* * *

In National Coalition for Gay and Lesbian Equality v.

Minister of Justice, 1998 S.A.L.R. (Const. Ct. Oct. 9, 1998)

(No. 11/98) <http: www.law.wits.ac.za/judgements/1998/

gayles.html>, Justice Albie Sachs of the South African

Constitutional Court offered in his concurrence a particularly

eloquent articulation of the relationship between liberty and

equality that is also at issue here:

The fact is that both from the point of view of the

persons affected, as well as from that of society as a

whole, equality and privacy cannot be separated,

because they are both violated simultaneously by anti-

sodomy laws. In the present matter, such laws deny

equal respect for difference, which lies at the heart of

equality, and become the basis for the invasion of

privacy. At the same time, the negation by the state of

different forms of intimate personal behavior becomes

the foundation for the repudiation of equality.

Il. SECTION 21.06 IS NOT RATIONALLY RE-

LATED TO A LEGITIMATE GOVERNMENT

INTEREST

Section 21.06 fails rationality review for at least two rea-

sons. First, like the zoning decision in Cleburne Living

Center, 473 U.S. at 450, or the constitutional provision in

19

Romer, 517 U.S. at 634, § 21.06 reflects nothing more than

“irrational prejudice against,” or “animosity toward the class

of persons affected.” Under the circumstances of this case,

§ 21.06 cannot reasonably be viewed as directed at a legiti-

mate government interest in promoting private sexual moral-

ity. Second, even if this Court were to conclude that promo-

tion of private sexual morality can serve as a legitimate

government purpose, § 21.06 is not a permissible means for

pursuing that goal. Like the statutes at issue in Mayer,

MLJ., and Stanley, § 21.06 unjustifiably interferes with

significant individual freedoms. Thus, this Court can strike

down § 21.06 without deciding whether classifications based

on sexual orientation are inherently suspect or quasi-suspect.”

A. Section 21.06 Does Not Serve a Legitimate

Government Purpose

Respondent defends § 21.06 solely on the grounds that it

reflects the Legislature’s conclusion that sexual intimacy

between same-sex partners is immoral. See Brief in Opposi-

tion at 16. But that bare assertion cannot end this Court’s

inquiry into the state’s purpose, because not all moral judg-

ments embody legitimate state goals. In particular, a so-

called moral judgment that is utterly indistinguishable from

“a bare . . . desire to harm a politically unpopular group

cannot constitute a legitimate governmental interest.” Romer,

517 U.S. at_634 (quoting Department of Agriculture v.

Moreno, 413 U.S. 528, 534 (1973)). See also O’Connor v.

Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563, 575 (1975) (“May the State fence

in the harmless mentally ill solely to save its citizens from

exposure to those whose ways are different? One might as

well ask if the State, to avoid public unease, could incarcerate

all who are physically unattractive or socially eccentric. Mere

” Of course, if this Court were to hold that § 21.06 should be subjected

to heightened scrutiny under either the equal protection clause or the due

process clause, amici’s argument would apply with even greater force.

20

public intolerance or animosity cannot constitutionally justify

the deprivation of a person’s physical liberty.”). When a

challenged law or practice reflects “mere negative attitudes,

or fear,” Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S. at 448, or is “inex-

plicable by anything but animus toward the class it affects,”

Romer, 517 U.S. at 632, it lacks a legitimate purpose.

While most criminal laws involve moral choices, in the

mine run of cases, the moral intuition that drives the

legislature to make particular behavior a crime involves some

sense that the conduct at issue causes tangible harm. Put

somewhat differently, in most cases, there is a clear answer to

the question “Why does the legislature consider this conduct

immoral?” beyond the blanket assertion “Because it does.”

The examples pointed to by the Texas Court of Appeals

simply underscore this point. To say that “the Legislature has

outlawed behavior ranging from murder to prostitution pre-

cisely because it has deemed these activities to be immoral,”

Lawrence v. State, 41 S.W.3d 349, 354 (Tex. Ct. App. 2001),

ignores the fact that the legislature deemed those activities to

be immoral for a reason. The obvious reason why the state

outlaws murder is to protect the lives of potential victims.

The reasons why states outlaw prostitution surely include the

effects prostitution has on public order in neighborhoods

where it occurs. Cf. City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres,

Inc., 475 U.S. 41, 47 (1986) (finding that a city’s zoning

ordinance regarding the locations of adult theaters was

designed to address various “secondary effects” such as

increased crime, decreased retail trade and property values,

and the quality of urban life).

As the decision in Renton suggests, even with respect to

crimes that involve judgments about sexual morality, this

Court has generally pointed to purposes beyond simple

expressions of moral outrage. See, e.g., Barnes v. Glen

Theatre, Inc., 501 U.S. 560, 569 (1991) (emphasis added)

(“This and other public indecency statutes were designed to

protect morals and public order.”); Michael M. v. Superior

21

Court of Sonoma County, 450 U.S. 464, 469-70 (1981)

(plurality opinion of Rehnquist, J.) (holding, after noting that

legislators might have been concerned about “protecting

young females from . . . the loss of ‘chastity,’ and . . . pro-

moting various religious and moral attitudes towards premari-

tal sex” that a California statutory rape law was properly

sustained because of the state’s strong interest in deterring

teenage pregnancy). When those public effects are absent,

this Court has been far more skeptical of the state’s asserted

interests. In Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969), for

example, the Court held that a state’s power to punish the

public distribution of constitutionally unprotected, obscene

material did not permit it to punish the private possession of

such material within an individual’s home.

In this case, respondent points to no reason why private,

consensual homosexual conduct between adults is immoral

and should be made a crime. It does not argue that the con-

duct at issue harms third parties in some tangible fashion. It

does not argue that private consensual homosexual conduct

creates threats to public order or brings in its wake other

criminal behavior. It does not argue that § 21.06 is tied to

any concrete harm.'° The obvious explanation for § 21.06 is

that it reflects popular disapproval of gay people. “Private

biases may be outside the reach of the law, but the law

cannot, directly or indirectly, give them effect.” Palmore v.

Sidoti, 466 U.S. 429, 433 (1984).

Respondent recognizes that after Romer, straightforward

animus against gay men, lesbians, and bisexuals is impermis-

sible. But it tries to distinguish § 21.06 by claiming Colo-

rado’s Amendment 2, was “based upon sexual orientation,”

Brief in Opposition at 18 (emphasis in original), while

° Other criminal statutes, which apply to heterosexual and homosex-

ual conduct alike, prohibit public sexual activity, Tex. Penal Code

§ 21.07(aX(2), nonconsensual sexual activity, id. § 22.011(a)(1), and sex-

ual activity involving minors, id. §§ 22.01 1(a)(2), 21.11.

22

§ 21.06 “is directed at certain conduct, not at a class of

people.” /d. at 12. The fact that § 21.06 is phrased in terms

of conduct does not undermine the conclusion that it tar-

gets—in a similar manner—the same class that was targeted

in Romer. While the Romer Court referred to the class as

“homosexual persons or gays and lesbians,” Amendment 2

literally prohibited claims of protection based on “homo-

sexual, lesbian or bisexual orientation, conduct, practices or

relationships” as well. Romer, 517 U.S. at 624 (emphasis

added).

Texas’s attempt to call this a conduct regulation fails for

another reason. The Eighth Amendment prohibits states from

criminalizing a particular status in the absence of “any

antisocial behavior.” Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 060,

666 (1962). Because a state therefore cannot make it a crime

to “be gay,” a state with that motive will try to circumvent the

Constitution by crafting a law that makes it a crime to engage

in behaviors correlated with being gay. That is in essence

what Texas did here. But it is a charade the Court has not

tolerated in other cases. See, e.g., Hunter v. Underwood, 471

U.S. 222, 227, 232 (1985) (finding that an Alabama statute

that disenfranchised individuals convicted of certain misde-

meanors of “moral turpitude” was in fact purposefully dis-

criminatory because “the crimes selected for inclusion . . .

were believed by the [drafters] to be more frequently com-

mitted by blacks”). Thus, § 21.06 fails a critical aspect of any

rational basis test: it does not advance a legitimate state

objective.

B. Even If This Court Were To Find the Presence

of a Legitimate State Interest in This Case,

Section 21.06 Still Would Not Be Rationally

Related to Achieving That Purpose

Respondent itself acknowledges that not all penalties or

burdens imposed on individuals who engage in homosexual

23

conduct can survive even rationality review. After arguing

that the state has a legitimate interest in “implementing

morality,” it observes that

A statute which, say, prohibited practicing homosexuals

from attending public schools would not be rationally

related to that permissible state goal, and would violate

the Equal Protection Clause; but a statute imposing

criminal liability upon only those persons who actually

engage in homosexual conduct is perfectly tailored to

implement the communal belief that the conduct is

wrong and should be discouraged.

Brief in Opposition at 19. What respondent fails to recognize

is that if the hypothetical school-exclusion statute is uncon-

Stitutional, it is not because it is less well tailored than § 21.06

to “implement[ing] the communal belief that the conduct is

wrong and should be discouraged.” Given the centrality

of public education to one’s membership in the community,

surely exclusion of “practicing homosexuals”—a group

essentially indistinguishable from “persons who engage in

homosexual conduct”—would convey the communal belief

that homosexuality is wrong quite well. And a statute pro-

hibiting practicing homosexuals from attending public

schools would seem to discourage homosexual conduct at

least as much as the unenforced § 21.06 does. Cf. Depart-

ment of Housing and Urban Development v. Rucker, 122

s.Ct. 1230, 1235 (2002) (finding that the threat of being

evicted from public housing for drug-related conduct could

help to deter such activity). Rather, the reason the hypo-

thetical school-exclusion statute fails rationality review is

because the price it exacts is unacceptably high. So too,

making private, consensual homosexual conduct a crime is a

constitutionally inappropriate means to any permissible end.

24

1. Nonenforcement of Statutes Like Section

21.06 Transforms Them Into Expressions of

Constitutionally Impermissible Animus

The state of Texas rarely enforces § 21.06. Indeed, in a

civil action challenging the constitutionality of § 21.06,

Texas's highest cour ruled that the plaintiffs lacked standing

because they coulda show no threat of imminent enforcement.

State v. Morales, 869 S.W.2d 941, 942 (Tex. 1994). The

court premised this conclusion on “the Attorney General's

contention that § 21.06 has not been, and in all probability

will not be, enforced against private consensual conduct

between adults.” Id.""

In light of the record of pervasive indifference to enforce-

ment of § 21.06, it is impossible to credit respondent's

assertion that the statute reflects a societal interest of any

kind, moral or other, in preventing private, consensual sexual

activity between same-sex partners. See Poe v. Ullman, 367

U.S. 497, 554 (1961) (Harlan, J., dissenting) (“To me the very

circumstance that Connecticut has not chosen to press the

enforcement of this statute against individual users, while it

nevertheless persists in asserting its right to do so at any

time—in effect a right to hold this statute as an imminent

threat to the privacy of the households of the State—conduces

to the inference either that it does not consider the policy of

the statute a very important one, or that it does not regard the

'' It is important to recognize that the reason Texas's Homosexual

Conduct Law is seldom enforced is not because it is seldom violated.

There are probably around one million gay or lesbian individuals in

Texas. See Baker v. Wade, 553 F. Supp. at 1129 (explaining this esti-

mate). Thus, there are millions of violations of § 21.06 every year. None-

theless, the state apparently makes virtually no effort to detect and

prosecute violations of § 21.06. In this case, for example, petitioners were

discovered only because police officers went to petitioner Lawrence's

house to investigate what turned out to be a criminally misleading report

about a weapons disturbance.

25

means it has chosen for its effectuation as appropriate or

necessary.”). Indeed, in an earlier case challenging § 21.06,

the Attomey General of Texas withdrew his appeal of a

district court decision striking down § 21.06, leaving only a

single county prosecutor to defend (successfully) the statute.

See Baker v. Wade, 769 F.2d at 291.

But if the state makes virtually no effort to enforce the

—s the ny Feege for its presence on the books is

it stays to express animus inst people.

Given the way these laws function ty ont supra

Section I.B., the government and the public read § 21.06 as

an endorsement of discrimination against gay people. Thus,

the major function § 21.06 serves is to brand all gay men and

lesbians as immoral criminals.

Lest there be any doubt about this message, consider how

the Texas law of defamation treats false allegations of homo-

sexuality. In Plumley v. Landmark Chevrolet, 122 F.3d 308

(Sth Cir. 1997), Hamilton, a salesman at the defendant truck

dealership, called Plumley, a potential customer, a “fucking

faggot.” /d. at 310. In Plumley’s subsequent slander suit, the

Fifth Circuit held that Plumley was not required to prove

special damages because “when Hamilton called Plumley a

‘faggot,’ Hamilton imputed the crime of sodomy to Plumley.

Therefore, the alleged remark is slander per se,” id. at 311.

See also Head v. Newton, 596 S.W.2d 209, 210 (Tex. Ct. Civ.

App. 1980) (calling someone “homosexual” or “queer” is

slanderous per se because it imputes a crime even though that

crime is rs pment imprisonment). The Texas courts

continue is very day to equate being with being a.

criminal. See Thomas v. Bynum, 2002 wi 51820600 Cte

Ct. App. 4th Dist., Dec. 18, 2002) (reaffirming Head).

Under these circumstances, the decision to keep § 21.06 on

the books reveals that Texas is using the means of the crim-

inal law not to interdict conduct but solely to make a

statement that the Constitution does not permit the state to

26

make—namely that gay men, lesbians, and bisexuals are

an inherently unworthy class “unequal to everyone else.

Romer, 517 U.S. at 635.

2. Vigorous Enforcement of Laws Like Section

21.06 Would Involve Constitutionally Repug-

nant Methods

Although the means of the criminal law are rarely em-

ployed to enforce the edict of § 21.06, the availability of the

awesome state power that flows from criminalizing particular

behavior offers an alternative reason for striking down

§ 21.06. If the state can make private, consensual homo-

sexual behavior a crime, then it can also deploy all the

incidental machinery of the criminal law, [including custo-

dial] arrests, searches and seizures,” Poe v. Uliman, 367 U.S.

at 548 (Harlan, J., dissenting).

This Court’s recent decision in Atwater v. City of Lago

Vista, 532 U.S. 318 (2001), drives home the ge § —

imposes. Like Mrs. Atwater, petitioners in this case

subjected to a custodial arrest, with the attendant loss of

liberty and “pointless indignity,” id. at 373 (O’Connor, J.,

dissenting), for a non-jailable offense. They were forced to

spend the night in jail, despite the fact that the maximum

statutorily authorized penalty for violating § 21.06 is a $500

fine. See Tex. Penal Code § 12.23. Their experience shows

that law enforcement personnel or prosecutors who have the

kind of “negative attitudes” or “irrational prejudice that

Cleburne held to be constitutionally illegitimate can unilat-

erally impose a punishment on gay people that the Texas

Legislature never authorized. In short, as the title of Malcolm

M. Feeley’s classic book puts it, The Process Is The Punish-

ment (1979). And because upholding § 21.06 necessarily

requires holding that the state can treat gay men, lesbians and

bisexuals differently from all other citizens, the fact that anti-

gay prejudice motivated a particular officer or department s

decision to enforce § 21.06 would be irrelevant. Cf. Atwater,

27

532 U.S. at 372 (O'Connor, J., dissenting) (explaining that

“unbounded discretion” to carry out full custodial arrests

“carries with it grave potential for abuse” and that “the

relatively small number of published cases dealing with such

arrests proves little and should provide little solace,”

especially given problems with discriminatory enforcement).

The commentary to the American Law Institute’s Model

Penal Code identified precisely these dangers several decades

ago: to the extent that laws like § 21.06 “are enforced against

private conduct between consenting adults, the result is

episodic and capricious selection of an infinitesimal fraction

of offenders for severe punishment. This invitation to arbi-

trary enforcement not only offends notions of fairness and

horizontal equity, but it also creates unwarranted opportunity

for private blackmail and official extortion.” Model Penal

Code §213.2 Comment 2 (1962, Comments Revised 1980).

If § 21.06 is a valid criminal statute, there are other perhaps

even more constitutionally repugnant methods of enforcing

the law than simply confining defendants overnight until they

can be arraigned. As noted above, the 2000 U.S. Census

reports nearly 43,000 same-sex cohabiting couples in Texas.

A vindictive or bigoted law enforcement officer or prosecutor

could perhaps quite easily establish probable cause to believe

that these couples, or any openly gay or lesbian individuals,

have engaged in violations of § 21.06, especially given the

presumption, as a matter of Texas law, that homosexuals

violate § 21.06. See, e.g., Plumley, 122 F.3d at 310; Head v.

Newton, 596 S.W.2d at 210. If they can establish probable

cause, police or prosecutors can obtain search warrants to

enter individuals’ homes and search their personal effects for

incriminating evidence. In Griswold, 381 U.S. at 485-86, one

of the considerations that influenced this Court’s holding that

Connecticut could not criminalize the use of contraceptives

was the prospect that otherwise the Court would be required

to “allow the police to search the sacred precincts of marital

bedrooms for telltale signs of the use of contraceptives,” an

28

idea “repulsive to the notions of privacy surrounding the

marriage relationship.” The idea is no less repulsive if the

police are searching the bedrooms of gay and bisexual

individuals for telltale signs of sexual activity. As this Court:

recognized in Kyllo, 533 U.S. at 37, “[iJn the home, .. . all

details are intimate details, because the entire area is held safe

from prying government eyes.”

Other cases suggest that police might be justified in even

more intrusive searches of individuals themselves. Courts of

appeals have repeatedly recognized that body cavity searches

and “strip searches involving the visual inspection of the anal

and genital areas [are] demeaning, dehumanizing, undigni-

fied, humiliating, terrifying, unpleasant, embarrassing, repul-

sive, signifying degradation and submission.” Mary Beth G.

v. City of Chicago, 723 F.2d 1263, 1272 (7th Cir. 1983)

(internal quotation marks omitted). See also Blackburn v.

Snow, 771 F.2d 556, 564 (ist Cir. 1985); Swain v. Spinney,

117 F.3d 1, 6-7 (1st Cir. 1997). But they have nonetheless

allowed them in a variety of circumstances. For example, in

Rodriques v. Furtado, 950 F.2d 805, 810-11 (1st Cir. 1991),

the court of appeals upheld a warrant authorizing a vaginal

search for drugs in light of informants’ statements that they

had overheard the target saying that she sometimes hid drugs

in her vagina. In Salinas v. Breier, 695 F.2d 1073, 1085 (7th

Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 835 (1983), the court of

appeals held that the police were entitled to conduct strip and

body cavity searches without warrants of an entire family

taken into custody on the basis of an arrest warrant for the

father because they had probable cause to believe that a

controlled substance was hidden in at least one of the family

members’ rectums or vaginas. Most recently, in United

States v. Husband, 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS 22851 (7th Cir.,

Nov. 4, 2002), the court of appeals upheld a search in which,

after a suspect refused to open his mouth, the police had him

anesthetized and rendered unconscious in order to remove

evidence from his mouth. See also Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S.

29

753, 759, 760 (1985) (providing that “compelled surgical

intrusion into an individual's body for evidence . . . .

on a case-by-case approach, in which the individual’s inter-

ests in privacy and security are weighed against society’s

interests in conducting the procedure”).

The most objective physical evidence of a violation of

§ 21.06 would surely be the presence of the saliva or semen

of one person on (or in) his or her partner’s body. Forcing a

Suspect to submit to a strip search, cavity search, or other

intrusion to retrieve this evidence, no matter how probative,

of an act that Texas has chosen to treat as a misdemeanor

subject to a $500 fine would be constitutionally repugnant.

As the commentary to the Model Penal Code observes, “the

methods available to the police for enforcing such laws

involve tactics which are often unseemly, and which, by their

very nature, stretch the limits of constitutionality.” Model

Penal Code §213.2 Comment 2 (1962, Comments Revised

1980). But the availability of such enforcement measures

flows almost ineluctably from the conclusion that states can

enforce notions of morality by criminalizing the harmless

conduct at issue in this case. Though respondent has argued

that it is entitled to make the moral choice that underlies

§ 21.06, nothing in its argument suggests that it should be

entitled to deploy the full panoply of criminal law enforce-

ment against citizens who have engaged in private, consen-

sual homosexual acts. That is an irrational and impermissible

response.

30

CONCLUS‘(ON

For the foregoing reasons, amivi urge this Court to reverse

the decision of the Texas Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM B. RUBENSTEIN PAMELA S. KARLAN

405 Hilgard Avenue Counsel of Record

Los Angeles, California 90095 559 Nathan Abbott Way

(310) 206-7145 Stanford, California 94305

(650) 725-4851

Counsel for Amici Curiae

la

APPENDIX

Selected Bibliography of Amici’s Scholarship

This is a selected list of amici’s _— about equality

and the Constitution.

Bruce A. Ackerman, Levels of Generality in Constitutional

Interpretation: Liberating Abstraction, 49 U. Chi. L. Rev. 317

(1992)

Bruce A. Ackerman, Beyond Carolene Products, 98 Harv. L.

Rev. 713 (1985)

Jack M. Balkin & Sanford Levinson, Understanding The

Constitutional Revolution, 87 Va. L. Rev. 1045 (2001)

J.M. Balkin Processes of Constitutional Decisionmaking:

Cases and Materials (4th ed. 2000) (with Paul Brest, Sanford

Levinson & Akhil Reed Amar)

J.M. Balkin & Sanford Levinson, Canons of Constitutional

Law, 111 Harv. L. Rev. 963 (1998)

J.M. Balkin, The Constitution of Status, 106 Yale L. J. 2313

(1998)

Jack M. Balkin, Group Conflict and the Constitution: Race,

Sexuality, and Religion: The Constitution of Status, 106 Yale

L.J. 2313 (1997)

Derrick A. Bell, Jr., Constitutional Conflicts (1997)

Derrick A. Bell, Jr., Confronting Authority: Reflections of an

Ardent Protestor (1996)

Derrick A. Bell, Jr., Race, Racism and American Law (3rd

ed. 1992)

Derrick A. Bell, Jr., Faces at the Bottom of the Well: The

Permanence of Racism (1992)

2a

Derrick A. Bell, Jr., And We Are Not Saved: The Elusive

Quest for Racial Justice (1987)

Paul Brest, Processes of Constitutional Decisionmaking:

Cases and Materials (4th ed. 2000) (with Sanford Levinson,

J.M. Balkin, & Akhil Reed Amar)

Paul Brest, Constitutional Citizenship, 34 Clev. St. L. Rev.

175 (1986)

Paul Brest, The Substance of Process, 42 Ohio St. LJ.

131 (1981)

Paul Brest, Foreword: In Defense of the Antidiscrimination

Principle, 90 Harv. L. Rev. 1 (1976)

Evan Caminker, Precedent and Prediction: Forward-Looking

Aspects of Inferior Court Decisionmaking, 73 Tex. L. Rev.

1 (1994)

Erwin Chemerinsky, Getting Beyond —Formalism in

Constitutional Law: Constitutional Theory Matters, 54 Okla.

L. Rev. 1 (2001)

Erwin Chemerinsky, Perspectives on Constitutional Exemp-

tions to Civil Rights Laws: Boy Scouts of America v. Dale:

The Expressive Interests of Associations, 9 Wm & Mary Bill

of Rts. J. 595 (2001)

Erwin Chemerinsky, History, Tradition, the Supreme Court,

and the First Amendment, 44 Hastings L.J. 901 (1993)

Erwin Chemerinsky, Ending Discrimination Against Homo-

sexuals: A Moral Imperative, Cogitations on Law and Gov-

ernment, Winter 1984, at 14

David Cole From Hand-Holding To Sodomy: First Amend-

ment Protection of Homosexual (Expressive) Conduct, 29

Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 319 (1994) (with William N.

Eskridge)

3a

David B. Cruz, “Just Don’t Call It a Marriage:” The First

Amendment and Marriage as an Expressive Resource, 74

S. Cal. L. Rev. 925 (2001)

David B. Cruz, Same-Sex Marriage, in Encyclopedia of the

American Constitution (Levy, et al eds., 2d ed. 2000)

David B. Cruz, The Sexual Freedom Cases: Contraception,

Abortion, Abstinence, and the Constitution, 35 Harv.

C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 299 (2000)

David B. Cruz, Controlling Desires: Sexual Orientation

Conversion and the Limits of Knowledge and Law, 72 S. Cal.

L. Rev. 1297 (1999)

David B. Cruz, Piety and Prejudice: Free Exercise Exemption

from Laws Prohibiting Sexual Orientation Discrimination,

69 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 1176 (1994)

Thomas C. Grey, Bowers v. Hardwick Diminished, 68

U. Colo. L. Rev. 373 (1997)

Thomas C. Grey, The Legal Enforcement of Morality (1983)

(editor, with introductory essay)

Thomas C. Grey, Eros, Civilization, and the Burger Court,

43 Law & Contemp. Probs. £3 (1980)

Pamela S. Karlan, Equal Protection, Due Process, and the

Stereoscopic Fourteenth Amendment, 33-McGeorge L. Rev.

473 (2002)

Pamela S. Karlan, Some Thoughts on Autonomy and Equality

in Relation to Justice Blackmun, 26 Hastings Const. L.Q.

59 (1998)

Pamela S. Karlan, Just Politics?: Five Not So Easy Pieces of

the 1995 Term, 34 Houston L. Rev. 289 (1997)

Kenneth L. Karst, Law, Cultural Conflict and the Social-

ization of Children, __ Cal. L. Rev. ___ (forthcoming 2003)

4a

Kenneth L. Karst, Myths of Identity: Individual and Group

Portraits of Race and Sexual Orientation, 43 UCLA L. Rev.

263 (1995)

Kenneth L. Karst, The Pursuit of Manhood and the

Desegregation of the Armed Forces, 38 UCLA L. Rev.

499 (1991)

Kenneth L. Karst, Religion, Sex, and Politics: Cultural

Counterrevolution in Constitutional Perspective, 24 U.C.

Davis L. Rev. 677 (1991)

Kenneth L. Karst, Boundaries and Reasons: Freedom of

Expression and the Subordination of Groups, 1990 U. Ill.

L. Rev. 95 (1990)

Kenneth L. Karst, Belonging to America: Equal Citizenship

and the Constitution (1989)

Kenneth L. Karst, The Freedom of Intimate Association,

89 Yale L. J. 624 (1980)

Andrew Koppelman, The Gay Rights Question in Con-

temporary American Law (2002)

Andrew Koppelman, Signs of the Times: Dale v. Boy Scouts

of America and the Changing Meaning of Nondiscrimination,

23 Cardozo L. Rev. 1819 (2002)

Andrew Koppelman, Defending the Sex Discrimination

Arguments for Gay and Lesbian Rights: A Reply to Edward

Stein, 49 UCLA L. Rev. 519 (2001)

Andrew Koppelman, Same-Sex Marriage, Choice of Law,

and Public Policy, 76 Tex. L. Rev. 921 (1998)

Andrew Koppelman, Sexual and Religious Pluralism, in

Sexual Orientation and Human Rights in American Religious

Discourse, (Martha Nussbaum and Saul Olyan, eds., 1998)

Andrew Koppelman, Sex, Law, and Equality: Three Argu-

ments for Gay Rights, 95 Mich. L. Rev. 1636 (1997)

Sa

Andrew Koppelman, Romer v. Evans and Invidious Intent,

6 Wm. & Mary Bill of Rts. J. 89 (1997)

Andrew Koppelman, Dumb and DOMA: Why the Defense of

Marriage Act is Unconstitutional, 83 lowa L. Rev. 1 (1997)

Andrew Koppelman, Is Marriage Inherently Heterosexual?,

42 Am. J. Juris. 51 (1997)

Andrew Koppelman, Same-sex Marriage and Public Pol-

icy: the Miscegenation Precedents, 16 Quinnipiac L. Rev.

105 (1996)

Andrew Koppelman, Antidiscrimination Law and Social

Equality (1996)

Andrew Koppelman, Gaze in the Military: A Response to

Professor Woodruff, 64 U. Mo.-K.C.L. Rev. 179 (1995)

Andrew Koppelman, Why Discrimination Against Lesbians

and Gay Men is Sex Discrimination, 69 NYU L. Rev.

197 (1994)

Andrew Koppelman, The Miscegenation Analogy: Sodomy

Law as Sex Discrimination, 98 Yale L.J. 145 (1988)

Sanford Levinson, Processes of Constitutional Decision-

making: Cases and Materials (4th ed. 2000) (with Paul Brest,

J.M. Balkin & Akhil Reed Amar)

Sanford Levinson, Presidential Power and Gays in the

Military, Wall St. J., Feb. 3, 1993, at A15.

Frank Michelman, Law’s Republic, 97 Yale L.J. 1493 (1988)

Frank I. Michelman, Foreword: Traces of Self-Government,

100 Harv. L. Rev. 1 (1986)

Frank I. Michelman, Foreword: On Protecting the Poor

Through The Fourteenth Amendment, 83 Harv. L. Rev.

7 (1969)

6a

William B. Rubenstein, Do Gay Rights Laws Matter?: An

Empirical Analysis, 75 S. Cal. Rev. Rev. 65 (2001)

William B. Rubenstein, Divided We Propagate, 10 UCLA

Women’s L. J. 143 (1999)

William B. Rubenstein, The Myth of Superiority, 16 Const.

Comm, 599 (1999)

William B. Rubenstein, Queer Studies II]: Some Reflections

on the Study of Sexual Orientation Bias In The Legal

Profession, 8 UCLA Women’s L. J. 379 (1998)

William B. Rubenstein, In Communities Begin

Responsibilities: Obligations At The Gay Bar, 48 Hastings

L. J. 1101 (1997)

William B. Rubenstein, Divided We Litigate: Addressing

Disputes Among Clients and Lawyers in Civil Rights

Campaigns, 106 Yale L. J. 1623 (1997)

William B. Rubenstein, Cases and Materials Materials on

Sexual Orientation and the Law (1997)

William B. Rubenstein, Lesbians, Gay Men, and the Law

(1993)

William B. Rubenstein, We Are Family: A Reflection on the

Search for Legal Recognition of Lesbian and Gay

Relationships, VIII J. L.& Politics 89 (1991)

Steven H. Shiffrin, Jesse H. Choper, Richard H. Fallon,

Jr., Yale Kamisar, Constitutional Law: Cases-Comments-

Questions (9th ed. 2001)

Geoffrey R. Stone, Constitutional Law (4th ed. 2001) (with

Louis M. Seidman; Cass R. Sunstein & Mark V. Tushnet)

Kenji Yoshino, Covering, 111 Yale L.J. 769 (2002)

Kenji Yoshino, The Epistemic Contract of Bisexual Erasure,

52 Stan. L. Rev. 353 (2000)

Ta

Kenji Yoshino, Assimilationist Bias in Equal Protection: The

Visibility Presumption and the Case of “Don’t Ask, Don’t

Tell,” 108 Yale L.J. 485 (1998)

Kenji Yoshino, Suspect Symbols: The Literary Argument

for Heightened Scrutiny for Gays,” 96 Colum. L. Rev.

1753 (1996)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.