Amicus Curiae Brief — Abdur'Rahman v. Bell

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 01-9094

IN THE SEP 12 DR

Supreme Court of the Cinited States

ABU-ALI ABDUR’ RAHMAN,

Petitioner,

y

RICKY BELL, WARDEN,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE STATES OF ALABAMA, ARIZONA,

ARKANSAS, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, CONNECTICUT,

DELAWARE, FLORIDA, GEORGIA, IDAHO, ILLINOIS,

INDIANA, KANSAS, LOUISIANA, MASSACHUSETTS,

MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NEW JERSEY,

NORTH DAKOTA, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, PENNSYLVANIA,

SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TEXAS, UTAH,

VIRGINIA, WASHINGTON, AND WEST VIRGINIA AS

AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

BILL PRYOR CARTER G. PHILLIPS

ATTORNEY GENERAL GENE C. SCHAERR*

NATHAN A. FORRESTER PAUL J. ZIDLICKY

SOLICITOR GENERAL STEVEN T. COTTREAU

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY REBECCA K. WooD

GENERAL SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN

STATE OF ALABAMA & WOOD LLP

11 South Union Street 1501 K Street, NW

Montgomery, AL 36130 Washington, DC 20005

(334) 242-7300 (202) 736-8000

Counsel for Amici Curiae

September 12, 2002 *Counsel of Recerd

| Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover and Front Pages]

Sn 2 SSD SRP ES

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D.C 20001

ie lies ae

'BEST AVAILABLE COP

JANET NAPOLITANO

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF ARIZONA

1275 West Washington

Phoenix, AZ 85007

(602) 542-5025

BILL LOCKER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

1300 I Street

Sacramento, CA 94244

(916) 324-8835

JOHN M. BAILEY

CHIEF STATE’S ATTORNEY

STATE OF CONNECTICUT

300 Corporate Place

Rocky Hill, CT 06067

(860) 258-5800

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH

ATTORNEY GENERAL

‘STATE OF FLORIDA

The Capitol, Plaza Level

Tallahassee, FL 32399

(850) 414-3300

ALAN G. LANCE

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF IDAHO

State House, Room 210

Boise. ID 83720

(208) 334-2400

STEVE CARTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF INDIANA

Indiana Government Center

South, 5th Floor

402 West Washington Street

Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 232-6201

MARK LUNSFORD PRYOR

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF ARKANSAS

200 Tower Building

323 Center Street

Little Rock, AR 72201

(800) 482-8982

KEN SALAZAR

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF COLORADO

1525 Sherman Street

Denver, CO 80203

(303) 866-3557

M. JANE BRADY

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF DELAWARE

Carvel State Office Building

820 N. French Street

Wilmington, DE 19801

(302) 577-8338

THURBERT E. BAKER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF GEORGIA

40 Capitol Square, SW

Atlanta, GA 30334

(404) 656-3300

JAMES E. RYAN :

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF ILLINOIS

100 W. Randolph Street

Chicago, IL 60601

(312) 814-2503

CARLA J. STOVALL

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF KANSAS

120 SW. 10th Avenue

2nd Floor

Topeka, KS 66612

(785) 296-2215

RICHARD P. IEYOUB

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF LOUISIANA

P.O. Box 92005

22nd Floor

Baton Rouge, LA 70804

(225) 339-5113

MIKE MCGRATH

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF MONTANA

Justice Building, 215 N. Sanders

Helena, MT 59620

(406) 444-2026

FRANKIE SUE DEL PAPA

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NEVADA

100 N. Carson Street

Carson City, NV 89701

(775) 684-1100

WAYNE STENEHJEM

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA

600 E. Boulevard Avenue

Bismark, ND 58505

(701) 328-2210

W_.A. DREW EDMONDSON

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF OKLAHOMA

2300 N. Lincoln Boulevard

Suite 112

Oklahoma City, OK 73105

(405) 521-3921

CHARLES M. CONDON

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

P.O. Box 11549

Columbia, SC 29211

(803) 734-3970

THOMAS F. REILLY

ATTORNEY GENERAL

COMMONWEALTH OF

MASSACHUSETTS

One Ashburton Place

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 727-2200

DON STENBERG

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NEBRASKA

Department of Justice

2115 State Capitol

Lincoln, NE 68509

(402) 471-2682

DAVID SAMSON

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

25 Market Street

Trenton, NJ 08625

(609) 984-6500

BETTY D. MONTGOMERY

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF OHIO

30 E. Broad Street

Columbus, OH 43215

(614) 466-8980

D. MICHAEL FISHER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

COMMONWEALTH OF

PENNSYLVANIA

Strawberry Square

Harrisburg, PA 17120

(717) 787-6348

MARK BARNETT

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

500 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

(605) 773-3215

JOHN CORNYN

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF TEXAS

P.O. Box 12548

Austin, TX 78711

(512) 936-1824

JERRY W. KILGORE

ATTORNEY GENERAL

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

900 East Main Street

Richmond, VA 23219

(804) 786-2071

DARRELL V. MCGRAW, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

State Capitol, Room 26-E

Charleston, WV 25305

(304) 558-2021

MARK L. SHURTLEFF

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF UTAH

236 State Capitol

Salt Lake City, UT 84114

(801) 538-9600

CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF WASHINGTON

P.O. Box 40100

Olympia, WA 98504

* (360) 753-6245

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Sixth Circuit properly held, consistent with

28 U.S.C. § 2244 and the decisions of this Court, that a Rule

60(b) motion that seeks collateral review of a State criminal

conviction, when the prisoner already has received an

‘adjudication of a federal habeas application, constitutes a

“second or successive” habeas application.

2. Whether the Sixth Circuit’s decision should be affirmed

on the alternative ground that it would have been an abuse of

discretion for the district court to grant a Rule 60(b) motion

seeking to revive a claim that the federal district court

rejected as procedurally defaulted based upon a subsequent

development in State procedural law that has no impact on the

availability of review in State court.

(1)

a aa

_

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...................ccccccssccssssceeseees

I i rcccancntchitananenlinhepanitinsiesasenies

ST ATERGEING OF TNTEIRIOE ............cccccccseceeesees.

STATEMEENT OF FACTS....................:cc00..000.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT...

“SECOND OR SUCCESSIVE” HABEAS

APPLICATIONS APPLY TO PETITIONER'S

RULE 60(b) MOTION AND ANY OTHER

FEDERAL FILINGS THAT SEEK, DIRECTLY

OR INDIRECTLY, TO OBTAIN COLLATER-

AL REVIEW OF A CRIMINAL CONVICTION

WHERE THE PRISONER HAS ALREADY

RECEIVED A FULL ADJUDICATION OF ONE

FEDERAL HABEAS APPLICATION

A. Under AEDPA, Any Federal Court Filings

That Seek, Directly Or Indirectly, A Second

Adjudication Of The Right To Federal Habeas

Relief Constitute “Second Or Successive Ap-

plications” Subject To AEDPA’s Limitations

B.A Rule 60(b) Motion Seeking A Second

Adjudication Of A Request For Federal

Habeas Relief Predicated On A Change In The

Law Or New Facts Constitutes A “Second Or

Successive Application” Subject To The

Limitations Of Section 2244(b)

(111)

10

16

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—continued

Il EVEN IF NOT CONSIDERED A HABEAS

APPLICATION, PETITIONER’S RULE 60(b)

MOTION MUST BE DENIED, BOTH

BECAUSE IT IS LEGALLY FUTILE AND

BECAUSE GRANTING RULE 60(b) RELIEF

WOULD CONTRAVENE THE POLICIES

UNDERLYING AEDPA............... sideldcpiseieibabimaaiinn

A. Petitioner’s Motion Is Futile Because, Under

AEDPA And This Court’s Decision In

O'Sullivan, New State Court Rules Or Declar-

ations That Do Not Affect The Availability Of

A State Court Procedure Have No Bearing On

Whether A Claim Has Properly Been Exhaust-

ed For Purposes Of Federal Habeas Law .........

B Reopening The District Court’s Prior

Conclusion Of Procedural Default Would

Contravene The Policies Underlying AEDPA

And This Court’s Habeas Jurisprudence .....

CONCLUSION

Page

19

24

29

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES \ Page

Abdur ‘Rahman v. Bell, 122 S. Ct. 386 (2001)....... 6

Brecht v. Abrahamson, 507 U.S. 619 (1993)......... 13

Calderon v. Thompson, 523 U.S. 538 (1998) ....... passim

Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991).....7, 15, 25

Gray v. Netherland, 518 U.S. 152 (1996).............. 5

Jones v. State, No. 01C01-9402-CR-00079, 1995

WL 75427 (Tenn. Crim. App. Feb. 23, 1995),

cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1122 (1996)... 4,6

Jones v. Tennessee, 516 U.S. 1122 (1996)............ 4

McCleskey v. Zant, 499 U.S. 467 (1991)........ 13, 15, 27

O'Melveny & Myers v. FDIC, 512 US. 79

ERR er Sco Res 16

O'Sullivan v. Boerckel, 526 U.S. 838 (1999)........ passim

Ex parte Royal, 117 U.S. 241 (1886)..........00......... 24

Slack v. McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473 (2000)............. 12,14

State v. Jones, 789 S.W.2d 545 (Tenn.), cert.

denied, 498 U.S. 908 (1990)... 4

State v. Jones, 498 U.S. 908 (1990) ... 4

State vy. McKennedy, 559 S.E.2d 850 (Ss. c

re 19

State v. Sandon, 77 P 2d 220 (Ariz. 1989). os 19

Stewart v. Martinez-Villareal, 523 US. 637

RASTER o ne va ae

Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989)... 13, 27

Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977) 13

Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362 (2000) 1]

Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 420 (2000) 25

STATUTES

28 USC. § 2244(b) | passim

§ 2254 1, 7,21, 26

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

142 Cong. Rec. $3465 (daily ed. Apr. 17, 1996) ...

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-518 (1996), reprinted in

I I

President William Jefferson Clinton’s Statement

on Signing the Antiterrorism and Effective

Death Penalty Act of 1996, 32 Weekly Comp.

Pres. Doc. 719 (Apr. 24, 1996) .............000oo..

RULES AND ORDER

I i eae ano

I

Tenn. R. App. P. 11, 1999 Ad. Comm’n Cmt........

In re: Exhaustion of State Remedies in Criminal

\ and Post-Conviction Relief Cases, No. 218

Judicial Administration Docket No. | (Pa. May

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Annual Report of the Tennessee Judiciary,

Statewide Appellate and State Trial Court

Statistics, FY 1999-2000 (2000) ............000000000...

Annual Report of the Tennessee Judiciary,

Statewide Appellate and State Trial Court

Statistics, FY 2000-2001 (2001) .............0000000....

A Practitioner’s-Eye View of the Court, Legal

I i

Bryan A. Stevenson, The Politics of Fear and

Death: Successive Problems in Capital Federal

Habeas Corpus Cases, 77 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 699

REE EG SPEND ORC a Dr ODN a ON

Page

11

1]

11

19

23

23

OE

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

One of the principal objectives of the Antiterrorism and

Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 (“AEDPA”), and indeed

of this Court’s habeas corpus jurisprudence over the past 25

years, has been to reduce the incursion into State sovereignty

that results when federal courts consider successive collateral

attacks on a State court criminal judgment. In this case, the

overarching issue is whether a State prisoner can circumvent

the finality rules that Congress and this Court have adopted to

limit such successive attacks by the simple expedient of a

motion for relief from judgment under Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 60(b), or by analogous procedures intended to

attack, directly or indirectly, the underlying State court

judgment.

Although amici curiae take no position on petitioner’s

specific allegations of prosecutorial misconduct, amici have a

keen interest in the proper application of AEDPA’s finality

requirements, which have been codified in 28 U.S.C.

§ 2244(b). Those requirements are designed to ensure that,

absent extraordinary circumstances, States will not have to

defend their criminal judgments against second or successive

collateral attacks in federal court. The availability of repeated

collateral attacks undermines both the finality and

presumptive validity of those judgments and requires States to

expend scarce societal resources.

Similarly, amici are keenly interested in ensuring that their

State courts are afforded every reasonable opportunity to

assess whether a criminal judgment is consistent with federal

law before that issue is reviewed by a federal habeas court.

Exhaustion of available State remedies promotes federal-State

comity and is mandated by federal habeas corpus law. 28

U.S.C. § 2254(c).

If adopted by this Court, petitioner's arguments would

undermine both of these interests. In so doing, those

arguments would erode the significant progress reflected in

2

Congress’s enactment of AEDPA and in the decisions of this

Court on which AEDPA was built. Indeed, opponents of

AEDPA have urged that Rule 60(b)—the procedural vehicle

that petitioner has used in seeking to overturn his State court

conviction—can and should be used to evade these statutory

and judicial limitations on federal habeas petitions. See, e.g.,

Bryan A. Stevenson, Zhe Politics of Fear and Death:

Successive Problems in Capital Federal Habeas Corpus

Cases, 77 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 699, 774 (2002) (suggesting

“creative use of motions under Rule 60(b)” to avoid

limitations on the ability of courts to consider second and

successive habeas petitions). Petitioner’s own counsel has

publicly stated that, if this Court rules that petitioner’s Rule

60(b) motion must be entertained and adjudicated on the

merits, such motions “would be{come] the vehicle with which

to reopen” the State court criminal judgments of numerous

State prisoners. A Practitioner’s-Eye View of the Court,

Legal Times, Aug. 12, 2002, at 18 (remarks of petitioner’s

counsel of record) (emphasis added).

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Amici agree with the statement in respondent’s brief, but

believe that a brief overview of the procedural history of this

case in State and federal court will help to highlight the issues

before the Court.

1. On February 17, 1986, petitioner and co-defendant

Harold Miller entered the duplex of Patrick Daniels under the

pretext of making a drug purchase. J.A. 103. Petitioner and

Miller forced Daniels and his girlfriend Norma Norman to the

floor. /d. Petitioner then bound Daniels and Norman with

duct tape about their hands, feet, eyes and mouth /d

Petitioner stole Daniels bank card and forced Daniels to

reveal his PIN number. /d. Petitioner then obtained a butcher

knife from the kitchen “and stabbed Daniels six times in the

chest.” /d. “Prior to and during the stabbing, Daniels was

crying and begging Petitioner not to hurt anyone. After

3

Daniels became motionless, Petitioner stabbed Norman in the

back several times.” Jd. Petitioner left the knife inside Ms.

Norman and fled the scene. Jd Daniels died as a result of his

wounds; Norman survived. /d. at 103-04.

More than fifteen years ago, in July 1987, a Tennessee jury

convicted petitioner of first-degree murder, assault with intent

to commit first degree murder with bodily injury, and armed

robbery. JA 102. The jury returned a death sentence on the

murder charge and life sentences on each of the other

convictions.

There can be no serious question of petitioner’s actual guilt

or his role in this crime. Petitioner’s current claim of

prosecutorial misconduct is predicated upon an argument that

Miller, rather than petitioner, stabbed the victims. At the

sentencing phase of his trial, however, petitioner repeatedly

testified that the contrary was true. For example, he stated:

“I’m going to submit to the fact that I am the individual

that committed these particular felonies or assaults upon

these two people... . All I know is that I’m the man that

stabbed Mr. Daniel Patricks (sic) and I’m the man that

assaulted Ms. Norma Jean Norman.”

JA 65 (quoting Addendum I, at 1865). Elsewhere, petitioner

responded to a question from counsel with the following

admission:

“Q. And you heard Mr. Miller testify from the very seat

that you’re in right now, that you were the man who

stabbed Mr. Daniels to death. And you knew it when

you were setting [sic] there, that that was true, didn’t

you.

A. That I was the man, yes.”

Id. In light of this testimony and other evidence, the jury

returned a sentence of death because it found that

(i) petitioner previously was convicted of second-degree

murder and assault with a dangerous weapon, (ii) the murder

4

of Mr. Daniels was “especially heinous, atrocious or cruel”;

and (iii) the murder of Mr. Daniels occurred in relation to

another serious crime. /d at 102-04 Against these

aggravating factors, petitioner presented virtually no evidence

in support of mitigation. /d at 105.

On April 2, 1990, petitioner’s conviction and sentence were

affirmed on direct review by the Tennessee Supreme Court.

789 S.W.2d 545 (Tenn. 1990). The Tennessee Supreme

Court denied petitioner’s request for rehearing on May 14,

1990, and this Court denied certiorari. 498 U.S. 908 (1990).

2. In May 1993, a Tennessee trial judge conducted a three-

day evidentiary hearing, and thereafter issued a memorandum

opinion rejecting petitioner’s request for post-conviction

relief. Two years later, the Court of Criminal Appeals of

Tennessee considered petitioner’s claim that the prosecutor

allegedly failed to provide certain exculpatory Brady

materials during the sentencing phase, but found “no merit in

the [petitioner’s] claim of prosecutorial misconduct” because

“{njone of the [this] evidence was favorable to the defense.”

See Jones v. State, No. 01C01-9402-CR-00079, 1995 WL

75427, at *3 (Tenn. Crim. App. Feb. 23, 1995). The Court of

Criminal Appeals rejected all of petitioner's remaining

claims. See id.

Petitioner then filed a petition for discretionary review to

the Tennessee Supreme Court. Petitioner concedes that he

abandoned the “the bulk of his prosecutorial misconduct

claims,” Pet. Br. 25, the very claims upon which he predicates

his request for relitigation in federal court. The Tennessee

Supreme Court denied discretionary review seven years ago,

on August 28, 1995, and this Court again denied certiorari.

516 U.S. 1122 (1996).

3. On April 23, 1996, petitioner filed a federal petition for

a writ of habeas corpus in the United States District Court for

the Middle District of Tennessee. J.A. 1. Petitioner raised

‘numerous claims of prosecutorial misconduct, among other

5

claims. /d. at 56-60. The District Court determined that

petitioner had properly exhausted two _ prosecutorial

misconduct claims with respect to alleged Brady violations,

id. at 59, 69, but concluded that there was no merit to either of

these properly exhausted claims, id. at 69-74.

The district court further held that petitioner’s remaining

claims, including the prosecutorial misconduct claims at issue

here, had not been exhausted before the State courts. JA 59,

69. Relying upon this Court’s decision in Gray Vv.

Netherland, 518 U.S. 152 (1996), the district court explained

that federal law requires a “habeas corpus petitioner to

exhaust the remedies available to him in state court before

raising claims in federal court” and “[i]f the petitioner has no

remedy currently available in state court .. . the exhaustion

requirement is satisfied.” J.A. 50. Nevertheless, “[aJlthough

a claim may be fully exhausted” in the sense that a petitioner

has no remaining avenue for State court review, “the

petitioner's failure to assert the claim in state court may

constitute procedural default” that “bars the petitioner from

raising claims in a federal habeas corpus proceeding that he

failed to raise in state court.” id. at 51. As applied here, the

district court determined that “petitioner had failed to

exhaust” the prosecutorial misconduct claims at issue in this

case because he failed to seek discretionary review of them

before the Tennessee Supreme Court. /d at 59. Further, the

district court determined that petitioner could “no longer

present those claims to the state court... . because they would

be barred by the statute of limitations.” /d. (citing Tenn.

Code Ann. § 40-30-202). As a result, the district court

concluded that these claims were “procedurally defaulted.”

Id. at 60.' The district court, however, did grant habeas relief

' The District Court catalogued petitioner’s defaulted claims. See JA

57-58 & 57 n8. As indicated above, prior to petitioner's secking review

from the Tennessee Supreme Court, the Tennessee Court of Criminal

Appeals previously had reviewed and rejected petitioner's claims of

6

with respect to certain of petitioner’s ineffective assistance of

counsel claims and vacated his death sentence. /d. at 100.

On appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit, petitioner concedes that he “did not challenge”

the district court’s holding that petitioner’s prosecutorial

misconduct claims had been procedurally defaulted. JA 155.

He did, however, cross-appeal the district court’s

determinations regarding numerous issues. /d. at 123, 127.

On September 13, 2000, the Sixth Circuit vacated the

district court’s order granting habeas relief JA 19

Subsequently, the Sixth Circuit granted petitioner’s motion to

“stay [the] mandate pending petition for writ of certiorari.”

Id. at 21, On May 21, 2001, after several extensions,

petitioner filed a petition for certiorari with the Court. JA 21-

22 (Petition No. 00-1742). This Court denied certiorari for a

third time on October 9, 2001, as to those issues petitioner

had preserved and appealed in his first habeas petition. 122

S. Ct. 386 (2001).

4. On November 2, 2001, petitioner filed a motion

pursuant to Rule 60(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure in the District Court. In his motion, petitioner

sought relief from the District Court’s April 8, 1998 judgment

with respect to the procedurally defaulted claims of

prosecutorial misconduct based upon Tennessee Supreme

Court Rule 39, which was adopted June 28, 2001. JA 40.

The district court determined that it lacked jurisdiction to

consider the Rule 60(b) motion because it “presents a new

theory predicated on a new rule of law adopted by the

Tennessee Supreme Court over three years after this Court’s

Judgment” and therefore was a “second or successive habeas

petition.” /d. at 42.

The Sixth Circuit then denied petitioner’s application for a

certificate of appealability. It concluded that petitioner’s Rule

prosecutorial misconduct. See Jones v. State, No. 01C01-9402-CR-

00079, 1995 WL 75427, at *3 (Tenn. Crim. App. Feb. 23, 1995).

7

60(b) motion was the equivalent of a successive habeas

petition, and that petitioner had failed to meet the gateway

criteria of Section 2244(b)(2). J.A. 36. The Sixth Circuit also

denied petitioner's related motions to withhold mandate, grant

a rehearing en banc, and remand. /d at 35

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Recognizing the importance of finality of State criminal

proceedings, Congress and this Court have developed

standards through which to ensure that State court judgments

may not be challenged, absent extraordinary circumstances, in

second and successive habeas corpus petitions. See 28 US.C

§ 2244(b); Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 731-32

(1991). Similarly, Congress and this Court have adopted

standards requiring habeas petitioners to exhaust claims that

they might have in State court before asking a federal court to

set aside a State court criminal conviction. See 28 USC.

§ 2254(c); O'Sullivan v. Boerckel, 526 U.S. 838, 839 (1999).

Petitioner’s arguments reflect a significant attack on both of

these requirements which, if accepted, could seriously erode

the important limitations that this Court and Congress have

developed over the past 25 years.

1. Petitioner first asks the Court to sanction a procedure

through which habeas petitioners may evade the finality

requirements of AEDPA by labeling an effort to obtain a

second adjudication of a request for federal habeas relief as

something other than a habeas corpus application That

argument, if accepted, would allow petitioners to circumvent

the requirements Congress adopted in Section 2244(b) to

prohibit federal habeas petitioners from filing repeated federal

habeas challenges to State court criminal judgments. Not

surprisingly, this Court already has held that the requirements

of Section 2244(b) cannot be eroded through creative labeling

of what, in substance, constitutes a second adjudication of

federal habeas claims. See Calderon v. Thompson, 523 US.

§38, 547 (1998). Petitioner's contrary argument would make

a mockery of the finality requirements enacted by Congress in

Section 2244(b). At a minimum, a petitioner should not be

permitted to evade the requirements of Section 2244(b) by

filing a Rule 60(b) motion that seeks a second adjudication,

either directly or indirectly, based upon an intervening

development of law or fact given that Section 2244(b) was

designed specifically to limit such efforts

2. Even if petitioner's Rule 60(b) motion were not

considered a second or successive habeas application,

petitioner’s request that this Court permit him to relitigate his

prosecutorial misconduct claim through a Rule 60(b) motion

should be rejected. First, that motion is futile as a matter of

law because, under the exhaustion requirement of Section

2254(c), the adoption of a State court rule that does not affect

the availability of procedures for seeking relief is irrelevant to

the question of exhaustion under federal law. In O'Sullivan v.

Boerckel, this Court ruled that the exhaustion required under

Section 2254(c) “turns on an inquiry into what procedures are

‘available’ under state law” and that “the creation of a

discretionary review system does not, without more, make

review in [a State supreme court] unavailable.” 526 US. at

847-48.

Here, petitioner failed to satisfy Section 2254(c) because he

was entitled to, but did not, present his claims to the

Tennessee Supreme Court. The Tennessee Supreme Court's

subsequent adoption of Rule 39 in no way affects that

conclusion because Rule 39 does not purport to alter “what

procedures are ‘available’ under state law.” O'Sullivan, 526

U.S. at 847. Simply put, both before and after the enactment

of Rule 39, a petitioner could have sought discretionary

review before the Tennessee Supreme Court in precisely the _

same way a3 the petitioner whose claims this Court held were

procedurally defaulted in O'Sullivan. Because petitioner did

not, his claims were procedurally defaulted long ago and

cannot be revived for federal habeas purposes by subsequent

changes in State procedural law.

9

Second, even if petitioner's Rule 60(b) motion were not

futile, granting it would nevertheless be an abuse of discretion

because it would contravene the policies underlying AEDPA

In Calderon, this Court explained that, even in cases to which

AEDPA does not apply directly, courts must exercise their

discretion “in a manner consistent with the objects of

[AEDPA]” and “must be guided by the general principles

underlying our habeas corpus jurisprudence.” 523 US. at

554.

Under these standards, relief is inappropriate because

petitioner has failed to identify circumstances that would

justify reconsideration of his prosecutorial misconduct claims

Indeed, Congress has explained that second or successive

habeas corpus applications with respect to new legal issues

may be considered only when there has been, unlike here, 4

change in constitutional law that has been made retroactive by

this Court See 28 USC. § 2244(b)(2)A). Here, the

“change” in State law relied upon by petitioner bears no

relation to the types of changes that Congress has deemed

sufficient to justify relitigation of procedurally defaulted

claims.

ARGUMENT

I. SECTION 2244(b)’S RESTRICTIONS ON “SECOND

OR SUCCESSIVE” HABEAS APPLICATIONS

APPLY TO PETITIONER’S RULE 60(b) MOTION

AND ANY OTHER FEDERAL FILINGS THAT

SEEK, DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY, TO OBTAIN

COLLATERAL REVIEW OF A_ CRIMINAL

CONVICTION WHERE THE PRISONER HAS

ALREADY RECEIVED A FULL ADJUDICATION

OF ONE FEDERAL HABEAS APPLICATION.

The core principle underlying 28 U.S.C. § 2244(b) is that,

absent extraordinary circumstances, a federal habeas

petitioner should have only one opportunity to adjudicate a

10

federal habeas challenge to a State court criminal judgment in

federal court. Petitioner’s efforts to circumvent this specific

limitation through a general rule of civil procedure should be

rejected. Specifically, as shown below, Section 2244(b)

cannot be evaded based upon the label given to a filing that

seeks directly or indirectly to obtain a second adjudication of

a federal habeas challenge to a State court judgment. That is

particularly true of a motion that seeks to litigate a matter

implicated by one of the express exceptions to Section

2244(b)’s ban on second or successive applications.

A. Under AEDPA, Any Federal Court Filings That

Seek, Directly Or Indirectly, A Second Adjudi-

cation Of The Right To Federal Habeas Relief

Constitute “Second Or Successive Applications”

Subject To AEDPA’s Limitations.

The key question of statutory interpretation in this case is

what constitutes a “second or successive application” within

the meaning of Section 2244(b). Under the language of that

provision, as correctly interpreted in Calderon, 523 US. at

552-54, and under this Court’s pre-AEDPA habeas

jurisprudence, a prisoner who has already received one

adjudication of an application for habeas relief may not

circumvent habeas finality requirements through creative

labeling of federal-court filings that again seek, directly or

indirectly, to overturn the prisoner’s State criminal

conviction. Adoption of petitioner’ $ contrary arguments

would elevate form over substance ”

* Petitioner contends that AEDPA does not apply to his Rule 60(b)

motion because it relates back to his first habeas corpus petition, which

was filed before AEDPA took effect. Pet. Br. 27. But that argument

merely assumes the answer to the question presented—whether his Rule

60(b) motion is properly treated as a second or successive habeas corpus

application. If it is a second or successive habeas corpus application,

because petitioner's Rule 60(b) motion was filed on November 2, 2001.

well after the effective date of AEDPA (April 24, 1996), there can be no

question that the requirements of AEDPA would apply.

Ete oe

1. In enacting AEDPA, “Congress wished to curb delays,

to prevent ‘retrials’ on federal habeas, and to give effect to

state convictions to the extent possible under law.” Williams

v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 386 (2000) (opinion of Stevens, J.),

see also id. at 404 (O’Connor, J., for the Court) Congress

further sought to limit “abuse of the statutory writ of habeas

corpus, and to address the acute problem[] of unnecessary

delay __. in capital cases.” H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-518, at

111 (1996), reprinted in 1996 US.C.C.AN. 944, 944. As

President Clinton explained, “For too long, and in too many

cases, endless death row appeals have stood in the way of

justice being served.” President William Jefferson Clinton's

Statement on Signing the Antiterrorism and Effective Death

Penalty Act of 1996, 32 Weekly Comp. Pres. Doc. 719, 720

(Apr. 24, 1996), accord 142 Cong. Rec. $3465 (daily ed. Apr

17, 1996) (statement of Sen. Warner) (stating that reform was

needed to stop “the charade of habeas corpus appeals” and to

preclude “death row inmates [from] drag[ging] out their

appeals for several decades’”’).

To accomplish these goals, Congress adopted restrictions

on federal habeas petitioners who seek to raise claims after

having previously received an adjudication of an application

for federal habeas relief. 28 U.S.C. § 2244(b).

In doing so, Congress limited efforts to relitigate claims

that already had been presented in a prior application as well

as efforts to raise new claims. As to the former, Congress

explained that a “claim presented in a second or successive

habeas corpus application under section 2254 that was

presented in a prior application shall be dismissed.” /d.

§ 2244(b)(1) (emphasis added).

As to the latter, Congress provided two exceptions to the

general rule of finality. First, with respect to new legal

developments, Congress dictated that the adoption of a “new

rule of constitutional law, made retroactive to cases on

collateral review by the Supreme Court, that was previously

unavailable” could be presented in a second or successive

12

habeas petition if that claim “was not presented in a prior

application.” /d. § 2244(b)(2).

Second, Congress also provided a limited avenue of review

with respect to new factual developments bearing on actual

innocence Specifically, claims that were not presented in a

prior application may be presented in a second or successive

habeas corpus when (i) “the factual predicate for the claim

could not have been discovered previously through the

exercise of due diligence,” and (ii) such facts, “if proven and

viewed in light of the evidence as a whole, would be

sufficient to establish by clear and convincing evidence that,

but for the constitutional error, no reasonable factfinder

would have found the applicant guilty of the underlying

offense.” /d.

2. In determining whether a federal habeas petitioner’s

motion constitutes a “second or successive habeas

application” under Section 2244(b), the Court has adopted a

functional approach, refusing to allow State prisoners to

elevate form over substance. Accordingly, a federal court is

required to examine the substance of a habeas petitioner’s

court filing, rather than its label, to determine whether it is, in

fact, a second or successive application. This approach

ensures that habeas petitioners cannot, though creative

labeling, “evade the bar against relitigation of claims

presented in a prior application, § 2244(b)(1), or the bar

against litigation of claims not presented in a prior

application, § 2244(b)(2).” Calderon, 523 U.S. at 553; see

also Slack y. McDaniel, 529 U.S. 473, 486 (2000) (noting that

the “phrase ‘second or successive petition’ is a term of art

given substance in our prior habeas corpus cases”). -

Indeed, this functional approach is necessary given the

procedural gamesmanship often associated with efforts to

obtain multiple adjudications of requests for federal habeas

relief. Such abuses have been well catalogued by this Court.

They include, for example, abandoning weaker claims either

during State post-conviction proceedings or after an initial

13

habeas loss before a federal district court, and then attempting

to revive them later if all else failed See, e.g., McCleskey v

Zant, 499 U.S. 467, 489-90 (1991) Given these experiences,

Congress and this Court adopted restrictions on efforts to

obtain a second bite at the federal habeas apple as a way of

imposing “limits on the discretion of federal courts to grant

habeas relief.” Calderon, 523 US. at 555, see also, e.g,

Brecht v. Abrahamson, 507 US. 619, 637-38 (1993);

McCleskey, 499 U.S. at 487, Teague v. Lane, 489 US. 288,

308-10 (1989) (plurality); Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72,

90-91 (1977).

Such a functional approach is also necessary to effectuate

the language and purposes of Section 2244(b) The ability to

avoid the substantive impact of Section 2244(b) through

mislabeling would create a massive loophole that would

permit habeas corpus petitioners to mount, with impunity, two

or more collateral attacks on State criminal judgments. It

would, in short, allow State prisoners to control the

availability of federal court proceedings based solely on the

form, and not the substance, of their federal-court filings.

Section 2244(b) thus reflects the broad principle that, absent

exceptional circumstances, a federal habeas petitioner should

not be permitted more than one opportunity to have a request

for federal habeas relief adjudicated by a federal court.

The Court’s analysis in Calderon v. Thompson is

instructive. There, after Thompson’s federal habeas petition

had been denied, Thompson filed a motion to recall the

mandate in the court of appeals and a Rule 60(b) motion in

the district court. 523 US. at 546. The district court denied

the Rule 60(b) motion, reasoning (correctly) that petitioner

““must not be permitted to utilize a Rule 60(b) motion to

make an end-run around the requirements’ of AEDPA.” /d. at

547. The court of appeals, however, sua sponte voted to

recall its prior mandate. /d.

This Court reversed the Ninth Circuit’s decision to recall its

mandate. In doing so, the Court first explained that, in

14

determining whether a pleading is an “application” for

purposes of Section 2244(b), a “motion to recall the

mandate... can be regarded as a second or successive

application for purposes of § 2244(b).” /d at 553.

“Otherwise,” the Court explained, “petitioners could evade

the bar against relitigation of claims presented in a prior

application, § 2244(b)(1), or the bar against litigation of

claims not presented in a prior application, § 2244(b)(2).” 7d.

Although the Court ultimately determined that AEDPA did

not apply because the court of appeals acted sua sponte,

Calderon makes clear that any motion, pleading or other

filing that seeks to relitigate old claims, or present new claims

after a first federal habeas application already has been

adjudicated, is subject to the requirements of Section 2244(b)

regardless of the label adopted by the petitioner.

3. This Court’s decisions in Slack vy. McDaniel, 529 US.

473 (2000), and Stewart v. Martinez-Villareal, 523 U.S. 637

(1998), bolster the conclusion that any effort in federal court

to attack collaterally a prisoner’s conviction constitutes a

“second or successive application” where the prisoner has

already had one complete round of federal habeas review. In

those cases, because the federal district court dismissed a

federal habeas petition without prejudice to allow exhaustion

or further development of claims in State court, there was

never a first adjudication of the federal habeas claims.

Indeed, those decisions “contemplated that the prisoner could

return to federal court after the requisite exhaustion.” Slack,

529 U.S. at 486; Stewart, 523 U.S. at 644. It follows that

where, by contrast, a federal district court has already

adjudicated a petitioner’s initial habeas petition, the prisoner’s

subsequent effort to overturn his conviction, whether direct or

indirect, and regardless of how it is labeled, constitutes a

second or successive petition that must satisfy the

requirements of Section 2244(b).

4. This principle is dispositive here. It is undisputed that

the petitioner is seeking to overturn his State criminal

15

judgment through the vehicle of his Rule 60(b) motion.

Specifically, petitioner seeks to overturn the district court’s

prior determination that his “prosecutorial misconduct”

claims were procedurally defaulted, so that he can then have

those claims addressed “on the merits” For reasons

explained above, the fact that he is not immediately seeking

to have those claims resolved on the substantive merits does

not diminish the fact that he is using a federal procedural

device to attack collaterally the State court judgment against

him. Thus, his 60(b) motion clearly constitutes an

“application” for federal habeas relief.

Petitioner's Rule 60(b) motion also constitutes a “second or

successive” application within the meaning of Section

2244(b) because he has already received one complete

adjudication of a request for federal habeas relief. That

adjudication did not reach the substantive merits of certain of

petitioner's prosecutorial misconduct claims, but only

because the district court found that petitioner had

procedurally defaulted them. There can be no serious

question that a determination of procedural default constitutes

an “adjudication” of a federal habeas claim. As this Court

explained in McCleskey v. Zant, 499 U.S. 467 (1991), “[t}he

prohibition against adjudication in federal habeas corpus of

claims defaulted in state court is similar in purpose and design

to the abuse-of-the-writ doctrine, which in general prohibits

subsequent habeas consideration of claims not raised, and

thus defaulted, in the first federal habeas proceeding.” /d at

490. Similarly, Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991)

held that, “in all cases in which a state prisoner has defaulted

his federal claims in state court . . . federal habeas review of

the claims is barred unless the prisoner can demonstrate cause

for the default and actual prejudice as a result of the alleged

violation of federal law.” /d. at 750.

In short, petitioner has already received one full

adjudication of a federal habeas application. The decision

petitioner received from the district court on his earlier habeas

16

application concluded that his properly preserved

prosecutorial misconduct claims did not entitle him to relief

and the remainder were procedurally defaulted. There can

thus be no question that the district court’s decision was an

adjudication that makes his subsequent Rule 60(b) motion a

“second or successive” application within the meaning of the

statute. A contrary conclusion in this case would effectively

allow any habeas petitioner to avoid the statutory restriction

simply by calling his request for relief from a State court

conviction a Rule 60(b) motion rather than an application for

habeas corpus.

B. A Rule 60(b) Motion Seeking A _ Second

Adjudication Of A Request For Federal Habeas

Relief Predicated On A Change In The Law Or

New Facts Constitutes A “Second Or Successive

Application” Subject To The Limitations Of

Section 2244(b).

At a minimum, a Rule 60(b) motion based on new law or

facts as to the underlying State court adjudication should be

considered a second or successive petition subject to the

limitations of Section 2244(b).

1. As noted above, Section 2244(b)(2)(A) permits review,

in a second or successive application, of new claims based

upon intervening developments of federal constitutional law

to which this Court has given retroactive application. These

intervening developments have been determined by Congress

to permit a federal habeas petitioner to raise a new claim in a

second or successive habeas application. Under the principle

of expressio unius, exclusio alterius, Congress’s recognition

of certain legal developments as warranting consideration in a

second or successive application presupposes that other legal

developments—including those based on changes or

clarifications of State law—do not merit similar treatment.

See, e.g., O'Melveny & Myers v. FDIC, 512 U.S. 79, 86-87

(1994) (Congress’s creation of special federal rules to govern

various issues in connection with litigation against those

17

associated with failed S&Ls was a clear indication that

Congress did not intend a federal rule with respect to other

matters arising in that litigation).

Indeed, it would make no sense to allow claims that

Congress expressly permitted to be considered in a second or

successive petition to be treated equally to those Congress

that omitted. For example, Congress’s determination that

only claims based upon new rules of constitutional law

recognized and made retroactive by this Court can be

considered in a second or successive habeas petition would be

undermined if a habeas petitioner could use a Rule 60(b)

motion to seek habeas relief based on a new rule this Court

determined would not merit retroactive application on

collateral review. The same is true of, for example, a “new

rule of constitutional law” recognized by an intermediate

State appellate court, but not by this Court.

Similarly, Section 2244(b)(2)(B) carves out a category of

factual claims—newly discovered facts bearing on actual

innocence—of sufficient magnitude to be permitted late entry

into a federal habeas court even though they were not raised

in the initial application Here as well, Congress’s

recognition of certain factual claims as warranting belated

consideration presupposes that other post-decision factual

claims do not merit similar treatment. And it would make no

.sense for factual developments that Congress believed to

warrant a second bite at the federal habeas corpus apple be

treated equally with other factual developments that Congress

did not believe required similar treatment.

For all these reasons, a Rule 60(b) motion for relief from

judgment based on an intervening State law development

cannot be permitted to evade Congress’s determination that

such legal developments do not warrant a second adjudication

of a federal habeas petitioner’s challenge to a State court

judgment.

18

2. Here, it is undisputed that petitioner's Rule 60(b) motion

seeks relief based on a recent legal development with respect

to a State court rule of appellate procedure. This State law

development plainly is not “a new rule of constitutional

law .. . by the Supreme Court.” It is, rather, a procedural rule

newly promulgated by the Tennessee Supreme Court. Indeed,

according to petitioner’s characterization, it is not even a

“new rule” at all, but rather a “clarification” of an existing

rule. Pet. Br. 6, 35. But there is no disputing that the

promulgation of Rule 39 is the “new” legal development on

which petiuoner’s Rule 60(b) motion rests.

In short, the petitioner’s Rule 60(b) motion seeks to attack

collaterally the petitioner’s State criminal judgment, it must

be treated as an “application” for habeas relief under the

statute. And because that motion seeks relief based on a type

of legal development that is not contemplated by the statute, it

must be treated as a “second or successive” application and

therefore governed by the restrictions in Section 2244(b). To

hold otherwise would not only contravene AEDPA’s

language and history, it would undermine Congress’s

carefully crafted restrictions on multiple habeas applic tions.

Il. EVEN IF NOT CONSIDERED A_ HABEAS

APPLICATION, PETITIONER’S RULE 60(b)

MOTION MUST BE DENIED, BOTH BECAUSE IT

IS LEGALLY FUTILE AND BECAUSE GRANTING

RULE 60(b) RELIEF WOULD CONTRAVENE THE

POLICIES UNDERLYING AEDPA.

Even if this Court were to hold that petitioner’s Rule 60(b)

motion was not a second or successive application, the Sixth

Circuit’s judgment should be affirmed because granting

petitioner's Rule 60(b) motion would have been a clear abuse

of discretion. That is because (i) petitioner’s application is

futile as a matter of law under other provisions of AEDPA

and this Court’s decision in O'Sullivan, and (ii) granting the

motion would contravene the policies underlying AEDPA.

19

A. Petitioner’s Motion Is Futile Because, Under

AEDPA And This Court’s Decision In

O’Sullivan, New State Court Rules Or Declar-

ations That Do Not Affect The Availability Of A

State Court Procedure Have No Bearing On

Whether A Ciaim Has Properly Been Exhausted

For Purposes Of Federal Habeas Law.

The heart of petitioner’s Rule 60(b) motion is that the

promulgation of Tennessee’s Rule 39 is a sufficient basis for

reopening the district court’s earlier finding of procedural

default. And the largely unexamined premise of that

argument is that, if the procedural default question were to be

answered anew, Rule 39 might produce a different outcome.

This premise should be assessed with care because, upon

closer examination, it is clear that this argument is contrary to

the reasoning in O'Sullivan and, if accepted, would have a

potentially broad impact nationwide. Indeed, a number of

States now have rules or policies similar to Rule 39,° and

> In addition to Tennessee, courts in at least four States have indicated

that although State discretionary review is available, it need not be utilized

for a prisoner to be deemed to have exhausted State court remedies. See

State vy. Sandon, 777 P.2d 220, 221 (Ariz. 1989) (concluding that

defendants need not petition for discretionary review before Anzona

Supreme Court to exhaust State remedies); Ark. Sup. Ct. R. 1-2(h) (stating

that, in criminal appeals or post-conviction relief matters, “appellant shall

not be required to petition for . . . review in the Supreme Court following

an adverse decision of the Court of Appeals in order to be deemed to have

exhausted all available state remedies respecting a claim of error”); /n re:

Exhaustion of State Remedies in Criminal and Post-Conviction Relief

Cases, No. 218 Judicial Administration Docket No 1, (Pa. May 9, 2000)

(per curiam) (declaring “that in all appeals from criminal convictions or

post-conviction relief matters, a litigant shail not be required to petition

for rehearing or allowance of appeal following an adverse decision by the

Superior Court in order to be deemed to have exhausted all available state

remedies respecting a claim of error”), State v. McKennedy, 559 S.E.2d

850, 854 (S.C. 2002) (holding that in criminal and post-conviction

appeals, “petitions for . . . certiorari following an adverse Court of

ee

20

other State supreme courts could well adopt such rules in the

future. As shown below, State court rules such as

Tennessee’s Rule 39 are irrelevant to the questions of

exhaustion and procedural default as a matter of federal law

when they do not affect the “availability” of discretionary

appellate review under State law.

1. There can be no serious question that the district court’s

original finding of procedural default was correct at the time

it was made. Indeed, this Court’s subsequent decision in

O'Sullivan v. Boerkel, 526 U.S. 838 (1999), confirms this

conclusion.

In O'Sullivan, this Court addressed the question of

“whether a prisoner must seek review in a state court of last

resort when that court has discretionary control over its

docket” in order “to satisfy the federal exhaustion

requirement.” /d. at 843. The Court began its analysis by

examining the statutory language of the exhaustion

requirement: “Section 2254(c) provides that a habeas

petitioner ‘shall not be deemed to have exhausted the

remedies available in the court of the State... if he has the

right under the law of the State to raise, by any available

procedure, the question presented.” Jd at 844 (omission in

original). Interpreting this language, the O'Sullivan Court

held that a prisoner properly exhausts his claims when he

resorts to the normal measures that constitute “one complete

round of the State’s established appellate review process.” /d

at 845. Thus, where State procedure gives prisoners “‘the

right . . . to raise’ their claims through a petition for

discretionary review in the State’s highest court,” the prisoner

must include claims in such a petition before presenting them

in a federal habeas proceeding. /d. (omission in original).

Under O'Sullivan, petitioner plainly failed to exhaust his

claims of prosecutorial misconduct. During State post-

Appeals’ decision are not required in order to exhaust all available state

remedies”).

21

conviction relief proceedings, petitioner did present those

claims to the State trial court and court of criminal appeals.

The courts both rejected his claims. Petitioner then had a

right to seek review of those claims in the Tennessee Supreme

Court. Petitioner, however, abandoned many (but not all) of

his prosecutorial misconduct claims when he petitioned that

court for review. J.A. 36. Under O'Sullivan, therefore, the

federal district court was correct in concluding that

petitioner’s claims were procedurally defaulted because he

did not exhaust them in State court.

2. Tennessee Rule 39 does not affect this conclusion.* As

noted above, O ‘Sullivan was predicated upon the language of

28 US.C. § 2254(c), which states that a habeas “applicant

shall not be deemed to have exhausted the remedies available

in the courts of the State, within the meaning of this section, if

he has the right under the law of the State to raise, by any

available procedure, the question presented.” /d. (emphasis

added). The O'Sullivan Court held that federal habeas

petitioners must properly exhaust their claims by applying for

discretionary State high court relief where such relief is a

normal part of the appellate process. See 526 US. at 845

(noting discretionary review was part of “Illinois’ established,

* That provision, which was adopted three years after the district court

concluded that petitioner procedurally defaulted the prosecutorial

musconduct claims he raises here, states:

“In all appeals from criminal convictions on post-conviction relief

matters from and after July 1, 1967, a litigant shall not be required to

petition for rehearing or to file an application for permission to appeal

to the Supreme Court of Tennessee following an adverse decision of

the Court of Criminal Appeals in order to be deemed to have

exhausted all available state remedies respecting a claim of error

On automatic review of capital cases by the Supreme Court pursuant

to Tennessee Code Annotated, § 39-13-206, a claim presented to the

Court of Criminal Appeals shall be considered exhausted even when

such claim is not renewed in the Supreme Court on automatic

J.A. 278-79.

|

—————_ ee

22

normal appellate review procedure” and was “a normal,

simple, and established part of the State’s appellate review

process” (emphasis added)). Thus, this Court ruled that “any

available procedure” in Section 2254(c) means any remedy

that is part of the normal appellate process and that the

normal appellate process includes _ petitioning _ for

discretionary appellate review when available /d. at 844-47.

In so holding, this Court expressly rejected the argument

that requiring discretionary review for exhaustion purposes

may have the unwanted consequence of encouraging petitions

to State supreme courts for discretionary review. See id at

845-47. The Court acknowledged that a requirement that

prisoners present claims in petitions for discretionary

appellate relief “has the potential to increase the number of

filings in state supreme courts,” and “that this increased

burden may be unwelcome in some state courts because the

courts do not wish to have the opportunity to review

constitutional claims before those claims are presented to a

federal habeas court.” /d at 847. Nonetheless, the Court held

that a prisoner, to properly exhaust a claim and avoid

procedural default, must still present that claim in all normal

State appellate proceedings:

Section 2254(c) ... directs federal courts to consider

whether a habeas petitioner has “the right under the law

of the State to raise, by any available procedure,” the

question presented.... The exhaustion doctrine, in

other words, turns on an inquiry into what procedures

are “available” under State law.

Id. at 847-48. Thus, as long as a procedural remedy such as

discretionary review remains available, the federal statutory

exhaustion provision requires that a habeas petitioner avail

himself of that remedy before bringing his claims in federal

court

In response to O'Sullivan, the Tennessee Supreme Court

did not alter its procedures for seeking discretionary review.

23

The Tennessee Supreme Court left Rule | |—which provides

the standards governing the grant of discretionary review—

unchanged. Indeed, the advisory committee for the

Tennessee Rules explained that (i) “The Tennessee Supreme

Court adopted Rule 39 in response to O'Sullivan v. Boerckel,

526 US 838 (1999),” but (ii) “Rule 39, Rules of the

Tennessee Supreme Court, ... works no change to

Tenn.R App P. 11 itself.” Tenn. R. App. Proc. 11, 1999 Ad.

Comm’n Cmt. (emphasis added); see Tenn. R. App. P. 11(a).°

Instead of making relief unavailable, as both Section

2254(c) and O ‘Sullivan require, the Tennessee Supreme Court

in Rule 39 simply declared exhausted all claims that were not

presented for discretionary review The Tennessee Supreme

> Tennessee's procedures governing the availability of discretionary

review are virtually identical to those of Illinois, which were at issue in

O'Sullivan See 526 US. at 843 (explaining that appeals from the

intermediate appellate court are granted as “‘a matter of sound judicial

discretion’” and setting forth similar factors that “‘indicate the character”

of those considered in exercising discretion) Nor is discretionary review

of claims presented in a Rule 11 petition only “occasionally employed” in

“truly extraordinary cases.” /d at 850 (Souter, J, concurring). Recent

Statistics indicate that approximately 7% to 10% of requests for

discretionary review are granted by the Tennessee Supreme Court. See

Annual Report of the Tennessee Judiciary, Statewide Appellate and State

Trial Court Statistics, FY 1999-2000, at 9 (2000) (reporting that review

was granted in 83 cases and denied in 714 cases (10 4% granted)), Annual

Report of the Tennessee Judiciary, Statewide Appellate and State Trial

Court Statistics, FY 2000-01, at 39 (2001) (reporting that review was

granted in 69 cases and denied in 878 cases (7.3% granted)). Thus,

discretionary review before the Tennessee Supreme Court appears to be

even more “available” than such review was before the Illinois Supreme

Court at the time this Court decided O ‘Sullivan. See Resp. Br. at *6 1.2,

O'Sullivan v. Boerckel, No. 97-2048 (U.S. filed Jan. 28, 1999), available

at 1999 WL 61669 (noting that the Illinois Supreme Court grants review

in approximately 3% of cases), Tr. Oral Arg. at *25, O Sullivan, 97-2048

(U.S. argued Mar. 30, 1999), available at 1999 WL 200680 (same).

ee EEE eevrvVvcr_cvcvcvcrere.

24

Court’s adoption of Rule 39 cannot change the requirements

of federal law as construed by this Court in O 'Sullivan °

B. Reopening The District Court’s Prior Conclusion

Of Procedural Default Would Contravene The

Policies Underlying AEDPA And This Court’s

Habeas Jurisprudence.

Even if petitioner's Rule 60(b) motion were not futile as a

matter of law under Section 2254(c) and O ‘Sullivan, granting

that motion would be a plain abuse of discretion because it

would contravene the policies underlying both AEDPA and

this Court’s habeas jurisprudence. In the closely analogous

context presented in Calderon, this Court directed that a

district court’s discretion to reopen habeas proceedings must

be exercised “in a manner consistent with the objects of

[AEDPAj” and “must be guided by the general principles

underlying [this Court’s] habeas corpus jurisprudence.” 523

U.S. at 554. Indeed, in Calderon, although this Court

concluded that AEDPA did not apply directly to a court of

appeals’ decision to recall its mandate sua sponte, the Court

concluded that AEDPA’s provisions and underlying policies

* In fact, Rule 39 goes well beyond an attempt, in effect, to overturn

O'Sullivan, which dealt with the availability of remedies subject to

discretionary review. It also runs contrary to the broader exhaustion

requirement first announced in Ex parte Royal, 117 US. 241 (1886),

which also requires a defendant to exhaust any claims he may have

through remedies available as a matter of right on direct review in the

State court system. Rule 39's pronouncement of exhaustion is not

restricted to claims that were not presented for discretionary review. Rule

39 also deems exhausted claums that a criminal defendant has an absolute

nght to have reviewed on the merits by the Tennessee Supreme Court

According to Rule 39, “{o}n automatic [direct] review of capital cases by

the Supreme Court pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated, § 39-13-206, a

claim presented to the Court of Criminal Appeals shall be considered

exhausted even when such claim is not renewed in the Supreme Court on

automatic review.” JA. 279. None of the opinions in O ‘Sullivan supports

the view that Rule 39 may declare exhausted, as a matter of federal law,

claims which a habeas petitioner never challenged on direct review which

1s available as a matter of nght.

jr analial ~

— <

25

““certainly inform [this Court’s] consideration’ of whether the

Court of Appeals abused its discretion.” /d at 558 (quoting

Felker v. Turpin, 518 U.S. 651, 663 (1996)).

Elsewhere, this Court has noted that the limitations

imposed upon federal habeas proceedings reflect a proper

respect for the interests of “comity, finality and federalism.”

Williams v. Taylor, 529 US. 420, 436 (2000). As shown

below, granting a motion such as petitioner's Rule 60(b)

application would contravene these interests, as well as

Congress’s specific judgments as to the circumstances in

which new legal developments and newly discovered facts

may be a basis for a second collateral attack on a State

criminal judgment.

_ There can be no doubt that granting the kind of relief

oattin seeks under the guise of Rule 60(b) would

undermine “the respect that federal courts owe the States and

the States’ procedural rules.” Coleman, 501 U.S. at 726. As

this Court has noted, as a general matter, “[flederal habeas

review of state convictions frustrates both the States’

sovereign power to punish offenders and their good-faith

attempts to honor constitutional rights.” Calderon, 523 US.

at 555-56 (internal quotations omitted). Accordingly, this

Court has explained that the federal habeas power must be

invoked sparingly to “preserve the federal balance” and to

give a proper respect “both the States’ sovereign power to

punish offenders and their good-faith attempts to honor

constitutional rights.” /d (internal quotation omitted).

Concerns regarding “comity,” moreover, are not “limited to

the judicial branch of a state government.” /d at 552.

Federal habeas courts must not unduly “frustrate the interests

of a State _ in enforcing a final judgment” by unduly

interfering with the State’s legislative and executive branches.

Id

Here, in furtherance of comity, Congress has already given

States a means to waive the exhaustion requirement.

26

Specifically, Congress provided that States may waive an

exhaustion defense at the option of their executive officials

appearing in court’ “A State shall not be deemed to have

waived the exhaustion requirement or be estopped from

reliance upon the requirement unless the State, through

counsel, expressly waives the requirement.” 28 USC

§ 2254(b)(3). This express congressional allocation of the

waiver power should not be supplanted by a new rule

effectively permitting State supreme courts to engage,

intentionally or not, in wholesale waiver of the federal

requirement that habeas petitioners exhaust all “available”

State court remedies.

2. As this Court has noted, the exhaustion doctrine is also

informed by federalism concerns. Williams, 529 US. at 436

In Section 2254(c), Congress has provided a rule of law that,

in its judgment, strikes the proper federal-State balance. As

~ ~exptamed above, that rule provides that a habeas petitioner

must exhaust all remedies normally “available” in State court.

28 USC. § 2254(c).

This rule not only embodies a judgment that State prisoners

should respect State court error-correction processes, but it

also helps ensure that State courts have a full opportunity to

confront all claims of federal constitutional error in their

criminal trials before the scarce resources of the federal

judiciary are called upon to correct any remaining error.

Allowing petitioner, or others like him, to reopen prior

findings of procedura! default on the basis of provisions such

as Rule 39-would disserve these policies.

3. Except in unusual circumstances, moreover, successive

collateral attacks on State criminal judgments undermine the

federal courts’ “enduring respect for the State’s interest in the

finality of convictions that have survived direct review within

the state court system.” (Calderon, 523 US. at 555 (internal

quotation omitted) Finality “is essential to both the

retributive and the deterrent functions of criminal law,” id.,

for “[nJeither innocence nor just punishment can be

27

vindicated until the final judgment is known.” McCleskey,

499 US. at 491. Moreover, “[w]ithout finality, the criminal

law is deprived of much of its deterrent effect.” Jeague, 489

US. at 309.

Obviously, granting petitioner’s Rule 60(b) motion would

undermine the finality of his own criminal judgment It

would also cast doubt on the finality of many other State

criminal convictions around the country. Indeed, if this Court

were to adopt petitioner’s position, the Illinois Supreme Court

would be free to make a pronouncement similar to that in

Rule 39 and thereby permit the habeas petitioner in

O'Sullivan to file a Rule 60(b) motion for the very relief that

this Court previously denied. Such a revival of stale claims in

-Rule 60(b) motions threatens to overwhelm the resources, not

only of the lower federal courts, but also the State attorneys

who would have to oppose those motions.’

4. In this case, moreover, granting petitioner’s Rule 60(b)

motion would effectively allow the petitioner to flout

Congress’s judgment that, once a prisoner has had one full

’ Even if this Court were to permit Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 39

to control the federal exhaustion inquiry in cases arising from Tennessee,

Rule 39 should be given only prospective effect. First, the Tennessee

Supreme Court lacks any interest in the retroactive application of Rule 39.

As that court explained, Rule 39 seeks to discourage the “routin{e]

petition{ing] .. . for permission to appeal _. . in order to exhaust all

available state remedies for purposes of federal habeas corpus litigation.”

J.A. 278. Rule 39, however, advances this interest only insofar as it

Second, retrospective application of Rule 39 could have grave

consequences for the States and the federal distnct courts. Such a ruling

would permit all habeas claims since 1967 that were held procedurally

defaulted for failure to exhaust in a petition for discretionary review to be

the subject of Rule 60(b) motions for reconsideration based on any post-

1967 legal development. The effects would be particularly acute in States

such as South Carolina and Arizona, whose supreme courts have taken

positions similar i that of Tennessee, see O ‘Sullivan, 526 US. at 847,

and all other States whose supreme courts may opine similarly in the

future. See, supra, n.3.

28

adjudication of a habeas application, the only legal

developments that can provide a basis for relief from the State

criminal judgment are new rules of constitutional law adopted

(and made retroactive) by this Court. Here, as noted above,

Seciion 2244(b) specifies that the only change in law that

might permit a petitioner a second adjudication of a request

for federal habeas relief is “a new rule of constitutional law,

made retroactive to cases on collateral review by the Supreme

Court, that was previously unavailable” 28 U.S.C.

§ 2244(b)(2)(A). Yet here, the only purported change in the

law was the Tennessee Supreme Court’s adoption of a Ru!<

39, a procedural provision that petitioner contends “clarified”

existing Tennessee procedural law. Pet. Br. 9. Under

Calderon, adoption of Rule 39 is not an appropriate basis for

granting petitioner's Rule 60(b) motion because it plainly is

not a pronouncement by this Court of “a new rule of

_ constitutional law.” ,

s**t ee &

In sum, to grant a Rule 60(b) motion on the basis of Rule

39 would be both futile under Section 2254(c) and contrary to

the purposes underlying AEDPA and this Court’s habeas

jurisprudence. Granting such a motion would, therefore, be a

plain abuse of discretion. The iudgment below can be

affirmed on that ground even if the Court were to conclude

that petitioner’s Rule 60(b) motion does not constitute a

“second or successive application” within the meaning of

Section 2244(b).

a

29

CONCLUSION

For these reasons and those in respondent’s brief, the

judgment of the Sixth Circuit should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

BILL PRYOR

ATTORNEY GENERAL

NATHAN A. FORRESTER

SOLICITOR GENERAL

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY

GENERAL

STATE OF ALABAMA

11 South Union Street

Montgomery, AL 36130

(334) 242-7300

JANET NAPOLITANO

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF ARIZONA

1275 West Washington

Phoenix, AZ 85007

(602) 542-5025

BILL LOCKER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

1300 I Street

Sacramento, CA 94244

(916) 324-8835

CARTER G. PHILLIPS

GENE C. SCHAERR*

PAUL J. ZIDLICKY

STEVEN T. COTTREAU

REBECCA K. WOOD

SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN

& WOOD LLP

1501 K Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20005

(202) 736-8000

MARK LUNSFORD PRYOR

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF ARKANSAS

200 Tower Building

323 Center Street

Little Rock, AR 72201

(800) 482-8982

KEN SALAZAR

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF COLORADO

1525 Sherman Street

Denver, CO 80203

(303) 866-3557

JOHN M. BAILEY

CHIEF STATE’S ATTORNEY

STATE OF CONNECTICUT

300 Corporate Place

Rocky Hill, CT 06067

(860) 258-5800

ROBERT A. BUTTERWOPTH

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF FLORIDA

The Capitol, Plaza Level

Tallahassee, FL 32399

(850) 414-3300

ALAN G. LANCE

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF IDAHO

State House, Room 210

Boise, ID 83720

(208) 334-240u

STEVE CARTER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF INDIANA

Indiana Government Center

South, 5th Floor

402 West Washington Street

Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 232-6201

RICHARD P. IEYOUB

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF LOUISIANA

P.O. Box 92005

22nd Floor

Baton Rouge, LA 70804

(225) 339-5113

M. JANE BRADY

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF DELAWARE

Carvel State Office Building

820 N. French Street

Wilmington, DE 19801

(302) 577-8338

THURBERT E. BAKER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF GEORGIA

40 Capitol Square, SW

Atlanta, GA 30334

(404) 656-3300

JAMES E. RYAN

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF ILLINOIS

100 W. Randolph Street

Chicago, IL 60601

(312) 814-2503

CARLA J. STOVALL

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF KANSAS

120 S.W. 10th Avenue

2nd Floor

Topeka, KS 66612

(785) 296-2215

THOMAS F. REILLY

ATTORNEY GENERAL

COMMONWEALTH OF

MASSACHUSETTS

One Ashburton Place

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 727-2200

EE

MIKE MCGRATH

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF MONTANA

Justice Building, 215 N.

Sanders

Helena, MT 59620

(406) 444-2026

FRANKIE SUE DEL PAPA

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NEVADA

100 N. Carson Street

Carson City, NV 89701

(775) 684-1100

WAYNE STENEHJEM

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA

600 E. Boulevard Avenue

Bismark, ND 58505

(701) 328-2210

W.A. DREW EDMONDSON

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF OKLAHOMA

2300 N. Lincoln Boulevard

Suite 112

Okiahoma City, OK 73105

(405) 521-3921

CHARLES M. CONDON

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

P.O. Box 11549

Columbia, SC 29211

(803) 734-3970

DON STENBERG

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NEBRASKA

nt of Justice

2115 State Capitol

Lincoln, NE 68509

(402) 471-2682

DAVID SAMSON

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

25 Market Street

Trenton, NJ 08625

(609) 984-6500

BETTY D. MONTGOMERY

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF OHIO

30 E. Broad Street

Columbus, OH 43215

(614) 466-8980

D. MICHAEL FISHER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

COMMONWEALTH OF

PENNSYLVANIA

Strawberry Square

Harrisburg, PA 17120

(717) 787-6348

MARK BARNETT

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

500 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

(605) 773-3215

JOHN CORNYN MARK L. SHURTLEFF

ATTORNEY GENERAL ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF TEXAS STATE OF UTAH

P.O. Box 12548 236 State Capitol

Austin, TX 78711 Salt Lake City, UT 84114

(512) 936-1824 (801) 538-9600

JERRY W. KILGORE CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE

ATTORNEY GENERAL ATTORNEY GENERAL

COMMONWEALTH OF STATE OF WASHINGTON

VIRGINIA P.O. Box 40100

900 East Main Street Olympia, WA 98504

Richmond, VA 23219 (360) 753-6245

(804) 786-2071

DARRELL V. MCGRAW, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

State Capitol, Room 26-E

Charleston, WV 25305

(304) 558-2021

Counsel for Amici Curiae

September 12, 2002 *Counsel of Record

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.