Amicus Curiae Brief — State Farm Mut. Automobile Ins. Co. v. Campbell

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Suprecie Court, U.S.

FILED

|

|

AUG 19 2002

{ Q OFFICE OF THE CLERK

EF

a

No. 01-1289

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

CURTIS CAMPBELL AND INEZ CAMPBELL,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Utah Supreme Court

BRIEF OF THE PRODUCT LIABILITY

ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC. AS AMICUS

CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Hugh F. Young, Jr. Victor E. Schwartz

PRODUCT LIABILITY (Counsel of Record)

ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC. Leah Lorber

1850 Centennial Park Drive Cary Silverman

Suite 510 SHOOK, HARDY & BACON L.L.P.

Reston, Virginia 20191-1517 600 14” Street, N.W., Suite 800

(703) 264-5300 Washington, Ly.C. 20005

Of Counsel (202) 783-8400

Attorneys For Amicus Curiae

a

OT

OP

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLES OF ALT EBUIREE Ble ccccscccccccssccesssscssssssscnsssees iv

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ..........:csccsssseeesees l

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ................:ccccsssesseeeees 2

TUE siceniccsinnssinsninainsicnieniintaaebipiiiammensssaainonan 4

I. THE ONGOING EXPANSION OF

PUNITIVE DAMAGES LAW IS

CREATING A LITIGATION CRISIS.......... 4

A. The Purpose of Punitive Damages. ......... 6

Punitive Damages Doctrine of 1791. ..... 7

Punitive Damages Now Are Awarded.... 10

The Explosion in Size and Frequency of

Punitive Damage Awards. ..............:000000++ 13

B.

C. The Broadened Standard By Which

D.

Il. THE UTAH SUPREME COURT'S

DECISION IMPERMISSIBLY

EXPANDS PUNITIVE DAMAGES

LAW IN VIOLATION OF THE

COMMERCE CLAUSE AND

o FRED Bs crcenccsctsccennesesneeeessemmmeneceases 17

A. The Utah Supreme Court’s Use of

Out-of-State Acts to Support The Award

Interferes With State Sovereignty and The

Commerce Clause of the United States

CI ccccccsensensnnnnsnssncenninennescimennes 18

B. The Utah Supreme Court’s Reliance on

Unrelated Conduct Violates Due Process

Protections

CONCLUSION

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Allstate Ins. Co.. v. Hague,

449 U.S. 302 (1981).............ccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeees

BMW of North America v. Gore,

517 U.S. 559 (1996) ............ccecceeseeeeeeeneneees

Baker v. National State Bank,

2002 WL 1343809

(N.J. Super. June 21, 2002) ..............000008

Bartkus v. Illinois,

359 U.S. 121 (1959)) .......eeeeeeetereeeenneenees

Beardmore v. Carrington,

95 Eng. Rep. 790 (C.P. 1764) ..............000+5

Benaway v. Coyne,

3 Pin. 196 (Wis. 1851) ............ccccceeeeeeeeeeees

Bender v. Darden Restaurants Inc.,

2002 WL 74441 (9th Cir. 2002) ................

Benson v. Frederick,

97 Eng. Rep. 1130 (K.B. 1764) .............0++.

Bigelow v. Virginia,

421 U.S. 809 (1975) ........ccccceeeeeeeeeeeeenneeees

Page

15

23

16

21

vi

Vv

Bradshaw v. Buchanan, Tire & Rubber Co. v. Tuckier,

cg TE . Te UE, S600 Gfien. den. 12,9008 ——~

Brown v. Allen, ; Watson,

35 Iowa 306 aa ai 8 = 200). \ )

Brown v. McBride

ll v. Colbaugh,

02 N-W-S. 620 (1898) neovorrrsernrnrrerneenene : <n

Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. Oo Georgia v. Six Flags Over

New York State Liquor Auth., On ae i aba 178

476 U.S. 583 (1986) oo... cccccccccscecescecseceeeees 21 (Ga. App. ieee

Bruce v. Rawlins, Manlove,

95 Eng. Rep. 934 (C.P.1770) occccccccccoceeooooe 7 a oy

Burton v. R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co.

, Duberly v. Gunning,

2002 WL 1359316 100 Eng. Rep. 696 (K.B. 1813) ............--+e1++++

(D. Kan. Jume 21, 2002) o.oo. ooo ccccccccceecee ee. 15

. MITE Corp.,

C & A Carbone, Inc. v. Town of Clarkstown, ae et 624 (1982) ies tetleaaammmnenmssasianeant

511 U.S. 383 (1994) ooo ccccceceecceceerseceeeeees 20

Ellis v. Brockton Pub. Co.,

Clark v. Bales, 84 N.E. 1018 (Mass. 1908) ..........-.-----eeeeeeeeee

15 Arik. 452 (1855) .............cccccccecccscescccecceeseees 8

Fabrigas v. Mostyn,

Coffin v. Brown, . ny Eng. Rep. 549 (C.P. 1774) .......--c--eeeeeeeeeeens

50 A. 567 (Md. 1901) 20... eee ccccccccccecseeceeeeees 8

Fay v. Parker, 53 N.H. 342 (1872) .....-.-----0-e0-000

Continental Trend Res.. jac. v. Oxy USA, Inc.,

101 F.3d 634 (10th Cir. 1996) 2000. : 20 Ford Motor Co. v. Ammerman,

705 N.E.2d 539 (Ind. App. 1999) .............---+++-

Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Leatherman Tool

Group, Inc., 532 U.S. 424 (2001)..................... 6, 25

Vii

General Motors Corp. v. Moseley,

447 S.E.2d 302 (Ga. App. 1994) .................... 17

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc.

I 6

Gillham v. Admiral Corp.,

523 F.2d 102 (6th Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, 424 U.S. 913 (1976) .................... 14

Gilreath v. Allen,

32 N.C. (10 Tred.) 67 (1849) oooooeecccceccececeeeee. 8

Green v. Southern Express Co.,

ET 8

Grey v. Grant,

95 Eng. Rep. 794 (C.P. 1764) oo... ccccccccccceeee. 7

Grimshaw v. Ford Motor Co.,

119 Cal. App. 3d 757 (Cal. App. 1981) ........... 11

Gryc v. Dayton-Hudson Corp.,

297 N.W.2d 727 (Minn. 1980) ................... wee 11

Hamlin v. Spaulding,

SI na 8

Hawkins v. Allstate Ins. Co.,

733 P.2d 1073 (Ariz. 1987) ooo... oecccccccccceeeeceee. 17

Healy v. Beer Institute,

491 U.S. 324 (1989)... ccc cceeceeceeececereeeeeees passim

Heath v. Alabama,

474 U.S. 82 (1985) ........:c:ceeceeeeeeeeerereereeeeeeneenees 21, 23

Hewlett v. Cruchloy,

128 Eng. Rep. 696 (K.B. 1813) ) ....---------+00+

Huckle v. Money,

95 Eng. Rep. 768 (C.P. 1763) .....-.--.---s-seeeeeee

Huling v. Henderson,

161 Pa. 553 (1894) .0........cccccceceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees

Huntley v. Bacon,

15 Comn. 267 (1842) .........ccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeneneeeeeeenes

Jackson v. American Tel. & Tel. Co.,

51 S.E. 1016 (N.C. 1905) .......ccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees

Johansen v. Combustion Eng’g, Inc.,

170 F.3d 1320 (11th Cir. 1999) ............0cc2ee000+

Juzwin v. Amtorg Trading Corp.,

705 F. Supp. 1053 (D.N.J.).,

vacated, 718 F. Supp. 1233

(D.N.J. 1989), rev'd on other

grounds sub nom., Juzwin v.

Asbestos Corp., 900 F.2d 686

(3d Cir.), cert. denied,

489 U.S. 896 (1990) ...........cceeeceeeeeeeeeeerreeeeeenenes

Lake Shore & Mich. S. RV. v. Prentice,

147 U.S. 101 (1893) .........-::sseeeereeeeeeennenneneeenees

12

ix

Leith v. Pope,

96 Eng. Rep. 777 (C.P. 1799) )

Leonen v. Johns-Manville Corp..,

717 F. Supp. 272 (D.N.J. 1989)

Linsley v. Bushnell,

15 Conn. 225 (1842) ooooooo oo cccccccccccceeccceeeeseeeee-e.

Louisville & Nashville R.R. Co. v. Ballard

85 Ky. 307 (1887)

FOOTER EH EEE HEHE EES

Lynd v. Picket,

7 Minn. 184 (1862) oo... eccccccccccecccceecseeceeseeee.

Lyon v. Hancock,

DN

Madison Chevrolet, Inc., v. Donald,

505 P.2d 1032 (Ari. 1973) ooo. eeeecccccccceleceeceece.

Mcaulay v. Birkhead,

35 N.C. 28 (1851)

Meibus v. Dodge,

38 Wis. 300 (1875)

SOOTHER EERE EEEEE

Merest v. Harvey,

128 Eng. Rep. 761 (C.P. 1814) o0....oceccccccccecees.

Moore v. Jewel Tea Co.,

253 N.E.2d 636 (Ill. App. 1969),

aff'd, 263 N.E.2d 103 (Ill. 1970) .00....-ccececceosee.

12

North v. Cates,

179 Towa 342 (1917) ......cscccrrccssccrcesssecrresssssoes

B Ky. 591 (1812) .......ccccsccessesereeseessresersseessnnsees 8

Old Chief v. United States, ™

519 U.S. 172 (1997) ......cccccceseeseeeeseseeeeeeeeseeseees

O'Neill v. Gallant Ins. Co., “

769 N.E.2d 100 (Ill. App. 2002) ...........0ceeeeeeees

Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, |

499 U.S. 1(1991)) ....cccccccceceecessseeereeeeeeeseeeeeenees passim

Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,

S. Ct. U.S. Oral Arguments, Vol. 3

Case No. 89-1279, (Oct. Term :

1990), available at 1990 WL 601340 .............. 4-

Parsons v. Harper, ,

B7 Var. 64 (1860) ...ccccccccccccsscccccccccsccsseverscsesessees

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, ™

472 U.S. 797 (1985) .....ccccccccsssccrcccsscccecsessssoreses

. Pickett v. Crook, ,

20 Wis. 358 (1866) ...........cccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees

Porter v. Seiler, ‘

23 Pa. 424 (1BB4) .....cccccccccssccccccccssscscccecesessssees

Racich v. Celotex Corp., 887 P.2d 393 ie

(2d Cir. 1989) ...........00+ ssasensmmmandansqgnoneneneneniees

Reutkemeier v. Nolte, ,

xi

Roginsky v. Richardson-Merrell, Inc.,

378 F.2d 832 (Cir. 1967) ooo.ceeeccccccceccssocececeees..

Romo v. Ford Motor Co.,

(Cal. App. June 28, 2002) o.o..cccccccccccccecece---.,

Rubeck v. Huffman,

374 N.E.2d 411 (Ohio 1978) ...........................

Sand Hill Energy, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co.,

2002 WL 1000917

(Ky. May 16, 2002) ooo..ecccccceccceccccseececeeseeen..,

Schindel v. Schindel,

BE I BO CIID cvcccccnecsccsscswsiueseesseserssss.......

Schlencker v. Risley,

REA NS ee

Schumacher v. Shawhan Distillery Co.,

178 Mo. App. 361 (1914) oo.eeececcccccccececceceeeess.

Seals v. St. Regis Paper Co., 236

So. 2d 388 (Miss. 1970) o.o....e.ccccceccccosesecceeseeees.

Sears v. Lyons,

171 Eng. Rep. 658 (K.B. 1818) .......................

Sharpe v. Brice,

96 Eng. Rep. 557 (C.P. 1774) coecccccccccoceecee-....

Sheik v. Hobson,

64 Io ya 146 (1884) Pooerooccccoocosoocccocoococoscccococecece

13

15

10

15

10

xii

Singer Mfg. Co. v. Holdfodt,

I 8

Southern Kan. Ry. v. Rice,

EE AI ae Re ET LEAT 14

Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona

ex rel. Sullivan,

I i iaiedin 21

St. Louis Cotton Compress Vo. v. Arkansas,

I, I hala teatatidciatel 21

State Farm v. Campbell,

2001 WL 1246676

NS at 3,17

Sturm, Ruger & Co. v. Day,

594 P.2d 38 (Alaska 1979) ..............c0cccccccccscseee 11

Taber v. Hutson,

SORES TTS ee ee ne EROS a 8

Taylor v. Giger,

I i a a a 8

Taylor v. Grand Trunk Ry. of Canada,

I 14

Toole v. Richardson-Merreil, Inc.,

251 Cal. App. 2d 689 (1967) .........ccceceeeeeeeeee 10, 11-12, 14

xiii

Treat v. Barber,

7 Conn. 274 (1828)

Trogden v. Terry,

172 N.C. 540 (1916)

Tullidge v. Wade,

TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Res. Corp.,

509 U.S. 443 (1993)

United States v. Moccia, 681 F.2d 61

PUREE DIE scthicsibdatiacntaaecberidamnsceceetdeeseiistisi ca

Vunck v. Hull,

3 N.J.L. 814 (1809)

Wangen v. Ford Motor Co.,

294 N.W.2d 437 (Wis. 1980)

Ward v. Blackwood,

eae

Wheeler & Wilson Mfg. Co. v. Boyce,

ERTS IE PI ARDC

Whipple v. Walpole,

an kg ETRE TDR aN EPR TC

Wilkes v. Wood,

98 Eng. Rep. 489 (C.P. 1763) .............

Williams v. Illinois, 399 U.S. 235 (1970)

SOTO EEHE EEE EEE EEEES

SOPOT EEE TEETH EEE EHEEHE HEROES EES

hn

XIV

Williams v. Philip Morris Inc.,

2002 WL 1189763

(Or. App. June 5, 2002) ..........ecssseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees

Wisker v. Hart,

. ie § | 2

Woodman v. Town of Nottingham,

ff 0 en

World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson,

i ee ericnteistnsincecninniinnininininmadainenion

Yazoo v. Mississippi Valley R.R. Co. v. Sanders,

fo 8 een

TA AND RE ATION

is fo 2 SG).

CoLo. REV. STAT. § 13-25-127(2) (2002) ..............

FLA. STAT. ANN. § 768.73 (West 2002) ................

IOWA CODE § 668A.1(1) (2002) .........:ceeseeeeeeeeeeeees

KAN. STAT. ANN. § 60-3701(e)-(f) (2001) ..............

LA. CIv.CODE ANN. 3546 (West 2002) .................

MINN. STAT. § 549.20(1)(a) (2002) ...........eeeeeeeeees

N.H. REV. STAT. ANN. § 507:16 (2002) .............-+.

XV

N.J. STAT. ANN. § 2A:15-5.14(b)

ESSE ee Oe ae

OKLA. STAT. tit. 23, § 9.1(B) (2002) .....................

OR. REV. STAT. § 18.537 (2001) ....cccccccccccccccesceeees.

TEX. CIv. PRAC. & REM. CODE ANN.

ET sasieitcliedctatietiiiaeedeptatannubhansice ascendant

TEX. Civ. PRAC. & REM. CovE ANN.

§ 41.009 (Vernon 2002) ...........cccccccesescsceseeees

FEREN AND

Mark A. Behrens, Editorial, When the Working

Well Sue, Nat’] L. J. Apr. 29, 2001..........00......

Mark A. Behrens & Barry M. Parsons,

Responsible Public Policy Demands

an End to the Hemorrhaging Ejfect

of Punitive Damages in Asbestos Cases,

6 Tex. Rev. L. & Pol. 137 (2001) ....................

Griffin B. Bell, Asbestos Litigation

and Judicial Leadership: The Courts'

Duty to Help Solve The Asbestos

Litigation Crisis, Briefly, Vol. 6,

No. 6, June 2002 (Nat’l Legal Center

for the Pub. Interest monograph) ..................

22

22

22

10

22

22

16

16

16

XVi

R. Blatt et al., Pur ‘t:ve Damages: A State

By State Guide To Law And Practice

BE Lt) ee

Borowsky & Nicolaisen, Punitive Damages

in California: The Integrity of Jury

Verdicts, 17 U.S.F. L. Rev. 147 (1983) ....

Comment, Punitive Damages Awards in

Strict Products Liability Litigation: The

Doctrine, the Debate, the Defenses,

42 Ohio St. L.J. 771 (1981) .............eeceeee

Margaret Meriwether Cordray, The Limits

of State Sovereignty and the Issue of

Multiple Punitive Damages Awards,

78 Or. L. Rev. 275 (1999) .............:.eeceeees

Dorsey D. Ellis Jr., Fairness and Efficiency

in the Law of Punitive Damages,

56 S. Cal. Rev. 1 (1982) ..........::cceeeeeeeees

Samuel Freifield, The Rationale of

Punitive Damages, 1 Ohio St.

Did. B CAGES) qccrccccseccvevccsccccccssccecsccsvescceses

J. Ghiardi & J. Kircher, Punitive

Damages Law & Practice

Fo tf: ee

Deborah Hensler et al. , Asbestos Litigation

in the U.S. A New Look at an Old Issue

50 (RAND Inst. for Civil Justice, 2001)

XVii

Peter W. Huber, LIABILITY: THE LEGAL

REVOLUTION AND ITS CONSEQUENCES

TM

John Calvin Jeffries, A Comment on The

Constitutionality of Punitive Damages,

72 Va. L. Rev. 189 (1986) o.o...eecccccccccesceseoceee.

W. Page Keeton et al., PROSSER AND

KEETON ON THE LAW OF TORTS, § 2

| Pa aA

Dennett F. Kouri, How to Settle Bad

Faith Punitive Damages Cases,

Brief 31 (Fall 1984) oo....ccccccccsccccecseccoseccecees.

Jane Mallor & Barry Roberts, Punitive

Damages: Toward a Principled

Approach, 50 HASTINGS L.J. 969

CEEIIED .ocovsconsscnsemusosiseesniniueiiiainlnnnsnnnnnnannnnnn

Theodore B. Olson, Rule of Law:

The Dangerous National Sport

of Punitive Damages, Wall St. J.,

OS

Walter K. Olson, THE LITIGATION

EXPLOSION (1991) ........ccccsccscessssscesseeceeseceeeeese.

David G. Owen, Problems in Assessing

Punitive Damages Against Manufacturers

of Defective Products, 49 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1

CETTE) .<coccocesscenesessiseenmesnseisnninunianlnnnnnn

12

16_

15

14

XViii

George L. Priest, Punitive Damages

and Enterprise Liability, 56 S. Cal.

Ee 14

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 908

EE 11

James B. Sales & Kenneth B. Cole Jr.,

Punitive Damages: A Relic That Has

Outlived Its Origins, 37 Vand. L. Rev.

ESE SELLE 7, 10, 22

James B. Sales, The Emergence of Punitive

Damages in Product Liability Actions:

A Further Assault on The Citadel,

14 St. Mary's L.J. 351 (1983) 20.0.0... eceeeeeees 9

Gary T. Schwartz, Deterrence and

Punishment in the Common Law

of Punitive Damages: A Comment,

56 S. Cal. L. Rev. 133 (1982) ...............::see0ee 13-14

Victor E. Schwartz et al., PROSSER,

WADE AND SCHWARTZ’S CASES AND

MATERIALS ON TORTS (10th ed. 2000) ............ 6

Victor E. Schwartz et al., Reining in

Punitive Damages “Run Wild”:

Proposals for Reform by Courts

and Legislatures, 65 Brook. L. Rev.

EEE LL 7

xix

Victor E. Schwartz & Liberty Magarian,

Challenging The Constitutionality of

Punitive Damages: Putting Rules of

Reason on an Unbounded Legal Remedy,

28 American Bus. L.J. 485 (1990) ..................

Richard A. Seltzer, Punitive Damages

in Mass Tort Litigation: Addressing

the Problems of Fairness, Efficiency,

and Control, 52 Fordham L. Rev. 37

CEIDIEIED) cxssccnnsascansascunsntnentensessetensensmnententineimensiaanes

Janie L. Shores, A Suggestion

for Limited Tort Reform, Allocation

of Punitive Damage Awards to

Eliminate Windfalls, 44 ALA. L.

eres ae GEIE cncntssiesnnsininttntnesenenessncanensinntinitnsass

Stephen M. Turner, et al., Punitive Damages

Explosion: Fact or Fiction? (Washington

Legal Foundation, Working Paper Series

SI Ce Is

David L. Walther & Thomas A. Plein,

Punitive Damages: A Critical Analysis;

Kink v. Combs, 49 Marga. L. Rev. 369

CRIED csccesesssecesnsccssnsssnmagennstenssiensapssnnidtansenmnesees

Malcom E. Wheeler, A Proposal for

Further Common Law Development

of the Use of Punitive Damages in

Modern Products Liability Litigation,

40 Ala. L. Rev. 919 (1989) .0............cccceseeeeeeees

12

15

16

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 01-1289

STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

CURTIS CAMPBELL AND INEZ CAMPBELL,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

- Utah Supreme Court

BRIEF OF THE PRODUCT LIABILITY ADVISORY

COUNCIL, INC. AS AMICUS CURIAE

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

The Product Liability Advisory Council, Inc. (PLAC) is

a non-profit association with 126 corporate members repre-

senting a broad cross-section of American and international

product manufacturers. These companies seek to contribute

' Pursuant to Rule 37, a blanket letter of consent from the parties has

been filed with the Clerk of the Court. In accordance with Rule 37.6,

amicus states that no counsel for either party has authored this brief in

whole or in part, and no person or entity, other than the amicus, has made

a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

2

manufacturing sector. In addition, several hundred of the

leading product liability defense attorneys in the country are

Sustaining (non-voting) members of PLAC. Since 1983,

PLAC has filed over 600 briefs as amicus curiae in both

state and federal courts, including this Court, presenting the

broad perspective of product manufacturers seeking fairness

and balance in the application and development of the law as

it affects product liability. A list of PLAC’s corporate mem-

bers is attached as Appendix A.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This Court in several important rulings has correctly

placed both substantive and procedural due process limita-

tions on punitive damages. Some members of this Court,

however, have expressed concern about placing such limita-

3

tions on a practice that is said to have been in place at the

time the Bill of Rights was adopted. All members of this

Court should appreciate that the punitive damages practice of

1791 does not exist today—except in name. This case illus-

trates why.

Punitive damages were first developed and used for years

as an auxiliary to the criminal justice system in a narrow

category of cases, intentional torts. Until the late 1960s,

virtually all punitive damages cases involved a single plain-

tiff who was wronged by a single defendant. The defen-

dant’s wrongful behavior toward the plaintiff was the source

of evidence for the jury making a punitive damages award.

In the last thirty-five years, however, there have been

ever-expanding “circles of evidence” of the alleged wrongful

acts. The focus in punitive damages cases has expanded

from the conduct of the defendant toward an individual

plaintiff, to the relevant conduct of the defendant toward

others, to the extreme situation now before this Court — ir-

relevant conduct of the defendant toward numerous persons

throughout the country in many different circumstances.

The Utah Supreme Court’s decision below in State Farm

v. Campbell, No. 981564, 2001 WL 1246676 (Utah Oct. 19,

2001), is a dramatic example of the unwarranted, unconsti-

tutional expansion of punitive damages law. This expansion

of law already has turned a once-narrow remedy into a liti-

gation tactic that allows jurors in a single state court case to

regulate nationwide commerce by imposing extraordinary

punitive damages awards. Under the Utah Supreme Court’s

ruling, any act by a company, anywhere, performed at any

time can serve as a basis for punitive damages awards.

4

This Court has made clear that the Commerce and Due

Process Clauses of the United States Constitution and the

principles of »vereignty and comity require that state courts

permit punitive damages awards to be awarded based on the

relevant acts of the defendant toward the plaintiff. See Gore,

517 U.S. 559. State courts should not use in-state punitive

damages to regulate unrelated out-of-state conduct. This

Court’s constitutional mandate on this crucial distinction

should be followed by all state courts. It was ignored by the

court below.

ARGUMENT

I. THE ONGOING EXPANSION OF PUNITIVE

DAMAGES LAW IS CREATING A LITIGATION

CRISIS.

The record before this Court needs to be corrected re-

garding the nature and evolution of Punitive damages prac-

tice since passage of the Bill of Rights in 1791. In oral ar-

guments before this Court in Pacific Mutual Life Insurance

Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1 (1991), the following exchange

took place between Justice Scalia and counsel for the peti-

tioner insurance company:

QUESTION: [W]ho whispers in my ear that [the practice of

awarding punitive damages] is in violation of

due process when it's been going on since

1791 and nobody has thought so?

RESPONSE: I suggest, Justice Scalia, that the situation

here is essentially the same as it was in Wil-

liams v. Illinois (399 U.S. 235 ( 1970)], when

you have the practice which had extended

from medieval England down through the

United States from the time of the Revolution

and the adoption of the Constitution to the

5

time of that decision, of increasing penalties

of prisoners beyond the maximum allowed by

statute when they were unable to pay fines or

court costs, and there, as here, if that had been

analyzed and looked at, the Court would

probably have found that it violated due proc-

ess, just as I submit that punitive damages

[do] ....

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Haslip, S. Ct. U.S. Oral

Arguments, Vol. 3, Case No. 89-1279, at 22 (Oct. Term

1990), available at 1990 WL 601340.

With all due respect to the petitioner’s counsel in Haslip,

who was focused on other issues, his answer to Justice

Scalia, as shown by the instant case, was not in accord with

the content and nature of some modern punitive damages

awards. Punitive damages practice has not remained “essen-

tially the same” as it existed in medieval England and colo-

nial America. The punitive damages practice of 1791, while

existing in some circumstances, does not apply in the case

before this Court, or in many other instances in modern liti-

gation.

In the more than 200 years during which the

common law of punitive damages has evolved

in this country, only the last several have wit-

nessed a proliferation of varied expressions of

concern as to the manner in which the law has

developed and may continue to develop in the

future... . [RJecent years have resulted in a

literal explosion of punitive damage law and

practice. This is so not only as to the number

of cases in which they are sought, but also in

the variety of causes of action in which they

are claimed and in the different categories of

defendants who are exposed to the awards.

6

J. Ghiardi & J. Kircher, PUNITIVE DAMAGES LAW &

PRACTICE § 21.01, at 1 (1985) (footnotes omitted).

A. The Purpose of Punitive Damages.

Punitive damages are not ordinary civil or tort law dam-

ages.” Unlike compensatory damages, which provide pay-

_ ment for economic losses (e.g., lost wages and medical ex-

penses) and noneconomic injuries (e.g., “pain and suffer-

ing”), punitive damages are not awarded to compensate for a

harm.’ Rather, punitive damages are “quasi-criminal” in

nature and “operate as ‘private fines’ intended to punish the

defendant and deter future wrongdoing.’ Punitive damage

awards serve an important social purpose. They allow the

public to express its outrage, to punish defendants for repre-

hensible conduct, and to deter such conduct in the future,

where compensatory damages alone in some instances may

not adequately serve these objectives.°

> See Victor E. Schwartz et al., PROSSER, WADE AND SCHWARTZ’S

CASES AND MATERIALS ON TORTS, 549-50 (10th ed. 2000).

> See Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 350 (1974) (noting

that punitive damages “are not compensation for injury ... [but] are pri-

vate fines levied by civil juries to punish reprehensible conduct and to

deter its future occurrence”); see also W. Page Keeton ef al., PROSSER

AND KEETON ON THE LAW OF TORTS, § 2, at 9 (Sth ed. 1984) (explaining

that punitive damages are awarded to punish defendant, teach defendant

not to “do it again,” and deter others from similar behavior), [hereinafter

“THE LAW OF TORTS” }.

a

Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group, Inc., 532 U.S. 424,

432 (2001) (quoting Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 19

(1991)).

* See Jane Mallor & Barry Roberts, Punitive Damages: Toward a

Principled Approach, 50 HASTINGS L.J. 969, 978-79 (1999).

7

B. Punitive Damages Doctrine of 1791.

Punitive, or exemplary, damages originally focused on

the relationship between one plaintiff and one defendant.

They were first recognized by the English common law in

the mid-18th century in cases involving illegal search and

seizures by officers of the Crown.° Historically, in England

and then America, punitive damages were made available

only in a narrow category of torts involving conscious and

intentional harm inflicted by one person on another.

These cases, “the traditional intentional torts,” were de-

signed to punish an individual’s purposeful bad act against ;

another.’ The causes of action included assault and battery,

6 See Huckle v. Money, 95 Eng. Rep. 768 (C.P. 1763) (first case to use

the term “exemplary damage,”); Wilkes v. Wood, 98 Eng. Rep. 489 (C.P.

1763). In these cases, English courts for the first time expressed that “the

punitive and deterrent purposes of damage awards could be separated

from their compensatory function.” Dorsey D. Ellis Jr., Fairness and

Efficiency in the Law of Punitive Damages, 56 S. Cal. Rev. 1, 14 (1982).

See also The Hon. Janie L. Shores, A Suggestion for Limited Tort Re-

form, Allocation of Punitive Damage Awards to Eliminate Windfalls, 44

ALA. L. REV. 61, 62-69 (1992) (tracing the history of punitive damages

forward from biblical times); James B. Sales & Kenneth B. Cole Jr., Pu-

nitive Damages: A Relic That Has Outlived Its Origins, 37 Vand. L. Rev.

1117, 1120 (1984); Comment, Punitive Damages Awards in Strict Prod-

ucts Liability Litigation: The Doctrine, the Debate, the Defenses, 42

Ohio St. L.J. 771, 772 (1981). See also Beardmore v. Carrington, 95

Eng. Rep. 790 (C.P. 1764) (illegal search and seizure), Bruce v. Rawlins,

95 Eng. Rep. 934 (C.P. 1770) (illegal search and seizure); Sharpe v.

Brice, 96 Eng. Rep. 557 (C.P. 1774) (illegal search and seizure).

? See Victor E. Schwartz et al., Reining in Punitive Damages “Run

Wild”: Proposals for Reform by Courts and Legislatures, 65 Brook. L.

Rev. 1003, 1006-07 (1999).

® See, e.g., Grey v. Grant, 95 Eng. Rep. 794 (C.P. 1764); Benson v.

Frederick, 97 Eng. Rep. 1130 (K.B. 1766); Corwin v. Watson, 18 Mo. 71

(1853); Porter v. Seiler, 23 Pa. 424 (1854); Lyon v. Hancock, 35 Cal. 372

(1868); Ward v. Blackwood, 41 Ark. 295 (1883); Trogden v. Terry, 172

N.C. 540 (1916).

8

libel and slander, ” malicious prosecution, '° false imprison-

ment, and intentional interferences with property such as

trespass and conversion,'* malicious attachment or destruc-

tion of property,'? private nuisance,'* and other conduct

amounting to reckless endangerment.'> The typical allega-

See, e.g., Vunck v. Hull, 3 N.J.L. 814 (1809); Gilreath v. Allen

N.C. (10 Ired.) 67 (1849); Benaway v. Coyne, 3 Pin. 196 (Wis. we Son

Sheik v. Hobson, 64 lowa 146 (1884); Louisville & Nashville R.R. Co. v.

Ballard, 85 Ky. 307 (1887); Coffin v. Brown, 50 A. 567 (Md. 1901); Ellis

v. Brockton Pub. Co., 84 N.E. 1018 (Mass. 1908).

10

See, e.g., Leith v. Pope, 96 Eng. Rep. 777 (C.P. 1799); Hewlett v.

ge a a je (K.B. 1813); Brown v. McBride, 24 Misc.

, -Y.S. ); Jackson v. American Tel. & Tel.

1016 (N.C. 1905). ities

11

See, e.g., Fabrigas v. Mostyn, 96 Eng. Rep. 549 (C.P. 1774):

Shore & Mich. S. RV. v. Prentice, 147 US. 101 ptm 7d de oma

Risley, 4 Ill. 483 (1842); Taber v. Hutson, 5 Ind. 322 (1854); Parsons v.

Harper, 57 Va. 64 (1860); Hamlin v. Spaulding, 27 Wis. 360 (1869);

Green v. Southern Express Co., 41 Ga. 515 (1871); Wheeler & Wilson

——Mfg. Co. v. Boyce, 36 Kan. 350 (1887).

12

See, e.g., Merest v. Harvey, 128 Eng. Rep. 761 (C.P. 1814); Sears v.

Lyons, 171 Eng. Rep. 658 (K.B. 1818). Punitive damages were also al-

lowed for seduction. See, e.g., Tullidge v. Wade, 95 Eng. Rep. 909 (C.P.

je —_- for — English courts permitted an award of punitive

amag or criminal conversation (i.e., adultery). See, e.g., Duberly v.

Gunning, 100 Eng. Rep. 696 (K.B. 1813). 7 a

5 See, e.g., Taylor v. Giger, 3 Ky. 586 (1803); North v. Cates, 5 Ky.

591 (1812); Treat v. Barber, 7 Conn. 274 (1828); Huntley v. Bacon, 15

Conn. 267 (1842); Clark v. Bales, 15 Ark. 452 (1855); Schindel v. Schin-

del, 12 Md. 108 (1858); Dorsey v. Manlove, 14 Cal. 553 (1860); Lynd v.

Picket, 7 Minn. 184 (1862); Brown v. Allen, 35 lowa 306 (1872); Singer

Mfg. Co. v. Holdfodt, 86 Ill. 455 (1877); Bradshaw v. Buchanan, 50 Tex

492 (1878); Huling v. Henderson, 161 Pa. 553 (1894). )

14

See, e.g., Yazoo v. Mississippi Valley R.R. Co. v. Sanders, 87 Mi

. Vv. ' ss.

road “a Schumacher v. Shawhan Distillery Co., 178 Mo. App. 361

1s

See, e.g., Whipple v. Walpole, 10 N.H. 130 (1839); Lins/

. .H. ; ey v. Bush-

nell, 15 Conn. 225 (1842); Pickett v. Crook, 20 Wis. 358 (1866); Meibus

9

tion running through these cases was that defendant's tor-

tious conduct had been motivated by a malicious or spiteful

desire to injure the specific plaintiff. Punitive damages were

allowed in these cases as an auxiliary, or “helper,” to the

criminal law system, which in its infancy “punished more

severely for infractions involving property damage than for

invasions of personal rights.” James B. Sales, The Emer-

gence of Punitive Damages in Product Liability Actions: A

Further Assault on The Citadel, 14 St. Mary's L.J. 351, 355

(1983).'°

The nature of these claims made it relatively simple for

the jurors to understand and carry out their responsibilities.

The jury had only to assess the particular

transaction before it and to determine on that

basis whether the defendant’s conduct war-

ranted a punitive award. .. . Although not

constrained by the same procedural require-

ments as other forms of punishment, punitive

darnages at least were based on a manageable

jury inquiry. In such circumstances, and de-

spite the grave questions raised by the ab-

sence of procedural safeguards and the lack of

adequate standards, it was possible to view

v. Dodge, 38 Wis. 300 (1875). As in England, punitive damages were

also permitted in cases involving seduction. See, e.g., Coryell v. Col-

baugh, 1 N.J.L. 77 (1791); Mcaulay v. Birkhead, 35 N.C. 28 (1851),

Reutkemeier v. Nolte, 179 lowa 342 (1917).

'6 See also Victor E. Schwartz & Liberty Magarian, Challenging The

Constitutionality of Punitive Damages: Putting Rules of Reason on an

Unbounded Legal Remedy, 28 American Bus. L.J. 485 (1990); David L.

Walther & Thomas A. Plein, Punitive Damages: A Critical Analysis,

Kink v. Combs, 49 Marq. L. Rev. 369, 371 (1965); Samuel Freifield, The

Rationale of Punitive Damages, | Ohio St. L.J. 5, 7 (1935). See generally

THE LAW OF TORTS § 2, at 8.

10

punitive damages as minimally consistent

with fundamental fairness.'’

C. The Broadened Standard By Which Punitive

Damages Now Are Awarded.

Beginning in the late 1960s, courts departed radically

from the historical “intentional tort” moorings of punitive

damages, i.e., the law of 1791. In what has been called an

American “legal revolution,” courts began awarding punitive

damages in so-called “mass tort litigation,” particularly in

the developing field of product liability.'* While punitive

damages remained available in the traditional one-on-one

context for a defendant’s intentional wrong to a specific

plaintiff, they were expanded to cover conduct that was not

intentional in nature, such as recklessness, willful and wan-

ton misconduct, or even gross negligence. '”

'’ See John Calvin Jeffries, A Comment on The Constitutionality of

Punitive Damages, 72 Va. L. Rev. 139, 141 (1986) (footnote omitted)

(also noting that most punitive judgments were, by today's standards,

almost trivial in amount) [hereinafter “Jeffries’”’].

‘In 1967, a California Court of Appeal held for the first time that pu-

nitive damages were recoverable in a strict product liability action. See

Toole v. Richardson-Merrell, Inc., 251 Cal. App. 2d 689 (1967). Since

— punitive damages awards in product liability cases have prolifer-

19

See e.g., TEX. CIV. PRAC. & REM. CODE ANN. § 41.003 (a)(3)

(Vernon 2001) (willful act or gross neglect in wrongful death cases);

FLA. STAT. ANN. § 768.72(2) (West 2002) (“intentional misconduct or

gross negligence” ); Wisker v. Hart, 766 P.2d 168 (Kan. 1988) (“gross

negligence”); Rubeck v. Huffman, 374 N.E.2d 411, 413 (Ohio 1978)

(“caused by intentional, reckless, wanton, willful and gross acts or by

malice inferred from conduct and surrounding circumstances”); Seals v.

St. Regis Paper Co., 236 So. 2d 388, 392 (Miss. 1970) (gross negligence

and “reckless indifference to the consequences”). See also J. Sales & K.

Cole, Punitive Damages: A Relic That has Outlived Its Origins, 37 Vill.

11

The focus of punitive damages also shifted away from

the actual plaintiff toward alleged wrongful conduct by the

defendant toward the public at large.” For example, while it

was difficult to prove a defendant manufacturer marketed

and sold a defective product with the conscious intent of in-

juring a specific plaintiff, it was much easier to establish that

the defendant did so recklessly in disregard to the possible

harm to potential consumers.”’ Similarly, particularly in

L. Rev. 1117, 1130-38 (1984) (discussing standards of conduct giving

rise to punitive damages award).

20 See, e.g., Moore v. Jewel Tea Co., 253 N.E.2d 638, 648 (Ill. App.

1969), aff'd, 263 N.E.2d 103 (Ill. 1970) (plaintiffs were properly allowed

to argue that defendant had been guilty of “gross disregard of the rights

of the public”); Madison Chevrolet, Inc., v. Donald, 505 P.2d 1032, 1042

(Ariz. 1973) (“punitive damages ... are applicable where there is a

‘reckless indifference to the interest of others”); Gryc v. Dayton-Hudson

Corp., 297 N.W.2d 727, 741 (Minn.) (manufacturer “acted in reckless

disregard of the public” in marketing non-flame retardant children’s pa-

jamas), cert. denied sub nom, Riegel Textile Corp. v. Gryc, 449 U.S. 921

(1980); Wangen v. Ford Motor Co., 294 N.W.2d 437, 442 (Wis. 1980)

(“Some commentators speak of the behavior justifying punitive damages

as ‘flagrant indifference to the public safety.””) (citing Interagency Task

Force on Product Liability, Product Liability: Final Report of the Legal

Study, vol. 5 at 137 (U.S. Dept. of Commerce 1977)); Sturm, Ruger &

Co. v. Day, 594 P.2d 38, 47 (Alaska 1979) (punitive damages available

where manufacturer has marketed known defective product in “reckless

disregard of the public’s safety”), mod. on other grounds, 615 P.2d 621

(Alaska 1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 894 (1981); Grimshaw v. Ford

Motor Co., 119 Cal. App. 3d 757, 810 (Cal. App. 1981) (interpreting

statutory term “malice” to encompass “callous and conscious disregard of

public safety” by manufacturer of defective product); Restatement (Sec-

ond) of Torts § 908 cmt. b (1977) (“Reckless indifference to the rights of

others and conscious action in deliberate disregard of them . . . may pro-

vide the necessary state of mind to justify punitive damages.”).

2! In Toole, the first case to find that punitive damages were recover-

able in a strict product liability action, the California Court of Appeal

ruled that the plaintiff was not required to prove that the defendant phar-

maceutical company acted with deliberate intent to injure the plaintiff.

251 Cal. App. 2d at 714. Rather, the malice in fact standard in Califor-

12

contract cases, courts accepted relevant evidence of the de-

fendant’s acts toward others to establish that the act com-

plained of was performed in bad faith or fell within a pattern

and practice of misconduct.

The advent of mass tort litigation and its expansion of

punitive damages practice meant that punitive damages now

could be imposed repeatedly for an alleged risk in a single

product line or a single decision.” This resulted in an explo-

sion of claims against manufacturers of such products as as-

bestos, formaldehyde, DES, Agent Orange, automobiles,

tampons, and the Dalkon Shield IUD.” Similarly, contract-.

based claims for punitive damages became more and more

frequent.** As Justice O'Connor pointed out in her dissent in

nia’s punitive damages statute applied, and the plaintiff merely had to

prove that the defendant acted recklessly and in wanton disregard to the

possible harm to others when it marketed, promoted and sold the anti-

cholesterol drug at issue. See id. at 715.

* As one commentator wrote, “[A] single design error, inadequate

warning or recurrent manufacturing mistake can permeate an entire prod-

uct line, resulting in tens, hundreds or thousands of personal injury law-

suits with accompanying punitive damages claims. Individual awards

that appear reasonable can aggregate to threaten the very survival of a

business entity.” See Jeffries, 72 Va. L. Rev. at 142.

°° See Richard A. Seltzer, Punitive Damages in Mass Tort Litigation:

Addressing the Problems of Fairness, Efficiency, and Control, 52 Ford-

ham L. Rev. 37, 51-52 (1983); Jeffries, 72 Va. L. Rev. at 142. Several

courts have acknowledged that due process may be implicated in “mass

tort” punitive damages awards cases. See Juzwin v. Amtorg Trading

Corp., 705 F. Supp. 1053, 1064 (D.N.J.), vacated, 718 F. Supp. 1233

(D.N.J. 1989), rev'd on other grounds sub nom., Juzwin v. Asbestos

Corp., 900 F.2d 686 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 896 (1990); Racich

v. Celotex Corp., 887 F.2d 393, 398 (2d Cir. 1989); Leonen v. Johns-

Manville Corp., 717 F. Supp. 272, 283 (D.N.J. 1989).

** See Dennett F. Kouri, How to Settle Bad Faith Punitive Damages

Cases, Brief 31 (Fall 1984) (“In bad faith jurisdictions, virtually all first

party cases dealing with a denial of insurance benefits include a charge of

13

Haslip, “Unheard of only 30 years ago, bad faith contract .

actions now account for a substantial percentage of all puni-

tive damages awards.” Haslip, 499 U.S. at 62 (O’Connor, Tue

dissenting).

Courts and commentators struggled with the theoretical

and practical problems created by the wider availability of

punitive damages awards. There was no good way to govern

the total amount of punitive awards assessed nationwide in

any set of lawsuits against a defendant. The vague standards

for awarding and assessing punitive damages gave juries lit-

tle guidance in their decisionmaking.” Judge Henry

Friendly predicted the potential problems when he wrote in

1967 of the new expansion of punitive damages law:

The legal difficulties engendered by claims

for punitive damages on the part of hundreds

of plaintiffs are staggering. ve We have the

gravest difficulty in perceiving how claims

for punitive damages in such a multiplicity of

actions throughout the nation can be so ad-

ministered as to avoid overkill.”®

D. The Explosion in Size and Frequency of

Punitive Damage Awards.

Punitive damages practice picked up momentum fol-

lowing the American “legal revolution” of the late 1960s and

1970s.2” The size and frequency of punitive damages rose

bad faith and a corollary demand for extra-contractual damages. These

will, of course, include a prayer for the recovery of punitive damages.”).

25 See Jeffries, 72 Va. L. Rev. at 142.

26 Roginsky v. Richardson-Merrell, Inc., 378 F.2d $32, 839 (2d Cir.

1967).

. nthe

2” See, e.g., T. Schwartz, Deterrence and Punishment int

Pye - barre Damages: A Comment, 56 S. Cal. L. Rev. 133,

14

drastically as plaintiffs’ lawyers became more likely to seek

such awards.”

For most of their history, punitive damages had been

“rarely assessed and [were] likely to be small in amount.”

Dorsey D. Ellis Jr., Fairness and Efficiency in the Law of

Punitive Damages, 56 S. Cal. L. Rev. 1, 2 (1982). Typically,

punitive damages only slightly exceeded the compensatory

damages awarded, if at all.” But in the late 1970s and

133 (1982) (“Punitive damages are in the air, are on the move. They are

now dramatically awarded in cases in which liability of any sort would

have been almost out of the question merely fifteen years ago.”). Before

1976, there were only three reported appellate court decisions upholding

awards of punitive damages in product liability cases, and the punitive

damages awards in each case were modest in proportion to the compen-

satory damages awarded. See Toole 251 Cal. App. 2d 689 (1967)

($175,000 compensatory, $250,000 punitive damages); Gillham v. Admi-

ral Corp., 523 F.2d 102 (6th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 913

(1976) ($125,000 compensatory damages, $50,000 attorneys’ fees,

$100,000 punitive damages); Moore, 253 N.E.2d 636 ($920,000 com-

pensatory damages, $10,000 punitive damages). In 1978 and 1979, juries

in Cook County, Illinois awarded punitive damages, respectively, in 26

and 15 cases. The average number of annual punitive damage judgments

between 1959 and 1979 was 6.1, although 4 judgments or less were

awarded in 10 of the 21 years and 3 or less each year between 1959 and

1966. See George L. Priest, Punitive Damages and Enterprise Liability,

56 S. Cal. L. Rev. 123, 123 n.1 (1982).

Ford Motor Company, for example, reported that less than 0.5% of

._ the products liability complaints filed against it prior to 1970 contained

claims for punitive damages, while 27.1% of all such complaints in 1980

sought punitive awards. See David G. Owen, Problems in Assessing Pu-

nitive Damages Against Manufacturers of Defective Prodicts, 49 U. Chi.

L. Rev. 1, 54 n.258 (1982). If only personal injury lawsuits are consid-

ered, the 1980 percentage is higher. /d

* See Southern Kan. Ry. v. Rice, 38 Kan. 898 (1888) ($35 costs and

fees, $10 injury to feelings, $71.75 punitive); Taylor v. Grand Trunk Ry.

of Canada, 48 N.H. 304 (1869) ($500 actual damages, $858.50 exem-

plary); Woodman v. Town of Nottingham, 49 N.H. 387 (1870) ($578 ac-

tual, $100 exemplary); Fay v. Parker, 53 N.H. 342 (1872) ($150 actual,

$331.67 exemplary). See also R. Blatt et al., Punitive Damages: A State

15

1980s, the size of punitive damages awards “increased dra-

matically” (George L. Priest, Punitive Damages and Enter-

prise Liability, 56 S. Cal. L. Rev. 123, 123 (1982)), and “un-

precedented numbers of punitive awards in product liability

and other mass tort situations began to surface.”*°

Now, Judge Friendly’s prediction of “overkill” from pu-

nitive damages unfortunately has come true. The explosion

of punitive damages that began in the 1970s shows no signs

of slowing down. Instead, multimillion dollar punitive dam-

age verdicts’' have become commonplace.” Numerous

By State Guide To Law And Practice § 1.2, at 5 (1991) (“[GJenerally

before 1955, even if punitive damages were awarded, the size of the pu-

nitive damage award in relation to the compensatory damage award was

relatively small, as even nominal punitive damages were considered to be

punishment in and of themselves”).

* Jeffries, 72 Va. L. Rev. at 142. See also Peter W. Huber, LIABILITY:

THE LEGAL REVOLUTION AND ITS CONSEQUENCES (1988); Walter K. Ol-

son, THE LITIGATION EXPLOSION (1991); Stephen M. Turner, et al, Pu-

nitive Damages Explosion: Fact or Fiction? (Washington Legal Founda-

tion, Working Paper Series No. 50, Nov. 1992).

>! For a sample of multimillion dollar punitive damage awards in 2002,

see, Romo v. Ford Motor Co., No. F034241, 2002 WL 1398041, at *18-

19 (Cal. App. June 28, 2002) (upholding $290 million award in single

product liability action as not grossly excessive); Baker v. National State

Bank, L-00160-93, 2002 WL 1343809 (NJ. Super. June 21, 2002) (af-

firming trial court’s remittitur of punitive damage award of $4 million to

$1.8 million in employment discrimination case); Burton v. RJ. Reynolds

Tobacco Co., No. 94-2202-JWL, 2002 WL 1359316 (D. Kan. June 21,

2002) (awarding $15 million in punitive damages in product liability

action); Williams v. Philip Morris Inc., 9705-03957; A106791, 2002 WL

1189763 (Or. App. June 5, 2002) (reversing trial court’s reduction of

punitive damages award from $79.5 million to $32 million and re-

instituting $79.5 million verdict); Sand Hill Energy, Inc. v. Ford Motor

Co., No. 1999-SC-1028-DG, 1999-SC-1029-DG, 2000-SC-0444-DG,

2002 WL 1000917 (Ky. May 16, 2002) (affirming the largest punitive

damage award in Kentucky history, a $15 million award against manu-

facturer in product liability action); O’Neill v. Gallant Ins. Co., 769

N.E.2d 100 (Ill. App. 2002) (affirming punitive damage award of $2.3

16

companies, particularly manufacturers of asbestos-containing

products, have been driven into bankruptcy as a result of ex-

cessive punitive damages awards.*°

million against insurer for acted in bad faith by refusing victim's offer to

settle for policy limits); Court gf Appeals of Georgia v. Six Flags Over

Georgia, LLC, 563 S.E.2d 178 (Ga. App. 2002) (ruling that punitive

damages award of $257 million against general partner of amusement

park for unfair and deceptive business practices was not excessive);

Bender v. Darden Restaurants Inc., No. 98-5603 1, 2002 WL 74441 (9th

Cir. Jan. 18, 2002) (reinstating punitive damages award of $1.8 million

against restaurant for denial of meal and rest breaks to workers); Cooper

Tire & Rubber Co. v. Tuckier, No. 2000-CA-00404, 2002 WL 24605

(Miss. Jan. 10, 2002) (affirming $3 million punitive damage award

ae

*? This dramatic increase has led one commentator to suggest that

“[p]unitive damages have replaced baseball as our national sport.”

Theodore B. Olson, Rule of Law: The Dangerous National Sport of Pu-

nitive Damages, Wall St. J., Oct. 5, 1994, at Al7. See also Malcom E.

Wheeler, A Proposal for Further Common Law Development of the Use

of Punitive Damages in Modern Products Liability Litigation, 40 Ala. L.

Rev. 919, 919 (1989) (“Today, hardly a month goes by without a multi-

million dollar punitive damages verdict in a product liability case.” )

(cited by O'Connor, J., dissenting in Haslip, 499 U.S. at 62); Borowsky

& Nicolaisen, Punitive Damages in California: The Integrity of Jury

Verdicts, 17 U.S.F. L. Rev. 147, 150 (1983) (noting trend of “juries . . .

{[ing] sub tod cuattine 4 with j ine fi ”),

* More than 57 companies have sought Chapter 11 protection as a

result of unrestrained punitive damages in asbestos litigation. See Mark

A. Behrens & Barry M. Parsons, Responsible Public Policy Demands an

End to the Hemorrhaging Effect of Punitive Damages in Asbestos Cases,

6 Tex. Rev. L. & Pol. 137 (2001); Mark A. Behrens, Editorial, When the

Working Well Sue, Nat’! L. J. Apr. 29, 2001. More companies will fol-

low, probably at the end of this year. See Deborah Hensler et al., Asbes-

tos Litigation in the U.S.: A New Look at an Old Issue 50 (RAND Inst.

for Civil Justice, 2001) (preliminary report) (predicting that “[a]ll of the

major asbestos defendants are likely to be in bankruptcy within 24

months.”); see also Hon. Griffin B. Bell, Asbestos Litigation and Judi-

cial Leadership: The Courts’ Duty to Help Solve The Asbestos Litigation

17

In sum, the practice of awarding punitive damages as it

existed in 1791 and through the late 1960s, confined to mod-

est penalties in a few cases of intentional harms such as as-

sault, shares only a “name” with the contemporary flood of

huge awards for unintentional alleged wrongful acts or

courses of conduct that are nationwide.

Il. THE UTAH SUPREME COURT’S DECISION

IMPERMISSIBLY EXPANDS PUNITIVE DAM-

AGES LAW IN VIOLATION OF THE COM-

MERCE CLAUSE AND DUE PROCESS.

History illustrates how punitive damages have gotten out

of control. If punitive damages law and practice were as it

existed in 1791, the constitutional problems would be un-

likely to arise. But major changes that took place in the past

thirty-five years have persuaded some courts that they can

and should use punitive damage awards to regulate a defen-

dant’s acts in many other jurisdictions.** This is what oc-

curred here.

Crisis, Briefly, Vol. 6, No. 6, June 2002 (Nat’! Legal Center for the Pub.

Interest monograph), available at http://www.nicpi.org.

** As this Court has seen, both in BMW of N. Am. v. Gore, 517 U.S.

559 (1996), end now in State Farm v. Campbell, No. 981564, 2001 WL

1246676 (Utah Oct. 19, 2001), plaintiffs in recent years have sought and

obtained punitive damages awards based on a defendant’s nationwide

conduct. See Ford Motor Co. v. Ammerman, 705 N.E.2d 539 (Ind. App.

1999) (jury complies with plaintiff's request to calculate punitive dam-

ages by multiplying the amount that it would have cost Ford to correct

the alleged defect by the number of vehicles that were sold between 1983

and 1990; award later reduced), trans. denied, 726 N.E.2d 310 (Ind.

1999), cert. denied, 529 U.S. 1021 (2000); General Motors Corp. v. Mo-

seley, 447 S.E.2d 302 (Ga. App. 1994) (jury grants plaintiff's request to

award $20 million in punitive damages for each of the five million GM

pickup trucks with side saddle fuel tanks currently in use; appeals court

reverses judgment but expressly approves use of the nationwide multi-

plier argument); Hawkins v. Allstate Ins. Co., 733 P.2d 1073 (Ariz.)

18

In the instant case, the $145 million punitive award was

predicated on evidence of a “nationwide scheme to meet

corporate fiscal goals by capping payouts on claims com-

pany wide,” which plaintiffs termed the “Performance, Plan-

ning and Review” or “PP&R scheme.” Pet. 6a; see also Pet.

18a-19a (listing examples of defendant’s allegedly reprehen-

sible conduct, including State Farm’s “cheat[ing] its custom-

ers via the PP&R scheme . . . for over two decades,” its “de-

liberate concealment and destruction of documents related to

this profit scheme,” and its use of “mad dog defense tac-

tics.”) The Utah Supreme Court glossed over State Farm’s

acts toward the Campbells and relied on the perceived effects

State Farm’s nationwide “scheme” had on policyholders and

others. See Pet. App. 22a (agreeing with trial court that

while “‘[t}he harm is mivor to the individual,’” it was “‘mas-

sive in the aggregate.””’).

A. The Utah Supreme Court’s Use of Out-of-State -

Acts to Support The Award Interferes With State

Sovereignty and The Commerce Clause of the

United States Constitution.

This Court has made clear that a state court’s effort to

regulate a defendant’s out-of-state conduct through large pu-

nitive damages awards is unconstitutional. While a jury may

consider relevant out-of-state conduct for the purpose of de-

termining the reprehensibility of the defendant’s acts toward

the plaintiff, i.e., are punitive damages appropriate, see 7XO

Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Res. Corp., 509 U.S. 443, 462 n.28

(1993), it cannot inflate the amount of a punitive award

based on out-of-state conduct. See BMW of N. Am. v. Gore,

517 U.S. 559 (1996).

(plaintiffs successfully request jury to calculate punitive damages by

multiplying the number of “total loss” claims per year by the amount

saved by deducting the allegedly fraudulent cleaning fee), cert. denied,

484 U.S. 974 (1987).

19

This Court has recognized that the Constitution has “spe-

cial concern ... with the autonomy of the individual States

within their respective spheres.” Healy v. Beer Inst., 491

U.S. 324, 335-36 (1989). “The sovereignty of each State ...

implie[s] a limitation on the sovereignty of all of its sister

States — a limitation express or implicit in both the original

scheme of the Constitution and the Fourteenth Amendment.”

World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286,

293 (1980).

In accordance with principles of state sovereignty and

comity, this Court in Gore expressly ruled that “a State may

not impose economic sanctions on violators of its laws with

the intent of changing the tortfeasors’ lawful conduct in other

States.” Gore, 517 U.S. at 572. A state can exercise its

power through an award of damages just as it can through

enforcement of statutes or regulations. /d. at 572 n.17. Asa

result, punitive damage awards must be imposed in a manner

consistent with state sovereignty and comity.

The plaintiff in Gore sued BMW for failure to disclose

his automobile had been repainted due to pre-delivery dam-

age. This was done in accordance with BMW’s nationwide

policy of not disclosing pre-delivery damage where its cost

of repair did not exceed three percent of the vehicle’s sug-

gested retail price. About 25 states had laws mandating dis-

closure of pre-sale repairs and BMW’s policy complied with

the strictest statute. The plaintiff was awarded $4,000 in

compensatory damages and $4 million in punitive damages,

an amount calculated by multiplying his compensatory dam-

ages by the number of similar sales in states nationwide.

The Alabama Supreme Court reduced the punitive award to

$2 million.

On appeal to this Court, the plaintiff argued that the large

punitive damages award was necessary to induce BMW to

change this nationwide policy. See id. at 572. The Court

20

rejected this argument, explaining that to avoid infringing on

the policy choices of other states, “the economic penalties

that States such as Alabama inflicts on those who transgress

its laws, whether the penalties take the form of legislatively

authorized fines or judicially imposed punitive damages,

must be supported by the State’s interest in protecting 1is

own consumers and its own economy.” /d. The Court reaf-

firmed the fundamental principle that while an individual

state may make policy choices for its own state, it cannot

impose those choices on another state. Jd.; see also Johan-

sen v. Combustion Eng’g, Inc., 170 F.3d 1320, 1333 (11th

Cir. 1999) (district court properly found the conduct pun-

ished occurred in a single state, Georgia, and that the state

had a strong interest in deterring environmental pollution and

enforcing the rights of property owners within its bounda-

ries), cert. denied sub nom, Combustion Eng’g, Inc. v.

McGill, 528 U.S. 931 (1999); Continental Trend Res., Inc. v.

Oxy USA, Inc., 101 F.3d 634, 637, 642 (10th Cir. 1996)

(district court properly admitted only acts of the defendant

within Oklahoma, but the $30 million punitive award “is far

more than is necessary to secure [the defendant’s] attention

and modify its behavior in Oklahoma”), cert. denied, 520

U.S. 1241 (1997).

While Gore itself focuses on improper attempts to punish

conduct that was lawful in other jurisdictions, see 517 U.S. at

572, the Commerce Clause of the United States Constitution

and principles of state sovereignty and comity cited by the

Court require the rejection of any attempts to punish out-of-

state conduct, lawful or unlawful.*®

*° On many occasions, this Court has rejected attempts by states to

regulate outside their borders. See, e.g., C & A Carbone, Inc. v. Town of

Clarkstown, 511 U.S. 383, 393 (1994) (“[s}tates and localities may not

attach restrictions to exports or imports in order to control commerce in

other states”); Healy v. Beer Inst., 491 U.S. 324 (1989) (striking down

law requiring out-of-state beer shippers to affirm competitiveness of

21

Even assuming the existence of a “nationwide scheme to

defraud State Farm policyholders” carried out through out-

of-state unlawful activity, an assumption that is contested,

the Supreme Court of Utah clearly acted outside its authority

in upholding a punitive damages award based on unrelated

extraterritorial conduct.

While states may share the goal of punishing unlawful

activity, allowing one state to punish unlawful acts in an-

other interferes with state sovereignty in at least two ways.

First, the authority to punish misconduct is “[f]oremost

among the prerogatives of sovereignty,” Heath v. Alabama,

474 U.S. 82, 93 (1985). States have widely varying re-

quirements for the imposition of punitive damages. These

highly disparate requirements include different substantive

prices for state residents); Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York

State Liquor Auth., 476 U.S. 583 (1986) (similarly ruling with regard to

New York liquor price affirmation law); Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S.

624, 644 (1982) (striking down law allowing Illinois Secretary of State to

evaluate the fairness of any takeover offer for the shares of an Illinois

company regardless of residency of shareholders; “[w]hile protecting

local investors is plainly a legitimate state objective, the State has no

legitimate interest in protecting nonresident shareholders”); Bigelow v.

Virginia, 421 U.S. 809, 824 (1975) (Virginia cannot apply anti-

procurement statute to punish newspaper editor for publishing advertise-

ment for abortion services in New York; "A State does not acquire power

or supervision over the internal affairs of another State merely because

the welfare and health of its own citizens may be affected when they

travel to that State."); Southern Pac. Co. v. Arizona ex rel. Sullivan, 325

U.S. 761 (1945) (invalidating Arizona train law governing length of

trains in state as too disruptive of interstate commerce); St. Louis Cotton

Compress Co. v. Arkansas, 260 U.S. 346, 349 (1922) ("It is true that the

State may regulate the activities of foreign corporations within the State

but it cannot regulate or interfere with what they do outside."). See gen-

erally Margaret Meriwether Cordray, The Limits of State Sovereignty and

the Issue of Multiple Punitive Damages Awards, 78 Or. L. Rev. 275

(1999).

22

standards for the imposition of punitive damages;”° different _

standards of proof:*’ and different procedures (e.g., bifurca-

tion requirements).** Some states do not allow the recovery

of punitive damages at all,°’ while others limit the amount of

punitive damages available.*° When one state uses its own

substantive and procedural laws to impose punitive damages

for acts that took place in another state, it impermissibly in-

terferes with the policy choices of the second state about

how best to punish misconduct within its borders.

Second, in light of the current punitive damages crisis,

allowing extraterritorial punitive awards is likely to interfere

with the practical ability of the state in which the misconduct

occur’«4 to punish that conduct itself — or even to compen-

*© See Sales & Cole, 37 Vill. L. Rev. at 1134 (discussing standards for

award of punitive damages).

*” See, e.g., COLO. REV. STAT. § 13-25-127(2) (2002) (requiring proof

beyond a reasonable doubt); IOwA CODE § 668A.1(1) (2002) (requiring

proof by clear and convincing evidence); MINN. STAT. § 549.20(1 Xa)

(2002) (clear and convincing evidence); OR. REV. STAT. § 18.537 (2001)

(clear and convincing evidence).

** See, e.g., OKLA. STAT. tit. 23, § 9.1(B) (2002) (where punitive dam-

ages are warranted, jury will determine their amount in a separate pro-

ceeding); TEX. CIV. PRAC. & REM. CODE ANN. § 41.009 (Vernon 2002)

(upon motion of defendant, court will order bifurcated trial, first of li-

ability and compensatory damages issues, then of amount of punitive

damages).

*° See, e.g., N.H. REV. STAT. ANN. § 507:16 (2002) (no punitive dam-

ages unless expressly provided for by statute); LA. Civ. CODE ANN. 3546

(West 2002) (no punitive damages unless authorized by law).

“See, e.g., FLA. STAT. ANN. § 768.73 (West 2002) (three times com-

pensatory damages or $500,000; may be higher upon finding of requisite

intent); KAN. STAT. ANN. § 60-3701(e)-(f) (2001) (lesser of $5 million or

the defendant’s annual gross income; may be higher if profitability of

misconduct exceeds limitation); N.J. STAT. ANN. § 2A:15-5.14(b) (West

2002) (greater of five times compensatory damages or $350,000); VA.

CODE ANN. § 8.01-38.1 (Michie 2001) ($350,000).

23

sate persons who have been harmed by the defendant’s con-

duct. Excessive extraterritorial punitive damages may bank-

rupt some defendants before compensation for harm may be

allowed or punishment can be awarded by the state in which

the other “alleged” misconduct occurred. Also, at some

point, substantive due process limits the aggregate amount of

punitive awards that can be imposed against a defendant for

its misconduct. See TXO, 509 U.S. at 453 (Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment imposes substantive

limits “beyond which penalties may not go.”). Either way,

states outside the forum “punishing” court could be severely

and adversely impacted. Those states would lose their abil-

ity to exercise their lawful sovereign authority to punish mis-

conduct inside their borders. As this Court wrote in Heath,

“It]o deny a State its power to enforce its criminal laws be-

cause another State has won the race to the courthouse

‘would be a shocking and untoward deprivation of the his-

toric right and obligation of the States to maintain peace and

order within their confines.’” Heath, 474 U.S. at 93 (quoting

Bartkus v. Illinois, 359 U.S. 121, 137 (1959)).

In addition, the Utah Supreme Court’s ruling violates the

Constitution’s grant of power to Congress under the Com-

merce Clause “To regulate Commerce . . . among the several

States... .” U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 3. It does so by al-

lowing the State of Utah to use punitive damages to punish

the alleged commercial activities of State Farm in other

states. This Court has explained that the Commerce Clause is

violated by the application of one state’s law “to commerce

that takes place wholly outside of the State's borders.” Healy,

491 U.S. at 337. The Gore Court reaffirmed the fundamental

principle that a state that seeks to impose burdens on inter-

state markets would interfere with federal power over inter-

state commerce. See Gore, 517 U.S. at 572.

If the ruling by the Supreme Court of Utah in this case is

allowed to stand, corporations will be subject to crushing

a4

punitive damages awards based on the entire sum of their

business practices, whether lawful or wrongful, on the theory

that wide-ranging disparate acts were all part of a nationwide

“scheme” to maximize corporate profits. Thus, a court in

one state considering a product liability claim for defective

design could impose a punitive damages award on the manu-

facturer that also is based on alleged intrastate antitrust ac-

tivity halfway across the country. A punitive damages award

rendered in one state for an assault by a waiter at a local res-

taurant that is part of a nationwide chain could punish the

chain’s sales of alcohol to underage customers in another

state.

The predictability and stability of law that help compa-

nies develop good business practices will disappear, as a

business’s activity in any one state will be subject to the va-

garies of rules and decisions in 50 other jurisdictions. See,

e.g., Healy, 491 U.S. at 336 (statute’s legitimacy “must be

evaluated not only by considering the consequences of the

statute itself, but also by considering how the challenged

statute may interact with the legitimate regulatory regimes of

other States and what effect would arise if not one, but many

or every, State adopted similar legislation.”). Creativity and

innovation will be stifled if a company in one state trial has

to face vague charges about its unrelated conduct in other

jurisdictions.

The irony in this case and many other similar cases is

that if the plaintiff's allegations about bad faith as to him

were true, this course of conduct would have provided an

adequate basis for an effective punitive damage award.

Widening the circle of evidence beyond activities directed

toward the plaintiff for the sole purpose of augmenting the

award is not only unconstitutional, but unnecessary for puni-

tive damages law to achieve its purposes of punishment and

deterrence.

25

In sum, Utah simply has no legitimate interest in pun-

ishing irrelevant conduct by State Farm that took place out-

side its borders. States have no authority to apply their pu-

nitive damages laws to address disputes with which they

have no significant relationship. See Phillips Petroleum Co.

v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797, 821-22 (1985) (even where jurisdic-

tion is proper, state may not apply its own law to disputes

unless it has “a ‘significant contact or significant aggregation

of contacts’ to the claims asserted . . . , contacts ‘creating

state interests,’ in order to ensure that the choice of [the fo-

rum state's] law is not arbitrary or unfair.”) (quoting Allstate

Ins. Co. v. Hague, 449 U.S. 302, 312-13 (1981) (plurality

opinion)).

B. The Utah Supreme Court’s Reliance on Unrelated

Conduct Violates Due Process Protections.

The constitutional problems inherent in the Utah Su-

preme Court's imposition of its own punitive damage law to

State Farm's acts outside its boundaries are heightened by the

court’s consideration of conduct entirely unrelated to Mr.

Campbell's bad faith action. A judgment based on such dis-

similar acts deviates far from the Court's mandate that there

be a relationship between the reprehensibility of the defen-

dant's conduct and the amount of the punitive damage

award. See Gore, 517 U.S. at 575. Moreover, a punitive

damage award based on conduct unrelated to the plaintiff's

harm enters the "zone of arbitrariness" that violates the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. See id. at

568.

*! As Justice O’Connor recognized in Haslip, “The punitive character

of punitive damages means that there is more than just money at stake.

This factor militates in favor of strong procedural safeguards.” Has/ip,

499 U.S. at 54 (O’Connor, J., dissenting). Moreover, given that punitive

damages are a “quasi-criminal” penalty, see Cooper Indus., Inc. v.

Leatherman Tool Group, Inc., 532 U.S. 424, 432 (2001) (quoting Pacific

Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 19 (1991)), courts should admit

26

In Gore, the Court found that "[p]erhaps the most im-

portant indicium of the reasonableness of a punitive damages

award is the degree of reprehensibility of the defendant's

conduct." Jd. at 575. To be sure, the Court, in measuring the

reprehensibility of the defendant's conduct, was particularly

concerned with the harm inflicted upon the particular indi-

vidual bringing the case. See id. at 576 ("The harm BMW

inflicted on Dr. Gore was purely economic in nature.").

While the Court found a defendant who is a recidivist may

be punished more harshly than a first offender, its ruling was

based on conduct toward others of a substantially similar

nature. See id. In this case, State Farm's actions in other

states, even if assumed improper, had no relationship what-

soever to its refusal to settle for the policy limits.

evidence to show the propensity of the defendant to commit bad acts or

the defendant’s bad character with extraordinary care. For example, this

Court has recently recognized in the criminal context that “generalizing a

defendant’s earlier bad act into bad character and taking that as raising

the odds that he did the later bad act now charged” causes unfair preju-

dice to a criminal defendant. Old Chief v. United States, 519 U.S. 172,

180-81 (1997). The Court’s reasoning in Old Chief as to the inadmissi-

bility of “evidence of a defendant’s evil character” is equally applicable

in the punitive damages context. Quoting then-Judge Breyer, the Court

stated that “Although . . . ‘propensity evidence’ is relevant, the risk that

the jury will convict for crimes other than those charged—or that, uncer-

tain of guilt, it will convict anyway because a bad person deserves pun-

ishment—creates a prejudicial effect that outweighs ordinary relevance.”

Id. at 181 (quoting United States v. Moccia, 681 F.2d 61, 63 (1* Cir.

1982)). In this case, the Utah trial court admitted evidence of a host of

allegations of State Farm actions, unrelated to the decision not to settle a

claim against its insured within policy limits, that could only serve to cast

State Farm as a bad actor in the eyes of the jury. Thus, it is quite prob-

able that the jury reached its punitive damage award based on a desire to

punish State Farm not for the reprehensibility of its acts toward Mr.

Campbell, but for actions other-than those stated in Mr. Campbell’s com-

plaint. This Court should not invite the use of punitive damage awards as

a tool for punishing unpopular defendants in excess of their culpability.

27

This cases does not involve a defendant that embarked on

a common scheme of conduct across the nation. Rather, the

Utah trial court considered a plethora of “other acts” evi-

dence, such as State Farm's allegedly fraudulent practices

directed against poor racial or ethnic minorities, women, and

elderly individuals, its investigation into the personal life of

an employee, and its specification of non-original equipment

manufacturer parts in making repairs of insureds’ vehicles in

other states. Pet. App. 18a-19a. The court even went so far

as to consider activities of State Farm Fire and Casualty

Company, a separate and independent entity as evidence of

State Farm's reprehensible conduct. These activities in-

cluded State Farm Fire and Casualty Company's cancellation

of hurricane insurance coverage in Florida, and its handling

earthquake and other property damage claims in California.

The court's consideration of this information had nothing to

do with State Farm's refusal to settle the third party claim

against Mr. Campbell and, in some cases, did not even in-

volve the defendant, State Farm. The consideration of this

evidence infected the court's decision and resulted in an ar-

bitrary punitive damage award that lacks a relationship to the

reprehensibility of the defendant's conduct toward the plain-

tiff.

Furthermore, the Utah court's consideration of unrelated

alleged bad acts of defendant violates the "second and per-

haps most commonly cited indicium of an unreasonable or

excessive punitive damage award" — "its ratio to the actual

harm inflicted on the pic.atiff." Gore, 517 U.S. at 580. The

Utah court used constitutionally impermissible evidence to

justify the extraordinary award in this case, $145 million in

punitive damages. The Court's second guidepost recognizes

and incorporates the historical nature of punitive damage

awards as punishment for the harm levied by an individual

defendant upon an individual plaintiff. As discussed above,

the trial court placed undue emphasis on the defendant's con-

28

duct toward individuals other than the plaintiff. Any harm

resulting from State Farm's investigation of an employee

who was suspected of having a conflict of interest because

she received a gift from a contractor has no bearing on Mr.

Campbell's claim. Nor does State Farm's allegedly poor

treatment of minorities and women impact Mr. Campbell's

claim, as he falls into neither of these categories. The court's

consideration of such dissimilar actions * 1 the court's

punitive damage award and rendered its decision constitu-

tionally infirm. The Utah Supreme Court’s decision af-

firmed the wholesale introduction of “other acts” evidence

and must be reversed by this Court.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amicus requests that the Utah

Supreme Court’s reinstatement of the $145 million punitive

damages award should be reversed and the case remanded

for a new trial as to punitive damages. If a new trial is not

ordered, then, at least, a massive remittitur of the punitive

award to an amount comporting with constitutional require-

ments would be warranted.

29

Respectfully submitted,

Victor E. Schwartz

(Counsel of Record)

Leah Lorber

Cary Silverman

SHOOK, HARDY & Bacon, L.L.P.

Hamilton Square

600 14” Street, N.W., Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20005-2004

(202) 783-8400

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

Hugh F. Young, Jr.

PRODUCT LIABILITY

ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC.

1850 Centennial Drive

Suite 510

Reston, Virginia 20191-1517

(703) 264-5300

Of Counsel

Dated: August 19, 2002

APPENDIX A

-

SORE STS: Saree

—_ + ——-

la

PRODUCT LIABILITY ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC.

CORPORATE MEMBERS

3M

Allegiance Healthcare Corporation

Altec Industries

American Suzuki Motor Corporation

Andersen Corporation

Anheuser-Busch Companies -

Ansell Healthcare, Inc.

Appleton Papers, Inc.

Aventis Pharmaceuticals Inc.

BASF Corporation

Baxter International, Inc.

Bayer Corporation

Beretta U.S.A. Corp.

BIC Corporation

Biomet, Inc.

Biro Manufacturing Company Inc.

Black & Decker (U.S.) Inc.

BMW of North America, LLC

Bombardier Recreational Products

BP Amoco Corporation

Bridgestone/Firestone, Inc.

2a

Briggs & Stratton Corporation

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

Brown and Williamson Tobacco

Brown-Forman Corporation

Brunswick Corporation

Caterpillar Inc.

Centerpulse USA Inc.

Chevror Corporation

Compaq

Continental Tire North America, Inc.

Cooper Tire and Rubber Company

Coors Brewing Company

Crown Equipment Corporation

DaimlerChrysler Corporation

Daria Corporation

Deere & Company

Dorel Juvenile Group, Inc.

E & J Gallo Winery

E.I. DuPont de Nemours and Company

Eaton Corporation

Eli Lilly and Company

Emerson Electric Co.

Engineered Controls International, Inc.

Estee Lauder Companies

3a

Exxon Mobil Corporation

FMC Corporation

Ford Motor Company

General Electric Company

General Motors Corporation

Georgia-Pacific Corporation

GlaxoSmithKline

GLOCK, Inc.

Great Dane Limited Partnership

Guidant Corporation

Harley-Davidson Motor Company

Harsco Corporation, Gas & Fluid Contro] Group

Honda North America, Inc.

Hyundai Motor America

International Truck and Engine Corporation

Isuzu Motors America, 'c.

Johnson & Johnson

Johnson Controls, Inc.

Joy Global, Inc.

Kawasaki Motors Corp., U.S.A.

Kia Motors America, Inc. _

Kolcraft Enterprises, Inc.

Kraft Foods North America, Inc.

Lincoln Electric Holdings, Inc.

4a

Mazda (North America), Inc.

McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing, Inc.

Medtronic, Inc.

Mercedes-Benz of North America, Inc.

Michelin North America, Inc.

Miller Brewing Company

Mitsubishi Motors R & D of America, Inc.

Monsanto Company/G.D. Searle & Co.

Niro Inc.

Nissan North America, Inc.

Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation

Otis Elevator Company

PACCAR Inc

Panasonic

Pentair, Inc.

Pfizer Inc.

Pharmacia Corporation

Philip Morris Companies Inc.

Polaris Industries, Inc.

Porsche Cars North America, Inc.

Purdue Pharma L.P.

Raytheon Aircraft Company

Remington Arms Company, Inc.

Rheem Manufacturing

a

Sa

RHI Refractories America

RJ Reynolds Tobacco Company

Schindler Elevator Corporation

SCM Group USA Inc

Sears, Roebuck and Co.

Shell Oil Company

Siemens Corporation

Smith & Nephew, Inc.

Snap-on Incorporated

Sofamor Danek, Medtronic Inc.

Solutia Inc.

Sturm, Ruger, & Company, Inc.

Subaru of America, Inc.

Sunbeam Corporation

Synthes (U.S.A.)

Textron Inc.

The Boeing Company

The Dow Chemical Company

The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

The Heil Company

The Proctor & Gamble Company

The Raymond Corporation

The Sherwin-Williams Company

6a

The Toro Company

Thomas Built Buses, Inc.

Toshiba America Incorporated

Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.

TRW Inc.

UST (U.S. Tobacco)

Volkswagen of America, Inc.

Volvo Cars of North America, Inc.

Vulcan Materials Company

Water Bonnet Manufacturing, Inc.

Whirlpool Corporation

Wilbur-Ellis Company

Wyeth

Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.

Zimmer, Inc.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.