Opposition Brief — United States v. Ruiz

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

co

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

r

No. 01-595

1Z/iu/Z0Ui 16:16 FAX 6196872666 _ FEDERA!. DEFENDERS OF SAN Booz

Cc, . .

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, : wi US,

:

, 4

PETITIONER, aT pee

= vB —

CLIRK

ANGELA RUIZ, (ie. ,

RESPONDENT.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED

IN FORMA PAUPERIS

Pursuant to Title 18 United States Code §3006A(d) (6) and

Rule 39 of this Court, Respondent, Angela Ruiz, asks leave to file

the attached Brief in Opposition to the United States’ Petition for

Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit without prepayment of fees or costs and to proceed in

forma pauperis.

Petitioner was represented by counsel appointed pursuant

to Title 18 United States Code §3006A in the district court and on

appeal to the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Res ly, submitted,

Dated: 7 December 2001 STEVEN F. HUBACHEK

BENJAMIN L. COLEMAN

Federal Defenders of San Diego, Ine.

225 Broadway, Suite 900

San Diego, California 92101-5008

Telephone: (619) 234-8467

Attorneys for Respondent

a oP

__5271072001 16:16 FAX 6196872966 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oos of 12/10/2001 16:16 FAA 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAX ~

= : - @oos

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES | TABLE OF CONTENTS

page

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Table of Authorities ...--+-++-++*+****e* eee ee 8 8 8 iv

PETITIONER, QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .- +++ +s es ss ss hots ix

- vs - i 1

ANGELA RUIZ, 2 i al 1

RESPONDENT . CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED... +--+ +++ 5 e+ ss ee 2

ee rr ee ee ee

A. This Case is Not the Appropriate Vehicle to Address the

BRIEF FOR =o IN OPPOSITION Issues Raised in the Petition Because the Government

TO UNITED STATES’ PETITION FOR Failed To Present Its Main Position Below ...-.+++-+-s: 8

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

B. A Guilty Plea Entered In the Absence of the Disclosure of

Brady Material Is Not Knowing and Voluntary .-.-+--+-+-+- 3&8

a. The Lower Courts Agree That Brady Applies Pre-Plea. .11

2. Hill v. Lockhart Supports The Conclusion That A

Plea Entered Without Disclosure of Material

Exculpatory Evidence Is Involuntary ......-.+. 125

>. The Principles Underlying Brady Support Its

Application Pre-Plea tek @ 2 ¢ #2 &- Sete ce 22

STEVEN F. HUBACHEK a. Pre-plea Brady disclosure advances the

BENJAMIN L. COLEMAN interest in accuracy of guilty pleas and the

Federal Defenders of San Diego, Inc. goals of fairness and legitimacy in the

225 Broadway, Suite 900 criminal justice system .....+++ +++ + 22

San Diego, California 92101

Telephone (619) 234-8467 b. The Court should not create a pre-plea

Attorneys for Petitioner exception to Brady based upon the government’s

policy arguments ....+++ +++ * *+ * # « » 27

S. The Right To Pre-Plea Brady Disclosure Cannot Be Waived

Because It Is A Necessary Incident to a Knowing and

ii

— 1241042001 19:16 FAX 6196872606 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oos __ 12/20/2001 16:17 FAX 6196872606 — FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @ 006

Voluntary Plea and Because Such Disclosure Is Fundamental TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

to the Reliability of the Fact-Finding Process ..... 35

| ee ee ee ee ee ee ek a ee oe fe 39 FED CASES

Proof of Service

398 U.S. 144 (1969) a en a ee ee a ee ee 9

920 F. Supp. 688 (E.D.Va. 1996) ta as © 6 © 6-4°6°¢6 4 13

373 U.S. 83 (1963) i De a eg eg gf eg 6 oe os Eee

Brady v. United States,

397 U.S. 742 (1970 ire ee a ee oe ae a a ee a

324 U.S. 697 (1945) its ws & 6 + 8 @ @€ @e« @@# & eS 37

Campbell Vv. Marshall,

7 169 F.2d 314 (6th Cir. 1985) .....+ ++ +++ + «+ « + 22

25 .

450 U.S. 346 (1981) Ti. ~~ »« « « « « s @ 6 8s 68 @ 4s

Giglio v. United States,

405 U.S. 150 (1972) «a nine 2s @°o. @ e ae

Henderson v. Morgan,

426 U.S. 637 (1976) lawn a = 2 &@ & @ 6:2 28 6¢ e &'* 26

Hill _v. Lockhart,

474 U.S. 52 (1985) ncn @.@ 6 6 4 ¢ 11,16,17,20,28,29,30

503 U.S. 540 (1992) a a ei ay oe ow es en a oo”? ok oe 20

Jencks v. United States,

353 U.S. 657 (1957) ee ee a ae a ae an, ae a ee

Kyles v. Whitley,

514 U.S. 419 (1995) oe oe he oo ol a a ae i 10,19,26,34,37

iii iv

_—12410/2001 16:17 FAX 6196872606 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oo7 | __ 42/30/2001 16:17 PAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oos

201 F.3d 353 (Sth Cir.), 874 F.2d 838 (lst Cir. 1989) » as ‘oe ae

cert. denied, 531 U.S. 830 (2000) 14

’ 267 F.3d 132 (2d Cir. 2001) 8,18,22,31

394 U.S. 459 (1968) 16,28,35

‘ 466 U.S. 648 (1984) 21

397 U.S. 759 (1970) 16

xY. ' 686 F.2d 1082 (Sth Cir. 1982) 27

848 F.2d 1312 (2d Cir. 1988) 6,12,19,21,22

2 ‘ 169 F.3d 1210 (9th Cir. 1999) 25

400 U.S. 25 (1970) 30

Peretz v. United States, 513 U.S. 196 (1995) 8,32,33,36,37,38

501 U.S. 923 (1991) 37

— ao ' 829 F. Supp. 620 (S.D.N.¥. 1993),

353 U.S. 53 (1957) 27 aff'd, 17 F.3d 14 (2d Cir. 1994) 13

Sanchez v. United States, United States v. Persico

SO F.3d 1448 (9th Cir. 1995) 4,12,15,18,32 164 F.3d 796 (2d Cir. 1999) 03

Santobello v. New York, United States v. Ros

404 U.S. 257 (1971 29 245 F.3d 577 (6th Cir. 2001) 12,13

*ric Vv W ; .

466 U.S. 668 (1984)

18,19,21,29

United States v. Ruiz ’

241 F.3d 1157 (9th Cir. 2001)

2,4,5,17,18,21,22,26,27

Strickler v. Greene, United States v. Valenzuela-Bernal

527 U.S. 263 (1999) 10,11,29,34 458 U.S. 858 (1982) . ; 19

Tate v. Wood, United States v. Walters

$63 F.2d 20 (2d Cir. 1992) 12 269 F.3d 1207 (10th Cir. 2001) se a et

cllerr v. ‘ Waley v. Johnston

411 U.S. 258 (1973) 16 316 U.S. 101 (1942) 35

United States v. Aqgurs, Wheat v. United States,

427 U.S. 97 (1976) 19 486 U.S. 153 (1988 27

tn: v i White v. United States

473 U.S. 667 (1985) 5,10,14,18,38 858 F.2d 416 (8th Cir. 1988) 13

vi

12/10/2001 16°17 PAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN

323 U.S. 471 (1945)

In re Winship.

397 U.S. 358 (1970)

STATE CASES

Gibson vy. State,

514 S.E.2d 320, 334 S.C. 515 (1999)

Scroggins v. State,

859 S.W.2d 704 (Mo. App. 1993)

State v. Gardner,

885 P.2d 1144, 126 Idaho 428 (1994)

‘ State v. Parsons,

775 A.2d 576, 341 N.J. Super. 448 (2001)

State v. Sturgeon,

605 N.W.2d 589, 231 Wis. 2d 487 (1999)

Villareal v. State,

860 S.W.2d 529 (Ct. App. Tex. 1993)

FEDERAL STATUTES

6 U.S.C. § 1324

18 U.S.C. § 2113 (a)

21 U.S.c. § 841

2. U.S.C. § 952

21 U.S.C. § 960

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

FEDERAL RULES

Fed. R. Crim. P. 11 (b)

Fed. R. Crim. P. 16 » 6 bees

Fed. R. Crim. P. 32(e)

vii

21

23

13

13

13

13

13

13

12/10/2001 16:17 PAX 6196872666

MISCELLANEOUS

Daniel P. Blank,

and Alienation, 68 Fordham L.

- - 6 2 ee eS 6 8 6S Ss ae eee

Rev. 2011 (2000)

Erica G. Franklin, Comment,

Waiving Prosecutorial Disclosure in the Guilty Plea

2 7 [SGGGe ccececeeeeeeneneews

Kevin C. McMunigal, a

Hastings L.J. 957 (1989) - & 6 @ 6 688 ee 3 14,23,24,25

Barry Scheck et al, |

Actual Innocence (2000) .... +++ ++ ++2 ee © « BF

viii

——. ——_———

12/10/2001 16:17 PAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o11 12/10/2001 16:18 PAX 6196872666 FEDERAL WEFENDERS OF San @oiz2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

1. Whether before pleading guilty, a criminal defendant has a

constitutional right to obtain material exculpatory information, No. 01-595

including impeachment material, from the government.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

2. If so, whether that right may be waived through a plea

agreement. Petitioner,

- Vv =

ANGELA RUIZ,

Respondent.

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO

UNITED STATES’ PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondent Angela Ruiz respectfully requests that the Court

deny the Solicitor General’s petition for a writ of certiorari

filed on behalf of the United States.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit is reported at United States v. Ruiz, 241 F.3d 1157

(9th Cir. 2001).

> JURISDICTION

On March 5, 2001, the Ninth Circuit entered its judgment. The

government ’s petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en

banc was denied on June 11, 2001. United States’ Petition for a

ix

12/10/2001 16:18 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN - @ois

Writ of Certioyari (Pet.), App. at 40a. The government has invoked

the Court’s jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution:

\

No person shall ... be deprived of life, liberty, or property

without due process of law...

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On August 13, 1999, Respondent attempted to enter the United

States at the Tecate Port of Entry as the driver of a 1970 Mercury

Cougar. [ER 9]}.' Hidden in the vehicle were 66.3 pounds of

marijuana. [ER 9). Respondent was arrested and made her first

court appearance on August 16, 1999. [CR 3; ER 68].

On August 23, 1999, Respondent was offered a plea agreement.

[ER 6-7). The government’s offer consisted of a two page letter

providing that Respondent would (1) waive her right to indictment

and plead guilty to an information within thirty days of the

initial appearance before a magistrate judge; (2) not file or argue

any motions; (3) agree to waive her right to appeal the sentencing

decision of the district court or otherwise challenge her judgment

anc sentence; and (4) waive her right to receive certain

* “ER” refers to the Excerpt of Record filed in the Court

of Appeals. “CR” refers to the district court clerk's docket

entries.

12/10/2001 16:18 FAA 6190872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oi4

Brady’/Giglio’ information. [ER 6-7). Initially, Respondent did not

explicitly reject the government’s offer which included a promise

on the part of the government to recommend a downward departure

from the Sentencing Guideline for participation in the government's

"fast-track" disposition program.

The case, however, was subsequently indicted on September 8,

1999. [CR 6; ER 4-5). Respondent was charged with one count of

importing marijuana, in violation of 21 U.S.C. §§ 952 and 960, and

one count of possession of marijuana with intent to distribute, in

violation of 21 U.S.C. § 841. [CR 6; ER 4-5]. Respondent declined

to accept the government’s “fast-track” offer on the basis of her

objection to the requisite waiver of her Brady/Giglio rights. [ER

12). On October 12, 1999, Respondent entered a guilty plea to a

charge of importing marijuana, in violation of 21 U.S.C. §§ 952 and

960. [CR 15; ER 61-64). There was no plea agreement.

At sentencing, the prosecution opposed a departure for “fast

track” stating that the government is “giving up all the benefits

that would normally come with the fast track departure.” [ER 55;

RT 4). The defense argued that Respondent was entitled to a “fast

track departure”. [ER 55-56; RT 3-4). Defense counsel stated,

Respondent “did not file any motion [sic]. She did everything that

? Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963).

> Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150 (1972).

3

12/10/2001 16:18 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @015

someone in her position would normally do but for the disagreement

over the language in the standard plea agreement.” [ER 54-55; RT

2-3). The district court stated that a “plea bargain [is] a matter

of contract that’s an offer and acceptance.” [ER 56-58; RT 4-6).

The district court did not make any factual findings and did not

grant any departures. [ER 58; RT 6-7]. Respondent was sentenced

to a term of 18 months in custody.

Respondent appealed, arguing that the district court had

discretion to depart, discretion that it did not acknowledge it

had, because the government’s insistence on aé_e so-called

“Brady/Giglio” waiver constituted unconstitutional conduct on the

part of the government. The government argued that while it

recognized its continuing responsibility to produce exculpatory

evidence of the defendant’s actual innocence of the charged

offenses, it could constitutionally seek a waiver of a defendant's

right to receive material exculpatory evidence that went to

impeachment of government witnesses or to any affirmative defense.

Brief for Appellee United States at 24.

The Ninth Circuit reversed and remanded for a resentencing

hearing. Following its previous decision in Sanchez v. United

States, 50 F.3d 1448 (Sth Cir. 1995), the Ninth Circuit reaffirmed

that a criminal defendant has a due process right to receive

material exculpatory evidence in the possession of the government

prior to entering a guilty plea. RBuiz, 241 F.3d at 1164. Relying

12/10/2001 16:18 PAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oieé

on Sanchez’s conclusion that Brady disclosure is essential to a

“knowing” and “voluntary” guilty plea, the Ninth Circuit concluded

that “(t]he disclosure of Brady evidence is just as important in

ensuring the voluntary and intelligent nature of a plea bargain as

it is in ensuring the voluntary and intelligent nature of a plea.”

Id. The Ninth Circuit further held that the right to this

necessary predicate to a voluntary and intelligent plea of guilty

could not be waived. Jd. at 1164-65.

Judge Tallman dissented, arguing that various policy

considerations militated against the constitutional requirement

recognized by Sanchez and reaffirmed by the majority opinion. Id,

at 1176-77 (Tallman, J., dissenting).

ARGUMENT

In holding that a defendant is entitled to receive

Brady/Giolio* information -- a limited subset of exculpatory

evidence that meets the stringent test of materiality -- prior to

entering a guilty plea, the Ninth Circuit joined the Second, Sixth

and Tenth Circuits, all of which hold that Brady’ applies in the

* Because material exculpatory evidence and material

impeachment evidence are constitutionally indistinguishable, gee

United States v. Bagley, 473 U.S. 667, 676 (1985), both types of

evidence will be referred to collectively as Brady information.

* Respondent will refer to the Court’s decision in Brady v.

Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963) as “Brady.” When:discussing the

Court’s decision in Brady v. United States, 397 U.S. 742 (1970),

respondent will use the full title, “Brady v. United States.”

12/10/2001 16:18 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @017

context of a guilty plea. Far from effecting the “radical change

in guilty plea practice in the federal system” posited by the

government in its petition, Pet, at 7, the Ninth Circuit merely

followed the lead of the Second Circuit’s approach adopted in

Miller v. Angliker, 848 F.2d 1312 (2d Cir. 1988), a decision

rendered over a decade ago.

By asking the Court to hold that Brady does not apply in the

guilty plea context, the government ignores the facts that it took

a contrary position below and that the wealth of lower court

opinions refutes its position. Indeed, in holding that Brady

applies in the context of a guilty plea, the Second, Sixth, Ninth

and Tenth Circuits have carefully applied the Court’s decisions

analyzing both Brady and the role played by counsel in advising

dGefencants as to which plea to enter. The lower courts have

concluded that just as a guilty plea may be invalidated as

involuntary and unknowing by defense counsel’s failure to discover

material exculpatory evidence and advise his client accordingly,

the failure of the government to disclose such material evidence

s-milarly renders a plea of guilty involuntary and unknowing by

effectively precluding the effective assistance of counsel. Any

other result would be anomalous: defense counsel’s failure to

d:scover a particular material fact would invalidate the plea while

tne government’s concealment of the same fact would not.

12/10/2001 16:19 FAA 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @ois

The decisions of the Second, Sixth, Ninth and Tenth Circuits

do not conflict with the Court’s Brady jurisprudence. None of the

Court's decisions applying Brady, all of which have involved

convictions by way of trial, have discussed Brady’s potential

application to convictions secured by way of guilty plea. Thus,

the government’s suggestion that the rule articulated by these

Circuits conflicts with the cCourt’s Brady jurisprudence is

incorrect. In fact, consistent with Brady and the role it plays in

the context of trial and sentencing, pre-plea Brady disclosure will

have the effects of (1) ensuring the reliability of guilty pleas by

discouraging the innocent from pleading guilty and (2) preserving

the reputation of judicial proceedings by preventing prosecutorial

authorities from inducing guilty pleas by withholding exculpatory

evidence. On the other hand, the government’s current position

that it need not disclose any Brady material at all prior to a

guilty plea, a position it did not properly present below,

unjustifiably increases the risk that innocent but risk-averse

defendants will accept favorable plea bargains and needlessly

demeans the values underlying the Brady decision itself.

Nor are the government’s policy concerns, such as its fear

that application of Brady to guilty pleas will necessarily lead to

“open file" discovery of non-material and even inculpatory evidence

in criminal cases, well taken. Pet. at 7. The Second Circuit has

easily rejected a claim that its Brady analysis requires immediate

7

12/10/2001 16:19 FAX 6196872666

production of all impeaching material, material or otherwise; its

rule applies only to material exculpatory evidence. See in re

United States v. Coppa, 267 F.3d 132 (2d Cir. 2001) (reversing

district court’s broad discovery order but also reaffirming that

Brady material must be disclosed prior to any guilty plea).

Finally, the Ninth Circuit correctly concluded that the right

to receive pre-guilty plea Brady material cannot be waived.

Because a ausity plea must be knowing and voluntary, and a guilty

plea entered without Brady disclosure is not knowing and voluntary,

Brady disclosure cannot be waived. Morever, the Court has made

clear that no "waiver" rationale may be employed where the

procedural principles at issue are "so fundamental to. the

reliability of the fact-finding process that they may never be

waived without irreparably discrediting the federal courts."

Uost , 513 U.S. 196, 204 (1995) (internal

guotations, brackets, citations omitted). As a bedrock due process

r-ght that is specifically directed “to the reliability of the

fact-finding process," id., the right to Brady material cannot be

wa:ved.

A. This Case is Not the Appropriate Vehicle to Address the Issues

In its petition for a writ of certiorari, the government

principally argues that it has no obligation at all to produce

Brady material prior to a guilty plea, regardless of whether the

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN 019

Re

12/10/2001 16:19 FAA 6196872666

information relates to factual innocence or impeachment. Pet. at

7-9. This argument was presented to neither the district court nor

the original three judge panel of the Ninth Circuit.

Rather, the government set forth in its proposed plea

agreement that “/t)he Government understands it has a continuing

duty to provide ... information establishing the factual innocence

of the defendant.” Appendix D to Government ’s Petition for a Writ

of Certiorarj at 45a-46a (emphasis added). Similarly, in its

Response Brief filed in the Ninth Circuit, the government argued

that “(t)he plea agreement acknowledges the Government’s duty to

disclose ‘exculpatory’ information indicating actual innocence of

the defendant as opposed to ‘exculpatory’ information which is

based in impeachment information.” Brief for Appellee United

States at 24. It was not until the Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc filed in the Ninth Circuit and the

instant petition for a writ of certiorari that the government took

its current position that it need disclose no Brady material at all

prior to a defendant’s guilty plea.

The Court does not ordinarily consider issues not properly

raised in the lower courts. Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co., 398

U.S. 144, 147 n.2 (1969) (citations omitted); accord Delta Airlines

v. August, 450 U.S. 346, 362 (1981). Pursuant to Rule 15.2 of this

Court, respondent objects to the consideration of this question

based on the position asserted by the government in the district

9

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @ozo

12/10/2001 16:18 FAL 6196872666

court and in the Ninth Circuit. As a result, the petition should

be denied because the government’s main position was not properly

presented to the lower courts.

B. A Guilty Plea Entered In the Absence of the Disclosure of

Brady Material Is Not Knowing and Voluntary

Brady “hold[s) that the suppression by the prosecution of

evidence favorable to an accused ... violates due process where the

evidence is material either to guilt or to punishment, irrespective

of the good faith or bad faith of the prosecution." Brady, 373

U.S. at 87 (emphasis added). Thus, only material favorable

evidence is subject to disclosure. Kyles v. Whitley, 514 U.S. 419,

433-34 (1995); accord Bagley, 473 U.S. at 681-82 (Blackmun, J.,

sep. op.); jad. at 685 (White, J., concurring). Evidence is

material “‘if there is a reasonable probability that, had the

evidence been disclosed to the defense, the result of the

proceeding would be different.’” Strickler v. Greene, 527 U.S.

263, 280 (1999) (quoting Bagley, 473 U.S. at 682).

Brady itself made clear that the right it described was not

limited to trial of issues of guilt: it applies to “evidence [that]

is material either to guilt or to punishment.” Brady, 373 U.S. at

87 (emphasis added). In Strickler, Justice Souter made clear the

breadth of Brady's application to the bifurcated sentencing

procecures in that case, procedures which gave both the jury and

the trial court a role. “([T)he (Brady) prejudice enquiry does not

10

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o21

ie ek ee ceil

12/10/2001 16:20 PAL 6196872666

stop at the conviction but goes to each phase of the sentencing

process: the jury’s consideration of aggravating, death-qualifying

facts, the jury’s discretionary recommendation of a death sentence

if it finds the requisite aggravating factors, and the judge’s

discretionary decision to follow the jury’s recommendation.’

Strickler, 527 U.S. at 297 (Souter, J., concurring in part and

dissenting in part) (citing jd. at 292-96 (maj. op.)). Thus,

although it is true that the Court has yet to address Brady’s

application to the guilty plea process, it has made it clear that

Brady’s application is not limited to trial on liability issues

alone.

1. The Lower Courts Agree That Brady Applies Pre-Plea

The lower courts have, however, addressed the issue and found

that Brady is applicable to the guilty plea process. See, e.q.,

United States v. Persico, 164 F.3d 796, 804 (2d Cir. 1999) (“The

Government ’s obligation to disclose Brady materials is pertinent to

the accused’s decision to plead guilty; the defendant is entitled

to make that decision with full awareness of favorable (exculpatory

and impeachment) evidence known to the Government”) (citation

omitted). While the rationales of the lower courts have varied

slightly, each of them analyzes the pre-guilty plea Brady

obligation in the context of the Court’s decisions in Brady vy.

United States, 397 U.S. 742, and Hill _v. Lockhart, 474 U.S. 52

(1985). For instance, the Ninth Circuit has concluded that a

11

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o22

AZ/10/ 2004 16:20 PAL 61960672666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o23

guilty plea “cannot be deemed ‘intelligent and voluntary’ if

‘entered without knowledge of material information withheld by the

prosecution.'" Sanchez v. United States, 50 F.3d 1448, 1453 (9th

Cir. 1995) (quoting Miller, 848 F.2d at 1320). The Second Circuit

has offered a slightly different rationale, observing that “even a

Guilty plea that was ‘knowing’ and ‘intelligent’ may be vulnerable

to challenge if it was entered without knowledge of material

evidence withheld by the prosecution.” Miller, 848 F.2d at 1320.

Whichever rationale is employed, a substantial body of caselaw

supports the notion that Brady applies to guilty pleas. See United

Stat v. W , 269 F.3d 1207, 1214 (10th Cir. 2001) ("under

certain limited circumstances, ‘the prosecution's violation of

Bracy can render a defendant's plea involuntary’") (quoting United

States v. Wright, 43 F.3d 491, 496 (10th Cir. 1994)); United States

vu. Ross, 245 F.3d 577, 583 n.1 (6th Cir. 2001) (recognizing that a

Gefendant may file a post-plea Brady claim) (citing Campbell] v.

Marsh , 769 F.2d 314 (6th Cir. 1985));* Tate v. Wood, 963 F.2d

* The government suggests that the Sixth Circuit’s decision

>n Campbell is somehow contrary to the Ninth Circuit’s approach.

See Pet. at 21. Actually, Campbell] observed that under this

Court’s decisions, the petitioner’s guilty plea “did not

insulate all misconduct of constitutional proportions from

>udicial scrutiny solely because the misconduct was followed by a

p-ea which otherwise passes constitutional muster as knowing and

smtel.igent.” Campbell, 769 F.2d at 321. Ultimately, the

Campbe)] court found it unnecessary to resolve the issue of

whether Brady applied pre-plea, primarily due to the defendant's

inability to demonstrate prejudice. Jd, at 323-24. Ross, which

the government does not address in its petition, unequivocally

States that the Sixth Circuit “has recognized that a state

12

12/10/2001 16:20 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oza

20, 24-25 (2d Cir. 1992) (material exculpatory evidence must be

disclosed prior to the guilty plea); White v. United States, 858

F.2d 416, 423-24 (8th Cir. 1988) (finding that the exculpatory

evidence at issue “was significant and ... it should have been

disclosed” but habeas relief denied due to lack of materiality);

Banks v. United States, 920 F. Supp. 688, 691-92 (E.D.Va. 1996)

(following the cases cited herein); United States v. Millan-Colon,

629 F. Supp. 620, 635-36 (S.D.N.Y¥. 1993), aff'd, 17 F.3d 14 (2d

Cir. 1994) (following Miller and Tate);’ Daniel P. Blank, Plea

. 1m tad 5 id Al 1p ‘st 's Guide To]

Abandonment and Alienation, 68 Fordham L. Rev. 2011 (2000)

(hereinafter “Plea Bargain Waivers”); Erica G. Franklin, Comment,

defendani may raise, after a plea of guilty, a claim that

prosecutors withhold (sic) exculpatory information in violation

of Brady.” 245 F.3d at 584 n.1 (emphasis added). Thus, the

Sixth Circuit’s position is not contrary to that of the Ninth

Circuit.

” ‘The Ninth Circuit’s position also enjoys substantial

support in the state courts. §tate v. Parsons, 775 A.2d 576,

560-61, 341 N.J. Super. 448, 455-56 (2001) (agreeing with

Sanchez); State v,. Sturgeon, 605 N.W.2d 589, 231 Wis.2d 487

(1999) (allowing withdrawal of guilty plea due to Brady

violation); Gibson v. State, 514 S.E.2d 320, 324-25, 334 S.C.

S515, 523-24 (1999) (agreeing with Sanchez); State v. Gardner, 885

P.2d 1144, 126 Idaho 426 (1994) (allowing withdrawal of guilty

plea due to Brady violation); Villareal _v. State, 860 S.W.2d 529,

532-33 (Ct. App. Tex. 1993) (“withholding ... [material] evidence

(from a defendant pleading guilty] amount(s] to a denial of [the

defendant’s) federal and state constitutional rights to due

process and due course of law”) (citing Ex Parte Lewis, 587

S.W.2d 697, 699-701 (Tex. Crim. App. 1979)); Scroggins v. State,

859 S.W.2d 704 (Mo. App. 1993) (“The principles of Brady are

applicable to the entry of a plea of guilty”) (citation omitted).

13

12/10/2001 16:20 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o2s

Waivi p (al Disc) in _t} Guilt P] Process: 2

Debate on the Merits of "Discovery" Waivers, 51 Stan. L. Rev. 567

(1999); Kevin C. McMunigal, Disclosure and Accuracy In the Guilty

Plea Process, 40 Hastings L.J. 957 (1989) (hereinafter “Disclosure

and Accuracy”) .°

Thus, although the government complains that the Ninth

Circuit’s decision is “unique,” Pet, at 20, when compared to other

lower court authority, it glosses over the fact that the

overwhelming weight of this authority refutes its position that

Brady does not apply in the guilty plea context. Moreover, the

government’s contention that no other court “has gone as far” as

the Ninth Circuit is a-red herring, Pet. at 22, as no other court

has had the opportunity to address the issue of Brady waivers in

plea agreements. In other words, no court has disagreed with the

Ninth Circuit’s invalidation of Brady waivers. If anything, the

fact that no other court has had the opportunity to address the

* The Fifth Circuit, in dicta, has suggested that the right

recognized in Brady was solely trial-based, gee Matthew v.

Johnson, 201 F.3d 353, 360 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 531 U.S 830

(2000), although even that court acknowledges that the contrary

view enjoys wide support. See id. at 358. The facts that Brady

expiicitly held that its rule applies to the issues of both

liability and punishment, 373 U.S. at 87, and that Bagley makes

clear that the Brady materiality test requires analysis of

whether the “result of the proceeding would be different,” 473

U.S. at 682 (emphasis added), rather than solely whether the

result of the trial would have been different, refute the Fifth

Circuit’s suggestion that the right recognized in Brady was

solely trial-based.

14

12/10/2001 16:2] FAA 6108/2666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o26

specific issue weighs against granting the petition. Rather than

granting the petition at this time, the Court should have the

benefit of other lower court opinions on the specific issue and

should also wait to see if a conflict ever arises.

2. Hill vv. Lockhart Supports The Conclusion That A Plea

Entered Without Disclosure of Material Exculpatory

Evidence Is Involuntary

In addition to its reliance on the decisions of its sister

Circuits, the Ninth Circuit has explained that a guilty plea

entered without disclosure of material exculpatory evidence is

involuntary. See Sanchez, 50 F.3d at 1453; accord Walters, 269

F.3d at 1214 (“under certain limited circumstances, ‘the

prosecution's violation of Brady can render a defendant's plea

involuntary’"). The government argues that the Ninth Circuit’s

analysis of Brady v. United States overlooks the Court’s

observation that "'[a) defendant is not entitled to withdraw his

piea merely because he discovers long after the plea has been

accepted that his calculus misapprehended the quality of the

State's case or the likely penalties attached to alternative

courses of action.'" Pet. at 13 (quoting Brady v. United States,

397 U.S. at 756-57). As a result, the government argues, even

though "'a defendant's decision whether or not to plead guilty is

often heavily influenced by his appraisal of the prosecutor's

case,'" Sanchez, SO F.3d at 1453 (quoting Miller, 648 F.2d at

1320), and even though the decision-making process may be adversely

15

12/10/2001 16:21 FAX 6196872666

affected by the lack of disclosure of Brady material, the validity

of the guilty plea is not implicated because the guilty piecas of

defendants who “misapprehend[] the quality of the State's case or

the likely penalties,” Brady v. United States, 397 U.S. at 756-57,

are nonetheless valid.

The government’s argument ignores Hil]_v. Lockhart, 474 U.S.

52, which strongly supports the Ninth Circuit’s view that a guilty

plea entered in the absence of Brady disclosure is “involuntary”

under Brady v. United States, as well as the Court’s other

decisions assessing the validity of convictions entered by way of

guilty pleas. The Court’s cones emphasize the role of the advice

of counsel in establishing that guilty pleas are voluntarily and

intelligently made. See Brady v. United States, 397 U.S. at 758;

accord Tollett v. Henderson, 411 U.S. 258, 267 (1973); McMann v.

Richar , 397 U.S. 759, 771 (1970). The Court made clear in

Hill, however, that “[w)here, as here, a defendant is represented

by counsel during the guilty plea process and enters his: plea upon

the advice of counsel, the voluntariness of the plea depends on

whether counsel’s advice ‘was within the range of competence

demanded of attorneys in criminal cases.’” 474 U.S. at 56 (quoting

McMann, 397 U.S. at 771). Thus, a plea of guilty based upon sub-

standard advice is involuntary and therefore invalid. Id.; accord

McCarthy v. United States, 394 U.S. 459, 466 (1968) (“if a

defendant‘s guilty plea is not equally voluntary and knowing, it

16

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @027

Sane + J

12/10/2001 16:21 FAA 61806872666

has been obtained in violation of due process and is therefore

void”) (footnote omitted).

In explicating the “prejudice” inquiry to be undertaken in a

case where a defendant asserts a claim that his plea is involuntary

due to ineffective assistance of counsel at the plea stage, Hill

employed defense counsel’s failure to uncover exculpatory evidence

as an illustration.

[W)here the alleged error of counsel is a failure to

investigate or discover potentially exculpatory evidence,

the determination whether the error prejudiced the

defendant by causing him to plead guilty rather than go

to trial will depend on the likelihood that discovery of

the evidence would have led counsel to change his

recommendation as to the plea. This assessment, in turn,

will depend in large part on a prediction whether the

evidence likely would have changed the outcome of

trial.

Hill, 474 U.S. at 59. Based on this analysis, the failure of

counsel to discover a particular exculpatory fact - a fact which

would likely cause counsel to advise rejection of a plea agreement

- renders the guilty plea violative of the Sixth Amendment and

therefore involuntary.

The Ninth Circuit’s pre-plea Brady analysis is based upon an

analogy to Hill’s Sixth Amendment analysis: "[e)vidence is

‘material' if ‘there is a reasonable probability that but for the

failure to disclose the Brady material, the defendant would have

refused to plead and would have gone to trial.'" United States v.

Ruiz, 241 F.3d 1157, 1166 (9th Cir. 2001) (quoting Sanchez, 50 F.3d

17

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o2s

12/10/2001 16:21 FAA 0196872666

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o29

at 1454).° Sanchez relied on Miller in adopting this test. See

Sanchez, 50 F.3d at 1454 (citing Miller, 848 F.2d at 1322).

The Second Circuit's adoption of the foregoing test was

informed by the Court's derivation of the post-trial Brady test.

In Bagley, Justice Blackmun's separate opinion, joined by a

majority of the Court, adopted the Sixth Amendment materiality test

established in Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 694 (1984),

‘trial Brady claims. See Bagley, 473 U.S. at

€81-82 (Blackmun, J., sep. op.); accord id. at 685 (White, J.,

as applicable to pow’

’ The government insists that the Ninth Circuit’s

analysis logically compels the conclusion that the government

must turn over not only material exculpatory evidence, but also

inculpatory evidence in order for the defendant to maximize his

knowledge of the government’s case prior to pleading guilty and

thet this sort of broad disclosure is inconsistent with the

Court’s cases. Pet. at 14-15. Quite to the contrary, the Ninth

Circuit’s materiality test can never require the disclosure of

inculpatory evidence: no defendant could ever claim that “but for

the failure to disclose [even more inculpatory evidence], [he]

would have refused to plead and would have gone to trial.'"

Ruiz. 241 F.3d at 1166. Moreover, the government’s concerns,

which are based on the Ninth Circuit’s observation that “‘a

defendant’s decision whether or not to plead guilty is often

heavily anfluenced by his appraisal of the government’s case,”

ic. at 1164, ignore the limitations inherent in the Brady

doctrine: the Ninth Circuit’s analysis, like that of the Second

Circuit, requires no more than the disclosure of material

exculpatory evidence. See Coppa, 267 F.3d at 142. While guilty

pleas would no doubt be even more “knowing” and “voluntary” if

all evidence were disclosed, including inculpatory evidence, the

Ninth Circuit’s rule applies to Brady material alone. See Ruiz,

241 F.3d at 1164 (requiring production of “material information

withheld by the prosecution”). At any rate, much of the

government’s inculpatory evidence is already otherwise

discoverable, upon request, under Fed. R. Crim. P. 16. Thus, the

government’s objections are both unfounded and overstated.

\

18

12/10/2001 16:22 FAA 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @030

concurring). The Sixth Amendment basis for the Brady materiality

test was later reaffirmed in Kyles. See 514 U.S. at 433-34." In

view of the Court's emphasis on its Sixth Amendment jurisprudence

in evaluating Brady due process claims, the Second Circuit

concluded that Sixth Amendment concepts were equally applicable to

pre-plea Brady claims.

[W]e consider it useful in the present case to look to

the Supreme Court's discussion of materiality in Hill v.

Lockhart, . which involved a claim that the

defendant's decision to enter a plea of guilty was caused

by the ineffective assistance of his counsel.

Miller, 848 F.2d at 1322. Thus, Miller adapted Hill's Sixth

Amendment test to a due process Brady claim and concluded that the

Brady test should focus on whether the undisclosed evidence created

a “reasonable probability” that the defendant “would have insisted

on going to a full trial." Id.”

Rejection of the analysis contained in Hil] and adoption of

the government‘s approach would lead to anomalous results. For

*° Strickland itself derived its test from United States v.

Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 104, 112-13 (1976) and United States v.

Valenzuela-Bernal, 458 U.S. 858, 872-74 (1982), both of which are

Fifth Amendment cases. See Strickland, 466 U.S. at 694.

Strickland’s derivation of its test only serves to emphasize the

inter-relatedness of the Fifth and Sixth Amendment questions

posed by the failure of the government to disclose, and of

defense counsel to discover, material exculpatory information.

3} A hypothetical illustrates this point. If defense

counsel's failure to learn that a key witness had suffered a

conviction of perjury would violate the Sixth Amendment under

Hill, then the government's failure to disclose that a

significant unidentified witness had suffered that same

conviction violates the Fifth Amendment.

19

12/10/2001 16:22 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o031

example, in Jacobson v. United States, 503 U.S. 540 (1992), the

Court found that Jacobson had been entrapped as a matter of law

into receiving visual depictions of minors engaging in explicit

sexual acts due to the conduct of various government agencies in

soliciting orders from him. If Jacobson had entered a guilty plea

without knowing that those who solicited him were government

actors, thereby foregoing his entrapment defense, the question of

whether his plea was voluntary or not would depend - under the

government’s approach -- solely on whether or not his counsel

should have discovered the fact that the solicitors were government

agents. If counsel should have discovered that fact, Jacobson’s

plea would be involuntary because he pleaded guilty without knowing

a fact reasonably likely to cause him to go to trial: the

availability of an entrapment defense. See Hill, 474 U.S. at 59.

By the same token, if the government had successfully concealed the

identity of the solicitors, such that counsel could not have

discovered it, Jacobson’s plea would suddenly be voluntary.

It would be bizarre indeed if the voluntariness of Jacobson’s

plea were to depend upon the government’s skill at concealing

material exculpatory facts. Hill, 474 U.S. at 56, makes clear that

a plea is not voluntary if the defendant is kept in the dark as to

material exculpatory facts; it should not matter who is at fault

for the defendant’s ignorance. In other words, the identity of the

responsible party is not logically related to the voluntariness of

the defendant’s plea. If defense counsel is at fault, then the

Sixth Amendment provides relief under Hil). But if it is the

20

12/10/Z0U1 16:22 FAA 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o32

government that has failed to disclose the information, then

Brady’s Fifth Amendment analysis should apply. See Ruiz, 241 F.3d

at 1165 (analogizing to ineffective assistance of counsel claims in

concluding that “the failure to Gisclose Brady evidence

invalidates the plea agreement”) .”

The Second Circuit took a slightly different approach,

reasoning that the failure to disclose Brady information prior to

a guilty plea could invalidate that plea because Brady v. United

States applied "only in the absen[ce] of misrepresentation or other

impermissible conduct by state agents." Miller, 848 F.2d at 1320

(citing Brady v. United States, 397 U.S. at 757). Because the non-

disclosure of material exculpatory evidence constitutes

“impermissible conduct by state agents," Miller held “that even a

guilty plea that was ‘knowing’ and ‘inteiligent’ may be vulnerable

to challenge if it was entered without knowledge of material

2 The government’s conduct in withholding material

exculpatory evidence that cannot be discovered by defense counsel

would have the effect of preventing counsel from offering

adequate advice at a critical stage of the prosecution. See

Williams v. Kaiser, 323 U.S. 471, 475-76 (1945) (the assistance

of counsel is fundamental to the decision to plead guilty because

“[o]nly counsel could discern from the facts whether a plea of

not guilty to the offense charged or a plea of guilty toa lesser

offense would be appropriate”). Because “* (t]he Eigne to counsel

is the right to the effective assistance of counsel, “ Strickland

v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 686 (1984) (quoting McMann v.

Richardson, 397 U.S. 759, 771, n. 14 (1970)), the government

would essentially prevent the defendant’s exercise of his Sixth

Amendment right to counsel. “The Court has uniformly found

constitutional error ... when counsel was ... prevented from

assisting the accused during a critical stage of the proceeding.

United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. 648, 659 n.25 (1984)

(collecting cases).

21

12/10/2001 16:22 FAX 6196872666

evidence withheld by the prosecution.” Jd. Thus, the Second

Circuit posited a pre-plea Brady obligation, but it did not apply

Hill’s voluntariness analysis, instead concluding that a Brady

violation satisfied the misconduct exception recognized by Brady v.

United States.

Even so, the Second Circuit relied upon Hill's prejudice

analysis to determine materiality, Miller, 848 F.2d at 1322, the

same test the Ninth Circuit adopted. See Ruiz, 241 F.3d at 1166.

Thus, even — the Second and Ninth Circuits applied somewhat

different approaches to Brady v. United States, both agreed that

Hill’s analysis was nonetheless applicable. This minor analytical

divergence is of no moment, however, as there is no disagreement

between the Second and Ninth Circuits on whether or not Brady

applies pre-plea: both correctly hold that it does. See Coppa, 267

F.3d at 142 (“Brady material must be disclosed in time for its

effective use at a plea proceéding”); Ruiz, 241 F.3d at 25

(describing the right to receive pre-plea Brady material as a “due

process right”).

a. Pre-plea Brady disclosure advances the interest in

accuracy of quilty pleas and the goals of fairness

and legitimacy in the criminal justice system

s

Even if the Court declines to adopt the Ninth Circuit’s

analysis of Hill, the Second and Ninth Circuits have nonetheless

correctly concluded that due process requires pre-plea Brady

22

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @033

\°

12/10/2001 16:23 FAA 6196872666

disclosure because euch disclosure serves to ensure the reliability

of convictions entered by way of guilty plea and to advance the

goals of fairness and legitimacy in the criminal justice system.

First, the disclosure of material exculpatory evidence will tend to

encourage innocent, but risk averse, defendants to exercise their

trial rights rather than to plea bargain, thus vindicating the

“fundamental value determination of our society that it is far

worse to convict an innocent man than to let a guilty man go free.”

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 372 (1970) (Harlan, J., concurring).

Because such defendants are likely to receive more attractive plea

offers,’ disclosure will serve to bolster those innocent defendants

who are more likely to succumb to a substantial difference in

potential penalty.”

4 Defendants with a more significant chance of acquittal

are likely to receive more attractive offers from prosecutors who

are risk averse See generally Disclosure and Accuracy, 40

Hastings L.J. at 990-92.

‘** While cases of innocent defendants pleading guilty are

difficult to identify, some have come to light. See, e.g., Paul

Duggan, i : :

Office Ignored Confession By Another, Washington Post Service,

Jan. 18, 2001, News Section at 3 (man who entered guilty plea

exonerated); Matt Lait and Scott Glove:,

, Les Angeles Times, Metro Desk, 1999 WL

26200706, November 30, 1999 (same); gee also Barry Scheck et al,

Actual Innocence 92 (2000) (noting that 23% of the DNA

exonerations studied by the Innocence Project were based on false

confessions or admissions).

23

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o34

A2/40/ 42001 16:23 FAA 01965872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN - @oss

12/10/2001 16:23 PAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @036

Second, disclosure will also serve to prevent miscarriages of

justice in cases involving offenses containing elements that are

either outside the defendant’s knowledge or are based upon

application of objective standards. As for the former category of

offenses, numerous crimes contain elements that are outside the

defendant's personal knowledge. For example, a number of offenses

require that the victim have attained a eoctais age. A defendant

may well not have personal knowledge of the victim’s age and lack

access to evidence that calls that element into question, evidence

that the government may possess due to its superior access to the

victim or to confidential public records. Similarly, in a bank

robbery case, see 18 U.S.C. § 2113(a), a defendant would typically

lack any personal knowledge of the FDIC insurance element that the

government may possess. Even the availability of certain defenses

may turn on facts outside the defendant’s knowledge, as is the case

in entrapment, in which the defendant may not know that the person

who solicited him was a government agent. In these hypotheticals,

the defendant lacks conclusive knowledge of his guilt or innocence,

thus making pre-plea disclosure of exculpatory evidence even more

Significant. See generally Disclosure and Accuracy, 40 Hastings

L.J. at 972-75 (describing situations in which the defendant lacks

sufficient knowledge accurately to determine his guilt).

As to the latter category, numerous defenses and offense

elements turn on the analysis of objective factors, such as the

24

reasonableness of one’s conduct oF the justifiability of a

particular course of conduct. See aeneraliy Disclosure and

Accuracy, 40 Hastings L.J. at 976-80 (“It is problematic to expect

the typical defendant pleading guilty to provide accurate answers

to questions such as the reasonableness of the defendant’s conduct

or belief, or the justifiability of taking a particular risk, in

the same way that we rely on a defendant pleading guilty to reveal

the truth about his own conduct or subjective mental state”).

Again as an example, a claim of self defense frequently requires a4

showing of the reasonableness of the defendant’s fear, an objective

fact that could be corroborated by facts of which the defendant was

unaware. See, e.¢., United States v. James, 169 F.3d 1210, 1214-15

(9th Cir. 1999) (defendant's self defense theory was corroborated

by documentary proof of victim's prior violent acts even though the

defendant had never reviewed the documents). Because “(s)elf-

defense is about as basic a moral and legal principle there is,”

id. at 1215 (citation omitted), no legitimate policy could be

served by allowing James to enter a guilty plea without disclosure

of the documents which corroborated the victim’s violent past had

she been’ unaware of them and had the government possessed them.

Objective determinations are frequently required in offense

elements as well. See, e.g., 8 U.S.C. § 1324(a) (1) (ii), (214) and

(iv) (permitting liability for various alien smuggling offenses

25

12/10/2001 16:24 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @037

12/10/2001) 16:24 FAX 6190572666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o3s

based upon the defendant’s “reckless disregard” of the illegality

of the alien’s presence in the United States) .**

Finally, non-disclosure implicates the fairness considerations

that animated Brady. "fO]ur system of the administration of

justice suffers when any accused is treated unfairly." Brady, 373

U.S. at 867. “(Dl isclosure will serve to justify trust in the

prosecutor as the representative ... of a sovereignty ... whose

interests in a criminal prosecution is not that it shall win a

case, but that justice shall be done." Kyles, 514 U.S. at 439

guetation omitted). A constitutional rule permitting the

suppression of all Brady material gives rise to a prosecutorial

incentive "'to deliberately withhold exculpatory information as

pert of an attempt to elicit guilty pleas,'" Ruiz. 241 F.3d at 1164

‘S In Henderson v. Morgan, 426 U.S. 637 (1976), the Court

considered a case involving a homicide statute which permitted a

f£:nding of increased liability based upon what was apparently a

purely objective standard. Henderson involved a homicide in

which a second degree murder charge was filed, but the defense

contended that a manslaughter charge was more appropriate under

che facts, including the defendant’s limited mental abilities.

The second degree murder charge, however, included as an element

the requirement that the “assault was committed with a design to

effect the death of the person killed.” Id, at 645 (internal

quotations, footnotes omitted). The Court observed that the

crucial “element of the [second degree murder) offense might have

been proved by the objective evidence even if respondent’s actual

state of mind was consistent with innocence or manslaughter.”

1d. (emphasis added). Thus, the existence of objective evidence

- of which the defendant may not have been aware - may have been

dispositive. The failure to disclose exculpatory evidence

relevant to the application of this objective standard could lead

to a plea of guilty by a defendant whose “actual state of mind

was consistent with innocence or manslaughter.” Id.

26

(quoting Sanchez, 50 F.3d at 1453), and demeans the values

underlying Brady.”

The government advances a number of policy justifications for

its request that the Court allow it to withhold all Brady material

from defendants considering guilty pleas. Ruiz's holding, however,

is constitutional; it cannot be rejected solely upon

reconsideration of the policy implications of the decision. §¢e

Ruiz, 241 F.3d at 1167-68. Nevertheless, the government’s

arguments are unconvincing.

% In the event that the Court rejects the Ninth Circuit’s

analysis of Hill and the application of Brady prior to entry of a

guilty plea, the Court should nonetheless exercise its

supervisory power to require such disclosure. See. e.g.. Jencks

v. United States, 353 U.S. 657 (1957) (exercising the Court’s

supervisory power to order discovery of the prior statements of

witnesses); Roviaro v. United States, 353 U.S. 53 (1957)

(exercising supervisory power to order discovery regarding

informants under some circumstances); see also United States v.

Campbel], 874 F.2d 838, 851 (l*. Cir. 1989) (characterizing

Jencks and Roviaro as involving the exercise of the Court’s

supervisory power) ; United States v. Fischel, 686 F.2d 1082 (Sth

Cir. 1982) (same as to Roviaro). The analysis in the foregoing

section supports the exercise of this Court’s authority. In

addition, the “[f]ederal courts have an independent interest in

ensuring criminal trials are conducted within the ethical

standards of the profession and that legal proceedings appear

fair to all who observe them.” Wheat v. United States, 486 U.S.

153, 160 (1988). By requiring such disclosure, the Court will

hold prosecutors to high ethical standards and enhance fairness.

27

_____ 12/10/2001 16:24 FAA 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o39

For instance, the government rejects any notion that pre-plea

Brady disclosure would serve to discourage the innocent from

pleading guilty, asserting that in any post-conviction proceeding

[t]he essence of a defendant’s Brady claim at that point

is not that his solemn admissions of guilt were false.

Instead, the claim is that, if the government had

disclosed a particular piece of evidence, the defendant

would have recalculated the risks and benefits of his

options and opted to go to trial rather than pleading

guilty.

Pet. at 18-19. As a threshold matter, the government's argument,

as set forth above, is difficult to reconcile with Hill.

Presumably, the government would also seek to dismiss the claim of

a criminal defendant raising ineffective assistance of counsel by

arguing that the essence of such a claim was not innocence but

rather a desire to “recalculate([] the risks and benefits of his

options,” albeit with better advice. The Court rejected that sort

of reasoning in Hil], concluding that the claim went to the

validity of the plea: a plea based on such advice was not

voluntary. Hill, 474 U.S. at 56; accord McCarthy, 394 U.S. 466.

The same analysis should apply here: regardless of the government’s

(apparently omniscient) view that a defendant making a post

conviction attack does not also assert his innocence, the non-

disclosure of Brady material invalidates the plea by rendering it

involuntary. An involuntary plea violates due process and is void,

whether or not there is also a claim of innocence asserted. Hill,

474 U.S. at 56; accord McCarthy, 394 U.S. 466.

\

28

12/10/2001 16:24 FAA 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oso

The government’s concern for the finality of judgments, Pet.

at 19, is also addressed in Hil], which concluded that “requiring

a showing of ‘prejudice’ from defendants who seek to challenge the

validity of guilty pleas on the ground of ineffective assistance of

counsel will serve the fundamental interest in the finality of

guilty pleas.” Hill, 474 U.S. at 58 (citation omitted); see also

Strickland, 466 U.S. at 694 (“[aJn ineffective assistance claim

asserts the absence of one of the crucial assurances that the

result of the proceeding is reliable, so finality concerns are

somewhat weaker”). Because any successful Brady claim includes, by

definition, a showing of materiality, gee Strickler, 527 U.S. at

281-82, the pre-plea disclosure rule adopted by the lower courts

provides precisely the same assurance that the finality of

judgments will not be unnecessarily disturbed.

But even apart from the analogy to Hill, the government’s

assertion that all post-conviction Brady claims are not, in

essence, claims of innocence overstates the efficacy of the guilty

plea process in separating the innocent from the guilty. While it

is true that the Court views plea bargaining as “not only an

essential part of the process but a highly desirable part,”

Santobello v. New York, 404 U.S. 257, 261 (1971), the Court has

also acknowledged that it cannot “say that guilty plea convictions

29

a

12/10/2001 16:25 FAL 6196872666

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN 9041

Brady v. United States, 397

U.S. at 757.*” In Brady v. United States the Court observed that

we take great precautions against unsound results, and we

should continue to do so whether the conviction is by

plea or trial. We would have serious doubts about this

case if the encouragement of guilty pleas by offer of

leniency substantially increased the likelihood that

defendants, advised by competent counsel, would falsely

condemn themselves.

id. Although in Brady v. United States the Court expressed

confidence that trial “courts will satisfy themselves that pleas of

hold no hazards for the innocent."

guilty are voluntarily and intelligently made by competent

defendants with adequate advice of counsel,” jid., the government

now proposes a rule that can only undermine that confidence.

Essentially, the government urges the Court to enable it to deny

defendants the very information defense counsel needs to provide

“adequate advice:” material exculpatory evidence. If it were true

thet “guilty plea convictions [held some) hazards for the

innecent,” when Brady v. United States was decided, those hazards

will be greatly increased in the event the government’s view

+7 Moreover, to the extent that the government focuses on a

defendant's effort to disown his previous sworn declarations of

guilt, that concern is completely absent in cases where a nolo

contendere plea is entered, see Fed. R. Crim. P. 11(b), or when

the defendant pleads guilty pursuant to North Carolina v. Alford,

40C U.S. 25 (1970), without providing a factual basis. Even

where there is a factual basis provided, Hill, 474 U.S. 52, still

provides a basis to challenge a guilty plea: it contains no

“factual basis” exception. See also Fed. R. Crim. P. 32(e)

(permitting guilty plea to be withdrawn prior to sentencing for

“any fair and just reason” and also containing no “factual basis”

exception).

30

A2Z/10/Z2UUL 16:25 FAX 6196872666

prevails, and it gains the ability to withhold material exculpatory

evidence from defendants contemplating guilty pleas.

In addition to its view that application of Brady to guilty

pleas will somehow not advance the interests of innocent

defendants, the government also insists that the lower courts will

not be able to confine the requisite disclosures to material

Pet. at 14-15. The government’s fear is

exculpatory evidence.

unfounded. The Second Circuit has already rejected a district

court’s discovery order that went beyond the scope of the general

rule that Brady material must be disclosed prior to a guilty plea,

reasoning that “we have never interpreted due process of law as

requiring more than that Brady material must be disclosed in time

for its effective use at trial or at a plea proceeding....”

Coppa, 267 F.3d at 142 (citations omitted). The Brady materiality

standard, as applied in Coppa, simply obviates the government’s

concerns that it might be required to conduct open file discovery.

The government also fears that the Ninth Circuit’s approach

“could endanger government witnesses, disrupt ongoing

investigations, and require additional commitment of scarce

resources to cases before entry of guilty pleas.” Pet. at 23. The

government again overlooks the strict limitations imposed by the

materiality requirement. Ruiz does not require the wholesale

disclosure of the identities of informers, although occasionally it

may. Sanchez illustrates this point: Mr. Sanchez did not prevail

31

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o042

12/10/2001 16:25 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o43

because his assertion that he would have pursued entrapment and

outrageous governmental misconduct claims if he had known the

identities of the informants was rejected because it was not

objectively reasonable. See 50 F.3d at 1454. Therefore, the

evidence he was denied was neither material nor subject to

disclosure. Id. In those few cases where the information is

material, such as those where a defendant who is not predisposed to

commit drug offenses is induced to do so by a government informant,

the balance, as tilted by the antecedent determination of

materiality, properly favors disclosure.”

Finally, the argument that Ruiz creates a burden on

prosecutors by requiring them to collect and assess evidence at an

earlier stage in order to determine if it constitutes Brady

material is equally unavailing. As an initial matter, the

government appears to concede that its prosecutors already look for

and disclose exculpatory evidence before guilty pleas, as it

repeatedly states that it is only “impeachment” information that it

does rot routinely disclose. Pet. at 9, 23. Until now, there have

** The government has provided no evidence that the absence

of Brady waivers will have a devastating impact on criminal

investigations. See Mezzanatto, 513 U.S. at 209 n.6 (“Respondent

has failed to offer any empirical support for his apocalyptic

predictions”). There is also no evidence that Brady waivers are

common, even though the government's claimed concerns certainly

are. In other words, if a controversial Brady waiver was so

vital to the government's investigations, this issue likely would

have been raised long before the instant case.

32

| __—_12/10/2001 16:26 FAA 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oa4

been no complaints that prosecutors have been overburdened by their

efforts to disclose such exculpatory information pre-plea, and

certainly the system has not come to a grinding halt based on these

pre-plea efforts.

Also, the government’s complaint about having to do more work

at the initial stages of a case conflicts with its contentions

regarding finality. Certainly, finality concerns are better

addressed by a rule which requires early disclosure. Such a rule

eliminates post-conviction claims when exculpatory information

comes to light well after resolution of a case. The government’s

concern about the plea bargaining process also “focuse[s] entirely

on fits) incentives and completely ignores the other essential

party to the transaction: the [defendant].” Mezzanatto, 513 U.S.

at 207. While a prosecutor may wish to do even less work in a plea

bargain onnis. a defendant is often less likely to accept a plea

agreement where he must give up his right to receive exculpatory

information, as exemplified by what happened in this very case.

Indeed, Brady waivers have inhibited the plea bargaining process in

various judicial districts. See Plea Bargain Waivers, 68 Fordham

L. Rev. at 2043-44 and n.189 (detailing the impasse created in the

Northern District of California by the government’s effort to

require waivers similar to the one at issue here).

Moreover, the government will not dispute that the “fast-

track” plea bargain program in the Southern District of California

33

12/10/ZUU1 16:26 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o4s

has survived in the wake of Ruiz. That program has proceeded in

the same fashion, simply without the inclusion of Brady waiver

provisions in the plea agreement. And, the government cannot claim

that there has been an alarming slow down in prosecutions in the

Ninth Circuit because prosecutors are now so busy spending their

time looking for impeachment information before a defendant pleads

guilty.

To the extent that Brady waivers relieve prosecutors of their

duty to collect and evaluate potential Brady evidence, due process

concerns are demeaned. See Strickler, 527 U.S. at 280 (“the

individual prosecutor has a duty to learn of any favorable evidence

known to the others acting on the government’s behalf in this case,

including the police”). As to any claim of difficulty in assessing

such information pre-plea, Kyles counsels prosecutors to err on the

side of disclosure. 514 U.S. at 439 ("Unless, indeed, the

adversary system of prosecution is to descend to a gladiatorial

level unmitigated by any prosecutorial obligation for the sake of

truth, the government simply cannot avoid responsibility for

knowing when the suppression of evidence has come to portend such

an effect on the trial's outcome as to destroy confidence in its

result"). There is no reason to believe that the pre-plea Brady

test is any more difficult to apply than the post-trial test; the

government “cannot avoid [its] responsibility" to ensure that

guilty pleas are entered knowingly and voluntarily. Id.

34

12/10/2UUi 10:26 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oa6

The government also contends that, even if a defendant has a

right to receive Brady information before pleading guilty, that

right can be waived. Pet, at 15-16. As an initial matter, the

government appears to concede that if disclosure of Brady

information is necessary to a knowing and voluntary guilty plea,

then the right to receive such information cannot be waived in a

plea agreement. Indeed, the government does not challenge the

Ninth Circuit’s holding in this regard and instead simply relies

upon its position that the disclosure of Brady information is not

a prerequisite to a knowing and voluntary guilty plea. Jd. at 15.

Of course, respondent has shown that the disclosure of such

information is necessary to a knowing and voluntary guilty plea,

and therefore further consideration of the “waiver” issue is

unnecessary given the government’s concession, a concession that is

well taken. See McCarthy, 394 U.S. at 459 (“if a defendant's

guilty plea is not equally voluntary and knowing, it has been

obtained in violation of due process and is therefore void”); Waley

v. Johnston, 316 U.S. 101, 104 (1942) (if a guilty “plea was so

coerced as to deprive it of validity to support the conviction, the

coercion likewise deprived it of validity as a waiver of his right

to assail the conviction”).

35

12/10/2004 40:20 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @oa7

a

Nevertheless, even if this Court finds that disclosure of

Brady information is not required to ensure a knowing and voluntary

guilty plea, the right to receive such information still cannot be

waived pursuant to a plea agreement.” While the government

correctly states that the Court has recognized that many

- fundamental rights are waivable, gee Mezzanatto, 513 U.S. at 201,

it incorrectly contends that the right to receive Brady information

is indistinguishable from such waivable rights. Pet. at 16.

Instead, the right to receive Brady information is one of those

rights that “are so fundamental to the reliability of the

factfinding process that they may never be waived without

irreparably ‘discrediting the federal courts.’'” Mezzanatto, 513

U.S. at 204 (citation omitted).

Unlike the right in Mezzanatto, which was found to be waivable

pecause it involved the suppression of evidence and therefore did

” The government contends that if the right to receive

Brady information in the guilty plea context is not rooted in the

requirement of a knowing and voluntary guilty plea, then it could

only be rooted “in an expansion of the due process holding in

Bragy itself... .” Pet. at 16. For reasons explained

earlier, this contention is doubly flawed. First, the right to

receive exculpatory information in the guilty plea context does

not require an expansion of Brady, as the government readily

conceded in the district court and in the Ninth Circuit. Second,

even if the Due Process holding in Brady somehow did not apply in

the guilty plea context, this Court can create such a right

pursuant to its supervisory powers. Whether the right to receive

exculpatory information in the guilty plea context is based in

the Due Process Clause or this Court’s supervisory powers, the

following discussion of waiver is equally applicable.

36

L£/ 40/4004 40:4) FAA 0196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @o4s

not enhance the search for truth, id. at 204-05, the right to

receive Brady information involves the disclosure of material

evidence and therefore “enhances the truth-seeking function” of the

federal criminal justice system. Id. at 204 (emphasis in

original). To ensure this truth-seeking function, which is

essential to the credibility of the federal courts, our guilty plea

“system should be given a stable and constant structure, one that

cannot be varied by a court with or without the consent of the

parties... .” Jd, at 205 (quoting United States v. Olano, 507

U.S. 725, 742 (1993) (Kennedy, J., concurring)). Indeed, because

Brady does not simply bestow personal rights upon a defendant but

also imposes obligations upon prosecutors that are designed to

protect the integrity and truth-seeking purpose of the criminal

justice system as a whole, see Kyles, 514 U.S. at 439, a defendant

and a prosecutor cannot simply waive the decision’s applicability

in a plea agreement. Cf. Peretz v. United States, 501 U.S. 923,

937 (1991 (“a litigant may not waive structural protections”);

Brooklyn Savinas Bank v. O'Neil, 324 U.S. 697, 704 (1945) (private

rights “charged or -colored with the public interest” cannot be

waived where waiver will defeat public interest).

In short, the credibility of the federal courts would be

irreparably discredited by a rule which permitted the parties to

avoid structural protections set forth by this Court to ensure the

integrity of the criminal justice system as a whole. Of course,

37

12/10/2001 16:27 FAX 6196872666

the specific consequence of this end-run around these structural

protections is the unsettling reality that federal courts could

accept guilty pleas while prosecutors silently stand by knowing

that there is information pointing to innocence.”

and without citation to

Finally, in half of a sentence,

authority, the government appears to assert the position it

articulated below, a position that appears to have been otherwise

abandoned at this stage of the proceedings. Specifically, it

contends that waiver should be allowed “particularly with respect

to the subset of information relating not to substantive evidence

of guilt, but to the credibility of government witnesses.” Pet. at

16. It is not surprising that this argument is without citation to

authority and has now been relegated to half of a sentence, as the

“rejected any such distinction between

Court has definitively

Bagley, 473 U.S.

impeachment evidence and exculpatory evidence.”

at €7€. In sum, the right to receive all exculpatory information,

including impeachment information, cannot be waived in a plea

agreement.

= Not only is a non-waiver rule necessary to maintain the

amtegrity of the federal courts and “some minimum of civilized

procedure|,)” Mezzanatto, 513 U.S. at 204 (quoting Ynited States

v. Josefik, 753 F.2d 585, 588 (7th Cir. 1985)), but it is also

required under other legal doctrines, such as contract and

property law. See Plea Bargain Waivers, 68 Fordham L. Rev. at

2960-85 (discussing the doctrines of unconstitutional conditions,

contract, property, and procedural due process in concluding that

Brady rights cannot be waived).

38

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @os49

NS 2

12/10/200) 16:27 FAX 6196872666

——

FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfull ubmitted,

Dated: December 7, 2001 s ; CHEK

BENJAMIN L. COLEMAN

Federal Defenders of San Diego,

225 Broadway, Suite 900

San Diego, California 92101

Telephone (619) 234-8467

39

Inc.

12/10/2001 16:27 FAX 6196872666 FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF SAN @os1

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 01-595

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

PETITIONER,

-vs -

ANGELA RUIZ,

RESPONDENT.

PROOF OF SERVICE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA )

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO sal

ANGELICA HERNANDEZ, being first duly sworn, deposes and says:

That pursuant to Rule 29.4(a) of this Court he served the within

Brief in Opposition to the United States’ Petition for Writ of

Certiorari on the counsel for Petitioner by enclosing a copy

thereof in an envelope, First Class Postage Prepaid, addressed to

Theodore Olsen, Solicitor General of the United States, ATTN:

irving Gornstein, Assistant to the Solicitor General, Department of

Justice Washington, D.C. 20530-0001; and included an original and

ten (10) copies to Hon. William K. Suter, Clerk United States

Supreme Court, 1 First Street, NE Washington, D.C. 20530 and

Gepositing same in the United States mails at San Diego, California

Lng. Manas,

ANGELICA HERNANDEZ, Atfiant

on December 7, 2001.

Subscribed and Sworn to before me

this 7th day of December, 2001.

Notary Public in and for 4aid

County and State.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.