Amicus Curiae Brief — Adams v. Florida Power Corp.

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

WANDA ADAMS, LEO L. FLOYD, et al,

Petitioners,

Vv.

FLORIDA POWER CORPORATION and

FLORIDA PROGRESS CORPORATION,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari To The

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF AARP,

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY PROFESSORS

(AAUP), AMERICAN JEWISH CONGRESS, NATIONAL

ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF COLORED

PEOPLE (NAACP), NATIONAL COUNCIL OF LA RAZA,

NATIONAL PARTNERSHIP FOR WOMEN & FAMILIES

AND THE NATIONAL WOMEN’S LAW CENTER

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

LAURIE A. MCCANN

Counsel of Record

DANIEL B. KOHRMAN

THOMAS W. OSBORNE

AARP FOUNDATION LITIGATION

MELVIN RADOWITZ

AARP

601 E Street, NW

Washington, DC 20049

(202) 434-2060

Counsel for Amici Curiae

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. THE COURT HAS CONSTRUED

LANGUAGE IN TITLE VII THAT IS

VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT IN

THE ADEA AS THE SOURCE OF THE

DISPARATE IMPACT THEORY

A. Since the ADEA and Title VII Share

Common Purposes and Identical

Substantive Provisions, They

Should be Interpreted Similarly

. The ADEA’s Prohibition of Decisions

“Because of Such Individual’s Age”

Condemns Unintentional As Well

As Intentional Age Discrimination

. The Civil Rights Act of 1991 Did Not

Affect the Viability of Disparate Impact

THE ADEA’S LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

DEMONSTRATES CONGRESS’ INTENT

TO REDRESS ALL FORMS OF

“ARBITRARY” AGE BIAS INCLUDING

NEUTRAL POLICIES AND PRACTICES

WITH A DISPARATE IMPACT ON

A. The ADEA’s History Demonstrates

Congress’ Intent to Ban All “Arbitrary”

Age Discrimination, Including Age-Neutral

Policies and Practices that Fall More

Harshly on Older Workers and Do Not Meet

Genuine Employer Needs ..............-.- 10

1. The Wirtz Report Identified Neutral

Employment Standards as a Form of

Arbitary Discrimination ................-- 12

2. Regulations and Advisory Opinions Reaffirm

That Age-Neutral, Non-Job-Related Policies

and Practices With Adverse Impacts on

Older Workers May Violate the ADEA ...... 14

B. The Eleventh Circuit Erred in Concluding that

the Legislative History of the ADEA

Precludes Reliance on the Disparate

Impact Approach to Proving Age

Il THE COURT HAS RECOGNIZED THAT

DISPARATE IMPACT IS MORE EFFECTIVE

THAN DISPARATE TREATMENT IN

POLICING WHAT THE COURT CONSIDERS

TO BE THE “ESSENCE” OF AGE

ERE osc cndececedSecek eens 20

A. Stereotyping Is Often Unintentional ......... 23

© for oi the Most Effective Tool

for sheen ion Based on

Sééledhay oyedseees Wons baueas 25

COGAN. 6 ncn iv'nns datccduuctsehasubenes 29

ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Pages

Adams v. Florida Power Corp.,

255 F.3d 1322 (1ith Cir. 2001) .............. passim

Albermarle v. Moody,

cade ecddnesacehdoooecees 25, 30

Alexander v. Choate,

ede cca secesebecesoees 20

Arnold v. U.S. Postal Serv.,

SEED BUD cccccccccccccccccces 5

Bissette v. Colonial Mortgage Corp.,

SPF ee BP a GE BOUED cicccccccccccccccs 20

Brecht v. Abrahamson,

ee Cee Cee k ec ceeseeetecoee ss )

Camacho v. Sears Roebuck,

PR EES BED ccccccccccocccccces 9

Chevron USA v. Natural Resources Defense Council,

EE 16

Connecticut v. Teal,

ince ee nestcecascoececes 4, 26

DiBiase v. SmithKline Beecham or.

48 F.3d 719 (3d) cert. denied, 516 U.S. 916 (1995) ... 28

Dilla v. West,

4F. Sap. 28 1130 (MLD. Ala. 1998), aff'd per curiam,

cE Ee 22

Dothard v. Rawlinson,

EEE EES 28

iv

EEOC v. Francis W. Parker School,

41 F.3d 1073 (7th Cir. 1994), cert. denied,

ES TS 21, 23, 26

EEOC v. Governor Mifflin Sch. Dist.,

623 F. Supp. 734 (D.C. Pa. 1985) ................0. 5

EEOC v. Wyoming,

460 U.S. 226 (1983) -husbipenéebdbavedes 10, 11, 21

Ellis v. United Airlines, Inc.

73 F.3d 999 (10th Cir.)

cert. denied, 517 U.S. 1245 (1996) ....... 6, 7, 8, 19, 21

FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Co.,

— . & RRR eer 16

General Electric Co. v. Gilbert,

RRR eee, er 4

Girouard v. United States,

DP idnncsccutabensbnohedbowes an 4

Greenwood Trust Co. v. Commonwealth of Mass.,

971 F.2d 818 (1st Cir. 1992),

cert. denied, 506 U.S. 1052 (1993) .............045. 5

Griggs v. Duke Power Co.,

Tr ree 4, 11, 19, 26, 30

Hazen Paper Co. v. Biggins,

Pee SONNE SeSbé0écccccdccses 10, 20, 21, 22

Ingersoll-Rand v. McClendon,

Ps EES cobocccaveccebedccnctstosuds 5

In re: Employment Discrimination Litigation

ainst the State of Alabama,

Pee SUS URSEEE EUEED sececewctccscccves 25

Vv

INS v. St. Cyr,

, 5 rey Ser ere ree 16

International Board of Teamsters v. United States,

Ps ncadecodciodsénesosendecevens 25

Johnson v. Combs,

SORE SOUND kes cccccesccctccescces 6

Johnson v. Santa Clara Transp. Agency,

nn cccnsbeweneneéédacesedacns 9

Lorillard v. Pons,

IE ins eine caudebeueivencends 5

McKennon v. Nashville Banner Pub. Co.,

Kk Se 2, 6, 29, 30

Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc.,

KE eee 5

Mullin v. Raytheon, Co.,

164 F.3d 696 (1st Cir.) cert. denied,

EE pel ca dedcekechaeseencéoc 6, 21

NLRB v. Plasterers’ Local Union No 79,

SEED gtcncuuéteurcessvcdesecsccece 9

Northcross v. M is Bd. of Educ.,

SERED saddécdebetonscossescececss 5,6

O'Connor v. Consolidated Coin Caterers Corp.,

Pt Pn <4 .csbechuheseseonseeseuses 2

Oscar Mayer & Co. v. Evans,

ED -cctnncwceedtceeccceueessed 5, 6

Oubre v. Entergy Operations, Inc.,

ED cna ntdnédeacoceoscoseeseees 2

Price Waterhouse v. H.

opkins,

GP PEED, Gdecccescccoccenccecccess

Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Prods. Inc.,

SUD SPE Sade resdccccocccccccccess

Samuels v. Dist. of Columbia,

650 F. Supp. 482 (D.D.C. 1986) ................

Schneidewind v. ANR Pipeline Co.,

GPO ENTEED ce escnsscoccvccccessesees

Wards Cove Packing Co. v. Atonio,

SPEED Socctccceccusessceccceses

Watson v. Fort Worth Bank & Trust,

Se SET EEE Sancociccesincécoccespece

STATUTES AND LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA),

- SSSSSS™

Q

14% Act of 1991,

g

-

:

8

&

eB

~”

=

3

3

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

Ge Gs BD wo cc cccdssdcvccosceses

Age Discrimination in Employment, 1967: .

Hearings on S. 830 & S: 788 Before the Subcomm.

On Labor of the Senate Comm. On Labor and

Pub. Welfare, 90th Cong. (1967) ...............

vil

ee nen eg Le,

Before the Subcomm. on Retirement Income and

House Select Comm. on Aging,

GE SUE GOED eeccccccccccccccccesce 17

Reorg. Plan No. 1 of 1978, 92 Stat. 3781,

43 Fed. Reg. 19807 (May 9, 1979) ................ 16 —

U.S. Dep’t of Labor, The Older Worker:

Age Discrimination in Employment, Report of the

of Labor Under Section 715 of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964 (1965) ............... passim

REGULATIONS AND ADVISORY OPINIONS

EE echt ih06eceSeeu set eeedeousbse 16

EE, hg a vcuceccvetdasddcocossese 16

PED sv occccpsestceccecececcese 15

ED So ceocccdcedtcctecesceese 15

EE nosdeecedveeseecdéacendeces 16

EE oc do ndnécabatccdecceseece 14

Charles T. Lindquist, Administrator, Wage and Hour

and Public Contracts Divisions, U.S. Dep’t of Labor,

ADEA Opinion Letter (August 1, 1968) ............ 17

Ben P. Robertson, Deputy Administrator, Wage and Hour

and Public Contracts Divisions, U.S. Dep’t. of Labor,

ADEA Opinion Letter (October 9, 1968) ........... 17

MISCELLANEOUS

Roberta Sue Alexander, “Comment: The Future of

Disparate Analysis for Age Discrimination in a

Post-Hazen World,” 25 DAYTON L. REV. 75 (1999) .. 27

Bruce J. Avolio & Gerald V. Barrett, “Effects of

Stereotyping in a Simulated Interview,”

2 CHOLOGY AND AGING, March 1987 ........... 28

Marc Bendick, Jr., Lauren E. Brown, & Kennington Wall,

“No Foot in the Door: An Experimental Study

of oyment Discrimination Against

Older Workers,” 10(4) JOURNAL OF AGING

nn de vi ncaueccaeecees 28

Marc Bendick, Jr., Charles W. Jackson, & J. Horacio Romero,

Pay ere a en Discrimination Against Older Workers:

An Experimental Study of Hiring Practices,” 8

(4) JOURNAL OF AGING & SOCIAL POLICY 25 (1996) .. 28

Robert N. Butler, Rye Ageism: The Cross-Cutting

Intervention,” 503 ANNALS 138 (1989) ........ 29

Robert N. Butler, WHY SURVIVE?:

BEING OLD IN AMERICA (1975) ...........045- 23, 24

Howard Eglit, “The Discrimination in Employment

Act’s Forgotten ive Defense,” 66 BOSTON

Fe TTT TTT TTT TTT ee 24

Keith R. Fentonmiller, “Continuing Validity of

Raymond F. Gregory, AGE DISCRIMINATION IN THE

AMERICAN WORKPLACE: OLD AT A YOUNG

PEED cn bdbbb ov ceeeksussseeedeiacescaeces 27

Stan Hinden, Forced to Retire Before You're Ready

The Merge-and-Downsize Era’s Layoffs Hit Older

Workers Especially Hard,

WE SE BOE “nc cceponidedevcccences 29

Steven J. Kamenshine, “The Cost of Older Workers,

Disparate Impact, and the Age Discrimination in

loyment Act,

42 PLA. L. REV. 229 (1990) ............. 21, 22, 23, 26

ix

Charles R. Lawrence, Ill, “Ego, and Equal Protection:

Reck With Unconscious Racism,”

RRR 25, 27

J. Levin and W.C. Levin,

AGEISM: PREJUDICE AND DISCRIMINATION AGAINST

is on dade ce wecceal ce 27, 28

William C. Levin, “Age Stereotyping,”

10(1) RESEARCH ON AGING 134 (March ar 28

Becca R. Levy, “Eradication of Ageism Requires

Addressing the Enemy Within, 41

THE GERONTOLOGIST 578 (Oct. 2001) ....... 24, 25, 26

Robert Manor & T. Shawn Taylor, Age-Bias Complaints

Up Sharply Older Workers’ Higher Salaries are

Big Targets for Employers,

Chicago Tri ME ¢censeueectionceess 29

David Benjamin imer, “Negligent Discrimination,”

141 U. PENN L. CO TTT Te 27

Erdman B. Palmore, Ageism:

Negative and Positive (1999) .................... 25

Charles W. Perdue & Michael B. Gurtman,

“Evidence for the Automaticity of Ageism,”

26 JOURNAL OF EXPERIMENTAL SOCIAL

EY CE wee kunchbotonececess 25, 26

Deborah L. Rhode, “The ‘No-Problem’ Problem:

Feminist Challenges and Cultural Change,”

i Ce oc kecvesenedescoesens 25

x

Benson Rosen & Thomas H. Jerdee, “The Nature of

Job-Related Age S

59 JOURNAL OF APPLIED PSYCHOLOGY 511 (1976) ... 28

Benson Rosen & Thomas H. Jerdee, “Influence of

Age Stereotypes on Managerial Decisions,”

61 JOURNAL OF APPLIED PSYCHOLOGY 428 (1976) ... 28

No. 01-584

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

WANDA ADAMS, LEO L. FLOYD, et al.,

Petitioners,

v.

FLORIDA POWER CORPORATION and,

FLORIDA PROGRESS CORPORATION

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari To The

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF AARP

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY PROFESSORS

(AAUP), AMERICAN JEWISH CONGRESS, NATIONAL

ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF COLORED

PEOPLE (NAACP), NATIONAL COUNCIL OF LA RAZA,

NATIONAL PARTNERSHIP FOR WOMEN & FAMILIES,

AND THE NATIONAL WOMEN’S LAW CENTER

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE”

AARP is a nonprofit membership organization of more than

35 million people age 50 or older dedicated to addressing the

needs and interests of older Americans. One of AARP’s

Y The consents of the parties have been filed with the Clerk of the Court.

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, Amici Curiae state that no counsel

for any party authored this brief in whole or in part and that no party or

entity other than amici curiae, its members, or counsel made a monetary

contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

2

primary objectives is to achieve dignity and equality in the

work place through positive attitudes, practices, and policies

regarding work and retirement. Through its research,

publications, and training programs, AARP seeks to eliminate

ageist stereotypes and their arbitrary discriminatory effects,

encourage employers to hire and to retain older workers, and

help older workers overcome the obstacles they encounter

because of age. AARP supports the rights of older workers and

the public policies designed to protect those rights and strives

to preserve the legal means to enforce them.

This case is of utmost importance to AARP’s members.

More than 40 percent of AARP’s members remain active in the

work force. Most ——— by the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act (ADEA), 29 U.S.C. §§ 621-633. The

vigorous enforcement of the ADEA is of paramount importance

for the millions of older workers who rely on the Act to deter

and remedy invidious age bias in the work place. Since 1985,

as part of its advocacy efforts, AARP has more than 200

amicus curiae briefs in this Court and in the federal district and

appellate courts regarding the proper interpretation and

application of the ADEA. In this Court, AARP has participated

as amicus curiae in, among others, the cases «f Reeves v.

Sanderson Plumbing Prods. Inc., 530 U.S. 133 (' 300); Oubre

v. Entergy Operations, Inc., 522 U.S. 422 (1998), O’Connor v.

Consolidated Coin Caterers Corp., 517 U.S. 308 (1996); and

McKennon v. Nashville Banner Pub. Co., 513 U.S. 352 (1995).

This brief is also submitted on behalf of the American

Association of University Professors (AAUP), the American

Jewish Congress, the National Council of La Raza, the National

Association For the Advancement of Colored People

(NAACP), the National Partnership for Women & Families,

and the National Women’s Law Center, all of which support

the rights of older workers to be free from employment

discrimination, whether on grounds of race, gender, national

origin, religion, or age. The statements of interest of these

amici are included in the appendix to this brief.

Denying the disparate impact method of proving age

discrimination to its victims will thwart the intent of Congress,

insulate from challenge discriminating conduct which Congress

has deemed devastating to individuals, society, and the national

economy, and undermine the core civil rights principle that

workers should be judged based on their abilities rather than

characteristics unrelated to their participation in the work force,

such as age. Since the uences of discrimination are

equally devastating regardless of the employer’s motivation or

the status of the victim, older workers must be

afforded the same rights and avenues for redress as those

enjoyed by victims of other forms of employment

discrimination.

Amici urge the Court to reject suggestions that age

discrimination in the work place is so fundamentally different

from other forms of employment discrimination that it can be

adequately addressed by the disparate treatment theory alone.

Holding that the ADEA encompasses both disparate treatment

and disparate impact claims would be in complete harmony

with the ADEA’s congressional purpose as well as its

legislative roots.

For these reasons, Amici Curiae respectfully submit this

brief in support of the Petitioners.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In order to fully implement the will of Congress expressed

in the ADEA, older workers must have the right to pursue both

disparate treatment and impact claims. While the

court below concluded that Congress limited ADEA claimants

to the disparate treatment theory of proof, there is no persuasive

evidence of such limits in either the text or legislative history

of the ADEA. In light of the fact that this Court did not even

articulate the disparate impact theory until four years after the

enactment of the ADEA. the unavailability of the disparate

method of proving age discrimination cannot be based

on Congress’ failure to mention “ impact” in either the

text or legislative history of the AD

Those courts that have restricted ADEA plaintiffs to the

disparate treatment theory of proof have attributed to Congress

4

an intent to differentiate between ADEA claimants and Title

VII claimants th _ is found nowhere in either statute. They

have misapplied conventional tools of statutory construction.

They have selectively misread the ADEA’s legislative history,

which, contrary to their conclusions, contains strong affirmative

support for the disparate impact theory. And, they have failed

to recognize how the function and purpose of the disparate

impact theory, as articulated by this Court, is perfectly suited to

policing what the Court has stated it considers to be the

“essence” of age discrimination. These failures bolstered the

erroneous conclusion that Congress did not intend the disparate

impact theory to apply to the ADEA -- a result which Congress

never contemplated.

I. THE COURT HAS CONSTRUED LANGUAGE IN

TITLE Vl THAT IS VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL TO

THAT IN THE ADEA AS THE SOURCE OF THE

DISPARATE IMPACT THEORY.

Section (4)(a)(2) of the ADEA provides that “i]t shall be

unlawful for an employer . . . to limit, segregate, or classify his

employees in any way which would deprive or tend to deprive

any individual of employment opportunities or otherwise

adversely affect his status as an employee, because of such

individual’s age.” 29 U.S.C. § 623(a)(2). This language is the

mirror image of § 703(a)(2) of Title VII, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e(2)(a): the only difference being that the ADEA

substitutes the word “age” for the words "race, color, religion,

sex, or national origin.” In Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401

U.S. 424, 426 n.1 (1971), the Court cited § 703(a)(2) as the

statutory foundation for its decision that Title VII “proscribes

not only overt discrimination but also practices that are fair in

form, but discriminatory in operation . . . .” 401 U.S. at 431.

The Court has subsequently confirmed that the “adversely

affect” language, that is identical to both Title VII and the

ADEA, is the source of the disparate i doctrine. See

Connecticut v. Teal, 457 U.S. 440, (1982); General

Electric Co. v. Gilbert, 429 U.S. 125, 137 (1976).

In Griggs, the Court declared: “The objective of Congress

in the enactment of Title VII is plain from the language of the

5

statute.” 401 U.S. at 429 (emphasis added). Accordingly, “[i]f

the existence of the disparate impact approach is apparent from

the ‘plain’ language of Title VII, it must also be apparent from

the plain language of [the] ADEA.” EEOC v. Governor Mifflin

Sch. Dist., 623 F. Supp. 734, 741 (D.C. Pa. 1985).

A. Since the ADEA and Title VII Share Common

and Identical Substantive Provisions, They

Should be Interpreted Similarly.

“The similarity in language [between § 623(a)(2) of the

ADEA and § 703(a)(2) of Title VII} . . . is, of course, a strong

indication that the two statutes should be in pari

passu.” Northcross v. Memphis Bd. of Educ., 412 U.S. 427,

428 (1973). See Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504

U.S. 374, 384 (1992); Ingersoll-Rand v. McClendon, 498 U.S.

133, 144-45 (1990); Oscar Mayer & Co. v. Evans, 441 U.S.

750, 756 (1979); Greenwood Trust Co. v. Commonwealth of

Mass., 971 F.2d 818, 827 (1st Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 506 U.S.

_1052 (1993) ("It is, after all, a general rule that when Congress

borrows language from one statute and incorporates it into a

second statute, the language of the two acts should be

interpreted the same way."). The doctrine of in pari materia is

especially appropriate for the ADEA and Title VII given that

the substantive prohibitions of the ADEA “were derived in

haec verba from Title VIL” Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575,

584 (1978). See also Arnold v. U.S. Postal Serv., 863 F.2d 994,

1003 (D.C. Cir. 1998) (Garth, J., dissenting) (“That the

ADEA’s coverage and provisions are substantially similar to

the provisions of Title VII is no accident. The similarity

between these two statutes flows from the fact that the ADEA

was modeled after Title VII, relying on much of Title VII's

actual language for its content.”’).

Y — One textual difference between the ADEA and Title VII that courts

have relied on to deny the disparate impact theory to age discrimination

victims is § 623(f)(1) of the ADEA. This provision provides that employers

may make decisions based upon “reasonable factors other than age.” The

provision is fully consonant with the disparate impact method of proving

(continued...)

6

The conclusion that identical language in the ADEA and

Title VII was intended to prohibit the same forms of

discrimination is bolstered by the fact that in addition to

“shar[ing] common substantive features,” the ADEA and Title

VII share “a common purpose: ‘the elimination of

discrimination in the workplace.’” McKennon v. Nashville

Banner Pub. Co., 513 U.S. 352, 358 (1995) quoting Oscar

Mayer & Co. v. Evans, 441 U.S. 750, 756 (1979). In

Northcross v. Memphis Bd. of Educ., 412 U.S. at 428, the Court

reasoned that interpreting statutes with similar language pari

passu is particularly ~ when “the two provisions

share acommon raison d'etre.

F.2d 84, 86 (Sth Cir. 1972)).

B. The ADEA’s Prohibition of Decisions “Because of

Such Individual’s Age” Condemns Unintentional As

Well As Intentional Age Discrimination.

The ADEA’s substantive prohibitions, which were based

directly on those in Title VII, state in pertinent part, that it is

unlawful for an employer “to fail or refuse to hire or to

discharge any individual or otherwise discriminate against any

individual . . . because of such individual’s age.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 623(a)(1). In rejecting disparate impact analysis under the

ADEA, the Tenth Circuit in Ellis v. United Airlines, Inc.,

without citing any authority, declared that “[t]he most obvious

reading of the clause, ‘because of such individual’s age,’ is that

it prohibits an employer from intentionally treating someone

differently based on his or her age.” 73 F.3d 999, 1007 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, 517 U.S. 1245 (1996). See also Mullin v.

Raytheon, Co., 164 F.3d 696, 700 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 528

U.S. 811 (1999) (“A commonsense reading of [‘because of

such individual’s age’] strongly suggests that the statute

includes a requirement of intentional discrimination.”).

2 (...continued)

age discrimination and in fact, mirrors disparate impact analysis. Amici

fully agree with the arguments in the National Employment Lawyers

Association’s (NELA) amicus curiae brief that the RFOA provision

supports a claim of disparate impact under the ADEA.

” (citing Johnson v. Combs, 471

7

The problem with the Tenth Circuit’s “obvious reading,” and

the First Circuit’s “commonsense reading” of the statute,

however, is that they are in direct conflict with this Court’s

construction of the identical language contained in Title VIL,

which So lo age —— i ion “because of” a

istic. upreme Court has repeated]

ound the phrase ‘because of to permit disparate impact

analysis, reasoning that the phrase codifies the requirement of

a causal connection between the protected trait and the

challenged employment ice.” Keith R. Fentonmiller, “The

Continuing Validity of Di Impact Analysis for Federal

cr ee Discrimination Claims, 47 AM. U. L. REv. 1071,

1121 (1998). See, e.g., Wards Cove Packing Co. v. Atonio, 490

US. 642, 660 (1989) (“The persuasion burden [under disparate

impact analysis] must remain with the plaintiff, for it is he who

mete se lb pe a individual’s race, color,

etc.],” th was denied a desired employment opportunity.’)

(emphasis added) (quoting 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)).” “The

causal connection is required in every discrimination case, no

matter what the method of proof.” Fentonmiller, at 1121.

C. The Civil ts Act of 1991 Did Not Affect the

= Impact Claims Under the

In Ellis v. United Airlines, Inc., one of the cases the court

below found “persuasive,” Adams v. Florida Power Corp., 255

¥ — Accord Price Waterhouse v. Hopkins, 490 U.S. 228, 241-42 (1989)

(plurality opinion) (interpreting words “because of” contained in Title VII's _

prohibition against sex discrimination to encompass “indirect stumbling

block{s} to employment opportunities.” such as in disparate impact cases

challenging facially-neutral tests or qualifications); Watson v. Fort Worth

Bank & Trust, 487 U.S. 977, 990-92 (1988) (plurality opinion) (holding that

“an employer’s undisciplined system of subjective decision making has

precisely the same effects as a system pervaded by impermissible

intentional discrimination,” because “{ijn both circumstances, the

employer’ s practices may be said to adversely affect [an individual’s| status

as an employee, because of such individual’ s [protected class]}” (quoting 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(2)) (emphasis added).

F.3d 1322, 1326 (11th Cir. 2001), the Tenth Circuit concluded

that in failing to add a parallel provision to the ADEA when it

enacted the Civil Rights Act of 1991 (CRA), Congress

“signal[ed] its intent not to provide for a di a

of action under the ADEA.” 73 F.3d at 1 The added

a provision to Title VII to define the burden of proof in a

disparate impact case. Congress’ failure to codify disparate

impact analysis in the ADEA when it enacted the CRA does

not, however, evince an intent to limit the doctrine to Title VIL.

There is si no evidence that the issue was ever considered.

As fully explained in Fentonmiller, 47 AM. U. L. REV. at 1126-

28, arguments to the contrary do not bear scrutiny in logic and

are not supported by the legislative history of the CRA.

Prior to the enactment of the CRA, Title VII did not mention

disparate impact. And as Fentonmiller points out:

even as amended, Title VI fails to state explicitly

unjustified disparate is unlawful; the CRA

did not alter the prohibitory section

703(a) of Title VIL . . . Thus, any ion of

the disparate impact theory under itle VII still -

must invoke the Supreme Court’s long-standing

construction of section 703(a) as prohibiting

practices that are fair in form, but discriminatory in

operation.

47 Am. U. L. Rev. at 1128.

If there is any inference to be drawn from Congress’ actions

or inactions in 1991, it is that the CRA’s failure to define

disparate impact and explicitly make it an unlawful

Es paate CUE © Sine Sees

ea ne ibitory language which has been in the statute since

1964. Id. As previously explained, that language prohibits

discrimination, whether proved through disparate treatment or

Y Pub. L. No. 102-166, 105 Stat. 1071 (1991).

9

disparate impact analysis. Since the absence of the words

“disparate impact” in Title VII prior to 1991 did not make

disparate impact analysis any less legitimate under Title VII,

the same should be true for the ADEA after 1991.

islative restraint another ible

ot pea plausible explanation

under the ADEA. Specifically, “[t}he 1991 amendments

adoption of a controlling rule of law.” NLRB v. Plasterers’

Local Union No 79, 404 U.S. 116, 129-30 (1971) quoting

Girouard v. United States, 328 U.S. 61, 69 (1946); Brecht v.

Abrahamson, 507 U.S. 619, 632 (1993), ing Schneidewind

v. ANR Pipeline Co., 485 U.S. 293, (1988) (“This Court

is reluctant to draw inferences from Congress’ failure

Il THE ADEA’S LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

DEMONSTRATES CONGRESS’ INTENT TO

REDRESS ALL FORMS OF “ARBITRARY” AGE

BIAS, INCLUDING NEUTRAL POLICIES AND

PRACTICES WITH A DISPARATE IMPACT ON

OLDER WORKERS.

m.. v1 the strong textual similarity between the ADEA and

i courts “disparate impact” as a valid

theory under the have looked to its legislative history,

and in particular, to a Report by U.S. Labor Secretary W.

10

Willard Wirtz,” on which Congress drew heavily in the

ADEA. See, e.g., Adams v. Florida Power Corp., 255 F.3d

at 1325; see also Respondent's Brief in Opp. at 14 (asserting

importance of Wirtz Report). Accord Hazen Paper Co. v.

Biggins, 507 U.S. 604, 610 (1993).

Hazen Paper’ s analysis of legislative history concerning the

disparate impact issue was necessarily on te oe

treatment claim was before the Court. See 507 U.S.

at 610. However, no such explanation exists for the

analyses of the ADEA’s ive history in Adams and other

appellate decisions addressing the availability of the

disparate impact theory. A fresh analysis by this Court is now

warranted. Its conclusions should be harmonized with the

diverse and powerful evidence disparate impact

claims under the ADEA, including ’ determination to

outlaw all age discrimination shown to be “arbitrary,” whether

in its intent or its effects.

A. The ADEA’s History Demonstrates Congress’

Intent to Ban All “Arbitrary” Age Discrimination,

Including Age-Neutral Policies and Practices that

Fall More Harshly on Older Workers and Do Not

Meet Genuine Employer Needs.

In EEOC v. Wyoming, the Court recounted the ADEA’ early

legislative history, inckoding uncensummated effects to “ban

discrimination on the basis of age as well as race, color,

religion, sex, and national origin” in Title VII of the 1964 Civil

¥ US. Dep’t of Labor, The Older Worker: Age Discrimination in

Employment, Report of the Secretary of Labor Under Section 715 of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964 (1965) (hereinafter “Wirtz Report”), reprinted in

Joint Appendix (“JA”) at 350-416. The Wirtz Report was compiled after

Congress directed the Secretary to “make a full and complete study of the

factors which might tend to result in discrimination in employment because

of age and the consequences of such discrimination on the economy and

individuals affected,” in Section 715 of the 1964 Civil Rights Act. Pub. L.

No. 88-352, 78 Stat. 241, 265 (1964).

11

Rights Act. 460 U.S. 226, 229, 230-32 (1983).% The Wirtz

Report, the princi t establishing Con a

in ar id. at 229-231, ody om

The Wirtz Report’s “findings were confirmed throughout the

extensive factfinding undertaken by the Executive Branch and

ye or = Th mn ager = Nepean: 9 = Congress

directed the Secretary “to submit specific legislative

for prohibiting age discrimination”; ty yen em

President Johnson and culminated in the 1967 law enacted by

. Id. at 230-32. For instance, the ADEA’s preamble,

29 U.S.C. § 621(a), summarizes in the Wirtz

on “individual and social costs of age di ion.” Id. at

231. Likewise, the ADEA’s text paraphrases strategi

endorsed in the : “to promote employment of der

persons based on their ability rather than age; to prohibit

arbitrary age discrimination in cushonunt ti [and] to srisine

eustegnn and Guten Gad waeefinedia

from the impact of age on employment.” C. § 6210)

The ADEA’s focus on banning “ a a

anticipates the articulation in Griggs of “disparate impact

S mamed for Ge “temarel of eotielel aa, “as

unnecessary barriers to employment when the barriers operate

invidiously to discriminate on the basis of racial or other

Ey classification.” 401 U.S. at 431 (

) pe me Be ee bree ori with ~—-

Congress’ directive to the Secretary g a report on age

bias: “. . . The Secretary of Labor make a report to the

Congress . . containing the results of such study and shall

include in such report such recommendations for legislation to

prevent arbitrary discrimination in employment because of age

as he determines advisable.” JA 354. (emphasis added).

© Efforts at the federal level “date back at least to the 1950s,” Id. at 229

and n.2. In 1903 Colorado became the first state to adopt an age

discrimination law applicable to employment; by 1965 twenty states and

Puerto Rico had such laws. JA 374-75.

12

In the Wirtz Report “arbitrary discrimination” is identified

as the “kind [of bias] which might be dealt with by a statute

a ge ge get al

also described “arbitrary

discrimination” as the conduct most comparable to > gry

discrimination banned by the 1964 Civil Rights Act

Specifically, “arbitrary discrimination” was defined as the

“non-employment” or ion” of older workers “because of

ions about the e of age on their ability to do a job

when there is in fact no basis for these assumptions.” Id. 355

(emphasis in ori ). The Report discussed at length findings

of a special of express — i.e., intentional — age limits in

employment.” However, the Report also condemned employer

conduct with the same result — lesser opportunity for older

workers — but involving unintentional discrimination.

1. The Wirtz Report Identified Neutral Employment

Standards as a Form of Arbitary Discrimination.

Wirtz pinpointed the most serious danger to

employment of older workers as “advancing science” and

“changing ~ he ee These, he explained, lead loyers

ecto cheno job requirements difficult for older w to

ver, such criteria may be unrelated to actual job

needs. JA 359-60. Thus, the Report described as unjust one of

the precise job criteria held unlawful six years later in Griggs

on a theory of disparate impact: a high school graduation

requirement for new employees, unjustified in terms of

applicants’ ability to do the job, and falling more harshly on

members of a protected group, some of whom were

by virtue of experience, but few of whom graduated high

school. Id 359.

Y The study looked at 500 firms in five cities in those states without age

bias statutes in order to assess “the most obvious,” but not the only serious

kind of age discrimination in employment: “employer policies of not hiring

people over a certain age, without consideration of a particular applicant's

individual qualifications.” JA 364-65.

13

The logic of Wirtz’ concern is clear: in a U.S. mith = ‘

where educational attainment was (and still is) growing

—— workers, oe constants oth tik

Secretary therefore concluded, “[a}ny eu

ae A based on educational attainment “will obviously

work against the employment of many workers — unfairly, if

despite his limited schooling, an older worker’s years of

experience have given him the relevant equivalent

a JA 359. In similar fashion, the Wirtz

effects of “aptitude and other entrance tests” on older

workers, concluding:

there is no evidence that older workers’

expenences ae Siieeat Bem these of te

By Rg ety ree

by recency of education and testing experience.

Id. 387. Secretary Wirtz reasoned that some jobs require

workers with “better” or more “recent” education, but others do

not. For instance, “average ormance of older workers

compares most favorably in office jobs, where productivity ...

rose with age.” Id. 388.

Even if Secretary Wirtz in 1965 did not identify the

“disparate impact” method of proof that this Court

as a means to combat “arbitrary discrimination” ip 1971, his

Report clearly acknowledged that age-neutral job criteria could

produce “arbitrary discrimination” against older workers even

though such criteria might be founded simply on faith in

““progress,’” JA 358-59, rather than age-based animus. By

describing such age-neutral bias as “arbitrary,” the

clearly supported it being banned in what became the AD

The Wirtz Report also specifically found evidence of

ee ee in still other types of employment

involving unintentional bias against older

Restrict te Employment of t of Older —— “tA

389, th the Report stated concern about “arbitrary”

14

“[t}he practice o izing personnel g policy

arbitrary rules which ignore individual differences is itself a

factor that deprives companies of talent and qualified workers

of opportunity.” Jd. Similarly, the Report observed with regard

to employer benefit plans that:

The extent to which the range of pension-plan

induced limitations on employment can be

considered to constitute arbitrary disc=mination is

not a simple matter, particularly in light of the

great variations in plan provisions and employer

practice. Case-by-case examination is necessary to

separate reasonable from unreasonable practice.

Id. 397.

2. Regulations and Advisory Opinions Reaffirm

That Age-Neutral, Non-Job-Related Policies and

Practices With Adverse Impacts on Older

Workers May Violate the ADEA.

Secretary Wirtz took advantage of several ities to

provide guidance for interpreting the ADEA. Following the

ADEA’s enactment, the Secretary supervised issuance of two

sets of materials highly relevant to interpretation of the new

law. First, the Dep: t of Labor promulgated interpretative

regulations, see 29 C.F.R. Part 860 (1968), within da after the

ADEA went into effect. Second, in the months following the

opinion letters. Both sources stron language in

the Report to the effect that the was intended to ban

age-neutral, non-job-related, employment practices with

adverse disparate impact on older w .

The regulations required, inter alia, with regard to physical

requirements: (a) that age-neutral fitness standards be

“reasonably necessary for the specific work to be performed”;

(b) that a “differentiation based on a physical examination, but

not one based on age” was “reasonable” only for positions

which “necessitate” stringent-physical requirements; and (c)

15

that pre-employment physical examinations distinguish

between the physical demands of various jobs.” In addition,

the regulations provided that age-neutral employment

evaluation criteria like quantity of output, quality of production,

or\educational level had to have “a valid relationship to job

requirements.” 29 C.F.R. § 860.103(f)(1)-(2).”

The regulations also clarified an important aspect of the

~ Wirtz Report. In the Secretary’s discussion of express age

limits, he noted that

[a] significant proportion [are] arbitrary in the

sense that they have been established without any

determination of their actual relevance to job

requirements, and are defended on grounds

apparently different from their actual explanation.

JA 368. The Report enumerated nine such employer

“defenses” of age limits, eight of which (other than “Desired

age balance in the work force”) have no direct connection to

age. Id. 369. Thus, the regulations confirm, as suggested in the

Report, that even after the enactment of the ADEA, most age

% —__ These provisions, 29 CFR § 860.103(f)(1)-(2), “were entirely

consistent with Secretary Wirtz’s findings three years earlier that physical

requirements (i.c., strength, speed, dexterity, quantity of work) were

employers’ most frequently mentioned consideration for estrictions on the

hiring of older workers, but that many of these requirements had ‘no studied

basis.” Fentonmiller, 47 AM. U. L. REV. at 1104 and 195, 196 (quoting

WR at 8, and referring to the Secretary’s Research Materials at 4, 11-12).

The Secretary submitted the “Research Materials” to Congress in June 1965

along with and in support of the Report. See JA 352.

y In this respect, the regulations also “echoed the Secretary’s prior

criticism of unfair educational requirements that ‘penalize’ the older worker

[and] his finding that written tests with ‘little direct relationship to the jobs’

tended to preclude the employment of otherwise qualified older applicants.”

Fentonmiller, 47 AM.U. L. Rev. at 1104-05 and nn. 198-200 (quoting

Research Materials at 81, and citing id. at 14, Wirtz Report at 3 [JA 358-

60].

16

limits made unlawful by the Act could be defended on age-

neutral grounds, thus raising the issue how to assure that the

“arbitrary discrimination” many of them represented could be

challenged. The regulations did not answer this question by

directing attention to the intentional discrimination such neutral

rules might mask, consistent with the later-developed

“disparate treatment” method of proof. Rather, the regulations

identified guidelines for identifying which neutral rules with

adverse impact on older workers are justified by employer

needs, consistent with the later-developed “disparate impact”

theory of proof.“ The EEOC’s current ADEA regulations are

to the same effect, as Judge Barkett recognized in her Adams

concurrence. That is, they recognize that the “reasonable

factors other than age” defense “works in tandem with the

business necessity defense in the disparate impact analysis.” _

255 F.3d at 1328.¥

These regulations are entitled to substantial deference in

interpreting the ADEA’s text, to the extent the Court decides

that language employing traditional methods of statutory

construction is ambiguous authorized. Chevron USA v. Natural

Resources Def. Council, 467 U.S. 837, 843 n.9 (1984). See INS

v. St. Cyr, 533 U.S. 289, 121 S.Ct. 2271, 2290 n.45 (2001);

FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Co., 529 U.S. 120, 132

(2000) (where an agency responsible for administering a statute

19 The same can be said of the regulations as revised in early 1969 to

clarify, for example, that even a validated employee test had to be

“specifically related to the requirements of the job,” as well as “fair and

reasonable.” 29 C.F.R. § 860.104(b) (1969).

LY Congress reassigned responsibility for administering the ADEA from

the Department of Labor to the EEOC in 1979. See Reorg. Plan No. 1 of

1978, 92 Stat. 3781, 43 Fed. Reg. 19807 (May 9, 1979). Current

regulations require that employment practices with an adverse impact on

individuals 40 and over that are defended as based on reasonable factors

other than age “can only be justified as a business necessity.” 29 C.F.R.

§ 1625.7(d) (2001). And if an employment test has such adverse impact, it

must be validated according to the Uniform Guidelines on Employee

Selection Procedures See id. § 1607 (2001).

17

has issued rules interpreting it, and Congress has not expressed

its intent “unambiguously,” the “reviewing court must respect

the agency's construction of the statute so long as it is

permissible”). See also Adams, 255 F.3d at 1328 and n.10

(Barkett, J., concurring).

Also in 1968, Secretary Wirtz’ Department of Labor issued

several advisory opinions regarding ADEA implementation

confirming the view that age-neutral employer practices were

subject to the Act. These declared, inter alia, that “‘facially-

neutral job requirements and employment practices, such as

testing, must be validated and job-related.’” Fentonmiller, 47

AM.U. L. REV. at 1104 and n.204 (citing Charles T. Lindquist,

Administrator, Wage and Hour and Public Contracts Divisions,

U.S. Dep’t of Labor, ADEA Opinion Letter (August 1, 1968)

and Ben P. Robertson, Deputy Administrator, Wage and Hour

and Public Contracts Divisions, U.S. Dep’t. of Labor, ADEA

Opinion Letter (October 9, 1968)).

Wirtz consistently urged that the ADEA be interpreted

broadly, in order to root out unfair and arbitrary treatment of

older workers. In 1976 Congressional hearing testimony,

former Secretary Wirtz lamented the lack of progress in

eliminating barriers to age bias in the workplace and

concluded: “there is more reason now, not less, for rigorous

enforcement of the ADEA.” The Secretary also expressed

expansive views of age discrimination legislation in his 1967

testimony, stating that the purpose of the proposed ADEA was

“to get away from arbitrary age distinctions and go to judgment

of individuals on their merits;” he wondered “whether we

should strike any reference to age at all in any connection and

look at employment only in terms of whether the individual

does have or does not have the capacity to do whatever job it is

1 Impact of the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, Before

the Subcomm. on Retirement Income and Employment, House Select

Comm. on Aging, 94th Cong. 2d Sess. 81 (1976).

18

that that individual is seeking.”4” In the 1965 Report, at the

outset of his “Conclusions and Recommendations,” Wirtz

declared:

It would be the worst misfortune if the problem of

age discrimination in employment, having come to

the Congress’ attention, were posed so narrowly as

to result in superficial prescription.

JA 403. Yet, that would be the precise result if the Eleventh

Circuit’s ruling is affirmed.

B. The Eleventh Circuit Erred in Concluding that

the Legislative History of the ADEA Precludes

Reliance on the Disparate Impact Approach to

Proving Age Discrimination

The Eleventh Circuit cited two grounds related to legislative

history for its affirmance of the district court’s conclusion that

the ADEA does not permit liability to be established by the

disparate impact method of proof. Each is unfounded. First,

the court opined that the Wirtz Report differentiated between

proof now known as disparate treatment and disparate impact

and recommended that Congress only ban the former. Second,

the court alleged that the history of the ADEA differs materially

from that of Title VII, “which the Supreme Court in Griggs

relied on to find a cause of action for di impact.”

The Adams court’s oversimplified rendering of the Wirtz

Report ignores numerous instances in which the

condomas os “eitdeaey” end calied for the tiadanion of

disparate impacts of neutral employer practices on older

workers. As demonstrated supra at 12-14, it was clear error to

suggest that the Report concluded that “arbitrary

1¥ Age Discrimination in Employment, 1967: Hearings on S. 830 & S.

788 Before the Subcomm. On Labor of the Senate Comm. On Labor and

Pub. Welfare, 90th Cong. 51-52 (1967). Secretary Wirtz also asserted that

the labor market was “putting more and more people with more and more

competence and capacity out to pasture earlier and earlier.”

19

discrimination” corresponds only with “disparate treatment

based on stereotypical perceptions of the elderly,” or that all

rll “factors affecting older workers, such as policies with

should be addressed in alternative ways.” 255

Fad atl 1325. Rather, the Report mapped out a more complex

taxonomy of: age discrimination, in which some “arbitrary” age

bias is explicit, but some is founded on actions of an

“unthinking majority,” JA 358, and still more is premised on

unjustifiable — but age-neutral — reliance on tests, physical and

educational criteria and other factors unrelated to a worker’s

productivity or ability to do the job in question. Thus, in the

Secretary’s view, some policies that have what we now call

“disparate impact,” amounted to arbitrary bias and constituted

an appropriate target for legal liability.

The Adams court also endorsed a superficial analysis of the

Wirtz Report in Ellis. The Ellis court asserted, without

explanation that “arbitrary discrimination” equals intentional

bias and all factors affecting “older workers more strongly as

a group” equals disparate impact. See Ellis, 73 F.3d at 1008

(citing Wirtz Report at 5, 11) See JA 361-62, 378. Hence,

neither Ellis nor Adams reflects an accurate reading of the

Report; any review of the Secretary’s background “Research

Materials;” any consideration of Wirtz’ 1967 Senate testimony

(or any other legislative records of Congress’ original

enactment of the ADEA); any analysis of the 1968 interpretive

regulations — also penned by Secretary Wirtz; or of the 1968

advisory opinions issued by Wirtz’ Labor Department. Surely

some greater effort was necessary to justify the Adams court’s

cavalier use of terms invented years after the ADEA’s

enactment in 1967 — “disparate treatment” and “disparate

impact” — to interpret a report issued in 1965.

The Adams court compounded its error by characterizing as

alien to the Wirtz Report, and thus to the legislative history of

the ADEA, a key aspect of Congress’ work in enacting Title

VII: attention to whether a challenged job requirement had “‘a

manifest relationship to the employment in question.”” 255

F.3d at 1325-26 on Griggs, 401 U.S. at 432). Yet the

very same concern drove Secretary Wirtz to catalogue various

harms to older workers, including some due to neutral

20

employer Practices, and to condemn all those he deemed

“arbitrary,” precisely because they had no basis in “ability to do

ajob.” JA 355. Hence, the legislative records of both Title VII

and the ADEA support reliance on the disparate impact method

of proof.

Finally, regardless how one reads the legislative history, the

prohibitions in § 4 of the ADEA, 29 U.S.C. § 623, do not

contain the word “arbitrary.” Instead, the prohibitory language

mirrors that of Title VII. Consequently, the specific prohibitory

language of § 4 trumps any contrary inference that may arise

from the legislative history or in language in the findings and

purpose section of the statute. See Bissette v. Colonial

Mortgage Corp., 477 F.2d 1245, 1246 n.2 (D.C. Cir. 1973);

— Dist. of Columbia, 650 F. Supp. 482, 484 (D.D.C.

1986)

Il. THE COURT HAS RECOGNIZED THAT

DISPARATE IMPACT IS MORE EFFECTIVE

THAN DISPARATE TREATMENT IN POLICING

WHAT THE COURT CONSIDERS TO BE THE

“ESSENCE” OF AGE DISCRIMINATION.

In Watson v. Fort Worth Bank & Trust, a plurality of the

Court noted that the disparate impact theory of proof is

ssassuny ae cutabas “tapaieamenal aananeeneaiiamaaaae

ee oa 977, 990 (1988), because they cannot

be “adequately policed through disparate treatment analysis.”

Given that the Court has also stated that the “essence of age

discrimination” is older workers being harmed by “inaccurate

and stigmatizing stereotypes,” Hazen Paper Co., 507 U.S. at

if See also Alexander v. Choate, 469 U.S. 287, 292-99 (1985)

(discussing the appropriateness of disparate impact analysis under § 504 of

the Rehabilitation Act since discrimination against the handicapped results

from thoughtlessness not animus) (emphasis added).

21

610 the disparate impact theory must be available to attack

the serious problem of age discrimination in the work place.”

hee a

comment in Hazen Paper “{d] treatment

the essence of what Congress Seneuas Gbashategedhibhs tn tes

” 507 U.S. at 610. Based on that language, which was

not central to the decision, several courts have wrongly inferred

that “the ADEA only prohibits intentional discrimination.”

Ellis, 73 F.3d at 1008. See also Mullin, 164 F.3d at 701(“the

le implication of (Justice O’Connor’s] statements is

that the imposition of disparate impact liability would not

address the evils that was attempting to when

it enacted the ADEA.”). courts erred in taking such a

giant leap from dictum on the nature of age discrimination.

First, while there can be no question that one of the reasons

Congress enacted the ADEA was to combat discrimination

based on “stereotypes unsupported by objective fact,” EEOC v.

Wyoming, 460 U.S. at 231, there is no basis in either the

Y In EEOC v. Wyoming, the Court also recognized, as the Wirtz Report

explained, that irrational judgments based on age stereotypes were “often

defended on grounds different from [their) actual causes.” 460 U.S. at 231;

see JA 368-71. The Report elaborated that explicit age limits often were

defended on age-neutral grounds, which non-age-based rationales were

“undoubtedly believed to be in many cases” the true explanations of age

limits. Jd. 369.

1% Judge Cudahy recognized this seemingly obvious contradiction in his _

dissent from EEOC v. Francis W. Parker School: “[T)he disparate impact

theory of liability is designed as a means to detect employment decisions

that reflect ‘inaccurate and stigmatizing stereotypes,’ . . . This is precisely

the determination that Hazen Paper says the ADEA is intended to outlaw.”

41 F.3d 1073, 1080-81 (7th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 515 U.S. 1142 (1995)

(emphasis in original). See also Steven J. Kamenshine, “The Cost of Older

Workers, Disparate Impact, and the Age Discrimination in Employment

Act, 42 Fla. L. REV. 229, 309 (1990) (“[T]he assertion that age

discrimination results from unconscious stereotyping arguably cuts in favor

of, not against, the application of disparate impact in age cases.”).

22

language or the legislative history of the ADEA to restrict its

reach to employment decisions based on stereotypes.” Surely

it was not the intent of this Court in Hazen Paper to thwart the

will of Congress by grafting an additional criterion of proof

onto the ADEA, severely curtailing the Act's broad

protections.¥

1” Taken at face value, this Court’s comments are corroborated in the

legislative record of the ADEA, which featured prominently the seemingly

nationwide phenomenon of “persistent and widespread use of age limits in

hiring.” JA 364-67, 404. Yet the very same can be said of Congress’

proceedings in enacting Title VII. That is, “facially-race discriminatory

employment practices [were] the primary impetus behind the passage of

Title VII in 1964,” yet “[o]bviously disparate treatment does not define the

limit of Title VII's reach, even though it may ‘capture the essence’ of Title

VII's prohibitions.” Fentonmiller, 47 AM.U. L. REV. at 1112; see

Kamenshine, 42 PLA. L. REV. at 291(“in the same way Congress was

preoccupied with overt racial policies when it outlawed race discrimination

under Title VII”). It follows that Congress’ and Secretary Wirtz’s attention

to “overt age restrictions as the most glaring age-based obstacles,” id.,

should not limit the reach of the ADEA.

iY Incredibly, courts have gone even further and required ADEA

plaintiffs to produce evidence that the employer’s decision was motivated

by inaccurate and stigmatizing stereotypes about older workers. See, e.g.,

Dilla v. West, 4 F. Supp. 2d 1130 (M.D. Ala. 1998), aff'd per curiam, 179

F.3d 1348 (11th Cir. 1999) (holding that employer did not violate the

ADEA when it refused to hire applicants based on their proximity to

retirement eligibility because “the mere fact that there exists a perfect

correlation, or even a direct link, between age and the factor purportedly

relied upon by the employer,” id. at 1142-43, does not mean the employer

impermissibly relied on age given that “age discrimination occurs only

when ‘the problem of inaccurate and stigmatizing stereotypes’ about older

workers are operative.”) Jd. at 1142 (emphasis added).

23

A. Stereotyping Is Often Unintentional.

Since actions besed on stereotypes are mot necessarily

intentional, it is erroneous to conclude that because

inaccurate stereotypes are often behind age discrimination the

ADEA only prohibits intentional discrimination. Actions based

on can be, and more often than not are,

unin , and the disparate impact theory is particularly

walh ecited 66 conten diebaatasties exnesd ty woneuaions

stereotyping. After all, the premise of the disparate impact

theory is that “not all discrimination is apparent and overt. It

is sometimes subtle and hidden. It is at times hidden even from

the decisionmaker herself, reflecting perhaps subconscious

predilections and stereotypes.” EEOC v. Francis W. Parker

Sch.,41 F.3d at 1080 (J. Cudahy, dissenting). This is especially

true of age discrimination. Applying the disparate impact

Geory to ths ADGA is consistent wah the sescerch on the

nature and causes of ageism.

iy = The argument that disparate impact is inappropriate where

discrimination is caused by stereotypes, not animus, “jeopardize(s} the

availability of disparate impact in gender cases as well because gender

discrimination, like age, is based more on paternalistic stereotypes than on

malevolence.” Kaminshine, 42 FLA. L. REV. at 310 (footnote omitted). For

that matter, while “race discrimination is steeped in a history of unparalleled

hatred and bigotry . . . race discrimination today is often based on the same

kind of stereotypes and group-based assumptions about ability that form the

basis of age discrimination.” /d.

2 The term “ageism” was coined by Robert N. Butler, M.D. to describe

the “deep and profound prejudice against the elderly which is found to

some degree in all of us.” Robert N. Butler, WHY SURVIVE?: BEING OLD IN

AMERICA 11 (1975). Butler describes ageism as:

@ process of systematic stereotyping of and

discrimination against people because they are old, just

as racism and sexism accomplish this with skin color and

gender . .. Ageism allows the younger generations to see

older people as different from themselves; thus they

(continued...)

24

Age distinctions are particularly unique because

they so often are used thoughtlessly rather than as

intentional expressions of invidious malice or even

typically results from employers’ ignorance about

Older workers, rather than active dislike of them.

Because of this relatively innocuous nature of

without recognizing or caring that these policies

may have a disparate impact upon older workers.

Howard Eglit, “The Age Discrimination in Act’s

Affirmative Defense,” 66 BOSTON LAW REV. 155,

222 (1986).

Recent research has focused on this unconscious

discrimination, also called “implicit ageism.” [Tjimplicit

ageism’ is defined as the thoughts, feelings, and behaviors

toward elderly people that exist and operate without conscious

awareness or control, with the assumption that it forms the

basis of most interactions with older individuals.” Becca R.

Levy, “Eradication of Ageism Requires Addressing the Enemy

Within, 41 THE GERONTOLOGIST 578, 578 (Oct. 2001). Ina

related study, the authors explained:

judgments at a level below that at which we

consciously ascribe traits to others. Such

‘automatic’ ageism may be hard to eradicate if it

nus been insenusnted take cur intial pemensiity

theories or social schemata and is evoked without

awareness on our part.

2 (continued)

subtly cease to identify with their elders as human

beings.

Id. at 12.

25

Charles W. Perdue & Michael B. Gurtman, “Evidence for the

Automaticity of Ageism,” 26 JOURNAL OF EXPERIMENTAL

SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY 199, 201 (1990). Unconscious is

pervasive in our society. “Ageism permeates our culture so

thoroughly and conditions our attitudes and perceptions so

much that most of us are unaware of most of the ageism in it.”

yy Palmore, AGEISM: NEGATIVE AND POSITIVE 98 (2d

).

Unconscious discrimination is not unique to age

discrimination. Like ageism, “[rJacism is in large part a

product of the unconscious. It is a set of beliefs whereby we

irrationally attach significance to something called race. .

Charles R. Lawrence, Ill, “The Id, the Ego, and Equal

Protection: With Unconscious Racism,” 33 STAN.

L. REV. 317, 330 (1987). However, “[a] survey of implicit

mm gag ened me nee ey ef ee

re) old people proportion than for implicit racism

or sexism. on tes 78.

B. is the Most Effective Tool f

Disparate fe or

It is well established in Title VII jurisprudence that disparate

impact is a valuable tool in ferreting out subtle forms of

discrimination. See, e.g., In re: Employment Discrimination

Litigation Against the wae longo 198 F.3d 1305, 1321

(11th Cir. 1999) (“a of disparate impact can be

highly probative of the employer’s motive since a racial

‘imbalance is often a telltale sign of ful

discrimination.’””) (quoting International Board of Teamsters

v. United States, 431 U.S. 324, 339-40 n.20 (1977)). Indeed,

well hidden. See Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 US.

405, 425 (1975) (employer refusal to follow alternative

2/ See Deborah L. Rhode, “The ‘No-Problem’ Problem: Feminist

Chalenges and Cultural Change,” 100 YALE L_J. 1731, 1764-68 (1991) for

a discussion of studies establishing unconscious sexism.

26

workplace practice with lesser discriminatory impact

caldinastukibochaiiaantumiierensmmenee waar for

discrimination); Connecticut v. Teal, 457 U.S. 440, 447 (1982)

(same).

The fact that “age discrimination is characterized more by

indifference and thoughtless bias than by overt hostility . . .

makes detection of unlawful motive impractical and enhances

the risk of evasion.” Kamenshine, at 318. “If individuals are

not aware that a negative stereotype of age has been

automatically triggered by a person’s older age, they are likely

ee ee , failure to hire. . . ), to another

factor that better fits their preferred self-images as reasonably

fair individuals. Thus, rather than acknowledge that ‘I hired a

younger person in preference to an older person,’ a

rationalization, such as the older applicant’s personality or

training, might be evoked.” Levy, at 578. See also Perdue, &

Gurtman, at 200 (“characterizing the aged as unemployable,

unintelligent, and ‘naturally’ aathe may help to rationalize

discriminatory practices in employment... .”). As one

commentator observed with regard to the same phenomenon in

the context of race discrimination:

When racism operates at a conscious level,

opposing forces can attempt to ail upon the

rationality and moral sensibility of racism’s

proponents . ... But when the discriminator is not

aware of his prejudice. .neit a

is likely to

oop intractable, nd tokaomie

becomes imperative.

@ See also Adams, 255 at 1327 (in Griggs “the Supreme Court

recognized that although discriminatory intent could be hidden, even from

the decisionmaker himself, its effects in the workplace could not.”) (Barkett,

J. concurring) (emphasis added); EEOC v. Francis W. Parker Sch., 41 F.3d

at 1078 (“Moreover, disparate impact theory does not relieve the EEOC of

its obligation to prove the error of the employer’s ways. ... Ultimately, the

EEOC must show that Parker’s rationale is pretextual and ... is predicated

on some stereotype, conscious or unconscious’) (emphasis added).

27

Lawrence, 39 STAN. L. REV. at 349. Disparate impact is just as

crucial to combating age discrimination as it is to challenging

prejudice based on race, ee oe of Oe. “People are

more conscious of these latter biases but often are unaware of

their age bias. Age stereotypes persist because le tend not

to examine the basis for these stereotypes also give

ge meme te dag ey nema |

Raymond F. Gre , AGE DISCRIMINATION IN THE

yah. WORKPLACE: ATA YOUNG AGE 26-27 (2001).

Those circuits that have precluded the application of

disparate impact to ADEA cases “seem to assume that only

barriers based on animus create problems. But one can have a

“status quo’ based on inaccurate stereotypes that society needs

to destroy as much as one can have ‘status quo’ based on

animus that should be swept away.” Roberta Sue Alexander,

“Comment: The Future of ago foe ysis for Age

Discrimination in a Post-Hazen World, 25 DAYTON L. REV.

75, 94 (1999).

If ADEA claims can be established only through disparate

treatment analysis, ee proof of conscious

discriminatory purpose, indi discrimination claims will

not be able to address the issue of unconscious prejudice and

the “essence” of age discrimination will be ins d from

much of the ime.” David Benjamin Oppeahelmer, “Negligent

Discrimination,” 141 U. Bas eaghenk ype 899, 903-04 (1993).

ped Bn A, uo” of age bias based on

research on age stereotyping

suggests that we have sready reached such a “status quo.

research demonstrates that most individuals harbor

specific beliefs about older people, that most of those beliefs

are inaccurate, and that the stereotypes have persisted in

disadvantaging older persons for decades. For example,

2/ J. Levin and W.C. Levin, AGEISM: PREJUDICE AND DISCRIMINATION

(continued...)

28

research on age stereotyping in employment has consistently

found that nr employees are almost always treated and rated

less favorably than younger employees.

The claim that older workers do ae suffer from “the

entrenched effects of past discrimination” is a flawed basis

for discarding disparate impact theory under the ADEA. As

this Court itself has recognized, “We have not limited this

principle [that some facially neutral employment practices are

unlawful even in the absence of discriminatory intent] to cases

in which the challenged practice served to perpetuate the effects

of py At intentional discrimination.” Watson, 487 U.S. at

98

2 (continued)

AGAINST THE ELDERLY 70-96 (1980).

a See, e.g., Marc Bendick, Jr., Lauren E. Brown, & Kennington Wall,

“No Foot in the Door: An Experimental Study of Employment

Discrimination Against Older Workers,” 10(4) JOURNAL OF AGING &

SOCIAL Pouicy 5 (1999); Marc Bendick, Jr., Charles W. Jackson, & J.

Horacio Romero, “Employment Discrimination Against Older Workers: An

Experimental Study of Hiring Practices,” 8(4) JOURNALOF AGING & SOCIAL

POLICY 25 (1996); William C. Levin, “Age Stereotyping,” 10(1) RESEARCH

ON AGING 134 (March 1988); Bruce J. Avolio & Gerald V. Barrett, “Effects

of Age Stereotyping in a Simulated Interview,” 2 PSYCHOLOGY AND AGING,

March 1987, at 56; Benson Rosen & Thomas H. Jerdee, “The Nature of

Job-Related Age Stereotypes,” 59 JOURNAL OF APPLIED PSYCHOLOGY 511

(1976); Benson Rosen & Thomas H. Jerdee, “Influence of Age Stereotypes

on Managerial Decisions,” 61 JOURNAL OF APPLIED PSYCHOLOGY 428

(1976).

2/ — DiBiase v. SmithKline Beecham Corp., 48 F.3d 719, 732 (3d Cir.),

cert. denied, 516 U.S. 916 (1995).

2 See, e.g., Dothard v. Rawlinson, 433 U.S. 321, 339-40 (1977) (height

and weight requirements had a disparate impact on women; a decision that

had nothing to do with historical discrimination).

29

The Wirtz Report also provides several answers to the

argument that ageism lacks any history of entrenched bias.

First, the Report documents a substantial record of “persistent

and widespread” discrimination dating back at least to the

beginning of the century. JA 374, 404. Second, it describes in

detail the reasons why “arbitrary” age bias is entrenched:

pervasive irrational employer stereotypes, conscious and

unconscious, discounting the capacity of older workers to

perform on the job. Jd. 368-73. Further, the perpetuation

rationale fails to account for the fact that Title VII addresses

characteristics in such a way as to cover all workers, including

whites, males, and other groups that have not been victimized

by entrenched, historic patterns of invidious discrimination.

Moreover, whether or not stereotypes are rooted in history is

irrelevant to the debilitating effect those stereotypes have on

older persons. Although ageism may be primarily a twentieth

century phenomenon, stereotypes about older persons are

ingrained and commonplace in our society. The perpetuation

rationale also loses much of its appeal as time marches on and

age discrimination remains a pervasive force in our society.

The ADEA was enacted 35 years ago, yet, age discrimination

in employment continues to impede the achievement of

equality in the work place.” “Like racism and sexism, ageism

remains recalcitrant, even if below the surface. But it can be —

and has been — churned up from its latent position.”

CONCLUSION

In McKennon v. Nashville Banner Publishing Co., the Court

declared that “Congress designed the remedia! measures in [the

2 See, e.g., Robert Manor & T. Shawn Taylor, Age-Bias Complaints Up

Sharply Older Workers’ Higher Salaries are Big Targets for Employers,

CHICAGO TRIBUNE, July 15, 2001, at C1; Stan Hinden, Forced to Retire

Before You're Ready The Merge-and-Downsize Era’s Layoffs Hit Older

Workers Especially Hard, WASH. POST, June 6, 1999, at HO1.

/ Robert N. Butler, “Dispelling Ageism: The Cross-Cutting

Intervention,” 503 THE ANNALS 138, 140 (1989).

30

ADEA and Title VII] to serve as a ‘spur or catalyst’ to cause

employers ‘to self-examine their employment practices and, to

endeavor to eliminate, so far as possible, the last vestiges’ of

discrimination.” 513 U.S. at 358 quoting Albermarle Paper Co.

v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 417-18 (1975). Without the disparate

impact theory to challenge subtle forms of age discrimination,

employers will not be encouraged to examine policies which

adversely effect older workers, but instead will continue to

ignore them so that rather than being eliminated, the last

vestiges of age discrimination will likely become entrenched

“operat[ing] to ‘freeze’ the status quo of prior

employment practices.” Griggs, 401 U.S. at 430.

For the foregoing reasons, amici curiae y submit

that the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit should be reversed. Aynici urge this Court to

= i ng disparate impact theory of proof is applicable to

Respectfully submitted,

Laurie A. McCann*

Daniel B. Kohrman

Thomas Osborne

AARP Foundation Litigation

Melvin Radowitz

AARP

601 E Street, NW

Washington, DC 20049

(202) 434-2060

Counsel for Amici Curiae

* Counsel of Record

January 24, 2002

APPENDIX

Founded in 1915, the American Association of

University Professors (AAUP) is an organization of

approximately 45,000 faculty members and research scholars

in all academic disciplines. Among the AAUP's central

functions is the development of policy standards covering

academic freedom, tenure, institutional governance, freedom

from discrimination, and other key issues in higher education.

See, e.g., On Discrimination and 1940 Statement of Principles

on Academic Freedom and Tenure, AAUP Policy Documents

& (9th Ed., 2001). As this Court has recognized,

s policies are widely respected and followed as models

in American colleges and universities. See, e.g., Board of

Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 579 n. 17

(1972); Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672, 681-82 (1971).

AAUP and its members are deeply concerned that the

unavailability of the disparate impact method of proof under

the Age Discrimination in * he mati Act (ADEA) would

undermine the ability of professors to ensure freedom from age

discrimination in the academic workplace.

The National Association for the Advancement of

Colored People (NAACP), established in 1909, is the nation’s

oldest civil rights organization. It has state and local affiliates

throughout the nation. The fundamental mission of the

NAACP is the advancement and improvement of the political,

educational, social and economic status of minority groups; the

elimination of racial prejudice; the publicizing of adverse

effects of racial discrimination; and the initiation of lawful

action to secure the elimination of racial bias. The NAACP has

as both plaintiff and amicus curiae before this Court

and other courts throughout the nation in numerous civil rights

cases.

The National Council of La Raza (NCLR) is the largest

national Latino civil rights organization, which is an “umbrella

organization” for more than 270 local affiliated community-

based organizations (CBOs) and about 33,000 individual

associate members. In addition to providing capacity-building

assistance to our affiliates and essential information to our

A-l

individual associates, NCLR serves as a voice for all Hispanic

subgroups in all regions of the country. As a civil rights

organization, NCLR is vitally concerned with the maintenance

of a strong, vigorous, and active federal civil rights

enforcement system. NCLR believes that the proper use of the

disparate impact standards is essential to protecting Hispanics,

older workers, and other groups covered by Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act and other laws prohibiting employment

discrimination, from bias in the workplace.

The American Jewish Congress is an organization of

American Jews that seeks to protect fundamental constitutional

freedoms, particularly the civil rights and liberties of American

Jews and all Americans. Since Jews in America are an aging

population, the American Jewish Congress is particularly

concerned with issues that affect the welfare of older

Americans. In this connection it has called attention to such ~

problems as nursing home abuses, problems with Medicare,

and issues involving the effectiveness of various state agencies

laws banning age discrimination; and has filed

briefs in this Court in such cases as Cruzan v. Director,

Missouri Department of Health.

The National Partnership for Women & Families, a

non-profit, national advocacy ization founded in 1971 as

the Women’s Legal Defense Fund,

promotes equal opportunity

for women, quality health care, and policies that help women

and men meet both work and family responsibilities. The

National Partnership has devoted significant resources to

combating sex, race, and other forms of invidious workplace

discrimination and has filed numerous briefs amicus curiae in

the U.S. Supreme Court and in the federal circuit courts of

appeal to advance the opportunities of women and minorities _

in employment.

A-2

The National Women’s Law Center (“NWLC’”) is a

nonprofit, legal advocacy organization dedicated to the

advancement and protection of women’s rights and the

corresponding elimination of sex discrimination all facets

of American life. Since 1972, NWLC has worked to secure

ev for women in the workplace, including

full enforcement of Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964 as amended. NWLC has participated as amicus

curiae in numerous cases involving employment law and civil

rights issues.

A-3

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.