Opposition Brief — Shafer v. South Carolina

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

li

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY

AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHEN A

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED.

a. “a = » x ee =

: ak

SLRS

. vp torus GU, ULD.

FILED

AUG 21 2000

No. 00-5250

CLERK

October Term, 2000

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

WESLEY AARON SHAFER, JR.,

Petitioner,

THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA,

Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO THE

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE SUPREME COURT OF SOUTH CAROLINA

CHARLES M. CONDON

‘ Attorney General

JOHN W. McINTOSH

Chief Deputy Attorney General

DONALD J. ZELENKA

Assistant Deputy Attorney General

S. CREIGHTON WATERS

Assistant Attorney General

South Carolina Attorney General's Office

Post Office Box 11549

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

(803) 734-3601

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

\ \ yw

CAPITAL CASE

PETITIONER’S QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1.

Whether petitioner's due process rights under Simmons v. South Carolina, 512 U.S.

154 (1994), were violated by the trial court's refusal to instruct the sentencing jury that

“under South Carolina law, [petitioner] would be ineligible for parole if the jury were to vote

for a life sentence,” Ramdass v. Angelone, 120 S.Ct. 2113, 2119 (2000) (plurality opinion),

and by the South Carolina Supreme Court's holding that Simmons no longer applies to

South Carolina's capital sentencing scheme.

2.

Whether prosecutors’ capital sentencing arguments based on general deterrence

violate due process when state law immunizes them from evidentiary rebuttal.

Serre or Tess

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PETITIONER'S QUESTIONS PRESENTED

EE ene ee ee i

i oak eke ne ese aioe deseebecen si iv

Co EO CL TT ST Tee eee Tee ee ere ee Te ee 1

I re rr ee ere re rr ee 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED............... 1

RESPONDENT'S STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................. 2.00 c cece. 2

a a Fs A) rr rr ree 4

REASONS WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED ........................ 9

1. Since under South Carolina's sentencing scheme there was legally available to

Petitioner a definite term sentence as an alternative to death and life without

parole, the South Carolina Supreme Court properly ruled that Simmons v.

South Carolina was not triggered; in any event, the state did not rely on

Petitioner's future dangerousness. .......... 0... 6c eee eee 9

A. How the federal question was raised and decided below ......... g

EE Pr rT er re ee ee ee Te eee ree 9

2. The direct appeal to the South Carolina Supreme Court.... 11

B. Unlike the South Carolina’s old sentencing scheme addressed in

Simmons v. South Carolina, which provided for parole eligibility for

murderers sentenced to life, the sentencing scheme under which

Petitioner was tried provided for three options: death, life without

parole, and a mandatory minimum sentence of at least thirty years.

Si ohn NP eee. shennan eae ne e4e se he 15

C. This Court's recent decision inRamdass v.Angelone........... 17

D. Since no other statutory provision required that Petitioner be sentenced

to life without parole if not sentenced to death, then Petitioner could

have received as little as a definite term sentence of thirty years; thus,

life without parole was not the only available alternative sentence, and

Simmons was inapplicable. ............................ 19

E. The prosecution did not argue future dangerousness; thus, the rule in

Simmons was not triggered. ...............0..0..0000005. 29

ll. The exclusion of evidence on the deterrent effect of the death penalty does

not violate due process where both the state and the defense have equal

opportunity to argue their respective views on the issue. ........... 34

A. How the federal question was raised and decided below ......... 34

P. TED 6 0c 0s 0 sédseecnsensnelsaeaneeaeeee 34

eG 0 00:0:0.09.44600600004400004)00007 eee 35

B. Since Petitioner had as much an opportunity in argument to “deny or

explain” the general deterrent effect of the death penalty as the state

did to assert it, there was no violation of due process......... 35

CONCLUSION

EE

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Aliridge v. Scott, 41 F.3d 213 (Sth Cir.1994).. 6. eee, 12, 26

Brooks v. Kemp, 762 F.2d 1383 (11" Cir. 1985) ............ Mecetusseaeens 33

California v. Ramos, 463 U.S. 992 (1983) .. 6... ees 16

Coleman v. Brown, 802 F.2d 1227 (10" Cir. 1986) ................0.0000.... 33

Collins v. Francis, 728 F.2d 1322 (11" Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 963(1984) .... 37

Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349, 362 (1977). © 6 eennn, 36, 38

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976) ©. cnn 25, 36, 38

ee Oe, Dg ck nea ccccccssceneescccsecees 20

, 770 F.2d 918 (11" Cir. 1985), modified on other grounds, 781 F.2d

‘at Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 909 (1986) ............... 2.000. 37

Ramdass v. Angelone, 120 S.Ct. 2113(2000).......... 17-21, 24, 25, 27-29, 31, 40

Ramdass v. Angelone, 187 F.3d 396 (4th Cir.1999), affd, 120 S.Ct. 2113(2000) .. 12

Simmons v. South Carolina, 512 U.S. 164 (1994) ............... 1, 9-16, 18-31, 33

Skipper v. South Carolina, 476 U.S. 1 (1986)... ens 13, 37-39

United States v. Battle, 979 F. Supp. 1442, 1464-66 (N.D. Ga. 1997)............ 40

United States v. Flores, 63 F 24 1342 (5" Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 825 (1996)

ee ee. icc rece ee ensbeaCescerrccecensacateeses 12, 21-23, 27

United States v. Grayson, 438 U.S. 41 (1978) © cece 37

Williams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241 (1949) 00 ce 37

iv

STATE CASES

Commonwealth v. May, 710 A.2d 44, 47 (1998), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1078 (1999) =

Fleming v. State, 458 S.E.2d 638 (Ga. 1995)... cece eee 36

People v. Simpson, 665 N.E.2d 1228 (lil. 1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 982 (1998) 12,

Smith v. State, 898 S.W.2d 838 (Tex. Crim. App. 1995) .............0 2.00, 19

State v. Byram, 326 S.C. 107, 485 S.E.2d 360 (1997)... 2.0... 19

State v. Chapman, 464 S.E.2d 661 (N.C. 1995)... eee eee 19

State v. George, 323 S.C. 496, 476 S.E.2d 903 (1996) .................... 35, 36

State v. Kornahrens, 290 S.C. 281, 350 S.E.2d 180 (1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 940

DUE icunundhccdisdhaknadnsecesandaaddie deed ieiuennenaaeneeeken 26

State v. McLaughlin, 341 N.C. 426, 462 S.E.2d 1 (N.C.1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1133

SN icacuatds odkscunskhsathaguataasabouacunstectTeeamnnitrecs: 12

State v. Mitts, 690 N.E.2d 522 (Ohio 1998) cece cece 27

State v. Norris, 285 S.C. 86, 328 S.E.2d 339 (1985), overruled on other grounds, State v.

Torrence, 305 S.C. 45, 406 S.E.2d 315 (1991)... 0... eee eee eee. 13, 24

State v. Rose, 451 S.E.2d 211 (N.C. 1994) ccc eee eee 33

State v. Shafer, Op. No. 25120, 2000 W.L. 576189 (S.C. filed May 8", 2000) . 1, 3, 11,

13, 14, 25, 28, 35, 36

eeeeeeeeeeweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeneeeeeeeeeeeeee ee ®

State v. Smith, 298 S.C. 482, 381 S.E.2d 724 (1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1060 =

State v. Southerland, 316 S.C.377,__, 447 S.E.2d 862, 868 (1994), cert. denied, 513 U.S.

1166 (1995), and overruled on other grounds by State v. Chapman, 317 S.C. 302, 524

EET... 5 co cad00nessahenkend Ganahoobeuh teuareaeesasiaaeel 30

as 2 o-

State v. Starnes, Op. No. 25119, 2000 W.L. 576191 (S.C. filed May 8”, 2000)... 1, 12,

14, 15, 21, 26

State v. Williams, 321 S.C. 327, 468 S.E.2d 626 (1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 891 (1996)

[Meee aeUAe VERN Ghbbhahs hab dashes s6eb bobs eeahetedeanceuedseeddcens 11, 19

State v. Williams, 468 S.E.2d 626, 321 S.C. 327 (1996)

State v. Young, 319 S.C. 33, 459 S.E.2d 84 (1994), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1051 (1996)

PUURRUaU Tada adn icadek ba dad caeusauauatabadncdbateodere cde ics cs 30

STATUTES

REN Le a NR, OS ae Pe a ED 22

EEE ET A NLS, tial eee ene Ema 2 NERD Ad 1

S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-20 (Supp. 1999) ........... 22. 9-11, 15-17, 26

S.C. Code Ann. § 17-25-45 (Supp. 1997) ...... 0.6... 17, 19, 27

S.C. Code Ann. § 24-21-640 (Supp. 1995) 6... ee. 15, 28

S.C. Code Ann. §§ 24-13-100 to -125 (Supp. 1995) .........2.. 2. 16

OTHER AUTHORITIES

John C. McAdams, “Wisconsin Should Adopt Death Penalty,” 79 Marq. L. Rev. 707 (1996

Respondent, State of South Carolina, hereby makes a Brief in Opposition to the

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the South Carolina Supreme Court filed by Wesley Aaron

Shater, Jr., who has been convicted in the South Carolina courts and sentenced to death.

Respondent would show this Court the following:

CITATION TO OPINION BELOW

The decision of the Supreme Court of South Carolina is as of the date of this Brief

not yet reported in the South Carolina or Southeastern Reporters. The opinion is reprinted

and attached to this Brief as Appendix A, and also is available on WESTLAW as State v.

Shafer, Op. No. 25120, 2000 W.L. 576189 (S.C. filed May 8”, 2000). Also reprinted in the

Appendix to this Brief is State v._ Starnes, Op. No. 25119, 2000 W.L. 576191 (S.C. filed

May 8”, 2000). Starnes is a companion case to Shafer which also decided the same issue

pursuant to Simmons v. South Carolina, 512 U.S. 154 (1994).

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Supreme Court of South Carolina was entered on May 8", 2000.

This Court's jurisdiction is apparently invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257, Petitioner

having asserted below, and asserting herein, deprivation of rights secured by the United

1. The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, which forbids,

in pertinent part, the deprivation of “life, liberty, or property, without due process of law.” -

2. Section 16-3-20 of the Code of Laws of South Carolina, which is reprinted in

the Appendix to this Brief.

RESPONDENT'S STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, Wesley Aaron Shafer, Jr., is presently confined in the Lieber Correctional

Institution of the South Carolina Department of Corrections pursuant to orders of

commitment of the Clerk of Court for Union County. In May 1997, the Union County Grand

Jury indicted Appellant Wesley Aaron Shafer for murder, attempted armed robbery and

conspiracy. Specifically, the murder indictment alleged that, on April 13, 1997, Appellant

shot Ray Broome in the head with malice aforethought. The state made notice of intent

to seek the death penalty, and served notice of evidence in aggravation.

Appellant was represented at trial by Public Defender William All, as well as

Attorneys Leon Banks and William Nettles. The state was represented at trial by Solicitor

Thomas E. Pope, Deputy Solicitor Kevin S. Brackett, and Assistant Solicitor Betty Miller.

Judge John C. Hayes conducted a jury trial in Union County beginning on January 12,

1998. On January 18, 1998, the trial jury convicted appellant of all charges.

The sentencing hearing began the next day. After presentation of the evidence, the

trial judge charged the following statutory aggravating factor:

A murder was committed while in the commission of an attempted armed

robbery while armed with a deadly weapon.

1. The defendant has no significant history of a prior criminal conviction

involving the use of violence against another person.

2. The murder was committed while the defendant was under the influence

of mental or emotional disturbance.

3. The capacity of the defendant to appreciate the criminality of his conduct,

or to conform his conduct to the requirement of the law was substantially

impaired.

4. The age and mentality of the defendant at the time of the crime.

The judge also instructed the jury that it could consider non-statutory mitigating

circumstances supported by the evidence.

On January 21, 1998, the jury found the aggravating circumstance and

recommended that Appeliant be sentenced to death for the murder. The trial judge

imposed the death sentence the same day, along with consecutive sentences of twenty

and five years for the attempted armed robbery and conspiracy charges respectively.

Appeiiant timely filed notice of appeal. In the direct appeal to the South Carolina

Supreme Court, Petitioner was represented by David |. Bruck, Esquire. Assistant Attorney

General S. Creighton Waters, Esquire, represented Respondent. Both parties filed briefs

in the appeal, and the following issues were presented by Petitioner:

I. The trial court's incomplete and misleading response to the jury’s question

about parole eligibility renders his death sentence fundamentally unfair.

ll. The trial court's refusal to allow Appeliant to present evidence to rebut the

prosecution's argument concerning the supposed general deterrent effect of

the death penalty, together with the denial of a curative instruction, denied

Appeliant due process of law.

lll. The trial court erred in granting the state’s request for a blanket

Prohibition of all religious or biblical references during defense counsel's

The South Carolina Supreme Court heard oral argument on October 7”, 1999, and

the court issued its opinion affirming Petitioner's conviction and sentence on May 8", 2000.

State v. Shafer, Op. No. 25120, 2000 W.L. 576189 (S.C. filed May 8", 2000). On May 24”,

2000, Attorney Bruck filed on behalf of Petitioner a “Consent Motion for Stay of Execution’.

4

The South Carolina Supreme Court on June 6", 2000 granted the motion for stay of

execution but denied Petitioner's motion to stay the Remittitur. The Remittitur was sent

down on June 6", 2000.

Petitioner filed his Petition for Writ of Certiorari with the United States Supreme

Court on July 14”, 2000, and this Petition was docketed on July 20", 2000.

RESPONDENT'S STATEMENT OF FACTS

Although the defense did argue against the presence of malice at trial, it is

undisputed that Petitioner Wesley Shafer killed Ray Broome by shooting him twice in the

head. The issues in this appeal only challenge the sentencing phase. The following briefly

describes the evidence presented at trial.

Adam Mullinax, Shafer’s cousin and a co-defendant, spent most of Saturday, April

12”, 1997, with Shafer and Justin Porter. {R. 1161 Il. 18-63; 1154 |. 1 - 1159 |. 11}.

Mullinax testified that Shafer, who was wearing a Duke University jacket, showed off a

pistol he kept in the jacket’s outside pocket. {R. 1159 |. 21 - 1161 |. 23}. At about 7 p.m.,

Mullinax left Porter and Shafer and went to watch boxing. {R. 1159 Il. 11-20; 1162 |. 17 -

1163 |. 12}.

Later that Saturday night, a number of teenagers and young adults were “cruising”

in the parking lot at the Hot Spot convenience store, a popular late-night hangout in

Lockhart, South Carolina. {R. 990 Il. 1 - 25; 1017 |. 18 - 1018 1. 12; 1024 |. 14 - 1025 |.

2}. Ray Broome, the victim, was the third shift clerk at the Hot Spot. {R. 941 II. 13-20}.

Around 11:30 p.m., two men in a brown late-70's Ford pickup attracted attention by

spinning the truck's wheels at the gas pumps. Jamie Gibson, who was hanging out at the

Hot Spot, recognized Justin Porter as the driver. The passenger, who Gibson did not

know, was wearing a Duke University hooded jacket. After Porter and his passenger went

in the store, those hanging out at the Hot Spot saw the two men again spin the truck's

wheels while leaving. As the truck pulled away from the store, the passenger held his arm

out of the window and fired several shots into the air with a handgun. {R. 962 Il. 2-10; 990

1.17 - 996 1.10; 1011 I. 6 - 1013 1. 19; 1020 II. 1-24; 1025 I. 3 - 1026 I. 11; 1039 I. 2 - 1040

1. 20; 1045 Il. 1-17; 1047 |. 7 - 1048 i. 11}

At about midnight, Mullinax again met up with Porter and Shafer, and after the three

drank a few beers, they decided to go to the Hot Spot for cigarettes. Upon arrival, Mullinax

used the restroom in the store and returned outside to the Ford pickup. Shafer then pulled

the hood on his head, and he and Porter entered the store around at about 1:00 a.m. {R.

996 |. 22 - 1000 I. 10; 1013 Il. 10-19; 1162 I. 23 - 1168 I. 13}.

What happened next was entirely captured on a video recorders hooked to the Hot

Spot's security cameras. The videotape introduced at trial reflects Shafer walk in and

shoot Broome in the head with a startling lack of warning. Eight seconds later, Shafer

strolled over to the counter, leaned over it, and put another bullet into Broome's head as

he lay on the floor. After attempting and failing to open the cash register, Shafer and

Porter ran out the door. {R. 963 |. 5 - 965 |. 11; 1168 I. 15 - 1170 |. 8}.

Once back at the truck, Shafer jumped in the middle of the seat and ducked his

head down on Mullinax’s lap. While standing at the truck’s door, Porter pulled a hat onto

his head, fumbled around looking for the keys, and then started the truck and drove away.

{R. 1028 |. 4 - 1031 |. 3; 1041 I. 9 - 1043 1. 23; 1048 Il. 12-23; 1170 I. 9 - 1171 I. 11}.

Meanwhile, Jamie Palmer, Monica Inman, and Jennifer Martin had pulled into the

Hot Spot parking lot in time to watch Shafer and Porter run to the truck and escape.

Although her friends were apprehensive, Palmer went inside the Hot Spot and found

Broome lying on the floor behind the counter. She promptly dialed 911. While she was

on the phone, her friends came inside and begged her to leave, saying, “They might come

back, they might come back.” {R. 965 1.10; 1028 I. 4 - 1032 1. 20}. Although Broome was

still breathing when law enforcement and EMS arrived, emergency room personnel could

not save him. {R. 941 |. 21 - 943 I. 1; 975 |. 13 - 976 I. 16; 1503 |. 1 - 1506 I. 9; 1507 I.

12 - 1508 |. 9; 1511 I. 21-25}. ;

After escaping from the Hot Spot, Shafer, Porter, and Mullinax returned to Porter's

house. While Shafer was confident they would not be caught, he stated they need to get

rid of their clothes. Shafer and Porter wrapped the murder weapon, which belonged to

Shafer’s father, in Mullinax’s shirt and hid it under the seat in an old car behind the barn.

The two then weighted Shafer’s Duke University jacket with a rock, and put it into a nearby

creek with their shirts and hats stuffed in the pockets. {R. 11711. 5- 11741. 4; 1108 I. 12 -

1110 |. 18; 1130 I. 15 - 1136 I. 2}.

The girlfriend of one of the responding deputies was the cousin of Porter, and she

and Jamie Palmer had a conversation the night of the incident. {R. 977 |. 11 - 979 I. 9}.

As a result of this conversation, the police drove Palmer and Inman by Porter's house

Sunday morning. The young women identified the Ford pickup parked in Porter's yard as

the one involved in the incident. {R. 979 |. 13 - 980 I. 25; 984 1. 13 - 987 I. 14; 1033 I. 20 -

1037 |. 14; 1053 |. 4 - 1059 I. 1}.

The trail inevitably led to Shafer, and he was arrested that day. {R. 1059 I. 2 - 1073

1. 1; 1079 1. 2 - 1102 |. 13}. After initially denying knowledge of the gun’s whereabouts,

Shafer ultimately told officers where it was hidden. He also directed them to the location

of the hidden jacket and a box of bullets. {R. 1104 1. 3 - 1105 1. 1; 1108 I. 12 - 1110 I. 18;

1118 ll. 4-23; 1121 Il. 15-20; 1124 1. 7 - 1125 |. 9; }. When asked by law enforcement why

he shot Broome, Shafer replied that he had the gun and “just snapped.” {R. 1120 Il. 7-25;

1122 Il. 1-24; 1125 i. 23 - 1126 I. 7}.

During the sentencing phase, the state introduced evidence that on October 9”,

1995, Shafer pled guilty to criminal sexual conduct with a minor 2” and burglary 2”.

Shafer was part of a group of guys who broke into an empty mobile home and pressured,

but did not force, two 12-year old girls to engage in sexual activity with them. Shafer did

pet atone comply with the terms and conditions of his probation and home detention from

that incident. {R. 1446 |. 3 - 1455 |. 6}. During that time he tested positive for marijuana,

had another burglary 2 charge, and was charged with driving under suspension and

operating an uninsured vehicle. {R. 1482 |. 1 - 1484 |. 14; 1488 Il. 5-17}.

While in jail awaiting trial, prison staff caught Shafer with contraband, including a

green leafy substance as well as cigarettes and a lighter. {R. 1460 |. 3 - 1464 |. 22; 1478

|. 7 - 1480 |. 15}. Shafer also was charged with simple assault after he angrily confronted

a prison guard who turned off the outside phones at the end of recreation period. {R. 1466

1. 12 - 1471 I. 17}.

Robert Newton, who was in county jail with Shafer, testified that when Shafer told

him about shooting Broome he did not seem bothered by it. According to Newton, Shafer

Said that when Broome saw Shafer pointing the gun at him, he just looked back down at

a Clipboard. Shafer took this as a “smart comment’, and fired the pistol. {R. 1490 |. 5 -

1493 |. 13}.

The state also presented testimony from various emergency personnel about the

unsuccessful efforts to save Broome and the gut-wrenching ordeal of informing his family.

{R. 1502 |. 17 - 1514 |. 20}. Broome’s wife and son also testified about their loss. {R.

1551 |. 9 - 1576 |. 24}.

In mitigation, Shafer presented relatives and neighbors who generally testified about

mental and physical abuse Shafer and his sister suffered at the hands of their father,

Ricky. {R. 1577 |. 19 - 1609 |. 25; 1650 |. 1 - 1680 I. 13; 1789 I. 1 - 1808 I. 10; 1850 1. 16 -

1861 |. 25}. Dr. Patrick Goldsmith, a psychologist, testified about Shafer’s alleged abuse,

substance use, and resulting impulse control problems. He diagnosed Shafer with

depression, and felt there was a “probability” he suffered post traumatic stress disorder in

early childhood. {R. 1615 |. 17 - 1644 |. 10}. |

Also testifying for Shafer was Lt. Col. David Grossman, who has a master's degree

in psychology and who is the self-anointed founder of the discipline of “killology”.

Grossman theorized that years of abuse, watching violent movies, and playing violent video

games had conditioned Shafer much in the “stimulus-response” manner which the military

uses to train soldiers to kill the enemy. Thus, he generally asserted that Shafer had a

“conditioned response” where if a target such as Broome presented himself, it would be

“extraordinarily difficult” for Shafer not to shoot. {R. 1681 |. 23 - 1786 I. 19}.

In reply, the state presented testimony about one of the video games played by

Shafer and discussed by Grossman. The witness stated that although a player got points

by shooting bad guys, the player lost a life if he shot the “innocent townsfolk.” {R. 1865 I.

6 - 18701. 20}. ©

R | N Y Tl

I. Since under South Carolina’s sentencing scheme there was legally available to

Petitioner a definite term sentence as an alternative to death and life without parole,

the South Carolina Supreme Court properly ruled that Simmons v. South Carolina

was not triggered; in any event, the state did not rely on Petitioner’s future

dangerousness.

| The statutory possibility that Appellant could have received a 30-year mandatory

minimum sentence precludes the claim that the trial judge should have charged the

sentencing jury that Appellant would get life without parole [“LWOP”] if the jury did not

recommend death. In the alternative, the rule in Simmons v. South Carolina was not

triggered because the prosecution did not rely on Petitioner's future dangerousness.

A. How the federal question was raised and decided below

1. Events at trial

At trial, the state sought an in liminie motion that parole ineligibility could not be

mentioned under Simmons v. South Carolina because the state had not made future

dangerousness at issue. Defense counsel first argued that the state could not use

evidence of Appellant's character without using it for future dangerousness. The court

found that as of yet, future dangerousness had not been argued, so he granted the state's

motion. {R. 1817 |. 17 - 1821 I. 9}.

After the court indicated that it was charging what it thought was applicable from the

murder statute, the defense made a motion to read from section 16-3-20. The court

denied this motion. The court granted the defense’s request to charge life in prison means

“until death of the offender.” See S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-20 (Supp. 1998). {R. 1836 I. 14 -

1843 |. 15}.

After the solicitor's sentencing phase closing argument, the defense argued that

under Simmons future dangerousness was raised when the solicitor echoed the statement

of one of those who found the victim, that “they might come back, they might come back.”

The solicitor stated he was merely arguing general deterrence, and the court agreed. {R.

1893 |. 23 - 1894 |. 10}.

The trial court then charged the jury as follows:

THE COURT: | tell you that life imprisonment means until death of the

defendant.

** *

In deciding whether to sentence the defendant to death or life

imprisonment, | remind you that death means just what it says, death. Life

imprisonment means incarceration of the defendant until his death.

{R. 1919 il. 15-16; 1926 Il. 12-15}.

Finally, during deliberation the jury sent a note asking the following two questions:

(1) Is there any remote chance for someone convicted of murder to become

eligible for parole?

(2) Under what conditions would someone convicted for murder be eligible?

The state argued that under the Simmons v. South Carolina and its progeny, parole

ineligibility does not need to be charged even if someone is parole ineligible, unless future

dangerousness is argued. In response, defense counsel admitted that the “until death of

the offender” language was an appropriate “baseline,” and stipulated that the second

question could not be answered. The defense further contended that since section 16-3-

20 explained life imprisonment beyond “until death of the offender,” then it should be

10

charged to the jury. Asserting that under the present 16-3-20 there are three clear options

for the jury, the defense stated that it thought the jury should be charged that if they find

an aggravator, Appellant would receive life without parole. Finally, Appellant argued that

the judge should not include “parole eligibility is not for your consideration” in its response

to the jury's question. The trial court ultimately charged the following:

Section 16-3-20 of our Code of Laws as applies to this case in the

process we're in, states that, quote, for the purposes of this section life

imprisonment means until the death of the offender, end quote.

Parole eligibility or ineligibility is not for your consideration.

{R. 1937 |. 22 - 1954 |. 13}.

2. The direct appeal to the South Carolina Supreme Court

In State v. Shafer, the South Carolina Supreme Court addressed the due process

claim for a parole ineligibility charge as follows:

Appellant argues he was entitled to a charge on parole ineligibility

after the solicitor placed his future dangerousness in issue. He contends

Simmons mandates a parole ineligibility instruction and refusal to give the

charge violated his right to due process. We disagree.

Whent. :ate places the defendant's future dangerousness at issue

and the only available alternative sentence to the death penalty is life

imprisonment without parole, due process entitles the defendant to inform

the jury he is parole ineligible. [Simmons v. South Carolina]; State v.

Williams, 321 S.C. 327, 468 S.E.2d 626 (1996). Due process is violated

when the State "raise[s] the specter of [the defendant's] future

dangerousness generally, but then thwart{[s] all efforts by [the defendant] to

demonstrate that, contrary to the prosecutor's intimations, he never would be

released on parole and thus, in his view, would not pose a future danger to

society." Simmons, 512 U.S. at 165 (1994) (plurality opinion).

Appellant was tried under the new sentencing scheme which became

effective on January 1, 1996. S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-20 (Supp. 1998). Under

the new sentencing scheme, a defendant can be sentenced to (1) death, (2)

life without the possibility of parole, or (3) a mandatory minimum thirty year

sentence. We recently held Simmons is inapplicable under the new

sentencing scheme because life without the possibility of parole is not the

only legally available sentence alternative to death. State v. Starnes, Op. No.

25119 (S.C.Sup.Ct. filed May 8, 2000) (Shearouse Adv.Sh. No. 18 at 17).

[FN7]

[FN7] In Starnes, we suggested, under the terms of the statute,

it is arguable that a defendant could be sentenced to more

than thirty years and be eligible for parole after service of thirty

years. For purposes of this discussion, we assume appellant

was parole ineligible.

Accordingly, appellant's due process rights were not violated by the trial

judge's refusal to instruct the jury appellant was parole ineligible.

Appellant argues Simmons mandates a charge on parole ineligibility

when the State argues future dangerousness and the jury's sentencing

recommendation is limited to death or life without the possibility of parole,

even though some other sentence is available. We do not read Simmons so

narrowly. By its own terms, Simmons requires the trial judge instruct the jury

the defendant is parole ineligible only if no other sentence than death, other

than life without the possibility of parole, is legally available to the defendant.

Simmons, U.S. at 178 (O'Connor, J., concurring) (“[a}ithough the only

alternative sentence to death under state law was life imprisonment without

the possibility of parole...".) (emphasis added). This interpretation is

supported by decisions from other jurisdictions. Ramdass v. Angelone, 187

F.3d 396 (4th Cir.1999) (Simmons is inapplicable if, at time of sentencing

proceeding, defendant is parole eligible under state law, hence where

judgment had yet to be entered for defendant's third murder conviction,

defendant was parole eligible under “three strikes” law); United Siates v.

Flores, 63 F.3d 1342 (5th Cir.1995), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 825, 117 S.Ct.

87, 136 L.Ed.2d 43 (1996) (because sentencing guidelines vest district court

with discretion to adjust life sentence downward, life sentence without

possibility of parole is not only legal sentence other than death which

defendant might receive and, therefore Simmons is inapplicable); Aliridge v.

Scott, 41 F.3d 213 (Sth Cir.1994), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1108, 115 S.Ct.

1959, 131 L.Ed.2d 851 (1995) (Simmons applies where capital defendant is

ineligible for parole as a matter of law; Simmons does not apply even if it is

unlikely defendant would be paroled); People v. Simpson, 172 lll.2d 117, 216

ili.Dec. 671, 665 N.E.2d 1228 (lll.), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 982, 117 S.Ct.

436, 136 L.Ed.2d 334 (1996) (Simmons inapplicable where capital defendant

is statutorily eligible for a sentence less than natural life imprisonment); State

v. McLaughlin, 341 N.C. 426, 462 S.E.2d 1 (N.C.1995), cert. denied, 516

U.S. 1133, 116 S.Ct. 956, 133 L.Ed.2d 879 (1996) (Simmons inapplicable

where alternative to death is not life imprisonment without possibility of

12

parole). At the time appeliant's jury began its deliberations, three alternative

sentences were available. Since one of these alternatives to death was not

life without the possibility of parole, Simmons was inapplicable.

State v. Shafer, Op. No. 25120, 2000 W.L. 576189, *4-*5 (S.C. filed May 8”, 2000).

The Shafer court next ruled that Petitioner's Eighth Amendment claim for a parole

ineligibility charge was not preserved for appeal. In the alternative, Shafer found a parole

ineligibility charge was not required “mitigating evidence" under Skipper v. South Carolina,

476 U.S. 1(1986), and, as a matter of state law, parole ineligibility “remain{ed] an irrelevant

factor which the jury should not consider”. State v. Shafer, Op. No. 25120, 2000 W.L.

576189, *5-*6 (S.C. filed May 8”, 2000).

Shafer also addressed Petitioner's state law bases for his claim that after the jury's

question the trial court should have charged Petitioner was parole ineligible. Shafer first

noted that absent a Simmons issue, a jury's inquiry about parole should be handled iri

accordance with State v. Norris, 285 S.C. 86, 328 S.E.2d 339 (1985), which requires: (1)

| a charge that death and life imprisonment should be understood in their plain and ordinary

meaning, and (2) a charge that parole eligibility should not be considered. State v. Shafer,

Op. No. 25120, 2000 W.L. 576189, *6 (S.C. filed May 8”, 2000). The court reiterated that

Petitioner could possibly receive one of three possible sentences at the time of sentencing,

and recognized that the jury's question meant it “was attempting to ascertain the length of

time appellant would realistically spend in prison if sentenced to life imprisonment”. Id. at

*6. Thus, the court concluded:

Informing the jury that appellant was parole ineligible when, unbeknownst to

the jury, he faced a possible sentence of thirty years imprisonment after

which he would be unconditionally released would not have fairly responded

to the jury's inquiry.

13

Next, Shafer rejected Petitioner's claim that parole eligibility was suggested by the

judge's charge, “parole eligibility or ineligibility is not for your consideration”. The court

noted that unlike the charges in Simmons, this instruction “specifically informed the jury not

to consider either parole eligibility or ineligibility and, therefore, did not imply appellant was

parole eligible”. State v. Shafer, Op. No. 25120, 2000 W.L. 576189, *6 (S.C. filed May 8”.

2000).

Finally, Shafer disagreed with Petitioner's contention that portions of the sentencing

statute highlighted below be read to the jury to define life imprisonment, because: (1) the

Court had determined parole eligibility or ineligibility were not proper considerations for the

jury, and (2) “the highlighted text provides the jury with only those portions Petitioner

deems favorable but excludes any reference to other less favorable sentencing options”.

State v. Shafer, Op. No. 25120, 2000 W.L. 576189, *6 (S.C. filed May 8”, 2000). :

In State v. Starnes, the companion case to Shafer, the court discussed with more

detail its rejection of a similar Simmons claim. State v. Starnes, Op. No. 25119, 2000 W.L.

576191 (S.C. filed May 8", 2000). Starnes concluded that “the rationale for Simmons

simply does not exist when there is a potential mandatory minimum thirty year sentence”,

because unlike a sentence of LWOP, “a mandatory minimum thirty year sentence does not

rebut the State’s argument regarding the defendant's threat to society”. Starnes, Op. No.

25119, 2000 W.L. 576191, *9.

Finally, Starnes rejected the claim that the jury, after just convicting the defendant

of two murders, therefore necessarily was going to find the aggravating factor that “two or

more persons were murdered by the defendant by one act or pursuant to one scheme or

14

course of conduct”. The court found it “inappropriate to assume the jury would find an

aggravating circumstance” beyond a reasonable doubt, and thus concluded that “a

potential mandatory minimum thirty year sentence existed” precluding the need for a parole

ineligibility charge. Id. at *9.

B. Unlike the South Carolina’s old sentencing scheme addressed in

Simmons v. South Carolina, which provided for parole eligibility for

murderers sentenced to life, the sentencing scheme under which

Petitioner was tried provided for three options: death, life without

parole, and a mandatory minimum sentence of at least thirty years.

The statutory possibility that Petitioner could have received a 30-year mandatory

minimum sentence preciudes the claim that the trial judge should have charged the

sentencing jury that Appeliant would get life without parele [“LVW/OP”] if the jury did not

recommend death.

Previously, Simmons issues arose in the context of the old South Carolina penalty

scheme for capital murder cases. Under the old law, if the jury found no aggravating

factors in the penalty phase, the defendant received life in prison with a 20-year parole

eligibility. If the jury found aggravating circumstances but did not recommend the death

penalty, the defendant received life with a 30-year parole eligibility. See S.C. Code Ann.

§ 16-3-20 (Supp. 1995).

in Simmons itself, the defendant pied guilty to a number of violent crimes prior to

his death penalty trial. Therefore, regardless of whether the jury found aggravating

circumstances, Simmons was ineligible for parole under South Carolina's section 24-21-

640, because that section preciudes parole for those with a second conviction for a violent

crime. See 512 U.S. at 156. The trial court prevented Simmons from mentioning parole

15

during voir dire, and denied the defense's request for a LWOP charge. 512 U.S. 159-61.

During closing, the solicitor argued future dangerousness as a justification for imposition

of the death penalty on Simmons. 512 U.S. at 157, 176. After the jury inquired of the

judge whether a life sentence carried the possibility of parole, the judge gave a charge that

(1) death and life imprisonment should be considered in their plain and ordinary meaning,

and (2) parole eligibility was not for the jury's consideration. The jury then returned a death

sentence. 512 U.S. at 160.

Both the plurality and concurring opinions in Simmons first recognized that states

still retain discretion in determining whether parole eligibility is an appropriate consideration

for the sentencing jury. 512 U.S. at 168, 176 (both opinions citing California v. Ramos, 463

U.S. 992 (1983)). However, Simmons held that due process prevented the state from

creating “a false dilemma by advancing generalized arguments regarding the defendant's

future dangerousness while, at the same time, preventing the jury from learning that the

defendant will never be released on parole.” 512 U.S. at 171. Simmons has thus been

read to establish a two-part test for triggering of its mandate:

- (1) the state must the defendant's future dangerousness at issue in the trial, and

(2) “the only available alternative sentence to the death penalty is [LWOP].”

See Simmons, 512 U.S. at 169 (plurality opinion); 512 U.S. at 177 (concurring opinion).

The present penalty scheme for capital murder is different from the one at issue

when Simmons was decided. Under the present South Carolina Code section 16-2-30, if

the jury in a capital case fails to find any aggravating circumstances, the trial court has

discretion to sentence the defendant to either a mandatory minimum term of 30 years, or

LWOP. Pursuant to sections 24-13-100 and -125, no part of the finite term sentence can

16

be reduced by parole. If the murder defendant had at least one prior conviction of a “most

Serious offense," then the defendant must be sefitenced to life without parole. S.C. Code

Ann. § 17-25-45 (Supp. 1997). !f the defendant has at least two prior convictions of a

“serious offense,” then solicitors in their discretion could seek a LWOP sentence. S.C.

Code Ann. § 17-25-45 (Supp. 1997).'

If, on the other hand, the jury finds aggravating circumstances but does not

recommend a death sentence, then the trial court must sentence the defendant to LWOP.

Of course, the jury can recommend a death sentence only if it finds aggravating factors.

S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-20 (Supp. 1997).

_ C. This Court's recent decision in Ramdass v. Angelone.

Brief review of this Court's decision in Ramdass v. Angelone is necessary to

address the issues raised by Petitioner. In Ramdass, this Court reviewed in federal

habeas corpus a capital murder defendant's claim that he was entitled to a parole

ineligibility charge because of his ineligibility under the state's “three-strikes” law. At the

time of his capital sentencing proceeding, Ramdass had been convicted of a qualifying

prior crime, but the judge had not entered a final judgment of conviction as required by

State law. During the capital sentencing proceeding, the jurors inquired about the

availability of parole, but the trial court told them they “are not to concern [them]selves with

what may happen afterwards”. 120 S.Ct. 2113, 2117-20 (2000).

The Ramdass plurality made a number of points in rejecting the claim for a

" A murder defendant sentenced to LWOP under section 17-25-45 could still get

a pardon for geriatric, health, or other extraordinary reasons. S.C. Code Ann. § 17-25-

45(E) (Supp. 1997).

17

—-

Simmons parole ineligibility charge:

(1) “States have some discretion in determining the extent to which a

sentencing jury should be advised of probable future custody and parole

Status in a future dangerousness case, subject to the rule of Simmons.”

Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2119, 2121.

(2) Simmons has not been “extended to cases where parole ineligibility has

not been established as a matter of state law af the time of the jury's future

dangerousness deliberations in a capital case.” Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2119

(emphasis added).

(3) A Simmons instruction is not required unless it is legally accurate, and in

Simmons, the defendant had “conclusively established” his parole eligibility

at the time of sentencing. Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2120 (emphasis added).

(4) A “functional approach”, under which the court would attempt to “evaluate

the probability of future events”, is “neither necessary nor workable” under

Simmons. Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2121.

(5S) A parole ineligibility charge is of “uncertain materiality’, and can be

overcome if a jury concludes the defendant may escape, be pardoned,

benefit from a change in state laws, or be dangerous to society in prison.

Thus, the Virginia state courts had “good reason not to extend Simmons

beyond the circumstances of that case”. Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2122.

The plurality rejected Ramdass's claim because his parole ineligibility was not conclusively

established under state law. It refused to engage in a “functional approach” and predict

that Ramdass would inevitably become parole ineligible, and found that entry of judgment

was not a mere ministerial act, in part because of the availability of post-trial motions. 120

S.Ct. at 2119-26.

Justice O'Connor concurred with the Ramdass plurality. After noting the more

restrictive federal habeas corpus scope of review, she concluded: (1) the Court looks to

State law to determine parole eligibility, (2) while the defendant in Simmons “conclusively

established” his parole ineligibility, Ramdass had not, (3) the entry of judgment requirement

under state law was not ministerial, or inevitable foreordained under state law, and (4)

18

Simmons does not require state courts to estimate the likelihood of future contingencies.

Thus, Justice O'Connor reasoned that LWOP was not the “only available alternative” to

death, and Simmons was inapplicable. Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2126-28.

D. Since no other statutory provision required that Petitioner be

sentenced to life without parole if not sentenced to death, then

Petitioner could have received as little as a definite term sentence of

thirty years; thus, life without parole was not the only available

alternative sentence, and Simmons was inapplicable.

Since there was legally available to Petitioner a potential alternative sentence to

death other than LWOP, that prong of Simmons is not met. The LWOP provisions in

section 17-25-45 were not triggered in this case. {R. 1940 Il. 21-25; 1949 Il. 15-21}. Thus,

depending on the findings of the jury on the sentencing phase, Appellant faced three

possible sentencing alternatives: 30 years, LWOP, or death.

South Carolina and other jurisdictions in interpreting Simmons have held that it does

not apply, even if the solicitor argues future dangerousness, unless the only other

altemative to a death sentence is life without the possibility of parole. See, e.g. State v.

Byram, 326 S.C. 107, 485 S.E.2d 360 (1997); State v. Williams, 321 S.C. 327, 337, 468

S.E.2d 626, 632 (1996). See also State v. Simpson, 325 S.C. 37, 479 S.E.2d 57 (1996),

cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1277 (1997). These cases were decided under the old South

Carolina scheme, where a life sentence had various terms before parole eligibility uniess

the defendant had a LWOP-qualifying prior record. See also People v. Simpson, 665

N.E.2d 1228 (Ill. 1996); State v. Chapman, 464 S.E.2d 661 (N.C. 1995); Smith v. State,

898 S.W.2d 838 (Tex. Crim. App. 1995). While this case involves different circumstances,

the fact remains that Appellant had a sentencing alternative other than death or LWOP.

19

Petitioner asserts that the South Carolina Supreme Court took the “only available

alternative to death” language out of context in Justice O'Connor's concurring opinion and

mistook it for the holding of Simmons. Petition for Certiorari p. 16. Petitioner is incorrect.

Both the plurality in Simmons and Ramdass used or recognized the “alternative sentence”

language. Simmons, 512 U.S. at 169 (plurality uses “alternative sentence to death is

[LWOP]” language in its staternent of the holding): 512 U.S. at 177 (concurring opinion

uses “only available alternative sentence to death” language). See also Ramdass, 120

S.Ct. at 2120 (plurality cites with approval Justice O'Connor's “only available alternative

sentence” language); 120 S.Ct. at 2126 (Justice O'Connor reiterates her “only available

alternative sentence” language in the concurring opinion). Indeed, even the Ramdass

dissent used Justice O'Connor's “only available alternative sentence” language in its

statement of the Simmons rule, 120 S.Ct. at 2135, and Justice O’Connor stated:

In Simmons v. South Carolina . . ., a majority of the Court held that “where

the State puts the defendant's future dangerousness at issue, and the only

available alternative sentence to death is life imprisonment without the

possibility of parole, due process entitles the defendant to inform the capital

sentencing jury . . . that he is parole ineligible’.

Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2126 (emphasis).? See also Keel v. French, 162 F.2d 263 (4" Cir.

2 It is Petitioner, however, that takes statements in Ramdass out of context when

he quotes the plurality’s explanation of the holding of Simmons. See Brief of Petitioner p.

18 (stating: “Later, Justice Kennedy elaborated on this point, observing that under

Simmons, a “parole-ineligibility instruction is required only when, assuming the jury fixes

the sentence at life, the defendant is ineligible for parole under state law."). Justice

Kennedy was merely describing Simmons's applicability to a scheme where a life sentence

carried the possibility of parole unless the defendant's prior record precluded parole. A

similar scheme existed under Virginia law in Ramdass. Justice Kennedy was not

addressing a scheme like the one present in this case, where a mandatory minimum

definite term sentence was a third option to LWOP and death. As such, Justice Kennedy's

statements cannot be read in isolation to preclude the state's argument here.

20

1998) (recognizing Justice O’Connor’s concurring opinion in Simmons as a statement of

-______the case's holding).

Of course, resolution of a Simmens claim in this case depends on making an

~ analogy between a life sentence with the possibility of parole under the old South Carolina

scheme (which was present in Simmons), and a definite mandatory minimum sentence

under the new penalty scheme (which is present in this case). Such an analogy is

appropriate. The concern in Simmons was that the solicitor had created a “false dilemma

by advancing generalized arguments regarding the defendant's future dangerousness

while, at the same time, preventing the jury from learning that the defendant will never be

released on parole.” 512 U.S. at 171. As held in United States v. Flores, 63 F.3d 1342 (5"

Cir. 1995), it does not matter whether the “false dilemma” is avoided by the presence of

a life sentence with parole, or whether it is avoided because the defendant could potentially

receive a sentence of a definite term. The fact remains that another legally available

option existed besides death and LWOP. The mechanism by which Petitioner could be

released, either parole or expiration of a definite term, is irrelevant because release is

inherent in either type of sentence, and the “false dilemma” of a future dangerousness

argument only exists where the defendant will never be released. See Ramdass v.

Angelone, 120 S.Ct. 2113, 2135 (2000) (“If the State argues that the defendant will be a

future danger to society, it quite plainly rebuts that argument to point out that the defendant

. will never be part of society again.” (Stevens, J., dissenting) (emphasis added);

Starnes, Op. No. 25119, 2000 W.L. 576191, *9 (unlike a sentence of LWOP, “a mandatory

> Cf. Flores, 63 F.3d at 1366-68 (discussing a Simmons claim in the context of

whether a definite term sentence existed as an alternative to LWOP).

21

ae

i

minimum thirty year sentence does not rebut the State’s argument regarding the

defendant's threat to society”).“

Other cases have ruled Simmons inapplicable under penalty schemes and

situations similar to this one. In United States v. Flores, 63 F.3d 1342 (5" Cir. 1995), co-

defendant Juan Garza faced a capital trial in federal court for a number of murders related

to drug trafficking. The evidence against Garza showed that he either contracted for or

participated in the murders of three men. 63 F.3d at 1351-52. Garza requested the jury

be instructed that LWOP was the only alternative sentence, but the trial court instead told

the jury that, if the jury did not recommend death, the court could impose either LWOP or

another sentence. 63 F.3d at 1367. Under 21 U.S.C. § 848(e), the court could sentence

the defendant to “any term of imprisonment” from 20 years to LWOP, assuming the jury

did not recommend death. In addition to some mitigators, Garza’s jury found first-tier

aggravators, second-tier aggravators, and non-statutory aggravators, including that Garza

premeditated and planned the killings, that he participated in a contract killing, and that he

was also responsible for five more killings. Flores, 63 F.3d at 1366-67.

In challenging his death sentence, Garza argued that if the jury did not return a

death sentence, the trial court would have had no choice but to impose LWOP. According

to Garza, a comment in the Federal Sentencing Guidelines necessarily and expressly

prevented the trial court from imposing a lower sentence than LWOP, because the jury

* Similarly, this Court in Simmons noted that the “false dilemma” was not created

when the prosecution was merely arguing that the defendant was be dangerous in the

future to other inmates and prison staff, because obviously whether the defendant will get

out of prison is irrelevant to such a future dangerousness argument. See Simmons, 512

U.S. at 165 n.5 (plurality opinion); 512 U.S. at 177(O’Connor, J., concurring).

22

found as an aggravator that he intentionally killed his victims. Garza also argued that

certain enumerated factors authorizing lower sentences in the Federal Sentencing

Guidelines, were not present in his case. Thus, Garza asserted Simmons was triggered

because the trial judge would have to give a LWOP sentence if the jury did not recommend

death. Flores, 63 F.3d at 1367-68.

In rejecting this argument, the Flores decision stated:

However, assuming without deciding that the jury's findings of

intentional killing would be binding on the sentencing judge and therefore

prevent a downward departure, the court could not predict before the jury

begins its [sentencing phase] deliberation whether it is going to find the

necessary intent. Thus, when the attorneys make their final arguments in the

penalty phase and when the court gives its penalty instructions, no one

would know whether life imprisonment would be the only permissible

sentence.

63 F.3d at 1368 (emphasis added). Moreover, the court also conciuded that the general

discretionary mitigator in the Sentencing Guidelines at least remotely left open the

possibility of a lesser sentence. Thus, Flores rejected the Simmons claim because LWOP

was not the only alternative sentence legally available. Flores, 63 F.3d at 1368.°

Like Garza, Petitioner also had a sentencing alternative other than death. At the

time the attorneys gave their penalty phase eupenesta and the judge gave his penalty

phase charge, no one could have conclusively predicted whether the jury would find a

> In People v. Simpson, 665 N.E.2d 1228 (Ill. 1996), the court also rejected a similar

argument. The defendant on appeal claimed the trial judge erred by only instructing the

jury that the court would impose some other sentence on the defendant if the jury did not

return a death sentence. The Simpson court noted that an LWOP instruction would be

required in a multiple murder situation where under statutory law LWOP would be the only

alternative sentence. Thus, the court held Simmons inapplicable because the defendant,

who only killed one person, was statutorily eligible for a sentence other than LWOP. 665

N.E.2d at 1244-45.

23

necessary aggravator. Therefore, it was impossible to know whether LWOP would be the

only possible alternative sentence until after the jury's penalty phase verdict. !f the jury had

not found an aggravator, then Appellant could have received a sentence as low as 30

years. Accordingly, he had a /egally available sentence besides death and LWOP, and

thus Simmons is inapplicable.

This Court similarly rejected a “functional” approach to Simmons in Ramdass. Both

the plurality and concurring opinions found it neither “necessary [njor workable” for trial

courts to “evaluate the probability of future events” in order to determine Simmons's

applicability. Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2121, 2127-28. Similarly, in this case a trial court

would have to evaluate the future likelihood that the jury would find an aggravator beyond

a reasonable doubt. Unlike the Ramdass plurality, concurrence, and dissent'’s

disagreement over the effect of entry of judgment under Virginia law, a jury's duty to make

factual findings beyond a reasonable doubt can hardly be termed to be “ministerial” or

“inevitable and foreordained”. Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2123, 2127. As such, Simmons is

inapplicable.

Appellant dismisses the argument that another sentence was available by noting the

jury only decides between life and death, and the jury makes no sentencing

recommendation if it fails to find an aggravator. It is generally true that the sentencing jury

makes an either/or selection. Cf. State v. Norris, 285 S.C. 86, 95, 328 S.E.2d 339, 344

(1985). Again, it does not matter whether the Simmons “false dilemma’ is avoided by the

presence of a life sentence with parole, or whether it is avoided because the defendant

could potentially receive a sentence of a definite term.

Further, the test for other available alternative sentences to death other than LWOP

24

is at the time of sentencing. Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2119 (Simmons has not been

“extended to cases where parole ineligibility has not been established as a matter of state

law at the time of the jury's future dangerousness deliberations in a capital case.”) (plurality

opinion, emphasis added). It cannot be challenged that at the time of Petitioner's

sentencing, a lesser definite term sentence was legally available to Petitioner under South

Carolina state law.

Indeed, Appellant seeks to create within the jurors a sort of reverse-Simmons “false

sense of security,” that if they fail to return a death sentence, LWOP will be imposed. This

is inaccurate, unfair to the state, and not constitutionally required. See Ramdass v.

Angelone, 120 S.Ct. 2113, 2120 (2000) (“In this case, a Simmons instruction would not

have been accurate under the law.”); Simmons 512 U.S. at 161-62 (“grievous

misperception [about LWOP] was encouraged by the trial court's refusal to provide

accurate information regarding petitioner's parole eligibility) (emphasis added); Gregg v.

Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 190 (1976) (Eighth Amendment requires provision of “accurate”

sentencing information); State v. Shafer, Op. No. 25120, 2000 W.L. 576189, *6 (S.C. filed

May 8", 2000) (“Informing the jury that appellant was parole ineligible when, unbeknownst

to the jury, he faced a possible sentence of thirty years imprisonment after which he would

be unconditionally released would not have fairly responded to the jury's inquiry.”).

Moreover, even though the jury only chooses between LWOP or death if it finds an

aggravator, the jury's findings still ultimately drive which one of the three sentencing

options is available to the defendant, as only if the jury fails to return an aggravator does

® Further, defense counsel conceded at trial that “juries from May 30", 1996 have

three options in the state of South Carolina.” {R. 1949 Il. 15-21}.

25

the mandatory minimum thirty year sentence become a possibility. In South Carolina,

when the murder defendant seeks a jury trial, the jurors decide whether aggravating factors

are present. State v. Smith, 298 S.C. 482, 381 S.E.2d 724 (1989) (“In determining whether

to submit an aggravating circumstance to the jury, the trial court is concerned only with the

existence of evidence, not its weight.”), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1060 (1990); State v.

Kornahrens, 290 S.C. 281, 350 S.E.2d 180 (1986) (“The trial judge must submit to the jury

those aggravating circumstances are supported by the evidence.”), cert. denied, 480 US.

940 (1987).’ Petitioner asked for and got his jury trial; it is speculative and would make the

jury's role in determining aggravating factors irrelevant to contend that at the time of the

charge only death and LWOP were available. See State v. Starnes, Op. No. 25119, 2000

W.L. 576191 (S.C. filed May 8”, 2000) (“inappropriate” to assume jury will necessarily find

existence of an aggravator beyond a reasonable doubt). Moreover, Simmons is not

triggered when the defendant's entitlement to a third sentencing alternative depends on

resolution of a matter of fact.*

” See also S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-20(B) (Supp. 1997) (“The [sentencing]

proceeding must be conducted by the trial judge before the trial jury... . If trial by jury has

been waived by the defendant and the State, or if the defendant pleaded guilty, the

sentencing proceeding must be conducted before the judge.”).

® in Allridge v. Scott, 41 F.3d 213 (5" Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1040 (1989)

the court rejected a Simmons claim from a defendant who was technically eligible for

parole. The defendant claimed error in (1) the failure of the trial court to admit expert

testimony that a Texas parole board “almost certainly” would consider the defendant

ineligible for parole, and (2) the judge's failure to so charge the jury. Scott noted that

Simmons requires that the defendant's parole ineligibility turn on a matter of law, NOT a

matter of fact. Thus, the court concluded:

A capital defendant's parole ineligibility must be a matter of law because

evidence of such ineligibility is inherently “truthful”... . Butif a defendant's

parole ineligibility is a matter of fact, i.e. the defendant probably will not

26

Admittedly, Petitioner's counsel did argue to the jury that “you're going to find a

statutory aggravator.” {R. 1915 Il. 9-14}. However, Appellant did NOT concede the

aggravator as a matter of law. Instead, the jury was instructed of its duty to find an

aggravator beyond a reasonable doubt and that it should stop further deliberation if it failed

to so find. {R. 1920 il. 8-10; 1923 Il. 13-16; 1927 Il. 18-21; 1928 |. 23 - 1929 |. 5}. Thus,

like Flores, at the time the judge charged the jury, the definite term sentence was still a

possibility, and LWOP was not the only legally available alternative sentence to death. Cf.

also State v. Mitts, 690 N.E.2d 522, 528-29 (Ohio 1998) (rejecting Simmons argument that

trial judge erred in failing to answer jury's question whether two life sentences would be

served consecutively, and noting, “[defense] counsel's argument that it was unrealistic to

think that the trial judge would impose concurrent sentences here is speculative.”). As

such, and like Ramdass, Petitioner has not “conclusively established” that LWOP was the

only available alternative sentence to death at the time of sentencing. Ramdass, 120 S.Ct.

at 2120. Simmons is not triggered.

Of course, the practical effect of such a rule is that solicitors may argue future

dangerousness without the necessity of an LWOP charge, unless the 1 WOP-qualifying

“serious offenses” or “most serious offenses” trigger South Carolina Code section 17-25-

45. Petitioner contends that the South Carolina Supreme Court has ruled Simmons

be eligible for parole, then the evidence is purely speculative (maybe

even inherently “untruthful”) and therefore cannot positively deny future

dangerousness.

Scott, 41 F.3d at 21-22 (emphasis added). Just like Scott, whether Petitioner was eligible

for a mandatory minimum 30-year sentence depended on his jury's resolution of a matter

of fact.

27

ee

bownte*

inapplicable to its sentencing scheme. However, the state court's result is no different than

what existed under the old South Carolina scheme, as even under the statutory scheme

in Simmons itself solicitors could argue future dangerousness without an LWOP charge,

unless the defendant had a prior “violent crime” making him ineligible for parole under

South Carolina Code section 24-21-640. In this case, Simmons is inapplicable unless the

defendant's prior record qualifies him for LWOP under section 17-25-45. In both the

Simmons situation and the present situation, it is the defendant's prior record that controls

the applicability of Simmons, and there is no material difference between the situations.

In its brief to the South Carolina Supreme Court in this case, the state raised a

number of practical problems if the court extended Simmons to Petitioner's case. Brief of

Respondent pp. 36-38. Similarly, the plurality in Ramdass noted that a parole ineligibility

charge is of “uncertain materiality”, and can be overcome if a jury concludes the defendant

may escape, be pardoned, benefit from a change in state laws, or be dangerous to society

in prison. It noted that the possibility of peripheral litigation on LWOP issues could

legitimately lead a state to conclude the jury may be distracted. Thus, the Ramdass

plurality concluded that Virginia state courts had “good reason not to extend Simmons

beyond the circumstances of that case”, Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2121-22, and stated that

“States have some discretion in determining the extent to which a sentencing jury should

be advised of probable future custody and parole status in a future dangerousness case,

subject to the rule of Simmons.” Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2119, 2121.

The South Carolina Supreme Court ruled that “neither parole eligibility nor parole

ineligibility are proper considerations for the jury”. State v. Shafer, Op. No. 25120, 2000

W.L. 576189, *7 (S.C. filed May 8", 2000). Because evidence of parole ineligibility is of

28

—_

“uncertain materiality”, and because of the potential of practical problems and collateral

litigation in charging a jury under the new sentencing scheme, South Carolina similarly had

good reason not to extend Simmons beyond the circumstances of that case.

E. The prosecution did not argue future dangerousness; thus, the rule

in Simmons was not triggered.

As noted before, the Simmons test requires that both prange be present for its rule

to attach. Thus, if the solicitor did not argue future dangerousness, o Siemens cans is

not necessary. The trial judge repeatedly found that future dangerousness was not an

issue in this case. {R. 1820 |. 24 - 1821 |. 6; 1893 |. 23 - 1894 |. 10; 1896 Il. 18-22}.

As an initial matter, Petitioner seems to challenge the premise that future

dangerousness argument by the prosecution, or at least some express reliance on future

dangerousness by the prosecution, is necessary to satisfy first prong of the Simmons test.

Such a view is as odds with this Court's expression of the Simmons rule. See Ramdass,

120 S.Ct. at 2117 (plurality opinion) (state submitted to the jury a future dangerousness

aggravating circumstance); 120 S.Ct. at 2126 (concurring opinion) (noting that the state

must seek “to demonstrate that the defendant poses a future danger to society”); 120 S.Ct.

at 2135 (dissenting opinion) (stating: “If the State argues that the defendant will be a future

danger to society, it quite plainly rebuts that argument to point out that the defendant .. .

will never be part of society again.”). See also Simmons, 512 U.S. at 162 (“grievous

misperception” encouraged by “state's repeated suggestion that petitioner would pose a

future danger to society); 512 U.S. at 163 (prosecutors in South Carolina often emphasize

a defendant's future dangerousness in their evidence and argument, and they urge the jury

to sentence the defendant to death so he will not be a danger to the public if released), 512

29

U.S. at 168-69 (“If the State rests its case for imposing the death penalty at least in part

on the premise that the defendant will be dangerous in the future . . .”).

If Petitioner is correct that the state raises future dangerousness by merely

introducing evidence in the sentencing phase about a murder defendant's past criminal

conduct and bad acts, then the first prong of Simmons would be superfluous and Simmons

would apply to every capital case where the only alternative sentence to death was LWOP.

Justice O'Connor flatly rejected such a view in Simmons: |

Likewise, if the prosecution does not argue future dangerousness, the State

may appropriately decide that parole is not a proper issue for the jury's

consideration even if the only alternative sentence to death” is LWOP.

512 U.S. at 175 (O'Connor, J., concurring). Similarly, the Simmons plurality also implied

that character, prior criminal history, and background are not the same thing as future

dangerousness. 512 U.S. at 164 (“The defendant's character, prior criminal history, mental

capacity, background, and age are just a few of the many factors, in addition to future

dangerousness, that a jury may consider in fixing punishment.” (Emphasis added)). See

also State v. Southerland, 316 S.C. 377, 387, 447 S.E.2d 862, 868 (1994) (rejecting a

Simmons claim by noting that the “solicitor specifically agreed not to argue [the

defendant's] future dangerousness”), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1166 (1995), and overruled

on other grounds by State v. Chapman, 317 S.C. 302, 524 S.E.2d 833 (1999); State v.

Young, 319 S.C. 33, 459 S.E.2d 84 (1994) (evidence of prior record and character relevant

in the sentencing phase without regard to future dangerousness, where no contention that

defendant should be sentenced to death because of future dangerousness); State v.

Williams, 468 S.E.2d 626, 321 S.C. 327 (1996). Along with South Carolina, Pennsylvania

has also noted the distinction that evidence of prior criminal conduct does not necessarily

30

raise future dangerousness. See, e.g. Commonwealth v. May, 710 A.2d 44, 47 (1998),

cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1078 (1999). :

Further, both the Simmons plurality and Justice O'Connor in concurrence

recognized that the state could legitimately argue that the defendant words be a future

danger to other inmates and prison staff, without triggering the rule in Simmons. 512 U.S.

at 165 n. 5; 512 U.S. at 177. Clearly, it is the use to which the prosecution puts the

evidence which triggers the rule in Simmons.

In this case, unlike Ramdass, future dangerousness was not submitted to the jury

as a Statutory aggravator. Unlike Simmons, the prosecution did call any mental health

experts to testify that Petitioner would likely be dangerous in the future. Despite this,

Petitioner points to a number of factors from which he asserts the state raised the issue

of future dangerousness.

First, Petitioner argues that the boilerplate language in the state’s Notice of

Evidence in Aggravation of the Punishment raises future dangerousness. Even if true, it

is irrelevant; no “false dilemma’ in violation of Simmons can arise from assertions in a

document which is never before the jury. Cf. Simmons, 512 U.S. at 171.

Next, Petitioner argues that the evidence that he had been involved in an incident

where some guys engaged in sex with two 12-year-old girls, as well as evidence that

Petitioner got into an altercation with a jail employee, raised the issue of future

dangerousness. In this case, the state did introduce evidence about Petitioner's past

conduct and prior criminal record. While the solicitor generically referred once to the jury's

right to consider Petitioner's character {R. 1885 Il. 6-7}, he never once referred to any of

31

Petitioner's past conduct or criminal record during his argument. As noted before, the state

was entitled to produce evidence of Petitioner's past criminal conduct and bad acts without

triggering Simmons, where it never expressly raised to the jury that Petitioner should be

sentenced to death because he might be a danger in the future.

Petitioner contends the solicitor did in fact argue future dangerousness when he

Stated:

Ladies and Gentlemen, one of the scariest things, certainly the crime,

certainly the video, but one of the scariest things | think about that second

video, the video where we saw the cash tape, the horror and all of the sound,

do you remember the girls that came in and when Jamie Palmer was saying

“Oh, God; Oh, God; Ray, Ray” and the girls were running in and out, we've

got to go, we've got to go, and | tell you what, I've listened to it. you've

listened to it, and you will have a chance again, but what is really etched in

my mind is Monica Inman. Remember Jamie picks up that phone and she's

calling 911, and Monica Inman says “Come on, Jamie. they might come

back, they might come back”.

Ladies and Gentlemen, you are the conscience of this community,

and your verdict does send a message to Union County, to the State. So

that the next time somebody with a pistol thinks about loading up, coming

across that river to Lockhart, over to Jonesville or out to Buffalo or anywhere

in this county, and they might come back, they might come back, they will

remember this day, and they will remember this jury, and they will remember

this verdict.

{R. 1891 |. 7 - 1892 |. 1}. Petitioner contends the reference to “they might come back"

raises future dangerousness. The first time the solicitor referred to the phrase, he was

describing the evidence. The second time is clearly part of a general deterrence argument,

not a future dangerousness argument. The “they” in the second paragraph obviously

refers to “the next time somebody thinks about loading up” and coming to Union County,

not Petitioner specifically.

It is elementary that a future dangerousness argument is a specific deterrence

32

argument. See, e.g. Coleman v. Brown, 802 F.2d 1227 (10" Cir. 1986) (future

dangerousness is relevant to specific deterrence); Brooks v. Kemp, 762 F.2d 1383 (11"

Cir. 1985) (future dangerousness is relevant to specific deterrence); State v. Rose, 451

S.E.2d 211 (N.C. 1994) (future dangerousness is a specific deterrence argument). There

is a distinction between specific deterrence and general deterrence arguments. State v.

Simmons, 310 S.C. 439, 445, 427 S.E.2d 175, 179 (1993), rev'd on other grounds, 512

U.S. 154 (1994). Thus, a general deterrence argument does not raise future

dangerousness.

Moreover, the arguments Appellant points to in Simmons which were held to raise

future dangerousness also only sought specific deterrence against the particular

defendant. In Simmons, the prosecutor told the jury its role was to decide “what to do with

[petitioner] now that he is in our midst”. The prosecutor also stated: “Your verdict should

be a response of society to someone who is a threat. Your verdict will be an act of self-

defense.” 512 U.S. at 176. The “someone” in Simmons was that particular defendant, not

some hypothetical future defendant as argued in this case.

The state was entitled to introduce Appellant's past conduct and prior record without

raising future dangerousness. Since the solicitor only argued general deterrence, and

never in fact referred to any of Appeliant’s prior record, the state never put future

dangerousness into issue. Accordingly, Simmons is not triggered, and certiorari should be

denied.

33

ll. The exclusion of evidence on the deterrent effect of the death penalty does not

violate due process where both the state and the defense have equal opportunity to

argue their respective views on the issue.

A. How the federal question was raised and decided below

1. Events at trial

At trial, the solicitor made the following argument during the sentencing phase:

Ladies and Gentlemen, you are the conscience of this community,

and your verdict does send a message to Union County, to the State. So

that the next time somebody with a pistol thinks about loading up, coming

across that river to Lockhart, over to Jonesville or out to Buffalo or anywhere

in this county, and they might come back, they might come back, they will

remember this day, and they will remember this jury, and they will remember

this verdict.

{R. 1891 |. 19 - 1892 |. 1}. After reminding the jury that the frightened witness who found

the victim stayed with him until help arrived, the prosecutor asked for similar courage from

the jury. The prosecutor then concluded:

Let everyone know this day in Union County justice was done in this case

that will send a message of how Union County handles a crime of this

nature.

{R. 1892 |. 2 - 1893 |. 6}.

Prior to defense closing argument, the defense moved to reopen the record to

present “issues of statistics and witnesses’ as to the death penalty’s deterrent value. The

defense = ‘cren that the solicitor had brought deterrence into issue, and it asked “for

time to present evidence to rebut that”. In the alternative, the defense requested an

instruction that the jury was to disregard the solicitor's references to “danger to the

community”. {R. 1894 Il. 11-23}.

After the solicitor pointed out South Carolina case law that allowed general

34

deterrence argument without the need for such evidence, the trial court ruled that “you

can't introduce [general deterrence] evidence, but you can argue it.” {R. 1895 Il. 18-21}.

2. Appeal

The South Carolina Supreme Court rejected this issue as follows:

in the penalty phase closing argument, the solicitor argued the death

penalty deters others from committing murder. Thereafter, appellant

requested the trial judge either reopen the case to allow him to present

statistical evidence the death penalty does not deter murder or, alternatively,

to instruct the jury to disregard the solicitor's comments regarding general

deterrence. The trial judge denied both requests. Appellant argues this was

error. We disagree.

in South Carolina, our case law is abundantly clear: while both the

prosecution and defense may argue their respective opinions regarding the

general deterrent effect of the death penalty, neither may present evidence

supporting their views. State v. George, 323 S.C. 496, 476 S.E.2d 903

(1996). Accordingly, the trial judge did not err by refusing appellant's request

to reopen the record for the purpose of presenting evidence on the deterrent

effect of the death penalty.

** *

Finally, in light of his freedom to argue capital punishment does not

discourage others from committing murder, appellant's due process was not

violated by the trial judge's denial of his request to present evidence on

general deterrence or charge the jury not to consider the deterrent effect of

the death penalty.

State v. Shafer, Op. No. 25120, 2000 W.L. 576189 (S.C. filed May 8", 2000).

B. Since Petitioner had as much an opportunity in argument to “deny

or explain” the general deterrent effect of the death penalty as the state

did to assert it, there was no violation of due process.

According to Petitioner, he is only raising the “narrow” claim that due process

requires evidence about the death penalty’s deterrent effect if the prosecutor argues

general deterrence. He relies on the general due process rule that a defendant may not

be sentenced to death “on the basis of information which he had no opportunity to deny

35

or explain”. Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349, 362 (1977). However, the even playing field

at Petitioner's trial precludes a successful due process claim.

South Carolina law is clear that either side may argue general deterrence, but no

side may introduce evidence on the issue. For example, State v. George, 323 S.C. 496,

476 S.E.2d 903 (1996), a unanimous court affirmed the trial judge’s rejection of a defense

witness called to testify about the deterrent effect of the death penalty. George reasoned

that since the propriety of capital punishment was for the legislature, and constitutionality

was for the courts, evidence regarding the deterrent effect of the death penalty was

irrelevant. More importantly, the court also stated:

However, counsel for both sides may argue their respective opinions

concerning the deterrent effect of capital punishment, but cannot introduce

specific data to corroborate their views.

George, 323 S.C. at 514, 476 S.E.2d at 914. See also State v. Shafer, Op. No. 25120,

2000 W.L. 576189 (S.C. filed May 8”, 2000).

Petitioner cites to cases from other jurisdictions which have taken a different tack

on the issue, and barred general deterrence argument. However, there are also a number

of cases that have arrived at results analogous to South Carolina's rule. In Fleming v.

State, 458 S.E.2d 638 (Ga. 1995), the court cited a plethora of cases supporting the

propriety of closing argument on general deterrence. Id. (citing Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S.

153 (1976)). Reasoning that both the prosecution and defense were equally precluded

from deterrence evidence but allowed deterrence argument, the court also rejected the

claim that the exclusion of expert testimony of the non-deterrent effect of the death penalty

meant that the defendant was sentenced on the basis of information he had “no

opportunity to deny or explain”. Fleming, 458 S.E.2d at 640.

36

The Eleventh Circuit also held that general deterrence was an appropriate

consideration for a sentencing jury. See Martin v. Wainwright, 770 F.2d 918 (11" Cir.

1985), Modified on other grounds, 781 F.2d 185 (11™ Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 909

(1986). Martin further reasoned that the Constitution allows general deterrence argument

even if general deterrence evidence is excluded. 770 F.2d at 937.

The Eleventh Circuit earlier addressed these issues in Collins v. Francis, 728 F.2d

1322 (11" Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 963 (1984). Collins found support from two

decisions of this Court for the premise that generai deterrence was a permissible

sentencing consideration. Collins, 728 F.2d at 1339-40 (discussing Williams v. New York,

337 U.S. 241 (1949) (approving general deterrence as one factor appropriately considered

by a judge in imposing sentence), and United States v. Grayson, 438 U.S. 41 (1978)

)

(indicating no “qualms” about a district judge's general deterrence comments in

sentencing)). Collins also rejected the notion that the prosecution had to “prove” with

empirical evidence the deterrent effect of the death penalty before it could make general

deterrence argument, because: (1) criminal sanctions have “historically” been justified in

part on theories of general deterrence, and (2) empirical evidence would be “difficult, if not

impossible” to produce with any “significant particularity” to guide the sentencing body. 728

F.2d at 1340.

Thus, Petitioner is incorrect that general deterrence in an inappropriate

consideration for sentencing a particular defendant to death. See also Skipper v. South

Carolina, 476 U.S. 1, 12 (1986) (Powell, J., concurring) (“We have recognized that society

has important and legitimate interests in retribution and deterrence, and that these

interests provide the necessary justification for the death penalty.”). Indeed, members of

37

this Court have noted that the death penalty is “undoubtedly” a deterrent for some

murderers. Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 185 (1976).

Since general deterrence argument is proper, the question thus becomes whether

exclusion of evidence on general deterrence violates the due process rule in Gardner v.

Florida. In this case, the trial court's ruling was evenly applicable to both sides. And like

the state, Appeliant did in fact make his own general deterrence argument. Defense

counsel argued:

The solicitor asked you to deliberate. | ask you, what do you teach

your little children? You teach them ... love and affection. Do you teach

them as Wesley Schafer was taught, having you clothes set on fire, being

beat, being thrown out of the house?

Martin Luther King . . . told all of his followers not to respond in

violence when you face violence, that will not solve the problem. And it won't

solve the problems in our context here.

{R. 1906 |. 16 - 1907 |. 1}. Counsel continued:

You know, what do we teach our children if we resort to violence, if we

have the state of South Carolina, citizens of Union County execute Wesley

Shafer? Will that violence teach us anything? Will it teach the children

anything that's right?

{R. 1908 Il. 4-8}. Deterrence argument in Appellant's trial was made on a tair and level

playing field which provides no basis for challenging the sentencing result.

Similarly, Appellant misses the mark with his assertion that the lack of general

deterrence evidence violates “the due process requirement that a defendant not be

sentenced to death on the basis of information which he had no Opportunity to deny or

explain.” Skipper v. South Carolina, 476 U.S. 1, 51.1 (1986) (citing Garner v. Florida, 430

U.S. 349 (1977)). Of course, Skipper and Garner dealt with evidence, not argument, and

38

as the trial judge charged the jury in this case, argument is not evidence. {R. 902 1.15 -

903 I. 25; 1356 Il. 11-18; 1437 Il. 11-16}. Since both sides not only had even opportunity

but in fact did argue general deterrence, Appellant had as much an opportunity to “deny

or explain” general deterrence as the state did to assert it. For this reason coupled with

the judge's charges, any error was harmless. Cf. generally Skipper, 476 U.S. at 8.

Petitioner challenges this rationale by arguing that the elected solicitor’s opinion on

general deterrence unfairly carries more weight with the jury than the argument of defense

counsel. Of course, such an issue could be raised with regard to any aspect of closing

argument, such as conflicting arguments as to the inferences to be drawn from

circumstantial evidence. Moreover, there are undoubtedly many capital defense attorneys

who are far more in the public eye than their public servant counterparts, and it is

speculative to assume that Petitioner's jury naturally accorded more weight to the solicitor's

argument.

Further, it is not inconsistent to allow argument but deny evidence on general

deterrence. Prosecution arguments about general deterrence such as the one in this case

are uSually part of an argument urging fearless administration of justice. On the other

hand, defense arguments on general deterrence, such as the one in this case that violence

doesn't solve violence, are usually are part of an argument for mercy. Both of these types

of argument, which merely seek to impress upon the jury its responsibility in sentencing,

are a far cry from the jury actually listening to battles of experts and statistics and

essentially making factual findings about whether the death penalty is a deterrent. The

State can legitimately conclude to avoid such collateral litigation in a sentencing

_ er PEs eee

——-

proceeding.” See, e.g. Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. 2121-22

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES M. CONDON

Attorney General

JOHN W. McINTOSH

Chief Deputy Attorney General

DONALD J. ZELENKA

Assistant Deputy Attorney General

S. CREIGHTON WATERS

Assistant Attorney General

. /

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

4

y ty -

By: / +i «6 k —

i

-

‘

August 21", 2000

j

~

* Appeliant cites statistics in his brief which were not proffered at trial, and are not

properly considered. See Ramdass, 120 S.Ct. at 2123-24. In any event, similar statistics

and argument support the existence of a deterrent effect. See John C. McAdams,

“Wisconsin Should Adopt Death Penalty,” 79 Marq. L. Rev. 707, 710-13 & nn. 10-23

(1996). Prison guards have testified that inmates given life without parole become very

dangerous because they know nothing further can be done to them without a death

penalty. See United States v. Battle, 979 F. Supp. 1442, 1464-66 (N.D. Ga. 1997).

40

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

|, Donald J. Zelenka, hereby certify that Respondent's Brief in Opposition to

the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of South Carolina in the

foregoing action has been served on opposing counsel by depositing two (2) copies in

the United States mail postage prepaid to the following:

David |. Bruck

P.O. Box 11744

Columbia, SC 29211 \ Appendix

This 21" day of August, 2000. / WA

(fs (. Y iff :

DONALE d te NKA

THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

In The Supreme Court

State of South Carolina, Respondent,

v.

Wesley Aaron Shafer,

Jr.. Appellant.

Appeal From Union County

John C. Hayes, III, Circuit Court Judge

Opinicn No. 25120

Heard Octccer 7, 1399- Filed May 3, sv-~

David I. Bruck. of Columbia, for appeliant.

Attorney General Charles M. Condon, Chiet Deputy

Attorney General John W. McIntosh. Assistant

Deputy Attorney General Donald J. Zeienka,

Assistant Attorney General S. Creighton Waters. ot

Columbia; and Solicitor Thomas E. Pooe. of York. tor

respondent.

BURNETT, A.J.: Appellant admitted he shot and killed Ray

Broome while attempting to rob the convenience store where Broome was

STATE v. SHAFER

working. Appellant maintained the killing was without malice.’ A jury

convicted appellant of murder, attempted armed robbery, and conspiracy.

He was sentenced to death for murder and consecutive terms of twenty

years’ imprisonment and five years’ imprisonment, respectively. for

attempted armed robbery and conspiracy.” Appellant appeals.

FACTS

Around 11:30 p.m. on April 12, 1997, appellant and Justin Porter

drove to the Hot Spot, a convenience store, in Porter's truck. Appellant and

Porter entered the store. When they returned to the truck, Porter, the

driver, spun the back tires of the vehicle and appellant. using his father s

gun and bullets he purchased earlier, fired four or five shots from the

passenger window as they drove away.

At approximately 1:00 a.m., appellant, Porter, and Adam

Mullinax returned to the Hot Spot. Witnesses left the Hot Spot because they

suspected trouble.

Appellant, Porter, and Mullinax entered the Hot Spot. Musinax

went into the bathroom then returned to the truck. Appellant and Porter

also went into the store, then stood outside the Hot Spot for a few minutes.

While Broome was away from the cash register, Porter entered the Hot Spex.

He tried to open the cash register but was unsuccessfu!. He returned

outside.

Porter and appellant entered the store again. Broome hac

returned to the register booth. Appellant went to the checkout counter an¢

shot Broome from several feet away. Broome fe!! te the floor. Appesan:

walked to another side of the register, fumbled with the gun. leaned over the

_—

‘During the penalty phase of trial, appelian::

appellant shot Broome in response to a lifetime of aduse and vio:ence. ~

. _*

cers Oe scs FSS°* °* 53:

° ews ~~~ 408 =

77% ~~?

CAets &

‘The jury found the statutory aggravating circumstance of Murcer

while in the commission of an attempted armed rodbery while armed with 3

deadly weapon. S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-20'C'a«lsc: Supp. 1995 .

A-2

STATE v. SHAFER

register counter, and shot Broome a second time.’ Appellant and Porter's |

attempt to open the cash register failed. Appellant and Porter left. There is

no evidence appellant or Porter asked Broome for money before the shooting.

Three young women arrived as appellant and Porter fled the Hot

Spot and jumped into the truck. One of the women ran into the store, found

Broome on the floor, and telephoned for emergency services. When the police

arrived, Broome was still breathing. He had been shot twice in the head.”

Broome died at the hospital.

Appellant wrapped Mullinax’s shirt around the gun and initially

hid it in the woods. He hid his own shirt and Porter's shirt elsewhere.

Twelve hours after the shooting, appellant told an employee at another

convenience store he was going to the park to shoot basketball.

After his arrest, an investigator asked appellant had Broome

done anything to cause appellant to shoot. Appellant responded: “No. We

were sitting around in the woods talking about what we were going to do

-_* =

with him. and I'm the one that had the gun, and I guess I just snapped.”

ISSUES’

1. Did the trial court err by refusing to instruct the jury

appellant was parole ineligible?

Il. Did the trial judge err by granting the States motion t

pronibi: both the prosecution and defense from referring to tn<

Bible or using religious references during closing argumen:”

Ill. Did the trial judge err by refusing to allow appellan: te

reopen the record to present evidence on deterrence or.

. aie Se +% O01 * 5, *

3° OT as be +

alternatively. for a curative instruction after the solicit ec

tant waited eight seconds before firing tne geuond svt.

ree aseee

‘-

‘AT! the events inside the Hot Spot were recorded on tre stere

the

security camera. Po

‘Ali issues stem from the sentencing phase ofappellants trial.

as

STATE v. SHAFER

the general deterrent effect of the death penalty”

DISCUSSION

L.

Appellant argues, for various reasons, the trial court erred by

refusing to instruct the jury he was parole ineligible. We disagree.

After closing arguments, relying on Simmons v. South Carolina,

512 U.S. 154 (1994), appellant requested the trial court instruct the jury he

would be ineligible for parole. The trial court denied the request.

Thereafter, the trial judge instructed the jury ‘life imprisonment

means until the death of the defendant." He later stated: "(ijn deciding

whether to sentence the defendant to death or to life imprisonment. I remind

vou that death means just what it says, death. Life imprisonment means

incarceration of the defendant until his death."

After three and one-half hours of deliberation. the jury returnes

with the following questions:

1. Is there any remote chance for someone convictec of murcer

to become eligible for parole’

2 Under what conditions would someone convicted for murder

be eligible?

Regarding Question 1. appellant agreed the trial court should

instruct the jury “life imprisonment means until the death of the otfencer

and requested the court read the portion of § 16-3-20:A: which expiaing ne

person sentenced to life imprisonment is eligible for parole or any other form

MWene setas:.4°s

of release or credits which would reduce a life senience. Appewant stips.ace-

Queszion 2 could not be answered. After the trial judge informed the parties

of his intended response to the jury's questions. appel:ant requested the tia.

A-4

STATE v. SHAFER

judge delete any reference to parole eligibility.°

The trial judge responded to the jury’s questions as follows:

Your consideration is restricted to what sentence to recommend.

I will remind you that what you recommend is what | will impose

as trial judge. Section 16-3-20 of our Code of Laws as applies to

this case in the process we're in states that, ‘for the purposes of

this section life imprisonment means until! the death of the

offender.’ Parole eligibility or ineligibility is not for your

consideration.

Appellant excepted stating, "we would renew our objection under

the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Eighth, and Fourteenth Amendments of the State

and Federal Constitutions." The trial judge noted the exception.

A.

: Appellant argues he was entitled to a charge on parole

ineligibility after the solicitor placed his future dangerousness in issue. He

contends Simmons mandates a parole ineligibility instruction and refusal to

give the charge violated his right to due process. We disagree.

When the State places the defendant's future dangerousness at

issue and the only available alternative sentence to the death penalty is life

imprisonment without parole, due process entitles the defendant to inform

the jury he is parole ineligible. Id.; State v. Williams. 321 S.C. 327, 465

S.F.2d 626 (1996). Due process is violated when the State "raise{s} the

specter of (the defendant's) future dangerousness generally. but then

thwart(sj all efforts by {the defendant] to demonstrate that. contrary to the

prosecutor's intimations, he never would be released on parole and thus. in

*The trial judge stated he would charge the jury as follows: “{ylour

consideration is restricted to what sentence to recommend. I will, as trial

judge, impose the sentence you recommend. Section 16-3-20 of the South

Carolina Code of Laws provides that for the purpose of this section liie

imprisonment means until the death of the offender. Paroie eligibility is not

for vour consideration.”

STATE v. SHAFER

his view, would not pose a future danger to society." Simmons. 512 U.S. at

165 (1994) (plurality opinion).

Appellant was tried under the new sentencing scheme which

became effective on January 1, 1996. S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-20 (Supp. 1998).

Under the new sentencing scheme, a defendant can be sentenced to 1) death,

9) life without the possibility of parole, or 3) a mandatory minimum thirty

year sentence. We recently held Simmons is inapplicable under the new

sentencing scheme because life without the possibility of parole is not the

only legally available sentence aiternative to death. State v. Starnes, Op.

No. 25119 (S.C. Sup. Ct. filed May §, 2000) (Shearouse Adv. Sh. No. 1§ at

17). Accordingly, appellant’s due process rights were not violated by the

tria! judge’s refusal to instruct the jury appellant was parole ineligible.

Appellant argues Simmons manéates a charge on parole

ineligibility when the State argues future dangerousness and the jury's

sentencing recommendation is limited to death or life without the possibility

of parole, even though some other sentence is available. We do not read

Simmcns so narrowly. By its own terms, Simmons requires the trial jucge

instruct the jury the defendant is parole ineligible only it no other sentence

shan death, other than life without the possibility of parole. is legai:y

available to the defendant. Simmons. U.S. at 178 «O'Connor. J.. concurring

‘"{allthough the only alternative sentence to death under siate law: was life

imprisonment without the possibility of parole. ..".: (emphasis added’. This

interpretation is supported by decisions from other jurisdictions. Ramoass ©

conviction. defendant was parole eligible under "three str:s

States v. s, 63 F.3d 1342 +5" Cir. 1995). cert. denies. °

1996 because sentencing guidelines vest district cou:t with Giseretion te

adiust life sentence downward. life sentence withou® poss:oil:ty oF darole i

not on!y legal sentence other than death which deferdan: might receive and.

eligible for parole after service of thirty vears. For purpeses of this

discussion, we assume appellant was parole ineligidle.

A-6

STATE v. SHAFER |

therefore Simmons is inapplicable); Allridge v. Scott, +1 F.3d 213 (5" Cir. STATE v. SHAFER

1994), cert. denied; 514 U.S. 1108 (1995) (Simmons applies where capital nfliction of the death penalty. He specifically argues the failure to inform

defend -_ ” ineligible for parole as a matter of law; Simmons does not apply the jury of his parole ineligibility prevented him from presenting mitigating

even if it is unlikely defendant would be paroled); People v. Simpson, 665 evidence in support of a sentence less than death and diminished the

N.E.2d 1228 (Ill.), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 982 (1996) (Simmons inapplicable reliability of the jury’s sentencing decision. In light of the new sentencing

where capital defendant is statutorily eligible for a sentence less than ) statute, he asks the Court to reconsider its policy prohibiting the trial judge

natural life imprisonment); State v. McLaughlin, 462 S.E.2d 1 (N.C. 1995), from informing the jury a capital defendant is parole ineligible.

cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1133 (1996) (Simmons inapplicable where alternative ,

to death is not life imprisonment without possibility of parole). At the time Initially, we note this issue is not properly preserved for

appellant’s jury began its deliberations, three alternative sentences were appellate consideration. After the trial judge responded to the jury's

available. Since one of these alternatives to death was not life without the question, appellant stated he excepted “on the basis of the Eighth :

possibility of parole, Simmons was inapplicable.* Amendment." He offered no explanation or argument in support of the

€xception. Appellant’s objection to the supplemental instruction 1s simply

B. too vague for the Court to review. State v. Bailey, 253 $.C. 304, 170 S.E.2

376 (1969) (general objection leaves nothing for Court to review). Clearly.

Appellant contends the failure to inform the jury he was parole appellant never argued, as he does now, that the Eighth Amendment

ineligible violated the Eighth Amendment prohibition against the arbitrary requires a charge on parole ineligibility as mitigating evidence and to ensure

the reliability of the sentence imposed. McKissick v. JF. Clecklev & Co.. 325

S.C. 327, 479 S.E.2d 67 (Ct. App. 1996) (an objection should be sufficiently

: specific to bring into focus the precise nature of the alieged error so tnat it

‘The dissent contends the cases cited herein are inapposite. Although can be reasonably understood by the trial judge’. -

the sentencing alternatives under consideration in each case referenced |

above may differ from those in South Carolina’s re capital sentencing In any event. the Eizhth Amendment requires that a deata

statute, each of the cases support the conclusion Cue process requires the sentence not be imposed arbitrarily. : ey Unirec States. 527 U.S. 373

jury be informed the capital defendant is parole ineligioie where the or..y -1999:. It prohibits the State from limiting the sentencer's consideration o:

sentencing alternatives are death or life without the possibility of pardle ana "any relevant mitigating evidence" which could cause th2 jury to decline te

the prosecution argues the defendant's future dangerousness. Excepting impose the death penalty. Payne v. Tennessee, 501 U.S. 308. $22: 190] .

Flores, in each of the cases cited above, the capita! defzndant was parcie : citing Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104, 114 (19682. The United States

eligible, therefore, due process did not mandate the jury be informed tre | Supreme Court has "deferred to the State’s choice cf suDstantive factors

relevant to the penalty determination." ifornia vy. Ra 43S. See

defendant was parole ineligible. In Flores, although parole ineligible. the

federal district judge could have departed from tne sentencing guidelines 1001 ‘:1983:. Whether parole eligibility is relevant to the sentencing

———ee

anc imposed a sentence less than life imprisonment. Aceordingly. due Getermination is a matter of state law. Id.; see Simmons \ South Carvins.

process did not require the jury be informed Flores was parole ineligiole. As | 512 US. 154. 176 «O'Connor, J., concurring: "it, 2¢ Cee:si0a metherecrn 7

fuNy discussed in State v. Starnes. supra, because death and life without tne to inform the jury of the possibility of early release !: zeneraliy leit to tre

possibility of parole are not the only sentence alternatives uncer the new

sentencing statute, due process does not require the jury be informed tne

cefendant is parole ineligible. : acs

Ss

A-7 ~~

°U_S. Const. amend. VIII.

STATE v. SHAFER

States.").'°

In South Carolina, parole eligibility is not relevant to a jury's

sentencing considerations. State v. Young, 319 S.C. 33. 459 S.E.2d $4 (1995)

(defendant who was parole eligible after service of thirty vears not entitled to

charge on parole eligibility). The refusal to inform the jury of the capital

defendant's parole eligibility does not violate the Eighth Amendment. Id.

Although we have never explicitly ruled whether the Eighth

Amendment entitles a capital defendant to a charge informing the jury he is

parole ineligible, precedent suggests no such instruction is required.** In

State v. Torrence, 305 S.C. 45, 406 S.E.2d 315 (1991) ‘Chandler, J.,

concurring), the Court held the defendant who was parole ineligibie due to <

prior conviction for a violent crime was not entitled to a charge informing the

jury of his parole ineligibility. In State v. Southerlanc. 316 S.C. 377, 447

S.E.2d §62 (1994), cert. denied 513 U.S. 1166 (1995. overruled on other

grounds State v. Chapman, 317 S.C. 302, 454 S.E.2d 317 (1995), we

concluded there was no Eighth Amendment violation «vhere the trial judge

did not instruct the jury the defendant was parole inelizible but detense

counsel argued “life imprisonment" means the defendant will never be

released from prison. In Simmons v. South Carolina, 512 U.S. 154 ‘1994.

the United States Supreme Court declined tu hold the Eighth Amendment

requires the jury to be informed a capital defendanx is parole ineligible.

° ° .S -aA T

Relying on Skipper v. South Carolina. +75

appellant asserts parole ineligibility is a mitigatins cirsumstance

the jury should have been informed. We disagree.

As noted above, the Eighth Amendmes: prohibits the State irom

limiting the sentencer’s consideration of “any reievan: mitigating evicene:.

521 U.S. 151. 165:

Court carved out an exception to the general ru

the first time ever. requiring that a defendant be alle-v2d to inform the ‘ory

of the postsentencing legal eventualities."’.

‘* \npeliant agrees there has been a blanke= pron:dition agains: any

instruction on parole eligibility or ineligibility.

A-9

STATE v. SHAFER

Pavne v. Tennessee, 501 U.S. 808, §22 (1991). For purposes of the Eighth

Amendment, mitigating evidence is "any aspect of a defendant's character or

record and anv of the circumstances of the offense that the defendant

proffers as a basis for a sentence less than death." Skipper v. South

Carolina, 476 U-S. 1, 4, citing Eddings v. Oklahoma, +55 U.S. 104, 110

(1982); see State v. George, 323 S.C. 496, 476 S.E.2d 903 (1996) ‘mitigating

circumstances are details specific to the character of the defendant on trial

and/or the circumstances of the crime he committed which are considered in

order to reduce the degree of his moral culpability or guilt). In Skipper, the

Supreme Court held evidence of the defendant’s good behavior while in jail

awaiting trial was potentially mitigating because it indicated he would not

pose a danger in the future. Accordingly, excluding evidence of the

defendant’s future adaptability violated the Eighth Amendment.

Unlike a defendant’s behavior in prison. parole ineligibility is not

an aspect of a defendant’s charaeter or record. Parole eligibility or

ineligibility is a legislative determination; it is not mitigating evidence. See

State v. Patterson. 299 S.C. 280. 384 S.E.2d 699 (1989 . vacated on other

grounds 493 U.S. 1013 (1990) (information regarding requirements for parole

eligibility is not mitigating evidence); State v. Matthews. 296 S.C. 379. 375

S E.2d 587 (1988), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1091 (1989): punishment for a erims

cannot serve as a mitigating sentencing consideration’; see also State v.

George, 323 S.C. 496, 476 S.E.2d 903 (1996) (the general effect of capita:

punishment as a deterrent to crime is not a mitigating circumstance’. The

Eighth Amendment is not violated by refusing to ir.form the jury a cap-ta.

defendant is parole ineligible.

Appellant asserts since all capital defencants are now pary.e

ineligible, the Court should permit juries to be informed of parole

ineligibility. He claims providing juries with accurate information on pare.

ineligibility wil! eliminate prejudicial misinformation iuries hold concern:ns

. =

. are > - oe * e ~ ro > ‘ -; < \

parole eligibility and produce more reliable sentencing Ceterminations. *

disagree.

punishment authorized by law in consideration of the circumstances of tne

crime and the characteristics of the individual defencant. The jury 1s 5.9

authorized to legislate a plan of punishment. Stare = Plath. 281 S.C. 1.325

-

A-10

STATE v. SHAFER

S.E.2d 619, cert. denied 467 U.S. 1265 (1984); see State v. Atkinson, 253 S.C.

531, 172 S.E.2d 111 (1970), citing State v. White, 142 A.2d 65, 76 (N.J. 1958)

("the Legislature committed to the jury the responsibility to determine in the

first instance whether punishment should be life or death. It charged

another agency with the responsibility of deciding how a life sentence shall

be executed. The jurors perform their task complete!y when they decide the

matter assigned to them upon the evidence before them. What happens

thereafter is no concern of theirs."), overruled on other grounds State v.

Torrence, 305 S.C. 45, 406 S.E.2d 315 (1991). The jury’s duty is the same

under the new sentencing statute. While a defendants parole ineligibility

could affect the jurvy’s decision, it nonetheless remains an irrelevant factor

which the jury should not consider. Affirmatively mentioning an irrelevant

factor would undermine the jury’s decisionmaking process and result in a

decision which is less, rather than more, reliable. As a matter of policy. we

maintain it is inappropriate to inform the jury the capital defendant is pars:<

ineligible. The Eighth Amendment does not compe! a different result. Jones

vy. United States, 527 U.S. 373.__, 119 S.Ct. 2090. 2099 (1999: (a ~nedl

sentence is not arbitrary within n the meaning of the Eighth Amendment

the jury is not given any bit of information that might poss sibiv influences tn-

individual jurors voting behavior.").

C.

ppellant argues the trial judge's suppiemental instruction wis

Ys

erroneous. He contends 1) in responding to the jens o's

judze should nav 6 informed the j jury he was panes ine! lisible, 2: the tris.

consiiecnion. ‘iameaadl suggested he was parole eligidie. and 3 the tria.

judge erred by refusing to read that portion of the sentencing statute © Alcs

referred to parole ineligibility. We disagree.

1.

As noted above, parole eligibility or ineligibility is met reievant *

a capital jury s sentencing considerations and the issue of 9 parole sheu.: mot

be injected into the jury's deliberations. State «Ars. 352 S ot 3. 5c!

S.E.26 32811998": State v. Torrence, 305 S.C. 45. 405 $.£.2¢ 3313 -

When a jury inguires about parole, the trial court shou!d in instruct

shal! not consider parole eligibility in reaching its decision and th

4.11

STATE v. SHAFER

“life imprisonment" and “death penalty" should be understood in their

ordinary and plain meaning. State v. Norris, 285 S.C. 86, 328 S.E.2d 339

(1985), overruled on other grounds State v. Torrence, 305 S.C. 45, 406 S.E.2d

315 (1991).

In keeping with Norris, the trial judge’s supplemental

instruction properly told the jury not to consider parole eligibility or

ineligibilitv. Although Norris was decided prior to the new sentencing

statute, we find no reason to require a different response when the jury

inquires about parole.

Moreover, as noted above, three potential sentences were

available: 1) death, 2) life imprisonment, or 3) a mandatory minimum thirty

year sentence. Appellant was not eligible for parole under any of these

sentences.’ Nonetheless, as suggested by appellant. by asking for

information on parole, the jury was attempting to ascertain the length of

time appellant would realistically spend in prison if sentenced to tie

imprisonment. Informing the jury appellant was parole ineligible when.

unbeknownst to the jury, he faced a possible sentence of thirty years

imprisonment after which he would be unconditionally released would not

have fairly responded to the jury's inquiry.

2.

Furthermore, contrary to appellant's argument. the tris: jucz= s

admonition. “parole eligibility or ineligibility is not oor s your consigerati cc.

—

did not suggest appellant was parole eligible. U nlixe ¢ the admoniti cag is.

Simmons v. South Carolina, 512 U.S. 154 (1994. “vou are not to comsicer

parole" and parole "is not a proper issue for your consideration.’ the

instruction here specifically informed the jury not to consider either Sar:

eligibility or ineligibility and. therefore. did not imply appellant was Dardis

“In Ard we held the trial judge's erroneous mention of parote was

harmless. To the extent Ard suggests the trial judge should charge tn

on parole eligibility if requested by the defendant. it is overrulec. We

Ard was decided eight months after the presen: case Was tried.

-

- —

a

re =

~

“But see footnote 7.

A-12

STATE v. SHAFER STATE v. SHAFER

eligible. tenuous. The highlighted text provides the jury with only those portions of

the sentencing statute which appellant deems favorable but excludes any

3. reference to other less favorable sentencing options.

Finally, in response to the jury’s questions, appellant requested We conclude the supplemental instruction was appropriate.

the trial judge read that portion of the sentencing statute highlighted below:

A person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to murder must be a

punished by death, imprisonment for life, or by a mandatory Appellant argues he was deprived of his right to make religious

minimum term of imprisonment for thirty vears. If the State arguments to the jury. We disagree. 7 :

seeks the death penalty and a statutory aggravating

circumstance is found beyond a reasonable doubt Over appellant’s objection, the trial judge granted the State's

pursuant to subsections (B) and (C), and a motion to prohibit references to the Bible or religion during closing argument

recommendation of death is not made, the trial judge bv both the prosecution and defense. Appellant proffered several! religious

must impose a sentence of life imprisonment. For arguments he had considered including in his closing argument.

purposes of this section, ‘life imprisonment’ means until -

the death of the offender. No person sentenced to life In his closing argument, appellant stated:

imprisonment pursuant to this section is eligible for

parole, community supervision, or any early release There’s a story about a woman ‘vho broke the law a long, long.

program, nor is the person eligible to receive any work long time ago. Before we had electricity, before we had lethal

credits, education credits, good conduct credits, or any injection, we still had the death penalty. There was a time that

other credits that would reduce the mandatory life she had been caught, she was caught for breaking the law. and

imprisonment required by this section. No person the people in her community gathered around her. and ther wer=

sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment for going to kill her for what she had done. They had the objects

thirty years pursuant to this section is eligible for parole or any 7 | they were going to use to kill her in their hands. and she stood

early release program, nor is the person eligible to receive any before them. Somebody walked in and said ‘I'm not denying that

work credits, education credits, good conduct credits. or any what she did was wrong, this isn’t about what she did was

other credits that would reduce the mandatory minimum term c: wrong, this is about what statement are vou going to make abou:

imprisonment for thirty years required by this section. being confronted with this.’

Section 16-3-20:A.: Supp. 1998°. | The story that I referenced. a very great man discussed with

them about nui killing the woman, and the didnt.

We find no error or prejudice from the trial judge's retusa! to ‘

read the highlighted portion of the statute. Again. neither parole elig:b!.i:y | We find no error in the trial judge’: ruling. Previcusiy. ws have

nor parole ineligibility are proper considerations for the jury. Stare v. Arc. held there is no fundamental unfairness wher the trial judge precludes tre

332 S.C. 370, 505 S.E.2d 32S (1995:: State v. Torrence. 305 S.C. 45. 406 | solicitor and the defense from arguing about God or religion. State -

S.E.2d 315 (1991). Furthermore, appellant's suggestion that providing tn: Patterson. 324 S.C. 5, 482 S.E.2d 760, cert. denied 522 U.S. __. 11S 5.C+.

jury with the highlighted language would promote “truth-in-sentencing is 146.1997. In any event, the record clearly demonstrates appellant was not

prejudiced by the trial judge's ruling. Although he was not permitted to

A-13

A-14

STATE v. SHAFER

make all of his religious arguments, appellant conveyed the Biblical story of

Jesus and the adulterous woman. State v. Bennett. 328 S.C. 251, 493 S.E.2d

845 (1997) (capital defendant was not prejudiced by sustained objection to

his religious argument where record indicated he made the argument

nonetheless). The trial judge did not abuse his discretion in granting the

State’s motion to prohibit references to the Bible or religion during both the

prosecution and defense closing arguments. See State v. Patrick, 259 S.C.

301, 345 S.E.2d 481 (1986)"* (trial judge is vested with broad discretion in

dealing with the range and propriety of closing arguments and ordinarily his

rulings on such matters will not be disturbed).

Ii.

In the penalty phase closing argument, the solicitor argued the

death penalty deters others from committing murder. Thereafter. appeliar:

requested the trial judge either reopen the case to allow him to present

statistical evidence the death penalty does not deter murder or,

alternatively, to instruct the jury to disregard the solicitors comments

regarding general deterrence. The trial judge denied both requesis.

Appellant argues this was error. We disagree.

In South Carolina, our case law is abundantly clear: while both

the prosecution and defefise may argue their respective opinions regarc:ag

the genera! deterrent effect of the death penalty. neither may present

evidence supporting their views. State v. George, 323 S.C. 496.476 5.E.2c

903 +1996 .*> Accordingly, the trial judge did not err by refusing appellan:'s

request to reopen the record for the purpose of presenting evidence on the

deterrent effect of the death penalty.

Furthermore. we have never directly held i: is reversible error:

refuse to give such a curative instruction where the sciicitor argues gen

“Over iled on other grounds Brightman v. State. 336 $.C. 345. 320

S EF 9d §14:1909): Stare vy. Casey. 305 S.C. 445. 409 S.E.2 1. i.

‘Because the General Assembly has approved the propriety ef capita.

punishment. evidence attempting to establish its effectivenes: or

ineffectiveness as an instrument of deterrence is irrelevant.

A-15

deterrence, requested charge on general deterrence was not required); State

v. Longworth, 313 S.C. 360, 438 S.E.2d 219 (1993), cert. denied 513 U.S. $31

(1994) (where solicitor did not argue general deterrence, refusal to charge

STATE v. SHAFER

deterrence. See State v. McWee, 322 S.C. 387, 472 S.E.2d 235 (1996), cert.

denied 519 U.S. ___, 117 S.Ct. 695 (1997) (where solicitor argued specific

general deterrence need not be considered); State v. Patterson. 285 S.C. 5,

327 S.E.2d 650 (1984), cert. denied 471 U.S. 1036 (1985), overruled on other

grounds State v. Torrence. 305 S.C. 45, 406 S.E.2d 315 (1991) (refusal to

charge general deterrence is properly refused as function of jury is to

determine appropriate penalty for present charge). In fact, our cases have

repeatedly allowed the solicitor to argue his opinion regarding the deterrern:

effect of capital punishment. State v. Truesdale, 301 S.C. 546. 393 S.E.2d

168. cert. denied 498 U.S. 1074 (1990); State v. Jones, 298 S.C. 115

S.E.2d 594 (1989); State v. Yates, 280 S.C. 29, 310 S.E.2d 805 (198:

denied 462 U.S. 1124 (1983), overruled on other grounds State v. Torrence.

305 S.C. 45, 406 S.E.2d 315 (1991). Since argument on general deterrence !:

permitted, it would be illogical to instruct the jury it may not consider the

effec: of its sentence on others.

Finally, in light of his freedom to argue capital punishmen: cces

not discourage others from committing murder, appellant's due process ‘as

not violated by the trial judge’s denial of his request to present ev iene on

_3is

2), cert.

ger.eral deterrence or charge the jury not to consider the Geterrent ef:

the ceath penalty.

was not the reault of passion, prejudice. or any other arbitrary factor.

jury's finding of a statutory aggravating circumstance is supported

N

“er reviewing the entire record. we conclude the Cearn sence

> PREVIEW

evidence. ‘Sees $.c. Code Aan. $ 16- $25: parvo rarer. We Avid 2:

“ages.

He

2440 1996. State v. Humpnries, 325 S.C. 25,479 $.E.24

520US

—

s.E

~- .

oA

owt ~~"

ty,

.)

_*

et ‘eS 6% oo

oCe-

- s-

aas es

ee Hee

“*«

aii: Siathen 32s SC. 146, partys (1997. cert.

; rc tS. ~115 S.Ct. 1674 :.1998); State v. Patterson. 3.4

452 SE. 2d 760. cert, denied, 522 U.S

Simpson. 325 S.C. 37, 479 S.E.2d 57. cert. denied, $30 1 S.

.117 S.Ct. 244111996; Stare v. McWee. —

35 5 1996: cert. denied. 519 U.S. __

A-16

118 S.Ct. 146.

£117 $.Ct. 56

-¢

u

1aqQ— “" <-

Acct

STATE v. SHAFER STATE v. SHAFER

Sims, 304 S.C. 409, 405 S.E.2d 377 (1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1103 (1992).

° FINNEY, C.J.: I respectfully dissent, and would reverse and

AFFIRMED. remand for a new sentencing proceeding.

‘ MOORE, WALLER, JJ., and Acting Justice Thomas C. Huff, : . :

eacuc PIMNBY, C.3., dissenting in 8 separate opinion. Under the 1996 amendments to S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-20, all capital

defendants face one of three sentences:

(1) death; or

(2) life in prison until death; or

(3) unconditional release after service of

a minimum term of thirty years, with no

possibility of parole.’

Appellant contends that since he was parole ineligible as a matter of state

law, the jury was entitled to be charged this fact when they inquired. I

agree.

: | The majority deems the holding in Simmons v. South Carolina.

512 US. 154, 114 S.Ct. 2178, 129 L.Ed.2d 133 (1994), inapplicable because

appellant’s sentencing options were not limited to death or life without

‘In this opinion and in State v. Starnes, Op. No. 25119 ‘S.C. Sup. Ct.

filed May &, 2000), the Court has avoided directly deciding the parole

eligibility status of a capital defendant who receives a term of vears

sentence. In my opinion, we must decide this question today in order to

address the jury charge issues raised by appellant. The murder statute is

Ged | clear as to certain defendants: "No person sentenced to a mandatory

| minimum term of imprisonment for thirty years pursuant to this section is

eligible for parole. . . or any other credits which would reduce the mandatory

| minimum term of imprisonment for thirty years required b+ this section.’ }

16-3-20/. A) (Supp. 1999). Since the murder statute is silent as to the parole

elisidility of defendants receiving a sentence in excess of the mandatory

minimum. the general rule controls. Under § 16-1-10:d «Supp. 1999.

nurder is exempt from the classification system. and under § 24-13-1009

carne | ‘Supp. 1999). persons convicted of exempt offenses are ineligible for parvie

a Thus. although a capital defendant may receive a sentence of a term of

vears. he is ineligible for parole whatever the duration of that term.

A-17

STATE v. SHAFER

STATE v. SHAFER

possibility of parole, and cites a number of cases in support of this

proposition. In all the cited cases except one, however, the defendant's not parole eligible, for that is only half the truth. I would tell the jury that if

sentencing possibilities included one in which he would be parole eligible. no aggravating circumstance is found, the defendant faces a minimum of

The only case in which the defendant did not face a potential parolable thirty years without possibility of early release, but that if aggravating

sentence was United States v. Flores, 63 F.3d 1342 (5 Cir. 1995). Flores circumstances are found, then the alternatives are death or life in prison

involves a federal conviction, and parole has been abolished in the federal until death.

system. It is inapposite to the present South Carolina sentenci ig scheme, as

are all the other cases cited. While I concede that Simmons does not directly For these reasons, and with instructions that henceforth juries

control this case’, the overriding principle to be drawn from that decision is which inquire shall be charged the truth about sentencing, I would reverse

that due process is violated when a jury’s speculative misunderstanding and remand for a new sentencing proceeding in this matter.

about a capital defendant’s parole eligibility is allowed to go uncorrected.

Here, the jury’s inquiry prompted a misleading response which suggested

parole was a possibility. In my opinion, due process mandates reversal.

Further, if the decision whether to inform juries which inquire

about parole eligibility is simply one of policy, as the majority suggests in

Part I C, then why not adopt a policy which gives the jurors the simply truth:

no parole. The majority acknowledges, as it must,’ that parole

considerations "could" affect a jury’s sentencing decision,* but then deems it

"irrelevant" and denigrates its importance as "[(a] bit of information that

might possibly influence the individual juror’s voting behavior." The specter

of parole haunts every capital sentencing proceeding in this State, and I

cannot understand why, given the simplicity of our new sentencing scheme

in which no capital defendant is ever parole eligible, we would make a policy

decision prohibiting the dissemination of the truth. |

Of course, I would not stop with a charge that the defendant was

“We are not concerned with whether a Simmons charge was warranted

at the initial charge to the jury since future dangerousness was not an issue.

but rather with the procedure to be followed when a capital jury inquires

about parole.

A-20

>

oo

‘Given the regularity with which capita! juries inquire abeut pare.

‘ve cannot deny its role in sentencing.

‘See Bowers, Vandiver & Dugan, A New Look ct Public Op:nion On

Cepital Punishment: Wrat Citizens and Legislators Prefer. 22 Am. J.Crim.L.

71! 1994°.

A-19

eae ¢

THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

In The Supreme Court

The State, Respondent.

v.

Norman E. Starnes, Appellant

Appeal From Lexington County

Mare H. Westbrook, Circuit Court Judze¢

~-oinies No. 25113

S2ars sasctemoer <i, SIS - Fils: * Se

REVERSED

Joseph L. Savitz, III. of South Carolina Ocice e:

Anpeliate Defense, of Columbia, for apoe.:anz.

Attorney General Cnarles M. Condon. hpi tea

Atworney General Jonn W. MeIntosn. : SSiSTAnt

ae Deputy Attorney Genera! Donald J. ae ett.

Assistant Attorney General Derrick K. MeFarian

Assistant Attorney General S. Cevignta yr Matere.

C Jombta: and Solicitor Donald V. Mc:

Lexington. for respondent.

BURNETT. A.J.: Apveiiant admitted Ae snetan: fn. Bia

Welborn and Jarrod Chammiin. He maintained the sh etings were in gelr

fofsase. Annediant was convicted of two counts of Murder and Dessession 3

. esl ae

STATE v. STARNES

a firearm during the commission ofaviolent crime. The jury found one

statutory aggravating circumstance and recommended a sentence of death

bn trial judge sentenced appellant to death and a concurrent sentence of

five vears imprisonment. We reverse.

FACTS-

Jody Fogle testified appellant arrived unexpectedly at his nome

at 10:00 p.m. on January §. 1996. According to Fogie. apne!lant told him he

wanted help moving some things. During the Crive to appeliants home.

appellant told Fogle about two men who had put a gun to hls end and

threatened to Kill him. Fogie stated appellant demeunstraic. by Ae.ding 2.22

zun to his head. Fogle testified he took the gun from annetlant. determined

it was loaded. then piaced it on the car seat. A .38 revolver was on the Gasn

of the car.

Fogle testified Welborn and Champlin were at apdeltants aume

He denied meeting either We:..0rn or Chamoplin oreviousiv. Fogte desemoead

Welborn and Chamolin as “wired” as if on drucs. Cr umniin asked anneian:

to return his gun. Appellant gave Champlin the .22. tne same Fun appena

nad been handling in the car. Appellant went inte a his DeSrwe: Sore Lu!

hear appeilant rumbling around in the bedroom.

Fogle testifies Cahampiin aseec him ii 22 secs Si Slike. F800

v2sponded negativ . Champlin ° waste SMe is tro fas. “ordes

tne slide as F . oe _ —— . - a Seaken

tne slide. came towards Foyle statin Obes t) 4... sot. RS A.

sae . ° Y a- of »* . se bn Ge eetel 1a % 5 eet Ph. ae Se

and pointed tae ast Four Fs Fowie s Chest. Fogie testitirt 2 ot nam

, . e . : ;

ccm 2 2. _ . oe <— e ~_— . . ; "ae = oo. oes _ . a2,

vw ae Serius. he ada %. tread, at Gahalt +e Foal Le he Wvti:C A ates Ma SN wet hemes ween ce ne

: ‘4 1.} t dc? ' ° , : o% S,s "= somes .

7 ¢ "e . ‘ Ba‘s ..* veo . ; ~~ o_o “ + CT 4"... ome Ue » .

nad Deen able. Webern told Chamoniin to give Rim to a its A che oe

a ey}: ; ~ ' oul . ic i 7 sa!) athe » 73° ; 6 © ee +98 +* -

. . . d . ~ a ' ; -* Rae ste . : —

Compatied. A CyLitile yy Seu! ye was Te PS ee Appe.lan. = ce* - ee . --* bee @© +s e8¢0°8

»-

-r ‘ ‘ ’

taed ve Te. * |

_ ' 2a a” ° . , ‘

1 ov tt | SAS? tess CserPw. VO

. , . ° - ye “ ‘ .

Secbdce &. *! SUT .STe. = SIMmauce.. &.' .

i ~ ae

_ . ~ - «

- sere ~.* + . rene .

The t i.e .% = ey ~ ‘se ‘ e i- 7? haat

STATE v. STARNES

Appellant testified Fogle had previously met Welborn. He

explained while at a New Year's Eve party ten days before the shooting.

Welborn asked appellant if he knew where he cou!d get some crystal "meth,"

an illegal drug. Appellant stated no one at the party had the drug. Later.

Fogle arrived at the party. Appellant testified Fog!e had crystal

nemangnes amine. Appellant introduced Fogle to Welborn. He was not

ertain ifa drug transaction occurred. but Welborr itnauired if there was an

*.- = oom

automatic teller machine at the bank next door.

Appellant testified two nights before the shuetings Welborn put

an unknown amount of money in his pocket. Later the same evening, he

returned the money to Welborn; he was unsure if he returned ali of tne

money.

Apovellant testified on January 8, 1995. he was at the restaurant

4 owned when Welborn and Champlin arriv wy Welbern rema

nacar. Appellant went outside and asked Welborn why ne dic

inside and Welborn stated appellant owed him $+). Apnteliant gave Weider

310 from — restaurant cash register and W elborn came rere a

restaurant. Appellant described Welborn as ‘rea. amiated.” “wired.” "just

acting ocean "just full of energy.’ Appeilani Geserives © Reinberd

“pyper.”

>

+e) « 4

in

Appelian:. Weidorn. and Champlin test tne restaurant.

Appellant testified Well born asked if appellant was arrais to des and

commented adout the 340. Dh three men wenti: a car. Anvehant testi

Welborn was “still acting real antsy.” "pacing the 2° tari.” rhe theugh+

. . . ote . . “+ . cain | "a.

Welborn was coming ¢ down offora high." Apoenant iiseriiheai Champon

“aersy, kind of wired, same as “Weiborn! was acting. Jat mot as cade

opellant stated walle ne Was in tm}= cats: set Sites Eat

"Mothors came up behind Aim. grabbed nim arc. : ‘

oie Rutad WIT A Mica, OCS WANN Ae snk ae SEE a ee

Grice takiedt tubsoe. Welborn asked again about the faim stat

: ) ats : ima oa oh ac eee { oe

A-23

-

*.

STATE v. STARNES

Appellant left the bar with Welborn and Champlin.’ He testified

Welborn and Champlin asked him to get them some drugs. Appellant left

Welborn and Champlin at his home and went to Fogle’s home. He testified

he did not take Welborn and Champlin with him because Fogle had

previously told him he did not want any customers at his home.

Appellant picked up Fogle and drove him to his 'apoellant’s’

home in order for Fogle to provide Welborn and Champlin with drugs.

Appellant testified when he and Fogle entered his house. Welborn was on

the telephone. Welborn hung up. put his arm arounc appellant's neck, and

asked if they were going to “score.” Appellant heard some noise. Champlin

Was cursing and pointing a gun ai Fogle. Appellant testified he thought

Champlin was going to shoot Fogle. He stated he had no idea why Champlin

pulled a gun on Fogle.

Appellant stated he was scared and ran inte! nis bedroom to ‘get

away." He realized there was no exit. obtained his pistu:. piaced it in ies

back pocket. and returned to the living room in order ta we ve througa the

tront door. He was openi ng the front door when Weiborz. velled ‘Whoa.

Where the F are you going?” Appellant turned around: " elbor mwas

pointing a gun at him. Appellant testified he though: Welburn was going 5

shoot him. When he heard a ‘click." appellant puiled ais revolver and sno:

Welborn multiple times. Welburn cid not fire anv shots.

Appellant testified he i immediately thereaster savt Crhamaiin.

although he agreed he was not pay’ ng attention to Champiin and Fowte

while he was in the becroom and while he was reacting 2: “elbern. Fi:

testified he shot Cnampiin because “I thought he was roing te sheet me.) fi:

admit ed Champlin never pointed a gun at him. Aone an: testi

not know Champiin had given tis sun to Welborn ani Caampiin was x

longer armed pon conciuced he snot Weiser am Coniumnin

“p'ecause [ thought Iwas going te get shor.”

-

A waitress testified as appellant and Welbers ,

' e

_- . . aw *, _*- - i ~.<A me *? i- . - 7” - *

* & Rie . wt) “ »e * _ ° 4 Pe: ‘ , “Ma2 St . e a qT) Cc oe | = ‘* {_

eee 8S aes iia ies Cakes settee” gsm. Pee evmie.cg PP... 5 yee,8

Oe wuse SS. shese 3 2: tee + mere Ft MWD, Sed dic & ous me are coo@: 61 ese stee

Nis Ting’ Drains out.

A-24

STATE v. STARNES

I. Did the trial judge err by refusing to instruct the jury that, in

regard to self-defense, a defendant has a right to act on

appearances and does not have to wait before acting?

I]. Did the trial judge err by refusing to instruct the jury on

defense of others?

III. Did the trial judge err by refusing to aliow the defense to

question an inmate concerning allegations the prosecution had

attempted to procure false testimony?

IV. Did the trial judge err by refusing to allow the defense to

impeach Dawn Brudos by establishing she had a romantic

relationship with Welborn?

L

Appellant argues the trial judge erred bv revusing to provide th

jury with more specific instructions regarding self-defense. He contends the

judge should have instructed the jury A) he had the right to act on

appearances and B: he did not have to wait before shooting. We agree.

With regard to self-defense. the trial! judze instructed the jurv. in

part. as follows:

Se!f-derense is a complete defense. If estabdlisned vou must fin

the defendant not guilty. Now. in this case there are three

elements tha: vou would consider that are required bv law to

estabiish-seli-derense. First, fret sie. the Getemiant must be

without fauizin bringing on the difficult... Second. be must hay

QCTU I Y Delievedt geruguy bepeved sie: tet is in lees

eriogs beiiis isiues or ne

danger of losing ais

a saeered Was in such imminent danger. thine, "7 St, atunse is

based upon Ais beltef of imminent danger, nen. b Bei reasonadic

person 3 “orginar . firmness and courage Would Mave entertained

the same Deis iE adetendant actually was in tae teee daawer

then ime circumstances must have Deen such as weuli warrant a

A-25

STATE v. STARNES

person of ordinary firmness, prudence and courage to strike the

fatal blow in order to save himself from serious bodily harm or

losing his own life.’

‘Emphasis added .’

A.

In State v. Fuller, 297 S.C. 440, 377 S.E.2d 325 1989), this

Court held it error for the trial judge to exclusively charge the Davis

instruction on self-defense wnen the defendant requests additional charges

and the evidence supports the requests. The Court instructed the trial court

to fashion an appropriate self-defense charge based on the facts and

circumstances of each case.

ies

In Fuller. the defendant requested a charge that he had tne rignt

to act on appearances. Quoting State v. Jackson, 227 $.C. 271. 275-279. 57

S.E.2d 681. 684-685 11955), the Court set forth an aprropriate charge on

right to act on appearances:

A defendant must show that he believed he was in imminent

danger. not that he was actually in such danzer. Decause he had

‘The language ts taken directiy from Starz 23s $.C. $3.32:

S.E.2d 4521984

‘Appellant submitted written proposed jury instructions. Request *

Charge No. 3 states: ‘lia person's right to fire in s penttneiapintl arises. 22 is

not sequired to wait until his opponent is on equal terms oruntil Ris

vpponent has red or aimed Ais weapon." encase & te ae Bares No. $. 8S Fas"

states: “The devendan:’ had the right to act on the Are irans: or tnines 2

the time, taxen in ight of ali the evidence. One hag te rin:

ee ors iat other sarty in light of al! of the cireuistaneces 32 fh tim

tne incident. suring the charge conference, appre iant slated. in adelt..

the pore Suace Davis. supra. self-defense instruction. My a.s)

requested the jucc instruct the jury on “lalppearances and whatnot anu s

—_ a eal ve .o ee Betct.s 8° 2.” ee ee

ee soul a ® w age niadicated ¢ ve ate > ubstanc. ' . eee $° “*eeee® 4 . .° .%6

instructions Were imeciuded tn mis charze.

A-26

ee =

STATE v. STARNES

the rignt to act on appearances, and under the circumstances as

thev appeared to him, he believed he was in such danger and a

reasonable prudent man of ordinary firmness and courage would

have entertained the same belief.

State v Fuller, supra S.C. at 443-444, wan 08 S08: see also State v.

Gandy, 113 §.C. 147. 148. 101 SE. 644°1919«"A man may act. however.

trom appearance, and if it turns out. if the appearances are such that a man

of ordinary courage. firmness. and prudence would have been justified in

coming to the conclusion that the necessity did then and there exist to strixe

to save himself from serious bodily harm or death that would be sufficient.

although it turned out afterwards that es was no actual danger present

and that the necessity to strike did not exist."

Appellant was not entitled to an appearance charge in regard te

ce ¢

the Welborn shooting. pear eed to appellant. he was sin actual danger when

i a |

We:dorn pointed a gun a: him. cursed him. and guest: ned him as :.

he was going. Appellant 3 claim to self-defense dic net arise from 2

perceived, but rather an actual threat. Since there «vas no evidenee

apne" lant was acting on appearances. he was not entitied to an appearance

harge. See State v. Lewis. 328 S.C. 273, 494 $.E.24 115-1997 «defendan:

not entitled to insanity charge where no evidence suprorted the charse .

é The State nt 0 appellant was mot eniitie¢ 19 an angearanc-

p with respect 2 Champlin shooting becaus. 2+ did mot testis n-

is i= Champlin's hand at the time -fthe shooting.

ch leer,

7 =

2 “a

ay

vu

the

}

taougs

piers & Sct OR Appearances ig £52 Ss027 3 22 MMe ¥icuas. A

where the Gefendant testifies he mistaken iy thousat. Sv $4 a Wearer. 2

, yy . .. .

. . * , *

vigtim’s hand. Walle an appearance charge ts ane ots er.

Getendast ersronensiv pelieves he sees the vietim witt i weanen. it is

7 ° 4 ~ b | = e ’ =

Nae et A, Si f So9 SA. B11. 431 25 See oe iit :

. . * e , . . . . . o e

$322 testified Re sat a shiny .jeet is Vietiss $ fai Sette gt

Sin. Be Was IMUtietd char soon aDMearanees : Siote se. 2

. * .

-_ = -- |

; A ast © ©. 203685 , os ’

where defendant testitied Re saw two Victims open th trERK at taeis ve.

7)

se.

M41 CNOUMAL Ae sav a ain; HOMct in One *" tim. ¢ Bans. Res Was 22%:%. °

A-27

STATE v. STARNES

been applied elsewhere. In Stare v. Jackson, supra. the defendant testifiec

he shot the victim after being awakened in his home by an intruder and

blinded by a flashlight. The defendant did not testi:v he saw what agocered

to be a weapon in the victim’s hand. In fact. the defendant testified he cou!d

not see anything. The Court held the defendant was entitled to a charge on

self-defense. including language on appearances.

Appellant was entitled to an appearance charge in regard to tne

Champlin shooting. Immediately prior to the shooting. ap poellant t observed

Champlin hoid a gun to Fogle’s head and threaten to sacut nim, apparent.

because the intended drug deal. which appellant hac arranged. had gure

awry. Welborn then pointed a gun at appellant and threatened to kil! nim a-

he attempted to leave. Unaware Champlin had passed his weapon te

Welborn when appellant was in the bedroom. appe!:ant erroneous! reading

Champlin was armed and intended to kill him. The triai judge snoulc

charged the jury appellant had the right to act or. appearances.’ State

Gourdine, 322 S.C. 395. 472 $.E.2d 241 1906 the inv toe charges 3s

determined from the evidence presented at trial. Retusal ‘to give 2

= =-2 *. ~~ T ----> hs ~—— °- ~~ oo "3

request ed instruction on => igen mecessitates Te OTsu:. Sosect tee:

~

supra; Stare v. Fuller, supra

a3 “nar e-49 =e ii: “ut iefise. ine o_O Wisnee = aaa ~—e ~ - _*. “er = * - =

nd cireumstanees of the case in orGer tou fasion an anger uriate snares

a = SeREo. ‘Once th the right to fire in fe.2-teieNse ATises. 2

sotsivad tp wait ustil his adversaries cm era: corms cr

PH bos Sh ~F ** =e eee ote > we\e~ ~~ + ~ Ss. - “_* = * = %ee ~s *.

- - .

Charge ON Aovearances .

wD iy eet ae pe ee th och og0d . ARE « P a

in P.*°2t 6 wt Fk ees's 8 Ses Sete s 2 dete Se se o- + o mee +s - .

. . . *-* . .

o« -_ = --. -_ ~ = Bee . i* . - -“~ >

: ar 7 rf os Ges be OTS? Cseaks o ~ «

. » . “. “. . . 7 .*_.s & o - . ** ed - .

~s -,.* a L—_ =f-+3° . Pp he | ‘ ~ = . -= ° a 4

Hs peebe es | FM Kenteem es et * a Pt 4 od —_ eye LU . . 2+) an o* . . -~_ +* *<- ae-- # ° -

. -

- - -_<- ° ¢*%.% -- ~ -_ ——-— - 5 - =o

afr a = 6. = fos btae ova “Os ate t .

_—-

“~ ~ e — -- . ve.

‘ . ® : Ft ‘ ~

an Ms a f. «8's © ~- = : - @‘e

° . } - °@

‘ * ae * © * 49 . ;

‘ " ae : ‘3 = oe at? ** . a

33 Lome a4 S tener. be

-_*+ - . . wi .

Fer ebSs SeScecee SS cece e CTO US Oikos ress

° . - - se

sets1 et met es © se = etre ifiewes

STATE v. STARNES | STATE vy. STARNES

we he ne . —y oe aimed his en order om. Suite \ Hendrix —_ i. 270 Appellant specifically maintained he shot Welborn and Champlin because he

S.C. OS3. 244 S-E.2¢ OOS (2976). Similarly, ithe accused] doesn t have to thought they were going to shoot him. At no point did appellant suggest he

wait until his assailant gets the drop on him, ke has the right to act under shot either Welborn or Champlin te protect Fogle. Accordingly, he was not

the law of sendpiag teers! and prevent his assailant sic! getting the drop entitled to a charge on defense of others. See Starea. Alford, 264 S.C. 26.

on him.” States. Bash, 182 S.C. 42, 80, 166 S.E. 435, 436 (1996 . 212 S.E.2d 252 (1975 "where defendant did not testify he was shooting tor

purpose other than to protect himself, he was not enritled to charge on

iu. &. °2 <= al — 1 “7 -“? =

ine facts presertec ai trial entitled appellan: to a self-defense dean ciao.

charge in regard to both shootings. Appellant testitied Welborn pointec a

gun at him and he believed Champlin was armed. Appellant did not have to

wait for Welborn or Champlin to fire or aim at him before acting in se!:-

detense. Accordingly, appellant was entitled to a charge instructing the ji ju

Ul.

eee

Appellant argues the trial court erred by refusing to allow the

——

\ W > een is ; ° ° 2 M4 - = . «

rete on pe ng a sate efense. a — ben rn oh, | defense to question an inmate concerning allegations the prosecution had

Su > - . s ee * . - .

» Hupta attempted to procure false testimony. We disagree.

requested charge he did not have to wait before acting in self-defense and the P P

. -law ins seli-detense. $a! to give the Te p ee ee en

trial pon " nindeonnapmens eres truction on seli-defense. refusa. to 2: Appellant testified in his own defense. On cross-examination.

eaves narge was " 2. ; ‘ _ ; , —— - ‘.

a appellant denied while awaiting trial he told four inmates he annes to

murder Welborn and Champlin, pre-dug their graves. and wanted to hire

HL someone to kill Gwen Ortt.? Thereafter, appellant called Chris Kopei as 2

Appell d a defense witness. Kovel testified for several months he was appellants

P Pn c triat judge erred 0; reusing to -astrect t< cellmate in the Lexington County Detention Center. He testified an

1 ry .. 1s | = *_* . . . H . . ~ wrk

on defense of others. We disagree. assistant solicitor met with him and asked him if he had ever heard

Under the theory of defense of others. “ne is not ruilty o : | appellant threaten Ort’s life. Kopel responded negatively. The soticttor

rt ‘ oO: 4 > $. one is a < Or cess -

7 . “eee obiected.

the life of an assailant who assaults a friend. relative. or bystander if that .

frien ve. vs . "is ve tne righ take the ice °: ; . . ee aa ee ee

2 enc. reiati a. = pw ang a eo - = 5c aryl — 462 During a proffer. Kopel stated the assistant so:ieitor asaee Aims

— — goer y Stare v. Long, ee re he would be willing to testify that he had heard appellant: threaten Ott.

vee. m of ‘Jer te rtne tr sa! court to gi fea Gefense » GE FemeeTe Sccclcas te coos” - +: sad _ es deol ales Sto oe the r., ogi! S+se.05

wea AP lieved the assistant solicitor was asking him ta lie. The trial jects:

must be some evidence adduced at trial that the cetendant was indeed Kopel believed the a ; ms a ea ae

lawiuliv defending others.” Deugias v. Stare, 332 $.C. 47. 73. $4 SEL: sustained the sajection. stating appellant vould eriss-exaniins The four

Wii. bet 69 Fy 2. ; = @. Pde —.%.. 9s. 0d. 3°! ~~ - - & Aaa s © seser.s

307 S10 1885. eg Will: Meanineh qe Ga ee inmates if the State calied them in reply. In reply. fx sv inmates testifies

avs 310.190 : see also ' wey 5. MeAnineh & ¥°. re ee ee | appellant told them ! he had planned to kill Welborn and Champiin. haire

ee . uf pone os Cug their < wraves, and wanted to hire someone te murder Oe, No: testinves

hte halaman coneerning actions on behalf of the Solicitors ONte2 or Smerids Genartimon

re was elicited trom these witmesses.

Appellant was not entitied to a charg: oat. Getetse Tt ets. |

APTeLARt testitiec arte? Caamptia tareat eNeG Fis: Ae Wentin: ais

frm ta get awar.” He realized there was =: ents, wetained *.6 fr? .. wt. | ars ih ge alah ee ies

; — te: ‘A: the time othe shootings Was appellants esi siniriemt 68

Sst Sutures fy See és ng roca wy jeave ThrouTs toe Trent Geert AD itis SE aT pitas nee mes oes Sas OP Bins wuegsetan? -stites 30"

my iee Woihoes verbal'sthrealened gonellant an ic intet ager at hie seined agselant bury Welborn and Chamoun. S22 feperies apne..dn +

seco ce Yeo? Se ge oe alae 3 os tre eiie . [PP ansnise whee > ¢ eeb c's’ 6 6} a ee be seeses - : a y =

she or . . P involvement in the shuetings in Mav 1995.

ear | o 6

,

A-29 ca? | A-30

STATE v. STARNES

Evidence is relevant if it has "any tendency to make the

existence of any fact that is of consequence to the determination of the action

more or less probable than it would be without the evidence." Rule 401,

SCRE.

Kopel’s testimony was irrelevant to anv issue at trial. His

testimony neither established the prosecution actually presented perjured

testimony at appellant's trial nor impeached the testimony of the four

inmates who testified in reply as he did not state the prosecution had

attempted to procure false testimony from them. Moreover, the allegation

the assistant solicitor attempted to procure false testimony is not relevant to

the issues in appellant's trial. The trial judge did not abuse his discretion ir.

ruling Kopel’s testimony inadmissible. State v. Lewis, 293 S.C. 107, 359

S.E.2d 66 (1987) admission or rejection of proffered testimony is within the

sound discretion of the trial judge; absent an abuse of discretion. the ruling

will not be disturbed on appeal’.

IV.

Appellant argues the trial court erred by refusing to allow the

defense to impeach Dawn Brudos ov establishing she had a romantic

relationship with Welborn. We agree.

~*

Brudos was the first witness offered at trial. Sire testified she

nad known Welborn since 1993 and worked for his skydiving Dus ainese Site

oe . oe

estified Welborn, Champlin. and Champlin’s girlitiend nad teen Livins in

her home since mid-December 1995. Brudos testized tre nights berire n+

shootings Welborn was upset appeliant had not ret urned.3-10 to rim.

x

n cross-exXamMination, defense counsel asked if Brudes nai a

romantic relationship with Welborn at the time of nis death. She answer

affirmatively. The eatieitur objected. Defense counsel! argued the question

x ee ant ty establisn Brudos vias. Atter an in ho wt aoe ae ba he

te “ie sustained the odiection and instructed the iurv to disr-carid the

iudstion and answer... -- age

,

* ALegations of !mproper concuct by tne So:isjtors Otiiee coud

raised at a hearing on prosecutorial misconduct.

A-31

. ~~ me 1%

ae

bias, or partiality’ of the \ witness.

STATE v. STARNES

The Sixth Amendment guarantees a criminal defendant the mght

to meaningful cross-examination of adverse witnesses. “{A] criminal

defendant states a violation of the Confrontation Clause by showing that he

was prohibited trom engaging in otherwise appropriaée cross-examination

designed to show a prototypical form of bias on the part of the witness, and

thereby ‘to expose the jury to the facts from which jurors . . . could

appropriately draw inferences relating to reliability of the witness.”

Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673, 680, 106 S.Ct. 1431. 1456, 59 L.Ed.2¢d

674, 684 ‘1986 “emphasis added’. quoting Davis v. Alaska. 415 U.S. 308. 3

94 5.Ct. 105, 111, 39 L.Ed.2d 347, 355 (1974). Atrial judge. however, may

impose limits on defense counsel from inquiry into the potential bias of a

prosecution witness to prevent harassment, prejudice, confusion of the

issues, repetitive or marginally relative examination. Id.

—_

h

Rule 608:c). SCRE. also permits a party to impeach a witness

establisning bias or prejudice either through examination or r otherw' ise.

cross-examination, any fact may be elicited which tends to sieve interest.

s. " State v. Brewington. 267 S.C. 97.192, 225

SF 24 249, 2501976: quoting 98 C.JLS. Witnesses $ 559a 1957. A witness

romantic relationship with a party is a source of potential! bias of whicn tne

iury should be aware in order to fully evaluate the w iiness) testimony.

Melmustes - State, 934 P.2d 770 Alaska App. 1997 : Orgin ©: :

m1 Inc, v. McIntosh. 452 S.E.22 159'Ga. App. 1994 : State Erov. 255

22 86°N.C. App. 1982).

o 2

Caser buth the Sixth Amendment and Rule 30s 6. SU Ac.

apceiant was entitled to inquire i? Brudos Aad a romantic roars

* ee

4

Welborn. Certain!y, an intimate relationship between Brucos ana We.com

cou:d affect Brudos credioility. the oe 2e Orr SY HO RAY

apdellant trom senting this inquiry

. . . .

er ores Fly adh Nort. vee ™" a > " oeeees acd aor _o bg © "pe

pe eeuse’. «!- ~ Bet ee eee ee ee -“e- . “s*** *.

*

ni. ; . . j o te a “—-- © rretrye er ae ee tel 2< .- . . é

. ; ‘= _ “as . * ? 4 5 ; i . ; : PM . .* . «6 °

4 ods See PO ee bee ted or) et wire Siew JD obese Rett Dee

3- ; :

Ma. Sis is UNMetessary Nere OECAUSE APDwi de. cds ee geste es

STATE v. STARNES STATE v. STARNES

_ . ° :

SENTENCING PHASE ISSUE Ann. § 24-21-640 (Supp. 1993)."*

V. Did the trial judge err by refusing to instruct the jury By Act No. 83. §10, 1995 Acts 557. the General Assembly

nt was ineligibl by ; .

appella gible for parole amended the sentencing options for capital murder. Effective January 1.

1996. § 16-3-20 (Supp. 1998) provides, in relevant part, as follows:

V,

Appellant argues he was entitled to a charge on parole ‘A A person who is convicted of... murder must be punished by

PP Peta 4 P death, by imprisonment for life, or rby a mandatory minimum

ineligibility after the solicitor placed his future dangerousness in issue. He

term of imprisonment for thirty vears. If the State seeks the

contends the trial judge’s refusal to instruct the jury that he was parole

death penalty and a statutory aggravating circumstance is found

ineligible violated his due process rights.’ We disagree. P . ¥ ager a

bevond a reasonable doubt .. .. and a recommendation is not

made. the trial judge must impose a sentence of life

imprisonment. For purposes of this section, "life imprisonment’

means until death of the offender. No person sentenced to ‘ite

imprisonment pursuant to this section is eligible for b gestoee

When the State places the defendant's future dangerousness at

issue and the only available alternative sentence to the death penalty is life

imprisonment without parole, due process entitles the defendant to inform

the jury he is parole ineligible. Simmons v. South Carolina, > 512 U.S. 154

_ community supervision, 0 v $ 9) tor is th

1994; State v. Williams, 321 S.C. 327, 468 $.E.2d $26 :1996!. Due process P r any early release program. nor .

person eligible to receive any work credits, ao credits.

good conduct credits, or any other credits that wou!d reduce tne

mandatory life imprisonment reauired by this section. No person

sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment ior

thirty vears pursuant to this section is eligible for parole or an:

early release program, nor is the person eligible to receive any

work credits, education credits, good conduct credits. or ans»

other credits that would reduce the mandatory minimum term or

imprisonment for thirty vears required by this section. ...

is violated when the State "raises{s] the specter of {the defendants: future

dangerousness generally, but then thwart[s! all efforts by {the defendant. to

demonstrate that, contrary to the prosecutor's intimations. he never vvouilc

be released on parole and thus, in his view, would not pose a future danger

to society. $v , supra, U.S. at 165 -pluracity

opinion :.

sentencing scheme provided if the jury did not find a statutory ageravainé

circumstance. a death-eligible defendant was sentenced to tife imorisenamont

and eligible for parole in twenty years. If the jury found a statutery

aggravating circumstance and did net recommend death. the defendant vas

sentenced to lire imprisonment and eligible for parole in tnirty years.

-B. When the State seeks the death penalty. upon conviction or

adjudication of guilt of a defendant of murder. the court saa.

: conduct a separate sentencing proceeding. In the proveuding. ra

statutory aggravating circumstance is found, the derendant must

=)

oce Ann. § 19-3-20'A“Supo. 1993: However, if the defends ae dare atric: |

Code As PE «ign copay be sentenced to either death er life imprisenmer:. Lino

eanvietion fer certain violent crimes. he was ineligible tor par S.C io rue

| 7 circumstance is found, the deren” mus"

2 be sentenced [9 either iite imprisonment or 3 bil $n @, one

> minimum term of imprisonment for thirty years.

“US, Const. amend. XIV, _ Appellant dues aut allege an Eugnis | SEEN cea

naatnane violation. Emphasis added .

Ais Giscussion, We AassuMe Ine s °.99 "Ri 2

For purposes oft

nt

= future danzerousness in issue. ten ;

Simmons was parole ineligible pursuant te } o4-L beats

A-34

STATE v. STARNES

Under the new sentencing scheme, if the jury does not find a

statutory aggravating circumstance, a death-eligible defendant may be

sentenced to either life imprisonment or a mandatory minimum thirty vear

sentence at the discretion of the trial judge. Under either sentence, the

defendant is ineligible for parole or any form of credit which wou!d reduce

the length of the sentence. However, if sentenced to the mandatory

minimum sentence, the defendant would be unconditionally released trom

prison at the completion of thirty vears.

Simmons is inapplicable under the new sentencing scheme. By

its own terms, Simmons requires the jurv be informed the defendant is

parole ineligible only if no other sentence than death. other than life without

the possibility of parole, is legally available to the defendant. Id.. U.S. at 178

‘O'Connor, J.. concurring)"[ajlthough the only alternative sentence to death

under state law was life imprisonment without the possibility of parole. .

“emphasis added).** This interpretation is supported by decisions from

other jurisdictions. Ramdas: v. Angelone. 187 F.3d 396 :4* Cir.

1999 Simmons is inapplicable if. at time of sentencing tle

defendant is parole eligible under state law; hence where judgment hac ve

to be entered for defendant's third murder conviction, defendant was sa role

eligible under “three strikes" law): United States v. Flores, 63 F.3d 1342 5%

Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 825 ( 1996 because sentencing 79g

Vest-Gistrict court With discretion to adjust Life sentence Cownward. Ul:

sentence without possibility of parole is not only lezal sentence other than

Geath which defendant? might receive and, therefore Simmons is

inapplicable’: Allridge «Scott, 41 F.3d 213 (5" Cir. 1964 . cert, denied. F14

U.S. 1108 :1995"Sfmmons appiies where capital defendant is ineiigid.e for

parole as a matter of law: Simmons does not apolv ev = 4 t on

defendani would be paroled : Pesple v. Simpson. 665 203258 3

sane. 519 U.S. 982 : 1996 ‘Simmons inapplicabdie where one defenian:

8 30 tutoriiy eligible for a sentence less than natura: life imprisonment :

iS S.E.36 i ‘N.C. 1008 . cere, gon’? 6282 US. te

1695 ‘Simmons inapplicable «where alternative to death 77 mor lite

Keely Preaek. is2 F.3¢ 263. 270-4" Cir. ig@s recognising tnat

ustice O'Conner s cone mee actualiy represents the midiagzin

A-35

STATE v. STARNES,

imprisonment without possibility of parole). Under the new statute. a

sentence other than life without the possibility of parole is an available

alternative to the death penalty.

Moreover, the rationale for Simmons simply does not exist when

there is a potential mandatory minimum thirty year sentence. Contrary to a

sentence of lite imprisonment withou: the possibility of parole. a mandatorv

minimum thirty year sentence does not rebut the State's argument

regarding the defendant’s threat to society. For this same reason the Court

has repeatedly declined to apply Simmons when the defendant is parole

eligible. State v. Hill, 331 S.C. 94, 501 S.E.2d 122, cert. denied, 525US.___

119 S.Ct. 597 (1998); aoate.x. Rrra. 326 S.C. 107, 485 S.E.2d 360 (1997);

State v. Simpson, 325 S.C. 3 S.E.2d 57, cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1277

(1996°; State v. McWee, 322 S. c. i 472 S.E.2d 235 ' 1996), cert. denied,

519 U.S. 1061 (1997). Accordingly, because a mandatory minimum thirty

year sentence was a legallv available sentence, appellant’s due process was

not violated w hen the trial judge refused to instruct the jury appellant was

Paroie ineligible.*

Additionally, appellant argues because the jury had already

convicted him of two murders, it was bound to find the statutory aggravating

circumstance of “two or more persons murdered by the defendant by one act

or pursuant to one scheme or course of conduct" and. therefore. the only

available sentence alternative to death was life without the possidility of

parole. We find it inappropriate to assume the jury wi!l ind a stazutory

saurer ating circumstance. Appellant’s jury could have concluded that while

appellant murdered Welborn and Champlin. the two murders were not

“The dissent contends the cases cited herein are inapposite. As

explained in State“ shaier, Op. ie 25120 $.C. Sup. Ct. filed Ma; 23. 2000

Sheareuse Adv. Sh. No. 18 at 35. each of the referenced eases fully suspert

the conclusiun due process did not require the trial jucge to instruct the Jur.

anpeliant was parole ineligible.

* Further. we note the sentencing st atute prov iGes wr a mandate:

me op thirty year sentence. Bused on the nenege M the statute. itis

- e - $s Tr oa! -

+4 ite mae to more than thirty vears is eligicle tor

—

-

adle a defendant sen

t

wa

he roie aiter serie of thirts: vears.

A-36

STATE v. STARNES

pursuant to one scheme or course of conduct beyond a reasonable doubt.

Because the jury could have failed to find the existence of a statutory

aggravating circumstance, a potential mandatory minimum thirty year

sentence existed and appellant was not entitled to a charge on parole

ineligibility. United States v. Flores, supra (district court did not violate the

principles of Simmons by refusing to inform the jury the defendant would be

sentenced to life imprisonment without possibility of parole because a lesser

sentence, dependent on the jurv’s findings, was available).

REVERSED.

TOAL, MOORE, JJ., and Acting Justice William T. Howell,

concur. FINNEY, C.J., dissenting in a separate opinion.

A-37

STATE v. STARNES

FINNEY, C.J.: I respectfully dissent from the majority's opinion insofar as

it holds appellant was not entitled to a jury charge that he was parole

ineligible pursuant to Si sv. lina, 512 U.S. 154, 114S.Ct.

2178, 129 L.Ed.2d 13311994). As I explained in my dissent in State v.

Shafer, Op. No. 25120, (S.C. Sup. Ct. filed May 8, 2000) all capital

defendants are now parole ineligible under the 1996 amendments to S.C.

Code Ann. § 16-3-20 ‘Supp. 1999). Appellant thus meets the two

prerequisites for a Simmons charge: (1) parole ineligibility and (2) argument

regarding future dangerousness. All the state cases cited by the majority as

supporting its decision not to apply Simmons are distinguishable because in

each the defendant faced a potentially parolable sentencing option under

state law. The decision in United States v. Flores, 63 F.3d 1342 (5™ Cir.

1995) is simplv unhelpful since parole has been abolished in the federal

system. For these reasons, and the reasons given in my Shafer dissent, I

would reverse the denial of appellant’s request for a Simmons charge.

A-38

d hime! n

gag and that

d giving re

ughter in

Burriss 15.

defined as ¢!-

out malice

p enzayed :n

j act not

railv tend-

harm. or ,2

we and unin-

bwfuily with

@hers. dale

$13 5.£.2c

tute suf-

ery charge

com panied

be sutfic:enc

C. 62, 508

was enuced

ughter,

mdant and

q@gaged in

v. John-

$E.2d 20

Se a + me ge

OFFENSES AGAINST THE PERSON

sre See abet a Wal t .mpe s.4

» = te] c 2

Ss 16—3-20. Punishment for murder: separate sentencing proceeding to

determine whether sentence should be death or life imprisonment.

\ A person wae is convicted ofor pieads guilty to murder must be DUNISieG OV

ei. OF MIDroonment tor ite. or by a mandatory minimum term of imovrisonment

cr curt vears. [ the Seaare seeks the dearh penalt

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.