Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Elkhart v. Books

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

&N Supreme Court, U.S.

( FILED

001407 MAR - 9 2001

_ No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

CITY OF ELKHART,

Petitioner,

-V-

WILLIAM A. BOOKS and MICHAEL SUETKAMP,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STUART J. ROTH JAY A. SEKULOW

WALTER M. WEBER Counsel of Record

DAVID A.CORTMAN JAMES M. HENDERSON

American Center forLaw FRANCIS J. MANION

and Justice COLBY M. MAY

1650 Diagonal Road American Center for Law

5" Floor and Justice

Alexandria, VA 22314 205 3” Steet, S.E.

(703) 740-1450 Washington, DC 20003

(202) 546-8890

VLADO VRANJES

Corporation Counsel

City of Elkhart .

229 S. Second Street

Elkhart, IN 46516

(219) 294-5471 Attorneys for Petitioners

eee Oar oe ~<

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Beginning in the 1950s, the Fraternal Order of Eagles

donated to cities and towns throughout the United States and

Canada granite monuments containing, among other things,

the text of the Ten Commandments. One such monument

has stood on the lawn of the City of Elkhart, Indiana’s

Municipal Building since 1958 as part of a display which

includes a Revolutionary War Monument and a Freedom

Monument. A divided panel of the Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit held that Elkhart’s inclusion of the Ten

Commandments monument in the display violates the

Establishment Clause. The following questions are presented:

J Does the Establishment Clause require a city to remove

from city property a 40 year old monument containing

the text of the Ten Commandments which is part of a

larger civic display?

2. Do respondents, whose “injury” consists of no more

than the psychological consequences produced by

observation of conduct with which they disagree, have

standing under Article III to bring an Establishment

Clause challenge?

PARTIES

The names of all parties to the proceedings in the

court below appear in the caption of this case.

‘The petitioner is not a nongovermental corporation. See

Rule 29.6. .

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ee i

IF hrconessecsinendettansennstentasencncestecssensnnsesessesnencassessesscsssenssensssseee il

SE icteneccnicenntescesescensecnscenestsnseenssntennsnsnesecnses vii

Ee l

UE ITIIE ccccnsscensnscenencsnsesnsnsssscscsessssesetessesscenssnstenssessses l

EE l

ee l

Ee 2

SE 2

Ee 6

Reasons For Granting the Writ ...0...............ccccececeseseseseeeeners 10

I. THE DECISION OF THE SEVENTH

CIRCUIT CONFLICTS SQUARELY

WITH DECISIONS OF THE TENTH

CIRCUIT AND THE SUPREME COURT

a 10

a 10

B. The Colorado Supreme Court .00............cccececeseseseees 1]

Il.

TABLE OF CONTENTS - cont'd

Page

THE DECISION OF THE SEVENTH

CIRCUIT CONFLICTS SQUARELY

WITH THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT. ............. 13

B. The Elkhart Display Is Constitutional Under

the Lemon Test As Applied In Lynch and

THE DECISION OF THE SEVENTH

CIRCUIT CONFLICTS WITH THIS

COURT'S DECISIONS ON STANDING

FOR ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE CASEG............... 19

GG, TIED ccs resnscnsscemssnnsensssnscmemermensnsnseneemmmnesenes la

Order Granting Motion to Recall and Stay

the Mandate, Books v. Elkhart, No. 00-1114

(7th Cir. 2001) (Ripple, J., in chambers).................. 5Sa

Memorandum Order, Books v. Elkhart,

No. 3:98CV0230 AS, (N.D. Ind. 1999)..................... 60a

THE ELKHART TRUTH NEWSPAPER

Oe 107a

AFFIDAVIT OF E. J. RUEGEMER.................c0e000e 110a

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - cont'd

F. AFFIDAVIT OF HAROLD WINEINGER

G. Resolution

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

ACLU v. County of Allegheny, 842 F.2d 655

8 EEE 22

Adland v. Russ, 107 F. Supp. 2d 782

EEE, 14

Anderson v. Salt Lake City, 475 F.2d 29

(10th Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 879 (1973)........ 4, passim

Books v. City of Elkhart, 79 F. Supp. 2d 979

CRED, Ba, Be rcccesaserennsscsrssnscncsnssssssssnmenessesmsenessememmens l

Books v. City of Elkhart, Indiana, 235 F.3d 292

\: ) ee l

ye 7

City of Edmond v. Robinson, 517 U.S. 1201 (1996)............ 22

County of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties

a, Gas eh BO i rcrcccnsctenesnssssnnesssme 7, passim

Doe v. Harlan County School Dist., 96 F. Supp. 2d

eG O————————————— 14

Donnelly v. Lynch, 691 F.2d 1029 (ist Cir. 1982).............. 22

Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987)............0+++ 14, 16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - cont'd

Page

Harris v. City of Zion, 927 F.2d 1401 (7th Cir. ettee

cert. denied, 505 U.S. 1218 (1992) 23

ICLU v. O'Bannon, 110 F. Supp. 2d 842

(S.D. Ind. 2000).............. ——

Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577 (1992) ....cccccccccccseceesereeees 14, 21

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) ....ccccccc0000 7, passim

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555 (1992)..... 20, 21

Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984) ........ccccccc00e. 7, passim

Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983) ....ccccccccecceceveve. 7, 23

McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961) .esccocsosoe 16

Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290

iil osctecnsssesinenecsectisemmasetenneniestasibidintsiainapnininaniiieitaiaaaia ae 17

School District of Abington Township v. Schempp,

ee ee ctrninticrnicniatintinteiaiataniiaaiataininiaaanes 21

Steel Co. v. Citizens for Better Env., 523 U.S. 83

CL ee 21, 23

State of Colorado v. Freedom from Religion

Foundation, Inc., 898 P.2d 1013 (Colo. 1995),

cert. denied 516 U.S. Re 3, passim

Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39 (1980) .......cccccccccceeee. 7, passim

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - cont'd

Page

Summum v. Callaghan, 130 F.3d 906 (10th Cir. 1997) ....... 10

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans

_ United for Separation of Church and State,

Inc., 454 U.S. 464 (1982).......cccccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeenerenes 20, passim

Vermont ANR v. U.S. ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S.

Fe esicccsresrrecnensemmnnesenemnmenenmnmmecmnannen 20

Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38 (1985) ......ccccccecsereseseeseereees 21

Washegesic v. Bloomingdale Public Schools, 33 F.3d

679 (6th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1095

ITI ccrinesnsannsnetccsunenepemeameenmenmmemnnuncmrenmenmenibartes 24

Whitmore v. Arkansas, 495 U.S. 149 (1990) .0........ccccccceeeees 20

Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306 (1954) .....ccccccccccccceeeeeeneee 19

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Expressive Harms and Standing, \12 Harv. L. Rev.

Fa ee neccaescarmeenesntstsvennvecusnmmmstntediatentnimnmieneteien 21

Hutson, James H., Religion and the Founding

of the American Republic, 1998,

Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.,

BD, GIG... ccrcsessseseesesnsssessecssencesvenevesssosessosssssussscsacsarssesnsesses 19

INTRODUCTION

Three courts have reached two different ~»nclusions

about the constitutionality of government displays of the same

Fraternal Order of Eagles Ten Commandments monument.

The Tenth Circuit and the Supreme Court of Colorado have

found no constitutional impediment to such displays. The

court below, a divided panel of the Seventh Circuit, held that

such a display violates the Establishment Clause.

DECISIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit is reported as Books v. City of Elkhart,

Indiana, 235 F.3d 292 (7th Cir. 2000), App. A. The decision

of Circuit Judge Ripple granting petitioner’s motion for stay

pe memento py F.3d ___ (2001) (Ripple, J., in

chambers), App. B. The decision of the district court is

reported as Books v. City of Elkhart, 79 F. Supp. 2d 979

(N.D. Ind. 1999), App. C.

JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit entered its judgment in this case on December 13,

2000. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

The First Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in pertinent part as follows:

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment

of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof,

U.S. Const. amend. I.

The first section of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution provides as follows:

l

All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United

States and of the State wherein they reside. No State

shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States;

nor shall any State deprive any person of life, tiberty, or

property, without due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.

U.S. Const. amend. XIV § 1.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Plaintiffs, respondents here, brought the underlying

action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 alleging that Elkhart’s

display of the Ten Commandments monument violates the

Establishment Clause and seeking declaratory and injunctive

relief.

A. Facts

In 1958, the people of Elkhart, Indiana observed

Memorial Day with a parade down Main Street, featuring a

unit of the Indiana National Guard, marching bands, floats,

trucks, and military vehicles. The parade followed the

presentation to Elkhart of a stone monument containing, among

other things, a version of the Ten Commandments. App.

107a. The Ten Commandments monument was placed on

the Municipal Building lawn as part of a larger display which

includes a Revolutionary War Monument and a Freedom

Monument.

The Ten Commandments monument at issue is a granite

slab, six feet high and three and one-half feet wide. App.

63a. At the top of the monument, there are two small tablets

of Hebrew script. Jd. Between the two tablets is an eye

within a pyramid — similar to the symbol on the back of a

one dollar bill. Jd. Below the text of the Decalogue are two

2

Stars of David and one Chi-Rho — an ancient Christian symbol.

App. 64a. A scroll is depicted at the bottom center of the

monument bearing these words: “Presented To The City of

Elkhart, Ind. By Elkhart Aerie No. 395 Fraternal Order of

Eagles May 1958.” Id.

The Ten Commandments stone was a gift to Elkhart

from the local lodge of the Fraternal Order of Eagles (hereafter

“FOE”) as part of a national program of similar donations.

App. 62a. The FOE is a non-religious, civic organization

founded in 1898 as “The Fraternity for the Common Man.”

Id. Its four cornerstone principles are “Liberty, Truth, Justice

and Equality.” Jd. The FOE takes credit for sponsoring

America’s first workers’ compensation law, mothers’ pension

law, and old age pension law. App. 112a The group is

involved in an impressive array of humanitarian efforts in

this country and abroad. /d. 2

The FOE Ten Commandments donations originated

with a Minnesota juvenile court judge, E. J. Ruegemer, who

once served as Chief Justice and Chairman of the Youth

Guidance Committee of the FOE. App. 110a. In 1943,

having observed that many of the youngsters who appeared

in his court were without any code of conduct or standards,

Judge Ruegemer thought “they could benefit from exposure

to one of mankind’s earliest codes of conduct, the Ten

Commandments.” Jd. Judge Ruegemer did not intend such

exposure “to be religious instruction of any kind, but to show

these youngsters that there were such recognized codes of

behavior to guide and help them.” Jd.

With the perhaps self-serving encouragement of

Hollywood mogul Cecil B. DeMille,’ producer and director

‘See State of Colorado v. Freedom from Religion

Foundation Inc., 898 P.2d 1013, 1017 (Colo. 1995), cert. denied,

516 U.S. 1111 (1996).

3

of the 1956 movie, “The Ten Commandments,” Judge

Ruegemer’s original idea of posting paper copies of the

Decalogue in juvenile courts soon metamorphosed into granite

monuments inscribed with a version of the Ten Commandments

agreed upon by representatives of the Jewish, Protestant, and

Catholic communities. Jd. Over the next several decades,

local lodges of the FOE donated Ten Commandments

monuments to cities and towns across the United States and

Canada as part of its “youth guidance project.” App. 3a.”

The Memorial Day, 1958, presentation of the Ten

Commandments monument to Elkhart included as participants,

the city controller, local FOE officers, and representatives of

Elkhart’s Protestant, Catholic and Jewish religious bodies.

App. 3a. Each member of the clergy spoke at the ceremony

«nd noted the importance to American society of adhering to

a moral code as exemplified by the Ten Commandments. /d.

Rabbi M. E. Finkelstein said that the dedication of the

monument “should be an occasion for dedication of everyone

to the high ideals inherent in the American way of life.” Jd.

Since that day the Ten Commandments monument

has stood on the 25 foot wide front lawn area of the Elkhart

Municipal Building along with two other monuments: a large

stone Revolutionary War Monument donated by the Daughters

of the American Revolution and a Freedom Monument

consisting of a brick pillar with a light on its top and a plaque

reading: “Behold Friend, You Are Now On Hallowed Ground

For Here Burns Freedoms Holy Light.” App. 4a. The Ten

Commandments monument is six feet high; the Revolutionary

War Monument is three feet four inches high; the Freedom

Monument is eight and one-half feet high. App. 63a. All

three monuments are approximately the same distance from

the main entrance to the Municipal Building and from the

public sidewalk. App. Sa.

>See Anderson v. Salt Lake City Corp., 475 F.2d 29, 30

(10th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 879 (1973).

4

The entrance to the Municipal Building itself is graced

by a relief of an elk’s head flanked by the Latin words

“DEDICATVM” and “JVSTITIAM.” App. 4a. There are

numerous other historical and cultural plaques located in the

foyer just inside the Municipal Building entrance, and in the

open areas of the first, second and third floors of the building.

App. 1 16a. The City maintains the lawn and walkways

surrounding the three monuments on the front lawn, but

contributes no time, money, or efforts to maintaining the

monuments themselves. /d.

The Elkhart FOE monument apparently aroused no

controversy for four decades. App. 6a. Then, in 1998, the

Indiana Civil Liberties Union contacted Elkhart’s Mayor and

threatened to sue unless Elkhart removed the Ten

Commandments from city-owned property. Jd. In

Elkhart’s Common Council adopted Resolution No. R-10-98

which set forth the City’s reasons for keeping the monument

where it stands. App. 66-67a. The council summarized its

reasons as follows:

The Ten Commandments Monument is a historical

and cultural monument that reflects one of the earliest

codes of human conduct. It is proper for the Ten

Commandments Monument to remain and the defense

of this position is strongly endorsed. /d.

This lawsuit followed.

Respondent William Books is an Elkhart resident who

alleges he is offended by the FOE monument and complains

that on those occasions when he goes to the Municipal Building,

and also during his daily activities, he is forced to come into

contact with the monument. App. 7a. Although Books admits

he could use the other doors of the Municipal Building to

avoid the monument (App. 7a), he avers that “Even if I don’t

see it, I certainly know it is there. It offends me if I think

about it.” App. 67a.

Respondent Michael Suetkamp is also an Elkhart

resident who alleges he is deeply offended by the monument.

App. 7a. In his routine activities he passes the monument

frequently and, although he does not always look at it, “even

if I don’t see it, I certainly know it is there.” App. 7-8a.

The plaintiffs did not allege in their complaint, nor

have they subsequently alleged, that any taxes or public funds

have been or are used to maintain the monument.

B. Proceedings Below

Plaintiffs filed suit in the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Indiana on May 5, 1998. In their

complaint, plaintiffs alleged that they are forced to come into

frequent, direct and unwelcome contact with the Ten

Commandments monument. They did not claim to have

standing based on their status as taxpayers. They asked the

court to declare that Elkhart’s display violates the

Establishment Clause and to enjoin the city from continuing

to display it.

l. The District Court

The district court decided the case on the parties’ cross-

motions for summary judgment. The court granted the City

of Elkhart’s motion for summary judgment.

The district court stated that the question of standing

was “very close” and that “the current Supreme Court has on

more than one occassion narrowed the doctrine of standing

applicable here.” App. 73a. The court noted, however, that

recent Seventh Circuit pronouncements would appear to

support a finding of standing even though the monument

stands at a distance from the entrance to the building and

even though someone could enter the building without even

noticing the monument. Jd. The court thus found that “the

scales tip ever so slightly in favor of the plaintiffs.” Jd.

6

The court then held that Elkhart’s display of the Ten

Commandments passed constitutional muster under any of

the five tests the court gleaned from this Court’s Establishment

Clause jurisprudence: (1) The Historical Precedent Test, Marsh

v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983); (2) The Lemon Test,

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 612-13 (1971); (3) The

Endorsement Test, Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 688

(1984) (O’Connor, J., concurring in the judgment); County

of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union, 492 U.S.

573, 592-94 (1989); (4) The Coercion Test, Allegheny, 492

U.S. at 659-63 (Kennedy, J., concurring in part, dissenting in

part); and, (5) The Test for Religious Speech in a Public

Forum, Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board v. Pinette,

515 U.S. 753 (1995). App. 75a.

The district court noted that the display of FOE

monuments virtually identical to Elkhart’s had been upheld

by the Tenth Circuit in Anderson v. Salt Lake City, 475 F.2d

29 (10th Cir., 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 879 (1973), and

the Supreme Court of Colorado in Colorado v. Freedom From

Religion Foundation, 898 P.2d 1013 (Colo. 1995), cert. denied,

516 U.S. 1111 (1996). App. 98a.

2. The Court of Appeals

A divided panel of the Seventh Circuit reversed. The

court found that plaintiffs had standing because they are forced

to view a religious object they wish to avoid when attending

- government-owned place where the object is located. App.

a.

The court applied the Lemon test as modified by the

“endorsement” approach of Lynch and Allegheny. App. 15a.

The majority took, as its “starting point,” this Court’s decision

in Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39 (1980). App. 16a. From

Stone, the majority concluded that it must focus presumptively

on the religious component of the Ten Commandments as

opposed to its significance as a moral or ethical document.

Id. The court recognized that a display of a religious symbol

7

may have a secular purpose, noting that “the text of the Ten

Commandments no doubt has played a role in the secular

development of our society and can no doubt be presented by

the government as playing such a role in our civic order.” Jd.

Indeed, the panel observed that this Court’s own courtroom

is decorated with a frieze containing a permanent depiction

of Moses holding the Ten Commandments. App. 16-17a.

Nevertheless, the panel majority was ultimately persuaded

that Elkhart’s purpose in displaying the monument was the

constitutionally impermissible one of promoting religious

ideals. App. 18a. Important to the court’s reasoning was the

presence of the clergy representatives at the 1958 dedication

ceremony and the specific statements they made which the

court viewed as urging the people of Elkhart “to embrace the

specific religious code of conduct taught in the Ten

Commandments.” App. 17-18a.

The panel majority rejected the argument that the 1998

Common Council Resolution provided a secular basis for

retaining the monument. The majority found it significant

that the resolution was issued “on the eve of litigation”; the

majority articulated no other reason for rejecting the city’s

avowed secular purpose. App. 18a. .

The majority also found that the display fails the second

prong of the Lemon test in that it impermissibly creates the

perception of government endorsement of religion. App. 19a.

Not only do the presence of the Revolutionary War Monument

and the Freedom Monument fail to dilute the religious message,

in the majority’s view, that message is enhanced by the Freedom

Monument’s reference to “hallowed ground.” App. 23a.

Judge Manion’s dissent focused on whether a secular

purpose supported Elkhart’s 1998 decision to retain the 40-

year-old monument. He noted that the 1998 Resolution

identified several secular purposes, each of which has been

accepted as valid by this Court and lower courts addressing

this issue. App. 28-29a. Judge Manion noted that the majority

itself recognized as a legitimate secular purpose the recognition

8

of the Ten Commandments’ “significant impact on the

development of the fundamental legal principles of Western

Civilization.” App. 28a. He pointed out that the sole basis

articulated for the majority's rejection of the asserted secular

purpose — the timing of the City’s Resolution — was readily

explained by the obvious fact that, until the respondents

threatened this lawsuit, there had never been any reason for

Elkhart to formally state its purpose for retaining the

monument. App. 30-3la. Judge Manion also disagreed with

the focus on the 1958 statements of the clergymen since “the

religious leaders were not the City, and it is only the City’s

intent that matters.” App. 31-32a.

Judge Manion likewise disagreed with the majority's

endorsement analysis. He noted that under this Court’s Lynch

and Allegheny decisions, “context is everything.” App. 36a.

Judge Manion stated that when Elkhart’s display is viewed in

its proper context, by an objective observer, it is constitutionally

permissible. In fact, an even stronger case can be made for

the FOE monument’s constitutionality, he contended, than

oe

Finally, Judge Mani ‘the j licability of

Stone v. Graham, a 5-4 per curiam opinion rendered without

the benefit of briefing or argument, decided before Lynch or

Allegheny, and properly confined to the special context of the

public schoolroom:

[W]hile Stone speaks for the school setting — where

student aftendance is compulsory, and pupils are

particular., susceptible to influence — it does not

answer the question in the context of an open courtyard

where citizens may divert their eyes, if confronted by

a discomforting reference to God, to one of the other

App. 45a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE DECISION OF THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

CONFLICTS SQUARELY WITH DECISIONS

OF THE TENTH CIRCUIT AND THE SUPREME

COURT OF COLORADO.

The Seventh Circuit’s decision requiring Elkhart to

remove the FOE Ten Commandments monument on its

property conflicts squarely with the Jc isions of two courts

which have previously rejected challcages to government

displays of identical FOE monuments.

A. The Tenth Circuit

Anderson v. Salt Lake City Corp., 475 F.2d 29 (10th

Cir. 1973), cert. denied 414 U.S. 879 (1973), was an

Establishment Clause challenge to Salt Lake City’s decision

to permit the Fraternal Order of Eagles to erect on city-county

courthouse grounds a Ten Commandments monument like

the one at issue in the present case. The monument was

situated “in a prominent place near the courthouse entrance,”

Id. at 30. The court noted that similar monuments have been

erected in public places across the United States and Canada

— nine in Utah alone — as part of the Eagles’ youth guidance

program. /d.

Noting that “the Decalogue is at once religious and

secular,” id. at 33, the Tenth Circuit observed that “[t)he

wholesome neutrality guaranteed by the Establishment and

Free Exercise Clauses does not dictate obliteration of all our

religious traditions,” id. at 34. The court held that the

monument was “primarily secular” and that “neither its purpose

or effect tends to establish religious belief.” Id.’

> In Summum vy. Callaghan, 130 F.3d 906 (10th Cir. 1997)

— a suit to compel a city to display another monument when the

city already displayed a Ten Commandments monuments —a panel

10

B. The Colorado Supreme Court

In State of Colorado v. Freedom from Religion

Foundation, Inc., 898 P.2d 1013 (Colo. 1995), cert. denied,

516 U.S. 1111 (1996), the Colorado Supreme Court rejected

an Establishment Clause challenge to that State’s display of

an FOE Ten Commandments monument on the grounds of

court regarding the origin, nature, and use of the Decalogue,

the Colorado Supreme Court stated:

All the experts who testified at trial agreed that, at

least to the extent that the Commandments established

ethical or moral principles, they were expressions of

universal standards of behavior common to all western

societies. It was agreed that these moral standards, as

influenced by the Judeo-Christian tradition, have played

a large role in the development of the common law

and have formed a part of the moral background for

the adoption of the national constitution.

Id. at 1024.

The court also found significant the facts that the FOE

monument does not reproduce exactly the Ten Commandments

as accepted by any particular sect, that the monument contains

symbols of more than one religious tradition, and that the

monument contains patriotic symbols such as the eagle and

the American flag. la. Whe When these facts were coupled with

the secular intent of the FOE itself in making the donation,

of the Tenth Circuit stated that the Anderson decision had been

“called into question” by this Court’s decision in Stone v. Graham.

Id. at 913, n.8. This is clearly not accurate since Stone neither

cited nor referred to Anderson and is obviously distinguishable

from it due to the markedly different factual settings.

Notwithstanding the panel's misperception of Stone, the court

expressly declined an invitation to overrule Anderson, which remains

the law in the Tenth Circuit. /d

ll

the court concluded that the purpose of the display is primarily

secular. Id.

With respect to the endorsement test, the court noted

that the FOE monument was one of a number of objects on

display in the Capitol Complex Grounds. The court described

various monuments honoring veterans of different wars, a

replica of the Liberty Bell, and a flagpole dedicated to citizens

killed in the Spanish-American war. Jd at 1025. The court

the monument respects the secular objective intended

at the outset, recognition of a historical, jurisprudential

cornerstone of American legal significance. Moreover,

the content and context of the display do not convey a

message that any person is excluded from our political

community based on religious beliefs or the lack of

such beliefs.

Id. at 1026.

Despite the fact that both Anderson and Freedom from -

monument passes constitutional muster in Salt Lake City and

Denver but violates the Establishment Clause in Elkhart.

This Court should grant review to resolve this conflict.

panel’s error proceeded from a misreading of this Court’s

decision in Stone v. Graham, this Court should intervene and

clarify Stone’s proper scope and applicability.

A. Stone v. Graham Does Not Presumptively

ieuntidete inciesten of Ten C

Displ All G _

The panel majority took as its “starting point” this

Court’s decision in Stone v. Graham striking down a Kentucky

law requiring the posting of the Ten Commandments in public

school classrooms. App. 16a. This Court’s observation that

the Ten Commandments “are undeniably a sacred text,” 449

U.S. at 41, was misapplied by the majority to create what

amounts to a de facto presumption that displays of the

Decalogue violate the Establishment Clause. This presumption

led the court to view with a suspicion bordering on hostility

the Elkhart Common Council’s 1998 Resolution setting forth

several perfectly valid secular purposes for not removing the

40-year-old FOE monument. Stone neither compels nor

supports such a presumption of unconstitutionality whenever

government chooses to display the Ten Commandments.

Stone is distinguishable from the case at bar for a

number of reasons. First, Stone arose in the setting of the

public school classroom, a setting which has invariably called

forth this Court’s heightened sensitivity to Establishment

13

Clause concerns. See, e.g., Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577,

eet anes Sn eee sey me on te mc

freedom of conscience from subtle coercive

schools”); Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 583-84 (1987)

(“The Court has been particularly vigilant in monitoring

compliance with the Establishment Clause in elementary and

secondary schools”). The Stone majority recognized, however,

that the Ten Commandments could properly be incorporated

even into the public school curriculum as part of “the study

of history, civilization, ethics, comparative religion, or the

like.” Stone, 449 U.S. at 42. It was only the required posting

of the Decalogue in isolation in public school classrooms

which was forbidden by Stone.

The second major distinction is that Stone was decided

before this Court’s decisions in Lynch and Allegheny, the two

cases which, more than any others, provide the analytical

framework for judging the constitutionality of government

displays of objects with religious significance.

Stone v. Graham is of limited utility in analyzing

displays of the Ten Commandments on government property,

outside of the limited context of public schools. To the extent

that the Seventh Circuit majority and other courts* have read

Stone presumptively to invalidate such displays, this Court

should clarify the proper scope of its holding in Stone.

*See, e.g., Doe v. Harlan County School Dist., 96 F. Supp.

2d 667, 674 (E.D. Ky. 2000) (citing Stone v. Graham for proposition

that very nature of Ten Commandments precludes a finding of a

prevailing secular purpose); Adland v. Russ, 107 F. Supp. 2d 782,

784-85 (E.D. Ky. 2000) (quoting Doe v. Harlan County for

proposition that nature of Decalogue precludes finding of secular

purpose); JCLU v. O'Bannon, 110 F. Supp. 2d 842, 851 (S.D. Ind.

2000) (taking Stone v. Graham as “starting point” for finding of

Establishment Clause violation in display of Ten Commandments

monument at State Capitol).

14

B. The Elkhart Display Is Constitutional Under

The Lemon Test As Applied In Lynch and

Allegheny, :

Both the panel majority and the dissent in the Seventh

Circuit analyzed Elkhart’s display under the three-pronged

test of Lemon v. Kurtzman, as refined by the endorsement

test of Lynch and Allegheny. See supra. Lemon asks whether

the challenged government action 1) has a secular purpose;

lt my Ann ee Hen

and 3) fosters an excessive entanglement between government

and religion.’ Lemon, 403 U.S. at 612-13. Allegheny refined

Lemon by clarifying that the Court’s approach in these cases

involves a determination of “whether the challenged

governmental practice either has the purpose or effect of

‘endorsing’ religion.”” Allegheny County, 492 U.S. at 592.

The panel majority in this case held that Elkhart’s display

violated both the purpose and effect prong of Lemon.

The majority’s error stems from its misapplication of

this Court’s precedents. Regarding Elkhart’s purpose, the

majority focused exclusively on the statements made by the

clergymen at the 1958 dedication of the FOE monument,

statements which admittedly contained religious references.

As noted by the dissent, however, the clergymen were not

speaking as representatives of the City of Elkhart, but as

ives of their respective religious bodies. App. 32a.

In the absence of a 1958 statement by City representatives of

their purpose in accepting the gift offered by the Fraternal

Order of Eagles, there is no basis for attributing to the City

the sentiments of the guests who attended the dedication

ceremony. A far more logical approach would be that followed

by the Colorado Supreme Court which, in similar

circumstances, “ascribe[d] to the donee the intent of the donor

— that is, acceptance of the gift by the State, without other

‘The parties in this case agree that the excessive

entanglement prong of Lemon is not at issue here.

15

evidence, indicates the State’s assent to the Eagles’ stated

secular purpose,” i.e., the promotion of morality. Freedom

From Religion, 898 P.2d at 1024.

Elkhart has, in effect, made two statements about its

_purpose in accepting and displaying the FOE monument. The

first is the non-verbal statement the City made in 1958 by

placing the monument in a preexisting display of monuments

with historical, secular significance. Even the physical

placement of the FOE monument, which put it equidistant

with the Revolutionary War Memorial and the Freedom

Monument from the Municipal Building entrance and did not

in any way highlight or emphasize the Ten Commandments,

speaks eloquently of the City’s purpose to display the

Decalogue for its universally recognized secular significance.’

The more explicit statement, of course, is the 1998

Common Council Resolution which the panel majority

dismissed. The majority acknowledged this Court’s rule that

courts should normally defer to a governmental articulation

of a secular purpose, App. 18-19a (citing Edwards v. Aguillard,

"As then-Justice Rehnquist put it in Stone v. Graham: “It

is equally undeniable . . . that the Ten Commandments have had a

significant impact on the development of secular legal codes of the

Western World.” Stone, 449 U.S. at 45 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).

One example of this “significant impact” was addressed by this

Court in McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961), a case

involving a challenge to Maryland’s Sunday Closing laws. In his

separate opinion, Mr. Justice Frankfurter traced the history of

Sabbath legislation and demonstrated that so-called “blue laws,”

although undeniably linked to the Ten Commandments, have always

had a secondary civil purpose. This linkage presented no

constitutional impediment, as Justice Frankfurter observed:

“Innumerable civil regulations enforce conduct which harmonizes

with religious concerns. State prohibition of murder, theft and

adultery reinforce commands of the decalogue.” Jd. at 462. In

summary, “[{N]o constitutional command which leaves religion free

can avoid this quality of ixxerplay.” Id.

16

482 U.S. 578, 586 (1983)); nevertheless, the majority

proceeded to reject Elkhart’s avowed secular purpose without

mae Oe ee

Whether the majority’s conclusion rests on its

misreading of Stone or upon some unexpressed suspicion of

the City’s actual motives, that conclusion clearly does not

rest on evidence in the record. Cf Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist.

v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290 (2000) (citing specific record testimony

and documents demonstrating government’s purpose was to

circumvent requirements of Establishment Clause); Aguillard,

' 482 U.S. at 591-93 (citing specific statements by legislators

evidencing a clear religious purpose for enacting statute).

By applying what amounts to a per se presumption of

unconstitutionality, which apparently cannot be overcome by

undisputed evidence of a secular purpose, the Seventh Circuit

has departed from this Court’s precedents in such a way as to

leave governments defenseless against Establishment Clause

challenges of this nature.

The Seventh Circuit panel majority also misapplied

the endorsement test as articulated in both Lynch and Allegheny.

In Lynch, this Court upheld the display of a purely religious

symbol — a creche — because of the overall secular context

in which it was displayed. Lynch, 465 U.S. at 686. In

Allegheny, this Court found that an isolated display of a creche

in the most prominent setting in the seat of government violated

the Establishment Clause. Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 598-99.

But the Court upheld the display of another religious symbol

— a menorah — because it stood next to a Christmas tree

"As the dissent noted, the timing of the Resolution was

dictated by nothing more than the fact that, until plaintiffs threatened

to sue, there had never been any reason for the City of Elkhart to

formally express its purpose for accepting or displaying the FOE

monument. App. 30a-3 la.

17

and a sign saluting liberty which supplied a broader context

for the display. Jd. at 614, (opinion of Blackmun, J.).

In the case at bar, however, the majority turned the

endorsement test inside out. Elkhart’s inclusion of the Ten

Commandments monument among other monuments,

according to the majority, only serves to heighten the

endorsement of religion. The majority construes the Freedom

Monument’s use of the phrases “hallowed ground” and

“freedom’s holy light’”’® as somehow conferring on the nearby

Ten Commandments monument an exclusively religious

signification. App. 23a. But these phrases are nothing more

than examples of the kind of patriotic — not religious —

sentiments of which our history is full and examples of which

this Court-has always viewed as constitutional. See, e.g.,

Lynch, 465 U.S. at 674-75 (“our history is replete with official

references to the value and invocation of Divine guidance,”

and includes “government practices embracing religion,

including Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays, congressional

and military chaplains and the congressional prayer room,

the motto, the Pledge of Allegiance, and presidential

proclamations for a National Day of Prayer”). Rather than

converting the message of the FOE monument into an

exclusively religious one, the presence of these traditional

patriotic expressions actually has the opposite effect on a

*The phrase is taken from Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address.

The prominent display of this phrase in military parks in

Pennsylvania and elsewhere hardly converts such government

properties into religious shrines.

'°This phrase is taken from the patriotic standard “America,”

the final verse of which concludes:

“Long may our land be bright

With freedom’s holy light.

Protect us by Thy Might,

Great God, our King.”

18

reasonable observer, i.e., it underscores the fact that Elkhart

displays the Ten Commandments as a text which has become

part of Western secular culture.”

The panel majority opinion in this case is inconsistent

with a correct reading of this Court’s Establishment Clause

jurisprudence. It implicitly adopts the very attitude of hostility

toward religion against which this Court has always warned.

See Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306, 313 (1952).

Il. THE DECISION OF THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

—~CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT’S DECISIONS

ON STANDING FOR ESTABLISHMENT

CLAUSE CASES.

The respondents claim to have standing based solely

on the fact that they are offended by Elkhart’s display of the

FOE monument and that they are forced to view the monument

when passing or entering the Municipal Building. They

specifically do not allege taxpayer standing. Such a low

threshold for invoking the jurisdiction of the federal courts

amounts to virtually no threshold. It flies in the face of this

"'The story of Moses leading the people of Israel from

slavery to freedom was so much a part of the intellectual milieu of

the founding generation that, in response to a congressional

commission of July 4, 1776 to devise a seal for the United States,

Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson proposed the following:

“Pharaoh sitting in an open chariot, a crown on his head and a

sword in his hand passing through the waters of the Red Sea

in pursuit of the Israelites: rays from a pillar of fire in the

cloud, expressive of the divine presence and command, reaching

to Moses who stands on the shore and, extending his hand

over the sea, causes it to overwhelm Pharaoh.

Motto: Rebellion to Tyrants is Obedience to God.”

Hutson, James H., Religion and the Founding of the American

Republic, 1998, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C., pp. 50-51.

19

Court’s decisions on standing in Establishment Clause cases

and converts the federal courts into mere debating societies.

In Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United

for Separation of Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 485

(1982), this Court held that plaintiffs who allege no injury

beyond the “psychological consequence presumably produced

by observation of conduct with which one disagrees” do not

have standing under Article III.

The plaintiffs in Valley Forge were a nonprofit

organization committed to the principle of separation of church

and state and several of the organization’s employees. The

plaintiffs objected to the federal government’s conveyance of

surplus real property from the Department of Health,

Education, and Welfare to a nonprofit school operated by the

Assemblies of God. In reaching the conclusion that plaintiffs

lacked standing, this Court said:

Their claim that the Government has violated the

Establishment Clause does not provide a special license

to roam the country in search of governmental

wrongdoing and to reveal their discoveries in federal

court. The federal courts were simply not constituted

as ombudsmen of the general welfare.

Id. at 487.

The Court labeled the following requirements for

standing “an irreduciole minimum”: actual or threatened injury,

traceable to the defendant’s putatively illegal conduct, and

likely to be redressed by a favorable decision. /d. at 472.

The Court has not wavered from this “irreducible minimum”

in the two decades since Valley Forge. See Vermont ANR v.

U.S. ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765 (2000). In fact, this Court

has repeatedly emphasized the fundamental importance of

these requirements to the entire framework of our constitutional

form of government. Whitmore v. Arkansas, 495 U.S. 149,

155 (1990); Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555,

20

559-60 rage (“the Constitution’s central mechanism of

separation of powers depends largely upon common

understanding of what activities are appropriate to legislatures,

to executives, and to courts”); Steel Co. v. Citizens for Better

pers ae U.S. 83, 101 (1998) (“constitutional elements of

jurisdiction are an essential ingredient of ion and

equilibration of powers”). py

This Court has never specifically addressed the issue

of standing in a religious display case. See Note,

Harms and Standing, 112 Harv. L. Rev. 1313, 1320 (1999).

The panel majority in the instant case cited several of this

Court’s religious exercises in public schools cases’? in support

of its finding that respondents’ allegation of “direct and

unwelcome exposure to a religious message” were sufficient

to confer standing. App. 11a (citing Lee v. Weisman, 505

U.S. 577 (1992) (student and parent objecting to benediction

at public school graduation); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38

(1985) (students and parents objecting to school mandated

moment of silence); Stone v. Graham, supra; School District

of Abington Township v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203 (1963)

(students and parents objecting to reading of Bible in school).

These cases, however, each involved the unique context of

the public school, a context calling forth “heightened concerns

with protecting freedom of conscience from subtle coercive

pressure,” Lee, 505 U.S. at 592. The “injury” element is

satisfied in these cases because, in the school context, the

pressure to participate in objectionable religious exercises,

“though subtle and indirect, can be as real as any overt

compulsion.” Jd. at 593. This Court has never applied such

an analysis to persons who, like the respondents in this case,

merely walk or drive by a passive stone which they are free

to look at or ignore, revere or revile.

Neither Lynch nor Allegheny directly addressed the

The panel majority did not cite or attempt to distinguish

Valley Forge.

21

standing issue. The court of appeals in Lynch, however,

specifically held that the plaintiffs’ standing was based on

their status as taxpayers. Donnelly v. Lynch, 691 F.2d 1029,

1030-32 (1st Cir. 1982). While this Court’s Allegheny decision

did not address the issue, the Third Circuit’s opinion contains

several references to public money being expended to create

and maintain that display, thus strongly suggesting taxpayer

standing. ACLU v. County of Allegheny, 842 F.2d 655-58

(3d Cir. 1988). There is no suggestion in the record here that

any public funds were or are used to maintain Elkhart’s

monument. Hence, this Court’s decisions in Lynch and

Allegheny — which, after all, did not even address standing

—cannot be said to have definitively resolved the issue in

favor of respondents herein, much less to have overruled

Valley Forge.

Three members of this Court have questioned whether

mere exposure to a religious display or symbol that offends

one’s beliefs is sufficient to confer standing. City of Edmond

v. Robinson, 517 U.S. 1201 (1996) (Rehnquist, CJ., with

whom Scalia, J., and Thomas, J., join, dissenting from denial

of certiorari). In Edmond, plaintiffs successfully challenged

a city’s display of its official seal which contained, among

other symbols, a Latin cross. The display of the seal was

apparently ubiquitous, appearing on “City limits signs, on

City flags, on the uniforms of City police officers and

firefighters, on official City vehicles, on stickers identifying

City property . . . in the City Council chambers . . . on each

utility bill sent out by the City, as well as on official City

stationery and the Utility and Sanitation Department’s

newsletters.” City of Edmond v. Robinson, 68 F.3d 1226,

1228 (10th Cir. 1995). The Chief Justice observed: “Mere

presence in the city, without further allegations of injury,

quite clearly fails to meet the standing requirements laid down

in cases such as Valley Forge.” Edmond, 517 U.S. at 1202.

Respondents in this case are adults. They do not

allege that their taxes are used to maintain the FOE monument.

They do not even claim that they have altered their usual

22

routes of travel or their daily activities to avoid the monument.

App. 7a-8a. They claim only that they observe and are offended

neg nage Se a te mg ane

Building or on those evidently

they actually enter the building. /d. ieee

a point of noting that the FOE monument disturbs them even

when they are not observing it because they “certainly know

it is there.” Jd. But respondents’ quest for psychic satisfaction

is insufficient: “[P]sychic satisfaction is not an acceptable

Article III remedy because it does not redress a cognizable

Article III injury.” Steel Co., 523 U.S. at 107.

Allowing litigants to enjoy standing in cases of this

nature runs contrary to this Court’s holding in Valley Forge.

It encourages the very sort of licensing of roaming bands of

self-appointed Establishment Clause police which this Court

rejected in Valley Forge, 454 U.S. at 487. Citizens who have

suffered no injury beyond the “psychological consequence

presumably produced by observation of conduct with which

[they] disagree” are given a veto power over the considered

judgments of executives and legislative bodies. Legislators,

such as the members of Elkhart’s Common Council, find

their good faith efforts to strike the often difficult balance

between an exaggerated aversion to religion and “a tolerable

acknowledgment of beliefs widely held among the people of

this country,” Marsh, 463 U.S. at 792, held up to exacting

judicial scrutiny. Such an approach is not conducive to

maintaining the “separation and equilibration of powers” which

Article III standing doctrine is intended to protect. Steel Co.,

523 U.S. at 101. It creates a kind of free admission pass for

litigious individuals whose “injuries” are trifling at best.'”

'*The trifling and contrived appearance of such claims las

produced frustration among some members of the judiciary. See,

e.g., Harris v. City of Zion, 927 F.2d 1401, 1419-25 (7th Cir.

1991) cert. denied, 505 U.S. 1218 (1992) (Easterbrook, J.,

; Washegesic v. Bloomingdale Public Schools, 33 F. 3d

679, 684-85 (6th Cir. 1994) cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1095 (1995)

23

CONCLUSION

Allowing the panel majority’s opinion to stand would

be to authorize judicially forced removal not only of Elkhart’s

FOE monument, but hundreds, perhaps thousands, of other

virtually identical monuments across the nation. Nothing in

this Court’s jurisprudence or our nation’s history requires or

even permits such a radical course.

This Court should grant the petition and reverse the

judgment of the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals.

(Guy, Senior Circuit Judge, concurring). Judge Guy’ $ assessment

of plaintiff's claim of “injury” caused by viewing a picture of

Christ which has hung on a school wall for 30 years is deserving

of note:

For me, at least, a discussion of “psychological damage”

resulting from viewing this picture does implicate an

“establishment” — but not one of religion. What is established

is a class of “eggshell” plaintiffs of a delicacy never before

known to the law. I can well understand that someone

this plaintiff) in some sense could be offended by this portrait,

but “injured” is another matter.

Id. at 684.

24

Respectfully submitted,

STUART J. ROTH JAY A. SEKULOW

WALTER M. WEBER Counsel of Record

DAVID A. CORTMAN JAMES M. HENDERSON

American Center for Law FRANCIS J. MANION

and Justice COLBY M. MAY

1650 Diagonal Road American Center for Law

5* Floor and Justice

Alexandria, VA 22314 205 3” Steet, NE.

(703) 740-1450 Washington, DC 20003

(202) 546-8890

VLADO VRANJES

Corporation Counsel

City of Elkhart

229 S. Second Street

Elkhart, IN 46516

(219) 294-5471 Attorneys for Petitioners

DATED: March 9, 2001

25

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

No. 00-1114

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

~ SEVENTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM A. BOOKS and MICHAEL

SUETKAMP,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

CITY OF ELKHART, INDIANA,

Defendant-Appellee.

Argued May 12, 2000

Decided December 13, 2000

Before RIPPLE, MANION and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges.

RIPPLE, Circuit Judge.

On the lawn of the City of Elkhart's Municipal Building

stands a monument inscribed with the Ten Commandments.

William A. Books and Michael Suetkamp, residents of Elkhart,

object to the of this monument on government property.

brought this action in the district court, claiming that

the display of the monument by the City of Elkhart violates

the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment to the

Constitution of the United States. The district court granted

summary judgment for the City of Elkhart. For the reasons

One etree aaa cera CORED OD Daas

the district court and remand for proceedings consistent with

this opinion.

A monument inscribed with the Ten Commandments is

la

located on the lawn in front of the Municipal Building of the

City of Elkhart ("the City" or "Elkhart"). The plaintiffs,

residents of Elkhart, object to the presence of this monument

in this location. We therefore must determine whether this

presence of the monument violates the Establishment Clause

of the Constitution of the United States, which has been made

applicable to the states through the Fourteenth Amendment.’

This task requires that we examine the history of the

monument's placement and maintenance as well as the physical

characteristics of the monument and of the surrounding area.

l.

In the 1940s, a juvenile court judge in Minnesota, E. J.

Ruegemer, inaugurated the Youth Guidance Program.

Disheartened by the growing number of youths in trouble, he

sought to provide them with a common code of conduct. He

believed that the Ten Commandments might provide the.

necessary guidance. Judge Ruegemer originally planned to

post paper copies of the Ten Commandments in juvenile courts,

first in Minnesota and then across the country. To help fund

his idea, he contacted the Fraternal Order of es ("FOE"),

a service organization dedicated to promoting liberty, truth,

and justice. At first, FOE rejected Judge Ruegemer's idea

because it feared that the program might seem coercive or

sectarian. In response to these concerns, representatives of

Judaism, Protestantism, and Catholicism developed what the

individuals involved believed to be a nonsectarian version of

the Ten Commandments because it could not be identified

with any one religious group. After reviewing this version,

FOE agreed to support Judge Ruegemer's program.

Around this same time, motion picture producer Cecil B.

DeMille contacted Judge Ruegemer about the program.

' See County of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties

Union, Greater Pittsburgh Chapter, 492 U.S. 573, 588, 106 L. Ed.

2d 472, 109 S. Ct. 3086 (1989); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38,

48-55, 86 L. Ed. 2d 29, 105 S. Ct. 2479 (1985); School Dist. of

Abingdon Township v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203, 215, 10 L. Ed. 2d

844, 83 S. Ct. 1560 (1963) (calling the principle "decisively settled");

Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 303, 84 L. Ed. 1213, 60 S.

Ct. 900 (1940).

2a

Commandments," suggested

Erase plegess, Judge Resear eagtad Get panko aioe

nze plaques. Judge i ite mi

be a more suitable material be the original ten

Commandments were written pod py DeMille agreed with

Judge Ruegemer's suggestion, and the judge thereafter worked

with two Minnesota granite companies to produce granite

monuments inscribed with the Ten Commandments. Local

chapters of FOE financed these granite monuments and then,

throughout the 1950s, donated them to their local communities.

The Elkhart chapter of FOE donated its version of the Ten

Commandments monument to the City of Elkhart in 1958.

_Elkhart's newspaper, The Elkhart Truth, published an

article about the dedication of the Ten Commandments

monument to the City of Elkhart. See R.29, Ex.A, Ceremonies

Pay Tribute in Memorial Day Rite; City Given Decalogue,

The Elkhart Truth, May 31, 1958, at 1. The dedication was a

part of the City's Memorial Day ceremonies, and the

participants in the dedication included: Robert Long, city

controller; Mahlon Hull, past president of the Elkhart

of FOE; Dale Swihart, lodge secretary for FOE; the Reverend

William Gieranowski, assistant pastor of St. Vincent's Catholic

Church; the Reverend W. W. Kenhell, outgoing president of

the Elkhart Ministerial Association; and Rabbi M: E.

Finkelstein of Temple Israel.

According to the newspaper, Reverend Kenhell spoke at

the ceremony, imparting the message that "Americans have

munertiad mramm powes Sam the founding fathers of cur country,

.. . and if they will accept the precepts of the Ten

Commandments, it will provide their redemption from today's

strife and fear." Jd. Father Gieranowski also spoke at the

ceremony and stated that moral law does not change and that

the Ten Commandments should be engraved not only in stone

but in the hearts, minds, and consciences of everyone. See id.

Finally, the newspaper noted, Rabbi Finkelstein explained

that the dedication of the monument "should be an occasion

for dedication of everyone to the high ideals inherent in the

American way of life." Jd.

I

3a

As we have noted earlier, Elkhart's Ten Commandments

monument is located on the lawn in front of the City’s Municipal

Building. The Municipal Building, situated on the comers of

Second and High Streets in downtown Elkhart, contains the

mayor's office, the City's legal and human relations

a the city court, the prosecutor's office, and the

offices of the Common Council. Above the main entrance to

the Municipal Building is a bas relief of an elk's head. Directly

to the left of the elk’s head is the word "DEDICATVM,” and

on the immediate right of the elk's head is the word

"JVSTITIAM.” R.29 & 31, Ex.14-16.

The lot for the Municipal Building contains the building

itself, sidewalks, and a parking area. Between the building

and the sidewalks is a grass lawn that is approximately 25

feet wide. Within this lawn are three monuments. The City

maintains this lawn surrounding the monuments but does not

contribute any time, money, or effort to the maintenance of

the monuments themselves.

On the southeast corner of the building's lot — the corner

nearest the intersection — are the Revolutionary War

Monument and the Freedom Monument. The Revolutionary

War Monument, closest to the street, is a large stone, which

bears a plaque and is surrounded by a bed of flowers. See

R.29 & 31, Ex.23-24. The plaque explains that the monument

was donated by the Daughters of the American Revolution in

honor of the Revolutionary War soldiers buried in Elkhart

County. Behind the Revolutionary War Monument is the

Freedom Monument. The Freedom Monument is a brick pillar

with a light on its top. A plaque on the pillar reads: "BEHOLD

FRIEND, YOU ARE NOW ON HALLOWED GROUND

FOR HERE BURNS FREEDOMS HOLY LIGHT." R.29 &

31, Ex.25. Collectively, the Revolutionary War Monument

and the Freedom Monument are referred to as the War

Memorial.

On the northeast corner of the lot is the Ten Commandments

? The bas relief also contains, in smaller lettering, the

words "INCORPORATED 1875" on the far left of the elk's head

and the words "ERECTED 1915" on the far right of the elk's head.

R.29 & 31, Ex.16.

4a

granite and stands six feet high and three and one-half feet

aoeuchaetenlenamateans Gare tereetent

the text of the Ten The face of the monument

Llp efpecpter depres

Thou not make to thyself any en i 1

Thou shalt not take the Name of the Lord thy God in

vain.

Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.

enw rn rn a

upon God giveth thee.

Thou shalt not kill. al —

Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's wife, nor his

manservant, nor his mai ant, nor his cattle, nor

anything that is thy neighbor's.

R.29 & 31, Ex.5. This text, as stated previously, is an

nee of Jewish, Protestant, and Catholic versions of

Commandments.

Pe. the top On Cnn, there are two small tablets

contain anci ebrew script. Surrounding both of these

tablets is a floral design, and between the two tablets is an

eye within a pyramid — an all-seeing eye.‘ Immediately below

the all-seeing eye is an American Eagle grasping the American

° Both the Ten Commandments monument and the War

Memorial are approximately the same distance from the main

entrance and from the sidewalks. The Ten Commandments

monument is 46 feet from the main entrance and 10 feet from the

sidewalk, and the War Memorial is 48 feet from the main entrance

and 10 feet from the sidewalk. Both are partially shaded by trees.

“ The all-seeing eye on the monument is similar to the

one depicted on the one-dollar bill.

Sa

flag. Below the text on the monument are two small Stars of

David. In the center of the two stars is a similarly sized

symbol representing Christ: two Greek letters, Chi and Rho,

superimposed upon each other. At the base of the monument

is a small scroll, which reads as follows:

PRESENTED TO THE CITY OF ELKHART, IND.

BY

ELKHART AERIE NO. 395

FRATERNAL ORDER OF EAGLES

MAY, 1958

Id.

Photos of the Ten Commandments monument and of the

front of the Municipal Building were included in the trial

record and are attached as appendices to this opinion.

3.

Insofar as this record shows, the presence of the Ten

Commandments monument on the lawn of the Elkhart

Municipal Building produced no controversy until 1998. In

that year, the City's mayor was informed that, unless the

monument was removed, a lawsuit would be filed. After this

warning was received, the Common Council of the City of

Elkhart convened on May 4, 1998, and adopted a resolution

"regarding the display of the Ten ents on public

property." R.29, Ex.B. According to this resolution, the

monument and the symbols on its face recognize the historical

and cultural significance of the Ten Commandments. The

Common Council noted in its resolution that numerous other

historical and cultural plaques are inside the Municipal

Building. The Common Council further emphasized that "the

Ten Commandments have had a significant impact on the

development of the fundamental legal principles of Western

Civilization." Jd. Finally, the Common Council concluded

that, because the Ten Commandments monument "is a

historical and cultural monument that reflects one of the earliest

codes of human conduct," it was proper for the monument to

remain. Id. Because the Common Council did not remove the

monument, two residents of Elkhart filed this action against

the City of Elkhart.

6a

4.

Plaintiff William Books is a resident of Elkhart County

and has resided in Elkhart since the early 1980s. In Mr. Books’

affidavit, he states that "to the extent that I must, or wish to,

go to the Municipal Building to participate as a citizen of

Elkhart I must come into direct and unwelcome contact with

the [Ten Commandments] monument." R.24, Attachment 1,

at 2. Mr. Books explains that, in the past, he has gone to the

Municipal Building to pay a traffic ticket and to attend City

Council meetings when the issues discussed were ones that

interested him. Also, notes Mr. Books, his deposition for this

case was conducted in the City Attorney's office in the

Municipal Building. As Mr. Books explains, although he could

use the Municipal Building's side entrance instead of its main

entrance in order to avoid the monument, he "knows the Ten

es 9 monument is there whether [he] sees it or

not.” Jd. at 3.

Mr. Books further explains that he the monument

in his daily activities, including: riding his bicycle on a route

that passes the Municipal Building; patronizing the Elkhart

Public Library, which is located across the street from the

Municipal Building; and visiting his landlord's office and his

cousin's house, both of which are located near the Municipal

Building. He states that, in order to avoid seeing the Ten

Commandments monument, he "would have to assume the

special burden of altering [his] daily routine so as to avoid

this direct and unwelcome contact." Jd. at 2.

Plaintiff Michael Suetkamp is also a resident of Elkhart

County and has lived in Elkhart since the early 1990s. In his

affidavit, Mr. Suetkamp states that he is an atheist and is

offended deeply by the placement of the Ten Commandments

monument on the property of the City of Elkhart. He states

that he must come in direct and unwelcome contact with the

monument to participate as a citizen of Elkhart. As he explains,

he has entered the Municipal Building to pay a traffic ticket,

to attend a City Council meeting, to talk to the City Council's

oe and to have his deposition taken by the City Attorney

in this case.

Mr. Suetkamp also avers that he comes in direct and

7a

unwelcome contact with the monument in his daily activities.

For example, he states that the route he takes to return home

from work passes the Municipal Building and that he

sometimes sees the monument when entering the Elkhart Public

Library. Although he passes the monument frequently, Mr.

Suetkamp admits that he does not look directly at it every

time, but he states that "even if 1 don't see it, I certainly know

it is there." R.24, Attachment 4, at 2.

B. Proceedings in the District Court

The district court held that the placement of the Ten

Commandments monument on the lawn of the Elkhart

Municipal Building did not violate the Establishment Clause.

When analyzing the placement of the monument under the

test set out in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 29 L. Ed. 2d

745, 91 S. Ct. 2105 (1971), the court examined (1) whether

the City had a secular purpose in maintaining the monument,

(2) whether the primary effect of the monument was to advance

religion, and (3) whether the City's action fostered an excessive

entanglement of government with religion. See id. at 612-13.

After stating that the third prong did not apply, the court

found that Elkhart had a secular purpose for the monument.

According to the court, the City's purpose in accepting the

monument, promoting morality in youths, is a legitimate aim

of government and is a traditional part of the police powers

of the state. Also, the court stated, the City's purpose in

continuing to display the monument, to maintain exhibits of

cultural and historical significance on City property, is also

secular.

The court also discussed whether the monument had the

effect of endorsing religion. It noted that this question is

asked from the perspective of a reasonable observer who is

charged with knowledge of the history and context of the

display. The court stated that a reasonable observer looking

at the monument would know that the Ten Commandments

has both religious and historical significance and would

acknowledge the significance of the religious symbols on the

monument as signs of the major religions of this country at

the time of the monument's donation. The court next pointed

out that a reasonable observer would view the Ten

Commandments monument as part of the City's overall

8a

Building is and the City could not be to

all of its displays in one “Tho cowt an bold Geet

does not violate the lishment Clause for the City of

T

the

laying the monument on the lawn of the

nation by di

Municipal

Il

DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

Mp review 2a the o—— of the district court to

grant summary j t. Wright v. Illinois Dep't

Corrections, 204 F.3d 727, 729 (7 i

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and that the moving is entitled to a

tolament as a matter of law." Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); Celotex

—— v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23, 91 L. Ed. 2d 265, 106

S. Ct. 2548 (1986). In determining whether a genuine issue

of material fact exists, we must review the record in the light

most favorable to the plaintiffs and make all reasonable

inferences in their favor. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242, 255, 91 L. Ed. 2d 202, 106 S. Ct. 2505 (1986).

Here, the parties do not dispute the material facts, so we shall

— yi b —y ~ 9 conclusions of law. See

reedom From Religion Found., Inc. v. City of Ma

203 F.3d 487, 490 (7th Cir. 2000). dubia

B. Standing

l.

* The district court also analyzed the placement of the

Ten Commandments under several other "tests." Because we believe

that the Lemon test, as refined by Supreme Court precedent, still

the other tests mentioned by the district court.

9a

Under Article III of the Constitution of the United States,

a plaintiff must have ing to bring an action before a

federal court. To have ing, the S Court has

explained, the plaintiff must allege (1) that he has suffered an

injury in fact (2) that is fairly traceable to the action of the

defendant and (3) that will likely be redressed with a favorable

decision. See Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555,

560-61, 119 L. Ed. 2d 351, 112 S. Ct. 2130 (1992). Here, the

dispute centers on the first element: whether the plaintiffs

suffered an injury in fact by the City's display of the Ten

on government property.

To allege adequately an injury in fact, a plaintiff must

show "an invasion of a legally protected interest which is (a)

concrete and particularized and (b) actual or imminent, not

conjectural or hypothetical." /d. at 560 (citations and quotation

marks omitted). In the context of the Establishment Clause,

our cases have required that, to allege properly that a plaintiff

has suffered an injury in fact from the display of a religious

object, the individual may show he has undertaken a special

burden or has altered his behavior to avoid the offensive

object. See, e.g., Freedom From Religion Found., 203 F.3d at

489 (avoids using the park); Go v. North Township, 4

F.3d 1412, 1416-17 (7th Cir. 1993) (avoids area of the park);

Harris v. City of Zion, 927 F.2d 1401, 1405 (7th Cir. 1991)

(alters travel routes); Doe v. Village of Crestwood, 917 F.2d

1476, 1478 (7th Cir. 1990) (will stay away from festival);

American Civil Liberties Union v. City of St. Charles, 794

F.2d 265, 269 (7th Cir. 1986) (alters behavior by detouring);

Doe v. Small, 726 F. Supp. 713, 718-19 (N.D. Ill. 1989),

rev'd en banc on other grounds, 964 F.2d 611 (7th Cir. 1992)

(avoids using park).

The district court here, however, relied on Doe v. County

of Montgomery, 41 F.3d 1156 (7th Cir. 1994), to determine

whether the plaintiffs had suffered an injury in fact even

though they had not altered their behavior to avoid the Ten

Commandments monument. In Doe, a permanent metal sign,

ing over the main entrance of the county's courthouse,

: "THE WORLD NEEDS GOD." The plaintiffs were

residents of the county and wished to avoid the sign; however,

in order to participate as citizens of their county and to fulfill

certain legal obligations, they needed to use the courthouse.

10a

505 U.S. 577, 120 L. Ed. 2d 467, 112 S. Ct. 2649 (1992)

ictions at non- ion ceremonies);

Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 86 L. Ed. 2d 29, 105 S. 4

2479 (1985) (school children = objected to one-

minute period of silence); Stone v. , 449 U.S. 3

L. Ed. 2d 199, 101 S. Ct. 192 (1980) (per curiam) (students

and parents objected to posting of Ten Commandments);

School Dist. of Abington Township v. Schempp, 374 U.S.

(school children and parents objected to reading of Bible in

to not errs og): Berger v. Rensselaer Cent. Sch. Corp.,

982 F.2d 1160, 1164 n.4 (7th Cir. 1993) (parent of school

children objected to distribution of Gideon Bibles in the

schools); Sherman v. Community Consol. Sch. Dist. 21 of

Wheeling Township, 980 F.2d 437, 441 (7th Cir. 1992) (student

objected to recitation of Pledge of Allegiance).

The district court followed the holding of Doe and noted

that the plaintiffs had alleged that they must come in direct

and unwelcome contact with the Ten Commandments

monument to participate fully as citizens of Elkhart and to

Se En ten ceanas. The cout questioned whether

the plaintiffs had to at the monument to enter the Municipal

as the plaintiffs in Doe had to see the sign over the

main entrance to enter the county courthouse, but found that

the facts were sufficiently close to fit within the rule of Doe.

lla

Therefore, the plaintiffs had standing to challenge the

placement of the monument in front of the Municipal Building.

2.

The plaintiffs bear the burden of establishing that they

have standing to bring this action. See Doe, 41 F.3d at 1159.

To meet that burden, plaintiffs Books and Suetkamp both

allege that they must come in direct and unwelcome contact

with the Ten Commandments monument to participate fully

as citizens of Elkhart and to fulfill certain legal duties.

Moreover, they each allege specific examples in which they

have entered the Municipal Building to participate as a citizen

of Elkhart or to fulfill a obligation.

According to the City, the plaintiffs must alter their

behavior to avoid the Ten Commandments monument before

they can allege that they have suffered an injury in fact. In

Doe, the City submits, the plaintiffs wished to avoid the

religious sign above the ‘s main entrance but could

not do so if they wished to use the courthouse and to participate

as citizens of the county. Here, the City argues, the plaintiffs

could have entered the Municipal Building through ive

entrances, or, even if entering through the main entrance,

they could have passed along the back of the Ten

Commandments monument. Because of these two options,

the City contends, the plaintiffs did not need to come in

direct and unwelcome contact with the text on the Ten

Commandments monument in order to participate as citizens

of Elkhart or to fulfill their legal obligations. Thus, the City

asserts, the plaintiffs have not all that they suffered an

injury in fact by the placement of the Ten Commandments

monument on the lawn of the Municipal Building.

3.

As this court discussed in Doe, the Supreme Court has

addressed the requirements for standing when a plaintiff must

view a religious symbol in his daily routine or when he is

forced to come in contact with religious conduct through

participation in school or in government. See Doe, 41 F.3d at

1160. As we demonstrated in Doe, our holding in that case is

grounded firmly in the precedent of the Supreme Court.

12a

Therefore, we must conclude that the plaintiffs have i

to challenge the placement of an tee toc

monument on the lawn of the Municipal Building.

_ We agree with the district ict court that there is no principled

distinction between the facts of Doe and the facts presented

here. In Doe, the plaintiffs were required to come in direct

and unwelcome contact with the religious di in order to

participate fully in government and to their legal

obligations. Here, the plaintiffs do the same. Although

attend the government-owned place where the object is located.

See Doe, 41 F.3d at 1159-61. Therefore, the plaintiffs have

alleged sufficient facts to demonstrate that they suffered an

injury in fact by the placement of the Ten Commandments

monument on the lawn of the Municipal Building.

C. Governing Principles and Application

Although various members of the Supreme Court of the

United States have criticized it,° the test first enunciated by

* See, e.g., Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S.

290, 120 S. Ct. 2266, 2284-85, 147 L. Ed. 2d 295 (2000) (Rehnquist,

the decisional lew of ts Court” end collecting opiiocs ciicising

- * end collecting opiai “wee

Lemon); Lamb's Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free Sch. Dist.,

508 U.S. 384, 398-99, 124 L. Ed. 2d 352, 113 S. Ct. 2141 (1993)

(Scalia, J., concurring in judgment) (comparing Lemon to "some

ghoul in a late-night horror movie that repeatedly sits up in its

grave and shuffles abroad, after being repeatedly killed and buried"

13a

the Court in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 29 L. Ed. 2d

745, 91 S. Ct. 2105 (1971), remains the prevailing analytical

tool for the analysis of Establishment Clause claims. As an

intermediate federal appellate court, we are obliged by the

doctrines of stare decisis and precedent to employ that

methodology unless instructed otherwise by the Supreme

Court.’ See, e.g., Freedom From Religion Found., 203 F.3d

at 493 (emphasizing Lemon test in Establishment Clause

analysis); Bridenbaugh v. O'Bannon, 185 F.3d 796, 797 (7th

Cir. 1999) (same); Tanford v. Brand, 104 F.3d 982, 986 (7th

Cir. 1997) (same); Kerr v. Farrey, 95 F.3d 472, 476-80 (7th

Cir. 1996) (same); Fleischfresser v. Directors of Sch. Dist.

200, 15 F.3d 680, 685-86 (7th Cir. 1994) (same); Sherman v.

Community Consolidated School District 21, 8 F.3d 1160 at

1163-64 (same). Under the approach mandated by Lemon,

we must consider: (1) whether the government activity in

question has a secular purpose, (2) whether the activity's

primary effect advances or inhibits religion, and (3) whether

the government activity fosters an excessive entanglement

with religion. See Lemon, 403 U.S. at 612-13. Governmental

and then collecting opinions criticizing Lemon); County of

Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 655-56 (Kennedy, J., concurring in the

judgment in part and dissenting in part) (stating that, although he

found the Lemon test useful in judging the constitutionality of

holiday displays, he did “not wish to be seen as advocating, let

alone adopting, that test as our primary guide in this difficult area");

Committee for Pub. Educ. & Religious Liberty v. Regan, 444 U.S.

646, 671, 63 L. Ed. 2d 94, 100 S. Ct. 840 (1980) (Stevens, J.,

dissenting) (desiring to avoid "continuing with the sisyphean task

of trying to patch together the ‘blurred, indistinct, and variable

barrier’ described in Lemon” (citation omitted)).

” See State Oil v. Khan, 522 U.S. 3, 20, 139 L. Ed. 2d

199, 118 S. Ct. 275 (1997) (stating that the "Court of Appeals was

correct in applying [the doctrine of stare decisis] despite

disagreement with [a prior Supreme Court opinion], for it is this

Court's prerogative alone to overrule one of its precedents"); Agostini

v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203, 217, 138 L. Ed. 2d 391, 117 S. Ct. 1997

(1997) (reminding appellate courts that "the views of five Justices

that [a] case should be reconsidered or overruled cannot be said to

have effected a change in Establishment Clause law"); see also

DeWalt v. Carter, 224 F.3d 607, 617 n.5 (7th Cir. 2000).

l4a

action is violative of the constitutional prohibition against the

establishment of religion if it violates one of these three

See Edwards v. 482 U.S. 578, 583, 96 L.

2d 510, 107 S. Ct. 2573 (1987) In this case, the plaintiffs

nae ay of So monument lnvatves an

excessive entanglement with religion; therefore, we shall

confine our discussion to the first two prongs of the analysis.

Before turning to the situation before us, we also note

that, in more recent cases, the Supreme Court has, on occasion,

articulated these first vo prongs in terms of an "endorsement"

test. See County of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties

Union, Greater Pitts. Chapter, 492 U.S. 573, 592, 106

L. Ed. 2d 472, 109 S. Ct. 3086 (1989) (formally accepting

the endorsement test and stating that "in recent years, we

have paid particularly close attention to whether the challenged

governmental practice either has the purpose or effect of

endorsing: religion, s concern thet has long hed « place in

our Estab ent Clause jurisprudence"); see also Santa Fe

oo Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290, 120 S. Ct. 2266,

2278, 147 L. Ed. 2d 295 (2000) (asking whether the state

endorsed religion by allowing a student to lead a prayer to

open high school football games); Capitol Square Review &

Advisory Bd. v. Pinette, 515 U.S. 753, 763-65, 132 L. Ed. 2d

650, 115 S. Ct. 2440 (1995) (acknowledging endorsement

test but stating that it did not apply in the case at hand because

the correct analysis for private religious speech in a public

forum was under the Free Speech Clause). As we noted recently

in Freedom From Religion Foundation, "under this test, ‘the

effect prong asks whether, irrespective of government's actual

purpose, the practice under review in fact conveys a message

of endorsement or disapproval.” 203 F.3d at 493 (quoting

Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 690, 79 L. Ed. 2d 604, 104

S. Ct. 1355 (1984) (O'Connor, J., concurring)).

l.

The first of our inquiry must be to determine whether

the display of this tablet by the City of Elkhart has the proncey

purpose of "advancing or inhibiting religion." Agostini v.

9G oo Ae Ee a 138 L. Ed. 2d 391, 117 S. Ct.

; urt has explained, ""The purpose prong

of the Lemon test asks whether the government's actual purpose

15a

is to endorse or disapprove of religion."" Aguillard, 482 U.S.

at 585 (quoting Lynch, 465 U.S. at 690 (O'Connor, J.,

concurring)). In determining whether this particular display

of the Ten Commandments can be said to have a valid secular

purpose, we must evaluate the totality of the circumstances

surrounding the placement and maintenance of the monument.

As a starting point, we do not think it can be said that the

Ten Commandments, standing by themselves, can be stripped

of their religious, indeed sacred, significance and characterized

as a moral or ethical document. Indeed, the Supreme Court

made this point clear in Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39, 66 L.

Ed. 2d 199, 101 S. Ct. 192 (1980), when it noted that a

simple reading of the Ten Commandments does not permit

us to ignore that they transcend "arguably secular matters,

such as honoring one's parents, killing or murder, adultery,

stealing, false witness, and covetousness. Rather, the first

part of the Commandments concerns the religious duties of

believers: worshipping the Lord God alone, avoiding idolatry,

not using the Lord's name in vain, and observing the Sabbath

Day." Jd. at 41-42 (citations omitted). Indeed, when one goes

beyond the text itself and regards this particular display, the

religious nature of the document is emphasized by the very

format of the monument. Notably, the prefatory words "I am

the Lord thy God" are set out in large lettering at the top of

the text. R.29 & 31, Ex.5. This religious format is enhanced,

not detracted from, by the etchings at the bottom of the tablet

of the Stars of David and the Chi Rho symbol, a distinctive

Christian symbol. It cannot be doubted, therefore, that this

monument bearing the Ten Commandments possesses a

religious nature.

The display of a religious symbol still may, under certain

circumstances, have a secular purpose. The text of the Ten

Commandments no doubt has played a role in the secular

development of our society and can no doubt be presented by

the government as playing such a role in our civic order. For

example, on the wall of the Supreme Court there is a frieze

that contains Moses holding the Ten Commandments. The

frieze contains depictions of two other religious figures,

Confucius and Mohammed, but it also includes Caesar

Augustus, William Blackstone, Napol'on Bo , and John

Marshall. Justice Stevens has stated that the placement of all

16a

terabytes, ee

PM LABM ARLES ALE AR That at WAL

of these historic figures together on the frieze signals a respect

for great lawgivers, not great proselytizers. See County o

Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 652 (Stevens, J., i —

and dissenting in part). This is a fitting message, he tells us,

for the wall of a courtroom. See id. at 653. A display is

unconstitutional, according to Justice Stevens, "only when its

message, evaluated in the context in which it is presented, is

nonsecular." /d. at 652. Indeed, the Court in Stone i

The Supreme Court has stressed the importance of the

context of a clearly religious symbol in determining whether

the purpose in displaying the symbol is religious or secular.

We also have emphasized that religious symbols should not

be considered in the abstract; instead, courts must ask "whether

the particular display at issue, considered in its overall context,

could be said to advance religion." American Jewish Congress

v. City of Chicago, 827 F.2d 120, 125 (7th Cir. 1987).

_ Here, the record discloses no significant attempt by the

City of Elkhart to present the text of the Ten Commandments

in a way that might diminish its religious character.’ Indeed,

the history of the City's involvement in the placement of this

particular monument serves to emphasize a religious purpose

in its display. As we have noted already, the original impetus

behind the proliferation of the Ten Commandments

monuments was Judge Ruegemer's desire to provide youths

with a common code of conduct that they could use to govern

their actions. In accepting the monument, the City also aimed

to nny a code of conduct for the citizens of Elkhart to

follow. The code chosen, however, was a religious code that

* Given the obvious religious nature of the text itself, it

falls to the City of Elkhart to demonstrate that it has taken steps to

“obviate its religious ." Gonzales v. North Township, 4

F.3d 1412, 1421 (7th Cir. 1993); see also Bridenbaugh v. O'Bannon,

185 F.3d 796, 798 (7th Cir. 1999); Metz! v. Leininger, 57 F.3d

618, 621 (7th Cir. 1995).

17a

focuses not only on subjects that are the legitimate concern

of civil authorities, but also subjects that are beyond the ken

of any government and that address directly the relationship

of the individual human being and God. That the purpose

was to endorse, through governmental sponsorship, a code of

religious values is further established by the program of

speakers at the dedication of the monument: a Protestant

minister, a Catholic priest, and a Jewish rabbi. When these

religious leaders spoke, the first speaker urged Americans to

accept the precepts of the Ten Commandments because they

could provide redemption from strife and fear. The second

speaker stated that the Ten Commandments should be engraved

not only in stone but in the hearts, minds, and consciences of

everyone. Finally, the last speaker recommended that the

dedication of the monument should be an occasion for the

dedication of everyone to the high ideals inherent in the

American way of life. The participation of these influential

members of several religious congregations makes it clear

that the purpose for displaying the monument was not only to

provide youths with a common code of conduct to guide their

participation in the civil community but also to urge the people

of Elkhart to em brace the specific religious code of conduct

taught in the Ten Commandments. Thus, in applying the

purpose prong of Lemon, the inherently religious nature of

the Ten Commandments is strengthened by the circumstances

surrounding the display of the monument. We cannot escape

the conclusion that the purpose in displaying this monument

was to promote religious ideals.

Moreover, nothing in the subsequent history of the

monument can be said to have in any way transformed that

religious purpose. The City's resolution, issued on the eve of

this litigation and proclaiming a secular purpose for the

monument's presence by recognizing the historical and cultural

significance of the Ten Commandments, ought to be accorded

no more weight than the avowed secular legislative purpose

articulated by the Kentucky legislature in Stone. In Stone, the

Kentucky statute required the following language at the bottom

of each Ten Commandments display: "The secular application

of the Ten Commandments is clearly seen in its adoption as

the fundamental legal code of Western Civilization and the

Common Law of the United States."" 449 U.S. at 41 (quoting

18a

1978 Ky. Acts 436, § 1, Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 158.178 (1980)).

The Supreme Court responded to this statement of purpose

by stating that "such an ‘avowed’ secular is not

sufficient to avoid conflict with the First panama” Id.;

see also Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist., 120 S. Ct. at 2278

(reiterating that a governmental entity's professed secular

purpose for an arguably religious _— is entitled to some

> wepanlig ihe waded od vo Ay the courts to ensure that

purpose is sincere); illard, 482 U.S. at 586-87 (stating

Sel eaten chad esti dae wo a aaa ate

secular purpose, but the statement of such purpose must be

sincere). As we noted in Gonzales, 4 F.3d at 1419, although

this court "will defer to a municipality's sincere articulation

of a religious symbol's secular purpose,” we shall not accept

a stated purpose that merely seeks to avoid a potential

Establishment Clause violation. Similarly, we hold that the

City of Elkhart's avowed secular se of recognizing the

historical and cultural significance of the Ten Commandments,

issued on the eve of litigation, "is not sufficient to avoid

conflict with the First Amendment." Stone, 449 U.S. at 41.

We therefore hold that the purpose of displaying the Ten

Commandments monument was not secular. The display of

the monument, consequently, violates the first prong of the

Lemon test and cannot survive Establishment Clause scrutiny.

2.

_ Even if we were to ignore the primary purpose behind

displaying the Ten Commandments monument, we would

have to conclude that this particular display has the primary

or principal effect of advancing religion. In County of

Allegheny, the Court noted that, under this prong, courts have

a special responsibility to ensure that a government-sponsored

display does not have the or the effect of endorsing a

religion. See 492 U.S. at 592. As we noted recently in Freedom

of Religion Foundation, “under this test, ‘the effect prong

asks whether , irrespective of government's actual purpose,

the practice under review in fact conveys a message of

endorsement or disapproval." 203 F.3d at 493 (quoting Lynch,

465 U.S. at 690 (O'Connor, J., concurring). When employing

this analytical approach, we are charged with the responsibility

of assessing the totality of the circumstances surrounding the

display to determine whether a reasonable person would believe

19a

. recurring holiday disp

that the display amounts to an endorsement of religion. See

County of Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 597 (stating that "the

government's use of religious symbolism is unconstitutional

if it has the effect of endorsing religious beliefs, and the

effect of the government's use of religious symbolism depends

on its context").

In County of Allegheny, the plaintiffs challenged the

~ of a creche placed on the Grand

Staircase inside the county courthouse and of a Chanukah

menorah placed outside the city-county building. The Court

held that the placement of the creche violated the Establishment

Clause. The creche in question was surrounded on three sides

by a wooden fence. Along the fence sat poinsettias, and on

each of the two ends of the fence was a small evergreen tree.

A plaque was attached to the fence that announced that the

display had been donated by the Holy Name Society. The

creche was used as the setting for weekday Christmas caroling

by local musical groups. The Court noted that the creche was

capable of communicating a religious message, but then

explained that "the effect of a creche display turns on its

setting” because "the context of the display [could] detract ]

from the creche's religious message." Jd. at 598. In assessing

the context surrounding the creche in County of Allegheny,

the Court determined that nothing detracted from its religious

message. The floral border drew one's attention to the display,

and the fact that traditional Christmas flowers were used further

contributed to the perception of the endorsement of religion

by the government. The sign disclosing ownership by a

Catholic organization further enhanced the perception that

the government was promoting a religious message. The Court

also noted that the creche was displayed on the main and

most beautiful part of the building and that the building served

as the seat of government. According to the Court, "no viewer

could reasonably think that it occupies this location without

the support and approval of the government." Therefore,

concluded the Court, "by permitting the ‘display of the creche

in this particular physical setting,’ the county sends an

unmistakable message that it supports and promotes the

Christian praise to God that is the creche's religious message.”

Id. at 599-600 (quoting Lynch, 465 U.S. at 692 (O'Connor, J.,

concurring)). The Court therefore held that the creche display

20a

violated the Establishment Clause.

In County of Allegheny, a majority of the Court also held

that the menorah placed in front of the city-county building

did not violate the Establishment Clause. The menorah was

= next to a 45-foot pine tree that was decorated with

ghts and ornaments. At the foot of the tree rested a sign that

bore the mayor's name and a text that was entitled "Salute to

Liberty." The Court held that this particular display was not a

violation of the Establishment Clause because its specific

setting did not have the primary effect of endorsing religion.

Instead, the Court stated that the combination of the now-

secularized Christmas tree with a sign extolling liberty and

the giant menorah tended to promote the winter-holiday season.

ne display, held the Court, did not violate the Establishment

use.

In fulfilling our responsibility to apply faithfully the

Establishment Clause jurisprudence of the ‘Supreme Court of

the United States, we have subjected to particularly careful

scrutiny displays at the seat of government. We have taken

this course because "an important concern of the effects test

is .. . ‘whether the symbolic union of church and state effected

by the challenged governmental action is sufficiently likely

to be perceived by adherents of the controlling denominations

as an endorsement, and by the nonadherents as a disapproval,

of their individual religious choices." American Jewish

Congress, 827 F.2d at 127 (quoting Grand Rapids Sch. Dist.

v. Ball, 473 U.S. 373, 390, 87 L. Ed. 2d 267, 105 S. Ct. 3216

(1985)). In American Jewish Congress, the City of Chicago

had displayed a creche during the holiday season in the lobby

od = a pero Poa noted that the seat of

ernment is "a setting w presence of government is

pervasive and inescapable." Jd. 827 F.2d at 26. We then

held that the ae violated the second prong of Lemon

"because City Hall is so plainly under government ownership

and control, every display and activity in the building is

implicitly marked with the stamp of government approval.”

Id. at 128. In that case, the presence of the creche in the

lobby of the seat of government created "a clear and strong

impression that the local government tacit]

toniey." Ia g nt tacitly endorsed

2la

We reiterated this principle in Harris v. City of Zion, 927

F.2d 1401 (7th Cir. 1991). In City of Zion, the plaintiffs

challenged the seal of two cities because they contained

symbols of Christianity, the Latin cross. We stated that the

cities’ seals containing the Latin cross presented unambiguous

endorsements of religion in violation of the Establishment

Clause. See id. at 1412. "Depicting these patently religious

symbols on a corporate seal that is wholly owned and controlled

by the City connotes the City's approval for the message

conveyed." Jd. at 1414. This endorsement, we held, violated

the Establishment Clause. Moreover, we noted, the finding of

a constitutional violation was even more compelling in this

situation because the seals were "a permanent statement that

[was] viewed year-round." /d. at 1412.

In assessing the situation before us, we must ask whether

an objective observer familiar with the history and placement

of the Ten Commandments monument would perceive it as a

state endorsement of religion. See Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist.,

120 S. Ct. at 2278. We note first that the monument is displayed

at the seat of government. As we have just explained, the seat

of government "is so plainly under government ownership

and control" that every display on its property is marked

implicitly with governmental approval. American Jewish

Congress, 827 F.2d at 128. Here, in front of the building that

houses the governmental departments of the City, stands a

religious message. This granite monument is a permanent

fixture on the grounds of the seat of government. As viewed

by the passer-by or by an individual hing the building,

the monument certainly cannot be fairly characterized as a

component of a comprehensive display of the cultural heritage

of the people of Elkhart. Rather, it stands, as the City intended

it to be when it dedicated the monument on Memorial Day in

1958, as a sole and stark reminder of the ific injunctions

contained in the Commandments. Ind the surrounding

area enhances the dignity and the primacy of the

Commandments. Above the door of the Municipal Building

are the Latin words "Dedicatum Justitia." Those who view

the Ten Commandments are thus informed that the role of

the government in that location is to do justice; the only

"law" displayed for doing justice is the monument bearing

the Ten Commandments. The only other display on the lawn

22a

of the Municipal Building is the War Memorial that reminds

the onlooker that the in front of the icipal Building

is “hallowed " R.29 & 31, Ex.25.’ person

ing the seat of government is thus informed that, at

that location, the government goes about the business of doing

justice, that the only "law" displayed is the

and that these Commandments are di on land designated

by the government as "hallowed -

represented

community, but by no means the total of all those who depend

on the City of Elkhart as their local government. The Supreme

Court has cautioned that government "sponsorship of a

religious message is impermissible because it sends the

ancillary message to members of the audience who are

Sa cee” oon ae et Oe embers of Ge

community, e accom ing message to

adherents that they are insiders, Seanad euamibens of the

political community." Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist., 120 S. Ct.

at 2279 —e Lynch, 465 U.S. at 688 (O'Connor, J.,

_ In this regard, the placement of the American Eagle

gripping the national colors at the top of the monument hardly

detracts from the message of endorsement; rather, it specifically

links religion, or more specifically these two religions, and

civil government. See City of Zion, 927 F.2d at 1412 (holding

that a Latin cross surrounded by other symbols of city life on

the city's corporate seal only served to show that the city

Ceeitanity). certain aspects of city life, among them

Finally, we cannot say that the monument's

* As stated above, the Freedom Monument reads:

"BEHOLD FRIEND, YOU ARE NOW ON HALLOWED

GROUND FOR HERE BURNS FREEDOMS HOLY LIGHT."

R.29 & 31, Ex.25.

23a

acknowledgment of two religious traditions, rather than one,

renders the situation before us in compliance with the strictures

of the Constitution. "The simultaneous endorsement of Judaism

and Christianity is no less constitutionally infirm than the

endorsement of Christianity alone." County of Allegheny, 492

U.S. at 615. Although Elkhart's Ten Commandments

monument does not Christianity only, it confines its

approval to the Judeo-Christian faiths. As the Supreme Court

has stated, the First Amendment is "recognized as guaranteeing

religious liberty and equality to ‘the infidel, the atheist, or the

adherent of a non-Christian faith such as Islam or Judaism."

Id. (quoting Wallace, 472 U.S. at 52). Accordingly, we hold

that the primary effect of the Ten Commandments monument

on the property of the City of Elkhart's Municipal Building is

to advance or endorse religion. The display, consequently,

fails the second prong «/ the Lemon test and violates the

Establishment Clause.

3.

This case was decided by the district court on cross-motions

for summary judgment. Now that we have reversed the district

court's grant of summary judgment for the defendants, the

district court ought to enter summary judgment for the

plaintiffs. The district court must then turn to the question of

remedy. In fashioning a remedy, the district court must be

guided by the basic rule that the nature of the remedy ought

to be determined by the nature and the scope of the

constitutional violation. See Milliken v. Bradley, 433 U.S.

267, 280, 53 L. Ed. 2d 745, 97 S. Ct. 2749 (1977) It must

also proceed in a manner that respects the interests of state

and local authorities to manage their own affairs in a manner

consistent with the Constitution of the United States. See id.

at 280-81.

In crafting equitable relief to comply with our judgment

today, the district court must ensure that, although the condition

that offends the Constitution is eliminated, Elkhart retains the

authority to make decisions regarding the t of the

monument. In making those decisions, E has the right

and, indeed, the obligation to take into consideration the

religious sensibilities of its people and to accommodate that

aspect of its citizens’ lives in any way that does not offend

24a

the strictures of the Establishment Clause.

Clausen, 343 U.S. 306, 313, 96 L. Ed. 954, 92 $ C1 670"

(1952) ("We are a ameeee poeple whose institutions

presuppose a Being. We guarantee the freedom to

worship as one We make room for as wide a variety

of beliefs and creeds as the spiritual needs of man deem

"Since undoubtedly we are a ‘religious people whose

institutions presuppose a Supreme Being,’ deep feelings are

First Amendment that government may

make ‘no law respecting an establishment of religi

ibiting the free exercise thereof.” Schempp, 314 US. >

pointed out,

‘aton ng our people "ins" and “outs” on the basi

of religion. yo acknowledges a

far back in our personal histories — and the Country certainly

cannot ignore the circumstance of its own birth — without

25a

acknowledging that our ancestors were who suffered

significantly because of their religious belief and who were

ostracized by their national communities or made to suffer

poverty or even worse because of their religious beliefs. As

one visitor to our shores, himself a refugee from Nazi tyranny,

put it, Americans can all say, "We are bruised souls.” We

each carry "the wounds and sorrows of ancestors, and that

memory of the sufferings caused by persecution and prejudice

which they ieft to their progeny” is our "spiri -

The Establishment Clause acknowledges that "spiritual

patrimony” and requires that we exercise, in our go

manifestations of the religious nature of our people, a self-

restraint that will prevent anyone from becoming in the eyes

of our governmental system — an "out" on the basis of religious

beliefs.

Accordingly, the judgment of the district court is reversed,

and the case is remanded for proceedings in conformity with

REVERSED and REMANDED

MANION, Circuit Judge, concurring in part and dissenting

in part. The court sets out an accurate presentation of the

facts at issue in this case. Suffice it to say that in a Metaorial

Day ceremony in 1958 the Fraternal Order of the Eagles

presented to the City of Elkhart a stone monument engraved

with a version of the Ten Commandments. The City placed it

near the north entrance of the City Hall building where it has

remained to this day. The plaintiffs claim that the location of

the monument is offensive to them and an unconstitutional

endorsement of religion by the City.

I agree with the court's analysis ing the plaintiffs’

standing to challenge the constitutionality of the placement

of the Ten Commandments monument. And while I also agree

with the court's legal summary of the Lemon test, I di

with its application of Lemon to the facts before us. q

applying Lemon and its progeny should lead to the conclusion

that the City of Elkhart does not violate the Establishment

Clause by leaving undisturbed a monument inscribed with

'° Jacques Maritain, Reflections on America 83-84 (1958).

26a

the Ten Commandments that was erected more than

years ago. Moreover, even if the monument did not sati

the Lemon test, the Supreme Court has upheld certain religious

— which have become a part of the fabric of our society.

ving the Ten Commandments monument where it now

stands comfortably falls within the historical context of this

country and is thus constitutional even though it retains the

SSENT in part.

ivocal references to God. I therefore i

ond DI CONCUR in part ,

I.

A.

Lemon Test

In Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 29 L. Ed. 2d 745,

91 S. Ct. 2105 (1971), the S Court adopted a three-part

test for analyzing Establi t Clause cases. First, the

s chal practice must have a secular purpose.

Second, the principal or primary effect must be one that neither

advances nor inhibits religion. Third, the government's practice

must not create an excessive entanglement of religion. As

noted by the court, the third prong is not at issue. Accordingly,

we focus on the first two prongs of the Lemon test.

1. Secular purpose.

Under Lemon, the government's challenged practice must

have a secular purpose. Thus, in this case, we must ask whether

a secular supports the City of Elkhart's decision not

to remove the Ten Commandments monument. Elkhart

presented as evidence of its secular purpose the resolution

which its Common Council adopted on May 4, 1998, following

consideration of the plaintiffs’ request that the City remove

the 40-year-old monument."

'' WHEREAS, the issue of the Ten Commandments

Monument outside Elkhart City Hall has been raised by a person

who is represented by the Indiana Civil Liberties Union. The Indiana

Civil Liberties Union has contacted the Mayor of the City of Elkhart

and has stated that a lawsuit will be filed if the Ten Commandments

Monument is not removed. WHEREAS, in recognition of the

historical significance of the Ten Commandments, the Fraternal

27a

The Council's resolution, which the Mayor of Elkhart

approved on May 13, 1998, identifies several secular

justifying the City's decision not to remove the Ten

ents monument. First, as the City recognized, the

Ten Commandments represents one of the earliest codes of

human conduct and, as such, it "had a significant impact on

the development of the fundamental legai principles of Western

Civilization.” In fact, the Ten Commandments served as a

foundation for the formation of both English Common Law

and the Napoleonic Code, which together laid the foundation

for American jurisprudence. See State of Colorado v. Freedom

From Religion Foundation, Inc., 898 P.2d 1013, 1018 (Col.

1995). See also, id. at 1026 (Ten Commandments "monument

represents the secular objective intended at the outset,

recognition of a historical, jurisprudential cornerstone of

American legal significance").

The Common Council's resolution also noted that "the

Monument contains symbols that reflect the cross cultural

and historical significance of the Ten Commandments,” and

that the monument serves as a recognition of those roots and

the historical significance of the Ten Commandments. These

stated justifications are permissible secular purposes even

Order of Eagles presented the Ten Commandments monument to

the City of Elkhart in May, 1958. In addition to the Ten

- Commandments, the Monument contains symbols that reflect the

cross cultural and historical significance of the Ten Commandments.

WHEREAS, the Ten Commandments Monument has stood outside

in an unobtrusive location to the north of the entrance of City Hall

since 1958. There are numerous other historical and cultural plaques,

memorials, and monuments located south of the entrance of city

hall, in the foyer just inside the city hall entrance, at the first floor

open area of city hall, and at the second and third floor open areas

of city hall; and WHEREAS, the Ten Commandments have had a

significant impact on the development of the fundamental legal

principles of Western Civilization. NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT

RESOLVED BY THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF

ELKHART, INDIANA, THAT: The Ten Commandments

Monument is a historical and cultural monument that reflects one

of the earliest codes of human conduct. It is proper for the Ten

Commandments Monument to remain and the defense of this position

is strongly endorsed.

28a

though a religious symbol is used to accomplish them.

Anderson v. Salt Lake City Corp., 475 F.2d 29, 34 (10th Cir.

1973) (Ten Commandments monument stands as "a icti

of a historically important monument with both and

sectarian effects"). See, e.g., Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S.

668, 691, 79 L. Ed. 2d 604, 104 S. Ct. 1355 (1984 (O'Connor,

J., concurring) ("celebration of public holi which have

so laghtinate somnlar paopoetTc at a cas hee

is a legi ; id. at 680 i

the display depicts the histor igi tional

event recognized as a National Holiday. . . . The displa

is sponsored by the City to celebrate the Holiday and to

Sart a nt that Holiday."); American Jewish Congress

a. of C cago, md a 120, 126-27 (7th Cir. 1987)

ognizing a city's ition in "taking official note of

roy = and acknowledgi —s sentiment in favor of

ity scene are ssible purposes justifying

creche display). The that the Ten Conmandmente refers

to God, and that all of the world's major monotheistic religi

have the Ten Commandments as basic tenets of their aith,

does not alter the monument's secular ses. See, e.g.,

American Jewish Congress, 827 F.2d at | 5 Go euve scones

purpose, the government's purpose need not be unrelated to

religion). Cf v. O'Bannon, 185 F.3d 796, 799-800

(7th Cir. 1999) (the fact that a secular holiday coincides with

a day that has religious significance for Christians does not

defeat the secular purpose justifying the state holiday).

The court acknowledges the validity of Elkhart's asserted

secular purposes, stating "the text of the Ten Commandments

no doubt has played a role in the secular development of our

society and can no doubt be by the government as

playing such a role in our civic order.” Opinion at 19. And in

this case, Elkhart has explicitly stated in its resolution that it

was leaving standing the Ten Commandments monument in

order to recognize their "significant i on the development

of the fundamental legal principles of Western Civilization."

Yet the court concl that "the purpose in displaying the

Ten Commandments monument was not secular.” Opinion at

22. How can the court on one hand recognize the legitimacy

of this purpose and on the other conclude that Elkhart lacks a

legitimate secular purpose for leaving the Ten Commandments

29a

monument in place? Apparently, the court just doesn't believe

that the City of Elkhart's statement of secular purposes is

sincere and not a sham. Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578,

586-87, 96 L. Ed. 2d 510, 107 S. Ct. 2573 (1987) ("While the

Court is normally deferential to a State's articulation of a

secular purpose, it is required that the statement of such purpose

be sincere and not a sham.").

But there is no evidence that the Common Council's

resolution was a sham, and absent some evidence that the

Common Council's stated reasons for its decision not to remove

the monument are insincere, we should defer to those asserted

justifications. Cohen v. City of Des Plaines, 8 F.3d 484, 489

(7th Cir. 1993). See also American Jewish Congress, 827

F.2d at 127 ("In the absence of any evidence that the city's

stated purposes behind the display of the nativity scene are

merely a sham, we must conclude that the 1985-86 display

had no invidious purpose.") (internal citation omitted). "This

is in keeping with the well settled maxim that courts are

‘reluctant to attribute unconstitutional motives to the States,

particularly when a plausible secular purpose for the State's

program may be discerned from the face of the statute."

Cohen, 8 F.3d at 489-90 (quoting Mueller v. Allen, 463 U.S.

388, 394-95, 77 L. Ed. 2d 721, 103 S. Ct. 3062 (1983))

"This is true whether the governing body is a state legisiature

or a city council." Cohen, 8 F.3d at 489. Accordingly, rather

than assume the Common Council is insincere about its

motivations, we are obligated to do just the opposite — assume

they are being truthful.

The court seemingly relies on the timing of the resolution

(noting that it was passed on the eve of litigation) as evidence

that the resolution was insincere. But the timing is totally

reasonable. Before the plaintiffs objected to the monument

and threatened to sue the City, it rested unobtrusively on

the lawn along with other monuments for nearly forty years,

so there was never a need for the Common Council to declare

its reasons for allowing the monument to remain. It was not

until the plaintiffs demanded that Elkhart remove the

monument that it became an issue. At that point the currently

governing Common Council convened to consider the

plaintiffs’ demands and decided against removing the

monument, stating its reasons in the resolution. Given these

30a

circumstances, there is nothing suspect about the ti ing. In

fact, in other Establishment 7, dae areas wath mec ses. Ae

on the secular purposes proffered during litigation,

notwi the timing of the state's explanation. See

Bridenbaugh, 185 F.3d at 799 (relying on testimony offered

during litigation as to Indiana's purpose for giving

ote) to on ae Copan e 7 F.2d

at 127 (relying on frome ned wy teh nied oe me

behind creche display and noting that in the absence of any

evidence that the city's stated purpose behind the di was

a sham, the court would have to conclude there was no invidious

purpose). In those cases we held that, absent any evidence

that the stated justification was a sham, we would take the

government at its word. Since there is no evidence of an

invidious motive here, we should take the Common Council

at its word, as set forth in the resolution.

_ Moreover, even if the City had a religious se in

displaying the Ten Commandments, that would toy noni

the City's other valid secular purposes. "A law that

religion may nevertheless be upheld . . . because of the secular

that the law also serves. . . ." Metz/ v. Leininger, 57

F.3d 618, 620 (7th Cir. 1995). Accordingly, Elkhart need

have only one secular purpose justifying its decision in order

to satisfy Lemon's first prong. It has several secular

justifications. Therefore, even if E in part, wanted to

promote the religious aspects of the Ten Commandments,

that does not negate its other valid secular justifications for

leaving the monument alone. Bridenbaugh, 185 F.3d at 800

("[A] secular purpose need not be the exclusive one; it was

sufficient if the government had ‘a secular purpose.'")

(emphasis added). See also, Barghout v. Bureau of Kosher

Meat & Food Control, 66 F.3d 1337, 1345 (4th Cir. 1995)

("In determining whether the [display] has a secular purpose,

we note that this first prong of the Lemon test is a fairly low

hurdle. A legislative enactment has no secular purpose only

if bam fs] tg met we the [display] or activity was

motivated wholly by religious consideration.) (quoti

Lynch, 465 U.S. at 680). - dsereatis

The court highlights the speeches made when the

monument was dedicated in 1958 as proof of Elkhart's religious

purpose in displaying the Ten Commandments. While the

3la

speeches made by the various religious leaders were solemn

— in line with the occasion — they did not evidence a religious

purpose. In fact, those es lacked anything near the

religious fervor of the legislative statements made in connection

with other practices adopted in the 1950's and upheld by the

various circuits notwithstanding the sponsors’ overtly religious

messages. See infra at 59-62. Recall that the Elkhart monument

was unveiled on Memorial Day as part of the City's festivities.

Participation in that celebration by religious leaders with

speeches that had a religious tone is both understandable and

acceptable. As recently as 1998, Congress recognized that

Memorial Day is a day "during which the people may unite

in prayer for permanent peace,” and that the President should

call "on the people of the United States to observe Memorial

Day by praying, according to their individual religious faith,

for permanent peace.” 36 U.S.C. § -116 (1998). Furthermore,

even if the various religious leaders’ speeches demonstrated

that they gladly accepted Elkhart's decision to display the

monument because of the monument's religious message, the

religious leaders were not the City, and it is only the City's

intent that matters.

The speeches, in short, provide little guidance as to

Elkhart's original purpose in accepting the monument donated

by the Fraternal Order of Eagles. To the extent that the original

purpose would matter, see infra at 43, the evidence presented

at the summary judgment stage indicates that the City accepted

the Ten Commandments monument from the Eagles (a civic,

non-religious organization) in order to further the Eagles’ goal

of providing "youths with a common code of conduct that

they could use to govern their actions," and "showing these

youngsters that there were such recognized codes of behavior

to guide them.” Providing youth with a common code of

conduct is a valid secular purpose. See Freedom From Religion

Foundation, 898 P.2d at 1023 ("The monument was donated

as part of the National Youth Guidance Program, whose

purpose was secular in nature. Such secular intent of the

donation is logical in light of the historical fact that the Ten

Commandments have served over time as a basis for our

national law.").

The court claims that this purpose was not secular because

the City chose a religious code to further its goal. But as the

32a

Supreme Court recognized in Lynch, a religi |

be used to further the secular goal of ae boda religions

and secular holida ene ae ee ee

can permissibly c the Ten Commandments, which

includes both reli and secular rules of conduct, to further

its secular goal of pro youth with an e of a code

of conduct. In fact, it is logical that when Elkhart chose

an example of a "common code of conduct" to display, it

chose one that would be recognized by its citizens, and

especially children, and there can be no doubt that the Ten

Commandments is the most well-known and recognizable

code of conduct to Americans, as opposed to, say, the

Napoleonic Code or the Code of Hammurabi.”

In any event, the Ten Commandments monument was

donated to Elkhart over forty years ago. What matters, however,

is not the City's purpose in 1958 — when Elkhart could

constitutionally have a religious purpose — but the City's

purpose today. Bridenbaugh, 185 F.3d at 799 (original reason

for choosing Good Friday as state holiday is not dispositive);

-Metzl v. Leininger, 57 F.3d 618, 621 (7th Cir. 1995) (state's

religious purpose 53 years ago may accrue a secular

justification and essentially eliminate any purpose of

promoting religion); American Jewish Congress, 827 F.2d at

126 (Mayor's comment in 1959 that "We are a Christian

Nation,” and that "the more religion we can get in politics,

the better off we are,” while relevant to the original purpose

of nativity scene reveals little about purpose behind the 1985-86

display). In its resolution, Elkhart explained its current reasons

for leaving undisturbed the Ten Commandments monument:

to recognize the historical and cross-cultural significance of

the Ten Commandments; to acknowledge the significant

impact the Ten Commandments had on the development of

"? The frieze contained on the south wall of the courtroom

of the United States Supreme Court includes a procession of great

lawgivers of history, including Hammurabi, the Babylonian king

who developed the Code of Hammurabi, and Napoleon .

Suhre v. Haywood County, N.C., 55 F. Supp. 2d 384, 393, 395

(W.D.N.C. 1999), figures possibly recognizable to the learned

lawyers arguing before the Supreme Court, but unlikely familiar to

many laypersons.

33a

the fundamental legal principles of Western civilization; and

to retain an historical and cultural monument that displays

one of the earliest codes of human conduct. Those reasons

are permissible secular justifications, see supra at 37-39, and

therefore Elkhart has satisfied Lemon's first prong.

2. Principal or primary effect.

The second prong of Lemon considers whether the

government's practice has the principal or Fg effect of

advancing or inhibiting religion. Freedom of Religion

Foundation v. City of Marshfield, 203 F.3d 487, 493 (7th Cir.

2000). Under this prong, the question is "irrespective of

government's actual purpose, [does] the practice under review

in fact convey [ ] a message of endorsement or disapproval.”

Id. (internal quotations omitted). As the court recognizes, to

analyze this prong we must assess the totality of the

circumstances surrounding the display to determine whether

a reasonable person would believe that the display amounts

to an endorsement of religion. This is a fact-specific inquiry.

The court's conclusion that, based on all of the

circumstances, Elkhart's decision to leave standing the Ten

Commandments monument constitutes an endorsement of

religion seems to be at odds with the Supreme Court's decisions

in Lynch and Allegheny. In Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668,

79 L. Ed. 2d 604, 104 S. Ct. 1355 (1984), the Supreme Court

considered the constitutionality of the city of Pawtucket, Rhode

Island's display of a creche at Christmas. In applying the

second prong of the Lemon test, the Court initially noted that

the district court had "plainly erred by focusing almost

exclusively on the creche." Lynch, 465 U.S. at 686. Rather,

according to the Court, the appropriate question was whether

the nativity scene, while religious, could be said to advance

religion. The Court held that given the overwhelmingly secular

character of the Pawtucket display, "the inclusion of a single

symbol of a particular historic religious event . . . [did not] so

‘taint’ the city's exhibit as to render it violative of the

Establishment Clause." Jd. The display in Lynch included not

just the creche, but also a Santa Clause house, reindeer pulling

Santa's sleigh, candy-striped poles, a Christmas tree, carolers,

cutout figures representing clowns, an elephant and a teddy

bear, hundreds of colored lights and a banner reading "Season's

34a

Greetings.” /d. at 671.

Five years later in County of Allegheny v. American Civil

Liberties Union, 492 U.S. 573, 106 L. Ed. 2d 472, 109 S. Ct.

3086 (1989), the Supreme Court again considered the

constitutionality of religious displays located on public

property. One was a creche placed on the Grand Staircase

inside a county courthouse in Pittsburgh. The creche

was surrounded on three sides by a wooden fence, decorated

with poinsettias and a sign proclaiming "Gl to God in the

Highest!" The other was a menorah displayed in front of the

courthouse. The menorah stood next to a Christmas tree and

a sign rested below the tree with the words "Salute to Liberty.”

The Court ia Allegheny held that the creche di violated

the Establishment because "nothing yp tien of

the display detracts from the creche's religious message,” as

it "stands alone; it is the single element of t the display on the

Grand Staircase,” which was "the ‘main’ and ‘most beautiful

= of the building.” /d. at 598-99. The Court concluded that

ased on this location, "no viewer could reasonably think

that it occupies this location without the and approval

of the government.” Jd. at 599-600. On other hand, the

Supreme Court held that the menorah display was

constitutional. As Justice Blackmun explained, the menorah

stood next to a Christmas tree and a sign saluting liberty, and

thus created an "overall holiday setting" which neutralized

the religious dimensions of the menorah. /d. at 614 (Blackman,

J., concurring).

Together Lynch and Allegheny provide significant guidance

for our fact-specific analysis of f ony cond 9 ng tiene.

In those cases, the Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality

of government displays of y religious symbols — a creche

and a menorah — when symbols were part of a larger

display. But where the religious display — the creche in

Allegheny — stood alone, it violated the Establishment Clause.

Here, the Ten Commandments monument stands not alone,

but as part of Elkhart's larger cultural and historical outdoor

display. As the court points out, in addition to the Ten

Commandments monument, the small, twenty-five-foot-wide

courtyard includes a bas-relief of an elk's head with the words

"DEDICATVM" and "JVSTITIAM"” inscribed next to this

35a

symbol of "Elk"hart; a Revolutionary War Monument

surrounded by a flower bed and bearing a plaque explaining

that the Daughters of the American Revolution donated the

monument in honor of the Revolutionary War soldiers buried

in Elkhart County; and the Freedom Monument, which consists

of a light standing on top of a brick pillar which reads

"BEHOLD FRIEND, YOU ARE NOW ON HALLOWED

GROUND FOR HERE BURNS FREEDOM'S HOLY

LIGHT."

These other displays place the Ten Commandments

monument in an historical context, and under Lynch and

Allegheny context is everything. Thus, in Lynch, the Court

held that a solely religious symbol — a creche — was

constitutionally permissible because "when viewed in the

proper context," the creche "depicts the historical origins of

the traditional event long recognized as a National Holiday."

Lynch, 465 U.S. at 680. Similarly, when viewed in the context

of the other monuments displayed outside Elkhart’s municipal

building, the Ten Commandments monument "depicts the

historical origins” of the United States' justice system.

Moreover, while the creche is solely a religious symbol, the

text of the Ten Commandments itself provides context to the

monument, as the monument includes not just religious

commands, but six rules of conduct that have meaning in the

secular world. The presence of both secular and religious

messages in the Ten Commandments monument makes this a

stronger case than the creche at issue in Lynch.

'3 The court is concerned that this monument could have a

religious meaning to someone approaching the building because it

uses the words "hallowed" and "holy." Opinion at 26-27. Considering

the words in the context of the display and its location, however,

demonstrates that there is nothing religious about the display. Rather,

the ground is "hallowed" because freedom's “holy light" burns

"here," and "here" is the municipal building where justice is served

through the county government. The choice of the words “hallowed”

and "holy" merely serve as a literary device to honor freedom; the

words in context do not have a religious meaning. See Webster's

Seventh New Collegiate Dictionary (G. & C. Merriam Co. 1972),

offering alternative definitions for "hallow" — one religious, “to

make holy,” and one secular, “to respect greatly."

36a

"Salute to Liberty." Compared to 's

“salute to liberty" , Elkhart's cultural and historical

display more fully the religious dimension of the

Ten Commandments. In short, if the menorah was

constitutional in Allegheny, the Ten Commandments display

must be in this case. See, e.g., Freedom From Religion

Foundation, 898 —- ing that Ten Commandments

monument on Co State Capitol Complex was

constitutional); Anderson, 475 F.2d at 33 ( k

Commandments monument displayed on lawn of a

courthouse because it had “substantial secular attributes");'*

Suhre, SS F. Supp. 2d 384 (holding display of Ten

Commandments in county courtroom did not violate the

Establishment Clause). its discussion of Lynch and

opinions — it pope Ad Ten Commandments

monument constitutes an i t of religion. Rather,

the court focuses on the question of whether “an objective

observer familiar with the history and placement of the Ten

Commandments monument would perceive it as a state

een eee Cyliion ot 26, Thi in fan eggeageiens

i but for = nd we must consider le

under! upreme Court's cases invol the

Beushfichenens Clonee. That precedent leads to the pee

when part of a larger historical and cultural display. ,

what we have in this case.'* ay Se

'* While Anderson was decided before Stone v. Graham,

449 US. 39, 66 L. Ed. 2d 199, 101 S. Ct. 192 (1980) (per curiam),

Stone is distinguishable because it involved the posting of the Ten

Commandments in the school setting. See infra at 54-56. In fact,

the five-Justice majority in Stone did not even cite to Anderson —

the only circuit decision considering and approving the

constitutionality of a Ten Commandments monument.

'S Although the court insists "the monument certainly cannot

37a

This circuit's decisions in American Jewish Congress, 827

F.2d 120, and Harris v. City of Zion, 927 F.2d 1401 (7th Cir.

1991), do not alter the analysis. Harris ied Lemon to a

challenge to a religious symbol ined in two different

city seals. It is not helpful because it involved two consolidated

cases challenging the official seals of two cities in Illinois.

Here the government's display of a monument which served

as only one aspect of a historical display has minimal

similarity to an official emblazoned on stationery, signs,

and numerous other official standards. American Jewish

Congress is more closely related as it involved the

constitutionality of a government-displayed creche. But even

the facts in American Jewish Congress differ significantly

from those involved in this case. In American Jewish

the creche display, which this court held violated the

Establishment Clause, stood in isolation in the center of the

City-County building in Chicago. It was the creche’s visual

isolation from the other holiday displays and its place of

honor that caused this court to hold that a reasonable observer

of the creche would believe that Chicago was

Christianity. See American Jewish Congress, 827 F.2d 120.

Conversely, in this case, the Ten Commandments

be fairly characterized as a component of a comprehensive display

of the cultural heritage of the people of Elkhart,” the facts point to

the opposite conclusion. Within the very smaill 25-foot-wide

courtyard rest four historical displays, including a monument to

freedom, the Revolutionary War monument, the Ten

Commandments monument, and the Elk bas-relief. These displays

represent various aspects of our country and Elkhart's history, and

encompass themes relevant to the offices located inside the

Municipal Building, including not just the city court, but also the

mayor's office, the human relations department, and the offices of

the Common Council. Given the limited space available, it is

impossible to get much more “comprehensive” than the current

display. A more compact layout could lose what Elkhart strived to

create — an aesthetically pleasing visual display, centered by the

Elk bas-relief and balanced by the other monuments that flank the

walkway. Nor does a display have to be "comprehensive" to dilute

the religious aspect of one exhibit, as is clear from the Supreme

Court's decisions ir Lynch and Allegheny — displays which were

far from comprehensive.

38a

given special placement by the City. Rather, the Ten

Commandments monument is one of multiple monuments

that use the Ten Commandments.""). See also, Allegheny, 492

U.S. at 620 (Blackman, J., concurring) ("The Christmas tree

' In fact, the differences between the monument at issue

in this case and the display challenged in American Jewish Congress

are very similar to the differences the Supreme Court faced in

Allegheny: the creche, which was unconstitutionally favored by its

courthouse near a Christmas tree and a sign saluting liberty. As

noted, the location prowed dispositive in Allegheny.

39a

|

t

r

if

of pluralism and freedom of belief. . . ."). Second, implicit in

the court's reasoning is the belief that a display must include

percei ‘DS

symbols also displayed — not because a religious symbol

ing every citizen's beliefs was incorporated in the-

impression gion.

27. On the contrary, ons ei

by the menorah and Christmas tree in A/ ,

of the American Eagle, our flag the All-Seeing

Eye help place the monument in context for the viewers by

indi Oth Ce ae

important role in our country's legal foundation. See, e.g.,

Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 619 ("The [Salute to Liberty] sign

will be interpreted as a dual endorsement of Christianity and

Judaism. The sign states that during the holiday season the

city salutes liberty.”). Coupied with the six clearly secular

commands, the flag, eagle and all-seeing eye broadcast a

secular message of justice and patriotism, as does the

inscription that the monument was presented to the City by

the Fraternal Order of Eagles — a secular organization

dedicated to promoting "Liberty, Truth, Justice, and Equality.”

But in any event, even to the extent that the placement of

American symbols on the Ten Commandments monument

40a

commands,’ it is to note that the religious

of the Ten need not be aod ft

is a of possible endorsement that must be sufficiently

inimi its setting and context. See Lynch, 465 U.S. at

692 (O'Connor, J., concurring) ("[A] typical museum setting,

though not the religious content of a

painting, negates of endorsement of that

content.”). Thus, the overall context of a display must overcome

any message of endorsement, and in this case when the Ten

Commandments monument is viewed in its park-like setting

with the other three artists’ secular renderings, any ible

view of religious endorsement is sufficiently ail uted to

gion.

Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290, 120 S. Ct. 2266,

2278, 147 L. Ed. 2d 295 (2000). The fact that the plaintiffs

— and for that matter many citizens — wrongly believe that

the Constitution requires a separation of Church and State, or

ardently wish that were the case, does not alter the test. Lynch,

465 U.S. at 673 ("Nor does the Constitution require

separation of church and state; it affirmatively tes

accommodation, not merely tolerance, of all religions, and

per ogee tate es Rah mp np ny ety

is whether a citizen knowing the totality of the facts and the

circumstances would believe that Eikhart seeks to endorse

religion. See Capitol Review and Advisory Bd. v.

Pinette, 515 U.S. 753, 780, 132 L. Ed. 2d 650, 115 S. Ct.

2440 (1995) (O'Connor, J., concurring) ("The reasonable

observer in the endorsement inquiry must be deemed aware

of the history and context of the community and forum in

'’ The text of the Ten Commandments monument listed

twelve commands so as to serve as an amalgamation of the Jewish,

Protestant and Catholic versions of the Ten Commandments. The

first six commands refer to God or the Sabbath, while the last six

do not. Opinion at 6.

4la

which the religious display appears."). See also, Gaylor v.

United States, 74 F.3d 214, 217 (10th Cir. 1996) (same). An

informed citizen would know that the Ten Commandments

monument was donated in the 1950's — and also know the

historical context of those times: that the Eagles who donated

the monument were not a religious group; wi eens we

purpose was to recognize general codes of conduct that

the Ten Commandments is an historical example of such a

code; and that today Elkhart leaves standing the monument

out of recognition or that history and in commemoration of

the legal roots of our country.”*

As the plaintiffs' own testimony demonstrates, they are

not reasonably informed citizens, but are demonstrating an

outright hostility to religian, even in private, non-governmental

settings. See, Books Deposition (stating that he is offended

by any reference by a private organization to God); Suetkamp

Deposition (stating that he is offended when the Pledge of

Allegiance is said in a private setting). See, e.g., Suhre, 55 F.

Supp. “er at 398 ("In beet, the Plaintiff's angst results more

from his own intolerance of the rights of others than a desire

to protect his own atheistic convictions.”); Gaylor, 74 F.3d at

217 (the reasonable observer inquiry is "not about the

perceptions of particular individuals or saving isolated non-

adherents from the discomfort of viewing symbols of faith to

which they do not subscribe") (internal quotation omitted).

Based on these facts, a reasonable person would not believe

that Elkhart is- endorsing religion (which perhaps explains

why, other than these two plaintiffs, no one complained to

Elkhart about the Ten Commandments monument during the

forty years it stood outside the Municipal Building). For these

reasons, I conclude that the City's decision to leave standing

the monument satisfies Lemon's second prong.

B. Stone v. Graham

'® In this last regard, the Common Council's resolution not

only explains its secular purpose, but also serves to inform the

citizenry that Elkhart has no desire to endorse religion--it is merely

acknowledging religion's role in our country's history. Or in the

court's language, Elkhart in passing the resolution has "taken steps

to ‘obviate its religious purpose.” Opinion at 20 n.8.

42a

The court also relies on Stone v. Graham, 449 U.S. 39, 66

L. Ed. 2d 199, 101 S. Ct. 192 (1980) (per curiam), to support

its conclusion that Elkhart's decision to leave standing the

Ten Commandments monument constitutes an

unconstitutional. In concluding that Elkhart had an

impermissible religious purpose it decided to leave in

place the Ten Commandments monument, the court relies on

the Supreme Court's statement in Stone that the Ten

ao Leste nanetn vain and centan do baad Das

rye pm ty pany ye a Fa

amen, Coen Se eee

Opinion at 19. This point is extremely

important one remembers that Stone was decided prior

io Lynch and dlegheny — cases in which displays of purely

religious symbols (as opposed to the Ten

whicl¥ contains both religious and secular rules) were Id

because of other secular = justiGentans. This is significant

because in Stone the Ten Commandments were posted alone

on school walls, while in this case the Ten Commandments

monument is part of a larger historic display with a secular

. In fact, the Supreme Court in rejecting the posting

of the en Commandments noted that they were to be displayed

in isolation, as opposed to incorporated into "the study of

history, civilization, ethics, comparative religion, or the like."

Stone, 449 U.S. at 42. That factor distinguishes Stone from

the Ten Commandments monument involved in this case,

and makes this case more analogous to Lynch and Allegheny.

Stone is distinguishable for another and more fundamental

reason — it involved the mandated posting of Ten

Commandments in schools. Where i le youths are

involved the Supreme Court has taken a harsher view of

religion. Sez, e.g., Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 592, 120 L.

43a

Ed. 2d 467, 112 S. Ct. 2649 (1992) ("There are heightened

concerns with protecting freedom of conscience from subtle

coercive pressure in schools."); Edwards v. Aguillard, 482

U.S. 578, 583-84, 96 L. Ed. 2d 510, 107 S. Ct. 2573 (1987)

("The Court has been particularly vigilant in monitoring

compliance with the Establishment Clause in elementary and

secondary schools."); Abington v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203,

307, 83 S. Ct. 1560, 10 L. Ed. 2d 844 (1963) (Goldberg, J.,

concurring) ("The pervasive religiosity and direct

governmental involvement inhering in the prescription of

prayer and Bible reading in the public schools, during and as

part of the curricular day, involving young impressionable

children whose school attendance is statutorily compelled,

and utilizing the prestige, power, and influence of school

administration, staff, and authority, cannot realistically be

termed simply accommodation, and must fall within the

interdiction of the First Amendment."); Board of Ed. of

Westside Community Schools v. Mergens, 496 U.S. 226, 261-

62, 110 L. Ed. 2d 191, 110 S. Ct. 2356 (Kennedy, J., concurring)

("The inquiry with respect to coercion must be whether the

government imposes pressure upon a student to participate in |

a religious activity. This inquiry, of course, must be undertaken

with sensitivity to the special circumstances that exist in a

secondary schoo! where the line between voluntary and coerced

participation may be difficult to draw."). Thus, while the

Supreme Court has upheld the opening of legislative sessions

with prayer, Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783, 786, 77 L.

Ed. 2d 1019, 103 S. Ct. 3330 (1983), it has declared

unconstitutional the opening of school sessions with prayer.

Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421, 8 L. Ed. 2d 601, 82 S. Ct. 1261

(1962) Likewise, whereas the Supreme Court upheld the

constitutionality of the creche and menorah displays in Lynch

and Allegheny, the Court also noted that it would have a

different case if the displays arose in the school setting. See,

e.g., Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 620 n.69 ("This is not to say that

the combined display of a Christmas tree and a menorah is

constitutional wherever it may be located on government

property. For example, when located in a public school, such

a display might raise additional constitutional considerations.

Cf Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. at 583-584, 107 S. Ct. at

2577 (Establishment Clause must be applied with special

sensitivity in the public-school context)."). Again, context is

44a

critical, and the school context in Stone dictated the result, as

See S a9" US 42 cing bing District,

tone, S. at iting A n

374 U.S. 203, 83 S. Ct. 1560, 10 L. ed 2d 844, and Engel,

370 U.S. 421, 8 L. Ed. 2d 601, 82 S. Ct. 1261. Therefore,

while Stone speaks for the school setting — where student

attendance is compulsory, and pupils are particularly

susceptible to influence — it does not answer the question in

the context of an open courtyard where citizens may divert

to one of the other monuments ing the |

historical display. See, e.g., Freedom From Religion

Foundation, 898 P.2d at 1022-23 (distinguishing Stone based

on the school setting, and upholding the constitutionality of a

Ten Commandments monument on state capital grounds).

C. Historical Practices

Given the factual similarities to the displays

constitutionally permitted in Lynch and Allegheny, Elkhart's

decision to leave the Ten Commandments monument standing

should not violate mee ae test. But even if the Lemon test

was not met, where a religious symbol has meaning in history

and ubiquity, the S Court has side-stepped the strictures

of Lemon because the results would be contrary to the clear

intent of the Framers of the Constitution. For instance, in

rg ks roy > dy xd weehn | 77 L. Ed. 2d 1019, 103 S.

4 " urt ld the practice of Congress

opening the legislative session with prayer stating:

In light of the unambiguous and unbroken history of

more than 200 years, there can be no doubt that the

ice of opening legislative sessions with eT

is become part of the fabric of our society. To waned

Divine guidance on a public body entrusted with making

the laws is not, in these circumstances, an

"establishment" of religion or a step toward

establishment; it is simply a tolerable acknowledgment

of beliefs widely held among the people of this country.

Id. at 792.

45a

Significantly, Marsh did not apply Lemon, but in its holding

recognized the fact that "there is an unbroken history of official

acknowledgment by all three branches of government of the

role of religion in American life from at least 1789." Lynch,

465 U.S. at 674. In fact, that history predates our three branches

of government, beginning with the proclamation in our

Declaration of Independence that all men "are endowed by

their Creator with certain unalienable Rights,” and continues

even as recently as the President's call to Americans to "thank

God today for the lives, the character, and courage of the

crew of the USS Cole."

The Supreme Court has long recognized the

constitutionality of such religious references. For instance,

the Court has acknowledged that its own court

open with an announcement which concludes "God save the

United States and this Honorable Court." Marsh, 463 U.S. at

786. The Court has also noted that the Establishment Clause

does not prohibit "prayers in our legislative halls; the appeals

to the Almighty in the messages of the Chief Executive; the

proclamations making Thanksgiving Day a national holiday;

‘so help me God' in our courtroom oaths — these and all

other references to the Almighty that run through our laws,

[and] our public rituals . . . [including] the supplication with

which the Court opens each session: 'God save the United

States and this Honorable Court." Zorach v. Clauson, 343

U.S. 306, 312-13, 96 L. Ed. 954, 72 S. Ct. 679 (1952). Likewise

in Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. at 674-75, Justice O'Connor

noted that "our history is replete with official references to

the value and invocation of Divine guidance,” and includes

"government practices embracing religion, including

Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays, congressional and

military chaplains and the congressional prayer room, the

motto, the Pledge of Allegiance, and presidential proclamations

for a National Day of Prayer,” thus implicitly acknowledging

the constitutionality of such practices. As Justice O'Connor

explained, "Because of their history and ubiquity, those

practices are not understood as conveying government

approval of particular religious beliefs." /d. at 693.

Also informative are comments the Supreme Court has

made concerning the constitutionality of the 1932 artistic

rendition of Moses and the Ten Commandments contained in

46a

the frieze surrounding the walls of the highest court. For

instance in Lynch, 465 U.S. at 676, in considering an

chamber in which oral arguments on this case were heard is

decorated with a notable and permanent — not seasonal —

— of a amy with the Ten Commandments."

Allegheny, ‘S. at 652-53 (Stevens, J., concurring

in part, dissenting in part) (noting that it "would be absurd to

exclude" the inclusion of Moses, Confucius and Mohammed

from the Supreme Court's frieze because they are religious

lawgivers). More recently, Chief Justice Rehnquist justified

the presence of Muhammad in the north wall frieze in the

Courtroom, stating "the depiction of Muhammad was intended

only to recognize him, among many other lawgivers, as an

important figure in the history of law;.. . . It is part of an

in Gen Me ee

sixty years.""). Suhre, 55 F. Supp. 2d at 394 (quotin

from a 1997 statement of Chief Justice Rehnquist). ; ,

The circuit courts have also accepted historical references

to the Deity, upholding our national motto of "In God We

Trust,” and the same “yo on our currency, O'Hair v.

Murray, 588 F.2d 1144 (Sth Cir. 1979) (upholding national

motto "In God We Trust"); Aronow v. United States, 432

F.2d 242 (9th Cir. 1970) (accord), as well as the

constitutionality of the Pl of Allegiance's reference to

God. Sherman v. Community Consol. Sch. Dist. 21 of Wheeling

Township, 980 F.2d 437 (7th Cir. 1992).

The reference to God on the Ten Commandments

monument is much like these other references — an

acknowledgment of our religious roots. While the display

does not date back to our nation's founding, neither does the

Pledge of Alliance's reference to God, or other such

constitutionally approved religious references, such as the

"In God We Trust" motto and inscription. Rather, many of

the Deity references find their roots in our more recent history

— the 1950's — just as the Ten Commandments monument

in this case does. Therefore, in looking at the monument that

still stands before Elkhart's Municipal Building, it is helpful

to view it in light of the time it was placed there.

In the 50's the Cold War was daunting, and our country

47a

— as it often does in times of crisis — acknowledged the

importance of God. See 100 Cong. Rec. 1700 (1954) ("The

fundamental issue which is the unbridgeable gap between

America and Communist Russia is a belief in Almighty God.")

(statement of Rep. Rabaut). In 1952, Congress established

the "National Day of Prayer," H.R.J. Res. 382, 82d Cong., 2d

Sess. (1952), recognizing that "the national interest would be

much better served if we turn aside for a full day to pray for

spiritual help and guidance from the Almighty during these

turbulent times." 98 Cong. Rec. 771 (1952) (statement of

Rep. Brooks). That same year, Justice Douglas, writing for

the Supreme Court in Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306, 313,

96 L. Ed. 954, 72 S. Ct. 679 (1952), penned the now-famous

line: "we are a religious jae whose institutions presuppose

a Supreme Being." The following year, in 1953, the House of

Representatives voted to establish a prayer room in the Capitol.

H.R. Cong. Res. 60, 83d Cong., 99 Cong., 99 Cong. Rec.

9073 (1953). The Bill's sponsor explained that the legislation's

purpose was to "provide a place of retreat as an encouragement

te prayer. . . ." 99 Cong. Rec. 9073 (1953) (statement of Rep.

Hays). Congressman Scrivner went further, explaining that

"at this time in the world's history, when the materialistic

ideology of the Communists is . . . right in our own land, it is

comforting to know that the Congress of the United States

goes on record as believing in the spiritual values taught by

all religions, and also showing to the world their belief in

prayer and meditation as opposed to the barbarous teachings

that so many nations have fallen prey to." 99 Cong. Rec.

9075 (1953) (statement of Rep. Scrivner).

In 1954, Congress added the phrase "one Nation under

God" to the Pledge of Allegiance. This amendment came in

response to a sermon delivered by the Reverend George M.

Docherty at the New York Avenue Presbyterian Church in

Washington D.C. at a service which President Eisenhower

and several Senators and Representatives had attended. In his

sermon, Reverend Docherty noted that our Pledge of

Allegiance was missing something — something that would

distinguish it from the pledge "little Muscovites might repeat"

in a "pledge to their hammer-and-sickle flag in Moscow."

Steven B. Epstein, Rethinking the Constitutionality of

Ceremonial Deism, 96 Colum. L. Rev. 2083, 2118-19 (1996).

48a

That something was a recognition of God. After the President

signed this legislation, the new Pledge of Allegi was

recited and a bugler played a rendition of " Christian

ann 100 Cong. Rec. 6348 (1954) (statement of Sen.

erguson).

freedom is our faith in God and the desire of Americans to

live by His will and His guidance. As long as this country

trusts in God, it will prevail. To remind all of us of this

self-evident truth, it is proper that our currency should carry

these inspiring words, coming down to us through our history:

‘In God We Trust." 101 Cong. Rec. 4384 (1955) (statement

of Rep. Bennett). The following year, Congress codified "In

God We Trust" as our national motto. See Act of July 31,

1956, Pub. L. No. 84-851 (codified at 36 U.S.C. § 186 (1994)).

Two years later, in 1958, as part of its national project, the

Elkhart Eagles chapter donated the Ten Commandments

monument to the City of Elkhart.

As a nation, we are thankful the Communist wall of

separation has fallen. And it is true that following the Supreme

Court's Establishment Clause jurisprudence beginning in the

60's, our governments are increasingly restricted in invoking

the name of God. We have numbed such invocations with

terms such as "rote repetition," moments of silence, and

ceremonial deism." Yet that does not change the historical

_ that ae oe pn ents served as the foundation

r our co s system. A monument displaying the

Decalogue acknowledges that fact without dete The

Ten Commandments monument also serves as an historical

headstone, not only for our nation's original foundation, but

also for the 1950's, a religious time in America when as a

nation we turned to God. A time when divorce, illegitimacy,

drug abuse, murder, abortion, youth violence, and the other

crises of today were still relatively rare.

49a

In sum, I believe the retention of the 40-year-old Ten

Commandments monument displayed outside Elkhart's

Municipal Building is justified based on our country’s early

and more recent history as a "tolerable acknowledgment of

beliefs widely held among the people of this country." Marsh,

463 U.S. at 783. Because of the Ten Commandments’ history

and ubiquity, it should be treated just as other accepted

practices, such as the Supreme Court's frieze, the national

Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays, congressional and

military chaplains and the congressional prayer room, the

national motto, the Pledge of Allegiance, presidential

proclamations for a National Day of Prayer, and our own

court's opening "God save the United States and this Honorable

Court.” Therefore, even if the Ten Commandments monument

would fail the strictures of the Lemon test (which, in my

view, it does not), I believe Elkhart may constitutionally leave

it standing.

D. Remedy

Because | believe that Elkhart's decision to leave the Ten

Commandments monument standing does not constitute an

"establishment of religion," I would conclude that the

monument's placement and design is fine as is. However, the

court concludes otherwise, and thus is correctly concerned

about the appropriate remedy. While I have no doubt that the

City can locate an obscure hiding place for the monument,

that should not be necessary. Cemeteries are full of monuments

honoring times past. But this monument should not be exiled

to the equivalent of a graveyard. Perhaps it could remain in

place if it could be sufficiently diluted with additional plaques

and memorials. I don't think anyone would accept some sort

of redaction whereby the preliminary references to God would

be chiseled away or otherwise defaced. There must be some

other way to minimize any perception of endorsement, and

many communities and the State of Indiana seek guidance on

where and how the Decalogue can be prominently displayed

without offending the Constitution. Yet, if the court's decision

in this case stands, there may be no remedy other than removal

because the court concludes that the City lacked a secular

purpose justifying its decision to leave undisturbed the Ten

Commandments monument. Thus, it appears that under the -

court's reasoning, no matter what Elkhart does to dilute the

50a

history? God? Some of each? Some frustrated Justices have

been led to discuss the absurdity of the Lemon test. See Lee v.

Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 644, 120 L. Ed. 2d 467, 112 S. Ct.

2649 (1992) (Scalia, J., dissenting) (stating that Lemon “has

received well-earned criticisra from many Members of this

Court," and collecting opinions criticizing Lemon). See also,

Lamb's 1 v. Center Moriches Union Free School Dist.,

nae Gale ene 124 L. Ed. 2d 352, - S. Ct. 2141

i » conoming sepa Gs ecting opinions

criticizing Lemon). But in the there has to be a Lemon

test, or some other test now that the Court has departed from

the text and original understanding of the Establishment Clause.

The Establishment Clause reads that "Congress shall make

no law ing an establishment of religion.” "The Framers

intended the Establishment Clause to prohibit the designation

Sla

of any church as a ‘national’ one. The Clause was also designed

to stop the Federal Government from ing a

for one religious denomination or sect over ." Wallace

v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 113, 86 L. Ed. 2d 29, 105 S. Ct. 2479

(1985) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting). The Establishment Clause

further sought "to protect state establishments of religion from

federal interference." Lee, 505 U.S. at 641 (Scalia, J.,

dissenting) (emphasis added). See also, American Jewish

Co . 827 F.2d at 129 (Easterbrook, J., dissenting) ("The

Establishment Clause was supposed to prevent the federal

government from taxing for the support of a church or requiring

religious observance."). What the Establishment Clause did

not intend to do was to build a wall of separation, or to

mandate that the government treat religion and irreligion

equally. See, e.g., Wallace, 472 U.S. 38, 98, 86 L. Ed. 2d 29,

105 S. Ct. 2479 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting) (Madison "did not

ace th co suquising aeubaly on Go past between

religion and irreligion."). See generally, Wallace, 472 U.S. at

91-114 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting); Lee, 505 U.S. at 631-46

(Scalia, J., dissenting); American Jewish Congress, 827 F.2d

at 128-40 (Easterbrook, J., dissenting); Leonard W. Levy,

The Establishment Clause: Religion and the First Amendment

(1986).

History proves that, and “the true meaning of the

Establishment Clause can only be seen in its history." Wallace,

472 U.S. at 113 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting). See also, Lee v.

Weisman, 505 U.S. at 632 (Scalia, J., dissenting) ("Justice

Helmer quhesion Gass ‘a page of Mistery is west 6 wean of

pa alin ely parti force to our Establishment Clause

jun .") (internal citation omitted). History shows that

"from our Nation's origin, pases Cate SOEh © Senna ease

of governmental ceremonies and proclamations. The

Declaration of Independence, the document marking our birth

as a people, ‘appealed to the Supreme Judge of the

world for the rectitude of our intentions’ and avowed ‘a firm

reliance on the protection of divine Providence.” Jd. at 633.

In fact, George Washington, in his first inaugural address,

"after swearing his oath of office on a Bible, . . . deliberately

made a prayer a part of his first official act as President.” /d.

And when Congress passed the first ten amendments to the

Constitution, "George Washington himself, at the request of

52a

a day of wh ee ee a

scknowledgng many and signal favors

of Almighty God."" /d. at 635. As Justice i i

summarized: "F must judge whether it was the Father

of his Country in 1789, or a majority of the Court which has

strayed from the ing of the Establishment Clause."

Wi 472 US. at 113 ist, J., dissenting).

The Lemon test a determined effort

to craft a workable from a historically faulty doctrine;

but the rule can only be as sound as the doctrine it attempts

to service." /d. at 110. Lemon's view of the Establishment

cause Se Comenstnily inscwest 0s 0 matter of bistery. And

repetition in varying forms in inions of the

Gaul aun ave tis ees ee ae tama ae

matter of fact; stare decisis may bind courts as to matters of

law, but it cannot bind them as to matters of history.” /d.

___ For now, however, the history as viewed by these dissenting

jurists has been displaced by the Lemon test. Until the Court

returns to the original ing of the Establishment

Clause we are bound by Lemon, and we therefore are left to

measure the dilution of the religious message and

the sincerity of the government's secular motive--neither task

well suited to the judiciary. Nonetheless, even under these

complicated standards, the Ten Commandments monument

does not constitute an establishment of religion.

Ill.

The Ten Commandments monument serves several secular

on the monument — placing the Ten Commandments

in context of this country's history — and by the existence of

other secular monuments in Elkhart's municipal building

parkway. Moreover, even if we were to conclude that the

monument fails the strictures of the Lemon test, I believe that

history and ubiquity justify Elkhart's decision to leave

undisturbed a monument which has rested unobtrusively and

undisturbed in front of its municipal building for more than

53a

ears in recognition of our country's religious and legal

won hy therefore DISSENT from the court's holding that

Elkhart's decision to leave in place the Ten Commandments

monument constitutes an establishment of religion, and its

implicit mandate that it must be removed.

APPENDIX B

No. 00-1114

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SEVENTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM A. BOOKS and MICHAEL

SUETKAMP,

Plaintiffs- Appellants,

Vv.

CITY OF ELKHART, INDIANA,

Defendant-Appellee.

MOTION TO RECALL AND STAY THE MANDATE

JANUARY 31, 2001

RIPPLE, Circuit Judge (in chambers).

This matter is before me on the application of the

City of Elkhart, Indiana, for a stay of this court's mandate

while the City seeks a writ of certiorari in the Supreme Court

of the United States. When this application was first presented

to me, | ordered that the plaintiffs file a response. That response

has been received, and the matter is now before me for

Familiarity with our decision in Books v. City of Elkhart,

235 F.3d 292 (7th Cir. 2000), is presumed; I shall set forth

only a thumbnail sketch of the underlying litigation. The

plaintiffs, William Books and Michael Suetkamp, residents

of Elkhart, brought this action because they objected to the

placement of a monument inscribed with the Ten

Commandments on the lawn of Elkhart's Municipal Building.

The district court granted summary judgment in favor of the

City. On December 13, 2000, this court reversed that decision.

We held that, under the facts established in this record, the

primary and effect of the monument is to advance or

endorse religion; therefore, the display violates the

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Elkhart v. Books · 532 U.S. 1058 | Frix