Amicus Curiae Brief — US Airways, Inc. v. Barnett
Supreme Court brief2002
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
— — — — —
Aug 3] 200! 1
00 sees
In the
Supreme Court of the United States
US AIRWAYS, INC.,
Petitioner,
V.
ROBERT BARNETT,
Respondent.
On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE NATIONAL
EMPLOYMENT LAWYERS ASSOCIATION,
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF PROTECTION AND
ADVOCACY SYSTEMS, BAZELON CENTER FOR
MENTAL HEALTH LAW, DISABILITY RIGHTS
EDUCATION AND DEFENSE FUND, INC. (DREDF)
AND EIGHT OTHER DISABILITY ORGANIZATIONS
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT
PAULA A. BRANTNER BRIAN EAST
Senior Staff Attorney Counsel of Record
NATIONAL EMPLOYMENT ADVOCACY, INCORPORATED
LAWYERS ASSOCIATION 7800 Shoal Creek Blvd.
600 Harrison Street Suite 171-E
Suite 535 Austin, TX 78757-1014
San Francisco, CA 94107 (512) 454-4816
(415) 227-4655
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
NATIONAL EMPLOYMENT LAWYERS ASSOCIATION, ET AL.
(Additional Amici Listed on Inside Cover)
Midwest Law Printing Company/Photex Chicago — (312) 321-0220
IBEST AVAILABLE COPY
Amici Curiae Joining This Brief
National Employment Lawyers Association (NELA)
The Arc of the United States (The Arc)
The Association of Higher Education and Disability (AHEAD)
American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD)
Thc Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund, Inc. (DREDF)
HalfthePlanet Foundation
The Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law
Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund, Inc. (Lambda)
The National Association of Protection and Advocacy Systems (NAPAS)
The National Association of Rights Protection and Advocacy (NARPA)
National Mental Health Association (NMHA)
The National Mental Health Consumers’ Self-Help Clearinghouse
i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE(S)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .....................-. iv
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE ............... 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..................... 1
EE Se 3
I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY HELD
THAT A DISABLED EMPLOYEE WHO
SEEKS THE REASONABLE ACCOMMO-
DATION OF “REASSIGNMENT TO A VA-
CANT POSITION” HAS PRIORITY UNDER
THE ADA FOR SUCH REASSIGNMENT T.. 3
A. Interpreting “Reassignment to a Va-
cant Position” to Mean “Considering an
Employee for Reassignment to a Va-
cant Position” Violates the Plain
Meaning of the Text and Leads to an
F ...e 3
B. According to the Statutory Reassign-
ment“ Language Its Plain Meaning
Does Not Impermissibly Demand
“Preferential Treatment” of Employees
i. eee eee eee 10
II. THE NINTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY HELD
THAT A SENIORITY SYSTEM IS NOT A
PER SE BAR TO REASSIGNMENT AS A
REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION ........ 14
III.
ü
A. Interpreting Vacant“ to Mean Vacant
Unless Someone Else Has Rights to the
Job under a Seniority System“ Does
Violence to the Plain Meaning of the
Text and to the Purpose of the Reas-
signment Provision
B. Additional Statutory Language, and
the Legislative History Regarding Col-
lective Bargaining Agreements, Fur-
ther Support the Conclusion That Sen-
iority Systems Cannot Be an Absolute
Bar to Reassignment as a Reasonable
666.
C. Accepting Petitioner’s Extra-Statutory
Construction Would Result in a Sub-
stantial Narrowing of Virtually All
Reasonable Accommodations
D. Employers’ Needs for Stability and
Smooth Business Operations Are Le-
gitimately Considered, on an Individu-
alized Basis, under the “Undue Hard-
„
A “REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION”
UNDER THE ADA IS A MODIFICATION
THAT OPERATES IN AN EFFECTIVE
MANNER TO ENABLE A PERSON WITH A
DISABILITY TO PERFORM AJOB .........
CONCLUSION
APPENDIX A: Interest of Amici Curiae
A. The Term “Reasonable Accommoda-
tion” Is a Term of Art That Does Not
Encompass Issues of Cost or Difficulty,
Which Are Part of the “Undue Hard-
ship” Analysis ......... stineendeseces
. Recognizing that a Reasonable Accom-
modation Means an Effective One Re-
sults in a Logical Apportionment of the
r EI Oe EP
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: PAGE(S)
Aka v. Washington Hosp. Ctr.,
156 F.3d 1284 (D.C. Cir. 1998)
D eee 4, 5, 17, 21
Albertson s, Inc. v. Kirkingburg,
1 ED .dicdecceesceeteocessoness 20
Alexander v. Choate,
t in tek ed eed bee 25
Barnett v. US Airways, Inc.,
228 F.3d 1105 (9th Cir. 2000) (en banc) ......... 30
Board of Trustees v. Garrett,
531 U.S. 356, 121 S. Ct. 955,
148 L. Ed. 2d 866 (2001777 20, 27
Bragdon v. Abbott,
Z 8, 16, 25
Bryant v. Better Business Bureau of
Greater Maryland, 923 F. Supp.
rr. eee sees eee 26
Citicorp Indus. Credit, Inc. v. Brock,
r ee eee ee 13
Cleveland v. Policy Management Systems
Corp., 526 U.S. 795 (199 900̊̊vv 2 9, 20
Davis v. York Int'l, Inc.,
1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 17649
Pe ee ED no enen eee 27
Vv
Dutton v. Johnson County Bd. of Comm vs,
859 F. Supp. 498 (D. Kan. 1994)............... 27
Eckles v. Conrail,
94 F.3d 1041 (7" Cir. 1996) .................. 16
Gardner v. Morris,
752 F.2d 1271 (8 Cir. 1985) .................. 30
Gile v. United Airlines, Inc.,
95 F.3d 492 (7th Cir. 19990) 4, 25
Leatherman v. Tarrant County Narcotics
Intelligence & Coordination Unit,
ED Bic esse eee 21
Logan v. Pennaco Hosiery,
1997 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 9965
e eee es 29
Mackey v. Lanier Collection Agency
& Service, Inc., 486 U.S. 825 (1988).............. 5
Mason v. Frank,
SB P.BG SUE WO” Cle. eee hh 30
Meritor Sav. Bank v. Vinson,
,, eee 8
Olmstead v. L. C. by Zimring,
. wccceecccccoescccececceess 20
Pate v. Baker Tanks Gulf South, Inc.,
34 F. Supp. 2d 411 (W.D. La. 1999) ............. 29
PGA Tour, Inc. v. Martin,
U.S. __, 121 S. Ct. 1879,
149 L. Ed. 2d 904 (2001) ................ 5, 19, 20
Prewitt v. United States Postal Service,
662 F.2d 292 (5" Cir. 198177 30
Ransom v. Arizona Bd. of Regents,
983 F. Supp. 895 (D. Ariz. 1997) ͥ 777 0
School Bd. of Nassau County v. Arline,
4 EE occ evict seceooccces 6, 20, 24
Smith v. Midland Brake, Inc.,
180 F.3d 1154 (10% Cir. 1999)
Drees ee 5, 9, 20, 21, 22
South Carolina v. Catawba Indian Tribe, Inc.,
eee ese eee es ese 4
Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc.,
II OTT TTTT TTT Tre 19
Thomas Jefferson University v. Shalala,
11 K 8
Treadwell v. Alexander,
707 F. ad 473 (11™ Cir. 1973) V 30
Vande Zande v. Wisconsin Dept. of Admin.,
44 F.3d 538 (7th Cir. 1995) ... . 26
Zukle v. Regents of the Univ. of Cal.,
166 F.3d 1041(9™ Cir. 19990·-cͥ⸗ũl eee eens 29
vii
Statutes:
e 9
, 9
J can ecbssicedeciecdceds 11,13
43 U.B.C. § enn) 9, 12, 13
e eee 0 6
43 U.S.C. § IBLIMONB) ......ccccccvcvess 1, 4, 14, 21
. bobs cb cbc cceeccsececccdeess 27
SP SED Gob vecescccccccescvecesc 5, 6, 11
. EE db ocddccuseeccovtedvceees- 11
ri eee eee 25
42 U.S.C, § 12112bC SNA ee eee 7, 20, 22
42 U.S.C. § IZLIABNEMB) .. 0... cece eee ee eeee 11
rie. . eee 2, 16
Regulations and Agency Guidance:
r eee 4
Tk 16
r ̃è˙ ˙... 16, 23
GE OPR. een .cccccccccccccccccecss 24
45 C. r. N. $84.12 aN4) 0.0.2... cece cece ccc eces 17
ö. 23
45 C. F. R. g 84.120) ceeccceeeees 24, 28
29 C.F.R. app. § 1630.2(0) ///;tůj 000 eee. 21, 22
29 C. F. R. app. § 1630. 99. 22, 27
45 C. F. R. pt. 84, Appendix A, p. 315 (1985) 24, 29
EEOC Enforcement Guidance: Reasonable
Accommodation and Undue Hardship
Under the Americans with Disabilities
Act (3/1/99), <http://www.eeoc.gov/docs/
accommodation.htm> .................. 8, 15, 22
Legislative Materials:
Kreer passim
H.R. REP. NO.101-485(IIT) ................... 20, 21
e ccadcuoeeuednacesseenns passim
136 Cong. Rec. H2471 (May 17, 1990) ............. 28
Treatises:
Oxford English Dictionary (1971) ............... 4, 15
Richard V. Burkhauser & Mary C. Daly,
Employment and Economic Well-Being
Following the Onset of a Disability: The
Role for Public Policy, in Disability, Work,
and Cash Benefits (Jerry L. Mashaw et al.,
r caus wae 6beeekeedeseeeees es
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights,
ACCOMMODATING THE SPECTRUM OF
INDIVIDUAL ABILITIES 102 (1983) ........... 20, 25
Webster’s Third New International
reer eee eee 4, 15
21 CHARLES A. WRIGHT & KENNETH
A. GRAHAM, FEDERAL PRACTICE &
PROCEDURE § 5122 (1977) ....... . „ 6 6 6 6 66
Chai R. Feldblum, Antidiscrimination
Requirements of the ADA, in
IMPLEMENTING THE AMERICANS WITH
DISABILITIES ACT: RIGHTS AND
RESPONSIBILITIES OF ALL AMERICANS
(L. Gostin & H. Beyer eds. 1992) ............ 25, 28
Richard V. Burkhauser, Lessons from the
West German Approach to Disability
Policy, in Disability & Work: Incentives,
Rights, and Opportunities 85 (Carolyn L.
WE, GE, TIED cc cccccccccccccccsceccecs
Law Reviews:
Bonnie Tucker, The Americans with
Disabilities Act: An Overview,
1989 U. Ill. L. Rev. 923 (1989) ........ccccceees
Chai R. Feldblum, The (RJevolution of
Physical Disability Anti-discrimination
Law: 1976-1996, 20 MENTAL AND PHYSICAL
DISABILITY LAW REPORTER 613 (1996) ....... 23,
Donald Olenick, Accommodating the
Handicapped: Rehabilitating Section
504 After Southeastern, 80 COL. L. REV.
c ¼ tn
J. Harvie Wilkinson III, The Dimensions
of American Constitutional Equality,
55 Law & Contemp. Probs. 235 (Winter
D ⅛ͤrᷣÄ—TTT —ͤ ens
John E. Murray and Christopher J. Murray,
Enabling the Disabled: Reassignment and
the ADA, 83 Mara. L. Rev. 721 (Summer
% TJ K tae
Lee, Reasonable Accommodation Under the
Americans with Disabilities Act: The
Limitations of Rehabilitation Act
Precedent, 14 Berk. J. Emp. & Lab. L.
. / 60600065060046 6s
xi
Mark Martin, Accommodating the
Handicapped: The Meaning of
Discrimination Under Section 504
of the Rehabilitation Act, 55 N.Y.U.
e A („. 25
Robert Burgdorf, The Americans with
Disabilities Act: Analysis and
Implications of a Second - Generation
Civil Rights Statute, 26 Harv. Civ.
Rights-Civ. Lib. L. Rev. 413 (19917777) 9, 21
1
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE’
This case involves the scope and interpretation of the
Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. § 12101 et seq.,
which protects people with disabilities against discrimina-
tion. Amici are national organizations that advocate on
behalf of people with disabilities. Because many of the
members and clients of these organizations have encoun-
tered discrimination in a variety of employment settings,
amici are concerned about the implications that this
Court’s decision will have for reasonable accommodation of
people with disabilities. (A description of each of the amici
appears in Appendix A.)
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I. The ADA specifically identifies “reassignment to a
vacant position” as a reasonable accommodation. 42 U.S.C.
§ 12111(9)(B). The plain meaning of the ADA’s reassign-
ment language requires the employer to reassign a quali-
fied employee with a disability to a vacant position, if
required as an accommodation, rather than (as the Peti-
tioner contends) force the employee to “bid” on the vacant
position.
Petitioner’s construction is not only contrary to the
statute’s plain language, it renders the ADA’s reassign-
ment language meaningless. Petitioner’s construction is
The consents of the parties have been filed with the Clerk of the Court.
Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, counsel for amici curiae state that
no counsel for any party authored this brief in whole or in part. No
— — 83 — custen, Chale crambern, or tatle
counsel, made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission
of the brief. Amicus NELA also wishes to disclose that a member of its
Executive Board, Patricia A. Shiu, is employed by the same organization
employing counsel for respondent, Claudia Center, but that Ms. Shiu
played no part in the amicus decision-making process or the drafting of
this brief.
also contrary to the legislative history, the EEOC’s inter-
pretation, and Congress’ expressed public policy goals. Fur-
thermore, the difference in the protection afforded appli-
cants, who are entitled to no hiring preference, and the
treatment to be afforded current employees, who require
reassignment, was intentional. There is nothing in the
legislative history or the general findings that can over-
come the plain language of the statute on this point.
II. In the instant case, the mail room position that the
Respondent sought was vacant. Petitioner would have the
Court interpret “vacant” to exclude any position “reserved”
under a non-contractual seniority system, in contravention
of the plain language of the statute. Such a construction
would allow employers to unilaterally create a broad
exemption from the ADA’s central requirement of provid-
ing reasonable accommodations. Furthermore, the ADA
cannot be interpreted to give employees with disabilities
lesser protection than the Rehabilitation Act regulations
afforded, 42 U.S.C. § 12201(a), and the “floor” created by
those regulations, together with the legislative history of
the ADA, prohibits construing a seniority system as an
absolute bar to reassignment. Petitioner’s contrary con-
struction would result in a wholesale restriction on all
kinds of reasonable accommodations, whether seniority-
related or not. That construction is not necessary to afford
employers meaningful protection; rather, such protection
is properly considered, on a case-by-case basis, under the
undue hardship defense.
III. Finally, Petitioner essentially seeks to shift the
burden of disproving the undue hardship defense onto the
plaintiff, once again contrary to the express language of
the statute, by requiring the plaintiff to prove the reason-
ableness of any accommodation sought through a cost-
benefit analysis. This is also illogical, and contrary to the
accepted pre-ADA definition of the term reasonable accom-
modation (upon which the ADA’s definition is based). A
3
“reasonable” accommodation is one that is effective in
allowing the plaintiff to perform the job. The defendant has
the burden of showing that the accommodation would
impose an undue hardship, relying on the cost and other
factors listed in the statute.
ARGUMENT
I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY HELD THAT A
DISABLED EMPLOYEE WHO SEEKS THE REASON-
ABLE ACCOMMODATION OF “REASSIGNMENT TOA
VACANT POSITION” HAS PRIORITY UNDER THE
ADA FOR SUCH REASSIGNMENT.
A. Interpreting “Reassignment to a Vacant Posi-
tion” to Mean “Considering an Employee for
Reassignment to a Vacant Position” Violates
the Plain Meaning of the Text and Leads to
an Absurd Result.
In the instant appeal, it is uncontested that Respondent
had a disability and needed an accommodation. Petitioner
assumes that the only accommodation that would have
been effective was reassignment.’ Yet the Petitioner re-
fused to reassign the Respondent, causing him to lose his
job. Petitioner attempts to justify its refusal to accommo-
date by arguing that reassignment only means allowing an
employee to “bid” on a vacant job—something the Respon-
dent had the right to do anyway. The plain language of the
statute forecloses that contention.
In contrast to the ADA, the Rehabilitation Act (the
ADA’s predecessor) did not define the term “reasonable
accommodation,” and its implementing regulations did not
* Respondent contests this, suggesting that additional accommodations
were available, and that the position Respondent sought did not con-
stitute a reassignment. While we agree with these contentions, we limit
our argument to the issues raised by Petitioner.
4
include reassignment in the definition of that term. See,
e.g., 29 C.F.R. § 84.12(b). As a result, the pre-ADA case law
usually rejected any obligation to reassign an employee.
See, e.g., Gile v. United Airlines, Inc., 95 F.3d 492, 497 (7th
Cir. 1996) (collecting pre-ADA cases).
The ADA, however, expressly states that reasonable ac-
commodation may include “reassignment to a vacant posi-
tion.” 42 U.S.C. § 12111(9XB). Reassignment is the noun
form of the verb “reassign,” meaning to assign again.
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (1969).
“Assign” is a transitive verb meaning “to appoint (one) to
a post or duty.” Jd. See also the Oxford English Dictionary
(1971) (“To appoint, designate, ordain, depute (a person)
for an office, duty, or fate.”). By definition then, reassign-
ment means to appoint an employee to a new position. “An
employee who is allowed to compete for jobs precisely like
any other applicant has not been ‘reassigned’; he may have
changed jobs, but he has done so entirely under his own
power, rather than having been appointed to a new posi-
tion.” Aka v. Washington Hosp. Ctr., 156 F.3d 1284, 1302
(D.C. Cir. 1998) (en banc).
Not only is Petitioner’s argument contrary to the plain
language of the statute, but Petitioner cites no other statu-
tory language in the reasonable accommodation provision
(or indeed, anywhere in Title I) that supports its reading.
Petitioner simply seeks to imply a limitation that is not
found in the clear statutory language. Such a limitation is
a matter that must be addressed with Congress, not this
Court.
The ADA must be read in such a way as to attribute
meaning to every provision,’ and a narrow construction of
> It is an “elementary canon of construction that a statute should be
interpreted so as not to render one part inoperative.” *
(contin )
the ADA should be rejected when “inconsistent with the
literal text of the statute as well as its expansive purpose.”
PGA Tour, Inc. uv. Martin, U.S. __, 121 S. Ct. 1879,
1892, 149 L. Ed. 2d 904, 922 (2001) (interpreting the
analogous provision in Title III). Petitioner’s argument
that reassignment only means allowing an employee to
“bid” on a vacant job renders the reassignment provision
meaningless. Petitioner’s position would mean that the
reassignment provision only prohibits an employer from
refusing to consider an employee with a disability for a
particular job. But that is already barred by the ADA’s
anti-discrimination provision. See 42 U.S.C. § 12112(a).
Petitioner’s argument leaves nothing in the reassignment
provision that the anti-discrimination provisions do not
already cover.
An employee who on his own initiative applies for and
obtains a job elsewhere in the enterprise would not be
described as having been “reassigned”; the core word
“assign” implies some active effort on the part of the
employer. Indeed the ADA’s reference to reassignment
would be redundant if permission to apply were all it
~ the ADA already prohibits (such) discrimina-
tion. .
Aka v. Washington Hosp. Ctr., 156 F.3d 1284, 1304 (D.C.
Cir. 1998) (en banc) (footnote omitted). See also Smith v.
Midland Brake, Inc., 180 F.3d 1154, 1164-1165 (10 Cir.
1999) (en banc).
Of course, Petitioner contends that “plenty is left” of the
reassignment provision even under its restrictive interpre-
tation, and gives three reasons for its argument. First, it
suggests that the reassignment provision simply means
that the employer must consider the feasibility of assigning
the worker to a different job in accordance with the em-
ployer’s neutral selection criteria. Pet. Br. at 25-26. Peti-
tioner thus claims that including the term reassignment in
the list of reasonable accommodations was simply a way to
distinguish earlier Rehabilitation Act precedent that found
reassignment was never required.
What is missing from the Petitioner’s analysis, however,
is a recognition that this Court had found that even under
the Rehabilitation Act, while employers were not required
to reassign an employee with a disability, they could not
“deny an employee alternative employment opportunities
reasonably available under the employer’s existing poli-
cies.” School Bd. of Nassau County v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273,
289 n.19 (1987). Thus, Petitioner’s interpretation of the
ADA’s language is nothing more than what this Court had
already determined was required by the Rehabilitation Act
without this language. And as discussed above, the re-
quirement that an employer consider an employee with a
disability for another job “in accordance with the em-
ployer’s neutral selection criteria” is already governed by
another section of the ADA. 42 U.S.C. § 12112(a).
Petitioner’s second explanation for why “plenty is left” is
that including reassignment in the definition of reasonable
accommodation is a way to make clear that if an employee
with a disability transfers to another job, the employer
may need to consider an accommodation in the new posi-
tion. Pet. Br. at 26-27. This argument is simply belied by
the placement of reassignment within the reasonable
accommodation definition. 42 U.S.C. § 12111(9). More to
the point, it cannot be rationally argued that mention of
reassignment was required in order to ensure that an
employer offered needed accommodations in any job that
its employee with a disability might hold. The statute ex-
pressly requires accommodations for both applicants and
7
employees. 42 U.S.C. § 12112(b\5)A). The legislative his-
tory is consistent.
In a last attempt to find some substance to its view of
reassignment, Petitioner argues that including the word
reassignment will “typically” require the employer “to work
with a disabled employee to identify available positions
and to determine the employee’s ability to perform the
responsibilities of (and his degree of interest in) any such
positions.” Pet. Br. at 27. Such assistance may well be part
of an accommodation (although there is nothing in the
statute about it), and as pointed out above, the statute
already requires a reasonable accommodation in a new
position, if necessary. But whatever the value of such help
from the employer, it is surely not a reassignment.
Petitioner’s interpretive efforts are also contrary to the
ADA’s legislative history and the EEOC’s interpretation of
the Act. The legislative history refers to an actual “trans-
fer” to prevent unemployment, not merely “considering”
an employee for another position. Specifically, Congress
found:
Reasonable accommodation may also include reassign-
ment to a vacant position. If an employee, because of
disability, can no perform the essential func-
tions of the job that or he has held, a transfer to
another vacant job for which the person is qualified
may prevent the employee from being out of work and
the] employer from losing a valuable worker. (empha-
sis ).
H.R. REP. NO. 101-485(II), at 63 (1990). Not surprisingly,
perhaps, Petitioner never once cites this passage, nor the
very similar language found in the Senate Report, S. REP.
101-116 at 32.
Moreover, the EEOC flatiy rejects Petitioner’s view. The
agency’s guidance, written in question and answer format,
states:
Does reassignment mean that the employee is permit-
ted to compete for a vacant position? No. Reassignment
means that the employee gets the vacant position if
s/he is qualified for it. Otherwise, reassignment would
be of little value and would not be implemented as
Congress intended.
EEOC Enforcement Guidance: Reasonable Accommodation
and Undue Hardship Under the Americans with Disabili-
ties Act, Question 29 (3/1/99), <http://www.eeoc.gov/docs/
accommodation.htm>. According to the EEOC, Petitioner’s
interpretation “nullifies the clear statutory language stat-
ing that reassignment is a form of reasonable accommoda-
tion,” since “even without the ADA, an employee with a
disability may have the right to compete for a vacant
position.” Id. at n.87.°
Finally, there are strong public policy reasons for re-
jecting Petitioner’s extra-textual view. When considering
the ADA, Congress was well aware that unemployment
among people with disabilities was an enormous problem‘
As an administrative interpretation of the ADA, this guidar at least
TD i Fh
courts and litigants properly resort guidance.” Bragdon
Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 642 (1998); Meritor Sav. Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S.
57, , 65 (1986). To the extent that the EEOC interpretive guidance is in
terpreting EEOC’s own regulations, — en-
titled to greater deference. See Thomas Jefferson u. Shalala,
512 U.S. 504, 512 (1994).
® Statistically, Congress found that two-thirds of all working age Amer-
icans with disabilities were not working at all, yet two-thirds of those
who were not working wanted to work—over 8 million people. H. REP.
NO. 10148500, at 32; S. REP. NO. 101-116, W 2
(continued...)
with huge financial and social costs.’ Congress also saw the
inadequacies of the Rehabilitation Act, expressly noting
that despite that law, employment rates and income of
people with disabilities continued to fall.* Congress rec-
ognized that reassignment could help to address those
serious problems, finding that “a transfer to another
(continued)
history noted that? not working’ is perhaps the truest definition of what
it means to be disabled in America.” H.R. REP. NO. 101-485(II), at 32.
Congress expressly found that employment discrimination persisted,
42 U.S.C. § 12101(aX3), and that people with disabilities occupied an
inferior status in our society, and were severely disadvantaged vocation-
ally and economically. 42 U.S.C. § 12101). The legislative record
documented the human costs relating to unnecessary dependency, e.g.,
H.R. REP. NO. 101-485(I11), at 43, as well as the huge dollar cost of such
dependency to the country. 42U.S.C. § 12101(aX9) (disability discrimina-
tion “costs the United States billions of dollars in unnecessary expenses
resulting from dependency and nonproductivity”); Cleveland v. Policy
r — Corp., 526 U.S. 795, 801 (1999). See also 8. Rep.
0. 116, at 9.
In fact, support programs for with disabilities were costing our
country billions. Robert Burgdorf, Americans with Disabilities Act:
Analysis and Implications of a Second-Generation Civil Rights Statute,
26 Harv. Civ. Righta-Civ. Lib. L. Rev. 413, 425 nn. 68-69 (1991). See also
H.R. REP. NO. 101-485(II), at 43 (statement by then-President Bush).
See also Smith v. Midland Brake, Inc., supra, 180 F.3d at 1168 (“the
ADA has multiple objectives, and by defining discrimination as it did to
include the failure to offer reasonable accommodations, one of Congress’
objectives was to facilitate economic independence for otherwise qualified
disabled individuals.) Ransom v. Arizona Bd. of Regents, 983 F. Supp.
895, 901 (D. Ariz. 1997) (one of the ADA was “to reduce societal
costs of dependency and vity”).
* The ADA’s legislative history documented, among other things, that
(1) despite the best 2 nee
still lead their lives in an state of isolation and dependence,”
and (2) despite the Rehabilitation Act, the Census Bureau reported (in
July 1989) that the percentage of men with a work disability who were
full time fell 7 percent between 1981 and 1988, and the income
of workers with disabilities dropped sharply compared to other workers.
H.R. REP. NO. 101-485(II), at 32 (1990). These census results were also
reported in Bonnie Tucker, The Americans with Disabilities Act: An
Overview, 1989 U. III. L. Rev. 923, 926 n.22 (1989).
10
vacant job for which the person is qualified may prevent
the employee from being out of work and [the] employer
from losing a valuable worker.” H.R. RVP. NO. 101-485(II),
at 63. Public policy “is served best when qualified disabled
employees are reassigned to vacant positions, regardless of
whether a more qualified non-disabled person has ex-
pressed interest in the position or the job has been posted.”
John E. Murray and Christopher J. Murray, Enabling the
Disabled: Reassignment and the ADA, 83 Mara. L. Rev.
721, 739-740 (Summer 2000). In fact, this is the only in-
terpretation of the reassignment language that ensures
that no one, whether able-bodied or not, loses their employ-
ment. Id. at 740.
Sound public policy strongly supports this “plain text”
reading of reassignment. Congress might have chosen a
different way to balance the competing concerns of high
unempluyment and a history of discrimination on the one
hand, and employer autonomy on the other. The fact is
that Congress did not; we must follow the statute that
Congress enacted.
B. According to the Statutory “Reassignment”
Language Its Plain Meaning Does Not Imper-
missibly Demand “Preferential Treatment” of
Employees with Disabilities.
As explained above, the statutory “reassignment to a
vacant position” language must mean that an incumbent
employee who faces a disability-related obstacle to contin-
ued employment is entitled to priority in reassignment.
Petitioner argues, however, that the statutory text cannot
be given its plain import, because to do so would purport-
edly require granting “preferential treatment” to workers
with disabilities. Pet. Br. at II. B. In making this argument,
Petitioner leans heavily on general statutory findings and
passages in the legislative history that do not even purport
11
to address this specific issue. Neither of these sources can
overcome the plain import of the statutory text.
At the outset, we should note that the concept of prefer -
ential treatment” does little to aid analysis here. On the
one hand, it is clear (as Petitioner concedes, Pet. Br. at 19)
that the ADA’s “reasonable accommodation” requirement
demands that an employer provide some things to employ-
ees with disabilities that the employer may deny to non-
disabled employees. To use Petitioner’s own example, an
employer may be required to give breaks during the work-
day to enable an employee with a disability to take medica-
tion, even if it has a firm policy of denying breaks to em-
ployees generally. Pet. Br. at 19. On the other hand, there
is nothing in the statute that requires an employer, in
making an initial hiring decision, to choose a qualified
candidate with a disability where an equally or more qual-
ified nondisabled candidate also applies.’ In the break-time
case, all parties here might agree that the ADA requires
something “extra” regardless of whether that “extra” is
characterized as the removal of a barrier to equal opportu-
nity or as “preferential treatment.” In the hiring-decision
case, on the other hand, all parties would likely concede
that the statute requires nothing “extra” at all.
In the case of an incumbent employee who seeks reas-
signment to a vacant position to overcome a disability-
related barrier to continued employment, the text makes
plain that the ADA does require that the employee with a
disability receive priority. Against that plain text, Peti-
tioner points to general language in two congressional find-
ings. One of these findings (42 U.S.C. § 12101(aX8)) de-
clares that:
Ot course, the employer would not be permitted to discriminate
* t’s
a), N),
Sp
12
[T]he Nation’s proper goals regarding individuals with
disabilities are to assure equality of opportunity, full
participation, independent living, and economic self-
sufficiency for such individuals.
The other finding (42 U.S.C. § 12101(a)(9)) states that:
[Tjhe continuing existence of unfair and unnecessary
discrimination and prejudice denies people with dis-
abilities the opportunity to compete on an equal basis
and to pursue those opportunities for which our free
society is justifiably famous, and costs the United
States billions of dollars in unnecessary expenses re-
sulting from dependency and nonproductivity.
Pointing to the “equality of opportunity” and “opportunity
to compete on an equal basis” language in these findings,
Petitioner argues that the ADA could never require that an
employer give an employee with a disability priority in
selection for a given position—even in the context of re-
assignment. To support this reading, Petitioner cites two
passages in the legislative history that state that “the
employer has no obligation under this legislation to prefer
applicants with disabilities over other applicants on the
basis of disability.” H.R. REP. 101-485 (ID, at 56; accord S.
REP. NO. 101-116, at 26-27.
These statements cannot bear the weight Petitioner
places on them. Even assuming that the statute makes
clear that its only purpose was to provide “equality of
opportunity” to people with disabilities, such a general
invocation of a contested concept would be an unstable
foundation on which to construct a wholesale rejection of
the unambiguous statutory language providing for job
reassignment. After all, the reasonable accommodation
10 See, e.g., J. Harvie Wilkinson III, The Dimensions of American Con-
„FTTTTbTT00TCT0T0T0T0TTTTT
(“(E)quality of opportunity is the most i i
that I have discussed. It presents a staggering definitional difficulty,
especially for the courts.”).
13
requirement (and the specific application of that require-
ment to require priority in reassignment) plainly advances
equality of opportunity by assuring that people with dis-
abilities are not deprived of opportunities to work due to
arbitrary, unnecessary, and thoughtless obstacles to em-
ployment. In any event, however, the very findings on
which Petitioner relies make clear that “equality of op-
portunity”—however defined—cannot be cabined in the
manner Petitioner suggests as the only purpose of the
statute. Rather, the findings speak as well of “full partici-
pation, independent living, and self-sufficiency,” 42 U.S.C.
§ 12101(a\(8), and of avoiding the “billions of dollars in
unnecessary expenses resulting from dependency and
nonproductivity,” 42 U.S.C. § 12101(aX9). Giving incum-
bent employees with disabilities the option of non-competi-
tive job reassignment plainly advances these statutory
purposes, for it provides the intervention necessary to keep
people with disabilities in the workforce and off of the dis-
ability benefits rolls (from which rolls few ever emerge).
Cf. Citicorp Indus. Credit, Inc. v. Brock, 483 U.S. 27, 36
(1987) (holding that “[wJhile improving working conditions
was undoubtedly one of Congress’ concerns it was certainly
not the only aim of the FLSA” and refusing to depart from
1 See, e. g., Richard V. Burkhauser & Mary C. Daly, Employment and
Economic Well-Being Following the Onset of a Disability: The Role for
Public Policy, in Disability, Work, and Cash Benefits 59, 77-86 (Jerry L.
Mashaw et al., eds., 1996) (observing that “only a tiny percentage of
those who go into [disability benefits] programs ever return to the
workforce” and urging interventions, like the ADA, “that attack the
employment problem before individuals begin to receive disability
trousfers”); Richard V. Burkhauser, Lessons from the West German
Approach to Disability Policy, in Disability & Work: Incentives, Rights,
and Opportunities 85 (Carolyn L. Weaver, ed. 1991) (noting the “positive
attribute” of the ADA that “it seeks to keep people who become work-
impaired on the job; through its job accommodation mandate it inter-
venes before these workers have left their jobs and become trapped in the
disability system”).
14
the plain meaning of the FLSA’s “hot goods” provision
where it served other statutory purposes).
Two sentences in committee reports cannot override the
plain import of the statutory text. But neither of the pas-
sages quoted by Petitioner addresses the situation at issue
here—reassignment of an incumbent worker who faces
a disability-related obstacle to continued employment.”
Rather, both deal with the situation of an initial applicant.
They simply make the uncontested point that an employer
need not prefer an initial applicant with a disability over
an equally or more qualified nondisabled applicant. Where
an incumbent employee with a disability is concerned, how-
ever, reassignment can keep the employee in the workforce
and away from dependency on disability benefits programs.
The text accordingly makes clear that such an incumbent
employee must have priority in reassignment.
II. THE NINTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY HELD THAT A
SENIORITY SYSTEM IS NOT A PER SE BAR TO
REASSIGNMENT AS A REASONABLE ACCOMMO-
DATION.
A. Interpreting “Vacant” to Mean “Vacant Un-
less Someone Else Has Rights to the Job
under a Seniority System” Does Violence to
the Plain Meaning of the Text and to the Pur-
pose of the Reassignment Provision.
The only defense to the accommodation obligation is
undue hardship. But Congress qualified the reassignment
obligation in another way. Under the terms of the statute,
reasonable accommodation includes reassignment to a
vacant position. 42 U.S.C. § 1211109 /B). Petitioner argues
The various passages from the EEOC regulations and interpretive
guidance cited by Petitioner (Pet. Br. at 11, n.2) similarly do not address
the reassignment situation.
15
that reassignment is never available when the employer
has a seniority policy, because under such a plan, no job is
ever “vacant,” but is instead “reserved” for an unknown
(but senior) applicant. Moreover, Petitioner contends that
such job openings are “reserved” even though the unknown
applicant in this case had no contractual right to the
position. This, too, contradicts the plain meaning of the
words Congress chose.
Vacant means “not filled or occupied by an incumbent,”
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (1969), or
In lot filled, held, or occupied; in respect of which a succes-
sor to the previous incumbent or holder has not been
appointed.” Oxford English Dictionary (1971). The EEOC’s
Enforcement Guidance reflects the word’s plain meaning.
In the view of the agency, “vacant” means that the position
is available when the employee asks for reasonable accom-
modation, or that the employer knows that it will become
available within a reasonable amount of time. Further-
more, a position is considered vacant even if an employer
has posted a notice or announcement seeking applications
for that position. EEOC Enforcement Guidance: Reason-
able Accommodation and Undue Hardship Under the
Americans with Disabilities Act (3/1/99), “Reassignment.”
Petitioner’s extraordinary construction is nothing more
than an attempt to engraft limiting language onto the
statute that Congress did not use.
1 Pet. Br. at 37.
16
\ B. Additional Statutory Language, and the Legis-
lative History Regarding Collective Bargaining
Agreements, Further Support the Conclusion
That Seniority Systems Cannot Be an Absolute
Bar to Reassignment as a Reasonable Accom-
modation.
Petitioner’s position would also necessarily forbid con-
travening the terms of a collectively bargained seniority
systems. This result is contrary to the legislative history
regarding collective bargaining agreements.
At the time of the ADA’s adoption, Congress noted that
the Rehabilitation Act regulations provided that “a recipi-
ent’s obligation to comply with this subpart [employment]
is not affected by any inconsistent term of any collective
bargaining agreement to which it is a party.” H.R. REP.
NO. 101-485(II), at 63, citing 45 C. F. R. § 84.11(c)."* Con-
gress’ intention that even bargained-for seniority systems
do not trump statutory protections also extends to the
ADA. Id.; 42 U.S.C. § 12201(a), quoted in Bragdon v.
Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 632 (1998) (“Except as otherwise
provided in this chapter, nothing in this chapter shall be
construed to apply a lesser standard than the standards
applied under title V of the Rehabilitation Act . . . or the
regulations issued by Federal agencies pursuant to such
title.”). Therefore, “an employer cannot use a collective
bargaining agreement to accomplish what it otherwise
would be prohibited from doing under this Act.” H.R. REP.
NO. 101-485(II), at 63.“ The Report continues:
„Note that this regulation by its term applies to the subpart on em-
ployment, of which the reasonable accommodation requireme t. 45
C.F.R. § 84.12, is a part.
1 Furthermore, the language in 45 C.F.R. § 84.11(c) is not limited to
union contracts that represent intentional subterfuge, contrary to Judge
Posner’s analysis in Echles v. Conrail, 94 F.3d 1041, 1046 (7 Cir. 1996).
(continued...)
17
The collective bargaining agreement could be relevant,
however, in determining whether a given accommoda-
tion is reasonable. For example, if a collective bargain-
ing agreement reserves certain jobs for employees with
a given amount of seniority, it may be considered as a
factor in determining whether it is a reasonable accom-
modation to assign an employee with a disability with-
out seniority to the job. However, the agreement would
not be determinative on the issue.
Id. (emphasis added). Petitioner’s view, on the contrary,
requires a rejection both of legislative history, Aka, supra,
156 F.3d at 1304, and of the “floor” established by the Re-
habilitation Act regulations. Of course, this Court need
not decide the proper balancing of the ADA’s mandate and
any seniority rights under a collective bargaining agree-
ment, since the seniority policy in the instant case was
unilaterally imposed by Petitioner. It conferred no statu-
tory or contractual rights to anyone.
C. Accepting Petitioner’s Extra-Statutory Con-
struction Would Result in a Substantial Nar-
rowing of Virtually All Reasonable Accommo-
dations.
The relevant accommodation here is ~eassignment, not
the waiver the seniority policy. And the reassignment is
both specifically provided for by statute, and is clearly
eliminating a disability-related barrier to continued em-
* (..continued)
See also 45 C.F.R. § 84.12(aX4) (“A recipient may not participate in a
contractual or other relationship that has the effect of subjecting qual-
ified handicapped applicants or employees to discrimination prohibited
‘© Petitioner's view also makes the
legislative history ing “bump-
ing” meaningless. Compare S.REP. 101-116, at 31; H.R. . 101-4851],
at 63.
18
ployment. Petitioner in essence is complaining that reas-
signment gets the Respondent something he would not
have received otherwise. But that is the point of the ac-
commodation mandate—that suni.times employees must
get something that they would noc have gotten otherwise.
That does not mean that the accommodation, in this case
reassignment, is not eliminating a disability-related bar-
rier to continued employment.
Adopting Petitioner’s view would have an effect far be-
yond the factual context in this case. For one thing, it
would prohibit any other accommodation that was contrary
to an employer’s seniority policies. In Petitioner's view, an
employer with a “neutral” policy of granting more leave to
those employees with more seniority can refuse to grant
additional leave to a junior employee with a disability.
Why? Because (the employer will argue) it is the em-
ployee’s “lack of seniority,” not the disability, that poses
the barrier to his or her continued employment. Likewise,
an employer that reserves its offices for senior employees,
and only provides desks in a common area to those more
junior, can argue that it need not provide an office to an
employee with a disability who requires one (e.g., for the
proper functioning of speech dictation software, or because
the “pool” is not wheelchair-accessible). Why? Again, in
Petitioner’s view, it is the “lack of seniority” that poses the
obstacle. Or suppose that the employer generally assigns
its employees to one of three shifts on a “first come, first
served” basis. The new employee whose therapy needs or
medication side effects require a certain preferred shift is
out of a job, not because of his or her disability, but be-
cause (Petitioner will ergue) of a “lack of seniority.”
Petitioner's view would also create a “neutral policy”
defense even in situations that are not seniority-related.
Suppose in the example above, offices are reserved not for
the most senior employees, but for partners, or vice-
presidents, or anyone meeting certain performance stan-
19
dards. Again the employer can defend its refusal to accom-
modate by arguing that it is the lack of status or rank, not
the disability, that is the obstacle. But such “semantics”
are contrary to the text and framework of the ADA.
In each case above, there is certainly nothing wrong with
the employer’s decision to adopt the neutral policies de-
scribed. But they must give way to the need for a reason-
able accommodation, unless that need would cause an
undue hardship. Cf. PGA Tour, Inc. v. Martin. U. 8.
121 S. Ct. 1879, 149 L. Ed. 2d 904 (2001). In each case, the
requested accommodation might arguably impact other
employees negatively, although it does not have any direct
monetary impact on them. The potential exists for adverse
effects on morale, although by itself, such office grumbling
certainly does not rise to the level of an undue hardship.
Under certain facts, any of the accommodations described
above could be an undue hardship, but that would depend
on a much more specific showing of harm than is present
in the instant case.
D. Employers’ Needs for Stability and Smooth
Business Operations Are Legitimately Consid-
ered, on an Individualized Basis, under the
“Undue Hardship” Defense.
We do not contend that a reassignment in contravention
of a seniority policy is always required. Clearly it is not.
But Congress mandated that a resolution of this issue be
made on an individualised basis under the undue hardship
defense.
In determining the scope of its protections, the ADA requires
an individualized, case-by-case approach. This 8 precedent
supports such an individualized assessment in determining virtually all
aspects of the ADA that the Court has considered, including the
definition of “disability,” Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc., 527 U.S. 471,
(continued...)
20
The ADA’s reasonable accommodation obligation is writ-
ten in mandatory terms. 42 U.S.C. § 12112(bX SNA): Board
of Trustees v. Garrett, 531 U.S. 356, 121 S. Ct. 955,
960, 148 L. Ed. 2d 866, 875 (2001). An accommodation
must be offered, with one exception—undue hardship on
the operation of the business. Jd. By contrast, Petitioner
argues that reassignment to a vacant position need not be
offered in certain situations, even when it is not an undue
hardship, or, indeed, is not a hardship at all. Petitioner
simply intends to create a new defense to reassignment
that is not in statute.” This is impermissible. It is also
contrary to traditional notions of statutory construction.
When a statute lists with particularity the limitations on
a particular provision, but does not include other provi-
sions among the limitations, it may be presumed that
(continued)
483 (1999), who is a “qualified individual,” School Bd. of Nassau County
v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273, 287 (1987) (decided under the Rehabilitation
Act), what constitutes a reasonable “modification” to policies, PGA Tour,
Inc. v. Martin, U.S. 121 S. Ct. 1879, 1896, 149 L. Ed. 2d 904, 927
(2001), — — Cleveland. Policy
also the individualized nature of “undue hardship”), and direct
threat.” . Inc. v. Kirkingburg, 527 U.S. 555, 569 (1999)
The history clearly supports this view. S. REP. NO. 101-
116, at 31 (reasonable accommodation involves a “fact-specific,
case *, HR REP. NO. 101-4880 ll), at 62 (same); H.R. REP.
See Smith, supra, 180 F.3d at 1169 ( more, such as requiring
the reassigned employee to be the best employee for the vacant
job, is judicial gloss unwarranted by the statutory language or its leg-
islative history.)
21
Congress did not include the unmentioned limitation. See,
e. g., Leatherman v. Tarrant County Narcotics Intelligence
& Coordination Unit, 507 U.S. 163, 168 (1993) (“Expressio
unius est exclusio alterius”). Petitioner's argument also
denigrates the defense that Congress did choose to write
into the statute. Moreover, Congress expressly rejected the
notion of per se undue hardships. Vet a per se standard is
exactly what the Petitioner is advocating.
Finally, reasonable accommodation, of course, is only
required for persons with disabilities as defined by statute,
and many workers with disabilities require no accommoda-
tion at all.“ Moreover, the reassignment obligation is al-
ready sufficiently and appropriately limited by the statute
and consistent regulations.“ These limitations include:
1. Reassignment need be only to an existing vacant
job,” so an employer need not create a new job,” or
“bump” another employee.”
Robert Burgdorf, The Americans with Disabilities Act: Analysis and
Implications of a Second-Generation Civil Rights Statute, 26 Harv. Civ.
Rights-Civ. Lib. L. Rev. 413, 462-463, nn.246-247 (1991). The House
Judiciary Committee rejected an amendment that would have limited
accommodations to those costing no more than ten percent of the em-
ployee’s salary, because the intent was to establish a flexible approach.
See H.R. REP. NO. 101-485(III), at 41. See also n.49 below.
„H.R. REP. 101-485(I]), at 67; S. REP. 101-116, at 35.
* Smith, supra, 180 F.3d at 1170 (“Congress has already significantly
cabined the obligation to offer reassignment to a qualified employee who
is disabled so as to ensure that it is not unduly burdensome, or even
* 42 U.S.C. § 12111(9XB).
* 29 C.F.R. app. § 1630.2(0).
* 29 C.F.R. app. § 1630.2(0); S.REP. 101-116, at 31; H.R.REP. 101-
485(I1), at 63.
2. The employee must be “qualified” for any vacant
position.”
3. Reassignment does not require a promotion.”
4. Reassignment may involve a demotion if no equiva-
lent position is vacant.”
5. If more than one appropriate vacancy exists, the
employer may select among them.”
6. Reassignment only applies to employees, not appli-
cants.”
7. Reassignment is the accommodation of last resort,
and only need be considered if the employee cannot
be accommodated in their current job.”
8. No reassignment is required if it poses an “undue
hardship.“
If further limitations are to be sought, they must come
from Congress. Smith, supra, 180 F.3d at 1170.
* 42 U.S.C. § 12112(bX 5A).
* EEOC Enforcement Guidance: Reasonable Accommodation and Undue
Hardship Under the Americans with Disabilities Act (3/1/99), “Reassign-
ment.”
1 29 C. F. R. app. § 1630.2(0) (1997).
* 29 C. F. R. app. § 1630.9; H.R. REP. 101-485(I1), at 66.
1 29 C.F.R. app. § 1630.2(0); S.REP. 101-116, at 31. See also Part II. C
29 C.F.R app. § 1630.2(0); S.REP. 101-116, at 31; H.R.REP. 101-
48511), at 60.
* 42 U.S.C. § 12112(bX 5A).
23
III. A “REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION” UNDER THE
ADA IS A MODIFICATION THAT OPERATES IN AN
EFFECTIVE MANNER TO ENABLE A PERSON WITH
A DISABILITY TO PERFORM A JOB.
Finally, in an argument that applies not only to the facts
of this case, but to the issue of reasonable accommodations
generally, Petitioner argues that the term “reasonable
accommodation” must mean something more than “effec-
tive accommodation.” Pet. Br. at 15-16. This argument
would seriously, and unnecessarily, weaken the ADA’s
reasonable accommodation requirement. Moreover, it has
no support in the statutory text, nor in the history of how
the terminology came into being. There is no defense of
“unreasonableness.” Simply put, a reasonable accommoda-
tion only becomes unreasonable if it causes an undue
hardship.
A. The Term “Reasonable Accommodation” Is a
Term of Art That Does Not Encompass Issues of
Cost or Difficulty, Which Are Part of the “Un-
due Hardship” Analysis.
The concept of requiring “reasonable accommodations”
for people with disabilities as part of an anti-discrimina-
tion mandate was first introduced in regulations imple-
menting Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,
which defined the term through a list of examples.” The
regulations noted, however, that required modifications
should not be excessively burdensome. Such protection for
employers was included in a specific limitation: if the
* 45 C. F. R. § 84.12. See generally Chai R. Feldblum, The (Revolution of
Physical Disability Anti-discrimination Law: 1976-1996, 20 MENTAL AND
PHYSICAL DISABILITY LAW REPORTER, 613 (1996) (describing evolution of
the reasonable accommodation concept in disability law) (hereinafter
Physical Disability Law).
45 C.F.R. § 84.12(b).
24
recipient could “demonstrate that the accommodation
would impose an undue hardship on the operation of its
program,“ then such an accommodation would not be
required. Various factors were to be considered in assess-
ing undue hardship.” The undue hardship defense was the
only place in which the regulations referenced cost consid-
erations.
The Appendix to the regulations explained that “where
reasonable accommodation does not overcome the effects of
a person’s handicap, or where reasonable accommodation
causes undue hardship to the employer, failure to hire or
promote the handicapped person will not be considered
discrimination.” 45 C.F.R. pt. 84, Appendix A, p. 315
(1985), quoted in School Bd. of Nassau County v. Arline,
480 U.S. 273, 288 n.17 (1987). Thus, an accommodation
was not reasonable if it was ineffective, or if it constituted
an undue hardship.
In interpreting the Rehabilitation Act, most courts fol-
lowed the agency regulations, and considered cost or oper-
ational difficulty as part of the “undue hardship” defense
available to employers. The agency, courts, and commenta-
tors generally treated the word “reasonable” as synony-
mous with “effective.” As noted, the Appendix explained
reasonable accommodation in terms of whether it would
“overcome the effects of a person’s handicap.“ Later
commentators emphasized that a proposed modification
had to be actually effective in order to be required under
the law.“ The influential analysis of the reasonable ac-
* 45 C. F. R. § 84.12(a) (emphasis added).
0 45 C.F.R. § 84.12(c).
45 C. F. R. pt. 84, Appendix A (Reasons ble Accommodation).
See e. g., Donald Olenick, Accommodating the Handicapped: Rehabili-
tating Section 504 After Southeastern, 80 Col. I. REV. 171, 184-86
(continued...)
— et —
25
commodation duty by the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
reflected its view that the term required individualized
changes that would be effective in allowing an employee to
continue working.“
When Congress drafted the ADA, it borrowed in large
part from the language and framework of the 504 regula-
tions,“ defining as a form of discrimination the failure to
provide a “reasonable accommodation,” unless such accom-
modations would impose an “undue hardship” on a covered
entity.“ In using the 504 regulations as a basis for the
ADA, Congress was adopting a term “reasonable accommo-
* continued)
(1980); Mark Martin, Accommodating the Handicapped: The Meaning of
Discrimination Under Section 504 of ihe Rehabilitation Act, 55 N.Y.U.
LAW REV. 881 (1980). The general criticism of the commentators was
acknowledged and addressed in a later Supreme Court case, Alexander
v. Choate, 469 U.S. 287, 300, n. 20 (1985). See generally, Feldblum, Phy-
sical Disability Law, at 614-617 (describing evolution of understanding
of “reasonable accommodation” by courts and commentators.)
% U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, ACCOMMODATING THE SPECTRUM OF
INDIVIDUAL ABILITIES 102 (1983) (“[TJhis chapter uses reasonable
ticular person with a particular program or activity. Individualizing op-
portunities is this definition’s essence.”) (emphasis added).
With a few notable differences, as reflected in Part LA above. While
decisions applying the Rehabilitation Act may provide useful guidance
in interpreting the ADA when the language of the two statutes are
substantially similar, they are certainly less helpful in interpreting text
that differs. Gile v. United Airlines, Inc., 95 F.3d 492, 496 (7th Cir. 1996).
See also Lee, Reasonable Accommodation Under the Americans with
Disabilities Act: The Limitations of Rehabilitation Act Precedent, 14
Berk. J. Emp. & Lab. L. 201, 206, 223 (1993).
See S. REP. 101-116, passim; Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 631-632
(1998). See generally Chai R. Feldblum, Antidiscrimination Requirements
of the ADA, in IMPLEMENTING THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT:
RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF ALL AMERICANS 35, 37 (L. Gostin & H.
Beyer eds. 1992).
* 42 U.S.C. § 12112(bX5).
26
dation” as the term of art that had developed under such
regulations and case law. The ADA’s legislative history
never discussed the cost or difficulty of a proposed modifi-
cation or device in explaining the “reasonable” part of
reasonable accommodation.“ Instead, such discussion ap-
peared in the analysis of the “undue hardship” defense.“
This is perhaps most clear in the committees’ focus on the
steps to identifying and implementing an appropriate
accommodation. The Committee stated that the first step
is to “identify barriers to equal opportunity,” the second is
to “identify possible accommodations,” and the third is to
assess the reasonableness of each in terms of effective-
ness and equal opportunity. A reasonable accommoda-
tion should be effective for the employee. Factors to be
considered include the reliability of the accommodation
and whether it can be provided in a timely man-
ner. . . The Committee believes strongly that a
reasonable accommodation should provide a meaning-
ful equal employment opportunity. Meaningful equal
employment opportunity means an opportunity to
attain the same level of performance as is available to
nondisabled employees having similar skills and abil-
ities.
The fourth step is to implement the accommodation unless
it imposes an undue hardship.”
4 £g., S. REP. 101-116, at 35-36; H.R. REP. 101-485(I1), at 62-67.
* E.g., H.R. REP. 101-485(I]), at 67-69; S. REP. 101-116, at 35-36.
“ S. REP. 101-116, at 35; H.R. REP. 101-485(I1), at 66 (emphasis added).
“ Notwithstanding the manner in which “reasonable accommodation”
was ordinarily used under Section 504 regulations and case law, some
courts applying the ADA have inappropriately inserted issues of cost and
difficulty into the separate term “reasonable.” See, e.g., Vande Zande v.
Wisconsin Dept. of Admin., 44 F.3d 538, 543 (7th Cir. 1995). Not all
courts, however, have made this misinterpretation. See, e.g. Bryant v.
Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland, 923 F. Supp. 720, 735-737
(D. Md. 1996) (material differences exist between whether an accommo-
(continued...)
27
Petitioner contends, however, that the employee has the
burden cf proving that the accommodation sought is not
too expensive, and that its costs are outweighed by its
benefits. That makes little sense in light of the clearly
specified defense of “undue hardship,” on which the em-
ployer has the burden of proof,“ and which has a carefully
calibrated definition relating to the financial resources and
type of operation of the business. Again it makes little
sense if the law first puts the burden on the employee,
either to negate these same factors, or to prove that the
accommodation is not too costly without taking into ac-
count those factors.
Moreover, the definitions of “reasonable” offered by Peti-
tioner would greatly water down the undue hardship de-
fense, which requires proof of “significant difficulty or ex-
pense.“ The statutory language is very different from
(continued)
dation is “reasonable” and whether it would cause an “undue hardship”;
“reasonable accommodation” asks whether the accommodation would be
effective); Dutton v. Johnson County Bd. of Comm rs, 859 F. Supp. 498,
507 (D. Kan. 1994) (“For an accommodation to be reasonable, it must be
effective in permitting a disabled worker to perform the essential job
functions”); Davis v. York Int I, Inc., 1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 17649*23 (D.
Md. 1993) (“The actual effect that modifications have on the work per-
formance of a disabled individual lies at the heart of determining wheth-
er an employer has made reasonable accommodations for a qualified
disabled person.”). See also the Ninth Circuit’s concurrence by Judge
Gould in the instant case, writing separately to underscore this point.
The EEOC takes this latter position. 29 C.F.R. app. § 1630.9.
Garrett, supra, 121 S. Ct. at 967, 148 L. Ed. 2d at 882-883 (“The Act
also makes it the employer's duty to prove that it would suffer such a
1 42 U.S.C. § 12111(10). The legislative history gives further descrip-
tions, i.e., “unduly costly, extensive, substantial, disruptive, or that will
fundamentally alter the nature of the program.” S. REP. 101-116, at 35;
H.R. REP. 101-485(1]), at 67.
28
Petitioner’s definition of reasonable.“ It would be con-
tradictory to have an extensive description of the high
standard set by the “undue hardship” defense if, in fact,
employers could always prevail under the much more
lenient “reasonable” standard.
In fact, the extensive negotiations that took place re-
garding the factors to be considered in making an “undue
hardship” determination underscore the fact that all those
involved in the passage of the ADA understood that the
core defense to the provision of a reasonable accommoda-
tion would be the “undue hardship” defense. There were
no negotiations regarding what the “reasonable” part of
“reasonable accommodation” meant, and there is nothing
in the legislative history supporting Petitioner’s argument,
because reasonable accommodation was a term of art that
did not include consideration of cost or difficulty.
See Pet. Br. at 17 (arguing that it is the plaintiff who “must establish
that the particular accommodation in question is reasonable i. e., ‘fair,’
‘appropriate’ or ‘suitable’ in the circumstances, ‘proportionate,’ and ‘not
demanding too much).
The Senate bill, as introduced, included the same undue hardship
factors that had been listed in the Section 504 regulations at 45 C.F.R.
§ 84.12(c). These were modified to reflect that the resources and situation
of the overall company should be factored in. See H.R. REP. 101-4851),
at 68-69; see also, Chai R. Feldblum, Antidiscrimination Requirements
of the ADA, in IMPLEMENTING THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT:
— —hB . — SS on
Beyer eds. 1992) (discussing these negotiations changes). Dur-
ing later consideration of the ADA, the undue hardship factors were split
into four (rather than three) categories. Feldblum, supra, at 46. Finally,
the House of Representatives rejected an amendment that would have
created a presumption of undue hardship if a reasonable accommodation
cost more than 10% of the annual salary of the employee requesting it.
136 Cong. Rec. H2471 (May 17, 1990).
29
B. Recognizing that a Reasonable Accommodation
Means an Effective One Results in a Logical
Apportionment of the Burdens of Proof.
As noted above, the Appendix to the 504 regulations“
made clear that an accommodation was not reasonable if
it was ineffective, or if it constituted an undue hardship.
And contrary to Petitioner’s argument, the word accommo-
dation does not “assume” effectiveness. Rather, accommo-
dation assumes that a modification is one included in, or
similar to, the statutory list of accommodations. This is not
a meaningless distinction. Not all of those accommodations
will work in every case, and there are numerous cases in
which identified accommodations were unavailing because
they would have been ineffective.”
It logically follows that in litigation, the plaintiff's obli-
gation should be to point out the existence of an accommo-
dation that would likely have been effective, meaning one
that would likely have allowed the plaintiff to continue to
perform the essential job functions. The defendant then
has the burden of establishing that such accommodation
would have resulted in an undue burden, based on cost and
the other statutory factors. That was essentially the
analysis of the most influential Rehabilitation Act deci-
0 45 C.F.R. pt. 84, Appendix A, p. 315 (1985), quoted in School Bd. of
Nassau County v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273, 288 n.17 (1987).
1 E. g., Zukle u. Regents of the Univ. of Cal., 166 F.3d 1041(9" Cir. 1999)
(“time off from the clinical portion to study . could not have helped”;
“decelerated schedule would not have aided Zukle in meeting the Medical
School’s academic standards”); Pate v. Baker Tanks Gulf South, Inc., 34
F. Supp. 2d 411, 417 (W.D. La. 1999) (Even with an accommodation
consisting of temporary help, the essential functions of Ms. Pate’s job
were still not being accomplished”); Logan v. Per.naco Hosiery, 1997 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 9965*7 (N.D. Miss. 1997) (“even if the employer could make
reasonable accommodations that would allow the plaintiff to avoid the
heavy lifting required by the position, the plaintiff still could not perform
the other physical requirements of the job”).
30
sions,” and it has been followed by some courts under the
ADA.“ Though certainly not universally accepted, as Peti-
tioner points out,™ it not only makes logical sense and is
most true to the Rehabilitation Act history, it also has the
advantage of placing the burdens of proof on the party
most likely to have the relevant evidence.“
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, we respectfully urge the Court
to affirm the judgment of the court of appeals.
Respectfully submitted,
PAULA A. BRANTNER BRIAN EAST
Senior Staff Attorney Counsel of Record
NATIONALEMPLOYMENT ADVOCACY, INCORPORATED
LAWYERS ASSOCIATION 7800 Shoal Creek Blvd.
600 Harrison Street Austin, TX 78757-1014
San Francisco,CA 94107 (512) 454-4816
(415) 227-4555
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
NATIONAL EMPLOYMENT LAWYERS ASSOCIATION, ET AL.
August 31, 2001
2 F. g., Gardner v. Morris, 752 F.2d 1271, 1280 (8 Cir. 1985); Treadwell
v. Alexander, 707 F. 2d 473, 478 (11 Cir. 1973); Prewitt v. United States
Postal Service, 662 F.2d 292, 308 (5 Cir. 1981).
Mason v. Frank, 32 F.3d 315, 318-319 (8 Cir. 1994) (“Once the plain-
tiff produces evidence sufficient to make a facial showing that reasonable
accommodation is possible, the burden shifts to the employer to prove
inability to accommodate”). x
Pet. Br. at 15-16.
Barnett v. U.S. Air, Inc., 228 F.3d 1105, 1122-1123 (9th Cir. 2000) (en
banc) (Gould, J., concurring). Compare 21 CHARLES A. WRIGHT & KEN-
NETH A. GRAHAM, FEDERAL PRACTICE & PROCEDURE § 5122, at nn. 15-16
(1977).
A-1
Appendix A: Interest of Amici Curiae
Amici Descriptions:
The National Employment Lawyers Association
(NELA) is a voluntary membership organization of more
than 3,000 attorney members who regularly represent
employees in labor, employment, and civil rights disputes.
NELA is the country’s only professional membership
organization of lawyers who represent employees in
discrimination, wrongful discharge, employee benefit, and
other employment-related matters. NELA members have
brought numerous cases under the Americans with Disabil-
ities Act (ADA), and have represented thousands of in-
dividuals in this country who are victims of employment
discrimination based on disability status. As such NELA
has a compelling interest in ensuring that the goals of the
ADA are protected and fully realized. As part of its advo-
cacy efforts, NELA regularly supports precedent setting
litigation affecting the rights of individuals in the work-
place. NELA has filed numerous amicus curiae briefs
before the U.S. Supreme Court and the federal appellate
and district courts regarding the proper interpretation and
application of employment discrimination laws to insure
that the laws are fully enforced and that the rights of
workers are fully protected.
The Are of the United States (The Arc), through its
nearly 1,000 state and local chapters, is the largest na-
tional voluntary organization in the United States devoted
solely to the welfare of the more than seven million
children and adults with mental retardation and their
families. Since its inception, The Arc has vigorously chal-
lenged attitudes and public policy, based on false stereo-
types, which have authorized or encouraged segregation of
people with mental retardation in virtually all areas of life.
A-2
The Arc was one of the leaders in framing and supporting
passage of the ADA.
The Association on Higher Education and Disability
(AHEAD) is a nonprofit organization committed to full
participation in higher education and equal access to all
opportunities for persons with disabilities. Its member-
ship includes approximately 2,000 institutions (including
colleges, universities, not-for-profit service providers and
standardized testing organizations), professionals, and
college and graduate students planning to enter the field
of disability practice. Many of its members are actively
engaged in assuring ADA compliance and in providing
reasonable accommodations to both students and employ-
ees at institutions of higher education, many of which are
covered by collective bargaining agreements. In addition,
AHEAD members actively work with students in establish-
ing vocational plans and job readiness. AHEAD publishes
numerous resources on the implementation of the ADA by
postsecondary educational institutions.
The American Association of People with Disabilities
(AAPD) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan membership organiza-
tion of people with disabilities, their family members and
supporters. AAPD was founded on the fifth anniversary of
the ADA and works to promote policies and programs that
further the ADA’s goals of equality of opportunity, full
participation, independent living and economic self-suf-
ficiency for the more than 56 million children and adults
with disabilities in the U.S.
The Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund,
Inc. (DREDF), based in Berkeley, California, is the na-
A-3
tion’s premier law and policy center dedicated to protecting
and advancing the civil rights of people with disabilities.
DREDF pursues its mission through education, advocacy
and law reform efforts, and is nationally recognized for its
expertise in the interpretation of federal disability civil
rights laws.
HalfthePlanet Foundation is a nonprofit organization
that offers comprehensive, reliable information, products
and services to people with disabilities, their families and
friends. The Foundation administers the well-known web-
site—halftheplanet.com—the most comprehensive disabil-
ity resource on the Web, created by people with disabilities
for people whose lives are touched by disability. Halfthe
Planet Foundation supports the application of technology
to promote the values of the ADA—independent living,
social inclusion, equality of opportunity, economic self-suf-
ficiency, and empowerment.
The Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental
Health Law is a national legal advocacy organization
dedicated to advancing the rights and dignity of individu-
als with mental disabilities. The Center has litigated
several cases involving reasonable accommodations under
the ADA and has an interest in ensuring that people with
mental disabilities are able to continue to contribute to
society and to maintain employment through changes in
the work environment that allow them to successfully do
their jobs.
Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund, Inc.
(Lambda) is a national public interest legal organization
dedicated to the civil rights of lesbians, gay men and
A-4
—
people with HIV/AIDS through impact litigation, education
and public policy work. Founded in 1973, Lambda is the
oldest and largest legal organization addressing these con-
cerns. Lambda has appeared as counsel or amicus curiae
in scores of cases in state and federal courts on behalf of
people living with HIV or other disabilities. Lambda is
particularly concerned with the unique barriers confront-
ing persons with HIV and other stigmatized disabilities
whose hopes for equal opportunity in the workplace hinge
on the removal of needless barriers to their abilities to
work.
The National Association of Protection and Advo-
cacy Systems (NAPAS) is the membership organization
for the nationwide system of protection and advocacy
(P&A) agencies. Located in all 50 states, the District of
Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the federal territories, P&As
are mandated under various federal statutes to provide
legal representation and related advocacy services on be-
half of all persons with disabilities in a variety of settings.
The P&A system comprises the nation’s largest provider of
legally based advocacy services for persons with disabili-
ties. NAPAS facilitates coordination of P&A activities and
provides training and technical assistance to the P&A
network.
The National Association of Rights Protection and
Advocacy (NARPA) was formed in 1981 to provide sup-
port and education for advocates working in the mental
health arena. It monitors developing trends in mental
health law and identifies systemic issues and alternative
strategies in mental health service delivery on a national
scale. Members are attorneys, people with psychiatric his-
tories, mental health professionals and administrators,
A-5
academics, and nonlegal advocates—with many people in
roles that overlap. Central to NARPA’s mission is the
promotion of those policies and strategies that represent
the preferred options of people who have been diagnosed
with mental disabilities. Approximately 40 percent of
NARPA’s members are current or former patients of the
mental health system.
Established in 1909, the National Mental Health Asso-
ciation (NMHA), with its more than 340 affiliates, is
dedicated to promoting mental health, preventing mental
disorders, and achieving victory over mental illness
through advocacy, education, research and services. NMHA
envisions a just, humane and healthy society in which all
people are accorded respect, dignity and the opportunity to
achieve their full potential free from stigma and prejudice.
The National Mental Health Consumers’ Self-Help
Clearinghouse is a national technica! assistance center
established in 1986. It is run by and for people who are
consumers of mental health services and survivors of
psychiatric illness (known as consumers/survivors). Its
mission is to promote consumer/survivor participation in
planning, providing and evaluating mental health and
community support services, to provide technical assis-
tance and information to consumers/survivors interested in
developing self-help services, and advocating to make
traditional services more consumer/survivor-oriented. The
Clearinghouse has an interest in helping people with
mental illness live to their full potential as active members
of the community.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.