Opposition Brief — Arkansas v. Sullivan

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

“4

No. 00-262

IN THE

United States Supreme Court

STATE OF ARKANSAS,

Petitioner,

Vv.

KENNETH ANDREW SULLIVAN,

Respondent.

ON PETITION OF WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ARKANSAS

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JOHN WESLEY HALL, JR.*

523 West Third Street

Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

(501) 371-9131

DAVID M. SIEGEL

aad ee New England School of Law

Dat atta . 154 Stuart Street

; <tr 7 Boston, Massachusetts 02116

een (617) 422-7270

| Attorneys for Respondent

*Counsel of Record

QUESTIONS PRESENTED |

1. Is the decision of the Arkansas Supreme Court, that the absence of

probable cause for a motorist’s pretextual arrest rather than being cited renders the

inventory of his vehicle unreasonable, based on an adequate and independent state

ground for the judgment?

2. Does a pretextual warrantless arrest for a non-jailable minor traffic

offense violate the Fourth Amendment?

3. Does a pretextual vehicle inventory violate the Fourth Amendment?

TABLE OF CONTENTS |

i occ cs ek wan eked aieds dala baat Whnbase Hoes se bes iv

re od ace ew iene ae ee, eer Per eer ny wee 2

Ce ge Lie enna pidh eerels bepne chen 2

III o's oe Si cnc dasceccedccvcncincscs 2

B. The officer’s absolute discretion in Arkansas to convert a citable stop

for a non-jailable traffic offense into full custodial arrest. ............ 5

C. _ The trial court’s holding and the Arkansas Supreme Court’s affirm-

es Sore ne ea ne eee a ee 6

D. How Whren v. United States came into the case on rehearing ......... 7

REASONS POR DENYING THE WRIT .... 0. ccc ccc cece ccc ccc cccccceces 10

1. The Decision of the Arkansas Supreme Court, However Inartfully

Stated, Is Based on Adequate and Independent State Grounds in

Interpreting State Law; Certiorari Should Thus Not Be Granted. ...... 10

Il. As Decided by the Arkansas Supreme Court, this Case Does Not

Implicate United States v. Whren, and Thus Certiorari Should Not Be

Ode it eee dede sy ddeheedee ken ee oe od edeseeer 13

Ill. Summary Reversal Is Unwarranted Because of the Nature of the

Issues; Instead, If the Court Grants Certiorari at All, it Should Include

the Isoucs Presented by Respondent. ..... 1.1.0... ccc cen eeees 16

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1 A Pretextual, Warrantless Arrest for a Non-Jailable Traffic Violation

Violates the Fourth Amendment, So Certiorari Should Be Granted and

this Case Decided in Light of Atwater v. City of Lago Vista. ......... 17

A. Granting Unbridled Discretion to a Law Enforcement Officer

to Make a Custodial Arrest to Facilitate an Inventory Search is

Unreasonable under the Fourth Amendment................. 20

l. The officer’s suppression hearing testimony as to his

ree ius Wie eRe Eek wbn bk 6hb 40 ed000% 20

2. The Fourth Amendment’s reasonableness inquiry ...... 20

3. This Court’s distrust of unbridled discretion in law en-

Ee ee ee 22

B. Whren, Atwater, and absolute discretion. .................. 23

| C. Thus, Ark. R. Crim. P. 4.1(a)(iii) violates the Fourth Amend-

es Cees ON eee ee shee 66k eeO O68 se Wn bees 24

ll. | The Court Has Previously Recognized in L.cta That a Vehicle Inven-

tory May Be Pretextual, and, If Certiorari Is Granted, the Court

Should Hold Pretextual Inventories Unreasonable. ................ 24

A. The Court Has Repeatedly Suggested That a Vehicle Inventory

Done Merely as a Pretext for a General Investigation of Crime

Might Violate the Fourth Amendment. .................... 24

B. — The Trial Court’s Finding of Fact That the Arrest Occurred to

Facilitate the Inventory Is Entitled to Deference on Appeal and

Be coe Cees Wie oe Uy vege cu eeN Cees ees 25

ae he ee Ne ie ol cae vuue ees bis s Chane eeh Oe 27

TE ARETE ee Lee eSs tah Ges honk 64d seesnenes 1-A

I 6 acs er etek ek Se ieN bern aden ees i ae

ide ee eek eth Genes pe 4 tn eeeeeinéeeeees 1-A

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

Cases:

Almeida-Sanchez v. United States, 413 U.S. 266 (1973) ... 0.0.0... ce eee eee 21

Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, No. 99-1408 ..............05. 1, 2, 17, 18, 19, 23, 26, 27

Cady v. Demibrwnel, 443 US. GED GIRCED «oc sc ice cucdssheconscesvesestseies 21

Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967)... eee 21, 22

Carpenter v. State, 36 Ark. App. 211, 821 S.W.2d 51 (1991)... 00.00. c cece eee eens 11

City of Indianapolis v. Edmunds, 531 U.S. _, ___ (slip op. at 13), 2000 WL

1740936, 2000 U.S. Lexis 8084 (No. 99-1080; Nov. 28, 2000) ...... 14, 22, 28

City of Seattle v. Mesiani, 110 Wash.2d 454, 755 P.2d 775 (1988) ............... 16

Colorado v. Bertine, 479 U.S. 367 (1987) .. 0.0... ec eee eee 24, 25, 26, 27

Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648 (1979) 2... cece eee 14, 21, 23

Densvan 0. Doma, GE UD. THOS s ce scncccesccenhececcadacssseevanes 22

Peartae en Sea THO UD. BHP GGOED . « cancevccseccssbheosestse ee 21

co errr ree eS 25, 26, 27

Fouse v. State, 337 Ask. 13, 909 3.W.26 146 (1D9D) . ccc cle cece cecccevvescces ll

Garner v. State, 307 Ark. 353, 820 S.W.2d 446 (1991)... 0... ....0.0.. 9, 10, 11, 13

Cote es Una GES UR. GE CIID «ccc ccccvatodasecccescasenesepens 21

Hiall v. State, 302 Ask. 341, T00 $.W.28 456 (IDS) 2. cheese cv ncccccsccveces 11

Sete & Gamat, GEE ED. GEG ov vce scitevess) essed savcecuseness 26

ee A SS Tae, TEP Ts SOF OD on occ nccedashsndbvoedssancueueen 21

eB PTT en er eee 26

iv

Langley v. State, 66 Ark. App. 311, 990 S.W.2d 575 (1999) 2.2... ll

Marshall v. Barlows, Inc., 436 U.S. 307 (1978) 2600 cee 22

on we crc weescccccecescecececesoese 4

ED oc oc ciscecescccoccccccecececececess 22

ED os cco cecesecscecccescecesececees 26

New York v. Burger, 482 U.S. 691 (1987) .. 0... ccc cece es 22, 25

Ornelas v. United States, 517 U.S. 690 ( he nds wine pesn hod baehe ae 26

People v. Dickson, 180 Misc.2d 113, 690 N.Y.S.2d 390 (N.Y. County 1998) ....... 16

Richardson v. State, 314 Ark. 512, 863 S.W.2d 572 (1993) ...........0000052.. ll

Nee ne ce ueceeebececoeees 17

Skinner v. Railway Labor Executives’ Assn., 489 U.S. 602 (1989) ............... 22

State v. Broadway, 269 Ark. 215, 599 §.W.2d 721 (1980)... 2.2.2. een ll

State v. Gibbons, 118 Wash. 171, 203 P. 390 (1922)....... 2.2.00. eee eee 16

State v. Holmes, 569 N.S.2d 181 (Minn. 1997) ................6 00 c cee 15, 18

State v. Ladson, 138 Wash. 2d 343, 979 P.2d 833 (1999) ................... 15, 16

Siate v. Martinez, 306 Ark. 353, 811 S.W.2d 319 (1991) ©2020 ee, 11

State v. Sullivan, 340 Ark. 315, 11 S.W.3d 526 (2000) ................. 7, 8, 25, 26

State v. Sullivan, 340 Ark. 315, 11 $.W.3d 526, reh. den, 340 Ark. 318-A, 16

en cp cnnecaéesncaiee 7

State v. Sullivan, 340 Ark 318-A, 16 S 'W.3d 551 (2000) .. 8,9,10,12,13,15,16,18,20,24

State v. Varnado, 582 N.W.2d 886 (Minn. 1998) ...... 0.0000 eee en 15

Thompson v. State, 42 Ark. App. 254, 856 S.W.2d 319 (1993) ..........0...0... ll

Vv

United States v. Brignoni-Ponce, 422 U.S. 873 (1975) ..... 2... 6. oe eee 14, 22, 23

United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1 (1977) ..... 2... 6 2c eens 21

United States v. Lefkowitz, 285 U.S. 452 (1932) 2... 6 eens ll

es Se CE, . «os ce cccesansendeeceevevessdess 10

United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543 (1976) ....... 2.006 6 eee 14, 22

Dh et io cee cseuecdeenkenteenedaneens 17

Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996) . . 1,2,7,8,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,21,23,24,26,27

Constitutional Provisions:

PD dann dhanpeesseveeddurcdesonenenscetss 13, 17, 20, 21, 26

EE Sc cca cana pankenshesnes tbedncehednesesebennees 11

Statutes and Rules:

Es cv otlccevecdbadnsaneniestandedencevebabavadtes 18

rn sion crea peedeeeesiedriensd 660k b00bsenkeenes 18

re oo i ie a een casetansbebieseneseetedaene 4,6

eS oy vena bas hen bdudekeu Ge sbsebeastebededecese 3

i vine ccs oe asecenasesee ss eduians Gabe beeeeNens 18

Ee ok esc egenknecenesee cabkeedeeeupacesien 18

ED ost cduvivigd@uéacesnessesveectiurcednes 18

ee nc... --cheevssesciosas 2, 9, 14, 18, 19, 20, 23, 24, 1-A

eth e.g et oddaveumenedandedecesa te tdchenddce 9, 10

Ark. R. Crim. P. 16.2

U.S. S.Ct. Rule 14. 1(a)

U.S. S.Ct. Rule 15.2(b)

Other Authorities:

H.R. Rep. No,. 171(1), 102d Cong., Ist Sess. 32 (1991), reprinted in 1992 U.S.C.C.

& AN. 1526 -

Peter Shakow, Let He Who Never Has Turned Without Signaling Cast the First

Stone: An Analysis of Whren v. United States, 24 Am. J. Crim. L. 627 (1997)

e*@eeeseeseeoececee eee eeneeeeeeee eee eeoeee eens

eeeveeve ee eee eaeen eee eeeeee eee eee eeeeesd

U.S. Dept. of Transportation, National Maximum Speed Limit- Fiscal Year 1993:

Travel Speeds, Enforcement Efforts, and Speed-Related Highway Safety

Statistics table 1 (Oct. 1995)

",esecesceeeeeeeeee eee ese ese eenee eee ee bee eee ee

eeeceeseeeeeeos ee eee eeeseeeeeeeaeese bee eseeaeeesneeeeeeeesce

eeeceeeceeeeeseeeeeno eee eeeeeeeeeeaecea ee eeeeeeeeeeeeesena

in The

United States Supreme Court

STATE OF ARKANSAS,

Petitioner,

v.

KENNETH ANDREW SULLIVAN,

Respondent.

ON PETITION OF WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ARKANSAS

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The respondent, Kenneth Andrew Sullivan, respectfully requests that this Court

deny the petition for writ of certiorari because there are adequate and independent state

grounds for the Arkansas Supreme Court’s judgment, and thus this case does not implicate

this Court’s decision in Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996). Alternatively,

respondent requests that this case be held in abeyance for determination after the impend-

ing decision in Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, No. 99-1408, argued December 4, 2000, and

grant the writ instead on the questions presented by respondent which implicate Arwater.

Respondent submits that this case falls in between Atwater and Whren, involving a pretext-

ual arrest for a non-jailable traffic violation, a pretextual demand for documents to facilitate

a plain view search, and the pretextual addition of an insupportable misdemeanor charge,

which implicate the reasonableness clause of the Fourth Amendment, an issue not fully

addressed in Whren and potentially involved in Atwater

RULES INVOLVED

Ark. R. Crim. P. 4.1(a)(iii) on arrest is reproduced in the Appendix at 1-A.

Ark. R. Crim. P. 16.2 on motions to suppress is reproduced in the Appendix at 1-A--

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Respondent's version of the facts

This case all started because respondent Sullivan was observed by Officer Joe

Taylor of the Conway, Arkansas, Police Department allegedly speeding downhill on

Skyline Drive (U.S. 65) in Conway on November 18, 1998. Off. Taylor was “assigned to

the narcotics section as a drug interdiction officer” whose primary function as a law

enforcement officer was to “[f]ind dope.” (R. 48) Taylor clocked Sullivan on radar going

40 m.p.h. downhill (R. 39-40) in a 35 m.p.h. zone. Off. Taylor testified that he also could

tell from the side of the road that Sullivan’s “eyebrow” window tinting was about an inch

longer than the five inches allowed under Arkansas law.'

1. Off Taylor conceded that, upon closer inspection, the window tinting was of a legal size

in the windshield’s center, but that toward the door posts it was illegal by an inch-and-a-half to an

inch-and-a-quarter. (R. 52) The officer's testimony concerning whether he intended to arrest

Sullivan for driving a vehicle with an improper window tint is in conflict. Compare (%. 42° “I

advised him that he was being placed under arrest for carrying a weapon, no insurance, no vehicle

registration. His vehicle was unsafe since he could not tell what speed that [sic] he v-as traveling ”)

with (R. 46. “Speeding, improper tint, no registration, no proof of insurance, and in my opinion his

vehicle was unsafe”) No charge of having an illegally tinted window is present in the record. (R.

3-4),

As luck would have it, Sullivan then pulled into a gas station just past where the

officer was sitting, got out of his old Ford Bronco, and walked up to the gas pump. (R. 40,

52, 53) The officer pulled in behind him without ever turning on his blue lights. (R. 50)

While Sullivan was standing where “the gas nozzle is on the vehicle” (R. 53), the officer

told Sullivan that he wanted to see his driver’s license. (R. 41, 52) He told Sullivan why

he had stopped him, and Sullivan explained that his speedometer cable was broken, and

that he had a new one but had not yet been able to replace it. (R. 42) Sullivan was always

cooperative (R. 50), and produced his driver’s license. Officer Taylor immediately

recognized Kenneth Sullivan’s name from “narcotics intelligence” that the Conway Police

Department had on him. (R. 50-51, 68)

At this point, ‘Taylos asked for Sullivan’s vehicle registration and proof of

insurance.’ (R. 41, 52) When Sullivan, a disabled roofer who still worked part time (R. 5,

53-54), opened the truck Joor to retrieve the other papers (R. 41), Taylor observed a rusting

roofing tool thatigoked like a hatchet under the driver’s seat. (R. 41-42, 53) The officer

decided that, in addition to charging Sullivan with a speeding violation, he would also

arrest him for possession of a weapon,’ an offense that requires evidence that the alleged

2. Under Arkansas law, proof of registration aud insurance is all available to law enforce-

ment in the computer system of the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, the state’s

“DMV.” Ark. Code Ann. § 27-22-104(c) (proof of insurance can be checked by officer through

computer). Indeed, all Arkansas motorists can renew their vehicle tags online because the State has

all the required information on current registration, insurance, and even county tax assessments on

computer. <http://www .arstar ihost.com.>

Off. Taylor radioed in to run Sullivan’s information through the computer and got no wants

or warrants. (R. 69) If there was information that suggested that the vehicle was not registered or

insured, he would have learned it then.

3. Off. Taylor admitted that, had he not seen the roofer’s hammer, he would have been

3

weapon be “available for use with a purpose to employ it as a weapon against a person,”

Ark. Code Ann. § 5-73-120(a). (R. 58) The officer admitted in his testimony, however,

that nothing suggested to him Sullivan’s intent to use it as a weapon (R. 61),* that he never

even touched the roofing tool until the inventory started (R. 42), and that he had asked

Sullivan for consent to search for other weapons, which was not done until the inventory

(and no other “weapons” were found). (R. 55)’

Off. Taylor called for assistance to transport Sullivan, and he began an inventory of

the vehicle as required by Conway Police Department policy. Although he testified that

“this was not an overly curious stop” to him (R. 47), the inventory literally started as

expeditiously as humanly possible, before any tow vehicle could have arrived, and even

before the assisting officer’s car taking Sullivan to jail could pull out into traffic on U.S.

65. (R. 43)* The officer admitted that he could not have searched the vehicle but for the

required to issue only a citation for the speeding, registration and insurance violations. (R. 62-63)

It was only the presence of the “weapon,” the possession of which was a Class A misdemeanor,

which required that Sullivan be brought to the station in order to be fingerprinted. (R. 63) The

Conway Police Department has no policy of which Off. Taylor was aware to assist officers in

determining what is and is not a weapon.

4. The trial judge expressly found that it was mof a weapon. (R. 82) Defense counsel in the

trial court argued that it was a tool of Sullivan’s trade. (R. 72)

5. If the officer feared weapons, he had the authority to conduct a protective weapons search

of the vehicle without petitioner’s consent on reasonable suspicion. Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S.

1032, 1049-50 (1983).

There is also somewhat of a conflict in his testimony on this score because, at another point,

he testified that he did not request to look inside the vehicle. (R. 47)

6. The speed with which the officer undertook the inventory search is telling. The trial judge

did not specifically comment on it, but it would seem that it had some influence on his fact finding

of the reason for the arrest.

physical arrest. (R. 63) Off. Taylor found a quantity of methamphetamine and some

suspected marijuana in a black bag under the armrest. (/d)

B. _‘ The officer’s absolute discretion in Arkansas to convert a citable stop for a non-

jailable traffic offense into full custodial arrest.

The officer testified that he essentially had absolute discretion to subject any

motorist stopped for any traffic offense to a custodial arrest on his whim:

Q. What factors, if any, do you take into consideration when you make a

stop of whether you’re going to issue a citation or make a physical arrest?

A. _ There are several; how busy the day has been, what the productivity

has been like, if I have written several citations or if I haven't, attitude of the

individual I’ve stopped, and what laws have been broken here.

If you’re implying as to if there’s a quota, no. . . . If I'd been basically

working for five hours or four hours and haven’t done anything there at all, been

what some folks might-would characterize as being lazy, not doing anything, it’s—I

like to go out and work.

So if Mr. Sullivan had been the first or the second or forth [sic] individual

that | had stopped that da;;, I’m basically fixing to end up the day with some activity

right there. If I had stopped someone else before him right there, and they had this

very same thing, then they may have been the one to have gone to jail there.

[.. .]

Q. __... I'm talking about the difference between issuing a citation and a

physical arrest.

A. If stop someone for speeding or anything, that’s something | can let

go with a citation. (bracketed material added) (R. 57-58)

He further testified that Conway Police Officers are to issue citations for all misdemeanors

as a matter of Departmental policy, but that for class A misdemeanors, the offender has to

be fingerprinted and processed before being cited. (R. 62-63) So, the physical arrest

naturally evolves into an inventory (R. 63) even though the offender will shortly be

released on a citation and could shortly return and retrieve his vehicle, which the officers in

Conway, Arkansas do not permit.

C. ‘The trial court’s holding and the Arkansas Supreme Court’s affirmance

The trial judge suppressed the search finding it unreasonable. The trial judge found

that, while the “stop” was lawful, because it was based upon probable cause from the radar

reading, the officer’s decision to arrest rather than cite Sullivan because of the drug

intelligence information was problematic. The trial judge found that the arrest was made

only because the officer had determined to charge Sullivan with possession of the weapon,

an offense for which he held there was simply no probable cause:

He testified that once he got him stopped, he recognized him as someone that

he had seen intelligence on regarding narcotics, and he- rather than write citations,

he physically arrested him. And then the weapons charge, | think, was just added to

that. And I don’t believe that in this particular instance that the— that that was

appropriate, and I’m going to grant the defendant’s motion to suppress the evidence

seized as a result of the search. (R. 81)

The State then specifically sought and was refused a ruling by the trial judge that the

roofing tool at issue could constitute a “weapon” under Ark. Code Ann. § 5-73-120(a),’

although he admitted it had a blade such that in theory it qualified as a “knife.”

MR. CLARK: Okay.... [Would the Court make a finding that that does meet

the definition of a knife pursuant to the statute? Is there any question in the Court’s

mind about that?

7. Ark. Code Ann. § 5-73-120(a-b) provide:

(a) | Aperson commits the offense of carrying a weapon if he possesses a handgun,

knife, or club on or about his person, in a vehicle occupied by him, or otherwise readily

available for use with a purpose to employ it as a Weapon against a person.

(b) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise requires.

(2) “Knife” means any bladed hand instrument that is capable of inflicting serious

physical injury or death by cutting or stabbing. It includes a dirk, sword or spear in a cane,

razor, ice pick, and a throwing star, switchblade, and butterfly knife[. }

6

THE COURT: That it meets the definition of a knife?

MR. CLARK: Yes, being a bladet! weapon capable of-—or a hand instrument—any

bladed hand instrument that is capable of inflicting serious physical injury or death

by cutting.

THE COURT: Under the circumstances of this case, I don’t think | can find that

that’s a weapon. (R. 81-82).

All the findings of fact on the search and pretext were found not to be clearly

erroneous by the Arkansas Supreme Court. State v. Sullivan, 340 Ark. 315, 318, 11

S.W.3d 526, 528 (not against the preponderance of the evidence), reh. den., 340 Ark. 318-

A, 16 §.W.3d 551 (2000). The Arkansas Supreme Court also held that it would not

sanction using the traffic laws to search any vehicle the officers wanted. /d.:

The question then becomes whether appellee would have been arrested

simply for traveling forty miles per hour in a thirty-five mile-per-hour zone and

possessing a roofing hatchet that had clearly been in his vehicle for quite a long

time, given that it was corroding into the carpet. We find that to be doubtful. His

vehicle may have been impounded due to his failure to provide proof of insurance

and registration. However, appellee was never charged with having no proof of

insurance or vehicle registration. Further, the tral court, when assessing the credi-

bility of Officer Taylor (the sole witness at the hearing), the totality of the circum-

stances, and the applicable law, agreed with appellee that the search and seizure was

pretextual and should be suppressed. Clearly, a review of the applicable law

illustrates that the issue of pretext necessarily turns on the facts in a given case, and

given our standard of review in these cases, we cannot say that the trial court's

ruling was against the preponderance of the evidence.

D. How Whren v. United States came into the case on rehearing

The tortured path of this case to this Court and the State’s Question Presented on

application of Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996), to these facts by the Arkansas

Supreme Court is underscored by the fact that nobody bothered to cite Whren in this case

until the petition for rehearing in the Arkansas Supreme Court. Respondent’s counsel

ee 9 nape,

oT ST IN —

never cited it (or even tried to explain it away), and with apparent justification since prior

Arkansas cases on pretext at least allowed his argument. The State did not cite it in its

Response to the Motion to Suppress (R. 27), its argument to the trial court, or its brief in

the Arkansas Supreme Court (Appt’s Brief, CR99-1140, filed Nov. 18, 1999). In short,

everyone was content to rely on Arkansas cases until the Arkansas Supreme Court ruled.

After the State lost in the Arkansas Supreme Court, it complained that the Court had

committed a “a significant error of law” by not applying a case no one had bothered to cite

to it. (Pet. for Rehearing, filed Feb. 17, 2000 at 1-2). The Arkansas Supreme Cou.t

mentioned this oversight. State v. Sullivan, 340 Ark. 318-A, 16 S.W.3d 551 (2000)

(supplemental opinion on rehearing) (“The State presents us with the Whren case for the

first time on rehearing and argues that, under Whren, a police officer may arrest someone

for a minor traffic violation, knowing full well that the real reason for the arrest is to enable

a search of the vehicle for a suspected crime.”) & id. at 318-D, 16 S.W.3d at 553 (dissent-

ing opinion) (“It is true that our opinion did not discuss Whren, but only because that case

was neither cited nor argued to this court.”)

In the original unanimous opinion handed down February 10, 2000, the Arkansas

Supreme Court affirmed the tral court’s finding that the search was unreasonable because

the arrest was pretextual. 340 Ark. at 318, 11 S.W.3d at 528 (quoted supra). On rehear-

ing, the Arkansas Supreme Court divided 4-3 on application of Whren, but the majority still

granted great deference (as it should) to the trial judge’s findings. 340 Ark. at 318-C, 16

S.W.3d at 552-53:

Here, the trial court found that the arrest was pretextual and made for the

purpose of searching Sullivan’s vehicle for evidence of a crime. Again, we do not

believe that Whren disallows this. Moreover, even if we were to interpret Whren to

give full rein to law enforcement to effect pretextual arrests for traffic violations,

there is nothing that prevents this court from interpreting the LS. Constitution more

broadly than the United States Supreme Court, which has the effect of providing

more rights. We arguably have done so with our Criminal Rules that provide more

stringent requirements for nighttime searches than Court decisions. See Ark. R.

Crim. P. 13.2(c); Garner v. State, 307 Ark. 353, 820 S.W.2d 446 (1991).

In sum, we will not give carte blanche approval for all pretextual arrests for

traffic violations, as the State would have us do. We draw a clear distinction

between arresting a person with crack cocaine in his hands as was the case in Whren

and effecting a pretextual arrest for purposes of a search, such as we have in the

instant case. Surely that flies in the face of reasonableness, which is the essence of

the Fourth Amendment. See State v. Holmes, supra. We will decide the reasonable-

ness of the arrest and search on a case-by-case basis, as the Whren decision makes

clear. For these reasons, we deny the State’s petition for rehearing. (footnoted

added)

Thus, the Arkansas Supreme Court upheld the trial court’s finding that officers of

the State did not have complete discretion to arrest a motorist rather than cite the motorist

for a traffic offense just so the officer could conduct a search of the vehicle; to rule other-

wise, the court reasoned, would be make the search unreasonable under the Fourth Amend-

ment.

The three dissenting justices found Whren controlling and added that a custodial

arrest was valid for any traffic offense under Ark. R. Crim. P. 4.1(a)(iii) “which states that

‘a law enforcement officer may arrest a person without a warrant if the officer has reason-

able cause to believe that such a person has committed . . . any violation of law in the

officer’s presence.’ (Emphasis added.)” 340 Ark. at 318-F, 16 S.W.3d at 554 (dissenting

opinion).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. The Decision of the Arkansas Supreme Court, However Inartfully Stated, Is

Based on Adequate and Independent State Grounds in Interpreting State Law;

Certiorari Should Thus Not Be Granted.

The Arkansas Supreme Court’s opinion on rehearing cited Arkansas law for the

proposition that it could provide greater protections for a criminal defendant than are

afforded under the federal constitution. 340 Ark. at 318-C, 16 S.W.3d at 552-53 (“See Ark.

R. Crim. P. 13.2(c); Garner v. State, 307 Ark. 353, 820 S.W.2d 446 (1991)”). Ark. R.

Crim P. 13.2(c) affords Arkansas citizens greater protections from nighttime searches than

does the Fourth Amendment, a point which Garner v. State made clear. Indeed, in Garner,

the Arkansas Supreme Court had expressly declined to apply the good faith exception of

United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897 (1984), to a nighttime search warrant issued without a

factual basis: “Our concern today is for the integrity of our Rules.” Garner v. State, 307

Ark. 353, 359, 820 S.W.2d 446, 450 (1991) (emphasis supplied).

But Garner was not the first nighttime search case in which the Arkansas Supreme

Court had construed Arkansas Rules of Criminal Procedure to provide citizens greater

protections from improperly authorized nighttime searches than does the Fourth Amend-

ment. In fact, it had done so consistently, having rejected in 1980 the argument that it

should follow any federal standard.* By relying on Garner, the Arkansas Supreme Court’s

8. Arkansas has consistently held its nighttime search rule to be so fundamental that a

substantial violation of the rule cannot be saved by the good faith exception under Leon. See, e.g.,

10

opinion on rehearing in this case thus referenced a state rule of criminal procedure, and a

state law decision, which itself had emphatically rejected applying a federal constitutional

standard, and which reflected an independent siate constitutional standard that was two

decades old. Reliance on Garner is all that is required.

That the issue was presented as a matter of state law at the hearing and in the

original briefs in the Arkansas Supreme Court and on rehearing is hardly surprising; both

parties and the trial court had always analyzed it as such. Respondent in the trial court

grounded his motion to suppress on the Arkansas Constitution,’ the federal constitution,

and the Arkansas Rules of Criminal Procedure. (R. 19) He cited exclusively state cases

(one of which referenced a 1932 U.S. Supreme Court opinion'®), for the proposition that

Fouse v. State, 337 Ark. 13, 21-23, 989 S'W.2d 146, 150-51 (1999) (quoting Garner, 307 Ark. at

358-59, 820 S W.2d at 449-50, and the reference to “ovr Rules, but also by our state and federal

constitutions.”); Langley v. State, 66 Ark. App. 311, 314, 990 S. W.2d 575, 577 (1999); Richardson

v. State, 314 Ark. 512, 519, 863 S.W.2d 572, 576 (1993); Thompson v. State, 42 Ark. App. 254,

259, 856 S.W.2d 319, 321 (1993); Carpenter v. State, 36 Ark. App. 211, 214, 821 S.W.2d 51, 53

(1991); State v. Martinez, 306 Ark. 353, 356-57, 811 S.W.2d 319, 321 (1991); Hall v. State, 3

Ark. 341, 344, 789 S. W.2d 456, 458-59 (1990). .

In fact, the Arkansas Supreme Court first held that the violation of its nighttime search rule

was “substantial” for state exclusionary rule purposes four years before Leon was decided in State

v. Broadway, 269 Ark. 215, 217-18, 599 S.W.2d 721, 723 (1980). In Broadway, the Arkansas

Supreme Court held that evidence would be suppressed if the search violated the Fourth Amend-

ment, the Arkansas Constitution, art. 2, § 15, or Ark. R. Crim. P. 16.2 (requiring suppression only

if the violation was “substantial”). Broadway, 269 Ark. at 217-18, 599 S.W.2d at 723. The

Arkansas Supreme Court explicitly rejected the State’s reliance on federal cases on that point. /d

at 217, 599 S.W.2d at 723. Chief Justice Fogleman dissented on the ground that the court should

start with the Fourth Amendment in construing Rule 16.2; id at 218-19, 599 S.W.2d at 724;

something the majority expressly declined to do.

9. The motion cited generally Ark. Const., art. 2, but the search and seizure provision is art.

2, § 15.

10. United States v. Lefkowitz, 285 U.S. 452 (1932).

1]

a

there was “no reasonable basis to believe that the roofing hammer/hatchet was to be used as

a weapon.” (R. 23) The State’s four sentence response in the tnal court cited the siate

Constitution, the state rules of criminal procedure, and a single state case, as well as the

“Constitution of the United States of American [sic].” (R.27) On appeal, respondent cited

exclusively state cases, three rules of state criminal procedure, and the Arkansas and

federal constitutions in his brief in the Arkansas Supreme Court. (Appee’s brief, No.

CR99-1140, at 14-15). The State cited state law, state rules of criminal procedure, and a

single state case in its brief. It simply defies credulity to suggest that a case injected only

after two courts had ruled against the State, after argument and briefing of the matter twice,

somehow was the basis for the decision of the Arkansas Supreme Court.

The Arkansas Supreme Court simply held that it could consider, in assessing the

absence of probabie cause for an arrest, the fact that the arrest wee pretextual. Nothing in

United States v. Whren precludes this. Moreover, it is also indisputable that the Arkansas

Supreme Court is free to interpret the Arkansas Constitution and the Arkansas Rules of

Criminal Procedure as more protective of an individual’s rights than is the federal constitu-

tion, and is the obvious intended point in the opinion’s paragraph which specifically

references a well-established principle of state /aw and state rules of cnmuinal procedure:

Here, the trial court found that the arrest was pretextual and made for the

purpose of searching Sullivan’s vehicle for evidence of a crime. Again, we do not

believe that Whren disallows this. Moreover, even if we were to interpret Whren to

give full rein to law enforcement to effect pretextual arrests for traffic violations,

there is nothing that prevents this court from interpreting the U.S. Constitution more

broadly than the United States Supreme Court, which has the effect of providing

more rights. We arguably have done so with our Criminal Rules that provide more

12

stringent requirements for nighttime searches than Court decisions. '!

340 Ark. at 318-C, 16 S.W.3d at 552. The proposition that this Court’s interpretation of

the federal constitution is binding upon the courts of the several states hardly menits a grant

of certiorari. Respondent would submit that it is not only generally known, but that it is

also known to the Arkansas Supreme Court.

The mere fact the Arkansas Supreme Court cites Garner shows that its decision was

grounded on Ark. R. Crim. P. 16.2 and not the Fourth Amendment.

Il. As Decided by the Arkansas Supreme Court, this Case Does Not Implicate

United States v. Whren, and Thus Certiorari Should Not Be Granted.

The Arkansas Supreme Court rested its opinion on rehearing on the ground that

Whren did not preclude a pretextual arrest being found unreasonable because it lacked

probable cause. In Whren, the Court unanimously “foreclose{d] any argument that the

constitutional reasonableness of traffic stops depends on the actual motivations of the

individual officers involved.” Whren, 517 U.S. at 812. The stop in this case, however, was

never alleged to be pretextual. The determination that there was probable cause to charge

a roofer with possession of a weapon (to wit, a roofer’s hammer, a normal tool of respond-

ent’s trade) was found to be legally unsupportable and factually pretextual on the rather

simple record in this case.

11. Perhaps the Arkansas court misspoke and said “U.S. Constitution” and not the

“Arkansas Constitution.” Nevertheless, the reference to Garner v. State should eliminate any

Senin .

13

That Whren forecloses inquiry into the subjective motivations of the arresting officer

as a facial basis for suppression does not mean that it forecloses inquiry into whether the

arresting officer had probable cause for his actions. In fact, in Whren, this Court distin-

guished cases in which searches had proceeded without probable cause as ones in which

subjective motivations were appropriate constitutional considerations. See Whren, 517

U.S. at 818 (citing Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648 (1979) (random traffic stops), United

States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543 (1976) (checkpoint stops), and United States v.

Brignoni-Ponce, 422 U.S. 873 (1975) (roving patrol stops) as all distinguishable “because

they involved seizures without probable cause”).

Similarly, this Court just held that the Whren limitation on subjective intent did not

foreclose inquiry into “programmatic purposes [which] may be relevant to the validity of

Fourth Amendment intrusions undertaken pursuant to a general shemoutinaietidte’,

ized suspicion.” City of Indianapolis v. Edmunds, 531 US. _, _ (slip op. at 13), 2000

WL 1740936, 2000 U.S. Lexis 8084 (No. 99-1080; Nov. 28, 2000). Here, there is a strong

inference that the tial judge was concerned with Off. Taylor’s being assigned to a Drug

Interdiction Unit with the primary purpose of “find{ing] dope.” Hence, he found as a fact

that the custodial arrest pretextual for a drug search. Under Whren, it would seem on the

sutves Ocn0n testis Gilesfcetmn cnet *menate"” However, in this case,

the officer has the programmatic ability, sanctioned by Ark. R. Crim. P. 4. 1(a)iii), as he

testified, to make a custodial arrest in any traffic stop that he conducts, completely on his

individual whim. That is a scary thought.

14

Even if this Couft were to conclude that Whren was somehow implicated by the

Arkansas Supreme Court’s consideration of the pretextual nature of the charge in determin-

ing probable cause, Whren is factually different than this case, as the Arkansas Supreme

Court recogriized in distinguishing it. In Whren, the officer approached the car after the

traffic stop and observed drugs in plain view in the occupant’s lap. In this case, the officer

engaged in a pretextual arrest to conduct an inventory which produced the drugs. 340 Ark.

at 318-C, 16 S.W.3d at 552-53. There has to be a constitutional difference between the

two, and this case gives the Court the chance to articulate it.

The closest parallel case to this one is State v. Varnado, 582 N.W.2d 886 (Minn.

1998), where the Minnesota Supreme Court distinguished Whren and held that a pretextual

traffic stop upon entering “a parking lot of an apartment complex known for drug traffick-

ing” (id. at 888) for a cracked windshield led to the driver being frisked before being placed

in the police car was unreasonable because the officers had no reason to believe that

weapons or contraband would be found. /d at 892. The Minnesota court had previously

held that a pretextual inventory violated the Fourth Amendment in State v. Holmes, 569

N.S.2d 181, 188 (Minn. 1997) (“the [Whren] Court noted it — uphold as valid

police attempts to use the objective basis for an inventory search as a pretext for a purely

investigatory search.”). (In neither of these cases did the State of Minnesota seek review in

this Court.)

The Washington Supreme Court has reyected Whren under its State Constitution.

State v. Ladson, 138 Wash. 2d 343, 357-58, 979 P.2d 833, 842 (1999). The Washington

Supreme Court further noted that it would not permit its citizens to sacrifice their nights

simply upon entering a car; 138 Wash. 2d at 358 n. 10, 979 P.2d at 842 n. 10:

We note if we were to depart from our holdings and allow pretextual traffic

stops, Washington citizens would lose their privacy every time they enter their

automobiles. The traffic code is sufficiently extensive in its regulation that “[w]he-

ther it be for failing to signal while changing lanes, driving with a headlight out, or

not giving ‘full time and attention’ to the operation of the vehicle, virtually the

entire driving population is in violation of some regulation as soon as they get in

their cars, or shortly thereafter.” Peter Shakow, Let He Who Never Has Turned

Withom Signaling Cast the First Stone: An Analysis of Whren v. United States, 24

Am. J. Crim. L. 627, 633 (1997) (footnote omitted). Thus, nearly every citizen

would be subject to a Jerry stop simply because he or she is in his or her car. But

we have repeatedly affirmed that Washingtonians retain their privacy while in the

automobile and we will do so today. See City of Seattle v. Mesiani, 110 Wash.2d

454, 456-57, 755 P.2d 775 (1988) (“From the earliest days of the automobile in this

state, this court has acknowledged the privacy interest of individuals and objects in

automobiles.”) (citing State v. Gibbons, 118 Wash. 171, 187, 203 P. 390 (1922)).

See also People v. Dickson, 180 Misc.2d 113, 117-18, 690 N.Y.S.2d 390, 393 (N.Y.

County 1998) (holding traffic stop pretextual and noting Whren; until New York Court of

Appeals applies Whren, existing state law on the intent of the officers must be followed:

“the Whren Court did not view its pronouncement as constituting a new federal standard”:

New York likely will not follow it).

This case reached a similar conclusion, and the judgment of the Arkan.as Supreme

Court is entitled to constitutional deference.

Ill. Summary Reversal Is Unwarranted Because of the Nature of the Issues; In-

stead, If the Court Grants Certiorari at All, it Shoutd-tnclude the Issues Pre-

sented by Respoudent.

16

As stated in his Statement of the Case, supra, at 1-2, respondent submits that this

case falls in between Whren v. United States and Atwater v. City of Lago Vista. Summary

=—=__

reversal is, therefore, completely unwarranted.

indeed, if the Court chooses to grant certiorari, it should include the Questions

Presented by respondent as well because they are all “fairly included” within the issues

presented by the State of Arkansas’s certiorari petition, and they are reasons to defend the

judgment of the Arkansas Supreme Court. S.Ct. Rule 14.1(a) & 15.2(b); Robineute v.

Ohio, 419 U.S. 33, 38 (1996) (citing Vance v. Terrazas, 444 U.S. 252, 248-59 n. 5 (1980)).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

L. A Pretextual, Warrantless Arrest for a Non-Jailable Traffic Violation Violates

the Fourth Amendment, So Certiorari Should Be Granted and this Case De-

cided in Light of Atwater v. City of Lago Vista.

Before Officer Taylor made the pretextual demand of Sullivan for proof of insurance

and registration, he had probable cause to charge him with speeding five miles an hour over

the limit, even though it is universally recognized that motorists are given a five to ten mile

per hour tolerance.'? Speeding five miles an hour over the speed limit, in Arkansas, is an

12. US. Dept. of Transportation, National Maximum Speed Limit— Fiscal Year 1993: Travel

Speeds, Enforcement Efforts, and Speed-Related Highway Safety Statistics table | (Oct. 1995),

H.R. Rep. No,. 171(1), 102d Cong., Ist Sess. 32 (1991), reprinted in 1992 US.C.C. & AN. 1526,

1558 (“the average motorist expects a 5 to 10 mile per hour tolerance by law enforcement person-

nel”).

Both were cited in the petitioners’ briefs in Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, No. 99-1408,

a

17

-

unspecified “violation,” under Ark. Code Ann. § 27-51-201,"" and as such is punishable by

at most a fine of $100.'* If a physical arrest could be made for this violation alone, then

Sullivan could have been removed from his vehicle at this point, and it could have been

inventoried, making any subsequent unconstitutional search moot. Noting that such a

practice would convey extraordinary discretion to officers in the field, the majority of the

Arkansas Supreme Court on rehearing ruled that this result would “fly in the face of

reasonableness, which is the essence of the Fourth Amendment. See State v. Holmes,

supra.” 340 Ark. at 318-C, 16 S.W.3d at 553.

Nevertheless, the three dissenting justices on the Arkansas Supreme Court not only

found Whren controlling, but also found that a custodial arrest was valid for any traffic

offense under Ark. R. Crim. P. 4.1(a)(iii) “which states that ‘a law enforcement officer may

Petitioner's Brief at 20-21 (Sept. 11, 2000), and Whren v. United States, No. 95-5841, Petitioner’s

Brief (Feb. 16, 1996).

13. Ark. Code Ann. § 27-51-201(a)(1) provides: “No person shall drive a vehicle on a

highway at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to

the actual and potential hazards then existing.”

14. Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-301 provides: “Any moving traffic law violation not enumer-

ated in § 27-50-302 shall be known as a violation as defined in Arkansas Criminal Code, §§ 5-1-105

and 5-1-108, and shall be punishable as provided under § 5-4-201.” None of the offenses respon-

dent were stopped for are listed in § 27-50-302, so they are punishable by fine only.

Section 5-4-201 lists only fines as punishments, and “violations,” unlike felonies and

misdemeanors, are not subject to any possible incarceration. See Ark. Code Ann. § 5-1-108,

defining violations.

(a) An offense is a violation if it is so designated by this code or by a statute not

a part of this code.

(b) Regardless of any designation appearing in the statute defining an offense, an

offense is a violation for purposes of this code if the statute defining the offense provides that

no sentence other than a fine, or fine or forfeiture, or civil penalty is authorized upon

conviction. ‘

arrest a person without a warrant if the officer has reasonable cause to believe that such a

person has committed .. . any violation of law in the officer’s presence.’ (Emphasis

added.)”'® 340 Ark. at 318-F, 16 S.W.3d at 554 (dissenting opinion).

This statement in the dissenting opinion is essentially the issue before his Court in

Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, No. 99-1408, supra. The State disclaims any reliance on

Atwater because respondent did not rely on the Rule 4. 1(a)(iii) issue below. (Pet. Cert. at

3-4, n. 1)

Since, however, the dissent discussed Rule 4.1(a)(iii) and said it was binding and

supported this arrest, then the majority below must have rejected that interpretation on

reasonableness grounds. Therefore, respondent submits that the constitutionality of Rule

4.1(a)(iii) must be fairly included within the Questions Presented and respondent will assert

that it is unconstitutional when applied to any traffic offense, the issue in Atwater v. City of

Lago Vista, supra, since the petitioner relies on Rule 4.1(a)(iii) and Whren.

The State simply cannot have it both ways. Either the Arkansas Supreme Court

impliedly held that Rule 4.1(a)(iii), if interpreted to permit a full custodial arrest for a

minor traffic offense, would be unreasonable and thus would violate the Fourth Amend-

ment, or it held that Arkansas’ own constitutional reasonableness requirement invalidated

the arrest and consequent inventory under Rule 16.2. The first alternative brings this case

squarely within the issue presented by Afwater—indeed in a way an even more egregious

version of the problem presented by Afwater-since this was a pretextual arrest, rather than

15. The full text of Ark. R. Crim. P. 4.1 is reproduced in the Appendix at 1-A.

19

a citation for a minor traffic offense, made just so the officer could look for drugs. The

second alternative, as respondent has argued, presents an adequate and independent, albeit

inartfully expressed, state ground for the judgment, and is thus a proper basis to deny the

State’s petition for certiorari.

A. Granting Unbridled Discretion to a Law Enforcement Officer to Make a

Custodial Arrest to Facilitate an Inventory Search is Unreasonable under

the Fourth Amendment.

This Court has always been leery of granting law enforcement officers unbridled

discretion. And, granted, much discretion is necessary for them to do their jobs. But, what

happens when absolute discretion colhdes with the “nght of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects against unreasonable searches and seizures”? This

Court usually comes down on the side of restraining discretion to protect the people. Here,

that discretion was used to effect an arrest to make a search of respondent's car.

1. The officer’s suppression hearing testimony as to his discretion

At the suppression hearing, the officer testified that he had the discretion to arrest

whomever he wanted for any traffic offense. (R. 57-58, 62-63) The State agrees, and it

cites Ark. R. Crim. P. 4.1(a)(iii) in support of this conclusion (Pet. Cert., at 3, n. 1), as did

the dissenters in the Arkansas Supreme Court below. 340 Ark. at 318-F, 16 S.W.3d at 554

(dissenting opinion).

2. The Fourth Amendment’s reasonableness inquiry

The first clause of the Fourth Amendment protects us against “unreasonable sear-

ches and seizures.” Reasonableness is the “fundamental inquiry” in Fourth Amendment

20

cases. See, e.g, Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 U.S. 433, 439 (1973), United States v.

Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1, 9 (1977); Griffin v. Wisconsin, 483 U.S. 868, 873 (1987). It has

also been called the “touchstone” of the Fourth Amendment. Robinette v. Ohio, 519 U.S.

33, 39 (1996) (quoting Florida v. Jimeno, 500 U.S. 248, 250 (1991) (citing Katz v. United

States, 389 U.S. 347, 360 (1967)) (reasonableness is “contextual and not subject to bright-

line rules”)); Whren, 517 U.S. at 813.

One aspect of the reasonableness is the necessity of checking or limiting the discre-

tion of government officers in the field.

3. This Court’s distrust of unbridled discretion in law enforcement

officers

This Court has always shown that it is leery of granting unbridled discretion in a law

enforcement officer to conduct seizures and then searches, no matter what the context.

In Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 660 (1979), this Court held that random

vehicle seizure for driver’s license checks was unreasonable under the Fourth Amendment.

The Court held that stops, i.e., seizures of the vehicle and driver, could not be based on

“the unbridled discretion of law enforcement officials.” There has to be limits on the

exercise of this discretion. /d.:

When there is not probable cause to believe that a driver is violating any one of the

multitude of applicable traffic and equipment regulations—or other articulable basis

amounting to reasonable suspicion that the driver is unlicensed or his vehicle

unregistered—we cannot conceive of any legitimate basis upon which a patrolman

could decide that stopping a particular driver for a spot check would be more

productive than stopping any other driver. This kind of standardless and uncon-

strained discretion is the evil the Court has discerned when in previous cases it has

insisted that the discretion of the official in the field be circumscribed, at least to

some extent. Almeida-Sanchez v. United States, 413 U.S. 266, 270 (1973); Camara

21

v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S., at 532-533.

This Court just reaffirmed this language in City of Indianapolis v. Edmond, supra,

slip op. at 6, where it quoted from the last part of the above quote from Prouse that “The

officer’s conduct in that case was unconstitutional primarily on account of his exercise of

‘standardless and unconstrained discretion.’ 440 U.S. at 661.”

Likewise, in Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S. 385, 394-95 (1978), a police officer

shooting case where the State of Arizona argued for a murder scene exception to the

warrant requirement, this Court held that the lower court’s limits on the officer’s discretion

to conduct a murder scene search did not go far enough: “The confer unbridled discretion

upon the individual officer to interpret such terms as ‘reasonable .. . search’... .” The

Court held that those limits did nothing to protect against arbitrary searches and seizures,

and those judgments had to be made by a neutral and detached magistrate.” /d at 395.

Even in the area of administrative searches, this Court has been concemed with

grants of unbridled discretion of inspectors to enter property; Marshall v. Barlow's Inc.,

436 U.S. 307, 323 (1978) (quoted in Donovan v. Dewey, 452 U.S. 594, 599 (1980), and

followed in New York v. Burger, 482 U.S. 691, 703 (1987)); or order urine tests. Skinner v.

Railway Labor Executives’ Assn., 489 U.S. 602, 622 (1989) (regulations provided limits on

discretion and protected against abuse of discretion).

In United States v. Brignoni-Ponce, 422 U.S. 873, 882-83 (1975), the Court also

mentioned the “unlimited interference with the use of the highways” that roving patrol

stops created, and it followed in United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543, 559

22

(1976), stating that Brignoni was based on fears that “[t}here was also a grave danger that

such unreviewable discretion would be abused by some officers in the field.”

“{S]tandardless and unconstrained discretion” is exactly what this case involves, and

the grant of this discretion by Rule 4. 1(a)(iii) and the unbridled exercise of this discretion

to conduct a pretextual arrest when a citation should do makes all the constitutional

difference.

This finding of pretext shows that this stop, arrest, and inventory search was “in the

end to advance ‘the general interest in crime control.’ Prouse, 440 U.S., at 659 n. 18. ...

We cannot sanction stops justified only by the generalized and ever-present possibility that

interrogation and inspection may reveal that any given motorist has committed some

crime.” City of Indianapolis v. Edmund, supra, slip op. at 11.

B. Whren, Atwater, and absolute discretion.

Whren v. United States does not deal with officer’s discretion. Indeed, the entire

premise of the Whren is that there was an objectively reasonable basis for a stop that lead

to a plain view of drugs in the hands of the occupants of the car when he walked up.

Atwater does deal with officer’s discretion: his discretion to make a custodial arrest for any

traffic offense he chooses. Here, we have an objectively reasonable basis for the stop, but

we have absolute discretion as to whether the respondent or any other citizen would be

subjected to a custodial arrest rather than a citation. In addition, the officer knew that the

custodial arrest permitted an inventory of the vehicle. (R. 63)

Thus, this case falls between Whren and Atwater, and it is not controlled by either.

23

Summary reversal on Whren, as the State requests, is improper.

C. Thus, Ark. R. Crim. P. 4.1(a)(iii) violates the Fourth Amendment.

Ark. R. Crim. P. 4.1(a)(iii) grants law enforcement officers unbridled discretion to

subject any motorist to a custodial arrest for any traffic offense. Respondent contends that

this unbridled discretion in a law enforcement officer violates reasonableness requirement

of the Fourth Amendment.

While the State disclaims any relevance of this issue to this case (Pet. Cert. at 3 n.

1), the facts remain that the State raised Rule 4.1(a)(iii) in support of its position below

(Appt’s Brief, No. CR99-1140, at 4), and the dissenters in the Arkansas Supreme Court

relied upon it in concluding that rehearing should be granted. (340 Ark. at 318-F, 16

S.W.3d at 554 (dissenting opinion)). Respondent submits, however, that the constitutional-

ity of Rule 4.1(a)(iii) is before the Court as “fairly included” within the Petition because it

may be used to defend the result below.

Il. The Court Has Previously Recognized in Dicta That a Vehicle Inventory May

Be Pretextual, and, If Certiorari Is Granted, the Court Should Hold Pretextual

Inventories Unreasonable.

A. The Court Has Repeatedly Suggested That a Vehicle Inventory Done

Merely as a Pretext to Generally Investigate Crime Might Violate the

Fourth Amendment.

In Colorado v. Bertine, 479 U.S. 367 (1987), the Court dealt with a vehicle inven-

tory after a DWI arrest. The Court stressed that “there was no showing that the police, who

were following standardized procedures, acted in bad faith of for the sole purpose of

24

investigation.” /d. at 372. At the end of the majority opinion, the Court concluded that

“{t]here was no showing that the police chose to impound Bertine’s van in order to investi-

gate suspected criminal activity.” /d. at 376.

Similarly, in the inventory case of Florida v. Wells, 495 U.S. 1, 4 (1995), the Court

stressed that the requirement of standardized procedures

is based on the principle that an inventory search must not be a ruse for a general

rummaging in order to discovery incriminating evidence. ... The individual police

officer must not be allowed so much latitude that inventory searches are turned into

a “purposeful and general means of discovering evidence of crime.” Bertine, supra,

at 376 (BLACKMUN, J., concurring).

In the administrative search case of New York v. Burger, supra, the Court sustained

the search there because the regulatory scheme protected against unchecked discretion.

The Court added one caveat, however, id. at 726 n. 27, “There is, furthermore, no reason to

believe that the instant inspection was actually a ‘pretext’ for obtaining evidence of respon-

dent’s violation of the penal laws. It is undisputed that the inspection was made solely

pursuant to the administrative scheme.”

Here, we have a finding of fact already sustained by the Arkansas Supreme Court

that brings the inventory of respondent’s vehicle squarely within the questions reserved in

Bertine and Wells. This is an important question, and it happens every day in this country.

Certiorari should thus be granted to resolve this important Fourth Amendment question.

B. The Trial Court’s Finding of Fact That the Arrest Occurred to Facilitate

the Inventory Is Entitled to Deference on Appeal and Certiorari.

The trial court found as a fact that the custodial arrest and search was pretextual, and

the Arkansas Supreme Court affirmed that finding in its original opinion. 340 Ark. 315,

25

318, 11 S.W.3d 526, 528 (2000). The decision on rehearing changed nothing on this score.

The finding of the trial judge, who has presumably seen this officer testify before, is

entitled to great weight. “[W]e hasten to point out that a reviewing court should take care

both to review findings of historical fact only for clear error and to give due weight to

inferences drawn from those facts by resident judges and local law enforcement officers.”

Ornelas v. United States, $17 U.S. 690, 699 (1996) (decided two weeks before Whren),

The trial court found the search unreasonable because the arrest was unreasonable to

facilitate an inventory, and the Arkansas Supreme Court said that was not against the

preponderance of the evidence. 340 Ark. at 318, 11 S.W.3d at 528.

The facts as found by the trial court align this case more closely with Atwater than

Whren. The officer used his discretion to make a pretextual custodial arrest. If respondent

had only been cited by this drug interdiction officer, the officer would not have been able

to conduct a search incident. Knowles v. lowa, 525 U.S. 113 (1998). With a custodial

arrest, however, the entire passenger compartment could have been searched under New

York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454 (1981), or the officer could tow the vehicle and inventory it

under the Conway Police Department's inventory policy, Florida v. Wells, supra, rather

than just pull it aside on the convenience store lot, even though respondent would have

been released on a citation in short order after fingerprinting. '*

Here, that is exactly what happened.

16. Respondent recognizes that this Court has said that the “the existence of alternative ‘less

intrusive measures’ is not required in the reasonableness inquiry, //linois v. Lafayette, 462 U.S

640, 647 (1983), Bertine, 479 U.S. at 375-76; but it should still weigh heavily when pretext has

already been found by the trial court and the appellate court below.

~

26

CONCLUSION

The Arkansas Supreme Court decided that probable cause for the misdemeanor

weapons charge was not made out in this case, in part because it concluded-as had the mal

court-that this charge had been added merely as a pretext to inventory the vehicle. It made

this determination based upon an application to the facts of state law, expressed in its state

rules of criminal procedure and a state court decision. This is a wholly adequate and

utterly independent state law ground for the decision, notwithstanding the State's effort to

shoehorn into the matter a federal constitutional case at the eleventh hour.

Moreover, there is a significant factual difference between the facts of this case and

Whren, and the highest court of another state is in accord with Arkansas on similar facts.

Therefore, certiorari should be denied.

If certiorari is granted, it should be to determine whether the facts of this case

require a different result under Atwater or because the vehicle inventory in this case was

pretextual under Bertine and Wells.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN WESLEY HALL, JR.*

523 West Third Street

Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

(501) 371-9131

DAVID M. SIEGEL

New England School of Law

154 Stuart Street

Boston, Massachusetts 02116

(617) 422-7270

Attorneys for Respondent

*Counsel of Record

27

APPENDIX

Arkansas Rules of Criminal Procedure Relied Upon

RULE 4.1. Authority to Arrest Without Warrant.

(a) A law enforcement officer may arrest a person without a warrant if the officer

has reasonable cause to believe that such person has committed

(1) a felony;

(i) a traffic offense involving

(A) death or physical injury to a person, or

= (B) damage to property, or

(C) driving a vehicle while under the influence of any intoxicating

liquor or drug;

(i) any violation of law in the officer’s presence;

(1v) acts which constitute a crime under the laws of this state and which

constitute domestic abuse as defined by law against a family or household member

and which occurred within four (4) hours preceding the arrest.

(b) A private person may make an arrest where he has reasonable grounds for

believing that the person arrested has committed a felony.

(c) Am arrest shall not be deemed to have been made on insufficient cause

hereunder solely on the ground that the officer or private citizen is unable to determine the

particular offense which may have been committed.

(d) A warrantless arrest by an officer not personally possessed of information

sufficient to constitute reasonable cause is valid where the arresting officer is instructed to

make the arrest by a police agency which collectively possesses knowledge sufficient to

constitute reasonable cause.

RULE 16.2. Motions to Suppress Evidence.

(a) Objection to the use of any evidence, on the grounds that it was illegally

obtained, shall be made by a motion to suppress evidence. The phrase “objection to the use

of any evidence, on the grounds that it was illegally obtained,” shall include but is not

limited to evidence which:

1. Consists of tangible property obtained by means of an unlawful search

and seizure; or

2. Consists of a record of potential testimony reciting or describing

declarations or conversations overheard or recorded by means of eavesdropping; or

3. Consists of a record or potential testimony reciting or describing a

confession or admission of a defendant involuntarily made; or

1-A

4 Was obtained as a result of other evidence obtained in a manner

described in subdivisions one, two, and three; or

5. Consists of the prospective in-court identification of the defendant

based on an unlawful pre-trial confrontation.

The motion shall be made to the court which is to conduct the trial at which such evidence

may be offered in evidence.

(b) The motion to suppress shall be timely filed but not later than ten (10) days

before the date set for the trial of the case, except that the court for good cause shown may

entertain a motion to suppress at a later time.

(c) Renewal of a motion to suppress which has been denied may be allowed on

the ground of newly discovered evidence or as the interests of justice require.

(d) An order granting a motion to suppress prior to tnal shall be reviewable on

appeal pursuant to Rule 36.10.

(ec) Determination. A motion to suppress evidence shal! be granted only if the

court finds that the violation upon which it is based was substantial, or if otherwise

required by the Constitution of the United States or of this state. In determining whether a

violation is substangal the court shall consider all the circumstances, including:

(i) the importance of the particular interest violated;

(u) the extent of deviation from lawful conduct;

(iii) the extent to which the violation was willful;

. (1v) the extent to which privacy was invaded,

(v) the extent to which exclusion will tend to prevent violations of these

rules,

(vi) whether, but for the violation, such evidence would have been discov-

ered; and

(vu) the extent to which the violation prejudiced moving party’s ability to

support his motion, or to defend himself in the proceedings in which such evidence

is sought to be offered in evidence against him.

2-A

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.