Opposition Brief — Microsoft Corp. v. United States

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

—— —

(7 Supreme Co It.

' i 3

1

I. 4 i}

No. 00-139

i. 27000

In the Supreme Court of the United States

Ne .

MICROSOFT CORPORATION, APPELLANT ~~~

U.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET. AL.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN RESPONSE TO

THE JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

JOEL I. KLEIN

Assistant Attorney General

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE

Deputy Solicitor General

A. DOUGLAS MELAMED

Deputy Assistant Attorney

General

JEFFREY P. MINEAR

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

CATHERINE G. O’SULLIVAN

Attorney

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 2050-0001

(202) 514-2217

„% „„

22

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Microsoft Corporation’s statement of the questions pre-

sented (J.S. i-ii) identifies seven issues for review by this

Court:

1. Whether the district court erred in holding that Micro-

soft violated Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. 2, by

engaging in a course of exclusionary conduct to protect and

maintain its personal computer (PC) operating system mo-

nopoly.

2. Whether the district court erred in holding that Micro-

soft violated Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. 2, by

attempting to monopolize the market for Web browsers.

3. Whether the district court erred in holding that Micro-

soft violated Section 1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. 1, by

tying its Internet Explorer Web browser to its Windows

operating system through contracts and technological arti-

fices.

4. Whether any of the district court’s procedural and

evidentiary rulings constituted an abuse of discretion requir-

ing reversal of the judgment.

5. Whether the district court abused its discretion by

ordering structural separation of Microsoft into two entities

and transitional restrictions on its conduct.

6. Whether the district court erred in dismissing Micro-

soft’s counterclaim under 42 U.S.C. 1983, alleging that state

attorneys general, under color of state law, sought relief in

this case that would deprive Microsoft of its rights under

federal copyright law.

7. Whether the district judge’s extrajudicial comments

about the case require reversal of the judgment.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Statement 1

Argument:

I. This case warrants the Court’s immediate

consideration because the appeal is of “general

public importance in the administration of justice 13

II. Microsoft’s contentions that the Court should

deny the appeal, despite its importance, are

unpersuasive 18

A. The legal issues are appropriate for direct

appeal 19

B. The factual record presents no obstacle to

direct review 25

C. Postponing this Court’s review to permit re-

view by the court of appeals would not promote

the administration of justice 28

Conclusion 30

Addendum A la

Addendum B 0 7a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: ö

AT&T Corp. v. lowa Utils. Bd., 525 U.S. 366

(1999) 19

Amadeo v. Zant, 486 U.S. 214 (1988) 27

American Textile Mfrs. Inst. v. Donovan, 452 US.

490 (1981) , 27

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564

(1985) 2, 26, 28

Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp.,

Fe Ee —ͤüKAK44.⁊ — 20

Brooke Group Ltd. v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco

Corp., 509 U.S. 209 (1993) 26

California v. United States, 464 U.S. 1013 (1983) 15

(III

IV

Cases—Continued:

Citizen Publ g Co. v. United States, 394 US.

131 (1969)

Clinton v. New York, 524 U.S. 417 (1998) —

Colorado v. New Merico, 467 U.S. 310 (198)

Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Servs.,

xxx

Ford Motor Co. v. United States, 405 U.S. 562

(1972)

Gay v. Ruff, 292 U.S. 25 (4980 ————

IBM Corp. v. United States, 480 F. 2d 293 (2d Cir.

1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 980 (1974)

International Boxing Club v. United States, 358

US. 242 (1959)

International Salt Co. v. United States, 332 US.

392 (1947)

Jefferson Parsh Hosp. Dist. No 2 v. Hyde, 466

U.S. 2 (1984)

Kansas v. Colorado, 514 U.S. 673 (1995)

Maryland v. United States, 460 U.S. 1001 (1983) ............

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,

475 U.S. 574 (1986)

Multi-Medical Convalescent & Nursing Ctr. v.

NLRB, 550 F 2d 974 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S.

835 (1977)

National Soc y of Prof Engers v. United States,

435 US. 679 (1978)

Neumann v. Reinforced Earth Co., 786 F.2d 424

(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 851 (1986)

Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express,

Inc., 490 U.S. 477 (1989)

Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1978) ———.——.—.—.—

Spectrum Sports, Inc. v. McQuillan, 506 U.S. 447

(1993)

United States v. Alaska, 521 U.S. 161997).

5

F IS RN N B SN B VSE

Ss 8 N B 8

ss

Cases—Continued:

United States v. Crescent Amusement Co., 323

U.S. 173 (1944)

United States v. E. du Pont de Nemours & Co.,

366 U.S. 316 (1961)

United States v. Fordice, 505 U.S. 717 (19927

United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100 (1948)

United States v. Matlock, 415 U.S. 164 (1974) .................

United States v. Microsoft Corp, 147 F.3d 935

(D.C. Cir. 1998)

United States v. Paramount Pictures, Inc., 334

US. 131 (1948)

United States v. Taylor, 487 U.S. 326 (1988)

United States v. United Shoe Mach. Corp., 391

U.S. 244 (1968)

United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333

U.S. 364 (1948)

United States v. Western Elec. Co.:

552 F. Supp. 131 (1982), aff d sub nom. Maryland v.

United States, 460 U.S. 1001 (1983) 16

569 F. Supp. 1057 (D.D.C.), aff d sub nom. California

v. United States, 464 U.S. 1013 (1983) 16

1983-2 Trade Cases (CCH) 1 65,596 (D. D.C. 19883) . . 14,15

United States Dep't of Commerce v. Montana, 503

US. 442 (1992) 19

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 395

U.S. 100 (1969) : 2

Statutes and rules:

Expediting Act of 1903, ch. 544, 32 Stat. 823 13

15 U.S.C. 290) 13

15 U.S.C. 2%b) 1, 13, 14, 15

Sherman Act:

§ 1,15 U.S.C. 1 (1994 & Supp. IV 1998) 1,12

§ 2,15 U.S.C. 2 1, 11, 20, 21, 23

28 U.S.C. 1254 15

S » BE S USE ew &

VI

Rules—Continued:

Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a)

Sup. Ct. R. 18.2

Miscellaneous:

3 Phillip Areeda & Donald F. Turner, Antitrust Law

(1978)

119 Cong. Rec. 24,599 (1973)

120 Cong. Rec. (1974):

pp. 38,583-38,587 . 1

pp. 39, 123-39, 124 1 —

H.R. Rep. No. 1463, 93d Cong. 2d Sess. (1974)

S. Rep. No. 1214, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. (1970)

S. Rep. No. 298, 98d Cong., Ist Sess. (1973)

Robert L. Stern et al., Supreme Court Practice

(7th ed. 1993) .

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN RESPONSE TO

THE JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Because immediate consideration of this appeal is of

general public importance in the administration of justice,

the Solicitor General, on behalf of the United States, urges

this Court to note probable jurisdiction under the Expedit-

ing Act of 1903, as amended, 15 U.S.C. 29(b).

STATEMENT

On May 19, 1998, the United States filed a civil complaint

alleging that Microsoft Corporation has engaged in an anti-

competitive course of conduct in violation of Sections 1 and 2

of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. 1, 2 (1994 & Supp. IV 1998).

At Microsoft’s request, the district court consolidated the

case for all purposes with a similar case brought by 20 States

and the District of Columbia. The district court conducted

the proceedings expeditiously and, after a 78-day trial, en-

tered its findings of fact (FF), App. 46-246, and its con-

clusions of law, App. 1-43. On the central issue in the case,

the district court found that Microsoft had successfully en-

gaged in a series of anticompetitive acts to protect and main-

tain its personal computer operating system monopoly, in

violation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act. App. 3-21.

On June 7, 2000, the district court entered its final judg-

ment. App. 253-279. That judgment requires Microsoft to

submit a plan to reorganize itself into two separate firms

and to comply with transitional injunctive provisions. Ibid.

Microsoft filed notices of appeal. App. 280-283. Upon motion

of the United States and the State plaintiffs, the district

court concluded that Microsoft’s appeal presents a matter “of

general public importance in the administration of justice”

and certified the case for direct appeal in accordance with

the Expediting Act, 15 U.S.C. 29(b). At Microsoft’s request,

the district court stayed the judgment. See App. 284-285.

(1)

Microsoft opposes expedition of its own appeal. See J.S.

15-30. We submit, however, that direct appeal to this Court

is warranted. In describing the case, we rely on the district

court’s factual findings, which “shall not be set aside unless

clearly erroneous.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a). See Anderson v.

City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564, 573 (1985).

1. Personal computers (PCs), including the familiar

“Intel-compatible” PCs (see Add. B, infra, 7a), accomplish

useful tasks, such as word processing, through the use of an

operating system and applications programs. FF 1-4 (App.

47-48). An operating system is “a software program that

controls the allocation and use of computer resources”: it

serves as a “platform” for applications “by exposing

interfaces, called ‘application programming interfaces,’ or

‘APIs,’” that applications invoke. FF 2 (App. 47). Microsoft

“possesses a dominant, persistent, and increasing share of

the worldwide market for Intel-compatible PC operating

systems.” FF 35 (App. 60). That share “has stood above

ninety percent” for a decade. Ibid. The “original equipment

manufacturers” of PCs (OEMs) “uniformly are of a mind that

there exists no commercially viable alternative” to

Microsoft’s Windows operating system. FF 54 (App. 70-71).

The Windows monopoly is protected by an “applications

barrier to entry.” FF 30-32, 36 (App. 58-60, 61). The

pervasiveness of the Windows operating system induces

developers to create vastly more applications for Windows

than for other PC operating systems. The availability of a

rich array of applications in turn “attracts consumers to

Windows.” FF 37 (App. 61-62). A competing operating

system will not attract a large number of users unless those

users believe that there is and will continue to be a sufficient

For the Court’s convenience, we have provided, as addenda to this

brief, an index to the appendix that accompanies Microsoft’s jurisdictional

statement (Add. A) and a glossary defining frequently used terms (Add.

B).

and timely array of applications for use on that operating

system, FF 30-31, 37 (App. 58-59, 61-62), but software

developers have little incentive to write applications for an

operating system without a large number of users. FF 40-41

(App. 63-64).

This formidable entry barrier can be eroded through

“middleware.” A middleware program invokes the APIs of

the operating system on which it runs, but also exposes its

own APIs and thus can serve as a platform for other appli-

cations. FF 28 (App. 57). An application written to rely on a

middleware program’s APIs thus could run on all operating

systems on which that middleware runs. FF 68 (App. 78).

Applications developers would have incentives to write for

widely used middleware, and so users would not be reluctant

to choose an alternative operating system for fear that it

would run an insufficient array of applications. FF 29, 68

(App. 57-58, 78).

Microsoft “was concerned with middleware” because

middleware could severely weaken the applications barrier

and threaten the dominance of Windows. FF 29, 68 (App.

57-58, 78). Microsoft particularly focused “on two incarna-

tions of middleware that, working together, had the

potential to weaken the applications barrier severely * * *.

These were Netscape’s Web browser [Navigator] and Sun’s

implementation of the Java technologies.” FF 68 (App. 78);

see also FF 69-77 (App. 78-82).

a. Within months after Netscape publicly released

Navigator in December 1994, Navigator became the pre-

eminent Web browser. FF 72 (App. 79-80). Because of the

likelihood that Web browsers would become ubiquitous, and

because Navigator also has middleware capabilities, Micro-

soft soon perceived Navigator as a threat to the applications

barrier to entry that protected its Windows operating

system monopoly. In May 1995, Microsoft Chief Executive

Officer William Gates wrote that Netscape was “pursuing a

multi-platform strategy where they move the key API into

4

the client [Web browser] to commoditize the underlying

operating system.” FF 72 (App. 80). Microsoft determined

to eliminate the threat that Navigator would become a viable

alternative platform for applications. FF 133, 142 (App. 108-

109, 113-114).

Microsoft first tried to reach a “market allocation” agree-

ment with Netscape. App. 21-22; FF 79-92 (App. 83-89).

The proposed agreement would have required Netscape to

stop its efforts to develop Navigator into “platform-level”

(i.e., API-exposing) browsing software for the upcoming

Windows 95 operating system in return for Microsoft’s re-

fraining from developing browser products for other operat-

ing systems. FF 83 (App. 85). Microsoft warned“ (FF 91

(App. 89)) Netscape that its access to critical techni-

cal information about Windows APIs—information that

Netscape needed to make its browser run well on

Windows 95 (FF 82 (App. 84-85))—depended on Netscape’s

acquiescence. FF 84, 90 (App. 85-86, 88-89). Had Netscape

gone aiong with Microsoft’s scheme, it would have become

“all but impossible” for Navigator or any other browser rival

to pose a platform threat to Windows. FF 88-89 (App. 87-

88). Netscape, however, refused to agree to Microsoft’s pro-

posal, FF 88, 91 (App. 87, 89), and Microsoft then withheld

important technical information needed by Netscape. FF 91-

92 (App. 89).

Microsoft understood that large numbers of developers

would write to the APIs exposed by Navigator only if they

believed Navigator would become “the standard” Web

browser, FF 133 (App. 108), and that, if developers expected

Microsoft’s own browser, Internet Explorer (IE), to attract

a large share of usage, they would continue to focus their

efforts on the Windows platform, ibid. Microsoft therefore

decided to engage in a multifaceted campaign to maximize

IE’s share of usage and minimize Navigator’s. FF 133 (App.

109). Between 1995 and 1999 Microsoft spent more than

$100 million each year and increased to more than a thou-

5

sand the number of developers working on IE, FF 135 (App.

109), even though Microsoft has given IE away free since its

release in July 1995, FF 137 (App. 111). In addition,

Microsoft decided “to constrict Netscape’s access to the

distribution channels that led most efficiently to browser

usage” (FF 143 (App. 115))—installation by OEMs on new

PCs and distribution by Internet access providers (IAPs)

such as America Online. FF 144-145 (App. 115-116).

Because “no other distribution channel for browsing soft-

ware even approaches the efficiency” of those two channels,

FF 145 (App. 116), Microsoft sought to “ensure that * * *

OEMs and IAPs bundled and promoted Internet Explorer to

the exclusion of Navigator,” FF 148 (App. 117).

Microsoft’s campaign to foreclose Netscape from the OEM

channel involved a “massive and multifarious investment” in

a “complementary set of tactics”: (1) contractual restrictions

forcing OEMs to take IE with Windows 95 and 98 and for-

bidding them from removing or obscuring it; (2) “additional

technical restrictions to increase the cost of promoting

Navigator”; (3) exchanging valuable incentives for OEMs’

commitments to promote IE exclusively; and (4) threats to

“penalize individual OEMs that insisted on pre-installing and

promoting Navigator.” FF 241 (App. 160-161).

Microsoft’s contractual bundling of IE and Windows

conflicted with the interests of its OEM customers and

browser users, for “Web browsers and operating systems

are separate products,” FF 154 (App. 119), and Imlany

consumers desire to separate their choice of a Web browser

from their choice of an operating system,” FF 151 (App. 118).

Nevertheless, by July 1995, Microsoft had concluded that

bundling Windows 95 and IE, contrary to its initial plan, FF

156 (App. 120), was the “most effective way” to diminish

Navigator’s threat to the operating system monopoly. FF

157 (App. 120). Its OEM licenses required that OEMs not

delete or modify any part of what Microsoft defined to be

“Windows,” including IE, FF 158 (App. 120), even by using

6

the “Add/Remove” capability Microsoft included in Windows

95 and promoted to users. FF 165, 175-176 (App. 123, 128-

129). OEMs acquiesced, even though that prevented them

from meeting consumer demand for PCs without IE, because

“they had no commercially viable alternative to pre-

installing Windows 95 on their PCs.” FF 158 (App. 120-121).

Microsoft’s licensing requirement had no technical justifica-

tion, FF 175-176 (App. 128-129), and “guaranteed the pre-

sence of [IE] on every new Windows PC system,” FF 158

(App. 121). Microsoft “knew that the inability to remove

[IE] made OEMs less disposed to pre- install Navigator onto

Windows 95.” FF 159 (App. 121).

Despite those contractual restraints, Microsoft officials

believed they were not “going to win” the browser war

simply by Aplitting browser against browser,” FF 166 (App.

124), so they decided to make technical changes in Windows

98 to ensure that removing IE from Windows is difficult and

“running any other browser is a jolting experience.” FF 160

(App. 122).2, Unlike Windows 95, Windows 98 thus did not

allow even users to “uninstall” IE with the Add/Remove

feature, although Gateway, a major OEM, had expressly

requested such a feature, and although users were permitted

to uninstall numerous other features that Microsoft held out

2 Microsoft Senior Vice President James Allchin complained to Group

Vice President Paul Maritz that (wle are not leveraging Windows from a

marketing perspective * * * . [W]e are not investing sufficiently in

finding ways to tie IE and Windows together.” FF 166 (App. 124-125). In

Allchin’s view, treating IE as just an add-on to Windows which is cross-

platform [means] losing our biggest advantage—Windows marketshare.”

FF 166 (App. 123-124). Maritz agreed and, to “combat” Netscape, FF 168

(App. 125), decided to delay the release of Windows 98 until IE 4.0 could

be bound with it, “even if OEMs suffer[ed)” by missing important seasonal

sales opportunities. FF 167 (App. 125). That decision “delayed the debut

of numerous features * * * that Microsoft believed consumers would find

beneficial, simply in order to protect the applications barrier to entry.”

FF 168 (App. 126).

7

as integrated into Windows 98. FF 170 (App. 126-127).

Binding IE to Windows 98 also produces “unpleasant conse-

quences for users” of Navigator, FF 172 (App. 127), because

it can “override the user’s choice” of browsers and require

even Navigator users “to employ [IE] in numerous situa-

tions that, from the user’s perspective, are entirely un-

expected.” FF 171 (App. 127). There is no technical justifi-

cation for that binding.

Despite those technical obstacles, Microsoft still feared

that OEMs might install Navigator in addition to IE and

might even configure the icons on the initial computer

screen, and arrange the boot (start-up) sequence, to promote

the use of Navigator rather than IE. FF 202-203 (App. 139-

140). Microsoft thus “threatened to terminate the Windows

license of any OEM” that did so or added “programs

that promoted third-party software to the Windows ‘boot’

sequence.” FF 203 (App. 140); see also FF 206, 208 (App.

141-142). Microsoft’s tactics “soured” its relations with

OEMs generally and also “stymied innovation that might

have made Windows PC systems more satisfying to users.

Microsoft would not have paid this price had it not been

convinced that its actions were necessary to ostracize

Navigator from the vital OEM distribution channel.” FF 203

(App. 140).

3 Microsoft “could offer consumers all the benefits of the current

Windows 98 package by distributing the products separately and allowing

OEMs or consumers themselves to combine the products if they wished.”

FF 191 (App. 134); see also FF 187-193 (App. 133-136). Microsoft’s techni-

cal binding of IE made OEMs even less likely to install Navigator on their

PCs. FF 172 (App. 127).

Furthermore, although IE was a “no revenue” product, FF 142

(App. 114), Microsoft nevertheless offered OEMs valuable incentives and

discounts “to promote [IE] and, in some cases, to abstain from promoting

Navigator,” FF 139, 231-234 (App. 112, 155-157). Together with the other

components of its campaign to foreclose the OEM channel to Netscape,

these measures required Microsoft to pay out “huge sums of money, and

8

Microsoft “largely succeeded in exiling Navigator from

the crucial OEM distribution channel.” FF 239 (App. 159).

By January 1998, Microsoft executive Joachim Kempin was

able to report to CEO Gates and others that Navigator was

being shipped through only four of the 60 OEM distribution

sub-channels. FF 239 (App. 160). Even then, Navigator was

most often in a position “much less likely to lead to usage”

than IE’s position. Ibid. Within a year, “Navigator was pre-

sent on the desktop of only a tiny percentage of the PCs that

OEMs were shipping.” Ibid.

Microsoft’s strategy for foreclosing Netscape from the

other crucial channel of distribution, Internet access pro-

viders that provide browser software to neir customers, FF

242 (App. 161-162), similarly involved both huge expendi-

tures and substantial sacrifices of revenue that made no

business sense except as a way of protecting the applications

barrier to entry. FF 139, 247 (App. 111-112, 163). Microsoft

“believed that, if IAPs gave new subscribers a choice be-

tween [IE] and Navigator, most of them would pick Navi-

gator.” FF 243 (App. 162). Accordingly, Microsoft gave

IAPs valuable incentives to promote and distribute IE and

to inhibit promotion and distribution of Navigator. FF 139

(App. 112). Its actions, which “sealed off a major portion of

the IAP channel from the prospect of recapture by

Navigator,” FF 247 (App. 164), “had, and continue to have, a

substantial exclusionary impact,” FF 308 (App. 194).°

sacrifice[] many millions more in lost revenue every year.” FF 139 (App.

111). The campaign was “only profitable to the extent that it protected

the applications barrier to entry” and so preserved the operating system

monopoly. FF 141 (App. 113).

5 For example, Microsoft exchanged valuable promotional placement

on the Windows desktop for the leading IAPs’ agreement to distribute

Navigator to no more than 15%-25% of their subscribers even when more

of them wanted Navigator, to refrain from promoting Navigator, and even

to refrain from mentioning to subscribers that they could use a browser

other than IE. FF 244-245, 258 (App. 162-163, 168-169). Microsoft also

9

Microsoft’s resulting control of the two distribution chan-

nels through which “a very large majority of those who

browse the Web obtain their browsing software,” FF 144

(App. 115), together with its other efforts to protect the

applications barrier, caused browser usage shares to

“change[] dramatically in favor of [IE].” FF 360 (App. 220).

This prevented Navigator from becoming “an attractive

enough platform * * * to weaken the applications harrier

to entry.” FF 378 (App. 229).° Microsoft’s numerous and

varied actions against Navigator “‘would not be considered

profit maximizing except for the expectation that . . the

entry of potential rivals’ into the market for Intel-compatible

PC operating systems will be ‘blocked or delayed.’” App. 20

(citation omitted); see also FF 136-142 (App. 110-114).

b. Microsoft also feared another middleware technology—

Sun Microsystems’ Java—a programming language with re-

lated middleware that enables applications “written in Java”

to run on different operating systems. FF 73-74 (App. 80-

81). Java technology threatened to erode the applications

barrier to entry, FF 75-77 (App. 81-82), and Microsoft sought

to extinguish the Java threat by “maximizing the difficulty

with which applications written in Java could be ported [i.e.,

adapted] from Windows to other platforms, and vice versa.”

FF 386 (App. 232).

Microsoft induced the development of Java programs that

performed well on Windows but would not run on other

operating systems without significant modifications. FF

gave IAPs financial incentives. FF 246 (App. 163). Microsoft “invested

[these] great sums, and sacrificed potential sources of revenue, with the

sole purpose of protecting the applications barrier to entry.” FF 308

(App. 194); see also FF 247 (App. 163-164).

§ Microsoft improved IE over time, but it still recognized in May 1998

that “IE4 is fundamentally not compelling” and In lot differentiated from

Netscape v[ersion]4—seen as a commodity.” Thus, “superior quality was

not responsible for the dramatic rise [in IE’s] usage share.” FF 375 (App.

227).

10

387-394 (App. 232-236). Microsoft, like others, developed a

“Java Virtual Machine” (JVM) for the Windows operating

system. FF 388 (App. 233). A JVM is a computer program

that translates Java-based programs into instructions that

the operating system can understand and execute. FF 73

(App. 80); see Add. B, infra, 8a. Microsoft’s JVM and

developer tools incorporated Windows-specific features in a

way that makes a Java program designed to rely on those

features more difficult to port to another operating system.

FF 388-390 (App. 233-234). Microsoft took steps to ensure

that developers would write Java programs that used those

features; it conditioned early access to Windows technical

information on using Microsoft’s JVM as the default, FF 401

(App. 239), and it failed to warn applications developers

about the porting consequences of reliance on Windows-

specific features of its development tools, FF 394 (App. 235-

236). Microsoft undertook other actions to discourage de-

velopers from creating Java applications compatible with

non-Microsoft JVMs, and those actions made no business

sense except as a means of protecting the applications bar-

rier to entry. FF 388-394, 401-404, 406 (App. 233-236, 239-

242).

Microsoft’s avowed aim was not to innovate, or to give

consumers a better product; it directly acted to prevent Sun

7 Microsoft’s determination to cripple Sun’s cross-platform Java was

related to its actions against Netscape’s Navigator. FF 77 (App. 82). In

May 1995, Netscape announced that it would include a Sun-compliant

Windows JVM with every copy of Navigator, creating the possibility that

Sun’s Java implementation “would achieve the necessary ubiquity on

Windows” to pose a threat to the applications barrier to entry. FF 395

(App. 237). Microsoft responded not only by restricting distribution of

Navigator and bundling its own JVM with IE, but also by pressuring

Intel, which was developing a high-performance Windows-compatible

JVM, not to “share its work with either Sun or Netscape, much less allow

Netscape to bundle the Intel JVM with Navigator.” FF 396-397 (App.

237-238); see also FF 405 (App. 241).

11

from creating Java APIs, and, as Microsoft executive Erie

Engstrom put it, “especially ones that run well * * * on

Windows.” FF 406 (App. 242). Microsoft ultimately

succeeded in impeding Java’s ability to weaken the appli-

cations barrier to entry with a series of actions “whose sole

purpose and effect were to do precisely that.” FF 407 (App.

243). Microsoft pursued its “dedication to the goal of pro-

tecting the applications barrier to entry” despite “the fact

that its efforts to create incompatibility between its JVM

and others resulted in fewer applications being able to run

on Windows than otherwise would have.” Ibid.

2. Based on the conduct described above, along with nu-

merous other instances of predatory and exciusionary con-

duct detailed in other findings, see, e.g., FF 93-132 (App. 89-

108), the district court found that, “[t]o the detriment of con-

sumers,” Microsoft had undertaken a coordinated series of

actions “designed to protect the applications barrier to

entry, and hence its monopoly power, from a variety of

middleware threats.” FF 409 (App. 244). The district court

entered conclusions of law holding that Microsoft violated

Section 2 of the Sherman Act by engaging in anticompetitive

acts to maintain its operating system monopoly, App. 3-21,

and that it had committed other violations of antitrust law,

App. 21-42.°

8 Microsoft’s anticompetitive campaign “has retarded, and perhaps

altogether extinguished, the process by which these two middleware

technologies could have facilitated the introduction of competition into an

important market.” FF 411 (App. 246). Furthermore, “Microsoft has

demonstrated that it will use its prodigious market power and immense

profits to harm any firm that insists on pursuing initiatives that could

intensify competition against one of Microsoft’s core products. * * * The

ultimate result is that some innovations that would truly benefit con-

sumers never occur for the sole reason that they do not coincide with

Microsoft's self-interest.” FF 412 (App. 246).

® The court concluded that Microsoft violated Section 2 of the Sher-

man Act by attempting to monopolize the market for Web browsers, App.

12

The district court thereafter entered its final judgment,

which requires Microsoft to submit a plan to reorganize itself

into two separate firms (“OpsCo” to receive the operating

system business and “AppsCo” to receive the rest) and to

comply with transitional injunctive provisions.” App. 253-

257. The court found that a structural remedy is “impera-

tive,” App. 249, and that the government’s plan addressed

“all the principal objectives of relief in such cases,” App. 251.

The court found Microsoft’s alternative proposal “plainly

inadequate.” Ibid. This appeal followed."

21-24, and Section 1 of the Sherman Act by tying its Web browser to its

operating system, App. 25-33. The court found that the conduct that

violated the Sherman Act also violated various state laws. App. 39-42.

The court rejected the United States’ claim that Microsoft’s exclusive

dealing contracts violated Section 1 of the Sherman Act, but it did so on

the basis of its analysis of effects in the Web browser market. App. 34-39.

The court recognized that those contracts contributed, however, to Micro-

soft’s maintenance of the operating system monopoly. App. 38. Although

we disagree with the legal standard that the court arguably applied to the

exclusive dealing claim, the United States has had no occasion to seek

further review of the court’s exclusive dealing ruling because the court

has effectively terminated the unlawful practices as part of its Section 2

remedy. See note 10, infra.

10 The final judgment, inter alia, requires Microsoft to treat major

OEMs uniformly in licensing its operating system (J 3(a)(ii) (App. 260-

261)) and to disclose the same technical and interface information to

software and hardware developers that its own software developers use

(J 3(b) (App. 262-263)). It prohibits adverse action against OEMs based

on OEM decisions to use or promote products that compete with Microsoft

products (J 3(a)(i) (App. 259-260)); bans exclusive dealing agreements that

restrict third parties from using or promoting competing products

(J 3(e) (App. 264)); and bans contractual tying and binding of certain

middleware to its operating system ({ 3(f) and (g) (App. 265-266)). Those

provisions remain in effect for three years after implementation of

divestiture. 1 3 (App. 259).

1! On June 13, 2000, Microsoft appealed to the court of appeals, App.

280, 282, which the same day ordered the case to be heard en banc, App.

311-312. On June 20, 2000, the district court determined that the final

judgment should be appealed directly to this Court under the Expediting

13

ARGUMENT

The Expediting Act expressly provides for direct appeal

to this Court in that rare instance in which immediate

consideration of an appeal in a civil injunctive antitrust case

brought by the United States is of “general public impor-

tance in the administration of justice.” 15 U.S.C. 29(b). This

is such a case. The suit has immense importance to our

national economy. It is especially important to the rapidly

developing high-technology sectors, which need to know how

they will be affected by the remedies resulting from this case

and, more generally, how this Court’s antitrust juris-

prudence applies to a dominant firm in their marketplace.

The public interest requires prompt and final resolution of

the issues on appeal, both so that effective remedies can be

put in place to restore competitive conditions and protect

consumers and so that the computer and software industries

can plan for the future. The findings of fact are cogent and

complete, and the legal issues are ready for this Court’s

review. The Court should note probable jurisdiction.

I. This Case Warrants The Court’s Immediate Con-

sideration Because The Appeal Is Of “General

Public Importance In The Administration Of

Justice”

From 1903 to 1974, this Court directly reviewed all ap-

peals in civil injunctive antitrust cases brought by the

United States. See Expediting Act of 1903, ch. 544, 32 Stat.

823. Over time, Congress determined that direct appeal in

all such cases posed an unnecessary burden on this Court. In

1974, Congress gave the courts of appeals jurisdiction over

routine appeals. See 15 U.S.C. 29(a). At the same time,

Act and, as requested by Microsoft, stayed the final judgment in its

entirety pending appeal. App. 284-285. The court of appeals immediately

suspended its proceedings in the case.

14

Congress gave this Court discretion to hear a direct appeal if

the district court certified, at the request of any party, that

“immediate consideration of the appeal by the Supreme

Court is of general public importance in the administration of

justice.” 15 U.S.C. 29(b).

This Court should exercise its discretion under 15 U.S.C.

29(b) in light of Congress’s expressed desire to preserve

direct appeals in that limited situation. Congress relieved

the Court of the task of reviewing routine antitrust appeals,

but Congress concluded, as a matter of national policy, that

the Court should continue to decide direct appeals “where

the underlying antitrust judgment involves matters of great

and general importance to the public interest because of

their impact on the economic welfare of this nation,“

United States v. Western Elec. Co., 1983-2 Trade Cas.

(CCH), 1 65,596, at 68,971 (D.D.C. 1983) (quoting H.R. Rep.

No. 1463, 93d Cong. 2d Sess. 14 (1974)).”

2 The legislative history of the 1974 Expediting Act amendments re-

veals that the Senate and the House disagreed over whether the Attorney

General or the district court should be responsible for certifying that the

case is of “general public importance,” but both chambers agreed that the

Court would be the final judge of that matter and expected that the Court

would accept review if it agreed that the case satisfied that standard. See

generally H.R. Rep. No. 1463, supra, at 12-14; S. Rep. No. 298, 98d Cong.,

Ist Sess. 3-4, 7-8 (1973); 120 Cong. Rec. 38,583-38,587 (1974); 119 Cong.

Rec. 24,599 (1973). The House acceded to the Senate proposal, which

empowered the district court to certify and expressly acknowledged the

Court’s “discretion” to accept or deny review. See 120 Cong. Rec. 39,123-

39,124 (1974). As the Senate floor manager noted, the Senate proposal

differed from the House proposal “only in the way the [certification]

decision is made.” Id. at 38,585. The legislative history also reveals that

Congress understood that the “general public importance” standard

reaches cases affecting “the economic welfare of this nation.” H.R. Rep.

No. 1463, supra, at 14; see also S. Rep. No. 1214, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 4

(1970) (letter of Attorney General Mitchell to the Vice President) (such

appeals will usually involve novel legal questions pertaining to the

interpretation or enforcement of the antitrust laws or may have serious

15

Congress’s grant of jurisdiction under the Expediting Act

differs fundamentally from, and operates in addition to,

Congress’s open-ended grant of certiorari jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. 1254. The Expediting Act, unlike the certiorari

statute, is limited by subject matter and requires district

court certification. See 15 U.S.C. 29(b). But most

importantly, it provides the Court with an express standard

—“general public importance in the administration of

justice”—to guide the Court’s exercise of discretion. The

purpose of the amended Act remains to “[e)xpedit[e]” the

final resolution by this Court of cases meeting that standard.

Congress plainly intended that the Court would decide

whether to accept review based on the appeal’s practical

consequences for the national economy and the needs of

effective antitrust enforcement—not on whether the Court

would normally grant certiorari (or certiorari before judg-

ment) in such a case. See Robert L. Stern et al., Supreme

Court Practice § 2.7, at 53 (7th ed. 1993) (“Whether a case

warrants direct review under § 29(b) turns on the impor-

tance of a prompt decision by the Court, not on the general

significance of the legal issues presented.”).

The United States recognizes that the need for direct

appeal arises infrequently and does not lightly seek it. The

United States has invoked the Expediting Act’s direct re-

view provisions in only two previous instances in the past

26 years. Those requests both arose from United States v.

Western Electric Co., supra, a Sherman Act suit against

AT&T and its subsidiaries that bears close similarities to

this case. In each instance, the Court accepted direct re-

view. See California v. United States, 464 U.S. 1013 (1983);

Maryland v. United States, 460 U.S. 1001 (1983).

The California and Maryland appeals arose from inter-

venor challenges to the AT&T consent decree, which re-

legal or economic consequences going beyond the mere private interests of

the individual litigants”).

16

quired AT&T to divest assets and restructure its opera-

tions.” Like the appeal in this case, the appeals in Cali-

fornia and Maryland involved a government enforcement

action against an “overwhelmingly dominant firm” in an

important market and had resulted in a “structural remedy”

to prevent abuse of monopoly power and “further the public

interest in competition.” 82-952 MA, at 13; see 83-737 MA, at

10-11. The United States urged the Court to hear the

appeals, stating that “[wJhether a case warrants direct re-

view * * * turns on the importance of a prompt decision of

the case by this Court.” 82-952 MA, at 10-11. The United

States explained that “delay in resolving the validity of the

decree will have a broad and significant adverse impact on

the telecommunications industry, on related industries

including data processing, and thus on the public in general.”

82-952 MA, at 12; see also 83-737 MA, at 8-11.“

13 See Western Elec., 569 F. Supp. 1057; 552 F. Supp. 131. See also.

Maryland, 460 U.S. at 1001 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting); 82-952 et al.,

Motion of the United States to Affirm (82-952 MA) at 2-9; 83-737 et al.,

Motion of the United States to Affirm (83-737 MA) at 2-7; Supreme Court

Practice, supra, at 54.

4 Microsoft offers nothing to support its supposition that the Court

accepted those appeals solely because (1) they involved a negotiated

consent decree”; (2) they “raised narrow legal questions” that the Court

could resolve summarily; and (3) “AT&T supported immediate con-

sideration.” J.S. 26. The Court did not explain its reasons for accepting

the direct appeal, but it is reasonable to presume that the Court relied on

the Expediting Act’s express criterion. The Act is clearly not limited to

cases that involve a “consent decree” or “narrow legal questions” that are

susceptible of summary disposition. The United States noted that e

“issues raised by appellants are particularly suited to expedited direct

review” (82-952 MA, at 16), but the United States did not suggest that

that factor was a controlling consideration (see id. at 10-15). There is also

no reason to believe that the defendant's support for direct review was a

decisive factor. AT&T expressly supported direct review because the cor-

poration had an interest in prompt resolution of the issues. See 82-952

Motion of AT&T to Affirm at 16-17. In this case, Microsoft, which has the

benefit of a stay, apparently sees value in delay.

17

This case, like the California and Maryland appeals,

clearly satisfies the Expediting Act’s “general public impor-

tance” standard. The district court has determined that

Microsoft, one of the Nation’s largest companies and the

dominant participant in the Intel-compatible PC operating

system market, has taken unlawful actions to maintain its

monopoly in that market. The court’s remedy will directly

impact competition in that important market and other

related sectors, which in turn will directly affect the

information-processing choices of virtually every computer

user, including virtually every business and governmental

entity, as well as hundreds of millions of consumers world-

wide. In addition, the pendency of the appeal will likely

affect Microsoft’s workforce and its relations with other

computer and software entities that form the burgeoning

high-technology sectors of the economy.“

Microsoft itself has acknowledged the significance of this

ease to the Nation’s economy. See, e. g., J.S. 28. Indeed,

Microsoft recently told the court of appeals that the district

court’s judgment may cause “the entire United States

economy [to] * * * suffer.” Microsoft Motion For Stay

Pending Appeal 37 (D.C. Cir. June 13, 2000) (No. 00-5212).

Recognizing “the exceptional importance” of the case, the

court of appeals took the extraordinary step of ordering en

banc consideration within an hour of the filing of Microsoft’s

notices of appeal. See J.S. 13; App. 311-312. To be sure, the

court of appeals has taken steps within its power to expedite

the appeal. But Congress has concluded that, in cases of

“general public importance,” those steps are not enough.

The Expediting Act provides a mechanism, beyond the mea-

15 See, e., Microsoft Memorandum in Support of Motion for Summary

Rejection of the Government’s Breakup Proposal 5-6 (May 10, 2000) (“Not

only may Microsoft lose irreplaceable employees, but third parties may be

unwilling to enter into routine business agreements with Microsoft while

its continued corporate existence remains in doubt”).

18

sures available to the court of appeals, that should be utilized

here.

Expedition is justified for a related reason as well. At the

same time that the district court certified the case as one of

general public importance, it also stayed its judgment pend-

ing appeal. App. 285. Prompt resolution of the appeal is

therefore critical to effective federal and state antitrust

enforcement. Microsoft steadfastly maintains that every-

thing it has done was legal, see App. 249, so it likely will

continue such conduct until the judgment goes into effect,

ibid. Delay will postpone, and likely complicate sub-

stantially, the restoration of competition in the affected high-

technology industries, which evolve at an extraordinary

pace. Moreover, prolonged uncertainty about the outcome of

this case creates significant inefficiencies. No firm in the

affected industries can confidently plan or commit resources

until it knows whether or when the final judgment will take

effect.

In sum, all agree—and the evidence establishes—that the

stakes in this case for the national economy are immense. If

this case does not qualify for direct review under the Ex-

pediting Act, it is difficult to imagine what future case

would.“

II. Microsoft's Contentions That The Court Should

Deny The Appeal, Despite Its Importance, Are

Unpersuasive

This case epitomizes the exceptionally important public

antitrust case for which Congress has preserved direct re-

view under the Expediting Act. For that reason alone, the

16 Indeed, Microsoft does not contest the practical importance of its

appeal. See J.S. 30. Rather, citing pre-1974 cases, Microsoft contends

(J.S. 24-29) that the Court should ignore—effectively nullify—the

amended statutory standard in a major category of cases to which the Act

undeniably applies, by adopting a general policy of denying all direct

appeals in contested cases under the Expediting Act.

4

19

Court should note probable jurisdiction. But even if the

Court accepts Microsoft’s invitation to look beyond the im-

portance of the case and the consequent need for immediate

resolution, Microsoft’s rationales for denying direct review

are not convincing. Microsoft essentially argues that this

ease is too legally and factually complex for this Court’s

review. J.S. 16-23. But this Court regularly decides complex

cases, and, from 1903 to 1974, the Court routinely decided all

such antitrust appeals. Congress has relieved the Court of

that routine chore. The Court will not be unduly burdened

by undertaking to resolve the singularly important appeal in

this case—the first such appeal in 17 years.

A. The Legal Issues Are Appropriate For Direct Appeal.

Microsoft argues that the legal issues it intends to raise are

too complex and numerous for direct review. J.S. 19-23.

Microsoft, however, overstates the complexity of this case,

underestimates this Court’s capabilities, and disregards the

responsibility of cownsel to “clear out”—rather than

cultivate—“procedural and factual underbrush” (J. S. 23).””

Viewed realistically, Microsoft’s appeal would require the

Court to make, at most, five inquiries: whether the district

court properly applied this Court’s antitrust decisions

respecting (1) monopoly maintenance, (2) attempted mono-

polization, and (3) tying; and whether the district court

7 The Court regularly deals with legal issues that involve complex

subject matter under its certiorari jurisdiction, e.g., AT&T Corp. v. Iowa

Utils. Bd., 525 U.S. 366 (1999) (validity of regulations implementing the

Telecommunications Act of 1996), and on direct appeal, e.g., United States

Dep't of Commerce v. Montana, 503 U.S. 442 (1992) (statistical techniques

for apportionment). Furthermore, Microsoft’s appeal—whether it pro-

ceeds in this Court or in the court of appeals—is unlikely to involve the

number of inquiries that Microsoft projects. See J.S. 21-23 (cataloguing a

non-exhaustive list of 19 issues). Imaginative appellate counsel can

compile a long list of possible issues in almost any case, but the appellate

process demands that counsel identify and limit themselves to questions

that are worthy of the appellate court’s consideration.

20

abused its discretion (4) in expediting the trial and admitting

evidence, and (5) in selecting a remedy. See J. S. i-ii.” This

Court is no less capable than the court of appeals of deciding

those matters. And unlike the court of appeals, this Court

can dispositively resolve the appeal and vindicate the

enormous public interest in swift resolution of the case.

1. The central issue in this case is whether Microsoft

violated Section 2 of the Sherman Act by engaging in a

course of exclusionary conduct to protect and maintain its

PC operating system monopoly. As this Court’s decisions

explain, the proscribed practice of monopolization is the

illful acquisition or maintenance of monopoly power by the

use of anticompetitive means “to foreclose competition, to

gain a competitive advantage, or to destroy a competitor.”

Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Servs., Inc., 504

U.S. 451, 482-483 (1992) (quoting United States v. Griffith,

334 U.S. 100, 107 (1948)). This Court has described such

conduct as “exclusionary” and “predatory.” Aspen Skiing

Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp., 472 U.S. 585, 602

(1985). If there are no “valid business reasons” for conduct

that tends to impair the opportunities of a monopolist’s

rivals, it is exclusionary. See Eastman Kodak, 504 U.S. at

483; Aspen, 472 U.S. at 605 & n.32 (quoting 3 Phillip Areeda

& Donald F. Turner, Antitrust Law 1 626b at 78 (1978)); see

also, e.g., Neumann v. Reinforced Earth Co., 786 F.2d 424,

427 (D.C. Cir.) (Bork, J.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 851 (1986).

The district court applied that standard (App. 6-8) to its

findings of fact (App. 51-246), which describe a textbook

example of monopoly maintenance (App. 9-21). See pp. 2-11,

18 Microsoft’s statement of the questions presented also includes a

challenge to the district court’s rejection of Microsoft's civil rights

counterclaim against the state attorneys general, App. 42-43, and its

suggestion that the district court’s decision should be reversed on the

basis of the judge’s statements to the press. J.S. i- ii. Although Microsoft

is free to raise those issues, they are not substantial questions that would

warrant any significant expenditure of a reviewing court’s time.

21

supra. The district court was accordingly correct in

concluding that Microsoft has violated Section 2. The

district court properly determined that Microsoft had

monopoly power in a relevant market. App. 3-6. The court

also concluded that Microsoft has engaged in a broad-

ranging course of predatory conduct in which Microsoft

sacrificed current wealth and opportunities to “perpetuate

the applications barrier to entry” that protected its mono-

poly power. See App. 6-21. The court’s decision on

monopoly maintenance cogently addresses the relevant

considerations and frames the issues for this Court’s review.

Indeed, the court explicitly addressed and rejected the

arguments respecting monopoly maintenance that Microsoft

proposes to raise on appeal. Its decision accordingly

provides a systematic guide for addressing those arguments

on appeal. App. 4-20.”

2. The district court’s monopoly maintenance ruling is

sufficient to establish liability and support all the relief in the

final judgment. The district court additionally ruled, how-

ever, that Microsoft has violated Section 2 of the Sherman

Act by unlawfully attempting to monopolize the market for

Web browsers. App. 21-24. The court correctly stated that

liability for attempted monopoly will attach if the plaintiff

proves: “(1) that the defendant has engaged in predatory or

anticompetitive conduct with (2) a specific intent to mono-

polize” and (3) that there is a “dangerous probability” that

the defendant will succeed in achieving monopoly power.

App. 21 (quoting Spectrum Sports, Inc. v. McQuillan, 506

U.S. 447, 456 (1993)). The court properly ruled that the

19 Compare J.S. 21-22 (raising questions of market definition, barriers

to entry, monopoly power, anticompetitive conduct, and causation), with

App. 4 (market definition); App. 5 (existence of the applications barrier to

entry); App. 5-6 (Microsoft’s possession of market power); App. 6-9

(definition of proscribed anticompetitive acts); App. 9-19 (description of

specific instances of anticompetitive conduct); App. 19-20 (identification of

Microsoft’s “single, well-coordinated course” of anticompetitive action).

22

plaintiffs proved each of those elements. App. 21-24. As in

the case of the monopoly maintenance claim, the court

addressed Microsoft’s specific objections, and the attempted

monopolization claim is therefore also well postured for this

Court’s review. App. 21-24.”

3. The district court also ruled, on another matter that is

not necessary to support the prescribed relief, that “Micro-

soft’s combination of Windows and [IE] by contractual and

technological artifices constitute[s] unlawful tying to the

extent that those actions forced Microsoft’s customers and

consumers to take [IE] as a condition of obtaining Windows.”

App. 25. The district court acknowledged that its conclusion

“is arguably at variance” with the court of appeals’ prior

decision in United States v. Microsoft Corp., 147 F.3d 935

(D.C. Cir. 1998). App. 25. But the court concluded that the

relevant passages of the court of appeals’ decision, which

dealt only with obligations under a consent decree, were

dicta and did not control this Sherman Act case. App. 26.

The court additionally concluded that this Court’s decisions

in Eastman Kodak and Jefferson Parish Hospital District

No. 2 v. Hyde, 466 U.S. 2 (1984), support its conclusion that

Microsoft unlawfully tied its products. App. 27-33. If Micro-

soft intends to dispute the district court’s understanding of

this Court’s decisions—or seeks a special exception from

those decisions—then this Court provides the proper forum

in which to address that matter. See, eg., Rodriguez de

Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477,

484 (1989).

4. Microsoft argues that the district court unduly expe-

dited the proceedings in this case and improperly admitted,

at the bench trial, hearsay evidence. J.S. 21. Resolution of

those matters would not significantly burden the Court. A

20 Compare J. S. 22 (raising questions respecting specific intent and

probability of success), with App. 21-22 (proof of specific intent); App. 22-

24 (proof of a “dangerous probability of success”).

23

“trial court is endowed with great discretion to make de-

cisions concerning trial schedules,” United States v. Taylor,

487 U.S. 326, 343 (1988), and Microsoft must demonstrate

that the court’s scheduling actions in this case amount to an

abuse of discretion. Microsoft has failed to identify an action

that would constitute an abuse.” Similarly, a judge does not

commit reversible error in admitting hearsay in a bench trial

unless the judge improperly relies on that evidence. See

United States v. Matlock, 415 U.S. 164, 175 (1974); Multi-

Medical Convalescent & Nursing Ctr. v. NLRB, 550 F.2d

974, 977 (4th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 835 (1977).

The district court stated repeatedly that it would assess

hearsay evidence to determine what weight, if any, to give it.

See, e.g., Tr. 10:9-11 (2/11/99 am); Tr. 5:21-24, 10:19-23

(1/25/99 pm); Tr. 4:21-5:3 (10/20/98 pm). In so doing, the

court acted well within its discretion. Microsoft has not

identified any finding of fact supported only by inadmissible

hearsay.

5. Microsoft’s proposed challenge to the district court’s

remedy (J.S. 11-12, 23) presents a matter that ought to be

decided by this Court, rather than the court of appeals, in

2 Microsoft objects that the district court limited discovery to five

months (J.S. 5-6, 21), but it is essential—if the antitrust laws are to be

enforced efficiently and effectively in high-technology industries—that

courts at all levels expedite important antitrust litigation. Microsoft has

specified no prejudice to it from the discovery schedule. The pre-trial

schedule was issued pursuant to a joint proposed scheduling order.

Scheduling Order at 2 (Aug. 20, 1998). The district court fixed no upper

limit to the number of interrogatories Microsoft could serve or depositions

it could take, Pretrial Order No. 1, at 2 (June 12, 1998), and Microsoft has

not explained how, in light of its virtually unlimited resources, its ability

to conduct discovery was constrained. Microsoft’s related assertion that

the district court permitted plaintiffs to “broaden their case dramatically”

(J.S. 21) simply ignores the complaint and the pretrial record. The Section

2 monopoly maintenance claim has been in the case from the outset, see,

e.g., Compl. 11 13, 36, 38, 98, 122, 138-139, and was the principal focus of

the government’s discovery and proof at trial.

24

light of the extraordinary public and private interests at

stake. The task is an important one, but it is facilitated, to a

considerable extent, by the applicable standard of review.

District courts “are invested with large discretion to model

their judgments to fit the exigencies of the particular case,”

International Salt Co. v. United States, 332 U.S. 392, 400-

401 (1947), and this Court has long held that it “will not

direct a recasting of the decree except on a showing of abuse

of discretion.” United States v. Crescent Amusement Co.,

323 U.S. 173, 185 (1944).”

In examining the remedy, the Court ‘would obtain con-

siderable assistance from the district court’s cogent and

thorough findings. The court found that Microsoft engaged

in a pattern of predatory activity directed at innovations

that threatened its monopoly. See App. 19-21. Its “cor-

porate practice [has been] to pressure other firms to halt

software development that either shows the potential to

2 The established standards for antitrust relief also provide guidance.

Relief in a Sherman Act case must (i) end the unlawful conduct, (ii)

prevent its recurrence, and (iii) undo its anticompetitive consequences.

See National Soc’y of Prof Eng’rs v. United States, 435 U.S. 679, 697

(1978); Ford Motor Co. v. United States, 405 U.S. 562, 573 (1972); United

States v. E. . du Pont de Nemours & Co., 366 U.S. 316, 326 (1961). The

district court unquestionably had power to order divestiture in this Sec-

tion 2 case. See, e.g., United States v. United Shoe Mach. Corp., 391 U.S.

244 (1968) (reversing denial of petition for divestiture). “[CJourts are

authorized, indeed required, to decree relief effective to redress the

violations, whatever the adverse effect of such a decree on private

interests.” du Pont, 366 U.S. at 326 (approving a divestiture). See

International Boxing Club v. United States, 358 U.S. 242, 255-256 (1959);

United States v. Paramount Pictures, Inc., 334 U.S. 131, 171-172 (1948).

The question before this Court with respect to structural relief is limited

to whether the district court abused its discretion in ordering a

divestiture. The judgment appropriately directs Microsoft to propose a

plan for the divestiture and leaves the details of that plan to future

proceedings. App. 254-257. See, e.g., Citizen Publ’g Co. v. United States,

394 U.S. 131, 135 (1969). 0

25

weaken the applications barrier to entry or competes di-

rectly with Microsoft’s most cherished software products.”

FF 93 (App. 89). The divestiture remedy limits OpsCo’s

ability to engage in that and other similar forms of anti-

competitive conduct, while giving AppsCo increased incen-

tives to offer applications that run on alternative operating

systems and to develop cross-platform middleware.

The divestiture remedy responds directly to the district

court’s finding of monopoly maintenance by weakening the

barrier to entry that Microsoft’s predatory practices main-

tained and creating an independent entity, AppsCo, well

positioned to renew the challenge to the operating system

monopoly that Microsoft’s restraints on Netscape and Java

suppressed. Moreover, it does so without the need for an

intrusive and cumbersome regulatory decree. The

transitional conduct restrictions, which expire when di-

vestiture is fully effective, are designed to address the

specific exclusionary strategies that Microsoft pursued or

similar strategies that may fairly be anticipated. Such

remedies also fall well within the district court’s discretion.

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 395 U.S.

100, 132 (1969).

B. The Factual Record Presents No Obstacle To Direct

Review. Microsoft argues that this Court should deny direct

appeal because Microsoft intends to raise numerous compli-

cated factus) issues” that will require the Court to “sift

through an extensive record.” J.S. 16-19. Microsoft’s pre-

3 Microsoft proposes to argue that the district court erred in entering

the final judgment without holding a new evidentiary hearing on remedy.

J.S. 23. That argument should not detain the Court. The court had

discretion to decide whether additional hearings were needed, and it was

entitled to conclude that the trial itself, which detailed the scope of the

antitrust violations, provided an adequate basis for determining the scope

of relief. The district court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to

accede to Microsoft's belated requests for further delay. See App. 248-

251.

26

diction, at the outset, is implausible. The district court trial

was the “main event” for purposes of determining disputed

facts. See Anderson, 470 U.S. at 575. The district court

made cogent and comprehensive factual findings based on

the evidence at trial. See App. 46-246. This Court has re-

peatedly emphasized that the “clear!y erroneous standard,”

which governs review of district cour’. factfinding, is highly

deferential. Anderson, 470 U.S. at 571-576. That standard,

by its own force, imposes inherent limits on the scope of fact-

based challenges in a case such as this.™

Even if Microsoft is inclined to raise record-based chal-

lenges, that prospect would provide no basis for declining

review. When Congress amended the Expediting Act, it was

well aware that the records in government civil antitrust

cases are frequently voluminous. S. Rep. No. 298, supra, at

8. Congress relieved the Court of the burden of routinely

reviewing trial records in government civil antitrust cases,

but it did so knowing that the Court would not shrink from

that task in cases of general public importance. This Court

has not been daunted by large antitrust records in exercising

its certiorari jurisdiction.” It is, of course, counsel’s respon-

sibility to relate their contentions to the portions of the

record that are pertinent. The Court’s task here is not

2 See, e.g., 470 U.S. at 574 (“Where there are two permissible views of

the evidence, the factfinder’s choice between them cannot be clearly

erroneous.”); id. at 575 (“{[WJhen a trial judge's finding is based on his

decision to credit the testimony of one of two or more witnesses, each of

whom has told a coherent and facially plausible story that fs not con-

tradicted by extrinsic evidence, that finding, if not internally inconsistent,

can virtually never be plain error.”).

2 See, e.g., Brooke Group Ltd. v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp.,

509 U.S. 209, 254 (1993) (Stevens, J., dissenting) (private antitrust action

involving “2,884 exhibits, 85 deposition excerpts, and testimony from 23

live witnesses”); Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475

U.S. 574, 577 (1986) (private antitrust action involving 217-page district

court decision and a 40-volume joint appendix in this Court).

27

onerous. The Court regularly reviews cases that rest on

factual records that are more challenging than this appeal

would present.“ Indeed, the Court regularly does so when

exercising its original jurisdiction, where the Court must act

as the ultimate finder of fact and review the evidence de

novo. See Colorado v. New Mexico, 467 U.S. 310, 317

(1984).”

To the extent Microsoft elects to challenge the district

court’s findings, the Court should encounter no difficulty in

applying the clearly erroneous standard. The district court

has distilled the record into clear and well-organized findings

of fact that provide a detailed roadmap of its reasoning. See

App. 46-246; Add. A, infra.” The clearly erroneous stan-

See, e., United States v. Fordice, 505 U.S. 717, 725 (1992) (deseg-

regation suit based on testimony of 71 witnesses and 56,700 pages of

exhibits); American Textile Mfrs. Inst. v. Donovan, 452 U.S. 490, 501

(1981) (challenge to OSHA “Cotton Dust” standards, which were based on

a highly technical 105,000-page administrative record).

27 For example, in United States v. Alaska, 521 U.S. 1(1997), the Court

decided a federal-state dispute over the location of Alaska's entire

northern coast line, relying on a 565-page Special Master's report and a

voluminous record that embraced a series of complex trials that began in

1980 and continued through 1986. In Kansas v. Colorado, 514 U.S. 673

(1995), the Court decided an interstate dispute over use of the Arkansas

River, relying on a 459-page Special Master’s report and a record,

compiled over 141 trial days, that included a 19,735-page trial transcript

and more than 2000 exhibits. Each of those cases involved highly technical

factual and legal issues. In each instance, upon receiving the Master's

report, the Court nevertheless considered the briefs, heard oral argument,

and issued its opinion in the course of a single Term. Contrary to

Microsoft’s suggestion (J.S. 26-27), there is no reason to think that the

Court cannot likewise resolve this case in a single Term.

8 Microsoft complains that the court’s findings do not cite to record

evidence (J.S. 19), but courts are required to make findings of fact, not to

cite evidence. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a); see also Amadeo v. Zant, 486 U.S.

214, 228 (1988). The absence of record citations poses no obstacle to

review because the party challenging a particular finding must identify

the evidence on which it relies to show clear error. See, e., United States

dard is extremely demanding, and Microsoft’s examples

of purported error—which are presumably its strongest

examples—do not come close to satisfying the test. See

Anderson, 470 U.S. at 573- 576.”

C. Postponing This Court’s Review To Permit Review By

The Court Of Appeals Would Not Promote The Admini-

stration Of Justice. Microsoft argues (J.S. 23-24, 29) that

v. United States Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 392-399 & nn.15-17 (1948)

(reviewing, with no evident difficulty, findings of fact lacking record

citations).

29 Microsoft asserts (J. S. 18) that no “probative evidence” supports the

district court’s finding that “Microsoft has largely succeeded in exiling

Navigator from the crucial OEM distribution channel.” FF 239 (App. 159-

160). The court, however, explicitly relied on a Microsoft document re-

porting that Navigator was being shipped through only four of the sixty

OEM sub-channels. /bid.; see GX 421.

Contrary to Microsoft’s contention (J.S. 18), the court’s further finding

that “Navigator was present on the desktop of only a tiny percentage of

PCs that OEMs were shipping,” FF 239 (App. 160), is supported not only

by the evidence from Microsoft's own document that Navigator is shipped

through only four OEM sub-channels, GX 421, but also by the testimony of

Franklin Fisher. Tr. 7:20-8:10, 11:15-12:10 (1/7/99 am) Tr. 42:15-21 (6/3/99

am). Microsoft ignores that evidence and cites a single document, con-

taining an estimate that Navigator was included in “22% of OEM

shipments.” J.S. 18. But that estimate, which expressly states that Navi-

gator shipments were “with minimal promotion,” see GX 2440, does not

reflect shipments in which Navigator is “on the desktop” rather than

shipped “in a manner much less likely to lead to usage than if its icon

appeared on the desktop.” FF 239 (App. 159-160); see also GX 2116

(sealed).

Microsoft additionally asserts that “no probative evidence” supports

the district court’s finding (FF 161 (App. 122)) that “Microsoft bound

Internet Explorer to Windows 98” by commingling code specific to Web

browsing with code that provides operating system functions. J.S. 18.

Microsoft relies on testimony of its Senior Vice President James Allchin

that there is no code specific to Web browsing in Windows 98 (J.S. 19), but

on cross-examination Allchin admitted that Windows 98 contains code

used only to browse the Web. Tr. 65:10-67:25 (2/2/99 am); see also Tr.

60:15-25 (12/14/98 am) (testimony of Edward Felten).

direct review is inappropriate because the court of appeals

should be entitled to weigh in on this case. That argument

disregards the purpose of the Expediting Act, which, “as its

very title indicates, is to eliminate piecemeal appeals and to

bring to the Supreme Court expeditiously, the entire case

without intervening appeals to the Courts of Appeals.“ JBM

Corp. v. United States, 480 F. 2d 293, 296 (2d Cir. 1973), cert.

denied, 416 U.S. 980 (1974). A litigant in federal court is

normally entitled to only one appeal as of right. The Ex-

pediting Act reflects Congress’s considered judgment that,

when a government antitrust case presents an issue of

“general public importance to the administration of justice,”

that appeal should take place in this Court.

Congress wisely preserved the Court’s availability to hear

cases of “general public importance” because it recognized

that only this Court can ensure expeditious resolution of the

appeal. If the Court accepts direct review in this case, it can

surely complete the review process within the 2000 Term.

See note 27, supra. If the Court declines, then the timing of

a final resolution will be beyond any single court’s control.

The proceedings in the court of appeals are likely to consume

at least as much time as proceedings in this Court, and the

case is virtually certain to return to this Court on petition for

a writ of certiorari. As a result, the final resolution of the

appeal would likely be delayed by at least one year.

The district court, which commendably expedited the trial

proceedings, certified this case for direct review in light of

its awareness that a lengthy appeals process could irrepa-

rably harm competition in a vital and rapidly evolving sector

of the national economy. The United States agrees. This

Court alone has the authority, and therefore the responsi-

bility, to ensure that the public interest is not harmed and

that justice is not denied through delay.”

0 Microsoft argues (J.S. 27) that the presence of the State plaintiffs

provides a reason to deny the direct appeal under the Expediting Act. At

30

CONCLUSION

The Court should note probable jurisdiction and set the

case for briefing and argument.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General

JOEL I. KLEIN

Assistant Attorney General

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE

Deputy Solicitor General

A. DOUGLAS MELAMED

Deputy Assistant Attorney

General

JEFFREY P. MINEAR

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

CATHERINE G. O’SULLIVAN

Attorney

AUGUST 2000

Microsoft's request, the district court consolidated the States’ case with

that of the United States “for all purposes” (Order (May 22, 1998)). There

was a single trial, a single set of findings of fact, a single set of conclusions

of law, and a single final judgment from which this appeal is taken.

Although the States alleged violations of state antitrust laws, the district

court applied Sherman Act standards. App. 39-40. In these circumstances,

the States may be deemed “parties to the proceeding” and “[pjarties

interested * * * in the judgment.” Sup. Ct. R. 18.2. In any event, as a

precautionary measure, the States intend to file a petition for certiorari

before judgment in this case. Thus, if the Court concludes that it may lack

jurisdiction over the state-related aspects of the appeal, it can either grant

the petition or hold it pending resolution of the appeal and thereby avert

any danger of redundant or inconsistent proceedings in the court of

appeals. See Gay v. Ruff, 292 U.S. 25, 30 (1934); Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S.

113, 123 (1973); Clinton v. New York, 524 U.S. 417, 455 (1998) (Scalia, J.,

concurring and dissenting in part).

ADDENDUM A

Index to the Appendix to the

Jurisdictional Statement in

Microsoft Corporation v. United States,

No. 00-139

Conclusions of law ...... —

I. Section Two of the Sherman Ae . *

A. Maintenance of monopoly power by anti-

competitive means —

1. Monopoly power . . . . . . . .

2. Maintenance of monopoly power by anti-

competitive means —

a. Combating the browser threat —

i. The OEM channel . . . .

li. The IAP channel . .

iii. IC Ps, ISVs and Apple .

b. Combating the Java threat

e. Microsoft’s conduct taken as a whole

B. Attempting to obtain monopoly power ina

second market by anticompetitive means

II. Section One of the Sherman Act

A. Tying . —ꝛů— —

B. Exclusive dealing arrangements

III. The state law claims . .

—ͤ ¹ 22¹ͤ W eee

II. The relevant market —

A. Demand substitutability . . .

1. Server operating systems —

2. Non- Intel- compatible PC operating

— — — —

3. Information appliances . . .

4. Network computers q

(la)

2a

ADDENDUM A—Continued:

III.

IV. The middleware threats

V.

5. Server-based computing generally

6. Middleware a

B. The possibility of supply responses ............

Microsoft’s power in the relevant market .

A. Market share

B. The applications barrier to entry .

1. Description of the applications barrier

to entr7uuu——æ—•õůõ—2w.. .... ...—ͤ.—: ...

2. Empirical evidence of the applications

barrier to entry —

2 082 92629 Ä—X——

b. The Mae 06 ....ccccccscscscccsccscscscsessersssees

e. Fringe operating systems

3. Open-source applications development .

4. Cloning the 32-bit Windows APIs

Viable alternatives to Windows

Price restraint posed by Microsoft’s

installed base

Price restraint posed by piracy

Price restraint posed by long-term

threats

Significance of Microsoft’s innovation

. Microsoft’s pricing behavior

. Microsoft’s actions toward other firms

nme Bm OF

A. The Netscape Web browser ..

B. Sun’s implementation of the Java

techno 2 —j—— —

C. Other middleware threats ———

Microsoft's response to the browser threat .....

A. Microsoft’s attempt to dissuade Netscape

from developing Navigator as a

platform —

3a

ADDENDUM A—Continued:

B. Withholding crucial technical

information

C. The similar experiences of other firms in

dealing with Microsoft

1. Intel

2. Apple

3. RealNetworks

4. IBM

D. Developing competitive Web browsing

software

E. Giving Internet Explorer away and

rewarding firms that helped build its

usage share

F. Excluding Navigator from ——

distribution channels

1. The importance of the OEM ond IAP

channels

2. Excluding Navigator from the OEM

channel

a. Binding Internet Explorer to Win- ö

dows

i. The status of Web browsers as

separate products

ii. Microsoft’s actions

iii. Lack of justification

iv. The market for Web browsing

functionality ..........

b. Preventing OEMs from removing

the ready means of accessing

Internet Explorer and from

promoting Navigator in the

Q

S 388 8

1

85

110

114

115

117

117

117

119

128

138

139

4a

ADDENDUM A—Continued:

e. Pressuring OEMs to promote

Internet Explorer and to not

pre · install or promote Navigator

d. The effect of Microsoft's actions in

the OEM channel

3. Exeluding Navigator from the IAP

channel

a. The Internet Explorer access kit

agreements

b. The referral server agreements .......

e. The online services folder agree-

ments —

14 2

ii. Other online services :

d. Effect of Microsoft’s actions in the

IAP channel

4. Inducing ICPs to enhance Internet

Explorer’s usage share at Navigator’s

expense LL

5. Directly inducing ISVs to rely on

Microsoft’s browsing technologies

rather than APIs Sar by

Navigator

6. Foreclosing Apple as a » distribution

channel for Navigator...

G. Mierosoft's success in excluding Navigator

from the channels that lead most efficiently

to browser usage .—œõ:ö

H. The success of Microsoft's effort to

maximize Internet Explorer’s usage

share at Navigator’s expense.

1. The change in the usage shares of

Internet Explorer and Navigator

219

219

5a

ADDENDUM A- Continued:

2. The cause of the change in usage

shares

I. The success of Microsoft’s effort te protect ö

the applications barrier to entry from the

threat posed by Navigator

VI. Microsoft’s response to the threat posed by

Sun’s implementation of Java

A. Creating a Java implementation for

Windows that undermined portability and

was incompatible with other implementa-

tions

B. Inducing developers to use the Microsoft. 8

implementation of Java rather than Sun-

compliant implementations . . ..

C. Thwarting the expansion of the Java elass

c ͤ ;¶Ä Ä [

D. The effeet of Mierosoft's efforts to prevent

Java from diminishing the applications

barrier to entry

VII. The effect on consumers of Microsoft’s efforts to

protect the applications barrier to entry

Memorandum and Order

Final Judgment

Notice of appeal (No. 98-1232) ..

Notice of appeal (No. 98-1233) :

Order (Nos. 98-1232, 98-1233) . . . . . 5

Statutory provisions involved . .

.

Order (No. 98-1233

SOOTHE TORE HEE EOOS

—

8

8

8

=

L88888 8

S w

— —

do —

7a

ADDENDUM B

Glossary of Frequently Used Terms

API

IAP

IE

Intel-

compatible PC

Internet

Java

Application programming interface. APIs

“exposed” by a computer program, such

as an operating system or middleware,

provide other computer programs with

means of access to blocks of code that per-

form particular tasks, such as displaying

text on the computer screen. FF 2 (App.

47).

Internet access provider. IAPs, such as

America Online and MindSpring, provide

computer users with access to the Inter-

net. FF 15 (App. 50).

Internet Explorer, Microsoft’s Web brow-

ser. FF 17 (App. 51).

A PC designed to use a microprocessor in,

or compatible with, Intel’s 80x86/Pentium

microprocessor family. FF 3 (App. 47).

A global electronic network of computers.

FF 11 (App. 49).

A programming language and related

middleware that enable applications writ-

ten in that language to run on different

operating systems. FF 73 (App. 80).

JVM

Middleware

Navigator

OEM

Operating

System

PC

Platform

Web

8a

Java Virtual Machine, a program that

translates a Java-coded program into

instructions that the operating system can

understand and thus allows applications

written in Java programming language to

run on the operating system for which the

JVM was written. FF 73 (App. 80).

Software that relies on the APIs provided

by the operating system on which it runs,

but also exposes its own APIs. FF 28

(App. 57).

Netscape Communications Corp.’s Web

browser. FF 17 (App. 50-51).

Original equipment manufacturer. FF 10

(App. 49). In this brief, a manufacturer of

PCs.

A software program that controls the

allocation and use of computer resources.

FF 2 (App. 47).

Personal computer. FF 1 (App. 47).

Software that exposes APIs. FF 2 (App.

47).

The World Wide Web; a collection of dig-

ital information resources stored on

servers throughout the Internet. FF 12

(App. 49).

Web Brower

(or Browser)

Windows

9a

Software that enables a user to select,

retrieve, and perceive resources on the

Web. FF 16 (App. 50). In this brief, the

term “browser” by itself means “Web

browser.”

A family of software packages produced

by Microsoft, each including an operating

system. The principal members of this

family for purposes of this case are Win-

dows 95, Windows 98, and successors,

which include operating systems for Intel-

compatible PCs. FF 6-8 (App. 48-49).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.