Amicus Curiae Brief — Alexander v. Sandoval

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

DEC (2 26ee

No. 99-1908

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

JAMES ALEXANDER, in his official capacity as the

Director of the Alabama Department of Public Safety, and the

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY,

Petitioners,

V

MARTHA SANDOVAL, /ndividually and on

Behalf of All Others Similarly Situated,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF FOR NATIONAL WOMEN’S LAW CENTER,

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY

WOMEN, AMERICAN JEWISH COMMITTEE, et al.,

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

(Additional Amici Listed Inside)

MARCIA D. GREENBERGER GEORGE W. JONES, JR.*

VERNA L. WILLIAMS JACQUELINE G. COOPER

LESLIE T. ANNEXSTEIN SIDLEY & AUSTIN

NATIONAL WOMEN’S LAW 1722 Eye St, N.|W

CENTER Washington, D.C 20006

11 Dupont Circle, N.W., (202) 736-8000

Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 588-5180

Counsel for Amici

December 13, 2000 * Counsel of Record

WiLSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. - (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether disparate impact regulations adopted by federal

agencies to effectuate Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

are enforceable by private litigants in actions for declaratory

and injunctive relief?

(i)

ii

ADDITIONAL AMICI

Anti-Defamation League

Connecticut Women’s Education And Legal Fund, Inc.

Council Of The Great City Schools

Girls Incorporated

National Organization For Women Foundation

National Partnership For Women & Families

Now Legal Defense And Education Fund

Title IX Advocacy Project

Trial Lawyers For Public Justice, P.C.

Women Employed

Women’s Law Project

Women’s Sports Foundation

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pye |)

a iinnenne

B. PROCEEDINGS BELOW. 2...

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .......... a ashidenanineeiin a

1. THE PRIVATE RIGHT OF ACTION TO

ENFORCE TITLE VI OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS

ACT OF 1964 AND THE DISPARATE

IMPACT REGULATIONS ARE WELL-

ESTABLISHED ELEMENTS OF _ THE

FEDERAL CIVIL RIGHTS ENFORCEMENT

EE LE

A. The Private Right Of Action To Enforce Title

VI Against D oth Public And Private Recipients

Of Federal Financial Assistance Is Well-

i csovcsncccncnens

B. The Disparate Impact Regulations Are Valid

And Well-Established......00.00.00ooooooon.

Il. THE DISPARATE IMPACT REGULATIONS

CAN BE ENFORCED IN A PRIVATE RIGHT

OF ACTION FOR EQUITABLE RELIEF. ........

(iii)

10

10

10

14

IV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—continued

Page

Ill. FULL PRIVATE ENFORCEMENT OF THE

CIVIL RIGHTS LAWS IS ESSENTIAL TO

PROVIDE EQUAL OPPORTUNITY. ................ 26

SEI ccencesncecsssesnccsosensseresvbiunpanncaanenvensnonsiionts 29

APPENDIX A... aelesahes la

Fe tacctvcctetrinnstnnnesecsenmemmesinamepinnndusiniale 8a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Alexander v. Choate, 469 U.S. 287 (1985)....4, 5, 15, 19

Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S. 416 (1977) ............ 15

Blessing v. Freestone, 520 U.S. 329 (1997) ... 14, 22, 23

Boulahanis v. Bd. of Regents, 198 F.3d 633 (7th

Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct. 2762 ;

ES ee an ee a eee One To 25

Bryan v. Koch, 627 F.2d 612 (2d Cir. 1980)... 12, 18, 25

Buchanan v. City of Bolivar, 99 F.3d 1352 (6th

SI TIIUTTIsentcnscaiicenieididemnineniaiientmtenstinniinidieiiiadbeniaiiatias 12, 25

Burton v. City of Belle Glade, 178 F.3d 1175

RE rete ern a 25

Cannon v. Univ. of Chicago, 441 US. 677

REE ee SNE eee nee eee passim

Castaneda v. Pickard, 781 F.2d 456 (Sth Cir.

i i cas al oa ae 25

Cent. Bank v. First Interstate Bank, 511 U.S. 164

EEE EES easeeioneatentrorancomeee 21

Chrysler Corp v. Brown, 441 U.S. 281 (1979) ...... 15

Cureton v. NCAA, 37 F. Supp. 2d 687 (E.D. Pa.),

rev'd on jurisdictional grounds, 198 F.3d 107

I er eae 28

David K. v. Lane, 839 F.2d 1265 (7th Cir. 1988)... 25

In re Employment Discrimination Litig. Against

the State of Ala., 198 F.3d 1305 (11th Cir.

LAL TAA EIT 17

Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 US. 185

ae 21

Ferguson v. City of Charleston, 186 F.3d 469 (4th

Cir. 1999), cert. granted, 120 S. Ct. 1239

REESE es oe a ee 25

Franklin vy. Gwinnett County Pub. Sch., 503 U.S.

i 12, 13

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page

Gebser v. Lago Vista Indep. Sch. Dist., 524 U.S.

IIIT insssicsinasabeeniiceniibcchsiitidenanidasiniaiiten 9, 16, 20, 25, 26

Georgia State Conference of Branches of NAACP

v. Georgia, 775 F.2d 1403 (11th Cir. 1985)....... 25

Grove City Coll. v. Bell, 465 U.S. 555 (1984)....... 19

Guardians Ass'n vy. Civil Serv. Comm'n, 463 U.S.

ere: errr nan passim

Indianapolis Minority Contractors Ass'n v. Wiley,

187 F.3d 743 (7th Cir. 1999) .......................02.. 25

Larry P. v. Riles, 793 F.2d 969 (9th Cir. 1984) ..... 25

Latinos Unidos de Chelsea en Accion (LUCHA)

v. Sec'y of Hous. & Urban Dev., 799 F.2d 774

EE See eo On ER 25

Lau v. Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974) ..00000. 4, 25

Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. Nat'l Sea

Clammers Ass'n, 453 U.S. 1 (1981).......... edie 23

New York Urban League, Inc. vy. New York, 7\

F.3d 1031 (2d Cir. 1995S)...........000. ee. 12, 18, 26

North Haven Bd. of Educ. v. Bell, 456 U.S. 512

Cece eeenres ee nese 19, 20, 25

Pennhurst State Sch. & Hosp. v. Halderman, 451

Se riaiiiacaicieai bless iastsinlaeaailiensclinse 9, 25

Powell v. Ridge, 189 F.3d 387 (3rd Cir. 1999)... 25

Quarles v. Oxford Mun. Separate Sch. Dist., 868

PE EY ER aneeceenecnnsinpeniacennennninenane 25

Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke, 438 US.

I canal tai acadaadieaatiaianctael 23, 24, 25

Sharif v. New York State Educ. Dep't, 709 F.

Supp. 345 (S.D.N_Y. 1989)... 28

Smith v. Robinson, 468 U.S. 992 (1984)....000000...... 22

Square D Co. v. Niagara Frontier Tariff Bureau,

Inc., 476 U.S. 409 (1986) .................0 eee. 20

Suter v. Artist M, 503 U.S. 347 (1992).................. 22

United States v. O'Hagan, 521 U.S. 642 (1997)... 15, 21

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page

United States vy. LULAC, 793 F.2d 636 (Sth Cir.

Sirti cineca dint dieddenihlinelieiteateinseaatae 12, 25

Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229 (1976) ........... 17

Wilder v. Virginia Hosp. Ass'n, 496 U.S. 498

ERT SCH ENe ne eon Me eee eee ae 22, 23

Wright v. City of Roanoke Redev. & Hous. Auth.,

eve 22, 23

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987, Pub. L.

i Te 14

20 U.S.C. § 1617 (repealed 1979) 00... 13

een 2

Se ee 2,7

REE ne ae ae eR 13

Sr ee re ee 10

EIST PARTE 3

a EER ee eee 15

EEE SEE ENON Ae er eon are 12

RE AR aces ven nat nenrOUS Ir 27

ha adidas da iacal aaa 27

Tae ee ae 27

| ESTE Sen ne me 27

| SE aS eE ae ee aoe 27

40 Fed. Reg. 24128 (June 4, 1975)... 19

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

Civil Rights Act of 1984: Hearings on S. 2568

Before the Subcomm. on the Const. of the

Senate Comm. on the Judiciary, 98th Cong.

EASELS SEM ASME Ree ee 20, 24

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page

Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1985: Joint

Hearings on H.R. 700 Before the House Comm.

on Educ. & Labor and the Subcomm. on Civil

& Const. Rights of the House Comm. on the

Judiciary, 99th Cong. (1985) ooo... ee, 24

S. Rep. No. 94-1011 (1976) ooo... 14

H.R. Rep. No. 98-829, pt. 1 (1984) 00, 14, 20

130 Cong. Rec. 27935 (1984) (Sen. Kennedy) ...... 20

134 Cong. Rec. 42567 (1988) (Sen. Hatch)........... 25

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Nat’! Advisory Council on Women’s Educ.

Programs, Jitle 1X: The Half Full, Half Empty

SE I oi cncndatinsinsibiandiiniedianan a 28

Nat’! Coalition for Women and Girls in Educ.,

Title IX at 25: Report Card on Gender Equity

| TELE SG Nene ee A ne ery SARA 28, 29

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

Amici curiae are organizations committed to the

elimination of discrimination on the basis of gender, race, or

national origin through effective enforcement of the civil

rights laws. Amici submit this brief to address the important

issue of whether disparate impact regulations adopted to

effectuate Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 are

privately enforceable in actions for declaratory and injunctive

relief. Descriptions of amici and their membership are set

forth in Appendix A.

STATEMENT

A. FACTUAL BACKGROUND.

Until 1991, Alabama — like almost every other State -

administered the written portion of its driver’s license exam

in several foreign languages. During this time, as officials of

the Alabama Department of Public Safety (“the Department”)

testified, the Department did not experience any significant

problems in administering the foreign language examinations,

either in terms of the costs of doing so or the integrity of the

exam process. Pet. App. 168a. Translations of the exami-

nation into foreign languages were produced at no cost to the

Department, and the Department undertook to develop new

foreign language examinations if the demand was great

enough. /d. Nor was there any evidence that non-English

speaking drivers in Alabama posed a greater safety risk than

English-speaking drivers. /d. at 168a-169a.

' No counsel for any party authored this brief either in whole or in part,

and no persons other than the amici curiae and their counsel made any

monetary contribution to its preparation or submission. The parties’

written consents to the filing of this brief have been filed with the Clerk of

the Court.

2

This long-standing practice abruptly ended following the

ratification in 1990 of Amendment 509 to the Alabama

Constitution, which establishes English as the official lan-

guage of the State and requires officials of the State to “take

all steps necessary to insure that the role of English as the

common language of the state of Alabama is preserved and

enhanced.” Pursuant to Amendment 509, the Department

adopted an English-only policy with respect to the driver’s

licensing process, requiring all phases of the process,

including the written exam, to be conducted in English. Non-

English speaking applicants taking the exam are not allowed

to use translators, translation dictionaries, or other interpretive

aids. Pet. App. 170a-171a.

At the same time that Alabama requires non-English

speaking applicants to take the written exam in English, it

“render[s] substantial aid, and provide[s] substantial assis-

tance above and beyond the standard examination procedure

for illiterate and handicapped English speaking applicants.”

Pet. App. 175a. For example, the Department administers

oral examinations for illiterate applicants and administers

videotaped sign language examinations for hearing-impaired

applicants. /d at 179a-180a. In addition, Alabama allows

non-English speakers who hold valid driver’s licenses from

other States or foreign countries to either drive in Alabama

with their foreign licenses, or exchange them for Alabama

licenses without taking either the written or performance

exam. /d. at 185a.

B. PROCEEDINGS BELOW.

The instant suit was filed against the Department and its

Director on December 31, 1996 by Martha Sandoval, on her

own behalf and as representative of the class of Alabama

residents who are otherwise qualified to obtain a driver’s

license but cannot do so because they are net sufficiently

fluent in English. The plaintiffs asserted claims under 42

U.S.C. §§ 1981 & 1983, the Equal Protection Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment, and Title VI of the Civil Rights Act

3

of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000d, ef seg., and its implementing

regulations, alleging that the Department’s English-only

policy with respect to the driver’s licensing process violated

their right to be free from discrimination on the basis of

national origin. They sought a judgment declaring the

Department’s policy to be unlawful and unconstitutional and

an injunction prohibiting its enforcement.

After a bench trial, the District Court ruled in plaintiffs’

favor. In addressing various threshold issues, the District

Court rejected defendants’ argument that plaintiffs lacked a

private right of action to enforce Title VI’s disparate impact

regulations. Pet. App. 82a-117a.

On the merits, the District Court held that the Department's

English-only policy had a disparate impact on the basis of

national origin.’ It entered an injunction prohibiting the

Department’s enforcement of the English-only policy pursu-

ant to Title VI and ordered the Department “in conjunction —

with the Plaintiffs, [to] fashion proposed policies and

practices for the accommodation of Alabama’s non-English

speaking residents who seek Alabama driver’s licenses.” Pet.

App. 252a-253a.

The Eleventh Circuit affirmed the District Court’s ruling

that there is an implied private cause of action to enforce

disparate impact regulations promulgated pursuant to Title

VI? The court of appeals noted that it had recognized an

? At trial, the District Court granted the defendants’ motion for

judgment as a matter of law on plaintiffs’ claims of intentional

discrimination “with the full agreement of the Plaintiffs.” Pet. App. 247a.

The District Court also granted defendants’ motion for summary judgment

on plaintiffs’ Section 1981 claims on the ground that they were

duplicative of their Section 1983 claims. Pet. App. Sa-Ga;, buf see

Sandoval Brief in Opposition to Petition for Certiorari at 3 (noting that

district court “ultimately reserved ruling on ... Equal Protection” claim).

* The Eleventh Circuit also rejected the State’s arguments that the

instant lawsuit is barred by the Eleventh Amendment and that the District

4

implied private cause of action to enforce Title VI disparate

impact regulations in three prior cases. Pet. App. 38a-40a. It

further noted that its position was consistent with that of at

least eight other courts of appeals. /d. at 40a-4la. Although

acknowledging that this Court “has yet to squarely answer the

question,” it concluded that a “close reading” of Law v.

Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974), Guardians Association v. Civil

Service Commission of New York, 463 U.S. 582 (1983), and

Alexander vy. Choate, 469 U.S. 287 (1985), “necessarily

establishe[d] several holdings logically supporting an implied

private cause of action under section 602 of Title VI.” Pet.

App. at 42a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I.

This Court should reject Petitioners’ invitation to disrupt

settled law in two significant areas of federal civil rights

enforcement. In the 36 years since Title VI of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964 was enacted, both the private right of

action to enforce § 601 of the Act against public as well as

private recipients of federal financial assistance and the

disparate impact regulations adopted to “effectuate” § 601

have become well-established elements of the federal civil

rights enforcement scheme.

Since this Court’s decision in Cannon v. University of

Chicago, 441 U.S. 677 (1979), the availability of a federal

court private right of action to enforce the federal nghts

created by § 601 against both public and private recipients of

federal financial assistance has been firmly established. In

the three decades since Title VI was enacted, Congress

consistently has acted on the premise that a federal court

private right of action to enforce the federal rights created

Court erred in concluding, on the merits, that the State’s English-only

policy for driver’s license exams has a disparate impact on the basis of

national origin. Those rulings are not at issue here.

—_ —_——— _ -

5

under § 601 was available. In enacting Title IX of the

Education Amendments of 1972, Congress acted on the

premise that there was a private right of action under Title VI.

Section 718 of the Education Amendments of 1972, which

authorized federal courts to award attorney’s fees in private

actions against public education agencies “explicitly

presumes the availability of private suits to enforce Title VI in

the education context.” Cannon, 441 US. at 699 & n.26.

The Civil Rights Attorneys Fees Act of 1976 authorizes an

award of attorneys fees to prevailing parties in actions to

enforce Title VI. The Rehabilitation Act Amendments of

1986, which abrogate the States’ Eleventh Amendment

immunity under Title VI and other civil rights statutes,

confirm the availability of a private right of action to enforce

Title VI against State recipients of federal financial

assistance. Finally, throughout the debates on the legislation

that became the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987,

Congress confirmed its understanding and acceptance of the

well-established private right of action to enforce Title VI

against recipients of federal financial assistance.

The disparate impact regulations have been a part of the

civil rights enforcement scheme almost from the beginning.

Those regulations are reasonable, properly adopted pursuant

to an express delegation of authority to “effectuate” § 601,

and have the force and effect of law. See Alexander, 469 U.S.

at 293 (explaining the Court’s previous holding that “Title VI

itself directly reached only instances of intentional

discrimination,“ but “actions having an unjustifiable disparate

impact on minorities could be redressed through agency

regulations designed to implement the purposes of Title VI’).

Congress expressly authorized federal agencies to adopt

appropriate regulations to “effectuate” § 601 of Title VI. This

Court has concluded that §601 directly reaches only

intentional discrimination. As a condition of federal financial

assistance, however, the agency disparate impact regulations

impose limited obligations reasonably necessary to effectuate

6

§ 601. Direct proof of intentional discrimination is seldom

available, and the distinction between intentional discrimi-

nation and “disparate impact” is not always clear. A policy or

practice that disproportionately and adversely affects a racial

or ethnic group, adopted with knowledge of its likely

disparate effects, may evidence intentional discrimination.

Absent sufficient justification, knowing adoption of a policy

or practice that produces discriminatory effects might well

support an inference of intentional discrimination.

Given the difficulties of proving intentional discrimination

without direct evidence, there is a risk that some intentional

discrimination will remain concealed. For this reason, it is

reasonable for federal agencies to require recipients of

financial assistance to avoid unjustified practices that have the

effect of discriminating on the basis of race, color, or national

origin. In effect, the regulations require recipients of federal

financial assistance to steer clear of any policy or practice that

approaches intentional discrimination of the sort directly

proscribed by §601 as a condition of receiving federal

financial assistance. No State is required to accept federal

financial assistance. If a State chooses to do so, however, the

disparate impact regulations impose reasonable obligations to

effectuate the requirements of § 601. The regulations create

an appropriate margin of safety to assure that federal tax

dollars are not used to finance programs that effectively

exclude participation on the basis of race, color, or national

origin.

Shortly after Title VI was enacted, the Department of

Justice, which participated in drafting Title VI, also drafted

model regulations reflecting its contemporaneous view of the

conditions appropriate to effectuate §601. The model

regulations incorporated a disparate impact standard. Federal

agencies responsible for administering financial assistance

programs promptly adopted regulations to implement Title VI

based on the model regulations, which incorporated the

disparate impact standard. In the intervening three decades,

j

effectuating regulations adopted throughout the Executive

Branch of the federal government have incorporated the

disparate impact standard. In consideration of federal finan-

cial assistance under a host of programs, public and private

recipients voluntarily have assumed a duty to comply with the

disparate impact regulations by avoiding unnecessary

practices or policies that have the effect of discriminating on

the basis of race, color, or national origin.

For decades, Congress has acquiesced in the disparate

impact regulations adopted to effectuate Title VI as well as

the parallel language of Title IX relating to discrimination on

the basis of sex. In 1975, Congress considered disparate

impact regulations proposed to effectuate Title IX. Pursuant

to a statutorily prescribed “laying before” procedure, the

regulations implementing Title IX were submitted to

Congress for review before they became effective. Congress

permitted the Title IX disparate impact regulations to become

effective without change. Similarly, during consideration of

legislation that became the Civil Rights Restoration Act of

1987, opponents of the legislation argued that broadening the

reach of Title VI and Title IX would have far-reaching

consequences precisely because of the disparate impact

regulations. Yet, Congress took no action to limit the

regulations or disapprove them as inappropriate conditions for

federal financial assistance. )

Disparate impact regulations can be enforced in a private

right of action for equitable relief. The standard for determin-

ing whether federal regulations can be enforced in a private

right of action implied under Title VI should be no more

stringent than that used for determining whether such

regulations can be enforced in an express private right of

action under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

Whether the private right of action is express, as under

§ 1983, or implied under Title VI, Congress has provided a

8

remedy authorizing a person to seek enforcement of Title VI

rights in & federal court. For that reason, the separation of

powers issues raised by implying a private right of action in

the first instance are not implicated in this case, and there is

no question of jurisdiction or judicial power. Here, the issue

is simply whether the disparate impact regulations can be

enforced in the private right of action that Congress has

authorized.

If the disparate impact regulations create federal rights

enforceable under Title VI, they should be presumptively

enforceable in a private right of action that Congress has

authorized. As in the § 1983 context, therefore, unless there

is some indication that Congress intended to foreclose private

enforcement of the regulations, equitable relief to compel

compliance in an appropriate case should be available.

In determining whether a particular statute or regulation is a

“law” that can be enforced in a § 1983 action, this Court has

identified three relevant considerations: (first, whether the

language of the statute or regulation creates an enforceable

federal right for the benefit of the plaintiff (i.e., whether the

statute or regulation imposes a duty that is not too vague or

amorphous to be enforced by a federal court); second,

whether Congress expressly foreclosed private enforcement,

third, whether private enforcement would be inconsistent with

a comprehensive alternative enforcement scheme established

by Congress.

Applying the § 1983 analytic framework in this analogous

context leads to the straightforward conclusion that the

disparate impact regulations can be enforced in a private right

of action for equitable relief under Title VI. First, the

disparate impact regulations create a federal right. As an

express condition of federal financial assistance, the

regulations require recipients of federal financial assistance to

assume a duty to refrain from using unnecessary practices that

have the effect of discriminating on the basis of race, color, or

national origin. Thus, the regulations establish a correlative

9

right of every person in the United States to participate in

programs financed with federal tax dollars free from the

burdens of unnecessary practices that have the effect of

discriminating on the basis of race, color, or national origin.

Second, there is no evidence Congress intended to foreclose

private enforcement of the disparate impact regulations.

Third, private enforcement of the disparate impact regulations

will not interfere with the administrative enforcement scheme

prescribed in § 602.

As requirements imposed only as a condition of federal

financial assistance, the disparate impact regulations provide

an appropriate basis for equitable relief, which would not

include damages. See Gebser v. Lago Vista Indep. Sch. Dist.,

524 U.S. 274, 287 (1998). Petitioners’ reliance on Pennhurst

State School & Hospital v. Halderman, 451 US. | (1981), is

entirely misplaced. The duty to comply with the requirements

of the disparate impact regulations is unambiguous and

longstanding, the regulations indisputably can be enforced by

administrative action. The prospect of private enforcement

has been clear since this Court’s 1973 decision in Lau v.

Nichols. Moreover, whether Alabama anticipated the result in

this case or not, the plaintiffs seek nothing more than

prospective compliance with the requirements of the regula-

tions, as construed by the district court and the court of

appeals. If Alabama believes the obligation to offer its writ-

ten driving test in languages other than English is unreason-

ably burdensome, it can forgo federal financial assistance and

avoid the obligation entirely. Alabama cannot, however, take

the money and ignore the obligation.

Title VI, Title IX, and other similar civil rights statutes, as

well as the disparate impact regulations adopted to effectuate

them, have contributed significantly to the increased

participation in all aspects of our society by those protected

by these laws. Effective federal civil rights enforcement is

vital to continued progress toward full participation.

10

ARGUMENT

I. THE PRIVATE RIGHT OF ACTION TO

ENFORCE TITLE VI OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS

ACT OF 1964 AND THE DISPARATE IMPACT

REGULATIONS ARE WELL-ESTABLISHED

ELEMENTS OF THE FEDERAL CIVIL RIGHTS

ENFORCEMENT SCHEME.

In the 36 years since the Civil Rights Act of 1964 was

enacted, the private right of action to enforce the requirements

of Title VI against all recipients of federal financial assistance

and the disparate impact regulations have become well-

established elements of the federal civil rights enforcement

scheme — accepted as appropriate throughout the Executive

Branch and by Congress, by the lower federal courts, and by

recipients of federal financial assistance. The Court should

reject Petitioners’ invitation to disrupt well-settled principles

of law governing these two important elements of federal

civil rights enforcement.

A. The Private Right Of Action To Enforce Title VI

Against Both Public And Private Recipients Of

Federal Financial Assistance Is Well-Established.

Section 601 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 provides that

“No persen in the United States shall, on the ground of race,

color, or national origin, be excluded from participation in, be

denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under

any program or activity receiving Federal financial

assistance.” 42 U.S.C. § 2000d. Since this Court’s decision

in Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677 (1977), the

availability of a federal private right of action to enforce

federal rights created under § 601 of the Civil Rights Act of

1964 (“Title VI") in a federal court has been firmly

established.

In Cannon the Court held that Congress intended a private

right of action to enforce the requirements of § 901 of the

Education Amendments of 1972 (“Title IX”). The Court

explained that the language of Title 1X “explicitly confer{red]

a benefit on persons discriminated against on the basis of

sex,” 441 US. at 694, the plaintiff in that case was a member

of the “class for whose special benefit the statute was

enacted,” id, and therefore “the first of the four factors

identified in Cort [v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66 (1975)] favors the

implication of a private right of action.” /d at 693-94. The

pertinent language of Title VI is identical to the language of

Title IX, “[e]xcept for the substitution of the word ‘sex’ in

Title IX to replace the words ‘race, color, or national origin’

in Title VI.” /d. at 694-95. Indeed, “Title [IX was patterned

after Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.” Jd. at 694.

The second Cort factor supported implication of a private

right of action. The Court found compelling evidence that

Congress intended Title IX to be enforced in private actions

in federal courts in the same way Congress understood Title

VI was enforced /d at 703 (“We have no doubt that

Congress intended to create Title IX remedies comparable to

those available under Title VI and that it understood Title VI

as authorizing an implied private cause of action for victims

of the prohibiied discrimination”).

The third Cort factor is whether private enforcement is

consistent with the purposes of the legislation. “Title IX, like

its model Title VI, sought to accomplish two related, but

nevertheless somewhat different, objectives. First, Congress

wanted to avoid the use of federal resources to support discri-

minatory practices, second, it wanted to provide individual

citizens effective protection against those practices.” /d at

704. The Court found that an implied private right of action

was consistent with the administrative fund termination

scheme established in Title IX. Because of the severity of

fund termination, the Court explained, a private right of

action was a useful and potentially more efficient supplement

to the administrative scheme. /d_ at 704-06.

12

The fourth Cort factor also favored implication of a private

right of action under Title IX. Sex discrimination — like

discrimination on the basis of race, color, and national origin,

addressed in Title VI — traditionally has not been the exclu-

sive concern of the States. On the contrary, “[s]ince the Civil

War, the Federal Government and the federal courts have

been the “‘primary and powerful reliances’” in protecting

citizens against such discrimination” /d at 708 (citations

omitted, emphasis added).

The respondent in Cannon agreed that the virtually

identical provisions of Title VI and Title IX should be

construed in the same way, but argued that no private right of

action had been intended under Title VI. /d at 710. Al-

though noting “the relevant inquiry is not whether Congress

correctly perceived the then state of the law, but rather what

its perception of the state of the law was,” id at 711, the

Court rejected the argument on the merits. After a careful

“review of the legislative history of Title VI, the Court found

no evidence “that any member of Congress voted in favor of

the statute in reliance on an understanding that Title VI did

not include a private remedy.” /d. at 716; see id. at 710-16.

Cannon thus established the availability of a private nght of

action under both Title 1X and Title VI.

In the 36 years since the Civil Rights Act of 1964 was

enacted, Congress consistently has acted on the presumption

that there was a private right of action under Title VI. In

Franklin v. Gwinnett County Public Schools, 503 U.S. 60, 72

(1992), this Court explained that the Rehabilitation Act

Amendments of 1986, 100 Stat. i845, 42 US.C. § 2000d-7,

* Not surprisingly, therefore, the lower federal courts consistently have

assumed the availability of a private nght of action under Title VI. See,

e.g., Buchanan v. City of Bolivar, 99 F.3d 1352 (6th Cir. 1996), New York

Urban League, Inc. v. New York, 71 F.3d 1031 (2d Cir. 1995), United

States v. LULAC, 793 F.2d 636, 648-49 (Sth Cir. 1986), Brvan v. Koch,

627 F.2d 612, 616 (2d Cir. 1980)

13

which abrogated the States’ Eleventh Amendment immunity

under Title IX, Title VI, § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of

1973, and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, “cannot be

read except as a validation of Cannon’s holding” that a

private right of action for damages is available under Title IX.

Justice Scalia emphasized the point: “The Rehabilitation Act

Amendments of 1986, 42 U.S.C. § 2000d-7(a)(2), must be

read, in my view, not only ‘as a validation of Cannon’s

holding,’ but also as an implicit acknowledgment that

damages are available.” /d at 78 (citation omitted). The

same is Clearly true with respect to Title VI.

Long before the Rehabilitation Act Amendments of 1986,

however, the premise that there was a private right of action

to enforce the requirements of Title VI in federal courts

against public and private recipients of federal financial

assistance had been affirmed by Congress on many occasions.

For example, Section 718 of the Education Amendments of

1972, 20 USC. § 1617 (repealed 1979), which authorized

federal courts to award attorneys fees to the prevailing parties

in private actions against public education agencies to enforce

Title VI in the context of elementary and secondary

education, “explicitly presumes the availability of private

suits to enforce Title VI in the education context.” Cannon,

441 US. at 699, see id. at 699.26. As described above, in

enacting Title IX, Congress expressly presumed that a private

right of action was available under Title VI.

The Civil Rights Attorneys Fees Awards Act of 1976

authorizes an award of fees to prevailing parties in actions to

enforce Title VI. 42 US.C. § 1988. The Senate Report

accompanying the attorneys fees statute confirms Congress’

understanding that private enforcement of Title VI was not

only available, but essential to the effective enforcement of

the civil rights laws: “All of these civil rights laws [including

Title VI] depend heavily upon private enforcement, and fee

awards have proved an essential remedy if private citizens are

to have a meaningful opportunity to vindicate the important

14

Congressional policies which these laws contain.” S. Rep.

No. 94-1011, at 2 (1976), quoted in Cannon, 441 U.S. at 685-

86n6°

Throughout the four-year debate on what became the Civil

Rights Restoration Act of 1987, Pub. L. 100-259, 102 Stat.

28, Congress reiterated and confirmed its understanding that

there was a private right of action under Title VI, Title IX,

and § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act. F.g., HR. Rep. No.

98-829, pt. 1, at 33, 35 (1984)°

B. The Disparate Impact Regulations Are Valid

And Well-Established.

Contrary to the suggestion in Petitioners’ Brief (at 26-27),

the validity of the disparate impact regulations is not before

the Court in this case. The issue was not raised in or decided

by the court of appeals; nor is it fairly encompassed by the

question presented in the petition for writ of certiorari.

Accordingly, the Court need not address the validity of the

regulations. See, e.g., Blessing v. Freestone, 520 U.S. 329,

* See Cannon, 441 U.S. at 686-87 n.7 (quoting 122 Cong. Rec. 31472

(1976) (Sen. Kennedy)) (“It is Congress{'] obligation to enforce the 14th

amendment by eliminating enurely such forms of discrimination, and that

is why both title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and title IX of the

Education Amendments of 1972 have been included [in the amendment to

§ 1988]. As basic provisions of the civil nghts enforcement scheme that

Congress has created, it is essential that private enforcement be made

possible by authorizing attorneys’ fees in this essential area of the law.”)

(alterations in onginal).

° It is not entirely clear, but Petitioners seem to concede (albeit

grudgingly) that it is far too late in the day to question the availability of a

private right of action under Title VI against State and private recipients of

federal financial assistance. See Brief for Petitioners at 45 (“Cannon

suggested, without deciding the issue, that Section 601 of Title VI permits

an implied right of action for intentional-discrimination claims. The

Cannon suggestion also may have been codified in the Rehabilitation Act

Amendments of 1986....”) (emphasis added, citations omitted).

15S

340 n.3 (1997) (“We decline to address ... questions which

_.. were not presented in the petition for certiorari.”).’

In any event, the disparate inypact regulations are valid and

enforceable. See Alexander, 469 1).S. at 293; Guardians, 463

U.S. at 584 n2, 607 n27 (White, J.); id at 623 n.15

(Marshall, J., dissenting); id at 642-45 (Stevens, Brennan,

and Blackmun, JJ., dissenting). Congress expressly “autho-

rized and directed” “[e]ach Federal department and agency ...

empowered to extend Federal financial assistance to any

program or activity” to adopt “rules, regulations, or orders of

general applicability ... consistent with achievement of the

objectives of the statute authorizing the financial assistance”

“to effectuate” § 601 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 “with

respect to such programs or activity.” 42 U.S.C. § 2000d-1.*

Reasonable regulations properly adopted pursuant to an

express delegation of rulemaking authority have the force and

effect of law. See, e.g., United States v. O'Hagan, 521 U.S.

642, 673 (1997), Chrysler Corp v. Brown, 441 U.S. 281, 301-

03 (1979); Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S. 416 (1977).

There is no basis for revisiting the long standing and

consistent position of the Executive Branch that the disparate

impact regulations are appropriate to “effectuate” Title VI.

Justice Marshall described the early history of the regulations

in Guardians as follows:

Shortly after enactment of Title VI, a Presidential task

force produced model Title VI enforcement regulations

specifying that recipients of federal funds not use

“criteria or methods of administration which have the

effect of subjecting individuals to discrimination.” The

” The reasons the Court should not address the validity of the

regulations in the circumstances of this case are more fully described in

the brief of amicus NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund, Inc. at 2-

6, 9-13.

* Section 602 of Title VI is set out in full in Appendix B to this brief.

App. 8a-9a.

16

Justice Department, which had helped draft the language

of Title VI, participated heavily in preparing the

regulations. Seven federal agencies and departments

carrying out the mandate of Title VI soon promulgated

regulations that applied a disparate-impact or “effects”

test.

463 US. at 618-19 (dissenting opinion) (citations and foot-

notes omitted). Since “the initial promulgation of regulations

adopting an impact standard, every Cabinet Department and

about 40 federal agencies [have] adopted standards

interpreting Title VI to bar programs with a discriminatory

impact.” /d. at 619 (Marshall, J., dissenting).

Fundamentally, Title VI is Spending Clause legislation.

See Gebser, 524 U.S. at 286 (Title VI and Title IX “operate in

the same manner, conditioning an offer of federal funding on

a promise by the recipient not to discriminate, in what

amounts essentially to a contract between the Government

and the recipient of funds”).” The benefits and burdens of

participation in any federal financial assistance program are

entirely voluntary. Reasonable regulations requiring recipi-

ents of federal financial assistance to bear the relatively

modest burden of avoiding unnecessary policies or practices

that have the “effect” of discriminating on the basis of race,

color, or national origin in consideration of the benefits of

federal financial assistance are appropriate means of

“effectuat[ing]” § 601.

Title VI was enacted to assure that federal tax dollars

collected from all the people would not be used to subsidize

programs from which any person is excluded on the basis of

race, color, or national origin. Direct evidence of intentional

discrimination is seldom available. In many cases, the line

between disparate impact or discriminatory “effects,” on the

* Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment provides additional support

for Title VI and Title 1X. See note 5, ante.

17

one hand, and intentional discrimination, on the other, is

likely to be indistinct and not easily discernible. For example,

evidence that, without adequate justification, Alabama

adopted and maintained a policy knowing that it would

disproportionately exclude Hispanics from participation in a

particular program and, further, rejected alternative policies

that would have accomplished its legitimate objectives

without disparate impact on Hispanics, might not compel an

inference of intentional discrimination (although such an

inference might well be supported by such evidence). See,

e.g., Washington v. Davis, 426 US. 229, 242 (1976)

(evidence of discriminatory impact may be probative of

discriminatory intent); /n re Employment Discrimination

Litig. Against the State of Ala., 198 F.3d 1305, 1319 (11th

Cn. 1999) (disparate impact is one of the factors a court may

consider in identifying discriminatory animus).

Requiring recipients of federal financial assistance to forgo

unnecessary practices that have the effect of denying the

benefits of federally subsidized programs on the basis of race,

color, or national origin thus minimizes the risk that federal

dollars will be used to subsidize discriminatory practices

contrary to the objectives of Title VI, because of the practical

difficulty of establishing intentional discrimination without

direct evidence. The disparate impact regulations reasonably

require recipients of federal financial assistance to steer clear

of anything approaching intentional discrimination, in effect,

establishing a margin of safety appropriate to achieve

Congress’ objective. On its face the burden of the disparate

impact regulations is modest, since a recipient would be

required to forgo policies or practices that have discrimi-

natory effects only if the policies or practices cannot be

justified by reference to legitimate considerations. See, e.g.,

Guardians, 463 U.S. at 623 n.15 (Marshall, J., dissenting)

(noting that a defendant would have the opportunity to

respond to prima facie showing of discriminatory impact by

demonstrating that the policy or practice was justified by

18

nondiscriminatory considerations), see also New York Urban

League, 71 F.3d at 1038-39 (accepting State’s justification for

the asserted disparate impact), Bryan, 627 F.2d at 616-20

(same). Whatever the burden, however, it is voluntarily

assumed and endured. Alabama is always free to avoid the

burden by forgoing federal financial assistance.

Moreover, each recipient of federal financial assistance has

long been on notice that one of the conditions for federal

financial assistance is compliance with applicable disparate

impact regulations adopted by the agency or department

responsible for administration of the particular federal

financial assistance program. If the risk of an unreasonable

interpretation of the disparate impact regulations in a

particular program is too great, the State need not participate.

Alternatively, if a particular interpretation of the disparate

impact regulations is wholly unanticipated, the State always

retains the option of forgoing future federal financial

assistance and completely avoiding any such obligation.

Although this Court has construed the language of § 601 as

directly reaching only intentional discrimination, the Court

has never found any evidence that Congress intended to

approve policies or practices that had the effect of excluding

participation in federally financed programs on the basis of

race, color, or national origin. Nor is there any evidence that

Congress intended to preclude regulations that reached

discriminatory effects under particular programs. On the

contrary, in Guardians five members of the Court concluded

that the disparate impact regulations were valid and

enforceable in an action for equitable relief. 463 U.S. at 607

n.27 (White, J.) (“The dissenters ... join with me to form a

majority for upholding the validity of the regulations

incorporating a disparate-impact standard.”), see id. at 584

n.2 (White, J.), 623 n.15 (Marshall, J., dissenting), 642-45

(Stevens, Brennan, and Blackmun, JJ., dissenting). Shortly

after Guardians was decided, in an opinion for a unanimous

Court, Justice Marshall explained the holding in Guardians as

19

follows: “First, the Court held that Title VI itself directly

reached only instances of intentional discrimination. Second,

the Court held that actions having an unjustifiable disparate

impact on minorities could be redressed through agency

regulations designed to implement the purposes of Title VI.”

Alexander, 469 U.S. at 293.

At a minimum, Congress’ long acquiescence in the

disparate impact regulations confirms its view that requiring

recipients of federal financial assistance to forgo policies or

practices that have the effect of discriminating on the basis of

race, color, or national origin as a condition of federal

financial assistance is a reasonable means of effectuating the

objectives of § 601. In 1966, Congress considered and

rejected a proposal intended to invalidate the disparate impact

regulations adopted to effectuate Title VI. See Guardians,

463 U.S. at 620 & n.8 (Marshall, J., dissenting).

In 1975, drawing on the Title VI regulations, the

Department of Health, Education, and Welfare promulgated

regulations to implement Title IX, including disparate impact

regulations. As this Court has recognized, those regulations

went through a “unique” enactment process that provides

strong evidence that they — and inferentially the Title VI

regulations upon which they were based — accurately reflect

congressional intent. Grove City College v. Bell, 465 US.

555, 567 (1984). Specifically, the regulations were “sub-

mitted ... to Congress for review,” North Haven Bd. of Educ.

v. Bell, 456 U.S. 512, 531, pursuant to a statutory procedure

that afforded Congress “an opportunity to invalidate aspects

of the regulations it deemed inconsistent with Title IX,”

Grove City, 465 US. at 568. None of the proposed

regulations, which included disparate impact regulations, see

40 Fed. Reg. 24128, 24140, 24141, 24143 (June 4, 1975), was

disapproved by Congress. Although this Court has noted that

Congress’s failure to disapprove the regulations is “not

dispositive,” Grove City, 465 US. at 568, it has recognized

that “it strongly implies that the regulations accurately reflect

20

congressional intent.” North Haven, 456 US. at 533-34.

Accordingly, the unique postenactment history of Title IX

provides strong evidence that Congress regarded disparate

impact regulations as consistent with its intent and objectives

in adopting the broad anti-discrimination provisions in Title

1X and, by implication, Title VI as well.

Finally, during consideration of legislation that became the

Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987, Congress heard

testimony that this Court had upheld the validity of the

disparate impact regulations in Guardians. See H.R. Rep.

No. 98-829, pt. 1, at 24 (“[t]he substantive regulations were

affirmed as valid in ... Guardians’), id. at 33-35, 130 Cong.

Rec. 27935 (1984) (Sen. Kennedy); Civil Rights Act of 1984:

Hearings on S. 2568 Before the Subcomm. on the Const. of

the Senate Comm. on the Judiciary, 98th Cong. 23-24 (1984)

(representatives of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

describing Guardians as holding that while § 601 only

proscribes intentional discrimination, disparate impact regula-

tions are permissible). Yet, Congress took no action to

disapprove the regulations.

Particularly in this “contractual” context, see, e.g., Gebser,

524 US. at 286, where the Executive Branch, the Legislative

Branch, the lower federal courts, and the recipients of federal

financial assistance have accepted the validity of the disparate

impact regulations for nearly four decades under a host of

federal spending programs and contracted on that basis, this

Court should not disrupt the settled expectations of the

parties."° Here, Congress has had ample opportunity to

consider and correct any error the agencies or the courts

'° Cf, Square D Company v. Niagara Frontier Tariff Bureau, Inc., 476

U.S. 409, 424 (1986) (quoting Burnet v. Coronado Oil & Gas Co., 285

U.S. 393, 406 (1932) (Brandeis, J., dissenting)) (“‘Stare decisis is usually

the wise policy because in most matters, it is more important that the

applicable rule of law be settled than that it be settled’” the way a current

majority of this Court might have decided the issuc in the first instance. )

-

21

might have made in this area. There is no reason for the

Court to relieve Petitioners of obligations voluntarily assumed

in consideration of federal financial assistance — obligations

that can be avoided by simply forgoing future federal

financial assistance. |!

Il. THE DISPARATE IMPACT REGULATIONS CAN

BE ENFORCED IN A PRIVATE RIGHT OF

ACTION FOR EQUITABLE RELIEF.

The standard for determining whether federal regulations

can be enforced in an implied private right of action should be

no more stringent than that used for determining whether such

regulations can be enforced in § 1983 actions."

The reason the § 1983 analytic framework should be

borrowed in this case is because, as discussed above,

Congress has authorized a private right of action to enforce

federal rights created under Title VI. Consequeatly, the

question presented is not one of federal court jurisdiction or

judicial power as it might be in a case involving the

implication of a private right of action in the first instance.

For the same reason, the separation of powers issues raised by

'' Nothing in this Court’s decision in Central Bank v. First Interstate

Bank, 511 U.S. 164 (1994), suggests that the disparate impact regulations

are beyond the authority granted in § 602. In Central Bank this Court

reiterated the view expressed in Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 US.

185 (1976), that the SEC’s authority to proscribe “manipulative or

deceptive device[s] or contrivance|s},” id. at 197, does not reach conduct

that is neither manipulative nor deceptive. Central Bank, 511 U.S. at 173-

74. See generally United States vy. O'Hagan, 521 U.S. 642 (1997). In

Central Bank the Court held that Section 10(b) and the SEC’s mule 10b-5

did not reach “aiding and abetting” manipulative or deceptive conduct.

511 U.S. at 175-76. In Hochfelder, the Court held that the statute did not

reach negligence and the rule could not be read to impose damages for

negligence. 425 U.S. at 199.

'? The § 1983 analytic framework is a useful alternative to the Cort v.

Ash analysis in the circumstances of this case, although we believe the

result would be the same if the Cort v. Ash analysis were applied.

22

implying a private right of action in the first instance are not

implicated in this case. Compare Wilder v. Virginia Hosp.

Ass'n, 496 U.S. 498, 508 n.9 (1990), with Cannon, 441 US.

at 730-31, 742-47 (Powell, J., dissenting). Rather, the

controlling issue here is simply whether the disparate impact

regulations can be enforced in the private action already

determined to have been authorized by Congress. As in the

§ 1983 context, unless there is some evidence that Congress

intended to foreclose private enforcement of the disparate

impact regulations, equitable relief to compel compliance

with the regulations in an appropriate case is presumptively

appropriate.

In determining whether a statute or regulation is a “law”

that can be enforced in a § 1983 action, this Court has

identified three relevant considerations. See, e.g., Blessing,

520 US. 329 (1997), Wilder v. Virginia Hosp. Ass'n, 496

U.S. 498 (1990); Wright v. City of Roanoke Redev. & Hous.

Auth., 479 U.S. 418 (1987). The first is whether the language

of the statute or regulation creates an enforceable federal right

for the benefit of the plaintiff (/.e., a binding obligation that is

not too vague and amorphous to be enforced by a federal

court)’ The second and third considerations are whether

Congress expressly foreclosed private enforcement, Wright,

479 US. at 423-24, and whether private enforcement would

be inconsistent with an alternative comprehensive enforce-

ment scheme. Compare Blessing, 520 U.S. at 346-48, with

Smith vy. Robinson, 468 U.S. 992, 1016-21 (1984), and

'3 This factor significantly limits the nature and scope of the regulations

that will be enforceable by private partics. See Suter v. Artist M, 503 U.S.

347, 355-57 (1992), compare Blessing, 520 U.S. at 342-46 (O'Connor, J.)

(emphasizing the need to focus on the language of the specific provision

asserted to create a federal right), with Wright, 479 US. at 438

(O'Connor, J., dissenting) (suggestion that “any regulation adopted within

the purview of the statute creates rights enforceable in federal courts,

regardless of whether Congress or promulgating agency contemplated

such a result” would be “troubling”.

23

Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. vy. Nat'l Sea Clammers

Ass'n, 453 U.S. 119-21 (1981).

Using a similar analysis to determine whether the Title V1

disparate impact regulations can be enforced in this case is

reasonably straightforward. The disparate impact regulations

create a federal right. As a condition of federal financial

assistance, the regulations require recipients to administer

their programs or activities without using unnecessary

practices that have the effect of discriminating on the basis of

race, color, or national origin. The regulations establish the -

correlative right of every person in the United States to

participate in programs financed with federal financial

assistance free from the burden of unnecessary practices that

have the effect of discriminating on the basis of race, color, or

national origin.

There is no indication that Congress intended to foreclose

private enforcement of the disparate impact regulations

adopted pursuant to § 602, just as this Court found no

indication Congress intended to foreclose a private action to

enforce § 601. See Cannon, 441 US. at 712-14 1.49, Regents

of the Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 420 n. 28 (1978)

(Stevens, J. dissenting) On the contrary, as the Court

explained in Cannon, one of the purposes of both Title LX and

Title VI was “to provide individual citizens [with] effective

protection against” discrimination. 441 U.S. at 704.

Nor will a private action to enforce the disparate impact

regulations interfere with the administrative enforcement

scheme. See Blessing, 520 US. at 347-48 , Wilder, 496 US.

at 520-23; Wright, 479 U.S. at 427-29. Contrary to the Brief

for Petitioners (17, 27-28), the oversight Congress thought

appropriate for agency termination of funding is irrelevant to

private actions by individuals seeking only to protect their

interest in participating in federally financed programs free

from unnecessary practices that effectively discriminate on

the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, or other bases

proscribed in civil rights statutes. Indeed, the distinction

24

between private enforcement action and fund termination was

specifically noted by Senators Humphrey and Case during

consideration of Title VI. Cannon, 441 US. at 713-14 n.49.

As the Court summarized the matter in Cannon: “The

administrative provisions in §§ 602 and 603 were simply

means by which additional — and far more controversial —

procedures [i.e., fund termination] were established and then

limited.” Jd at 714 n.49, see also id at 711 n.47, Bakke, 438

U.S. at 420 n.28 (Stevens, J., dissenting).

Further, during consideration of the Civil Rights Restor-

ation Act of 1987, Congress was warned that disparate impact

regulations might be enforced in private actions, but again

Congress took no action to limit the statute or the regulations.

For example, the Office of Management and Budget

submitted a memorandum stating:

Currently, the scope of [the DOE disparate impact

regulations} ... is limited to a recipient’s federally

funded programs and activities. The effect of extending

them to all of a recipient’s activities would be signifi-

cant. Any assistance to a State or city government

would, for example, apply such requirements to all of

their licensing and professional certification procedures.

As noted, bar exams, medical boards, teacher

competency exams, and a host of similar standards

alleged by advocacy groups to have “discriminatory

effects” would now be covered by the existing regula-

tions for the first time and would be subject to agency

enforcement activities and private lawsuits.

Civil Rights Act of 1984: Hearings on S. 2568 Before the

Subcomm. on the Const. of the Senate Comm. on the

Judiciary, 98th Cong. 530 (1984) (emphasis in original

omitted; emphasis added), see also id. at 532 (OMB memo-

randum warning of the prospects of increased exposure to

““discriminatory effects’” litigation in private enforcement

actions); Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1985: Joint Hearings

on H.R. 700 Before the House Comm. on Educ. & Labor and

25

the Subcomm. on Civil & Const. Rights of the House Comm.

on the Judiciary, 9%h Cong. 734, 1095, 1099 (1985); 134

Cong. Rec. 42567 (1988) (Sen. Hatch) (“Of course, advocacy

groups will be able to bring private lawsuits making the same

allegations [of violations of disparate impact regulations]

before federal judges.”).'*

In a private action, the disparate impact regulations provide

an appropriate basis for equitable relief, which would not

include recovery of damages. See Gebser, 524 U.S. at 287-92

(distinguishing between standard for damages relief and

standard for prospective relief). The obligation to comply

with the requirements of the long-standing disparate impact

regulations is unambiguous and well recognized as an impor-

tant component of the Title VI legal framework; recipients of

federal financial assistance accept the money with full notice

of the requirements and agree to comply. Recipients of

federal financial assistance have been on notice of the

prospect of private enforcement at least since this Court’s

decision in Lau v. Nichols, 414 US. 563 (1973). See

'* Several courts of appeals have expressly held that disparate impact

regulations promulgated by agencies under Title V1 may be enforced in a

private right of action. See Powell v. Ridge, 189 F.3d 387, 400 (3d Cir

1999); Burton v. City of Belle Glade, 178 F.3d 1175, 1202 (11th Cir.

1999), David K. v. Lane, 839 F.2d 1265, 1274 (7th Cir. 1988). Others

have assumed the availability of a private right of action to enforce dispa-

rate impact regulations under Title VI. See, e.g, /ndianapolis Minority

Contractors Ass'n. vy. Wiley, 187 F.3d 743 (7th Cir. 1999), Boulahanis v.

Board of Regents, 198 F.3d 633 (7th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct

2762 (2000), Ferguson v. City of Charleston, 186 F.3d 469 (4th Cir.

1999), cert. granted, 120 S. Ct. 1239 (2000), Buchanan v. City of Bolivar,

99 F.3d 1352 (6th Cir. 1996), New York Urban League, Inc. v. New York,

71 F.3d 1031 (2d Cir. 1995), Quarles v. Oxford Mun. Separate Sch. Dist.,

868 F.2d 750 (Sth Cir. 1989), Larry P. v. Riles, 793 F.2d 969 (9th Cir.

1984); Castaneda v. Pickard, 781 F.2d 456 (Sth Cir. 1986), United States

v. LULAC, 793.F.2d 636 (Sth Cir. 1986), Latinos Unidos de Chelsea en

Accion (LUCHA) v. Sec'y of Hous. & Urban Dev., 799 F.2d 774 (ist Cir.

1986), Georgia State Conference of Branches of NAACP vy. Georgia, 775

F.2d 1403 (11th Cir. 1985), Bryan v. Koch, 627 F.2d 612 (2d Cir. 1980).

26

Cannon, 441 U.S. 687 n8; Bakke, 438 U.S. at 419 n25

(Stevens, J., dissenting).

Whether Alabama anticipated the result in this case or not,

plaintiffs seek no more than prospective compliance with the

requirements of applicable federal regulations, as construed

by the federal district court and the court of appeals. For this

reason, Petitioners’ reliance on Pennhurst State School &

Hospital vy. Halderman, 451 US. 1 (1981) is entirely

misplaced. See Gebser, 524 U.S. at 287 (O'Connor, J)

(quoting Franklin, 503 U.S. at 74) (the central concern in

Pennhurst, Franklin, and Guardians was ensuring that the

receiving entity has “‘notice that it will be liable for a

monetary award’”). If Alabama believes the obligation to

offer its written driving test in languages other than English is

too onerous, it retains the option of forgoing federal financial

assistance and avoiding the burden altogether. Alabama

cannot, however, take the money and ignore the obligation.

Ill. FULL PRIVATE ENFORCEMENT OF THE CIVIL

RIGHTS LAWS IS ESSENTIAL TO PROVIDE

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY.

The question whether disparate impact regulations adopted

by federal agencies to effectuate Title VI of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964 are privately enforceable is important to those

who are discriminated against on the basis of race, color,

national origin, sex, age, or disability.

In the case of Title IX, for example, which protects women

against discrimination in education, this Court has held that

Title IX should be accorded “‘a sweep as broad as its

language” in order to give the anti-discrimination provision

“‘the scope its origins dictate.”” North Haven, 456 US. at

§21. Consistent with the expansive purpose of the statute, the

Department of Education’s Office for Civil Rights has

adopted regulations to effectuate Title IX that prohibit

~

*

27

conduct or policies that have a disparate impact based on

Sex.

Tule IX’s disparate impact regulations have been essential

to the progress made to date, ending policies and practices

that, although not facially gender-biased, had a dispropor-

tionately adverse impact on women. For example, Title [X’s

disparate impact regulations have stamped out discriminatory

practices against students who are married or have children —

students for whom education is particularly critical to their

prospects for economic self-sufficiency. The regulations

make clear that Title IX’s proscription against discrimination

on the basis of sex prohibits discrimination against students

on the basis of marital or parental status) 34 CFR.

§§ 106.21(c), 106.40, 106.57.

Title IX’s disparate impact regulations also are an

important means of ensuring that standardized tests are

designed and used in a manner that is free from gender bias.

The Title IX regulations provide that tests used as admissions

criteria must validly predict success in the area being tested.

See id. § 106.21(b)(2) (schools cannot use tests as admissions

criteria that have a “disproportionately adverse effect” on

women “unless the use of such test or criterion is shown to

predict validly success in the education program or activity in

question and alternative tests or criteria which do not have

such a disproportionately adverse effect are shown to be

unavailable”). It is well-documented that “[t]here is a

substantial record of disparities in scoring between male and

female students on many standardized tests dating from

'* See, e.g, 34 CFR. § 106.21(b)(2) (prohibiting tests or other criteria

for admission which have a “disproportionately adverse effect on persons

on the basis of sex”); id § 106.52 (prohibiting tests or other criteria for

employment which have “a disproportionately adverse effect on persons

on the basis of sex”), id § 106.34(d) (“Where use of a single standard of

measuring skill or progress in a physical education class has an adverse

effect on members of one sex, the recipient shall use appropnate standards

which do not have such effect.”).

28

before Title [X’s enactment and continuing over the last 25

years,” including the SAT and PSAT. Nat’! Coalition for

Women and Girls in Educ., 7itle 1X at 25: Report Card on

Gender Equity 35 (June 1997) (“Report Card’). Title 1X’s

disparate impact regulations have proven to be an important

means of challenging the design and use of such tests. For

example, in response to a complaint filed with the Education

Department's Office for Civil rights alleging that the PSAT

was gender-biased in violation of Title IX, the College Board

revised the PSAT to include a test of written English. /d. at

37. Similarly, a federal court enjoined the State of New York

from relying exclusively on SAT scores to award certain

college scholarships because it concluded that such reliance

had a discriminatory impact on female students in violation of

the Title IX regulations. Sharif v. New York State Educ.

Dep't., 709 F. Supp. 345 (S.D.N.Y. 1989). As a result, the

State began to take grades into consideration as well and “the

scholarship awards became more equitably distributed among

male and female students.” Report Card at 38.'°

Finally, Title IX has had a significant impact in women’s

higher education. In 1979, women college undergraduates

outnumbered men college undergraduates for the first time

since World War II. Nat’! Advisory Council on Women’s

Educ. Programs, 7itle 1X: The Half Full, Half Empty Glass 7

(Fall 1981). When Title [IX was enacted in 1972, women

were awarded 44 percent of all bachelor’s degrees, 41 percent

'© See also Cureton v. NCAA, 37 F. Supp. 2d 687, 697-714 (E.D. Pa.),

rev'd on jurisdictional grounds, 198 F.3d 107 (3d Cir. 1999) (district court

held (1) that NCAA minimum standardized test scores for eligibility to

participate in intercollegiate athletics and to qualify for athletic

scholarships had an unjustified disproportionate impact on African

American women and men in violation of Title VI regulations; and (2)

there were reasonable alternatives to the policy that would have met the

NCAA's legitimate objectives with less of a disproportionate impact).

The benign description of the eligibility standard offered in the NCAA

Amicus Brief (at 4) simply ignores the district court's findings.

29

of master’s degrees, 16 percent of doctoral degrees, and six

percent of first professional degrees. Report Card at 6. The

figures for 1996-97 were 56 percent of bachelor’s degrees, 51

percent of master’s degrees, 39 percent of doctoral degrees,

and 40 percent of first professional agrees. Id

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the court of

appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

MARCIA D. GREENBERGER GEORGE W. JONES, JR.*

VERNA L. WILLIAMS JACQUELINE G. COOPER

LESLIE T. ANNEXSTEIN SIDLEY & AUSTIN

NATIONAL WOMEN’S LAW 1722 Eye St., N.|W

CENTER Washington, D.C. 20006

1] Dupont Circle, N.W., (202) 736-8000

Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 588-5180

Counsel for Amici

December 13, 2000 * Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

——s EEE -

la

APPENDIX A

STATEMENTS OF INTEREST

The National Women’s Law Center

The National Women’s Law Center (“Center”) is a

nonprofit legal advocacy organization dedicated to the

advancement and protection of women’s rights and the

corresponding elimination of sex discrimination from all

facets of American life. Since 1972, the Center has worked to

secure equal opportunities in education for girls and women

through full enforcement of Title IX of the Education

Amendments of 1972. The Center has provided assistance

Or participated as counsel or amicus curiae in a range of cases

to secure the equal treatment of women under the law,

including successfully arguing before the Supreme Court that

Title IX requires schools to address student-to-student sexual

harassment in Davis v. Monroe County Board of Education.

The American Association of University Women

For well over a century, American Association of

University Women (AAUW), an organization of 150,000

members, has been a catalyst for the advancement of women

and their transformation of American society. In more than

_ 1,500 communities across the country, AAUW members

work to promote education and equity for all women and

girls, lifelong learning, and positive societal change. AAUW

plays a major role in activating advocates nationwide on

AAUW’s priority issues, including: gender equity in

education; reproductive choice; social security; and

workplace and civil rights issues. .AAUW supports

constitutional protection and enforcement of civil rights for

all individuals, and opposes all forms of discrimination.

2a

The American Jewish Committee

The American Jewish Committee (“AJC”), a national

organization of approximately 100,000 members and

supporters, was founded in 1906 to protect the civil and

religious rights of Jews. AJC believes that the only way to

achieve this goal is to safeguard the civil and religious rights

of all Americans, and has long been a staunch opponent of

discrimination, whether based on religion, race, gender, or

national origin. We join in this case because we take the

position that English-only policies, which are a direct

outgrowth of the anti-immigrant movement, unfairly penalize

new immigrants, are inherently divisive, and serve no positive

function in that they have not been shown to increase English

literacy.

The Anti-Defamation League

The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) was organized in 1913

to advance good will and mutual understanding among

Americans of all creeds and races, and to combat racial and

religious prejudice in the United States. ADL has long been

vitally interested in protecting the civil rights: of all

Americans, believing that every American has a constitutional

right to be treated as an individual, equal under the law, rather

than as a part of a racial, ethnic, religious, or gender-defined

group. Pursuant to this mandate, ADL has previously filed

amicus briefs in numerous discrimination cases before this

Court, including such landmarks as Brown v. Board of

Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954); Jones v. Alfred H. Mayer

Co., 392 U.S. 409 (1968); and Regents of the University of

California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978).

The Connecticut Women’s Education and Legal Fund, Inc.

The Connecticut Women's Education and Legal Fund, Inc.

(CWEALF) is a nonprofit women’s rights organization

dedicated to empowering women, girls and their families to

achieve equal opportunities in their personal and professional

3a

lives. CWEALF was founded in 1973 and has a membership

of over 1,000 individuals and organizations.

The Council of the Great City Schools

The Council of the Great City Schools was organized in

1961 and is the only organization in the nation exclusively

representing the needs of urban public schools. It is

composed of 55 large city school districts that serve over 6.0

million school children. Over 80% of Council member

students are African-American, Hispanic, or Asian American.

Council member students come to school speaking 120

different languages. All Council members are themselves

federal fund recipients, with federal funding representing just

under 11% of their total revenues. One of the Council’s

central missions is to advocate for inner-city students so that

they may share on a fair and equitable basis in the education

Opportunities that are so vital to success in our society.

Girls Incorporated

Girls Incorporated is a national organization that provides

direct services to school age girls through its affiliates and

nationally addresses gender-specific and youth issues. We

have published our Advocacy Statements that delineate our

position on such matters as equitable allocation of resources

and girls’ rights.

The National Organization for Women (NOW) Foundation

The National Organization for Women (NOW) Foundation

is a 501(c)(3) organization devoted to furthering women’s

rights through education and litigation. NOW Foundation is

affiliated with the National Organization for Women, the

largest feminist organization in the United States, with a

contributing membership of over 500,000 women and men

and more than 500 chapters in all 50 states and the District of

Columbia. Since its inception in 1986, a major goal of NOW

Foundation has been to ensure full equality for all women,

including the elimination of discrimination on the basis of

4a

race or national origin. In furtherance of that goal, NOW

Foundation has supported related litigation and legislation,

and has an ongoing interest in the availability of private rights

of action to enforce civil rights laws and the regulations

implementing them.

The National Partnership for Women & Families

The National Partnership for Women & Families is a

nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that uses public education

and advocacy to promote fairness in the workplace, quality

health care, and policies that help women and men meet the

dual demands of work and family. Founded in 1971 as the

Women’s Legal Defense Fund, the National Partnership has

grown from a smal! group of volunteers into one of the

nation’s most powerful and effective advocates for women

and families. Working with business, government, unions,

nonprofit organizations, and the media, the National

Partnership is a voice for fairness, a source for solutions, and

a force for change. The National Partnership has devoted

significant resources to combating sex and _ race

discrimination in education and has filed numerous briefs

amicus curiae in the federal circuit courts of appeal to

advance women’s opportunities in education.

NOW Legal Defense and Education Fund

NOW Legal Defense and Education Fund (NOW LDEF) is

a leading national nonprofit civil rights organization that

performs a broad range of legal and educational services in

support of women’s efforts to eliminate sex-based

discrimination and secure equal right NOW LDEF was

founded in 1970 by leaders of the National Organization for

Women. A major goal of NOW LDEF is the elimination of

barriers that deny women and girls equal opportunity. For

years, NOW LDEF has fought for educational equity for girls

and the full enforcement of Title Ix. NOW LDEF has

appeared as amicus in numerous cases concerning girls’ rights

to be free from sex discrimination in education programs

eS

Sa

under Title LX and joins this case because of its importance to

ensuring equal opportunity in all educational programs.

litle 1X Advocacy Project

The Jitle IX Advocacy Project (“the Project”) is a youth

empowerment and educational/legal advocacy organization

that was founded in September 1994 to work with young

people and their adult allies to promote gender equity in low-

income middle schools and high schools in greater Boston.

Currently, the Project focuses on eliminating 1) sexual

harassment in school, 2) discrimination against pregnant and

parenting students, and 3) gender inequity in school-based

athletics programs, all of which violate Title IX, the federal

law that prohibits gender discrimination in schools receiving

federal funds.

Trial Lawyers for Public Justice, P.C.

Trial Lawyers for Public Justice, P.C. (“TLPJ”) is a

national public interest law firm that specializes in precedent-

setting and socially significant civil litigation and is dedicated

to using trial lawyers’ skills and strategies to advance the

public good. Litigating throughout the federal and state

courts, TLPJ prosecutes cases designed to advance civil rights

and civil liberties, environmental protection and safety,

consumers’ and victims’ rights, the preservation and

improvement of the civil justice system, and the protection of

the poor and powerless| TLPJ has litigated numerous

discrimination cases under federal civil rights laws, including

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the

Education Amendments of 1972, and federal agency

regulations implementing these statutes. These cases

demonstrate TLPJ’s longstanding commitment to advancing

equal opportunity in federally funded programs and activities.

To ensure that such programs and activities conduct

themselves in a non-discriminatory manner, TLPJ believes it

is critical that they continue to be subject to private lawsuits

6a

for engaging in conduct that has an unjustified disparate

impact on minorities, women and/or other protected classes.

Women Employed

Women Employed is a national association of working

women based in Chicago, with a membership of 2000. Since

1973, the organization has assisted thousands of working

women with problems of sex discrimination and harassment,

monitored the performance of equal opportunity enforcement

agencies, and developed specific, detailed proposals for

improving enforcement efforts. Women Employed believes

that women are entitled to the same rights and opportunities

as men, whether their interests lie in sports, arts, or business.

The Women’s Law Project

The Women's Law Project (WLP) is a nonprofit public

interest law firm located in Philadelphia, PA. Founded in

1974, the WLP works to abolish discrimination and injustice

and to advance the legal and economic status of women and

their families through litigation, public policy development,

public education and individual counseling. Throughout its

history, the WLP has worked to eliminate sex discrimination,

bringing and supporting litigation challenging discriminatory

practices prohibited by federal civil rights laws. The WLP

has a strong interest in the proper application of civil rights

laws to provide appropriate and necessary redress to

individuals victimized by discrimination.

The Women's Sports Foundation

The Women's Sports Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit

educational organization dedicated to expanding opportunities

_ for girls and women to participate in sports and fitness and

creating an educated public that supports gender equity in

sports. The Foundation distributes over $1 million per year in

grants and scholarships to female athletes and girls’ sports

programs, answers over 100,000 inquires a year concerning

Title IX and other women’s sports related questions, and

ee

7a

administers award programs to increase public awareness

about the achievements of women in sports.

8a

APPENDIX B

Section 602 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 is follows:

Each Federal department and agency which is

empowered to extend federal financial assistance to any

program or activity, by way of grant, loan, or contract

other than a contract of insurance or guaranty, is

authorized and directed to effectuate the provisions of

section 2000d of this title with respect to such program

or activity by issuing rules, regulations, or orders of

general applicability which shall be consistent with

achievement of the objectives of the statute authorizing

the financial assistance in connection with which the

action is taken. No such rule, regulation, or order shall

become effective unless and until approved by the

President. Compliance with any requirement adopted

pursuant to this section may be effected (1) by the

termination of or refusal to grant or to continue

assistance under such program or activity to any

recipient as to whom there has been an express finding

on the record, after opportunity for hearing, of a failure

to comply with such requirement, but such termination

or refusal shall be limited to the particular political

entity, or part thereof, or other recipient as to whom such

a finding has been made and, shall be limited in its effect

to the particular program, or part thereof, in which such

noncompliance has been so found, or (2) by any other

means authorized by law: Provided, however, That no

such action shall be taken until the department or agency

concerned has advised the appropriate person or persons

of the failure to comply with the requirement and has

determined that compliance cannot be secured by

voluntary means. In the case of any action terminating,

or refusing to grant or continue, assistance because of

failure to comply with a requirement imposed pursuant

to this section, the head of the Federal department or

agency shall file with the committees of the House and

9a

Senate having legislative jurisdiction over the program

or activity involved a full written report of the

circumstances and the grounds for such action. No such

action shall become effective until thirty days have

elapsed after the filing of such report.

42 U.S.C. § 2000d-1.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.