Amicus Curiae Brief — EEOC v. Waffle House, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

MAY 25- >.0f <| “4

No. 99-1823

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

in the

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY

COMMISSION,

Petitioner,

v.

WAFFLE HOUSE, INC.,

Respondent.

Brief of the States of Missouri, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas,

California, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana,

lowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts,

Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New

Mexico, New York, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Dakota,

Utah, Vermont, West Virginia and the Commonwealth of

the Northern Mariana Islands In Support of Petitioner

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON

Attorney General of Missouri

JAMES R. LAYTON

State Solicitor

Counsel of Record

ALANA M. BARRAGAN-SCOTT

Deputy Solicitor

P.O. Box 899

Jefferson City, MO 65102-0899

(573) 751-3321

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Additional counsel listed inside cover

Atk

Bruce M. Botelho

Attomey General of Alaska

Janet Napolitano

Attomey General of Arizona

Mark Pryor

Attorney General of Arkansas

Bill Lockyer

At.orney General of California

Ken Salazar

Attorney General of Colorado

Robert A. Butterworth

Attorney General of Florida

Earl I. Anzai

Attorney General of Hawaii

James E. Ryan

Attorney General of Illinois

Steve Carter

Attorney General of Indiana

Thomas J. Miller

Attorney General of lowa

Carla J. Stovall

Attorney General of Kansas

Richard P. Leyoub

Attorney General of Louisiana

J. Joseph Curran, Jr.

Attorney General of Maryland

Thomas F. Reilly

Attorney General of

Massachusetts

Mike Hatch

Attorney General of Minnesota

Mike McGrath

Attorney General of Montana

Don Stenberg

Attorney General of Nebraska

Frankie Sue Del Papa

Attorney General of Nevada

John J. Farmer, Jr.

Attorney General of New Jersey

Patricia A. Madrid

Attorney General of New Mexico

Eliot Spitzer

Attorney General of New Y ork

Betty D. Montgomery

Attorney General of Ohio

Sheldon Whitehouse

Attorney General of Rhode Island

Mark Barnett

Attorney General of South Dakota

Mark Shurtleff

Attorney General of Utah

William H. Sorrell

Attorney General of Vermont

Darrell V. McGraw, Jr.

Attorney General of West Virginia

Herbert D. Soll

Attorney General of

Commonweaith of the Northern

Maniana Islands

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a victim’s agreement to arbitrate disputes

with another person bars a government law enforcement

agency, as plaintiff in an enforcement action against that

other person, from obtaining victim-specific monetary

remedies such as backpay and damages.

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

GaSe COREE ob occcneneseessetéeewes i

TABLE GP ALTTURUEEMIED cc ccc ccc cc cccccccs ill

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ............... l

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .................. 2

ARGUMENT

1. The attorneys general cannot be barred, by an

arbitration agreement to which the state was not a

party, from enforcing state civil rights laws .... 4

Il. The attorneys general cannot be barred, by an

arbitration agreement to which the state was not a

party, from enforcing consumer protection laws. 12

CEMRMAMMEES cc cece ccc esetedccenseceseees 25

——

- ——

|

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Albemarle Paper v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405 (1975) ..... 7

Amchem Prods. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591 (1997) .... 13

American General Finance v. Branch,

ry FF 8 § f eer ere re se 17

Appleton Papers, Inc. v. The Home Indemnity Co..,

235 Wis.2d 39, 612 N.W. 2d 760 (Wis. App. 2000) .. 17

Arnold v. United Companies Lending Corp.,

204 W.Va. 229, 511 S.E. 2d 854 (W. Va. 1998) ..... 18

Bishop v. We Care Hair Development Corp.,

316 Ill.App.3d 1182, 738 N.E. 2d 610 (Ill. App. 2000) 17

Bodie v. Bank of America, 67 Cal.App.4th 779,

79 Cal.Rptr.2d 273 (Cal. App. 1" Dist. 1998) ....... 16

Broemmer v. Abortion Serv. of Phoenix, Lid.,

173 Ariz. 148, 840 P.2d 1013 (Ariz. 1992) ........ 18

Broughton v. Cigna Healthplans of Calif., 21 Cal.4th 1066,

988 P.2d 67, 90 Cal.Reptr. 334 (Cal. 1999) ........ 18

Bucyrus-Erie Co. v. The Dep't of Industry, Labor and Human

Relations of the State of Wisconsin,

Se GEE ccc étndvsbodcccseces 5

Capitol Chevrolet & Imports v. Granthan,

2000 Ala. LEXIS 490 (2000) ..............455. 17

iV

Carnegie v. H&R Block, Inc., 687 N.Y.S.2d 528

ORY. Dak GR Seed cigs cas owiehe caecka tes 16

Cel-Tech Communications, Inc. v. Los Angeles Cellular

Telephone Co., 20 Cal.4th 163, 973 P.2d 527,

83 Cal.Reptr.2d 548 (Cal. 1999) ................ 13

Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Adams,

ee Ge CD 4.6 SS cbw es céceeoses 9, 11,15

Colorado Anti-discrimination Comm’n v. Continental

Airlines, Inc., 372 U.S. 714 (1963) ............... 4

Condee v. Longwood Management Corp., 88 Cal.App.4th

215, 105 Cal. Rptr. 2d 597 (Cal. App. 4" Dist. 2001) . 18

DeCanas v. Bica, 424 U.S. 351 (1976) ............ 4

Department of Fair Employment and Housing v. American

Airlines, Inc., 1991 CAFEHC LEXIS 18

(Ca. Fair Emp. & Housing Comm’n March 7, 1991) .. 10

Dobbins v. Hawk's Enterprises, 198 F. 3d 715

rE GD chidiswiveviaciesveccisvctsiet 18

Doctors Assocs., Inc. v. Casarotto,

og Xf era eee eee ee 15

EEOC v. Frank’s Nursery & Crafts, Inc.,

ype fo Tf 2 | ee ee 6, 7

EEOC v. Waffle House, Inc., 193 F.3d 805 (1999) 8,11,12

Erickson v. Aema Health Plans of Calif.

71 Cal. App. 4" 646, 84 Cal. Rptr. 76

(Cal. App. 4th Dist. 1999) ................005. 18

—_— — me

Vv

Fair Employment Practices Manual (BNA) ..... . 4, 5,6

Fireman's Fund Ins. v. Bugailisluis, 278 W.App.3d 19,

662 N.E.2d 555 (Ill. App. 1996).............0-. 17

Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp.,

Fae Gh SO SED cecbocecccdvedesoscuneced 15

Graham v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co..,

Fe) fF F Perr ort rr 17

Green Tree Financial Corp. v. Randolph,

SOO WE. FOG oc ce coc cccscccccdedeeceeus 15

In re Managed Care Litigation, 132 F. Supp. 2d 989

GLE FER BED 6c wocectccescdvecssetes ated 18

In the Matter of Towers, 162 F.3d 952

CG: GOED 6 ebb dbo vc evese ctccstiavee ee 24

Johnnie's Homes, Inc. v. Holt,

Bene Fe BPD dhe tcc ecccoveseue 18

Johnson v. Siegel, 84 Cal. App. 4” 1087,

101 Cal. Rptr 2d 412

AE, Be AD ve cccccvccceséesecees 17

Johnson v. West Suburban Bank, 225 F.3d 366

to fe ) PPPrTIrirrerreerriri ie 17, 23

KKW Enterprises v. Gloria Jean’s Gourmet Coffees,

184 F.3d 42 (1" Cir. 1999) ........... cece eee 17

Lozada v. Dale Baker Oldsmobile, 91 F. Supp. 2d 1087

Cd CE SEED Se cceccvcccocesepeesecces 17

vi

Mace v. Van Ru Credit Corp., 109 F.3d 338

‘gh Eee Pee Pee re ee re eee re 13

Marsh v. First USA Bank, NA, 103 F. Supp. 2d 909

—! * PPrerrre reer eis eee 16

Med Center Cars, Inc. v. Smith, 727 So. 2d 9

ie, TED bh beeekcesdereeswtenedicesauy 17

Nationwide Mutual Fire Ins. Co. v. Pinnacle Medical, Inc.,

rt 8 } S § =e roe ooo 17

Oakwood Acceptance Corp. v. Hobbs,

y F BS El. PPT TT TTI eee 18

Obstetrics & Gynecologists William G. Wixted, et al.,

v. Pepper, 101 Nev. 105, 693 P.2d 1259 (Nev. 1985) . 18

People v. Lann, 225 Ill.App.3d 236, 587 N.E. 2d 521

GE. Aa. BGT) nc cc ccescccccccccsscestcece 14

Powertel, Inc. v. Bexley, 743 So. 2d 570

(Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1999) .........0 55 eees 16, 17

Purity Supreme, Inc. v. AG, 380 Mass. 762, 407 N.E. 2d 297

'S .. RPPPPrerrrr Terr rerrisi? ors 13

Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc.,

GO US. S77 (IGE) o ccccccccccccccccceceses 16

Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon,

St ® |. PPPPrererrcrr sey? Terie 16

Sosa v. Paulos, 924 P.2d 357 (Utah 1996) ......... 18

Vii

State ex rel. Nixon v. Telco Directory Publishing,

863 S.W.2d 596 (Mo. banc 1993) ............... 13

U.S. v. N.L. Industries, Inc., 479 F.2d 354

SPs GUE 6 bo cb c.os 6oeeesdctesdvevenew 7

United Benefit Life Ins. Co. v. Collins,

2001 WL 273902 (N.D. Ala. 2001) .............. 18

We Care Hair Development Corp. v. Engen,

te | fee Sree 17

Westinghouse Elec. Corp. v. State of Maryland Comm'n

on Human Rights, 520 F.Supp. 539 (D. Md. 1981) .... 5

Williams v. Aetna Finance Co., 83 Ohio St.3d 464,

700 N.E. 2d 859 (Ohio 1998)...... gee netuveosne 18

STATUTES

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(c) (1995)... 6. ee ee eee 6

Alaska Stat. § 18.80.130(2)(1) (2000) ............. 7

Alaska Stat. § 18.80.240 (2000) ............0005. 4

Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 41-1481.G (1992) ............4.. 7

Ark. Stat. Ann. 16-108-201 (Supp. 1999) ........... 9

Be GE NS TED 6 Chic codewocecesseccséves 5

_ jl. & GFP rrrrrTerrererrrere ye 7

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46a-85 (2001) ...........6055.% Y

Viii

Fla. Stat. Ch. § 760.11(5) (1997) «1.0... .. 2 eee. 7

775 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/3-102 (1993) ..........0006- 4

Sas Grea GENE oe cos bet ceticdcotewss 9

em, Ge, A, De Ge 6. 6 00 0 ooh eeesesen an 9

Md. Code Ann. Art. 49(B), § 3(c) (2000) ............ 4

§ Fe fT re Tr 4,7

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 213.030(1) (2000) ............... 5

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 213.040 (2000) ...............-. 4

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 213.075.11(1) (2000) ............. 7

N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 10:5-14.1, -14.la, and -17 (1993) ... 5

Ohio Rev. Code § 4112.05(G)(1) (2001) ........... 7

S.D. Codified Laws § 20-13-29 (1995) ............ 6

S.D. Codified Laws § 20-13-42 (1995) ............ 7

S.D. Codified Laws § 20-13-47 (1995) ............ 8

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Bingham, Lisa B., On Repeat Players, Adhesive Contracts,

and the Use of Statistics in Judicial Review of Employment

Arbitration Awards, 29 MCGEORGE L. REV. 223

PP SEED. on cnbcdses ist ncdesececsoees 9, 10

ix

Crane, Victoria J., The Mandatory Arbitration Clause: Forum

Selection or Employee Coercion?,

© ia, Pee Oe. Bo. Be Gee oo cc bweveccsve’ 9

Eddy, Katherine, To Every Remedy a Wrong: The

Confounding of Civil Liberties Through Mandatory

Arbitration Clauses in Employment Contracts,

52 HASTINGS L.J. 771 (2001) .............. 9, 10, 11

Guzman, Betsy, The Hispanic Population (U.S. Census 2000

See SO ED kc ccd cvivededesesaven 21

Sternlight, Jean R., As Mandatory Binding Arbitration Meets

the Class Action, Will the Class Action Survive?, 42 WM. &

MARY L. REV. 1 (Oct. FOG) .. ccc ccccess 16, 21-22

Sternlight, Jean R., Panacea or Corporate Tool?: Debunking

the Supreme Court’s Preference for Binding Arbitration, 74

We Gs Ge CUED bc vst beces eu 604 avbed 15

Van Wezel Stone, Katherine, Mandatory Arbitration of

Individual Employment Rights: The Yellow Dog Contracts of

the 1990s, 73 DENV. U. L. REV. 1017 (1996) ........ 9

e-Bay User Agreememt .........00eceee. 19, 21-22

No. 99-1823

In the

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY

COMMISSION,

Petitioner,

Vv.

WAFFLE HOUSE, INC.,

Respondent.

Brief of the States of Missouri, Alaska, Arizona,

Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois,

Indiana, lowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland,

Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada,

New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohiv, Rhode Island,

South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia and the

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

In Support of Petitioner

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The amici are all attorneys general — and thus the

chief law enforcement officers — of their respective states and

territories. They have varying amounts of authority to

prosecute criminal cases. But each of them uses civil tools to

enforce a wide range of laws. Among those laws are ones

regulating business practices in areas of the economy where

mandatory arbitration agreements either are already in

2

common use, or could easily be used. The Fourth Circuit’s

holding could permit contracting by private parties to

foreclose suits by the amici where the state seeks monetary

relief that is measured by losses to victims of illegal acts,

even where those victims unknowingly accepted terms buried

in fine print, where the money will eventually flow to the

victims themselves, rather than remain in state coffers. The

amici seek to defend their continued ability to use civil law

enforcement actions as a tool to enforce not just civil rights,

but consumer protection and other laws that protect the

welfare of individual citizens.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The amici (“attorneys general” herein) work with and

often represent state agencies responsible for enforcing civil

rights laws that largely parallel the statute under which the

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission sought to

proceed in this case. Employment, housing, and other

transactions to which those civil rights laws apply typically

involve written contracts — contracts that could easily include

mandatory arbitration clauses. When the attorneys general

seek to enforce the civil rights laws, their goal is to ensure

that persons and corporations in their states comply with the -

law generally, not just to address the needs of a single victim.

That is true even when the tool the-attorneys general use is

one that measures the monetary penalty according to

individual loss.

The rule adopted by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit ignores that goal. It erases the critical

distinction between the role of the EEOC, the state civil

rights agencies, and the attorneys general on the one hand,

and that of private attorneys representing private parties on

the other. It concludes that merely because the government

calculates monetary payments according to a victim’s losses,

3

its law enforcement efforts are restricted by an arbitration

clause entered into by the victim, as to which the government

was never a party. Thus an employer or landlord, by forcing

individual employees or tenants to individual arbitration, can

prevent the government from effectively attacking even a

pattern or practice of discrimination.

That alone is enough to argue strongly against

affirming the Fourth Circuit’s rule. But there is more, for the

rule is not limited to the employment context. Nor is it

limited to discrimination claims. Rather, it could have an

adverse impact on many other law enforcement efforts by the

attorneys general.

In particular, the Fourth Circuit’s rule could adversely

affect efforts by the attorneys general to enforce deceptive

practices and other consumer protection statutes. The

individual stakes in such cases are often much smaller than

those in employment and housing cases. Those smaller stakes

are proportionally harder to vindicate through individual

actions. Often the purchasers lack the sophistication or means

to pursue even arbitration — particularly when it involves

large up-front fees or requires hearings at distant locations.

Small individual stakes and the buyers’ lack of assets or

knowledge are typical of the situations in which class actions

and consumer protection actions by attorneys general are

brought. But a new sort of mandatory arbitration clause is

specially designed to preclude class actions — thus leaving the

attorneys general as the last bastion of protection for many

victims. The Fourth Circuit’s rule could severely damage that

bastion.

The attorneys general do not suggest that the Court

reverse its consistent case law permitting the enforcement of

arbitration clauses as to individual plaintiffs. In fact,

attorneys general have used arbitration and other forms of

4

alternative dispute resolution to address many problems,

including consumer complaints. But in those instances, the

attorneys general or other third-party or government agencies

have a key role in defining the scope, availability, cost, and

consequences of arbitration. Thus there is an independent

check on the process that ensures its fairness to individual

consumers. If permitted to cut government law enforcement

out of areas of the economy where mandatory arbitration

agreements are becoming common, the Fourth Circuit’s rule

would effectively deprive many deceived consumers of

effective redress. And it would have a dramatic impact on

the deterrent effect of consumer protection laws.

ARGUMENT

I. The attorneys general cannot be barred, by an

arbitration agreement to which the state was not a

party, from enforcing state civil rights laws.

States are free to enact fair employment practice

legislation,’ and virtually every state has done so. ? Their

statutes often stretch well beyond the discrimination in

employment that is the subject of the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission’s jurisdiction, reaching discrimina-

' Colorado Anti-discrimination Comm'n v. Continental

Airlines, Inc., 372 U.S. 714, 721-22 (1963). See also

DeCanas v. Bica, 424 U.S. 351, 356 (1976)(states possess

broad authority under their police powers to protect workers

within their borders).

2 The States’ statutes are identified and described in

detail in Fair Employment Practices Manual (BNA) 453:1-

458:9991.

5

tion in housing and other economic sectors.’ The States’

strong local interests in enforcing those anti-discrimination

laws‘ are imperiled by the Fourth Circuit’s holding.

Most states have established enforcement agencies to

investigate charges of discrimination and enforce their laws.”

Like the EEOC, the state agencies are not merely surrogates

for individual victims of discrimination. Rather, they have

independent authority to investigate violations of and to

enforce laws addressing discrimination — again, not just

discrimination in employment — based on disability, race, and

other characteristics. For example, the California Director of

Fair Employment and Housing may file complaints to enforce

California’s Fair Employment and Housing Act.° The

Missouri Commission on Human Rights is empowered "to

eliminate and prevent discrimination.”” The New Jersey

Division on Civil Rights “may compel compliance” with, or

> See, e.g., Alaska Stat. § 18.80.240 (2000); 775 Ill.

Comp. Stat. 5/3-102 (1993); Md. Code Ann. Art. 49(B),

§ 3(c) (2000); Minn. Stat. § 363.03 (2000); Mo. Rev. Stat.

§ 213.040 (2000).

* See, e.g., Bucyrus-Erie Co. v. The Dep't of

Industry, Labor and Human Relations of the State of

Wisconsin, 599 F.2d 205, 207 nl (7 Cir. 1979);

Westinghouse Elec. Corp. v. State of Maryland Comm'n on

Human Rights, 520 F.Supp. 539, 542 (D. Md. 1981).

° Fair Employment Practices Manual (BNA) 451:1

and 451:201 (directory of state and local employment

practices agencies).

® 2000 Cal. Stat. 12960.

” Mo. Rev. Stat. § 213.030(1) (2000).

6

“prevent violations of’ New Jersey's Law Against

Discrimination.* The South Dakota Commission of Human

Rights is empowered to file charges for violations of the

state’s Human Relations Act.’ Just as the EEOC represents

the federal government’s interests, such state agencies

represent the interests of the state. In fact, such state

agencies never cease to represent the interests of the state,

even when proceeding on an individual victim’s claim of

* N.J. Stat. Ann. §§10:5-14.1, -14.1a, and -17 (1993).

* §.D. Codified Laws § 20-13-29 (1995).

© In practice, it is the state or local authority, not the

authority retained by the EEOC, that is most often invoked to

address employment discrimination claims. In fact, the

EEOC must defer initial processing of such claims to a state

or local authority where there are comprehensive state laws,

the authority has adequate investigatory and enforcement

powers, and the authority has applied for deferral status. Fair

Employment Practices Manual (BNA) 451:2, citing 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-5(c) (1995). State and local authorities that have

been so designated account for initial processing of 60% of

the job discrimination charges that the EEOC receives. Id. at

451:1. And of course, charges may also be filed directly with

a state or local authority at the outset. Placing even more

responsibility in the hands of state and local authorities, the

EEOC may certify a designated authority. Certification

means that the EEOC will accept the findings and resolutions

of such authorities upon a lower level of review. /d. at

451:1. Designated or certified state and local authorities are

listed in Fair Employment Practices Manual (BNA) 403:19.

7

discrimination. Representing the state or the public interest

is something that private litigants cannot do."'

The effect of the Fourth Circuit’s holding on state

agencies’ efforts to enforce their laws is, potentially, no

different from its effect on the EEOC. Limiting the ability

of the state agencies and the EEOC to pursue monetary relief

would negatively impact the ability of those enforcement

entities to protect citizens against unlawful discrimination."

This Court has recognized that "[i]f employers faced only the

prospect of an injunctive order, they would have little

incentive to shun practices of dubious legality."’’ It is the

prospect of having to pay back wages that in many cases

"provides the spur or catalyst’" for change in discriminatory

employment practices.'* Most state legislatures recognize that

a potential award of back pay is an important facet of their

and have given their enforcement authorities the power to

award such damages, in addition to injunctive relief.'°

'' See EEOC v. Frank’s Nursery & Crafts, Inc., i177

F.3d 448, 458 (6" Cir. 1999)(whenever EEOC sues in its own

name, it represents the public interest).

' EEOC v. Frank’s Nursery, 177 F.3d 448 at 466.

'> Albemarle Paper v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 417

(1975).

'* Id., quoting U.S. v. N.L. Industries, Inc., 479 F.2d

354, 379 (8th Cir. 1973) (also describing back pay awards as

playing “a crucial role in the remedial process”).

'S Eg. Alaska Stat. § 18.80.130(2)(1) (2000); Ariz.

Rev. Stat. § 41-1481.G (1992); 2000 Cal. Stat. 12970; Fla.

Stat. § 760.11(5) (1997); Minn. Stat. § 363.03 (2000); Mo.

8

The Fourth Circuit’s holding could also hamper the

States’ and the EEOC’s enforcement abilities in an even more

fundamental way. In fulfilling their duties to enforce civil

and human rights laws, these agencies must, despite their

investigatory and subpoena power, depend on individual

victims of discrimination not only to cooperate with them at

the investigation phase, but to alert them at the complaint

filing phase. But individual victims simply may never come

forward at all, when faced with the prospect, as here, of

binding arbitration where contract clauses place the substantial

costs of arbitration in their laps. One circuit judge aptly

noted below that such provisions make “{any] accessible

forum ... in effect, unavailable, because of the disincentive to

arbitrate created by such fees.”"® Under such circumstances,

a victim in effect loses all recourse. And an enforcement

agency does not, as a practical matter, have the opportunity

to learn of the problem and step in, whether to seek damages

Rev. Stat. § 213.075.11(1) (2000); Ohio Rev. Code

§ 4112.05(G)(1) (2001); S.D. Codified Laws § 20-13-42

(1995). States vary in whether their statutes also permit the

imposition of monetary penalties, and as to the size of those

penalties. For example, the cited statutes of Alaska, Arizona,

Florida, Minnesota, Missouri, and Ohio do not refer to

monetary penalties such as fines, though the California and

South Dakota statutes do. See 2000 Cal. Stat. 12970

(permitting actual damages and an administrative fine not to

exceed $150,000, plus a civil penalty not to exceed $25,000);

S.D. Codified Laws § 20-13-47 (1995) (permitting a fine up

to $10,000 for willful or repeat violations of Commission

orders). Clearly many states do not deem penalties, even

with injunctive relief, to be sufficient, standing alone, to

deter violations of civil rights laws.

'© EEOC v. Waffle House, Inc., 193 F.3d 805, 817

n.8 (1999)(King, J., dissenting).

9

or injunctive relief. Both are critical to agency enforcement

efforts.

The Fourth Circuit’s holding also glosses over the fact

that the EEOC is never a party to a private arbitration

agreement. Certainly state enforcement agencies would never

be parties, either. Aside from the obvious absurdity of

binding third parties such as the EEOC or a state agency with

a private contract, especially where a private litigant cannot

and does not represent the public interest, this case presents

the situation in which the need for government enforcement

in general, can be an effective tool of dispute resolution, the

reality is that pre-dispute employment arbitration agreements

are often treated with a healthy dose of skepticism. Some

legal scholars oppose such mandatory arbitration.'’ And some

states have codified their skepticism by specifically exempting

employer-employee pre-dispute arbitration agreements from

enforcement.'* This Court’s decision in Circuit City Stores

'" See, e.g., Katherine Eddy, To Every Remedy a

Wrong: The Confounding of Civil Liberties Through

Mandatory Arbitration Clauses in Employment Contracts, 52

HASTINGS L.J. 771 (2001); Victoria J. Crane, The Mandatory

Arbitration Clause: Forum Selection or Employee Coercion ?,

8 B.U. Pus. INT. L. J. 537 (1999); Lisa B. Bingham, On

Repeat Players, Adhesive Contracts, and the Use of Statistics

in Judicial Review of Employment Arbitration Awards, 29

McCGEORGE L. REV. 223 (Winter 1998); and Katherine Van

Wezel Stone, Mandatory Arbitration of Individual

Employment Rights: The Yellow Dog Contracts of the 1990s,

73 DENV. U. L. REV. 1017 (1996).

‘8 E.g. Ark. Stat. Ann. 16-108-201 (Supp. 1999);

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46a-85 (2001); lowa Code 679A.1 (2001);

and Kan. Stat. Ann. 5-401 (1999).

10

v. Adams" that the Federal Arbitration Act applies to

employment contracts does not ameliorate that skepticism.

Appropriately, it makes no judgment as to the value of

arbitration in such contracts.

The skepticism over employer-mandated arbitration in

the context of a civil rights claim is based, in part, on the

apparent limitations of the arbitration forum. While

specialized agencies such as the EEOC and the States’

enforcement agencies have developed and apply expertise in

the area of discrimination, arbitrators need have no such

expertise.” Nor are they required to follow case law — which

may lead to “particularly unpredictable” results.*' Despite

that unpredictability, there are trends — and they are troubling.

While “[p)laintiffs are estimated to win nearly 70% of the

25,000 wrongful discharge and discrimination cases filed in

state and federal courts nationwide,”” the same is not true in

arbitration. A study demonstrated that an employer who is

arbitrating for the first time is as likely to lose in arbitration

as in court.” But where the employer is a “repeat player”

(has arbitrated before), that risk drops dramatically — to

'% 121 S.Ct. 1302 (2001).

” See Department of Fair Employment and Housing

v. American Airlines, Inc., 1991 CAFEHC LEXIS 18, *37-39

(Ca. Fair Emp. & Housing Comm’n March 7, 1991).

2! Eddy, supra n. 17, at 777.

22 Id.

23 Bingham, supra n. 17, at 234 (employers

arbitrating for the first time are likely to lose 70% of the

time).

——

—_—-

11

16%.** The amount that employees recover where their

employers are repeat players is also statistically less than in

cases involving employers arbitrating for the first time.”

These statistics may explain why “the number of companies

choosing to require mandatory arbitration of employee

disputes is on the rise.”"* And they explain why the States

need to preserve the ability to themselves address

discrimination — particularly systematic discrimination —

despite mandatory arbitration clauses to which they obviously

were not parties.

When enforcing their anti-discrimination laws, the

States are vindicating not just the federal policy before the

Fourth Circuit, but their own policies. The Fourth Circuit did

not, of course, address those state policies in the context of

the purely federal claim before it. But unless this Court

reverses or limits the Fourth Circuit’s holding, it could

become an effective shield against enforcement of the States’

policies. As a matter of logic, the Fourth Circuit’s holding,

grounded as it purports to be in “the competing federal policy

favoring the enforcement of arbitration agreements” and

striking a “balance” between federal anti-discrimination and

pro-arbitration policies,”’ should not extend beyond federal

law. While this Court has said that the Federal Arbitration

Act “pre-empts those state employment laws which restrict or

limit the ability of employees and employers to enter into

* Id.

-

© Eddy, supra n. 17, at 777.

27 193 F.3d at 812.

12

arbitration agreements,” it did so only in the context of

private disputes in which the nights of the individual plaintiffs

who had agreed to arbitrate were at stake, not in the context

of state (or federal) agencies protecting public policy and the

public interest. No decision of this Court limits the power of

state agencies acting in the public interest to enforce state

law.

States that choose to enact anti-discrimination or other

laws regulating employment should be free to strike their own

balances, by statute or through the common law. That

freedom is threatened in this case. The Fourth Circuit’s

majority “relie{d] on its own assumptions about corporate

practices, as if those are somehow dispositive of the question

whether an agreement to arbitrate has been formed.””” Courts

applying that holding might improperly rely on assumptions

about state law. That would wrongly curtail powers left to

the States under our federalist system. Accordingly, even if

this Court were to uphold the Fourth Circuit’s ruling as an

interpretation of federal anti-discrimination law, it should

clarify that the states, including those whose laws against

discrimination are enforced by amici, remain free to strike a

different balance and to permit state agencies to enforce state

law.

Il. The attorneys general cannot be barred, by an

arbitration agreement to which the state was not a

party, from enforcing consumer protection laws.

Although this case arises from the use of an arbitration

clause in an employment agreement, the Fourth Circuit’s rule

is not, by express limitation or by its rationale, restricted to

8 Circuit City, 121 S. Ct. at 1312.

2° 193 F.3d at 817 (King, J., dissenting).

13

that context. Nor is it limited to the context of the civil

rights laws. Indeed, the Fourth Circuit’s rule may affect any

action where the underlying transaction involves an arbitration

clause. Thus it threatens a wide range of actions in which

attorneys general would otherwise seek to enforce the law by

using restitution or damages as tools. Attorneys general use

those actions to attack practices that result in small individual,

but large collective losses. In those instances, the attorneys

general act where individual claimants may lack the economic

means or the economic incentive to act. The actions of the

attorneys general, much like class actions brought by private

counsel, are intended in part to “overcome the problem that

small recoveries do not provide the incentive for any

individual to bring a solo action prosecuting his or her

rights.” But again, they are also intended to enforce the law

generally — to create a deterrent against fraud, deceit,

discrimination, and other ills.

Though such actions may be brought in a wide variety

of contexts, attorneys general have been particularly active in

the area of consumer protection. “As of 1977, 48 states plus

Puerto Rico and Guam had enacted consumer protection

laws.”*' Many of them are “little FTC Acts,” “meant to

complement the deceptive practices jurisdiction of the

[Federal Trade Commission].”’ Such laws are “modeled

*® Mace v. Van Ru Credit Corp., 109 F.3d 338, 344

(7" Cir. 1997), quoted with approval, Amchem Prods. v.

Windsor, 521 U.S. 591, 616 (1997).

*! Purity Supreme, Inc. v. AG, 380 Mass. 762, 407

N.E. 2d 297, 304 n. 11 (Mass. 1980).

2 Cel-Tech Communications, Inc. v. Los Angeles

Cellular Telephone Co., 20 Cal.4th 163, 973 P.2d 527, 551

n. 2, 83 Cal.Reptr.2d 548 (Cal. 1999) (Kennard, J.

14

after the Federal Trade Commission Act, which prohibits

‘unfair and deceptive acts and practices.””’? In most states,

the laws are enforced by the attorney general.“* When an

attorney general files an action under such an act — even if

the action seeks restitution, as it often does — the suit “is

essentially a law enforcement action designed to protect the

public, not to benefit private parties.””*

The attorneys general have used consumer protection

laws to attack deceptive and unfair practices in a wide variety

of industries. For example, attorneys general have obtained

relief against health insurance companies that permitted

providers to charge co-pays based on a theoretical “full price”

rather than the price actually negotiated with the insurer, and

against cellular telephone companies that round up to the next

minute even after one second without adequately notifying

customers. They have initiated investigations and filed

actions to address a wide variety of complaints in long

distance telephone service, most prominently carriers that

switch residential customers to their systems, sometimes with

high initial and switching fees and usuaily with higher rates,

based on deceptive documents -— colloquially called

“slamming.” Many of the actions taken by the attorneys

general are prompted by consumer complaints. The pattern

of such complaints highlights the potential for mischief

presented by the Fourth Circuit’s rule. As a sample, during

dissenting).

3 State ex rel. Nixon v. Telco Directory Publishing,

863 S.W.2d 596, 601 (Mo. banc 1993).

* Purity Supreme, 407 N.E. 2d at 304 n. 11.

> People v. Lann, 225 Ill.App.3d 236, 587 N.E. 2d

521, 524 (Ill. App. 1992).

15

March 2001, the Missouri Attorney General’s Consumer

Complaint Unit logged 2074 complaints — most of them in

areas such as time shares, consumer finance and credit,

telephone service, and automobile sales. In all of these and

many areas of concern to the attorneys general, there are

written notices and agreements into which a mandatory

arbitration clause could be inserted.

To date, the effect of mandatory arbitration clauses in

these and other areas addressed by the attorneys general has

been very limited. But a collision between those clauses and

the States’ law enforcement efforts is inevitable. This Court

has confirmed the enforceability of arbitration agreements in

a wide variety of contexts.** Businesses are building on that

foundation, rapidly expanding their use of such agreements

into new areas of our economy. Unfortunately, the economic

incentives that encourage that trend sometimes encourage the

use of techniques designed to take advantage of consumers

and others who lack the economic incentive to pursue their

claims when faced with the burdens of, and sometimes

offered only limited benefits by, arbitration.” In some

industries, consumers who manage to read the fine print,

understand it, and persevere to seek out an alternative supplier

can avoid such techniques by choosing a supplier that does

not insist on arbitration, or at least one that offers a

* E.g., Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Adams, 121 S.Ct.

1302 (2001); Green Tree Financial Corp. v. Randolph, 531

U.S. 79 (2000); Doctors Assocs., Inc. v. Casarotto, 517 U.S.

681 (1996); Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500

U.S. 20 (1991).

*” See Jean R. Sternlight, Panacea of Corporate

Tool?: Debunking the Supreme Court’s Preference for

Binding Arbitration, 74 WASH. U.L.Q. 637, 680-86 (1996).

16

consumer-friendly arbitration process. But choices may be

limited in some industries.

Consumers have no choice whether to use arbitration

when an entire industry uses arbitration clauses. And the use

of industry-wide arbitration is neither new nor unusual. “For

over a hundred years, so-called self-regulatory organizations

.. such as the New York Stock Exchange have established

arbitration programs for resolution of consumer claims against

brokerages.”** This Court has upheld decisions compelling

arbitration under such programs.” More recently, mandatory

arbitration has become nearly universal in other fields. Thus

today it is standard to find, buried in the small print of the

rules included in credit card solicitations, a clause requiring

arbitration of disputes with the card provider. Similar clauses

are inserted, with little notice, into the rules covering existing

credit card accounts. Some companies have gone so far as to

add a purportedly retroactive clause after a class action

against the company has been filed but before the class is

certified, in a transparent attempt to prevent participation in

the class.“ That expansion has not generally been successful.

38 Jean R. Sternlight, As Mandatory Binding

Arbitration Meets the Class Action, Will the Class Action

Survive?, 42 WM. & MARY L. REV. 1, 45 n. 169 (Oct. 2000).

3° E.g., Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American

Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477 (1989); Shearson/American

Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220 (1987).

“© See, e.g., Marsh v. First USA Bank, NA, 103 F.

Supp. 2d 909 (N.D. Tex. 2000); Carnegie v. H&R Block,

Inc., 687 N.Y.S.2d 528 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1999); Powertel, Inc.

v. Bexley, 743 So. 2d 570 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1999); Bodie

v. Bank of America, 67 Cal.App.4th 779, 79 Cal. Rptr. 2d

273 (Cal. App. 1" Dist. 1998).

17

But it demonstrates the lengths to which some companies will

stretch an industry’s penchant for arbitration.

Though in most industries arbitration is not yet

pervasive, it is present and rapidly becoming common in a

wide variety of consumer transactions. Among the recent

reported cases involving such clauses are ones involving

insurance,*' automobile sales.” franchises,” consumer loans“

and cellular telephone phone service.** The clauses are

rendre + peacoat

*' Appleton Papers, Inc. v. The Home Indemnity Co..,

235 Wis.2d 39, 612 N.W. 2d 760 (Wis. App. 2000);

Nationwide Mutual Fire Ins. Co. v. Pinnacle Medical, Inc.,

752 So. 2d 55 (Fla. 2000); Fireman’s Fund Ins. v.

Bugailisluis, 278 Ill.App.3d 19, 662 N.E. 2d 555 (Ill. App.

1996); Graham v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co..,

565 A.2d 908, 912 (Del. 1989).

Capitol Chevrolet & Imports v. Granthan, 2000

Ala. LEXIS 490 (2000); Lozada v. Dale Baker Oldsmobile,

91 F. Supp. 2d 1087 (W.D. Mich. 2000); Med Center Cars,

Inc. v. Smith, 727 So. 2d 9 (Ala. 1998).

* Bishop v. We Care Hair Development Corp., 316

Ill.App.3d 1182, 738 N.E. 2d 610 (Ill. App. 2000); We Care

Hair Development Corp. v. Engen, 180 F.3d 838 (7 Cir.

1999); KKW Enterprises v. Gloria Jean’s Gourmet Coffees,

184 F.3d 42 (1* Cir. 1999).

“ Johnson v. West Suburban Bank; 225 F.3d 366 (3d

Cir. 2000); American General Finance v. Branch, 2001 Ala.

LEXIS 78 (2001).

** Powertel, Inc. v. Bexley, 743 So. 2d 570 (Fla.

App. 1999).

18

involving consumers, such as real estate purchases.” They

are being used to regulate the ability of patients to pursue

complaints about health insurance,*’ physicians,* managed

care organizations,*”” and nursing homes. And they now

appear in many of the parts of the economy where attorney

generals have found consistent patterns of deceptive practices

being used on relatively unsophisticated and economically

“ Johnson v. Siegel, 84 Cal. App. 4" 1087, 101 Cal.

Rptr 2d 412 (Cal. App. 6" Dist. 2000).

‘7 United Benefit Life Ins. Co. v. Collins, 2001 WL

273902 (N.D. Ala. 2001).

“8 Sosa v. Paulos, 924 P.2d 357 (Utah 1996);

Broemmer v. Abortion Serv. of Phoenix, Lid., 173 Ariz. 148,

840 P.2d 1013 (Ariz. 1992); Obstetrics & Gynecologists

William G. Wixted, et al., v. Pepper, 101 Nev. 105, 693 P.2d

1259 (Nev. 1985).

“9 In re Managed Care Litigation, 132 F. Supp. 2d

989 (S.D. Fla. 2000); Broughton v. Cigna Healthplans of

Calif., 21 Cal.4" 1066, 988 P.2d 67, 90 Cal.Reptr. 334 (Cal.

1999); Erickson v. Aetna Health Plans of Calif., 71 Cal. App.

4" 646, 84 Cal.Reptr. 76 (Cal. App. 4" Dist. 1999).

50 Condee v. Longwood Management Corp., 88

Cal.App.4” 215, 105 Cal. Rptr. 2d 597 (Cal. App. 4 " Dist.

2001).

——$—— ee eee a

19

disadvantaged consumers, such as home repairs,*' mobile

home sales,” and “pay day” loans.”

The move toward mandatory arbitration clauses has

been accelerated by the arrival of “e-commerce.” The

purchase of goods and services on the Internet involves

written agreements and long distance relationships that lend

themselves to the imposition of mandatory contractual terms.

The clauses are accessible only through multipie “links” or

“clicks,” and even then only by scrolling through lengthy

“terms and conditions” pages. For example, the most popular

Internet auction site, “eBay,” includes a clause seventeen

paragraphs into its “User Agreement” that requires its

customers to use arbitration — and provides that the arbitration

take place in San Jose, California, that it cannot be

consolidated with other arbitrations, and that it conform to

rules that can impose considerable costs on the person seeking

arbitration:

Any legal controversy or legal claim arising

out of or relating to this Agreement or our

services, excluding legal action taken by eBay

to collect our fees and/or recover damages for,

or obtain an injunction relating to, the eBay

site operations, intellectual property, and our

*! Williams v. Aetna Finance Co., 88 Ohio St. 3d

464, 700 N.E. 2d 859 (Ohio 1998).

*? Oakwood Acceptance Corp. v. Hobbs, 2001 Ala.

LEXIS 4 (2001); Johnnie’s Homes, Inc. v. Holt, 2001 Ala.

LEXIS 8 (2001); Dobbins v. Hawk's Enterprises, 198 F. 3d

715 (8" Cir. 1999).

*> Amold v. United Companies Lending Corp., 204

W.Va. 229, 511 S.E. 2d 854 (W. Va. 1998).

20

services, shall be settled by binding arbitration

in accordance with the commercial arbitration

rules of the American Arbitration Association.

Any such controversy or claim shall be

arbitrated on an individual basis, and shall not

be consolidated in any arbitration with any

claim or controversy of any other party. The

arbitration shall be conducted in San Jose,

California, and judgment on the arbitration

award may be entered into any court having

jurisdiction thereof. . . .“

Such terms inhibit the ability of consumers in distant states

and territories to enforce their rights — especially when the

dispute involves small dollar amounts.

The impact of mandatory arbitration clauses is further

exacerbated by changing demographics. The 1990 Census

showed that nearly 6 million U.S. residents lived in

households that were “linguistically isolated,” i.e., there was

** The eBay “User Agreement” is available at

http://pages.ebay.com/help/community/png-user.html (visited

May 24, 2001). The “commercial arbitration rules of the

American Arbitration Association” (AAA) referred to in the

eBay agreement include filing fees starting at $500 on claims

below $10,000, though the fee might be waived in some

undefined set of circumstances. Effective March 15, 2001,

the AAA has set out a separate set of “Arbitration Rules for

the Resolution of Consumer-Related Disputes,” which

provides for an initial $125 fee for consideration of a paper

record and an additional $100 for a telephone hearing, but

refer the consumer back to the commercial rules for an in-

person hearing. The AAA rules and fee schedules are

available at http://www.adr.org/ under “Focus areas:

Commercial” (visited May 24, 2001).

21

no resident over age 14 who spoke English well.*° Though

the language data for the 2000 Census has not been released,

if it tracks the dramatic increases in the number of Hispanic

and Asian residents, the number of “linguistically isolated”

households will have risen to more than nine million. The

language problems of those making purchasing decisions in

those households makes their residents more likely to

unknowingly agree to mandatory arbitration. And for them,

the arbitration process is particularly difficult, for the rules of

the major arbitration groups lack any promise of translation

assistance.

If the Fourth Circuit’s rule is upheld, the increased use

of mandatory arbitration agreements may severely and

adversely impact the effectiveness of efforts of attorneys

general to protect consumers at all income levels and with all

degrees of English proficiency. Yet the attorneys general

may already be the last bastion of protection where numerous

consumers have small claims but lack the economic power to

vindicate their rights and force changes in behavior. Though

class actions have often shared that role, the arbitration

industry has discovered and actively promoted methods of

preventing consumers and others from pursuing relief as a

** U.S. Census Bureau, Table 3. Language Use and

English Ability, Persons 18 Years and Over, by State: 1990

Census, available at http://www.census.gov/population/-

socdemo/language/table3.txt (visited May 24, 2001).

© In the 1990 Census, 29,627,721 residents listed

Hispanic or Asian as their race; in the 2000 Census, the total

was 45,548,807. For further discussion of the increase in

Hispanic population, see Betsy Guzman, The Hispanic

Population (U.S. Census 2000 Brief Series, May 2001),

available at http://www.census.gov/prod/200 | pubs/-

c2kbr01-3.pdf (visited April 30, 2001).

22

class.’ Companies using mandatory arbitration seek to

prevent class actions because they “know that because many

claims are not viable if brought individually, plaintiffs will

often drop or fail to initiate claims once it is clear that class

relief is unavailable.” Thus they have increasingly used

express bars on class relief. Those bars follow the pattern

shown in the eBay User Agreement: They prohibit an

individual claim in arbitration from being “consolidated in

any arbitration with any claim or controversy of any other

party.” That strategy, “[i]f successful, . . . would permit

any company that has an ongoing relationship with a potential

plaintiff-such as an insurer, manufacturer, cruise ship or

HMO-+to use a contract of adhesion to require that person,

typically unknowingly, to arbitrate rather than litigate, and to

explicitly bar that person from proceeding by way of class

action.”*'

The anti-class-action arbitration strategy has been

subject to attack by plaintiffs and their lawyers. But

companies defending such provisions have themselves brought

the issue back to the point that so concerns the amici

attorneys general. When faced with plaintiffs’ claim that

eliminating class actions blows a huge hole into enforcement

of consumer protection laws, such companies have pointed in

*” See Sternlight, supra note 38, at 5 n. 2.

** Sternlight, supra note 38, at 9.

® See Sternlight, supra note 38, at 6.

® e-Bay User Agreement, supra note 54.

*' Sternlight, supra note 38, at 10-11 (footnotes

omitted).

23

defense directly to enforcement by government agencies.”

Recently the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit,

upholding an agreement barring class actions in Johnson v.

West Suburban Bank,® accepted that argument. It pointed to

the continued existence of “administrative enforcement

mechanisms” to rebut a claim that to bar class actions would

severely undermine the effectiveness of the Truth in Lending

Act.“ But that argument is premised on the continued ability

of the government to pursue those who engage in fraudulent

or deceptive practices. And again, that ability is threatened

by the Fourth Circuit’s rule.

The attorneys general recognize that the Fourth

Circuit’s rule permits the use of penalties and injunctive relief

~— as the Third Circuit pointed out in the context of federal

law enforcement in West Suburban Bank.© But at least as

applied to state consumer protection laws, the Third Circuit’s

analysis is problematic. It presupposes — falsely — that there

is a practical alternative for the victims. It presupposes —

again, falsely — either that the government’s interest is solely

to enforce the law prospectively, or that enforcement limited

to the future is an effective deterrent to misbehavior today.

*? _E.g., Brief of The Chamber of Commerce of the

United States of America as Amicus Curiae in Support of

Petitioners, Green Tree Financial Corp. v. Randolph, No. 99-

1235, 1999 U.S. Briefs LEXIS 1235, *22 (Federal Trade

Commission’s restitution authority can be used to protect

consumer rights under the Truth in Lending Act even where

there are arbitration agreements).

® 225 F.3d 366 (3d Cir. 2000).

* Id. at 375.

- =

a4

And it forces the curious conclusion that the public is better

off — and that Congress and the state legislatures intended to

leave them — with penalties flowing into the public treasury

than with restitution flowing to those suffering actual loss. “

There is nothing in the Third Circuit’s opinion, or in any

decision cited by that court, to explain such a conclusion.

Moreover, the Third Circuit’s analysis is in the context

of banking, a closely supervised industry where there are

frequent opportunities for federal agencies to observe and

attack violations of the law. The state consumer protection

laws have a much broader range, and are most often enforced

by the attorneys general outside the regulated industry

context. As to the consumer protection laws, it is critical to

recognize that it may be possible to insert a mandatory

arbitration clause in virtually every consumer transaction with

written documents, either paper or electronic. Thus the

Fourth Circuit’s rule might ultimately permit those selling

goods ranging from time shares to used automobiles, services

ranging from long distance telephone service to driveway

resurfacing, and even those engaged in pyramid schemes to

point to arbitration clauses and proclaim immunity from

actions by the attorneys general that reach nefarious past acts.

That would be true even though the attorneys general appear

as plaintiffs, seeking to enforce the law.®’

Even when an attorney general appears as a plaintiff,

vindicating the public interest and enforcing state law, the

recovery may be measured in terms of consumer loss. The

* The Third Circuit’s analysis does not address, of

course, instances in which penalties are not available. See

note 15, supra.

*” See, e.g., In the Matter of Towers, 162 F.3d 952,

956 (7th Cir. 1998).

25

funds recovered may even flow, directly or indirectly, to

consumers. But neither the measurement nor the identity of

the ultimate recipient changes the fact that suits brought under

consumer protection statutes are law enforcement actions,

intended to eliminate the incentive to deceive by ensuring the

disgorgement of ill-gotten profits. This Court should prevent

the Fourth Circuit (and other state and federal courts that

might follow its rule) from forcing the law and the States

down a road that leads, as a practical matter, to a place where

unnumbered consumers who have been deceived, but who

lack the ability to pursue or have lost sums too small to

justify even the costs of individual arbitrations, are left

without effective protection. Arbitration certainly has an

important role even in consumer law. But it should not be

handed to the unscrupulous as a shield from government

efforts to attack consumer deception after the fact.

26

CONCLUSION

Because of the threat it poses to the effective

enforcement by the States of their civil rights, consumer, and

other laws, the Court should reverse or limit the Fourth

Circuit’s holding and affirm the ability of the States to

enforce their laws even when the tool they use measures

relief and ultimately results in payments to victims who

signed contracts that included mandatory arbitration clauses.

Respectfully submitted,

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON

Attorney General

JAMES R. LAYTON

State Solicitor

Counsel of Record

ALANA M. BARRAGAN-SCOTT

Deputy Solicitor

Supreme Court Building

P.O. Box 899

Jefferson City, MO 65102-0899

(573) 751-3321

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

May 25, 2001

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.