Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Vopper (Nos. 99-1728, 99-1687)

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

fo9 rey iageated

az ~~ - ae Court, US.

Nos. 99-1687, 99-1728 , FILED

‘eat LS

IN THE GOT 25 2000

| i

Supreme Court of the Unjted States |

a

GLORIA BARTNICKI and ANTHONY F. KANE, JR..

Petitioners,

—_—VY —

FREDERICK W. VOPPER, et ai..,

Respondents.

.2>— >>

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Petitioner.

—

FREDERICK W. VOPPER, et al..

Respondents.

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF MEDIA ENTITIES AND

ORGANIZATIONS IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

FLOYD ABRAMS*

LANDIS C. BEST

*Counsel of Record

CAHILL GORDON & REINDEL

80 Pine Street

New York, New York 10005

(212) 701-3000

October 25, 2000 Counsel for Amici Curiae

(Additional counsel listed within brief)

IBEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

TABLE OF AUTEIORIT EBS .ccccccccccccccccsees ili

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI

CHEERED cc ccocdcncesecncceseetéuvesinnenanane l

UC MEET cccccccsoncesscsvncssocssnenupes 2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ................... 6

REPUEES oc vcccccvcssadcecsetnsccncnnesoaotacs 8

I. THE DECISION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT

SHOULD BE AFFIRMED BASED ON

FEMS GEMM cccvcccccscsscucecccoseseesss 8

A. This Court’s Jurisprudence Culminating

SD PRIVEE GOP occ ctericccscsssooncsctane 9

B. The Wiretapping Statute at Issue Is

Not Narrowly Tailored to a State

Interest of the Highest Order........... 13

Il. THE ARGUMENTS ADVANCED FOR

SIDESTEPPING THE FLORIDA STAR

ANALYSIS ARE WITHOUT MERIT....... 20

A. The Florida Star Line of Authority

is Based Upon the Overarching

Public Interest in Protecting Truthful

il

PAGE

B. The Tape at Issue Was Lawfully

Obtained by the Media Respondents ... 24

TSR 6ceewhenerdercecccenccecssccecces 30

APPENDIX

Description of Amici Curiae ...........-.65. la

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Bartnicki v. Vopper, 200 F.3d 109

SEL: ED Snadocnedecceddusceccousseccces 24n

Bates v. State Bar of Arizona, 433 U.S.

Oe Piicuscdncceussesesiecéncencenncceses 23

Boehner v. McDermott, 191 F.3d 463

(D.C. Cir. 1999), petition for cert.

filed, 68 U.S.L.W. 3686 (U.S. Apr.

25, 2000) (No. 99-1709)............ 18, 27, 27n, 28

Butterworth v. Smith, 494 U.S. 624 (1990) ..... 20n, 23

Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp. v. Public

Service Comm'n of New York, 447 U.S. 557

GEE eecnndcccaddsnsancseeseduaccscenececuce 22-23

City of Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43 (1994)..... 24n

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn,

420 U.S. SGD CIDTS) ..cccccccccccess 7, 9-10, 11, 14

The Florida Star v. B.J.F., 491 U.S. 524

SE sdecceceuedacnscesdsncénnntavsececseess passim

Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64 (1964)...... 10

in ve Gault, 367 U.S. 1 (1967) ....ccccccccccceces 15n

Houchins v. KQED, Inc., 438 U.S. 1 (1978)..... 29

Keller v. Aymond, 722 So.2d 1224 (La. Ct. App.

1998), writ denied, 742 So.2d 551, 552

(La. 1999), cert. denied sub nom. Central

Newspapers, Inc. v. Johnson, 120 S.Ct. 397

GREED succcccccccacucseccesessconnesesscedses 3, 3n

iv

PAGE

Landmark Communications, Inc. v. Virginia,

ee CE ow ccescncncscccesvecdocs passim

Miller v. Transamerican Press, Inc., 621 F.2d

721, amended by, 628 F.2d 932 (Sth Cir.

1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 1041 (1981)... 17n

Mills v. Alabama, 384 U.S. 214 (1966) ......... 24n, 28

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254

SII % ssurad chin iiehintt nach cladia then bees coeeaeaeh einen 22

New York Times Co. v. United States,

403 U.S. 713 (1971) ............. 4, 4n, 23, 26n, 28

Nicholson v. McClatchy Newspapers, 177 Cal.

App. 3d 509, 223 Cal. Rptr. 58 (Cal. Ct.

Gy BE bp errccnsvcvcccenuscccsonceesoccees 3n-4n

Oklahoma Publishing Co. v. District Court,

Gs PED caciccucveccencéescocess ll, lin

Pearson v. Dodd, 410 F.2d 701 (D.C. Cir.), cert.

denied, 395 U.S. 947 (1969) ................ 4, 4n

Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Hepps,

SF eB i saniencesdaveseeseesvces: 22

Schneider v. State, 308 U.S. 147 (1939)......... 27

Smith v. Daily Mail Publishing Co.,

SP Wn Be CE snccccceddsddscccnccccnnsd passim

Time, Inc. v. Hill, 385 U.S. 374 (1967) .......... 22

Constitutional Provisions:

FT eee passim

Law Reviews:

Harry Kalven, Jr., Privacy in Tort Law—

Were Warren and Brandeis Wrong?,

31 Law & Contemp. Probs. 326 (1966) ..... 30n

Rodney A. Smolla, Privacy and the First

Amendment Right to Gather News, 67

Geo. Wash. L. Rew. 1097 (1999) ............ 24

Samuel D. Warren & Lous D. Brandeis,

The Right to Privacy, 4 Harv. L. Rev.

FS ee eee Cee eae 30n

Diane Zimmerman, Requiem For a Heavy-

weight: A Farewell To Warren and

Brandeis’s Privacy Tort, 68 Cornell

A cnunstinscadantipeseosocceoess 21n

Newspaper Articles:

Phillip J. Hilts, Tobacco Company Was Silent

on Hazards, N.Y. Times, May 7, 1994,

SE cxtaien vosnnnas veweqenyescs ccuvesncest 4-5, 5n

Nicholas Lemann, Keeping the Secret:

Many Reporters Were Silent on Escapees’

Whereabouts, Wash. Post, Jan. 31, 1980,

SE so eniwenttegtcens eee wntxen Litinenbbeneenne 5n

James Risen, The C./.A. in lran—A Special

Report: How a Plot Convulsed Iran in °53

(and in "79), N.Y. Times, Apr. 16, 2000,

ST nthe stownnstsesenestcéséonse oie 4, 4n

vi

PAGE

Sup. Ct. R.

8 Ee See ae nee em In

Pla dicudwscdecsdocesesesoessionbeebennéenees In

Senate Report:

S. Rep. No. 90-1097 (1968), reprinted

in 1968 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2112........ 15-16, 16n-17n

Statutes:

Federal

Criminal Code

18 U.S.C. § 2511(1)(c) (1994), as amended...13n, 25

18 U.S.C. § 2511(1)(d) (1994), as amended... 13n, 25

18 U.S.C. § 2512 (1994), as amended....... 16

Sedition Act of 1798, 1 Stat. 596................ 22

State

Ala. Code § 13A-11-35 (2000)................... 20n

Alaska Stat.

§ 42.20.310(a)(2) (Michie 1999)............ 20n

§ 42.20.330 (Michie 1999) .................. 20n

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-3005 (West 1999).... 20n

Ark. Code Ann. § 5-60-120 (1999) .............. 20n

Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18-9-303 (West 2000)... 20n

Conn. Gen. Stat.

nL on cneegeedsngueohwenieeees 20n

PEE svepcunecenvccersssonstotince 20n

-— oO <—o

Ga. Code Ann. § 16-11-62 (2000)................

720 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann.

FF GE ce ci cscdenescccescncenssee

5/14-6(B) (West 2000)... ..cccccccccccccvecs

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-4002 (1999)................

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 526.060

(Banks-Baldwin 1998) ......................

Mich. Comp. Laws § 750.539h(b) (2000)....... .

Mont. Code Ann. § 45-8-213 (1999).............

N.Y. Penal Law § 250.05 (McKinney 1999) .....

N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-15-02 (1999) ...........

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 176.3 (West 1999)....

Or. Rev. Stat. § 165.540 (1999)..................

R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-35-21 (1999) ...............

S.D. Codified Laws § 23A-35A-20

PSE pocccccsccescccnseccavscseneecs

Wash. Rev. Code Ann.

Rw ee

© D. TPR Ce BOO eo vc vcncccccccccccccecs

Oe

Treatises and Books:

Alexander M. Bickel, The Morality of

oct nncnstedbscouscesoeoscs

Jay Black, et al., Doing Ethics in

ls ee taal

viii

PAGE

David S. Broder, Behind the Front Page (1987). 2n

David Burnham, Above the Law (1996).......... 4, 4n

Jack Fuller, News Values (1996).............. a ae

4 Ronald D. Rotunda & John E. Nowak,

Treatise on Constitutional Law

i i aa leis lial a 23

Tom Wicker, On Press (1978). ..........00ceeeee: 5n

Other Authorities:

Appendix, Landmark Communications,

Inc. v. Virginia, 435 U.S. 829 (1978)

GPE Pe 0.0 0 ceccccuccesecences 3n, 11, Lin, 28

Associated Press Managing Editors Code of

Ethics (revised and adopted, 1995) ......... 2, 2n

Brief for Amici Curiae, Smith v. Daily Mail

Publishing Co., 443 U.S. 97 (1979)

GA Rove ccopennncessesscsqeuevesscoses 15n

Brief for Appellant, Smith v. Daily Mail

Publishing Co., 443 U.S. 97 (1979)

CR FE 0 cc cccccccccncnscesvcesonseccces 15n

The Business Week Editorial Handbook ......... 2, 2n

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 652D (1977)... 19

Society of Professional Journalists Code of

Ethics (revised and adopted, 1996) ......... 2, 2n

Time Inc. Editorial Guidelines............0++++++ 2, 2n

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici and their members are involved in the gathering

and reporting of news to the American public.' The

media entities and organizations that submit this brief

include the publishers of newspapers, including The New

York Times, The San Diego Union-Tribune, USA Today,

the Houston Chronicle, the Miami Herald, the Denver

Rocky Mountain News, the Chicago Tribune, and the

Washington Post; magazines, including The New Yorker,

Business Week, and Time; national broadcast news net-

works, including ABC, Inc., CBS Broadcasting Inc.,

National Broadcasting Company, Inc., and Cable News

Network; the Associated Press; and associations that

defend First Amendment rights, including the Magazine

Publishers of America, Inc., the Newspaper Association

of America, the Pennsylvania Newspaper Association,

the Radio-Television News Directors Association, the

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, and the

Society of Professional Journalists. A more detailed

statement of the amici is annexed to this brief.

Amici are vitally interested in and deeply concerned

about any ruling that could result in the imposition of

sanctions against journalists for reporting truthful mat-

ters of public significance about which they become

aware as a result of entirely lawful and wholly routine

newsgathering efforts. This case raises that spectre

and amici submit this brief to set forth their views as to

why the judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit should be affirmed.

' No counsel for any party in this case authored this brief in

whole or in part, and no person or entity other than amici curiae and

its members made any monetary contribution to the preparation or

submission of this brief. Sup. Ct. R. 37.6. The parties have consented

to the filing of this brief; letters of consent have been filed with the

Clerk of this Court. Sup. Ct. R. 37.3.

2

INTRODUCTION

From the time individuals first consider becoming

journalists, two principles are drilled into them. Both are

at risk in this case.

The first is that telling the truth about matters of

public interest is what journalism, at its best, is all

about. Journalists who consult codes of ethics written

about their chosen field read the repeated exhortation

that their role is to “seek truth and report it”’ and that

“truth is [their] guiding principle.’ Journalists employed

at newspapers, magazines and broadcasters are instructed

that “the most important” quality of any story “is accu-

racy,” that “above all,” a publication “must be factually

accurate,”* and that “[t}he principle[ ] of accuracy” stands

“at the very heart of journalism.” Journalists who read

the writings of the most thoughtful and accomplished

leaders of their community learn that while news is “at

most a provisional kind of truth, the best that can be said

quickly,” the judgment journalists make about what is

true “stands near the very center of the press’s social

purpose in a self-governing society.”’ It should come as

no surprise, then, that journalists who read opinions of

this Court find unsurprising this Court’s repeated ref-

erences to “the overarching public interest, secured

> Society of Professional Journalists Code of Ethics | (revised

and adopted, 1996).

3 Associated Press Managing Editors Code of Ethics \ (revised

an4 adopted, 1995).

¢ Time Inc. Editorial Guidelines \1.

‘The Business Week Editorial Handbook 5.

® Jay Black, et al., Doing Ethics in Journalism 43 (1993).

’ Jack Fuller, News Values 5 (1996); see also David S. Broder,

Behind the Front Page 19 (1987) (“[t}he way we cover news is to dig

for facts, in hopes that they will yield an approximation of truth”).

3

by the Constitution, in the dissemination of truth.” The

Florida Star v. B.J.F., 491 U.S. 524, 533 (1989) (citation

and internal quotation omitted). That public interest is

directly imperiled in this case.

So is the journalistic norm that in the course of gath-

ering news, journalists should affirmatively seek the

truth from those who have it—including people who may

themselves be subject to constraints limiting their abil-

ity to speak. This applies to the gathering of news both

about government and avout the private sector. To offer

only a few examples:

¢ When journalists who attended a press confer-

ence called by a candidate who had lost a judicial

election at which the losing candidate played

allegedly incriminating tapes of telephone con-

versations of the victorious candidate, they pub-

lished the information, notwithstanding \ that

anyone who engaged in wiretapping was plainly

guilty of a federal and state crime;*

¢ When the Virginian Pilot learned from various

participants in a confidential judicial disciplinary

proceeding, that charges of incompetence against

a juvenile court judge were under consideration,

the newspaper published an article identifying

the judge notwithstanding that the sources (and

the newspaper itself) were subject to criminal

sanctions for revealing the information;’

* See Keller v. Aymond, 722 So.2d 1224 (La. Ct. App. 1998),

writ denied, 742 So.2d 551, 552 (La. 1999), cert. denied sub nom.

Central Newspapers, Inc. v. Johnson, 120 S. Ct. 397 (1999).

% Landmark Communications, Inc. v. Virginia, 435 U.S. 829

(1978). See Appendix at 46a, Landmark Communications, supra (No.

76-1450) (“Landmark Communications Appendix”) (containing arti-

cle referring to sources). See also Nicholson v. McClatchy News-

papers, 177 Cal. App. 3d 509, 223 Cal. Rptr. 58 (Cal. Ct. App. 1986)

4

¢ When a journalist was provided with information

relating to potentially corrupt conduct of a

United States senator based upon documents

illicitly (and probably illegally) obtained by one

of the senator's aides from the senator's files, the

information was duly published;'°

¢ When highly classified documents were made

available to journalists that revealed information

about such subjects as how the United States

became embroiled in the Vietnamese conflict,''

how the FBI's Surreptitious Entry Program

routinely breaks into houses, offices, and

warehouses,'* and how the United States had

masterminded a 1953 coup d'etat in Iran,'* the

information was published notwithstanding that

the sources were not authorized to reveal the

information and could have been subject to crim-

inal or civil sanctions for doing so; and

¢ When the New York Times was provided with

secret, internal documents of a cigarette company

revealing its knowledge of significant health

risks of that product far earlier than had previ-

ously been publicly disclosed, the newspaper

published an article based on the documents

(sustaining demurrer to suit against newspaper and reporters for pub-

lishing article about confidential fact that Commission on Judicial

Nominees Evaluation had found plaintiff not qualified for judicial

appointment).

10 Pearson v. Dodd, 410 F.2d 701 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 395

U.S. 947 (1969).

New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. 713 (1971).

'2 David Burnham, Above the Law 130-34 & n. 1 (1996).

‘S$ James Risen, The C.I.A. in Iran—A Special Report: How a

Plot Convulsed Iran in '53 (and in '79), N.Y. Times, Apr. 16, 2000,

at Al.

5

notwithstanding the claims of the company that

the documents had been stolen by a paralegal and

were subject to a judicial protective order that

bound at least the paralegal.'*

We wish to be clear: As this Court is well aware, jour-

nalists do not publish every scrap of truthful information

they receive, even if the information is newsworthy.'®

But they do proceed on the understanding that they are

entitled to seek information from those that have it and

that they may print or broadcast the truthful and news-

worthy information that they lawfully gather.

For journalists, then, the notion that liability may be

imposed upon them for doing nothing more or less than

reporting truthfully about newsworthy events is deeply

disturbing. While not all journalists are aware of the

judicial provenance of Justice Stewart's observation that

“(t}hough government may deny access to information

and punish its theft, government may not prohibit or

punish the publication of that information once it falls

into the hands of the press. . . ,”'® they are well aware

4 Phillip J. Hilts, Tobacco Company Was Silent on Hazards,

N.Y. Times, May 7, 1994, at Al.

'S_ To cite only two examples, no journalistic organization pub-

lished the fact (which was well known in the journalistic community )

that during the lengthy period in which Iranian “students” held many

Americans hostage after the revolution in that country in 1979, some

Americans were being protected in the Canadian embassy in Teheran.

Nicholas Lemann, Keeping the Secret: Many Reporters Were Silent On

Escapees’ Whereabouts, Wash. Post, Jan. 31, 1980, at Al. Similarly,

newspapers and broadcasters, at the request of the CIA, refrained

from publishing truthful information in their possession about ongo-

ing efforts of the United States to recover Soviet hydrogen-warhead

missiles and code books from a sunken Russian submarine. See Tom

Wicker, On Press, 213-23 (1978).

'© - Landmark Communications, 435 U.S. at 849 (Stewart, J.,

concurring).

6

of the applicability of that principle to their professional

lives. Yet that concept too is at risk in this case.

Here, two union leaders (one the union's president, the

other its chief negotiator), engaged in a telephone call in

which the union’s president told his colleague that unless

a sufficient pay increase was offered by city officials,

“we're gonna have to go to their, their homes. . . to

blow off their front porches, we'll have to do some work

on some of those guys. . . .” Joint Appendix at 46.

There can be no doubt that a broadcast accurately

reporting that threat is highly newsworthy. Indeed, there

can be no doubt that if someone who was concealed

(inadvertently or purposefully) near the union’s presi-

dent had heard him make that threat and had advised a

journalist of what he had heard, that no liability could

possibly be imposed on the journalist for accurately

publishing the threat. Here, however, radio stations and

a journalist have been sued for doing no more than

broadcasting a tape of the conversation that all agree

was made by an unknown third person who made it

available to an opponent of the teachers’ union who, in

turn, made it available to the stations.

The central issue presented by this case is thus

straightforward. It is whether journalists and their orga-

nizations may be sanctioned for doing nothing more than

accurately recounting wiretapped conversations made

available to them, which they had no direct or indirect

role in obtaining. We believe that they may not and that

the decision of the Third Circuit should be affirmed.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This brief maintains that the decision below should be

affirmed based upon the analysis set forth by this Court

in the line of cases culminating in The Florida Star v.

7

B.J.F., 491 U.S. 524 (1989). The rule of the Florida Star

line of precedent is that “where a newspaper publishes

truthful information which it has lawfully obtained, pun-

ishment may lawfully be imposed, if at all, only when

narrowly tailored to a State interest of the highest order

”* Id. at 541; see also Smith v. Daily Mail Pub-

lishing Co., 443 U.S. 97 (1979); Landmark Communi-

cations, Inc. v. Virginia, 435 U.S. 829 (1978); Cox

Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975). (Point

1.A., infra.)

In this case, the conduct of the media respondents falls

well within the zone of the First Amendment protection

articulated in Florida Star. The wiretapping statute at

issue violates the First Amendment since it is not nar-

rowly tailored to a state interest of the highest order. The

interests asserted in defense of the wiretapping statute—

primarily that of protecting the privacy of telephone

conversations—are plainly significant but are no more

compelling than the interests at issue in Cox Broad-

casting (privacy of the identity of rape victims); Florida

Star (same); Landmark Communications (reputational

interests of judges and judicial integrity); and Daily Mail

(anonymity of juvenile offenders for purposes such as

rehabilitation). Moreover, the legislative history does not

support the proposition that Congress viewed publication

or disclosure of wiretapped materials by unrelated third

parties as central to the purpose of outlawing wiretaps.

The broad ban on any dissemination by anyone coming

into possession of the materials regardless of the cir-

cumstances establishes a per se rule of liability that can-

not coexist with the First Amendment. Finally, the

legislative landscape is far from uniform in the states:

twenty-one states do not provide any civil remedy

against third parties who disseminate wiretapped com-

munications. (Point I.B., infra.) If there is any case in

which liability could constitutionally be imposed on the

8

press for truthfully reporting newsworthy information

that it lawfully obtained, it is not this one.

Petitioners’ argument that the Florida Star line of

cases is rooted in this Court's concern over content-

based statutes misses the mark. Nothing in this line of

authority even discusses such a concern. Instead, the

Florida Star line of precedent is based upon “the over-

arching public interest, secured by the Constitution, in

the dissemination of truth.” Florida Star, 491 U.S. at

533-34. (Point IIL.A., infra.)

Finally, we demonstrate that Petitioners likewise fail

in their effort to establish that the information at issue

here was “unlawfully obtained” by the media respon-

dents. There is no issue here of the media respondents

acting in concert with the original source. Nor does the

statute at issue make unlawful the receipt of wiretapped

information. See Florida Star, 491 U.S. at 536 (noting

likewise that Florida had not taken the step of pro-

scribing the receipt of information). Moreover, sanc-

tioning the press for publishing information that may

ultimately have been unlawfully obtained by a source

unconnected to the press would violate the First Amend-

ment. (Point II.B., infra.)

ARGUMENT

I. THE DECISION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT

SHOULD BE AFFIRMED BASED ON FLORIDA

STAR

We start with the ruling in Florida Star itself. In that

case, this Court considered the constitutionality of a

Florida statute making it unlawful to “ ‘print, publish or

broadcast. . . in any instrument of mass communica-

tion’ ” the name of a rape victim. Florida Star, 491 U.S.

at 526. The case presented a painful conflict between the

9

First Amendment and the privacy interests asserted by

the rape victim. Those interests were substantial. They

included not only the privacy of victims of sexual

offenses but the physical safety of such victims and the

goal of encouraging victims to report such crimes with-

out fear of exposure (id. at 537). Nonetheless, after

reviewing relevant precedent, this Court held as follows:

“[W]here a newspaper publishes truthful informa-

tion which it has lawfully obtained, punishment may

lawfully be imposed, if at all, only when narrowly

tailored to a state interest of the highest order... .”

Id. at 541. The Court then ruled that even the weighty

interests urged by the State in that case failed to meet

this demanding standard. /d. As set forth below, the

determination in Florida Star should lead this Court to

rule similarly.

A. This Court’s Jurisprudence Culminating in

Florida Star

A trilogy of cases led to Florida Star. In each, a dif-

ferent state interest of substance was asserted as a basis

for making truthful speech illegal. In each, the statute at

issue was held unconstitutional. The first of the three was

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975). In

that case, this Court considered the constitutionality of a

Georgia statute that made it a misdemeanor to publish or

broadcast the name of a rape victim. A reporter covering

the underlying rape/murder trial had learned the name of

the victim through examining the indictments that were

part of the public record, and included the victim's name

in a news report that was broadcast. /d. at 473-74. This

Court noted the “powerful arguments” that could be made

to protect the privacy of individuals and the “strong tide

running in favor of the so-called right of privacy.” /d. at

487-88. Nonetheless, in the “face-off” between the devel-

10

oping concept of privacy and “the constitutional free-

doms of speech and the press” (id. at 489) rooted in the

Constitution's protection of the “dissemination of truth,”

(id. at 491, quoting Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64,

73 (1964)), the Court resolved the conflict in favor of the

First Amendment. Without reaching the ultimate issue of

whether privacy interests could ever trump the right of

the press accurately to report on matters of public con-

cern, the Court held the statute unconstitutional on the

ground that “the First and Fourteenth Amendments will

not allow exposing the press to liability for truthfully

publishing information released to the public in official

court records.” 420 U.S. at 496.

In Landmark Communications, Inc. v. Virginia, supra,

the Court again considered a clash between an asserted

need for confidentiality and the First Amendment. At

issue was Virginia's statutory scheme regarding judicial

disciplinary procedures, which were deemed confiden-

tial by law until a formal complaint was filed. Virginia

provided that “divulging” or “publishing” confidential

information from the Judicial Inquiry and Review Com-

mission by anyone, including third parties not them-

selves involved in the proceedings, was a criminal

violation. 435 U.S. at 836. The rationale asserted for

confidentiality was three-fold: to encourage the filing of

complaints; to protect judges from the injury that might

result from the publication of unwarranted complaints;

and to protect judicial integrity. /d. at 835.

The Virginian Pilot, a Norfolk newspaper, published a

truthful article about a pending confidential inquiry by

the Commission into charges of incompetence made

against a juvenile court judge. The article accurately

named the judge under investigation and published a

photograph of him. The material in the article about the

confidential proceeding was based upon information pro-

vided it by unidentified sources who were themselves

barred from revealing what they knew—including one

that the article described as “a lawyer subpoenaed to

appear at the hearing.”'’ The newspaper was found

guilty of violating Virginia law. /d. at 832. In striking

down the statute, this Court concluded that: “[T]he pub-

lication that Virginia seeks to punish under its statute

lies near the core of the First Amendment, and the Com-

monwealth’s interests advanced by the imposition of

criminal sanctions are insufficient to justify the actual

and potential encroachments on freedom of speech and

of the press which follow therefrom.” /d. at 838.

A year later, in Smith v. Daily Mail Publishing Co.,

supra, the Court addressed the constitutionality of a

West Virginia statute that made it a crime for a news-

paper to publish the name of a youth charged as a juve-

nile offender without the approval of the juvenile court.

There, reporters for two papers, through interviewing

witnesses, the police, and attorneys, learned the name of

a youth charged with murder at a school and their news-

papers published the youth’s name. At the outset of its

analysis, this Court noted that “[oJur recent decisions

demonstrate that state action to punish the publication of

truthful information seldom can satisfy constitutional

standards.” 443 U.S. at 102. The Court then examined its

decisions in Cox Broadcasting, Landmark Communica-

tions, and Oklahoma Publishing Co. v. District Court,

430 U.S. 308 (1977),'* and concluded that these cases:

'7 Landmark Communications Appendix at 46a.

'§ In Oklahoma Publishing, this Court struck down a state court

injunction prohibiting the news media from publishing the name or

photograph of a young boy being tried in juvenile court. 430 U.S. at

311-12. The juvenile court had permitted reporters into the hearing

where they learned the information, despite a state statute closing

such trials to the public. /d. at 309.

12

“suggest strongly that if a newspaper lawfully

obtains truthful information about a matter of pub-

lic significance then state officials may not consti-

tutionally punish publication of the information,

absent a need to further a state interest of the high-

est order.”

Daily Mail, 443 U.S. at 103. The Court held that the

state's interest in protecting the anonymity of youthful

offenders—an interest that was not only of an immedi-

ate reputational nature but that related to the ability of

the child to rejoin society after the imposition of any

sanction imposed by the juvenile court—was not of suf-

ficient magnitude when weighed against the First

Amendment. /d. at 104.

In Florida Star, this Court again reviewed the con-

stitutional principles set forth above within the context

of a conflict between privacy and the First Amendment.

In Florida Star, a newspaper reporter learned the name

of a rape victim from a police report that was left by

error in the police department's press room. The news-

paper published a news account of the rape in its “Police

Reports” section, including the name of the victim. A

Florida statute at the time made it unlawful to “print,

publish, or broadcast . . . in any instrument of mass

communication” the name of the victim of a sexual

assault. In a lawsuit brought by the victim, damages

were awarded against the newspaper for negligently vio-

lating this provision. 491 U.S. at 528-29.

In holding that the Florida statute could not be applied

consistent with the Constitution, this Court again artic-

ulated the First Amendment principle set forth in Daily

Mail and its synthesis of prior case law: “ ‘[I]f a news-

paper lawfully obtains truthful information about a mat-

ter of public significance then state officials may not

constitutionally punish the publication of the informa-

13

tion, absent a need to further a state interest of the high-

est order.’ ” Florida Star, 491 U.S. at 533 (quoting Daily

Mail, 443 U.S. at 103). The Court found that interests

said to be served by the Florida statute—the protection

of the privacy of victims, the protection of the physical

safety of victims, and the encouragement of victims to

report such crimes (491 U.S. at 537)—were insufficient

in the context of the case to constitute a state interest of

such magnitude so as to trump the First Amendment. /d.

at 537-41.

B. The Wiretapping Statute at Issue Is Not

Narrowly Tailored to a State Interest of the

Highest Order

Considering Florida Star together with the trilogy of

cases that predated and led to it, it is apparent that the

government cannot demonstrate that the imposition of

civil and criminal sanctions in the wiretapping statute for

any “use” or “disclosure” of any wiretapped information

can pass constitutional muster.'’

For one thing, the interests held insufficient to be

characterized as state interest “of the highest order” in

the cases we have just summarized are hardly less sub-

stantial than those asserted here. Consider the substan-

tiality of the three interests asserted in Florida Star —

itself: the privacy of victims, the physical safety of vic-

tims, and the desire to encourage victims to report such

crimes. This Court acknowledged their import while

nonetheless concluding that “imposing liability for pub-

lication under the circumstances of this case” was “too

precipitous a means of advancing these interests to con-

19 See 18 U.S.C. § 2511(1)(c)-(d) (1994). The Pennsylvania

Statute at issue is similar in all material aspects to the federal provi-

sions; thus it will not be separately addressed.

4

vince us that there is a ‘need’ within the meaning of

. . Daily Mail. . . .” 491 U.S. at 537.7

Likewise, in Cox Broadcasting, the statutory and com-

mon-law provisions were strongly defended based upon

the importance of protecting privacy interests. This

Court noted that the privacy interests asserted “are not

without force, for powerful arguments can be made. . .

that however it may be ultimately defined, there is a

zone of privacy surrounding every individual, a zone

within which the State may protect him from intrusion

by the press, with all its attendant publicity.” 420 U.S. at

487. Despite this interest and “a strong tide running in

favor of the so-called right of privacy” (id. at 488), this

Court sustained the First Amendment right to publish

information located in official court records, even if sen-

sitive, embarrassing, or otherwise protected from dis-

closure by state law. /d. at 496.

In Daily Mail, the Court considered the privacy-

related interest of protecting the anonymity of the juve-

nile offender, as well as the related interest in

rehabilitation of the youth. 443 U.S. at 104. While the

Court did not question the preservation of anonymity as

a matter of policy, it nevertheless held that “(t]he mag-

nitude of the State's interest in this statute is not suffi-

20‘ The Court in Florida Star provided as a related supportive

citation the ruling in Landmark Communications, which it described

parenthetically as “invalidating penalty on publication despite State's

expressed interest in nondissemination, reflected in statute prohibiting

unauthorized divulging of names of judges under investigation.” 491

U.S. at 537-38. It is noteworthy that in Landmark Communications

itself, Justice Stewart concluded that “[(t}here could hardly be a higher

governmental interest than a State's interest in the quality of its judi-

ciary.” 435. U.S. at 848 (Stewart, J., concurring). Justice Stewart then

concluded that notwithstanding the significance of that State interest,

the statute still could not be sustained.

15

cient to justify application of a criminal penalty to

respondents.” /d.*!

Here too, we urge the Court to hold that the privacy

interests asserted by Petitioners are not “narrowly tai-

lored to a state interest of the highest order... .”

Florida Star, 491 U.S. at 541. Not only are the interests

asserted here no more powerful than those asserted in

Florida Star and its companion cases—why, after all, is

the right of a rape victim not to have her name disclosed

less significant than that of a union official not to have

a telephone call disclosed in which he threatened to

engage in criminal conduct?—but for each of the fol-

lowing reasons, this is not the “extraordinary situation,

if any” in which the First Amendment should be deemed

to permit punishment of the publication of truthful infor-

mation.

First, the legislative history of the wiretapping law

leaves considerable doubt that Congress viewed the need

to bar publication of wiretapped materials by third

parties who did not themselves engage in the wiretap-

ping as at all central to the achievement of the purpose

of barring wiretaps themselves. Not a word of legislative

history appears even to refer to the ban on disclosure of

wiretapped data by third parties—media or otherwise.

Not a word of that history asserts that to effectuate the

2! The State interest was not insubstantial. West Virginia not

only relied upon cases such as /n re Gault, 387 U.S. 1, 24 (1967),

which had stated that it was “the law's policy ‘to hide youthful errors

from the full gaze of the public and bury them in the graveyard of the

forgotten past,’ Brief for Appellant at 12, Smith v. Daily Mail Pub-

lishing Co., supra (No. 78-482), but an amicus brief of the Juvenile

Defender Attorney Program argued that a ruling holding the State

statute unconstitutional “would be a substantial set-back of the efforts

of the State to foster rehabilitation of juvenile delinquents and to pre-

vent future delinquency of countless thousands of children accused of

acts of delinquency. . . .” Brief for Amici Curiae at 4.

16

purposes of barring wiretapping, it is necessary to ban

publication by third parties of wiretapping materials. Not

one example is cited in the legislative history of publi-

cation by a third party of wiretapped material that could

be said to have caused the wiretapping in the first place.

And there is no talk at all in the legislative history—as

there is in the briefs of all the parties seeking to sustain

the statute*°-—that a ban on publication is needed to pre-

vent those who wiretap from “laundering” their criminal

activities or to dry up the market for such communica-

tions.

The United States relies on a single page from the

Senate Report to bolster its position.** But the entire

paragraph from which the government's quotation is

extracted makes plain that the Senate's expressed desire

to deal with “all aspects of the problem” referred not to

the use of unlawfully intercepted material but the

statute's ban on the manufacture, distribution, possession

and advertising of interception devices. See 18 U.S.C.

§ 2512.4 Here, then, as was true in Landmark Commu-

22s Private Petrs.’ Br. at 37, 45; United States’ Br. at 37-38.

23

The United States’ reference to the Senate Report was as fol-

lows:

“In framing Title IIl, Congress concluded that merely pro-

hibiting interceptions would not be sufficient. It observed that

‘[o]}nly by striking at all aspects of the problem’ could ‘privacy

be adequately protected.’ ~

United States* Br. at 5 (quoting S. Rep. No. 90-1097 (1968), reprinted

in 1968 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2112, 2156) (emphasis added).

24‘ The paragraph in its entirety, reads as follows:

“Prohibition. Virtually all concede that the use of wiretapping

or electronic surveillance techniques by private unauthorized

hands has little justification where communications are inter-

cepted without the consent of one of the participants. No one

quarrels with the proposition that the unauthorized use of these

techniques by law enforcement agents should be prohibited. It

is not enough, however, just to prohibit the unjustifiable inter-

17

nications, the government “has offered little more than

assertion and conjecture to support its claim that without

criminal sanctions the objectives of the statutory scheme

would be seriously undermined.” 435 U.S. at 841.

Second, the privacy interest said to justify the flat ban

on anyone disseminating anything that anyone else said

in an intercepted telephone conversation is fatally over-

broad. The federal statute applies across the board to all

who use the telephone, regardless of what they say or the

circumstances in which they say it. It does not matter if

the speakers are private or public figures.*° It does not

matter if what they are saying relates to matters of

public concern or not. In this very case, it would not

matter—and a jury would not even be permitted to con-

sider—that threats of violent conduct were made. Nor is

it relevant whether what has been said has previously

been disclosed or whether the particular disclosure is

one that a reasonable person would find highly offen-

ception, disclosure, or use of any wire or oral communications.

An attack must also be made on the possession, distribution,

manufacture, and advertising of interception devices. All too

often the invasion of privacy itself will go unknown. Only by

striking at all aspects of the problem can privacy be adequately

protected. The prohibition, too, must be enforced with all appro-

priate sanctions. Criminal penalties have their part to play. But

other remedies must be afforded the victim of an unlawful inva-

sion of privacy. Provision must be made for civil recourse for

damages. The perpetrator must be denied the fruits of his unlaw-

ful actions in civil and criminal proceedings. Each of these

objectives is sought by the proposed legislation.”

S. Rep. No. 90-1097 (1968), reprinted in 1968 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2112,

2156 (emphasis added).

2s In the instant case, the two union leaders would likely be

deemed public figures. See Miller v. Transamerican Press, Inc., 621

F.2d 721, amended by 628 F.2d 932 (Sth Cir. 1980) (union leaders

held public figures), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 1041 (1981). Compare

Florida Star, 491 U.S. at 550-51 (dissenting opinion of White, J.

referring to rights of “wholly private persons”).

18

sive. Just such overbreadth concerns led Judge Sentelle

to conclude that the federal wiretapping statute violated

the First Amendment under Florida Star in a companion

case to this one. As stated by Judge Sentelle:

“I can envision felonious eavesdroppers .. .

obtaining . . . information of critical public impor-

tance about, for example, some public official’s

accepting a bribe or committing perjury or obstruc-

tion of justice. Even if those hypothetical felons

dumped information of that critical nature. . . into

the hands. . . of a newspaper publisher or a tele-

vision news network, the public could never know

of the wrongdoing, because under today’s ruling,

those news media would be barred from further pub-

lication of that information.”

Boehner v. McDermott, 191 F. 3d 463, 484 (D.C. Cir.

1999) (Sentelle, J. dissenting), petition for cert. filed, 68

U.S.L.W. 3686 (U.S. Apr. 25, 2000) (No. 99-1709). The

statute imposes strict liability on any publication so long

as the publisher knows or has reason to know that the

material stems from a wiretap. In doing so, the statute

runs afoul of Florida Star itself, which made plain that

in the effort to justify the “extraordinary measure of

punishing truthful publication in the name of privacy”

(491 U.S. at 540), “punishment may lawfully be

imposed, if at all, only when narrowly tailored to a state

interest of the highest order. . .” /d. at 541 (emphasis

added).

More specifically, the Court in Florida Star observed

that:

“A second problem with Florida’s imposition of lia-

bility for publication is the broad sweep of the neg-

ligence per se standard applied under the civil cause

of action implied from § 794.03. Unlike claims

based on the common law tort of invasion of pri-

19

vacy, see Restatement (Second) of Torts § 652D

(1977), civil actions based on § 794.03 require no

case-by-case findings that the disclosure of a fact

about a person’s private life was one that a reason-

able person would find highly offensive. On the

contrary, under the per se theory of negligence

adopted by the courts below, liability follows auto-

matically from publication. This is so regardless of

whether the identity of the victim is already known

throughout the community; whether the victim has

voluntarily called public attention to the offense; or

whether the identity of the victim has otherwise

become a reasonable subject of public concern—

because, perhaps, questions have arisen whether the

victim fabricated an assault by a particular person.”

491 U.S. at 539.

Precisely the same is true here. Whatever information

was previously known, whatever the significance of the

information, publication leads automatically to liability.

This Court’s conclusion in Florida Star is directly on

point:

“We have previously noted the impermissibility of

categorical prohibitions upon media access where

important First Amendment interests are at stake.

More individualized adjudication is no less indis-

pensable where the State, seeking to safeguard the

anonymity of crime victims, sets its face against

publication of their names.”

491 U.S. at 539-40 (internal citation omitted).

Third, there is no consensus amongst the states that in

the service of preventing wiretapping itself, it is neces-

sary to take the two separate steps of both criminalizing

wiretapping and providing a civil remedy against third

parties that publish wiretapped information. Of the forty-

20

eight states that ban wiretapping, eight have statutes that

prohibit interception but not disclosure*® and another

eleven do not impose civil sanctions for disclosure.*’

The fact that these nineteen states (plus Vermont and

South Carolina, which do not have statutes banning

wiretapping at all) have not chosen to provide any civil

remedy against third parties that disseminate wiretapped

material gravitates against any finding that the state

interest involved is of the “highest order.”**

The wiretapping statute is not narrowly tailored to a

State interest of the highest order within the meaning of

Florida Star.

Il. THE ARGUMENTS ADVANCED FOR SIDE-

STEPPING THE FLORIDA STAR ANALYSIS

ARE WITHOUT MERIT

Petitioners attempt to avoid the inevitable outcome of

any analysis applying Florida Star by focusing on two

arguments. First, Petitioners argue that the Florida Star

“6 See Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-3005 (West 1999); Ark. Code

Ann. § 5-60-120 (1999); Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 52-570d, 53a-189

(1999); Ga. Code Ann. § 16-11-62 (2000); Mont. Code Ann. § 45-8-213

(1999), N.Y. Penal Law § 250.05 (McKinney 1999); S.D. Codified

Laws §23A-35A-20 (Michie 2000); Wash. Rev. Code Ann.

§§ 9.73.030, 9.73.060, 9.73.080 (West 1999).

27 See Ala. Code §13A-11-35 (2000): Alaska Stat. .

§§ 42.20.310(a)(2), 42.20.330 (Michie 1999); Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§ 18-9-303 (West 2000); 720 Ill. Compiled Stat. Ann. 5/14-2, 5/14-

6(b) (West 2000); Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-4002 (1999); Ky. Rev.

Stat. Ann. § 526.060 (Banks-Baldwin 1998); Mich. Comp. Laws

§ 750.539h(b) (2000); N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-15-02 (1999); Okla.

Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 176.3 (West 1999); Or. Rev. Stat. § 165.540

(1999): R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-35-21 (1999).

28“ See Butterworth v. Smith, 494 U.S. 624, 635 (1990) (stating

that while practices in other states are not “conclusive as to the con-

stitutionality” of a statute, they are “probative of the weight” of the

State's interest).

21

line of cases is inapplicable because the statutes at issue

there were content-based while the wiretapping statute

at issue here is content-neutral. Second, Petitioners

argue that the information was not lawfully obtained by

Respondents Frederick W. Vopper, WILK Radio, and

WGBI Radio. Both arguments are without merit.

A. The Florida Star Line of Authority is Based

Upon the Overarching Public Interest in Pro-

tecting Truthful Speech

Nothing in the Florida Star line of cases indicates that

the basis of the Court’s decisions was concern about

content-based restrictions on speech. The Court said

nothing of the kind in any of the cases. In fact, the Peti-

tioners’ arguments to the contrary grossly undervalue the

actual basis for these rulings. In the words of the Court

in Florida Star itself, this line of authority is grounded

in “the overarching public interest, secured by the

Constitution, in the dissemination of truth.” Florida

Star, 491 U.S. at 533-34 (internal citation and quotation

omitted).

The paramount importance of protecting—not to say

honoring—truth-telling is deeply rooted in our Nation's

history and culture,” as well as this Court's juris-

prudence. Even so calamitous an assault on the First

*9 The protection of truthful speech long predates our own Con-

stitution. As Professor Diane Zimmerman demonstrates in her much

quoted and exhaustive analysis on the topic in Requiem For a Heavy-

weight: A Farewell to Warren and Brarldeis’s Privacy Tort, 68 Cornell

L. Rev. 291 (1983), “[t}he historical evidence suggests that the

framers of the first amendment would have viewed restraints imposed

by tort law on accurate speech—to the extent that they considered the

matter at all—as inappropriate, and that the embarrassment that might

result from true revelations was not considered a legal or compensable

wrong.” /d. at 311. See also id. at 306-08 (discussion of the Ninth

Commandment, the Old Testament Book of Psalms, Roman law,

ecclesiastical law and other bodies of jurisprudence).

99

Amendment as the Sedition Act of 1798, | Stat. 596,

recognized truth as a defense. See New York Times Co. v.

Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 274 (1964). Under modern libel

law, this Court has made plain that truth is an absolute

defense in cases commenced by private figures as well

as public figures. Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc., Vv.

Hepps, 475 U.S. 767 (1986). And this Court’s landmark

decision in New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, supra, itself

demonstrates the overriding value placed upon truthful

speech. It was only in the service of assuring that truth-

ful speech not be limited regarding public officials

that the Court announced the “actual malice” standard

that provides some protection even for inaccurate

speech. As part of the First Amendment’s need for

“breathing space,” the Court explained that unless some

false speech were protected:

“would-be critics of official conduct may be

deterred from voicing their criticism, even though it

is believed to be true and even though it is in fact

true, because of doubt whether it can be proved in

court or fear of the expense of having to do so. They

[would] tend to make only statements which ‘steer

far wider of the unlawful zone.’ ”

376 U.S. at 279 (citation omitted). For the same reason,

the “knowing or reckless falsehood” standard has been

extended to the tort of publication of private facts where

the material at issue concerns matters of public interest.

Time, Inc. v. Hill, 385 U.S. 374, 387-88 (1967).

The essentiality of protecting truthful speech has also

been recognized outside of the contexts of privacy and

libel. Only truthful commercial speech is protected by

the First Amendment. See, e.g., Central Hudson Gas &

Electric Corp. v. Public Service Comm'n of New York,

447 U.S. 557, 566 (1980) (“For commercial speech to

come within [the First Amendment], it at least must

23

concern lawful activity and not be misleading.”). In But-

terworth v. Smith, 494 U.S. 624 (1990), this Court held

unconstitutional a Florida statute that prohibited a grand

jury witness from revealing his own grand jury testi-

mony. The Court emphasized the importance of pro-

tecting truthful speech in its ruling: “[O)ur decisions

establish that absent exceptional circumstances, repu-

tational interests alone cannot justify the proscription of

truthful speech.” /d. at 634. See also Bates v. State Bar

of Arizona, 433 U.S. 350 (1977) (permitting truthful

commercial speech in attorney advertising to overcome

interest in maintaining professionalism of attorneys);

New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. 713

(1971) (striking injunction prohibiting truthful speech in

the face of asserted national security interests).

Given the centrality of the protection of truth in the

First Amendment jurisprudence of this Court, it is not

surprising that one leading scholarly work has concluded

that truth will “always” be “a defense in a defamation or

right of privacy action—unless the [defendant] publishes

confidential information that he has stolen.” 4 Ronald D.

Rotunda & John E. Nowak, Treatise on Constitutional

Law § 20.36, at 495-96 (3d ed. 1999) (emphasis added).

Another leading First Amendment scholar has inter-

preted this Court’s case law similarly, observing that:

“The dissemination of a fact that might otherwise be

deemed private (and thus protected, for example,

under a newly invigorated version of the tort of

publication of private facts), will normally be

deemed protected under today's First Amendment

standards if the fact was ‘lawfully obtained’ by the

person seeking to disseminate it. Thus, the press

may publish private material leaked to it intention-

ally or through inadvertence, even though the per-

son who leaked the material may have violated

some legal duty.”

24

Rodney A. Smolla, Privacy and the First Amendment

Right to Gather News, 67 Geo. Wash. L. Rev. 1097,

1103-04 (1999).*°

B. The Tape at Issue Was Lawfully Obtained by

the Media Respondents

There can be no serious argument that the media

respondents acted unlawfully in obtaining the tape at

issue.*' The media defendants did not wiretap the tele-

phone conversation at issue. Nor is there any suggestion

that the anonymous tapper was the agent of the media

respondents. Instead, the media respondents simply

received a copy of the tape-recorded conversation from

© Petitioners’ focus on whether the wiretapping statute is con-

tent-neutral (a topic dealt with at length in the media respondents’

brief) not only misses the driving force behind the Florida Star line

of authority, but also overlooks a glaring failure of the statutory

scheme. Even assuming that it is content-neutral, the statute simply

prohibits “too much” speech. City of Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43, 53

(1994) (striking down ordinance restricting size of signs as applied to

resident placing sign on lawn protesting the Persian Gulf war). In

Ladue, this Court stated: “Although prohibitions foreclosing entire

media may be completely free of content or viewpoint discrimination,

the danger they pose to the freedom of speech is readily apparent—

by eliminating a common means of speaking, such measures can sup-

press too much speech.” /d. at 55.

‘! In addition to being lawfully obtained, in order to gain the

protection of the Florida Star rule, the information at issue must be

truthful and concern matters of public importance. There is no chal-

lenge to the truthfulness or the public import of the matters discussed

on the tape—nor could there be. As the decision below noted, the

“markedly contentious” negotiations between the teacher's union and

the school district “generated significant public interest and were fre-

quently covered by the news media.” Bartnicki v. Vopper, 200 F.3d

109, 113 (3d Cir. 1999). Matters pertaining to governmental issues,

such as taxation and public education at issue here, are at the heart of

the First Amendment. See, e.g., Mills v. Alabama, 384 U.S. 214, 218

(1966) (a “major purpose of [the First] Amendment [is] to protect the

free discussion of governmental affairs”).

25

respondent Jack Yocum, who was himself the recipient

of an anonymous tape left in his mailbox. Common sense

dictates that the media respondents engaged in no unlaw-

ful behavior by simply receiving the tape; the wiretap-

ping statutes at issue support this conclusion.

In conjunction with other parts of the wiretapping

statute, 18 U.S.C. § 2511(1)(c) permits criminal and civil

sanctions to be levied against anyone who:

“intentionally discloses, or endeavors to disclose, to

any other person the contents of any wire, oral, or

electronic communication, knowing or having reason

to know that the information was obtained through

the interception of a wire, oral, or electronic com-

munication in violation of this subsection.”

Id. (emphasis added). Another provision addresses

the intentional “uses” of the same information. /d.

§ 2511(1)(d). Significantly, the statutory scheme does

not make unlawful the mere receipt of information

obtained in violation of the wiretapping laws. See

Florida Star, 491 U.S. at 536 (noting that Florida had

not taken the step of proscribing the receipt of infor-

mation). Thus, the media respondents obtained the tape

lawfully and are fully deserving of the protection set

forth in Florida Star.

Florida Star itself involved a similar, although not

identical, scenario. There, under Florida law, police

reports were not part of the “public record” open for

inspection. 491 U.S. at 536. This Court remarked as

follows:

“But the fact that state officials are not required to

disclose such reports does not make it unlawful for

a newspaper to receive them when furnished by the

government. Nor does the fact that the [Police]

Department apparently failed to fulfill its obligation

under [the statute] not to ‘cause or allowto be. . .

26

published’ the name of a sexual offense victim make

the newspaper's ensuing receipt of this information

unlawful.”

Id. Thus, the Court held that the newspaper had lawfully

obtained the rape victim's name notwithstanding that the

police had “failed to fulfill” its own statutory obligations

not to make the victim's name available. /d.

Petitioners argue that, even though the information

may have been lawfully obtained by the media respon-

dents, the press may still be sanctioned for publishing

information that was illegally obtained by the original

source, citing footnote 8 of Florida Star.” (Private

Petrs.” Br. at 25-26; United States’ Br. at 29.) If it deter-

mines to reach this question, amici urge the Court to rule

that the press should not be equated with its ultimate

sources.*’ Such a rule would run contrary to the First

Amendment for at least four reasons.

First, the government has at its disposal the ability to

punish the initial unlawful behavior, as well as anyone

acting in concert with that person. Any subsequent

attempt to punish speech (where the speaker is not con-

nected in any way to the acts of the original actor) will

necessarily be an overbroad attempt to redress the orig-

2 Footnote 8 of Florida Star reads as follows: “The Daily Mail

principle does not settle the issue whether, in cases where information

has been acquired unlawfully by a newspaper or by a source, gov-

ernment may ever punish not only the unlawful acquisition, but the

ensuring publication as well. This issue was raised but not definitively |

resolved in New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. 713 (1971),

and reserved in Landmark Communications, 435 U.S., at 837. We

have no occasion to address it here.” Florida Star, 491 U.S. at 535

n.8.

3% It is undisputed that the media respondents’ immediate source,

Respondent Jack Yocum, did not engage in the original unlawful

wiretap in any manner. Thus Yocum also received the information

lawfully.

ee ee

27

inal wrong—be it theft, breach of a seal of confiden-

tiality, or, as in this case, unlawful wiretapping. See

Schneider v. State, 308 U.S. 147, 162 (1939) (“There are

obvious methods of preventing littering. Amongst these

is the punishment of those who actually throw papers on

the streets.”). As Judge Sentelle explained in his dis-

senting opinion in Boehner v. McDermott, supra, a case

also involving the federal wiretap statute at issue here:

“I do not, however, see that either the United States

or the State of Florida has established that an undif-

ferentiated burden on the speech of anyone who

acquires the information contained in the commu-

nication from the unlawful interceptor is necessary

to accomplish the state's legitimate goal or narrowly

tailored to serve that end. I do not see how we can

draw a line today that would punish McDermott and

not hold liable for sanctions every newspaper, every

radio station, every broadcasting network that

obtained the same information from McDermott's

releases and published it again. Not only is this not

narrow tailoring, it is not tailoring of any sort.”

191 F.3d at 485 (emphasis added). Thus, Judge Sentelle

concluded that the question reserved in footnote 8 of

Florida Star must be answered “against the burdening of

publication.” /d.™

Second, punishing the press for publishing newswor-

thy, truthful information because the source of that

information obtained it unlawfully will undoubtedly—

and quite deliberately—lead the press not to publish

such information. As a result, significant truthful infor-

mation regarding public affairs and governance may

“4 For the reasons stated in Judge Sentelle’s dissenting opinion

in Boehner, the Third Circuit's decision below, and the media respon-

dents’ brief, the wiretapping statute fails intermediate scrutiny as

well.

28

never come to the public's attention. See New York Times

Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. 713 (1971); Boehner, 191

F.3d at 484 (Sentelle, J. dissenting). See also supra,

at 3-5. Punishing the press for the publication of such

information will necessarily deter the press from inform-

ing the public and preserving the free flow of informa-

tion. See, e.g., Mills, 384 U.S. at 218-19 (noting major

purpose of the First Amendment is “to protect the free

discussion of governmental affairs” and that the press is

“to play an important role in the discussion of public

affairs”).

Third, in its efforts to report the truth and inform the

public, the press often encounters sources who may be

disabled in some way by the law from passing along the

information at issue. See supra, at 3-5. The Pentagon

Papers case, New York Times Co. v. United States, 403

U.S. 713 (1971), was one example. The New York Times

received TOP SECRET information from a source that

was not authorized to make it public and that the gov-

ernment later asserted had acted criminally in doing so.

Nevertheless, the government failed in its effort to

obtain an injunction to stifle the Times’ speech, and

there was no suggestion in any of the opinions accom-

panying the decision that the Times’ receipt of the infor-

mation was unlawful.

Landmark Communications, as well, is similar, 4s the

identity of the judge being investigated there was orig-

inally known to only members of the Judicial Com-

mission and participants in its activities, all of whom

were obliged to keep such information confidential. The

newspaper article at issue was based upon information

obtained from unidentified sources including “a lawyer

subpoenaed to appear at the hearing” who was obviously

bound to secrecy. Landmark Communications Appendix

at 46a. While the case focused on the issue of whether

the newspaper could be criminally punished for pub-

. 29

lishing the name of the judge under investigation, there

was never any suggestion that the mere acquisition of

information permitting the newspaper to identify the

judge could possibly be deemed illegal.

Finally, the very notion of equating the press with its

sources and holding the former liable for the conduct of

the latter is at variance with judicial as well as journal-

istic history. This Court has made plain that while the

press may not be constitutionally entitled to gather cer-

tain information, what it does learn it may print. That is

the essence of this Court’s ruling in Houchins v. KQED,

Inc., 438 U.S. 1 (1978), in which the Court, in deter-

mining that the press did not have a First Amendment

right of access to prisons, stated that “the government

cannot restrain communication of whatever information

the media acquires—and which they elect to reveal.” /d.

at 10 (plurality opinion of Burger, C.J., White, J., and

Rehnquist, J.). This principle is also at the heart of Jus-

tice Stewart's similar distinction, quoted supra at 5,

between the right of the government to deny access and

the impermissibility of the press being punished for what

it publishes.** Cf. Alexander M. Bickel, The Morality of

Consent 79 (1975) (“under the New York Times case, if

a newspaper had got hold of these documents without

itself participating in a theft of them, although somebody

else might to its knowledge have stolen them, it could

have published them with impunity”).

Thus the reasons set forth by Petitioners for removing

this case from the Florida Star/Daily Mail framework

are without merit.

* * *

35 See also Landmark Communications, 435 U.S. at 849 (“If the

constitutional protection of a free press means anything, it means that

the government cannot take it upon itself to decide what a newspaper

may and may not publish.”) (Stewart, J., concurring).

30

We offer the final thought that there is, in the end, a

certain lack of equivalence between the First Amend-

ment interests at stake here and the privacy interests that

underlie the wiretapping statute. Both are important but

only one is in the written Constitution. It should not be

too late to assert that when the First Amendment’s pro-

tection of truth-telling is pitted against an interest that

was only first identified just over a century ago,** some

deference should be given to the Framers’ expressed

intentions.

CONCLUSION

The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit should be affirmed.

Dated: New York, New York

October 25, 2000

Respectfully submitted

FLOYD ABRAMS*

LANDIS C. BEST

*Counsel of Record

CAHILL GORDON & REINDEL

80 Pine Street

New York, New York 10005

(212) 701-3000

Counsel for Amici Curiae

36 Compare Samuel D. Warren & Louis D. Brandeis, The Right

to Privacy, 4 Harv. L. Rev. 193 (1890) with Harry Kalven, Jr., Privacy

in Tort Law—Were Warren and Brandeis Wrong?, 31 Law & Contemp.

Probs. 326 (1966).

31

Of Counsel:

GEORGE FREEMAN, Eso.

ADAM LIPTAK, Esq.

229 W. 43rd Street

New York, New York 10036

Counsel for The New York Times Co.

RICHARD A. BERNSTEIN, Esq.

JERRY S. BIRENZ, Esq.

SABIN, BERMANTS & GOULD

4 Times Square

New York, New York 10036

Counsel for Advance Publications, Inc.

ALAN N. BRAVERMAN, ESQ.

HENRY S. HOBERMAN, ESQ.

77 W. 66th Street

New York, New York 10023

Counsel for ABC, Inc.

RICHARD N. WINFIELD, Esq.

DAVID A. SCHULZ, ESQ.

CLIFFORD CHANCE ROGERS & WELLS

200 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10017

Counsel for the Associated Press

EVE BURTON, Esq.

JENNIFER FALK WEISS, ESQ.

1 CNN Center

Atlanta, Georgia 30348-5366

Counsel for Cable News Network LP, LLLP

32

SUSANNA M. Lowy, Esq.

51 W. 52nd Street

New York, New York 10019

Counsel for CBS Broadcasting Inc.

HAROLD W. FUSON, JR., ESQ.

JUDITH L. FANSHAW, Esq.

- 7776 Ivanhoe Avenue

La Jolla, California 92037

Counsel for The Copley Press, Inc.

BARBARA W. WALL, ESQ.

1100 Wilson Blvd.

Arlington, Virginia 22234

Counsel for Gannett Co., Inc.

ROBERT J. HAWLEY, ESQ.

959 Eighth Avenue

New York, New York 10019

Counsel for The Hearst Corporation

GORDON YAMATE, Esq.

50 West San Fernando Street

San Jose, California 95113

Counsel for Knight-Ridder, Inc.

33

ANNE NOBLE, Esq.

1211 Connecticut Ave., NW

Suite 610

Washington, DC 20036

SLADE METCALF, Esq.

SQUADRON, ELLENOFF, PLESENT

& SHEINFELD, LLP

551 5th Avenue

New York, New York 10017

Counsel for Magazine Publishers

of America, Inc.

KENNETH VITTOR, Esq.

1221 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

Counsel for The McGraw-Hill

Companies, Inc.

JON FINE, Esq. :

30 Rockefeller Plaza

New York, New York 10112

Counsel for National Broadcasting

Company, Inc.

RENE P. MILAM, Esq.

1921 Gallows Road, Suite 600

Vienna, Virginia 22182

Counsel for the Newspaper

Association of America

3

CORINNA VECSEY WILSON, Esq.

3899 North Front Street

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110

Counsel for the Pennsylvania

Newspaper Association

KATHLEEN A. KIRBY, ESQ.

WILEY, REIN & FIELDING

1776 K Street, NW

Washington, DC 20006

Counsel for the Radio-Television

News Directors Association

Lucy DALGLISH, Esq.

1815 N. Fort Myer Drive

Suite 900

Arlington, Virginia 22209

Counsel for The Reporters Committee

for Freedom of the Press

M. DENISE KUPRIONIS, ESQ.

312 Walnut Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

Counsel for The E. W. Scripps Co.

BRUCE W. SANFORD, ESQ.

ROBERT D. LYSTAD, Esq.

BRUCE D. BROWN, Esq.

BAKER & HOSTETLER

1050 Connecticut Avenue, NW

Suite 1100

Washington, DC 20036

Counsel for the Society of

Professional Journalists

35

ROBIN BIERSTEDT, Esq.

1271 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

Counsel for Time Inc.

STEPHANIE ABRUTYN, Esq.

ROGER GOODSPEED, Esq.

2 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10016

Counsel for the Tribune Co.

MARY ANN WERNER, Esq.

ERIC LIEBERMAN, Esq.

1150 15th Street, NW

Washington, DC 20071

Counsel for The Washington Post Co.

DESCRIPTION OF AMICI CURIAE

The New York Times Company publishes The New

York Times, a daily newspaper with a national circulation

of 1.1 million daily and more than |.7 million on Sun-

day. The company also owns the Boston Globe as well as

twenty-one regional newspapers, many nationally cir-

culated and distributed magazines such as Golf Digest,

and eight television stations.

Advance Publications, Inc., directly or through sub-

sidiaries, publishes daily newspapers in twenty-two

cities and business journals in thirty-seven cities

throughout the United States, as well as eighteen nation-

ally distributed magazines (such as The New Yorker) and

numerous World Wide Web sites.

ABC, Inc. is a broad-based communications company

with significant holdings in the United States and

abroad. It owns, alone or through its subsidiaries, the

ABC Television Network, the ABC Radio Network, ten

television stations, and forty-five radio stations.

Associated Press, the oldest and largest newsgather-

ing organization in the world, is a not-for-profit mutual

news cooperative that engages in the collection of news

from and distribution of news to its members which

include newspapers, television stations, and radio

stations.

Cable News Network LP, LLLP, creates, produces

and distributes nationally and worldwide thirteen net-

works which provide television programming services

across dozens of platforms, including Cable News Net-

work (“CNN”), Headline News, CNN International

(“CNNI”), and CNN Interactive.

CBS Broadcasting Inc. produces and broadcasts

news, public affairs, and entertainment programming.

2a

CBS News produces morning, evening, and weekend

news programming, as well as news and public affairs

magazine shows, such as 60 MINUTES and 48 HOURS.

CBS also owns and operates television stations nation-

wide and, through a related company, Infinity Broad-

casting Corporation, owns and operates radio stations

throughout the country.

The Copley Press, Inc. publishes The San Diego

Union-Tribune and ten other daily newspapers in Cali-

fornia, Illinois, and Ohio, and operates Copley News

Service, an international news service.

Gannett Co., Inc. is a nationwide news and informa-

tion company that publishes ninety-nine daily newspa-

pers, including USA Today. Gannett publishes a number

of non-daily publications, including USA Weekend, a

weekly magazine. The company also owns and operates

twenty-two television stations and a national news

service.

The Hearst Corporation publishes newspapers, con-

sumer magazines, and business publications, owns a

leading features syndicate, has interests in several cable

television networks, and produces movies and other

programming for television.

Knight-Ridder, Inc., the nation’s second largest

newspaper publisher in terms of circulation and revenue,

publishes thirty-two daily newspapers and twenty-five

non-daily newspapers in twenty-eight U.S. markets,

reaching 8.7 million readers daily and 12.9 million on

Sunday.

Magazine Publishers of America, Inc., founded in

1919, represents 250 of the largest magazine publishers

in the United States, who collectively publish more than

1200 of the best known consumer interest titles, on a

weekly, monthly, and quarterly basis.

3a

The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., is a multimedia

publishing and information company which publishes

books and magazines, including Business Week, and also

operates four local television stations.

National Broadcasting Company, Inc. operates a

national television network of more than 200 affiliates

and several owned-and-operated stations, through which

it produces and broadcasts local and national news pro-

gramming, such as DATELINE NBC. It also owns two

national cable news networks, MSNBC and CNBC.

Newspaper Association of America (“NAA”) is a

nonprofit organization representing the interests of more

than 2,000 newspapers in the United States and Canada.

Most NAA members are daily newspapers, accounting

for eighty-seven percent of the U.S. daily newspaper cir-

culation. One of the NAA’s missions is to advance news-

papers’ interests in First Amendment issues, including

the ability to gather and publish truthful newsworthy

information of public significance.

Pennsylvania Newspaper Association is the official

state trade organization for the newspaper industry in the

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Its members include

over 300 daily, weekly, monthly and college newspapers.

It was founded eighty years ago and is considered one of

the leading press associations in the nation, having an

active membership, a staff of thirty-two and both a for-

profit and a not-for-profit subsidiary.

Radio-Television News Directors Association

(“RTNDA”), based in Washington, D.C., is the world’s

largest professional organization devoted exclusively to

electronic journalism. RTNDA represents local and net-

work news executives, educators, students and others in

the radio, television, cable and online news business in

over thirty countries.

4a

The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

is a voluntary, unincorporated association of news

reporters and editors, dedicated to protecting the First

Amendment interests of the news media and the public.

The Reporters Committee has provided representation,

legal guidance, and research in virtually every major

press freedom case that has been litigated in the United

States since 1970.

The E. W. Scripps Company is a diverse media

concern with interests in newspaper publishing, broad-

cast television, cable television programming, and inter-

active media. Scripps operates twenty daily newspapers,

ten broadcast TV stations and three cable television net-

works. The company also operates Scripps Howard

News Service, United Media, a worldwide licensing and

syndication company, and thirty-one Web sites.

Society of Professional Journalists (“SPJ”) is the

nation’s largest and most broad-based journalism orga-

nization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of

journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical

behavior. Founded in 1909, SPJ promotes the free flow

of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works

to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists;

and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of

speech and press.

Time Inc. is the largest publisher of general interest

consumer magazines in the United States, including

Time, Fortune, Sports Illustrated, People, Money, and

Entertainment Weekly. The company also publishes

books under imprints including Warner Books, Little

Brown and Time-Life Books.

Tribune Company, through its publishing, broad-

casting, and interactive operations, publishes eleven mar-

ket-leading newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune,

ee ES Ee oe |

Sa

the Los Angeles Times, the Orlando Sentinel, and News-

day, owns and operates twenty-two major market tele-

vision stations, and operates a network of local and

national Web sites that ranks among the top twenty-five

news and information networks in the United States.

The Washington Post Co. publishes newspapers and

magazines of national interest such as the Washington

Post, with a nationwide daily circulation of over 809,000

and a Sunday circulation of over 1.1 million, as well as

Newsweek magazine.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.