Petitioners Brief — Atwater v. Lago Vista

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

cr ° o

oOupreme Court. ij.s v4

) FILED

No. 99-1408 SEP 1 2009

In The CLERK |

a

—— ..

SJ

GAIL ATWATER, AND MICHAEL HAAS AS NEXT

FRIEND OF ANYA SAVANNAH HAAS AND

MACKINLEY XAVIER HAAS,

Petitioners,

CITY OF LAGO VISTA, BART TUREK,

AND FRANK MILLER, |

Respondents.

S

On Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fifth Circuit

¢

BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

S

PaMELA McGraw Rosert C. DeCarui*

Attorney at Law Desra IRWIN

P.O. Box 202165 Law Orrices or DeCaru &

Austin, Texas 78720 IRWIN

(512) 257-3688 12034 Research Blvd.,

Micnaet F. Sturey Suite 6

: Austin, Texas 78759

727 East Dean Keaton St.

Austin, Texas 78705

(512) 232-1350

(512) 258-9299

Counsel for Petitioners

"Counsel of Record

OOOO OOOOOOeee_e__________—V—X——oOaaqaaae—e—e—=E—eaws——

f~1"r

QUESTION PRESENTED

Petitioner Gail Atwater was placed under custodial

arrest for not wearing a seat belt, a misdemeanor that carries a

fifty-dollar fine as its maximum penalty. Does the Fourth

Amendment limit the use of custodial arrests for fine-only

traffic offenses?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SCNT CUMSUEEED oc ctcccccccccccessscceess i

TCT TT ERT TTT TT CT TTT Te il

BREE Se AFURMEUUEED 0 ccc ccccccccccesevcece vi

ES ob 605s 5640445 0505006500040 l

i) ta cieineckdetuaa setae skies sdeve wes l

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

DEAT ERS POPU MIMI occ c ccc ccccccecececes l

STATEMENT OF THECASE ........ ee ae 2

GR ee ee rere ee ee re 2

Ee. EMO PORCCREINGS BGIOW 2. ccccccccscccccces 5

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ................. 6

Oe ee 7

I. Both the History Leading to the Fourth Amendment's

Adoption and Founding-Era Rules Governing Warrantless

Arrests Make Clear that the Custodial Arrest Here Was

Gia bs bude 564K 0-40 06.506 0060 0s 7

A. The Fourth Amendment Was Adopted to Check

Unfettered Discretion of the Sort Given by General

Warrants and Writs of Assistance to Conduct

Searches and Seizures Arbitrarily ............ 8

lee a a a A A a fae 2209S 42° eee —_

Il.

1. John Wilkes and the rejection of general

warrants in England .....,...........45. 9

2. Challenges to writs of assistance in colonial

DT cekdgcegesceescecenccenecees 10

3. The Fourth Amendment repudiated unfettered

search and seizure discretion ............ 12

B. Warrantless Arrests Could Only be Made for

Felonies and Breaches of the Peace Committed in

the Presence of the Arresting Official ........ 13

C. Because Officer Turek’s Arrest of Gail Atwater

Would Have Been Unlawful When the Fourth

Amendment Was Adopted, the Arrest Was

eo. 6 ie accu ce ugbeneeen és 19

D. The Decision Below Is Contrary to the Fourth

Amendment Because It Grants Law Enforcement

Unfettered Discretion to Search and Arrest of the

Sort the Fourth Amendment Was Meant to End 20

Balancing the Competing Interests of Law Enforcement

and the Individual Demonstrates that the Custodial Arrest

of Ms. Atwater for Non-Usage of Seat Belts Was

Constitutionally Unreasonable ................ wae

A. The Nature and Quality of the Intrusion on Gail

Atwater’s Liberty Interests Was Substantial ... 24

1. Custodial arrests as a general matter are

significant governmental intrusions ...... 24

-lii-

2. The custodial arrest of Gail Atwater was

particularly invasive and extreme ........ 28

The Government’s Interest in Enforcing the Seat

Belt Law Does Not Justify the Intrusion Here . 30

1. The governmental interest in enforcing the seat

belt law is relatively slight.............. 31

2. The custodial arrest furthered no legitimate law

enforcement objective that could not also have

been accomplished by issuing a citation ... 32

3. No special circumstances were present in this

case to make a custodial arrest necessary or

re 33

III. The Court Below Erred by Creating a Broad Per Se Rule

that Probable Cause Without More Justifies Any Custodial

Arrest, Regardless of the Offense ................ 36

A. The Court of Appeals’ Reliance on Whren v. United

SED TED eucevincocescodecacs 36

B. United States v. Watson Upheld Only Warrantless

Felony Arrests, and its Analysis Supports

PU DUNE neccavesccandduiccucs 40

C. The Decision Below Abrogates the Automobile

Exception by Permitting Warrantless Vehicular

Searches Without Probable Cause that a Vehicle

PT 41

D. The Court of Appeals’ Ruling Undermines this

Court’s Decision in Knowles v. lowa ........ 43

-iv-

---—

— eee

IV. This Case Lends Itself to Articulating More Clearly the

Permissible Boundaries of When a Custodial Arrest May

Be Used for Fine-Only Traffic Offenses ..........

V. CONCLUSION

eeeemeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees

45

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Almeida-Sanchez v. United States,

EC TT TS 43

Atwater v. City of Lago Vista,

165 F.3d 380 (Sth Cir. 1999) .............. 19,30

Atwater v. City of Lago Vista,

195 F.3d 242 (Sth Cir. 1999) (en bans) ..... passim

Baltimore & O. R. Co. v. Cain,

ee SY rrr 4]

Beckwith v. Philby,

6 Barn. & Cress. 635,

108 Eng. Rep. 585 (K.B.1827) ............... 40

_ Berkemer v. McCarty, '

~ .°468 US. 420 (1984) 2.5 ot ng... 25,28,46,48

Boyd v. United States,

Es cb cdeeccesennecécsseseses 8

Bridgestone/Firestone, Inc. v. Glyn-Jones,

S76 S.W.246 132 (Tem. 1996) 2... ccccccccccces 31

California v. Carney,

Se Ds okecenccesetuceuasas 24,42

California v. Hodari D..,

A RT eer TT 20

-Vi-

es ieee

~O.e). ..28!_ a

Camara v. Municipal Court,

Ps. cccdeheuteuneeseesuass 12

Carroll v. United States,

Be Gs SEGUE oc ccccdscccese 13,15,18,42-43

City of Chicago v. Morales, _

ee erer 15-16

Colorado v. Bertine,

Ss dc dstdcatadeénenticbes 28

Commonwealth v. Carey,

66 Mass. (12 Cush.) 246 (1853)............... 17

County of Riverside v. McLaughlin,

Pe SE cc cccccasecedsccoses 20,27,45

Davis v. United States,

Ps. dccengchaceeenacoutets 13

Delaware v. Prouse,

440 U.S. 648 (1979) .............. 12,23,30,38,49

Dickerson v. United States,

530U.S.__, slip op. (June 26, 2000).......... 19

Edmond v. Goldsmith,

* 183 F.3d 659 (7th Cir. 1999),

cert. granted, No. 99-1030 (Feb. 22, 2000) ...... 48

Florida v. Bostick,

Dc Gkckaveeduaesteeeseuns 26

Florida v. Royer,

GGOUD. G4 EIGER) 2 occ ccccccvccscccsccees 26

Graham v. Connor,

GED TEE, FREI cc cccccacccccccesccccses 26

Henry v. United States,

fi) & ]. err rerie ree 8,24

Holley v. Mix,

3 Wend. 350 (N.Y. Sup. Ct.1829) ............. 40

Huckle v. Money,

2 Wils. K.B. 205, 95 Eng. Rep. 768 (K.B. 1763) .. 9

Hudson v. Palmer,

Ss BET ED oc ced eccesesecsesecénces 27

Illinois v. Lafayette,

— fit & || BPP Ererererereririreee ee 34

Johnson v. State,

PG GPG co cccesesesdccosesaséeses 41

Knowles v. lowa,

525 U.S. 113 (1998) ......... 24,**,33,34,43-44,45

Kurtz v. Moffitt,

BU Cs GT GED o cccccdeccéesevesdcecuss 40

Leach v. Money,

19 Howell St. Tr. 1001,

97 Eng. Rep. 1075 (K.B. 1765) ............... 10

-Viii-

Maryland v. Wilson,

re 23,25,47

McDonald v. United States,

Ee ee eee 31

Michigan v. Long,

a 48

New York v. Belton,

SP EE ovdcccesevsteocecees 28,42

New York v. Class,

ee oo och cance cteaveases 30,47

Ohio v. Robinette,

ee betes ceccbioee 45,48

Ornelas v. United States,

eS he ie at 39

Payton v. New York,

ED . <ccceudscteseeesesesies 24

Pennsylvania v. Labron,

518 U.S. 938 (1996) (per curiam) ............. 42

Pennsylvania v. Mimms,

TE obo éeueacenceesseeses 23,47

Peters v. New York,

Ds v6 b veieendegueeesss 66s 44

Pow v. Beckner,

Pe opontececeeiuusndeeeeeewis 17

-ix-

Rawlings v. Kentucky,

SE es CED oc de cnccccecccccnccecsycs 44

Read v. Scott Fetzer Co.,

990 S.W.2d 732 (Tex. 1998) ............ cease 28

Regina v. Tooley,

2 Ld. Raym. 1296,

92 Eng. Rep. 349 (K.B. 1710) ............555. 14

Reuck v. McGregor,

Fe Pein PO GALE co cccccccscecosess 41

Robison v. Miner,

68 Mich. 549, 37 N.W. 21 (1888) ............. 17

Rohan v. Sawin,

59 Mass. (59 Cush.) 281 (1850)............... 40

Samuel v. Payne,

1 Doug. 359, 99 Eng. Rep. 230 (K.B.1780)...... 40

Schmerber v. California,

, PP. cccoauescededeseceeeuun 38

State v. Brown,

5 Del. (5 Harr.) 505 (Ct. Gen. Sess. 1853)....... 40

State v. Harmon,

910 P.2d 1196 (Utah 1995) .............0055. 36

State v. Jones,

727 N.E.2d 886 (Ohio 2000) ..............5.. 36

-X-

a re

2 eo

Tennessee v. Garner,

Se ei dek i deduul Jaws 23,31,38

Terry v. Ohio,

SR a enns bGanewcesesenes 23,25,27

Texas v. Brown,

Eo. ecu dbnanieedacbaesns 48

United States v. Cortez,

So ae ecacewed 38

United States v. McRae,

81 F.3d 1528 (10th Cir. 1996) ................ 39

United States v. Martinez-Fuerte,

gd oe a eee ee ue 23,38

United States v. Place,

es owas 23,38,48

United States v. Potts,

173 F.3d 430, 1999 WL 96756 (6th Cir. Feb. 2, 1999)

(unpublished disposition) .................... 39

United States v. Robinson,

Ge Gs CUTE a cmc cccrccccceceses 24,26,43

United States v. Ross,

I i i rh sn oki 47

United States v. Smith,

ee ere 21

-xi-

United States v. Sullivan,

+ pm ey Yo te B) | re 39

United States v. Watson,

423 U.S. 411 (1976) .......... 8,13,25-26,40-41 ,46

Wade v. Chaffee,

DE SEE cvoccceetsecneasuesesee cts 41

Wakely v. Hart,

UN TTT ee eee 40

Warden v. Hayden,

Po re rer err s

Welsh v. Wisconsin,

Gs PED oo che kdencctcescesses 31,32

Whren v. United States,

-, 5 — rrr 22,31,36-39

Wilkes v. Wood,

19 Howell St. Tr. 1153,

98 Eng. Rep. 489 (C.P. 1763) .............-. 9-10

Wilson v. Arkansas,

ee ee I e ace nnsecséectueseenies 38,45

Winston v. Lee,

og err ee ee 31,34,38

Wolf v. Colorado,

Fe es SPE 6 cv cccdvcen ect susenesnen 18

-xii-

Wyoming v. Houghton,

a re rer eee 6,20

Constituti : Rul

Pe ID 0:56 6 04 oo ccncedcnsocacss passim

re re errr re l

Act of July12, 1984, 68th Leg., 2nd C.S., ch. 1, § 1, 1984 Tex.

TE na 660senvnesnseecnsstubesebesbecnen 31

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 521.025 (West 1999) ......... 5

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 543.003 (West 1999) ......... 4

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 543.004 (West 1999) ......... 4

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 543.005 (West 1999) ......... 4

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 545.413 (West 1999) .. 1-2,31,32

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 601.191 (West 1999) ......... 5

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 601.193 (West 1999) ......... 5

Other Authoriti

Legal Papers of John Adams (L. Kinvin Wroth & Hiller B.

SEED kndntéetscnendaneeGetanddweds 11,22

Akhil Reed Amar, Fourth Amendment First Principles, 107

ie SP ED cS occcenssoceeresvesecsenes 10

-xiii-

American Bar Association, Standards for Criminal Justice,

Ee ME odo eccanencachnuscasecevancen 32

4 William Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England

SE Kiccsvasosnudesseteseuseseeunsauesanees 14,15

4 William Blackstone, Commentaries [star pagination] .. 41

Francis H. Bohlen & Henry Shulman, Arrest With and Without

a Warrant, 75 U. Pa. L. Rev. 485 (1927)........... 15,18

John Bouvier, A Law Dictionary 146 (1839) ........... 14

John Bouvier, A Law Dictionary (11th ed. 1865) ....... 17

Brief Amicus Curiae of the Institute on Criminal Justice at the

University of Minnesota Law School etal. ............ 46

Brief of Appellees, Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 165 F.3d 380

CG, TESS SPEED vc dccccvciescewcvsds'cs 35

Brief for the United States in Opposition, Potts v. United States,

PE nn ctauuadbeues cess Gnu akeekeseeuneeas 39

Kurt B. Chadwell, Comment, Automobile Passive Restraint

Claims Post-Cipollone: An End to the Federal Preemption

Defense, 46 Baylor L. Rev. 141 (1994) ............... 31

Joseph Chitty, Practical Treatise on the Criminal Law(\st Am.

OE Se sencukaudesdudedeekbeananeuedes Per ee 18

The Conductor Generalis (Hugh Gaine ed., New York

ET +0.n00406unneseiuvbdeebendnadsotkenisadane 15

-xiv-

a Oe Oe eR. Sr See

John G. Crocker, The Duties of Sheriffs, Coroners and

Ss CPE 0.600 6004666000 bodassdenens 18

William J. Cuddihy, The Fourth Amendment: Origins and

Original Meaning (1990) (unpublished PhD. dissertation,

Claremont Graduate School) .........: lv eauwawaeles 9,12

T. Cunningham, A New and Complete Law-Dictionary (1783

GP 000s cdéteencedeesdbabhineiebsasasesundeeen 17

Thomas Y. Davies, Recovering the Fourth Amendment, 98

Se Eee SE, Pc ctccceuvanceseaceseeats 11,12

Encyclopaedia of the Laws of England (2d ed. 1908) . 16,17

Matthew Hale, Pleas of the Crown (2d ed. 1678) .... 14,15

Matthew Hale, Pleas of the Crown [star pagination]... . . 41

Halsbury’s Laws of England (3d ed. 1955) ....... . 13,41

1 William Hawkins, A Treatise of the Pleas of the Crown

SD 6-66. 4-0:50006.65 0004950005500 bdaeaeees 14

2 William Hawkins, A Treatise of the Pleas of the Crown

Gk 60s bbdndhcen$ebadnsnseskedensneeouseea 15

T.W. Hughes, A Treatise on Criminal Law and Procedure §876

SND sddddccctessasdeasteqccnddnebsavesease uns 18

Giles Jacob, A New-Law Dictionary (7th ed. 1756) ..... 15

Giles Jacob, The Law-Dictionary (Am. ed. 1811) ....... 17

J. Johnson, Les Termes de la Ley (1st Am. ed. 1812) .... 15

-XV-

Eliphalet Ladd, Burn's Abridgment, or the American Justice

DPC CASE SCREEGNGEEASOESNEREEP EROS UHC C000 64 00 15

Wayne R. LaFave, Search and Seizure (3d ed. 1996)

da MR oe ee ee aes 21-22,32-33,44

Nelson B. Lasson, The History and Development of the Fourth

Amendment to the United States Constitution (1937) .. 9-12

Tracey Maclin, The Central Meaning of the Fourth

Amendment, 35 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 197 (1992)....... 12

Francois-Xavier Martin, The Office and Authority of a Justice

of the Peace, and of Sheriffs, Coroners, &c. According to the

Laws of the State of North-Carolina (1791) ........... 15

Arthur Mendelson, Arrest for Minor Traffic Offenses, 19 Crim.

BE IESE TT TT OTT ETT TTT eLe Te 33

William L. Murfee, A Treatise on the Law of Sheriffs and Other

Ministerial Officers (1884) 2.0.0.0... 0c cece eee eens 18

Wesley M. Oliver, With an Evil Eye and an Unequal Hand:

Pretextual Stops and Doctrinal Remedies to Racial Profiling,

74 Tulane L. Rev. 1409 (2000) ................0005, 44

Rollin M. Perkins, The Law of Arrest, 25 lowa L. Rev. 201

PPP TT TT Te eT TCT TTT Tee Tere TTT Te yy TT eee 14,32

Respondent’s Brief at 15, Ricci v. Village of Arlington Heights,

No. 97-501, 1998 WL 134006 ........ 0. cece eee eee 44

-XVi-

= 2. ehh. = aes

Barbara C. Salken, The General Warrant of the Twentieth

Century? A Fourth Amendment Solution to Unchecked

Discretion to Arrest for Traffic Offenses, 62 Temple L. Rev.

EES 12,20,28,33

William A. Schroeder, Warrantless Misdemeanor Arrests and

the Fourth Amendment, 58 Mo. L. Rev. 771 (1993) ..... 28

James F. Stephen, A History of the Criminal Law of England

DPCP RRCEeebeneedbeheedeeredeweeccecseces 41

Telford Taylor, Two Studies in Constitutional Interpretation

Pt eeUUesddeuekessebeeiecesenteetecseess 9

U.S. Dep’t of Transportation, National Maximum Speed Limit

-- Fiscal Year 1993: Travel Speeds, Enforcement Efforts, and

Speed-Related Highway Safety Statistics tbls. 1 & 3

ee eet eke eens eens ceheceseees 21

U.S. Dept. of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety

Administration, National Survey of Speeding and Other Unsafe

Driving Actions 119 (1998) (report no. DOT HS 808 749)

U.S. Deyi. of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety

Administration, 1998 Motor Vehicle Occupant Safety Survey

20 (2000) (report no. DOT HS 809 051) .............. 21

Horace L. Wilgus, Arrest Without a Warrant, 22 Mich. L. Rev.

eee e Cees cegeeeceenecencccaacces 41

Works of James Wilson (Robert G. McCloskey, ed. 1967)

-XVii-

—— —_———— OO OE —

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit, sitting en banc, is reported as Atwater v. City

of Lago Vista, 195 F.3d 242 (Sth Cir. 1999) (en banc), and is

reproduced in Appendix A to the petition for writ of certiorari.

The decision of the three-judge panel of the Fifth

Circuit is reported as Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 165 F.3d

380 (Sth Cir. 1999), and is reproduced in Appendix B to the

petition for writ of certiorari.

The order of the United States District Court for the

Western District of Texas was not published, but is reproduced

in Appendix C to the petition for writ of certiorari.

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals’ judgment was entered on

November 24, 1999. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). Petitioners’ petition for writ of

certiorari was filed on February 22, 2000, and this Court

granted the petition on June 26, 2000.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The Fourth Amendment to the Constitution provides:

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,

houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no

Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause,

supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly

describing the place to be searched, and the persons or

things to be seized.

ap

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 545.413 (West 1999)

(subsequently amended effective Sept. 1, 1999).

The statute is set out, in relevant part, in the petition for

writ of certiorari at p. 2.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case concerns a constitutionally unreasonable use

of a full custodial arrest for a fine-only traffic offense.

Following a traffic stop, a Lago Vista police officer placed

petitioner Gail Atwater under full custodial arrest for violating

a Texas statute that requires the use of seat belts.

L. The Facts

Gail Atwater and her family have been residents of the

small town of Lago Vista, Texas for sixteen years. (R. 376).

Ms. Atwater is a full-time mother and her husband, Michael

Haas, is an emergency room physician at a local hospital. (R.

376-77). Their daughter Anya was almost six years old and

their son Mac was almost four years old at the time of this

incident. (R. 377).

On the afternoon of March 26, 1997, Gail Atwater was

driving Anya and Mac home from soccer practice. After

leaving the soccer field, one of the children realized they had

lost a favorite toy, a winged bat made of rubber with a suction

cup that had been affixed to the outside of the truck window.

(R. 380). The children asked their mother if they could look for

it, so Ms. Atwater back-tracked along the route they had taken

to drive to the soccer field. The children had previously been

wearing seat belts, but Ms. Atwater permitted them to take off

their belts so they could look out the truck’s windows in search

of their lost toy. (R. 380). There was no traffic on the

r% .

———e

_—-——— =

residential street near their home on which they were driving,

and their speed was approximately fifteen miles-per-hour. (R.

380).

Respondent Bart Turek, a Lago Vista police officer,

observed the seat-belt violation and stopped them. While Ms.

Atwater and her children remained in her vehicle, Officer Turek

approached, then stood by the driver's window and

aggressively jabbed his finger toward her face. Officer Turek

screamed either that they had met before or that they had had

this conversation before. (R. 381-82, 384, 703). Officer

Turek’s conduct frightened Ms. Atwater’s children and they

began to cry; she then calmly and in a normal tone of voice

requested that Officer Turek lower his voice. (R. 382, 703).

Officer Turek responded by telling Ms. Atwater that she was

going to jail. (R. 382).

There is no evidence in this summary judgment record

indicating in any way that Gail Atwater was sarcastic or

belligerent, or that she challenged Officer Turek’s authority.

(R. 388-89, 414). Ms. Atwater was not under the influence of

drugs or alcohol. She was not acting suspicious in any way,

she did not pose any threat to Officer Turek, and she was not

engaged in any illegal conduct in the officer’s view, other than

her violation of the seat belt law, when he announced his

intention to arrest her.

Despite the lack of any provocation, Officer Turek

continued to speak to Gail Atwater in a verbally abusive

manner, accusing her of not caring for her children. (R. 384-85,

388-89, 704-05). Ms. Atwater’s children and several

bystanders, including friends and neighborhood residents,

witnessed the incident. (R. 382, 385, 393, 399-400, 405).

Officer Turek’s continued verbal abuse and his

assertions that Ms. Atwater was on her way to jail caused her

children to become increasingly frightened and distressed, so

Ms. Atwater asked Officer Turek to allow her to take her

children to a friend’s home just houses away. (R. 384, 704).

Officer Turek refused, and initially planned to take the children

into custody as well. (R. 384, 389, 403, 427). Luckily, a friend

of the family was called to the scene by a neighborhood child

who happened to pass by, and the friend took the children into

her care. (R. 385-86, 705).

Officer Turek claimed he had recently stopped Ms.

Atwater for not having her children in seat belts (R. 420), but

this was false. (R. 379, 405, 703-07). Officer Turek had

stopped her several weeks before for allowing her son Mac to

ride on the front seat arm rest, but his seat belt had been

securely fastened. (R. 379, 703). No citation was issued, and

Officer Turek had not told her the basis for making the traffic

stop. (R. 379).

Police officers in Texas, as in other states, may issue

tickets after stopping motorists for traffic violations. Tex.

Transp. Code Ann. §§ 543.003-.005 (West 1999). Rather than

doing this, Officer Turek placed Ms. Atwater under full

custodial arrest.' He handcuffed her with her hands behind her

' Officer Turek later claimed that he had also arrested Ms.

Atwater for not carrying a driver’s license and proof of insurance.

(She had neither with her because her purse had recently been

stolen.) Officer Turek’s claim is inconsistent with his

pronouncement, before requesting her license or proof of insurance,

that he was taking her to jail. It is also disingenuous because Ms.

Atwater provided him with her driver’s license number, and Officer

Turek had seen both her license and proof of insurance during the

previous stop. Be that as it may, even if Officer Turek’s

-4-

ee ee,

back, loaded her into his squad car, and took her to the police

station. (R. 386). At the police station, she was forced to

remove her shoes, jewelry and glasses, and empty her pockets.

Ms. Atwater’s “mug shot” was taken, and she was placed in a

jail cell for approximately one hour until being taken before a

magistrate. (R. 386-88, 706). She was released after posting a

$310 bond. (R. 424).

Gail Atwater pled no contest to the seat belt offense and

paid the maximum penalty for this violation — a $50 fine.

Charges of driving without a license and proof of insurance, see

supra, note 1, were dismissed.

Il. The Proceedings Below

Petitioners Gail Atwater and her husband Michael Haas,

as next friend for their children, filed suit in state court against

respondents, the City of Lago Vista, Officer Bart Turek, and

Chief of Police Frank Miller, for damages suffered by

petitioners arising from Ms. Atwater’s incarceration.

Respondents removed the suit to the United States

District Court for the Western District of Texas, which granted

their motion for summary judgment. The district court ruled

that petitioners had not identified a constitutional right that had

been violated by the custodial arrest. See Pet. App. C.

after-the-fact justification is accepted, the penalties for these offenses

are also minor fines. See Tex. Transp. Code Ann. §§ 521.025(c),

601.191(b) (West 1999). Furthermore, it is a defense to prosecution

if the person charged thereafter produces a valid license and proof of

insurance (as Officer Turek well knew that Ms. Atwater would be

able to do). See Tex. Transp. Code Ann. §§ 521.025(d), 601.193

(West 1999). Officer Turek’s contention has no bearing on the

Fourth Amendment issue.

-5-

A three-judge panel of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit reversed the summary judgment

with respect to the Fourth Amendment claim, holding

petitioners had established that the custodial arrest for not

wearing a seat belt violated a clearly established Fourth

Amendment right. The remainder of the district court’s

judgment was affirmed. See Pet. App. B.

The Fifth Circuit granted rehearing en banc and vacated

the panel’s decision. After oral argument, a majority affirmed

the district court’s judgment in all respects, holding that the

custodial arrest did not violate Ms. Atwater’s Fourth

Amendment rights. Six judges dissented. See Pet. App. A.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Gail Atwater was handcuffed and taken to jail because

she and her children were not wearing their seat belts. Placing

Ms. Atwater under custodial arrest for this fine-only traffic

offense violated the Fourth Amendment’s requirement that all

seizures be reasonable.

Determining whether a particular governmental action

violates the Fourth Amendment requires first asking whether

the action would have been prohibited at common law when the

Fourth Amendment was adopted. If the answer is unclear, then

reasonableness is evaluated by balancing the degree of the

intrusion on the individual against the degree to which the

intrusion is necessary to further a legitimate governmental

interest. See Wyoming v. Houghton, 526 U.S. 295, 299-300

(1999).

Applying this analysis demonstrates that the custodial

arrest here violated the Fourth Amendment. The Fourth

Amendment was adopted in response to the use of general

&

es

warrants and writs of assistance to prevent the very sort of

unbridled discretion that the court below condones. The arrest

here would also have been unlawful when the Fourth

Amendment was adopted because warrantless arrests were not

permitted for misdemeanors unless they were breaches of the

peace. Furthermore, even if history is viewed as providing no

clear answer, balancing the competing interests does:

handcuffing Ms. Atwater in front of her children and taking her

to jail furthered no legitimate law enforcement objective that

could not also have been accomplished by issuing a traffic

citation.

Instead of applying the analysis mandated by this

Court’s precedents, the court below created a broad per se rule

blessing all custodial arrests as long as there is probable cause

to believe that an offense has occurred. This Court has never

held this to be the law, and the holding below ignores and

undermines decisions of this Court. There is, however, a rule

that would be good public policy, be consistent with this

Court’s precedents, and satisfy the Fourth Amendment’s

requirement of reasonableness: The Fourth Amendment

prohibits custodial arrests for fine-only traffic offenses except

when the arrest is necessary for enforcement of the traffic laws

or when the offense would otherwise continue and pose a

danger to others on the road.

ARGUMENT

I. Both the History Leading to the Fourth

Amendment’s Adoption and Founding-Era Rules

Governing Warrantless Arrests Make Clear that the

Custodial Arrest Here Was Unconstitutional

In determining Fourth Amendment reasonableness, this

Court has reviewed the history leading to the Fourth

Te

Amendment’s adoption and inquired whether a specific seizure

would have been unlawful at the time of the Fourth

Amendment's adoption. In fact, this Court conducted just such

a detailed historical review in one of its last major decisions

that considered whether a warrantless public arrest complied

with the Fourth Amendment. See United States v. Watson, 423

U.S. 411, 418-20 (1976). An historical inquiry demonstrates

the court of appeals’ error. The Fifth Circuit erred in holding

police officers have unfettered discretion, rivaling that of

colonial officers acting under general warrants or writs of

assistance, to arbitrarily select which drivers to jail for traffic

offenses, and by ignoring the founding-era rule that prohibited

warrantless misdemeanor arrests except for breaches of the

peace.

A. The Fourth Amendment Was Adopted to

Check Unfettered Discretion of the Sort

Given by General Warrants and Writs of

Assistance to Conduct Searches and Seizures

Arbitrarily

This Court has repeatedly recognized the events that

gave birth to the Fourth Amendment: a rejection of the use of

general warrants in England and writs of assistance in colonial

America. See, e.g., Warden v. Hayden, 387 U.S. 294, 301

(1967); Henry v. United States, 361 U.S. 98, 100-01 (1959);

Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616, 624-626 (1886). General

warrants and writs of assistance were offensive to colonial

Americans because they gave governmental officials unbridled

discretion to conduct arbitrary searches and seizures. The

Fourth Amendment was a direct response to these abuses, and

sought to curtail this discretion.

a

1. John Wilkes and the rejection of

general warrants in England

General warrants gave those using them complete

discretion as to whom to arrest, where to search, and for what

to search. General warrants became the focus of public

attention in England in the 1760s with the searches and arrests

associated with John Wilkes’ anti-government pamphlets. See

Telford Taylor, Two Studies in Constitutional Interpretation

29-35 (1969); Nelson B. Lasson, The History and Development

_ of the Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution 43-

48 (1937); 2 William J. Cuddihy, The Fourth Amendment:

Origins and Original Meaning 886-950 (1990) (unpublished

Ph.D. dissertation, Claremont Graduate School).

With the legal victories of Wilkes and his supporters

came court decisions condemning the broad discretion granted

by general warrants. For example, in declining to set aside a

£300 damage award as excessive for a journeyman printer’s

wrongful arrest and six-hour imprisonment, Chief Justice Pratt

wrote that the jury was justified in awarding the damages to

condemn the arbitrary exercise of power that the arrest

represented: “[The jury] saw a magistrate over all the King’s

subjects, exercising arbitrary power, violating Magna Charta,

and attempting to destroy the liberty of the kingdom, by

insisting upon the legality of this general warrant before them.”

Huckle v. Money, 2 Wils. K.B. 205, 207, 95 Eng. Rep. 768, 769

(K.B. 1763).

Pratt expanded on these concerns in Wilkes’ own

trespass suit against the undersecretary of state who supervised

the search of Wilkes’ house, holding that “discretionary power

given to messengers to search wherever their suspicions may

chance to fall” would “affect the person and property of every

man in this kingdom, and is totally subversive of the liberty of

9.

the subject.” Wilkes v. Wood, 19 Howell St. Tr. 1153, 1167, 98

Eng. Rep. 489, 498 (C.P. 1763); see also Leach v. Money, 19

Howell St. Tr. 1001, 1027, 97 Eng. Rep. 1075, 1088 (K.B.

1765) (Mansfield, J.) (“It is not fit, that the receiving or judging

of the information [regarding cause to arrest or search] should

be left to the discretion of the officer.”’).

These and other judicial repudiations of general

warrants in England did not go unnoticed in America. Wilkes

was a hero to the colonists and his resistance to the general

warrants an inspiration that had a strong influence on the

framing of the Fourth Amendment. See Akhil Reed Amar,

Fourth Amendment First Principles, 107 Harv. L. Rev. 757,

772 (1994) (describing Wilkes as “the paradigm search and

seizure case for Americans,” “whose lesson the Fourth

Amendment was undeniably designed to embody.”).

2. Challenges to writs of assistance in

colonial America

At about the same time John Wilkes and others were

challenging the use of general warrants in England, American

colonists were challenging the use of writs of assistance by

British customs officers. The writs gave officials using them

even greater discretion than the general warrants used against

Wilkes and his compatriots. Any person authorized by a writ

of assistance had almost limitless powers to search. All officers

and subjects of the Crown were commanded to assist in the

execution of the writs, and the writs expired only on the

reigning sovereign’s death. See Lasson, supra, at 53-54.

In February 1761, after the writs had expired following

the death of King George II, sixty-three Boston merchants

brought suit to halt the issuance of new writs of assistance. The

merchants were represented by James Otis, Jr. See Lasson,

-10-

at rt ere —

supra, at 53-54. Otis challenged the broad discretion the writs

gave customs officers, arguing that they were “the worst

instrument of arbitrary power, the most destructive of English

liberty, and the fundamental principles of the constitution, that

ever was found in an English law book.” 2 Legal Papers of

John Adams 140 (L. Kinvin Wroth & Hiller B. Zobel eds.,

1965). “It is a power that places the liberty of every man in the

hands of every petty officer.” Jd. at 141-42. Otis and his

merchant clients lost their legal battle, but their challenge

inspired Americans to resist British rule; culminating with the

Declaration of Independence.’ ; s

The condemnation of discretionary arrest and search

authority voiced by Pratt and Otis was repeated when colanial

judges later refuged to issue general writs after their

authorization by the Townsend Act of 1767. The colonial

judges consistently condemned such writs as illegal precisely

because they purported to confer discretionary aythority on

officers. See Thomas Y. Davies, Recovering the Fdurth

Amendment, 98 Mich. L. Rev. 547, 556-57 (1999).

The battles against general warrants and writs of

assistance were still fresh in the minds of Americans when they

were considering whether to adopt a new Constitution. Many

were concerned that the new Constitution contained no bill of

rights, and specifically no provision curbing broad discretion to

search and seize. Anti-federalist opponents to the Constitution

argued that it would not restrict agents of the new federal

government from conducting arbitrary and invasive searches.

? A young John Adams was a spectator in the packed

courtroom during Otis’ argument. See Lasson, supra, at 58-59. He

later described the argument as one of the key events leading to the

American Revolution. /d. at 59-61.

-11-

See generally Lasson, supra, 92-96; 3 Cuddihy, supra, at 1361-1416.

Search and seizure was addressed in at least seven of the

state conventions that considered the Constitution, and the last

four voting to ratify the Constitution requested that a search and

seizure provision be added. See 3 Cuddihy, supra, at 1380. Of

course, the provision ultimately adopted did not ban just

general warrants, but any “unreasonable” search or seizure of

a similarly arbitrary nature. See U.S. Const. amend. IV;

Lasson, supra, at 103.

3. The Fourth Amendment repudiated

unfettered search and _ seizure

discretion

Because of the familiar history leading to the Fourth

Amendment’s adoption, this Court has recognized that the

principle aim of the Fourth Amendment is to limit law

enforcement discretion, and thereby prevent arbitrary searches

and seizures. “The basic purpose of this Amendment, as

recognized in countless decisions of this Court, is to safeguard

the privacy and security of individuals against arbitrary

invasions by governmental officials.” Camara v. Municipal

Court, 387 U.S. 523, 528 (1967); see also Delaware v. Prouse,

440 U.S. 648, 661 (1979). Numerous legal commentators also

have recognized that the primary aim of those adopting the

Fourth Amendment was to limit governmental discretion. See,

e.g., Davies, supra, at 556; Tracey Maclin, The Central

Meaning of the Fourth Amendment, 35 Wm. & Mary L. Rev.

197, 201 (1992); Barbara C. Salken, The General Warrant of

the Twentieth Century? A Fourth Amendment Solution to

Unchecked Discretion to Arrest for Traffic Offenses, 62 Temple

L. Rev. 221, 222 (1989).

-12-

B. Warrantless Arrests Could Only be Made for

Felonies and Breaches of the Peace

Committed in the Presence of the Arresting

Official

This Court has also considered whether a specific

seizure would have been unlawful at the time of the Fourth

Amendment’s adoption to determine whether the seizure

complies with the Amendment. See, e.g., United States v.

Watson, 423 U.S. 411, 418-20 (1976); Carroll v. United States,

267 U.S. 132, 149 (1925). Contemporary common-law rules

limited the discretion of peace officers to arrest for minor

crimes. The founding-era rule was that an arrest could only be

made for a misdemeanor when it was ongoing and a breach of

the peace:

In cases of misdemeanor, a peace officer like a private

person has at common law no power of arresting

without a warrant except when a breach of the peace

has been committed in his presence or there is

reasonable ground for supposing that a breach of

peace is about to be committed or renewed in his

presence.

Carroll, 267 U.S. at 157 (quoting Halsbury's Laws of England,

vol. 9, part. II], 612); see also Davis v. United States, 328 U.S.

582, 610 n.4 (1946) (Frankfurter, J., dissenting) (“The common

law rule restricted arrest without warrant for a misdemeanor to

those acts which were breaches of the peace.”’).

Breach of the peace was a category of non-felony public

offenses involving or tending toward violence. Sir Matthew

Hale listed “breaches of the publick Peace” as one of three

categories of “[o]ffenses of an Inferior nature.”’ Matthew Hale,

Pleas of the Crown 134 (2d ed. 1678). The category consisted

of affrays, riots, forcible entries, barretries and riding armed.

Id.; see also 1 William Hawkins, A Treatise of the Pleas of the

Crown 126 (1716) (“Inferior Offenses more immediately

against the Subject, not capital, either amount to an actual

Disturbance of the Peace, or do not.”). William Blackstone

also distinguished “Offenses against the Public Peace,”

discussed in volume four, chapter eleven of his Commentaries,

from lesser categories of offenses, such as “Offenses against the

Public Health, and the Public Police or Oeconomy,” which

were the subject of chapter thirteen. See 4 William Blackstone,

Commentaries on the Laws of England, 142-53, 161-75 (1769).

This continued to be the generally accepted definition

into the nineteenth century. See, e.g., | John Bouvier, A Law

Dictionary 146 (1839) (defining “breach of the peace” as “[a}ny

offense against public tranquility, when accompanied by

violence.”); see also Rollin M. Perkins, The Law of Arrest, 25

lowa L. Rev. 201, 230 (1940) (defining breach of the peace as

“a public offense done by violence or one causing or likely to

cause an immediate disturbance of public order.”’).

The limitation of warrantless arrests to felonies and

ongoing breaches of the peace was well-settled prior to the

Fourth Amendment’s adoption. “[A] constable cannot arrest,

but when he sees an actual breach of the peace; and if the affray

be over, he cannot arrest.” Regina v. Tooley, 2 Ld. Raym.

1296, 1301, 92 Eng. Rep. 349, 352 (K.B. 1710). The rule was

> The other two categories of inferior offenses were

“Deceipts and Conzenage,” and “Nusances.” Matthew Hale, Pleas

of the Crown 134 (2d ed. 1678).

-14-

— SEV Sa

repeated in legal treatises,‘ legal dictionaries,’ and the

handbooks used by the officials required to apply the rule.®

The authority to arrest without a warrant for breaches of

the peace was based on the nature of the offenses, i.e., that they

were violent public disturbances or threats thereof. As Chief

Justice Taft explained for the Court in Carroll v. United States,

the purpose of arresting for breaches of the peace was not to

enable apprehension of criminals (the basis for warrantless

felony arrests), but to bring an end to the breach of the peace.

Carroll, 267 U.S. at 157; see also Francis H. Bohlen & Henry

Shulman, Arrest With and Without a Warrant, 75 U. Pa. L.

Rev. 485, 490 (1927); see generally City of Chicago v.

* See, e.g., Matthew Hale, Pleas of the Crown 92 (2d ed.

1678); 2 William Hawkins, A Treatise of the Pleas of the Crown 75,

77 (1721); 4 William Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of

England 289 (1769).

* “None shall be arrested for Debt, Trespass &c. or other

Cause of Action, but Virtue of a Precept or Commandment out of

some Court: But for Treason, Felony, or Breach of the Peace, any

Man may arrest without Warrant or Precept.” Giles Jacob, A New-

Law Dictionary (7th ed. 1756) (definition of “arrest”); see also J.

Johnson, Les Termes de la Ley 38 (ist Am. ed. 1812) (same

definition for “arrest’”’).

® See, e.g., The Conductor Generalis 25 (Hugh Gaine ed.,

New York 1788) (limiting a constable’s warrantless arrest power to

felons and for a “breaker of the peace in his view”); Francois-Xavier

Martin, The Office and Authority of a Justice of the Peace, and of

Sheriffs, Coroners, &c. According to the Laws of the State of North-

Carolina 45 (1791) (“In all criminal cases, where any one is in

danger of life, or member, any private man may arrest another,

without process or warrant . . . .”) (emphasis added); Eliphalet Ladd,

Burn’s Abridgment, or the American Justice 40-41 (1792).

-15-

Morales, 527 U.S. 41, 106-08 (1999) (Thomas, J., dissenting)

(describing police officers’ common-law “responsibility for

preserving the peace”).

For other misdemeanors that did not involve public

disturbances or actual or threatened violence, there was no need

for an exception to the warrant requirement. In fact, one of the

bases for distinguishing misdemeanors from felonies at

common law was that, unlike a felony, an arrest could not be

made for a misdemeanor without a warrant unless it was an

ongoing breach of the peace. See 9 Encyclopaedia of the Laws

of England 268 (2d ed. 1908) (defining “misdemeanor”’).

Immediate arrests were not seen as necessary for

misdemeanors. For this reason, a summons was used to initiate

the criminal process for a misdemeanor charge, unlike a felony

charge, which began with the issuance of an arrest warrant.’

In other contexts, “breach of the peace” had a broader

meaning that encompassed any violation of the criminal law,

” James Wilson, a signatory of both the Declaration of

Independence and the Constitution, and also an early member of this

Court, recognized this distinction:

On an indictment for any crime under the degree of

treason or felony, the process proper to be first

awarded, at the common law, is a venire facias,

which, from the very name of it, is only in the nature

of a summons to require the appearance of the party.

... Onan indictment for felony or treason, a capias is

always the first process.

2 Works of James Wilson 689-90 (Robert G. McCloskey, ed. 1967).

Wilson noted that it was “now the usual practice” in England to issue

a capias even for misdemeanors, but he indicated no similar change

in this country. /d. at 690.

-16-

synonymous with the phrase “breach of the king’s peace,”* but

the phrase was used in its narrow sense when describing the

power to arrest. See 11 Encyclopaedia of the Laws of England

3 (2d ed. 1908). In fact, founding-era dictionaries distinguished

the term “peace,” which was associated with the powers of

justices of the peace to prevent public disturbances, from the

phrase “peace of the king.” See, e.g., T. Cunningham, A New

and Complete Law-Dictionary (1783 ed.) (definitions of

“Peace” and “Peace of the King”); 5 Giles Jacob, The Law-

Dictionary 112-13 (Am. ed. 1811) (entries for “Peace” and

“Peace of the King”). The distinction continued to be

recognized during the eighteenth century. Compare | John

Bouvier, A Law Dictionary 190 (11th ed. 1865) (defining

“breach of the peace”), with 2 John Bouvier, A Law Dictionary

322 (11th ed. 1865) (defining “pax regis” and “peace”’).

Following the Fourth Amendment’s ratification, the

common law rule was well-settled for roughly the first one

hundred years of the Republic. Through most of the nineteenth

century, courts continued to hold that a warrantless

misdemeanor arrest was unlawful when not a breach of the —

peace.’ Nineteenth-century American legal commentators were

* The phrase was used in this broader sense when it appeared

on a criminal indictment.

* See, e.g., Pow v. Beckner, 3 Ind. 475, 478 (1852) (“To

justify a constable in apprehending without process for an affray, the

affray must take place in his view and be still continuing. After it is

over he has no more power to arrest the offenders than any other

person.”); Commonwealth v. Carey, 66 Mass. (12 Cush.) 246, 250

(1853) (“{E]ven if he were a constable, he had no power to arrest for

any misdemeanor without a warrant, except to stay a breach of the

peace, or to prevent the commission of such an offense); Robison v.

Miner, 68 Mich. 549, 556-59, 37 N.W. 21, 25 (1888) (holding

-17-

no different, and in fact, some stated the rule as prohibiti

prohibiting ail

warrantless misdemeanor arrests. William L. Murfee, A

Treatise on the Law of Sheriffs and Other Ministerial Officers

§ 1 161, at 629-30 (1884). Other treatises limited warrantless

misdemeanor arrests to offenses involving public violence. '°

By the early twentieth century, courts had begun to

ignore the breach-of-the-peace requirement,'' and legislation in

many states permitted warrantless arrests for any misdemeanor

committed in an officer’s presence. See T.W. Hughes, A

Treatise on Criminal Law and Procedure § 876, at 597 ( 1919).

Obviously, these alterations to the common law a century or

more after the Fourth Amendment’s adoption provide no

insight into the understanding of the Amendment when it was

Moreover, these changes to the common law rule were

made by state courts and legislatures before this Court held the

Fourth Amendment applied to the states. See Wolf v. Colorado

338 US. 25, 27-28 (1949). They therefore do not constitute

legislative opinions on their constitutionality. Because the

Fourth Amendment did not apply to the states, state legislatures

would not have been concerned whether their legislation met

unconstitutional the portion of a liquor law that deemed its violations

to be breaches of the peace and permitted warrantless arrests); see

also Bohlen & Shulman, supra, at 486 & n.3 (citing cases).

© See also 1 Joseph Chitty, A Practical Treatis

. , e on the

Criminal Law 15 (1st Am. ed. 1819); John G. Crocker, The Duties of

Sheriffs, Coroners and Constables § 48, at 33 (2d ed. 1871).

'' Contemporary commentators perceived those courts

. . . . . . to be

misreading this Court’s decision in Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S.

137 (1925). See Bohlen & Shulman, supra, at 487-883.

-18-

Fourth Amendment standards. Moreover, to hold that post-

Fourth-Amendment-adoption alterations to the common law by

states are relevant when made before the Fourth Amendment

applied to the states would permit state legislatures to

preemptively nullify federal constitutional rights before they

applied to them. Cf. Dickerson v. United States, 530 U.S. __.,

slip op. at 1 (June 26, 2000) (rejecting the argument that an Act

of Congress vitiated Miranda because “a constitutional decision

_ may not be in effect overruled by an Act of Congress”).

on Because Officer Turek’s Arrest of Gail

Atwater Would Have Been Unlawful When

the Fourth Amendment Was Adopted, the

Arrest Was Unconstitutional

Gail Atwater was not breaching the peace when she and

her children rode in her truck at fifteen-miles-per-hour

unrestrained by seat belts. Though there may be traffic offenses

that qualify as breaches of the peace, this is not one of them.

Non-use of seat belts is not, by any stretch of the

imagination, a public disturbance or an act likely to incite

violence in others. It is not even a public offense. Unlike many

traffic offenses, violations of the Texas seat-belt law have

virtually no impact on other drivers. As the three-judge panel

of the Fifth Circuit astutely observed, the seat-belt law is one of

several “paternalistic statutes” that Texas and many states have

adopted “to protect a specific individual from his own conduct,

conduct which poses no threat to the public at large.” Atwater

v. City of Lago Vista, 165 F.3d 380, 385 (Sth Cir. 1999) (panel),

Pet. App. B at 37a. It is difficult — if not impossible — to

conceive of a traffic violation that is further from a breach of

peace than the seat-belt law.

Furthermore, the common law justification for

warrantless breach-of-the-peace arrests is wholly absent in this

case. There is no indication that a custodial arrest was

necessary to prevent the offense from continuing. In fact, the

record indicates the opposite. Ms. Atwater told her children

that the policeman was right, and they had broken the law by

not wearing their seat belts. (R. 384).

; At a minimum, the Fourth Amendment prohibits

seizures that were unlawful at the time of the Amendment’s

adoption. Wyoming v. Houghton, 526 U.S. 295, 299 (1999);

see also County of Riverside v. McLauglin, 500 U.S. 44, 60-61

(1991) (Scalia, J., dissenting) (citing California v. Hodari D.,

499 U.S. 621 (1991)). Because the arrest of Gail Atwater

would not have been permitted by founding-era common-law

rules, her arrest violated the Fourth Amendment.

D. The Decision Below Is Contrary to the

Fourth Amendment Because It Grants Law

Enforcement Unfettered Discretion to Search

and Arrest of the Sort the Fourth

Amendment Was Meant to End

The court below not only ignores the nature of the

offense for which Ms. Atwater was arrested, but also leaves to

the complete discretion of every police officer whether to use

custodial arrests for any traffic violation. The Fifth Circuit

thereby gives law enforcement the very sort of broad discretion

to commit arbitrary searches and seizures that the Fourth

Amendment sought to end.

/ Because of the immense number of traffic laws, it is

virtually impossible for any person to drive for any significant

distance without committing some infraction. See, e.g., Salken,

supra, at 223. Violations of traffic laws are numerous. 1993

-20-

A Se EK Ren. -

Department of Transportation statistics indicated that 50% of

all vehicles at any time were violating the then-maximum speed

limit of 55 miles per hour, with 71% of the vehicles speeding

on urban interstates, and 80% on rural interstates. See U.S.

Dep’t of Transportation, National Maximum Speed Limit --

Fiscal Year 1993: Travel Speeds, Enforcement Efforts, and

Speed-Related Highway Safety Statistics tbls. 1 & 3 (Oct.

1995). More recently, seven out of ten drivers admitted in an

official survey that they had run a red light at least once in the

past year. See 2 U.S. Dept. of Transportation, National

Highway Traffic Safety Administration, National Survey of

Speeding and Other Unsafe Driving Actions 119 (1998) (report

no. DOT HS 808 749). Violations of seat belt laws are also

fairly common. At any given time, almost one-third of vehicle

occupants are not using their seat belts. 2 U.S. Dept. of

Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety

Administration, 1998 Motor Vehicle Occupant Safety Survey

20 (2000) (report no. DOT HS 809 051).

An observant police officer can come up with a traffic

violation for almost any vehicle. See, e.g., United States v.

Smith, 80 F.3d 215, 219 (7th Cir. 1996) (condoning a traffic

stop based on the officer’s belief that an air freshener hanging

from the rear view mirror of a car amounted to a material

obstruction between the driver and the windshield in violation

of Illinois law). This means police officers are left to choose

which laws to enforce, and against which drivers to enforce

them:

[G]iven the pervasiveness of such minor [traffic]

offenses and the ease with which law enforcement

agents may uncover them in the conduct of virtually

everyone, [probable cause for a traffic violation]

hardly matters, for here as well there exists ‘a power.

that places the liberty of every man in the hands of

-2)}-

every petty officer,’ precisely the kind of arbitrary

authority which gave rise to the Fourth Amendment.

1 Wayne R. LaFave, Search and Seizure, § 1.4(e), at 123 (3d

ed. 1996) (quoting 2 Legal Papers of John Adams 141-42 (L.

Kinvin Wroth & Hiller B. Zobel eds., 1965)).

Petitioners do not challenge police discretion to

selectively make stops for traffic violations they observe. State

legislatures have determined that various traffic laws help

insure safer roads and highways, and police should enforce

those laws by making traffic stops and issuing citations for their

violation. See Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806, 818

(1996) (“[W]e are aware of no principle that would allow us to

decide at what point a code of law becomes so expansive and

so commonly violated that infraction itself can no longer be the

ordinary measure of the lawfulness of enforcement.”). Giving

police the discretion to choose which violations to enforce and

choosing which vehicles to stop is an acceptable concession to

permit enforcement of these laws, even though that means

traffic stops may be made for pine tree air fresheners hanging

from vehicle windshields. But there is no reason to grant a

similar degree of discretion to handcuff and take people to jail

for those same minor violations.

Those who insisted on a bill of rights with a provision

prohibiting unreasonable searches and seizures likely would be

amazed at the freedom and lifestyle enabled by motor vehicles.

They also would be shocked that regulation of these motor

vehicles is used as an excuse to grant law enforcement almost

unlimited discretion to search and seize. Such discretion may

be acceptable to permit enforcement by issuance of traffic

citations, but not when the discretion includes whether or not to

place a person under custodial arrest.

-22-

The decision below ignored the common law altogether

and turned the historical basis of the Fourth Amendment on its

head. Granted, many things have changed since 1791.

Organized police forces were unknown in colonial times, as

were motor vehicles. Furthermore, many state courts and

legislatures abandoned the breach-of-the-peace requirement

during the 20th century, thereby lessening the protections

afforded by the common law. Still, the evils for which the

Fourth Amendment was adopted and the protections afforded

by the common law should not be ignored. Balancing the

competing interests shows there is no reason for doing so here.

Il. Balancing the Competing Interests of Law

_ Enforcement and the Individual Demonstrates that

the Custodial Arrest of Ms. Atwater for Non-Usage

of Seat Belts Was Constitutionally Unreasonable

The Fourth Amendment’s over-arching command is that

all searches and seizures must be reasonable. “The touchstone

of our analysis under the Fourth Amendment is always ‘the

reasonableness in all the circumstances of the particular

governmental invasion of a citizen’s personal security.’”

Maryland v. Wilson, 519 U.S. 408, 411 (1997) (quoting

Pennsylvania v. Mimms, 434 U.S. 106, 108-09 (1977) (quoting

Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 19 (1968))). The Fourth

Amendment reasonableness of a seizure is determined by

balancing the competing interests of the government and the

individual. “To determine the constitutionality of a seizure,

‘fw]e must balance the nature and quality of the intrusion on

the individual’s Fourth Amendment interests against the

importance of the governmental interests alleged to justify the

intrusion.” Tennessee v. Garner, 471 U.S. 1, 8 (1985) (quoting

United States v. Place, 462 U.S. 696, 703 (1983); citing

Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 654 (1979); United States

v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543, 555 (1976)).

-23-

For Gail Atwater, the seizure and subsequent searches

to which she was subjected were an extreme intrusion and

disruption of her life and the life of her children. No legitimate

law enforcement objective or governmental interest was

furthered in any way by this conduct.

A. The Nature and Quality of the Intrusion on

Gail Atwater’s Liberty Interests Was

Substantial

Gail Atwater was subjected to a custodial arrest. A

custodial arrest in any circumstance is a_ substantial

governmental intrusion, particularly for the average law-

abiding citizen. The circumstances of this case — a mother

handcuffed and taken to jail in front of her two young children

— make the custodial arrest here particularly egregious.

1. Custodial arrests as a general matter

are significant governmental

intrusions

A custodial arrest of a person is the quintessential

seizure. See California v. Hodari D., 499 U.S. 621, 624 (1991)

(citing Henry v. United States, 361 U.S. 98, 100 (1959)). The

Fourth Amendment therefore requires that it be reasonable. See

Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573, 585 (1980). This Court has

used the term “custodial arrest” to describe seizures where the

person is not just detained, but taken into custody and

transported to the police station. E.g., Knowles v. lowa, 525

U.S. 113, 117 (1998); United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S. 227,

234-35 (1973).

A custodial arrest is a particularly significant

governmental intrusion on an individual’s liberty interest. The

degree of the intrusion an arrest involves is readily apparent

-24-

when compared with a routine traffic stop. A traffic stop “is a

relatively brief encounter and ‘is more analogous to a so-called

“Terry stop” ... than to a formal arrest.” Knowles v. lowa,

§25 U.S. 113, 117 (1998) (quoting Berkemer v. McCarty, 468

U.S. 420, 439 (1984)). The typical traffic stop, although a

Fourth Amendment seizure, often is no more than an

inconvenience, in which the motorist “will be obliged to spend

a short period of time answering questions and waiting while

the officer checks his license and registration, ... may then be

given a citation, but [expects] that in the end he most likely will

be allowed to continue on his way.” Berkemer, 468 U.S. at

437; but see Maryland v. Wilson, 519 U.S. 408, 422 (1997)

(Kennedy, J., dissenting) (“Traffic stops, even for minor

violations, can take upwards of 30 minutes.”). Unlike a

custodial arrest, a traffic stop is not a complete suspension of an

individual’s freedom. The person remains in or near his or her

car, which is a less threatening and more familiar setting than

a police station house or a jail cell.

A custodial arrest is likewise far more intrusive than

most searches, especially a vehicle search or a Terry frisk. An

arrest is “a wholly different kind of intrusion upon individual

freedom from a limited search for weapons.” Terry v. Ohio,

392 U.S. 1, 26 (1968). As Justice Powell observed:

A search may cause only annoyance and temporary

inconvenience to the law-abiding citizen, assuming

more serious dimension only when it turns up

evidence of criminality. An arrest, however, is a

serious personal intrusion regardless of whether the

person seized is guilty or innocent. Although an

arrestee cannot be held for a significant period

without some neutral determination that there are

grounds to do so, no decision that he should go free

-25-

can come quickly enough to erase the invasion of his

privacy that already will have occurred.

United States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411, 428 (1976) (Powell, J.,

concurring) (citations omitted) (emphasis added). The

custodial arrest, not the search incident to the arrest, “is the

significant intrusion of state power into the privacy of one’s

person.” United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S. 218, 237 (1973)

(Powell, J. concurring).

The significance of custodial arrests is sometimes

overlooked because the focus often is on the search rather than

the arrest. This is usually the case when the Fourth

Amendment challenge is raised with the hope of triggering

application of the exclusionary rule. For the criminal seeking

to exclude otherwise admissible evidence, the search most

surely is the utmost concern. But the perspective of the average

citizen is the focus of Fourth Amendment balancing, not the

perspective of the career criminal. See Florida v. Bostick, 501

U.S. 429, 438 (1991) (“the ‘reasonable person’ test presupposes

an innocent person”) (citing Florida v. Royer, 460 U.S. 491,

519 n.4 (1983) (Blackmun, J., dissenting)). For the average

citizen, who is always subject to a possible traffic stop for a

myriad of reasons, a search is an annoyance. A custodial arrest

is a nightmare.

A custodial arrest typically entails physical restraint at

the outset. See Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386, 396 (1989)

(recognizing that “the right to make an arrest .. . necessarily

carries with it the right to use some degree of physical

coercion”). At a minimum, this restraint usually comes in the

form of handcuffing, followed by physically placing the

individual in the back of a locked police car for transportation

to the booking station.

Once at the booking station, the arrestee is subjected to

the booking process, usually including fingerprinting and a

“mug shot.” Valuables are taken away, and the person Is placed

in a jail cell. As an incident to the arrest, the arrestee is almost

always subjected to a search of his or her person, and may be

subjected to more extreme invasions, such as body cavity

searches. An arrestee may be detained for as long as 48 hours

before a probable cause determination is made by a magistrate.

See County of Riverside v. McLaughlin, 500 U.S. 44, 56-57

(1991). If unable to post the bond set by the magistrate," the

arrestee will languish in jail until a scheduled court date.

Significantly, pre-trial detention often places multiple

detainees in a single holding cell, thus mingling traffic violators

with persons arrested for much more serious offenses who pose

a risk of physical harm to the traffic-offense arrestee. Most, if

not all, liberty interests and expectations of privacy are lost as

an incident to pre-trial detention. “The fact of arrest and

incarceration abates all legitimate Fourth Amendment privacy

and possessory interests in personal effects, and therefore all

searches and seizures of the contents of an inmate’s cell are

reasonable.” Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S. 517, 538 (1984)

(O’Connor, J., concurring) (citations omitted).

The harm from a custodial arrest lingers long after the

detention ends. See, e.g., Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 26 (1968)

(observing that a custodial arrest “is inevitably accompanied by

future interference with the individual’s freedom of movement,

whether or not trial or conviction ultimately follows.”). The

record of the arrest may linger even when there ultimately is an

acquittal, and even if no charges are ever brought against the

'2 Ms. Atwater was required to post a $310 bond to get out

of jail for a $50 offense. (R. 424).

-27-

arrestee. Further, arrest records are easily accessible by the

public, and may close the door on a broad array of employment

opportunities. See William A. Schroeder, Warrantless

Misdemeanor Arrests and the Fourth Amendment, 58 Mo. L.

Rev. 771, 797 (1993); Salken, supra, at 264. In fact, Texas tort

law discourages employers from hiring persons with arrest

records. See Read v. Scott Fetzer Co., 990 S.W.2d 732, 734

(Tex. 1998).

An arrest following a traffic stop is an even greater

governmental intrusion. An arrest for a traffic violation comes

as a particularly great shock to a driver, whose expectation is

that, at most, it will end with a traffic citation. See Berkemer,

468 U.S. at 437. Also, the arrest is commonly a public

spectacle, made on the side of a public road in full view of all

passers by.

The searches that may accompany the arrest also are

more intrusive when a custodial arrest follows a traffic stop.

The search incident to arrest encompasses not just the person of

the arrestee, but also the vehicle the arrestee had occupied. See

New York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454, 460-61 (1981). The vehicle

is frequently impounded, and reacquisition requires payment of

impoundment fees — regardless of whether a criminal charge

follows the arrest. The vehicle then may be subjected to a more

thorough search in which the vehicle’s contents are inventoried.

See Colorado v. Bertine, 479 U.S. 367 (1986).

2. The custodial arrest of Gail Atwater

was particularly invasive and extreme

The arrest of Gail Atwater had all the characteristics of

a full custodial arrest. Furthermore, the arrest was exacerbated

by a police officer’s humiliating a mother in front of her two

young children.

-28-

Ms. Atwater was subjected to a full-fledged custodial

arrest. Officer Turek handcuffed Ms. Atwater’s hands behind

her back, loaded her into a police squad car, and then

transported her to the police station. Once at the police station,

Gail Atwater was forced to remove her shoes and glasses, and

empty her pockets, then a “mug shot” was taken. (R. 386-88;

706). She was then placed in a cold jail cell for approximately

one hour before being taken to a magistrate. Meanwhile, her

vehicle was towed to an impound lot in another city and its

interior searched and inventoried.'? She then had to pay an

additional $110 to get it back. (R. 400).

This arrest was particularly egregious because of the

presence of Ms. Atwater’s children. The arrest began with

Officer Turek yelling at her, which subsequently included

accusations — in front of her children — that she was a bad

mother and did not care about her children. (R. at 384-85, 388-

89, 704-05). He also implied Ms. Atwater was a liar, again in

front of her children. Officer Turek’s behavior is all the more

distasteful — and detrimental to Ms. Atwater’s children —

when it came immediately after she had explained to her

children that they were “wrong” for not wearing their seat belts

and the police officer was just “doing his job.” (R. 384). Ms.

Atwater’s four-year-old son and six-year-old daughter received

a traumatic lesson on what this police officer thought his job

entailed.

After hearing their mother vilified by a man with a gun,

the children then watched him handcuff their mother and take

'? The inventory revealed the following: two tricycles, one

bicycle, one igloo cooler, two pairs of children’s shoes, toys, food,

and a bag of Kingsford charcoal. (R. 426).

-29-

her away.'* And what was to become of Gail Atwater’s two

young children when she was taken to jail? Ms. Atwater

begged Officer Turek to permit her to bring her children to a

friend’s home a few houses away, but he refused. (R. 384,

704). Initially, he planned to take the children into custody as

well. (R. 427). Luckily, a family friend arrived, and Officer

Turek permitted her to take the children. (R. 386).

The governmental intrusion here was undoubtedly

substantial. Ms. Atwater was subjected to a full custodial arrest

which her young children were forced to witness.

B. The Government’s Interest in Enforcing the

Seat Belt Law Does Not Justify the Intrusion

Here

Petitioners recognize that as a general matter,

government has a “‘vital interest’ in highway safety and the

various programs that contribute to that interest.” New York v.

Class, 475 U.S. 106, 112 (1986) (citing Delaware v. Prouse,

440 U.S. 648, 658 (1979)). Seat belt laws, however, are readily

distinguishable from most laws that further highway safety:

they are “designed to protect a specific individual from his own

conduct, conduct which poses no threat to the public at large.”

165 F.3d 380, 385, Cert. Pet. App. B at 37a. The remaining

issue is whether the governmental interest in enforcing the seat

belt laws was furthered in any conceivable way by the

handcuffing and arrest of Gail Atwater in front of her children.

It was not.

'* This was particularly harmful to the children because they

blame themselves for their mother’s arrest: they had lost a toy, and

were out of their seat belts so they could look out the windows to try

to find it. (R. 380, 396).

-30-

1. The governmental interest in

enforcing the seat belt law is

relatively slight

The Texas seat belt statute is a criminal law of relatively

recent vintage. See Act of July12, 1984, 68th Leg., 2nd C.S.,

ch. 1, § 1, 1984 Tex. Gen. Laws 11, 12. Indeed, seat belts were

not even required in newly-manufactured American

automobiles until 1967. See Kurt B. Chadwell, Comment,

Automobile Passive Restraint Claims Post-Cipollone: An End

to the Federal Preemption Defense, 46 Baylor L. Rev. 141,

143-44 (1994).

The gravity of the offense is an important factor in

determining the reasonableness of a search or seizure. See, e.g.,

Welsh v. Wisconsin, 466 U.S. 740, 750 (1984); McDonald v.

United States, 335 U.S. 451, 459 (1948) (Jackson, J.,

concurring). Not wearing a seat belt is obviously less grave of

an offense than attempted robbery, malicious wounding, or

burglary of a home, all crimes involving direct attacks on the

rights of others. Cf Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753, 755-56

(1985); Tennessee v. Garner, 471 U.S. 1, 4 (1985). It also is

less serious than drunk driving, which poses a threat to all

others on the road. Cf Welsh, 466 U.S. at 755 (Blackmun, J.,

concurring). It is even less significant than a failure to use a

turn signal. Cf Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806, 810

(1996).

Finally, the penalty for violating the seat belt law is

minimal: a fine ranging from $25 to $50 is authorized. Tex.

Transp. Code Ann. § 545.413(d) (West 1999). The Texas

Legislature intended for the fine to be the only penalty for not

wearing a seat belt, not custodial arrest and subsequent

incarceration. See Bridgestone/Firestone, Inc. v. Glyn-Jones,

878 S.W.2d 132, 134 (Tex. 1994) (the statutory fine was meant

-31-

to be “the sole legal sanction for the failure to wear a seat

belt”). Texas even bars evidence of the use or non-use of seat

belts in civil litigation. Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 545.413(g)

(West 1999). “(T]he penalty that may attach to any particular

offense seems to provide the clearest and most consistent

indication of the State’s interest in arresting individuals

suspected of committing that offense.” Welsh v. Wisconsin,

466 U.S. 740, 754 n.14 (1984). As evidenced by the penalty

imposed for a violation of the seat belt law, the governmental

interest in the law’s enforcement is relatively slight.

2. The custodial arrest furthered no

legitimate law enforcement objective

that could not also have been

accomplished by issuing a citation

Even if the government had a stronger interest in

enforcing the seat belt laws, a custodial arrest would not

advance that interest. “The most common purpose of arrest is

to bring an actual or supposed criminal into court for

investigation or trial or to subject a convict to the penalty

previously imposed upon him by a competent tribunal.” Rollin

M. Perkins, The Law of Arrest, 25 lowa L. Rev. 201, 202

(1940). These and other justifications for a custodial arrest

usually do not apply to traffic violations.

Because the traditional justifications for custodial

arrests do not apply to most traffic offenses, issuing citations is

the preferred method for enforcing most traffic laws. “It should

be the policy of every law enforcement agency to issue citations

in lieu of arrest or continued custody to the maximum extent

consistent with the effective enforcement of the law.”

American Bar Association, Standards for Criminal Justice, §

10.2-1 (2d ed. 1980). Academics have made the same

recommendation. See, e.g., 3 Wayne R. LaFave, Search and

-32-

Seizure § 5.2(g), at 91 (3d ed. 1996); Salken, supra, at 249

(1989); Arthur Mendelson, Arrest for Minor Traffic Offenses,

19 Crim. L. Bull. 501, 503 (1983).

In addition, approving the use of custodial arrests for

fine-only traffic offenses such as seat belt laws is counter to the

governmental interest in enforcing traffic laws: it raises the

stakes of the “routine” traffic stop, increasing the potential

danger to police officers. People should not fear police, whose

job it is to protect them. But if police have the unfettered

discretion to arrest anyone for even the slightest criminal

infraction, that will engender fear of police. Currently the

expectation of most drivers is that a traffic stop will be brief.

Because of this, traffic stops are less adversarial than custodial

arrests. “The threat to officer safety from issuing a traffic

citation . . . is a good deal less than in the case of a custodial

arrest.” Knowles v. Iowa, 525 U.S. 113, 117 (1998).

If the decision below is approved by this Court, that

may change. Every driver who sees the flashing lights of a

police car in the rear view mirror will have cause to wonder if

this will be the officer who decides to handcuff and take the

driver to jail. Drivers will wonder if they will spend the next

two days in jail, and their behavior will reflect this.

3. No special circumstances were

present in this case to make a

custodial arrest mecessary or

reasonable

Various factors may arise in individual traffic stops that

conceivably could make the increased governmental intrusion

of a custodial arrest “reasonable.” No such factors were present

in this case. The custodial arrest did nothing to further “the

-$3-

community’s interest in fairly and accurately determining guilt

or innocence.” Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753, 762 (1985).

A custodial arrest was not necessary to secure an

appearance in court for the seat belt violation. Ms. Atwater —

known by the officer to be a local resident, wife of an

emergency room physician, and mother of two young children

— posed no risk of flight. Likewise, Officer Turek confirmed

that she was a licensed driver after she presented him with her

Texas driver’s license number. (R. 386). Once the officer had

made the stop, he had obtained all the evidence necessary for

prosecution of the offense. See Knowles, 525 U.S. at 118. Ms.

Atwater’s signature on a citation, promising to appear, was all

that was needed to insure enforcement of the law.'®

Similarly, there was no indication that Ms. Atwater

would have refused to belt herself and her children once her

non-compliance was cited. In fact, the record strongly indicates

the opposite: she was telling her children that they were wrong

and that they all should have been wearing their seat belts. (R.

384). But Ms. Atwater was not given the chance to sign a

promise to appear: Officer Turek immediately announced his

decision to place her under custodial arrest. (R. 382).

Whatever his motivation, from the moment Officer Turek

'’ The Fourth Amendment does not a/ways mandate the least

intrusive law enforcement practice, see, e.g. , Illinois v. Lafayette, 462

U.S. 640, 647-48 (1983), as when the less intrusive practice poses

significant difficulties in its application. But here, what happens to

be a “less intrusive” means for enforcing the seat belt law is also the

easiest, cheapest, most commonly used, most effective, in short, the

best means as well.

-34-

stopped Ms. Atwater’s truck, he made it clear that he intended

to take her to jail.'®

Finally, any of the sort of aggravating circumstances

that can cause a traffic stop to “escalate” were wholly lacking

in this case. Gail Atwater was not intoxicated or using illegal

drugs. There were no outstanding warrants for her arrest. She

was not a repeat offender.'’ Ms. Atwater was at all times

cooperative and polite, even when Officer Turek’s yelling made

her children begin to cry. (R. 388-89, 414). There was no

indication that Ms. Atwater was armed, or that she posed any

threat to the officer’s safety. In short, none of the common

justifications given for custodial arrests were present in this

case. All legitimate law enforcement objectives could have

been accomplished by issuing a citation. In the balancing of

interests, the respondents’ side of the scale is empty.

As the court below erred by refusing to engage in an

historical inquiry, so, too, did it err by not balancing the

competing interests of the individual and government as

mandated by this Court’s decisions. Other lower courts have

not shirked this responsibility when faced with a custodial

‘© Not surprisingly, Officer Turek’s performance review

indicates that he led his department in misdemeanor arrests. (R.

653).

'7 At various stages in this litigation, the respondents have

mischaracterized Gail Atwater as having previously violated the seat

belt law. See, e.g., Brief of Appellees at 3, Atwater v. City of Lago

Vista, 165 F.3d 380 (Sth Cir. 1999) (No. 98-50302). There is not

evidence in the record so indicating. Ms. Atwater had been stopped

by Officer Turek a few weeks before the episode that gave rise to this

case, but her children were restrained on that occasion and no

citation was issued. (R. 379, 405, 703-07).

-35-

arrest for a traffic violation. See, e.g., State v. Jones, 727

N.E.2d 886, 892-95 (Ohio 2000); State v. Harmon, 910 P.2d

1196, 1201-04 (Utah 1995). Under the circumstances of this

case, the balancing of the competing interests leads to the same

result that would have been reached under common law rules,

themselves the result of a balancing of interests: the custodial

arrest of Gail Atwater was an unreasonable seizure.

Ill. The Court Below Erred by Creating a Broad Per Se

Rule that Probable Cause Without More Justifies

Any Custodial Arrest, Regardless of the Offense

The Fifth Circuit announced a broad new rule that

probable cause is the only Fourth Amendment restriction on a

seizure of a person. Such a rule, when applied to minor traffic

offenses, cannot be squared with the events that led to the

Fourth Amendment’s adoption or with any balancing of the

competing interests of the individual and law enforcement.

Additionally, this Court has never recognized such an

unqualified rule, which ignores and even undercuts other

decisions of this Court.

A. The Court of Appeals’ Reliance on Whren v.

United States Was Misplaced

The Fifth Circuit relied on language in Whren v. United

States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996), concluding that any custodial

arrest was reasonable so long as there is probable cause,

ignoring the character of the offense. See 195 F.3d at 244-46,

Pet. App. A at 4a-7a. The court below focused on the

following passage:

Where probable case has existed, the only cases in

which we have found it necessary to perform the

‘balancing’ analysis involved searches or seizures

-36-

conducted in an extraordinary manner, unusually

harmful to an individual’s privacy or even physical

interests—such as, for example, seizure by means of

deadly force, unannounced entry into a home, entry

into ahome without a warrant, or physical penetration

of the body.

Whren, 517 U.S. at 818 (citations omitted). There are several

reasons why reliance on this passage was incorrect.

First, Whren did not address the constitutionality of a

custodial arrest, but rather of a temporary detention — a traffic

stop — based on probable cause to believe that a traffic

violation had been committed. Whren, 517 U.S. at 808. The

Whren petitioners contended that a traffic stop should only be

permitted if a hypothetical police officer, “acting reasonably,

would have made the stop for the reason given.” Whren, 517

U.S. at 810. This Court unanimously rejected that argument as

a thinly-veiled effort to avoid the Court’s repeated rejections of

efforts to scrutinize officers’ objective intent. 517 U.S. at 811-

12. All that was before this Court in Whren was the

constitutionality of a traffic stop, not the custodial arrests that

followed.

Second, the custodial arrests in Whren were not traffic

arrests, but drug arrests based on probable cause. The vehicle

occupants were arrested for possession of narcotics after the

officer approached the vehicle and saw the passenger holding

in plain view two large bags of what appeared to be crack

cocaine. Whren, 517 U.S. at 808-09. The officers who made

the arrests in Whren were plainclothes “vice-squad officers”

patrolling in a “high drug area.” Jd. at 808. The officers had

observed a vehicle with temporary plates that had stopped for

an unusually long time at a stop sign, for no apparent reason.

Id. The vehicle then drove away when the police car made a U-

-37-

turn and approached. /d. The petitioners contended that the

stop and ultimate arrests were for a traffic violation in the hope

that this Court would announce a rule that prohibited

“pretextual” traffic stops. Jd. at 810, 811-12. However, the

facts in Whren arguably were sufficient to justify a brief

detention based on reasonable suspicion apart from any traffic

violation. See United States v. Cortez, 449 U.S. 411, 417-18

(1981).

Finally, the custodial arrest of Gail Atwater was

extraordinary. A custodial arrest is admittedly less of an

intrusion than a physical penetration of the body, and based on

precedent, entries into the home are treated as greater intrusions

than physical incarceration of one’s person. But what

constitutes an “extraordinary” seizure is relative to the crime at

issue. The infraction for which Ms. Atwater was arrested is

much less serious than the offenses in the decisions listed by

this Court in Whren as involving “extraordinary” intrusions:

drunk driving,'* burglary,'? armed robbery,” or trafficking in

narcotics.” The nature and quality of an intrusion on an

individual’s Fourth Amendment interests must be balanced

“against the importance of the governmental interests alleged

to justify the intrusion.” Tennessee v. Garner, 471 U.S. 1,8

(1985) (quoting United States v. Place, 462 U.S. 696, 703

(1983); citing Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 654 (1979);

United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543, 555 (1976)).

The degree of the governmental intrusion on Gail Atwater was

'§ Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757, 758 (1966).

'9 Tennessee v. Garner, 471 U.S. 1, 5 (1985).

20 Winston v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753, 755 (1985).

2! Wilson v. Arkansas, 514 U.S. 927, 929 (1995).

-38-

just as extraordinary as the intrusions in the cases listed in

Whren, when the basis for the governmental intrusion -

enforcing the seat belt law — is considered.

Indeed, even the Solicitor General has indicated that,

after making a traffic stop based on probable cause to believe

that a traffic violation has occurred, it is extraordinary to do

more than issue a ticket, absent some indication of other

ongoing criminal activity:

Once a police officer has completed his

investigation and citation of the traffic offense that

gave rise to the stop, the motorist must be permitted

to leave, unless the officer has by that time developed

reasonable suspicion that the motorist has committed

or is committing another offense. See United States

v. Sullivan, 138 F.3d 126, 131 (4th Cir. 1998);

[United States v. McRae, 81 F.3d 1528, 1535 (10th

Cir. 1996)]. A reasonable suspicion to continue to

detain a motorist requires a ‘particularized and

objective basis for suspecting the person stopped of

criminal activity,’ Ornelas v. United States, 517 U.S.

690, 696 (1996) (internal quotation marks omitted), in

additional to the original traffic offense.

Brief for the United States in Opposition at 9-10, Potts v.

United States, No. 98-2000. In Potts, the police officer stopped

the vehicle after it had changed lanes without signaling and it

had been speeding; there was no question the officer had

probable cause to believe that these offenses had occurred.

United States v. Potts, 173 F.3d 430, 1999 WL 96756 (6th Cir.

Feb. 2, 1999) (unpublished disposition). If probable cause to

believe a traffic offense has occurred were alone sufficient to

justify a custodial arrest, then the issue of whether a traffic stop

lasts too long — a much less significant governmental intrusion

-39-

than a custodial arrest — would rarely, if ever, be a concern.

B. United States v. Watson Upheld Only

Warrantless Felony Arrests, and its Analysis

Supports Petitioners’ Position

The Fifth Circuit also ignored this Court’s anaysis in

United States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411 (1976). Watson dealt

with the validity of a warrantless felony arrest based on

probable cause. Watson, 423 U.S. at 415-16. The Watson

Court did not take for granted that probable cause was

sufficient to justify a warrantless felony arrest. Instead, the

Court carefully reviewed common-law authorities to determine

if a warrantless felony arrest was proper when the Fourth

Amendment was adopted. Like Watson, the instant case

involves a warrantless custodial arrest. The Watson analysis,

therefore, should be applied here.

The Watson opinion contains a broad statement

indicating that probable cause would also be sufficient to justify

a warrantless arrest for a misdemeanor: “The cases construing

the Fourth Amendment thus reflect the ancient common-law

rule that a peace officer was permitted to arrest without a

warrant for a misdemeanor or felony committed in his presence

as well as for a felony not committed in his presence if there

was reasonable ground for making the arrest.” Watson, 423

U.S. at 418. But the authorities cited to support this statement

either address only felony arrests” or note the common-law rule

” See Samuel v. Payne, 1 Doug. 359, 99 Eng. Rep. 230

(K.B.1780); Beckwith v. Philby, 6 Barn. & Cress. 635, 638-39, 108

Eng. Rep. 585, 586 (K.B.1827); Kurtz v. Moffitt, 115 U.S. 487, 504

(1885); Rohan v. Sawin, 59 Mass. (59 Cush.) 281, 284 (1850);

Wakely v. Hart, 6 Bin. 316, 318 (Pa.1814); Holley v. Mix, 3 Wend.

350, 350 (N.Y. Sup. Ct.1829); State v. Brown, 5 Del. (5 Harr.) 505,

-40-

limitting arrest authority to breach-of-the-peace mis-

demeanors.”

Instead, the analysis and holding of Watson demonstrate

that an arrest that meets the common law standards satisfies

Fourth Amendment requirements. As the Watson Court stated,

a “balance [was] struck by the common law in generally

authorizing felony arrests on probable cause, but without a

warrant.” Watson, 423 U.S. at 421. The common law struck a

different balance depending on the nature of the offense. The

arrest in Watson satisfied the common law rules. The arrest in

this case does not.

os The Decision Below Abrogates the

Automobile Exception by Permitting

Warrantless Vehicular Searches Without

Probable Cause that a Vehicle Contains

Contraband

Although the Fifth Circuit’s decision purports to place

importance on probable cause, the ironic effect of the holding

507 (Ct. Gen. Sess. 1853); Johnson v. State, 30 Ga. 426, 426, 429-30

(1860); Wade v. Chaffee, 8 R.1. 224, 225 (1865); Reuck v. McGregor,

32 N.J.L. 70, 74 (Sup. Ct. 1866); Cf Baltimore & O. R. Co. v. Cain,

81 Md. 87, 100, 102, 31 A. 801, 803, 804 (1895) (stating that “[i}t is

settled that an officer has the right to arrest without a warrant for any

crime committed within his view,” but the issue before the court was

whether a non-police officer could arrest without a warrant for

breach of the peace).

»® 10 Halsbury's Laws of England 344-345 (3d ed. 1955); 4

W. Blackstone, Commentaries *292; 1 J. Stephen, A History of the

Criminal Law of England 193 (1883); 2 M. Hale, Pleas of the Crown

*72-74; Wilgus, Arrest Without a Warrant, 22 Mich. L. Rev. 541

(1924).

-41-

is to dispense with probable cause altogether for warrantless

searches of automobiles. If custodial arrests were permitted for

any fine-only traffic offense, then there would no longer be a

probable cause requirement for application of the “automobile

exception.”

Seventy-five years ago, this Court recognized the

“automobile exception” to the warrant requirement, holding

that a warrantless search of a motor vehicle based on probable

cause satisfied the Fourth Amendment’s reasonableness

requirement. See Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132, 153

(1925). “Ifa car is readily mobile and probable cause exists to

believe it contains contraband, the Fourth Amendment thus

permits police to search the vehicle without more.”

Pennsylvania v. Labron, 518 U.S. 938, 940 (1996) (per curiam)

(citing California v. Carney, 471 U.S. 386, 393 (1985)).

If the decision below is affirmed, police will not only be

permitted to search vehicles “without more,” they will be

allowed to search vehicles with even less. “[W]hen a

policeman has made a lawful custodial arrest of the occupant of

an automobile, he may, as a contemporaneous incident of that

arrest, search the passenger compartment of that automobile.”

New York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454, 460 (1981). If custodial

arrests are allowed for all minor traffic offenses, the automobile

exception’s probable cause requirement will have been

effectively jettisoned.

This is true, of course, whenever police conduct a

warrantless arrest: they are then permitted to conduct a

warrantless search incident to the arrest. The probable cause

that justifies the arrest essentially transfers to support the

warrantless search when there may have been no probable

cause to justify the search alone. This is palatable when there

is probable cause that a serious crime has been committed, but

-42-

much less so when the offense for which the arrest is made is

merely a minor traffic offense. The fact that a citizen happens

to violate a traffic law is no indication of any other criminal

conduct. This Court has observed that “the Carroll doctrine

does not declare a field day for the police in searching

automobiles.” Almeida-Sanchez v. United States, 413 U.S. 266,

269 (1973). If the decision below is left intact, the field day

will have been declared.

D. The Court of Appeals’ Ruling Undermines

this Court’s Decision in Knowles v. lowa

Finally, the decision below undermines this Court’s

recent decision in Knowles v. Iowa, 525 U.S. 113 (1998).

Knowles held that a police officer cannot search a car following

a traffic stop when the officer issues a traffic citation and does

not place the driver under custodial arrest. Knowles, 525 U.S.

at 114. The decision below undermines Knowles in two

respects.

First, the Fifth Circuit nullifies any protection Knowles

provides against full searches incident to arrest. Any officer

wishing to avoid the holding of Knowles need only place the

driver under custodial arrest for the traffic violation, and

thereafter search the vehicle and driver as a search incident to

arrest. See United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S. 218 (1973). If

the decision below is allowed to stand, Knowles will cease to

provide any protection to the average citizen. Indeed, a zealous

officer will have an incentive to make custodial arrests in order

to expand the scope of permissible searches.

Second, unless the decision below is reversed, Knowles

will be meaningless when read against this Court’s earlier

decisions addressing searches incident to arrest. This Court has

held that when a police officer has probable cause to believe an

-43-

offense has occurred for which an arrest may be made, the

search incident to the arrest can be conducted either before or

after the actual arrest. See, e.g., Rawlings v. Kentucky, 448 U.S.

98, 110-11 (1980); Peters v. New York, 392 U.S. 40, 40-43

(1968). Thus, unless limitations are placed on when custodial

arrests may be used for traffic offenses, avoiding the holding of

Knowles becomes a matter of timing: a police officer may

simply search the vehicle first, and if contraband is found,

declare that the driver has been arrested for the traffic violation,

thereby justifying the search after-the-fact. The officer also

then avoids the trouble of actually making the custodial arrest

unnecessarily but accomplishes the desired search. As

Professor LaFave has explained, “if Rawlings is not to undo

Knowles, it will be necessary for the Court to find some way to

avoid its use in the manner just suggested.” 3 Wayne R.

LaFave, Search and Seizure § 5.2, at 16 (3d ed. 2000 Supp.).”°

Prohibiting the use of custodial arrests for fine-only traffic

offenses absent extraordinary circumstances would solve this

dilemma.

** Because of this, the systemic disincentives to making

custodial arrests, raised by the respondent in Ricci as a reason for not

placing limits on the use of custodial arrests for minor offenses, will

not deter a police officer who wishes to conduct a thorough search

of a vehicle or person. See Respondent's Brief at 15, Ricci v. Village

of Arlington Heights, No. 97-501, 1998 WL 134006. Significantly,

the respondent in Ricci essentially conceded that it would be proper

to require citations rather than custodial arrests for traffic offenses.

Id. at 16.

° See also Wesley M. Oliver, With an Evil Eye and an

Unequal Hand: Pretextual Stops and Doctrinal Remedies to Racial

Profiling, 74 Tulane L. Rev. 1409, 1453 (2000) (“The unanimous

decision in Knowles simply would make no sense if probable cause

to believe an offender had committed a traffic offense alone justified

taking him into custody.”).

-44-

—. “iil i i

A tt A ts

IV. This Case Lends Itself to Articulating More Clearly

the Permissible Boundaries of When a Custodial

Arrest May Be Used for Fine-Only Traffic Offenses

It would not be necessary to announce a general rule in

this case in order to determine that the court below erred. The

specific circumstances of this case make clear that the custodial

arrest of Gail Atwater for violating the seat belt law was

unreasonable under the Fourth Amendment. The arrest

furthered no legitimate law enforcement interests. It would not

be inappropriate to leave to the lower courts the task of

determining if and when custodial arrests for other minor traffic

offenses, under different circumstances, comply with the Fourth

Amendment. See, e.g., Wilson v. Arkansas, 514 U.S. 927, 936

(1995) (“[W]e leave to the lower courts the task of determining

the circumstances under which an unannounced entry is

reasonable under the Fourth Amendment.”). Indeed, this Court

often has eschewed bright-line rules in Fourth Amendment

settings. See, e.g., Ohio v. Robinette, 519 U.S. 33, 39 (1996).

Nevertheless, this Court has not hesitated to provide

guidance to police officers and the public when appropriate. As

the Court has explained in setting forth a general rule, “Our task

in this case is to articulate more clearly the boundaries of what

is permissible under the Fourth Amendment.” County of

Riverside v. McLaughlin, 500 U.S. 44, 56 (1991); see also

Knowles v. Iowa, 525 U.S. 113, 118-19 (1998). This is a case

that lends itself to establishing those boundaries.

Both the extreme intrusion of custodial arrests on law-

abiding Americans, and the literally millions of traffic stops

that occur every year, make it desirable to articulate the limits

on when custodial arrests may be used for traffic offenses.

While in some instances, a wide array of approaches in

different regions makes sense, that is not true here. For

-45-

—

uniformity, to avoid arbitrary exercises of discretion, and to

avoid the likelihood of future Fourth Amendment violations,

Petitioners suggest the following rule:

The Fourth Amendment prohibits custodial arrests for

fine-only traffic offenses except when the arrest is

necessary for enforcement of the traffic laws or when

the offense would otherwise continue and pose a

danger to others on the road.

Issuing traffic citations is already the most common

method for enforcing fine-only traffic offenses. Custodial

arrests, on the other hand, are rare. See, e.g., Berkemer v.

McCarty, 468 U.S. 420, 434 (1984). The proposed rule

preserves the common-law distinction between lesser and more

serious offenses, but does so without reliance on terms such as

“misdemeanor,” “felony,” or “breach of the peace,” which have

definitions that vary widely in different jurisdictions and differ

substantially from their common-law meanings. See United

States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411, 440 n.9 (1976) (Marshall, J.,

dissenting) (listing federal statutes making offenses felonies

that were misdemeanors at common law).

Furthermore, the proposed rule curbs unfettered

discretion in conducting searches and seizures of the over 185

million Americans drivers for fine-only offenses that are only

marginally criminal. Such limitations on police discretion are

good for both the police and the public. See Amicus Curiae

Brief of the Institute on Criminal Justice at the University of

Minnesota Law School et ai. The proposed rule limits

discretion, however, without thwarting legitimate law

enforcement objectives. Arrests would still be permitted for

drunk driving and other offenses that will continue to pose a

danger to others if the driver is not detained. Similarly, it

would permit custodial arrests in cases when the officer cannot

-46-

ascertain the driver’s identity, thus ensuring effective

enforcement of traffic offenses.

Finally, the proposed rule leaves police with ample

room to detect other more serious crimes.”* Police will still be

able to do any of following during a traffic stop:

° With probable cause to believe that a motor vehicle

contains contraband, police may stop and search a

vehicle without first obtaining a warrant as thoroughly

as a magistrate could authorize. See United States v.

Ross, 456 U.S. 798, 823 (1982).

° Police may order a driver to exit the vehicle and

conduct a protective “frisk” of the driver’s person for

weapons. See Pennsylvania v. Mimms, 434 U.S. 106

(1977).

° Police also may order any passengers to exit the

vehicle, and frisk them as well. See Maryland v.

Wilson, 519 U.S. 408, 415 (1997).

° Police may demand to inspect the VIN, and remove any

objects obscuring the view of it. See New York v.

Class, 475 U.S. 106, 115, 118-19 (1986).

26 The potential that other crimes might not be discovered if

police are not permitted to arrest for any traffic offense is not a

legitimate part of the Fourth Amendment inquiry. To consider the

government’s interest in enforcing crimes other than the one for

which the arrest was made is to allow the effect of the exclusionary

rule — which is a Fourth Amendment remedy — to impact the

substance of the Fourth Amendment. Nevertheless, this concern may

have motivated the Fifth Circuit in reaching its result.

-47-

° To insure their safety, police may conduct a limited

search of the vehicle’s interior, including the passenger

compartment and any closed containers in the area, to

ensure no weapons are present, if there are reasonable

grounds to believe that their safety is threatened. See

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 1049-51 (1983).

° Police may seize, without a warrant, any contraband

they encounter in “plain view” while conducting the

above searches, and arrest the driver or passengers

based on the probable cause developed from that

discovery. See Texas v. Brown, 460 U.S. 730 (1983).

° Police may question a driver and passengers regarding

unrelated criminal activity without first warning them

of their mght to remain silent. See Berkemer v.

McCarty, 468 U.S. 420, 439-40 (1984).

° Police may seek and obtain a driver’s consent to

conduct more expansive searches, and are not required

to tell the driver that he or she need not consent. See

Ohio v. Robinnett, 519 U.S. 33, 36, 39-40 (1996).

° Police may have a drug-sniffing dog circle the vehicle

to ascertain the presence of drugs. See United States ».

Place, 462 U.S. 696, 707 (1983) (drug sniffing dog

sniffing luggage not a search); but see Edmond v.

Goldsmith, 183 F.3d 659 (7th Cir. 1999), cert. granted,

No. 99-1030 (Feb. 22, 2000).

In short, police officers making traffic stops have at their

disposal abundant powers to detect crimes, other than traffic

violations, that may be occurring.

_

“An individual operating or traveling in an automobile

does not lose all reasonable expectation of privacy simply

because the automobile and its use are subject to government

regulation.” Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 662 (1979).

Having the discretion to take the actions listed above provides

police with ample opportunities to uncover any other criminal

activity. In the case of Gail Atwater, of course, there was no

other criminal activity. Allowing police to retain the broad

discretion to arrest granted them by the Fifth Circuit will not

further detection of other crimes. It will simply, when

exercised, constitute a severe and arbitrary governmental

intrusion on otherwise law-abiding citizens who happen to

violate minor traffic laws.

V. Conclusion

History, balancing the competing interests of the

individual and government, and faithfully following this

Court’s precedents all demonstrate that Gail Atwater’s Fourth

Amendment rights were violated. Petitioners therefore

respectfully pray that the Court reverse the court of appeals’ en

banc decision, and remand this case to the district court for

trial.

-49-

Respectfully submitted,

Robert C. DeCarli *

Debra Irwin

Law Offices of DeCarli & Irwin

12034 Research Blvd., Suite 6

Austin, Texas 78759

(512) 258-9299

Fax: (512) 258-1395

Pamela McGraw

P.O. Box 202165

Austin, Texas 78720

(512) 257-3688

Fax: (512) 331-1560

Michael F. Sturley

727 East Dean Keeton St.

Austin, Texas 78705

(512) 232-1350

Fax: (512) 471-6988

*Counsel of Record

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.