Amicus Curiae Brief — Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Adams

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

-_)

No. 99-1379

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United Soil? ane

CIRCUIT CITY STORES, INC.,

: Petitioner,

Vv.

SAINT CLAIR ADAMS,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

LAWYERS’ COMMITTEE FOR CIVIL RIGHTS UNDER LAW;

NAACP LEGAL DEFENSE AND EDUCATIONAL FUND, INC.;

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF

COLORED PEOPLE; MEXICAN AMERICAN LEGAL DEFENSE

AND EDUCATIONAL FUND; NATIONAL PARTNERSHIP FOR

WOMEN & FAMILIES; NATIONAL WOMEN'S LAW CENTER;

AND NOW LEGAL DEFENSE AND EDUCATION FUND

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

DANIEL F. KOLB, CO-CHAIR PAUL W. MOLLICA

CHESTER T. LESTER, JR., CO-CHAIR Counsel of Record

JOHN PAYTON, CO-CHAIR MEITES, MULDER, BURGER

NORMAN REDLICH, TRUSTEE & MOLLICA

BARBARA R. ARNWINE 208 South LaSalle Street

THOMAS J. HENDERSON Suite 1410

RICHARD T. SEYMOUR Chicago, Illinois 60604

TERESA A. FERRANTE (312) 263-0272

LAWYERS’ COMMITTEE FOR

CIVIL RIGHTS UNDER LAW

1401 New York Avenue, N.W.

Suite 400

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 662-8600

[Additional counsel listed on inside front cover]

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

ELAINE R. JONES

DIRECTOR-COUNSEL

THEODORE M. SHAW

NORMAN J. CHACHKIN

CHARLES STEPHEN RALSTON

NAACP LEGAL DEFENSE AND

EDUCATIONAL FUND, INC.

99 Hudson Street, 16th Floor

New York, New York 10013

(212) 965-2200

DENNIS C. HAYES

GENERAL COUNSEL

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR

THE ADVANCEMENT OF

COLORED PEOPLE

4805 Mt. Hope Drive

Fifth Floor

Baltimore, Maryland 21215

(410) 486-9191

ANTONIA HERNANDEZ, PRESIDENT

VIBIANA ANDRADE,

VICE PRESIDENT, LEGAL PROGRAMS

MALDEF

634 South Spring Street

Eleventh Floer

Los Angeles, California 90014

(213) 629-2516

JUDITH L. LICHTMAN

DONNA R. LENHOFF

NATIONAL PARTNERSHIP

FOR WOMEN & FAMILIES

1875 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Suite 710

Washington, D.C. 20009

MARCIA D. GREENBERGER

JUDITH C. APPELBAUM

NATIONAL WOMEN’S

LAW CENTER

11 Dupont Circle, N.W.

Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 588-5180

JULIE GOLDSCHEID

YOLANDA S. WU

DINA BAKST

NOW LEGAL DEFENSE AND

EDUCATION FUND

99 Hudson Street, 12th Floor

New York, New York 10013

(212) 925-6635

Attorneys for Amici

September 19, 2000

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Section 1 of the Federal Arbitration Act, 9

U.S.C. § 1, which excludes “contracts of employment of

seamen, railroad employees, or any other class of workers

engaged in foreign or interstate commerce,” bars employers

from enforcing imposed arbitration schemes under the Act?

2. Whether the Act permits enforcement, under the pretext

of “arbitration,” of unregulated dispute-resolution policies that

prevent employees from effectively vindicating their rights,

including imposition of biased arbitrators, shortening of the

limitations period, unfair procedures, excessive forum fees and

arbitrators’ fees, and revocation or limitation of statutory

remedies?

RE AE ARE |

The Court’s Interpretation of Section | of the

FAA Will Affect All Employee-Protective

RED ccccénedecccoccscecsesecceccscs

A. Since 1925, National Regulation of

Employment Has Become

GED cccccdecccccosscccces

B In Non-Union Settings, Statutory

Claims Are Increasingly Subjected to

Unregulated Arbitration Schemes ......

Arbitration Programs Are Often Crafted to

Relieve Employers of Legal Burdens, Rather

Than to Provide Employees a Fair

Opportunity to Vindicate Substantive Rights ....

A. Employers Often Impose Arbitration

B. Excessive Fees Deter Claims ..........

C. Employers Have Revoked Legal

D. Arbitration Often Fails to Provide Fair

E. Judicial Review of Arbitration Awards

ne eeeneeneeneneneeeeeeee

12

-li-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

1. Cases

Adair v. United States,

ES Ec nasesaenessceseeueseeees 6

Aetna Ins. Co. v. Kennedy,

et a ochcdeceedenesnseesteese 18

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody,

En océncndcedénsecdscceses 22

Alcaraz v. Avnet, Inc.,

933 F. Supp. 1025 (D. N.M. 1996) ............ 22

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co.,

SP i ncécdsncecosccesecess 3, 8,14

Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. The Wilderness Society,

fl Se re 22

Armendariz v. Foundation Health Psychcare Serv., Inc.,

No. $075942, 2000 WL 1201652 (Cal. Aug. 24,

BED. cacccndccccossenesdescesecaces 5, 10, 20

Bailey v. Federal Nat'l Mortgage Assoc.,

209 F.3d 740 (D.C. Cir. 2000) ............055. 17

Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight Sys., Inc.,

es Ce cetesccccoccesesccccccs 28

Bernhardt v. Polygraphic Co. of Am.,

Be SE a cecccccccesecoscoseoees 27

Bishop v. Smith Barney, Inc.,

No. 97 CIV. 4807(RWS), 1998 WL 50210

Ss HU Gb SEED ocaccdcccoscccccceces 17

Brown v. ITT Consumer Financial Corp.,

211 F.3d 1217 (11th Cir. 2000) ............... 29

California Federal S. & L. Assn. v. Guerra, |

GI ae SPE oc cc bcccccecevccccccosces 10

Campbell v. Cantor Fitzgerald & Co.,

21 F. Supp. 2d 341 (S.D. N.Y. 1998), aff'd,

205 F.3d 1321 (2d Cir. 1999). ...... cee ecees 19

Chisolm v. Kidder, Peabody Asset Mgt., Inc.,

966 F. Supp. 218 (S.D. N.Y. 1997) ............ 29

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC,

ST oc be nkeedescantetuseses 22

Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. EEOC,

75 F. Supp. 2d 491 (E.D. Va. 1999) ............ 3

Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Shelton,

No. 1:99-cv-561, 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

7059 (W.D. Mich. May 16, 2000) ........... 3, 24

Cole v. Burns Int'l Security Services,

105 F.3d 1465 (D.C. Cir. 1997) ...... 19, 20, 21, 30

Davis v. LPK Corp.,

76 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 954 (N.D.

Pt i rttdccneddsedabanesndacidestses 20

DeGaetano v. Smith Barney, Inc.,

983 F. Supp. 459 (S.D. N.Y. 1997) ......... 22, 30

Derrickson v. Circuit City Stores, Inc.,

81 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 1533 (D. Md.

1999), aff'd sub nom. Johnson v. Circuit City

Stores, Inc., 203 F.3d 821 (4th Cir.), cert.

denied,120 S. Ct. 2744 (2000) ..............45. 4

Desiderio v. Nat'l Assoc. of Securities Dealers,

191 F.3d 198 (2d Cir. 1999), petition for cert.

filed, 68 U.S.L.W. 3497 (Jan. 31, 2000) (No.

PP cnesebscbenscedssadecéconesees 12, 21

DiRussa v. Dean Witter Reynolds Inc.,

121 F.3d 818 (2d Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 522

Ge DEED gavedcduceneceeccecceesees 29

Doctor’s Associates, Inc. v. Casarotto,

Se Eo bdeecceusscscsecéoncees 10

-iv-

Domino Sugar Corp. v. Sugar Workers Local Union 392,

10 F.3d 1064 (4th Cir. 1993) ... 2... . 0. cece eee 7

Duffield v. Robertson Stephens & Co.,

144 F.3d 1182 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

S2S US. S42 (IGSE) onc cccccccccccees 12, 14, 19

EEOC v. Farmer Bros. Co.,

31 F.3d 891 (9th Cir. 1994) ........ 0.0.0.0 ee 23

EEOC v. Frank's Nursery & Crafts, Inc.,

177 F.3d 448 (6th Cir. 1999) .......... 0c eens 24

EEOC v. Kidder, Peabody & Co., Inc.,

156 F.3d 298 (2d Cir. 1998)... . 22... cece eee 24

EEOC v. Waffle House, Inc.,

193 F.3d 805 (4th Cir. 1999), petition for

cert. filed, 68 U.S.L.W. 3726 (May 15, 2000)

RD FEM o ca ceccccaccosccences sane 9,24

First Options of Chicago v. Kaplan,

i RO TTT TTT TTT Te 29

Floss v. Ryan's Family Steak Houses, Inc.,

211 F.3d 306 (6th Cir. 2000) .............. 11, 25

FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp.,

BEDE. Go, Te Gee cc ccccccccesccccccccess 5

Fuller v. Pep Boys — Manny, Moe & Jack of Delaware, Inc.,

88 F. Supp. 2d 1158 (D. Colo. 2000)........... 20

Gannon v. Circuit City Stores Inc.,

No. 4:00CV330 JCH, , 2000 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 12125 (E.D. Mo. July 10,2000) ......... 4

General Tel. Co. of the Northwest, Inc. v. EEOC,

GE Bc edcccecccsccoteccececs 24

Gibson v. Neighborhood Health Clinics, Inc.,

121 F.3d 1126 (7th Cir. 1997) ................ 18

Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp.,

500 U.S. 20 (1991) 2... ccc cee eens passim

i A A li —-

- — ——eor

-V-

Glennon v. Dean Witter Reynoids, Inc.,

83 F.3d 132 (6th Cir. 1996) ...............4.. 29

Great Western Mortgage Corp. v. Peacock,

110 F.3d 222 (3d Cir. 1997) ............... 18, 23

Green v. Ameritech Corp.,

200 F.3d 967 (6th Cir. 2000) ................. 27

Green Tree Financial Corp.-Alabama v. Randolph,

178 F.3d 1149 (11th Cir. 1999), cert.

granted,120 S. Ct. 1552 (2000) ............... 21

Halligan v. Piper Jaffrey Inc.,

148 F.3d 197 (2d Cir. 1997) ............... 18, 30

Hammer v. Dagenhart,

ee Es Succeesceescosesoceceees 6

Hooters of America, Inc. v. Phillips,

173 F.3d 933 (4th Cir. 1999) ........... 15, 25, 26

Hooters of America, Inc. v. Phillips,

39 F. Supp. 2d 582 (D. S.C. 1998), aff'd,

173 F.3d 933 (4th Cir. 1999) ........ 15, 17, 18, 22

Howard v. Illinois Central R. Co.,

Be accu concedddestecceecc ces 6

Int'l Union of Elect., Radio & Machine Workers v. Ingram

Mfg. Co., 715 F.2d 886 (Sth Cir. 1983),

cert. denied, 466 U.S. 928 (1984) .............. 7

Johnson v. Circuit City Stores, Inc.,

148 F.3d 373 (4th Cir. 1998) ............... 3, 25

Jones v. Fujitsu Network Communications, Inc.,

81 F. Supp. 2d 688 (N.D. Tex. 1999) ....... 11, 20

Kiernan v. Piper Jaffray Cos., Inc.,

137 F.3d 588 (8th Cir. 1998) ................. 29

Kinnebrew v. Gulf Insurance Co.,

67 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 189 (N.D.

Wes RED KWoebereceesoecaedccesaceesonces 23

-vi-

KMC Co. v. Irving Trust Co.,

757 F.2d 752 (6th Cir. 1985) ............0068- 18

Koveleskie v. SBC Capital Markets, Inc.;

167 F.3d 361 (7th Cir. 1998) .............. i1, 21

Kummetz v. Tech Mold, Inc.,

152 F.3d 1153 (9th Cir. 1998) ............005. 17

Leonard v. Clear Channel Communications I,

No. 972320-D/A, 1997 WL 581439

(W.D. Tenn. July 23, 1997) .........0-e ee eeee 17

McClendon v. Sherwin Williams, Inc.,

70 F. Supp. 2d 940 (E.D. Ark. 1999) ........... 16

McDonald v. City of West Branch,

GIG TE, BOC ¢ cc ccccccccceccccccscess 28

McWilliams v. Logicon, Inc.,

No. CIV. A. 95-2500-GTV, 1997 WL 383150

(D. Kan. June 4, 1997), aff'd, 143 F.3d 573

CORE GED cnc ccccendecevceccsesecesess 20

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc. v. Nixon,

210 F.3d 814 (8th Cir. 2000), petition for cert.

filed, Aug 25, 2000 (No. 00-317) ..........-. 11,24

Miller v. Public Storage Management, Inc.,

SS Fea er ee SUSE ccccccicdecevcess 10

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc.,

GID as GOO c eee cccdcectcvnssccccees 13

Montes v. Shearson Lehman Brothers, Inc.,

128 F.3d 1456 (11th Cir. 1997) .............. 29

Morrison v. Circuit City Stores, Inc.,

70 F. Supp. 2d 815 (S.D. Ohio 1999) ........... 3

Nelson v. Cyprus Bagdad Copper Corp.,

119 F.3d 756 (9th Cir. 1997), cert. denied,

Se es SIU oc Sh crccccccenccacecces 18

New York Central R. Co. v. Winfield,

I NS os cicuntdodadccccaeeans 6

Nicholson v, CPC Int'l,

og fb Te re 8

Occidental Chemical Corp. v. Int’l Chemical Workers Union,

853 F.2d 1310 (6th Cir. 1988) ................. 8

Paladino v. Avnet Computer Technologies, Inc.,

134 F.3d 1054 (11th Cir. 1998) ............ 20, 22

Patterson v. Tenet Healthcare, Inc.,

te Bere 18

Penn v. Ryan's Steakhouses, Inc.,

95 F. Supp.2d 940 (N.D. Ind. 2000) ...... 9, 18, 26

Phelps Dodge Corp. v. NLRB,

Pe Es o6eeyeckseedéentevakeuce 6

Phillips v. Cigna Investments Inc.,

27 F. Supp. 2d 345 (D. Conn. 1998) ........... 17

Posadas de Puerto Rico v. Association de Empleados,

Sie Ce See CHG, TOD oc cc cccccvcccccces 7

Prudential Insurance Company of America v. Lai,

42 F.3d 1299 (9th Cir. 1994), cert. denied,

EE 6s bo wh Whun eed ceases 14, 18

Pryner v. Tractor Supply Co.,

109 F.3d 354 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 522 U.S.

I ee a ee ee aces 19, 23

Rojas v. TK Communications, Inc.,

Oe eee SP, BED ds kn dceccdcccccces 23

Rosenberg v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,

170 F.3d 1 (Ist Cir. 1999) ....... 12, 14, 16, 18, 20

Seus v. John Nuveen & Co.,

146 F.3d 175, 183 (3d Cir. 1998), cert.

denied, $25 U.S. 1139 (1999) ............. 12, 23

Shankle v. B-G Maintenance Mgt. of Colorado, Inc.,

163 F.3d 1230 (10th Cir. 1999) ............... 20

Shaw v. DLJ Pershing,

78 F. Supp.2d 781 (N.D. Ill. 1999) ............ 11

-Viii-

Shearson/American Express Inc. v. McMahon,

Se Eb a iw vendaseesesenne . 16, 28

Sheller by Sheller v. Frank’s Nursery & Crafts, Inc.,

957 F. Supp. 150 (ND. Ill. 1997) .............. )

_ Smith v. Chrysler Financial Corp.,

101 F. Supp. 2d. 534 (E.D. Mich. 2000) ..... 16, 17

Smith v. Evening News Assn.,

ft 8 ee eee 7

Sportelli v. Circuit City Stores, Inc.,

No. CIV. A. 97-5850, 1998 WL 54335 (E.D.

Pt CD ndivadscdusbnbucswekeusiees 3

Steele v. Louisville & N.R. Co.,

7h peuerduduethabnaes 7

Stirlen v. Supercuts, Inc.,

51 Cal. App. 4th 1519, 60 Cal. Rptr. 2d 138

DE ohioenéeasenssesksedeheeeendeees 10, 23

Strawn v. AFC Enterprises, Inc.,

70 F. Supp. 2d 717 (S.D. Tex. 1999) ........... 10

Swenson v. Management Recruiters Int'l, Inc.,

858 F.2d 1304 (8th Cir. 1988) ................. 8

Textile Workers v. Lincoln Mills,

I Aes bacdécescecesaendes< 7,9

United Food and Commercial Workers, Local Union

No. 7R v. Safeway Stores, Inc.,

889 F.2d 940 (10th Cir. 1989) ................ 8

United States v. Darby,

ee ob cd dercduccscacacecends 6

United Steelworkers of Am. v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Co.,

ee PE ind bce neesseuceosccdsnas 27

Utley v. Goldman Sachs & Co.,

883 F.2d 184 (1st Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S.

SPEED kc cedustnadbiceckcchececcacenss 8

=e Ne eer

-ix-

Wetzel v. Lou Ehlers Cadilluc Group Long Term

Disability Ins. Pgm.,

2000 WL 1022713 (9th Cir. July 26, 2000)

DE. dcubudeatindnedepecedeestess 640 22

Williams v. Cigna Financial Advisors Inc.,

197 F.3d 752 (Sth Cir. 1999) .............. 20, 29

Williams v. Imhoff,

203 F.3d 758 (10th Cir. 2000) ................ 11

Wilson v. New,

es eet ced dedatuceeneds 6

Wright v. Circuit City Stores, Inc.,

82 F. Supp. 2d 1279 (N.D. Ala. 2000) ........... 4

Wright v. Universal Maritime Service Corp.,

4 ee 3, 7, 12, 19

Young v. Prudential Ins. Co. of America,

297 N.J. Super. 605, 688 A.2d 1069

(App.Div.), cert. denied, 149 N.J. 408, 694

666 4.40-400400000600060460%% 10

2. Statutes, Rules and Legislative Materials

I a dS 19

ELI Oe IIPS 3,4, 11

Pe re 3

cs duadedaddanawaves 17

| SB ie Reem aan pen ee 28

Age Discrimination in Employment Act,

29 U.S.C. §§ 621 et seg. ... 8, 11, 12,22, 24, 27, 28

Age Discrimination in Employment Act,

i es +p ccebenenséccseceees 17

Americans With Disabilities Act,

42 U.S.C. §§ 12101 et seg............ 8, 11, 12,18

-X-

Americans With Disabilities Act,

ER BERS cc ccccccvesccesssccess 12, 19

Biack Lung Benefits Act,

ee Be NEE, ov cen cccccvccccdovceye 8

California Fair Employment and Housing Act,

CAL. GOv’T CODE §§ 12900 ef seg. ........ 5, 9, 23

Civil Rights Act of 1964,

GRUB. CRIS ccccccccccccccccesscees 10

Civil Rights Act of 1991, § 118

Pub. L. No. 102-166, 105 Stat. 1071, 1081

RD kobe vecivnnciveccieneisocecesees 11,18

Employee Retirement Income Security Act,

SUB, Be ee GEE cc cc cv ccsecsnns 8, 11,22

Employers’ Liability Act ...........6-eeeeeeeee eee 6

Equal Credit Opportunity Act,

BS ULB. Be BERS EGOS. 2 ccc ccccsccceccvcess 21

Equal Pay Act of 1963,

SPU BE. BAe cc cccccccccccscccscsecess 11

Fair Labor Standards Act,

PUBL. TAG GEE, 0c cc cccscccccscccss 7,11

Fair Labor Standards Act,

BUI BAD occ cccccccsccccsscccses 7, 22

Family and Medical Leave Act,

29 U.S.C. §§ 2601 ef seg. ......- cece eeeeee 8, 11

Federal Arbitration Act,

DULBL. GE RIG 6 occ ccccccccccsccss passim

Labor Management Relations Act,

PO UBL. Be O68 GEE oo ccc cccccccvccessess 7

Labor Management Relations Act,

| PPPPTTTTTTI TTT Tee 7

Labor Management Relations Act,

DUBE. OG ccccccccccecctccseveccsseces 7

-Xxi-

Norris-LaGuardia Act,

BP es Be OOO OOD ov cccccccccccccscccves 7

Railway Labor Act,

Gy ee OF I os vo scevecccccouseccecse 7

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

42 USS.C. §§ 2000 ef seg. ............... passim

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

GB UBL, GB ABSROGED occ ccccccccccccvccess 11

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e-5(b) to -5(f) .. 2... 2. eee 10

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

42 UBL. § FBGGOGIT) 2. nc ccccccccvcccccs 11

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

42 US.C. § 2000e-5(f)(5) ................08. 15

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

42 US.C. § 2000e-S(aM1) .. ccc cccccccccccs 3

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

42 US.C. § 20000-S(k) ......... ccc cece cece 22

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

TD is BIS occ cccccccesccccccesecs 11

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

Sy ee IT 60 6 ekebdecwcccccccessces 10

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

Se ey EEN bon ecccccccecccvetseuce 11

Securities Exchange Act of 1934,

PUNE 06s GKbRedhsncavenescuseoces 16

Truth in Lending Act,

15 U.S.C. §§ 1601 ef seg... .......... cece eee 21

Virginia Uniform Arbitration Act,

VA. CODE ANN. §§ 8.01-581.01 et seg. .......... 4

-xii-

3. Rules

Fed. R. Civ. P. 30(aX(2)(A) ...... ec cece eee ce eee eee 26

i ccc. cece eis eeeeceesoceecees 27

ie cc ccteeeusneeesoesescecess 19

Supreme Court Rule 37.3(a) .... 2.6.6.0 cece ec eeeeeees l

4. Legislative Materials

H.R. Rep. No. 102-40, Part I, 102d Cong. ist Sess.,

reprinted in 1991 U.S.C.C.AN. 549 ........... 19

5. Treatises, Law Reviews and Other Sources

- Reginald Alleyne, Statutory Discrimination Claims:

Rights “Waived” and Lost in the Arbitration

Forum,

13 Hofstra Lab. L. J. 381 (1996) ........... 14, 19

Ashlea Ebeling, Better Safe Than Sorry,

DL DE, DUR EEE so ccceccccccececccess 13

Harry T. Edwards, Where Are We Heading with

Mandatory Arbitration of Statutory Claims

in Employment,

16 Ga. St. U.L.Rev. 293 (1999) ......... 14, 19, 28

ELKOURI & ELKOURI, HOW ARBITRATION WORKS,

DCE CEE occccsccevescescccccces 12

EEOC NOTICE, No. 915.002, POLICY STATEMENT ON

MANDATORY BINDING ARBITRATION OF

EMPLOYMENT DISCRIMINATION DISPUTES AS A

ener OF EMPLOYMENT saad 10, 1997)

Jay E. Gan 26 West Legal Forme: Alternative Dispute

Resolution, App. 11C at 770 (1995) ........... 26

o —~ _-, _ = ee

-Xiii-

Joseph R. Grodin, Arbitration of Employment Discrimination

Claims: Doctrine and Policy in the Wake of Gilmer,

14 Hofstra Lab. L. J. 1 (1996) ............. 14, 18

Stephen L. Hayford & Michael J. Evers, The Interaction

Between the Employment-at-Will Doctrine and

Employer-Employee Agreements to Arbitrate

Statutory Fair Employment Practices Claims:

Difficult Choices for At-Will Employers,

Ta WAS. Le. Rav. 445 (1GBS) 2c cccccccccccccess 25

Leslie Kaufman and Anne Underwood, Sign or Hit the

Street, Newsweek, June 30, 1997, at 48 ......... 9

Adriaan Lanni, Note, Protecting Public Rights in Private

Arbitration, 107 Yale L. J. 1157 (1998) ........ 27

Eduard A. Lopez, Mandatory Arbitration of Employment

Discrimination Claims: Some Alternative Grounds

for Lai, Duffield and Rosenberg,

4 Employee Rts. & Employment Pol’y

PNUD Sieccancccceccocscccscccees 14, 18

Geraldine Szott Moohr, Arbitration and the Goals of

Employment Discrimination Law,

56 Wash. & Lee L. Rev. 395 (1999) ........ 14, 27

National Academy of Arbitrators, Statement of the NAA on

Individual Contracts of Employment and Guidelines

on Arbitration of Statutory Claims Under Employer-

Promulgated Systems, May 21, 1997,

National Academy of Arbitrators, Code of Professional

Responsibility for Arbitrators of Labor

Management Disputes, Art. Il, §C(1)(c),

reprinted at Jay E. Grenig, 26 West Legal Forms:

Alternative Dispute Resolution, App. 11C at 770

ETP TT TTT OOTP eT eT TTT TIT T 26

-xiv-

National Academy of Arbitrators, A Due Process Protocol

for Mediation and Arbitration of Statutory

Disputes Arising out of the Employment

Relationship, May 9, 1995

(http:// www.naarb.org/protocol.html).......... 25

George Nicolau, Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp.:

Its Ramifications and Implications for Employees,

Employers and Practitioners,

1 U. Pa. J. of Lab. and Employ. Law 175 (1998) . 13

Jenny Strasburg, Proceeding Under Fire, S. F. EXAMINER,

April 30, 2000 at Bl... 0... cece e eee eee eee 9

Katherine Van Wezel Stone, Mandatory Arbitration of

Individual Employment Rights: The Yellow Dog

Contracts for the 1990s, 73 Denv. U. L. Rev. 1017

CRED oncccescecvecncetaeceseceoses 14, 27, 28

Michael A. Verespej, Sidestepping Court Costs,

Industry Week, Feb. 2, 1998, at68 ............. 9

Stephen J. Ware, Default Rules from Mandatory Rules:

Privatizing Law Through Arbitration,

83 Minn. L. Rev. 703 (1999) ........... 14, 28, 29

i ee

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

The Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law is a

tax-exempt, nonprofit civil rights legal organization founded in

1963 by the leaders of the American bar at the request of

President Kennedy, to provide legal representation to the

victims of civil rights violations.

The National Association for the Advancement of Colored

People (NAACP), established in 1909, is the nation’s oldest

civil nghts organization. |

The NAACP Legal Defense & Educational Fund, Inc. (the

“Fund”) is a non-profit corporation that was established for the

purpose of assisting African Americans in securing their

constitutional and civil rights.

The Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational

Fund (MALDEF) is a national not-for-profit organization that

protects and promotes the civil rights of more than 29 million

Latinos living in the United States.

The National Partnership for Women & Families, a

nonprofit, national advocacy organization founded in 1971 as

the Women’s Legal Defense Fund, promotes equal opportunity

for women.

The National Women’s Law Center (NWLC) is anon-profit

legal advocacy organization dedicated to the advancement and

protection of women's rights and the corresponding elimination

of sex discrimination from all facets of American life.

NOW Legal Defense and Education Fund (NOW Legal

Defense) is a leading national non-profit civil rights organiza-

'The position amici take in this brief has not been approved or

financed by petitioner or his counsel. No counsel for any party had any role

in authoring this brief. The written consents of both parties have been filed

with the Clerk of the Court pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3(a).

2.

tion that uses the power of the law to define and defend

women's rights.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The rush by employers over the past decade to impose

unregulated arbitration on their employees warrants close

examination of Congress’s policy choice under §1 of the FAA

to exclude “contracts of employment” from the Act’s scope. In

Part I of this brief, we highlight some of the more oppressive

provisions of Circuit City’s “Dispute Resolution Agreement.”

In Part II, we show the repercussions of this case for all federal

and state employee-protective legislation.

Finally in Part III, we show that if the FAA applies to most

employment disputes, the courts must shoulder the burden to

assure that employees do not forgo substantive rights in

arbitration. To safeguard their rights against employers,

employees will often have to litigate twice: first to invalidate

unfair or oppressive arbitration provisions, and second to reach

the merits of their claims. This regime increases the burden on

civil rights plaintiffs as well as the courts, at odds with Con-

gressional intent that such claims be facilitated. To enforce

arbitration of employment law claims, courts must at a mini-

mum insist upon elements that would preclude the abuses

detailed below. Many current policies, including Circuit

City’s, fall well short of these due process standards.

ARGUMENT

I. Circuit City’s “Dispute Resolution Agreement” Ex-

emplifies the Peril of Unregulated, Imposed Arbitra-

tion in the Workplace

In Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20,

31-33 (1991), arbitration between a sophisticated employee (a

stockbroker) and his employer was enforced because it was

-3-

governed by a U-4 registration, backed by a panoply of

procedural safeguards and regulatory oversight by the SEC. By

contrast, in Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36, 52

(1974), arbitration under a collective bargaining agreement

(“CBA”) did not bar a Title VII judicial forum, because the

plaintiff did not herself consent to waive her right to suit, and

had no control over the arbitration. Circuit City’s unconsented

arbitration policy falls on the Alexander side of the line.’

The Circuit City “Dispute Resolution Agreement” and

“Dispute Resolution Rules and Procedures” (“DRA,” J.A. 19-

39) have often been litigated.’ Some courts have refused to

compel arbitration under the DRA because it caps back pay and

punitive damage awards below federal limits (DRA Rule 32,

J.A. 35-36).* As one judge wrote: “Punitive damages and back

pay are powerful deterrents to employers who might otherwise

*See also Wright v. Universal Maritime Service Corp., 525 U.S. 70,

80 (1998) (“Gardner- -Denver at least stands for the proposition that the right

to a federal judicial forum is of sufficient importance to be protected against

less-than-explicit union waiver in a CBA”)

*See, e.g., Johnson v. Circuit City Stores, Inc., 148 F.3d 373 (4th

Cir. 1998), following remand, 203 F.3d 821 (4th Cir.), cert. denied,120 S.

Ct. 2744 (2000); Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Shelton, No. 1:99-cv-561, 2000

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 7059 (W.D. Mich. May 16, 2000); Morrison v. Circuit

City Stores, Inc., 70 F. Supp. 2d 815 (S.D. Ohio 1999); Sportelli v. Circuit

- City Stores, Inc., No. CTV. A. 97-5850, 1998 WL 54335 (E.D. Pa. Jan 13,

1998). The company has also filed a declaratory judgment action against

the EEOC to establish the legality of the company’ fa peer

program, a complaint ultimately dismissed on

Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. EEOC, 75 F. Supp. 2d 491 (E.D. Va. 1999).

“The DRA awards back pay “only up to one year from the point at

which the Associate knew or should have known of the events giving rise

to the alleged violation of law,” and caps punitive damages at 100% of back

and front pay (if any) or $5000. This provision contradicts Title VII, which

provides two years’ back pay (42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g)(1)), and section

1981, which does not cap punitive damages (42 U.S.C. § 1981a(b)(4)).

4

discriminate on the basis of race. The failure of the Circuit

City arbitration provision to provide those remedies shields

Circuit City from the full force of Section 1981 and prevents

Plaintiff from effectively vindicating her rights.”

Other provisions of the DRA (1) require employees to pay

one-half the cost of arbitration, and allow shifting of all

arbitration fees and costs to losing employees (DRA Rule 30,

J.A. 33-34); (2) revoke presumptive and even mandatory

statutory awards of attorneys’ fees, committing such awards to

broad arbitral discretion (DRA Rule 31, J.A. 34-35); (3) set a

blanket one-year limitations period for all claims, irrespective

of longer statutes of limitations (DRA Rule 6(a); J.A. 23-24);

(4) impose the terms of the DRA only upon employees, leaving

Circuit City’s right to sue its employees in court unimpeded

(DRA Rule 2, J.A. 20-21); (5) reserve the company’s power to

amend the DRA periodically, without requiring the approval

of any public regulatory agency or the employees (DRA Rule

37, J.A. 37-38); and (6) declares—in case any provision be

found unenforceable—a non-acquiescence rule, allowing Cir-

cuit City to enforce it elsewhere (DRA Rule 36, J.A. 37).°

5 Derrickson v. Circuit City Stores, Inc.,81 Fair Emp). Prac. Cas.

(BNA) 1533, 1538 (D. Md. 1999), aff'd sub nom. Johnson v. Circuit City

Stores, Inc., 203 F.3d 821 (4th Cir.), cert. _ ied,120 S. Ct. 2744 (2000);

Gannon v. Circuit City Stores Inc., No. 4:00CV330 JCH, 2000 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 12125 at *9-11 (E.D. Mo. July 10, 2000) (caps on remedies prevent

worker from “effectively vindicating” rights). C/ Wright v. Circuit City

Stores, Inc., 82 F. Supp. 2d 1279, 1287-88 (N.D. Ala. 2000) (striking out

DRA caps on damages).

*Circuit City has left itself an alternative if the Court finds that the

FAA does not apply to contracts of employment. The DRA separately

provides that its terms may be enforced under the Uniform Arbitration Act

of Virginia, VA. CODE ANN. § 8.01-581.01 et seg. (DRA Rule 34, J.A. 36-

37). The Virginia Act, unlike the FAA, applies expressly to employment

cases. Id. But the California Supreme Court held just a month ago that

_-

-5-

All of these provisions redound to Circuit City’s advantage,

and this is no accident because the company set the terms

unilaterally. Respondent had to “consent” to the DRA as a

mandatory condition of applying to work (J.A. 11). Circuit

City’s DRA isa far cry from the intention—announced by the

Court in Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26—that employees under

arbitration policies would not “jsorgo the substantive rights

afforded by” state and federal labor and employment laws.

Il. The Court’s Interpretation of Section 1 of the FAA Will

Affect All Employee-Protective Legislation

To interpret the exclusion in §1 of “contracts of employ-

ment of seamen, railroad employees, or any other class of

workers engaged in foreign or interstate commerce,” the Court

must place the FAA against the backdrop of numerous federal

laws enacted since 1925 protecting workers’ rights. It is

appropriate for the Court to consult such subsequent enact-

ments here, as it did in last Term in FDA v. Brown & William-

son Tobacco Corp., 120 S. Ct. 1291 (2000). There, the Court

relied upon tobacco legislation passed by Congress subsequent

to the Food, Drug, and Cosmetics Act: “At the time a statute

is enacted, it may have a range of plausible meanings. Over

time, however, subsequent acts can shape or focus those

meanings. The ‘classic judicial task of reconciling many laws

enacted over time, and getting them to “make sense” in

combination, necessarily assumes that the implications of a

statute may be altered by the implications of a later statute.’”

Id. at 1306 (citation omitted). As the Court construes the §1

exclusion in the FAA, it must harmonize this section with a

arbitration of claims under the state’s Fair Employment and Housing Act,

CAL. GOV’T CODE § 12900 et seq. (such as this case) are subject to rigorous

due process standards. Armendariz v. Foundation Health Psychcare Serv.,

Inc., No. $075942, 2000 WL 1201652 (Cal. Aug. 24, 2000).

A.

body of national laws regulating employment of persons in

interstate commerce.

A. Since 1925, National Regulation of Employment Has

Become Commonplace

Congress enacted the FAA in 1925 against a legal backdrop

of minimal federal regulation of employment.’ The Court

declared unconstitutional — as exceeding Congress’s com-

merce clause powers — laws banning “yellow dog” contracts

and child labor. See Adair v. United States, 208 U.S. 161, 179

(1908) (mo connection between interstate commerce and

membership in a labor organization), overruled by Phelps

Dodge Corp. v. NLRB, 313 U.S. 177 (1941); Hammer v.

Dagenhart, 247 U.S. 251, 276 (1918) (no regulation of “local

matters” by prohibiting movement in interstate commerce”),

overruled by United States v. Darby, 312 U.S. 100 (1941);

Howard v. Illinois Central R. Co., 207 U.S. 463, 504 (1908)

(striking down Employers’ Liability Act because provisions

applied to all employees of common carriers, even if they did

not work directly in interstate commerce). Obversely, the

Court upheld federal labor laws directly incident to regulating

interstate common carriers, such as railroads.*

By the mid-twentieth century, when Congress reenacted the

FAA (July 30, 1947, ch. 392, § 1, 61 Stat. 669), the federal role

’ Employment was considered primarily a local matter and the

commerce clause was deemed to authorize Congressional action to protect

workers only in the channels of interstate commerce.

"See, e.g., New York Central R. Co. v. Winfield, 244 U.S. 147, 148

(1917) (“{iJt is settled that under the commerce clause of the Constitution

Congress may regulate the obligation of common carriers and the rights of

their employees arising out of injuries sustained by the latter where both are

engaged in interstate commerce”); Wilson v. New, 243 U.S. 332, 349 (1917)

(finding eight-hour-day law for interstate rail workers to fall within

Congress’s power “to deal not only with the carrier, but with its servants”).

xX

in labor relations had transformed dramatically. In the crucible

of the Great Depression and the Second World War, Congress

passed a host of statutes to protect workers’ rights. See, e.g.,

the Norris-LaGuardia Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 101 et seg. (enacted

1932); Labor-Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 141 et

seq. (enacted 1947); Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. §§

201 et seg. (enacted 1938). These acts included a private right

of action.’ In addition, this Court in 1944 implied a cause of

action for the breach of duty of fair representation under the

Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151 et seg. See Steele v.

Louisville & N.R. Co., 323 U.S. 192, 206-07 (1944). See also

Smith v. Evening News Assn., 371 U.S. 195, 199 (1962)

(recognizing employee’s individual right to sue employer along

with union for breach of CBA under § 185 of the LMRA).

Against the backdrop of these new laws, courts were

circumspect about applying the FAA to the workplace. See,

e.g., Textile Workers v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448, 450 (1957)

(applying § 185 of the LMRA to a CBA without mentioning

FAA), and id. at 466 (Frankfurter, J., dissenting) (concluding

that FAA did not apply to labor contracts). Even to-

day—unacknowledged by the petitioners’ brief (at 8, 11, 37-

38)—courts continue to hold that CBAs are excluded from the

FAA.” A contrary decision of this Court would work a major

*See LMRA, 29 U.S.C. §§ 185, 187 (action for breach of CBA or

for unfair labor practices); FLSA, 29 U.S.C. § 216(b) (action for violations

of wage and hour laws).

°The Court noted in Wright v. Universal Maritime Service Corp.,

525 U.S. 70, 78 n.1 (1998), that the Fourth Circuit holds that the FAA does

not apply to labor contracts. At least five federal courts of appeals so hold,

even with contracts outside the transportation industry. See, e.g., Posadas

de Puerto Rico v. Association de Empleados, 873 F.2d 479, 482 (1st Cir.

1989) (hotels); Domino Sugar Corp. v. Sugar Workers Local 392, 10 F.3d

1064, 1067 (4th Cir. 1993) (sugar growers); Jnt’] Union of Electrical, Radio

& Machine Workers v. Ingram Mfg. Co., 715 F.2d 886, 889 (5th Cir. 1983),

-8-

and unknown transformation on this line of cases.

In the half-century since the re-enactment of the FAA, the

federal role in employment matters has continued to widen.

The legislative response to the 1960’s civil rights movement

blossomed into a series of statutes dedicated to the elimination

of employment discrimination. See, e.g., Age Discrimination

in Employment Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 621 et seg.; Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seg.; Ameri-

cans With Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 12101 ef seg.

Employee benefits were also mandated and regulated on a

national level during this period. See, e.g., Employee Retire-

ment Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001 et seg.; Family

and Medical Leave Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 2601 et seg.; Black Lung

Benefits Act, 30 U.S.C. §§ 901 et seg. Each of these statutes

created private rights of action. Before Gilmer, the lower

courts viewed such statutes as the reserve of the judiciary and

refused to compel arbitration of those claims." This view

found support in the Court’s unanimous decision in Alexander

v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 (1974).

B. In Non-Union Settings, Statutory Claims Are In-

creasingly Subjected to Unregulated Arbitration

Schemes

The labor market quickly flooded with arbitration policies

cert. denied, 466 U.S. 928 (1984); Occidental Chemical Corp. v. Int'l

Chemical Workers Union, 8£3 F.2d 1310, 1315 (6th Cir. 1988) (chemical

workers); United Food and Commercial Workers, Local Union No. 7R v.

Safeway Stores, Inc., 889 F.2d 940, 943 (10th Cir. 1989) (supermarkets).

"'See, e.g., Utley v. Goldman Sachs & Co., 883 F.2d 184, 187 (1st

Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1045 (1990); Nicholson v. CPC Int'l, 877

F.2d 221, 227 (3d Cir. 1989); Swenson v. Management Recruiters Int'l,

Inc., 858 F.2d 1304, 1306-07 (8th Cir. 1988).

ee See, a,

-9-

in the wake of Gilmer,”” often appearing as boilerplate in job

applications such as at Circuit City (J.A. 12-17)." These

provisions are especially pernicious in low-wage, entry level

jobs, where the applicant or employee has no bargaining power

and lacks the legal sophistication even to know what to bargain

about.'* Arbitration has long been used at union shops as a

substitute for strikes, (Textile Workers, 353 U.S. at 455), but

unions, unlike individuals, know the dangers to avoid.

Since Gilmer, federal courts have become the beachhead of

employers’ nationwide campaign to privatize the resolution of

employment disputes. In this case, plaintiff sued in state court

under California’s Fair Employment and Housing Act, CAL.

Gov’T CoDE § 12900 et seg. (West 2000). This is the sort of

legislation Congress meant to foster when it adopted the Civil

"See, e.g., Jenny Strasburg, Proceeding Under Fire, S. F.

EXAMINER, April 30, 2000 at B1 (American Arbitration Association reports

in 1999 having heard 1,950 employment arbitration cases nationally, 950

stemming from imposed arbitration policies and 300 involving Title VII

claims); Michael A. Verespej, Sidestepping Court Costs, INDUSTRY WEEK,

Feb. 2, 1998, at 68 (more than 400 employers, with a combined 4.5 million

employees, have subscribed to some form of alternative dispute resolution

for employment claims, mostly within the past two years); Leslie Kaufman

and Anne Underwood, Sign or Hit the Street, NEWSWEEK, June 30, 1997,

at 48 (noting that employers such as ITT, JCPenney, Brown & Root, and

Renaissance Hotels adopted arbitration systems for employment disputes).

"With no little irony, Circuit City notifies applicants that they

“may wish to seek legal advice before signing ,” (J.A. 14) despite the folly

in telling job aspirants to retain counsel before submitting a job application.

'* See EEOC v. Waffle House, Inc., 193 F.3d 805, 816 (4th Cir.

1999), petition for cert filed, 68 U.S.L.W. 3726 (May 1, 2000) (No. 99-

1823) (King, J., dissenting) (employee who signed arbitration “agreement”

was $5.50-an-hour grill operator); Penn v. Ryan's Family Steakhouses, Inc.,

95 F. Supp. 2d 940, 941 (N.D. Ind. 2000) (waiter at chain restaurant);

Sheller by Sheller v. Frank’s Nursery & Crafts, Inc., 957 F. Supp. 150, 154

(N.D. Ill. 1997) (teenage cashiers). Cf. Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 33 (broker was

sophisticated “businessman”’).

-10-

Rights Act.'* California Federal S. & L. Assn. v. Guerra, 479

U.S. 272, 282-3 (1987) (noting “the importance Congress

attached to state antidiscrimination laws in achieving Title

VII’s goal of equal employment opportunity”). Indeed, under

California law, the DRA was likely unenforceable because of

its limits on remedies and discovery. Armendariz v. Founda-

tion Health Psychcare Serv., Inc., No. $075942, 2000 WL

1201652 (Cal. Aug. 24, 2000) (Mosk, J.). Circuit City re-

sponded with a federal-court action to enforce the DRA.

Despite Congress’s express solicitude toward state civil

rights enforcement, employers now use imposed arbitration

policies as a shield against those very state laws, as well as

other state employee welfare statutes.'° The FAA has been

held to preempt all contrary state laws regarding arbitration, so

all state employee-protective statutes (even those that specifi-

cally preclude arbitration of employees’ claims)'’ must bend to

federal supremacy. See, e.g., Doctor’s Associates, Inc. v.

'SSee 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(b) to -5(f) (EEOC cooperation with

State and local authorities); 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-7 (“[nJothing in this

subchapter shall be deemed to exempt or relieve any person from any

liability, duty, penalty, or punishment provided by any present or future law

of any State or political subdivision of a State . . .”); 42 U.S.C. § 2000h-4

(disclaiming Congressional intent “to occupy the field in which any such

title operates to the exclusion of State laws on the same subject matter”).

"See, e.g., Miller v. Public Storage Management, Inc., 121 F.2d

215,219 (Sth Cir. 1997) (anti-retaliation claim); Strawn v. AFC Enterprises,

Inc.,70F. Supp. 24717, 727-28 (S.D. Tex. 1999) (workers’ compensation);

Young v. Prudential Ins. Co. of America, 297 N.J. Super. 605, 622, 688

A.2d 1069, 1079 (App.Div.) (whistleblower statute), cert. denied, 149 N.J.

408, 694 A.2d 193 (1997); Stirlen v. Supercuts, Inc., 51 Cal. App. 4th

1519, 1525, 60 Cal. Rptr. 2d 138, 140 (1997) (labor code).

"See generally Brief of the States of California, etc. as Amici

Curiae in Support of Respondent (setting forth state laws barring or limiting

arbitration of employment law claims).

— ee

—S—k et Va See

-11-

Casarotto, 517 U.S. 681, 687 (1996). It has even been invoked

to prevent a state civil rights agency from enforcing state law.'*

Under federal law, the effects of imposed arbitration have

been most pronounced in civil rights cases (e.g. Title VII,

ADA, ADEA), but have also touched other statutes.'® Its use

intrudes upon a joint public/private mechanism for enforcing

Title VII rights crafted by Congress. This joint mechanism (1)

authorizes the EEOC to investigate and conciliate claims of

discrimination, to interpret the law (42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e-5(b)

and 2000e-12) and to litigate claims (id. § 2000e-5(f)(1)); (2)

grants the Justice Department enforcement authority (id. §§

2000e-5(f)(1) and 2000e-6); and (3) establishes a private right

of action (id. § 2000e-5(f)(1)). 7°

This deliberate structure does not contemplate imposition

of arbitration. Congress in 1991 authorized arbitration of

discrimination claims “where appropriate” in the Civil Rights

Act of 1991,”' but never endorsed imposed arbitration policies

"In Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc. v. Nixon, 210F.3d

814, 818-19 (8th Cir. 2000), petition for cert. filed, August 25, 2000 (No.

00-317) the employer successfully enjoined, under the FAA, the Missouri

Commission on Human Rights from proceeding with administrative action

under state law on behalf of an employee who signed a Form U-4 to obtain

monetary or equitable relief.

"See, e.g., Floss v. Ryan's Family Steak Houses, Inc., 211 F.3d

306, 313 (6th Cir. 2000) (FLSA); Williams v. Imhoff, 203 F.3d 758, 767

(10th Cir. 2000) (ERISA); Koveleskie v. SBC Capital Markets, Inc., 167

F.3d 361, 369 (7th Cir. 1998) (Equal Pay Act); Jones v. Fujitsu Network

Commun., Inc., 81 F. Supp. 2d 688, 693 (N.D. Tex. 1999) (FMLA); Shaw

v. DLJ Pershing, 78 F. Supp. 781, 782 (N.D. Ill. 1999) (Section 1981).

” EEOC NOTICE, NO. 915.002, Policy Statement on Mandatory

Binding Arbitration of Employment Discrimination Disputes as a Condition

of Employment (July 10, 1997) (http://www.eeoc.gov/docs/mandarb.html).

*'The amendment authorizes, but does not require, alternative

-12-

such as Circuit City’s, particularly unregulated schemes that

seek to shield employers from the remedies enacted by Con-

gress.” While this Court declined conclusively to interpret

these provisions of the Civil Rights Act of 1991 in Wright v.

Universal Maritime Service Corp., 525 U.S. 70, 82 n.2 (1998),

it declined to find an arbitration clause in a CBA, stating that

“absent a clear waiver, it is not ‘appropriate’. . . to find an

agreement to arbitrate.” Congress’s insistence upon “appro-

priate” dispute resolution demands something more than

acquiescence to imposed, unregulated arbitration policies.

Ill. Arbitration Programs Are Often Crafted to Re-

lieve Employers of Legal Burdens, Rather than to

Provide Employees a Fair Opportunity to Vindi-

cate Substantive Rights

The FAA does not define“arbitration,” but a respected

treatise describes it as a “‘simple proceeding voluntarily chosen

by the parties who want a dispute determined by an impartial

judge of their own mutual selection, whose decision, based on

the merits of the case, they agree in advance to accept as final

and binding.” ELKOURI & ELKOURI, HOW ARBITRATION

WORKS, 5TH ED. at 2 (BNA 1996) (citation omitted). The

dispute resolution (including arbitration) under Title VII, ADEA and the

ADA. Pub. L. No. 102-166, § 118, 105 Stat. 1071, 1081 (1991); 42 U.S.C.

§ 12212 (“where appropriate and to the extent authorized by law, .. .

arbitration . . . is encouraged to resolve disputes arising under” these acts).

The Ninth Circuit interprets these provisions affirmatively to

preclude imposed arbitration under Title VII. Duffield v. Robertson

Stephens & Co., 144 F.3d 1182, 1190 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 982

(1998). That court so far stands alone in its view. See, e.g., Desiderio v.

Nat’l Assoc. of Securities Dealers, 191 F.3d 198, 203-06 (2d Cir. 1999),

Rosenberg v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 170 F.3d 1, 11

(1st Cir. 1999); Seus v. John Nuveen & Co., 146 F.3d 175, 183 (3d

Cir.1998), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1139 (1999).

-13-

reality in the workplace is far different. There is no sign that

the FAA was meant to shield anything labeled “arbitration”

regardless of voluntariness, impartiality, and fidelity to the law.

The Gilmer Court expected that arbitration would constitute

only a change in forum, presuming that parties would “‘not

forgo the substantive rights afforded by the [ADEA].’” Gilmer,

500 U.S. at 26 (quoting Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler

Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 628 (1985)). Support-

ers of arbitration thought that fair procedures would attract

employees, leading to speedy resolutions.” The Court left to

future, case-by-case development whether particular arbitral

fora afforded employees a fair opportunity to present claims

and obtain remedies. Jd. at 31-32.

Contrary to these expectations, though, employers like

Circuit City have subverted the concept of arbitration to pursue

an agenda inimical to civil rights. The judicial task of policing

these arbitrations is immense, given the employers’ over-

whelming temptation to draft their policies in a way that gives

them an “edge” and limits their risk even if an employee

manages to win, and in the absence of any administrative body

with authority to curb such abuses. Employers are forcing

workers to bear the costs of arbitration, suffer shortened periods

of limitations, surrender rights to damages and attorneys’ fees,

3 .

: George Nicolau, past president of the National Academy of

Arbitrators, observed that a voluntary arbitration system living up to the

promise of Gilmer would attract employees who desired a prompt,

inexpensive hearing of their claims. George Nicolau, Gilmer vy.

Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp.: Its Ramifications and Implications for

Employees, Employers and Practitioners, 1 U.Pa. J. of Lab. and Employ.

Law 175, 189-90 (1998). See also Ashlea Ebeling, Better Safe Than Sorry,

FORBES, Nov. 30, 1998, at 162 (voluntary program for 65,000 United Parcel

Se aan Sh ngngee, ate

-14-

or proceed under one-sided rules.” Such abuses led the

National Academy of Arbitrators in 1997 to urge abandonment

of imposed pre-dispute arbitration for employment discrimina-

tion claims.*> Without regulatory safeguards, an “agreement”

to arbitrate becorr ss an impermissible prospective waiver of

civil rights. Alexander, 415 U.S. at 51-52 (Title VII rights “not

susceptible of prospective waiver”).

Even if courts oversee arbitrations, employees face an

expensive, uphill battle to enforce their rights. Those wishing

to challenge agreements must hire counsel, spend money, and

endure extensive, extra-merits litigation just to win the nght to

start all over again in court. This runs contrary to the mandate

of Title VII to expedite litigation of claims, and to waive filing

fees, appoint counsel, and pay for attorneys’ fees so that the

Commentators have written widely about the expansion of

arbitration in the civil nights arena. See, e.g., Reginald Alleyne, Statutory

Discrimination Claims: Rights “Waived” and Lost in the Arbitration

Forum, 13 Hofstra Lab. L. J. 381 (1996); Joseph R. Grodin, Arbitration of

Employment Discrimination Claims: Doctrine and Policy in the Wake of

Gilmer, 14 Hofstra Lab. L. J. 1 (1996); Harry T. Edwards, Where Are We

Heading with Mandatory Arbitration of Statutory Claims in Employment,

16 Ga. St. U.L.Rev. 293 (1999); Eduard A. Lopez, Mandatory Arbitration

of Employment Discrimination Claims: Some Alternative Grounds for Lai,

Duffield and Rosenberg, 4 Employee Rts. & Employment Pol’y J. 101

(2000); Geraldine Szott Moohr, Arbitration and the Goals of Employment

Discrimination Law, 56 Wash. & Lee L. Rev. 395 (1999); Katherine Van

Wezel Stone, Mandatory Arbitration of Individual Employment Rights: The

Yellow Dog Contracts for the 1990s, 73 Denv. U. L. Rev. 1017 (1996);

Stephen J. Ware, Default Rules from Mandatory Rules: Privatizing Law

Through Arbitration, 83 Minn. L. Rev. 703, 719-25 (1999).

25 Statement of the NAA on Individual Contracts of Employment and

Guidelines on Arbitration of Statutory Claims Under Employer-

Promulgated Systems, May 21, 1997 (http://www.naarb.org/

guidelines.html) (opposing “mandatory employment arbitration as a

condition of employment when it requires waiver of direct access to either

a judicial or administrative forum for the pursuit of statutory rights”).

-15-

courts will be open to victims who could not otherwise afford

to litigate their claims. See 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(f)(5).

Preemptive litigation may even be instigated by the

employer. The Lawyers’ Committee once represented a female

employee at a Hooters restaurant, Annette Phillips, who was

sued by her employer (the parent company, Hooters of Amer-

ica, or “HOA”) for declaratory judgment to enforce its corpo-

rate arbitration policy against her then-pending sexual harass-

ment claim. HOA filed its complaint on November 4, 1996.

Hooters of America, Inc. v. Phillips, 39 F. Supp. 2d 582, 588

(D.S.C. 1998). HOA moved for a preliminary injunction to

restrain Phillips from filing any state or federal court action

relating to her former employment, and to compel arbitration

of her claims under the FAA, 9 U.S.C. § 4. Id. After briefing

described as “extensive” and “voluminous” by the district

judge (id. at 591), there followed discovery and a three-day

the standards of fairness in arbitration and the operation and

relative fairness of Hooters’ arbitration agreement (id. at 592-

93). Extensive findings in Phillips’ favor were entered on

March 12, 1998. Jd. Over a year later, on April 8, 1999, the

Fourth Circuit affirmed, in an opinion that excoriated the

company’s program as “utterly lacking in the rudiments of

even-handedness.” Hooters of America v. Phillips, 173 F.3d

933, 935 (4th Cir. 1999).”* Thus, it took two and a half years

**The Fourth Circuit affirmed findings of the district court that

Hooters’ rules allowed the employer exclusively to (1) avoid filing any

written response to the employee's claim, (2) avoid disclosing its witnesses,

(3) control the list of arbitrators, (4) expand the scope of the arbitration to

include new claims against the employee, (5) move for summary judgment,

(6) create a record at the arbitration, (7) bring suit in court to overturn the

award based on a preponderance of the evidence, (8) cancel the arbitration

agreement on 30 days notice, and (9) modify the procedures i j

without notice to the employee. Hooters, 173 F.3d at 938-39.

-16-

of hammer-and-tongs litigation just to restore the employee’s

right to bring a Title VII action.

Arbitration of employment law claims is distinctive. There

is usually no union to safeguard the process. Unlike arbitration

of claims in the securities field, as in Gilmer—tregulated by the

SEC (15 U.S.C. § 78s; Shearson/American Express Inc. v.

McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 233-34 (1987))}—there is no over-

arching federal executive authority to oversee arbitration and

no self-regulatory organizations authorized by statute. And

unlike arbitration in the commercial and consumer fields, there

is a certain predestination to employment cases: people can

often avoid entering into installment contracts or buying

software, but nearly every grown person has to work.

A. Employers Often Impose Arbitration Policies

Without Employees’ Knowing and Voluntary

Consent

Employers usually impose arbitration unilaterally, by

distributing employment manuals or written policies with

arbitration provisions. Circuit City obtains its employees’

“consent” to the DRA by making them sign an acknowledg-

ment at the same time they apply for a job.”” Some employers

even conceal the details of the arbitration policy and fail to

inform employees what rights they may be waiving.”

7” “Circuit City does not consider an application for employment

unless the Dispute Resolution Agreement is signed.” (Affid. of Pamela G.

Parsons, Assoc. General Counsel to Circuit City, J.A. 11.) See also Smith

v. Chrysler Financial Corp., 101 F. Supp. 2d. 534, 537 (E.D. Mich. 2000)

(arbitration policy described in brochure mailed to 18,000 employees);

McClendon v. Sherwin Williams, Inc., 70 F. Supp. 2d 940, 943 (E.D. Ark.

1999) (arbitration policy “communicated to employees by dissermination of

the [employee] handbook,” and employee accepted policy “by continuing

to stay on the job”).

%* See Rosenberg, 170 F.3d at 19-20 (employer falsely certified

-17-

Courts in some cases have declined to enforce such

imposed arbitration. In Bailey v. Federal Nat'l Mortgage

Assoc., 209 F.3d 740 (D.C. Cir. 2000), the court held that the

plaintiff had not consented to arbitrate under the employer’s

new policy where he expressly disaffirmed it in writing shortly

after the policy was adopted. The court looked askance at the

argument that the employee accepted the policy by remaining

in the defendant’s employ, doubting that an employer “could

terminate a current employee solely because of his or her

refusal to accept the new arbitration policy.” Jd. at 746. In

Kummetz v. Tech Mold, Inc., 152 F.3d 1153, 1155 (9th Cir.

1998), the court reversed summary judgment, finding that the

policy in question made no explicit reference to arbitration or

waiver and consigned the details of the program to a separate

publication.” Yet other courts have upheld such policies,

substituting the fictitious “consent” of continuing to work.”

Courts have also split over whether relinquishment of the

federal judicial forum and jury right’' requires a knowing and

to court that it provided employee with a copy of NYSE rules); Hooters, 39

F. Supp. 2d at 61 1-12 (rules not disclosed). Circuit City’s application (J.A.

13-18) nowhere declares those legal rights (such as rights to a jury trial,

attorneys’ fees, discovery, and damages) sacrificed by the DRA.

*See also Smith, 101 F. Supp. 2d at 539 (no mutual assent to

policy); Phillips v. Cigna Investments Inc., 27 F. Supp. 2d 345, 353-59 (D.

Conn. 1998) (employee did not lose legitimate expectation to judicial forum

by continuing to work after employer promulgated arbitration policy).

*° Bishop v. Smith Barney, Inc., No. 97 CIV. 4807(RWS), 1998 WL

50210 (S.D.N.Y. Feb. 6, 1998) (enforcing arbitration clause in employee

oan ae ; Clear Channel Communications I, No. 972320-D/A,

1439 (W.D. Tenn. July 23, 1997) (enforcing unsigned,

unacknowledged arbitration agreement in employment manual).

*'See, e.g., 29 U.S.C. § 626(c\(2) (jury trial authorized for ADEA

cases); 42 U.S.C. § 1981a(c) (jury trial for Title VII and ADA cases seeking

-18-

voluntary waiver, or is governed instead by ordinary contract

principles. Some circuits have applied a contract standard,

holding that arbitration must be compelled except in cases

tainted by fraud or coercion,”” while other circuits remain on

the fence.”? But the Ninth Circuit, in Prudential Insurance

Company of America v. Lai, 42 F.3d 1299, 1304-5 (9th Cir.

1994), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 812 (1995), held that the “text and

legislative history of Title VII’ required that an employee

“knowingly agree[] to submit such disputes to arbitration.””

The knowing and voluntary standard follows from the

standard applied generally to the waiver of a civil jury trial.”

A waiver standard also comports with the history of the Civil

Rights Act of 1991. Section 118 of the Act approves, “[wJhere

appropriate and to the extent authorized by law, the use of

alternative means of dispute resolution, including, . . .arbitra-

compensatory or punitive damages).

See, e.g., Patterson v. Tenet Healthcare, Inc., 113 F.3d 832, 834-

35 (8th Cir. 1997); Great Western Mortgage Corp. v. Peacock, 110 F.3d

222, 229-30 (3d Cir. 1997).

> Rosenberg v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 170

F.3d 1, 18 (Ist Cir. 1999); Halligan v. Piper Jaffrey Inc., 148 F.3d 197, 203

(2d Cir. 1997); Gibson v. Neighborhood Health Clinics, Inc., 121 F.3d

1126, 1129-30 (7th Cir. 1997).

“See also Nelson v. Cyprus Bagdad Copper Corp., 119 F.3d 756,

760-61 (9th Cir. 1997) (applying Lai to ADA), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1072

(1998); Hooters, 39 F. Supp. 2d at 612 (applying knowing and voluntary

standard); Penn, 95 F. Supp. 2d at 950.

*°See Aetna Ins. Co. v. Kennedy, 301 U.S. 389, 393 (1937) (“as the

right of jury trial is fundamental, courts indulge every reasonable

presumption against waiver”); KMC Co. v. Irving Trust Co., 757 F.2d 752,

756 (6th Cir. 1985) (courts “overwhelmingly appl[y] the knowing and

voluntary standard” to determine “the validity of a contractual waiver of [a

civil] jury trial”); Grodin, supra note 12, at 36-9; Lopez, supra note 12, at

127-34.

ee

-19-

tion.” The Seventh Circuit interpreted this provision in

Pryner v. Tractor Supply Co., 109 F.3d 354, 363 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 522 U.S. 912 (1997), to hold that arbitration

would not be “appropriate when it is not agreed to by the

wor'<er but instead is merely imposed” by a CBA. The Pryner

court took a page from history, observing that “by being forced

into binding arbitration [employees] would be surrendering

their right to trial by jury—a right that civil rights plaintiffs . . .

fought hard for and finally obtained in the 1991 amendments to

Title VIL.” Jd. at 362. Wright left this question open.

B. Excessive Fees Deter Claims

Employers often try to shift some or all of the costs of

arbitration to the complaining party. Rule 30 of Circuit City’s

DRA requires the parties to split fees 50-50 and authorizes the

arbitrator to shift all arbitration fees and costs to the losing side.

J.A. 33-34.” The prospect that an employee might have to

*See also H.R. Rep. No. 102-40, Part I, 102d Cong. Ist Sess

reprinted in 1991 U.S.C.C.AN. 549, 635 (stating that this section was

intended to supplement, not supplant, the remedies provided by Title

VII"); 42 U.S.C. § 12212 (same provision for the ADA).

x7 .

_- Compare Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d)(1) and 28 U.S.C. § 1920

(authorizing shifting of narrowly enumerated costs). PA st ag

be steep. See, e.g., Duffield v. Robertson Stephens & Co. (9th Cir), Docket

No. 97-15687, Appellant’s Opening Brief at 34-36 (record of proceeding

established that arbitrators in the securities field charge fees starting from

$1000 per half-day, mounting up to $82,800 in one complex case, and such

fees are imposed on each party.) Cole v. Burns Int'l Security Services, 105

F.3d 1465, 1480 n.8 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (noting estimates for arbitrators fees

in a typical employment case from $3,750 to $14,000); Campbell v. Cantor

Fitzgerald & Co., 21 F. Supp. 2d 341, 345 (S.D.N.Y. 1998), aff'd, 205 F.3d

1321 (2d Cir. 1999) (after thirty sessions over sixteen months, arbitrators

$45,000 in hearing fees); Alleyne, supra note 12, at 410-11 (noting that

arbitrators fees can run from hundreds to thousands of dollars); Edwards,

supra note 12, at 306-07 (citing arbitrations where fees ran into tens of

-20-

deposit, on demand, thousands of dollars just for the privilege

of arbitrating a claim will assuredly deter claims.”*

Some courts bar companies from charging frum costs to

the employee, striking down such agreements entirely.” Others

simply sever such provisions from the agreement.“

Yet other circuits take the position that fee-splitting does

not, standing by itself, invalidate an arbitration policy.“' As the

thousands of dollars).

*® See, e.g., Armendariz v. Foundation Health Psychcare Serv.,

Inc., No. 8075942, 2000 WL 1201652 (Cal. Aug. 24, 2000) (“[t]he payment

of large, fixed, forum costs, especially in the face of expected meager

awards, serves as a significant deterrent to the pursuit of [civil rights]

claims”).

* See, e.g., Shankle v. B-G Maintenance Mgt. of Colorado, Inc.,

163 F.3d 1230, 1234-34 (10th Cir. 1999) (contract requiring plaintiff to

shoulder one-half of arbitrator’s fee, between $1,875 and $5,000, held

unenforceable); Paladino v. Avnet Computer Technologies, Inc., 134 F.3d

1054, 1062 (11th Cir. 1998) (refusing to compel arbitration under contract

that imposed “hefty” arbitration costs and “steep filing fees” on employee);

Davis v. LPK Corp., 76 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 954 (N.D. Cal. 1998)

(invalidating agreement where employee had to bear one-half of the

arbitrator’s fee).

“ — See, e.g., Fuller v. Pep Boys — Manny, Moe & Jack of

Delaware, Inc., 88 F. Supp. 2d 1158, 1162-63 (D. Colo. 2000); Jones v.

Fujitsu Network Commun., Inc., 81 F. Supp. 2d 688, 693 (N.D. Tex. 1999).

Still others interpret the offending sections equitably to relieve the

employee’s burden. See, e.g., Cole, 105 F.3d at 1485 (court interprets fees

provision from agreement to apply only to employer); McWilliams v.

Logicon, Inc., No. CIV. A. 95-2500-GTV, 1997 WL 383150, at *2 (D. Kan.

June 4, 1997) ($1,300 fee shifted to employer), aff'd, 143 F.3d 573 (10th

Cir. 1998).

“See, e.g., Williams v. Cigna Financial Advisors Inc., 197 F.3d

752, 763 (Sth Cir. 1999), cert denied, 120 S.Ct. 1833(2000). (approving

apportionment of one-half of forum fees, $3,150, on employee); Rosenberg

v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 170 F.3d 1, 16 (Ist Cir.

1999) (holding that prospect of fee-splitting did not render policy

-21-

D.C. Circuit held in Cole, 105 F.3d at 1485, a plaintiff “could

not be required to agree to arbitrate his public law claims as a

condition of employment if the arbitration agreement required

him to pay all or part of the arbitrator’s fees and expenses.”

Indeed, “there is no reason to think that the [Gilmer] Court

would have approved a program of mandatory arbitration of

statutory claims . . . in the absence of employer agreement to

pay arbitrator’s fees.” Jd. at 1468.

This Court recently granted certiorari in Green Tree

Financial Corp.-Alabama v. Randolph,178 F.3d 1149 (11th

Cir. 1999), cert. granted, 120S. Ct. 1552 (2000), a case raising

the fee issue under the Truth in Lending Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1601

et seq. and the Equal Credit Opportunity Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1691

et seq. The loan company admitted that decisions regarding

apportionment fees and costs would be entirely in the discretion

of the arbitrator, and such uncertainty led the court below to

find the arbitration clause unenforceable. To require a plaintiff,

especially an impecunious one, to amass a reserve of thousands

of dollars just to commence a claim sacrifices substantive

rights, and would lead to the wholesale abandonment of claims.

How much worse, then, are policies such as Circuit City’s that

explicitly shift the burden to employees? 7

C. Employers Have Revoked Legal Remedies

In Gilmer, the Court particularly noted that the New York

Stock Exchange (“NYS!-”) rules did “not restrict the types of

relief an arbitrator may award.” 500 U.S. at 32. See also

Desiderio v. Nat'l Assoc. of Securities Dealers, 191 F.3d 198,

205 (2d Cir. 1999), petition for cert filed, 68 U.S.L.W., 3497

(Jan. 31, 2000)(No. 99-1285) (reaffirming need for full set of

unenforceable); Koveleskie v. SBC Capital Markets, Inc., 167 F.3d 361, 362

(7th Cir. 1999) (allowing fee-splitting).

-22-

statutory remedies under Title VII in arbitration). A full

panoply of remedies and statutory safeguards are essential to

deter and remedy employment discrimination. Albemarle

Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 416 (1975) (remedies

available under Title VII constitute a “complex legislative

design directed at an historical evil of national proportions”).

Yet employers have sought to whittle down statutory

remedies through artful and unequal crafting of arbitration

agreements. Circuit City’s DRA caps back pay and punitive

damage awards below federal limits (J.A. 35-36); makes the

award of attorneys’ fees wholly within the discretion of the

arbitrator” (J.A. 34-35); and chops down the limitations period

to one year (J.A. 23-24). Other employers have likewise limited

employees’ remedies.”

Indeed, Circuit City's decision to cap the limitations period

at one year regardless of the claim directly implicates the

employees’ substantive rights. Employer torts and statutory

violations can carry longer statutes of limitations.“ In Mr.

“See Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. The Wilderness Society, 421

U.S. 240, 261 n.34 (1975) (noting that under section 16(b) of the FLSA, 29

U.S.C. § 216(b), which also governs ADEA, award of fees to prevailing

party is “mandatory”); Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412,

416-417 (1978) (under § 706(k) of Title VII a prevailing plaintiff ordinarily

is to be awarded attorney’s fees in all but very unusual circumstances).

“See Paladino, 134 F.3d at 1060-62 (policy provides only for

contract damages); Hooters, 39 F. Supp. 2d at 612 (policy prevented full

recovery of damages and «ttorneys fees); DeGaetano v. Smith Barney, Inc.,

983 F. Supp. 459, 464-70(S.D.N.Y. 1997) (policy barred award of statutory

attorneys’ fees); Alcaraz v. Avnet, Inc., 933 F. Supp. 1025, 1027-28

(D.N.M. 1996) (policy did not provide full range of Title VII damages).

“ See, e.g., Wetzel v. Lou Ehlers Cadillac Group Long Term

Disability Ins. Pgm., 2000 WL 1022713 (9th Cir. July 26, 2000) (en banc)

(four-year statute of limitations for actions on written contract applies to

ERISA action to recover disability benefits under written contractual policy

-23-

Adams’ case, he would not necessarily have been required to

commence a FEHA action within a year, because the timely

filing of a charge tolls the limitations period. EEOC v. Farmer

Bros. Co., 31 F.3d 891, 902 (9th Cir. 1994) (limitations period

for plaintiffs FEHA claim tolled for more than four years

during EEOC's investigation). But the DRA trumps all such

rules. See Stirlen v. Supercuts Inc., 51 Cal. App. 4th 1519,

1542, 60 Cal. Rptr. 2d 138 (1st Dist. 1997) (finding comparable

one-year limitation on employees’ claims under arbitration

agreement unconscionable under California law).

Courts have even given tacit approval to this approach,

determining that such terms—despite falling short of statutory

norms—may be enforced by an arbitrator. In Great Western

Mortgage Corp. v. Peacock, 110 F.3d 222 (3d Cir. 1997), the

arbitration agreement included provisions waiving the em-

ployee’s right to attorneys fees and punitive damages. The

court referred the matter to arbitration to determine whether the

plaintiff had agreed to abandon statutory rights. Jd. at 231-32.*°

By referring these matters to arbitration, these courts may

have simply deferred litigation until the time to enforce the

award, contrary to the expectation that arbitration should afford

prompt and inexpensive relief. Pryner, 109 F.3d at 362 (noting

the “spectre” of satellite litigation). The promise of such review

may prove ephemeral, as we shall see in section E below.

in California).

“ See also Seus v. John Nuveen & Co., Inc., 146 F.3d 175, 187-

88 (3d Cir. 1998) (reserving disputes over alleged inadequacies or

unfairness of agreement to arbitrator); Rojas v. TK Communications, Inc.,

87 F.3d 745, 749 (Sth Cir.1996) (directing ADEA plaintiff to pursue his

unconscionability claim with the arbitrator); Kinnebrew v. Gulf Insurance

Co., 67 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 189, 191 (N.D. Tex. 1994) (referring

claim to arbitration under policy that bars punitive damages, injunctive

relief and attorneys fees).

-24-

The Gilmer Court also assumed that the EEOC would be

available as a backstop to private arbitration policies. “An

individual ADEA claimant subject to an arbitration agreement

will still be free to file a charge with the EEOC, even though

the claimant is not able to institute a private judicial action.”

Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 28. But some courts hold that arbitration

policies preclude (in varying degrees) even the government

from obtaining relief on behalf of the employee.“

Against these cases, the Sixth Circuit has held that an

arbitration agreement has no collateral effect on the EEOC and

that it may independently seek to vindicate and remedy

violations of civil rights.*’ This Court has already noted that

the Commission represents the public at large, not individual

victims of alleged discrimination in its suits. General Tel. Co.

of the Northwest, Inc. v. EEOC, 446 U.S. 318, 326 (1980). The

Court should avoid an interpretation of the FAA that derogates

the EEOC’s and parallel state civil rights agencies’ independ-

ent, public roles in enforcing anti-discrimination laws.

D. Arbitration Often Fails to Provide Fair and Ac-

countable Procedures

Gilmer established that arbitration may substitute for civil

“ See, e.g., Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc. v. Nixon,

210 F.3d 814, 818-19 (8th Cir. 2000) (barring state agency from obtaining

individual relief for complainant); EEOC v. Waffle House, Inc., 193 F.3d at

812 (barring EEOC from litigating individual claim unless it was prepared

to seek “large-scale injunctive relief” on behalf of entire class); EEOC v.

Kidder, Peabody & Co., Inc., 156 F.3d 298, 302 (2d Cir. 1998) (barring

EEOC from obtaining monetary damages).

“ EEOC v. Frank's Nursery & Crafts, Inc., 177 F.3d 448, 458-59

(6th Cir. 1999). See also Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Shelton, No. 1:99-cv-

561, 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 7059 (W.D. Mich. May 16, 2000) (dismissing

company’s petition to compel arbitration where plaintiff's only action was

to file charge with EEOC).

-25-

litigation only when the arbitral forum affords fundamental

procedural protections. 500 U.S. at 30-32." But as long as

employers are free to impose arbitration on employees, they

can pile on onerous terms while shackling employees to them:

1. Employers refuse to bind themselves to procedures that

employees must follow. Rule 2 of the DRA says that “claims

of an [employee] . . . shall be settled exclusively by final and

binding arbitration,” but no reciprocal provision applies to the

company. J.A. 20-21; Johnson v. Circuit City Stores, 148 F.3d

373, 378 (4th Cir. 1998) (DRA “ does not appear to require the

arbitration of any claims Circuit City might have against

Johnson”).

2. Employers reserve to themselves the power to alter the

procedures at their discretion. Under DRA Rule 37 (J.A. 37-

38), “Circuit City may alter or terminate the Agreement” at the

end of each calendar year merely by tendering 30 days’ written

notice to employees. See also Floss v. Ryan's Family Steak

Houses, Inc., 211 F.3d 306, 315-16 (6th Cir. 2000) (employer

“reserved the right to alter the applicable rules and procedures

without any obligation to notify, much less receive consent

from,” employees); Hooters, 173 F.3d at 938-39 (same).

3. Absence of neutral arbitrators. Gilmer authorized

“See A Due Process Protocol for Mediation and Arbitration of

Statutory Disputes Arising out of the Employment Relationship, May 9,

1995 (http:// www.naarb.org/protocol.html) (signed by representatives of

the National Academy of Arbitrators, the American Arbitration Association,

the Labor and Employment Law Section of the American Bar Association,

and other organizations). See also Stephen L. Hayford & Michael J. Evers,

The Interaction Between the Employment-at-Will Doctrine and Employer-

Employee Agreements to Arbitrate Statutory Fair Employment Practices

Claims: Difficult Choices for At-Will Employers, 73 N.C. L. Rev. 443, 489-

90 (1995) (enforceable arbitration system would have to include right to

counsel, adequate discovery, mutual selection of arbitrator, ability to call

witnesses, and anti-retaliation commitment to cooperating witnesses).

-26-

arbitration against a backdrop of NYSE rules that provided for

disclosure of the arbitrator’s professional backgrounds, a right

to strike arbitrators, and a duty upon arbitrators to disclose

potential conflicts. 500 U.S. at 30. Yet some policies have

given employers nearly unfettered control over who shall sit as

arbitrators. See, e.g., Hooters, 173 F.3d at 941 (employer made

up list of arbitrators itself); Penn, 95 F. Supp. 2d at 945-48

(employer’s agent controlled who appeared on the lists of

arbitrators).

4. Arbitrary limits on discovery. The NYSE rules under

review in Gilmer expressly provided for “document production,

information requests, depositions and subpoenas,” sufficient to

afford a “fair opportunity” for employees to present their

claims. 500 U.S. at 31. But other policies have omitted such

procedures. Circuit City, for instance, authorizes only three

depositions as opposed to the ten depositions ordinarily

allowed in Federal court. Compare J.A. 26-27, DRA Rule

13(b), with Fed. R. Civ. P. 30(a)(2)(A). See also Hooters, 173

F.3d at 938 (employer had no obligation to provide lists of

witnesses or respond to plaintiff's written claim); Penn, 95 F.

Supp. 2d at 948-49 (finding discovery provisions “severely

limited”). Because employees typically know less about an

employment decision than the employer itself, arbitrary limits

on discovery may doom their claims.

5. Secrecy of arbitration decisions. Arbitration awards are

typically confidential (see J.A. 31, DRA Rule 23),” and courts

have not generally required arbitrators to memorialize their

“See Code of Professional Responsibility for Arbitrators of Labor

Management Disputes, art. I, § C(1)(c) (making it a “violation of

professional responsibility for an arbitrator to make public an award without

consent of the parties”), reprinted at Jay E. Grenig, 26 West Legal Forms:

Alternative Dispute Resolution, App. 11C at 770 (1995).

-27-

findings in writing.” By contrast, district courts must issue

findings of fact and conclusions of law as a public record. See

Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a).

The publication of decisions in the civil rights field guides

employees and employers alike about what conduct is lawful.*!

Conversely, cutting off publication of decisions impedes

voluntary efforts to comply with the law.”

E. Judicial Review of Arbitration Awards Is Minimal

Gilmer recognized that judicial review was a corrective to

errant arbitrators. 500 U.S. at 30-31. Yet the awards of

commercial and labor arbitrations, based on interpretation of

agreements freely bargained by the parties, have long been

accorded deferential judicial review. See, e.g., United

Steelworkers, 363 U.S. at 597-99 (where arbitrator’s award

concerns construction of CBA, court lacks authority to overrule

the arbitrator’s interpretation); Bernhardt v. Polygraphic Co. of

Am., 350 U.S. 198, 203 n.4 (1956) (no review of arbitrator’s

® See, e.g., United Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise Wheel &

Car Co., 363 U.S. 593, 976 n.8 (1960) (“[a}rbitrators have no obligation to

the court to give their reasons for an award”); Green v. Ameritech Corp.,

200 F.3d 967, 974-76 (6th Cir. 2000) (affirming award in state law civil

policy expressly required arbitrator to “explain” decision).

"Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 31-32 (enforcement of U-4 would not hurt

civil nights enforcement because NYSE rules require written and publicly

available arbitration awards, and because “judicial decisions addressing

ADEA claims will continue to be issued because it is unlikely that all or

even most ADEA claimants will be subject to arbitration agreements”).

% See Moohr, supra note 12 (stressing the public goal of

in individual discrimination cases);Van Wetzel Stone, supra note 12, at

1043-47 (discussing educational function of civil rights opinions); Adriaan

Lanni, Protecting Public Rights in Private Arbitration, 107 Yale L. J. 1157,

1160-61 (1998) (encouraging disclosure of arbitration decisions).

-28-

error in interpreting contract). This area must be reevaluated in

light of the expansion of imposed arbitration into the civil

rights arena.

Review of arbitration awards of statutory claims, as the

Court reminds us, must rise to a level “sufficient to ensure that

arbitrators comply with the requirements of the statute.”

McMahon, 482 U.S. at 232. See Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 32 n.4

(same point in context of ADEA). The proper level of review,

according to the Court, must be higher in a case reviewing a

statutory claim than in one reviewing a garden-variety labor

dispute; in the latter case, arbitrators have “authority only to

resolve questions of contractual rights.” Jd. at 34. See, e.g.,

McDonald v. City of West Branch, 466 U.S. 284, 290 (1984)

(rejecting suggestion that arbitration can “provide an adequate

substitute for a judicial proceeding in protecting the federal

statutory and constitutional rights that § 1983 is designed to

safeguard’’); Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight Sys., Inc., 450

U.S. 728, 737 (1981) (“[w]hile courts should defer to an

arbitral decision where the employee’s claim is based on rights

arising out of the collective bargaining agreement, different

considerations apply where the employee’s claim is based on

rights arising out of a statute Gesigned to provide minimum

substantive guarantees to individual workers”).

It is widely known that arbitrators often do not apply the

law and follow their own precepts of fairness. See, e.g, Ware,

supra note 12, at 719-25 (summarizing empirical research and

case law supporting this conclusion); Van Wetzel Stone, supra

note 12, at 1040 (citing Congressional study that most arbitra-

tors in the securities industry had no background in labor and

employment law). Most arbitrators lack legal training, do not

keep up with legal developments and lack accountability for

their decisions. See Edwards, supra note 12, at 297-98.

-29-

Moreover, the degree of scrutiny that awards presently

receive for legal error is feather-light, curtailing even further

the incentive to follow the law. Under the FAA, courts may

only review legal errors for “manifest disregard of the law.”

First Options of Chicago v. Kaplan, 514 U.S. 938, 942 (1995)

(noting “manifest disregard” standard). Manifest disregard

focuses not on legal error per se, but on the narrower issue of

whether the arbitrator deliberately defied the law. Typical is

the Eleventh Circuit’s recent decision in Montes v. Shearson

Lehman Brothers, Inc., 128 F.3d 1456, 1461 (11th Cir. 1997),

holding that reversal of an award for manifest disregard of the

law requires proof that the arbitrator was “conscious of the law

and deliberately ignore[d] it.” See also Brown v. ITT Consumer

Financial Corp., 211 F.3d 1217, 1223 (11th Cir. 2000)

(reaffirming that application of wrong legal test in race

discrimination case must be “intentional” or “conscious” to be

reviewable as “manifest disregard”). Other circuits apply

equally stingy standards of review.” If the arbitrator issues no

written opinion, or a one-sentence award (and thereby leaves no

record of what legal standards were followed), it leaves nothing

for the court to review and insulates the award from reversal.

Ware, supra note 12, at 721 (“[iJn most cases in which an

arbitrator does not apply the law, it will be virtually impossible

*See, e.g., Williams, 197 F.3d at 761-72 (summarizing law);

Kiernan v. Piper Jaffray Cos., Inc., 137 F.3d 588, 594 (8th Cir. 1998)

(applying deferential “manifest disregard” standard to civil rights case);

DiRussa v. Dean Witter Reynolds Inc.,121 F.3d 818, 821 (2d Cir. 1997)

(applying deferential standard to affirm award that where employee

prevailed, but arbitrator awarded no attorneys’ fees), cert. denied, 522 U.S.

1049 (1998); Glennon v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc., 83 F.3d 132, 136 (6th

Cir. 1996) (“[a}n arbitration panel only acts in manifest disregard of the law

if the applicable legal principle is clear and well-settled and it refuses to

follow that legal principle”); Chisolm v. Kidder, Peabody Asset Mgt., Inc.,

966 F. Supp. 218, 224-29 (S.D.N.Y. 1997) (rejecting argument for

heightened scrutiny of judicial review in civil rights cases).

-30-

for a court to discover that the arbitrator did not apply the

law”). Standing against this tide is the approach taken by the

D.C. Circuit in Cole. While noting that courts ordinarily defer

to arbitrator’s awards, the court held that the manifest disregard

standard is somewhat elastic and “must be defined in light of

the bases underlying the Court’s decisions in Gilmer-type

cases.” Cole, 105 F.3d at 1487. As the court noted:

The nearly unlimited deference paid to arbitration

awards in the context of collective bargaining is not

required, and not appropriate, in the context of em-

ployees’ statutory claims. In this context, the Supreme

Court has assumed that arbitration awards are subject to

judicial review sufficiently ngorous to ensure compli-

ance with statutory law. [/d. at 1468-69.]

Thus, “there will be some cases in which novel or difficult

legal issues are presented demanding judicial judgment. In

such cases, the courts are empowered to review an arbitrator’s

award to ensure that its resolution of public law issues is

correct.” Jd. at 1487. See Halligan v. Piper Jaffrey Inc., 148

F.3d 197, 204 (2d Cir. 1997) (vacating for “manifest disregard”

award for employer in civil rights case); DeGaetano, 983 F.

Supp. at 462-64 (failure to award attorneys’ fees to pre ,

plaintiff after award was requested was in manifest disregard of

the law).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the undersigned amici respect-

fully request that the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

— ee: eee -

Daniel F. Kolb, Co-Chair

Chester T. Lester, Jr.,

Co-Chair

John Payton, Co-Chair

Norman Redlich, Trustee

Barbara R. Arnwine

Thomas J. Henderson

Richard T. Seymour

Teresa A. Ferrante

Lawyers’ Committee for

Civil Rights Under Law

1401 New York Avenue,

N.W., Suite 400

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 662-8600

Paul W. Mollica

Counsel of Record

Meites, Mulder, Burger &

Mollica

208 South LaSalle Street

Suite 1410

Chicago, Illinois 60604

(312) 263-0272

Dennis C. Hayes

Genera! Counsel

National Association for

the Advancement of

Colored People

4805 Mt. Hope Drive

Fifth Floor

Baltimore, Maryland 21215

(410) 486-9191

Elaine R. Jones

‘' Director-Counsel

Theodore M. Shaw

Norman J. Chachkin

Charles Stephen Ralston

NAACP Legal Defense and

Educational Fund, Inc.

99 Hudson Street, 16th Floor

New York, New York 10013

(212) 965-2200

Los Angeles, California

90014

(213) 629-2516

Judith L. Lichtman

Donna R. Lenhoff

National Partnership for

Women & Families

1875 Connecticut Ave, N.W.

Suite 710

Washington, D.C. 20009

(202) 986-2600

Marcia D. Greenberger

Judith C. Appelbaum

National Women’s Law

Center

11 Dupont Circle, N.W.

Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 588-5180

Julie Goldscheid

Yolanda S. Wu

Dina Bakst

NOW Legal Defense and

Education Fund

99 Hudson Street, 12th Floor

New York, New York 10013

(212) 925-6635

Attorneys for Amici

September 19, 2000

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.