Amicus Curiae Brief — Norfolk Southern R. Co. v. Shanklin

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

9

DEc 16 (BY No. 99-312 DEC 16.199

In the Sup Court of the Gni

NORFOLK SOUTHERN RAILWAY COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

DEDRA SHANKLIN, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS

NEXT FRIEND OF JESSIE GUY SHANKLIN,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE PRODUCT LIABILITY ADVISORY

COUNCIL, INC., AS AMICUS CURIAE

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

HUGH F. YOUNG, JR. KENNETH S. GELLER*

Product Liability Advisory CHARLES ROTHFELD

Council, Inc. - CRAIG ISENBERG

1850 Centennial Park Dr. Mayer, Brown & Platt

Suite 510 1909 K Street, N.W.

Reston, VA 2019] Washington, D.C. 20006

(703) 264-5300 (202) 263-3000

* Counsel of Record

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Amicus will address the following questions:

1. Whether it is appropriate for a court to apply a

presumption against preemption when the governing federal

Statute contains an unambiguous express preemption

provision.

2. Whether the Federal Railroad Safety Act preempts

state tort claims alleging the inadequacy of warning devices

at railroad crossings, when the devices were installed with

federal funds under a project approved by the federal

government.

—— SS

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ................. (I)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES................. iii

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF

ek eg OO 1

IEEE ER aa he a oe 3

FEDERAL LAW PREEMPTS STATE TORT

CLAIMS ASSERTING THAT WARNING

DEVICES AT FEDERALLY-FUNDED RAILWAY

GRADE CROSSINGS ARE INADEQUATE ....

A. A “Presumption Against Preemption" Is Not

Appropriate In This Case .............

B. Easterwood Compels Preemption In Cases

Where Federal Funds Have Been Authorized

For The Installation Of Warning Devices At

EE v6 Go keen b 40 eb 86 ec

C. The Goals Behind The FRSA Are Promoted By

Diced. ees Ueesee dene 6 os

DET Sbsc Westie beteceseaseses

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES

Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck,

ee Ws SPE & @ 0:4 0:0 ob es Khe ee 4

American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens,

Sa Ga ae a0 dikes ok web eee 7

Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall,

Gp Was SOG 6 oe tebe dc ondiunwe 12

Armijo v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co.,

87 F.3d 1188 (10th Cir. 1996) .......... 15-16

Brown v. Hotel & Restaurant Employees

& Bartenders Int’! Union Local

FO, GB GB. GG GD cc ccc ce cccceer 4,8

Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp,

Gar Gas Ge es ck eae tee ker el 7

Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams,

Ge Ga Se 64's 0 be eRe eee bos 11

Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources

Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) .... §

Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co..,

Ge Gah CED 2 84 dh ohwsbn aca 12

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc..,

See Dak See 0.0.0 ck theese 3-5, 7-8

Page(s)

CSX Transp., Inc. v. Easterwood,

rr.) Ck sb ka wk we es passim

Elrod v. Burlington N. R.R. Co..,

Sp ee ee eS GED oc dees seeocewes 15

English v. General Elec. Co.,

sn cis oie’ 6 ean CARR R 4,7

FMC Corp. v. Holliday,

Se MD 6b wes oe awk oe bia 2, 5,7

Fidelity Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass'n v.

de la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141 (1982) ......... 7-8

Free v. Bland,

Sate 2'e.5 5} SO a6 On ON Oe ee 8

Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick,

Pe PEs 4's 6 Sud ecceseesasee 7

Gade v. National Solid Wastes Management Ass'n,

i rt ad Sb ke ee week 88 4-5, 8

Hester v. CSX Transp., Inc..,

61 F.3d 382 (Sth Cir. 1995) ........... 15, 18

Hillsborough County v. Automated Medical

Lab., Inc., 471 U.S. 707 (1985) .......... 4,7

Ingram v. CSX Transp., Inc.,

146 F.3d 858 (11th Cir. 1998).......... 15, 18

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — contizued

Page(s)

International Paper Co. v. Ouellette,

See Ge GE 6 6 6 6's 44 echt OKs 19-20

Kennan v. Dow Chem. Co.,

717 F. Supp. 799, 810 (M.D. Fla. 1989) ...... 19

Local 926, Int’! Union of Operating Eng’rs v.

Sanaa, Ge Gs GP GD cc cee sdcesesae 12

Louisiana Pub. Serv. Comm’n v. Federal

Communications Comm’n, 476 U.S. 355

SD Se h'e bat ee ae sb he Pies kre 7

Malone v. White Motor Corp.,

a eae ae ee 3 co a ob cae be ene ae 4,7

Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr,

See Ws GD. 64.6 ouebeaneseeues 4, 7-8

Michigan Canners & Freezers Ass'n v.

Agricultural Mktg. & Bargaining Bd.,

ae aes ee Ge o wet 64s bee ewok sk odes 20

Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc..,

Se Sa SOD Rains os Sd wet eewes 7, 20

New York State Conference of Blue Cross &

Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co..,

Bae We PEE « 6 6. bb bees Oe bb ers 4,7

Norfolk & W. Ry. Co. v. American Train

Dispatchers Ass'n, 499 U.S. 117 (1991) ...... 7

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page(s)

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux,

SD aos et <ebekesdbaseeee 11

Retail Clerk Int’l Ass'n v. Schermerhorn,

Bee We PED. gabe ee er eee’ os beet 4

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp.,

ne ED. a bb e's bh deb ooe never 3

R.J. Corman R.R. Co. v. Palmore,

999 F.2d 149 (6th Cir. 1993) ............. 11

San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon,

359 U.S. 236, 246-247 (1959) ..........4.. 12

United Transp. Union v. Long Island R.R. Co.,

— i FR eee ee eee 11

Wisconsin Dep’t of Industry, Labor & Human

Relations v. Gould Inc., 475 U.S. 282 (1986) 12, 20

STATUTES & REGULATIONS

OU Os oi ci cnevsnducens 14

A es eeu s sx 11, 17

2 a kg Oh ak ee 22

in a) ceeneeus passim

EIS OT OE NE 17

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page(s)

DBCPR. CGR oi civiedestcsesvevees 17

23 C.F.R. §§ 630.201-630.205 ............44. 17

DCP. OGRE cc ccksvueess taeereeans 16

CPR BGR vc iteseseeeeeentuceten 14

CPR. CGR 2c ciccvewetenseweun 18

23 C.F.R. § 646.214(b)(3) .. 2... ee ee eee passim

23 C.F.R. § 646.214(b)(4) 2... ee eee passim

MISCELLANEOUS

Viet D. Dinh, Reassessing the Presumption

Against Preemption, __ GEO. LJ.

ee eee 5-6

H.R. Rep. No. 91-1194 (1970)... 2... eee eee 11

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Amicus curiae Product Liability Advisory Council, Inc.

(“PLAC”) is a non-profit corporation whose membership

consists of 124 major manufacturers and sellers in a wide

range of industries, from automobiles to electronics to

pharmaceutical products. PLAC’s primary purpose is to file

amicus briefs in case: involving issues that affect the

development of product liability law and have potential impact

on PLAC’s members. PLAC has submitted numerous amicus

briefs in both state and federal courts, including many in this

Court.

This case, which concerns the scope of the preemption

doctrine, raises issues of considerable importance to amicus

and its members. The court of appeals took an unduly

cramped approach to the doctrine and, in doing so,

misconstrued existing precedent of this Court; if applied in

other contexts, the court of appeals’ mode of preemption

analysis would lead to the proliferation of varying and often

conflicting rules governing the manufacture, distribution, and

use of products in different jurisdictions. Because this

outcome would impose substantial burdens and expense on

manufacturers, sellers, and consumers — and because it often

would frustrate the intent of Congress and federal regulatory

agencies — we submit this brief to assist the Court in the

resolution of this case.’

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The court of appeals’ analysis went astray in several

crucial respects. First, the court erred in applying a

presumption against preemption. Because it is fundamental

that preemption turns on congressional intent — and because

' Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3, letters from the parties

consenting to the filing of this brief have been filed with the Clerk

of the Court. This brief was funded entirely by amicus and was

written entirely by its counsel.

2

the Court conducts an inquiry into preemption by

““begin[ning] with the language employed by Congress and

the assumption that the .rdinary meaning of that language

accurately expresses the legislative purpose’” (FMC Corp. v.

Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 57 (1990) (citation omitted)) -- any

presumption regarding preemption must yield to the usual

tools of statutory construction. In the presence of an express

preemption clause, a presumption logically could come into

play only when the statutory language is wholly ambiguous

and the circumstances suggest that it would be inconsistent

with congressional intent to displace state law. But that is not

the case here: the controlling language is unambiguous, and

there is no reason to believe that Congress would have

wanted to preserve inconsistent state-law rules.

Second, the court of appeals misunderstood this Court’s

holding in CSX Transp., Inc. v. Easterwood, 507 U.S. 658

(1993). Interpreting the plain language of the controlling

statute, the Court in Easterwood found that regulations issued

by the Secretary of Transportation displace state rules that

apply to railway crossings “in which federal funds participate

in the installation of warning devices.” Jd. at 670. That

analysis dictates the outcome of this case, in which federal

funds inarguably were involved in construction of the warning

device at issue. The court of appeals’ contrary view — that

preemption is appropriate only if the Secretary specifically

approved the device used at a particular crossing — is

insupportable: the plain language of the statute requires

preemption when the Secretary’s regulation “cover[s] the

subject matter of the State requirement” (49 U.S.C. § 20106),

and that is the case here.

Third, the court of appeals lost sight of the policies

underlying the governing statute and regulations. That both

the state and federal laws are in some sense directed at

promoting safety is beside the point: when Congress has

required uniformity, state laws are not saved simply because

they are consistent with the federal goals. And the court took

a

3

no account of the practical consequences of its ruling. Under

the federal statute and regulations, the Secretary ultimately is

responsible both for determining the scope of a railroad’s

involvement in the selection of warning devices and for

approving the device actually selected. As a consequence, the

court of appeals imposed a regime that would hold railroads

liable for decisions that were overseen and approved by

federal authorities. Congress could not have intended such an

unfair result.

ARGUMENT

FEDERAL LAW PREEMPTS STATE TORT

CLAIMS ASSERTING THAT WARNING DEVICES

AT FEDERALLY-FUNDED RAILWAY GRADE

CROSSINGS ARE INADEQUATE

A. A “Presumption Against Preemption” Is Not

Appropriate In This Case

1. The court of appeals began its analysis by declaring

that courts must resolve cases like this one by applying a

presumption against preemption. 173 F.3d at 394

(“preemption analysis must ‘start with the assumption that the

historic police powers of the States [were] not to be

superseded by [the] Federal Act unless that [was] the clear

and manifest purpose of Congress’”) (quoting Cipollone v.

Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504, 516 (1992), in turn

quoting Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230

(1947)) (bracketed material added by the court of appeals).

But the application of this presumption — which infected the

entirety of the court’s analysis — was unwarranted. We have

argued elsewhere that a presumption against preemption may

have validity only in very narrow circumstances.” Its use

certainly cannot be justified in a case, like this one, in which

2 See Br. of the Product Liability Advisory Council, Inc, in

United States v. Locke, Nos. 98-1701 and 98-1706.

4

Congress expressly defined the scope of preemption while

acting in an area that historically has received federal

attention.

There is considerable illogic in application of the court of

appeals’ presumption here. First, applying the presumption

where there is an express preemption provision generally will

conflict with the central, universally acknowledged rule

governing preemption cases: “[p}re-emption fundamentally is

a question of congressional intent.” English v. General Elec.

Co., 496 U.S. 72, 78-79 (1990).* Even decisions that have

forcefully stated the presumption have gone on to recognize

that the Court’s

analysis of the scope of [a] statute’s pre-emption is

guided by [the] oft-repeated comment, initially made in

Retail Clerks v. Schermerhorn, 375 U.S. 96, 103 (1963),

that “[t]he purpose of Congress is the ultimate touchstone

in every pre-emption case.” * * * As a result, any

understanding of the scope of a pre-emptive statute must

rest primarily on “a fair understanding of congressional

purpose.”

Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr, 518 U.S. 470, 485-486 (1996)

(quoting Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 530 n.27 (Stevens, J.)). See

e.g., New York State Conference of Blue Cross and Blue

Shield Plans v. Travelers, Inc., 514 U.S. 645, 655 (1995);

Gade, 505 U.S. at 116 (Souter, J., dissenting). Thus, the

Court’s “ultimate task ii any pre-emption case is to determine

> See, e.g., Gade v. National Solid Wastes Management Ass'n,

505 U.S. 88, 96 (1992) (plurality opinion); Cipollone, 505 U.S. at

545 (opinion of Scalia, J.); Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471

U.S. 202, 208 (1985); Hillsborough County v. Automated Medical

Lab., Inc., 471 U.S. 707, 714 (1985); Brown v. Hotel &

Restaurant Employees & Bartenders Int’! Union Local 54, 468 U.S.

491, 500 (1984); Malone v. White Motor Corp., 435 U.S. 497, 504

(1978).

5

whether state regulation is consistent with the structure and

purpose of the statute as a whole” (Gade, 505 U.S. at 98

(plurality opinion)), an inquiry that “‘begin[s) with the

language employed by Congress and the assumption that the

ordinary meaning of that language accurately expresses the

legislative purpose.’” FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at 57 (1990)

(citation omitted).

Against this background, it is settled that, “‘[i)f the intent

of Congress is clear, that is the end of the matter; for the

court * * * must give effect to the unambiguously expressed

intent of Congress.’” Id. at 57 (quoting Chevron U.S.A. Inc.

v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837,

842-43 (1984) (footnote omitted)). Thus, any presumption

against preemption “dissolves once there is conclusive

evidence of intent to pre-empt in the express words of the

statute itself.” Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 545 (opinion of Scalia,

J.). See generally id. at 544 (“Under the Supremacy Clause,

* * * [the Court’s] job is to interpret Congress’s decrees of

pre-emption neither narrowly nor broadly, but in accordance

with their apparent meaning.”). Indeed, the Court in

Easterwood, after adverting to the presumption against

preemption, proceeded to declare (somewhat inconsistently)

that, “[iJf the statute contains an express pre-emption clause,

the task of statutory construction must in the first instance

focus on the plain wording of the clause, which necessarily

contains the best evidence of Congress’s intent.” 507 U.S.

at 664. It therefore appears that, when Congress has enacted

an express preemption clause, the presumption must yield to

the ordinary tools of statutory interpretation.

Indeed, for a court to apply an interpretive presumption

at the expense of concrete indicia of congressional intent

would depart from the proper judicial role. As a recent

commentator has noted, “the constitutional structure of

federalism does not admit of a general presumption against

federal preemption of state law.” Viet D. Dinh, Reassessing

the Presumption Against Preemption, __ GEO. L.J.

6

(forthcoming 2000) (which has been lodged with the Clerk of

the Court). The Supremacy Clause is not an affirmative grant

of power to Congress; it “simply specifies the constitutional

equivalent of a choice of law rule and gives trumping effect

to federal law.” Jd. at 5. As such, the power to preempt

State law comes not from the Supremacy Clause, but from the

affirmative grants of power in Article I, section 8 of the

Constitution.

Given this constitutional structure, to the extent that

there are questions of constitutional policy in preemption

— questions about the relative power of Congress and of

the state legislatures, “the Danger * * * that the national

would swallow up the State Legislatures,” and the like —

those questions were answered by the framers with the

specific enumerations and limitations of federal

legislative power in Article I and inclusion of the

Supremacy Clause in the Constitution. And to the extent

that other federalism questions remain — the wisdom of

national regulation, the balance between regulatory

uniformity and policy innovations, etc. —- those questions

are, by constitutional design, to be answered by Congress

and, through delegated power, by the executive branch.

But when Congress has legislated consistently with

its delegated and limited powers, the question ceases to

be one about the vertical distribution of powers between

federal and state governments (after all, the Constitution

gave Congress the power to legislate, and Congress has

exercised that power). Rather, the question becomes one

of the horizontal division of federal governmental

_ functions among the three branches. Specifically, the

task for the Court is to discern what Congress has

legislated and whether such legislation displaces

concurrent state law — in short, the task of statutory

construction. If in performing this seemingly neutral task

* * * the Court systematically favors one result to the

other, it either disrupts the constitutional division of

—_ —_— <<

eg —

7

power between federal and state governments or rewrites

the laws enacted by Congress.

Id. at 6-7 (footnotes omitted).

Second, in light of the primacy of congressional intent,

it is not surprising that the presumption against preemption is,

more often than not, simply ignored. To be sure, there are

a fair number of cases in which the Court has recited the

familiar phrases acknowledging the presumption.‘ But there

are numerous preemption decisions in which the Court has

made no mention of the presumption at all. Justice Scalia

has referred to the substantial body of cases in which the

Court “said not a word about ‘a presumption against * * *

pre-emption, * * * that was to be applied to construction of

the text [of a statutory preemption clause].” Cipollone, 505

U.S. at 546 (opinion of Scalia, J.).° In fact, there are a great

many decisions involving express preemption where the Court

has wholly disregarded any presumption against superseding

state law.° This pattern of inconsistent application suggests

that there is less to the presumption than first meets the eye.

* See, e.g., Medtronic, 518 U.S. at 485; New York State

Conference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield Plans, 514 U.S. at 655;

Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 518; English, 496 U.S. at 79; Hillsborough

County, 471 U.S. at 715.

5 Justice Scalia cited Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504

U.S. 374 (1992), and Norfolk & W. Ry. Co. v. American Train

Dispatchers Ass’n, 499 U.S. 117 (1991).

° See, e.g., Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, 514 U.S. 280 (1995);

American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. 219 (1995); FMC

Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52 (1990); Louisiana Pub. Serv.

Comm’n v. Federal Communications Comm’n, 476 U.S. 355

(1986); Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691 (1984);

Fidelity Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass’n v. de la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141

(1982); Malone v. White Motor Corp., 435 U.S. 497 (1978).

8

Third, the traditional rationale for the presumption does

not support its use. The presumption often is said to rest on

“principles of federalism and respect for state sovereignty.”

Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 533 (opinion of Blackmun, J.). But

this special solicitude for important state interests is in tension

with other aspects of preemption doctrine, which regard the

importance of the state interest at stake as wholly irrelevant

to the analysis. Thus, it has long been settled that “‘[t}he

relative importance to the State of its own law is not material

when there is a conflict with valid federal law, for the

Framers of our Constitution provided that the federal law

must prevail.’” Fidelity Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass’n v. de la

Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 153 (1982) (quoting Free v. Bland,

369 U.S. 663, 666 (1962)). Indeed, even where the State has

a “compelling interest” in preservation of its law, “under the

Supremacy Clause, from which our pre-emption doctrine is

derived, any state law, * * * clearly within a State’s

acknowledged power, which interferes with or is contrary to

federal law, must yield.” Gade, 505 U.S. at 108 (1992)

(internal quotation marks and citations omitted). See, e.g.,

Brown v. Hotel & Restaurant Employees & Bartenders Int’!

Union Local 54, 468 U.S. 491, 503 (1984).

2. Against this background, we believe that, in the

presence of a statutory preemption clause, a presumption

against preemption may have validity only in limited

circumstances: where the statutory language is wholly

ambiguous and the statutory purpose regarding preemption

completely indeterminate, and where the circumstances

suggest that it would be inconsistent with congressional intent

to supersede state law. Thus, if an ambiguous statute

operates in a field where state regulation has had “historic

primacy” (Medtronic, 518 U.S. at 485) — that is, where the

federal government traditionally has not acted and the federal

interest in a uniform rule is not apparent — it may make

sense to presume that a Congress acting with this history in

mind did not intend to displace state law. But such a

9

presumption should have no application in areas where

Congress has often been active, where there is a federal

interest in uniformity of regulation, or where federal primacy

is rooted either in tradition or in constitutional values.

That is the case here. The Federal Railroad Safety Act

(“FRSA”) indisputably delegated to the Secretary of

Transportation the authority to preempt state laws relating to

railroad safety. See 49 U.S.C. § 20106 (“Laws, regulations,

and orders related to railroad safety shall be nationally

uniform to the extent practicable. A State may adopt or

continue in force a law, :cgulation, or order ‘elated to

railroad safety until the Secretary of Transportation prescribes

a regulation or issues an order covering the subject matter of

the State requirement.”) (emphasis added).’ The Secretary

exercised his authority to prescribe, among others, regulations

related to the installation of warning devices at railway-

highway grade crossings (see 23 C.F.R. §§ 646.214(b)(3)*

’ The FRSA initially was codified at 45 U.S.C. §§ 421-444.

That Act later was repealed and its substantive provisions re-

enacted as part of title 49. See Act of July 5, 1994, Pub. L. No.

103-272, 108 Stat. 1379.

§ 23 C.F.R. § 646.214(b)(3)(i) provides: “Adequate warning

devices, under § 646.214(b)(2) or any project where Federal-aid

funds participate in the installation of the devices are to include

automatic gates with flashing light signals when one or more of the

following conditions exist:

(A) Multiple main line railroad tracks.

(B) Multiple tracks at or in the vicinity of the crossing

which may be occupied by a train or locomotive so

as to obscure the movement of another train

(C) High Speed train operation combined with limited

sight distance at either single or multiple track

10

and (b)(4)’). Those regulations preempt state law. See

Easterwood, 507 U.S. at 670 (subsections (b)(3) and (4)

“displace state and private decisionmaking authority by

establishing a federal-law requirement that certain protective

devices be installed or federal approval obtained”). Because

Congress has expressly and unambiguously defined the

statute’s preemptive scope, there is no room for application

of a presumption against preemption.

That is particularly so given the nature of the regulated

field, which historically has drawn the attention of Congress.

Congress has appropriated federal funds for use by the States

at railway-highway crossings from the inception of the

Federal Aid Highway Act, Act of July 11, 1916, ch.41, 89

Stat. 355. For more than 60 years, Congress also has

prohibited the expenditure of federal funds on federal-aid

crossings.

(D) A combination of high speeds and moderately high

volumes of highway and railroad traffic.

(E) Either a high volume of vehicular traffic, high

number of train movements, substantial numbers of

schoolbuses or trucks carrying hazardous materials,

unusually restricted sight distance, continuing

accident occurrences, or any combination of these

(F) A diagnostic team recommends them.

(ii) In individual cases where a diagnostic team justifies that gates

are not appropriate, FHWA may find that the above

requirements are not applicable.”

* 23 C.F.R. § 646.214(b)(4) provides: “For crossings where

the requirements of § 646.214(b)(3) are not applicable, the type of

warning device to be installed, whether the determination is made

by a State regulatory agency, State highway agency, and/or the

railroad, is subject to the approval of FHWA.”

es

11

with safety standards determined by the Secretary at that time

as being adequate shall be installed or in operation at any

highway and railroad grade crossing.” 23 U.S.C. § 109%e).

And Congress has long expressed doubt that disparate state

efforts in this area are useful; at the time of the enactment of

the FRSA, it questioned whether “safety in the Nation’s

railroads would be advanced sufficiently by subjecting the

national rail system to a variety of enforcement in 50 different

judicial and administrative systems.” H.R. Rep. No. 91-

1194, at 11 (1970). Cf., e.g., United Transp. Union v. Long

Island R.R. Co., 455 U.S. 678, 687-688 (1982) (“Railroads

have been subject to comprehensive federal regulation for

nearly a century. * * * There is no comparable history of

longstanding state regulation.”); R.J. Corman R.R. Co. v.

Palmore, 999 F.2d 149, 152 (6th Cir. 1993) (Congress has

long regulated “almost all aspects of the railroad industry”).

Against this background, there is no reason to presume that

Congress acted with any special expectations about the value

of state regulation here.

3. The court of appeals therefore erred in applying a

its analytical error by finding that the presumption “looms

even larger in the present context, where no analogous federal

remedy exists.” 173 F.3d at 394. That conclusion runs

counter to settled law. This Court has often found

preemption “even when the state action purported to authorize

a remedy unavailable under the federal provision.” Pilot Life

Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 55 (1987). In Caterpillar

Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 391 n.4 (1987), for example,

the Court overturned a court of appeals’ decision rejecting

preemption “unless the federal cause of action relied upon

provides the plaintiff with a remedy”; in so ruling, the Court

emphasized that federal law is preemptive despite the fact that

“the relief sought by the plaintiff could be obtained only”

under state law. This principle has been consistently

12

followed. See, e.g., Wisconsin Dep't of Industry, Labor &

Human Relations v. Gould Inc., 475 U.S. 282, 287 (1986);

Local 926, Int’l Union of Operating Eng’rs v. Jones, 460

U.S. 669, 684 (1983); Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co. v. Kalo

Brick & Tile Co., 450 U.S. 311, 322-23 (1981). Indeed,

there are many circumstances where the State’s provision of

a remedy that is withheld by federal law confirms the conflict

between the state and federal regime. See, e.g., San Diego

Bldg. Trades Council vy. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236, 246-247

(1959).

The fundamental flaw in the court of appeals’ reasoning

was its inversion of the proper preemption analysis. The court

focused first on the result if it were to find preemption.

Concluding that the plaintiff would be without a remedy if

state law were preempted, the court of appeals tipped the

scales against preemption. The appropriate analysis, however,

begins and ends with an inquiry into whether Congress

intended to preempt state law. Absent evidence that Congress

intended to preserve remedies for particular categories of

plaintiffs, it should have been irrelevant that state law

remedies were displaced. That is always the impact of

preemption, and Congress is not required to provide an

analogous remedy before it may preempt. Indeed, Congress

may, and sometimes does, preempt without leaving any

remedy at all for potential plaintiffs. See Arkansas Louisiana

Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571, 584 (1981) (“A finding that

federal law provides a shield for the challenged conduct will

almost always leave the state-law violation unredressed.”).

B. Easterwood Compels Preemption In Cases Where

Federal Funds Have Been Authorized For The

Installation Of Warning Devices At Railroad

Crossings

The court of appeals plainly regarded reliance on the

presumption against preemption as an essential element of its

holding. But the court also went on to add that, “[ijJn addition

13

to being in harmony with the presumption against preemption,

the narrow approach is more faithful to the Supreme Court’s

holding in Easterwood.” 173 F.3d at 395. In our view, that

pronouncement is insupportable. The court of appeals

misconstrued both the plain language of the controlling statute

and the unambiguous holding of Easterwood, while

disregarding fundamental rules limiting the powers of federal

courts.

1. In Easterwood, the Court addressed the proper

interpretation of the statutory language that controls in this

case, which provides that States may “adopt or continue in

force a law, regulation, or order related to railroad safety

until the Secretary of Transportation prescribes a regulation

or issues an order covering the subject matter of the State

requirement.” 49 U.S.C. § 20106 (emphasis added). In

determining the scope of this language, the Court

characterized the relevant question as “whether the Secretary

of Transportation has issued regulations covering the same

subject matter as [state] negligence law pertaining to the

maintenance of * * * grade crossings.” 507 U.S. at 664.

This means that preemption is required “if the federal

regulations substantially subsume the subject matter of the

relevant state law.” Ibid. (emphasis added).

The Court accordingly turned to a review of the

regulatory background, explaining that, for crossings “in

which ‘Federal-aid funds participate in the installation of the

[warning] devices,’ regulations specify warning devices that

must be installed.” 507 U.S. at 666 (citing 23 C.F.R. §§

646.214(b)(3) and (4). Depending on the characteristics of

the crossing, the regulations either dictate the particular type

of device to be used or provide that “the type of warning

device to be installed, whether the determination is made by

a State . . . agency, and/or the railroad, is subject to approval

of the FHWA.’” Id. at 666-667 (quoting 23 C.F.R.

14

§ 646.214(b)(4) (ellipses added by the Court)).’° Looking to

this regulatory structure, the Court found that the regulations

displace state and private decisionmaking authority by

establishing a federal-law requirement that certain

protective devices be installed or federal approval

obtained. Indeed, §§ 646.214(b)(3) and (4) effectively

set the terms under which railroads are to participate in

the improvement of crossings. * * * In short, for projects

in which federal funds participate in the installation of

warning devices, the Secretary has determined the

devices to be installed and the means by which railroads

are to participate in their selection. The Secretary’s

regulations therefore cover the subject matter of the state

law which, like the tort law on which respondent relies,

seeks to impose an independent duty on a railroad to

identify and/or repair dangerous crossings.

Id.' at 670-671 (emphasis added). This means that, “when

[the regulations] are applicable, state tort law is pre-empted.”

Id. at 670.

Applying that principle in Easterwood, the Court went on

to find preemption inappropriate because the record revealed

that federal funds had not “‘participate[d] in the installation

of the [warning] devices’” at issue in the case. 507 U.S. at

672 (bracketed material added by the Court). “In light of the

inapplicability of §§ 646.214(b)(3) and (4)” to the crossings

in Easterwood, the Court “conclude{d] that [the plaintiff’s]

grade crossing claim [was] not pre-empted.” Jd. at 673.

© Congress has dealt with railroad safety through the FRSA and

the Highway Safety Act (23 U.S.C. §§ 101 et seq.). The Secretary

prescribed 23 C.F.R. § 646.214 pursuant to both of those statutes.

See Easterwood, 507 U.S. at 663 & n.4. The regulations were

promulgated by the Secretary through the Federal Highway

Administration (“FHWA”).

15

This analysis would seem to make preemption self-

evident in this case, where the federal regulations are

applicable. Here, the Tennessee Department of Transportation

submitted a proposal to the FHWA for a state-wide project to

upgrade safety at railroad crossings. The FHWA approved

installation of a passive warning device at the Oakwood

Church Road Crossing and, consequently, federal funds

participated in the installation of the warning device at issue.

173 F.3d at 388. Under Easterwood, the FHWA’s

authorization of funds accordingly triggered the preemptive

effect of the relevant regulations, and that should have been

the end of the court of appeals’ analysis."’

2. The court of appeals took a different approach. It

read Easterwood to stand for the proposition that the

participation of federal funding is necessary but not sufficient

to establish preemption. In addition to determining whether

subsections (b)(3) or (4) are applicable, the Sixth Circuit

believed that a court must determine that the Secretary in fact

made a site-specific determination about the propriety of the

particular device used. 173 F.3d at 393. Thus, the court of

appeals concluded that, for preemption to apply in this case,

the railroad had to show not only that federal funds

participated in erection of the warning device, but also that

the FHWA actually analyzed the device installed at the

Oakwood Church Road Crossing. Because the crossing in

'! A substantial majority of the courts to address this issue have

agreed. See, e.g., Ingram v. CSX Transp., Inc., 146 F.3d 858

(ilth Cir. 1998); Armijo v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co.,

87 F.3d 1188 (10th Cir. 1996); Elrod v. Burlington N. R.R. Co.,

68 F.3d 241 (8th Cir. 1995); Hester v. CSX Transp., Inc., 61 F.3d

382 (Sth Cir. 1995).

16

this case had a passive warning device,” § 646.214(b)(4) is

the applicable provision of the regulations. Under the terms

of subsection (b)(4), the warning device was subject to the

“approval” of the FHWA. In the Sixth Circuit’s view, the

authorization of funds was insufficient to constitute

“approval” within the meaning of subsection (b)(4).

This approach, however, simply disregarded both the

plain terms of the statutory language and this Court’s analysis

in Easterwood. Under the statute, preemption turns on

whether a federal regulation “cover[s] the subject matter of

the State requirement.” 49 U.S.C. § 20106. That inarguably

is the case here; the Secretary’s regulations address the nature

of federally-aided warning devices required at railway

crossings, which plainly is the subject matter of the state

common law rule relied upon by respondent. Easterwood,

meanwhile, gave the statute its plain reading, holding that

preemption is required when the Secretary’s regulations are

“applicable.” 507 U.S. at 670. And here, of course, the

regulations are applicable. As the Tenth Circuit explained in

similar circumstances, “the issue is not what warning system

the federal government determines to be necessary, but

whether the final authority to decide what warning system is

needed has been taken out of the railroad’s and the state’s

hands.” Armijo v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co., 87

F.3d 1188, 1192 (10th Cir. 1996).

In addition, the Sixth Circuit’s decision essentially

rewrites the Secretary’s regulations. The Secretary prescribed

rules that outline the procedures by which a State may submit

'2 Passive warning devices are “traffic control devices * * *

located at or in advance of grade crossings to indicate the presence

of a crossing but which do not change aspect upon the approach or

presence of a train.” 23 C.F.R. § 646.204. Active warning

devices include “flashing light signals, automatic gates and similar

devices, as well as manually operated devices and crossing

watchmen.” Ibid.

17

proposals for federal-aid projects to the FHWA, including

projects at railroad crossings, and the methods by which such

projects are to be approved by the FHWA. See 23 C.F.R. §§

630.201-630.205 (outlining procedures for submitting

proposals to the FHWA); 23 C.F.R. § 630.102 (“The

purpose of this subpart is to prescribe policies for authorizing

Federal-aid projects.”). Before the FHWA may give

authorization to proceed, the requirements outlined in the

regulations must be satisfied."* Moreover, no funds for a

railroad crossing project may be authorized “unless proper

safety protective devices complying with safety standards

determined by the Secretary at that time as being adequate

shall be installed or be in operation at any * * * railroad

grade crossing * * *.” 23 U.S.C. § 109%(e). And the

selection of a passive warning device installed at a particular

crossing is “subject to the approval of FHWA.” 23 C.F.R.

§ 646.214(b)(4).

Accordingly, under the regulatory scheme, the FHWA

may not authorize or fund the installation of warning devices

unless the devices meet federal guidelines. The Sixth Circuit

nonetheless held that the mere authorization of funds did not

suffice to demonstrate FHWA approval; instead, the court of

appeals believed that there had to be additional evidence that

the FHWA made individualized findings approving the

warning device at issue. There is, however, no requirement

in the regulations that the FHWA document or make specific

findings relating to each warning device that it “approv[es].”

The court of appeals’ holding thus hinders the FHWA’s

administrative functions and imposes onerous burdens on the

3 See, e.g., 23 C.F.R. § 630.106(a) (“The FHWA issuance of

an authorization to proceed with a Federal-aid project shall be in

response to a written request from the State highway agency

(SHA). Authorization can be given only after applicable

prerequisite requirements of Federal laws and implementing

regulations and directives have been satisfied.”).

ee ————

18

agency that appear nowhere in the regulatory language. That

constitutes impermissible judicial interference with the

FHWA’s regulatory scheme.

Indeed, the Sixth Circuit’s decision is premised on a non

sequitur. The court of appeals assumed that the absence of

evidence that each warning device was analyzed under

subsections (b)(3) and (4) indicated that the regulatory

requirements were disregarded. In fact, however, because the

FHWA is barred from authorizing funds for warning devices

unless the devices meet adequate federal standards, the

decision to authorize funds conclusively establishes “approval

of the FHWA” within the meaning of the statute.“ See

Ingram v. CSX Transp., Inc., 146 F.3d 858, 865 (11th Cir.

1998) (“[A]n express finding, however, is not the only way

for the Secretary to have ‘approved’ of the safety devices that

were installed * * *. ([I}n authorizing the expenditure of

federal funds to install the passive devices * * * we presume

that the Secretary approved of those devices.”); Hester v.

CSX Transp., Inc., 61 F.3d 382, 387 (Stt Cir. 1995) (“The

fact that federal funds participated in the installation of the

‘4 The federal government agrees with this reading. In

Easterwood, the United States took the position that

[t]he scope of 23 C.F.R. 646.214(b) indicates that for federally

funded projects the Secretary has covered the subject matter of

what safety devices are appropriate. The regulation requires

gate arms in certain circumstances, and requires FHWA

approval of the safety devices in all other circumstances.

Thus, the warning devices in place at a crossing improved

with the use of federal funds have, by definition, been

specifically found to be adequate under a regulation issued by

the Secretary. Any state rule that more or different crossing

devices are necessary at a federally funded crossing is

therefore preempted.

Br. for the United States at 24 (emphasis in original), Nos. 91-790

and 91-1206.

19

warning devices legally presupposes that the Secretary

determined that the safety devices installed were adequate to

their task.”).'°

C. The Goals Behind The FRSA Are Promoted By

Preemption

The court of appeals attempted to justify its decision by

proclaiming that “the narrow approach is more consistent

with the FRSA’s goals of promoting railroad safety, reducing

railroad accidents, and reducing deaths and injuries as a result

of such accidents.” 173 F.3d at 395. In fact, the court of

appeals’ overly facile analysis conflicts with the policies of

the FRSA.

1. As an initial matter, it is no answer to an express

preemption provision that the application of state law is

consistent with the policies of the statute mandating

preemption. The FRSA, in addition to expressing a policy of

promoting railroad safety, also determined that doing so in a

nationally uniform way was the best method of achieving that

goal. Indeed, Congress explicitly declared that laws “related

to railroad safety shall be nationally uniform to the extent

practicable.” See 49 U.S.C. § 20106. When a litigant tries

to avoid preemption in such circumstances, “it is not enough

to say that the ultimate goal of both federal and state law” is

identical. International Paper Co. v. Ouellette, 479 U.S.

'S See also Kennan v. Dow Chem. Co., 717 F. Supp. 799, 810

(M.D. Fla. 1989) (“If Congress has taken away the ability of the

states to regulate * * * and assigned the regulation * * * to a

federal agency, Congress has determined that such an assignment

promotes the general welfare. Whether that federal regulatory

agency carries out its function based on all available and necessary

information is, therefore, irrelevant to a preemption inquiry.”).

That a particular decision of the Secretary might be subject to

challenge under principles of administrative law does not bear on

the question of preemption.

eee eee

20

481, 494 (1987). As the Court has explained, state law is

“pre-empted if it interferes with the methods by which the

federal statute was designed to reach th[at] goal.” Jd. at 494

(citing Michigan Canners & Freezers Ass’n v. Agricultural

Mktg. & Bargaining Bd., 467 U.S. 461, 477 (1984)

(emphasis added)); see also Morales v. Trans World Airlines,

Inc., 504 U.S. 374, 386-87 (preemption provisions preempt

consistent as well as inconsistent state regulations); Wisconsin

Dep't of Industry, Labor & Human Relations v. Gould, 475

U.S. 282, 286-87 (1986) (National Labor Relations Act

prohibits not only inconsistent state regulation but also

precludes state remedies for conduct violative of that Act).

2. Although the court of appeals did not give a terribly

clear explanation of how it reached its result, it appears to

have been motivated principally by the feeling that

preemption somehow would give petitioner a benefit to which

it is not entitled. The court described 23 C.F.R. §§

646.214(b)(3) and (4) as “a system of incentives designed to

increase safety at grade crossings” (173 F.3d at 395),

asserting that in exchange for improving the safety of.

crossings, railroads are given immunity from state tort actions

if they “work with the state to take the desired action.” Jbid.

The Sixth Circuit criticized the approach taken by the

majority of courts — which recognizes that federal funding,

by itself, is sufficient to trigger preemption — because it

believed that those holdings allow “railroads [to] get the prize

[of preemption] whether or not they have taken the desired

action.” Ibid.

In fact, however, it is the Sixth Circuit’s holding that

turns the statutory approach on its head, leading to a result

that could not have been intended by Congress. That court

would hold railroads liable for the decision whether to install

a particular device at a given crossing. But as Easterwood

explained, subsections (b)(3) and (4) of the regulations

“effectively set the terms under which railroads are to

participate in the improvement of crossings.” 507 U.S. at

21

670. Subsection (b)(3) limits a railroad’s involvement in the

selection of warning devices to “participation in diagnostic

teams which may recommend the use or nonuse of crossing

gates.” Id. at 671.'° Likewise, under subsection (b)(4)

“railroad participation in the initial determination of ‘the type

of warning device to be installed’ at particular crossings is

subject to the Secretary’s approval.” Jbid. Thus, as we note

above, “for projects in which federal funds participate in the

installation of warning devices, the Secretary has determined

the devices to be installed and the means by which railroads

are to participate in their selection.” Jbid.

In this instance, the State of Tennessee sought approval

for a state-wide project to improve safety at railroad

crossings, which included the installation of a passive warning

device at the Oakwood Church Road Crossing. The FHWA

approved the project and authorized funding. These decisions,

and the regulatory structure, left no room for additional

actions by petitioner. To nevertheless impose liability on

petitioner for decisions taken by the State and the Secretary

— decisions over which petitioner had no control — would

convert the FRSA into a Kafkaesque regime. And needless

to say, if railroads may be punished under state law for

complying with federal regulations, the preemptive intent of

the FRSA would be wholly undermined. It is impossible to

believe that Congress intended such a result.

Furthermore, the unfairness of subjecting railroads to

state-law tort actions would be exacerbated by the difficulty

they would have in defending against those actions. Congress

has provided that “reports, surveys, schedules, lists or data

compiled or collected for the purpose of identifying|[,]

evaluating or planning the safety enhancement” of railroad

crossings are inadmissible as evidence in state or federal

16 Indeed, as petitioner explains (at Pet. 11 n.13), Tennessee

excludes railroads from diagnostic teams.

EN

22

courts. 23 U.S.C. § 409. That restriction would make it

virtually impossible for petitioner to obtain or use information

that could demonstrate the care with which the warning

device was selected and installed. This further demonstrates

the unfair consequences that would result if the court of

appeals’ decision is allowed to stand. And it confirms that

Congress could not have intended litigation to proceed in this

area.

3. Finally, the court of appeals wholly disregarded

Congress’s explicit desire to establish uniformity in the laws

relating to railroad safety. The court of appeals’ decision

contradicts that policy by exposing railroads to multiple and

possibly inconsistent obligations imposed by the laws of all of

the States. Under such an approach, differing jury outcomes

— both within a State and among States — are certain to

arise. The regime that inevitably would follow from the court

of appeals’ decision would bear no resemblance to the

uniform regulatory scheme Congress intended.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

HUGH F. YOUNG, Jr. KENNETH S. GELLER*

Product Liability Advisory CHARLES ROTHFELD

Council, Inc. CRAIG ISENBERG

1850 Centennial Park Dr. Mayer, Brown & Platt

Suite 510 1909 K Street, N.W.

Reston, VA 2019] Washington, D.C. 20006

(703) 264-5300 (202) 263-3000

‘) * Counsel of Record

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Amicus Curiae Brief — Norfolk Southern R. Co. v. Shanklin · 529 U.S. 344 | Frix