Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Locke
Supreme Court brief2000
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Poa -
fa > f
|") SG
Nos E1701 & 98-
IN THE OFFICE OF THE CLCRK
Supreme Court of the pi 8.8
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
-and-
THE INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT
TANKER OWNERS (INTERTANKO),
Petitioner,
Vv.
GARY LOCKE, Governor of the State of Washington; CHRISTINE O.
GREGOIRE, Attorney General of the State of Washington; BARBARA
J. HERMAN, Administrator of the State of Washington Office of Marine
Safety, DAVID MACEACHERN, Prosecutor of Whatcom County;
K. CARL LONG, Prosecutor of Skagit County; JAMES H. KRIDER,
Prosecutor of Snohomish County, NORMAN MALENG, Prosecutor
of King County, NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE COUNCIL;
WASHINGTON ENVIRONMENTAL COUNCIL and OCEAN
ADVOCATES,
Respondents.
On Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
_————————————————————ee
BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE PRINCE WILLIAM SOUND
REGIONAL CITIZENS’ ADVISORY COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
_———————————————————————————————————— eee
AvruM M. Gross
SusAN A. BurKeE*
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Prince William Sound Regional
Citizens’ Advisory Council
424 North Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 586-2777
* Counsel of Record
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Table of Cited Authorities ..........cccceceee:
Interest of Amicus Curiac ..........2.ecseeeees
Summary TD Vic sinigna don caver cdones
FE KUNG k ss Moke who Cet ab ekas cee gevwen
I. Section 1018 Of Opa 90 Specifically Allows
States To Adopt Operating Standards For
Tankers In State Waters That Exceed Federal
PE a Uiectecnepelsinewtulecde ves
ae IID ao ar Say Be eg oe
B. Section 1018 Must Be Interpreted in
Light of the Impetus for the Enactment
of OPA 90 as a Whole. .............
C. A Narrow Construction of Section 1018
Conflicts with States’ Conceded
Authority to Regulate Oil Spill Response
Activities by Oil Tankers. ...........
Il. Complete Federal Preemption Of Tanker
Regulations May Jeopardize Existing
Cooperative Relationships Between States
And The Federal Government That Have
Been Successful In Reducing The Risk Of
Oil Tanker Spills In Prince William Sound.
Ss &¢Beeecwt 48 6 6 2 6.6/0 6.0.60 44:60 020 20 PO 2&2 8.82.8 862 0:6
Page
12
15
19
22
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases:
Askew v. American Waterway's Operators, 411 U.S.
32S (1973) oo 0ccesce0sce s0aebwaeeeeeeane 15, 16
California v. ARC American Corp., 490 U.S. 93
(1969) 2. i onc vutnctaveucueuseeeeeennenes 10
California v. Zook, 336 U.S. 725 (1949) ......... 16
Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504
(1992) ....cccvusccaseud span eam enneIEeES 9
Cooley v. Board of Wardens of the Port of
Philadelphia, 53 U.S. (12 How.) 299 (1851) ... 16, 21
Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan Association vy.
De la Cuerta, 458 U.S. 141 (1982) ........... 9
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) ........ 10
Huron Portland Cement Co. v. City of Detroit,
362 U.S. 440 (19GB) cio.es civat¥iaku sana 16
Kelly v. Washington, 302 U.S. 1 (1937) ......... 16
Ray v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 435 U.S. 151 (1978)
il
Cited Authorities
Page
The International Association of Independent Tanker
Owners v. Locke, 148 F.3d 1053 (9th Cir. 1998)
a 8 a 11
United States v. Fisher, 2 Cranch (U.S.) 358 (1804)
PURER ERSSNEENES UO O00 Cob eoe ie ccescecees 14
Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259 (1987) ............ 14
Statutes:
EE ee iaducevcocckeees 5,17
SOUR, GF STORMEME) onc c ccc cece ccc cies. 20
18 AAC 75.400 through 18 AAC 75.495 ........ 17
IE Ua Wk cet ba Cac ascccedces 17
SE Re ne 17
es oda Oui ds occ cece cece 20
EE ES Ee 4
ee cites en 17
Public Law 101-380 (August 18, 1990) .......... 2
iv
Cited Authorities
Page
OPA 90, § 1018 ... 2. cece cece cree creeeecens passim
OPA 90, § 4116 2... ccc cece eee ener een e ees 21
OPA 90, § SOO] 2... cc ccc cece cece reese encees 4
OPA 90, § S002 2... ccc ccc ccc ccc ee ewnecesens 11
OPA 90, § S002(aM 2B)... 6. ccc ee 2, 13
OPA 90, § S002(aX 2D)... . 6. ccc ene 3
OPA 90, § S002(aM2MG) .. 6... eee ees 3
OPA 90, § SO002(aM2MH) ... 6 cee ees 3
OPA 90, § SOOQ(G) .... nce cccececvcveseneess 3
OPA 90, § SOO2(GMOMF) .. 6... 13
OPA 90, § SOO2(€) .. 2. cece cece eee ew ee eens 4
OPA 90, § SOO2(0) .. 1... cece cece ceeeeeenee 3,14
Other Authorities:
cKeon ® @ B+) 8 ||) | 5,17
33 C.F.R. § 168.01(a) ... 2... cc eee ee eee eees 21
33 C.F.R. § 168.40 2... ccc ccc cece eee ences 21
Cited Authorities
Economic, Social, and Psychological Impact
Assessment of the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill,
Prepared for Oiled Mayors Subcommittee, Alaska
Conference of Mayors (Impact Assessment, Inc.,
RS ee eee
Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Restoration Plan, Update on
Injured Resources and Services, at 3 (Exxon
Valdez Oil Spill Trustee Council, March 1999) .
Marine Accident Report, Grounding of the U.S.
Tankship Exxon Valdez on Bligh Reef, Prince
William Sound near Valdez, Alaska, March 24,
1989, National Transportation Safety Board,
PB90-916405, NTSB/Mar-90/09 .............
Ernest Piper, The Exxon Valdez Oil Spill, Final
Report, State of Alaska Response (Alaska
Department of Environmental Conservation
1993); Economic, Social, and Psychological
Impact Assessment of the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill,
Prepared for Oiled Mayors Subcommittee, Alaska
Conference of Mayors (impact , Inc.,
ST BE SEED ok cc nncdeceneuss ste te 4o%
Prince William Sound Risk Assessment, Final Report,
December 15, 1996, Executive Summary at3 ..
13
21
vi
Cited Authorities
Stanley D. Rice, et al., editors, Proceedings of the
Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Symposium, held at
Anchorage, Alaska, February 2-5, 1993
(American Fisheries Society, Bethesda, Maryland
1996); Richard Townsend and Burr Heneman, The
Exxon Valdez Oil Spill: A Management Analysis
(Center for Marine Conservation 1989) .......
Richard Townsend and Burr Heneman, The Exxon
Valdez Oil Spill: A Management Analysis (Center
for Marine Conservation 1989) ......-.+++5+:
Page
BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE PRINCE WILLIAM
SOUND REGIONAL CITIZENS’ ADVISORY COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS'
The Prince William Sound Regional Citizens’ Advisory
Council respectfully submits this brief as amicus curiae in
support of the Respondents.
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
The Prince William Sound Regional Citizens’ Advisory
Council (hereafter “RCAC”) is a non-profit corporation
organized under the laws of the State of Alaska and
incorporated on December 26, 1989. RCAC was created in
the months following the Exxon Valdez oil spill, after
representatives of Prince William Sound commercial fishing
interests approached Alyeska Pipeline Service Company’
(hereafter “Alyeska”) and persuaded Alyeska of the need
for citizen oversight of the Valdez oil terminal and the tanker
operations within Prince William Sound. RCAC was initially
comprised of representatives from the municipalities that
were affected by the Exxon Valdez oil spill, as well as
representatives from environmental, Native, and commercial
fishing organizations.
1. This Brief was authored solely by Avrum M. Gross and
Susan A. Burke. No person or entity other than the Prince William
Sound Regional Citizens’ Advisory Council made a monetary
contribution to the preparation or submission of the Brief.
2. Alyeska Pipeline Service Company is the operator of the
Trans-Alaska Pipeline as well as the marine terminal located in
Valdez, Alaska, from which North Slope crude oil is loaded onto
tankers for transport to refineries outside of Alaska. It is a corporation
all of whose shares are held by the major oil companies producing
and shipping oil from Alaska’s North Slope.
2
On February 8, 1990, RCAC and Alyeska entered into a
contract, which will remain in effect as long as oil continues
to flow through the Trans-Alaska Pipeline System. Under
the contract Alyeska provides substantial annual funding
enabling RCAC to carry out certain contractual
responsibilities for the benefit of Alyeska and the public.
Those obligations include monitoring oil tanker operations
in Prince William Sound, providing local and regional input
into the design of mitigation measures for oil spills,
reviewing oil spill response and prevention plans and the
capabilities of the terminal and tankers to comply with those
plans, undertaking studies relating to spill prevention and
mitigation of environmental impacts of terminal and tanker
operations, and increasing public awareness of the actual and
potential environmental impacts of terminal and tanker
operations.
The existence of a Regional Citizens’ Advisory Council
for Prince William Sound was subsequently required by
federal law. Immediately after the catastrophic spill in March
1989, Congress began work on legislation aimed at
preventing such spills from occurring again. The result was
the Oil Pollution Act of 1990.° Section 5002 of OPA 90
mandates the establish.nent of regional Citizens’ monitoring
groups for Prince William Sound and Cook Inlet. Section
5002 begins by outlining a number of Congressional findings,
including that “many people believe that complacency on
the part of the industry and government personnel was one
of the contributing factors of the Exxon Valdez oil spill,
that “the present system of regulation and oversight of crude
oil terminals has degenerated into a process of continual
3. Public Law 101-380 (August 18, 1990) (hereafter “OPA 90”).
4. OPA 90, § 5002(a(2\B).
3
mistrust and confrontation,” that “a mechanism should be
established which fosters the long-term partnership of
industry, government, and local communities in overseeing
compliance with environmental concerns in the operation
of crude oil terminals,”* and that “only when local citizens
are involved in the process will the trust develop that is
necessary to change the present system from confrontation
to consensus.” Section 5002(d) then establishes a Regional
Citizens’ Advisory Council for Prince William Sound.
Section 5002(0) provides that in lieu of the Council
established under Section 5002(d), an alternative voluntary
advisory council may perform the functions of the Prince
William Sound citizens’ oversight program if Alyeska
provides a minimum level of funding under a contract with
a citizens’ advisory committee for the duration of the
operation of the Trans-Alaska Pipeline System and if the
President annually certifies that the citizens’ advisory
committee “fosters the general goals and purposes of this
section and is broadly representative of the communities and
interests in the vicinity of the terminal facilities and Prince
William Sound.” Each year since the enactment of OPA 90,
RCAC has been certified as the alternative voluntary advisory
group to fulfill the citizens’ oversight and monitori
established in OPA 90.* gh onitoring duties
5. OPA 90, § 5002(a)(2)(G).
6. OPA 90, § 5002(a)(2)(D).
7. OPA 90, § 5002(a)(2)(H).
| 8. RCAC’s current membership consists of two classes —
voting members and ex-officio, non-voting members. Its voting
members are representatives nominated by the following
(Cont'd)
4
Since its formation in 1989 and during its nearly 10 years
as the official OPA 90 citizens’ monitoring group for Prince
William Sound, RCAC has been a leader in the area of tanker
monitoring and oil spill prevention. RCAC closely monitors
the operations of the Alyeska oil terminal in Valdez as well as
the operations of tankers while in transit through Prince William
Sound and while berthed at the Alyeska terminal. RCAC has
been actively involved in reviewing and commenting on the oil
spill contingency plans prepared by both Alyeska, as operator
of the Valdez terminal, and the tankers that transit Prince
William Sound.’ It has also conducted major studies relating to
(Cont'd)
organizations and municipal governments: The Alaska State
Chamber of Commerce, Cordova District Fishermen United,
Chugach Alaska Corporation, City of Cordova, City of Homer, City
of Kodiak, City of Seldovia, City of Seward, City of Valdez, City
of Whittier, Kenai Peninsula Borough, Kodiak Village Mayors
Association, Kodiak Island Borough, Prince William Sound
Aquaculture Corporation, Community of Chenega, Community of
Tatitlek, Alaska Wilderness Recreation and Tourism Association,
and the Oil Spill Region Environmental Coalition. The following
organizations have designated an individual to act as an ex-officio,
non-voting member of RCAC: The United States Environmental
Protection Agency, the United States Coast Guard, the United States
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, the United States
Forest Service, the United States Department of the Interior, the
Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, the Alaska
Department of Fish and Game, the Alaska Department of Natural
Resources, and the Division of Emergency Services (Alaska
Department of Military and Veterans Affairs), and the Prince
William Sound Science Center (including the Oil Spill Recovery
Institute established in Section 5001 of OPA 90).
9. Alaska Statutes (“AS”) section 46.04.030 prohibits a person
from operating an oil terminal facility, a pipeline, an exploration
(Cont'd)
5
tanker operations in Prince William Sound. In 1993 and 1994,
for instance, RCAC participated in a two part Prince William
Sound Disabled Tanker Towing Study, along with
representatives of the Prince William Sound Tanker Association,
Alyeska, the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
equipment, personnel and procedures for emergency towing of
oil tankers in Prince William Sound. The study included the
use of computer simulations to assess the capability of existing
escort vessels and to examine alternatives that could enhance
escort and rescue towing capabilities in a “worst case failure
scenario.” More recently, RCAC participated in a 1996 study,
along with representatives of the Prince William Sound oil
shippers, the Alaska Department of Environmental
Conservation, and the Coast Guard, to assess the risks associated
with oil transportation in Prince William Sound. The Prince
William Sound Risk Assessment Project, with a total price tag
of over $2,000,000, identified and evaluated the risks under
current and proposed risk reduction measures, and developed
Statistical models by which the efficacy of future risk reduction
measures can be evaluated.'°
(Cont'd)
facility, a production facility or a tank vessel or barge within the
State unless the person has an oil discharge prevention and
contingency plan that has been approved by the Department of
Environmental Conservation and the person is in compliance with
the plan. The plans must set out in detail the actions that will be
taken in the event of a spill, the equipment that will be used, and
where that equipment will be located. Contingency plans are also
required under federal law. See 33 U.S.C. § 1321(j
§ 155.1010. § 1321()) and 33 C.F.R.
10. In addition to these major studies involving tanker
operations, RCAC has also conducted a number of other scientific
(Cont'd)
6
RCAC does not appear here simply to bear first person
witness to the horrors of a catastrophic spill such as the Exxon
Valdez spill of March 24, 1989. Those horrors have been
adequately catalogued elsewhere.'' RCAC is here because it
(Cont'd)
studies, both on its own and in conjunction with other organizations,
on a wide variety of topics relating to oil spill response and prevention.
For example, RCAC has studied the environmental impacts of Alyeska’s
ballast water treatment facility as well as the impact of oil vapors
released into the atmosphere during tanker loading; it has conducted
studies of the incidence and trajectory of icebergs in the tanker lanes in
and out of Prince William Sound; it annually samples the sediments of
Prince William Sound for the presence of hydrocarbons; it has sponsored
symposiums dealing with prevention of, and response to, fire hazards
on tankers in transit through Prince William Sound and at the Valdez
terminal loading berths; it is currently involved in research, in
conjunction with the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center, to
determine whether aquatic nuisance species (non-indigenous species)
are arriving in Prince William Sound via tanker ballast water in order
to avoid the type of problems that have occurred in the Great Lakes
and San Francisco Bay; and it has prepared planning materials for local
communities to deal with the social upheavals that a catastrophic oil
spill inevitably brings.
11. The enormous environmental, economic and social impacts
of the Exxon Valdez spill have been documented in a host of
publications. See, for example, Stanley D. Rice, et al., editors,
Proceedings of the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Symposium, held at
Anchorage, Alaska, February 2-5, 1993 (American Fisheries Society,
Bethesda, Maryland 1996); Richard Townsend and Burr Heneman, The
Exxon Valdez Oil Spill: A Management Analysis (Center for Marine
Conservation 1989); Emest Piper, The Exxon Valdez Oil Spill, Final
Report, State of Alaska Response (Alaska Department of Environmental
Conservation 1993); Economic, Social, and Psychological Impact
Assessment of the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill, Prepared for Oiled Mayors
Subcommittee, Alaska Conference of Mayors (Impact Assessment, Inc.,
November 15, 1990). ‘
(Cont'd)
>
believes the Court’s decision in this case will have a major
impact on the degree to which similar spills can be prevented
in the future. The case calls into question the authority of
State governments, including the State of Alaska, to adopt
local rules governing certain aspects of oil tanker operations
within their jurisdictions. Petitioner Intertanko argues that
States may not adopt rules that affect tanker operations in
any manner whatsoever if there is a federal statute or
regulation that deals with the same subject matter. The
sweeping concept of federal preemption that Intertanko urges
this Court to adopt would invalidate nearly all types of State
regulation of local tanker operations, regardless of whether
the State rules are identical to the federal standards, whether
the State rules deal with matters that are primarily of local
concern, and whether State rules that impose additional
requirements are compatible with the federal standards. The
Respondents argue that there is no conflict here between State
and federal authority and that applicable federal law must
be read as authorizing the exercise of State police power to
insure the safety of the coastal environment.
(Cont'd)
Even after ten years, Prince William Sound has yet to recover
fully from the Exxon Valdez oil spill. In a March 1999 publication, the
Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Trustee Council reported that of the various
injured resources, only bald eagles and river otters had fully recovered.
Other species, including black oystercatchers, clams. Pacific herring,
mussels, marbled murrelets, pink salmon, sockeye salmon, and sea otters
were still “recovering.” Listed as “not recovering” were killer whales,
listed as not fully recovered were recreation and tourism uses in Prince
William Sound, Alaska Native subsistence resources, commercial
fishing, and passive uses. Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Restoration Plan,
Update on Injured Resources and Services, at 3 (Exxon Valdez Oil
Spill Trustee Council, March 1999).
Because of its unique position as a citizens’ monitoring
organization, RCAC brings to this discussion the outlook of
the residents of Alaska who have seen first hand the
consequences of a major oil spill. RCAC believes that the
United States Congress, in enacting OPA 90, shared RCAC’s
concern that it was not enough to have only the federal
government regulating oil tanker operations. Congress
intended that State governments, with specific local
knowledge of coastal marine environments, were to play a
significant and substantive role in the exercise of their police
power in order to supplement federal regulation of tanker
operations. So long as the State rules are not in actual conflict
with federal requirements, there is no reason for States to be
precluded from adopting and enforcing those rules.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Preemption of State authority to adopt regulations
relating to the operation of tankers in State waters depends
on Congressional intent. Section 1018 of OPA 90 specifically
disclaims any intent to preempt the power of States to impose
additional requirements “with respect to” or “relating to”
the discharge of oil. This disclaimer should be construed
broadly so as to allow State regulation of oil tanker operations
for several reasons. First, a broad construction of the
disclaimer is consistent with the impetus that gave rise to
OPA 90 in the first place — the inadequacy of federal
regulatory efforts in Prince William Sound that contributed
in part to the Exxon Valdez oil spill. Additional participation
by States and citizen groups like RCAC was encouraged,
not prohibited by OPA 90. Second, the line that Petitioner
Intertanko seeks to draw between valid State authority to
regulate the efforts of oil tankers to clean up after a spill and
invalid State authority to regulate tanker operations to
9
prevent spills is illusory. Since Section 1018 of OPA 90
clearly allows States to adopt regulations affecting the
operations of tankers in the area of spill response, that Section
by implication must also allow State regulation of integrally
related oil tanker operations for the purpose of preventing
spills, so long as the State regulations are not in actual
conflict with analogous federal laws. Finally, Congressional
intent should not be implied here to preempt State regulation,
because total preemption will disrupt a successful partnership
between the United States Coast Guard and State authorities
that has developed since the Exxon Valdez oil spill and that
has led to safer transportation of oil throughout the coastal
waters of the United States.
ARGUMENT
I.
SECTION 1018 OF OPA 90 SPECIFICALLY ALLOWS
STATES TO ADOPT OPERATING STANDARDS FOR
TANKERS IN STATE WATERS THAT EXCEED
FEDERAL STANDARDS.
A. Introduction
All parties in this case recognize that the federal
government has the authority to preempt State regulation of
particular matters by expressly forbidding State action.
C. ipolione v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504, 516 (1992).
Preemption may also occur when the Congress acts to so
occupy a field with federal legislation “as to make reasonable
the inference that Congress left no room for the States to
supplement it.” Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan Association
v. De la Cuerta, 458 U.S. 141, 153 (1982) (quoting Rice v.
10
Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947)). Finally,
preemption can occur when “compliance with both state and
federal law is impossible or when the state law ‘stands as an
obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the full
purposes and objectives of Congress.’ California v. ARC
American Corp., 490 U.S. 93, 100-01 (1989) (quoting Hines v.
Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67 (1941)).
All of these preemption principles ultimately depend on
the intent of Congress. The parties and amici curiae here have
focused on Congressional intent and have attempted to
demonctrate its existence or lack of it from a variety of sources.
A basic element in all of those discussions is just how this Court
should interpret OPA 90, and specifically, Section 1018 of that
Act, which provides:
(a) PRESERVATION OF STATE AUTHORITIES . . . Nothing
in this Act or the Act of March 3, 1851 shall
(1) affect, or be construed or interpreted as
preempting, the authority of any State or political
subdivision thereof from imposing any additional
liability or requirements with respect to
(A) the discharge of oil or other pollution
by oil within such State...
(c) ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS AND LIABILITIES;
PENALTIES. Nothing in this Act, or the Act of March
3, 1851... shall in any way affect, or be construed
to affect, the authority of the United States or any
State or political subdivision thereof
(1) to impose additional liability or additional
requirements; or
(2) to impose, or to determine the amount of,
any fine or penalty (whether criminal or civil in
er emt cal
relating to the discharge or substantial threat
discharge, of oil. =e
in Title lof OPA 90 and certain pk erm oe rnemnaterom '
the passage of OPA 90 suggest that Congress intended a narrow
reading of this disclaimer — one that pertains only to State
response to an actual spill, and to liability and damages for an
Ce ne aumened spill. The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals
aaa eee te
er interpretation, one that allows States to adopt oil
spill prevention regulations pertaining to the operation of vessels
in State waters that exceed federal requirements. '”
The basic principles of federal preemption were discussed
at length in the decision below and will be adequately presented
by the parties to this case. RCAC can add little to that general
discussion. RCAC, as the citizens’ monitoring organization
mandated by Section 5002 of OPA 90, can, however provide
some specific insights into that Act that have relevance to the
interpretive issue before the Court. The first pertains to the
ren. py ee the passage of OPA 90; the second
to tl internal consistency of the Act. Both bear on the
ee ne ny ean peeitinally oh tee conpe of the
laimer in Section 1018 of the Act, which all parties recognize
play a key role in determining Congressional intent in this case
12. The International Associati
Owners (Intertanko) v. Locke, 148 F.3d 1 haa
12
B. Section 1018 Must Be Interpreted in Light of the
Impetus for the Enactment of OPA 90 as a Whole.
OPA 90 had its genesis in the most catastrophic oil spill
in the nation’s history — one that devastated the pristine
marine environment of Prince William Sound, a major
fishing ground and tourism destination. The spill was caused
not only by errors and omissions by the Exxon Valdez master
and crew, but also from a nearly complete failure by federal
authorities, principally the Coast Guard, to fulfill existing
statutory responsibilities. For instance, the National
Transportation Safety Board’s inquiry into the Exxon Valdez
spill concluded that:
The Coast Guard was not maintaining an eifective
VTS [Vessel Traffic System] in Prince William
Sound at the time of the EXXON VALDEZ
grounding.
The board went on to note:
... [T)he VTC [Vessel Traffic Control!)
watchstander had ample time to call the vessel to
ascertain the intentions of the navigation watch.
Any inquiry from the VTC regarding the vessel's
intentions probably would have alerted the third
mate to turn earlier or to use more rudder A
subsequent follow-up inquiry from the VTC
would surely have alerted him to the fact that his
vessel could be standing into danger and that a
sharp right turn back toward the traffic lanes was
needed. Any action by the third mate to turn
13
earlier or to use more rudder could have been
sufficient to steer the vessel eS.
The Regional Citizens’ Advisory Councils were
established by Congress for the specific purpose of
combatting what “many people” thought was “complacency”
on the part of the government and industry in monitoring
tanker activities.'* The councils established in OPA 90 are
charged with duties specifically related to crude oi) tanker
operations. For example, the councils’ functions include
recommending “site specific regulations intended to
minimize the impact of . . . crude oil tankers’ operations,”
suggesting “modifications of crude oi] tanker operations and
maintenance in Prince William Sound and Cook Inlet
intended to minimize the risk and mitigate the impact of oil
spills,” and suggesting modifications to “oil spill prevention
and contingency plans ... for crude oil tankers in Prince
William Sound and Cook Inlet intended to prevent and
respond to an oil spill.”'’ These duties were obviously not
imposed on the citizens’ councils established in OPA 90 as
a reflection of Congress's satisfaction with the job that
federal agencies had previously done in monitoring and
controlling tanker operations in Prince William Sound. They
were imposed because federal regulation, in and by itself,
had failed in its most basic purpose — to prevent a spill.
Congress sought not to protect federal authority in OPA 90
13. Marine Accident Report, Grounding of the U.S. Tankship
Exxon Valdez on Bligh Reef, Prince eee nentane Valdez,
Alaska, March 24, 1989, National Transportation Safety Board
PB90-916405, NTSB/Mar-90/09, at page 153.
14. OPA 90, § $002(a)(2)\(B).
1S. OPA 90, § 5002(d)\(6)(F).
14
so much as to insure that there were other bodies in addition
to federal regulatory agencies that would play some role in
this crucial area. It is consistent with that Congressional
intent that States, which have particular local concerns, play
a major role as well."*
It is an established principle of legislative interpretation
that in ascertaining the intent of Congress, this Court will
look to all the circumstances that surround the passage of an
act.'’ Had OPA 90 been enacted to insure the exclusivity of
federal regulation —— to insulate it from other voices because
the effectiveness of federal regulation had been or would be
jeopardized by additional State’s regulation — Intertanko’s
argument for a narrow construction of Section 1018 might
16. Additional evidence of Congressional intent to involve local
authorities is found in Section 5002(e) of OPA 90, which establishes
an Oil Terminal Facilities and Oil Tanker Operations Association,
composed of one member designed by oil tanker operators, one by
the terminal facility, one by the federal government, and one by the
State of Alaska. The purpose of the Association is “to provide a
forum” to “discuss and make recommendations governing all
permits, plans, and site specific regulations governing the activities
and actions of the terminal facilities ... and of crude oil tankers
calling at those facilities.” An Association for Prince William Sound
has never been formed, as it is not required when a voluntary
alternative citizens’ advisory council has been certified under Section
§002(o). But the structure of the Association is, again, clear evidence
of Congressional intent to include the State of Alaska in oil tanker
regulation.
17. “Where the mind labors to discover the design of the
legislature, it seizes everything from which aid can be derived.”
United States v. Fisher, 2 Cranch (U.S.) 358, 386 (1804); and
see Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259, 270 (1987), where this Court in
interpreting ambiguous legislation discussed the political “impetus”
for the proposal before the Congress.
15
make some sense. In fact, the disclaimer was adopted under
circumstances that demonstrated that exclusive federal
regulation had proven ineffective. The terms of the disclaimer
should be interpreted in that light — to allow those other
voices with more urgent and particularized local concerns
to be heard, not stifled.
C. A Narrow Construction of Section 1018 Conflicts with
States’ Conceded Authority to Regulate Oil Spill
Response Activities by Oil Tankers.
Section 1018 of OPA 90 specifically authorizes States
to impose “additional . . . requirements . . . with respect to
the discharge of oil.” Intertanko concedes, as does the United
States Coast Guard, that this section of law specifically
authorizes the States to adopt measures dealing with the
response to an oil spill.'* In Intertanko’s view, while States
may not in any way impose restrictions on tankers that might
prevent a spill in State waters, they may impose planning
requirements on tankers that will insure that the tankers have
the capacity to clean up any oil they spill. Intertanko
apparently recognizes that this Court views that kind of
authority as part of the traditional power of States to adopt
18. In its Brief on the Merits, Intertanko cites a Coast Guard
legal opinion that is “consistent with the positions of Intertanko and
the United States.” The opinion, as described by Intertanko, “asserts
that the States .. . may regulate... response.” Intertanko Brief on
the Merits at 36 n.26. The Petitioners’ position on this point is also
consistent with a prior decision of this Court that upheld States’
authority to require tankers to maintain containment equipment “in
coer a chang «may eset rhs ton an
sc .” As v. American Waterway's Operat
411 U.S. 325, 337 (1973). nen
16
local pollution control measures.’ Intertanko nonetheless
argues that any effort by States to regulate the “primary
conduct” of the vessel, as opposed to peripheral issues such
as penalties and liabilities, is barred. As Intertanko sees it,
Congress has never authorized “a joint or concurrent role
for states and local governments in matters relating to
standards and requirements affecting the on-board primary
conduct of tank vessels or their crews.””° The problem here
is that what Intertanko sees as a clear line of demarcation
between valid State requirements imposed on tankers to clean
up a spill and invalid State requirements on tankers to prevent
the spill in the first place simply does not exist. In both cases,
the State requirements will affect tanker personnel and
operations, yet Intertanko argues preemption in one area and
concedes State authority in the other — a distinction that
makes no sense. Since Congress clearly intended for States
io have authority to require tanker operators to respond to a
spill, it necessarily follows that Congress never intended to
preempt State efforts to reach the operations and on-board
conduct of tankers with regard to oil spill prevention.
19. See, e.g., Cooley v. Board of Wardens of the Port of
Philadelphia, 53 U.S. (12 How.) 299 (1851) (local pilotage
requirement upheld); Kelly v. Washington, 302 U.S. 1 (1937)
(supplemental state safety regulations relating to motor driven
tugboats upheld); Huron Portland Cement Co. v. City of Detroit,
362 U.S. 440 (1960) (municipal regulation of smoke pollution from
vessels upheld). State regulatory regimes that are identical to federal
ones have also been upheld against challenges that federal law has
preempted Stete action. California v. Zook, 336 U.S. 725 (1949).
And see, Askew v. American Waterways Operators, Inc., 411 U.S.
325 (1973) (State law requiring tankers to carry certain oil spill
response equipment not preempted).
20. Intertanko Brief on the Merits, at 11.
17
The complete interrelationship between prevention and
response can be quickly seen by a brief review of the kinds
of regulations concerning responses that have been adopted
by the State of Alaska. Like the federal government, the State
has adopted statutes and regulations requiring every owner
and operator of an oil tanker within the State to have and to
comply with an approved oil discharge contingency plan.?!
Some of the Alaska requirements relate to oil spill
prevention, but some are confined to response, which the
United States and Intertanko concede are not preempted by
federal law. Many of the response requirements involve some
kind of “on board” conduct on the part of the tanker crew.
For example, the State of Alaska requires tankers to have
access to sufficient lightering equipment and personnel to
transfer all oil remaining in damaged cargo tanks and in
undamaged tanks if there is a risk of discharge from those
tanks.” This transfer will inevitably require the assistance
of the tanker’s crew to accomplish. The same would be true
of a State regulation requiring that a vessel discharging oil
in State waters must immediately contain the discharge by
containment boom or other effective means.”? The tanker’s
crew would be required to deploy the boom, and the State’s
containment requirement regulation would be meaningless
21. See AS 46.04.030(c) and Alaska Administrative Code
sections 18 AAC 75.400 through 18 AAC 75.495. See 33 U.S.C.
§ 1321) and 33 C.F.R. § 155.1010 for federal contingency plan
requirements for tankers.
22. See 18 AAC 75.445(d)(6).
23. 18 AAC 75.445(d)(4), for example, requires tanker owners
and operators to demonstrate that “sufficient oil discharge response
equipment, personnel, and other resources are maintained and
available for the specific purposes of preventing discharged oil from
entering an environmentally sensitive area .. .”
18
if the State could not also require the tanker to carry and
maintain the containment gear. If Intertanko’s theory is
correct, it will mean that States will have the impossible task
of sorting out which response regulations affect tanker
operations and “on-board” crew conduct and which do not.
The difficulty of differentiating between the two will lead
either to extensive state and federal litigation, or worse, to
paralysis on the part of the States to adopt and enforce
entirely valid response requirements, for fear of trespassing
on what Petitioners claim is the exclusive territory of federal
regulation.
All of this conflict and confusion disappears if Section
1018 of OPA 90 receives a broad and literal interpretation,
instead of the narrow one proposed by Intertanko. Traditional
State activities in the oil spill recovery and response arena
will continue, free of the risk of being nullified by a new
and overly broad theory of federal preemption. States have
always been free to protect their marine environments and
OPA 90 confirms that authority — both for oil spill
prevention measures and for spill response requirements.
Equally important, the lack of any clear line between State
regulation of tanker operations for spill response purposes,
as opposed to prevention, strongly suggests that Congress
intended the disclaimer provisions of Section 1018 of OPA
90 to apply to both spheres of State regulation.
19
Il.
COMPLETE FEDERAL PREEMPTION OF TANKER
REGULATIONS MAY JEOPARDIZE EXISTING
COOPERATIVE RELATIONSHIPS BETWEEN STATES
AND THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT THAT HAVE
BEEN SUCCESSFUL IN REDUCING THE RISK OF OIL
TANKER SPILLS IN PRINCE WILLIAM SOUND.
The Coast Guard in recent years has recognized the State
of Alaska as a valuable partner in cooperative efforts to
prevent oil spills. Since the Exxon Valdez spill, the State of
Alaska has been fortunate in achieving a high level of
cooperation and consultation with local Coast Guard officials
having jurisdiction and authority over tanker operations in
Prince William Sound. This cooperation has resulted in
tanker operation rules for Prince William Sound that have
reflected local knowledge and concerns and that have
significantly reduced the risks of tanker spills in the Sound.
By way of example, Alyeska, as operator of the terminal,
recently revised its Vessel Escort and Response Plan for
Prince William Sound (“PWS VERP”). The plan, approved
by the Coast Guard, was the result of a collaborative effort
among the Coast Guard, RCAC, the Alaska Department of
Environmental Conservation, tanker owners and operators,
and Alyeska’s Ship Escort Response Vessel System
(“SERVS”). Included in this comprehensive port specific
plan for tanker operations in Prince William Sound are
detailed procedures for the use of escort vessels, speed
restrictions for both ballasted and oil laden tankers at various
locations in the Sound, closure rules for high winds and high
seas, Communications requirements, requirements for
20
pre-escort conferences, and navigation guidelines in the
presence of ice.**
It is not unwarranted to assume that the Coast Guard's
willingness to involve State officials in its regulatory efforts
(such as the development and approval of the Prince William
Sound VERP) is in large part a result of the Coast Guard's
recognition that the State of Alaska exercises concurrent
authority over a number of areas covered in the PWS VERP.
A ruling from this Cou:t that the State of Alaska is wholly
without that authority might well undermine the Coast Guard’s
continued willingness to accept the active involvement of the
State in its own regulatory efforts. History is replete with
instances where those with power and responsibility have
refused to share that authority unless compelled to do so.
If cooperation breaks down, however, it bodes ill for the future,
for on the horizon are other significant problems that clearly
would benefit from the cooperative efforts that have existed
since the enactment of OPA 90. One of the paramount future
concerns in the area of tanker operations, for instance, relates
to the imminent advent of double hulled tankers in the Prince
William Sound tanker fleet.?* Current federal law and regulation
24. The plan also requires, among other things, that “deck officers
and crew must be familiar with the component parts of the towing
package and the method of deployment.” The plan goes on to require
tankers to carry the “Prince William Sound Towing Package, which
is identical to the towing package defined in Alaska regulations for use
by vessels berthed at the Valdez terminal. See 18 AAC 990(96). The
manual goes on to provide that “[e}quivalent towing gear may be
substituted with the concurrence of the Alaska Department of
Environmental Conservation and SERVS.” PWS VERP (reprinted
September 1998) at 7-3.
25. 46 U.S.C. § 3703a(c)(4), adopted in OPA 90 provides, “Except
as provided in subsection (b) of this section ... a vessel that has a
single hull may not operate after January 1, 2010.
21
require a minimum of two escort vessels for single hulled
tankers.”® At present there is no federal law requiring escort
vessels for double hulled tankers. While double hulled
tankers will provide added protection from oil spills, these
tankers are not totally invulnerable to having both hulls
pierced, particularly in a powered grounding or collision.
The Prince William Sound Risk Assessment Project,
mentioned above, concluded that, “The single most effective
risk reduction measure to date has been the current escort
system which effectively reduces potential oil outflows due
to groundings.”’’ Based on past collaborative efforts, RCAC
has every reason to believe that if the Coast Guard addresses
the issue of escort vessels for double hulled tankers in Prince
William Sound, it will listen to RCAC’s and the State of
Alaska’s concerns and mutually acceptable and wholly
consistent State and federal rules will be developed. The
Coast Guard will do so, in part at least, because the State of
Alaska has the authority to address the issue on its own,
should the Coast Guard fail to act. Certainly, vessel escort
requirements, based on particular local port hazards, would
be no more an intrusion into federal regulation of vessel
operations, and would be no more an obstacle to national
uniformity, than are clearly valid State pilotage requirements,
which have previously been upheld by this Court.?*
Intertanko’s position would lead to States being barred
entirely from this area of regulation and potentially to a
breakdown of federal-state cooperation in this area.
26. OPA 90, § 4116; 33 C.F.R. §§ 168.01(a) and 168.40.
27. Prince William Sound Risk Assessment, Final Report,
December 15, 1996, Executive Summary at 3.
28. Cooley, supra and see Ray v. Atlantic Richfield Co.,
435 U.S. 151 (1978).
22
CONCLUSION
RCAC respectfully requests the Court to uphold the right
of the State of Washington and other coastal states to adopt
and enforce non-discriminatory regulations relating to both
oil spill prevention and response capabilities of oil tankers,
so long as the regulations are not in actual conflict with
federal law.
Respectfully submitted,
AvruM M. Gross
Susan A. BurKe*
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Prince William Sound Regional
Citizens’ Advisory Council
424 North Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 586-2777
* Counsel of Record
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.