Opposition Brief — Village of Willowbrook v. Olech

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

} Bupreme Court, V0.

FILED

o) NOV 10 1999

No. 98-1288 | QFRICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

-¢

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, an Illinois municipal

corporation, GARY PRETZER, individually and as

President of the VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, and

PHILIP J. MODAFF, individually and as Director

of Public Services of the VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK,

Petitioners,

GRACE OLECH,

Respondent.

+

On Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals

For The Seventh Circuit

+

JOINT APPENDIX

+

JoHN R. Wimmer James L. DeEANo

Counsel of Record Counsel of Record

928 Warren Avenue Norton, MANCINI,

Downers Grove, Illinois ARGENTATI, WEILER

60515 & DeANo

(630) 810-0005 109 North Hale

P.O. Box 846

Wheaton, Illinois

60189-0846

(630) 668-9440

Counsel for Respondent Counsel for Petitioners

Petition For Certiorari Filed February 9, 1999

Certiorari Granted September 28, 1999

oe

=

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS OF JOINT APPENDIX

Plaintiff's Amended Complaint

Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss Amended Complaint

ee. Memorandum of Law in Support of

to Dismiss

Plaintiff's Response to Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss

the Amended Complaint

Defendants’ Reply

Memorandum Opinion and Order of the District

Court for the Northern District of Illinois

Minute Order granting Defendants’ Motion to Dis-

miss

Judgment in a Civil Case dismissing the case in its

—

Relevant Docket Entries

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, et. al. v. GRACE OLECH

Date

7/11/97

9/3/97

9/3/97

9/10/97

10/8/97

10/28/97

10/28/97

11/21/97

11/26/97

12/19/97

1/9/98

No. 98-1288

Proceedings

United States District Court, N.D. Illinois

Case No. 97 C 4935

Complaint, including jury demand, filed.

Motion to Dismiss for Failure to State a Cause

of Action filed.

Memorandum of Law in Support of Motion to

Dismiss filed.

Order entered giving Plaintiff to October 8,

1997, to file an Amended Complaint.

Amended Complaint, including jury demand,

filed.

Motion to Dismiss Plaintiff‘s Amended Com-

plaint filed.

Memorandum of Law in Support of Motion to

Dismiss filed.

Motion by Defendants for leave to substitute

as attorney of record filed.

Order entered granting leave to substitute as

attorney of record. James DeAno and Christy

Benton granted leave to file appearance as

counsel of record for Defendants.

Plaintiff's Response to Defendants’ Motion to

Dismiss the Amended Complaint filed.

Reply filed.

4/13/98

4/13/98

4/13/98

5/13/98

7/29/98

8/27/98

9/11/98

10/8/98

11/12/98

2/9/99

5/26/99

9/28/99

Memorandum Opinion and Order granting

Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss.

Minute Order entered granting Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss.

Judgment in a Civil Case issued dismissing

action in its entirety.

Notice of Appeal by Grace Olech filed.

United States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit

Case No. 98-2235

Brief of Plaintiff-Appellant Grace Olech filed.

Brief of the Defendants-Appellees filed.

Reply Brief of Plaintiff-Appellant Grace Olech

filed.

Oral argument.

Opinion reversing Judgment and Order grant-

ing Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss.

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998

Case No. 98-1288

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari filed.

Respondent's Brief in Opposition to the Peti-

tion for a Writ of Certiorari filed.

Order granting Petition for a Writ of Cer-

tiorari.

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

GRACE OLECH,

Plaintiff,

No. 97 C 4935

Judge Marovich

-Vs-

VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, an

Illinois municipal

corporation, GARY

PRETZER, individually

)

)

)

) Magistrate Judge Keys

)

)

)

)

)

and as President of

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Plaintiff Demands

Trial By Jury

Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, and

PHILIP J. MODAFF,

individually and as

Director of Public Services

of Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK,

Defendants.

AMENDED COMPLAINT

(42 U.S.C. § 1983)

(Received Oct. 08, 1997)

NOW COMES Plaintiff GRACE OLECH, by and

through her attorney, JOHN R. WIMMER, and complain-

ing of the Defendants, VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, an

Illinois municipal corporation, GARY PRETZER, individ-

ually and as President of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK, and PHILIP J. MODAFF, individually and

as Director of Public Services of Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, alleges and states as follows:

eS ERE ee

a:

1. That Plaintiff GRACE OLECH has brought this

action to redress the violation of her rights under the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to

the United States constitution.

2. That jurisdiction over this action has been con-

ferred upon this Court under 28 U.S.C. § 1331 and § 1334,

and 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

3. That Plaintiff GRACE OLECH is, and at all times

hereinmentioned was, a citizen of the United States and a

resident of Willowbrook, DuPage County, Illinois, and

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH is the mother of Phyllis S. Zim-

mer who is mentioned hereinafter.

4. That Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK

is, and at all times hereinmentioned was, a municipal

corporation organized and existing under and by virtue

of the laws of the State of Illinois.

5. That Defendant GARY PRETZER is an individual

who is President of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK and was President of Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK during the time when Plaintiff

GRACE OLECH was attempting to have her home

hooked up to the municipal water supply system of

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

6. That Defendant PHILIP J. MODAFF is an individ-

ual who was Director of Public Services of Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK during the time when

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH was attempting to have her

home hooked up to the municipal water supply system of

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

7. That on August 8, 1989, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH

and her since deceased husband, Thaddeus Olech, along

with Howard Brinkman, and Rodney C. Zimmer and

Phyllis S. Zimmer, and others filed a lawsuit against

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK and others in

the Circuit Court of the Eighteenth Judicial Circuit,

DuPage County, Illinois, Case No. 89 L 1517 (hereinafter

“the state court lawsuit”), in which the plaintiffs sought

money damages from Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK and others as a result of the flooding of the

plaintiffs’ property, including what is hereinafter referred

to as the Olech property, by stormwater.

8. That Howard Brinkman’s claims in the state court

case were dismissed for want of prosecution on April 1,

1991.

9. That the claim of Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and

Thaddeus Olech against Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK in the state court lawsuit was tried to a jury

which, on February 11, 1997, returned a verdict in favor

of Plaintiff GRACE OLECH, individually and as special

administrator of the estate of Thaddeus Olech, and

against Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in the

amount of $20,000.00, and judgment was entered on that

verdict.

10. That the claim of Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis

S. Zimmer against Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK in the state court lawsuit was tried to a jury

which, on February 11, 1997, returned a verdict in favor

of Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer and against

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in the amount

of $135,000.00, and judgment was entered on that verdict.

11. That the state court lawsuit against Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, which was ultimately

determined to be meritorious, was the subject of substan-

tial coverage in the local press, was bitterly contested by

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, and gener-

ated substantial ill will on the part of Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK and its officers and

employees, including PHILIP J. MODAFF and, on infor-

mation and belief, Defendant GARY PRETZER toward

the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit.

12. That, on information and belief, said ill will

resulted from, among other things, the coverage of the

state court lawsuit in the local press which made Defen-

dant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK and its officers and

employees look bad; the erroneous belief on the part of

officers and employees of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK that the state court lawsuit was frivolous

and meritless; and the fact that, prior to the filing of the

state court lawsuit, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thad-

deus Olech, and Howard Brinkman had refused to grant

certain drainage easements for a stormwater drainage

project favored by Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK.

13. That, from a time long prior to the filing of the

state court lawsuit and until the death of Thaddeus Olech

on or about November 24, 1996, Plaintiff GRACE OL” °H

and Thaddeus Olech resided in a single-family home on,

and were the joint owners of, certain property commonly

known as 6440 Tennessee Avenue, Willowbrook, Illinois

60514 (hereinafter referred to as “the Olech property”)

and legally described as follows:

a ee oe

7

“The East half of the North half of the South half

of the Southwest quarter of the Northeast quar-

ter of the Northeast quarter of Section 22, Town-

ship 38 North, Range 11, East of the Third

Principal Meridian in DuPage County, Illinois.”

14. That, since the death of Thaddeus Olech, Plain-

tiff GRACE OLECH has been the sole owner of the Olech

property and has continued to reside thereon.

15. That in the spring of 1995 the private well on the

Olech property, which had theretofore provided potable

water for the Olech home, broke down and was beyond

repair.

16. That Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus

Olech then and there implemented a temporary solution

to the problem by hooking up to the well of their neigh-

bors to the south on Tennessee Avenue, Rodney C. Zim-

mer and Phyllis S. Zimmer, via an overground hose.

17. That at that time the water main of Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK on Tennessee Avenue

extended approximately as far south as the northern

boundary of the property of Howard Brinkman, the

neighbor to the north of Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and

Thaddeus Olech.

18. That by the spring of 1995 Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK had developed a plan which was to

be implemented within two years of the spring of 1995

and which was going to require all of the homeowners on

Tennessee Avenue who were not hooked up to the munic-

ipal water supply system of Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK to hook up to the municipal water sup-

ply system of Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

19. That on or about May 23, 1995, and while the

state court lawsuit was pending, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH

and Thaddeus Olech, along with Howard Brinkman, and

Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer, made a

request to Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK that

their homes be hooked up right away to the municipal

water supply system of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK, and at or about that time Defendant PHI-

LIP J. MODAFF was informed that the well on the Olech

property had broken down and that the Olech home was

obtaining potable water from the Zimmers’ well via an

overground hose, a temporary solution which would not

work in the winter when the temperature fell below

freezing.

20. That, as required by law, Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK undertook to extend the water main

and hook up the homes as requested, conditioned on the

payment by the owners of each parcel of property

involved of one-third of the estimated cost of the project.

21. That on or about July 11, 1995, Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH and Thaddeus Olech paid to Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK $7,012.67, representing their

share of the estimated cost of the project, and by July 12,

1995, Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK had

received the required payments from Howard Brinkman,

and Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer.

22. That the portion of Tennessee Avenue adjacent

to the property of Howard Brinkman, to the Olech prop-

erty, and to the property of Rodney C. Zimmer and

Phyllis S. Zimmer is not, and never has been, a dedicated

public street, and, on information and belief, no ease-

ments had been granted to any governmental body for

the use of any portion of Tennessee Avenue adjacent to

the property of Howard Brinkman, to the Olech property,

and to the property owned by Rodney C. Zimmer and

Phyllis S. Zimmer.

23. That in August of 1995 Defendant PHILIP J.

MODAFF told Phyllis S. Zimmer that Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK would not proceed with the

project unless all of the property owners involved

granted Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK a 33-

foot easement along Tennessee Avenue.

24. That in August of 1995 Defendant GARY PRET-

ZER told Phyllis Zimmer that the 33-foot easement would

be required for the project.

25. That on or about September 21, 1995, Defendant

PHILIP '. MODAFF sent to Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and

Thaddeus Olech and to other property owners involved a

Plat of Easement whereby they and property owners on

the other side of Tennessee Avenue would each dedicate a

33-foot strip of their property along Tennessee Avenue for

public roadway purposes and grant a 33-foot easement

for the construction and maintenance of a roadway, to

include pavement, sidewalks, and public utilities, which

would result in a 66-foot wide dedicated street.

26. That the demands of the Defendants for 33-foot

easements and a 66-foot dedicated public street as a

condition of the extension of the water main were not

consistent with the policy of Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK regarding other property in the Village

10

of Willowbrook; as was ultimately admitted by the Vil-

lage Attorney, Gerald M. Gorski, in a letter dated Novem-

ber 10, 1995, “[A] fifteen foot (15') easement, along with a

temporary construction easement of five feet (5') on each

side, will be sufficient to install the water main. This is

consistent with Village policy regarding all other prop-

erty in the Village.”

27. That the Defendants treated Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, Howard Brinkman, and

Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer differently

from other property owners in the Village of Willowbrook

by demanding the 33-foot easements and the 66-foot ded-

icated street as a condition of the extension of the water

main because of the ill will generated by the state court

lawsuit and in an attempt to control stormwater drainage

in the vicinity to the detriment of Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, and other plaintiffs in the

state court lawsuit, by the use of ditches and swales along

Tennessee Avenue.

28. That the decision by the Defendants to treat

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, and other

plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit in a manner not con-

sistent with other property owners in the Village of Wil-

lowbrook by demanding the 33-foot easements and the

66-foot street dedication as a condition for the extension

of the water main was irrational and wholly arbitrary,

and, on information and belief, was made by the appro-

priate policy-making official or employee of Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

29. That, because the 33-foot easements and the 66-

foot dedicated street demanded by the Defendants were

— en ou ella abet

VO on APs. ow

acta Bs? whi siee fee Pi. CORRE LRTI tS NRE Aart Saw of

11

not consistent with what the Defendants required in rela-

tion to other property in the Village of Willowbrook,

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, and other

property owners involved declined to grant the 33-foot

easements and the 66-foot street dedication.

30. That from the time that Defendant PHILIP J.

MODAFF first demanded the 33-foot easements in

August of 1995 until on or about November 10, 1995, no

progress was made on the project.

31. That on or about November 10, 1995, Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK withdrew its demand for

the 66-foot street dedication and indicated in a letter

prepared by its attorney that it would proceed with the

water main extension if Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK were granted a 15-foot easement for the

water main and for the related water service lines used to

connect to the homes.

32. That the easement demanded by Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in its attorney’s letter of

November 10, 1995, was consistent with what was

required by Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in

relation to other property in the Village of Willowbrook,

and, therefore, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus

Olech, and other property owners involved, agreed to

grant said easement.

33. That the initial refusal of the Defendants to pro-

ceed with the project unless Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK was granted 33-foot easements and a

66-foot street dedication resulted in a delay in the project

of approximately three months, a delay which proved

critical as a result of the approaching winter weather.

12

34. That in November of 1995 the overground hose

used by Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech to

connect to their neighbor’s well froze, and, therefore,

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech were with-

out running water from November of 1995 until the pro-

ject was completed on or about March 19, 1996.

35. That as a proximate result of the three-month

delay in the project caused by the initial refusal of the

Defendants to proceed with the project unless Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK was granted the 33-foot

easements and the 66-foot street dedication, Plaintiff

GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, who were 72 and

76 years old, respectively, were without running water

during the winter of 1995-1996, and suffered great incon-

venience, humiliation, and mental and physical distress.

36. That the initial refusal of the Defendants to pro-

ceed with the project unless Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK was granted the 33-foot easements and

66-foot street dedication and the concomitant and result-

ing delay in the project deprived Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH of her rights under the Equal Protection Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States consti-

tution, and the actions and inactions of the Defendants in

that regard were undertaken either with the intent to

deprive Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and others of said

rights, or in reckless disregard of said rights.

37. That the actions and inactions of the Defendants

set forth above were undertaken under color of state law.

itt ih at in ein

13

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH prays that

this Court:

(a) Award Plaintiff GRACE OLECH compensatory

damages in an amount to be determined by the trier of

fact;

(b) Award Plaintiff GRACE OLECH punitive dam-

ages in an amount to be determined by the trier of fact;

(c) Award Plaintiff GRACE OLECH her reasonable

attorney’s fees and costs pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1988;

and

(d) Grant Plaintiff GRACE OLECH such other and

further relief as is proper and just in the premises.

GRACE OLECH

By: /s/ John R. Wimmer

Attorney for the Plaintiff

JOHN R. WIMMER

Attorney at Law

928 Warren Avenue

Downers Grove, Illinois 60515

(630) 810-0005

Attorney No. 03125600

14

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

GRACE OLECH, )

es

Plaintiff, No. 97 C 4935

vs. )

Judge Marovich

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK,

an Illinois Municipal Corporation,

GARY PRETZER, Individually

and as President of Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK,

and PHILIP J. MODAFF,

Individually and as Director of

Public Services for Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK,

Defendants.

MOTION TO DISMISS

PLAINTIFF’S AMENDED COMPLAINT

(Received Oct. 28, 1997)

NOW COME the Defendants, the Village of Wil-

lowbrook, Gary Pretzer and Philip J. Modaff, by their

attorneys, Robert C. Yelton III and Jeffrey Edward Kehl of

Dowd & Dowd, Ltd., and pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, move this court to

dismiss the Plaintiff’s Complaint for failure to state a

cause of action upon which relief may be granted. For

this Motion, the Defendants would show this court as

follows:

1. On October 8, 1997, the Plaintiff caused her one

count Amended Complaint to be filed against the Village

15

of Willowbrook and two of its employees, Gary Pretzer

and Philip J. Modaff. (A copy of the Plaintiff's Amended

Complaint is attached hereto and incorporated herein as

Exhibit A).

2. The Plaintiff seeks relief under 42 U.S.C. §1983

for what the Plaintiff alleges to be a violation of her rights

under the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. (Plaintiff's

Amended Complaint, {1).

3. As more specifically submitted in the Defen-

dants’ Memorandum of Law in Support of Motion to

Dismiss filed contemporaneously herewith, the Defen-

dants contend that the Plaintiff has failed to state a cause

of action upon which relief may be granted because she

has not alleged discrimination based upon her exercise of

constitutional rights.

WHEREFORE, the Defendants respectfully request

this court to enter an order dismissing the Plaintiff's

Complaint pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure.

Robert C. Yelton III Dowd & Dowd, Ltd.

Jeffrey Edward Kehl

DOWD & "»OWD, LTD. /s/ Jeffrey Edward Kehl

55 West Wacker Drive, Jeffrey Edward Kehl

Suite 1000 One of the Attorneys

Chicago, Illinois 60601 for the Defendants

(312) 704-4400

Counsel for the Defendants

16

EXHIBIT A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

No. 97 C 4935

Judge Marovich

GRACE OLECH,

Plaintiff,

Magistrate Judge Keys

Plaintiff Demands

Trial By Jury

-Vs-

)

}

)

)

VILLAGE OF )

WILLOWBROOK, an )

Illinois municipal

corporation, GARY )

PRETZER, individually

and as President of )

Defendant VILLAGE OF ?

WILLOWBROOK, and

PHILIP J. MODAFF,

individually and as

Director of Public Services

of Defendant VILLAGE )

OF WILLOWBROOK,

)

Defendants.

AMENDED COMPLAINT

(42 U.S.C. § 1983)

NOW COMES Plaintiff GRACE OLECH, by and

through her attorney, JOHN R. WIMMER, and complain-

ing of the Defendants, VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, an

Illinois municipal corporation, GARY PRETZER, individ-

ually and as President of Defendant VILLAGE OF

17

WILLOWBROOK, and PHILIP J. MODAFF, individually

and as Director of Public Services of Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK, alleges and states as follows:

1. That Plaintiff GRACE OLECH has brought this

action to redress the violation of her rights under the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to

the United States constitution.

2. That jurisdiction over this action has been con-

ferred upon this Court under 28 U.S.C. § 1331 and § 1334,

and 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

3. That Plaintiff GRACE OLECH is, and at all times

hereinmentioned was, a citizen of the United States and a

resident of Willowbrook, DuPage County, Illinois, and

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH is the mother of Phyllis S. Zim-

mer who is mentioned hereinafter.

4. That Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK

is, and at all times hereinmentioned was, a municipal

corporation organized and existing under and by virtue

of the laws of the State of Illinois.

5. That Defendant GARY PRETZER is an individual

who is President of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK and was President of Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK during the time when Plaintiff

GRACE OLECH was attempting to have her home

hooked up to the municipal water supply system of

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

6. That Defendant PHILIP J. MODAFF is an individ-

ual who was Director of Public Services of Defendant

18

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK during the time when

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH was attempting to have her

home hooked up to the municipal water supply system of

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

7. That on August 8, 1989, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH

and her since deceased husband, Thaddeus Olech, along

with Howard Brinkman, and Rodney C. Zimmer and

Phyllis S. Zimmer, and others filed a lawsuit against

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK and others in

the Circuit Court of the Eighteenth Judicial Circuit,

DuPage County, Illinois, Case No. 89 L 1517 (hereinafter

“the state court lawsuit”), in which the plaintiffs sought

money damages from Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK and others as a result of the flooding of the

plaintiffs’ property, including what is hereinafter referred

to as the Olech property, by stormwater.

8. That Howard Brinkman’s claims in the state court

case were dismissed for want of prosecution on April 1,

1991.

9. That the claim of Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and

Thaddeus Olech against Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK in the state court lawsuit was tried to a jury

which, on February 11, 1997, returned a verdict in favor

of Plaintiff GRACE OLECH, individually and as special

administrator of the estate of Thaddeus Olech, and

against Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in the

amount of $20,000.00, and judgment was entered on that

verdict.

10. That the claim of Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis

S. Zimmer against Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK in the state court lawsuit was tried to a jury

19

which, on February 11, 1997, returned a verdict in favor

of Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer and against

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in the amount

of $135,000.00, and judgment was entered on that verdict.

11. That the state court lawsuit against Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, which was ultimately

determined to be meritorious, was the subject of substan-

tial coverage in the local press, was bitterly contested by

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, and gener-

ated substantial ill will on the part of Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK and its officers and

employees, including PHILIP J. MODAFF and, on infor-

mation and belief, Defendant GARY PRETZER toward

the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit.

12. That, on information and belief, said ill will

resulted from, among other things, the coverage of the

state court lawsuit in the local press which made Defen-

dant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK and its officers and

employees look bad; the erroneous belief on the part of

officers and employees of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK that the state court lawsuit was frivolous

and meritless; and the fact that, prior to the filing of the

state court lawsuit, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thad-

deus Olech, and Howard Brinkman had refused to grant

certain drainage easements for a stormwater drainage

project favored by Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK.

13. That, from a time long prior to the filing of the

state court lawsuit and until the death of Thaddeus Olech

on or about November 24, 1996, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH

and Thaddeus Olech resided in a single-family home on,

20

and were the joint owners of, certain property commonly

known as 6440 Tennessee Avenue, Willowbrook, Illinois

60514 (hereinafter referred to as “the Olech property”)

and legally described as follows:

“The East half of the North half of the South half

of the Southwest quarter of the Northeast quar-

ter of the Northeast quarter of Section 22, Town-

ship 38 North, Range 11, East of the Third

Principal Meridian in DuPage County, Illinois.”

14. That, since the death of Thaddeus Olech, Plain-

tiff GRACE OLECH has been the sole owner of the Olech

property and has continued to reside thereon.

15. That in the spring of 1995 the private well on the

Olech property, which had theretofore provided potable

water for the Olech home, broke down and was beyond

repair.

16. That Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus

Olech then and there implemented a temporary solution

to the problem by hooking up to the well of their neigh-

bors to the south on Tennessee Avenue, Rodney C. Zim-

mer and Phyllis S. Zimmer, via an overground hose.

17. That at that time the water main of Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK on Tennessee Avenue

extended approximately as far south as the northern

boundary of the property of Howard Brinkman, the

neighbor to the north of Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and

Thaddeus Olech.

18. That by the spring of 1995 Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK had developed a plan which was to

be implemented within two years of the spring of 1995

and which was going to require all of the homeowners on

21

Tennessee Avenue who were not hooked up to the munic-

ipal water supply system of Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK to hook up to the municipal water sup-

ply system of Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

19. That on or about May 23, 1995, and while the

state court lawsuit was pending, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH

and Thaddeus Olech, along with Howard Brinkman, and

Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer, made a

request to Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK that

their homes be hooked up right away to the municipal

water supply system of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK, and at or about that time Defendant PHI-

LIP J. MODAFF was informed that the well on the Olech

property had broken down and that the Olech home was

obtaining potable water from the Zimmers’ well via an

overground hose, a temporary solution which would not

work in the winter when the temperature fell below

freezing.

20. That, as required by law, Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK undertook to extend the water main

and hook up the homes as requested, conditioned on the

payment by the owners of each parcel of property

involved of one-third of the estimated cost of the project.

21. That on or about July 11, 1995, Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH and Thaddeus Olech paid to Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK $7,012.67, representing their

share of the estimated cost of the project, and by July 12,

1995, Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK had

received the required payments from Howard Brinkman,

and Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer.

22

22. That the portion of Tennessee Avenue adjacent

to the property of Howard Brinkman, to the Olech prop-

erty, and to the property of Rodney C. Zimmer and

Phyllis S. Zimmer is not, and never has been, a dedicated

public street, and, on information and belief, no ease-

ments had been granted to any governmental body for

the use of any portion of Tennessee Avenue adjacent to

the property of Howard Brinkman, to the Olech property,

and to the property owned by Rodney C. Zimmer and

Phyllis S. Zimmer.

23. That in August of 1995 Defendant PHILIP J.

MODAFF told Phyllis S. Zimmer that Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK would not proceed with the

project unless all of the property owners involved

granted Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK a 33-

foot easement along Tennessee Avenue.

24. That in August of 1995 Defendant GARY PRET-

ZER told Phyllis Zimmer that the 33-foot easement would

be required for the project.

25. That on or about September 21, 1995, Defendant

PHILIP J. MODAFF sent to Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and

Thaddeus Olech and to other property owners involved a

Plat of Easement whereby they and property owners on

the other side of Tennessee Avenue would each dedicate a

33-foot strip of their property along Tennessee Avenue for

public roadway purposes and grant a 33-foot easement

for the construction and maintenance of a roadway, to

include pavement, sidewalks, and public utilities, which

would result in a 66-foot wide dedicated street.

26. That the demands of the Defendants for 33-foot

easements and a 66-foot dedicated public street as a

23

condition of the extension of the water main were not

consistent with the policy of Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK regarding other property in the Village

of Willowbrook; as was ultimately admitted by the Vil-

lage Attorney, Gerald M. Gorski, in a letter dated Novem-

ber 10, 1995, “[A] fifteen foot (15') easement, along with a

temporary construction easement of five feet (5') on each

side, will be sufficient to install the water main. This is

consistent with Village policy regarding all other prop-

erty in the Village.”

27. That the Defendants treated Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, Howard Brinkman, and

Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer differently

from other property owners in the Village of Willowbrook

by demanding the 33-foot easements and the 66-foot ded-

icated street as a condition of the extension of the water

main because of the ill will generated by the state court

lawsuit and in an attempt to control stormwater drainage

in the vicinity to the detriment of Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, and other plaintiffs in the

state court lawsuit, by the use of ditches and swales along

Tennessee Avenue.

28. That the decision by the Defendants to treat

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, and other

plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit in a manner not con-

sistent with other property owners in the Village of Wil-

lowbrook by demanding the 33-foot easements and the

66-foot street dedication as a condition for the extension

of the water main was irrational and wholly arbitrary,

and, on information and belief, was made by the appro-

priate policy-making official or employee of Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

24

29. That, because the 33-foot easements and the 66-

foot dedicated street demanded by the Defendants were

not consistent with what the Defendants required in rela-

tion to other property in the Village of Willowbrook,

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, and other

property owners involved declined to grant the 33-foot

easements and the 66-foot street dedication.

30. That from the time that Defendant PHILIP J.

MODAFF first demanded the 33-foot easements in

August of 1995 until on or about November 10, 1995, no

progress was made on the project.

31. That on or about November 10, 1995, Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK withdrew its demand for

the 66-foot street dedication and indicated in a letter

prepared by its attorney that it would proceed with the

water main extension if Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK were granted a 15-foot easement for the

water main and for the related water service lines used to

connect to the homes.

32. That the easement demanded by Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in its attorney’s letter of

November 10, 1995, was consistent with what was

required by Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in

relation to other property in the Village of Willowbrook,

and, therefore, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus

Olech, and other property owners involved, agreed to

grant said easement.

33. That the initial refusal of the Defendants to pro-

ceed with the project unless Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK was granted 33-foot easements and a

66-foot street dedication resulted in a delay in the project

25

of approximately three months, a delay which proved

critical as a result of the approaching winter weather.

34. That in November of 1995 the overground hose

used by Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech to

connect to their neighbor’s well froze, and, therefore,

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech were with-

out running water from November of 1995 until the pro-

ject was completed on or about March 19, 1996.

35. That as a proximate result of the three-month

delay in the project caused by the initial refusal of the

Defendants to proceed with the project unless Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK was granted the 33-foot

easements and the 66-foot street dedication, Plaintiff

GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, who were 72 and

76 years old, respectively, were without running water

during the winter of 1995-1996, and suffered great incon-

venience, humiliation, and mental and physical distress.

36. That the initial refusal of the Defendants to pro-

ceed with the project unless Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK was granted the 33-foot easements and

66-foot street dedication and the concomitant and result-

ing delay in the project deprived Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH of her rights under the Equal Protection Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States consti-

tution, and the actions and inactions of the Defendants in

that regard were undertaken either with the intent to

deprive Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and others of said

rights, or in reckless disregard of said rights.

37. That the actions and inactions of the Defendants

set forth above were undertaken under color of state law.

26

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH prays that

this Court:

(a) Award Plaintiff GRACE OLECH compensatory

damages in an amount to be determined by the trier of

fact;

(b) Award Plaintiff GRACE OLECH punitive dam-

ages in an amount to be determined by the trier of fact;

(c) Award Plaintiff GRACE OLECH her reasonable

attorney’s fees and costs pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1988;

and

(d) Grant Plaintiff GRACE OLECH such other and

further relief as is proper and just in the premises.

GRACE OLECH

By: /s/ John R. Wimmer

Attorney for the Plaintiff

JOHN R. WIMMER

Attorney at Law

928 Warren Avenue

Downers Grove, Illinois 60515

(630) 810-0005

Attorney No. 03125600

27

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

GRACE OLECH, )

me )

Plaintiff, ) NO. 97 C 4935

vs. Judge Marovich

VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, an

Illinois Municipal

Corporation, GARY

PRETZER, Individually

and as President of

Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, and

PHILIP J. MODAFF,

Individually and as

Director of Public

Services for Defendant

VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK,

Defendants.

le ee ee i ee ee i ee ee

MEMORANDUM OF LAW IN SUPPORT OF

MOTION TO DISMISS

(Received Oct. 28, 1997)

NOW COME the Defendants, the Village of Wil-

lowbrook, Gary Pretzer, and Philip J. Modaff, by their

attorneys, Robert C. Yelton III and Jeffrey Edward Kehl of

Dowd & Dowd, Ltd., and submit the following matters

for the court’s consideration in ruling on the Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss the Plaintiff’s Amended Complaint.

28

Preface

The Plaintiff’s Amended Complaint seeks relief

under 42 U.S.C. §1983 for what the F.aintiff perceives to

be a violation of her rights under the Equal Protection

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution. The Defendants have filed a Motion to Dis-

miss because the Amended Complaint fails to state a

cause of action upon which relief may be granted. As will

be demonstrated below, the facts alleged by the Plaintiff

do not support the conclusion that the Defendants vio-

lated her right to equal protection under the laws of this

State. As such, no remedy is available to the Plaintiff

under 42 U.S.C. §1983.

Standard of Review

In considering a Motion to Dismiss, this court is

obligated to view all factual allegations in the light most

favorable to the Plaintiff. A motion to dismiss will not be

granted unless it appears from the complaint that the

Plaintiff can prove no set of facts to support her claims

that would entitle her to relief. Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S.

41, 45-46 (1957); Rutan v. Republican Party of Illinois, 868

F.2d 943, 954 (7th Cir. 1989). To this end, all well-pleaded

facts are taken as true. City of Milwaukee v. Saxbe, 546 F.2d

693, 704 (7th Cir. 1976).

This does not mean, however, that extensive factual

allegations or even a factual dispute will immunize a

complaint from dismissal under Rule 12(b)(6). Rather,

even with all facts being accepted by the court, the Plain-

tiff must still present a cause of action as a matter of law.

29

Mitchell v. Archibald & Kendall, Inc., 573 F.2d 429, 433 (7th

Cir. 1978).

More importantly, this court is not “to ignore any

facts set forth in the complaint that undermine the plain-

tiff’s claim or to assign any weight to unsupported con-

clusions of law.” D’City National Bank v. Checker, Simon &

Rosner, 32 F.3d 277, 281 (7th Cir. 1994) (quoting Dimming v.

Wahl, 983 F.2d 86, 87 (7th Cir. 1993).

Factual Background

The Amended Complaint alleges that prior to the

Spring of 1995, the Village of Willowbrook developed a

plan under which all houses along Tennessee Avenue in

Willowbrook were to be hooked up to the Village’s water

system. The plan was to be implemented within two

years of the Spring of 1995. (Amended Complaint, { 18).

As part of this two-year plan, homeowners could be

connected to the Village water system only if they paid

one-third of the total cost for the connection. (Amended

Complaint, { 20). In addition, homeowners on both sides

of Tennessee Avenue would be required to grant a 33 foot

easement to the Village. (Amended Complaint, { 25).

According to the Plaintiff, in the Spring of 1995, the

private well servicing her residence at 6440 Tennessee

Avenue in Willowbrook, Illinois broke down. (Amended

Complaint, { 17). In order to have water available in her

house, the Plaintiff had a garden hose run from her

neighbor’s house to hers. (Amended Complaint, 16).

30

On May 23, 1995, the Plaintiff and her adjoining

neighbors, the Zimmers and the Brinkmans, made a writ-

ten request to the Village to have their residences con-

nected to the Village’s water system “right away.”

(Amended Complaint, { 19). Nearly two months later, on

July 11, 1995, the Plaintiff paid the Village her share of

the cost for the proposed connection under the two-year

plan. (Amended Complaint, { 21). The Plaintiff's adjoin-

ing neighbors, the Brinkmans and the Zimmers paid

shortly thereafter. (Amended Complaint, { 21). The Plain-

tiff makes no mention of when the homeowners on the

other side of Tennessee Avenue paid their shares, if ever.

The Plaintiff claims that notice of the proposed 33

foot easement was not given to her neighbor until August

1995. (Amended Complaint, {{ 23-24). Written notice was

sent to the Plaintiff in September of that year. (Amended

Complaint, { 25). In any event, the Plaintiff alleges that

the demand for a 33 foot easement was not acceptable to

her. As such, she and some of the other property owners

refused to grant the Village the requested easement.

(Amended Complaint, { 29).

Subsequently, on November 10, 1995, the Village sent

a letter to the Plaintiff which apparently indicated that a

street dedication was not necessary to complete the job

but that a temporary construction easement and a perma-

nent easement of fifteen feet would be required. Accord-

ing to the Amended Complaint, a letter from the Village

Attorney indicated that a 15 foot easement would be

consistent with Village policy regarding all other prop-

erty in the Village. (Amended Complaint, { 26).

31

The Plaintiff alleges that because the fifteen foot

easement was consistent with requirements for other

properties in the Village, she and other property owners

agreed to grant the required easement. The Plaintiff does

not allege that all affected property owners granted the

easement, or if so, when. (Amended Complaint, { 32).

In November, 1995 the hose running from to [sic] the

Plaintiff's house broke, leaving her with no running

water until the two-year project was completed on March

19, 1996. (Amended Complaint, { 34). The Plaintiff does

not explain why a new hose was not implemented, why

she never had her well fixed, or how the lack of running

water in late 1995 differed from her predicament in the

Spring of 1995.

In any event, the Plaintiff claims that “as a proximate

result of the three-month delay in the project caused by

the initial refusal of the Defendants to proceed with the

project unless [the Village] was granted the 33-foot ease-

ment and the 66-foot street dedication, [the Plaintiff was]

without running water during the winter of 1995-1996,

and suffered great inconvenience, humiliation, and men-

tal and physical distress.” (Amended Complaint, { 35).

For her action, the Plaintiff maintains that the initial

refusal to proceed without a 33 foot easement and the

three-month delay before a 15-foot easement was

required deprived her of her rights under the Equal Pro-

tection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. (Amended

Complaint, | 36). Specifically, the Plaintiff claims that the

refusal to proceed without a 33-foot easement was

prompted by “ill will” on the part of the Defendants

32

because the Plaintiff, the Zimmers, and Howard Brink-

man had filed a lawsuit against the Village. (Amended

Complaint, {4 11-12). However, as the Plaintiff concedes,

the action brought by Mr. Brinkman had been dismissed

in 1991, and the Plaintiff's own action, viewed as frivo-

lous by the Village in 1995, did not result in a judgment in

favor of the Plaintiff until 1997. (Amended Complaint,

41 7-10).

The Plaintiff does not explain how the alleged “ill

will” harbored by the Village toward the Plaintiff, Zim-

mers, and Mr. Brinkman manifested itself other than by

the requirement that the homeowners grant a 33-foot

easement. The fact that the 33-foot easement was also

required of property owners on the other side of Tennes-

see Avenue, (Amended Complaint, { 25) who had not

sued the Village and for whom there are no allegations of

“ill will” is, as discussed below, most destructive to the

Plaintiff's claim.

Argument

The Plaintiff Fails to Allege a Cause of Action under

§1983 for any Violation of her Rights Under the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

The Plaintiff seeks to impose §1983 liability on the

Defendants under what has been colloquially known as

“Category Three” discrimination. Within the general

rubric of equal protection law, a plaintiff must show

disparate treatment based on membership in a vulnerable

group, racial or otherwise, City of Cleburne v. Cleburne

Living Center, Inc., 473 U.S. 432, 440-41, 105 S.Ct. 3249,

33

3254-55, 87 L.Ed.2d 313 (1985), or based upon the applica-

tion of laws or policies which make irrational distinc-

tions. Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56, 74-79, 92 S.Ct. 862,

874-77, 31 L.Ed.2d 36 (1972). “Category Three” discrimi-

nation, however, occurs where “a powerful public official

picked on a person out of sheer vindictiveness,” and

where there is “an orchestrated campaign of official

harassment” directed at the individual “out of sheer mal-

ice.” Esmail v. Macrane, 53 F.3d 176, 178 (7th Cir. 1995).

The Plaintiff, by including many allegations regard-

ing the state court action she and others brought against

the Village, and by alleging that that lawsuit created “ill

will” on the part of the Defendants, seeks to hawk this

otherwise federally insignificant series of events as a

matter of great constitutional import. The Defendants

submit that this case has no business being in federal

court for two reasons. First, the allegations do not suffi-

ciently plead malice on the part of the Defendants. Sec-

ond, the allegations of the Amended Complaint establish

that the Plaintiff was treated no differently than home-

owners against whom the Village harbored no “ill will.”

1. The Amended Complaint Lacks Sufficient Alle-

gations of Malice on the Part of the Defendants.

As indicated above, “Category Three” discrimination

requires fats [sic] which establish “an orchestrated cam-

paign of official harassment” directed at the individual

“out of sheer malice.” Esmail v. Macrane, 53 F.3d 176, 178

(7th Cir. 1995). All the Plaintiff can muster here is allega-

tions that the Defendants harbored “ill will” against the

Plaintiff because of her prior lawsuit. No facts are set

34

forth that show any “orchestrated campaign” or any ugly

motive approaching “malice.” Unless the Plaintiff can

paint a more evil picture of the Defendants, her action

should be dismissed for failure to state a cause of action

upon which relief may be granted.

2. The Plaintiff Has Pled Herself Out of an Action

By Alleging that Other Homeowners Were

Asked to Grant a 33-Foot Easement.

The Plaintiff claims that her right to equal protection

was violated by the Village because the Village wanted

her to grant a 33-foot easement only because she had filed

a state court action against the Village. This argument is

defeated by the Plaintiff's own allegations.

The Plaintiff has alleged that the Village wanted all

homeowners along both sides of Tennessee Avenue to

grant a 33-foot easement. (Amended Complaint, { 25).

The Plaintiff, the Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman all lived on

one side of Tennessee Avenue. (Amended Complaint,

{ 17). No one from the other side of Tennessee Avenue is

alleged to have filed a state court action which caused “ill

will” on the part of the Defendants.

Distilled to its finest essence, the Plaintiff's Amended

Complaint states that the Plaintiff and her neighbors were

all required to grant a 33-foot easement, regardless of

whether they had filed a lawsuit against the Village. All

homeowners along Tennessee Avenue were treated iden-

tically. As such, the Plaintiff could not possibly have been

the victim of “sheer malice” or “vindictiveness” on the

part of the Defendants.

35

The Equal Protection Clause cannot be construed as a

means by which the Plaintiff may bring her whining

before this court. Despite having filed a state court action

against the Village, she was treated identice iy with those

individuals who had not. In fact, the Amended Com-

plaint shows that the two-year project was completed (as

far as the Plaintiff was concerned) within a year. While

the Plaintiff may have remained inconvenienced by her

broken well and lack of potable water for longer than she

wanted, this does not amount to a constitutional injury.

As Judge Posner noted, “[t]he concept of equal protection

is trivialized when it is used to subject every decision

made by state or local government to constitutional

review by federal courts.” Indiana State Teachers Assn. v.

Board of School Comm'rs of the City of Indianapolis, 1010 F.3d

1179, 1181 (7th Cir. 1996).

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the Defendants request

this court to grant their Motion to Dismiss the Plaintiff's

Amended Complair..

Dowd & Dowd, Ltd.

/s/ Jeffrey Edward Kehl

lettres Edward Kehl

One of the Attorneys for the

Defendants

Robert C. Yelton III

Jeffrey Edward Kehl

DOWD & DOWD, LTD.

55 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1000

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 704-4400

Counsel for the Defendants

36

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

GRACE OLECH,

Plaintiff,

-VSs-

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK,

an Illinois municipal

corporation, GARY PRETZER,

individually and as President

of Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, and PHILIP

J. MODAFF, individually and

as Director of Public Services

of Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK,

Defendants.

No. 97 C 4935

Judge Marovich

Magistrate Judge

Keys

Nm me ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee”

PLAINTIFF’S RESPONSE TO DEFENDANTS’

MOTION TO DISMISS THE AMENDED COMPLAINT

(Received Dec. 19, 1997)

NOW COMES the Plaintiff, GRACE OLECH, by and

through her attorney, JOHN R. WIMMER, and submits

this response to the Defendants’ motion to dismiss the

amended complaint.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

The Defendants’ motion to dismiss the amended

complaint has been brought under Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6).

As stated in Carl A. Haas Automobile Imports, Inc. v. Lola

Cars Ltd. (N.D.Ill. 1996), 933 F.Supp. 1381, 1384, “Familiar

Rule 12(b)(6) principles require this Court to accept as

37

true the Complaint’s well-pleaded factual allegations,

together with all reasonable inferences in [plaintiff's]

favor [citation omitted]”; and “[d]Jismissal is appropriate

only if it appears beyond doubt that [plaintiff] can prove

no set of facts, consistent with the Complaint’s allega-

tions that would entitle it to relief [citation omitted].”

STATEMENT OF FACTS

According to the amended complaint, the Plaintiff,

GRACE OLECH (hereinafter sometimes referred to as

“Mrs. Olech”), is a resident of Willowbrook. (Par. 3) On

August 8, 1989, Mrs. Olech and her since deceased hus-

band, Thaddeus Olech, along with Howard Brinkman,

and Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer, and others

filed a lawsuit against Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK (hereinafter sometimes referred to as “Wil-

lowbrook”) and others in the Circuit Court of the

Eighteenth Judicial Circuit, DuPage County, Illinois, Case

No. 89 L 1517 (hereinafter sometimes referred to as “the

state court lawsuit”), in which the plaintiffs sought

money damages from Willowbrook and other defendants

as a result of the flooding of the plaintiffs’ property by

stormwater. (Par. 7) Howard Brinkman’s claims in the

state court lawsuit were dismissed for want of prosecu-

tion on April 1, 1991. (Par. 8) The claim of Mrs. Olech and

her husband against Willowbrook was tried to a jury

which, on February 11, 1997, returned a verdict in favor

of Mrs. Olech, individually and as special administrator

for her husband, in the amount of $20,000.00, and judg-

ment was entered on that verdict. (Par. 9) The claim of

Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer against Wil-

lowbrook was tried to the same jury which, on February

38

11, 1997, returned a verdict in favor of the Zimmers in the

amount of $135,000.00, and judgment was entered on that

verdict. (Par. 10) The state court lawsuit generated sub-

stantial ill will on the part of Willowbrook and its officers

and agents including Defendants GARY PRETZER (here-

inafter sometimes referred to as “Pretzer”) and PHILIP J.

MODAFF (hereinafter sometimes referred to as “Mod-

aff”) against the plaintiffs in that case. (Par. 11) The ill

will resulted from the coverage of the state court lawsuit

in the local press which made Willowbrook and its offi-

cers and employees look bad, from the erroneous belief

that the state court lawsuit was frivolous, and from the

fact that, prior to the filing of the state court lawsuit, Mrs.

Olech and her husband, and Howard Brinkman had

refused to grant certain easements for a stormwater

drainage project favored by Willowbrook. (Par. 12)

In the spring of 1995 the private well on the Olech

property on the west side of Tennessee Avenue broke

down and was beyond repair. (Par. 15) Mrs. Olech and her

husband implemented a temporary solution to the prob-

lem by hooking up to the well of their neighbor’s to the

south on Tennessee Avenue, the Zimmers, via an over-

ground hose. (Par. 16) Mrs. Olech is Phyllis Zimmer’s

mother. (Par. 3)

At that time Willowbrook’s water main extended as

far south as the northern boundary of the property of

Howard Brinkman, the Olech’s neighbor to the north on

Tennessee Avenue. (Par. 17) By the spring of 1995 Wil-

lowbrook had developed a plan (hereinafter sometimes

referred to as “Willowbrook’s 2-year plan”) which was to

be implemented within two years of the spring of 1995,

and which was going to require all of the homeowners on

39

Tennessee Avenue who were not hooked up to Wil-

lowbrook’s municipal water supply system to hook up to

the system. (Par. 18) In Defendants’ memorandum in

support of their motion to dismiss, the Defendants’ make

the following false and misleading statements:

“As part of this two-year plan, homeowners

could be connected to the Village water system

only if they paid one-third of the total cost for

the connection. (Amended Complaint, [Par.] 20).

In addition, homeowners on both sides of Ten-

nessee Avenue would be required to grant a 33

foot easement to the Village.

(Amended Complaint, [Par.] 25).”

(Defendant’s Memorandum, p. 3.)

Actually, those statements do not appear in the amended

complaint. The work that was ultimately done by Wil-

lowbrook was not done pursuant to Willowbrook’s two-

year plan, but rather at the request of the Olechs, the

Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman for an extension of the water

main “right away.” (Par. 19) The amended complaint does

not allege that the costs paid were assessed or that the

easements were demanded pursuant to Willowbrook’s

2-year plan.

On May 23, 1995, while the state court lawsuit was

pending, the Olechs, the Zimmers, and Howard Brink-

man made a request to Willowbrook that their homes be

hooked up “right away” to the municipal water supply

system. (Par. 19) At that time Modaff was informed that

the well on the Olech property had broken down, and

that the Olech home was obtaining potable water from

the Zimmers’ well via an overground hose, a temporary

40

solution which would not work in the winter when the tem-

perature fell below freezing. (Par. 19) As required by law,

Willowbrook undertook to extend the water main and

hook up the homes as requested, conditioned on the

payment by each of the homeowners, the Olechs, the

Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman, of one-third of the esti-

mated total cost of the project. (Par. 20) On July 11, 1995,

the Olechs paid Willowbrook $7,012.67, representing their

share of the estimated cost of the project, and by July 12,

1995, Willowbrook had received the required payments

from the Zimmers and Mr. Brinkman. (Par. 21)

In the Defendants’ memorandum in support of their

motion to dismiss, the Defendants state that these

moneys were paid “under the two-year plan,” and that

“[t}]he Plaintiff makes no mention of when the home-

owners on the other side of Tennessee Avenue paid their

shares.” (Defendants’ Memorandum, p. 4.) The Defen-

dants statements are again false and misleading. The

money was not paid, nor was the work done “under the

two-year plan.” The work was undertaken at the request

of the Olechs, the Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman for con-

nection “right away” to the municipal water system, and

not as part of Willowbrook’s two-year plan, and the

amended complaint does not allege to the contrary. And

the Plaintiff made no mention of when the homeowners

on the other side of Tennessee Avenue paid their shares

because there are no homes on the other side of Tennessee

Avenue, and no property owner on the east side of Ten-

nessee Avenue was assessed any money in connection

with the work that Willowbrook actually did. The homes

on the property located east of Tennessee Avenue and

across from the property of the Olechs, the Zimmers, and

41

Mr. Brinkman are all the way over on Clarendon Hills

Road, and those homes already had municipal water.

Again, the amended complaint is not to the contrary.

The portion of Tennessee Avenue adjacent to the

Brinkman, Olech, and Zimmer property was not a dedi-

cated public street, and no easements had been granted to

any governmental body for the use of any portion of

Tennessee Avenue. (Par. 22) In August 1995 Modaff told

Zimmer that Willowbrook would not proceed with the

requested water main extension unless all of the property

owners involved granted Willowbrook a 33-foot easement

along Tennessee Avenue, and Pretzer told Zimmer that a

33-foot easement would be required. (Pars. 22-23) On

September 21, 1995, Modaff sent to the Olechs, the Zim-

mers, and Mr. Brinkman a Plat of Easement whereby they

and the property owners on the other side of Tennessee

Avenue would each dedicate a 33-foot strip of their prop-

erty along Tennessee Avenue for public roadway pur-

poses, which would result in a 66-foot wide dedicated

public street. (Par. 25) These demands were not consistent

with Willowbrook’s policy regarding all other property in

the village as was ultimately admitted on November 10,

1995, by the village attorney who stated that a 15-foot

permanent easement would be sufficient and “consistent

with Village policy regarding all other property in the-

Village.” (Emphasis added.) (Par. 26) The Defendants

chose to treat the Olechs, the Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman

differently from all other property owners in Wil-

lowbrook as a result of the ill will generated by the state

court lawsuit and in an attempt to control stormwater

drainage in the vicinity to the detriment of the Olechs

and the other plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit by the

42

use of ditches and swales along Tennessee Avenue. (Par.

27) The decision by the Defendants to treat the Olechs

and the other plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit in a

manner not consistent with all other property owners in

Willowbrook was irrational and wholly arbitrary. (Par. 28)

Because the 33-foot easements and the 66-foot dedi-

cated street demanded by Willowbrook as a condition of

extending its water main was not consistent with what

the Defendants required in relation to all other property

in the village, the Olechs and the other property owners

involved refused to grant the 33-foot easements and 66-

foot street dedication. (Par. 30) Finally, on November 10,

1995, Willowbrook withdrew its demand for the 66-foot

street dedication and indicated in a letter prepared by its

attorney that it would proceed with the water main

extension if Willowbrook were granted a 15-foot ease-

ment for the water main and the related water service

lines used to connect to the homes. (Par. 31) Because the

15-foot easement requested by Willowbrook in its attor-

ney’s letter of November 10, 1995, was consistent with

what was required by Willowbrook in relation to all other

property in Willowbrook, the Olechs and the other prop-

erty owners involved agreed to grant the 15-foot ease-

ment. (Par. 32)

The initial refusal of the Defendants to proceed with

the requested water main extension unless Willowbrook

were granted 33-foot easements and a 66-foot street dedi-

cation resulted in a delay in the project of approximately

three months, a delay which proved critical as a result of

the approaching winter weather. (Par. 33) In November

1995 the overground hose used by the Olechs to connect

to the Zimmers well froze, and the Olechs were without

43

running water from November of 1995 until the project

was completed on March 19, 1996. (Par. 34) As a proximate

result of the three-month delay caused by Willowbrook’s

illegal and vindictive demands, Grace Olech, who was 72

years old, and Thaddeus Olech, who was 76 years old,

were without running water during the winter of

1995-1996, and suffered great inconvenience, humiliation,

and mental distress. (Par. 35)

ARGUMENT

1. The amended complaint adequately sets forth a viola-

tion of the equal protection clause.

In Esmail v. Macrane (7th Cir. 1995), 53 F.3d 176, the

plaintiff, Basim Esmail, a liquor dealer, alleged that

Naperville officials had developed a deep-seated animos-

ity toward him as a result of his success in getting Naper-

ville’s revocation of his retail liquor license reduced by

the state liquor control commission to a suspension, as a

result of Esmail’s advertising campaign accusing Naper-

ville officials of ineffectual enforcement of the law pro-

hibiting the sale of alcohol to minors, and as a result of

Esmail’s withdrawal of financial and political support for

the mayor. (53 F.3d 176, 178.) Esmail alleged that in 1992

Naperville denied two of his license applications based

on trivial or trumped-up charges while Naperville rou-

tinely granted licenses to persons who had engaged in

similar conduct. (53 F.3d 176, 178.) Esmail alleged that the

denials of his license applications were for the purpose of

exacting retaliation and vengeance. (53 F.3d 176, 178.)

Esmail alleged that he was required to spend substantial

attorney's fees to get his license applications finally

44

granted through the intervention of the state courts. (53

F.3d 176, 177.) The Seventh Circuit found that the com-

plaint adequately pleaded a violation of the equal protec-

tion clause. In language pertinent to this case, the Court

stated:

“The distictive [sic] feature here, which the dis-

trict judge did not discuss, is that the unequal

treatment is alleged to have been the result

solely of a vindictive campaign by the mayor.

Our decision in Ciechon v. City of Chicago,

686 F.2d 511 (7th Cir. 1982), holds that such

conduct, so motivated, violates the equal protec-

tion clause; and the holding, although it has

rarely brought ultimate victory to a plaintiff,

does not stand alone. Vukadinovich v. Board of

School Trustees, 978 F.2d 403, 414 and n. 9 (7th

Cir. 1992); Chicago Cable Communications v. Chi-

cago Cable Commission, 879 F.2d 1540, 1547 (7th

Cir. 1989); Yerardi’s Moody Street Restaurant v.

Board of Selectmen, 878 F.2d 16, 21 (1st Cir. 1989);

Zeigler v. Jackson, 638 F.2d 776, 779 (Sth Cir.

1981)... . If the power of government is brought

to bear on a harmless individual merely because

a powerful state or local official harbors a malig-

nant animosity toward him, the individual

ought to have a remedy in federal court.”

53 F.3d 176, 179.

The Defendants’ first argument is that in a claim

under the equal protection clause pursuant to the princi-

ple discussed in Esmail, the plaintiff must plead “an

orchestrated campaign of official harassment” directed at

the individual “out of sheer malice.” (Defendants’ Mem-

orandum, p. 7.) The Defendants argue that in this case the

45

amended complaint is insufficient because it does not set

forth those elements.

The Defendants’ argument is not well taken because

Esmail does not require a plaintiff to plead an orches-

trated campaign of official harassment or malice. What is

required is that the plaintiff plead “unequal treatment”

resulting from “animosity,” vindictiveness, or bad faith

on the part of the government officials involved. (53 F.3d

176, 179.) Significantly, the Court in Esmail cited Ziegler v.

Jackson (5th Cir. 1981), 638 F.2d 776, 779, as a case apply-

ing its holding, and in Ziegler there was no allegation of

an orchestrated campaign of official harassment. The alle-

gation in Ziegler was simply that the plaintiff's rights

under the equal protection clause were violated when a

state agency refused to let him become a policeman

because of certain prior convictions he had where the

agency “had waived the character requirement for other

individuals convicted of similar or more serious crimes.”

(638 F.2d 778-779.) Moreover, the Court in Yerardi’s Moody

Street Restaurant & Lounge, Inc. v. Board of Selectmen (1st

Cir. 1989), 878 F.2d 16, 21, another case cited by the Court

in Esmail as a case applying its holding, stated the princi-

ple as follows:

“[Ljiability in the instant type of equal protec-

tion case should depend on proof that (1) the

person, compared with others similarly situated,

was selectively treated; and (2) that such selec-

tive treatment was based on impermissible con-

siderations such as race, religion, intent to inhibit

or punish the exercise of constitutional rights, or

malicious or bad faith intent to injure a person.”

(Emphasis added.)

(878 F.2d 16, 21.)

46

The Court in Yerardi’s did not require a showing of “an

orchestrated campaign of official harassment” or “sheer

malice.” Unequal treatment undertaken in bad faith is

enough. Finally, the case of Ciechon v. City of Chicago (7th

Cir. 1982), 686 F.2d 511, cited by the Court in Esmail as the

basis for its holding, did not involve an orchestrated

campaign of official harassment or “sheer malice.” It

involved action by the city in terminating the employ-

ment of a paramedic based on an incident which received

substantial press coverage where another paramedic who

was equally responsible in the incident was not punished.

What Esmail requires is that the plaintiff show unequal

treatment resulting from vindictiveness, animosity, or

other improper purpose of the government officials

involved.

Obviously, Mrs. Olech has pleaded those required

elements. Olech has pleaded that, as a condition of Wil-

lowbrook extending its water main to service the Olechs,

the Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman, Willowbrook demanded

that they grant Willowbrook a 33-foot easement, and that

Willowbrook be granted a 66-foot street dedication. As

Willowbrook’s attorney ultimately admitted, this was not

consistent with what Willowbrook required in relation to

“all other property” in Willowbrook, i.e., a simple 15-foot

easement. Olech has also alleged that the Defendants

chose to treat her differently for an improper purpose,

i.e., as a result of the ill will generated by the state court

lawsuit against Willowbrook and in an attempt to control

stormwater drainage in the vicinity to the detriment of

the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit by the use of

ditches and swales along Tennessee Avenue. Mrs. Olech’s

complaint is sufficient.

47

2. Mrs. Olech has not “pled herself out of an action” by

alleging that Willowbrook demanded that property owners on

the other side of Tennessee Avenue grant a 33-foot easement.

The Defendants second argument is that the Plaintiff

“pled herself out of an action” by alleging that other

property owners were asked to grant a 33-foot easement.

Willowbrook argues that the fact that it demanded a 33-

foot easement from the owners of property on the east

side of Tennessee Avenue shows that it was not acting out

of ill will toward the plaintiffs in the state court action,

the Olechs, the Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman.

The Defendants argument is based on either a care-

less or a contrived reading of the amended complaint and

a misstatement of the facts. There are no homes on the

east side of Tennessee Avenue across from the Olechs, the

Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman, nor does the amended com-

plaint allege that there are. The homes to the east of the

Olechs, the Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman are all the way

over on Clarendon Hills Road, and in the spring of 1995,

they already had municipal water. The amended com-

plaint is not to the contrary. What the amended complaint

alleges is that Willowbrook demanded the 33-foot ease-

ments and 66-foot street dedication as a condition of

extending its water main at the request of the Olechs, the

Zimmers, and Howard Brinkman, the plaintiffs in the

state court lawsuit, that their homes be hooked up to the

municipal water supply. (Par. 19) In effect, Willowbrook

told the Olechs, the Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman that they

would not get municipal water unless and until they

granted the 33-foot easements and obtained such ease-

ments from the property owners across the street who

already had municipal water. Willowbrook’s illegal

48

demands were directed at the plaintiffs in the state court

lawsuit. Mrs. Olech has not “pled herself out of an

action.”

The Defendants’ argument in this regard is similar to

the argument that, when a black person and his white

friend are denied admission to a public accommodation

because of the black person’s race, the black person can-

not recover because his white friend was also excluded.

That argument does not fly (Valle v. Stengel (3d Cir. 1949),

176 F.2d 697), nor does the Defendants’ argument here

have any merit. The amended complaint alleges that the

Defendants’ illegal demands were the result of ill will

against the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit and in an

attempt to control stormwater drainage in the vicinity to

the detriment of the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit by

the use of ditches and swales along Tennessee Avenue

(par. 27), and that allegation must be accepted as true.

The Defendants motion to dismiss is not well taken, and

it should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ John R. Wimmer

John R. Wimmer

JOHN R. WIMMER

Attorney at Law

928 Warren Avenue

Downers Grove, Illinois 60515

(630) 810-0005

Attorney No. 03125600

49

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

GRACE OLECH,

Plaintiff, GEN. NO. 97 C 4935

vs.

VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, an

Illinois municipal

corporation, GARY

PRETZER, individually

and as President of

Defendant, VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, and

PHILIP J. MODAFF,

individually and as

Director of Public Services

for Defendant, VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK,

Defendants.

Judge

George M. Marovich

Magistrate Judge

Keys

me me ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee eee”

REPLY

(Received Jan. 09, 1998)

NOW COMES the Defendants, the VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK, an Illinois municipal corporation, GARY

PRETZER, individually and as President of Defendant,

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, and PHILIP J. MODAFF,

individually and as Director of Public Services for Defen-

dant, VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, by and through

their attorneys, NORTON, MANCINI, ARGENTATI,

WEILER & DeANO, and for their Reply to Plaintiff's

Response to Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss state as fol-

lows.

50

Plaintiff’s Amended Complaint

Fails to Sufficiently Allege Malicious Conduct

The standard for governmental conduct established

by Esmail requires that the government orchestrate a cam-

paign of official harassment aimed at doing significant

harm to a harmless plaintiff. This cause of action is rooted

in governmental conduct that is malicious, unrelenting,

motivated by “malignant animosity,” and “wholly unre-

lated to a legitimate public objective.” Esmail v. Macrane,

(7th Cir. 1995) 53 F.3d 176, 179-80; Sarantakis v. Village of

Winthrop Harbor, (N.D.Ill. 1997) 969 F.Supp. 1095,! (plain-

tiff must demonstrate malice on the part of the govern-

mental entity.) The necessary ingredients of the cause of

action can be gleaned from the following statements in

Esmail:

In particular, Esmail is not complaining merely

that equally or more guilty liquor licensees than

he are treated more leniently. He is complaining

about an orchestrated campaign of official

harassment directed against him out of sheer

malice. 53 F.3d 176 at 179.

* * *

If the power of government is brought to bear

on a harmless individual merely because a pow-

erful state or local official harbors a malignant

! Sarantakis is more closely analogous to this case since it

involves the denial of governmental services, whereas Esmail

involved the refusal of a liquor license. Where the claim

involves the denial of governmental services, according to

Sarantakis, equal protection claims must be based on

discrimination directed at groups, rather than individuals. 969

F.Supp. at 1105.

51

animosity toward him, the individual ought to

have a remedy in federal court. 53 F.3d at 179.

* * *

What it (the equal protection clause) does

require, and what Esmail may or may not be

able to prove, is that the action taken by the

state, whether in the form of prosecution or

otherwise, was a spiteful effort to ‘get’ him for

reasons wholly unrelated to any legitimate state

objective. 53 F.3d at 180.

The Plaintiff's Complaint does not allege the severity

of conduct required by Esmail. The Village’s lack of mal-

ice and intent to harass is evidenced by the fact that it

abandoned its initial request within three months and

agreed to a permanent easement of fifteen feet and a

temporary easement of five feet. Thus, the initial thirty-

three foot easement request could have been only the

result of a legitimate attempt to improve Tennessee Ave-

nue or a mistake, neither of which can amount to a denial

of equal protection.

A claim for violation of equal protection will not lie

where the governmental action was taken out of error,

neglect or mistake. Ciechon v. City of Chicago, (7th Cir.

1982) 686 F.2d 511, 523; Snowden v. Hughes, 321 U.S. 1, 8,

64 S.Ct. 397, 401, 88 L.Ed. 497. Although a plaintiff can be

a member of a class of limited membership, the plaintiff

must have been singled-out because of his membership in

that class and not be just the random victim of govern-

mental incompetence. Albright v. Oliver, 975 F.2d 343, 348

(7th Cir. 1992), aff'd 510 U.S.266, 114 S.Ct. 807, 127

L.Ed.2d 114 (1994). At worst, Plaintiff’s allegations show

that the Plaintiff was a random victim of governmental

52

error; the Village initially asked the Plaintiff for a thirty-

three-foot easement, but later obtained advice from coun-

sel that a total of twenty feet of easement would suffice.

(Plaintiff's Complaint at par. 26).

In Indiana State Teachers Association v. Board of School

Commissioners of the City of Indianapolis, (7th Cir. 1996) 101

F.3d 1179, the court reasoned that even though a class can

consist of a single member, the equal protection clause

will apply in such circumstances only where the govern-

ment seeks to “single out a hapless individual, firm or

other entity for unfavorable treatment.” 101 F. 3d at 1082.

Even in such cases, however, the court noted that the

plaintiff must still demonstrate defendant's conduct to be

irrational and arbitrary.

In Esmail, the municipality “got” the plaintiff by

depriving him of a liquor license thereby destroying his

business. In Ziegler v. Jackson, (Sth Cir. 1981) 638 F.2d 776,

cited by Esmail, the governmental entity deprived the

plaintiff of employment because of his convictions for

presenting a fire arm and criminal provocation, while it

retained other public employees convicted of similar

offenses. The plaintiff therein could point to persons and

circumstances identical to his own wherein the treatment

was different.

Rather than demonstrating that Defendants

attempted to “get” the Plaintiff, or that Defendants’ con-

duct was irrational or arbitrary, Plaintiff's Complaint

reveals that Defendants initially, and for a short time,

sought an easement of sufficient width to improve the

roadway with pavement, sidewalks and public utilities.

Plaintiff, apparently not desirous of such improvements,

53

objected to the thirty-three foot easement, but ultimately

agreed to a fifteen-foot easement, and another five-foot

temporary construction easement. Defendants’ conduct in

this regard was hardly an orchestrated campaign of

harassment, or an effort to “get” the Plaintiff, but merely

a legitimate effort to improve a road obviously used by

the Plaintiff with great frequency.

Defendants’ Conduct Was

Not the Cause of Plaintiff's Injury

In Esmail, the court found it significant that the plain-

tiff did not contribute to the cause of his predicament

through his own conduct. The court characterized the

plaintiff as a “harmless individual” whose treatment was

“the result solely of a vindictive campaign by the mayor.”

53 F.3d at 179. In Indiana State Teachers Association, the

court followed this reasoning, noting that the plaintiff

must be “hapless.” 101 F.3d at 1082. In the context of this

case, the Plaintiff cannot be said to be “harmless” or

“hapless” with respect to her lack of water. It is not

apparent from the Complaint that Plaintiff exhausted all

reasonable attempts to repair her well or devise a new

method of water delivery from her neighbor. In this

sense, the Complaint fails to allege that Plaintiff’s injury

resulted “solely” from a vindictive campaign by Village

officials. Plaintiff's deprivation of running water was

merely incidental to the entire process and can hardly be

deemed the objective of the Village. Plaintiff's Complaint

even states that the plan to connect the homeowners on

Tennessee Avenue to the municipal water supply system

was developed in the spring of 1995 and was to be

implemented within two years, or by the spring of 1997.

54

(Plaintiff's Complaint at par. 18). Yet, Plaintiff admits that

she received water when the project was completed on or

about March 19, 1996, a full year ahead of schedule.

(Plaintiff's Complaint at par. 34).

There is no suggestion in Plaintiff’s Complaint that

the project was intended to be or could have been com-

pleted by November of 1995 when Plaintiff’s hose froze.

Plaintiff cites no law, custom, practice or precedent to

suggest that the project should, would or could have

provided public water service to the Plaintiff by Novem-

ber of 1995, even if the thirty-three foot easement had

never been sought. Thus, irrespective of any attempts by

the Village to acquire sufficient land to properly improve

the road, Plaintiff cannot claim that her loss of water was

due to the conduct of the Village.

Moreover, Plaintiff is still obligated to show that her

injury would not have occurred but for Defendants’ con-

duct. As the court noted in Button v. Harden, (7th Cir.

1987) 814 F.2d 382, 383:

Section 1983 is a tort statute. To prevail under it,

a plaintiff must show not only that his federal

rights were violated but also that, had it not

been for the violation, the injury of which he

complains would not have occurred. Citing

Mount Healthy City School District Board of Educa-

tion v. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274, 285-87, 97 S.Ct. 568,

575-76, 50 L.Ed.2d 471 (1977); DeShaney v. Win-

nebago County Department of Social Services, (7th

Cir. 1987) 812 F.2d 298, 302.

55

The Plaintiff Has Not Sufficiently Alleged Others

Similarly Situated Were Treated Differently

The Plaintiff has also failed to sufficiently allege that

another person similarly situated to herself was treated

differently. O'Connor v. Chicago Transit Authority, (7th Cir.

1993) 985 F.2d 1362; Gaylor v. Thompson, (W.D. Wis. 1996)

939 F.Supp. 1363, 1375. In O’Connor, an employee of the

Chicago Transit Authority with a record of insubordina-

tion brought an equal protection claim asserting that his

termination resulted from his whistle-blowing activity.

Summary judgment for the defendant was affirmed, with

the court noting that the plaintiff failed to demonstrate

that another grossly insubordinate worker was treated

differently than he.

In Gaylor v. Thompson, (W.D. Wis. 1996) 939 F.Supp.

1363, the plaintiffs applied for a display permit and

alleged that they were denied equal protection because

the governor directly engaged himself in the process, as

he had done in no other case, and denied plaintiffs’

application because of their views on the separation of

church and state. Plaintiffs’ failure to demonstrate how

they were similarly situated to previous applicants or

that they were the only ones treated differently than

previous applicants resulted in dismissal of their claim.

The unique and extensive facts pled in Plaintiff's

Complaint do not demonstrate a denial of equal protec-

tion. Plaintiff's residence adjacent to a non-dedicated

road is a unique fact that contradicts the claim that others

who sought connection to the public water supply were

similarly situated. The Complaint alleges that Plaintiff

requested a connection to the public water supply “right

56

away” after her well broke down. (Plaintiff's Amended

Complaint at par. 19). The Plaintiff does not allege that

any other residents who lived adjacent to such non-dedi-

cated roads received public water “right away” after

making a request or that the Village did not initially

attempt to fully dedicate the road so that it could be

improved with pavement, sidewalks and public utilities

as part of the water connection project. The Complaint

does not allege that the law required that Plaintiff's home

be connected to the public water supply “right away” or

that every other resident that ever made a request for

public water service received that water “right away” or

within three months or six months or nine months.

The Plaintiff alleges that Defendants’ request for a

thirty-three-foot easement was made in August and again

in September, but that by November 10, 1995, the Village

agreed that a fifteen-foot easement along with a five-foot

temporary construction easement would suffice for the

installation of the water main. The portion of the Village

Attorney’s letter cited in paragraph 26 of Plaintiff's Com-

plaint is vague and does not suggest that Plaintiff was

treated any differently than similarly situated residents.

The letter states that the requirement of a fifteen-foot

easement and a five-foot temporary construction ease-

ment was consistent with Village policy regarding “all

other property” (emphasis added); this does not mean

that other residents who lived adjacent to non-dedicated

roads over which the governmental body had no ease-

ment were granted a water connection without a request

for a thirty-three foot easement. Rather, the language

cited by the Plaintiff is more reasonably construed to

57

mean that with respect to property “other” than Plain-

tiff’s, i.e., where the residents seeking water were living

adjacent to a fully improved road, fifteen-foot permanent

and five-foot construction easements were sought by the

Village.

Though Plaintiff attempts to draw the inference that

her alleged unequal treatment was due to her status as a

claimant against the Village in another lawsuit, that con-

clusion does not logically follow from the allegations of

the Complaint. The Complaint pleads a rational, rather

than arbitrary, basis for Defendants’ conduct; the desire

to improve a street used by the Plaintiff in conjunction

with the installation of a water main under that street. As

noted in Albright v. Oliver, (7th Cir. 1992) 975 F.2d 343, the

state’s act of singling out an individual for differential

treatment does not itself create the class. It is the Plain-

tiff’s membership in the class that must be the motivating

force behind the government's act of singling her out for

differential treatment. Absent allegations that the Village

conditioned the delivery of public water to the Plaintiff

on the Plaintiff's dismissal of her other claim against the

Village, the Plaintiff has not properly alleged that her

differential treatment resulted from her membership in a

class of persons who have sued the Village.

Ciechon v. City of Chicago, (7th Cir. 1982) 686 F.2d 511,

is distinguishable because the plaintiff therein could

identify a similarly situated person who was treated dif-

ferently by the defendant. The plaintiff was a female

paramedic who was discharged by her employer because

of her alleged failure to render proper treatment during

an ambulance transport of a patient. The plaintiff's co-

worker, a male, was not disciplined, though he was

58

equally responsible for the treatment of the patient in

question. Here, the Plaintiff has not identified a person

similarly situated, i.e., someone who lost their water

source from a private well and requested and received

water from the municipal supply “right away.”

In Ziegler v. Jackson, (Sth Cir. 1981) 638 F.2d 776, cited

by Esmail, the plaintiff, who was convicted of presenting

a firearm and criminal provocation, was discharged from

his position as a police officer pursuant to a statute which

precluded the hiring as a police officer any person con-

victed of an offense involving the use of force or violence

or moral turpitude. Because three other individuals con-

victed of assault and forgery were retained as police

officers, the court concluded that the plaintiff had been

deprived of equal protection.

In Johnson v. City of Fort Wayne, (7th Cir. 1996) 91 F.3d

922, 945, summary judgment was granted for the defen-

dant on the equal protection claim because the plaintiff

failed to allege or demonstrate, as he must, that any other

police officer or firefighter in an upper-level policy-mak-

ing position was given notice and a hearing before being

demoted to the rank that individual held prior to being

appointed to the policy-making position.

Conclusion

Plaintiff is asking this Court to scrutinize a decision

to initially seek a thirty-three-foot easement for the

improvement of a non-dedicated road as part of a project

for the installation of a water main. Plaintiff's Complaint

supplies facts which demonstrate that this request was

neither arbitrary nor irrational, and also fails to allege

59

that similar requests for thirty-three-foot easements were

not made when other residents requested the installation

of a water main along a non-dedicated road. Moreover,

the Plaintiff's loss of water was the result of her well

breaking down and a hose freezing, not the result of

governmental conduct. The extension of the principles

which govern the Esmail decision to the facts set forth in

Plaintiff's Complaint herein would trivialize the equal

protection clause. Indiana State Teachers Association v.

Board of School Commissioners of the City of Indianapolis,

(7th Cir. 1996) 101 F.3d 1179, 1181 (the concept of equal

protection is trivialized when it is used to subject every

decision made by a local government to constitutional

review by federal courts.)

WHEREFORE, in light of the foregoing, Defendants

pray that this Court enter its Order dismissing the Plain-

tiff’s Amended Complaint with prejudice.

Respectfully submitted,

NORTON, MANCINI,

ARGENTATI, WEILER

& DeANO

By: /s/ James L. DeAno

James L. DeAno

NORTON, MANCINI, ARGENTATI, WEILER & DeANO

109 North Hale, P.O. Box 846

Wheaton, Illinois 60189-0846

(630) 668-9440

Attorney No. 6180161

60

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

GRACE OLECH,

Plaintiff,

)

)

) No. 97 C 4935

Vv. )

) Judge

VILLAGE OF |

WILLOWBROOK, et al., George M. Marovich

Defendants. )

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff Grace Olech (“Olech”) filed this action, pur-

suant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, against Defendants the Village

of Willowbrook (“Willowbrook” or the “Village”), Gary

Pretzer (“Pretzer”), individually and as President of Wil-

lowbrook, and Philip Modaff (“Modaff”), individually

and as Director of Public Services for Willowbrook, alleg-

ing that Defendants violated her rights under the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution. Defendants have filed a

motion to dismiss Olech’s Complaint pursuant to Fed. R.

Civ. P. 12(b)(6). For the reasons set forth below, the Defen-

dants’ motion to dismiss is granted.

BACKGROUND

Olech is the 72-year-old owner and resident of a

single-family home on Tennessee Avenue in Willowbrook,

61

Illinois.! Olech’s home is located between two other

homes on Tennessee Avenue - owned by Rodney and

Phillis Zimmer (the “Zimmers”) on the south and How-

ard Brinkman (“Brinkman”) on the north.

Up until the spring of 1995, Olech and her late-

husband obtained their potable water from a private well

located on their property. In the spring of 1995, however,

the Olechs’ well broke down and was allegedly beyond

repair. Because the Willowbrook water main extended

only to the northern boundary of Brinkman’s property -

the Olechs’ neighbor to the north on Tennessee Avenue -

in order to obtain water, the Olechs were forced to hook

an overground rubber hose up to the well of the Zimmers

- their neighbors to the south on Tennessee Avenue.

The Olechs apparently viewed this as a “temporary

solution” to their water problem. As such, the Olechs, the

Zimmers and Brinkman allegedly asked Willowbrook to

hook their homes up “right away” to the Willowbrook

municipal water system. Olech contends that she

explained her water problems (the broken well) to Mod-

aff, the Director of Public Services for Willowbrook, and

notified him that the overground hose would not work in

the winter when the temperature fell below freezing.

Olech contends that after alerting Willowbrook to her

problem, the Village began work on extending the water

main to hook up Olech’s home and the homes of her two

neighbors. Willowbrook conditioned its work on an

! Since the time that the events at issue in this suit took

place Olech’s husband, Thaddeus Olech, has died of causes

unrelated to this action.

62

agreement by Olech and her neighbors to each pay one-

third of the estimated cost of the project. By July 12, 1995,

Willowbrook had received the required payments of

$7,012.67 from Olech and her neighbors.

However, in August of 1995, Willowbrook informed

Olech and her neighbors that in addition to their cash

payments for the project, Willowbrook also required them

to grant the Village a 33-foot easement along Tennessee

Avenue. According to Olech, the Plat of Easement created

by Willowbrook required property owners of both sides

of Tennessee Avenue - the Olechs, Zimmers, and Brink-

man live on the west side of Tennessee Avenue - to

dedicate a 33-foot strip of property along Tennessee Ave-

nue for public roadway purposes. Specifically, wil-

lowbrook wanted to install a paved roadway with

sidewalks and public utilities on Tennessee Avenue.

The Olechs and their neighbors refused to grant Wil-

lowbrook the 33-foot easement that it required. As a

result of the property owners’ refusal to grant the ease-

ment, no progress was made on the water project. Finally,

on November 10, 1995, Willowbrook’s attorney prepared

a letter in which the Village withdrew its demand for a

33-foot easement and indicated to Olech and her neigh-

bors that it would proceed with the water main extension

if they would grant Willowbrook a 15-foot easement for

the water main and the related water service line used to

connect the homes. According to Olech’s Complaint, the

letter from Willowbrook’s attorney stated, in part:

[A] fifteen foot (15°) easement, along with a

temporary construction easement of five feet (5')

on each side, will be sufficient to install the

63

water main. This is consistent with Village pol-

icy regarding all other property in the Village.

(Compl. at ¥ 26.) Olech and her neighbors agreed to grant

Willowbrook the 15-foot easement and the water project

was completed approximately four months later on

March 19, 1996.

Meanwhile, in November 1995, the overground hose

used by the Olechs to connect to their neighbor’s well

froze. As a result, Olech and her husband were without

running water from November 1995 through March 19,

1996.

Olech filed her Complaint with this Court alleging

that Willowbrook violated her rights under the Equal

Protection Clause by initially requiring that she and her

neighbors grant the Village a 33-foot easement while only

requiring a 15-foot easement from other Village resi-

dents.? Olech contends that the reason that she and her

neighbors were singled out by Willowbrook was because

they had each filed state-court lawsuits against the Vil-

lage six years earlier in August of 1989.3 Olech alleges

that these lawsuits made Willowbrook and its officers and

employees “look bad.” Olech further alleges that these

* Olech bases this allegation on the letter she received

from Willowbrook’s attorney reporting that a 15-foot easement

was “consistent with Village policy regarding all other property

in the Village.”

* The Olechs, the Zimmers and Brinkman filed three

state-court suits against Willowbrook for damage that resulted

from the flooding of their property by storm water. The Olechs

and Zimmers were successful in their suits against

Willowbrook. Brinkman’s claims were dismissed for want of

prosecution.

64

lawsuits generated “substantial ill will” on the part of

Willowbrook and its officers and employees. This “ill

will,” according to Olech, is what ultimately motivated

Willowbrook to require a larger easement (33 feet) from

her and her neighbors than what is normally required (15

feet) from other property owners in the Village. Olech

maintains that the three-month delay, which resulted

from Willowbrook’s request for the larger easement, is

what ultimately caused her and her husband to be with-

out running water during the winter of 1995-1996. Thus,

it is this three-month delay that Olech claims deprived

her of her rights under the Equal Protection Clause.

DISCUSSION

I. Standards For a Motion to Dismiss

When considering a motion to dismiss, the Court

examines the sufficiency of the complaint, not the merits

of the lawsuit. See Triad Assoc. v. Chicago Hous. Auth., 892

F.2d 583, 586 (7th Cir. 1989). “[T]he issue is not whether a

plaintiff will ultimately prevail but whether the claimant

is entitled to offer evidence that supports the claims.”

Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 236 (1974). A motion to

dismiss will be granted only if the Court finds that the

plaintiff can prove no set of facts that would entitle him

to relief. See Venture Assoc. Corp. v. Zenith Data Sys. Corp.,

987 F.2d 429, 432 (7th Cir. 1993); Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S.

41, 45-46 (1957). On a motion to dismiss, the Court draws

all inferences and resolves all ambiguities in the plain-

tiffs’s favor and assumes that all well-pleaded facts are

true. See Dimmig v. Wahl, 983 F.2d 86, 86 (7th Cir. 1993).

65

II. Violation of the Equal Protection Clause

The Seventh Circuit has explained that there are two

common varieties of equal protection claims: (1) those in

which the plaintiff claims that she is a member of a

vulnerable group (principally racial) and has been sin-

gled out for unequal treatment on that basis; and (2)

those involving challenges to laws or rules that sup-

posedly draw irrational distinctions. Esmail v. Macrane, 53

F.3d 176, 178 (7th Cir. 1995). A third and more unusual

claim involves “orchestrated campaigns of official harass-

ment directed against [a plaintiff] out of sheer malice.” Id.

at 179. Olech contends that her Complaint belongs to this

highly unusual class of equal protection claims.

In Esmail, a Naperville liquor dealer (Esmail) alleged

that he was denied the renewal of his liquor license as a

result of an “orchestrated campaign” by the mayor. Speci-

fically, Esmail alleged that the mayor, who is also Naper-

ville’s liquor control commissioner, not only denied his

repeated applications for a liquor license, but also insti-

tuted a “campaign of vengeance” against him which con-

sisted of causing the Naperville police to harass him and

his employees with “constant, intrusive surveillance, in

causing the police to stop his car repeatedly and forc[ing]

him to undergo field sobriety tests, and in causing false

criminal charges to be lodged against him.” Id. at 178. The

court summarized that Esmail’s “charge here is that a

powerful public official picked on a person out of sheer

vindictiveness.” id.

After reviewing Esmail’s 22-page Complaint, the Sev-

enth Circuit declared that:

66

If the power of the government is brought to

bear on a harmless individual merely because a

powerful state or local official harbors a malig-

nant animosity toward him, the individual

ought to have a remedy in federal court.

Id. at 179.

While this Court is sympathetic to alleged wrong

suffered by Olech and her husband, the Court is not

convinced that Olech’s Complaint describes the “malig-

nant animosity” or the “orchestrated campaign of official

harassment” complained of in Esmail. Even accepting

Olech’s allegations that her state-court action generated

“ill will” in Willowbrook against her and her neighbors,

this Court is unable to conclude that the Village ever

“harassed” or “picked on” Olech and her neighbors “out

of sheer vindictiveness” as in Esmail. At most, Olech’s

Complaint alleges that the Village acted unreasonably

and out of “ill will” in requiring her to give up an extra

18 feet of easement space that was not required of other

property holders. This hardly qualifies as the same type

of conduct alleged to have been suffered in Esmail. More-

over, based on the allegations contained in Olech’s Com-

plaint, it appears that the reason that the Village wanted

33 feet of easement rather than 15 feet of easement was so

that it would be able to install a paved public roadway

along Tennessee Avenue with sidewalks and public util-

ities - something it apparently could not do without the

additional 18 feet of space. (Compl. at { 25.) Nothing in

Olech’s Complaint - apart from conclusory assertions -

indicates that Willowbrook was acting out of vindictive-

ness or in retaliation for Olech’s prior lawsuit. See Trask v.

Rios, 1995 WL 758410, at *5 (N.D. Ill. Dec. 19, 1995)

67

(" ‘Harass,’ ‘discriminate,’ and ‘retaliate’ are words to

which legal significance attaches. Alone, they are legal

conclusions that do not place defendants on notice of the

circumstances from which the accusations arise and

therefore are inappropriate pleading devices.”); Palda v.

General Dynamics Corp., 47 F.3d 872, 875 (7th Cir. 1995)

(“A complaint [that] consists of conclusory allegations

unsupported by factual assertions fails even the liberal

standard of Rule 12(b)(6).”). Assuming that all of the

allegations contained in Olech’s Complaint are true, it

appears to this Court that there may be “ill will” on the

part of both Willowbrook and Olech. Nevertheless, this

Court finds that the alleged treatment of Olech by Wil-

lowbrook and its officers - as well as the alleged motiva-

tion behind this treatment - is not sufficient to state an

equal-protection claim under the standards as set forth in

Esmail.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court grants Defen-

dants’ motion to dismiss.

ENTER:

/s/ George M. Marovich

GEORGE M. MAROVICH

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

DATE: April 13, 1998

68

Minute Order Form (Rev. 12/90)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

Name of Assigned Judge or Magistrate Judge

GEORGE M. MAROVICH

Sitting Judge if Other Than Assigned Judge

Case Number 97 C 4935

Date April 13, 1998

Case Title

OLECH -v- VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK et al

MOTION: [In the following box (a) indicate the party

filing the motion, e.g., plaintiff, defendant,

3rd-party plaintiff, and (b) state briefly the

nature of the motion being presented.]

DOCKET ENTRY:

(1) [ ] Filed motion of [use listing in “MOTION”

box above].

Answer brief to motion due

Reply to answer brief due

(4) [{ | { | Ruling

on set for

at

(2) { ] Brief in support of motion due

(3) [|

{| | Hearing

(5) | ] Status hearing

{| | held [ ] continued to

| | set for [ ] re-set for

at

(6) [| ] Pretrial conf.

{ }] held [ ]} continued to

{ ] set for [ ] re-set for

at

69

(7) [| ] Trial [ ] Set for [ ] re-set for

at

(8) [ ] [{ ] Bench Trial [ ] Jury Trial

[ ] Hearing

held and continued to at

(9) [| ] This case is dismissed

{ ] without [ ] with

prejudice and without costs

[ ] by agreement [ ] pursuant to

[ ] FRCP 4(j) (failure to serve)

{ ] General Rule 21 (wan* of prosecution)

[ } FRCP 41(a)(1)

{ ] FRCP 41(a)(2)

(10) [XX] [Other docket entry] Pursuant to

Memorandum Opinion and Order entered

this day, defendants’ motion to dismiss is

granted.

(11) [X] [For further detail see

[ ] order on the reverse of

[X] order attached to the original minute

order form.|]

{ ] No notices required, advised in open court.

{ ] No notices required.

[X] Notices mailed by judge’s staff.

| } Notified counsel by telephone.

[ ] Docketing to mail notices.

{ ] Mail AO 450 form.

[ ] Copy to judge/magistrate Judge.

70

[X] courtroom

deputy’s

Initials

Date/time received in central Clerk’s Office

number of notices

date docketed

docketing dpty. initials

13 April 98 date mailed notice

[X] mailing dpty. initials

Document #

71

United States District Court

Northern District of Illinois

Eastern Division

OLECH JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

v. Case Number: 97 C 4935

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK et al

{ ] Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court

for a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and

the jury rendered its verdict.

[X]_ Decision by Court. This action came to trial or

hearing before the Court. The issues have been

tried or heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED this action is

dismissed in its entirety.

Michael W. Dobbins,

Clerk of Court

/s/ J. Smith _

J. Smith, Deputy Clerk

Date: 4/13/98

72

NO. 98-2235

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

GRACE OLECH, ) Appeal from the United

) States District Court for the

) Northern District of Illinois,

-VS- ) Eastern Division.

VILLAGE OF )

WILLOWBROOK, an?

Illinois municipal )

corporation, GARY

PRETZER, individually ?

and as President of )

Defendant VILLAGE OF ?

WILLOWBROOK, and :

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Plaintiff-Appellant,

No. 97 C 4935

Hon. George M. Marovich,

Judge Presiding.

PHILIP J. MODAFF,

individually and as

Director of Public

Services of Defendant

VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK,

Defendants-Appellees.

BRIEF OF PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT GRACE OLECH

(Received Jul. 29, 1998)

JOHN R. WIMMER

928 Warren Avenue

Downers Grove, Illinois 60515

(630) 810-0005

Attorney for Plaintiff-Appellant

73

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT’S

CERTIFICATE OF INTEREST

Appellate Court No: 98-2235

Short Caption: Olech v. Village of Willowbrook, et al.

To enable the judges to determine whether recusal is

necessary Or appropriate, an attorney for a non-govern-

mental party or amicus curiae, or a private attorney rep-

resenting a government party, must furnish a certificate

of interest stating the following information in compli-

ance with Circuit Rule 26.1. NOTE: Counsel is required to

complete the entire certificate and to use N/A for any

information that is not applicable. i om

(1) The full name of every party or amicus the attorney

represents in the case:

Grace Olech

(2) If such party or amicus is a corporation:

i) Its parent corporation, if any; and

N/A

ii) A list of stockholders which are publicly held

companies owning 10% or more of the stock in

the party or amicus:

N/A

(3) The names of all law firms whose partners or associ-

ates have appeared for the party in the case or are

expected to appear for the party in this court:

The Law Offices of John R. Wimmer

This certificate shall be filed with the appearance

form or upon the filing of a motion in this court, which-

ever occurs first. The attorney furnishing the certificate

must file an amended certificate to reflect any material

74

changes in the required information. The text of the certifi-

cate (i.e. caption omitted) shall also be included in from

[sic] of the table of contents of the party’s main brief.

Attorney’s Signature: /s/ John R. Wimmer

Attorney’s Printed Name: John R. Wimmer

Date: May 20, 1998

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

STATEMENT OF SUBJECT MATTER AND APPEL-

CA HE IE on dsvesecesccecccdntidseces 1

STATEMENT OF ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE..............sseceeeee 3

IIS Sunccccccccccéescccsebecee 4

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT....................45- 12

cba cidh nunndebddnokedendsndsdesans es 13

I. Standard of Review of a Dismissal under

I so cc cocnectedacbeconsokes 13

Il. The District Court erred in dismissing Grace

Olech’s Amended Complaint because the

Amended Complaint states a claim under 42

U.S.C. § 1983 for violation of her rights under the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States constitution

under the principles of this Court’s decision in

Esmail v. Macrane, 53 F.3d 176 (7th Cir. 1995), and

because the plaintiff has not “pled herself out of

an action” by alleging that other homeowners

were asked to grant a 33-foot easement........ 14

GENRE occ cvccccccccveccdccsevecsavecesesce 23

75

TABLE OF ee STATUTES, AND

Page

Chicago Cable Communications v. Chicago Cable Com-

mission, 879 F.2d 1540 (7th Cir. 1989).............. 15

Ciechon v. City of Chicago, 686 F.2d 511 (7th Cir.

SUS 6605S b6bs beset nsdstecuadtedeceviesssces 15, 19

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, Inc., 473

U.S. 432, 105 S.Ct. 3249, 87 L.Ed.2d 313 (1985).... 14

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 78 S.Ct. 99, 2 L.Ed.2d

A RRC on Tey ee. di 14

Cushing v. City of Chicago, 3 F.3d 1156 (7th Cir.

MRR ER. a IME let Se 14

Esmail v. Macrane, 53 F.3d 176 (7th Cir. 1995)....passim

Hishon v. King & Spaulding, 467 U.S. 69, 104 S.Ct.

2229, 81 L.Ed.2d 59 (1984)......... 2.00 ce eeeee 13, 14

Hrubec v. National Railroad Passenger Corp., 981

Se Se SE GES. CEES onc Croce ecsccocesevces 13, 20

Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56, 92 S.Ct. 862, 31

SD Cee eedesécdevcesbwccncdsecctsocce 14

Mount v. LaSalle Bank Lake View, 926 F.Supp. 759

PE UE cece cescvedescbevesecccdscccceccs 13, 20

Valle v. Stengel, 176 F.2d 697 (3d Cir. 1949).......... 22

Vukadinovich v. Board of School Trustees, 978 F.2d

SP, DE en secsnnéscncessesenspesscioens 15

Yerardi’s Moody Street Restaurant v. Board of Select-

men, 878 F.2d 16 (1st Cir. 1989)................ 15, 19

Zeigler v. Jackson, 638 F.2d 776 (5th Cir. 1981)... 15, 16, 18

76

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6).......00 6c cece cece ee eeeneee passim

28 U.S.C. §1291.. 0... cece cece eee ee ene eeneenenees 1

2B UG.C. GUBBL... 0. cccccccccccccccccvccccccccvece 1

y) iS Semen)” ee er ere 1

42 U.S.C. 61983. ...... 2. cece cece cece eee eeeeeeees passim

STATEMENT OF SUBJECT MATTER AND

APPELLATE JURISDICTION

The plaintiff-appellant, Grace Olech, filed this action

in the United States District Court for the Northern Dis-

trict of Illinois, Eastern Division, against the defendants-

appellees, Village of Willowbrook, an Illinois municipal

corporation, Gary Pretzer, individually and as President

of Willowbrook, and Philip J. Modaff, individually and as

Director of Public Services of Willowbrook. The plaintiff's

Amended Complaint (Appendix 2-11) consisted of one

count brought against all of the defendants under 42

U.S.C. §1983 and alleged that the defendants had

deprived Grace Olech of her rights under the Equal Pro-

tection Clause of the United States constitution. The dis-

trict court had subject matter jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §1331 and 28 U.S.C. §1343.

On April 13, 1998, the district court issued a Mem-

orandum Opinion And Order (Appendix 24-33) which

granted the defendants’ motion to dismiss this action

under Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6). Also on April 13, 1998, the

district court issued a Judgment In A Civil Case on form

AO 450 (Appendix 34) which provided that “this action is

dismissed in its entirety.” The judgment was entered by

the clerk on April 15, 1998. (See page 5 of the clerk's

docket sheet.) The plaintiff filed her Notice Of Appeal on

77

May 13, 1998, or within 30 days after the entry of the

judgment. (Doc. 23) No motions were ever filed for alter-

ation of the judgment, and no motions were ever filed

which are claimed to have tolled the time within which to

appeal. This appeal is from a final judgment that disposes

of all claims with respect to all parties. This Court has

appellate jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C §1291.

STATEMENT OF ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the district court erred in dismissing Grace

Olech’s Amended Complaint because the Amended Com-

plaint states a claim under 42 U.S.C. §1983 for violation of

Grace Olech’s rights under the Equal Protection Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States constitu-

tion under the principles of this Court’s decision in

Esmail v. Macrane, 53 F.3d 176 (7th Cir. 1995), and whether

the plaintiff “pled herself out of an action”?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The plaintiff-appellant, Grace Olech, filed this action

against the defendants-appellees, the Village of Wil-

lowbrook, an Illinois municipal corporation, Gary Pretzer,

individually and as President of Willowbrook, and Philip J.

Modaff, individually and as Director of Public Services of

Willowbrook. The action was filed under 42 U.S.C. §1983

and sought damages based on the violation of Mrs.

Olech’s rights under the Equal Protection Clause of the

United States constitution. The defendants filed a motion

to dismiss the action under Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6), and the

district court granted that motion and entered judgment

for the defendants.

78

STATEMENT OF FACTS

This action was commenced on July 11, 1997, when

the plaintiff-appellant, Grace Olech (“Olech” or “Mrs.

Olech”) filed her Complaint (Doc. 1-1) in the United

States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois,

Eastern Division, against the defendants-appellees, the

Village of Willowbrook, an Illinois municipal corporation

(“Willowbrook”), Gary Pretzer, individually and as Presi-

dent of Willowbrook (“Pretzer”), and Philip J. Modaff,

individually and as Director of Public Services of Wil-

lowbrook (“Modaff”). On October 8, 1997, Olech filed an

Amended Complaint (Appendix 2-11), having received

leave of court to do so. (Doc. 7)

In her Amended Complaint, Olech alleged that she

was a citizen of the United States and a resident of

Willowbrook. (Appendix 3) Olech brought the lawsuit

under 42 U.S.C. §1983 to redress the violation of her

rights under the Equal Protection Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

(Appendix 2)

According to the Amended Complaint, on August 8,

1989, Olech and her since deceased husband, Thaddeus

Olech, along with Howard Brinkman, and Rodney C.

Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer, and others filed a lawsuit

against Willowbrook and other defendants in the Circuit

Court of the Eighteenth Judicial Circuit, DuPage County,

Illinois, Case No. 89 L 1517 (“the state court lawsuit”), in

which the plaintiffs sought money damages from Wil-

lowbrook and the other defendants as a result of the

flooding of the plaintiffs’ property by stormwater.

(Appendix 3) Howard Brinkman’s claims in the state

79

court were dismissed for want of prosecution on April 1,

1991. (Appendix 3-4) The Olechs’ claim against Wil-

lowbrook in the state court lawsuit was tried to a jury

which, on February 11, 1997, returned a verdict in favor

of Olech, individually and as special administrator of the

estate of Thaddeus Olech, and against Willowbrook in the

amount of $20,000.00, and judgment was entered on the

verdict. (Appendix 4) The claim of Rodney C. Zimmer

and Phyllis S. Zimmer against Willowbrook in the state

court lawsuit was tried to a jury which, on February 11,

1997, returned a verdict in favor of the Zimmers and

against Willowbrook in the amount of $135,000.00, and

judgment was entered on that verdict. (Appendix 4)

Grace Olech is Phyllis Zimmer’s mother. (Appendix 3)

According to the Amended Complaint, the state

court lawsuit against Willowbrook, which was ultimately

determined to be meritorious, was the subject of substan-

tial coverage in the local press, was bitterly contested by

Willowbrook, and generated substantial ill will toward

the plaintiffs on the part of Willowbrook and its officers

and employees, including Modaff and Pretzer. (Appendix

4) The Amended Complaint alleged that said ill will

resulted from, among other things, the coverage of the

state court lawsuit in the local press which made Wil-

lowbrook and its officers and employees look bad, from

the erroneous belief on the part of Willowbrook’s officers

and employees that the state court lawsuit was frivolous

and meritless, and from the fact that, prior to the filing of

the state court lawsuit, Grace and Thaddeus Olech and

Howard Brinkman had refused to grant certain drainage

easements for a storm water drainage project favored by

Willowbrook. (Appendix 4-5)

80

From a long time prior to the filing of the state court

lawsuit and until the death of Thaddeus Olech on

November 24, 1996, Grace Olech and Thaddeus Olech

were the joint owners of and resided in a single family

home at 6440 Tennessee Avenue in Willowbrook, Illinois,

on the west side of Tennessee Avenue. Since the death of

Thaddeus, Grace Olech has been the sole owner of this

property (“the Olech property”) and has continued to

reside there. (Appendix 5) In the spring of 1995 the

private well on the Olech property, which provided pota-

ble water for the Olech home, broke down and was

beyond repair. The Olechs then implemented a temporary

solution to the problem by hooking up to the well of their

neighbors to the south on Tennessee Avenue, Rodney and

Phyllis Zimmer, via an overground hose. (Appendix 5) At

that time Willowbrook’s water main on Tennessee Ave-

nue extended approximately as far south as the northern

boundary of the property of Howard Brinkman, the

neighbor to the north of the Olechs on Tennessee Avenue.

(Appendix 5)

By the spring of 1995 Willowbrook had developed a

plan which was to be implemented within two years of

the spring of 1995 and which was going to require all of

the homeowners on Tennessee Avenue, who were not

hooked up to Willowbrook’s municipal water system, to

hook up to the system. (Appendix 6)

On May 23, 1995, while the state court lawsuit was

pending, Grace Olech and Thaddeus Olech, along with

Howard Brinkman, and Rodney and Phyllis Zimmer,

made a request to Willowbrook that their homes be

hooked up right away to Willowbrook’s municipal water

supply system. At or about that time Modaff was

81

informed that the well on the Olech property had broken

down, and that the Olech home was obtaining potable

water from the Zimmers’ well via an overground hose, a

temporary solution which would not work in the winter

when the temperature fell below freezing. (Appendix 6)

As required by law, Willowbrook undertook to extend the

water main and hook up the homes as requested, condi-

tioned on the payment by the owners of each of the three

parcels of property involved of one-third of the estimated

cost of the project. (Appendix 6) On July 11, 1995, Grace

and Thaddeus Olech paid to Willowbrook $7,012.67, rep-

resenting their share of the estimated cost of the project,

and by July 12, 1995, Willowbrook had received the

required payments from Howard Brinkman and the Zim-

mers. (Appendix 6-7)

According to the Amended Complaint, the portion of

Tennessee Avenue adjacent to the property of Howard

Brinkman, to the Olech property, and to the Zimmer

property is not, and never has been a dedicated public

street, and no easements had been granted to any govern-

mental body for the use of any portion of Tennessee

Avenue adjacent to the Brinkman, Olech, or Zimmer

properties. (Appendix 7)

In August of 1995 Modaff told Phyllis Zimmer that

Willowbrook would not proceed with the project unless

all of the property owners involved granted Willowbrook

a 33-foot easement along Tennessee Avenue, and in that

same month Pretzer told Phyllis Zimmer that the 33-foot

easement would be required for the project. (Appendix 7)

On September 21, 1995, Modaff sent to Grace and Thad-

deus Olech and to the other property owners involved a

Plat of Easement whereby they and the property owners

82

on the other side of Tennessee Avenue would each dedi-

cate to Willowbrook a 33-foot strip of their property

along Tennessee Avenue for public roadway purposes

and grant to Willowbrook a 33-foot easement for the

construction and maintenance of a roadway, to include

pavement, sidewalks, and public utilities, which would

result in a 66-foot wide dedicated street. (Appendix 7)

According to the Amended Complaint, the defen-

dants’ demands for 33-foot easements and a 66-foot dedi-

cated street as a condition of the extension of the water

main were not consistent with the policy of Willowbrook

regarding other property in Willowbrook. The Village

Attorney, Gerald M. Gorski, eventually admitted as much

in a letter dated November 10, 1995, in which he stated as

follows:

[A] fifteen foot (15') easement, along with a

temporary construction easement of five feet (5')

on each side, will be sufficient to install the

water main. This is consistent with Village pol-

icy regarding all other property in the Village.

(Appendix 8)

The Amended Complaint alleges that the defendants

treated Grace and Thaddeus Olech, Howard Brinkman,

and Rodney and Phyllis Zimmer differently from other

property owners in Willowbrook by demanding the 33-

foot easements and the 66-foot dedicated street as a con-

dition of the extension of the water main because of the

ill will generated by the state court lawsuit and in an

attempt to control stormwater drainage in the vicinity to

the detriment of the Olechs and the other plaintiffs in the

state court lawsuit, by the use of ditches and swales along

83

Tennessee Avenue. (Appendix 8) The Amended Com-

plaint alleges that the defendants’ decision to treat the

Olechs and the other plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit

in a manner not consistent with other property owners in

Willowbrook by demanding the 33-foot easements and

the 66-foot dedicated street as a condition of the exten-

sion of the water main was irrational and wholly arbi-

trary, and was made by the appropriate policy-making

official or employee of Willowbrook. (Appendix 8)

According to the Amended Complaint, because the

33-foot easements and the 66-foot dedicated street

demanded by the defendants were not consistent with

what the defendants required in relation to other prop-

erty in the Village of Willowbrook, Grace and Thaddeus

Olech and the other property owners involved declined

to grant the 33-foot easements and the 66-foot street

dedication. (Appendix 8-9) And from the time that Mod-

aff first demanded the 33-foot easements in August of

1995 until on or about November 10, 1995, no progress

was made on the project. (Appendix 9)

On November 10, 1995, Willowbrook relented and

withdrew its demand for the 66-foot street dedication and

indicated in a letter prepared by its attorney that it would

proceed with the water main extension if Willowbrook

were granted a 15-foot easement for the water main and

for related water service lines used to connect the homes.

(Appendix 9) The easement demanded by Willowbrook in

its attorney’s letter of November 10, 1995, was consistent

with what was required by Willowbrook in relation to

other property in Willowbrook, and, therefore, Grace and

Thaddeus Olech, and the other property owners involved

agreed to grant that easement. (Appendix 9)

84

The Amended Complaint alleged that the initial

refusal of the defendants to proceed with the project

unless Willo . brook was granted 33-foot easements and a

66-foot street dedication resulted in a delay in the project

of approximate’y three months, a delay which proved

critical as a result of the approaching winter weather.

(Appendix 9) In November of 1995 the overground hose

used by Grace and Thaddeus Olech to connect to their

neighbor’s well froze, and, therefore, Grace and Thad-

deus Olech were without running water from November

of 1995 until the project was completed on March 19,

1996. (Appendix 9-10) The Amended Complaint alleges

that “as a proximate result of the three-month delay in

the project caused by the initial refusal of the Defendants

to proceed with the project unless Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK was granted the 33-foot easements

and the 66-foot street dedication, Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, who were 72 and 76 years

old, respectively, were without running water during the

winter of 1995-1996, and suffered great inconvenience,

humiliation, and mental and physical distress.” (Appen-

dix 10) The Amended Complaint alleges that. the initial

refusal of the defendants to proceed with the project

unless Willowbrook was granted the 33-foot easements

and 66-foot street dedication “and the concomitant and

resulting delay in the project” deprived Grace Olech of

her rights under the Equal Protection Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment to the United States constitution, and

the actions and inactions of the defendants in that regard

were undertaken either with the intent to deprive Grace

Olech and others of those rights, or in reckless disregard

of those rights. (Appendix 10) Finally, the Amended

85

Complaint alleged that the actions and inactions of the

defendants set forth therein were undertaken under color

of state law. (Appendix 10) Grace Olech sought compen-

satory and punitive damages as well as an award of her

reasonable attorney's fees under 42 U.S.C. §1988. (Appen-

dix 10-11)

The defendants filed a Motion To Dismiss Plaintiff's

Amended Complaint pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6)

(Appendix 13-14), which incorporated by reference a

Memorandum Of Law In Support Of Motion To Dismiss

(Appendix 14-22) In the memorandum, the defendants

presented two arguments in support of their request for

dismissal under Pule 12(b)(6). First, the defendants

argued that the Amended Complaint did not allege a

violation of the Equal Protection Clause pursuant to this

Court's decision in Esmail v. Macrane, 53 F.3d 176 (7th Cir.

1995), because the Amended Complaint “lacks sufficient

allegations of malice on the part of the defendants.”

(Appendix 20-21) The defendants also argued that the

plaintiff had “pled herself out of an action by alleging

that other homeowners were asked to grant a 33-foot

easement.” (Appendix 21-22)

The plaintiff filed Plaintiff's Response To Defendants’

Motion To Dismiss The Amended Complaint (Doc. 18),

and the defendants filed a Reply (Doc. 19), and on April 13,

1998, the district court issued its ruling. The district court

held that “the alleged treatment of Olech by Willowbrook

and its officers — as well as the alleged motivation behind

this treatment - is not sufficient to state an equal protec-

tion claim under the standards as set forth in Esmail.”

(Appendix 32-33) Pursuant to its ruling, the district court

issued a Judgment In A Civil Case on Form AO 450 which

86

provided that “this action is dismissed in its entirety.”

(Appendix 34) That judgment was entered by the clerk on

April 15, 1998. (See page 5 of the clerk’s docket sheet.)

Grace Olech filed a Notice Of Appeal on May 13, 1998.

(Doc. 23)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The district court erred in dismissing Grace Olech’s

Amended Complaint because the Amended Complaint

stated a claim under 42 U.S.C. §1983 for violation of her

rights under the Equal Protection Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment to the United States constitution.

Grace Olech’s Amended Complaint adequately set forth

that she was treated differently by Willowbrook and its

President and Director of Public Services from other

property owners in the village with regard to the exten-

sion of the village’s water main to service her property.

Mrs. Olech also adequately alleged that the unequal treat-

ment was the result of vindictive ill will on the part of the

defendants, which resulted from a state court lawsuit,

and that the unequal treatment was undertaken for

improper purposes. The allegations adequately set forth a

violation of Mrs. Olech’s rights under the Equal Protec-

tion Clause pursuant to this Court’s decision in Esmail v.

Macrane, 53 F.3d 176 (7th Cir. 1995).

Moreover, Mrs. Olech has not “pled herself out of an

action” as the defendants argued in the district court. The

allegations of the Amended Complaint properly allege

that the defendants’ unequal treatment was of and

directed to the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit, and

not to other people.

87

ARGUMENT

I. Standard of Review of a Dismissal under Fed.R.Ci

on -R.Civ.P.

Grace Olech’s Amended Complaint was dismissed

under Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6) for “failure to state a claim

upon which relief can be granted.” In evaluating a dis-

missal under this rule, it must be kept in mind that the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure establish “a system of

notice pleading.” (Hrubec v. National Railroad Passenger

Corp., 981 F.2d 962, 963 (7th Cir. 1992).) Accordingly, “[a]

complaint need not narrate all relevant facts or recite the

law; all it has to do is set out a claim for relief.” (Hrubec,

981 F.2d 962, 963.) As stated by the United States

Supreme Court in Hishon v. King & Spaulding, 467 U.S. 69,

73, 104 S.Ct. 2229, 81 L.Ed.2d 59 (1984):

“At this stage of the litigation [a motion to

dismiss], we must accept petitioner’s [the plain-

tiff’s) allegations as true. A court may dismiss a

complaint only if it is clear that no relief could

be granted under any set of facts that could be

proved consistent with the allegations.”

Complaints are construed favorably to the plaintiff

(Hrubec, 981 F.2d 962, 963), and the court accepts as true

all reasonable inferences drawn from well-pleaded fac-

tual allegations (Mount v. LaSalle Bank Lake View, 926

F.Supp. 759, 763 (N.D.IIl. 1996)). The court must construe

the pleadings liberally, and mere vagueness or lack of

detail alone does not constitute sufficient grounds to

dismiss a complaint. (Mount, 926 F.Supp. 759, 763.) More-

over, as stated by this Court in Hrubec:

“A plaintiff need not put all of the essential

facts in the complaint. He may add them by

affidavit or brief - even a brief on appeal.”

(981 F.2d 962, 963-964.)

In fact, a plaintiff may provide the court with an unsub-

stantiated version of the events, provided it is consistent

with the complaint, to show that the complaint is not

subject to dismissal. (Cushing v. City of Chicago, 3 F.3d

1156, 1160 (7th Cir. 1993).) The latter rule “is necessary to

give plaintiffs the benefit of the broad standard for sur-

viving a Rule 12(b)(6) motion as articulated in Hishon

(citation omitted], and Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46,

78 S.Ct. 99, 102, 2 L.Ed.2d 80 (1957).” Cushing, 3 F.3d 1156,

1160.

ll. The District Court erred in dismissing Grace Olech’s

Amended Complaint because the Amended Com-

plaint states a claim under 42 U.S.C. §1983 for viola-

tion of her rights under the Equal Protection Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

constitution under the principles of this Court's deci-

sion in Esmail v. Macrane, 53 F.3d 176 (7th Cir. 1995),

and because the plaintiff has not “pled herself out of

an action” by alleging that other homeowners were

asked to grant a 33-foot easement.

As stated by this Court in Esmail v. Macrane, 53 F.3d

176, 178 (7th Cir. 1995), there are two common kinds of

cases under 42 U.S.C. §1983 involving violation of the

Equal Protection Clause. This Court stated:

“One involves charges of singling out members

of a vulnerable group, racial or otherwise, for

unequal treatment. See, e.g., City of Cleburne v.

Cleburne Living Center, Inc., 473 U.S. 432, 440-41,

105 S.Ct. 3249, 3254-55, 87 L.Ed.2d 313 (1985).

The other, which rarely succeeds nowadays,

involves challenges to laws or policies alleged to

make irrational distinctions, Lindsey -v. Normet,

405 U.S. 56, 74-79, 92 S.Ct. 862, 874-77, 31

L.Ed.2d 36 (1972), for example in tax rates.”

In Esmail this Court recognized the validity of a third

kind of equal protection case.

In Esmail the plaintiff, Basim Esmail, a liquor dealer,

alleged that officials of the City of Naperville had devel-

oped a deep-seated animosity toward his as a result of his

success in getting Naperville’s revocation of his retail

liquor license reduced by the state liquor control commis-

sion to a suspension, as a result of Esmail’s advertising

campaign accusing Naperville officials of ineffectual

enforcement of the law prohibiting the sale of alcohol to

minors, and as a result of Esmail’s withdrawal of finan-

cial and political support for the mayor. (53 F.3d 176, 178.)

Esmail alleged that in 1992 Naperville denied two of his

liquor license applications based on trivial or trumped-up

charges while Naperville routinely granted liquor

licenses to persons who engaged in similar conduct. (53

F.3d 176, 178.) Esmail alleged that the denials of his liquor

license applications were for the purpose of exacting

retaliation and vengeance. (53 F.3d 176, 178.) Esmail

alleged that he was required to spend substantial attor-

ney’s fees to get his liquor license applications finally

granted through the intervention of the state courts. (53

F.3d 176, 177.) This Court held that Esmail’s complaint

adequately set forth a violation of the equal protection

90

clause. In language pertinent to Mrs. Olech’s case, this

Court stated:

“The distinctive feature here, which the district

judge did not discuss, is that the unequal treat-

ment is alleged to have been the result solely of

a vindictive campaign by the mayor.

Our decision in Ciechon v. City of Chicago,

686 F.2d 511 (7th Cir. 1982), holds that such

conduct, so motivated, violates the equal protec-

tion clause; and the holding, although it has

rarely brought ultimate vie« ‘y to a plaintiff,

does not stand alone. Vukadinovich v. Board of

School Trustees, 978 F.2d 403, 414 and n. 9 (7th

Cir. 1992); Chicago Cable Communications v. Chi-

cago Cable Commission, 879 F.2d 1540, 1547 (7th

Cir. 1989); Yerardi’s Moody Street Restaurant v.

Board of Selectmen, 878 F.2d 16, 21 (1st Cir. 1989);

Zeigler v. Jackson, 638 F.2d 776, 779 (Sth Cir.

1981). . . . If the power of government is brought

to bear on a harmless individual merely because

a powerful state or local official harbors a malig-

nant animosity toward him, the individual

ought to have a remedy in federal court.”

53 F.3d 176, 179.

In this case, Grace Olech has alleged a case under 42

U.S.C. §1983 for violation of her rights under the Equal

Protection Clause under the principles of this Court’s

decision in Esmail. Mrs. Olech has certainly alleged

unequal treatment. She has alleged that the defendants

treated her and other plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit

“differently from other property owners in the Village of

Willowbrook by demanding the 33-foot easements and

91

the 66-foot dedicated street as a condition of the exten-

sion of the [village’s] water main” to service their prop-

erty. (Appendix 8) Mrs. Olech alleged that the demands

of the defendants for 33-foot easements and a 66-foot

dedicated public street as a condition of the extension of

the water main “were not consistent with the policy of

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK regarding

other property in the Village of Willowbrook” (Appendix

7-8), and that the Village Attorney eventually admitted as

much in a letter dated November 10, 1995, in which he

stated as follows:

“[A] fifteen foot (15') easement, along with a

temporary construction easement of five feet (5')

on each side, will be sufficient to install the

water main. This is consistent with Village pol-

icy regarding all other property in the Village.”

(Appendix 8)

Moreover, Grace Olech alleged that the unequal treat-

ment was the result of a vindictive animosity on the part

of village officials. Mrs. Olech alleged that the state court

lawsuit, in which she and other plaintiffs won substantial

damages from Willowbrook as a result of the flooding of

their property by stormwater (Appendix 3-4), was the

subject of substantial coverage in the local press. (Appen-

dix 4) Mrs. Olech alleged that the state court lawsuit

generated substantial ill will on the part of Willowbrook

and its officers and employees, including Modaff and

Pretzer. (Appendix 4) Mrs. Olech alleged that this ill will

resulted from, among other things, the coverage of the

state court lawsuit in the local press which made Wil-

lowbrook and its officers and employees look bad; the

erroneous belief on the part of the officers and employees

92

of Willowbrook that the state court lawsuit was frivolous

and meritless; and the fact that, prior to the filing of the

state court lawsuit, Grace and Thaddeus Olech and How-

ard Brinkman had refused to grant certain drainage ease-

ments for a stormwater drainage project favored by

Willowbrook. (Appendix 5) Finally, Mrs. Olech alleged

that the defendants treated her, Howard Brinkman, and

the Zimmers differently from other property owners in

Willowbrook by demanding the 33-foot easements and

the 66-foot dedicated street as a condition of the exten-

sion of the water main “because of the ill will generated

by the state court lawsuit and in an attempt to control

stormwater drainage in the vicinity to the detriment of

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, and other

plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit, by the use of ditches

and swales along Tennessee Avenue.” (Appendix 8)

(Obviously, with a dedicated street, Willowbrook would

be able to influence stormwater drainage by way of the

ditches at the side of the street.) Mrs. Olech has alleged

unequal treatment as a result of vindictive animosity.

Moreover, the Amended Complaint alleged that the

defendants’ illegal demands were the cause of Mrs.

Olech’s injury. Mrs. Olech alleged that from the time

Modaff first demanded the 33-foot easements in August

of 1995 until Willowbrook withdrew its demands on

November 10, 1995, no progress was made on the project

(Appendix 9), and that the initial refusal of the defen-

dants to proceed with the project unless Willowbrook was

granted 33-foot easements and a 66-foot street dedication

resulted in a delay in the project of approximately three

months, “a delay which proved critical as a result of the

approaching winter weather.” (Appendix 9) The

93

Amended Complaint alleges that in November of 1995,

the overground hose used by the Olechs to connect to

their neighbors’ well froze, and, therefore, the Olechs

were without running water from November of 1995 until

the project was completed on March 19, 1996. (Appendix

9-10) Finally, the Amended Complaint alleged that the

Olechs were without running water during the winter of

1995-1996 and suffered great inconvenience, humiliation,

and mental and physical distress “as a proximate result of

the three-month delay in the project caused by the initial

refusal of the Defendants to proceed with the project

unless Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK was

granted the 33-foot easements and the 66-foot street dedi-

cation.” The Amended Complaint should not have been

dismissed.

The district court attempted to distinguish Esmail

from this case by stating that Esmail involved “malignant

animosity” as opposed to the “ill will” alleged in this

case. It is respectfully suggested that “animosity” and “ill

will” are synonymous, and while Mrs. Olech did not

explicitly characterize the “ill will” in this case as “malig-

nant”, which means evil, the well-pleaded facts of the

Amended Complaint show that the ill will was, in fact,

evil and not beneficial. The motives of the defendants

were to get back at the plaintiffs in the state court law-

suit, and to control stormwater drainage in the vicinity to

their detriment.

The district court also attempted to distinguish

Esmail on the basis that it involved an “orchestrated

campaign of official harassment” and this case did not.

The word “campaign” connotes an extended series of

events. Although Esmail involved such a campaign, this

94

Court did not hold that a plaintiff could not allege an

equal protection violation unless he could show an

“orchestrated campaign of official harassment.” What this

Court required was that the plaintiff plead “unequal

treatment” resulting from “animosity”, vindictiveness, or

bad faith on the part of the government officials involved.

(53 F.3d 176, 179.) Significantly, in Esmail this Court cited

Ziegler v. Jackson, 638 F.2d 776, 779 (Sth Cir. 1981), as a

case applying its holding, and in Ziegler there was no

allegation of an orchestrated campaign of official harass-

ment. The allegation in Ziegler was simply that the plain-

tiff’s rights under the equal protection clause were

violated when a state agency refused to let him become a

policeman because of certain prior convictions he had

where the agency “had waived the character requirement

for other individuals convicted of similar or more serious

crimes.” (638 F.2d 778-779.) Moreover, the court in

Yerardi’s Moody Street Restaurant & Lounge, Inc. v. Board of

Selectmen, 878 F.2d 16, 21 (1st Cir. 1989), another case

cited by this Court in Esmail as a case applying its hold-

ing, stated the principle as follows:

“{L]iability in the instant type of equal protec-

tion case should depend on proof that (1) the

person, compared with others similarly situated,

was selectively treated; and (2) that such selec-

tive treatment was based on impermissible con-

siderations such as race, religion, intent to

inhibit or punish the exercise of constitutional

rights, or malicious or bad faith intent to injure a

person.” (Emphasis added.)

(878 F.2d 16, 21.)

95

The Court in Yerardi’s did not require a showing of “an

orchestrated campaign of official harassment.” Unequal

treatment undertaken maliciously or in bad faith to injure

a person is enough. Finally, the case of Ciechon v. City of

Chicago, 686 F.2d 511 (7th Cir. 1982), cited by this Court in

Esmail as a basis for its holding, did not involve an

orchestrated campaign of official harassment or “sheer

vindictiveness”. It involved action by the city in terminat-

ing the employment of a paramedic based on an incident

which received substantial press coverage where another

paramedic who was equally responsible in the incident

was not punished. What Esmail requires is that the plain-

tiff show unequal treatment resulting from vindictive-

ness, animosity, or other improper purpose of the

government officials involved, and Mrs. Olech has

alleged that in this case.

The district court also stated that Mrs. Olech’s allega-

tions that Willowbrook was acting out of vindictiveness

were legal conclusions unsupported by factual assertions.

The district court’s statements in this regard are difficult

to understand. Mrs. Olech alleged the facts involved in

the state court lawsuit. (Appendix 3-4) She described the

coverage of the state court lawsuit in the local press and

alleged in detail in paragraph 12 of the Amended Com-

plaint the facts giving rise to the ill will on the part of the

defendants toward the plaintiffs in that state court law-

suit. (Appendix 4-5) And Mrs. Olech alleged that the

defendants treated her differently that [sic] other prop-

erty owners in Willowbrook “because of the ill will gener-

ated by the state court lawsuit and in an attempt to

control stormwater drainage in the vicinity to the detri-

ment of Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech,

96

and other plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit, by the use

of ditches and swales along Tennessee Avenue,” which

Willowbrook would have controlled if the street had been

dedicated. (Appendix 8) The factual detail here is cer-

tainly as extensive as that in Esmail. And even if it were

not, lack of detail alone does not constitute sufficient

grounds to dismiss a complaint (Mount v. LaSalle Bank

Lake View, 926 F.Supp. 759, 763 (N.D.IIl. 1996)) under the

federal system of notice pleading unless one can say that

there is no set of facts consistent with the allegations of

the complaint which would entitle the plaintiff to relief.

The district court erred by ruling that Mrs. Olech’s

Amended Complaint was subject to dismissal because her

allegations of vindictiveness were not sufficiently

detailed. A plaintiff's complaint “need not narrate all

relevant facts . . . ; all it has to do is set out a claim for

relief.” Hrubec v. National Railroad Passenger Corp., 981

F.2d 962, 963 (7th Cir. 1992).

The defendants argued in their Memorandum Of

Law In Support Of Motion To Dismiss that Mrs. Olech

had “pled herself out of an action” by alleging that Wil-

lowbrook demanded that property owners on the other

side of Tennessee Avenue grant a 33-foot easement. The

defendants argued that the fact that they demanded a 33-

foot easement from the owners of property across the

street from Mr. Brinkman, the Olechs, and the Zimmers

showed that the defendants were not acting out of ill will

toward the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit, Howard

Brinkman, the Olechs, and the Zimmers.

The defendants’ argument in this regard is without

merit and is based on either a careless or a contrived

reading of the Amended Complaint and a misstatement

97

of the facts. There are no homes on the east side of

Tennessee Avenue across from Mr. Brinkman, the Olechs,

and the Zimmers, nor does the Amended Complaint

allege that there are. The homes to the east of the Olechs,

the Zimmers, and Mr. Brinkman are not on Tennessee

Avenue but are on all the way over on the next street to

the east, Clarendon Hills Road, and in the spring of 1995,

those homes already had municipal water. (Doc. 18, p. 11)

The Amended Complaint is not to the contrary. What the

Amended Complaint alleged was that the defendants

demanded the 33-foot easements and 66-foot street dedi-

cation as a condition of extending the water main at the

request of the Olechs, the Zimmers, and Howard Brink-

man, the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit that their

homes be hooked up to the municipal water supply.

(Appendix 6-7) In effect, the defendants told the Olechs,

the Zimmers, and Howard Brinkman that they would not

get municipal water unless and until they granted the 33-

foot easements and obtained such easements from the

property owners across the street who already had

municipal water. The defendants’ illegal demands were

directed at the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit and not

at anyone else.

The Defendants’ argument in this regard is similar to

the argument that, when a black person and his white

friend are denied admission to a public accommodation

because of the black person’s race, the black person can-

not recover because his white friend was also excluded.

That argument does not fly (Valle v. Stengel, 176 F.2d 697

(3d Cir. 1949)), nor does the defendants’ argument here

have any merit. The amended complaint alleges that the

defendants illegal demands were the result of ill will

98

against the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit and consti-

tuted an attempt to control stormwater drainage in the

vicinity to the detriment of the plaintiffs in the state court

lawsuit by the use of ditches and swales along Tennessee

Avenue, and that allegation must be accepted as true.

Mrs. Olech has not “pled herself out of an action.”

Mrs. Olech’s Amended Complaint adequately set

forth a cause of action under 42 U.S.C. §1983 for violation

of her rights under the Equal Protection Clause, and the

district court erred in dismissing the action.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, the plaintiff-appellant,

Grace Olech, respectfully requests this Court to reverse

the judgment entered in favor of the defendants in this

action, and to remand this cause for further proceedings

consistent with this Court’s opinion.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ John R. Wimmer

John R. Wimmer

JOHN R. WIMMER

Attorney at Law

928 Warren Avenue

Downers Grove, Illinois 60515

(630) 810-0005

99

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS OF APPENDIX

Document Page

1. Certificate Of Completeness Of Appendix...App. 1

Plaintiff’s Amended Complaint............. App. 2

Defendant’s Motion To Dismiss Plaintiff’

Amended Complaint....................... yd 12

4. Defendant's Memorandum Of Law In Su rt Of

MED, osc cscccccccccecsees ~ App. 14

5. Minute Order - Pursuant to Memorandum Opin-

ion and Order, Defendant’s motion to dismiss is

PSNEGSGGGeseecdccceccecccccececs App. 23

Memorandum Opinion And Order.......... App. 24

Judgment In A Civil Case - this action is dis-

GE IE, o ccscccccccccccceseses App. 34

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETENESS OF APPENDIX

John R. Wimmer, counsel for the plaintiff-appellant,

Grace Olech, hereby certifies that all of the materials

required by parts (a) and (b) of Circuit Rule 30 are

included in this Appendix.

/s/ John R. Wimmer

John R. Wimmer

100

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

GRACE OLECH,

Plaintiff,

-Vs-

VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, an

Illinois municipal

corporation, GARY

PRETZER, individually

and as President of

Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, and

PHILIP J. MODAFF,

individually and as

Director of Public

Services of Defendant

VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK,

Defendants.

No. 97 C 4935

Judge Marovich

Magistrate Judge Keys

Plaintiff Demands

Trial by Jury

ee eee eee eee OO Oe er

AMENDED COMPLAINT

(42 U.S.C. § 1983)

(Filed Oct. 08, 1997)

NOW COMES Plaintiff GRACE OLECH, by and

through her attorney, JOHN R. WIMMER, and complain-

ing of the Defendants, VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, an

Illinois municipal corporation, GARY PRETZER, individ-

ually and as President of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK, and PHILIP J. MODAFF, individually and

101

as Director of Public Services of Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK, alleges and states as follows:

1. That Plaintiff GRACE OLECH has brought this

action to redress the violation of her rights under the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to

the United States constitution.

2. That jurisdiction over this action has been con-

ferred upon this Court under 28 U.S.C. § 1331 and § 1334,

and 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

3. That Plaintiff GRACE OLECH is, and at all times

hereinmentioned was, a citizen of the United States and a

resident of Willowbrook, DuPage County, Illinois, and

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH is the mother of Phyllis S. Zim-

mer who is mentioned hereinafter.

4. That Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK

is, and at all times hereinmentioned was, a municipal

corporation organized and existing under and by virtue

of the laws of the State of Illinois.

5. That Defendant GARY PRETZER is an individual

who is President of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK and was President of Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK during the time when Plaintiff

GRACE OLECH was attempting to have her home

hooked up to the municipal water supply system of

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

6. That Defendant PHILIP J. MODAFF is an individ-

ual who was Director of Public Services of Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK during the time when

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH was attempting to have her

102

home hooked up to the municipal water supply system of

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

7. That on August 8, 1989, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH

and her since deceased husband, Thaddeus Olech, along

with Howard Brinkman, and Rodney C. Zimmer and

Phyllis S. Zimmer, and others filed a lawsuit against

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK and others in

the Circuit Court of the Eighteenth Judicial Circuit,

DuPage County, Illinois, Case No. 89 L 1517 (hereinafter

“the state court lawsuit”), in which the plaintiffs sought

money damages from Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK and others as a result of the flooding of the

plaintiffs’ property, including what is hereinafter referred

to as the Olech property, by stormwater.

8. That Howard Brinkman’s claims in the state court

case were dismissed for want of prosecution on April 1,

1991.

9. That the claim of Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and

Thaddeus Olech against Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK in the state court lawsuit was tried to a jury

which, on February 11, 1997, returned a verdict in favor

of Plaintiff GRACE OLECH, individually and as special

administrator of the estate of Thaddeus Olech, and

against Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in the

amount of $20,000.00, and judgment was entered on that

verdict.

10. That the claim of Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S.

Zimmer against Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOW-

BROOK in the state court lawsuit was tried to a jury

which, on February 11, 1997, returned a verdict in favor

of Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer and against

103

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in the amount

of $135,000.00, and judgment was entered on that verdict.

11. That the state court lawsuit against Defen

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, which was ame

determined to be meritorious, was the subject of substan-

tial coverage in the local press, was bitterly contested by

Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK, and gener-

ated substantial ill will on the part of Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK and its officers and

employees, including PHILIP J. MODAFF and, on infor-

mation and belief, Defendant GARY PRETZER toward

the plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit.

12. That, on information and belief, said ill will

resulted from, among other things, the coverage of the

state court lawsuit in the local press which made Defen-

dant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK and its officers and

employees look bad; the erroneous belief on the part of

officers and employees of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK that the state court lawsuit was frivolous

and meritless; and the fact that, prior to the filing of the

State court lawsuit, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thad-

deus Olech, and Howard Brinkman had refused to grant

certain drainage easements for a stormwater drainage

project favored by Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK.

13. That, from a time long prior to the filing of the

state court lawsuit and until the death of Thaddeus Olech

on or about November 24, 1996, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH

and Thaddeus Olech resided in a single-family home on,

and were the joint owners of, certain property commonly

known as 6440 Tennessee Avenue, Willowbrook, Illinois

104

60514 (hereinafter referred to as “the Olech property”)

and legally described as follows:

“The East half of the North half of the South half

on the Southwest quarter of the Northeast quar-

ter of the Northeast quarter of Section 22, Town-

ship 38 North, Range 11, East of the Third

Principal Meridian in DuPage County, Illinois.”

14. That, since the death of Thaddeus Olech, Plain-

tiff GRACE OLECH has been the sole owner of the Olech

property and has continued to reside thereon.

15. That in the spring of 1995 the private well on the

Olech property, which had theretofore provided potable

water for the Olech home, broke down and was beyond

repair.

16. That Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus

Olech then and there implemented a temporary solution

to the problem by hooking up to the well of their neigh-

bors to the south on Tennessee Avenue, Rodney C. Zim-

mer and Phyllis S. Zimmer, via an overground hose.

17. That at that time the water main of Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK on Tennessee Avenue

extended approximately as far south as the northern

boundary of the property of Howard Brinkman, the

neighbor to the north of Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and

Thaddeus Olech.

18. That by the spring of 1995 Defer4ant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK had developed a plan which was to

be implemented within two years of the spring of 1995

and which was going to require all of the homeowners on

Tennessee Avenue who were not hooked up to the munic-

ipal water supply system of Defendant VILLAGE OF

105

WILLOWBROOK to hook up to the municipal water sup-

ply system of Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

19. That on or about May 23, 1995, and while the

state court lawsuit was pending, Plaintiff GRACE OLECH

and Thaddeus Olech, along with Howard Brinkman, and

Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer, made a

request to Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK that

their homes be hooked up right away to the municipal

water supply system of Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK, and at or about that time Defendant PHI-

LIP J. MODAFF was informed that the well on the Olech

property had broken down and that the Olech home was

obtaining potable water from the Zimmers’ well via an

overground hose, a temporary solution which would not

work in the winter when the temperature fell below

freezing.

20. That, as required by law, Defendant VILLAGE

OF WILLOWBROOK undertook to extend the water main

and hook up the homes as requested, conditioned on the

payment by the owners of each parcel of property

involved of one-third of the estimated cost of the project.

21. That on or about July 11, 1995, Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH and Thaddeus Olech paid to Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK $7,012.67, representing their

share of the estimated cost of the project, and by July 12

1995, Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK had

received the required payments from Howard Brinkman,

and Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S$. Zimmer.

22. That the portion of Tennessee Avenue adjacent

to the property of Howard Brinkman, to the Olech prop-

erty, and to the property of Rodney C. Zimmer and

106

Phyllis S. Zimmer is not, and never had been, a dedicated

public street, and, on information and belief, no ease-

ments had been granted to any governmental body for

the use of any portion of Tennessee Avenue adjacent to

the property of Howard Brinkman, to the Olech property,

and to the property owned by Rodney C. Zimmer and

Phyllis S. Zimmer.

23. That in August of 1995 Defendant PHILIP J.

MODAFF told Phyllis S. Zimmer that Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK would not proceed with the

project unless all of the property owners involved

granted Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK a 33-

foot easement along Tennessee Avenue.

24. That in August of 1995 Defendant GARY PRET-

ZER told Phyllis Zimmer that the 33-foot easement would

be required for the project.

25. That on or about September 21, 1995, Defendant

PHILIP J. MODAFF sent to Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and

Thaddeus Olech and to other property owners involved a

Plat of Easement whereby they and property owners on

the other side of Tennessee Avenue would each dedicate a

33-foot strip of their property along Tennessee Avenue for

public roadway purposes and grant a 33-foot easement

for the construction and maintenance of a roadway, to

include pavement, sidewalks, and public utilities, which

would result in a 66-foot wide dedicated street.

26. That the demands of the Defendants for 33-foot

easements and a 66-foot dedicated public street as a

condition of the extension of the water main were not

consistent with the policy of Defendant VILLAGE OF

WILLOWBROOK regarding other property in the Village

107

of Willowbrook; as was ultimately admitted by the Vil-

lage Attorney, Gerald M. Gorski, in a letter dated Novem-

ber 10, 1995, “[A] fifteen foot (15') easement, along with a

temporary construction easement of five feet (5') on each

side, will be sufficient to install the water main. This is

consistent with Village policy regarding all other prop-

erty in the Village.”

27. That the Defendants treated Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, Howard Brinkman, and

Rodney C. Zimmer and Phyllis S. Zimmer differently

from other property owners in the Village of Willowbrook

by demanding the 33-foot easements and the 66-foot ded-

icated street as a condition of the extension of the water

main because of the ill will generated by the state court

lawsuit and in an attempt to control stormwater drainage

in the vicinity to the detriment of Plaintiff GRACE

OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, and other plaintiffs in the

state court lawsuit, by the use of ditches and swales along

Tennessee Avenue.

28. That the decision by the Defendants to treat

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, and other

plaintiffs in the state court lawsuit in a manner not con-

sistent with other property owners in the Village of Wil-

lowbrook by demanding the 33-foot easements and the

66-foot street dedication as a condition for the extension

of the water main was irrational and wholly arbitrary,

and, on information and belief, was made by the appro-

priate policy-making official or employee of Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK.

29. That, because the 33-foot easements and the 66-

foot dedicated street demanded by the Defendants were

108

not consistent with what the Defendants required in rela-

tion to other property in the Village of Willowbrook,

Plaintiff GRACE OLECH and Thaddeus Olech, and other

property owners involved declined to grant the 33-foot

easements and the 66-foot street dedication.

30. That from the time that Defendant PHILIP J.

MODAFF first demanded the 33-foot easements in

August of 1995 until on or about November 10, 1995, no

progress was made on the project.

31. That on or about November 10, 1995, Defendant

VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK withdrew its demand for

the 66-foot street dedication and indicated in a letter

prepared by its attorney that it would proceed with the

water main extension if Defendant VILLAGE OF WIL-

LOWBROOK were granted a 15-foot easement for the

water main and for the related water service lines used to

connect to the homes.

32. That the easement demanded by Defendant VIL-

LAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in its attorney’s letter of

November 10, 1995, was consistent with what was

required by Defendant VILLAGE OF WILLOWBROOK in

relation to other

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Village of Willowbrook v. Olech · 528 U.S. 562 | Frix