Amicus Curiae Brief — Albertson's, Inc. v. Kirkingburg

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\\

No. 98-591

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

ALBERTSONS, INC., PETITIONER

U.

HALLIE KIRKINGBURG

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

AND THE EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY

COMMISSION AS AMICUS CURIAE

SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

C. GREGORY STEWART BILL LANN LEE

General Counsel Acting Assistant Attorney

PHILIP B. SKLOVER General

Associate General Counsel BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD

LORR AINE * DAVIS Deputy Solicitor General

Assistant General Counsel JAMES A. FELDMAN

ROBERT J. GREGORY Assistant to the Solicitor

Attorney General

Equal Employment JESSICA DUNSAY SILVER

Opportunity Commission TIMOTHY J. MORAN

Washington, D.C. 20507 Attorneys

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether there are genuine issues of material fact as to

whether respondent was disabled, within the meaning of 42

U.S.C. 12102(2)(A), when petitioner fired him from his job as

a truck driver.

2. Whether there are genuine issues of material fact as to

whether respondent, who had received a vision waiver from

the Department of Transportation to drive a commercial

truck in interstate commerce, was “qualified” to be a truck

driver for petitioner.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the United States

Statement

Summary of argument

Argument:

I. Petitioner was not entitled to summary judg-

ment on the ground that respondent is not a

person with a disability

A. Respondent's claim of actual disability

was not challenged by petitioner’s summary

judgment motion, and respondent therefore

did not offer the ample available evidence to

support it

B. The court of appeals’ ruling on respondent's

alternative claim that he was “regarded as”

disabled was not challenged by the petition

for certiorari and is not properly before this

Court

II. Petitioner was not entitled to summary

judgment on the ground that respondent, as

result of his monocular vision, was not qualified

to drive a truck for petitioner

A. Anemployer may not employ qualification

standards that tend to screen out disabled

persons unless those standards can be

justified under the ADA

B. The ADA requires safety-based standards

to be shown to be necessary to avoid a

direct threat to health or safety

C. Petitioner was not entitled to summary

judgment, because there were significant

issues of material fact concerning whether

its binocular vision standard was

EES

r

(IID)

iui

15

19

19

8

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Advocates for Highway & Auto Safety v.

Federal Highway Admin., 28 F.3d 1288

(D.C. Cir. 1994) 27, 28, 29

Bradgon v. Abbott, 118 S. Ct. 2196 (1998) . 11, 12, 14,

23, 26, 27

Celote Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986) 10

Chevron U.S.A. Ine. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council. Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) 12

Coleman v. Southern Pac. Transp. Co, 997 F.

Supp. 1197 (W.D. Ariz. 1998) 11

Deane v. Pocono Med. Ctr., 142 F.3d 138 (3d Cir.

1997) 21

Doane v. City of Omaha, 115 F.3d 624 (8th Cir.

1997), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 693 (1998) 11

EEOC v. Union Pac. R. R., 6 F. Supp. 2d 1135

(D. Idaho 1998) 11

Judwin Properties, Inc. v. U.S. Fire Ins. Co.,

973 F. 2d 432 (5th Cir. 1992) 10

Magiera v. Ford Motor Co., No. 9700421, 1998 WL

704061 (N.D. Ill. Sept. 30, 1998) 11

Me ken non v. Nashville Banner Pub. Co., 513 U.S.

352 (1995) 28

National Fire Ins. v. Bartolazo, 27 F.3d 518 (11th

Cir, 1994) 10

Norcross v. Sneed, 755 F.2d 113 (8th Cir. 1985) 17

Otis Elevator Co. v. George Washington Hotel Corp.,

27 F.3d 903 (3d Cir. 1994) 10

Peckmann v. Thompson, 966 F 2d 295 (7th Cir.

1992) 10

Rauenhorst v. U.S. Dep't of Transp., 95 F.3d 715

(8th Cir. 1996) 27

School Bd. v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273 (1987) 17, 23

V

Stella v. Town of Tewksbury, 4 F. ad 53 (1st Cir.

1993) 10

Still v. Freeport McMoran, Inc., 120 F.3d 50 (5th

Cir. 1997) 14, 15

Stinson v. United States, 508 U.S. 36 (1993) 12

Stone v. City of Mount Vernon, 118 F.3d 92 (2d

Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 1044 (1998) 21

Winbourne v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc, 632 F. 2d

219 (2d Cir. 1980) 10

Statutes, regulations and rules:

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 551 28

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C.

12101 et seq. passim

42 U.S.C. 12102(2) A) 9, 11, 15, 17

42 U.S.C. 12102020) 3 15,17

Tit. 1, 42 U.S.C. 12111 et seg. 14

42 U.S.C. 12111(3) 22

42 U.S.C. 12111(8) 21

42 U.S.C. 12112 18

42 U.S.C. 12112(a) 19

42 U.S.C, 12112(b\5)(A) . 25

42 U.S.C. 12112(b\6) 19

42 U.S.C. 12113(a) 20, 22, 25

42 U.S.C. 12113(b) * 22

42 U.S.C. 12116 12

42 U.S.C. 12117(a) 12

Tit. V, 42 U.S.C. 12201 et Se.:

42 U.S.C. 12206(e)(1)-(2)(A) 12

Motor Carrier Safety Act of 1984, 49 * 31131

et seq. 2,6

49U S.C. 31135 2

49 U.S.C. 31136(a\3) 2

49US.C. 31136(e) 2

49 U.S.C. 31315 2

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 701 17

VI

Statutes, regulations and rules—Continued:

Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century,

Pub. L. No. 105-178, 112 Stat. 107

§ 4007, 112 Stat. 401

29 C. F. R.:

Part 1630:

Section 1630.2(h\(1)

Section 1630.2(i)

Section 1630.2()) .....

Section 1630.2(j3)i)

Section 1630.2(n)(1)

Section 1630.2(n)(3)i)

Section 1630.2(r)

Section 1630.15(e)

App. § 1630.2(r)

App. § 1630.10

App. § 1630.15(b)

App. § 1630.15(c)

App. § 1630.15(e)

49 C. F. R.:

Section 1.48(aa)

Section 1.48(f)

Section 390.3(a)

Section 390.3(d)

Section 390.5

Section 391.41(b)(10)

Section 391.43

Section 391.45

Section 391.45(b)(1)

Section 391.64(b)

Fed. R. Civ. P.:

Rule 56

Rule 56(c)

Sup. Ct. R.:

Rule 14.1(a)

Rule 15.2

Rule 24.1(a)

——

.

18. 19

*

ILE

S

w

VII

Miscellaneous: Page

Bartow Assocs., Inc., The Moncular Driver: A Review

of Distant Visual Acuity Risk Analysis Data

(1982) 24

Hugh Davson, The Physiology of the Eye (2d ed.

1963) 13

35 Fed. Reg. 6458 (1970) 3

57 Fed. Reg. (1992):

p. 6794 24

p. 31,459 23-24

p. 31,460 29

59 Fed. Reg. 50,888 (1994) 24, 28

Samuel L. Fox, Industrial and Occupational

Ophthalmology (1973) 13

Esther G. Gonzales et al., Depth Perception

in Children Enucleated at an Early Age, 4 Clin.

Vision Sci. 173 (1988) 13

H.R. Rep. No. 485, 101st Cong., 2d Sess. (1990):

Pt. 2 14, 23, 25

Pt. 3 20, 23

A. J. McKnight et al., The Viswal and Driving

Performance of Monocular and Binocular Heavy-

Duty Truck Drivers, 23 Accid. Anal. & Prev. 225

(1991) 12, 13

S. Rep. No. 116, 101st Cong., Ist Sess. (1989) 20, 23, 27

James E. Sheedy et al., Binocular vs. Monocular

Task Performance, 63 Am. J. of Optometry &

Physiological Optics 839 (1986) 13

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

No. 98-591

ALBERTSONS, INC., PETITIONER

.

HALLIE KIRKINGBURG

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

AND THE EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY

COMMISSION AS AMICUS CURIAE

SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case concerns the definitions of “disability” and

“qualified individual with a disability,” two important statu-

tory terms in the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

(ADA), 42 U.S.C. 12101 et seg. Congress delegated to the

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) and

the Department of Justice authority to promulgate regula-

tions and to enforce the provisions of the ADA. Both

agencies have issued extensive regulations and interpretive

guidance concerning the definition of these terms. In

addition, this case concerns the extent to which vision

waivers issued by the Department of Transportation pur-

suant to the Motor Carrier Safety Act of 1984, 49 U.S.C.

(1)

2

31131 et seg, may affect an employer's obligation to comply

with the ADA.

STATEMENT

1. The Motor Carrier Safety Act of 1984 (Safety Act)

directs the Secretary of Transportation to “prescribe regula-

tions on commercial motor vehicle safety,” that “ensure that

* * * the physical condition of operators of commercial

motor vehicles is adequate to enable them to operate the

vehicles safely.“ 49 U.S.C. 31136(a)(3). The Act also pro-

vides that Ae lach employer and employee shall comply with

regulations on commercial motor vehicle safety prescribed

by the Secretary of Transportation * * * that apply to the

employer’s or employee’s conduct.” 49 U.S.C. 31135. During

the time period relevant to this litigation, the Act authorized

the Secretary to “waive any part of a regulation as it

applies to a person or class of persons, if the Secretary

decides that the waiver is consistent with the public interest

and the safe operation of commercial motor vehicles.” 49

U.S.C. 31136(e).' If the Secretary waives a regulation (such

as the vision standards at issue here), it no longer “»pllies}”

to employers and employees under Section 31135, and they

need not comply with it.

The Secretary has delegated regulatory authority under

the Safety Act to the Federal Highway Administration

(FHWA). 49 C.F.R. 1.48(aa), 1.48(f). Under FHWA regula-

tions, persons who operate commercial vehicles that weigh

more than 10,000 Ibs. and transport persons or property in

interstate commerce must undergo a physical examination

Congress amended the waiver provisions, effective June 9, 1998, in

the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century, Pub. L. No. 105-178,

112 Stat. 107. The new statute provides that the Secretary may issue an

“exemption” for a renewable 2-year period, if he finds that “such exemp-

tion would likely achieve a level of safety that is equivalent to, or greater

than, the level that would be achieved absent such «xemption.” See

§ 4007, 112 Stat. 401 (codified at 49 U.S.C. 31315).

3

every two years to determine whether they can be certified

as satisfying the requisite physical qualifications. See 49

C. F. R. 390.3(a), 390.5, 391.43, 391.45., 391.45(b)(1).

Under the federal vision standards that have been in

effect since 1971, an individual is qualified to drive a com-

mercial vehicle in interstate commerce if that person, inter

alia, hlas distant visual icuity of at least 20/40 (Snellen) in

each eye without corrective lenses or visual acuity sepa-

rately corrected to 20/40 (Snellen) or better with corrective

lenses.” 49 C.F.R. 391.41(b)(10); 35 Fed. Reg. 6458 (1970).

That standard excludes individuals who have poor vision in

one eye that cannot be corrected.

2. Respondent Hallie Kirkingburg has been driving com-

mercial trucks since 1979. J.A. 228, 286-287. The vision in

respondent’s right eye is 20/20 and his vision in both eyes is

at least 20/25. J.A. 34-35, 99-101. The vision in respondent’s

left eye, however, has been 20/200 since birth. J.A. 34-35.

The poor vision is caused by amblyopia, a condition com-

monly referred to as “lazy eye,” and it is not correctable by

corrective lenses. J.A. 35. Respondent’s treating optome-

trist. Dr. Beatrice Michel, O. D., testified that respondent’s

vision is essentially monocular. J.A. 306 (respondent “has

always functioned as a one- eyed person”). She also testified,

however, that respondent has learned to rely on “monocular

cues” to compensate for restrictions on his ability to perceive

depth. J.A. 300-303. Dr. Michel testified that in her medical

opinion respondent can drive a commercial vehicle as well as

a person with standard vision in both eyes. J.A. 36, 305-306.

In August 1990, petitioner Albertson’s, Inc. hired respon-

dent as a driver at its distribution center in Portland,

Oregon. J.A. 228, 275, 367. Prior to starting work for peti-

tioner, respondent was examined by a physician who

certified that respondent’s vision met the requirements

established by the Department of Transportation (DOT).

J.A. 99-101. Respondent also satisfactorily completed an

4

eighteen-mile road test administered by Albertson’s. C. A.

Rec. 133-134, 144.

In December 1991, respondent injured his head when he

fell from a company truck. J. A. 367. He was unable to work

for almost a year. J. A. 283. Petitioner required respondent

to have a new physical examination by one of its contract

physicians before returning to work. J.A. 283. A physician

examined respondent on November 5, 1992. J.A. 357. The

physician informed respondent that his vision did not meet

federal standards and that he would have to obtain a vision

waiver from DOT. J.A. 284. Respondent promptly applied

for a waiver on Nov. 12, 1992. J.A. 369.

Petitioner dismissed respondent by telephone on Novem-

ber 20, 1992, and told him that petitioner would not accept 4

vision waiver. J.A. 364. Franklin Delano Riddle, the general

manager at petitioner’s Portland Distribution Center, J.A.

312. made the decision to fire respondent, J.A. 314. Riddle

told another employee that they would have to fire respon-

dent because “he was legally blind, or blind in one eye.” J.A.

341.

At the time of respondent's termination, petitioner's em-

ployment manual required drivers to “comply with all

Department of Transportation, Interstate Commerce Com-

mission and Company safety rules.” J.A. 333. The company

had no written vision standards or policy regarding waivers.

J.A. 332-334, 340. Petitioner’s sole basis for deciding not to

accept the waivers was its concern about safety. J.A. 315,

323.

DOT issued respondent a vision waiver on February 25,

1993, authorizing him to “operate a CMV [commercial motor

vehicle] in interstate commerce.” J.A. 379, 381. Respondent

informed petitioner that he had obtained a vision waiver, but

petitioner refused to reinstate him as a driver. J. A. 276, 385-

386, 393. After respondent filed a union grievance, peti-

tioner offered respondent a position as a yard hostler, a

position that involved moving trailers on company property.

5

J.A. 388. Petitioner later withdrew the offer, however,

claiming that DOT certification was required for the posi-

tion.” J. A. 395-396.

3. Respondent filed suit in the United States District

Court for the District of Oregon alleging that petitioner’s

conduct violated the ADA. J.A. 4. Petitioner moved for

summary judgment on the sole ground that respondent was

not “qualified” for a driving position with petitioner; peti-

tioner did not argue that respondent was not disabled, J.A.

39-48, but instead stated in its moving papers that should

this case go to trial, [respondent] will of course bear the

burden of proving all elements of his ADA claim, including

the existence of a covered disability.“ J. A. 60 n. 1. The

district court granted petitioner’s motion on October 25,

1995. J.A. 122. The court held that petitioner “properly

considered meeting DOT minimum requirements” to be an

essential function of the job, and that “the ADA does not

obligate [petitioner] to employ truck drivers who have

received vision waivers.” J.A. 119-120.

4. On appeal, a divided panel of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit reversed. Petitioner

argued, apparently as an alternative ground for affirmance,

that respondent was not disabled because he was not

substantially limited in the major life activity of seeing. The

court did not refer to the fact that petitioner had never

moved for summary judgment on that ground, but instead

rejected petitioner’s argument on its merits. Noting that

EEOC regulations define an impairment to be substantially

limiting if it “significantly restricts as to the condition, man-

2 DOT certification would not have been required for such a position

if it did not involve driving on the road. Petitioner later offered respon-

dent a position as a tire mechanic. Respondent turned down the position,

in part because the pay was substantially below what he had received as a

driver. J.A. 281-282.

6

ner or duration under which an individual can perform a

particular major life activity,” the court held:

Kirkingburg’s inability to see out of one eye affects his

peripheral vision and his depth perception. Although his

brain has developed subconscious mechanisms for coping

with this visual impairment and his body compensates

for his disability, the manner in which he sees differs

significantly from the manner in which most people see.

To put it in its simplest terms, Kirkingburg sees using

only one eye; most people see using two.

J.A. 234-235. As an “alternative ground for [its] decision,”

the court held that evidence that one of [petitioner’s] manag-

ers described him as “blind in one eye, or legally blind” was

sufficient to raise a genuine issue as to whether [petitioner]

regarded respondent as disabled. J.A. 236-237.

The court further held that respondent had raised a

genuine issue of material fact as to whether he was

“qualified” to drive a truck. The court held that respon-

dent’s record of driving commercial trucks safely was

sufficient to establish that he could perform the essential

functions of the job. J.A. 237-238. The court rejected

petitioner’s argument that federal law precluded it from

allowing respondent to drive. The court noted that the

Safety Act authorized DOT to waive its regulatory require-

ments and that respondent had obtained a waiver. J.A. 239-

240.

The court further held that petitioner had presented no

evidence that respondent or other commercial drivers who

met the vision waiver requirements were a direct safety

threat. J.A. 246. The court added that petitioner was not in

any event free to adopt stricter safety standards than those

required by federal law. The court held that in light of the

FHWA’s determination that waiver recipients do not pose a

threat to public safety, petitioner was precluded from assert-

ing that they do. The court left open the possibility that

7

petitioner might be able to adhere to stricter standards if it

established that the work its drivers performed was sub-

stantially different-from the work performed by other com-

mercial truck drivers. J.A. 247-248.

Judge Rymer dissented on the ground that respondent

had not established that he was “qualified”. She asserted

that petitioner was not required to honor respondent’s

waiver because in 1992 the agency had not had a basis for

determining that the waivers would be consistent with

public safety. J.A. 249-254.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The court of appeals correctly decided that petitioner was

not entitled to summary judgment on the ground that

respondent was not disabled. Initially, the court of appeals’

holding can be affirmed on the basis that petitioner did not

move for—and was not granted—judgment on the ground

that respondent was not disabled. In any event, monocular

vision is frequently a disability under the ADA, because it

substantially limits both the amount (the visual field) and

the quality (the ability to see in three dimensions) of an

individual’s major life activity of seeing. The fact that it may

not also limit other “normal daily activities” of the individual,

see Pet. Br. 22, is of no significance, because the ADA is

largely premised on the principle that individuals who are

limited in one or more major life activities (here, seeing) can

overcome those limitations to perform many activities (in-

cluding working) competently and effectively.

Petitioner argues that the court of appeals erred in hold-

ing that it was not entitled to summary judgment on the

ground that respondent was not “regarded as” disabled. The

petition for certiorari did not present any question con-

cerning the court of appeals’ “regarded as” holding, and

accordingly petitioner’s “regarded as” argument is not

properly before the Court. In any event, the court of appeals

correctly held that petitioner’s statement that respondent

8

was, inter alia, “legally blind” was sufficient to create a

material issue of fact concerning whether petitioner

regarded respondent as disabled. In addition, evidence of

petitioner’s apparent belief that respondent could not safely

perform any job that required DOT certification is sufficient

to create a material issue of fact as to whether petitioner

regarded respondent as substantially limited in the major

life activity of working.

The court of appeals was also correct in holding that peti-

tioner was not entitled to summary judgment on the ground

that respondent was not qualified for his job. A qualification

standard, such as petitioner’s binocular vision standard,

must be justified under the ADA in terms of job-relatedness

and consistency with business necessity. In the case of

qualification standards that are based on a safety rationale,

that requires an inquiry into whether respondent would pose

a “direct threat” to the health of safety of himself or others.

Although that defense may be made out when an employer

takes an action required by a federal safety standard,

petitioner cannot rely on that justification here, since peti-

tioner could have complied with all applicable regulations by

permitting respondent to apply for a vision waiver, which

respondent ultimately did obtain. Because there was

substantial evidence that respondent could safely drive a

truck, and because the only evidence pointed to by petitioner

to the contrary was the (waivable) federal binocular vision

standard that petitioner adopted without the waiver com-

ponent, there remain substantial issues of material fact that

would preclude granting summary judgment to petitioner on

this ground.

9

ARGUMENT

I. PETITIONER WAS NOT ENTITLED TO SUMMARY

JUDGMENT ON THE GROUND THAT RESPON-

DENT IS NOT A PERSON WITH A DISABILITY

A. Respondent's Claim Of Actual Disability Was Not

Challenged By Petitioner's Summary Judgment Mo-

tion, And Respondent Therefore Did Not Offer The

Ample Available Evidence To Support It

Petitioner's summary judgment motion did not challenge

respondent’s claim of “disability,” but instead challenged

only his claim that, despite his disability, he was “qualified”

for the job. J.A. 39-40. Therefore, respondent did not

develop the summary judgment record regarding the nature

and extent of his impairment to show that his monocular

vision constituted a disability.

When petitioner challenged the existence of a disability

for the first time on appeal, see J.A. 182-185, the court of

appeals declined to hold that petitioner was entitled to

summary judgment on the issue. J.A. 234-237. That holding

was correct, because it cannot be said that respondent could

not meet a properly supported summary judgment motion

on this point. To the contrary, as set forth below, monocular

vision will frequently constitute-a disability within the

meaning of the statute—“a physical or mental impairment

that substantially limits one or more of the major life

activities of lan] individual,” 42 U.S.C. 12102(2)(A)—namely,

the major life activity of seeing.

1. Petitioner acknowledges that it “filed for summary

judgment on the ground that [respondent] was not a quali-

fied individual, with or without accommodation, under the

ADA because he could not meet the DOT vision standards.”

Pet. 11; see J.A. 39-40. Petitioner did not move for summary

judgment on the ground that respondent was not disabled,

and the district court did not address that issue in the course

10

of its decision to grant summary judgment to petitioner on

the ground that petitioner was not “qualified.” J.A. 115-121.

In Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323 (1986), this

Court noted that under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56,

“a party seeking summary judgment always bears the initial

responsibility of informing the district court of the basis for

its motion.” Jd. at 323. The moving party’s discharge of that

responsibility in turn “requires the nonmoving party to go

beyond the pleadings and by her own affidavits, or by the

‘depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on

file,’ designate ‘specific facts showing that there is a genuine

issue for trial.“ Jd at 324. See also id. at 328 (White, J.,

concurring). If the party has not been placed on notice that

summary judgment may be entered against it on a particular

ground, any absence of sufficient evidence to create a mate-

rial issue of fact essential to that ground does not betoken

the lack of a genuine dispute between the parties.

As the Court noted in Celotex, a district court has authority to

enter summary judgment sua sponte—but only if “the losing party was on

notice that she had to come forward with all of her evidence.” 477 U.S. at

326. The lower courts have uniformly held that summary judgment may

not be entered against a party that had no notice or that was not given the

full ten-day period provided by Rule 56(c) to produce its evidence for the

summary judgment record. See, e., National Fire Ins. v. Bartolazo, 27

F.3d 518, 519 (11th Cir. 1994); Otis Elevator Co. v. George Washington

Hotel Corp., 27 F.3d 903, 909-910 (3d Cir. 1994); Stella v. Town of

Tewksbury, 4 F.3d 53 (Ist Cir. 1993); Peckmann v. Thompson, 966 F. 2d

295, 297 (7th Cir. 1992); Judwin Properties, Inc. v. United States Fire Ins.

Co., 973 F.2d 432, 436-437 (5th Cir. 1992); Winbourne v. Eastern Air

Lines, Inc., 632 F 2d 219 (2d Cir. 1980).

Petitioner’s argument illustrates the difficulty of viewing the summary

judgment record in this case as if it were complete. Petitioner relies

heavily on respondent’s reply, “Not that I recall,” to the question whether

his impairment has ever interfered with his work. See Br. 23. That

answer may be of relevance had respondent claimed to be limited in

working, but it does not suggest that respondent is not substantially

limited in the major life activity of seeing.

11

Because petitioner failed to move for summary judgment

on the question whether respondent was a person with a

disability, summary judgment may not be entered against

respondent on that ground. The only possible exception to

that rule would be if it could be shown that the party against

whom summary judgment is sought could not possibly have

introduced evidence in support of its claim, i.e., if the plead-

ings are essentially sufficient to warrant judgment against

that party. As we show below, however, there is ample

support for the proposition that monocular vision is ordinar-

ily a disability under the ADA, because it substantially limits

the major life activity of seeing. The Ninth Circuit there-

fore correctly declined to grant summary judgment to peti-

tioner on the ground that monocular vision is not a disability.

2. The ADA defines a “disability” in terms of three sepa-

rate, alternative criteria. Under the first criterion—actual

disability—a disability is “a physical or mental impairment

that substantially limits one or more * * * major life

activities.” 42 U.S.C. 12102(2)(A). There is no dispute that

monocular vision is a “physical * * * impairment.” See 29

C. F. R. 1630.2(h)(1); Bragdon v. Abbott, 118 S. Ct. 2196, 2202

(1998). Monocular vision frequently substantially limits the

major life activity of seeing.” See id. at 2205 (“seeing” is

major life activity); 29 C. F. R. 1630.2(i) (same).

EEOC regulations state that an impairment is sub-

stantially limiting if it Is ſignificantly restrict{[s} * * the

condition, manner or duration under which an individual can

perform a particular major life activity as compared to the

See Doane v. City of Omaha, 115 F.3d 624 (8th Cir. 1997), cert.

denied, 118 S. Ct. 693 (1998); EEOC v. Union Pac. R.R., 6 F. Supp. 2d

1135 (D. Idaho 1998); Coleman v. Southern Pac. Transp. Co., 997 F. Supp.

1197 (W. D. Ariz. 1998); Magiera v. Ford Motor Co., No. 97C0421, 1998 WL

704061 (N. D. Ill. Sept. 30, 1998).

Any issues regarding whether there are differences among mon-

ocular individuals based on the extent of vision loss in the affected eye and

precise measures of respondent’s vision would remain open on remand.

12

condition, manner, or duration under which the average

person in the general population can perform that same

major life activity.” 29 C.F.R. 1630.2(j).° The regulations

thus correctly recognize that an impairment may sub-

stantially restrict the process by which a person performs a

major life activity, even if they do not make performance of

that activity impossible. See Bragdon, 118 S. Ct. at 2206

(“The Act addresses substantial limitations on major life

activities, not utter inabilities.”).

3. Studies of monocular vision indicate that it often

substantially limits vision.’ Most studies agree that the most

significant limitations of monocular vision are reduced field

of vision and lack of binocular depth perception. See, e. g.,

A. J. McKnight et al., The Visual and Driving Performance

of Monocular and Binocular Heavy-Duty Truck Drivers, 23

Accid. Anal. & Prev. 225 (1991). With respect to visual field,

one study found that, on average, persons with monocular

vision had a visual field of 145 degrees as compared to 173

degrees for persons with binocular vision. Id. at 231. That

study concluded that this difference was “obviously highly

significant both statistically and practically.” Ibid.

Persons with monocular vision also lack binocular depth

perception. Binocular vision enables persons to achieve

6 “As the agency directed by Congress to issue implementing regula-

tions [see 42 U.S.C. 12116], to render technical assistance explaining the

responsibilities of covered individuals and institutions [see 42 U.S.C.

12206(c)(1)-(2A)], and to enforce Title II] in court [see 42 U.S.C.

12117(a)], the [EEOC]'s views are entitled to deference.” Bragdon, 118

S. Ct. at 2209 (citing Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Nacural Resources Defense

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 844 (19843). The EEOC’s commentary

interpreting its own regulations and its Technical Assistance Manual are

also “entitled to deference.” See Stinson v. United States, 508 U.S. 36, 45

(1993).

7 The court of appeals noted not only that respondent sees in a

different “manner,” but also that his vision is “limited” in both depth

perception and peripheral vision. J.A. 234-235.

“stereopsis,” i.e. to see objects in three dimensions. See

Hugh Davson, The Physiology of the Eye 351 (2d Ed. 1963);

Samuel L. Fox, Industrial and Occupational Ophthalmol-

ogy 23 (1973). Because the two eyes are separated laterally,

their two images are not identical; one eye receives a right-

view of the object and the other a left-slanted view. When

the two images are merged in the visual cortex, a three-

dimensional image results. [bid.

Persons with monocular vision are not able to achieve

stereopsis and therefore do not see objects in a three-

dimensional pattern. Davson, supra, at 351. Stereopsis is

not, however, the only method of perceiving depth. There

are a variety of “monocular cues” (v e., visual observations

that do not require binocular vision) that can contribute to

depth perception. See, e.g., Esther G. Gonzalez et al., Depth

Perception in Children Enucleated at an Early Age, 4 Clin.

Vision Sci. 173 (1988); see also James E. Sheedy, et al.,

Binocular vs. Monocular Task Performance, 63 Am. J. of

Optometry & Physiological Optics 839 (1986); J.A. 301.

There is also evidence that many people adjust to loss of

vision in one eye in approximately one year or less. Gonzalez,

supra, at 173. Researchers have concluded that stereopsis is

most important at perceiving depths less than six meters

away, cf. J.A. 300, but that it can contribute to depth per-

ception for distances up to 185 meters. McKnight, supra, at

227.

4. Taken together, the limitations monocular vision im-

poses on a person’s ability to see, in terms of field of vision

and lack of three-dimensionality, are “substantial” within the

meaning of the ADA and “significant” within the meaning of

the EEOC’s implementing regulations. Both the amount

that a monocular person sees and the quality of what such a

person sees may be substantially less than that of an

individual with binocular vision. The amount is less because,

as noted above, when a person with one functioning eye

looks out at the world, that person sees a substantially

14

narrower field than when an individual with binocular vision

looks at the same place. And the quality is less because, as

explained above, a monocular individual will be unable to

perceive an essential quality of objects—their three-

dimensional nature—through his eyes. In our view, mono-

cularity will therefore frequently be a disability under the

ADA.

5. Petitioner argues that a person is disabled within the

meaning of the ADA only if the person cannot “otherwise

perform normal daily activities requiring eyesight,” and that

respondent’s monocular vision does not satisfy that test.

Pet. Br. 22 (citing Still v. Freeport McMoran, Inc., 120 F.3d

50, 53 (5th Cir. 1997)). The test proposed by petitioner, how-

ever, is not the test required by the ADA or its imple-

menting regulations. The pertinent inquiry under the ADA

is whether one or more major life activities is substantially

limited, see Bragdon, 118 S. Ct. at 2202, not whether the

person is able to overcome those limitations when per-

forming other activities. Taken to its logical conclusion, peti-

tioner’s test would justify the conclusion that a particularly

vigorous person who uses a wheelchair is not disabled

because he or she can drive a car, complete a marathon, live

independently, and perform other activities as effectively as

a person without mobility impairments. Title I of the ADA

was premised in part on the principle that individuals with

disabilities can overcome them to perform many activities

competently and effectively, if employers will only give them

the chance to do so. The fact that an individual can function

well in a wide range of activities, therefore, cannot be the

See, e.g., H.R. Rep. No. 485, 101st Cong., 2d Sess., Pt. 2, at 46 (1990)

(House Labor Rep.) (“How maay well educated and highly capable people

with disabilities must sit down at home every day, not because of their

lack of ability, but because of the attitudes of employers, service pro-

viders, and government officials?”) (quoting testimony before House Sub-

committee on Select Education, Ser. No. 101-56, August 28, 1989, at 67.)

15

basis for excluding that individual from the class protected

by the statute.

B. The Court Of Appeals’ Ruling On Respondent's

Alternative Claim That He Was “Regarded As” Dis-

abled Was Not Challenged By The Petition For

Certiorari And Is Not Properly Before This Court

1. The petition for a writ of certiorari sought review on

one and only one question concerning whether respondent is

a person with a disability: “[wJhether a monocular individual

is ‘disabled’ per se, under the Americans with Disabilities

Act (“ADA”) 42 U.S.C. § 12112(a) (1994).” Pet. i. It is quite

clear, for two reasons, that that question brought the Ninth

Circuit’s “actual disability” analysis under 42 U.S.C.

12102(2)(A)—not its “regarded as” holding under 42 U.S.C.

12102(2)(C)—before this Court.

First, the body of the petition argued only that the Ninth

Cireuit had held that a monocular driver has a “per se”

actual disability, see Pet. 15-16, and that such a holding con-

flicted with the decision of the Fifth Circuit in Still v.

Freeport McMoran, Inc., 120 F.3d 50 (1997), see Pet. 16. The

petition presented no argument or discussion whatsoever

concerning the Ninth Circuit’s “regarded as” holding.

Second, the Ninth Circuit’s “regarded as” holding plainly

was not a “per se” holding, and therefore could not have

come within the question presented. The Ninth Circuit’s

entire discussion consisted of its reference to the “regarded

as” provision of the ADA and the statement that “[bJecause

[respondent] has presented evidence showing that one of

[petitioner’s] managers described him as ‘blind in one eye or

legally blind,’ he has established a genuine issue as to

whether his employer believed he was disabled.” J. A. 237.

The Ninth Circuit’s ruling was thus based on an inference

that could be drawn from a particular statement of peti-

tioner’s manager, and it could not be reasonably understood

16

to be a holding that people with monocular vision are “per

se” regarded as disabled.

2. Petitioner’s brief on the merits (Br. i) adds a new

question to those presented in the petition: “Whether a

remark that a monocular driver is blind in one eye supports a

claim that an employer regards that individual as disabled

under the ADA.” Under Rule 14.1(a) of the Rules of this

Court, “[o}nly the questions set out in the petition, or fairly

included therein, will be considered by the Court.“ See also

Sup. Ct. R. 24.1(a). Because the petition for certiorari in this

case did not present any question concerning the court of

appeals’ “regarded as” ruling, and because no such question

is fairly included in the questions presented, this Court

should not reach respondent’s challenge to the court of

appeals’ “regarded as” ruling." We nonetheless briefly ad-

dress the merits of petitioner’s argument.

* Amicus United Parcel Service argues (Br. 20) that the court of

appeals’ “regarded as” holding “is dependent on the court’s initial con-

clusion that monocular vision constitutes a disability per se.” Even if it

were so dependent, that would not alter the fact that no question con-

cerning the court of appeals’ “regarded as” holding is properly before this

Court. In any event, the court of appeals’ “regarded as” holding was not

“dependent” on any earlier part of its analysis. Instead, it rested on the

evidence that respondent's supervisor said, inter alia, that respondent

was “legally blind.” If viewed in the light most favorable to respondent,

that evidence would certainly be sufficient to raise an inference that the

supervisor regarded him as disabled, 1e. substantially limited in the

major life activity of seeing, regardless of whether monocular vision con-

stitutes an actual disability, either per se or on the facts of this case. Thus,

the court of appeals’ “regarded as” holding is truly, as the court of appeals

stated, an “alternative ground,” J.A. 236, and it stands entirely independ-

ent of the court of appeals’ “actual disability” discussion.

10 The Ninth Circuit's holding concerning respondent's “regarded as”

disability was sufficient to Support its judgment that petitioner could not

be granted summary judgment on the ground that respondent is not

disabled. That would ordinarily provide a powerful reason for this Court

not to reach even the question whether respondent had an “actual”

disability. By not including any such argument in his brief in opposition,

17

3. An individual is “disabled” under the ADA not only if

the individual has an impairment “that substantially limits

one or more of the major life activities of such individual,” 42

U.S.C. 12102(2)(A), but also if the individual is “regarded as

having such an impairment,” 42 U.S.C. 12102020). The

“regarded as” provision reflects Congress’ concern with pro-

tecting persons with disabilities from the “effects of errone-

ous but nevertheless prevalent perceptions” about disabling

conditions. See School Bd. v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273, 279

(1987). The record in this case contains sufficient evidence

that respondent regarded petitioner as having an impair-

ment (his impaired vision) that substantially limited peti-

tioner in the major life activities of seeing and working.

a. Because there is no dispute that petitioner was aware

of respondent’s vision impairment, the sole remaining ques-

tion is whether petitioner viewed that impairment as sub-

stantially limiting one of his major life activities. Franklin

Delano Riddle, the manager who made the decision to fire

respondent, stated that respondent was “legally blind, or

blind in one eye.” J.A. 341. Taken in the light most favor-

able to respondent, this statement indicates that Riddle

believed that respondent was “legally blind.” The fact that

an employer regards an employee as “legally blind” is ample

to support an inference that the employer regards the

employee as substantially limited in the major life activity of

seeing. See Norcross v. Sneed, 755 F.2d 113 (8th Cir. 1985)

(legal blindness is a handicap under the Rehabilitation Act).

Petitioner argues (Br. 28) that there is no causal connec-

tion between Riddle’s statement and the decision to

terminate respondent. Whether petitioner fired respondent

because it regarded him as “legally blind,” however, con-

however, respondent appears to have waived any argument that the

Court should not reach the actual disability“ issue. See Sup. Ct. R. 15.2.

This Court of course retains the discretion to decline to reach the “actual

disability” issue.

18

cerns whether discrimination has occurred under 42 U.S.C.

12112, not whether he was “regarded as” disabled under 42

U.S.C. 12102(2)(C). In any event, such questions of causality

must be resolved at trial. The court of appeals correctly held

that Riddle’s statement is sufficient to raise a genuine issue

of material fact on the “regarded as” issue."

b. Alternatively, there is sufficient evidence that peti-

tioner regarded respondent as substantially limited in the

major life activity of working. EEOC regulations provide

that a person is substantially limited in the ability to work

if the person is “significantly restricted in the ability to per-

form either a class of jobs or a broad range of jobs in various

classes as compared to the average person having compar-

able training, skills and abilities.” 29 C.F.R. 1630.2(j)(3)(i).

The regulations add that At he inability to perform a single,

particular job does not constitute a substantial limitation in

the major life activity of working.” Ibid.”

Viewed in the light most favorable to respondent, the

record demonstrates that petitioner regarded respondent’s

visual impairment as preventing him from safely performing

any job that required DOT certification. See J.A. 345, 396.

DOT certification is necessary for “all employers, employees,

and commercial motor vehicles, which transport property or

passengers in interstate commerce.” 49 C.F.R. 390.3(a).

For similar reasons, petitioner's argument (Br. 26-27) that it could

not have regarded respondent as substantially limited in the ability to see

because it later offered him a position as a tire mechanic raises factual

questions that cannot be resolved on summary judgement. Among other

things, the offer came long after the termination, see J.A. 395, and

therefore may be of quite limited value in assessing how Riddle regarded

respondent at the time that he fired him.

2 As we explain in our brief (at 13-14) as amicus curiae in Sutton v.

United Air Lines, No. 97-1943, the “class of jobs or broad range of jobs in

various classes” requirement was not intended to impose an onerous

burden on plaintiffs, but merely to ensure that the limitation on working is

not trivial or insubstantial.

19

Thus, there is evidence that petitioner regarded respondent

as restricted from either a “class of jobs or a broad range of

jobs in various classes,” 29 C.F.R. 1630.2(j)(3)(i), namely,

most of the truck driving jobs for which respondent was

trained, and hence substantially limited in the major life

activity of working. Accordingly, the record in this case

precludes Summary judgment for petitioner on the question

whether respondent was “regarded as” disabled.

II. PETITIONER WAS NOT ENTITLED TO SUM-

MARY JUDGMENT ON THE GROUND THAT RE-

SPONDENT, AS A RESULT OF HIS MONOCULAR

VISION, WAS NOT QUALIFIED TO DRIVE A

TRUCK FOR PETITIONER

Petitioner argues that the district court correctly granted

it summary judgment on the ground that, assuming respon-

dent was disabled, his monocular vision rendered him not

“qualified” to serve as a truck driver for petitioner. To the

contrary, there are serious issues of material fact that

preclude a grant of summary judgment to petitioner on that

ground.

A. An Employer May Not Employ Qualification Stan-

dards That Tend To Screen Out Disabled Persons

Unless Those Standards Can Be Justified Under The

ADA

1. Title I of the ADA provides that Inlo covered entity

shall discriminate against a qualified individual with a

disability.” 42 U.S.C. 12112(a). The Act provides that “the

term ‘discriminate’ includes * * * using qualification

standards * * * that screen out or tend to screen out an

individual with a disability * * unless the standard..

as used by the covered entity, is shown to be job-related for

the position in question and is consistent with business

necessity.” 42 U.S.C. 12112(b)(6). Correspondingly, the Act

provides that Ailt may be a defense to a charge of

20

discrimination * * * that an alleged application of

qualification standards * * that screen out or tend to

screen out or otherwise deny a job or benefit to an individual

with a disability has been shown to be job-related and con-

sistent with business necessity, and such performance can-

not be accomplished by reasonable accommodation.” 42

U.S.C. 12113(a).

Putting the above provisions together, if a qualification

standard is “job-related” and “consistent with business ne-

cessity” and if its purpose cannot “be accomplished by reas-

onable accommodation,” then its use by an employer to

screen out persons with disabilities is permissible under the

ADA. But if a qualification standard is not “job-related” and

“consistent with business necessity,” or if its purpose can “be

accomplished by reasonable accommodation,” then its use by

an employer to screen out persons with disabilities is dis-

crimination under the ADA and is illegal.

2. Petitioner argues (Br. 33) that it “is not required to

justify its decision regarding the stringency of the qualita-

tive standards applied to each position.” That argument is

inconsistent with the statutory provisions cited above, which

plainly require such justification in terms of job-relatedness,

business necessity, and reasonable accommodation. Indeed,

the perfectly general terms of the cited provisions are appli-

cable to all types of selection criteria, including “safety re-

quirements [and] vision or hearing requirements.“ 29

C. F. R. Pt. 1630 App. § 1630.10 (emphasis added). The core

purpose of the ADA “to ensure that individuals with dis-

abilities are not excluded from job opportunities unless they

are actually unable to do the job,” ibid., can be accomplished

only by requiring justification for qualification standards

that tend to screen out disabled persons.

18 See generally, S. Rep. No. 116, 101st Cong., Ist Sess. 37-39 (1989)

(Senate Rep.); House Labor Rep. at 70-72; H.R. Rep. No. 485, supra, Pt. 3,

at 42 (House Judiciary Rep.).

21

Petitioner asserts (Br. 32-33) that it need not justify its

qualification standards because the EEOC has stated that

“[iJt is the employer's province to establish what a job is and

what functions are required to perform it” and that “the

inquiry into essential functions is not intended to second

guess an employer’s business judgment with regard to

production standards * * * nor to require employers to

lower such standards.” The EEOC’s position about essential

functions and production standards, however, is of no rele-

vance to any issue in this case. There is no dispute that, as

petitioner states, “driving a truck in interstate commerce is

an essential function of the truck driving position” at issue

here. Pet. 35. This case accordingly does not present any

question concerning how to identify the essential functions of

a job.“ Nor does this case involve any question regarding

“production standards,” such as the number of hours a day a

driver should drive. The case does squarely present the

question whether petitioner’s qualification standard is, as a

matter of law, job-related and consistent with business

necessity under the ADA.

1 Citing 42 U.S.C. 12111(8), petitioner states (Br. 14) that At he ADA

expressly recognizes that consideration shall be given to the employer's

judgment in determining who is qualified.“ Section 121118), however,

provides that “consideration shall be given to the employer’s judgment as

to what functions of a job are essential,” not who is qualified for a job. See

also 29 C. F. R. 1630.2(n)(1) (defining “essential functions” as “the funda-

mental job duties of the employment position”). If this case did involve a

dispute about the essential functions of a job, it would be significant that

the quoted language requires only that “consideration”—not preclusive

effect—be given to the employer's judgment concerning what job fune-

tions are essential. See Deane v. Pocono Med. Ctr., 142 F.3d 138, 148 (ard

Cir. 1997) (en banc); Stone v. City of Mount Vernon, 118 F.3d 92 (2d Cir.

1997), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 1044 (1998); 29 C.F.R. 1630.2(n)\(3)(i)

(“Evidence of whether a particular function is essential includes, but is not

limited to * * * [t}he employer’s judgment as to which functions are

essential.”) (emphasis added).

22

B. The ADA Requires Safety-Based Standards To Be

Shown To Be Necessary To Avoid A Direct Threat To

Health Or Safety

1. The ADA specifically addresses the subcategory of

qualification standards which, like the binocular vision

standard at issue here, are based on a safety rationale. The

Act provides generally that qualification standards “may be

a defense to a charge of discrimination” if they are “shown to

be job-related and consistent with business necessity, and

such performance cannot be accomplished by reasonable ac-

commodation.” 42 U.S.C. 12118(a). The Act farther pro-

vides that such “qualification standards’ may include a re-

quirement that an individual shall not pose a direct threat to

the health or safety of other individuals in the workplace.”

42 U.S.C, 12113(b); see also 29 C. F. R. 1630.2(r). In this con-

text, a “direct threat” means a “significant risk” to the health

or safety of others that cannot be eliminated by reasonable

accommodation. 42 U.S.C. 1211183).

Because of the statutory connection between “qualifica-

tion standards” and the “direct threat” defense, the EEOC

reasonably has concluded that a qualification standard based

on a safety rationale must satisfy the “direct threat” stan-

dards. See 29 C.F.R. Pt. 1630 App. § 1630.15(b) and (c)

(“With regard to safety requirements that screen out or tend

to screen out an individual with a disability or a class of

individuals with disabilities, an employer must demonstrate

that the requirement, as applied to the individual, satisfies

the ‘direct threat’ standard * * * in order to show that the

requirement is job-related and consistent with business

necessity.”). Accordingly, petitioner’s binocular vision quali-

fication standard must satisfy the “direct threat” standard.

We note, however, that it makes little difference in this case

whether the “direct threat” standard or some other explica-

tion of “job-related and consistent with business necessity”

is used. Under any reasonable understanding of “business

necessity,” there remain material issues of fact regarding

whether petitioner’s binocular vision standard is justifiable.

2. As this Court explained in Bragdon, the existence of a

significant risk must be based on medical or other objective

factual evidence. Bragdon, 118 S. Ct. at 2210; see also School

Bd. v. Arline, 480 U.S. at 287-288. Such consideration may

not rely on subjective perceptions, irrational fears, patroniz-

ing attitudes, or stereotypes about the nature or effect of a

particular disability or about disabilities gen- rally. See 29

C.F.R. Pt. 1630 App. § 1630.2(r); Senate Rep. at 27; House

Labor Rep. at 56-57; House Judiciary Rep. at 45-46. More-

over, the determination of whether an individual poses a

safety threat to others requires an individualized assessment

of the indiv‘dual’s present ability to perform safely the

essential functions of the job. 29 C. F. R. 1630.2(r); 29 C. F. R.

Pt. 1630 App. § 1630.2(r). See also Arline, 480 U.S. at 287:

House Labor Rep. at 56. In enacting the ADA, Congress

recognized that employers often wrongly excluded persons

with disabilities from employment because of misplaced

concerns about safety or liability. See House Judiciary Rep.

at 30-31. An employer's subjective belief that a significant

risk exists, even if maintained in good faith, therefore will

not relieve the employer from liability. See Bragdon, 118 8.

Ct. at 2210.

C. Petitioner Was Not Entitled To Summary Judgment,

Because There Were Significant Issues Of Material

Fact Concerning Whether Its Binocular Vision Stan-

dard Was Justified

1. There was substantial evidence in the record that

respondent’s requirement that its truck drivers have binocu-

lar vision does not satisfy the ADA. For example, at the

time respondent was dismissed, DOT had determined that

existing studies did] not provide a sufficient nexus be-

tween the current vision requirements and driving per-

24

formance.” See 57 Fed. Reg. 31,459 (1992). According to

DOT, there was evidence that persons with disabilities learn

to compensate for their disabilities over time. and that past

driving experience can be used to predict future results. 59

Fed. Reg. 50,888 (1994) (describing 1992 decision).

Moreover, respondent’s optometrist testified that,

although stereopsis—the ability to judge depth using both

eyes working together is * * limited to the short

distances rather than the long distances{,] [w]e rely on other

cues for depth at the long-range distances.” J.A. 300. She

went on to describe those cues, including “motion parallax,”

“linear perspective,” “overlay contours,” “distribution of

highlights and shadows,” the “size of known objects,” and

“aerial perspective.” J.A. 301. She also referred to a

scholarly article discussing the issue. J.A. 300. She con-

cluded that “in certain situations like distance viewing,”

“stereopsis * * * [is] not going to be a really particularly

relevant or necessary skill.” J. A. 301.

Finally, respondent presented evidence that he had been

safely driving commercial vehicles since 1979, that his vision

has remained constant, and that he was capable of driving as

well as a similarly situated person with good vision in both

eyes. J. A. 34-36, 286-287, 305-306. Those facts also support

respondent’s position.

2. Petitioner does not seriously dispute the above evi-

dence. Instead, both petitioner and the dissenting judge in

the court of appeals (J.A. 249-253) rest their argument on the

fact that respondent cannot satisfy the DOT vision standards

without obtaining a vision waiver. The fact that respondent

could satisfy federal standards only by obtaining a waiver,

1% DOT also cited a 1982 study it had commissioned concluding that

there was no correlation between accident rates and reduced visual acuity

in drivers under age 54 and only a weak relationship in drivers over 60. 57

Fed. Reg. at 6794 (citing Bartow Associates, Inc., The Monocular Driver:

A Review of Distant Visual Acuity Risk Analysis Data (1982)).

however, is insufficient to establish that petitioner is entitled

to summary judgment on the qualification issue.

a. Under 29 C. F. R. 1630.15(e), it may be a defense to a

charge of discrimination * * * that a challenged action is

required or necessitated by another Federal law or regula-

tion.” At the time petitioner dismissed respondent, respon-

dent had offered to obtain (and ultimately did in fact obtain)

a vision waiver permitting him to obtain DOT certification

despite his failure to satisfy the DOT binocular vision

standard. Because a waiver would render the vision stan-

dard inapplicable to respondent, petitioner’s dismissal of

respondent was not “required or necessitated” by any

“Federal law or regulation.“ “ See 29 C.F.R. Pt. 1630 App.

§ 1630.15(e) (“The employer’s defense of a conflicting

Federal requirement or regulation may be rebutted * * *

by showing that the Federal standard did not require the

discriminatory action, or that there was a nonexclusionary

means to comply with the standard that would not conflict

with [the ADA).”); House Labor Rep. at 74.

The dissenting judge on the court of appeals mistakenly

reasoned that petitioner was acting lawfully because it was

merely “requiring compliance with DOT safety regulations.”

J.A. 251. Because DOT safety regulations permitted respon-

dent to drive with a vision waiver, petitioner may not justify

10 Petitioner does not assert that the delay in obtaining the

certification was a factor in its decision to dismiss respondent. If it made

such a claim, the question would arise whether petitioner was obligated to

permit such a delay as a reasonable accommodation. See 42 U.S.C.

12112(b\5)A) (stating that to “discriminate” under the ADA includes “not

making reasonable accommodations” under specified circumstances); 42

U.S.C. 12113(a) (recognizing defense that employer was applying qualifica-

tion standard where, inter alia, “performance cannot be accomplished by

reasonable accommodation”).

its choice to dismiss respondent on the ground that it was

merely complying with federal safety regulations.

b. Even though the DOT vision standards did not them-

selves require petitioner to dismiss respondent, petitioner

could still employ those standards (or could adopt even more

stringent standards of its own) if it could establish that the

use of such standards satisfied the “direct threat” defense.

The ADA is not intended to prevent employers from guard-

ing against significant health and safety risks that might be

posed by employing particular persons with disabilities. See

Bragdon, 118 S. Ct. at 2210. Moreover, a particular em-

ployer may face conditions that demand stricter safety

standards than those embodied in the DOT regulations. See

JA. 247 n.11." Cf. Bragdon, 118 S. Ct. at 2211 (While the

views of public health agencies are entitled to “special

weight and authorityl, * * * [a] health care professional

n Contrary to the dissenting judge in the court of appeals (J.A. 252),

the analysis is not altered by the fact that the federal waiver program was

an interim measure limited to a small group of drivers as part of a

controlled study to determine whether the regulatory standards should be

changed for all drivers. Nothing in federal law suggests that a waiver is

invalid because it is issued as part of a controlled study.

* The court of appeals erroneously stated (J.A. 248) that “{iJn light of

(employers) from declaring that persons determined by DOT to be capable

of performing the job of commercial truck driver [through the waiver

program) are incapable of performing that job by virtue of their

disability”). Although DOT's views regarding whether those who receive

vision waivers may safely drive commercial vehicles should be afforded

substantial weight, nothing in the ADA precludes an employer from

proving, if it can, that a particular safety standard higher than that

required by DOT would be “job-related and consistent with business

necessity,” ie, would be necessary to avoid a “direct threat” within the

meaning of the ADA. Indeed, DOT regulations expressly permit em-

ployers to establish more rigorous qualifications than those mandated by

DOT. See 49 C. F. R. 390.3(d).

27

who disagrees with the prevailing medical consensus may

refute it by citing a credible scientific basis for deviating

from the accepted norm.”).

It is significant that petitioner’s binocular vision standard

does not recognize DOT-approved waivers, and petitioner's

standard in that respect is stricter than the standard

embodied in DOT regulations. To justify its adoption of that

stricter standard, petitioner may not simply rest on the

similarity between its standard and the basic vision standard

in the DOT regulations. To the contrary, the defense re-

quires all qualification standards imposed by an employer to

satisfy the “job-related and consistent with business ne-

cessity” or “direct threat” requirements. See Senate Rep. at

37 (Among the “three pivotal provisions to assure a fit be-

tween job criteria and an applicant’s actual ability to do the

job [is] * * * [tJhe requirement that any selection criteria

that screen out or tend to screen out [persons with dis-

abilities] be job-related and consistent with business

necessity.”) (emphasis added). Aside from the similarity be-

tween its standard and the basie DOT standard, petiticner

has not offered any basis for a ruling that, as a matter of law,

its vision standard satisfies those requirements.

e. The analysis is not altered by the fact that the DOT

rule instituting the vision waiver program was later vacated

by the D.C. Cireuit in Advocates for Highway & Auto Safety

v. Federal Highway Admin., 28 F.3d 1288 (1994). The court

in Advocates held that the waiver program was invalid

“because the agency lacked the data necessary to support its

determination that the vision waiver program ‘is consistent

with the safe operation of commercial motor vehicles.“

Putting to one side the question whether Advocates was

correctly decided, but see Rauenhorst v. U-.S. Dep't of

Transportation, 95 F.3d 715 (8th Cir. 1996) (reviewing

history of vision waiver program and holding that DOT must

issue waiver to applicant), that holding, in 1994, could not

justify petitioner’s dismissal of respondent in 1993.

28

First, the Advocates decision does not suggest that

petitioner would have been out of compliance with federal

law—or that petitioner would have believed itself to be out

of compliance with federal law—if it accepted a vision waiver

from respondent. Federal regulations, like other sources of

law, are presumed valid until they have been held not to be

so, and the proper method for challenging them is generally

(as in Advocates) by means of an action under the Admini-

strative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 551. As the court of

appeals in this case correctly held (J.A. 242), the D.C.

Circuit’s 1994 decision holding the vision waiver program

invalid in Advocates cannot be used to justify an employment

decision made by petitioner in 1993.“ Cf MeKennon v.

Nashville Banner Pub. Co., 513 U.S. 352 (1995).

Second, the Advocates decision does not suggest that sum-

mary judgment could be granted to petitioner on the ground

that the vision waiver standard was justifiable under the

ADA’s “direct threat” (or “job-related and consistent with

business necessity”) standard. The D.C. Circuit’s decision at

most means that DOT had failed to put in the administrative

record sufficient evidence to satisfy what the court believed

to be DOT’s burden to show affirmatively that the vision

waiver program would not result in “any diminution of

safety resulting from the waiver.” 28 F.3d at 1294 (emphasis

added). The fact that DOT had failed to build an admini-

strative record that satisfied the Advocates court, however

(see note 19, supra), does not mean that the vision waiver

program permitted unsafe individuals to drive commercial

1% Indeed, DOT revalidated the vision waiver program after the

Advocates decision, based in part on evidence that it had gathered in 1992

but not placed in the administrative record. See 59 Fed. Reg. at 50,888.

Thus, the vision waivers it has issued during the program remained valid

until the program ended in 1996. At that time, drivers in good standing,

like respondent, were accorded “grandfather” privileges making the vision

standard in 49 C. F. R. 391.41(b)(10) inapplicable to them in the future, as

long as they satisfy the conditions stated in 49 C. F. R. 391.64(b),

vehicles; it simply meant that DOT in that case had not

justified its conclusion sufficiently to the court. And the fact

that DOT failed to build a record sufficient to show the

Advocates court that monocular drivers admitted to the

waiver program may safely drive commercial vehicles does

not establish that petitioner, in this case, has built a suffi-

cient record to demonstrate that, as a matter of law, mono-

cular drivers holding DOT waivers would pose a direct

threat if permitted to drive commercial vehicles.

Finally, it is significant that petitioner apparently employs

binocular drivers who merely satisfied the minimum federal

standards, but not monocular drivers who, by obtaining

waivers, demonstrated that they satisfied above-minimum

standards in other respects. Vision waivers were available

only to drivers of commercial vehicles who, during the pre-

ceding three years, had no license suspension or revocation,

no involvement in a reportable accident, no conviction for a

disqualifying offense or more than one serious traffic vio-

lation, and no more than two convictions for any other

moving violation in a commercial vehicle. 57 Fed. Reg. at

31,460. In addition, waiver applicants were required, inter

alia, to submit a statement from an optometrist or ophthal-

mologist certifying that they were able to perform the

driving tasks required to operate a commercial motor

vehicle. Once admitted to the program, drivers had to be

examined by an optometrist or ophthalmologist each year

and to submit the result to the Federal Highway Admini-

stration. Ibid. By contrast, as far as the record in this case

shows, the drivers petitioner would have employed in their

place would have had less driving experience and worse

driving records than those who qualified for vision waivers,

and they would not have had the same certifications and

annual check-ups by optometrists and ophthalmologists to

ensure that their vision had not worsened.

In these circumstances, notwithstanding the Advocates

decision, petitioner’s requirernent of binocular vision is valid

30

only if it could justify employing the binocular drivers who

satisfied the minimum standards rather than monocular

drivers (like respondent) who had the added safety assur-

ances provided by their satisfaction of the more stringent

standards of the vision waiver program. Although it is

possible that petitioner could satisfy that burden, nothing in

the record would permit a court to conelude that, as a matter

of law, petitioner has done so.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General

BILL LANN LEE

C. GREGORY STEWART Acting Assistant Attorney

General Counsel General

PHILIP B. SKLOVER BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD

Associate General Counsel Deputy Solicitor General

LORRAINE C. DAVIS JAMES A. FELDMAN

Assistant General Counsel Assistant to the Solicitor

ROBERT J. GREGORY General

Attorney JESSICA DUNSAY SILVER

Equal Employment TIMOTHY J. MORAN

Opportunity Commission

MARCH 1999

Attorneys

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.