Amicus Curiae Brief — Saenz v. Roe
Supreme Court brief1999
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
In the Supreme Court of th
OCTOBER TERM, 1998
ELOISE ANDERSON, DIRECTOR, CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS
Vv.
BRENDA ROE AND ANNA DOE
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS
CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS IN PART AND
RESPONDENTS IN PART
SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
FRANK W. HUNGER
Assistant Attorney General
EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
Deputy Solicitor General
EDWARD C. DUMONT
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
MARK B. STERN
KATHLEEN MORIARTY MUELLER
PETER J. SMITH
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217
QUESTION PRESENTED
Section 404(c) of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 604(c)
(Supp. II 1996), authorizes any State that receives a block
grant under the federal program for Temporary Assistance
for Needy Families (TANF) to “apply to a family the rules
(including benefit amounts) of the [TANF] program * * *
of another State if the family has moved to the State from
the other State and has resided in the State for less than 12
months.” Section 11450.03 of the California Welfare and
Institutions Code (West Supp. 1998) provides, in turn, that
cash benefits paid by the State to “families that have resided
in [California] for less than 12 months shall * * not
exceed the maximum aid payment that would have been
received by that family from the state of prior residence.”
The question presented is:
Whether Section 11450.03, as authorized by Section 404(c),
impermissibly burdens an aid recipient’s federal consti-
tutional right to establish residence and citizenship in a new
State.
(1)
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Interest of the United States
Statement
Summary of argument
Argument:
1. Congress authorized individual States to impose
some temporary benefit limitations based on
changes in state residency when it compre-
hensively reformed the Nation’s welfare laws
in 1996
II. The particular benefit restriction imposed by
California must be examined to determine
whether it is substantially related to the na-
tional governmental purposes that underlie
Congress’s genera! authorization of such limi-
tations in the context of the TANF program
Conclusion
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Anderson v. Green, 518 U.S. 557 (1995)
Attorney General v. Soto-Lopez, 476 U.S. 898
ae
11
18
30
5, 12
(1986) 18, 19, 21, 22, 23
Beno v. Shalala, 30 F.3d 1057 (9th Cir. 1994)
Bray v. Alexandria Women’s Health Clinic,
506 U.S. 2638 (1998)
City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Ctr., 473 US.
482 (1985)
Clark v. Jeter, 486 U.S. 456 (1988)
Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972)
Edwards v. California, 314 U.S. 160 (194157
FCC v. Beach Communications, Inc., 508 U.S.
307 (1993)
(Ii
4
IV
Cases—Continued: Page
Green v. Anderson:
811 F. Supp. 516 (E.D. Cal. 1993) 4,5
26 F.3d 95 (9th Cir. 1994) 5
Hooper v. Bernalillo County Assessor, 472 US.
612 (1985) 19, 21
Memorial Hosp. v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250
(1974) 4, 21, 28
Passenger Cases, 48 U.S. (7 How.) 282 (1849) 23
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797
(1985) 24
Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996) 19
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969) 4, 8, 19,
20, 21, 24, 25, 28
Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 398 (1975) 21,24
Supreme Court of New Hampshire v. Piper, 470
U.S. 274 (1985) 27
Turner Broad. Sys. v. FCC, 512 U.S. 622 (199) 21
Viandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441 (1978) 21
Zobel v. Williams, 457 U.S. 55 (1982) 19, 21, 22,
23, 27
Constitution, statutes and regulations:
US. Const.:
Art. I, § 8, Cl. 3 (Commerce Clause) 23
Art. IV, § 1 (Full Faith and Credit Clause) 24
Art. IV, § 2, Cl. 1 (Privileges and Immunities
Clause) 22,27
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Re-
conciliation Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-198, Tit.
I, 110 Stat. 2110 2
Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 601 et seq. (Supp. II
1996) 1,2
§ 401, 42 U.S.C. 601 (1994) 2
§ 401(a), 42 U.S.C. 601(a) (Supp. II 1996) 2
§ 401(b), 42 U.S.C. 601(b) (Supp. II 1996) 2
§ 402, 42 U.S.C. 602 (Supp. IT 1996) 2
V
Statutes and regulations Continued:
Page
§ 402(a), 42 U.S.C. 602(a) (Supp. II 1996) 34
§ 402(a)(1)(A)(ii)-(iii), 42 U.S.C. 602(a)(1A)
(ii)-(iii) (Supp. II 1996) 8
§ 402(a)(1)(B)(i), 42 U.S.C. 602(a)(1KBXi)
(Supp. IT 1996) 8, 6, 12-18
2
4, 12,25
2,4
8, 15
§ 402(a)-(b), 42 U.S.C. 602(a)-(b) (1994)
§ 402(b), 42 U.S.C. Sh (1994)
§ 408(a), 42 U.S.C. 608(a) (1994)
§ 403(a), 42 U.S.C. 608(a) (Supp. II 1998
§ 403(a)(1), 42 U.S.C. 608(a)(1) (Supp. II 1998) 17
§ — U.S.C. S (Supp. II
4
§ 404, 42 U.S.C. 604 (Supp. II 1996) 2
§ 404(a)(1), 42 U.S.C. S,] (Supp. II 1996) — 2
§ 404(c), 42 U.S.C. 604(c) (Supp. II 1996). passim
§ 404(d), 42 U.S.C. 604(d) (Supp. II 1996) 3
§ 407(a), 42 U.S.C. 607(a) (Supp. II 1998) . , 15
§ 407(e), 42 U.S.C. 607(e) (Supp. II 1996) 3
§ 407-408, 42 U.S.C. 607-608 (Supp. II 1998 2
§ 408(a)(7), 42 U.S.C. 608(a)(7) (Supp. II 1996) ........... 8
§ 408(b), 42 U.S.C. 608(b) (Supp. II 1996) 14
§ 408(b)(3), 42 U.S.C. 608(b)(3) (Supp. II 1998) 8
40 (a)), 42 U.S.C. 609(a)(3) (Supp. II 1996). 3, 15
Cal. Welf. & Inst. Code § 11450. 00 (West Supp.
1998) passim
805 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/11-30 (West 1993) 29
45 C. F. R.:
Section 233.20(a)(2)(iii) 4
Section 233.40(a) 4
Miscellaneous:
H.R. Rep. No. 651, 104th Cong., 2d Sess. (1998) . 12, 13,
15, 16
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 725, 104th Cong., 2d Sess.
(1996) 11,12
Letter from Andrew Fois, Assistant Attorney General
for Legislative Affairs, to the Hon. Robert Dole,
Majority Leader, United States Senate (Nov. 9,
1995) 13
VI In the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1998
Moffitt, Incentive Effects of the U.S. Welfare No. 98-97
A Review, 30 J. Econ. Lit. 1 (1992) * ELOISE ANDERSON, DIRECTOR, CALIFORNIA
’ *
P. Lang M. Rom, Welfare Magnets (Brookings * DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES, Er AL.,
Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws (1971) sm 24 PETITIONERS
States’ Perspective on Welfare Reform: Hearing v.
Before the Senate Comm. on Finance, 104th Cong., BRENDA ROE AND ANNA DOE
Ist Sess. (1995) 13, 16
4 10 THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
— Berm — 1 — — — a x FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
81 Val. U. L. Rev. 898 (1996) * BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS
CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS IN PART AND
RESPONDENTS IN PART
INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES
This case involves the constitutionality of a state statute
of a type that Congress has specifically authorized States to
enact in connection with their participation in the nationwide
program of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families estab-
lished and funded by Congress under the Social Security
Act, 42 U.S.C. 601 et seq. (Supp. II 1996). The United States
has a substantial interest in the proper analysis of the con-
stitutional validity of such state laws.
STATEMENT
1. California has for many years participated in a variety
of cooperative federal-state welfare programs that provide,
among other benefits, cash grants to eligible families. Until
1996, such grants were provided primarily through the Aid
to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program, un-
der which the federal government provided States with funds for
distribution, in combination with state funds, under state plans that
were required to comply with detailed federal requirements and to
(1)
be approved by the Secretary of Health and Human Services. See
42 U.S.C. 601, 602(a)-(b), 603(a) (1994).
In 1996, as part of a comprehensive revision of various
federally sponsored welfare programs, Congress replaced
AFDC with a new program known as Temporary Assistance
for Needy Families (TANF). Personal Responsibility and
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA),
Pub. L. No. 104-1938, Tit. I, 110 Stat. 2110, enacting provi-
sions codified at 42 U.S.C. 601 et seg. (Supp. II 1996).’ De-
signed to “increase the flexibility of States in operating” pro-
grams to assist needy families while encouraging self-reli-
ance and family stability, see 42 U.S.C. 601(a), the TANF
program eliminates any individual entitlement to benefits
($ 601(b)), sets out certain common goals and general re-
quirements (§§ 602, 607-608), and provides for block grants
(§ 603) that participating States may generally use “in any
manner that is reasonably calculated to accomplish the
purpose(s] of the federal program (§ 604(a)(1)). Thus, for
example, a participating State is not required to provide any
particular level of cash benefits (or, indeed, to provide cash
benefits at all). Each State instead has broad discretion to
use its TANF grant to provide whatever mix of cash pay-
ments, child care, job training, or other benefits it believes
will most effectively advance the statutory goals of promot-
ing the care of children in their own homes; encouraging
parental self-sufficiency through job preparation, work, and
marriage; reducing out-of-wedlock pregnancies; and en-
couraging the formation and maintenance of two-parent
families. See 42 U.S.C. 601(a), 604.
Although most aspects of particular TANF-funded pro-
grams are left to the discretion of participating States,
federal law imposes some specific requirements and condi-
1 Unless otherwise noted, references to Title 42 of the United States
Code are to the 1996 Supplement, reflecting the amendments made by
PRWORA.
3
tions. With some exceptions, for example, States must re-
quire recipients to engage in “work activities” (including
educational or job training programs) once the State deter-
mines they are “ready to engage in work,” but no later than
24 months after they begin receiving benefits. See 42 U.S.C.
602(a)(1)(A)(ii)-(iii), 607(d). If a recipient fails to comply with
applicable work requirements, his or her family’s benefits
may be reduced or terminated. See 42 U.S.C. 607(e),
608(b)(3). A State may also lose some of its federal grant if
the percentage of adult welfare recipients engaged in work
activities falls below minimum percentages. See 42 U.S.C.
607(a), 609(aX(3). In addition, a given family generally may
receive federally funded assistance for no more than five
years, whether in one State or in several. See 42 U.S.C.
608(a)(7). The level of the federal block grants provided to
participating States is largely fixed through fiscal year 2002.
See 42 U.S.C. 608(a).
Federal law also contains a number of specific authori-
zations relating to state use of TANF funds. In particular, as
relevant here, the 1996 Act contains a specialized choice-of-
law provision under which a] State operating a [TANF]
program * * * may apply to a family the rules (including
benefit amounts) of the [TANF] program of another
State if the family has moved to the State from the other
State and has resided in the State for less than 12 months.”
42 U.S.C. 604(c). The plan a State submits to the Secretary
must “indicate whether the State intends to treat families
moving into the State from another State differently than
other families under the program, and if so, how the State
intends to treat such families under the program.” 42 U.S.C.
602(a)(1)(BXi). So long as the Secretary finds that a sub-
mitted plan “includes” all of the elements specified by the
1996 Act, however, the TANF program, unlike AF'DC, does
not require any further approval by the Secretary before a
State becomes eligible for a TANF grant. Compare 42
4
U.S.C. 602(a), 603(a)(1A) (Supp. II 1996) with 42 U.S.C.
602(b), 603(a) (1994).
2. In 1992, four years before Congress created the TANF
program, California sought to undertake an experiment in
welfare reform that would have included both a work incen-
tive program (combining decreased cash aid with an increase
in the amount of income that a recipient could earn without
losing benefits) and a residency-based limitation, under
which an otherwise eligible family could receive, for its first
12 months of residency in California, no more cash aid than
the maximum that would have been paid by the AFDC
program of the State where the family previously resided.
See Beno v. Shalala, 30 F.3d 1057, 1060-1061 (9th Cir. 1994).
Because both aspects of the experiment would have violated
requirements of the AFDC program, the State sought and
received from the Secretary a waiver of inconsistent federal
law and rules. See id. at 1061-1062; Pet. App. 46-48; see also
45 C.F.R. 233.40(a)(residency requirements), 233.20(a)(2)(iii)
(uniform application throughout State).
A federal district court enjoined implementation of the
State’s residency limitation pending resolution of a suit
brought by three individuals who sought AFDC benefits
within 12 months of having established California residency,
and who claimed that limitation of their benefits on that
basis violated their rights to equal protection and to free
interstate migration. Green v. Anderson, 811 F. Supp. 516
(E.D. Cal. 1993). Relying on this Court’s decisions in
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969), Memorial Hospi-
tal v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250 (1974), and other cases,
2 Section 11450.08 of the California Welfare and Institutions Code
(West Supp. 1998) provides that otherwise eligible “families that have
resided in this state for less than 12 months shall be paid an amount
calculated in accordance with” the State’s ordinary benefit formula, “not to
exceed the maximum aid payment that would have been received by that
family from the state of prior residence.”
5
the district court held that California’s residency limitation
“must be invalid” because it placeld] a penalty on the deci-
sion of new residents to migrate to the State and be treated
on an equal basis with existing residents.” 811 F. Supp. at
521. The court concluded that the State could advance no
“compelling” governmental purpose for the limitation, that a
purpose “to deter settlement into the state of persons who
need welfare and seek a higher benefit” would be constitu-
tionally impermissible, and that “[s]tripped of the unconsti-
tutional purpose of deterring migration, the measure
lack(ed] a rational design.” Id. at 521-523.
The court of appeals affirmed the preliminary injunction
in Green “for the reasons stated in the district court’s order.”
Green v. Anderson, 26 F.3d 95, 96 (9th Cir. 1994). This Court
granted certiorari, but it ultimately concluded that the case
had become moot because of the intervening invalidation, on
other grounds, of the Secretary’s waiver of federal require-
ments on which California’s ability to enforce its residency
limitation depended under the AFDC program (and under
California law). Anderson v. Green, 513 U.S. 557 (1995) (per
curiam). The Court accordingly vacated the Ninth Circuit’s
judgment and ordered the case dismissed. Id. at 560.
3. In August 1996, the President signed PRWORA. As
discussed above, that Act replaces AFDC with TANF, and
expressly authorizes any State that receives a TANF grant
to apply to a family, during its first 12 months of residence in
that State, the rules (including benefit amounts) of the
TANF program of the family’s prior State of residence. 42
U.S.C, 604(c); see also Pet. App. 16-17. That change remov-
ed any impediment under the Social Security Act to Cali-
8 The Secretary later granted a new waiver to permit California to
proceed with other aspects of its welfare-reform experiment, but she de-
clined to renew the waiver that would have permitted implementation of
the residency limitation imposed by Section 11450.08. See Pet. App. 16,
49-52.
6
fornia’s again seeking to implement Section 11450.03. The
TANF plan that California submitted to the Secretary
noted, in accordance with Section 602(a)(1)(B)(i), the State’s
intention to apply such a limit on cash benefits, and the State
instructed its administrators to begin implementing Section
11450.03 on April 1, 1997. See Pet. App. 7 n.3.
Respondents represent a class of benefit applicants who
would be affected by California’s implementation of Section
11450.03. See Pet. App. 7 & n.4. Respondent Roe was a resi-
dent of Oklahoma until early 1997, when she and her hus-
band moved to Long Beach, California. Jd. at 19. When she
applied for TANF benefits, she was informed that, until she
had been a California resident for 12 months, she would be
limited to the Oklahoma grant level of $307 per month in-
stead of a full California grant of $565. Ibid. Respondent
Doe was a resident of Washington, D.C., until she moved to
Los Angeles, where she became eligible for cash assistance
in April 1997, at the six-month point of her pregnancy. Ibid.
Doe was advised that she would temporarily receive cash
benefits at the District of Columbia level of $330 per month
rather than at the otherwise applicable California level of
$456. Id. at 19-20.
The district court entered a preliminary injunction barr-
ing implementation of Section 11450.03. Pet. App. 13-31; see
id. at 7-8, 20. After concluding that implementation of Sec-
tion 11450.03 would lead to “disparities, even significant dis-
parities, among California [benefit] recipients as between
newcomers and recipients who have resided in the state for
one year” (id. at 25), the court largely adopted] its discus-
sion in Green of the Supreme Court’s right of migration and
equal protection cases” that “set aside as unconstitutional
distinctions drawn among residents of a state—all of whom
are bona fide residents—based on the incipiency or duration
of their residency” (id. at 27). The court rejected the State’s
argument that “so long as the benefit provided to new
residents of California is the same as that provided to
7
residents of their former states, there is no penalty on
migration and no violation of equal protection.” Id. at 28; see
id. at 28-30. And although it recognized that Congress now
considered a temporary benefit limitation “appropriate,” the
court observed that, “[flacing a similar congressional permis-
sion in Shapiro,” this Court had “held that ‘Congress may
not authorize the States to violate the Equal Protection
Clause. Id. at 30. The court accordingly concluded that
Section 11450.03 “must be found unconstitutional.” bid.
The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 1-12. Noting that
it would not decide the case on the merits in reviewing the
grant of a preliminary injunction (see id. at 4, 12), the court
held that its previous affirmance in Green nonetheless re-
mained “persuasive authority” (id. at 9), and it agreed with
the district court that the passage of PRWORA could “not
affect the constitutional analysis” (ibid.). Concluding that
the “apparent purpose” of the challenged provision was “to
keep poor people out of the state,” the court was “satisfied”
that respondents had “demonstrated a probability of success
on the merits.” Jd. at 10. Like the district court, the court of
appeals rejected the State’s argument that a court should
compare “the ‘position of newcomers before and after travel
to California,“ and it held that a benefit reduction, even
* * * ofa relatively small magnitude,” would “impose irre-
parable harm on recipient families.” Jd. at 10-11. The court
accordingly concluded that the district court “did not abuse
its discretion in granting the preliminary injunction.” Id. at
11. The court declined to render any more definitive ruling
“before the district court has had a chance to address the
underlying merits upon a fully developed record.” Jd. at 12.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
In comprehensively reforming the Nation’s welfare sys-
tem in 1996, Congress authorized each State participating in
the TANF program to “apply to a family [receiving benefits]
the rules (including benefit amounts) of another State
8
if the family has moved to the State from the other State and
has resided in the State for less than 12 months.” 42 U.S.C.
604(c). Section 11450.03 of the California Welfare and Insti-
tutions Code, challenged by respondents in this litigation, is
a residency-based restriction of the type facially authorized
by Section 604(c).
The legislative history of the 1996 Act reveals that the
federal authorization addresses at least two related con-
cerns. First, Congress was concerned that the national wel-
fare program itself might create real or perceived incentives
to migrate between States—a concern that would have been
particularly acute in the context of the new, highly decen-
tralized TANF program, which was expected to lead to
many variations in the specific programs implemented in dif-
ferent States. Those variations could produce both new in-
centives to move and new problems of interstate coordina-
tion, to which Congress could reasonably respond with a spe-
cialized choice-of-law-type provision allowing destination
States to apply the benefit rules of origin States during a
limited transition period. Second, Congress was concerned
that, without some permission to impose such a transitional
limitation, States might engage in a “race to the bottom” in
setting the benefit levels in their TANF programs. That con-
cern, too, was potentially exacerbated by the 1996 reforms.
The courts below determined that California’s Section
11450.03 would likely be held unconstitutional under this
Court’s decisions in Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618
(1969), and other cases involving challenges to state legis-
lation based on the freedom of interstate migration guar-
anteed by the federal Constitution. We agree that there is
sufficient doubt concerning the constitutionality of Section
11450.03 to sustain the district court’s entry of a preliminary
injunction in this case. That court erred, however, to the ex-
tent it concluded (Pet. App. 30), at the outset of the pro-
ceedings in this case, that the California law “must” be
struck down, without taking full account of Congress’s affir-
mative authorization of the imposition of some limitations of
this type in the unique context of a nationwide but decen-
tralized federal welfare program.
Some of this Court’s cases have held that particular lines
drawn by state legislatures on the basis of length of state
residency bore no rational relationship to any legitimate
state purpose. Here, however, the statute at issue is one of a
type that Congress has authorized the States to enact in a
limited context, and the national governmental purposes
that support that authorization would also support state
legislation that fairly implements it. Those purposes are
plainly legitimate from a national perspective, and at least
some temporary limitations on benefits payable to new resi-
dents would be calculated to advance them.
In other cases, including Shapiro, the Court has applied
strict constitutional scrutiny in striking down state legisla-
tion that classified state citizens on the basis of length of
residency. We in no way question Shapiro’s invalidation of
an absolute one-year ban on welfare eligibility. In our view,
however, the constitutional calculus must change somewhat
in the different and unusual circumstances of this case.
Here, Congress has considered and acted on a question
affecting the freedom of interstate migration—a freedom
that has special structural characteristics and is in important
respects a right of national citizenship, as to which Congress
stands in a different relation to individual citizens than do
the legislatures of the several States. In structuring a de-
centralized national welfare program, Congress has author-
ized the States to adopt, not an outright bar on the receipt of
benefits after an interstate move, but a temporary applica-
tion of the benefit limits of the State of former residence—a
sort of specialized choice-of-law rule. While of course Con-
gress may not abrogate the right to travel, or “authorize”
States to violate the Equal Protection Clause, judicial review
of a state statute that purportedly implements Congress’s
express authorization must take full account of that federal
10
action. On the other hand, this Court’s precedents set
outside limits on what sorts of burdens may permissibly be
imposed on the freedom to migrate; that freedom is not only
a structural implication from the nature of the Union, but
also an important personal liberty, and state laws that
burden it should always merit more than minimal consti-
tutional scrutiny; and the very purposes that support the
congressional authorization in this case may also serve
appropriately to limit its scope and constitutional effect.
In light of these considerations, we believe that the state
statute at issue in this case should be subject to an
intermediate level of constitutional review: It should be
upheld if the State can demonstrate that the particular lines
it has drawn in Section 11450.03 are substantially related to
an important governmental objective. The premise for
applying that test here is that Congress has specifically
authorized a general type of state classification, and we think
it clear that the goals of the congressional authorization—
achieving interstate integration and coordination, prevent-
ing the distortion of incentives, and promoting the effective-
ness of the federal program—are important ones. Thus, if
the state statute implements the federal authorization, then
the dispositive question will be whether the particular form
of implementation selected by California is “substantially
related” to those federal purposes.
The proper answer to that question is not clear on the
present record. The fact that California’s statute was en-
acted four years before Section 604(c), and its apparent
overbreadth in relation to the relevant federal purposes,
give rise to sufficient doubt concerning its constitutionality
to support the district court’s decision to enter a preliminary
injunction. The judgment below should accordingly be
affirmed. In further proceedings below, however, the State
should be afforded the opportunity to show that Section
11450.03 in fact seeks to implement, and is substantially
11
related to achieving, the purposes underlying the federal
statute.
ARGUMENT
I. Congress Authorized Individual States To Impose Some
Temporary Benefit Limitations Based On Changes In
State Residency When It Comprehensively Reformed The
Nation’s Welfare Laws In 1996
A. By enacting PRWORA, Congress sought to “put{) in
place the most fundamental reform of welfare since the pro-
gram’s inception.” H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 725, 104th Cong., 2d
Sess. 261 (1996). As we have explained (see pp. 2-4, supra),
the Act eliminated the familiar program of individual AFDC
“entitlements” and replaced it with a new program based on
block grants, subject to limited federal requirements, that
was intended to “restore[] the States’ fundamental role in
assisting needy families.” Jbid. In signing the Act, the
President described it as bipartisan legislation that provided
“an historic opportunity to end welfare as we know it and
transform our broken welfare system by promoting the fun-
damental values of work, responsibility, and family.” 32
Weekly Comp. Pres. Doc. 1487-1488 (Aug. 26, 1996).
In setting the limited federal parameters for its new
program of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, Con-
gress specifically considered the question of temporary
benefit limitations based on changes in state residency. In
42 U.S.C. 604(c), it specified that in operating a TANF
program a State might “apply to a family the rules (including
benefit amounts) of the [TANF] program of another
State if the family has moved to the State from the other
State and has resided in the State for less than 12 months.”
That provision on its face imports a general authorization to
impose temporary benefit differentials of the sort estab-
lished by California’s Section 11450.03.
The nature and purpose of that authorization are clarified
by PRWORA’s legislative history. The House Budget Com-
12
mittee’s report noted both that existing law “forb[ade] the
Secretary to approve a plan that denies AFDC eligibility to
a child unless he hald] resided in the State for 1 year” (see 42
U.S.C. 602(b) (1994)) and that this Court had “invalidated
some State laws that withheld aid from persons who had not
resided there for at least 1 year.” H.R. Rep. No. 651, 104th
Cong., 2d Sess. 1337 (1996). The report went on to observe,
however, that the Court “has not ruled on the question of
paying lower amounts of aid for incoming residents.” Ibid.;
see also H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 725, supra, at 272-273. The
report then explained Congress’s reasons for enacting Sec-
tion 604(c):
States are allowed to pay families who have moved from
another State in the previous 12 months the cash benefit
the» would have received in the State from which they
moved because research shows that some families move
across State lines to maximize welfare benefits.
Furthermore, States that want to pay higher benefits
should not be deterred from doing so by the fear that
they will attract large numbers of recipients from
bordering States.
H.R. Rep. No. 651, supra, at 1337.
B. 1. From this discussion, including the reference to “the
question of paying lower amounts of aid for incoming [state]
residents,” it seems clear that Congress was aware of this
Court’s decision in Shapiro v. Thompson and the Court’s
inconclusive consideration, only the year before, of the very
California statute that is again at issue in this case. See
Anderson v. Green, supra.‘ Notwithstanding acknowledged
In letters presenting its views on earlier versions of the legislation
eventually enacted as PRWORA, the Department of Justice specifically
directed Congress’s attention to Shapiro, Green, and other cases,
commenting that “{ujniess and until the Supreme Ccurt revisits this issue,
courts applying this case law are very likely to hold unconstitutional state
laws passed pursuant to the[] provisions of the bills” now codified at 42
13
uncertainty concerning the scope of applicable constitutional
constraints, Congress determined that it was desirable, as a
matter of federal statutory welfare policy, to authorize each
participating State to adopt at least some form of temporary
limitation on the benefits made available to new state
residents, should the State deem it necessary to do so in
designing its own system of benefits within the federal
TANF program.
As the explanation offered by the House Report makes
clear, at least two related grounds underlie that congres-
sional judgment. First, Congress was concerned that “some
families move across State lines to maximize welfare bene-
fits.” H.R. Rep. No. 651, supra, at 1337. Because Congress
was fashioning a national social welfare program that would,
nonetheless, depend heavily for its success on the full and
committed participation of the several States, it could prop-
erly be concerned to avoid having that federal program in-
troduce real or perceived distortions into the ordinary pat-
terns of interstate migration that would have prevailed in
the absence of federal intervention. See, eg., States’ Per-
spective on Welfare Reform: Hearing Before the Senate
Comm. on Finance, 104th Cong., Ist Sess. 9 (1995) (state-
ment of Sen. Graham) (noting that one argument in favor of
completely federalizing the welfare program was that “with
unequal standards, you could create incentives for popula-
tions to move from one State to another in order to access
the higher benefits. That is not in the nation’s
interest to be trying to stimulate that kind of population
movement.”).
That concern would have been particularly acute in the
context of the new TANF block grants, which were designed
to encourage experimentation by the States and therefore
U.S.C. 602(aX 1 Bi) and 604(c). See Letter from Andrew Fois, Assistant
Attorney General for Legislative Affairs, to the Hon. Robert Dole,
Majority Leader, United States Senate 2-3 (Nov. 9, 1995).
14
could lead to a high degree of variation among state anti-
poverty programs. Because TANF programs will typically
be more complex than simple cash grants to needy families,
featuring a mixture of benefits (such as child care and job
training) and incentives (such as time limitations on the
availability of benefits) designed to move recipients into the
workforce, they may become significantly more difficult to
implement successfully as the population receiving assis-
tance becomes more transient. Because TANF programs
will also typically demand from each recipient a substantial
commitment to work toward bettering his or her own
situation (see, e.g., 42 U.S.C. 608(b), which allows States to
require recipients to sign “individual responsibility planſs]“
and to reduce benefits for noncompliance), the varying state
aid-and-incentive structures encouraged by the federal
block-grant program could also produce new incentives for
interstate relocation on the part of recipients who might
seek to avoid those new responsibilities or otherwise to take
advantage of the variable rules operative in different
jurisdictions. A benefit recipient’s movement from State to
State within the federal program could also raise choice-of-
law considerations, because Congress could reasonably de-
termine that the standards applicable to the recipient in the
State where he or she was previously receiving benefits
need not be disregarded for purposes of continued partici-
pation in the overall federal program as implemented by the
destination State, at least for a limited transition period.
5 Under TANF, for example, States A and B might each have a
limited portion of the federal grant—for purposes of illustration, say
$100—available to commit, over time, to providing cash aid to help move
any one recipient from welfare to work. State A might adopt a program
that provides relatively high cash benefits for a relatively short time—say
$50 per year for two years—so as to free recipients to focus on job
training, while giving them an incentive to move quickly toward inde-
pendence. State B might adopt a different approach, providing lower cash
benefits but for a longer period of time—say $25 per year for four years.
15
Finally, in its effort to encourage the development of new
and effective ways to break the cycle of long-term welfare
dependency, Congress in PRWORA chose to eliminate any
individual entitlement to benefits and to give the States
specific incentives by providing them with stable but gener-
ally non-increasing annual grants for an extended period.
See 42 U.S.C. 603(a) (fixing grant levels through 2002); H.R.
Rep. No. 651, supra, at 1332 (system “provides States with
an incentive to help recipients leave welfare because, unlike
{under the AFDC program], States do not get more money
for having more recipients on the welfare rolls”); see also 42
U.S.C. 607(a), 609(a)(3) (authorizing reduction of State
grants if percentage of adult welfare recipients engaged in
work activities falls below specified percentages). In short,
much of the thrust of the 1996 Act was to give both the
States and welfare recipients themselves the ability and
responsibility to address the issue of moving needy families
from welfare to work. In the context of that effort, it was
reasonable for Congress to seek, through a specialized
choice-of-law provision, to mitigate incentives for interstate
migration, and to accommodate the interests of various
States and the federal government, that stem from the
decentralized structure of the TANF program itself.
While the real-world variables are obviously complex, a recipient who
sought to maximize cash benefits would have some incentive to reside in
State A for two years, collecting a full $100 and exhausting eligibility
under the State’s program, and then to move to State B for the succeeding
two years, collecting another $50. Free mobility from one state program
to the next within the overall federal program would thus both (i) reduce
the intended incentive effect of State A’s time limit and (ii) allow the
recipient to receive still further funds from State B (and, indirectly, from
the federal taxpayer) under that State’s lengthier pay-out period. For
present purposes, the most important point is that the incentive to move
would have been unintentionally but effectively created by the decen-
tralized structure of the federal program, which not only allowed, but
encouraged, States A and B to adopt different program approaches.
16
2. The second, and related, reason set out in the legis-
lative history for authorizing States to impose temporary
residence-related benefit limitations is that “States that
want to pay higher benefits should not be deterred from
doing so by the fear that they will attract large numbers of
recipients from bordering States.“ H.R. Rep. No. 651,
supra, at 1337. That statement expresses concern over a
phenomenon often referred to as the “race to the bottom”: In
a system in which (i) each State sets its own benefit levels,
(ii) the Stat»’s total resources available for welfare benefits
are limited, and (iii) there is no restriction on interstate
migration, each State has some incentive to set its benefit
level at or below the level selected by every other State, so
as to avoid attracting an influx of benefit-eligible migrants.
See, e.g., Zubler, The Right to Migrate and Welfare Reform:
Time for Shapiro v. Thompson to Take a Hike, 31 Val. U. L.
Rev. 893, 929-939 (1996); see also States’ Perspective on
Welfare Reform, supra, at 9 (statement of Sen. Graham)
(suggesting concern that a State might also have an
incentive to reduce its benefit level below the level in other
States in order to encourage emigration of benefit reci-
pients).
On this model, no State is necessarily motivated by an
invidious desire to “fence out” the poor. Rather, from the
State’s perspective, it is unfortunate but evident that,
although each needy immigrant may act on the expectation
that the State’s present (relatively high) benefit level will
continue to be available after his move, the inevitable effect
of many such individual choices to immigrate, over a limited
time, will be to depress the level of benefits the State can
pay to each recipient using a given level of resources.
Conversely, allowing the imposition of limited restrictions
that have the effect of eliminating or mitigating any given
individual’s perceived incentive to move in search of higher
benefits may, paradoxically, increase not only the stability of
the system, but also the average level of benefits offered by
17
States throughout the program (if the promise of stability
encourages States to commit greater resources to the
program, or to set and maintain higher benefit levels on the
expectation that they will prove sustainable, over time,
within the limits of the State’s resources).
As in the case of other incentives to move potentially
created by the federal welfare benefits program, this race-
to-the-bottom concern may have been exacerbated by the
1996 reforms. Unlike AFDC, in which federal payments to a
State were generally based on the number of benefit reci-
pients within the State in any given period, thus offsetting a
substantial portion of the additional cost to the State of any
welfare-eligible immigrant, TANF bases the amount of state
grants on a base period and generally provides for no in-
crease in the commitment of federal funds over an extended
period. See 42 U.S.C. 603(a)(1). The new program thus
significantly increases the degree to which the amount
available to a State for the payment of cash benefits is fixed,
and correspondingly increases the effect on average sus-
tainable benefit levels of the arrival of any new benefit
recipient. Particularly in light of that change introduced by
PRWORA, it was reasonapie for Congress to address the
race-to-the-bottom problem that might be caused by the
existence of variable state benefit programs by authorizing
individual States to include in their programs, should they
feel the need to do so, some temporary restrictions on a new
resident’s ability to receive welfare benefits more generous
than those provided by his or her former State.
It is important to observe, however, that Congress’s
action in this regard is permissive, not mandatory, and that
the federal authorization, although it sets some limits on the
restrictions a State may impose, does not purport to specify
what particular limitations may be appropriate in the con-
text of a particular state program. Those characteristics of
the federal action are consistent with PRWORA’s overall
approach of establishing relatively general federal para-
18
meters for the TANF program and leaving individual States
substantially free to design their own benefit programs in
accordance with local conditions and legislative judgments.
Moreover, like all legislation, the federal authorization is
bounded to some extent by the purposes that underlie it.
For those reasons, Congress’s general decision to authorize
some residency-based benefit limits does not resolve—
although, as we explain below, it is highly relevant to—the
question whether any particular benefit restriction adopted
by a State pursuant to that authorization falls within the
independent limits imposed on the State’s action by the
federal Constitution.
Il. The Particular Benefit Restriction Imposed By Cali-
fornia Must Be Examined To Determine Whether It Is
Substantially Related To The National Governmental
Purposes That Underlie Congress's General Authori-
zation Of Such Limitations In The Context Of The
TANF Program
The courts below determined that California’s Section
11450.03 would likely be held unconstitutional on the basis of
this Court’s decisions in Shapiro v. Thompson and other
cases involving state laws challenged as impermissibly bur-
dening “the constitutional right to travel, or, more precisely,
the right of free interstate migration.” Attorney General v.
Soto-Lopez, 476 U.S. 898, 902 (1986) (plurality opinion); see
Pet. App. 9-10, 26-30. That position has considerable force.
Through Section 11450.03, the State seeks to treat some of
its citizens differently from others solely on the basis of how
recently they became residents of the State. This Court’s
cases make clear that any state classification drawn on that
basis is constitutionally problematic. See, eg., Soto-Lopez,
476 U.S. at 902-905 (plurality opinion) (describing previous
cases).
Although we think that the doubt concerning Section
11450.03’s constitutionality is sufficient to sustain the district
19
court’s entry of a preliminary injunction, we agree with the
State that the district court erred in concluding (Pet. App.
30), at the outset of the present proceedings, that Section
11450.03 “must” be held unconstitutional. Because Congress
has affirmatively authorized the imposition of some limita-
tions of this type in the context of the nationwide, federally
funded TANF program, the constitutional question in this
case cannot be properly resolved without a serious examina-
tion of whether the particular limitation adopted by Cali-
fornia is sufficiently tailored so that it may fairly be re-
garded as “substantially related” to the national governmen-
tal interests furthered by that authorization. While we ques-
tion whether the California provision, enacted four years
before PRWORA, will be able to satisfy that standard, the
State should have the opportunity to demonstrate that it
does.
1. In some cases, this Court has held that particular lines
drawn by state legislatures on the basis of length of
residency in the State simply bore no rational relationship to
any legitimate state purpose. See Zobel v. Williams, 457
U.S. 55, 61-64 (1982); Hooper v. Bernalillo County Assessor,
472 U.S. 612, 618-623 (1985); see also Soto-Lopez, 476 U.S. at
912-916 (Burger, C.J., concurring in the judgment), 916
(White, J., concurring in the judgment). The same might be
true in this case if, as the lower courts essentially assumed,
Section 11450.03 reflected nothing more than a unilateral
State purpose “to deter migration of poor people to Cali-
fornia.” Pet. App. 9; see Shapiro, 394 U.S. at 631; compare
Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620, 631-636 (1996); City of
Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Ctr., 473 U.S. 432, 446-447
(1985) (“[S)ome objectives—such as ‘a bare . desire to
harm a politically unpopular group,’—are not legitimate
state interests.”) (citation omitted). It is not, however,
appropriate simply to assume such an impermissible purpose
with respect to a state statute that falls within the express
authorization in 42 U.S.C. 604(c).
20
Unlike the state laws at issue in the Court’s prior cases
(including Shapiro, see 394 U.S. at 638-640), Section 11450.03
is a provision of a type that Congress has clearly authorized
States to enact in the specific context of their participation in
a nationwide but decentralized federal benefits program.
That distinction is critical, because the national govern-
mental purposes that support 42 U.S.C. 604(c) would also
serve to support state legislation that fairly implements it.
Compare Pet. App. 9, 30 (dismissing the enactment of
PRWORA as irrelevant). Those federal purposes—avoiding
the creation, through a federal program, of distorted incen-
tives for interstate migration by benefit recipients; address-
ing the unique choice-of-law considerations that may rea-
sonably be deemed to arise when a participant in one State’s
implementation of the federal program moves to another
State with different rules; and mitigating any tendency, in
such a program, toward a “race to the bottom” in the State-
by-State establishment of benefit levels—are plainly legiti-
mate, even though it may be doubted that an individual
State, pursuing only its own interests, would ever have valid
reasons for distinguishing new citizens from old in allocating
benefits under a program designed and funded solely by the
State. And the imposition by a State of some temporary
limitation on benefits payable to new residents, as author-
ized by Section 604(c), is reasonably calculated to advance
those national ends.
The ultimate strength of the connection between ends and means
largely depends, of course, on the proposition that individuals are or may
be influenced in their decisions about interstate migration by the
perceived availability of higher welfare benefits in a destination State.
Although respondents dispute that proposition as an empirical matter
(see, ¢.g., Pet. App. 23-24), there is some evidence to support it. See id. at
25 (citing P. Peterson & M. Rom., Welfare Magnets (Brookings Inst.
1990)); Zubler, 81 Val. U. L. Rev. at 933-939; Moffitt, Incentive Effects of
the U.S. Welfare System: A Review, 30 J. Econ. Lit. 1, 34 (1992). In the
case of a judgment made by Congress in fashioning an integrated national
21
2. In other cases, including of course Shapiro, the Court
has invalidated state classifications akin to that drawn in
Section 11450.03 on the ground that they unduly burdened
the federal constitutional right of citizens of the United
States “to enter and abide in any State in the Union.” Dunn
v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 338 (1972); see Soto-Lopez, 476
U.S. at 901-913 (plurality opinion); Memorial Hosp. v. Mari-
copa County, 415 U.S. 250 (1974); Shapiro, supra; see also
Zobel, 457 U.S. at 65-71 (Brennan, J., concurring); Hooper,
472 U.S. at 624 (same). In Shapiro and Dunn, the Court
indicated that “any classification which serves to penalize
the exercise of that right, unless shown to be necessary to
promote a compelling governmental interest, is unconstitu-
tional.” Shapiro, 394 U.S. at 634; see Dunn, 405 U.S. at 338-
343. As the Court subsequently observed, however, al-
though “any durational residence requirement impinges to
some extent on the right to travel,” some such impingements
may not rise to the level of “penalties”; and the Court’s cases
have not made entirely clear t he amount of impact re-
quired to give rise to the compelling-state-interest test.”
Memorial Hosp., 415 U.S. at 256-257, 258-259; see also Soto-
Lopez, 476 U.S. at 903-906 & n.5 (plurality opinion); id. at 921
(O'Connor, J., dissenting); Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1975)
(upholding durational residency requirement for invoking ju-
risdiction to obtain divorce, without expressly addressing
applicable standard of review); Viandis v. Kline, 412 U.S.
441, 452-453 & n.9 (1973) (acknowledging permissibility of
program of state participation like TANF, we do not believe that more is
required to support the governmental interest. Cf. Turner Broad. Sys. v.
FCC, 512 U.S. 622, 665 (1994) (“Sound policymaking often requires
legislators to forecast future events and to anticipate the likely impact of
these events based on deductions and inferences for which complete
empirical support may be unavailable.”); FCC v. Beach Communications,
Inc., 508 U.S. 307, 313-315 (1998).
22
reasonable durational residency requirements to establish
entitlement to in-state tuition at public university).
We in no way question the correctness of Shapiro’s hold-
ing that an absolute one-year bar on welfare eligibility was
unconstitutional. Nor do we believe there is any occasion in
this case to reconsider the rationale of Shapiro or subse-
quent cases addressing durational residency requirements
that are adopted by the State on the basis of state authority
alone, to identify a single source in the Constitution for the
freedom of interstate migration, or to articulate an over-
arching theory for resolving the constitutionality of all state
measures that are alleged to burden that freedom. For in
our view the constitutional calculus must change somewhat
in the unusual circumstance in which Congress has consid-
ered a question affecting the right of interstate migration, in
the unique context of structuring a decentralized national
welfare program, and has authorized the States to adopt not
an outright bar, but rather a specialized choice-of-law rule
that calls for application of the laws of the prior State of
residence for a limited transitional period.
That federal authorization is of central importance in part
because the freedom of interstate migration reflects both the
national interest in interstate commerce (see Edwards v.
7 In recent cases, some Justices have suggested that claims based
primarily on the right of interstate migration should be evaluated under
the Privileges and Immunities Clause of Article IV, Section 2 of the Con-
stitution. Zobel, 457 U.S. at 71-81 (O’Connor, J., concurring in the judg-
ment); see also Soto-Lopez, 476 U.S. at 918-925 (O’Connor, J., joined by
Rehnquist and Stevens, JJ., dissenting); id. at 916 (White, J., concurring in
the judgment). On that analysis, a State may not draw any legislative
distinction on the basis of an individual’s exercise of the “fundamental”
right “to establish residence in a new State” unless (i) there is “something
to indicate that non-citizens [including the new residents affected by the
challenged classification] constitute a peculiar source of the evil at which
the statute is aimed,” and (ii) there is “a ‘substantial relationship’ between
the evil and the discrimination practiced against the noncitizens.” Zobel,
457 U.S. at 76-77 (O’Connor, J., concurring in the judgment).
California, 314 U.S. 160, 172-173 (1941)), which Congress has
express power to regulate (U.S. Const. Art. I, § 8, cl. 3), and
the nature of a national Union, as opposed to a federation of
independent States. Congress’s authorization is also impor-
tant because insofar as interstate migration is a fundamental
personal right (in addition to a structural attribute of na-
tional union), it is in important respects a right of national
citizenship, as to which Congress stands in a different rela-
tion to individual citizens than do the legislatures of the
several States. See, e. g., Soto-Lopez, 476 U.S. at 902 (plural-
ity opinion) (noting “the important role that principle has
played in transforming many States into a single Nation”);
Zobel, 457 U.S. at 73 (O’Connor, J., concurring); Passenger
Cases, 48 U.S. (7 How.) 282, 492 (Taney, C.J., dissenting)
(“For all the great purposes for which the Federal govern-
ment was formed, we are one people, with one common
country.”); ef. Edwards, 314 U.S. at 173 (Of the limits on
State legislation, “none is more certain than the prohibition
against attempts on the part of any single State to isolate
itself from difficulties common to all of them by restraining
the transportation of persons and property across its
borders.”).
The form in which Congress has acted—by authorizing a
specialized choice-of-law rule, rather than an outright ban—
is also significant. In the first place, under that approach
(unlike in Shapiro), there is a built-in assurance that a per-
son who relocates to a new State ordinarily will not receive
lower cash benefits by reason of relocating to a new State.
More fundamentally, under a national program such as
TANF, Congress may reasonably determine, for example,
that when a family was receiving TANF benefits in another
State, that State retains a sufficient connection to the
family’s continued receipt of benefits under the federal pro-
gram that its law may properly be taken into account by the
destination State during a transition period. In such circum-
stances, Congress determined, a destination State might
24
provide that the family would not become fully eligible under
its laws until after completion of the one-year period of
transition. Compare Sosna, 419 U.S. at 404-410. Ordinarily,
of course, there would be little or no justification for one
State, in the administration of its own public benefits laws,
unilaterally to apply the standards of another State’s laws.
See Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws § 9, cmt. g
(1971); compare Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S.
797, 814823 (1985). But where a decentralized benefit pro-
gram is established and funded by the federal government,
Congress may reasonably determine that the laws of more
than one State may be relevant when a person who is eligible
for benefits in one State moves to another State. As we have
explained (see p. 14 & n.5, supra), the effectiveness of the
TANF program depends in part on mutual commitments
made by participants and the States. The special choice-of-
law rules authorized by Section 604(c) can serve to reenforce
the effect of such commitments made in the State of origin
by giving some temporary continuing effect to that State’s
laws in the destination State. Section 604(c) therefore
furthers purposes recognized by the Full Faith and Credit
Clause of the Constitution (Art. IV, § 1), which grants Con-
gress power to prescribe certain rules for giving effect in one
State to the “public Acts” of another.
We do not suggest that Congress may “authorize the
States to violate the Equal Protection Clause” (Shapiro, 394
U.S. at 641), or that the right to travel may be “eliminated
by Congress” (Bray v. Alexandria Women’s Health Clinic,
506 U.S. 263, 277 n.7 (1993)). Plainly neither proposition is
supportable. There is, however, a salient difference, in this
regard, between state legislation that is purely local in char-
acter and imposes a flat bar to eligibility, as in Shapiro, and
state choice-of-law legislation that seeks to implement a
national policy, related to interstate commerce and the inci-
dents of national citizenship, that Congress has explicitly ar-
ticulated in the federal law that creates a nationwide benefit
program. When a State acts unilaterally, there is a risk that
it seeks to limit the allocation of its resources in ways that
may properly be condemned as parochial and based on a
desire to exclude persons from out-of-State. That risk is
substantially lessened when Congress acts, because Con-
gress represents, by definition, all citizens of the United
States. Moreover, as we have suggested, the creation of a
decentralized welfare program may also create both new
incentives for movement and new problems of how to
determine what rules should apply when an individual moves
from program to program within the system—issues that
Congress must be able to address if they are to be addressed
at all under our Constitution. Thus, when Congress acts to
structure and protect a nationwide program, in which it
wishes to enlist the willing cooperation of the several States,
a court should not lightly hold that state action implementing
the multistate aspects of that program, under an express
congressional authorization, impermissibly burdens a right
of interstate migration that has at its core a concept of
national citizenship, and that presupposes the existence of a
Union and a Government of the United States in which Con-
gress has the legislative power.
The rationale for taking account of congressional authori-
zation in this context also suggests, however, limits to the
principle. First, severe deprivations of the sort that this
Court has already held impermissibly burden the freedom of
interstate migration, such as a State’s complete (even if
temporary) denial of all welfare benefits to new residents
because of their recent arrival, as in Shapiro, or of any abil-
8 There is accordingly no occasion here to reconsider the Court's
statement in Shapiro, 394 U.S. at 641, that the state laws at issue in that
case, which imposed a flat one-year bar to eligibility on all new residents,
would be unconstitutional even if, contrary to the Court's actual reading of
federal law (394 U.S. at 638-640), the version of 42 U.S.C. 602(b) then in
effect had affirmatively authorized that bar.
ity to exercise the right to vote, as in Dunn, would presuma-
bly remain subject to strict scrutiny even if they had been
specifically authorized by Congress. Second, the right to
change state citizenship is an important personal liberty, and
a state law that substantially burdens that right will always
warrant more than minimal constitutional scrutiny, even if it
has been authorized by Congress. Finally, the effect of any
legislative action, including a congressional authorization, is
appropriately limited, to some extent, by the purposes that
underlie it. When, as in PRWORA, Congress delegates to
the States substantial authority to implement an overall fed-
eral program in State-specific ways, it necessarily does so in
relatively general terms. Accordingly, although it is appro-
priate to recognize that a State that legislates pursuant to a
specific federal authorization is acting in part on behalf of
national interests, when an individual alleges that the State
has unduly burdened the right to migrate, it is also appropri-
ate for a court to assure itself that the State’s action is de-
signed—and sufficiently tailored—to serve the purposes of
the federal authorization.
In light of these considerations, we believe a state statute
that does not clearly impose a burden of the sort that was
held impermissible under Shapiro and subsequent cases, and
that implements a specific congressional authorization within
the context of a decentralized federal program, should be
subject to an intermediate form of constitutional review.
That degree of heightened scrutiny is normally described as
requiring that a statutory classification be “substantially
related to an important governmental! objective.” Clark v.
Jeter, 486 U.S. 456, 461 (1988). Because the premise for
applying less-than-strict scrutiny in this class of cases is that
Congress has specifically authorized a general type of state
classification, it should normally be clear, as we think it is
here, that the goals of achieving interstate integration and
coordination, preventing the distortion of ineentives, and
promoting the effectiveness of the federal program are im-
27
portant ones. Accordingly, the dispositive question will nor-
mally be whether a State’s particular implementation is
“substantially related” to the purposes of the federal
authorization. That inquiry will generally focus on whether
the State’s chosen means are sufficiently tailored so as to
promote the supporting important federal governmental
ends, without unreasonably burdening the affected class’s
individual right of interstate migration.’
3. In this case, the burden that Section 11450.03 imposes
on respondents is not one that the Court’s prior cases have
clearly identified as sufficient to constitute a “penalty” on
the right to migrate. Unlike the eligibility waiting-period
struck down in Shapiro, California’s limitation on benefits
for new arrivals does not completely bar eligible new resi-
dents from receiving welfare benefits. Rather, it adopts a
specialized choice-of-law rule that calls for the application of
the law of the recipient’s prior State of residence with
respect to ome aspect of the benefit determination—the
amount of cash benefits to be paid. It follows as well that all
families that are otherwise eligible under the California
TANF program will receive some level of benefits. Even
Under the Privileges and Immunities Clause analysis discussed in
note 7, supra, the federal purposes of the general congressional aut hori-
zation in Section 604(c) could presumably be attriLuted to the State for
purposes of determining that non-residents, or new residents, are a
“peculiar source” of the problem that a State’s legislation seeks to address.
Zobel, 457 U.S. at 76 (O’Connor, J., concurring in the judgment). The addi-
tional inquiry suggested in the text, concerning how well the State’s
particular benefit limitation serves the purposes of the federal aut hori-
zation, would be essentially the same as the second inquiry under the
Privileges and Immunities test—whether there is a “substantial relation-
ship” between that problem and the discrimination at issue. /bid.; see
also, ey., Supreme Court of New Hampshire v. Piper, 470 U.S. 274, 284
(1986) (“The (Privileges and Immunities) Clause does not preclude discri-
mination again. nonresidents where (i) there is a substantia) reason for
the difference im treatment: and (ii) the discrimination practiced against
nonresidents bears a substantia) relationship to the State’s objective.”).
28
that limitation may, of course, cause hardship in individual
cases; but the California provision on its face does not
completely “den[y] welfare aid upon which may depend the
ability of the [recipient] families to obtain the very means to
subsist.” Shapiro, 394 U.S. at 627; see also Memorial Hosp.,
415 U.S. at 269. Nor does this case, like Dunn, involve even
the temporary deprivation, on the basis of interstate migra-
tion, of the ability to exercise another fundamental right.
And nothing in Section 11450.03 creates a class of state
residents whose rights are permanently inferior to those of
longer-term inhabitants, as could be said of the employment-
preference, tax-benefit, and revenue-sharing schemes the
Court struck down, on a rational-basis analysis, in Soto-
Lopez, Hooper, and Zobel. In light of Congress’s authoriza-
tion, this case is therefore an appropriate one in which to
apply intermediate rather than strict scrutiny.
The district court accordingly erred in concluding that
Section 11450.03 “must” be unconstitutional (Pet. App. 30),
because it reached that conclusion without acknowledging
the importance of the federal authorization contained in 42
U.S.C, 604(c), and without evaluating whether the California
provision is sufficiently tailored to be “substantially related”
to the advancement of Section 604(c)’s purposes. The proper
answer to that inquiry is not, in our view, clear on the pre-
sent record. California’s benefit limitation was first enacted
four years before Congress enacted Section 604(c), and it ap-
pears to be overbroad as a means of addressing the federal
purposes of eliminating distorted incentives, accommodating
choice-of-law issues created by the federal program, and pre-
venting a “race to the bottom.” So far as appears, the State
has made no effort to limit the application of its rule to cate-
gories of recipients who are most likely to have moved in
search of higher or additional federal benefits. The State’s
provision is not, for example, limited to applicants who were
receiving TANF benefits in their prior State of residence at
the time they moved, the situation in which the choice-of-law
rationale for the limitation most readily applies. See pp. 23-
24, supra; Pet. App. 17-18 (describing State’s implementa-
tion of Section 11450.03). Nor does the State appear to grant
any categorial exemptions from its rule for applicants who,
for example, moved to California to accept job offers, but be-
came unemployed after a period of work; or, alternatively, to
allow any applicant an opportunity to receive an exemption
from the across-the-board limitation by making an indivi-
dualized showing that he or she did not come to California
for the puspose of secking higher (or any) welfare benefits.
Ibid.
The apparent overbreadth of Section 11450.03 in relation
to the national purposes behind Section 604(c) raises a sub-
stantial question about its constitutionality under interme-
diate scrutiny. Because the balance of harms in this case
also appears to favor respondents (see Pet. App. 10-11, 30-
31), the court of appeals correctly concluded that the district
court did not abuse its discretion in entering a preliminary
injunction. That was the only issue resolved by the judg-
ment below, see id. at 11-12, and that judgment should
accordingly be affirmed. In further proceedings in the dis-
trict court, however, the State should be afforded the oppor-
tunity to demonstrate that its benefit restrictions are sub-
stantially related to the purposes of the federal authoriza-
tion—perhaps, for instance, because they are in fact better
tailored than they appear, or perhaps because the costs of
administering any more discriminating rule would be prohi-
bitive. In any event, before entering its final judgment the
district court should evaluate, on the basis of the record
10 At least one state has made an effort to tailor its durational resi-
dency limitation more narrowly to support the relevant federal statutory
goals. Illinois limits the TANF benefits payable to an applicant who has
resided in Illinois for fewer than 12 months to those payable by the State
of prior residence, but only if the applicant received aid in the prior State
at any time within 12 months of becoming a resident of Illinois. 305 IIL
Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/11-80 (West 1993).
30
presented by the parties, whether Section 11450.03 is sub-
stantially related to the important national purposes that
underlie Congress’s enactment of 42 U.S.C. 604(c)."
CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be affirmed.
Respectfully submitted.
SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
FRANK W. HUNGER
Assistant Attorney General
EDWIN 8. KNEEDLER
Deputy Solicitor General
EDWARD C. DUMONT
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
MARK B. STERN
KATHLEEN MORIARTY MUELLER
PETER J. SMITH
Attorneys
NOVEMBER 1998
Intermediate scrutiny requires not only an inquiry into the “sub-
stantial relationship” between the legislative purpose and its restrictions,
but also a demonstration that the legislation is designed to achieve an im-
portant goal. For state statutes that are expressly intended to implement
the TANF program, we believe the congressional findings and purpose
that underlie Section 604(c) should ordinarily satisfy the “purpose” inquiry
with respect to the implementing state statute—at least in the absence of
convineing proof that the state legislature in fact acted with another,
impermissible purpose. In the unique circumstance of this case, where the
California statute was enacted four years before PRWORA, that state
statute plainly could not have been enacted specifically to implement the
federal statute. Accordingly, respondents should not be foreclosed from
attempting to demonstrate that California in fact enacted Section 11450.03
solely for the invidious purpose of discouraging poor people generally from
settling in the State, rather than for the permissible purpose of
implementing the goals now reflected in the national program.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.