Amicus Curiae Brief — Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc.
Supreme Court brief1999
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Bupreme Court, a
: FILED
Nos. 97-1943 and 97-1992 | MAR 28 1999
IN THE | GERICE OF THE GERM |
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1998
Karen Sutton and Kimberly Hinton,
Petitioners,
v.
United Air Lines, Inc..,
Respondent.
and
Vaughn L. Murphy, |
Petitioner,
v.
United Parcel Service, Inc.
Respondent.
On Writs of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals For the Tenth Circuit
BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
SOCIETY FOR HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
Of Counsel: Peter J. Petesch
Thomas J. Walsh, Jr. Counsel of Record
Timothy S. Bland FORD & HARRISON, LLP
FORD & HARRISON, LLP 1920 N Street, N.W.
6750 Poplar Avenue, Suite 600 Suite 200
Post Office Box 171375 Washington, D.C. 20036
Memphis, Tennessee 38187-1375 (202) 463-6633
(901) 756-1550
Counsel for Amicus
David S. Harvey, Jr.
FORD & HARRISON, LLP
205 Brush Street
Post Office Box 1427
Tampa, Florida 33601
(813) 229-6481
March 23, 1999
Balmar Legal Publishing Services, Washington, DC (202) 682-9800
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
TREE FO CRNE ED Canitinrletnicitieccitetststiinciininunpuinanin il
INTERES! OF AMICUS CURIA ....ccccccscsscscccsesessccesoveccecess |
ee, Cee SII EE setttcnternioennnenescouniguisnneenentnnuen 2
PERTAINS, ccnnstirrtinvinnrianvninisccnninibbinisiitavsicone 4
I. Petitioners’ proposed rule, to disregard
the actual, salutary effects of ameliorating
treatments in determining “disability”
status and “substantial limitations,” is
unworkable and ignores Congressional
intent and the ADA’s express language. ............. 4
A. By Petitioner’s Approach,
Most Americans Have
“Disabilities” Under The ADA ............... 4
B. Considering The Individual’s
Actual Substantial Limitations is
Most Consistent With the ADA’s
Definition of “Disability” ........................ 8
oe Legislative history, other EEOC inter-
pretations, and the record of the ADA in
practice support Respondents’ position............. 1]
Ill. Considering mitigating measures will still
protect persons with disabilities, ...........ccccceee 15
CORFE Ua PEAE YS tndenndidtecrascepevstuineneutsevesintansevesneseneseotencesequesees 18
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: Pages}
Braedon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 118 S. Ct. 2196,
141 L.Ed 2d S40 (IDBS) cecscscrcrceciessetorbensenieniiniints 8,14,15,17
Buko v. American Medical Laboratories,
830 F. Supp. 899 (E.D. Va. 1992), aff'd 28 F.3d 1208
(4ehy Cir. 1996) .corccccccsoveccieresccstniiibdiinansdiiieniaabaianinannnanns 7
Chandler vy. City of Dallas, 2 F.3d 1385 (Sth Cir. 1993),
reh' eg, en banc, denied, 9 F.3d 105 (Sth Cir. 1993),
cert. denied, 511 U.S. 1011 (1994) .......ccccccsssccesereesereeeees .14
Christian v. St. Anthony Medical Center, 117 F.3d 1051
(7th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, —U.S.—, 118 S. Ct.
1304 (19DB) ....cccsoscsssseserececsssneiessnuniosnniiaialinnesniamnannanne 12
Forrisi v. Bowen, 794 F.2d 931 (4th Cir, 1986).........cccceeeeees 7
Gilbert v. Frank, 949 F.2d 637 (2nd Cir. 1991) .......ccccceeeees .14
Halperin v. Abacus Technology Corp., 128 F.3d 191
(4th Cir, 19977) ..rccccococorcessesssosessessensuaienntnienaasstanamaaanianial 13
Hedberg v. Indiana Bell Tel. Co., 47 F.3d 928 (7th Cir.
1995S) ...ccseccossocsesncosonvnnevcnsttionbesmnsnndinireniaiiieinnisianntiann nnn 1]
Mackie v. Runyon, 804 F.Supp.
1508 (M.D. Fle. 199Z) .cccccoctssessossvecesessorssanenniasinmmniananins .14
McDonald v. Pennsylvania,
62 F.3d 92 (Sed Cig. 1995)...ccereeseserstvecacionmansasnennnaannias .13
Reynolds v. Brock, 815 F.2d 571 (9th Cir, 1987)......cceceeees .13
Tiff v. Secretary of Transp., 1994 WL 579912
(TD.D.C.. 1994) ...rcccccercensssnacvinetscedvibnneeaticciencstniniliiiaineeinniial 14
Trembczsynski v. City of Calumet City,
1987 WL 16604 (N.D. TI]. 1987)........ccccccsssrcceseccsresesesserees 13
iii
Page(s]
STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND RULE:
Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. §
ge I ili disctnicridibasinbiecticavies 1, 4,5, 7, 8, 10, 15
EEOC Policy Guidance on Reasonable Accommodation
Under ADA, March 1999, Question 5 ........cccceceeeeeee 12
EEOC Policy Guidance on Reasonable Accommodation
Under ADA, March 1999, Question 22, example A.......... 18
EEOC Policy Guidance on Reasonable Accommodation
Under ADA, March 1999, Question 29 0.0.0.0... 12, 13
EEOC Policy Guidance on Psychiatric Disabilities,
EE 13
Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, 29 U.S.C. §&§
atti cael dat hisacincemecupneettinintanscapocsensedunses 17
Occupational Safety and Health Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 561, ef. seq. .....17
29 C.F.R. Pt. 1630:
st TT en. Tf
oe 10
a I i 1!
8 Kf, Te ce 12
a 9,15
i ar pin cncaddedncedasestnassindehtnnsonstcopecoecnes 12
EA en 4
| a
IDET i icinsccnrncscnieneneescuntossocsseosseteet 8, 15
ED IERIE ncn ccscensinnnentmeqstnentgntsantquesseediotece 10
TE
iv
Page(s}
MISCELLANEOUS:
Caring for the Eyes of America, the annual report of the
American Optometric Association, St. Louis, Missouri (1998)........4
H.R. Rep. No. 101-485 pt. 2, at 52 (1990), reprinted in
5998S USL LATE, FEB, FOG ccecscsnisventtsstmpsiincctincntiainiatiinn a
S. Rep. No. 101-116 at 22-23, 24 (V9B9) oo. cccccccennesnennnnenees 12
SB Pod. Raa, GER (Gee i eccrcscesccccncasccsssscasicsenetinectasetanennssens 6
SB Fe, Teat, Fe Cie i eannscpcccstansangeessecqerseneegeensgapinannty 6
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
The Society for Human Resource Management
(“SHRM”), the voice of human resource professionals for
over 50 years, submits this brief in support of Respondents
United Air Lines and United Parcel Service. SHRM
represents over 113,000 human resource professionals in the
United States and in 80 other countries. SHRM leads,
educates, and provides a forum for human _ resource
professionals regarding matters of critical daily importance to
managing employees in the workplace. Human resource
professionals develop and administer structures to recruit,
train, and manage employees in all types of work
environments. SHRM and its members are deeply concerned
with understanding and implementing all non-discrimination
and equal opportunity laws and principles in the workplace.
In this particular case, SHRM’s members are typically
the persons involved in implementing, administering and
training on non-discrimination policies covering employees
with disabilities, guarding employees’ medical information,
and developing reasonable accommodations under the
Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. § 12101,
et seq. (“ADA”). Grasping the ADA’s fluid requirements,
especially in light of inconsistent EEOC interpretations and
conflicting court rulings, poses a unique challenge to SHRM
members and anyone managing disabilities in the workplace.
The cases before this Court on the value of mitigating
measures and treatments highlight this challenge. Though
trained in evaluating job performance and _ functional
limitations of individuals (with or without disabilities), human
resource departments and staffs lack the medical training
' Amicus files this brief, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3, with
the written consent of the parties. Evidence of said consent is filed
concurrently with this brief. No person or entity other than amicus curiae,
its members, or its counsel authored any portion of this brief or made any
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.
>
necessary to speculate on how physical or mental conditions
would theoretically affect an individual in the absence of
effective treatments that render a person perfectly functional
in and out of the workplace. Yet, the rule urged by Petitioners
and some amici -- that mitigating measures such as medical
regimens, auxiliary aids, or common treatments should never
be considered in determining whether an individual with a
physical or mental impairment is substantially limited in a
major life activity so as to have a “disability” under the ADA
- places human resource professionals precisely in this
untenable position. The practical experience of SHRM
members teaches that such a rule is simply unworkable.
Moreover, Petitioners’ proposed rule defies the language and
intent of the ADA.
SHRM urges the Court to seize this opportunity to
formulate a clear and consistent rule, one that protects the
interests of the intended beneficiaries of the ADA, that
comports with the statutory language and with the EEOC’s
approach to other aspects of the ADA, and that allows for
ease of application in the real world of the workplace,
benefitting employers and employees alike. Employees
should be assessed solely on the basis of how they actually
function, with whatever medical aids they normally use.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
In enacting the ADA, Congress intended to protect the
minority of Americans with true physical or mental
disabilities who, despite their condition, can function in the
world of work. The ADA seeks to bring formerly
marginalized persons into the mainstream of society, not vice
versa. The vast majority of people who wear eyeglasses, or
who take medications that fully or substantially relieve the
effects of a wide variety of common conditions, are not
generally seen as having “disabilities.” have not been
marginalized, and should not fall within the ADA’s special
definition of its protected class. In determining who has a
“disability” under the ADA, employers and courts should
a,
3
evaluate persons individually as they actually function, and
not speculate on how they might function in some
hypothetical state.
The entire language and structure of the ADA bespeak
Congress’ intent to look to individuals’ actual abilities, and to
discourage employers from conjuring up imaginary scenarios
that only feed stereotypical views of persons with physical or
mental impairments as persons who cannot function. Thus
the rule urged by Petitioners and the EEOC not only
trivializes the ADA’s purposes, it works against those
purposes. It also places an impossible burden on employers,
who lack the resources and medical expertise to predict the
potential dysfunctions of a now-functional individual if
medications or devices were removed.
The EEOC’s interpretations of other aspects of the ADA
affirm the guiding principle that any inquiry should focus on
actual function and actual “substantial limitations” to the
individual's major life activities. Its argument that mitigating
measures should not be considered in defining an individual's
disability is therefore inconsistent with its overall approach to
the ADA. Along with an ambiguous legislative history, this
inconsistent approach has in turn led to conflicting court
rulh.ys, and to hopeless confusion among employers and
employees alike. Again, the Court needs to articulate a clear,
simple rule, one that comports with the actual language of the
Statute, that protects those intended to be protected, and that
can be readily applied in the real world of work. This real-
world, total-picture approach, one that regards each person as
a functioning individual, is far superior to the inflexible,
artificial, and confusing definitional scheme that Petitioners
seek to advance. It is also truer to the ADA’s language and
Purposes.
The rule SHRM urges will not leave ADA’s intended
beneficiaries unprotected. Some ameliorative measures, such
as medication with severe side effects, may impair an
employee's function, or leave the individual _ still
“substantially limited” in his or her major life activities. In
4
such cases, those effects, too, should be taken into account in
a functional-ability test.
ARGUMENT
I. PETITIONERS’ PROPOSED RULE, TO DISREGARD
THE ACTUAL, SALUTARY EFFECTS OF AME-
LIORATING TREATMENTS IN DETERMINING
“DISABILITY” STATUS AND “SUBSTANTIAL LIMI-
TATIONS,” IS UNWORKABLE AND IGNORES
CONGRESSIONAL INTENT AND THE ADA'S
EXPRESS LANGUAGE.
In several respects, the rule which Petitioners and the
EEOC propose runs directly counter to the ADA’s purposes
as expressed in the statutory language.
A. By Petitioners’ Approach, Most Americans Have
“Disabilities” Under the ADA.
In its Findings and Purposes accompanying the ADA,
Congress hailed the protection of 43 million Americans with
disabilities, and declared the laudable goals of eliminating
disability discrimination and bringing persons with
disabilities into the mainstream of American society. 42
U.S.C. § 12101 (a). Far from bringing persons with
disabilities in the mainstream, however, Petitioner's proposed
rule would by definition force persons from the mainstream --
indeed, the vast majority of Americans -- into the ranks of
persons with “disabilities.”
The numbers alone reveal the fallacy of Petitioners’ rule.
For example, 147 million Americans, or 55% of the
population, wear eyeglasses or other corrective lenses. This
’ Caring for the Eves of America, the annual report of the American
Optometric Association, St. Louis, Missourt (1998). In its amicus brief,
the EEOC cites a government study which found that an even higher
number of adults -- 63% -- wear eyeglasses or contact lenses. Brief for the
United States and the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission as
Amicus Curiae Supporting Petitioners, p. 10, 1.1. Other statistics which
5
does not even include the persons who no longer wear
corrective lenses due to successful corrective laser surgery. In
most cases, these persons function normally in virtually all
occupations. They fly airplanes, drive trucks, and even excel
in professional sports. Yet, Petitioners and the EEOC declare
that ameliorating measures should not be taken into account
in determining whether an individual has a “disability” under
the ADA.’ By this interpretation, conceivably 55% of the
U.S. population -- individuals without their corrective lenses,
a great many of whom could not function normally in their
present jobs without eyesight correction -- falls within ADA
coverage. Congress could not have intended to afford the
ADA such a wide sweep."
Indeed, the example of corrective lenses represents only
the tip of the iceberg.
e The American Heart Association estimates that 96.8
million American adults (51%) have high cholesterol
levels. Often, this condition is successfully
controlled by cholesterol-lowering medication.
e As many as 50 million Americans have hypertension,
according to the American Heart Association. Many
take blood pressure medication that completely
- controls their condition.
appear below were derived from the official websites of the organizations
cited: The American Heart Association (www.ambhrt.org); the National
Center for Health Statistics (www.cde.nchswww/default.htm), — the
American Psychiatric Association (www.psych.org ).
’ The EEOC’s Interpretive Guidance on Title I of the Americans with
Disabilities Act, an appendix to the EEOC’s regulations, opines that “|t}he
determination of whether an individual is substantially limited in a major
life activity must be made on a case by case basis, without regard to
mitigating measures such as medicines, or assistive or prosthetic devices.”
29 C.F.R. Pt. 1630 App. 1630.2 (j). The regulations themselves are silent
on the issue.
‘
Congress viewed persons with disabilities as a “minority of the
population.” 42 U.S.C. § 12101 (a) (7).
6
Nearly 15 million Americans have asthma, according
to the National Center for Health Statistics. A large
number of asthma sufferers function normally with
the use of an inhaler to alleviate their condition.
According to the American Psychiatric Association,
in any six-month period 9.4 million Americans suffer
from depression. One in four women and one in ten
men can expect to develop it during their lifetime.
As many as one in five Americans will suffer at least
one episode of major depression during _ their
lifetimes. Of those who suffer from depression, 80-
90% can be effectively treated. Many persons who
take antidepressants can and do remain fully
functional.
28 million Americans have some degree of hearing
loss -- but just over 2 million are profoundly deaf.
(58 Fed. Reg. 64356 (1993)). Many millions of these
individuals are fully functional, sometimes with
hearing aids.
The American Heart Association reports — that
approximately 8.7 million Americans have diabetes,
with 625,000 new cases diagnosed each year. Most
diabetics live relatively normal lives through the use
of insulin and/or dietary measures.
37 million Americans have some form of arthritis (58
Fed. Reg. 5524, 5526-27 (1993)). Many take over-
the-counter pain relievers and function fully.
Many persons with seizure disorders take medication
that fully controls their condition (i.e., they have not
had a seizure in 10 years).
Millions of persons with psychological needs are
rendered fully functional by professional counseling.
7
e Persons with heart arrhythmia take anticoagulants to
minimize the risk of a heart attack, and live and work
as part of mainstream America,
These are but a few examples of persons with potentially
debilitating conditions who, thanks to modern medicine,
pursue normal lives and work in every kind of job imaginable.
By and large, society does not view such persons as these,
fully functional in all or virtually all respects, as having
“disabilities.” To do otherwise in order to stretch a statutory
definition, as Petitioners and the EEOC urge, trivializes the
ADA and its purposes. Worse, such a broad-brush approach
distracts attention from the ADA’s intended beneficiaries,
those who truly have disabilities but who can still work and
make significant contributions to society. A statute that
protects everyone protects no one. Moreover, such
indiscriminate labeling tends to heap suspicion and ridicule on
the very persons whom the statute seeks to protect. This
result runs directly counter to Congress's stated intent to
protect individuals with disabilities from unequal treatment
“based on characteristics that are beyond the control of such
individuals and resulting from stereotypic assumptions not
truly indicative of the individual ability of such i: dividuals to
participate in, and contribute to, society.” 42 U.S.C.
§121101(a\(7).
In sum, with the ADA, Congress intended to protect a
limited class of persons: specifically, those who suffer from
substantial limitations significantly more severe than those
encountered by the average person in everyday life, not those
who suffer from relatively minor, widely shared non-limiting
conditions. Forrisi v. Bowen, 794 F.2d 931, 934 (4th Cir.
1986) (to hold otherwise would “debase” the “high purpose”
of a statute that seeks to protect “those truly handicapped”);
Buko v. American Medical Laboratories, Inc, 830 F. Supp.
899, 904 (E.D. Va. 1992), aff'd 28 F.3d 1208 (4th Cir. 1994).
In order to serve these legislative purposes, and to discourage
rather than to feed negative stereotypes that the statute
decries, employers and courts should consider individuals in
8
their actual state, with their actual substantial limitations, if
any, and not in a hypothetical condition.
B. Considering the Individual’s Actual Substantial
Limitations is Most Consistent with the ADA’s
Definition of “Disability.”
The ADA defines an actual disability as “a physical or
mental impairment that substantially limits one or more of the
major life activities of such individual.” 42 U.S.C. § 12102
(2) (A). It does not say an individual has a disability if he or
she has an impairment that might or could substantially limit a
major life activity.. Thus, a plain, common-sense reading of
the statute requires a determination of whether an individual
is currently or actually “substantially limited.” If he or she is
not substantially limited because of some _ reasonable
mitigating measure, then that person should not be considered
to have a “disability.” Any other reading of the statute would
not only corrupt its plain meaning, but would place an
impossible burden on the lay business persons responsible for
adhering to it.
The definition stresses actual function rather than
theoretical condition, and individual assessment rather than
blanket categorization. As this Court held last term in
Bragdon vy. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 118 S. Ct. 2196, 141 L.Ed
2d 540 (1998), a physical impairment, including poor vision,
must first be “substantially limiting” to the individual in order
to rise to the level of “disability.” 141 L.E.2d at 557 and 141
L.Ed.2d at 574 (O'Connor, concurring in the judgment in part
and dissenting in part). Although a nearsighted person whose
vision is corrected to 20/20 by corrective lenses, or a person
with asthma who uses an inhaler, may have a “physical
* Ignoring the beneficial effects of medical treatments, as Petitioners
and the EEOC urge, reduces the statutorily-mandated disability equation
to speculation and stereotypes about an impairment. If Congress wished
to link protection to impairments alone, it would have -- but Congress
instead added the individualized inquiry on “substantial limitations” to the
disability definition.
ad
9
impairment,” neither impairment is, in reality, “substantially
limiting” with respect to major life activities, thanks to simple
medical devices. For all practical purposes, millions of
persons benefitting from salutary effects of modern medicine
are no different from the mythical “average person” -- against
whom “substantial limitations” are measured. See 29 U.S.C.
§ 1630.2 (j) (1) (i) and (ii). Indeed, at 55% of the population
(or 63% of adults), the “average person” uses corrective
lenses.
Yet, Petitioners and the EEOC advocate imagining these
persons in a theoretical condition, without their eyeglasses or
inhalers. The EEOC’s vacillating position in this very case
illustrates the impossibility of maintaining one’s balance on
this logical tightrope. In its Certiorari Brief in Sutton, the
EEOC correctly conceded that both the Sutton v. United Air
Lines and the Murphy v. United Parcel Service cases present
the identical question on “whether the existence of an actual
disability under the ADA is to be assessed with or without
taking into consideration mitigating or ameliorative measures
employed by the individual involved.” U.S. Brief as Amicus
Curiae on the Petitions for Writs of Certiorari at 8 (emphasis
added); see also id. at 13. The EEOC then argued that
Murphy was the better vehicle to address the issue, or that the
situation raised in Sutton should be avoided, because the
example of correctable vision in Sutton may pose a “special”
exception. /d. at 8, 13-14, fn. 3. The EEOC offered no
reasoned explanation why mitigating measures should be
considered only in the case of correctable vision impairments.
Indeed, given the wide variety of accessible medical
treatments for a wide variety of impairments, the same
reasons that support creation of a “special exception” for
corrective lenses also call for consideration of mitigating
measures in many other cases. Apparently recognizing that
this argument exposed the fatal flaws in its entire position, the
EEOC then reversed field in its amicus briefs and argued
against treating corrective lenses as an exception. The
EEOC’s own shifting positions beg the question of whether
other measures which not only alleviate certain symptoms of
10
an impairment, but which virtually eliminate any “substantial
limitations” emanating from the impairment, can be ignored
in applying a statute dedicated to mainstreaming, and not
segregating, persons with “disabilities.” Such measures
should not be ignored. They affect the way people actually
function, as well as the way people are perceived as
functioning.
This leads to yet another dissonance between the
EEOC’s position and the ADA’s language. As the third
prong of the ADA’s definition of “disability” stresses, the
perception of disability where none actually exists creates a
new protected class that, but for the active imaginations of
others, never had to exist. See 42 U.S.C. § 12102 (2) (C)
(“disability” means “being regarded as having such an
impairment [that substantially limits one or more of the major
life activities of such individual]”).° Under the ADA, then,
the employer should focus not on the least that individuals
theoretically could do, but rather, on the most they actually
can do. Yet, the EEOC’s approach to mitigating measures
would require the employer, through an imaginative leap, to
perceive as “disabled” a person who functions normally.
Thus, even aside from the practical difficulty or impossibility
of asking employers to imagine functional persons in a
hypothetical, less-functional state, such an exercise runs
directly counter to Congress’ purposes. Indeed, elsewhere the
* As the EEOC’s own interpretive guidance explains, “[a)n individual
satisfies the first part of this definition if the individual has an impairment
that is not substantially limiting, but the covered entity perceives the
impairment as being substantially limiting. For example, suppose an
employee has controlled high blood pressure that is not substantially
limiting. If an employer reassigns the individual to less strenuous work
because of unsubstantiated fears that the individual will suffer a heart
attack if he or she continues to perform strenuous work, the employer
would be regarding the individual as disabled.” 29 C.F.R. Pt. 1630, App.
§ 1630.2 (1) (emphasis added). Also implicit in this guidance is the
EEOC’s observation that controlled conditions may not be “disabilities.”
ADA and the EEOC encourage employers to view employees
in their maximum and actual, present functioning capacity.’
In other contexts, including a case involving an employer
unaware of an employee’s medical condition, courts have
correctly surmised that “[t}he ADA does not require
clairvoyance.” Hedberg v. Indiana Bell Tel. Co., 47 F.3d 928,
934 (7th Cir. 1995). Similar “clairvoyance” should not be
required to picture functional persons as “substantially
limited.”
Il. LEGISLATIVE HISTORY, OTHER EEOC INTER-
PRETATIONS, AND THE RECORD OF THE ADA IN
PRACTICE SUPPORT RESPONDENTS’ POSITION.
As explained above, the ADA’s plain language only
mandates protection of those who are “substantially limited,”
and not persons who “would be” or who are, hypothetically,
“substantially limited.” Similarly, the ADA’s legislative
history does not mandate protection of individuals who can
function normally with mitigating measures. Indeed, the
legislative history itself is inconsistent. At times, it indicates
that disability should be determined without regard to
mitigating measures. At other times, though, the legislative
history indicates that the focus should be on an impairment’s
effects on the individual with the impairment, not on the
impairment’s qualities, and seems to indicate that it would be
appropriate to consider mitigating measures." Thus the
"The EEOC discourages other forms of speculation. As the EEOC’s
interpretive guidance on qualified persons with disabilities explains,
“[t}his determination should be based on the capabilities of the individual
with a disability at the time of the employment decision, and should not be
based on speculation that the employee may become unable in the future
or may cause increased health insurance premiums or workers
compensation costs.” 29 C.F.R. Pt. 1630, App. § 1630.2 (m) (emphasis
added).
* Parts of the ADA’s legislative history suggest that Congress
intended disability to be determined without regard to mitigating
measures. H.R. Rep. No. 101-485 pt. 2, at 52 (1990), reprinted in 1990
U.S.C.C.A.N. 303, 334. Yet, a Senate report indicated that in determining
}?
_
legislative history taken as a whole does not preclude
consideration of mitigating measures in determining
“disability.”
The EEOC is equally inconsistent. While the agency
argues that mitigating measures should not be taken into
consideration when determining whether an individual has a
disability, it is perfectly willing to consider mitigating
measures in other circumstances under the ADA. For
example, in addressing “reasonable accommodations,” the
EEOC correctly explains that it is the individual’s known
functional limitations -- and not the underlying “impairment”
-- that must be accommodated. 29 C.F.R. § 1630.9 (a). See
also “EEOC Policy Guidance on Reasonable Accommodation
Under ADA,” March 1999, Questions 5, 38.
The glaring contradictions of the EEOC’s positions on
mitigating measures are most evident its approach to negative
side effects of medication. In its Enforcement Guidance on
the Americans with Disabilities Act and Psychiatric
Disabilities, the EEOC unequivocally states, “If medications
cause negative side effects, these side effects should be
considered in assessing whether the individual is substantially
limited.” (emphasis added). Accord, Christian v. St. Anthony
Medical Center, 117 F.3d 1051, 1052 (7th Cir. 1997), cert.
denied, 118 S. Ct. 1304 (1998). The EEOC reiterates this
position in its March 1999 Policy Guidance on Reasonable
Accommodation Under ADA, explaining that “[t}he side
whether a disability exists, the focus should be on an impairment’s effects
on the individual with the impairment, not on the impairment’s qualities.
S. Rep. No. 101-116 at 22-23 (1989). The same report noted that an
individual who wears a hearing aid could be “regarded as” disabled even if
the hearing aid compensated for the impaired hearing. Id. at 24. If such
an individual were covered under the “substantially limited” language of
the definition of disability without regard to the mitigating measure
(hearing aid), there would have been no need to look to the “regarded as”
portion of the definition. 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2 (g). That is, others’
perceptions concerning the hearing aid would be irrelevant unless the
individual's hearing were not covered by the “substantially limited”
language.
13
effects caused by the medication that an employee must take
because of the disability are limitations resulting from the
disability.” “EEOC Policy Guidance on Reasonable
Accommodation Under ADA,” March 1999, Question 38. By
way of example, the Guidance on Psychiatric Disabilities
states that if an employee with major depression is often late
for work because of medication side effects that make him
extremely groggy in the morning, the employer, absent undue
hardship, must consider offering a reasonable accommodation
such as allowing him to come into work one hour later each
day. On the other hand, that same Guidance also
unequivocally states that the “corrective effects of
medications” should not be considered in deciding if an
impairment is so severe that it substantially limits a major life
activity. It defies logic for the EEOC and ADA claimants to
have it both ways. SHRM’s approach would eliminate these
inconsistencies.
In another nod to practical functionality, the EEOC and the
“substantially limiting,” and thus are not ordinarily classified as
handicaps or disabilities covered under the Rehabilitation Act or the
ADA. 29 CFR. Pt. 1630, App. 1630.2(j); Halperin v. Abacus
Technology Corp., 128 F.3d 191 (4th Cir. 1997); McDonald y.
Pennsylvania, 62 F.3d 92, 96 (3rd Cir. 1995). Again, the emphasis
is On Common-sense notions of what constitutes a disability, and the
idea that temporary conditions do not qualify. Most people who
take medication or wear corrective devices do so on a habitual
basis, and any departure from routine is typically brief - analogous
to a temporary condition.”
Rehabilitation Act cases decided prior to the ADA support
Respondents’ position that amc iorative measures belong in the disability
equation. See Reynolds v. Brock, 815 F.2d 571, 574 (9th Cir. 1987)
‘evaluated plaintiff in actual, medicated state, not a hypothetical.
unmedicated state); Trembczsynski v. City of Calumet City, 1987 WL
16604 (N.D. Ill. 1987) (officers do not have “handicaps” if vision is
correctable to 20/20). Cases decided under the Rehabilitation Act since
ADA offer little if any additional guidance. As under the ADA, courts
14
Accordingly, taking the ADA’s legislative history and
pre-ADA cases as a whole, nothing definitively endorses
Petitioner's approach or precludes that of Respondent. On the
other hand, the checkered history of the ADA in practice
strongly commends Respondents’ proposed rule. The chaos
that preceded the statute has only grown since its enactment.
It has spawned a legion of litigation, and has sown discord
and confusion among employees as well as employers.” A
clear and simple rule, such as the one Respondent proposes,
will establish a consistent principle that lay persons can
understand and follow. It is a rule that employers can live
with and employees can work with. Most important of all, it
is a rule whose implementation will serve the original purpose
of the ADA: to assure that employers, and society as a whole,
will view all individuals at their best and not their worst, and
as they actually function.
split on whether to consider mitigating measures in determining handicap
are split. See, e.g.. Mackie v. Runyon, 804 F.Supp. 1508, 1510-11 (M.D.
Fla. 1992) (bipolar disorder stabilized by medication is not substantially
limiting): Chandler v. City of Dallas, 2 F.3d 1385, 1390-91 (Sth Cir.
1993)an insulin-dependent diabetic did not have a disability), reh'g, en
banc, denied, 9 F.3d OS (Sth Cir. 1993), cert. denied, S11 U.S. 1011
(1994). Cf. Tiff v. Secretary of Transp. 1994 WL 579912, at *3-*4
(D.D.C.1994\(depression controlled by medication was a disability);
Gilbert v. Frank, 949 F.2d 637, 641 (QQad Cir. 1991 an individual who
could not function without kidney dialysis had a substantially limiting
impairment). Thus, although this Court stated in Bragdon that the ADA
provides no less protection than the Rehabilitation Act, 141 L.Ed.2 at 553.
the issue was never conclusively decided under the Rehabilitation Act.
“ The EEOC argues that adopting SHRM’s position “would inject
uncertainty and instability into the system. See 97-1943 U.S. Brief at 8;
97-1992 U.S. Brief at 16-17. Yet, actual experience has shown that the
EEOC’s approach to this issue has itself created that unhappy result. A
consistent rule based on actual observation and function, rather than on
prediction and speculation, will far more likely contribute to a stable
system.
15
lil. CONSIDERING MITIGATING MEASURES WILL
STILL PROTECT PERSONS WITH DISABILII TES
Contrary to Petitioners’ and the EEOC’s contentions,
SHRM'’s approach would not set such a restrictive definition
of “disability” as to gut the ADA and leave virtually no
individuals subject to its protections. Rather, SHRM’s rule
prevents ADA compliance from becoming a free-for-all
haven for every individual with some minor, correctable
physical or mental condition and focuses the ADA's
protections on the individuals Congress intended to protect.
The effect of each individual's condition, as well as the effect
(both good and bad) of any medical treatment or device,
should all be taken into account as they affect the ability to
function.
The ADA defines “disability” as “a physical or mental
impairment that substantially limits one or more of the major
life activities of such individual.” 42 U.S.C. § 12102 (2) (A).
“Substantially limits,” as defined by the EEOC, means:
Unable to perform a major life activity that the
average person in the general population can
perform; or
Significantly restricted as to the condition, manner
or duration under which an individual can perform a
particular major life activity as compared to the
condition, manner, or duration under which the
average person in the general population can
perform the same major life activity.
29 C.F.R. § 1620.2(j)1)(i and ii). More significantly, as the
Court observed in Bragdon, “the Act addresses substantial
limitations on major life activities, not utter inabilities.” 141
L.Ed.2d at 559. “When significant limitations result from the
impairment, the definition is met even if the difficulties are
not insurmountable.” /d. Under SHRM’s proposed
interpretation, an employer or court confronted with an
individual claiming to have a disability and to be subject to
the ADA’s protections would first determine if the
16
employee's abilities during the relevant time period
demonstrate a substantial limitation of a major life activity as
compared to the “average” person.'' It is the individual's
present ability, as affected by the impairment and any side
effects of medication or treatment, that would be the focus of
the examination. Courts and employers would not be
expected to speculate about what the individual's limitations
could be if untreated (or create hypothetical limitations where
none currently exist).
Borrowing the EEOC’s generalized example used on
page 14 of its Amicus Brief in Murphy v. United Parcel
Service, Inc., an employee who requires a modification of his
work to accommodate an uncontrollable condition would be
entitled to the modification (provided it is reasonable,
effective and did not cause an undue hardship to the
employer). If another employee's condition is somewhat
controlled (but still substantially limiting), the employee
would also be entitled to reasonable accommodation from the
employer. Nevertheless, an employee whose medication
eliminates an impairment would not be entitled to an
acc »mmodation as none would be needed.”
" The EBOC’s interpretation creates additional conflicts and
questions. For example, when determining what the “average” person can
do, are the “average” person's abilities examined with or without
mitigating measures? If the “average” person's abilities are examined
with mitigating measures, then it is possible that every individual (or a
majority of individuals) could be classified as having “disabilities” since
they would be substantially limited in some major life activity (without
mitigation) that the “average” person could perform (with mitigation). If
the “average” person's abilities are examined without mitigating
measures, then courts and employers will be forced to speculate twice --
first, with regard to the individual's limitations in the absence of
mitigation and, again, with respect to the “average” person's abilities in
the absence of mitigation.
* The EEOC complains in its example that employers would be free to
discharge employees who sought permission to take medication or
treatment that eliminates their condition. Such unfounded concerns ignore
several key principles. First, the EEOC attempts to paint an improbable
17
SHRM’s proposed standard when applied to real life
examples proves that the EEOC’s proposed interpretation is
unneeded, and that individuals whose condition and/or
treatment substantially limits a major life activity will be
protected by the ADA. In the case of human
immunodeficiency virus (“HIV”), this Court determined that
an individual's HIV infection rises to the level of a disability.
This Court noted the “predictable and, as of today, an
unalterable course” of the disease on an individual’s immune
system. Bragdon, 141 L.Ed.2d at 554 (emphasis added).
With or without protease inhibitors, part of the combination
therapies that help keep many persons with HIV healthy for
longer, the retrovirus’ genetic material becomes integrated
with the chromosomes of the body’s cells. /d. The latent
viral reservoir of HIV slowly attacks the immune system even
though anti-retroviral therapies can prolong persons’ disease-
free states. These particular “mitigating measures” therefore
do not eliminate the “substantial limitations” on the major life
activities that the Court discussed and appeared willing, but
unable, to discuss in Bragdon. Moreover, this vigorous
medical regimen exacts other real costs and limitations on the
individuals undergoing combination therapies. The regimen
itself requires strict adherence to diet and medication
schedules. Acute side-effects associated with the treatment
picture of some Orwellian employer who fires employees for taking
prescribed medication. The EEOC is attempting to push the protections of
the ADA into areas Congress never intended it to cover. Everyone would
equally be offended if an employer fired an employee for taking aspirin
because the employee had a headache. Yet, an employee with a one time
headache who is taking aspirin would not have a “disability” under any
standard adopted by the Court. Second, an employee's restricted regimen
of treatment (that, for example, required a certain diet and timing for the
taking of medication) may substantially limit a major life activity and still
allow the employee to be protected by the statute. Finally, Congress and
individual states have already adopted legislation protecting the
employee's ability to seek and receive medical treatment (such as the
Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, 29 U.S.C. §§ 2601, et. seq., the
Occupational Safety and Health Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 561, ef. seq. and state
leave and workers compensation laws).
18
may include nausea, diarrhea, and neuropathy (numbness in
the extremities). In the everyday context of the workplace, it
is more often these disruptive regimens and the individual
side-effects that human resource professionals must
accommodate than the underlying viral infection itself."
There is every reason to believe that, in viewing the HIV-
positive employee in the actual condition that must be
accommodated under ADA, the person is still “substantially
limited” even with the mitigating treatments and is therefore
protected under the ADA.
This example, as in the case of persons with prosthetic
legs or using a wheelchair, shows that under SHRM’s
proposed rule, the persons intended to be protected under
ADA may still be “substantially limited,” protected, and
entitled to reasonable accommodations even when helpful
medical treatments and devices -- which affect the actual
condition and functional limitations of the individual -- are
taken into account.
CONCLUSION
The Court should resolve the inconsistencies in the
courts below and the internal contradictions in the Petitioners’
and EEOC’s position by articulating a clear, simple rule: For
purposes of determining “disability” status under the ADA,
individuals should be assessed in light of their actual ability to
function and any actual “substantial limitation” to their major
life activities. The assessment should take into account both
the beneficial and detrimental effects, if any, of measures,
devices and treatments used to ameliorate or eh, iinate the
condition in question. This principled, common-sense
-.
The EEOC’s new guidelines on reasonable accommodations even
explain that it is these limitations from treatments that must be
accommodated. “EEOC Policy Guidance on Reasonable Accommodation
Under ADA,” March 1999, Question 22, example A (citing limitations
and side effects from HIV treatment regimen to be accommodated).
19
approach will facilitate employers’ ADA compliance, while
also protecting those whom Congress intended to protect.
Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel: Peter J. Petesch
Thomas J. Walsh, Jr. Counsel of Record
Timothy S. Bland FORD & HARRISON, LLP
FORD & HARRISON, LLP 1920 N Street, N.W.
675 Poplar Avenue, Suite 600 = Suite 200
Post Office Box 171375 Washington, D.C. 20036
Memphis, Tennessee 38187- (202) 463-6633
1375
(901) 756-1550 Counsel for Amicus
David S. Harvey, Jr.
FORD & HARRISON, LLP
205 Brush Street
Post Office Box 1427
Tampa, Florida 33601
(813) 229-648 |
March 23, 1999
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.