Respondents Brief — Minnesota v. Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

eee

vou Supreme Court, U.S.

ie) FILED

No. 97-1337 ap 2S OMe

a CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

aa

October Term, 1997

STATE OF MINNESOTA; Minnesota Department of Natural

Resources; RODNEY SANDO, Commissioner of Natural

Resources; ARNE CARLSON, Governor of Minnesota;

RAYMOND B. HITCHCOCK, Assistant Commissioner of

Operations, MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL

RESOURCES,

Petitioners,

vs.

MILLE LACS BAND OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS, et ai.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS MILLE LACS BAND OF

CHIPPEWA INDIANS, ARTHUR GAHBOW, WALTER

SUTTON, CARLEEN BENJAMIN AND JOSEPH DUNKLEY

CHARLES J. COOPER MARC D. SLONIM

ALAN K. PALMER Counsel of Record

COOPER, CARVIN JOHN B. ARUM

& ROSENTHAL ZIONTZ, CHESTNUT, VARNELL,

200 K Street, N.W. BERLEY & SLONIM

Suite 401 2101 Fourth Avenue, Suite 1230

Washington, D.C. 20006 Seattle, WA 98121-2331

(202) 822-8960 (206) 448-1230

(Continued)

148477 @ Counse! Press LLC

FORMERLY LUTZ APPELLATE SERVICES

(800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859

JAMES M. GENIA

SOLICITOR GENERAL

MILLE LACS BAND OF

CHIPPEWA INDIANS

HCR 67, Box 194

Onamia, MN 56359

(320) 532-4181

Attorneys for Respondents

Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians,

Arthur Gahbow, Walter Sutton, Carleen Benjamin

and Joseph Dunkley

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the 1855 treaty cession of “all right, title and interest

... in, and to ... lands” abrogate the Mille Lacs Band's

guaranteed privilege to hunt, fish and gather within the territory

ceded in the 1837 treaty, where, after a careful examination of

the historical record, the district court found that neither party

to the 1855 treaty intended the treaty to extinguish usufructuary

rights guaranteed by earlier treaties?

**

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Statement of the Case .......... 0: eee ee ee eeeeeee

1. Historical Background. .............-+5++:

Il. Procedural Background. ...............++>-

Summary of Argument ....... 6... - 66sec essere

1. The 1855 Treaty Did Not Expressly Abrogate The

Mille Lacs Band’s 1837 Hunting And Fishing

Privilege. ......cccccseccccccscsscecceess

A. The Petitioners Disregard the Chippewa’s

Natural Understanding of the Treaty

Lamguage. .... 2... ccc eee ccc ceeeneees

B. The 1855 Treaty Language Does Not Clearly

Extinguish the 1837 Treaty Privilege. ...

C. The Petitioners’ Argument Is Not Supported

by Klamath. .... 0.02250 cccceeeeeeees

Page

18

20

25

Table of Cited Authorities

Page

Il. The District Court’s Careful Examination Of The

Historical Record Shows That The Parties Did Not

Intend To Extinguish The Mille Lacs Band’s 1837

We SUE Sec sikce eo Sscceusececctbins 28

A. There is No Evidence the United States

Intended to Abrogate the Mille Lacs Band's

1837 Hunting and Fishing Rights. ...... 29

B. There Is No Evidence that the Chippewa

Intended to Relinquish their 1837 Hunting

and Fishing Rights. .................. 38

ND Cate et sutacadalbabObdvecddiéedhase 41

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392 (1985) ........... 18, 28

Alaska v. Native Village of Venetie,522 U.S. __, 140 L.

EE oid dak Ciba addin si cveusew 32

Antoine v. Washington, 420 U.S. 194 (1975) ... 22, 23, 26, 37

Choctaw Nation v. Oklahoma, 397 U.S. 620 (1970) .. 19,21

Douglas v. Seacoast Products, 431 U.S. 265 (1977)

iv

Table of Cited Authorities

Page

Eastern Airlines v. Floyd, 499 U.S. 530 (1991) .... 18, 27, 36

Geer v. Connecticut, 161 U.S. 519 (1896) .......... 23

Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat) 1 (1824) ..... 22

Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994) ..........6.45. 21

Johnson v. Gearids, 234 U.S. 422 (1914) ........... 33

Jones v. Meehan, 175 U.S. 1 (1899) ...........555. 19

Kennedy v. Becker, 241 U.S. 556 (1916), ........... 27

Lac Courte Oreilles Band v. Voigt, 700 F.2d 341 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 805 (1983) .......... 34

Lac Courte Oreilles Band v. Wisconsin, 775 F. Supp. 321

CT HE GED vnccncccndvcvedtesecscvescees 22

McKee v. Gratz, 260 U.S. 127 (1922) ............5. 23

Menominee Tribe v. United States, 391 U.S. 404 (1968)

pbdecedbnnns Vasduadenndstabakdoneesevehhes 28, 40

Morton v. Mancari, 417 U.S. 535 (1974) ........... 30

Oregon Dep 't of Fish & Wildlife v. Klamath Indian Tribe,

Be Ee 17-19, 23-28

Pullman Standard vy. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982) .... 29

Table of Cited Authorities

Page

Puyallup Tribe v. Department of Game, 391 U.S. 392

ST 4b oeGhGse baionded bul bbddkeskiwanenes 27

Seufert Bros. Co. v. United States, 249 U.S. 194 (1919)

pibwabebhswwahs cedéénssrhdsetardinedueinaye 40

South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. __, 139

Pc POE. Kile cobeecusensedsces 20, 28, 30, 40

United States v. Dion, 476 U.S. 734 (1986) ......... 28, 40

United States v. Minnesota, 466 F. Supp. 1382 (D. Minn.

1979), aff'd sub nom., Red Lake Band v. Minnesota,

614 F.2d 1161 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 905

Tt ctnatinnsteh «dukes savin dada tehere teens 27

United States v. Winans, 198 U.S. 371 (1905) ....... 23, 27

Warren Trading Post v. Arizona State Tax Comm'n, 380

es ED caso v de bUCEN ethics oc cicenndéeo's 24

Washington v. Washington Commercial Passenger

Fishing Vessel Ass'n, 443 U.S. 658 (1979)

idie tdhehbberivkeniaeeaneatat 19, 23, 24, 27, 28, 33, 38

Yakima County v. Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S. 251

RES ade ak Cates nektanbsbbintesddes cones 24, 25

Zicherman v. Korean Air Lines, 516 U.S. 217, 133 L.

ED che cuds cituntsedaddasaidabe 36

vi

Table of Cited Authorities

Page

Statutes:

PB BEB FOG voc kcc dc cbt yp edsidvscssawesces 22

SS CABG. 6 OBOE on cvnceccvdavdvvcesiveesessccss 23

RIE Vo SF ff GRTOrT TT iT TTT eer 24

Rule:

ad; RGus FP. BR ae sve tek Soot accondicevcceds 29

Treaties:

1825 Treaty of Prairie du Chien, 7 Stat.272 ........ 1, 35

1830 Sauk and Fox Treaty, 7 Stat. 328 ............. 20

1837 Sauk and Fox Treaty, 7 Stat. 543 ............. 20, 21

1837 Treaty with the Chippewa, 7 Stat. 536 ........ passim

1842 Treaty with the Chippewa, 7 Stat. 591 ...... 2, 4, 6, 14

1846 Winnebago Treaty, 9 Stat. 878 ............... 20

1854 Treaty with the Chippewa, 10 Stat. 1109

devedvehes nesdeb eeu 5-7, 10, 14, 17, 29, 30, 35, 37, 40

1854 Treaty with the Nisqually, Puyallup, etc., 10 Stat.

SEE Shidec sve enSOee Pad tran doesn ee etesaee 6

vii

Table of Cited Authorities

; Page

1855 Treaty with the Chippewa, 10 Stat. 1165 ...... passim

1855 Treaty with the Chippewa of Sault Ste. Marie, 11

ME hss oud deh Biplintedeaceeke pans enddp gee 6, 20

1855 Treaty with the Dwamish, Suquamish, etc., 12 Stat.

PL ta kah ith bd cube bh dadekhbdane bene hesseee 6

1855 Treaty with the S’Klallam, 12 Stat.933 ....... 6

1855 Treaty with the Yakimas, 12 Stat.951 ........ 24

1865 Middle Oregon Treaty, 14 Stat. 751. .......... 20

Other Authority:

23 Cong. Globe, 33rd Cong., Ist Sess. (June 15, 1854)

rediuebecbebeuawndeuhaueeaseshdesdeseser 4, 31, 32, 33

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Chippewa Land Cessions, 1837-1855

(Defs. Exh. 1, Page 13; Joint Appendix Page 956) . la

Appendix B — 1847 War Department Map Showing

Chippewa Land Claims (Pls. Exh. 179; Joint Appendix

TEEN 456-04 OEE 6 vba 9s UE eb edbebedbieccees 2a

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians submits

this brief to address the petitioners’ argument that the 1855

treaty abrogated the Mille Lacs Band’s 1837 treaty hunting,

fishing and gathering privilege.’ Pet. Br. at 40-49. As

petitioners’ brief acknowledges (at 41, n.17), this argument

affects only the rights of the Mille Lacs Band because the other

respondent bands were not parties to the 1855 treaty. We show

that the 1855 treaty was intended and understood by the parties

to extinguish all of the Chippewa’s remaining /and claims, but

was not intended or understood to affect the 1837 treaty hunting

and fishing privilege, which existed independently of any nght

to or interest in the lands ceded in that treaty.

I. Historical Background.

A. In 1837, the United States and the Chippewa entered

into a treaty involving the cession of Chippewa lands in present-

day Wisconsin and Minnesota lying north of the boundary

between Chippewa and Sioux territory established in the 1825

Treaty of Prairie du Chien.’ 1837 Treaty with the Chippewa,

1. The Band refers the Court to the briefs of respondents St. Croix

Band et al. and Fond du Lac Band et al. for responses to petitioners’

other arguments.

2. The 1825 Treaty of Prairie du Chien established boundaries

among indigenous groups occupying territory west of Lake Michigan.

7 Stat. 272 (Aug. 19, 1825). The boundary line dividing Chippewa from

Sioux territory to the south started at the Chippewa River in present-day

Wisconsin, extended generally northwest through Minnesota to the Red

River of the North along the present-day border between Minnesota and

North Dakota, and then proceeded north along the Red River to its

confluence with the Goose River (between Fargo and Grand Forks). See

map at Joint Appendix (“JA”) 621. No boundary was established north

or west of this point, although it was later learned that the Pillager and

Red Lake Chippewa had claims to these northwestern areas. See Petition

Appendix (“PA”) 287.

2

7 Stat. 536 (PA 484); see App. JA 956 (App. A attached) for

boundaries of 1837 cession. The Chippewa survived in this

territory by hunting, fishing and gathering, and by planting crops

such as corn and squash. PA 221. Fish and game were abundant

and there was no shortage of land open to hunting and fishing

by the Chippewa or to the handful of pioneering American

settlers who had entered the territory. PA 221-23, 334.

The 1837 treaty negotiations are described in great detail

in the district court’s findings. PA 229-34. The Chippewa agreed

to sell the lands desired by the United States, but insisted on

reserving “the privilege of making sugar from the trees, and

getting their living from the Lakes and Rivers, as they have

done heretofore.” PA 233; JA at 75. Governor Dodge responded

that he would “make known to your Great Father, your request

to be permitted to make sugar, on the lands; and you will be

allowed, during his pleasure, to hunt and fish on them.”

PA 233; JA 78. Accordingly, in Article 1 of the 1837 treaty,

the Chippewa bands “cede[d] to the United States all that tract

of country encompassed within [defined] boundaries” (see App.

A attached), while Article 5 provides:

The privilege of hunting, fishing, and gathering the

wild rice, upon the lands, the rivers and the lakes

included in the territory ceded, is guarantied to the

Indians, during the pleasure of the President of the

United States.’

PA 484, 486.

3. In an 1842 treaty, the Chippewa ceded additional lands in

Wisconsin and the upper peninsula of Michigan while again reserving

hunting and fishing rights on the ceded lands. 1842 Treaty with the

Chippewa, 7 Stat. 591, see App. A attached.

3

In 1847, the Commissioner of Indian Affairs proposed a new

treaty with the Chippewa to acquire two tracts of land immediately

west of the 1837 cession for resettlement of the Winnebego and

Menominee Indians, and to obtain a cession of the Chippewa’s

remaining lands east of the Mississippi. PA 244; see App. A

attached. The Commissioner also hoped to maintain the fiction

that all remaining Chippewa lands belonged equally to all

Chippewa bands, despite the fact “that different bands claim the

exclusive title to different portions of it.” PA 245-46. The

Commissioner’s instructions were accompanied by a memorandum

and map describing the lands ceded by the Chippewa in 1837 and

1842 and those to be acquired from them in the proposed treaty.

JA 131-33. The memorandum describes a line on the map, JA 133

(App. B attached), running from the headwaters of the Mississippi

north to the Canadian border, which was “the Eastern line of the

country represented to be claimed by certain bands of Chippewa

termed ‘Pillagers.’” JA 131-32 (emphasis added). The map

designates land in northern Minnesota as “Chippewa Country”

but shows no western boundary on the “Chippewa Country” or

the lands claimed by the Pillagers. App. B attached. The district

court found that continued uncertainty about the nature and full

extent of Chippewa land claims in this area led to the broad cession

language in the 1855 treaty. PA 285-88; see pp. 10-11 below.

The 1847 treaty negotiations were conducted by Isaac

Verplank and Henry Rice, a major fur trader.‘ PA 246. The

negotiations were largely a failure because no lands east of the

Mississippi were obtained and the negotiators were unable to

maintain the fiction of a single Chippewa nation, as the Chippewa

insisted that the consideration for the cession must go

disproportionately to the bands who had actually used the ceded

lands. PA 246-47; App. A attached.

4. By 1855, Rice was the Minnesota Territory's delegate to the

House of Representatives and he played a major role in the planning

and negotiation of the 1855 treaty. PA 276, 281-82.

4

As noted by the district court, the Commissioner’s 1848

and 1849 annual reports continued to advocate the purchase of

Chippewa lands east of the Mississippi and explained that the

Chippewa owned or possessed lands that included the

headwaters of the Mississippi River and extended north to the

border with Canada and west to the Red River. PA 286-87; see

also JBA 105, 118-19 and App. A attached.’ The

Commissioner's 1850 report added that “the Red lake bands

and the Pillagers claim, by title of conquest and actual

possession, a large tract of country lying west of [the] Red

River.” PA 287; JA 187 (emphasis added).

B. On May 1, 1854, the House of Representatives debated

a bill “to provide for the extinguishment of the title of the

Chippewa Indians to the lands owned and claimed by them in

the Territory of Minnesota and the State of Wisconsin.”

PA 272: JA 248. The bill’s House sponsor explained that it

would authorize a new treaty to extinguish the Indians’ title

“to the lands which they own in the Territory of Minnesota and

to a small portion in the State of Wisconsin.”* JA 249. During

the subsequent Senate debate, the Chairman of the Senate

Committee on Indian Affairs explained that the bill prescribed

that “the Indians shall not be removed from the territory, but

shall be placed upon individual reservations,” and “reserve(d]

to them those rights which are secured by former treaties.”

23 Cong. Globe, 33rd Cong., Ist Sess. 1403-04 (June 15, 1854)

5. JBA refers to the Joint Band Appendix filed by the Mille Lacs

and Wisconsin Bands in the court of appeals.

6. The “small portion” refers to strip of land along the Minnesota-

Wisconsin border that had been excluded from the 1842 treaty cession

as a result of a surveying error. Earlier in 1854, the Wisconsin legislature

had memorialized the President and Congress to extinguish the Indians’

title to “a tract of land about three-fourths of mile in width .. . lying

along the boundary line between the state cf Wisconsin and the territory

of Minnesota, within said state of Wisconsin.” JA 246-47.

5

(emphasis added). The bill passed the House but was tabled by

the Senate until December 1854. PA 272, 275.

Although the bill had not passed the Senate, on August 11,

1854, Commissioner of Indian Affairs George Manypenny wrote

to Indian Agent Henry Gilbert instructing him to initiate treaty

negotiations with representatives from the Chippewa bands

residing between the Mississippi River and Lake Superior in order

to acquire “all the country [the Chippewa] now own or claim in

the territory of Minnesota, the State of Wisconsin or elsewhere,”

except for land that would be used to establish reservations. PA

273; JA 264. Manypenny enclosed the 1847 treaty instructions

and the map (App. B attached), which showed the extent of

Chippewa country and the Pillager land claims extending west to

the Red River and beyond. JA 265, 267. On August 12, 1854,

Manypenny supplemented these instructions, instructing Gilbert

that if the location of the Chippewa reservations made the

provisions for farmers, blacksmiths and other services in former

treaties of no use, he should insert in the new treaty a provision

“cancelling ... these provisions.”’ PA 273; JA 269. Manypenny

did not suggest the cancellation of hunting and fishing rights

reserved in earlier treaties. PA 273.

The 1854 treaty was signed in September by those Chippewa

bands residing in the vicinity of Lake Superior and along the

Mississippi River. 1854 Treaty with the Chippewa, 10 Stat. 1109

(PA 490). For unexplained reasons, the Mille Lacs Band was not

a party to the 1854 treaty despite its use of a portion of the territory

ceded by that treaty as a hunting ground. PA 273. On October 17,

1854, Agent Gilbert transmitted the treaty to Commissioner

Manypenny with an explanatory letter. PA 273; JA 270. According

to Gilbert, the Mississippi Chippewa bands refused to sell their

remaining lands “on any terms,” and there was “much jealousy

7. For example, Article 2 of the 1837 treaty provided for the

payment of non-Indian farmers and establishment of three blacksmith

shops at points to be designated by the government. PA 485.

6

and ill-feeling” between the Mississippi and Lake Superior

bands. PA 273; JA 271. Gilbert solved these problems by

persuading the Chippewa to establish a boundary line between

the Lake Superior and Mississippi bands, convincing the

Mississippi bands to relinquish their claims to the lands

occupied by the Lake Superior bands, and then inducing the

Lake Superior bands to cede their title to the United States. PA

273; JA 271-72; see App. A attached (for boundaries of 1854

cession). Payment for the cession included “two hundred guns,

one hundred rifles, five hundred beaver traps, [and] three

hundred dollars worth of ammunition.” PA 494. Article 2

established reservations for the signatory bands within the 1837,

1842 and 1854 cessions. PA 491-92. The 1854 treaty does not

contain a provision abrogating hunting and fishing rights

secured by earlier treaties, but instead, in Article 11, establishes

new treaty hunting and fishing rights in the territory ceded in

the treaty. PA 495.

The district court found that preservation of off-reservation

hunting and fishing rights was not inconsistent with

Commissioner Manypenny’s policy of establishing reservations.

PA 289. Many of the more than 40 treaties negotiated during

Manypenny’s tenure expressly reserve the Indians’ right to hunt

and fish off-reservation,* and only one, the 1855 Treaty with

the Chippewa of Sault Ste. Marie, 11 Stat. 631, expressly

extinguished an off-reservation hunting, fishing, or gathering

right, and that followed destruction of a fishery by a government

canal project. PA 289. The Chippewa were told by treaty

negotiator Henry Gilbert in 1854 that the reservations “were

not to confine us all together to live upon them — that we should

have the privilege of going out of [them] whenever we had a

mind for hunting purposes.” PA 274; JA 381.

8. See, e.g., Treaty with the Nisqually, Puyallup, etc., 10 Stat. 1132

(1854); Treaty with the Dwamish, Suquamish, etc., 12 Stat. 927 (1855);

Treaty with the S’Klallam, 12 Stat. 933 (1855).

5

On December 8, 1854, Manypenny forwarded the 1854

treaty, along with Gilbert's October 17 letter, to Secretary of

the Interior McClelland. PA 275; JA 283. He recommended

that the Secretary delete two objectionable provisions, relating

to payments to be made to certain chiefs, but expressed no

concern about the 1854 treaty’s reservation of hunting and

fishing rights on ceded lands.’ PA 275; JA 283. The Senate

passed the bill regarding extinguishment of Chippewa title to

their remaining lands on December 17, 1854, and the President

signed it on December 19. PA 275, 532. On December 20 the

President forwarded the 1854 treaty to the Senate without

change, and the Senate ratified it on January 10, 1855. PA 275;

JA 282.

C. On December 17, 1854, the day the Senate passed the

authorizing legislation discussed above, Henry Rice, then

Minnesota's territorial delegate to Congress, notified

Commissioner Manypenny of the bill’s passage and

recommended that a treaty be negotiated in Washington with

the Mississippi, Pillager and Lake Winnibigoshish bands.'°

PA 276. According to Rice, those bands

own(ed] all the lands drained by the waters of the

Mississippi, a part of the lands on the Red river of

the north (from its source on down) and also the lands

9. Commissioner Manypenny never indicated that the hunting and

fishing provision conflicted in any way with the “extinguishment of Indian

title,” which was the primary object of the 1854 and 1855 treaties. JA 1361-

62 (Newell Cross Examination)

10. The “Mississippi” bands occupied lands along the Mississippi

River near the Crow Wing agency, while the “Pillager and Lake

Winnibigoshish bands” resided in the vicinity of Leech Lake at the

headwaters of the Mississippi. See App. A attached (for location of

geographical references).

situate[d] north of the Mississippi and to the British

possessions."'

PA 276; JA 286-87 (emphasis added); see App. A attached.

On January 4, 1855, Commissioner Manypenny wrote to

Territorial Governor Willis Gorman, directi a | him to have a

ippewa delegation brought to Washington for negotiations

a RS ” PA 276; JA 288.

Following Rice’s advice, Manypenny asked Gorman to send

“ “Hole in the Day’ and six other principal chiefs of the Chippewa

Indians of the Mississippi” and, if possible, “ ‘Flat Mouth’ and

two other chiefs of the Pillagers and the principal and two other

chiefs of the bands near Lake [Winnibigoshish].” PA 276; JA 288.

Manypenny did not ask Gorman to inform the Chippewa that the

negotiations would involve the extinguishment of the 1837 treaty

hunting and fishing privilege or ask him to send the other Chippewa

bands who hunted and fished in the 1837 ceded territory. PA 277.

The 1855 treaty was negotiated between February 12 and 22,

1855. PA 277. Hole-in-the-Day served as spokesman for the

Mississippi bands and Flat Mouth was the principal spokesman

for the Pillager and Lake Winnibigoshish bands. PA 277-78.

Commissioner Manypenny represented the United States. PA 278.

The Mille Lacs delegation arrived at some point after the start of

the proceedings, but no statement is attributed to them until after

the treaty was signed. PA 277-78. All discussions were conducted

through interpreters. PA 278. Commissioner Manypenny observed

that

one great impediment to a good understanding between

the government and the Indians arose from the fact

11. Rice’s description reflects the information and the map

provided to him with the 1847 treaty instructions. JA 131-33 and App.

B attached. See p. 3 above.

9

that the latter cannot read or understand the contracts

which they make.

PA 278; JA 305 (1855 Treaty Journal).

The district court found that the Chippewa understood that

the purpose of the treaty was the sale of their remaining lands

in northern Minnesota and repeated this understanding during

the negotiations. PA 279. For example, at one point the Pillager

representative, Flat Mouth, remarked: “It appears to me that |

understand what you want, and your views from the few words

I have heard you speak. You want land.” PA 279; JA 309

Commissioner Manypenny’s response did nothing to alter this

understanding:

He appears to understand the object of this

interview. His people had more land than they

wanted or could use, and stood in need of money;

and I have more money than | need, but want more

land.

PA 279; JA 309. At another point, Hole-in-the-Day said to

Commissioner Manypenny: “Your words strike us in this way.

They are very short. ‘I want to buy your land.’ These words are

very expressive — very curt.” PA 279; JA 304. The district

found that the negotiations focused largely on the estimated

number of acres and the price per acre. PA 279. Although there

were discussions about the desirability of the Chippewa settling

down as farmers, the district court found that a cession of the

Chippewa’s 1837 treaty hunting and fishing privilege was never

proposed. JA 284. The district court also found that in 1855

the Chippewa depended on hunting, fishing and gathering for

their survival and would not knowingly have relinquished their

special hunting and fishing privilege without discussion.

PA 298, 325.

10

The treaty was signed on February 22, 1855. Article |

contains two sentences. The first cedes a defined tract of land:

The Mississippi, Pillager, and Lake Winnibigoshish

bands of Chippewa Indians hereby cede, sell, and

convey to the United States all their right, title, and

interest in, and to, the lands now owned and claimed

by them, and included within the following

boundaries... .

1855 Treaty with the Chippewa, 10 Stat. 1165 (PA 502-03).

The defined tract is north and northwest of the 1837 cession,

but does not include all of the unceded lands in Minnesota north

to the Canadian border, or west to the Red River and beyond.

See App. A attached (showing two remaining tracts of unceded

land to the north and west of 1855 cession). Thus, it does not

include a significant portion of the lands that Manypenny

understood were claimed by the Lake Winnibigoshish and

Pillager bands, in light of the 1847 map he forwarded to Gilbert

in preparation for the 1854 treaty negotiations (JA 267 and App.

B attached), the 1848, 1849 and 1850 annual reports, and Rice's

December 17, 1854, letter. PA 286-88. The district court found

that the following second sentence of Article 1 was included to

extinguish these additional, ill-defined land claims:

And the said Indians do further fully and entirely

relinquish and convey to the United States, any and

all nght, title, and interest, of whatsoever nature the

same may be, which they may now have in, and to

any other lands in the Territory of Minnesota or

elsewhere. [PA 503].

See PA 286-88.

In support of its finding, the district court cited

Commissioner Manypenny’s February 23, 1855, transmittal

letter to Secretary of the Interior McClelland, which states:

I have the honor to transmit ... articles of

agreement and convention, concluded upon

yesterday, with the Mississippi, Pillager and Lake

Winnibigoshish bands of Chippewa Indians, in

Minnesota, by which they cede and convey to the

United States all the lands owned and claimed by

them in that Territory, and whatever right or interest

they may have in other lands in common with other

Indians there or eisewhere.

The quantity of land ceded, according to the

boundaries defined in the first article, is estimated

at from eleven million to fourteen millions of acres,

besides which, those Indians (and especially the

Pillager and Lake Winnibigoshish bands) have some

right [or] interest in a large extent of other lands in

common with other Indians in Minnesota, which

right or interest, as above stated, is also ceded to

the United States.

PA 285-86; JA 291-92 (emphasis supplied by district court).

The district court found that the emphasized passage refers to

the second sentence of Article 1, which was added to the treaty

to ensure that the Pillager and Lake Winnibigoshish Chippewa

did not have any remaining claims to unceded lands located

north and west of the territory ceded in the first sentence of

Article 1. PA 286; see App. A attached (for location of these

unceded lands). Manypenny’s transmittal letter makes no

mention of the 1837 treaty privilege. PA 288; JA 291-94.

The district court found that the Chippewa would have

understood the treaty language to extinguish their remaining

12

land claims, not their treaty hunting and fishing rights. PA 324.

The words “relinquish and convey to the United States, any

and all right, title, and interest, of whatsoever nature the same

may be,” have no Chippewa equivalent, and any attempt to

translate them literally would have had no meaning in

Chippewa. PA 284; JA 857-62 (Report of Dr. Nichols). The

most likely translation of this language would have indicated

that the Chippewa were ceding all of their remaining lands in

the same way that they had ceded portions of their lands in

1837, 1842 and 1854, but “would not have been understood to

affect the hunting, fishing, and gathering provision in the 1837

treaty.” PA 284; JA 861-62.

Article 2 of the 1855 treaty reserved lands for the

“permanent homes” of the Indians. PA 503-04. The Mille Lacs

Reservation was established on the southern shore of Mille Lacs

Lake, within the 1837 ceded territory, and in close proximity

to the Band’s traditional fishing grounds and wild ricing areas.

PA 283; see also JA 749-750 (Report of Dr. Cleland); JA 1368-

69 (Newell Cross) and App. A attached (for location of Mille

Lacs Lake). Article 3 provides the consideration for the land

cession, including “guns, traps &c.” as well as gunpowder, lead

and gilling twine. PA 283, 509. Article 9 provided that the

Chippewa would

settle down in the peaceful pursuits of life,

commence the cultivation of the soil ... and

[undertake] such other objects of improvement and

convenience, as are incident to well regulated

society,

but did not confine the Chippewa to their reservations or

prohibit them from continuing to hunt and fish off-reservation.

PA 283-84, 512-13.

13

D. While the 1855 negotiations were underway in

Washington, a controversy was brewing in Minnesota over a

lumbering dam on the Rum River, just south of Mille Lacs Lake

and within the 1837 ceded territory. PA 269; see App. A (for

location of Rum River). The Mille Lacs Chippewa threatened

to tear out the dam because it was flooding their wild rice crops.

PA 269. On February 16, 1855, Governor Gorman wrote to

Commissioner Manypenny to notify him about the conflict and

explained that the Mille Lacs Band had “no other treaty interests

[in the pertinent area] except hunting and fishing.”"? PA 270;

JA 295-96 (emphasis added). Although the correspondence

reached Commissioner Manypenny after the 1855 treaty was

signed, the Commissioner never wrote back to suggest that the

1855 treaty extinguished the Band's hunting and fishing right.

Instead, a compromise was brokered in July 1855 in which the

lumbermen agreed to compensate the Band for the loss of its

rice crop. PA 271 and n.13.

About two weeks after the treaty negotiations concluded,

the Chippewa again met with Commissioner Manypenny in

Washington. The parties agreed that the annual payments

required under the treaty would be made in early September,

to avoid disruption of fall fisheries. PA 289-90; JA 751-52

(Report of Dr. Cleland). Commissioner Manypenny encouraged

the Chippewa to continue trapping and selling furs, and gave

no indication that these vocations would be affected by the 1855

treaty. PA 290, JA 751.

| Although Minnesota first enacted fish and game regulations

in the year of its admission, the district court found that it did

not begin to enforce such laws systematically unti] 1892. PA

298. The court found that Chippewa repeatedly protested,

| 12. Gorman reiterated this point in a letter to the Chippewa, but

insisted that they had no right to remove the dam because it was on

ceded lands. PA 271.

14

claiming these enforcement efforts violated their rights under

the 1837, 1842 and 1854 treaties. PA 326; see also JA 1804.

Notwithstanding complaints from non-Indians about Chippewa

off-reservation hunting and fishing, there is only a single

instance, in 1926, approximately 70 years after the treaty was

signed, in which federal officials even arguably suggested that

the 1855 treaty affected the Chippewa’s right to hunt and fish

under the 1837 treaty." PA 299-300; JA 543-44.

The district court also found that throughout the latter half

of the 19th and the early part of the 20th century, the Mille

Lacs Chippewa continued to hunt and fish in the 1837 ceded

territory, despite the efforts of some in state government to

either confine them to their reservation or have them removed

to the White Earth Reservation in northwestern Minnesota. PA

292-98. Moreover, the United States affirmatively supported

Chippewa off-reservation hunting, fishing and gathering, by

supplying guns, traps, fish nets and other gear, and agreeing to

make annuity payments at times that would not interfere with

these activities. PA 293. Although Mille Lacs Chippewa have

long since “settle[d] down in the peaceful pursuits of life,” the

trial testimony of three Band members demonstrated that they

continue to hunt, fish and gather for subsistence and to sustain

their cultural and religious life. PA 220, 326.

Il. Procedural Background.

In August 1990, the Mille Lacs Band and four of its

members filed a complaint against the petitioners alleging that

enforcement of State fish and game laws violated the Band's

rights under the 1837 treaty. PA 214-15. The petitioners’ answer

raised the 1850 executive order and 1855 treaty as affirmative

13. The 1926 letter suggested that Article 5 of the 1837 treaty was

“modified” by the 1855 treaty to the extent that the lands in question

were “within any of the land ceded” in 1855. JA 543-44.

15

defenses, but did not raise the Minnesota Admission Act or the

equal footing doctrine. PA 216. The district court divided the

litigation into phases: the first to determine the existence, nature

and scope of the right, and the second to address implementation

of the right. PA 217-18. In 1993, following the Minnesota state

legislature’s rejection of a settlement agreement signed by the

Band and State executive officials, nine counties and six private

landowners intervened as defendants and the United States

intervened as a plaintiff. PA 72, 217.

The Phase I trial occurred over three weeks in June and

July 1994, during which the district court heard extensive live

testimony and received into evidence hundreds of exhibits. PA

218. Upon review of this extensive evidentiary record, the

district court made detailed findings regarding the historical

circumstances surrounding the negotiation of the 1837 and 1855

treaties as well as the issuance and subsequent repeal of the

1850 executive order. PA 220-301. Based on comprehensive

findings of fact (PA 272-301), the district court concluded that

“[njeither the United States nor the Chippewa intended to

extinguish in the 1855 treaty the usufructuary privilege

guaranteed by the 1837 treaty.”"* PA 331. The district court

ruled that the Mille Lacs Band’s 1837 treaty hunting and fishing

rights continued to exist, but also held that these rights could

only be exercised on land open to public hunting and fishing

because the 1837 treaty did not provide the Chippewa with any

rights of access.'* PA 334, 337-38. After Phase II proceedings,

the district court entered final judgment in 1997. PA 158-64.

14. The petitioners disingenuously characterize the district court's

discussion of the evidence as “abbreviated.” Pet. Br. at 45. Ironically,

their petition for certiorari took the district court to task for its “elaborate

recital of evidence” regarding the 1855 treaty. Cert. Pet. at 19.

15. The district court also rejected, on three separate grounds, the

petitioners’ 1850 executive order defense. PA 304-21.

16

The Eighth Circuit affirmed the district court’s Phase |

decision in its entirety. PA 72. With respect to the petitioners’

1855 treaty defense, the court of appea’s concluded “that the

district court’s factual findings regarding the intentions of the

parties to the 1855 Treaty are well supported” and not “clearly

erroneous.” PA 37. The court of appeals’ conclusion was based

on

the absence of any mention of the 1837 Treaty or

its usufructuary rights in the 1855 Treaty or its

negotiation process, and the lack of evidence that

the parties intended to extinguish these rights.

PA 37-38.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In the first sentence of Article 1 of the 1855 treaty, the

Chippewa ceded lands within a defined boundary, and in the

second sentence they ceded “any and all right, title and interest

... In, and to any other lands” in Minnesota or elsewhere. PA

503. This language does not extinguish the Mille Lacs Band’s

1837 treaty privilege for the following reasons. First, because

the 1837 treaty privilege provides no right of access to land, it

is not a “right to” or “interest in” land. Rather, like a modern-

day hunting or fishing license, it guarantees the Chippewa a

non-exclusive privilege to engage in the specific activities of

hunting and fishing on lands and waters otherwise open to the

public. No one would contend that a modern hunting or fishing

license conveys an interest in land, and the 1837 privilege did

not do so either.

Second, even if the 1837 privilege technically might be

characterized as a right to or interest in land, the 1855 treaty

cannot be construed based on the technical meaning of its words

to learned lawyers, but must be interpreted according to the

17

sense in which the language would have naturally been

understood by the Indians. Based on repeated statements of

government officials before, during, and after the treaty

negotiations, the Chippewa understood that the treaty

extinguished all of their remaining land claims, but not the

special hunting and fishing privilege guaranteed by the 1837

treaty. Any ambiguities in the treaty language should, moreover,

be resolved in the Indians’ favor.

Third, the district court found that there was no evidence

that either party to the 1855 treaty intended to extinguish the

Chippewa’s 1837 treaty hunting and fishing rights. Instead, the

parties intended that the 1855 treaty would extinguish all of

the Chippewa’s remaining /and claims. The evidence

considered by the district court included: (1) the 1854 treaty

which preserved the 1837 treaty privilege of the other bands

party to this case and established new hunting and fishing rights

across millions of acres of northeastern Minnesota; (2) the 1854

authorizing legislation which mandated the extinguishment of

all Chippewa land claims, but was expressly intended to reserve

rights secured by former treaties; (3) the record of the 1855

treaty negotiations which contains extensive reference to the

cession of Chippewa lands but no mention of treaty hunting

and fishing rights; (4) Commissioner Manypenny’s treaty

transmittal letter which identifies the specific land claims the

government intended to extinguish by the second sentence of

Article 1 but which contains no hint that this language was

intended to abrogate the 1837 treaty privilege; and (5) the

Chippewa’s dependence on hunting and fishing which makes

it inconceivable that the Mille Lacs Band would have consented

to a cession of a special treaty hunting and fishing privilege

without any discussion.

The facts of this case thus diverge sharply from those in

Oregon Dep't of Fish & Wildlife v. Klamath Indian Tribe, 473

U.S. 753 (1985), where the Court held that an exclusive, on-

18

reservation hunting and fishing right was ceded when a tribe

relinquished all of its rights and interests in and to reservation

land. Here, by contrast, the broad land cession language in the

1855 treaty does not encompass, and was not intended to

encompass, the non-exclusive 1837 treaty privilege of hunting,

fishing and gathering on the lands and waters of the 1837 ceded

territory — a privilege which exists independently of any

interest in the lands themselves.

ARGUMENT

I.

THE 1855 TREATY DID NOT EXPRESSLY

ABROGATE THE MILLE LACS BAND’S 1837

HUNTING AND FISHING PRIVILEGE.

Relying on Klamath, the petitioners assert that the language

of the second sentence of Article I of the 1855 treaty would

“obviously appear to extinguish” the Mille Lacs Band’s hunting

and fishing rights under the 1837 treaty. Pet. Br. at 13. With no

analysis, they ask the Court to accept their interpretation of the

treaty language as “self-evident.” Jd. at 41. We show that the

petitioners’ interpretation is not self-evident, and that under

this Court’s prior cases, including Klamath, the 1855 treaty

language does not constitute an express abrogation of the Mille

Lacs Band’s 1837 treaty privilege.

A. The Petitioners Disregard the Chippewa’s Natural

Understanding of the Treaty Language.

Determining how treaty language was understood by the

treaty parties is a fundamental part of the interpretation of any

treaty. Eastern Airlines v. Floyd, 499 U.S. 530, 536 (1991);

Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392, 399 (1985). But it is especially

19

important here given the Chippewa’s inability to read and

converse in ordinary English, much less the legal jargon

employed in Article 1 of the 1855 treaty.'* PA 278. The Court,

for this reason, has repeatedly cautioned that Indian treaties

“are not to be considered as exercises in ordinary

conveyancing,” Choctaw Nation v. Oklahoma, 397 U.S. 620,

630-31 (1970), and must “ ‘be construed, not according to the

technical meaning of [their] words to learned lawyers, but in

the sense in which they would naturally be understood by the

Indians.’ ” Washington v. Washington Commercial Passenger

Fishing Vessel Ass'n, 443 U.S. 658, 675-76 (1979) (emphasis

added), quoting Jones v. Meehan, 175 U.S. 1, 11 (1899).

The district court’s findings respecting the “sense” in which

the words of the 1855 treaty “would naturally be understood

by the Indians,” do not support the proposition that the

interpretation of the treaty language advanced by the petitioners

would have been “self-evident” to the Chippewa. Pet. Br. at

41. Expert testimony established that the pertinent treaty

language does not have a Chippewa equivalent and could not

have been translated literally into Chippewa. PA 284, 324; JA

857-62 (Report of Dr. Nichols). The most likely translation of

the language would have been the Chippewa equivalent of

“relinquish and transfer to the United States the lands.” PA

284. This translation would not have conveyed any “sense” that

the treaty relinquished of the 1837 treaty privilege, but instead

would have “convey([ed] only that the Chippewa were giving

up their remaining lands.”'’ PA 284, 325. Because the

16. The facts of this case are unlike Klamath, 473 U.S. at 772,

where the Indians could speak and understand English and were

represented by attorneys.

17. Notably, the petitioners offered no evidence at trial about the

Chippewa understanding of the second sentence of Article |. Moreover,

the petitioners’ historian conceded that the second sentence of Article |

was never specifically discussed in the treaty negotiations. JA 1369

(Newell Cross-Examination).

20

petitioners’ interpretation of the 1855 treaty language ignores

the Chippewa's natural understanding of the language, 1t was

properly rejected.

B. The 1855 Treaty Language Does Not Clearly Extinguish

the 1837 Treaty Privilege.

Even when read according to its technical legal meaning,

the second sentence of Article 1 does not unambiguously

extinguish the Mille Lacs Band's 1837 treaty privilege. The

1855 treaty neither mentions the 1837 treaty privilege nor

provides a fixed sum payment for an alleged cession of the

privilege. Cf. South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S.

, 139 L. Ed. 2d 773, 787 (1998). This is in sharp contrast to

language drafted by Commissioner Manypenny a few months

later in the Treaty with the Chippewa of Sault Ste. Marie, which

expressly revokes fishing rights reserved in an earlier treaty

and provides compensation for the cession. 11 Stat. 631 (Aug.

2, 1855) (“The said Chippewa Indians surrender to the United

States the right of fishing at the falls of St. Mary’s and of

encampment, convenient to the fishing ground, secured to them

by the treaty of June 16, 1820”).'* Commissioner Manypenny’s

18. The court of appeals noted that similar express language has

been used to revoke other usufructuary rights. PA 36-37. The 1830 Sauk

and Fox treaty provided for the use of ceded lands for hunting and other

purposes by “such ... Tribes as the President may locate thereon.” 7

Stat. 328. To extinguish that right, the 1837 Sauk and Fox treaty contains

a specific “cession{ } . . . [o)}f all the right to locate, for hunting or other

purposes, on the land ceded 1n the first article of the treaty of July | Sth,

1830,” in addition to a general cession of “all interest or claim by virtue

of the provisions of any treaties.” 7 Stat. 543. The 1846 Winnebego

treaty pays “forty thousand dollars for release of hunting privileges, on

lands adjacent to their present home,” in addition to a payment of

$150,000 for “the land.” 9 Stat. 878. The 1865 Middle Oregon treaty

provides that “the right to take fish, erect houses, hunt game, gather

roots and bernes, and pasture animals upon lands without the reservation

set apart by the treaty aforesaid — [is] hereby relinquished,” and provides

compensation “for the relinquishment™ of these rights. 14 Stat. 751.

21

failure to use here the kind of unambiguous language of cession

used in the 1855 Sault Ste. Marie and other treaties strongly

suggests that the government did not intend to abrogate the

1837 treaty privilege and by itself justifies a careful examination

of all the historical circumstances to determine the intent of

the parties. Choctaw Nation, 397 U.S. at 631 (rejecting a similar

“plain meaning” argument where “the United States was

competent to say the ‘north side’ or ‘bank’ of the Arkansas

River when that was what it meant, as it had in [an earlier]

grant to the Cherokees”); see also Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S.

399, 412 (1994) (absence of language providing definite

payment for alleged reservation diminishment “requires us to

examine all the circumstances surrounding the opening of a

reservation”).

The petitioners argue that the kind of unambiguous

language contained in the Sault Ste. Marie treaty was

unnecessary here because the 1855 Chippewa treaty contains

“all-encompassing relinquishment language.” Pet. Br. at 48-

49; but see n.18 above (discussing 1837 Sauk and Fox treaty).

However, the 1855 treaty cession of all “right, title and interest

...Inand to. . . lands” does not “encompass” the 1837 hunting

and fishing privilege unless the 1837 privilege is a “right to”

or “interest in” lands. The petitioners provide no analysis to

show that it is such a right or interest, and a review of the

essential attributes of the privilege shows that it is not.

The lower courts held — and petitioners agree — that the

1837 treaty privilege secures no right of access or entry to

lands.” PA 70, 337-38; see Pet. Br. at 35. Instead, the 1837

19. The district court reasoned that since Wisconsin territorial law

allowed the public to hunt, fish and gather on all unenclosed, unposted

and undeveloped lands and an abundant amount of land was open for

these purposes, it was unnecessary to provide the Chippewa with a treaty

right of access to land. PA 334. This is consistent with the parties’

contemporaneous understanding of treaty hunting and fishing nghts.

(Cont'd)

22

treaty guarantees that the Chippewa can engage in the protected

activities of hunting and fishing in areas otherwise open to

public hunting and fishing. PA 71, 337-38; see also Lac Courte

Oreilles Band v. Wisconsin, 775 F. Supp. 321, 323-24 (W.D.

Wis. 1991). The rights secured by the 1837 treaty are thus akin

to those secured by a federal hunting and fishing permit, see.

e.g., 16 U.S.C. § 704 (permits allowing the taking of migratory

birds), or the federal fishing privileges granted pursuant to the

long-standing vessel licensing statutes analyzed in Douglas v.

Seacoast Products, 431 U.S. 265 (1977). Such federal licenses

have been held to provide “the ‘authority . . . to carry on’ the

licensed activity,” and therefore preempt certain discriminatory

state regulations. /d. at 280-81, quoting Gibbons v. Ogden,

22 U.S. (9 Wheat) 1, 212 (1824).”

(Cont'd)

See PA 271 (Gorman’s understanding that the 1837 treaty gave the

Chippewa an interest in harvesting wild rice but no right to interfere

with the erection of a dam on ceded land); JA 381 (Chippewa

understanding that hunting rights meant that “an Indian should not be

permitted to trespass on a white man’s or anybody else's property,” but

should be able “to go on government lands ... whenever a man wants

to go out and hunt and kill game”). A contrary holding would greatly

expand the rights of the other Chippewa bands and have serious

consequences for rights adjudicated in previous cases. See, e.g., Antoine

v. Washington, 420 U.S. 194, 207 n.1 1 (1975) (“claim of entitlement to

hunt on fenced or posted land without permission of the owner would

raise serious questions”).

20. The Enrollment and Licensing Act of 1793 provided for

registration and licensing of vessels to be employed in trading. whaling

and fishing in United States waters. Douglas, 431 U.S. at 273. The Court

has held that under the Act, States may impose upon federal licensees

only those “reasonable, nondiscriminatory conservation and

environmental protection measures otherwise within their police power,”

Douglas, 431 U.S. at 277, a restriction somewhat analogous to the

standards for state regulation of treaty hunting rights set out in Antoine,

420 US. at 207 (state may impose reasonabie and necessary conservation

measures that do not discriminate against the Indians).

23

Federal rights to take wild fish and game, whether secured

by a federal permit or license or by a treaty guarantee, are not

“rights to” or “interests in” land. Under the common law, wild

fish and game are not considered part of the realty and are not

subject to private ownership until reduced to possession. McKee

v. Gratz, 260 U.S. 127, 137 (1922) (shellfish not “part of the

realty” within the meaning of a state statute giving treble

damages for interference with real property); Geer v.

Connecticut, 161 U.S. 519, 526-30 (1896); see also Douglas,

431 U.S. at 290 (Rehnquist J. concurring and dissenting in part)

(federal grant of “title” and “ownership” to land in Submerged

Lands Act, 16 U.S.C. § 1311(a), “could not reasonably refer to

free-swimming fish which are incapable of such ownership”).

The prior holdings of this Court confirm that Indian treaties

may secure important hunting and fishing rights, which are

independent of any interests in land and which, by virtue of the

Supremacy Clause, preempt inconsistent state regulations. See

Klamath, 473 U.S. at 765-66 (“Indians may enjoy specia

hunting and fishing rights that are independent of any ownership

of land”); Antoine, 420 U.S. at 207 & n.11 (upholding Indians’

challenge to State fish and game regulations even though the

Indians disclaimed any “entitlement to hunt on fenced or posted

private land without prior permission of the owner”).”' Thus,

while the 1837 treaty hunting and fishing privilege must be

exercised in a particular locale, it is not a “right to” or “interest

in” land. Had the treaty secured an analogous right, such as

21. Relying on United States v. Winans, 198 U.S. 371, 381 (1905),

Thompson et al. argue that the 1837 treaty privilege is an “interest related

to land.” Th. Br. at 34. However, the treaty at issue in Winans, unlike

the 1837 treaty, preserved the Indians’ right of access to specific “usual

and accustomed” fishing places. Moreover, the Court held in Fishing

Vessel, 443 U.S. at 675, that the “specific provision for access in that

treaty was intended to secure a greater right” to harvest the runs of

anadromous fish. This “greater right,” which protects the activity of

fishing itself, is not a real property interest.

24

“the right, in common with the citizens of the United States, to

travel upon all public highways,” 1855 Treaty with the Yakimas,

Art. III, 12 Stat. 951, no one would suggest that it was a “right

to” or “interest in” lands.”

It is a “principle deeply rooted in this Court’s Indian

jurisprudence” that treaties must be “construed liberally in favor

of the Indians, with ambiguous provisions interpreted to their

benefit.” Yakima County v. Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S.

251, 269 (1992), see also Klamath, 473 U.S. at 774. In Yakima,

502 U.S. at 268-69, the Court applied this rule to hold that

statutory language authorizing state “taxation of land” did not

encompass “ ‘taxation with respect to land,” ‘taxation of

transactions involving land,’ or ‘taxation based on the value of

land,’ ” and hence did not authorize a county excise tax on sales

of tribally owned fee lands. Similarly here, the 1855 treaty

explicitly extinguishes “right[s] . . . and interest[s] . . . in, and

to... lands,” but does not extinguish “interests related to lands”

or “rights which may be exercised within a particular

geographic area.” As in Yakima, while the petitioners’

interpretation of the 1855 treaty language perhaps does “not

exceed the bounds of permissible construction,” the Band's

interpretation of the 1855 treaty language is not only “quite

reasonable,” 502 U.S. at 268, but also accords with the

Chippewa’s “natural understanding” of the language. Fishing

Vessel, 443 U.S. at 675-76. Under these circumstances, the

district court properly undertook a “careful examination” of

the circumstances surrounding the 1855 treaty, and resolved

22. Likewise, the holder of a federal license to trade on an Indian

reservation under 25 U.S.C. § 261 ef seg. does not possess a “right to”

or an “interest in” reservation lands; instead the license provides federal

authority to engage in the activity of trade and commerce within a

designated area, and limits the state's power to regulate that activity.

See Warren Trading Post v. Arizona State Tax Comm'n, 380 U.S. 685,

691 (1965).

25

any ambiguities in the treaty language “for the benefit of the

Tribe.” Yakima, 502 U.S. at 269; Klamath, 473 U.S. at 774.

C. The Petitioners’ Argument Is Not Supported by Klamath.

Notwithstanding the ambiguities in the treaty language and

the evidence that the Indians would not have understood the

language to affect their 1837 hunting and fishing privilege, the

petitioners insist that under Klamath, the 1855 treaty

nevertheless must be construed as “effective to extinguish

previously reserved hunting and fishing rights.” Pet. Br. at 42.

Klamath involved rights provided in an 1864 treaty which

created a 1.9 million-acre reservation and secured “the exclusive

right of taking fish in the streams and lakes, included in said

reservation, and of gathering edible roots, seeds and berries

within its limits.” 473 U.S. at 755 (emphasis added). The treaty

required the Indians to “remove to said reservation and remain

thereon” and provided for no off-reservation usufructuary

rights. Jd. at 767. Due to a surveying error, approximately

600,000 acres of land was erroneously excluded from the

reservation.” /d. at 757. In 1901, the Tribe agreed to “cede,

surrender, grant and convey to the United States all their claim,

right, title and interest in and to” the lands excluded from the

reservation by the survey. /d. at 760.

The Court acknowledged that “Indians may enjoy special

hunting and fishing rights that are independent of any ownership

23. The petitioners mistakenly contend that the rights at issue in

Klamath were non-exclusive, off-reservation rights. Pet. Br. at 43. While

the United States had erroneously allowed entry to reservation land, the

Klamath Tribe still legally held exclusive hunting and fishing nghts on

these lands under the terms of the 1864 treaty. The Court rejected the

Tribe's claim that these exclusive, on-reservation rights were somehow

converted to non-exclusive, off-reservation rights by the cession of

reservation land. Klamath, 473 U.S. at 769-70 & n. 20.

26

of land,” id. at 765-66, but held that the exclusive hunting and

fishing rights secured under the 1864 Treaty were appurtenant

to the reservation and ceded when the reservation was

diminished in 1901. Jd. at 768. “More important[ }” than the

broad language of cession was the fact that the 1864 treaty

“plainly describe[d] rights intended to be exercised within the

limits of the reservation.” Jd. at 766. The Court reasoned:

The fact that the rights were characterized as

exclusive forecloses the possibility that they were

intended to have existence outside of the reservation,

no exclusivity would be possible on lands open to

non-Indians. Moreover, in view of the fact that

Article I restricted members of the Tribe to the

reservation .. . , it is manifest that the rights secured

to the Indians by that same Article did not exist

independently of the reservation itself.

Id. at 767-68. The Tribe’s later claim of a special, non-

exclusive, off-reservation right was inconsistent with the terms

of the 1864 treaty. Jd. at 770.

In contrast to the Klamath Tribe’s exclusive, on-reservation

hunting and fishing right, which was relinquished when the

boundaries of its reservation were diminished, the Mille Lacs

Band’s 1837 treaty privilege was always a non-exclusive right

that could be exercised on ceded lands. It is the very type of

“special hunting and fishing right” recognized by the Court in

Klamath to exist “independent of any ownership of land.”™ 473

24. The five cases cited by the Court for this proposition all

involved non-exclusive hunting, fishing or gathering rights reserved by

treaties or agreements on ceded lands. In Antoine, the Indians ceded “all

their right, title, claim and interest in” the land, while reserving “the

right to hunt and fish in common with all other persons on lands not

(Cont'd)

27

U.S. at 765-66 & nn. 16-17 (emphasis added). Given the

rationale of Klamath, a non-exclusive hunting and fishing right

which is expressly secured by treaty on ceded lands (but which

secures no right of access to such lands) can survive a later

cession of all “right, title and interest... in, andto. . . lands.””

Furthermore, the holding in Klamath did not rest solely on

the bare language of the 1901 Agreement, but instead turned

on the Court’s “careful examination of the entire record,” which

showed that the Tribe’s exclusive hunting and fishing right “was

not intended to survive as a special right to be free of state

regulation” after the lands were ceded. 473 U.S. at 774. Indeed,

even outside the Indian context, such a careful review of the

historical circumstances is an essential aspect of treaty

interpretation. Eastern Airlines v. Floyd, 499 U.S. at 535

(because “treaties are construed more liberally than private

(Cont'd)

allotted to said Indians.” 420 U.S. at 196, 208 asis add

Similarly, Fishing Vessel; Puyallup Tribe v. da of Game, nn

U.S. 392 (1968), and Winans, involved the Stevens treaties where the

Indians ceded “their interest in most of the Territory,” while reserving a

“right of taking fish at all usual and accustomed places, in common with

citizens of the Territory.” See Fishing Vessel, 443 U.S. at 662 (emphasis

added). Finally, in Kennedy v. Becker, 241 U.S. 556, 562 (1916), the

Tribe ceded a tract of land while reserving what the Court found to be a

non-exclusive “privilege of fishing and hunting” on that tract.

25. By contrast, aboriginal hunting and fishing rights, unsecured

by treaty, are merely incidents of original Indian title which, unless

specially reserved, are extinguished when the lands are ceded. Klamath

473 U.S. at 766; United States v. Minnesota, 466 F. Supp. 1382, 1385

(D. Minn. 1979), aff'd sub nom., Red Lake Band v. Minnesota, 614 F.2d

1161 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 905 (1980). Thus, a holding that

the Mille Lacs Band's 1837 treaty privilege survived the 1855 cession

of all interests in land would not resurrect the aboriginal hunting and

fishing mghts extinguished in numerous other land cession treaties.

28

agreements,” courts may “look beyond the written words to

the history of the treaty, the negotiations, and the practical

construction adopted by the parties”); Saks, 470 U.S. at 396.

The district court’s careful, fact-based review of the

circumstances surrounding the 1855 treaty, and its

determination based on that review that the 1855 treaty did not

extinguish the Mille Lacs Band’s 1837 treaty privilege, is thus

entirely consistent with Klamath and the Court’s other treaty

interpretation precedents.

THE DISTRICT COURT’S CAREFUL EXAMINATION

OF THE HISTORICAL RECORD SHOWS THAT THE

PARTIES DID NOT INTEND TO EXTINGUISH THE

MILLE LACS BAND’S 1837 TREATY PRIVILEGE.

“In the absence of an explicit statement, ‘the intention to

abrogate or modify a treaty is not to be lightly imputed to the

Congress.’ ” United States v. Dion, 476 U.S. 734, 739 (1986),

quoting Menominee Tribe v. United States, 391 U.S. 404, 413

(1968); Fishing Vessel, 443 U.S. at 690. Because the Court

will not construe statutes as abrogating treaty rights in “a

backhanded way,” treaty abrogation will be found only if

Congress’ intention to abrogate Indian treaty rights is “clear

and plain.” Yankton Sioux, 139 L. Ed. 2d at 786; Dion, 476

U.S. at 738-39. Because the language of the 1855 treaty did

not unambiguously extinguish the Mille Lacs Band’s 1837

hunting and fishing privilege, the petitioners were required to

demonstrate through evidence in the historical record that the

parties to the treaty clearly intended to extinguish the treaty

privilege. The petitioners failed to meet these exacting

standards.”

26. Instead, the petitioners try to turn these standards on their head

by asserting that the historical evidence “must essentially be conclusive in

(Cont'd)

29

A. There is No Evidence the United States Intended to

Abrogate the Mille Lacs Band’s 1837 Hunting and Fishing

Rights.

The district court found no evidence that the United States

intended to abrogate the Mille Lacs Band’s 1837 treaty hunting

and fishing privilege, and substantial evidence, particularly

Commissioner Manypenny’s treaty transmittal letter, showing that

the government's intent in drafting the second sentence of Article

1 was to ensure that all of the Chippewa’s various and overlapping

land claims were extinguished.”’ PA 327-28. The first, and perhaps

clearest, manifestation that the United States did not intend to

abrogate the Band’s 1837 treaty privilege is the 1854 treaty, which

preserved the 1837 treaty rights of the Wisconsin and Fond du

Lac Bands, and expressly established new hunting and fishing

rights for the Fond du Lac and other Chippewa residing in the

territory ceded by that treaty.” PA 31-34, 191-201. As the district

court reasoned,

(Cont'd)

order to overcome clear treaty language.” Pet. Br. at 49. As shown in the

previous section, however, the treaty language contains no explicit statement

abrogating the 1837 treaty privilege.

27. The Eighth Circuit properly reviewed the district court's findings

regarding the intent of the parties on the basis of the clearly erroneous

standard. PA 37; see Pullman Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273, 287-88

(1982) (intent is “a pure question of fact subject to Rule 52(a)’s clearly

erroneous standard ..., not a question of law and not mixed question of

law and fact”). The petitioners do not take issue with the standard of review

applied by the court of appeals.

28. The lower courts’ holding that the 1854 treaty did not abrogate

the Chippewa’s 1837 treaty privilege was not challenged in any of the

petitions for certiorari or in any of the briefs filed on the merits in this

Court. Only the Landowners pursued this issue in the court of appeals, which

found the evidence “overwhelming that neither party intended the 1854

treaty to disturb usufructuary rights.” PA 31-34 and n. 27.

30

[i]f the government had intended to extinguish the

1837 privilege, it would have included a provision

abrogating that privilege in the 1854 treaty because

most of the bands that signed the 1837 treaty

attended that treaty negotiation and were not invited

in 1855.

PA 328-29.

Moreover, if Congress had sought to extinguish off-

reservation hunting and fishing rights throughout the Minnesota

territory, as petitioners suggest, it would not have ratified a

treaty establishing new off-reservation treaty rights across the

millions of acres of the 1854 ceded territory. See Morton v.

Mancari, 417 U.S. 535, 548-49 (1974) (absent “any

manifestation of supportive intent,” where Congress had

enacted two new Indian preferences, “we are loathe to imply

[the] improbable result” that Congress intended to repeal Indian

preferences in government employment). The petitioners fail

to explain why Congress would have intended to abrogate the

treaty hunting and fishing rights of the Mille Lacs Band, while

leaving intact the reserved rights of all other Bands using the

1837 ceded territory and establishing new treaty rights in the

1854 ceded territory.”

The next manifestation of treaty intent, the legislation

authorizing the 1855 treaty negotiations, 10 Stat. 598 (PA 532),

29. The petitioners’ brief correctly points out that if the State were to

prevail on its 1855 treaty defense, “the Mille Lacs Band would not have a

special hunting, fishing and gathering privilege in the Minnesota portion of

the 1837 ceded territory, but the other plaintiff bands, including the

Wisconsin Bands, would.” Pet. Br. at 41, n.17. The petitioners make no

effort to explain the logic of this odd result. See Yankton Sioux, 139

L. Ed. 2d at 788 (court should apply “sensible construction” which avoids

“absurd conclusion”).

31

likewise “does not support the interpretation [of the 1855 treaty]

presented by the [petitioners].” PA 328. The legislation makes

no mention of treaty hunting and fishing rights on lands

previously ceded, but instead authorizes negotiations for “the

extinguishment of (the Chippewa’s] tit/e to all the lands owned

and claimed by them.”” PA 532 (emphasis added). Moreover,

the legislation not only authorized the 1855 treaty negotiations

but provided retroactive authority for the 1854 negotiations,

which preserved existing treaty hunting and fishing rights and

established new treaty hunting and fishing rights over a vast

area in northeastern Minnesota. PA 275. The lack of intent to

extinguish treaty hunting and fishing rights is confirmed by

the legislative history which expressly states that the treaties

authorized by the legislation would “reserve[]” to the Indians

“those rights which are secured by former treaties.” 23 Cong.

Globe, 33rd Cong., Ist Sess. 1403-04 (June 15, 1854) (emphasis

added)

| The petitioners cite language from the authorizing

legislation directing that the new treaty provide that

the Laws of the United States and the Territory of

Minnesota shall be extended over the Chippewa

territory in Minnesota whenever the same may be

ceded, and the same shall cease to be “Indian

country.”

30. Commissioner Manypenny executed the congressional mandate

by summoning the Chippewa to Washington for treaty negotiations

respecting their claims to lands in Minnesota,” but made no suggestion

that the negotiations would involve a cession of treaty hunting and fishing

rights. PA 276-77. Furthermore, Manypenny did not summon to the

negotiations all of the Bands who used and occupied the 1837 ceded

territory, as would have been logical if he had sought to negotiate a

cession of 1837 treaty rights. /d.

32

Pet. Br. at 47 (citing PA 533). However, the issue before the

Court is not whether the 1837 ceded territory is still “Indian

country,” see Alaska v. Native Village of Venetie, 522 U.S. __,

140 L. Ed. 2d 30 (1998), but whether Congress intended to

abrogate the Mille Lacs Band’s 1837 treaty hunting and fishing

privilege. The authorizing legislation is silent on the latter issue

and its legislative history strongly indicates that prior treaty

rights were to be preserved. 23 Cong. Globe, 33rd Cong., Ist

Sess. 1403-04 (June 15, 1854). Furthermore, no language

requiring the application of territorial law appears in the text

of 1855 treaty itself, which provides simply that the Chippewa

must “respect and observe the laws of the United States, so far

as the same are to them applicable.” PA 328, 512-13 (emphasis

added).

The record of the 1855 treaty negotiations further confirms

that the government intended to extinguish Chippewa land

claims, not treaty hunting and fishing rights. The district court

found that 1855 treaty journal contains no discussion of the

1837 treaty privilege, or hunting and fishing rights in general.

PA 284, 325. The treaty negotiations instead focused on the

obtaining a cession of Indian lands, as reflected by very first

page of the treaty journal which indicates the negotiations were

“required for the purpose of making a treaty for the purchase

of a tract of land lying in Minnesota.” JA 297; see also JA 304,

307, 309; JA 869 (Report of Dr. Tanner). The petitioners do

not suggest that a cession of the 1837 treaty hunting and fishing

privilege was ever proposed by government officials during

the 1855 treaty negotiations.

The petitioners argue instead, without any citation to the

record, that the shift in government policy away from removal

and toward the establishment of reservations provides the

“historical context” for an intent to extinguish treaty hunting

and fishing rights. Pet. Br. at 45. However, the district court

rejected this factual contention, finding instead that the

a ee Nee Le

33

preservation of treaty hunting and fishing rights was “not

inconsistent with Manypenny’s reservation policy.”®' PA 289.

Indeed, the legislative history for the 1854 authorizing act

contains extensive discussion about the shift from the removal

to the reservation policy, but makes clear Congress’s intent

that “rights which are secured by former treaties” would be

unaffected by the establishment of reservations. 23 Cong.

Globe, 33rd Cong., Ist Sess. 1403-04 (June 15, 1854). The

petitioners’ historian testified that Manypenny’s reservation

policy allowed for off-reservation hunting, fishing and

gathering, that the policy did not confine the Indians to their

reservations, and that the Mille Lacs Reservation was

established because it provided access to off-reservation

fisheries and wild rice fields. JA 1359, 1368-69 (Newell Cross);

see also Johnson v. Gearlds, 234 U.S. 422, 438 (1914) (1855

treaty drafters contemplated that the Chippewa “while making

their permanent homes within the reservations would be at

liberty to roam and to hunt throughout the entire country, as

before”).

The petitioners also argue that 1855 treaty provisions

stipulating that the Chippewa would “settle down in the peaceful

pursuits of life” and promising governmental assistance with

agriculture demonstrate an intent to abrogate treaty hunting and

fishing rights.” Pet. Br. at 46-47. However, many other treaties

31. In support of this finding, the district court noted that the 1854

Chippewa treaty and many other treaties negotiated in the mid-1850s

expressly secured off-reservation hunting and fishing rights while at

the same time establishing reservations, and that only one treaty, the

1855 Sault Ste. Marie treaty, expressly abrogated treaty hunting or fishing

nghts and that followed the destruction of the fishery by a government

canal project. PA 289; see also Fishing Vessel, 443 U.S. at 666 n.9.

32. The petitioners’ expert testified that this provision “doesn’t

mean ... that the chiefs agreed their people would stop hunting, fishing,

trapping and gathering.” JA 1388 (Driben Cross).

34

of this era encouraged the Indians to settle down on reservations

and provided agricultural assistance while at the same time

preserving off-reservation hunting and fishing rights. E.g. PA

493 (1854 treaty stipulations providing for allotment of land in

severalty and agricultural assistance). The 1855 treaty itself,

while not establishing new special hunting and fishing rights,

nevertheless promised the Chippewa gunpowder, shot, lead and

gilling twine to enhance their hunting and fishing activities.

PA 509; see also Lac Courte Oreilles Band v. Voigt, 700 F.2d

341, 364-65 (7th Cir.) (“government's provision of guns and

ammunition to the Indians pursuant to the 1854 treaty” is

evidence that the government did not intend that treaty to

abrogate the Chippewa’s usufructuary rights), cert. denied, 464

U.S. 805 (1983).

Commissioner Manypenny’s February 23, 1855, transmittal

letter, which was presented to the Senate during the treaty

ratification process, demonstrates clearly that the government

intended that the second sentence of Article 1 would extinguish

the Chippewa’s remaining /and claims, not their previously

reserved treaty hunting and fishing rights. JA 291-94.

Manypenny’s letter explains that the second sentence of Article

1 was included in the treaty because the “Indians (and especially

the Pillager and Lake Winnibigoshish bands) have some right

or interest in a large extent of other lands in common with

other Indians in Minnesota.” PA 286; JA 291-92 (emphasis

added). There is no reference to the 1837 privilege in

Manypenny’s transmittal letter and the explanation Manypenny

provided for the cession language bears no relation to the 1837

privilege.” That privilege was not held “especially” by the

Pillager and Lake Winnibigoshish bands, who occupied lands

33. Indeed, Manypenny’s letter asserted (erroneously) that the

bands party to the 1855 treaty “have not been parties to or participants

in the benefits of any treaty with the United States,” other than an

“unimportant” 1847 treaty. PA 288; JA 292.

ee ee ee ee

35

far to the north and west of the 1837 cession (see App. A

attached), and had disclaimed any interest in the 1837 territory

during the 1837 treaty negotiations. PA 287; JA 47. The 1837

privilege was not “some [indefinite] right or interest” but a

specific privilege secured by treaty. And, the 1837 privilege

was not held in common with “other Indians in Minnesota,”

but largely with other Chippewa bands in Wisconsin. PA 287.

Manypenny’s transmittal letter strongly supports the

district court's finding that

Manypenny intended fer the second sentence of

Article | oi the 1855 treaty to extinguish Chippewa

land claims, especially those of the Pillager and

Lake Winnibigoshish bands, to unceded lands in

northwestern Minnesota.

PA 327-28 (emphasis added). Based on the 1847 map he had

forwarded to Gilbert in preparation for the 1854 treaty (App. B

attached), the 1848, 1849 and 1850 annual reports (JBA 105,

118-19; JA 187), and Rice’s December 17, 1854, letter (JA

287), Manypenny understood that the Pillager bands claimed

lands to the north and west of the tract defined in the first

sentence of Article 1. The district court quite reasonably found

that Manypenny’s uncertainty about the precise nature of the

Pillagers’ interest in these lands (“some right or interest”)™

and the Pillagers’ refusal to define the full extent of their land

claims during the negotiations,” led to the drafting of the broad

34. The Commissioner's 1850 annual report explained that the

Pillager claims went beyond the 1825 Prairie du Chein lines, see note 2

above, arose in some manner from “conquest and actual possession,”

and overlapped those of the Red Lake bands. PA 287; JA 187.

35. Because the Mississippi and Pillager bands claimed different

lands, Manypenny insisted that the chiefs define their respective

(Cont'd)

36

language of cession in the second sentence of Article 1. PA

286-88.

The petitioners apparently concede that the passage quoted

above refers to the second sentence of Article 1, but argue that

Manypenny’s reference to lands in northwestern Minnesota

does not support a “geographic limitation” on the treaty

language of cession. Pet. Br. at 48. This misses the point. The

issue is not whether the cession language is limited

geographically, but whether the language was intended to

extend beyond a cession of the Chippewa’s remaining /and

claims and also abrogate their 1837 treaty hunting and fishing

privilege. Manypenny’s transmittal letter, which omits any

reference to treaty hunting and fishing rights while explaining

that the second sentence of Article 1 would extinguish the ill-

defined land claims of the Pillager and Lake Winnibigoshish

bands to the north and west of the demarcated cession

boundaries (see App. A attached), is compelling evidence that

the government's intent in drafting the broad language of

cession in the 1855 treaty was to extinguish Chippewa land

claims, not their 1837 hunting and fishing rights. As the district

court reasoned, that interpretation does not rewrite the treaty

or render the second sentence of Article 1 superfluous, “it

merely limits the language to its intended effect.” PA 328.

Finally, the government's “post-ratification conduct”

provides no probative evidence that the treaty was intended to

abrogate the Mille Lacs Band’s 1837 treaty rights. Zicherman

v. Korean Air Lines, 516 U.S. 217, 133 L. Ed. 2d 596, 607

(1996); Floyd, 499 U.S. at 546. After the 1855 treaty, Manypenny

(Cont'd)

boundaries before he could make a proposition to them. JA 313. The

Pillager representative, Flat Mouth, demurred, stating that the Pillager

and Lake Winnibigoshish bands would identify only those lands they

wished to sell and would not “state precisely what our bands claim as a

right.” JA 317-18.

37

did nothing to correct the statement in Governor Gorman’s

February 1855 letter that the Mille Lacs Band still retained hunting

and fishing nights under the 1837 treaty, and Gorman repeated his

statement in a June 1855 letter to the Band. PA 269-71; JA 295-

96. Notwithstanding complaints from non-Indians about Chippewa

off-reservation hunting and fishing, and calls by the State to confine

the Mille Lacs Band to its reservation, federal officials continued

to support off-reservation hunting and fishing, never suggesting

that the 1855 treaty had any effect on the Chippewa’s 1837 treaty

privilege until approximately 70 years after the treaty. PA 293,

299-300. The petitioners’ interpretation of the 1855 treaty is thus

36. The petitioners contend that state statutes adopted in 1858 set

seasons and “expressly applied those seasons to Indians hunting off their

reservations.” Pet. Br. at 47, citing PA 569-72. In fact, two of the cited

statutes (chs. XIX, XLV) make no mention of Indians, while the third (ch.

XLIV) purports to assert overall criminal junsdiction over Indians when

found off-reservation, and require Indians to obtain a pass from federal

officials before leaving their reservations. There is no evidence that these

statutes had any relation to the 1855 treaty, or that the Federal Government

sirhneer mgt wie wy tamu sp ums tonerdeeren

apply to 4 ceded terntory where the Chippewa unquestionab!

retained off-reservation hunting and fishing nghts. ‘

Thompson er a/. point to Henry Rice’s statements during the Nelson

Act negotiations as evidence of an understanding that the Mille Lacs Band's

rights had been abrogated. Th. Br. at 9-10, 32. However, Rice never stated

that the Band’s 1837 treaty nghts had been abrogated; he simply suggested

that the State had the power to set deer hunting seasons. PA 297;

JA 471-72. It is well established that the State does have the power to set

seasons for Indian hunting, provided that the seasons are non-discnminatory

and necessary for conservation. Antoine, 420 U.S. at 207. The district court

also found that Rice’s comments were “not persuasive evidence” that the

1837 privilege had been abrogated, because the United States negotiators

made simmlar comments in discussions with the Grand Portage Band, which

a retained usufructuary rights under the 1854 treaty. PA 297-98;

38

B. There Is No Evidence that the Chippewa Intended to

Relinquish their 1837 Hunting and Fishing Rights.

The district court also found that the Mille Lacs Band did not

intend to relinquish its 1837 treaty rights when it signed the 1855

treaty, and did not understand the 1855 treaty to have that effect.

PA 292, 324. The evidence strongly supports this finding. The

Chippewa were told and understood that the treaty would involve

a cession of their unceded lands,”’ and were never asked to cede

their guaranteed privilege of hunting, fishing and gathering in the

1837 ceded territory. PA 284. The Mille Lacs Chippewa would

have starved if they had been unable to hunt and fish outside of

the small reservation established by the 1855 treaty and “would

not have knowingly given up the guaranteed [1837] privilege

without any discussion.” PA 292, 325. The lack of ary mention of

these important treaty nghts in the 1855 treaty journal is thus strong

evidence that the Mille Lacs Band did not understand the 1855

treaty to have this effect. See Fishing Vessel, 443 U.S. at 676 (given

importance of fishing to Indians, it was “inconceivable that either

party deliberately agreed to authorize future settlers to crowd the

Indians out of any meaningful use of their accustomed places to

fish”).

The petitioners argue that “the context of extinguishment was

reflected in the goals of the Chippewa leaders” because Hole-in-

the Day, a Chippewa spokesman, sought money and tools to enable

the Indians to adopt agricultural ways and “live like the whites.”

Pet. Br. at 45-46 & n.20. While there is no dispute that Hole-in-

the-Day at times espoused assimilation, the district court found

that his views were not shared by the Mille Lacs Chippewa, who

were at this time fighting to protect their wild nce fields from the

37. Flat Mouth remarked: “It appears to me | sat | understand what

you want, and your views from the few words | hav: heard you speak. You

want land.” JA 309. Hole-in-the-Day likewise stated: “Your words strike

us in this way. They are very short. ‘I want to buy your land.” These words

are very expressive, very curt.” JA 304.

{

i

F

'

f

:

:

f

‘

39

Rum River dam. PA 291-92. The district court also found that the

Chippewa representatives understood that their people would need

to hunt, fish and gather off the small reservations created by the

1855 treaty in order to survive and would not have acquiesced

without discussion to any restrictions on their legal rights to engage

in these activities in the 1837 ceded territory." PA 325; see also

JA 598-607 (first-hand, contemporaneous account showing the

extent of Chippewa dependency on hunting, fishing and gathering

in the late 1850s), 1386-87 (testimony of State’s expert that

Chippewa representatives did not intend the 1855 treaty to restrict

their people from using natural resources). Indeed, after the 1855

treaty was signed, the Chippewa representatives, including Hole-

in-the-Day, expressed great concern that annuity payments under

the treaty would not interfere with the Chippewa’s fall fisheries.

PA 289-90; see also JA 1090-91 (Testimony of Dr. Cleland).

Finally, notwithstanding repeated calls by State officials to

confine the Mille Lacs Chippewa to their reservation and, after

1892, active efforts to regulate off-reservation hunting, fishing

and gathering, the district court found that the Chippewa

“continued to hunt, fish and gather off-reservation after the 1855

treaty” and “complained to federal officials that state enforcement

of game regulations violated their rights under the 1837 treaty.”

PA 325-26. This “post-ratification conduct” further supports the

district court’s finding that the Chippewa did not intend to

38. The petitioners also cite a passage from the treaty journal in which

Hole-in-the-Day asserts that he studied the treaty and concluded that “the

Indians have given away all, and leave themselves no alternative but to

work.” JA 348-49. Read in context, this passage has nothing to do with

that prior treaties which paid farmers and blacksmiths to work for the

Chippewa had encouraged dependency. /d He understood that, because

they were ceding all of their remaining lands, the Chippewa would not be

able to cede lands in the future in return for annuity payments, and therefore

would have to work for themselves. Notably, the treaty journal indicates

that this “work” would include fishing, hunting and trapping, as well as

farming and other trades. See JA 1089-92 (Testimony of Dr. Cleland).

40

relinquish their hunting and fishing nights under the 1837 treaty.

See Seufert Bros. Co. v. United States, 249 U.S. 194, 198-99 (1919)

(continued in common use of fishing places “shows clearly that

[the Indians’}] understanding of the treaty was that they had the

right to resort to these fishing grounds and make use of them in

common with other citizens of the United States”).

To sum up, this Court has held repeatedly that the intent to

abrogate Indian treaty rights must be “clear and plain.” Yankton

Sioux, 139 L. Ed. 2d at 786. In this case, the relevant language

from the 1855 treaty is ambiguous at best, and the evidence from

the surrounding circumstances provides no indication tha: either

party intended to extinguish the Mille Lacs Band’s 1837 treaty

privilege. The historical record shows that the purpose of the broad

treaty language in the second sentence of Article | was to ensure

that all of the Chippewa’s ill-defined /and claims were fully

extinguished. Not a single document in the historical record

surrounding the negotiation and ratification of the 1855 treaty even

mentions the Chippewa’s hunting and fishing rights under the 1837

treaty. Petitioners suggest no reason why the United States would

have sought to extinguish the nghts of the Mille Lacs Band, after

preserving the rights of the Wisconsin and Fond du Lac Bands

and creating mew hunting and fishing rights in the 1854 treaty.

Nor do the petitioners offer any reason why the Mille Lacs

Chippewa, who remained vitally dependent on hunting, fishing

and gathering, would have knowingly .elinquished the 1837

privilege without discussion. To construe the 1855 treaty to

extinguish the Mille Lacs Band’s 1837 treaty privilege, without

any “clear and plain” manifestation of congressional or tribal

intent to extinguish the privilege, would run afoul of this Court’s

admonition that treaty rights may not be “easily cast aside” in

a “backhanded” manner. Dion, 476 U.S. at 738-39; Menominee,

391 U.S. at 412.

41

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, the Eighth Circuit's ruling

that the Mille Lacs Band’s hunting and fishing rights were

unaffected by the 1855 treaty should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

MARC D. SLONIM

Counsel of Record

JOHN B. ARUM

ZIONTZ, CHESTNUT, VARNELL,

BERLEY & SLONIM

2101 Fourth Avenue, Suite 1230

Seattle, WA 98121-2331

(206) 448-1230

CHARLES J. COOPER

ALAN K. PALMER

COOPER, CARVIN

& ROSENTHAL

200 K Street, N.W.

Suite 401

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 822-8960

JAMES M. GENIA

SOLICITOR GENERAL

MILLE LACS BAND OF

CHIPPEWA INDIANS

HCR 67, Box 194

Onamia, MN 56359

(320) 532-4181

Attorneys for Respondents Mille

Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians,

Arthur Gahbow, Walter Sutton,

Carleen Benjamin and Joseph

Dunkley

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — CHIPPEWA LAND CESSIONS, 1837-

1855 (DEFS. EXH. 1, PAGE 13; JOINT APPENDIX

PAGE 956)

POR ee ee ee ne Woe eT pe meee ie Oe Be ee ee ee ee

eh ers

)

:

i

|

_ oR

}

;

|

CHIPPEWA LAND CESSIONS, 1837-1855

[

0 be Ae

oz ”

29

Ls nate.

ALBXANL me XX KK

VOO.@ ©

i PTDS | ) OLB \)

\ y: mf BS

- QS

/ teks

| Yn, , ONETLS

2, Ae

\ ’

=z

TH |

BO }

mic

So=< ~ a

MR \

os 1837 LAND CESSION = 1847 LAND CESSION 41 4 1854 LAND CESSION

y V7

WY, 1842 LAND CESSION 1847 LAND CESSION 42 Yi, 1855 LAND CESSION

“Wy “2, /

2a

APPENDIX B — 1847 WAR DEPARTMENT MAP

SHOWING CHIPPEWA LAND CLAIMS (PLS. EXH. 179;

JOINT APPENDIX PAGE 133)

BEST AVAILABLE COPYS

a ce ee

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.