Joint Appendix — Stewart v. Martinez-Villareal

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

()

- yoy 23 (997

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1997

+

TERRY L. STEWART, DIRECTOR, ARIZONA

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, et al.,

Petitioners,

VS.

RAMON MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL,

Respondent.

¢

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States

Court Of Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

+

JOINT APPENDIX

+

Grant Woops Frepric F. Kay

Attorney General Federal Public Defender

Paut J. McMuropie for the District

Chief Counsel of Arizona

Criminal Appeals Section Denise I. Younc*

Bruce M. Ferc* 91 E. Congress,

Assistant Attorney General Suite 130

400 W. Congress, Tucson, Arizona 85701

Bldg. S-315 Telephone: (520) 620-7050

Tucson, Arizona 85701-1367

Telephone: (520) 628-6504

Counsel for Petitioners

*Counsel of Record

Counsel for Respondent

Petition For Certiorari Filed August 18, 1997

Certiorari Granted October 14, 1997

nnn

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

No. 97-300 |

—————_}—-++—_}

STEWART vs. MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL

(No. 97-300) CONTENTS OF JOINT APPENDIX

Relevant Docket Entries

Extracts of Respondents’ Motion for Summary

Judgment (7/30/93)

Extracts of Opposition to Respondents’ Motion for

Summary Judgment (11/2/93)

Extracts of Reply to Response to Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment (12/17/93)

District Court Order and Judgment - pursuant to

Ninth Circuit instructions (2/28/9

Motion to Reconsider Order and Judgment - pur-

suant to Rule 59 (3/12/97)

District Court Order-denying reconsideration

(3/24/97)

Warrant of Execution-setting date of May 21, 1997

(4/15/97)

Motion for Expert Services, etc., with exhibits

(5/13/97)

District Court Order-appointing counsel, setting

hearing (5/14/97)

Response to Motion for Expert Services, etc., with

exhibits (5/15/97)

Reply to Response to Motion for Expert Services,

etc., with exhibits (5/15/97)

District Court Orders — denying motion for expert

services for lack of jurisdiction, and granting

certificate of appealability (5/16/97)

ii

STEWART vs. MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL

(No. 97-300) CONTENTS OF

JOINT APPENDIX - Continued

Combined Motion for Certificate of Probable

Cause; Motion for Remand to File Fed.R.Civ.P.

60(b) Motion; Motion for Leave to File Suc-

cessor Petition; Motion to Recall the Mandate

and Motion for Stay of Execution (5/16/97)

[internal Exhibits A and B omitted - duplicate

District Court Orders of 5/16/97 hovel

Opposition to Motion for Miscellaneous Relief

EA ech vhs Wendie 4000-054 be ebeeee cc

Reply to Opposition to Miscellaneous Relief

tt Shkahciceldecs aedeawesserceesecee:

Ninth Circuit Opinion - granting stay and order-

ing further briefing (5/19/97, 118 F.3d 625)....

Ninth Circuit Opinion-permitting filing of second

petition and transferring petition to D. Ct.

SE EN I svc ecccescsescccocceces

Page

RELEVANT DOCKET ENTRIES

STEWART vs. MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL (No. 97-300)

Extracts of Respondents’ Motion for Summary Judgment

(7/30/93)

Extracts of Opposition to Respondents’ Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment (11/2/93)

Extracts of Reply to Response to Motion for Summary

Judgment (12/17/93)

District Court Order and Judgment - pursuant to Ninth

Circuit instructions (2, 28/97)

Motion to Reconsider Order and Judgment - pursuant to

Rule 59 (3/12/97)

District Court Order —- denying reconsideration (3/24/97)

Warrant of Execution — setting date of May 21, 1997

(4/15/97)

Motion for Expert Services, etc., with exhibits (5/13/97)

District Court Order — appointing counsel, setting hear-

ing (5/14/97)

Response to Motion for Expert Services, etc., with

exhibits (5/15/97)

Reply to Response to Motion for Expert Services, etc.,

with exhibits (5/15/97)

District Court Orders - denying motion for expert ser-

vices for lack of jurisdiction, and granting certificate of

appealability (5/16/97)

Combined Motion for Certificate of Probable Cause;

Motion for Remand to File Fed.R.Civ.P. 60(B) Motion;

Motion for Leave to File Successor Petition; Motion to

Recall the Mandate and Motion for Stay of Execution

(5/16/97) [internal Exhibits A and B omitted - duplicate

District Court Orders of 5/16/97 above]

Opposition to Motion for Miscellaneous Relief (5/19/97)

Reply to Opposition to Miscellaneous Relief (5/19/97)

Ninth Circuit Opinion - granting stay and ordering fur-

ther briefing (5/19/97, 118 F.3d 625)

Ninth Circuit Opinion - permitting filing of second peti-

tion and transferring petition to D. Ct. (6/23/97, 118 F.3d

628)

GRANT WOODS

Arrorney GENERAL

BRUCE M. FERG

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

Criminat ApPpeats SECTION

402 West Concress, Room 315

Tucson, Arizona 85701-1356

TeLerHone: (602) 628-6504

(Stare Bar Numser 003544)

Arrorneys ror RESPONDENTS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL,

PETITIONER,

-Vs-

SAMUEL A. LEWIS,

et al.,

CIV 86-296-TUC-RMB

MOTION FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT

(Filed July 30, 1993)

RESPONDENTS.

ee

Pursuant to Rules 5 and 11 of the Rules Governing

§ 2254 Cases, and Rule 56(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, Respondents oppose Petitioner's Amended

Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus and request that this

Court dismiss the amended petition because it fails to

state a claim upon which relief can be granted, there are

no genuine issues of any material fact, and Respondents

are entitled to judgment as a matter of law. This response

is based on the following Memorandum of Points and

Authorities.

DATED this 30th day of July, 1993.

Respectfully submitted,

GRANT WOODS

ATTORNEY GENERAL

/s/Bruce M. Ferg

BRUCE M. FERG

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENTS

* . *

101. Competency To Be Executed.

It is asserted that Petitioner lacks the mental capacity

necessary for him to be constitutionally executed under

Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399, 106 S. Ct. 2595, 91 L. Ed.

2d 335 (1986). It appears that this claim is not ripe for

adjudication. A prisoner cannot be executed in Arizona

except pursuant to a warrant issued by the Arizona

Supreme Court. Arizona Rule of Criminal Procedure

31.17 provides:

c. Fixing the Date of Execution After a

Death Sentence is Affirmed. When a conviction

and sentence of death is affirmed, the Supreme

Court shall fix the time for execution of the sen-

tence and shall issue a warrant to the superinten-

dent of the state prison directing him to execute

the sentence. The superintendent shall make a

return on the warrant to the Supreme Court

showing the manner and time of execution.

There is no execution warrant outstanding with regard to

Petitioner. There is, however, a stay of execution issued

by this Court which is still in effect.

The Arizona Supreme Court appears to be applying

Criminal Rule 31.17(c) in such a way that no warrant for

execution will issue while a federal court stay is in effect.

Thus, after James Clark’s lengthy habeas corpus litigation

was concluded by the denial of a petition for certiorari,

the State filed a motion for issuance of an execution

warrant. (Exhibit A hereto.) However, Clark’s counsel

objected that a District Court stay of execution was still in

effect because the Ninth Circuit’s formal mandate had not

yet been issued. (Exhibit B.) The Arizona Supreme Court

refused to issue the warrant because of the existence of

the stay. (Exhibit C.) After the Ninth Circuit mandate

issued, effectively dissolving the stay, the State renewed

its motion for the issuance of a warrant, and only then

was the warrant issued. (Exhibits D, E.)

Before a federal court can consider a legal claim,

there must be a “case or controversy” under Article III of

the Constitution. Whitmore v. Arkansas, 495 U.S. 149, 110 S.

Ct. 1717, 1722, 109 L. Ed. 2d 135 (1990).

To establish an Art. III case or controversy, a

litigant first must clearly demonstrate that he

has suffered an “injury in fact.” That injury, we

have emphasized repeatedly, must be concrete

in both a qualitative and temporal sense. The

complainant must allege an injury to himself

that is “distinct and palpable,” Warth, supra, 422

U.S., at 501, 95 S.Ct., at 2206, as opposed to

merely “[a]bstract,” O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S.

488, 494, 94 S.Ct. 669, 675, 38 L.Ed.2d 674 (1974),

and the alleged harm must be actual or immi-

nent, not “conjectural” or “hypothetical.” Los

Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95, 101-102, 103 S.Ct.

1660, 1664-1665, 75 L.Ed.2d 675 (1983).

110 S. Ct. at 1723. “Allegations of possible future injury

do not satisfy the requirements of Art. III. A threatened

injury must be ‘certainly impending’ to constitute injury

in fact.” Id. at 1724-25. However, “It is just not possible

for a litigant to prove in advance that the judicial system

will lead to any particular result in his case.” Id. at 1725.

The Art. III requirements will not be relaxed just because

litigation involves the death penalty. Id. at 1726.

In sum, Petitioner is not now facing and will not face

execution for the foreseeable future. No warrant of execu-

tion can be expected to issue during the pendency of this

habeas litigation, which in all likelihood will be a matter

of years. Although Petitioner has a right not to be exe-

cuted while incompetent, he is not now looking at an

actual execution date, and competency is obviously a

matter that can fluctuate over time. Therefore, his claim

really is speculative and conjectural - a mere “possible

future injury.” Since such a claim is outside the jurisdic-

tion of the Court, it must be dismissed. Cf. Fernandez-

Collado v. I.N.S., 644 F.Supp 741 (D. Conn. 1986), aff'd

without op., 857 F.2d 1461 (2d Cir. 1987) (habeas corpus

petition denied because, although INS had detainer on

petitioner, he could not be deported until after service of

prison term, and hence was not yet in INS custody;

therefore, his requested relief was not yet available). This

Court cannot grant relief from a situation that may never

occur. Only if a warrant for his execution issues, and if he

still claims to be incompetent at that time, will there be a

jurisdictionally sufficient case or controversy, and that

will be the time to litigate the issue.

* * .

7

BRUNER & BOWMAN, P.C.

78 West Cushing Street

Tucson, Arizona 85701

602-624-8000

Attorneys for Petitioner

By: Sean Bruner, Bar #007296

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL, No. CIV 86-296-TUC-RMB

OPPOSITION TO

RESPONDENTS’ MOTION

FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT

(Filed November 2, 1993)

Petitioner,

SAMUEL A. LEWIS,

et al.

]

]

]

]

vs. ]

]

]

J

Respondents.

]

* * »

91. Competency to stand trial.

After arguing preclusion and abuse of the writ, topics

which have been addressed elsewhere in this memoran-

dum, respondents argue that petitioner is merely suffer-

ing from “prison psychosis” and is not and was not

incompetent. (M.S.J. at 39). Respondents claim that, on

the record, petitioner is not incompetent or insane, citing

and quoting Boag v. Raines, 769 F.2d 1341 (9th Cir. 1985).

(M.S.J. at 39).

Boag is distinguishable, however. In the first place,

that case was the third appeal on the issue of incompe-

tency, and the defendant’s competency in Boag was sub-

stantively addressed, contrary to the position advocated

by respondents herein. “In a habeas proceeding, a peti-

tioner is entitled to an evidentiary hearing on the issue of

competency to stand trail [sic] if he presents sufficient

facts to create a real and substantial doubt as to his

competency, even if those facts were not presented to the trial

court. Boag, 769 F.2d at 1343, citing, Steinsvik v. Vinzant,

640 F.2d 949, 954 (9th Cir. 1981) (emphasis added). Sec-

ondly, and more significantly, there was no professional

psychologist’s opinion presented in Boag that he was, in

fact, incompetent. In the instant case, Dr. Geffen has

unequivocally found that petitioner was incompetent.

Finally, the issue of whether the petitioner’s mental ill-

ness was presented in mitigation to the sentencing judge

or whether he was not guilty by reason of insanity was

not an issue in Boag, or at least the opinion does not

address those concerns.

Respondents’ argument ignores the fact that they

tried everything in the book to prevent petitioner from

being examined by an independent mental health expert.

After first stressing that petitioner’s claim to incompe-

tence was an unexhausted claim, respondents then

argued in state court that only by means of the statutory

scheme set forth in A.R.S. § 13-4021 et seq. could peti-

tioner’s mental condition be inquired into. Since that was

a ministerial duty, respondents argued, petitioner had no

judicial remedy, and was dependent exclusively upon the

warden’s assessment of petitioner’s competence. Need-

less to say the warden concluded that petitioner was

sane, despite a history of mental illness in prison, and

years of being prescribed psychotropic medication by

prison doctors notorious for not prescribing medicine for

prisoners. The matter, according to respondents, was

closed. Incredibly, the state superior court adopted the

state’s reasoning, despite the mandate of Ford v. Wain-

wright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986).

Upon return to federal court, respondents again zeal-

ously opposed the appointment of an independent men-

tal health expert, this time on the grounds that the

Arizona statute will change in 1994, and this court should

wait and see what happens after the law changes.

Respondents now argue a totally new theory in their

motion for summary judgment, that the issue which

forced this case back to state court, incompetence to be

executed, is not ripe. (M.S.J. at 43). As that argument was

never “exhausted” in state court, if anything should be

precluded, it is that argument.

In conclusion, for respondents to have adamantly

prohibited any meaningful review and evaluation of peti-

tioner’s mental health and now argue that the record is

incomplete, and, therefore, that they win on summary

judgment, is unfair, incorrect, and would amount to a

gross denial of due process should it be granted. Only

after a full and fair opportunity to examine and cross-

examine those persons claiming to have expertise to

make such a diagnosis can a just decision be made.

Respondents’ counsel is no more qualified to give such an

opinion than petitioner’s counsel. The difference is that

petitioner’s counsel never attempted to diagnose peti-

tioner; he merely pointed out sufficient disturbing obser-

vations to merit further inquiry by mental health

10

professionals who could give expert opinions on the sub-

ject.

Respondents state that, “Claims asserting incompe-

tence at trial are subject to preclusion on the basis of

being abusive or procedurally defaulted, even when the

petitioner faces a death sentence,” citing, Clanton v.

Muncy, 845 F.2d 1238 (4th Cir. 1988) and Bainter v. Trickey,

932 F.2d 713 (8th Cir. 1991). The facts of Clanton are

distinguishable. The issue therein was whether a request

for an “11th hour” stay of execution should be granted.

The Court held that the claim was abusive since it was

the same claim, under a different label, which had been

substantively addressed on the merits in a prior habeas

petition. The claim had to do with childhood abuse which

was not brought out at sentencing. Having raised the

claim before, and receiving a ruling on the merits, Clan-

ton again tried to raise the same claim, this time under

the label of incompetence during sentencing, claimaint

[sic] that he failed to tell his attorney of the childhood

abuse because he was incompetent. The Clanton case,

therefore, is factually and procedurally distinguishable

from the instant case.

Trickey was not a death penalty case, contrary to the

apparent insinuation by respondents. Although it is true

that Trickey held that the defendant's claim of incompe-

tence was procedurally barred, respondents herein fail to

point out that extensive evidence was taken in Trickey on

the issue of whether his counsel was ineffective for fail-

ing to raise the competence issue. In that respect, Trickey

favors petitioner’s position herein.

11

* * *

101. Competency to be executed.

Comment has already been made herein as to the

incredible position that respondents are now taking

regarding this issue: that it is not ripe. Not only is this

claim new and bizarre, but it would be unworkable.

Nothing in the Ford v. Wainwright, supra, decision sup-

ports this leap in logic. In fact, the opposite is the only

workable solution: if petitioner is incompetent now, he

cannot be executed until he regains competency. To hold

otherwise would place an incredible burden on the sys-

tem. It is also interesting to note that the Arizona scheme

set forth in A.R.S. § 13-4021 et seq., so championed by

respondents up till now, has no such limitations as those

now suggested by respondents.

Analogy can be made to the situation of a defendant

found incompetent to stand trial. The competency deter-

mination is made at the outset, not the day of trial. If and

when competency is restored, the trial proceeds. Sim-

ilarly, if petitioner is presently incompetent to be exe-

cuted, a finding needs to be made.

+ + *

12

GRANT WOODS

ATTORNEY GENERAL

BRUCE M. FERG

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

CRIMINAL APPEALS SECTION

402 W. Concress, Room 315

Tucson, ARIZONA 85701-1367

TELEPHONE: (602) 628-6504

(State BAR Numser 003544)

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENTS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ-

)

VILLAREAL, ) CIV 86-296-TUC-RMB

)

PErmonan, ) REPLY TO RESPONSE

-vs- ) TO MOTION FOR

SAMUEL A. LEWIS, et al., ‘ SUMMARY JUDGMENT

RESPONDENTS. ) (Filed December 17,

)

1993)

Petitioner’s Response, as demonstrated in the

attached Memorandum, fails to prove any error in the

Motion for Summary Judgment. Respondents therefore

reiterate their request that this Court dismiss the petition

because it fails to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted, there are no genuine issues of material fact, and

Respondents are entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

13

DATED this 17th day of December, 1993.

Respectfully submitted,

GRANT WOODS

ATTORNEY GENERAL

/s/ Bruce M. Ferg

BRUCE M. FERG

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENTS

* * *

91. Alleged Incompetence To Stand Trial.

In the Petition it was asserted (based on little more

than conclusory remarks about mental problems Peti-

tioner allegedly has now) that he was incompetent to

stand trial or be sentenced. (Petition at 40-41.) Respon-

dents answered in several ways. First, it was argued that

this claim should not even be considered on its merits,

because it is both abusive (not having been presented in

the first habeas petition) and procedurally precluded

(having been defaulted by the failure to present it to the

state courts at any time before the third Rule 32 petition).

(Summary Judgment Motion at 36.) Attempting to defuse

these preclusion arguments, Petitioner has tried to distin-

guish the decisions offered by Respondents as support

for their position that claims of incompetency to be tried

can be precluded, even in capital cases. He would like to

limit Clanton v. Muncy, 845 F.2d 1238 (4th Cir.), cert.

denied, 485 U.S. 1000 (1988), a capital case in which the

federal court refused to reach the merits of a claim of

incompetency at sentencing, to clearly abusive situations

14

where essentially the same claim had been litigated on

the merits in a previous federal habeas petition.

(Response at 61-62.) Such abusiveness, however, was only

one prong of the court’s multi-based ruling (845 F.2d at

1240-41); it further concluded that the incompetency

claim “is also barred by reason of the procedural default

found by the state habeas court.” 845 F.2d at 1241. That is

precisely what happened here: incompetency at trial was

raised by Paragraph 87 of the third Rule 32 Petition.

(P.C.R. 3 at 35.) The state argued that all the claims in that

petition, with the exceptions of Davis’ alleged ineffective-

ness, good prison behavior as a new mitigating factor,

and incompetency to be executed, were procedurally pre-

cluded. (Id. at 71-93.) The trial court explicitly agreed

with the state’s arguments in summarily dismissing that

petition. (Id. at 138-40.) Therefore, this case is governed

by Clanton v. Muncy, and the claim of incompetency dur-

ing trial is precluded from consideration by this Court.

As additional support for its position that the claim

of incompetency at trial is procedurally barred, Respon-

dents cited Bainter v. Trickey, 932 F.2d 713 (8th Cir. 1991).

Petitioner, as usual, attempts to cast Respondents in a bad

light, by noting that Trickey “was not a death penalty

case, contrary to the apparent insinuation by respon-

dents.” (Response at 62.) However, the Summary Judg-

ment Motion at 36 clearly distinguished between Clanton,

to which was affixed the explanatory parenthetical “(cap-

ital case)”, and Trickey, which was given none such. More-

over, Petitioner is forced to concede the point for which

Trickey was cited; “it is true that Trickey held that the

defendant’s claim of incompetence was procedurally

barred.” (Response at 62.) Petitioner nonetheless seeks to

15

distinguish Trickey away on the basis that an evidentiary

hearing was held in that case on an ineffective assistance

of counsel claim. (Id.) This argument avoids the point,

which is that a claim of actual incompetence to be tried

(i.e., the question under discussion at this point in the

pleadings) was indeed ruled to be procedurally barred.

972 F.2d at 716. Moreover, the evidentiary hearing on

ineffectiveness in Trickey was held by the state court (not

the federal court), and no issue of procedural default as to

that claim existed. Therefore, Trickey does support the

preclusion of the claim of actual incompetence to be tried,

but it does not support Petitioner’s position that he is

entitled to an evidentiary hearing before this Court.

Since the claim is so clearly precluded, Respondents

continue to maintain that this Court need not (indeed,

should not) examine it any further.

We need not reach the merits to assure

Campbell, and ourselves, that his claims have

been fully considered. Indeed, upon determin-

ing that claims raised in a habeas petition are

successive or abusive, we may not do so; respect

for the finality of convictions, and the signifi-

cant costs of federal habeas review, forbid it.

[A] court may not reach the merits of: (a)

Successive claims which raise grounds identi-

cal to grounds heard and decided on the

merits in a previous petition; (b) new

claims, not previously raised which consti-

tute an abuse of the writ; or (c) procedurally

defaulted claims in which the petitioner failed

to follow applicable state procedural rules

in raising the claims.

16

a Wain .. OS _ ss EOE

2514, 2518, 120 L.Ed.2d 269 (1992) (citations

omitted).

Campbell v. Blodgett, 982 F.2d 1321, 1324-25 (9th Cir. 1992)

(emphasis in original). However, lest the Court be con-

cerned about the fairness of its proceedings, the merits

will be briefly noted.

The Summary Judgment Motion at 36-40 pointed out

that there is a very high standard of proof which a habeas

petitioner who claims actual incompetence at trial must

satisfy in order for that claim to be considered by the

federal courts. As an example, Respondents pointed to

Boag v. Raines, 769 F.2d 1341 (9th Cir. 1985), cert. denied,

474 U.S. 1085 (1986); there the Court of Appeals found

insufficient “(1) five attempted suicides between 1954 and

1965; (2) repeated head injuries; (3) a story of bizarre

behavior; and (4) alcoholism. Boag also relies on the

report of a prison psychiatrist, made four months before

trial, which stated that he had a ‘sociopathic personality

disturbance, anti-social reaction,’ and the statement of a

California judge, made six months before trial, that Boag

needed ‘intensive psychiatric treatment’.” 769 F.2d at

1343. Petitioner attempts to distinguish Boag away on the

premise that there “the defendant’s competency ... was

substantively addressed.” (Response at 59.) If Petitioner

intends to convey that Boag received a federal evidenti-

ary hearing on his claim he is clearly wrong. The Ninth

Circuit noted that a habeas petitioner “is entitled to an

evidentiary hearing on the issue of competency to stand

trial if he presents sufficient facts to create a real and

substantial doubt about his competency . . . ” 769 F.2d at

1343. It then reviewed the evidence noted above which

17

Boag offered (which had not been presented to the state

courts), after which it stated, “We conclude that the dis-

trict court properly found that the new evidence pre-

sented by Boag did not raise a real and substantial doubt

as to his competency.” 769 F.2d at 1344. Thus, there is a

high threshold level of proof to be crossed before an

evidentiary hearing will be granted, and Boag failed to

satisfy that initial burden. Hence, Boag is not distinguish-

able, and clearly militates against granting Petitioner an

evidentiary hearing or any other relief.

Petitioner continues to bewail the fact that Respon-

dents have insisted that he follow appropriate procedures

to present his claims, even resorting to statements unsup-

ported by the record, such as the supposed notoriety of

prison doctors for not prescribing medicine for prisoners,

and the asserted “fact” that Respondents “tried every-

thing in the book to prevent petitioner from being exam-

ined by an independent mental health expert.” (Response

at 60-61.) Respondents have never opposed examination

of Petitioner by an independent expert —- something he

has been free to obtain at any time; opposition has only

been to attempts to present claims in the wrong forum

and to spending taxpayer money for examinations unless

they were clearly authorized and likely to be relevant.

For such good faith litigation positions no apology is

necessary and none is tendered; Petitioner has no special

dispensation to ignore the rules just because this is a

capital case. Murray v. Giarratano, 109 S. Ct. at 2770-71.

18

101. Competency To Be Executed.

Respondents have suggested that this issue is not

ripe for decision, because no execution can take place

without the issuance of a warrant of execution, no such

warrant concerning Petitioner presently exists, and the

Arizona Supreme Court apparently is not issuing such

warrants concerning defendants who are protected (as is

Petitioner) by a federal stay of execution. Moreover, men-

tal competency, of course, can change over the course of

time. Thus, the claim presents nothing more than a possi-

ble future injury, which is insufficient to satisfy the Art.

III “case or controversy” requirement, and there currently

is no issue over which this Court properly has jurisdic-

tion. (Summary Judgment Motion at 43-45.) Petitioner

answers that nothing in Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399,

106 S. Ct. 2595, 91 L. Ed. 2d 335 (1986), supports this

position. (Response at 65.) On the other hand, neither

does anything in Ford militate against it. The defendant in

Ford was subject to a live, unstayed warrant of execution

at the time he invoked the jurisdiction of the federal

courts (477 U.S. at 404), and the issues raised by the case

were the existence of authority to execute the insane and

the kind of state factfinding procedures necessary to

resolve competency questions. Thus, there was no basis

for a ripeness question and Ford did not address it

because it simply never came up.

Petitioner makes no attempt to answer the authority

and reasoning presented by the Motion For Summary

Judgment, and seeks to dismiss its argumentation with a

conclusory remark that it is “unworkable.” (Response at

65.) It is Petitioner's approach, however, which is

unworkable; rather than have a single adjudication of

19

competency, at a time when all his other claims have been

resolved and a warrant has been issued, so that an execu-

tion actually is imminent within a reasonable period of

time, he advocates “plac[{ing] an incredible burden on the

system” by having one adjudication now, plus at least

one more, after all the years it typically takes to resolve

the other claims have transpired. Even in Petitioner's

competency to stand trial analogy, speedy trial guaran-

tees will insure that a competency determination is made

within a reasonably short time before the relevant pro-

ceeding (the trial) occurs; no such guarantees exist in this

case. To do a competency determination now would be

futile, because it will certainly have to be repeated when

the time for execution finally arrives.

The Court should therefore conclude that this claim

is not now ripe for determination. Should the Court none-

theless deem it proper to rule on the issue it should hold

the claim meritless. The only support offered is the Gef-

fen report, which has already been shown to be so rid-

dled with flaws as to be incapable of supporting a finding

of incompetence, especially in light of the opposite con-

clusion reached by the 1991 evaluation (Exhibit H) and

the information about Petitioner's manipulative invoca-

tion of purely subjective mental complaints disclosed by

the prison records. Therefore, if the merits of the question

are considered, the only proper resolution would be

denial.

20

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL

NO. CIV

86-296 TUC RMB

Petitioner,

ORDER

(Filed Feb. 28, 1997)

SAMUEL A. LEWIS et al.,

Respondents.

)

)

)

)

vs. )

)

)

)

)

Pursuant to instructions of the Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit set forth in Martinez v. Lewis, 80 F.2d

1301 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 117 S.Ct. 588, 136

L.Ed.2d 517 (1996),

IT IS ORDERED that Petitioner Ramon Martinez-

Villareal’s Claim 4.16 regarding competency to be exe-

cuted is DENIED WITHOUT PREJUDICE;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that all remaining

claims of the Petition are DENIED WITH PREJUDICE.

DATED: February 27, 1997 /s/ Richard M. Rilby

Richard M. Bi.oy

United States

District Court

21

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL,

JUDGMENT IN

A CIVIL CASE

Case NO.

CV-86-296-TUC-RMB

(Filed February 28, 1997)

Plaintiffs

vs.

SAMUEL A. LEWIS,

ET AL.,

Defendants,

me me ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee”

DECISION BY COURT. This action came under con-

sideration before the Court. The issues have been consid-

ered and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that Petitioner

Ramon Martinez-Villareal’s Claim 4.16 regarding compe-

tency to be executed is DENIED WITHOUT PREJU-

DICE.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that all remaining

claims of the Petition are DENIED WITH PREJUDICE.

February 28, 1997 RICHARD H. WEARE

Date CLERK

/s/ Maureen Gorski

(By) Deputy Clerk,

Maureen Gorski

cc: OB, RMB, BRUNER, FERG, DPLC, DESSAINT, ACRP

22

BRUNER & BOWMAN, P.C.

78 West CuShing Street

Tucson, Arizona 85701

602-624-8000

Attorneys for Petitioner

By: Sean Bruner, Bar #007296

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ- NO. CIV 86-296-TUC-RMB

]

VILLARE |

we MOTION TO RECONSIDER

Petitioner, ORDER AND JUDGMENT

TERRY STEWART, ] (Filed March 12, 1997)

et al., ]

Respondents. :

Pursuant to this Court’s order and judgment entered

February 28, 1997, petitioner’s claim 4.16 regarding com-

petency to be executed was denied without prejudice.

Petitioner hereby moves this court to reconsider that

aspect of its order, pursuant to Rule 59, Fed.R.Civ.P.

Petitioner directs the Court’s attention to certain sec-

tions of the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty

Act of 1996 (AEDPA), amending 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

In that regard, § 2244(b)(1) states: “A claim presented

in a second or successive habeas corpus application

under section 2254 that was presented in a prior applica-

tion shall be dismissed.” Further on in that section, sub-

paragraph (b)(3)(A) states: “Before a second or successive

application permitted by this section is filed in the dis-

trict court, the applicant shall move in the appropriate

23

court of appeals for an order authorizing the district

court to consider the application.”

The Court of Appeals, however, is limited in the type

of successor petitions that may be granted. The applicable

portion of § 2255 states: “A second or successive motion

must be certified as provided in section 2244 by a panel

of the appropriate court of appeals to contain — (1) newly

discovered evidence that, if proven and viewed in light of

the evidence as a whole, would be sufficient to establish

by clear and convicning [sic] evidence that no reasonable

factfinder would have found the movant guilty of the

offense; or (2) a new rule of constitutional law, made

retroactive to cases on collateral review by the Supreme

Court that was previously unavailable.”

In other words, petitioner’s claim to incompetence to

be executed would be barred notwithstanding this

Court’s dismissal “without prejudice.” This would con-

travene the clear intention of the parties, violate due

process under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments,

and constiute [sic] an unconstitutional suspension of the

writ of habeas corpus in violation of Art. I, Sec. 9 of the

Constitution.

Petitioner did file his claim in his last petition, prior

to the passage of the AEDPA. It was the State that sug-

gested that the claim was not ripe since the Arizona

Supreme Court had not yet issued a warrant of execution,

and this Court agreed. (Order and Memorandum Deci-

sion at 18-19). The Ninth Circuit concurred that the claim

was premature. Martinez-Villareal v. Lewis, 80 F.3d 1301,

1307 (9th Cir. 1996).

24

In light of the understanding of all parties that peti-

tioner’s claim to incompetence to be executed would

await a future hearing, it would be a cruel injustice to

now find that petitioner’s challenge was barred as a

successive claim. In Lindh v. Murphy, 96 F.3d 856 (7th Cir.

1996) the Seventh Circuit found that the AEDPA applied

to cases which were pending at the time it took effect.

The Ninth Circuit reached the opposite conclusion in

Jeffries v. Wood, 103 F.3d 827 (9th Cir. 1996). The Supreme

Court granted certiorari in Lindh v. Murphy on January 10,

1997 to resolve this issue. In the interest of fairness and in

an abundance of caution, petitioner asks that this Court

reconsider its order dismissing his claim to incompetence

to be executed and amend its order of February 28, 1997

holding this issue in abeyance pending the outcome of

the current proceedings in the Superior Court in Pinal

County to determine compentence [sic] to be executed

under A.R.S. § 13-4022.

Respectfully submitted March 11, 1997.

/s/ Sean Bruner

Sean Bruner

Attorney for Petitioner

Copy mailed/delivered this date to:

Bruce M. Ferg

Assistant Attorney General

402 West Congress

3rd Floor

Tucson, Arizona 85701

25

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL NO. CIV 86-296 TUC RMB

Petitioner,

vs. ORDER

)

)

)

)

)

SAMUEL A. LEWIS) (filed March 24, 1997)

et al., )

)

)

)

Respondents.

Petitioner files under Fed. R. Civ. P. 59, a “Motion to

Reconsider Order and Judgment” wherein he seeks this

Court to hold in abeyance his claim that he is incompe-

tent to be executed. Petitioner cites no authority for such

action except to warn the Court that the premature claim

could be precluded as a successive claim by the Antiter-

rorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996

(“AEDPA”). Petitioner requests that in the interest of

fairness and in an abundance of caution, that this Court

amend its order to hold this single claim in abeyance

pending the outcome of the proceedings in Superior

Court in Pinal County to determine whether Petitioner is

competent to be executed under A.R.S. § 13-4022.

After considering Petitioner’s arguments, the Court

finds no reason to grant the requested relief. That particu-

lar claim could not even be construed as an unexhausted

claim since it was not ripe when it was presented. For this

26

reason, the Court dismissed it without prejudice. There-

fore, the Court has no intention of treating the “incompe-

tency to be executed” claim as a successive petition.

Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that Petitioner’s “Motion to Recon-

sider Order and Judgment” in DENIED.

DATED this 24 day of March, 1997,

/s/ Richard M. Bilby

Richard M. Bilby

Senior United States

District Judge

27

SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA

STATE OF ARIZONA, Supreme Court

No. CR-83-0207-AP

was Court of Appeals

RAMON MARTINEZ- No. 2 CA-CR 3160

VILLAREAL,

Appellant. ) Nos. 4541-A, 4653-A

and 4628-A

WARRANT OF EXECUTION

)

)

)

)

) Santa Cruz County

)

)

)

‘ (Filed April 15, 1997)

The appeal in the above-entitled cause was heard and

fully considered by this Court on the 12th day of April,

1984 and having finally decided the cause, this Court on

the 10th day of July, 1985, did affirm the judgment of the

Superior Court of Santa Cruz County, State of Arizona,

and did file its opinion, which opinion is now of record in

this Court, is still in effect, and, as shown by this Court's

record, has not been stayed or affected by any subsequent

decision of this or any other Court.

WHEREAS, a Warrant of Execution issued by this

Court on March 12, 1997 was quashed by order in Mar-

tinez-Villareal v. Johnson, No. CV-97-0151-SA, dated

April 8, 1997, which order further directed that the execu-

tion be set for May 21, 1997,

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that Wednes-

day, the 21st day of May, 1997, be and the same is hereby

fixed as the time when the judgment and sentence of

death pronounced upon the appellant, RAMON MAR-

TINEZ-VILLAREAL, by the Superior Court of Santa Cruz

28

County, State of Arizona, shall be executed by adminis-

tering to RAMON MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL an intra-

venous injection of a substance or substances in a lethal

quantity sufficient to cause death, except that RAMON

MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL shall have the choice of either

lethal injection or lethal gas.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of this

Court forthwith prepare and certify under his hand and

the seal of this Court a full, true and correct copy of this

Warrant, and cause the same to be delivered to the Direc-

tor of the Department of Corrections and the Superinten-

dent of the State Prison, at Florence, Arizona, and the

same shall be sufficient authority to them for the execu-

tion of the appellant, RAMON MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL,

as commanded by the judgment and sentence of death

pronounced against RAMON MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL,

by the Superior Court of Santa Cruz County, State of

Arizona, on the 20th day of May, 1983.

Upon the execution of RAMON MARTINEZ-VIL-

LAREAL, the Superintendent shall, pursuant to Rule

31.17(c), Rules of Criminal Procedure, forthwith make a

return upon this Warrant to the Supreme Court of Ari-

zona, which return shall show the time, mode and man-

ner of execution.

Dated in the City of Phoenix, Arizona, at the Arizona

Courts Building, this 15th day of April, 1997.

/s/ Thomas A. Zlaket

THOMAS A. ZLAKET, Chief Justice

/s/ Charles E. Jones

CHARLES E. JONES, Vice Chief

Justice

29

/s/ Stanley G. Feldman

STANLEY G. FELDMAN, Justice

/s/ James Moeller

TAMES MOELLER, Justice

/s/ Frederick J. Martone

LR RICK . MARTONE, Justice

STATE OF ARIZONA

SUPREME COURT

I, NOEL K. DESSAINT, Clerk of the Supreme Court

of the State of Arizona, hereby certify the above and

foregoing (2 pages) to be a full and true copy of the

WARRANT OF EXECUTION of RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL, filed by said Supreme Court in the said

above-entitled action on this 15th day of April, 1997.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I hereunto set my hand and

affix the official seal of the Supreme Court of the State of

Arizona, this 15th day of April, 1997.

/s/ Noel K. Dessaint,

NOEL K. DESSAINT, CLERK

Fredric F. Kay

Federal Public Defender

Denise I. Young (Arizona Bar No. 007146)

Dale A. Baich (Ohio Bar No. 0025070)

222 North Central Avenue, Suite 810

Phoenix, Arizor. *5004

602.379.3670

602.379.3681 facsimile

Sean D. O’Brien (Missouri Bar #30116)

Public Interest Litigation Clinic

5319 Rockhill Road

Kansas City, Missouri, 64110

816.363.2795

816.363.2799 facsimile

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL,

Petitioner,

CAPITAL CASE

EXECUTION

SCHEDULED FOR

5-21-97

No. CIV-86-296 TUC RMB

MOTION FOR EXPERT

SERVICES AND/OR

ACCESS TO CLIENT

AND APPOINTMENT OF

COUNSEL

(Filed May 13, 1997)

vs.

TERRY STEWART et al.,

Respondents.

ee ee

Petitioner Ramon Martinez-Villareal, through counsel

specially appearing herein, and pursuant to 21 U.S.C.

§ 848(q)(4) and (9), moves this Court for appointment of

necessary experts, assistance and/or access to his client

31

to allow this Court to properly determine his competency

to be executed. The following facts support this motion:

1. Petitioner Ramon Martinez-Villareal is mentally

retarded and he is unaware of his pending execution and

the reasons for it. Mr Martinez-Villareal, through counsel,

alleged Mr. Martinez-Villareal “did not and does not have

the mental capacity to appreciate the nature of his sen-

tence.” Amended Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus

(“Habeas Petition”), filed Mar. 26, 1993 at { 4.16' Since

Mr. Martinez-Villareal did not and does not have the

mental capacity to appreciate the nature of his sentence,

under Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986), his rights

under the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendment would be

violated if he is executed. Id. at { 106.

2. The Court issued a writ of habeas corpus. Entry,

Oct. 21, 1994 [Doc. No. 137]. The Court found that Mr.

Martinez-Villareal did not receive the effective assistance

of counsel and vacated the sentence of death. Id., Order

and Memorandum Opinion, Oct. 21, 1994 [Doc. No. 136],

at 30.2 As to the challenge to Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s

1 Facts supporting the claim were outlined in {{ 25

through 90 of the habeas petition.

2 The Court's was based, in part, on the testimony

of Dr. Garcia-Bunuel. Order and Memorandum Opinion, Oct.

21, 1994 at 29. Dr. Garcia-Bunuel opined that Mr. Martinez-

Viliareal suffers from paranoid and he had this

mental disease since he was an adolescent. Id. at 26. The Court

also observed:

Physically, Martinez-Villareal is a small man, no more

than five feet tall. During the proceedings his face

was devoid of expression; his hair was greasy and

stood upward in peaks. His eyes were downcast and

32

competency to be executed, the Court ruled “[a]t present,

there is no execution warrant outstanding as to Martinez-

Villareal since this Court issued its stay. Thus, Martinez-

Villareal is not facing execution nor with appellate review

will he face likely execution in the near future. This claim

is premature and denied without prejudice.” Order and

Memorandum Opinion, Oct. 21, 1994 at 19.

3. On appeal, the Ninth Circuit found that the writ

was improperly granted. Martinez-Villareal v. Lewis, 80

F.3d 1301, 1305 (9th Cir. 1996). The court based its deci-

sion on a procedural bar to Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s claim

of ineffective assistance of counsel. Id. However, the court

of appeals explicitly stated, “[t]o eliminate any ambiguity,

we reiterate that the claim of Martinez-Villareal’s current

incompetence was denied as premature by the district

court. That decision was not challenged on appeal. Our

instruction to enter judgment denying the petition is not

intended to affect any later litigation of that question.” Id.

at 1309, n.1. On remand, this Court entered an order

denying, without prejudice, Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s

competency challenge. Order and Entry, Feb. 28, 1997.3

[Doc. Nos. 152 and 153.]

once he was led into the courtroom, his only

movement was to remove the interpreter’s

headphones. Other than the effort it took to perform

this task, [Martinez-Villareal] was essentially

catatonic for the duration of the two day hearing.

Id. at 14-15.

° The Court, through a subsequent order, stated that the

reason the competency to be executed claim was dismissed was

because “it was not ripe when it was presented. For this reason,

the Court dismissed it without prejudice. Therefore, the Court

has no intention of treating the ‘incompetency to be executed’

33

4. On April 15, 1997, the Arizona Supreme Court

issued an execution warrant setting Mr. Martinez-Vil-

lareal’s execution for 12:05 am on Wednesday, May 21,

1997. State v. Martinez-Villareal, No. CR-83-0207 AP (Ariz.

Apr. 15, 1997). [Exhibit A.] A hearing was held in the

Pinal County Superior Court on April 6, May 6, 7 and 8,

1997,4 to determine whether Mr. Martinez-Villareal was

competent to be executed. At the state court hearing,

substantial evidence and testimony established that Mr.

Martinez-Villareal continues to experience symptoms of a

major psychotic disorder, which was traced back to his

childhood, and that his condition is compounded by

mental retardation and brain damage. The state claimed

that Mr. Martinez-Villareal is malingering all of these

conditions.

5. Prior to and during the hearing, counsel for Mr.

Martinez-Villareal asked the superior court for leave to

conduct a MRI scan and neurometric EEG of Mr. Mar-

tinez-Villareal and further asked for an expert specializ-

ing in the field of mental retardation to exam Mr.

Martinez-Villareal. Counsel explained that the accusation

that Mr. Martinez-Villareal was malingering his condi-

tion, and that he made statements reflecting an awareness

of his crime and punishment, increased the need for a

reliable determination of the issues of brain damage and

claim as a successive petition.” Order, Mar. 24, 1997 [Doc. No.

155], at 1. Petitioner appealed that order simply to ensure that

jurisdiction was not lost if Respondents should take a contrary

position when the petition is supplemented with this claim.

4 The hearings on April 6th and May 8th were half day

hearings.

34

mental retardation. Counsel also requested an oppor-

tunity to conduct further specific testing into the issue of

mental retardation - including objective assessment of

Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s adaptive behavior skills which

would provide substantial proof of his reasoning capac-

ity, or lack thereof.5 The record reveals that mental retar-

dation is a significant contributing factor to Mr. Martinez-

Villareal’s mental capacity and his behavior in the Ari-

zona Department of Corrections. Finally, counsel

requested additional time and resources to conduct a

thorough background investigation into Mr. Martinez-

Villareal’s family and social history. It is important to the

issue of malingering - which the state injected into the

case — to verify as much of Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s medi-

cal and social history as possible, including past head

trauma and a possible psychiatric referral by defendant's

uncle.® All of the requests were denied by the superior

court and the hearing commenced without petitioner

having an opportunity to present such evidence.

6. A day after the conclusion of the evidence the

superior court determined, inter alia, that:

> Counsel requested the court to appoint Dr. Denis Keyes,

an expert in the field of mental retardation who was willing to

conduct an expedited examination which would not have

delayed the hearing process.

© Mr. Martinez-Villareal, because of his mental impairment

and illiteracy in Spanish and English, has never been able to

provide reliable background, health and social history. He does

not even know his age or date of birth. Counsel requested and

were denied time and resources to locate the family members

who could verify the fact that Mr. Martinez-Villareal has been

mentally ill since childhood.

35

Credible testimony and medical evidence

was presented at the hearing herein that the

Defendant may suffer from a mental illness,

mental retardation and/or organic brain dam-

age; credible testimony and medical evidence

was likewise presented at the hearing herein

that some or all of the symptoms or outward

manifestations of those illnesses or conditions

may be and may have been exaggerated or con-

trived by the Defendant; credible testimony and

evidence was likewise presented at the hearing

herein that the Defendant, even if suffering from

any or all of those illnesses or conditions, would

not necessarily thereby be precluded from being

competent to be executed, as defined by the

law. ...

State v. Martinez-Villareal, No CR 97022291 (may 9, 1997)

[Exhibit B.] The Court concluded Mr. Martinez-Villareal

was aware that he is to be punished for the crime of

murder and that the punishment for that crime is death,

and that he is therefore competent to be executed. Id.

7. Mr. Martinez-Villareal is now before this Court

requesting expert services and the appointment of coun-

sel so that his competency to be executed claim can be

fully developed and presented in this Court. Given the

ambiguity and inadequacy of the trial court’s findings,

assuming they can even be characterized as such, this

Court will need to conduct a de novo review of this

claim. As a result, to make a full and fair decision on this

claim, it will need all the information it can obtain on this

serious issue.

8. This Court has jurisdiction to hear this motion.

Congress, through 28 U.S.C. § 848(q){4)(B) “established a

36

right to preapplication legal assistance for defendants in

federal habeas corpus proceedings.” McFarland v. Scott,

512 U.S. 849, __, 114 S.Ct. 2568, 2572 (1994). This assis-

tance extends to the services of investigators and other

experts [who] may be critical in the preapplication phase

of a habeas corpus proceeding, when possible claims and

their factual bases are researched and identified.” Id. 114

S.Ct. at 2572 citing 21 U.S.C. § 848(q)(9). This Court has

the authority to grant a fee request to assist Mr. Martinez-

Villareal “in preparing for his federal habeas efforts.”

Calderon v. United States District Court for the Eastern Dis-

trict of California, __ F.3d. __, 1997 WL 183877, at *1, *6

(9th Cir. Apr. 16, 1997). A “ ‘post conviction proceeding’

within the meaning of section 848(q)(4)(B) begins upon

the filing of the defendant’s motion requesting the assis-

tance of counsel for his federal habeas corpus proceed-

ing.” Id. citing McFarland v. Scott, 114 S.Ct. at 2572-73.7

9. Petitioner requires expert assistance and/or

access to his client before he files his supplemented peti-

tion for writ of habeas corpus.*® As discussed above, this

7 Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s request for appointment of

counsel is made at { 13, infra.

8 If this Court appoints the Federal Public Defendant as

requested below, it need only grant the request for access to

Petitioner to conduct necessary testing. Under the policies of the

Arizona Department of Corrections (“DOC”), a contact visit

between counsel, a mental health expert and Petitioner will not

be allowed absent a court order. The state court issued such an

order below, and contact visits were allowed. Petitioner

requests that this Court also issue such an order so that the

needed evaluations can go forward. In addition, this Court

previously allowed experts to have access to Mr. Martinez-

Villareal for purposes of testing. See Doc. Nos. 90, 108, 110, and

112.

37

is because, despite requests both before and during the

recent state court hearing on whether Petitioner was com-

petent to be executed, the state court denied Petitioner

the services of necessary experts, including an expert in

field of mental retardation. In the habeas proceedings in

this Court on Claim 4.16, Mr. Martinez-Villareal will pre-

sent facts concerning his mental retardation and explain

that mental retardation exacerbates and relates to his

present incompetency.

10. Mr. Martinez-Villareal is requesting from this

Court that which was denied to him by the state court,

and what was needed to determine the question of his

competency. He is requesting funding for an MRI scan,

which creates a visual image of the brain structure, and

neurometric EEG, which measures brain functioning, as

well as funding to retain Dr. Dennis Keyes.’

10.1 Jonathan H. Pincus, M.D., conducted a neu-

rological examination of Mr. Martinez-Villareal and

reported not only is Mr. Martinez-Villareal psychotic, but

“[t]his subject is mentally retarded, his IQ 61, and his

frontal lobe functions are impaired on neurological exam-

ination.” Correspondence from Jonathan H. Pincus to

Sean D. O’Brien, Apr. 1, 1997 (“Pincus correspondence”)

at 6. [Exhibit C.] Dr. Pincus concluded “[aJn MRI of [Mr.

Martinez-Villareal’s] brain could help to explain why his

brain is not working properly.” Id.

10.2 Joseph Geffen, PhD., also tested Mr. Mar-

tinez-Villareal and concluded he is “mentally retarded,

brain damaged and psychotic.” Affidavit of Dr. Geffen,

% See footnote 8, supra.

38

Apr. 8, 1997 (“Geffen Affidavit”) at { 2. [Exhibit D.]

According to Dr. Geffen, “[aJn MRI is necessary to help

detect any structural abnormality of the brain that may

account for the organic brain dysfunction indicated by

neurological and neuropsychological testing and patient

history.” Id. at { 4. The neurometric EEG is “especially

critical in examining Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s frontal cere-

bral cortex, which is the seat of higher brain functions,

including the ability to understand the abstract concepts

necessary to understand the cause-effect relationship

between the crime and the punishment.” Id. at { 6. Dr.

Geffen concluded, that in addition to the MRI and neuro-

metric EEG, “it would be important to obtain an examina-

tion of an expert in the area of mental retardation,

preferably one who is bi-lingual. . . . [I]t appears that

behavior consistent with mental retardation is being mis-

interpreted [by state officials] as indicia of competence.

. . . Although Mr. Martinez-Villareal is brain damaged

and psychotic, his impairment is significantly exacer-

bated by his extremely limited intellectual functioning.”

Id. at { 7.

10.3 Assessment of Mr. Martinez-Villareal by a

psychologist specializing in the field of mental retarda-

tion is critical to an accurate assessment to his present

level of competence. Counsel has consulted Dr. Denis

Keyes, PhD., Assistant Professor of Special Education at

the College of Charleston, South Carolina, regarding the

issue of mental retardation in this case. Dr. Keyes’ initial

impression of this case is that Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s

mental retardation is under emphasized. Although IQ

testing places him well within the range of mental retar-

dation, an adaptive skills diagnosis is necessary to detect

39

the severity of his mental retardation. A subject’s adap-

tive skills are more important to a diagnosis of mental

retardation than IQ testing alone. Dr. Keyes would

administer the Vineland Scale of adaptive behavior,

which involves interviewing a minimum of four to five

individuals who are most familiar with Mr. Martinez-

Villareal’s development and behavior, including his fam-

ily, friends, lawyers and corrections staff. From reviewing

portions of the record in this case, Dr. Keyes has

expressed a concern that Mr. Martinez-Villareal, as is

typical of most persons with mental retardation, is

extremely suggestible and subject to manipulation during

questioning. He has a specific concern regarding this

case, which could be addressed by further investigation,

that statements and conduct of Mr. Martinez-Villareal has

been misinterpreted as indicia of competence.

11. The refusal by the state court to provide funding

for testing and experts, effectively denied Mr. Martinez-

Villareal of the adequate fact-finding procedure that he

was entitled to in the state court. Two key elements were

missing from the hearing in state court: test results,

which in turn would offer proof of brain damage; and an

evaluation and testimony by a psychologist to explain

mental retardation and its affect on a person who is brain

damaged. Without this evidence, much less the ability to

obtain this evidence and present it to the state court,

there is no presumption of correctness afforded to the

state court decision. Testing and expert assistance will be

necessary for Mr. Martinez-Villareal to present his allega-

tions in support of Claim 4.16 to this court.

12. This Court also has the authority to appoint

counsel for Mr. Martinez-Villareal. Section 848(q)(4)(B) of

40

Title 21 of the United States Code “established a right to

preapplication legal assistance for defendants in federal

habeas corpus proceedings.” McFarland v. Scott, 114 S.Ct.

at 2572. The language and purposes of § 848(q)(4)(B) and

its related provisions establish that the right to appointed

counsel includes a right to legal assistance in the prepara-

tion of the habeas corpus application.” Id. Mr. Martinez-

Villareal, who is indigent, requests counsel so that he may

prepare to seek a stay of execution and reinstate his

competency to be executed claim.

13. Although Mr. Martinez-Villareal has been repre-

sented by Sean Bruner in the state court proceedings

below, and was represented by Mr. Bruner in proceedings

in this Court, Mr. Bruner can no longer continue in the

representation because he has become an important wit-

ness as to Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s competency to be exe-

cuted. Due to past and continuing observations of Mr.

Martinez-Villareal made by Mr. Bruner, it may be neces-

sary for Mr. Bruner to be called as a witness at a compe-

tency hearing in this Court. Accordingly, Mr. Bruner is

not seeking appointment for this proceeding. For that

reason, Petitioner requests that the Federal Public

Defender for the District of Arizona and Sean D. O’Brien

be appointed to represent him in his habeas corpus pro-

ceedings. Sean D. O’Brien is the Director of the Public

Interest Litigation Clinic in Kansas City, Missouri. He was

appointed to represent Mr. Martinez-Villareal in the state

court competency proceedings. Mr. O’Brien’s continued

participation, given the short period of time in which the

claim may need to be litigated, is necessary as he is most

familiar with the facts of the case, the witnesses and the

41

proceedings in the state court. Mr. O’Brien possesses the

necessary qualifications to be appointed in this matter.’°

14. Finally, Petitioner requests access to his client to

allow the necessary evaluations and testing to take place.

DOC does not permit contact visits absent a court order.

This Court and the state court previously issued orders

that Petitioner be given contact visits with his attorneys

and mental health experts. DOC complied with that

order. Petitioner asks this Court to issue a similar order

so that necessary investigation can be completed.

For all these reasons, Mr. Martinez-Villareal requests

the immediate appointment of counsel and necessary

experts or access to his client so that counsel may prepare

the competency claim, and related pleadings, for consid-

eration by this Court. Given the impending execution

date, Petitioner asks that this motion be given expedited

consideration.

Respectfully submitted this 13th day of May, 1997.

Fredric F. Kay

Federal Public Defender

Denise I. Young

Dale A. Baich

Sean D. O’Brien

By /s/ Denise Young

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

10 A further description of Mr. O’Brien’s qualifications are

listed in his resume. [Exhibit E.]

Copy of the foregoing

mailed this 13th day of

May, 1997 to:

Bruce M. Ferg

Assistant Attorney General

Office of the Attorney General

400 West Congress, Bldg. S, Ste. 315

Tucson, AZ 85701-1367

/s/ Denise Young

EXHIBIT A

SUPREME COURT OF ARIZONA

STATE OF ARIZONA,

Appellee,

Supreme Court

No. CR-83-0207-AP

[5963]

vs.

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL,

Appellant.

Court of Appeals

No. 2 CA-CR 3160

Santa Cruz County

Nos. 4541-A, 4653-A

and 4628-A

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

) WARRANT OF EXECUTION

)

)

(Filed April 15, 1997)

The appeal in the above-entitled cause was heard and

fully considered by this Court on the 12th day of April,

1984 and having finally decided the cause, this Court on

43

the 10th day of July, 1985, did affirm the judgment of the

Superior Court of Santa Cruz County, State of Arizona,

and did file its opinion, which opinion is now of record in

this Court, is still in effect, and, as shown by this Court's

record, has not been stayed or affected by any subsequent

decision of this or any other Court.

WHEREAS, a Warrant of Execution issued by this

Court on March 12, 1997 was quashed by order in Mar-

tinez-Villareal v. Johnson, No. CV-97-0151-SA, dated

April 8, 1997, which order further directed that the execu-

tion be set for May 21, 1997,

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that Wednes-

day, the 21st day of May, 1997, be and the same is hereby

fixed as the time when the judgment and sentence of

death pronounced upon the appellant, RAMON MAR-

TINEZ-VILLAREAL, by the Superior Court of Santa Cruz

County, State of Arizona, shall be executed by adminis-

tering to RAMON MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL an intra-

venous injection of a substance or substances in a lethal

quantity sufficient to cause death, except that RAMON

MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL shall have the choice of either

lethal injection or lethal gas.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of this

Court forthwith prepare and certify under his hand and

the seal of this Court a full, true and correct copy of this

Warrant, and cause the same to be delivered to the Direc-

tor of the Department of Corrections and the Superinten-

dent of the State Prison, at Florence, Arizona, and the

same shall be sufficient authority to them for the execu-

tion of the appellant, RAMON MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL,

as commanded by the judgment and sentence of death

44

pronounced against RAMON MARTINEZ-VILLAREAL,

by the Superior Court of Santa Cruz County, State of

Arizona, on the 20th day of May, 1983.

Upon the execution of RAMON MARTINEZ-VIL-

LAREAL, the Superintendent shall, pursuant to Rule

31.17(c), Rules of Criminal Procedure, forthwith make a

return upon this Warrant to the Supreme Court of Ari-

zona, which return shall show the time, mode and man-

ner of execution.

Dated in the City of Phoenix, Arizona, at the Arizona

Courts Building, this 15th day of April, 1997.

/s/ Thomas A. Zlaket

THOMAS A. ZLAKET, Chief Justice

/s/ Charles E. Jones

CHARLES E. JONES, Vice Chief Justice

/s/ Stanley G. Feldman

STANLEY G. FELDMAN, Justice

/s/ James Moeller

JAMES MOELLER, Justice

/s/ Frederick J. Martone

FREDERICK J. MARTONE, Justice

STATE OF ARIZONA

SUPREME COURT

I, NOEL K. DESSAINT, Clerk of the Supreme Court

of the State of Arizona, hereby certify the above and

foregoing (2 pages) to be a full and true copy of the

WARRANT OF EXECUTION of RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL, filed by said Supreme Court in the said

above-entitled action on this 15th day of April, 1997.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I hereunto set my hand and

affix the official seal of the Supreme Court of the State of

Arizona, this 15th day of April, 1997.

/s/ Noel K. Dessaint

NOEL K. DESSAINT, CLERK

EXHIBIT B

OFFICE DISTRIBUTION

[X] DIVISION

[X] COUNTY ATTORNEY

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT

OF

PINAL COUNTY, STATE OF ARIZONA

Date 05/09/1997

JUDGE HONORABLE BOYD T. JOHNSON

DIVISION 4 ALMA JENNINGS HAUGHT, CLERK

COURT REPORTER none By Melissa A. Rabago, Deputy

ADDRESS & PHONE

THE STATE OF ARIZONA,

46

Case No. CR97022291

)

Plaine, ) MINUTE ENTRY

vs ) ACTION:

RAMON MARTINEZ- . mmnnen

VILLAREAL,

Defendant(s). ) (Filed May 9, 1997)

)

PRESENT:

The Court having considered the pleadings of

the parties; having reviewed the reports of =

mental health experts herein; having review

all exhibits admitted into evidence; having -

sidered the testimony of witnesses herein =

the arguments of counsel; having considered a

relevant legal authority; and upon good cause

shown:

FINDS, as follows:

t the Defendant, Ramon Martinez-Villar-

. a is an inmate in the custody of the Ari-

zona Department of Corrections who has

been sentenced to death; that this action was

brought by and on behalf of the oe

upon a petition filed pursuant to we

§13-4022, as amended, alleging that t °

Defendant is not competent to be executed;

_ That A.R.S. §13-4022(E), as amended, pro-

: vides a presumption that a person who -_

been sentenced to death is competent to

executed; that it further places the burden

upon the defendant to prove by clear and

o,

47

convincing evictence that he is not

tent to be exec" :ed; that the mental compe-

tency at issue in this proceeding is as

defined by A.R.S. §13-4021, as amended;

That credible testimony and medical evi-

dence was presented at the hearing herein

that the Defendant may suffer from a mental

illness, mental retardation and/or organic

brain damage; credible testimony and medi-

cal evidence was likewise presented at the

hearing herein that some or all of the symp-

toms or outward manifestation of those ill-

nesses or conditions may be and may have

been exaggerated or contrived by the Defen-

dant; credible testimony and medical evi-

dence was likewise presented at the hearing

herein that the Defendant, even if suffering

from any or all of those illnesses or condi-

tions, would not necessarily thereby be pre-

cluded from being competent to be

executed, as defined by law; credible testi-

mony and medical evidence was likewise

presented at the hearing herein that the

Defendant may not suffer from any of those

illnesses or conditions or may suffer in a

lesser degree from one or more of those

illnesses or conditions and mwy, in fact, be

malingering, as that term was medically

defined during the testimony of witnesses;

That the determination whether the burden

of proof has been met may only be made

after a careful review and analysis of all the

evidence presented the Court; that, upon

review of all the evidence presented the

Court, this Court FINDS that the Defendant

has failed to prove by clear and convincing

48

evidence, or by the lesser standard of pre-

ponderance of the evidence, that he is not

competent to be executed;

5. That the Court FURTHER FINDS that Defen-

dant is aware that he is to be punished for

the crime of murder and that he is aware

that the impending punishment for that

crime is death; that the Defendant, Ramon

Martinez-Villarreal, is therefore competent

to be executed under the laws of the State of

Arizona.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the petition

to find the Defendant incompetent to be exe-

cuted is denied.

DONE this 9th day of May, 1997.

/s/ Boyd T. Johnson

HONOR RABLE BOYD T JOHNSON

49

EXHIBIT C

GEORGETOWN Universiry Mepicat CENTER

Department of Neurology

Jonathan H. Pincus, MD

Professor and Chairman Emeritus

April 1, 1997

Mr. Sean O’Brien

Public Interest Liti ation

5319 Rockville Road

Kansas City, Missouri 64110

Re: Ramon Martinez Villa-Real

Dear Mr. O’Brien,

; I examined Mr. Ramon Martinez Villa-Real on Mon-

ay, March 31, 1997, in the federal Penitentiary in Flo-

rence, Arizona, and I have reviewed the records that

were kind enough to send. These included the a

from the Pacific Reporter, second series, July 10, 1985

pages 670-681, the affidavit of Dr. Garcia-Bunuel concern.

a his examination on March 5, 1994, and the affidavit of

me ade Geffen of his examination dated September 21

oo ran June 22, 1994. I also reviewed the testimony of

a . ffen, direct by Mr. Bruner Pages 8-73 and the direct

. ony of Dr. Garcia-Bunuel Pages 143-200. In addi-

ton, I saw the physical exams and general medical

records, mental health records, medication records iad

X-rays and lab tests from th

¢ Ge e Arizona State Department

My examination and histor

y was performed

March 31, 1997, over a four hour period se 10:30 in he

morning to 2:30 in the afternoon. | saw him in response to

50

your urgent request concerning his competency to be

executed. An execution date had already been set some

two weeks hence. The history was obtained with Mr.

Bruner present in order to allay suspicious feelings con-

cerning my role in his defense and with an interpreter,

Ysabelle.

He entered looking somewhat disheveled with about

three days growth of beard, and his hair was short but

had not been brushed. His posture was flexed in general,

and he appeared dejected. He looked down at his hands

and played with his fingers for the entire four hours that

I was there. I do not think that we established eye contact

more than four times and then only briefly. I began by

asking him if he knew why I was there. I explained that I

was a neurologist, a doctor who takes care of the brain

and the nervous system and its diseases. He said that he

did not know why I was there. I asked him if he knew

how anything I found might be helpful to him, and he

claimed not to. I asked him if he knew that he was to be

executed, and he claimed not to know what that meant. I

asked him if he would come back after the execution, and

he said that he does not know what happens afterward. I

asked if he would eat and watch TV, and he answered by

saying, “I do not get hungry much, and I only watch TV

in the afternoons.” This lack of responsiveness to the

question I had asked was typical. I said to him, “Once

you are killed, you would not eat or watch TV.” He

responded, “Munoz said he is writing a ballad about me.”

I had been told that he was married, so I asked him

about this. He nodded, “Yes.” I said, “Does you wife live

in a house?” He looked uncomfortable and said that they

were not actually married. I said, “Do you live in a

51

house?” He indicated that he lived in a house and th

Consected that to say that she lived in a house. I nae

Does she live in the house with you?” He said that '

she lived in a house that was near where his house w -

said, “Well, why don’t you live together?” He said “Well

she lives with her husband in a house with her dibtien ”"

it turns out that he visited her occasionally in the e :

ning. In other words, he had a relationship with a canon

poser rca vie = ow wife. The lack of understanding

al in this case was not just a matt

language. We had a perfectly competent sat 9

matter of retardation and a kind of literalness in th

interpretation of words, which is seen in brain-da "

individuals and psychotic individuals. rie

Ada poy he had been described as disheveled with a

matted hair in the past, I asked him about his

Ya tee He indicated that the guards give him a

° ats a on Sundays and sometimes by force or with

Pee : chested nage Aan he han not like to walk to

shave is au i

thought that the pains in his legs omer a se wel

relate to diabeti P

pare ic neuropathy. He is known to have dia-

There was some discussion in th i

of his having enjoyed television and of rendre nny

priately to television programs by laughing. I had we

a fe television viewing, and he told me that he likes

meal the Mexican channels because he enjoys hearing

panies ~ ron He speaks no English. I asked him if he

pr e ne soccer matches, and he indicated that

mes they show soccer matches on the Mexican

52

channel. I asked if he ever laughs while watching <p

sion, and he said that he laughs when soccer players 7

down. He denies having a favorite team and deni

following the fortunes of any specific team.

He then spontaneously told me about other times

laughs. He talks to himself in his cell, and ye

laughs. A guard asked him why he was a . “

and laughing. He laughed when the guard as " -

Once a guard came into his cell to search neti

laughed, and the guard asked why. Ramon respo “

“You are able to speak Spanish, but you only sae

English to me.” He said to me, “I was not angeeng a

guard, but that is what the guard thought.

I asked him how he knew that the pass a aby

his laughter was directed at the guard. meer m

said, “the guard seemed angry,” and the gua me he

him, ‘Que passa?’ when he entered his cell. Yet, : “ma

was lying on his bed with his face to the walt w neu

was laughing, so clearly he was not laughing a

guard.

I though [sic] Ramon’s interpretation of this a

was a bit paranoid, so I asked him if there were ws oe

who were angry at him. This led to a long story a wl :

check, a letter, signing for a check, and receiving ° secelp

that was not responsive to the issue we were discussing

and was a digression, what psychiatrists call loose asso-

ciations. This is something seen in people wae so a

thought disorder caused by a neurologic disease of the

brain or a psychosis or both.

53

Then we got back to the subject of anger, and he said

that people were angry at him because he had tempo-

rarily taken the ear plugs out of his ears that were

attached to his radio so that his radio could be heard by

others. He said that the guards turned off his light not

just the radio, and he continued, “the guard is a jerk. He

gave me two sandwiches in the afternoon instead of a

regular dinner.” Ramon does not know if a doctor

ordered this or not because of his diabetes, but “some-

times they don’t give me the milk I ask for. They say wait

a minute, but they say it wrong. They say, ‘Poquito

momento.’ There is one guard who won’t bring me milk.

They don’t bring me milk because they are angry. It makes

me feel bad because I haven’t done anything bad. The

other guys turn on their radios high, and the guards do

nothing to them. It makes me feel ashamed.”

The picture drawn by Ramon was one of aloneness.

The guards are against him, the other inmates are against

him, and all without reason.

Ramon had been receiving antipsychotic medication.

At one point, he had Navane 5 mg twice a day and was

taking Cogentin and/or Artane with it. He had been

treated with this was for a number of years, but the

antipsychotic medication had been discontinued about a

year ago. I asked about the effect on him of stopping that

medication. He misunderstood my question or answered

another one and started talking about his hearing. It

turns out that he has a problem hearing with his left ear.

When I asked him about what he does hear that other

people can’t, he indicated that he hears voices and some-

times sees snakes. I asked about the identity of the voices,

and he said that there is a man’s voice and a woman’s

54

voice that do not have names. Both tell him to cut him-

self. The woman’s voice is like his dead sister, Maria. She

was like a mother to him, and after he was orphaned, she

tee: care of him. He said, “Her children are like my

own,” and then he cried. He said that she was a half

sister. She looked for him when he would go out to work

and stay away for several days. She lived on another

ranch about one day’s walk from where his older

brothers and sisters were living in the mountains in a

communal agricultural village.

This conversation is not responsive to my question

about what happened after he stopped his antipsychotic

medication, but I let him continue. He said that his

mother and his father treated him better than they treated

the other brothers and sisters and protected him because

of his illness. They had identified him as being mentally

ill early on. He was not able to say how old he was when

he began hearing the voices, but he said that when he

was 12 or 13 he banged his head against the wall because

of voices, and his father used to take him with him on

jobs in order to keep an eye on him. His father died when

he was 16 or 17 he told us.

Though his father never beat him, he did beat the

other children and told the other children not to hit him

or tease him because he did not know what he was doing.

He was not able to specify what such acts might be, but

he said that when his father beat the other children, he

used electric extension wire and beat them on their backs

as well as their legs. Though he denied any such beatings

that were directed at him, it sounds to me as if that may

very well have been a very violent home.

55

We discussed the voices. They are the same as th

ones he has always heard, and they tell him to h ‘

himself. The voices were speaking to him at the time ao

we conversed and were “telling him to go back to his

> te ba that they keep him up at night. He said that

Ps ae icine reduced the voices but did not eliminate

m. e wants to take the medication again. The voice i

not his sister, but it is her voice. It is mainly the man nis

tells him to hurt himself. It is not comforting to hea his

sister's voice, but it makes it worse. as

He expressed intensely ambiguous feelin

a men, Munoz and Ortiz, both of whom have Pitan

him with considerable comfort and speak to him in Spa

ish and have conversed with him for long periods of : a

and that others have been extremely cruel to him nd

taunted him and want him to die. During his saiieet

his relationship with Ortiz, he had a long digression into

how he made 31 cups of coff

eatin P ee and had to serve them in

On examination, he was 4'9". His eardrums

clear. There is a marked hearing deficit in the left eae

tuning fork applied to his forehead is heard best on th

right. This indicates nerve deafness on the left. His he 4

circumference was 55 cm, which is within normal lenits

He made no or very little eye contact with me. E .

movements were not smooth but showed saccades i

tracking, and there was impersistence of gaze.

Motor examination revealed

normal strength and

tone throughout. There were no choreiform nc am

or tremor. There was a right hand and foot preference. He

was able to hop briefly on his right foot, but pain made it

56

impossible for him to do more, and he could not skip. His

gait was antalgic. There was no glabellar response, but

there was a positive nuchocephalic reflex. Rapid alternat-

ing movements were done reasonably well with his

palms, fingers, and feet. Sensory examination of primary

modalities was intact to vibration, position, and pin-

wheel, but he extinguished the distal of two simul-

taneously delivered stimuli on both the right side and the

left side. Deep tendon reflexes were 2+ and equal

throughout in the upper extremities and the knees but

were barely perceptible at the ankles. Plantar responses

were flexor bilaterally. There were negative Wartenberg

reflexes bilaterally.

There was a positive snout. There was paratonia of

both arms and both legs, and he was unable to carry out

the Luria two step or three step commands. Cerebellar

function as best as could be determined was normal.

There was no grasp reflex.

There were scars in the left parietal region and a

huge U-shaped on the forehead. There were three long

longitudinal scars on his left forearm and his left index

finger. He had tried to kill himself by cutting his arm and

cutting off his left index finger.

| Mini-mental status examination revealed that he did

not know the year, the season, the month, or the day of

the month, but did know the day of the week, Monday.

He knew we were in Arizona but not county, town, or

floor, but knew the unit in which he was held at the

prison. He required one repetition to remember three

words. After he encoded them, he got ?/s at one minute.

He was only able to do one correct subtraction of seven,

57

not from 100 but from 10. At first he said seven, but then

he corrected this to three. He named a pencil and a

watch, followed a three stage command. He is not able to

read so that he could not read and obey, and he could not

write a sentence. His attempt to copy a design was primi-

tive and had evidence of constructional apraxia. He got a

score of 13/30 on the mini-mental status exam. His illit-

eracy may have lowered the score beyond where it would

have been had he learned to read and write.

Competency depends upon frontal lobe function and

requires a minimal degree of intelligence. This subject is

mentally retarded, his IQ 61, and his frontal lobe func-

tions are impaired on neurologic examination.

I have made specific recom i

mendations for neu

ey pe assessment to include the Wisconsin Card.

on. test and Trail-making A and B. His illiteracy may

Pe n eo wr a challenge for Dr. Geffen. An MRI of his

asia “ae

ene elp to explain why his brain is not working

a I think it likely that he cannot connect the crime with

punishment and does not understand the result of his

punishment. He certainly cannot cooperate effectively in

ae his defense with pleas for executive onan

e is both schizophrenic and retarded. He i ft

subject for execution. si og nt

Sincerely,

/s/ Jonathan H. Pincus

Jonathan H. Pincus, MD

Professor of Neurology and

Chairman Emeritus

58

EXHIBIT D

AFFIDAVIT OF DR. JOSEPH GEFFEN

Comes now affiant, Joseph Geffen, Ph.D., and first

being duly sworn, states and declares as follows:

1. lama psychologist duly licensed to practice psy-

chology in the State of Arizona. In that capacity, I have

participated in the assessment of the mental condition of

Mr. Ramon Martinez-Villareal.

2. My testing, and that of other mental health pro-

fessionals, indicates that Mr. Martinez-Villareal is men-

tally retarded, brain damaged, and psychotic. I believe

additional testing is necessary to determine the cause and

extent of Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s disabilities, especially

given the gravity of the issues involved.

3. Ihave asked counsel for Mr. Martinez-Villareal to

obtain a neurometric EEG, which measures brain func-

tioning, and an MRI, which can create a visual image of

the brain structure. Each test objectively assesses the

condition and functioning of the patient's brain, but in

different ways. The patient's frontal lobe is responsible

for the higher order brain functions necessary to the

patient’s ability to understand that he is to be executed

and why.

4. An MRI is necessary to help detect any structural

abnormality of the brain that may account for the organic

brain dysfunction indicated by neurological and neuro-

psychological testing and patient history. Mr. Martinez-

Villareal has a history of head injuries, psychotic symp-

toms, inconsistent and erratic behavior, and autism

observed and verified since early childhood. Prison

59

records reveal disorganized behavior, s

, such as requestin

and then refusing medication, that is commonly observed

Poms Suffering from psychotic and/or organic brain

5. A neurometric EEG measures electronic i

produced by the brain. It records electronic aliens

brain which enables doctors to identify and evaluate

brain functions. There are subtle defects in the brain that

are not detected on traditional EEG testing. The quantita-

tive EEG uses computerized, statistically validated norms

to analyze the brain wave activity and create a visual

image o brain functioning. By comparing patterns of the

— brain functions to normative groups, it aids in

stermining the actual functioning of specific areas of the

patient s brain. This is especially critical in examining Mr

Martinez-Villareal’s frontal cerebral cortex, which e the

seat of higher brain functions, including the ability to

ree vi the abstract concepts necessary to understand

: eres relationship between the crime and the

6. Objective testing is especially important in this

case because the issue of malingering has been raised, but

is not substantiated with any objective clinical testin

The testing to date establishes beyond question that Me.

Martinez-Villareal’s brain functioning is impaired; these

additional tests could provide additional objective

port for present clinical findings. xa

B pot addition to these tests, it would be important

je an examination by an expert in the area of

ms retardation, preferably one who is bi-lingual.

ving reviewed records in the prison and the reports of

aaa

60

DOC physicians, it appears that behavior consistent with

a caanenten is being misinterpreted as indicia of

competence. Traditional psychological tests for mental

retardation are not available in ranma ’ . . ess

necessary to engage an expert with substantial ex

with woo retarded subjects. Although Mr. Martinez-

Villareal is brain damaged and psychotic, his impairment

is significantly exacerbated by his extremely limited intel-

lectual functioning. An expert familiar with mental retar-

dation is necessary to complete the clinical picture of this

very impaired individual.

FURTHER, AFFIANT SAYS NAUGHT.

/s/ h Geffen Ph.D.

. Joseph Geffen, Ph.D.

State of Arizona )

) ss

County of Pima )

Subscribed and sworn before me this 8th day of

April, 1997.

/s/ Ana illegible nee:Salcido

Notary hic

My Commission expires:

6-28-97

OFFICIAL SEAL

[SEAL] ANA SALCIDO

Notary Public —- Arizona

PIMA COUNTY

My Comm. expires June 28, 1997

61

EXITIBIT E

SEAN D. O’BRIEN

5319 Rockhill Road

Kansas City, Missouri 64110

(816) 363-9371

BAR MEMBERSHIP: Missouri Bar; Federal District

Court, Western District of Mis-

souri; United States Court of

Appeals, Eighth Circuit; United

States Supreme Court

EDUCATION: University of Missouri-Kansas

City, J.D., 1980; Northwest Mis-

souri State University, B.A.,

English, Communications, high-

est honors, 1977.

APPOINTMENT

AND POSITIONS: Executive Director, Public Inter-

est Litigation Clinic (formerly the

Missouri Capital Punishment

Resources Center). The Clinic

represents death row inmates in

all stages of trial and appeal.

(October, 1989 - present)

Adjunct Professor, UMKC School

of Law. Courses taught since

1985 include Problems and Issues

in the Death Penalty, Death Pen-

alty Representation Clinic, Public

Defender Trial Clinic, Public

Defender Appeal Clinic.

Public Defender, Jackson County,

Missouri. Director of an urban

public defender office represent-

ing poor people in all varieties of

PROFESSIONAL

AWARDS:

62

criminal proceedings. (January,

1985 — September, 1989)

Assistant Public Defender, Jack-

son County, Kansas City, Mis-

souri. Defended poor people in

felony cases, including death

penalty defense, in trial, appeal

and postconviction proceedings.

(March, 1981 — December, 1984).

President, Missouri Association

of Criminal Defense Lawyers,

1992-93

Missouri Alliance for the Men-

tally Ill, Chair, Forensic Commit-

tee, 1992-present

Chairman, Missouri Bar Criminal

Law Committee, 1989 — 1992

Missouri Association for Social

Welfare, Annual Award, 1994

Missouri Coalition to Abolish the

Death Penalty Annual Award,

1994

63

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MA&.RTINEZ-

)

VILLAREAL, )

Petitioner ) No. CIV-86-296-

) TUC-RMB

= ) ORDER

TERRY STEWART, et al., )

) (Filed

Respondent. ) May 14, 1997)

)

Petitioner has filed with this court a Motion for

Expert Services and/or Access to Client and Appoint-

ment of Counsel. The Petitioner does not presently have a

claim pending before this Court. Previously, the Peti-

tioner brought a claim before this Court regarding his

competency to be executed and other issues. The Court

ruled on the other issues and denied the claim regarding

competency to be executed, finding that the competency

to be executed claim was premature because, at that time,

an execution date had not been set. See Order and Mem-

orandum Opinion dated October 21, 1994. An execution

date of May 21, 1997 has now been set, and Petitioner

plans to reinstate his claim regarding his competency to

be executed.

Title 21 U.S.C. § 848(q)(4)(B) entitles capital defen-

dants to legal representation in proceedings pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 2254 or § 2255. The Supreme Court has stated

that § 848(q)(4)(B) provides that “the right to appointed

counsel adhere prior to the filing of a formal, legally

sufficient habeas corpus petition.” McFarland v. Scott, 512

64

U.S. 849, 855, 114 S.Ct. 2568, 2572 (1994). Accordingly IT

IS ORDERED that the Federal Public Defender for the

District of Arizona and Sean D. O’Brien SHALL BE

APPOINTED to represent the Petitioner in habeas corpus

proceedings before this Court. IT IS FURTHER

ORDERED that this Court will hold a telephonic hearing

regarding the Motion for Expert Services and/or Access

to Client on May 15, 1997 at 2:30 p.m.

Dated this 14th day of May, 1997.

/s/ Richard M. Bilby

Richard M. Bilby

Senior United States

District Judge

GRANT WOODS

ATTORNEY GENERAL

Bruce M. Ferc

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

CRIMINAL APPEALS SECTION

400 W. Coneress, Bbc. S-315

Tucson, ARIZONA 85701-1367

TELEPHONE: (520) 628-6504

_ (Stare Bar Numser 003544)

Attorneys For RESPONDENTS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL,

PETITIONER,

-Vs-

TERRY L. STEWART,

et. al,

Previous Cause NumBer:

CIV 86-296-TUC-RMB!

RESPONSE TO MOTION

FOR EXPERT SERVICES

AND/OR ACCESS TO

CLIENT AND

APPOINTMENT OF

RESPONDENTS. ‘ COUNSEL

ee

Respondents oppose this motion for several reasons,

and urge this Court to deny all of the requested relief.

* Inasmuch as CIV-86-296 has come to an end through the

appellate decision and mandate of the Ninth Circuit, and this

Court’s order of March 24, 1997, denied Petitioner’s “Motion to

Reconsider Order and Judgment,” it is certain that that case is

complete, and that anything more which will be litigated in this

Court constitutes a new, yet-to-be-filed case. Hence, some

means of referring to such new activity, which will not confuse

it with the finalized first petition, should be applied.

66

1. Because this is [sic] motion contemplates a successive

petition, this Court lacks jurisdiction to take any action. It is

undisputed that Petitioner has already had one federal

habeas proceeding, which has been litigated to its conclu-

sion. This Court has recognized as much in its prior

orders of May 6 and May 8, 1997. Therefore, the litigation

Petitioner is attempting to initiate now plainly is a suc-

cessive petition, subject to the requirements of 28 U.S.C.

§ 2244(b), as amended by the Antiterrorism and Effective

Death Penalty Act of 1996, and this Court is forbidden to

entertain it in any fashion, since Petitioner has not

obtained permission from the Ninth Circuit to proceed.

Counsel for Respondents is aware that the Court

stated in its order of March 24, 1997, that it did not intend

to treat the “incompetency to be executed” claim as a

successive petition. However, recent authority not men-

tioned in that order and probably unknown to the Court

indicates that Petitioner's competency to be executed

claim should be treated as successive, regardless of the

fact that it may not have been “ripe” when presented in

Petitioner's first petition. That the “factual predicate for

the claim could not have been discovered previously

through the exercise of due diligence” is only part of the

requirements for excepting a petition from the rule

against successive petitions; it must also be shown that if

the facts underlying the claim were proved, “no reason-

able fact finder would have found the applicant guilty of

the underlying offense.” 28 U.S.C. § 2244(b)(2)(B)(ii).

The Ninth Circuit has recognized the clear intend-

ment of this language, that claims related only to sen-

tence, even a death sentence, simply cannot be

entertained in a successive petition. Greenawalt v. Stewart,

67

105 F.3d 1268, 1277 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 794

(1977) (allegation of ineffective assistance of counsel in

capital sentencing not permitted as successive petition);

Greenawalt v. Stewart, 105 F.3d 1287, 1288 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 117 S. Ct. 794 (1977) (denying permission to file a

successive petition which would attack lethal injection as

mode of execution because it “is not relevant to the

question whether he is guilty of murder in the first

degree”). Following the clear statutory language and the

two Greenawalt holdings, the Eleventh Circuit specifically

ruled that a claim of incompetency for execution under

Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399, 106 S. Ct. 2595, 91 L. Ed.

2d 335 (1986), cannot be raised in a successive petition. In

re Medina, 109 F.3d 1556, 1564-65 (11th Cir. 1997).

It therefore is clear that what is contemplated is a

successive petition, which this Court lacks any authority

to deal with.

Instead of filing a pleading in the district

court attempting to evade the provisions of 28

U.S.C. § 2244(b), as amended, Medina should

have begun by filing in this Court an application

seeking a certificate permitting him to file a

second application in the district court, as

required by § 2244(b)(3)(A). Because Medina did

not obtain such a certificate, the district court

correctly dismissed his habeas application,

denied his motion for a stay of execution, and

denied his application for a certificate of appeal-

ability.

(Id. at 1564.) The same is true of Petitioner. Nor does it

make any difference that what is being sought is appoint-

ment of counsel and funding of experts, as supposedly

68

authorized by 21 U.S.C. § 848(q)(4), construed in McFar-

land v. Scott, __ U.S. ___, 114 S. Ct. 2568, 129 L. Ed. 2d 666

(1994). McFarland involved neither unexhausted claims

nor a successive petition, both of which are present here.

Moreover, all of the relevant statutes must be read

together, Sterling v. Scott, 57 F.3d 451, 456-58 (5th Cir.

1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 715 (1996). Section 848(q)(8)

says that counsel appointed pursuant to that statute shall

represent the person in “available judicial proceedings,”

including “available post-conviction process.” Unless the

Ninth Circuit grants permission to proceed with the suc-

cessive petition, there simply is no “available” process,

and no basis for either appointment of counsel or any of

the other relief requested.

This conclusion is reinforced by the recognition that

the only purpose for appointing experts and authorizing

funding for testing is to hold an evidentiary hearing in

this Court. However, § 2254(e)(2)(B) of the amended

habeas statute allows for evidentiary hearings in the dis-

trict courts only if there has been a failure to develop a

factual basis in the state courts and, again, the applicant

shows that no reasonable fact finder would have found

him guilty. Thus, there can be no evidentiary hearings in

this Court, whether the petition is successive or not, on

an issue unrelated to the determination of guilt. Compe-

tency for execution certainly does not qualify. This Court

is not authorized to engage in a futile expenditure of

federal funds where no federal evidentiary hearing can

ever take place.

2. This Court cannot authorize expenditures concerning

an unexhausted claim. It is undisputed that this claim

remains unexhausted; Petitioner has a petition for special

69

action pending in the Arizona Supreme Court seeking

review of the trial court’s determination of competency,

as authorized by the statute, A.R.S. § 13-4022(G). As

support for his contention that this Court possesses juris-

diction to grant the orders he seeks, Petitioner cites just

two authorities. (Motion at 5.) One is McFarland v. Scott,

which we have already seen is distinguishable by the fact

that it involved neither a successive petition nor one

including an unexhausted issue. The other is Calderon v.

U.S. Dist. Ct., Eastern Dist. of California, 1997 WL 183877

(9th Cir. Apr. 16, 1997.). It, too, involved a first petition,

not a successive one. It remarks that the district court’s

dismissal of a mixed petition (so that there was no formal

petition pending) did not, in and of itself, require denial

of fees under Section 848(q), because McFarland deter-

mined that a mere request for counsel was enough to

initiate a proceeding. (Id. at *6.) However, it then went on

to state:

The district court is not required to grant the

application, however. See Sterling v. Scott, 57

F.3d 451, 457-58 (Sth Cir. 1995) (affirming deci-

sion that section 848(q)(9) fees request did not

survive dismissal of mixed petition), cert. denied,

— US. __, 116 S. Ct. 715, 133 L.Ed.2d 669

(1996).

(Id.) The result is ambiguity, because the decision seems

to say both that a district court can “consider” a fees

application in a case where there is an unexhausted

claim, and that the existence of an unexhausted claim is

an appropriate ground for terminating fees. What is clear

is that on at least three other occasions the Ninth Circuit

has granted mandamus, directing that discovery orders

—

ll i

70

be vacated because there was no properly exhausted peti-

tion pending in the district court, and prohibiting the

issuance of such orders until such a properly exhausted

petition was filed. Calderon v. U.S. Dist. Ct., Northern Dist.

of California (Nicolaus), 98 F.3d 1102 (9th Cir. 1996); Cal-

deron v. U.S. Dist. Ct., Northern Dist. of California (Hill),

110 F.3d 714 (9th Cir. 1997); Calderon v. U.S. Dist. Ct.,

Eastern Dist. of California, 1997 WL 219500 (9th Cir. May 5,

1997). Thus, the great weight of authority in this circuit

holds that there is no right to discovery orders, absent a

fully exhausted petition, and that should be true, regard-

less of the particular mechanism for discovery which a

petitioner attempts to utilize. In Shaw v. Delo, 971 F.2d

181, 188 (8th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 1301 (1993),

the Court of Appeals concluded that a competence for

execution claim should have been dismissed by the dis-

trict court, because it had not been exhausted in the state

courts, and “Because the merits of Shaw’s incompetence

claim were not properly before the district court, we also

conclude the district court correctly denied Shaw’s

motion for funds for investigative and expert services to

determine his competence to be executed.” These cases

strongly indicate that to grant what Petitioner requests

would amount to a clear error of law.

3. Even if the Court possesses authority to fund the tests

and experts Petitioner requests, to do so would be an abuse of

the Court's discretion. The very same requests presented to

this Court were presented to Judge Boyd Johnson of the

Pinal County Superior Court and denied by him. Those

were correct rulings and, even if this Court believes it

the authority to grant Petitioner’s requests, it

too should deny them.

71

Two types of testing are being requested. (Motion at

6.) The first sort is magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of

Petitioner’s brain. However, in a report which Petitioner

has not supplied to the Court, Petitioner’s own affiant,

Dr. Geffen, conceded that, “Although an MRI test could

be useful, the results would mostly shed light with

respect to ‘structural’ abnormalities of the brain as

opposed to functional ones.” (Exhibit 1 hereto at 5.) This

amounts to a concession that the MRI testing will not

produce any relevant information, because this Court is

no more concerned with obtaining abstract information

about the structural abnormalities of Petitioner’s brain

than Judge Johnson was, but only with the single narrow

issue of whether he understands that he is to be executed

because he has been convicted of murder. If anything,

that is a “functional” issue, which Geffen says the MRI

will not address. Thus, the delay (undoubtedly the real

point of this motion), transportation difficulties, etc.,

involved in arranging for such testing of Petitioner would

be utterly pointless.?

2 The addition of Dr. Jonathan Pincus’ letter as support for

the MRI (Motion at 6 and Exhibit C) should not influence this

Court. Dr. Pincus is virtually a professional defense witness in

capital cases. Bonin v. Calderon, 807 F. Supp. 589, 598 n.9 (C.D.

Cal. 1992). The IQ he states, 61, is an error, as he admitted at the

hearing; it is a misquotation of Dr. Geffen’s report to this Court,

which found an IQ of 64. That level is merely “mildly” retarded.

DSM IV at 40. A recognized neurologist from Phoenix testified

to Judge Johnson that the additional tests would not provide an

answer to the question being asked (competency for execution);

“Saying that somebody has frontal lobe damage or brain

damage, saying that somebody is mentally retarded, it does not

really address that issue in any specific way.” (Ex. 2 at 75, 71.)

72

The situation is similar with regard to the other sort

of testing suggested, the “neurometric EEG,” which Gef-

fen’s report at 5 indicates is also known as “computerized

EEG” or “brain mapping.” This Court should know that

the Arizona Court of Appeals upheld exclusion of “brain

electrical activity mapping (BEAM)” evidence in a first

degree murder case, where the system was described as

“a computerized method of displaying and interpreting

EEG . . . data,” because “there was substantial evidence

from which the court could conclude that BEAM is not

generally accepted in the neurological community.” State

v. Zimmerman, 166 Ariz. 325, 327-29, 802 P.2d 1024,

1026-28 (Ct. App. 1990). As a merely experimental pro-

cedure, it was not something the court needed to receive

as evidence. (Id.) The same result was reached in the only

other case concerning brain mapping discovered by coun-

sel for Respondents, Head v. Lithonia Corp., Inc., 881 F.2d

941 (10th Cir. 1989). Thus, Petitioner wishes this Court to

grant a stay of his execution to allow for testing of a sort

not even accepted within the relevant medical circles. The

Court should also be aware that a regular EEG was

conducted of Petitioner in 1993, and found to be normal.

Strangely enough, Dr. Geffen’s affidavit does not even

mention that test, let alone explaining the need now to

have another EEG, let alone one which is merely experi-

mental in nature.

Equally unpersuasive is the request for an evaluation

by Dr. Dennis Keyes. Dr. Keyes is touted as an expert in

the area of mental retardation. The Court should recall

that the defense has already had Petitioner examined by

the following experts, who testified on his behalf: Dr.

Geffen (psychologist); Dr. Garcia-Bunuel (psychiatrist);

73

Dr. Imaz (psychiatrist); and Dr. Pincus (neurologist).

None of those individuals was reticent about expressing

an opinion that Petitioner suffers from mental retardation

or some other organic brain defect and, of course, the

witnesses presented by the State before Judge Johnson -

two psychiatrists (Drs. Kurke and Johnson), a psycholo-

gist (Dr. McCauley), and a neurologist (Dr. Tamm) also

discussed the matter. Thus, the matter was fully explored

in the state court proceeding. Keyes is not necessary, he is

redundant. The issue of malingering which the motion

posits as a reason for bringing Keyes in at this late date

has been disputed by the parties for years (as this Court

knows from the hearing held before it in 1994), so it is not

some sudden and unforeseen new development which

could not have been dealt with before.

The pointlessness of appointing Keyes is evident.

Paragraph 7 of Geffen’s affidavit (Motion Exhibit D) sug-

gests that Petitioner be examined yet again, by “an expert

in the area of mental retardation, preferably one who is

bi-lingual.” The Geffen affidavit ignores the fact that a

bilingual examiner — himself - has twice attempted to go

beyond mere interviews to conducting psychological test-

ing of Petitioner and has been essentially unsuccessful on

both occasions. His report of 10/31/93 discounted the

results of both the IQ test and “test for screening for

organic impairment of brain functions” administered on

that occasion because of the “psychotic processes” sup-

posedly then operating, and his most recent report (dated

4/2/97) indicates that Petitioner claimed inability to do

tests because of poor eyesight. The Court may recall that

Petitioner cooperated with Dr. Youngjohn in 1994 for only

a brief time and then walked out of the examination. Dr.

74

McCauley testified that she was prepared to do some

testing of Petitioner as part of her evaluation, but he

refused to cooperate. Thus, Petitioner’s cooperation even

with his own experts has been minimal, and he has made

clear his determination not to cooperate at all in testing

conducted by Respondent’s experts.

Thus, the likelihood of obtaining any reliable infor-

mation from Petitioner by means of psychological testing

is negligible, but it is precisely such testing which is

Keyes’ forte. One case involving another death-sentenced

defendant lists half a dozen tests administered by him to

that prisoner (which was not an exhaustive list), and

concludes that the result was “a thicket of numbers,

acronyms, and medical terminology” which was “incon-

clusive” and “indeterminate at best.” Fairchild v. Lockhart,

900 F.2d 1292, 1297-98 and n.5 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 497

U.S. 1052 (1990). This apparently is Keyes’ typical mode

of operation. In a more recent death penalty case, his

testimony (and that of another defense witness) were

discounted on the bases that, “Both doctors spent the

bulk of their interview time with [the defendant] admin-

istering tests,” rather than talking to that defendant, and

that these witnesses “always testified for the defense.”

Washington v. Johnson, 90 F.3d 945, 952 (Sth Cir. 1996). In

neither case was his testimony found persuasive. And

nothing in the Motion suggests that he is bi-lingual, one

of the primary qualifications for an additional expert

suggested by Geffen.

Nothing in the Motion gives any reason to believe

that Keyes will be able to accomplish anything more with

Petitioner than conduct another interview (which is sim-

ply repetitive of what half a dozen other experts already

75

have done), and even if some testing could be accom-

plished by him, the virtual certainty that Petitioner will

not cooperate with any non-defense person attempting

similar testing would cause an unfair disparity in access —

to evidence which would be grounds for precluding the

evidence. The Vineland Scale as described in the Motion

at 7 apparently is just a structured interview of people

who have had contact with the subject, and no good

reason is provided why this could not have been done

years ago by Geffen (who has been involved with Peti-

tioner’s case since 1993) or some other local expert.

Hence, there is no reason to believe that anything helpful

will be accomplished by the appointment of Keyes.

CONCLUSION

The Court does not possess the jurisdiction to issue

the orders which the Motion requests, and even if it did,

the reasons presented for doing so are so meritless that

granting the motion would constitute an abuse of discre-

tion. This motion is a transparent attempt to achieve a

backdoor stay of execution and the Court should not lend

its dignity to such gameplaying. The requests should all

be denied and Petitioner directed to take the issue to the

Ninth Circuit, where it should have been presented in the

first place.

76

DATED this 14th day of May, 1997.

Respectfully submitted,

GRANT WOODS

ATToRNEY GENERAL

/s/ Bruce M. Ferg

BRUCE M. FERG

AssISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

Attorneys For RESPONDENTS

COPIES of the foregoing were FAX’d and

deposited for mailing this 15th day of May, 1997, to:

DENISE YOUNG

Federal Public Defender Office

222 N. Central Ave., Suite 810

Phoenix, AZ 85004

/s/ Mary Lou Reinhardt

MARY LOU REINHARDT

CRM86-0720

CR860720.ex2

performed. Although an MRI test could be useful, the

results would mostly shed light with respect to ‘struc-

tural’ abnormalities of the brain as opposed to functional

ones. I communicated to the client’s attorney that I would

specially recommend a specific procedure (computerized

EEG, also known as neurometric EEG, “‘brainmap’ and

qEEG), since the question of malingering was raised. This

77

procedure does not depend on any client self report, but

is based on fairly direct measurement of electrical activity

of the brain and comparing the results to computerized

norms for patients with affective, psychotic, and organic

disorders, as well as normal individuals.

In normative mental health treatment of schizophrenic

and other psychotic patients, medication begins to be

given very early even if the diagnosis has not been defi-

nitely confirmed, on a presumptive basis, in order to

reduce the patients’ suffering and help them become less

disorganized. It is puzzling to me why Mr. Villareal is not

being medicated at this stage, when the question of his

competence to be executed is being raised. Perhaps the

medication could help him to become competent, if he is

not.

Regarding the report of ‘malingering,’ I am not satisfied,

based on the record and the interview observed, that any

credible psychological evaluation was performed upon

which such a conclusion could be based. In fact, it is

incredible that with all the history revolving around Mr.

Villareal’s behavioral problems and the many years in the

institution, that there is no report of any formal psycho-

logical evaluation performed by the institutional mental

health staff. What little assessment seems to have been

reported, there is a glaring absence of Spanish Language

or culturally sensitive professional treatment other than

by paraprofessional staff, even though the psychological

and psychiatric literature has maintained for quite some

time that this should be the standard for language and

cultural minority patients. If there is not adequate appro-

priately trained staff at the facility to provide evaluations

meeting such standards, this could have and still can be

78

obtained by drawing from outside resources. There are

Spanish speaking psychiatrists and psychologists in the

Tucson, Phoenix and Casa Grande areas who are avail-

able to be called in.

Finally, I would like to comment regarding my under-

standing that legally, those being asked by the con-

demned prisoner’s attorney, through a court order, to

‘provide an evaluation to determine competence to be

executed be given full access to all the information that is

obviously available to the institutional staff serving the

prosecutor. In my opinion this was not followed in this

case either in the letter or the spirit of the law, from my

standpoint; it was a matter of “too little and too late.”

Given the available data, it is my opinion that Mr. Vil-

lareal does not meet the mental standard that would

correspond

79

EX. 2

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

THE STATE OF ARIZONA

IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF PINAL

STATE OF ARIZONA,

Plaintiff,

vs.

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL,

Defendant.

No. CR 97-022291

ee ee ee ee ee eee ee ee ee”

BEFORE THE HONORABLE BOYD T. JOHNSON

Florence, Arizona

May 7, 1997

8:40 o'clock a.m.

Mesa Court Reporting

PREPARED FOR:

at 265 North Gilbert Road, #2151

ATTORNEY Mesa, Arizona 85203

GHNERAL (602) 964-8507

opy) By: Leisel Akins, RPR

[p. 71] seen of the reports, that the defendant is not

competent?

I believe in answer to the question Mr. O’Brien asked

you, you couldn’t rule out that he was incompetent but

you can’t also rule out, can you, Doctor, that he is compe-

tent?

A That's correct. That’s correct.

80

Q So, in other words, if we ask the other half of the

question that Mr. O’Brien didn’t ask, is that you can’t rule

out the fact that he’s competent; is that correct?

A You're correct, yes.

Q And it’s also true, is it not, Doctor, that the diag-

noses of Dr. Pincus do not preclude the finding that the

defendant is competent to be executed; is that correct?

A No. None of these diagnoses really addresses that

issue. Saying that somebody has frontal lobe damage or

brain damage, saying that somebody is mentally

retarded, it does not really address that issue in any

specific way.

Q So that doesn’t preclude the finding by this Court

that he’s competent to be executed; is that correct?

A That's correct.

* * *

[p. 75] determination. That was your question?

MR. WILKES: Right. And I wanted the doctor

to answer that.

THE COURT: Well, what I’m going to do, sir, is,

I’m going to answer it and say that when reviewing all

the reports, I made the determination in my ruling of

whether I refuse or decline to order additional testing,

that it was not relevant. And I based it in part on what

Dr. Tamm put in his report, plus other information avail-

able to me.

Does that satisfy what you want for a record?

81

Or. Tamm, would you say it’s not - it would not be

beneficial to have those additional tests?

THE WITNESS: I don’t think it will tell you - I

don’t think it will give you the answer to the question

you're asking.

THE COURT: Okay.

MR. WILKES: I have no further questions.

THE COURT: And that was an offer of proof. I

am not taking that testimony itself. I have relayed on the

record what my decision was, was to not have the addi-

tional testing.

MR. BRUNER: Judge, can I just get th

word on that in? ; aly

82

Fredric F. Kay

Federal Public Defender

Denise I. Young (Arizona Bar No. 007146)

Dale A. Baich (Ohio Bar No. 0025070)

222 North Central Avenue, Suite 810

Phoenix, Arizona 85004

602.379.3670

602.379.3681 facsimile

Sean D. O’Brien (Missouri Bar #30116)

Public Interest Litigation Clinic

5319 Rockhill Road

Kansas City, Missouri, 64110

816.363.2795

816.363.2799 facsimile

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

CAPITAL CASE

EXECUTION

SCHEDULED FOR

5-21-97

No. CIV-86-296 TUC RMB

RAMON MARTINEZ- _ )

)

)

)

.

TERRY STEWART, et al, | REpiy TO RESPONSE TO

)

)

)

)

)

)

VILLAREAL,

Petitioner,

vs.

Respondents. MOTION FOR EXPERT

SERVICES AND/OR

ACCESS TO CLIENT

AND APPOINTMENT OF

COUNSEL AND

SUPPLEMENTAL EXHIBIT

Counsel for petitioner attempted to challenge his

competence for execution before this Court in 1994. At

that time, respondent objected on the grounds that the

issue was not ripe, and that is should be raised at a later

83

time. Now respondent has changed his position, saying

et the competence issue cannot now be raised in a

successive” petition because it is unrelated to his guilt or

innocence of the crime. If examined literally, respondent's

argument is that the Antiterrorism and Effective Death

Penalty Act effectively deprives all federal district courts

of jurisdiction to enforce the Eighth Amendment prohibi-

tion on the execution of the insane. Nothing in the legis-

lative history or text of the statute indicates an intent to

divest the federal courts of jurisdiction to enforce any

right recognized under the federal constitution.

The constitutional nature of the right at issue in this

case is not open to question. The Supreme Court has

definitively ruled that the Eight [sic] Amendment “pro-

hibits a state from carrying out a sentence of death upon

a prisoner who is insane.” Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S.

399, 409-410 (1986). Since Marbury v. Madison, the power

and duty of the federal courts to enforce the constitution

has been beyond dispute. Though some restrictions were

placed upon the writ of habeas corpus in the recent

legislation, Congress continued to respect the role of fed-

eral courts to interpret the Constitution:

In the great 1803 case of Marbury v. Madison

Chief Justice John Marshall yw Perera the

Supreme Court that “it is emphatically the prov-

ince and duty of the judicial department to say

what the law is.” Section 104(3) would be sub-

ject to serious constitutional challenge if it were

red [sic] to preclude the Federal Courts from

making an independent determination of “what

the law is” in cases within their jurisdiction. I

expect that the courts, following their usual

practice of construing ambiguous statutes to

84

avoid constitutional problems, will read section

104 to permit independent Federal Court review

of constitutional claims based on the Supreme

Court’s interpretation of the Constitution and

Federal Laws.

Statement by President William Jefferson Clinton upon

signing S. 1965, April 24, 1996, 1996 WL 517206. Respon-

dents, however, seeks to limit the power of this Court by

procedural artifice - first by defending the issue in prior

proceedings on the ground that it should be raised now,

and now claiming that it should have been ruled upon

then. As discussed below, in a similar situation, the sev-

enth circuit recently rejected a state’s abuse of the writ of

argument that “would have the effect of mouse trapping

[the petitioner].” Burris v. Parke, 95 F.3d 465, 469 (7th Cir.

1996) (en banc).

Here, after successfully persuading this Court in the

earlier proceedings in this matter that Petitioner's claim

that he was incompetent to be executed was “not now

ripe for determination” and should be brought when an

execution “warrant has been issued,” Martinez-Villareal v.

Lewis, CIV 86-296-TUC-RMB, Reply to Response to

Motion for Summary Judgment, at 45-46 (Dec. 17, 1993),

Respondents now take a completely contrary position

and claim that this claim is now too late, and can never be

heard by a federal court. Respondents do so despite the

fact that Petitioner did exactly as Respondents, and this

Court, told him to do: reassert this claim after a warrant

of execution issued. Petitioner is scheduled to be exe-

cuted at 12:05 a.m. on May 21, 1997.

85

On these facts, there is no question but that Respon-

dents are judicially estopped from taking this inconsis-

tent position in this Court. As the Ninth Circuit has

explained,

the doctrine of judicial esto i

ppel, sometimes

referred to as the doctrine of preclusion of

inconsistent positions, is invoked to prevent a

party from changing its position over the course

of judicial proceedings when such positional

changes have an adverse impact on the judicial

process.

Russell v. Rolfs, 893 F.2d 1033, 1037 (9th Cir. 1990). The

doctrine is “intended to protect the integrity of the judi-

cial process by preventing a litigant from ‘playing fast

and loose with the courts.” Helfand v. Gerson, 105 F.3d 530

533 (9th Cir. 1997) (quoting Russell v. Rolfs, 893 F.2d at

1037). In Russell, the Ninth Circuit applied the judicial

estoppel doctrine to prevent the state from taking a

directly contrary position under circumstances strikingly

similar to those presented here. There, the state “per-

suaded the district court to deny [the habeas corpus

petitioner] federal review on the ground that he had an

‘adequate and available’ state remedy” to exhaust his

claim. Id., at 1038. However, once the petitioner returned

to state court, the state “disregarded its previous repre-

sentation in federal court and argued the petition was

procedurally barred because [the petitioner] had raised

the same issues on direct appeal.” The state court ulti-

mately agreed, and found the claim procedurally

defaulted. However, when the petitioner returned to fed-

eral court, the state argued that the petitioner “was pro-

cedurally barred from presenting his claim in federal

86

court.” Id. at 1037. The appellate court held that the

state’s earlier action estopped it mt > tc

different tion. See also, Yniguez 0. ,

F.2d a cin (Attorney General judicially estopped

from “about-face” where he sought “an outcome [in the

appellate court that was] directly contrary ny the result he

sought and obtained in the district court ).

contend that the changed circumstances

veut aaa the amendments to 28 U.S.C. § 2244(b)

contained in the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Pen-

alty Act (“AEDPA”) support their “about-face.” That con-

tention is unavailing. As another circuit court recently

explained when a state offered a similar argument follow-

ing passage of the AEDPA:

Application of the new law to [petitioner's] case

sn thus, . . . have the effect of mousetrap-

ping [the petitioner]. It would cause him to for-

feit a legal remedy on which his life, may

literally depend.”

is v. Parke, 95 F.2d at 469. In Burris, the petitioner

sas. tadmorh kchenmanntiaivedtiondeiiaminaen we

conviction because the appeal from his capital resentenc-

ing hearing was still pending in the state courts. After his

habeas petition was denied by the federal courts, the

petitioner filed a second federal habeas petition challeng-

ing his now exhausted capital sentencing claims. While

the second habeas petition was pending on appeal, the

AEDPA was enacted. Id., at 467-468. The state claimed

that because the AEDPA did not allow challenges to

sentences in a second habeas petition, the petition had to

be immediately dismissed.

87

The circuit court, however, concluded otherwise. It

found that the new changes contained in the AEDPA did

not apply to Burris because at the time the first habeas

petition was filed, all parties, including the state, believed

Burris could file a second petition challenging his sen-

tencing issues once they were exhausted in the state

courts. The court noted that the hearing transcript on the

first petition gave “no hint” that proceeding this way

“might have precluded [Burris from] filing a second peti-

tion limited to the sentence, and in fact the “silences are

deafening.” Under these circumstances, the court con-

cluded that:

the state’s silence concerning the implications of

an immediate decision on the petition was tanta-

mount to a statement that for the sake of a

prompt decision on the merits of Burris’s chal-

lenge to his conviction the state would forgo the

defense of abuse of the writ should he file a

subsequent petition limited to the sentence.

Id., at 470. As a result, the “state forfeited any defense”

preventing the claims to be heard on the merits in the

second petition.

Here, the state was not silent. It forcefully and vocif-

erously argued that Petitioner’s competency to be exe-

cuted claim was premature, and as a result the Court did

not yet have jurisdiction to here [sic] it:

execution. Moreover, mental competency, of

course, can change over the course of time.

Thus, the claim presents nothing more than a

possibly future injury, which is insufficient to

satisfy the Art III ‘case or controversy’ require-

ment, and there currently is no issue over which

this Court properly has jurisdiction.”

Martinez-Villareal v. Lewis, CIV 86-296-TUC-RMB, Reply to

Response to Motion for Summary Judgment, at 45 (Dec.

17, 1993). Claiming Petitioner’s desire to have the claim

decided at that time was “unworkable,” Respondents

stated that it was important to:

have a single adjudication of competency, at a

time when all [petitioner’s] other claims have been

resolved and a warrant has been issued, so that an

execution actually is imminent within a reasonable

period of time . . . To do a competency determination

now would be futile, because it will certainly have to

be repeated when the time for execution finally

arrives.

Id.

Now that everyone has relied on this position,

including Mr. Martinez-Villareal whose very life depends

on his reliance, this Court should hold Respondents

estopped from taking this “about-face.”

Just as it is clear that the proceeding in this Court is

not a successor corpus proceeding,’ so too is it clear that

1 Respondents are also wrong in their contention that

counsel cannot be appointed in a successor habeas petition.

Weeks v. Jones, 100 F.3d 124, 128 (11th Cir. 1996) (district court

erred legally and procedurally in denying appointment of

89

this Court has the authority to appoint counsel, which

has been done, and to consider the issues now before the

Court. Mr. Martinez-Villareal has “a right to preapplica-

tion legal assistance . . . in federal habeas corpus proceed-

ings[,]” and this assistance extends to services that may

be critical in the preapplication phase of a habeas corpus

proceeding. McFarland v. Scott, 512 U.S. 849, __, 114 S.Ct.

2568, 2572 (1994) citing 21 U.S.C. § 848(q)(9); see also

Calderon v. United States District Court for the Eastern Dis-

trict of California (Gordon), __ F.3d __, 1997 WL 183877,

at “1, "6 (9th Cir. Apr. 16, 1997) (A post conviction pro-

ceeding within the meaning of § 848(q)(4)(B) begins upon

the filing of a motion requesting the assistance of counsel

and the court has discretion to provide counsel with

assistance to prepare for federal habeas efforts.) McFar-

land and Gordon are not at all ambiguous. The assistance

rs ee is now seeking is available under

w.

Respondents’ attempt to have this Court dismiss Mr.

Martinez-Villareal’s meritorious constitutional claims

without the benefit of resources authorized under 18

U.S.C. § 848 is also inconsistent with the power of this

Court to provide indigent litigants the resources to chal-

lenge an unconstitutional sentence of death. Again, the

statute has not rendered this Court impotent with respect

to the adjudication of the factual aspects of a constitu-

tional claim. Again, the President observed:

counsel in successor habeas ition chall i

evs ee aw challenging capital

_ 7 ,*

90

Section 104(4) limits the evidentiary hearings in

Federal habeas corpus cases when “the appli-

_ cant has failed to develop the factual basis of a

claim in State court proceedings.” If this provi-

sion were read literally to deny litigants a mean-

ingful opportunity to prove the facts necessary

to vindicate their constitutional rights, it would

raise serious constitutional questions. I do not

read it that way. The provision applies to situa-

tions in which “the applicant has failed to

develop the factual basis” of his or her claim.

Therefore, section 104(4) is not triggered when

some factor that is not fairly attributable to the

applicant prevented evidence from being devel-

oped in state court.

Statement by President William Jefferson Clinton upon

signing S. 1965, April 24, 1996, 1996 WL 517206. Petitioner

seeks only those resources which he requested and was

denied by the state courts, and which are relevant to the

issue-injected by the state - of whether he has the mental

faculties to successfully dupe treating physicians for

almost ten years.

The issue of mental retardation and malingering is

important in this case in light of the circular reasoning of

the state’s experts - that Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s manipu-

lative behavior, itself a symptom of retardation and brain

damage - proves his awareness of his crime and punish-

ment. The services of an expert in mental retardation is

critical to a reliable resolution of this issue. As Dr. Denis

W. Keyes, Ph.D., explains in his letter to Sean D. O’Brien,

dated May 13, 1997, attached as Exhibit F, and offered as

further support for the requests made in ¥{ 10, 10.1, 10.2

and 10.3 of the Motion for Access:

91

The reports of Dr. Joseph Geffen, Dr. Jonathar.

Pincus, and Dr. Leonardo Garcia-Bunuel are

exceptional examples of thorough mental health

examinations that strongly indicate the exis-

tence of mental retardation. However, none of

these can be considered conclusive in their diag-

pote hg eae poedy formal evaluation of the

ent’s a ve skill functionin

1992; DSM IV, 1994) . . ee

Testing procedure for people who have mental

retardation require advance planning in several

areas. People with mental retardation often

attempt to “pass” for normal by assuming a

posture of false-awareness and false-ability,

known as the “Cloak of Competence” (Edger-

ton, 1966). For most people with little or no

experience in the field of mental retardation,

including many mental health professionals,

this usually harmless deception may sometimes

appear to be behavior one might merely regard

as eccentric... .

Conversely, examiners, particularly those with

little or no experience working with people who

pe eee pees have sometimes accused

examinees of malingering or faki

idl gering ng mental

The most glaring omission in each and all of the

previously evaluations is the com-

plete lack of any type ot adaptive behavior scale

or instrument. As stated, it is impossible to

determine the existence or severity of mental

retardation in an examinee unless his/her adap-

tive behavior (or adaptive skill levels) have been

investigated.

Exhibit F, attached.

92

Because the State’s witnesses in this case are clearly

not familiar with mental retardation, much of Petitioner’s

behavior which is attributable to this serious disability

was dismissed as evidence of malingering. The fact that

Respondents refer to Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s mental

retardation as “merely mild” reflects a lack of under-

standing of the nature and severity of Petitioner's intel-

lectual limits. Dr. Keyes could explain that mild mental

retardation simply describes Mr. Martinez-Villareal with

respect to other mentally retarded persons and that com-

pared with individuals of normal intellectual functioning,

he is severely impaired. Furthermore, it is unfair to dis-

miss Dr. Keyes’ credibility without giving him an oppor-

tunity to evaluate Mr. Martinez-Villareal and testify

simply because he has provided testimony in other cases.

Respondents neglect to mention one case in particular, In

the Matter of Charles Lee Mathenia, in which a Missouri

Associate Circuit judge relied upon Dr. Keyes’s testimony

in finding a condemned prison [sic] incompetent for exe-

cution based solely on “mild” mental retardation.

This Court’s earlier ruling that the Ford issue in this

case is not successive or abusive should stand. It is con-

sistent with the majority of courts that have considered

the issue:

Moreover, our research indicates no reported

decision in which a federal circuit court or the

Supreme Court has denied relief of a peti-

tioner’s competency-to-be executed claim on

grounds of abuse of the writ.

Barnard v. Collins, 13 F.3d 871, 878 (5th Cir. 1994). That

case also held that the district court abused its discretion

in refusing to extend to Barnard the benefit of 18 U.S.C.

93

§ 848, which provides for the appointment of counsel and

reasonably necessary investigative, expert and other ser-

vices. Id. at 879.

In conclusion, petitioner asks this Court to reject

Respondents’ attempt to finesse the jurisdiction of this

Court to enforce the constitution.

Respectfully submitted this 15th day of May, 1997.

Fredric F. Kay

Federal Public Defender

Denise I. Young

Dale A. Baich

Sean D. O’Brien

By /s/ Denise I. Young

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

Copy of the foregoing mailed and

transmitted by facsimile on

this 15th day of May, 1997 to:

Bruce M. Ferg

Assistant Attorney General

Office of the Attorney General

400 West Congress, Bldg. S, Ste. 315

Tucson, AZ 85701-1367

520.628.6530

/s/ Denise I. Young

94

EXHIBIT F

Denis William Keyes, Ph.D. .

Department of Educational Foundations

and Specializations

School of Education - The College of Charleston

Charleston, South Carolina 29424

Mr. Sean O’Brien, J.D.

Public Interest Litigation Clinic

5319 Rockhill Road

Kansas City, MO 64110

re: Arizona v. Ramon Martinez-Villareal

May 13, 1997

Dear Mr. O’Brien,

My name is Denis William Keyes, and I am currently a

tenured faculty member in the Department of Educa-

tional Foundations and Specializations at the University

of Charleston, South Carolina. I received my Doctor of

Philosophy Degree in Special Education from the Univer-

sity of New Mexico in May, 1992. I also hold a Master of

Education in Special Education, a Master of Science and

an Educational Specialist Degree in School Psychology

from Miami University, Oxford, Ohio. I have worked in

the field of mental retardation since 1974, was a teacher

of students who have mental retardation from 1979 to

1984. I have been state certified as a school psychologist

since 1988 (in Ohio, New Mexico (sic), and South Caro-

lina), Nationally Certified since 1989, and am a Diplomate

of the American Board of Forensic Examiners. I have

consulted for numerous legal protection and advocacy

agencies (particularly in the areas of mental retardation,

special education and the criminal justice system), and

have testified as an expert witness in both criminal and

95

civil justice suits in both state and federal courts. In my

research, I have published several articles in the field of

mental retardation, most of which deal with legal issues.

Since 1988, I have been active in cases involving the death

penalty and offenders with mental retardation. I should

like to preface my statement by saying that I am not

particularly against the imposition of the death penalty

either personally, morally, or philosophically. However, I

am vehemently opposed to the execution of people who

have mental retardation.

I am making this statement concerning the case of Arizona

vs. Ramon Martinez-Villareal. My concerns about this case

are myriad, first and foremost because there is enough

evidence to suggest that this man has mental retardation,

but none of the examinations performed so far have

included all the areas of assessment necessary for a

proper diagnosis. Additionally, any finding that Mr. Mar-

tinez-Villareal is competent cannot be considered exhaus-

tive until his actual mental functioning has been

determined beyond a reasonable doubt.

The reports of Dr. Joseph Geffen, Dr. Jonathan Pincus,

and Dr. Leonardo Garcia-Bunuel are exceptional exam-

ples of thorough mental health examinations that

strongly indicate the existence of mental retardation.

However, none of these can be considered conclusive in

their diagnoses since each lacks a formal evaluation of

the client’s adaptive skill functioning (see AAMR, 1992;

DSM IV, 1994).

There are several important facts to consider in any diag-

nosis of this man’s mental condition:

96

1. Ramon Martinez-Villareal has experienced extreme

poverty;

2. He is culturally very different from most American

citizens;

3. He is a Mexican National who speaks virtually no

English;

4. He is diabetic, a disorder of metabolism that can

cause progressive damage to the brain;

5. He is functionally illiterate and has had no formal

education;

6. He has been diagnosed as paranoid schizophrenic, a

severe mental illness that can lead to mental retarda-

tion (see AAMR. 1992);

7. He is described as both mentally retarded & capable

by various psychologists who have limited, if any,

experience with mental retardation; and,

8. He has evidenced concrete, circular and illogical

thought processes.

Testing procedures for people who have mental retarda-

tion require advanced planning in several areas. People

with mental retardation often attempt to “pass” for nor-

mal by assuming a posture of false-awareness and false-

ability, known as the “Cloak of Competence” (Edgerton,

1966). For most people with little or no experience in the

field of mental retardation, including many mental! health

professionals, this usually harmless deception may some-

times appear to be behavior one might merely regard as

eccentric. In Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s case, his ‘cloak of

competence’ may be practiced enough to convince even

experienced psychologists and psychiatrists, resulting in

an incorrect diagnosis of below-average intellect or

97

malingering, instead of the correct diagnosis of mental

retardation. Certain tests, when correctly administered

and scored, can more effectively determine intellectually

abnormal behavior. Of the tests that have been adminis-

tered, only one was clearly a diagnostic test for mental

disabilities. However, even if more appropriate testing

instruments were used, there is simply no substitute for

actual testing and teaching experience with those people

who have mental retardation (see generally, Conley

Luckesson, & Bouthilet, 1992).

It is of serious concern to me that those people who have

interacted with Mr. Martinez-Villareal consistently note

variation in his level of functioning. Sattler (1988), in

discussing testing procedures for people with mental

retardation, reports that behavior during testing that is

“... Megativistic may enable the retarded . . . to maintain

self-esteem in the face of difficult intellectual or social

demands” (p. 95). Additionally, an examinee’s persistent

questioning of an examiner may “represent an effort to

ensure stability” in responding, thus “fooling” the exam-

mer into an incorrect judgment of heightened compe-

tence. Conversely, examiners, particularly those with

little or no experience working with people who have

retardation, have sometimes accused examinees of malin-

gering or faking mental retardation. Research indicates

that it is not possible for an examinee to fake mental

retardation on tests of intelligence, and maintain consis-

tent intelligence scores (Keyes, 1992). Mr. Martinez-Vil-

lareal’s scores have been remarkably consistent over time.

It would also appear that, while malingering has been

Proposed, there is no consistent evidence to back up its

existence.

98

The statement by Mr. Marciano Munoz, M.A., that Mr.

Martinez-Villareal is “rational and his thought content is

logical” is highly questionable, given the content of his

entry for February 27, 1997. On this date, Mr. Martinez-

Villareal stated that he would “hurt himself” if he was

not moved because of the pressure of being near a partic-

ular inmate whom Mr. Martinez-Villareal believed was

harassing him. As stated in Mr. Munoz’s record, this has

happened before, and Mr. Martinez-Villareal has hurt

himself before. The odd thing is that both Mr. Munoz and

his supervisor, Dr. McCauley, seemed to miss a resulting

pattern that is quite clear: First, Mr. Martinez-Villareal

moves to a cell, begins to experience voices and harass-

ment, complains that he must be moved or he will hurt

hims«lf, is moved to another cell - fully believing that

moving to another cell block will take care of the prob-

lem, and then the voices and harassment start once again.

Such thinking is neither rational or logical — but it is the

sort of circular, concrete thought expected of a man with

mental retardation and mental illness.

The most glaring omission in each and all of the previ-

ously performed evaluations is the complete lack of any

type of adaptive behavior scale or instrument. As stated,

it is impossible to determine the existence or severity of

mental retardation in an examinee unless his/her adap-

tive behavior (or adaptive skill levels) have been investi-

gated. Given this fact, the continuance of this case is an

absolute must, if only in order to see that Mr. Martinez-

Villareal’s adaptive skill functioning is accurately deter-

mined so that the court can be fully informed as to the

severity of his present mental condition.

99

In cases of severe or profound mental retardation, it is

often impossible for the trained psychologist to perform

accepted standardized assessment procedures. This is

because people with such severe disabilities often lack

even the basic skills for testing procedures. However, the

nature of mild or educable mental retardation is some-

times so subtle that evaluators who lack experience with

people who are mentally retarded may question or deny

their test results. It is quite possibly for this very reason

that Dr. Geffen has expressed that he is somewhat unsure

of his intellectual diagnosis of Mr. Martinez-Villareal.

Psychologists who make diagnoses of mentally normal or

retarded based primarily upon an interview format have

little understanding of the severe and sometimes beguil-

ing nature of this disability, even in its mild form.

It is my professional opinion that evaluations previously

performed represent a good investigation into the evalua-

tion of Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s current functioning. At

best, however, I am unclear as to why an inventory of

adaptive behavior was not performed, since it is abso-

lutely necessary for diagnosing mental retardation. The

absence of a strategy for assessing adaptive skill areas

indicates the examiner(s) may not be very familiar with

the definition and various behavioral aspects of mental

retardation. For such an important evaluation, a psychol-

ogist with expertise in the field of mental retardation

would have been far more appropriate than one lacking

expertise in the field.

100

If you have any concerns or questions, please feel free to

contact me at (803) 953-4840, or (803) 762-3681.

Sincerely,

/s/ Denis W. Keyes

Denis W. Keyes, Ph.D.

Nationally Certified School Psychologist

Diplomate of the American

Board of Forensic Examiners

Assistant Professor of Special Education

The College of Charleston/University

of Charleston, SC

copy: Mr. Dale Baich

FAX (602) 379-3681

101

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ-

)

VILLAREAL, ) No.

Petitioner, CIV-86-296-TUC-RMB

a ) ORDER

)

TERRY L. STEWART, et al., ) (Filed May 16, 1997)

Respondents. )

)

Ramon Martinez-Villareal (“Petitioner”), a death row

inmate, is before the Court seeking expert services pur-

suant to 21 U.S.C. § 848(q) so that his competency to be

executed claim can be developed and presented to the

Court. His execution is set for May 21, 1997. Section

848(q) permits the Court to provide the services of

experts in the preapplication phase of a habeas corpus

proceeding. The State opposes the requested relief, assert-

ing that the Petitioner’s Motion for Expert Services con-

templates a successive petition and, therefore, the Court

lacks jurisdiction to take any action.

The Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of

1996 (“AEDPA”) contains provisions curtailing the scope

and availability of federal habeas corpus relief for pris-

oners, including those under sentence of death. In partic-

ular, the AEDPA amends the habeas corpus statutes to

Provide that a second petition presented to a district

court must be dismissed unless it presents a claim that

either 1) “relies on a new rule of constitutional law, made

retroactive to cases on collateral review by the Supreme

Court, that was previously unavailable,” or 2) that is

102

based on facts that could not have been discovered earlier

“through the exercise of due diligence” and if proved

would “establish by clear and convincing evidence that

but for constitutional error, no reasonable factfinder

would have found the [the Petitioner] guilty of the under-

lying offense.” 28 U.S.C. 2244(b)(2). Before the district

court may consider a second or successive application

permitted be [sic] § 2244(b)(2), the applicant must make a

motion in the Court of Appeals for an order authorizing

the district court to consider the application. See 28 U.S.C.

2244(b)(3)(A). A claim of lack of competency to be exe-

cuted does not fall within either of the exceptions set

forth in § 2244(b)(2).

The issue of whether the Petitioner is competent to be

executed was raised before this Court in his March 25,

1993 Amended Petition. The State argued that the compe-

tency to be executed claim was not ripe for decision

because the Petitioner’s competency could change over

time and because the Petitioner was not under a present

warrant of execution. On October 21, 1994, this Court

found that the Petitioner did not receive effective assis-

tance of counsel at sentencing and remanded for re-

sentencing. See Order and Memorandum Opinion of

October 21, 1994. The Court also agreed with the State

and found that because the Petitioner was not presently

under a warrant of execution, the competency to be exe-

cuted claim was premature and dismissed that claim

without prejudice. See id. The remaining claims were

denied with prejudice. See id. On appeal, the Ninth Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals reversed the Court’s decision on

the ineffective assistance of counsel claims, stating that

they were procedurally barred, and affirmed in all other

103

respects. See Martinez- Villareal v. Lewis, 80 F.3d 1301 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied ___ U.S. __, 117 S.Ct. 588, 136 L.Ed.2d

517 (1996). On February 28, 1997, the Court issued an

amended order which comported with the

Ninth Ciecuit. mandate of the

The AEDPA, which changed the law related to suc-

cossive habeas corpus petitions, was passed after this

Court s October 21, 1994 ruling on the Amended Petition

In its October 21, 1994 Order, this Court did not contem-

plate that deciding the issue of whether the Petitioner is

competent to be executed would constitute a successive

petition. In fact, the Court’s Order denying the Peti-

tioner’s Motion for Reconsideration specifically recog-

nized that the issue would not be treated as a successive

petition. See Order of March 25, 1997.

. After a review of the pleadings and oral argume

this Court concludes that, as result of the AEDPA, it “01

not have jurisdiction to entertain the relief sought by the

Petitioner. See In re Medina, 109 F.3d 1556 (11th Cir. 1997);

Greenawalt v. Stewart, 105 F.3d 1268 (9th Cir. 1997). Con-

gress may constitutionally limit the jurisdiction of the

courts. Landgraf v. USI Film Products, 511 U.S. 244, 273

114 S.Ct. 1483, 1501, 128 L.Ed.2d 229 (1994). The Court

agrees with the Petitioner that the AEDPA effectively

deprives all federal district courts of jurisdiction to enter-

tain second petitions raising Eighth Amendment “compe-

tency to be executed” claims. However, this does not

mean that the Petitioner has forfeited his legal remedies.

stant tne Petitioner may apply for certiorari review of the

a court competency proceedings with the United

ates Supreme Court. The Petitioner may also file an

original habeas application to the United States Supreme

104

Court. See Felker v. Turpin, __ U.S. __, 116 S.Ct. 2333,

2338-39, 135 L.Ed.2d 827 (1996) (the provisions of section

2244(b), as amended, do not restrict the Supreme Court's

original habeas authority). Finally, the Petitioner may

apply to the Court of Appeals for permission to proceed

in the district court. Thus, although the Petitioner cannot

bring his Eighth Amendment competency to be executed

claim in this Court at this time, he is not precluded from

federal review of this claim.

Although this Court may not review the Petitioner's

competency to be executed at this time, the Court recalls

that it had the opportunity to observe the the [sic] Peti-

tioner in 1994. This Court can only state that its observa-

tions of the Petitioner in 1994 called into serious doubt

the Petitioner's competence. At the three-day evidentiary

hearing before this Court on the Petitioner’s original

amended petition, the State psychiatrist testified that if

the Petitioner was presently incompetent, it was because

he was not receiving the correct medication. The Court

then asked the psychiatrist if that meant that the State

could medicate in order to eradicate. The expert

answered “yes.” The report of Dr. Jonathan Pincus, dated

April 1, 1997, states that the Petitioner has not been

receiving medication. See Exhibit C to Motion for Expert

Services. This fact alone raises serious concerns in the

mind of this Court as to whether the Petitioner is pres-

ently capable of understanding 1) that he is to be pun-

ished by execution, and 2) why he is being punished.

Without more guidance from the Ninth Circuit or the

United States Supreme Court, this Court concludes that it

lacks jurisdiction to review the state court proceedings

105

below to ensure that the Petitioner is receiving his medi-

cation and, therefore, is competent to be executed

Dated this 16th day of May, 1997.

/s/ Richard M. Bilby

Richard M. Bilby

Senior United States District Judge

106

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

RAMON MARTINEZ-

)

VILLAREAL, ) No.

Petitioner, CIV-86-296-TUC-RMB

aay ) ORDER

TERRY L. STEWART, et al., ?

a) (Biled May 16, 1997)

Respondents. )

)

On April 24, 1996, the “Antiterrorism and Effective

Death Penalty Act of 1996” (the “Act”) was signed into

law, amending 28 U.S.C. § 2244, 2253, 2254, 2255, Appel-

late Rule 22, and 21 U.S.C. § 848(q). Rule 22(b) of the

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, as amended, pro-

vides that if an appeal is taken by a petitioner, the district

judge who rendered the judgment shall either issue a

certificate of appealability or state the reasons why such a

certificate should not issue. Section 2253 of Title 28,

United States Code, as amended, provides that a certifi-

cate may issue “only if the applicant has made a substan-

tial showing of the denial of a constitutional right.” In the

certificate, the court must indicate which specific issues

satisfy this showing. 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(3).

Concurrently with this Order, the Court issued an

Order denying Petitioner's Motion for Expert Services

(“Motion”). This Court concluded that, without more

guidance from the Court of Appeals or the United States

Supreme Court, it lacked jurisdiction. The Court is satis-

fied that, through his incompetence to be executed claim,

107

the Petitioner has made a substantial showing of the

denial of a constitutional right.

Dated this 16th day of May, 1997.

/s/ Richard M. Bilby

Richard M. Bilby

Senior United States District Judge

108

CAPITAL CASE: EXECUTION SCHEDULED FOR

12:05 A.M. MAY 21, 1997

No. 97-80229

IN THE

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL,

)

)

Petitioner / Appellant,

VS. )

TERRY STEWART, et al., ‘

Respondents / Appellees. |

No. 94-99011, 94-99012

IN THE

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RAMON MARTINEZ-

VILLAREAL,

)

)

Petitioner/ Appellant,

vs. )

SAMUEL LEWIS, et al., ;

Respondents / Appellees.

109

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNIT ED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

MOTION FOR CERTIFICATE OF PROBABLE CAUSE;

MOTION FOR REMAND TO FILE FED.R.CIV. P 60(B)

MOTION; MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE SUCCESSOR

PETITION; MOTION TO RECALL THE MANDATE

AND MOTION FOR STAY OF EXECUTION

INTRODUCTION

This case has previously been before this Court. Mar-

tinez-Villareal v. Lewis, 80 F.3d 1301 (9th Cir. 1996). In

disposing of it, however, this Court reserved judgment on

one issue: whether Mr. Martinez-Villareal was competent

to be executed. Id. at 1309, n.1. It did so on the ground,

urged by Respondents, who had earlier persuaded the

District Court of the same thing, Order and Memoran-

dum Opinion, Oct. 21, 1994 [Doc. No. 136], at 19, that this

claim was “premature.” On remand, the District Court

entered an order dismissing the petition “without preju-

dice” so that this claim could be timely brought. Peti-

tioner moved for reconsideration under Fed.R.Civ.P. 59,

pointing out to the court that it could lose jurisdiction to

consider the reserved issue because of the enactment of

the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act

(“AEDPA”). Respondents did not respond to the motion.

The District Court denied the Rule 59 motion, Stating

clearly its belief that it could still consider the issue, and

specifically stating that the claim would not be

“treat[ed]” as “successive.” Order, Mar. 24, 1997. Respon-

dents remained silent, filing nothing to inform the court it

110

disagreed with this position. To preserve jurisdiction,

Petitioner filed notice of this appeal.

During this same time, Respondents sought and

obtained a warrant of execution. Proceedings were then

held in the Arizona state court regarding Petitioner's

competency. After denying Petitioner’s requests for

expert assistance and testing, the state court ruled that

Petitioner was competent, although it did not resolve the

disputed facts, except to note that there is credible evi-

dence on both sides. While the statutory review to the

Arizona Supreme Court is pending, Petitioner filed a

request for appointment of counsel and expert assistance

or access with the District Court. In response, Respon-

dents argued for the first time that the District Court had

lost all jurisdiction under the AEDPA. At oral argument,

the District Court said that, although it had grave reser-

vations about Petitioner’s competency (based on its pre-

vious observations) and thus believed the claim had

merit, it believed it had lost jurisdiction over the case due

to the dismissal of this petition and the passage of the

AEDPA.

Petitioner is thus caught in a Catch 22, an unpar-

alleled inequity: He has a substantial claim his execution

would be unconstitutional. The District Court and this

Court previously refused to address this saying it was

premature. The District Court then dismissed the petition

in the belief it could reconsider this claim later. Respon-

dents sat back silently and permitted this without regis-

tering disagreement or indicating they had changed their

previous position that the case could be brought back.

Now Respondents have asserted that federal jurisdiction

111

- consider this erious [sic] constitutional claim has been

ost, as an unintended result of the District Court's action

MOTIONS

, Petitioner has brought this appeal, and makes the

ollowing motions, to correct this pending injustice:

| 1. In Martinez-Villareal v, Stewart, No. 97-99009, Peti-

tioner moves for the following relief:

(a) A certificate of

| probable cause permittig [sic

par to appeal from the District Court’s order > eta

t 1s petition ‘without prejudice,” and its denial of the

motion for reconsideration of that order;

(b) Alternatively, leave to file a motion for relief

rom the judgment under Fed.R.Civ.P 60(b);

(c) Alternatively, leave to file a successor petition

‘ 2. In Martinez-Villareal v. Lewis, No. 94-99011 and

he Peittioner [sic] moves the Court to recall its

mandate and amend its decisioni [sic] to retain federal

jurisdiciton [sic i i

oe [sic] overy [sic] his present competency

3. , In both causes, Petitioner moves for a Stay of his

execution pending a resolutioin [sic] of all federal pro-

Petitioner also moves this Court for a stay of execu-

tion pending further Proceedings in thi

th

the District Court. ope” Heme oa

112

FACTS

The facts supporting these requests are:

1. Petitioner is mentally retarded with an LQ. of 64

and mentally ill, and he is unaware of hie pending execu-

tion and the reasons for it. In 1993, in his firet oy er

before the District Court, Mr. Martinez-Villareal, oe

counsel, alleged that he “did not and does not have t .

mental capacity to appreciate the nature of his —

Amended Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus (“Habeas

Petition”), filed Mar. 26, 1993 at 7 4.16.’ Since Mr. =

tinez-Villareal did not and does not have the poor

capacity to appreciate the nature of his sentence, a

Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986), his rights un ler

the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendment would be vio-

lated if he is executed. Id. at { 106.

2. In the 1993 District Court proceedings, Respon-

dents, however, persuaded the District Court that aoe

not have jurisdiction to hear the claim because it was om

now ripe for determination” and should be brought . en

an execution “warrant has been issued.” They said:

[T]his issue is not ripe for decision, because =

execution can take place without the issuance o

a warrant of execution, no such warrant —

ently exists, and the Arizona Supreme ae

apparently is not issuing such warrants og

ing defendants who are protected (as is

tioner) by a federal stay of execution.

1 The then-known facts supporting the claim were outlined

in {1 25 through 90 of the habeas petition.

113

Martinez- Villareal v. Lewis, CIV 86-296-TUC-RMB, Reply to

Response to Motion for Summary Judgment, at 45-46

(Dec. 17, 1993). Describing Petitioner’s desire to have the

claim decided at that time as “unworkable,” Respondents

Stated that it was important to:

have a single adjudication of competency, At a

time when all [petitioner's] other claims have been

resolved and a warrant has been issued, so that an

execution actually is imminent within a reasonable

period of time ... To doa competency determination

now would be futile, because it will certainly have to

be repeated when the time for execution finally

arrives.

Id. (emphasis added).

3. The District Court adopted Respondents’ posi-

tion:

At present, there is no execution warrant out-

standing as to Martinez-Villareal since this

Court issued its stay. Thus, Martinez-Villareal is

not facing execution nor with appellate review

will he face likely execution in the near future.

This claim is premature and denied without preju-

dice.

Order and Memorandum Opinion, Oct. 21, 1994, at 19

(emphasis added).

4. The District Court did issue the writ of habeas

corpus as to Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s death sentence after

concluding that he did not receive the effective assistance

of counsel. Order and Memorandum Opinion, Oct. 21,

1994, at 30.

5. On appeal, this Court found that the writ was

improperly granted because Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s

114

claim of ineffective assistance of counsel was pro-

cedurally barred. Martinez-Villareal v. Lewis, 80 F.3d at

1305. This Court explicitly stated, however, “[tlo elimi-

nate any ambiguity, we reiterate that the claim of Mar-

tinez-Villareal’s current incompetence was denied as

premature by the district court. That decision was not

challenged on appeal. Our instruction to enter judgment

denying the petition is not intended to affect any later litiga-

tion of that question.” Id. at 1309, n.1 (emphasis added).

6. On remand to the District Court, the District

Court entered an order again denying, “without preju-

dice,” Mr. Martinez-Villareal’s competency challenge.

Order and Entry, Feb. 28, 01997 [sic]. [Doc. Nos. 152 and

153]. Petitioner, however, moved to amend the judgment

pursuant to Fed.Civ.P. Rule 59 “direct[ing] the Court's

attention” to the AEDPA [the amendments to the federal

habeas corpus statutes encted [sic] in 1996] and quoted 28

U.S.C. § 2244(b)(1), (b)(3)(A) and § 2255. Petitioner sum-

marized the possible effect of these new enactments, not-

ing:

In other words, petitioner’s claim to incompe-

tence to be executed would be barred notwith-

standing this Court’s dismissal “without

prejudice.” This would contravene the clear

intention of the parties, violate due process

under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments,

and constitute an unconstitutional suspension of

the writ of habeas corpus in violation of Art. I,

Sec. 9 of the Constitution.

Martinez-Villareal v. Stewart, No. CIV 86-296-TUC-RMB,

Motion to Reconsider Order and Judgment (Mar. 11,

115

1997). Petitioner urged the District Court “ijn the inter-

ests of fairness,” “in an abundance of caution,” and to

Hem crs injustice” that would result if “peti-

a = es or was barred as a successive claim,” to

— order dismissing this claim, and hold “the

in abeyance pending the outcome of the current

proceedings” ongoing in state court

ad ent pend ourt. Id. at 2. Respondents

4 The District Court denied Petitioner’s motion

stating that the reason the competency to be enacted

claim was dismissed was because “it was not ripe when it

was presented. For this reason, the Court dismissed it

without prejudice.” Noting that Petitioner “warn[ed] the

Court that the premature claim could be precluded as a

successi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.