Amicus Curiae Brief — Cass County v. Leech Lake Band of Chippewa Indians

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(it) rR tee

No.97-174 5 15 %%

CLERK

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

Cass County, et al.

4 Petitioners,

LEECH LAKE BAND OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF FOR LEWIS COUNTY, IDAHO;

AITKIN COUNTY, BENTON COUNTY,

CROW WING COUNTY, ISANTI COUNTY,

KANABEC COUNTY, MAENOMEN COUNTY,

MILLE LACS COUNTY, MORRISON COUNTY,

PINE COUNTY, AND SHERBURNE COUNTY,

MINNESOTA; GLACIER COUNTY, LAKE COUNTY,

AND ROOSEVELT COUNTY, MONTANA;

LYMAN COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA;

DUCHESNE COUNTY AND UINTAH COUNTY, UTAH;

AMICI CURIAE, IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS,

CASS COUNTY, MINNESOTA, ET AL.

JAMES M. JOHNSON Tom D. ToBIN *

Attorney at Law TOBIN LAW OFFICES, P. C.

1110 S. Capitol Way 422 Main Street

Olympia, WA 98501 P.O. Box 730

(360) 357-3104 Winner, SD 57580

(605) 842-2500

* Counsel of Record

[Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover]

WILSON - Eres Printinc Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

ms

KIMRON TORGERSON

Lewis County Prosecuting

Attorney

P.O. Box 398

Nezperce, ID 83543

(208) 987-2271

BRADLEY C. RHODES

Aitkin County Attorney

209 Second Street, N.W.

Aitkin, MN 56431

(218) 927-7347

MICHAEL JESSE

Benton County Attorney

531 Dewey Street

Box 129

Foley, MN 56329

(320) 968-6254

DONALD F. RYAN

Crow Wing County Attorney

326 Laurel St., Courthouse

Brainerd, MN 56401

(218) 828-3952

JEFFREY EDBLAD

Isanti County Attorney

555 18th Avenue, S.W.

Cambridge, MN 55008

(612) 689-2253

NORMAN LOREN

Kanabec County Attorney

18 Vine Street North—

Courthouse

Mora, MN 55051-1351

(320) 679-2870

ERIC BoE

Mahnomen County Attorney

P.O. Box 439

Mahnomen, MN 56557

(218) 935-2378

JENNIFER FAHEY

Mille Lacs County Attorney

635 Second Street, S.E.

Milaca, MN 56353

(320) 983-8305

CONRAD FREEBERG

Morrison County Attorney

Morrison County Government

Center

213 Ist Avenue SE

Little Falls, MN 56345

(320) 682-0190

JOHN CARLSON

Pine County Attorney

315 Sixth Street—Courthouse

Pine City, MN 55063

(320) 629-6781

WALTER KAMINSKY

Sherburne County Attorney

13880 Highway 10

P.O. Box 318

Elk River, MN 55330-1692

(612) 241-2565

LARRY EPSTEIN

Glacier County Attorney

512 East Main Street

Cut Bank, MT 59427-3016

(406) 873-2277

DEBORAH KIM CHRISTOPHER

Lake County Attorney

Lake County Courthouse

106 4th Ave. E

Polson, MT 59860-2125

(406) 883-7245

JAMES R. PATCH

Roosevelt County Attorney

400 Second Avenue South

Wolf Point, MT 59201-1600

(406) 653-2653

DALLAS E. Brost

Lyman County States Attorney

P.O. Box 38

100 South Main

Kennebec, SD 57544

(605) 869-2294

HERBERT WM. GILLESPIE

Duchesne County Attorney

500 East 100 South

P.O. Box 206

Duchesne, UT 84021

(801) 738-2435

JOANN B. STRINGHAM

Uintah County Attorney

152 East 100 North

Vernal, UT 84078

(801) 781-5436

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................................-..-...

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE COUNTIES ............

II.

THE OPINION OF THE COURT OF AP-

PEALS IS CONTRARY TO A TRADITION

OF TAXATION AND CONFLICTS IN PRIN-

CIPLE WITH THE RELEVANT DECISIONS

eg EE

C. All Related Opinions Reflect That The Gen-

eral Allotment Act And All Other Legisla-

tion Were Clearly Understood To Generally

Authorize The Taxation Of Fee Patent

THROUGH THE NELSON ACT, CONGRESS

LEFT LANDS IN MINNESOTA FREELY

ALIENABLE AND TAXABLE (ONLY EX-

CEPTING THOSE HELD IN TRUST)

ED cenreceprepsnsstensssscensinipssncssdiqssnmtaninmngupretnemamenanss

APPENDIX

H.R. Exec. Doc. No. 247, 5ist Cong., Ist Sess.

K separately bound

11

19

21

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Bailess v. Paukune, 344 U.S. 171 (1952) ..... 16

Board of Comm'rs of Jackson County, Kansas v.

United States, 308 U.S. 343 (19399999 13, 14, 15

County of Oneida v. Oneida Indian Nation, 470

TE Fo xa 10

County of Thurston v. Andrus, 586 F.2d 1212 (8th

Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 952 (1979) 16

Draper v. United States, 140 U.S. 240 (18917 11

Goudy v. Meath, 203 U.S. 146 (1906) 5, 10, 12, 21

Larkin v. Paugh, 276 U.S. 431 (1928) .................... 10

Leech Lake Band of Chippewa Indians v. Cass Co.,

Minn., 108 F.3d 820 (8th Cir. 1997), cert.

granted (U.S. October 31, 1997) (No. 97-174) 7, 16,

24, 27

Mahnomen County v. United States, 319 U.S. 474

— v —— 15, 16

Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indiens v. Minne-

sota, 861 F. Supp. 784 (D. Minn. 199) 29

Moe v. Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes,

PI __e 10

Morrow, County Auditor v. United States, 243

BP, GIR —— — 23, 24

Nichols v. Rysavy, 809 F.2d 1317 (8th Cir. 1987),

cert. denied, 484 U.S. 848 (19877 16

Oregon Fish & Wildlife Dept. v. Klamath Tribe,

OE E>>———————————— 29, 30

Pennock v. Board of County Comm'rs of Franklin

County, 108 U.S. 44 (1881) ................................... 11

Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians v. Minnesota,

614 F.2d 1161 (8th Cir. 1980) —..................... 28, 29

South Carolina v. Catawba Indian Tribe, Ine., 476

Fe ( _ — 10

Squire v. Capoeman, 351 U.S. 1 (1956) —................ 17

Stevens v. C. I. R., 452 F.2d 741 (1971) ......... 1 7

United States v. Mason, 412 U.S. 391 (1973 17, 18

United States v. McCurdy, 246 U.S. 263 (1918) 13

United States v. Michigan, 106 F.3d 130 (6th Cir.

1997), pet. for cert. filed (U.S. June 30, 1997)

0 ——————————————————————— 7

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Mitcheu., 445 U.S. 535 (1980)... 18, 19

United States v. Nice, 241 U.S. 591 (1916) 12, 13

United States v. Rickert, 188 U.S. 432 (1903) 11, 12, 13

United States v. Winans, 198 U.S. 371 (1905) 29

White Earth Band of Chippewa Indians v. Alez-

ander, 683 F.2d 1129 (8th Cir. 1982) 28

Yakima County v. .

r . ele te ae passim

STATUTES

General Allotment Act of 1887 (24 Stat. 388) passim

Nelson Act of January 14, 1889, ch. 24 (25 Stat.

6425 passim

Great Sioux Act of 1889 (25 Stat. 896)... 9

Joint Resolution of June 19, 1902 (32 Stat. 744) x

Burke Act of 1906 (34 Stat. 187 16

Act of February 14, 1923 (42 Stat. 1246) 25

RIS ne A CA 8

Indian Reorganizaiton Act of 1934 (48 Stat. 984) 8, 10

REE ̃ . 10

is ...... cic 10

MISCELLANEOUS

H.R. Exec. Doc. No. 247, 5ist Cong., Ist Sess.

11 passim

19 Op. Atty. Gen. 161 (188686 20

I: ... 20

D .. ee 20

rr 20

ES SB 2 20

r 8

Memorandum BIA. IA. No. 0943, April 21. 1989. 21

Memorandum Opinion of the Associate Solicitor,

Dept. of Interior, Division of Indian Affairs,

EE 7

Brief for the United States, Bailess v. Paukwne,

344 U.S. 171 (1952) (No. 242) 16

Brief for the United States, Board of Comm’rs of

Jackson County, Kansas v. United States, 308

U.S. 343 (1939) (No. 1728) 14

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Brief for the United States, Leech Lake Band of

Chippewa Indians v. Cass Co., Minn., 108 F.3d

820 (8th Cir. 1997) (No. 95-4263) 7,9

Brief in Opp’n, Leech Lake Band of Chippewa In-

dians v. Cass Co., Minn., 108 F.3d 820 (8th Cir.

e 00

Brief for Lewis County, Idaho, et al. Amici Curiae,

in Support of Petitioners, Cass County, Minne-

sota, et al., Cass County, Minnesota v. Leech

Lake Band of Chippewa Indians (No. 97-174)

7. — 6

Brief for the United States, Mahnomen County v.

United States, 319 U.S. 474 (1943) (No. 12340,

——K A5 15

Brief for the United States, United States v.

Mason, 412 U.S. 391 (1973) (Nos. 72-654, 72-

606) 1 17

Brief for the United States, United States v.

McCurdy, 246 U.S. 263 (1918) (No. 685) 13

Brief for the United States, United States v.

Mitchell, 445 U.S. 535 (1980) (No. 81-1748) 18

Brief for the United States, Nice v. United States,

241 U.S. 591 (1916) (No. 681) 12

Brief for the United States, United States v.

Rickert, 188 U.S. 482 (1908) (No. 216) 11

Brief for Petitioner, Squire v. Capoeman, 351 U.S.

180 17

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae,

Yakima County v. Yakima Indian Nation, 502

U.S. 251 (1992) (Nos. 90-408, 90-577) 3, 9, 10

Reply Brief of Petitioners/Cross Respondents,

County of Yakima and Dale A. Gray, Yakima

Treasurer, County of Yakima v. Yakima Indian

Nation, 502 U.S. 251 (1992) (Nos. 90-408, 90-

5 | en Se eee 25

Memorandum for the United States as Amicus

Curiae in Support of Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc, Yakima

Indian Nation v. County of Yakima, 960 F.2d

798 (9th Cir. 1992) (No. 88-3926) 8

*

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Brief for La Plata County, Colorado, et al.

Amici Curiae in Support of Petitioners, Yakima

County v. Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S. 251

(1992) (Nos. 90-408, 90-577)

Transcript of Oral Argument, United States v.

— 412 U.S. 391 (1978) (Nos. 72-654, 72.

Transcript of Oral Argument, United States v

Mitchell, 445 U.S. 585 (1980) (No. 81-1748).

Transcript of Oral Argument, Yakima County v.

Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S. 251 (1992)

(Nos. 90-408, 90-577)

G su Handbook of Federal Indian Law (1942

F. 2 Handbook of Federal Indian Law (1982

Conference of Western Attorneys General, Ameri.

can Indian Law Deskbook (1998)

——— ht ee

Page

18

19

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-174

Cass CouN rv, MINNESOTA, et al.,

0 Petitioners,

LEECH LAKE BAND OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES,

NATIONAL GOVERNORS’ ASSOCIATION,

NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES,

NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF STATE LEGISLATURES,

U.S. CONFERENCE OF MAYORS, INTERNATIONAL

CITY/COUNTY MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION,

INTERNATIONAL MUNICIPAL LAWYERS

ASSOCIATION, AND COUNCIL OF

STATE GOVERNMENTS AS AMICI CURIAE

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

Amici are organizations whose members include state

and local governments and officials throughout the United

2

States. Amici and their members have a vital interest in

legal issues that affect the powers and responsibilities of

state and local governments.

Amici are concerned that serious erosion of ad valorem

tax bases could result if Tribes can unilaterally assert

sovereignty over land previously held by private parties,

in derogation of well-established state and local authority

to tax real property. The decision below allows Tribes to

create a tax-exemption on their own volition simply by

purchasing from private parties land that Congress had

previously ordered to be sold for the benefit of the Tribes.

Tribes have purchased land from non-Indians to develop

casinos, hotels, malls and convention centers, asserting

that their projects are immune from state and local govern-

ment real estate taxes. See discussion infra at 22-23, 26-27.

In addition, in at least one instance, non-Indians have

entered into a leaseback arrangement with a Tribe for

prime resort property in an effort to avoid state and local

taxes. See id. at 26.

By allowing Indians a new power unilaterally to expand

their federal immunity from state taxation, the decision

below also allows Indians to circumvent statutory proce-

dures specifically designed by Congress to govern the

reestablishment of federal trust status, 25 U.S.C. § 465,

and the Secretary of the Interior’s consideration of the

impact on state and local governments of removing prop-

erty from the tax rolls, see 25 C.F.R. § 151.10(e) (imple-

menting 25 U.S.C. § 465 and expressly providing for

state and local government comment on “the impact on

1 Pursuant to Rule 37.3 of the Rules of this Court, the parties

have consented to the filing of this brief amicus curiae. Their

letters of consent have been filed with the Clerk of the Court.

Pursuant to Rule 37.6 of the Rules of this Court, amici state

that no counsel for a party has authored this brief in whole or in

part, and that no person or entity, other than the amici, their

members, or their counsel, has made a monetary contribution to

the preparation or submission of this brief.

co

fact that Congress had, in the Nelson Act of 1889, or-

the sale of these parcels to the general public and

those sales in trust for the Tribe’s

vidual members in severalty. See County of Yakima v.

Yakima Nation, 502 U.S. 251, 254 (1992). The allot-

ment policy was designed to encourage Indians to become

4

self-sufficient yeoman farmers and to open land to non-

Indian settlers. See id.

Congress experimented extensively with allotment as

early as 1854.“ But it was not until 1887 that Congress

universalized allotment under the General Allotment

(Dawes) Act, ch. 119, 24 Stat. 388 (1887) (codified at

25 U.S.C. §§ 331-34, 339, 341-42, 348-49, 354, 381)

(“Dawes Act“) Under the Dawes Act, the United States

could survey tribal lands and allot to “each head of a

family,” in severalty, up to 80 acres for farming and 160

acres for grazing. Dawes Act § 1, 24 Stat. at 388. The

Secretary of the Interior was then authorized to negotiate

for the “purchase and release by said tribe” of the large

portions of the reservation remaining after allotment, with

the proceeds of such residual land sales to be held in fed-

eral trust for the benefit of the Tribe. Dawes Act § 5,

24 Stat. at 389; Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399, 402

(1994). Consistent with its desire to facilitate westward

expansion of the growing nation, Congress specified that

all “lands adapted to agriculture” made available through

this “purchase and release” process were to be used “for

the sole purpose of securing homes to actual settlers.

Dawes Act § 5, 24 Stat. at 389.

Dawes Act was to be held by the United States in trust

for the individual Indians for 25 years and then patented

“in fee, discharged of said trust and free of all charge or

2 See Treaty with the Confederated Ottoes and Missourias, Mar.

15, 1854, 10 Stat. 1038 (allotting lands in severalty and authorizing

the sale of the residue for the Tribe’s benefit); see also Feliz S.

Cohen’s Handbook of Indian Law 98-102 (Bernard Strickland, ed.

1982) (hereinafter Cohen“).

Congress later extended the provisions of the Dawes Act to

a toe heretofore purchased or which may be purchased by

authority of Congress for the use or benefit of any individual Indian

or band or tribe of Indians.” Act of Feb. 14, 1923, ch. 76, 42 Stat.

1246 (1923) (codified at 25 U.S.C. § 335).

5

incumbrance whatsoever.” Jd. Furthermore, Congress

made the allotted land subject to state laws of “descent

and partition” and gave the Indians on such lands “the

benefit of and [made them] subject to the laws, both civil

and criminal, of the State or Territory in which they may

reside.” Id. at § 6.“ Congress subsequently amended the

Dawes Act by the Burke Act of 1906, ch. 2348, 34 Stat.

182 (1906) (codified at 25 U.S.C. § 349), which clarified

that “state civil and criminal jurisdiction would lie

when the lands have been conveyed to the Indians by pat-

ents in fee.” County of Yakima, 502 U.S. at 255.“ The

Burke Act, however, expressly provided for state control

and taxation of allotted lands for which the Secretary had

issued fee patents before the trust period ended, known as

“prematurely patented lands.” See County of Yakima,

502 U.S. at 264.

B. The 1889 Nelson Act for the Chippewa in Minnesota

Responding in part to continuing pressure for expanded

settlement, Congress sought to integrate Indians into non-

* Congress later provided that all lands which had trust or other

restrictions and were sold with the approval of the Secretary by

the heirs of allottees are expressly “subject to taxation under the

laws of the [situs] State or Territory.” Act of May 27, 1902, ch.

888, § 7, 25 Stat. 245, 275 (codified at 25 U.S.C. § 379).

Congress passed the Burke Act in response to a decision of

this Court, In re Heff, 197 U.S. 488, 508, 509 (1905), overruled,

United States v. Nice, 241 U.S. 591, 601 (1916), which held that

Indians received “emancipation from Federal control” immediately

upon allotment. The Burke Act proviso specifically authorizes:

the Secretary of the Interior . . in his discretion, .. .

whenever he shall be satisfied that any Indian allottee is com-

petent and capable of managing his or her affairs at any time

to cause to be issued to such allottee a patent in fee simple, and

thereafter all restrictions as to sale, incumbrance, or taxation

of said land shall be removed and said land shall not be liable

to the satisfaction of any debt contracted prior to the issuing

of such patent

25 U.S.C. § 349 (emphasis added)

6

Indian society and to provide new land for settlement or

commercial exploitation by non-Indians by enacting nu-

merous tribe-specific surplus land allotment acts “to force

Indians onto individual allotments carved out of reserva-

tions and to open up unallotted lands for non-Indian

settlement.” Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463, 467

(1984).* Often without explicit reference to the Dawes

Act, these Acts provided for the sale of lands remaining

after allotment and furthered Congress’ goals of promot-

ing assimilation of the Indians and ending the reservation

system. See Cohen, at 132-38." The inevitable result of

sales of individual parcels of reservation land to non-

Indians was that “reservations became checkerboarded as

the sale of surplus lands to whites isolated individual In-

dian allotments.” See id. at 137.

o See, e.g., Fort Berthold Reservation Act, ch. 264, 36 Stat. 455

(1910); Rosebud Sioux Act, ch. 260, 36 Stat. 448 (1910); Pine

Ridge Reservation Act, ch. 257, 36 Stat. 440 (1910); Flathead

Reservation Amendment Act, ch. 156, 36 Stat. 296 (1910) ; Cheyenne

River and Standing Rock Reservations Act, ch. 218, 35 Stat. 460

(1908) ; Rosebud Sioux Act, ch. 2536, 34 Stat. 1230 (1907); Okla-

homa Osage Allotment Act, ch. 3572, 34 Stat. 539 (1906); Colville

Reservation Act, ch. 1126, 34 Stat. 80 (1906); Wind River Reser-

vation Act, ch. 1452, 33 Stat. 1016 (1905); Devil’s Lake Reserva-

tion Act, ch. 1620, 33 Stat. 319 (1904) ; Flathead Reservation Act,

ch. 1495, 33 Stat. 302 (1904); Rosebud Sioux Act, ch. 1484, 33

Stat. 254 (1904); Colville Reservation Act, ch. 140, 27 Stat. 62

(1892) ; Appropriations Act of March 8, 1891, ch. 543, 26 Stat. 989

(1891) (containing agreements with the Fort Berthold Indians,

§§ 23-25; Sisseton and Wahpeton Sioux, §§ 26-30; and Montana

Crow, 88 81-34); Great Sioux Act, ch. 405, 25 Stat. 888 (1889).

After Lone Wolf v. Hitchcock, 187 U.S. 558, 567-68 (1903), in which

this Court held that involuntary statutory cession of Indian lands

was within Congress’ powers, tribal consent to surplus land acts

was not required.

Given the variation in the language of these Acts and the cir-

cumstances surrounding their passage, some of these Acts have

been interpreted as having diminished the reservation’s boundaries,

while others merely allowed for land sales to non-Indians within

the existing reservation boundaries. See Hagen, 510 U.S. at 410.

f

L

i

;

5

:

allotted to individual Indian households “in conformity

;

:

d

;

used to support “a system of free schools,” and the prin-

to be paid to tribal members in 50 years. Id. at

§ 7; see also IV Folwell, History of Minnesota, at 221-22.

C. The Indian Reorganization Act of 1934

Nearly 50 years after the Dawes Act, Congress enacted

the Indian Reorganization (Wheeler-Howard) Act of 1934,

reversed direction and abandoned the policy of integrat-

ing Indians into non-Indian society. See Mattz v. Arnett,

412 U.S. 481, 497 n.18 (1973). The Reorganization Act

* The Nelson Act was amended by an Act of June 27, 1902, ch.

1157, 32 Stat. an Act of June 25, 1910, ch. 431, § 27, 36

Stat. 855, 862, both of which related

ng

8

4

prohibited further allotments and extended indefinitely

any existing restrictions on alienation of federal trust

lands. Reorganization Act §§ 1-2. The Act further pro-

vided the United States with authority to restore the trust

status of land within or contiguous to reservations. Re-

organization Act § 5 (codified at 25 U.S.C. § 465).

The Reorganization Act did not, however, attempt to re-

verse the multitude of land transactions under the Dawes

Act or any of the other allotment acts that had authorized

the alienation of nearly two-thirds of former Indian lands.

See County of Yakima, 502 U.S. at 255-56; Cohen, at

138. Indian reservations shrank by approximately 90 mil-

lion acres from 1887 to 1934 due to sales by allottees to

non-Indians, cession of land to the United States, and other

sales to non-Indian settlers and businesses. See Cohen, at

138. The resulting checkerboard pattern of Indian and

non-Indian ownership within reservations’ former bounda-

ries thus continues. Today, only 54.1% of the population

of reservations are American Indians, Eskimos and Aleuts.

See Bureau of Census, U.S. Dep't of Commerce, 1990

Census of Population: General Population Characteristics:

American Indian and Alaska Native Areas 1, tbl. 1

(1992). For example, Osage County, Oklahoma, which

borders Tulsa, is coextensive with the Osage Reservation,

but Indians constitute only 14.8% of its population. See

id. Similarly, the Uintah Indian Reservation analyzed in

Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994), is 85% non-Indian

and contains Roosevelt City, which is 93% non-Indian.

Id. at 420-21.

D. Proceedings Below

This case involves twenty-one parcels within the reserva-

tion of the Leech Lake Band of Chippewa Indians in Cass

County, Minnesota, thirteen of which were originally allot-

ted to Indians, seven of which were sold as pine land, and

one of which was sold as a homestead. See Pet. App. 33.

Pursuant to the Nelson Act, each of these parcels was alien-

9

ated from federal trust status by allotment, fee patenting

and subsequent sale, or by direct sale in fee to non-Indians.

See id. During this period of non-Indian ownership, Cass

County had authority to assess and collect non-discrimi-

natory ad valorem taxes on each parcel.

The Leech Lake Band has recently repurchased in fee

several parcels lying within the boundaries of its reserva-

tion. Utilizing the authority in section five of the Re-

organization Act, the Band has placed some of its new

purchases, including the site of its casino, into federal trust

status, which clearly exempts those parcels from state

ion. See Pet. App. 24 n.14. But the Band has not

i

a

5

5 °

3

8

valorem taxes, an injunction

against such taxes, and refund of the amounts paid. See

34.

that

1 (1992). Pet. App. 37. The court

that the lands allotted to individual In-

terms of the Dawes Act are taxable under

Yakima, but reversed the distri

the parcels that Nelson Act §§ 4-6 designated

for homesteading and pine harvesting. Pet. App. 22-23.

The court of appeals held that Congress’ action in order-

ing the public of these parcels was an

manifestation of its intent to subject them

10

that parcels originally allotted to individual Chippewa

under the Nelson Act remain taxable, but the pine and

homestead lands sold to non-Indians under the Nelson Act

over a century ago have now become tax-exempt.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Indian tribes enjoy immunity from state and local

taxation only as an extension of congressional power. See

Cotton Petroleum Corp. v. New Mexico, 490 U.S. 163,

173 (1989); Montana v. Blackfeet Tribe, 471 U.S. 759,

764 (1985). Therefore, when Congress has expressed its

intent to allow state or local taxation, Indian tribes have

no independent basis for claiming exemption from state

authority. A “categorical allowance of State taxation

[exists] when it has in fact been authorized by Congress.”

County of Yakima, 502 U.S. 251, 267 (1992).

In County of Yakima, this Court reviewed the history

and legacy of federal allotment policy and the Dawes Act

and held that the Act expressly allowed a county to assess

ad valorem taxes on land owned in fee by Indians within

an Indian reservation. See id. at 266-67. Because Con-

gress authorized such taxation, this Court held that neither

a Tribe nor an individual Indian retained any inherent

power to prevent the assessment of state taxes. See id.

at 267.

Although this case concerns land conveyed to non-

Indians under one of the surplus land statutes that fol-

lowed the Dawes Act, the analysis here is no different—

once Congress has chosen to extinguish its protection of

the Indian land, Tribes lack any power unilaterally to re-

kindle federal supremacy. Thus, the relevant inquiry is

whether Congress intended to alienate the land from fed-

eral protection and control and whether Congress made its

intention to do so clear.

Pursuant to its policy of allotment and assimilation,

Congress enacted numerous statutes that allotted tribal

end

land. See County of Yakima, 502

U.S. at 267-68; Goudy v. Meath, 203 U.S. 146, 149

(1906). Accordingly, the Federal Government’s action

in selling parcels publicly to non-Indian settlers and busi-

process, 25 U.S.C. § 465. Accordingly, the efforts of the

Leech Lake Band unilaterally to reassert immunity from

ad valorem taxation should be rejected.

Although Congress has now reversed its policies of

allotment and assimilation, it has chosen not to disturb

the multitude of land transactions that occurred as a result

of those policies. See County of Yakima, 502 U.S. at

255-56. Instead, it has offered Tribes a specific statutory

method, 25 U.S.C. § 465, for the re-establishment of fed-

eral trust status, but only after due consideration by the

Federal Government of the fiscal and other impacts of

renewed federal immunity on the affected States and local

governments. See 25 C.F.R. § 151.10(e). Because the

decision below sanctions the Leech Lake Band’s circum-

vention of Congress’ prescribed mechanism for re-estab-

lishing federal trust status over Indian lands, the judg-

ment of the court of appeals should be reversed.

II. The rule that alienability equals taxability is con-

sistent with this Court’s long-standing objective of encour-

aging clarity in matters of Indian taxation and facilitates

the fair and efficient assessment of ad valorem taxation.

By expressly recognizing that Congress’ alienation of land

12

from federal control in itself manifested an intent to render

such land subject to state and local ad valorem taxation,

this Court can obviate the need for repeated, complex,

and protracted litigation over the tax status of Indian-

ment practices.

ARGUMENT

I. WHERE CONGRESS HAS CHOSEN TO RELIN-

QUISH FEDERAL CONTROL AND PROTECTION

OF RESERVATION LAND THROUGH ALLOT-

MENT OR PUBLIC SALE, THE TRIBE’S REPUR-

CHASE OF SUCH PARCELS IN FEE DOES NOT

RE-ESTABLISH FEDERAL IMMUNITY FROM

STATE AND LOCAL AD VALOREM TAXATION

At least since McClanahan v. Arizona State Tax

Comm'n, 411 U.S. 164 (1972), this Court has avoided

“platonic notions of Indian sovereignty” and instead deter-

mined the limits of state power by reference to the applica-

ble federal treaties and statutes. See id. at 172. As the

various allotment and surplus land acts make plain, Con-

gress decided long ago to end exclusive Indian sovereignty

over most tribal lands by allotment or public sale. Al-

though Congress later abandoned the policy of assimilation

through allotment, Congress has not given the Tribes the

power that the Leech Lake Band asserts—the power to

extend federal supremacy over a State’s lands by the

Tribe’s mere repurchase of a parcel in fee from private

parties.

A. Federal Supremacy Is the Sole Source of Any

Indian Immunity From State and Local Taxation

Absent express congressional authorization, the United

States is immune from state and local taxation. McCulloch

v. Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316, 430-32 (1819).

The United States shares this immunity with “the Indian

tribes for whose benefit the United States holds reservation

lands in trust.” Cotton Petroleum Corp., 490 U.S. at 175

13

(citing Blackfeet Tribe, 471 U.S. at 764). “Absent: ex-

plicit congressional direction to the contrary,” States thus

presumptively lack jurisdiction to tax Indian property on

an Indian reservation because of federal supremacy. Okla-

homa Tax Comm'n v. sac and Fox Nation, 508 U.S. 114,

128 (1993); see also Bryan v. Itasca County, 426 U.S.

373, 376 n.2 (1976); McClanahan v. State Tax Comm'n,

411 U.S. 164, 171 (1973); Mescalero Apache Tribe v.

Jones, 411 U.S. 145, 148 (1973).

Given the significance of the power to tax, this Court

has declined to find such congressional authorization of

State taxation except where Congress has “made its inten-

tion to do so unmistakably clear.” County of Yakima v.

Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S. at 258; Blackfeet Tribe,

471 U.S. at 765. State and local taxation of Indians and

Indian tribes is thus categorically allowed “when it has in

fact been authorized by Congress.” County of Yakima,

502 U.S. at 267 (rejecting application of the test estab-

lished in Brendale v. Confederated Tribes & Bands of the

Yakima Indian Nation, 492 U.S. 408 (1980), which

balanced state and tribal interests in determining tribal

zoning powers over non-Indians within a reservation).

B. Indian Lands That Were Allotted or Sold Pursuant

to the Dawes Act or Other Congressional Action

Arye hay siete deh Alien-

1. This Court has already held in County of Yakima,

supra, and Goudy v. Meath, 203 U.S. 146 (1906), that

the General Allotment (Dawes) Act made land which was

allotted and patented to Indians freely alienable after the

® See also Washington v. Confederated Tribes of Colville Reser-

vation, 447 U.S. 134, 177 (1980) (Rehnquist, J., concurring in part

and dissenting in part) (“Either Congress intended to preempt

the state taxing authorities or it did not. Balancing of interests

is not the appropriate gauge for determining validity since it is

that very balancing which we have reserved to Congress.“)

14

expiration of federal trust restrictions and, therefore, un-

mistakably allowed States to impose ad valorem taxes on

fee land even if it is within a reservation and held by

Indians or their Tribe. See County of Yakima, 502 U.S.

at 263-64; Goudy, 203 U.S. at 149. “When § 5 [of the

Dawes Act] rendered the allotted lands alienable and

encumberable, it also rendered them subject to assessment

and forced sale for taxes.” County of Yakima, 502 U.S.

at 263-64." The Court confirmed this reading with the

Burke Act proviso, which applies literally only to land

for which the Secretary issued patents before the normal

expiration of the trust period (“prematurely patented

lands”), and which amended § 6 of the Dawes Act by

“specifically mentioning immunity from land taxation as

one of the restrictions that would be removed upon con-

veyance in fee” of the Indian lands. Id. at 259. As this

Court observed in Goudy, only by “disregarding the act of

Congress” could the Court hold that “the Indian, having

property, is not subject to taxation when he is subject to

all the laws, civil and criminal, of the State.” 203 U.S.

at 150. It would be unreasonable, this Court concluded,

to impute to Congress an intention to “permit the Indian

to dispose of his lands as he pleases, while at the same

time releasing it from taxation.” Id. at 149.

10 This conclusion comports with this Court’s traditional under-

standing that the Nonintercourse Act, 25 U.S.C. § 177, stands for

the rule that “the extinguishment of Indian title required the con-

sent of the United States.” Oneida Indian Nation v. County of

Oneida, 414 U.S. 661, 678 (1973); see also Larkin v. Paugh, 276

U.S. 431, 483-34 (1928) (finding no incidental restrictions against

alienation once the United States issues a patent). Apparently,

the Band intends to assert that the Nonintercourse Act operates

to restrict its ability to sell its repurchased fee parcels, rendering

them not freely alienable. See Respondent’s Br. in Opposition at

8-9. This position is untenable, however, because this Court in

County of Yakima expressly found similar plots to be “alienable

and encumberable” based on Congress’ clear intent to make them

so. County of Yakima, 502 U.S. at 263.

15

Contrary to the opinion of the court of appeals, this

Court in County of Yakima did not hold that only the

Burke proviso “provide[d] [the] unmistakably clear con-

gressional intent to allow state taxation.” Pet. App. 17.

Rather, the Court considered the Burke proviso, which

applies only to prematurely patented lands, to be “nothing

more than an acknowledgment (and clarification) of the

operation of § 5 with respect to all fee patented land.”

County of Yakima, 502 U.S. at 264 n.4. Accordingly,

the Court found it “inconsequential” that the record did

not reflect whether the parcels at issue became alienable

“pursuant to the proviso.” Id. If the court of appeals’

reading were correct, then the factor which this Court

considered “inconsequential”—-whether the land became

alienable directly under the Burke proviso—would have

been necessary to decide whether each parcel was taxable.

chased under the pine or homestead provisions of the

elson Act to state tax authority because there was no

do so—it would have been absurd to assume that a

non-Indian settler or commercial interest who purchased

the land on the open market could have continued to en-

joy the land’s former tax-exempt status.

2. Lands that Congress made alienable should be tax-

able irrespective of the method—allotment to individual

Indians or sale to non-Indians—Congress used to remove

16

the land from federal protection. The land in question is

not “land set aside for [tribal] mem Sac

Nation, 508 U.S. at 124. Rather, it is land Congress

once chose to accord federal trust status and later chose

of and interest in the land was extinguished. See Hagen,

510 U.S. at 412-13. As this Court has repeatedly ob-

served, “treaty rights with respect to reservation lands

must be read in light of the subsequent alienation of those

lands.” South Dakota v. Bourland, 508 U.S. 679, 697

(1993); Blackfeet Tribe, 450 U.S. at 561; see also Bren-

dale, 492 U.S. at 436-37 (Stevens, J.). And the effect of

congressionally-authorized alienation of tribal lands is the

termination of pre-existing attributes of tribal sovereignty

and the creation of state taxing authority. See Bourland,

508 U.S. at 697; Blackfeet Tribe, 450 U.S. at 560 n.9.

Current tax status of a parcel that has been bought and

sold in the open market for a century. Such an

leads to ahistorical and anomalous results. The Nelson

3

2

a

2

i

8

:

*

u See note 6 supra, listing a small sample of these Acts.

17

to “eliminate tribal relations”); Cohen, at 128-29. The

“Members of Congress voting on the surplus land Acts

believed to a man that within a short time—within a gen-

eration at most—the Indian tribes would enter traditional

American society and the reservation system would cease

to exist.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 468.

It is at the very least revisionism to impute to Congress

an intention that lands that it purposely sold into non-

Indian ownership could regain federal tax immunity with-

out its consent. Although ambiguous expressions in stat-

utes are to be construed liberally in favor of the Indians,

see County of Yakima, 502 U.S. at 269, canons of con-

struction do not permit a reading that amounts to a dis-

regard for such a clearly and repeatedly expressed con-

gressional intention. See Negonsott v. Samuels, 507 U.S.

99, 110 (1993); South Carolina v. Catawba Indian Tribe,

Inc., 476 U.S. 498, 506 (1986); see also Rice v. Rehner,

463 U.S. 713, 732 (1983) (refusing to apply an Indian

law canon of construction “when application would be

tantamount to a formalistic disregard of congressional

18

owners to enjoy federal immunities that arose from the

land’s long-past trust status.

In effect, the Band argues that its tax immunity laid

dormant during non-Indian ownership, but then sprang

forth when the Band purchased the land. Only the fact

that the purchasers were Indians makes this claim even

colorable. But Indians enjoy immunity from state and

local ad valorem taxation only derivatively from federal

tax immunity. Accordingly, in order to justify its claim

in this case, the Band must show a grant of congressional

power that allows it to remove land from the tax base

and make it part of the area over which it exercises attri-

butes of exclusive sovereignty simply by purchasing it in

fee from a private non-Indian party. This showing can-

not be made.

3. The power to tax is “basic to the power of the

State to exist.” Arkansas v. Farm Credit Servs., 117 S.

Ct. 1776, 1780 (1997); see also Board of County

Comm'rs v. United States, 308 U.S. 343, 351 (1939)

(urging “due regard for local institutions and local inter-

ests” in an Indian challenge to county taxation). The

taxes at issue here—non-discriminatory ad valorem as-

chased on the open market. Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v.

Chickasaw Nation, 515 U.S. 450, 466 (1995) (holding

that Indian tribes lack any “super-sovereign authority to

interfere with another jurisdiction’s sovereign right to tax

income”). Any such rule would inflict serious harm on

amici’s members.

The Leech Lake Band’s assertion of a tribal power to

expand its tax-exempt lands, sua sponte, by the mere pur-

of land from private parties labors hard against the

i his Court’s Indian law decisions. In case

19

dilution of Indian populations on reservation lands has

created the need for “States and tribes [to] have concur-

rent jurisdiction over the same territory.” Cotton Petro-

leum Corp., 490 U.S. at 192; see also Solem, 465 U.S. at

467 (“[FJederal, State and tribal authorities share jurisdic-

tion” over unallotted lands even “if the relevant surplus

land Act did not diminish an existing Indian reserva-

tion.”). Thus, while affirming that “Indian tribes retain

inherent sovereign powers to exercise some forms of civil

jurisdiction over non-Indians on their reservations, even

on non-Indian fee lands,” the Court has limited the juris-

diction that Tribes can assert even within their own reser-

vations.” Strate v. A- Contractors, 117 S. Ct. 1404,

1409 (1997) (quoting Montana v. United States, 450

U.S. at 565). Accordingly, in South Dakota v. Bourland,

508 U.S. 679 (1993), this Court held that a Tribe could

not regulate hunting and fishing by non-Indians within its

reservation because the Tribe had lost “regulatory juris-

diction over the use of land by others” when it “convey[ed]

ownership of its tribal lands to non-Indians.” Id. at 689.

Tribes of course retain rights to protect their “political

integrity, economic security, [and] health and welfare.”

12 Indeed, Congress gave Minnesota “jurisdiction over civil causes

of action between Indians or to which Indians are parties which

arise in . . Ialll Indian country within the State, except the Red

Lake Reservation.” Act of Aug. 15, 1953 (Public Law 280), ch.

505, § 4, 67 Stat. 589 (1953) (codified at 28 U.S.C. f 1360 (a)). The

Act gave similar jurisdiction to five other States and created a

mechanism for additional States to acquire such jurisdiction. See

id, Congress, however, substantially modified the Act through Title

IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, Pub. L. No. 90-284, § 301, 82

Stat. 73, 78 (1968) (codified at 25 U.S.C. §§ 1321-26). See Bryan

v. Itasca County, 426 U.S. 373, 386-87 (1976).

1 The fact that the reservation lands in question are part of

“Indian Country,” 18 U.S.C. § 1151, does not affect the analysis.

Indian Country includes “all land within the limits of any Indian

reservation” including the lands of non-Indians. Yet in County

of Yakima, this Court concluded that land plainly part of Indian

Country was subject to ad valorem taxation. See 502 U.S. at 256.

20

Strate, 117 S. Ct. at 1409. But as this Court observed in

County of Yakima, it would be a “great exaggeration” to

suggest that “the mere power to assess and collect a tax

on certain real estate” imperils a Tribe’s political integrity,

economic security, or health and welfare. County of

Yakima, 502 U.S. at 265. Indeed, the in rem nature of

ad valorem taxation guarantees that it burdens only prop-

erty in which the federal interest has been eliminated, as

opposed to affecting Indians in personam. See id. at 266

(noting that because ad valorem taxation “flows exclu-

sively from the ownership of realty,” it can create only

“a burden on the property alone”).

Moreover, this Court has expressly recognized the in-

terests of state and local governments in implementing

neutral systems of regulation and taxation within the

borders of Indian reservations. For example, in Washing-

ton v. Confederated Tribes of the Colville Indian Reser-

vation, 447 U.S. 134 (1980), the Court upheld the im-

position of state sales taxes on purchases made by non-

Indians on reservation lands. Id. at 161.“ Similarly, this

Court has rejected any notion of an impermeable, land-

based tribal sovereignty by upholding state collection of

excise taxes within reservations, see California State Board

of Equalization v. Chemeheuvi Indian Tribe, 474 US. 9,

12 (1985); exclusive state power to zone in the largely

non-Indian areas of reservations, see Brendale, 492 U.S. at

427 (White, J.); 492 U.S. at 434-45 (Stevens, J.), and,

most recently, ad valorem taxation of allotted Indian-

owned lands within a reservation, see County of Yakima,

502 U.S. at 265-66." Absent from these cases is any sug-

14 See also Department of Taxation & Finance v. Milhelm Attea

& Bros., 612 U.S. 61, 73 (1994) (reaffirming tribal obligation to

collect state sales taxes levied on sales to non-Indians within res-

ervation boundaries); Oklahoma Tax Comm’n v. Citizen Band

Potawatomi Indian Tribe, 498 U.S. 505, 512 (1991) (same).

15 See also Duro v. Reina, 495 U.S. 676, 693 (1990) (holding that

Tribes do not have inherent criminal jurisdiction over Indians who

pro-

posal to place lands in trust. See 25 C.F.R. § 151.10.

are not members of their tribe), superseded by Act of Oct. 28,

1991, Pub. L. No. 102-137, 1991 U.S.C.C.A.N. (105 Stat.) 646:

Montana v. United States, 450 U.S. at 566-67 (forbidding tribal

regulation of hunting and fishing by non-Indians on fee lands

Hi

Afi

i

F

J

2

i

2

:

11 L

588 2

i

23

James Dao, Gambling in the Middle of Nowhere, N.Y.

Times, Nov. 10, 1997, at BI.“ Similarly, in order to win

the support of a neighboring town council for its applica-

tion for federal trust status, the Narragansett Indians

agreed to use a 31-acre fee site only for housing and to pay

$25,000 in back taxes. See Sara Olkon, Town Council

Backs Tribes Application for Trust Status, Providence

Journal-Bulletin, Aug. 25, 1997, at 1C.

This Court should not give to the Leech Lake Band

and other Tribes a trump card in negotiations with state

and local governments that Congress and the Secretary

have denied them. Amici respectfully submit that the

need to preserve the integrity of the existing scheme to re-

store taxable land to trust status under Section 5 of the

Reorganization Act is further reason to reverse the judg-

ment of the court of appeals.

II. EXEMPTION FROM AD VALOREM TAXES FOR

LANDS THAT TRIBES HOLD IN FEE WOULD

IMPAIR STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT AD-

MINISTRATIVE AND ECONOMIC INTERESTS

1. This Court has “traditionally followed ‘a per se

rule’ ‘in the special area of State taxation of Indian tribes

and tribal members’” that recognizes the administrative

needs of state and local governments. County of Yakima,

502 U.S. at 267-68 (quoting California v. Cabazon Band

of Indians, 480 U.S. 202, 215 n.17 (1987)). This con-

17 These negotiations were under the Indian Gaming Regulatory

Act, 25 U.S.C. §§ 2701-2721, which is not directly implicated in this

case but gives rise to similar negotiations over tax and regulatory

issues. For example, the Mohegan Indians took a 240-acre site

off the tax rolls for their casino but gave the town of Montville,

Connecticut, $500,000 per year for capital improvements and $3

million for an extension of the town water line in exchange. See

Lyn Bixby, Mohegan Sunrise, Hartford Courant, Oct. 11, 1997,

at Al. Similarly, the Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma

1

State and local governments have an obvious and com-

pelling interest in the certainty, lower administrative costs,

and reduced litigation that result from per se rules in

Indian tax matters. Practical considerations require that

the tax status of a parcel be readily and clearly determined

lest litigation “engulf the States’ annual assessment and

taxation process, with the validity of each levy dependent

upon a multiplicity of factors that vary from year to year,

and from parcel to parcel.” County of Yakima, 502 U.S.

at 267. In addition, in this era of growing local responsi-

bilities, state and local governments require more stability

in their tax bases to allow for fiscal planning. Amici urge

this Court to obviate the need for repeated, complex, and

protracted litigation over the tax status of particular par-

cels of land by articulating a clear, bright-line rule for the

ad valorem taxation of parcels owned in fee by Indians or

Indian tribes within Indian Country.

2. Under a rule of “alienability equals taxability,” state

and local governments would be able to assess non-

discriminatory ad valorem taxes on all land not held in

federal trust or restricted status. Consistent with universal

the parcel’s history. See, e.g., White Earth Land Recovery

Project v. County of Becker, 544 N.W.2d 778, 780

18 All non-discriminatory tax exemptions, such as those for reli-

gious, educational, and other not-for-profit organizations, are of

course available to Indian tribes.

25

(Minn. 1996) (“All property is presumed taxable, and the

burden is on the party seeking tax-free status to prove

entitlement to the claimed exemption.”). While some

amount of parcel-by-parcel assessment of property is of

course inevitable given the nature of ad valorem taxation

and the checkerboard pattern of reservation lands, the rule

that alienability equals taxability has the advantage of

requiring a single, lasting determination of the tax status

of each parcel. Repeated reference to the nuances of spe-

cific treaty and statutory provisions would thus not be

necessary every time fee land within a reservation changed

3. The court oi appeals’ decision results in an unduly

complicated system of ad valorem taxation that requires

of

such lands are held in federal trust status or

on alienation. See, e. ., 1996 Idaho

Op. Atty. Gen. 24; 1998 Minn. Op. Atty. Gen. 414A-5.

26

4. In light of the fact that nearly half of the residents

on reservations are not Indians, see Bureau of Census,

1990 Census of Population, at 1, tbl. 1, amici fear the pro-

liferation of aggressive land development practices if this

Court affirms the court of appeals’ decision. Giving Tribes

unilateral power to exempt prime real estate from ad

valorem taxes erodes the tax base even though the need

for governmental services remains constant.” Illustrations

of the problem abound. At the edge of Shakopee, Min-

nesota, Shakopee Indians with a tribal income in excess

of $600,000 per capita plan to build a shopping center

that would result in lost local tax revenues estimated to

exceed $97.5 million over 12 years. See Mike Kaszuba,

Tensions Rise Over Tribe’s Land in Shakopee, Minne-

apolis Star Tribune, Nov. 9, 1997, at 1A. Similarly, three

small Connecticut towns have had to join together to

oppose the Mashantucket Pequots’ use of casino profits

to buy 5,000 acres of land, an action that could decimate

the towns’ tax rolls. See Jonathan Rabinovitz, Towns Near

Pequot Casino Object to Annexation Plan, New York

Times, Nov. 25, 1997, at BS; Jeff Nesbit, Indian Tribes

Cant Lose Bets on Casinos, Washington Times, June 28,

1996, at B7. Finally, in a striking example of how the

system can be manipulated, non-Indians have entered into

99 year leases with the Cochiti Pueblo Indians for Cochiti

Lake properties and are fighting New Mexico’s efforts to

assess ad valorem taxes on their leases. See Andrew

Padilla, Cochiti Residents Fight Tax, Albuquerque Jour-

nal, Nov. 6, 1997, at 4. This Court’s approval of the

20 Such tax status would also provide tribal businesses with a

structural advantage over nearby non-Indian competitors and

thereby decrease the value of taxable business. For example, a

Tribe could purchase fee land near an interstate exit, declare it

sovereign territory, and offer gasoline or other products at a

significant discount to its non-Indian competitors. See, e. g., Larry

Richardson, Oneidas Purchase New Plot: Site at Thruway Exit

384 May Be Used for a Casino and Truck Stop, Syracuse Herald

Journal, Mar. 1, 1997.

valuable sections of municipalities that were once part of

reservations, such as resort locations near Taos, New

Mexico, with the resulting steady erosion of local tax

As even one of the courts of appeals that ruled in favor

of the Indians’ position noted:

It is not very satisfying as a policy matter to treat

lands that were initially conveyed over 100 years ago

pee gan fell wy ge dy — . wel

the General Allotment Act

United States ex rel. Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe v.

Michigan, 106 F.3d 130, 134 (6th Cir.), petition for cert.

filed, 66 U.S.L.W. 3085 (U.S. June 30, 1997) (No. 97-

See id. But when Congress acts for more than 50 years

a multitude of

4

:

3

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals as it relates to

pine lands and homestead lands should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

CARTER G. PHILLIPS RICHARD RUD

JACQUELINE GERSON COOPER Chief Counsel

EDWARD R. MCNICHOLAS STATE AND LOCAL LEGAL

SIDLEY & AUSTIN CENTER

1722 Eye St., N.W. 444 N. Capitol St., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006 Washington, D.C. 20001

(202) 736-8000 (202) 484-4850

* Counsel of Record for the

December 15, 1997 Amici Curiae

APPENDIX

No. 97-174

In THE 8

Supreme Court of the United State

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

Cass Counrry, et al.

. Petitioners,

LEECH LAKE BAND OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

APPENDIX TO

BRIEF FOR LEWIS COUNTY, IDAHO;

AITKIN COUNTY, BENTON COUNTY,

CROW WING COUNTY, ISANTI COUNTY,

KANABEC COUNTY, MAHNOMEN COUNTY,

MILLE LACS COUNTY, MORRISON COUNTY,

PINE COUNTY, AND SHERBURNE COUNTY,

MINNESOTA; GLACIER COUNTY, LAKE COUNTY,

AND ROOSEVELT COUNTY, MONTANA;

LYMAN COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA;

DUCHESNE COUNTY AND UINTAH COUNTY, UTAH;

AMICI CURIAE, IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS,

CASS COUNTY, MINNESOTA, ET AL.

JAMES M. JOHNSON Tom D. ToBIN *

Attorney at Law TOBIN LAW OFFICEs, P.C.

1110 S. Capitol Way 422 Main Street

Olympia, WA 98501 P.O. Box 730

(360) 357-3104 Winner, SD 57580

(605) 842-2500

* Counsel of Record

[Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover]

WILSON - Eres Printinc Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

Supreme Court

* J.

(3) | * r *

* 1

sities

. =

*. —— <e me

KIMRON TORGERSON

Lewis County Prosecuting

Attorney

P.O. Box 398

Nezperce, ID 83543

(208) 987-2271

BRADLEY C. RHODES

Aitkin County Attorney

209 Second Street, N. W.

Aitkin, MN 56431

(218) 927-7347

MICHAEL JESSE

Benton County Attorney

531 Dewey Street

Box 129

Foley, MN 56329

(320) 968-6254

DONALD F. RYAN

Crow Wing County Attorney

326 Laurel St., Courthouse

Brainerd, MN 56401

(218) 828-8952

JEFFREY EDBLAD

Isanti County Attorney

555 18th Avenue, S.W.

Cambridge, MN 55008

(612) 689-2253

NORMAN LOREN

Kanabec County Attorney

18 Vine Street North—

Courthouse

Mora, MN 55051-1351

(320) 679-2870

ERIC BoE

Mahnomen County Attorney

P.O. Box 439

Mahnomen, MN 56557

(218) 935-2378

JENNIFER FAHEY

Mille Lacs County Attorney

635 Second Street, S.E.

Milaca, MN 56858

(320) 988-8805

CONRAD FREEBERG

Morrison County Attorney

Morrison County Government

Center

213 Ist Avenue SE

Little Falls, MN 56845

(320) 682-0190

JOHN CARLSON

Pine County Attorney

315 Sixth Street—Courthouse

Pine City, MN 55063

(320) 629-6781

WALTER KAMINSKY

Sherburne County Attorney

18880 Highway 10

P.O. Box 318

Elk River, MN 55830-1692

(612) 241-2565

LARRY EPSTEIN

Glacier County Attorney

512 East Main Street

Cut Bank, MT 59427-8016

(406) 873-2277

DEBORAH KIM CHRISTOPHER

Lake County Attorney

Lake County Courthouse

106 4th Ave. E

Polson, MT 59860-2125

(406) 888-7245

JAMES R. PATCH

Roosevelt County Attorney

400 Second Avenue South

Wolf Point, MT 59201-1600

(406) 653-2653

DALLAS E. BrosT

Lyman County States Attorney

P.O. Box 38

100 South Main

Kennebec, SD 57544

(605) 869-2294

HERBERT WM. GILLESPIE

Duchesne County Attorney

500 East 100 South

P.O. Box 206

Duchesne, UT 84021

(801) 738-2435

JoANN B. STRINGHAM

Uintah County Attorney

152 East 100 North

Vernal, UT 84078

(801) 781-5436

la

APPENDIX

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Sist ConGress, Ist Session. Ex. Doc. No. 247

CHIPPEWA INDIANS IN MINNESOTA

MESSAGE

From The

PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES,

Transmitting

A communication from the Secretary of the Interior

relative to the Chippewa Indians in the State of Minnesota.

March 6, 1890.—Referred to the Committee on

Indian Affairs.

To the Senate and House of Representatives:

In pursuance of the authority and direction contained

in the act of Congress approved January 14, 1889, en-

titled “An act for the relief and civilization of the Chip-

pewa Indians in the State of Minnesota,” three commis-

sioners were appointed by the President on February 26,

1889, as therein authorized and directed, namely: Henry

The commissioners have submitted their final report,

with accompanying papers, showing the results of the

2a

negotiations conducted by them, and the same has been

carefully reviewed by the Secretary of the Interior in his

report to me thereon.

Being satisfied from an examination of the papers sub-

mitted that the cession and relinquishment by said

pewa Indians of their title and interest in the lands speci-

fied and described in the agreement with the differen

bands or tribes of Chippewa Indians in the State of Minne-

sota was obtained in the manner prescribed in the first

section of said act, and that more than the requisite num-

ber have signed said agreement, I have, as provided by

said act, approved the said instruments in writing con-

stituting the agreement entered into by the commissioners

with said Indians.

The commissioners did not escape the embarrassment

which unfortunately too often attends our negotiations with

the Indians, viz: An indisposition to treat with the Gov-

ernment for further concessions while its obligations in-

curred under former agreements are unkept. I am sure

it will be the disposition of Congress to consider promptly,

and in a just and friendly spirit, the claims presented by

these Indians through our commissioners, which have been

formulated in the draught of a bill prepared by the Secre-

tary of the Interior and submitted herewith.

The act of January 14, 1889 (25 U. S. Stat., 612)

the

a —

port that quite a general desire was expressed by the

Indians to avail themselves of this option. The result of

this is that the ceded land can not be ascertained and

brought to sale under the act until all of the allotments

are made.

— —

Za

able, so that the work may be begun and completed at

the earliest possible day.

A copy of the report made by the commissioners, with

copies of all of the papers submitted therewith except the

census rolls, is herewith presented for the information of

the Congress.

EXECUTIVE MANSION,

March 4, 1890.

BENJ. HARRISON.

DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR,

Washington, January 30, 1890.

The PRESIDENT:

There has been filed in this Department the report of

the Chippewa Commission, one copy whereof is herewith

transmitted for your consideration and action.

This Commission was formed under an act entitled “An

act for the relief and civilization of the Chippewa Indians

in the State of Minnesota,” being chapter 24, United

States Statutes at Large, volume 25, page 642, approved

January 14, 1889.

The first section of the act authorizes the creation of

the Commission, designates its purposes, provides for cer-

tain conditions precedent as to a census to be taken, and

declares in what manner the cession and relinquishment

of the lands therein sought to be obtained by the Govern-

ment shall be effected. The section is as follows:

That the President of the United States is hereby au-

thorized and directed, within sixty days after the passage

of this act, to designate and appoint three commission-

ers, one of whom shall be a citizen of Minnesota, whose

duty it shall be, as soon as practicable after their appoint-

ment, to negotiate with all the different bands or tribes

of Chippewa Indians in the State of Minnesota for the

complete cession and relinquishment in writing of all

4a

their title and interest in and to all the Reservations of

said Indians in the State of Minnesota, except the White

Earth and Red Lake Reservations, and to all and so much

of those two reservations as in the judgment of said com-

mission is not required to make and fill the allotments

required by this and existing acts, and shall not have been

reserved by the commissioners for said purposes, for the

purposes and upon the terms hereinafter stated; and such

cession and relinquishment shall be deemed sufficient as

to each of said several reservations, except as to the Red

Lake Reservation, if made and assented to in writing by

two-thirds of the male adults over eighteen years of age

of the band or tribe of Indians occupying and beloning to

such reservations; and as to the Red Lake Reservation

the cession and relinquishment shall be deemed sufficient

if made and assented to in like manner by two-thirds of

the male adults of all the Chippewa Indians in Minnesota:

and provided that all

proved by the President of the United States before taking

effect: Provided further, That in any case where an al-

lotment in severalty has heretofore been made to any

Indian of land upon any of said reservations, he shall not

be deprived thereof or disturbed therein except by his own

individual consent separately and previously given, in such

form and manner as may be prescribed by the Secretary

of the Interior. And for the of ascertaining

whether the proper number of Indians yield and give their

assent as aforesaid, and for the purpose of making the

allotments and payments hereinafter mentioned, the said

commissioners shall, while engaged in securing such ces-

sion and relinquishment as aforesaid and before complet-

ing the same, make an accurate census of each tribe or

band, classifying them into male and female adults and

male and female minors; and the minors into those who

are orphans and those who are not orphans, giving the

exact numbers of each class, and making such census in

duplicate lists, one of which shall be filed with the Secre-

tary of the Interior and the other with the official head

—

Ja

of the band or tribe; and the acceptance and approval of

such cession and relinquishment by the President of the

United States shall be deemed full and ample proof of the

assent of the Indians, and shall operate as a complete ex-

tinguishment of the Indian title without any other or fur-

ther act or ceremony whatsoever for the purposes and

upon the terms in this act provided.

The Commission was appointed by the President on the

26th day of Feruary, 1890, and the several members

thereof became duly qualified by giving the bond required

by section 2 and taking the oath thereunder required, as

appears by the files of this Department. The census re-

quired to be taken by section 1 was completed and one

of the duplicate lists thereof filed with the Secretary of

the Interior on the 3d day of January, 1890, and the

other with the official head of the band or tribe.

It appears by the report of the Commission that it

sought and obtained the assistance of Bishop Whipple and

Archbishop Ireland in its labors, and that all that was

done was conducted in a spirit of fairness towards the

Chippewas. There were distributed among them 500

copies of the act of January 14, 1889, and several hun-

dred copies of the general allotment act of February 8,

1887.

Councils were held at Red Lake, White Earth, Gull

Lake, Leech Lake, Cass Lake, Lake Winnibagoshish,

White Oak Point, Mille Lac, Grand Portage, Bois Forte

and Vermillion Lake, and Fond du Lac.

At Red Lake the assent of all the Indians to the agree-

ment was obtained except a few called “pagans,” residing

on the northern shore of the lake. The Indians at Red

Lake complained of unfulfilled promises, plead for mills

and cattle, and that their boundaries might be surveyed

in accordance with treaties. They also prayed for an

agent, as they were 80 miles from the White Earth

Agency. The Red Lake Reservation, two-thirds of which

6a

at least is ceded to the United States, contains 3,200,000

acres, and the number of Indians occupying it is 1,168.

The boundaries of the diminished reservation, from which

allotments to the Red Lake Chippewas are to be made,

are given in the report. The commissioners report that—

This reservation is larger than will eventually be re-

quired, but as there are swamps and other untillable lands

therein, it can not be reduced until after survey and allot-

ments shall be made.

Whether the surplus lands that may remain after allot-

ments shall have been completed as required by the law

can be disposed of without further legislation is a ques-

tion which will require consideration, but such considera-

tion is not necessary at this time.

The Indians on the Red Lake Reservation were suffer-

ing for want of food, owing to the loss of crops the last

season.

The Indians of the White Earth Reservation were also

suffering for food. They insisted upon the provisions of

article 9 of the treaty of September 30, 1854, and that

damages should be paid because of the construction of

reservoirs on the reservation near the headwaters of the

Mississippi, provision for which had been made by the

Northwest Commission three years ago, and which nego-

tiations have not been acted on by Congress. No explana-

tion could be given why the provisions of the treaty of

September 30, 1854, had not been fulfilled, but the In-

dians were promised that the best efforts would be given

to secure justice in this case, and upon these assurances

the acceptance and signing of the propositions made were

nearly unanimous. This matter is incorporated in the

draught of a bill herewith presented for submission to

Congress.

The White Earth Reservation contains 796,762 acres,

and the number of Indians occupying the same is 2,044.

They complain of want of milling facilities. They have

7a

about 5,000 acres seeded in wheat, barley, and vegetables,

but owing to want of rain not more than half a crop will

be grown. At least 2,500 acres heretofore cultivated lies

fallow for want of seed and teams.

There were but 277 Chippewas at Gull Lake, all of

whom signed the agreement and agreed to make their

permanent home on the White Earth Reservation as soon

as they should be furnished with means to cultivate the

soil and subsist until they could make a living.

At Leech Lake Reservation, amid pompous demonstra-

tions, the Commission was received, and the first demand

made of them was that there should be settlement of out-

standing claims. Nor was the business allowed to proceed

until the Commission had given a solemn promise with

raised hands that they would to their utmost ability urge

the immediate settlement of these unadjusted demands.

These Pillager Indians have a claim for lands ceded to

the United States under the treaty of 1847, which it is

urged should be carefully investigated, and the Pillagers

allowed what may be found in equity due them, and also

for damages arising from the construction of reservoirs at

the headwaters of the Mississippi. For these damages it

is recommended that there be paid $150,000, with 5 per-

cent per annum to date, and $1.25 per acre for the over-

flowed lands. The Indians have absolutely ceded to the

United States 46,920 acres, which can not be sold, as

provided in the act of January 14, 1889, for their benefit,

and it is and must be reserved for the overflow caused by

the reservoir dams. An item covering the claim for dam-

ages by reason of the construction of the dams is also

incorporated in the inclosed draught of bill.

The alleged claim of the Pillagers for further compen-

sation for land ceded under the treaty of 1847 is a matter

for consideration by Congress, and I would recommend

that it be brought to the attention of that body. The state-

ment upon which this claim is based by the Indians is set

forth in the report of the Commission.

At Cass Lake a like demand was made by the Indians

for the settlement of unsatisfied demands, but all gave

their assent and signatures to the proposition.

The Indians at Lake Winnibagoshish depend much

upon their wild rice, which they were gathering at the

advent of the Commission. The injury done them by the

building of the reservoirs is very great. They are destitute,

as are those at Cass Lake, of aid from the Government,

having no missionary, school, farmer, blacksmith, or phy-

sician. The Commissioners observe that the Winnibago-

shish Reservation is marked upon the map by township

lines, which is erroneous, as the treaty fixes its line by

natural boundaries beyond those shown by township lines.

This has given much dissatisfaction, as the whites have

settled between the two lines and consequently upon the

reservation, as the Indians claim. This marking is erro-

neous, and should be adjusted. All the adults of this

band gave their consent to the agreement.

The condition of the Indians at White Oak Point is

described as beyond hope of improvement, they being

dissapated and dissolute, but they have still intelligence

enough to ask that whisky may be kept from the country

and that missionaries and school teachers be sent them.

They all signed the agreement, and it will be the purpose

of this Department to supply and enforce so far as may

be in its power the regulations so reasonably demanded.

Scattered members of the White Oak Point bands were

found at Kimberly, who were healthy in mind and body,

unusually bright and careful of themselves, and all of

whom were anxious to acquire lands in severalty and the

young men eager to find work. They number one hun-

dred, and all except one signed the agreement.

The Indians at Mille Lac were found to be intelligent,

cleanly, and well behaved, and of good reputation among

9a

the neighboring whites. White men unfortunately have

been permitted to rob them of their pine, and for years

to settle upon their agricultural lands, to great injury and

fear of the Indians. Squatters are now settling upon this

reservation, as the commissioners report. The question of

right should be settled at the earliest possible moment,

for the greater the delay the more difficult will be the

adjustment. All signed the agreement at this place.

The rights of the Indian upon this reservation have been

a vexed question, full of difficulties and embarrassments,

but it is hoped that this agreement will furnish a basis

for its early and final solution.

At Grand Portage the Indians expressed themselves as

fully understanding and satisfied with the terms of the

act, and signed with cheerfulness and unanimity. They

complained that the white fishermen spread so many

large nets near their reservation that the Indians were

unable to procure a supply of fish for food.

At Bois Forte and Vermilion Lake the Indians seemed

timid and distrustful, but they “touched the pen” finally

with great solemnity and much formality. They have

the best hunting grounds of the Chippewas. They seem

willing to learn to till the soil, but ask for assistance in

the way of better facilities. Much of the land on the

Lake Superior reservations is unfit for cultivation, and

the Bois Forte Indians complain that a large amount of

their timber is cut without compensation, and is run

down Little Fork River to the British Possessions.

Many of the Indians at Fond du Lac are in danger of

suffering during the winter and spring, having been denied

the right of cutting timber on their reservation. Like all

of the Mississippi bands, they feel greatly grieved at the

long-continued withholding of the money due them from

the Government. On the positive assertion of the com-

missioners that justice should be speedily done, not only

in this respect but in the matter of a palpable error in the

10a

boundary lines of their reservation, they were induced to

listen, and finally signed by touching the pen.

This claim for additional land to which the Indians

insist they are entitled under the plain and unmistakable

meaning of the treaty should have careful consideration

and be fairly and speedily adjusted.

The Commission reports:

As the various bands decided to take their allotments

on their respective reservations, the Commission told them

that the $90,000 to be advanced and already appropriated

would be paid pro rata as soon after the approval of

these negotiations by the President as should be prac-

ticable, but not later than the coming spring.

The Commission further reports that—

The clause of the act of January 14, 1889, providing

for the payment of the interest that may accrue on the

permanent fund, was to the Commission obscure, and

they promised the Indians that cash payment should be

made per capita in equal shares.

It is provided in section 7 of the act of January 14,

1889 (25 Stats., 642):

That one-half of said interest shall, during the said

period of fifty years, except in the cases hereinafter other-

wise provided, be annually paid in cash in equal shares to

the heads of families and guardians of orphan minors for

their use; the fourth of said interest shall, during the same

period and with the like exception, be annually paid in

cash in equal shares per capita to all other classes of said

Indians; and the remaining one-fourth of said interest

shall, during the said period of fifty years, under the direc-

tion of the Secretary of the Interior, be devoted exclusively

to the establishment and maintenance of a system of free

schools among said Indians, in their midst and for their

lla

benefit; and at the expiration of the said fifty years, the

said permanent fund shall be divided and paid to all of

said Chippewa Indians and their issue then living, in cash,

in equal shares.

This construction by the Commission is deemed reason-

able. While there may be some discussion possibly in

regard to its validity, it is deemd that it is in harmony

with the spirit of the act, and having been made the basis

of the Indians’ assent it should be adhered to.

The Indians desire that the Government will set aside a

sufficient quantity of land on each reserve for Government

buildings, such as may be necessary for physician, black-

smith, farmer, carpenters, and for missionaries, traders,

etc. The commissioners recommend this, and the reserva-

tion, it is submitted, should be made, and the order as to

the location and erection of such buildings should be

enforced.

The reservation of the necessary and suitable tracts of

land for these purposes can be made the subject of an

executive order when proper selections shall have been

made, which should be attended to before the lands are

offered for disposal under the act.

The commissioners further recommend that on each

reservation a tract of pine land should be reserved and

held by the General Government as might be necessary

for their common use, to be so held during the pleasure

of the Secretary of the Interior.

I doubt whether this request for the reserving and hold-

ing by the General Government of a tract of pine land

upon each reservation for the common use of the Indians

remaining thereon can be complied with without legislative

authority therefor, in view of the terms and conditions of

the act to which the Indians have given their consent.

They ask for saw-mills, cattle, agricultural and mechani-

cal implements, which they must have, or they can make

no substantial progress.

12a

The commission reports that although the Indians have

decided to take allotments on their reservations, it is be-

lieved that many may be induced to remove to White

Earth, and for this reason it is not prudent to urge in-

dividual allotments elsewhere than on the White Earth

and Red Lake Reservations at present.

The removal of those who will go to White Earth will

take place as soon as provisions can be made for their

subsistence. It will be of the greatest benefit to the Indians

and to the State to have the removal made.

The Commission ask that there may be granted 10 acres

of maple timber for making sugar to each family occupy-

ing the same. This is deemed ample and is as much as

should be granted. The matter should receive attention

when the individual allotments are made to the Indians.

The commissioners state that it is important that the

four townships of pine land on the White Earth Reserva-

such manner and upon

act, Ww

All other lands acquired from the said Indians on said

The commissioners state that the pine ceded is estimated

by various parties from $25,000,000 to $50,000,000.

necessary appropriation

for the purpose of defraying the expenses of the Indians

who may desire to visit the White Earth Reservation, with

the expectation of removing there before allotments should

be taken or confirmed elsewhere.

Section 8 of the act makes an appropriation of $150,000

15a

14a

11 ili: 2 2

i 72 tHE

33 8 5 E Lat

11113115 |

AHH 11

i Ni; Ni HH

927 EEE 72925

e e

1 211211423 1123

ik [pit

e i

21221 f53

ATRL

elit La

i 1 115 251

ett 15 i

e

ili zu tei zittert

GH if 115 .

212281 212 2 a 22553237

ul iF i 11 K He

322 2371 45 27271111 5 al

13 ie 9214 — STORES b rf

2111 2¢ 223 : | s 1111 E 1

111271 AL E 1121 iF 1

1322 : 33° = 18 2

Ue ede l Heal: 11

adults, and male and female minors; and the minors into

those who are orphans and those who are not orphans;

giving the exact number of each class.

* * * *

The commissioners also submit reports showing the

number of male adults of each of the separate bands and

the number of such male adults assenting to the act of

which the following is a summary:

17a

Male adults

Total Assenting

Red Lake and Pembina bands:

Red Lake 303 247

Pembina 83 77

Total 386 324

Mississippi bands: oe ea

White Earth 284 270

Gull Lake and scattering 61 57

White Oak Point 176 172

Mille Lac 213 189

Total 734 688

Pillager and Lake Winibigoshish bands:

Leech Lake 324 217

Otter Tail 164 144

Cass Lake 67 65

Lake Winibigoshish 45 40

Total 600 466

Grand Portage, Bois Forte, and

Fond du Lac bands:

Grand Portage 73 72

Bois Forte 228 211

Fond du Lac 157 123

Total 458 406

RECAPITULATION wey

Red Iake and Pembina bands 386 324

Mississippi bands 734 688

Pillager and Lake Winibigoshish band 600 466

Grand Portage, etc., bands 458 406

Total 2,178 1,884

18a

This summary shows that the total number of male

adults is 2,178 and that 1,884 of that number signed

their acceptance and consent to the act, being over 86

per cent, of such male adults, and more than the requisite

“two-thirds of the male adults over eighteen years of age

of the band or tribe of Indians occupying and belonging

to” each of the several reservations, and more than “two-

thirds of the male adults of all the Chippewa Indians in

Minnesota,” as is required in the case ef the Red Lake

Reservation. (Section | of the act.)

The commissioners have not submitted their recom-

mendations in separate form, and what is herein stated

has been gathered from the general purport of their report

all of which will be more fully considered by the appro-

priate committees, with the view of doing compiete justice

to this tribe, which has reposed its confidence so firmly

and fully in the Government and relied upon its justice.

It is provided in section 1 of the act authorizing nego-

tiations “that all agreements therefor shall be approved

by the President of the United States before taking effect.”

The agreement or acceptance and consent of the In-

dians to the act, herewith, in ten parts, is therefore re-

spectfully submitted for your action.

Before the ceded lands within any of the reservati

can be disposed of as — in the act, all of

said ceded lands must be surveyed as the public lands are

surveyed, after which they are to be carefully exa’ ined

in 40-acre lots, by competent and experienced examiners

to be appointed for that purpose, and classified into “pine

lands” and “agricultural lands,” the pine lands are then

vd. Ae ping and ony err 4), and finally pro-

d as in market and offered i

— 144 for sale in the manner

The agricultural lands not allotted nor reserved f

N or th

use oi the Indians, after having been surveyed, are to be

19a

advertised for thirty days and disposed of to actual settlers

under the provisions of the homestead laws, each settler

being required to pay $1.25 per acre for the lands so

taken by him.

Besides all this it will be necessary to ascertain how

many and who of the Indians of the several reservations

elect to take allotments on the reservations where they

now live, as by the terms of the act they are permitted

to do, instead of being removed to White Earth Reserva-

tion (section 3). It is not seen how any of the ceded

lands, except possibly those of the Red Lake Reservation

and the four townships ceded in the White Earth Reserva-

tien, can be offered for sale or settlement until the Indians

of the several reservations who elect to remain and take

allotments where they are shall have signified their inten-

tion to so remain and shall have made their individual

selections for allotment; nor can the Red Lake ceded

lands be so offered until the surveys, examinations, classi-

fication, etc., shall have been fully completed.

Your approval, therefore, of the agreement will not

open any of the reservations to white settlement, nor

render them subject to occupancy or disposal in advance

of the complete fulfillment of the preliminary work of

surveys, examinations, etc., and in the case of the “pine

lands,” after all these preliminaries have been met, the

lands must be “proclaimed as in market and offered for

sale.”

It is perhaps unnecessary, then, that any action should

be had at this time other than the approval of the

agreement.

Advertising here to the recommendation of the Com-

mission that the Indians of the Red Lake Reservation be

allowed to utilize the dead and fallen timber upon their

reservation until such time as the survey, appraisement,

etc., shall be made, I think this is reasonable, and it seems

20a

to me can be done under authority conferred by the act

of February 16, 1889 (25 Stats., 673), which provides:

That the President of the United States may from year

to year in his discretion under such regulations as he

may prescribe, authorize the Indians residing on reserva-

tions or allotments, the fee to which remains in the United

States, to fell, cut, remove, sell, or otherwise dispose of

the dead timber, standing or fallen, on such reservation

or allotment for the sole benefit of such Indian or Indians.

Under the authority thus conferred, the President, on

October 16, 1889, authorized the Indians on the White

Earth, Red Lake, and White Oak Point Reservations to

cut and sell dead and down timber on their respective

Reservations and I see no reason why the cutting and

sale of the dead and down timber under the authority so

granted and the regulations then prescribed may not be

continued until the lands are placed upon the market as

provided in the Chippewa act of January 14, 1889.

I invite attention to the fact that the instruments pre-

sented by the Commission as the result of the negotiations,

and as the evidence that the Chippewa Indians in Minne-

sota have given their consent in writing to the cession and

relinquishment of their title and interest in and to the

lands as therein set forth, comprise ten parts, marked

separately as A, B, C, D, E, F, and H, G, I, K, and

L; these, however, in fact constitute as a whole one instru-

ment, and the part marked C, and entitled “Signatures

Roll Mississippi Chippewa Indians, White Earth Reserva-

tion, Minnesota,” should be placed and considered as the

first part, for the reason that it is the only part that em-

braces the text of the act under and for the purposes of

which the Commission was appointed.

This is considered necessary, in view of the fact that

the act is not recited in the other parts of the instrument,

but is referred to therein as follows: “Which said act is

21a

embraced in the foregoing instrument,” meaning evidently

that part marked C, etc., as above stated.

i i f record for

With this as explanation, and as matter of rec

8 understanding of the instruments, I think it would

nevertheless be well for the approval of the President —

de indorsed upon each of the separate parts of the sai

instrument.

I further recommend that a copy of the report of the

Commission, and of all its accompanying papers (except

the census rolls, which are bulky), with copy of this

letter of the Department reviewing the same, be submitted

to Congress for its information, together with the accom-

panying draft of bill for making the appropriations herein

suggested.

I have the honor to be, very respectfully, your obedient

— JohN W. NoBLE,

Secretary.

L to enable the Secretary of the Interior to carry

1 "a an act, entitled “An act for the relief and civili-

zation of the Chippewa Indians in the State of Minne-

sota, approved January 14, 1889,” and for other

H FR ta

it enacted by the Senate and House of Representa-

Pane the United States of America in Congress assem-

bled, That the following sums, or to much thereof as may

be necessary be, and the same are hereby, appropriated

out of any moneys in the Treasury, not otherwise —

priated, to be immediately available, to enable the e-

tary of the Interior to carry out an act entitled An Act

for the relief and civilization of the Chippewa Indians in

the State of Minnesota, approved January fourteenth,

eighteen hundred and eighty-nine, and for other purposes:

22a

For amount due the Chippewa Indians of Lake Superi

and Mississippi, arising from balances of —

under treaties with said Indians, and covered into the

Treasury between the years eighteen hundred and forty-

three, and eighteen hundred and seventy-eight, inclusive;

also, the aggregate difference between the coin value of

payments made in currency during the years eighteen

hundred and sixty-three and eighteen hundred and sixty-

four, at the dates of Treasury warrants, and the amounts

due in coin by treaty stipulations, with interest at the

rate of five per centum per annum, from the date of said

Treasury warrants to June thirtieth, eighteen hundred and

ninety, the sum of one hundred and ninety thousand dol-

lars, or so much thereof as may be required, to be ex-

pended by the Secretary of the Interior in the purchase

of such articles as he may deem best, or in the payment

of cash, to be apportioned in accordance with article eight

of the treaty proclaimed January twenty-ninth, eighteen

hund - .

— —4 and fifty-five, one hundred and ninety thousand

For compensation for losses and damage i

the Chippewa Indians on account of the Sulton af denn

and reservoirs on Lake Winnebagoshish, Cass Lake. and

Leech Lake, the sum of one hundred and fifty thousand

dollars, with interest at the rate of five per centum per

annum from the seventeenth day of September, eighteen

hundred and eighty-six, up to and including June thirtieth

eighteen hundred and ninety, the sum of one hundred and

eighty thousand dollars, or so much thereof as may be

reside on the Leech Lake, Lake Winnebagoshish

Cass Lake Reservations, and one-third to the Missi —

band, now residing or entitled to reside on the White

Earth, White Oak Point, and Mille Lac Reservations. one

hunudred and eighty thousand dollars.

23a

For compensation for forty-six thousand nine hundred

and twenty acres of land at one dollar and twenty-five

cents per acre, on account of land overflowed in the

construction of dams and reservoirs on Lake Winneba-

goshish, Cass Lake, and Leech Lake Reservations, to be

divided in the same manner as the compensation for losses

and damages above referred to, and to be paid in cash,

per capita, fifty-three thousand six hundred and thirty

dollars.

For the purchase and erection of saw and flour mills,

agricultural implements; for surveys, appraisals, removals,

and allotments; for payment of expenses of delegations of

Chippewa Indians to visit the White Earth Reservation;

for the erection and maintenance of day and industrial

schools, for subsistence and pay of employes, and for such

other purposes as the Secretary of the Interior may deem

proper, the sum of two hundred and fifty thousand dollars;

Provided, That this amount shall be reimbursed to the

United States from the proceeds of sales of land ceded by

the Chippewa Indians under the act of January fourteenth,

eighteen hundred and eighty-nine, two hundred and fifty

thousand dollars.

Sec. 2. That the Secretary of the Interior is hereby

authorized and directed to pay, per capita, to the Chippe-

was entitled to it, under the act of January fourteenth,

eighteen hundred and eighty-nine, the sum of ninety thou-

sand dollars, appropriated by section eight of said act

of January fourteenth, eighteen hundred and eighty-nine

(Statutes 25, page 645), as first annual payment of inter-

est contemplated and provided for, in lieu of expending

it in conformity with the provisions of the above-mentioned

act of January fourteenth, eighteen hundred and eighty-

nine.

24a

DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR,

OFFICE OF INDIAN AFFAIRS,

Washington, January 2, 1800.

Sm: Agreeably with personal

ultimo, I have the bende te transmit —— = *

report (in triplicate) of the Commission appointed to

negotiate with the different bands or tribes of Chippewa

Indians in the State of Minnesota, under authority of the

act of January 14, 1889 (25 Stat. 642), together with

the several agreements entered into, the census of the

— * the proceedings of the several councils held

Very respectfully, your obedient servant,

T. J. MORGAN,

Commissioner

The SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR.

UNITED STATES CHIPPEWA COMMISSION,

St. Paul, Minn., December 18, 1889.

Sir: We have forwarded to your artment

December 10, 17, and 18, one * of the 449 —

by the Commission of the Chippewa Indians of the State

of Minnesota; two copies of the stenographic record of

proceedings in the councils held with them by the Com-

mission: one copy of the agreements with the bands in

the State, with the original signatures of the Indians at-

tached; and inclose herewith one copy of a summarization

of the census, and one copy of a summary showing the

number of male adults in the various bands and the

number of those who signed the agreements.

I shall be obliged if the receipt of

5 pt of the various papers is

25a

Respectfully,

HENRY M. RICE,

Chairman.

Hon. T. J. MORGAN,

Commissioner of Indian Affairs,

Interior Department, Washington, D. C.

UNITED STATES CHIPPEWA COMMISSION,

St. Paul, Minn., December 26, 1880.

Sir: In obedience to instructions from your office, dated

May 24, 1889, accompanied by “An act for the relief

and civilization of the Chippewa Indians in the State of

Minnesota,” approved January 14, 1889, this Commission

met in this city June 11, 1889. After several meetings,

it was deemed proper, owing to the deep interest the Right

Reverend Bishop Whipple, and his grace Archbishop John

Ireland, had taken in the welfare of the Chippewas, that

they should be consulted. A copy of the following note

was addressed to each, dated June 15, 1889

Dear Sm: Your church has missions established among

the Chippewa Indians in the State of Minnesota, with

whom we are instructed to negotiate.

On account of the intimate knowledge you have, and

the deep intrest you have manifested in the elevation of

this race, we deem it proper you should be represented,

and it will be a pleasure to the members of this Commis-

sion to have with us some one delegated by you who may

explain to the Indians any matters affecting their interests,

which may be presented to them.

In response to this invitation, Bishop Whipple selected

Rev. E. S. Peake, who had long resided with these Indians,

and Archbishop Ireland selected the Rev. Father Aloysius,

O. S. B., a resident priest among them, both of whom

accompanied us to Red Lake.

26a

That nothing should be omitted that could enligh

the Indians as to the intent of the Government, we had

printed 500 copies of the act of January 14, 1889, and

several hundred of the “Act to provide for the allotment

of lands in severality to Indians,“ etc., approved Februa

8, 1887. These we caused to be distributed among he

a teachers, and other employes of the Govern-

’ — ‘

send tee ection oe — bloods, and Indians who

Owing to their destiute condition, the i

. Indians

aa —— search 7 food, their crops having failed the

— , an much time was taken in collecting

The first council was held at Red Lake. J

we remained until July 8. We found — a

dignified, and courteous, but for several days indisposed

to give a favorable hearing. The propositions were not as

favorable as those made three years ago, which did not

require the proceeds of their reservation to be shared with

tofore, being necessarily shared with the idle.

did not like the provision for providing with athe benz,

the

beyond the Red

North, was, by the united efforts of all the Chippewas

taken by conquest from the Sioux, and that i

i

5

:

3

1

2

8

3

F

Of

fore made, there is little, and in many cases nothing, left

by the Indi

As a result of the reverence, the young men have for

their chiefs, they would not speak in council, but a dele-

gation called upon the Commission after adjournment

and requested it should have patience, as they had re-

solved to have a council among themselves, in hope of

influencing their leaders, and if successful they would

continue to keep in the background. They clearly saw the

advantage to them of the propositions made, including the

offer of the protection of the law. Their efforts were

successful and all of their bands cordially gave their assent

by signing the agreement, except a few called pagans,

residing upon the north shore of the lake; their head chiefs

and others, however, said they had no objections, and

would sign when “they saw fulfilled the promises made.”

We found them very poor, having comparatively nothing

to work with, not even farming implements. Years ago

they had a saw-mill, but from neglect, when a small

expenditure would have kept it in repair, it was permitted

to go to decay. So for years they have not had lumber

to build new or repair old structures, or even make a

plead for a saw-mill, and also cattle

and such other helps as would enable them to commence

at once to improve their condition.

29a

th of Red Lake); thence down Clearwater

southwesterly reservation line; thence along

of beginning (excepting the right

all the water-ways within the above

the

171 1225 1 b:

1 ite 3 332 l 10 i

4} 117 5 171 = Ae sgt +

U e Ll

i 4 101 1271 i; 124, 1715

f liek 275 21404 115

4 bail 1 is +F

27 E : |

Fi 11321121575 Hit 2111 ae!

+ Fi 28 1 38 £2 PES 35 23

E 2 ga Se 3 213

1 2 i 1 it 5 1 i

1711 141.5 15 2105715

11 „ ote: 2

uP ipa dadede

11411 % stipe

111715 ABEL TE 4 2 177 4

144% 11 f | [ath 115

f ida CED

30a

sum of $118,400, which had accrued from balances

had been covered into the Treasury between the year

1843 and 1878. This amount has never been questioned

as being due under the treaty stipulations, and in the

opinion of this Commission should be included in regular

estimates. We gave the most solemn promises that our

best efforts would be given to secure justice in this case,

believing that we but voiced the intent of the Government

in so doing. After giving assurances that justice would

be speedily done and that we would bring the attention

of the Department to those claims, the acceptance and

signing of the propositions made was nearly unanimous.

The following will show that the Indians

officially informed of the amount due them a

including the year 1878. (Two-thirds of this amount goes

to the Chippewas of Lake Superior, and one-third

of the Mississippi. ) — aaaiatam

OFFICE OF INDIAN AFFAIRS,

Washington, December 8, 1884.

Sir: I am in receipt of your letter dated

; the 29th

ultimo, in which you state that four years ago you were

called to this city to converse on matters concerning your

a that while you were informed that there was

ue to your people the sum of $118,400; that said sum

— md sy in — installments; that 50,000 thereof

— that said i ;

sata said interest would be paid

You want to know why these i

promises have not been

— ; ,

—— oon you be informed in brief what you are to

In reply I have to state that on the recommendati

tion of

— on the Sth Gay af Agel, 1880, a bill was in-

uced in to authorize the Secretary of the

Interior to fulfill certain treaty stipulations with the Chi

pewa Indians of Lake Superior and Mississippi. This bill

3la

proposed an appropriation of the sum of $118,406.29,

being the total amount arising from balances of appropria-

tions under treaties with said Indians and covered into the

Treasury between the years 1843 and 1878, inclusive.

And the aggregate difference between the coin value of

payments made in currency during the years 1863, 1864,

and the amounts due in coin by treaty stipulations with

interest at 5 per cent, per annum, from date of Treasury

warrants to February 6, 1880.

Section 2 of this bill provided that of the above amounts

$38,400.29 should be paid to the said Indians and that

the remainder, $80,000, should remain in the Treasury

to draw interest at 5 per cent., said interest to be paid

annually per capita or expended for the benefit of the

Chippewa, under the direction of the Secretary of the

Interior.

This bill never became a law through the failure of

Congress to take action, and this office has exhausted its

endeavors to obtain the appropriation named.

Very respectfully,

H. PRICE,

Commissioner.

ANKE-WAIN-ZE,

Head Chief of Lac Courte D’Orielles.

(Care United States Indian Agent, La Pointe Agency, Wis. )

See also the speech of Hon. Jacob H. Stewart, of Min-

nesota, in the House of ives, delivered Monday,

February 24, 1879, on the bill (H. R. 6471) making ap-

propriations for civil of the Government for the

fiscal year ending June 30, 1880, and for other purposes,

as printed in the Congressional Record, March 1, 1879.

under “Sundry Civil Appropriation Bill.” The speech

referred to contains the report of the committee upon this

subject.

Messengers are now out, sent by the Chippewas of

Lake Superior to those of the Mississippi, inviting them

32a

to send delegates to meet in convention at Ashland, Wis.,

on January 11 next, for the purpose of employing claim

agents to prosecute and collect the amount found due, to,

and including the year 1878, as stated by the Indian

Office, April 5, 1880, viz, $118,400, with interest to date

at 5 per cent., $59,200; total, $177,600.

The claim agents expect the Indians to allow them 15

per cent. of the amount. It can but be determined to the

Indians to be thus harassed, kept in suspense, and finally

compelled to pay to others a large commission in order

to secure the payment of a just claim against the Govern-

ment.

These Indians have an old saw-mill, but for want of

repairs it can not be used.

Their flouring-mill, not being properly cared for, was

burned a short time ago, but for want of repairs had not

been running for several years. Consequently the Indians

such as had grain have been compelled to go many miles

to have it ground.

When in the settlements of the whites, to say nothing

of the expense and loss of time, they are subject to un-

avoidable temptations. Many have not teams and have

to employ others to take their grain to the mills, and after

paying transportation and toll, leaves but a moiety for

their use. The Indians made special complaints in regard

to the want of milling facilities. At their request, with

the aid of Agent Schuler, we investigated the condition

of their farms, and found about 5,000 acres seeded in

wheat, oats, barley, and vegetables, but owing to the want

of rain not more than half a crop will be grown. At least

2,500 acres heretofore cultivated lies fallow for the want

of seed and teams.

Here, as well as at Red Lake, Rev. Mr. Peake, rendered

valuable services.

33a

After completing our work at White Earth we went to

Gull Lake, where we found a small band, numbering 277,

belonging to the Chippewas of the Mississippi. Some of

them had attended the councils at White Earth, and all

seemed familiar with the propositions submitted to them.

We, however, went through with the explanations in de-

tail, and after consultation among themselves all signed

the agreement. They promised to make their permanent

home on the White Earth Reservation as soon as they

should be furnished with means to enable them to culti-

vate the soil and to subsist until they can make a living.

This agreement was concluded on the Sth of August.

We held the first council at Leech Lake, August 8. We

were received at this place with all the pomp and show

|

.

f

i

1

at Red Lake and White Earth, were fully determined that

no business should be transacted between the band and

the Commission until they should be satisfied that it had

the authority to provide for the settlement of outstanding

claims. They were polite and courteous, but were resolved

to keep us, as well as the uncertain of their band, under

the restraint of the guard. They felt that they had been

grievously wronged. ) :

After a few days we broke their lines, inducing the

chiefs to speak in council who for several days had not

34a

been heard. Stormy debates took place in council, acco

* val

panied by threats, which afterwards, at the request of the

— the commission directed to be stricken from the

utes.

These Indians, even the most bitterl opposed, said that

had we come empowered to adjust 2 matters they

would not have made any objections to the propositions,

nor would they have detained us long. Enough, however

gave their consent as required in writing. Others said

that they would assent when they saw a disposition on the

part of the Government to right the wrongs they had

suffered. We were kept there until August 22. We had

to give a solemn promise with raised hands that we would

to our utmost ability urge the immediate lemen

unadjusted claims. 27 ‘oom

On the 21st of August, 1847, the Pilla i

’ , ger Indians at

Leech Lake, Minn., ceded to the United Stat

of land bounded as follows: N

Beginning at the south end of Otter Tail Lake; thence

southerly on the boundary line between the Sioux and

Chippewa Indians, to Long Prairie River; thence up said

river to Crow Wing River; thence up Crow Wing River

to Leai River; thence up Leaf River to the head of said

river; and thence in a direct line to the place of the

beginning.

This tract contains nearly 700,000 acres, and was sold

to the Government for about $15,000. The Pillagers

parted with it, believing, as they were told, that it was

for the occupancy of the Menomonee Indians, a tribe at

peace with them as well as with the Sioux. For genera-

tions a fierce war had raged between these two last-named

tribes. The pillagers believed that if the friendly Menomo-

nees were between the belligerents peace might follow.

By the treaty of October 18, 1848, the United States

ceded to the Menomonees the above-described tract in

exchange for all their lands in the State of Wisconsin.

35a

The Menomonees, manifesting a great unwillingness to

remove west of the Mississippi, by treaty dated May 12,

1884, receded to the United States the foregoing tract in

exchange for a part of their old home in Wisconsin and

the sum of $242,686, for which the Pillagers received

less than $15,000. According to Indian reasoning the

consideration stipulated was never paid; that is, the oc-

cupancy of said tract by the Menomonees, thus protecting

them from the incursions of Sioux war parties.

The Pillagers, at the time of the cession, were told by

the commissioners that the said tract would be held as

Indian lands are usually held, and that their friends, the

Menomonees, would occupy it. The commissioners were

Isaac A. Verplank and Henry M. Rice. The Pillagers

from the time that they heard that the tract was not to

be occupied by the Menomonees, as stipulated, have to

this day considered that they have been injuriously over-

reached. They have never ceased to complain of this, and

never will until reparation shall be made. We can not too

strongly urge that the Government cause this matter to be

carefully investigated, and in some way allow the Pillagers

what may be found to be in equity due them. Indians are

not unreasonable when fairly dealt with, and as they are

about starting out as citizens under this act, aid will be

of greater benefit now than heretofore, and is more need-

ful now than it can be at any future time.

As to the damage done by the overflow of the reservoir

dams, the Department is respectfully referred to the fol-

lowing communication:

DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR,

OFFICE OF INDIAN AFFAIRS,

Washington, December 19, 1883.

Sir: By a provision in the river and harbor act of June

14, 1880 (21 Stat., 193), the sum of $75,000 was appro-

priated for the reservoirs at the headwaters of the Missis-

sippi River, to be used in the construction of a dam at

36a

Lake Winnebagoshish, with the proviso injuri

occasioned to individuals by — — of — or ag or

be ascertained and determined by agreements, in accord-

ance with the laws of Minnesota, and shall not exceed

in the aggregate $5,000, etc.; and by a provision in the

river and harbor act of March 3, 1881 (Id., 481), the

— of $150,000 was appropriated for reservoirs upon

= 8 ters of the Mississippi River and its tributaries

Secretary of the Interior is authorized and di.

rected to ascertain what, if any, injury is occasioned to

the rights of any friendly Indians occupying any Indian

reservation by the construction of any of said dams, or

the cutting or the removal of the trees or other materials

from any such reservation for the construction or erection

of any of said dams, and to determine the amount of dam-

ages payable to such Indians therefor, which dama

when determined, to be paid by the United States with

the proviso that such damages shall not exceed 10 r

centum of the sums hereby and heretofore (act 1880,

$75,000 : ;

pir = | appropriated for the construction of said

Under these provisions of law Messrs

. A. Barnard, of

— — Thomas Simpson, of Winona, Minn., and

— ~~ 7 rn * n —+

8 11 ugust, 1881, as i

ascertain the injury occasioned friendly — —

construction of the reservoirs at Lake Winnebagoshish and

to friendly Indians.

On the 6th of October, 1881, these

. . < . a ts

their findings and award, which was —— 88

partment on October 18, following, for consideration

37a

and, if approved, to be forwarded to the Secretary of War

for settlement under the act of 1881.

The injuries arising from the construction of these res-

ervoirs and the assessments of damages to friendly Indians

were considered by these agents and reported in separate

schedules, one for Lake Winnebagoshish and the other

for Leech Lake, being classified as (1) injuries to individ-

ual property, and (2) injuries to tribal property.

The damages were, in the aggregate, at Lake Winne-

bagoshish, assessed at $8,393.30, and those at Leech

Lake, $7,073.60.

These valuations, amounting jointly to $15,466.90,

were approved by the Department and forwarded to the

War Department, and the money was placed to the credit

of the Interior Department for distribution under the

award.

The Indians protested against this assessment as being

entirely too small, and at one time there was danger of a

serious outbreak, but the violence was prevented by the

friends of the Indians, with the hope that the question of

damages would be reconsidered.

These facts having come to the knowledge of the De-

partment, it was determined to appoint a new commission

to assess the damages and on December 23, 1882, you

appointed and commissioned for that purpose General

H. H. Sibley and William R. Marshall and Rev. J. A.

Gilfillan, who were to serve without compensation other

than their necessary expenses. Subsequently General Sib-

ley, on account of ill health, resigned, and R. Blakely,

esq., was appointed to fill his place.

I am now in receipt, by Department reference, of the

report of these gentlemen, dated the 4th instant, submit-

ting in detail the result of their findings. They state that it

was entirely out of the question for the commission to ar-

rive at a reasonable agreement with the Indians as to the

38a

amount of damages by the reason of the construction of

the dams; and that the amount of land overflowed has

been materially reduced, as indicated in letter of Major

Allen, of October 24, 1883, the amount being only

46,920 acres, instead of 101,940 acres, as heretofore re-

ported, and in the aggregate is divided as follows, viz:

Winnebagoshish reservoirs, 23,240 acres; Leech Lake

reservoirs, 28,680 acres.

The commission make awards for timber cut, rock

taken, and damages to industries, but none for land taken.

Lake Winnebagoshish and Cass Lake:

Personal propertnt .. $1,936.50

R 3,649.58

5,586.08

Leech Lake:

Personal property .................. 105.00

„ ( 1.075. 00

1,180.00

White Earth and Mississippi bands, pine cut, $3,272.10.

The Commission estimate for these latter bands an an-

nual damage for rice, at 10 cents per pound, $8,610, and

for hay, at $28 per ton, $9,800: total $18,410.

For the Indians at Lake Winnebagoshish and Cass Lake

they estimate the annual damage as follows, viz:

a ER PE tet seer ai aee $3,640.00

r 4,350.00

K A teen, aaa 300.00

II. 100.00

—ͤͤ ies Matic ld ii si ~ 8,390.00

39a

issi i ill be very ma-

The Commission say that the Indians wil : ,

terially damaged in their industries and will — ——

manent provision. The total damage awarded by the ¢ om-

mission, outside of resultant damages, is as follows, viz:

50

Individual propertiʒꝛzꝛ coe

Tribal properti y :

i eee ee ee 10,038.18

The total annual damage awarded by them is $26,800.

The estimate of the Commission for annual damages

for rice at 10 cents per pound, and hay at $28 per —

would appear at first sight to be rather extravagant, but

when we consider that over 46, 000 acres of land are

taken from the Indians without any compensation what-

ever, it is believed that the estimate is not too high.

There funds now at the disposition of this Depart-

ment, — od a act of 1881, sufficient to pay the 11

awarded for individual and tribal property, 1

but as the Indians refused to accept the award in =

respect of the former Commission, which is some —

greater than that of the present Commission, they wi

aaiy ang Se hae ea Gee ©

to pay the annual damages awarded by the latter

mission. Re

In accordance with the award of the Commission it will

require $36,838.18 for present payment, of which a

as before stated, $10,038.18 is available, leaving $26,

to be provided for. ;

of 1880 and 1881 make provision for pay-

ment of present damages only and some forthe payment

of annual damages, I am of opinion that this sum for the

.

mend that Congress be asked to attach an item to

deficiency bill, already submitted by this — eng) ap-

propriating the sum of $26,800, and that annually here-

40a

after an appropriation of $26,800 made in order

Carry out the award of the a — ry v9

Very respectfully, your obedient servant,

H. Price, Commissioner.

The SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR.

It appears by this that the aw

ard, amountin

2 was without hesitation rejected by ry in.

ans. Is it surprising that they showld have done so

nation these gentlemen estimated the annual dama |

$26,800, and the damages to individual and —

In accordance with the award of the Commission ion i

will require $36,838.18 for the present payment, of which

— as before stated, $10,038.18 is available, leaving

800 to be provided for; and that annually thereafter

an appropriation of $26,800 be made, in order to carry

out the award of the Commission.

The Secretary of the Interior, i

cae erior, in approving of the fore-

4la

No award is made by the Commission for or on account

of the land taken and occupied in the construction of the

From information received on this subject, this Com-

mission can not recommend a less award than the amount

mentioned, viz, $150,000, with 5 per cent. interest per

annum to date, and $1.25 per acre for the overflowed

lands. These Indians have absolutely ceded to the United

States 46,920 acres, which can not be sold as provided

in the act of January 14, 1889, for their benefit, as it is

and must be reserved for the overflow caused by the

reservoir dams.

From Leech Lake we went to Cass Lake, holding our

first council there August 23, and the last on the 26th

of the same month. As many of the Indians of this band

attended all the councils at Leech Lake, all they required

was that explanation should be made to those who were

not present at the latter place. They in strong terms asked

that unsettled matters be liquidated as soon as possible.

All freely gave their assent and signatures to the propo-

sitions.

From there we went to the Lake Winnebagoshish band.

We had much trouble in assembling them as they were

out gathering wild rice. Our first council was held August

31, and the last September 2, but we were in almost

constant session day and night, as they were anxious to

return to their rice fields. Several of the chiefs had at-

person at Leech Lake when thei — a

without them. This — ee eS

shown by township lines. This has gi dissati

faction, as whites have settled —7 — —

— — upon the reservation, as the Indians claim.

should be adjusted. Every adult male of the

band gave his assent to the agreement.

the hope of improvement They

— of their condition, and tremblingly asked o

— might be kept from the county. They also asked

1 and school teachers be sent them. They

— a e lost wards of the Government, who had fallen

a hands of their worst enemies, the whisky sellers

present gave their signatures. f

432

a

From the last point we sent our messengers to find

scattered members of other White Oak Point bands,

succeeded in gathering them at Kimberly, a water

station on the Northern Pacific Railroad, where

F 8

EEE

Ee

4

i

|

i

42

2

&

4 S

ELE

and mind, unusually bright, and !

anxious to acquire land in severalty, and the youn

Their bands numbered one hundred men. All except one

signed the agreement.

On the 2d of October we met the Mille Lac Indians,

and were with them until the close of the Sth, and almost

constantly in council.

molested in person or property by them. Upon this reser-

vation there are a large number of whites, who have made

claims thereon, and even many of these testified to the

harmless conduct of the Indians. Their principal fault

seems to lie in possessing lands that the white man wants.

This reservation was set aside for their use by treaty of

February 22, 1855, and was guarantied as their perma-

nent home. By this treaty land was to be plowed and pre-

pared for cultivation. As a sample of injustice to them we

were told that the land had been plowed several miles

north of their reservation, and not a foot for their use

thereon. To satisfy ourselves of this, we visited the place

designated (lots 1 and 2, section 13, township 44, range

28 west) and ascertained from the then occupant, a very

44a

respectable citizen by the name of Dinwiddie i

, that his

farm embraced the improvement mentioned, which had

been made before he purchased.

By the treaty of March 11, 1863. this j

ceded to the United States, but by a proviso in —

it was stipulated—

That owing to the heretofore good cond

) uct of i

. n

as they shall not in any way interfere with or in any

manner molest the persons or property of the whites.

By article 4 of same treaty it was

agreed that the United

States should clear and stump and grub and break for the

— ¢ band, upon said reservation, 70 acres of land

w confirmed the belief that they were not only per-

manent!

— y located, but had the sole occupancy of the reser-

In the treaty of May 7, 1864, whi

supersede the one last alluded to, 1 —

stipulation as to the breaking of 70 acres of land et,

article 12 a promise as to their living thereon the —

as provided by the treaty of March 11, 1863.

The Interior Department now holds that—

The Mille Lac Indians have

never f ir ri

to occupancy and still reside on the — 3

But. notwithstanding this, White men have deen per-

mitted to rob them of their pine, and for years to settl

upon their agricultural lands, and there to remain in ve

E n b 4 to the great injury and fear of the

10 take as, Of the whites had the shameless audacity

wh pd. the Indians land the latter had, with much

. perseverance, put into cultivation. Squatters are

ng upon this reservation, and the interest of the

give in some way protection to the well intentioned but

misled whites who have made homes upon this tract; but

be that as it may, the question of right should be settled

at the earliest possible moment, for the greater the delay

the more difficult will be its adjustment.

All present assented to the agreement and signed the

same.

One council was held at Grand Marais, with a part of

the Grand Portage band, October 20. These Indians

ied the Commission to Grand Portage, where

councils were held October 23, 24, and 25. At these

councils the Indians gave very marked attention, and at

the last council expressed themselves as fully understand-

ing and fully satisfied with the terms of the act, and signed

the article of agreement with much cheerfulness and un-

animity. These Indians complain that white fishermen

spread so many large nets near their reservation that the

Indians are unable to procure a supply of fish for food.

Bois Forte and Vermillion councils were held Novem-

ber 9, 10, 11, and 12.

At the first council the Indians seemed timid and dis-

trustful. Indeed, the Vermilion Lake and Net Lake parties

seemed to distrust each other, and declined to enter into

the discussion of the subject presented to them. Subse-

quently better councils prevailed, and the Indians an-

nounced that they should hereafter act as a unit. From

this time the discussion was entered into with freedom

and cheerfulness, and finally resulted in their “touching

the pen” with great solemnity and much formality.

46a

These Indians have the best hunting grounds of

the Chippewa bands; there being — to on —

immense tract of timber land over which the white man

seldom passes. They seem willing to learn to till the soil,

but ask for better facilities. When asked how they culti-

vated their potatoes, these men of the North say they

drove a stake into the ground and pried up the earth,

and then made it fine with their hands. Much of the lands

on the Lake Superior Reservations is unfit for cultivation.

And it is believed that if representatives from these bands

can visit White Earth, many of them will cheerfully re-

move there. The Bois Forte Indians complain that they

have been despoiled of a large amount of timber cut from

their reservation, which is run down Little Fork River to

the British possessions. We promised to call the attention

of the Department to this.

At Fond du Lac the first council was held November

18, and continued daily until and including November 21.

It will be seen by the proceedings that Nah-gah-nub

the head chief, did much of the talking. He is 24

man and not in his prime, physically or mentally, but is

respected by all. Many of his band for want of work (the

cutting of timber on this reservation having been sus-

pended by order of the Department) are in great danger

of suffering during this winter and coming spring. Hereto-

fore, while permitted to cut timber, they were well to do

and contented.

Like all of the Mississippi bands, they feel

grieved at the long continued withholding “of the —

due them from the Government. Our positive assertions

that justice should speedily be done, not only in this re-

spect, but in the matter of a palpable error in the bound-

ary lines of their reservation, induced them to listen at-

tentively to the propositions submitted, and all touched

the pen.

47a

By the fourth article of treaty at La Pointe, September

30, 1854, it is stipulated, that the Fond du Lac Reserva-

tion shall embrace the following boundaries:

Beginning at an island in the St. Louis River, above

Knife Portage, called by the Indians Paw-paw-sco-me-me-tig,

running thence west to the boundary line heretofore de-

scribed, thence north along said boundary line to the

mouth of Savannah River, thence down the St. Louis

River to the place of the beginning. And if said tract shall

contain less than 100,000 acres, a strip of land shall be

added on the south side thereof large enough to equal

such deficiency.

Whoever was sent to make a survey of this reservation

followed the last clause of the article, and by his survey

limited the area to 92,346 acres, the north end of his

survey line on the west not reaching within 12 miles of

the mouth of the Savannah River, thus defrauding these

Indians of over 100,000 acres, which lands were put into

the market and long ago disposed of by the United States;

and for over a quarter of a century this injustice has been

permitted to exist, a festering and deep-seated cause of

complaint against the Government. The Indians at the

time of the making of the treaty had the boundary lines

definitely fixed, by natural lines to them unmistakable.

They knew no more about acres than they did of the

mariner’s compass.

We had no hesitation in promising that the Government

would speedily remedy this grave error.

As the various bands decided to take their allotments

on their respective reservations, and have constructively

done so, we told them that the $90,000 to be advanced

and already appropriated would be paid pro rata, as soon

after the approval of these negotiations by the President

as should be practicable, but not later than the coming

spring. The amount will be so small to be paid to each

individual that it is not probable that any will elect to

48a

receive anything but money. As they are in the most

destitute condition, and as we gave them to understand

that the money would be so paid, we trust neither the

Indians nor the Commission will be disappointed in this.

The clause of the act of January 14, 1889, providing

for the payment of the interest that may accrue on the

permanent fund, was to us obscure inasmuch as it says

“one half of said interest shall be annually paid in cash

in equal shares to the heads of families and guardians of

orphan minors for their use, and one-fourth of said interest

shall during the same period and with the like exception

be annually paid in cash in equal shares per capita to all

other classes of said Indians,” etc., and as we could neither

explain this to the Indians or comprehend it so as to give

it such an interpretation as would do equal justice we

promised the cash payment should be mad ita i

— ade per capita in

Wherever we went the Indians expressed a desire that

the Government would set aside a sufficient quantity of

land upon each reservation for Government buildings

such as may be necessary for physician, blacksmith, farmer,

carpenters, and for missionaries, traders, etc. We hope

this will be done, and that order, as to the location and

the erection of all such buildings, will be enforced.

They also requested that upon each reservation a tract

of pine land be reserved and held by the General Govern-

ment, as might be necessary for their common use, and to

be so held during the pleasure of the Secretary of the

Interior. We earnestly commend this request.

They all earnestly plead for saw-mills, cattle, agricul-

tural and mechanical implements, which they 4

or they can make no substantial progress. They must be

assisted in breaking and fencing land, building houses, and

with provisions, until they can sustain themselves. They

are no longer tribal Indians, but citizens at present help-

less, and must be treated as such. The saw-mills are of

49a

the utmost importance, for at present nearly all live in

single-room wigwams or huts, where privacy is unknown,

without or within. To return young boys and girls to such

abodes who have been educated in refined and chaste

society at Government schools in the East will be destruc-

tive to their morals and a loss of the expense incurred.

Although the Indians have decided to take their allot-

ments upon their reservations, it will not be well, in many

cases, they should do so, and we believe that if rightly

cared for, many can be induced in the near future to

remove to White Earth. For this reason it may not be

prudent to urge the making of individual allotments upon

other than White Earth and Red Lake Reservations at

present.

According to the established custom, none but chiefs

and headmen speak in council, but at various places others

conferred with us by day and by night, and many as in-

dividuals expressed a desire to remove to White Earth as

soon as provisions can be made for their subsistence.

Their removal should be encouraged, as it will be of the

greatest benefit to the Indians and to the State. It is now

impracticable to make allotments upon any save the White

Earth Reservations, and will be until the others shall be

surveyed. All but the White Earth and a part of the Red

Lake Reservation, are heavily timbered and unfit for culti-

vation without a heavy expenditure of money and labor,

and at best can not for many years be profitably farmed;

and it is doubtful, now that the game has nearly all dis-

appeared, if for several years they can raise enough for

self-support.

As 10 acres of maple timber for sugar making is a large

tract for one family, they requested that, to accommodate

as many as possible, 10 acres only, by legal subdivisions,

should be allowed each family now occupying the same.

We promised to ask that this most sensible request be

granted.

50a

As the four townships of pine land ceded to the Govern-

ment, of the White Earth Reservation, have been surveved,

and as the timber is liable to be stolen or burned, the

Indians desire an early estimate and sale of the same.

On some of the reservations there are swamps of valu-

able cedar and tamarac which can not be cultivated or

sold for agricultural purposes, and the land is liable to be

denuded of the timber by trespassers. The Indians request

that such land be withheld from sale under the preemption

laws, and that the Secretary of the Interior be authorized

to cause the same to be sold in such manner and upon

such terms as to him shall seem best for their interest.

It is reported and believed that upon the Grand Portage,

Bois Forte, and Vermilion Reservations there are valuable

mines, and that if such are discovered after examination

they shall be disposed of by the Secretary of the Interior

so as to best subserve the interests of the Indians. This is

in accordance with their request.

A further appropriation for surveys and examination

of lands will be necessary. The pine ceded is estimated

by various parties to reach in value from twenty-five to

fifty millions of dollars. A small appropriation can be used

for the purpose of defraying the expenses of Indians from

a distance who may desire or can be persuaded to visit

the White Earth Reservation with the expectation of re-

moving thereto before allotments shall be taken or con-

firmed elsewhere.

Provision should be made for a mill, furnishing cattle,

and farming implements, etc., to enable the Red Lake

Indians to commence farming and building houses the

coming spring.

The head chief of the Pillagers, Flatmouth, has for sev-

eral years resided in Canada, his sister, Ruth Flatmouth,

is in her brother’s absence the acknowledged Queen, or

leader of the Pillagers; two other women of heriditary

51a

right acted as leaders of their respective bands. and at

the request of the chiefs were permitted to sign the agree-

ments.

In taking the census, which was a tedious work, we took

unusual pains to see that all rightful persons were in-

cluded, and in every case not only submitted it to the

chiefs and leading persons of the tribe, but secured their

presence and assistance. After having explained to them

the importance of accuracy, they fully and earnestly gave

their best efforts to insure its correctness.

United States Agent B. P. Schuler accompanied us to

each and every band within his jurisdiction, and gave us

most valuable official as well as personal assistance.

Mr. A. Leahy, United States agent at Ashland, joined

the commission at the Fond du Lac Reservation and en-

dered us material aid.

Father Aloysius, O. S. B., was with us at Red Lake,

White Earth, and Leech Lake, and at all times used his

influence in the interest of our work.

In no instarice did we encounter opposition from the

traders or white men, husbands of Indian women; on the

contrary all readily gave such assistance as they could.

We feel warranted in saying that there was not an Indian

who was not fully informed of the purport of our mission,

and that the assent of all would have been obtained had

authority been given us to put in the way of adjustment

unsettled claims.

In the expenditures incident to the long distance trav-

eled, the length of time consumed, the number of Indians

we were compelled to subsist, and the large force we had

to employ as messengers in taking the census and aiding

in securing the signatures of such only as were author-

ized to sign the agreements, and making in duplicate said

agreements, and in triplicate the census rolls, we have had

52a

constantly in view the injunction of “observing and prac-

ticing the utmost economy.”

Among the Indians are many well-educated mixed-

bloods, who will be of great assistance in leading the

unenlightened onward.

In Michigan, Wisconsin, and elsewhere we know there

are persons of Chippewa blood that will claim, and no

doubt many are entitled to, the benefits under the recent

negotiations, who were, from their higher education and

associations, forced to separate from their bands and seek

a living and more congenial society elsewhere, who, now

that they can hold lands in severalty and come under the

protection of the law, will return to their old homes; for

such consideration should be given hereafter. We think,

however, that the safe rule to be observed will be to con-

sult the chiefs and head men as to the justice of their

claims.

To enable the Indians to commence their new life in

such a way as will, without loss of time, encourage them

to follow all industrial pursuits possible, it is evident a

sum should be advanced by the Government sufficient to

enable them, with their labor, to put as much land under

cultivation and build as many homes as practicable. At

each and every place, either in open council or in private

consultation, they were urgent in requesting such aids as

are indispensable to white men. Especially, all not pagans

expressed a decided preference for mission schools, deem-

ing it essential that the morals of their children, as well

as their education, should receive careful attention.

If this shall be done and the Indians are properly

guided, the most happy results may be expected to follow.

Give the Indian justice, kind and patient treatment, and

his confidence can be gained, and by a wise hand he can

be started on the road to a useful life. He is naturally

trustful, with strong attachments for those he believes to

53a

be his friends. To his enemies and to those he distrusts,

a different nature will be unmistakably visible.

rryin t this new departure, many details must

Mes | 05 the final result of this most beneficent

measure, properly put into execution, there can not be a

doubt.

Respectfully,

Henry M. RICE.

MARTIN MARTY.

JosePH B. WHITING.

Hon. T. J. MORGAN, i

Commissioner of Indian A ffairs,

Interior Department, Washington, D. C.

Schedule showing the number of acres in the

Chippewa reservations in the State of Minnesota.

107,509

ancien 23,040

Fond du Lac —— —

——. Lake 94,440

Mille Lac 61,014

Red Lake and Pembina bands ens 4

Vermillion Lake .

White Earth 796,672

Winnebagoshish, Cass Lake, and White Oak Point 329,000

Total 4,747,931

54a

Number in each band

Name of band Adult Adult

males females Minors Total assenting

Red Lake and

Pembina Chippewas 386 422 578 1,386 324

Mississippi Chippewas 934 854 1,414 3,002 688

Pillager and Lake

Winnebagoshish 600 649 959 2,208 466

Grand Portage

Chippewas 73 85 136 294 72

Bois Forte

Chippewas 228 224 291 743 211

Fond du Lac

Chippewas 157 187 327 671 123

Total 2,178 8,304 1,884

* * * *

FIRST COUNCIL AT LEECH LAKE.

AucustT 8, 1889.

Mr. RICE. After the lapse of many years, it is pleasant

to return and meet so many of you here. It, however,

makes me sad to miss so many faces that I saw long, long

ago, but those who have been called by the Master of Life

to the spirit land have left their representative behind. In

dealing with you, I can not but think that your fathers or

their spirits are present, and if the result of our negotia-

tions shall be as pleasant as those had with your fathers,

I shall leave here with a light heart. We may not have

brought as much sunshine as we or you would desire. but

we hope that we have brought something which will clear

away the clouds that have hung over you so long.

The business upon which we have come is of the utmost

importance. It is of more importance to you than any

business you have ever transacted. It is not so much for

the present as for the long future. It will require your best

attention, your best thought, and the aid of your wisest

men. We do not expect that you will all be of one mind;

55a

i i Ives

will at first differ very materially among yourse „

but by discussion and comparison of views, some of you

will perhaps see the matter differently than at first. All we

want now is your earnest consideraiton, and we will give

you all the time that is necessary for consultation. We

shall not hurry you. We wish you to bear in mind partic-

ularly that whatever your answer may be, if it is given

in the spirit of friendship, it will be satisfactory to us.

We shall leave the decision entirely to you and will be

satisfied with it, hoping that it will be for the best.

t perha ou might desire another in-

teqyreter one — and familiar with

you than the one we have brought—and if so, you may

have one. So far as in our power we will gratify you in

everything that is right which you demand. We will wait

a moment before proceeding with the business before us,

for you to determine whether or not you will select an-

other interpreter. If you do not desire to name another

we will proceed with the reading of the act, and at the

next session, if you desire another one, all you will have

to do is to say so.

Colonel Whiting will now read the act to you.

Commissioner WHITING. Friends, although I am a

stranger to you, I beg you to accept my kindly greeting.

The chairman of the commission directs me to read to

you the law under which we proceed.

Commissioner Whiting then read the act of Congress,

it being carefully — phrase by phrase, by the

interpreter.

Mr. Rick. You have heard the act read, and we wish

to know whether you have anything to say in reply. If

not, we will fix upon an hour to which we will adjourn.

ready this afternoon we will give you an

exnlasedion af too att; tho counell now sands adjourned

until 2 o’clock.

56a

(Upon the announcement of the adjournmen

t, Ruth

Flat Mouth, the only representative on the reservation of

the family of the celebrated chief, Flat Mouth,

4

f

layed by a council which was held by Indians.

— 2 ———⏑⏑i ,

in the council outside did not wish those in the council

inside to say anything until the outside council was

O-ge mah remarked to the Indians then present i

2 ast Gp quem amen te tients

mate any reply during negotiations uatil everything said

by — — — —

sponse made, t he recommended

procedure. 2

The Indians who had been in council elsewhere

N came

in half an hour later, when the council was called to

Mr. Rice. If you are ready, I will now endea

. vor to

explain to you the provisions of the act. If you are not

ready we will postpone it until you are.

I do not expect that all the explanations to-da

will

fully understood, but we will hereafter answer ull quee

tions you may ask about them.

After fully explaining the act, the chairman ended

saying Aa you gecbilily wtih to talk over senty matter

57a

SECOND COUNCIL AT LEECH LAKE

Aucust 9, 1889.

The council was held out of doors, there being no room

large enough

STURGEON MAN. My friends, I wish to say a few words

to you I shall tell you what the feelings of the Pillagers

ir mi do, I took some of my money

and called upon you. It is not my purpose to

charge the Pillagers anything for my services, nor for

what I expended in their behalf. We wish an Indian to

stand by and listen—an Indian interpreter.

Mr. Rice. Name your man.

STURGEON MAN. Those men will select one.

John Bassett (Way-me-te-gozh) and Charles Martin

(Maysh-kow-e-gah-bow) took seats in front as interpreters.

STURGEON MAN. You see these boys are full-blooded

Indians, and we wish to have them listen to what is said.

Mr. That is right. The council is now open for

business.

Paut H. BEAULIEU. I think it is expected that the Com-

pleasure.

We wish to say that the President directed us to take

down whatever you may have to communicate to him,

and all we may say or you may say will be put in writing

and sent direct to your Great Father. We know that there

are some matters which will develop as we proceed, upon

which you will wish information, and so far as we can

we are ready to give it.

58a

_ No-DIN-AH-QuUN. I do not wish to sa anything defini

in what I say. We aso waiting for the thas then om

braves and young men will allow us to proceed to this

business—to talk to you. It is our sincere wish that you

should once more explain the paper that you have before

stand. We wish it set forth so plainly that no

one can

misunderstand. The reason we do not give you an answer

at the present time is that we want more light on the sub-

Mr. Rice again explained the act in detail.

MAY-COD-AY-WE-CO NOVA. I want to know i i

, if

all the message that you have to give us? =

MAY-COD-AY-WE-CO-NoY-AYy. I am a pries i

t, and I

to talk to my friends. 12 n

f . *

— and shake hands. I wish to have a little rest for

Mr. é‘

*— (io the interpreter). That is, they wish to

Mr. BEAULIEU. Ves, sir.

Mr. Rice. The council is now adjourned

morrow morning at 9 o'clock. 2

59a

THIRD COUNCIL AT LEECH LAKE.

Auoust 10, 1989.

secretly. This is referred to to show you that the signature

of no Indian will be taken in the

houses, or in the dark. Whoever signs this paper must do

it openly and before you all. None but a coward would

do otherwise, so you need not be afraid: whatever is

must be done here in daylight, where all can see and all

can hear. I wish now to have you rest assured upon this

subject. We have not come here to disgrace our Great

be

you to sign, or to bribe you to sign. Your Great Father

has made you an offer, and it is optional with you, after

you understand its terms, as to whether you accept or not.

It makes no difference to us as to whether you do or do

not accept it. You are the ones to suffer, not we.

You sent him word three years ago, many of you, that

you did not want to leave this place. He listened to you,

and has consented to your remaining. I know all about

it as the papers are here before me. Your Great Father

knows well your condition. He knows how very poor you

are: that you have no mill; that there are many other

are in need of, and that you have not even

a coffin in which to bury the dead. He

well as we do that many of your young men

can not get work. He knows that you are driven to the

ig snake-root to sell, in to li

60a

MAY-COD-AY-WE-CO-NoyY-AY. I am coming to tell these

chiefs something. I shall point out to them the persons

whom we wish to appoint our spokesmen, and who will

speak to you the words that we put in their mouths. That

is what the braves here of the Pillager band say, and our

young men also.

Ah-zhow-we-ge-shig will be the first speaker of the

chiefs, and Wob-on-a-quay will also speak. That is the plan

adopted by all the braves present. That is the organiza-

tion as now formed. There are a few of the braves that

are selected from their bands who will speak after the

chiefs have spoken. Mah-je-gah-bow will be the first one

to speak after the chiefs, and after him, two young men

will speak in behalf of the young men, and after that

AH-ZHOW-WE-GE-SHIG. You have heard speak the man

who was selected to make the speech to you. And as I

have been selected as the first speaker, the task is a very

difficult one and a complicated one for me to begin. If

you feel an anxiety relative to this, it is the same anxicty

I feel. Now, if you may be pleased to allow us, we will

go and sit around and discuss the mater as to what shall

be said. I think that it is just the way you ought to do.

Mr. Rice. The council now stands adjourned until

3 o'clock.

AFTERNOON SESSION.

The council was called to order by the chairman, who

stated that the Commission was ready to hear the speak-

ers who had been appointed.

AH-ZHOW-WE-GE-SHIG. I am selected by the chiefs,

those that you see before you here, by the braves, and also

by the young men of the tribe. The chiefs from Pine

Point, on the White Earth Reservation; the chiefs of Cass

Lake and Lake Winnebagoshish Reservations, and their

friend, the reason we are all happy to have the

n

these chiefs and these braves were in the past; you have

heard of their prowess in war and how they have con-

ducted themselves in dealing with their enemies. For those

reasons they feel like men. Everything that they used to

take glory in—in warring with their enemies. —

of that kind, however, is now buried underground, an

our record is clean of any crime.

62a

you meet us right on our own reservation, to see you

present among us, makes us feel as though you were right

in the palm of our hand. I state all these matters to give

you an inkling of the feeling in our minds. I shall now

follow a topic that pertains not only to the chiefs, but to

the tribe in general.

My friend, do not entertain the idea that you have one

before you who does not understand when anything is

said to him. My friend, we do not wish you to follow a

track that you can not go over, but neither do we wish to

get over you.

My task is ended—that is what the chiefs, the braves,

and the young men told me to say. You should consider

me as a pioneer who is making a road, or laying one out

for the others to follow.

NO-TIN-NAH-QUAH-UM. I have also been selected to lay

before you the wishes of these people, the whole of those

here.

We have been very much pleased to see you here in

our midst. Had it pleased the Master of Life to take you

away from the land of the living we should have felt very

sorry, and as one man, on account of the business that

transpired in the past. I refer to the cessions made by the

Pillager band of the Chippewas. You will very well

remember the cession. This is the first thing in the minds

of these people, and we wish to have an understanding in

the matter. We think of it as having never been fairly

understood, and we should very much like to have you

inform us as to its status at the present time. We do not

at all oppose the act you now lay before us for our con-

sideration. Our Great Father is the person who employs

you. The Pillagers always receive word from you, in

which you say: “My friends, be very careful about your

behavior; always do what the Government wishes you to

do, which is to be peaceful; never incur enmity. I beg

of you as friends to listen to me and do no covert act.

63a

Some day my hands will be let loose so that I can help

you.” That is the word you sent us, and that is the very

reason that the Pillager bands are so pleased to see you,

and why they respect you—for the kindness you have

shown, and for the words I have repeated.

men see here are in poverty, in extreme

ea That poverty began at the time of the first ces

sion you obtained from them. You are cognizant of all

the cessions we have made, and we wish that while you

are here you should try to redress any wrong committed

relative to the obtaining of those cessions. The Long

Prairie is the piece of land that I refer to, the river coun-

try. That is a piece of land that you borrowed from my

forefathers, and the amount of money that we were to

receive relative to that. We wish you to take that into

consideration and see if you can not redress it.

Another thing that we wish you to strictly bear in mind

is, that the Government of the United States has caused

dams to be built, which have overflowed everything here

that we had as a dependence for subsistence. They have

destroyed all that without ever offering compensation for

it. These people are all in accord in this matter. They

wish to have an understanding about the Long Prairie

matter, and also about the reservoir dams established, and

they wish to hear from you what can be a

. ou can give them an encouraging answer in an

. , we shall not be unfavorable to this

arrangement about to be made and which lies before you.

The amount of money that would accrue if justice was

done to us, and the money paid to all these families before

you here, would be a great source of revenue to them.

It would help alleviate their poverty and be a source of

help to these young men, to these old men, and the women

and the orphans. That is the nature of our negotiations

to-day. The only stumbling block there is to the arrange-

ment you now bring and lay before us is the adjustment of

those old dues which now belong to us. It was said to us,

64a

“The money shall be placed in your hands and it will help

to relieve your wants.” That was only a matter of speech;

the thing was never carried into effect. It never came to

pass.

An arrangement was made a few years ago whereby the

Indians were to be well supplied with agricultural imple-

ments. I was very much elated when I heard of it; but

when I saw the fulfillment of the promise, what did I see

but a log-chain laid before me, which was to go around

for one whole band. And then there was a yoke there

also. When I looked at the yoke I thought o myself that

I would not have sent a yoke without something to put

under it. Come to find out, it was sent only for me to

look at, and I never found out who the yoke was used

on. If they had only said to me that they brought the

yoke for the purpose of putting it on me and yoking me

with it I should have kept it as a memento to show you

this very day.

I have referred to all these back matters because when

this act is now read to me, having been treated as I have—

and it is no exaggeration as I have stated it—I am afraid

of getting my foot into the trap again; so that I can not

be too careful how I make promises hereafter.

WoB-ON-A-QUAY. My friend, now that I am about to

talk to you, remember that my ancestors were your friends

and what my ancestors thought of you. That is just the

way that I think of you; I think of you as my greatest

friend. My friend, the question that I wish to ask of you

is, Here is an arrangement that you have left unsettled;

why should you wish to tread over the arrangement and

place a new one before it? My friend, there is a big lot

of country, a big tract that you borrowed from me; I wish

you to make that loan good. My friend, I do not under-

stand the act. Do you not know that everything which

grows under our feet springs anew every year? It does.

There is something that is buried away underneath that

Ought to be taken up before beginning again.

65a

I am old and tired, but I will depend upon my stomach

feeling a little better after the big hunter (Commissioner

Whiting) has shot something.

Mr. Rice. Yesterday I walked up to the old post to see

the graves of my old friends, Flat Mouth and George

Bonga and others, and to see again the ground upon which

the first treaty was made. Sometimes in our dreams events

that occurred years ago pass vividly before us. While

standing there I fancied that I was again a young man,

and all that happened there forty years ago this month

flitted distinctly through my mind. There are some of

you now before me who were present then; then you were

the young men. You will well remember the words I at

that time used. I said that you were not selling the land;

that the price paid was inadequate. So, you see, the words

of your second speaker were true.

The Great Father wanted that land for the Meno-

monies. The Menomonies in early days used to come up

a few at a time and hunt and trap in your country. They

held for Indian purposes. It was given to the Meno-

monies. Your Great Father was sincere in it. It was

expected that the Menomonies would remove there, but

they were told by their friends in Wisconsin that owing

to the war between you and the Sioux it would be danger-

them to do so; that they would be between two

considering the matter for several years they

would not come, but would take a

of land and remain in Wisconsin.

came, soon after, a change of administration,

matter was f , was laid aside. You did

anything about it. No one seemed to take any

g

1

7

1

1

1171

1

15

r

15

Se

f

4

z

2

2

i

f

g

2

8

66a

transaction really was. You called the subject up three

years ago, before the commissioners acting at that time,

and I was in hopes that the matter would be thoroughly

sifted, but although I see that you allude to it in their

report, they did not seem to understand the subject. But

the paper I gave you was printed. It is now on file with

the public documents in Washington. While I felt very

sorry that the transaction terminated as it did, and was

disappointed about it, I never felt ashamed, because I

never told you an untruth. I have, however, lived in

hopes that the matter would be settled to your entire

satisfaction, and I believe that the day is not now far

distant when it will be. But it stands in the same position

as the old balances due to the Chippewas of the Missis-

sippi, and it required a great deal of explanation there to

make them understand the true state of affairs. At the

negotiations three yars ago they paid the amount to be

paid for the damages caused by the reservoirs.

In looking back to the distant past it was seen that the

Chippewas of the country were once one people, that you

fought the Sioux from day to day, that you were a brave

people, a people to be feared, and that this vast country,

from Lake Superior to the Red River of the North, was

taken by you from your enemies, and when I first came

among you much of this region was covered with the

bones of the dead. In those days whenever one band was

in danger or in trouble the others were called upon, and

you all helped each other. It was by your common efforts

that you conquered and retained this country, and the

Great Council has thought that you should all participate

in the benefits when it should be sold. Those are the

subjects that occupied the attention of the law-makers.

The other matters were not even considered. They thought

them of too small importance, and it was not the proper

business of those who originated this measure to first

examine into those details. So these matters were never

brought as to the attention of your Great Father, but he

told us in the instructions to listen attentively to every

67a

complaint you might make, and to everything you might

say, and put all down in writing and send it to him.

I am very glad to have heard what you have said in

to those matters. I have never felt at ease—I have

never thought of it that it did not make me unhappy that

the old matter, in which I was the instrument of the

Government, had not been closed to your satisfaction.

When they commenced building the reservoirs I had that

in my mind, and I wrote constantly to your people to

keep quiet and to bear with the ills upon you in hopes

that something would occur by which we could go back

and settle up the old matters together with the new.

Many of my letters are now among you; none of them

are private, and they all speak in the same tone. But, my

friends, the truth is this: You have been so poor that

your entire attention has been given to procuring food

enough to supply your daily wants, so you have not had

time to give to these great questions; consequently, you

have neglected them.

We would not be unwilling to make this a part of the

treaty if we could; but should we do so it must go back

through that long, long road—through both branches of

Congress, through the Interior Department, and then back

to the President, after which appropriations would have

to be made, which might consume a year or two.

We have no advice to give in regard to this. We have

stated to you the plain truth, the facts as they exist, and

it is for your better judgment to decide what to do.

In regard to the reservoirs, you know very well that I

at once wrote to Washington and did everything in my

power to see nothing should be done until a satis-

factory arrangement with you had been made. But in

the making of public improvements no one can stop the

Great Father. Only a few years ago your Great Father

wished to cut a canal through the point of land at the

west end of Lake Superior, at the outlet of the St. Louis

* e

River. The whole State of Wisconsin objected because

it would throw the course of that river over to this side.

They took it to the highest court in the world, the Supreme

Court of the United States, and that court sustained the

you are just as much entitled to the amount as you would

have been had you made an arrangement before the work

was done. This is so plain a case I can not but think

there has been some mistake or some misunderstanding

or you would have been paid long ago.

I believe that it is now your wish that we should ad-

journ until Monday. You may, meantime, think of some-

thing that you wish to ask—your chiefs, braves, or young

men—and we will patiently listen to anything that you

may have to say. We wish to go away leaving you all

satisfied and in a better frame of mind than we found you.

When you act together your action is more effective.

we get a paper from you and know it comes from

all we feel encouraged to work. All you now have to do

is to respect the opinions of each other. Consult together

freely, like men, and while you may differ at first you

will probably agree in the end. I now pronounce the

council adjourned until Monday morning at 9 o'clock.

FOURTH COUNCIL AT LEECH LAKE,

AuGusT 12, 1889.

This council was also held in the open air.

Mr. Rice. The persons you have sclected to speak this

morning will now be heard.

69a

KAY-ME-wun-OUSH. You have, I suppose, been in-

formed that it is hard work for me to speak this morning.

I have a few questions to ask. There were some questions

asked of you yesterday, There is something different that

I wish to ask you this morning.

About the cessions of which we spoke, I do not wish

to refer to that. I wish to begin the subject of the reservoir

dams established which have caused us so much damage.

voir built there has taken away my subsis It has

created not only hard feeling, but hardships also. You

Mr. Rice] have written us to be very careful not to injure

our property—to respect that dam

property. We have done so, but we have, nevertheless,

suffered from that cause. The respect which the Pillager

is the cause of our not saying anything

we were not troublesome.

stipulation in which there was a sum of money named

Meaning the utility fund of $4,000.}

And the Mississippi money that was put on one pile;

There is another thing we wish to mention for the con-

Ar beatae tenets be Gt:

That the Government of the United States, under solemn

treaty, promised to pay the chiefs for their services, a

surplus that came out of the annuity fund.

(This refers to the treaty proclaimed March 20, 1865,

)

70a

I do not utter these words fri , but wish that the

greatest consideration should be paid to them.

matter of great interest to us; and we present it

we respect you and know that you are an honest

for us; because you pity us, and because of the

you occupy as a representative of the Government.

is all I have to say. I will leave the matter to be discussed

further by the braves and young men.

MAY-COD-AY-WE-CO-NOY-AY. I wish to say,

of the band, what I was told. A man will speak

IE

:

*

i

5

:

5

f

=

si

2

:

:

|

5

-

Cy

5 88 8

SONG-GE-GE-SHIG. I have an apology to

unprepared with my remarks, except in

8

:

F

2

8

E

5

ö

fi

5

|

4

5

1

2 K

1

i

8

i

reel

FF

N

if

1

5

i

4

i

ö

75

7

BF

if

gf |

2

j

:

i

i

2

£

8

i

11

:

A}

& =

71a

do so as a unit, and if they conclude not to accept it, it

will as a unit be rejected. I am speaking to you so that

if you do not see me over there you will know I have done

what I was hired to do. I am one of the Cass Lake chiefs

but I am living here.

MAH-GE-GAH-BOW. I have been selected by the chiefs

and the braves have also selected me, and the young men

also selected me, our women and children selected me.

My friend, it is to lay before you what engrosses our whole

mind that I address you.

fathers who made all those negotiations, have always said

that time )

lay before him these matters, so that he can explain to us

all about it, and as to which we are so anxious. So you

see, my friend, that you are the person who made this

know all about it. It was at that time, in 1855,

72a

144% ame ie od Fe

14177 b 1 121140

1332 atl 115 23123211155

nme 1111 7144211715 fig elds

2411 He ane at

nH 1 Pe ae 1745145

siete 4 4 4 1 1 J 4

s He 132125 TH 72 pata 52 8

1 1137 a 1 HE 11 +

41111 11. 122155 2547 AE 1112115 1

breil 11117175 ib 127711 25 827742715

11 11 EE i rae

79513 1 ETE 1 f ane

445 ize 2 * 1337 3% fg if 123155

115 HTP 124127 i 17711222

AY 1711 5 ir Tt TATE BLL

l 11 11 HITE

1 i

Jedi iii

i bau

74a

like you hiring this secretary; we have no business to say

that you must not hire him, and that is the way we feel

about the man we have hired.

At the time, my friend, that you borrowed that land

from the Pillagers, who were our fathers? It may be that

I was not born then, but I have heard all about it. It was

this year forty-two years ago since you entered into that

agreement with our fathers. That is the first thing.

It is going on thirty-five years that the other cession

was made, in which the old men here ceded the other land

to the Government. The arrangement made for thirty

years is now passed by, and that was the number of years

for which the Pillagers were to receive payment for the

land they ceded.

Twenty-two years ago there was an arrangement made

by which the Pillagers should receive pay, extending their

annuities ten years longer than the time stipulated in the

treaty. Those two men who were there at Washington at

the time stated that the land on the other side here [indi-

cating] was given back to the Pillager bands.

At the time of the raid which the Mississippi Indians

got up against the Government there was a sum of money,

$16,000, which was taken from us and paid on account

of the depredations committed in that raid, when we had

nothing to do with it. It was none of our getting up;

only a few of our men as individuals joined in; yet we

iE

175

if

11

E

*

;

Bs

|

:

12175 ft,

36: 125

: jie

a 4

c 8 2

ee Fs

ti

:

i

:

E

110

122

:

3

.

:

L

A

rE

t

Boe

i

memento.

The paper handed Mr. Rice read as follows:

St. PAUL, October 4, 1880.

The following statement is made at the request of Flat

Mouth, chief of the Pillager Indians.

76a

at war. The old men thought by having the region th

occupied peace would follow; hence their consent to yield

to the request of the Government.

HENRY M. Rice,

One of the Comnaissioners.

77a

It was not long after Flat Mouth was in Washington

that there came a change in the administration, and then,

or soon after, came the great war, when everything else

the great debt incurred, taking care

blacks who were thrown upon our hands; of the widows

and orphans of the soldiers killed in battle, and of the

to your Great Father, but of great importance to you,

should have been laid aside or overlooked.

In regard to the reservoirs, your Great Father has not

said that he did not owe you damages. He has sent two

commissioners here to consult with you and ascertain

the amount that shall be paid. The commission of three

years ago also took the matter into consideration.

It was said by one of your speakers that you wished

us to do nothing here, but to pass on to the next band,

and it may be better to make no arrangement here, but

to go home, because it would not look well if we left

behind us a stream unbridged. In regard to many other

matters, some of which Sturgeon Man has referred to,

as to the non-fulfillment of the treaties, we can not give

you an answer without first examining into the question.

But these are matters which are properly brought before

your agent, who has the books showing the money paid

and the cattle furnished. I know you brought these mat-

ters before your former agents, and that, as it were, your

words were blown away by the wind. The reason was

78a

that they did not understand business matters, but

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Amicus Curiae Brief — Cass County v. Leech Lake Band of Chippewa Indians · 524 U.S. 103 | Frix