Amicus Curiae Brief — Bragdon v. Abbott

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

2

*

2

2

7

8

¥

rn

—

*

No. 97-156

—— ©

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

RANDON BRAGDON, PETITIONER

U.

SIDNEY ABBOTT, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENTS

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General

BILL LANN LEE

Acting Assistant Attorney

General

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE

Deputy Solicitor General

JAMES A. FELDMAN

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

JESSICA DUNSAY SILVER

THOMAS E. CHANDLER

Attorneys

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530-0001

(202) 514-2217

4 V"

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether reproduction is a “major life activitſy]“

under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 42

U.S.C. 12101 et seq.

2. Whether asymptomatic individuals infected with

HIV are per se disabled within the meaning of the ADA.

3. Whether courts must defer to a dentist’s profes-

sional judgment in determining whether performing a

routine dental procedure on a patient infected with HIV

poses a direct threat to the health or safety of that dentist

or others, under 42 U.S.C. 12182(b)(3).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

11

. a

Argument:

I. Asymptomatic HIV infection is a “disability”

under the Americans with Disabilities Act ......

A. Reproduction is a “major life activity”

e

B. HIV infection substantially limits“

respondent's major life activity of

SEE b

Il. An asymptomatic HIV-infected patient does

not pose a “direct threat” to dental health

care workers following universal precautions

when performing routine dental care

. SS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

American Dental Ass'n v. Martin, 984 F 2d 823

(7th Cir), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 859 (1993) ..........

Anderson v. Gus Mayer Boston Store, 924

F. Supp. 763 (E.D. Tex. 100)

Austin v. Pennsylvania Dep't of Corrections, 876

F. Supp. 1437 (E. D. Pa. 1998) . .

Baxter v. City of Belleville, 720 F. Supp. 720

.

Berk v. Bates Advertising USA, Inc., No. 94 Civ.

9140 (CSH), 1997 WL 749386 S. D. N. V. Dee. 3,

111 ——————————ů ů—ů—

(III)

10

11

16

F St

15

IV

Cases—Continued:

Bielicki v. City of Chicago, No. 97 C 1471, 1997

WL 260595 (N.D. Ill. May 8, 1997) .....

Bradley v. University of Texas M D. Anderson

Cancer Ctr., 3 F.3d 922 (5th (iw 1993), cert.

denied, 510 U.S. 1119 (1990 . . .

Cain v. Hyatt, 734 F. Supp. 671 (E. D. Pa.

ä ͤ¶ —— —

Chalk v. United States Dist. Ct., 840 F. 2d 701

n . 0. —

Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources

Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) ............

Cortes v. Me Donald's Corp., 955 F. Supp. 541

Ii ie lie ed

Doe v. District of Columbia, 796 F. Supp. 559

. .

Doe v. Garrett, 903 F. 2d 1455 (11th Cir. 1990),

cert. denied, 499 U.S. 904 (1991) .

Doe v. Kohn, Nast & Graf, P.C., 862 F. Supp.

i

Doe v. University f Maryland Med. Sys Corp.,

50 F.3d 1261 (4th Cir. 1995) . . . .

Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972) ..............

Ennis v. National Ass'n of Bus. & Educ. Radio,

Inc., 53 F.3d 55 (4th Cir. 1995)

Erickson v. Board of Governors, 911 F. Supp.

SOS GC. TE, TD .

Gates v. Rowland, 39 F.3d 1439 (9th Cir.

— ͥ —

962 —— — 0 60

Hernandez v. Prudential Ins. Co., 977 F. Supp.

L ncnsscnnenccttnbetpnisiinunistecsenspescsces

Hoepfl v. Barlow, 906 F. Supp. 317 (E. D. Va.

112ü——.—

Krauel v. lowa Methodist Medical Ctr., 915 F.

Supp. 102 (S. D. Iowa 1995), aff d, 95 F.3d 674

ü 2

V

Cases Continued: Page

Leckelt v. Board of Comm vs of Hosp. Dist. No. 1,

714 F. Supp. 1377 (E.D. La. 1989), aff d, 909

Renee 19, 29

Me Wright v. Alexander, 982 F.2d 222 (7th Cir.

— ͤ ͤꝶͤ V lai a 15

Pacourek v. Inland Steel Co., 916 F. Supp. 797

„... 13. 15

Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833

—ʃ 0 3 V 8. 12

Ray v. School Dist. of Desoto County, 666

F. Supp. 1524 (M.D. Fla. 1987) . . . . . . 19

Rivera v. Heyman, No. 96 Civ. 4489 (PKL), 1997

WL 620837 (S. D. N. V. Oct. 7, 1997) . . 15

Runnebaum v. Nationsbank of Maryland, 123

een 15, 23

School Bd. of Nassau County v. Arline, 480

ST 14, 15, 18, 24, 25, 29

Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535 (1942) 12

Soodman v. Wildman, Harrold, Allen & Dixon,

No. 95 C 3834, 1997 WL 106257 (N. D. III. Feb. 10,

— b ͤ—— aitinaet in 15

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) 12

State v. Clausen, 491 N.W.2d 662 (Minn. Ct.

SE TD cdenceranatscaestnategtenecintnthitbitedtsiartsnesibininie 17

Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc., 130 F.3d 893

„rr 18

Thomas v. Atascadero Unified Sch. Dist., 662

FP. Sapp. S76 (C.D. Cal. ehh. ee 15, 19

United States v. Board of Comm'rs, 435 U.S. 110

— —kͤ tal ie, 22

United States v. Castle, No. H-93-3140 (S.D.

3 PR eee 1

United States v. Morvant, 898 F. Supp. 1157

r 1

Zatarain v. WDSU-Television, Inc., 881 F. Supp.

240 (E. D. La. 1995), aff’d, 79 F.3d 1143 (5th Cir.

— EFTTA a Ue oe Oe 15

VI

Statutes and regulations: Page

Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. 12101

C6 BBG. carccrerecisnasressetentnsdaintcortnsecsocousenccnesecceceuveseuters 1,2

RR Oe een 18

CLI 2 5, la

II 33öÜ— 1 10

CIE cmbichattiestnvintbidietinnsdiscibiie 11. 23

Americans with Disabilities Act, Tit. III, 42 U.S.C.

00000 —— 4

r e e 4

II ED cthicchedlciiiesennntttsiittinmdttitiietizes 10

I ³ 6, 24, 29

fl ee 2, 10, la

I ceteenhienesviiictinenintadiindecetaintiedons 1

Rehabilitation Act Amendments of 1974, Pub. L.

No. 93-516, § 111, 88 Stat. 1619, 29 U.S.C. 706 ...... 19

28 C. F. R.:

Pt. 36:

. 2, 5, 12, 13, 1a

. ccscciciticintincciininineiantananatigiihinn 10

.. ee 11

. 2, Za

DK . 3a

. ⸗!... 3a

1 KKK 7, 25, 28, 4a

5 2. 4a

F ·[((T re 16, 17, 18, 21, 23

J h 24. 25

29 C. F. R.:

Section 1630 App

JJ 18

II.... 3

Gore. es 13

Miscellaneous:

Myron S. Cohen, HIV and Sexually Transmitted

Diseases, 98 Postgraduate Medicine 52 (1995) ....... 17

Vil

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

H.R. Rep. No. 485, 101st Cong., 2d Sess. (1990):

— ̃ —̃ p ꝛ ͤ ͤ ñ U 21, 23, 24, 25

—A ͤ—— Ä 21, 24, 25

Memorandum from Douglas W. Kmiec, Acting

Assistant Attorney General, Office of Legal

Counsel, to Arthur B. Culvahouse, Jr., Counsel

to the President (Sept. 27, 1988), reprinted

in Americans with Disabilities Act of 1989:

Hearings on S. 933 Before the Senate Comm.

on Labor and Human Resources, 101st Cong.,

(% —0̃ oi 19-20

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-156

RANDON BRAGDON, PETITIONER

Uz

SIDNEY ABBOTT, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENTS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case raises important questions regarding the ap-

plication of the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C.

12101 et seg. (ADA), to individuals infected with the Hu-

man Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV). The Attorney Gen-

eral has statutory authority to enforce the ADA’s public

accommodations provisions, see 42 U.S.C. 12188(b), pursu-

ant to which the United States has brought two lawsuits

seeking to apply the ADA in circumstances virtually iden-

tical to those present here. The Department of Justice

has also issued extensive regulations and interpretive

guidance concerning two of the key provisions at issue in

this case: the definition of the term “disability” and the

proper application of the “direct threat” exception under

See United States v. Castle, No. H-93-3140 (S.D. Tex.) (consent

decree dated Sept. 22, 1994); United States v. Morvant, 898 F. Supp.

1157 (E.D. La. 1995) (summary judgment for the United States).

(1)

2

the ADA. See 42 U.S.C. 12186(b); 28 C.F.R. 36.104, 36.208;

28 C.F.R. Pt. 36 App. B.

The United States has additional interests in this case.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

have issued recommended infection control practices for

dentistry, which have been largely incorporated in an Oc-

cupational Safety and Health Administration rule

regarding exposure to bloodborne pathogens. See gener-

ally American Dental Ass’n v. Martin, 984 F.2d 823 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 859 (1993). Moreover, the then-

Director of the CDC’s Division on Oral Health testified in

this case to the CDC’s position that persons infected with

HIV may be safely treated in a private dental office if uni-

versal precautions are employed. The United States has a

substantial interest in the deference to be accorded to

those judgments. For all these reasons, the United States

participated in this case as amicus curiae in both the dis-

trict court and the court of appeals.

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

The relevant portions of the Americans with Disabili-

ties Act, 42 U.S.C. 12101 et seg., and of the regulations

promulgated by the Attorney General pursuant to the Act

are reproduced at Appendix, infra, la-8a.

STATEMENT

Petitioner is a dentist with a practice in Bangor, Maine.

This case arises from his refusal to provide routine dental

treatment to respondent Sidney Abbott, solely because Ms.

Abbott is infected with the Human Immunodeficiency

Virus (HIV).

1. HIV is the virus that causes Acquired Immune De-

ficiency Syndrome (AIDS). Pet. App. 3la. “People ex-

posed to HIV may contract the virus, and if so, will develop

HIV antibodies and become HIV positive.” Ibid. HIV dis-

3

ease compromises the body’s immune system and normally

leads to opportunistic infections, malignancies, and ulti-

mately death. But these symptoms do not appear all at

once. In fact, “[iJndividuals may carry HIV for several

years without manifesting the collection of symptoms

known as AIDS.” Jbid. Persons with such “asympto-

matie” HIV remain infectious, however. And, even during

the “asymptomatic” period, the HIV virus continues to

multiply and “create[] abnormalities in [their] blood and

lymphatic systems. Id. at 32a. HIV may be transmitted

by intimate sexual contact with an infected person, by

invasive exposure to infected blood, or from mother to

child during pregnancy, birth, or breast feeding. J.A. 87,

103. Persons cannot contract HIV through casual contact

with an infected individual. J.A. 103.

Both the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

(CDC) and the Occupational Safety and Health Admini-

stration (OSHA) have addressed the question of how HIV-

infected patients may be safely treated in dental offices.

The CDC issued Recommended Infection-Control Prac-

tices for Dentistry in 1986 and revised recommendations

in 1993. Pet. App. 18la-199a. It also issued Recommenda-

tions for the Prevention of HIV Transmission in Health

Care Settings, including dentistry, in 1987. R. 53, Exh. 17.

And OSHA issued a final rule on Occupational Exposure to

Bloodborne Pathogens in 1991. 29 C.F.R. 1910.1030. Be-

cause health care workers cannot know with certainty

whether they are treating an infectious patient, those

guidelines dictate the use of “universal precautions“

infection control procedures under which every patient is

treated as if the patient carries an infectious bloodborne

pathogen (such as HIV or Hepatitis B). Pet. App. 183a;

J.A. 88, 103-104. The procedures include protective attire

and barrier techniques such as gloves, gowns, protective

eyewear, surgical masks and/or face shields; proper ster-

ilization of all dental instruments, including heat sterili-

4

zation of dental handpieces after each use; and proper

disinfection of the dental unit and operatory surfaces. Pet.

App. 185a-199a; J. A. 88-89, 103-105.

2. Respondent Abbott tested positive for HIV antibod-

ies in 1986; she was, however, “asymptomatic” at that time

and remained so at least until the time of the district

court’s judgment in 1995. Pet. App. 3la-32a. In September

1994, she arrived at petitioner’s dental office for a pre-

scheduled appointment. Id. at 3a. At the office, respondent

was asked to fill out a medical questionnaire. She

disclosed on that form that she had tested positive for

HIV. Ibid.; see J.A. 48-51. After petitioner examined re-

spondent and concluded that she had a cavity, he informed

her that “pursuant to his infectious disease policy, he

would not fill her cavity in his office.” Pet. App. 3a. He

stated that his policy was to treat people with infectious

diseases in a hospital setting, although at that time he in

fact did not have admitting privileges at any hospital and

had never inquired about obtaining such privileges at any

hospital. J.A.31. Petitioner offered to treat respondent at

a hospital at his regular fee, but informed her that she

would have to pay “whatever the hospital charged for the

use of its facilities.” Pet. App. 3a. Respondent refused the

offer. Ibid.

3. Respondent then filed this action, alleging that peti-

tioner had violated Title III of the Americans with Dis-

abilities Act, 42 U.S.C. 12181 et seg. (ADA), which prohib-

its public accommodations from discriminating on the ba-

sis of disability. See 42 U.S.C. 12182. The parties filed

cross-motions for summary judgment on the issues of li-

ability and the ADA’s constitutionality. The district

court granted respondent’s motion for summary judgment

and denied petitioner’s. Pet. App. 3la-65a.”

2 The United States intervened in the district court to defend the

constitutionality of the ADA and also participated as amicus curiae

5

Under the ADA, the term ‘disability’ means, with re-

spect to an individual * a physical or mental impair-

ment that substantially limits one or more of the major

life activities of such individual.” 42 U.S.C. 12102(2). The

court held that respondent was disabled under that defini-

tion. Relying in part on regulations promulgated by the

Department of Justice, see 28 C.F.R. 36.104, the district

court concluded “that asymptomatic HIV constitutes a

physical impairment for the purposes of the ADA.” Pet.

App. 35a. The court also concluded that “[(rjeproduction,

one of the most fundamental of human activities, must

constitute a major life activity.” Id. at 37a. And the court

found that respondent’s HIV infection “substantially lim-

its” that major life activity. Jd. at 40a. That is because

“an HIV positive mother runs the risk of infecting her

child, during pregnancy, through childbirth or, if she

chooses to do so, through breast feeding,” and because re-

spondent’s HIV infection, by severely limiting her life ex-

pectancy, would likely limit her ability to engage in “the

process of caring for and raising a child.” Ibid. The court

also noted respondent’s “fear of harm to her immune sys-

tem.” Ibid.

Petitioner claimed that, even if respondent was disabled,

he need not provide her with the needed dental treatment

because such treatment would have posed a “direct threat”

regarding other issues in the case. The district court ultimately

granted summary judgment to Abbott with regard to petitioner’s con-

stitutional challenges to the application of the ADA, see Pet. App. 54a-

62a, and petitioner did not renew those claims on appeal. The United

States continued to participate as amicus curiae in the court of appeals

with regard to the remaining, nonconstitutional issues in the case.

After Abbott amended her complaint to include a claim under the

Maine Human Rights Act, the Maine Human Rights Commission in-

tervened as a plaintiff. R. 14, 23. The district court found that peti-

tioner’s conduct violated the Maine Human Rights Act for the same

reasons that it violated the ADA. Pet. App. 52a-54a.

6

to himself or others under 42 U.S.C. 12182(b)(3), which

provides that one who furnishes services need not “permit

an individual to participate in or benefit from [the pro-

vider’s] services * * * where such individual poses a di-

rect threat to the health or safety of others.” 42 U.S.C.

12182(b\(3). The term “direct threat” is defined in the

ADA as “a significant risk to the health or safety of oth-

ers that cannot be eliminated by a modification of policies,

practices, or procedures or by the provision of auxiliary

aids or services.” Jbid. The district court held that

“treatment of [respondent] in [petitioner’s] office poses no

direct threat to the health or safety of others.” Pet. App.

5la-52a. Characterizing petitioner’s evidence on this point

as “conjecture”, the court based its decision on “the cur-

rent state of medical knowledge, deferſring] to the

reasonable medical judgments of public health officials.”

Id. at 45a.

4. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. la-30a. The

court held “unhesitatingly that HIV-positive status, sim-

pliciter, whether symptomatic or asymptomatic, com-

prises a physical impairment under the ADA.” Id. at ba.

The court also held that reproduction is a “major life ac-

tivity.” The court explained that the “plain meaning of the

word ‘major’ denotes comparative importance,” and that

“reproduction, which is both the source of all life and one

of life’s most important activities, easily qualifies under

that criterion” as a major life activity. Jd. at 8a. The

court rejected petitioner’s arguments that “an activity

must be performed either frequently or universally before

it can be classified as a major life activity.” Jd. at 10a. The

court also noted that even if it assumed, favorably to peti-

tioner, that respondent had to show that reproduction is a

major life activity for her, see id. at 12a, “a fact finder

could reach no conclusion other than that reproduction, if

a major life activity at all, constitutes such for [respon-

dent],” id. at 13a.

7

The court agreed with the district court that respon-

dent’s HIV infection “substantially limits” the major life

activity of reproduction. The court noted that petitioner

conceded “that an HIV-positive pregnant woman faces an

approximately 25% risk of transmitting the virus to her

child without AZT therapy and an 8% risk of viral trans-

mission with such therapy.” Pet. App. 14a. The court

ruled that “[nJo reasonable juror could conclude that an

8% risk of passing an incurable, debilitating, and inevita-

bly fatal disease to one’s child is not a substantial restric-

tion on reproductive activity.” Ibid. The court further

noted that “even if [respondent] gives birth to a healthy

child, she probably will not live long enough to complete

the task of raising the child to adulthood.” Jd. at 15a. The

court therefore held that “HIV-positive status is a physi-

cal impairment that substantially limits a fecund woman’s

major life activity of reproduction,” and that respondent is

therefore “disabled” under the ADA. Ibid.

Finally, the court rejected petitioner’s argument that

providing routine dental treatment to respondent would

pose a “direct threat” to himself or others. Relying in

part on Department of Justice regulations, see 28 C.F.R.

36.208(c), the court noted that the presence or absence of a

direct threat must be determined with respect to “an ob-

jective standard featuring the best evidence available at

the time [the provider] refuse[s] to render treatment to

disabled persons.” Pet. App. 18a. The court held that the

ADA requires “giv{ing] prima facie force to the views of

public health authorities,” while permitlting] a service

provider to challenge those views based on contrary, prop-

erly supported opinions voiced by other recognized experts

in the field.” Jd. at 21a. The court found that respondent

had produced “competent evidence of reasonable medical

judgments by public health officials, not contradicted by

other public health authorities” that providing routine

dental care to her “in an office environment does not pose a

8

direct threat to the dentist’s health.” Jd. at 24a. The

court ruled that each item of petitioner’s evidence to the

contrary “is too speculative or too tangential (or, in some

instances, both) to create a genuine issue of material fact.”

Id. at 29a. In addition, the court concluded that, even taken

together, petitioner’s evidentiary proffers “are likeWise

insufficient * * * to call into legitimate question the

lower court’s entry of summary judgment.” Ibid.

5. On November 26, 1997, this Court granted review

limited to the first three questions presented in the peti-

tion for certiorari.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Respondent, who is infected with the HIV virus, has a

“disability” covered by the ADA. There can be little dis-

pute with the clear medical evidence that infection with

the HIV virus constitutes an “impairment,” from the time

the virus enters the body and begins to attack the blood

and lymphatic systems. Thus, HIV infection is a disabil-

ity if that impairment “substantially limits” respondent in

the conduct of a “major life activity.” The court of appeals

correctly held that it does.

Reproduction is a “major life activity.” Congress’s use

of the term “major” requires an assessment of the relative

significance or importance of an activity in human life. As

the court of appeals held, the complex of activities consti-

tuting reproduction—including conception, birth, and

child-rearing—is one of the most significant activities in

which human beings engage. This Court has recognized

that choices about whether to bear or beget children are

“central to personal dignity and autonomy.” Planned

Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833, 851 (1992). While re-

production is not universal and is not engaged in with the

same frequency as walking or breathing, it is the source of

all human life and is indispensable to its perpetuation. For

9

all these reasons, it is a “major life activity” for human

beings.

The ADA requires only that an impairment “substan-

tially limit”—not entirely eliminate all possibility of

engaging in—a major life activity. The court of appeals

therefore correctly held that respondent’s HIV infection

substantially limits the major life activity of reproduction.

The infection limits the conditions and manner under

which she can become pregnant, because it makes unpro-

tected intimate sexual relations life-threatening for her

partner. The infection also would threaten the life of a

child, since it can be passed from mother to child before or

during birth or during breastfeeding. Finally, the infec-

tion limits reproduction—and other major life activities as

well—by drastically shortening respondent’s life expec-

tancy and thereby limiting the likely duration of her

ability to engage in childrearing.

The holding that HIV-positive individuals are covered

under the ADA is compelled not only by the statutory

text, but also by the statute’s legislative history and ad-

ministrative interpretations. The definition of “disabil-

ity” is derived virtually verbatim from the Rehabilitation

Act. That Act had been construed by both courts and the

Department of Justice to cover asymptomatic HIV-

positive individuals. When Congress chose to adopt the

Rehabilitation Act coverage formula in the ADA, it was

well aware of the results that had been reached under the

Rehabilitation Act, and the committee reports expressly

endorsed those results and approved similar coverage for

HIV-positive individuals under the ADA.

The court uf appeals also correctly held that an asymp-

tomatic HIV-positive patient does not pose a direct threat

to dental health care workers performing routine dental

work. The Centers for Disease Control and numerous

other professional organizations have concluded that, be-

cause a dental worker can never be certain whether a

10

given patient is a carrier of bloodborne or infectious dis-

eases, universal precautions protecting against infection

should be followed during all dental work. Those same or-

ganizations have concluded that, if such precautions are

followed, it is safe to perform routine dental procedures on

HIV-positive individuals. Such reasonable medical judg-

ments, reached by those entrusted with the public health,

are entitled to substantial deference. To rebut those

judgments, petitioner was able to offer only unsupported

conjectures and hypotheses. Accordingly, the court of ap-

peals correctly held that performing routine dental work

on respondent would not have posed a direct threat to peti-

tioner or others.

ARGUMENT

I. ASYMPTOMATIC HIV INFECTION IS A “DIS-

ABILITY” UNDER THE AMERICANS WITH

DISABILITIES ACT

An individual has a “disability” for purposes of the

Americans With Disabilities Act if she has “a physical or

mental impairment that substantially limits one or more

of her] major life activities.” 42 U.S.C. 12102(2)A). HIV

infection clearly constitutes a physical “impairment,” for

it is a “physiological disorder or condition” that affects,

among others, the “hemic and lymphatic” system. 28

C.F.R. 36.104 (definition of “disability,” subpart (1)(i)).°

Under 42 U.S.C. 12186(b), Congress required that “the Attorney

General * * * issue regulations * * * to carry out the provisions of

[Title III of the ADA).” Although the definition of “disability” is not in

Title III. the definition does expressly apply to “this chapter,” which

includes Title III, and the definition is essential in construing and ad-

ministering Title III. See, e.g.,42 U.S.C. 12182(a) (“No individual shall

be discriminated against on the basis of disability in [public accommo-

dations}.”) (emphasis added). Accordingly, the Department of Justice

regulations are entitled to deference under Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v.

Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 842-843 (1984).

11

Department of Justice regulations implementing Title III

of the ADA specifically list HIV disease (whether symp-

tomatic or asymptomatic)” as an example of an “impair-

ment.” Ibid. (definition of “disability,” subpart (1)(iii)).

See App., infra, 3a. The court of appeals noted that peti-

tioner “does not seriously advocate an antithetical view,”

and held “unhesitatingly” that the status of being HIV-

positive, “whether symptomatic or asymptomatic, com-

prises a physical impairment under the ADA.” Pet. App.

6a (also citing cases). See also J.A. 55 (affidavit describing

“abnormalities” present in asymptomatic HIV infected

person).

The Department of Justice has also long taken the posi-

tion that asymptomatic HIV infection is a disability under

the ADA, either because it “substantially limits a major

life activity] of infected individuals or because the reac-

tions of others to infected individuals cause such individu-

als to be treated as though they are disabled under the

“regarded as” prong of the ADA’s definition of “disabil-

ity,” 42 U.S.C. 12102(2)(C). See pp. 19-21 & n.12 infra; see

also nn. 7, 16, infra. In this case, however, the courts be-

low did not reach any question concerning major life

activities other than reproduction that are limited by the

HIV infection, and they did not address the “regarded as”

test for disability. Both courts instead merely held that

respondent’s asymptomatic HIV infection substantially

limits respondent’s major life activity of reproduction.

For the reasons given below, that conclusion should be

affirmed.

A. Reproduction Is A “Major Life Activity” Under

The ADA

I. a. The court of appeals correctly held that reproduc-

tion is a “major life activity under the ADA. Dictionary

definitions, thoroughly canvassed by the court of appeals,

uniformly make clear that the plain meaning of the

12

word ‘major’ denotes comparative importance” and that

“the touchstone for determining an activity’s inclusion

under the statutory rubric [‘major life activities’] is its

significance.” Pet. App. 8a. As the court noted, “reproduc-

tion, which is both the source of all life and one of life’s

most important activities, easily qualifies under that

criterion.” Ibid. Indeed, petitioner concedes (Br. 34) that

“(oJbviously activities such as having sex, giving birth,

changing diapers, and loving and educating one’s children

are activities of paramount importance to many Americans

and in that sense are major life activities.”

This Court’s decisions have made clear the significance

of reproduction in human life. Reproduction involves not

only the act of conception, but also the physical processes

facilitating conception, the ability to engage in sexual ac-

tivity leading to conception without endangering oneself

or one’s partner, and the child-rearing and nurturing rela-

tionship following conception. “Our society has long rec-

ognized the fundamental importance of each element of

this cluster of activities.” Pet. App. 7a. The “decision

whether to bear or beget a child,” Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405

U.S. 438, 453 (1972), involves the most intimate and per-

sonal choices a person may make in a lifetime, choices

central to personal dignity and autonomy.” Planned Par-

enthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833, 851 (1992). Indeed, repro-

duction has been recognized as “one of the basic civil

rights of man.” Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535, 541

(1942). The interests in raising one’s children are simi-

larly deep-rooted, see Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 651

(1972), and decisions relating to procreation, reproduction,

and childrearing are constitutionally protected. Planned

Parenthood, 505 U.S. at 851.

The applicable regulations also support the conclusion

that reproduction is a major life activity. Under Section

36.104, t he phrase major life activities means functions

such as caring for one’s self, performing manual tasks,

13

walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning,

and working.“ As tiv wording of the regulation makes

clear, that list is not exhaustive, but rather was intended

to elucidate just how important an activity must be in or-

der to be regarded as “major.” Reproduction is clearly as

important as many of the activities on that list, and there-

fore “fits comfortably within” the sweep of the regulation.

Pet. App. 9a. Indeed, the same regulation defines “physical

* * * impairment” to include Jalny physiological disor-

der or condition * * * affecting [the] reproductive

[system].” 28 C. F. R. 36.104. To inquire whether a physio-

logical disorder impairs the reproductive system is logi-

cally equivalent to asking whether it affects reproduction.

Hence, if even a substantial limitation on reproduction

were not covered under the ADA because reproduction is

not a major life activity, then including reproductive dis-

orders as “impais:2ents” under the ADA would be entirely

inefficacious; such impairments could never be relevant to

a finding of disability under the ADA. Therefore, the

regulation plainly contemplates that reproduction is a ma-

jor life activity. See Pet. App. 9a; Pacourek v. Inland

Steel Co., 916 F. Supp. 797, 801-802 (N.D. Ill. 1996).

b. Petitioner argues (Br. 14) that “the focus of the

ADA is on public, not private family life,” and (Br. 29) that

Congress in enacting the ADA was not “contemplating

the obstacles faced by persons suffering from reproductive

disorders, such as impotence and infertility.” Congress,

however, chose to use the term “major life activities” in

the ADA, not some other term—such as “economically

significant activities” or “activities in public life“ that

would have been more susceptible to the construction peti-

tioner urges. And, of course, the focus of the Act’s protec-

This list is drawn from the regulations issued under the Rehabili-

tation Act of 1973. See 45 C. F. R. S4. 30% i) (defining major life ac-

tivities).

14

tions remains on discrimination encountered in public life,

rather than in private family life. For some categories of

reproductive disorders, there may be little basis for con-

cern that individuals with those disorders will suffer dis-

crimination. In cases in which individuals with such dis-

orders do suffer discrimination—as, for example, when the

disorders are caused by an infectious agent and others re-

act irrationally to fear of contagion—protection under the

ADA fits well within the letter and purposes of the stat-

ute.

This Court in School Board of Nassau County v. Ar-

line, 480 U.S. 273 (1987), rejected an argument analogous

to that which petitioner advances here. Arline was de-

cided under the Rehabilitation Act, which defined covered

(“handicapped”) individuals in terms virtually identical to

the definition of covered individuals (using the term

“disability” instead) in the ADA. See 480 U.S. at 279. The

plaintiff in that case was covered because she suffered

from tuberculosis, a disease that in acute form substan-

tially limited her respiratory system, i. e., the “major life

activity” of breathing. See id. at 281. Just as in this case,

however, the plaintiff did not suffer discrimination because

that major life activity was impaired. Instead, again as in

this case, the plaintiff suffered discrimination because the

defendant feared (irrationally) that the plaintiff's impair-

ment would be contagious. This Court held that such dis-

crimination was within the ambit of the Rehabilitation

Act: “Allowing discrimination based on the contagious

effects of a physical impairment would be inconsistent

with the basic purpose of § 504, which is to ensure that

handicapped individuals are not denied jobs or other bene-

5 See 480 U.S. at 281 n.6 (noting defendant’s argument that adverse

action was taken against plaintiff “not because of her diminished physi-

cal capabilities, but because of the threat that her relapses of tuberculo-

sis posed to the health of others”).

15

fits because of the prejudiced attitudes or the ignorance of

others.” 480 U.S. at 284. The same conclusion follows

here.

e. Petitioner also contends (Br. 36) “that reproductive

activities, for human beings, are largely moral and life-

style choices, in contrast to walking, seeing, hearing,

speaking, and breathing.” For similar reasons, two dis-

trict courts have held that reproduction is not a major life

activity because it is not undertaken with the frequency of

activities such as eating, walking, and breathing, and

because not all people choose to do it. See Krauel v. lowa

Methodist Medical Ctr., 915 F. Supp. 102, 106 (S.D. Iowa

1995), aff'd, 95 F.3d 674 (8th Cir. 1996); Zatarain v. WDSU-

Television, Inc., 881 F. Supp. 240, 243 (E.D. La. 1995), aff'd

mem., 79 F.3d 1143 (5th Cir. 1996).°

6 The vast majority of courts that have reached the issue have con-

cluded that reproduction is a major life activity. See, eg., Berk v.

Bates Advertising USA, Inc., 1997 WL 749386, at *5 n.3 (S.D.N.Y. Dec.

8, 1997); Hernandez v. Prudential Ins. Co., 977 F. Supp. 1160, 1164

(M.D. Fla. 1997); Bielicki v. City of Chicago, 1997 WL 260595, at *3

(N. D. Ill. May 8, 1997); Soodman v. Wildman, Harrold, Allen & Dixon,

1997 WL 106257, at *5 (N.D. Ill. Feb. 10, 1997); Pacowrek v. Inland

Steel Co., 916 F. Supp. 797, 801-804 (N. D. Ill. 1996); Erickson v. Board

of Governors, 911 F. Supp. 316, 320-823 (N. D. III. 1995); Dee v. Kohn,

Nast & Graf, P. C., 862 F. Supp. 1310, 1318-1321 (E.D. Pa. 1994); see also

Me Wright v. Alexander, 982 F.2d 222, 226-227 (7th Cir. 1992) (under

Rehabilitation Act); Rivera v. Heyman, 1997 WL 620887 (S.D.N.Y. Oct.

7, 1997) (under Rehabilitation Act); Doe v. District of Columbia, 796 F.

Supp. 559, 568 (D.D.C. 1992) (under Rehabilitation Act); Thomas v.

Atascadero Unified School Dist ., 662 F. Supp. 376, 379 (C.D. Cal. 1987)

(under Rehabilitation Act); Cain v. Hyatt, 734 F. Supp. 671, 679 (E.D.

Pa. 1990) (construing same language under Pennsylvania Human Rela-

tions Act). Aside from Krauel and Zatarain, the only other court that

has concluded that reproduction is not a major life activity is Cortes v.

Me Donald's Corp., 955 F. Supp. 541, 545-546 (E.D.N.C. 1996). In Run-

nebaum v. Nationsbank of Maryland, 123 F.3d 156 (1997) (en banc), the

Fourth Cireuit recently addressed this issue, but no opinion was joined

16

Petitioner’s contention is mistaken. Initially, insofar

as reproduction includes raising one’s children, it is an

activity that may and often does occupy a large portion of a

parent’s waking life, particularly while the children are

young. In any event, nothing in the statute suggests that

an activity need be undertaken with any particular degree

of frequency or universality in order to be considered

“major.” As the court of appeals noted (Pet. App. 8a), stan-

dard definitions of the term “major” refer to significance

or importance, not frequency or universality. The per-

petuation of human life qualifies. Moreover, the regula-

tions list activities such as “working” or “learning” that

would presumably be viewed as “moral and lifestyle”

choices under petitioner’s cramped definition. For exam-

ple, many people—including the retired, those who choose

to be full-time parents, and those who simply choose not to

work—do not have employment. Nonetheless, even peti-

tioner does not suggest that “working” is not a “major life

activity.”

B. HIV Infection “Substantially Limits” Respondent's

Major Life Activity Of Reproduction

The court of appeals also correctly held that, at least for

fertile women of childbearing age, HIV infection “substan-

tially limits” engaging in the “major life activit{y]” of

reproduction.’ A person is “substantially limit{ed]” in an

by a majority of the judges. See id. at 170-171 (opinion of Williams, J.);

id. at 183-185 (opinion of Michael, J., dissenting).

7 In reviewing the judgments in this case, the Court need not ad-

dress the effects of HIV infection on other major life activities. We

note, however, that because HIV infection is an incurable and invaria-

bly fatal disease, it can be expected to substantially limit not only re-

production, but also many of the infected individual’s other major life

activities. HIV commences a process culminating in debilitating op-

portunistic infections and premature death. J. A. 55, 87. It limits all

major activities by materially restricting the “duration under which”

they can be performed. 28 C.F.R. Pt. 36 App. B, § 36.104, at 611. Even

17

activity if, “in comparison to most people,” she is

“restricted as to the conditions, manner, or duration under

which” she can perform it. 28 C.F.R. Pt. 36 App. B,

§ 36.104, at 610-611. HIV infection limits the activity of

reproduction because the HIV infection substantially lim-

its the physical process of producing a healthy baby, and

because it more generally limits a parent’s ability to care

for and raise the child by drastically limiting the length of

time during which she can do so.“

1. Initially, a fertile woman’s HIV infection limits her

ability to become pregnant. As is by now well known,

AIs jexual contact with exchange of body fluids constitutes

the major risk factor for transmitting or contracting HIV

infection.” J.A. 87. The risk of such exchange can be

greatly reduced by use of a condom.’ Because the condom

long before it results in death, it limits marital choices, career choices

(particularly those that require extensive training), and educa-

tional/learning options (by making long courses of study impractical).

See also State v. Clausen, 491 N.W.2d 662, 666 (Minn. Ct. App. 1992)

(difficulty of obtaining insurance); Anderson v. Gus Mayer Boston

Store, 924 F. Supp. 763, 777 n.37 (E.D. Tex. 1996) (noting difficulty of

travel because HIV-positive individuals “must be always mindful of

exposure to bacterial infection and fungi or even places requiring vac-

cinations”).

8 Petitioner argues (Br. 16-27) that HIV infection is not a “per se”

disability under the ADA. Compare Ennis v. National Ass'n of Bus. &

Educ. Radio, Inc., 53 F.3d 55, 60 (4th Cir. 1995) (ADA requires

individualized proof that HIV-positive status substantially limits a

major life activity). We agree that the statute requires the impairment

to substantially limit the particular plaintiff, as the record establishes

in this case. See Pet. App. 13a. At the same time, however, some im-

pairments substantially limit the major life activities of large classes

of persons—or even of all persons suffering from them. In our view,

HIV-positive status falls within that category.

See generally Myron S. Cohen, HIV and Sexually Transmitted

Diseases, 98 Post graduate Medicine 52, 63 & Table 2 (1995) (compiling

studies dating from 1987-1989 and concluding that “condoms appear to

be very effective in preventing the spread of HIV”).

18

can also be expected to prevent pregnancy, respondent

must take additional and special steps to become pregnant

—steps that most other individuals need not undertake.

Even more significantly, respondent’s HIV infection

substantially limits reproduction because it would pose a

substantial risk to the life of a child. Respondent “faces an

approximately 25% risk of transmitting the virus to her

child without AZT therapy and an 8% risk of viral trans-

mission with such therapy.” Pet. App. 14a.“ Individuals

without HIV infection do not face that risk. As the court

of appeals recognized, Injo reasonable juror could con-

clude that an 8% risk of passing an incurable, debilitating,

and inevitably fatal disease to one’s child is not a substan-

tial restriction on reproductive activity.” Ibid.

HIV also substantially limits reproduction because, as

the court of appeals noted (Pet. App. 15a), respondent

likely would not live long enough to complete the task of

0 In our view, although the result would be the same regardless of

which figure is used in the analysis, the 25% figure is the relevant one.

Under Department of Justice and EEOC regulations, the determination

of whether there is a substantial limitation of a major life activity

“should be assessed without regard to the availability of mitigating

measures, such as reasonable modifications or auxiliary aids and serv-

ices.” 28 C.F.R. Pt. 36 App. B,. § 36.104, at 611 (DOJ regulations); 29

C. F. R. Pt. 1630 App., § 1630.2(j), at 351 (EEOC regulations). Even

when an individual has been able to mitigate his or her disability by

such measures, that individual remains subject to “deprivations based

on prejudice, stereotypes, or unfounded fear.” School Bd. of Nassau

County v. Arline, 480 U.S. at 287. Because Congress intended to com-

bat the use of such “stereotypic assumptions not truly indicative of the

individual ability of [disabled] individuals to participate in, and

contribute to, society,” 42 U.S.C. 12101(a)(7), a narrow interpretation of

the ADA that would withdraw coverage from such individuals would

be inappropriate. The courts of appeals disagree regarding whether

mitigating measures should be taken into account in determining

whether an impairment amounts to a disability. See Sutton v. United

Air Lines, Inc., 130 F.3d 893, 901 & nn.7-8 (10th Cir. 1997) (citing cases).

19

raising a child if she chose to have one. Respondent was a

33-year-old woman at the time petitioner refused to pro-

vide her dental services. See Tr. 52 (deposition of respon-

dent, May 16, 1995). As respondent herself testified, “the

fact that [a] baby probably wouldn’t have a mother after a

while,” Pet. App. 13a, necessarily imposed a severely lim-

iting condition on her reproductive activity.

2. The ADA’s definition of disability“ —ineluding the

term “major life activities“ -was drawn virtually verba-

tim from the definition of the term “handicapped individ-

ual” in the Rehabilitation Act Amendments of 1974, Pub.

L. No. 93-516, § 111, 88 Stat. 1619, 29 U.S.C. 706. At the

time Congress enacted the ADA, the lower courts had uni-

formly construed the Rehabilitation Act to cover asymp-

tomatic HIV-positive individuals." A formal Department

of Justice legal opinion had concluded that the Rehabilita-

tion Act “protects symptomatic and asymptomatic HIV-

infected individuals against discrimination * * * on the

basis of any actual, past or perceived effect of HIV infec-

tion that substantially limits any major life activity.” See

Memorandum from Douglas W. Kmiec, Acting Assistant

Attorney General, Office of Legal Counsel, to Arthur B.

Culvahouse, Jr., Counsel to the President 1-2 (Sept. 27,

u See Doe v. Garrett, 903 F.2d 1455, 1457 (11th Cir. 1990), cert. de-

nied, 499 U.S. 904 (1991); Cain v. Hyatt, 734 F. Supp. 671, 677-678 (E.D.

Pa. 1990) (under P.H.R.A.); Baxter v. City of Belleville, 720 F. Supp.

720 (S.D. Ill. 1989); Thomas v. Atascadero Unified Sch. Dist., 662 F.

Supp. 376 (C.D. Cal. 1987); Ray v. School Dist. of Desoto County, 666 F.

Supp. 1524 (M.D. Fla. 1987). More recent cases under the Rehabilita-

tion Act have agreed. See, e.g., Gates v. Rowland, 39 F.3d 1439, 1446

(9th Cir. 1994); Doe v. District of Columbia, 796 F. Supp. 559, 568

(D. D.C. 1992); Glanz v. Vernick, 756 F. Supp. 632, 635 (D. Mass. .991);

ef. Austin v. Pennsylvania Dep't of Corrections, 876 F. Supp. 1437, 1465

(E.D. Pa. 1995); Leckelt v. Board of Comm'rs of Hosp. Dist. No. 1, 714

F. Supp. 1377, 1385-1386 n. 4 (E.D. La. 1989), aff'd, 909 F.2d 820 (5th

Cir. 1990).

20

1988) (Kmiec Memorandum) (footnote omitted; emphasis

added), reprinted in Americans with Disabilities Act of

1989: Hearings on S. 933 Before the Senate Comm. on La-

bor and Human Resources, 101st Cong., Ist Sess. 338-339

(1989). In reaching that conclusion, the opinion relied in

part on the fact that HIV substantially limits the major

life activity of reproduction (and of intimate sexual rela-

tionships). See Kmiec Memorandum 9-11.” When Con-

2 The Kmiec memorandum stated that “we believe it is likely that

the courts will conclude that asymptomatic HIV-infected individuals

have an impairment that substantially limits certain major life activi-

ties.” Kmiec Memorandum 10. Specifically, the memorandum stated

that “we believe that it is reasonable to conclude that the life activity

of procreation—the fulfillment of the desire to conceive and bear

healthy children—is substantially limited for an asymptomatic HIV-

infected individual.” Jbid. The memorandum also stated that “some

courts can be expected to find a limitation of a major life activity in the

fact that an asymptomatic HIV-infected individual’s intimate relations

are also likely to be affected by HIV infection.” Id. at 11. The memo-

randum noted that it may be argued that the HIV infection has not

affected major life activities of individuals who have not changed their

conduct as a result of the infection, but the memorandum reasoned that

“in any case where the evidence indicates that the plaintiff HIV-in-

fected individual has in fact changed his or her behavior—as, for exam-

ple, where the plaintiff represents that procreation has been foregone—

the court may well find a limitation of major life activity.” Ibid. Fi-

nally, the memorandum noted that “courts may choose to pass over

such factual questions since the Supreme Court has stated an alterna-

tive rationale for finding a life activity limitation based on the reaction

of others to the infection.” Jbid. With respect to that issue, the memo-

randum concluded that “the perceived impairment need not directly

result in a limitation of a major life activity, so long as it has the indi-

rect effect, due to the misperceptions of others, of limiting a life activ-

ity.” Id. at 12.

Three years later, after enactment of the ADA, the Department of

Justice promulgated its regulations interpreting the ADA. The Pre-

amble to those regulations synthesizes the discussion in the Kmiec

Memorandum to conclude that “asymptomatic HIV disease is an im-

pairment that substantially limits a major life activity, either because

21

gress enacted the ADA two years later, the committee re-

ports expressly stated that “a person infected with the

Human Immunodeficiency Virus is covered under the first

prong of the definition of the term ‘disability’ because of a

substantial limitation to procreation and intimate sexual

relationships,” relying on the discussion in the Kmiec

Memorandum. H.R. Rep. No. 485, 101st Cong., 2d Sess. Pt.

2, at 52 (1990) (citing Kmiec memorandum); accord H.R.

Rep. No. 485, supra, Pt. 3, at 28 n.18; S. Rep. No. 116, 101st

Cong., Ist Sess. 22 (1989).

When it adopted the coverage provision of the Rehabili-

tation Act for use in the ADA, Congress was thus fully

aware that individuals with asymptomatic HIV were cov-

ered individuals under the Rehabilitation Act. Moreover,

the legislative history of the statute expressly notes Con-

gress’s approval of the administrative construction to that

effect. This Court has recognized that “[wJhen a Con-

of its actual effect on the individual with HIV disease or because the

reactions of other people to individuals with HIV disease cause such

individuals to be treated as though they are disabled.” 28 C.F.R. Pt. 36

App. B, § 36.104, at 610. See App., infra, 6a. The Preamble goes on to

explain that, for that reason, the regulations include “HIV disease

(symptomatic or asymptomatic)” in the definition of “physical or

mental impairment.” See pp. 10-11, supra.

Congress had studied the problem of discrimination against

HIV-positive individuals in the process of drafting the ADA. The

House and Senate committee reports, discussing the need for the legis-

lation, noted that a Presidential Commission had “concluded that dis-

crimination against individuals with HIV infection is widespread and

has serious repercussions for both the individual who experiences it and

for this nation’s efforts to control the epidemic.” H.R. Rep. No. 485,

supra, Pt. 2, at 31; see also S. Rep. No. 116, supra, at 8. The reports

noted the public health consequences of a failure to protect against such

discrimination; individuals who fear discrimination “will be reluctant

to come forward for testing, counseling, and care” and that failure “will

undermine * * * efforts to contain the HIV epidemic.” H.R. Rep. No.

485, supra, Pt. 2, at 31; S. Rep. No. 116, supra, at 8.

22

gress that re-enacts a statute voices its approval of an ad-

ministrative or other interpretation thereof, Congress is

treated as having adopted that interpretation, and [the

courts are] bound thereby.” United States v. Board of

Comm 'rs, 435 U.S. 110, 134 (1978).“ Petitioner's argu-

ments that the terms of the ADñA should be construed to

leave such individuals outside the Act’s protections should

therefore be rejected.

3. Petitioner suggests (Br. 39-41) that HIV infection

does not substantially limit reproduction within the mean-

ing of the Act because it is the individual’s reaction to the

impairment, and not the impairment itself, that limits the

activity. That distinction is immaterial. Petitioner’s view

appears to be that an impairment may be said to

“substantially limit” a major life activity only if the im-

pairment entirely eliminates the ability to engage in that

activity, thus leaving no choice to the individual. There is

no basis in the text, legislative history, or regulatory in-

terpretation of the statute for that interpretation. In addi-

tion, as noted above, it is the physiology of the HIV vi-

rus—not any “choice” of respondent—that would threaten

the life of a man engaging in unprotected intimate sexual

activity with her, that would threaten the life of her child

if she should become pregnant, and that substantially

shortens her life expectancy. Regardless of whether re-

4 Consistent with Congress’s intent, most of the decisions address-

ing whether persons with asymptomatic HIV are protected by the

ADA have agreed with the court below that they are, although they

have relied on a variety of theories. See generally Hernandez v. Pru-

dential Ins. Co., 977 F. Supp. 1160, 1163-1165 (M.D. Fla. 1997)

(discussing cases); Hoepfl v. Barlow, 906 F. Supp. 317, 319 n.7 (E.D. Va.

1995). In one case holding that an HIV infected person was not dis-

abled under the employment provisions of the ADA, the court found

that the plaintiff failed to establish that he had experienced any limita-

tion as a result of the impairment. Cortes v. Me Donald's Corp.,, 955 F.

Supp. 541, 546-547 (E. D. N. C. 1996).

23

spondent chooses to engage in reproduction under these

conditions, the “major life activity” of reproduction is for

her substantially limited “in comparison to most people.

28 C.F.R. Pt. 36 App. B, § 36.104, at 611; see Runnebaum,

123 F.3d at 184-185 (Michael, J., dissenting). ”

4 Petitioner states (Br. 41) that women in abject poverty or vio-

lent neighborhoods confront in their reproductive decision-making risks

just as significant that they and their babies will live short and miser-

able lives,” and suggests that respondent should be treated no differ-

ently from such women. The comparison is inapt. Unlike those situa-

tions, the limitations on respondent’s reproduction are the result of a

physical impairment. As the ADA’s definition of disability makes

clear, it is such limitations—and not those that result from poverty or

poor neighborhoods—that Congress sought to address in the ADA. See

28 C.F.R. Pt. 36 App. B, § 36.104, at 610 (“Physical or mental impair-

ment” does not include “environmental, cultural, economic, or other

disadvantages, such as having a prison record, or being poor.”).

Por the reasons given above, we believe that, pursuant to the

first prong of the ADA definition of disability, respondent was disabled

because her HIV infection substantially limited a major life activity.

If this Court were to disagree, however, the case should be remanded to

resolve whether respondent is disabled under the third prong of the

ADA definition of disability, which requires a showing that she was

“regarded as having such an impairment.” 42 U.S.C. 1210 % ). The

court of appeals did not reach that issue, but respondent has stated that

it was properly raised below. See Pet. App. 6a n.2; see also Br. in Opp.

4n.4. Irrational exclusion of persons such as respondent from activities

and services due to fear of contagiousness would establish that such

persons are “regarded as” disabled under 42 U.S.C. 12102(2VC). See

H.R. Rep. No. 485, supra, Pt. 2, at 31; S. Rep. No. 116, supra, at 8, 24;

Cain v. Hyatt, 734 F. Supp. 671, 678-680 (E.D. Pa. 1990).

24

II. AN ASYMPTOMATIC HIV-INFECTED PATIENT

DOES NOT POSE A “DIRECT THREAT” TO

DENTAL HEALTH CARE WORKERS

FOLLOWING UNIVERSAL PRECAUTIONS

WHEN PERFORMING ROUTINE DENTAL

CARE

1. The ADA does not require a public accommodation

to serve an individual who “poses a direct threat to the

health or safety of others.” 42 U.S.C. 12182(b)(3). In this

context, “direct threat” means “a significant risk to the

health or safety of others that cannot be eliminated by a

modification of policies, practices, or procedures.” bid.

As was true of a similar provision in the Rehabilitation

Act discussed by this Court in Arline, such an exception

serves the interest in “avoiding exposing others to sig-

nificant health and safety risks.” 480 U.S. at 287. At the

same time, however, any test for determining whether an

individual poses a “direct threat” must be carefully cir-

cumscribed “if [the Rehabilitation Act] is to achieve its

goal of protecting handicapped individuals from depriva-

tions based on prejudice, stereotypes, or unfounded fear”

(ibid. a goal shared by the ADA. See H.R. Rep. No. 485,

supra, Pt. 2, at 53; id., Pt. 3, at 30. To satisfy those con-

cerns, the Court in Arline adopted a test that relied

exclusively on objective factors regarding the risk and

normally required deference to the judgments of public

health officials. Arline, 480 U.S. at 288.

Congress included the “direct threat” exception in the

ADA, and incorporated “the same standard as articulated

by the Supreme Court in [Arline].” H.R. Rep. No. 485,

supra, Pt. 3, at 45; accord id., Pt. 2, at 76. The Department

of Justice Regulations implementing Title III of the ADA

similarly “codifly] the standard first applied by the Su-

preme Court in[Arline].” 28 C.F.R. Pt. 36 App. B, § 36.208,

at 626. In keeping with Arline, any determination that an

25

individual poses a “direct threat” must rely on “an

individualized assessment, based on reasonable judgment

that relies on current medical knowledge or on the best

available objective evidence.” 28 C.F.R. 36.208(c). See

App., infra, 4a-5a. That assessment must consider: “the

nature, duration, and severity of the risk; the probability

that the potential injury will actually occur; and whether

reasonable modifications of policies, practices, or

procedures will mitigate the risk.” Ibid. To protect

against the exclusion of individuals based on fear or

stereotype, the “direct threat” provision requires the

existence of a “significant” risk, “not a speculative or

remote risk.” H.R. Rep. No. 485, supra, Pt. 2, at 56. A

showing that a plaintiff does not pose a direct threat does

not require a showing that the plaintiff poses no risk, see

id., Pt. 3, at 46 (emphasis added) (citing Chalk v. United

States Dist. Court, 840 F.2d 701, 707-708 (9th Cir. 1988)),

for risks are inherent in daily life—particularly in a field

like dentistry, where [well before the advent of HIV,

dental health care workers] were at risk of acquiring

occupationally a number of diseases, from the common cold

to potentially lethal Hepatitis B and TB.” J.A. 107.

2. The Court in Arline stated that in making the nec-

essary findings, “courts normally should defer to the rea-

sonable medical judgments of public health officials.” 480

U.S. at 288; see 28 C.F.R. Pt. 36 App. B, § 36.208, at 626;

see also H.R. Rep. No. 485, supra, Pt. 3, at 45 (“Such risk

of transmitting the infection to others must be determined

based on objective and accepted public health guidelines.”).

The court of appeals interpreted that language (Pet. App.

21a) to mean that the views of public health officials are to

be given “prima facie force,” but that those views may be

rebutted “by persuasive evidence adduced from other

recognized experts in a given field.” We agree. Under

that rule, where, as here, the medical issue (i.e., risk of

contagion) is not within the expertise of the health care

provider (i.e., the dentist), but rather is within the

expertise of public health experts, there is no reason to

defer to the views of the particular health care provider.

Public health organizations and experts have the

resources and expertise to evaluate the risk of infection;

when they have examined the question and made the

reasonable judgment that a practice can be engaged in

safely, the courts should defer to that judgment—

particularly where, as here, it is substantially unrebutted.

Reliance on such a specialized, objective judgment pre-

vents decisions from turning on litigating adversaries’ e-

lective excerpts from medical materials, and therefore lim-

its the risk that unjustified fears or stereotypes will dis-

tort the decision making process. Moreover, deference to

the reasonable judgment of public health authorities is apy

propriate even if some uncertainties remain, for Illittle in

science can be proved with complete certainty.” Chalk,

840 F.2d at 707. “Confronted with some uncertainties

about scientific truth, judges, perhaps above all others,

should act on the basis of that which is known, or, where

this is not possible, on the basis of that which those best

qualified to speak say is known.” Id. at 712 (Sneed, J., con-

curring).

3. In this case, 9 to

“those best qualified to speak” on the su use

petitioner did not demonstrate that the CDC’s judgment

was medically unreasonable, the district court properly

granted summary judgment on the “direct threat” ques-

on.

K The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

has assessed the medical evidence concerning the risk

that dentists can contract HIV from their patients. The

CDC has adopted recommended infection-control prac-

tices—so-called “universal precautions”—for dentistry

under which all patients are to be treated as if they carry

an infectious or blood-borne disease such as HIV. Den-

27

tists cannot always know whether their patients carry

such diseases—indeed, not all patients who carry infec-

tious diseases know that they are infected. Refusing to

treat the patients who both know that they are infected

and inform the dentist of that fact is therefore not an ef-

fective way of reducing the risk. See J. A. 268, 274-275."

The CDC has found the risk of HIV transmission in the

dental context “so low as to be unquantifiable,” and the

universal precautions it recommends further reduce that

already low risk. J.A. 283 (Declaration of then-Director of

the Oral Health Program at the CDC); see also J.A. 268

(expert testimony that “the risk of infection to the health

care worker [from a patient] is infinitesimally small, less

than the risk of death involved in driving a car or being

struck by lightning”). Although there have been very rare

cases of transmission from patients to non-dental health

care workers,” the precautions available to such workers

n Indeed, one expert testified that adopting a policy of refusing to

treat patients who acknowledge their infectious status “may actually

be creating a more risky environment,” since a dentist who believles]

he has eliminated a risk [in that manner] * may become less

stringent in his practice of infection control.” J. A. 274-275.

As of December 31, 1994, the CDC was aware of 42 non-dental

health care workers “documented as having seroconverted to HIV fol-

lowing occupational exposures to HIV”; 36 of these cases involved

percutaneous exposures such as needlesticks. J. A. 106. Whether a

needlestick injury leads to infection depends significantly on the

amount of blood transmitted; the narrow-bore needles typically used in

routine dentistry make it less likely that an amount of blood sufficient

to cause infection will be transmitted in the dental context. J.A. 106-

107. As Dr. Donald Marianos, then-Director of the Division of Oral

Health at the CDC, explained, “{bjecause the size of anesthetic needles

used in dentistry is much smaller than that used in most medical set-

tings, the majority of needlesticks among dental workers will involve

smaller, rather than larger amounts of HIV infected blood. It is the

position of the CDC that the risk of acquiring HIV occupationally from

a needlestick in the dental setting is so low that it cannot be accurately

quantified.” J.A. 278-279. Moreover, the use of “instruments instead of

28

together with the nature of dental practice, explain why

there has never been a documented case of HIV transmis-

sion from infected patient to dental health care worker.”

Pet. App. 25a; see J.A. 56, 88, 106. The CDC thus has

taken the position that “it is safe to provide dental care to

patients with AIDS * * * in private dental offices when

universal precautions are utilized.” J. A. 284.

The CDC’s conclusion is in accord with the positions of

other professional and public health organizations, includ-

ing the American Dental Association. J.A. 225.” That po-

fingers to retract tissue or guide anesthetic needles during injections”

can reduce the risk of accidental dental needlestick incidents, and “self-

sheathing anesthetic syringes are now available to prevent needlestick

injuries during or after anesthetic injections.” J.A. 270.

9 We agree with the court of appeals that the medical evidence in

cases of this type should be “confinfed) * * * to that available at the

time a dentist or other health-care professional refuses to treat.” Pet.

App. 18a (citing 28 C.F.R. 36.208(c)). Nonetheless, we are informed by

the CDC that, as of the end of 1997, there remains no documented case

of transmission of the HIV virus from a patient to a dental health care

worker.

Although the American Dental Association has filed an amicus

brief in this Court in support of petitioner, it does not address the

“direct threat” issue. The brief (at 2) does make clear, however, that it

“does not in any way challenge or undermine longstanding Association

policy concerning the safety of the dental office and/or the treatment of

HIV-infected individuals.” The brief reaffirms, therefore, that in light

of the efficacy of universal precautions, Iplztients with HIV infection

may be safely treated in private dental offices when appropriate infec-

tion control procedures are employed,” J.A. 225, and that “a patient’s

HIV/AIDS status is not a justification for refusal of treatment.” Amer.

Dental Ass’n Amicus Br. 2-3 n.2; see J.A. 225-226. Indeed, the Associa-

tion’s Council on Ethies, Bylaws and Judicial Affairs has stated that it

is unethical to refuse treatment to those who are HIV infected. See

J. A. 228 (“A decision not to provide treatment to an individual because

the individual has AIDS or is HIV seropositive, based solely on that

fact, is unethical.”). Refusal to treat HIV-infected patients has simi-

larly been declared unethical by the American Association of Oral and

Maxillofacial Surgeons, J.A. 111, the Association of State and Territo-

sition certainly constitutes a “reasonable medical judg-

ment I].“ Arline, 480 U.S. at 288, and is therefore entitled

to deference from the courts. Jbid. See also American

Dental Ass'n v. Martin, 984 F.2d 823, 828 (7th Cir.)

(stating that the CDC’s judgments regarding precautions

to prevent the spread of bloodborne pathogens “are entitled

to respect by the nonspecialist, biomedically unso-

phisticated Article III judiciary”), cert. denied, 510 U.S.

859 (1993). Because the probability of transmission in the

course of routine dental care is so extraordinarily low (and

would not in any event be eliminated), even the severe con-

sequences of contracting HIV are not sufficient to estab-

lish the existence of a “significant risk to the health or

safety of others.” 42 U.S.C. 12182(b)(3).”

rial Health Officials and Association of State and Territorial Dental

Directors, J. A. 125-126, and the American Association of Dental

Schools, J. A. 134,

21 Key differences between HIV-infected doctors and HIV-infected

patients render the cases involving HIV-infected health-care workers

inapposite. See, e. g., Doe v. University of Maryland Med. Sys. Corp.,

50 F.3d 1261, 1265-1266 (4th Cir. 1995) (hospital did not violate ADA by

suspending HIV-positive neurosurgical resident and offering him

alternative residencies in nonsurgical fields); Bradley v. University of

Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Ctr., 3 F.3d 922, 924-925 (5th Cir. 1993)

(hospital did not violate Rehabilitation Act by reassigning HIV-posi-

tive surgical assistant to procurement department), cert. denied, 510

U.S. 1119 (1994). See also J. A. 107 (discussing the single case of trans-

mission of HIV from dentist to six of his patients), C.A. App. 211-212

(same). The CDC has recommended that medical institutions make

their own case-by-case determinations regarding whether particular

HIV-infected health care workers can perform exposure-prone invasive

procedures, See University of Maryland, 50 F.3d at 1266; Bradley, 3

F.3d at 924; Leckelt v. Board of Comm'rs, 909 F.2d 820, 828, 830 (5th

Cir. 1990). Thus, although we take no position on the results reached on

the facts of each of the cited cases, they are fully consistent with giving

deference to the reasonable judgments of public health officials. In

30

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General

BILL LANN LEE

Acting Assistant Attorney

General

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE

Deputy Solicitor General

JAMES A. FELDMAN

Assistant to the Solicitor

General

JESSICA DUNSAY SILVER

THOMAS E. CHANDLER

Attorneys

FEBRUARY 1998

addition, patients and doctors are not similarly situated. Since patients

cannot control whether infected health care providers scrupulously

employ universal precautions, patients bear all of the risk of transmis-

sion without having any ability to assure that the risk is minimized.

APPENDIX

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS

1. 42 U.S.C. 12192 provides in pertinent part:

Definitions

(2) Disability

The term “disability” means, with respect to an

individual—

(A) a physical or mental impairment that

substantially limits one or more of the major life

activities of such individual;

(B) a record of such an impairment; or

(C) being regarded as having such an

impairment.

* * * * *

2. 42 U.S.C. 12186 provides in pertinent part:

Regulations

* * * * *

(b) Other provisions

Not later than 1 year after July 26, 1990, the

Attorney General shall issue regulations in an accessible

format to carry out the provisions of this subchapter not

referred to in subsection (a) of this section that include

standards applicable to facilities and vehicles covered

under section 12182 of this title.

3. 28 C.F.R. 36.104 provides:

For purposes of this part, the term—

(la)

2a

Disability means, with respect to an individual, a

physical or mental impairment that substantially limits

one or more of the major life activities of such individual; a

record of such an impairment; or being regarded as having

such an impairment.

(1) The phrase physical or mental impairment

means—

(i) Any physiological disorder or condition, cos-

metic disfigurement, or anatomical loss affecting one or

more of the following body systems: neurological; mus-

culoskeletal; special sense organs; respiratory, including

speech organs; cardiovascular; reproductive; digestive;

genitourinary; hemic and lymphatic; skin; and endocrine;

(ii) Any mental or psychological disorder such as

mental retardation, organic brain syndrome, emotional or

mental illness, and specific learning disabilities;

(iii) The phrase physical or mental im-pairment

includes, but is not limited to, such contagious and noncon-

tagious diseases and conditions as orthopedic, visual,

speech, and hearing impairments, cerebral palsy, epilepsy,

muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, cancer, heart

disease, diabetes, mental retardation, emotional illness,

specific learning disabilities, HIV disease (whether symp-

tomatic or asymptomatic), tuberculosis, drug addiction,

and alcoholism;

(iv) The phrase physical or mental impairment

does not include homosexuality or bi-sexuality.

(2) The phrase major life activities means func-

tions such as caring for one’s self, performing manual

3a

tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing,

learning, and working.

(3) The phrase has a record of such an impair-

ment means has a history of, or has been misclassified as

having, a mental or physical impairment that substantially

limits one or more major life activities.

(4) The phrase is regarded as having an impair-

ment means—

(i) Has a physical or mental impairment that does

not substantially limit major life activities but that is

treated by a private entity as constituting such a limita-

tion;

(ii) Has a physical or mental impairment that sub-

stantially limits major life activities only as a result of the

attitudes of others toward such impairment; or

(iii) Has none of the impairments defined in para-

graph (1) of this definition but is treated by a private

entity as having such an impairment.

4. 28 C. F. R. 36.208 provides:

(a) This part does not require a public accom-

modation to permit an individual to participate in or

benefit from the goods, services, facilities, privileges, ad-

vantages and accommodations of that public accommoda-

tion when that individual poses a direct threat to the

health or safety of others.

(ob) Direct threat means a significant risk to the

health or safety of others that cannot be eliminated by a

4a

modification of policies, practices, or procedures, or by the

provision of auxiliary aids or services.

(c) In determining whether an individual poses a

direct threat to the health or safety of others, a public

accommodation must make an individualized assessment,

based on reasonable judgment that relies on current

medical knowledge or on the best available objective

evidence, to ascertain: the nature, duration, and severity of

the risk; the probability that the potential injury will

actually occur; and whether reasonable modifications of

policies, practices, or procedures will mitigate the risk.

5. 28 C. F. R. Pt. 36, App. B, provides in pertinent part:

Test A—A Physical or Mental Impairment That

Substantially Limits One or More of the Major Life

Activities of Such Individual

Physical or mental impairment. Under the first test,

an individual must have a physical or mental impairment.

As explained in paragraph (1) (i) of the definition, “impair-

ment” means any physiological disorder or condition,

cosmetic disfigurement, or anatomical loss affecting one

or more of the following body systems: Neurological;

musculoskeletal; special sense organs (including speech

organs that are not respiratory, such as vocal cords, soft

palate, and tongue); respiratory, including speech organs;

cardiovascular; reproductive; digestive; genito-urinary;

hemic and lymphatic; skin; and endocrine. It also means

any mental or psychological disorder, such as mental

retardation, organic brain syndrome, emotional or mental

illness, and specific learning disabilities. This list closely

tracks the one used in the regulations for section 504 of

the Kehabilitation Act of 1973 (see, eg., 45 CFR

84.3(j)(2)(i)).

It is not possible to include a list of all the specific

conditions, contagious and noncontagious diseases, or

infections that would constitute physical or mental

impairments because of the difficulty of ensuring the

comprehensiveness of such a list, particularly in light of

the fact that other conditions or disorders may be

identified in the future. However, the list of examples in

paragraph (I) (iii) of the definition includes: Orthopedic,

visual, speech and hearing impairments; cerebral palsy;

epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, cancer,

heart disease, diabetes, mental retardation, emotional

illness, specific learning disabilities, HIV disease (symp-

tomatic or asymptomatic), tuberculosis, drug addiction,

and alcoholism.

The examples of “physical or mental impairments” in

paragraph (1)(iii) are the same as those contained in many

section 504 regulations, except for the addition of the

phrase “contagious and noncontagious” to describe the

types of diseases and conditions included, and the addition

of “HIV disease (symptomatic or asymptomatic)” and

“tuberculosis” to the list of examples. These additions are

based on the ADA committee reports, caselaw, and official

legal opinions interpreting section 504. In School Board of

Nassau County v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273 (1987), a case

involving an individual with tuberculosis, the Supreme

Court held that people with contagious diseases are

entitled to the protections afforded by section 504.

Following the Arline decision, this Department’s Office of

Legal Counsel issued a legal opinion that concluded that

symptomatic HIV disease is an impairment that

substantially limits a major life activity; therefore it has

been included in the definition of disability under this part.

6a

The opinion also concluded that asymptomatic HIV

disease is an impairment that substantially limits a major

life activity, either because of its actual effect on the

individual with HIV disease or because the reactions of

other people to individuals with HIV disease cause such

individuals to be treated as though they are disabled. See

Memorandum from Douglas W. Kmiec, Acting Assistant

Attorney General, Office of Legal Counsel, Department of

Justice, to Arthur B. Culvahouse, Jr., Counsel to the

President (Sept. 27, 1988), reprinted in Hearings on S.

933, the Americans with Disabilities Act, Before the

Subcomm. on the Handicapped of the Senate Comm. on

Labor and Human Resources, 101st Cong., Ist Sess. 346

(1989). The phrase “symptomatic or asymptomatic” was

inserted in the final rule after “HIV disease” in response

to commenters who suggested that the clarification was

necessary to give full meaning to the Department's

opinion.

* * * * *

Physical or mental impairment does not inelude simple

physical characteristics, such as blue eyes or black hair.

Nor does it include environmental, cultural, economic, or

other disadvantages, such as having a prison record, or

being poor. Nor is age a disability. Similarly, the defini-

tion does not include common personality traits such as

poor judgment or a quick temper where these are not

symptoms of a mental or psychological disorder. However,

a person who has these characteristics and also has a

physical or mental impairment may be considered as

having a disability for purposes of the Americans with

Disabilities Act based on the impairment.

Substantial limitation of a major life activity.

Under Test A, the impairment must be one that “sub-

7a

stantially limits a major life activity.“ Major life activi-

ties include such things as caring for one’s self, perform-

ing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking,

breathing, learning, and working. For example, a person

who is paraplegic is substantially limited in the major life

activity of walking, a person who is blind is substantially

limited in the major life activity of seeing, and a person

who is mentally retarded is substantially limited in the

major life activity of learning. A person with traumatic

brain injury is substantially limited in the major life

activities of caring for one’s self, learning, and working

because of memory deficit, confusion, contextual difficul-

ties, and inability to reason appropriately.

A person is considered an individual with a disability for

purposes of Test A, the first prong of the definition, when

the individual’s important life activities are restricted as

to the conditions, manner, or duration under which they

can be performed in comparison to most people. A person

with a minor, trivial impairment, such as a simple infected

finger, is not impaired in a major life activity. A person

who can walk for 10 miles continuously is not sub-

stantially limited in walking merely because, on the

eleventh mile, he or she begins to experience pain, because

most people would not be able to walk eleven miles without

experiencing some discomfort.

The question of whether a person has a disability should

be assessed without regard to the availability of mitigat-

ing measures, such as reasonable modifications or auxil-

iary aids and services. For example, a person with hearing

loss is substantially limited in the major life activity of

hearing, even though the loss may be improved through

the use of a hearing aid. Likewise, persons with impair-

8a

ments, such as epilepsy or diabetes, that substantially

limit a major life activity, are covered under the first

prong of the definition of disability, even if the effects of

the impairment are controlled by medication.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.