Amicus Curiae Brief — South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 96-1581

Supreme Court. "we

EF D

IN THE MAY' 7% 1997

Supreme Court of the Unite States, |

OcTOBER TERM, 1996 ee

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA,

Petitioner,

v.

YANKTON SIoux TRIBE, a federally recognized

tribe of Indians, and its individuals members;

DARRELL E. DRAPEAU, individually, a member

of the Yankton Sioux Tribe,

ond Respondents,

SOUTHERN MIssouRI WASTE MANAGEMENT DISTRICT,

a nonprofit corporation,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF OF CHARLES MIX COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA,

AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER,

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

MATTHEW F. GAFFEY Tom D. TosBIn

Charles Mix County Counsel of Record

State’s Attorney TOBIN LAW OFFICEs, P.C.

P.O. Box 370 422 Main Street

Lake Andes, SD 57356 P.O. Box 730

(605) 487-7441 Winner, SD 57580

(605) 842-2500

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

—$—$KVKLKE[ XX SSSSSsssestsssssssessstesessssssssssssssnsssssssssnessssss

a

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ..........2.22.2..---e:-:cececseeeeesees

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ....0...22.22...0..0.0c000000

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ..........

THE OPINION OF THE PANEL MAJORITY

CONFLICTS IN PRINCIPLE WITH THE RELE-

VANT DECISIONS OF THIS COURT .......

A. A Review of the Arguments Previously Pre-

sented and Rejected in This Court Establishes

Clear Principles That Undermine the Opinion of

the Panel Majority and Make Clear the Extent

I alt tadieiiciederenideitaicatanishictabinnensaiitinietasiies

1.

Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351

REE SRS I PSI 0 2

2. Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973) ............

DeCoteau v. District County Court, 420 U.S.

il RT TN ce AE ARC 7

Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584

ARSE NA EE A OE oe

5. Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984) _........

6. Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994)...

7. Yankton Sioux Tribe v. South Dakota, 796

F.2d 241 (8th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 483

EE: SED II Sadtdhtccenesacineniesineinrenenimenesinienesn

Yankton Sioux Tribe v. Southern Missouri

Waste District, 99 F.3d 1439 (8th Cir. 1996)

ae RAT ARETE Be Et CO

SII lide cresting nesnaigntcticinenttdnmeapenniinbocdnenanstinedeaiiecs

APPENDIX

Memorandum for the United States, Seymour v.

Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351 (1962) 200000000000.

17

19

la

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Contiuned

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae,

Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973) ...................-.-

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae,

DeCoteau v. District County Court, 420 U.S. 425

(2OTB) ..2..<..ccccccescsncsenenessosesncssnecenateinesesientniaasnaainieaeieee

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae,

Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584

(IDET) .220.cccecnscenccccsarscenecnacsveesatascesttessssnteeeenneesennensaee ees

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae Sup-

porting Respondent, Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S.

GOB CIDE) a ccccecerciectserntcnsvecesnennenaaamas

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae

Supporting Petitioner, Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399

(TBD GD ncaccccccccrcvensocoscnrascecesnepenesenseniianeannimmamnamanal

Brief for the United States in Opposition, Yankton

Sioux Tribe v. State of South Dakota, 796 F.2d

241 (8th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1005

(: | ann ee

98a

128a

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Antoine v. Washington, 420 U.S. 194 (1975)... 5

DeCoteau v. District County Court, 420 U.S. 425

EEE SSL RS OE passim

Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994) 00. passim

Johnson v. United States, 163 F. 30 (lst Cir.

ES ET NO Sa 13

Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973) 0000000000... passim

Oregon Dep't of Fish & Wildlife v. Klamath Indian

Tribe, 473 U.S. 753 (1985) -.............00. nn... 18

Perrin v. U.S., 232 U.S. 478 (1914) ........ (alii 19

Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584

EE EEE RE OTN Oe passim

Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351 (1962)... passim

Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984) —.......... 3, 15, 16, 18

State v. Greger, 599 N.W.2d 854 (S.D. 1977) .......... 2

United States v. Pelican, 232 U.S. 442 (1914)... 5

Yankton Sioux Tribe v. South Dakota, 796 F.2d 241

(8th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1005

EEE ES ee ee ee 17

Yankton Sioux Tribe v. Southern Missouri Waste

Dist., 99 F.3d 1489 (8th Cir. 1996) 0000000000 1,19

STATUTES:

Act of June 17, 1892, 27 Stat. 52 ... iw 2

General Allotment Act of 1887, 24 Stat. 388 . ...passim

Act of March 3, 1891, 26 SU *. 1036 .. is, Be

Act of August 15, 1894, 28 Stat. 286 . 7 LOAGEES Pee passim

Act of April 23, 1904, 33 Stat. 254 000, 13

CONGRESSIONAL MATERIALS:

H.R. Rep. No. 791, 50th Cong., Ist Sess. (1988)... 6

S.Rep. No. 664, 52d Cong., Ist Sess. (1892) 5

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae,

DeCoteau v. District County Court, 420 U.S.

425 (1975) (No. 73-1148) ........ 02.0... 10, 11

Brief for Uintah County, Utah, Hagen v. Utah,

510 U.S. 399 (1994) (No. 92-6281) 00000 4

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae S*>-

porting Petitioner, Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 39°

0 GF: Sees

Brief for the United States, Mattz v. Arnett, 412

U.S. 481 (1978) (No. 71-1182) ..........................

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae,

Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584

BEES SE RO

Memorandum of the United States, Rosebud Sioux

Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584 (1977) (No. 75-

RS EE OD Eee

Brief for Petitioner, Seymour v. Superintendent,

368 U.S. 351 (1962) (No. 62) 0.

Memorandum for the United States, Seymour v.

Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351 (1962) (No. 62)...

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae Sup-

ee Respondent, Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S.

463 (1984) (No. 82-1253) .

Brief for the United States in Opposition, ‘Yankton

Sioux Tribe v. State of South Dakota, 796 F.2d

241 (8th Cir. 1986) (No. 86-1436) 000.

Brief for the United States, Yankton Sioux Tribe

v. Southern Missouri Waste District, 99 F.3d

1439 (8th Cir. 1996) (No. 95-2647) 00000.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Yankton Sioux

Tribe v. Southern Missouri Waste District (No.

Rg Be ae

Brief for the Cities as Amici Curiae in Support of

Petitioner, Yankton Sioux Tribe v. Southern

Missouri Waste District (No. 96-1581) -. 7,

CRE eee 8 PONS Le Sera

Transcript of Oral Argument, Erickson v. US. « ex

rel. Feather, U.S. Supreme Court No. 73-1500,

decided with DeCoteau v. District County Court,

OR A ES ee

Transcript of Oral Argument, Hagen v. Utah, 510

U.S. 399 (1994) (No. 92-6281) 0...

Transcript of Oral Argument, Mattz v. Arnett, 412

U.S. 481 (19738) (No. 71-1182) oe. te

Page

cen A AE

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Transcript of Oral Argument, Rosebud Sioux Tribe

v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584 (1977) (No. 75-562) .....2, 13, 15

54 Interior Dec. 569 (1984) 14

— wee. o—_—

OP e~ ae

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The majority's assertion that ‘Article XVIII of

the 1894 statute indicated that as much of [the

1858] treaty as possible was to be preserved,’ Maj.

Op. at 1448, is based neither on the text—which

referred only to annuities—nor the legislative history

of the 1894 Act, and has as its source only, as best

as I can discern, a single-minded desire to avoid

diminishment at all costs.

Yankton Sioux Tribe v. Southern Missouri Waste Dist.,

99 F.3d 1439, 1462 (8th Cir. 1996), J. Magill dissent-

ing. Pet. App. at 56 (emphasis added).

The vital concern that prompts the filing of this Amicus

Brief can be simply stated. Prior to this litigation, all

the courts and parties had recognized that the 1858

Yankton reservation no longer existed. Now, a century

later, more than half of the area of Charles Mix County,

South Dakota, is at issue. Consequently, the approxi-

mately 6,000 people that reside there presently face the

prospect of being suddenly thrust into the status of resi-

dents of an Indian reservation. If this takes place, their

Officials would have only limited jurisdiction and the non-

members would have no elected voice in the governance

of their affairs and property by the Tribe.

The demographics of Charles Mix County in this area

are similar to other non-reservation rural counties found

in the State of South Dakota and the United States.

Ninety percent of the land is owned by non-members and

over two-thirds of the residents are non-members who

reside on small farms and in small towns and cities like

Dante, Lake Andes, Pickstown, Ravinia and Wagner.

See Brief for the Cities as Amici Curiae in Support of

Petitioner. Although this Court has repeatedly recognized

in this situation, that the justifiable expectations of the

people should not be lightly regarded or simply swept

aside, the panel majority ignored that prudential advice.

Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399, 421 (1994); Rosebud

Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584, 604-605 (1977).

For these reasons, the issue here is of grave importance

to the residents and governments of Charles Mix County,

South Dakota.

v4

The Supreme Court of the State of South Dakota sub-

sequently considered the identical disestablishment ques-

tion in State v. Greger, 559 N.W.2d 854 (S.D. 1997),

Pet. App. 125. In a unanimous opinion, the State Su-

preme Court rejected the views of the panel majority and

reaffirmed the longstanding position that the Yankton

reservation was disestablished. The County would submit

that the views of the State Supreme Court are more in line

with the principles formulated by this Court, principles

that should have been controlling here.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

THE OPINION OF THE PANEL MAJORITY CON-

FLICTS IN PRINCIPLE WITH THE RELEVANT DE-

CISIONS OF THIS COURT.

The County fully supports the reasons for granting the

petition set forth in the Petition of the State. The County

also recognizes that the primary consideration governing

review will focus on the conflict between the. United

States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit and the

Supreme Court of the State of South Dakota. The County

further agrees that the decision of the panel majority con-

flicts substantially with the relevant decisions of this

Court. This brief will focus on that conflict and the role

of the United States in the entire process.

A. A Review of the Arguments Previously Presented and

Rejected in This Court Establishes Clear Principles

That Undermine the Opinion of the Panel Majority

and Make Clear the Extent of Conflict.

Now, this principle that Congress did not intend to

disestablish the Reservations is not one that the gov-

ernment has made up out of whole cloth. It is sup-

ported both by history and by the previous decisions

of this Court.

Office of Solicitor General, Tr. Rosebud Sioux Tribe v.

Kneip, 430 U.S. 584 (1977) (No. 75-562) (emphasis

added).

A fair reading of Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S.

351 (1962); Mattz v. Arnett, 412 US. 481 (1973);

DeCoteau v. District County Court, 420 US. 425

ee ee

3

(1975); Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584

(1977); Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984) and

Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994), clearly undermines

the views set forth by the panel majority. The Petition

highlights these important principles and, for that reason,

they will not be repeated here.

In addition, however, a proper perspective regarding

the history of disestablishment litigation before this Court

is important in order to accurately assess the views of

the panel majority and the dissent in conjunction with the

principles set forth in these relevant decisions. This brief

is intended to serve that purpose and provide that perspec-

tive. The County starts with a brief review of the primary

arguments presented and rejected in each case decided by

this Court, as well as the historic perspective available or

established at the time. Such a review advances three

overriding themes.

First, as one would expect, each time the Court was

presented with this issue, more primary sources were

available from which a proper historical perspective could

be reconstructed and the intent of Congress more conclu-

sively ascertained. The Opinions reflect this documenta-

tion.

Second, the views of the United States are especially

noteworthy. The United States rarely fails to advocate

the resurrection of original reservation boundaries, pre-

sumably because of a perceived obligation to support the

Tribal position. The shifting, but very sophisticated, argu-

ments of the United States (for the most part repeatedly

rejected by this Court) have served mainly to perpetuate

the confusion and conflicts in this area of Federal Indian

law, fueling the prospect of additional litigation.

The central arguments of the United States are there-

fore closely examined for another reason. As will be seen,

the United States repeatedly has made a number of im-

portant concessions in this Court, subsequent to DeCoteau,

regarding the effect of cession agreements, like this one,

on Indian reservations. These cession concessions, made

in conjunction with submissions that urged the continued

4

recognition of other original reservation boundaries, can-

not be explained away. The views of the United States in

this regard, submitted to this Court, merit continued

consideration."

1. Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351 (1962).

A disestablishment issue was first presented to this Court

in Seymour. Although we now know that the 1906 Col-

ville Act at issue in that case was one in a series of surplus

land statutes enacted pursuant to the General Allotment

Act of 1887 (Dawes Act)—a routine matter for Con-

gress by 1906—neither the General Allotment Act of

1887 nor the limited legislative history of the 1906 Act

played any real role in the resolution of the question. Act

of February 8, 1887, 24 Stat. 388. The Seymour Opinion

does not cite the General Allotment Act or the legislative

history of the 1906 Colville Act. The briefs are similarly

silent with respect to the General Allotment Act and the

few citations to the 1906 legislative history are set forth

almost as an afterthought.

In short, Seymour was decided almost without the bene-

fit of any historical perspective. “Almost” is used because,

although neither the General Allotment Act nor the legis-

lative history of the specific Act in question played any

role in the decision, Petitioner Seymour did rely on the

contrast between the 1906 Act and the earlier 1892

“public domain” legislation that concededly disestablished

the North Half of the Colville Reservation. Pet. Br. at 10,

Seymour (No. 62). At best, this was a limited perspec-

1 The briefs of the United States in each of the cases are repro-

duced verbatim in Co. App. la-168a. A “public domain” variation

of this same argument was submitted by county government in

Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994), together with an appendix

that reproduced most of the briefs the United States had previously

submitted. Brief for Uintah County, Utah, Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S.

899 (1994) (No. 92-6281). In that instance, the county argument

highlighted the incredibly inconsistent and contradictory position

of the United States regarding “public domain” disestablishment

terminology. In Hagen, as in DeCoteau and Rosebud, the views

of the United States were squarely rejected by this Court. Hagen,

510 U.S. at 411-412.

5

tive, but certainly one that benefited Petitioner by simple

contrast. More important matters were not briefed, i.e.

the argument that the public domain format of the 1892

Act was the result of a refusal by Congress to ratify a

previously negotiated 1891 cession agreement due to the

questionable nature of the title to the Colville Executive

Order Reservation and the argument that the language

was added to deal with a congressional concern that

undesirable precedent might be established. Antoine v.

Washington, 420 U.S. 194, 216 (1975) (Rehnquist, J.,

dissenting); S. Rep. No. 664, 52d Cong., Ist Sess.

(1892). See also, U.S. v. Pelican, 232 U.S. 442 (1914).

In any event, it is doubtful whether any of the above

would have altered the views of the United States, which

argued in support of the Reservation boundaries of the

South Half of the Colville Reservation (“Solicitor Gen-

eral has urged this construction upon the Court”).

Seymour, 368 U.S. at 357.

The Solicitor General’s three page argument was based

predominantly on the 1948 statutory definition of Indian

Country which, of course, begs the question. It was also

based upon subsequent congressional recognition, pri-

marily in 1956, that the Reservation continued to exist.

MUS, Co. App. 3a. Neither the General Allotment Act

nor the historical perspective of the 1906 Act played any

role in the brief for the United States. In this light,

Seymour concluded, without further citation, that:

The Act did no more than open the way for non-

Indian settlers to own land on the reservation in a

manner which the Federal Government, acting as

guardian and trustee for the Indians, regarded as

beneficial to the development of its wards.

Seymour, 368 U.S. at 356 (emphasis added).

The United States later seized on this statement from

Seymour and tied it to the General Allotment Act of 1887

(which, as previously noted, was not even mentioned in

Seymour). In effect, the United States attempted to at-

tribute to both Seymour and the General Allotment Act,

a new congressional plan or purpose consistent with a new

6

argument that no surplus land statute, passed pursuant to

the General Allotment Act of 1887, was ever intended by

Congress to disestablish portions of Indian Reservations—

a “whole cloth” argument: the revisionist theory of the

General Allotment Act.’

The United States focused on the General Allotment

Act of 1887 for more than one reason. Prior to that time,

Congress routinely utilized treaties, cession agreements

and other similar arrangements, some of which contained

allotment provisions, to disestablish reservations and open

territories throughout the United States to settlement for

decades:

[t]he policy of the Government from its earliest days

has been to restore Indian reservations or portions

thereof to the public domain as the exigencies of ad-

vancing population required it... .

H.R. Rep. No. 791, 50th Cong., Ist Sess. 3 (1888).

No one had ever attempted to even formulate an argument

that Congress never intended these actions to disestablish

the limits or boundaries of Indian reservations. If similar

cession agreements, passed subsequent to 1887, were not

intended to have the same effect, the General Allotment

Act of 1887 was the only point in history that Congress

could have even arguably intended to have altered such

a fundamental historical process. This is especially so in

the absence of some affirmative evidence that Congress

specifically intended to depart from that historical format,

either generally or in a certain case. (The United States

could not produce such evidence at the time—or, as a

matter of fact, ever.) The first opportunity for the

United States to advance the new revisionist theory of

the General Allotment Act argument in this Court came

in Mattz v. Arnett, supra. BUS, Co. App. 14a-15a.

2. Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973). Although

the United States argued forcefully for the broad sweep

of Seymour tied to the General Allotment Act, this argu-

ment met with only limited success in Mattz. BUS, Co.

2 See the “whole cloth” disclaimer noted supra at 2.

7

App. 12a-14a. The history of the Klamath River Reserva-

tion at issue in Mattz was so tortious and fact specific,

isolated and atypical, that the Mattz dicta regarding the

General Allotment Act, while all that the United States

poner have hoped for, did not really seem pivotal to the

ision.

Ps ee the United States repeatedly told the Mattz

ourt:

The Act of 1892 can properly be understood only i

light of the General Allotment Act which aan

had recently passed.

In our view, the Act of June 17, 1892, can properl

be understood only in light of two cotaidineallons:

(1) what Congress had done five years ier i

General Allotment Act... . ee

The policy of the Act was to continue the reservation

system and the trust status of Indian land... .

This Court’s more recent decision in mour

Superintendent, 368 US. 351, is, in nar ee aoe

trolling here. . . . :

BUS, Co. App. at 10a, 14a, 24a (emphasi

also, id. at 11a, 15a n.8. (emphasis added). See

And at oral argument, the United States

. . . a squarely

placed this issue “into a little bit istori

er it of historical perspec-

This same policy is recognized more recent]

Court in Seymour v. Superintendent. . . ro ao

Tr. at 19-20, Mattz (No. 71-1182 }

+t ). See also, id. at 13

At the same time, to shore up this new General Allot-

ment Act argument and supplement this “little bit” of

historical perspective for the Court, the United States also

discussed certain Statutes that concededly disestablished

Indian reservations. According to the United States, the

Court could, by contrast, look to these examples in deter-

mining when congressional action was really intended to

disestablish an Indian reservation—an instant historical

perspective. BUS, Co. App. 18a-19a. Following Peti-

&

ioner’s lead in mour, and especially in light of this

aeacel the Fhe com opinion, the controlling example

cited by the United States of a congressional mandated

disestablishment was the 1892 Colville statute, where the

operative language restored the north half of the reserva-

tion to the public domain. As the United States told this

Court in Mattz, among other things:

This Court’s more recent decision in Seymour v. ns

intendent, 368 U.S. 351, is, in our view, con-

svalling here... . In holding that the Act did not

terminate the reservation there at issue, the Court

emphasized the absence from the Act of language

abolishing the reservations or “restoring that land to

the public domain” (368 U.S. at 355).

BUS, Co. App. at 24a (emphasis added).

Other examples were also listed by the United States

to support this “by contrast” argument, including a typical

cession. Id. at 18a-19a (the cession example merits spe-

cial attention infra).

At oral argument, the United States repeated the “by

contrast” point:

MR. SACHSE .. . In closing, since I assume I am

out of time, I refer the Court to page 17 of our brief

where we have samples of language that Congress

used when it did want to discontinue a portion of a

reservation.

Tr. at 20-21, Mattz (No. 71-1182).

(Except for the cession example, the text infra establishes

that the others on the list were representative of atypical

situations encountered by Congress only on rare occasions

and decades apart.)

Without question, the Mattz opinion reflects both argu-

ments made by the United States. First, with respect to the

General Allotment Act:

Its policy was to continue the reservation system and

the trust status of Indian lands, . ... See § 6 of the

General Allotment Act, 24 Stat. 390; United States

9

Department of the Interior, Federal Indian Law 115-

117, 127-129, 776-777 (1958). ...

. . . This Court unanimously observed in an analo-

gous setting in Seymour, id., at 356, .. .

Mattz, 412 U.S. at 496, 497.

Secondly, with respect to the “by contrast” argument,

the Court in Mattz noted:

More significantly, throughout the period from 1871-

1892 numerous bills were introduced which expressly

provided for the termination of the reservation and

did so in unequivocal terms. . . .

Congress has used clear language of express termina-

tion when that result is desired. See, for example... .

Id. at 504, n.22 (emphasis added).

Two years later, this Court was actually presented with

a typical surplus land statute specifically patterned and

enacted pursuant to the terms of the General Allotment

Act. With the supporting documentation of both the spe-

cific Act as well as the General Allotment Act, the Gen-

eral Allotment Act dicta in Mattz did not dissuade the

Court, including the author of the Mattz opinion, from

correctly concluding that surplus land statutes passed pur-

suant to the General Allotment Act were also intended and

routinely passed by Congress to disestablish Indian reser-

vations. DeCoteau v. District County Court, 402 US.

425, 447-449 (1975). Predictably, the United States

again argued forcefully for a different result in DeCoteau.

3. DeCoteau v. District County Court, 420 U.S. 425

(1975). In DeCoteau, the surplus land statute at issue

was one of eight similar agreements in a cession format

jointly ratified in an 1891 Appropriation Act. Each of

these agreements was specifically tailored to the provisions

in the General Allotment Act, which had recently been

passed after nearly a decade of focused debate. For

these two reasons, fortuitous in retrospect, the historical

record consisted of hundreds of pages directed to this

10

aspect of the General Allotment Act (Section 5) and the

effect the cession agreements were understood and intended

to have.

Moreover, for the first time, all of this primary docu-

mentation was excerpted and presented to the DeCoteau

Court in several hundred pages of briefs, setting forth a

complete and proper historical perspective. That perspec-

tive established that although simple allotment per se (Sec-

tion 6 of the General Allotment Act) was only intended to

disestablish reservations at some point in the foreseeable

future, a separate and distinct surplus land statute, in a

cession format, opening the reservation or a portion

thereof to settlement pursuant to Sec. 5 of the General

Allotment Act, was intended to disestablish the affected

reservation pro tanto (on the date of the opening set

forth in the Presidential Proclamation). This was in pre-

cisely the same manner that pre-1887 cessions had dis-

established reservations for decades, when Congress and/or

the President authorized similar legislation.

The United States elected to ignore the force of this

documentation, and instead urged the DeCoteau Court

to recognize the continuing existence of the original reser-

vation boundaries on the basis of Seymour and Mattz and

the United States’ revisionist theory of the General Allot-

ment Act. While agreeing that the focal point of the issue

had to be the General Allotment Act of 1887, the United

States pressed the point that Seymour and Mattz were

both openings pursuant to that Act, and that no Act pur-

suant to the General Allotment Act, was ever intended to

effect reservation disestablishment except at some future

point in time. (Again, as in the Brief for the United States

in Mattz, the United States blurred the distinction between

allotment per se (Section 6 of the General Allotment Act)

which eventually resulted in some non-Indian ownership

within the limits of Indian reservations, but was never

intended to immediately disestablish the reservations, and

surplus land statutes enacted pursuant to Sec. 5 of the

11

General Allotment Act, which repeatedly accomplished

this result). BUS, Co. App. 37a, 38a, 39a, 40a.°

In addition, the United States submitted a series of very

sophisticated arguments drawn from little scraps of lan-

guage found in Seymour and Mattz to support this general

proposition. No degree of sophistication, however, could

overcome the problem the United States never addressed:

namely, the fact that all of the contemporary historical

evidence irrefutably pointed to the opposite conclusion.

DeCoteau, 420 U.S. at 432, 434, 436, 438 and 441.

Further, the cession format utilized by Congress in pre-

vious decades—with the end result never questioned in

terms of reservation boundaries—was only slightly modi-

fied at this point in time (1887 through the early 1900’s).

As a result, the United States could only argue that the

cession format itself was probative of nothing because it

was not within the list of self-serving “by contrast” exam-

ples the United States now said Congress utilized when

Congress “clearly” intended to effectuate this result (the

list noted previously was compiled by the United States and

noted in Mattz, 4i2 U.S. at 497, n.19). In the original

version of the list presented to the Court in Mattz, the

United States had included representative cession language.

BUS, Co. App. 18a-19a. When that cession example did

not appear in the Mattz opinion, the United States omitted

any mention of this fact to the Court, simply adopted the

Mattz list and argued throughout DeCoteau that the

cession language was meaningless. /d. at 40a-41a.

Even without a specific historical point of reference, it

is difficult to believe that the DeCoteau Court would have

found this argument credible when actually presented with

a real cession Agreement. When all of the DeCoteau

documents conclusively established that the DeCoteau

cession format was still the rule at this point in time i.e.,

after the General Allotment Act, rather than the exception,

5 See also, Tr. at 11, 18, 17, 21, Erickson v. U.S. ex rel. Feather,

U.S. Sup. Ct. No. 73-1500, decided with DeCoteau v. District County

Court, 420 U.S. 425 (1975).

12

this argument was soundly rejected. Cession terminology

was “precisely suited” to disestablishment and the re-

mainder of the sophisticated arguments of the United

States were noted and rejected for that reason. DeCoteau,

420 US. at 445.

4. Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 US. 584

(1977). The United States subsequently resisted the force

of DeCoteau. In 1977, in Rosebud, this Court considered

three Sec. 5 surplus land statutes considered by Congress

a decade after the DeCoteau surplus land statutes were

- passed. The United States again argued that, after adopt-

ing the General Allotment Act, Congress never intended

this type of statute to disestablish portions of Indian reser-

vations. As in the past, reliance for this argument was

placed almost entirely upon Seymour and Mattz. In its

brief, the United States specially emphasized that Mattz

noted:

Placing the 1892 Act into the historic context of

the General Allotment Act of 1887, 24 Stat. 388,

the [Mattz] Court further observed that the Allot-

ment Act “permitted the President to make allot-

ments of reservation lands to resident Indians and,

with tribal consent, to sell surplus lands. Its policy

was to continue the reservation system. . .

BUS, Co. App. 65a (emphasis in original text).

In its discussion of DeCoteau, the United States failed

to mention the role played by Sec. 5 of the General

Allotment Act and the cessions in the DeCoteau process.

Id. According to the United States, DeCoteau was impor-

tant primarily because of the differences between the ces-

sion Act there and the Rosebud legislation, i.e., the uni-

lateral nature of the congressional action in Rosebud and

the uncertain payment in trust for the Rosebud land.

At oral argument, the United States repeatedly stressed

its revisionist theory of the General Allotment Act. The

United States maintained that after this Act, Congress

never intended reservation disestablishment. DeCoteau

was mentioned only in passing and then primarily to some-

13

how support continued reservation boundaries throughout

this period. Tr. at 20, 21, 27, 29, Rosebud (No. 75-562).

The Rosebud Court proceeded, in the most definitive

Opinion to date, to squarely address each and every argu-

ment—sophisticated arguments to be sure (and there were

many )—advanced in support of the Court restoring the

original boundaries of the Rosebud Reservation. Although

one or two minor exceptions might exist, a careful read-

ing of Rosebud, together with DeCoteau as recognized

historical background, establishes that the United States,

the Yankton Sioux Tribe and supporting Amici, can not

advance any argument of substance that has not already

been answered. (And, as in DeCoteau, the public domain

concept, whether expressed on the face of the act or in

the legislative history, was still important in Rosebud and

equated with reservation disestablishment. )

Unquestionably, as time went on, the cession format of

the earlier period was modified but these changes in format

reflect no change in congressional intent. Thus, it ulti-

mately mattered little that the 1904 Rosebud Act was

technically not a “cession.” As the Court in Rosebud

explained:

As a matter of strict English usage, petitioner is un-

doubtedly correct; “cession” refers to a voluntary

surrender of territory or jurisdiction, rather than a

withdrawal of such jurisdiction by the authority of

a superior sovereign. But as Mr. Justice (then

Judge) Holmes commented, we are not free to say

to Congress: “We see what you are driving at, but

er have p~ said it, = therefore we shall go on as

ore.” Johnson v. United States

(CAI 1908)... . Avatieioasaas

The use of the word “cession” in the 1904 Act,

which was not consented to by the required ex-

traordinary majority of the Tribe, does not make the

meaning of the Act ambiguous. . .

The word is technically misused bu ing i

quite clear. y t the meaning is

Rosebud, 430 U.S. at 597.

14

In the instant case, of course, the word “cession” is not

technically misused. And the United States’ comments re-

garding real cessions in Rosebud (alternatively, in an at-

tempt to distinguish DeCoteau), bear repeating now:

The court of appeals, however, failed to recognize

the crucial difference that in DeCoteau the United

States itself purchased the land in the reservation

pursuant to an agreement with the Indians; this, the

Court held, restored the land to the public domain

and extinguished the reservation. 420 U.S. at 446-

447.

Memorandum of the United States at 13, Rosebud Sioux

Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584 (1977) (No. 75-562) (em-

phasis added).

... The 1891 Act was a straightforward cession for

a sum certain in amount. . . . These distinctions led

to the conclusion that the Lake Traverse Reservation

was extinguished and the land restored to the public

domain... .

BUS, Co. App. at 66a, see also id. at 67a (emphasis

added ).

The United States also reminded this Court of the 1934

Interior Department Opinion which they continued to rely

upon for traditional confirmation that real cessions dis-

established reservations:

In this way the exterior boundaries of a reservation

were further reduced. The lands thereby separated

from a reservation were no longer looked upon as

being part of that reservation.

54 Interior Dec. 560 (1934) (emphasis added), cited and

quoted in part in Memo. of the United States at 19-21

Rosebud (No. 75-562) and BUS,-Co. App. 79a (“The

Secretary noted that many reservation lands had been

ceded for a sum certain and concluded that ‘[t}]he lands

thereby separated from a reservation were no longer

looked upon as being a part of that reservation’” (54

I.D. at 560)). Id.

It is beyond dispute that both the Sisseton and the

Yankton reservation agreements are within the purview

15

of this analysis. For this reason, as the United States

pointed out, the list in the 1934 Opinion included some 26

“reservations.” It did not include either the Sisseton or

Yankton cession. BUS, Co. App. at 80a.

In oral argument, United States reiterated, by negative

implication, this same dominant point:

[W]henever Congress without a binding agreement

opens lands to white settlers, it does not pay for them

and does not guarantee any payment but only agrees

to act as trustee for future uncertain sales and leaves

the property interest in the Indians—as they did in

this case—that act does not remove the lands from

the boundaries of the Reservation.

Tr. at 22, Rosebud (No. 75-562) (emphasis added).

A few minutes later, the same cession distinction was

stressed in a different context:

[Ijn DeCoteau, which distinguishes both cases in a

case where sale was made for a sum certain and an

agreement was made, as counsel for the Tribe has

Id. at 28.

5. Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984). In Solem,

the United States combined and restated so many varia-

tions of earlier arguments that even a summary review is

difficult to present here. Moreover, since the United States

did not participate in oral argument, that source is not

available. In short, however, it can be fairly stated that

the United States in Solem argued whatever was necessary

to resist reservation disestablishment.

Most important for the present case are the concessions

of the United States regarding cessions which were adopted

in the Court’s Opinion. Solem, 465 U.S. at 470, 473

n.15, 474, 476, 478. The Petition addresses these points.

Pet. Br. at 7, 15-16, 23.

For example, the United States said:

a ye different from the situation in DeCoteau

and Rosebud in at least the following respects: (1)

16

the relevant legislation contains no language of “ces-

ee 5 So See Se SP SER AEN AEE Se

oo the relevant area.

Br. for the United States as pa Curiae Supp’ng Resp’t

(opposing Pet. for Cert.) at 4 n.3, Solem (No. 82-1253)

(emphasis added).

On the merits, the cession theme was restated with un-

mistakable clarity:

The critical question remains whether the statute in-

voked worked an immediate and irrevocable ces-

sion. .

To be sure, as DeCoteau and Rosebud illustrate,

there are instances in which a Reservation must be

found to have been irrevocably terminated or dimin-

ished. . . . In the climate of the times, the only

meaningful question is whether the legislation meant

to accomplish a present, unequivocal and irrevocable

transfer of Reservation tends tee Ge Tribe to the

United States.

The critical fact in all these cases is that Congress

exacted a present and total surrender of all tribal

interest in the ceded land in return for an uncondi-

tional commitment by the United States to an agreed

payment... .

[T]he clear line between outright cession and mere

ae up of tribal lands was not always observed.

ut we do not read Rosebud as erasing the

traditional distinction.

What is relevant, however, is that, at the end of the

day, no cession resulted.

BUS, Co. App. at 103a, 109a, 110a, llla, 113a, 122a

(emphasis added).

In this light, it is not surprising that Solem repeatedly

made these same cession observations.

6. Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994). Hagen re-

flects the most recent views of this Court in resolving dis-

establishment issues. Due to the history of the Utah

legislation, the United States devoted most of its argu-

17

ments in Hagen—naturally in favor of a recognition of

original reservation boundaries—to “public domain” term-

inology. These arguments were generally rejected in

DeCoteau. Again, in Hagen this Court squarely rejected

them. (See supra at 4 n.1).

The United States also strongly argued that a cession

and sum certain agreement was broadly understood to

effect disestablishment:

[Njone of the relevant documents . . . uses the in-

disputable language of cession that was a feature of

all of the relevant documents in Rosebud. Moreover,

in our view, the requirement in Solem that the

“understanding” be “widely held” uires proof that

the Indians ~ He in an understanding that altera-

tion of the Reservation’s boundaries was at hand;

the only obvious manifestation of such an under-

standing on the part of the Indians is an agreement

of cession, like the one approved in Rosebud.

BUS, Co. App. at 150a (emphasis added). See also id.

at 138a, 141an.20, 142a, 143a, 149a.

Significantly, in this instance the United States also

participated in oral argument and made explicit repre-

sentations as to the effect of the use of cession language:

MR. MANN: .... [T]he language of cession. That

seems to be—that phrase seems to be the phrase

Congress used when it intended to alter the bound-

aries of a reservation.

QUESTION: Well, when it intended to alter the

— of the reservation by cession. That much

is c

Tr. at 26, Hagen (No. 92-6281).

The County certainly would not attempt to improve

upon the gist of this exchange. Nothing more need be

said on this point.

7. Yankton Sioux Tribe v. South Dakota, 796 F.2d

241 (8th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1005

(1986). The United States has only had one opportunity

since DeCoteau (but before the present litigation) to tell

this Court specifically about the Yankton statute and how

18

it compared to the DeCoteuu statute. In that instance,

involving a lakebed, the comparison is also telling:

[T]he United States’ right to control Lakes Andes

and its bed, to the exclusion of the Yankton Sioux

Tribe, is in any event secured by the 1892 Cession

Agreement. . . . First, Article I is framed in terms

that this Court has repeatedly characterized as “ex-

press language of cession.” Oregon Dep't of Fish &

Wildlife v. Klamath Indian Tribe, No. 83-2148 (July

2, 1985), Slip op. 15 n.19; Solem v. Bartlett, 465

U.S. 463, 469 (1984). In DeCoteau vy. District

County Court, 420 U.S. 425, 445 (1975) (emphasis

added), this Court, in considering a similar

contemporaneous cession agreement, found that the

same language was “precisely suited” to the purpose

of conveying to the United States, “for a sum certain,

all of {the Indians’] interest in all of their unallotted

lands.”

Second, the retention of the lakebed by the Tribe

would have been inconsistent with the purposes of

the 1892 Cession Agreement. Those purposes con-

sisted not only of opening additional lands for non-

Indian settlement, but also of paving the way for

the anticipated end of the tribal way of life... .

BUS, Co. App. at 165a, 166a (emphasis on all in

original ).

While it remains to be seen what the United States

might tell this Court now, the County would submit that

in this excerpt in the 1986 Brief in Opposition, the

United States has already said everything worth saying

(“a similar and contemporaneous cession”). This

Yankton lakebed litigation was pending for over a

decade. Although reservation disestablishment was not

decided, the Yankton cession agreement was central to

the arguments for the United States and other parties. As

such, it was thoroughly reviewed and discussed in all

respects. At that time, Article XVIII of the Yankton

agreement, viewed in context, was not noteworthy and

did not even merit special attention in the argument of

the United States. (Not surprisingly, the position of the

19

United States on this issue was subsequently modified to

one that now supports the recognition of the original

Yankton reservation. Article XVIII figures prominently

in the new argument. )

8. Yankton Sioux Tribe v. Southern Missouri Waste

District, 99 F.3d 1439 (8th Cir. 1996). The United

States did not participate in this litigation in the district

court. In the court of appeals, the United States, as

amicus curiae, told the court that because the federal gov-

ernment retains jurisdiction over Indian country generally,

the continuing integrity of the exterior boundaries of In-

dian reservations is of “significant import.” Br. of the

United States at 1, Yankton Sioux v. Southern Missouri,

99 F.3d 1439 (8th Cir. 1996) (No. 95-2647). (The

United States did not mention the uncontested fact that

federal jurisdiction had not been exercised in this area for

over a century.)

Moreover, the United States argued, for the first time,

that it had a strong interest in protecting “the integrity of

reservation boundaries” because of its “special relation-

ship with Indian tribes.” 7d. The strength of this interest

presumably overpowered any inclination to present,

address, explain or defend any of the previous United

States’ cession arguments that were plainly inconsistent

with continued reservation status. The United States men-

tioned none of this and simply noted: “We do not agree

with the arguments raised by the County in its brief.

They are irrelevant to this case.” Id. at 19 n.11.

Only two points in the novel argument now advanced

by the United States in support of original reservation

boundaries are significant at this point in time. First, the

commendable concession that this Court’s 1914 Yankton

decision in Perrin v. United States, 232 U.S. 478 (1914),

“assumed” disestablishment. /d. at 19 n.10. And secondly,

that as late as 1985 the United States (and everyone

else) was continuing to make this same assumption:

{[T}he United States stated in a footnote in its brief

that, based on decisions of state courts in South

20

Dakota, the reservation had been diminished by the

1894 treaty.

Id. at 18 n.8.

The panel majority should have been more reluctant in

disregarding this venerable precedent.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and those stated in the Peti-

tion, the Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be granted.‘

Respectfully submitted,

MATTHEW F. GAFFEY Tom D. ToBIN

Charles Mix County Counsel of Record

State’s Attorney TOBIN LAW OFFICEs, P.C.

P.O. Box 370 422 Main Street

Lake Andes, SD 57356 P.O. Box 730

(605) 487-7441 Winner, SD 57580

(605) 842-2500

Dated: May 7, 1997

* The State and the County met with the Solicitor General of the

United States recently to request that the United States support

the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari (irrespective of differences

regarding the merits). Consistent with the submission of the

United States in Hagen, the County expects support should be

forthcoming if the Court invites the Solicitor General to express the

views of the United States. Br. for the United States as Amicus

Curiae (supporting Pet. for Cert.) at 15, Hagen (No. 92-6281). If

for any reason the Solicitor General declines to support the Petition,

it is respectfully submitted that the Court should consider that

view in the full light of the “litigation position” of the United

States in cases of this nature. In the past, this Court did exactly

that and granted certiorari in spite of the Solicitor General's

express recommendation to the contrary, when a conflict like this

was presented in 1984 involving the status of another reservation

in South Dakota. Br. for the United States as Amicus Curiae

Supp’ng Resp’t (opposing Pet. for Cert.) at 8, Solem (No. 82-1253).

Solem, 465 U.S. at 466 (“Because the Supreme Court of South Da-

kota has issued a pair of opinions offering a conflicting interpreta-

tion of the Act of May 29, 1908, we granted certiorari.”’).

payeeAr ree +

APPENDIX

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

Memorandum for the United States, Seymour v. Super-

intendent, 368 U.S. 361 (1962) 2.2. -----.eececeeen ee

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae, Mattz

v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973) .... oi

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae, DeCoteau

v. District County Court, 420 U.S. 425 (1975) ............

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae, Rosebud

Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584 (1977) ...

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae Support-

ing Respondent, Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984) .

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae Support-

ing Petitioner, Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994)

po 8

128a

la

APPENDIX

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OcToOBER TERM, 1960

No. 8 Misc.

PAUL SEYMOUR, PETITIONER

Vv.

MERLE E. SCHNECKLOTH, SUPERINTENDENT

OF WASHINGTON STATE PENITENTIARY

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of the State of Washington

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES

The Court has requested the view of the United States

as to whether the lands involved in the above-entitled case

are Indian lands.

The record in this case shows the land involved as

follows:

On the southwest corner of 6th Avenue and Jackson

Street (formerly 10th Street) in East Omak, Oke-

wogan County, Washington; that said premises are

more particularly described as Lot 9, Block 118 of

the government townsite of Omak and situated in

Section 36, Township 34, North Range, 26 E.N.M.

2a

According to the records of the Department of Interior,

this land is not held in a trust status for any Indian nor

is it held by an Indian subject to restrictions against alien-

ation. Nevertheless, it is the position of the Department

of Interor, with which the Department of Justice agrees,

that the land is “Indian country” as that term is defined

in 18 U.S.C. 1151.

18 U.S.C. 1151 provides in pertinent part that Indian

country means “all land within the limits of any Indian

reservation under the jurisdiction of the United States gov-

ernment, notwithstanding the issuance of any patent and

including rights-of-way running through the reservation.”

The land here is, in our view, “within the limits” of an

Indian reservation.

The Colville Reservation, as originally established by

executive order in 1872, was bounded on the north by the

international boundary and on the south by the Columbia

River. See Royce, Indian Land Cessions in the United

States, Washington Map 1, No. 536. That part of the

original reservation approximating the north half was

ceded to the United States and the reservation was di-

minished to approximately the south half in 1892. See

Royce, op cit., Washington Map 2, No. 717. While it

is true that the Act of March 22, 1906, 34 Stat. 80, made

provision for allotments on the diminished reservation

and authorized the sale and disposition of the unallotted

lands subject to payment of the proceeds of the sales to

the Indians, this did not destroy the existence of the

reservation. The Department of Interior continued to

recognize the entire diminished or “south half” as the

Colville Reservation. The Act of July 24, 1956, 70 Stat.

626, specifically provides in section | that “the undis-

posed-of lands of the Colville Indian Reservation, Wash-

ington, dealt with by the Act of March 22, 1906 (34

Stat. 80), are hereby restored to tribal ownership to be

held in trust by the United States to the same extent as

all other tribal lands on the existing reservation, subject

3a

to any existing valid rights.” Section 2 of that Act, au-

thorizing exchanges to effect land consolidation between

Indians and non-Indians in Okawogen County, provides

that the “acquisition of lands pursuant to this Act shall

be limited to lands within the boundary of the reserva-

tion.” This seems a clear recognition by Congress that

lands opened under the Act of 1906 are still within the

existing boundaries of the Colville Reservation.

Since it is the boundaries of the reservation, rather

than the fee title to the property, which is controlling

under 18 U.S.C. 1151, the land in issue seems to us to be

in “Indian Country.” Hence, under 18 U.S.C. 1153, the

crime of burglary would be punishable by the United

States, and not the state.

Respectfully submitted.

J. Lee RANKIN,

Solicitor General.

SEPTEMBER 1960.

4a

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OcTOBER TERM, 1972

No. 71-1182

RAYMOND MATZ, PETITIONER

Vv.

G. RAYMOND ARNETT

. On Writ of Certiorari to the

California Court of Appeal, First District

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS

AMICUS CURIAE

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the Supreme Court of California denying

petitioner's application for review (Pet. App. C) was

entered on December 16, 1971. The opinion of the

Court of Appeal, First District (Pet. App. A). is re d

at 20 Cal. App. 3d 729, 97 Cal. Rptr. 894.

JURISDICTION

On December 16, 1971, the Supreme Court of Cali-

fornia denied petitioner's application for review. A pe-

tition for a writ of certiorari was filed with this Court

on March 14, 1972, and was granted on January 15,

Sa

1973. This Court's jurisdiction rests on 28 U.S.C.

1257(3).

EXECUTIVE ORDER AND STATUTES INVOLVED

The Executive Order of October 16, 1891, I. Kappler,

Laws and Treaties 815 (1904), reads as follows:

EXECUTIVE MANSION OCTOBER 16, 1891

It is hereby ordered that the limits of the Hoopa

Valley Reservation in the state of California, a res-

ervation duly set apart for Indian purposes, as one

of the Indian reservations authorized to be set apart,

in said State, by Act of Congress approved April

8, 1864, (13 Stats. 39), be and the same are

hereby extended so as to include a tract of country

one mile in width on each side of the Klamath

River, and extending from the present limits of the

said Hoopa Valley reservation to the Pacific Ocean,

Provided, however, That any tract or tracts included

within the above described voundaries to which valid

rights have attached under the laws of the United

States are hereby excluded from the reservation as

hereby extended.

BENJ. HARRISON.

The Act of June 17, 1892, 27 Stat. 52, reads as follows:

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Rep-

resentatives of the United States of America in Con-

gress assembled, That all of the lands embraced in

what was Klamath River Reservation in the State

of California, as set apart and reserved under au-

thority of law by an Executive order dated Novem-

ber sixteenth, eighteen hundred and fifty-five, are

hereby declared to be subject to settlement, entry,

and purchase under the laws of the United States

granting homestead rights and authorizing the sale

of mineral, stone, and timber lands: Provided, That

any Indian now located upon said reservation may, at

6a

any time within one year from the passage of this

act, apply to the Secretary of the Interior for an

allotment of land for himself and, if the head of a

family, for the members of his family, under the pro-

visions of the act of February eighth, eighteen hun-

dred and eighty-seven, entitled “An act to provide

for the allotment of lands in severalty to Indians on

the various reservations, and to extend the protec-

tion of the laws of the United States and the Terri-

tories over the Indians, and for other purposes,” and,

if found entitled thereto, shall have the same allotted

as provided in said act or any act amendatory

thereof: Provided, That lands settled upon, improved,

and now occupied by settlers in good faith by quali-

fied persons under the land laws shall be exempt

from such allotment unless one or more of said

Indians have resided upon said tract in good faith

for four months prior to the passage of this act. And

the Secretary of the Interior may reserve from settle-

ment, entry, or purchase any tract or tracts of land

upon which any village or settlement of Indians is

now located, and may set apart the same for the

permanent use and occupation of said village or

settlement of Indians. And any person entitled to the

benefits of the homestead laws of the United States

who has in good faith prior to the passage of this

act, made actual settlement upon any lands within

said reservation not allotted under the foregoing pro-

viso and not reserved for the permanent use and

occupation of any village or settlement of Indians,

with the intent to enter the same under the homestead

law shall have the preferred right, at the expiration

of said period of one year to enter and acquire title

to the land so settled upon, not exceeding one hun-

dred and sixty acres, upon the payment therefor of

one dollar and twenty-five cents an acre, and such

settler shall have three months after public notice

given that such lands are subject to entry within

7a

which to file in the proper land office his application

therefor; and in case of conflicting claims between

settlers the land shall be awarded to the settler first

in order of time: Provided, That any portion of said

land more valuable for its mineral deposits than for

agricultural purposes, or for its timber, shall be en-

tered only under the law authorizing the entry and

sale of timber or mineral lands: And provided fur-

ther, That the heirs of any deceased settler shall

succeed to the rights of such settler under this act:

Provided further, That the proceeds arising from the

sale of said lands shall constitute a fund to be used

under the direction of the Secretary of the Interior

for the maintenance and education of the Indians

now residing on said lands and their children.

Approved, June 17, 1892. [Bold type shows lan-

guage added by Senate amendment of House bill. |

18 U.S.C. 1151 reads as follows:

Except as otherwise provided in sections 1154 and

1156 of this title, the term “Indian country”, as used

in this chapter, means (a) all land within the limits

of any Indian reservation under the jurisdiction of

the United States Government, notwithstanding the

issuance of any patent, and, including rights-of-way

running through the reservation, (b) all dependent

Indian communities within the borders of the United

States whether within the original or subsequently

acquired territory thereof, and whether within or

without the limits of a state, and (c) all Indian allot-

ments, the Indian titles to which have not been

extinguished, including rights-of-way running through

the same.

18 U.S.C. 1162 provides in relevant part:

(a) Each of the States or Territories listed in the

following table shall have jurisdiction over offenses

committed by or against Indians in the areas of

Indian country listed opposite the name of the State

or Territory to the same extent that such State or

Territory has jurisdiction over offenses committed

elsewhere within the State or Territory, and the

criminal laws of such State or Territory shall have

the same force and effect within such Indian country

as they have elsewhere within the State or Territory:

State or Territory of Indian country affected

* * *” bs

California All Indian country within

the State.

* * a *

(b) Nothing in this section shall authorize the

alienation, encumbrance, or taxation of any real or

personal property, including water rights, belonging

to any Indian or any Indian tribe, band, or com-

munity that is held in trust by the United States or

is subject to a restriction against alienation imposed

by the United States; * * * or shall deprive any

Indian or any Indian tribe, band, or community of

any right, privilege, or immunity afforded under Fed-

eral treaty, agreement, or statute with respect to hunt-

ing, trapping or fishing or the control, licensing, or

regulation thereof.

The California Fish and Game Code, Section 12300,

reads as follows:

Irrespective of any other provisions of law, the

provisions of this code are not applicable to Cali-

fornia Indians whose names are inscribed upon the

tribal rolls, while on the reservation of such tribe

and under those circumstances in this State where

the code was not applicable to them immediately

prior to the effective date of Public Law 280, Chap-

ter 505, First Session, 1953, 83d Congress of the

United States.

9a

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether petitioner’s fishing nets were seized by the

State of California within Indian country as defined by

18 U.S.C. 1151 (62 Stat. 757, as amended by 63 Stat.

94).

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This brief is submitted in response to the Court’s of

October 10, 1972, inviting the Solicitor General to ex-

press the views of the United States in this case.

STATEMENT

This action was brought by the respondent, director of

the state Department of Fish and Game, for the forfeiture

of five nylon gill nets owned by the petitioner on the

ground that he used the nets in violation of California’s

fish and game laws. The nets were seized by a state game

warden on September 24, 1969. The nets were stored in

open containers upon land owned by a lumber company

within 200 feet of the Klamath River on land that had

once been part of the Klamath River Reservation and that

had been made part of the Hoopa Valley Reservation by

Executive Order in 1891 (Pet. App. A, p. 1; Pet. App.

B, pp. 4-5).

The petitioner intervened to resist the forfeiture alleg-

ing that he is an enrolled Indian of the Yurok (Klamath

River) Tribe, that the nets were seized within Indian

country as defined by 18 U.S.C. 1151, and that the Cali-

fornia law prohibiting use of the nets was therefore in-

applicable.

1 Having ruled that the land where the nets were seized was not

Indian country, the California courts did not reach the issue

whether, if the land is Indian country, petitioner is a beneficiary

of rights which either are preserved from state regulation by

18 U.S.C. 1162(b), supra, or entitle him to the exemption of Cali-

fornia Fish and Game Code, Section 12300, supra. See Pet. App.

A, pp. 1-2.

10a

The trial court held that the land where the nets were

seized was not “Indian country” within the scope of 18

U.S.C. 1151 and was not within an Indian reservation

within the meaning of California Fish and Game Code,

Section 12300, because the Act of June 17, 1892, which

had opened the Reservation for public purchase of excess

land had, in effect, terminated the twenty miles of the

reservation nearest to the Pacific Ocean (Pet. App. B,

pp. 1-2). The state Court of Appeal affirmed the decision

on the same grounds (Pet. App. A), and the Supreme

Court of California denied petitioner’s application for

review (Pet. App. C). Petitioner then filed a petition for

a writ of certiorari in this Court, which granted the

petition on January 15, 1973.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. The events leading to the Act of June 17, 1892,

show that the Act did not terminate the portion of the

Hoopa Valley Reservation to which it applied. The sea-

ward twenty miles of the addition to the Hoopa Valley

Reservation had been the Klamath River Reservation.

Because of legal problems in maintaining multiple sepa-

rate reservations, the President, by Executive Order in

1891, had made the Klamath River Reservation part of

the Hoopa Valley Reservation. The reference in the 1892

act to “what was the Klamath River Reservation” merely

designates the portion of the addition to the Hoopa Valley

Reservation that had previously been a separate reserva-

tion. It does not indicate a congressional abolition of half

of the just created Hoopa addition.

The Act of 1892 can properly be understood only in

light of the General Allotment Act which Congress had

recently passed. In that Ast Congress maintained Indian

reservations but permitted allotments of land within reser-

vations to individual Indians and sales of surplus land to

non-Indians. The General Allotment Act, however, did

not require the President to make allotments within any

particular reservation. Consequently a number of Acts

lla

requiring allotments and disposal of surplus land within

particular reservations were passed. The 1892 Act was

such an Act. Nothing in the Act purports to terminate

the part of the reservation to which it applies. When

Congress has wished to terminate all or part of a reserva-

tion it has done so explicitly.

II. The consistent course of administrative and con-

gressional action subsequent to the Act of 1892 supports

the proposition that that Act did not abolish the Klamath

River portion of the Reservation. The Department of the

Interior, shortly after the passage of the Act, was re-

quired to determine whether allotments made under the

Act were allotments on or off a reservation. In a care-

fully reasoned and documented opinion the Department

in charge of administering the Act ruled that the Act

reconfirmed, rather than cast doubt upon, the continued

existence of the Reservation. This has been the consistent

view of the Department of the Interior, and has also been

the premise on which Congress has subsequently acted.

III. The decisions of this Court has consistently held

that Acts opening reservations or parts of reservations for

allotment and disposal of surplus land for the benefit of

the resident Indians do not thereby abolish the reserva-

tions. Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351, is, in

our view, controlling here. The Act of 1906 in question

in Seymour, 34 Stat. 80, was identical in effect to the

Act in question here. This Court held that that statute,

while requiring allotment and disposal of surplus land in

the Colville Reservation, did not thereby terminate the

Reservation. Moreover, although one of the primary pur- -

poses of the extension of the Hoopa Valley Reservation

was to secure the Indians’ fishing rights in the Klamath

River, nothing in the 1892 Act purported to terminate

those rights. An intent to take such rights without com-

pensation merely by implication should not be presumed.

12a

ARGUMENT

I. THE EVENTS LEADING TO THE ACT OF JUNE

17, 1892, 27 STAT. 52, AND THE ACT ITSELF

SHOW THAT THE ACT DID NOT TERMINATE

THE ADDITION TO THE HOOPA VALLEY RES-

ERVATION CREATED BY EXECUTIVE ORDER

on MONTHS BEFORE, ON OCTOBER 16,

A. The History of the Establishment of the Reserva-

tion

The Yurok Indians historically have been fishing people

who live on the lower Klamath River near the Pacific

Ocean, the area in question here. See Kroeber, Hand-

book of the Indians of California, p. 1 (1925) Their

very name means “downstream” in the language of the

adjacent Karok Tribe. Kroeber, supra, at p. 15.

On November 16, 1855, as authorized by the Act of

March 3, 1855 (10 Stat. 686, 699), President Pierce

set apart as an Indian reservation a strip of territory ex-

tending along the Klamath River for a width of one mile

on each side for a distance of twenty miles inland from

the Pacific Ocean. The area is a deep gorge, consisting

of craggy timberland rich in redwood and pine with little

arable land except at the river bank. The area was chosen

because the Indians had always lived there and had de-

pended largely on fish from the Klamath River for their

diet and trade.*

In his 1861 Annual Report (quoted in 33 I.D. at

216) the Commissioner of Indian Affairs described the

Reservation as follows:

? There are excerpts from Kroeber at A. 34-44.

* See 1858 Annual Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs,

p. 286, quoted in Crichton v. Shelton, 38 Decisions of the Depart-

ment af the Interior (1.D.) 205, 216. See also 33 I.D. at 205-206.

l3a

This reservation is well located, and the improve-

ments are suitable and of considerable value. There

is an abundance of excellent timber for fencing and

all other purposes, and at the mouth of the Klamath

river there is a salmon fishery of great value to the

Indians.

In 1861 the Klamath river flooded and destroyed many

of the Indian villages. This led the Interior Department

to attempt a temporary relocation of the Yurok and other

Klamath River Indians to a reservation on the Smith

River, but few left and most of those soon returned.*

The Smith River reservation was thereafter abolished.

In 1864 the Hoopa Valley Reservation, a 12-mile

square about 50 miles inland from the mouth of the

Klamath River, was created by administrative order au-

thorized by the Act of April 8, 1864 (13 Stat. 39) (later

confirmed by Executive Order of June 23, 1876, I Kap-

pler, supra, at p. 815). Its creation inadvertently cast

doubt on the continued /Jegality of the Klamath River res-

ervation (not on its occupation or use by Indians). This

was so because the Act of April 8, 1864, supra, which

authorized the President to create new Indian reserva-

tions within California, limited the number of new and

old reservations to four, and, arguably, the President had

exceeded that number. Indeed, in 1889 the Circuit Court

for the Northern District of California ruled that because

of the President's failure to list the Klamath River Reser-

vation as one of the four, it was no longer legally a reser-

vation. United States v. Forty-Eight Pounds of Rising

Star Tea, 38 Fed. 400.

It was in response to this decision that, in order to

preserve the Klamath River Reservation, President Har-

rison issued the Executive Order of October 16, 1891

(p. 2, supra) extending the Hoopa Valley Reservation to

* See Crichton, supra, 3 1.D. at 208.

® Act of July 27, 1868, 15 Stat. 198, 221.

l4a

the sea in a stri one-mile wide on each side of the Kla-

san bens op vo te tnchede Gee teomer Elamats Wiest

Reservation. In Donnelly v. United States, 228 U.S. 243,

this Court upheld the validity of the 1891 Executive

Order extending the Hoopa Reservation to the sea.

B. The Act of June 17, 1892 and the General

Allotment Act

In our view, the Act of June 17, 1892, can properly

be understood only in light of two considerations: (1)

what Congress had done five years earlier in the General

Allotment Act (Act of February 8, 1887, 24 Stat. 388)

and (2) the changes made in the 1892 Act during the

legislative process in order to incorporate Allotment Act

provisions in it.

1. By the 1880's and 1890's the Indians in the West

had given up vast areas of land, but they still had sub-

stantial holdings in the form of reservations, created by

treaty, executive order, or statute. During this period

there was much pressure on Congress to remove land

from these reservations and make it available for settle-

ment and exploitation by non-Indians. But there was also

considerable feeling that to do so would violate treaties

and generally break faith with the Indians who had been

induced to give up larger areas of land and to become

peaceful in return for federal protection and the reserva-

tions created for them. The General Allotment Act of

1887 was to some extent a congressional compromise of

these conflicting pressures and considerations.

The policy of the Act was to continue the reservation

system and the trust status of Indian land at least for

® Donnelly concerned a crime committed within the “connecting

strip” joining the former Hoopa and Klamath River Reservations.

The Court consequently did not specifically consider the effect of

the Act of 1892. However, it characterized it as “opening” that

part of the reservation to “settlement, entry and purchase,” 228

U.S. at 253, not as terminating or abolishing it.

1Sa

the time being, but to allot individual tracts to Indians

- (in trust) which they would be encouraged to farm.

When all the land had been allotted and the trusts had

expired, the reservation could be abolished.” In the mean-

time, since acreage limitations were put on the allott-

ments, there would usually be surplus land within reserva-

tions which could be made available to non-Indians. It

was hoped that the resulting juxtaposition of the two

races would be edifying to the Indians and encourage

them to adopt white ways."

While the General Allotment Act thus permitted the

President to make allotments of reservations lands and,

with tribal consent, to sell surplus lands, it did not require

him to do so. Congress, therefore, occasionally enacted

special legislation to assure that a particular reservation

would be opened for allotment and non-Indian settlement.

The Act of June 17, 1892, at issue in this case, is an

example of such legislation.°

Because of the General Allotment Act and these special

Acts opening land within reservations to settlement, it is

common today to have extensive non-Indian holdings

within reservations. As we show in point III, infra,

however, allotments to Indians and sales to non-Indians,

whether under the General Allotment Act or special

Acts, do not in themselves terminate the reservations or

even make the lands therein held by non-Indians cease

to be Indian country. Seymour v. Superintendent, 368

U.S. 351, 357-359; Ellis v. Page, 351 F.2d 250 (C.A.

10); State v. Molash, 199 N.W. 2d 591 (Sup. Ct. S.D.).

* The original trust period was to be 25 years, but those periods

have often been extended. See p. 21, infra.

* See, generally, United States Department of the Interior, Fed-

eral Indian Law, pp. 115-117, 127-129, 776-777 (1958).

® The policy of allotment and sale of surplus lands within reserva-

tions was repudiated in the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934,

48 Stat. 984 et seq., as amended, 25 U.S.C. 461 et seq.

16a

2. The ures of non-Indians to obtain some of

the land anh ceamntalle the redwood forests within the

Klamath River Reservation were particularly strong. In

1879, at the request of the Department of the Interior,

military forces were used to evict trespassers. Thereafter,

the Secretary decided in 1883 to make allotments to

Indians living on the reservation, but he revoked the

decision because of inadequate surveys and nothing further

was done at that time to make allotments or authorize

white settlement.” In October 1891, the President re-

affirmed the existence of the reservation by his Executive

Order incorporating it into an extension of the Hoopa

Valley Reservation (see p. 2, supra).

House Bill, H.R. 38, 52d Cong., Ist Sess., which after

amendment became the Act of 1892 at issue here, was

reported out of committee on February 5, 1892" and

was passed by the House on March 1, 1892," only

months after the President had reaffirmed the existence

of the reservation. The apparent purpose of the House

Bill" was to seck to open the reservation to non-Indian

interests without raising too much age une B ok

age did not to terminate t eserva

eal sonia cay we! created by the President, and it

did not purport to “diminish” the Reservation. Nor did

it call for the removal of the Indians.

The bill first designates, as the area to which it applied,

what was “Klamath River Reservation"—thus only the

seaward portion of the just created extension of the

Hoopa Valley Reservation. The bill opened the designated

1 See Annual Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs for

1885, quoted in part in Crichton, supra, 33 1.D. at 214.

1! H. Rept. No. 161, 52d Cong., 1st Sess.

12 23 Cong. Rec. 1598-1599.

with the

13 At pages 2-3, supra, we have set forth the 1892 Act

House language in normal type and the language added by the

Senate in bold type.

17a

portion of the Reservation for settlement under the home-

stead, mineral and timber laws. However, it recognized

that there were both Indian villages and settlements within

that part of the reservation and authorized the Secretary

of the Interior to set those apart for permanent use by

the Indians. The bill provided for confirmation of title

for non-Indians who had settled on reservation land not

constituting Indian villages or communities, and specified

that the funds derived from the sale of the land “shall

constitute a fund to be used under the direction of the

Secretary of the Interior for the maintenance and educa-

tion of the Indians now residing on said lands and their

children.” The House bill thus recognized a continuing

Indian community and a continuing federal responsibility

for Indians living in this portion of the reservation.

The Senate, however, was not satisfied that the House

bill adequately protected Indian interests; it amended the

bill and called for a conference with the House. 23 Cong.

Rec. 3918-3919. As a result of the Senate amendment,

the first two provisos of the Act were added (see p. 3,

supra, bold type). In these provisos the area in question

is referred to as a “reservation” and “any Indian now

located upon said reservation” is permitted to “apply to

the Secretary of the Interior for an allotment of land for

himself and * * * for the members of his family, under

the provisions of * * * [the General Allotment Act].”

In other words, the Senate, dissatisfied with the House

bill, which would have allowed non-Indian settlement

without first providing for Indian allotments, brought the

Act into line with the General Allotment Act, with the

difference that Congress ordered the opening rather than

leaving it to the President with the consent of the

Indians."*

'* Senator Dawes, the author of the General Allotment Act, sat

on the Conference Committee. See 32 Cong. Rec. 3919. Because

the House bill was significantly amended in the Senate and in the

Conference Committee before it was enacted, respondent errs in

18a

Nothing in the Act, or even in the House bill, purports

to abolish the Reservation. The reference in the Act to

“what was the Klamath River Reservation” merely iden-

tifies the part of the extension of the Hoopa Valley

Reservation to which the Act applied (see p. 15, supra).

The court below erred in relying on this descriptive

designation as indicating abolition of the Reservation.

When Congress has wished to abolish an Indian reserva-

tion, it has used direct and unambiguous language to

accomplish that purpose. For example, when Congress

abolished the nearby Smith River Reservation it stated y

[T]he Smith River reservation is hereby discontinued.

15 Stat. 221. And when several Oklahoma Reservations

were abolished, the tribes agreed to “‘cede, convey,

transfer, relinquish, and surrender, foreover and abso-

lutely, without any reservation’ all their claim in and to

the lands embraced within the designated reservation.

Ellis v. Page, 351 F.2d 250, 252 (C.A. 10).

In another example, Congress specified:

[T]jhe reservation lines of the said Ponca and

Otoe and Missouria Indian reservations be, and the

same are hereby abolished. 33 Stat. 218.

See also 68 State. 250 (providing for the abolition of

the Menominee Reservation): State v. Molash, 199 N.W.

relying (Br. pp. 5-7) on statements in the House Report accompany-

ing that bill which do not reflect the amendments designed to pro-

tect the interests of Indians living on the Reservation. Those

amendments are inconsistent with the statements in the House

Report (and with isolated similar statements by individuals during

the floor debates) that the Klamath River area was no longer being

used as a reservation—a statement as to which the Department

of the Interior later declared “the committee was apparently mis-

taken * * *” (Crichton, supra, 33 I.D. at 214). Moreover, although

the House Report is dated more than 5 months after the Executive

Order establishing the extension of the Hoopa Valley Reservation

(see p. 15, supra), it makes no mention of this highly significant

Presidential action affecting the land and people in question.

19a

2d, 591 (Sup. Ct. $.D.); Leech Lake Band v. Herbst,

334 F. Supp. 1001 (D. Minn.)

The contrast of these statutory provisions with the Act

at issue here is highly significant—particularly in light

of the 1892 Act’s provisions recognizing that Indians

individually and in villages and communities would con-

tinue to live in the area and would continue to be under

federal protection (see p. 4, supra).”

And there is nothing in the Act suggesting any loss of

fishing rights for the Indian residents of the area or

diminution of federal jurisdiction over the area.

il. THE CONSISTENT COURSE OF ADMINIS-

TRATIVE AND CONGRESSIONAL ACTION

SUBSEQUENT TO THE ACT OF JUNE 17,

1892, SUPPORTS THE PROPOSITION THAT

THE ACT DID NOT ABOLISH THE KLA-

MATH RIVER PORTION OF THE 1891 EX-

TENSION OF THE HOOPA VALLEY RESER-

VATION

Interpretation of a law by the government agency

responsible to administer it is entitled to great weight.

In 1893, pursuant to the 1892 Act and the General Allotment

Act, 161 allotments were granted to Indians residing on the

Klamath River part of the Hoopa Extension, thus demonstrating

a sizeable Indian community at the time the Act was passed. These

allotments averaged 60 acres each, totaling 9,762 acres, 40% of

the approximately 25,000 acres of the part of the reservation opened

for settlement. Finding of Fact No. 88, p. 57, Report of Commis-

sioner in Jessie Short, et al. v. United States, C.Cls. No. 102-63.

At the trial of the present case evidence was submitted showing

that petitioner’s mother holds such an allotment and that his fish-

ing was in the close vicinity of that allotment (A. 28-31).

In Jessie Short, pending in the United States Court of Claims,

the issue is whether the joining of the two reservations gave all

Indians residing therein rights in the whole or whether each group

has rights only within its original portion. Neither the United

States nor the other parties to that suit contest the continued

existence of the whole as an Indian reservation though the decision

of the California court of appeal in this case is, of course, noted.

a ge Ce

20a

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 433-434;

Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 16. The consistent course

of administrative interpretation by the Department of

the Interior has been, and remains, that the Klamath

River Reservation was not abolished by the 1892 Act

and still survives.

In 1904 the Department of the Interior was required

to rule on whether an allotment made in the Klamath

River Reservation portion of the Hoopa Extension under

the Act of June 17, 1892, was an allotment within an

Indian reservation or outside a reservation. Crichton v.

Shelton, 33 1.D. 205. The question of the survival of

the Reservation after the 1892 Act was squarely pre-

sented. In a carefully reasoned and fully documented

opinion, the Department ruled that the challenged allot-

ments were allotments on a reservation, and that the 1892

Act, in authorizing such allotments, reconfirmed, rather

than cast doubt upon, the continued existence of the

Reservation. 33 I.D, at 219-220. This contemporaneous

interpretation of the 1892 Act was rendered, not by the

Bureau of Indian Affairs, but by the Department of the

Interior—the Department charged with administering the

Act both as to Indians (through the Bureau of Indian

Affairs), and as to non-Indian settlers (through the Land

Office ).

The opinion is significant not only for its holding, but

also for the thorough factual and historical background it

set forth at a time when the events were less remote.

Of particular importance here is the opinion’s carefully

documented statement that (33 I.D. at 217):

* * * the lands within the reservation are peculiarly

adapted to the purposes for which it was sct apart,

reference being had to the location of said lands and

the habits and necessities of the Indians [occupying

them]. There is little question that the prevailing

motive for setting apart the reservation was to secure

2la

to the Indians the fishing privileges of the Klamath

River. * * *

Testimony at a congressional hearing held in 1932"

confirms that the Department of the Interior still con-

sidered the seaward twenty miles of the Klamath River

to be an Indian reservation. O. M. Boggess, Superintend-

ent (for 12 years) of the Department’s Hoopa Indian

Agency, in a statement taken at Hoopa California, Sep-

tember 24, 1932, testified (A. 14):

Mr. Boccess. This reservation is 12 miles square

and then there is an extension | mile on each side

for an aditional 50 miles down the Klamath River

to the east [sic] coast.

Senator FRAzieER. Is it all connected?

Mr. Boccess. Yes; and it is all classed by the

Indian Office as one reservation.

Senator FRAZIER. What do they call this reser-

vation?

Mr. Boccess. They call it the Hoopa, and the

mile strips they call the Klamath.

The Department of the Interior today administers the

entire 1891 extension to the Hoopa Valley Reservation

as an Indian reservation. See note 15, supra.”

Moreover, after it authorized entry to surplus lands

in the 1892 Act, Congress also continued to treat the

Klamath River Reservation as an existing reservation.

Indians had continued to live on this part of the Hoopa

Extension (as they do today), but the trust period on

their allotments had expired in 1919. Instead of con-

sidering its responsibilities terminated in this area, Con-

6 (2d Congress, Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the

Ur ited States, Part 29, California, U.S. Printing Office 1934. See

/.. 12-16.

“' See, also, map of Indian Land Areas published by the Depart-

ment of the Interior in 1971, which we have lodged with the Clerk

of this Court.

22a

gress in the Act of December 24, 1942, 56 Stat. 1081,

25 U.S.C. 348a, extended “The period of trust on lands

allotted to Indians of the Klamath River Reservation

* * *” reimposing “the trust on certain lands allotted

to Indians of the Klamath River Reservation, California.

And in the Act of May 19, 1958, 72 Stat. 121, Congress

restored to tribal ownership 159.57 acres of “vacant and

undisposed-of-ceded lands * * * on the following named

Indian reservations * * * : Klamath River, California

* * * Compare Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S.

351, 356.

Ill. THIS COURT’S DECISIONS INDICATE THAT

THE FOREGOING CONSIDERATIONS ES-

TABLISH THE CONTINUED EXISTENCE OF

THE RESERVATION

1. The Act of June 17, 1892, is only one of many

Acts which between 1887 and approximately 1913 opened

Indian reservations for allotments to individual Indians

and settlement of surplus lands by non-Indians.’** These

Acts are modifications of the General Allotment Act

designed to apply to specific reservations. While they

vary in detail, they rather uniformly provide for allot-

ments to individual Indians within the reservation, make

surplus land available to homesteaders, and provide that

the proceeds from the disposition of the surplus lands

will be used for the benefit of Indians on the reservation.

The question whether such Acts make either land allotted

to Indians or land patented to non-Indians no longer

18 See, e.g., Act of March 2, 1889, 25 Stat. 888 (Sioux Reserva-

tions), United States v. Nice, 241 U.S. 591; Act of March 22,

1906, 34 Stat. 80 (Colville Reservation), Seymour v. Superintend-

ent, 368 U.S. 351; Act of May 29, 1908, 35 Stat. 460 ( Cheyenne

River Reservation), United States ex rel. Condon vy. Erickson, 344

F. Supp. 777 (D. S.D.): Act of June 1, 1910, 36 Stat. 455 (Fort

Berthold Reservation), The City of New Town, North Dakota v.

United States, 454 F.2d 121 (C.A. 8); Act of February 14, 1913,

387 Stat. 675 (Standing Rock Reservation), State v. Molash, 199

N.W.2d 591 (Sup. Ct. S.D.).

23a

Indian country has been before the courts many times

and has been addressed by Congress in defining Indian

country in 18 U.S.C. 1151, pp. 4-5, supra. Both before

and after the enactment of 18 U.S.C. 1151, this Court

has consistently held that neither allotment nor sale of

land within a reservation terminates the reservation.

In United States v. Celestine, 215 US. 278, the Court

had to decide whether various patents of land made

within a reservation precluded federal jurisdiction over a

murder that might have occurred on patented land. The

Court held (id. at 284):

That the offense was committed within the limits

of the Tulalip Indian Reservation is distinctly charged

in the indictment and not challenged in the plea in

bar. Although the defendant had received a patent

for the land within that reservation, and although

the murdered woman was the owner of another tract

within such limits, also patented, both tracts re-

mained within the reservation until Congress ex-

cluded them therefrom.

The general principles stated by the Court was that “* * *

when Congress has once established a reservation all tracts

included within it remain a part of the reservation until

separated therefrom by Congress.” Jd. at 285. The Court

held that the patenting of allotments on the reservation

to individual Indians did not constitute such separation

and did not terminate the reservation.

Several ye*rs later in United States v. Nice, 241 U.S.

591, the Court was called upon to interpret the Act of

March 2, 1889, 25 Stat. 888, which, similarly to the Act

at issue here, required allotments to be made within

various Sioux reservations in accordance with the General

Allotment Act and which authorized the Secretary of the

Interior, with the consent of the tribe, to sell surplus land

after the allotments had been made. The Court held that

this Act did not terminate the reservation, since both the

24a

General Allotment Act and the Act in question “disclosed

that the tribal relation, while ultimately to be broken up,

was not to be dissolved by the making or taking of allot-

ments, and subsequent legislation shows repeated instances

in which the tribal relations of Indians having allotments

under the Act was recognized during the trust period as

still continuing.” 241 U.S. at 596-597. See also Wilbur

v. United States, 281 U.S. 206.

This Court’s more recent decision in Seymour v. Super-

inten ent, 368 U.S. 351, is, in our view, controlling here.

The 1906 Act in question in Seymour, 34 Stat. 80, was

identical in effect to the Act in question here. That Act

(1) provided for allotments to Indians under the provi-

sions of the General Allotment Act (Sec. 2); (2) re-

quired that surplus land be made available for homestead-

ing (Sec. 3); (3) required that surplus land not settled

by homestead be sold at auction (ibid.); and (4) provided

that the proceeds received from homesteading and sale be

used for the benefit of the Indians remaining on the reser-

vation (Sec. 6). In holding that the Act did not terminate

the reservation there at issue, the Court emphasized the

absence from the Act of language abolishing the reserva-

tion or “restoring that land to the public domain” (368

U.S. at 355) and the Act’s requirement that the proceeds

of sales of the land be used for the benefit of the Indians

(id. at 355-356). The Court also relied on the subsequent

interpretation of the Act by the Department of the Interior

(id. at 357) and the subsequent congressional restoration

to the tribe of undisposed of lands within the reservation

(id. at 356). All of these factors, which were con-

19 The Court in Seymour also rejected the State’s alternative con-

tention that the reservation, if 1fot totally abolished, had at least

been diminished to the extent of actual purchases of lands within

it by non-Indians. The Court held this contention inconsistent

with the definition of Indian country in 18 U.S.C. 1151 as including

“ ‘all land within the limits of any Indian reservation under the

jurisdiction of the United States Government, notwithstanding

the issuance of any patent * * *.’” 368 U.S. at 357-358.

25a

trolling in Seymour, are also

trolling, here. also present, and equally con-

2. We note also that no mention is m i

ade in the Act

of June 17, 1892, of depriving the Indians of the Reans

Valley Reservation Extension of either their ownership

of the river bed or their fishing rights.”

In Donnelly v. United States, 228 US. 2 i

- Un , S. 243, 259, th

Court held that the river bed was part of that Recstaten

pe nc the importance of fishing to Indian life

Does the reservation include the bed of the Klamath

River? The descriptive words of the order are “a

tract of country one mile in width on each side of

the Klamath River and extending,” etc. It seems to

us clear that if the United States was the owner of

the river bed,*' a reasonable construction of this

language requires that the river be considered as in-

cluded within the reservation. Indeed, in view of all

the circumstances, it would be absurd to treat the

order as intended to include the uplands to the width

of one mile on each side of the river, and at the same

time exclude the river. As a mater of history it

plainly appears that the Klamath Indians established

themselves along the river in order to gain a sub-

sistence by fishing. The reports of the local Indian

agents and superintendents to the Commissioners of

Indian Affairs abound in references to fishing as

their principal subsistence, and the river is described

ingen extensive hearings in 1964 the Senate let die in com-

— Poacn- proposals to terminate Indian fishing rights on the

ast, Hearings before the Subcommittee on Indian Affairs

of the Senate Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs, on S. J.

rh and S. J. Res. 171, 88th Cong., 2d Sess. And Congress in

S.C. 1162(b) (p. 5, supra) in granting criminal and civil

jurisdiction over Indian country to c in §

ertain States .

cepted federally protected fishing rights. specifically ex

*! The Court held that it was. Jd. at 264.

26a

as running in a narrow canyon through a broken

country, the Indians as dwelling in small villages

close to its banks. [Emphasis added.]

See also Metlakatla Indians v. Egan, 369 U.S. 45; Choc-

taw Nation v. Oklahoma, 397 U.S. 620.

The obvious intent of specifically including the riverbed

and shore in the Hoopa Extension (Executive Order of

October 16, 1891) was to protect the right of the Indians

to fish. Nothing in the Act of 1892 purported to termi-

nate the Tribes’ ownership of the riverbed or their fishing

rights. An intent to take such rights without compen-

sation merely by implication should not be presumed.

Menominee Tribe v. United States, 391 U.S. 404. See

also Kennerly v. District Court of Montana, 400 U.S. 423.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the California Court of Appeal should

be reversed and the case should be remanded for deter-

mination of the issues not reached by the courts below.

Respectfully submitted.

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD,

Solicitor General.

KENT FRIZZELL,

Assistant Attorney General.

Harry R. SACHSE,

Assistant to the Solicitor

General.

CARL STRASS,

GLEN R. GOoDSELL,

Attorneys.

MARCH 1973.

27a

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1974

No. 73-1148

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION OF

CHERYL SpPIpER DeCOTEAU, PETITIONER

v.

Tue District COURT FOR THE

TENTH JupiIciAL District

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of South Dakota

No. 73-1500

Don R. ERICKSON, WARDFN, SouTH DAKOTA

STATE PENITENTIARY, PETITIONER

v.

JOHN LEE FEATHER, ET AL.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

AS AMICUS CURIAE

28a

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Act of March 3, 1891, opening land

within the Lake Traverse Indian Reservation to non-

Indian settlement, granted the State of South Dakota

criminal and domestic relations jurisdiction over members

of the Sisseton,Wahpeton Sioux Tribe with respect to acts

done on such land patented to non-Indians.*

TREATY AND STATUTE INVOLVED

The Treaty of February 19, 1867, 15 Stat. 505, is set

forth in the Brief for Petitioner in DeCoteau at App.

1-6.

The pertinent provisions of the Act of March 3, 1891,

26 Stat. 989, are set forth in the Brief for Petitioner in

DeCoteau at App. 7-15.

STATEMENT

This brief supplements the memorandum submitted in

response to the Court’s order of April 29, 1974, inviting

the Solicitor General to express the views of the United

States in DeCoteau v. The District County Court, and

expresses the views of the United States in the closely

related case of Erickson v. Feather, certiorari was granted

in both cases on June 3, 1974.

1. DeCoteau v. District County Court (No. 73-1148)

In December 1971, the State of South Dakota brought

dependency and neglect proceedings in the District Court

1 It is common ground that, since South Dakota is not a “Public

Law 280 State” by original designation or subsequent election (see

Act of August 15, 1953, 67 Stat. 588: 18 U.S.C. 1162; 28 U.S.C.

1360), the State lacks civil and criminal jurisdiction over Indians

within the boundaries of a subsisting reservation, regardless of

whether the acts occurred on Indian trust lands or lands patented

to non-Indians. See 18 U.S.C. 1151. Accordingly, the question pre-

sented might be more simply stated as: Whether the boundaries

of the Lake Traverse Indian Reservation remain as originally

established by the Treaty of 1867.

29a

for the Tenth Judicial District of South Dakota against

petitioner DeCoteau, an enrolled member of the Sisseton-

Whapeton Sioux Tribe, seeking to terminate her parental

authority over her minor children, Robert Lee Feather

and Herbert John Spider, also enrolled members of the

Tribe. The parties stipulated that all of the facts giving

rise to the court's order occurred within the boundaries

of the Lake Traverse Reservation, as established under

the Treaty of February 19, 1867, supra, approximately

half on allotted Indian land, and the other half on land

patented to non-Indians (Decoteau, Pet. App. A. 2a; Pet.

App. B, 9a). Both children were placed in foster homes

by the county court.

On August 4, 1972, Mrs. DeCoteau moved in the

county court for dismissal of the proceedings and return

of her children to her on the ground that all the incidents

giving rise to the proceedings involved Indians and oc-

curred on the Reservation and that the court therefore

lacked jurisdiction. The county court denied the motion.

Mrs. DeCoteau then petitioned in the South Dakota

Circuit Court for the Fifth Judicial Circuit for a writ of

habeas corpus. That court denied the writ (DeCoteau,

Pet. App. B). While it found that Mrs. DeCoteau and

the two children are enrolled members of the Sisseton-

Wahpeton Sioux Tribe (DeCoteau, Pet. App. B, 8a), it

ruled that the county court had jurisdiction to entertain

the dependency and neglect proceedings because some of

the alleged incidents occurred on non-Indian owned land

within the original boundaries of the Reservation, and,

in the court’s view, “the non-Indian patented land * * *

~ 4 within the Indian Country” (DeCoteau, Pet. App.

, ).

The Supreme Court of the State of South Dakota

affirmed (DeCoteau, Pet. App. A). It held that the effect

of the agreement between the United States and the Tribe

dated December 12, 1889, and the Act of March 3,

30a

1891, 26 Stat. 989, 1036, ratifying that agreement, was

to separate from the Reservation all lands not allotted to

Indians, and, because some of the incidents occurred on

such land, the State courts had jurisdiction over the

family relationships at issue.

2. Erickson v. Feather, et al. (No. 73-1500)

The ten respondents in this case are all enrolled mem-

bers of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Indian Tribe. They were

all tried and convicted in the courts of South Dakota for

alleged crimes committed within the Treaty boundaries of

the Lake Traverse Reservation, but not upon trust land.

At the time this suit was instituted they were incarcerated

in the South Dakota State Penitentiary (Erickson, Pet.

App. A, 3a). They petitioned in the United States district

court in South Dakota for writs of habeas corpus on the

ground that the State of South Dakota did not have

jurisdiction to try, convict, and sentence them because

their alleged criminal acts took place within the boundaries

of the Lake Traverse Reservation (Erickson, Pet, 2).

The district court, on stipulation that “the alleged crime

was committed within the confines of the Sisseton-Wahpe-

ton Indian Reservation but not upon trust land * * *,”

denied the writs (Erickson, Pet. App. B, 10a-19a).

The Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit reversed

(Erickson, Pet. App. A, 7a-9a). After reviewing the de-

cisions of this Court, and its prior decisions on the effect

of opening reservations to non-Indian settlement, the court

stated (id. at 6a):

The case before us is not unlike Seymour [v.

Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351] Mattz [v. Arnett,

412 U.S. 481] and Condon [United States ex rel.

Condon v. Erickson, 478 F.2d 684 (C.A. 8)].

The overall climate of legislative activity concerning

Indian reservations during the period from 1887

through 1910 received its primary impetus from the

3la

General Allotment Act. See Cohen, supra at 78-80,

($$ 11-13). The 1891 Act, by its express terms, re-

fers to the General Allotment Act of 1887. Just as

in the beforementioned three cases, the reservation

here was not sold to the government outright but

merely opened for settlement under the homestead

laws and the 1887 general allotment plan. Allot-

ment and homesteading do not suggest congressional

purpose to terminate the reservation. Seymour,

supra.

The Court found no evidence in the 1891 Act's legisla-

tive history of a congressional intent to do other than

open the Reservation for non-Indian settlement (Erick-

son, Pet. App. A, 8a), and noted that the State Supreme

Court had recently denied state jurisdiction in a similar

situation in State v. Molash, 199 N.W. 2d 591. The court

of appeals concluded that the boundaries of the Lake

Traverse Reservation remain as established by treaty and

the State of South Dakota had no jurisdiction to try the

respondents (Erickson, Pet. App. A, 8a-9a).

3. The Reservation and the Tribe

The Sisseton and Wahpeton Sioux were a portion of

the Sioux Nation who, in the Sioux outbreaks of 1862.

did not rebel against the United States. Some “freely

perilled their lives during that outbreak to rescue the resi-

dents of the Sioux reservation, and to obtain possession

of white women and children made captives by the hostile

bands.” Others fled, “fearing the indiscriminate vengeance

of the whites” (Treaty of February 19, 1867: DeCoteau.

Pet. Br. App. 1).

In 1867 the United States made a treaty with the

Sisseton-Wahpeton Tribes in which the Tribes “cedefd]

to the United States the right to construct wagon-roads,

railroads * * * and other such public improvements * * *

across the lands claimed by said bands (including their

32a

reservation as hereinafter designated) * * * ” (id. at 2;

Art. 2). In consideration for the cessions made and serv-

ices rendered by the Tribes, the United States established

for these Tribes “as a permanent reservation” a triangular

tract of land that became known as the Lake Traverse

Reservation (id. at 3: Art. 3).2 The Treaty further

provided (id. at 6; Art. 10):

The chiefs and head-men located upon either of

the reservations® set apart for said bands are au-

thorized to adopt such rules, regulations, or laws for

the security of life and property, the advancement of

Civilization, and the agricultural prosperity of the

members of said bands upon the respective reserva-

tions, and shall have authority, under the direction

of the agent, and without expense to the Govern-

ment, to organize a force sufficient to Carry out all

such rules, regulations, or laws, and all rules and

regulations for the government of said Indians, as

may be prescribed by the Interior Department:

Provided, That all rules, regulations, or laws adopted

or amended by the chiefs and head-men on either

reservation shall receive the sanction of the agent.

On December 12, 1889 the Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux

entered into an agreement with the United States pro-

viding that, in accordance with the Act of February 8,

1887 (the General Allotment Act, 24 Stat. 388), the

Tribes do (DeCoteau, Pet. Br. App. 8):

* In connection with our brief amicus curiae in Antoine v. The

State of Washington, No. 73-717, this Term, we lodged with the

Clerk copies of the U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of

Indian Affairs Map, “Indian Lands and Related Facilities as of

1971.” That map shows the Lake Traverse Reservation at issye

here. We are supplying copies of the map to counsel herein. We

have also appended to this brief a diagram sowing the location

of trust and tribal lands within the Reservation. This diagram

is taken from a more detailed but bulky map prepared by the

Bureau of Indian Affairs which we are lodging with the Clerk.

5 Article 4 of the Treaty also established the Devil’s Lake Reser-

vation in North Dakota.

33a

* * * hereby cede, sell, relinquish, and convey to

the United States all their claim, right, title, and

interest in and to all the unallotted lands within the

limits of the reservaiton set apart to said bands of

Indians as aforesaid remaining after the allotments

and additional allotments provided for in article four

of this agreement shall have been made.

The agreement also provides that, in addition to certain

settlements of past claims and indemnities, the Indians

shall receive $2.50 for each acre of land conveyed, to be

deposited in the Treasury and used “for the education

and civilization of the said bands of Indians * * * as

provided in section five [of the General Allotment Act

of 1887] * * *”) id. at 9).

The ratifying Act of March 3, 1891, after reciting the

Agreement in full, provides, among other things, that the

land ceded by the Indians shall be—

subject only to entry and settlement under the home-

stead and townsite laws of the United States, except-

ing the sixteenth and thirty-sixth sections of said

lands, which shall be reserved - ye ge —

purposes, and be subject to the laws e State

wherein located * * *. [id. at 15.]

In accordance with the Act of 1891 a large amount

of land within the Reservation was patented to non-

Indians. A large amount also remains Indian trust land.

The State Circuit Court in DeCoteau found as a fact

(DeCoteau, Pet. App. B, 9a, finding IX):

That lots or tracts of non-Indian patented or

deeded land and lots or tracts of unpatented Indian

trust land are interspersed in a crazy-quilt pattern

*The Agreement provided that the money was to earn interest

at 3% and be available for appropriation by Congress. The 1891

Act raised the interest rate to 5% and authorized the President,

without further congressional action, to use any part of the funds

for the “education and civilization” of the Tribe (id. at 14).

34a

Over the entire area within the boundaries of the

Lake Traverse Indian Reservation as established by

the treaty of February 19, 1867.

The Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe has remeained a

major Indian Tribe. Its present enrolled membership is

6,010, of whom 3,200 live on or near the Lake Traverse

Reservation. The Tribe has a Constitution and by-laws

approved by the Secretary of the Interior, In addition to

having an active tribal government, it operates, with

federal assistance, its own police force (presently 14

Persons) and maintains a tribal court with two judges

and various other personnel.°

It is the position of the United States, in accord with

the decision of the Eighth Circuit in Erickson, that the

Act of March 3, 1891, did not disestablish the Lake

Traverse Indian Reservation and that the State of South

Dakota is without jurisdiction over the domestic affairs

or alleged criminal acts of Indians arising within the

boundaries of the Reservation as established by the Treaty

of February 19, 1867.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The essential question presented by these cases is

whether the Act of March 3, 1891. by which unallotted

land within the Lake Traverse Reservation was opened

for settlement by non-Indians, removed that land from

the Reservation. In approaching the question it is im-

portant to bear in mind that an Indian reservation does

not connote total Indian or federal ownership of the land

within it. It refers to a geographical area within which

the legislative authority of the Tribe functions and the

area within which federal rather than state criminal

‘urisdiction applies in matters affecting Indians.

* Information supplied by the Sisseton-Wahpeton Agency of the

Bureau of Indian Affairs.

35a

domain, and its repeated references to the General Allot-

ment Act show that Congress intended no more than to

“open” the Reservation for non-Indian settlement. This

Court's decisions in Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S.

351, and Mattz v. Arnet, 412 U.S. 481, show that this

limited purpose is consistent only within preservation of

the Reservation as a jurisdictional unit. The special pro-

visions of the Act as to the 16th and 36th sections also

show that Congress did not regard the opening of the

Reservation as altering its boundaries.

Subsequent administrative and legislative actions con-

firm that the 1891 Act did not disestablish the boundaries

of the Reservation. The President, in proclaiming the

availability of lands for settlement after passage of the

Act, described them as “land embraced in said reserva-

tion” and “lands within the Lake Traverse Reservation

opened to settlement” (infra, p. 22). And the Depart-

ment of the Interior has held the boundaries of the Reser-

vation to be unaffected by the 1891 Act. Recently Con-

gress has authorized the Secretary of the Interior to pur-

chase lands “within the boundaries of the Lake Traverse

Reservation” for the use of the Tribe and has restored

to the Tribe certain federal lands within the Reservation.

These acts strongly affirm the continued existence of the

Reservation as a unit of federal and Indian jurisdiction.

Moreover, given the scattering of trust lands through-

out the Reservation, the State’s position would be de-

structive of law and order on the Reservation. Since the

State here (being a non-Public Law 280 State) can assert

no jurisdiction over Indians on trust lands, federal and

trival jurisdiction over Indians everywhere within the

Reservation’s treaty boundaries is required for effective

law enforcement.

Similarly, the Tribes’ civil jurisdiction over the Reser-

vation Indians, a basic part of tribal self-government,

should not depend on the title to the lot within the Reser-

vation where a particular act takes place. There is no

36a

reason to believe that Congress intended so to impede

the Tribe’s right to govern its own people. Accordingly,

the judgment of the Eighth Circuit in Erickson should be

affirmed, and the judgment of the Supreme Court of

South Dakota in DeCoteau should be reversed.

ARGUMENT

I

THE ACT OF MARCH 3, 1891, DID NOT ALTER

THE BOUNDARIES OF THE RESERVATION

AS ESTABLISHED IN THE TREATY OF FEB-

RUARY 19, 1867

Article 3 of the Treaty of February 19, 1867 (De-

Coteau, Pet. Br. App. 3), granted the Sisseton and Wah-

peton Sioux Indians a permanent Reservation with definite

boundaries. Article 10 of that treaty (id at 6) granted

the Tribes within the Reservation the right to make their

own laws and be governed by them, subject to the super-

vision of the United States. The basic question in this

case is whether the Act of March 3, 1891, which clearly

Permitted non-Indian settlement within the Reservation,

also altered the boundaries of the Reservation. In con-

sidering that issue we must remember that an Indian

reservation does not connote total Indian or federal own-

ership of the land within it. It refers to a geographical

area within which the legislative authority of a tribe

functions. Worcester v. Georgia, 6 Pet. 515; McClanahan

Vv. Arizona State Tax Commission, 411 U.S. 164. It also

describes the area within which federal Criminal jurisdic-

tion in matters affecting Indian applies, 18 U.S.C. 1151,

and the area within which services of the Bureau of

Indian Affairs are primarily directed, Morton v. Ruiz,

415 U.S. 199, Accordingly, the fact that portions of the

land within the Reservation are owned by non-Indians is

immaterial. The controlling question is whether Congress

deliberately terminated or changed the boundaries of the

Reservation by the Act of 1891.

37a

1. The General Scheme of the 1891 Act Suggests

No Change in the Reservation’s Boundaries

The 1891 Act begins by ratifying and quoting in full

the 1889 Agreement made between the Tribe and the

United States. The Agreement, in its preamble, twice

States that it is made under the authority of the Act of

February 8, 1887, the General Allotment Act, and quotes

from that Act the language which authorizes the Presi-

dent, after allotments have been made, to negotiate with

Indian tribes for the sale of their unallotted lands (De-

Coteau, Pet. App. C, 13a). The Agreement then spe-

cifically provides for the sale of the unallotted land of this

Tribe “within the limits of the reservation” (id. at 14a;

emphasis added), and directs that the payment shall be

deposited in the Treasury to be appropriated by Congress

for the “education and civilzation” of the Indians (ibid.).

The Act of 1891 added to the agreement a further refer-

ence to the General Allotment Act (id. at 19a, sec. 29)

and the proviso that the lands ceded shall:

be subject only to entry and settlement under the

homestead and townsite laws of the United States,

excepting the sixteenth and thirty-sixth sections of

said lands, which shall be reserved for common

school purposes, and be subject to the laws of the

State wherein located. [/d. at 20a.] °

*The background of the negotiation of the 1889 Agreement

and the enactment of the 1891 Act are exhaustively set out in

the brief of respondent. In our view, essentially two points are

established: first, the non-Indian inhabitants of South Dakota in-

tensely desired the opening of the Lake Traverse Reservation for

settlement by non-Indians (see DeCoteau, Resp. Br., 16); second,

the Tribe, which had endured four years of drought, was badly

in need of money. See E. Ex. Doc. No. 66, 51st Cong., Ist Sess.,

p. 19. Neither of these facts, however, in any way implies that the

boundaries of the Reservation had to be or were reduced. Indeed,

the only money immediately paid to the Tribe was not part of the

consideration for the lands “ceded” but about $500,000 conceded

to be due for scout services and a cancelled annuity. For the

38a

Several things are immediately apparent. The negotia-

tion with the Indians, the allotments to them, and the

cession made by them are expressly made under the au-

thority of the General Allotment Act. The boundaries of

the Reservation are not expressly altered and no separately

described portion of the Reservation is vacated, returned

to the public domain, or set aside for settlement. The

government is not free to use the opened land for any

purpose, but only for homesteading, townsites and school

land. The tribal relationship is expressly continued and

monies from the sale of the land are not distributed but

are Kept in trust to be appropriated by Congress or ap-

plied by order of the President for the “education and

civilization” of the “bands of Indians or members thereof”

(id. at 19a). Thus, on the face of the Statute, it does not

appear that Congress intended to change the boundaries

of the Lake Traverse Reservation.

2. The References to the General Allotment Act

Show the Reservation Was Maintained

Both the 1889 Agreement and 1891 Act were adopted

pursuant to the General Allotment Act of 1887. The

Philosophy of the latter Act was succinctly stated in

Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481, 496:

[The General Allotment Act] permitted the President

to make allotments of reservation lands to resident

Indians and, with tribal consent, to sell surplus lands.

Its policy was to continue the reservation system and

the trust status of Indian lands, but co allot tracts to

individual Indians for agriculture and grazing.

It was not the purpose of the General Allotment Act

to divide reservations into a Scattering of land under fed-

eral jurisdiction and a scattering under state jurisdiction.

future, the Indians expected to have expended on their behalf the

interest on the amount nominally deposited in the Treasury in

“payment” for the land, approximately $80,000 annually (when

the interest rate was raised to 5%).

39a

Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351, 357-358.

Rather, as this Court stated in Mattz, supra, 412 U.S. at

497, quoting from Seymour, supra:

“The Act did no more [in this respect] than open

the way for non-Indian settlers to own land on the

reservation in a manner which the Federal Govern-

ment, acting as guardian and trustee for the Indians,

regarded as beneficial to the development of its

wards.”

Nor was it the intent of the General Allotment Act to

disturb tribal relations prior to the time that the trust

Status of allotments should be abolished. In United States

Vv. Nice, 241 U.S. 591, 596-597, the Court stated:

[The General Allotment Act] disclosed that the tribal

relation, while ultimately to be broken up, was not to

be dissolved by the making or taking of allotments,

and subsequent legislation shows repeated instances

in which the tribal relation of Indians having allot-

ments under the act was recognized during the trust

Period as still continuing.

In sum, while the General Allotment Act of 1887 pro-

vided for some settlement of non-Indians within reserva-

tions, the congressional intent was to continue the reser-

vation system and to maintain established relations with

the Tribes and federal trust responsibility over the reser-

vations until these protections were no longer necessary.

The 1889 Agreement and 1891 Act were adopted in con-

formity with this policy and should not be held to have

tacitly abolished or diminished the Reservation here in

question.

40a

3. The Absence of Language in the 1891 Act Ex-

pressly Altering the Boundaries of the Reserva-

tion-or Returning Land to the Public Domain

Shows That the Reservation Boundaries Were

Not Altered

In Mattz v. Arnett, supra, this Court stated (412 U.S.

at 504-505; footnote omitted ) :

Congress [in 1892] was fully aware of the means by

which termination could be effected. * * * The

Court stated in United States v. Celestine, 215 US.,

at 285, that “when Congress has once established a

reservation all tracts included within it remain a part

of the reservation until separated therefrom by Con-

gress.” A congressional determination to terminate

must be expressed on the fact of the Act or be clear

from the surrounding circumstances and legislative

history. See Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S.

351 (1962); United States v. Nice, 241 U.S. 591

(1916).

In a footnote, the Court gave the following examples

of termination language [Mattz, supra, 412 U.S. at 504,

n. 22]:

1. 15 Stat. 221 (1868) (“the Smith River reserva-

tion is hereby discontinued” ).

2. 27 Stat. 63 (1892) (* * * the North Half of the

Coleville Indian Reservation] “the same being a

portion of the Colville Indian Reservation * * *

be, and is hereby vacated and restored to the

public domain”).

3. 33 Stat. 218 (1904) (“the reservation lines of

the said Ponca and Otoe and Missouria Indian

reservations be, and the same hereby abolished”).

There is no such language in the 1891 Act at issue here.

The Reservation is not discontinued. A discrete portion

of it is not “vacated and restored to the public domain.”

The reservation lines are not abolished.

4la

Moreover, to read into the language opening unallotted

lands for settlement an intent to remove them from the

Reservation would inevitably create a reservation with

crazy quilt boundaries, a result that both Congress (see

18 L,

aa 1151) and this Court have reasonably sought

a. The State argues that the provisions “ceding” the

unallotted portion of the Reservation to the United States

tacitly removes that land from the Reservation.

There are several reasons why this is not so. First

the cession is not an outright return of the land to the

public domain but a transfer expressly for the limited

purpose of opening the land for homesteading in accord-

— with the General Allotment Act. Thus, though the

ndians in the cession” expressed their willingness that

the government dispose of unallotted land, the govern-

ment remained under a trust responsibility to dispose of

it In a certain way, assumed to be in the Indians’ interest

as well as that of the government.

That a “cession” of unallotted land within a r

does not of itself disestablish the reservation is aimieined

by this Court’s decision in Ash Sheep Co. v. United States

252 U.S. 159. The question was whether the defendant

a grazed its: sheep on public land, which was entirely

hen ition ot 3 ane aetna oI

(252 US ot 164); . The lands involved were

within the part of the Reservation as to which the

7 tJ ~ gage yw and relinquished”

i their “ri

cf ir “right, title and

Nevertheless, the Court held that the lands remained in

Indian ownership until actually sold to homesteaders be-

is at

Sheep Co. at least indicates that the use of the word

“cede” does not always imply a termination of

federal relationship as to the land “ceded”.

b. The State, however, argues (see DeCoteau, Resp.

Br. 59-65) that because the Tribe was paid a “sum-

certain” for the unallotted land, with the government re-

couping its money as the iands were sold, rather than

being paid as the lands were sold to homesteaders, the

conveyance to the government should be held to have re-

moved the lands from the Reservation. We see no reason

so to conclude.

The payment, realistically, was no more immediately

available to the Tribe than if it had been paid only as

each tract was sold. The monies stipulated as payment

for the lands ceded were to be deposited in the United

States Treasury, and the expectation was that only the in-

terest on this trust fund would be expended, and then only

as found necessary for the benefit of the Tribe by the

President or Congress. As Congressman Call explained:

* * * The amount is reimbursed, so that it is but

a nominal appropriation. The entire amount come

back into the Treasury. It is nothing but a loan of

the public credit of the United States to the ac-

complishment of these purposes [of the General Allot-

ment Act] and in no respect touches the taxation

upon the people of this country.

Mr. President, there has been a great deal of ob-

jection found to this bill which has no just founda-

tion. All the legislation to the bill is but the applica-

tion of the existing law on the subject. [22 Cong.

Rec. 3881, reprinted in DeCoteau, Resp. Br. 65].

either situation, the conveyance of is

handled by the government for the benefit of the Tribe in

accordance with the General Allotment Act without there-

by terminating the Reservation. Compare Seymour v.

Superintendent, supra, 368 U.S. at 354-359.

5. The Provision of the 1891 Act Referring to the

“Laws of the State Wherein Located” Did Not

Disestablish All or Part of the Reservation

The Act of 1891 provides that the land ceded shall

“be subject only to entry and settlement under the home-

stead and townsite laws of the United States, excepting

the sixteenth and thirty-sixth sections of said lands, which

Shall be reserved for common school purposes, and be

subject to the laws of the State wherein located * * *”

(Decoteau, Pet. Br. App. 15). The Supreme Court of

South Dakota, in DeCoteau, interpreted the final phase of

this passage as expressly subjecting activities on all lands

sold to state civil and criminal jurisdiction (DeCoteau,

Pet. App. A, Sa-7a). The Eighth Circuit in Erickson

found the language ambiguous—both as to its general

meaning and as to whether it applied only to the school

sections (which the court considered more plausible) or

to all land sold. It concluded that “[W]e do not read this

clause as a clear indication of congressional intention to

terminate the Lake Traverse Reservation” (Erickson, Pet.

App. A, 6a-7a). In our view, the “laws of the state”

language is simply not addressed to the question of whose

law shall govern acts committed on the land in question;

the purpose is, rather, to make clear that, while the un-

44a

aotted land shall be open only to settlement under the

federal homestead and townsite laws, an exception is

made for the 16th and 36th sections which are to be used

only for common school purposes and may be used or

sold as permitted by state law for that purpose.

The language was necessary because the South Dakota

Enabling Act did not reserve the 16th and 36th sections

in Indian reservations for school purposes, and special

language was needed to accomplish that purpose. See the

Statement of Senator Gamble at 35 Cong. Rec. 3187 and

the Statement of Congressman Burke at 38 Cong. Rec.

1423, both reproduced at DeCoteau, Resp. Br, 136-138.

Indeed, if the “ceded” land had been regarded by Con-

gress as no longer forming part of the Reservation, no

such special language would have been needed to estab-

lish the 16th and 36th sections as school land.”

In sum, while the Act of March 3, 1891 paved the way

for homesteading by non-Indians within the Lake Tra-

verse Reservation, it did not change the boundaries of the

Reservation or abolish it. Thus questions of criminal

and civil jurisdiction within this Reservation are deter-

mined as within any other Reservation.

II

SUBSEQUENT ADMINISTRATIVE AND LEGIS-

LATIVE ACTIONS CONFIRM THAT THE 1891

ACT DID NOT DISESTABLISH THE 1867

TREATY BOUNDARIES

a. The most important administrative interpretation of

the 1891 Act is the contemporaneous proclamation of

President Harrison opening the Reservation for settlement

* See Section 1 of the Act of March 2, 1895, 28 Stat. 899-900,

43 U.S.C. 856, which, 4 years later, provided general authorization

for state selection of school lands “within the boundaries of any

Indian reservation in such state” from “surplus lands * * * pur-

chased by the United States.”

45a

(Procl. of April 11, 1892, 27 Stat. 1017, DeCoteau, Pet.

Br. App. 16-20). In that Proclamation, made after en-

actment of the 1891 Act and after payment to the Tribes

for the land “ceded,” the President consistently referred

to the Reservation in the present tense and the lands

opened for settlement as “lands embraced in said reser-

vation” (DeCoteau, Pet. Br. App. 18). The Proclama-

tion further referred the reader to “the accompanying

schedule, entitled “Schedule of lands within the Lake Tra-

verse Reservation opened to settlement by proclamation

of the President * * * ” (id. at 19; emphasis added).

This proclamation is important not only because it is a

contemporaneous construction of the effect of the 189]

Act, but also because it was the basis on which non-

Indian settlers purchased land, giving them fair warning

that they were purchasing land within an Indian reser-

vation.

Subsequent executive orders extending the trust period

on allotments on April 16, 1914, and April 19, 1924,

(Nos. 1916 and 3994, respectively) each refer to the

‘Sisseton and Wahpeton Bands of Sioux Indians of the

Lake Traverse Reservation, North and South Dakota.”

And in decisions and literature of the Department of the

Interior after 1891 there are numerous references to land

“in” or “within” the Lake Traverse Reservation. Circular,

Sisseton and Wahpeton Lands, 14 L.D. 302; Madella O.

Wilson, 17 L.D. 153; Edward Parant, 20 L.D. 53. Noth-

ing could be clearer than the report of the Sisseton-

Wahpeton Indian Agent in 1900 describing the Reser-

vation:

The reservation is in the northeastern part of

South Dakota, Occupying parts of Roberts, Day,

Grant, Marshall and Codington counties and extend-

ing into Richland and Sargent counties of North

Dakota. It is about 120 miles long and at the State

line 42 miles wide, coming to a point near Water-

town, S. Dak. * * *

46a

There are 1,970 [allotted] pieces of land situated

from one end of the reservation to the other * * *.

[Annual Report, Commissioner of Indian Affairs,

United States Indian Affairs Office, 385 (1900) }.

See also the reference to the Annual Reports of the Com-

missioner of Indian Affairs in DeCoteau, Pet. Br. 42,

n. 30.

Of equal importance, the exercise of trust responsibility

by the United States for this Tribe, and the Tribal rela-

tionship of its members, remained intact. A decision of

the Eighth Circuit in 1901, ten years after allotment and

disposal of surplus land, makes this continuing relation-

ship clear. Farrell v. United States, 110 Fed. 942. The

case concerned the application of the laws against sale of

liquor to Indians to a sale to one La Framboise, a person

of mixed Sioux and Caucasian ancestry. While the

boundaries of the Reservation were not at issue, La Fram-

boise’s membership in the Sisseton-Wabpeton Tribe was.

The court noted that:

La Framboise had received his allotment and patent,

and the lands within the reservation of the Sisseton

and Wahpeton bands of Sioux Indians, to which he

belonged, that had not been allotted, had been

opened to settlement * * *. (Jd. at 947.]

Nevertheless, it was found that there was continuing

regulation by the Tribe of its membership and family

relations and constant supervision over the Tribe by the

resident federal agent:

[The issuing of allotments] did not radically change

the title to the lands reserved for [these Indians], or

their need of care and education. The government

held the title to their reservation in trust for them

collectively before, it held the title to their allot-

ments in trust for them individually after, the issue

of the patents. There was every reason why congress

Should retain and exercise its power to superintend

47a

the trade with them, and none to induce it to re-

nounce it. By the treaty of 1867 the United States

agreed to appoint and maintain an agent for these

Indians at Lake Traverse, and by its legislation and

the rules of the interior department it made it the

duty of this agent to use every endeavor to suppress

the traffic in intoxicating liquors with them, to edu-

cate them, and to induce them to cultivate the soil.

There has been no express abrogation of this agree-

ment in any subsequent treaty or act of congress,

and the government has continued to comply with

it since the allotments as it did before. Agreements

are not released or abrogated and statutes are not

repealed by implication unless the subsequent agree-

ments or laws are necessarily repugnant to those

which preceded them. [/d. at 951.]

This evidence of the continued exercise of federal trust

responsibility after the opening of the Reservation sup-

ports our conclusion that the Reservation was opened,

but not dissolved. See also United States v. Rickert, 188

U.S. 432.

We have been unable to discover contemporaneous

opinions of the Department of the Interior directed pre-

cisely to the jurisdictional effect of the 1891 Act. There

are, however, two recent decisions, predating either of

the appellate decisions under review, and rendered at a

time when DeMarrias v. State, 319 F. 2d 845 (C.A. 8),

overruled by the Erickson decision, was still intact. Both

decisions, made by the Field Solicitor of the Department

of the Interior in Aberdeen, South Dakota (the office

which deals with this Tribe on a regular basis), sustained

the continued federal and tribal authority and the com-

menusurate lack of state jurisdiction over Indians within

the Treaty boundaries of the Lake Traverse Reservation

(Opinions of June 9, 1972 and August 16, 1972, De-

Coteau, Pet. Br. App. 21-33). Interpretation of a law

by the government agency responsible to administer it is,

48a

of course, entitled to great weight. Udall v. Tallman,

380 U.S. 1, 16. This is particularly true when the statute

may affect the status of an Indian reservation and the

trust responsibilities of the United States. Seymour v.

Superintendent, supra, 368 U.S. at 357; Mattz v. Arnett,

supra, 412 U.S. at 505.*

b. Congress, since the opening of the Reservation, has

continued to appropriate funds for the Sisseton-Wahpeton

§ South Dakota points out (DeCoteau, Rep. Br. 113-116) that the

depiction of the Reservation on government maps varied consider-

ably over the years since 1891. From 1892 to 1908 the Reserva-

tion was not shown on the maps. From 1909 to 1917 the Reser-

vation was shown as an “open” reservation, but the 1918 map shows

it was a “former” reservation. Modern maps show the Reservation

simply as a “reservation.” We think these differences are unim-

portant. The early map-makers wanted to show that the lands

were no longer reserved for exclusive Indian occupancy, but were

open for settlement. As this Court and Congress began to refine

the jurisdictional meaning of such openings the map makers fol-

lowed suit. Indeed the meaning of the word “reservation” itself

has changed over the years. In early years it seemed to have been

used to mean literally land reserved for exclusive Indian use. Later,

as a result of the various “opening” Acts, it came to have the

broader jurisdictional meaning that it has today. The first decision

of this Court to clarify the meanings of “reservation” and “Indian

country” after the General Allotment Act was United States v.

Celestine, 215 U.S. 278, 285-286. This process of clarification con-

tinued with enactment of 18 U.S.C. 1151 and this Court’s subse-

quent decision in Seymour v. Superintendent, supra. Thus, as with

early maps, early casual references to the Reservation as the “for-

mer reservation” (see DeCoteau, Br. 9) are of little significance;

they indicate only that the Reservation had been opened for non-

Indian settlement, which is not disputed. South Dakota also points

out a reference to the “former Sisseton Indian Reservation” in

United States v. Rickert, supra, 188 U.S. at 432 (see DeCoteau,

Resp. Br. 173). That phrase, however, is not the Court’s but part

of a question from the pleadings below as recited in the question

certified to the Court. Reservation bundaries were not at issue

and the use of the phrase must be considered in light of its limited

mesning at the time.

49a

Reservation or Agency® and has never referred to the

Reservation as a “former reservation” as it did with the

reservations recognized by this Court as continuing to

exist in Seymour v. Superintendent, supra, 368 U.S. at

356, n. 12, and Mattz v. Arnett, supra, 412 U.S. at 496,

n. 17. This consistent appropriation process is 2 signifi-

cant exercise of trust responsibility. Recently, moreover,

Congress has unmistakenly reaffirmed its view that the

opening of the surplus lands to non-Indian settlement did

not terminate or diminish the Reservation (Public Law

93-489 and Public Law 93-491, signed by the President

October 26, 1974). Indeed, in Public Law 93-489 Con-

gress restored to “the United States -in trust for the

Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe” certain federally owned

land “of the Lake Traverse Indian Reservation in North

and South Dakota.” Since the land had not been trust

land, this is a clear indication of the congressional under-

standing that the Reservation was never abolished and

always included non-trust land. Similarly, Public Law

93-491 authorizes the Secretary of the Interior to acquire

lands:

within the boundaries of the Lake Traverse Reser-

vation * * * for the purpose of consolidating land-

holdings, eliminating fractional heirship interests in

Indian trust lands, providing land for any tribal pro-

gram for the improvement of the economy of the

tribe and its members through the development of

industry, recreational facilities, housing projects, and

the general rehabilitation and enhancement of the

total resource potential of the reservation. [Em-

phasis added. }

® See, for typical early appropriation language, 39 Stat. 988 and

42 Stat. 576. In recent years general appropriations have not been

by particular reservation or agency. An extensive accounting of

trust funds of the Tribe expended by the United States is available

in General Services Administration Report, The Lower Sioux In-

dian Community in Minnesota, et al., Docket No. 363 (June 1967)

before the Indian Claims Commission.

50a

It further authorizes the Tribe to sell tribal property and,

from the proceeds, purchase “other land on the reserva-

tion.” Again, we have a recognition of the Reservation’s

existence beyond trust lands and its continued service as

the home and political jurisdiction of the Sisseton-

Wahpeton Tribe. While these recent Acts are not deter-

minative of an earlier congressional intent, they are con-

sistent only with the continuity of the Reservation’s orig-

inal boundaries and should be given weight. See Seymour

v. Superintendent, supra, 368 U.S. at 356.

Ill

THE TRIBE’S INHERENT RIGHT OF SELF-

GOVERMENT, CONFIRMED IN THE TREATY

OF FEBRUARY 19, 1867, AND THE PRACTI-

CALITIES OF PERFORMING THE CONTINU-

ING TRUST RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE

UNITED STATES TOWARD THE TRIBE SUP-

PORT THE INTERPRETATION OF THE ACT

OF 1891 AS NOT DIMINISHING THE RESER-

VATION

We have discussed the jurisdiction of the State within

the borders of the Lake Traverse Reservation primarily

in terms of the precise wording of the statute opening the

Reservation for non-Indian settlement. But the alleged

ambiguity of the Act of 1891 and of similar Acts opening

reservations also calls for a broader approach.

We note, first, that the Sisseton-Wahpeton Tribe re-

mains an important and populous Indian tribe exercising

its federally guaranteed powers of self-government under

federal guardianship. A large amount of land, scattered

about within the boundaries of the Reservation, remains

trust land. The State of South Dakota did not choose to

assume responsibility for civil and criminal law and law

enforcement within Indian country in the state when it

could have done so under Public Law 280, supra. Com-

pare Williams v. Lee, 358 U.S. 217, 222-223; Mc-

Sla

Clanahan vy. Arizona State Tax Commission, 411 US.

164, 177-178. Nor is the decision that the State asks of

this Court one that could give the State jurisdiction over

acts occurring on trust land. Instead, the result sought by

the state would greatly increase the difficulty of achieving

adequate law and order on the reservation by requiring

plat-book jurisdiction—state jurisdiction over Indians on

this lot, federal or tribal jurisdiction on the next. Ob-

viously, such an absurd result, in a reservation such as

this, where a large Indian population lives, ought to be

avoided, if possible.

Also, and equally important, it is, and has been, the

policy of the United States that, unless specifically ter-

minated by Congress, Indian tribes are self-governing

political communities. In McClanahan v. Arizona State

Tax Commission, supra, 411 U.S. at 168, this Court

stated:

* * * “Itlhe policy of leaving Indians free from

state jurisdiction and control is deeply rooted in the

Nation’s history.” Rice v. Olson, 324 U.S. 786, 789

(1945). This policy was first articulated by this

Court 141 years ago when Mr. Chief Justice Mar-

shall held that Indian nations were “distinct political

communities, having territorial boundaries, within

which their authority is exclusive * * *.”

See also Williams v. Lee, supra, 358 U.S. at 220:

Essentially, absent governing Acts of Congress, the

question has always been whether the state action

infringed on the right or reservation Indians to make

their own laws and be ruled by them.

This right to self-government was explicitly guaranteed

the Sisseton-Wahpeton Tribe in its 1867 Treaty with the

United States and has never been taken away by Con-

gress. Article 10 of that Treaty states (DeCouteau, Pet.

Br. App. 6): ‘

52a

The chiefs and head-men located upon either of

the reservations set apart for said brands are author-

ized to adopt such rules, regulations, or laws for the

security of life and property, the advancement of

civilization, and the agricultural prosperity of the

members of said bands upon the respective reserva-

tions, and shall have authority, under the direction

of the agent, and without expense to the Govern-

ment, to organize a force sufficient to carry out all

such rules, regulations, or laws, and all rules and

regulations for the government of said Indians * * *.

Tribal control over domestic relations, at issue in

DeCoteau, is at the heart of this right of Tribal self-

government. See, e.g., United States v. Quiver, 241 U.S.

602, 603-604. The question of a child’s welfare cannot

be decided without reference to his family structure. This

involves both a sympathetic knowledge of the individuals

involved, and a knowledge of the background culture. No

matter how well-intentioned, state authorities are not

likely to have insight into these important areas. More-

over, if such authorities are to have jurisdiction over tribal

children in dependency and neglect cases, there is a sub-

stantial chance that such children may be placed in non-

Indian homes outside the Reservation and be deprived of

their cultural identity... The Sisseton-Wahpeton Tribe

opposed such practices in a tribal resolution on July 6,

1972, which states:

1° This concern, in the light of present experience, was strongly

expressed by the North American Indian Women’s Association in

a recent report. North American Indian Women’s Association,

Inc., Project Report for Development of a Prototype Program for

Indian Children with Special Needs, BIA Contract No.

K51C14200761, December 15, 1973. The first recommendation made

by the study was that “{W]hen at all possible, Indian Children

should be placed with Indian foster parents.” /d. at 62.

53a

SISSETON-WAHPETON SIOUX

WHEREAS, The Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe is

interested in the well-being of all the enrolled mem-

bers of the tribe and

WHEREAS, Minor children of Sisseton-Wahpeton

descent have been placed in non-Indian foster and

adoptive homes all over the United States,

WHEREAS, The Tribal council is in the process of

researching the sovereign status of the tribal entity

in respect to its jurisdiction as stated in the constitu-

tion of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe, and,

WHEREAS, It is the intent of the Sisseton-

Wahpeton Sioux Tribe to establish its own method

of social and economic development and well-being

of the enrolled members, and,

WHEREAS, It is the strong feeling of the tribal

council “to make every stand possible to keep these

children on the reservation” (minutes of June 6th

council meeting) and “the tribal council would like

these children to be placed in an Indian licensed

home until an Indian home can be found for them

to be adopted.”

THEREFORE, Be It RESOLVED, that Mr. Bert

Hirsch, legal counsel from the Association of Ameri-

can Indian Affairs, will stand on these grounds in his

argument in Robert County Court on July 7, 1972

and future cases of this nature.

The Sisseton-Wahpeton Tribe is a responsible body,

concerned about its young people. It should have au-

thority over dependency and neglect and similar proced-

ings concerning its own people anywhere within the Res-

ervation." If this authority were fragmented so as to

apply only to acts committed on trust land within the

11 The Tribe has assumed such authority under its tribal code.

54a

Reservation, it would be practically meaningless as an

exercise of effective self-government. And neither the

Tribe, in domestic relations matters and with respect to

the criminal offenses left to its control, nor the United

States, in its control over major crime, should have to

search the tract books in order to determine whether it

or the State has jurisdiction. Seymour v. Superintendent,

supra, 368 U.S. at 358.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the Supreme

Court of the State of South Dakota should be reversed

and the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

ROBERT H. Bork,

Solicitor General.

WALLACE H. JOHNSON,

Assistant Attorney General.

Lou!Is F. CLAIBORNE,

HARRY R. SACHSE,

Assistants to the Solicitor

General.

EDMUND B, CLARK,

EDWARD J. SHAWAKER,

NOVEMBER 1974. Attorneys.

55a

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OcToBER TERM, 1976

No. 75-562

ROSEBUD Sioux TRIBE, PETITIONER

Vv.

HONORABLE RICHARD KNEIP, ET AL.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE UNITED STATES

AS AMICUS CURIAE

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-61)

is reported at 521 F.2d 87. The opinion of the district

court (Pet. App. 63-113) is reported at 375 F.Supp.

1065.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

July 16, 1975 (Pet. App. 61). A petition for a writ of

certiorari was filed on October 11, 1975, and was granted

on May 24, 1976. The jurisdiction of this Court is

conferred by 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

56a

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether three Acts of Congress, which authorized the

sale of land within portions of the Rosebud Indian Reser-

vation to non-Indians and directed that the proceeds of

each sale as received should be deposited in trust for the

benefit of the Tribe, diminished the exterior boundaries

of the Reservation as they existed in 1889.

STATUTES INVOLVED

The Acts of April 23, 1904, 33 Stat. 254; March 2,

1907, 34 Stat. 1230; and May 30, 1910, 36 Stat. 448,

are set forth in Appendix C to the petition.

STATEMENT

In June 1972, the Rosebud Sioux Tribe of Indians

filed suit in the United States District Court for the Dis-

trict of South Dakota, seeking a declaratory judgment

that the exterior boundaries of the Rosebud Reservation,

as defined in the Act of March 2, 1889, 25 Stat. 888,

had not been altered by three Acts of Congress (Act of

April 23, 1904, 33 Stat. 254; Act of March 8, 1907, 34

Stat. 1230; Act of May 30, 1910, 36 Stat. 448) opening

certain unallotted surplus land to non-Indian settlement.

In the Act of March 2, 1889, Congress “restored to

the public domain” (25 Stat. 896) one-half of the Great

Sioux Reservation established in 1868, but preserved for

the Sioux Tribes six Reservations in present-day North

and South Dakota (id. at 888-890). Among these was

the Rosebud Reservation, locaced in the south central

portion of South Dakota, and composed of the Counties

of Todd, Tripp and Mellette, and parts of Gregory and

Lyman counties.’

1A map of the Reservation, showing the 1889 boundaries and

the boundaries as found by the court of appeals, is reproduced at

Pet. App. 113.

57a

In 1901, the Rosebud Tribe agreed (Pet. App. 15,

n. 21) to “cede * * * and convey to the United States”

for a specified sum of $1,040,000 the unallotted land

within the Gregory County portion of its Reservation for

non-Indian settlement. Congress rejected this agreement

in 1902 and 1903. The problem “was, simply put,

money” (Pet. App. 16). Congress then “amended and

modified” the agreement (Pet. App. 117) and enacted

it as the Act of April 23, 1904 (Pet. App. 117-120).

The primary amendments were that (1) the Indians were

not guaranteed any consideration for the land except with

respect to the 16th and 36th sections (school section),

but were to be paid only as the lands were actually sold

to settlers;* (2) the United States did not guarantee to

find purchasers but agreed only to “act as trustee for said

Indians to dispose of said lands” (Section 6, Pet. App.

120); and (3) limitations were placed on the distribu-

tion of the proceeds to the Indians (compare Art. III,

Pet. 118, with Art. III, Pet. App. 115-116).

The Rosebud Reservation was further opened by the

1907 Act, which, as passed, p vvided (Pet. App. 121)

“that the Secretary of the Interior * * * is hereby, au-

thorized and directed, * * * to sell or dispose of all that

portion of the Rosebud Indian Reservation * * * [within

Tripp County] except such portions thereof as have been,

or may hereafter be, allotted to Indians” (and except

school sections that were to be paid for by the United

States, and granted to the State).* The 1907 Act further

provided (Section 5, Pet. App. 122-123) that the funds

* Section 2 of the Act (Pet. App. 119) set forth a schedule of

the prices per acre for the land, which varied according to the time

at which the land was sold.

’ Each Act contains substantially identical school land provisions

to the effect that Sections 16 and 36 of the lands in each township

are not to be disposed of, but are reserved for donation to the

State for use as common schools. These lands were to be paid for

by the federal government. See Pet. App. 120, 121, 123, 127.

58a

received should be deposited in an interest-bearing ac-

count in the Treasury of the United States “to the credit

of the Indians belonging and having tribal rights on the

Rosebud Reservation,” that the interest shall be paid an-

nually to the Indians, that all funds up to one million

dollars should be distributed after ten years on a per

capita basis to the Indians, and that the balance should

be expended or distributed for the Indians’ benefit at the

discretion of the Secretary of the Interior. The 1907 Act

concluded, as did the 1904 Act (Section 6, Pet. App.

120), with a section declaring (Section 8, Pet. App.

123):

* * * nothing in this act contained shall in any

manner bind the United States to purchase any

portion of the land herein described, except sections

sixteen and thirty-six or the equivalent in each town-

ship, or to dispose of said land except as provided

herein, or to guarantee to find purchasers for said

lands or any portion thereof, it being the intention

of this act that the United States shall act as trustee

for said Indians to dispose of said lands and to ex-

pend and pay over the proceeds received from the

sale thereof only as received, as herein provided

* * *. [Emphasis added. |

The 1910 Act (Pet. App. 124-127), like the 1907

Act (Pet. App. 121), began with an authorization to the

Secretary to “sell and dispose” of surplus lands within a

described portion (Mellette County) of the Reservation

App. 124).* The Act further provided (ibid. )

[t}hat any Indians to whom allotments have been

made on the tract to be ceded may, in case they

elect to do so before said lands are offered for sale,

relinquish same and select allotments in lieu thereof

*The 1907 Act uses the phrases “sell or dispose” (emphasis

added).

59a

on the diminished reservation * * *, [Emphasis

added. }

The 1910 Act further required (Section 4, Pet. App.

125) that a commission be established, composed of

“lo}ne resident citizen of the State of South Dakota, one

representative of the Interior Department, and one per-

son holding tribal relations with said tribe of Indians,”

to determine the price setters would be charged for the

land. The proceeds of any eventual sales were to be

deposited in the Treasury to the credit of the “Indians

belonging and having tribal rights on the said reserva-

tion,” which “shall be at all times subject to appropria-

tion by Congress for their education, support and civili-

zation” (Section 7, Pet. App. 126). The 1910 Act (Sec-

tion 11, Pet. App. 127), like the earlier Acts (Section

6, Pet. App. 120; Section 8, id. at 123), explictly stated

that the United States was not obligated to purchase the

surplus land, except Sections 16 and 36 for school pur-

poses, and would act only as trustee for the Indians in

disposing of the surplus land.

In a lengthy opinion the district court held that each

of the 1904, 1907 and 1910 Acts extinguished the por-

tion of the Reservation to which it applied (Pet. App.

63-113; see id. at 113). The court found no language

in the Acts expressly terminating the Reservation in the

counties involved and no “express discussion of state

versus federal jurisdiction over the lands in question” (id.

at 85); however, the court held that, in light of the

“surrounding legislative history and the circumstances”

(id. at 109) from 1901 to 1910, Congress intended to

extinguish the portions of the Reservation at issue.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit affirmed (Pet. App. 1-61), after this Court had

decided DeCoteau yv. District County Court, 420 U.S.

425. The court rejected arguments of the Tribe, and the

United States as amicus curiae, that the language of the

Acts interpreted in light of prior decisions of this Court

60a

did not abolish the disputed portions of the Reservation,

and that neither the legislative nor the administrative his-

tory established that the State had undisputed jurisdiction

to the exclusion of the Tribe and the United States. The

court thought that prior decisions, including this Court’s

decisions in Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351,

and Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481, and its own decisions

in City of New Town, North Dakota v. United States, 454

F. 2d 121, and United States ex rel. Condon v. Erickson,

478 F. 2d 684, were “of limited utility” in deciding this

case (Pet. App. 5) and concluded that “the overriding

judicial inquiry remains unchanged, namely, the congres-

sional intent” (ibid.). Stating that this Court’s decision

in DeCoteau, supra, permitted it to utilize “all materials

reasonably pertinent to the legislation * * * as well as

those bearing upon the historical context of its passage,

such as the social forces then at work in the area * * *”

(Pet. App. 8), the court found a “continuity” of cir-

cumstances from 1901 to 1910 that demonstrated Con-

gress’ intention to extinguish Indian jurisdiction over the

areas in question (id. at 26-28, 34, 38, 39-40, 44, 46,

48).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

It is the position of the United States that the Acts

of 1904, 1907, and 1910, while opening portions of the

Rosebud Reservation to non-Indian settlers, did not

contract the exterior boundaries of the Reservation. This

position is based upon our assessment of the Acts them-

selves, the contemporary social and legislative history,

subsequent treatment of the lands by the Department of

the Interior, and doctrines developed by this Court in

similar cases. While the courts below gave some atten-

tion to each of these factors, we believe that the courts

overemphasized inconclusive legislative history. A more

balanced analysis, we submit, requires a finding that Con-

gress did not intend by these Acts to terminate most of

the Reservation but expected that termination would oc-

cur, if at all, when the trust period on allotments expired.

6la

This Court’s decisions require compelling evidence to

prove that reservation boundaries have been cut back

without the consent of the affected Indian tribe and

without guaranteed payment for the opened lands. Any

different construction would place Indians in the position

of surrendering jurisdiction over substantial portions of

their reservation before any benefits had been assured or

received. Thus, the Court found in Seymour v. Super-

intendent, 368 U.S. 351, and Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S.

481, that unilateral Acts of Congress, providing that the

United States would not purchase Indian lands but would

merely act as trustee for their sale, did not commit the

opened lands to state jurisdiction. The Acts opening the

Rosebud Reservation were drafted in similar fashion and

are to the same effect.

The Acts of 1904, 1907, and 1910, do not demon-

Strate an intention to return lands to the public domain,

and the clear language of other Acts expressly restoring

lands to the public domain is notably absent. In contrast

to public lands, which are subject to disposition under

general laws, the lands of the Rosebud Reservation were

to be sold only in accordance with the terms of the trust

established by Congress; all proceeeds were explictly dedi-

cated to the benefit of the Tribe. In fact, Congress in-

cluded a provision granting school lands to the State in

each Act, despite this Court’s holding in 1902 that such

provisions were unnecessary when lands were restored to

the public domain. Minnesota v. Hitchcock, 185 US.

373.

Subsequent administrative actions confirm that the Acts

did sot disestablish the 1889 boundaries of the Reserva-

tius, Under the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934, 48

Stac. 984, as amended, 25 U.S.C. 461, et seq., the De-

partment of the Interior restored to Indian ownership

lands in the opened portion of the Reservation, an action

that could not have included lands “upon the public do-

main outside the geographic boundaries of any Indian

62a

reservation * * *” (48 Stat. 986). Moreover, numerous

communications and reports show that the Deparement,

before and after the Indian Reorganization Act, recog-

nized territory in the opened counties as within the Rose-

bud Reservation. Recent appropriations are consistent

with that viewpoint.

The uncertain legislative history does not demonstrate

a contrary intention. Despite the emphasis placed on the

legislative history by the court of appeals, the reports and

debates show that Congress at no time concerned itself

with the question of jurisdiction over the opened lands.

While the court of appeals stressed references made in

unrelated contexts, we submit that the inferences to be

drawn from such references are at best ambiguous, They

do not merit the weight that they received in the court

of appeals.

The Acts of 1904, 1907, and 1910, therefore, do not

demonstrate congressional intent to impede the Tribe's

right to govern its own people.

ARGUMENT

I. THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT HOLD

THAT ACTS OF CONGRESS ESTABLISHING

TRUSTS FOR THE SALE OF INDIAN LANDS

DO NOT REDUCE RESERVATION BOUND-

ARIES

This Court, in deciding Indian cases, does not write

upon a fresh slate. The Court has long recognized that

“(t]he relation of the Indian tribes living within the bor-

ders of the United States * * * [is] an anomalous one

and of a complex character.” United States v. Kagama,

18 U.S. 375, 381. “Indian tribes are the wards of the

nation. They are communities dependent on the United

States.” Jd. at 383-384 (emphasis in original). With

respect to legislation, therefore, “[dJoubtful expressions

are to be resolved in favor of the weak and defenseless

63a

people who are the wards of the nation, dependent upon

its protection and good faith.” Carpenter v. Shaw, 280

US. 363, 367.

During the past fifteen years this Court has been asked

three times to decide whether Congress intended to cut

back reservation boundaries or to open up reservation

lands for settlement with the existing boundaries un-

changed. Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351;

Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481; DeCoteau vy. District

County Court, 420 U.S. 425. The principles developed

by those decisions are directly applicable to the questions

raised in this case.

In Seymour, this Court considered the effect of the Act

of March 22, 1906, 34 Stat. 80, on the Colville Indian

Reservation in the State of Washington. In 1892, the

United States expressly vacated and restored a portion

of the Reservation “to the public domain,” 27 Stat. 62,

63. In the 1906, Act, however, no such language was

included; the Secretary was merely directed “to sell or

dispose” of unallotted lands within the Reservation (34

Stat. 80) and to place the proceeds as received from

settlers into the Treasury for the benefit of the Indians

(34 Stat. 81). The Act further provided that the United

States would act as a trustee in disposing of these lands

for the Indians’ benefit and not as a purchaser (34 Stat.

82). Because Seymour involved a criminal matter, this

Court assessed the meaning of the 1906 Act against the

backdrop of the definition of “Indian Country” found in

18 U.S.C. 1151.°

This Court concluded that “the purpose of the 1906

Act was neither to destroy the existence of the diminished

Colville Indian Reservation nor to lessen federal responsi-

5 Indian country is defined, in part, as “all land within the lim-

its of any Indian reservation under the jurisdiction of the United

States Government, notwithstanding the issuance of any patent,

and, including rights of way running through the reservation

** #»

64a

bility for and jurisdiction over the Indians having tribal

rights on that reservation.” 368 U.S. at 356. The Col-

ville Act “did no more than open the way for non-Indian

settlers to own land on the reservation in a manner which

the Federal Government, acting as guardian and trustee

for the Indians, regarded as beneficial to the develop

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.