Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rosado v. Curtis

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(i) 96 TBS NOV 1 2 19%

OFPI@E OF THE CLERK

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1996

¢

MARIO SALINAS,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

+

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fifth Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

Enriquez & Cantu, L.L.P.

Francisco J. ENRIQUEZ

4200-B N. Bicentennial

McAllen, Texas 78504

210-686-5291

Attorney for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW SRIEF PRINTING CO. 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402)

pha Ot ad nd eee

a

wl...

ee ee ee Pe ee oe a

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. The Defendant, Mario Salinas, was a deputy sheriff

employed by the Office of the Sheriff of Hidalgo County.

Counts 3 and 4 of the indictment charged him with

Federal Bribery violations under 18 U.S.C. Section 666.

The case against him does not meet the prerequisites for

such a federal prosecution. The facts do not bring it

within the class of cases for which there can be a convic-

tion under 18 U.S.C. Section 666 because the Sheriff's

Office did not receive federal assistance during the rele-

vant time periods as required by the statute. 18 U.S.C.

Section 666(b). The question presented here is:

Are payments made by the federal government

to the Sheriff's Office for the housing of federal pris-

oners in the county jail federal assistance or simply

payments in return for services rendered?

Il. The case against Salinas does not meet the prereq-

uisites for a federal prosecution under 18 U.S.C. Section

666 the Federal Bribery Statute because no federal funds

were in any manner impinged upon. The case involved

bribery from a prisoner in return for contact visits. It had

nothing whatsoever to do with the disbursement of or

impingement upon federal, or even state or local, funds.

The question presented here is:

What kind of cases involving state employees

are subject to prosecution under the Federal Bribery

Statute 18 U.S.C. Section 666? Do such cases include

cases where no federal funds are disbursed or

impinged?

a a ad 77

%

ee

" o “uy ~ 4

ii

QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

Ill. Counts 1 and 2 of the indictment cover RICO sub-

stantive and RICO conspiracy respectively. The RICO

substantive statute requires that the government prove

two predicate acts before a defendant can be found guilty.

Salinas was found not guilty of Count 1 (RICO substan-

tive). Salinas contends that before he could be found

guilty of RICO conspiracy the government must have

proven that Salinas personally committed or agreed to

commit two RICO predicate acts.

The trial court did not charge the jury in this

manner and, in fact, required no acts on Salinas’ part. The

question presented here is:

Before a defendant can be found guilty of the

Conspiracy provisions of the RICO statute, must the

government prove that he personally committed or

agreed to commit two RICO predicate acts?

IV. The law on this issue, prior to the opinion by the

Fifth Circuit in this case, was such that before Salinas

could be found guilty of RICO conspiracy the govern-

ment must have proven that Salinas personally commit-

ted or agreed to commit two RICO predicate acts. The

Fifth Circuit opinion changed the law so as to not require

any predicate acts. The question presented here is:

Are a Defendant's due process rights violated

when there is such a basic change in the law on criminal

responsibility?

V. There were two search warrants issued searching

for a specific item, i.e. two RADO watches. One search

iii

QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

warrant was issued for Salinas’ home, the other for his

office. The RADO watches were found in his home. The

law requires that a search warrant be supported by prob-

able cause that the evidence will be found in a particular

place. There was none in this case. This is a classic fishing

expedition. The question presented here is:

Is the Fourth Amendment requirement of prob-

able cause violated when there is no information in the

search warrant that would indicate that an item of evi-

dence can be found in a particular place?

iv Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page Page

V. The Search Warrant Lacked Probable Cause

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..............cccccceeees Because Tt Was A Classic Fishing Expedition

Ga Ts OC ai Se ii eRe CN i's she HERTRAR arn Protection 4 fey brine ty mer

RMD .<. i'a'ss c cyvbt cee cca teste cabavece e's 12

pRB ST PR BT Se i

CS Carat 66 bc di dee Fs RPE i 13

mo Qt hae META habarscccasdace sus stabneed erates App. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE......................-

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...........

I. The Fifth Circuit's Directly Conflicts

With The Guests Gaetan te Lees

Which The Commercial Nature Of

The Between The Sheriff’s Office

And The States Government .........

Il. The Fifth Circuit's Opinion Directly Conflicts

With The Second Circuit Decision In Foley And

The Third Circuit Decision In Cicco

Indicate That The Of Actions Prosecuted

In Salinas Do Not Fall Under The Federal Brib-

GY TEGUND « odbc cove thwatncddstuterdacteesstes

Ill. The Fifth Circuit's On The Issue Of

RICO Elements Is Directly In Con-

flict With Circuit Decision In Car-

a ti edly ov gg Aaa wecdbors

—

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213 (1983) ................. 13

Logue v. United States, 412 U.S. 521 (1973)............ 4

Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188, 97 S.Ct. 990, 51

L.Ed. 2d 260 (1977)..........++s0+eeeseeees (atta t 11

Stromberg v. California, 283 U.S. 359, 51 S.Ct. 532,

FD eee. Gs oh be wade Glsand s'6saeCedeauseek 11

United States v. Carrozza, 4 F. 3d 70, n.8 (1st Cir.

1993), cert. denied, 114 S.Ct. 1644 (1994)......... 7,8

United States v. Carter, 721 F. 2d 1514 (11th Cir.

GT ns ide cinta detente eee. 9

United States v. Cicco, 938 F. 2d 441 (3rd Cir. 1991) ..... 6

United States v. Elliot, 571 F. 2d 880 (Sth Cir. 1978) ..... &

United States v. Faulkner, 17 F. 3d 745 (5th Cir.

eke hnccs <i te pteeeh. danke S

United States v. Foley, 73 F. 3d 484 (2d Cir. 1996) ...6, 7

United States v. Garcia, 27 F. 3d 1009 (5th Cir.), cert.

denied sub nom., Chavez v. United States, 115

S.Ct. 531, 130 L.Ed. 2d 435 (1994)................. 13

United States v. Hartec Enterprises, Inc., 967 F. 2d

BD Be Sines cnknetdbiessvied dldscbene evace 11

United States v. Laury, 985 F. 2d 1293 (Sth Cir. 1993) .... 13

United States v. Marcello, 876 F. 2d 1147 (5th Cir.

SEN s < a6 v2 cp cVened os nnn cvegetestkdane deste reves 8

=< -- 2

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

United States v. McKeever, 5 F. 3d 863 (Sth Cir. 1993) .... 13

United States v. , 664 F. 2d 971 (Sth Cir.

1981), cert. denied, 457 U.S. 1136, 102 S.Ct. 2965

Pulb 06 bASME AS 6 LeS Wedel «2b de eRe ab Ma 0 bee vee 7

United States v. re 726 F. 2d 913 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 831 (1984)................. 7,8

United States v. Sanders, 929 F. 2d 1466 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 502 U.S. 846 (1991)................. 7,8

United States v. Stewart, 727 F. Supp. 1068 (N.D.

PT <tc taal ev Gs Uaeden 08> Ub chObab Th ucwhcoes 5

United States v. Wyncoop, 11 F. 3d 119 (9th Cir.

Ps cccankvecdalidhvedetdrdd Dik etestoudeecdes es 7

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

NERS EE a 2

oe es ectecseetebwou’ 2, 11

STATUTES AND RuLes

Supreme Court Rule 13.1 ...........6 cc eeeceeeeeees 1

Sp ns ME ITS oc Sac cos cb eine ccccvocse 2, 4, 5, 6

BE I TO is onic 6:0 0 WbS co te cb eeBe vovcevcees 2

on oo dace bacepeedssvdbentene 2

BOEI GE, Geet HNO Peo ie oc ccc ccc ecddevecccdacees 2,4

ee nM nn 6 aon dobdepbsddonvesecebeos 2

~~~? 7 FT

— “.- -— lle

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Mario Salinas respectfully prays that a writ of cer-

tiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

entered in this proceeding on July 17, 1996, in order to

resolve the conflicts between the Fifth, First, Second,

Third and Tenth Courts of Appeals on the important

issues presented herein, to resolve conflicts between the

Fifth Circuit and Supreme Court and to resolve Constitu-

tional issues based on the Fourth and Fifth Amendments,

to the United States Constitution.

S

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit that gives rise to this petition is pub-

lished. App. 1. By order filed August 15, 1996, the Fifth

Circuit denied the petition for rehearing and suggestion

for rehearing en banc. App. 2.

¢

JURISDICTION

The district court imposed sentence on Salinas on

November 23, 1994. Salinas timely appealed to the Fifth

Circuit, which affirmed in an opinion filed on July 17,

1996. On August 15, 1996, the Fifth Circuit denied Salinas

timely-filed motion for rehearing and suggestion for

rehearing en banc. Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 13.1,

this petition has been filed within 90 days of the denial of

rehearing.

The jurisdiction of the court is invoked pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

¢

STATUTES INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

Fourth and Fifth Amendments to the U.S. Constitution

i8 U.S.C. Section 666

18 U.S.C. Section 1961

18 U.S.C. Section 1962

18 U.S.C. Section 4002

(See App. 3 for text of statutes)

*

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On or about June 1991 Homero Beltran, a federal

prisoner, was placed in the Hidalgo County Jail, Hidalgo

County, Texas, by the U.S. Marshall's office. He remained

there until approximately March or April of 1992 at

which time he was moved to other institutions eventually

being placed in a federal penitentiary. During this first

stay he pled guilty in January 1992 to a number of federal

drug violations. On or about November of 1992 Beltran

was returned again at the Marshall’s direction to the

Hidalgo County Jail. He was kept there pending a case

against an associate of his against whom he was sup-

posed to have testified. His stay this time ended in April

1993.

He has claimed that during this time he and his

brother-in-law Juan Antonio Guardado paid numerous

bribes to Brigido Marmolejo, Sheriff of Hidalgo.County in

return for the Sheriff arranging and allowing contact and

conjugal visits. According to Beltran most of these visits

took place in the Sheriff’s personal office.

Defendant Mario Salinas at all times important to this

prosecution was a deputy sheriff and held the title of a

Chief Deputy. He was assigned the duties of managing

the jail in Hidalgo County, its employees and prisoners.

The hierarchy of the Sheriff's Department shows the

Sheriff as the head, with Deputy Bob Davis immediately

below the Sheriff. Reporting to Bob Davis and the Sheriff,

the next level is the “Chief Deputies”. Below the Chief

Deputies were Captains and Lieutenants, and so forth.

The testimony showed that the persons entitled to

grant contact visits were the Sheriff, Bob Davis, the

Chiefs, the Captains and in some instances the Lieuten-

ants. Contact visits are visits where the prisoner actually

has physical contact with the visitor.

Defendant Salinas was indicted for allegedly partici-

pating in this bribe scheme in return for contact visits for

the prisoner Homero Beltran. The original indictment

included allegations of bribery involving another pris-

oner, but those charges were dismissed by the Govern-

ment upon resting its case.

s

a

4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Fifth Circuit’s Opinion Directly Conflicts With

The Supreme Court’s Opinion In Logue Which

Establishes The Commercial Nature Of The Rela-

tionship Between The Sheriff's Office And The

United States Government.

Before an individual can be found liable under Sec-

tion 666, the Government is required to prove that the

organization the individual worked for received federal

assistance during the relevant time period. 18 U.S.C. Sec-

tion 666 (b).

The Government has sought to base the applicability

of Section 666 on an alleged contract for services between

the Hidalgo County Sheriff’s Office and the United States

Marshall’s Service. It relied on a contract between the

Sheriff’s Office for the housing of Federal Prisoners and

payments made thereunder. App. 4.

No Federal program and no Federal assistance is

involved.

This contract is made pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section

4002 entitled “Federal Prisoners in State Institutions;

Employment.” However, the Supreme Court of the

United States has firmly established the nature of the

relationship created by such contracts. Logue v. United

States, 412 U.S. 521 (1973).

Though petitioners do not always distinguish

between their two theories, they appear to con-

tend alternatively that the Nueces County jail is

a “Federal agency” by reason »f its contract for

the care of federal prisoners, or that the

employees of the jail are “acting on behalf of”

5

the Bureau of Prisons or the Government in

performing services for federal prisoners. The

Court of Appeals rejected these contentions, and

we believe that it was right in doing so.

Id. at 526. The role of the Sheriff's Office in this case was

defined as that of an independent contractor.

Thus, Congress not only authorized the Govern-

ment to make contracts such as the one here in

but rather clearly contemplated that

the day-to-day. operations of the contractor’s

facilities were to be in the hands of the contrac-

tor, with the Government's role limited to the

payment of sufficiently high rates to induce the

contractor to do a good job.

Id. at 529.

Obviously, there is no federal assistance here. This

issue has also been foreclosed against the Government by

the legislative history of Section 666. United States v.

Stewart, 727 F. Supp. 1068, 1072 (N.D. Tex. 1989).

At trial, the Government’s witness on these matters

testified unequivocally that the payments made were con-

tract payments for services rendered and that they were

not grant money, federal assistance or anything of that

nature. App. 5.

In summary, the contract funds the Government rely

on do not give rise to a Federal Crime under Section 666.

6

Il. The Fifth Circuit's Opinion Directly Conflicts With

The Second Circuit Decision In Foley And The

Third Circuit Decision In Cicco Which Indicate

That The Type Of Actions Prosecuted In Salinas Do

Not Fall Under The Federal Bribery Statute.

The Government complains of the alleged contact

visits given, supposedly in return for consideration

received by the defendants. The statute makes it an

offense for someone to corruptly solicit or demand, or

accept, or agree to accept, anything of value from any

person with intent to be influenced or rewarded in con-

nection with any “business, transaction, or series of trans-

actions . . . involving value of $5,000.00 or more.” 18

US.C. Section 666 (a) (1) (B).

However, this case does not involve any granting of

contracts in return for kickbacks, accepting of bids,

embezzling of government money, theft of government

property, granting of leases in return for payoffs, or any-

thing of that nature. The statute simply does not apply.

In the case of United States v. Cicco, 938 ©. 2d 441 (3rd

Cir. 1991), the defendants were charged under Section 666

for alleged corrupt solicitation of political services and

loyalty in exchange for municipal jobs.

The court reviewed in depth the legislative history of

the statute and the case law interpreting it. The court

held, “It is thus apparent that the crimes Congress tar-

geted when it created Section 666 are simply different in

kind than those alleged in the case at bar.” Id. at 445. The

court found that the conduct upon which the indictment

was based was simply not a “transaction of a local gov-

ernment” and that Section 666 was ambiguous. Id. at 444.

7

In the case presently before this Court the Government

has not alleged and cannot show any transactions of the

nature proscribed by the statute.

Additionally, “The Senate Report specifically states

that the new statute, section 666, was intended to .. .

‘protect the integrity of the vast sums of money distrib-

uted through federal programs from . . . undue influence

by bribery... . ’ The emphasis was on protecting federal

funds.” United States v. Wyncoop, 11 F. 3d 119, 122 (9th Cir.

1993). No federal funds were in any manner impinged

upon, nor was any proof submitted on this issue.

Finally, as noted in United States v. Foley, 73 F. 3d 484,

493 (2d Cir. 1996), if the act has “affected neither the

financial interests of the protected organization nor fed-

eral funds directly” there is no violation.

Ill. The Fifth Circuit’s Opinion On The Issue Of RICO

iracy Elements Is Directly In Conflict With

The First Circuit Decision In Carrozza, The Second

Circuit Decision In Ruggiero And The Tenth Cir-

cuit Decision In Sanders.

The Court's instructions to the jury allowed a finding

of guilt to conspiracy without the necessity of the jury

finding that this defendant either actually committed two

or more of the alleged racketeering acts or that he agreed

personally to perform two or more of the specific acts.

The defendant, to be found guilty of RICO conspiracy,

must have committed or have agreed to commit at least

two separate crimes in furtherance of the conspiracy.

United States v. Phillips, 664 F.2d 971, 1039 (Sth Cir. 1981),

cert. denied, 457 U.S. 1136, 102 S.Ct. 2965 (1982); United

ra Ay Me ee ee ane ieee eee

States v. Elliot, 571 F. 2d 880, 902 (5th Cir. 1978); United

States v. Carrozza, 4 F. 3d 70, 79 n.8 (ist Cir. 1993), cert.

denied, 114 S.Ct. 1644 (1994); United States v. Ruggiero, 726

F. 2d 913, 921 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 831 (1984);

United States v. Sanders, 929 F. 2d 1466, 1473 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 502 U.S. 846 (1991). See also, United States v.

Marcello, 876 F. 2d 1147, 1153 (5th Cir. 1989) (two predi-

cate acts required to sustain a RICO Conspiracy); United

States v. Faulkner, 17 F. 3d 745, 773 (5th Cir. 1994) (“We

need not resolve this issue”).

The conspiracy case against Salinas was tried by the

government under these theories.

Despite this the Court instructed the jury that Defen-

dant Salinas could be found guilty of RICO conspiracy

even if he was not involved in any predicate acts. App. 6.

This was error.

Apparently it was the intent of the trial court to

either test the Fifth Circuit’s prior rulings on this matter

or to bring about a change in the law to conform to what

it believed to be the law of some other circutits.

The Court: And there’s this problenm that

there’s some old Fifth Circuit

Now, the Eleventh Circuit, sup-

posedly has now said that the

fifth circuit probably never meant

that and wouldn’t mean it today.

That case you all gave me a

month ago says, ‘well, we don’t

need to reach that’, but I’m just

saying that even if I get reversed

ee me ee fet ho Ot ee el Te OO ES ee a

on it, at least we'll get the law

cleared up.

App. 7.

Even under other circuits’ standard the Salinas con-

spiracy count would still have been charged in the man-

ner required. For example, an Eleventh Circuit case which

discusses this issue in depth and with extended analysis

is United States v. Carter, 721 F. 2d 1514 (11th Cir. 1984).

Yet, the holding in that case would mandate a submission

of the kind requested.

In summary, we hold that where the govern-

ment’s evidence establishes that a defendant

agreed to participate in a conspiracy with a

single objective, the requisite pattern of rack-

eteering necessary to the objective of a RICO

conspiracy is lacking. Only by demonstrating

that the defendant agreed to personally commit

two or more predicate acts is this lack cured. In

a case of this type, the trial court must instruct

the jury that an essential element of a RICO

conspiracy charge is an agreement to participate

in the enterprises’s affairs by personally com-

nitting, or agreeing to personally commit, two

or more predicate acts.

Id. at 1531. Eventually, the Salinas case was submitted on

one prisoner, involving one bribe scheme - that is, one

objective. The trial court recognized this when it stated,

“I mean, granted, it’s one arrangement... . “ App. 8.

Therefore, even under an Eleventh Circuit analysis the

RICO conspiracy counts would have been submitted in a

manner which required the jury to find that Salinas had

agreed to personally perform two or more predicate acts.

10

This issue is worthy of Supreme Court consideration

because the Fifth Circuit panel decision makes a funda-

mental change in conspiracy law as it applies to RICO.

The panel opinivin «t best views the prior Fifth Circuit

case law on this point as vague and obfuscating. The

conflict is something trial courts must deal with, and do

grapple with. The conflict creates great uncertainty as to

what a court must instruct a jury and how a defendant

must defend himself and what kind of actions constitute

criminal violations.

IV. The Trial Court's Instruction To The Jury On RICO

Conspiracy And The Fifth Circuit’s Opinien On

The Issue Of RICO Elements Changes Prior Law

On The Subject And, Consequentiy, Denied

Salinas Constitutional Right To A Fair Trial And

Due Process.

As noted above, it was the intent of the trial court to

either test the Fifth Circuit's prior rulings on this matter

or to bring about a change in the law to conform to what

it believed to be the law of some othe: circuits.

The Court: And there’s this problem that

there’s some old Fifth Circuit

cases that arguably mean some-

that and wouldn’t mean it today.

That case you all gave me a

month ago says, ‘well, we don’t

need to reach that’, but I’m just

saying that even if I get reversed

re a Fe ere

11

on it, at least we'll get the law

cleared up.

App. 7.

Where there is doubt as to whether a conviction is

predicated on an impermissible ground the conviction

should be vacated. See Stromberg v. California, 283 U.S.

359, 51 S.Ct. 532, 75 L.Ed. 1117 (1931). Also, the rule of

lenity would apply in this case and require a dismissal.

United States v. Hartec Enterprises, Inc., 967 F. 2d 130, 133

(Sth Cir. 1992). It also appears that due process consider-

ations would prohibit a change in the law applying retro-

actively to this case and this defendant. Fifth Amendment

to the Constitution.

Where standards are applied retroactively to the

potential detriment of a defendant in a criminal case the

Due Process Clause is implicated and a conviction based

on such standards will be reversed. Marks v. United States,

430 U.S. 188, 196, 97 S.Ct. 990, 995, 51 L.Ed. 2d 260 (1977).

In that case, the various circuit courts of appeal applied

the new standards in differing ways. Some applied the

standards retroactively, some did not. 430 U.S. at 189 n. 1.

The Court stated that although the Ex Post Facto Clause

of the U.S. Constitution did not apply directly to the

judicial branch, the principles it enunciates apply by vir-

tue of the Fifth Amendment. 430 U.S. at 191 and 192.

“(T]he notion that persons have a right to fair warning of

that conduct which will give rise to criminal penalties — is

fundamental to our concept of constitutional liberty.” 430

U.S. at 191.

The conspiracy case against Salinas was tried by the

government under the belief that the law required the

Each individual has to be identi.

fied with at least two specific

racketeering acts.

App. 9.

The wider net established in the present Salinas case

should not apply. The panel opinion at best views the

prior Fifth Circuit case law on this point as vague and

obfuscating. The case was tried under a theory which

would require a jury to find two predicate acts. It would

seem that a defendant, under these circumstances, is not

adequately placed on notice on what he must defend

against and how he must defend himself.

V. The Search Warrant Lacked Probable Cause Because

A warrant is supported by probable cause if “ iy

en

all the circumstances set forth in the Affidavit, there i. ,

fair probability that contraband or evidence of a crime

ll at ett ee ie ee Ee bn i: Jib a

13

will be found in a particular place.” United States v.

McKeever, 5 F. 3d 863, 865 (5th Cir. 1993) (emphasis

added); see Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213, 239 (1983). As to

the watches, there is no indication in the search warrant

affidavit as to where the watches might be located. This is

a classic fishing expedition. In fact, both the Salinas war-

rants, the one for the office and the one for his home, list

the watches. It is obvious the Government had no infor-

mation where the watches might be located and, instead,

they went on a hopeful fishing expedition. App. 10. It had

no information that the watches would be found in a

particular place. Therefore, there was an unlawful search

and seizure. No nexus was shown. See United States v.

Garcia, 27 F. 3d 1009 (5th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom.,

Chavez v. United States, 115 S.Ct. 531, 130 L.Ed. 2d 435

(1994); United States v. Laury, 985 F. 2d 1293 (5th Cir.

1993).

S

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Enriquez & Cantu, L.L.P.

Francisco J. Enriquez

4200-B N. Bicentennial

McAllen, Texas 78504

210-686-5291

Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDIX

So ae ee ee Se ee ee ee ee ee Oe a ee ogee eae yp Se | ee i gee ae ia re Be ne ee OC Ua, Se ay Se enn ee

Brigido MARMOLEJO, Jr. and Mario

Salinas, Defendants-Appellants.

No. 94-60812.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

July 17, 1996.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas.

Before JOLLY, WIENER and EMILIO M. GARZA, Cir-

cuit Judges.

EMILIO M. GARZA, Circuit Judge:

Brigido Marmolejo, Jr. and Mario Salinas, the former

Sheriff and Chief Deputy Sheriff of Hidalgo County,

Texas were convicted of various offenses arising from a

series of bribes that Marmolejo received, and Salinas

aided and abetted, in exchange for permitting conjugal

visits for a federal prisoner housed at the Hidalgo County

Jail. Marmolejo appeals his conviction and his sentence.

Salinas appeals only his conviction. We affirm buth defen-

dants’ convictions and Marmolejo’s sentence.

7]

App. 2

While Marmolejo was the Sheriff of Hidalgo County,

Texas, Homero Beltran-Aguirre (Beltran) was a federal

prisoner housed at the Hidalgo County Jail pursuant to

an agreement between the United States Marshals Service

and Hidalgo County. As Sheriff of Hidalgo County, Mar-

molejo was in charge of the operation of the Hidalgo

County Jail. Salinas was Marmolejo’s immediate subordi-

nate as the Divisional Chief for Detention of the Hidalgo

County Sheriff’s Office.

Beltran was housed at the Hidalgo County Jail on

two separate occasions: first, from June 7, 1991 to April

14, 1992, and second, from November 6, 1992 to April 26,

1993. The series of bribes comprising the pattern of rack-

eteering charged in the indictment against Marmolejo

and Salinas occurred during these periods.

As a result of the bribery scheme between Marmolejo

and Beltran, Marmolejo and Salinas were convicted of

numerous offenses. A jury found Marmolejo guilty of

violating RICO, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1962(c), RICO

conspiracy, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1962(d), two counts

of bribery in relation to a program receiving more than

$10,000 in federal funds, in violation of 18 U.S.C.

§ 666(a)(1)(B) and 18 U.S.C. § 2, aiding and abetting

money laundering, in violation of 18 U.S.C.

§ 1956(a)(1)(B)(i) and 18 U.S.C. § 2, two counts of money

laundering, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1956(a)(1)(A)(i),

and travel in interstate commerce to promote bribery, in

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1952(a)(3). A jury found Salinas

1 This agreement is described in detail in Part II infra.

App. 3

guilty of RICO conspiracy, in violation of 18 U.S.C.

§ 1962(d), and two counts of bribery in relation to a

program receiving more than $10,000 in federal funds, in

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 666(a)(1)(B) and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

Both defendants filed timely appeals.

II

Marmolejo and Salinas argue several points of error

concerning their convictions for bribery under 18 U.S.C.

§ 666(a)(1)(B), which prohibits theft and bribery by offi-

cials of state and local agencies that receive federal

funds.2 We review questions of statutory interpretation de

novo. United States v. Westmoreland, $41 F.2d 572, 576 (5th

Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 820, 109 S.Ct. 62, 102 L.Ed.2d 39

(1988). “Courts in applying criminal laws generally must

2 Section 666 applies to an “organization, government, or

agency [that] receives, in any one year period, benefits in excess

of $10,000 under a Federal program involving a grant, contract,

subsidy, loan, guarantee, insurance, or other form of Federal

assistance.” 18 U.S.C. § 666(b).

The section under which the defendants were convicted

punishes anyone who:

(a)(1) being an agent of an organization, or of a

State, local, or Indian tribal government, or any

agency thereof -

(B) corruptly solicits or demands for the benefit

of any person, or accepts or agrees to accept,

anything of value from any person, intending to

be influenced or rewarded in connection with any

business, transaction, or series of transactions of

such organization, government, or agency

involving anything of value of $5,000 or more... .

18 U.S.C. § 666(a)(1)(B).

App. 4

follow the plain and unambiguous meaning of the statu-

tory language. ‘[O]nly the most extraordinary showing of

contrary intentions’ in the legislative history will justify

departure from that language.” United States v. Albertini,

472 U.S. 675, 680, 105 S.Ct. 2897, 2902, 86 L.Ed.2d 536

(1985) (citations omitted) (quoting Garcia v. United States,

469 U.S. 70, 75, 105 S.Ct. 479, 482, 83 L.Ed.2d 472 (1984)).

A

Section 666(b) restricts the statute to agencies that

receive “in any one year period, benefits in excess of

$10,000 under a Federal program involving a grant, con-

tract, subsidy, loan, guarantee, insurance or other form of

Federal assistance.” 18 U.S.C. § 666(b). The defendants

contend that the district court did not have jurisdiction to

try the bribery counts under 18 U.S.C. § 666 because

Hidalgo County did not receive “benefits in excess of

$10,000 under a Federal program” or any “other form of

Federal assistance.” Id.

The parties dispute whether it is proper, in determin-

ing whether Hidalgo County Jail received Federal assis-

tance, to focus on (1) a Cooperative Agreement Plan

(CAP), which provided a $850,000 grant for construction

at the Hidalgo County Jail, and an Intergovernmental

Service Agreement (IGA), which provided that Hidalgo

County Jail would house federal prisoners in exchange

for their costs, or (2) just IGA. This issue is relevant not

3 The government contends that CAP and IGA together

constituted a Federal program under § 666(b). The defendants

argue that the construction grant issued pursuant to CAP is

eS he | A ee ee ee SIP ae eee a eee PP eee Le ee ee ee A. oe a ee ee ee ae

App. 5

only to determine whether the arrangement constituted a

Federal program or Federal assistance, but also to deter-

mine whether Hidalgo County satisfies the requirement

that it received the benefit within a one year period.‘

The plain language of § 666(b) is ambiguous in defin-

ing “Federal program” and “Federal assistance.”

Although it is clear that the assistance can consist of a

irrelevant to an analysis of what, if any, Federal assistance the

Hidalgo County Jail received while Beltran was in the jail. They

argue that because CAP was entered into and completed in 1984

and the bribery scheme occurred between 1991 and 1993, CAP

could not qualify as Federal assistance received in a one year

period before or after the date of the commission of the offense.

See 18 U.S.C. §§ 666(b) and 666(d)(5). The defendants argue

further that IGA does not qualify as “Federal assistance” or a

“Federal program” because it was simply a contract for services

rendered, and thus a commercial transaction exempted from the

statute by §§ 666(b) and (c).

* Section 666(d)(5) defines a one-year period as “a

continuous period that commences no earlier than twelve

months before the commission of the offense or that ends no

later than twelve months after the commission of the offense.

Such period may include time both before and after the

commission of the offense.” Because Hidalgo County received

the $850,000 construction grant in 1984, and because the

offenses committed in this case occurred from June 1991 to April

1992 and from November 1992 to July 1993, and assuming that

only CAP is a Federal program under § 666(b), Hidalgo County

would not have received the required amount of benefit within

the relevant one-year period. However, if IGA and CAP should

be viewed collectively as one agreement, and the agreement

constitutes a Federal program, then the one-year requirement

would be met, because Hidalgo County received approximately

$840,000 per year pursuant to IGA for housing federal prisoners

at cost per CAP during the time that Beltran was housed at the

jail.

App. 6

grant, contract, subsidy, loan, guarantee, or insurance, the

other defining qualities of “Federal assistance” are still

unclear. The legislative history, however, provides that

the term “Federal program involving a grant, a contract, a

subsidy, a loan, a guarantee, insurance, or another form

of Federal assistance” should be construed broadly.

S.Rep. No. 225, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. 370 (1984), reprinted

in 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. 3182, 3511 [hereinafter S.Rep. No.

225]. We must determine, therefore, whether under a

broad interpretation of “Federal assistance,” it is proper

to analyze IGA and CAP collectively as a single agree-

ment because they are so interrelated.

IGA and CAP were entered into in 1984 to establish

and govern relations between the U.S. Marshais Service

and Hidalgo County. CAP was the first agreement; it

provided for “Federal participation in the funding of

local governmental jail construction, renovation or

improvement programs” and was “predicated upon the

Federal government's requirement for detention space

and services and the local government's provision of such

services.” As a condition to the receipt of this grant,

Hidalgo County Jail had to guarantee that it would pro-

vide detention space for federal prisoners. The second

agreement, IGA, established the actual formal relation-

ship between the U.S. Marshals Service and other federal

user agencies and Hidalgo County for the detention of

federal prisoners. Although Hidalgo County had already

guaranteed that it would provide such space, IGA estab-

lished the specific provisions and requirements of the

agreement including the compensation that Hidalgo

County would receive.

App. 7

These agreements are so interrelated that they must

be viewed collectively as one agreement, especially given

the fact that the grant issued pursuant to CAP was condi-

tioned on the agreement in IGA. Having reviewed the

nature and purposes of CAP and IGA, we conclude that

together they constituted “Federal assistance” or a “Fed-

eral program” under 18 U.S.C. § 666(b), consisting of a

grant, CAP, and a contract, IGA. Our holding is sup-

ported by the broad construction of § 666(b) mandated in

the legislative history. S.Rep. No. 225 at 3511.

Focusing exclusively on IGA, the defendants argue

that the arrangement between Hidalgo County and the

U.S. Marshals Service was a commercial transaction. In

urging that this is a commercial transaction, the defen-

dants emphasize the fact that the U.S. Marshals Service

received something in return for the funds it provided to

Hidalgo County.

5 The defendants appear to argue that as a “commercial

transaction,” this arrangement would be excluded from the

statute by §§ 666(b) and (c). However, § 666(c), which excludes

“bona fide salary, wages, fees, or other compensation paid, or

expenses paid or reimbursed, in the usual course of business,”

refers to the alleged wrongdoing, to ensure that the statute is

not applied to “acceptable commercial and business practices,”

H.R.Rep. No. 797, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 30, reprinted in 1986

U.S.C.C.A.N. 6138, 6153, not to the nature of the benefit that the

agency receives pursuant to the Federal program. See United

States v. Valentine, 63 F.3d 459, 465 (6th Cir.1995) (declining to

hold that the use of employees for personal benefit is in the

usual course of business); United States v. Grubb, 11 F.3d 426 (4th

Cir.1993) (declining to hold that salary obtained in exchange for

$10,000 bribe was “bona fide”). But see United States v. Nichols,

40 F.3d 999, 1000 (9th Cir.1994) (applying § 666(c) to the nature

of the Federal assistance). Certainly the defendants are not

~~ — ©. -— 29. 3

App. 8

The legislative history again demonstrates why the

defendants’ argument must fail. The Senate Report states

that the goal in enacting 18 U.S.C. § 666 was to protect the

integrity of federal funds by punishing theft and bribery

involving Federal programs for which there is “a specific

statutory scheme authorizing the Federal assistance in

order to promote or achieve certain policy objectives.”

S.Rep. No. 225 at 3511. Focusing on this legislative his-

tory, the Second Circuit in United States v. Rooney, 986 F.2d

31, 35 (2d Cir.1993), rejected a quid pro quo argument

similar to that argued by Marmolejo and Salinas. The

Rooney court stated that the proper focus in determining

whether federal funds constitute “Federal assistance”

under § 666(b) is “whether the funds disbursed can be

considered Federal assistance within a specific statutory

scheme intended to promote public policy objectives and

not payments by the government as a commercial entity.”

Rooney, 986 F.2d at 35. Finding that the statute equated

“benefit” with “Federal assistance,” the Second Circuit

held that an Farmers Home Administration loan could

constitute Federal assistance under § 666(b), despite the

fact that the defendant was obligated to repay the loan

plus interest, because the money the defendant received

was authorized by a specific statute to accomplish speci-

fic policy goals established by Congress. Id. at 34-35.

Likewise, in this case, the funds that the federal

government provided for Hidalgo County were autho-

rized by a specific statute and were intended to further

arguing that the money they received from Beltran or the benefit

that Beltran received from them was “bona fide” and “in the

usual course of business.” 18 U.S.C. § 666(c).

App. 9

public policy goals. The fact that Hidalgo County housed

federal prisoners in return for the money it received from

the United States Marshals Service does not preclude the

arrangement from being a Federal program under

§ 666(b). The federal funds were authorized by 18 U.S.C.

§ 4002 to fulfill the federal government's policy of pro-

viding “suitable quarters for the safekeeping, care, and

subsistence of all persons held under authority of any

enactment of Congress,” 18 U.S.C. § 4002, and as stated in

CAP, to provide for “[fjederal participation in the fund-

ing of local governmental jail construction, renovation or

improvement programs.” Therefore the combination of

CAP and IGA qualifies as a Federal program under

§ 666(b), regardless of the fact that the government

received something in return for the assistance it pro-

vided to Hidalgo County.®

The defendants next argue that they were “improp-

erly prosecuted” under 18 U.S.C. § 666(a)(1)(B). They

argue that in enacting 18 U.S.C. § 666, Congress did not

intend to reach their behavior. Specifically, they contend

that there was not a business, transaction, or series of

transactions “involving anything of value of $5,000 or

more,” as required under § 666(a)(1)(B).

6 Because we hold that IGA and CAP together constitute a

Federal program, Hidalgo County meets the one-year

requirement as defined in 18 U.S.C. 666(d)(5), because it

received $840,000 a year for housing federal prisoners during

the period in which the offenses were committed.

App. 10

Section 666(a)(1)(B) requires the government to prove

that agents of a local government solicited, demanded,

accepted, or agreed to accept anything of value from any

person intending to be influenced “in connection with

any business, transaction, or series of transactions of such

government . . . involving anything of value of $5,000 or

more.” 18 U.S.C. § 666(a)(1)(B). The evidence at trial

demonstrated that Beltran was housed at the Hidalgo

County Jail, pursuant to .GA. After observing that several

of the federal prisoners were receiving special treatment

at the jail, Beltran entered into an agreement with Mar-

molejo to receive special treatment in exchange for mone-

tary consideration. Specifically, Marmolejo allowed

Beltran to have conjugal visits with his wife and girl-

friend in exchange for $6,000 a month and $1,000 per

visit. These visits took place in the jail library and eventu-

ally in Sheriff Marmolejo’s office.

The evidence also disclosed that Marmolejo told

Beltran’s brother-in-law, Guardado, who often arranged

the visits, that if Marmolejo was not available, he could

contact Salinas about arranging a visit. Marmolejo usu-

ally guarded his office door when Beltran and his wife or

girlfriend were visiting. However, Salinas sv~ervised the

visits on several occasions. The evidence also established

that Beltran instructed Guardado to purchase four sets of

men and women’s Rado watches, one set of which was

given to Salinas and one set to Marmolejo. Both Salinas

and Marmolejo also received cars from Beltran. Marmo-

lejo was also involved in numerous financial transactions

with Beltran.

We have previously held that § 666(a)(1)(B) does not

require the government to prove that federal funds were

App. 11

directly involved in a bribery transaction, or that the

federal monies funded the corrupt transaction. Westmore-

land, 841 F.2d at 578 (upholding conviction of a county

supervisor under § 666(a)(1)(B) for taking bribes in con-

nection with the granting of contracts for the mainte-

nance of local roads and bridges although the funds

corruptly disbursed were not federal funds). Therefore,

although the government did not have to trace any fed-

eral funds to the illegal transaction between Beltran and

Marmolejo and Salinas, we must consider whether the

term “anything of value” in § 666(a)(1)(B) was intended

to cover transactions involving intangibles, such as a

conjugal visit, that are difficult to value.

We turn first to the plain language of the statute. The

term “anything of value” in § 666(a)(1)(B) is broad in

scope and contains no language restricting its application

to transactions involving money, goods, or services. Sim-

ilarty, the statute does not require that the organization,

government, or agency or the person giving the agent the

bribe, valued the transaction at $5,000 or more. We hold,

therefore, that the plain meaning of the statute compels

our conclusion that the term “anything of value” in

§ 666(a)(1)(B) includes transactions involving intangible

items, such as the conjugal visits at issue in this case.”

7 We note that the dissent’s belief that the relevant

language of § 666(a)(1)(B) is ambiguous, directly contradicts our

finding in Westmoreland, 841 F.2d at 576. In Westmoreland, we

rejected the defendant's that “sufficient statutory

ambiguity exists to invoke the rule of strict construction

applicable to criminal statutes and the rule that

intent, as evidenced by the legislative history, controls,”

because we found the statutory language “plain and

unambiguous.” Id. at 575-76.

App. 12

See United States v. Mongelli, 794 F.Supp. 529, 531

(S.D.N.Y.1992) (holding that term “anything of value” in

18 U.S.C. § 666(a)(1)(8) includes intangibles).

This broad language squares with Congress's intent

in enacting 18 U.S.C. § 666 to safeguard “the integrity of

federal funds by assuring the integrity of the organiza-

tions or agencies that receive them.” Westmoreland, 841

F.2d at 577, 578. The Senate Report stated that:

[18 U.S.C. § 666 was] designed to create new

offenses to augment the ability of the United

States to vindicate significant acts of theft,

fraud, and bribery involving Federal monies

that are disbursed to private organizations or

State and local governments pursuant to a Fed-

eral program.

S.Rep. No. 225 at 3510. Specifically, the statute was

intended to fill a gap in the then-current federal bribery

and theft statutes caused by the difficulty of tracing fed-

eral monies.* To accomplish its goal, Congress “cast a

8 The Senate Report described the then-existing state of the

law:

[T]itle XI covers both theft and bribery type offenses.

With respect to theft, 18 U.S.C. § 665 makes theft or

embezzlement by an officer or employee of an agency

receiving assistance under the Job Training

Partnership Act a Federal offense. However, there is

no statute of general applicability in this area, and

thefts from other organizations or governments

receiving Federal financial assistance can be

prosecuted under the general theft of Federal

property statute, 18 U.S.C. § 641, only if it can be

shown that the property stolen is property of the

United States. In many cases, such prosecution is

App. 13

broad net to encompass local officials who may adminis-

ter federal funds, regardless of whether they actually do.”

Id. at 577.

We also note that other courts have interpreted the

term “anything of value” in criminal statutes broadly to

include intangibles. See United States v. Nilsen, 967 F.2d

539, 542 (11th Cir.1992) (stating that “Congress’ frequent

use of ‘thing of value’ in various criminal statutes has

evolved the phrase into a term of art which the courts

generally construe to envelope both tangibles and intang-

ibles”), cert. denied, 507 U.S. 1034, 113 S.Ct. 1856, 123

L.Ed.2d 478 (1993); United States v. Picquet, 963 F.2d 54, 55

(Sth Cir.) (holding that the term “anything of value” in 18

U.S.C. § 1029(a)(2) should be interpreted broadly), cert.

impossible because title has passed to the recipient

before the property is stolen, or the funds are so

that the Federal character of the funds

cannot be shown. This situation gives rise to a serious

gap in the law, since even though title to the monies

may have passed, the Federal Government clearly

retains a strong interest in assuring the integrity of

such program funds. Indeed, a recurring problem in

this area (as well as in the related area of bribery of

the administrators of such funds) has been that State

and local prosecutors are often unwilling to commit

their limited resources to pursue such thefts, deeming

the United States the principal party aggrieved.

With respect to bribery, 18 U.S.C. 201 generally

punishes corrupt payments to Federal public officials,

but there is some doubt as to whether or under what

circumstances persons not employed by the Federal

Government may be considered as a “public official”

under the definition in 18 U.S.C. 201(a). .. .

S.Rep. No. 225 at 3510.

App. 14

denied, 506 U.S. 902, 113 S.Ct. 290, 121 L.Ed.2d 215 (1992);

United States v. Girard, 601 F.2d 69, 71 (2d Cir.) (holding

that term “thing of value,” when used in criminal stat-

utes, such as in 18 U.S.C. § 641, includes intangibles, such

as amusement, sexual intercourse, a promise to reinstate

an employee, and information), cert. denied, 444 US. 871,

100 S.Ct. 148, 62 L.Ed.2d 96 (1979); see also United States v.

Williams, 705 F.2d 603, 622-23 (2d Cir.) (holding that term

“anything of value” in 18 U.S.C. § 201(c) and 18 U.S.C.

§ 201(g) can apply to stock that, although it had no actual

value, the defendant expected it to have value), cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 1007, 104 S.Ct. 524, 78 L.Ed.2d 708 (1983);

McDonald v. State, 57 Ala.App. 529, 329 So.2d 583, 587-88

(1975) (holding that sexual intercourse or the promise of

sexual intercourse is a “thing of value” under state brib-

ery statute), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 834, 97 S.Ct. 99, 50

L.Ed.2d 99 (1976); Scott v. State, 107 Ohio St. 475, 141 N.E.

19, 22-23 (1923) (same).

Because the conduct in this case involves serious acts

of bribery by agents of a local government who were

carrying out their duties under a Federal program, we

conclude that this case is within the scope of conduct

Congress intended to encompass with 18 U.S.C. § 666.°

9 The defendants argue that even if their actions meet the

literal definition of the statute, Congress did not intend to

punish their type of behavior in enacting 18 U.S.C. § 666. Again,

the legislative history supports our finding that this prosecution

was proper. The Senate Report stated that Congress intended 18

U.S.C. § 666 to behavior in three specific cases, each

of which involved an organization or agency that provided the

Federal government with a service by administering a

government program, much like the Hidalgo County Jail did in

swe.

App. 15

As Sheriff and Chief Deputy Sheriff of Hidalgo County,

the defendants were in charge of carrying out the Federal

this: case. S.Rep. No. 225 at 3511 (citing United States v. Hinton,

683 F.2d 195 (7th Cir.1982) (involving head of a nonprofit

corporation organized to administer federal funds from a HUD

program who solicited money in for housing

rehabilitation contracts funded by HUD), aff'd sub nom. Dixson v.

United States, 465 U.S. 482, 104 S.Ct. 1172, 79 L.Ed.2d 458 (1984);

United States v. Mosley, 659 F.2d 812 (7th Cir.1981) (involving

head of state administrator of funds from a CETA program who

solicited money in exchange for treatment under

the program); United States v. Del Toro, 513 F.2d 656 (2d Cir.)

(involving bribery of city administrator of funds from HUD

program), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 826, 96 S.Ct. 41, 46 L.Ed.2d 42

(1975).

Defendants cite United States v. Cicco, 938 F.2d 441 (3d

Cir.1991), as support for their argument that Congress did not

intend to reach their behavior in enacting 18 U.S.C. § 666. The

facts of Cicco, however, do not support their argument. In Cicco,

the defendants were indicted for soliciting political support in

enacted § 666 to enlarge those covered by federal bribery laws,

not “the sort of ‘political patronage harassments’ alleged” in that

S.Rep. No. 1245, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 2,

reprinted in 1976 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2883, 2884). Because the

defendants’ behavior in Cicco was covered by another criminal

statute, 18 U.S.C. § 601, which was “ ‘directed at protecting

federally-funded employment from partisan favoritism,’” the

court concluded that did not intend to encompass such

behavior under § 666. Id. The Cicco court was persuaded in

by the fact that if the conduct at issue was covered by

§ 666 as well as § 601, the would have been ten times

as severe under § 666, and without any mention of § 601 in the

history, the Cicco court was not prepared to conclude

that Congress intended such a result. Id. Instead, the court

believed “Congress intended § 666 to address different and more

serious criminal activity” involving theft and bribery. Id.

App. 16

program of housing and safekeeping the federal pris-

oners, including Beltran, at Hidalgo County Jail. Part of

their responsibilities pursuant to IGA was to provide and

regulate the prisoners’ visitation rights. As agents of the

Hidalgo County Jail, Marmolejo and Salinas

money, watches, and cars intending to be influenced in

connection with transactions of the jail, namely, the issu-

ance and regulation of prisoner visits with family and

friends. The transactions involved something of value -

conjugal visits that Beltran was willing to pay for.

We must now determine whether these conjugal

visits had a value of $5,000 or more. Again, we observe

that the statute does not contain language “to indicate

that ‘any transaction involving $5,000’ means ‘any feder-

ally funded transaction involving $5,000’ or ‘any transac-

tion involving $5,000 of federal funds.’” Westmoreland,

841 F.2d at 576. “[A]ny reference to federal funds is

conspicuously absent from the operative provisions,”

allowing Congress to ensure the integrity of federal funds

by protecting the integrity of the organizations that

receive them. Id. at 577-78. The statute does not speci-

fically require that the payor or the payee of the bribe

value the transaction at $5,000.1° Instead, the $5,000 trig-

gering provision ensures that the statute reaches acts of

1° Compare Westmoreland, 841 F.2d at 576-78 (stating that the

unambiguous language of § 666(a)(1)(B) does not require the

government to establish any relation between the transaction

involving a “thing of value of $5,000” and the federal funds the

agency receives) with United States v. Foley, 73 F.3d 484, 490 (2d

Cir.1996) (stating that § 666(a)(1)(B) was enacted to permit

prosecution for bribery in connecticn with federal program

funds, therefore, in determining whether a transaction involves

“anything of value of $5,000 or more,” the “value must be

» -' eRe es Do ee |” Pee re Lak OU ee eee. | ~~? wy Oe ae eee Sty Re Dg em ee Le eae or ie

wv

App. 17

bribery involving transactions of substantial value. Id. at

578. To decide whether a transaction involving intang-

ibles has a value of $5,000 or more, courts should look to

traditional valuation methods. See Mongelli, 794 F.Supp. at

531. We conclude that the conjugal visits in this case did

have a value which exceeded $5,000. We arrive at this

estimate in the same way that an appraiser would value

an asset ~ by looking at how much a person in the market

connected, even if only indirectly, to the integrity of federal

program funds”). The dissent claims that Foley holds that “the

proper method to value a transaction is from the perspective of

the protected entity.” However, Foley's only statement about

assessing the “thing’s value” states that it must be connected to

the integrity of the federal program funds. Foley, 73 F.3d at 490.

Foley does intimate that if the transaction involved in that case

had affected the financial interests of the protected local

organization, then that case might have been properly

prosecuted under § 666(a)(1)(B). Id. at 492-93. However, the only

decisive language in Foley concerns the fact that the federal

program funds were not affected, even indirectly, by the

transaction. Id. at 490, 492 & 493. We note that the plaintiff in

Westmoreland could not have been convicted under

§ 666(a)(1)(B) under the holding in Foley. Foley requires a

connection between the transaction’s value of $5,000 or more

and the integrity of the federal program funds that the

government receives. The Foley court stated that the legislative

history indicated that § 666(a)(1)(B) was “not designed for the

prosecution of corruption that was not shown in some way to

touch upon federal funds.” Foley, 73 F.3d at 493. However, the

plaintiff in Westmoreland, a county supervisor, was convicted of

bribes in exchange for effecting sales transactions

worth $14,482.92. We upheld her conviction even though it was

undisputed that the alleged acts of bribery concerned only state

monies, not the federal funds that the county received. To the

extent that the Foley court would have reversed her conviction

under § 666(a)(1)(B), this case is in conflict with Fifth Circuit

law.

App. 18

would be willing to pay for them. Id.; see also Herman v.

United States, 289 F.2d 362 (Sth Cir.) (stating that to deter-

mine if the value of stolen property is $5,000 or more, as

required in 18 U.S.C. § 2314, courts must look at “the

price a willing buyer would pay a willing seller at the

time and place the property was stolen”), cert. denied, 368

U.S. 897, 82 S.Ct. 174, 7 L.Ed.2d 93 (1961); United States v.

Seagraves, 265 F.2d 876 (3d Cir.1959) (stating that amount

defendants paid for stolen property can form basis for

expert’s valuation of the property under 18 U.S.C.

§ 2314). Pursuant to the bribery transactions, Beltran was

willing to pay Marmolejo $6,000 a month plus $1,000 for

each visit. Therefore, the transactions between Beltran

and Marmolejo and Salinas involved something “of value

of $5,000 or more.” Accordingly, we conclude that Mar-

molejo and Salinas were properly prosecuted under 18

U.S.C. § 666(a)(1)(B).1?

1! The defendants’ final argument with respect to 18 U.S.C.

§ 666 is that the Sheriff’s office is not an agent of a local

government as required by § 666(a)(1). Section 666 applies to

every “agent of an organization, or of a State, local, or Indian

tribal government, or any agency thereof.” 18 U.S.C. § 666(a)(1).

“Local” is defined as “of or pertaining to a political subdivision

within a state.” 18 U.S.C. § 666(d)(3). It is clear that this statute

was intended to encompass all employees of all

agencies and their subdivisions. See 18 U.S.C. § 666(d)(2). The

Hidalgo County Sheriff's office is an agency of Hidalgo County,

and both defendants are agents of the Sheriff's office; therefore,

they are covered by the statute.

Salinas also argues that there was insufficient evidence to

convict him of aiding and Marmolejo’s violation of 18

U.S.C. § 666(a)(1)(B). After a careful review of the record, we

conclude there was sufficient evidence to sustain the conviction.

wer tes ee ae ee OY OSA ee

App. 19

At trial, the government alleged that the defendants

violated Tex.PENAL Cope ANN. § 36.02(a)(1), which consti-

tuted “predicate acts establishing a pattern of racketeer-

ing activity” in violation of RICO.’? See 18 U.S.C.

§ 1962(c). A state offense can only constitute a predicate

act establishing a pattern of racketeering activity if the

offense is punishable by more than one year in prison. 18

U.S.C. § 1961(1)(A). Salinas and Marmolejo allege that

their prosecution under Tex.PenaL Cope Ann. § 36.02(a)(1)

was improper because a more specific statute, Tex.PENAL

Cope ANNn. § 36.08(b), applies to their conduct.’ They rely

on a well-established rule of construction “that if two

legal provisions apply, one general and one specific, the

specific takes precedence.” United States v. Tunnell, 667

F.2d 1182, 1185 (5th Cir.1982). While Tex.Penat Cope Ann.

§ 36.02(a)(1) is a felony punishable by more than one year

in prison, Tex.Penat Cope ANN. § 36.08(b) is a misde-

meanor which is not punishable by more than one year in

prison. Therefore, if the defendants should have been

12 Tex.Penat Cove Ann. § 36.02(a)(1) provides:

A person commits an offense if he intentionally or

knowingly offers, confers, or agrees to confer on

another, or solicits, accepts, or agrees to accept from

another any benefit as consideration for the

_ recipient’s decision, opinion, recommendation, vote,

or other exercise of discretion as a public servant,

party official, or voter.

13 Tex.Penat Cope Ann. § 36.08(b) provides that “[a] public

servant in an agency having custody of prisoners commits an

offense if he solicits, accepts, or agrees to accept any benefit

from a person the public servant knows to be in his custody or

the custody of his agency.”

App. 20

prosecuted under § 36.08(b) instead of § 36.02(a)(1), they

would not have committed predicate acts constituting

racketeering activity in violation of RICO.

Having reviewed the evidence against the defen-

dants, we hold that they were properly charged under

Tex.PeNAL Cope ANN. § 36.02(a)(1), which prohibits

accepting bribes, rather than § 36.08(b), which prohibits

accepting gifts. The appropriate inquiry is which statute

criminalizes the defendants’ conduct here. See Tunnell,

667 F.2d at 1185 (concluding that defendants were prop-

erly charged under the statute which criminalized their

exact behavior). The evidence at trial demonstrated an

elaborate system of bribes between Marmolejo and

Beltran, aided and abetted by Salinas. The cash payments,

watches, and other consideration that the defendants

received were not gifts; they were given as payment for

conjugal visits and other special favors. Thus the defen-

dants were properly convicted under the more serious

statute, § 36.02(a)(1), which prohibited the exact behavior

which they engaged in — bribery. See Id. at 1185; Cerda v.

State, 750 S.W.2d 925, 927 (Tex.App. - Corpus Christi

1988, pet. ref’d).'4

14 The defendants also argue that the government failed to

prove that they were “public servant(s]” within the meaning of

the statute and that they acted in a discretionary manner in

allowing conjugal visits. Tex.Penat Cove Ann. § 1.07(a)(41)(A)

defines public servant as one who is “elected, selected,

appointed, employed, or otherwise designated as . . . an officer,

employee, or agent of government.” Marmolejo was elected

¢ a tne 5 . v &

i ge eb Riles ye ee ed Oe I i Be

App. 21

IV

Salinas appeals the trial court’s jury instruction on

the RICO conspiracy count,’> arguing that it erroneously

allowed the jury to convict him without proof that he

performed or agreed to perform personally two of the

predicate acts which comprise the pattern of racketeering

Salinas also satisfies the definition because he was either

selected or appointed as an employee of Hidalgo County.

Tex.Penat Cove Ann. § 36.02(a)(1) punishes the receipt of

benefits in exchange “for the recipient’s decision, opinion,

recommendation, vote, or other exercise of discretion as a public

servant.” The defendants argue that as jailers they act in a

ministerial, not a discretionary manner. This argument is also

without merit. Conjugal visits were not permitted under

Hidalgo County Jail policy. They were allowed in this case, only

as 2 result of Marmolejo’s exercise of discretion, aided and

abetted by Salinas, in exchange for money and other types of

consideration.

The defendants also argue that the government failed to

prove that Beltran was in “custody.” Tex.Penat Cove Ann.

§ 36.02(a)(1) does not require custody; therefore, this argument

is also without merit.

18 Salinas was charged with violating a substantive RICO

18 U.S.C. § 1962\c), and with conspiring to violate a

substantive RICO provision, 18 U.S.C. § 1962(d). He was

acquitted of the substantive count, but convicted on the

count. Section 1962(d) provides that it is unlawful

“for any person to conspire to violate any of the provisions of

subsection (a), (b), or (c) of this section.” 18 U.S.C. § 1962(d).

Section 1962(c) prohibits “any person employed by or

associated with any enterprise engaged in, or the activities of

which affect, interstate or foreign commerce, to conduct or

participate, directly or indirectly, in the conduct of such

enterprise’s affairs through a pattern of racketeering activity or

collection of unlawful debt.” 18 U.S.C. § 1962(c).

Ce eae oes ee UR OR ee ee os 1 ears td Bae |

App. 22

activity.’ “While great latitude is shown the trial court in

fashioning jury instructions, we will review [the instruc-

tions] to determine whether they accurately and com-

pletely state the law.” Banc One Capital Partners Corp. v.

Kneipper, 67 F.3d 1187, 1192 (5th Cir.1995).

Fifth Circuit cases have obfuscated the issue of

whether each RICO conspiiator must agree to commit

personally two or more rackcteering acts or whether it is

sufficient that the conspirator simply agree that one of his

co-conspirators will commit two or more racketeering

acts.'7 This issue has divided the circuits, with the major-

ity holding that a RICO conspirator need only agree “that

members of the conspiracy will violate [a substantive

RICO provision] through the commission of two pro-

scribed acts,” not that he will persunally commit two

16 The trial court’s instruction on the RICO conspiracy

count stated:

What you are being asked to decide in Count Two

is . . . If Salinas was only involved in one or two or

even none, did he, nevertheless, know about this

pattern. Did he know that this whole pattern of

activity was going on and did he then knowingly and

willfully join in and participate and contribute in

some fashion.

17 Both the majority and the views on this issue

ground their interpretation of § 1962(d) on United States v.

Elliott, 571 F.2d 880 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 953, 99 S.Ct.

349, 58 L.Bd.2d 344 (1978). “However, a reading of Elliott in

with the later case of United States v. Sutherland, 656

F.2d 1181 (5th Cir.1981) reveals that the Fifth Circuit had not

resolved this issue.” United States v. Neapolitan, 791

F.2d 489, 496 n. 3 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 940, 107 S.Ct.

422, 93 L.Ed.2d 372 (1986).

es ie le ti: i el Be en A ah eel

App. 23

proscribed acts.'* United States v. Neapolitan, 791 F.2d 489,

494 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 940, 107 S.Ct. 422, 93

L.Ed.2d 372 (1986).

Our decision in United States v. Elliott, 571 F.2d 880

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 953, 99 S.Ct. 349, 58

L.Ed.2d 344 (1978), lays the groundwork for analyzing

the present controversy. The issue in Elliott was whether

the government can link together, under a RICO conspir-

acy charge, multiple conspiracies whose crimes may have

no relation to each other except for their affiliation with a

common criminal enterprise. Id. at 902-03. In answering

this question affirmatively, we explained:

the object of a RICO conspiracy is to violate a

substantive RICO - here, to conduct

or te in the affairs of an enterprise

through a pattern of racketeering activity - and

not merely to commit each of the predicate

crimes necessary to demonstrate a pattern of

1% The majority consists of the Sixth, Third, Ninth,

Eleventh, and Seventh Circuits. See United States v. Joseph, 781

R.2d 549, 554 (6th Cir. 1986); United States v. Adams, 759 F.2d

1099, 1116 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 971, 106 S.Ct. 336, 88

L.Ed.2d 321 (1985); United States v. Tille, 729 F.2d 615, 619 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 845, 105 S.Ct. 156, 83 L.Ed.2d 93

(1984); United States v. Carter, 721 F.2d 1514, 1529 (11th Cir.), cert.

denied sub nom., Morris v. United States, 469 U.S. 819, 105 S.Ct. 89,

83 L.Ed.2d 36 (1984); Neapolitan, 791 F.2d at 497. The First and

Second Circuits currently compose the minority, holding that a

RICO conspirator must personally agree to commit two

acts. See United States v. Ruggiero, 726 F.2d 913, 921 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied sub nom., Rabito v. United States, 469 U.S. 831,

105 S.Ct. 118, 83 L.Ed.2d 60 (1984); United States v. Winter, 663

F.2d 1120, 1136 (1st Cir.1981), cert. denied, 460 U.S. 1011, 103 S.Ct.

1250, 75 L.Ed.2d 479 (1983).

7 =~ eS tS or oe | eee ).) le

App. 24

racketeering activity. . . . Under the statute, it is

irrelevant that each defendant participated in

the enterprise’s affairs through different, even

unrelated crimes, so long as we may

infer that each crime was intended to further the

enterprise’s affairs.

Id. at 902. Our subsequent cases have made it clear that to

prove a RICO conspiracy “no actual acts of racketeering

need occur; there need only exist a conspiracy to perform

the necessary acts plus some overt action by one of the

conspirators in furtherance of the conspiracy.” United

States v. Phillips, 664 F.2d 971, 1038 (5th Cir.1981) (citing

United States v. Sutherland, 656 F.2d 1181, 1187 n. 4 (5th

Cir.1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 949, 102 S.Ct. 1451, 71

L.Ed.2d 663 (1982)), cert. denied sub nom., Meinster v.

United States, 457 U.S. 1136, 102 S.Ct. 2965, 73 L.Ed.2d

1354 (1982). Yet, our cases have still not resolved what

RICO conspirators must individually agree to.

Today we join the majority view among the circuits in

holding that to be guilty of RICO conspiracy, the conspir-

ator must simply agree “to the objective of a violation of

RICO; he need not agree personally to violate the stat-

ute.” Neapolitan, 791 F.2d at 498. Our decision is manda-

ted not only by the plain language of the RICO statute,

but also by the nature and purpose of the statute.

Section 1962(d) specifically prohibits a conspiracy to

violate any of the substantive RICO provisions. 18 U.S.C.

§ 1962(d). Nothing in this language indicates that Con-

gress intended to do anything more than to criminalize a

conspiratorial objective - the violation of a substantive

RICO provision. Sutherland, 656 F.2d at 1193; Elliott, 571

F.2d at 903; Neapolitan, 791 F.2d at 497. If we were to hold

App. 25

that in addition to agreeing to the overall criminal objec-

tive, a RICO conspirator had to agree to perform the

actual crime, two predicate acts comprising a substantive

violation of RICO, this holding would be a marked depar-

ture rom traditional conspiracy law for which there is no

support in the language of the statute or the statutory

history. Neapolitan, 791 F.2d at 497-98 (“Requiring an

agreement personally to commit two predicate acts

would establish a new form of conspiring in contradis-

tinction to section 1962(d)’s base in traditional conspiracy

law.”).

The Congressional purpose in enacting RICO was to

provide a new remedy to punish organized crime. Id. at

495 & 498; see United States v. Barton, 647 F.2d 224, 237-38

(2d Cir.1981) (“It is the purpose of this Act to seek the

eradication of organized crime in the United States . . . by

establishing new penal prohibitions, and by providing

enhanced sanctions and new remedies to deal with the

unlawful activities of those engaged in organized

crimes.”) (quoting The Statement of Findings of the Orga-

nized Crime Control Act of 1970, 84 Stat. 923), cert. denied,

454 U.S. 857, 102 S.Ct. 307, 70 L.Ed.2d 152 (1981). To be

guilty of a RICO violation, one must have violated other

laws in a way that implicates RICO. Neapolitan, 791 F.2d

at 497 (“The statute does not create a new type of crime; it

establishes prerequisites for the imposition of harsher

penalties.”). Therefore to be an effective tool against orga-

nized crime, a RICO conspiracy should not require any-

thing more than is required to conspire to violate any

other federal crime. Id. This conclusion is bolstered by the

App. 26

expansive reading that the Supreme Court has given the

statute.!9

Having concluded that a RICO conspirator need not

agree .0 personally perform the two predicate acts which

compose the substantive violation of RICO, we find that

the court’s instructions were an accurate statement of the

law.79

Vv

Section 1963(a) provides that anyone who violates

RICO must forfeit any interest that they have acquired or

maintained in violation of the statute, any enterprise that

they have established or conducted in violation of RICO,

and any property constituting or derived from proceeds

obtained from racketeering activity in violation of RICO.

19 Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479, 498, 105 S.Ct.

3275, 3286, 87 L.Ed.2d 346 (1985).

20 Salinas also argues that there was insufficient evidence

to support his conviction for RICO conspiracy. In reviewing a

sufficiency of the evidence , we view “the evidence in

the light most favorable to the jury verdict and affirm ] if a

rational trier of fact could have found that the

proved all essential elements of the crime beyond a reasonable

doubt.” United States v. Puig-Infante, 19 F.3d 929, 937 (Sth Cir.),

cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 115 S.Ct. 180, 130 L.Ed.2d 115 (1994). To

prove a RICO conspiracy charge, the government must prove

“that the defendant conspired to engage in a pattern of

racketeering activity.” United States v. Marcello, 876 F.2d 1147,

1152-53 (Sth Cir.1989). To establish a pattern of racketeering

activity, the government must prove “two predicate acts, each of

which must be a criminal offense.” Id. Having carefully

reviewed the record, we conclude that there was sufficient

evidence to convict Salinas of RICO conspiracy.

App. 27

18 U.S.C. § 1963(a). Section 1963(m) provides that if by

some “act or omission of the defendant” the government

cannot locate the property it is authorized to forfeit by

subsec/. »n (a), “the court shall order the forfeiture of any

other property of the defendant up to the value of any

property” that the defendant has made untraceable. 18

U.S.C. § 1963(m). The government sought the forfeiture of

$151,000 in bribe proceeds from Marmolejo pursuant to

18 U.S.C. § 1963(a). Marmolejo argues that the court erred

in authorizing the forfeiture of substitute assets without

requiring the government to prove that he made unavail-

able the assets that he obtained from his violations of

RICO. We review the district court's findings of fact

under the clearly erroneous standard of review, and the

question of whether those facts constitute legally proper

forfeiture de novo. United States v. 1977 Porsche Carrera, 946

F.2d 30, 33 (5th Cir.1991).

One of the specific ways that § 1963(m) provides that

the government can forfeit substitute property is if some

of the property, “as a result of any act or omission of the

defendant has been transferred or sold to, or deposited

with, a third party.” 18 U.S.C. § 1963(m)(2). At the forfei-

ture hearing, both Marmolejo and the government stipu-

lated that if a government agent were called to testify he

would testify that he could not locate the specific prop-

erty the government sought to forfeit because “some of

the property had been transferred, sold or deposited with

third parties.” Marmolejo’s attorney specifically acknowl-

edged that the government could not trace any of Mar-

molejo’s assets. Furthermore, Marmolejo did not oppose

the district court’s Order of Forfeiture which specifically

App. 28

stated that the parties stipulated that forfeiture of substi-

tute assets was appropriate. Therefore, given that both

parties stipulated that substitution of assets was appro-

priate, and because the court’s decision was based on a

legally proper ground, § 1963(m)(2), we hold that the

forfeiture was proper.

VI

Defendants argue that the district court erred in

denying their motions to suppress evidence seized pur-

suant to a search warrant that they allege was invalid.2

In reviewing a district court’s denial of a motion to sup-

press evidence obtained pursuant to a search warrant we

must decide: “(1) whether the good-faith exception to the

exclusionary rule applies; and (2) whether probable cause

supported the warrant.” United States v. Satterwhite, 980

21 Before trial, Marmolejo moved to suppress evidence

obtained pursuant to three search warrants. Based on the

affidavit of John Trevino, Special Agent of the Internal Revenue

Service, Criminal Division, the government obtained three

warrants to search Marmolejo’s residence, ranch, and office. The

warrant sought nine categories of items ranging from personal

address and telephone books that would contain the addresses

or telephone numbers of Marmolejo’s associates to documents

reflecting receipts or disbursements of money from Beltran to

Marmolejo.

Salinas also sought to suppress evidence found pursuant to

a search warrant that was also obtained based on Special Agent

Trevino’s affidavit. The warrant for Salinas’ residence sought

six categories of items from personal address and

telephone books that might contain Salinas’ associates to a set of

his and hers Rado watches given by Beltran to Salinas and his

wife.

Pe ee ee et ee Oe ee! ee een a? ee ee ey

ee a wh Ol Mee 27) «Oo a ee een

— = . ~ >

App. 29

F.2d 317, 320 (5th Cir.1992) (footnote omitted). However,

because this case does not involve novel issues of law

that need to be resolved to assist law enforcement officers

and magistrate judges in the future, we need not decide

whether the warrant was supported by probable cause if

we find that the good-faith exception to the exclusionary

rule applies. Id.; United States v. Restrepo, 994 F.2d 173, 187

(5th Cir.1993).

“When a warrant is supported by more than a ‘bare

bones’ affidavit, officers may rely in good faith on the

warrant’s validity” in conducting a search. Satterwhite,

980 F.2d at 321. However, an affidavit that contains only

conclusions and “lack[s] the facts and circumstances from

which a magistrate can independently determine proba-

ble cause” is considered “bare bones” and cannot be the

basis of an objectively reasonable good-faith reliance by

an officer. Id. We review de novo whether the good-faith

exception to the exclusionary rule applies. Id. at 321.

We conclude that the affidavit which supported the

search warrants for Marmolejo’s residence, ranch, and

office and Salinas’ residence contained sufficient facts

from which the magistrate could determine probable

cause. The affidavit contains detailed first-hand observa-

tions by the affiant, as well as detailed information pro-

vided by informants whom the affiant establishes as

reliable.2? It describes the bribery scheme between

22 For example, the affidavit states that confidential source

number one (“CS-1”):

has provided information about Homero BELTRAN

receiving special privileges and visits at the Hidalgo

County Jail, as corroborated by CS-2, CS-3 and by

App. 30

Beltran and Marmolejo in detail and Salinas’ role in aid-

ing and abetting it.27 Many of the facts are corroborated

testimony of a witness before the Federal Grand Jury

in McAllen, Texas. CS-1 has also provided

information that Homero BELTRAN gave a 1989

Pontiac Trans-Am to Brigido MARMOLEJO JR.,

which has been independently corroborated by a

record check with the Texas of Motor

Vehicles and by statements made to law enforcement

officers participating in this investigation by the

current owner of the vehicle that Brigido

MARMOLEJO JR., was the former owner of the

vehicle.

Another example of the reliability of the confidential sources

demonstrated in the affidavit is:

CS-3 has provided information to your affiant and

other law enforcement officers for the past three

months as to the ownership of real estate by a

convicted drug trafficker, Homero BELTRAN, and

that Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. was involved in the

proposed sale of the property, which has been

corroborated by CS-1, CS-2, and independent

investigation by your affiant and special agents

assigned to the DEA OCDETF group in McAllen,

Texas.

23 The affidavit explains that by September 1991, Beltran

was receiving special privileges inside the jail because of an

agreement that he had with a jail employee named Zavala. It

recounts how Marmolejo then met with Beltran and agreed to

increase the frequency and duration of Beltran’s visits with his

family. Initially, Beltran was to pay Marmolejo $5,000 per month

for having at least one visit a week with his family. The affidavit

describes how the agreement was to allow for

three visits per week for $5,000 per week and $1,000 per visit.

The affidavit states that “CS-1 and CS-2 observed on several

App. 31

by the observations of others and by taped conversations

with Marmolejo which the affiant helped record.

Based on these facts, the magistrate could indepen-

dently determine probable cause; therefore, the affidavit

was more than “bare bones” which the officers could rely

on in good faith. Since the officers acted in good faith in

relying on the search warrants, we need not determine

whether the warrants were supported by probable cause.

We conclude that the defendants’ motions to suppress

were properly denied.**

occasions Mario Salinas guarding the door to Brigido

Marmolejo’s office.”

The affidavit describes the watches that Beltran bought for

Marmolejo and Salinas and their wives. It also explains that

Beltran gave Marmolejo $11,000 to complete a pavilion that

Marmolejo was building at his ranch for his daughter’s

wedding. The affidavit further states that, “CS-2 was present

when Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. had taken Mario SALINAS to

his ranch and showed him the pavilion. Brigido MARMOLEJO

JR. stated that ‘if it was not for Homero BELTRAN, I wouldn’t

have the pavilion.’ ”

The affidavit also details the many financial transactions

that Marmolejo entered into with Beltran.

2% Salinas also argues that the search exceeded the scope of

the search warrant because officers searched his car which was

not authorized in the search warrants. As result, Salinas argues,

all evidence obtained in the search should be suppressed.

However, Salinas does not state what evidence from the

vehicles, was discovered and admitted at trial. The only items of

evidence the government admitted at trial that was seized

pursuant to the search warrants were two Rado watches seized

from Salinas’ residence and a number list seized from

Salinas’ office. Under the severability doctrine, evidence that is

seized has no effect on the admissibility of legally

seized evidence. United States v. Willey, 57 F.3d 1374, 1390 (5th

ee Ee Lag oe pee eC Toe ree ere .

App. 32

vil

Salinas argues that his criminal prosecution was pro-

hibited by the Double Jeopardy Clause. He contends that

prior to his criminal trial, the government forfeited his

property, two Rado watches, which constituted punish-

ment for his crime, thereby precluding any subsequent

punishment. The district court rejected Salinas’ claim,

finding that the government had suspended forfeiture

proceedings and only intended to keep the watches as

evidence for trial. We review the denial of a motion to

dismiss on Double Jeopardy grounds de novo. United

States v. Arreola-Ramos, 60 F.3d 188, 191 (5th Cir.1995).

Salinas’ property was seized by the DEA for forfei-

ture under 21 U.S.C. § 881 as property used or acquired

as the result of a drug-related offense.> The DEA sent

Salinas a Notice of Seizure in November 1993. The Notice

informed Salinas that he could either request remission or

mitigation of the forfeiture within thirty days of his

receipt of the notice, or contest the forfeiture within

twenty days of the first date of publication of the notice -

November 17, 1993. On December 30, 1993, Salinas sent a

Petition for Remission, or in the Alternative for Mitiga-

tion of the Forfeiture which was then denied by the DEA.

Cir.), cert. denied, __ U.S. ___, 116 S.Ct. 675, 133 L.Ed.2d 524

(1995); United States v. Hamilton, 931 F.2d 1046, 1054 (5th

Cir.1991). Therefore, without any allegation of illegally seized

evidence, Salinas’ claim is without merit.

25 The government's theory was that the watches had been

purchased by Beltran with drug proceeds. Beltran was a well-

known drug dealer who had made $4 to $5 million in profits

from marijuana smuggling.

App. 33

The DEA, however, never issued a Declaration of Forfei-

ture administratively forfeiting the watches.

Salinas argues that the watches were effectively for-

feited when he failed to file a claim and post a bond

contesting the forfeiture before the time for contesting

expired on December 7, 1993. Salinas argues that this

automatic forfeiture occurred because of 21 C.F.R.

§ 1316.77(a). Section 1316.77(a) provides

For property seized by officers of the Drug

Enforcement Administration, if... a claim and

bond are not filed within the 20 days herein-

before mentioned, the DEA Special Agent-in-

Charge or DEA Asset Forfeiture Section shall

declare the property forfeited. The DEA Special

Agent-in-Charge or DEA Asset Forfeiture Sec-

tion shall prepare the Declaration of Forfeiture

and fovard [sic] it to the Administrator of the

Administration as notification of the action he

has taken.

21 C.F.R. § 1316.77(a). If Salinas were correct

in arguing that automatic forfeiture occurs once

the twenty days expire, then there would be no

need for the statute to require that either the

DEA Special Agent-in-Charge or DEA Asset

Forfeiture Section “declare the property for-

feited” and then prepare a “Declaration of For-

feiture.” The statute would simply provide that

the property is automatically forfeited once the

twenty days had expired. We find that instead

of authorizing automatic forfeiture, the statute

authorizes the DEA to declare property forfeited

when no person files a claim within the

period. See United States v. Baird, 63 F.3d 1213,

1217 (3d Cir.1995) (“Where no person files a

claim to the seized property within the statutory

App. 34

period, the agency is authorized to declare the

forfeited.”) (citing 19 U.S.C. § 1609(b)

and 21 C.F.R. § 1316.77) ( added), cert.

denied, __ U.S. __, 116 S.Ct. 909, 133 L.Ed.2d

841 (1996); cf. Arreola-Ramos, 60 F.3d at 190 (stat-

ing that once the time for making a claim and

posting a bond has expired, the seizing agency

automatically issues a declaration of forfeiture).

However, if the agency does not issue a “Decla-

ration of Forfeiture,” the is not for-

feited. Cf. Arreola-Ramos, 60 F.3d at 190 (stating

that the declaration of forfeiture by a seizing

agency has “the same effect as a final decree and

order of forfeiture entered in a judicial proceed-

ing”).

The Ninth Circuit, in a case that is factually

similar to this one, recently rejected the exact

argument that Salinas makes. See United States v.

App. 35

Ninth Circuit affirmed the district court’s denial

of the defendant’s motion to dismiss on double

jeopardy grounds based on its interpretation 19

U.S.C. § 1609(a), which contains similar pro-

cedures as 21 C.F.R. § 1316.77.% The court

stated,

The fact that section 1609%(a) uses mandatory

rather than hortatory language means only that

the government will declare seized property for-

feited and to auction it off, if there has

i no challenge to the forfeiture proceedings;

each 9 oe mean that forfeiture is complete as a

matter of law simply because the twenty days

have passed. Put another way, a Declaration of

Forfeiture or final Disposition Order is not an

empty gesture; it is the means whereby the gov-

ernment legally obtains title to seized property

in order to dispose of it.

~~ sp Fee

Sanchez-Cobarruvias, 65 F.3d 781 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, __ U.S. __, 116 S.Ct. 797, 133 L.Ed.2d

745 (1996). In Sanchez-Cobarruvias, United States

Border Patrol Agents seized several guns from

the defendant's car at which time the defendant

filled out a Petition for Remission or Mitigation

of Forfeiture form. The defendant was thereafter

indicted for firearms violations. Customs offi-

cials then initiated civil administrative forfeiture

proceedings against the defendant’s car and

sent him a Notice of Seizure explaining how the

defendant could contest the forfeiture. After the

twenty day claims period expired, the defendant

moved to dismiss his criminal charges on dou-

ble jeopardy grounds. The district court denied

the motion, holding that no final tion had

taken place in the forfeiture ; there-

fore, the property had not beem forfeited, and

jeopardy could not have attached. Id. at 782. The

Id. at 783-84. Because there had been neither a Declara-

tion of Forfeiture nor a final Disposition Order, the Ninth

Circuit held that there had been no finality to the forfei-

ture proceeding. Id. at 784. Therefore the defendant's

property had not been forfeited, and there was no double

jeopardy bar to his criminal prosecution.

The DEA has never issued a Declaration of Forfeiture

for Salinas’ watches. Consequently, we hold that there

has been no finality to the forfeiture proceedings and

therefore no forfeiture. As a result, jeopardy has not

attached in the first proceeding to erect any potential bar

to Salinas’ subsequent criminal prosecution. .

:

26 See 19 U.S.C. §§ 1608 and 1609%(a) and (b).

App. 36

vill

The district court enhanced Marmolejo’s sentence for

obstruction of justice based on its belief that Marmolejo

perjured himself at trial. Marmolejo argues that this was

error because the court failed to give him adequate notice

of its intent to enhance his sentence on this ground.

Parties must be given notice and an opportunity to

comment on matters relating to sentencing. Fep.R.Crm.P.

32(a)(1); Burns v. United States, 501 U.S. 129, 137 & 138,

111 S.Ct. 2182, 2187, 115 L.Ed.2d 123 (1991). However, the

Fifth Circuit has recently held that “if the defendant has

actual knowledge of the facts on which the district court

bases an enhancement or a denial of a reduction, the

Sentencing Guidelines themselves provide notice of the

grounds relevant to the proceeding sufficient to satisfy

the requirements of Rule 32 and U.S.S.G. § 6A1.3.” United

States v. Knight, 76 F.3d 86, 88 (5th Cir.1996). Because

Marmolejo had actual knowledge of the facts upon which

the district court based its enhancement - his testimony

at trial - Marmolejo had adequate notice of the court's

intent to enhance his sentence for obstruction of justice.””

27 Marmolejo argues several other points of error, none of

verdict, see Puig-Infante, 19 F.3d at 937, we find that a rational

admitting hearsay evidence and disallowing other “critical

impeachment evidence.” We find that the district court did not

ai”

App. 37

Ix

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM Marmolejo’s

sentence and both defendants’ convictions.

E. GRADY JOLLY, Circuit Judge, concurring in part

and dissenting in part:

I respectfully dissent from Part II B of the majority's

opinion. The majority holds that it is a federal crime for

local jail officials to accept bribes for conjugal visits

because conjugal visits constitute “business” or “transac-

tions” of the Hidalgo County Jail. It reaches this conclu-

sion even though the conduct in question did not affect

federal funds directly or indirectly, the only congressional

objective of this criminal statute. Moreover, the majority

holds that these conjugal visits have a value of at least

$5,000 based solely on the amount of the bribes received

by the local jail officials. The majority thus enlarges the

scope of this statute by effectively holding that the statute

is violated whenever a bribe satisfies the transactional

amount prescribed by the statute even when the transac-

tion has no value to the jail and thus could have no effect

on federal interests. With due respect for the majority, I

abuse its discretion. See United States v. Coleman, 997 F.2d 1101,

1105 (Sth Cir.1993) (“Rulings limiting the or extent of

cross-examination are committed to the sound of the

trial court and are reviewed only for abuse of discretion.”), cert.

denied, _ U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. 893, 127 L.Ed.2d 86 (1994); United

States v. Vela, 673 F.2d 86, 90 (Sth Cir.1982) (stating that we

review a trial court’s decision to admit business records for

abuse of discretion).

App. 38

am unable to agree with this virtually unlimited expan-

sion of 18 U.S.C. § 666(a)(1)(B).

(1)

As noted in the majority opinion, the statute requires

that the government prove that the defendants were

agents of the Hidalgo County Jail, and that the jail

received, in any one-year period encompassing the defen-

dants’ conduct, more than $10,000 in “benefits” from a

“Federal program” involving a grant or contract. 18

U.S.C. § 666(a)(1), (b) (1994). The government further

must prove that the defendants, as agents of the jail,

accepted “anything of value” from someone, and did so

with the intent to be influenced or rewarded in connec-

tion with “any business, transaction, or series of transac-

tions” of the jail “involving anything of value of $5,000 or

more.” § 666(a)(4)(B).

The majority concludes that the statute clearly

encompasses the conduct of the defendants. I conclude

that the statute clearly does not reach the conduct at

issue. These two contrary positions, each supported by its

own rationale, would lead one to conclude that the stat-

ute is ambiguous.

The majority parses the language of the statute to

find clarity where, when fully considered, there is only

ambiguity. Isolating words from the context of the stat-

ute, it focuses on “anything of value” instead of consider-

ing the whole of the phrase “any business, transaction, or

series of transactions of such organization, government,

or agency involving anything of value of $5,000 or more”

so as to conclude that the statute is plain and clear that

an Dei, in ie, tata Cte SU“ - ~ —_— = —

App. 39

valuations can be from the perspective of any of the

parties involved. The Second Circuit persuasively demon-

strated the ambiguity involved in this point when it

recently rejected the “clarity” proclaimed by the majority

here, by stating: “Sec. 666(a)(1)(B) is silent as to the

identity of the person or entity to whom the ‘[ ]thing’

must have at least a $5,000 value.” United States v. Foley,

73 F.3d 484, 490 (2d Cir.1996).7

In its effort to fulfill the elemental requirements of

the statute, specifically that the “transactions” had a

“value of $5,000,” the majority confuses and then fuses

the value of the transactions with the amount of the

bribe. Yet, the two are completely distinct under the

statute. The text of the statute makes clear that the accep-

tance of “anything of value,” i.e., the acceptance of the

bribe, is a separate element of the crime from the amount

of the transaction; consequently, the amount of the bribe

has no statutory relevance to the value of the transaction.

Stated differently, the value of the transaction cannot

automatically be extrapolated from the amount of the

bribe, but instead must be established on grounds inde-

pendent, at least in some way, of the bribe. Our decision

in United States v. Westmoreland, 841 F.2d 572 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 820, 109 S.Ct. 62, 102 L.Ed.2d 39

(1988), illustrates the illogic of the majority’s analysis in

using the bribe to satisfy both the “anything of value”

28 The majority cites Westmoreland to support its claim that

the statutory language is unambiguous. Slip. Op., at 4709 n. 7.

The fact that we found the statutory language “plain and

unambiguous” on one issue, namely, whether § 666(a)(1)(B)

imposes a tracing requirement, does not mean that it is “plain

and unambiguous” on all issues.

App. 40

element of the crime and the “value of the transaction”

element. There, a county supervisor accepted bribes total-

ing $2,202 in connection with the purchase of $14,482.92

worth of goods for the county. Id. at 575. The purchases

made by the county supervisor constituted the series of

transactions of the county “involving anything of value of

$5,000 or more”; the bribes satisfied the “anything of

value” element of the crime. In short, as applied in this

case, the language of § 666(a)(1)(B) is at best ambiguous

insofar as it concerns the method of valuing a transaction.

(2)

Given this ambiguity, it is necessary to turn to the

legislative history for guidance in interpreting and apply-

ing the statute. Hightower v. Texas Hospital Association, 65

F.3d 443, 448 (1995). Faced with legislative history that

does not support its reading of the statute, however, the

majority evades grappling directly with the legislative

history.” Instead, the majority falls back on generalized

descriptions of that legislative history from our decision

in Westmoreland. The majority states that its broad reading

29 The majority does quote a passage from the legislative

history that directly contradicts its interpretation of § 666

without attempting to explain this contradiction:

[18 U.S.C. § 666 was] to create new offenses

to augment the ability of the United States to

vindicate significant acts of theft, fraud, and bribery

involving Federal monies that are disbursed to private

organizations or State and local governments

pursuant to a Federal program.

Slip. Op., at 4709 (quoting S.Rep. No. 225, 98th Cong., 2d Sess.,

reprinted in 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. 3182, 3510) (emphasis added).

App. 41

of the language of the statute “squares with Congress's

intent in enacting 18 U.S.C. § 666 to safeguard ‘the integ-

rity of federal funds by assuring the integrity of the

organizations or agencies that receive them.’ ” Maj.Op., at

__ (quoting 841 F.2d at 578). The majority also states that

“Congress ‘cast a broad net to encompass local officials

who may administer federal funds, regardless of whether

they actually do.’ ” Id. at 4709 (quoting 841 F.2d at 577).

Unfortunately, the majority quotes from Westmoreland

without reviewing the context of the legislative history in

which those descriptions arose. Such a review demon-

strates the majority’s inappropriate use of these descrip-

tions to support its overly-broad reading of the reach of

the statute.

In Westmoreland, a county supervisor was convicted

of receiving kickbacks for purchases of county materials

that involved only non-federal funds of the county. 841

F.2d at 573. The defendant argued that “the statute

requires the involvement of federal, not merely state,

funds in the allegedly corrupt transactions.” 841 F.2d at

575. After reviewing the statutory language and the legis-

lative history, we said:

[While the legislative history manifests a congres-

pom na winches tin fer oy hear

nds, y to do so

fu py Gosh 7

the need to trace the flow of federal monies and

that would avoid inconsistencies caused by the

different ways that various federal programs

disburse funds and control their administra-

tion.” Id. (emphasis added).

App. 42

The court in Westmoreland thus recognized that the

legislative history exhibited a clear intent to protect fed-

eral funds distributed to non-federal entities. Recogniz-

ing the difficulty involved in tracing federal funds,

Westmoreland remained faithful to this congressional

objective by holding that § 666 encompassed transactions

involving non-federal funds of an entity receiving federal

funds. Westmoreland did not hold that Congress meant to

criminalize any act of bribery involving non-federal enti-

ties receiving federal funds, but only those acts of bribery

that could somehow be traced, directly or indirectly, to the

integrity of federal program funds. The majority’s use of

Westmoreland’s generalized descriptions of the legislative

history to support its overly-broad reading of the statute

thus does not square with Westmoreland’s own recognition

of congressional purpose or the reasoning behind its

holding.

Turning to the precise legislative history, I find that it

clearly reveals that Congress did not intend for

§ 666(a)(1)(B) to be applied to conduct such as the accep-

tance of bribes to allow conjugal visits. Instead, Congress

was only concerned with protecting the federal monies

disbursed to non-federal entities. “This part of title XI is

designed to create new offenses to augment the ability of

the United States to vindicate significant acts of theft,

fraud, and bribery involving Federal monies that are dis-

bursed to private organizations or State and local govern-

ments pursuant to a Federal program.” 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N.

at 3510 (emphasis added). Congress also stated that “the

purpose of this section [is] to protect the integrity of the

vast sums of money distributed through Federal programs

App. 43

_ from theft, fraud, and undue influence by ribery.” Id. at

3511.

The majority’s attempt to find support in the circuit

court cases cited in the legislative history, see Slip Op., at

4710 n. 9; 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 3511 & nn. 2-3, will not

withstand a careful look. None of the cases from the

legislative history cited by the majority supports the

majority’s reading of § 666(a)(1)(B) because the conduct

at issue in those cases directly implicated federal monies.

United States v. Hinton, 683 F.2d 195 (7th Cir.1982) (solicit-

ing money in exchange for award of housing rehabilita-

tion contracts funded by HUD), aff'd sub nom., Dixson v.

United States, 465 U.S. 482, 104 S.Ct. 1172, 79 L.Ed.2d 458

(1984); United States v. Mosley, 659 F.2d 812 (7th Cir.1981)

(receiving money in exchange for giving preferential

treatment to individuals seeking jobs funded by Compre-

hensive Employment and Training Programs Act); United

States v. Del Toro, 513 F.2d 65€ (22 Cir.) (bribing city

administrator to insure that program receiving funding

from HUD would lease building), cert. denied, 423 U.S.

826, 96 S.Ct. 41, 46 L.Ed.2d 42 (1975). In this case, allow-

ing conjugal visits to a federal prisoner, in no way that

my eyes can see, implicates federal monies.

Furthermore, I have found nothing in the legislative

history to indicate that Congress meant to reach acts of

bribery - as the majority does - involving any and all

official acts of agents of non-federal entities in the same

way that 18 U.S.C. § 201 reaches acts of bribery involving

App. 44

all official acts of federal agents.*° Instead, Congress was

focused on providing criminal sanctions precisely and

only for abuse of, or threat to, federal monies that are

disbursed to these non-federal entities. Westmoreland log-

ically extends the reach of the statute - based on a recog-

nition of the fungibility of money - to non-federal funds

of that entity.

, am

(3)

The majority’s decision today also creates a split with

the well-reasoned and more carefully crafted decision of

the Second Circuit in United States v. Foley.*' In Foley, a

Connecticut legislator was convicted of receiving a bribe

to help secure the passage of legislation that would have

given a recently-merged bank a one-year exemption from

a divestiture requirement. 73 F.3d at 486-87. Although the

defendant received a $25,000 bribe and the exemption

was worth more than $5,000 to the bank, the Second

Circuit held that the transaction did not meet the “$5,000

3° Section 201 reads in part: “Whoever, being a public

official . .. accepts . . . anything of value . . . for being influenced

in the performance of any official act . . . shall be

... imprisoned. . . . ” 18 U.S.C. § 201(b) (1994). Congress was

well aware of this provision when it passed § 666 because a

circuit split concerning § 201’s application to non-federal

entities motivated congressional action on § 666. See 1984

U.S.C.C.A.N. at 3510-11.

31 Surprisingly, the majority s :pports its holding by

citation to United States v. Mongelli, 794 F.Supp. 529, 531

(S.D.N.Y.1992), Slip Op., at 4711, 4712, a decision overruled by

the Second Circuit in Foley. See 73 F.3d at 496 (Lumbard, J.,

dissenting).

App. 45

or more” requirement of § 666(a)(1)(B) because the gov-

ernment had not shown that the exemption was worth at

least $5,000 to the State of Connecticut. “[T]he exemption

affected neither the financial interests of the protected

organization nor federal funds directly.” Id. at 493. Based

on a clear understanding of the congressional objective in

enacting § 666, the Second Circuit determined that the

proper method to value a transaction is from the perspec-

tive of the piotected entity, not from the perspective of

“any willing buyer,” as the majority would have us

accept. Slip Op., at 4711. The Foley court stated:

[T]he value of a thing for purposes of

§ 666(a)(1)(B) is not to be assessed by reference

to any and every perspective or measure of

value, no matter how subjective or arbitrary.

Instead, the assessment of the thing’s value

must be connected, even if only indirectly, to the

integrity of federal program funds.

73 F.3d at 490.

In an effort to distinguish Foley from these facts and

from Fifth Circuit law, the majority contends that the

defendant in the Fifth Circuit's Westmoreland decision

would not have been convicted under Foley because the

transaction in that case did not involve federal funds. Slip

Op., at 4711 n. 10. Based on two quoted passages from

Foley mentioning federal funds, the majority strains to

conclude that the Foley Court held that federal funds

must be involved in the transaction and that, therefore,

the decision conflicts with Westmoreland. Id. A casual

reading of Foley will reveal the majority’s erroneous inter-

pretation of that decision. First, Foley cites with approval

our decision in Westmoreland. 73 F.3d at 491. Second, the

App. 46

Foley Court noted that the Second Circuit has already

held that the government is not required to trace the

corrupt transaction to federal program funds. Id. at

490-91 (citing United States v. Coyne, 4 F.3d 100, 108-10 (2d

Cir.1993), cert. denied, __ US. __, 114 S.Ct. 929, 127

L.Ed.2d 221 (1994)).32 Third, the Foley Court recognized

that the corrupt transaction violated § 666(a)(1)(B) if it

affected either “the financial interests of the protected

organization” or “federal funds directly.” Id. at 493. The

majority’s attempt to distinguish Foley is, I respectfully

submit, superficial.

(4)

_ Finally, 1 would observe that when a criminal statute

only ambiguously applies to the conduct in question,

surely the rule of lenity counsels that we construe the

statute in favor of the defendant. Liparota v. United States,

471 U.S. 419, 427, 105 S.Ct. 2084, 2089, 85 L.Ed.2d 434

(1985).

(5)

To summarize, in interpreting § 666(a)(1)(B), we first

must look to the specific statutny language, and in the

light of its ambiguity, the legislative history, to determine

whether this provision intends to reach this conduct.

Dowling v. United States, 473 U.S. 207, 213, 105 S.Ct. 3127,

3131, 87 L.Ed.2d 152 (1985) (“[W]hen assessing the reach

32 The Coyne court itself recognized that it “agree[s] with

the other circuits who have considered the question,” including

Westmoreland. 4 F.3d at 110.

App. 47

of a federal criminal statute, we must pay close heed to

language, legislative history, and purpose in order strictly

to determine the scope of the conduct the enactment

forbids”). Neither the plain language nor the legislative

history indicates that Congress wrote this provision to

reach the acceptance of bribes for conjugal visits, conduct

that left both federal and state fiscs untouched. Congress

intended to reach only conduct involving - directly or

indirectly — the fiscal integrity of non-federal entities

receiving federal monies. Because the defendant's con-

duct in no discernable way implicated the fiscal integrity

of the Hidalgo County Jail, and because the majority's

reading of the statute contradicts the clear expression of

congressional intent in the legislative history, I respect-

fully dissent.

App. 48

APPENDIX 2

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIR:‘CUIT

No. 94-60812

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Plaintiff - Appellee

v.

BRIGIDO MARMOLEJO, JR; MARIO SALINAS ~

Defendants - Appellants

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Texas, Laredo

ON PETITIONS FOR REHEARING AND SUGGESTIONS

_FOR REHEARING EN BANC ~

(Opinion 7/17/96, 5 Cir., __, __ F3d __)

(Fiked Aug. 15, 1996)

Before JOLLY, WYENER, and EMILIO M. GARZA, Circuit

Judges.

PER CURIAM:

(/) The Petitions for Rehearing are DENIED and no

nnember of this panel nor judge in regular active service

on the court having requested that the court be polled on

Rehearing En Banc, (FRAP and Local Rule 35) the Sugges-

tions for Rehearing En Banc are also DENIED.

App. 49

( ) The Petitions for Rehearing are DENIED and the

court having been polled at the request of one of the

members of the court and a majority of the judges who

are in regular active service not having voted in favor,

(FRA and Local Rule 35) the Suggestions for Rehearing

En Banc are also DENIED.

( ) A member of the court in active service having

requested a poll on the reconsiderations of this cause en

banc, and a majority of the judges in active service not

having voted in favor, Rehearings En Banc are DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Emilio M. Garza

United States Circuit Judge

REHG-15

App. 50

APPENDIX 3

ARTICLE [IV]

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,

houses, papers,and effects, against unreasonable searches

and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall

issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or

affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be

searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

ARTICLE [V]

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the

land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual

service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any

person be subject for the same offense to be twice put in

jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any

criminal case to be a witness against himself; nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process

of law; nor shall private property be taken for public use,

without just compensation.

18 U.S.C. § 666. Theft or bribery concerning programs

receiving Federal funds

(a) Whoever, if the circumstance described in sub-

section (b) of this section exists —

App. 51

(1) being an of an organization, or of

State, Vocal, ne todos tbe! ean 6 eit

agency thereof -

(A) embezzles, steals, obtains by fraud, or

otherwise without authority knowingly converts

(2) corruptly gives, offers, or agrees to give

value to any person, with intent to influ-

4

shall be fined under this title, imprisoned not more than

10 years, or both.

(b) The circumstance referred to in subsection (a) of

this section is that the organization, government, or

agency receives, in any one year period, benefits in excess

App. 52

of $10,000 under a federal program involving a grant,

contract, subsidy, loan, guarantee, insurance, or other

form of Federal assistance.

(c) This section does not apply to bona fide salary,

wages, fees, or other compensation paid, or expenses

paid or reimbursed, in the usual course of business.

(d) As used in this section -

(1) the term “agent” means a person authorized

(3) the term “local” means of or pertaining to a

political subdivision within a State;

(4) the term “State” includes a State of the

App. 53

time both before and after the commission of the

offense.

18 U.S.C. § 4002. Federal prisoners in State institutions;

employment

For the purpose of providing suitable quarters for the

safekeeping, care and subsistence of all persons held

under authority of any enactment of Congress, the Attor-

ney General may contract, for a period not exceeding

three years, with the proper authorities of any State,

Territory, or political subdivision thereof, for the

Such Federal prisoner shall be employed only in the

manufacture of articles for, the production of supplies for,

the construction of public works for, and the maintenance

and care of the institutions of, the State or political subdi-

vision in which they are imprisoned.

The rates to be paid for the care and custody of said

persons shall take into consideration the character of the

quarters furnished, sanitary conditions, and quality of

subsistence and may be such as will permit and encour-

age the proper authorities to provide reasonably decent,

sanitary and healthful quarters and subsistence for such

persons.

App. 54

18 U.S.C. § 1961. Definitions

As used in this chapter -

(1) “racketeering activity” means (A) any act or

threat involving murder, kidnapping, gambling, arson,

robbery, bribery, extortion, dealing in obscene matter, or

dealing in narcotic or other dangerous drugs, which is

chargeable under State law and punishable by imprison-

ment for more than one year; (B) any act which is indict-

able under any of the following provisions of title 18,

United States Code: Section 201 (relating to bribery), sec-

tion 224 (relating to sports bribery), sections 471, 472, and

473 (relating to counterfeiting), section 659 (relating to

theft from interstate shipment) if the act indictable under

section 659 is felonious, section 664 (relating to embezzle-

ment from pension and welfare fuads), sections 891-894

(relating to extortionate credit transactions), section 1029

(relating to fraud and related activity in connection with

access devices), section 1084 (relating to the transmission

of gambling information), section 1341 (relating to mail

fraud), section 1343 (relating too wire fraud), section 1344

(relating to financial institution fraud), sections 1461-1465

(relating to obscene matter), section 1503 (relating to

obstruction of justice), section 1510 (relating to obstruc-

tion of criminal investigations), section 1511 (relating to

the obstruction of State or local law enforcement), section

1512 (relating to tampering with a witness, victim, or an

informant), section 1513 (relating to retaliating against a

witness, victim, or an informant), section 1951 (relating to

interference with commerce, robbery, or extortion), sec-

tion 1952 (relating to racketeering), section 1953 (relating

to interstate transportation of wagering paraphernalia),

App. 55

section 1954 (relating to unlawful welfare fund pay-

ments), section 1955 (relating to the prohibition of illegal

gambling businesses), section 1956 (relating to the \aun-

dering of monetary instruments), section 1957 (relating to

engaging in monetary transactions in property derived

from specified unlawful activity), section 1958 (relating to

use of interstate commerce facilities in the commission of

murder-for-hire), sections 2312 and 2313 (relating to

interstate transportation of stolen motor vehicles), sec-

tions 2314 and 2315 (relating to interstate

transportation

of stolen property), section 2321 (relating to trafficking in

certain motor vehicles or motor vehicle parts), sections

2341-2346 (relating to trafficking in contraband ciga-

rettes), sections 2421-24 (relating to white slave traffic),

(C) any act which is indictable under title 29, United

States Code, section 186 (dealing with restrictions on

payments and loans to labor organizations) or section

501(c) (relating to embezzlement from union funds), (D)

any offense involving fraud connected with a case under

title 11, fraud in the sale of securities, or the felonious

manufacture, importation, receiving, concealment, buy-

ing, selling, or otherwise dealing in narcotic or other

dangerous drugs, punishable under any law of the

United States, or (E) any act which is indictable under the

Currency and Foreign Transactions Reporting Act;

(2) “State” means any State of the United States, the

District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico,

any territory or possession of the United States, any

Ras gin Pg ge department, agency, or

instrumentality thereof;

(3) “person” includes any individual or entity capa-

ble of holding a legal or beneficil interest in property;

|

App. 56

(4) “enterprise” includes any individual, partner-

ship, corporation, association, or other legal entity, and

any union or group of individuals associated in fact

although not a legal entity;

(5) “pattern of racketeering activity” requires at

least two acts of racketeering activity, one of which

occurred after the effective date of this chapter and the

last of which occurred within ten years (excluding any

period of imprisonment) after the commission of a prior

act of racketeering activity;

(6) “unlawful debt” means a debt (A) incurred or

contracted in gambling activity which wes in violation of

the law of the United States, a State or political subdivi-

sion thereof, or which is unenforceable under State or

Federal law in whole or in part as to principal or interest

because of the laws relating to usury, and (B) which was

incurred in connection with the business of gambling in

violation of the law of the United States, a State or

political subdivision thereof, or the business of lending

money or a thing of value at a rate usurious under State

or Federal law, where the usurious rate is at least twice

the enforceable rate;

(7) “racketeering investigator” means any attorney

or investigator so designated by the Attorney General

and charged with the duty of enforcing or carrying into

effect this chapter;

(8) “racketeering investigation” means any inquiry

conducted by any racketeering investigator for the pur-

pose of ascertaining whether any person has been

involved in any violation of this chapter or of any final

order, judgment, or decree of any court of the United

App. 57

States, duly entered in any case or proceeding arising

under this chapter;

(9) “documentary material” includes any book,

paper, i mh record, recording or other material; and

(10) “Attorney General” includes the Attorney Gen-

eral of the United States, the Deputy Attorney General of

the United States, the Associate Attorney General of the

United States, any Assistant Attorney General of the

United States, or any employee of the Department of

Justice or any employee of any department or agency of

the United States so designated by the Attorney General

to carry out the powers conferred on the Attorney Gen-

eral by this chapter. Any department or agency so desig-

nated may use in investigations authorized by this

chapter either the investigative provisions of this chapter

or the investigative power of such department or agency

otherwise conferred by law.

18 U.S.C. § 1962. Prohibited activities

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who has

received any income derived, directly or indirectly, from

a pattern of racketeering activity or through collection of

an unlawful debt in which such person has participated

as a principal within the meaning of section 2, title 18,

United States Code, to use or invest, directly or indirectly,

any part of such income, or the proceeds of such income,

in acquisition of any interest in, or the establishment or

operation of, any enterprise which is engaged in, or the

activities of which affect, interstate or foreign commerce.

App. 58

A purchase of securities in the open market for purposes

of investment, and without the intention of controlling or

participating in the control of the issuer, or of assisting

another to do so, shall not be unlawful under this subsec-

tion if the securities of the issuer held by the purchaser,

the members of his immediate family, and his or their

accomplices in any pattern or racketeering activity or the

collection of an unlawful debt after such purchase do not

amount in the aggregate to one percent of the outstand-

ing securities of any one class, and do not confer, either in

law or in fact, the power to elect one or more directors of

the issuer.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person through a

pattern of racketeering activity or through collection of

an unlawful debt to acquire or maintain, directly or indi-

rectly, any interest in or control of any enterprise which is

engaged in, or the activities of which affect, interstate or

foreign commerce.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person employed by

or associated with any enterprise engaged in, or the

activities of which affect, interstate or foreign commerce,

to conduct or participate, directly or indirectly, in the

conduct of such enterprise’s affairs through a pattern of

racketeering activity or collection of unlawful debt.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to conspire

to violate any of the provisions of subsection (a), (b), or

(c) of this section.

ae ae ee eS PO eee eee, eS ee ee, ee nh ae

App. 59

APPENDIX 4

United States Department Intergovernment Service

of Justice Agreement

United States Marshals Housin Federal Prisoners

Service sof

1. AGREEMENT NUMBER

J-D79-M-001

2. EFFECTIVE DATE

9/1/84

3. REQUISITION /PURCHASER/REQUEST NO.

0181-D79-84

4. CONTROL NO.

5. ISSUING OFFICE

UNITED STATES MARSHALS SERVICE

Operations Support Division

Program Administration Branch

1-TYSONS CORNER CENTER

MCLEAN, VIRGINIA 22102

6. GOVERNMENT ENTITY FACILITY CODE(S) 6GV

NAME AND ADDRESS (Street, city, county, State and

ZIP code)

[Hidalgo County Detention Center, P.O. Box 359 Ed-

ingburg, Texas 78539]

Contact Person Juan Jose Munoz, Chief

Area Code & Telephone No. (512) 383-8114 ext. 73

8. ITEM NO. (1)

9. SUPPLIES/SERVICES This Agreement is for the

safekeeping and subsistence of adult male and

housing,

female federal prisoners in accordance with the contents

set forth herein.

—- — sees Se Ar se er eee; Se ee” 6hvVh eC mc; a ied ee

App. 60

10. QUANTITY ESTIMATED USMS PRISONER DAYS/

YR. 36,500

11. UNIT PDs

12. UNIT PRICE FIXED RATE $25.09

13. AMOUNT ESTIMATED ANNUAL PAYMENT

$915,785

ITEM NO. (2)

SUPPLIES/SERVICES This Agreement consists of the

following:

(A) I-G-A Cover Page, Form #241

(B) Agreement Schedule, pages 2-5.

14. AGENCY CERTIFYING

To the best of my knowledge and belief, data submitted in

support of this a t is true and correct, the document

has been duly authorized by the governing body of the

Department or Agency and the Department or Agency will

comply with ALL PROVISIONS SET FORTH HEREIN.

15. NAME AND TITLE OF PERSON(S) AUTHORIZED

TO SIGN OFFER.

/s/ Brig Marmolejo Date 9-13-84

(Signature)

/s/ Brig Marmolejo _ Sheriff

Name (Type or Print) Title

Date

(Signature)

Name (Type or Print) Title

App. 61

16. TYPE OF USE

[ ] Hold Over

@ Regular Support

[ ] Seasonal Support

{ ] Other

17. PRISONER TYPE TO BE INCLUDED

UNSENTENCED SENTENCED

@ Adult Male ™@ Adult Male

@ Adult Female @ Adult Female

{ ] Juvenile Male { ] Juvenile Male

{[ ] Juvenile Female { ] Juvenile Female

@ Aliens [ ] Work Release

{ ] YCA Male

{ ] YCA Female

18. LEVEL OF USE

{ ] Minimum

[ ] Medium

@ Major

19. This Negotiated Agreement is Hereby Approved and

Accepted for

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BY DIRECTION OF THE DIRECTOR OF THE

UNITED STATES MARSHALS SERVICE

BY /s/ Enders

IGNATURE OF CO ING OFFICER)

20. ANTICIPATED ANNUAL USAGE

UNSENTENCED SENTENCED ALIENS TOTAL

No. of

Prisoners 100 100

Prisoner Days 36,500 ~ 36,500

Guard Hours

See

:

}

:

App. 62

21. NAME OF AUTHORIZING OFFICIAL

(Type or Print)

Joseph B. Enders

DATE SIGNED

August 30, 1984

UNITED STATES MARSHALS SERVICE

AGREEMENT SCHEDULE

(SUPPORT OF U.S. PRISONERS)

ARTICLE I — PURPOSE

The purpose of this Intergovernmental Service Agree-

ment (IGA) is to establish a formal binding relationship

between the U.S. Marshals Service and other federal user

agencies (the government) and Hidalgo County, Texas

(The County) for the detention of persons charged with

or convicted of violations of federal law or held as mate-

rial witnesses (federal prisoners) at the Hidalgo County

Jail (the facility).

ARTICLE II - SUPPORT AND MEDICAL SERVICES

1. The County agrees to accept and provide for the

secure custody, care and safekeeping of federal prisoners

in accordance with state and local laws, standards, poli-

cies, procedures, or court orders applicable to the opera-

tions of the facility.

2. The County agrees to provide federal prisoners with

the same level of medical care and services provided local

prisoners including the transportation and security for

App. 63

prisoners requiring removal from the facility for emer-

gency medical services. All costs associated with hospital

or health care services provided outside the facility will

be paid directly by the government.

3. The County agrees to notify the U.S. Marshal as soon

as possible of all emergency medical cases

removal of a prisoner from the facility and to obtain prior

authorization for removal for all other medical services

required.

ARTICLE Il —- RuCEIVING AND DISCHARGE

1. The County agrees to accept as federal prisoners

those persons committed by federal law enforcement offi-

cers for violations of federal laws only upon presentation

by the officer of proper law enforcement credentials.

2. The County agrees to release federal prisoners only to

law enforcement officers of agencies initially committing

the prisoner (i.e. DEA, INS, etc.) or to a Deputy United

States Marshal. Those prisoners who are remanded to

custody by a U.S. Marshal may only be released to a U.S.

Marshal or an agent specified by the U.S. Marshal of the

Judicial District.

3. Federal prisoners may not be released from the facil-

ity or placed in the custody of state of local officials for

any reason except for medical or emergency situations.

Federal prisoners sought for a state or local court pro-

ceeding must be acquired through a Writ of Habeas

Corpus or the Interstate Agreement of Detainers and then

only with the concurrence of the District U.S. Marshal.

App. 64

ARTICLE IV — PERIOD OF PERFORMANCE

This Agreement shall remain in effect for a period of

Fifteen (15) years after completion of the Cooperative

Agreement 4-79-84 and indefinitely thereafter until termi-

nated in writing by either party. After the 15 year period

provided for in CAP Agreement 4-79-84 is completed, if

conditions of an unusual nature occur making it impracti-

cal or undesirable to continue to house prisoners, the

County may suspend or restrict the use of the facility by

any or all federal agencies by giving written notice to the

U.S. Marshal and the affected user agency. Such notice

will be provided 30 days in advance of the effective date

of formal termination and at least two weeks in advance

of a suspension or restriction of use unless an emergency

situation requires the immediate relocation of prisoners.

modified rate will be paid upon the return of the signed

modification by the authorized local official to the US.

6. Unless other justifiable reasons can be documented

by the County, per diem rate increases shall not exceed

the National Inflation rate as established by the US.

Department of Commerce.

ARTICLE V —- ECONOMIC PRICE ADJUSTMENT

1. Payment rates shall be established on the basis of

actual costs associated with the operation of the facility

during a recent annual accounting period or upon an

approved annual operating budget.

2. The rate may be renegotiated not more than once per

year, after the Agreement has been effective for twelve

months.

ARTICLE VI — FINANCIAL PROVISIONS

1. The billing addresses of the i i}.

tay ‘enn dik Hela agencies using this facil

United States Marshal Immi Meet

515 Rusk Avenue gration & Naturalization

Houston, Texas 77002 Asst. Regional Commissioner

PMP ;

Phone: (713) 229-2800

311 North Stemmons Freew

Dallas, Texas 75207 et

Phone: (214) 729-6089

ewes pa Aen nay ane

3. The County may initiate a request for a rate increase

or decrease by notifying the U.S. Marshal in writing at

least 60 days prior to the desired effective date of the

adjustment. Each rate adjustment submitted must include

a completed Basic Data Sheet and Certification Form

available from the U.S. Marshal. The County agrees to

is

App. 66

Bureau of Prisons

Community Programs

2320 La Branch Street

Houston, Texas 77004

Phone: (713) 750-1755

2. The government shall reimburse the County at the

fixed rates identified on page one of the agreement. The

rates cover one person per prisoner day. The government

may not be billed for two days when a prisoner is admit-

ted one evening and removed the following morning. The

County may bill for the day of arrival but not for the day

of departure.

3. The Prompt Payment Act, Public Law 97-177 (96 Stat.

85, 31 USC 1801) is applicable to payments under this

agreement and requires the payment to the County of

interest on overdue payments. Determinations of interest

due will be made in accordance with the provisions of the

Prompt Payment Act and the Office of Management and

Budget Circular A-25.

4. Payment under this agreement will be due on the

thirtieth (30th) calendar day after receipt of a proper

invoice, in the office designated to receive the invoice.

The date of the check issued in payment shall be consid-

ered to be the date payment is made.

5. The original invoice shall be submitted to the governr-

ment office that has been designated to receive invoices,

as stated in paragraph 1. To constitute a proper invoice,

the invoice must include the name, title, phone number

and complete mailing address of the official of the desig-

nated payment office. In addition, it shall list each federal

prisoner, the specific dates of confinement for each, the

Manager

1. It is the intention of the Marshals Service to furnish

eae eaeral property to local governments for the spec-

purpose of improving jail conditions and services.

Accountable excess property, such as furniture and

equipment, remains titled to the Marshals Service and

shall be returned to the custody of the Marshals Service

upon termination of the agreement.

2. The County agrees to inventory, maintain, repair

assume liability for and manage all federally provided

accountable property and to immediately report the loss

or destruction of accountable property to the U.S. Mar-

shal. Annual inventory reports will be provided by the

County to the U.S. Marshal.

3. The suspension of use or restriction of bed

space

made available to the Marshals Service are agreed to be

grounds for the recall and return of any or all govern-

ment furnished property.

4. The dollar value of property provided each year will

not exceed the annual dollar payment made by the Mar-

shals Service for prisoner support. ,

ARTICLE VIII - MODIFICATIONS/DISPUTES

~

1. Either party may initiate a request for modification to

this agreement in writing. All modifications negotiated

PT tee te. ae ia a4

2. re- vo. SSeS

= iT hae

sy

eel oe ee a :

App. 68

will be written and approved by the U.S. Marshals Ser-

vice contracting officer and submitted to the County on

form USM 241a for approval.

2. Disputes, questions or concerns pertaining to this

agreement other than CAP space guarantees will be

resolved between the U.S. Marshal and the appropriate

County official. Unresolved issues are to be directed, in

writing, to the Chief, Operations Support Division, U.S.

Marshals Service Headquarters.

ARTICLE IX — INSPECTION AND TECHNICAL ASSIS-

TANCE

1. The County agrees to allow periodic inspections of the

facility by U.S. Marshals Service Inspectors. Findings of

the inspection will be shared with the facility administra-

tor in order to promote improvements to facility opera-

tions, conditions of confinement and levels of services.

2. The Marshals Service will endeavor to provide or

acquire technical training and management assistance

from other federal, state or local agencies or national orga-

nizations upon the request of the facility administrator.

ARTICLE X - SPECIAL PROVISIONS

Upon the execution of Cooperative Agreement Number

4-79-84 the County agrees to provide 20 detention spaces

for Federal prisoners on a daily basis and upon the com-

pletion of the project, the County agrees to provide 100

spaces for federal user agencies each day for a period of

15 years.

SF

[p. 1138] HOUSE PRISONERS IN THE HIDALGO

COUNTY JAIL?

A YES, SIR.

Q AND THE SAME THING BETWEEN SEPTEM-

BER 1ST, 1992 AND SEPTEMBER 1ST, 1993?

A_ YES, SIR.

MR. SUROVIC: YOUR !.ONOR, THE GOV-

ERNMENT WOULD OFFER WHAT’S BEEN MARKED

AS GOVERNMENT EXHIBITS NO. 95 AND 96 INTO

EVIDENCE.

MR. CANALES: NU OBJECTION.

THE COURT: ALL RIGHT. THAT’S THE SAME

ISSUE OF HOW MUCH .. . WHETHER THERE’S A

CERTAIN AMOUNT OF MONEY PAID TO THE JAIL.

WE'LL ADMIT THAT AND YOU CAN HAVE THAT.

ALL RIGHT. 95 AND 96 ARE IN.

MR. SUROVIC: WE HAVE NO FURTHER

QUESTIONS OF THIS WITNESS, YOUR HONOR.

THE COURT: THANK YOU, MA’AM. YOU

CAN GO HOME.

MR. ENRIQUEZ: YOUR HONOR, I DO HAVE

QUESTIONS.

THE COURT: WELL, WAIT A MINUTE.

Oe se. 2 Pe

¢ ® "J

App. 70

CROSS-EXAMINATION

BY MR. ENRIQUEZ:

Q MS. MOTES, WOULD YOU AGREE THAT

THESE PAYMENTS THAT YOU’VE TESTIFIED ABOUT

ARE CONTRACT PAYMENTS FOR SERVICES REN-

DERED?

A YES, SIR.

Q THEY’RE NOT GRANT MONEY OR FEDERAL

ASSISTANCE OR [p. 1139] ANYTHING OF THAT

NATURE?

A NO, SIR.

MR. ENRIQUEZ: NO FURTHER QUESTIONS.

TH’, COURT: ALL RIGHT.

(WITNESS EXCUSED FROM THE (COURTROOM

MR. SUROVIC: YOUR HONOR, AT THIS

TIME, WE’LL CALL MR. MANUEL DE LEON.

(WITNESS PRESENT

THE COURT: COME ON UP HERE AND BE

SWORN IN, PLEASE?

(WITNESS COMPLYING

THE COURT: JUST STAND RIGHT THERE.

WOULD YOU RAISE YOUR RIGHT HAND?

(MANUEL DE LEON, JR., (GOVERNMENT WIT-

NESS, SWORN

App. 71

THE COURT: SIT DOWN AND BE COMFORT-

ABLE AND . . . NOW THAT YOU’RE SITTING, PULL

THAT, AS BEST YOU CAN ...

(WITNESS COMPLYING

THE COURT: THERE YOU GO, AND THEN

TALK DIRECTLY INTO THAT AND TALK TO THE

JURORS OVER THERE. OKAY?

THE WITNESS: YES, SIR.

DIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. SUROVIC:

Q WOULD YOU STATE YOUR FULL NAME,

PLEASE?

A MANUEL DE LEON, JR.

- * * —

a = a a oe _

ARMIES A, * =

*s

App. 72

APPENDIX 6

* * »

[p. 1769] FACT, THIS PATTERN GOING ON AT ALL. IF

YOU’VE ALREADY DECIDED IN COUNT ONE THAT

THERE IS NO SUCH PATTERN GOING ON, WELL,

THAT’S THE END OF COUNT ONE, AND IT’S ALSO

THE END OF COUNT TWO.

BUT IF YOU HAVE FOUND THAT THIS PATTERN

IS GOING ON, YOU WOULD’VE ALREADY GONE

THROUGH A WHOLE SERIES OF ACTS FOR MARMO-

LEJO AND YOU WOULD’VE ONLY GONE THROUGH

TWO FOR MR. SALINAS. WHAT YOURE BEING

ASKED TO DECIDE IN COUNT TWOIS.. . IF SALINAS

WAS ONLY INVOLVED IN ONE OR TWO OR EVEN

NONE, DID HE, NEVERTHELESS, KNOW ABOUT THIS

PATTERN. DID HE KNOW THAT THIS WHOLE PAT-

TERN OF ACTIVITY WAS GOING ON AND DID HE

THEN KNOWINGLY AND WILLFULLY JOIN IN AND

PARTICIPATE AND CONTRIBUTE IN SOME FASHION.

NOW, PARTICULARLY HERE, THE EVIDENCE

IS ... AND THIS IS EVIDENCE THAT YOU CAN TAKE

OR LEAVE. I'M NOT ENDORSING IT. BUT THE EVI-

DENCE IS THAT ON SOME OCCASIONS . . . THAT

WERE FRANKLY NOT SPECIFIED, AS TO WHICH

ONES. BUT ACCORDING TO THE GOVERNMENT WIT-

NESSES, THAT ON TWO OR THREE OCCASIONS,

THAT SALINAS WOULD, IN EFFECT, TAKE OVER.

THAT HE WOULD NOT RECEIVE THE MONEY, BUT

THAT HE WOULD BE SORT OF THE DEPUTY, WHICH

IS WHAT HE WAS, AND THAT THE INSTRUCTIONS

App. 73

WERE, “IF I’M NOT IN AND YOU WANT THESE SER-

VICES, CALL DEPUTY SALINAS AND HE’LL TAKE

CARE OF IT FOR YOU”. SO THE GOVERNMENT

POINTS TO THAT AS EVIDENCE THAT HE KNOW-

INGLY AND WILLFULLY PARTICIPATED IN THIS

SCHEME EVEN THOUGH HE HIMSELF WAS NOT

RECEIVING

a of ee area ‘ * ae a ee oe ie I «se Ce, SO | oe a ee

i ei

App. 74

APPENDIX 7

* * .

[p. 1590] SENSE I’M GETTING IS THAT THAT’S WHERE

THE SPLIT OF THE CIRCUITS IS. I'M JUST SAYING TO

YOU, COUNSEL, AND I'M NOT TRYING TO HURT

YOUR CLIENT, BUT IT JUST SEEMS TO ME THAT I’M

EITHER NOT GOING TO DO IT AT ALL OR... IT

EITHER DOESN’T MAKE ANY SENSE TO ME AT ALL,

HOW TO DO'IT, AS I’VE SAID, OR IF WE’RE GOING TO

DO IT AT ALL .. . SEE, IT WOULDN’T HURT MY

FEELINGS IF THE GOVERNMENT JUST SAYS, LET’S

JUST DROP COUNT TWO, BECAUSE, AS I SAY, I THINK

IT’S TOTALLY REDUNDANT AS TO MARMOLEJO,

TOTALLY REDUNDANT.

AND AS TO SALINAS, IT’S JUST REALLY KIND OF

A DIFFERENT SHOT. IT MAKES A LITTLE MORE

SENSE FOR SALINAS, BUT OTHER THAN THAT,

WHAT I’M SAYING IS . . . THE ONLY WAY I CAN

SUBMIT IT, THAT MAKES ANY SENSE, IS .. . AND I

WOULDN’T DO THIS JUST TO MAKE IT UP, EXCEPT

THAT IT DOES LOOK LIKE VIRTUALLY EVERY CIR-

CUIT, RECENTLY, THAT’S WRITTEN ON THIS SUB-

JECT, WRITES ON IT THE WAY I’M TALKING ABOUT

IT. AND THERE’S THIS PROBLEM THAT THERE’S

SOME OLD FIFTH CIRCUIT CASES THAT ARGUABLY,

MEAN SOMETHING ELSE.

NOW, THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT, SUPPOSEDLY,

HAS NOW SAID THAT THE FIFTH PROBABLY NEVER

MEANT THAT AND WOULDN’T MEAN IT TODAY.

THAT CASE YOU ALL GAVE ME A MONTH OR TWO

AGO SAYS, “WELL, WE DON’T NEED TO REACH

App. 75

THAT”, BUT I’M JUST SAYING THAT EVEN IF I GET

REVERSED ON IT, AT LEAST WE’LL GET THE LAW

CLEARED UP. BUT IT JUST DOESN’T MAKE ANY

SENSE . . . IT DOESN’T MAKE ANY SENSE TO SUBMIT

IT THE OTHER WAY, BECAUSE IT

* a *

App. 76

APPENDIX 8

+ + *

[p. 1243] I'LL PAY YOU, AND SO HE ASKED HIM TEN

TIMES TO DO IT.

MR. CANALES: IT’S A VENDOR SITUATION.

IF I HAPPEN TO HAVE FOUR PEOPLE HERE AND I

HAVE FOUR SEPARATE TRANSACTIONS, FOUR SEPA-

RATE INDIVIDUALS, SURE, IT IS, BUT WHEN I HAVE

ONE GUY COMING AND TELLING ME, LOOK, HERE’S

THE DEAL. WE’RE GOING TO PAY YOU, YOU KNOW,

TWO HUNDRED THOUSAND, BUT WE’RE GOING TO

BREAK IT UP AND -

THE COURT: BUT THAT’S NOT EXACTLY

THE DEAL. THE DEAL IS, I’D LIKE TO DO CERTAIN

THING. I WANT SOMETHING FROM YOU, AND

EVERY TIME I ASK YOU FOR THAT, ILL PAY YOU FOR

IT.

MR. CANALES: IT’S ONE AGREEMENT. IT’S

ONE AGREEMENT.

THE COURT: OH, IT MAY BE ONE AGREE-

MENT, BUT THEN -

MR. CANALES: ONE SCHEME, ONE

SCHEME. IT’S ONE SCHEME. IT’S NOT TWO

SCHEMES, BUT ONE SCHEME.

THE COURT: OKAY. BUT I DON’T KNOW

THAT . . . IF WE’RE TALKING ABOUT SCHEMES, AS

MUCH AS WE’RE TALKING ABOUT ACTS, IT’S A

WHOLE SERIES OF ACTS OF BRIBERY. I MEAN,

GRANTED, IT’S ONE ARRANGEMENT, BUT -

wie 6 ser? ee > av new ret?s en! Oe ee eS ee nee SS Ue Pee ee. SS

App. 77

THE COURT: OKAY. BUT I THINK IT’S DIF-

FERENT THAN SAYING, YOU HAVE DONE THIS

FAVOR FOR ME, ONE FAVOR. I NOW

App. 78

APPENDIX 9

[p. 1273] ONE . . . FOR EXAMPLE, TAKE SALINAS. I

MEAN, I’M COMFORTABLE THAT THERE’S EVIDENCE

THAT ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, HE WAS A STAND-

IN AND SO FORTH, BUT ARE THOSE . . . WILL THAT

KIND OF EVIDENCE DO OR \DO WE HAVE TO... DOI

HAVE TO TRY TO FIGURE OUT THAT YOU HAVE

PROVED A PRECISE DAY WHEN HE HAS STOOD IN

FOR HIM?

NOW, I KNOW YOU’VE GOT THE ALLEGATION

OF THE PICKUP TRUCK AND THE WATCHES, WHICH

ARE EASY, BUT ASIDE FROM THOSE, CAN I JUST

TELL THE JURY, DO YOU FIND .. . 1 MEAN, IT WOULD

BE ENOUGH IF YOU FOUND THAT ON TWO OR

THREE OCCASIONS, HE WAS THE SUBSTITUTE, THE

SURROGATE, FOR THE SHERIFF. IS THAT ENOUGH

OR DO THEY HAVE TO PICK OUT WHICH ONE? AND

THE SAME THING WITH MR. FLORES. I MEAN,

ADMITTEDLY, HE BROUGHT THE FELLOW DOWN A

COUPLE OF TIMES, AND I'M NOT SURE THAT’S

ENOUGH, BUT EVEN IF IT IS, DO I HAVE TO BE

SATISFIED THAT WE KNOW WHICH EXACT TIME HE

DID THAT? TO TIE IT IN TO A PARTICULAR ACT, OR

WHAT?

MR. SUROVIC: YOUR HONOR, MY UNDER-

STANDING OF THE RACKETEERING CONSPIRACY

CASE LAW IS THAT CASES HAVE BEEN OVERTURNED

WHEN IT WAS UNCLEAR FROM THE RECORD

WHICH PARTICULAR RACKETEERING ACTS, ESPE-

CIALLY IF THEY WERE LESS THAN .. . YOU KNOW,

App. 79

LESS THAN TWO RACKETEERING ACTS, WERE IDEN-

TIFIED WITH EACH INDIVIDUAL. EACH INDIVIDUAL

HAS TO BE IDENTIFIED WITH AT LEAST TWO SPECI-

FIC RACKETEERING ACTS.

THE COURT: SO WHAT DO WE DO WITH

THAT THEN? I

App. 80

APPENDIX 10

United States District Court

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

In the Matter of the Search of

THE RESIDENCE OF MARIO

SALINAS LOCATED AT #74

SANTA FE, EDINBURG,

HIDALGO COUNTY, TEXAS

BEING DESCRIBED AS A ONE-

STORY BROWN BRICK

RESIDENCE. (SEE

ATTACHMENT “A”)

TO: $/A John Trevino and any Authorized Officer of the

United States.

Affidavit(s) having been made before me by

S/A John Trevino who has reason to believe

Affiant

that on the person of or X on the premises known as

(name, description and/or location)

(SAME AS ABOVE)

in the SOUTHERN District of TEXAS there is now con-

cealed a certain person or property, namely (describe the

person or property)

(SEE ATTACHMENT “B”)

1 am satisfied that the affidavit(s) and any recorded testi-

mony establish probable cause to believe that the person

¢ H

Pe

taken, and prepare a written inventory of the

person or

property seized and promptly return this warrant to

Peter E. Ormsby as required by law.

U.S. Judge or Magistrate

8/17/93 __6:07 PM at cee

te fie Ci et oo

Peter E. Ormsby, /s/ Peter E. Ormsby

: te I Signature of Judicial

Judicial Officer

08/17/93 08/18/93 @9:35am Mario Salinas

INVENTORY MADE IN THE PRESENCE OF

Mario Salinas and S/A Bob Guerra

a ee eee ee ae ee

=" se i ate

lll ae ss ee ._ —

a" —s° a. iQ» wa... -_ = =. — ~~.

le ei

App. 82

- ONE BLUE BOX CONTAINING MISC. INCOME TAX

INFO. INCLUDING THE YRS. 1984, 1986, 1987, 1988,

1989, 1990, 1991, AND 1992

- ONE GOLD NECKLACE W/DIAMONDS AND A

RUBY

- ONE PERSONALIZED ANALYSIS FROM MASSA-

CHUSETTS LIFE

- TWO RADO WATCHES

- $500.00 (U.S. CURRENCY) FROM A BLACK BAG

FOUND IN THE LINCOLN

- $426.00 (U.S. CURRENCY) FROM A BLUE SHIRT IN

THE M.B. CLOSET

- MISC. BILLS, TELEPHONE RECORDS, RECEIPTS

AND PAPERWORK SEIZED THROUGHOUT THE

RESIDENCE

- ONE ROLEX (SILVER/GOLD) WATCH SEIZED FROM

THE MASTER BEDROOM

CERTIFICATION

I swear that this inventory is a true and detailed

account of the person or property taken by me on the

warrant.

/s/ illegible

Subscribed, sworn to, and returned before me this

date.

/s/ Peter E. Ormsby 8/20/93

US. Judge or Magistrate Date

[Receipt For Cash Or Other Items Omitted In Printing]

Ap; . 83

United Staves District Court

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

In the Matter of the Search of

(Name, address or brief

description of person, property

or premises to be searched) “PPLICATION AND

AFFIDAVIT FOR

THE RESIDENCE OF MARIO SEARCH WARRANT

SALINAS LOCATED AT #74 CASE NUMBER:

M-93-998-MO-D

1 S/A John Trevino being duly sworn depose and say

I am a(n) , t of the Internal Revenue Ser-

vice — CID and have reason to‘believe that on the

person of or X on the property or premises known as

(name, description and/or location)

(SAME AS ABOVE)

in the Southern District of Texas

there is now concealed a certain person or property,

namely (describe the person or property to be seized)

(SEE ATTACHMENT “B”)

which is (state one or more bases for search and seizure

set forth under Rule 41(b) of the Federal Criminal Pro-

cedure)

Subject to seizure as evidence of the commission of a

criminal violation concerning a violation of Title 18

peas ter 5. 4

“SER PEE ROTAGAE «Pe

- , =a -

pa Pe eee en Se Se eee Se

a ;

App. 84

United States Code, Section(s) -666,1956,1957,1962, AND

1963 The facts to support a finding of Probable Cause are

as follows:

(SEE ATTACHED AFFIDAVIT BY S/A JOHN TREVINO)

Continued on the attached sheet and made a part thereof:

X Yes No

S/A John Trevino illegible

Signature of Affiant

Sworn to before me, and subscribed in my presence,

8/17/93 at McAllen, Texas

Date City and State

Peter E. Ormsby, /s/ Peter E. Ormsby

U.S. Magistrate Signature of

Name and Title of Judicial Officer

Judicial Officer

[Attachment A - Map Omitted In Printing]

App. 85

ATTACHMENT “ B”

- All documents reflecting receipts/disbursement of

money from or on behalf of Raul V

to Mario SALINAS. ee oe.

ny 296 ap corse to the acquisition and transfer

sainian evrolet Pick-up Truck by Mario

His and hers Black and gold “RADO” wa

tch

Bie py Homero BELTRAN to Mario SALINAS a

Personal address / teiephone books, rolodexes or

Papers which reflect names, addresses and/or tele-

Proceeds and articles of personal property obtained

frem assisting in the laundering of illegal dru pro-

App. 86

records of safety deposit boxes, loan documents, real

estate documents and storage lockers.

AFFIDAVIT

I, John A. Trevino, Special Agent of the Internal Revenue

Service, Criminal Investigation Division, being duly

sworn, deposes and says:

That I am a Special Agent of the Internal Revenue Ser-

vice, Criminal Investigation Division, and have been a

Special Agent for the past six years. In my c»pacity as a

Special Agent, I Investigate criminal and civil violations

of the Internal Revenue Code. I have received specialized

training in the enforcement of laws concerning financial

crimes as found in Title 18 and 26, United States Code.

During these six years your affiant has been involved in

numerous investigations of individuals who derive sub-

stantial income from unlawful activities, including the

importation, manufacturing, cultivation, distribution and

sale of illegal controlled substances. In addition, your

affiant has extensive experience in the execution of finan-

cial search warrants, narcotic search warrants, debriefing

of defendants, participant witnesses, informants, and

other persons who have personal knowledge of the

amassing, spending, converting, transporting, distribut-

ing, laundering, and concealing of unlawful activities.

Based on information I have received, I believe that there

is probable cause to believe that within the premises of

the personal residence of Mario SALINAS being

described as a one story brown brick residence,

located at #74 Sante Fe, Edinburg, Hidalgo

County Texas. For photograph of location and

driving instructions see Attachment of

those items described in Attachment “B” are concealed.

Listed in the Application and Affidavit for Search War-

rant are those items which are set forth in Attachment

“B”, attached, which constitute evidence of violations of

Title 18, United States Code, Sections 666, 1956, 1957

1962, 1963. The source of your Affiant’s information aad

the grounds for his belief are as follows:

Based on my training, experience, and participation in

financial investigations (including this investigation)

involving trafficking of large amounts of marijuana,

cocaine and heroin, and tracing the proceeds gained by

marijuana, cocaine, and heroin traffickers, and money

Pertaining to these crimes are found in drug traffickers

and money launders vehicles, houses, offices, and in

other property owned or controlled by them. JT

law enforcement officers;

b. that even though these assets are in other person’s

names, the drug traffickers actually own and continue to

— these assets and exercise dominion and control over

em,

c. that large-scale drug traffickers maintain on hand

large amounts of U.S. Currency in order to .aaintain and

finance their on-going drug business;

App. 88

d. that drug traffickers maintain books, records,

receipts, notes, ledgers, airline tickets, money orders and

other papers relating to the importation, transportation,

ordering, sale, purchase and distribution of controlled

substances; that the aforementioned books, records,

receipts, notes, ledgers, etc., are maintained where the

drug traffickers have ready access to them such as in

residence and places of business;

e. that it is common for large scale drug traffickers to

secret contraband, proceeds of drug sales, to include jew-

elry and records of drug transactions in secure locations

for ready access and concealment from law enforcement

authorities;

f. that persons involved in drug trafficking conceal in

their residents and other secure locations, with ease of

assess, caches of drugs, large amounts of currency, finan-

cial instruments, precious metals, jewelry, and other

items of value and/or proceeds of drug transactions; and

evidence of financial transactions relating to obtaining,

transferring, secreting, or spending of large sums of

money from engaging in drug trafficking activities;

g. that when drug traffickers amass large proceeds from

the sale of drugs, they then attempt to legitimize these

profits. That to accomplish these goals, drug traffickers

utilize, including but not limited to, foreign and domestic

banks and their attendant services, securities, cashier’s

checks, money drafts, letters of credit, shell corporations,

business fronts and attorneys’ services to acquire and

conceal expensive assets purchased with proceeds from

narcotics trafficking;

‘App. 89

The following paragraphs are furnished to establish prob-

able cause in support of a document search warrant.

I have personally participated in the investigation of

HOMERO BELTRAN and BRIGIDO MARMOLBEJO JR.,

the Sheriff for the County of Hidalgo, Texas, with other

law enforcement officers and the investigation is being

coordinated with investigations being conducted by var-

ious law enforcement agencies in Texas and in other

states. Based on these investigations, my Own experience

in the investigation, investigative reports, seizures,

debriefings and observations made by other participating

agents and law enforcement officers, and from interviews

with Confidential Sources (CS-1 & CS-2) conducted on

July 7 & 8, 1993, I know that several employees of the

Hidalgo County Jail, including the Sheriff, BRIGIDO

MARMOLEJO JR., accepted bribes in exchange for special

favors and privileges received by HOMERO BELTRAN, a

former inmate at the jail. I also know from interviews

with CS-3 that Bridigo MARMOLEJO JR. assisted Homero

BELTRAN in the proposed sale of a property that Homero

BELTRAN had hidden in a nominee name. CS-1 was a

large scale drug trafficker who has been caught, pled

guilty, admitted his guilt and is providing information to

law enforcement. CS-2 has intimate knowledge of the

facts surrounding the relationship between BELTRAN

and MARMOLEJO.

Based on your affiant’s knowledge of the investigation

and years of experience, your affiant believes CS-1, CS-2

and CS-3 are both credible and reliable for the following

reasons:

- - ee ~~ - fs ae a I .

ai EN

App. 90

CS-1 has provided information of drug traffickers operat-

ing in the South Texas area to law enforcement agents

and to your affiant for the past two years which has been

verified by independent investigation. CS-1 has also pro-

vided information about Homero BELTRAN receiving

special privileges and visits at the Hidalgo County Jail, as

corroborated by CS-2, CS-3 and by testimony of a witness

before the Federal Grand Jury in McAllen, Texas. CS-1

has also provided information that Homero BELTRAN

gave a 1989 Pontiac Trans-Am to Brigido MARMOLEJO

JR., which has been independently corroborated by a

record check with the Texas Department of Motor Vehi-

cles and by statements made to law enforcement officers

participating in this investigation by the current owner of

the vehicle that Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. was the former

owner of the vehicle. CS-1 provided information as to the

ownership of real estate by a convicted drug trafficker,

Homero BELTRAN, and that Brigido MARMOLEJO JR.

was involved in the proposed sale of that property, which

has been corroborated by CS-3.

CS-2 has provided information about Homero BELTRAN

receiving special privileges and visits at the Hidalgo

County Jail as corroborated by CS-1, CS-3 and a testi-

mony of a witness before the Federal Grand Jury in

McAllen, Texas. CS-2 has also provided information that

Homero BELTRAN gave Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. a 1989

Pontiac Trans-Am which was independently corroborated

by a record check with the Texas Department of Motor

Vehicles and by statements made to law enforcement

officers participating in this investigation by the current

owner of the vehicle that Brigido MARMOLEJC JR. was

the former owner of the vehicle. CS-2 has also provided

App. 91

information as to the ownership of real estate by a con-

victed. drug trafficker, Homero BELTRAN, and that Bet

gido MARMOLEJO JR. was involved in the proposed sale

of the property, which has been corroborated by CS-3.

CS-2 has also provided information about drug traffickers

operating in the South Texas area, specifically Michael

HAMAKER, who was a fugitive in a Federal indictment

originating from Houston, Texas, and who has recently

been captured. CS-2’s information has proven to be valu-

able in the identification of the Mexican source of supply

of marijuana and other members of that organization.

CS-3 has provided information to your affiant and other

law enforcement officers for the past three months as to

the ownership of real estate by a convicted drug traf-

ficker, Homero BELTRAN, and that Brigido MARMO-

LEJO JR. was involved in the proposed sale of the

property, which has been corroborated by CS-1, CS-2 and

independent investigation by your affiant and special

agents assigned to the DEA OCDETF group in McAllen,

Texas. CS-3 has also provided information about Homero

BELTRAN receiving special privileges and visits at the

Hidalgo County Jail, as corroborated by CS-1, CS-2 and

by testimony of a witness before the Federal Grand Jury

in McAllen, Texas.

BELTRAN is a convicted marijuana trafficker whose orga-

nization imported thousands of pounds of marijuana into

the United States from 1984 through 1991 from Mexico. |

desire to keep said confidential sources anonymous

because the confidential sources have requested me to do

so, because it is my experience that informants suffer

physical, social and emotional retribution when their

identities are revealed, because it is my experience that to

el Me a el ee, ee ee dk a i

EEE EE a

App. 92

reveal the identity of such sources seriously impairs their

utility to law enforcement, and because it is my experi-

ence that revealing such informants identities prevents

other citizens from disclosing confidential information

about criminal activ‘tes to law officers. The following

paragraphs will chruni: ie the events pertaining to infor-

mation gained by CS-1, CS-2, and CS-3 concerning BRI-

GIDO MARMOLEJO JR., specifically with his relationship

with HOMERO BELTRAN.

After Homero BELTRAN’s arrest in April 1991, Homero

BELTRAN was moved in June 1991 from San Diego,

California to the Hidalgo County Jail in Edinburg, Texas.

CS-1 related that by September 1991, Homero BELTRAN

had been receiving special privileges inside the jail afte-

he had established an agreement with an employee at the

jail named “ ZAVALA”. ZAVALA allowed Homero

BELTRAN to receive contact visits with his wife and

family in exchange for money and dried meats.

Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. arranged to meet Homero

BELTRAN and reached an agreement to increase the fre-

quency and duration of the visits with Homero

BELTRAN’s family. Homero BELTRAN was to initially

pay Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. $5,000 per month for hav-

ing 1'/2 hour visit with his wife and '/2 hour visits with

his children. The visits at first were in the jail infirmary.

Homero BELTRAN would get at least one visit per week,

upon the approval of Brigido MARMOLEJO JR..

CS-1 was aware Homero BELTRAN didn’t like the

arrangement with Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. once it got

going. Homero BELTRAN felt he was being shorted and

not getting much for his money. Homero BELTRAN

for the visits and payments to Brigido MARMOLEJO JR.

were usually taken care of by Juan Antonio GUARDADO.

Juan Antonio GUARDADO usually paid Brigido MAR-

MOLEJO JR. prior to the visits by Homero BELTRAN’s

family.

The jail guards started bringing Homero BELTRAN to the

jail library for the visits, where Homero BELTRAN would

meet with his family. Brigido MARMOLEJO JR.’s per-

sonal office was later used, with Brigido MARMOLEJO

would guard the door, if Brigido MARMOLEJO JR.

couldn’t guard it. Homero BELTRAN was not hand-

cuffed during these visits. CS-2 recalled that the last

name, of one of the jailers who brought Homero

BELTRAN to Brigido MARMOLEJO JR.’s office was

“ FLORES *. CS-1 and CS-2 recall FLORES had a speech

problem and studdered. On several occasions no jail per-

sonnel guarded the door to the office while Homero

BELTRAN had his conjugal visit. CS-1 and CS-2 observed

on several occasions Mario Salinas guarding the door to

Brigido Marmolejo’s office. JT

App. 94

CS-1 related Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. also allowed

Homero BELTRAN to bring in his girl-friend for contact

visits. Homero BELTRAN’s girl-friend got pregnant by

him during this time, but miscarried the baby. These

conjugal visits were also made in Brigido MARMOLEJO

JR.'s office.

The family and contact visits continued until Homero

BELTRAN was moved to Memphis Federal Prison on

about March 1992. The bribe payments to Brigido MAR-

MOLEJO JR. are estimated by CS-1 and CS-2 for this time-

frame to be in excess of $100,000.

According to CS-2, Homero BELTRAN was brought back

to the Hidalgo County Jail sometime in the latter part of

1992. The same arrangement was made with Brigido

MARMOLEJO JR. prior to Homero BELTRAN arriving at

the jail for continued special treatment.

CS-1 is aware of several other inmates at the Hidalgo

County Jail who were also receiving special privileges.

Eleazar MORIN and Raul VALLADARES were receiving

special favors there at the jail, which included conjugal

visits. According to CS-1 VALLADARES was seen fre-

quently leaving his jail cell for extended periods of time

during non-visitation hours.

Additionally CS-2 advised in approximately January

1992, Homero BELTRAN had his brother in law, Juan

Antonio GUARDADO, purchase a 1989 Pontiac Trans-

Am. Homero BELTRAN, no longer wanting the vehicle,

asked Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. if he wanted it in lieu of

the $5,000 monthly payment. Brigido MARMOLEJO JR.

accepted the vehicle and gave the vehicle to his daughter

who recently married. The vehicle was previously titled

According to CS-2, in December 1991, Juan Antonio

GUARDADO gave a 1984 Chevrolet pick-up truck to

Mario SALINAS. The truck was red in color and had been

registered to German Guzman GONZALEZ.

CS-2 knows Homero BELTRAN, as of special

privileges, was able to have a party injail with his tentty

on October 29, 1992. There was a lot of food that had been

brought in by Homero BELTRAN’s family and some of

jailers got some of the food.

a > a ep on

St ee S eww EE Se oo

App. 96

In the beginning of 1993, Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. was

building a pavilion at his ranch located north of Edin-

burg, Texas. Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. wanted the pavil-

ion completed in time to have a wedding reception for his

daughter in it. According to CS-1 and CS-2, Brigido MAR-

MOLEJO JR. was short on money to complete the pavil-

ion. Homero BELTRAN helped Brigido MARMOLEJO JR.

out and gave him $11,000 towards the completion of the

pavilion. The money was given to Brigido MARMOLEJO

JR. in several installments. A portion of the payment to

Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. was currency that was due to

Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. for his monthly $5,000 bribe

from Homero BELTRAN.

CS-2 was present when Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. had

taken Mario SALINAS to his ranch and showed him the

pavilion. Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. stated that “if it was

not for Homero BELTRAN, I wouldn’t have the pavilion”.

In January or February 1993, CS-2 related that Brigido

MARMOLEJO JR. was worried that DEA was watching

the jail. Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. suspended visits for

Homero BELTRAN for a week.

CS-1 advised that Homero BELTRAN in 1987 and 1988

had loaned Baudelio TREVINO approximately $400,000

to get his produce business going known as “VALLEY

BANANA KING”. VALLEY BANANA KING then started

its operation in Hidalgo County. TREVINO used some of

that money to buy property where a produce shed is

located. TREVINO was to pay Homero BELTRAN 1'/2%

interest for the borrowed funds. The funds loaned to

Baudelio TREVINO were from illegal drug proceeds

Homero BELTRAN had earned from drug trafficking. The

first told Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. bout wanting to sell

the property, Homero BELTRAN *° | Brigido MARMO-

LEJO JR. that he would help hin af Brigido MARMO-

LEJO JR. helped him.

Sometime in March 1993, according to CS-3, who has

personal knowledge of the events surrounding the sale of

the produce shed and has proven to be credible, Brigido

MARMOLEJO JR. took Juan Antonio GUARDADO to the

produce shed and talked to the person who was leasing

and asked GARCIA if he was

interested in buying it. GARCIA told Brigido MARMO-

LEJO JR. he wanted to buy the property.

As related by CS-1, Homero BELTRAN was informed that

GARCIA was interested in buying the property by Brig-

ido MARMOLEJO JR. Sometime in March or April 1993,

Homero BELTRAN that a value was needed in order for

an agreement to be reached. Brigido MARMOLEJO JR.

App. 98

told them he would arrange to get an appraisal for the

property. Homero BELTRAN offered Brigido MARMO-

LEJO JR. $20,000 for helping him in selling the property

and Brigido MARMOLEJO JR. agreed on the amount of

the commission.

According

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.