Amicus Curiae Brief — Reno v. American Civil Liberties Union

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

MOTION FILED

FEB 20 1997 No. 96-511

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1996

JANET RENO, Attorney General

of the United States, et al., Appellants

v.

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION, et al., Appellees

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE AN OUT OF TIME

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF UNDER RULE 37(3\b)

WITH ATTACHED

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF JAMES J. CLANCY

(MEMBER OF THE SUPREME COURT BAR)

SUGGESTING REVERSAL OF THE JUDGMENT FOR

A.C.L.U, ET AL., APPELLEES UPON THE AUTHORITY

OF RALPH GINZBURG v. U.S., 383 U.S. 463 (1966) AND

JUDGE LEARNED HAND’S “VARIABLE OBSCENITY”

PRINCIPLES

JAMES J. CLANCY*

CAROL A. CLANCY

9055 La Tuna Canyon Road

La Tuna Canyon, California 91352

(818) 352-2069

FAX: (818) 352-6549

February 17, 1997 *Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY

AT THE TIME OF FILMING. = If AND WHEN A

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED.

o Be

No. 96-511

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1996

JANET RENO, Attorney General

of the United States, et al., Appellants

v.

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION, et al., Appellees

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE AN OUT OF TIME AMICUS

CURIAE BRIEF UNDER RULE 37(3b) SUGGESTING

REVERSAL OF THE JUDGMENT FOR A.C.L.U, ET

AL., APPELLEES, UPON THE AUTHORITY OF

RALPH GINZBURG y, U.S, 383 U.S. 463 (1966) AND

JUDGE LEARNED 4HAND’S' “VARIABLE

OBSCENITY” PRINCIPLES.

Now comes James J. Clancy, attorney at law and a

member of the Supreme Court Bar, to move this Court for

leave to file an out of time Brief Amicus Curiae, suggesting

a reversal of the judgment for Plaintiff A-C.L.U., et al.

below, upon the authority of Ralph Ginzburg, ef al. v.

U.S, 383 U.S. 463, 16 L.Ed.2d 31, 86 S.Ct. 942; rehearing

denied, 384 U.S. 934, 16 L.Ed.2d 536, 86 S.Ct. 1440

(March 21,1966) and Judge Learned Hand’s “variable

obscenity” principles. This motion is made necessary for

the purpose of bringing to the attention of the Court

relevant matter not already brought to its attention by the

sM@e

parties, and is necessary because neither the Solicitor

General’s Brief, nor the Brief of Amici Curiae have

discussed Ginzburg y. U.S., supra, which in moving

party’s judgment, should control the disposition of this

appeal.

My filing of a timely Amicus Curiae Brief was

virtually impossible under Rule 37, in that the carliest

“date certain” that such deficiency could be discovered

was the date such bricfs were “published” (filed) and

thereafter “examined” for content. Under these

circumstances, any brief explaining the defect would be

tardy.

The background facts in support of this motion are

set forth hereinafter:

On or about February 3, 1997, I received a

complementary copy of the Brief Amici Curiae filed on or

about January 20, 1997 for certain Members of Congress

in Reno, Attorney General of the United States, et al. v.

ACLU., ef al., No. 96-511, in Support of Appellants. In

my judgment, this brief was uniformly outstanding, except

that it did not discuss the impact of Ginzburg. ef al vy.

U.S., supra, and the federal “pandering” obscenity crime

(which this Court upheld in the Ginzburg decision and, by

its very nature, requires a reversal of the judgment below

which upheld the facial attack).

Thereafter, I took steps to obtain a copy of the

Solicitor General’s Brief for Appellants and undertook a

study of both briefs. My examination disclosed that neither

brief had analyzed or considered the impact of this Court’s

opinion in Ralph Ginzburg, ef al. v. U.S, 383 U.S. 463, 16

L.Ed.2d 31, 86 S.Ct. 942; rehearing denied, 384 U.S. 934,

16 L.Ed.2d 536, 86 S.Ct. 1440 (March 21, 1966)

(interpreting 18 U.S.C. §1461).

Ginzburg 4 al v. U.S., supra, materially changed

the law of obscenity, by confirming the existence of two

=P

types of federal obscenity crimes: ome that regulated

“obscenity in the abstract” (obscenity vel non) and did not

require a “scienter” mens rea, other than “knowledge of

the contents”, Rosen v. U_S., 161 U.S. 606 (1896), and the

other, described as “variable obscenity” and“pandering”

obscenity which focused on the “scienter” mens rea aspect,

and did not require proof that the subject matter was

“obscenity in the abstract” (obscenity vel non). An

explanation of this latter development, in relation to the

appeal of Ralph Ginzburg, is discussed hereinafter in the

attached Brief Amicus Curiae under the topic “Interest of

Amicus Curiac, James J. Clancy”.

In recent years, legal scholars have inordinately

focused upon the federal crime of “obscenity in the

abstract” (to the exclusion of the “pandering” obscenity

crime), and today urge this Court to solve the problem by

enunciating a new “hard-core pornography” standard (see

Brief Amici Curiae for Member of Congress at page 13,

footnotes 15 and 16).

This habitual focus of the federal judiciary and

federal bar on the federal obscenity crime as a crime

involving “obscenity vel non” has resulted in a neglect and

failure to consider and analyze the impact of the Ginzburg

“variable pandering” obscenity crime on the pleading

requirements of the Communications Decency Act of

1996.

Because of my personal involvement in Ginzburg’s

appeal (see “Interest of Amicus Curiac, James J. Clancy”

at page 2-5) and my knowledge of its constitutional import

and potential contemporary impact, I considered it to be my

duty as a member of this Court's Bar to move the Court for

leave to file this “out of time” amicus curiae brief in

support of a reversal of the judgment for Appellants

AC.L.U., et al., upon the authority of Justice Brennan's

majority decision in Ginzburg, ef al. v. U.S., supra, and

-4-

Judge Learned Hand's “variable obscenity” principles

which are still the law today.

Rule 37(3)(a) requires that an Amicus Curiac Brief

in Support of Neither Party should be filed with the Brief

for the Appellants. One would reasonably expect that the

“pandering” crime impact of Ginzburg, ef aly, U_S..

supra, would be treated by cither the Solicitor General or

one of the supporting amicus curiae briefs. A defect of this

nature will not be ascertainable until a “date certain” (as in

this case) after the Brief for Appellants has been filed and

Ber the j , —e had ,

examine the same, which “date certain” upon

ascertainment is then, by its very nature, “tardy” under

Rule 37(3\Xa). This rule, as applied to these facts, is

unreasonable and should not defeat this Motion.

In the past, this Court has allowed an out of time

brief to be filed under similar circumstances. See Motion

of James J. Clancy for Leave to File a Brief Amicus Curiac

Out of Time in Barnes v. Glen Theatre, ef al, in the

Supreme Court of the United States, October Term, 1990,

No. 90-26. On January 7, 1991, this Court entered an

order in Barnes v. Glen Theatre, @f al., at 498 U.S. 1021,

reading, “The motion of James J. Clancy for leave to file a

brief (our of time) as Amicus Curiae is Granted.” A copy

of that Amicus Curiae Brief is being lodged with the Clerk

of this Court.

A copy of Moving Party's four page letter of request

for consent with 8 pages of attachments, pursuant to Rule

37(3) was faxed to the Appellees on Wednesday, February

12, 1997 (see copy of letter at Appendix 1 herein). The

last paragraph on page 4 reads:

= A motion to file an out of time brief amicus

curiae under U.S. Supreme Court Rule 37(3\Xc)

with brief attached and the reasons for granting the

same will be filed some time during the week of

ee ee

oe

February 9-13, approximately a week in advance of

the date upon which Appellee A.C.L.U.’s reply

brief will be due (February 20, 1997). The amicus

ine baie G € ncitl will |

limited to the above argument, which is framed in

this letter, i.c., the suggestion that the judgment

below should be reversed upon the principle of law

(‘variable obscenity” standard) applied in Ginzburg

vy. U.S., supra, which is not discussed in the Brief

for the Appellants or the Amicus Curiae Brief of the

National Law Center for Children and Families

(which were due on or about January 20, 1997.

(My emphasis. )”

On the following day, Thursday, February 13, 1997,

both Appellees responded with a fax letter refusing to grant

their consent, which refusal was 8 days before their Reply

Brief was duc (a copy of Appelices’ refusal to consent

appears herein at Appendix 2 and the originals are being

filed with the Clerk of this Court. ).

A substantive Rule of Law of the magnitude of

Judge Learned Hand’s (father of the federal obscenity law)

“variable obscenity” principles should not be so casily

avoided by a mere procedural rule of the nature of Rule

37(3\(a). For all the above reasons, Moving Party's

motion for leave to file a Brief Amicus Curiae out of time

should be granted.

Dated: February 17, 1997

No. 96-511

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1996

JANET RENO, Attorney General

of the United States, et al., Appellants

v.

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION, et al., Appellees

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF JAMES J. CLANCY

(MEMBER OF THE SUPREME COURT BAR)

SUGGESTING REVERSAL OF THE JUDGMENT FOR

A.C.L.U, ET AL., APPELLEES UPON THE AUTHORITY

OF RALPH GINZBURG y, U.S., 383 U.S. 463 (1966) AND

JUDGE LEARNED HAND’S “VARIABLE OBSCENITY”

PRINCIPLES

ee ee

JAMES J] CLANCY*

CAROL A CLANCY

9055 La Tuna Canyon Road

La Tuna Canyon, California 91352

(818) 382-2069

FAX. (818) 352-6549

February 17, 1997 *Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae

oh

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

I. BACKGROUND TO THIS COURT’S

DECISION IN RALPH GINZBURG y.

U.S.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX 1: (COPY OF ATTORNEY JAMES

J. CLANCY'S 4 PAGE LETTER OF REQUEST FOR

CONSENT TO FILE AN AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF,

WITH 8 PAGES OF ATTACHMENTS IN RENO ¥.

U.S. SUPREME COURT NO. 96-

$11, FAXED TO APPELLANTS ON FEBRUARY

12, 1997,]

APPENDIX 2: [COPY OF APPELLEE AC.L.U.

AND APPELLEE A.L.A. FAX LETTERS, DATED

FEBRUARY 13, 1997 IN WHICH APPELLEES

AC.L.U. AND A.L.A. REFUSE TO GRANT THEIR

CONSENT TO THE FILING OF A BRIEF AMICUS

CURIAE BY JAMES J. CLANCY (MEMBER OF

THE SUPREME COURT BAR) IN RENO V. ACLU.

ELIAL, US. SUPREME COURT NO. 96-511] 2-1 TO 2-2

APPENDIX 3: (COPY OF LIST OF 56 CASES IN

WHICH AMICUS CURIAE JAMES CLANCY HAS

FILED AMICUS CURIAE AND APPELLATE

BRIEFS IN THIS COURT IN OBSCENITY

LITIGATION DURING 1963-1990.]

“ie

TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPENDIX 4: [COPY OF BRIEF AMICUS

CURIAE OF CITIZENS FOR DECENT

LITERATURE, INC., IN RALPH GINZBURG,

ETAL V. U.S., FILED IN SUPPORT OF

RESPONDENT UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA, U.S. SUPREME COURT,

OCTOBER TERM, 1965, NO. 42.] 1 TO 77 AND 1 TO 24

APPENDIX 5: [COPY OF REPLY BRIEF

OF AMICUS CURIAE CITIZENS FOR

DECENT LITERATURE, INC., IN RALPH

GINZBURG, ET AL, V. U.S, FILED IN

SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT, UNITED

STATES OF AMERICA, U.S. SUPREME

COURT, OCTOBER TERM, 1965, NO. 42.] 1TO7

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

178 F-24665 (* Ci, 1989

380 US. 4791968), 6.15

rye 1-11, 20-25

Mill Paliforn:

413 U.S. 15 (1973) 24

Rosen v. U,S.,

161 U.S. 606 (1896) 3, 7, 24, 25

CASES (cont.)

PAGE

Roth v, U.S.,

354 U.S. 476 (1957) 7, 15, 22, 23

Shea v. Reno,

930 F.Supp. 916 (U.S.D.C., S.D.N.Y., 1996) 21

~ US. v, Levine,

83 F.2d 156 (2™ Cir., 1936) 1, 3, 6, 22, 23

U.S. v. One Book Entitled Ulysses,

73 F.2d 105 vo Cir., 1934) 2

U.S. v. Rebhuhn,

109 F.2d 512 (2™ Cir., 1946) 1, 3-6, 11-19, 22

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United § Constitution:

First Amendment 6

Tenth Amendment 25

Eleventh Amendment 25

FEDERAL RULES

United States Supreme Court Rules:

Rule 37(3 Xa) 4

-iV-

FEDERAL STATUTES

PAGES

The Communications Decency

Act of 1996 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 19, 22

18 U.S.C., Section 1461 6, 8

TEXTS

Schwartz, “Morals Offenses and the Model

Penal Code,” 63 Col.L.Rev. 669 (1963) 15, 22

Proposed Official Draft of the A.L.L.

Model Penal Code 10, 11, 15, 22

U.S. News and World Report,

February 10, 1997 26

Se

No. 96-511

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1996

= _ _ _ —[— —s$é—$é_—<—$逗€<—<—<$KFCL€""°€<€—L—_—EFEC=CC@E“Ha=a=a=an]™=a]™{="EHH=aaaannnS=S=—=—=

JANET RENO, Attorney General

of the United States, et al., Appellants

Vv.

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION, et al., Appellees

On Appeal from the United States Distnct Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF JAMES J. CLANCY (MEMBER

OF THE SUPREME COURT BAR) SUGGESTING

REVERSAL OF THE JUDGMENT FOR A-C.L.U, ET

AL., APPELLEES UPON THE AUTHORITY OF

RALPH GINZBURG v. U.S, 383 U.S. 463 (1966) AND

JUDGE LEARNED HAND’S “VARIABLE

OBSCENITY” PRINCIPLES.

This Amicus Curiae Brief in Support of neither

Appellants nor Appellees is being filed pursuant to Rule

37(3\(b), and suggests a reversal of the judgment for

Appellees, A.C.L.U., et al., upon the authority of Ralph

Ginzburg. ef al. v. U.S., 383 U.S. 463, 16 L.Ed.2d 536, 86

S.Ct. 942; rehearing denied, 384 U.S. 934, 16 L.Ed.2d

536, 86 S.Ct. 1440 (March 21, 1966) and the “variable

obscenity” principles established by Judge Learned Hand

in U.S. v, Levine, 83 F.2d 156 (2™ Cir., 1936) and U.S, v.

Rebhuhn, 109 F.2d 512, 514 (2 Cir., 1946), certiorari

=F

denied in 310 U.S. 629, 84 L.Ed. 1899, 60 S.Ct. 971.

Written consent of the parties was requested by fax on

February 12, 1997, see Appendix 1. On February 13,

1997, both Appellee A.C.L.U. and Appellee A.L.A. refused

consent by fax letter. See copy of letters at Appendix 2,

herein.

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Amicus Curiae James J. Clancy is a Los Angeles

Attorney admitted to practice in this Court in 1962. Since

that time, Attorney Clancy has filed a number of Amicus

Curiae and appellate briefs in this Court in obscenity

litigation. A list of 56 of these cases filed during the 27

year period from 1963-1990 is set forth at Appendix 3

herein. One of these cases was the landmark case of Ralph

Ginzburg, et al. v. U.S., 383 U.S. 463 (1966).

L BACKGROUND TO THIS COURT’S

DECISION IN RALPH GINZBURG y. U.S.

In his 1936 decision in U.S v. Levine, 83 F.2d 156

(2° Cir., 1936), Judge Learned Hand introduced the

concept of “variable obscenity” which, in conjunction with

his 1934 decision in U.S. v. One Book Entitled Ulysses, 73

F.2d 105 (2™ Cir., 1934), had the effect of changing the

federal law on obscenity. In U.S. v. Levine, supra, Judge

Learned Hand (often regarded as the “father” of the

modern obscenity statutes) explained the legal theory of

“variable obscenity” as follows:

the verdict of the jury is not the conclusion of a

syllogism of which they are to find only the minor

premise, but really a small bit of legislation ad hoc,

Be

like the standard of care. . .”

“* The standard must be the likelihood that the

work will so much arouse the salacity of the reader

to whom it is sent as to outweigh any literary,

scientific or other merits it may have in that

reader’s hands; of this the jury is the arbiter.” (Our

emphasis).

Both the 1934 civil decision (injunction) in Ulysses, supra,

and the obscenity crime (see Rosen v, U.S., 161 U.S. 29

[1896] which required only a subjective “knowledge of the

contents”) involved “obscenity in the abstract” (obscenity

vel non).

During the period 1936-1966, the “practice” in the

lower federal courts began to develop a new obscenity

crime— the so called “pandering” obscenity crime which

did not require proof of obscenity in the abstract (obscenity

vel non) and, instead, required a mens rea (scienter)

requirement which became known as “pandering”

obscenity. See U.S v. Levine, 83 F.2d 156 (2™ Cir.,

1936), Burstein v. U.S., 178 F.2d 665 (% Cir., 1949), US.

vy. Rebhuhn, 109 F.2d 512, 514 (2™ Cir., 1940), certiorari

denied 310 U.S. 629, 84 L.Ed. 1899, 60 S.Ct. 971.

In the Ralph Ginzburg y, U.S., supra, litigation, the

U.S. Attorney in the trial court had tried his case upon the

“pandering” concept and the record on appeal reflected

that fact.

In his Brief for the Respondent on appeal, the

Solicitor General did not argue the “variable” obscenity

“pandering” concept, and instead, focused upon the

“obscenity in the abstract” (obscene vel non) and

“redeeming social importance” concepts.

In November of 1965, Moving Party herein

(Attorney James J. Clancy) appeared in this Court in Ralph

Ginzburg v. U.S., No. 42 and filed a 77 page Brief Amicus

pie

Curiae as Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae Citizens

for Decent Literature, Inc., an Ohio Corporation in support

of the Respondent United States of America and, as an

Amicus Curiae, argued the variable obscenity “pandering”

concept upon which the case had been tried. See copy of

Brief Amicus Curiae of Citizens for Decent Literature,

Inc., at Appendix 4 herein at pages 61-62, 66-68 and 69-

77.

Pree men When os Solicitor ae did act | ane @

Ginzburg’s claim of a “concession”, Attorney James J.

Clancy as Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae Citizens

for Decent Literature, Inc. prepared a reply brief, carried

the same to Washington, D.C. on the day before oral

argument in Ralph Ginzburg v. U.S., supra, had it printed

by Byron S. Adams, Washington, D.C. as a Reply Brief

and filed the same with the Clerk of the U.S. Supreme

Court on the day of oral argument in the Ginzburg 1966

case. The Clerk of this Court received and filed the same

before oral argument in the Ginzburg case (in 1966, there

was no Rule of Court or decision of this Court which

precluded the filing of a Reply Brief by an Amicus Curiae.

Compare in this regard, Rule 37(3)(a) of the 1995 Revised

Rules of the U.S. Supreme Court which precludes the

filing of a Reply Brief by an Amicus Curiae). A copy of

Attorney Clancy’s Reply Brief in Ginzburg is attached as

Appendix § herein.

In responding to Ginzburg’s Reply Brief (which

claimed a concession by the Solicitor General), the

Citizens for Decent Literature, Inc. Amicus Curiae Reply

Brief at page 4 footnote 9, cited US. v. Rebhuhn, supra, as

a “pandering” case which had been tried under the

“pandering” concept, and in which a petition for writ of

a

certiorari had been filed in this Court and denied by this

Court.

Associate Justice Brennan's Majority Opinion for

this Court in the 1966 Ginzburg decision relicd upon the

U.S. v Rebhuh ‘orci denied) desiai

“pandering” obscenity crime. Although the decision was

5-4, one could construc it as a 6-3 decision, in as much as

Justice Harlan’s separate decision indicated that he would

have voted with Justice Brennan and the majority, had the

majority agreed to return the case to the trial court for a

retrial under the (new) “pandering” concept. See Ralph

Ginzburg v. U.S., 383 U.S. 495-496. The conclusion that

must be drawn from Justice Harlan’s remarks at pages 495-

497 is that the word “obscene’(or “lewd” or “lascivious”

or “indecent” or “filthy” or “vile’), used in a statutory

sehen Meaeieetanetihinte a.feckeh tach others kt i clone

that the term is used with regard to “pandering” and

equivalent anti-social conduct to satisfy the “mens rea”

clement of the statute.

Moving Party contends that, although the

(ne ge a RN TY : bis Court’

decision on March 21, 1966 in Ginzburg (upon the theory

that this Court's “certiorari denied” decision in U.S. y.

Rebhuhn, supra, was not precedent and this Court had not,

as yet, passed upon that concept), nevertheless, upon the

filing of the 1966 Ginzburg decision which upheid

Ginzburg’s conviction on that theory, the “pandering”

concept became the law of the land. The jurisdictional

questions in this appeal (No. 96-511) which are limited to

a facial attack on the new legislation, therefore must be

examined in the light of the Ginzburg ‘variable obscenity”

decision.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The four jurisdictional questions in the

Jurisdictional Statement in Reno v, ACL.U., No. 96-511

present a narrow issuc as to whether cach of the sections of

the “Communication Decency Act of 1996” (“C.D.A.”)

which is under attack, “is_unconstitutional on its face”.

The three Judge U.S. District Court below upheld the

challenge of the A.C.L.U. on that narrow ground and

granted a preliminary injunction.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The suggestion that: “. . . this speech at issuc,

whether denominated ‘indecent’ or ‘patently offensive’ is

entitled to constitutional protection. . .”, see ACLU. v.

Reno, 929 F Supp. 824 at 851 (1996), is clearly erroneous.

There is no unrestricted First Amendment Constitutional

Right to use “indecent speech” or “talk dirty” or “pander

to the prurient interest” or engage in anti social conduct

which “constitutes an appeal to the prurient interest”. See

Ralph Ginzburg. ef al. v. U.S., 383 U.S. 463 (1966).

This Court’s 5-4 majority decision in Ralph

Ginzburg, @t al. v, U.S., supra, established Judge Learned

Hand’s bifurcated view of the federal obscenity law (18

U.S.C. §1461) in U.S. ». Levine, supra, and U.S. ».

Rebhuhn, supra, as a correct interpretation of the federal

law on “obscenity”. Accordingly, it is now the Law of the

Land.

The statutory sections of the Communications

Decency Act of 1996 under attack do not “ban” anything:

they are criminal statutes which are designed to be applied

en —

5 Te th ck we

oF

to anti cial “conduct” which Congress has declared to be

unlawfu. with respect to (1) the conduct of the citizens of

the United States with respect to “obscenity” in their use

of the “global internet”, and (2) the duties and obligations

of the United States as a signatory member of the

International Treaty which proscribes “obscenity”. See

Roth v. U.S, 354 U.S. 476, 485 at footnote 15. The

criminal sanctions are to be applied to the facts after the

unlawful conduct has been engaged in.

In a criminal case involving “obscenity in the

abstract” (obscenity vel non), the fact finder focuses on the

definition of “obscene” and the subject matter, and

determines that it is or is not obscene under all

abstract, finds the defendant to be guilty if the fact finder

determires that the defendant had knowledge of what the

subject saatter contained, i.c., the contents of the subject

matter. One of the tests to be applied in determining

obscenity vel non is: “whether all reasonable persons

would agree and conclude that the subject matter is

“obscene in the abstract” as that term is defined by law”.

Rosen v. U.S., 161 U.S. 606 (1896). In a criminal case

involving “variable obscenity”, the fact finder does not

focus exclusively upon the definition of “obscene”, but

rather upon the conduct of the defendant and all the

surrounding circumstances and then returns a verdict of

guilty if the defendant's conduct in relation to the subject

matter constituted “pandering obscenity” as defined by the

Court. By its very nature, a complaint charging “pandering

obscenity” is not subject to a facial attack on the definition

of “obscene” because the complaint can be constitutionally

applied to “pandering to the prurient interest” conduct (a

specific set of facts, which establish the “mens rea” and

unlawful conduct), Ralph Ginzburg, et al v. U.S, 383

U.S. 463, 474, at footnote 19.

-8-

ARGUMENT

The Reno v. ACLU. trial court was in error and

should have held that, under the “variable obscenity”

principles approved by the U.S. Supreme Court in

Ginzburg. @ al v. U.S., supra, the terms “obscene”,

“indecent”, “patently offensive as measured by community

standards”, and “sexual or excretory activities or organs”,

as used in the Communications Decency Act of 1996 are

not subject to attack under Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380

U.S. 479 (see Ginzburg, supra , at pages 40 and 41,

footnote 19):

“19. One who advertises and sells a work on the

basis of its prurient appeal is not threatened by the

perhaps inherent residual vagueness of the Roth

test, cf. Dombrowski v Pfister, 380 U.S. 479, 486-

487, 491-492, 14 L ed 2d 22, 28, 31, 85 S.Ct. 1116;

such behavior is central to the objectives of criminal

obscenity laws. AL.I. Model Penal Code,

Tentative Draft No. 6 (May 6, 1957), pp. 1-3, 13-

17; Comments to the Proposed Official Draft

§251.4, supra; Schwartz, Morals Offenses and the

Model Penal Code, 63 Col.L.Rev. 669, 677-681

(1963), Paul & Schwartz, Federal Censorship--

Obscenity in the Mail, 212-219 (1961), see

Mishkin v New York, 383 US 502 at 507, note 5,

16 L.Ed 2d 56, at 61, 86 S.Ct. 958.”

See also Justice Harlan’s dissent at pages 495-497,

wherein he discusses what the government’s burden of

proof would be as to the terms “obscene”, etc., as used in

18 U.S.C. §1461, if the case were to be retried in the U.S.

District Court under a “pandering variable obscenity”

-9.

theory (in which event, his vote would have given

Ginzburg a majority vote of 6-3):

7 If there is anything to this new pandering

dimension to the mailing statute, the Court should

return the case for a new trial, for petitioners are at

least entitled to a day in court on the question on

which their guilt has ultimately come to depend.

Compare the action of the Court in Memoirs v

Massachusetts, 383 U.S. 413, 16 L Ed 2d 1, 86

S.Ct 975, where the Court affords the State an

opportunity to prove in a subsequent prosecution

that an accused purveyor of Fanny Hill in fact used

pandering methods to secure distribution of the

book.”

“If a new trial were given in the present case, as

I read the Court's opinion, the burden would be on

the Government to show that the motives of the

defendants were to pander to ‘the widespread

weakness for titillation by pornography’ (ante, p.

38). I suppose that an analysis of the type of

individuals receiving Eros and the Handbook would

be relevant. If they were ordinary people, interested

in purchasing Eros or the Handbook for one of a

dozen personal reasons, this might be some

evidence of pandering to the general public. On the

other hand, as the Court suggests, the defendants

could exonerate themselves by showing that they

sent these works only or perhaps primarily (no

standards are set) to psychiatrists and other

serious-minded professional people. Also relevant

would apparently be the nature of the mailer’'s

advertisements or representations. Conceivably

someone mailing to the public selective portions of

-10-

a recognized classic with the avowed purpose of

titillation would run the risk of conviction for

mailing non-mailable matter. Presumably the Post

Office under this theory might once again attempt

to ban Lady Chatterley's Lover, which a lower court

found not bannable in 1960 by an abstract

application of Roth. Grove Press, Inc.

Christenberry, 276 F.2d 433. I would suppose that

if the Government could show that Grove Press is

pandering to people who are interested in the book's

sexual passages and not in D. H. Lawrence’s social

theories or literary technique §1461 could properly

be invoked. Even the well-known opinions of

Judge A. N. Hand in United States v One Book

Entitled Ulysses, 72 F2d 705, and of Judge

Woolsey in the District Court, 5 F.Supp. 182, might

be rendered nugatory if a mailer of Ulysses is found

to be titillating readers with its ‘coarse,

blasphemous, and obscene’ portions, 72 F.2d, at

707, rather than piloting them through the

intricacies of Joyce’s stream of consciousness.”

Each of the challenged sections in such act is

susceptible of a constitutional construction, in that such

sections of the Communications Decency Act of 1996 do

nothing more than proscribe a type of anti social “conduct”

under federal “variable obscenity” standards which is of

the same nature as that under which Ralph Ginzbe ; was

indicted, convicted and sentenced to a five year jail term,

see Ginzburg, supra at page 39 and footnote 14 and 15,

citing the Proposed Official Draft of the A.L.L Model

Penal Code:

“14. The Proposed Official Draft of the A.L.I.

a ne

sfie

Model Penal Code likewise recognizes the question

of pandering as relevant to the obscenity issue,

§251.4(4), Tentative Draft No. 6 (May 6, 1957),

oP. 1-3, 13-17, 46-46, 53; Schwartz, supra, n. 12;

see Craig, Suppressed Books, 195-206 (1963).

Compare Grove Press, Inc, v. Christenberry, 176

F.Supp. 488, 496-497 (D.C.S.D., N.Y. 1959), affd.

276 F.2d 433 (C.A.,, 2™ Cir., 1960), United States

v One Book Entitled Ulysses, 72 F.2d 705, 707

(C.A, 2™ Cir., 1934), affirming 5 F.Supp. 182

(D.C.S.D., N.Y. 1933). See also The Trial of Lady

Chatterly— Regina v Penguin Books, Ltd. (Rolph

ed. 1961).

“15. Our conclusion is consistent with the

statutory scheme. Although §1461, in referring to

‘obscene . . . matter’ may appear to deal with the

qualities of material in the abstract, it is settled that

the mode of distribution may be a significant part in

the determination of the obscenity of the material

involved. United States v Rebhuhn, supra.

Because the statute creates a criminal remedy, cf.

Manual Enterprises v Day, 370 U.S. 478, 495, 8

L.Ed.2d 639, 651, 82 S.Ct. 1432 (opinion of

Brennan, J.), it readily admits such an

interpretation, compare United States v_ 3]

Photographs, etc, 156 F.Supp. 350 (D.C.S.D.,

N.Y. 1957).”

The “variable obscenity” factors set forth in the

Communications Decency Act of 1996 are the functional

equivalent of the “variable obscenity” factors discussed

and applied in Ginzburg, supra. See U.S. v. Rebhuhn,109

F.2d 512, certiorari denied 310 U.S. 629, 84 L.Ed 1399, 60

-12- -13-

S.Ct. 97 in Gi

pom 6, relied upon in Ginzburg, supra, at pages 472- not in all circumstances forbid the

, Teading as follows: dissemination of such publications. . . :

“The decision in United States v Rebhuhn, 109

F.2d 512, is persuasive authority for our

conclusion.i4/. That was a prosecution under the

predecessor to §1461, brought in the context of

pandering of publications assumed useful to

scholars and members of learned professions. The

books involved were written by authors proved in

many instances to have been men of scientific

standing, as anthropologists or psychiatrists. The

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit therefore

assumed that many of the books were entitled to the

Protection of the First Amendment, and ‘could

lawfully have passed through the mails, if directed

to those who would be likely to use them for the

purposes for which they were written...” 109

‘Proper use, but . . . woefully misused them, and i

t

was that misuse which constituted the gravamen of

the crime.’ Id., at 515. Speaking for the Court in

affirming the conviction, Judge Learned Hand said:

at [T]he works themselves had a place

though a limited one, in anthropology and

in psychotherapy. They might also have

been lawfully sold to laymen who wished

seriously to study the sexual practices of

savage or barbarous peoples, or sexual

aberrations; in other words. most of them

were not Obscene per se. In several

decisions we have held that the statute does

However, in the case at bar, the prosecution

succeeded . . . when it showed that the

defendants had indiscriminately flooded the

mails with advertisements, plainly designed

merely to catch the prurient, though under

the guise of distributing works of scientific

or literary merit. We do not mean that the

distributor of such works is charged with a

duty to insure that they shall reach only

proper hands, nor need we say what care he

must use, for these defendants exceeded any

possible limit, the circulars were no more

than appeals to the salaciously disposed, and

no [fact finder] could have failed to pierce

the fragile screen, set up to cover that

purpose.’ 109 F2d, at 514-515.”

sy We perceive no threat to First Amendment

guarantees in thus holding that in close cases

evidence of pandering may be probative with

respect to the nature of the material in question and

thus satisfy the Roth test.1s/ No weight is ascribed

to the fact that petitioners have profited from the

sale of publications which we have assumed but do

not hold cannot themselves be adjudged obscene in

the abstract; to sanction consideration of this fact

might indeed induce self-censorship, and offend the

frequently stated principle that commercial activity,

in itself, is no justification for narrowing the

protection of expression secured by the First

Amendment.is/ Rather, the fact that each of these

publications was created or exploited entirely on the

a

_"e

basis of its appeal to prurient interests_17/

strengthens the conclusion that the transactions

here were sales of illicit merchandise, not sales of

constitutionally protected matterjs/ A conviction

for mailing obscene publications, but explained in

part by the presence of this element, does not

necessarily suppress the materials in question, nor

chill their proper distribution for a proper use. Nor

should it inhibit the enterprise of others seeking

through serious endeavor to advance human

knowledge or understanding in science, literature,

or art. All that will have been determined is that

questionable publications are obscene in a context

which brands them as obscene as that term is

defined in Roth-- a use inconsistent with any claim

to the shelter of the First Amendment.j9/. ‘The

nature of the materials is, of course, relevant as an

attribute of the defendant’s conduct, but the

materials are thus placed in context from which

they draw color and character. A wholly different

result might be reached in a different setting.” Roth

v United States, 354 U.S., at 495, 1 L.Ed 2d at

1513. (Warren, C. J., concurring.)”

“It is important to stress that this analysis simply

elaborates the test by which the obscenity vel non of

the material must be judged. Where an exploitation

of interests in titillation by pornography is shown

with respect to material lending itself to such

exploitation through pervasive treatment or

description of sexual matters, such evidence may

support the determination that the material is

obscene even though in other contexts the material

would escape such condemnation.”

“Petitioners raise several procedural objections,

-15-

principally directed to the findings which

accompanied the trial court’s memorandum

opinion, Fed. Rules Crim. Proc. 23. Even on the

assumption that petitioners’ objections are well

taken, we perceive no error affecting their

substantial rights.”

“Affirmed.”

Ralph Ginzburg’s claim of a constitutional nght to

“pander” was rejected by the U.S. Supreme Court, see the

opinion of Justice Brennan in his review of the trial facts

at: (1) pages 35, footnotes 5 and 6; (2) page 36, footnote

8; (3) page 37, footnotes 9 and 11; (4) Judge Learned

Hand speaking in U.S. v. Rebhuhn, 109 F.2d 512, cited at

page 39 and footnotes 13 and 14; (5) page 40 at footnote

15, citing U.S. v. Rebhuhn, supra; (6) text at pages 40 and

41, and footnote 19 at pages 40 and 41, distinguishing the

Roth Test for obscenity from Dombrowski v. Pfister, 330

U.S. 479, 486-487, 491-492,14 L.Ed.2d 22, 28-31; 85

S.Ct. 1116; and A.LL Model Penal Code Tentative

Draft No. 6 (May 6,1957) pages 1-3, 13-57, Comments to

the Proposed Official Draft, §251.4, supra, Schwartz,

Morals Offenses and the Model Penal Code, 63

Col.L.Rev. 669, 677-681 (1963):

“§ Our affirmance of the convictions for mailing

EROS and Liaison is based upon their

characteristics as a whole, including their editorial

formats, and not upon particular articles contained,

digested, or excerpted in them. Thus we do not

decide whether particular articles, for example, in

EROS, although identified by the trial judge as

offensive, should be condemned as obscene

whatever their setting. Similarly, we accept the

-16-

Government’s concession note 13, j

, infra, that the

Prosecution rested upon the manner in which the

petitioners sold the Handbook; thus our affirmance

implies no agreement with the trial judge's

characterizations of the book outside that setting.”

“6. It is suggested in dissent that petiti

petitioners were

aay a’ wat the record being established could be

¢ in support of such an approach, and that

petitioners should be afforded the opportunity of a

new tral. However, the trial transcript clearly

reveals that at several points the Government

announced its theory that made the mode of

distribution relevant to the determination of

obscenity, and the trial court admitted evidence

otherwise irrelevant, toward that end.” ;

“ge Evidence relating to petitioners’ efforts to

secure mailing privileges from these post offices

nose contrary to the suggestion of Mr. Justice

arlan in dissent, introduced far the purpose of

supporting such @ finding. Scienter had been

ah teens The Government’s position

revealed in ollowing colla '

somnnnd ntin Rueibenstanten otthy oon

postmaster of Blue Ball, Pennsylvania:

‘The COURT. Who signed the letter?

*Mr. CREAMER. It is signed by Frank R.

“¥~ — Publisher of Mr. Ginzburg.

is on Magazine, Incorporated’

stationery.

‘The COURT. And your objection i

; is-

Mr. SHAPIRO. It is in no way relevant to

°17-

the particular issue or publication upon

which the defendant has been indicted and

in my view, even if there was an

identification with respect to a particular

issue, it would be of doubtful relevance in

that event.

‘The COURT. Anything else to say?

‘Mr. CREAMER. If Your Honor pleases,

there is a statement in this letter indicating

that it would be advantageous to this

publication to have it disseminated through

Blue Ball, Pennsylvania, post office. I think

this clearly goes to intent, as to what the

purpose of publishing these magazines was.

At least, it clearly establishes one of the

reasons why they were disseminating this

material.

‘The COURT. Admitted.’ ”

“9 Thus, one EROS advertisement claimed:

‘Eros is a child of its times. . . .[It] is the

result of recent court decisions that have

realistically interpreted America’s obscenity

laws and that have given to this country 4

new breadth of freedom of expression. . . .

EROS takes full advantage of this new

freedom of expression. It is the magazine of

sexual candor.’

“In another, more lavish spread:

‘EROS is a new quarterly devoted to the

subjects of Love and Sex. In the few short

weeks since its birth, EROS has established

itself as the rave of the American intellectual

- 18-

community-- and the rage of prudes

everywhere! And it’s no wonder: EROS

handles the subjects of Love and Sex with

complete candor. The publication of this

magazine-which is frankly and avowedly

concerned with erotica has been enabled

by recent court decisions ruling that a

literary piece or painting, though explicitly

sexual in content has a right to be published

if it is a genuine work of art.

‘EROS is a genuine work of art... .”

“An undisclosed number of advertisements for

Liaison were mailed. The outer envelopes of these

ads ask, ‘Are you among the chosen few?’ The first

line of the advertisement eliminates the ambiguity:

‘Are you a member of the sexual clite?’ It

continues:

‘That is, are you among the few happy and

enlightened individuals who believe that a

man and woman can make love without

feeling pangs of conscience? Can you read

about love and sex and discuss them without

blushing and stammering?

‘If so, you ought to know about an important

new periodical called Liaison.

‘In short, Liaison is Cupid’s Chronicle. . . .

‘Though Liaison handles the subjects of love

and sex with complete candor, I wish to

-19-

life.

... I'll venture to say that after you've read

your first bi-weekly issue, Liaison will be

your most cagerly awaited piece of mail.’ ”

=96. There is much additional evidence

supporting the conclusion of petitioners’

pandering. One of petitioners’ former writers for

Liaison, for example, testified about the editorial

goals and practices of that publication.”

“2. Schwartz, Morals Offenses and the Model

Penal Code, 63 Col.L.Rev. 669, 677 (1963).

“13. The Government drew a distinction between

the author’s and petitioners’ solicitation. At the

sentencing proceeding the United States Attorney

tated:

. [the author] was distributing. . . only to

stavdalamm she never had widespread,

indiscriminate distribution of the Handbook,

and, consequently, the Post Office

advertised these books solely to...

physicians . . . we, of course, would not be

here this morning with regard to The

Housewife’s Handbook ....” ”

Federal Statutes (such as the C.D.A.) which regulate

make it clear that it is not a scandal sheet anti social conduct, i.e., the dissemina . renee

and it is not written for the man in the street. “indecency”, ete. (on the basis of its * are not subject

Liaison is aimed at intelligent, educated which include specific mens rea clement « ices

adults who can accept love and sex as part of to a facial attack on the basis of “overbreath”. the

- 20 -

Communications Decency Act of 1996 includes a

specific “mens rea” clement, the only behavior (by

statutory definition) which falls within the ambit of the

statute is behavior (anti social conduct) which is capable of

being Constitutionally- proscribed. The inclusion of the

specific “mens rea” element provides the requisite

Constitutional specificity and “narrows” the construction

of the statute, cowiming its application to only

Constitutionally permissible situations, i.c., anti social

conduct involving “pandering”, “talking dirty”, etc., in

front of minors. The use of a specific “mens rea” clement

has long been recognized as being central to the objectives

of criminal obscenity laws and where present, such laws

may only be challenged on an “as applied basis”. Where

the standards ("variable obscenity" factors) are not

SL en ee

standards were correctly applied “to the trial facts”. See

Ralph Ginzburg, ef al. v. U.S., 383 U.S. 463,16 L.Ed.2d

31 at 35 and at pages 40-41, footnote 19, 86 S.Ct. 942.

Similarly, there is no ynrestricted Constitutional

right to engage in anti social conduct involving

“indecency” or “indecent speech” in front of minors ip

' £ the fact 1 1

‘labl i mi tucational tool, and that

minors must be regarded as a foreseeable “target” audience

on the Internet. See, in this regard, President Clinton’s

remarks on February 4,1997, in his State of the Union

Address:

Let’s work together to meet these . . . goals: . .

. every 12-year-old must be able to log on to the

Internet. . .”

. F

and President Clinton’s weekly Radio Address remarks on

February 8,1997:

. . . To give our children the best education we

must help them to harness the powerful forces of

technology. That’s why we've challenged America

to connect every classroom and library to the

Internet by the year 2000. For the first time in

history, children in the most isolated rural towns,

the most comfortable suburbs, and the poorest

inner-city schools will have the same access to the

same universe of knowledge. . .”

“. . . By doubling our investment in education

technology, by dramatically lowering the Internet

rates for schools and libraries, by mobilizing

Americans all across the country to help wire our

schools, we will meet our goal of connecting every

classroom and library to the Information

Superhighway by the year 2000. That’s how we

must prepare our children for the 21* Century, with

the full promise of the Information Age at their

fingertips. And it's an important way to give our

children the world’s best education and the chance

to make the most of their own lives. . . .”).

Further, an overbreath argument which is grounded upon

an asserted claim of an unrestricted “constitutional nght”

to engage in a specific type of “conduct”, i.c., to “talk

dirty” or to “indecent speech” or “indecency” (see Shea

v. Reno, 930 F.Supp. 916 at 922-933 [U.S. District Court,

S.D.N.Y.,1996]: “. . . that §223(d) would serve as a ban on

R-

constitutionally protected indecent communications

between adults. . .” [my emphasis.]) is as meritless as the

“constitutional right to pander” which was asserted but

rejected in Ginzburg v. U.S., supra. See, in this regard, the

eight (8) images obtained from current free access web

sites located by using the Internet Search Engines “Yahoo”

and “Alta Vista” (available to any 12-year old) using the

locator request “Adult Bookstore”, which are reproduced

at Appendix | herein as an attachment to the letter dated

February 12, 1997, requesting the consent to file an amicus

curiae brief. In the judgment of amicus curiae James J.

Clancy, such images are in violation of the “variable

obscenity” standards of both the Communications

Decency Act of 1996 and Ginzburg v. U.S.,supra.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the 3 Judge U.S. District Court

that the challenged sections of the Communications

Decency Act of 1996 are facially unconstitutional should

be reversed upon the “variable obscenity” standards

oS ee ee

in Ralph Ginzburg v. U.S, supra and the “variable

obscenity” principles expressed by Judge Learned Hand in

his opinions in U.S. v, Levine, supra and U.S. v. Rebhuhn.

supra, as codified in the A.L.L Model Penal Code,

Tentative Draft No. 6 (May 6, 1957) and the Comments

to the Proposed Official Draft §251.4. Sce also

Schwartz, Morals Offenses and the Model Penal Code.

63 Col.L.Rev. 669, 677-681 (1963).

The narrow configuration of this case, and the

opportunity and the ability of this Court to decide the

jurisdictional questions posed in this appeal by a summary

reversal based upon Justice Brennan’s majority opinion in

x *

Ralph Ginzburg, et al. v. U.S., supra, affords this Court a

unique opportunity— the first in 40 years— to revisit

Judge Learned Hand’s well reasoned opinions on obscenity

and this Court’s landmark decision in Roth v, U.S, 354

U.S. 476, 1 L.Ed.2d 1408, 77 S.Ct. 1314 (1957) and

restore simplicity to this nation’s federal obscenity statutes

by reconsidering and reconciling the seemingly conflicting

views of the individual Justices on this Court during those

40 years.

If this Court were to seize this unique opportunity,

the following objectives and reconsideration would be

worthy of consideration:

1. Reaffirm the opinions of Judge Learned

Hand in U.S. v. Levine, 83 F.2d 156 and

US. v. Rebhuhn, 109 F.2d 512, 514 in their

entirety as a correct statement of the federal

obscenity law before Ginzburg and Judge

Hand’s bifurcated view of the federal

obscenity law (variable obscenity) as a

correct statement of the law before and after

the Ginzburg decision and a correct

statement of the “Law of the Land” after the

filing of the 5-4 Ginzburg Opinion (perhaps

6-3, if Justice Harlan’s dissent is viewed as

a “concession”’).

2. Reaffirm in their entirety this Court's

decisions in Roth v. U.S., supra and Ralph

Ginzburg »v. U.S, supra (with munor

adjustments and modifications as explained

hereinafter).

3. Reaffirm the Roth-Alberts definition of

o24-

“appeal to the prurient interest” as an

“excessive, unnatural and unlawful” interest

rather than a natural, healthy and lawful

interest in sex.

Reaffirm the law expressed in Roth-Alberts

that the mens rea for the crime of dealing

with “obscenity in the abstract” (obscenity

vel non) is “knowledge of the contents” and

does not require a person’s subjective

perception as to whether the subject matter

is or is not obscene. See Rosen v. U.S. 161

U.S. 606 (1896).

Establish as one of the tests for “obscenity in

the abstract”: “whether all reasonable

persons would agree and conclude that the

subject matter is ‘obscene in the abstract’ as

that term is defined by law (which appears to

be the equivalent of Justice Harlan’s and

Justice Stewart’s use of the term‘hard core

pornography’)”.

Reaffirm Justice Brennan’s opinion in

Ralph Ginzburg v, U.S., supra, as a correct

statement of the difference between the

bifurcated crimes of “obscenity in the

abstract” and “pandering obscenity” and

(reconciling and equating) Justice Warren's

opinion on “conduct” to be a consistent

statement with respect to the bifurcated

“pandering crime” and Justice Harlan’s and

Justice Stewart’s views on “hard core

pornography” to be a consistent statement

-25-

treating the bifurcated “obscenity in the

abstract” crime, and the law as to

“specificity” expressed in Miller vy.

California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973), to be a

consistent statement treating the “obscenity

in the abstract” crime..

7. Reconcile Justice Harlan’s and Justice

Stewart’s separate opinions re “hard core

explanation that their separate opinions in

Ginzburg were proper (at the time Ginzburg

was argued and incident to the reporting of

the 5-4 landmark ruling) inasmuch as such

was not the Law of the Land until Ginzburg

was decided.

8. Adoption of Justice Harlan’s view with

respect to this Court’s limited role in

a4 en F ot '

under the 10* and 11° Amendments.

The practical end result of a reexamination of the

federal law of obscenity at this time and reconciliation of

the above propositions of law would be both historic and

“meteoric”. For example, by reaffirming Judge Learned

Hand’s bifurcation of the law and reaffirming the law

expressed in Rosen v. U.S., supra, as controlling the crime

of dealing with “obscenity in the abstract”, that segment of

the pornography industry holding millions of dollars in

hard core videotape inventories would, overnight, find

themselves holding assets which had a value of zero and

~~"?

were unmarketable in the United States. Further, such a

determination would help to terminate the runaway

production and exhibition on Cable and Satellite T.V. of

hard core pornographic films that now exists. (See U.S.

News and World Report, dated February 10, 1997.

DATED: February 17, 1997

Respectfully submitted,

39

(_ James 1 Stanoy

Counsel of Record fo¢ Amicus Curiae

APPENDIX 1

COPY OF ATTORNEY JAMES J. CLANCY’S 4 PAGE

LETTER OF REQUEST FOR CONSENT TO FILE AN

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF, WITH 8 PAGES OF

ATTACHMENTS IN RENO V. A.CL.U,, ET AL., U.S.

SUPREME COURT NO. 96-511, FAXED TO

APPELLANTS ON FEBRUARY 12, 1997.

Reference: (1) Motion For Leave To File An Out Of

Time Amicus Curiae Brief In Reno y.

ACLU. Et. AL, U.S. Supreme Court No.

96-511, Under Rule 37(3\b) With Attached

Brief Amicus Curiae Of James J. Clancy

(Member Of The Supreme Court Bar) At

Page 4.

Reference: (2) Brief Amicus Curiae Of James J. Clancy

In Reno v, ACLU. Et AL, U.S. Supreme

Court No. 96-511 At Page 2

JAMES J. CLANCY

_ ATTORNEY ATLAW

9055 LA TUNA CANYON ROAD

SUN VALLEY, CALIF. 91352

(818) 352-2069

FAX (818) 352-6549

February 12,1997

Christopher A. Hansen, Esq.

American Civil Liberties Union Foundation

132 West 43” Street

New York, New York 10036

L.Ed.2d 31, 86 S.Ct. 942, rehearing denied

384 U.S. 934,16 L.Ed2d 536, 86 S.Ct.1440

(3/21/66) (interpreting 18 — §1461):

the American Civil Liberties Union, et al., to the filing

of a brief for James J. Clancy as amicus curiae in support

of a simple reversal of the judgment below upon the

1-2

Mr. Christopher A. Hansen, Esq, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation

Re: Rene», A.CLU,, USSCT. No. 96-511

page 2of 4, 2-12-97

“variable obscenity” factors which were argued in the

appellate briefs and upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court in

Ralph Ginsburg, et al. v. U.S., 383 U.S, 463,16 L.Ed.2d

31, 86 S.Ct. 942, rehearing denied 384 U.S. 934, 16

L.Ed.2d 536, 86 S.Ct.1440 (3/21/66) (interpreting the term

“obscene” as employed in 18 U.S.C.§1461): (criminal law

requirements: Ginzburg, footnote 13,14 and 15;

“pandering” concept: Ginzburg, footnote 14, “prurient”

appeal: Ginzburg, footnote 19).

The four jurisdictional questions in the

Jurisdictional Statement in Reno v. ACLL.U., No. 96-511

present a narrow issue as to whether each of the sections of

the “Communication Decency Act of 1996” (“C.D.A.”)

which is under attack, “is_unconstitutional on its face”.

The three Judge U. S. District Court below upheld the

challenge of the A.C.L.U. on that narrow ground and

granted a preliminary injunction.

The amicus curiae brief for James J. Clancy will

contend that the Reno v. A.C_L.U. trial court was in error

and should have held that, under the “variable obscenity”

principles approved by the U.S. Supreme Court in

Ginzburg, et al v. U.S., supra, the terms “obscene”,

“indecent”, “patently offensive as measured by community

standards”, and “sexual or excretory activities or organs”,

as used in the Communications Decency Act of 1996 are

not subject to attack under Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380

U.S. 479 (see Ginzburg, supra, at pages 40 and 41,

footnote 19)

1-3

Mr. Christopher A. Hansen, Esq, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation

Re: Rone », ACLU, USSCT. No. 96-511

page 3of4, 212-97

Each of the challenged sections in such act is

susceptible of a constitutional construction, in that such

sections of the Communications Decency Act of 1996 do

nothing more than proscribe a type of “conduct” under

federal “variable obscenity” standards which is of the same

nature as that under which Ralph Ginzburg was indicted.

convicted and sentenced to a five year jail term, see

Ginzburg, supra at page 39 and footnote 14, citing the

Proposed Official Draft of the A.L.1. Model Penal

Code. The “variable obscenity” factors set forth in the

Communications Decency Act of 1996 are the functional

equivalent of the “variable obscenity” factors discussed

and applied in Ginzburg, supra. See, also, US. v.

Rebhuhn, 109 F.2d 512, cert. den. 310 U.S. 629, 84 L.Ed

1399, 60 S.Ct. 976, relied upon in Ginzburg, supra, at

pages 39 and 40, footnote 15.

Ralph Ginzburg’s claim of a constitutional right to

“pander” was rejected by the U.S. Supreme Court, see the

opinion of Justice Brennan at: (1) pages 35, footnotes §

and 6, (2) page 36, footnote 8; (3) page 37, footnotes 9 and

11; (4) Justice Learned Hand speaking in Rebhuhan v. U.S.,

109 F.2d 512, cited at page 39 and footnotes 13 and 14; (5)

page 40 at footnote 15, citing US. v. Rebhuhn, supra. (6)

text at pages 40 and 41, and footnote 19 at pages 40 and

41, distinguishing the Roth Test for obscenity from

Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 US. 479, 486-487.

491-492,14 L.Ed.2d 22, 28-31; 85 S.Ct. 1116; and ALLL

Model Penal Code Tentative Draft No. 6 (May 6,1957)

pages 1-3, 13-57, Comments to the Proposed Official Draft

1-4

Mr. Christopher A. Hansen, Esq, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation

Re: Benes, A.CL.U., USSCT. No. 96-511

page 404, 212-97

§251.4, supra, Schwartz, Morals Offenses and the Model

Penal Code. 63 Col.L.Rev. 669, 677-681 (1963).

Federal Statutes (such as the C.D.A.) regulating

“obscenity”, “indecency”, etc. (on the basis of its “prurient

interest”) which include a specific mens rea clement are

not subject to a facial attack on the basis of “overbreath”.

Because the C.D.A. includes a specific “mens rea”

element, the only behavior (by statutory definition) which

falls within the ambit of the statute is behavior which is

capable of being Constitutionally proscribed. The

inclusion of the specific “‘mens rea” element provides the

requisite Constitutional specificity and “narrows” the

construction of the statute, confining its application to only

Constitutionally permissible situations, i.c., “pandering”,

“talking dirty”. The use of a specific “mens rea” element

has long been recognized as being central to the objectives

of criminal obscenity laws and where present, such laws

may only be challenged on an “as applied basis”. Where

the standards (“variable obscenity” factors) are noi

misconceived, the only serious question is whether those

standards were correctly applied “to the trial facts”. See,

Ralph Ginzburg, et al. v. U.S., 383 U.S. 463,16 L.Ed.2d

31 at 35 and at pages 40-41, footnote 19, 86 S.Ct. 942.

Similarly, there is no unrestricted Constitutional

right to “indecency” or “indecent speech”. In light of the

; iu ‘labl r

minors as an educational tool, and that minors must be

regarded as a foreseeable “target” audience for all free

1-5

Mr. Christopher A. Hansen, Esq, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation

Re: Rene ¥, ACLU, USSCT. No. 96-S11

page Sof4, 212-97

access communications currently taking place on the

Internet (see President Clinton’s remarks on February

4.1997, in his State of the Union Address:

. Let’s work together to meet these . . . goals: .

. every 12-year-old must be able to log on to the

Internet. . .”’.

and President Clinton's weekly Radio Address remarks on

February 8,1997:

“... To give our children the best education we

must help them to harness the powerful forces of

technology. That’s why we've challenged America

to connect every classroom and library to the

Internet by the year 2000. For the first time in

history. children in the most isolated rural towns,

the most comfortable suburbs, and the poorest

inner-city schools will have the same access to the

same universe of knowledge. . .”

“. . By doubling our investment in education

technology, by dramatically lowering the Internet

rates for schools and libraries, by mobilizing

Americans all across the country to help wire our

schools, we will meet our goal of connecting every

classroom and library to the Information

Superhighway by the year 2000. That’s how we

1-6

Mr. Christopher A. Hansen, Esq, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation

Re: Rene v. ACLU., USSCT. No. 96-511

page6of4, 212-97

must prepare our children for the 21st Century, with

the full promise of the Information Age at their

fingertips. And it’s an important way to give our

children the world’s best education and the chance

to make the most of their own lives. . . .”),

an overbreath argument which is grounded upon an

asserted claim of an unrestricted “constitutional right to

“talk dirty” or to “indecent speech” or “indecency” (see

Shea v. Reno, 930 F Supp. 916 at 922-933 [U.S. District

Court, S.D.N.Y., 1996}: “. . . that §223(d) would serve as

a ban on _ constitutionally protected indecent

communications between adults. . .””) is as meritless as the

“constitutional nght to pander” which was asserted but

rejected in Ginzburg v. U.S., supra. See, in this regard, the

eight (8) images obtained from current free access web

sites located by using the Internet Search Engine “Yahoo”

(available to any 12-year old) using the locator request

“Adult Bookstore”, which are reproduced hereinafter as

an attachment to this letter. In the judgment of amicus

curiae James J. Clancy, such images are in violation of the

“variable obscenity” standards oof both the

Communications Decency Act of 1996 and Ginzburg v

U.S., supra.

A motion to file a tardy brief amicus curiae under

U.S. Supreme Court Rule 37(3 Xe) with brief attached and

the reasons for granting the same will be filed some time

during the week of February 9-13, approximately a week

in advance of the date upon which Appellee A.C.L.U.’s

1-7

Mr. Christopher A. Hansen, Esq, American Civil Liberties Union Foundation

Re: Rene v. A.C.LU., USSCT. No. 96-511

page "of 4, 21297

reply brief will be due (February 20, 1997). The amicus

tae brief (; ‘neil ‘HI be limited

the above argument, which is framed in this letter, i.e., the

suggestion that the judgment below should be reversed

upon the principle of law (“variable obscenity” standard)

applied in Ginzburg v. U.S., supra., which is not discussed

in the Brief for the Appellants or the Amicus Curiae Brief

of the National Law Center for Children and Families

(which were due on or about January 20, 1997. (My

emphasis. )

Thank you for your consideration in this regard.

Sincerely yours,

James J. Clancy

for Amicus Curiae.

Sep. lettersto: Bruce J. Ennis, Esq., Jenner & Block

Hon. Walter Dellinger, Acting Solicitor

General.

ce: Mr. Bruce Taylor, Esq., Counsel for

Amici Curiae, National Law Center

for Children and F amilies.

Adult Sue Cf the Week - MAIS PAGE hap www herewego com sutw som hemi

Adult Site Of The Week!

Brought to vou by Alexis & Debbie

ermK

Evers week a new adult site is awarded Global's "Adult Site Of The Week” You NOTC ;

can see sample pic's and a profile on the awarded site Stop back weekly for the , Pot

hottest adult stuff on the net WOMMATED

Hi Guys,

Please take a moment to read this while the page 1s loading Debbi & myself (I'm Alexis)

would like to thank you for stopping by our site This started out as just a hobby bul turned into

@ business No, | don't do all this technical stuff myself, we hire a pro for that but we do rcad

our mar! and tell our webmaster what to do with the pages We do have one favor to ash you If

| you like our free pics (and we think we give you a lot of them), please jo our site It is only

$7 95 for 3 months! It costs us a lot of money every month to keep this running For the cost of

a coffee and a bagel! you can see a few thousand quality pics That's a fa deal One more thing

sorry about all the banners, they give us some income so we can keep the site up There 1. done

in the members area Thanks and don't forget to visit our sponsors’ Have A Great New Year’

Love \a

Alexis

s -

PORN TV! Browse & Search |0,000+ Fast-Downloading Nasty Video Clips, for FREE’

Do You Have An Attractive WIFE or GIRLFRIEND?

Click HERE for details on how you can ears up to $1,000 per month or more with ov cost to

you. The shy aced not apply!

Welcome To Our Place!

FREE GUEST COLD VWEMBER

You will be able to access the winners You will have FULL access to the entire site including the winners

area and view al! |0 sample pics and area to view all the sample pics from the winning site and compicte

view | sample pic from each past archive of all past winners In addition. you will have access to our

winner area entire picture collection

Register For Gold Membership $7.98

Amateurs - Amateurs - Amateurs

A! SEARCH FROM Totaly Uncensored .

Chek Here for a FREE test-drive of the only 250.000-file all-XXX search engine on the net

249° 1001 AM)

me Boek - MAIN PAGE

IHe Sex 1.004

nttp.//wwe sexmeusesm.com

MUSEUM

- - - Navigation Area - - -

Main Picture Area

Nominated Sites (links) |) Suggest A Site |) Mail U's

Get Membership | Sex Toys Sponsorship || Your Own Amateur Site

Some Of Our Other Sites

© Amateurs Galore - Lots of free pics

© Kitty Fox, - The best in hard core

5 © Amateur Kim - This blonde will knock your socks off

*® Florida Amateurs - These gir!s will make you hot’

© Amateur Alexis - This 2! year old has a killer body'

: © SB-90 Sex Booster - Guaranteed to increase your sexual performance or sour money back

The Pics of t

iward of Adult Excellence’

Last Updated on Sunday. 19 January, 199° at 12 00 PM

2497 100!

Adult *

”

he Woek - MAIN PAGE

- Since update

No Counter?

http www herewego com som sotw ham

2497 1001 AM

Your!

loft?

mn Amateur Web Sue’

e menu

‘as gation -

Sourtoen An.aseur Wed Sue!

hip www herewexe Com amy

Brash in on the internet e* piosion!

We Will Build You Your own

(Money Making) Amateur Web Site!

uml THE BOTTOM LINE

Links

Adj Atunk = YOur

If you have an attractive wife or girlfriend and she is not the shy type. we can give you

own MONEY MAKING Web site for FREE! Here are the details:

Global will design a web site for you and host on our own server You «ill have your own

address “http www herewego. com your same”

Global will place your site on over 100 link sites and search engines to promote your site

Global will feature your site on our Adult Site Of The Week site to hick off sour page

All you need to do ts supply us some good quality original pictures of ) ourself and we wil! do the

rest

We will handle ALL set-up charges and give vou S0*e of the profit of sour site (about $! 50 per

registration) You can be up and running in as little 2s | week after we rece \e sour pictures

Average income from your site should be between $500 to $1,500 per month However. it could

be as much as $4,000 to $5,000 per month depending on how GOOD the pictures are

You will also receive a list of FREE and PAY areas to post your site and increase traffic You

will be able to do this on your free ume

You will receive access codes for your site so you can log on to our billing company and receive

up to the minute stats on how your site s&s doing

THE FINE PRINT

Here

are some of the fine points you should be aware of Please read them carefully.

Whea you are finished you can print out a Mode/ Release Agreement to get your site

under way.

FIRST - Before you do anything’ Please E-Mail us a picture of the person who wil! be featured

on the site. This does mot have to be a nude shot however that would be perferred

Since every site is different, we cannot guarantee any amount af money each Month. however.

from our expermence we found the $500 per month number to be the minimum one of our sites

make

- - - Navigation Area - - -

Main Picture Area |! Nominated Sites (links) |) Suggest A Site Mail Us

Get Membership || Sea Toys |i Sponsorship | Your Own Amateur Site Home

249° 1003 AM

hap //www herewego com amateur’

According to you are visitor no. _—to this page No Counter?

Last Updated by on Monday. 6 Janwary 1997 at 10 35 PM

2497 1003 AM

}

ABACUS AD! LT IMAGES http. adult harmony net au adult » afrlte hts

NEW!!! ... ADULT VIDEO

NEW!!! ... BEAUTIFULL NUDE GIRLS ON

LIVE VIDEO FEED

~<

Video Fantasy

GREAT XXX PICTURES

UNLIMITED AXCESS ON JOINING! $10

JOINING FEE !!!

Q. What can I expect to find here ?

A. THE BEST XXX PICTURES ON THE NET

7957 AM

ABA ‘ [| IMAGES nip avy!’ mn Ff ‘

INTERESTED ?

None of the pictures are censored in any way once you join °°.

Click HERE To Join and Enjoy

Other Links

Other Adult Sites

APPENDIX 2

COPY OF APPELLEE A.C.L.U. AND APPELLEE A.L.A.

FAX LETTERS, DATED FEBRUARY 13, 1997 IN

WHICH APPELLEES A.C.L.U. AND A.L.A. REFUSE

TO GRANT THEIR CONSENT TO THE FILING OF A

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE BY JAMES J. CLANCY

(MEMBER OF THE SUPREME COURT BAR) IN

RENO V. ACLU. ET AL, U.S. SUPREME COURT

NO. 96-511.

Reference: (1) Motion For Leave To File An Out Of

Time Amicus Curiae Brief In Reno y,

ACLU., Et. AL, U.S. Supreme Court No.

96-511, Under Rule 37(3\(b) With Attached

Brief Amicus Curiae Of James J. Clancy

(Member Of The Supreme Court Bar) At

Page 5.

Reference: (2) Brief Amicus Curiae Of James J. Clancy

In Reno v. AACL.U., Et AL, U.S. Supreme

Court No. 96-511 At Page 2

2-1

SENT BY: 2-13-97; 11:58; 2127304652-> .#2/2

AC.L.U-LF. LEGAL DEPARTMENT

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES Chris Hansen

UNION FOUNDATION Senior Staff Counsel

National Headquarters (212) 944-9800 Ext. 540

132 West 43rd Street Fax (212) 730-4652

New York, N.Y. 10036 E-mail chnsaclu@aol.com

February 13,1997

James J, Clancy

9055 La Tuna Canyon Road

La Tuna Canyon, California 91352

Re: Reno v. ACLU, No. 96-511

Dear Mr. Clancy:

I received your fax to Bruce Ennis concerning an

amicus brief in this case. You should first be aware that

Mr. Ennis does not represent appellees ACLU et al. He

represents other appellees. On behalf of the appelices

ACLU ¢t al, we do not consent to the filing of your brief.

We consented to every amicus who sought to file a

brief in a timely manner. Your brief is untimely. Given

the schedule necessary to print our brief, we would be

unable to respond to your arguments and thus prejudiced

by its filing. Moreover, you describe your brief as one in

support of neither party, it is not. By urging simple

reversal, you are supporting appellants. If you file the

motion, we will oppose it.

Thank you. Sincerely,

Christopher A. Hansen

Counsel of record for the ACLU

appellees

cc: Bruce J. Ennis

Hon. Walter Dellinger

2-2

SENT BY: JENNER & BLOCK 2-13-97,10:11,2026396066->,# 2

LAW OFFICES JENNER & BLOCK

A PARTNERSHIP INCLUDING PROFESSIONAL CORPORATIONS

601 THIRTEENTH STREET, N.W.,SUITE 1200

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20005

(202) 639-6000 (202) 639-6066 FAX

Bruce J, Ennis DIRECT DIAL NUMBER: 202-639-6025

February 13, 1997

VIA TELE} AX (818) 352-6549

James J. Clancy, Esquire

Law Office of James J. Clancy

9055 La Tuna Canyon Road

La Tuna Canyon, California 91352

Re: Reno, etal. v. ACLU, ct al., No, 96-51]

Dear, Mr. Clancy;

I have just received your request for consent to file an

out-of-time amicus brief, on your on behalf, supporting

reversal of the judgment above.

I do not consent to the filing of the proposed brief, and

would oppose any motion for leave to file.

Although appellees consented to every timely request to

file an amicus bricf supporting the government, your

request is untimely and would deny appellees of a

meaningful opportunity to respond to the points you would

propose to cover in your amicus brief.

Sincerely,

Bruce J. Ennis

Counsel for ALA Appellees

cc: Hon. Walter Dellinger (by fax)

Christopher Hansen (by fax)

Jerry Berman, CDT

APPENDIX 3

COPY OF LIST OF 56 CASES IN WHICH AMICUS

CURIAE JAMES CLANCY HAS FILED AMICUS

CURIAE AND APPELLATE BRIEFS IN THIS COURT

IN OBSCENITY LITIGATION DURING 1963-1990.

Reference: Brief Amicus Curiae Of James J. Clancy In

Reno v, ACLU. Et AL, U.S. Supreme

Court No. 96-511 At Page 2

3-1

Smith v. California, 375 U.S. 259, 11 L.Ed.2d 311

(1963).

Arnebergh v. Zeitlin , 375 U.S. 957, 11 L.Ed.2d

315 (1963).

Lacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184, 12 L.Ed.2d 793,

1333 (1964).

Memoirs _v. Massachusetts, 383 US. 413. 16

L.Ed.2d 1, 1052 (1966).

Ginzburg v. United States, (two briefs): 383 U.S.

463, 16 L.Ed.2d 31, 1079 (1966)

Mishkin v. New York, 383 U.S. 502, 16 L.Ed.2d

56, 1082 (1966).

Redrup v. New York, (two briefs): 386 U.S. 767,

18 L.Ed.2d 515, 1520 (1967).

Austin v. Kentucky, (two briefs): 386 U.S. 767, 18

L.Ed.2d 515, 1520 (1967).

Aday v. United States, 388 U.S. 447, 18 L.Ed.2d

1309 (1967).

Ginsberg v. New York. (two briefs): 390 U.S. 629,

20 L.Ed.2d 195, 1486 (1968).

Cain v. Kentucky, 397 U.S. 434, 35 L.Ed.2d 334

(1970)

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

3-2

Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15, 29 L.Ed.2d 284,

1010 (197}).

Rabe v. Washington, 405 U.S. 313, 31 L.Ed.2d 258

(1972).

Papish v. Board of Curators, 411 U.S. 960, 36

L.Ed.2d 419 (1973).

Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49, 37

L.Ed.2d 446 ( 1973).

Heller v. New York, 413 U.S. 483, 37 L.Ed.2d 745

(1973).

Roaden v. Kentucky, 413 U.S. 496, 37 L.Ed.2d 757

(1973).

Grove Press v. Flask, 413 U.S. 902, 37 L.Ed.2d

1013 (1973).

“hi ” v

413 U.S. 905, 37 L.Ed.2d 1016 (1973).

Michigan v. Bloss, 413 U.S. 909, 37 L.Ed.2d 1021

(1973).

Huffman v. U.S. District Court, 413 U.S. 918, 37

L.Ed.2d 1039 (1973).

Boyd v. Ohio, 418 U.S. 945, 41 L.Ed.2d 1175

(1973).

23.

24.

28.

‘a2

‘a2

3-3

Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 153, 41 L.Ed.2d 642

(1974).

Smith v. Keaton, 419 U.S. 1043, 42 L.Ed.2d 636

(1974).

Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd., (two briefs): 420 U.S.

592. 43 L.Ed.2d 482 (1975) (James J. Clancy

presented oral argument).

Fair _v. Smith, 421 U.S. 902, 43 L.Ed.2d 769

(1975).

Art Theatre Guild v. Ewing, 421 U.S. 923, 44

L.Ed.2d 82 (1975).

People, ex rel. Camil v. Superior Court, 424 U.S.

943, 47 L.Ed.2d 348 (1976).

Alabama, ex rel. Sweeton v. General Corp., 425

U.S. 904, 47 L.Ed.2d 753 (1976).

Smith v. United States, 426 U.S. 946, 49 L.Ed.2d

1183 (1976).

People, ex rel. Camil v. Superior Court, 429 U.S.

1097, 51 L.Ed.2d 544 (1977).

Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188, 51 L.Ed.2d

260 (1977).

Harmer v. “Devil in Miss Jones”, 430 U.S. 967,

§2 L.Ed.2d 359 (1977).

34.

35.

37.

38.

39.

41.

42.

43.

3-4

Splawn v. California, 431 U.S. 595, 52 L.Ed.2d

606 (1977).

Harmer v. “Deep Throat”, 432 U.S. 907, 53

L.Ed.2d 1079 (1977).

Ballew v. Georgia, 435 U.S. 223, 55 L.Ed.2d 839

(1978).

City of East Detroit v. Llewellyn, 438 U.S. 909. $7

L.Ed.2d 1152 (1978).

Lo-Ji Sales v. New York, 442 U.S. 319, 60 L.Ed.2d

920 (1979).

Vance v. Universal Amusement Co., (two briefs):

445 U.S. 308, 63 L.Ed.2d 413 (1980).

City of Newport v, Fact Concerts, 453 U.S. 247, 69

L.Ed.2d 616 (1981).

Cooper v. Mitchell Brothers’ Santa Ana Theatre,

(three briefs): 454 U.S. 90, 70 L.Ed.2d 262 (1981).

Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, 454 U.S. 1022. 70

L.Ed.2d 468 (1981).

U.S. Marketing, Inc. v. Idaho, (three briefs):

review granted, 434 U.S. 1140, 71 L.Ed.2d 291

(Jan. 11, 1982), appeal dismissed by US.

Marketing, 455 U.S. 1009, 71 L.Ed.2d 878 (March

10, 1982).

45.

47.

48.

3-5

James J. Clancy, 2 al. v. Jartech, Inc., (three

briefs): 459 U.S. 826, 74 L.Ed.2d 62 (1982).

Petition for Writ of Certiorari in Billmeyer v.

Tevar, No. 83-2041 (1984). Petition denied as

untimely. Blackmun and Stevens would deny the

petition. 469 U.S. 872, 83 L.Ed.2d 152, 105 S.Ct.

223 (Oct. 1, 1984).

Amicus Curiae Brief of City Attorney of Renton.

Washington, in Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc.,

a@_al., No. 84-28 (1984), and Eikemberry v. J-R

Dist., Inc., No. 84-143, reversed and remanded in

470 U.S. 491, 86 L.Ed.2d 394 (June 19, 1985).

Petition for Writ of Certiorari in People ex rel Ed

C City A Ss ' “elif »

7 , No.

85-439, denied in 474 U.S. 948, 88 L.Ed.2d 293,

rehearing denied, 474 U.S. 1077, 88 L.Ed.2d 811

(Nov. 4, 1985).

Ci rc Municipal C .s

5 ‘or C F the S f California for th

County of Riverside, 475 U.S. 1121, 90 L.Ed.2d

184, 106 S.Ct. 1638 (April. 21, 1986) (No.

85-1402) petition for certiorari filed 2/18/86,

denied 4/21/86).

49.

50.

51.

$2.

$3.

54.

3-6

City of Corona v. Superior Court, No. 86-17,

petition for certiorari filed July 2,1986. Defense

Attorney Diamond was requested to make response

August 2,1986. Diamond declined opposition to

writ on August 27, 1986. Petition denied in 479

U.S. 848, 93 L.Ed.2d 108 (October 6, 1986).

Petition for Writ of Certiorarn in Citizens for

Decency through Law, Inc. v. Oak Industries,

Inc., No. 86-394, denied in US. ,

LEd2d ; SCt (19 ).

City of Paducah, a al _v. Investment

Entertainment. Inc.. ef al, 479 U.S. 915, 93

L.Ed.2d 290 (1986).

Amicus Curiae Brief of City of Santa Ana in

Support of Respondent in Pope, ef al v. Illinois.

481 U.S. 497, 95 L.Ed. 2d 439 (May 4, 1987).

Richard A Dist. A f Erie C

Cloud Books, Inc., 478 U.S. 697, 92 L.Ed.2d 568

(1986)

Herceg v. Hustler Magazine, No. 87-113, Petition

for Certiorari filed July 19, 1987. Motion to file

amicus brief granted October 5, 1987. Certiorari

denied March 21, 1988, 485 U.S. 959, 99 L.Ed. 2d

420 (March 21, 1988).

55.

3-7

Amicus Curise Brief of James J. Clancy as Attorney

for Applegate and Linda Marciano in Fort Wayne

Books, Inc. v. Indiana, No. 87-470, filed July 7,

1988; motion grantedin U.S. ,102L.Ed2d

21 (October 3, 1988), 489 US. , 103 L.Ed. 2d

34 (February 21, 1989).

Karen Applegate, et al. v. Superior Court and

People v. Freeman, No. 88-1050, Petition for

Certioran denied, US. , 103 L.Ed.2d 194

(February 21, 1989).

APPENDIX 4

COPY OF BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF CITIZENS FOR

DECENT LITERATURE, INC., IN RALPH GINZBURG,

ETAL V._U.,S,, FILED IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, U.S. SUPREME

COURT, OCTOBER TERM, 1965, NO. 42.

Reference: Brief Amicus Curiae Of James J. Clancy In

Reno v, ACLU, Et AL, U.S. Supreme

Court No. 96-511 At Page 4

eee

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1965

No. 42

RALPH GINZBURG, DOCUMENTARY BOOKS, INC..

EROS MAGAZINE, INC., LIAISON NEWS LETTER, INC -

Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to

the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

Brief Amicus Curiae of

Citizens for Decent Literature, Inc., an Ohio Corporation,

in Support of Respondent

CHARLES H. KEATING, JR.

3300 Carew Tower

Cmemnati, Ohio 45202

JAMES J. CLANCY

9055 La Tuna Canyon Road

Sun Valley, California

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

me ee eee

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

Sees On tens weetee oe pe. l

i 2

United States of America: case in chief .................. 7

Ralph Ginzburg et al.'s defemse .............ccccccccccceceoseceeee. 10

United States of America: rebuttal 2...0..000000.............. 26

ny oo oe 29

FOE ciccrentnsdliiticdininnin a Se es ee 32

) I.

An integrated review of the obscenity case law .... 32

eg NLT RAE Rc ea a innaiea 32

B. The problem of previous restraint cases ........ 38

C. The no clear majority decisions ........................ 41

D. A major national problem o.oo. 43

E. A problem of communication 2.000.000.0000... 45

a 51

IT.

This Court should affirm the judgment ................ 54

OEE ae 54

B. The Roth-Alberts facts control ........................ 56

C. The Roth-Alberts standards 2.000.000.0000... 60

D. The Trial Court followed the Roth-Alberts

ESS Se 0 61

Si > | > > eee 62

2. The Housewife’s Handbook of Selective

a ee ee eT 63

oe Og, ee eae 66

eel

Appendix A. The Housewife’s Handbook on Selec-

tive Promiscuity

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

A Quantity of Books v. Kansas, 378 U.S. 205, 84

S. Ct. 1723, 12 L. Ed. 2d 809 .......... 38, 40, 42, 52

Alberts v. California, 314 U.S. 160 000000. 58

Alberts v. California, 354 U.S. 476, 77 S. Ct. 1314,

+e 5 Ea 29, 31, 34, 37, 38, 39

FOL SEY PC EE 40, 53, 55, 56, 58, 60

American Civil Liberties Union v. City of Chicago,

3 Ill. 2d 334, 121 N.E. 2d 585 ............ htt tetas, hte 76

Arizona v. Locks, 97 Ariz. 148, 397 P. 2d 949 ........ 42

Astore v. U.S., 288. F. 2d 26, cert. den. 366 U.S.

825, 81 S. Ct. 1352, 6 L. Ed. 2d 384 .................... 47

Bantam Books Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58, 83

S. Ct. 631, 9 L. Ed. 2d 584. 176 A. 2d 393 ........ 38, 52

Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343 U.S. 250, 72 S. Ct. 725,

EE re ee eT 34

Burstein v. U.S., 178 F. 2d 6685 ...................... 62, 66, 69

Butler v. Mich, 352 U.S. 80 ........ 46

Cain, Robert H. v. U.S., 274 F. 2d 598, cert. den.

362 U.S. 952, 80 S. Ct. 864, 4 L. Ed. 2d 869 .... 46

California v. Milton Luros, et al., Superior Court

Case No. 295,183 : .. 43

Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568, 86 L.

& FF . e-) ae ..33, 34, 62, 72

Chi. v. Charles Kimmel, 63 M.C. 190116 —.................. 18

Chi. v. Dahlia, 64 M.C. 127005 -..00.2..2..-..ccecceceeceeeee 18

Chi. v. Soden, 63 M.C. 155883 ...................--cecceseeeee- 18

Chi. v. Westbery, 63 M.C. 104281 2.2... eeeeeees 18

Chi. v. Wood, 63 M.C. 156720 0.0..........0.....ccccccccceeeee 18

Chobot, Joseph v. Wisconsin, 12 Wis. 2d 110, 106

N.W. 2d 286, 368 U.S. 15, 82 S. Ct. 136, 7 L.

Ed. 2d 85, rehear. den. 368 U.S. 936, 82 S. Ct.

se & § ee 45, 47, 59

Ww

iv.

Page

Collier, Frank L. v. U.S., 283 F. 2d 780, cert. den.

365 U.S. 833, 81 S. Ct. 746, 5 L. Ed. 2d 744 ..45, 47

Connecticut v. Andrews, 150 Conn. 92, 186 A. 2d

EP a ERMA nn MRT TELS ER aE 39, 50

Connecticut v. Sul, 146 Conn. 78, 147 A. 2d 686 ...... 71

Dale Book Co. v. Leary, 233 F. Supp. 756 .......... 18, 40

Darnell, John ITI, v. U.S., 316 F. 2d 813, 375 U.S.

916, 84 S. Ct. 205, 11 L. Ed. 2d 155, 375 U.S.

982, 84 S. Ct. 493, 11 L. Ed. 2d 429 20. 49

Finkelstein, Louis et al. v. New York, 229 N.Y.S.

2d 367, 183 N.E. 2d 661, cert. den., 371 U/S.

863, 83 S. Ct. 116, 9 L. Ed. 2d 100 ou... 48

Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51 2.0... 38, 52

Fried, Harry v. New York, 238 N.Y.S. 2d 742, 378

U.S. 578, 84 S. Ct. 1904, 12 L. Ed. 2d 1033 ........ 49

Goldstein, Arthur v. Virginia, 372 U.S. 910, 83 S.

ee £25 & ), Pee aT 45, 48

Grove Press Inc. v. Gerstein, 378 U.S. 577 ........ 41, 42

Hadley v. Arkansas, 205 Ark. 1027, 172 S.W. 2d

I EE a AD 39

Haldeman v. U. S., 340 F.2d 59 occ ccececeseeseeneeee 45

Heinecke, Alfred J. v. U.S., 368 U.S. 901, 82 S. Ct.

ae an ee Oe OO tbe St ee 45, 48

Hochman, Samuel R. v. U.S., 277 F. 2d 631, 364

U.S. 837, 8’ ©. Ct. 70, 5 L. Ed. 2d 61, rehear.

den., 364 U.>. 906, 81 S. Ct. 231, 5 L. Ed.

| eee See ee 46, 47

Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184, 84 S. Ct. 1676, 12

= &, ae re 42, 45, 51, 59, 71, 73, 76

Kahn, Harold S. v. U.S., 300 F. 2d 78, cert. den.

369 U.S. 859, 82 S. Ct. 949, 8 L. Ed. 2d 18 ........ 48

King v. Commonwealth, 233 S.W. 2d 522 ...0000.0....... 39

Vv.

Page

Kingsley Book Inc. vy. Brown, 354 US. 436, 77 S.

Cr. 1325, 1 L. Ed. 2d 1469 ................ 39, 59, 71

Larkin v. G. I. Distributors Inc., 14 N.Y. 2d 869 .... 41

Larkin v. G. P. Putnam's Sons, 14 N_Y. 2d 399 ....41, 75

Luros v. Hanson. Sept. 27, 1965, Oct. Term. 1965,

tec cnc RS BALL ES ON ee 39

Manual Enterprises Inc. v. Day, 370 U.S. 478, 82

S. Ct. 1432, 8 L. Ed. 24 639, 289 F. 2d 455 ....38, 40

ssenstbclsitsitacaiitinatctbicnscinnioelbubi cite tet ia * dt 41, 42, 52

Marcus v. Kansas City Search Warrants, 367 U.S.

717, 81 S. Ct. 1708, 6 L. Ed. 2d 1127, 344 S.W.

OO GOD acide! chelates tieirniathaatsiege ates 38, 40, 52

Matthews, John G. v. Florida, 356 U. S. 918, 78 S.

Ce FOR OO Oe Bt 900 ne ee 46

Mishkin, Edward vy. U.S.. 317 F. 2d 634, cert. den.

375 U.S. 827, 84 S. Ct. 71, 11 L. Ed. 2d 60 .... 48

Missouri v. Becker, 364 Mo. 1079, 272 S.W. 2d 283 39

Missouri v. Vollmar, 389 S.W. 2d 20... 40

Monired, Harry et al. v. Maryland, 226 Md. 312, 173

A. 2d 173, cert. den. 368 U.S. 953, 82 S. Ct.

om Fo. OR OOO 45, 47, 48

Mounce v. U.S., 355 U.S. 180, 2 L. Ed. 2d 187, 247

F. 2d 148, 134 F. Supp. 490 00 38

Near v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697, 51 S. Ct. 625,

sod 2 Ma CaS 29, 33, 34, 38, 53

Nebraska v. Jungclaus, 176 Neb. 641, 126 N.W. 2d

858

New York v. Harry Fried, 18 A. 2d 996, 238 N.Y.S.

Pe a liccinitiareneinn tlie oe Set 44

New York v. Ray Kirk, Birch, All State News Co.

Inc., et al., 40 Misc. 2d 626, 243 N.Y.S. 24 525 44

New York v. Richmond County News Co., 175 N.E.

at ah en ee «Bo Ae eae eae BY 40, 41

vi.

Page

A. v. U.S., 290 F. 2d 517, cert. den.

368 U.S. 888, 82 S. Ct. 139, 7 L. Ed. 2d 87,

rehear. den. 368 U.S. 936, 82 S. Ct. 358, 7 L.

NE i eeenencsinictnhentptemegnsaglinmeseneimtincinges AS, 47

One Inc. v. Olesen, 355 U.S. 371, 78 S. Ct. 364, 2

a Fe OE YF, ; eee 38

Outdoor American Corporation v. City of Philadel-

phia, 333 F. 2d 1963, cert. den. 85 S. Ct. 192, 13

PRED peat aegis ae aan 39

Padell, Max v. U.S., 262 F. 2d 357, cert. on.

359 U.S. 942, 79 S. Ct. 723, 3 L. Ed. 2d 676 .... 46

Parr, Wyman Hulan v. U.S. 255 F. 2d 86, cert. én.

358 U.S. 824, 79 S. Ct. 40, 3 L. Ed. 2d 64 ........ 46

People v. Bruce, 31 Ill. 2d 459, 202 N.E. 2d 497 ..76, 77

People v. Fritch, 13 N.Y. 2d 119 o.ececcccccccccseeeneeee 41

People v. The Bookcase Inc. et al., 14 N.Y. 2d 409 .. 41

Poss v. Christenberry, 179 F. Supp. 411 ............00.... 70

Rosen v. U. S., 161 U.S. 606 220.2... ccccccsescecseeeee 32, 34

Roth v. U.S., 354 U.S. 476, 77 S. Ct. 1314, 1

L. Ed. 2d 1498 spicnsietiieeiiiaania 29, 31, 34, 38, 39, 40, 53

a ee ee) 56, 58, 60, 65, 67; 71, 72, 76

State v. Andrews, 186 A. 2d 546 sha 72

Sunshine Book Co. v. Summerfield, 355 U.S. 372,

78 S. Ct. 365, 2 L. Ed. 2d 352, 249 F. 2d 114,

ek ee ne 38, 70

Times Film Corporation v. City of Chicago, 355

U.S. 35, 78 S. Ct. 115, 2d L. Ed. 2d 72, 244 F.

24 432, 199 F. Sepp. 839 nee cncececesecersenceceenstes 38, 39

Times Film Corp. v. City of Chicago, 365 U.S. 43,

81S. Ct. 391, 5 L. Ed. 2d 403, 272 F. 2d 90, 180

| a ae ey ae 38

Tralins v. Gerstein, 378 U.S. 576, 84 S. Ct. 1903,

iS | | eet 42

one

Trans-Lux Distributing Corp. v. Board of Reg ts

of the University of New York, 380 U.S, 259, 85

S. Ce. 952, 13 L. Ed. 2d 999 .......................... 38, 52

United States v. Kennerley, 209 Fed. 119... 65

United States v. Klaw and Jack Kramer, 350 F. 2d

ae ae ee 45

United States v. Levine, 83 F. 2d 156... 62, 66

United States v. Linetsky, No. T-CR 582 ....... 45

United States v. Ralph Ginzburg et al., 224 F.

Supp. 129 ....... estrone el aaa 28

United States v. Ralph Ginzburg. et al., 338 F. 2d

8 a ES eS € Pals Be Bs ae 29

United States v. Roth, 237 F. 2d 796... 56

United States v. Wasserman No. T-CR 581...._. 45

United States v. West Coast News Co., et al., 228 F.

EE Ses ees eee ee eee ae Se 19

Wenzler, Harold Eugene. Sr., and John Imlay v.

California, 377 U.S. 994, 84 S. Ct. 1902, 12 L. Ed.

2d 1047, 85 S. Ct. 14, 13 L. Ed. 2d 77 ........ 45, 49, 50

Williamson, Samuel Dodd v. California, 207 Cal.

App. 2d 839, 24 Cal. Rptr. 734, 377 U.S. 994,

84S. Ct. 1902, 12 L. Ed. 2d 1047, 85 S. Ct. 13, 13

XS ee eee 49

Womack, Herman v. U.S., 294 F. 2d 204, cert.

den. 365 U.S. 859, 81 S. Ct. 826, 5 L. Ed. 2d

Zeitlin v. Arnebergh, 59 Cal. 2d 901, 31 Cal. Rptr.

EE ee ee ee 41, 75

Zucker, Harold v. New York, 371 U.S. 863, 83 S.

e 8 se + Se 48

Zuideveld, Nirvana Ward v. U.S., 316 F. 2d 873,

376 U.S. 916, 84 S. Ct. 671, 11 L. Ed. 2d 612 ... 49

Dictionary

Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Fifth Edition ........ 32

Miscellaneous

American Law Institute, Model Penal Code (1957

8 OA YY eee 53, 66, 73

American Law Institute, Model Penal Code (1957),

Sh, STE ciatusnctnesenintinnsentemneninmmmnnaiiie 61

American Law Institute, Model Penal Code (1957),

PF FES 63, 65, 67

American Law Institute, Model Penal Code (1962),

See. 251.4(4) oe. 59

41 Chicago Bar Record (1960), pp. 416, 418 ............ 54

IX Frumkin, Robert M., Dr., Journal of Hu-

man Relations (Summer 1962), p. 513 5

XL Notre Dame Lawyer, No. 1 (Dec. 1964), p.

CS a a S4

Statutes

United States Code, Title 18, Sec. 1461 .............4, 5, 10

United States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1257 58

United States Constitution, First Amendment ...... 2

United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment ....... 68

United States Constitution, Sixth Amendment ........ 68

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amenement

Textbooks

49 American Bar Association Journal — —

Oa ae

Black, Handbook of — Precedent (1912), pp.

35-835 ........... ;' 42

ix.

Page

45 Minnesota Law Review, p. § .................... 56, 57, 58

45 Minnesota Law Review, p. 20 .00..........ccceccceeeeeeeens 56

45 Minnesota Law Review, p. 21 ..............2..---ccececceoee 57

45 Minnesota Law Review, p. 22 ........ pounantinmicasamantente 57

45 Minnesota Law Review, p. 25 ........-....ccecceereeeens 58

Stern and Gressman, Supreme Court Practice, 3rd

ee 58

Stern and Gressman, Supreme Court Practice, 3rd

ic 1s TD abitveiintiemiesimiennmentnneamenemccen 51

Wambaugh, The Study of Cases (2nd Ed., 1894). p :

CREE SN Ae ERS Rae er 42

N THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1965

No. 42

Ratex Gixzsurc, DocuMENTARY Books, Inc., Eros

Macazinxe, Inc., Liatson News Letter, INc.,

Petitioners,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

Brief Amicus Curiae of Citizens for Decent Litera-

ture, Inc., an Ohio Corporation, in Support of

Respondent.

¢ Interest of Amicus Curiae.

Citizens for Decent Literature, Inc., an Ohio Corpor-

ation, with local affiliates throughout the United States

is a non-profit, non-sectarian and non-political corpora-

tion with national headquarters in Cincinnati, Ohio,

formed for and dedicated to the cause of good, decent

and wholesome literature with a view to oppose and

eliminate obscene literature, by cooperating with law en-

forcement in the enforcement of the laws. For the

i a

=

aim

Court’s convenience amicus curiae is hereinafter re-

ferred to by the single short title, CDL.

CDL believes that there exists a growing flood of

publications, purposely designed and manufactured with

a sensationalized appeal to prurient interest, that threat-

ens to overthrow the basic morality upon which our na-

tion and our Constitution were founded; that while the

First Amendment of our Constitution has, from the

time of our nation’s founding, been construed to afford

no protection to such publications, a loud voice is now

being heard in the court-room advocating the overruling

of this “balancing of interest” interpretation in favor

of an absolutist approach, aimed at nullifying the na-

tion’s basic obscenity laws.

At its national convention in Chicago during October

of 1963, the national organization of Citizens for De-

cent Literature adopted a policy aimed at giving in-

creased support in the fight against “obscenity,”

through legal advocacy in the courtroom in support of

the people’s case.

Ralph Ginzburg, et al. v. United States of America

is a case of nationwide importance which will have a

serious effect on enforcement of the obscenity statutes

throughout the nation.

Statement of the Case.

On August 13, 1962, Eros Magazine, Inc. of 110

West 40th Street, New York, requested an application

to mail without affixed postage from the post office

at Middlesex, New Jersey, through General Mailing

Corporation, a mail-order house patron of the Middlesex

post office. Permit No. 8 was issued on August 14,

1962.

enGine

In letters dated September 4, 1962 and October 18,

1962, Eros Magazine, Inc. wrote the postmasters of

Blue Ball, Pa., and Intercourse, Pa. as follows:

“After a great deal of deliberation we have Ge-

cided that it might be advantageous for our direct

mail to bear the postmark of your city.”

The letters were on Eros Magazine, Inc. stationery and

were signed by Frank R. Brady, Associate Publisher of

Mr. Ginzburg. The postmaster of Intercourse, Pa., by

letter dated September 8, 1962, replied that his post of-

fice was too small to handle bulk mailings.

Eros Magazine, Inc. of 110 West 40th St., New

York, commenced mailings from Middlesex post office

on October 7, 1962, Approximately 5,053,884 pieces of

bulk mail advertisements for Eros Magazine had been

mailed up to the date of trial, June 10, 1962, at a total

cost of $132,704.93.

On November 20, 1962, Documentary Books, Inc.,

requested an application to mail without affixed post-

age from the post office at Middlesex, New Jersey,

through General Mailing Corporation, a mail-order house

patron of the Middlesex post office. Permit No. 8 was

issued on November 20, 1962. Thereafter 5,543 copies

of “The Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promis-

cuity” were shipped from that post office.

First-class mailings of Liaison News Letter, Inc.

were also mailed from the Middlesex post of fice.

An investigation was commenced within days after

the first mailings of Eros at Middlesex, New Jersey.

Thereafter testimony was presented to a Federal

Grand Jury sitting in the Eastern District of Pennsyl-

vania, which on March 15, 1963, returned its true bill

OEE aoe ————o-_o™ —

of indictment charging petitioners in 28 counts with

mailing obscene publications and advertisements for

such publications, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1461 [R.

la, 6a-13a]}.

Petitioner Ralph Ginzburg was named in all 28

counts, One of the three corporate petitioners was also

named with Ginzburg as a co-defendant in each of the

28 counts.

Petitioners Ralph Ginzburg and Documentary Books,

Inc. were charged with three counts (Counts 1 through

3) of having caused the mailing of advertisements to

two persons in Philadelphia and one person in Haver-

town, Pa., on November 15, November 17 and Decem-

ber 12, 1962, telling where an obscene book, “The

Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity” by

Rey Anthony could be obtained. The same petitioners

were also charged with six counts (Counts 11 through

16) of having caused the mailing of the same obscene

book to six persons in Philadelphia, Pa.

The petitioners Ralph Ginzburg and Liaison News

Letter, Ind. were charged with three counts (Counts 4

through 6) of having caused the mailing of advertise-

ments on November 27, 1963 to three persons in New

Hope, Pa., Havertown, Pa., and Paoli, Pa., telling

where an obscene pamphlet, named “Liaison, Vol. 1, No.

1” could be obtained. The same petitioners were also

charged with four counts (Counts 23 through 28) of

having caused the mailing of the same obscene pamphlet,

“Liaison, Vol. I, No. 1” to four persons in Philadelphia,

Pa., one person in Jenkintown, Pa., and one person in

Valley Forge, Pa.

Petitioners Ralph Ginzburg and Eros Magazine, Inc.

were charged with four counts (Counts 7 through 10)

==

of having .aused the mailing of advertisements on

March 24, November 17, December 11, and December

18, 1962, to persons in Philadelphia, Pa., Rosemont, Pa.,

Chester, Pa., and Elkins Park, Pa., telling where an

obscene book, named Eros, Vol. 1, No. 4, could be ob-

tained. The same petitioners were also charged with six

counts (Counts 17 through 22) of having caused the

mailing of the same obscene book, Eros Vol. 1, No. 4,

to five persons in Philadelphia, Pa., and one person in

Gladwyne, Pa.

On April 11, 1963, petitioners filed a motion to dis-

miss the 18 counts of the 28-count indictment which

pertained to “The Housewife’s Handbook on Selective

Promiscuity” and Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1 on the ground

that such materials were not obscene within the mean-

ing of 18 U.S.C. Section 1461 [R. 13a]. Copies of the

book and pamphlet and advertisements referred to in

the 18 counts were attached to the motion as exhibits.

Annexed to the motion was an affidavit of petitioner

Ralph Ginzburg [R. 14a-l6a] saying that “prior here-

to and in February 1962” he had written 1000 “prom-

inent persons” asking their view on “The Housewife’s

Handbook” and annexing 69 replies thereto, together

with a book review of the “Handbook” by William J.

Bryan, Jr. M.D. appearing in the Journal of the Ameri-

can Institute of Hypnosis, January 1962 and a book

review of the “Handbook” by Dr. Robert M. Frumkin,

appearing in the Journal of Human Relations, Summer

1962, Vol. IX, page 513.

On May 8, 1963, petitioners acknowledged by stipula-

tion that in all counts in which the three publications or

the advertisements pertaining thereto were involved,

they “did knowingly mail or cause to be mailed the ma-

terials set forth in those counts on the dates set forth,

cities

fully knowing the contents of said materials.” [R. 149a,

150a, 152a].

On May 17, 1963, the people’s motion to strike the

Ginzburg affidavit and its 69 annexed exhibits was

granted. On May 23, 1963 petitioners’ motion to dis-

miss the 18 counts of the 28-count indictment was de-

nied [R. 15la].

On June 10, 1963, petitioners filed a waiver of trial

by jury [R. 2a]. The case was tried to the court on

June 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14, 1963, and the trial judge

rendered his verdict on June 14, 1963.

During its case in chief, the United States of Amer-

ica called the postmasters of Middlesex, New Jersey,

Blue Ball, Pa., and Intercourse, Pa., the postal inspector

of Middlesex, New Jersey, and the editor of Liaison

Vol. 1, No. 1. After introducing in evidence a copy of

“The Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity,”

“Eros Vol. 1, No. 4” and “Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1,” and

the ten advertisements and their mailing envelopes, sup-

porting Counts 1 through 10, the people rested.

In their defense, petitioners called seven witnesses: A

clinical psychologist, an art critic, the author of “The

Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity,” a

magazine editor, an attorney, a psychiatrist, and a

Southern Baptist minister/family counselor. Eight

books and pamphlets were introduced into evidence as

examples of “hard-core pornography” and 34 magazines

and paperback books were introduced into evidence as

having been recently purchased in shops in New York

City and Philadelphia. Pa.

In rebuttal the United States Government called

three witnesses: two psychiatrists (one male and one

female), and a Baptist minister/family counselor.

=

United States of America: Case in Chief.

Arthur J. Rodgers, Jr., the Postmaster of Blue Ball,

Pa. testified as follows: In the course of his business as

postmaster he had received a letter on the stationery of

Eros Magazine, Inc. dated October 18, 1962. and signed

by Frank R. Brady, Associate Publisher of Mr. Ginz-

burg, reading in part, “After a great deal of delibera-

tion, we have decided that it might be advantageous for

our direct mail to bear the postmark of your city. . . .”

[R. 152a-155a, Ex. G-1]. The postmaster’s reply was

not offered in evidence, nor was there evidence present-

ed of any mailings from the Blue Ball post office.

Miss Bertha M. Martin, the postmaster of Inter-

course, Pa., testified as follows: In the course of her

business as postmaster, she had received a similar letter

on the stationery of Eros Magazine, Inc., dated Sep-

tember 4, 1962, and signed by Frank R. Brady, reading

in part: “After a great deal of deliberation, we have de-

cided that it might be advantageous for our direct mail

to bear the postmark of your city. . . .” She informed

the originator by letter that, because of limited facili-

ties, the Intercourse post office would not be able to

handle bulk mailings in such a volume [R. 156a-159a].

Robert W. Sanders, the postmaster of Middlesex,

New Jersey, testified as follows: On August 13, 1962,

petitioner Eros Magazine, Inc. of 110 West 40th Street,

New York, requested an application to mail without af-

fixed postage, through General Mailing Corporation, a

mail-order house patron of Middlesex post office. Per-

mit No. 8 was issued on the following day. Substar.tial

bulk mailings commenced on October 7, 1962 and con-

tinued to the present time (June 10, 1963). Approxi-

mately 5,053,884 pieces of third-class bulk mail contain-

=_

ing advertisements for Eros Magazine went out, at a

mailing cost of $132,704.93. The total pieces of all

classes of mail was 6,067,573 and the cost of mailing

was $163,438.48.

On November 20, 1962, petitioner Documentary

Books, Inc. requested an application to mail without af-

fixed postage, through the same mail-order house pa-

tron of Middlesex post office and Permit No. 8 was

issued by his post office (Middlesex) on the same date.

A total of 5,543 copies of “The Housewife’s Handbook

on Selective Promiscuity” were received for mailing.

Liaison News Letter, Inc. also mailed first-class

mailings through his post office (Middlesex).

J. Shane Creamer. the Assistant United States At-

torney, placed in evidence the ten advertisements and

mailing envelopes which were received through the mail,

which were the basis for the first ten counts of the in-

dictment. The exhibits were the subject of a stipulation

previously filed with the Court on May 8, 1963, in

which the petitioners acknowledged that they did “know-

ingly mail or cause to be mailed” the same “on the

dates set forth, fully knowing the contents of said ma-

terials.” [R. 165a, 149a, 150a, 152a].

Hugh J. McDermott, a postal inspector of Middlesex

post office testified that he began investigating the

case as to a violation of the postal obscenity statutes

within days after the first mailings of Eros at the Mid-

dlesex post office [R. 172a].

John Willis Darr, the editor of “Liaison Vol. 1, No.

1,” the pamphlet named in the indictments, testified that

he had been a writer for twelve years and as such had

been referred to the Eros offices in September or Oc-

~~

tober of 1962, by an employment agency [R. 173a].

After an interview with Warren Boroson, he received a

post card from Mr. Ginzburg inviting him to submit

samples of his past work which he did. Within a week

of the time that he was referred by the employment

agency, he was interviewed by Mr. Ginzburg, who told

him he was looking for an editor and writer for Liai-

son. “Liaison” was to cover the same scope as “Eros,”

but in a more newsworthy fashion [R. 174a]. Follow-

ing this interview and at Ginzburg’s request, he sub-

mitted an article called “How to Run a Successful

Orgy” to their offices, which later appeared in Liaison

News Letter in a revised form [R. 175a]. Later Ginz-

burg telephoned him and said, “When can you start to

work?” [R. 177a]. He was hired at a salary of $7500

a year [R. 18la].

As editor of “Liaison” he inherited a collection of

magazines, newspapers, clippings and notes which he

used as research material and background for the news-

letter [R. 177a]. He identified, as having been written

by him, the statement of policy, appearing on page 1,

the article, “Semen in the Diet,” appearing on pages 4

and 5 and the article, “Sing a Song of Sex Life,” ap-

pearing on pages 5 and 6 of “Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1”

[R. 179a, 181la]. All of the copy for the newsletter was

placed in a basket on the desk of the front office and

from there it was transported up to Ginzburg’s office

upstairs. As a rule he would get the material back on

his desk the next day.

Ginzburg gave him instructions that the last page

should not contain any four-letter words. The newslet-

ter was folded for mailing in such a manner that two-

thirds of the last page was exposed to those handling

-—-

= =

the mails [R. 179a]. As to the statement of policy,

Ginzburg might have said, “It is all right” or “It is

good” or something like that [R. 179a]. He had a dis-

cussion with Ginzburg about his reaction to the article,

“Sing a Song of Sex Life.” They discussed the line

“The professors have crawled out of the dust and dis-

covered lust” and he thought Ginzburg liked that line

[R. 18a].

At the time of his termination of employment in No-

vember of 1962, he had completed five issues of “Liai-

son” and two had been published [R. 183a].

The Assistant United States Attorney placed in evi-

dence a copy of “Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1” [Ex. G-16, R.

178a]. “The Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Prom-

iscuity” by Rey Anthony [Ex. G-17, R. 184a] and

“Eros, Winter, 1962, Vol. 1, No. 4” [Ex. G-18, R.

185a] and rested the Government's case in chief.

Petitioners’ motion for dismissal of the indictment

on the ground that the Government had failed to make

out a case under 18 U.S.C. Section 1461 was denied.

Ralph Ginzburg et al.’s Defense.

Dr. Charles G. McCormick, a clinical psychologist,

testified that pornographic material could be described

in psychological terms and gave his opinion as to what

he, as a psychologist, considered to be pornography [R.

188a]. In his opinion pornographic material must “com-

bine both the sense of pleasure and the sense of guilt

or shame” in the individual [R. 188a] and that the

sense of guilt or shame was a “sense of being able to

engage in something that is intrinsically bad to the

reader based upon whatever he had accumulated from

the air in which he grew up. .. .” [R. 189a]. He

thought that most pornographic materials “are pub-

lished secretly . . . without acknowledgement . . . won't

even carry a title page on which the author’s name is

given or the publisher's name is given. There is no date

. » « Mo commitment for responsibility behind it.” And

that these surreptitious factors gave the person who

would read them the impression that sexual expression

was evil, sex was shameful and that what the material

was about was a shameful item [R. 1912]. In his opin-

ion one of the essential building blocks of pornographic

material was the distortion of reality, such as the reac-

tion of the pre-adolescent gir! io her violation in “the

autobiography of the flea.’ Such distortion was neces-

sary ‘‘to bring his readers attention exclusively on at-

tempting to absorb the guilty pleasure from the mate-

rial itself.” “. . . there would have to be something wrong

with the person for” the pornographic material he re-

ferred to not to act as a sexual! stimulant and produce

sexual stimuli. “. . . he would have to be ill in some way,

physically or psychologically.” [R. 193a].

In his opinion, while under certain circumstances, the

view of an attractive nude woman could erotically stim-

ulate an average male and such erotic response would

be felt and experienced by the individual exactly the

same as for pornographic material [R. 194a], the stim-

uli of shame which accompanied pornography would not

be produced in the viewer nor would he have an itching

or a morbid or a licentious sexual arousal unless the per-

son were pathological [R. 195a] or “the publication

were designed to do this, but under ordinary circum-

stances where the publication were a responsible one,

there would be no reason to expect this to be so.”

=_s

In his opinion, a person would have to be extremely

exhibitionistic (pathological) not to feel uncomfortable

about having his neighbor see him reading the material

which he considered as pornographic.

“... im presenting the examples of the type of

material which Dr. McCormick has testified to . . .”

[R. 20la] Sidney Dickstein, the defense counsel, placed

in evidence eight books and pamphlets: “A Small Pig”

booklet [Ex. D-1], a pamphlet, “John Dillinger in a

Hasty Exit” [Ex. D-2], a pamphlet, “Mr. Bregar is

Sold on TV” [Ex. D-3], a booklet, “Dagwood Has a

Family Party Let’s Go” [Ex. D-4], a pamphlet, “Se-

crets Will Out” [Ex. D-5], a book, “The Oxford Pro-

fessor” [Ex. D-6], a book, “The Autobiography of a

Flea” [Ex. D-7], and a book, “Devil’s Advocate” [Ex.

D-8]. Dr. McCormick testified that the effect of such

materials on the average person would “be one of revul-

sion, and one of being assaulted.” “In other words, it is

actually destructive for the individual, the ordinary in-

dividual to read that kind of material because he doesn’t

have the emotional base and he doesn’t have the capac-

ity for keeping context... .”

Dr. McCormick testified that he had read “Lady

Chatterley’s Lover.”” It was his opinion that while Ex-

hibits D-1 through D-8 and “Lady Chatterley’s Lover”

were all sexually stimulating, the impact on the system

of the ordinary individual was radically different. He

said “There is context. The reality setting, the reality

factors, the complications, the responsibilities of the

author, the attitude of the author as he presents the

material... .” [R. 203a]. In “Lady Chatterley’s Lover”

there “is a responsibility in the sense that the actual

presentation by the author gives you reality situations

rather well... .” [R. 204a].

—13—

Dr. McCormick testified that he was acquain' 1 with

“Lolita” by Nabakov. It was his opinion that the sub-

ject matter and themes of “Oxford Professor” (one

incident of which involved the seduction of an immature

girl) and “Autobiography of the Flea” and “Lolita”

(the story of the seduction of a pre-adolescent by an

established psychotic individual) were identical, but the

books were “different” in the way in which they dealt

with the similar subject matter. The difference was re-

ality. “Lolita” was psychologically sound. The author

makes the reader appreciate the fact that “this is one

individual's distortion, but a reality of distortion” [R.

205a]}.

Dr. McCormick testified that he had read “The

Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity” and

that in his opinion the predominant effect of this ma-

terial was not to create in an average person an itching,

morbid or shameful desire or longing with respect to

sex [R. 206a]. In his opinion the book was not morbid,

nor did it tend to corrode and turn the reader against

himself in the process of reading [R. 210a], as was the

case with pornographic material. It gave a realistic pic-

ture of a woman's attitude and activities with respect

to sex [R. 210a]. It would not produce a guilty feeling

in the individual because it was supported by a respon-

sible attitude on the part of the author. A reader will

feel informed rather than guilty after having read it

{R. 21la}.

Dr. McCormick had read “Eros Vol. 1, No. 4” and

was of the opinion that the predominant effect would

not create in the average person an itching or morbid

or shameful desire or longing with respect to sex. He

thought that there were a couple of passages in Eros

that would be erotically stimulating to an average per-

son reading it, such as in the article by Frank Harris

[R. 212a] and the article by the Kronhausens [R. 213a]

and that they would not stimulate in the average person

a morbid or unhealthy attitude toward sex, because of

the reality context that the author, wto is quoted,

maintains. “While erotically stimulating, it is not patho-

logical” [R. 214a].

Dr. McCormick had read “Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1” and

was of the opinion that the predominant effect of it

would not create in the average person an itching, mor-

bid or shameful desire or longing with respect to sex, nor

would it be erotically stimulating [R. 215a]. He was of

the opinion that one who was already perverted (a para-

philiac) would be sexually stimulated because of psychic

distortions [R. 215a]. While both the article by Dr. Al-

bert Ellis and the article “Semen in the Diet” had the

tone of an assault on the reader, neither one would have

any erotic effect because they lacked any established as-

sociation with the reader [R. 216a].

Dr. McCormick was of the opinion “The Housewife’s

Handbook” would be quite useful as an educational in-

strument [R. 216a]. It gave a realistic portrayal of the

evolution of sexual awareness and sexual expression of

“an ordinary everyday person with the natural emo-

tional and intellectual limitations who had to grope.. .

through just like everyone else has to grope his way

through toward some kind of sexual adjustment. . . .”

He considered it a valuable instrument for a person

who was looking for sexual education. He thought the

book would be useful under supervision. The restriction

was imposed for the purpose of guiding the person in

making distinctions “where the layman in reading it

—15—

would not be able to distinguish those aspects hat were

the individual's own problems and those aspects of the

material that were a natural universal problem of get-

ting educated.”” [R. 217a].

The Assistant United States Attorney did not cross-

examine Dr. McCormick.

Horst W. Janson, an ari critic, testified as to the

origin of the etchings, engravings and woodcuts ap-

pearing in “Eros Vol. 1, No. 4” at pages 2, 6, 7, 8, 9,

10, 11, 12, 13 and 81 [R. 219a-220a]. He thought the

photographs on page 73 ct seq. in the essay entitled

“Black and White in Color” were “outstanding, beau-

tifully and artistic photographs.” The photographer had

an “extraordinary sense of form and composition” [R.

221a]. He saw the “symbolic expression of blending

together of the equivalence of the two people represent-

ed,” so familiar in certain British postage stamps, used

as an artistic compositional device, in the first photo-

graph depicting the Caucasian female’s facial profile

superimposed on the Negro male's profile, in the full

page photograph of the two eyes, and in the final full

page photograph depicting the full length nude Negro

male and nude Caucasian female in an amorous embrace.

He was of the opinion that in terms of material and

graphic layout and taste displayed in presenting the ma-

terial, Eros was the equal of any magazine being pub-

lished today [R. 222a].

The Assistant United States Attorney did not cross-

examine Mr. Janson.

Lillian Maxine Serett, the author of “The House-

wife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity,” testified

that she started writing the book 15 years ago and fin-

ished it three years ago. She had gone into the printing

=

business two years prior to finishing the book and had

printed it herself under the title “The Housewife’s

Handbook for Promiscuity” and the printing label,

Seymour Press [R. 223a]. The edition published by

Documentary Books, Inc. had the same textual matter

as her edition [R. 224a] which she originally published

in August and September of 1960. A reprint with an in-

troduction by Dr. Ellis was mailed out to doctors, psy-

chologists, and college professors who were heads of psy-

chology departments. Approximately 400,000 brochures

were mailed since October, 1960 and a little over 12,000

copies had been sold [R. 225a].

She stated that the Kinsey Reports confirmed her

belief that woman’s role in sex was widely misunder-

stood and that she hoped her beok, written in a layman’s

language, could communicate to women that the sexual

activities and attitudes they have are not unusual or

unique, that various forms of sexual expression are nor-

mal and healthy things to do and that women do have

sexual rights [R. 226a].

The Assistant United States Attorney did not cross-

examine Mrs. Serett.

Dwight MacDonald, a magazine editor and literary

film critic, testified that he reads about 200 books a

year or about five a week. He had seen a change or

movement in the permissible limits of sexual candor in

our literature, especially in the last five or six years

{R. 230a]. That “Fanny Hill,” which had always been

regarded as “hardcore pornography” should be published

was extremely significant in his judgment, as was the

publication of “Tropic of Cancer” and “Naked Lunch,”

“which is an extremely, really a sick book” [R. 23la].

_ =

He recalled that six or seven years 0 the models in

girlie magazines had to wear brassieres, whereas now

they can expose their bosoms, although “they can’t be

actually nude from the front anyway, but that will per-

haps come.” In the movie industry of the 20's, one could

not show two people living together who were not mar-

ried, nor could they show a husband and wife in a single

bed [R. 234a]. Now it was possible to show rape, pros-

titution, and explicit scenes of sexual intercourse [R.

235a).

Dwight MacDonald testified that he had read “The

Housewife’s Handbook on Selective Promiscuity” and

that in his opinion, “Speaking as a long-time student of

mass culture in American society” he would say (at it

did not go substantially beyond the customary limits of

candor that American society permits in its literature at

this time.” He thought that it was not a particularly in-

teresting book, that it had no literary value, and that its

only importance would be as case history for doctors.

In comparing it with “Lady Chatterley’s Lover,” he

thought the latter a work of literary art, whereas “The

Housewife’s Handbook” was not [R. 236a].

He was of the opinion that “Liaison Vol. 1. No. 1”

was “an extremely tasteless, vulgar and repulsive issue”

but that it did not go substantially beyond the custom-

ary limits of candor we tolerate in discussion of sexual

matters and that he did not think it obscene or porno-

graphic [R. 237a].

He was of the opinion that “Eros Vol. 1. No. 4” did

not go substantially beyond the customary limits of can-

dor which we in this country now tolerate and accept

[R. 238a]. He was of the opinion that the following

articles had significance or note for some literary

merit: “Love in the Bible,” “Jewel Box Review,” “Let-

ters from Allen Ginsberg,” “Was Shakespeare a

Homo?” “New Twists on Three Great Trysts,” “The

Natural Superiority of Women as Erotisists,” “Black

and White in Color,” and “Lysystrata.” [R. 239a]. He

thought there were a considerable number of articles

that had either trivial or poor literary merit and at least

one, “Bawdy Limericks,” had no merit and was quite

vulgar. Nevertheless, he did not think them obscene or

pornographic [R. 240a].

The Assistant United States Attorney did not cross-

examine Mr. MacDonald.

Sidney Dickstein, the defense counsel, placed in evi-

dence a copy of “Memoirs of a Woman of Pleasure” by

John Cleland [Ex. G-9] as having been discussed by

Dwight MacDonald.

Arthur J. Galligan, the law partner of the defense

counsel, testified that he had visited several stores in

New York City in the vicinity of 6th and 42nd Street

and in Philadelphia, Pa., in the vicinity of 15th and

Market and had made numerous purchases of paper-

back books, girlie and nudist magazines. The following

of his purchases were placed in evidence as Exhibits

D-10 through D-43* [R. 243a-256a] :

D-10 Waterfront Blonde

D-11 Rogue Magazine

D-12 Gang Girl

*Gang Girl and Wild Body held obscene in Chi. v. Wood, 63

M.C. 156720; Nymph +4 held obscene in Chi, v. Charles Kimmel,

63 M.C. 190116; Pastime, Vol. 2, No. 4, held obscene in Chi. v.

IWestbery, 63 M.C. 104281; Adam. Vol. 7, No. 6, held obscene in

Chi. v. Soden, 63 M.C. 155883: a. April 1964, held ob-

scene in Chi. v. Dahlia, 64 M.C. 127005; Snap, Vol. 4, No. 2, and

Tip Top. Vol. 3, No. 6, were subjects of federal obscenity indict-

ments in United States v. Milton Luros et al. (trial date Oct. 18,

1965); G s, Oct. 1963, held obscene in Dale Book Co. v.

Leary, 233 F. Supp. 754 (Aug. 12, 1964) ; see also other paper-

D-13 The Sucker

D-14 Pushover

D-15 Rock-N-Roll Gal

D-16 They Couldn’t Say No

D-17 Wild Body

D 18 Nymph Issue No. 5 .

D-19 Tic Toc Vol. 1 No. 2

D-20 Pastime Vol. 2 No. 5

D-21 Adam Vol. 7 No. 6

D-22 Satan’s Scrapbook Vol. 1 No. 1

D-23 Kiss No. 2

D-24 Stark Vol. 1 No. 1

D-25 French Frills Vol. 2 No. 5

D-26 Hipand Toe Vol. 1 No. 2

D-27 Vue, July Issue

D-28 Photo Button, Series 7

D-29 Treasure Box Review, Series 18

D-30 Treasure Box Review, Series 19

D-31 Tip Top Vol. 2 No. 6

D 32 Snap Vol. 3 No. 2

D-33 Twilight No. 3

D-34 Zoftick Vol. 2 No. 1

D-34 Ruby Vol. 1 No. 1

D-36 Torch Vol. 2 No. 1

D-37 Nude Word Issue No. 6

D-38 Gymnos July 1963

D-39 The Wrong Turn, and Season of Love

D-40 Escapade, August Issue

D-41 Cavalcade, August 1963

D-42 Scamp, September

D-43. M R Spring 1962

hack books, girlie magazines and nudist magazines which have

run afoul of the law as tabulated in CDL Commentaries, Vol. 1,

No. 2 (Nov. 1965). This problem of comparables is analyzed in

United States v. West Coast News Co., et al., 228 F. Supp. 171,

191.

ee ll mee et ee

Dr. Peter G. Bennett, a psychiatrist, was asked to de-

fine pornography in psychiatric terms. He stated his

opinion that pornography was more than an intense

stimulation of erotic feelings, which in itself was not

harmful or disturbing to the ordinary mature adult.

Pornography had, in addition to the erotic stimulation,

a disturbing disintegrative influence even on the mature

person which is almost impossible to resist and which

abrades the conscience, causing morbid feelings of

shame and guilt [R. 260a]. He stated that the average

well-adjusted person's deep-seated guilt and shame about

some aspects of sex as a result of his early education or

lack of it will disappear as the person allows himself to

become better acquainted with the subject, and that the

anxiety, caused by sexual realism, may even be turned to

a fuller enjoyment of life ‘as I think might happen

to many as a result of reading “The House-Wife’s hand-

book.” In his opinion, the characteristic of the mind

which was primarily attacked by pornography was its

narcotic appeal to the remnant of infantile narcissism

which is present in every-one—the selfish wish for total

satisfaction without regard for people or responsibility

which is characteristic of the newborn child [R. 262a].

Pornography forcibly stimulates intense narcissistic

fantasy by portraying orgiastic sexual and sadistic sat-

isfaction in the most compelling and unreal way. “The

narcissistic impulses cause a morbid sense of shame and

a desire to regress to infancy to some extent even in

the well-adjusted mature adult, whereas erotic realism

only causes an erotic stimulation without regression for

which the aforementioned individual would feel no

shame or guilt.” [R. 263a].

Dr. Bennett testified that the reading of “The House-

wife’s Handbook” by a mature person who is not men-

~~

tally ill ‘would not have the effect upon his psyche that

he attributed to pornographic material [R. 264a].

He testified that he had read “Eros Vol. 1, No. 4”

and that a reading of this volume by an average per-

son would not have the same effect as the reading of

the pornographic material which he had described. He

thought the predominant effect of some of the articles

was sexually stimulating and others was not [R.

265a).

He was of the opinion that there was nothing in

Liaison Vol. 1, No. 1 that would sexually stimulate an

average individual or create morbid or shameful or li-

centious thoughts [R. 266a].

On cross-examination by the Assistant United States

Attorney, he stated that the intent of the person pro-

ducing the material was not a factor in his psychia-

tric definition of pornography. It was his opinion that

what the American society as a whole understood to

be pornographic, #.e., persons who write things that

stimulate sexual curiousity violently for purposes of fi-

nancial gain, was not his psychiatric definition of por-

nography [R. 268a].

The trial judge asked Dr. Bennett if the acts of sod-

omy performed by Dr. Adler on the author as described

at page 207 would have any shameful effect on the av-

erage reader. Dr. Bennett replied that it would not in the

mature person [R. 27la]. The court inquired whether

those paragraphs “would suggest to a boy or girl near

21 years of age ways (sodomy) of having sexual inter-

course in order to have greater satisfaction” and Dr.

Bennett answered, Yes, and that it would be permissible

in his opinion. The court asked if Dr. Bennett was

speaking of mental or sexual maturity and Bennett re-

—_— ,; =

plied he was talking of emotional maturity. Dr. Ben-

nett said that he thought that the average 14-year old

would not be disturbed by reading such material. The

Judge asked if they read this, would they try to do this

in order to have greater sexual satisfaction. Dr. Ben-

nett said, no, not at that age. The Judge called his *-

tention to the paragraph preceding the act of sosomny

(where Dr. Adier tells the author that her husband was

sick, when he said that there were more important things

than sex etc.) and asked him if that would have an)

shameful effect on a reader or suggest a moral code

that it was all right to have sexual relations with one

not your spouse. Dr. Bennett agreed that was the au-

thor’s opinion but stated it would not create any shame-

ful effects. He was of the opinion that “A reader who

is old enough to wade through this book—and by that |

mean 12, 13, 14—would recognize that this is the au-

thor’s opinion but not necessarily the moral code or the

code of society.” 7

George Von Hilsheimer, III, a Southern Baptist

minister, who was trained in psychology and had done

some counseling and therapy with the underprivileged in

both urban and rural areas, testified to the attitudes

toward sex held by Christian groups and to certain

changes that have recently occurred [R. 281a}.

He said that he first saw ‘The Housewife’s Hand-

book” in 1960 when one of his colleagues gave him a

copy. He had used it since in his pastoral counseling

and in his psychological counseling with married women

who have a sense of shame, as a means of ventilating

that sense of shame [R. 289a}. He was of the opinion

that it teaches them their own sexual failures are not

unusual [R. 290a]. “We have an almost idolotrous con-

ania:

cept of marriage in our country. Little girls are told

practically from the moment of birth that this is the one

road to happiness and almost to salvation. They are

told that somehow a mystical magical experience is going

to occur with this marriage that was made in heaven,

which is a heretical theological notion in itself. They

will meet the man of their dreams, he will be perfect

for them, they will marry and things will be lovely and

beautiful thereafter. They are told this by comic books,

by television, by movies, by every possible medium of

public culture. They are told a lie. They are told a myth

... Now it is necessary for the pastoral counselor and

for the psychologist if he is going to be responsible to

his youth and to his parents to give them a more realis-

tic view of the world in which they live and the prob-

lems that they are going to face and to fit them with the

practical, detailed, immediate, realistic and unshamefully

communicated knowledge about the things which are

most important to them. This to me is the great value

of this book. It says, ‘you are not alone. This is the ex-

perience of many, many people,’ and it gives a certain

- amount of hopefulness to it. It is in my mind theologi-

cally quite an innocent book, . . .” [R. 29la]. In his

opinion the book was a straightforward recount of a

fairly unhappy history of a fairly typical woman and

was not drawn far from the average middle American

experience. Although he thought the standard mar-

riage manuals helpful, the language was too compli-

cated [R. 292a].

On cross-examination by the Assistant United States

Attorney he indicated he did not use the book as a blue-

print for what one was supposed to do but used it as

a means of ventilating a sense of shame [R. 294a].

It’s main value was that it discussed in quite simple

» Mer clase a _— — oo ee ~~ so ea — “a

terms things which were not ordinarily discussed. He

said he would give the book to the person being coun-

seled with a comment, “If you think you have difficul-

ties .. . then look at the book in this way and see what

it has to teach you.” He did not supervise since he be-

lieved that people can read freely and have the ability

to solve their own problems without his intimate and

daily guidance.” [R. 295a].

The trial judge asked if it was the kind of a book that

he would like to have in the library of his home if he

had a 14, 15 or 16-year old son or daughter. The Rev-

erend replied that it was in his library at home and

that his wife and the teenage children in his parish read

it [R. 296a]. The Judge asked him if, in his opinion,

the things discussed related to matters of sexual per-

version [R. 296a]. The Reverend replied that the kinds

of relationships the author describes were not commonly

held by psychologists as perversions, but whether or not

this is true, such was a “part of these children’s lives,

the material that is freely available to them is the hard-

core pornography, shamefully discussing lewd, prurient

kinds of garbage. .. .” “This kind of book in the set-

ting of a person they trust and respect who has said.

‘Read it, We will discuss it’ will form the relationship of

a new kind of understanding.” “If I am to work ef-

fectively with them I must have means to read, of talk,

or give them to read that with ease they can talk about

things they do know about in a distorted way, and then

we can talk about what is the kind of relationship you

should have and I should have, and the proper kind of

relationship.” [R. 297a].

The Court asked: “How about the person who reads

the book and doesn’t have the reverend to go to talk

==

to him about it and believes this is a code of morals that

should be followed as set forth in this book?” The Rev-

erend answered: “This is one of the difficulties to me

of pornography.” [R. 297a]. The Reverend did not

think any person, particularly a teenager, reading the

book was going to be convinced that adultery was a

proper way of life [R. 298a]. He thought the book

would be read “in the context of what kids and adults

are saying to each other.” [R. 300a}.

Asked by the Judge if he thought that wide circula-

tion of the book would be perfectly all right, he said

that he thought it would serve as a ventilation from

all the kinds of horrible trash that was freely avail-

able, the books on any newsstand which show sodomy,

lesbianism, homosexuality and adultery freely practiced

[R. 305a]. Asked by the Judge if such wasn't in this,

book, he replied: “But dealt with in an unshameful way,

a dry way, a straight forward way.” [R. 305a], He said

that he worked with children “whose common expression

is a four-letter expression. This is their form of greeting

and this is common and extending in our culture. I work

with adults whose common form of recreation is the tell-

ing of dirty and sometimes obscene and pornographic

stories” and that the book has “a tremendous value in

this kind of counseling.” [R. 307a].

Asked by the Trial Judge whether he would approve

of the methods of sexual relationship set forth in the

book (sodomy) the Reverend replied, “No, I would say

again that the intimate relationships of a loving couple

in marriage, so long as they have developed naturally

and with regard for the integrity of one another, that

there is no such thing as perversion.” The Judge then

asked him to read the passages on pages 207 describing

= =

the sodomy act and asked him the question with regard

to the relationship that is there (between the female

author and the male doctor, unmarried). The Rev-

erend replied, “I repeat, this was not described—so long

as it is in the boundaries | have stated—this does not

describe a perversion and it describes a kind of sexual

relationship which is generally regarded as quite permis-

sible and proper so long as it is within the right frame-

work.” [R. 31 la.]

The defense rested its case.

United States of America: Rebuttal.

The United States Government called three witnesses,

two psychiatrists and one minister. It was stipulated

that their testimony was to be considered for rebuttal

purposes only [R. 335a].

Dr. Nicholas George Frignito, a psychiatrist, testified

that in his opinion “The Handbook” had no medical

value, because it gave a distorted viewpoint of the

sexual behavior of women and the type of behavior that

is prevalent in our community, that it fosters sexual

perversity and implies adultery, fornication and sexual

perversion are all right [R. 320a].

In his opinion it was a danger to the majority but

was not a threat to professional people who had training

and knowledge in this sort of business [R. 32la]. This

type of material would be dangerous for an adult boy

in that it encourages all types of sexual behaviors such

as masturbation and increases sexual promiscuity [R.

322a]. It would incite the average 14-year old to sexual

misconduct [R. 323a] and lead to “self abuse, mas-

turbation and that would lead to other types of sexual

activity” {R. 324a]. As to the average adult person it

= =

would stimulate his » srient interest and certainly would

mislead him into believing that such was acceptable be-

havior in our community. The prurient interest he

referred to was “the stimulation by writing or porno-

graphic books to sexual misconduct or instilling lustful

feelings” [R. 324a].

Asked on cross-examination by the defense counsel

whether the authoress’ view toward sexual practice was

widely held by other commentators on sex, he an-

swered, “I don’t know the exact number, but those men

that I associate with rather closely do not hold to this

type of sexual behiavior. I would say that the majority

of psychiatrists that I am in contact with do not ap-

prove of say abnormal, aberrant sexual acts.” [R.

327a}.

Dr. Ann Hankins “ord, a psychiatrist, testified that

she had read “The Housewife’s Handbook,” and that in

her opinion it had no medical value. In the field of

psychiatry in which she was involved (disturbed per-

sons) it would be a destructive book [R. 337a, 339%a].

In her opinion the authoress was emotionally very im-

mature, a very disturbed person, who had not progressed

emotionally from the age of childhood when people are

in a normal homosexuz! stage [R. 337a]. Asked if the

book had any medical message to it, she replied the only

message she found in the book was “if you are dissatis-

fied with your husband look around and get some

other man” [R. 338a]. “The clitoris is a remnant of the

male penis from fetal development and this is so em-

phasized in this book, it is the only penis this woman

has, and she all but works it to death. She must have

this recognized. She must have great male attention

paid to her substitute penis, and in this way she is not

ay,

making love to the men. This is not a lovers’ relation-

ship; it is a matter of demeaning, sullying these men

whom she comes in contact with.” [R. 338a]. The

author is so confused and far from understanding what

her problem is that it would reinforce the anguish and

feelings of hostility” that patients in a similar situa-

tion had [R. 338a]. It would not have any value in

the treatment or counseling of her patients but would

be more disturbing to them [R. 338a].

Reverend Adolph Emil Kannwischer, a Baptist minis-

ter and Professor of Psychology, testified that he would

not use the “Housewife’s Handbook” in counseling

parishoners or people because he regarded it was detri-

mental to a person who already was having problems.

He saw no positive value in it [R. 344a].

The United States Government rested its case.

The Assistant United States Attorney's motion to

strike Exhibits D-1 through D-43 and the testimony

of the expert witnesses regarding responses of the av-

erage person and community standards was refused

[R. 347a].

The defense attorney’s motion for a judgment of ac-

quittal was refused [R. 348a].

The trial judge found the defendants guilty on all

counts. The trial court’s opinion appears at R. 355a and

in United States v. Ralph Ginsburg et al., 224 F.

Supp. 129 (Nov. 21, 1963). On December 19, 1963, the

trial judge sentenced petitioner Ginzburg to five years’

imprisonment and a fine of $28,000. and fined the cor-

porate defendants $500 on each count [R. 373a-376a].

(A notice of appeal was filed on the same day). [R.

380a}.

—29.

The United States Court of Appeals, Third C:-cuit,

affirmed the judgment of the District Court in United

States v. Ralph Ginsburg et al., 338 F. 2d 12 (Nov.

6, 1964). This opinion appears at R. 385a.

Summary of Argument.

I.

The public policy of the United States Supreme Court

has always championed the obscenity laws. Yet with all

of this case law support, the communities are being

inundated by a horde of obscenity which the law is not

reaching.

The prosecutors are claiming that they have no reme-

dy and that the Supreme Court stands too eager to re-

verse their successes, when they occur. Amicus do not

picture this to be the true situation.

This Court recognizes that the debasement of sex has

been with mankind down through the centuries and that

the obscenity laws are necessary for a strong commu-

nity life. The Roth-Alberts decision is testimony of the

fact that criminal penalties are authorized procedures

to regulate this type of conduct.

Most of the recent cases before this Court since 1957

have involved “previous restraint” controls, such as

movie licensing cases, search warrant procedures, the

right of the postmaster to refuse mail on the grounds

it is obscene, etc. Whereas an earlier Court in Near v.

Minnesota had indicated “previous restraint” could

clearly be employed against obscene materials, this mod-

ern Court has restricted that interpretation considerably

by procedural rules. In doing so, a number of obscenity

judgments were reversed on procedural grounds, making

it appear that this Court was releasing the matter as

—30—

not being obscene. Such decisions have misled and dis-

couraged prosecutors.

In several cases the justices have been unable to agree

on an “Opinion of the Court.”” The theories of the case

set forth by the individual justices do not lead to an

orderly understanding of the law.

On the other hand, this Court has denied review in at

least 21 criminal cases which have come before it since

1957. These cases were without opinion and have not

been publicized. They are not generally known to the

individual prosecutors, who lose heart when they see all

losses and no victories.

Then too, some prosecutors do not recognize the dis-

tinction between criminal prosecutions and previous re-

straint cases. A favorable written opinion confirming

the trial court’s findings in this criminal case is essen-

tial to the people’s cause if we are to break the stalemate.

The prosecutors need a direct signal from the Court,

that they can retain their victories in criminal cases.

Il.

Petitioners waived a jury at the outset and placed

their fate in the hands of the trial judge. They should

not be allowed to argue on appeal issues which would

not have been available to them had a jury tried the

matter.

The trial judge was receptive to all that the petition-

ers had to offer in the way of evidence. He was not

required to accept their theory of the case, in view of

~~ =

the subject matter and condu— of the petitioners, which

spoke for itself.

If this Court, in its decision in Roth-Alberts actually

passed upon the obscenity vel non of such subject mat-

ter, that case should be controlling here, because of the

similarity of the material and operations of the peti-

tioners.

The trial court properly followed the Roth standards

in holding petitioners’ three publications obscene. Evi-

dence of the purpose of the publisher in regard to one

publication is probative as to his purpose in the other

two, as a common scheme or plan.

Redeeming social value is not determined in a vacuum,

but depends upon all of the circumstances. The variable

nature of obscenity requires this. The obscene portions

of the material must be balanced against its affirmative

values in determining the predominant appeal taken as a

whole.

fie

ARGU MENT.

I

An Integrated Review of the Obscenity Case Law.

A. Public Policy.

The public policy of this Court has always cham-

pioned the obscenity laws. See Rosen v. U. S., 161 U.S.

606 (1896),’ decided by the U.S. Supreme Court at

the turn of the century. This favored policy is not dif-

ficult of understanding. Central to our heritage is the ex-

pectation that our Courts should strive to preserve

our heritage and should not give scandal’ by tolerat-

ing anything which tends to debase public morals.

‘Rosen attempted to escape a jury conviction on an obscenity

had not been of the nature of the crime. United

States Court Justice John Marshall Harlan,

father of United States Supreme Court Justice John

Marshall rejected this plea out of hand and, in invoking

5

és

¢

a

j

z

a

United States against a book, Commonwealth v. Holmes, (1821).

The book in the Massachusetts case was “Fanny Hill,” a cen-

tury and a half later to find its way before this Court in A

Book Names “John Cleland’s Memows of A Woman of Pleas-

4 v. Attorney General of Massachusetts, October Term, No.

*Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Fifth Edition, defines “scan-

dal” as “The distressing effect on others of unseemly or un-

righteous conduct; especially, an occasion of another's lapse in

faith or morals as to give scandal to one’s children . . . 3. That

which offends established moral conceptions or disgraces all who

are associated or involved.” Tolerance of indecency, for any rea-

son, even for purposes of administration, had the undesirable ef-

fect of giving notoriety and acceptance to the material and dig-

nifying its appearance.

==

Less than 35 ears ago this Court underscored this

same “favored position” of the obscenity laws when, in

Near v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697, 51 S. Ct. 625, 75 L.

Ed. 1357 (1931)* the members of that Court made it

clear that immunity from previous restraint did not

extend to obscene publications.

Eleven years later, not one member of the 1942 Court

entertained any doubt that the existence of obscenity

was contrary to the people’s abiding interest in good pub-

lic morals. Neither the prevention of publication (previ-

ous restraint) nor criminal punishment for dissemina-

tion raised any constitutional problems in their view. In

Chaplinsky v. New Hamphsire, 315 U.S. 568, 86 L.

Ed. 1031, 62 S. Ct. 766 (1942) that Court said at

page 571:

“. . . There are certain well-defined and narrowly

limited classes of speech, the prevention and pun-

ishment of which have never been thought to raise

any Constitutional problem. These include the lewd

and obscene. . . . It has been well observed that

such utterances are no essential part of any exposi-

tion of ideas, and are of such slight social value

as a step to truth that any benefit that may be de-

rived from them is clearly outweighed by the so-

cial interest in order and morality... .”

*The objection has . . . been made that the principle as to

immunity from previous restraint is stated too broadly, if every

such restraint is deemed to be prohibited. That is undoubtedly

true; the protection even as to previous restraint is not absolutely

unlimited. But the limitation has been recognized only in scoop

tional cases. ‘When a nation is at war many things that might

said in time of are such a hindrance to its effort that

their utterance will not be endured so long as men fight and

that no Court could regard them as protected by any constitu-

tional right.’ Schenck v. United States, 249 U.S. 47, 52. No one

would question but that a government might prevent actual ob-

struction to its recruiting service or the publication of the sailing

dates of transports or the number and location of troops. On

similar grounds, the primary requirements of decency may be

enforced against obscene publications.” (Our emphasis. )

itive

Ten years later, the majority of the members of the

1952 Court in Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343 U.S. 250,

72 S. Ct. 725, 96 L. Ed 919 (1952) agreed with the

Chaplinsky Court, adding:

“Certainly no ome would contend that obscene

speech, for example, may be punished only upon a

showing of such circumstances (clear and present

danger)...”

When, five years later, in Roth v. U.S. and Alberts

v. California, 354 U.S. 476, 77 S. Ct. 1314, 1 L. Ed

2d, 1498 (June 24, 1957), this present Court was faced

with a broadside attack on the statutes guarding pub-

lic decency, seven members of this modern court stood

firm and enunciated a solid distaste for obscenity. Rosen

v. U.S. (supra), Near v. Minnesota (supra), Chaplin-

ski v. New Hampshire (supra), and Beauharnais v. Il-

linois (supra) were all confirmed, The language of

Rosen was cited with approval. Everyone was charged

with notice of what must be deemed obscene. The Roth-

Alberts majority opinion placed emphasis on the lan-

guage of Chaplinski noted above. Obscene utterances

were of such slight social value as a step to truth that

any benefit to be derived from them was clearly out-

weighed by the social interest in order and morality.

The above language of the Beauharnais Court was cited

with approval. No one could contend that obscene speech

could be punished only upon a showing of a clear and

present danger.

Under such a regime, it did appear as though the

communities had the proper defense mechanisms and the

modern assault on public morality could easily be turned

back.

= =

Yet with ill this unanimity, elegance of language, and

profuseness of citation to buttress the foundations of

our anti-obscenity fortresses, the stockades are present-

ly in danger of collapsing for lack of riflemen, abetted

by confusion. The communities of this nation, eight

years later, find themselves with a horde of filth, print-

ed, visual, vocal and otherwise, of unprecedented force,

threatening to erode the very foundations of the basic

morality upon which our nation and our Constitution

were founded.‘ In the face of this peril the public prose-

*“A tide of printed filth is advancing across the land in a

way which should give every wholesome-thinking person cause

basic monn nner it may not erode the very foundations of the

basic morality upon which our nation and our Constitution were

founded.

In bookstores, railroad stations, air terminals, drug stores,

everywhere that print is displayed and pictures revealed, there

stand pyramids of smut, pornography and obscenity contaminat-

ee the paper which carries it.

ines with pictures and sketches that would disgrace

criental harems are told fo children as if they were as nnotoous

as bags of Exotic rites that bring the blush of

shame to the faces of the most primitive tribes are described

Sad be en teen gh priced beska, medium-priced books,

sat ine paead bonke. which should be the subject only

tor Clinical ‘studies. in the hospitals for the criminal insane are

the youths into whose hands they fall. to bring harm to

!

4

i

a§

i

RE

id

——

cutor bleats that he has no remedy and that it is useless

to prosecute, since the Supreme Court will reverse the

jury’s findings.

CDL is at complete odds with such ideology. Unlike

our knowledge of outer space, which is increasing in ge-

ometric proportions through discoveries in space explo-

rations, our knowledge of sex is profound, for sex has

been with us since the beginning of mankind. As to the

sexual relation, it can be said, with some degree of

truth, that there is “nothing new under the sun.” Simi-

larly, the assault which has as its objective the debase-

ment of sex has been with mankind down through the

centuries. That which motivates the pornographer, in

1965, motivated John Cleland two centuries earlier. Rec-

ognition of the universal need for strong community

are suggestive, pornographic, indecent and obscene shout their vul-

garity to passersby.

It used to be that ic literature, to the extent that

it existed, was sold inely. The secrecy and the furtive-

with

of the vilest character.

In short, a wide river of filth is sweeping across the nation,

befouling its shores and spreading over the land its nauseating

saath. Det. what is most disturbing of all, is that persons,

whose noses should be particularly sensitive to this olfactory as-

sault, do not smell it at all. I refer to district attorneys and prose-

cuting officers throughout the nation. Of course, there are a large

number of district attorneys in the country who are doing their

duty and doing it well, but a larger number of prosecuting of-

ficials are shrugging unconcerned shoulders at this violent as-

sault on law, morality and decency.”

... From an address given by Associate Justice Michael

A. Musmanno of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court at

the Waldorf-Astoria New York City on October 23, 1965.

= =

‘ mtrols in this modern era has amply been witnessed

by this Court in Roth-Alberts when it said at page

484:

“But implicit in the history of the First Amend-

ment is the rejection of obscenity as utterly with-

out redeeming social importance. This rejection for

that reason is mirrored in the universal judgment

that obscenity should be restrained, reflected in the

international agreement of over 50 nations, in the

obscenity laws of all of the 48 states, and in the

20 obscenity laws enacted by the Congress from

1942 to 1956... .”

Nevertheless, there is, in our opinion, a crisis facing this

nation which requires the members of this Court to bear

witness through concrete action and to drive home, once

and for all, the basic fact, which is escaping so many

at the present time, that this Court really has not, in

its decisions since Roth-Alberts underwritten the sale of

“perversion for profit.”

If we understand correctly what has occurred in the

ensuing years since Roth-Alberts, this Court has not

altered the basic position taken by it in those cases:

namely that criminal cases which applied the proper

standard for judging obscenity, did not offend constitu-

tional privileges. This Court held at page 492:

“In summary then, we hold that these statutes, ap-

plied according to the proper standards for judging

obscenity, do not offend constitutional safeguards

against convictions based upon protected material.

or fail to give men in acting adequate notice of

what is prohibited. . . .” (Our emphasis).

=

B. The Problem of Previous Restraint Cases.

Unfortunately, a line of cases followed which enjoyed

in common the element of previous restraint,’ a factor

not present in the Roth and Alberts cases, which author-

ized criminal penalties as the just consequences of the

defendants’ temerous conduct. This Court did not react

as favorably to this new issue as the earlier Courts in

Near v. Minnesota (supra) which had excluded pre-

vious restraint controls in the case of obscene publica-

tions from the operation of the Blackstone rule, which

held that:

“The liberty of the press is indeed essential to the

*Previous (prior) restraint was a major issue in each of the

following: Times Film Corporation v. City of C w= 355

US. 35, 78 S. Ct. 115, 2 L. Ed. 2d 72 (1957) (Movie li-

cense—no opinion), reversing 244 F. 2d 432 (7th Cir. 2

and 139 F. Supp. 837 (1956); Mounce v. U. S., 355 U.S. 180,

2 L. Ed. 2d 187 (1957) (customs case—no opinion), reversing

247 F. 2d 148 (9th Cir. 1957) and 134 F. Supp. 490 (1955);

oo hs (rte yt ae 78 S. Ct. ‘ »2h. ae

ight to sit mail—no opinion) reversing 241

F. 2d 772 = Cir. 1957); Sunshine Book Co. v. Summerfield,

355 US. = S. Ct. 365, 2 L. Ed. a> a] ee

to deposit —no opinion) i : C.

Circuit 1957) and 128 F. Supp. 564 (1985 ; Times Film ‘g°

v. City of nicoge, 365 U.S. 43, 81 S. Ct. 391, 5 L. Ed.

403 (Jan. 23, 1961) (movie license) reversing 272 F. 2d 90

7th Cir. 1959) and 180 F. Supp. 843 (1959); Marcus v.

ansas City Search Warrants, U.S. 717, 81 S. Ct. 1708,

6 L. Ed. 1127 (June 19, 1961) (Seizure), reversing 344

S.W. 2d 119 (1960); Manual Enterprises Inc. v. Day, 370 U.S.

478, 82 S. Ct. 1432. 8 L. Ed. 2d 639 (June 25, 1962) (right

to deposit mail), reversing 289 F. 2d 455 (D.C. Circuit 1961)

Bantam Books Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 US. 38, 83 S. Ct. 631,

9 L. Ed. 2d 584 (Feb. 18. 1963) (Warnings) reversing 176

A. 2d 393; A Quantity of Books v. Kansas, 378 U.S. 205,

84 S. Ct. 1723, 12 L. Ed. 2d 809 (June 22, 1964) (Seizure),

reversing 191 Kan. 13, 379 P. 2d 254 (1963); Freeman v. Mary-

land, U.S. 51, 85 S. Ct. 734, 13 L. Ed. 2d 649 (Mar.

1, 1965) (Movie license), reversing 233 Md. 458, 197 A. 2d

232 (1964); Trans-Lux Distributing Corp. v. Board of Regents

of the Unwersity of New York, U.S. 259, 85 S. Ct. 952,

13 L. Ed. 2d 959 (1965) (movie license—no opinion ).

39

nature of a free state; but this consists in laying

no previous restraints upon publications, and not in

freedom from censure for criminal matter when

published. Every free man has an undoubted right

to lay what sentiments he pleases before the pub-

lic; to forbid this, is to destroy the freedom of the

press; but if he publishes what is improper, mis-

chievous or illegal, he must take the consequence of

his own temerity” 4 Bl. Com. 151, 152.

The cloud of confusion which was to appear was fore-

case in Kingsley Book Inc. v. Brown, 354 U.S. 436, 77

S. Ct. 1325, 1 L. Ed. 2d 1469 (June 24, 1957), decided

on the same day with Roth-Alberts. In that case, this

Court split five-to-four in approving the New York in-

junctive action, which authorized limited previous re-

straint. It was here that Justice Brennan and Warren

parted company with the majority in the Roth and the

*For example, the claim is widespread that Sunshine Book Com-

pany stands for (he proposition that nudist magazines are not

eS eS ee SS Ee SS

intent, the format, method of of the state

etc. See here the recent result in Connecticut v. Martin et al.

une 17, 1965), where the Appellate Division of the Circuit

reversed (2-1) an ext well reasoned trial court

solely the basis of Sunshine Book Co. case

Serr Ct pte si I

ican Cor, ion wv. Ch . une

> ag vertorari denies 83S. Ct 192, 13 L. Ed. 24-176

(Nov. 9, 1964); Luros v. Hanson, petition for certiorari filed

cot. 27, 1965, Oct. Term, 1965 No. 620; Hadley v. Arkensas,

Ark. 1027, 172 S.W. 2d 237 (rs) : King v. Common-

wealth, 233 S.W. 2d 522 (Oct. 20, 1950); Missouri v. Becker,

364 Mo. 1079, 272 S.W. 2d 283 (1954), cited with approval in

—40—

opinions in Marcus, Manual Enterprises, Inc. and A

Quantity of Books gave specific recognition to the fact

that the obscenity issue was not reached in this Court's

reversals of those lower Court judgments on previous

restraint grounds. What factor the previous restraint

element played in the 1958 decisions will never be

known.’ Subsequent opinions 'av« revealed a common

disagreement between the justices on what constitutes

the vital phase of the case. See the No Clear Majority

isions, infra. Then too, the Court’s membership has

s

changed.

As breeding grounds, the 1958 per curiam reversals

acted with catalytic action to spawn the “hard core por-

nography” rule in one of the major centers of porno-

praphic production in the United States. New York v.

Richmond County News Co., 175 N.E. 2d 681 (May 25,

Roth-Alberts at footnote 26: Sunshine ishing Co. v. G

N. Parris (unreported, Circuit Court, Macomb 3

1963); Nebraska v. Jungclows, 176 Neb. 641, 126 N.W. 2d

858 (Mar. 13, 1964); Dale Book Co. v. Leary, 233 F.

754 (Aug. 12, 1964) ; City of Phoenix v. Fine (

perior Court M County, Arizona (Jan. 22, 1 Mi

te wy . 24 2 (Mar. 8, 1 Te ga,

June 10, 1965); Arisona v. Arizona Magazine Distributors Inc.

( West Phoenix i Cc °

(Aug! 26, 1965) : Aricome v. Al Sacks (anreprted, Wes Phoenix

Justice Court, Maricopa County (Sept. 1, 1965).

The author cites Justice Jackson's remarks on i

reversal of a case without opinion in Brownell v. Singer, 347 U.S.

ae at

24 rt's one-word decision reverses ing judg-

ments of three highly courts .. . (by citing) a

o* - VO Ld a ey

t ession something more t erence to an

lanpplbable decision.” ™

*Justices Frankfurter, Whittaker and Burton have been re-

placed by Justices Fortas, White and Stewart.

otius

1961.)® Abetted by a misconstruction of the no clear

majority opinion decision in the Manual Enterprises

Inc. case and a misapplication of the special view enter-

tained by Justice Harlan in federal cases, the “hard core

pornography” rule spread to the other major centers of

pornographic production. Zeitlin v. Arnebergh, 59 Cal.

2d 901, 31 Cal. Rptr. 800 (July 2, 1963).

C. The No Clear Majority Decisions.

The common disagreement between the justices has

given birth to a number of “no clear majority” deci-

sions which confound and confuse.” Manual Enter-

i

ee

if

Ss

i}

:

-

fy

4

>i

25

Rz

.

< ge >

»

8

Es-

Tras

+

3

bt

|

=

4

Fy

oe

ras

Bhas

:

ii

i

7

i

3

8

41

78

ti

g

|

:

|

i

.

—_v

prises Inc. v. Day, 370 U.S. 478, 82 S. Ct. 1432, 8 L.

Ed. 2d 639 (1962); Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184,

84 S. Ct. 1676, 12 L. Ed. 2d 793 (1964); A Quantity of

Books v. Kansas, 378 U.S. 205, 84 S. Ct. 1723, 12 L.

Ed. 2d 809 (1964); Grove Press Inc. v. Gerstein, 378

U.S. 577, 84 S. Ct. 1909, 12 L. Ed. 2d 1035 (1964);

Tralins v. Gerstein, 378 U.S. 576, 84 S. Ct. 1903, 12 L.

the court,” as where the majority have agreed only the re-

sult, (4.¢., judgment reversed) but have not been to agree

Py > ;

See W. gh, The Study of Cases (Second Edition, 1894), at

SO:

‘i

iH

u

ei

f

‘

ete

d

i

7 al

i

+

:

:

Hi!

i

i

Hi

ga

il

f

‘

5

E

j

as fo —— Enter prises Inc. v. ,

370 US. 478. holding the publication of

!

2

ment. (Our emphasis). %

The Arizona Supreme Court's reversal of a jury decision on

girlie magazine subject was based largely on a compari-

—A43—

D. A Major National Problem.

In the absence of knowledgeable defending riflemen,

compounded by the confusion, those well-buttressed for-

tresses are being subjected to a withering attack. On

October 21, 1965, the Los Angeles County Grand Jury

returned a two count indictment against 14 defendants

in California v. Milton Luros, et al., Superior Court

case No. 295,183, for conspiracy to manufacture and

distribute girlie magazines, nudest magazines and nine

lesbian-type paperback books (including Fanny Hill).

On February 15, 1965, the count covering the girlie

and nudist magazines was dismissed without trial in a

pre-trial motion to dismiss the indictment. Superior

Court Judge Walter R. Evans, in dismissing, had this

to say:

“In view of the time I have had to study it, I

have found it extremely interesting, but absolutely

amazing. I was concerned as to the extent to which

the United States Supreme Court—I am very

frank to say, and I think I am entitled to say

it, that I disagree wholeheartedly with the United

States Supreme Court cases. I think the so-called

founding fathers who promulgated our Constitution

probably would turn over in their graves if they saw

the extent to which the United States Supreme

Court has stretched the protection to this type of

material which to me, has no value to anybody.

However, that is my personal position. I want to get

that off my chest. I think there is nothing but filth

from beginning to end in this material. However,

—’

that is my personal opinion, and I think that counsel

pointed out that I still have an obligation to follow

what I think are the rules laid down by the United

States Supreme Court. I was interested in reading

one of the learned justices who said that maybe

some day the balance will start swinging back where

honesty and decency would start entering into a con-

sideration of this thing. I hope it will.”

He thought eight of the lesbian-type paperbacks (but

strangely, not Fanny Hill) a jury issue, and Count 2

was set for trial. The people’s action was short lived

however. Although both the District Court of Appeal

and the California Supreme Court thereafter refused the

defendants a writ of prohibition on the count involving

the lesbian-type paperback books, Trial Judge Joseph

Sprankle dismissed the case, without trial on June 14,

1965. The books’ titles, Lesbian Sin Song, Two Women

in Love, Counterfeit Lesbian, Lesbian Captive, Les-

bians in White, The Girls at Wendy’s, The Three Way

Apartment and Honey Lips, sung out the perversion

they peddled.

In another action by the people—this time against a

notorious national disseminator located in New York—

a criminal obscenity indictment was short-circuited by

trial judge J. Irwin Shapiro, when he dismissed New

York v. Ray Kirk, Birch, All State News Co. Inc., et

al., 40 Misc. 2d 626, 243 N.Y.S. 2d 525 (Sept. 6, 1963)

without trial. In so holding, Judge Shapiro refused

to follow controlling precedent in his state, for one of

the books supporting the indictment had already been

held obscene by New York's highest court in New York

v. Harry Fried, 18 A. 2d 996, 238 N.Y.S. 2d 742 (Mar.

26, 1963). Appeal dismissed for want of jurisdiction.

atin

Treating the paper whereon the appeal wa- taken as a

petition for writ of certiorari, certiorari is denied (Jus-

tice Black, Douglas and Stewart are of the opinion

probable jurisdiction should be voted and judgment re-

versed 378 U.S. 578, 84 S. Ct. 1904, 12 L. Ed. 2d

1033 (June 22, 1964).”

E. A Problem of Communication.

The confused results reached in the lower courts

noted above does not seem warranted to CDL, when one

considers the overwhelming weight of case law in the

opposite direction. The key to an awakening of law en-

forcement seems bound up in the remarks of Chief

Justice Warren in Jacobellis v. Ohio (supra) at page

1684:

“. . . This Court hears cases such as the instant

one not merely to rule upon the alleged obscenity

"Federal courts are equally confused. See United States v.

Klaw and Jack Kramer, 350 F. 2d 155 oy Circuit July 15,

1965) and Haldeman v. U.S., 340 F. 2d 59, 62 at fn. 6 (10th

Cir. Jan. 13, 1965):

ee art, concurring in Jacobellis, declined to de-

and i ions of females in the nude and the latter involved

motion picture films, compare these

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Amicus Curiae Brief — Reno v. American Civil Liberties Union · 521 U.S. 844 | Frix