Amicus Curiae Brief — Reno v. American Civil Liberties Union

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

{ .

i, FEB 19 1997

No. 96-511 CLERK

Oc

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

JANET RENO, ATTORNEY GENERAL

OF THE UNITED STATES, ET AL.,

Appellants,

v.

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION, ET AL.,

Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF

UNIVERSITY PROFESSORS, ET AL.

IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEES

JAMES D. CRAWFORD (Counsel of Record)

CARL A. SOLANO

THERESA E. LOSCALZO

JENNIFER DUFAULT JAMES

JOSEPH T. LUKENS

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

SCHNADER HARRISON SEGAL & LEWIS

1600 Market Street, Suite 3600

Pennsylvania 19103

(215) 751-2162

Of Counsel.

$$ Tt i te — = ee ee ee ee

~/BEST AVAILABLE COPY’

LIST OF AMICI CURIAE:

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY

PROFESSORS, AMERICAN SOCIETY OF

JOURNALISTS AND AUTHORS, AUTHORS GUILD,

CALIFORNIA MUSEUM OF

PHOTOGRAPHY/UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA AT

RIVERSIDE, COALITION FOR POSITIVE

SEXUALITY, CREATIVE COALITION OF ARTISTS,

TRI DANG DO, FEMINISTS FOR FREE EXPRESSION,

MARGARITA LACABE, LAMBDA LEGAL DEFENSE

AND EDUCATION FUND, INC., MAGGIE LANOUE,

LOD COMMUNICATIONS, PETER LUDLOW, CHUCK

MORE, PEN AMERICAN CENTER, PHILADELPHIA

MAGAZINE, PSINET, INC., ERIC S. RAYMOND, DON

RITTNER, THE SEXUALITY INFORMATION AND

EDUCATION COUNCIL OF THE UNITED STATES,

LLOYD K. STIRES, PETER J. SWANSON, KIRSTI

THOMAS, WEB COMMUNICATIONS, AND MIRYAM

EHRLICH WILLIAMSON

ALL PARTIES CONSENT TO THE

FILING OF THIS AMICUS BRIEF

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

EEE PUNE occ ccccccsscccecccccccees ii

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ...... 2

EE, .cccccccscccccecceccces 2

CEE ERe ted cuassddcceccccoscceccses 4

In Criminalizing Speech with Serious Social, Political,

Artistic, Literary, Medical, Journalistic, and Educa-

tional Value, the CDA Is Not Narrowly Tailored To

Achieve Its Stated Justification .................... 4

A. The CDA Is Overbroad in Banning Speech of

Pee. sec cececccocces 7

* Medical Information on the Internet .......... 7

© Artwork on the Internet ................... 13

e Literature on the Internet .................. 16

¢ Social and Political Discourse on the

Te ce ceecces 20

¢ Journalism on the Internet ................. 23

¢ Education on the Internet .................. 26

B. The CDA Also Is Overbroad in Banning Speech

Sought by Content Recipients ................. 28

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Board of Airport Commissioners v. Jews for Jesus, Inc.,

GES Gade SEP GREEOD . cvacenvetcuviedibvebibecabed 4

Branton v. FCC, 993 F.2d 906 (D.C. Cir. 1993), cert.

GEE, SEDGE, TD cbc ccdcccuscncvccese 25

Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380 (1957) ................ 6

Denver Area Educational Telecommunications Consor-

tium v. FCC, 518 U.S. ___, 116 S. Ct. 2374 (1996) . 5-6,8

Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975) .. 5-6

FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726 (1978) . 10-12, 26

Herceg v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 814 F.2d 1017 (Sth

Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 959 (1988) ..... 18, 24

Keyishian v. Board of Regents of University of State of

New York, 365 U.S. SGD (ISBT) ow ccc ccc ccccccese 27

Massachusetts v. Oakes, 491 U.S. 576 (1989) ........... 4

Memoirs v. Massachusetts, 383 U.S. 413 (1966) ........ 17

Minarcini v. Strongville City School District, 541 F.2d

eh 8 Se 18, 28

Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367

SE Abbe cedhstnadabaces condeeaaeboks 28-29

Sable Communications v. FCC, 492 U.S. 115 (1989) ...... 6

Schad v. Mount Ephraim, 452 U.S.61 (1981) ........... 4

Cases Page

Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens

Consumer Council, 425 U.S. 748 (1976) ............ 28

Constitution of the United States

PRE RIND 6 cccccocccccvsicccccedevceses passim

Fe IES vc ccctbdewedescdsccccceccsccsceess l

Statutes

Communications Decency Act of 1996, 47 U.S.C.

REP OTTTITT PITT TT TTL passim

Legislative Materials

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-458, at 188-89 (1996) ......... 10

Internet World Wide Web Pages

(Universal Resource Locators)

“The Alanis Annex,” hAttp://mbess.ccsm.uiuc.edu:80/

alanis

— Video file: Attp://mbess.ccsm.uiuc.edu:80/alanis/

knowl.mov (Exhibit 17] ...........-.500-eeeeeees 19

“Alanis Morissette Net Audio,” Attp://www.animatrix.

com/Alanis_Morrissette/ra/MusicArchive.htm/

— Audio file: http://www.animatrix.com/Alanis_

Morrissette/ra/oughta.wav [Exhibit 17] ............. 19

American Association of University Professors, http-//

www.igc.apc.org/aaup/1940stat.htm [Exhibit 33} .. 27-28

Internet World Wide Web Pages

American Council for the Arts, “The Flatlining of U.S.

Cultural Policy,” Attp://www.artsusa.org/Advocacy/

flatline.him {Exhibit 30] .......................

California Museum of y, “Weston and

Mapplethorpe,” Attp://www.cmp.ucr.edu/exhibitions/

w_m/wm2.html [Exhibit 11]

“Candide by Voltaire,” gopher://gopher.vt.edu:10010/

SEE ced vedcca ds ceuiciabamcn «

“The Canterbury Tales by Chaucer,” gopher://

wiretap.spies.com:70/00/Library/Classic/

canterbury.txt [Exhibit 12] .....................

Coalition for Positive Sexuality, “Just Say Yes,”

http://www. positive.org/cps/jsy/jsy.html [Exhibit 6]

Coalition for Positive Sexuality, “Safe Sex,” http://www.

positive.org/cps/jsy/safe_sex.hitml [Exhibit 6] ......

The Daily Californian, “Everything you wanted to know

about prophylactics (but were afraid to ask),”

http://www.dailycal.org/Issues/09.09.96/condoms. txt

EE Sn do vonk bacdkdndacbdabsidatadwesce

The Daily Collegian, “Disputed Artist Explains His

Works,” hitp://www.collegian. psu.edu/archive/]996_

jan-dec/1996_oct/1996-10-02_the_daily_collegian/

1996-10-02d01-001 htm [Exhibit 30}

The Daily Pennsylvanian, “*Sexpert’ Lectures on Safe

Sex,” http://www.dp.upenn.edu/AppleSearch.acgi$

RETRIEVE, 13,11964,5506,0,6927,0 (Exhibit 32] ...

Derechos, “Indecent Material,” hitp:/www.derechos.org/

indecent.html [Exhibit 25]

iv

Page

Internet World Wide Web Pages Page

Detroit News, “Painless Impotence Treatment to Hit

Market,” = Attp://detnews.com/96/nation/9701/03/

01030061 .htm (Exhibit 27) 2... 2.0.66 cee ee eee 23-24

Detroit News, “The Yeast Common Denominator,”

http://detnews.com/menw/stories/1 9449. htm [Exhibit

Dado od dOS GUUS Cldd ec COSTS SE Eb Tes ee ee coe 23

T.D. Do, “The STD Homepage,” http://med-www.bu.edu/

people/sycamore/std/std.htm {Exhibit 4] ............ 11

A. Dworkin, “Intercourse: Occupation/Collaboration

(1 of 2),” Attp://www.igc.org/Womensnet/dworkin/

Intercoursel.html (Exhibit 15] ................555- 18

A. Dworkin, “The simple story of a lesbian girlhood,”

http://www.igc.org/Womensnet/dworkin/New.

Womans. Broken.Heart.html [Exhibit 15] ............ 18

“Expulsion” (JPEG image), http://www.christusrex.org/

www //sistine/6-Expulsion.jpg [Exhibit 8] ........... 14

“Fanny Hill: Memoirs of a Woman of Pleasure by John

Cleland,” gopher://wiretap.spies.com: 70/00/Library/

Classic/fannyhill.txt [Exhibit 13] ............... 17-18

“Freedom of Expression and America On-line,” Attp://

motley-focus.com/~timber/aol.html [Exhibit 16] ...... 19

“Go Ask Alice Home Page,” Attp://kwaziwai.cc.

columbia.edu/cu/healthwise/alice.html [Exhibit 5] .... 11

Home Vision Cinema, “Clips from That Object of

Desire,” http://www. homevisioncinema.com/

homevision/clips.cgi ?thatobscure

— Video file: Attp://www.homevisioncinema.com/

catalog/thatobscure.alarge.mov [Exhibit 19] ..... 19-20

Internet World Wide Web Pages

Internet Support Groups [Ritual Abuse], http://www.

xroads.com:0080/rahome/support.htm [Exhibit 23] .. .

“James Joyce: Ulysses,” http:/www. bibliomania. —

com/F iction/joyce/ulysses/ [Exhibit 12]

Kaiser Permanente of Colorado, “Teen Web: Boys, You

are Changing,” hitp://www.kaiser-co.org/teenboys.

htm [Exhibit 1]

“Karra’s Korner,” http:/Awww.xroads.com/rainbow/ka

html [Exhibit 20} Bad

“Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman,” hitp://kwaziwai.cc.

columbia. edu/acis/bartleby/whitman/index.himl

ER BE o BSS Nos dn Sav ce He ARK e dies GRkS ss

Medical Interactive Applications, “MEDI.A. — Breast

Self-Examination,” http://www.immediate.com:80/

media/breast.html [Exhibit 2]

P. Murray, “My experience with breast cancer (illustra-

ted),” Attp://web.mit.edu/pamurray/www/artbc.html

ND ON S60 0.0:0b vi 8s doth de eelch es wade vac

“Naked Lunch by William S. Burroughs,” http://www.

whbr.com/nakedlunch/

— Audio file: Attp://www.wbr.com/nakedlunch/aj .

wav [Exhibit 14] <li

National Geographic Society, “Portfolio Exhibit,”

http://www. nationalgeographic.com/modules/

anata see html [Exhibit

vi

*_* ef © «©

eeee eevee eseeeeeeeeeeaseeeeeeoeeaeeoee ee ees

Page

24

Internet World Wide Web Pages

OncoLink, “NCI/PDQ Physician Statement: Penile

Cancer — Updated 01/07,” Attp://oncolink.upenn.

edu/pdq_html/I/engi/101082.html [Exhibit 2] ......

Palmer Museum of Art, “The PalmerONLINE Lobby,”

http://cac.psu.edu/~mtd 1 20/palmer/lobby.html

7 g, SS er ers Tree eT ere ee

“Penis Enlargement & Enhancement Surgery &

Male Augmentation,” Attp://www.enlarge.com/

ME TD ow cece cccccscececedovccscccccevees

“Phat Jams,” http://www.aswellas.se/drdre/sounds. html

— Audio file: http:/~www.aswellas.se/drdre/dreday.wav

IS BEB occ cece ccccvcvvescccceseveccees

Philadelphia Inquirer, “Inside Tibet,” http://www.

phillynews.com/packages/tibet/TENZO8.himl

I BTR oo cccwecccccsccscccccccescccecs

“Rape, Violence and Abuse,” http://www.vix.com/

pub/men/abuse/abuse.html [Exhibit 23} ...........

“Ritual Abuse and Healing Home Page,” http://www.

xroads.com/rahome/rahome.html [Exhibit 22] .....

“Robert Mapplethorpe Traveling Exhibition,” Attp://

fileroom.aaup.uic.edu/F ileRoom/documents/Cases/

337mapplethorpe.html [Exhibit 10] ..............

“Sex During Pregnancy,” Attp://www.uiuc.edu/

departments/mckinley/health-info/womenhlt/

sex-preg.html [Exhibit 3] ...... 66.6666 eee eee

“Surgery Center for Men — Penile Lengthening and

Enlargement,” Attp://www.2020tech.com/mensurg

STIR DN cv ccccccccccvedvcscccocccsccvecses

Vii

13-14

Internet World Wide Web Pages Page

“The Survivor's Page,” Attp://cam043212.studert.

co ee Pe 20

“Vaginal Birth After Cesarean FAQ,” http://www.

childbirth.org/section/VBACFAQ.html [Exhibit 3] .... 10

Vietnam Television Image (JPEG image), Attp://ww.

portoftacoma.com/colovos/VIETNAM/08/00000438.

TE 8S 6 CEE 0s NR hah wks 24

White House, First Lady’s Sculpture Garden (GIF image),

http://www. whitehouse. gov/WH/EOP/First_Lady/

images/raw/gard6.gif [Exhibit9) ................. 14

World Wide Arts Resources, “Nude Resources,”

http://wwar.com/creator/nudes.html [Exhibit 7] ...... 14

“Writings, Letters and Poetry by Survivors,”

http://cam043212.student.utwente.nl/Writing.htm

hans Sn tduete dss hdabudaesnanenata< 21

“You Oughta Know,” http://http.tamu.edu:8000/

~vkb5818/Alanis_Morissette_V2.0/Alanis_Lyrics/

CREE OU bac Kc kbd c Rhee CBR bs chb5 19

Other Authorities

Baumman, “Groups Pushing Parental Rights,” The Des

Moines Register, Metro lowa, Feb. 3, 1996, p.5 ... 12-13

Hartigan, “Mapplethorpe’s ‘Chilling Effect’: A Year

Later, Battle Goes On,” The Boston Globe, Oct. 6,

1991, Sunday, City Edition,p.1 .................. 15

“Panel Says Ban Judy Blume Novel,” Wisconsin St.

SO Beas MEAD eehiwsiowesccvedesines 13

Viii

Other Authorties

Polner, “The Four Forbidden Words,” Newsday, Feb. 5,

NOE OOD 5 cg whkveeess

“State Ranks 9th in Censorship Tries,” Wisconsin St.

Jour., Sept. 2, 1993, p.2B ..

“The Vampires of Delancey Street,” Philadelphia

Magazine, March 1996, p. 64

ix

In the Supreme Court of the Gunited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No. 96-511

JANET RENO, ATTORNEY GENERAL

OF THE UNITED STATES, ET AL.,

Appellants,

Vv.

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION, ET AL.,

Appellees.

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF

UNIVERSITY PROFESSORS, ET AL.

IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEES

The decision below correctly held that provisions of the

Communications Decency Act of 1996 (“CDA”), 47 U.S.C.

§ 223(a) & (d), as amended,’ that criminalize “indecent” and

“patently offensive” speech on the international computer

network known as the Internet impermissibly infringe nghts of

communication under the First Amendment and must be

enjoined from enforcement. If not enjoined, the statute will

deprive both adults and minors of information that is essential to

their health and well-being. The statute is unconstitutionally

overbroad in criminalizing non-obscene speech that has any

connection with sexual topics, despite the fact that the speech

possesses serious literary, artistic, political, or scientific value

and is protected by the First and Fifth Amendments.

1. The CDA is Title V of the Telecommunications Act of 1996, Pub. L.

No. 104-104, §§ 501 et. seqg., 110 Stat. 56, 133-43. Section 502 of the

statute, 110 Stat. at 133-36, enacted the operative provisions here as

amendments to Section 223 of the Communications Act of 1934, 47

U.S.C. § 223. Citations in this brief are to the provisions as codified

in the Communications Act.

2

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici are a diverse group of 25 individuals and

organizations that use the Internet, and include Internet service

providers (“ISPs”), over whose lines speech targeted by the CDA

is carried; individuals and organizations who place on the

Internet speech and other forms of expression on wide-ranging

subjects; individuals and organizations that access the Internet to

receive speech on diverse topics; and others who require and

believe firmly in freedom of expression in connection with their

use of the Internet. Many are individuals for whom the Internet

provides an unprecedented opportunity to publish and

disseminate speech on issues that they consider important. Some

are educators who use the Internet for both teaching and

research. A complete list of amici, with descriptions of their use

of the Internet, their interest in this litigation, and the impact that

the CDA has had (and would continue to have if enforced) on

their varying uses of the Internet, is set forth in a more detailed

Statement of Interest of Amici Curiae that is appended to this

brief. All parties have consented to the filing of this brief, and

letters of consent are being lodged with the Clerk.

Amici have the unique ability in this litigati

one of the fatal flaws in the CDA. its ho cde mera

antithesis of a narrowly tailored infringement on protected

speech. As users of the Internet, amici are directly affected by the

deterrence of speech that the CDA’s overbreadth causes. In

some cases, amici are deterred themselves from engaging in

speech because of fear of prosecution under the statute. In other

cases, amici are deprived of important information because the

statute's deterrent effect causes others to make information

unavailable. In either event, the CDA impermissibly infringes

amici’s rights of communication.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Each day, the Internet carries a vast array of speech having

serious social, political, literary, artistic, medical, and

educational merit. The CDA criminalizes much of this valuable

3

and constitutionally protected speech in a broad sweep that is not

narrowly tailored to achieve its stated justification. In so doing,

it chills the current and future speech of those who use the

Internet. The amici curiae who submit this brief represent only

a small fraction of the Internet speakers touched by the CDA’s

chill. The statute cannot achieve its stated ends without

simultaneously inhibiting or prohibiting amici’s constitutionally

protected and socially valuable speech.

The terms “indecent” in Section 223(a)(1)(B) of the statute

and “patently offensive as measured by contemporary commun-

ity standards” in Section 223(d) encompass speech by and to

amici tha! has independent value for both adults and minors. By

bringing such speech within its scope and chilling its dissemin-

ation, the CDA is unconstitutionally overbroad. The three-judge

panel below correctly so held. See American Civil Liberties

Union v. Reno, 929 F. Supp. 824, 854-57 (E.D. Pa. 1996).

In illustrating this overbreadth, amici do not advocate

access by all minors to all forms of expression on the Internet.

Amici recognize, for example, that some valuable and protected

speech that is appropriate for older teenagers may not be

appropriate for elementary school children, and that some

speech, while appropriate and even necessary for adults to

express and to hear, may not be appropriate for minors under the

age of 18. But as demonstrated by examples throughout this

brief, the CDA fails to take these gradations into account, thus

reducing all speech on the Internet to that appropriate for

elementary school children. In the process, the CDA not only

criminalizes protected speech, but also deprives parents of the

freedom and responsibility to choose what their own children

will access on the Internet. Parents understand their own

children’s maturity levels, life experiences, and needs to receive

different types of speech far better than the government ever can,

and, as appellees’ briefs explain in detail, computer technology

now has the ability to permit parents to make those selections for

themselves. Accordingly, the CDA’s censorship of all speech

that the government deems “indecent” or “patently offensive” for

minors is intolerable under the First Amendment.

4

ARGUMENT

In Criminalizing Speech with Serious Social, Political,

Artistic, Literary, Medical, Journalistic, and Educational

Value, the CDA Is Not Narrowly Tailored

To Achieve Its Stated Justification

Great and emerging works of art and literature. Life-

saving and life-enriching medical information. Social exchange

and personal interaction. Expressions of opinion on issues of

politics and societal concern. Journalistic reporting. Education

on a wide variety of issues. — To sove extent, the CDA

potentially criminalizes all of these things. It makes unlawful the

transmission of any not-otherwise-defined “indecent” communi-

cation (§ 223(a)(1)(B)) and the sending or display of any descrip-

tion of certain body parts that is “patently offensive as measured

by contemporary community standards” (§ 223(d)). Those terms

embrace much that is not obscene or pornographic, is not harm-

ful to minors, and is protected expression under the First Amend-

ment. For that simple reason, the CDA fails the overbreadth test.

It is not narrowly tailored to achieve its stated objective of

protecting minors.

Appellees, whom amici support, do not challenge any of

the CDA’s proscriptions against speech that is obscene or other-

wise outside the scope of the First Amendment’s protections. By

definition, then, this action challenges only the CDA’s prohi-

bition of speech that is constitutionally protected. A statute is

constitutionally overbroad if it presents a genuine likelihood that

it will prohibit a substantial amount of speech that is beyond its

permissible application. See Massachusetts v. Oakes, 491 U.S.

576 (1989); Board of Airport Commissioners v. Jews for Jesus,

Inc., 482 U.S. 569 (1987); Schad v. Mount Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61

(1981). Because the speech placed on the Internet by amici and

by appellees is protected speech under the First Amendment, the

court below correctly held (929 F. Supp. at 851, 858, 867 n.2) —

and the Government's brief does not appear seriously to contest

— that the CDA’s content-based criminal prohibition on that

speech must be subjected to strict scrutiny. Whatever verbal

5

formula is used to describe this applicable standard, the CDA

must be narrowly tailored to achieve its stated justification, no

matter how compelling that justification may be, or, stated

differently, must be the least restrictive alternative restriction on

speech that will satisfy that objective. Denver Area Educational

Telecommunications Consortium v. FCC, 518 U.S. __, 1168. Ct.

2374, 2391-92 (1996).

This Court has held that an ordinance that prohibited the

display of nudity at drive-in theaters but included in its sweep

non-obscene films protected by the First Amendment was uncon-

stitutionally overbroad. See Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville,

422 U.S. 205 (1975). The Court observed that while “[m}uch

that we encounter offends our esthetic, if not our political and

moral, sensibilities,” nevertheless “the Constitution does not

permit government to decide which types of otherwise protected

speech are sufficiently offensive to require protection for the

unwilling listener or viewer.” 422 U.S. at 210. The Court noted

that the Jacksonville ordinance, like the CDA here, discriminated

among movies “solely on the basis of content,” id. at 211, and

that its effect would be “to deter drive-in theaters from showing

movies containing any nudity, however innocent or even

educational.” Jd. Rejecting arguments that protection of minors

warranted the sweeping content-based prohibition in Erznoznik,

the Court observed that minors themselves have a significant

First Amendment right to receive speech and that this nght is

infringed by a law that “sweepingly forbids the display of all

films containing any uncovered buttocks or breasts, irrespective

of content or pervasiveness.” /d. at 213. The Court added:

Thus [the ordinance] would bar a film containing a

picture of a baby’s buttocks, the nude body of a war

victim, or scenes from a culture in which nudity is

indigenous. The ordinance also might prohibit news-

reel scenes of the opening of an art exhibit as well as

shots of bathers on a beach. Clearly all nudity cannot

be deemed obscene even as to minors. Nor can such

a broad restriction be justified by any other govern-

mental interest pertaining to minors. Speech that is

6

neither obscene as to youths nor subject to some

other legitimate proscription cannot be suppressed

solely to protect the young from ideas or images that

a legislative body thinks unsuitable for them.

Id. at 213-14 (citation and footnote omitted). The Court's char-

acterization of the Jacksonville ordinance could apply just as

well to the CDA.

In enacting the CDA, Congress failed to recognize and

provide for the First Amendment protection enjoyed by speech

that has serious social, political, literary, artistic, medical, or edu-

cational merit. “Indecency often is inseparable from the ideas

and viewpoints conveyed, or separable only with loss of truth or

expressive power.” Denver Area, 116 S. Ct. at 2416 (separate

opinion of Kennedy, J.). But by ignoring the redeeming qualities

of the speech, the CDA criminalizes all speech that might be

viewed as “indecent” or “patently offensive as measured by

contemporary community standards” in the hands of children,

regardless of the value that the speech may have for children

(particularly adolescents). And it utterly disregards the value of

this speech to adults. The Government itself admits (Govt. Br.

at 17-18) that “[t}here may be borderline cases in which it is

difficult to determine on which side of the line particular material

falls." The CDA’s sweep renders it unconstitutionally over-

broad. “Quarantining the general [Internet] public against

[transmissions] not too rugged for grown men and women in

order to shield juvenile innocence . . . is to burn the house to

roast the pig.” Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380, 383 (1957).

See Sable Communications v. FCC, 492 U.S. 115 (1989).

2. Although the Government and its supporting amici emphasize what

they say is the narrow scope of the statute's provisions, their briefs in

fact underscore the uncertainty created by the statute's breadth. For

example, one amicus, Morality in Media, Inc., apparently views a

broad range of AIDS-prevention materials and government documents

discussing sexual violence as within the statute's proscription of

“content that is indecent but not ‘pornographic."” See Br. of Amicus

Morality in Media at 7-8.

7

A. The CDA Is Overbroad in Banning Speech of Content

Providers.

The overbreadth of the CDA is best demonstrated by the

speech that the amici content providers and others situated

similarly to them regularly place on the Internet and that is

endangered under the CDA’s proscriptions. In contrast to the

“ocean” of “pornography” postulated by the Government and its

supporting amici (Br. of Amici Enough Is Enough, et al., at 7),

the affected speech deals with medical information about

subjects ranging from cancer detection to AIDS; depictions of

artwork ranging from established masterpieces in recognized

museums to avant garde works in less renowned galleries;

literary works ranging from classic novels and poetry to new

compositions; speech on social and political issues ranging from

sexual abuse to human rights; news reporting on all of these

issues; and educational materials of similar scope. The speech

ranges from the generally (although by no means universally)

, to that which is less in the mainstream — though no

less valuable. Under the CDA, all of it is criminalized.

» Medical Information on the Internet.

Medical information is widely available on the Internet. It

includes descriptions and depictions of sexual and excretory

activities and organs that in some “communities” may well be

considered “patently offensive,” or that some might consider

“indecent,” but which unquestionably have medical, scientific,

social, and educational value. Some sites discuss the onset of

puberty. Others discuss sexually transmitted diseases and means

to avoid their transmission — an issue of obvious importance to

youth and adults alike in today’s world. Other topics include

prostate cancer and surgery; testicular cancer and preventive self-

examination; breast cancer and preventive self-examination;

breast reconstruction after a mastectomy; breast feeding;

childbirth; and sex during pregnancy. Discussion of these

subjects necessarily entails frank and even graphic descriptions

8

that are within the CDA’s scope despite their high social,

medical, and scientific importance. °

The discussion of puberty on a World Wide Web page of

Kaiser Permanente of Colorado called ““TeenWeb: Boys, You are

Changing,” http://www.kaiser-co.org/teenboys.htm (Exhibit | to

the appendix to this brief),* presents a vivid illustration of the

ability of the Internet to convey medical information of interest

to teens. The page explains:

Boys in puberty start having more erections. This

means their penis gets hard and stiff from time to

time. This can happen when you touch or stroke your

penis, if pants are too tight, or when you nde a bike.

It can also happen when you are nervous, scared,

tense, or when you're thinking about sex. This is

because your sex organs are getting more sensitive.

An erection is normal, although it’s sometimes

embarrassing because it is unpredictable. Try to

ignore it. Usually only you notice it, not others.

Think about something else and the penis will get

soft and return to its normal size again. At some

point, an erection will result in ejaculation. This

means that semen, a creamy, white liquid containing

sperm will squirt out of the penis. This can happen in

3. As Justice Kennedy pointed out last Term, “In scientific programs, the

more graphic the depiction (even to the point of offensiveness), the

more accurate and comprehensive the portrayal of the truth may be.”

Denver Area, 116 S. Ct. at 2416 (separate opinion).

4. Printed copies of World Wide Web pages cited in this brief are

included in an appendix of exhibits that is being lodged with the Clerk.

That appendix — along with this brief itself — also is being lodged

with the Clerk in electronic form (a compact disc) for the Court's

convenience. Examples of some of the illustrations included on the

Internet, along with citations to their sources, are reproduced

throughout this bnef in graphics boxes containing material downloaded

from Web sites.

9

your sleep and you may wake up with wet and sticky

pajamas. People call this a “wet dream.” This is a

normal part of growing and nothing to feel ashamed

about. When you start ejaculating, it means you are

potentially able to cause a pregnancy in a woman

since your body can make and deliver sperm.

The value of this type of information in educating young people

about their bodies is readily apparent. The detailed and graphic

nature of the description enhances that value, rather than re-

ducing it. And the fact that presentations such as this are aimed

directly at adolescents simply makes them more understandable

to their intended audience. But even under the Government's

new, narrower interpretations (not presented to the court below)

of what it calls the “transmission” and “specific child” provisions

of the CDA (see Govt. Br. at 24-27), the fact that these materials

are “knowingly” directed to minors makes them a potential sub-

ject of criminal liability under all of the challenged provisions of

the statute.

Similarly, illustrations and frank discussions of such impor-

tant health matters as breast cancer detection through self-

examination and the warning signs of penile cancer may fall

within the broad

language of the

CDA. Such discus-

sions, which are es-

sential to informed

discourse on these

vital subjects, are

not uncommon on

the Internet. See,

€.2., http://www.

immediate.com:80/

media/breast.html;

http://oncolink.

upenn.edu/pdq_

html/1/englV/101082.

html (Exhibit 2).

10

The same is true of sites candidly discussing surgical issues, such

as breast reconstruction and penile prosthetics, and pregnancy

issues, such as intercourse during pregnancy and post-caesarean

vaginal birth. See, e.g., http://web.mit.edu/pamurray/www/

artbc.himl, http://www.2020tech.com/mensurg/, http://www.

enlarge.com/; hitp://www.uiuc.edu/departments/

mckinley/health-info/womenhlt/sex-preg.html;

http://www. childbirth. org/section/VBACFAQ. html

(Exhibit 3). Many of these sites publish photographs, drawings,

or other depictions of sexual and excretory activities and organs

— illustrations that are essential to convey information about

these subjects. Under the overbroad scope of the CDA, all of

their authors are subject to the threat of criminal prosecution.

Because of that threat, the CDA potentially denies millions of

Americans accurate sources of health information that could

improve, and in certain cases even save, countless lives.

A paradigm example of legitimate — even compelling —

medical material on the Web is information advising about how

to avoid the sexual transmission of disease, particularly the

transmission of HIV, the virus that causes AIDS. Such

information is vital to adults, and may be even more vital to

teens. The Web sites offering this information frequently are

addressed to sexually active teenagers, a group most likely to

engage in sexual experimentation and least likely to have

adequate knowledge of how to avoid the dangers of

“unprotected” sexual activity in today’s world. Any effective

delivery of meaningful sexual information to such an audience,

which often is unsophisticated when it comes to medical

terminology, requires the use of “street language” — including

language that was at issue in FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, 438

U.S. 726 (1978). In Pacifica, the Court held that a broadcast

featuring George Carlin’s use of seven specified “dirty” words in

a comedy routine could be restricted to time slots when children

were unlikely to be in the audience. According to the

Conference Report to the CDA, H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-458,

at 188-89 (1996), that decision sets the legal standard for

determining whether speech violates the CDA’s provisions that

would ban from all sites and at all times (not just restrict to time

11

slots) all “indecent” and “patently offensive” speech. Yet, the

Pacifica-like language that Congress seeks to ban completely

from the Internet is essential to the communication of this critical

medical information.

For example, amicus Coalition for Positive Sexuality

authors a Web page designed to provide teenagers with com-

prehensive information about sexual issues.’ As it states on that

page, “We chose words . . . that we use when we talk about sex

with our friends. We’re not doctors and we don’t pretend to be,

so pardon our French!” See http://www.positive.org/cps/jsy/jsy.

html (Exhibit 6). The site contains detailed and graphic infor-

mation about “safe sex”’ practices, including illustrated instruc-

tions about how to use a condom, which is an essential element

in preventing the spread of HIV. See id. at http://www.positive.

org/cps/jsy/safe_sex.html. Those instructions are frank, friendly,

Source: hup:/www. positive.org/cps/jsw/safe_sex.himl

HERE'S WHAT YOU DO:

| Get ready. Make sur your condoms az fresh — check the

expumtion date Throw away condoms that have been very

cold or hot or that have been camed around m you wallet or

run through the washer If you thunk the condom might not be

good, get anew one. You and you partner are worth it.

5. There are a number of such sites on the Web. For example, the site of

amicus Tri Dang Do, a medical student at Boston University, includes

a page that provides education to teens on sexually transmitted

diseases. See http://med-www.bu.edu/people/sycamore/std/std.htm/

(Exhibit 4). Another illustrative site is Healthwise, the Health,

Education and Wellness program of Columbia University Health

Service, which includes an award-winning feature entitled “Go Ask

Alice,” an interactive question and answer service explicitly dealing

with sexual health and relationships. See http://kwaziwai.cc.columbia.

edu/cu/healthwise/alice.html (Exhibit 5).

12

colloquial, and unvarnished. See, e.g., id. (“That dick has to be

hard before you put a condom on it”: “Guys — if you cum in the

condom while having sex, hold the condom near your balls and

pull out while you're still hard”).

The language used in these examples undoubtedly is crude,

distasteful, or shocking to many segments of society. But it is

the language most likely to be understood by an intended audi-

ence that, as the phrase “street language” implies, makes use of

such words every day. Although the examples in the preceding

paragraph do not contain any of the precise “seven dirty words”

from Pacifica, no one has suggested that Internet users can avoid

criminal liability simply by shunning these seven words, and, in

any event, other paragraphs from the Coalition for Positive

Sexuality’s Web site do contain the Pacifica language. See

generally http://www. positive. org/cps/jsy/jsy.html (Exhibit 6).

The language used on its site is just as likely to strike censorious

adults as “indecent” or “patently offensive” as the words at issue

in Pacifica, and it is precisely such language that, according to

the conference report, the CDA was intended to ban. That ban

is oblivious to the instructional value provided by frank speech

of this type, and a statutory proscription of such speech merely

because minors — those arguably most in need of the infor-

mation — may receive it is unconstitutionally overbroad.

Of course, the language used in the foregoing examples

will, for many people, be just one small source of objections.

For many, any frank discussion of sexual topics is indecent,

regardless of the words used, and that certainly is true when the

discussion turns to more stigmatized sexual practices, such as

oral or anal intercourse. Additional objections may be triggered

by a discussion of gay or lesbian relationships or sexual conduct

between persons of the same sex. Add the thought of minors

Participating in such activities, and, for many, a conclusion of

“indecency” and “patent offensiveness” will follow a fortiori.°

13

But it is a well-known fact that such sexual activities are a part

of the experiences of many teenagers (as well as large groups of

adults) today. And it is a depressingly well-known fact that

many of these activities can be fatal without proper precautions

and advice. Life-saving advice about how to take those

precautions therefore cannot be dismissed as too indecent to be

communicated. Nevertheless, the CDA is broad enough to

sweep it within its prohibitions.

» Artwork on the Internet.

With increasing frequency, art institutions are placing home

pages on the Internet. Museums have created Web sites or home

pages not only to discuss their exhibits and provide a cyberspace

forum for art aficionados, but also to display art on the Internet.

The overbreadth of the CDA’s “indecent” and “patently

offensive” prohibitions ensures that the subjective opinions

forming the basis of art appreciation now must take a back seat

to concerns about what the government or certain unspecified

“communities” may deem unacceptable.

The numerous art galleries, museums, and other art

institutions on the Internet include the Metropolitan Museum of

Art, Whitney Museum of American Art, Smithsonian Institution,

and the Vatican Museum. Frequently, their sites provide

descriptions of their galleries with links to some of the images

displayed there and guided tours through some of the collections.

See, e.g., http://cac.psu.edu/~mid120/palmer/lobby.html (Palmer

Museum of Art; Exhibit 7). Typically, these sites also include

links to the Web pages of other art institutions, and some sites

even have provided search mechanisms to assist in locating other

Rights,” The Des Moines Register, Metro lowa, Feb. 3, 1996. at 5.

Similarly, much of the effort to remove books from public school

libraries, discussed at pages 17-18, infra, has been aimed at sexually

explicit literature, including books specifically aimed at helping teen-

agers deal with their emerging sexuality. See “State Ranks 9th in Cen-

sorship Tries,” Wisconsin St. Jour., Sept. 2, 1993, at 2B; “Panel Says

Ban Judy Blume Novel,” Wisconsin St. Jour., Mar. 31, 1993, at 3D.

art-related sites and have

created links to allow access

, to those sites. See, e.g., id.

<= One organization, World

Wide Arts’ Resources,

provides an _ extensive

directory of art institutions

on the Internet that includes

among its lists a full page of

“nude resources.” See

http://wwar.com/creator/

nudes.html (included with

Exhibit 7). The art

institutions’ Web pages dis-

play a diverse array of art,

ranging from such Sistine

Chapel nudes as_ the

Expulsion of Adam and Eve,

http://www. christusrex.org/www1/sistine/6-Expulsion._jpg

(Exhibit 8) (works that themselves, until just a few years ago,

were covered with strategic drapes of paint because church

authorities found the lack of clothing indecent), to modern art

collections. Creators and purveyors of such works now have a

reasonable fear of prosecution under the CDA for these activities

because the CDA encompasses so much.

The value of an unfettered display of art on the Internet

cannot be exaggerated. With the exponential growth of the

Internet and the ability of Web sites to reach millions, the

potential for exposure to art is unbounded. Internet users

everywhere can view paintings, drawings, and sculpture housed

in museums or other collections located thousands of miles away

without ever having to leave their homes. See, e.g.,

http://www. whitehouse. gov/WH/EOP/First_Lady/images/raw/

gard6.gif (Exhibit 9) (one example of sculpture shown on

Internet; other examples of artwork on Internet are collected

under that same exhibit number). Far more people can

experience art of all varieties through this medium than through

any other, including libraries or television, simply because of the

15

Internet’s unprecedented capacity for transmitting information.

There also can be no doubt that adults are not the only

beneficiaries of this broadened participation in the art world. Art

education is invaluable to people of all ages.

Appreciation of selected works of art is, of course, a most

subjective judgment. In 1989, for example, Washington's

Corcoran Gallery refused to show an exhibition of bold photo-

graphs taken by Robert Mapplethorpe, organized and initially

shown without objection by the University of Pennsyivenia’s

Institute for Contemporary Art, even though Mapplethorpe was

a National Endowment of the Arts grant recipient and many had

acclaimed his work. A Cincinnati museum director was arrested

on obscenity charges for choosing to show the exhibit, but the

jury returned a not-guilty verdict, finding that the art was not

obscene. See Hartigan, “Mapplethorpe’s ‘Chilling Effect’: A

Year Later, Battle Goes On,” The Boston Globe, Oct. 6, 1991,

Sunday, City Edition, p. 1. To many, the exhibit, which included

homoerotic photographs, was indecent. To many others, the

photographs were modern artistic expressions deserving of exhi-

bition and appreciation. This case demonstrates the dangers

posed by a law criminalizing speech based on “community

standards” of offensiveness. As the court below observed (929

F. Supp. at 844), Mapplethorpe’s works are among those now

Source: hitp./www.cmp.ucr edu/exhibitions/w_m/wm2.himi

A compartson of Westen's Nude Floating, 1939 and Mappiethorpe's Thomas.

1986, provides one example of the shift in context presented by this exhibition.

.

4

’

-

pI

Weston’s Nude Floating, 1939. an mmage of 2 woman floating face up m 2 swunerung pool, with

Mapplethorpe’s Thomas, 1986, an 1 of a nude man tmuthy posed m « square structe Here, the

saline iateteaatbenmetvtecstemngumententanes

reated m sometal reimmonshaps, gender, rece, and sexuaitty (dews< Mappiethorpe’s work

cramaned next to Weston’s arvites the viewer to look beyond the lngermg NFA controversy and sec

the mnage for as formal wm the wedimon of moderns! photography im both cases the

compansoas serve to more ground the ertsts work m 20th century at practice

CAPTIONS:

Eaware Weston, Mads Ploatmg. 1999 Specal Coliechons UC/Sanme Cra

Robert Mappicthorpe Thoma 986 Robert Mappiatharpe F mandation © 98¢ Esume 0{ Rober Mappicthorpe ised by permmsmon

16

exhibited on the Internet and (once again) in danger of

prosecution. See, e.g., Attp://fileroom.aaup.uic.edu/FileRoom/

documents/Cases/337mapplethorpe.html (Exhibit 10). Amicus

Califomia Museum of Photography at The University of

California, Riverside, is just one of those exhibitors. See, e.g.,

http://www.cmp.ucr.edu/exhibitions/w_m/wm2.html(Exhibit 1 1).

Subjecting its educational site to the threat of criminal

prosecution because it is available to minors would be both

ironic (it is part of a state university system) and stifling, but the

CDA nevertheless has that effect.

The First Amendment does not tolerate banning non-

obscene art works merely because of differing subjective

judgments. But the CDA subjects art exhibited on the Internet

to precisely that damage. In certain communities, even such

classic works as Michelangelo’s David and the now-undraped

Sistine Chapel may fall within the broad language of the CDA.

The CDA will chill, and indeed cripple, this valuable use

of the Internet. Where art that some may consider potentially

“indecent” or “patently offensive as measured by contemporary

community standards” is already on the Internet, the museums

and other institutions that have placed it there may be exposed to

criminal prosecution. Museums, galleries, and individuals now

must choose between placing art on the Internet that some might

find objectionable, thus opening themselves up to prosecution,

or deliberately excluding from their Web sites important art that

is protected under the First Amendment. Simply put, the choice

for these amici — as for all the amici — is between prosecution

for free speech or chilled spers+ The First Amendment protects

against such a choice.

» Literature on the Internet.

Like art, literature is particularly susceptible to differences

in interpretation. That is as true on the Internet as it is on bound

pages. The CDA’s overbreadth fails to acknowledge that one

17

Internet user’s literature is another's “indecent” or “patently

offensive” communication. ’

Communities throughout the United States have on

occasion banned classic literature from libraries, purportedly for

being harmful to minors. See, e.g., Dist. Ct. Br. of Pl. Amer.

Library Assn. in Support of Mo. for Prelim. Inj., Ex. 19, at Ex.

O. The banned works include Whitman's Leaves of Grass,

Joyce’s Ulysses, Voltaire’s Candide, and Chaucer's The

Canterbury Tales, all of which are now on the Internet. See

htp://kwaziwai.cc.columbia.edu/acis/bartleby/whitman/index.

html; gopher://wiretap.spies.com:70/00/Library/Classic/

canterbury.txt, gopher://gopher.vt.edu:10010/02/155/1; http://

www.bibliomania.com/F iction/joyce/ulysses/ (Exhibit 12). This

Court itself has determined that another target of would-be book

banners, Fanny Hill by John Cleland, is not obscene. See

Memoirs v. Massachusetts, 383 U.S. 413 (1966). It too is on the

Internet. See gopher://wiretap.spies.com:70/00/Library/Classic/

7. Yet another indication of the CDA's overbreadth is the irony that

results from the availability in the print media of speech identical to

that banned on the Internet under the CDA. Although, as discussed in

the main text, book-banning efforts are not uncommon, no federal

Statute purports to authorize such silencing of protected speech. In

books, magazines, and newspapers, adults and minors alike therefore

have lawful access to information and other forms of speech of the

same nature as that falling under the CDA's rubric of “indecent” or

“patently offensive.” While the Internet, because of its limitless

capacity for providing forums for individual speakers, expands the

amount of information available in other media, it does not necessarily

expand the types of information available there. Thus, minors can

check out books from libraries, purchase books or magazines or

newspapers in bookstores or from other vendors, or subscribe to

periodicals in their home, all containing speech of the same sort that

they are now legally prohibited from receiving on the Internet. And.

publishers in the print and even broadcast media can disseminate that

speech while those on the Internet cannot. In failing to be sufficiently

tailored to narrowly achieve its stated ends, the CDA fails both to meet

those ends and to pass constitutional muster.

18

fannyhill.txt (Exhibit 13).° Considering their track records, there

is no reason to believe that communities that have tried to ban or

exclude from libraries books in print form will not target them as

being “indecent” or “patently offensive” when transmitted, to

minors among others, over the Internet. The reasonable fear of

prosecution that this prospect will instill in speakers who place

all or portions of these works on the Internet renders the CDA

unconstitutionally overbroad.

The CDA gives communities an ostensible legal basis for

what amounts to online book banning, even though courts have

held that removal from school libraries of hard copies of these

same works violates of the First Amendment. See Minarcini v.

Strongville City School District, 541 F.2d 577 (6th Cir. 1976).

Even works of a less literary nature are protected when in print

form. See, e.g., Herceg v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 814 F.2d 1017

(Sth Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 959 (1988). No different

result should obtain when such works are placed on the Internet.

Yet under the CDA, a very different result, of criminal

proportions, will obtain. Despite the Government's argument to

the contrary, there is nothing in the language of the CDA that

permits consideration of the literary, social, or historical merit of

a targeted literary work.

The so-called “classics” are not the only literature

transmitted on the Internet that the CDA endangers. See, ¢.g.,

hitp://www.igc.org/Womensnet/dworkin/New. Womans. Broken.

Heart.html, http://www.igc.org/Womensnet/dworkin/

Intercoursel.html (Exhibit 15) (short stories by noted feminist

Andrea Dworkin). Perhaps even more so, newly composed

works by emerging authors and poets are likely to be the target

of the “indecency police.” The Internet is a ground-breaking

medium for innovative authors because they can publish and

disseminate their literary creations without the need for

traditional agents and publishing houses or for personal financial

s Some classic literature also is available on the Internet in audio format.

See, e.g., http://www. wbr.com/nakedlunch/ajparty.wav (Exhibit 14)

(excerpts from Naked Lunch, as read by author William S. Burroughs).

19

expenditures. On the Internet, they can share their works with

readers and fellow writers, exchange criticism and suggestions,

hone their craft, and achieve satisfaction knowing that others are

finding enjoyment or inspiration reading their works. Yet works

placed on the Internet that touch on such things as the sexual

aspects of love and romance can be expected to be prime targets

for those quick to find “indecency.”

Groups such as amicus Creative Coalition of Artists, an

organization of online poets, have felt the chill from this over-

breadth. Even prior to the final enactment of the CDA, America

OnLine removed dozens of poems from Creative Coalition's

Poetry Corner in response to demands of some who believed that

the use of words such as “breast” rendered the poems indecent.

Some poems were removed for no discernible reason what-

soever, making it impossible for their authors to understand what

language had been considered “indecent” and therefore had to be

avoided. See hitp://motley-focus.com/~timber/aol.html (Exhibit

16). Now the vagaries of “indecency” also carry the threats of

government censorship and criminal prosecution.

Nor is the scope of the CDA limited to books.

Technological innovations now make it possible to transmit and

receive not just text and pictures on the Internet, but also motion

compositions (as well as scripts and lyrics from those works).

These contemporary compositions sometimes contain explicit

sexual themes or lyrics. Just one example of a contemporary

musical composition with a sexual theme and lyrics is Alanis

Morissette’s You Oughta Know, which won the 1996 Grammy

Award for Best Rock Song of the Year. The song is on the

Internet in three available formats: the lyrics, the audio version,

and the music video. See http://hitp.tamu.edu:8000/~vkb58 | 8/

Alanis_Morissette_V2.0/Alanis_Lyrics/oughta.html; http://www.

animatrix.com/Alanis_Morissette/ra/Oughta.wav, hitp://mbess.

ccsm.uiuc.edu:80/alanis/know | mov (Exhibit 17). See also hitp://

aaa dean om eae 18) (another exam-

-—_ 1 pop ical “ on

Internet m audio form); Attp:/Awww.homevisioncinema.com/

20

catalog/thatobscure.alarge.mov (Exhibit 19) (example of movie

clips from sexually explicit non-obscene foreign films). Such

new compositions on the Internet are in jeopardy under the CDA.

> Social and Political Discourse on the Internet.

Issues of social and political import are widely discussed

on the Internet. Certain issues implicate topics of discussion that

fall squarely within the overbroad language of the CDA, and yet

are both vital to informed discourse in a democratic society and

fully protected under the First Amendment. They include, but

certainly are not limited to, sexual abuse and human rights

issues.

For example, Karra’s Korner and The Survivor's Page are

Web sites dedicated to sexual abuse and rape survivors. See

hitp://www.xroads.com/rainbow/karra. html, http://cam0432 12.

student.utwente.nl/ (Exhibits 20 and 21). They include chat

rooms offered as a forum for survivors to share their experiences

poems and stories composed by them. Ed Carp, an amicus in the

court below, operated a similar site called “Khijol” that was

dedicated to survivors of sexual abuse; it has since been re-

moved from the Web. It is impossible for such sites to avoid

in a manner that would, as measured by the contemporary

standards of some communities, be patently offensive. Con-

sidering the nature of the issue, it would be unreasonable and

unrealistic to expect otherwise. Unfortunately, these realities are

no impediment to the CDA’s reach.

It would likewise be undesirable for such sites to prevent

minors from participating, considering that sexual abuse often is

perpetrated on minors. Even if it were technologically possible

for those who maintain such Web sites to exclude minors (which

it is not), such a restriction would undermine the sites’ very

for example, deals explicitly with ritual abuse. See hitp://www.

xroads.com/rahome/rahome.html (Exhibit 22). Others address

21

family violence, sexual abuse, and child abuse, all linked by

common sites such as that of Internet Support Groups. See

hitp://www.xroads.com:0080/rahome/support.him; http://www.

vix.com/pub/men/abuse/abuse. himl (Exhibit 23). Still another

site Carnes writings, letters, and poetry by survivors. See http://

cam04321 2.student.utwente.nl/Writing.htm (Exhibit 24). To de-

prive these Internet users of the ability to speak, communicate,

and assist one another — having survived (or being still trapped

in) the horrifying experience of sexual abuse — would be yet a

further violation. But the authors of sites like these realistically

may be concerned that they now face prosecution for providing

this service and may be unable to continue doing so.

Similarly, it is essential to the mission of human rights

organizations such as Derechos, an amicus here, to inform about

the nature of human rights abuses wherever and in whatever

form they occur. Too often, such abuses include physical

atrocities relating ing to the victims " “sexual or excretory organs.”

However distasteful, difficult, or “offensive” this topic may be

for some to confront, it is speech of truly serious social and

political teed , ‘ot ' ond

persuading people to fight against them, is a vital form of speech

on the Internet.

Derechos Web site, includes on that site excerpted personal

me nee an wy yee ing comaat tortano of Goth turn and

women, in Nunca (Never in), the of

the Argentine National Commission ant teases

Persons, which details the disappearance of 9,000 people in

Argentina in the 1970s. See hitp://www.derechos.org/indecent.

html (Exhibit 25). They include the following:

... At some point he feels that they pick him up,

they take him through a corridor to another place,

where they order him to undress, they throw him on

a cot and they say to him: “Look, I am ‘El Aleman,””

screaming. “El Aleman” tries to introduce a pipe into

22

his anus. Another voice tells them to leave him, and

speaking to the victim, he says: “you see, | am ‘El

Gallego,’ and saved you from him putting the iron

bar in you.” They put him naked, with his legs and

arms opened, tied with leather. “El Gallego” tells him

to speak, while he applies an electric shock on his

ankle, burning his muscles, he still has the marks. He

is also interrogated by a woman. “E] Gallego” applies

the “picana™ [electric cattle-prod-like instrument] on

his armpits, where he also still has the scars. “El

Gallego” laughed and tells the woman: “You, you

like the piece, you continue.” Then he feels as the

woman takes his member and introduces in it some

caustic-like liquid, and because of this he still has

problems urinating.

... Then they proceeded to introduce in my vagina

what | knew afterwards to be a baton or a police

stick. Then they took me to another building, where

they made me eat handcuffed to a table. When I

refused to, they took me to another building, where

they would make me stand and go back to

interrogating me, hitting me on the head and

threatening to introduce the stick I mentioned before

in my anus.

Many of the victims of such torture were themselves

younger than 18. To omit from Internet coverage of human

nights abuses such personal accounts as these, written by those

who have suffered through them for the sake of the values they

champion, would be to silence voices of experience, education,

and warning. Nevertheless, the CDA is broad enough to do so.

The CDA forces authors of home pages dedicated to these issues,

and users of those pages, to make a choice between emasculating

their speech by omitting descriptions and depictions of human

rights abuses, or risking criminal prosecution for speaking out.

The First Amendment does not tolerate that choice. Indeed, the

irony of our democratic government silencing speech on human

23

rights abuses inflicted by non-democratic regimes should not be

lost on the Court.

Of course, the story of the Argentine disappearances, like

many of the reports of human rights abuses on the Internet, is

historical and serves only to warn readers: “Never again,” as to

crimes against humanity that have already occurred. But abuses

involving “indecent” and “patently offensive” behavior also are

perpetrated today, and the Internet is the quickest and most

effective tool for exposing them. One wonders whether the

disappearances — or indeed the Holocaust — would have

occurred so brazenly if the Internet had been reporting on them

twenty or sixty years ago. Yet the graphic reports that might

have caught the world’s attention would have been threatened

with criminal prosecutions under the CDA.

» Journalism on the Internet.

The news media have gone online. Hundreds of news pro-

viders in the United States alone, ranging from daily newspapers

torture and abuse of nuns in Tibetan prison); http://detnews.

com/menu/stories/19449.him; — http://detnews.com/96/nation/

24

9701/03/01030061 .htm (Exhibit 27) (recent Detroit Free Press

articles about treatments of yeast infections in women and im-

potence in men). The angry posturing of combatants in war, at

the scenes of crime, in the political arena, outside abortion

clinics, or in other newsmaking settings will often provoke the

use of language adjudged by some to be indecent. And from tele-

vision footage of the napalm bombing of Vietnam villagers, e.g.,

http://www. portoftacoma.com/colovos/VIETNAM/08/000004 38.

JPG (Exhibit 28), to classic National Geographic reports on

indigenous peoples in less developed parts of the globe, €.2.,

http://www.nationalgeographic.com/modules/contact2/briefing/

clickup/portfolio-k3.html (Exhibit 29), the daily parade of news

events will often result in compelling photojournalism. Under

the First Amendment, coverage of such issues, disturbing though

they may be, is not limited to material suitable to minors. &.

Herceg, 814 F.2d at 1020 (First Amendment protected article

detailing life-threatening sexual act, even though adolescent who

obtained article died trying to imitate act).

It is reasonable for those who place their reporting on the

Internet to fear prosecution under the CDA. Precedent as to the

print and broadcast media demonstrates the propensity of some

25

people to view factual reporting, which is at the core of the First

Amendment, as “indecent” or “patently offensive.” For example,

when National Public Radio in a profile of John Gotti aired an

evidentiary tape used in court that included Gotti’ s repetitive use

of expletives, a listener sued the Federal Communications

Commission to force the agency to punish NPR. See Branton vy.

FCC, 993 F.2d 906 (D.C. Cir. 1993), cert. denied. 114 S. Ct

1610 (1994).

Nevertheless, journalists cannot and should not shy away

from coverage of topics within the potential scope of the CDA,

for such topics are of legitimate public concern. The CDA raises

the stakes in covering such issues. Despite the public interest in

government funding of the works of controversial artists, which

has led to extensive media coverage over a period of years, the

CDA might, for example, have subjected the media to threatened

prosecution for describing one of the works in question, Andres

Serrano’s “Piss Christ,” as a crucifix placed in jar of urine,

which many certainly would find offensive, or for reporting

Serrano’s explanation of that work. See http://www.collegian.

psu.edu/archive/1996_jan-dec/1996_oct/1996-1 0-02_the_daily_

collegian/1996-10-02d01-001 htm: http ://www.artsusa.org/

Advocacy/flatline.htm (Exhibit 30). Similarly, just a few months

before the decision below was rendered, Philadelphia Magazine,

an amicus here, reported on male prostitution in Center City,

Philadelphia. See “The Vampires of Delancey Street,”

Philadelphia Magazine, March 1996, p. 64. The report's neces-

sarily graphic content raised a specter of criminal liability under

the CDA in the event of Web publication. °

9. As the Serrano reporting demonstrates, these concerns are not limited

to professional news organizations, but apply equally to less traditional

publications like on-line college newspapers, many of which contain

articles with frank discussions of sexuality. See also The Daily

Californian (Univ. of Cal., Berkeley), http://www.dailycal.org/Issues/

09.09.96/condoms.txt (Exhibit 31); The Daily Pennsylvanian (Univ. of

Pa.), hitp://www.dp.upenn.edu/AppleSearch.acgi$RETRIEVE, /3.

1 1964,5506,0,6927.0 (Exhibit 32). They also apply to organizations

seeking to issue press releases about these topics. For example, the

26

The CDA places a gag on those who would report the

news, forcing them to engage in self-policing far beyond

anything required in the print media (to which the Internet is

most analogous) or even the broadcast media. The CDA ban on

speech applies twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, every

day of the year. Unlike the broadcast restrictions approved in

Pacifica, there is no “adult” time zone available here, and no

recognition of the utility of scrambling mechanisms. The gag on

the Internet is complete and total.

» Education on the Internet

The Internet is a powerful teaching and research tool. In

universities, for example, professors use the Internet to sup-

plement printed materials available to students, some of whom

are minors, in order to offer more comprehensive treatment of

facts and issues. The ready access to information made possible

by the Internet, in addition to smaller local area networks within

university communities, enhances the educational experience.

Professors use the Internet not only to teach courses covering the

subjects discussed in the foregoing sections of this brief ~ for

example, medicine, anatomy, a art, social —.

nalism, and human rights — but also courses on such i

the social and psychological effects of pornography and the phi-

losophical implications of cyberspace. This is accomplished by

posting course materials on Web sites; transmitting, via e-mail,

information located elsewhere on the Internet; encouraging

students to explore the information available on the Internet ina

particular subject area; and, in many cases, by a combination of

all of these methods. And as discussed later in this brief, pro-

fessors also utilize the Internet in their own research and to

communicate and exchange information with their colleagues at

other institutions.

CDA's restrictions could impede amicus Lambda Legal Defense and

Educational Fund's ability to disseminate information about a recent

litigation victory involving anti-gay abuse of a teenager that included

a mock rape.

27

For example, amicus Peter Ludlow, an Associate Professor

at the State University of New York at Stony Brook, places

online all of his course materials for his course, entitled

“Conceptual Issues in Cyberspace.” The course covers, in an

online context, such issues as the nature of online sexual

behavior in multi-user online games known as “MUDs.” The very

reason that some materials are used in the course is that they are

construed by some as “indecent,” and an analysis of that

construction is part of what the course addresses. Transmitting

these materials, even in the context of providing a

comprehensive academic analysis, may itself be construed

“indecent” and, therefore, criminalized by the CDA. Certainly

the wide-sweeping CDA does not provide for consideration of

the context in which materials are placed on the Internet. For

that reason, Professor Ludlow chose to change his approach to

using online course material for his class last semester on moral

reasoning as applied to the Internet, which included materials

actually subject to censorship and thus considered by some to be

“indecent” or “patently offensive” per se. While most of the

readings for the course were made available online, Professor

Ludlow felt unable to provide online copies of the more

controversial materials, concerned that if the CDA were in effect

he could be subject to prosecution under its provisions for his

teaching activities.

The CDA therefore poses a threat to academic freedom,

which requires broad latitude for teaching and research in the

pursuit of truth and knowledge. See, e.g., Keyishian v. Board of

Regents of University of State of New York, 385 U.S. 589, 603

(1967) (recognizing importance of academic freedom to

democracy). The /940 Statement of Principles on Academic

Freedom and Tenure, adopted 57 years ago by amicus American

Association of University Professors and endorsed by more than

150 professional organizations and learned societies, applies

fully and forcefully in the context of the Internet of the 1990s:

“Freedom in research is fundamental to the advancement of

truth. Academic freedom in its teaching aspect is fundamental

for the protection of the rights of the teacher in teaching and of

the student to freedom in learning.” AAUP Policy Documents

28

& Reports (1995 ed.); see http://www.igc.apc. org/aaup/1940stat.

him (Exhibit 33). The criminal proscniptions of the CDA would

eviscerate vast realms of teaching and learning materials, to the

detriment of both teachers and students, both adults and minors.

The CDA also stifles access to information te orton

libraries, including those affiliated with institutions of hig

learning. “A library is a mighty resource in the free —.

of ideas. It is specially dedicated to the broad dissemination Oo

ideas. It is a forum for silent speech.” Minarcini, 541 F.2d at

582-83 (citations omitted). Yet, while materials available in

print form are fully accessible to minors and adults, the CDA

prohibits the same access on the Internet. And, while a library

has the freedom to choose what books and periodicals to include

in its collection, so that it can identify and eliminate works it

determines to be unsuitable, the CDA prevents it from relying on

its own judgment of what Internet sites its users may access. By

making access to the Internet available to minors, a library or

individual librarian now risks prosecution under the CDA.

B. The CDA Also Is Overbroad in Banning Speech Sought

by Content Recipients.

It is not only speakers on the Internet who feel the chill

posed by the CDA. The millions who access speech on the

Internet feel it as well. They do not open themselves up to crim-

inal prosecution, as do content providers (although, if they down-

load the content into e-mail messages to minors OF otherwise

disseminate questionable content so that it may reach a minor,

they risk becoming content providers themselves). But they are

deprived of access to speech with serious redeeming merit which

they are entitled to receive under the First Amendment.

ipients of speech are equally entitled to protection under

the Ry rhe That protection is afforded “to the

communication, to its source and to its recipients both. Virginia

State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens Consumer Council,

425 US. 748, 756 (1976). The “right of the public to receive

suitable access to social, political, esthetic, moral, and other

a eae eee a =

29

ideas and experiences” is “crucial” and “may not be

constitutionally abridged” by statute or regulation. Red Lion

Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 390 (1969). Neverthe-

less, the CDA violates this principle.

Several of the amici experience the chill of the CDA from

the perspective of a recipient of speech. For example, Lloyd K.

Stires, a social psychologist and professor who teaches a seminar

entitled “Pornography: Critical, Behavioral and Legal

Approaches” at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, conducts

research for the course on the Internet. The CDA jeopardizes his

ability to research non-obscene speech protected by the First

Amendment. Amicus American Association of University

Professors represents thousands more like Professor Stires, who

increasingly depend on the Internet as a source of information on

a host of issues, and a teaching tool for students who include

minors. Many such controversial issues, or the approaches that

professors might choose to bring to more mundane issues, will

undoubtedly infringe on the sensibilities of some communities

sufficiently to bring within the chilling scope of the CDA both

professors who access “indecent” or “patently offensive” infor-

mation from the Internet, and those who post it there.

Similarly, Miryam Ehrlich Williamson, a freelance techni-

cal journalist who conducts nearly of all her research on the

Internet and whose topics have included medical disorders that

affect “sexual or excretory activities or organs,” may eventually

find under the CDA that the Internet has become, not a font of

information, but rather a dry well for some of those topics. That

will also be true for journalists, who rely increasingly on the

Internet as an invaluable research tool. The ban affects all users.

including those serviced by amicus Eric Raymond, a director of

Chester County InterLink, a Pennsylvania ISP that provides free

access to the Internet for those who are ecouomically disad-

vantaged and physically challenged. As these examples illus-

trate, the CDA would potentially freeze out entire segments of

society from exercising their First Amendment night to

participate in this new high-tech marketplace of ideas.

30

The CDA, particularly because it poses the harsh sanction

of criminal to re decreases the likelihood that in the

future there will be speech on the Internet that these amici can

view and use for undeniably legitimate purposes. In this way as

well, the CDA is unconstitutionally overbroad.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amici curiae urge the Court to

affirm the decision of the three-judge panel that preliminarily

enjoined enforcement of the Communications Decency Act of

1996, and to declare the Act unconstitutional.

Respectfully submitted,

James D. Crawford

Carl A. Solano 4

Theresa E. Loscalzo

Jennifer DuFault James

Joseph T. Lukens

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

SCHNADER HARRISON SEGAL & LEWIS

1600 Market Street, Suite 3600

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

(215) 751-2162

Of Counsel.

Dated: February 20, 1997.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The American Association of University Professors

(AAUP) is an organization of approximately 44,000 faculty

members and research scholars in all academic disciplines.

Founded in 1915, the Association is committed to the defense of

academic freedom and the free exchange of ideas in scholarly

and creative work. Among the organization’s central functions

is the development of policy standards for the protection of

academic freedom, tenure, and other elements central to higher

education. The Association’s policy statements have long

emphasized the need for wide latitude in teaching and research

for professors and their students in the pursuit of knowledge —

including with regard to controversial topics or examples that are

relevant to the subject matter. See, e.g., 1940 Statement of

Principles on Academic Freedom and Tenure, AAUP Policy

Documents & Reports (1995 ed.) (endorsed by more than 150

professional organizations and learned societies). AAUP’s

policies are widely respected and followed as models in

American colleges and universities. See, e. &., Board of Regents

of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 579 n. 17 (1972); Tilton

v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672, 681-82 (1971),

Faculty members rely increasingly on the Internet for

teaching and research. AAUP is concerned that the CDA will

chill on-line expression and discussion on a wide variety of

academic subjects (e.g., medicine, biology, anatomy, social

work, art, and journalism), impairing use of this promising new

medium for legitimate pedagogical and research purposes in the

pursuit of truth and knowledge.

The American Society of Journalists and Authors is a

professional association representing journalists and authors,

primarily in the print media, many of whose works are placed in

whole or in part onto the Internet. Claire Safran is the

Chairperson of the ASJA’s First Amendment Committee and its

amicus contact person. The ASJA and its members are

concerned that the CDA will prohibit certain writings from being

placed on the Internet and chill free expression online. See

Exhibit 35.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 2

The Authors Guild is a national association of almost

7,000 professional book and periodical writers of all genres,

including journalists, historians, biographers and other writers of

fiction and nonfiction. Founded in 1912, it is the oldest and

largest organization of published writers in the United States.

Members of the Authors Guild include winners of the Pulitzer

and Nobel Prizes, National Book Awards, and other prestigious

awards and prizes. The Authors Guild works to promote the

professional interests of its members and to educate the

community at large on issues facing publishing-related

industries.

One of the Authors Guild's principal purposes is to express

its members’ views in cases involving questions of freedom of

expression and to support that fundamental constitutional right.

Many of its members rely heavily on the extraordinary

opportunity for free and open communication offered by on-line

services and the Internet, which allow its members to participate

in a true “marketplace of ideas.” The Authors Guild opposes the

CDA because it will chill free speech in this important forum.

Since 1993, the California Museum of Photography at

the University of California, Riverside has been producing

exhibitions on the Internet that combine both fine art and

scholarship. See generally http://www.cmp.ucr.edu/frames/

intro.html (Exhibit 36). Projects such as a comparison of the

work of photographers Edward Weston and Robert

Mapplethorpe would be restricted by the CDA. See http://www.

cmp.ucr.edu/exhibitions/\w_m/wm2.himl (Exhibit 11). Further,

the California Museum of Photography at the University of

California, Riverside has long championed the concept of the

Internet as an expressive medium for both individual artists and

for collaborative activities. Provisions in the CDA could

prohibit both advanced scholarship in the visual arts and practice

by contemporary artists exploring the unique attributes of the

Internet as a medium for pictorial discourse and active

collaboration across state and international boundaries.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 3

The Coalition for Positive Sexuality is a grassroots

volunteer group originally formed by high school students and

members of various AIDS awareness, pro-choice, women’s

health, and gay rights groups to respond to what it identified as

a health crisis among Chicago teenagers in terms of teen

pregnancy, sexually transmitted diseases, and lack of awareness

of issues relating to homosexuality. Its purpose is to provide

teens with comprehensive information on sexuality and

reproductive control, and to stimulate debate on the quality of

sex education in public schools and around the country.

_ The Coalition maintains a Web site directed to teenagers

and intended to provide accurate information on sexuality. See

hitp://www. positive.org/cps/ (Exhibit 37). The site includes, in

both English and Spanish, information on state laws regarding

abortion, and a listing of electronic and general resources. The

information includes definitions of sexual organs, sexually

transmitted diseases, and other issues related to sexuality that

could be considered “indecent” or “patently offensive” according

to particular community standards. The site is visited daily by

more than 1,500 users from more than eighty countries. The

Coalition also communicates via e-mail directly with minors,

frankly answering questions about sexuality. Natasha Minsker

is the amicus contact person for the Coalition.

Creative Coalition of Artists is a national Internet

Organization comprised of poets who place their works on an

America OnLine (‘ AOL”) page called the Poetry Corner. See

hitp://www.on-net.net/~cca/ (Exhibit 38). The poets within

Creative Coalition use the Internet to share their poetry and to

exchange critiques, suggestions and comments on it, as well as

to enable others simply to enjoy reading it. Jordanne Holyoak is

its media coordinator and amicus contact person.

Creative Coalition and its members are concerned that the

CDA may prohibit certain writings from being placed on the

Internet and that it will chill free expression. Their concern has

particular force because, even prior to enactment of the CDA.

AOL had removed dozens of poems from the Poetry Corner in

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 4

response to demands by some who believed that the use of such

words as “breast” rendered a poem “indecent.” Some poems

were removed for no discernable reason whatsoever, making it

impossible for their authors to understand what language had

been considered “indecent” and therefore had to be avoided.

Under the CDA, the poets of Creative Coalition face not only

removal of their poetry by the service provider, but also the even

harsher and more chilling threat of criminal prosecution by the

tederal government.

In light of the fact that some already have labeled poetry

written by members of the Creative Coalition as “indecent” or

“patently offensive” as measured by some unarticulated

standards, the fear of prosecution experienced by its members is

well founded. In the past, works of poetry such as those authored

by the beat poets Allen Ginsburg and Jack Kerouac were deemed

“indecent” and were banned in some communities during the

1950s and 1960s. The CDA poses a threat to those who post

such works on the Internet, as well as to those who author or post

newly composed poetical works that might be deemed

“indecent” according to some community standards but which

have artistic and social merit today and which may even become

the classics of future generations.

Tri Dang Do is a student at Boston University School of

Medicine. He authors a Web site that includes a page “prepared

for and dedicated to the teens of East Boston” that provides

education on sexually transmitted diseases (hitp://med-www.bu.

e ‘sycamore/sid/std.htm/). See Exhibit 4. The informa-

tion is strictly medical in nature, but presented in a way that

teenagers will understand and with which they can identify. His

goal is to help teens accessing the site to engage in healthy

behavior and to teach them how to handle their sexuality in a

safe and responsible manner, by arming them with factual

information. He believes that it is vital that he perform this

service and that teens accessing the Internet have a way of

receiving this potentially live-saving information. He is

concerned that the CDA poses a risk of prosecution to him for

posting language that is essential to any discussion of sexually

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 5

transmitted diseases — their symptoms, nose

cures, and avoidance. ae (etary ree waa

Feminists for Free Expression is an organization

comprised of a diverse group of women who believe that

freedom of expression is especially important for protecting and

furthering women’s rights. It maintains a Web site on which it

describes these beliefs. See hitp://www.well. com/user/freedom/

(Exhibit 39). It believes that the appropriate way to protect

children from exposure to harmful materials on the Internet is

increased parental responsibility and supervision, combined with

advancing technology to aid parents in their efforts to protect

their own children. See id. In addition to these beliefs, the

Organization s opposition to the CDA stems from a concern that

it could be used to ban from the Internet works of art and

literature that are expressions by women of their own sexuality

as well as materials that inform women and teenage girls about

their own bodies. Similar materials in print form, such as the

landmark book Our Bodies, Ourselves, have in the past been the

= of ae a that they were “indecent” or “patently

ensive, ile failing to recognize or late

tremendous educational value. Feminists for ees Saoncion

has a reasonable concern that similar works transmitted on the

Internet will be prohibited under the CDA.

Margarita Lacabe is a student at the Hastin

Law who authors a Web site called Derechos that = denned on

encouraging human rights activism around the world by

providing human rights information. See http://www.derechos.

org/derechos.html (Exhibit 40). An active member of Amnesty

International, Ms. Lacabe through her site provides links to Web

sites maintained by that organization and other human rights

organizations, and also publishes a Human Rights Newsletter

available on its site. /d. Included on the site is a page excerpting

personal accounts of torture, including sexual torture, contained

in Nunca Mas (Never Again), the Report of the Argentine

National Commission on the Disappearance of Persons, which

covers the disappearance of 30,000 people in Argentina during

the 1970s. While the accounts are graphic and might be deemed

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 6

to be “indecent” or “patently offensive” in some communities,

Ms. Lacabe believes that it is the human suffering itself that is

indecent, not the description of it. She believes that such

descriptions are vital to informing people (including minors who

have a right to know what is happening in their world) of human

rights abuses, and to persuading people to fight these abuses. For

placing this information on the Internet, where it is accessible to

minors, Ms. Lacabe has a reasonable fear of prosecution under

the CDA.

Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund is a

national organization committed to achieving full recognition of

the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, and people with HIV/AIDS

through litigation, education and public policy work. Lambda

was founded in 1973 and brought the first AIDS discrimination

lawsuit in 1983. Much of Lambda’s litigation and advocacy

work focuses on ensuring that lesbians and gay men can

communicate openly about their sexual orientation without

retribution, and on ensuring that all people — including young

people — have access to accurate, understandable HIV prevention

and treatment information.

Lambda uses the Internet to communicate with its clients

and constituents, and to disseminate information about legal and

policy issues related to sexual orientation or AIDS to lawyers and

grassroots activists throughout the United States and abroad.

Lambda’s AIDS Project currently contributes to a Web site, http://

www.the body.com (Exhibit 52), that is dedicated to providing a

wide range of medical, social, political, and legal information of

importance to people with HIV. Lambda is also in the process of

designing its own Web site, through which it will attempt to

reach gay youth with information about their nghts and about

resources that may help them deal with the isolation that so many

gay and lesbian adolescents feel in homophobic family, school,

or community environments. Lambda also uses the Internet to

distribute press releases. For example, Lambda recently

announced a favorable jury verdict and settlement in Nabozny v.

Podlesny, a case involving the brutal anti-gay abuse of a teenager

at the hands of his schoolmates, without any intervention by

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 7

school authorities. Even accurate descriptions of that abuse.

which included a mock rape, could be deemed by some to fall

within the CDA’s censorship, as could much of the other

information Lambda transmits and receives over the Internet.

Expression about topics related to sexuality, or about sex

itself, has inherent value and should remain free from govern-

ment interference on the Internet. The CDA jeopardizes

Lambda’s own postings on Web sites and ongoing use of the

Internet to communicate with individuals across the country and

internationally about gay- or HIV-related issues.

Maggie LaNoue authors a Web site called NewsBoy,

which provides links to hundreds of world news sites on the

Web. See hitp://www.newsboy.com/ (Exhibit 41). The NewsBoy

site allows users to go to news of state, national, and

international news services online. It carries links to such

nationally syndicated news sources as Time Magazine, The Wail

Street Journal, ABC News, and CNN. There also are links to

ElectNet, a site which carries election news in each of the fifty

states, and to the U.S. Community Page Index out of

Massachusetts, a network that itself links to over 1,000 American

newspapers.

NewsBoy also carries links to such international news

sources as the OneWorld News Service out of the United

Kingdom and “Daily News: Just the Links,” a Web site out of the

Netherlands that links users to more than 200 media

organizations worldwide. Many of the sites to which NewsBoy

provides links have RealAudio clips. Ms. LaNoue plans in the

future to add to NewsBoy additional features, including an index

of news sources online in all fifty states, including state-by-state

weather and sports.

The news sources to which NewsBoy provides links may

include descriptions or depictions that some might deem

“indecent” or “patently offensive,” particularly depending upon

the individual community standards to be applied. Ms. LaNoue

can neither identify such material nor edit sources to delete such

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 8

material. The list of NewsBoy links is so extensive that she

cannot even visit them all, let alone monitor them regularly. She

is concerned that under the CDA she could be held responsible

and criminally prosecuted for providing these links. The user-

friendly NewsBoy site may no longer be able to provide this

wealth of news access to computer users if the author may be

held responsible for all the content of the links.

LoD Communications is an Internet service provider

serving the Tallahassee, Florida region. It is concerned that the

CDA makes it responsible for monitoring and removing

communications by its customers, or Web sites that it carmies,

based on a vague, undefined, and overbroad standard of whai is

“indecent” or “patently offensive.” Todd Lawrence is LoD

Communications’ amicus contact person.

Dr. Peter Ludlow is an Associate Professor in the

Department of Philosophy at the State University of New York

at Stony Brook. Included among the classes he teaches is a

course entitled “Conceptual Issues in Cyberspace,” which covers,

in the online context, such philosophical issues as the nature of

self and community. His practice is to place all of his course

materials for the class on his home page, but the CDA has placed

a chill on this teaching practice, and he has declined to place

some of the more controversial materials online as a result. See

http://semlab2.sbs.sunysb.edu/Users/pludlow/highnoon. html

(Exhibit 42). He believes that under the CDA he may be

prohibited from placing on that site materials relating to the

nature of online sexual behavior in MUDs (multi-user interactive

games played over the Internet) and other materials that are

essential to the course but that may be termed “indecent” or

“patently offensive.” The teaching materials used for that course

and located on the home page were published in book form last

spring. See High Noon on the Electronic Frontier: Conceptual

Issues in Cyberspace (MIT Press 1996).

Professor Ludlow also offered in the fall 1996 semester a

course entitled “Moral Reasoning,” which applied traditional

concepts in moral reasoning to the ethical dilemmas that arise in

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 9

cyberspace. Included on the class syllabus were discussions of

censorship on the Internet and the CDA itself. Professor Ludlow

believes he cannot comprehensively or meaningfully teach these

issues without giving examples of communications that might be

“indecent” or “patently offensive” under the CDA but which

nevertheless are worthwhile communications, and that he cannot

do so without violating the CDA himself. Professor Ludlow was

able to make available on the class web site most of the materials

for the course, but felt unable to provide online copies of the

more controversial materials, and made do by either merely

alluding to their contents, or locating published hard copy

versions of those materials.

Chuck More owns an art gallery in Philadelphia,

Pennsylvania. He authors a Web site to display exhibitions of

artwork sold at his gallery. See http://www. libertynet.org~artst/

more/ (Exhibit 43). The art displayed there regularly includes

nudes, both painted and photographed. See id. Such artwork,

displaying as it does sexual organs, could be considered “patently

offensive” according to the standards of some communities, thus

placing Mr. More in jeopardy of criminal prosecution.

Philadelphia Magazine is a general interest magazine

published by Metro Corp. and operates its own Web site. It

covers a broad range of issues of interest to the Greater

Philadelphia area, some of which relate to medicine, art,

literature, social affairs, politics, education, and sexual topics.

For example, its March 1996 issue included a report on male

prostitution in a Center City, Philadelphia neighborhood. Some

material in that article might be within the CDA’s scope if it

were placed on magazine’s Web site. See “The Vampires of

Delancey Street,” Philadelphia Magazine, March 1996, p. 64.

The magazine also publishes classified advertisements, including

personal advertisements by people seeking companions. See id.

at 158. It places some of its editorial content and advertising

online. See Attp://www.phillymag.com/ (Exhibit 44). The

magazine fears that it may not be able to engage in cyberspace

publishing of some articles and advertising without risk of

prosecution under the CDA.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 10

PEN American Center (“PEN’’) is an organization of 2,400

novelists, poets, essayists, translators, playwrights and editors,

chartered to defend free and open communication within all

nations and across national boundaries. PEN has taken a leading

role in attacking restrictive laws, rules, regulations, and practices

that censor, curb or limit freedom of speech or expression in the

nation.

Of all the restrictive practices that might censor an author's

work and restrict freedom of speech, PEN American Center

believes there is none more sweeping and dangerous than a prior

restraint against publication. PEN and its members believe that

the CDA has ominous implications for the entire craft of writing

and publishing, which relies increasingly on the Internet for both

information gathering and publishing.

PSINet, Inc. is a leading international provider of Internet

access and value-added intranet, security, and web hosting

services, with hundreds of points-of-presence throughout the

United States and internationally through subsidiaries in Canada,

the United Kingdom, and Japan, and through joint-venture

partners in the Netherlands and South Korea. Founded in 1989,

it is a publicly-traded company with offices in Virginia, New

York, California, England, Canada, and Japan. PSINet provides

Internet services to more than 18,000 businesses with

approximately 2,500,000 individuals who access the PSINet

network daily. PSINet also carries the traffic of some 25 smaller

United States Internet service providers on a wholesale basis.

Because it does not want to censor its customers’ Internet

transmissions and because it firmly believes that its customers

have a right of privacy in those transmissions, PSINet will not

monitor its subscribers’ communications or transmissions on the

Internet. Moreover, despite its considerable technical

sophistication, PSINet does not have the technical or logistical

capability routinely to monitor and screen the millions of

domestic and international transmissions of its customers and

their customers and employees — not to mention the “blind”

transmissions of other [SPs to whom the PSINet network is

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — | 1

linked —- to determine whether any of those transmissions might

be “indecent.” The additional complications presented by the

CDA’s monitoring requirements with respect to the

communications that PSINet carries from foreign points of origin

and in foreign languages make the statute’s defenses meaningless

for PSINet.

Eric S. Raymond is the co-founder and a member of the

Board of Chester County InterLink (CCIL), a volunteer-run

nonprofit organization started in 1993 that provides community

networking and Internet access for over two thousand users in

Chester County, Pennsylvania. Its mission is to support access

by poor, disadvantaged, elderly, and minority residents of

Chester County who traditionally either have been financially

unable, or lacked the background, education, and confidence, to

take advantage of commercial Internet and computer bulletin

board services. CCIL runs active community-outreach and

educational programs designed to assist ordinary people in taking

advantage of the new electronic media. See http://www.ccil.

org:80/~esr (Exhibit 45).

Mr. Raymond believes that the CDA is a death warrant for

CCIL. Under it, any person displeased by any of the content its

users offer could find it all too easy to instigate prosecution of

CCIL itself under the vague “indecency” language. CCIL does

not command the resources needed to conduct the elaborate self-

censorship required by the CDA’s purported defenses, nor to

defend itself against prosecution. The drain on CCIL’s volunteer

time required even to attempt to filter the entire Internet would

cripple every educational and support program it runs.

Moreover, Mr. Raymond fears that the CDA’s overbroad

indecency provisions effectively require content-based

censorship and would prohibit CCIL from carrying information

for teenagers on such issues as safe sex, AIDS prevention,

abortion, or alternatives to abortion.

Don Rittner is the publisher of The MESH — Inside

Cyberspace, a Web version of a monthly magazine covering the

Internet. See http:/Avww.themesh.com:80/meshinfo.html (Exhibit

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 12

46). Since enactment of the CDA, Mr. Rittner has felt compelled

to remove several columns from The MESH Web page out of

fear of criminal prosecution. He believes that the CDA has

limited his choice of content for his magazine, thus infringing on

his First Amendment right to free expression. He further

believes that it is unclear under the terms of the CDA precisely

what speech he must remove or exclude to avoid prosecution and

that, in order to reconcile this lack of clarity, he must take an

overbroad view of materials that might be deemed “indecent” or

“patently offensive.”

The Sexuality Information and Education Council of

the United States (STECUS) is a national nonprofit organization

incorporated in 1964 that develops, collects, disseminates, and

promotes comprehensive information about sexuality, and

advocates the rights of individuals to make responsible sexual

choices. See http://www.siecus.org/ (Exhibit 47). It believes that

sexually explicit speech and visual materials are indispensable

elements of sexuality education, and that the CDA may restrict

the appropriate professional use of such materials by sexuality

educators, therapists, and researchers. See id. Betsy Wacker is

the amicus contact person for SIECUS.

Dr. Lloyd K. Stires is a social psychologist and professor

in the Psychology Department at the Indiana University of

Pennsylvania. His primary academic research deals with the

content and effects of pornography. In the context of his work,

he subscribes to several Internet discussion groups that

sometimes involve frank discussions of human sexuality, as well

as censorship issues and First Amendment rights. He also

teaches an annual seminar at the university entitled

“Pornography: Critical, Behavioral and Legal Approaches.” He

sends announcements regarding the seminar to students and also

forwards to them information downloaded from the Internet that

is relevant to the course and that could be deemed “indecent” or

“patently offensive.” He is concerned that this academic activity

may expose him to prosecution under the CDA. Further, he is

concerned that the CDA will chill his ability to conduct his

research on the Internet, by forcing the removal of materials that

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 13

are “indecent” or “patently offensive” according to some

community standards but which form a vital part of his studies

and teaching.

Peter J. Swanson is a Ph.D. candidate in Electrical

Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Michigan

and a member of the University’s Advanced Technology

Laboratory. He authors a Web site that includes a page dedicated

to a discussion of United States v. Baker, 890 F. Supp. 1375

(E.D. Mich. 1995). See http://ai.eecs.umich.edu/people/pjswan/

(Exhibit 48).

The Baker case concerned a United States prosecution

under 18 U.S.C. § 875(c) for threats transmitted via e-mail over

the Internet, including stories written by the defendant, a student

at the University of Michigan. The Baker Web page is typically

accessed by scholars interested in the legal and social

implications of the case and by students of philosophy and

composition who use the case as a discussion topic. While the

stories and e-mail messages themselves are unquestionably

offensive, they are so central to an understanding of the case that

the United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Michigan quoted them extensively in its opinion dismissing the

indictment. See Baker, 890 F. Supp. at 1387-90. The text of that

opinion is reproduced on Mr. Swanson’s Web page. See Exhibit

48. However, since enactment of the CDA, Mr. Swanson has

felt compelled to remove from that page the full text of the

stories, despite his conviction that it is important to the public

interest for those interested in the controversy to understand its

underpinnings. See id. Fear of the strong penalties imposed by

the CDA also has forced him to refuse legitimate requests for the

material by some who access the Baker page because he is

unable to confirm the age of the requesters — a problem

exacerbated by the fact that he is part of a university system

attended by minors.

Kirsti Thomas is a Reference and Technical Services

Librarian at Seattle Pacific University in Seattle, Washington.

Users of the library include undergraduates (including many

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 14

under the age of 18), children of graduate students, faculty

members and their children, and members of the outside

community, including minors.

Ms. Thomas believes that the CDA has a serious

detrimental effect on how she fulfills her duties as a librarian

serving these varied constituencies. The Internet is a major

reference source within the field of library science, on which Ms.

Thomas relies heavily in providing the library’s patrons with

rapid access to current and sometimes controversial information.

Ms. Thomas has a reasonable fear of prosecution under the CDA

for simply fulfilling those duties. For example, by showing a 17-

year old nursing student online information on AIDS prevention

and safe sex education, using such sources as a Web site, mailing

list, discussion groups, or even access to LEXIS/NEXIS, she could

be transmitting “indecent” or “patently offensive” information to

a minor. Ironically, Ms. Thomas may show identical materials

located in print to the same student without any legal

repercussions at all. She believes this contrast demonstrates that

the CDA is not narrowly tailored to achieve the government's

stated compelling interest of preventing minors from receiving

“indecent” or “patently offensive” information.

Additionally, consistent with her academic concentration

in German culture and civilization, Ms. Thomas maintains a

home page that includes a link to the German weekly news

magazine Der Spiegel (which is carried in print form in most

major libraries in the United States). See Attp://paul.spu.edu/

~kst/art.html (Exhibit 49). The covers of Der Spiegel, which

appear on her home page, frequently show naked breasts, which,

while not offensive to German sensibilities, is not generally

accepted mainstream journalism in this country. She is

concerned that under the CDA she could be prosecuted if a

minor accesses her home page and views or links to Der Spiegel.

Ms. Thomas also believes that the CDA deprives her of her First

Amendment right to post artwork on her home page that some

might find “indecent” or “patently offensive.” See id.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 15

Overriding these specific concerns is Ms. Thomas'’s belief

as a librarian and an educator that the Internet is an international

source of information that is unlike any medium known before

and that possesses unlimited educational and social value.

Web Communications is a Web hosting service that

provides a self-service online facility used by its customers to

post Web sites on the Internet. See http:/Awww.webcom.com/

(Exhibit 50). It services more than 1650 Web sites, and that

number grows daily. The driving purpose of Web

Communications is its desire to make available at a grassroots

level the positive social benefits of the free exchange of ideas

and expression among individuals that the Internet makes

possible.

Web Communications is concerned that if one of its

customers places on the Internet a communication that could be

deemed “indecent” or “patently offensive” and accordingly

unlawful under the CDA, then it too could be in danger of

prosecution. The large and growing number of Web

Communications customers posting information on their Web

sites makes monitoring of those sites impossible as a technical

and financial matter. But under the CDA, if it were brought to

the attention of Web Communications that one of its customers

was placing “indecent” or “patently offensive” speech on the

Internet, it would be Web Communications’ responsibility to

remove it. That burden imposed by the CDA is unworkable and

runs counter to’ mission to provide open access to the Internet.

Web Communications believes this mission is protected under

the First Amendment. Web Communications’ president and

amicus contact person is Chris Schefler.

Miryam Ehrlich Williamson is a freelance technical

journalist who has written a medical book concerning a

neurochemical disorder called fibromyalgia. She conducted all

the research for the book on the Internet — the only means

available to her for locating all the information she required.

Over the Internet, she interviewed hundreds of people who have

fibromyalgia to determine their concerns and opinions and to

STATEMENT OF INTEREST — 16

discuss the as-yet unknown cause and cure for the disorder. In

the course of this research, she participated in discussions on the

Internet that included references to bowel movements,

menstruation, urinary tract infections, sexual relations, and

contraception. These discussions included use of specific

terminology and descriptions that were sometimes graphic but

always central to the symptoms of the disorder and the struggle

to live with it. Ms. Williamson believes that some might

consider the discussions “indecent.”

Under the CDA, research of the sort that Ms. Williamson

conducted may now be impossible. The threat of prosecution

posed by the CDA prohibits her from conducting unfettered

follow-up interviews on fibromyalgia and from conducting

research on that or similar medical disorders or diseases that

might implicate “sexual or excretory activities or organs” and

that might include communications considered by some to be

“indecent” because other authors of speech on the Internet that

she would need to access may themselves be chilled by the threat

of prosecution. Ms. Williamson has written an essay posted on

the Internet regarding the restrictions that the CDA has placed on

her work. See http://www.privatel.com/democracy24/essay/

wmson.html/ (Exhibit 51).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.