Reply Brief — Cuban American Bar Ass'n v. Christopher

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

4) Suprame Court, U.S,

FILED

No. 84, Original OCT 10 1996

IN THE SUPREME COUR —

OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff

v.

STATE OF ALASKA

ON THE REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MASTER

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA

Bruce M. Botelho

Attorney General

Counsel of Record

Joanne M. Grace

Assistant Attorney General

P.O. Box 110300

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0300

907-465-3600

G. Thomas Koester

2250 Fritz Cove Road

Juneau, Alaska 99801

907-789-6818

John Briscoe

Washburn, Briscoe & McCarthy

55 Francisco Street, Suite 600

San Francisco, California 94133

415-421-3200

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

DE bee eeeavivesboeeseovecoes ]

Summary of Argument ..........0000004 es 6

PES Re ease reo eeresbesececonecoes 1]

I. The application did not defeat Alaska’s

submerged lands entitlement under

the equal footing doctrine .............. 11

A. The filing of the application did not reflect an

“exceptional instance impelled by an

international duty or public exigency” ... 14

B. The application for withdrawal did not include

cs ee 16

C. There is no evidence that Congress

affirmatively intended to defeat Alaska’s

equal footing doctrine title to tidelands

within the boundaries described in the

application, much less the disputed

submerged lands below the line of extreme

DT sheeuwsiceebeeoctocdas 25

II. The application did not defeat Alaska’s

submerged lands entitlement under

the Submerged Lands Act .............. 29

ii

A. The principles the Court established

in the equal footing doctrine cases

apply equally to offshore submerged

lands not subject to the doctrine .......

B. The application did not defeat Alaska’s title

even under the United States’ statutory

amabyals, on ccc ccc cccccsccveres 39

III. Congress could not condition Alaska’s admission

to the Union on the State’s relinquishment

of its entitlement to equal footing

Gestion tenGS ww ct cc cc edsewetutees

IV. Finally, when an international duty or a public

exigency necessitates federal retention of

submerged lands, the United States’ retained

interest should be limited to only those rights

absolutely necessary rather than fee title .....

CONCLUSION ..... eee eee eens ‘eeee

iti

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page

Arizona v. California, 373 U.S. 546 (1963) .......ccccccccccceceeneeeee 3

California ex rel. State Lands Comm'n v. United States,

| 36

City of Oakland v. Oakland Water-Front Co., 118 Cal.

SG 20

Clemente Javierre v. Central Altagracia, Inc., 217 U.S.

CC EEE 37

Cohens v. Virginia, 19 U.S. (6 Wheat.) 264 (1821) .............. 36

Coyle v. Smith, 221 U.S. 559 (VOL) ccccccccccccccccceeeseneenenes 10, 47

Elkins v. United States, 364 U.S. 206 (1960) ..........cccccccccoees 38

Flora v. United States, 357 U.S. 63 (1958) ......ccccccccccesseooees 38

Humphrey's Ex'r v. United States, 295 U.S. 602 (1935) ....... 36

Martin v. Waddell, 41 U.S. (16 Pet.) 367 (1842) .............. 2, 11

Montana v. United States, 450 U.S. 544 (1981) ............ passim

New Mexico v. Texas, 275 U.S. 279, modified as to other

issues, 276 U.S. 557 (1928) .....cccccccccccenes 16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page

Oregon ex rel. State Land Bd. v. Corvallis Sand & ‘sra el

Co. 429 U.S. 363 (1977) ..cccccccceeeeevnees 3,47

Pollard v. Hagan, 44 U.S. (3 How.) 212 (1845) .... 2, 8, 11, 46

Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1 (1894) ........ccecccereeeeeeenneenenes 12

United States v. California, 332 U.S. 19 (1947) ..... 4, 8, 30, 31

United States v. California, 381 U.S. 139 (1965) .............000 4

United States v. California, 436 U.S. 32 (1978) ..........0« 30, 37

United States v. First City Nat'l Bank of Houston, 386 U.S.

|, 37

United States v. Holt State Bank, 270 U.S.49 ~

—_——————— EE 3, 7, 12,14

United States v. Louisiana, 363 U.S. | (1960) ............ 2, 10, 31

United States v. Louisiana (Alabama and Mississippi

Boundary Case), 470 U.S. 93 (1985) ........ 4

United States v. Maine, 420 U.S. 515 (1975) .......cccecceeeereees 35

United States v. Maine (Massachusetts Boundary Case),

BN ye 16

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page

United States v. Oregon, 295 U.S.1 (1935) ccccccccccececseeseeeeneeee 3

Utah Div. of State Lands v. United States, 482 U.S. 193

GOD dectenentineenerticniemensenecsesscenscece passim

Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259 (1981) ......cccccccccecceeseeeeeeeees 10, 43

CONSTITUTIONS

U.S. Constitution

C8 BO ) ee Ce: 11

TREATIES

Convention on the Territorial Sea and Contiguous Zone,

Apr. 29, 1958, 15 U.S.T. (pt. 2) 1607,

ED tenncnnsanegiememennen 4

STATUTES

Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, Pub. L. No. 92-

203, 85 Stat. 688 (1971) (codified as

amended at 43 U.S.C. §§ 1601 ef seq.

TS Se, a 48

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

STATUTES

Page

Alaska Right-of-Way Act of May 14, 1898, ch. 299, 30

Stat. 409 (formerly codified at 48

U.S.C. § 411; current version

primarily codified at 43 U.S.C. §§

942-1 to 942-9 (1986)) ..........0006 25, 26, 45

Alaska Statehood Act, Pub. L. No. 85-508, 72 Stat. 339

(1958) (reprinted as amended in 48 U.S.C.

note preceding § 21 (1987)) ........ 5, 8, 9, 10

Mineral Leasing Act of 1920, 30 U.S.C. § 191 (1940) ......... 27

Submerged Lands Act, ch. 65, 67 Stat. 29 (1953)

(codified as amended at 43 U.S.C. §§

1301 ef Seg. (19BB)) .....cccccccceeceeeeeees passim

ADMINISTRATIVE, EXECUTIVE AND LEGISLATIVE

MATERIALS

Hearings

Alaska Statehood: Hearings on S. 50 before the Senate

Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs,

83d Cong., 2d Sess. (1954)........... 26, 27,45

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ADMINISTRATIVE, EXECUTIVE AND LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

Page

Hearings before the Subcommittee on Territories of the

Senate Committee on Interior and

Insular Affairs, 85th Cong., Ist Sess.

(1957), reprinted in Alaska

Submerged Lands: Hearings on H.R.

8054 before the Senate Subcommittee

on Interior and Insular Affairs, 85th

Cong., 2d Sess. 117 (1957) ............... 27, 28

Statehood for Alaska: Hearings on H.R. 50 and Other Bills

before the Subcommittee on Territorial

and Insular Affairs of the House

Committee on Interior and Insular

Affairs, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. (1957) ...... 42

Debates

Neen 44

Reports

H.R. Rep. No. 1778, 80th Cong., 2d Sess. (1948),

reprinted in 2 1953 U.S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News 1415 .00.........cccccccceeseee passim

H.R. Rep. No. 695, 82d Cong., Ist Sess. (1951), reprinted

in 2 1953 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

CRRA See 34

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ADMINISTRATIVE, EXECUTIVE AND LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

Page

H.R. Rep. No. 215, 83d Cong., Ist Sess. (1953), reprinted

in 2 1953 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

DEIE CIID ceccnssarssestnscatbcccssnccsescesessecscsesss 35

H.R. Rep. No. 675, 83d Cong., Ist Sess. (1953) .........c-eese0 41

H.R. Rep. No. 624, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. (1957) ........... 28, 41

H.R. Rep. No. 104-8, 104th Cong., Ist Sess. (1995) ............ 48

S. Rep. No. 1592, 80th Cong., 2d Sess. (1948) ............. passim

S. Rep. No. 1929, 81st Cong., 2d Sess. (1950) .........c0c0ev000 41

S. Rep. No. 133, 83d Cong., Ist Sess. (1953), reprinted in

2 1953 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

DR SeN GD cceneniceicnciahcnttinenienntsiniente 35, 36

S. Rep. No. 1028, 83d Cong. 2d Sess. (1954) .........csseeeseves 41

S. Rep. No. 1045, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. (1957), reprinted

in 2 1957 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

PETE POD cartcscatcncssctcsnsssccseccnpescsssssescscses 27

S. Rep. No. 1163, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. (1957) .........00++. 41,45

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ADMINISTRATIVE, EXECUTIVE AND LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

S. Rep. No. 1720, 85th Cong., 2d Sess. (1958), ETD a

in 2 1958 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

eee rchadticiitentcscreninsenicant 27

Regulations

43 C.F.R. § 295.9 (1958 Supp.) ..ccccccccccccssssssscssssssssssssssssseeen 14

43 C.F.R. § 295.11(a) (1958 Supp.) ..cccccccccccccssessseeee 15, 17, 40

43 C.F.R. § 295.12 (1958 Supp.) c.ccccccccccccssssssssssssssssssssssseeee 14

43 C.F.R. § 295.13 (1958 Supp.) ccccccccccccccccscsesssscsseceeeeseeneee 15

Other

19 Fed. Reg. 8076 (1954) ..ccccccccccsssssssssssssssssssssssessessesesseeseen 21

20 Fed. Reg. 4227 (1955) .cccccccccssssssssssssssssssssssessseseseeseeeeneven 21

23 Fed. Reg. 8163 (1958) cccccccccccscssssssssssssssssessssssssereeeeseeeeee 24

23 Fed. Reg. 9039 (1958) ...cccccccccsssssssssssssssseseeseereeeneereennen 24

86 Interior Dec. 151 (1978) ..ccccccccccccesssssssssssssesssssssesssssessesee 43

Public Land Order 1749, 23 Fed. Reg. 8623 (1958) ............. 23

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ADMINISTRATIVE, EXECUTIVE AND LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

Public Land Order 2213, 25 Fed. Reg. 12,599 (1960) .......... 21

Solicitor’s Opinion M-36562 (1959)........-:-:sssseseeeen 10, 22, 43

RULES

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States

Boarhn DGD ....ccoccescccsrececcsocosrrescescnvesssosscsscosonsssesenssssssesseseeeenees :

Boren BOD. ..ncceccoccocerccceescessessoossnovescosesososnnssessoneseveseeessessnceesens :

hy ere

BRIEFS

Reply Brief for the United States (Sept. 1985), United

States v.Maine (Massachusetts

Boundary Case) (No. 35 Original)

(Oct. Term, 1985) ......-.--s-++0: CEST 16

BOOKS AND PUBLICATIONS

L.F. Claiborne, Federal-State Boundary Disputes: The

Federal Perspective, Law of the Sea

Eighteenth Annual Conference (1984),

reprinted in The Developing Law of the

Oceans (R. Krueger and S. Riesenfeld,

COB... 1DBS) -.ccccovescsececerorserevescesossccovsesceseess 32

2 Aaron L. Shalowitz, Shore and Sea Boundaries (U.S.

Dept. of Commerce Pub. 10-1, 1964) ..... 28

No. 84, Original

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Plaintiff

Vv.

STATE OF ALASKA

ON THE REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MASTER

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA

INTRODUCTION

In November of 1957, the Bureau of Sport Fisheries and

Wildlife in the Interior Department applied for the

withdrawal and reservation as a wildlife refuge of almost 9

million acres in northeastern Alaska. Report of the Special

Master ("Report") at 447-50 and n.4. Although filed before

Alaska's admission to the Union on January 3, 1959, the

application was not acted on until December of 1960, nearly

two years after Alaska statehood. Jd at 449. The United

States contends that the lands applied for included vast areas

of tide and submerged lands, and that the mere act of

applying for their withdrawal deprived Alaska of its

entitlement to these submerged lands under both the

constitutional equal footing doctrine and the Submerged

2

Lands Act, ch. 65, 67 Stat. 29 (1953) (codified as amended at

43 U.S.C. §§ 1301 ef seg. (1988)) Exception of the United

States and Brief for the United States in Support of

Exception ("United States’ Brief") at 31-53.

Alaska opposes the United States’ exception on four

grounds: (1) the application did not defeat Alaska's

submerged lands entitlement under the constitutional equal

footing doctrine; (2) the application did not defeat Alaska's

submerged lands entitlement under the Submerged Lands

Act; (3) Congress could not condition Alaska's admission to

the Union on a relinquishment by the State of its submerged

lands entitlement under the equal footing doctrine; and (4) in

any event, Alaska's rights under the equal footing doctrine

were defeated only to the minimum extent necessary to fulfill

the purpose of the withdrawal.

The most troubling aspect of the United States’

submission is its cavalier attitude toward Alaska's sovereign

rights and, by extension, those of all other States. State

ownership of lands underlying navigable waters within State

boundaries is “an inseparable attribute of the equal

sovereignty guaranteed to it on admission" to .the Union.

United States v. Louisiana, 363 U.S. 1, 16 (1960). The

original thirteen States succeeded to the British Crown's

sovereign title to such lands at the time of the Revolution.

Martin v. Waddell, 41 U.S. (16 Pet.) 367, 410 (1842). Title

to such lands vests in subsequently-admitted States upon

admission to ensure that they join the Union on an "equal

footing" with the original thirteen. Pollard v. Hagan, 44

U.S. (3 How.) 212, 229-30 (1845).

To implement this equal footing doctrine, the United

States holds such lands in a territory “in trust" for future

States created out of that territory. Utah Div. of State Lands

v. United States, 482 U.S. 193, 196 (1987) (quoting Pollard,

3

44 U.S. (3 How.) at 230). "[U]pon the admission of a state

to the Union, the title of the United States to lands

underlying navigable waters within the state passes to it, as

incident to the transfer to the State of local sovereignty,”

United States v. Oregon, 295 U.S. 1, 14 (1935). Such title is

“automatically vested," Arizona v. California, 373 U.S. 546,

597 (1963), and "is conferred not by Congress but by the

Constitution itself." Oregon ex rel. State Land Bd. v.

Corvallis Sand & Gravel Co., 429 U.S. 363, 374 (1977).

While Congress has the power to defeat a new State's title to

such lands by conveying them to a third party prior to

statehood, it has never provided for disposal of submerged

lands under the general public land laws; it will do so only in

“exceptional instances when impelled . . . by some

international duty or public exigency." United States v. Holt

State Bank, 270 U.S. 49, 55 (1926). Accordingly, there is a

"strong presumption" against defeat of a new State's title

which will not be inferred "unless the intention was

definitely declared or otherwise made plain, or was rendered

in clear and especial words, or unless the claim confirmed in

terms embraces the land under the waters of the stream."

Montana v. United States, 450 U.S. 544, 552 (1981)

(quotations and citations omitted).

The Court has never held that a pre-statehood federal

reservation (as distinct from a conveyance to a third party)

can defeat State title under the equal footing doctrine, Utah,

482 U.S. at 200, much less that a mere application not acted

on until long after statehood could have that effect.

Assuming arguendo that it could, however, the United States

first must show (a) that Congress clearly intended to include

submerged lands in the reservation, and (t) that Congress

affirmatively intended to defeat the future State's title to the

lands. Jd. at 202.

4

The United States concedes that some of the lands at issue

under its exception -- tidelands and lands underlying inland

navigable waters! -- are subject to the equal footing doctrine.

United States’ Brief at 51-53. The United States nonetheless

relies on United States v. California, 332 U.S. 19 (1947) (the

"1947 California decision"), which held that the equal

footing doctrine does not extend offshore and the United

States, not the individual States, had "paramount rights” to

offshore submerged lands. United States’ Brief at 31-33.

From this, it argues that there is as strong a presumption in

favor of continued federal ownership of such lands as there is

, As shown on the Master's Figures 9.1 and 9.2, Report facing p. 450, several

of the disputed areas are juridical bays under Article 7 of the Convention on the

Territorial Sea and Contiguous Zone, Apr. 29, 1958, 15 U.S.T. (pt. 2) 1607,

T.LA.S. No. 5639, which the Court has adopted for Submerged Lands Act

purposes. United States v. California, 381 U.S. 139, 161-67 (1965). On Figure

9.1, these areas at minimum include the inlet enclosed by Brownlow Point, the

inlet enclosed by Konganevik Point, and Simpson Cove. On Figure 9.2, these

areas at minimum include Arey Lagoon, Kaktovik Lagoon, Pokok Bay, Angoon

Lagoon, Egaksrak Lagoon, and Demarcation Bay. All of the disputed lands,

ene, CANNES Ses SY CES SS eres

islands separated narrow entrances which are

scroas, Sue the Master's Figures 9.1 and 9.2, Report facing p. 450, and Report a

138-39 (all of the waters enclosed by the islands are within three miles of land

and none of the closing lines is long enough to add any area to the three-mile

belt). All of the lagoons accordingly are inland waters under the 10-mile rule

that this Court found was the United States’ policy from at least 1903 until 1961:

Prior to its ratification of the Convention on March 24, 1961, the United

States had adopted a policy of enclosing as inland waters those areas between

the mainland and off-lying islands that were so closely grouped that no

entrance exceeded 10 geographical miles. This 10-mile rule represented the

publicly stated policy of the United States at least since the time of the

Alaska Boundary Arbitration in 1903.

United States v. Louisiana (Alabama and Mississippi Boundary Case), 470 U.S.

93, 106-07 (1985) (footnotes omitted). See Exceptions of the State of Alaska

and Supporting Brief ("Alaska’s Brief") at 7-43.

5

in favor of the States for lands subject to the equal footing

doctrine. Jd. at 33-34. It concedes that Congress, in the

Submerged Lands Act, granted to the coastal States the

offshore submerged lands within their boundaries. United

States’ Brief at 34-35. It claims, however, that the

submerged lands at issue here fall within a statutory

exception to Alaska's Submerged Lands Act grant’ for lands

“expressly retained" by the United States at statehood. /d. at

39, citing section 5(a) of the Act, 43 U.S.C. § 1313(a). In its

view, the application at issue here designated the disputed

lands as "lands withdrawn or otherwise set apart as refuges

or reservations for the protection of wildlife" for purposes of

section 6(e) of the Alaska Statehood Act, Pub. L. No. 85-

508, 72 Stat. 339, 340-41 (1958) (reprinted as amended in 48

U.S.C. note preceding § 21 (1987)), and section 6(e) in turn

“expressly retained" the lands at the time of statehood within

the meaning of section 5(a) of the Submerged Lands Acct.

United States’ Brief at 39. To the extent there may be doubt

that the lands were "expressly retained,” the United States

contends that such doubts must be resolved in favor of the

United States. /d. at 36 and 39. Finally, the United States

submits that, if it prevails on this statutory argument as to

Submerged Lands Act lands, it also should prevail as to

equal footing doctrine lands.’ /d. at 51-53.

* Congress made the Submerged Lands Act applicable to Alaska in section

6(m) of the Alaska Statehood Act, Pub. L. No. 85-508, 72 Stat. 339, 343.

* The United States’ discussion of this last point is so cursory, however, that it

should be deemed waived. Cf Supreme Court Rules 24.1(i) (a brief for a

petitioner or an appellant must contain "[t}he argument, exhibiting clearly the

points of fact and of law presented and citing the authorities and statutes relied

on" (emphasis added)), 24.2 (a brief for a respondent or an appelice “shall

conform” to the same requirement), and 24.4 (a reply brief shall conform to the

same requirement).

6

i i all counts. More

The United States is wrong on |

fundamentally, however, the United States seeks to preg the

law in a manner at odds with the decisions of this urt

establishing and applying the equal footing doctrine, contrary

. In I below, Alaska shows that the pre-statehood

States int which the United States relies did not defeat

Alaska's submerged lands entitlement under the equal footing

doctrine. In part II.A, Alaska demonstrates that Congress

must apply to both equal footing doctrine lands and offshore

lains that Congress

its own terms. In part Ill, Alaska exp

could not condition Alaska's admission to the Union on the

extent any pre-statehood federal action defeated Alaska's _

it should in all events be limited to the minimum necestlly

protect the interest claimed by the United States with

remaining incidents of ownership passing to Alaska.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. This Court's equal footing doctrine decisions establish a

number of stringent criteria for finding that a pre-statehood

federal action has defeated a State's title to lands ss

navigable waters. The application at issue here meets none ©

these criteria.

-

A. Congress will defeat a State's equal footing doctrine

title only in "exceptional instances when impelled to particular

disposals by some international duty or public exigency.”

Holt State Bank, 270 U.S. at 55. The filing of an application,

however, did not reflect the existence of such exceptional

instances. Applications could be filed by virtually any federal,

State, territorial, or municipal official. Once filed, the

application would be reviewed to determine whether it should

be granted. During the pendency of the review, there was no

change in the way in lands were administered. This proves

that, until a final decision on the application was made, there

could be no exceptional instance supporting a congressional

determination to deviate from its consistent policy of holding

lands under navigable waters for the benefit of future States.

B. The application for withdrawal at issue here did not

include submerged lands. The Court has established a

presumption against the inclusion of lands underlying

navigable waters in pre-statehood federal disposals or

withdrawals and reservations, and the United States must

“establish that Congress clearly intended to include land under

navigable waters within the federal reservation." Utah, 482

U.S. at 202.

The application and the notice of it given to the public

stated that the intent was to withdraw the applied for lands

from “all forms of appropriation under the public land laws”

except mineral leasing and mining locations. See Report at

447 n.1 (application) and 448 n.2 (public notice). Tidal and

submerged lands were not available for appropriation under

the public land laws, however, and this is evidence that they

were included among the applied for lands. Utah, 482 U.S. at

203-04.

The boundary description of the applied for lands followed

the "line of extreme low water." See Report at 449 n.2. Thus,

its own terms, it excluded the lands underlying the lagoons

Aaa Setmesor en mtr This is especially true

because the United States in several contemporaneous actions

wrote boundary descriptions that explicitly included all areas

While there are tidelands within the exterior boundaries of

the applied for lands, that fact is not sufficient to overcome

presumption in favor of State title, particularly when there is

no express reference to those lands as here. Montana, 450

U.S. at 554. In contemporaneous actions in Alaska, moreover,

oe Lanna

intended to include them in b

C. The United States must show that Congress

affirmatively intended to defeat Alaska's title to equal footing

doctrine lands, Utah, 482 U.S. at 202, and it has not. In fact,

the legislative history of the Alaska Statehood Act reveals the

did not intend to defeat Alaska's equal footing

doctrine title. Instead, Congress affirmatively intended that

Alaska receive title under the equal footing doctrine to all

lands underlying navigable waters within its boundaries at

statehood. .

Il. The application did not defeat Alaska's submerged

A. The principles the Court established in the equal

footing doctrine cases apply equally to offshore submerged

lands not subject to the doctrine. The legislative history of the

Submerged Lands Act reveals two congressional purposes.

First, Congress intended to rewrite the law for the future as

it had been believed to be prior to this Court's 1947 California

decision and apply the Pollard equal footing doctrine rule of

State ownership to offshore submerged lands within State

boundaries. Congress's second purpose was to prevent any

further erosion of the States’ submerged land rights by this

Court.

To implement this congressional intent, the Court must

apply the same presumption in favor of State title to offshore

submerged lands under the Submerged Lands Act as it applies

to equal footing doctrine lands. As the United States relies on

an exception to the Submerged Lands Act, the burden must

fail on it to show that it comes within the exception and any

doubts must be resolved in favor of Alaska. That exception,

for lands “expressly retained" by the United States at

statehood, 43 U.S.C. § 1313(a) (emphasis added), requires the

United States to show affirmatively that Congress intended to

prevent the transfer of the disputed lands to Alaska.

B. The application did not defeat Alaska’s submerged

lands entitlement under the Submerged Lands Act even under

the United States’ statutory analysis.

The United States claims that section 6(e) of the Alaska

Statehood Act "expressly retained" the applied for lands for

purposes of the Submerged Lands Act exception. This

mischaracterizes the nature and the legal effect of the

application, the function and purpose of section 6(e) of the

Alaska Statehood Act, and the language and intent of the

Submerged Lands Act exception.

Section 6(e) of the Alaska Statehood Act transferred

certain property used for fish and wildlife management to the

new State which, following statehood, would take over that

traditional State responsibility from the federal government.

Lands “withdrawn or otherwise set apart as. refuges or

reservations for the protection of wildlife" were excepted from

this grant. /d. (emphasis added.) The filing of the application

here did not withdraw or otherwise set apart any lands as

refuge or reservation, for the administrative regulations

governing such applications provided that there was no change

in the administration of the lands unless and until the

ication granted. The legislative history of section 6(¢)

Tos Alaska Statehood Act makes clear that Congress

concluded shortly after statehood that applications for the

withdrawal and reservation of tidelands for refuge purposes

did not prevent the transfer of the applied for lands to Alaska.

Solicitor’s Opinion M-36562 (1959) (Alaska Exhibit ( ~

Ex.") 76). That contemporaneous construction of the effect o

the Submerged Lands Act grant on an application for

withdrawal is entitled to deference by this Court. Wait v.

section's grant of property to Alaska. It did

anything from the Submerged Lands Act grant

under section 6(m) of the Statehood Act. In fact, the

legislative history of the Alaska Statehood Act reveals that

grant to Alaska to include all submerged lands within the new

tate's boundaries. :

: Ill. Because a new State's sovereign ownership of

lands under the equal footing doctrine “is an

inseparable attribute of the equal sovereignty guaranteed to It

on admission,” Louisiana, 363 U.S. at 16, Congress could not

condition Alaska’s admission to the Union on the State's

relinquishment of its entitlement to those lands. Coyle v.

Smith, 221 U.S. 559, 566-74 (1911). . |

IV. Where an international duty or a public exigency

necessitates federal retention of submerged lands, the United

States’ retained interest should be limited to only those rights

absolutely necessary to discharge the duty or deal with the

exigency. This would permit the United States to fulfill its

national responsibilities while simultaneously fulfilling at least

some of the State's submerged lands entitlement. To

accommodate both the United States’ and Alaska's legitimate

interests, the United States’ retention of any rights to

submerged lands should be limited to the minimum

to fulfill the purpose of the withdrawal and reservation

ARGUMENT

I. The application did not defeat Alaska's

submerged lands entitlement under the equal

footing doctrine.

Despite acknowledging that at least some of the lands in

issue under its exception are subject to the equal footing

doctrine, it is not surprising that the United States virtually

ignores the more than 150 years of this Court's jurisprudence

establishing and applying the constitutional equal footing

doctrine. The original thirteen States succeeded to the

British Crown's sovereign title to such lands following the

revolution. Martin, 41 U.S. (16 Pet.) at 410. Title to such

lands vests in subsequently admitted States to ensure that

they join the Union on an “equal footing” with the original

thirteen. Pollard, 44 U.S. at 229-30. To implement this

equal footing doctrine, the United States holds such lands in

a territory “in trust" for future States that might be created

out of the territory. /d at 230. The United States has the

power under the Property Clause‘ to convey such lands to

third parties prior to statehood, but has never done so under

* US. Const. art. IV, § 3, cl. 2.

12

i laws. Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1,

oe ee een kancen one

only "in exceptional instances when impelled to particular

i by some international duty or public exigency.

Holt State Bank, 270 U.S. at 55.

Montana, 450 U.S. at 552 (citations omitted).

ndeed, in only a si case -- Choctaw Nation v.

wie an 397 U2. 20 (1970) ~ have we conshuted tat

Congress intended to grant sovereign lands to a private

party. The holding in Choctaw Nation, moreover, rested

on the unusual history behind the Indian treaties at issue

in that case, and indispensable to the holding was a

promise to the Indian Tribe that no part of the reservation

would become part of a State. Choctaw Nation was thus

literally a “singular exception,” in which the result

depended "on very peculiar circumstances.

S. at 198 (citations omitted).

pag te has a held that Congress may defeat a

State's equal footing doctrine title by a pre-statehood federal

withdrawal and reservation of lands underlying navigable

waters. In Utah, the only case where that issue was

13

presented, the Court specifically declined to reach the issue

because, even if a reservation could have that effect, it was

not accomplished on those facts. /d. at 201. In reaching that

determination, however, the Court made clear that the same

considerations that apply to a claim that a pre-statehood

conveyance defeated State title also apply to a claim that a

pre-statehood withdrawal and reservation defeated State title:

[T]he strong presumption is against finding an intent to

defeat the State's title. . . . Congress "early adopted and

constantly has adhered" to a policy of holding land under

navigable waters "for the ultimate benefit of future

States." Congress, therefore, will defeat a future State's

entitlement to land under navigable waters only "in

exceptional instances,” and in light of this policy, whether

faced with a reservation or a conveyance, we simply

cannot infer that Congress intended to defeat a future

State's title to land under navigable waters "unless the

intention was definitely declared or otherwise made very

plain."

Given the long-standing policy of holding land under

navigable waters for the ultimate benefit of the States,

therefore, we would not infer an intent to defeat a State's

equal footing entitlement from the mere act of reservation

itself. Assuming arguendo that a reservation of land

could be effective to overcome the strong presumption

against the defeat of state title, the United States would

not merely be required to establish that Congress clearly

iniended to include land under navigable waters within

the federal reservation; the United States would

additionally have to establish that Congress affirmatively

intended to defeat the future State's title to such land.

14

itations omitted).

" pte actions relied on by the United States

here meet none of the criteria established by the Court for

finding that Alaska's title to equal footing doctrine lands was

defeated.

flect an

A. The filing of the application did not re

"exceptional instance impelled by an international

duty or public exigency."

Congress will defeat a State's equal footing doctrine title

only in "exceptional instances when impelled to particular

disposals by some international duty or public exigency.

Holt State Bank, 270 U.S. at 55. At the time Alaska was

admitted to the Union, no decision had been made that the

lands should be withdrawn and reserved as a wildlife refuge.

This fact, standing alone, establishes that there was no

exceptional instance impelled by some international duty or

public exigency that would ot ener Congress to deviate

m its policy of not defeating State title. .

=~ wey Ao of an application rm ~ — eo ca

ted. There were vi y no limitatio

poner eaten Section 295.9 of Title 43 of the Code

of Federal Regulations provided that applications for

withdrawals and reservations for virtually any purpose could

be filed by “the heads of Federal agencies and

instrumentalities and of States and the Territory of Alaska

and their political subdivisions or any subordinate officer

designated by them.” 43 C.F.R. § 295.9 (1958 Supp. ). The

filing of even frivolous applications triggered an

administrative review process. 43 C.F.R. § 295.12 (1958

Supp.). It did not, however, affect the administrative

15

jurisdiction over the lands and did not change the way in

which they were administered. 43 C.F.R. § 295.11(a) (1958

Supp.). The lands were not withdrawn and reserved for the

purposes for which the application had been filed until the

review process was completed, and then only if the

application were granted. 43 C.F.R. § 295.13 (1958 Supp.).

In this case, no change in administration occurred for

more than three years after the filing of the application,

almost two years after Alaska was admitted to the Union and

its submerged lands entitlement under the equal footing

doctrine vested.’ As a result, the lands were not withdrawn

and reserved as a wildlife refuge at the time of statehood.

That, in turn, establishes that, at the time of Alaska's

admission, there was no exceptional circumstance impelled

by an international duty or public exigency which would

have caused Congress to defeat Alaska's title (even assuming

arguendo that a completed withdrawal and reservation as a

refuge would so qualify, which Alaska denies).

The fact that the application ultimately was granted after

Alaska statehood does not change the result. The United

States concedes that under its submission Congress would

have defeated Alaska's equal footing doctrine title to these

lands whether the application was granted or not: "If the

Secretary had ultimately denied the application, the United

States would have continued to own these submerged lands

* The application was filed in November of 1957; Alaska was admitted to

statehood in January of 1959; and the application was acted on in December of

1960. Report at 447-50.

* The United States does not contend that the filing of the application resulted

in the lands being administered as a refuge. It simply notes that, under the

administrative regulations, the lands were administered "in accordance with the

limitations that apply to wildlife refuges.” United States’ Brief at 41.

16

-- just as it had during the territorial period -- unless and until

Congress elected to convey them to Alaska." United States

Brief at 46. This would be true even if the application

ultimately were denied specifically because there were no

exceptional circumstances impelled by an international duty

lic exi

7 ee voto Alaska's title would have been defeated

whether exceptional circumstances impelled by an

international duty or a public exigency existed or not. This

Court's decisions preclude this result.

B. The application for withdrawal did not include

submerged lands.’

Even assuming arguendo that the application for

withdrawal qualified as an exceptional instance impelled by

an international duty or public exigency (and it did not, as

shown above), the application did not defeat Alaska's equal

footing doctrine title. The Court has established a

presumption against the inclusion of lands underlying

navigable waters in pre-statehood federal disposals or

withdrawals and reservations, and the United States must

“establish that Congress clearly intended to include land

? The Master recommends that the Court find that the application included

this portion of Alaska’s northern coast. Report at 477-99 and 505. Alaska did

not except to this recommendation as the Court has indicated that subsidiary

matters "need not be dealt with separately, as they are merged in the ultimate

question,” New Mexico v. Texas, 275 U.S. 279, 286 , modified as to other issues,

276 U.S. 557 (1928), and on the “ultimate issue” of title to the disputed lands the

Master recommended in Alaska's favor. The United States took this same

approach in United States v. Maine (Massachusetts Boundary Case), 475 U.S. 89

(1981). See Reply Brief for the United States (Sept. 1985), United States v.

Maine (Massachusetts Boundary Case) (No. 35, Original) (Oct. Term, 1985), at

2 n.2.

17

under navigable waters within the federal reservation.”

Utah, 482 U.S. at 202.

The application and the notice of it given to the public,

however, stated that the intent was to withdraw the applied

for lands from “all forms of appropriation under the public

land laws" except mineral leasing and mining locations. See

Report at 447 n.! (application) and 448 n.2 (public notice).

Under the applicable regulation, the filing of the application

temporarily segregated the lands from "settlement, location,

sale, selection, entry, lease, and other forms of disposal

under the public lands laws . . . to the extent that the

withdrawal or reservation applied for, if effected, would

prevent such forms of disposal." 43 C.F.R. § 295.11(a)

(1958 Supp.). As the Court noted in Utah, lands underlying

navigable waters

were already exempt from sale, entry, settlement, or

occupation under the general land laws. As this Court

recognized in Shively v. Bowlby, [152 U.S.] at 48,

"Congress has never undertaken by general land laws to

dispose of” land under navigable waters. See also Mann

v. Tacoma Land Co., 153 U.S. 273, 284 (1894) (applying

Shively v. Bowlby, supra, to hold that “the general

legislation of Congress in respect to public lands does not

extend to tide lands"); Illinois Cent. R. Co. v. Illinois, 146

U.S. 387, 437 (1892) (holding that “the same doctrine as

to the dominion and sovereignty over and ownership of

lands under the navigable waters . . . applies, which

obtains at the common law as to the dominion and

sovereignty over and ownership of lands under tide waters

on the borders of the sea"). Therefore, little purpose

would have been served by the reservation of the bed of

the [waterbody at issue].”

482 U.S. at 203. This analysis precludes finding that the

application included submerged lands, for the United States

has failed to show that the submerged lands at issue here

were subject to disposal under the public lands laws.

In addition, the public notice described the boundary of

the applied for lands in a manner that excluded the

submerged lands below the line of extreme low water:

Beginning at the intersection of the International

Boundary line between Alaska and Yukon Territory,

Canada, with the line of extreme low water of the Arctic

Ocean in the vicinity of Monument One of said

International Boundary line;

Thence westerly along the said line of extreme low water,

including all offshore bars, reefs, and islands to a point on

the Arctic Seacoast known as Brownlow Point .. . .

See Report at 449 n.2 (emphasis added).

On its face, this description does not include any

submerged lands below the line of extreme low water. It

begins "at the line of extreme low water" and proceeds

westerly along that line. If it were not for the words

"including all offshore bars, reefs, and islands,” it is

undisputed that the boundary would have followed the

sinuousities of the low water line along the mainland. See

Volume I of the Transcript ("I Tr.”) at 149-50 (testimony of

Mr. Hoffman, an expert in surveying and cartography; see

also 1 Tr. at 136-37). Alaska contends that the phrase

"including all offshore bars, reefs, and islands" simply

includes within the boundary those offshore bars, reefs, and

islands that are above the line of extreme low water. The

19

United States claims and the Master recommends, however

that this phrase establishes as the boundary a single line that

runs along the outer edge of the barrier islands and connects

the endpoints of the islands, thereby including within the

exterior boundary the lands underlying the coastal lagoons."

bo parties submitted a wealth of evidence and argument

= boundary description issue. Alaska will not repeat

entire presentation here, and rests its submission on three

points. First, at the 1980 trial on this issue, the Chief of the

Division of Realty of the Fish and Wildlife Service in the

re paar of Laterior” testified that his predecessor changed

route eens description in the application as initially filed

ine of mean high water to the line of extreme low

water, Tr. at 48-50, "to protect the resources that are v

significant in the intertidal zone." Tr. at 69. He nd

deena, nt, the iment of this change to the boundary

i ge ts the boundary a single line

scien 0 islands and connecting their

* Ironically, both the United States

, and the Master i

a deny that the |

advance asthe seaward boundary ofthe applied for lands is Alas coast ln

Le t purposes, even though the United States’ expert on

tne naary descriptions testified at the 1980 trial on this issue that one standing on

— would not be looking at the open sea of the Arctic Ocean but

mex stasis tes exer i 40 pg

, ce along that portion of the coast which is in direct

ontact the open sea and the line marking the seaward limit of inland

Lands Act purposes.

* See I Tr. at 46.

20

Second, the United States’ expert witness interpreting this

description as establishing a boundary along the outer shore

of the islands and connecting their endpoints conceded that

such a line did not follow “the line of extreme low water"

but, instead, departed from that line in order to cross bodies

of water. I Tr. at 182-83 and 185-87. He also conceded that

his line "is based on a general impression and interpretation

of the language” in the description, id. at 187, even though

several different lines could be drawn under the criteria he

employed and that he would be "the first to admit that some

of these lines do have a bit of subjectivity to them, yes." Jd.

at 190. This violates the principle, described by the

California Supreme Court, that “the law abhors want of

definition in matters of boundary as nature abhors a

vacuum." City of Oakland v. Oakland Water-Front Co., 118

Cal. 160, 177, 50 P. 277, 283 (1897).

Finally, the United States knew how to write a legal

description that, by its terms, included submerged lands

within an exterior boundary when that was its intent. For

example, Executive Order 3797-A, establishing the National

Petroleum Reserve--Alaska, described the seaward boundary

of that pre-statehood withdrawal and reservation as the

"highest highwater mark on the Arctic coast" and went on to

explain that

[t]he coast line to be followed shall be that of the ocean

side of the sandspits and islands forming the barrier reefs

and extending across small lagoons from point to point,

where such barrier reefs are not over three miles off shore,

except in the case of Plover Islands . . . where it shall be

the highest highwater mark on the outer shore of the

islands forming the groups and extending between the

most adjacent points of these islands and the sandspits at

21

either end.

See Report at 345-46 (emphasis added).

The legal descriptions in applications for two other

wildlife refuges, moreover, explicitly provided that the

boundaries described were single continuous lines along the

outer shore of islands and connecting their endpoints, and

exterior boundaries. See 19 Fed. Reg. 8076-77 (1954);'° 20

Fed. Reg. 4227-28 (1955).'' The absence of such language

'° This application for what eventually became the Izembek ref

uge (see

Public Land Order 2213, 25 Fed. 12,599-600 (1960)) descri boundary

that ran, in part, from i , “ge

the most northerly point of Cape Glazenap, approximate Lat. 55°16’

168°00': thence N. 52° 30’ E., Tavis ae tie Gee Gheeep toe

Izembek Bay, to a point at low-water line of Glen Island, one of the

Kudlakof Islands: thence northeasterly with the low-water line of Bering Sea,

4.90 miles to a point on the northerly shore of Glen Island at approximate

Lat. 55°19, Long. 162°54'20": thence No. 35° 15’ E., 2.52 miles, across an

inlet to Izembek Bay, to a point on the low-water line of Oper! Island, one of

the Kudlakof Islands; thence northeasterly with the low-water line of Bering

Sea, 8.10 miles to the most northerly point of Operi Island at approximate

Lat. 55°24'30", Long. 162°42': thence due east 3.22 miles, across an inlet to

Izembek Bay, to a point on the southern shore of Neumann Island. thence

northeasterly with the low-water line of Bering Sea, 3.38 miles to the most

northeasterly point of Neumann Island, at approximate Lat. 55°26'50", Long.

162°34'50"; thence N. 71° 00 E., 0.22 mile, across an inlet to Moffet Bay, to

Moffet Point on the Alaska Peninsula .. . (and) 6.63 miles across Cold Bay

19 Fed. Reg. at 8077. The description concluded by noting that it contained

"$00 square miles of land together with /83 square miles of open water.” Id

(emphasis added). (All of that “open water,” it should be noted, was enclosed by

the islands connected by the straight lines crossing the various inlets.)

' This application for a Kuskokwim refuge described a boundary that

” —_S

part, “across the mouth of Hazen Bay,” and stated that it included "1,054 square

miles of lands and waters.” 20 Fed. Reg. at 4228 (emphasis added).

22

in the application at issue here is strong evidence that the

Interior Department did not intend a single exterior boundary

line along the outer shore of the islands and connecting their

Kuskokwim refuges in 1960, after statehood, which

excluded lands subject to the transfer of title to

ications filed prior to statehood could not be included in

we seus afer stathood becouse tle to dheee lande hed passed

to the new State of Alaska under the Submerged Lands Act.

Solicitors Opinion M-36562 (1959) (Ak. Ex. 76). It thus

was appropriate in the post-statehood orders establishing the

Izembek and Kuskokwim refuges to state explicitly that

submerged lands, which had expressly been included within

the boundaries described in the applications, were explicitly

excluded from the lands withdrawn in the orders establishing

the refuges.

The absence of exclusionary language in the ~~

granting the application at issue here simply reflects

absence of inclusory language in the application. As the

Master notes, one would "expect reasonable consistency in

the style of description across different refuges." Report at

491. That is particularly true for the orders establishing these

three refuges, for they all were issued on the same day,

December 6, 1960. Report at 493. Thus, if there had been

any intent to establish a single continuous boundary line in

23

the application at issue here, as there clearly was in the

Izembek and Kuskokwim applications, the same disclaimer

language would have appeared in all three orders. The lack

of such language in the order granting the application at issue

here is strong evidence that it did not describe a single

continuous boundary line along the outer shore of the islands

Under Alaska's interpretation of the boundary description,

tidelands -- the lands between the line of extreme low water

and the high tide line which the United States concedes are

subject to the equal footing doctrine; see United States’ Brief

at 51-53 -- were within the described boundaries. The mere

however, does not mean that they were included so as to

defeat Alaska's equal footing doctrine title. "The mere fact

that the bed of a navigable water lies within the boundaries

described in the treaty does not make the [submerged lands]

part of the conveyed land, especially when there is no

express reference to the [submerged lands] that might

overcome the presumption against its conveyance.”

Montana, 450 U.S. at 554. In Montana, although all of the

disputed riverbed lands were within the exterior boundaries

of an Indian reservation, the treaty creating the reservation

did not defeat State title because it "in no way expressly

referred to the riverbed, nor was an intention to convey the

riverbed expressed in ‘clear and especial words’ or

‘definitively declared or otherwise made very plain.” /d

(citations omitted). The same is true of the application here.

The application's failure to refer explicitly to the tidelands

is particularly significant since virtually contemporaneous

federal actions explicitly referred to tidelands when that was

what was intended. See Public Land Order 1749, 23 Fed.

Reg. 8623 (1958) (Ak. Ex. 73), which withdrew as the

24

Simeonof National Wiidlife Refuge, inter alia, “[a}ll of

Simeonof Islands and its tidelands" (emphasis added), and

the application for an addition of "[a]ll tidelands . . . adjacent

to the Aleutian Islands National Wildlife Refuge" to that

refuge. 23 Fed. Reg. 8163 (Ak. Ex. 74) and 9039 (1958). As

the Master notes,

the Fish and Wildlife Service in Washington regularly

reviewed, and often modified, the boundary descriptions

received from its regional offices. One should therefore

expect reasonable consistency in the style of descriptions

across different refuges.

Report at 491 (citation to Tr. omitted). These pre-statehood —

federal actions expressly referred to tidelands while the

contemporaneous application at issue here does not. The

only reasonable inference is that tidelands were not included

in the latter, for a court must not infer an intent to include the

tidelands “unless the intention was definitely declared or

otherwise made plain, or was rendered in clear and especial

words, or unless the cla'm confirmed in terms embraces the

land under the waters the stream,” the legal equivalent of the

tidelands here. Montana, 450 U.S. at 552 (quotations and

citations omitted).

25

exclude the tidelands simply reflects the fact that it was not

intended to, and did not, include tidelands in the applied for

lands.

In short, the United States has not established that

"Congress clearly intended to include land under navigable

waters within the federal reservation" as required by the first

prong of the Utah test. Utah, 482 U.S. at 202. Thus, the

filing of the application for withdrawal at issue did not defeat

Alaska's submerged lands entitlement under the equal

footing doctrine.

C. There is no evidence that Congress affirmatively

intended to defeat Alaska's equal footing doctrine

title to tidelands within the boundaries described

in the application, much less the disputed

submerged lands below the line of extreme low

water.

The United States points to nothing in the Alaska

Statehood Act or its legislative history even intimating that

Congress “affirmatively intended to defeat" Alaska's title to

equal footing doctrine lands, the second prong of the Utah

test. Utah, 482 U.S. at 202. That i. understandable, for the

legislative history of the Alaska Statehood Act reveals a

congressional intent not to defeat Alaska’s equal footing

doctrine title. Instead, the legislative history establishes that

Congress intended to ensure that Alaska joined the Union on

an equal footing with respect to submerged lands title in fact

as well as in concept.

In hearings on Alaska statehood, both members of

Congress and representatives of federal executive branch

agencies discussed the equal footing doctrine and its

Statutory codification in the Alaska Right-of-Way Act of

26

May 14, 1898, ch. 299, 30 Stat. 409 (formerly codified at 48

U.S.C. § 411; current version primarily codified at 43 U.S.C.

§§ 942-1 to 942-9 (1986)). A Justice Department official

recommended that no private title be permitted to tidelands

because that would be "contrary to the public policy of the

United States” and specifically contrary to the 1898 Act

which provided that lands underlying navigable waters in the

Territory of Alaska "shall continue to be held by the United

States in trust for the people of any State or States which

may hereafter be erected out of said Territory." 1954 Senate

Hearings at 215-16. Subsequent discussion revealed that

both the Committee and the federal officials advising it

understood the historical background of the doctrine and that

the act admitting Alaska to the Union did not need any

specific language to accomplish that result. Id. at 223-25. .

The Committee adopted the language now appearing in

~ section 1 of the Alaska Statehood Act that describes Alaska

as consisting of “all the territory, together with the territorial

waters appurtenant thereto, now included in the Ternitory of

Alaska . . . to include, if inclusion be necessary, the lands

beneath inland navigable waters of the State.": 1954 Senate

Hearings at 280 (emphasis added). The Committee

considered the 1898 Act “a declaration with respect to

reservation for a future State of rights in navigable waters,

id. at 281 (comment by Senator Cordon), and a “reservation

for the future State of Alaska by a Federal statute," /d.

(comment by Senator Daniel). Senator Jackson wrapped up

the discussion by making clear his intent, concurred in by the

Committee, that Alaska receive title to all the submerged

s Ralph Barney was the Chief, Indian Claims Branch, Lands Division,

Department of Justice. Alaska Statehood: Hearings on S. 50 before the Senate

Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs, 834 Cong., 2d Sess. ("/954 Senate

Hearings”) Il (1954).

27

lands within its boundaries:

Senator JACKSON. May I ask this question? Is there

any Federal dominion outside of the geographical

boundaries of the Territory of Alaska, outside the

hical | laries?

Senator JACKSON. My only reason for the question is

that / want to make sure that we are in effect conveying

everything there is up there [in terms of submerged

lands], as far as the overall boundary lines are

concerned, to the new State; everything in that area

insofar as the geographical boundary lines are

concerned.

Id. at 282 (emphasis added).

The 8Siii Congress that enacted the Alaska Statehood Act

also recognized that the United States held the submerged

lands for the benefit of the new State. S. Rep. No. 1720,

85th Cong., 2d Sess. (1958), reprinted in 2 1958 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News 2893, 2899; S. Rep. No. 1045, 85th

Cong., Ist Sess. (1957), reprinted in 2 1957 U.S. Code Cong.

& Admin. News 1933. It fully understood that "if Alaska

goes into statehood [it] would get 100 percent of the

navigable waters.""" Hearings before the Subcommittee on

" The Master concludes that the "100 percent” did not refer to what

submerged lands Alaska would receive at statehood but to what the new State's

share of royalties would be under the bill being considered. Report at 436 n.75.

Only if Alaska received title to the lands upon admission, however, would it

receive /00 percent of the royalties. If admitted to statehood, Alaska at that

point would have received only the same 37 1/2 percent share of oil and gas

revenues from federal lands that other States received under section 35 of the

Mineral Leasing Act of 1920, 30 U.S.C. § 191 (1940). In section 28(b) of the

Alaska Statehood Act, Congress amended section 35 of the Mineral Leasing Act

to provide that Alaska would receive an additional 52 1/2 percent of oil and gas

28

Territories of the Senate Committee on Interior and Insular

Affairs, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. (1957), reprinted in Alaska

Submerged Lands: Hearings on H.R. 8054 before the Senate

Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs, 85th Cong., 2d

Sess. 117, 124 (1957).

Finally, Congress expressed considerable displeasure that

the beneficial effects of the public lands laws in Alaska had

been "vitiated . . . through the creation of tremendous federal

reservations." H.R. Rep. No. 624, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 6

(1957). More than one-fourth of Alaska -- approximately 95

million acres'* -- was included in those withdrawals and

reservations. Jd. Much of the remaining area "is covered by

glaciers, mountains, and worthless tundra." /d The

extensive withdrawals "might well embrace a preponderance

of the more valuable resources needed by the new State . ‘a

to support itself and its people." Jd. Although the committee

could not make a detailed survey of each one, it was

"strongly of the opinion that a considerable number of [them]

are either excessive in size or totally unnecessary." /d. at 8.

Had Congress believed that one or more of these withdrawals

ownership of those submerged lands justified abandoning its

consistent policy of holding the lands for the benefit of a new

State, it would have said so but did not.

revenues from lands retained by the United States in recognition of the fact that,

unlike the other States, Alaska received no benefits under the Reclamation Act of

1902 into which $2 1/2 percent of federal oil and gas revenues otherwise would

be deposited. See H.R. Rep. Mo. 624, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 23 (1957). The

point, however, is that only if Alaska received sitle to the lands at statehood

would it receive. /00 percent of the royalties.

'* This is only slightly smaller than the land area of California. See 2 Aaron

L. Shalowitz, Shore and Sea Boundaries 477 (U.S. Dept. of Commerce Pub. 10-

1, 1964) (The total area of California is 158,693 square statute miles. There are

640 acres to a square mile, producing an area expressed in acres of 101,563,520).

29

All of this legislative history is flatly inconsistent with an

affirmative congressional intent to defeat Alaska's equal

footing doctrine title to submerged lands. Indeed, it

establishes precisely the opposite: Congress affirmatively

intended that Alaska take title to al// submerged lands within

its boundaries as an incident of statehood.

In any event, the United States has not established that

"Congress affirmatively intended to defeat the future State's

title" as required by the second prong of the Utah test. Utah,

482 U.S. at 202. For this reason, too, the filing of the

application for the withdrawal at issue here did not defeat

Alaska's submerged lands entitlement under the equal

footing doctrine.

Il. The application did not defeat Alaska's submerged

lands entitlement under the Submerged Lands

Act.

A. The principles the Court established in the equal

footing doctrine cases apply equally to offshore

submerged lands not subject to the doctrine.

In briefing its exception, the United States virtually

ignores this Court's equal footing doctrine jurisprudence.

Instead, it focuses its argument almost exclusively on the

Submerged Lands Act, claiming that the Court should apply

as strong a presumption in favor of continued federal

ownership of lands subject to the Act as it applies in favor of

the States for lands subject to the equal footing doctrine.

United States’ Brief at 34. It also argues that the Court

should view the Submerged Lands Act grant no differently

than any other statutory federal grant, and should strictly

construe it in favor of the United States. Jd. at 36. The

30

United States is wrong on both counts.

Congress intended the same presumption of State

ownership to apply to lands granted by the Submerged Lands

Act and lands subject to the equal doctrine. The Submerged

Lands Act was Congress's direct response to this Court's

holding in the 1947 California decision, that the equal

footing doctrine did not apply to offshore submerged lands

within State boundaries. "The very purpose of the

Submerged Lands Act was to undo the effect of this Court's

1947 decision in United States v. California, 332 U.S. 19,"

United States v. California, 436 U.S. 32, 37 (1978) (the

"1978 California case") -- i.e., to rewrite the law as found by

the Court in the 1947 California decision and apply the

Pollard :qual footing doctrine rule of State ownership to

offshore submerged lands within State boundaries.

Congress's purpose here was twofold. First, it intended to

grant offshore submerged lands within State boundaries to

the coastal states. Congress did not intend a merely

gratuitous grant, however. Instead, it intended the grant to

reflect the law as it had been believed to be prior to the

Court's 1947 California decision. Second, Congress

intended to prevent further erosion of the equal footing

doctrine by either the federal executive or this Court.

Congress noted that the United States Attorney General had

vigorously attacked the rational of this Court's equal footing

doctrine cases in the 1947 California decision and that the

Court had the power to overrule those cases and might well

do so if Congress did not prevent it legislatively

Consequently, Congress sought "to preserve the status

quo as it was thought to be prior to the California decision,"

H.R. Rep. No. 1778, 80th Cong., 2d Sess. 2 (1948),

reprinted in 2 1953 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin News 1385,"

'S "The legislative history of all the bills considered prior to enactment of the

31

and "to confirm and establish the rights and claims of the 48

States, long asserted and enjoyed with the approval of the

Federal Government, to the lands and resources beneath

navigable waters within their boundaries." /d at 3; S. Rep.

No. 1592, 80th Cong., 2d Sess. 5 (1948). Before the 1947

California decision, this Court's decisions had reflected State

ownership of offshore submerged lands, as had decisions of

lower federal and State courts and of the Attorneys General

of the United States and federal agencies for 160 years;

lawyers, legal publicists, and those claiming title under State

authority "accepted this principle as the well-settled law of

the land." H. R. Rep. No. 1778 at 4; S. Rep. No. 1592 at 5.

"(T]he Court by its [1947 California] decision not only

established the law differently from what eminent jurists,

lawyers, and public officials for more than a century had

believed it to be, but also differently from what the Supreme

Court apparently had believed it to be." H.R. Rep. No. 1778

at 6; S. Rep. No. 1592 at 7.

The committee recognizes that it is within the province of

the Supreme Court to define the law as the Court believes

it to be at the time of its opinion. However, the Supreme

Court does not pass upon the wisdom of the law. That is

exclusively within the congressional area of national

power. Congress has the power to change the law, just as

the Supreme Court has the power to change its

interpretation of the law by overruling pronouncements in

Submerged Lands Act in 1953 is directly relevant to the latter Act” since the

purposes were substantially similar, all prior hearings on predecessor bills were

expressly incorporated into the record during hearings on the final bills, and

similar references were made on the floor of Congress. Louisiana, 363 U.S at 17

n.16. Some of the following legislative history of the Submerged Lands Act was

noted by the Court in that case, id at 18-19 n.17.

32

its former opinions which have been accepted as the law

of the land. Therefore, in full acceptance of what the

Supreme Court has now found the law to be, Congress

may nevertheless enact such legislation as in its wisdom it

deems advisable to solve the problems arising out the

decision.

Indeed, the power of the Congress to establish the law for

the future as it was formerly believed to be, was, in effect,

recognized by the Court in the California case .. . .

H.R. Rep. No. 1778 at 6 (emphasis added); S. Rep. No. 1592

at 7-8 (emphasis added). As the Court's decision left the

status of offshore submerged lands unclear, "Congress

should now remove all doubt about the titles by ratifying and

confirming the title long asserted by the various States."

H.R. Rep. No. 1778 at 8-9; S. Rep. No. 1592 at 10.

The rationale of the so-called [Pollard] inland water rule

was vigorously attacked by the Attorney General of the

United States in the California case, Although he did not

ask that it be overruled, he did state that "the tidelands and

inland waters rule is believed erroneous.”'"*!

The Supreme Court has as much power to overrule its

prior decisions laying down the inland-water rule as it had

power to change its belief regarding ownership of the

‘© The Deputy Solicitor General representing the United States before the

Master in this case shared this view, stating that “alas, our Supreme Court went

astray in the 1840's” when it established the equal footing doctrine rule of State

ownership in the “dubious” Pollard decision. L.F. Claiborne, Federal-State

Offshore Boundary Disputes: The Federal Perspective, Law of the Sea Eighteenth

Annual Conference (1984), reprinted in The Developing Law of the Oceans 360-61

(R. Krueger and S. Riesenfeld, eds., 1985).

33

marginal belt within the boundaries of the States; and it

may well do so in view of its holding in the California

case, unless Congress acts to establish the law for the

future.

H.R. Rep. No. 1778 at 12; S. Rep. No. 1592 at 14 (footnote

omitted) (emphasis added).

The repeated assertions by our highest Court for a period

of more than a century of the doctrine of State ownership

of all navigable waters, whether inland or not, and the

universal belief that such was the settled law, have for all

practical purposes established a principle which the

committee believes should as a matier of policy be

recognized and confirmed by Congress as a rule of

property law. :

H.R. Rep. No. 1778 at 16 :

1592 at 18 (emphasis Sn aa added); S. Rep. No.

Here we have the broad question whether Congress

should confirm or whether it should reverse the traditional

and long-accepted practice that submerged lands within a

| State's boundary and all resources therein belong in a

Proprietary sense to the States, subject, of course, to all

powers delegated to the United States by the Constitution.

This far-reaching historic- policy should be reversed only

if the national interest demands reversal. The committee

is of the opinion that not only will the public interest be

best served by confirming the rights of the States but that

common Justice and equity require such action.

H.R. Rep. No. 1778 at 17; S. Rep. No. 1592 at 19-20.

34

Finally, it is the intent and purpose of this bil! to establish

the law for the future so that the rights and powers of the

States and those holding under State authority may be

preserved as they existed prior to the decision of the

Supreme Court of the United States in the California case.

H.R. Rep. No. 1778 at 24 (emphasis added); S. Rep. No.

1592 at 26 (emphasis added).

The transfer of the United States’ interest in both lands

underlying inland navigable waters and offshore submerged

lands in the Act

merely fixes as the law of the land that which, throughout

our history prior to the Supreme Court decision in the

California case in 1947, was generally believed and

accepted to be the law of the land; namely, that the

respective States are the sovereign owners of the lands

beneath navigable waters within their boundaries and of

Therefore, Title Il recognizes, confirms, vests, and

establishes in the States title to the submerged lands

which they have long claimed, over which they have

always exercised all the rights and attributes of

ownership.

ELR. Rep. No. 695, 82d Cong., Ist Sess. 5 (1951), reprinted

in 2 1953 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1395. The areas

"sovereign owners” of submerged lands, of course, included

both lands beneath navigable in.and waters and offshore

submerged lands. /d.

35

Congress included both categories of lands within the

Act's purview

because they have been possessed, used, and claimed

the States under the same rule of law, to wit: wp

States own all lands beneath navigable waters within their

respective boundaries.

The rule was stated by the Supreme Court in the

early

case of Pollard v. Hagan (3 How. 212, 229 (1845)) .. . .

ee ee anaes

the Supreme Court in the past has indicated its belief

ro phn egmeaereR applies equally

under navigable waters within State boundaries,

whether inland or seaward . . . .

The purpose of this legislation is to write the law

for

the future as the Supreme Court believed it to be in the

past -- that the States shall own and have proprietary use

of all lands under navigable waters within their territorial

7 ei ne Roar ct og cyt

powers de to the Uni

ae ent legated United States

S. Rep. No.133, 83d Cong., Ist Sess. 7-8 (195

. be . 3

2 1953 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. cone 9608. > tot

eee eae within

ma ope ane in the public interest," id at 5; H.R.

- . 215, 83d Cong., Ist Sess. 5 (1953), reprinted in 2

3 US. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1385, a principle

explicitly embodied in section 3(a) of the S

Act, 43 U.S.C. § 1311(a). —

er Le Nee paaile Gxt te

nited States had paramount rights to offshore submerged

lands, United States v. Maine, 420 U.S. 515, 524 (1975),

36

onl in the sense that it accepted the Court's statement of the

4 It did not accept the consequences of the decision, and

acted to reverse them by returning the law to what it was

thought to be prior to the decision. ba

Te law believed to apply to submerged lands within

State boundaries, the law that Congress in the Submerged

Lands Act wrote for the future, was the body of law that had

from this Court's equal footing doctrine cases.

Under that law, as noted above, there is a strong presumption

in favor of State title. Utah, 482 U.S. at 197-98 and cases

cited therein. To effectuate Congress's determination that

State ownership of submerged lands both onshore and

offshore is in the public interest,"’ its intent that State

ownership "be recognized and confirmed by Congress as rule

of property law,""* and its purpose “to write the law for the

future as the Supreme Court believed it to be in the past,

this same presumption in favor of State title must be applied

to offshore submerged lands under the Submerged Lands Act

grant to the States.”

43 U.S.C. § 1311).

" HR. Rep. No. 1778, 80th Cong., 2d Sess. at 16; S. Rep. No. 1592, 80th

Cong., 2d Sess. at 18.

* S Rep. No. 133, 83d Cong., Ist Sess. at 8.

® The Court in California ex rel. State Lands Comm'n v. United States, 457

US. 273, 287 (1982), stated that its reading of the Submerged Lands Act in that

case “adheres to the principle that federal grants are to be construed strictly in

favor of the United States.” As is clear on its face, that statement was not

essential to the decision. it therefore is dictum and “not controlling.

Humphrey's Ex'r v. United States, 295 U.S. 602, 627 (1935); see also Cohens v.

Virginia, 19 U.S. (6 Wheat.) 264, 399 (1821). In that case, moreover, California

sought to quiet title to 184 acres of oceanfront accretions to a Coast Guard

37

Thus, in the 1978 California case, the Court held that the

federal withdrawal and reservation of a one-mile belt of tide

and offshore submerged lands (not lands underlying inland

navigable waters) around the Anacapa Islands in the Santa

Barbara Channel did not defeat California's Submerged

Lands Act title to those lands. 436 U.S. at 39-40. The United

States relied on a section 5(a) exception to the Act's grant for

“any rights the United States has in lands presently and

actually occupied by the United States under claim of right."

Id. at 38. The Court held that this "claim of right" exception

did not reach the disputed lands because the reservation of

the lands did not change the nature of the government's

claim, id at 40-41, implicitly rejecting the dissent's argument

that the intent of the exception was to reach submerged lands

that were "actually occupied." Strictly construing the section

5(a) exception in the 1978 California case against the United

States and in favor of California was manifestly consistent

with Congress's intent, and is the approach that should be

followed here as well.

Both the 1978 California case and this case call for

application of the Court's oft-stated rule that the party

claiming the benefit of an exception must establish that the

exception applies: “When a proviso like this carves an

exception out of the body of a statute or contract, those who

set up such exception must prove it." Clemente Javierre v.

Central Altagracia, Inc., 217 U.S. 502, 508 (1910) (citations

omitted); accord United States v. First City Nat'l Bank of

Houston, 386 U.S. 361, 366 (1967). Any other rule would

require the individual States to demonstrate affirmatively

in that case is every bit as much the product of “peculiar circumstances” as was

the decision in Choctaw Nation. |t should be limited to its facts.

38

that the exceptions to the Submerged Lands Act do not

apply. "Since as a practical matter it is never easy to prove a

negative,” Elkins v. United States, 364 U.S. 206, 218 (1960),

such a rule would impose a heavy burden on the States to

disprove a claim by the United States -- whether supported

by evidence or not - that it had “expressly retained”

submerged lands at the time the State was admitted to the

Union.

The exception in section 5(a) of the Submerged Lands Act

on which the United States relies, moreover, is for lands

"expressly retained by or ceded to the United States when the

State entered the Union.” 43 U.S.C. § 1313(a). “In matters

of statutory construction the duty of this Court is to give

effect to the intent of Congress, and in doing so our first

reference is of course to the literal meaning of words

employed.” Flora v. United States, 357 U.S. 63, 65 (1958).

The requirement that lands be “expressly retained” at

minimum would seem to require affirmative evidence that an

intent to retain "was definitely declared or otherwise made

very plain, or was rendered in clear and especial words, or

unless the claim confirmed in terms embraces the land."

That is precisely the formulation required for showing an

intent to defeat State title under the equal footing doctrine.

Utah, 482 U.S. at 198.

For these reasons, the Court should not presume that the

United States retained title to offshore submerged lands and

therefore resolve any doubts in its favor. To effectuate

Congress's intent, the Court must apply the same strong

presumption in favor of State title under the Submerged

Lands Act as it applies to tidelands and lands underlying

inland navigable waters under the equal footing doctrine. As

the United States has not overcome that presumption, see

part I supra, its exception must be rejected.

39

B. The application did not defeat Alaska's title even

under the United States' statutory analysis.

The United States claims that Congress "express

retained” the lands subject to the application in section 6(e)

of the Alaska Statehood Act within the meaning of the

exception to the Submerged Lands Act grant in section 5(a)

of the Submerged Lands Act, 43 U.S.C. § 1313(a). This

Oe en Seen aa Ge tage elias of

application, the function and purpose of section 6(e) of

the Alaska Statehood Act, and the language and intent of the

Submerged Lands Act section 5(a) exception.

Section 5(a) excepts from the Submerged Lands Act grant

to the States, inter alia, “all lands expressly retained by

the United States when the State entered the Union... . "

The United States contends that the "application had the

legal effect of designating ‘lands withdrawn or otherwise set

apart as refuges or reservations for the protection of wildlife’

for purposes of section 6(¢) of the Alaska Statehood Act,"

and section 6() in turn “expressly retained” those lands at

the time of statehood within the meaning of section 5(a) of

“aa eee United States’ Brief at 39.

Section 6(e Alaska Statehood i

wit Act provides in

_ All real and personal property of the United States

situated in the Territory of Alaska which is specifically

used for the sole purpose of conservation and protection

of the fisheries and wildlife of Alaska, under the

provisions of the Alaska game law . . . and under the

provisions of the Alaska commercial fisheries laws .. .

shall be transferred and conveyed to the State of Alaska

40

by the appropriate Federal agency: . . . Provided, that

such transfer shall not include lands withdrawn or

otherwise set apart as refuges or reservations for the

protection of wildlife... .

A mere application for a withdrawal for a refuge or

reservation neither withdrew nor otherwise set apart any

lands as a refuge or reservation. As the United States notes,

the legal effect of an application was to

temporarily segregate such lands from settlement,

location, sale, selection, entry, lease, and other forms of

disposal under the public land law, including the mining

and the mineral leasing laws, to the extent that the

withdrawal or reservation applied for, if effected, would

prevent such forms of disposal.

United States’ Brief at 41, citing 43 C.F.R. § 295.11(a) (1958

Supp.).

The United States fails to mention the final sentence of

that regulation, which states: “Such temporary segregation

shall not affect the administrative jurisdiction over the

segregated lands." 43 C.F.R. § 295.11(a) (1958 Supp.).

Under that provision, the application did not transfer

administration of the lands to the applying agency and the

lands were not withdrawn or otherwise set apart as a refuge

or reservation within the meaning of section 6(e).

The United States objects to this “formalistic distinction

between setting apart land ‘as’ a refuge, as opposed to ‘for the

purpose of a refuge.” United States’ Brief at 42. That

distinction, however, is central to the proper application of

section 6(e). Interior Secretary Chapman proposed the

language of section 6(e) in 1950. Report at 465-66 n.17. He

41

explained that the exception to the transfer of land to Alaska

would apply only to "the Pribiloff islands, and over all other

Federal lands and waters in Alaska which have been set aside

as wildlife refuges or reservations Pursuant to the fur seal

and sea otter laws, the migratory bird laws, or other Federal

Statutes of general application." Id. at 466 n.17 (emphasis

added), quoting Secretary Chapman's April 20, 1950, letter

to Senator Mahoney, chairman of the Senate Committee on

Interior and Insular Affairs, S. Rep. No. 1929, 81st Cong., 2d

refuges or reservations,” S. Rep. No. 1163, 85th

Sess. 17 (1957) (emphasis added), to "withdrawn ee

in general wildlife and fisheries research activities," H.R.

Rep. No. 624, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. at 19 (emphasis added)

to "wildlife refuges," S. Rep. No. 1028, 83d Cong. 2d Sess,

at 31, and to "withdrawn wildlife refuges or reservations

[and] facilities utilized therewith." H.R. Rep. No. 675, 83d

Cong., Ist Sess. 17 (1953). Acting Interior Secretary

Chilson interpreted the exception as applying only to

[I]ands withdrawn or otherwise reserved for research

activities relating to fisheries or wildlife.” S. Rep. No. 1163,

85th Cong., Ist Sess. at 33 (emphasis added); H.R. Rep. No

624, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. at 24 (emphasis added). 7

Indeed, there is no evidence that Congress even knew that

the application at issue here had been filed. The United

States erroneously claims that "the Secretary of the Interior

informed Congress of pending application, and he

embracing submerged lands." United States’ Brief at 50

citing United States’ Exhibit ("U.S. Ex.") 61. As the Maste,

explained, however, U.S. Ex. 61 does not show the area

subject to the application. Instead, it shows a much earlier

42

completed withdrawal and reservation, Public Land Order

82, Report at 483-84 n.34, which in 1943 withdrew and

reserved the entire North Slope of Alaska and reserved the

minerals therein "for use in connection with the prosecution

f World War Il." Jd. at 452 n.7. :

: The United States also quotes the Master out of context in

claimi that, "[aJs the Master acknowledged, Members of

for which the application was filed in the

srepative history ofthe Alaska Statehood Act Id. at 466-67

n.18. The first pre-dated the November 1957 filing of the

application at issue here, and tis could not have given

Congress a basis for considering the applied for lands

the House Committee on

rns ee Ist Sess. 447 and

482-84 (1957). The second merely indicates that [s}teps

already have been taken to withdraw” the lands subject to the

application at issue here, but gives no indication what those

steps were and thus also gave Congress no basis for

considering the applied for lands covered by section 6(e).

Thus, there is in fact no evidence from which Congress

“might have considered” section 6(e) broad enough to cover

the lands covered by this application.

43

Shortly after statehood, moreover, the Deputy Solicitor of

Interior addressed a question strikingly similar to that

presented here. Solicitor’s Opinion M-36562, (1959) (Ak.

Ex. 76). A pre-statehood application sought the withdrawal

and reservation of tidelands as an addition to the Aleutian

Islands National Wildlife Refuge. Jd at 2. The Deputy

Solicitor concluded that the applied for tidelands "clearly are

within the areas to which the Submerged Lands Act of 1953

applies," and that the Act "with certain exceptions not

pertinent here" transferred all of the United States’ right, title,

and interest to the State. Jd at 3. He noted that the

temporary segregation of lands under the administrative

regulations governing such applications was "not equivalent

in effect to a Secretarial order [withdrawing the lands]" and,

as a result, "the Secretary no longer has the jurisdiction over

those areas necessary to effectively withdraw any portion of

them for a wildlife refuge or as an addition to an existing

one." Jd. at 2-3. The Deputy Solicitors contemporaneous

administrative construction of an application's legal effect

under the regulations on the new State of Alaska's

submerged lands entitlement under the Submerged Lands

Act is entitled to considerable deference by this Court. Watt,

451 U.S. at 272-73.”

Because lands subject to an application were not

withdrawn or set apart as a refuge within the meaning of

section 6(e) of the Alaska Statehood Act, they thus were not

* A later Interior Solicitor “overruled” this 1959 contemporaneous

administrative construction of the effect of the application under the

on Alaska's submerged lands entitlement in 1978. 86 Interior Dec. 151, 175-76

(1978). As in Wazt, “[t}he Department's current interpretation, being in conflict

with its initial position, is entitled to considerably less deference” and. as it did

there, the Court should find the new position “wholly unpersuasive.” 451 U.S. at

273 (citation omitted).

44

j the section 5(a) exception to the Submerged Lands

soem: lends “expressly retained” by the United States at the

purpose of the ['expressly retained’] language is to reserve to

the United States those facilities and those areas which are

used by the Government in its governmental capacity for Sve

or more of its governmental purposes. 99 Cong. Rec.

The United States makes an even more fundamental error

in relying on section 6(e) of the Statehood Act as an “express

w tention" of submerged lands under the Submerged Lands

Act. Congress included section 6(e) in the Statehood Act to

transfer property used for fish and wildlife management fo

Alaska, not to retain property:

All real and personal property of the United States

situated in the Territory of Alaska which is specifically

used for the sole purpose of conservation and protection

of the fisheries and wildlife of Alaska, under t

provisions of the Alaska game law . . . and under the

provisions of the Alaska commercial fisheries laws . . .

shall be transferred and conveyed to the State of Alaska

by the appropriate Federal agency ... .

(Emphasis added.) Congress only excepted lands

"withdrawn or otherwise on poy enorme

from this specific grant of property to the new

section 6(e) - "such transfer shall not include lands

withdrawn or otherwise set apart as refuges or reservations,

45

Id. (emphasis added) -- and not from the grant of submerged

lands to Alaska under section 6(m), which applied the

Submerged Lands Act to the new State.

Congress "expressly retained" no submerged lands in the

Alaska Statehood Act. The United States cites nothing in

Act or its legislative history even intimating a congressional

intent to retain some of the submerged lands that otherwise

would be transferred to the new State under the Submerged

Lane's Act, much less "expressly" articulating such an intent.

Indeed, the legislative history clearly indicates that Congress

affirmatively intended all submerged lands in Alaska,

including those offshore, to go to the new State upon

admission. The Alaska Right-of-Way Act provided in part

that title to the beds of navigable waters within the Territory

of Alaska “shall continue to be held by the United States in

trust for the people of any State or States which may

hereafter be erected out of said [Territory]" and defined the

term “navigable waters” as including "all tidal waters up to

the line of ordinary high tide." 30 Stat. at 409. Senator

Daniel noted that Congress had used this Act in discussions

on the Submerged Lands Act to show "that Congress

recognized the States should own such lands,” that they had

been reserved by Congress in 1898 for the future State of

Alaska, and that the 1898 reservation included "lands

covered by territorial waters." 1/954 Senate Hearings at 281.

This is not to say that Congress did not consider imposing

some limitations on the new State of Alaska's Submerged

Lands Act grant. A Senate Committee adopted a proviso to

the section applying the Submerged Lands Act to Alaska that

would have required the aew State to permit timber

companies to use surface waters for timber operations in the

Tongass National Forest in Southeast Alaska. See S. Rep.

No. 1163, 85th Cong., Ist Sess. 20 (1957). Even that limited

46

{ “retention,” however, one which addressed only the

water surface and not the submerged /ands, was not included

in the Alaska Statehood Act as enacted.

Accordingly, purely as a matter of statutory construction,

the Master's determination that the application did not defeat

Alaska's submerged lands entitlement under the Submerged

Lands Act was correct.

’s admission

Ill. Congress could not condition Alaska’s

to the Union on the State’s relinquishment of its

entitlement to equal footing doctrine lands.

The United States’ argument that Congress demonstrated

an intent to defeat the State's title to the submerged lands at

issue through a provision of the Alaske. Statehood Act is

retain sovereign equal footing doctrine lands as a condition

of statehood. The equal footing doctrine prohibits the United

States’ retention of submerged lands in a statehood act.

As the State argued in its opening brief, this Court has

long considered provisions of a statehood act that purport to

condition the new State's admission to the Union on a

retention by the United States of a part of the new State's

sovereignty to violate the equal footing doctrine, see Alaska's

Brief at 66-70, and Alaska will not repeat that entire

discussion here. The point, howev™ applies equally to the

47

discussion of Pollard in Corvallis Sand & Gravel, 429 U.S.

at 374 ("[t]he Court established the absolute title of the

States to the beds of navigable waters, a title which neither a

provision in the Act admitting the State to the Union nor a

grant from Congress to a third party [after statehood] was

capable of defeating." (footnote omitted)). The Court

reaffirmed and extended this rule in Coyle, 221 U.S. 559,

holding that a limitation on Oklahoma's sovereign power to

determine the location of its capital imposed in the statehood

act as a condition of admission was invalid because the

Constitution requires that all new states be admitted with all

the powers of sovereignty and jurisdiction that pertain to the

original states. Jd. at 566-74.

The United States’ retention of lands underlying navigable

waters as a condition of statehood of necessity would require

that the State enter the Union on less than equal footing.

Assuming for the sake of argument that section 6(e) of the

Alaska Statehood Act demonstrated an affirmative

Congressional intent to defeat Alaska's title to equal footing

doctrine lands, and it did not, it would constitute an

unconstitutional condition to statehood that would be void.

IV. Finally, when an international duty or a public

exigency necessitates federal retention of

submerged lands, the United States' retained

interest should be limited to only those rights

absolutely necessary rather than fee title.

The State argued in its opening brief that in any case

where an international duty or a public exigency necessitates

federal retention of submerged lands, the United States’

retained interest should be limited to only those rights

absolutely necessary to discharge the duty or deal with the

48

limiting the United States’ retained interest to only those

rights absolutely necessary to discharge an international duty

or deal with a public exigency permits the United States to

fulfill its national responsibilities while simultaneously

fulfilling at least some of the State's submerged lands

lands for the protection of wildlife within the

meaning of section 6(e) of the Alaska Statehood Act (which

Alaska disputes), the rights retained by the United States

would at minimum not include the subsurface interests. The

Slope Regional Corporation, a for-profit Alaska Native

corporation organized under the Alaska Native Claims

Settlement Act.” and permitted the corporation to drill

exploratory wells within the ANWR lands. H.R. Rep. No.

104-8, 104th Cong., Ist Sess. 35 (1995).

To accommodate both the United States’ and Alaska’s

legitimate interests, the United States’ retention of any rights

to submerged lands should be limited to the minimum

necessary to fulfill the purpose of the withdrawal and

reservation.

2 Pyb. L. No. 92-203, 85 Stat. 688 (1971) (codified at 43 U.S.C. §§ 1601 er

seq. (1996).

CONCLUSION

The Court should accept the Master's recommendation

reservation of a wildlife refuge in northeast Alaska, not

acted on until long after Alaska's admission to the Union and

the vesting of its submerged lands entitlement, did not defeat

Alaska's title to those lands.

October 1996

Respectfully submitted,

BRUCE M. BOTELHO

Attorney General

Joanne M. Grace

Assistant Attorney General

G. THOMAS KOESTER

JOHN BRISCOE

WASHBURN, Briscoe & MCCARTHY

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.