Amicus Curiae Brief — Hughes Aircraft Co. v. United States Ex Rel. Schumer

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

A) |

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No. 95-1340

HUGHES AIRCRAFT COMPANY

Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES EX REL. WILLIAM J. SCHUMER

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION

AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE

PETITIONER

LESTER W. SCHIEFELBEIN, JR. JAMES J. GALLAGHER,

STEPHEN A. WARREN Counsel of Record

LOCKHEED MARTIN MISSILES MARKR. TROY

& SPACE _ BARBARA J. BACON

1111 Lockheed Martin Way © MCKENNA & CuNEO,L.L.P.

Sunnyvale, CA 94089 444 South Flower Street, 8th Fl

(408) 743-0977 Los Angeles, California 90071

(213) 688-1000

Counsel for Amicus Curiae,

Lockheed Martin Corporation

ow

KNOWLEDGE" BAR CANNOT BE APPLIED TO

PRE-AMENDMENT CONDUCT. ........cccscccceeeseeeeeeeeeeceeeeee 5

A. Regardless Of Whether The

Amendment Is "Jurisdictional," It May

Not Be Applied To Cases Based On

Information The Government Possessed

Prior To October 27, 1986 Because

That Provision Affects Rights And

Obligations Of The Parties. .......cccsccccv-.c-s-sseoseee 6

. The Repeal Of The "Government

Knowledge” Bar The Legal

Consequences of Past Events. ......................0000. 8

. THE NINTH CIRCUIT'S DEFINITION OF

"PUBLIC DISCLOSURE” IS INCONSISTENT

WITH THE LANGUAGE OF THE AMENDED

FCA AND WITH CONGRESS’ INTENT TO BAR

PPARREITIS PTOI Sai ceciscsiccicbcbiercnciictrscsvscececee 14

A. The 1986 Amendment Preserved The

Bar Against Parasitic Qui Tam Actions

While Maintaining The Government's

Exclusive Right Of Enforcement In

TD 15

PP Peg Oo ee ee, Oe

The Ninth Circuit's Exemption Of

(iii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES PAGES

Andrus v. Charlestone Stone Products Co.., |

Se re eect 7

The Assessor v. Osborne,

76 U.S. (9 Wall) 567 (1870) ooo. ccccccccccsccesceeeeceoeeee. 7

Bradley v. School Board City of Richmond,

SESE 13

Bruner v. United States,

I i 7

Freytag v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue,

SS 19

Fullerton-Krueger Lumber Co. v. Northern Pac.

Ry. Co.,

ER le aE u

Hallowell v. Commons,

a 7

Landgraf v. US] Film Products,

114 S. Ct. 1483 (1994). 4,6,7,8,9,10,14

Stephens v. Cherokee Nation,

TR ea 7

United States ex rel. Anderson v. Northern Telecom,

Inc. , 52 F.3d 810 (9th Cir. 1995) cert.

116 S. Ct. 700 (1996)... epecninttiinaied 8

United States ex rel. Boisvert v. FMC

Corp.,

No. C-86-20613, 1987 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 13549

(N.D. Cal. Sept. 8, 1987) oo ccccccccccesseeenneeneeens 8,12

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

United States ex rel. Doe v. John Doe Corp.,

960 F.2d 318 (2d Cir. 1992)............. 15,17,18,21,22,28

United States ex rel. Fine v. Chevron,

72 F.3d 740 (9th Cir. 1995) (en banc) ...........cccccc00 21

United States ex rel. Fine v. MK-Ferguson Co.,

Nos. 95-2011, 95-2021, 1996 WL 638479 (10th

Cis. BOSC. G, BEER cnciipsrepecternsatligt nrtitestinpnataviinns 17,18

United States ex rel. Hagood v. weenie ed

Water

929 F.2d 1416 (9th Cir. bE .28

United States ex rel. Haycock v. Hughes Aircraft

Company,

Nos. 94-55620, 94-55826, 1996 U.S. App.

LEXIS 27664 (9th Cir. Oct. 21, 1996).................0000. ll

United States ex rel. Hyatt v. Northrop Corp.,

CV-86-6437-KN (C.D. Cal.) acute 8,12

United States ex rel. Killingsworth v. Northrop,

25 F.3d 715 (9th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 117 S.

CR, FS a isctcceninitinitstclidiettieteeisien 13

United States ex rel. Kreindler et al. v. United

Technologies Corp.,

Sie ee 113 S$. Ct.

2962 (1993).. a hee 2 weal 24

United States ex rel. Lindenthal v. General

Dynamics Corp.,

61 F.3d 1402 (9th Cir. 1995),

cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 1319 (1996)..............5,9,11,12

United States ex rel. Newsham v. Lockheed

Missiles and Space Co., Inc., |

907 F. Supp. 1349 (N.D. Cal. 1995) . 2,3,5,8,10-13, 20

United States ex rel. Stinson v. Prudential Ins. Co.,

944 F.2d 1149 (3d Cir. 1991)... 17,24,25

United States ex rel. Williams v. NEC Corp., 931

F.2d 1493 (11th Cir. 1991) 2... cceceeeceeeeeeeee 27

United States v. Alabama,

362 U.S. 602 (1960), reh'g denied,

RR AE i a ee 7

United States v. St. Louis, SF. & T.R.. Co..

ERS ST el ee 4

Wang ex vel. United States v. FMC Corp.,

975 F.2d 1412 (9th Cir. 1992) 20 ccccccccccceeeeeee 26

Winfree v. Northern Pacific Railway Co.,

ge, EEE SF RSS ee 10,11

STATUTES

False Claims Act of March 2, 1863,

SE 2

False Claims Act Amendments of 1986, Pub. L. No.

99-562, 100 Stat. 3153,

pS a SF ee 2

5 United States Code

ES eT RE: 2 en a 25

th et EASA AL I AGO I 12

RULES AND REGULATIONS

32 Code of Federal Regulations

7 RRS ae eee 25

48 Code of Federal Regulations

SMT idiastehceiddichcedebatiiarenctuttincitaslingnsiiliititeiitisasistaalinis 12

0 RE Sa ee 12

| ES Aa we ee TSS 12

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

132 Cong. Rec. H6483 (daily ed. Sept. 9, 1986) ............ 16

H.R. Rep. No. 660, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 22-23

1 Se ee ee 16

False Claims Act Amendments, 1986: Hearings

Before the Subcomm. on Admin. Law and

Government Relations of the House Comm. on

the Judiciary, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. (1986)...............16

S. Rep. No. Na. 345, 99th ments

Usee ang ee

Black's Law Dictionary (6th ed. 1990).........................25,26

DCAA Audit ro

10-2:12.2 (1996) ..... esumanbmesnpamnaaseneesia

10-213.3 (1 1983) - sstensmnsgrenenassmgeenntle

Department of Defense Voluntary Disclosure

Program, A a _

Inspector General April 1990) ... ——

Department of Jusuce Qui Tarn Statismes, 64 Fed.

ae bangin a

EE A 2

Voluntary Disclosure as the Source of Qui Tam

Litigation, 22 Pub.Cont.L_J. 764 (1993).................. 27

Webster's Ninth New

oe ees - lita

SS ee on

No. 95-1340

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

HUGHES AIRCRAFT COMPANY

Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES EX REL. WILLIAM J. SCHUMER

Respondent.

BRIEF OF LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION AS

AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

Amicus curiae Lockheed Martin Corporation urges the

Court to reverse the Ninth Circuit on the questions

presented by the Petitioner. The written consent of the

parties to the filing of this amicus brief has been filed with

Dp tet tn od ————e —

2

contractor for the Departments of Defense and Energy, and

NASA. Its government contracts are subject to extensive

legal and regulatory requirements and, frequently,

government agencies audit and investigate whether the

corporation's operations are being conducted in accordance

with these requirements.

Lockheed Martin has been directly affected by the

False Claims Act ("FCA") Amendments of 1986 ("1986

amendments"), Pub. L. No. 99-562, 100 Stat. 3153, 31

U.S.C. §§ 3729, et seq., which have stimulated a substantial

increase in the number of qui tam actions brought by

individuals (or "relators"), on behalf of the government

against government contractors./ Lockheed Martin,

through Lockheed Missiles and Space Company, Inc., is

currently the defendant in a gui tam action entitled United

States ex rel. Newsham vy. Lockheed Missiles and Space

Co., Inc., No. C 88-20009 JW (N.D. Cal.) (hereafter

l/ While the FCA allows the government to intervene in the action

(31 U.S.C. § 3730(b\4) (1986)), in the vast majority of cases the

government has declined to intervene. See Department of Justice Qui

Tam Statistics, printed in 64 Fed. Contracts Rpt. 348-49, 362 (BNA

Oct. 23, 1995) (hereafter "Statistics") (From FY 1987 through FY

1995, 1,105 qui tam actions were filed. The government intervened in

only 189 cases, and declined 672 cases; the remainder, presumably,

were still under seal.) Historically, when the government declines to

intervene, the relator's action has been subject to certain limitations.

Prior to the 1986 amendments, the relator’s action was barred if it was

based on information already known to the government. 31 U.S.C.

§ 3730(b\4) (1982). Under the amended provision, government

knowledge, by itself, no longer bars a gui tam action. Rather, the

action is barred if it is based upon the “public disclosure” of allegations

or transactions in a criminal or civil action, administrative hearing,

report, audit or investigation, or in the news media, unless the relator is

an “original source” of the information, in which case that relator is

authorized to pursue the action. 31 U.S.C. § 3730(e)(4) (1986).

3

"Newsham"). That action turns on two of the questions

presented in Hughes’ petition concerning the right to

maintain a qui fam action: (a) whether applying the "public

disclosure" provision of the 1986 amendments to pre-

amendment conduct is an impermissible retroactive

application of that © staan and (b) how to define a

"public disclosure."

On both issues, Hughes asserted below a view shared

by Lockheed Martin. First, to allow a qui tam action based

on information the government possessed prior to the 1986

amendments would be an improper retroactive application

of the "public disclosure" provision because it would

increase a contractor's liability by requiring it to defend an

action that was barred under the pre-1986 FCA. Second, to

allow a qui tam action based on a government audit that

was publicly disclosed through its wide distribution within

2/ In Newsham, the relators allege false charging of labor hours on

government contracts. One of the relators disclosed virtually all of the

allegations to the government in 1984, well before the 1986

amendments were enacted. In addition, prior to 1986, the

government's Defense Contract Audit Agency audited those

allegations. The audit reports were distributed to Lockheed and

reviewed by the government's contracting officers, who determined

that no claim against Lockheed was appropriate. See Memorandum of

the United States As Amicus Curiae, United States ex rel. Newsham v.

Lockheed Missiles and Space Co. Inc., No. C 88-20009 JW (reprinted

in Appendix ("App.") (la-17a) at 4a-Sa). The qui tam action, filed in

1988, is based on the same allegations that the government had

investigated prior to 1986. After investigating the allegations for the

second time, the government declined to intervene. The court denied

Lockheed's motion to dismiss under the pre-1986 “government

knowledge" provision, holding that the amended “public disclosure”

provision applies to the case even though the alleged misconduct arose

prior to the 1986 amendments and had previously been investigated by

the government. Newsham, 907 F. Supp. 1349, 1358 (N.D. Cal. 1995).

4

a company is inconsistent with the FCA, as amended, and

could result in a qui tam action by a company employee

whenever an audit contained adverse findings.

The Ninth Circuit rejected both arguments. Therefore,

this Court's decision will have a significant effect on

current and possibly future litigation against Lockheed

Martin and other contractors.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENTS

1. The 1986 FCA amendment repealing the

“government knowledge" bar cannot be applied

retroactively. The pre-1986 FCA provided a bright line

defense to qui tam actions based on information the

government possessed when the action was filed. 31

U.S.C. § 3730(b)(4) (1982). Under that rule, contractors

were secure in knowing that the government's knowledge

of relevant information freed them from the threat of qui

fam actions. Applying the "public disclosure" provision,

enacted in 1986, to pre-1986 conduct removes that security

and exposes contractors to expensive litigation and the risk

of substantial liability. Accordingly, under Landgraf v. USI

Film Products, 114 S. Ct. 1483 (1994), the public

disclosure provision cannot be applied retroactively

because it would "increase a party's liability for past

conduct" and "impose new duties with respect to

transactions already completed." 114 S. Ct at 1505.

2. The allegations, which were the subject of a

government audit and investigation, were "publicly

disclosed" in accordance with the plain meaning of that

term and Congress’ intent. The government, having

received information from one of Hughes’ customers

(Northrop Corporation) about allegations of wrongdoing at

Hughes (Joint Appendix ("J.A.") at 20), commenced an

audit and investigation. Its investigative findings and audit

reports were disclosed throughout Hughes and to Northrop

prior to Schumer filing his gui tam action which raised the

same allegations as those in the audit reports. J.A. at 37,

42, 45-47, 55, 64, 66. Under the amended FCA, a qui tam

5

action is subject to being barred if it is "based upon the

public disclosure of allegations or transactions in a{n] . . .

administrative . . . audit or investigation." 31 U.S.C.

§ 3730(e)(4)(A). The disclosures in question are "public

disclosures" within the meaning of section 3730(e)(4)(A).

I. THe REPEAL OF THE "GOVERNMENT KNOWLEDGE"

BAR CANNOT BE APPLIED TO PRE-AMENDMENT

CONDUCT. ,

In Schumer and in Newsham, the government became

aware of the alleged wrongdoing prior to the enactment of

the 1986 FCA amendments. By virtue of that knowledge,

any qui tam lawsuit based on those allegations was barred

outright under the pre-1986 FCA. The companies were

secure in knowing that qui tam enforcement -- a statutory

scheme distinct from the investigatory and enforcement

mechanisms available to the government -- was absolutely

precluded. In both cases, the government undertook

enforcement efforts with the full cooperation of the

companies and eventually determined that neither an FCA

action mor an administrative contract action was

appropriate.

The 1986 amendments repealed the government

knowledge bar to qui tam actions. If that act of repeal is

held to apply retrospectively to Schumer's and to

Newsham's complaints -- each filed after 1986 -- the effect

would be to breathe new life into two lawsuits that should

have been absolutely precluded. The Ninth Circuit applied

the 1986 amendment to the Schumer action, finding that it

"did not alter [the contractor's] underlying liability; it only

altered the conditions under which a gui tam relator can

bring an action to enforce that liability." United States ex

rel. Schumer v. Hughes Aircraft Co., 63 F.3d 1512 (9th Cir.

1995), reprinted in the Appendix to the Petition for

Certiorari ("Pet. App.") (la-31a), at 7a (quoting United

States ex rel. Lindenthal v. General Dynamics Corp., 61

F.3d 1402 (9th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 1319

(1996)).

6

The effect of that decision is profoundly unfair to

Hughes (as well as to Lockheed Martin which, but for

retrospective application, would have avoided what has

become a complex, costly, and lengthy (eight-year) burden

of defending a lawsuit the government deemed to be

without merit). This Court has held that such an effect

cannot be imposed unless "Congress itself has affirmatively

considered the potential unfairness of retroactive

application and determined that it is an acceptable price to

pay for the countervailing benefits." Landgraf, 114 S. Ct.

at 1501.

A. Regardless Of Whether The Amendment Is

"Jurisdictional," It May Not Be Applied To

Cases Based On Information The Government

Possessed Prior To October 27, 1986 Because

That Provision Affects Rights And Obligations

Of The Parties.

This Court's decision in Landgraf reaffirmed that a

statute is presumed to operate only prospectively absent

clear congressional intent to the contrary. Landgraf, 114 S.

Ct. at 1501 (holding that “prospectivity remains the

appropriate default rule"). Because Congress did not state

whether § 3730(e)(4), or any of the other 1986 FCA

amendments, should be applied to cases based on

information the government possessed prior to October 27,

1986, the repeal of the government knowledge bar is

presumed to operate only prospectively.

Nevertheless, the Ninth Circuit found that there is "a

strong presumption that jurisdictional statutes apply

retrospectively." Pet. App. at 6a. That finding is not

supported by this Court's decisions which are bereft of any

language that excuses a jurisdictional provision from the

traditional default rule. In Landgraf, the Court noted that a

jurisdictional provision "usually ‘takes away no substantive ~

pregame g agp: open phar ss dre

that "[p]resent law normally governs in such situations

because jurisdictional statutes ‘speak to the power of the

court rather than to the rights or obligations of the

7

parties." 114 S. Ct. at 1502 (emphasis added; citations

omitted). The jurisdictional statutes at issue in the cases

cited in Landgraf fit that paradigm: they affected the

power of the court without extinguishing the rights of the

parties.3/

The repeal of the government knowledge bar, on the

other hand, affects the rights and obligations of the parties.

It gives relators a right to sue under circumstances in which

they previously could not sue and deprives contractors of a

previously available defense. Consequently, even if the

provision at issue is "jurisdictional," it cannot be applied

retroactively.

3/ See Bruner v. United States, 343 U.S. 112, 116-117 (1952)

(jurisdictional statute did not alter the validity of the rights and

liabilities at issue, but reduced the number of tribunals authorized to

determine such rights and liabilities); Hallowell v. Commons, 239 U.S.

506, 508 (1916) (new jurisdictional statute applied because it “takes

away no substantive right but simply changes the tribunal that is to

hear a case") (emphasis added); The Assessor v. Osborne, 76 U.S. (9

Wall) 567, 575 (1870) (dismissing case because diversity jurisdiction

was not alleged, and under new statute only state courts had

jurisdiction over the claim); Andrus v. Charlestone Stone Products Co.,

436 U.S. 604, 607-08 (1978) (in an agency review case, elimination of

the $10,000 amount-in-controversy requirement saved complaint that

failed to make such allegation); Stephens v. Cherokee Nation, 174 U.S.

445, 478 (1899) (granting right of appeal of decisions by the United

States court in the Indian Territory; by its terms, statute was to be

applied retrospectively); and United States v. Alabama, 362 U.S. 602

(1960) (statute conferring jurisdiction over new class of defendants

applied, but suit was for injunctive (ie., prospective) relief), reh'g

denied, 363 U.S. 857. Similarly, the jurisdictional cases cited in Justice

Scalia’s concurrence, Landgraf, 114 S. Ct. 1523, 1525, involved

statutes that merely modified the number of tribunals that could hear a

case and/or were expressly retroactive.

the pre-1986 FCA the government's acquisition of

information about alleged false claims barred Schumer's

action, the 1986 amendment, if retroactively applied, would

change the legal consequences of events that occurred

before its enactment.

The result is the same whether: (a) the government

acquired the information upon which the action was based

and the relator filed the complaint before the 1986

amendments were enacted (as in United States ex rel

v. Northrop Corp., CV-86-6437-KN (C.D. Cal.) and United

States ex rel. Boisvert v. FMC Corp., No. C-86-20613,

1987 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 13549 (N.D. Cal. Sept. 8, 1987)); or

Schumer). In either situation, the amendment changes the

consequences of pre-amendment events. Accordingly, the

amended FCA's public disclosure provision which repealed

relator disclosed the information to the government prior to 1986), cert

denied, 116 S. Ct. 700 (1996).

9

the government knowledge bar cannot be applied to actions

based on information the government possessed prior to its

enactment.

The application of the public disclosure provision to

facts such as those presented in Schumer would, like

retroactive application of an expanded statute of

limitations, revive a previously barred claim. Yet, this

Court has refused to apply a new statute of limitations

where it would bar an otherwise viable claim or revive a

previously barred claim. See, eg, United States v. St

Louis, S.F. & T.R.. Co., 270 U.S. 1, 3 (1926) (refusing to

apply a three-year statute of limitations retroactively to bar

a claim because such construction is not required by the

explicit of the statu’e or by necessary

implication);/ Fullerton-Krueger Lumber Co. v. Northern

Pac. Ry. Co., 266 U.S. 435, 437 (1925) (holding that a new

law that would toll the statute of limitations could not be

applied so as to revive stale claims). Hence, this rationale

leads to the obvious conclusion that the public disclosure

provision cannot be applied retroactively.

C. The Repeal Of The "Government Knowledge"

Bar Increases Contractors’ Liability And

imposes Additional Duties.

The Ninth Circuit found that, because the public

disclosure provision “did not alter [the contractor's]

underlying liability; it only altered the conditions under

which a qui tam relator can bring an action to enforce that

liability” it could be applied retroactively to Schumer's

action. Pet. App. at 7a (quoting Lindenthal, 61 F.3d at

1408). However, this Court's rule against the retroactive

y St Louis was cited in Landgraf for the proposition that a statute

should not be applied retroactively absent explicit language or a clear

purpose requiring such application, indicating the continued vitality of

the case. Landgraf, 114 S. Ct. at 1501 n.27.

10

ication of new laws is not limited to statutes that alter

the legality of prior conduct. In fact, in Landgraf, this

would impose “a ‘new disability’ in respect to past events.”

Id. at 1506-07 (citation omitted). Similarly, the public

disclosure provision would, if applied to conduct occurring

before its enactment, impose additional duties on

contractors.

A statute that confers rights on a new class of plaintiffs

cannot be applied retroactively because it imposes new

obligations on defendants. See Winfree v. Northern Pacific

Railway Co., 227 U.S. 296 (1913) (cited with approval in

Landgraf, 114 S. Ct. at 1507). In that case, an accident

resulting in the death of a minor occurred at a time when

the law allowed a wrongful death action only by the father

and only in state court. Congress subsequently passed a

law which enabled the administrator of the estate to bring a

wrongful death cause of action in federal court. Had the

statute merely permitted the father to move from state to

to give the administrator a right of action. Jd.

| The concerns expressed by the Winfree Court are more

significant in cases brought pursuant to the FCA, given the

reality that many contractors would not have been sued if

the relators’ action had been barred under the pre-1986

FCA. For example, in Newsham, the government, through

1]

its contracting officers, determined that no claim against the

contractor was appropriate. See App. at 4a-Sa2’ Thus,

permitting relators to bring actions that could not have been

brought under the pre-1986 FCA increases contractors’

liability by forcing them to defend these actions.

This is especially troublesome because gui tam actions

declined by the government but pursued by relators are

nearly always without merit./ Thus, the contractor's

liability is increased for benign acts. The scenario of a qui

tam relator purporting to "stand in the government's shoes”

while asserting a position completely at odds with the

government's own position is, regrettably, not uncommon.

See, eg, Lindenthal, 61 F.3d at 1411-12 (relator's

contention about the quality of engineering drawings which

defendant sold to the Air Force was undercut by the

government's testimony that the drawings were compliant

with the contract and did not give rise to any false claims);

United States ex rel. Haycock v. Hughes Aircraft Company,

Nos. 94-55620, 94-55826, 1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 27664

(9th Cir. Oct. 21, 1996) (Unpublished decision, reprinted at

App. 18a-21a) (affirming summary judgment in a gui tam

action that was based on accounting practices that were

known to and approved by the government).

6/ Like the amended FCA which assigned the government's rights to

relators, the statute in Winfree modified who may bring an action by

assigning Claims to the administrator of the estate. An “assignment” is

particularly anomalous in Newsham where the primary holder of the

right to sue for any alleged false claims, the government, determined

that there was no basis on which to bring such an action.

7/ From FY 1987 through FY 1995, recoveries had occurred in only

31 of the 672 cases in which the government declined intervention: the

$15.6 million recovered in these 31 cases is less than 1% of the

government's total recoveries under the FCA. Statistics, supra, n.1.

12

The government knowledge bar in the pre-1986 FCA

provided an automatic bar to cases like Lindenthal,

Newsham, Schumer, Boisvert and Hyatt that are based on

information that the government possessed before the case

was filed. Under the 1986 amendments, in the absence of a

public disclosure, those kinds of cases cannot be disposed

Furthermore, the realities of gui tam litigation show

that permitting a relator to sue in place of the government

is, itself, a new liability. Actions by relators impose several

duties, obligations and increased costs on contractors.

First, because a relator has only a single option for

attempting to resolve the matter -- litigation under the FCA

-- he forecloses the contractor's opportunity to resolve the

matter through other means available to the .

The government has a variety of enforcement mechanisms.

For example, it may bring a contract action (see 41 U.S.C.

§§ 601-613), make cost disallowances (48 C.F.R. 52.242-

1), withhold payment (48 C.F.R. 32.611-2), suspend the

contractor (48 C.F.R. 9.407), or bring an FCA action. In a

matter pursued by the government, the contractor faces an

"opponent" with discretion and flexibility to resolve the

matter in a more fair, appropriate and expeditious manner.

& This fact is highlighted by the Ninth Circuit's decision in

Lindenthal. Although the government knew of the information

forming the basis of the relators' claim prior to 1986, the district court

and the Ninth Circuit applied the amended provision to those claims

and allowed the action to proceed. Lindenthal, 61 F.3d at 1407-1408.

It was not until after the expenditure of a great deal of time and money

on discovery, a lengthy bench trial, and an appeal that General

Dynamics prevailed on the merits. See id. at 1405-1406, 1410-1412.

13

Second, a relator's quest for a bounty of up to 30% of

the government's recovery (§ 3730(d)(1)) gives rise to a

conflict of interest between appropriate enforcement of the

law and maximizing personal gain. In the course of

settlement discussions, the relator's bounty demands can

result in delay in the ultimate resolution of the case because

of disputes he may have with the government over the

division of proceeds.2/ The relator's bounty demands may

also effectively compel the contractor to pay a higher

amount to settle the case than would have been demanded

by the government if the government had brought the case

alone. Alternatively, the contractor may be compelled to

undertake the expense and risk of litigating a gui tam case

that may otherwise have been settled by the government.

Third, relators increase a contractor's potential liability

because contractors may be held liable (under § 3730(d))

for relator's attorneys’ fees, but not the government's. L0/

2 Arrelator's bounty demand may be an effort to obtain more than a

fair share of the government's proceeds, thereby delaying the ultimate

resolution of the matter. See, e.g, United States ex rel. Killingsworth v.

Northrop, 25 F.3d 715 (9th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 296

(1996) (the government, upon assertion that the relator had unfairly

allocated settlement proceeds to his personal claim and away from the

government, was entitled to a hearing to challenge the settlement).

did not exist prior to the 1986 amendments, cannot be applied

retroactively. Unlike the situation in Bradley v. School Board City of

Richmond, 416 U.S. 696 (1974), attorneys’ fees were not available in

FCA actions prior to the enactment of the 1986 amendments.

Nevertheless, at least one court has ruled that the attorneys’ fee

provision applies to a case based on pre-amendment conduct where the

fees were incurred after its enactment. See Newsham, 907 F. Supp. at

1360-1361.

14

Fourth, relators make it more difficult tc obtain

discovery. Contractors cannot obtain written discovery

frorr: the government when it declines to intervene because,

even though the government may be the real party in

interest, it is not a party to the action. Contractors musi

resort to the more limited discovery procedures available

against non-parties when they seek what is often the most

crucial discovery in the case -- information from the

government showing the validity of the questioned conduct.

In sum, gui fam actions pose financial and other

burdens and risks which are distinct from those faced when

the government pursues enforcement efforts on its own.

The Ninth Circuit was wrong in concluding that the pubiec

disclosure provision could be applied to Schumer’s action.

See Pet. App. at 7a. For the reasons stated above, the repeal

of the government knowledge bar “attaches new legal

consequences to events before its enactment,”

Landgraf, 114 S. Ct. at 1499, "impose[s] new duties with

respect to transactions already completed,” and “increase(s]

a [contractor]'s liability for past conduct.” /d. at 1505.

Consequently, the public disclosure provision cannot be

applied retroactively.

Il. THe NintH Circuit's DEFINITION OF “PUBLIC

DISCLOSURE" IS INCONSISTENT WITH THE

LANGUAGE OF THE AMENDED FCA AND WITH

CONGRESS' INTENT TO BAR PARASITIC ACTIONS.

Even assuming that the public disclosure provision

applies retroactively, Schumer’s action is barred. Construed

in accordance with its plain language, the provision barring

a qui tam action that is "based upon the public disclosure of

allegations or transactions in a{n] . . . administrative .

audit or investigation," bars this case where the government

conducted an audit and investigation and disclosed the

matter to members of the public who were unaware of the

alleged wrongdoing. To the extent that the ordinary

meaning of these terms cannot be derived within the

Statutory context, the Court may rely on congressional

intent as reflected in the FCA's legislative history.

15

The Ninth Circuit held that the government's

disclosures to Hughes and Northrop -- even to individuals

not engaged in or aware of the alleged wrongdoing --

should not be considered "public" disclosures. The court,

believing without foundation that defense contractors and

the government “operate within a closed loop of secrecy”

and in a “private sphere,” exempted defense contractor

employees from being considered members of the public.

Pet. App. at 9a. This exemption is neither expressed nor

implied in the statute. Further, it conflicts with the

legislative purpose of barring gui fam actions that duplicate

and interfere with actual enforcement efforts already

undertaken by the government.

A. The 1986 Amendment Preserved The Bar

Against Parasitic Qui Tam Actions While

Maintaining The Government's Exclusive

Right Of Enforcement In Certain

Circumstances.

The pre-1986 government knowledge bar afforded the

government complete deference to determine: (a) how to

act upon information in its possession, including whether to

proceed in a criminal, civil or administrative forum; (b)

when to act, or (c) whether to act at all. Unless the relator

filed his gui tam action prior to the government learning of

The 1986 amendment reduced to some extent the

deference afforded the government concerning FCA

enforcement and expanded the opportunities for qui tam

enforcement. Congress attempted “to strike a balance

between encouraging private citizens to expose fraud and

avoiding parasitic actions by opportunists who attempt to

capitalize on public information without seriously

contributing to the disclosure of the fraud." United States

ex rel. Doe v. John Doe Corp., 960 F.2d 318, 321 (2d Cir.

1992).

Congress believed that, too often, the government

failed to take any action on information in its possession.

16

[T]he Committee is concerned that there are

instances in which the Government knew of the

information that was the basis of the gui tam suit,

but in which the Government took no action.

H.R. Rep. No. 660, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 22-23 (1986).

We must prevent suits from being dismissed

simply by the Government's assertion that the

Government already had the information brought

forward by the plaintiff in order to ensure that the

Government is indeed acting on __ that

informatior 11/

Weighing these concerns, Congress repealed the

governmer.t knowledge bar and replaced it with a rule that

bars qui tam actions "based upon the public disclosure of

allegations Or transactions in a criminal, civil or

administrative hearing, in a congressional, administrative,

or Government Accounting Office report, hearing, audit, or

investigation, or from the news media unless the action is

brought by the Attorney General or the person bringing the

Ll’ False Claims Act Amendments, 1986: Hearings Before the

Subcomm. on Admin. Law and Government Relations of the House

Comm. on the Judiciary, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 95, ( 1986) (statement of

Rep. Berman). See also 132 Cong. Rec. H6483 (daily ed. Sept. 9,

1986) (statement of Rep. Bedell) ("there may be many cases where

evidence is somewhere in the hands of some Government official, even

if the Government does not have the evidence in organized form or

even knows it has the information"). Congress also believed that

inaction often was due to the government's “judgment that devoting

scarce resources to @ questionable case may not be efficient." S. Rep.

No. 345, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 7, reprinted in 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5266,

5272 (hereafter "Senate Report"). This concern has proved to be

unfounded, as less than 1% of the money recovered under the FCA

since 1986 has come from cases declined by the government and

prosecuted by gui tam relators. Statistics, supra, at n.1.

17

action is an original source of the information." 31 U.S.C.

§ 3730(e)(4)(A).

The amended provision preserves, in certain

circumstances, the government's exclusive enforcement

authority and unfettered right to decide how or whether to

enforce the law. The question presented by the amended

provision is: What event must occur in order for the

government to maintain its exclusive right of enforcement?

Because neither the statute nor the legislative history

defines the term "public disclosure," there has emerged a

range of interpretations:

e Two circuits have held that a public disclosure

occurs whenever the government undertakes one of the

enumerated enforcement efforts in a manner that is visible

(or "disclosed") to someone outside the government who

had no prior knowledge of the matter.12/

¢ Another circuit, which recognized the difficulty of

determining whether information was actually

disseminated, held that a public disclosure occurs when the

information is “available” or "potentially accessible" to a

member of the public with no previous knowledge.13/

e The statute can be reasonably interpreted as barring

qui tam enforcement whenever information about

wrongdoing is disclosed outside the private group of

alleged wrongdoers (i.e., “publicly") fo the government

during the course of a government audit or investigation.

In that regard, the "public" disclosure is the disclosure of

12/ United States ex rel. Doe v. John Doe Corp., 960 F.2d 318, 323

(2d Cir. 1992) (disclosure of subject matter of investigation); United

States ex rel. Fine v. MK-Ferguson Co., Nos. 95-2011, 95-2021, 1996

WL 638479 (10th Cir. Nov. 6, 1996) (disclosure of audit report).

13/ United States ex rel Stinson v. Prudential Ins. Co., 944 F.2d 1149,

1157-60 (3d Cir. 1991).

18

information beyond the confines of the wrongdoer fo the

government rather than by the government. The bar would

be applied, however, only when the government acted on

that information by commencing an audit, investigation or

one of the other enumerated enforcement mechanisms.

The decision below is inconsistent with other rulings,

with the statutory language and with Congress’ intent.

B. A “Public Disclosure’ Occurs When The

Government Discloses Its Audit Report To

Anyone Outside The Government, Including

Employees Of The Audited Contractor Who

Were Unaware Of The Alleged Wrongdoing.

1. The Ninth Circuit's Exemption Of Defense

Contractor Employees From _ Being

Considered Members Of The Public Is

Unfounded.

The Ninth Circuit held below thai the government's

disclosure of its audit report to employees of the audited

contractor who were not involved in the alleged fraud

(termed "innocent employees"), did not qualify as a public

disclosure. Pet. App. at 8a-lla (disagreeing with the

Second Circuit's holding in Doe, 960 F.2d at 323)44 The

14/ Ip Doe, the Second Circuit held that public disclosure occurs

when the government, in the course of an investigation, discloses the

subject matter to members of the public with no prior knowledge

thereof -- in that case, employees of the targeted company who did not

participate in the alleged fraud but whom the government interviewed

in connection with its investigation. 960 F.2d at 319-20 In United

States ex rel. Fine v. MK-Ferguson Co., Nos. 95-2011, 95-2021, 1996

WL 638479 (10th Cir. Nov. 6, 1996), the U.S. Department of Energy's

disclosure to the government of Oregon of a federal audit containing

allegations about a contractor located in Oregon was held to be a public

disclosure even though the state did not further disseminate the audit.

19

court believed it was unrealistic to consider these

individuals to be members of the public. Pet. App. at 9a.

This belief was premised upon a set of erroneous

assumptions about the motivations of defense contractor

employees and their relationship with the government's

oversight personnel. The record contained not one iota of

evidence to support these sweeping conclusions.

The first faulty assumption was that employees of

defense contractors are uniquely inclined to suppress fraud.

Because the employee has a strong economic

incentive to protect the information from

outsiders, revelation of information to an

empleyee does not trigger the potential for

corrective action presented by other forms of

disclosure.

Id. The court further commented:

[I]n the context of defense procurement, security

considerations generally require that the

government, contractors and subcontractors

operate within a closed loop of secrecy.

Id. Thus, the court held that the government's release of

information to a defense contractor is a disclosure "within a

private sphere." Jd. at 9a-10a.

The FCA does not expressly or impliedly exempt

defense contractor employees (or any other kinds of

employees) from status as members of the public; nor does

it identify certain forms of disclosure as "private."1L2/

LS5/ One could infer from the ruling that a disclosure of a government

audit to a business not engaged in defense contracting would constitute

a public disclosure. It is improper to single out “defense” contractors

for greater exposure to gui tam actions. “{CJourts are not at liberty to

create an exception where Congress has declined to do so." Freytag v.

Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 501 U.S. 868, 873 (1991).

20

Congress expressly identified a government audit as one

vehicle for the occurrence of a public disclosure.

§ 3730(e)(4)(A). Congress must have been aware of the

fact that such audits are routinely disclosed by the

government to the audited contractor (and to the prime

contractor when the audited company is a subcontractor).

The Defense Contract Audit Agency ("DCAA"), which

conducted several of the audits that preceded the filing of

Schumer's gui tam action (as well as the audits which

preceded the Newsham action against Lockheed Martin),

“routinely provides copies of draft reports for all audits . . .

to the contractor being audited for review and comment."

DCAA Audit Manual § 10-212.2 (1996)16/ Apart from

such disclosures, the government does not publish its audit

reports, mail them to reporters or other industry observers,

place them in the Congressional Record, or file them in

libraries or courthouses. Accordingly, the Ninth Circuit

strains the meaning of the statute by creating an exception

to the term “public disclosure" which, in turn, exempts the

most common way that government audits are disclosed

outside the government, i.e., by sending such audit reports

to the subject company.

Furthermore, the court's assumptions about contractor

employees and government oversight personnel being part

of a "closed loop of secrecy" are unfounded. There is

nothing peculiar about government contracting that fosters

keeping illegal conduct secret. The Ninth Circuit's

treatment of contractor employees disregards the key role

that Congress carved out for those individuals in its

enforcement scheme. Congress believed that in situations

16/ While the Audit Manual in effect in 1986 does not state that such

disclosures are “routine,” it notes that disclosure is subject to the

contracting officer's approval. § 10-213.3 (1983). In both Schumer

and Newsham, DCAA disclosed its audit reports to the contractors.

21

in which allegations of wrongdoing by a company

remained undisclosed and unaddressed by the government,

an employee of that company with knowledge of the

wrongdoing would step forward to enforce the law.1//

Had Congress shared the court's distrust of contractor

employees, it would have enacted a vastly different statute.

Doe's holding that qui tam enforcement is barred when the

wrongdoing is disclosed by the government to "innocent

employees” who were “strangers to the fraud" implements

the core rationale of the qui tam provisions and the bar

against parasitic actions. The Ninth Circuit, by adopting a

rule not contained within the text of the statute, ultimately

second-guesses and overrides Congress' rationale.

2. The Ninth Circuit Misinterpreted The

Purpose Of The 1986 Amendment.

The Ninth Circuit overlooked the legislative history

described above which shows that Congress repealed the

government knowledge bar in 1986 because it was

concerned about the government possessing information

but taking no action, ie., conducting no investigation and

taking no enforcement steps whatsoever. Had the court

correctly assessed Congress’ intent, it would have found

that the government's actions in this case justified barring

the qui tam action.

The Ninth Circuit stated that Doe's holding:

17’ See Senate Report at 5269 ("Detecting fraud is usually very

difficult without the cooperation of individuals who are either close

observers or otherwise involved in the fraudulent activity"). Thus,

Congress presumed that most gui tam actions would be filed by

contractors’ employees as, in fact, they have been. United States ex rel.

Fine v. Chevron, 72 F.3d 740, 742 (9th Cir. 1995) (en banc) (noting

that employee cases are the "paradigm qui tam case").

22

drastically curtails the ability of insiders to bring

suit once the government becomes involved in the

matter. . .. Contrary to Congress’ intentions for

the jurisdictional bar, the Doe rule "effectively

shifts the standard from ‘public disclosure’ back to

‘government investigation," so that government

possession of information relating to fraud

effectively forecloses gui tam suits.

Pet. App. at 10a (citing the dissent in Doe, 960 F.2d at

326).

The pre-1986 FCA barred qui tam enforcement on the

basis of "government knowledge." Thus, the Ninth Circuit

overlooked the fact that, under the pre-1986 law, gui tam

actions were barred well before the government

commenced an "investigation," or otherwise became

"involved in the matter." There is a vast difference

between: (a) government knowledge with no investi

and (b) government knowledge coupled with an

investigation. The legislative history suggests that

Congress intended to move the bar from (a) to (b). The

congressional statements quoted above strongly suggest

that if the pre-1986 FCA had ensured that the government

actually conduct an investigation or an audit before a qui

tam action could be barred, Congress would have been

satisfied with such government efforts and would not have

expanded qui tam enforcement.

Thus, the Ninth Circuit's statement that the Doe case

bars qui fam enforcement upon the government's

commencement and disclosure of its investigation is

correct. However, the Ninth Circuit is wrong to equate

such enforcement with what Congress perceived in 1986 to

be complete inaction.

The enforcement efforts undertaken here by the

government are far from inaction, and the disclosures

23

between the government and the contractors did not occur

within a "closed loop of secrecy."18/ Indeed, the events

described in the record portray the government's efforts as a

model of efficient dispute resolution. The disclosures of

Tae aetaae Ok entteg bom So Greene

of the investigation and resulting government's

withholding of payment, enabled Hughes to demonstrate to

the government and to Northrop that the cost charging

practices in question not only were proper but actually

saved the government money. J.A. at 136. This process

enabled the government to avoid costly and time-

consuming litigation.

Unfortunately, however, much of the efficiency gained

by such resolution was lost to Hughes. Notwithstanding

the government's favorable determination, Hughes still had

to litigate the same matter against an individual who,

purporting to stand in the government's shoes, asserted that

the government had been defrauded. Because, in Schumer,

the government exercised enforcement and disclosed its

ions outside the government, gui tam enforcement is

barred.

18 The record reflects that, upon the request of Northrop (J.A. at 20),

a lengthy investigation and audit process was undertaken, involving

scores of people from Hughes, Northrop and the government, each of

whom disclosed and received information about the allegations and

transactions. Government personnel who participated in this dialogue

and disclosure of information (and who routinely participate in such

matters) included those responsible for awarding and supervising the

contracts, administering and monitoring the costs charged on the

contracts, auditing and investigating the contractor's business practices,

category of government personnel included the Administrative

Contracting Officer, who initially withheld payment of costs (J.A. at

45-47), and the Defense Procurement Fraud Unit of the Department of

Justice, which had prosecutorial discretion (J.A. at 31).

24

C. A "Public Disclosure" Occurs When Allega-

tions Disclosed To The Government Result In

A Government Audit Or Investigation.

The Ninth Circuits fear that disclosure of goverment

audits to company employees would “not trigger the

potential for corrective action presented by other forms of

disclosure" (Pet. App. at 9a) is misplaced. Section

3730(e)(4) and its history suggest that the government's

actual audit or investigation of allegations disclosed to the

government is sufficient corrective action to bar gui tam

enforcement. Under the statutory scheme, the Court can

properly apply a per se rule that whenever allegations are

disclosed to the government, and, as a result, the

government commences an audit or investigation of

allegations, no one other than the “original source” of the

allegations may bring a gui tam action.

Such a per se rule can be derived from the decisions of

courts which have held that a public disclosure occurs when

information is "available" or "potentially accessible” to the

public even if no one has actually sought to obtain the

document. See, e.g., United States ex rel. Kreindler et al. v.

United Technologies Corp., 985 F.2d 1148, 1158 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 2962 (1993) (information ob‘ained

by an attorney from an opposing party during discovery in

a prior non-related civil action "was publicly disclosed

because it was available to anyone who wished to consult

the court file"); United States ex rel. Stinson v. Prudential.

944 F.2d at 1157-60 (same result on similar facts even

though the information obtained in discovery was not filed

in the courthouse). A government audit or investigation

certainly triggers a greater potential for enforcement than a

disclosure in a non-governmental civil “hearing”

(properly

defined as any civil proceeding) -- which is another form of

disclosure enumerated in § 3730(e)(4)(A).

25

Government audit reports are routinely available to

members of the c through the Freedom of Information

Act ("FOIA"). Therefore, if a public disclosure occurs

when information is potentially accessible, then an audit

A per se rule barring qui tam actions based on

government audits can also be derived from an examination

of the text of the provision. Section 3730(e)(4) does not

expressly require the government's disclosure of its audit

report outside the government. Rather, the “public

disclosure of allegations or transactions in a[n] . . . audit”

can be read entirely consistently with the statute to apply to

that are disclosed outside the “private” group of

wrongdoers when such disclosure leads to a government

audit or investigation. “Public,” as commonly used, is

contrasted with the “private” group of wrongdoers. See

Webster's Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary 952 (Merriam-

Webster 1991) ("public” defined as “of or relating to

business or community interests as opposed to private

affairs"). "Disclosure" is defined in Black's Law Dictionary

19 5US.C. § 552. The DCAA's FOIA regulations state an intent to

"[p}romote public trust by making the maximum amount of

information available to the public, upon request, pertaining to the

operation and activities of the Agency.” 32 C.F.R. § 290.4.

20/ The court below held that an audit report is publicly disclosed

under FOIA only when it is actually requested and released. Pet. App.

at 13a. The presumption that DCAA audit reports are accessible to the

public held true in this case; Schumer successfully obtained each of the

audits by submitting a FOIA request, though not until after he filed his

qui tam action. Id.

26

464 (6th ed. 1990) as "[t]o bring into view by uncovering;

to expose; to make known . . . to free from secrecy or

ignorance... ." Thus, when information is disclosed

outside the private group of wrongdoers, there has been a

public disclosure. When teas publie doclocare lends 2

government audit or investigation, the desired enforcement

mechanisms of the FCA are triggered.

"A ‘whistleblower’ sounds the alarm; he does not echo

it. The Act rewards those brave enough to speak in the face

of a ‘conspiracy of silence,’ not their mimics." Wang ex rel.

United States v. FMC Corp., 975 F.2d 1412, 1419 (9th Cir.

1992). The disclosure of information to the government

about wrongdoing is what sounds the alarm. Such

disclosures occur when employees call the Department of

Defense's “hotline" and through DoD’s Voluntary

FCA action.2)/ As currently interpreted by most circuits,

§ 3730(eX4)(A) would permit a gui tam action by an

employee whose information was obtained solely from the

company's voluntary disclosure -- a result which

impedes the goals of this program.

2l/ See Department of Defense Voluntary Disclosure Program, A

Description of the Process, (DoD Inspector General April 1990)

(reprinted in App. at 20a-43a), App. at 29a (describing the purpose of

the program), App. at 40a ("Following receipt of the contractor's

internal report, the designated [investigative organization(s)] begins the

sufficiently high priority to allow for its expedited completion”).

27

is: Gest: wowt an eye © Se eee

statutory construction were applied.22/ Under this

construction, as soon as the government responds to such a

disclosure by commencing an audit or investigation, the

FCA bars a gui tam action by anyone other than the

“original source” of the disclosure. If, on the other hand,

the government fails to take any responsive action, and

none of the other forms of public disclosure occur, then

anyone may bring a qui fam action.

The government, in at least one case, has asserted a

similar view:

The section-by-section analysis [of the legislative

history] does not distinguish between information

in the possession of the government that has been

released to the public at large, and government

information that has been obtained in another

was based was not only developed by the

government, but also the government had an open

investigation of the facts alleged in the complaint

at the time the suit was brought. Under the

statutory language and the section-by-section

analysis, this action is barred because it is based

solely upon information developed by and

available to the government.23/

22/ See Ryland, The Government Contractor's Dilemma: Voluntary

Disclosure as the Source of Qui Tam Litigation, 22 Pub.Cont.L.J. 764,

800-802 (1993) (the Voluntary Disclosure Program “clearly should

qualify as an “administrative investigation,” "information submitted by

the contractor has actually been disclosed to ‘strangers to the fraud’).

23/ Brief for the United States, United States ex rel. Williams v. NEC

Corp., 931 F.2d 1493 (11th Cir. 1991) (emphasis added), attached to

Hughes’ Supplemental Brief On Petition for Writ (filed Sept. 25, 1996),

App. B, at 24a.

maintaining a qui fam action.

There is no basis for applying the bar only when the

government discloses the allegations outside

government. This misplaced focus stems, in part,

cases in which the government argued that a government

employee could not be a relator because his suit was based

upon allegations which he disclosed outside the

government to himself as a member of the public.24/ Also,

while Doe considered how far the allegations contained in

the government's investigation must seep into the "public

domain,” the court never considered whether the underlying

disclosure of allegations fo the government could have been

the public disclosure. 960 F.2d at 322. Thus, courts have

simply assumed that "public disclosure" in this context

means "government disclosure," and they have overlooked

the plain language of the text.

It is not apparent that Congress believed FCA

enforcement would be enhanced merely by the government

informing one or more members of the public about its

efforts. Congress was chiefly concerned that the

government take action, not necessarily disseminate

information to the public about its action. A ruling which

bars gui tam actions (other than by original sources) when

allegations are disclosed to the government which actually

result in the government commencing an audit or

investigation, would be consistent with the language and

24/ See, e.g, United States ex rel. Hagood v. Sonoma County Water

Agency, 929 F.2d 1416, 1419 (9th Cir. 1991).

29

purpose of § 3730(e)(4)(A), and would provide a necessary

bright line for determining when a qui tam action may be

brought. The FCA, with its potential for treble damages

and penalties (§ 3729(a)), justifies the application of bright

line rules.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Lockheed Martin urges the

Court to reverse the Ninth Circuit on the questions

presented by the Petitioner.

LESTER W. SCHIEFELBEIN, JR.

STEPHEN A. WARREN

LOCKHEED MARTIN MISSILES

& SPACE

1111 Lockheed Martin Way

Sunnyvale, CA 94089

(408) 743-0977

November 29, 1996

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES J. GALLAGHER,

Counsel of Record

MARK R. TROY

BARBARA J. BACON

MCKENNA & CuNEO, L.L.P.

444 South Flower Street, 8th F!

Los Angeles, California 90071

(213) 688-1000

Counsel for Amicus Curiae,

Lockheed Martin Corporation

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

JOHN R. BOLTON

Assistant Attorney General

JOSEPH P. RUSSONIELLO

United States Attorney

JUDITH WHETSTINE

Chief, Civil Division

STEPHEN A. SHEFLER

Assistant United States Attorney

450 Golden Gate Avenue

San Francisco, California 94102

Telephone: (415) 556-8122

MICHAEL F. HERTZ

VINCENT B. TERLEP, JR.

United States Department of Justice

Post Office Box 261

Ben Franklin Station

Washington, D.C. 20044

Telephone: (202) 724-7433

Attorneys for the United States

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

UNITED STATES OF Civil Act. No. C88-

AMERICA, ex rel. 20009 RPA

MARGARET A. NEWSHAM

and MARTIN

OVERBEEKBLOEM,

Plaintiff

v.

LOCKHEED MISSILES AND

SPACE COMPANY, INC.

Defendant.

2a

I. INTRODUCTION

This action was brought against Lockheed Missiles and

Space Co., Inc. on January 22, 1988, on: behalf of the

United States of America by two private citizens under the

qui tam provisions of the False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C.

§ 3730(b) et seq.l/ The private citizens, known as relators,

complain of fraudulent conduct they witnessed or learned

about while they were employed by Lockheed. One of the

relators, Margaret Newsham, makes various allegations of

labor mischarging connected with one or two specific

government contracts, which will be identified herein as

P285 and P377.

Pursuant to 31 U.S.C. §3730(b)(4)(B), on February 3,

1989, the United States notified the court of its election to

decline to intervene in this matter, leaving the prosecution

of this case to the relators.

Defendant Lockheed has filed a motion to dismiss that

portion of the complaint applying to Mrs. Newsham's

allegations, on the ground that the court lacks jurisdiction

over the subject matter of the action. Lockheed contends

that the court's jurisdiction in this case should be governed

by the law in existence at the time Mrs. Newsham first

informed the Government of her allegations. At that time

the False Claims Act contained a jurisdictional bar to

actions brought by relators where it was made to appear

that the action was based on information and evidence

ee Op LEE 0 Oe Oak Oe ee ee

On the other hand, Mrs. Newsham argues that her

standing or capacity to bring a qui tam action in 1988

should be governed by amendments to the False Claims

1/ “Qui tam” is from the Latin phrase, “Qui tam pro domino rege

quam pro sic ipso in hoc parte sequitur” -- "Who as well for the King as

for himself sues in this matter.”

3a

Act in 1986, by which Congress eliminated the

jurisdictional bar under prior law, and allowed “honest

informers" with direct knowledge of the fraud, who first

reported the information to the Government, to bring suit,

notwithstanding the Government's knowledge.

The United States has an obvious interest in the proper

interpretation of the False Claims Act. Many False Claims

Act suits are initiated by the Attorney General. Still others,

although initially filed by relators under the Act's gui tam

provisions, are taken over by the Attorney General. Even

where the Attorney General does not take over a gui tam

case, the United States is still the principal statutory

beneficiary. Because resolution of the issue presented to

this Court relates to the proper interpretation of the False

Claims Act and could effect the interests of the

Government, the United States files this amicus brief.

As demonstrated below, the relator's capacity or

standing to bring this action should be governed by the law

in existence at the time the suit was filed. By the 1986

amendments to the False Claims Act, Congress specifically

intended to allow relators such as Mrs. Newsham to bring

suit and not be barred by the prior law's jurisdictional bar.

Those amendments generally apply to suits pending in

Court after the date of the amendments. Application of the

1986 amendments to this action is not manifestly unjust.

The prior jurisdictional bar was never a bar to liability of

the defendant; it was only a device to protect the

Government from "parasitical suits" brought by know-

nothing informers. The Government could still have

brought an action based on the relator’s information.

Congress's decision in 1986, about who should be allowed

to prosecute the Government's fraud claims, after the

Government has an opportunity to investigate and consider

the matter on its own, does not infringe on any matured or

ll. FACTS

In the complaint Mrs. Newsham alleges:

4a

1. Employees awaiting security clearances to

work on project P285 and other projects were

placed in separate areas known as "ice boxes."

Mrs. Newsham alleges that ice box employees

were under utilized, were given little or no work to

perform and constantly were idle or engaged in

personal business, but were instructed by their

supervisors to charge time to government projects

for a full work week.

2. Both ice box employees and regular Lockheed

employees with security clearances engaged in

personal activities during working hours, while

charging their time to government projects. One

result of this activity was to increase overtime

charges by the regular Lockheed employees.

3. Lockheed awarded numerous sole source

subcontracts to Intercon Systems Corporation for

employees holding United States Government top

secret security clearances without adequate

justification and at unreasonable cost to the

Government. She alleges that this special

treatment was the result of a personal relationship

between Lockheed's P285 manager and Intercon's

director of personnel.

4. Labor hours were charged to P285 for time

spent transferring computer documentation onto

P285 computers from a different type computer

system for a different government project.

5. On instructions from their supervisors,

Lockheed employees shifted their labor hours

from P285 to P377 because P285 had exhausted or

nearly exhausted its budget.

It is undisputed that in August, 1984 Mrs. Newsham

informed the Government, the Defense Contact

Audit Agency (DCAA) Hotline of the same allegations that

she ultimately pleaded in her complaint. DCAA conducted

separate audits of each of her allegations, except that

Sa

involving the mischarging between P285 and P377.

DCAA's audit reports were reviewed by the appropriate

government contracting officers, who discussed the

findings with Lockheed. In the end, the contracting officers

determined that no claim against Lockheed was appropriate

on any of the audit reports.

Ill. ARGUMENT

1. The Law At The Time Mrs. Newsham

Informed The Government

At the time Mrs. Newsham made her hotline complaint

to the DCAA in 1984, the False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C.

§ 3730(b)(4) provided2’:

Unless the Government proceeds with the action,

the court shall dismiss an action brought by the

person on discovering the action is based on

evidence or information the Government had when

the action was brought.

The language of the statute in force at the time made it

clear that a court had no jurisdiction over an action brought

by a relator at any time it was made to appear that the suit

2 Im 1982, title 31 of the United States Code, including the

provisions of the False Claims Act, was enacted into positive law. The

False Claims Act, which was formerly found at 3! U.S.C. 231-235,

was re-codified at 31 U.S.C. 3729-3731. Although some sections of

the Act were shifted from their prior positions, and simple language

was substituted for awkward and obsolete terms, Congress intended

that the re-codification make no substantive change in the law See.

H.R. Rep. No. 97-651, 97th Cong., 2nd Sess. 3, reprinted in 1982 U_S.

Code Cong & Ad News 1897.

6a

was brought based on evidence or information known to the

Government on the date the relator brought her action.3/

While the jurisdictional question turned on whether the

suit was based on information in the hands of the

Government at the time the suit was brought, the Courts

ruled that it was not necessary that the Government's

knowledge be the exact equivalent of that provided by the

relator. See ¢.g., United Stites

Oil Co,, 558 F.2d 43 (2d Cir.), cert. denied 434 U.S. 967

(1977). The evidence possessed by the United States did

not have to be the "mirror image” of the information in the

hands of the relator. United States ex rel. Joseph v.

Cannon, 642 F.2d 1373, 1377 (D.C. Cir. 1981), cert. denied

455 U.S. 999 (1982);

Florida, 615 F.2d 1370, 1371 (Sth Cir. 1980).

Rather, as stated by the Court in Pettis ex rel. United

States v. Morrison-Koudson Co,, 577 F.2d 668, (9th Cir.

1978), all that was necessary to invoke the jurisdictional

bar was that:

the evidence and information in possession of the

United States at the time the False Claims Act suit

was brought was sufficient to enable it to

adequately investigate the case and to make a

decision whether to prosecute.

577 F.2d at 674.4/

2/ However, because the Government could cure the jurisdictional

defect by taking over the action from the relator within sixty days after

the action was filed, the Court's jurisdiction had been referred to as

“conditional” in such circumstances. United States ex rel. Sacks v.

Philadelphia Health Management Corporation, 519 F. Supp. 818, 822

(E.D. Pa. 1981); United States ex rel. Shinn v. State of Tennessee, 74

F. Supp. 635 (E.D. Tenn. 1947), United States ex rel. Bavarsky vy.

Brooks, 110 F. Supp. 175 (D.NJ. 1953).

7a

The source of the Government's prior knowledge could

range from prior formal State government investigations

communicated to Federal officials, as in United States ex

rel. Wisconsin v. Dean, supra and United States ex rel.

McFarlane v. Hutchinson, 519 F. Supp. 563 (D. Co. 1981),

Moreover, recognizing Congress's refusal in 1943 to

adopt a specific provision to the contrary, Courts ruled that

the jurisdictional bar applied, even if the relator was the

original source of the information in the Government's

hands at the time the suit was brought. Safir v. Blackwell,

supra; Pettis ex rel. United States v. Morrison-Koudson

Co., supra; United States ex rel. Aloff v. Aster, 176 F.

Supp. 208 (E.D. Pa. 1959), affd, 275 F.2d 281 (3rd Cir.),

(Footnote cont'd from previous page )

4/ See also, United States ex rel. Joseph vy. Cannon, 642 F.2d 1373

(D.C. Cir. 1981); United States ex rel. State of Wisconsin v. Dean, 629

F.2d 1102 (7th Cir. 1980); United States ex rel. Weinberger v. State of

Florida, 615 F.2d 1370 (Sth Cir. 1980); Safir vy. Blackwell, 579 F.2d

742 (2nd Cir. 1978); United States ex rel. Weiss v. Schwartz, 546 F.

Supp. 422 (N.D. Cal. 1982); Umited States ex rel. McFarlane v.

Hutchinson, 519 F. Supp. 563 (D. Colo. 1981); United States ex rel.

Sacks v. Philadelphia Health Management Corp.. supra. United States

ex rel. Lapin v. International Business Machines Corp., 490 F. Supp.

244 (D. Hawaii 1980). Cf United States ex rel. Greenberg vy. Burmah

Oil Co.. Lid. 558 F.2d 43 (2nd Cir. 1977); United States ex rel, Aloff

yv.Aster, 275 F.2d 281 (3rd Cir. 1960); United States ex rel. Leslie v.

Potomac Electric Power Co., 208 F.2d 39 (D.C. Cir. 1953); United

States vy. Rippetoe, 178 F.2d 735 (4th Cir. 1949); United States ex rel.

Thompson v. Hays, 432 F. Supp. 253 (D.D.C. 1976), United States ex

rel. Vance v, Westinghouse, 363 F. Supp. 1038 (W.D. Pa. 1973).

8a

cert. denied 364 U.S. 894 (1960); United States ex rel.

McCans_v. Armour & Co., 146 F. Supp. 546 (D.D.C.

1956), affd 254 F.2d 90 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 358 U.S.

834 (1958).

Therefore, there is no question that if this action were

governed by the law in existence in 1984, this court would

have no jurisdiction over Mrs. Newsham's complaint, and it

would have to be dismissed.

2. The 1986 Amendments

In 1986, Congress amended the False Claims Act. In

relevant part, the Act now provides that any person may

bring a gui tam action for violation of the substantive

provisions of the False Claims Act. The Act no longer

contains a provision barring suit if the material information

is known by the Government at the time the suit is brought.

Instead, the law now allows a person to bring a gui tam

case, even on any information already known to the

Government, as long as the Government has not previously

filed suit using the same information, or the information

has ase bean pubtiety Clestend7 31 U.S.C. § 3730(e) now

3’ = There has been no contention in this case that the Government's

investigation of Mrs. Newsham's hotline complaint was publicly

disclosed prior to the date this suit was filed.

9a

(B) For purpose of this paragraph, "original

source” means an individual who has direct and

independent knowledge of the information on

which the allegations are based and has voluntarily

provided the information to the Government

before filing an action under this section which is

based on the information.

allegations contained in a complaint is no longer a bar to an

action by the relator. Nonetheless, Congress still

determined to preserve the prohibition against parasitical

lawsuits. Therefore, a relator is barred from proceeding if

there has been a prior public disclosure of the allegations,

unless the relator can establish that she is an original

source. These provisions have the effect of allowing

someone like Mrs. Newsham, who was barred under the old

Act because she reported the allegations to the

Government, to proceed with the action under the new Act.

3. The New Law Is Presumed To Apply

Immediately

The Supreme Court has stated that, as a general

principle, "a court is to apply the law in effect at the time it

renders its decision, unless doing so would result in

manifest injustice or there is statutory direction or

legislative history to the contrary.” Bradles School

Board City of Richmond, supra at 711. See Thorpe v.

& See also Eikenberry v. Callahan, 653 F.2d 632, 633 (DC. Cir.

1981) (amendment to 28 U.S.C. § 1331 eliminating the $10,000

jurisdictional amount in Federal Question cases held to retroactively

apply to pending cases):

(Footnote cont'd on next page)

10a

ee ay 393 U.S. 268 (1969); see

also United States v. Schooner Peggy, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch)

103 (1801);

Campbell v. United States, 809 F.2d 563 (9th

Cir. 1987); In Re Reynolds, 726 F.2d 1240 (9th Cir. 1984).

The Bradley principle means that:

... it is unnecessary to find affirmative support in

a statute or its legislative history for applying it to

pending cases. A statute will be presumed to

apply to cases pending at the time of its passage

unless there is a "clear indication" that it is not to

apply.

731 F.2d 1546,

1553 (11th Cir. 1984).

presumption of immediate application to the 1986 False

United States v. Board of

Claims Act Amendments.

697 F. Supp. 167, 171

Education of City of Union City,

(D.N.J. 1988); United States v. Hill, 676 F. Supp. 1158,

1166 (N.D. Fla. 1987); United States v. Ettrick Wood

Products, 683 F. Supp. 1262, 1265 (W.D. Wis. 1988);

Cir.

No. 1-87-293 (E.D. Tenn. April 27, 1988) and United

(Footnote cont'd from previous page.)

In the absence of an express congressional statement on the

applicability of legislation to pending cases, retroactivity is the

rule. As the Supreme Court stated in Bradley, “[E]ven where the

intervening law does not explicitly recite that it is to be applied to

pending cases, it is to be given recognition and effect.” It must be

emphasized that it is for Congress to specifically provide for

nonretroactivity if that is its intent.

(footnote and citation omitted).

lla

States _v. Oakwood Downriver Medical Center, 687 F

Supp. 302, 306-307 (E.D. Mich. 1988).

Since Congress did not specifically provide for

prospective applicability in the 1986 Amendments, the

applicable presumption is that the Amendments are to be

applied to all cases pending on the date of enactment and to

all subsequently filed cases, regardless of whether those

cases involve pre-amendment conduct. Union City, supra.

at 171-172, Hill, supra at 1165-1172; Oakwood supra at

302-307.2/ Congress surely knows how to restrict

ication of the laws it enacts when it desires to do so.

Eikenberry, 653 F.2d at 633-634 & n.5. Indeed, in marked

contrast to the False Claims Act Amendments, two other

civil fraud remedies statutes passed by Congress in the

same legislative session contain specific provisions

prohibiting their application to any pre-enactment conduct:

7/ Normal canons of statutory construction support immediate

application of the Amendments to all pending and subsequently filed

cases involving pre-amendment activities. “There is no injustice in

allowing declaratory statutes to apply retroactively since they do not

change the prior state of law ... [These statutes] should be applied

retroactively without hesitation” 1A C. Sands, Sutherland's Statutory

Construction § 26.06 (4th ed. 1985) (emphasis added). Furthermore,

"{clourts have consistently upheld the retroactive application of

‘curative’ legislation which corrects defects subsequently discovered in

a statute and which restores what Congress had always believed the law

to be.” Long v. United States Internal Revenue Serv., 742 F.2d 1173,

1183 (9th Cir. 1984). Congress’ codifications of judicial decisions into

statutory law comporting with Congressional intent thus are presumed

to be immediately applicable. Stockdale v. Insurance Cos,, 87 U.S. (20

Wall.) 323, 331 (1874); Temple University v. United States, 769 F.2d

126, 134 (3d Cir. 1985), cert. denied 106 S. Ct. 2914 (1986);

Silverlight v. Huggins, 488 F.2d 107, 109 (3d Cir. 1973). See also 2 C.

Sands, Sutherland Statutory Construction § 41.11, at 290.

12a

A. In the Program Fraud Civil Remedies Act of 1986

Pub. L. 99-509, tit. VI(B), § 6101, 100 Stat. 1984 (Oct. 21,

1986)), Congress provided that the Act "was to apply to

any claim made, presented, or submitted after the statute's

effective date.” Id. § 6104.

B. In the Anti-Kickback Enforcement Act of 1986,

Pub. L. 99-632, 100 Stat. 3523 (Nov. 7, 1986), Congress

provided that the Act shall apply to prohibited conduct that

took place after the date of enactment. Id. § 3.

Similarly, in the previous session of Congress,

amendments to the False Claims Act relating solely to

Department of Defense contracts were specifically made

applicable only to claims submitted after the date of

enactment. Department of Defense Authorization Act of

1986, Pub. L. No. 99-145, 99 Stat. 583 (1985).

The absence of any similar language in the False

Claims Act Amendments of 1986 indicates that Congress

intended the Amendments to apply to virtually all pending

litigation.8/ See also Hastings v. Earth Satellite Corp,, 628

8/ Contemporaneous legislative history shows that the drafters of the

False Claims Amendments Act were fully aware of the provisions of

the other statutes considered at the same time. When first considered

by the House Judiciary Committee, the False Claims Act and the

Program Fraud Act were both part of the same bill, H.R. 4827.

Further, the report of the Senate Judiciary Committee on the

Amendments to the False Claims Act states that "language was added

to further define the constructive knowledge definition so that it

paralleled that found in S.1134, the Program Fraud and Civil

Remedies Act as reported favorably from the Governmental Affairs

Committee.... [T]he Committee thought it unwise to allow the

possibility of confusion and the lack of a uniformly applied standard in

administrative and judicial false claims actions." S. Rep. No. 345, 99th

Cong., 2d Sess. 17 (1986); see also id, at 20-21. The same Committee

report comments that it adopted the treble damages provisions "to

(Footnote cont'd on next page)

13a

F.2d at 85 at 92-93 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied 449 U.S. 905

(1980) (where prior amendments to D.C. Workmen's

Compensation Act specifically prohibited application to

pre-amendment conduct, the absence of any similai

prohibition in the 1972 amendments shows that Congress

intended that those amendments be applied to all pending

and subsequently filed cases).

4. Immediate Application Of The

Amendments Will Not Result In Manifest

Injustice

The 1986 Amendments introduced no “substantive”

changes — — Le¢., creation of new liabilities —— into the False

Claims Act. The Amendments clarify Congressional

intent, resolve conflicts among the circuits, and provide for

a more effective remedy without changing underlying

liability. Under the Supreme Court's decision in Bradley,

the Amendments are to be applied to a!] pending and future

cases “unless doing so would result in manifest injustice.”

416 U.S. at 711. As more fully discussed below, the

Amendments are curative and remedial in nature.

Therefore, it cannot be said that their immediate application

would result in any “manifest injustice." Indeed,

"{a}pplication of the 1986 amendments to all pending cases

would further the remedial purpose" of the Amendments.

Hill, supra at 1168.

In passing the new gui tam provision, Congress sought

to encourage the filing of new lawsuits based on preexisting

liabilities. Congress's goal in amending the qui tam

provisions was to provide more effective means for

recovering monies taken from the Treasury by fraud, and

that goal will be effectuated by application of the

(Footnote cont'd from previous page.)

comport with legislation passed earlier in the 99th Congress (Pub. L.

99-145, Department of Defense Authorization Act, 1986)." Id, at 17.

tt tt

l4a

amendments to gui tam cases filed after enactment of the

amendments. The clear intent of the legislation was

curative, remedial and procedural, and such changes in the

law are entitled under Bradley to immediate application.

Defendant argues that they are entitled to rely on the

"government knowledge” jurisdictional bar of 31 U.S.C.

§ 3730(b)(4) as an affirmative defense and, therefore, the

qui tam Amendment provision should not be retroactively

applied to preamendment conduct.2/ Defendant cites as

authority for this proposition the District Court decision in

United States ex rel, Henry Boisvert v. FMC Corp..

No. C-86-20613-WAI (N.D. Cal. Sept. 9, 1987), which was

expressly adopted in Uni

Corp., Case No. CV 86-6457 (C.D. Cal. March 31, 1988).

Such reliance is misplaced since both cases cited by

the defendant are inapposite to the case now before the

court. Both cases involved suits filed under the gui tam

provisions in effect before Congress amended the Act: the

question before those courts was whether the old law or

new law applied in determining the standing or capacity of

the relator to sue in an action which was filed before the

new law had been passed.

The EMC decision reached the correct result on the

facts of that case — — the prior False Claims Act gui tam

provisions were applicable to a suit filed prior to the 1986

9/ A defense based on the jurisdictional bar under prior law is not an

“affirmative defense” in the traditional sense. The affirmative defenses

listed in Rule 8(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure deal mainly

with the avoidance of underlying liability, and lead to dismissal of the

case on the merits. Rather, Lockheed's arguments in this case really go

to the issue of the relator’s capacity or standing to sue, a defense having

nothing to do with underlying liability, and which is dealt with

separately under Rule 9(a) of the F.R.C.P.

15a

amendments to the Act.l2/ However, the FMC conclusion

that the new gui tam provisions affect "vested" or

"antecedent" rights of defendants (and by implication,

cannot be applied to cases filed after the date of enactment

involving acts that occurred prior to the date of the

amendments) conflicts both with Congressional intent and

with applicable law, and should be rejected by this court.

The jurisdictional bar under prior law depriving a

relator of standing if the Government was in possession of

the information forming the basis for the relator’s action,

was a provision created entirely for the benefit of the

Government; the fact that a defendant could move to

dismiss a relator's case for lack of standing on this basis is

incidental and did not create any "vested right” in

defendants to such a defense 11/

10/ The United States submitted an amicus curiae memorandum in

both cases in support of the proposition that the facts relating to a

citizen's standing as a proper relator should be fixed as of the date he

brings his suit. The need for this narrow exception to the Bradley

presumption is attributable to the unique nature of the gui tam

provisions — in many, and perhaps most gui tam cases, it would be

impossible to apply the gui tam provisions of the new amendments (eg.

the sealing provisions) to cases filed prior to the date of the

amendments. Likewise, to the extent that Congress amended the qui

tam provisions to encourage the filing of gui tam suits by relators, that

Congressional purpose is not served with respect to suits already filed

by the relators prior to the amendment.

ll/ The statute specifically gave the district courts the responsibility,

sua sponte, to dismiss any action brought based upon knowledge in the

government's possession, 31 U.S.C. § 3730(b)(3), and did not convey

any fight to dismissal to a defendant. Further, governmental

knowledge of the facts underlying a pre-amendment qui tam suit did

not relieve the defendant of liability in the event that the United States

either proceeded with the action or subsequently instituted a new action

based on the same allegations.

16a

Further, potential False Claims Act defendants, like

Lockheed, have no vested right or expectation to any

particular plaintiff or in any other change in law that affects

only "the form of the action to be commenced." Terry v.

Anderson, 95 U.S. 628, 633 (1877). As the Supreme Court

has made clear, "as to the forms of action or modes of

remedy it is well settled that the legislature may change

them at its discretion.” Id. See Meller v. Heil, 745 F.2d at

1305 (_ ) ("a defendant does not have a vested right in

application of a given remedial scheme"); see also Crane v.

Hahlo, 258 U.S. 142 (1922) (transfer of eminent domain

proceedings from court to administrative body did not

impair vested rights).

Moreover, even if defendants could show a "vested

right," which they cannot, the immediate application of the

Qui tam provision to this case, based on the defendants’ pre-

amendment conduct, works no "manifest injustice." In

order for Lockheed's arguments to succeed, they must show

that they actually relied upon some vested right in order for

it be unjust for the right to be denied them now. Clearly,

they cannot argue that they relied upon the former gui tam

provision in this matter. See e.g.. Hill, supra, at 1169.

Furthermore, Lockheed's arguments that the time of

filing suit is not relevant to the court's determination are

without merit. Both the prior law and the 1986

amendments refer to the time the complaint is filed in

determining the capacity of a relator to bring an action. In

similar circumstances, in cases in which a court must

decide if it possesses diversity jurisdiction, the court's

determination is restricted to the facts that existed on the

date the complaint was filed. Smith v. Sperling, 354 U.S.

91, 93 n.1 (1957); Topp v. Compair Inc., 814 F.2d 830, 832

(Ist Cir. 1987); Hawes v. Clum Ecuestre E] Comandante,

598 F.2d 698 (ist Cir. 1979); Lugo-Vina v. Pueblo

International, Inc., 574 F.2d 41, 42 n.1 (1st Cir. 1978). See

also Wright, Federal Courts, §28 at 107 (3rd Edition

1976).

17a

IV. CONCLUSION

Therefore, for the above reasons, the United States

respectfully submits that the False Claims Act

Amendments of 1986, particularly those removing the

jurisdictional bar against those who had previously

informed the Government of fraud by a potentially culpable

defendant, should be held applicable to all cases filed after

their enactment, and that, as a result, the court should deny

defendant's motion to dismiss.

_s/Vincent B. Terlep _

VINCENT B. TERLEP, JR.

Attorney for the United States

Dated: February 15, 1989

18a

APPENDIX B

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

UNITED STATES OF No. 94-55620

AMERICA, ex rel. DON H. 94-55826

HAYCOCK,

Plaini-Appetiam, | D.C: No. CV-90-01977-

Vv.

HUGHES AIRCRAFT .

COMPANY. MEMORANDUM

Defendant-

Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

David V. Kenyon, District Judge Presiding

Argued and Submitted September 15, 1995

Pasadena, California

Before: T.G. NELSON and KLEINFELD, Circuit Judges,

and WILKEN, District Judge.”

This disposition is not appropriate for publication and may not be

cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as provided by Ninth

Circuit Rule 36-3.

19a

After reviewing the record de novo, Jesinger v. Nevada

Federal Credit Union, 24 F.3d 1127, 1130 (9th Cir. 1994),

we conclude that Haycock presented no evidence of fraud

or false statement. We are unable to identify, in the

evidence submitted, fraudulent allocations of employees to

the direct as opposed to the indirect categories, double

billing, or fraudulent accounting practices. Nor can we

identify a cost accounting standard which Appellee was

required to follow and did not follow. There is no evidence

in the record which we have been able to find to show that

Appellee improperly classified any indirect costs as direct

costs, or overcharged for any of the fringe benefits and

other entitlements associated with waiver costs. Whatever

may have been arguable was disclosed to and approved by

the government, so far as the evidence in the record shows.

Nor is there any evidence in the record to show a false

certification under the Truth in Negotiations Act, 10 U.S.C.

§ 2306a(a), or false statement of cost or pricing data. 10

U.S.C. § 2306a(a)(2).

The district judge had discretion to award attorney's

fees if it found that the relator's claim was "clearly

frivolous,” 31 U.S.C. § 3730(d)(4), and it did. This

standard is met if "the plaintiff continued to litigate after”

his claim “clearly became” groundless or without

foundation. Hughes v. Rowe, 449 U.S. 5, 15 (1980). Our

review of the attorneys’ fees award is limited by the abuse

of discretion standard. [pn re Washington Public Power

Supply System, 19 F.3d 1291, 1296-97 (9th Cir. 1994).

The district court was within its discretion in awarding

attorneys’ fees, as it did, for the period after Hughes served

on the relator declarations of the relevant government

(Footnote cont'd from previous page )

** The Honrable Claudia Wilken, United States District Judge for

the Northern District of California, sitting by designation.

20a 2la

officials showing that the cost allocation system was known Tue Oct 15, 1996 8:38am mailbox

to, and approved by, the government. memclerk/mail/standard Page 1

The district court's denial of his ‘motion for a

reconsideration of the attorneys’ fees award is reviewed for DATE __ FROM SUBJECT _ CODES

abuse of discretion. Barber v. Hawaii, 42 F.3d 1185, 1198 10/11/96 Judge Haycock v.Hughes 94-55620

(9th Cir. 1994). The court was within its discretion in Kleinfeld

concluding the expert witness declaration filed by Haycock inconded:

a oe new on the er a ae eae Sent: 10/11/96 at 5:16 p.m.

mans yw poor. fe Delivered: 10/11/96 at 5:12 pm

showed absence statement. To: Memoranda Clerk, Arms Unit, Memoranda

Appellee’s request for attorneys’ fees on appeal is Clerk, Opinions Clerk

denied. See Fed. R. App. P. 38; Amwest Mortg. Corp. v. CC: Judge T. Nelson, Judge Wilken via Fax,

Grady, 925 F.2d 1162, 1165 (9th Cir. 1991) (attorneys fees’ ARMS, Opinions Clerk

not awarded where appeal not "clearly meritless"). Ref: 961011171632-0700

From: Judge Kleinfeld Auth by:

AFFIRMED. Subject: Haycock v. Hughes 94-55620

Test [09/15/95 - Pasadena] 94-55826

[ajk/docs/septemb95/hay .md.fil]

I certify that all judges concerned concur

2 eae

disposition. Please file it simultaneously with

just previously sent ing.

Thank you.

Priority: Urgent SEEPAGE Attachments {| ]

Reply Request [ ] View Acknowledge[ ] Codes[{ ]

APPENDIX C

THE DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE

VOLUNTARY DISCLOSURE

PROGRAM

A DESCRIPTION OF THE PROCESS

INSPECTOR GENERAL

DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE

FOREWARD

The Voluntary Disclosure Program is considered by

the Department of Defense to be a cornerstone of self-

governance by Defense contractors and a manifestation of

cooperative relations between Government and industry.

The commitment to the Voluntary Disclosure Program by

Defense management remains strong. This is evidenced by

the recent Defense Management Report to the President

which emphasized the continued need for voluntary

disclosure.

The Voluntary Disclosure Program is not an amnesty

or immunity program, but rather a means by which Defense

contractors can bring to light potential civil or criminal

fraud matters. Those matters of a purely administrative

nature, of course, shall not be included in the Program. In

return for disclosing potential fraud and cooperating in any

Government audit and investigation of the matter, the

Government generally allows the contractor the opportunity

to conduct an internal investigation which the Government

then attempts to verify in an expedited manner. The

Department of Defense further agrees generally not to

initiate administrative actions until its verification process

is completed.

Coordination of information is essential to the effective

and expeditious resolution of the matter. By keeping all

responsible Government parties informed of the status of

the matter, problems identified may be more quickly

resolved. Government representatives are then better

24a

equipped to determine what, if any, criminal, civil, and

administrative remedies are appropriate.

The pamphlet "The Department of Defense Voluntary

Disclosure Program — A Description of the Process"

describes general guidelines, policy, and processes used by

Department of Defense and Department of Justice

personnel who share the responsibility in the resolution of

fraud matters. The process described in the pamphlet is

intended to allow for flexibility, when needed, in the audit,

investigations, and verification of matters brought into the

Voluntary Disclosure Program.

Susan J. Crawford

Inspector General

25a

THE DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE

VOLUNTARY DISCLOSURE

A DESCRIPTION OF THE PROCESS

The purpose of this pamphlet is solely to describe the

process used by the Department of Defense and the

Department of Justice in the Administration of the

Department of Defense Voluntary Disclosure Program.

The pamphlet does not, nor should be relied on, to create,

confer, or grant any rights, benefits, privileges, or

protections enforceable at law or in equity by any person,

business, or entity in either civil, criminal

INSPECTOR GENERAL

DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE

26a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1. Office of Assistant Inspector

General for Criminal ome, oy

Policy and Oversight (AIG

Defense Criminal Investigative

te

Organizations (DCIOs)...............0ce0

3. Defense Contract Audit Agency...........

4. DoD Suspension and Debarment

PET scacuncenmmnenateonsetneee

5. The Department of Justice...................

. DESCRIPTION OF PROCESG...............:++

1. The Initial Disclosure ................:c0000+00+

Case Control Number......................00++

-

E.

5

S

5

Notification Requirements Relating

to Defective Products and Testing........

6. Inquiry for Prior Government

ES CE See

IPO).......

PAGE

27a

| ETE ALT 37

ef I Re 38

10. Failure to Sign XYZ Agreement............... 38

11. Notification of Admission into the

Voluntary Disclosure Program.................. 38

12. Contractor Internal Report

ND Rishabh tks ics vescomcesecous 39

13. Government Actions Pending

Contractor Internal Investigation............... 39

i a 40

15. Contractor's Cooperation During

i cca 4]

i |. i ra 4]

17. Defense Criminal Investigative

Organizations (DCIOs) Case

Management and Progress Reports........... 42

18. Payments by Contractors........0..0.0.0.0.ccc0000. 43

19. Removal of a Matter from the DoD

Voluntary Disclosure Program.................. 44

BO CR I sind cibitsecectrscnctcsceriteccsvcind 45

=> —_ _.-

28a

TABLE OF APPENDICES

[APPENDICES ARE NOT REPRODUCED]

Deputy Secretary of Defense Letters Dated July

24, 1986 & August 10, 1987.........ccccccsesceesneeeenenenenensnenenens

Voluntary Disclosure Flowchatt ...............c:s-sssssesseeeeseeeeens

Standard XYZ Agreement .........-.--s-ccesseeseeneneenenenenenrenanes

Letter Preliminarily Accepting a Matter into the

Voluntary Disclosure Program. .............-..:-ssssssseneeseeseneeesees

Standard XYZ AgreemMe>#tt .............cccceccssescssererserenrensseseesees

Report of Investigation ............-cssesessensnensensneneenenenenserenens

DC10 90-Day Investigative Progress Repott................+: ~—

Letter Removing a Matter From the Voluntary

Letter Closing a Matter Following Completion of

Goverment ACTVIRY .......0c0crserserrseerssecsevrersorseonseseoescessssssoees .

A. PURPOSE

1. The Department of Defense (DoD) encourages

Defense contractors to adopt a policy of voluntarily

disclosing potential civil or criminal fraud matters affecting

their corporate contractual relationships with the DoD as a

central part of their corporate self-governance and to

enhance contractor responsibility under the Federal

Acquisition Regulations. The policy is described in letters

from the Deputy Secretary of Defense to Defense

contractors, dated July 24, 1986, and August 10, 1987

(Appendix A). The Assistant Inspector General for

Criminal Investigations Policy and Oversight (AIG-CIPO),

Office of the Inspector General, DoD, is the designated

point of contact for voluntary disclosures of potential

criminal or civil fraud issues. Matters not involving fraud

should be presented to the appropriate contracting officer or

Defense Contract Audit Agency (DCAA) auditor.

2. The disclosures are made with no advance

agreement regarding possible DoD resolution of the matter

and with no promises regarding potential civil or criminal

actions by the Department of Justice (DOJ). Prompt

voluntary disclosure, full cooperation, complete access to

necessary records, restitution, and adequate corrective

actions are key indicators of an attitude of contractor

integrity even in the wake of disclosures of potential

iminal liability.

3. The DoD Voluntary Disclosure Program is intended

to afford contractors the means to report self-policing

activities. It provides a framework for Government

verification of the matters voluntarily disclosed and an

additional for a coordinated evaluation of

iendndoteative. civil, and celenieal acti Sn Dette

situation.

4. This pamphlet identifies the participating DoD and

DOJ organizations and describes the process by which

voluntary disclosures are reported, verified, and acted on.

30a

The complete process for managing voluntary disclosures is

depicted in a flowchart (Appendix B).

B. ORGANIZATIONAL FUNCTIONS —

The organizations listed below have the following

functions under the DoD Voluntary Disclosure Program:

1. Office of Assistant Inspector General for

Criminal Investigations Policy and

Oversight (AIG-CIPO)

The AIG-CIPO receives the initial disclosure, makes a

preliminary determination as to whether the disclosure

satisfies the requirements of the DoD Voluntary Disclosure

Program, coordinates the execution of the standard

Voluntary Disclosure Agreement, assigns the matter to a

Defense criminal investigative organization (DCIO) for

verification, assigns the matter to a suspension and

debarment authority, and coordinates the matter with the

DOJ for potential civil and criminal action. The AIG-CIPO

also serves as the focal point for the dissemination of

general information concerning the Voluntary Disclosure

Program, is responsible for administering the Program, and

coordinates administrative action within the DoD.

2. Defense Criminal Investigative

Organizations (DCIOs)

The U.S. Army Criminal Investigation Command

(USACIDC), the Naval Investigative Service (NIS), the Air

Force Office of Special Investigations (AFOSI), and the

Defense Criminal Investigative Service (DCIS) are the

Defense criminal investigative organizations (DCIOs) that

conduct investigations under the Program. One DCIO will

serve as the lead investigative agency. Following

admission into the DoD Voluntary Disclosure Program, the

lead DCIO in coordination with other DCIOs when

appropriate, conducts an investigation to verify the

accuracy and completeness of the matter(s) disclosed. The

lead DCIO, may request the Defense Contract Audit

3la

Agency (DCAA) to conduct a verification audit that will

generally be based on the contractor's internal report of

investigation. The lead DCIO coordinates its activities

with the AIG-CIPO, the DOJ, the DCAA, and the

cognizant suspension and debarment authority.

3. Defense Contract Audit Agency

The DCAA will, in most instances, be requested by the

lead DCIO to conduct a verification audit of the matter(s)

disclosed. The audit normally begins following receipt of

the contractor's internal report of investigation and focuses

on those matter(s) disclosed in the internal report of

investigation not covered by a previous audit.

4. DoD Suspension and Debarment

Authorities

A Military Department or Defense Agency has lead

agency responsibility for any suspension or debarment

determination resulting from the matter(s) disclosed. The

decision whether or not to initiate suspension or debarment

action takes into consideration, among other things, the

Government verification of the contractor's disclosure, the

contractor's cooperation, the adequacy of corrective action,

and restitution.

5. The Department of Justice

a. The Department of Justice Guidelines

regarding the Voluntary Disclosure Program set forth

complete guidance for the Department of Justice on

referral, investigation and prosecution of voluntary

disclosure matters.

b. The Defense Procurement Fraud Unit (Unit)

in the Fraud Section, Criminal Division, DOJ, is the point

of contact within the DOJ to oversee voluntary disclosure

matters. The Unit reviews all voluntary disclosure matters.

(1) The Unit conducts, or refers to the

appropriate U.S. Attorney's Office to conduct, whatever

32a

preliminary inquiry is deemed necessary to determine

whether there is specific credible evidence suggesting

prosecutable violations of Federal laws. If such evidence

exists, the matter will be investigated. :

(2) The United States Attorney's Office

notifies and obtains the concurrence of the Unit prior to any

decision to prosecute or decline prosecution of a volunteer

corporation.

ce. (1) In deciding whether to prosecute,

where the law and evidence is otherwise sufficient to

initiate prosecutive action, the prosecutor considers among

other factors, the truthfulness, completeness, and timeliness

of the disclosure; the quality and quantity of the

information provided therein; whether a compliance

program, including preventive measures, was in place prior

to the illegal activity; the extent of the fraud; the

pervasiveness of the fraud; the level of the corporate

officials involved in the fraud; the degree, extent, quality,

and timeliness of the contractor's cooperation in the

verification of the disclosure; and the remedial action taken

by the contractor.

(2) The determination of whether to

initiate or decline prosecution is the sole responsibility of

the Department of Justice in accordance with the

recommended criteria set forth in the DOJ Voluntary

Disclosure Guidelines.

d. The Civil Division, Department of Justice, is

responsible for determining whether to seek civil fraud

damages in voluntary disclosure matters.

C. DESCRIPTION OF PROCESS

1. The Initial Disclosure

a. The AJG-CIPO - Defense contractors

wishing to make a disclosure as part of the DoD Voluntary

Disclosure Program should be directed to the Assistant

33a

Inspector General for Criminal Investigations Policy and

Oversight (AIG-CIPO), telephone (703) 604-8710.

b. Confirmation Letter - When the initial

contact with the AIG-CIPO is made by telephone, the

contractor will be asked to send a letter confirming the

information presented.

2. Case Control Number

Control Number — A control number is assigned to

each voluntary disclosure (e.g., CIPO 012). The control

number is reflected on all communications between the

AIG-CIPO, the Military Departments, the Defense

Agencies, and the DOJ. The control number is not

intended to replace any internal DCIO or DOJ assigned

3. Preliminary Acceptance

a. Criteria - A matter will be preliminarily

accepted into the DoD Voluntary Disclosure Program if the

AIG-CIPO determines that:

/ (1) the contractor disclosed sufficient

information as defined in paragraph C.3.b. below, and

(2) the disclosure was not triggered by

the contractor's recognition that the potential criminal or

civil fraud matter or the underlying facts were about to be

discovered by the Government through audit, investigation,

contract administration efforts, or reported to the

Government by third parties. One factor in ini

— > ao ent has been met is whether the

Government f the

yt prior knowledge o matter(s)

b. Sufficient Information

3 (1) Information sufficient for

preliminary acceptance into the DoD Voluntary Disclosure

Program requires the contractor to disclose, at a minimum,

the contractor's name, the corporate division(s) affected, the

a

34a

location of the affected division(s), the Defense

Agency(ies) and Military Department(s) affected if known,

and the nature and description of the potential fraud. The

contractor should also provide, if known, ‘the DoD

component with contract administration

along with the contract number and type, and the estimated

financial impact to the Government. Sufficient information

should include the nature, effect, time period, and any

proposed remedy for the defect, as well as the identification

of all end users if the matter disclosed involves defective

products or testing.

(2) Since the DoD recognition of a

contractor as a “volunteer” depends on the disclosure not

being triggered by the contractor's recognition that the

potential civil or criminal fraud matter or the underlying

facts were about to be discovered by or disclosed to the

Government, the AIG-CIPO must have sufficient

information regarding the disclosure to do the following:

(a) Conduct an inquiry to learn if

the Government had prior knowledge of the matter

oe oad tn mandtan toms aes ta Oe

investigations and audits with the new disclosure (see

paragraph C.6. below).

(b) Determine whether to delay

the audit and investigation until the contractor's report of

investigation has been received (see paragraph C.13.

below).

(c) Determine whether later

identified matters are within the scope of the original

disclosure.

c. Date of Preliminary Acceptance - The date

on which the contractor discloses sufficient information in

accordance with paragraphs C.3.a. and b. above, is the date

on which the matter is determined to have been

preliminarily accepted into the DoD Voluntary Disclosure

Program. When the standard Voluntary Disclosure

Agreement (hereafter referred to as the "XYZ Agreement,”

35a

Appendix C) is executed, the date of admission into the

DoD Voluntary Disclosure Program relates back to the date

of preliminary acceptance.

4. Failure to Disclose Information

The AIG-CIPO may refuse to admit a matter into the

DoD Voluntary Disclosure Program if the AIG-CIPO

determines that the contractor knowingly failed to disclose

relevant available information, and such information is

obtained through other sources.

5. Notification Requirements Relating to

Defective Products and Testing

When a disclosure concerns defective products or

testing, the lead DCIO promptly notifies the affected

Military Department(s) and Defense Agency(ies) of any

potential safety or operational hazards. This notification is

required by DoD Directive 7050.5, “Coordination of

Remedies for Fraud and Corruption Related to Procurement

Activities," June 7, 1989.

6. Inquiry for Prior Government Knowledge

: a. Initiation of Inquiry - Based on the

information supplied by the contractor, the AIG-CIPO

conducts an inquiry to det-rmine whether the Government

had prior knowledge of the imatter disclosed. The inquiry is

mee me ge re nh gun Arar we

was triggered contractor's recognition that the

underlying facts of the potential fraud were about to be

discovered by the Government, or as to whether the matter

should be admitted into the DoD Voluntary Disclosure

Program. Rather, it is one factor considered in making a

preliminary determination whether to admit the matter.

b. Inquiry Assignment - Once sufficient

information is provided by the contractor, the AIG-CIPO

conducts an initial inquiry to determine whether the

Government had prior knowledge of the matter disclosed.

In most instances, the following inquiries are made:

- ~ nme: ome apa

36a

(1) DCIO Inquiry - A DCIO is

requested to conduct a Defense of

Investigations (DCII) check for open cases that could

incorporate the matter(s) disclosed. When appropriate, the

DCIO may be requested to make further inquiries to DCIO

field offices as to the matter(s) disclosed.

(2) | DCAA Inquiry — The DCAA

(a) a matter presently proposed

for audit by DCAA where notification has been given to the

company,

(b) a matter that is presently or

has been the subject of a DCAA audit; or

(c) amatter in which the DCAA

has issued an audit report or report of suspected

irregularity. The DCAA is also asked to provide

information regarding the nature and scope of the audit to

incorporate the matter(s) disclosed.

(3) Federal Bureau of Investigation

(FBI) Inquiry — The FBI representative to the DPFU is

requested to determine whether there is an ongoing or

previously conducted FBI investigation that could

incorporate the matter(s) disclosed.

(4) Defense Procurement Fraud Unit

(DPFU) Inquiry — The DPFU is requested to determine

whether there are any ongoing or previously conducted

the matter(s) disclosed. If the matter(s) disclosed suggest

possible antitrust implications, the DPFU is asked to

determine whether there are any ongoing or previously

heated antl leatiean on Withation tum ead

impact on the disclosure.

(5) Civil Division, DOJ, Inquiry - The

Civil Division, DOJ, is requested to determine whether

37a

there are any ongoing or previously conducted civil

eat or litigation, including False Claims Act gui

tam suits (31 U.S.C. 3729 et seq.), in which the matter(s)

disclosed could be incorporated.

the matter(s) disclosed.

(7) Other Inquiries - When appropriate,

other Inspectors General and investigative agencies may be

contacted to inform them of matters that may impact on

a Senae er epeeiens, 6 Setasins whetiar Gary eve

aware of any investigations or litigation that impact

the matter(s) disclosed. ie rH

7. Notification of Preliminary Acceptance

When a decision is made to preliminarily accept a

matter into the DoD Voluntary Disclosure Program, the

contractor is advised in writing (Appendix D). The letter

explains that the contractor's continued participation in the

program is contingent on prompt execution of the standard

XYZ Agreement, compliance with the terms of the XYZ

Agreement, and compliance with the requirements set forth

in the Deputy Secretary of Defense letter of July 24, 1986.

The standard XYZ Agreement is enclosed with the letter.

Copies of the letter are forwarded to the DPFU; the Civil

Division, DOJ; the assigned DCIO(s); the DCAA; and the

8. Matters Rejected

_ The contractor is advised in writing if the matter is

rejected from inclusion in the Voluntary Disclosure

Program (Appendix E). The letter, however, encourages

the contractor to cooperate in the Government audit and

investigation. Copies of the letter are forwarded to the

DPFU; the Civil Division, DOJ; the DCIO(s); the DCAA;

38a

9. XYZ Agreement

The standard XYZ Agreement is used in all disclosure

matters absent compelling circumstances * requiring

deviation. The XYZ Agreement should be signed promptly

by an authorized director or officer of the contractor,

preferably within two weeks of receipt, and returned to the

AIG-CIPO. When signed by all required signatories,

copies are sent to the DPFU; the Civil Division, DOJ; the

assigned DCIO(s); the DCAA; and the cognizant

suspension and debarment authority.

10. Failure to Sign XYZ Agreement

The AIG-CIPO will attempt to resolve any outstanding

issues concerning the XYZ Agreement. In the event the

contractor refuses to sign the XYZ Agreement or makes

demands that are unacceptable to the Government, the

AIG-CIPO will advise the contractor in writing of the

removal of the matter from the DoD Voluntary Disclosure

Program (Appendix F). Copies of the letter are forwarded

to the DPFU; the Civil Division, DOJ; the DCIO(s); the

DCAA; and the suspension and debarment authorities.

11. Notification of Admission into the

Voluntary Disclosure Program

Following execution of the XYZ Agreement, the AIG-

CIPO notifies the contractor in writing confirming the

admission of the matter into the DoD Voluntary Disclosure

Program (Appendix G). The contractor, if it has not

already done so, will be asked to inform the AIG-CIPO

within ten days of the execution of the XYZ Agreement

whether a written report will be provided describing the

results of the contractor's internal investigation. In

addition, the contractor is informed that any written report

should be submitted within 60 days of the initial disclosure.

The AIG-CIPO's confirmation letter will identify the

responsible DCIO(s), the cognizant suspension and

debarment authority, and the points of contact within each.

Copies of the letter are sent to the DPFU; the Civil

39a

Division, DOJ; the responsible DCIO(s); the DCAA; and

the cognizant suspension and debarment authority.

12. Contractor Internal Report Investigation

_ @ Internal Investigation - The contractor

determines whether an internal investigation will be

investigation, it generally is in the best interest of the

contractor to conduct their own investigation and submit a

_ b. Timely Completion of Report - Contractors

choosing to provide CIPO with a written report describing

the results of their internal investigation are requested to

submit their report within 60 days of the initial disclosure.

If the contractor is unable to complete the report within 60

days, the contractor should request an extension of time.

The AIG-CIPO will determine if and on what basis an

interim report(s) should be provided.

c. Distribution of Report - The AIG-CIPO

disclosure relates to contract fraud); and the assigned

the DPFU distributes a copy to a U.S. Attorney for

prosecutive review. The Civil Division, DOJ, forwards a

copy to any U.S. Attorney involved in related civil

litigation. .

13. Government Actions Pending Contractor

Internal Investigation

a. Timing of Government Investigation - As a

general rule, the Government does not begin the

verification process or conduct its own audit or

investigation until it has received the contractor's internal

report of investigation. The Government, however,

2 ee

ieee

40a

reserves the right to begin its own audit or investigation at

any time. Under certain circumstances, the contractor may

be asked to discontinue or limit its internal investigation.

b. Statute of Limitations - During completion

of the contractor's internal investigation, if the Government

determines that the criminal or civil statute of limitations

will expire as to the matter disclosed, or any part thereof,

within one year after submission of the contractor's report,

the Government, at its option, may request the contractor to

waive the statute of limitations for a period it deems

appropriate. Refusal to waive the statute of limitations will

be considered in evaluating the cooperation of the

contractor.

14. Verification

a. Investigative Plan — Following receipt of the

contractor's internal report, the designated DCIO(s) begins

the verification process. The verification audit and

investigation are given sufficiently high priority to allow

for its expedited completion. The DCIO prepares a written

investigative plan and coordinates it with the criminal

prosecutor assigned to the matter, and the Civil Division,

DOJ. The plan focuses the investigation, serves as a

roadmap for the DCIO(s), and provide a means for the

DCIO(s) to track the progress and ensure timely completion

of the verification process.

b. DCAA Verification Audit - The DCIO(s), in

most instances, request the DCAA to conduct a verification

audit. The DCAA auditor assigned to the matter is briefed

on the investigative plan to ensure a coordinated effort. If

sufficient information is available and the circumstances

warrant, the DCIO(s) may begin its own investigation prior

to completion or in conjunction with the audit.

<a € Verifi Audit and } ,

tion — The scope of the verification audit and investigation

focus specifically on the matters disclosed by the

contractor, and include the quantification of the

Government losses and potential civil forfeitures under the

4la

False Claims Act. Unrelated fraud allegations developed

during the verification process are pursued by the initiation

of an independent audit or investigation in accordance with

normal procedures unless their relationship to the matter

disclosed is so commingled as to prevent their severance.

Such allegations are not treated as part of the Voluntary

Disclosure Program without prior coordination with the

AIG-CIPO.

15. Contractor's Cooperation During the

Verification

The contractor's cooperation is essential to the

verification audit and investigation. Problems

the contractor's cooperation that cannot be readily resolved

by the DCIO field agent and the DCAA auditor (e.g.,

refusal to supply records or allow interviews), are promptly

brought to the attention of the respective headquarters of

the DCIO(s) and the DCAA for resolution. Where the

contractor's cooperation is unsatisfactory, the headquarters

of the DCIO and/or the DCAA promptly notify the AIG-

CIPO in an attempt to resolve the issue. The AGI-CIPO

will, in turn, notify the DPFU of the unsatisfactory

cooperation. When appropriate, the AIG-CIPO, with the

assistance of the Office of the General Counsel, DoD, will

attempt to resolve the problem with counsel representing

the contractor.

16. Use of Subpoenas

The DoD Voluntary Disclosure Program assumes

contractor cooperation. Should subpoenas for documents

be necessary, it is standard procedure to use Inspector

General subpoenas rather than grand jury subpoenas. Prior

to the issuance of a grand jury subpoena in a voluntary

disclosure matter, the assigned DCIO agent promptly

notifies the DCIO headquarters, which in turn, notifies the

AIG-CIPO.

ee ae Se ee

_— :

42a

17. Defense Criminal Investigative

Organizations (DCIOs) Case Management

and Progress Reports

a. Progress Report - The DCIO headquarters

monitor all voluntary disclosure matters assigned to their

organization to ensure adequate progress and expeditious

completion. The Didils Greed 0 deulents eal Bioeth

voluntary disclosure investigation every 90 days to the

AIG-CIPO (Appendix I). On receipt of the 90-day progress

report, the AIG-CIPO forwards a copy to the DPFU; the

Civil Division, DOJ; and the DCAA. The progress reports

separately summarize each ongoing investigation,

incorporating the following information:

(1) subject(s), including corporate name,

affected division(s), and affected location(s);

(2) the investigative | organization

assigned case number, the CIPO assigned disclosure

control number, and the DCIO(s) field office assigned to

conduct the investigation;

(3) an initial summary, including

allegations, Military Departments and Defense Agencies

affected, the time frame in which the allegation occurred,

the identification of contracts under investigation, the status

of the contracts, and the contractor's estimated cost impact

to the Government;

(4) matters involving defective products

or testing include a description of the defect, the effect on

health or safety, the time period involved, notice to the

users, and corrective action taken;

(5) updates include all newly acquired

information including prosecutive status (both civil and

criminal), new cost impact figures calculated by either the

contractor or the DCAA, changes in the scope of the

investigation, new allegations raised, or allegations

determined to be unfounded;

43a

(6) other significant information to be

reported includes declination of prosecution, criminal

indictment, use of subpoenas, and any problems arising

during the audit and investigation such as poor cooperation

or need for subpoenas;

(7) date audit was completed and date

the investigation was closed; and

(8) monies offered by the corporation,

accepted by the Government, including checks, credits, or

other offsets.

b. Progress Report Reviews - Each DCIO

schedules a meeting at a location of its choice within 14

days of the progress report to review the status and planned

actions of each open investigation. Attendees at the

meeting may include a representative from the OAIG-

CIPO; the DCIO; Office of General Counsel, DoD; the

DPFU; and Civil Division, DOJ.

18. Payments by Contractors

a. Required Coordination with the Civil

Division, DOJ — Collection of any civil damages for all

DoD voluntary disclosure matters is the responsibility of

the Civil Division, DOJ. Unsolicited payments, restitution,

or any other funds representing the contractor's estimate of

the cost impact of the matters disclosed are coordinated

with the Civil Division, DOJ, and the DPFU prior to

acceptance. While it should be determined if the contractor

is willing to make restitution, specific requests for payment

are coordinated with the Civil Division, DOJ, and the

DPFU. When it is agreed that payment is appropriate,

contractors desiring to pay restitution or make good faith

reimbursements are instructed to provide a check to the

AIG-CIPO made payable to “the Treasurer of the United

States."

b. Other Required Coordination - The Civil

Division, DOJ consults with the criminal prosecutor

assigned to the matter, the AIG-CIPO, and the suspension

44a

and debarment official, and determines whether immediate

payment by the contractor would be in the Government's

best interests with respect to its potential civil remedies.

—- A ffecti Good _ Faiti

Reimbursements - When determined that an unsolicited

payment will be accepted or a payment will be solicited and

accepted, the acceptance is conditioned on a written

agreement with the contractor that provides:

(1) acceptance of the payment does not

constitute the Government's agreement as to the

contractor's ultimate civil or criminal liability for the

matter(s) disclosed, and

(2) acceptance shall not prejudice the

Government's right to obtain additional damages, fines, and

penalties for the matter(s) disclosed.

19. Removal of a Matter from the DoD

Voluntary Disclosure Program

a. Reason for Removal - The AIG-CIPO may

remove a matter from the DoD Voluntary Disclosure

Program at any time during the verification process if:

(1) the disclosure is determined not to

meet the Program requirements as set forth in the Deputy

Secretary of Defense letter of July 24, 1986, or

(2) the contractor has violated the terms

of the signed XYZ Agreement.

b. Notice of Removal — Prior to removing a

matter from the Voluntary Disclosure Program, the AIG-

CIPO will notify the contractor in writing of the proposed

decision to remove the matter, and may provide the

contractor an opportunity to respond (Appendix J). A copy

of the letter is sent to all DCIOs, suspension and debarment

authorities, the DPFU, the Civil Division, DOJ, and the

DCAA. The decision to remove is at the sole discretion of

the AIG-CIPO.

45a

20. Case Completion

a. Records Required - A matter administered

under the DoD Voluntary Disclosure Program is closed

when the following documents have been provided to the

AIG-CIPO.

(1) Notification by the designated

DCIO(s) that both the audit and investigation are completed

and the matter is closed. The notification identifies the

DCAA final dollar impact determination to the

Government, the final settlement, and the manner in which

the losses were recovered or otherwise resolved.

(2) A letter from the DPFU either

confirming the declination of criminal prosecution or

indicating the results of any prosecutive actions taken.

(3) A letter from the Civil Division,

DOJ, declining civil litigation or indicating the results of

civil litigation or settlements.

(4) A letter from the DPFU indicating

the results of any prosecutive actions or settlements if the

Antitrust Division, DOJ, is involved in the investigation, or

a U.S. Attorney has reviewed the matter for potential

antitrust violations.

(5) A letter from the designated

suspension and debarment authority advising the AIG-

CIPO in writing of any action taken or to be taken as to

suspension or debarment of the contractor or persons within

the contractor's organization.

b. Notification that the Matter is Closed — The

AIG-CIPO notifies the DoD contractor in writing that the

matter(s) administered under the Voluntary Disclosure

Program is closed when the appropriate documents

mentioned in paragraph C.20.a.(1) through (5) are received

(Appendix K).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.