Amicus Curiae Brief — Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supseme Court, U8.

One, FILED

Nos. 95-754 & 95-886 |

RK

ee

MAR 18 1996

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

MEDTRONIC, INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

LORA LOHR, et vir,

Respondent, and

Cross Petitioner.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF AND

BRIEF FOR TWO PRODUCTS LIABILITY LAW PROFESSORS

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF NEITHER PARTY

Richard N. Pearson”

Lars Noah

University of Florida

College of Law

P.O. Box 117625

Gainesville, FL 32611-7625

(352) 392-2211

March 11, 1996 * Counsel of Record

yi

mah

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

Nos. 95-754 & 95-886

MEDTRONIC, INC.,

Petitioner,

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF NEITHER PARTY

The undersigned respectfully move for leave to file the

attached brief amicus curiae in support of neither party.

Counsel for Respondent Lora Lohr consented to the filing of

this brief, but Counsel for Petitioner Medtronic did not.”

The undersigned teach and write in the area of tort law

and products liability and are especially interested in the

rapidly accelerating use of federal preemption as a defense.”

v At the time that this motion and brief were finalized for printing,

counsel for Medtronic represented to the undersigned that he still had not

received final instructions from his client in response to our request of

January 29, 1996.

¥ E.g., Reconceptualizing Federal Preemption of Tort Claims as the

Government Standards Defense, 37 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 903 (1996).

The attached brief offers an approach that neither Party

is likely to elaborate. Medtronic will argue that the

preemption provision in the Medical Device Amendments

(MDA), 21 U.S.C. § 360k(a), completely insulates manufac-

turers from products liability claims; Ms. Lohr will argue

that the MDA preempts no tort claims, at least not those

claims against manufacturers of medical devices subject to

premarket clearance. The proposed amicus brief suggests a

middle position, encouraging the Court to recognize a limited

preemption defense to tort claims. Although not consistent

with either Party’s ideal litigating position, this formulation

would be preferable to their opponent’s extreme alternative.

In addition, the proposed amicus brief addresses some

of the broader implications of the instant case. The Court's

resolution of these petitions will have immediate and

profound repercussions in other products liability litigation.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard N. Pearson’

Lars Noah

University of Florida

College of Law

P.O. Box 117625

Gainesville, FL 32611-7625

(352) 392-2211

March 11, 1996 " Counsel of Record

Nos. 95-754 & 95-886

S0007?03OooSS

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

MEDTRONIC, INC..,

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF FOR TWO PRODUCTS LIABILITY LAW PROFESSORS

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF NEITHER PARTY

Richard N. Pearson"

Lars Noah

University of Florida

College of Law

P.O. Box 117625

Gainesville, FL 32611-7625

(352) 392-2211

March 11, 1996 ” Counsel of Record

ee —_——_—_—_—eeeee———— eee

I. LOWER COURTS HAVE DEVELOPED

SEVERAL COMPETING CONCEPTIONS

OP PRE HUST oe cee See escceces

B. An Intermediate Version: Preemption as

Displacing State Tort Law Standards

C. The Weak Version: Proof of Compliance

as a Predicate for the Defense ......

Il. PREEMPTION SHOULD BE INTER-

PRETED AS THE GOVERNMENT

STANDARDS DEFENSE ............

CORMAN ccc ccc cece ccccedevece

10

14

17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Abbot v. American Cyanamid Co.,

844 F.2d 1108 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 908 (1988) .......

Arkansas-Platte & Gulf Partnership

v. Van Waters & Rogers, Inc.,

959 F.2d 158 (10th Cir.),

vacated, 113 S. Ct. 314 (1992),

reinstated, 981 F.2d 1177 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 60 (1993) ......

Atascadero State Hosp. v. Scanlon,

Ge MED We beoseiseccceccs

Bailey v. Johnson,

48 F.3d 965 (6th Cir. 1995) ..........

Bammerlin v. Navistar Int’l Transp. Corp.,

30 F.3d 898 (7th Cir. 1994) ..........

Bieneman v. City of Chicago,

864 F.2d 463 (7th Cir. 1988),

cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1080 (1989) ......

Butcher v. Robertshaw Controls Co..,

Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams,

GES U.S Gees oe Se Fae cw cee 8

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc.,

— fF SS | Perr rrr passim

Cort v. Ash,

GB OB GB Gee VF 8 Sok bee Hews 18

CSX Transp., Inc. v. Easterwood,

5S. Ge. Fee Gee we’ do awed cee. 4

Daily Income Fund, Inc. v. Fox,

658 GE Ge eee ood iS. Ue oe twee 18

Davis v. Brunswick Corp..,

854 F. Supp. 1574 (N.D. Ga. 1994) ..... 11

Deford v. Soo Line R.R..,

867 F.2d 1080 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 492 U.S. 927 (1994)....... 8

Eimers v. Honda Motor Co.,

785 F. Supp. 1204 (W.D. Pa. 1992) ..... 12

English v. General Elec. Co..,

GS UB. Te Gees « 4 obs LO 1 8G 4

Ferebee v. Chevron Chem. Co..,

736 F.2d 1529 (D.C. Cir.),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1062 (1984) ...... 17

Fogal v. Steinfeld,

620 N.Y.S.2d 875 (Sup. Ct. 1994) ...... 9

Franchise Tax Bd. v. Construction Laborers

Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1 (1983) ......

Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick,

Se ee UE cee cc ce ccese

Gile v. Optical Radiation Corp.,

22 F.3d 540 (3d Cir.),

cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 429 (1994) ......

Ginochio v. Surgikos, Inc.,

864 F. Supp. 948 (N.D. Cal. 1994)......

Gonzales v. Surgidev Corp.,

899 P.2d 576 (N.M. 1995) ...........

Helms v. Sporicidin Int’l,

871 F. Supp. 837 (E.D.N.C. 1994) ......

Hernandez-Gomez v. Leonardo, 884 P.2d 183

(Ariz. 1994), vacated sub nom. ,

Volkswagen of Am., 115 S. Ct. 1819 (1995)

Hodges v. Delta Airlines, Inc. ,

44 F.3d 334 (Sth Cir. 1995) ..........

Hunsaker v. Surgidev Corp.,

818 F. Supp. 744 (M.D. Pa. 1992),

aff'd mem., 5 F.3d 1489 (3d Cir. 1993) ...

Hurley v. Lederle Lab.,

863 F.2d 1173 (Sth Cir. 1988).........

Hurt v. Dow Chem. Co.,

963 F.2d 1142 (8th Cir. 1992) .........

Vv

ICI Americas, Inc. v. Banks,

440 S.E.2d 38 (Ga. App. 1993),

aff'd in part, 450 S.E.2d 671 (Ga. 1994) .. bt

In re "Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig.,

635 F.2d 987 (2d Cir. 1980),

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1128 (1981) ...... 7

International Longshoremen’s Ass'n v. Davis,

oe ee 9

Jenkins v. James B. Day & Co.,

634 N.E.2d 998 (Ohio 1994) .......... 10

Kemp v. Pfizer, Inc.,

835 F. Supp. 1015 (E.D. Mich. 1993) .... 8, 18

King v. Collagen Corp.,

983 F.2d 1130 (ist Cir.),

cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 84 (1993) ...... 7

Landgraf v. USI Film Products,

BOS &. Ge, SER GIT. oe eld bed coe 20

Little v. Dow Chem. Co..,

559 N.Y.S.2d 788 (Sup. Ct. 1990) ...... G

Lohr v. Medtronic, Inc.,

56 F.3d 1335 (11th Cir. 1995),

cert. granted, 116 S. Ct. 806 (1996) ..... 4

Lowe v. General Motors Corp.,

624 F.2d 1373 (Sth Cir. 1980) ......... 12

Lowe v. Sporicidin Int'l,

47 F.3d 124 (4th Cir. 1995) .......... 10, 14

Mears v. Marshall,

905 P.2d 1154 (Or. App. 1995) ........ 6

Mendes v. Medtronic, Inc..

18 F.3d 13 (Ist Cir. 1994) ........... 6, 18

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Thompson,

478 U.S. 804 (1986) .........50006- 7

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor,

GO UE, See Sew ke He cee 8

Michael v. Shiley, Inc.,

46 F.3d 1316 (3d Cir.),

cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 67 (1995) ...... 7,8

Miller v. E.1. DuPont de Nemours & Co.,

880 F. Supp. 474 (S.D. Miss. 1994) ..... ie

Ministry of Health v. Shiley, Inc.,

858 F. Supp. 1426 (C.D. Cal. 1994) ..... 11, 21

Montauk-Caribbean Airways, Inc. v. Hope,

784 F.2d 91 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 872 (1986) ....... 7

Moss v. Parks Corp.,

985 F.2d 736 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 2999 (1993) ..... 10, 11

Mulhern v. Outboard Marine Corp.,

432 N.W.2d 130 (Wis. App. 1988) ...... 9

vii

i al |

National Bank of Commerce v. Kimberly-Clark

Corp., 38 F.3d 988 (8th Cir. 1994) ...... 11

Papas v. Upjohn Co.,

985 F.2d 516 (11th Cir.),

cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 300 (1993) ...... 7

Reeves v. AcroMed Corp.,

44 F.3d 300 (Sth Cir.),

cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 2251 (1995) ..... 6, 8

Reiter v. Zimmer, Inc..,

830 F. Supp. 199 (S.D.N.Y. 1993) ...... 12

Richardson v. Advanced Cardiovascular Sys., Inc.,

865 F. Supp. 1210 (E.D. La. 1994)...... 8

Rinehart v. International Playtex, Inc..,

688 F. Supp. 475 (S.D. Ind. 1988) ...... 12

Ryan v. Brunswick Corp.,

531 N.W.2d 793 (Mich. App. 1995) ..... 9

Sandoz Pharmaceuticals Corp. v. Richardson-Vicks,

Inc., 902 F.2d 222 (3d Cir. 1990). ...... 14

Sheridan v. United States,

969 F.2d 72 (4th Cir. 1992) .......... 12

Shots v. CSX Transp., Inc.,

38 F.3d 304 (7th Cir. 1994) .........., 7

Shumaker v. C.R. Bard, Inc..,

1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 822 (D. Mass. 1996) 8

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp.,

464 U.S. 238 (1984) .............

Slater v. Optical Radiation Corp. ,

961 F.2d 1330 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 327 (1992) ....

Stanton v. Astra Pharmaceutical Prods., Inc. ,

718 F.2d 553 (3d Cir. 1983) ........

Stewart v. International Playtex, Inc..,

672 F. Supp. 907 (D.S.C. 1987) .....

St. Louis S.W. Ry. v. Malone Freight Lines,

39 F.3d 864 (8th Cir. 1994),

cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 1963 (1995) ...

Strong v. Telectronics Pacing Sys., Inc..,

891 F. Supp. 401 (W.D. Mich. 1994) ....

Suter v. Artist M.,

ee ee ee

Swift v. United States,

866 F.2d 507 (Ist Cir. 1989)........

Talbott v. C.R. Bard, Inc.,

865 F. Supp. 37 (D. Mass. 1994),

aff'd, 63 F.3d 25, 29-30 (Ist Cir. 1995) ...

Texas Indus., Inc. v. Radcliff Materials, Inc..,

oe 8 EF ee ee ee

Violette v. Smith & Nephew Dyonics, Inc..,

62 F.3d 8 (ist Cir. 1995) ..........

ix

10

12

10

15

- 18

12

Von Anhalt v. Delta Air Lines, Inc..,

735 F. Supp. 1030 (S.D. Fla. 1990) ..... 11

Weinberger v. Bentex Pharmaceuticals, Inc.,

S12 U.S. GS (9979). Po eee ek 14

Worm v. American Cyanamid Co..,

> F356 PS GR Ce. 0 Fo. ek 10

Statutes and Regulations:

15 U.S.C. § 1334(b) (1994) .. 2.2... 02 LL, 19

21 U.S.C. § 360k(a) (1994) ..... 22.0002. 2

42 U.S.C. §§ 300aa-22(b), 300aa-23(d) ...... 19

Miscellaneous:

James A. Henderson, Jr., Richard N. Pearson &

John A. Siliciano, The Torts Process (4th ed. 1994) l

Lars Noah, Reconceptualizing Federal Preemption of

Tort Claims as the Government Standards Defense,

37 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 903 (March 1996) ... 1, 18

Lars Noah, Amplification of Federal Preemption

in Medical Device Cases,

49 Food & Drug L.J. 183 (1994) .......... l

Richard N. Pearson, The Florida Medicaid Third-

Party Liability Act, 46 Fla. L. Rev. 609 (1994) . l

Rest. (3d) Torts: Prods. Liab. (1995)........ 10

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

Nos. 95-754 & 95-886

Petitioner,

BRIEF FOR TWO PRODUCTS LIABILITY LAW PROFESSORS

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF NEITHER PARTY

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici teach and write in the area of tort law and

products liability,” and are especially interested in the rapidly

accelerating use of federal preemption as a defense.”

Y ‘See, e.g., James A. Henderson, Jr., Richard N. Pearson & John

A. Siliciano, The Torts Process (4th ed. 1994); Richard N. Pearson, The

Florida Medicaid Third-Party Liability Act, 46 Fla. L. Rev. 609 (1994).

¥ See, e.g., Lars Noah, Reconceptualizing Federal Preemption of

Tort Claims as the Government Standards Defense, 37 Wm. & Mary L.

Rev. 903 (March 1996); Lars Noah, Amplification of Federal Preemption

in Medical Device Cases, 49 Food & Drug L.J. 183 (1994).

This case presents an important opportunity to clarify

how courts should apply the preemption provisions that

appear in a variety of federal safety statutes to tort litigation.

The questions presented by the parties broadly ask the Court

to determine whether and to what extent federal law preempts

tort claims against manufacturers of medical devices. Amici

have filed this brief to explain some of the notable difficulties

that lower courts have encountered when addressing the

increasingly popular preemption defense. The Court’s

resolution of the instant petitions will have significant

consequences for numerous products liability cases.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The courts below correctly recognized some of the

difficulties that attend the application of the preemption

defense. The district court granted summary judgment for

defendant, dismissing all of the plaintiffs’ claims against

Medtronic, Inc., the manufacturer of the allegedly defective

pacemaker implanted in Ms. Lohr. The United States Court

of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit accepted Medtronic’s

primary argument that the Medical Device Amendments

(MDA) preempted tort claims under Florida state law.

Nonetheless, the court reversed judgment with regard to

plaintiffs’ negligent design and strict liability claims because

it held that the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) had not

imposed any particular design requirements when it cleared

this device for commercial marketing. The Eleventh Circuit,

however, affirmed dismissal of the plaintiffs’ negligent

sd See 21 U.S.C. § 360k(a) (1994).

2

manufacture and failure-to-warn claims, rejecting Ms. Lohr’s

argument that the preemption defense should not apply

insofar as these claims were premised on violations of

applicable federal statutory standards. Pet. App. 13a-14a.

As illustrated by the instant case, there are several still

unresolved questions concerning the proper application of

the preemption defense under the MDA and similar safety

Statutes. Because the scope of federal preemption turns

primarily on matters of statutory construction, the subject

defies simple unitary treatment. Indeed, as applied by the

courts, the preemption defense lacks any single, coherent

meaning. Nonetheless, these statutory provisions pose

important recurring problems. Armici suggest alternatives

to the exaggerated reading of Cipollone that has been adopted

by a number of courts and was suggested by the Eleventh

Circuit in this case. In particular, this Court should clarify

that Cipollone announced a federal common law rule

accepting the "government standards” defense, a defense that

would absolve a company of liability only upon a showing

of compliance with all relevant safety requirements.

ARGUMENT

Federal preemption arguments in tort actions have

proliferated over the last few years. This Court’s decision

in Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc.,* triggered a notable

upsurge in the successful use of preemption as a defense to

: 505 U.S. 504 (1992).

products liability lawsuits. During the decade preceding

Cipollone, the Court expressed a marked reluctance to find

preemption of tort claims,* but its decisions from the last

several Terms suggest a significant reversal in this attitude.*

A number of lower courts apparently have viewed Cipollone

and its progeny as a mandate to dismantle the protections of

State tort law, even in extreme situations where a defendant

has not complied with the federal requirements that are being

given preemptive effect. |

Almost four years now have elapsed since Cipollone

was decided. As feared by a number of the Justices in that

case, lower courts have struggled when applying the plural-

ity’s judgment in other contexts. Preemption provisions

appear in statutes regulating, inter alia, medical devices,

pesticides and other hazardous chemicals, and various modes

of transportation. Because these provisions express Congres-

sional intent in different terms, and in some cases are

accompanied by savings clauses of varying breadth, lower

courts have encountered difficulties interpreting the proper

scope of federal preemption. A number of courts have read

Cipollone quite expansively, however, finding preemption of

most or all tort claims, sometimes even where the defendants

have not complied with the applicable federal safety require-

ments.

# See, e.g., English v. General Elec. Co., 496 U.S. 72, 80-86

(1990); Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238, 251-56 (1984),

¥ See Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, 115 S. Ct. 1483, 1487-88

(1995); CSX Tramsp., Inc. v. Easterwood, 113 S. Ct. 1732, 1740-43

(1993); Cipollone, SOS U.S. at 524 (plurality).

4

Increasingly, defendants assert federal preemption as a

defense in tort litigation involving, for example, medical

devices and pesticides. This trend represents a departure

from the traditional application of preemption as a barrier

only to conflicting state and local legislation and regulation,

and, more disturbingly, the use of the preemption defense in

tort litigation sometimes immunizes defendants from liability

irrespective of their conduct. Indeed, as argued herein,

lower courts have misinterpreted Cipollone by finding broad

preemption of tort claims under other federal safety statutes

when this Court really had nothing more than the government

standards defense in mind.

I. LOWER COURTS HAVE DEVELOPED SEVERAL

COMPETING CONCEPTIONS OF PREEMPTION.

Although preemption of tort claims under various

Statutory provisions generally has been accepted, at |vast

under some circumstances, important questions remain to be

resolved. One of the most immediate quandaries concerns

the practical consequence of a finding that one or more

claims are preempted in a particular case. For instance,

does preemption mean that failure-to-warn or other tort

claims may never be brought against companies, or instead

may a plaintiff sustain such a claim by introducing evidence

of noncompliance with agency regulations? If the latter is

true, then who bears the burden of proof if noncompliance

is alleged; must the defendant prove compliance as a

predicate for invoking a preemption defense, or does it

become an element of the plaintiff's burden when attempting

to assert a claim in the face of such a defense? More

fundamentally, is such a defense even properly characterized

as one based on “preemption”?

$

The lower courts have offered varying answers to these

questions, suggesting three different conceptions of federal

preemption as applied in the context of tort litigation. As

more fully developed in the following sections, it is possible

to differentiate between a “strong,” “intermediate,” and

"weak" version of the preemption defense based in part on

whether compliance with federal safety standards is relevant

and which party shoulders the burden of proof on that issue.

The choice of one among these competing conceptions of

the preemption defense will have profound consequences for

litigants in future tort cases.

A. The Strong Version: Preemption as

Foreclosing Tort Remedies Altogether.

In the wake of Cipollone, several lower courts have

suggested that preemption would completely cut off common

law claims whenever federal safety requirements apply,

whether or not a particular company has strictly complied

with those requirements. This view is most noticeable in

medical device decisions, including the instant case.”

Under this extreme approach, a plaintiff could not seek

compensatory damages for injuries resulting from a

manufacturer's failure to abide by federal requirements.

Plaintiffs would have no recourse under state tort law, and

v See, e.g., Lohr v. Medtronic, Inc., 56 F.3d 1335, 1343 (11th Cir.

1995), cert. granted, 116 S. Ct. 806 (1996); Talbott v. C.R. Bard, Inc..

63 F.3d 25, 27-30 (1st Cir. 1995), petition for cert. filed, No. 95-1321

(Feb. 16, 1996); Reeves v. AcroMed Corp., 44 F.3d 300, 307 (Sth Cir.),

cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 2251 (1995); Gile v. Optical Radiation Corp.

22 F.3d S40, 544 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 429 (1994); Mendes

v. Medtronic, Inc., 18 F.3d 13, 17-19 (ist Cir. 1994); Mears v.

Marshall, 905 P.2d 1154, 1166-67 (Or. App. 1995).

aaadbaudietlaatakcmmnel

* See Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Thompson, 478 U.S.

804, 810 (1986) (assuming without deciding that Congress intended

prohibit private enforcement of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act); Bailey

v. Johnson, 48 F.3d 965, 967-68 (6th Cir. 1995); Montauk-Caribbean

Airways, Inc. v. Hope, 784 F.2d 91, 97 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S.

872 (1986); In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 635 F.2d 987, 991-

92 n.9 (2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1128 (1981).

‘gu

* ‘See, ¢.g., Miller v. E.1. DuPont de Nemours & Co., 880 F. Supp.

474, 480(S.D. Miss. 1994); Helms v. Sporicidin Int’!, 871 F. Supp. 837,

839 (E.D.N.C. 1994).

2 See, ¢.g., Michael v. Shiley, Inc., 46 F.3d 1316, 1328-29 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 67 (1995); Shots v. CSX Transp., Inc.,

38 F.3d 304, 308 (7th Cir. 1994); King v. Collagen Corp., 983 F.2d

1130, 1139-40 (1st Cir.) (Aldrich, J., concurring), cert. denied, 114 S.

Ct. 84 (1993); Papas v. Upjohn Co., 985 F.2d 516, 519 (11th Cir.) (per

curiam), cert. denied, 114 S$. Ct. 300 (1993).

7

defense, in part because otherwise such allegations would

become routine and difficult to resolve.”

The strong conception of the defense resembles so-

called “complete” preemption, a doctrine that has developed

under the federal labor statutes. Complete preemption means

that the displacement of state law by federal statute is such

that a defendant could remove an action from state court

under federal question jurisdiction, creating an exception to

the well-pleaded complaint rule that would otherwise ignore

federal issues raised defensively.” Although the existence

of a parallel federal remedy originally was regarded as a

prerequisite for complete preemption of a state law claim,

such substitution apparently is no longer necessary to support

removal.” Courts initially rejected arguments that federal

safety statutes establish complete preemption, but several

now have granted removal petitions on such a theory.

“See Talbott, 63 F.3d at 29-30; Michael, 46 F.3d at 1329, Reeves,

44 F.3d at 307; Kemp v. Pfizer, Inc., 835 F. Supp. 1015, 1021-22

(E.D. Mich. 1993); ICI Americas, Inc. v. Banks, 440 $.E.2d 38, 42-

43 (Ga. App. 1993), aff'd in relevant part, 450 $.E.2d 671 (Ga. 1994).

2 See, é.g., Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58, 63-

67 (1987); Franchise Tax Bd. v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust,

463 U.S. 1, 24-28 (1983).

@ See, ¢.g., Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 391 n.4

(1987); Deford v. Soo Line R.R., 867 F.2d 1080, 1086 (8th Cir.), cert.

denied, 492 U.S. 927 (1994).

* See, ¢.g., Shumaker v. C.R. Bard, Inc., 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

822, at “6-9 (D. Mass. Jan. 3, 1996); Richardson v. Advanced

Cardiovascular Sys., Inc., 865 F. Supp. 1210, 1213-16 (E.D. La. 1994);

Strong v. Telectronics Pacing Sys., Inc., 891 F. Supp. 401. 402-03

(W.D. Mich. 1994). But see Hurt v. Dow Chem. Co., 963 F.2d 1142,

1144-45 (8th Cir. 1992)

Similarly, according to some courts, preemption

deprives them of subject matter jurisdiction over all tort

actions within the preempted domain, apparently in the sense

that a federal agency has been given exclusive jurisdiction

over the matter.” This is similar to the effect of preemption

claims to the NLRB, federal preemption strips state courts

of their subject matter jurisdiction to hear claims of this

sort.“ This Court has emphasized, however, that its

decision to vest exclusive jurisdiction in the NLRB “does not

apply to pre-emption claims generally but only to those

preemption claims that go to the State’s actual adjudicatory

or regulatory power as opposed to the State’s substantive

laws." Nonetheless, some state courts have accorded a

comparable effect to preemption provisions in federal safety

Statutes, treating these provisions as divesting them of

jurisdiction over tort claims against products or activities that

are subject to federal regulation.”

Of course, even if not properly regarded as an objection

to jurisdiction or a basis for removal, the strong version of

@ See, ¢.g., Talbott v. C.R. Bard, Inc., 865 F. Supp. 37, 40 (D.

Mass. 1994), aff'd, 63 F.3d 25, 29-30 (ist Cir. 1995).

— See \nternational Longshoremen’s Ass'n v. Davis, 476 U.S. 380,

391 (1986).

2 id. wa 391 2.9.

& See, e.g., Ryan v. Brunswick Corp., 531 N.W.2d 793, 796 (Mich.

App. 1995); Fogal v. Steinfeld, 620 N.Y .S.2d 875, 880 (Sup. Ct. 1994);

Little v. Dow Chem. Co., 559 N.Y.S.2d 788, 790 (Sup. Ct. 1990);

Mulhern v. Outboard Marine Corp., 432 N.W.2d 130, 134 (Wis. App.

1988).

preemption would support a defendant’s motion to dismiss

for failure to state a claim, and no set of proffered evidence

or amended allegations could save any claims that fall within

the preempted domain. Thus, the strong version of the

preemption defense effectively forecloses tort remedies

altogether.

B. An Intermediate Version: Preemption as

Displacing State Tort Law Standards.

Under a less extreme view, federal preemption of tort

claims would not completely cut off actions for damages, at

least not in the event of noncompliance with federal

standards.” For example, several courts in earlier medical

device cases explained that only the substantive duties

imposed under state law are preempted.” Under this view,

preemption does not foreclose the availability of compen-

satory damages for personal injuries or other common law

remedies, but it does mean that federal regulatory standards

will trump tort law standards such as the general duty of

care under negligence. Plaintiffs would not be able to invite

judges and juries to second-guess, under the guise of

@ See, ¢.g., Lowe v. Sporicidin Int'l, 47 F.3d 124, 130 (4th Cir.

1995); Worm v. American Cyanamid Co., 5 F.3d 744, 748 (4th Cir.

1993); Moss v. Parks Corp., 985 F.2d 736, 740 (4th Cir.), cert. denied,

113 S. Ct. 2999 (1993); Jenkins v. James B. Day & Co., 634 N.E.2d

998, 1003-05 (Ohio 1994).

@ See, ¢.g., Slater v. Optical Radiation Corp., 961 F.2d 1330, 1334

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 327 (1992); Hunsaker v. Surgidev

Corp., 818 F. Supp. 744, 751 (M.D. Pa. 1992), aff'd mem., 5 F.3d

1489 (3d Cir. 1993); Stewart v. International Playtex, Inc., 672 F. Supp.

907, 910 (D.S.C. 1987); see also Res:. (3d) Torts: Prods. Liab. § 7,

cmt. e (1995), at 198.

10

applying a manufacturer's common law duty of care, an

agency’s safety and utility determinations for products whose

design and labeling the agency has either dictated by

regulation or individually reviewed and approved.

Because many of the preemption provisions prohibit

only “different” state requirements, courts reason that claims

premised on noncompliance with the federal standard would

not impose a different obligation under state tort law.” The

possibility that a company may be liable for violation of

federal standards has provided courts with one way of

reconciling statutory savings clauses (which preserve existing

rights or remedies at common law) with express preemption

provisions.“ The intermediate version of preemption may,

therefore, be understood as nothing more than a choice-of-

law principle, directing courts to select federal rather than

state standards when resolving tort claims.”

Plaintiffs would be able to recover under state law for

injuries in the event that a manufacturer violated the

conditions contained in any applicable product license or

w See, ¢.g., National Bank of Commerce v. Kimberly-Clark Corp..,

38 F.3d 988, 993 (8th Cir. 1994); Moss, 985 F.2d at 740-41; Ministry

of Health v. Shiley, Inc., 858 F. Supp. 1426, 1439 (C.D. Cal. 1994).

2 See, e.g., Bieneman v. City of Chicago, 864 F.2d 463, 471 (7th

Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1080 (1989); Davis v. Brunswick

Corp., 854 F. Supp. 1574, 1581 (N.D. Ga. 1994); Von Anhalt v. Delta

Air Lines, Inc., 735 F. Supp. 1030, 1031 (S.D. Fla. 1990).

® See Violette v. Smith & Nephew Dyonics, Inc., 62 F.3d 8, 10-

12 (ist Cir. 1995); Gonzales v. Surgidev Corp., 899 P.2d 576, 582-83

(N.M. 1995). Although a failure to state a claim objection may be made

as late as the trial on the merits, preemption understood merely as a

regulation.“ Indeed, in many jurisdictions, violations of

federal requirements constitute negligence per se, though

not all jurisdictions recognize this rule. Under the inter-

mediate version of preemption being described here, courts

essentially would allow only such negligence per se claims

to go forward. Similarly, a fraud-on-the-agency claim might

escape federal preemption, assuming it is otherwise available

under state law.”

Preemption would not, however, depend on proof of

compliance with federal standards; instead, a defendant may

be found liable only in the event (and only to the extent)

that the plaintiff can demonstrate noncompliance with those

standards. After all, the argument continues, preemption of

positive state enactments does not vary depending on each

manufacturer’s proof of compliance with federal rules.

“See Reiter v. Zimmer, Inc., 830 F. Supp. 199, 204 (S.D.N.Y.

1993); Rinehart v. International Playtex, Inc., 688 F. Supp. 475, 477-

78 (S.D. Ind. 1988).

See, e.g., Stanton v. Astra Pharmaceutical Prods., Inc., 718 F.2d

553, 565 (3d Cir. 1983); Lowe v. General Motors Corp., 624 F.2d

1373, 1380 (Sth Cir. 1980).

See, e.g., Sheridan v. United States, 969 F.2d 72, 75 (4th Cir.

1992); Swift v. United States, 866 F.2d 507, 508-09 (1st Cir. 1989);

Eimers v. Honda Motor Co., 785 F. Supp. 1204, 1208 (W.D. Pa. 1992).

al See Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 528 (1992) (plurality) (noting that the

preemption provision would not foreclose recovery on a fraud claim

alleging a failure “to disclose material facts about smoking and health to

an administrative agency” if state law created a duty to disclose such

information); id. at 555 (per Scalia, J.) (conceding that "the hypothetical

law requiring disclosure to a state regulatory agency would seem to

survive” even a sweeping interpretation of the preemption provision).

Since the other Justices would have found no claims preempted, id. at

543 (per Blackmun, J.), the Court was unanimous in this regard.

12

Instead, plaintiffs attempting to sustain claims affected by

this type of preemption would have to prove any alleged

failures to comply with federal requirements. Thus, rather

than supporting either an objection to subject matter

jurisdiction or a removal petition, preemption in these cases

would be regarded as grounds for either a motion for

summary judgment or a motion to dismiss for failure to state

a claim if plaintiffs have not alleged any failure to comply.

With the proliferation of more or less detailed (and

often ambiguous) regulatory requirements, compliance may

be difficult to gauge. Questions of compliance with the

statutory labeling requirements for cigarettes can be resolved

with relative ease, but efforts to determine whether a medical

device manufacturer has fully complied with the requirements

found in a premarket approval and any generally applicable

FDA regulations could present serious difficulties. The

matter would, of course, be simpiified greatly if an agency

successfully had prosecuted the defendant for a regulatory

infraction. Although less clearly probative of noncom-

pliance, formal citations alleging a violation also may

support a negligence per se claim. At the other extreme, a

plaintiff may argue that the defendant has failed to comply

with an applicable regulation notwithstanding the agency’s

apparent acquiescence. In some situations, courts should

@ See, e.g., Talbott v. C.R. Bard, Inc., 865 F. Supp. 37, 47 (D.

Mass. 1994) (noting, however, that some ambiguity remained over the

precise infractions to which the manufacturer had pled guilty), aff'd, 63

F.3d 25 (ist Cir. 1995), petition for cert. filed, No. 95-1321 (Feb. 16,

1996).

13

ee

experience little difficulty resolving such questions, but often

the inquiry will be quite complicated.”

Because of such difficulties, courts generally recognize

that agencies should exercise primary jurisdiction over

regulatory matters within their special expertise.“ Indeed,

this is one of the premises underlying the strong version of

preemption discussed in the previous section. Short of

avoiding the compliance issue altogether through complete

preemption, however, courts might differentiate between

situations where a regulatory infraction is apparent, as when

the agency undertakes enforcement action, and other cases

where plaintiff has only alleged some failure to comply with

an ambiguous requirement. In any case, under the

intermediate version of the preemption defense, claims

premised on noncompliance would provide plaintiffs with

their sole avenue for relief.

C. The Weak Version: Proof of Compliance

as a Predicate for the Defense.

Under the weakest version of preemption suggested by

courts in the wake of Cipollone, defendants would shoulder

the burden of proving compliance as a predicate for

2 See, e.g., Lowe v. Sporicidin Int’l, 47 F.3d 124, 130 (4th Cir.

1995); Bammerlin v. Navistar Int’l Transp. Corp., 30 F.3d 898, 900

(7th Cir. 1994); Sandoz Pharmaceuticals Corp. v. Richardson-Vicks,

Inc., 902 F.2d 222, 231 (3d Cir. 1990).

2 See, e.g., Weinberger v. Bentex Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 412 U.S.

645, 654 (1973).

14

successfully invoking the preemption defense.“ This

conception of preemption differs from the intermediate

version described in the previous section, which only

forecloses recovery on tort claims premised on state law

duties other than the duty to comply with any applicable

federal safety standards. Thus, rather than serving either as

a subject matter jurisdiction objection or as grounds for

dismissal (or summary judgment) for failure to state a claim,

preemption would constitute an affirmative defense.

Because the weak version is poorly elaborated in the

reported cases, though perhaps Cipollone itself is an

example, one must summarize it by comparison to the other

conceptions of the preemption defense described previously.

If compliance is undisputed, the outcome will be indistin-

guishable from the result under the other two versions

identified above. Under both the strong and intermediate

versions, the preemption defense is not dependent on proof

of compliance. Courts abiding by the intermediate version

recognize negligence per se claims, but there would be no

colorable basis for pursuing such claims in the event that

compliance is undisputed. Similarly, even if the weak

version of the defense is predicated on proof of compliance,

a defendant would escape potential tort liability where there

is no dispute that it complied with the applicable federal

requirements.

In the event of a dispute over compliance, however,

the weak version differs from the intermediate version by

placing the burden of proof on the defendant. Because the

intermediate version of preemption does not make the

defense hinge on compliance but only preserves negligence

Ww sSee, e.g., St. Louis S.W. Ry. v. Malone Freight Lines, 39 F.3d

864, 867 (8th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 1963 (1995).

15

per se claims, plaintiffs would have to carry the frequently

difficult burden of establishing noncompliance if they hope

to recover damages for their injuries, and even then recovery

may be unavailable if a particular jurisdiction does not

recognize negligence per se claims for violations of federal

standards as a matter of state law.

Under the weak version, by contrast, preemption does

not even come into play until the defendant has proven

compliance with federal requirements. In light of the

potential complexities posed by questions of compliance, this

difference in the allocation of the burden may be quite

important. Although the plaintiff still shoulders the burden

of proof on the underlying tort claims, the defendant’s failure

to carry the burden with regard to questions of compliance

would entirely remove federal preemption from the case (and

perhaps invite a negligence per se claim by the plaintiff).

Furthermore, under the weak version of preemption, even

if the defendant establishes compliance, plaintiffs may be

able to rebut that showing by alleging some relevant fraud

on the agency.

Finally, if noncompliance is fairly apparent, the weak

version may differ from the intermediate version in the sense

that the federal safety standards completely drop out of sight

even if the defendant’s noncompliance is only partial. For

example, the failure to abide strictly by the FDA’s labeling

requirements in a premarket approval may expose the device

manufacturer to both failure-to-warn and design defect claims

even if there is no evidence that the medical device deviated

from design specifications in the product license. Under the

© See, e.g., Hurley v. Lederle Lab., 863 F.2d 1173, 1179-80 (Sth

Cir. 1988); Butcher v. Robertshaw Controls Co., 550 F. Supp. 692,

694-703 (D. Md. 1981).

16

intermediate version, by contrast, plaintiffs could pursue only

a negligence per se failure-to-warn claim under these

circumstances. Second, under the weak version, the defen-

dant’s conduct may be judged against a more stringent

standard of care in the event of noncompliance, so that even

trivial deviations from federal requirements may be regarded

as sufficiently extreme departures from the state law standard

of eae a care to support the imposition of punitive

damages.

Il. PREEMPTION SHOULD BE INTERPRETED AS

THE GOVERNMENT STANDARDS DEFENSE.

In the face of such confusion over the proper applica-

tion of statutory preemption provisions in tort litigation, one

might favor the simplicity of a clear statement rule,

demanding that Congress specifically enumerate tort claims

as preempted before displacing common law remedies.~

Because the plurality’s judgment in Cipollone has been fully

embraced by the Court, however, a clear statement rule

seems unrealistic at this juncture. Alternatively, courts

might reconsider implied private rights of action under

federal statutes that they have now given sweeping preemp-

* _sG&. Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238, 243-44, 258

(1984) (even where violations of federal regulations were at most

inconsequential, jury could award punitive damages absent preemption).

* See Hernandez-Gomez v. Leonardo, 884 P.2d 183, 190 (Ariz.

1994), vacated sub nom. Volkswagen of Am., Inc. v. Hernandez-Gomez,

115 S. Ct. 1819 (1995) (remanded for further consideration in light of

Freightliner); Ferebee v. Chevron Chem. Co., 736 F.2d 1529, 1543

(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1062 (1984); of. Atascadero State

Hosp. v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234, 242 (1985).

17

es

tive effect.~ In a sense, this approach would attempt to fix

one arguable error in construing congressional intent--

namely, the recent tendency to find express preemption of

tort claims notwithstanding congressional silence--with what

might well be a second error.™ Instead, by understanding

preemption of tort claims as the government standards

defense, the Court could make sense of Cipollone without

giving it the extreme effect suggested by the strong version

of preemption.”

Although traditionally compliance with federal safety

standards has not protected companies from tort liability,

under the strong version of preemption companies are now

immunized from liability even if they have violated these

standards. Surely this is a remarkable turn of events.

Instead, courts should view preemption provisions as nothing

more than a decision by Congress to give companies a

defense to state tort liability if they have complied with

federal safety standards. Of the three different conceptions

of preemption that have emerged, Cipollone only supports

the weak version. Although denoted “preemption,” this

# ‘See, e.g., Suter v. Artist M., 112 S. Ct. 1360, 1370 & n.16

(1992); Daily Income Fund, Inc. v. Fox, 464 U.S. 523, 536 (1984);

Texas Indus. , Inc. v. Radcliff Materials, Inc., 451 U.S. 630, 639 (1981);

Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 78 (1975).

See, ¢.g., Mendes v. Medtronic, Inc., 18 F.3d 13, 19 n.4 (ist

Cir. 1994); Gile v. Optical Radiation Corp., 22 F.3d 540, 544 (3d Cir.),

cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 429 (1994); Ginochio v. Surgikos, Inc., 864 F.

Supp. 948, 956-57 (N.D. Cal. 1994); Kemp v. Pfizer, Inc., 835 F.

Supp. 1015, 1022 & n.5 (E.D. Mich. 1993).

ae For a more detailed treatment of these and other arguments

appearing herein, see Lars Noah, Reconceptualizing Federal Preemption

of Tort Claims as the Government Standards Defense, 37 Wm. & Mary

L. Rev. 903 (March 1996).

18

version of preemption more closely resembles the govern-

ment standards or approval defense.

Several aspects of Cipollone undergird the weak version

of preemption. First, the statutory provision at issue in the

case made compliance a predicate for invoking the defense.

This element of the preemption provision has received little

or no attention, however, in part because the tobacco

companies have conscientiously used the mandatory warning

Statements in their labeling. The statutory provision is

entitled “Preemption,” but, by demanding compliance as a

prerequisite for preemptior the cigarette labeling law more

closely resembles other federal statutes adopting a govern-

ment approval defense.” Second, because the statute itself

specifies the text of these statements, compliance should be

relatively simple to determine. Presumably, in the event of

noncompliance, a plaintiff alleging injuries from cigarettes

would be free to pursue failure-to-warn and related tort

claims on theories other than noncompliance with the federal

labeling requirement. Arguably, this weak version is not

really preemption at all.

Cipollone certainly cannot support the strong version of

preemption, in part because of the plurality’s distinction

between pre- and post-1969 failure-to-warn claims. If the

1969 amendments were understood as completely preempting

failure-to-warn claims, then the provision would foreclose

# = See 15 U.S.C. § 1334(b) (1994) (preempting the imposition of

requirements or prohibitions under state law with respect to cigarettes

“labeled in conformity with the provisions of this Act”).

” For example, the National Childhood Vaccine Injury Act provides

a compliance defense against failure-to-warn and manufacturing defect

claims. See 42 U.S.C. §§ 300aa-22(b), 300aa-23(d) (West Supp. 1995).

19

ee tio

any tort actions founded on such claims that are brought after

1969, whether or not some of the defendant’s alleged

negligence pre-dated enactment of the statute.“ Instead, of

course, the Cipollone plurality distinguished between claims

grounded on conduct occurring before and after passage of

the preemption provision. Finally, by differentiating among

numerous tort claims and only finding preemption of a

limited class that was based on a failure to warn, the

plurality’s decision in Cipollone left a number of alternative

grounds for recovery available to plaintiffs, so the practical

result of preemption was not particularly harsh in that case. |

Although preemption provisions in the MDA and other

Statutes are broader than that applicable to cigarettes, it is

not clear that Cipollone really dictates the recognition of

more sweeping preemption defenses in those cases. None

of the other statutes include a similar compliance prere-

quisite in the text of the preemption provision, and com-

pliance with requirements imposed under those statutes is

also harder to determine, but these are reasons for narrow-

ing or distinguishing Cipollone rather than unthinkingly

giving it even greater effect in other contexts. In particular,

the absence of substitute remedies should incline courts

against finding preemption of tort law claims unless

congressional intent to foreclose such claims is unmistak-

* Although retroactive application of statutes generally is disfavored,

see Landgraf v. USI Film Products, 114 S. Ct. 1483, 1496-1504 (1994),

complete preemption (operating as a jurisdictional rule, id. at 1501-02)

would foreclose any claims filed after enactment even if premised on

conduct pre-dating the statute. See, ¢.g., Arkansas-Platte & Gulf

Partnership v. Van Waters & Rogers, Inc., 959 F.2d 158, 160-61 (10th

Cir.) (holding that FIFRA preempted failure-to-warn claims even though

defendant's allegedly negligent conduct entirely pre-dated enactment of

the preemption provision), vacated, 113 S. Ct. 314 (1992), reinstated,

981 F.2d 1177, 1178 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 114 S. Cr. 6 (1993).

20

able. Interpreting preemption provisions as establishing a

government standards defense would promote the goal of

federal uniformity without foreclosing common law remedies

where federal safety standards have been violated.

In a sense, the Court would be recognizing a federal

common law defense against state tort claims when a product

or activity is subject to regulation under a federal statute

that contains a preemption provision. The Court recognized

an analogous defense against products liability claims for

government contractors supplying military equipment. Like

the weak version of preemption, a contractor first would

have to identify the government requirements that trigger the

defense, then demonstrate compliance with those specifica-

tions, and finally not be guilty of fraud or misrepresentation

in its dealings with the government.“ The case for recog-

nizing a government standards defense for compliance with

certain federal safety requirements is even stronger than for

the contractor defense because the Court can interpret the

express preemption provisions in the relevant statutes as

more directly justifying the recognition of such a defense as

a matter of federal common law. Although the develop-

ment of federal common law rules generally is reserved for

extraordinary circumstances, such interstitial lawmaking is

preferable to the tortured feats of statutory construction

© See, e.g., Hodges v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 44 F.3d 334, 338 & n.8

(Sth Cir. 1995) (en banc); Abbot v. American Cyanamid Co., 844 F.2d

1108, 1112 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 908 (1988); Ministry of

Health v. Shiley, Inc., 858 F. Supp. 1426, 1440 (C.D. Cal. 1994). Of

course, the plurality in Cipollone and the majority in Easterwood did not

construe the respective statutes so narrowly, but then only the weaker

versions of preemption discussed above seem appropriate.

2 Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 487 U.S. 500, 512 (1988).

21

engaged in when lower courts find sweeping express

preemption of tort claims.

The theoretical difference between interpreting such

provisions as dictating preemption of tort claims or as

authorizing courts to fashion a government standards defense

may be inconsequential. Even so, courts could decide that

a provision preempting state law demonstrates a sufficiently

strong interest in uniformity (but not exclusivity) to support

application of the government standards defense against tort

claims. Whether the defense recognized in Cipollone is

styled as preemption or government standards, however, this

Court should more clearly articulate the prerequisites for

invocation of the defense. The three-part government

contractor defense suggests one useful formulation that could

be readily adapted to this end.

To be sure, significant controversy surrounds the use

of the government standards defense. Several justifications

are offered in support of its recognition. For instance,

allowing recovery of tort damages notwithstanding conscien-

tious adherence to carefully crafted safety standards is both

inefficient and unfair, and lay jurors are not qualified to

second-guess the safety determinations made by federal

regulators. Proponents also argue that the traditional

assumptions underlying the hesitancy to accept a govern-

ment standards defense are open to serious question in light

of the radical changes in the regulatory state. The relative

strength of these arguments may well vary across different

product categories.

Conversely, critics make a number of cogent arguments

against the recognition of such a defense to liability. For

example, the tort system has the virtue of encouraging

product manufacturers to discover and address health and

22

safety risks before they result in serious injuries, whereas

regulators generally can react only after such injuries

come to light. Opponents of the defense also express little

ption provisions is far better than the stronger versions of

preemption that have been adopted by a number of courts.

Furthermore, by deciding that preemption translates into the

government standards defense when raised in the context of

tort litigation, the Court could decouple the defense and

arguments about its desirability from the conceptually

different issue of federal preemption of positive state enact-

ments.

Cipollone was decided under the rubric of federal

preemption. Perhaps this was an unfortunate choice of

terminology by Congress because it has caused great

mischief in other contexts. Before 1992, the Court did not

accept preemption as a defense to tort liability, at least not

unless the statute provided a substitute remedy or otherwise

granted exclusive jurisdiction to a federal agency. The

plurality’s judgment in Cipollone, as refined in a pair of

subsequent decisions by this Court, signalled a new

willingness to accept preemption as a defense to tort claims.

A number of lower courts have read Cipollone and its

progeny as an invitation to cut off plaintiffs’ access to tort

23

remedies, even in extreme situations where a company has

not complied with the federal requirements that are being

given preemptive effect. This strong version of preemption

represents the least defensible reading of Cipollone. The

intermediate version, which does not preempt claims if they

are premised on violations of federal requirements, is

somewhat more sensible but arguably still more protective

than Cipollone demands (for instance, where negligence per

se claims are not available under state law). Instead, the

weak version of preemption, which is really indistinguishable

from the government standards defense, is more in keeping

with what the Court actually decided in that case. Under

this approach, proof of compliance is a predicate for

invoking this affirmative defense, and evidence of fraud on

the responsible agency could defeat it.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amici urge this Court to

clarify, in the course of resolving the instant petitions, the

limited nature of the preemption defense to tort claims.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard N. Pearson’

Lars Noah

University of Florida

College of Law

P.O. Box 117625

Gainesville, FL 32611-7625

(352) 392-2211

* Counsel of Record

March 11, 1996

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.